Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Abboud v. United States (No. 06-348)

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

pe meee ee YUU, U.®.

aN e

: ILED

06-348 SEP 7- 2006

No. OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Hn the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

MICHEL ABBOUD,

Petitioner,

7.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circust

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

James R. WILLIS, Eso.

Oulo Rec. 0032463

Counsel of Record

THe 113 Sr. Craik BurLpina, N.E.

Suire 530

CLEVELAND, OH 44114-1214

(216) 523-1100

(216) 737-7412 Fax

Counsel for Petitioner

Becker Gallagher Legal Publishing, Inc. 800.890.5001

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I

WHETHER A REVIEWING COURT, CAN DESPITE

NUMEROUS FLAWS IT DETECTED IN THE SEARCH

WARRANT AFFIDAVIT AND THE WARRANT ITSELF,

NONETHELESS ON THE BASIS OF SEVERAL AD HOC

RESULT-ORIENTED REASONING PATTERNS,

APPROVE AND VALIDATE THE GENERAL

EXPLORATORY SEARCHED THAT WERE

ACTUALLY MADE OF CERTAIN HOMES AND

PREMISES?

Il

WHERE THE “MOTION TO-SUPPRESS” RAISES

FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS RELATIVE TO CONTENT

OF THE SEARCH WARRANT AFFIDAVIT, THE

SEARCH WARRANT ITSELF AND THE

UNREASONABLE INTENSITY OF THE SEARCH; AS

WELL AS, THE WHOLESALE SEIZURES MADE, CAN

THE TRIAL COURT DENY AN EVIDENTIARY

HEARING - -ESPECIALLY WHEN ONE IS EXPRESSLY

REQUESTED?

iil

WAS DUE PROCESS DENIED THE ACCUSED WHEN

THE COURT REFUSED TO EXPRESSLY LIMIT

CERTAIN EVIDENCE, WHICH, IF ADMISSIBLE AT

ALL, WAS NOT ADMISSIBLE AS SUBSTANTIVE

PROOF - - AS IT WAS?

IV

GIVEN THE APPELLATE COURT DETERMINED

COUNSEL FOR THE GOVERNMENT WAS GUILTY OF

MISCONDUCT IN CONNECTION WITH A VICIOUS,

VERY PERSONAL, ARGUMENT DIRECTED AT THE

APPELLANT (AN ARAB-AMERICAN IN THE POST 9-

11 WORLD), CAN THE COURT IN THE POST 9-11

WORLD MAKE THE ARBITRARY DETERMINATION

THAT SUCH CONDUCT WAS NOT FLAGRANT AND

REFUSE TO REVERSE THE CONVICTION?

V

GIVEN THE PETITIONER AND HIS CO-DEFENDANT

WERE GIVEN UNLIMITED ACCESS TO THE FUNDS

CENTRALIZED IN THE BANK FRAUD CHARGES,

CAN IT BE SAiD UNDER THE PECULIAR FACTS

HERE, THE FUNDS WERE }) ".EGALLY “KITED,”

WHICH MADE FOR THE BA®® FRAUD CHARGES

THE PETITIONER WAS CONVICTED OF?

i,

GIVEN THE ABSENCE OF ANY PROOF THOSE

ACCUSED HEREIN SOUGHT TO DEFRAUD OR

OTHERWISE CHEAT THE BANKS, FROM WHOM

THE GOVERNMENT CHARGED THEY STOLE

CREDIT (ACTUALLY REPAID BEFORE THOSE

CHARGES WERE BROUGHT), CAN IT

NONETHELESS BE SAID THEY WERE GUILTY OF

“BANK FRAUD” IN VIOLATION OF 18 U.S.C., §1344?

iil

Vil

WHETHER THE EVIDENCE PRODUCED AGAINST

THIS PETITIONER WAS SUFFICIENT TO SUPPORT A

FINDING OF GUILT BEYOND A REASONABLE

DOUBT.

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Questions Presented For Review ..............eeee. i

re re errr re viii

UE cc vecary ceneeeeke dene éieesouueus 1

Statement Of The Grounds On Which The Jurisdiction Of

Pee ee I 5 ox ooh hoc oe Seka eaenes 1

Constitutional And Statutory Provisions ............ 1

Statement Of The Case and Facts ............eee0. 2

Arguments Relied On For Allowance Of Writ ....... 6

Argument No. I:

WHERE THE REVIEWING COURT MAKES

APT DETERMINATIONS, DESPITE GLOWING

ENDORSEMENTS BY THE AFFIANT, THE

MAGISTRATE AND THE DISTRICT JUDGE,

THAT THE AFFIDAVIT FOR THE SEARCH

WARRANT AND THE WARRANT ITSELF

WERE SERIOUSLY FLAWED, CAN THE

COURT NONETHELESS IN THE WAKE OF

SEVERAL AD HOC, RESULT ORIENTED

REASONING PATTERNS APPROVE AND

VALIDATE THE GENERAL AND

EXPLORATORY SEARCHES THAT WERE IN

FACE CO SEE civ ctecscewesenctientes 7

Argument No. II:

WHERE IN A MOTION TO SUPPRESS A

DEFENDANT RAISES FACTUAL

ALLEGATIONS THAT ARE SUFFICIENTLY

DEFINITE, SPECIFIC AND DETAILED TO

ENABLE THE COURT TO CONCLUDE THERE

ARE MATERIAL ISSUES OF FACT GOING TO

THE FACIAL SUFFICIENCY OF THE

AFFIDAVIT AND THE VALIDITY OF THE

SEARCHES AND SEIZURES MADE, AN

EVIDENTIARY HEARING MUST BE HELD... 16

Argument No. ITI:

DUE PROCESS IS VIOLATED WHEN

EVIDENCE OF OTHER CRIMES, WRONGS,

AND ACTS ARE ADMITTED AS SUBSTANTIVE

PES Sc eee ned ereredecnenecectcoentacene 17

Argument IV:

GIVEN COUNSEL FOR THE GOVERNMENT

WAS FULLY AWARE THAT CERTAIN

EVIDENCE WAS NOT PROPERLY ADMITTED

AS SUBSTANTIVE PROOF, COUNSEL’S HEAVY

RELIANCE IN HER SUMMATION ON THIS

EVIDENCE AS “SUBSTANTIVE PROOF” AND

AS “CHARACTER EVIDENCE” WAS DEEMED

MISCONDUCT, THE COURT’S OPINION THAT

COUNSEL’S ACTIONS WERE NOT FLAGRANT

CANNOT SURVIVE MEANING SCRUTINY. ... 20

Vi

Argument V:

GIVEN THE PETITIONER, AND HIS CO-

DEFENDANT, WERE GRANTED UNLIMITED

ACCESS TO THE FUNDS CENTRALIZED IN

THE BANK FRAUD CHARGES INVOLVING

ONE BANK (NCB),AND THIS IN THE WAKE OF

THE ZERO BALANCE ACCOUNTS SYSTEM

SET UP BY THE BANK ITSELF: CAN IT BE

SAID THAT THE CHECKS WRITTEN ON

THESE PARTICULAR ACCOUNTS WERE

KITED, i.e., THE BANK WAS “TRICKED” INTO

EXTENDING THE CREDIT INVOLVED IN THIS

AUTHORIZED USE OF THESE PARTICULAR

DANE FPUNEMS. ccccceseceve eave vndeneemnbaye

Argument VI:

IN THE ABSENCE OF PROOF OF INTENT TO

DEFRAUD, OR OTHERWISE “CHEAT” THE

BANKS INVOLVED, A VERDICT FINDING THE

ACCUSED GUILTY OF “BANK FRAUD” IS NOT

SUPPORTED BY SUFFICIENT EVIDENCE. ..

Argument VII:

WHERE, AS HERE, THE EVIDENCE IS

INSUFFICIENT TO SUPPORT THE

CONVICTION, HERE OF MONEY

LAUNDERING, THE COURT IS REQUIRED TO

REVERSE THE CONVICTION. ..............

er a a a hi ee a

22

. 24

28

Vii

Appendix

Appendix “A” - Order of The United States Court of

Appeals For The Sixth Circuit Denying Petition For

Rehearing En Banc filed June 9, 2006 .......... la

Appendix “B” - Opinion of The United States Court of

Appeals For The Sixth Circuit filed

Pe a as hee eee ee ee kaa awe ed 3a

Appendix “C” - Order of The United States District

Court For The Northern District of Ohio, Denying

Motion to Suppress, filed April 7, 2003 ....... 78a

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213 (1983) ............. 9,12

Ornelas v. United States, 517 U.S. 690 (1969) ....... 16

Shepard y. United States, 290 U.S. 96 (1933) ........ 20

State v. Lapase, 57 N.H. 245 (1876) ........ a ee 23

United States vy. Abboud,

438 F. 3d S54 (G” Cie, TORS) nc ccsccccccces. passim

United States v. Crutchfield,

26 F. Beh 1096 CEN Cas FD occ ccccccccccccese 20

United States v. Merriweather,

76. Be GTO is ew ccetccc ccc cccccess 18

United States v. Sanders,

929 F. 28 1466 (107 Cir. 1991) 2... ccc csccccess 30

United States v. Spikes,

156 ©. Be Pre Sac eccccscccccccess 11

United States v. Stahl, 616 F. 2d 30 (2" Cir. 1980) ... 22

United States v. Stone,

954 FF F187 Ge cece ccccccsesss 26, 28

ix

RULES, STATUTES AND OTHER AUTHORITIES

ABA Standards of Criminal Justice (3d. Ed. 1993),

DD cedetéveccondusescoccssidveraveonveweseens 22

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 401 ............... 18

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 403 ............... 18

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 404(a) ............ 20

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 404(b) ... 18, 19, 20, 23

BS Unasted Beaten Ce, S5EE .ccccccccccevvcess 2, 6, 11

18 United States Code, §922(g)(1) ..............005. 2

18 United States Code, §1343 ......... ‘ieewes 2, 6, 11

18 United States Code, §1344 ............... 13, 26, 28

18 United States CG EI 6 ce eek 2

18 United States Code, §1344(2) ................... 2

18 United States Code, §1956 ........... : ccawa 2%

18 United States Code, $1957 ......ccccccccces 2, 6, 11

Be Ses Bes CORE, SI 46 6b 0 sv dncseatinest<s 2

26 United States Code, §7206(1) ................... 2

Pg a Rs rr ae nn 6

X

28 United States Code, §7203 .............00.. 2, 6, 11

28 United States Code, §7206(1) .............. 2, 6,11

28 United States Code, §7206(2) (beeen eee ees 2, 6, 11

ze United States Code, SUZS7(3) co cccccccccccccccces 1

United States Constitution, AmendmentIV .......... 2

United States Constitution, Amendment V ........... 2

J

To The Honorable, The Chief Justice And Associate

Justices Of The Supreme Court Of The United States:

The petitioner, Michel Abboud, respectfully prays that a

Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, entered in this

case on November 29, 2005, and made final by order of that

Court on June 9, 2006 when that Court denied our Motion For

Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc. (See Appendix “‘A,” at p.

1a.)

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the Court of Appeals (Appendix “B,” at p.

3a) is formally reported as United States v. Abboud, 438 F.

3d 554 (6" Cir. 2005). The District Court Order denying the

_ Motion to Suppress is Appendix “C,” at p. 78a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of- the Sixth Circuit was entered on

November 29, 2005. A seasonably filed Motion For

Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc was denied on June 9,

2006. This Petition For Writ Of Certiorari is being filed

within ninety (90) days of that date. This Court’s jurisdiction

is invoked under 28 U.S.C., §1257(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The principal provisions of the Constitution involved-are:

Amendment IV:

“The right of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects, against

unreasonable scarches and seizures, shall not be

violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon

probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and

particularly describing the place to be searched, and the

persons or things to be seized.”

Amendment VY:

“No person ... shall be compelled in any criminal

case to be a witness against himself...”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND FACTS _

Michel Abboud (and his brother Elie Abboud), were jointly

indicted in a Superceding Indictment. They were charged with

21 Counts of Bank Fraud’ (18 U.S.C., §§1344[1] & {2]), 43

Counts of Money Laundering (18 U.S.C., § 1957), and also

with Income Tax Violations (26 U.S.C., $7203). Michel was

separately charged with a failure to file tax return violation (26

U.S.C., §7206{1]). Additionally, Petitioner was indicted for

two (2) weapons charges (18 U.S.C., §922[g][1]), which were

severed and scparately tried. Michel Abboud was convicted on

all offenses.

On the search and seizure issues involved in this case, the

Sixth Circuit’s Opinion is seriously flawed. It starts with the

Court crediting the affiant with representing there was a

probable cause basis for the issuance of this warrant as it was

written. Here, it was said:

The face of the warrant application only listed one

crime, violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1344, on which the

séarch warrant was based. The problem, however, is

the affidavit incorporated to support the finding of

probable cause for this single crime also listed

additional offenses for which the affiant also found

probable cause: violations of 18 U.S.C. §§ 341, 1343,

1956, 1957, and violations of 28 U.S.C. §§ 7201, 7203,

7206(1), 7206(2). Abboud, at 17a.

This Opinion despite holding that no probable cause was

shown for all offenses enumerated above, shows the Court

' The “Bank Fraud” charges in this case involved the National City Bank

(NCB) of Cleveland and Parkview Federal Bank (PVF). The Tr. references

are to the Transcript.

3

somehow convinced itself that the warrant was only issued for

Bank Fraud. Distilled, this finding must be viewed as a

rejection of the District Court’s thesis on the basis of which it

viewed our Fourth Amendment challenges as being unfounded.

It was said:

The point is that we can only speculate as to whether

the magistrate found probable cause with respect to the

additional violations listed in the affidavit. This Court

will not uphold a search warrant based on such tenuous

ground. Abboud, at 23a.

Given this cogent thesis, what makes that Court’s rejection

of our contentions seriously flawed is the further fact that the

Court conceded it was arguable that the “Magistrate” had

simply “rubber stamped” the warrant. This was said after

endorsing the trial Court’s failure to grant us a Hearing

(Abboud, at 24a, n. 4). The fact that we never had an

opportunity to maker any type of showing obviously did not

phase the Court even slightly. And, this despite the fact that

reviewing courts are not supposed to substitute its judgment for

that of the trier-of-the-facts.

The critical facts related to the “check kiting”(i.e., bank

fraud) charges distill from a very simple scenario. Specifically,

the Record shows (in testimony provided by Walter Ryder, an

employee of the Abbouds who testified as a Government

witness), that as to National City Bank (NCB), that the Bank

“itself put the system into play” (Tr., p. 598). It was said:

A: Basically ... [the Bank] said . . . that each of the

individual disbursement accounts . . . the checks

would be written on those accounts. When those

checks came to be presented, they would pay

against the disbursement account and would send us

a report every day, and we would be able to see the

total amount clearing and make a deposit into the

main account to cover that.

Q: And did they also discuss with you the idea that

4

there was some float in there that would enure to

the benefit of the Abbouds?

A: Yes, because the disbursement accounts were

drawn out of National City in Ashland and would

be an additional day of float... . the answer was

yes, they did. ...

* K

Q: And, certainly, they were aware the checks were

coming from Park View to your knowledge?

a; See

Q: And did they ever complain to you during this

entire period of time about what was happening

insofar as the zero balances and how the checking

accounts were being funded? Did they ever

complain to you about that?

A: No. (Tr., pp. 598-601.) (Also see id., pp. 607-

612.)

How these zero balance accounts worked can be gleaned from

this testimony: aoe

Q: ... is it my understanding that on a zero balance

account, the person whose account it is does not

have to make the deposit to cover the checks until

they are informed by the bank that the checks have

been presented for payment?

A: As long as the zero account has controlled

disbursement services.

Q: And the Abbouds have that, is that correct?

A: That’s correct.

* * *

Q: Isn’t it true, when the Abbouds set it up, it was

with the understanding that when they were

notified the check had hit the zero balance

account and they had to make a deposit, they

would be doing it with Parkview Federal

checks?

5

A: Yes. Tr., pp. 828-829. (Also see Id., pp. 831-

832.)

Postured by this salient testimony, it seems clear that only the

Government saw something illegal in these routine

transactions. To be sure, the Record here also shows what was

done at Parkview Federal, the other bank, was likewise done

with full awareness by the bank. This proof flows from the

fact that the Abbouds were depositing customer checks, money

orders cashed in their check cashing business, and cash. These

deposits included checks that had been post-dated that were

involved in their “Cash Advance” program. (Abboud, at 66a-

66b.)

The various checks here referred to were routinely

deposited with Parkview Federal Bank (PVF), where the

Abbouds were very substantial depositors, creditors and

owners, in the sense they owned a considerable quantity of the

Bank’s own stock. The Bank was also shown to have had a

Certificate of Deposit valued at “$500,000 plus” (Tr., pp. 859-

860). And, while the Bank had mortgages on most of the

Abbouds’ properties, the properties represented, with reference

to their banking activities with PVF, a superabundance of

equity that was sufficient to underwrite any shortages. Simply

put, the Bank was satisfied the Abbouds’ holdings were

sufficient to collateralize all of their transactions - - and indeed

they said so (Id., pp. 853-854). (Also see Tr., pp. 1010-1011.)

Here Schimmelman (an executive a PVF) testified he was to be

notified if the Abbouds did not make deposits to cover their

accounts when they went negative. |

Granted, the Abbouds would routinely write checks on the

zero balance accounts at NCB, these would be deposited in

PVF to cover shortages in their PVF accounts. And, the

Abbouds were allowed to make use, again with the Banks’

knowledge and apparent acquiescence, of what was described

as “carryover.” This method resulted in deposits being made

and not being charged until the next day, which obviously was

6

an advantage the Abbouds made use of. (Tr., pp. 576-582.)

ARGUMENTS RELIED-ON FOR ALLOWANCE OF

WRIT

In analyzing the Petitioner’s various contentions, that were

said to show the Affidavit and warrant were sufficiently flawed

to require the suppression called for in the Motion to Suppress,

it seems Clear enough that the Court of Appeals’ thesis simply

cannot be squared with its dispositive rationales on the Fourth

Amendment issues. Reference here is to certain clear and

unambiguous findings, that were made by the Court. Indeed,

the Court aptly concluded “the warrant application only listed

one crime .. . [Bank Fraud], on which the search warrant was

based” (Abboud, at 19a). This the Court then recognized as

a problem because the affiant had “listed” in his Affidavit

additional offenses for which he (the affiant) also found

“probable cause” - - ie., “violations of 18 U.S.C., §§341,

1343, 1956, & 1957 and violations of 28 U.S.C., §§7202, 7203,

7206(1), & 7206(2).” (Abboud, at 19a.) Finding the warrant

flawed, it was stated:

... this Court cannot determine whether the Magistrate

in this case found probable cause for all the violations

listed in the Affidavit or for only the violations listed on

the face of the warrant . . . (Id., 21a.)

What compounds the Fourth Amendment issues all the

moreso is this further quote, that:

With respect to the additional violations contained in

the affidavit but not on the face of the warrant a police

office could not reasonably rely on the affidavit to

validate a search for evidence of these additional

violations. The natural reading of the face of the

warrant was that the affidavit was incorporated only for

the purpose of establishing probable cause for bank

fraud. Moreover, the warrant was unclear as to

whether the magistrate did indeed find probable cause

7

for these additional violations. Law enforcement may

not take advantage of the warrant’s equivocal posture to

illegally seize evidence. . . .With respect to bank fraud

in any year beside 1999, the affidavit’s lack of probable

cause was obvious to the reasonably trained officer.

The affidavit only listed suspicions of check kiting in

these other years. Id., 40a. (Emphasis supplied.)

To be sure then, counsel is not merely confounded further

by the above quotes, actually he is dumb-founded by them. For

how could the Court trivialize the categorical statement

likewise made by them, that no “police officer could . . . rely on

the affidavit to validate a search for evidence of the additional

violations” and still reject our thesis: that the search was

unconstitutional.

ARGUMENT NO. I

WHERE THE REVIEWING COURT MAKES APT

DETERMINATIONS, DESPITE CONTRARY

ENDORSEMENTS BY THE AFFIANT, THE

MAGISTRATE AND THE DISTRICT JUDGE, THAT

THE AFFIDAVIT FOR THE SEARCH WARRANT AND

THE WARRANT ITSELF WERE SERIOUSLY

FLAWED, CAN THE COURT NONETHELESS IN THE

WAKE OF SEVERAL AD HOC, RESULT ORIENTED

REASONING PATTERNS APPROVE AND VALIDATE

THE GENERAL AND EXPLORATORY SEARCHES

THAT WERE IN FACT CONDUCTED.

Simply put, given the issue here as to the reasonableness of

the Magistrate’s conclusion (even when it is inferred, the case

here) that one would keep accouterments and the like that could

be related to the dated “bank fraud” charges centralized in the

Affidavit, the issue was one that deserved being very

specifically corrected on appeal. It was not. Surely that cannot

end the matter. ‘

Because this is so, in our judgment the following

arguments, are dispositive.

A: Since Probable to Search Pertains to the Occurrence

of a Specific Crime (Or Crimes) the Affidavit

Submitted in Quest of a Warrant Must be Examined

to Determine Whether it Set Forth a Constitutionally

Sufficient NEXUS Between the Thing Sought and

Specific Criminality.

A fair distillation of the Fourth Amendment issues in this

case are exposed in their gross proportions from the Opinion

rendered below. Therein, the Court simply ignores the

significance of our request for a Hearing. For a Hearing would

have allowed us to present evidence bearing on certain critical

and dispositive issues raised in the Motion (e.g., those raised in

Ti 7, 9, 12-14, 16, 19-20, 22 and 25-26 of the Motion itself).

Thus it is again being contended that the Affidavit for the

warrant was insufficient on its face, and that it authorized the

general and exploratory searches that were indeed conducted.

It is also being said that illegal and improper seizures were

made. These could have been demonstrated at a Hearing.

Also, it should be noted, and reckoned with, is that the

Affidavit for the warrant to search the Petitioner’s home and his

business premises, for evidence of any Federal crime, was

based on the assumption that there was probable cause to

believe such evidence, although incapable of being

“particularized,” could be located that would tend to prove that

our Petitioner had not only “kited” some checks years before

(i.e., in 1999), and that he had also committed these other

crimes identified in the Affidavit. Significant here, as can be

inferred from the Opinion here being challenged, the affiant

somehow was able to artificially elevate into probable cause to

search a collection of “nebulous, unclad representations,”

which were brazenly coupled with a plethora of naked and

unclad assertions related to the numerous crimes that were

denominated in his Affidavit. (Abboud, at 21a-23a.)

Significant here, the trial Judge was convinced, indeed he said

9

so, that the warrant actually authorized the expansive search the

officers conducted because: the search warrant incorporated the

“Affidavit, which contains nine statutes/criminal offenses”

(Apx. “C,” at p. 4).

Obviously, as put by the Court it was alright to search for

and actually seize every piece of paper on the premises, even

the home premises. This was so because “‘it is reasonable to

believe the evidence of the bank fraud [said to have been

committed two (2) years before and other possible federal

crimes] could be found” on the premises of the businesses

associated with the bank accounts in question. (Abboud, 24a-

25a & 3a-4a.)

The bottom line here is that the failures of the warrant to

limit the searchers to anything that was particularly described

in the warrant (itself) drained, both, the particularity

requirement of the Fourth Amendment and the probable cause

requirement of all their intended significance. Thus, it can be

said this requirement, for all practical purposes, was effectively

nullified.

Simply put then, it seems clear eneugh that any analysis of

the probable cause and the particularity issues must begin with

resolving our query as to whether there were any items that

were particularly described and whether a connection existed

between those items and the “Bank Fraud” charges. Distilled,

the inquiry the District Court and the Sixth Circuit were

required to make focuses on whether the Magistrate who issued

the warrant “had a substantial basis for concluding that a search

would uncover evidence of wrongdoing,” Illinois v. Gates, 462

U.S. 213, at 236 (1983)

B: Where The Affiant Willfully Fails To Include In His

Affidavit Facts That Arguably Could Have Impacted

On The Decision To Issue The Warrant, The Issue Is

One That Cannot Be Resolved On The Basis Of A

General Principled Analysis.

Here, it is beyond dispute the affiant was aware, as was

10

argued in the Motion, that despite the effort to show the

Parkview Federal Bank had loss millions of dollars, the reality

was that institution did not lose a dime. Also, the affiant was

aware National City Bank was only owed a token amount and

even that sum was fully collateralized.

Given then that the “Bank Fraud” charges referred to in the

Affidavit had all supposedly occurred in (a three month span

of) 1999, and given that the Affidavit did not disclose the

Banks involved were fully aware of, and approved in advance

(all the banking transactions), and given further the banking

activities that supposedly made for the alleged “kite” were

covered by overdraft protection, were collateralized and were

a part of a system the banks themselves installed, validated and

knowingly profited from, surely these showings made for facts

and circumstances that were simply not fully reckoned with by

the Courts below. Thus, it follows that these were issues that

could not be resolved, and subsumed as they were in the trial

Court’s rote determination that the Affidavit was facially

sufficient. The same can be said for the ad hoc, result-

oriented, reasoning patterns indulged in by the Sixth Circuit,

that arguably impelled its unwillingness to disapprove of the

wrongs visited on this Petitioner in the wake of these searches.

Here too, it should be noted: the affiant did not claim to

have had any meaningful, or even slight, experience in the

investigation of financial crimes. Yet, he was heralded as being

a seasoned FBI agent (Abboud, at.27a). The Record, of

course, shows this was virtually a new assignment for him.

Indeed, we actually have the Sixth Circuit’s artificially

extolling his “meager” experiences as of the critical date here.

Likewise, of significance to any analysis of the facial

sufficiency of the Affidavit is the Court’s statement that “the

warrant authorized search for records from January 1996 to

May 2002. Yet, despite this statement, in the wake of the legal

wizardry that was resorted to, the warrant was nonetheless held

to be valid with respect to Bank Fraud for a three month period

1]

in 1999.” (Abboud, at 35a).

Indeed, it is out belief, there was no basis for any belief that

physical proof of any identifiable crimes would be in

Petitioner’s home or in his business places. The bottom line

then is there was literally no way any officer executing this

warrant could reasonably know what items could be seized and

which items should not be seized. Of course, had there been a

Hearing, the proof would have showed the officers acted as

though they were empowered to make the wholesale seizure

they made. This is so despite the Sixth Circuit’s assurances

that: “a police officer could not reasonably rely on the Affidavit

to validate a search for evidence of [other] . . . violations” (id.,

p. 40a), i.e., the “additional offenses for which the affiant also

found probable cause: violations of 18 U.S.C., §§341, 1343,

1956, 1957, and violations of 28 U.S.C., §§7201, 7203,

7206(1), 7206(2).” (Id., p. 19a.)

Significant here, our belief is that the Government cannot

have it both ways. The Court can not say in one breath the

affiant was this seasoned agent, whose expertise the Magistrate

rightly relied on in issuing the search warrant (Abboudt p.

26a-28a), and in another breath say no officer could have

reasonably relied on this warrant as it pretains to other crimes

(id., p. 39a-41a).

C: Information In An Affidavit For A Search Warrant

Must Be Based On Facts So Closely Related To The

Time The Warrant Is Issued To Justify A Search - -

Otherwise It Is Stale And The Search Cannot Be

Validated.

In United States v. Spikes, 158 F. 3d 913 (6" Cir. 1998),

our Court had aptly determined that any “question of staleness

depends on the inherent nature of the crime” (id., p. 923). And,

it was said that such things as to the “character of the crime,”

the things to be seized and the places to be searched were

relevant considerations. Indeed, in emphasizing this narrow

point the Court was told the Affidavit referred to bank

12

transactions that had occurred more than two years before.

And, it was contended that the affiant would be unable to

respond when asked: what on earth could he possibly believe

would be secreted in Petitioner’s home. Despite the cogency

of these showings the District Court opined “the Affidavit

expressly incorporated, by reference on the cover of the

warrant, tax crimes up to the date of the search as well as

more recent bank fraud, mail and wire fraud violations”

(Apx. “C,” at n.4.) The Court’s stated position concerning the

warrant having been effectively “incorporated” in the Affidavit

was repudiated. (See Abboud, 20a-22a.) Here, of course, the

problem with the District Court’s flawed incorporation

conclusion that its presence could very well have been what

caused the Magistrate to issue this warrant. And, it could be

that absent its presence the Court could have ruled otherwise.

D: A Valid Warrant It Must Describe The Items

Searched for With Particularity, The Items To Be

Searched For And Seized.

Here, the argument was made that where the Affidavit only

identifies, some broad general category of things to be seized

and leaves the determination to the searching officers whether

any particular item falls in that category, the warrant is

defective. Having said that the bottom line here is that the

issuance of this beleagued warrant also offended a basic

concept that the warrant must be sufficiently definite to enable

the searchers to identify the property it authorizes them to

search for. See Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213 (1983). Gates

emphasizes the Magistrate’s “action cannot be a mere

ratification of the bare conclusions of other crimes. Id., p. 239.

Here,-the Sixth Circuit, in what can only be an indication

that the Court was truly confounded by certain of our

contentions, actually indulged itself in a result-oriented

reasoning pattern that actually justified the opposite result:

Three scenarios exist as to the magistrate’ s treatment of

the additional violations listed in the affidavit but not

13

on the face of the warrant and found that the

government had shown probable cause for each of the

additional violations. She then either felt that the

incorporation clause was sufficient to incorporate these

additional violations or she failed to recognize that the

additional violations were not listed on the face of the

warrant. Under scenario two, the magistrate reviewed

the additional violations and found that the government

had not shown probable cause for any of the additional

violations on 18 U.S.C. § 1344. She then noticed that

the face of the warrant only listed that violation, and

that the incorporation clause only pertained to the

probable cause for that violation. She signed the

warrant, believing that the basis of the warrant was

solely the violation of 18 U.S.C. §1344. Under

scenario three, the Imagistrate did not review the

additional violations and the asserted probable cause in

the affidavit because the face of the warrant only listed

18 U.S.C. § 1344.

k * *

The point is that we can only speculate as to whether

the magistrate found probable cause with respect to the

additional violations listed in the affidavit. This Court

will not uphold a search warrant based on such tenuous

ground. Abboud, at 21a-22a.

What the above sermon magnifies, is the fact that the

Affidavit is yet to be said to have set forth probable cause to

conduct the expansive searches that were in fact made. In

failing to do so, the Court ignores the awesome fact that it had

specifically had concluded the extensive references to “third

party suspicions of criminal activity on the defendant’s part . .

. by its nature does not rise above mere suspicion insufficient

to sustain a finding of probable cause” (id., 24a-26a).

So postured, what makes the inclusion of the averments

here referred to (that were respectfully dated in 2000, March,

14

2001, July 2001, January 2002, April 2002, and May 2002

[ibid}) so critical, is that it clearly makes for a circumstance

bearing on the Court’s further conclusion that although “the

warrant authorized search for records from January 1996 to

May 2002,” as they saw it “the warrant was only valid with

respect to bank fraud for a three month period in 1999" (id.,

35a), which made the warrant “over broad in this respect”

(ibid).

E: The Court Is Required To Revisit A Ruling Made On

The Motion To Suppress When The Facts Developed

During The Trial Show The Necessity For Such

Action.

Central to this issue was the following testimony rendered

by the affiant:

Q: And isn’t it true [your Affidavit] represented to the

magistrate that you believed or concluded . . . that

{Mr.] Male and Mr. Schimmelman had withheld

information intentionally from National City Bank

and the FBI?

A: There was suspicion of that, yes.

* *

Q: And you also told him that Mr. Male had devised a

scheme to recoup losses to Parkview Federal while

representing to the FBI that there was no loss?

A: That's correct.

* * *

Q: And you also told the Magistrate . . . that Mr. Male

had not provided those guidelines to either of the

Abbouds. Is that correct?

A: Yes.

* * *

Q: Other than the allegations I just made, you made

several allegations to the Magistrate in support of

the affidavit with respect to inappropriate conduct

by Mr. Swaney and Mr. Schimmelman, correct?

15

A: Yes.

***

Q: And as result .. . [you calculated that despite] all

these assumptions with respect to Male and Swaney

and Schimmelman [charges] were, in fact, not

going to be brought .. ..?

A: That’s correct .. .we determined they were not...

[properly characterized in the Affidavit].

Tr., pp. 1427-1431. (Emphasis supplied.) With the above

testimony as a given, counsel argued:

... The agent has just recanted a lot of the critical

averments the Magistrate relied on in issuing that

search warrant, and J think the Court has to revisit that

issue in light of this officer’s testimony. Id., p. 1439.

(Emphasis supplied.)

Significant here, counsel incorporated the entirety of the

questions, of which those quoted above are only a segment, as

providing the specificity required as support for our

revisitation Motion (id., pp. 1440-1441). The Court summarily

denied our Motion (ibid). This the Court did despite the fact

that the Court had to also be aware of the following segment of

testimony (id., pp. 841-842), in which Swaney’s (a high

executive at the Bank), disputed a segment of the Affidavit:

Q: When the search warrants were executed . . .[at the

Bank] did you have an opportunity to read the

affidavit that was attached to the search warrant?

* * *

A: Yes.

Q: And did you have a problem with what was

contained in the affidavit?

A: Yes.

Q: In fact, did you have a problem that in the affidavit

it contained conclusions by Special Agent Morgan

that you and Mr. Mu» «nd Mr. Schimmelman had

16

intentionally withheld information from the FBI

and from National City Bank; isn’t it true that you

disagree with that?

A: Yes.

So that our position will be crystal clear on this point, our

view is that where, as here, the Judge learns facts during the

trial which contradict facts he relied on in denying a Motion to

Suppress, he should revisit the issue in the light of those new

facts.

ARGUMENT NO. II

WHERE IN A MOTION TO SUPPRESS A DEFENDANT

RAISES FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS THAT ARE

SUFFICIENTLY DEFINITE, SPECIFIC AND

DETAILED TO ENABLE THE COURT TO CONCLUDE

THERE ARE MATERIAL ISSUES OF FACT GOING TO

THE FACIAL SUFFICIENCY OF THE AFFIDAVIT AND

THE VALIDITY OF THE SEARCHES AND SEIZURES

MADE, AN EVIDENTIARY HEARING MUST BE HELD.

In Ornelas vy. United States, 517 U.S. 690 (1969), this

Court determined the ultimate question, as to whether the facts

considered by the Court before it endorsed the search was a

mixed question of fact and law and should be subject to an

independent appellate review. Here, of course, it could not be

any Clearer that given the very specific allegations made in the

Motion to Suppress, there is really no way all of those issues

should have been resolved as they were, without a hearing.

This is particularly so with reference to certain very specific

averments that were challenged. Also, issues raised as to the

execution of the warrant and the wholesale seizures

consummated were not resolved. This is so, despite the fact

that these officers seized anything and everything they saw fit.

17

ARGUMENT NO. Iil

DUE PROCESS IS VIOLATED WHEN EVIDENCE OF

OTHER CRIMES, WRONGS, AND ACTS ARE

ADMITTED AS SUBSTANTIVE PROOF.

Evidence is only admissible under the ambit of Rule 404(b)

when deemed admissible on the Record as being relevant to

some purpose other than the character of the defendant or his

propensities. To be sure, no one can possibly argue against the

proposition that the testimony concerning the monies the

Abbouds paid (if you can believe the Government’s evidence)

“under the table” as salary to two of the Government’s

witnesses (and arguably others), showed they committed

countless uncharged federal tax crimes. On the other hand, it

is likewise clear none of the evidence here referred to was

relevant (Rule 401, Federal Rules of Evidence) to the charges

in this case. Indeed, if it was relevant, its probative value was

outweighed by its truly devastating prejudice. See Evidence

Rules 403 and 404(b). But, even more important, the fact that

more than one motion for a mistrial was made in relation to this

evidence is compellingly significant.

This follows, as counsel-opposite conceded, because the

law in our Circuit was clear. Indeed, in United States v.

Merriweather, 78 F. 3d 1070 (6" Cir. 1996), our Court had

actually held that where (as here) a defendant objects to the

introduction of extraneous acts testimony, the prosecution must

State the specific purposes for offering the extraneous acts

evidence was being offered. Of no mean significance here,

Rule 404(b) actually forbids what was done here, i.e., the

introduction of evidence regarding other crimes and the like

when the purpose was to show the character of an accused and

to show that he acted in conformity with that character in

committing the acts charged.

Simply put then, the trial Court failed to pay any heed

whatsoever to our contention that the assailed evidence was not

admissible for any purpose, and that if admissible an instruction

18

was required. So postured, it is compellingly significant that

the Court did not make the findings required of him by Rule

404(b). And, he failed to so instruct the jury. Again, it should

be noted it was for this reason the defense more than once

moved for a mistrial. —— reaihes

To be sure, as the Court noted, there was testimony about

receiving payroll payments “under the table,” or unreported to

the Internal Revenue Service. (Abboud, at 49a-50a.) To be

sure, it should be understood, the Record here does show the

defense repeatedly and adamantly, object (in vain) to the

Government’s production of segments of this evidence (Tr., —

pp. 623-625, 1144-1145 & 1440-1442). What is significant

about the various requests, for limiting instructions, is that a

point was reached where the Government seemed clearly to

understand that perhaps such an instruction ought to be given.

At least this is the spin counsel would put on certain statements

(quoted below) made by counsel-opposite.

Next, it should be further noted that counsel’s concern over

the egregious impact of this evidence was such that he was

moved to incorporate all his objections, and expressed

concerns, in a “Motion for a Mistrial.” Surely this effort was

magnified by the prosecutor’s statement. For here, we were

given proof positive that counsel was aware this evidence was

repeatedly being assailed and was not substantive proof. If it

were otherwise there is no way counsel-opposite would have

advised the Court that: “there is Sixth Circuit law an instruction

should be made every time 404(b) evidence is given and at the

end of the trial... ..” (Tr., pp. 1441-1443.) Later, the

Government argued this so-called 404(b) evidence “showed

that defendants were motivated by greed to avoid their financial

obligations to the IRS .. . [hence] such evidence was

admissible to show their motives in avoiding their tax

obligations in their personal lives.” Our point here, is

magnified by the Sixth Circuit agreeing the Government’s

wilful misuse of this evidence was misconduct. (Abboud,

19

53a-56a.) Yet, despite this condemnation of counsel, the

Court’s harmless error essay barely came short of giving her

absolution.

The sad truth about the quoted statement is that even if this

proof was indeed admitted for this limited purpose, the grim

fact is no one bothered to tell this to the jury. Also, the

brazenness of counsel’s reference to facts designed to besmirch

the Petitioner’s character and “personal” life can be regarded as

persuasive proof that shows not only counsel’s disdain for Rule

404(a) and 404(b), but an apparent belief she cou'd make such

a devastating argument with impunity.

In our view, the Sixth Circuit seems clearly to have ignored

the fact of the emphasis placed on the egregious references to

the Petitioner’s character and his family. See United States v.

Crutchfield, 26 F. 3d 1098 (11" Cir. 1994). Also, it seems

clear enough counsel fully intended, all along, that this proof

should be regarded as negatively impacting on the Petitioner’s

character. Proof this is so will inexorably flow from counsel’s

failed effort to show this assailed proof, and the arguments

made on the basis thereof, did not amount to “character

assassination.”

Given the evidence here being assailed, one is reminded of

what was once Said by a sage from a bygone, but enlightened,

era. Indeed, it was Justice Cardoza, who wrote that: “a trial

becomes unfair if testimony . .. [admitted for one purpose] may

be used . . . as though admitted for a different purpose,

unavoided and unsuspected.” Shepard vy. United States, 290

U.S. 96, at 103 (1933). This tenet makes a point that is most

compelling.

20

ARGUMENT NO. IV

GIVEN THE COURT AGREED COUNSEL’S

RELIANCE, IN HER SUMMATION, ON CERTAIN

EVIDENCE THAT WAS NOT PROPERLY ADMITTED

AS SUBSTANTIVE PROOF TO ASSAIL THE

ACCUSED’S CHARACTER AND OTHERWISE

PERSONALLY DENIGRATE HIM WAS DEEMED

MISCONDUCT, THE CONCLUSION THAT HER ACTS

‘WERE FLAGRANT CANNOT SURVIVE MEANINGFUL

SCRUTINY.

Hopefully it is being understood that the contention being

made here is not limited to the naked fact that the assailed

segments of counsel’s summation were egregiously flawed and

worked to deny our Petitioner a fair trial. Indeed, it is also

being said, particularly in view of counsel’s awareness the

assailed proof did not qualify as substantive proof, that

counsel’s actions were correctly viewed as outright misconduct.

(Abboud, at 53a-56a.) Here, she argued:

Michel achieved the ultimate dream, he was shopping

at Saks Fifth Avenue, sending the children to Hathaway

Brown. It was a good life, but with the American

dream comes responsibilities, and one of the

responsibilities is to file tax returns. The Abbouds

could not be bothered to do that.

We know this was an intentional failure because they

had filed in the past. They knew what their obligations

were, and we also know it because they were cheating

- ona weekly basis with their payroll. Now, that’s not

charged in this case, but it does give you evidence of

what was going on in their minds when they decided

not to file their returns. Tr., pp. 1685-1686.

(Emphasis supplied.)

Clearly the facts as to: (1) whether the Defendant “cheated”

on his taxes, as was said by the prosecutor during her

peroration, “on a weekly basis;” (2) whether the Defendant sent

21

his wife “shopping at Sax Fifth Avenue;” and (3) whether he

sent his children to an exclusive girls’ school (as was likewise

argued by counsel for the Government), were arguments

counsel could not possibly believe she could make with

impunity. This follows because prosecutors, even those for the

Government, are forbidden to use arguments calculated to

flame the passions and prejudices of the jury. Here, of course,

it cannot be said the prosecutor’s comments were not willfully —

crafted.

Further, given the argument that Michel Abboud had

cheated on a “daily basis” on his taxes, even if what was said

about his wife and children was true, who can deny that

counsel’s statements created an unacceptable risk that these

impermissible remarks produced elements of irrationality into

the jury’s decision making process. Here, we have the fact that

“the prosecutor should not make arguments calculated to appeal

to the prejudices of the jury,” ABA Standard, 3-5.8.

Undeniably then, the real vice in counsel’s peroration is that

this was not a mere appeal to a class of bias, the prosecutor

equated the Petitioner’s ability to provide well for his family

with greed, immorality and evil. In so doing, counsel went out

of her way to demonize the accused about things “that had

absolutely nothing to do with defendant’s guilt or innocence.”

United States v. Stahl, 616 F. 2d 30, at 32 (2" Cir. 1980).

Simply put, this was an intemperate appeal to any possible

class bias possessed by the jurors. Arguably, as we see it, the

prosecutor’s colorful and abusive rhetoric was relied on to not

only denigrate the accused, but to form an artificial barrier to

any possible acquittals. We submit these derogatory

insinuations were all the more offensive because it is beyond

dispute that statements of this type have a unique capability to

remain in the juror’s minds and influence their deliberations.

Stull another consideration truly applicable here, is the fact

that being an Arab-American, Michel Abboud was particularly

susceptibie to this type of vicious argument. Indeed, it is this

22

fact that causes us to fully contend the possibility exists these

comments which were not impromptu, were part of an

intentional appeal to an insidious prejudice.

Now, one might ask: why is it the prosecutor cannot make

arguments like the one assailed here? Seemingly it would

make sense to argue, as counsel did, that if Michel Abboud

cheated on his taxes, indeed on a “daily basis,” and yet was able

to do the things it was said he did for his wife and children,

then it makes sense that he probably committed the crimes

charged in the indictment. The answer as to why this type of

argument cannot be made is “plain and decisive: the law is

otherwise.” State v. Lapase, 57 N.H. 245, 275, 299 (1876).

While the trial Court was quite satisfied (and indeed said

so) that Michel Abboud was not wronged by the substantive

admission of what is now being said was 404(b) evidence, the

impact of this evidence cannot be limited to its admission for

the undisclosed purpose belatedly told us (and not the jury),

was the basis for its admission. Indeed, there is really no way

one can overlook the fact of the prosecutor’s summation, in

which she dwelt heavily on this impermissible evidence. For

uS, it is at once clear the only purpose for which this evidence

was even offered was to show Michel Abboud “was an even

worse person” than the Government’s evidence bearing on the

charges may have shown him to be. And, it was offered to

show he was guilty of even more criminal acts than he was

actually charged with - - in fact counsel for the Government

made this precise point.

ARGUMENT NO. V

GIVEN THE PETITIONER, AND HIS CO-DEFENDANT,

WERE GRANTED UNLIMITED ACCESS TO THE

FUNDS CENTRALIZED IN THE BANK FRAUD

CHARGES INVOLVING ONE BANK (NCB),AND THIS

IN THE WAKE OF THE ZERO BALANCE ACCOUNTS

SYSTEM SET UP BY THE BANK ITSELF: CAN IT BE

23

SAID THAT THE CHECKS WRITTEN ON THESE

PARTICULAR ACCOUNTS WERE KITED, ie., THE

BANK WAS “TRICKED” INTO EXTENDING

PETITIONER THE CREDIT INVOLVED.

Significant to the sufficiency issues, is the following

testimony:

Q: Mr. Swaney, after Mrs. Curschman brought to your

attention this alleged check kite, the procedures at

the bank were changed, isn’t that true?

* * *

A: Ultimately they were, yes.

**k *

Q: During the remainder of 1999, 2001, 2002 the

Abbouds continued to make deposits at the bank

and get cash, immediate access to cash, isn’t that

true?

* * *

Q: A.d, it would be fair to say, would it not, that one

of the major concerns discussed in those meetings

was the issue of collateral] by the Abbouds for the

various amounts that the bank clatmed were owed?

A: The issue was collecting the shortage, not the

collateral. Collateral was not an issue.

** +

Q: Allright. You viv ved the collateral just as a means

by which to collect that which you felt was

outstanding?

A: If we needed to use it, yes.

* * *

Q: Well, it was a fact, was it not, that Parkview was

charging the Abbouds approximately 7, $8,000 a

month in fees for the cash that they were using?

* * *

A: Partly for the cag they were using. Again, when

you're culling the overdraft amount, the other part

24

of the charge was the pass-through from National

City Bank, our correspondent bank for wiring bad

checks [cashed by the Abbouds at their stores and

deposited]. Tr., pp. 888-893.

The significance of Swaney’s testimonial references to

comments made by him as to these tapes of two of the bank’s

board meetings that had occurred “in September *99" is quite

compelling. Here he summarizes the Bank’s understanding of

the Abbouds’ “check cashing business.” (ibid).

ARGUMENT NO. VI

IN THE ABSENCE OF PROOF OF INTENT TO

DEFRAUD, OR OTHERWISE “CHEAT” THE BANKS

INVOLVED, A VERDICT FINDING THE ACCUSED

GUILTY OF “BANK FRAUD” IS NOT SUPPORTED BY

SUFFICIENT EVIDENCE.

Regardless of the spin counsel conjures up to say, with

reference to what, and when, the Abbouds were confronted by

the Bank, one thing is clear. Here, counsel must reckon with

the fact that John Schimmelman (the Bank exccutive) did not

testify that he accused the Abbouds of check kiting. Here his

testimony is clear cut, what Schimmelman testified to was: “I

told him that / thought it looked like it might be kiting, and if it

was it was not legal, and it had to stop.” (Tr., p. 997.)

Predictably the Government will again make the effort to

show that the Abboud were indeed relies on the flawed

assertion that the Abbouds were indeed told they were “kiting,”

or misconstrues Schimmelman’s testimony to show (as the trial

Court did) that the “Abbouds” were in fact told that what they

were doing was illegal, the Government’s thesis is fatally

flawed. Indeed, it can no more survive meaningful scrutiny

than can the trial Court’s ill-advised reliance on this asserted

fact as the basis for its dispositive conclusion, on this issue.

Now, as we understand it, to convict the Defendant of Bank

Fraud, 18 U.S.C., $1344, it seems clear that the Government

25

was required to prove they knowingly executed “a scheme to

defraud.” Obviously, as the jury was told, one acts with the

intent to defraud if he acted with the specific intent to deceive,

i.e., for the purpose of causing some financial loss (in this

instance) to the Banks, or for the purpose of bringing some

financial gain to himself. Of course, proof of intent to cheat, or

the lack of any such intent, can arise from the circumstances

surrounding the relationship the parties had with each other.

Here, of course, it is clear National City was aware of the

Abboud’s method of doing business. Indeed, it is beyond

dispute that it was National City that actually crafted, installed

and gave the system (used and relied on by the Abbouds) to the

Abbouds. :

In short, the testimony is undisputed that it was National

City who made it possible for the “float,” centralized in this

_ case, so far as their bank was concerned, to inure to the benefit

of the Abbouds. Thus, the Bank was fully aware how all the

possible aspects of this “float” was to be used, and was used,

for years. So postured, it cannot be said with impunity the

utilization of National City’s Ashland, Ohio affiliate, which the

Bank engineered in order to give the Abbouds this extra day,

was done without the knowledge of the Bank. Nor can it be

said the Abbouds “cheated” National City whenever they relied

on the float.

As to Parkview, the Record here, as well, shows the upper

hierarchy of the Bank was personally and intimately aware that,

for years, the Abbouds were over-drafting their accounts. So

postured, it is also significant that this Record is devoid of

proof that either, Parkview or National City were “tricked” out

of any money. Significant here, in United States v. Stone, 954

F. 2d 1187 (6" Cir. 1992). There the Court noted the check

kite scheme involved was characterized by not being —

“authorized . . . or known to the Bank.” Id., pp. 1192-1193.

Given the Abbouds had the benefit of these zero balance

accounts at National City, and the Bank routinely accepted

26

outside deposits to bring the balance back to zero, an event that

regularly occurred and was approved by the Bank, the question

then is: where is the proof that the people at National City, who

put the system in, and milked it to their benefit for years, were

tricked in any way by the Abbouds? As we see it, there is a

difference between the conduct of the Abbouds and that of

people who engage in kiting checks. Simply put, a check kiter

acts without the knowledge of the Bank. And, there was

nothing done or said by the Abbouds, with reference to

National City, that was surreptitious or hidden; hence, clearly

what they did was not illegal.

As to Parkview, the evidence is clear from John Male (the

Chief Executive Officer), and the other Bank officials who

testified in this case, that they actually approved, and

knowingly profited from, the Abbouds’ banking practices.

(Tr., pp. 965-967) Indeed, it could not be any clearer that

Parkview was fully aware that the various accounts with which

we are concerned were constantly, and unabatedly, in an

overdraft status. (Tr., pp. 1001-1005.) Further, these bankers

also knew ; it that most of the monies used to fund all Of the

Abbouds’ accounts were checks collected in their businesses - -

checks drawn on other financial institutions, cash and the

cverdraft protection, which they sold the Abbouds. Here, in

addition to overdraft protection (Id., pp. 1005 & 1031), the -

Bank was satisfied that their right to off-set, which they could

look to if they ever feared their funds were at risk (id., pp.

1040-1042). This they believed sufficiently protected them.

Obviously then, it is disingenuous for the Government (or

anyone else) to ignore, as they surely will continue to do, that

the Bank itself was insulated from the knowledge of its

officers. Likewise significant here is the fact that clearly the

officials absolutely knew that the Abbouds’ Parkview accounts

were virtually in a perpetual state of overdraft. (Id., 1001-

1005.) Again, the Bank provided the Abbouds instant credit

and charged them for it. It is this awesome fact that points to,

27

and magnifies, the critical flaws in the Government’s proof and

Sixth Circuit’s rationale. Reference here is to the

Government’s failure to show that the various officers who

allowed this practice to continue, and allowed these overdrafts,

were simply “tricked” in some way. It also puts in dispute the

Court’s flawed rationale that the Abbouds’ collateral was

iimited to $500,000.00 (Abboud, p. 70a-71a). The point here

is worth repeating. Despite the Sixth Circuit’s repeated use of

the $500,000.00 figure, the testimony is different. (Tr., pp.

853-854.) Also see id., pp. 883-893, there Swaney testified

that “collateral was not an issue.” (Ibid.)

Next, we deal with certain givens: mere overdrafts do not

rise to the level of a fraud on the Banks, or a misapplication of

their funds under 18 U.S.C., §1344. Again, the Abbouds were

allowed by the Banks tadeal with them in the manner that they

did. This was done for years. Indeed, unlike, the situation in

United States v. Stone, 954 F. 2d 1187 (6" Cir. 1992),

everything that was done here can be characterized as

“authorized . . . or known to the Bank” (id., pp. 1192-1193).

Also, the overdraft activity and the extravagant fees generated

for the Bank were shown by the evidence to be part and parcel

of a lucrative banking policy.

Given then, the absence of any proof the money practices

indulged in by the Abbouds, which the Banks implemented,

were utilized in an effort to defraud the Bank was designed to

cause actual losses to the Bank, it follows the Government’ s

case is truly glaringly flawed. Simply put, there was a gross

failure here to prove the Abbouds had a specific intent to

deceive or cheat the Bank. So postured, certain things are

worth repeating. The banking activities of the Abbouds, and

the activity in their accounts; as well as, their relationships with

other banks, were openly recorded in the records of Parkview,

and arguably National City as well. Their records showed these

things were routinely discussed at Parkview Savings by its

officers and dealt with on a daily basis at these Banks.

28

To be sure, aspects of these daily contacts were recorded in

bank documents, and they were fully and thoroughly discussed

by the bank officers and their Board of Directors. Indeed, these

records were shown to be available at all times to the officer

and the directors. These records were likewise available to the

Bank Regulators and bank employees during the entire time of

the relationship - - i.e., a relationship that had lasted for years.

So postured, it borders on being ludicrous and would be

absolutely flawed for anyone - - including the Government, to

insist the actions of the Abbouds, which had for years actually

been discussed, approved and ratified, were unknown to the

Bank. Given the Bank profited mightily from their

relationship, how were they cheated?

ARGUMENT NO. VII

WHERE, AS HERE, THE EVIDENCE IS INSUFFICIENT

TO SUPPORT THE CONVICTION, HERE OF MONEY

LAUNDERING, THE COURT IS REQUIRED TO

REVERSE THE CONVICTION.

The convictions here for money laundering should have

been reversed because there was insufficient evidence_for the

jury to conclude that Michel Abboud’s actions constituted the

underlying bank fraud or money laundering. Simply put,

evidence is sufficient only if a rational trier of fact could have

found the essential elements of the crime beyond a reasonable

doubt. ,

The money laundering charges in this indictment were

based on the fact that the funds involved in the various banking

transactions centralized in the charges made in the indictment

were laundered. As to this, the law it quite clear. In order to

convict on these laundering charges the Government was

required to prove (1) that Michel Abboud not only conducted

the transactions involved, which is conceded, (2) that he knew

the funds involved were the proceeds of unlawful activity, and

(3) that he knew the transactions were designed to conceal or

29

disguise the nature, location, source, ownership and control of

the proceeds involved.

_ To begin with, our contention is Michel Abboud could not

be guilty of money laundering if he was not guilty of bank

fraud. This follows because in that event the money would not

be proceeds of an illegal activity. The money could not have

been laundered. On the other hand, even if the jury found that

a “bank fraud” occurred, to be guilty the proof must still

establish the accused knew the money was in fact being

Jaundered. Here it is significant, as we see it, that there was a

total lack of proof any of the banking transactions here

involved were performed for the purpose of concealing or

disguising the nature, source, or ownership of the funds. This

follows because clearly the checks drawn on the banks

involving the instant credit, or the overdraft protected

transactions, were not concealed. Indeed, as the Sixth Circuit

determined, the routine deposits, which formed the basis for the

laundering charges included checks, money orders, and the like

that were collected by the Abbouds in their business. The

banks were privy to all aspects of these transactions. Indeed,

the Banks profited by way of fees, interest, and the like, for the

use of their money, and most assuredly were not being

“tricked” - - an essential element of the bank fraud charge. So

postured, even if the Abbouds’ methods in dealing with the

Banks, in the manner with which we are concerned, served to

“launder” funds (as the Government charges), still there is no

evidence Michel Abboud knew these transactions were for the

purpose of laundering the funds. See United States v.

Sanders, 929 F. 2d 1466, at 1471 (10 Cir. 1991). There it

was held that the Government failed to show the accused made

an effort to conceal anything from the Banks.

Further, it is clear that the purpose of the Money

Laundering statute is to reach commercial transactions intended

(at least in part) to disguise the fact that the funds involved

were the product of illegal activity. What, of course, is most

30

critical here is the fact that all the money transactions involved

in the money laundering charges, indeed in even the bank fraud

charges, were open and notorious - - at least as much as the

typical bank transactions can be.

CONCLUSION

To be sure, the following quote from the Sixth Circuit

Opinion is truly perplexing to counsel. Here, the Court

reasoned that even if the search warrant in this case is held to

be defective, the fact is any inappropriate seizures were “based

on reasonable, good faith reliance on the warrant” And, that

would be dispositive. The problem counsel has with that thesis

is “reasonable good faith reliance” on a defective warrant is a

finding of fact which should only be made in the wake of a

resolution of contentions the parties are allowed to make. And

this on the basis of the evidence. Given the Government has

the burden of proof, and given the Government is yet to

concede the search warrant was defective, it hardly seems fair

that the Sixth Circuit could resolve an issue, the Petitioner not

only did not know existed, but they had no input in its

resolution.

To be sure then, at the very least this case should be

remanded for factual findings relative to the good faith issue,

as well as others that clearly have been shown to exist. Not the

least would be the issues that surface from the general seizures

that were made on an admittedly flawed search warrant. Also,

it should not be overlooked that the Sixth Circuit, after

extolling the expertise of the affiant and crediting hin with

having assured the Magistrate that probable cause existed, then

oraculated for us that no “police officer could . . . reasonably

rely on the Affidavit to validate a search for-evidence of these

additional violations” (Abboud, at 40a), these officers acted in

good faith (ibid) and the Petitioner was not prejudiced because

the Court say. so.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES R. WILLIS, ESQ.

Reg. No. 0032463

Counsel of Record

The 113 St. Clair Building

113 St. Clair Avenue, N.E., Suite 530

Cleveland, Ohio 44114-1214

(216) 523-1100

(216) 737-7412 (Fax)

ATTORNEY FOR PETITIONER,

MICHEL ABBOUD

la

APPENDIX A

a —————

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

No. 04-3943

[Filed June 9, 2006]

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

MICHEL F. ABBOUD,

)

)

)

)

V. )

)

)

)

Defendant-Appellant. )

)

BEFORE: SILER and CLAY, Circuit Judges; and JULIAN

COOK,” District Judge.

ORDER

The court having received a petition for rehearing en

bar~ and the petition having been circulated not only to the

original panel members but also to all other active judges of

* Hon. Julian A. Cook, Jr., Senior United States District Judge for

the Eastern District of Michigan, sitting by designation.

2a

this court, and no judge of this court having requested a vote

on the suggestion for rehearing en banc, the petition for

rehearing has been referred to the original panel.

The panel has further reviewed the petition for rehearing

and concludes that the issues raised in the petition were fully

considered upon the original submission and decision of the

case. Accordingly, the petition is denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/ Leonard Green

Leonard Green, Clerk

3a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 04-3942/04-3943

- [Filed February 17, 2006]

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

ELIE F. ABBOUD (04-3942) and MICHEL

ABBOUD (04-3943),

Defendants-Appellants.

a

Before: SILER and CLAY, Circuit Judges; COOK, District

Judge.”

OPINION

CLAY, Circuit Judge. Defendants Elie F. Abboud and

Michel Abboud appeal the July 13, 2004 order of the United

* The Honorable Julian A. Cook, Jr., United States District Judge

for the Eastern District of Michigan, sitting by designation.

4a

States District Court for the Northern District of Ohio

convicting and sentencing Defendants for bank fraud in

violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1344(1); money laundering in

violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1957; conspiracy to commit money

laundering in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 371; and failure to file

income tax return in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7203.

Additionally, the order convicted and sentenced Defendant

Michel Abboud for filing a false income tax return in

violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7206. For the reasons set forth

below, we AFFIRM the convictions on all counts, but we

VACATE Defendants’ sentences and REMAND to the

district court for resentencing.

I. BACKGROUND

A. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On June 14, 2002, a federal grand jury indicted

Defendants Elie Abboud and Michel Abboud on twenty-seven

counts of bank fraud, one count of conspiracy to commit bank

fraud, forty-four counts of money laundering, and one count

of conspiracy to commit money laundering. On December 11,

2002, a federal grand jury returned a superseding indictment

that added tax charges for both Defendants and firearm

charges against Defendant Michel Abboud. Specifically, the

grand jury charged Defendant Elie Abboud with failure to file

an income tax return in 1999 and 2000. The grand jury

charged Defendant Michel Abboud with filing a false tax

return in 1999, and failure to file a tax return in 2000.

The district court granted Defendant Michel Abboud’s

motion to sever the firearm counts from the other counts.

Defendant Michel Abboud made a pretrial motion to

suppress evidence seized from his home and his businesses.

Sa

On April 7, 2003, the district court denied Defendant’s

motion. With respect to Defendant’s request for an

evidentiary hearing, the district court found that Defendant

did not allege disputed issues of fact. Instead, Defendant made

“general conclusions” and arguments “entirely legal in

nature.” (J.A. at 235.) The district court also found that the

warrant was supported by sufficient probable cause for the

crimes of bank fraud, money laundering, and tax violations.

The district court found that the warrant also met the

particularity requirement with respect to the items to be

seized. The district court ruled that the warrant was not stale,

as it described ongoing criminal activity. With respect to

seizure of items outside of the scope of the warrant, the

district court reasoned that, from a practical perspective, law .

enforcement officers could not be expected to sift through all

documents to exclude those outside the scope of the warrant,

and that, in any case, the warrant was not general in nature.

With respect to Defendant’s claim of omissions from the

search warrant, the district court ruled that Defendant could

not prove deliberateness or recklessness in connection with

the omissions, and even if the omissions were included in the

search warrant, probable cause would have still existed.

On September 5, 2003, the government made a motion in

limine to prevent Defendants from presenting evidence of

selective prosecution at trial. The district court granted the

motion.

On January 20, 2004, the government gave notice of its

intent to offer Rule 404(b) evidence. The district court

admitted this evidence.

On February 17, 2004, the jury found Defendants guilty

on all counts. Defendants filed a motion for a judgment of

acquittal, a motion for a new trial, and a motion for arrest of

6a

judgment. On May 7, 2004, the district court denied these

motions.

With respect to the motion for a judgment of acquittal, the

district court first rejected Defendants’ claim of multiplicity.

Defendants’ claim was that they were impermissibly indicted

for each transaction of the bank fraud scheme. The district

court found that Defendants had waived the argument, as they

had not made a proper pretrial motion. [n addition, the district

court found that the argument was substantively incorrect, as

the statute allowed separate counts for each transaction in the

scheme.

The district court also found evidence sufficient to support

the convictions of bank fraud, money laundering, and tax

violations. The district court rejected Defendants’ argument

that the banks had allowed the practices at issue and that

Defendants had acted in good faith. The district court found

that the money laundering statute did not require concealment

on the part of Defendants. The district court also found that

Defendants failed to raise any issues with respect to the tax

violations.

The district court further ruled that the introduction of

Rule 404(b) “other acts” evidence without a_ limiting

instruction did not require a judgment of acquittal.

The district court reaffirmed its position as to its decision

to deny Defendant Michel Abboud’s motion to suppress.

The district court rejected Defendants’ contention that

expert witness testimony was improperly admitted. The

district court found that Defendants’ arguments went to the

weight and not to the admissibility of the evidence.

7a

With respect to the motion for a new trial, the district

court reaffirmed its decision to exclude Defendants’ evidence

that they were the target of selective prosecution. Specifically,

Defendants alleged that they were targeted because of their

Arab descent in the post-September 11 landscape. The district

court found that Defendants did not make a selective

prosecution claim via a pretrial motion, and that selective

prosecution was not a matter for the jury.

With respect to the motion for arrest of judgment, the

district court found that the government charged and proved

Defendant Michel Abboud’s guilt with respect to his filing of

a false tax return.

On July 13, 2004, the district court sentenced each

Defendant to ninety-seven months of imprisonment, three

years of supervised release, and charged criminal monetary

penalties. Defendants timely filed _— of appeal.

|

B. FACTS |

1. Defendants’ Business Practices

Defendants are brothers who own various “corner stores”

that sell groceries and money orders, and offer check cashing

services.

Donald Slusher (“Slusher”) worked for Defendants from

1994 to 1996. During his employment, Defendants would

instruct Slusher to deposit checks from their accounts into,

other accounts controlled by them. Defendants controlled

seven or eight bank accounts. Slusher deposited the checks

into the various accounts in order to|\cover checks written the

previous day from the accounts. In other words, Defendants

would write a check from Account | on Day |. Defendants

8a

would then have Slusher deposit a check from Account 2 on

Day 2 into Account 1 to cover the check from Day 1.

Defendants determined the check amounts and in which

accounts to deposit which checks. Slusher believed that the

practice was check kiting.’ Slusher had access to the check

registers, and he found that the balances in the accounts were

“very, very low.” (J.A. at 536-37.)

Walter Ryder (“Ryder”) also worked for Defendants,

from 1990 or 1991 to 1999. When Slusher left in 1996, Ryder

inherited Slusher’s banking responsibilities. Defendants kept

a separate book to track the true account balances versus the

account balances shown by the banks, and Ryder was

responsible for maintaining and informing Defendants of this

difference. While the account-balances given by the banks

were usually positive, the actual balances tracked by Ryder

were usually negative.

Defendants gave instructions to Ryder similar to those

given to Slusher. For example, Ryder would “tell [Defendant

Elie Abboud] what the balance at National City [Bank] was,

what needed to be deposited, based on what was clearing that

day, and I would ask what we should deposit that day.” (J.A.

at 555.) Defendant Elie Abboud would then tell Ryder to

deposit a certain amount of money from Parkview Federal

' Check kiting is a systematic scheme to defraud, whereby

nonsufficient checks are traded or cross deposited between two or

more checking accounts in order to artificially inflate the bank

account balances. This is accomplished by using the float time in

the bank system. Once bank accounts are artificially inflated,

checks that would normally be returned for nonsufficient funds are,

in fact, paid or honored by the issuing banks.

(J.A. at 820-21.)

9a

Bank (“PVF”) accounts into the National City Bank (“NCB”)

accounts. Ryder would then deposit various forms of checks,

such as customer checks, rent checks, and checks drawn from

Defendants’ other accounts into the PVF accounts.

Ryder was also responsible for maintaining “Elie’s Special

Report,” which was a summary of the accounts in terms of

bank balance, outstanding checks, and actual book balance.

This report showed that although Defendants’ accounts had

positive bank balances, they had negative actual balances. For

example, on September 1, 1998, the bank balance was

positive $1.3 million, but the actual balance was negative $2.3.

million.

In July of 1999, Defendants told Ryder that PVF had a

policy change that disallowed Defendants from depositing

PVF checks into PVF accounts. As a result, Defendants

instructed Ryder to use accounts at other banks to make

deposits into the PVF accounts.

2. Policy of the Banks

Defendants had zero balance accounts in connection with

a controlled disbursement system with NCB. The zero balance

accounts entailed a system that had two types of accounts: a

main account, and separate disbursement accounts.

Defendants could write checks drawn from the disbursement

accounts. In turn, the disbursement accounts would draw

from the main account. If the main account was negative, then

NCB would ask Defendants to cover the negative amount.

Defendants had zero balance accounts with PVF as well,

although with a different system. Defendants had specific

accounts with PVF for use with their check cashing business.

The mechanics of such an account was that Defendants would

10a

deposit customer checks that they had cashed into an account

on Day 1. PVF would then give “instant credit” to

Defendants, so that they could withdraw the full amount of

the checks deposited on Day 1, even though PVF had not

received credit from those checks. On Day 2, PVF would find

out which checks deposited were actually good and which

were returned by the computer. As a result, a possibility

existed that Defendants’ account would be negative, if

Defendants had withdrawn on Day | an amount that was

greater than the actual amount credited on Day 2.

PVF allowed these accounts to become negative, because

it had $500,000 in collateral from Defendants. If the account

was negative, Defendants on Day 2 had to deposit funds

sufficient to place the balance at zero.

PVF also charged a fee for the “instant credit” given to

Defendants on Day |. This was in connection with expenses

in handling the accounts and for the time value of money.

Defendants also had zero balance accounts with Star

Bank. The policy was similar to that of the NCB controlled

disbursement system in that there was a main account and

disbursements accounts. Defendants could have a negative

balance on the main account, so long as they corrected the

negative balance at the bank’s request.

3. Investigation by the Banks

Elizabeth Curschman (“Curschman”) was an assistant

compliance officer at PVF. On June 29, 1999, Curschman

noticed that Defendants’ accounts had checks being held for

insufficient funds in the amount of $547,000. Curschman then

noticed that Defendants paid funds into the account to cover ~

these checks. Two days later, Curschman noticed two

lla

accounts where checks were being held for insufficient funds,

also in large amounts. Curschman also noticed these checks

were from one PVF account to another PVF account, so-

called “on-us” checks. Curschman expressed her concern to

John Schimmelman (“Schimmelman”), the checking account

supervisor at PVF. The two then organized a meeting with

Defendants to discuss the problem.

At the meeting, Schimmelman asked Defendant Elie

Abboud to explain the heavy transactions for the accounts.

Defendant Elie Abboud could not offer an explanation.

Schimmelman noted that the actual negative balance on PVF

accounts was approximately $1.5 million. Schimmelman

instructed Defendants to separate their checks so that on-us

checks would be processed directly against the accounts.

Schimmelman stated that the transactions looked like check

kiting, and if check kiting was occurring, it had to stop.

Defendant Elie Abboud stated that he had not been involved

in the business recently, and that he would look into the

situation. Defendants also said that they had brought in money

and would bring in more to cover the balance.

After this meeting, Curschman continued to monitor

Defendants’ accounts. Curschman reported that Defendants

began to use checks from other banks to continue to cover the

negative balances. In her opinion, the problem had not

stopped.

Because of the continuing problem, John Male, president

and CEO of PVF, held a meeting with Defendants in the

beginning of September 1999. He told Defendants that he

viewed the activity as check kiting, and the activity had to

stop. The audit committee of PVF met twice to discuss the

situation. Curschman noticed more check kiting activity on

September 30, 1999.

12a

On October 4, 1999, PVF officials held a meeting with

Defendants. Defendants stated that they “had not presented an

accurate picture of their finances” and needed an additional

$1.8 million to cover the actual negative balances of the

accounts. PVF officials decided to lock out Defendants’

accounts. PVF also submitted a suspicious activity report

(“SAR”) to the FBI.

On October 7, 1999, James Muraco (“Muraco”), a NCB

vice president, noticed an overdraft of almost $1.3 million on

Defendants’ accounts. Muraco set up a meeting with

Defendants. Defendant Elie Abboud stated that he had just

started to notice the shortage in the accounts two months

prior. Muraco concluded that the overdraft was the result of

“phony checks” being deposited into the NCB accounts.

Muraco contacted Chris Feczko (“Feczko”), an NCB internal

investigator, and told him about his suspicion that Defendants

were engaged in check kiting. Feczko noticed several “red

flags” that indicated check kiting, such as the cycling of

checks between accounts.

On October 12, 1999, Muraco and Feczco held a meeting

with Defendant Elie Abboud. The purpose of the meeting was

to determine if there was ar: explanation for the activity, and

to see if there was criminal activity occurring. At the meeting, '

Defendant Elie Abboud stated that the bookkeeping functions

of the business had been entrusted to employees, and that he

did not know how the situation had gotten out of hand. He

also stated that he was the one who discovered the problem,

and that he went to PVF to try to solve the problem. NCB

also filed a SAR.

13a

4. Investigation by the FBI

After the FBI received SARs from PVF ari NUB, the FBI

began an investigation of Defendants. The FBI subpoenaed

bank records and analyzed those records usine the Check

Kiting Analysis Software (“CKAS”).

Special Agent Randall Wolverton testified as an expert

witness at Defendants’ trial. He testified as to the general

nature of a check kiting scheme. He testified that he had

examined Defendants’ records and the results of the CKAS

analysis, and he found that Defendants had engaged in check

kiting from June 1999 to August 1999. He based this opinion

on the disproportionate volume of checks written between

Defendants’ accounts in comparison with third party checks.

He also based his opinion on the disparity between

Defendants’ check transaction volume and Defendants’ sales

volume. Finally, Wolverton based his opinion on the

substantial differences between the bank balance and the

actual balance of the accounts.

Special Agent David Morgan testified as to the “bleeding”

of the kite, whereby Defendants would extract funds from the

artificially inflated accoun:s. He testified specifically with

respect to the transactions from June 1999 to August 1999.

Defendants were making cash withdrawals, loan payments,

and money order payments with the money from the check

kite.

Defendant Elie Abboud stipulated that in 1999 and 2000

he had income in excess of the statutory threshold so that he

was required to file a tax return for those years.

14a

Defendant Michel Abboud stipulated that in 2000 he had

income in excess of the statutory threshold so that he was

required to file a tax return for that year.

The government presented evidence that Michel Abboud

did not report gambling winnings on his income tax return for

1999. The government also presented evidence that Defendant

Michel Abboud did not report income from his businesses in

that year.

Il. DISCUSSION

A. THE DISTRICT COURT DID NOT ERR WHEN IT

REJECTED DEFENDANTS’ MULTIPLICITY

CLAIM

1. Preservation of the Issue

Under Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 12(b}(2), a

defense or objection “based on defects in the indictment or

information,” other than jurisdictional objections, must be

raised by pretrial motion. If a defendant does not make such

a motion, the defense or objection is waived, but the court

may grant relief from the waiver for cause. Fed. R. Crim. P.

12(f).

A conflict exists in this Court’s precedent on the issue of

whether a defendant who does not raise a claim of multiplicity

before trial waives the claim not only with respect to the error

in the indictment but also to the error affecting substantive

rights. One line of cases has found that where a defendant

fails to make a pretrial motion claiming multiplicity in the

indictment, the defendant waives not only the claim based on

the technical correctness of the indictment, but also the claim

of multiplicity based on substantive rights, such as duplicative

15a

sentencing. The seminal case for this line is United States v.

Woods, 544 F.2d 242 (6th Cir. 1976). There, the defendants

argued that they had been incorrectly indicted and convicted

of multiple counts of narcotics possession, when all of the

narcotics seized were at the same location and from the same

shipment.’ Jd. at 250-51. The Court found that because the

defendants had not made a pretrial objection to the

indictment, their claims, including the claims of improper

multiple sentences, were waived. Jd. at 251. This view has

been the more prevalent in the recent jurisprudence of this

Court. See United States v. Hart, 70 F.3d 854, 859-60 (6th

Cir. 1995); United States v. Colbert, 977 F.2d 203, 208 (6th

Cir. 1992) (finding waiver of the defendant’s claim of

improper multiple sentences for multiple counts of perjury).

Under the opposing line of cases, this Court has found that

waiver of a claim of error of multiplicity in the indictment

was not a waiver of a claim of error affecting substantive

rights. This line is rooted in United States v. Rosenbarger,

536 F.2d 715 (6th Cir. 1976). The defendant in that case was

a felon, and police found three guns in his home. /d. at 718.

He was convicted for three counts of being a felon in

possession of a firearm. /d. at 717. The Court vacated the

convictions and sentences for two counts, because it found

- multiple gun possession amounted to only one violation of

being a felon in possession of a firearm, unless the firearms

were stored at different locations or acquired at different

times. /d. at 721. The government argued that the defendant

? The indictment separated the narcotics counts by the varying

strength of the narcotics in hydrochloride form. For example,

Count 12 charged possession of cocaine hydrochloride with a

strength of 15.8, and Count 15 charged possession of cocaine

hydrochloride with a strength of 32.7. /d. at 250 n.4

l6a

waived his multiplicity challenge by failing to make a pretrial

motion. /d. The Court responded:

The Government maintains that Fed. R. Crim. P. 12

should be applied in this case. Rule 12, provides, inter

alia, that if the defense of multiplicity is not raised

prior to trial, it is waived. The argument that one

waives his right to object to the imposition of multiple

sentences by his failure to object to the multiplicitous

nature of an indictment is a non sequitur. Rule 12

applies only to objections with regard to the error in

the indictment itself, the effect of Rule 12 is that

dismissal of a miultiplicitous indictment is not

required; however, if sentences are imposed on each

count of that multiplicitous indictment the defendant is

not forced to serve the erroneous sentence because of

any waiver.

Id. at 721-22 (emphasis supplied). Although the defendant in

Rosenbarger could not object to the indictment, he could

object to the resulting substantive error of multiple sentences

in violation of the Double Jeopardy Clause. This view has

been acknowledged by the Court, both in the multiplicity

‘context, see Moody v. United States, 580 F.2d 238, 239 (6th

Cir. 1978), and in the duplicity context, see United States v.

Adesida, 129 F.3d 846, 849 (6th Cir. 1997) (holding that a

defendant who fails to object to a duplicitous indictment, /.e. ,

an indictment that charges two crimes under the same count,

waives his challenge as to the technical error in the indictment

but not to the substantive error with respect to his right to a

unanimous jury verdict for each crime).

These two lines of cases directly conflict and cannot be

- reconciled. Because this Court decided Rosenbarger before

Woods, Rosenbarger controls. See Salmi v. Secretary of

17a

Health & Human Services, 774 F.2d 685, 689 (6th Cir. 1985)

(“A panel of this Court cannot overrule the decision of

another panel. The prior decision remains controlling

authority unless an inconsistent decision of the United States

Supreme Court requires modification of the decision or this

Court sitting en banc overrules the prior decision.”).

The question then becomes whether Defendants made any

substantive objections to the multiplicity in the indictment. In

both the motion for judgment on acquittal and the briefs

before this Court, Defendants only object to the form of the

indictment: “It is clear that rather than charge the Defendants

in one count . . . the Government instead charged separate

and distinct transactions as separate counts.” (J.A. at 294.)

Defendants never claim violation of a substantive right, such

as sentences in violation of double jeopardy. As a result,

Defendants waived their claim of multiplicity with respect to

the indictment.

2. Analysis

Even assuming Defendants did not waive the claim of

multiplicity, the claim lacks merit. Section 1344 of Title 18 of

the United States Code makes illegal each execution or

attempted execution of bank fraud. The circuits have been

consistent in the determination that each check in a check

kiting scheme is an execution or attempted execution, and

thus each check may be charged in a separate count. United

States v. Sirang, 70 F.3d 588, 596 (11th Cir. 1995); United

States v. Schwartz, $99 F.2d 243, 248 (3d Cir. 1990); and

United States v. Poliak, 823 F.2d 371, 372 (9th Cir. 1987).

In an unpublished opinion, this Court affirmed that view.

United States v. Lucas, 68 F.3d 475, 1995 WL 598403, at *4-

5 (6th Cir. Oct. 10, 1995) (unpublished decision). We

likewise find that each check in a check kiting scheme is an

18a

execution or attempted execution of bank fraud and may be

charged in a separate count.

B. THE DISTRICT COURT DID NOT ERR IN

DENYING DEFENDANT’S MOTION TO SUPPRESS

1. Preservation of the Issue

Defendant Elie Abboud did not join Defendant Michel

Abboud’s motion to suppress. A motion to suppress evidence

must be made before trial. Fed. R. Crim. P. 12(b)(3)(C). If

a defendant does not make such a motion, he waives the

claim. Fed. R. Crim. P. 12(f). As a result, Defendant Elie

Abboud waived his claim with respect to the evidence in

question in Defendant Michel Abboud’s motion to suppress.

Thus, we consider this claim only with respect to Defendant

Michel Abboud.

2. Standard of Review

When reviewing a district court’s denial of a motion to

suppress, the Court reviews factual findings for clear error

and legal conclusions de novo. United States v. Gillis, 358

F.3d 386, 390 (6th Cir. 2004) (citing United States v. Harris,

192 F.3d 580, 584 (6th Cir. 1999)).

3. Analysis

a. Incorporation of the Affidavit

The instant case presents a unique issue with respect to the _

incorporation of the affidavit into the search warrant. The

application for the search warrant in this case stated:

I David P. Morgan being duly sworn depose and say:

19a

I am a Special Agent of the Federal Bureau of

Investigation and have reason to believe that on the

property of premises known as ATTACHMENT A

in the Northern District of Ohio there is now

concealed a certain person or property, namely SEE

ATTACHMENT B

which is

Property that constitutes fruits, evidence, and

instrumentalities of crimes against the United States,

concerning violation of Title 18 United States code,

Section 1344. The facts to support the finding of

Probable Cause are as follows: See attached Affidavit

hereby incorporated by reference as if fully restated

herein.

(J.A. at 128.) The face of the warrant application only listed

one crime, violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1344, on which the

search warrant was based. The problem, however, is the

affidavit incorporated to support the finding of probable cause

for this single crime also listed additional offenses for which

the affiant also found probable cause: violations of 18 U.S.C.

§§ 341, 1343, 1956, 1957 and violations of 26 U.S.C.

§§ 7201, 7203, 7206(1), 7206(2).

The question then becomes whether the warrant, in this

specific form, was valid for a search for evidence of all of

these crimes, as opposed to valid only with respect to

evidence of a violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1344. The district

court answered in the affirmative: “[Tjhe affidavit, expressly

incorporated by reference on the cover of the warrant, sets

forth evidence of tax crimes up to the date of the search, as

well as more recent bank fraud and mail and wire fraud

—_—_—— Ss

20a

violations.” In response, Defendant erroneously claims that

the search warrant does not contain an incorporation clause at

all. The government does not even address the issue of

incorporation in its brief to this Court.

We disagree with the district court and find that the

incorporation clause was insufficient to incorporate the

additional violations into the search warrant, and, as a result,

the search warrant was only valid for evidence with respect to

18 U.S.C. § 1344. The Court’s jurisprudence with respect to

incorporation of an affidavit into a search warrant almost

exclusively addresses the particularity or prebable cause

requirement of a search warrant. See, e.g., United States v.

Watkins, 179 F.3d 489, 494 (6th Cir. 1999) (incorporation of

an affidavit to provide sufficient particularity of place

searched); and United States v. Blakeney, 942 F.2d 1001,

1024 (6th Cir. 1991) (incorporation of an affidavit to provide

probable cause). This Court has not addressed whether an

affidavit incorporated for the purpose of supporting probable

cause of a single violation may also be incorporated to

establish probable cause for additional violations not listed on

the face of the warrant but for which the affiant professes

probable cause.’ Despite the lack of directly controlling case

law, several factors: militate in favor of disallowing such a

broad incorporation of the affidavit.

The natural reading of the search warrant is that the

affidavit was incorporated only to show probable cause for

violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1344. There is absolutely no

* The dearth of case law on this point in all likelihood stems from

the fact that law enforcement officers customarily list on the face of

the search warrant all of the violations for which they seek

evidence.

2la

indication on the face of the warrant that the affidavit was

incorporated to show probable cause for the additional

violations. We could foresee an incorporation clause that

would have such effect; for example, if the face of the

warrant stated, “See attached Affidavit hereby incorporated

for the violations and underlying probable cause that

constitute the basis of the search warrant.” The search

warrant in this case, however, only states:

Property that constitutes fruits, evidence, and

instrumentalities of crimes against the United States,

concerning violation of Title 18 United States code,

Section 1344. The facts to support the finding of

Probable Cause are as follows: See attached Affidavit

hereby incorporated by reference as if fully restated -

herein.

(J.A. at 128.) The affidavit is only referenced to establish

probable cause for a violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1344.

More importantly, this Court cannot determine whether

the magistrate in this case found probable cause for all of the

violations listed in the affidavit or for only the violation listed

on the face of the warrant. The government bears the burden

of showing probable cause in connection with a search

warrant. Fed. R. Crim. P 41(c); United States v. Weaver, 99

F.3d 1372, 1377 (6th Cir. 1996). Only if the magistrate finds

probable cause can she issue a search warrant. Fed. R. Crim.

P. 41(c); Weaver, 99 F.3d at 1377. In this case, the only

certainty is that the magistrate found probable cause with

respect to the violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1344.'

* Of course, a possibility exists that the magistrate “rubber

stamped” the warrant, in which case the entire warrant would be

22a

Three possible scenarios exist as to the magistrate’s

treatment of the additional violations listed in the affidavit.

Under scenario one, the magistrate reviewed the additional

violations listed in the affidavit but not on the face of the

warrant and found that the government had shown probable

cause for each of the additional violations. She then either felt

that the incorporation clause was sufficient to incorporate

these additional violations or she failed to recognize that the

additional violations were not listed on the face of the

warrant. Under scenario two, the magistrate reviewed the

additional violations and found that the government had not

shown probable cause for any of the additional violations but

had shown probable cause for violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1344.

She then noticed that the face of the warrant only listed that

violation, and that the incorporation clause only pertained to

the probable cause for that violation. She signed the warrant,

believing that the basis of the warrant was solely the violation

of 18 U.S.C. § 1344. Under scenario three, the magistrate did

not review the additional violations and the asserted probable

cause in the affidavit because the face of the warrant only

listed 18 U.S.C. § 1344.

We cannot say that one scenario is more likely than the

others. The government may argue that Attachment B, listing

items to be seized, indicates that the magistrate found

probable cause with respect to the other violations; for

example, the list includes “[{c]opies of all tax returns prepared

on behalf of the above mentioned businesses and individuals,”

(J.A. at 119), so that the list evidences that the magistrate

invalid. United States v. Frazier, 423 F.3d 526, 537 (6th Cir.

2005). Defendant, however, has the burden to show such

miscouduct, United States v. Rodriguez-Suazo, 346 F.3d 637, 649

(6th Cir. 2003), and he has not produced any such evidence.

23a

found probable cause with respect to the tax violations. This

item, however, can also be construed as evidence of a

violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1344, bank fraud. In other words,

the government sought these income tax returns not to show

the individual Defendants violated income tax laws, but to

show disparities between paper and actual wealth as evidence

of the check kiting scheme. In fact, all of the evidence of

these additional crimes could also be construed as evidence of

bank fraud.

The point is that we can only speculate as to whether the

magistrate found probable cause with respect to the additional

violations listed in the affidavit. This Court will not uphold a

search warrant based on such tenuous ground.

We are sympathetic to the argument that, in practical

terms, Defendant was on notice of the additional violations

and the evidence for these additional violations overlapped

with the evidence of the violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1344. This

argument, however, misses the point in that notice of

evidence to be seized does not cure a lack of a probable cause

determination.

We also recognize that the exclusionary rule is meant to

deter police snisconduct: “The exclusionary rule was adopted

to deter uniawful searches by police, not to punish the errors

of magistrates and judges.” J/llinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213,

263, 103 S. Ct. 2317, 76 L. Ed. 2d 527 (1983) (White, J.,

concurring in the judgment). The government may argue that

the magistrate erred when she did not clearly state for which

violations she had found probable cause. We are more

inclined to view the case as one of applicant error; the

applicant simply forgot or otherwise failed to list the

additional violations on the face of the warrant. As the party

seeking the search warrant, the applicant maintains the

24a

responsibility of clearly setting out the violations for which he

is searching for evidence. Specifically listing the additional

violations on the face of the warrant would have required a

minimal effort, and the resulting clarity would have made

such effort worthwhile.

-Moreover, while the record does not indicate any

misconduct on the part of law enforcement in this case, a less

than imaginative mind could conjure a scenario where law

enforcement purposely placed hidden violations in the

affidavit in order to bootstrap these violations to the

magistrate’s probable cause determination. A better rule

would be to require the applicant to list the violations on the

face of the search warrant or, if incorporating an affidavit, to

require the applicant to make clear with the incorporation

clause on the face of the application that the affidavit contains

the relevant violations.

As a result, we find that the magistrate approved the

search warrant only with respect to the violation of 18 U.S.C.

§ 1344.

b. Probable Cause

The Fourth Amendment requires probable cause for

searches and seizures. U.S. Const. amend. IV. “Probable

> We will proceed with the following caveat: although the warrant

was not approved for the independent search of evidence for the

additional violations, it does not follow that all evidence of these

additional violations found during the search must be suppressed.

As stated, supra, an overlap exists between evidence lawfully

obtained through a search based on violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1344

and evidence of the additional- violations. We will explain the

ultimate consequences below.

- a

25a

cause has been defined as ‘reasonable grounds for belief,

supported by less than prima facie proof but more than mere

suspicion.’” United States v. Padro, 52 F.3d 120, 122-23 (6th

Cir. 1995) (quoting United States v. Bennett, 905 F.2d 931,

934 (6th Cir. 1990)). “To demonstrate probable cause to

justify the issuance of a search warrant, an affidavit must

contain facts that indicate a fair probability that evidence of a

crime will be located on the premises of the proposed

search.” United States v. Frazier, 423 F.3d 526, 531 (6th Cir.

2005) (internal quotations and citation omitted). Probable

cause is based on the totality of the circumstances; it is a

“practical, non-technical conception that deals with the factual

and practical considerations of everyday life.” Jd. (internal

quotations and citation omitted). When reviewing probable

cause, the Court may only look within the four corners of the

affidavit. /d. (citation omitted). Additionally, the Court should

give great deference to a magistrate’s determination of

probable cause. United States v. Allen, 211 F.3d 970, 973

(6th Cir. 2000) (quoting Spinelli v. United States, 393 U.S.

410, 419, 89S. Ct. 584, 21 L. Ed. 2d 637 (1969)) (en banc).

i. The Violation

Because we find that the magistrate approved the warrant

only with respect to bank fraud, we will limit our probable

cause analysis to that violation. The affidavit stated more than

sufficient probable cause for the charge of bank fraud in

1999. The FBI conducted a check kiting analysis for a three-

month period in 1999. The analysis revealed that during the

three months, Defendants made $300 million in deposits to

their various accounts, and 85% of these deposits were kited

-funds. This analysis demonstrates probable cause for check

kiting violations in 1999.

26a

On the other hand, the affidavit does not establish

probable cause for bank fraud via check kiting in subsequent

years.° The affidavit lists the following evidence:

(1) In 2000, Metropolitan Bank filed a Suspicious Activity

Report (“SAR”) concerning Defendants’ accounts.

(2) In March 2001, Curschman noted suspicious activity with

respect to Defendants’ accounts.

(3) In July 2001, a security officer at FirstMerit Bank became

suspicious of activity in Michel Abboud’s account.

(4) In January 2002, Curschman discovered Michel Abboud

was using a bank account in violation of previously

established guidelines. ,

(5) In April 2002, PVF filed a SAR concerning Defendants’

accounts.

(6) In May 2002, Merchant Express Money Order

(“MEMO”) severed its relationship with Defendant Elie

Abboud, and MEMO incurred a loss.

Even when considered cumulatively, the above-referenced

evidence does not meet the threshold of probable cause. Most

of the evidence recites a third party’s suspicion of criminal

activity on Defendants’ part. This evidence by its nature does

° We recognize’. the indictment only charged the defendants with

bank fraud with respect to the three-month period in 1999. This

fact, however, is irrelevant as to whether the affidavit stated

probable cause for seizure of evidence of bank fraud outside of this

period.

27a

not rise above mere suspicion insufficient to sustain a finding

of probable cause.

ii. Nexus with the Location Searched

The probable cause inquiry of whether an individual

committed a crime is related but distinct from the probable

cause inquiry for a search warrant. Blakeney, 942 F.2d at

1025. “To demonstrate probable cause to justify the issuance

of a search warrant, an affidavit must contain facts that

indicate a fair probability that evidence of a crime will be

located on the premises of the proposed search.” Frazier, 423

F.3d ai 531. Defendant’s argument that there was no nexus

between the locations searched, his home and his businesses,

and the evidence sought is w.thout merit. One does not need

Supreme Court precedent to support the simple fact that

records of illegal business activity are usually kept at either a

business location or at the defendant’s home. Likewise,

personal financial records are also usually stored at a person’s

home or place of business.

Defendant's claim that these were conclusory statements

based on the affiant’s “meager experience” misses the mark;

the affiant is a seasoned FBI Special Agent whose primary

concentration is in financial crimes. Certainly his insight as to

the probable location of the evidence of the crimes in this case

cannot be denigrated as “pathetic averments,” as Defendant

so states. (Michel Abboud Def.’s Br. 14.) Quite the contrary,

the magistrate correctly relied on the affiant’s experience in

his assessment of the probable location of the evidence.

c. Staleness

The probable cause required for a search warrant “‘is

concerned with facts relating to a presently existing

28a

condition.’” United States v. Spikes, 158 F.3d 913, 923 (6th

Cir. 1998) (quoting W. LaFave, Search and Seizure § 3.7 at

338 (3d ed. 1996)). “Thus, the critical question is whether the

information contained in the affidavit, when presented to the

. . . Judge, established that there was a fair probability that

fevidence] would still be found at [the location of the

search}.” /d. In other words, a warrant is stale if the probable

cause, while sufficient at some point in the past, is now

insufficient as to evidence at a specific location.

The staleness inquiry is tailored to the specific

circumstances in each case. Id. (citing Sgro v. United States,

287 U.S. 206, 210-11, 53 S. Ct. 138, 77 L. Ed. 260 (1932)).

“[T}he length of time between the events listed in the affidavit

and the application for the warrant; while clearly salient, is

not controlling.” /d. It is possible that even if a substantial

amount of time had elapsed between “a defendant’s last

~ reported criminal activity” and the issuance of the warrant,

the warrant had not become stale. /d.

This Court has outlined several factors to consider when

analyzing staleness:

(1) “the character of the crime (chance encounter in the night

or regenerating conspiracy?)”

(2) “the criminal (nomadic or entrenched?)”

(3) “the thing to be seized (perishable and easily transferrable

or of enduring utility to its holder?)”

(4) “the place to be searched (mere criminal forum of

convenience or secure operational base?).”

29a

Id. (quoting Andresen v. State, 24 Md. App. 128, 331 A.2d

78, 106 (Md. Ct. Spec. App. 1975)).

As explained above, the affidavit set forth sufficient

probable cause with respect to bank fraud in 1999 but not

with respect to any subsequent year. The question then

becomes whether this probable cause had become stale, as the

magistrate issued the warrant in 2002. By applying the factors

listed above, we find that the probable cause was not stale

when the magistrate issued the warrant.

i. The Character of the Crime

The bank fraud alleged in the affidavit was not a one-time

occurrence but was rather a systematic transfer of funds

between accounts held by Defendants. According to the FBI

analysis for the period of June 1, 1999 to August 31, 1999,

Defendant Michel Abboud alone was the signer of 1,276

checks involved in the check kite, with a total value of about

$ 89 million.

The Court has found that “[e]vidence of ongoing criminal

activity will generally defeat a claim of staleness.” United

States v. Greene, 250 F.3d 471, 481 (6th Cir. 2001). In

Greene, the magistrate issued a search warrant on January 8,

1999. Id. at 475. The search warrant was based on

information supplied by an informant, who had last purchased

narcotics at the defendant’s house in February 1997; however,

he had purchased narcotics at least twelve times at the

defendant’s house. /d. at 476. The Court found that the

continuous and ongoing nature of the illegal activity was a

sufficient answer to the defendant’s claim of staleness. /d. at

481.

30a

Likewise, in this case, the affidavit stated that Defendant

Michel Abboud engaged in bank fraud numerous times during

a three-month period in 1999. While the affidavit did not list

sufficient probable cause for any time after 1999, so as to

establish a continuous criminal enterprise from 1999 to the

issuance of the warrant in 2002, this Court’s jurisprudence

suggests that ongoing criminal activity at a given time may be

sufficient to defeat a claim of staleness. See id. at 481; see

also United States v. Canan, 48 F.3d 954, 959 (6th Cir.

1995) (finding ongoing activity at the defendant’s house four

years prior to the issuance of the search warrant was sufficient

to defeat a claim of staleness).

ii. The Criminal

The affidavit supported the fact that Defendant was

entrenched. Defendant owned multiple convenience stores in

the Cleveland area. Defendant owned a home in the area.

There was no indication that Defendant moved from place to

place, so as to decrease the probability of finding evidence at

a given location.

iii. The Thing to be Seized

The search warrant sought almost exclusively business and

personal financial records from Defendant. This Court has

found that old business records could reasonably be expected

to be found at the defendant’s home or place of business.

United States v. McManus, 719 F.2d 1395, 1400-01 (6th Cir.

1983). In McManus, the magistrate issued a search warrant on

January 7, 1985 in comnection with tax violations for the

years 1977, 1978, and 1979. In finding that the warrant was

not stale, the Court stated, “It certainly would be reasonable

for a magistrate to conclude that on January 7, 1980,

defendant’s business records for the years 1977, 1978, and

3la

1979 would be found at either his place of business or his

residence. . . . ‘[Business records] are . . . the sort which

could be reasonably expected to be kept there for long periods

of time.’” Id. at 1401 (quoting United States v. Freeman, 685

F.2d 942, 952 (Sth Cir. 1982)).

This Court has found that business records are a type of

evidence that defy claims of staleness. See United States v.

Word, 806 F.2d 658, 662 (6th Cir. 1986); United States v.

Brownderville, 1999 U.S. App. LEXIS 18343, No. 98-1374,

1999 WL 618067, at *4 (6th Cir. Aug. 2, 1999); see also

United States v. Singh, 390 F.3d 168, 182 (2d Cir. 2004);

United States v. Farmer, 370 F.3d 435, 439-40 (4th Cir.

2004); United States v. Ninety-Two Thousand Four Hundred

Twenty-Two Dollars and Fifty-Seven Cents, 307 F.3d 137,

148 (3d Cir. 2002).

We agree that in this case, the magistrate was correct in

believing that business and financial records with respect to

1999 would still be at Defendant’s home or businesses in

2002. As the Third Circuit viewed the situation, “where the

items to be seized are created for the purpose of preservation,

as are business records, the passage of time is . . . less

significant.” /d.

iv. The Place to be Searched

The affidavit requested the search of Defendant’s home

and businesses. The bank fraud alleged centered around

Defendant’s check cashing transactions conducted at these

business locations. Furthermore, the affiant stated that

business records were usually kept at home. These locations

are not “mere criminal foruim!s] of convenience;” but rather,

the locations are at the heart of the criminal charge.

32a

vy. Conclusion

All factors weigh against a claim of staleness. We are

especially persuaded by the fact that by nature one keeps

business and financial records for extended periods of time.

The entire point in creating such records is for preservation.

As a result, the warrant was not stale.

d. Omission of Material Facts

Defendant claims the affiant omitted material facts from

the affidavit, thus skewing the magistrate’s probable cause

calculus. We disagree.

In Franks v. Delaware, the Supreme Court created

procedural protections for a defendant who claimed that the

affidavit supporting the probable cause of a search warrant

contained intentional or reckless falsehoods. The Court stated

that it presumed the validity of the affidavit in support of the

search warrant. 438 U.S. 154, 171, 98 S. Ct. 2674, 57 L.

Ed. 2d 667 (1978). The burden is on the defendant to show

such falsehoods in the affidavit. /d. If the defendant meets this

burden, then the question becomes whether the affidavit is

sufficient to support probable cause without the falsehoous.

/d. If it is sufficient, then the warrant is valid. /d. at 171-72.

If it is insufficient, then the defendant is entitled to a hearing

concerning the probable cause in the affidavit. /d. at 172.

This Court has interpreted Franks to include omissions. Hale

v. Kart, 396 F.3d 721, 726 n.4 (6th Cir. 2005) (citing Mays

v. City of Dayton, 134 F.3d 809, 815 (6th Cir. 1998)).

Defendant claims three omissions: (1) PVF had not lost

the millions of dollars as claimed in the affidavit; (2)

Defendants’ accounts were fully collaterized; and (3) the

banks involved knew of and approved of Defendants’ actions.

33a

We agree with the government that the evidence contained

in (1) and (2) was not omitted in the affidavit. With respect to

(1), paragraphs 20-23 of the affidavit detailed transfers made

by Defendants to cover the negative balances in their checking

accounts. With respect to (2), paragraph 17 of the affidavit

stated that PVF had a positive equity position against

Defendants’ collaterized real estate and that PVF also held

$500,000 of stock belonging to Defendants.

We agree with Defendant that the affidavit did not state

that the banks involved knew of and approved of Defendant’s

actions with respect to the check kiting system. As explained,

infra, however, we disagree with Defendant’s contention that

the banks in fact approved of the check kiting scheme. As a

result, no harm occurred from this fact’s omission from the

affidavit, and Defendant was not entitled to a Franks hearing.

e. Particularity

The Fourth Amendment requires that a search warrant

“particularly describ[e] the place to be searched, and the

persons or things to be seized.” U.S. Const. amend. IV. This

requirement prevents a “‘general order to explore and

rummage through a person’s belongings.’” Blakeney, 942

F.2d at 1026 (quoting United States v. Cook, 657 F.2d 730,

733 (Sth Cir. 1981)). “The degree of specificity required

depends on the crime involved and the types of items sought.”

Id. (citing United States v. Henson, 848 F.2d 1374, 1383 (6th

Cir. 1988)).

In this case, law enforcement sought business and

financial records in connection with bank fraud. In a business

fraud case, the authorization to search for general business

records is not overbroad. United States v. Henson is

instructive in this regard. There, the defendants were charged

34a

and convicted of mail fraud and giving, or causing to give, a

false odometer statement. 848 F.2d at 1376. The defendants

were involved in a scheme of purchasing late model, high

mileage cars and then tampering with the odometers. /d. The

search warrant authorized the search for “any and all

records” in connection with the businesses utilized in the

scheme, as well as the records of the individual defendants.

Id. at 1382.

This Court upheld the validity of the warrant:

In the instant case, although the warrant uses generic

terms, [the law enforcement officer] could not have

known at the time he applied for the warrant what

precise records and files would contain information

concerning the odometer-tampering scheme. “Where

the precise identity of the goods cannot be ascertained

at the time the warrant is issued, naming only the

generic class of items will suffice.” The description in

the warrant is directed toward items likely to provide

information concerning the [defendants] involvement

in the . . . scheme and therefore did not authorize the

officers to seize more than what was reasonable under

the circumstances.

Id. at 1383 (citation omitted). In this case, the warrant was

specific in terms of the items to be seized; for example, it

listed “[l]ogs or ledgers that reflect the recording of banking

activity,” “[aJll bank statements, deposit slips, withdrawal

slips, official checks, money orders, cancelled checks, wire

transfers and other documents for any and all bank accounts,”

and other specific forms of records. (J.A. at 118-21.)

Moreover, like in Henson, the law enforcement agents in this

case could not have known the precise documents and records

Defendants utilized in the check kiting scheme. The items

35a

listed in the warrant were items “likely to provide

information” about Defendants’ check kiting scheme. A more

specific alternative did not exist to the search warrant’s list of

items to be seized.

The problem, however, is the time frame the warrant

allowed with respect to these records. The warrant authorized

search for records from January 1996 to May of 2002;

however, the warrant was valid only with respect to bank

fraud for a three-month period in 1999, see supra. The only

reference to 1996 in the affidavit is the fact that Defendants

first began a relationship with the head teller at PVF’s

Rockside branch in that year, a trivial fact. The first

documented suspicion began on June 29, 1999. The FBI

conducted a check kiting analysis for a three-month period in

1999. As stated, supra, insufficient evidence is listed in the

affidavit to support probable cause for any subsequent years.

The warrant was overbroad in this respect. “Failure to

limit broad descriptive terms by relevant dates, when such

dates are available to the police, will render a warrant

overbroad.” United States v. Ford, 184 F.3d 566, 576 (6th

Cir. 1999) (citations omitted). Here, law enforcement knew

that the evidence in support of probable cause in the affidavit

revolved only around a three-month period in 1999; the

authorization to search for evidence irrelevant to that time

frame could well be described as “rummaging.”’

’ We do not find that the search warrant was only valid for records

from June, July, and August of 1999. A degree of flexibility is

required, because evidence that dated from outside of the time

period mv be relevant to the activity within the time period. For

example, evidence of continued check kiting in September and

October in 1999 after warnings from bank officials would be

evidence of bad faith; however, evidence from 1996 or 2002 is

Se

36a

The question then becomes what relief Defendant is

entitled to from this overbroad warrant. The Court has held

that the entire warrant need not be invalidated: “Our finding

of overbreadth . . . does not require suppression of all of the

items seized pursuant to the warrant. We believe the proper

approach to this dilemma is to sever the infirm portion of the

search warrant from the remainder which passes constitutional

muster.” Blakeney, 942 F.2d at 1027. Thus, all evidence

seized irrelevant to the three-month period in 1999 should

have been suppressed, while evidence relevant to this period

should be upheld.

Defendant’s problem, however, is that he was only

charged with and convicted of bank fraud for the three-month

period in 1999. As a result, Defendant cannot show prejudice

from the overbreadth of the warrant. The properly seized

evidence, along with the government’s evidence from other

sources, proved beyond a reasonable doubt that Defendant

had committed bank fraud for the three-month period in 1999.

Of most significance, Defendant never denied committing the

acts that constituted the bank fraud; his defense was that the

bank officials allowed the acts in question and that his actions

ws “e in good faith. See infra. This defense was not negated

by the introduction of the illegally seized evidence, but

instead was negated only by the testimony of the bank

officials. As a result, the introduction of evidence seized

pursuant to the overbroad portion of the warrant was harmless

error.

Clearly irrelevant.

37a

f. Reexamination of the Motion to Suppress

Defendant urges this Court to reexamine the district

court’s decision on the motion to suppress. His argument is

based on his perceived inconsistency between the affidavit and

the affiant’s testimony at trial, and testimony at trial that

contradicted the affidavit.

We disagree with Defendant that the affiant’s testimony at

trial contradicted the affidavit. In his testimony, the affiant

expressly affirmed what he stated in the affidavit; he testified

that when hé spoke to the magistrate, he stated that he

believed or concluded that certain bank officials intentionally

withheld information, and that one bank official devised a

scheme to recoup the losses of Defendants’ scheme without

informing the FBI of any losses. The affiant later testified that

charges were not brought against these bank officials.

The cogency of Defendant’s argument is somewhat

suspect; Defendant seems to be asserting that because charges

were not brought against the bank officials, the affiant was

less than forthright in his statements to the magistrate that the

bank officials were withholding information from the FBI. If

this is the case, then Defendant’s argument fails; the fact that

the bank officials were not prosecuted does not necessarily

mean that the affiant lied to the magistrate when he stated that

he suspected dishonesty on the part of the bank officials. In

fact, Defendant’s own cross-examination insinuated that these

charges were not brought because of the bank officials’

cooperation with Defendant’s prosecution, not because the

charges were baseless.

Defendant then relies on the trial testimony of Keith

Swaney, an officer at PVF, where Swaney stated that he

disagreed with the affiant’s statement in the affidavit that the

38a

bank officials intentionally withheld information from the

FBI. Again, Defendant stems to argue that the affiant lied to

the magistrate. As explained above, to obtain a Franks

hearing, Defendant has the burden to prove the falsehoods

made in the affidavit. The mere fact that a bank official

disagreed with the affidavit is insufficient to meet this burden.

g. Evidentiary Hearing

Defendant challenges the district court’s refusal to hold an

evidentiary hearing in connection with the motion to suppress.

The district court based its decision on the fact that

Defendant’s arguments were “entirely legal in nature,” and

thus did not require a hearing.

The district court’s decision was correct. An evidentiary

hearing is required “only if the motion is sufficiently definite,

specific, detailed, and non-conjectural to enable the court to

conclude that contested issues of fact going to the validity of

the search are in question.” United States v. Downs, 1999

U.S. App. LEXIS 835, No. 96-3862, 1999 WL 130786, at *3

(6th Cir. Jan. 19, 1999) (citing United States v. Unimex, Inc..,

991 F.2d 546, 551 (9th Cir. 1993)) (emphasis supplied).

In his brief in support of his motion to suppress,

Defendant for the most part did not contest factual issues; he

contested the legal conclusions drawn by the magistrate from

the facts. Under subpoint I, Defendant argued that the facts

were insufficient to support probable cause; this contests a

legal conclusion. Under subpoint II, Defendant argued that

the affidavit omitted material information; however, as

explained, supra, this argument was simply incorrect and did

not require an evidentiary hearing. Under subpoint III,

Defendant argued that the probable cause was stale; this too

was a Challenge to a legal conclusion. Under subpoints IV, V,

39a

and VI, Defendant argued that the warrant was overbroad,

another legal challenge. Defendant did not contest any facts,

nor did he offer previously unheard facts. Simply put,

Defendant did not agree with the magistrate’s legal decision

based on the facts. This type of disagreement is not resolved

through an evidentiary hearing. As a result, the district court

did not err in its decision not to grant an evidentiary hearing.

h. Good Faith Execution of a Search Warrant

Even if a search warrant is defective, the Court will not

suppress evidence seized pursuant to such warrant if the

seizure was based on reasonable, good faith reliance on the

warrant. United States v. Frazier, 423 F.3d 526, 533 (6th Cir.

2005) (citing United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897, 905, 104

S. Ct. 3405, 82 L. Ed. 2d 677 (1984)). The Supreme Court

explained the mechanics of the good faith exception:

[O]ur good-faith inquiry is confined to the objectively

ascertainable question whether a reasonably well

trained officer would have known that the search was

illegal despite the magistrate’s authorization. In

making this determination, all of the circumstances--

including whether the warrant application had

previously been rejected by a different magistrate--

may be considered.

Leon, 468 U.S. at 922-23 n.23. The rationale behind the

exception is that the exclusionary rule is meant to deter

unlawful police conduct. See supra. This policy of deterrence

is not served by the exclusion of evidence seized in good faith

by the police. Leon, 468 U.S. at 918-19.

On the other hand the good faith exception does not apply

in the following specific circumstances: “1) the supporting

40a

affidavit contained knowing or reckless falsity; 2) the issuing

magistrate wholly abandoned his or her judicial role; 3) the

affidavit is ‘so lacking in probable cause as to render official

belief in its existence entirely unreasonable;’ or 4) where the

officer’s reliance on the warrant was neither in good faith nor

objectively reasonable.” Frazier, 423 F.3d at 533 (quoting

Leon, 468 U.S. at 923).

With respect to the additional violations contained in the

affidavit but not on the face of the warrant, a police officer

could not reasonably rely on the affidavit to validate a search

for evidence of these additional violations. The natural

reading of the face of the warrant was that the affidavit was

incorporated only for the purpose of establishing probable

cause for bank fraud. Moreover, the warrant was unclear as

to whether the magistrate did indeed find probable cause for

these additional violations. Law enforcement may not take

advantage of the warrant’s equivocal posture to illegally seize

evidence.

With respect to bank fraud in any year besides 1999, the

affidavit’s lack of probable cause was obvious to the

reasonably trained officer. The affidavit only listed suspicions

of check kiting in these other years.

i. Prejudice

The ultimate question then becomes what harm Defendant

has suffered from the iilegality of the warrant. The record is

less than clear as to what evidence seized through the warrant

was actually used at Defendant’s trial. See Blakeney, 942

F.2d 1001, 1027 (hiking that the defendant did not suffer

prejudice when the evidence illegally seized was not

introduced at trial). For purposes of this analysis, we will

presume the widest use of the illegal evidence.

4la

As stated earlier, the warrant was only valid with respect

to bank fraud, and only bank fraud in 1999. This means that

evidence with respect to the year 2000 should have been

suppressed, possibly implicating Defendant’s conviction for

violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7203, failure to file an income tax

return in 2000. Unfortunately for Defendant, he stipulated to

the fact that he did in fact make the threshold amount

~ triggering the requirement to file a tax return. His only

defense was lack of intent, which was negated by the

government without use of any evidence seized via the

overbroad search warrant. See infra. As a result, the

admission of any of this illegal evidence would have been

harmless error with respect to Defendant’s conviction for this

charge.

Also, with respect to Defendant’s conviction for violation

of 26 U.S.C. § 7206, filing a false income tax return in 1999,

the conviction rested on two forms of evidence: (1) evidence

of a failure to report gambling income, and (2) evidence of a

failure to report income from his businesses. The evidence

listed in (1) was not seized pursuant to the warrant, and the

evidence seized in (2) could properly be characterized as

evidence of bank fraud legally obtained under the warrant.

The evidence seized with respect to the 1999 bank fraud

charges was valid; therefore, the Court affirms these

convictions. Furthermore, the evidence for the 1999 money

laundering charges completely overlapped with the evidence

for the 1999 bank fraud charges. The evidence of transfers in

the amount of $ 10,000 or more for the relevant period show

both the “bleeding” of the check kite, which is relevant

evidence to the charges of bank fraud, and money laundering

in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1957. Because the jury only

considered legally obtained evidence with respect to money

laundering, the convictions stand. Likewise, the evidence of

42a .

bank fraud and conspiracy to commit money laundering

completely overlap, and this conviction stands.

C. WHETHER THE DISTRICT COURT ERRED IN

GRANTING THE GOVERNMENT’S MOTION IN

LIMINE THAT PREVENTED DEFENDANTS FROM

PRESENTING EVIDENCE OF SELECTIVE

PROSECUTION

1. Preservation of the Issue

Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 12(b){1) requires that

“[dJefenses and objections based on defects in the institution

of the prosecution” must be raised by a pretrial motion. Rule

12(f) states that failure to make such a pretrial motion resuits

in waiver of the defense or objection; however, the Court

may grant relief from the waiver for cause. Fed. R. Crim. P.

12(f).

Here, Defendants did not make a 12(b)(1) motion based

on selective prosecution before trial and thus waived the

issue. Therefore, the district court did not err in preventing

Defendants from presenting evidence of this waived defense

at trial.

2. Standard of Review

This Court reviews the district court’s evidentiary rulings

for an abuse of discretion. United States v. Taplin, 954 F.2d

1256, 1258 (6th Cir. 1992) (citation omitted).

3. Analysis

As stated above, Defendants waived the defense of

selective prosecution. Independent of the waiver, the district

43a

court’s motion in limineé was correct because the defense of

selective prosecution is a matter that is independent of a

defendant’s guilt or innocence, so it is not a matter for the

jury. As the Third Circuit stated: |

By both tradition and constitutional mandate the jury

is given the responsibility of determining guilt or

innocence according to instructions of law delivered’.

by the court. The question of discriminatory

prosecution relates not to the guilt or innocence of

appellants, but rather addresses itself to a

constitutional defect in the institution of the

prosecution.

United States v. Berrigan,482 F.2d 171, 175 (3d Cir. 1973).

Thus, a “defense” of selective prosecution is a matter for the

court, not the jury.

We wholeheartedly agree with Defendants’ argument that

cross-examination plays a vital role in the adversarial system

of our country, and the ability to show bias, motive, or

prejudice on the part of a witness is an integral part of cross-

examination. Defendants, however, seem to conflate the

concepts of witness bias and selective prosecution. Witness

bias speaks to “‘the reliability of the witness.’” Delaware v.

Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673, 680, 106 S. Ct. 1431, 89 L. Ed.

2d 674 (1984) (quoting Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308, 318,

94 S. Ct. 1105, 39 L. Ed. 2d 347 (1974)). When one exposes

bias, motive, or prejudice of a witness, one is calling into

question the credibility of that witness’ testimony. Selective

prosecution is a separate and distinct claim that the defendant

has been unconstitutionally selected for prosecution.

44a

Defendants made clear in the memorandum in opposition

of the motion in limine that the cross-examination sought was

to establish selective prosecution:

In fact, Defendant’s goal sought from the full cross-

examination of the witnesses is to support his defense

that, for a number of years he had conducted his

business activities with bank direction and approval

and without governmental interference or objection;

that, prior to September 11, 2001, the SAR of

November, 1999, led to no criminal prosecution; and,

that subsequent to September 11, 2001, the

Government, in violation of Defendant’s constitutional

rights, initiated the instant matter as a result of

Defendant’s ethnicity.

(J.A. at 262.) Surprisingly, Defendants fully admitted that the

purpose of the cross-examination was not to test the reliability

of the witnesses, but instead to present a defense of selective

prosecution. As stated earlier, selective prosecution is not an

issue for the jury, so the district court correctly granted the

motion in limine.

D. WHETHER THE DISTRICT COURT ERRED IN ITS

TREATMENT OF 404(b) EVIDENCE THAT

DEFENDANTS PAID EMPLOYEES “UNDER THE

TABLE” ;

1. Standard of Review

This Court reviews the district court’s legal determination

that the evidence was admissible for a legitimate purpose de

novo. United States v. Merriweather, 78 F.3d 1070, 1074 (6th

Cir. 1996) (citing United States v. Johnson, 27 F.3d 1186,

1190 (6th Cir. 1994)). The Court reviews the district court’s

45a

determination that the probative value was not substantially

outweighed by the unfairly prejudicial effect for abuse of

discretion. /d.

2. Analysis

The district court did not err when it admitted evidence

that Defendants paid employees under the table.

a. Legal Framework

Federal Rule of Evidence 404(b) states:

Evidence of other crimes, wrongs, or acts is not

admissible to prove the character of a person in order

to show action in conformity therewith. It may,

however, be admissible for other purposes, such as

proof of motive, opportunity, intent, preparation,

plan, knowledge, identity, or absence of mistake or

accident, provided that upon request by the accused,

the prosecution in a criminal case shall provide

reasonable notice in advance of trial, or during trial if

the court excuses pretrial notice on good cause shown,

of the general nature of any such evidence it intends

to introduce at trial.

Moreover, even if the “ other acts” evidence js relevant, if the

probative value is substantially outweighed by its unfair

prejudice, the district court may exclude the evidence. Fed.

R. Evid. 403.

This Court has outlined a four-step process for the

admission of Rule 404(b) evidence. First, the proponent of the

evidence must identify the specific purpose of the “other acts”

evidence. Merriweather, 78 F.3d at 1076. Second, the district

46a

court must de<:de whether the identified purpose is at issue in

the case. Jd. at 1076-77. Third, if the purpose is at issue, the

district court must weigh the probative value against the

danger of unfair prejudice. /d. at 1077. Finally, if the district

court admits the evidence, it must then clearly instruct the

jury as to the specific purpose for which the jury may

consider the evidence. /d.

b. The Evidence Presented

The government offered the testimony of two employees

of Defendants. They testified that they received their wages

in the form of legitimate checks and cash, as “under the

table” payments.

c. Application to This Case

i. Purpose

The government’s purpose in offering evidence that

Defendants paid employees “under the table” was to show

willfulriess, motive, and absence of mistake.

ii. Whether the Purpose was in Issue

The violations of failing to file a tax return and filing a

false tax return require strict willful conduct. See 26 U.S.C.

$§ 7203, 7206. As explained by this Court:

The word “wilifully,” as used in this statute, means a

voluntary, intentional violation of a known legal duty.

In other words, the defendant must have acted

voluntarily and intentionally and with the specific

intent to do something he knew the law prohibited,

that is to say, with intent either to disobey or to

47a

disregard the law. Negligent conduct is not sufficient

to constitute willfulness.

United States v. Tarwater, 308 F.3d 494, 510 (6th Cir. 2002)

(emphasis supplied). Because of the complexity of the tax

system, tax law is one of the few areas where the Supreme

Court has held that ignorance cf the Jaw is a defense. Cheek

v. United States, 498 U.S. 192, 199-200, 111 S$. Ct. 604, 112

L. Ed. 2d 617 (1991). If the defendant has a good faith belief

that he was not violating tax law, the defendant cannot be

found guilty of a tax violation, even if the good faith belief is

unreasonable. /d. at 202.

In this case, willfulness and absence of mistake were in

issue with respect to the tax violations. During pretrial

discussions, Defendants presented a good faith defense in that

the failure to file and the underreporting were caused by

sloppy bookkeeping and the illness of an employee.

The government sought to present evidence of “under the

table” payments to attack Defendants’ good faith defense. The

record is clear that Defendants knew of their tax obligations

with respect to the payment of employees, as Defendants

partially complied by paying a portion of the salaries by

checks with proper withholdings. Defendants admit that “they

committed countless uncharged federal tax crimes.” (Elie

Abboud Def.’s Br. 29.) The government’s implication was

that because Defendants had willfully violated tax laws with

respect to payment of employees, Defendants also willfully

violated tax laws with respect to the failure to file and the

underreporting.

The government also sought to present the evidence to

show motive. The government’s theory was that Defendants’

motive in perpetrating the check-kiting scheme was based on

48a

cash flow problems Defendants were experiencing. The

implication was that Defendants’ under the table payments

were evidence of this cash flow problem.

iii. Probative Value Versus Unfair Prejudice

The government argued that evidence that Defendants

willfully violated the tax laws with respect to the payment of

employees was probative as to Defendants’ willfulness in

connection with the failure to file a tax return and the

underreporting of income. We agree.

In United States v. Jerkins, the Court found that the

district court did not abuse its discretion when, in a tax

evasion case in connection with the sale of illegal drugs, it

admitted evidence that the defendant had made late filings

with respect to his 1969, 1970, and 1971 tax returns. 871

F.2d 598, 604 (6th Cir. 1989). The Court found that for

“other- acts” evidence, “the prior acts generally must be

relevant to a matter at issue and must be substantially similar

to, and near in time to, the offense charged in the

indictment.” /d. In that case, the Court found that the failure

to file tax returns and the evasion of income tax were

sufficiently similar in nature and occurred in close proximity

to each other. In this case, the acts of payroll tax violations

and income tax return violations are substantially similar so

that the district court did not abuse its discretion in the

admission of the evidence.

With respect to prejudice, the testimony provided by the

government’s witnesses was sufficiently succinct so as to

minimize prejudice. Testimony from former employee Donald

Slusher was limited to two questions concerning the form of

his payment. Likewise, testimony from former employee

Walter Ryder was limited to four questions concerning the

49a

form of his payment, and the line of questioning concerning

the record keeping of the payroll disbursements was

sufficiently limited.

Defendants contend that the district court did not properly

weigh the evidence in accordance with Rule 403 in that the

court did not offer an explanation on the record for its

decision. The failure of the district court to make findings on

the record with respect to its 404(b) decision does not

necessitate remand. If Defendants requested the district court

to make such findings on the record, then the district court

must do so. United States v. Acosta-Cazares, 878 F.2d 945,

950 (6th Cir. 1989) (citing United States v. Robinson, 700

F.2d 205, 213 (Sth Cir. 1983)). The record does not show

that Defendants made such a request at any point; as a result,

their claim must fail.

iv. Limiting Instruction

Defendants’ key argument with respect to the district

court’s 404(b) decision is that the district court did not offer

a limiting instruction to the jury, so that the evidence was

used as substantive evidence of guilt against Defendants. In its

decision denying Defendants’ motion for a new trial, the

district court stated, “Defendants requested a limiting

instruction under Federal Rule of Evidence 404(b) which was

denied by the Court. They contend that the Court erred by

allowing the introduction of this evidence without a limiting

instruction and that the Jury could have considered it as

50a

substantive evidence* tending to prove the income tax charges

....” (A. at 368.)

The district court’s conclusion that “admission of this

evidence without a limiting instruction does not require an

entry of judgment of acquittal,” (J.A. at 369), was not

entirely correct. As stated, supra, the district court must give

a limiting instruction with 404(b) evidence. If the error was

not harmless, then we cannot sustain the tax convictions.

Strangely, although the district court stated in its decision

denying a new trial that it did not give limiting instructions

with respect to the 404(b) evidence, in fact the district court

gave such instructions. When the evidence was introduced at

trial, the district court told the jury:

Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, you have heard

testimony that the . . . Defendants committed some

acts other than the ones charged in the indictment.

You cannot consider this testimony as evidence that

the Defendants committed the crimes that they are on

trial for now. Instead you can only consider it in

deciding whether . . . they acted willfully or not by

mistake or by accident.

You may also consider it in connection with the

Defendants’ motives. These Defendants are on trial

only for the crimes charged in the indictment, not of

other acts. Do not return a guilty verdict unless the

® We note that 404(b) evidence, if admissible, is substantive

evidence; in this case, the 404(b) evidence was substantive evidence

of intent, lack of mistake, and motive.

Sla

Government proves the crime charged beyond a

reasonable doubt.

(J.A. at 539-40.) At the end of the case, the district court

repeated its instruction:

You have heard testimony that the Defendants

committed some acts other than the ones charged in

the indictment. You cannot consider this testimony as

evidence that either of the Defendants committed the

crimes that each is on trial for now.

Instead, you can only consider it in deciding whether

it evidences proof of motive, opportunity, intent,

preparation, plan, knowledge, identity, or absence of

mistake or accident.

Remember that the Defendants are on trial only for

the crimes charged in the indictment, no other acts.

Do not return a guilty verdict unless the Government

proves the crimes beyond a reasonable doubt.

(J.A. at 1008.) The record-clearly indicates that the district

court gave the proper limiting instructions to the jury not

once, but twice. Defendants’ reliance on the district court’s

language in its decision to deny a new trial is understandable

but misplaced. Having complied with this Court’s

requirements, the district court’s admission of 404(b)

evidence was not error.

52a

E. THE GOVERNMENT ENGAGED _IN

PROSECUTORIAL MISCONDUCT IN_ ITS

CLOSING ARGUMENT, BUT THE MISCONDUCT

WAS NOT FLAGRANT

1. Standard of Review

Because Defendants did not object to the alleged

misconduct at trial, this Court reviews for plain error. United

States v. Wright, 343 F.3d 849, 861 (6th Cir. 2003) (citing

United States v. Collins, 78 F.3d 1021, 1039 (6th Cir. 1996)).

“*To establish plain error, a defendant must show (1) that an

error occurred in the district court; (2) that the error-was

plain, i.e., obvious or clear; (3) that the error affected

defendant’s substantial rights; and (4) that this adverse impact

seriously affected the fairness, integrity or public reputation

of the judicial proceedings.’” /d. (quoting United States v.

Koeberlein, 161 F.3d 946, 949 (6th Cir. 1998)).

2. Analysis

a. Legal Framework

The claim of prosecutorial misconduct involves a two-step

inquiry. First, the Court must determine if the government’s

Statements were improper. United States v. Cobleigh, 75 F.3d

242, 247 (6th Cir. 1996) (quoting United States v. Carroll, 26

F.3d 1380, 1384-90 (6th Cir. 1994)). If the statements were

improper, the Court must decide whether the statements were

flagrant. Jd. (quoting Carroll, 26 F.3d at 1385). The

flagrancy inquiry requires examination of four factors:

(1) whether the remarks tended to mislead the jury or

to prejudice the accused [including whether the trial

S3a

judge gave an appropriate cautionary instruction to the

jury);

(2) whether they were isolated or extensive;

(3) whether they were deliberately or accidentally

placed before the jury; and

(4) the strength of the evidence against the accused.

Id. (alteration in the original) (quoting Carroll, 26 F.3d at

1385). If the statements were not flagrant, the Court will

reverse only if “‘(1) the proof against the defendant was not

overwhelming, (2) opposing counsel objected to the conduct,

and (3) the district court failed to give a curative

instruction.’” /d. (quoting United States v. Brown, 66 F.3d

124, 127 (6th Cir. 1995)).

b. The Reference to “Under the Table” Payments

In its closing remarks, the government stated, “[t]hey

knew what their obligations were, and we also know it

because they were cheating on a weekly basis with their

payroll. Now, that’s not a charged offense, but it does give

you evidence of what was going on in their minds when they

decided not to file their returns.” (J.A. at 1006-07.)

Defendants argue this statement “created an unacceptable risk

that these impermissible remarks produced elements of

irrationality into the jury’s decision making process.” (Michel

Abboud Def.’s Br. 38.) We disagree.

Defendants propose an odd rule: even if evidence is

properly admitted as relevant to guilt or innocence, the

government may not refer to this evidence a single time in

closing remarks. The fact is that the evidence of under the

table payments was relevant to establish intent, absence of

mistake, and motive. Defendants’ statement that “the

prosecutor went out of her way to make a derogatory

54a

argument about things ‘that had absolutely nothing to do with

defendant’s guilt or innocence,’” (J.A. at 38-39 (quoting

United States v. Stahl, 616 F.2d 30, 32 (2d Cir. 1980)), is

wrong; the evidence went directly to guilt or innocence. As

the Second Circuit reasoned, “because this evidence was

properly admitted, it was not misconduct for the prosecutor

to refer to it in summation.” United States v. Von Foelkel,

136 F.3d 339, 341 (2d Cir. 1998).

Moreover, the reference to the payments was made once,

and the government properly stated the limitation on the

evidence. The statement simply was not made to “flame the

passions and prejudices of the jury.” (Michel Abboud Def.’s

Br. 38.)

c. The Reference to Defendant’s Wealth

In its closing arguments, the government referred to

Defendant Michel Abboud’s expensive home, his recent

purchase of a Mercedes Benz, the fact that he shopped at an

expensive department store, and the fact that he sent his

children to an elite private school. Defendant accuses the

government of inciting class bias.

We find that the statements were improper. The

government contends that Defendant first raised the issue of

wealth as evidence of lack of motive to commit bank fraud,

and that the government merely rebutted this contention by

showing that Defendant’s “lavish” lifestyle would establish

motive to commit bank fraud. Had the government made the

comments in closing arguments to show motive for bank

fraud, the comments would have been proper. See, e.g.,

United States v. Derman, 211 F.3d 175, 179-80 (1st Cir.

2000), superseded by statute on other grounds (finding no

misconduct where the prosecution used evidence of the

5Sa

defeidant’s wealth as motive to commit a crime, and where

the defendant had first placed this motive in issue).

The government, however, did not comment about

Defendant’s wealth in connection with the motive to commit

bank fraud; the comments were directed towards Defendant’s

tax violations. In its brief, the government attempts to sidestep

this issue by claiming that Defendant’s wealth was in fact a

motivation for his tax violations. The problem is that the

government did not argue this point in closing:

Michel achieved the ultimate dream. He was shopping

at Sax [sic] Fifth Avenue, sending his children to

Hathaway Brown. It is a good life, but with the

American dream comes responsibilities, and one of

those responsibilities is to file your tax returns. The

Abbouds could not be bothered to do that.

(J.A. at 1006-07.) The picture painted by the government was

not that Defendant needed to commit tax violations to support

his lifestyle; instead, the government juxtaposed the fact that

Defendant was wealthy with the fact that he did not file his

taxes and left the jury to use its imagination. The government

did not connect Defendant’s wealth to any issue relevant to

Defendant’s guilt or innocence with respect to the tax

violation; its statements in this regard were therefore

improper.

The statements, however, were not flagrant. Addressing

the factors listed, supra, in order, (1) the purpose of the

remarks was. to prejudice Defendant; the thinly veiled

implication was that Defendant was the stereotypical wealthy

individual attempting to avoid his tax responsibilities. (2) The

statements about Defendant’s wealth were isolated: the

government did not make “repeated attempts” to make

56a

Defendant’s wealth an issue. Sizemore v. Fletcher, 921 F.2d

667, 671 (6th Cir. 1990). (3) The statements were part of a

deliberate strategy; it was no accident that the government

made several consecutive statements concerning Defendant’s

wealth. (4) As to the strength of the evidence on this charge,

Defendant stipulated to failing to file a false tax return and

filing a false tax return; his only defense was lack of intent,

which the government attacked with the 404(b) evidence. See

supra. An error by Defendant’s counsel may be the most

telling. Defendant challenged the sufficiency of evidence for

the tax charges at trial in his motion for judgment of acquittal;

however, Defendant’s counsel inexplicably did not remove a

drafting note in the supporting brief in connection with the

argument against the tax convictions, which stated, “[NO

SUPPORT IN RECORD/NO LEGAL AUTHORITY/DO

YOU REALLY WANT TO ARGUE THIS EVEN THOUGH

THERE WAS A_ STIPULATION?}” (J.A. at 309.)

Apparently, Defendant’s counsel conceded that the evidence

against Defendant was sufficient to support the conviction,

and that there was no evidence or legal authority to prove

otherwise.

From these factors, Defendant has not shown flagrancy in

the government’s closing argument, especially because of the

Defendant’s admission of committing the underlying conduct.

This is not a case where “the prosecutor’s actions ‘so infected

the trial with unfairness as to make the resulting conviction a

denial of due process.’” Hill v. Brigano, 199 F.3d 833, 847

(6th Cir. 1999) (quoting Donnelly v. DeChristoforo, 416 WS.

637, 643, 94S. Ct. 1868, 40 L. Ed. 2d 431 (1974)). Because

the government’s conduct was not flagrant, and because

Defendant did not object at trial, this Court will not vacate the

conviction for failure to file a tax return on this ground.

sn

57a

F. THE DISTRICT COURT DID NOT ERR IN

ADMITTING THE EXPERT TESTIMONY OF

WOLVERTON

1. Preservation of the Issue

With respect to the introduction of Wolverton’s testimony,

Defendant Elie Abboud made two objections at trial: (1) “the

data upon which [Wolverton] based his opinion was neither

collected by him nor prepared by him;” and (2) “[Wolverton]

did not render an opinion based on a reasonable degree of

banking certainty ... .” (J.A. at 956-57.) Defendant Michel

Abboud adopted Defendant Elie Abboud’s arguments on

appeal. (Michel Abboud Def.’s Br. 61.)

2. Standard of Review

For the two objections made at trial, this Court reviews

the admission of the expert testimony for abuse of discretion.

Conwood Co., L.P. v. U.S. Tobacco Co., 290 F.3d 768, 781

(6th Cir. 2002). This Court reviews issues first raised on

appeal with respect to the admissibility of the expert testimony

for plain error. United States v. Swafford, 385 F.3d 1026,

1031 (6th Cir. 2004).

3. Analysis

a. Objections Made at Trial

i. Collection and Preparation of the Data

Defendants contend that Wolverton’s testimony was

improperly admitted because he did not collect the data and he

did not prepare the data used in his expert opinion. This

argument ignores Federal Rule of Evidence 703, which states,

58a :

“the facts or data in the particular case upon which an expert

bases an opinion or inference may be those perceived by or

made known to the expert at or before the hearing.”

(emphasis supplied). Wolverton testified that he had reviewed

the underlying materials that contained the information

inputted into the CKAS system. As a result, Wolverton could

properly form an expert opinion based on this evidence.

ii. Reasonable Degree of Banking Certainty

We are unclear as to what Defendants meant by the phrase

“reasonable degree of banking certainty.” If Defendants’

argument was that Wolverton did not express his expert

opinion in terms of probability or certainty, we disagree.

When asked for his conclusion as to whether check kiting

occurred from June 1999 to August 1999, Wolverton testified

that his conclusion was that check kiting had occurred, and

“that the check kite caused a risk of loss to the banking

system and caused an actual loss to the banking system.”

(J.A. at 824.) Wolverton did testify that he would not offer an

opinion with respect to the time period of 1996 to 1999,

because he did not have the underlying checks for that time

period; however, Wolverton expressed the relevant opinion

with respect to Defendants’ convictions in absolute and

certain terms.

b. Arguments First Raised on Appeal

i. Wolverton’s Limited Testimonial

Experience

According to Defendants, “[a]lthough [Wolverton] had

previously testified as an expert in money laundering and

bank fraud cases, he had not testified in any case involving

59a

the money order, check cashing or grocery business.” (J.A.

at 23.)

We agree with the government that Defendants’ argument

“misses the point: Wolverton was proffered as an expert in

check kiting, not as an expert in grocery or check cashing

businesses.” (Pl.’s Br. 83.) As a check kiting expert,

Wolverton had extensive experience: he testified as a check

kiting expert at 13 trials, and he has worked on 60 to 80

check kiting cases. Admission of Wolverton’s testimony based

on his experience was not error, let alone plain error.

ii. Manual Analysis

Defendants claim that Wolverton did not conduct a manual

analysis in addition to the CKAS report in order to confirm

that report’s results. While Woiverton did not conduct a

manual confirmation of the CKAS report, this fact is

irrelevant. The testimony we as follows:

Q. You know [the CKAS analysis] is not perfect by

now, correct? :

A. It is not perfect? It is a system that I trust, and it is

a system that works, and it is a system that is

reliable.

Q. But wouldn’t you say that standing alone you

could not rely upon the conclusions derived from

that to determine whether or not someone was

involved in check kiting?

A. I think you can get a pretty good idea from

looking at that, but I would go farther.

60a

Q. In fact, in other cases, even when there was just --

instead of a lot of checks like in this case there

was just a handful of checks, you, after having

gone through the CKAS analysis, would still go

ahead and do it manually, correct?

A. Correct.

Q. You couldn’t do it in this case, could you?

A. I could do a lot of things in this case. I would nct want to

attempt to put this type of information on accounting

spreadsheets. ;

(J.A. at 886-87.) Defendants’ argument seems to be that

because Wolverton did not manually confirm the CKAS

results, these results are somehow suspect; however, this

ignores the fact, raised by Defendants, that this manual

confirmation only occurred when “instead of a lot of checks

like in this case there was just a handful of checks.” (J.A. at_

887 (emphasis supplied).) Here, when the check kiting

scheme was complex, manual confirmation was not standard

procedure. Plain error did not occur in this respect.

ili. Failure to Include the Income of Some of

Defendants’ Businesses

Defendants quibble with the fact that the income from

certain businesses of theirs was not accounted for in

Wolverton’s analysis. As the government notes, this is

because many of these businesses failed to file tax returns.

Moreover, the purpose of accounting for income from these

businesses is to compare that income to the volume of

deposits; if there is a disproportionate amount of deposits,

61a

then this is an indication of check kiting.’ In this case, there

was a severe disproportion between Defendants’ income and

their deposits. Defendants have not shown that the income not

accounted for would have been so significant as to alter the

proportion such that its omission would have constituted plain

error.

iv. Carryover

Defendants also argue that the CKAS report did not take

into account the fact that the banks allowed a negative balance

with the carryover feature. As explained, infra, the fact that

the banks allowed a negative balance with the carryover

feature did not mean that the banks authorized check kiting.

Furthermore, the primary purpose of the CKAS report was to

compare deposits of third party checks with deposits from

accounts of Defendants. The fact that the banks allowed one

day of float on the accounts does not change the fact that

92.38% of Defendants’ deposits came from their own

accounts, and only 7.62% of their deposits came from third

parties.

Defendants’ basic contention is that they were allowed to

run negative balances; they point to the fact that “they had

run a negative balance for 665 consecutive days as of

November 29, 1999. This was not considered in the CKAS

calculations.” (J.A. at 27.) No party disputes the fact that

Defendants could run a negative balance. The question is

whether Defendants were kiting checks; here, the ability to

run a negative balance would be irrelevant. If Defendants had

® De

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.