Opposition Brief — Whiting v. University of Southern Mississippi (No. 06-460)
Supreme Court brief2006
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
@) | Supreme Coun, U.S
FILED
|_OFFICE OF THE CLERK |
jn The
Supreme Court of the Anited States
; scape MELISSA WHITING,
. me Petitioner,
a V.
UNIVERSITY OF
SOUTHERN MISSISSIPPI, et al.,
Respondents.
.
On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari
To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Fifth Circuit
¢
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
*
JAMES A. KEITH LEE P. GORE
JOHN S. HOOKS University Counsel
Counsel of Record THE UNIVERSITY OF
IAN C. JONES SOUTHERN MISSISSIPPI
ADAMS AND REESE LLP Southern Station Box 10051
111 EK. Capitol Street, Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Suite 350 39406
Jackson, Mississippi Telephone: 601-266-5725
39225 Facsimile: 601-266-6323
Telephone: 601-353-3234
Facsimile: 601-355-9708
Counsel for Respondents
COMKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO) ose 27) Go
OR CALL COLLECT «tents ite tsi
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Did Dr. Melissa Whiting, a non-tenured faculty
member at the University of Southern Mississippi,
have a federally protected property interest in tenure
or promotion? Even if Dr. Whiting did have a property
interest protected by federal due process, did the De-
fendants violate her property interest?
Has Dr. Whiting demonstrated the circuit court
misapplied its equal protection analysis, creating a
split among circuits?
Has—Dr. Whiting offered any evidence rebutting
testimony showing the decision regarding her appli-
cation was fair, impartial, and based on constitution-
ally permissible reasons?
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
FREE LAR IINED FIRES E LOL) ccoscevesecescevevscossoveveseoeveevscoves i
Ee AE CART EARL FLIO cc cscocvsencecccssceresessoosconsesevonsees iv
TTI, sis eicincascberateboveeseunrsavventesresinveeesotonions 1
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...........ccseccsssssssesessresevseees 1
I hisaldaislacclnidadeedahedaievenbeinsitpeeuntinbepiobvanieneotertees 1
is “Fee Depertanentt Lael ..cconccesecsccececeseccorecees 3
1. The Tenure and Promotion Committee... 3
2. The Department Chair ................c:0000e0 6
Biss FE ARID DAITUE ccvevcnscesssecenseceseussoucvtenrevesee 7
1. The College Advisory Council................ 7
2. The Dean of the College..............csccsseeee 9
Say: EE WR PORTEEY LDU vscccecccovcresosocescessoceeverers 10
1. The University Advisory Council........... 10
ie A Sa OPTI Lnscusvinnsepeenceceaserceontescasoereoreine 10
is EE IOI, scasrinivoicevnocoesoosseseaserersentienentes 11
Be EO OEE CE EEUNCOOS ce ccocerccccsesvecresseceeseenes 12
Be, NEE PEDRO T vcccencscesuciscctwovsesoveveseeseevsorsovses 13
REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED..... 14
I. Dr. Whiting failed to state a cognizable equal
I ITI cca ah scclscmahibivinenidoosadsinnnnatonddenee 14
A. The circuit court did not err in applying
Village of Willowbrook v. Olech ..........00s00000 14
TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued
Page
B. There is no split of authority among the
circuits with respect to Olech ........csccceseeeees
II. Dr. Whiting had no property interest warrant-
ing due process protections .............ccsecereserenesees
A. Dr. Whiting has no federally protected
property interest in a grant of tenure or
DE CRIEIOE iccicssinseessvtnirentnntenincevaceiiamnnnieareiine
1. Under Mississippi law, Dr. Whiting, a
non-tenured faculty member, has no
property interest in obtaining a grant
of tenure or promotion triggering fed-
CEOS CII cniniecictnncdetticwitinintqeinviionn
2. Just as Dr. Whiting has no property in-
terest in tenure or promotion, she has
no property interest in the University’s
tenure and promotion procedures them-
NOG cchintesiitiunitnitenidpeiclecaiquinieieinancasiont
B. Because the circuit court assumed the ex-
istence of a property right for its analysis,
no property right was “ignored” ..............0++.
III. Dr. Whiting offered no proof of a biased deci-
ORE DIG i cieccsictiittiniicievicninninbcnnienscenipesieniiiiensaiinnse
Oi eveccreovtventobesessensovesesevesecessessabootnaianiaonontenh
17
17
22
26
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page
CASES
Batra v. Board of Regents of The Univ. of Nebraska,
Fae RA FA 8 CRE Ce, MI icchccvicaccnsniviinsvtinsinnsvessanveeseins 25
Bautista v. Crowley, 108 F.3d 1384, 1997 WL
eT CE Ses FE cwvichinenccepandsicepavshienstiacictpensnonnns 24, 25
Bd. of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth, 408 U.S.
Be ai slice hcdeniepceciinctaceriacicncrcnnencaandubecisuiin 17, 20
Bobbitt v. The Orchard Dev. Co., 603 So.2d 356
tis DUTT uiissclisiieicineiahdnteinbiidiechsciahabahipkalicieatinliabiiakinnpapinemeitocits 27
Brennan v. Stewart, 834 F.2d 1248 (5th Cir. 1988).......... 17
Campbell v. City of Champaign, 940 F.2d 1111 (7th
Oy I sacciccsassnsicitestich vticetbingiian Acsedibicenbpachieekidebcapmabensandblaniielts 25
Clemente v. United States, 766 F.2d 1358 (9th Cir.
PIPE ciccishinsdiichinvnshihenbieibhicbnipsiahcibas inichddiadiditaapivetakerdamcoesclamiiiaaieds 25
Cleveland Bd. of Educ. v. Loudermill, 470 U.S. 532
Ere iscncteishiciilalintchheniscNscipieichitusi ainda chbddsanealligntotusiapipiobabesnte 24
Dube v. The State Univ. of New York, 900 F.2d 587
Se RR Se stisiaiccssn lihaicciencsciesiahuctadaiphalpagasiaciubadsiebinimlanates 25
Evans v. City of Dallas, 861 F.2d 846 (5th Cir. 1988)....... 23
Fleury v. Clayton, 847 F.2d 1229 (7th Cir. 1988).............. 24
Hall v. Board of Trustees of State Institutions of
Higher Learning, 712 So.2d 312 (Miss. 1998) ...19, 22, 23
Krystek v. The University of Southern Mississippi,
BOG FG SSE (GG CEe, LO) cevcccrcevsecesesnevessecsecnsessscesseos 29
Levi v. Univ. of Tex. at San Antonio, 840 F.2d 277
SE EE AE aditiad buhictndsschiteicabidaislintibcibdiaaniniabiaciniaetia diana 16
Memphis Light, Gas & Water Division v. Craft, 436
CRATE RL TINGE 17, 23
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued
Page
Moore v. Miss. Valley State Univ., 871 F.2d 545 (5th
Se SI vcs vnc icseccovench cue vinebshieuoiwataaasaskinwaccaobetemantiates 17
Mumford v. Godfried, 52 F.3d 756 (8th Cir. 1995) ........... 24
Olim v. Wakinekona, 461 U.S. 238 (1982) ............ecccee 19, 26
Pruett v. Dumas, 914 F. Supp. 133 (N.D. Miss.
SE tiiicacaieiaris Lcsicelacntes thaekiea vas cbisacenuai ie blaiomeinint 17
Richardson v. Township of Brady, 218 F.3d 508 (6th
BRK SIPUND snipiccict ieacpansn's wins piusicieacnsulcendcicehunatebreanbacekiadbiecents kanes 24
Robinson v. Board of Trustees, 477 So.2d 1352
RS IIE sass ticick dank toda as pacanbembanchbisss oucekinnibeucciomes 23, 27
Squaw Valley Development Co. v. Goldberg, 375
ee Oe Ce Ge i escseikvucecenicnrnnivucinsusvounsvivedeierianeis 14
Staheli v. Univ. of Miss., 854 F.2d 121 (5th Cir.
PTET icciaccseiangutnshesvieadesinlanabiasdsravnavekscetaaiedinuniatinn 19, 20, 22
Village of Willowbrook v. Olech, 528 U.S. 562
INE Tis sscsssvhdis cbdoubicdash valerucoumiabendsaasteieomsddessaiees 14, 15, 16
Whiting v. The University of Southern Mississippi,
451 F.3d 339 (5th Cir. 2006).............cc00e 14, 15, 27, 28, 29
Wicks v. Mississippi Valley State University, 536
Le CRI, ROOD sekcuncnncdeniteacossincsivencttnanvietxahans passim
STATUTES
PRO, COO Ati: BB FB EE acca sicncsdtcvncecveccsceiscacbonstvesacenss 18
Miss. Code Ann. § 37-101-15(b) and (f).........:sssccsseseees 19, 21
INTRODUCTION
Dr. Melissa Whiting, a former non-tenured faculty
member at the University of Southern Mississippi, filed
this suit in state court following denial of her application
for tenure and promotion. Dr. Whiting alleges the denial
arose from ill will between her and her department chair,
Dr. Dana G. Thames, the daughter of the University
President, Dr. Shelby F. Thames. Dr. Whiting argues the
decision of President Thames denying her tenure and
promotion was motivated by the alleged ill will between
her and Dr. Dana Thames. Dr. Whiting offers nothing,
however, to rebut the testimony of President Thames that
he was unaware of alleged unconstitutional motives and
made the decision to deny her application for reasons
related to her insufficient publication record.
After removal, both the district court and the circuit
court determined that Whiting could not maintain her
claims under federal law because she 1) had not estab-
lished a property interest in tenure or promotion, 2) had
not demonstrated a lack of rational basis necessary to
maintain a “class-of-one” equal protection claim, and 3)
had not rebutted the testimony of the University’s presi-
dent showing a rational basis for his decision. Dr. Whiting
does not include in her petition the circuit court’s decision
denying her claim of a violation of liberty interest or the
decision denying her First Amendment retaliation claim.
¢
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
I, Facts
In September 1996, the Board of Trustees of the State
Institutions of Higher Learning approved the employment
of Melissa Whiting as an assistant professor in the De-
partment of Curriculum, Instruction, and Special Educa-
tion in the College of Education and Psychology at The
University of Southern Mississippi. Dr. Whiting was hired
under a nine-month contract effective August 21, 1996,
and extending until May 22, 1997. R. 381-83. The Board,
in May 1997, approved Dr. Whiting for tenure-track
status, effective August 21, 1996. R. 385-87. In addition to
the 1996-97 contract, the Board and Dr. Whiting executed
five successive nine-month contracts for academic years
1997-98, 1998-99, 1999-2000, 2000-01, and 2001-02. R.
389-93. Each contract identifies the parties (the Board of
Trustees and Melissa Whiting), the term of employment (a
nine-month period), and the annual salary. Jd. The con-
tracts state they are subject to the “laws of the State of
Mississippi and the policies and by-laws of the Board.” Jd.
In August 2001, at the beginning of her sixth year at
the University, Dr. Whiting asked the University to
consider her for tenure and for promotion to associate
professor. R. 395-96. Dr. Whiting submitted her credentials
in the form of a “dossier.” Jd. An academic dossier is a collec-
tion of materials required to be assembled and submitted by
each candidate for tenure and promotion. R. 422. The dossier
contains documentation demonstrating suitability for tenure
and promotion. Jd. The required format for tenure and
promotion dossiers is set out in a publication of the College of
Education and Psychology entitled “Policy and Procedures
for Tenure and Promotions.” Jd. The procedures require that
each candidate submit documentation about her work in the
areas of teaching, scholarship and publication, and service
activities. Id.
By the time Dr. Whiting’s dossier reached the Presi-
dent, at least twenty-nine people had participated in the
3
review of Dr. Whiting’s dossier. Fifteen recommended against
tenure, twelve recommend in favor of tenure, and two
recused themselves or abstained. Fourteen recommended in
favor of promotion, twelve recommended against promotion,
and three recused themselves or abstained. University
President Shelby F. Thames decided against tenure and
promotion. The specific process regarding Dr. Whiting’s
application for tenure and promotion is summarized below.
A. The Department Level
1. The Tenure and Promotion Committee
First, a committee of faculty from the Department of
Curriculum, Instruction, and Special Education met on
September 28, 2001, to consider Dr. Whiting’s application
for tenure and promotion. According to the summary
report of this meeting, “some questions” arose during the
committee’s deliberations about “various articles in [Dr.
Whiting’s] publication section” of her dossier. R. 424. The
committee “decided to delay consideration of her tenure
and promotion requests until Dr. John Davis, Committee
Chair, and Dr. Dana Thames, Department Chair, had the
opportunity to meet jointly with Dr. Whiting to request a
written response to these questions about various articles
in her publication section (as per procedures in the Faculty
Personnel Action, XI-17, item 13.4).” Id.
Dr. Whiting submitted a written response to the
committee. R. 426-27. “Dr. Melissa Whiting’s response to
Dr. Davis [sic] and Dr. Thames [sic] ‘Data Questions.’” In
her response, Dr. Whiting gave her explanation of the
“methodology and analysis” she used to write several
published articles. Jd.
+
The Department’s tenure committee reconvened on
October 2, 2001. Dr. Davis distributed Dr. Whiting’s
written response. R. 429-30. According to the written
summary of the committee’s meeting of October 2, 2001:
“Questions remained, however, about discrepancies in the
raw data of the two published articles and about the
similarities between the two published articles, the one in
FOCUS: Teaching English Language Arts and the one in
Journal of Research in Rural Education.” Id. According to
the committee’s report:
Extensive discussion related to Dr. Whiting’s re-
quest for promotion took place. The discussion
seemed to indicate that there were mixed opin-
ions about Dr. Whiting’s research/scholarly per-
formance. There were questions about whether
Dr. Whiting met the criterion for promotion re-
lated to consistently demonstrating quality per-
formance in research/scholarly activities, making
it questionable whether a rating in this area
could be labeled satisfactory or higher, as speci-
fied in the College of Education and Psychology:
Policy and Procedures for Tenure and Promotion,
January 1997, pages 8-11.
Id.
The report also indicates similar concerns about Dr.
Whiting’s application for tenure. Jd. Although the commit-
tee “felt her teaching and service were good,” there were
concerns “about Dr. Whiting’s consistent availability to
advise students and about her sporadic attendance at
meetings.” Jd.
The committee, voting by secret ballot, decided to
award Dr. Whiting a promotion. The vote was six in favor
of promotion, three against promotion, and two absten-
tions. Id.
Next, the committee considered Dr. Whiting for
tenure. “It was pointed out,” states the report, “that IHL
guidelines and Faculty Handbook indicate that tenure
occurs between the completion of five and seven years of
continuous service to the university.” Jd. According to the
summary report: “There was general agreement that Dr.
Whiting should not request tenure until completion of her
sixth year.” Jd. (emphasis in original); see also R. 452,
Excerpts of Faculty Handbook, § X (4.7) (explaining that a
tenure candidate may request a deferral of the tenure
process until the seventh year of contracted employment).
The Department committee voted against awarding
tenure. Jd. Six members voted against awarding tenure,
four voted in favor, and one abstained. Id.
By two separate letters dated October 2, 2001, Dr.
Davis, the committee chair, notified Dr. Whiting of the
results of the promotion and tenure process. R. 492-94.
The letter regarding tenure explained the committee’s
“considerable concerns” regarding Dr. Whiting’s “re-
search/scholarly performance.” R. 494. The letter also
stated that Dr. Whiting had
the option of continuing in the process, or with-
drawing fher] request for early tenure, at this
level or any of the subsequent levels of considera-
tion. The vote of the Committee seems to indicate
that you might want to consider withdrawing
your request at this time, because you have until
the end of the seventh year to attain tenure. The
final decision about continuing the process rests
with you.
Id.
6
2. The Department Chair
By two separate letters dated October 4, 2001, Dr.
Dana Thames notified Dr. Whiting about the committee’s
determination. R. 496-98. According to University policy,
Dr. Dana Thames also prepared a written recommendation
to Dr. Carl Martray, Dean of the College of Education and
Psychology, regarding the recommendations of the Depart-
ment committee’s report. R. 500-03; R. 461, Excerpts of
Faculty Handbook, § XI (8.1). According to the letter written
by Dr. Dana Thames to Dean Martray, Dr. Whiting “re-
quested that her materials be moved forward and
reviewed for both Tenure and Promotion to Associate
Professor rank.” R. 500-03. (bold and underline in original),
See also R. 474-75, Excerpts of Faculty Handbook, § XI (13.5)
(requiring Department Chair to “prepare independent
written recommendations either concurring or disagreeing
with the recommendations of Tenure Committees”).
Dr. Dana Thames agreed with the Department’s
report “indicating that Dr. Whiting’s progress toward the
attainment of tenure is negative at this time and border-
line at the present for promction.” R. 500. According to Dr.
Thames’ letter:
In summary, I feel that Dr. Whiting’s progress
toward tenure and promotion is marginal at the
present time. In my opinion, it would be in Dr.
Whiting’s best interest for her to withdraw her
papers from tenure and promotion consideration
at this time, because she has until the end of her
seventh year to acquire tenure, and promotion
may be requested at the beginning of any aca-
demic year. I make this recommendation because
I believe that she has the potential to overcome
the concerns of departmental peers. .. .
R. 501-02. A copy of this letter was mailed to Dr. Whiting.
R. 503.
B. The College Level
1. The College Advisory Council
Notwithstanding the report of the Department com-
mittee and the recommendation of the Department chair,
by e-mail dated October 12, 2001, Dr. Whiting indicated
her desire to move her tenure and promotion application
to the College Advisory Committee (“CAC”). R. 506.
The CAC, consisting of representatives from each
department of the College of Education and Psychology,
met to consider Dr. Whiting’s tenure and promotion
dossier on October 30, 2001, and November 7, 2001. R.
508-16. According to the tenure and promotion reports, the
CAC conducted a “full and detailed discussion” of Dr.
Whiting’s dossier with awareness of the promotion and
tenure guidelines of the Faculty Handbook. Jd.
The CAC reviewed Dr. Whiting’s dossier, the letter
written by Dr. Dana Thames to Dean Martray dated October
10, 2001 (R. 500-03), and “a letter of rebuttal” submitted by
Dr. Whiting to the CAC. R. 508-16. Jd. The letter submitted
by Dr. Whiting, eleven pages in length, challenges the
recommendations of the Department committee and the
recommendations contained in the letter written by Dr.
Thames dated October 10, 2002. R. 518-27.
The CAC acknowledged the “disparity between the
annual evaluations conducted by the various department
chairs of Dr. Whiting’s department and the report and
recommendations of the promotion and tenure committee
and the clarifications of the current department chair.” R.
8
508-16. “The annual evaluations tended to be quite posi-
tive, while the report of the tenure and promotion commit-
tee was more negative.” Jd. After examining the
“credentials objectively and mak[ing] separate evaluations
of Dr. Whiting’s credentials contained in the dossier,” the
“CAC consensus was that it appeared that the annual
evaluations of the chairs in the past were more optimistic
than the credentials justified during many of the years.”
Id. According to the CAC:
In considering Dr. Whiting’s publication creden-
tials, the CAC was concerned that there ap-
peared to be a small number of refereed
publications (three) and some publications were
not in strong refereed journal outlets or repre-
sented contributions to invited publications (anno-
tated bibliographies). A number of the publications
contained in Dr. Whiting’s vita were clearly pub-
lished prior to her hire at USM (for example a
book). Since her hiring at USM, it appears that
she has published primarily annotated bibliogra-
phies. There is mention of a book chapter, but no
documents in the dossier to substantiate the con-
tract for that chapter. Although there is consid-
erable debate in the dossier about Dr. Whiting’s
research efforts (her rebuttal/clarification letter
and the Department Chair’s letter), the consen-
sus of the CAC members was that the research
activity shown at this time, whether considered
qualitatively or quantitatively, was not adequate
and did not meet college research standards.
Id. at p. 2.
* Consistent with University policy, Dr. Whiting had received
annual evaluations from her Department chairs.
9
The CAC voted to deny Dr. Whiting tenure and
promotion. The votes regarding tenure and promotion,
although conducted separately, were identical in outcome:
four against, two in favor, and zero abstentions. Jd.
2. The Dean of the College
Dr. Carl Martray, Dean of the College of Education and
Psychology, then reviewed Dr. Whiting’s dossier for tenure
and promotion as required by University policy. R. 529. Dr.
Martray concluded that “after a thorough review of the
recommendations of the CAC and the issues raised by the
committee as well as a review of the portfolio materials
submitted, I can find no compelling reason to recommend
against the recommendations of the CAC.” Jd. Dr. Martray
transmitted Dr. Whiting’s application materials to the
Provost without recommending either promotion or tenure.
Id.
By letter dated November 27, 2001, Dean Martray
notified Dr. Whiting of his decision, enclosing copies of the
CAC reports. R. 532. Dr. Martray reminded Dr. Whiting
that: “Upon receipt of this letter, you have the options of
withdrawing your application for tenure and promotion
and requesting that the recommendation be deferred to
the seventh year (as recommended by your chair and
departmental committee) ... ” Id. Dr. Whiting did not
withdraw her dossier from consideration. According to the
tenure and promotion policy, the Provost sought input
from the University Advisory Council. R. 481.
10
C. The University Level
1. The University Advisory Council
The University Advisory Council (“UAC”) met on at
least two occasions to consider Dr. Whiting’s dossier. R.
534-36. The UAC met on March 27, 2002, and on April 11,
2002. Id. Dr. Whiting was invited to attend the meetings
but declined to attend on the advice of her attorney. R.
535, 536. Dr. Whiting did present a letter to the members
of the UAC, however, alleging “prejudicial failures of due
process” and violations of due process rights under the
Fourteenth Amendment. R. 538-39. The UAC invited a
number of witnesses to appear before the UAC: Dr. Carl
Martray, Dr. Dana Thames, Dr. Carolyn Reeves-Kazelskis,
and Dr. John Davis. R. 534-36.
According to the report of the UAC, dated April 24,
2002: “The concerns expressed by the department and
college committees, chair, and dean pertaining to Dr. Whit-
ing’s research productivity and record of service were dis-
cussed at length. The UAC shared many of their concerns
related to research, but found the area of service as docu-
mented to be more than adequate.” R. 540-41. The UAC
ultimately voted in favor of awarding tenure to Dr. Whiting.
The vote was five in favor of tenure, three against, and one
recusal. Jd. Regarding promotion, the UAC did not reach a
definitive conclusion, with four voting in favor, four voting
against, and one recusal. Jd. As Dr. Whiting’s dossier moved
forward to the Office of the Provost, Dr. Whiting supple-
mented her dossier again. R. 543.
2. The Provost
Dr. Anselm Griffin, then Provost, concurred with the
recommendation of the UAC to grant Dr. Whiting tenure.
11
By letter to Dr. Whiting dated May 17, 2002, Dr. Griffin
indicated that he was “recommending to President Shelby
F. Thames that you be granted tenure as a faculty mem-
ber....” R. 545-46. Although the UAC reached a tie
regarding its vote for promotion, Dr. Griffin recommended .
promotion. Id.
D. The President
After carefully reviewing Dr. Whiting’s credentials,
University President Dr. Shelby Thames mailed Dr.
Whiting two letters by Federal Express dated August 23,
2002, to her addresses in Petal, Mississippi, and Vinita,
Oklahoma. R. 548-49. These letters, identical except for
different addresses, requested a meeting with Dr. Whiting
to discuss his concerns about her tenure application:
I would like to discuss this matter with you prior
to making my decision. I can meet with you on
Tuesday, August 27, at 9:00 a.m. If you are un-
able to meet on Tuesday, I invite you to schedule
a telephone conference. Please contact Ms. Polly
Odom at 601-266-5301 to confirm a meeting on
Tuesday or to schedule a telephone call.
Id.
Dr. Whiting chose not to meet with President Thames
(in person or by telephone) to discuss his concerns about
Dr. Whiting’s tenure and promotion application. R. 551.
Accordingly, President Thames wrote Dr. Whiting another
letter on August 30, 2002, stating:
I am disappointed that you did not take advan-
tage of my invitation to meet with me and/or talk
with me via conference call to discuss your ten-
ure and promotion. This was an opportunity for
12
you to talk with me about some of the issues
raised during this process, and thus, I would
have preferred to hear from you personally be-
fore making a decision.
I have reviewed your tenure and promotion dos-
sier and all the related materials. My conclusion
is that I will not recommend to the Board of
Trustees that you be granted tenure or promotion
at The University of Southern Mississippi.
This letter constitutes notice of non-renewal of
your employment at USM. A contract of employ-
ment will not be offered to you after this aca-
demic year ending in May 2003.
Id.
E. The Board of Trustees
Dr. Whiting appealed the decision of President Thames
to the Board of Trustees on September 16, 2002. R. 553.
On November 11, 2002, Dr. Thomas D. Layzell, then
Commissioner of Higher Education, sent Dr. Whiting’s request
for an appeal to the Board. Commissioner Layzell recom-
mended the Board decline to consider the appeal. R. 573.
After discussing Dr. Whiting’s request for an appeal in
executive session during its meeting of November 21,
2002, the Board of Trustees declined to consider Dr.
Whiting’s appeal. The Board unanimously denied review of
the President’s decision regarding promotion and tenure
because Dr. Whiting had already filed suit on August 6,
2002 — even before the President had made his decision. R.
575-78. The Board notified Dr. Whiting of its decision by
letter to her attorney dated November 21, 2002. R. 580.
13
II. Procedural History
On August 6, 2002, Dr. Whiting filed a complaint
against the University and Drs. Shelby F. Thames, Carl
Martray, and Dana G. Thames alleging damages arising
from the tenure and promotion process. The complaint,
filed originally in the Circuit Court of Forrest County,
Mississippi, seeks several forms of relief, including dam-
ages in the amount of $5,000,000.00. The individual
defendants are named in both their official and personal
capacities. R. 568-71, Original Complaint.
The Defendants timely removed the complaint to federal
court. The district court denied Dr. Whiting’s motion to
remand. Whiting amended her complaint on March 10, 2003,
naming the Board of Trustees of Mississippi’s Institutions of
Higher Learning as an additional defendant.
Dr. Whiting alleges violations of her constitutional
rights under the Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1983. She
claims the Defendants deprived her of substantive and
procedural due process, as well as rights protected by the
Equal Protection Clause and the First Amendment. Under
state law, Dr. Whiting alleges breach of contract and
“nepotism.” In addition to her claims for “compensatory
and actual” damages of $5,000,000.00, Dr. Whiting seeks
punitive damages, “appropriate injunctive relief,” and “all
relief to which she is entitled pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983
et seq. to include attorneys fees.” Id.
The district court granted the Defendants’ motion for
summary judgment with respect to all federal claims and
remanded Dr. Whiting’s state-law claims to state court. Dr.
Whiting appealed the award of summary judgment and
appealed the district court’s decision to remand the state-
law claims to state court. A three-judge panel of the Fifth
14
Circuit unanimously affirmed the district court. See
Whiting v. The University of Southern Mississippi, 451
F.3d 339, 349 (5th Cir. 2006).
+
REASONS WHY THE
PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED
I. Dr. Whiting failed to state a cognizable equal
protection claim,
A. The Fifth Circuit did not err in applying
Village of Willowbrook v. Olech. °
Dr. Whiting’s analysis of equal protection is confusing.
At the outset, she invokes this Court’s standard articulated
in Village of Willowbrook v. Olech, 528 U.S. 562 (2000),
requiring the plaintiff to show “she has been intentionally
treated differently from others similarly situated and that
there is no rational basis for the difference in treatment.”
Petition, p. 9 (citing Olech, 528 U.S. at 564). Then, on the
next page, Dr. Whiting criticizes the circuit court for holding
that “Dr. Whiting must, in addition to the foregoing Olech
standard, also establish or negate whether there was any
rational basis for the government’s action.” Petition, p. 10.
This is illogical. The rational basis test applied by the Fifth
Circuit is not “in addition to” the Olech test — it is the exact
standard mandated by Olech.
Next, Dr. Whiting criticizes the circuit court for not
requiring Dr. Whiting to “show that the defendant’s conduct
was motivated by animus and that the state’s proffered
‘rational’ reason was pretextual.” Petition, p. 14 (quoting
Squaw Valley Dev. Co. v. Goldberg, 375 F.3d 936, 944-48 (9th
Cir. 2004)). She criticizes the Fifth Circuit for not requiring
Dr. Whiting to prove animus rather than simply a lack of
15
rationality. Dr. Whiting appears to want to replace this
Court’s objective Olech standard with a subjective one.
Regardless of Dr. Whiting’s understanding, the Fifth
Circuit correctly applied Olech. In Olech, this Court
confirmed that a plaintiff need not show ill will or animus
so long as she proves there is no rational basis for a
difference in treatment among similarly situated persons.
Olech, 528 U.S. at 564. (This, of course, assumes the equal
protection claim is not based on membership in a protected
class like race, religion, or gender).
The circuit court assumed arguendo that Dr. Whiting
had met her burden of establishing different treatment of
similarly situated individuals, and then determined whether
there was no rational basis for the decision to deny tenure.
Whiting v. The University of Southern Mississippi, 451 F.3d
339, 349 (5th Cir. 2006).’ The Fifth Circuit correctly applied
the rational basis test of Olech and did not “require proof of
motive.” In applying the rational basis test, however, the
Fifth Circuit necessarily addressed Dr. Whiting’s own
allegation that the “rational reasons put forth by the defen-
dants are no more than pretext for the underlying, irrational
reason for her denial of tenure, i.e., President Thames’s
purported bias against her as a result of the ill will his
daughter Dr. Thames, bore her.” Whiting, 451 F.3d at 350.
The Fifth Circuit concluded that “[ajll decisions were
at least debatable, and none reveals a failure to exercise
* Dr. Whiting misstates the Defendants’ position by arguing that
“the Defendants have conceded that they applied a different standard
to Dr. Whiting than every other person who has been tenured and
promoted.” Petition, p. 8. The Defendants’ position is better stated by
the Fifth Circuit. See Whiting v. The University of Southern Mississippi,
451 F.3d 339, 349 (5th Cir. 2006).
16
professional judgment.” Jd. (quoting Levi v. Univ. of Tex. at
San Antonio, 840 F.2d 277, 280 (5th Cir. 1988)). The circuit
court did not require Dr. Whiting prove ill motive, ill will,
or animus. Rather, the court necessarily considered
whether there was evidence of iil will because of Dr.
Whiting’s own allegations that rational reasons given by
the Defendants were a pretext for ill will and animus. The
circuit court did not err in its analysis.
B. There is no split of authority among the
circuits with respect to Olech.
The survey of cases offered by Dr. Whiting as evidence
of a split among circuits in interpreting Olech is protean
and difficult to follow. But one thing is clear: Nowhere does
Dr. Whiting show how the circuit court’s decision creates a
split among circuits regarding the application of Olech. As
set out above, the circuit court correctly applied the
rational basis test articulated in Olech, considering the
issue of motive and ill will only because they were offered
by Dr. Whiting as evidence of a Jack of a rational basis for
the University’s alleged difference in treatment.
II. Dr. Whiting had no property interest war-
ranting due process protections.
Dr. Whiting’s Complaint is vague with regard to
whether she claimed a property interest in tenure and
promotion, in the tenure and promotion procedures, or
both. Regardless, Dr. Whiting has no federally protected
property interest in either.
17
A. Dr. Whiting has no federally protected
property interest in a grant of tenure or
promotion.
The “threshold requirement of any due process claim, be
it substantive or procedural, is a showing that the govern-
ment deprived the plaintiff of a liberty or property interest.”
Pruett v. Dumas, 914 F. Supp. 133, 187 (N.D. Miss. 1996)
(citing Moore v. Miss. Valley State Univ., 871 F.2d 545, 548
(5th Cir. 1989); Brennan v. Stewart, 834 F.2d 1248, 1257 (5th
Cir. 1988)). Unless a plaintiff can show deprivation of a
protected liberty or property interest, “no right to due process
can accrue.” Pruett, 914 F. Supp. at 137.
1. Under Mississippi law, Dr. Whiting, a
non-tenured faculty member, has no
property interest in obtaining a grant of
tenure or promotion triggering federal
protection.
Whether Dr. Whiting had a protected property interest
entitling her to substantive or procedural due process in
gaining tenure or promotion first depends on state law. Bd.
of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 566-67
(1972). Once a property interest is found to exist under state
law, “federal constitutional law determines whether that
interest rises to the level of a ‘legitimate claim of entitlement’
protected by the Due Process Clause.” Memphis Light, Gas &
Water Division v. Craft, 436 U.S. 1, 9 (1978).
In Roth, a non-tenured faculty member at a state
university was employed under a one-year contract that
was not renewed. 408 U.S. at 566-67 (1972). Roth was not
provided a hearing to challenge the merits of the decision
not to rehire him. Roth claimed he had a property interest
18
in being rehired and the state had deprived him of that
property interest without due process. Jd. at 568. This
Court disagreed, finding Roth had no property interest
triggering due process protection. Id.
In reaching its decision, the Court first looked to state
law to determine whether a state employee has a property
interest in his or her job. Jd. at 577. Under Wisconsin law,
Roth had no protected property interest in being re-
employed with the university. Roth -— a non-tenured
professor — was statutorily entitled to nothing beyond his
one-year appointment. Jd. at 577.
Here, whether Dr. Whiting has a protected property
interest entitling her to substantive or procedural due
process in gaining tenure or promotion depends first on
Mississippi law. The Mississippi Supreme Court has
consistently said a non-tenured professor has no property
interest in continued employment. In Wicks v. Mississippi
Valley State University, 536 So.2d 20, 23 (Miss. 1988), Dr.
David Wicks, a professor of history and social studies at
Mississippi Valley State University, applied for tenure in
1983. The president of the university, after reviewing the
recommendations resulting from the tenure process,
decided to deny tenure to Dr. Wicks based on lack of
credentials in the teaching field. Jd. Dr. Wicks filed suit
alleging due process violations.
Relying on Roth, the Mississippi Supreme Court, as
part of the first step in its due process analysis, examined
Mississippi law to determine if Dr. Wicks had a property
interest warranting due process protections. Jd. at 22. The
Supreme Court determined that Miss. Code Ann. § 37-101-
15, setting forth the general powers and duties of the
Board of Trustees of the State Institutions of Higher
19
Learning, and subsections 37-101-15(b) and (f), granting
authority to the Board of Trustees for general supervision
of all matters incident to the proper functioning of univer-
sities and for the employment of professors, do “not create
a legitimate expectation of continued employment for a
non-tenured employee.” Wicks, 536 So.2d at 22. “There is
no property interest in the grant of tenure.” Jd. at 20.
Although the University has a written tenure policy,
the policy does not give Dr. Whiting a property interest in
actually obtaining tenure: “No protected interest is created
by a state rule or regulation which in no substantive way
limits by particularized standards the discretion of the
administrator.” Id. at 23 (citing Olim v. Wakinekona, 461
U.S. 238 (1982)). The president’s discretionary decision to
recommend tenure was not restricted by mandatory
language like “shall” or “must,” reflecting the principle
that “the President is allowed to determine what is best
for the University.” Jd. Although “Wicks was unhappy with
the way that the University exercised its discretion, but
that does not create in him a protected property interest.”
Id. at 23-24 (quoting Staheli v. Univ. of Miss., 854 F.2d
121, 125 (5th Cir. 1988)). “As held in Roth;-a non-tenured
college teacher has no constitutionally protected property
interest in his job.” Jd. at 23.
Later, the Mississippi Supreme Court affirmed Wicks’
holding. In Hall v. Board of Trustees of State Institutions of
Higher Learning, 712 So.2d 312 (Miss. 1998), Hall, a
professor at the University of Mississippi Medical Center,
had not been granted tenure by the faculty or the Board.
“Therefore, Dr. Hall did not have a legitimate expectation
of, nor entitlement to, continued employment at UMC, and
furthermore, the renewal of Dr. Hall’s contract was subject
to approval of the Board.” Jd. at 321. Dr. Hall, therefore,
20
“did not have a protected property interest in his employ-
ment at UMC, and thus, he is not entitled to substantive
protection under the due process clause as the result of the
arbitrary deprivation by government action of a protected
property interest.” Jd.
The point of tenure is to give tenured professors — not
professors without tenure —- some assurance of continuing
employment. This is the point made by the Mississippi
Supreme Court in Wicks:
The whole purpose of the distinction between ten-
ured and non-tenured faculty was to give the Uni-
versity discretion over the employment of non-
tenured teachers. ... The institution of tenure has
an inexorable internal logic: the very existence
of a tenure system means that those teachers
without tenure are not assured of continuing
employment. See Board of Regents v. Roth, supra,
(non-tenured college teacher had no constitution-
ally protected property interest in his job).
Wicks, 586 So.2d at 23 (quoting Staheli v. Univ. of Miss.,
854 F.2d 121, 125 (5th Cir. 1988) (emphasis added)).
Wicks and Hall confirm that the statutory framework
governing university employment and the Policies and
Bylaws of the Board of Trustees do not create a legitimate
expectation of continued employment for a non-tenured
faculty member. Central to the Mississippi Supreme
Court’s reasoning in these cases is the discretion left to
Mississippi’ university presidents in deciding to award or
deny tenure and promotion and in the Board of Trustees’
ultimate authority to approve presidential recommenda-
tions. “It shall be the policy of the board to permit the
executive head of each institution to nominate for election
by the board all subordinate employees of the institution
21
over which he presides.” Miss. Code Ann. § 37-101-15(f).
The actions of the faculty and various committees below
the level of President are advisory only, as indicated by the
word “recommendations.” They do not bind the President
or otherwise limit him from exercising his discretion in
deciding whether to recommend a faculty member to the
Board of Trustees for tenure. Wicks, 536 So.2d at 23.
The Board Policies and Bylaws define tenure as
“continuing employment that may be granted to a faculty
member after a probationary period upon nomination by
the Institutional Executive Officer for election by the
Board.” R. 169. The President’s decision is the final deci-
sion for the University, unless appealed to the Board of
Trustees. R. 173. Furthermore, “Board approval shall be
required for the award of tenure.” R. 168. “The award of
tenure is not vested until notice of the award is given in
writing by the Institutional Executive Officer, after ap-
proval by the Board, and the written notice is actually
received by the faculty member.” R. 169 (emphasis added).
A candidate simply cannot create a property right to
tenure or promotion simply through his or her subjective
expectation of tenure or promotion.
The Faculty Handbook also shows that Dr. Whiting
had no legitimate expectation of continued employment.
The Faculty Handbook defines tenure as “a status that is
granted to college and university faculty members after a
probationary period in the profession. It protects them
against involuntary suspension or termination of employ-
ment except upon stipulated grounds and in accordance
with specified procedures.” R. 171 (emphasis added). In
other words, faculty who have not obtained tenure do not
enjoy the protections of tenure.
22
Dr. Whiting essentially argues for “pre-tenure tenure.”
But Mississippi law is clear: “A non-tenured college
teacher has no constitutionally protected property interest
in his job.” Wicks, 536 So.2d at 23. The tenure policies of
the University do not “create or confer an expectation of
continued employment.” Jd. at 23. If they did, “the Univer-
sity will have received powerful incentives to make its
tenure policy less specific and therefore less helpful to
[faculty] seeking to discern and fulfill the requirements for
tenure.” Jd. at 24 (quoting Staheli, 854 F.2d at 126).
“Whatever actual expectations [Dr. Whiting] may have
had, they cannot be constitutionally baptized a ‘legitimate
claim of entitlement’ to permanent employment.” Jd. Dr.
Whiting does not have a property interest triggering due
process protections, and her federal due process claims
were, therefore, appropriately dismissed.
2. Just as Dr. Whiting has no property in-
terest in tenure or promotion, she has
no property interest in the University’s
tenure and promotion procedures them-
selves.
Although Wicks and Hall confirm that a non-tenured
faculty member has no property interest in tenure or
promotion, Dr. Whiting attempts to circumvent these cases
by claiming the University’s written tenure and promotion
policy contained in its Faculty Handbook are part of her one-
year contract, providing procedural rights that warrant
federal due process protections. But Dr. Whiting never
accounts for the fact that in Wicks and Hall the Mississippi
Supreme Court was construing written tenure policies
promulgated by the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of
Higher Learning — the same board that promulgated the
23
policy at issue in this case. In Wicks and Hall, the Mississippi
Supreme Court held that the written tenure policies of two of
Mississippi's public universities (Mississippi Valley State
University and The University of Mississippi, respectively)
did not afford due process protections. Nevertheless, Dr.
Whiting contends the procedures entitle her to special due
process protections Mississippi's highest court has never
before discovered. This is not so.
The University does not dispute that its Faculty Hand-
book may well become part of an employment contract,
according to the Mississippi Supreme Court’s holding in
Robinson v. Board of Trustees, 477 So.2d 1352 (Miss. 1985).
But even if the tenure and promotion procedures became
part of the non-tenured employment contract Dr. Whiting
held while applying for a tenured position, this does not
mean the procedures are a right protected by the federal
constitution. As explained above, the determination of
whether there is a property interest protected by federal law
is a two-step inquiry. Assuming Dr. Whiting has satisfied the
first step — that the procedures are part of a contract in
which she has a property interest — she must then satisfy the
second step: whether under “federal constitutional law ...
that interest rises to the level of a legitimate claim of enti-
tlement’ protected by the Due Process Clause.” Memphis
Light, Gas & Water Division v. Craft, 436 U.S. 1, 9 (1978).
Federal courts answering this question have repeatedly
held that unless a public employee has a legitimate property
right to an employment position, the procedures used in
evaluating his or her suitability for the position do not create
property rights protected by the due process clause of the
Federal Constitution. According to the Fifth Circuit: “The
existence of such procedures cannot be used as a bootstrap to
aid the finding of an entitlement.” Evans v. City of Dallas,
24
861 F.2d 846, 850 (5th Cir. 1988) (citing Cleveland Bd. of
Educ. v. Loudermill, 470 U.S. 532, 542 (1985)).
In Mumford v. Godfried, 52 F.3d 756, 759 (8th Cir.
1995), Mumford, a university professor, brought an action
against a state university and faculty administrators
alleging he was wrongfully denied tenure. He focused on
the language in the university's faculty handbook regard-
ing procedures to be followed by each department in
making tenure decisions. Jd. Mumford argued that the
university’s “written rules governing tenure decisions
‘constitute an integral part of the contractual structure
defining the employment relationship and, thus constitute
a valid contract.’” Jd. Because he had a contractual right
to have certain procedures followed, Mumford argued, he
also had a property interest in those procedures triggering
due process protections. Jd. The Eighth Circuit disagreed
“for the simple reason that a contractual right to have
certain procedures followed does not create a property
interest in the procedures themselves.” Jd. (emphasis in
original). The district court’s summary judgment dismissal
of Mumford’s due process claim was therefore affirmed.
Other courts agree that employment procedures do
not give rise to federally protected due process interests:
“There is neither a ‘liberty’ nor a ‘property’ interest in
procedures themselves.” Fleury v. Clayton, 847 F.2d 1229,
1231 (7th Cir. 1988) (citing Olim v. Wakinekona, 461 U.S.
238, 248-51 (1983)); see also Richardson v. Township of
Brady, 218 F.3d 508, 518 (6th Cir. 2000) (holding that the
plaintiff “can have no protected property interest in the
procedure itself”); Bautista v. Crowley, 108 F.3d 1384,
1384, 1997 WL 120827 (9th Cir. 1997) (unpublished)
(holding that alleged failure of university to follow em-
ployment procedures is not a violation of due process,
25
because “this approach mistakes the ‘procedure’ with the
‘right’ being protected. To recognize a constitutionally
protected interest in the procedures themselves ... would
stand the due process analysis on its head... . Appellant
cannot have a property interest in process alone.”) (cita-
tions omitted)); Batra v. Bd. of Regents of The Univ. of
Nebraska, 79 F.3d 717, 720 (8th Cir. 1996) (“The Univer-
sity’s alleged failure to follow its own procedural rules and
regulations did not, without more, give rise to a protected
liberty or property interest.”); Dube v. The State Univ. of
New York, 900 F.2d 587, 599 (2d Cir. 1990) (“Based on the
record before us, which indicates only that Dube was
entitled to be considered for tenure in accordance with
established contractual procedures, we conclude that Dube
has failed to meet the threshold requirement of establish-
ing a protected ‘liberty’ or ‘property’ interest.”); Campbell
v. City of Champaign, 940 F.2d 1111, 1113 (7th Cir. 1991)
(“[A] contract which merely creates a right to specified
procedures does not create an entitlement upon which a
claim of deprivation of property without due process of law
can be founded.... When the claimed deprivation of
property is the loss of a job, the entitlement must be to a
job, rather than just to a set of disciplinary procedures.”).”
* Here, the lack of a property interest in the procedures themselves
is enhanced because the ultimate decision regarding tenure and
promotion is made by the president and is discretionary. See Bautista v.
Crowley, 108 F.3d 1384, 1384, 1997 WL 120827 (9th Cir. 1997) (unpub-
lished) (“Nothing in the Department’s evaluation criteria creates an
expectation of entitlement to a high performance rating. To the
contrary, they reserve a significant measure of discretion to UNR
decision makers.”)); Clemente v. United States, 766 F.2d 1358, 1365 (9th Cir.
1985) (“If the procedures required pose no significant limitation on the
discretion of the decision maker, the expectation of a specific decision is not
enhanced enough to establish a constitutionally protected interest in the
(Continued on following page)
26
No matter how Dr. Whiting tries to characterize her
claim, as a matter of law, she has no property interest
protected by due process.
B. Because the circuit court assumed the ex-
istence of a property right for its analysis,
no property right was “ignored.”
In analyzing her due process claims, the Fifth Circuit
first rejected Dr. Whiting’s argument that she had an
“expectation of continued employment sufficient to gener-
ate a protected property interest.” Jd. at 344-45. The Fifth
Circuit also rejected Whiting’s claims that positive per-
formance reviews (either annual evaluations or a third-
year review) were sufficient to generate a property interest
in tenure. Jd. (citing Wicks, 536 So.2d at 24). According to
the Fifth Circuit:
Language in the Faculty Handbook ... consis-
tently reiterates that promotion and tenure are not
guaranteed, even by positive performance reviews:
the Handbook states, for example, “[p]romotion in
academic rank is not guaranteed by contracted
employment or earned solely by the duration of
employment” and “|t]he privilege of tenure is not
guaranteed by tenure-track appointment, by prior
academic rank, or by duration of employment.”
Further, as the district court noted: “the same fac-
ulty handbook reiterates that, notwithstanding the
procedures.”)). As set out above, the Mississippi Supreme Court has
confirmed the discretion of university presidents in making tenure and
promotion decisions: “It is well recognized that the final decision to
grant tenure lies with the President, and the grant of tenure is discre-
tionary. The President is allowed to determine what is best for the
University.” Wicks, 536 So.2d at 23.
27
procedures, tenure is awarded at the discretion of
the board of trustees upon nomination by the
president.” Given such language and existing state
law precedent, we cannot construe an expectation
of continued employment sufficient to generate a
protected property interest.
Whiting, 451 F.3d at 345.
According to the Fifth Circuit, “Where a tenure policy
exists, non-tenured university employees under Mississippi
law do not have a property interest in their continued
employment that warrants protection under the due
process clause.” Id.
This determination was entirely consistent with the
district court’s earlier ruling that “the procedures set out
in the faculty handbook” do not perform “the necessary
alchemy of transforming her expectations into protectable
interests. That argument in my opinion founders ...
because the same faculty handbook reiterates that, not-
withstanding the procedures, tenure is awarded at the
discretion of the board of trustees upon nomination by the
president.” (See Exhibit “A,” to Appellees’ Brief, Excerpt of
Transcript of Hearing).
The Fifth Circuit then determined whether “some other
property interest in a benefit afforded by her current con-
tract with the state university” could give rise to a protected
property interest. Whiting, 451 F.3d at 345. The court
acknowledged that in Mississippi an employee manual
becomes part of an employment contract, “creating contract
rights to which employers may be held, such as Dr. Whiting’s
right to the procedures outlined in the handbooks.” Jd. at 13
(citing Robinson v. Bd. of Trustees, 477 So.2d 1352, 1353
(Miss. 1985); Bobbitt v. The Orchard Dev. Co., 603 So.2d 356,
28
361 (Miss. 1992)). But the court did not conclude that Dr.
Whiting’s contractual rights were sufficient to give rise to a
property interest warranting due process protection under
federal law — the second step in the inquiry.
Instead, showing deference to Dr. Whiting, the Fifth
Circuit assumed the existence of that right for purposes of
its analysis: “However, even if Dr. Whiting’s contractual
rights are sufficient to constitute a property interest
warranting due process protection, it is not clear she has
adequately alleged any sort of deprivation.” Whiting, 451
F.3d at 346. The court then examined each alleged breach
of the Faculty Handbook: (1) the timeliness of the decision
regarding promotion and tenure, (2) the fact that Dr.
Whiting was not granted tenure despite the positive
evaluations, and (3) the idea that Dr. Whiting was entitled
to de facto or automatic tenure in light of the annual and
third-year evaluations. Jd.
The Fifth Circuit ultimately concluded that these
alleged breaches of the tenure and promotion procedures
did not “establish a genuine question of material fact as to
whether she has been deprived of any property interest.
Accordingly, her due process clause claims, both substan-
tive and procedural, fail insofar as they are based on
deprivation of a property interest.” Jd.
Dr. Whiting claims the court ignored her protected
property interest. But the circuit court assumed the
existence of the property interest for purposes of its due
process analysis, ultimately concluding that no due proc-
ess violation occurred even if Dr. Whiting had a property
interest. The issue, then, of whether the circuit court erred
in its determination that Dr. Whiting did not have a
property interest protected by federal law is moot.
29
II. Dr. Whiting offered no proof of a biased
decision maker.
Dr. Whiting claims President Shelby Thames was
biased in making his decision regarding her tenure and
promotion application because of 1) the lawsuit Dr. Whit-
ing had earlier filed against him and 2) the alleged ani-
mosity between Dr. Whiting and President Thames’
daughter, Dr. Dana Thames, the Chair of the Department
in which Dr. Whiting worked.
There is no evidence that President Thames’ decision was
motivated or informed by constitutionally impermissible
motives. See Whiting, 451 F.3d at 351. The President reviews
de novo all recommendations arising from departmental,
college, and Provost or vice presidential levels. R. 482, 449,
Excerpts of Faculty Handbook, § XI (22), § XI (3.3). President
Thames swore in his affidavit that, before making his deci-
sion, he never discussed Dr. Whiting’s tenure and promotion
application with his daughter, Dr. Dana Thames. R. 612-13.
President Thames based his decision not to award tenure on
his own careful and independent review of Dr. Whiting’s
dossier. Id. The basis of his decision — that Dr. Whiting had
not sufficiently complied with the publication requirement for
tenure and promotion — is constitutionally permissible.
Krystek v. The University of Southern Mississippi, 164 F.3d
251, 253-54 (5th Cir. 1999); Wicks, 536 So.2d at 20-22. Dr.
Whiting offers no proof to rebut President Thames’ testimony."
+
* In fact, the basis of President Thames’ decision as set out in his
affidavit testimony is ignored by Dr. Whiting who says, in her Petition,
that “Shelby Thames provided no rationale for his decision. He referred
to not one iota of some deficiency regarding Dr. Whiting’s performance.”
Petition, p. 7.
30
CONCLUSION
All Defendants respectfully request the petition be
denied. Dr. Whiting cannot maintain her claims under
federal law because she 1) has no property interest in tenure
or promotion (or in the procedures regarding tenure or
promotion); 2) has not demonstrated a misapplication of this
Court’s jurisprudence regarding her “class-of-one” equal
protection claim; and 3) has not rebutted the testimony of
the University’s president showing a rational, constitu-
tionally permissible basis for his decision denying tenure
and promotion.
Respectfully submitted,
JAMES A. KEITH LEE P. GORE
JOHN S. HOOKS University Counsel
IAN C. JONES THE UNIVERSITY OF
ADAMS AND REESE LLP SOUTHERN MISSISSIPPI
111 E. Capitol Street, Southern Station Box 10051
Suite 350 Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Jackson, Mississippi 39406
39225 Telephone: 601-266-5725
Telephone: 601-353-3234 Facsimile: 601-266-6323
Facsimile: 601-355-9708
Counsel for Respondents
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.