Opposition Brief — Brown v. Dekalb County (No. 06-332)

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Y FILED

No. 06-332 OCT 10 2006

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

SUPREME COURT. U.S.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

7

PHYLLIS BROWN,

Petitioner,

V.

DEKALB COUNTY, GEORGIA,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Georgia Court Of Appeals

SJ

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

WILLIAM J. LINKOUS* DUANE D. PRITCHETT

County Attorney Chief Assistant County

SaM L. BRANNEN, JR. Attorney

Senior Assistant County MELANIE F. WILSON

Attorney Senior Assistant County

*Counsel of Record Attorney

DEKALB COUNTY LAW

DEPARTMENT

1300 Commerce Drive,

5th Floor

Decatur, Georgia 30030

s (404) 371-3011

Attorneys for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO +800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

*

«x

RESPONSE TO PETITIONER’S

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Petitioner’s statement of the question presented

misconstrues this Court’s precedent, including McMillian

v. Monroe County, Alabama because the “arm of the state”

analysis applied to determine Eleventh Amendment

immunity is not relevant here. A more appropriate state-

ment of the question presented for review is whether the

Georgia Court of Appeals properly applied the final poli-

cymaker analysis of Monell v. New York City Dept. of

Social Servs. and McMillian v. Monroe County, et al. when,

after weighing competing factors, it concluded that in this

case former sheriff Sidney Dorsey was not a policymaker

for DeKalb County for purposes of liability under 42

U.S.C. § 1983.

RESPONSE TO THE PETITIONER’S

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 15.2, Respondent

points to an implicit misstatement of fact that arises from

the trial court’s order on a motion for partial summary

judgment as to the former sheriff Sidney Dorsey and co-

defendant, Patrick Cuffy, a former employee of the sher-

iff’s office.’ It appears that the trial court was confused

about whether the suit was brought against the former

sheriff in his official capacity. The Complaint and

Amended Complaint filed in this action do not, however,

contain any official capacity claims against the former

sheriff, the alleged final policymaker.’

’ Petitioner’s Appendix 19a.

* See Respondent’s Appendix 1-29.

|

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Response to Petitioner’s Question Presented for

OIG iniicusccscshesisiicsiliishatidiblucbiddicinaiiindainedighebbanaaasabeceinidieaes i

Response to Petitioner’s Statement of the Case............ il

Reasons for Denying the Petition.............:.ssseceeereeereees 1

RESPONSE TO PETITIONER’S REASONS FOR

Se RUE. SEINE cpehvniieinincsinstinssbiadeintastemauseies 3

I. The Georgia Court of Appeals’ decision adheres

to this Court’s § 1983 jurisprudence and, there-

fore, this Court’s review is not warranted ......... 3

Il. The Circuit Courts of Appeals’ decisions

discussed by the Petition as indicative of a

split between the circuits are irrelevant to this

case. The “sea” of § 1983 jurisprudence re-

IE SS, seccacicttircininsviniesinihaatiinenetcnniens +

A. In McMillian this Court anticipated that

there would not be a uniform national

characterization for all sheriffs................... 5

B. The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals cor-

rectly applied McMillian ...........ccceeceeseeesseees 6

C. An overwhelming majority of the decisions

described as indicative of a split between

the Circuit Courts of Appeal address Elev-

enth Amendment immunity and are ir-

relevant to the case at bar...........cccccccceeeeeeee 8

III. Under Georgia law former sheriff Dorsey was

a policymaker for the State of Georgia for the

functions at issue. The hypothetical possibil-

ity that local officials may exercise autono-

mous power independent from counties and

States is of no consequence under the facts of

Ne IE isda csccacasdeaiciundactnbiennbpentciindniaiansiumeitte 12

lV

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

A. This case does not involve Eleventh

Amendment immunity...............cccceeeeeseeseees 13

B. The Georgia Court of Appeals correctly

found that former sheriff Dorsey was not a

policymaker for the County for the func-

tions at issue............... iisecidiadsaadcuetuasuavaniens 14

| ALOR OAT ee te Mek ere a eA 20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Bd. of Commrs. of Dougherty County v. Saba, 278

GREE SEAT ASIEN: Ao nee 18

Bd. of Commrs. of Randolph County v. Wilson, 260

I I ITI Soc ile scala sc demadebraitbiaideedadnisaemnnnadetabeainieenia 18

Brewster v. Shasta County, 275 F.3d 803 (9th Cir.

i tibaintitedih di iahceiadaieaidndindinenetininaiienadeieeredneniinaassecenetiitds 10

Brown v. Jackson, 221 Ga. App. 200 (1996) ........cseesesees 18

Cash v. Granville County Bd. of Educ., 242 F.3d 219

IIIT TIIII osha sc ciecaiacenetisacdinianiidisiteapenbesionenventodibaleaiens 9,13 —

Chaffin v. Calhoun, 262 Ga. 202 (1992) .........cccceeeeeeees 17, 18

City of St. Louis v. Praprotnik, 485 U.S. 112 (1988)........... 6

Cortez v. County of Los Angeles, 294 F.3d 1186 (9th

iT IITs desinsnienicile Sadacednatadigeascbuetendeetouneneandioiiunentionents 10

Cozzo v. Tangipahoa Parish Council-President Gov-

ernment, 279 F.3d 273 (Sth Cir. 2002) ..........:.csesseerereeeees 9

DeGenova v. Sheriff of DuPage County, 209 F.3d

Bt te ETRE renee nee oor 10, 13

Franklin v. Zaruba, 150 F.3d 682 (7th Cir. 1998) ...5, 10, 13

Grayson vu. Peed, 195 F.3d 692 (4th Cir. 1999)................00 9

Grayson v. Royer, 529 U.S. 1067, 120 S.Ct. 1673

STITT aioe cenacia aaienedeieitieiadaessasiieabindebestealmeniainieiineaiedaiopiiiaiiande 10

Grech v. Clayton County, 335 F.3d 1326 (11th Cir.

SET tsiivnnndintnnpartedpeveetntiicanunteteotianeretenrerentoetennsaesonein passim

Harter v. Vernon, 101 F.3d 334 (4th Cir. 1996)................... 9

Henry v. County of Shasta, 132 F.3d 512 (9th Cir.

TEs is vsichenssindinibesiancssenicndandnsaiadaiestaadatandicanteninanadannititiaiiin 10

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Hess v. Port Authority Trans-Hudson, Corp., 513

Sa SLIT eutiiainisccbintinsacscseehdeicapsipseislecianabatasibinniepitatii 2,13

Huminski v. Corsones, 396 F.3d 53 (2nd Cir. 2005).......... 10

Jett v. Dallas Indep. School Dist., 491 U.S. 701

Sa eaeieeeD evtisoshbcticiaienlawiscadinietiihaaeiaianhidibienianiieanbacibihineeieibiabiediiniiniions 15

Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159 (1985)........:ccccesesreeeeees 2

Lake Country Estates, Inc. v. Tahoe Reg’l Planning

* FE, GEE Ge, HA Oe cctincesentstesninncincnnviaitanis 11, 13

Lowe v. Jones County, 231 Ga. App. 372, 499 S.E.2d

Lt SREB IRD RUE IE ene MRS sonar Rone one APN 18

Manders v. Lee, 338 F.3d 1304 (11th Cir. 2003) ..........++ 5,7

Mayo v. Fulton County, 220 Ga. App. 825 (1996)............. 18

McMillian v. Monroe County, Alabama, 520 U.S.

Se ii ccteninitinsacncttipitenesiinisinciamnbaseiingtlpbiiiaaas «passim

Monell v. New York City Dep’t of Social Servs., 436

is Giee CPD eriesnscchictencscseniesiibnatininniacbiansiniuanenbial 3, 13,14

Northern Ins. Co. of N.Y. v. Chatham County, 126

ee Ce ee icccntcncndddnaiistisiipaiaicnaiintiniisaniibeniitadia 11,13

Pembaur v. City of Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469 (1986)......... 14

Purcell v. Toombs County, Georgia, 400 F.3d 1313

Ce Re Bee iaiiinectincetcipnisitcnd biiineiinstnatutadsechintubiaatiainhadeiiiediaiatl 7

Scott v. O’Grady, 975 F.2d 366 (7th Cir. 1992) ...........e0e 9

Streit v. County of Los Angeles, 236 F.3d 552 (9th

I TICE nacenpccssinnnscvinitnicetsuncnintccnenmipnademapendan 5, 10, 11

Wayne County v. Herrin, 210 Ga. App. 747, 437

REE TENET CIID dninticinncunininbeilciccincibinatdeeninncsometintiinndeions 18

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

CONSTITUTIONS AND STATUTES

U. S. Constitution

Bdeverth Amendment .......cccesccosseseseressorecescreossens passim

Bae eat: OF Wt aiisissaldsceleaindstanniseddiaiecdetsitatnaiansatie passim

Georgia Constitution, 1983,

Gs Tillis Ay 0 Sitisarastecisindgrintiictassncintepeiaseinatelcemadiaua aaa 17

Pe ,. Sig Bye UNG wenn checsticisieesebactdannabmeidiamanainaan. 17

CA: © tae iacitesetcesitnintinecanitooebicdaaenes acai 17

Ces DS BPMN siicsicssactinsnisdiavulnnsnnmiiadamamadaia 17

— QE, § 1B-16-2O[C)....ccccerererereserersvncveeneonveoncsonsscosenenensens 18

1

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

There is no compelling reason for this Court to grant

the Petition in this case. Supreme Court Rule 10 provides

that a petition for a writ of certiorari will be granted only

for compelling reasons. Subparagraphs (a) through (c) of

that rule indicate the character of the reasons this Court

considers in making its determination to grant or deny a

petition. Although not explicitly stated, the Petition

appears to urge this Court to grant certiorari pursuant to

subparagraph (c) of Rule 10 on the basis that a state court,

i.e. the Georgia Court of Appeals, has decided an impor-

tant question of federal law that has not been, but should

be settled by this Court, or has decided an important

federal question in a way that conflicts with relevant

decisions of this Court. This case does not meet the stan-

dard required for review under Supreme Court Rule 10.

There is nothing about this case that merits this

Court granting certiorari to revisit the jurisprudential

landscape regarding § 1983 liability of counties. The

Georgia Court of Appeals did not err in its application of

McMillian v. Monroe County, Alabama,’ and contrary to

Petitioner’s assertions Eleventh Amendment immunity is

simply not a relevant consideration in this case. This case

turns on the issue of whether Respondent DeKalb County,

Georgia can be liable under § 1983 for a politically moti-

vated murder by sheriff as a final policymaker for the

County. This case is not about whether DeKalb County can

be liable for a judgment entered against former sheriff

Sidney Dorsey in his official capacity, as Dorsey was not

* 520 U.S. 781, 117 S.Ct. 1734 (1997).

2

-

sued on his official capacity.’ Petitioner apparently seeks

this Court’s review in her effort to recover from the County

approximately $326,000,000 in compensatory damages

awarded as part of a judgment against former sheriff

Sidney Dorsey in his individual capacity.’ While a judg-

ment was secured against several defendants in their

individual capacities, there has been no trial and no

judgment with respect to DeKalb County or any defendant

sued in their official capacity.’

Petitioner spends a considerable amount of time

addressing cases from various Circuit Courts of Appeals

she contends misinterpret and misapply McMillian v.

Monroe County and this Court’s Eleventh Amendment

immunity jurisprudence. The Petition, however, fails to

address any misinterpretation or misapplication of McMil-

lian by the Georgia Court of Appeals in the decision at

issue.’ Significantly, none of the errors alleged by Peti-

tioner in other cases are present in the decision of the

Georgia Court of Appeals.

The Georgia Court of Appeals did not err in its applica-

tion of McMillian and related precedent. Perhaps the

alleged conflicts in Eleventh Amendment immunity juris-

prudence would be relevant if suit had been filed against

former sheriff Dorsey in his official capacity, because under

this Court’s decision in Kentucky v. Graham, “victory in an

* Respondent’s Appendix 1-29.

* Petition, 4.

* Respondent’s Appendix 32-33.

" Eleventh Amendment immunity shields states and certain

agencies exercising state power from being sued in federal court

without their consent. Hess v. Port Authority Trans-Hudson Corpora-

tion, 513 U.S. 30, 115 S. Ct 394 (1994).

official-capacity suit imposes liability on the entity that

the officer represents.” In this case, however, no such

claim was pled or pursued.

The Georgia Court of Appeals’ decision closely follows

the analytical framework of McMillian, evaluating Geor-

gia law and answering the question of whether, based on

state law, the governmental official is a final policymaker

for the local government in the particular area or function

alleged to have resulted in the constitutional violation.’ As

set forth in Section III of this Brief, the Georgia Court of

Appeals made the necessary inquiry and used the appro-

priate analysis in reaching its decision that former sheriff

Dorsey was not a policymaker for DeKalb County for the

functions at issue.

.

RESPONSE TO PETITIONER’S REASONS

FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Georgia Court of Appeals’ decision adheres

to this Court’s § 1983 jurisprudence and, there-

fore, this Court’s review is not warranted.

The Georgia Court of Appeals’ well-reasoned and

soundly based decision that the sheriff was not a final

policymaker for the County on the issues of use of deadly

force and use of sheriff’s department personnel and

resources foreclosed the Petitioner from any pursuit of her

claims against the County. The Court examined whether

the sheriff was a final policymaker for the County on the

* 473 U.S. 159, 105 S.Ct. 3099 (1985) (quoting Monell v. New York

City Dep't of Social Servs., 436 U.S. 658, 690, n.55, 98 S.Ct. 2018, 2035-

2036 n.55 (1978)).

* MeMiv<eyn, 520 U.S. at 785.

4

particular function at issue as required by McMillian.”

The Georgia Court of Appeals examined how sheriffs

operate in Georgia after a review of the Georgia constitu-

tion, statutes and case decisions. In addition, the Georgia

Court of Appeals’ decision references Grech v. Clayton

County, Georgia,” a decision of the Eleventh Circuit Court

of Appeals that closely follows this Court’s analysis in

McMillian and includes an extensive discussion of Geor-

gia’s constitution, statutes and case law regarding the

status of sheriffs, their role and their relationship to the

State and counties in Georgia.

In McMillian this Court indicated its traditional

deference to the expertise of state-based jurists in inter-

preting state law.” The Georgia Court of Appeals and

Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals are deserving of such

deference in this case.

Il. The Circuit Courts of Appeals’ decisions dis-

cussed by the Petition as indicative of a split

in the cireuits are irrelevant to this case.

The “sea” of § 1983 jurisprudence remains un-

changed.

Contrary to the Petitioner’s assertion, there has not

been a “sea change” in § 1983 liability since McMillian. In

the post-McMillian years, litigants on both sides of the so-

called split or chasm have attempted to secure review

regarding decisions reached by the Eleventh, Seventh and

* 520 U.S. at 785; Petition, App. 12a.

" 335 F.3d 1326 (11th Cir. 2003).

* 520 U.S. at 786 (“We generally accord great deference to the

interpretation and application of state law by the Courts of Appeals”).

5

Ninth Circuit Courts of Appeal concerning the status of

sheriffs and the availability of Eleventh Amendment

immunity. This Court has declined to accept those cases.”

Arguably, this indicates that this Court as recently as

2003 did not believe that revisiting McMillian or the

decisions that constitute this Court’s Eleventh Amend-

ment jurisprudence was necessary. A similar denial is

warranted here because the Georgia Court of Appeals

adhered to McMillian and used the appropriate analytical

framework set forth therein.

A. In McMillian this Court anticipated that

there would not be a uniform national

characterization for all sheriffs.

Petitioner calls upon this Court to grant certiorari for

the purpose of articulating a “uniform test” to be applied

in both state and federal courts with respect to the § 1983

liability of counties in order to yield consistency in the

application of the various factors in the McMillian analy-

sis.‘ No such test is appropriate, however, because as

recognized in McMillian, due to the federal system the role

of sheriffs and counties varies from State to State; “there

is no inconsistency created by court decisions that declare

sheriffs to be county officers in one State, and not in

another.” There have been different outcomes among the

circuit courts of appeals precisely because -McMillian

involves an analysis that takes account of state law

“ This Court has denied certiorari in Manders v. Lee, 540 US.

1101 (2003); Franklin v. Zaruba, 525 U.S. 1141 (1999), Streit v. County

of Los Angeles, 534 U.S. 823 (2001).

* Petition, 9.

* 520 U.S. at 795, 117 S.Ct. at 1741.

6

regarding sheriffs and the particular function at issue.”

The state-law specific inquiry required by McMillian

accounts for the divergent outcomes that the Petition

mischaracterizes as a split in the circuits arising from a

misinterpretation of McMillian. The different outcomes

amongst the circuit courts of appeals simply reflect what

this Court has described as “the rich variety of ways in

which the power of government is distributed among a

host of different officials and official bodies.””

B. The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals cor-

rectly applied McMillian.

Petitioner describes the Eleventh Circuit Court of

Appeals as having misapplied McMillian to hold that

Georgia sheriffs are essentially state executive officials for

all purposes.” This is a mischaracterization of the Elev-

enth Circuit’s decisions. Petitioner argues that the Elev-

enth Circuit broadly construed McMillian and “arm-of-the-

state”-precedent to sweepingly characterize many local

officials as state officers for purposes of § 1983 liability.”

However, in the Eleventh Circuit’s post-McMillian deci-

sions considering the status of Georgia sheriffs there have

not been any holdings of the breadth argued by the Peti-

tion.

For example, in Grech, the decision most immediately

relevant to the case at bar, the Eleventh Circuit Court of

* 520 U.S. at 785.

" City of St. Louis v. Praprotnik, 485 U.S. 112, 125, 108 S.Ct. 915,

925 (1988).

* Petition, 11.

* Petition, 16.

Appeals sitting en banc affirmed the trial court’s finding

that the sheriff was not a county policymaker for § 1983

liability purposes for his law enforcement conduct and

policies regarding warrant information on state computer

systems, or training and supervision of his employees in

that regard.” Grech, on its face ie a narrow holding.

In Manders v. Lee, a decision whose analysis was not

relied upon below, the Eleventh Circuit considered a case

in which a Georgia sheriff sued in his official capacity

asserted Eleventh Amendment immunity in defense of a

§ 1983 claim.” There, the Eleventh Circuit Court of Ap-

peals sitting en banc reversed the denial of summary

judgment. The Eleventh Circuit, using the “arm-of-the-

state” analysis, evaluated Georgia law regarding the

relationship among the state, the sheriff and the county

and concluded that a Georgia sheriff wears a state hat for

Eleventh Amendment purposes when creating and imple-

menting a use-of-force policy at a jail.” On its face

Manders is also a narrow holding.

Those cases indicate that there is nothing of the

breadth alleged by Petitioner in the above post-McMillian

decisions regarding Georgia sheriffs. As exemplified by

Purcell v. Toombs County, Georgia, the Eleventh Circuit

has left room for different conclusions with respect to the

application of Eleventh Amendment immunity to the

various areas of operation and functions of Georgia

* Grech v. Clayton County, 335 F.3d at 1348.

* 338 F.3d at 1309, 1328.

* Id. at 1328.

8

sheriffs.” That is likely to be equally true of its considera-

tion of whether a sheriff acts as a final policymaker for a

Georgia county, particularly given McMillian’s explicit

rejection of an “all or nothing” approach and the Eleventh

Circuit’s adherence to McMillian in Grech.”

C. An overwhelming majority of the decisions

described as indicative of a split between

the Circuit Courts of Appeal address Elev-

enth Amendment immunity and are irrele-

vant to the case at bar.

Many of the cases cited to by the Petition as indicative

of a split among the circuit courts of appeals, and exam-

ples of misapplication and misinterpretation among those

courts, do not actually involve a county’s § 1983 liability

for sheriffs, but rather the invocation of Eleventh Amend-

ment immunity by a sheriff sued in his official capacity.

This case does not involve Eleventh Amendment immunity

because, as stated previously, there was no Official capacity

claim against the sheriff in this action. The sheriff did not

invoke the Eleventh Amendment because it would not

apply to him in his individual capacity; the sole basis upon

which he was sued here.”

Petitioner attempts to create a split in the circuits out

of a patchwork of decisions that do not have any bearing

on the issue that the Georgie Court of Appeals considered,

liability of final policymakers under § 1983. The Petition

* 400 F.3d 1313, 1325 (11th Cir. 2005) (where the court “declined to

determine that a Georgia sheriff wears a state hat for all purposes”).

* See 335 F.3d 1326.

* Respondent’s Appendix 1-29.

9

points to decisions of the Eleventh and Second Circuit

Courts of Appeals on the one hand, and the Fourth, Sev-

enth and Ninth Circuit Courts of Appeals on the other, as

indicative of a split that warrants this Court’s interven-

tion. As set forth below, even a cursory examination of

those cases illustrates their irrelevance to the case at bar.

Respondent has already discussed the Eleventh

Circuit Court of Appeals’ decisions cited by Petitioner as

indicative of a split, and has shown this Court that subse-

quent to McMillian the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals

has followed this Court’s direction in analyzing § 1983

liability for. counties, most certainly in the case relevant

here, Grech v. Clayton County. With the exception of the

Ninth Circuit cases, the decisions the Petition describes as

indicative of a split amongst the circuits overwhelmingly

involved Eleventh Amendment immunity” and or did not

involve claims against counties.” There were perhaps a

* Scott v. O’ Grady, 975 F.3d 366 (7th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 508

U.S. 942, 113 S.Ct. 2421 (1993), pre-dates McMillian and involved a

suit against a sheriff and a deputy in their official capacities arising

from an eviction. The two defendants invoked Eleventh Amendment

immunity as a bar to the § 1983 claim and the court considered whether

the defendants were agents of the state entitled to the protection of the

Eleventh Amendment when they act to enforce orders issued by the

state courts.

” Harter v. Vernon, 101 F.3d 334 (4th Cir. 1996) involved Eleventh

Amendment immunity and pre-dates McMillian. Cash v. Granville

County Bd. of Educ., 242 F 3d 219 (4th Cir. 2001) was a Fair Labor

Standards ‘.ct case that involved an assertion of Eleventh Amendment

immunity end did not apply McMillian. Similarly, Cozzo v. Tangipahoa

Parish Council-President Government, 279 F.3d 273 (5th Cir. 2662)

involved Eleventh Amendment immunity and made the appropriate

application of the multi-factor arm-of-the-state analysis. In Grayson v.

Peed, 195 F.3d 692 (4th Cir. 1999), admittediy, the court did not cite

McMillian and engaged in minimal analysis of the county’s liability

under § 1983, focusing solely on the issue «f control. However, this

(Continued on following page)

10

few aberrant decisions from the Second and Seventh

Circuit Courts of Appeals but again, those cases are simply

not relevant to this case because they turned on assertions of

Eleventh Amendment immunity.” Of the four Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals cases cited by Petitioner, all of the decisions

involved the question of county liability under § 1983 for the

acts of a sheriff, with one failing to make mention of McMil-.

lian.” With respect to the other three cases cited by Peti-

tioner, Streit v. County of Los Angeles,” Brewster v. Shasta

County” and Cortez v. County of Los Angeles,” it appears

Court denied certiorari. See Grayson v. Royer, 529 U.S. 1067, 120 S.Ct.

1673 (2000).

* Huminski v. Corsones, 396 F.3d 53 (2nd Cir. 2004) (discussing

the sheriff’s sovereign immunity from liability for § 1983 claims filed

against him in his official capacity as preserved by the Eleventh

Amendment), Franklin v. Zaruba, 150 F.3d 682 (7th Cir. 1998), cert.

denied, 525 U.S. 1141 (1999) (concluding, in a suit against the sheriff in

his official capacity, that the sheriff was not acting as an agent of the

state with respect to his exercise of custodial power. The court did not

perform the arm-of-the-state analysis as one might expect, but instead

used McMillian to decide the sheriff’s entitlement to immunity),

DeGenova v. Sheriff of DuPage County, 209 F.3d 973 (7th Cir. 2000) (in

a suit against a county sheriff in his official capacity, the court repeated

the flawed analysis used in Franklin, supra).

* Henry v. County of Shasta, 132 F.3d 512 (9th Cir. 1998), cert.

denied, 525 U.S. 819 (1998).

” 236 F.3d 522 (9th Cir. 2001), cert. denied, 534 U.S. 823 (2001).

The court cited to McMitiian as the applicable analytical framework for

deciding whether the county was subject to § 1983 liability for the

unconstitutional actions of the sheriff. Thereafter, the court examined

California’s constitution, statutes and case law, ultimately concluding

that the sheriff acts as a final policymaker for county in the administra-

tion and the release of inmates from the local jail. This Court denied

the County’s petition for a writ of certiorari.

* 275 F.3d 803 (9th Cir. 2001), cert. denied, 537 U.S. 814, 123 S.Ct.

75 (2002).

* 994 F.3d 1186, 1187 (9th Cir. 2002).

11

the Ninth Circuit followed the McMillian analysis with

respect to county liability. Notably, the court was also

required to discuss Eleventh Amendment immunity in

Streit® and that discussion was appropriately separate

and distinct from the discussion of county liability.

As discussed above, the majority of the decisions

described by Petitioner as indicative of a split in the

Circuit Courts of Appeals address Eleventh Amendment

immunity and are irrelevant to the case at bar. This Court

has not construed the Eleventh Amendment to afford

protection to political subdivisions such as counties and

cities’ and this Court has repeatedly refused to extend

that immunity to counties.” Accordingly, any alleged

confusion among the Circuit Courts of Appeals regarding

the application of Eleventh Amendment immunity, which

the County did not and could not assert in this case, is

simply not relevant here.

Accordingly, the Petition should be denied because

this case does not involve Eleventh Amendment immunity

and the concerns raised by the Petition are not relevant to

this case. In rendering the decision at issue, the Georgia

Court of Appeals closely followed this Court’s analysis in

McMillian, applying the same framework and evaluating

similar legal provisions. For that reason, no further review

is warranted.

* 236 F.3d at 566.

“ Lake Country Estates, Inc. v. Tahoe Reg’l Planning Agency, 440

U.S. 391, 400-401, 99 S.Ct. 1171, 1177 (1979).

* Northern Ins. C>. of N.Y. v. Chatham County, Georgia, 126 S.Ct.

1689 (2006).

12

IfIl. Under Georgia law former sheriff Dorsey was

a policymaker for the State of Georgia for the

functions at issue. The hypothetical possibil-

ity that local officials may exercise autono-

mous power independent from counties and

States is of no consequence under the facts of

this case.

Petitioner asserts that this Court should accept its

Petition because the Georgia Court of Appeals’ decision in

this case does not address the possibility that local officials

could exercise autonomous power independent from

counties and states. In support of its argument, Petitioner

seeks to draw distinctions between the decision of the

Georgia Court of Appeals and several federal Circuit Court

cases involving Eleventh Amendment. immunity.” Peti-

tioner argues that the Georgia Court of Appeals improp-

erly applied the § 1983 policymaker test as an “all or

nothing” proposition, and, according to Petitioner, incor-

rectly jumped from a finding that the county did not

control the sheriff to the “conclusion that Dorsey must be a

state officer immune under § 1983” while overlooking the

possibility that the sheriff could be an autonomous, inde-

pendent officer.”

Petitioner’s argument is not persuasive because it

mischaracterizes the decision of the Georgia Court of

Appeals and appears to confuse Eleventh Amendment

immunity analysis with the § 1983 final policymaker

* Petition, 20-22.

* Petition, 20.

13

analysis set forth in McMillian v. Monroe County, Ala-

bama and followed by the Georgia Court of Appeals.”

A. This case does not involve Eleventh Amend-

ment Immunity.

Petitioner repeatedly attempts to draw contrasts

between this case and cases turning on the grant or denial

of Eleventh Amendment immunity in an effort to convince

this Court to grant certiorari. Notably, neither McMillian

nor the decision of the Georgia Court of Appeals in this

case rely upon, or even discuss, Eleventh Amendment

immunity. The Georgia Court of Appeals decision did not

conclude that former sheriff Dorsey was an “arm-of-the-

state” or otherwise rely upon the Eleventh Amendment

jurisprudence of which Petitioner complains.” Petitioner’s

arguments to the contrary overlook the fact that this case

turns on a different analysis, with the question being

solely whether former sheriff Dorsey was a policymaker

for DeKalb County on the issues of use of deadly force and

use of sheriff’s department personnel and resources.” The

Georgia Court of Appeals properly analyzed the relevant

question, with its analysis closely following this Court’s

decision in McMillian.”

* McMillian, 520 U.S. 781, 117 S.Ct.- 1734 (1997); See Monell v.

New York City Dep't of Social Servs., 436 U.S. 658, 694, 98 S.Ct. 2018,

2037-2038 (1978).

* Compare Northern Ins. Co. of New York, 126 S.Ct. 1689; Hess,

513 U.S. 30, 115 S.Ct. 394; Lake Country Estates, Inc., 440 U.S. 391, 99

S.Ct. 1171; Franklin, 150 F.3d 682; DeGenova, 209 F.3d 973; Cash, 242

F.3d 219.

“ See McMillian, 520 U.S. at 786, 117 S.Ct. at 1737.

“” 520 U.S. 781, 117 S.Ct. 1734.

14

B. The Georgia Court of Appeals correctly

found that former sheriff Dorsey was not

a policymaker for the County for the func-

tions at issue.

Petitioner mischaracterizes the Georgia Court of

Appeals’ decision when he argues that the court’s holding

was based upon a mere lack of county control. To the

contrary, the Georgia Court of Appeals applied the same

analysis set forth in McMillian, looking at the elements of

state law considered by this Court in that case, and found

that because Georgia sheriffs are empowered, directed and

controlled by state law in the functions at issue, former

sheriff Dorsey was a policymaker for the State for pur-

poses of § 1983 liability.” The decision was not based upon

a knee-jerk reaction that “because county did not exercise

authority over sheriff’s use of deadly-force policies or law

enforcement personnel and resources, the state exercised

control over those functions.” Rather, the Georgia Court

of Appeals conducted a detailed analysis and found that

state empowerment, direction and control of former sheriff

Dorsey in the functions at issue indicated that Dorsey was

not a policymaker for DeKalb County when performing

those functions.

“ As discussed in Monell v. Dep't of Social Servs., a local govern-

ment such as DeKalb County is liable under § 1983 only for its policies

or customs that cause constitutional torts. 436 U.S. 658, 98 S.Ct. 2018

(1978). While DeKalb County takes issue with the Georgia Court of

Appeals’ conclusion that sheriff Dorsey's private decision to commit

malice murder on his own time could constitute a policy under the

reasoning of Pembaur v. City of Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469, 106 S.Ct.

1292 (1986), we do not take up the issue at this juncture.

** Compare Petition, 20.

15

A comparison of the analytical framework of McMillian

with the framework applied by the Georgia Court of

Appeals in this case shows that the Petition for Writ of

Certiorari should be denied. In McMillian, this Court

considered whether an Alabama sheriff was a policymaker

for the State or the county for purposes of liability under

42 U.S.C. § 1983 when acting in a law enforcement capac-

ity." The Court noted that in determining a local govern-

ment’s § 1983 liability, a court’s task is to “identify those

who speak with final policymaking authority for the local

government actor concerning the action alleged to have

caused the constitutic a violation at issue.” This Court

began by holding that the question of whether the sheriff

was a policymaker for the State or the county depended on

state law, and for that reason the analysis of the Eleventh

Circuit Court of Appeals, most familiar with the state law

concepts at issue, would be entitled to considerable defer-

ence.” In McMillian, this Court framed the question as

whether, under Alabama law, a sheriff is a policymaker for

the State or the county when he acts in a law enforcement

capacity.”

In answering the question in McMillian, this Court

reviewed the Alabama Constitution, Code, and Eleventh

Circuit and the Alabama Supreme Court precedent con-

struing such authority. In particular, this Court considered

the Alabama Constitution, which designated sheriffs as

“constitutional officers” and members of the “executive

“ McMillian, 520 U.S. 781, 117 S.Ct. 1734 (1997).

* McMillian, 520 U.S. at 785 (citing Jett v. Dallas Indep. School

Dist., 491 U.S. 701, 737, 109 S.Ct. 2702, 2723-2724 (1989)).

“ 520 U.S. at 786, 117 S.Ct. at 1734.

oft

16

department” of state government, with only the State

Supreme Court and Governor empowered to impeach

sheriffs.” The Alabama Code defined sheriffs’ duties as

primarily acting on behalf of the state courts, with a

responsibility to submit reports and evidence collected in

investigating crimes to the district attorney.” Under

Alabama law, county governing bodies were found to have

no power to instruct a sheriff on how to carry out the

duties of his or her office.” In a point designated as-critical

by the McMillian Court, the Alabama Supreme Court had

concluded from its review of State constitutional and

statutory provisions that sheriffs were executive officers of

the state, and had held unequivocally: “sheriffs are state

officers, and ... claims brought against sheriffs based on

their official acts therefore constitute suits against the

State, not suits against the sheriff’s county.” This Court

ultimately held that an Alabama sheriff acting in a law

enforcement capacity acts as a policymaker for the State.

The McMillian Court considered and rejected several

factors argued to show that an Alabama sheriff should be

considered a county officer. For example, the Court noted

the sheriff’s salary was paid out of the county treasury,

the county was required to fund the expenses of the

sheriff’s office “to the extent reasonably needed for the

proper and efficient conduct of the affairs of the sheriff’s

office,” the sheriff’s jurisdiction was limited to the borders

“ 520 US. at 788-789, 117 S.Ct. at 1738-1739.

*” 520 U.S. at 789-790, 117 S.Ct. at 1739.

520 U.S. at 788-789, 117 S.Ct. at 1738-1739 (Under Alabama law,

governing body of counties cannot instruct the sheriff how to ferret out

crime, how to arrest a criminal, or how to secure evidence of a crime).

” 520 U.S. at 789, 117 S.Ct. at 1738.

17

of his county, and the sheriff was elected locally by county

voters.” Such factors were found by the McMillian court to

be insufficient to overcome the constitutional, statutory

and case decisions holding that Alabama sheriffs were

policymakers for the state when acting in their law en-

forcement capacity.

In this case, the Georgia Court of Appeals followed the

analysis set forth in McMillian and determined that

former sheriff Dorsey was not a policymaker for the

County functions at issue: the use of deadly-force and use

of law enforcement personnel and resources. Similar to

McMillian, the Georgia Court of Appeals examined the

Georgia Constitution, Georgia statutes, and interpretive

case law. The Georgia Court of Appeals considered that the

Georgia constitution, while nominally designating the

sheriff as a “county officer,” grants the legislature exclu-

sive authority to establish a sheriff’s powers, duties,

qualifications and minimum salary.” Further, the Georgia

constitution specifically exempts the sheriff’s office from

modification by counties pursuant to their local legislative

powers.” Georgia law defines a sheriff’s duties,” providing

that the sheriff alone has the power to hire and fire his

deputies and sheriffs,” and that only the Governor of the

* 520 US. at 791, 117 S.Ct. at 1740.

“ See the decision of the Georgia Court of Appeals in this matter,

attached to the Petition, App. 10a, citing Ga. Const. of 1983, Art. IX, § 1,

q I1l(a)-<(b), See also Chaffin v. Calhoun, 262 Ga. 202, 203, 415 S.E.2d

906 (1992).

* Petition, App. 12a, n.31; See Ga. Const. of 1983, Art. IX, § 2,

4 l(c).

” Petition, App. 10a, n.20, citing O.C.G.A. § 15-16-10.

* Petition, App. 12a, citing O.C.G.A. § 15-16-23.

18

State of Georgia is authorized to suspend a Georgia

sheriff.”

On an aspect of the analysis deemed critical by the

McMillian Court, the Georgia Supreme Court’s decisions

interpreting the Georgia constitution and State law

support, if not require, the conclusion that the former

sheriff was a policymaker for the State with respect to the

use of deadly-force and law enforcement personnel and

resources, The Georgia Supreme Court has held that the

“sheriff is an elected, constitutional officer; he is subject to

the charge of the General Assembly and is not an em-

ployee of the county commission.”” The Georgia Supreme

Court has similarly held that deputy sheriffs are employ-

ees of the sheriff, not the county, and the county cannot be

held vicariously liable for the negligence of sheriff’s

deputies.” While Georgia county commissions set the

sheriff’s budget and must provide reasonably sufficient

funds to allow the sheriff to discharge his legal duties, a

county “may not dictate to the sheriff how that budget will

be spent in the exercise of his duties.”” Moreover, like in

McMillian, only the Governor of the State of Georgia is

authorized to suspend a Georgia sheriff.”

*” Petition, App. 12a, citing O.C.G.A. § 15-16-26(c).

* Petition, App. 10a-lla, citing Bd. of Commrs. Of Randolph

County v. Wilson, 260 Ga. 482, 396 S.E.2d 903 (1990), Bd. of Commrs.

Of Dougherty County v. Saba, 278 Ga. 176, 177, 598 S.E.2d 437 (2004)

and Mayo v. Fulton County, 220 Ga. App. 825, 470 S.E.2d 258 (1996).

* Petition, App. 12a, citing Lowe v. Jones County, 231 Ga. App.

372, 373, 499 S.E.2d 348 (1998), Brown v. Jackson, 221 Ga. App. 200,

201, 470 S.E.2d 786 (1996), Wayne County v. Herrin, 210 Ga. App. 747,

751, 437 S.E.2d 793 (1993).

© Petition, App. 13a, n.33-35; See Chaffin, 262 Ga. at 203.

* Petition, App. 12a.

19

Further, in an extensive opinion, the Eleventh Circuit

Court of Appeals in Grech held that a Georgia sheriff was

not a policymaker for the county when acting in his law

enforcement function and, more specifically, with regard to

maintenance of a computer warrant system.” Grech noted

among other things that “[t]here is not a single Georgia

case ... holding a county liable for the torts of a sheriff or

his deputies.”” Grech was referred to as persuasive and

extensively cited by the Georgia Court of Appeals in its

decision in this case.™

Considering Georgia state constitutional and statu-

tory authority, and the Georgia appellate court and Elev-

enth Circuit Court of Appeals opinions construing such

authority, it is clear that Georgia sheriffs are policymakers

for the state on the functions at issue in this case. The

Georgia Court of Appeals properly applied the McMillian

analysis when it evaluated the Georgia constitution,

statutes and case law to answer the question of whether

former sheriff Dorsey was a policymaker for the State or

the County on use of deadly-force and use of law enforce-

ment personnel and resources. Like sheriffs in Alabama,

the powers and duties of Georgia sheriffs are dictated by

the State, with only State officials having any oversight or

control of sheriffs. Like in McMillian, the Georgia law in

favor of Respondent’s position outweighs any provisions of

law that cut in favor of the conclusion that Georgia sher-

iffs are county policymakers.” This Court should deny

Petitioner’s request for certiorari because the Georgia

“ Petition, App. 10a, n.23, citing Grech, 335 F.3d at 1348.

© Petition, App. 1la; Grech, 335 F.3d at 1342 n.32.

* Id.

* Compare McMillian, 520 U.S. at 1740.

20

Court of Appeals properly analyzed the relevant question,

with its analysis closely following the analytical frame-

work set forth by this Court in McMillian.

¢

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth herein, the Petition for

Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM J. LINKOUS, III

County Attorney

Counsel of Record

DEKALB COUNTY LAW DEPARTMENT

1300 Commerce Drive

Decatur, Georgia, 30030

Tel: (404) 371-3011

DUANE D. PRITCHETT

SAM L. BRANNEN, JR.

MELANIE F’, WILSON

Of Counsel

DEKALB COUNTY LAW DEPARTMENT

1300 Commerce Drive

Decatur, Georgia, 30030

(404) 371-3011

APPENDIX

App. 1

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF

GWINNETT COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

PHYLLIS BROWN, Individually

as surviving spouse and as

Executrix of the Estateé of

DERWIN BROWN, deceased,

Plaintiffs, CIVIL ACTION

FILE NO.:

02-A-12772

)

)

)

)

)

)

vs. ‘

SIDNEY DORSEY, in his )

Individual Capacity, SECURITY )

INVESTIGATION DIVISION, INC., )

MECCA SECURITY, INC., )

MELVIN D. WALKER, in his '

Individual Capacity, PATRICK

CUFFY, in his Individual )

Capacity, PAUL SKYERS, )

DAVID I. RAMSEY, and )

DEKALB COUNTY, )

)

Defendants.

COMPLAINT

(Filed Nov. 21, 2002)

COMES NOW Phyllis Brown, Plaintiff in the above-

styled action, and shows this Court as follows:

JURISDICTION AND VENUE

1.

Plaintiff Phyllis Brown is a citizen of the State of

Georgia.

~

App. 2

2.

Defendant Sidney Dorsey, the former Sheriff of

DeKalb County, is presently a prisoner in the custody of

the State of Georgia. Prior to his incarceration, Defendant

Sidney Dorsey was most recently known to reside in

DeKalb County at 1891 Montvallo Terrace SE, Atlanta, GA

30316-2812. Defendant Sidney Dorsey is a joint tortfeasor

with Defendant Paul Skyers, hence jurisdiction and venue

are proper in this Court.

3.

Defendant Security Investigation Division, Inc.

(hereinafter “SID”) is a Georgia Corporation with its

-principal place of business in DeKalb County, Georgia.

Defendant can be served in DeKalb County through its

registered agent, Sherry Dorsey, 1891 Montvallo Terrace

SE, Atlanta, GA 30316-2812. Defendant SID is a joint

tortfeasor with Defendant Paul Skyers, hence jurisdiction

and venue are proper in this Court.

4.

Defendant Mecca Security, Inc. (hereinafter “Mecca”)

is a Georgia Corporation with its principal place of busi-

ness in Georgia. Defendant can be served in Rockdale

County through its registered agent, Veleria Askew

Walker, 3685 Sweet Briar Lane SE, Conyers, GA 30094-

3862. Defendant Mecca is a joint tortfeasor with Defen-

dant Paul Skyers, hence jurisdiction and venue are proper

in this Court.

App. 3 -

5.

Defendant Melvin D. Walker (hereinafter “Walker”) is

a former Deputy and/or Jailor at the DeKalb County

Sheriff’s Department. Walker is also the Chief Executive

Officer of Defendant Mecca. He can be served in Rockdale

County at his place of residence, 3685 Sweet Briar Lane

SE, Conyers, GA 30094-3862. Defendant Walker is a joint

tortfeasor with Defendant Paul Skyers, hence jurisdiction

and venue are proper in this Court.

6.

Defendant Patrick Cuffy (hereinafter “Cuffy”) is a

former Deputy and/or Jailor at the DeKalb County Sher-

iff’s Department. Defendant Cuffy’s last known place of

residence was in DeKalb County at 3785 Caseys Cove,

Ellenwood, GA 30294. Defendant Cuffy is a joint tortfeasor

with Defendant Paul Skyers, hence jurisdiction and venue

are proper in this Court.

F

Defendant Paul Skyers (hereinafter “Skyers”) can be

served in Gwinnett County at his place of residence, 4398

Redgate Rd NW, Norcross, GA 30093. Jurisdiction and

venue are proper in this Court.

8.

Defendant DeKalb County is a political subdivision of

the State of Georgia, able to sue and be sued. Defendant

DeKalb County can be served by means of service of

process upon the Chief Executive Officer, Vernon Jones, at

his office at Maloof Center, Sixth Floor, Government

App. 4

Administration, 1300 Commerce Drive, Decatur, GA

30030. Defendant DeKalb County is a joint tortfeasor with

Defendant Skyers, hence jurisdiction and venue are proper

in this Court.

9.

Defendant David I. Ramsey (hereinafter “Ramsey”) is

presently living in St. Croix, VI. Defendant Ramsey is a

joint tortfeasor with Defendant Skyers, hence jurisdiction

and venue are proper in this Court.

10.

During the year 2000, Defendant Ramsey inflicted

tortuous injuries upon Plaintiff and her decedent, Derwin

Brown, as described hereafter. Both said tortuous acts and

injuries occurred in Georgia. Subsequently, Defendant

Ramsey subsequently left the State of Georgia, and, as of

the date of the filing of this Complaint, no longer resides

within the State of Georgia. Defendant Ramsey is thus

subject to the personal jurisdiction of this Court under the

Georgia Long Arm Statute, O.C.G.A. § 9-10-91, and is

amenable to service of process as provided in O.C.G.A. § 9-

10-94.

FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS

11.

Defendant Sidney Dorsey was the Sheriff of DeKalb

County, Georgia from January 1, 1997 through December

31, 2000. :

App. 5

12.

As Sheriff of DeKalb County, Defendant Sidney

Dorsey was Defendant DeKalb County’s managing officer

with ultimate policymaking authority on all matters

pertaining to (1) the duties and assignments of DeKalb

Jailors, Sheriff’s Deputies, and other Sheriff’s Depart-

ment personnel, (2) the policies, procedures, and operation

of the DeKalb County Jail, (3) the policies and procedures

governing the service of legal process, subpoenas, and

arrest warrants within DeKalb County, (4) the provision of

security at the DeKalb County Courthouse, and (5) the

policies and procedures governing the conduct and em-

ployment of Sheriff’s Department personnel.

13.

During his tenure as Sheriff, Defendant Sidney

Dorsey was also the owner or part owner of Defendant

SID. Defendant Sidney Dorsey had managerial authority

over the operations of Defendant SID.

14,

During the year 2000, Derwin Brown ran against

Defendant Sidney Dorsey for the office of Sheriff and

defeated Defendant Sidney Dorsey in the primary run-off

election, with the result that Defendant Sidney Dorsey’s

tenure in office expired December 31, 2000.

15.

During his 2000 election bid against Defendant

Sidney Dorsey, Derwin Brown campaigned for office on a

platform that called for a state criminal investigation of

App. 6

the administration at the DeKalb County jail, a reorgani-

zation of the DeKalb Sheriff’s Office reservist program, a

private accounting audit and the implementation of a

merit hiring procedure.

16.

Derwin Brown called the DeKalb County Jail “a

cesspool of corruption.”

a7

Between August 8, 2000 and August 31, 2000, Defen-

dant Sidney Dorsey solicited and enlisted Defendants

Cuffy, Ramsey, Skyers, and Walker to kill Derwin Brown.

18.

As of August, 2000, Defendants Walker and Cuffy

worked for the DeKalb County Sheriff’s Office as Deputies

and/or Jailors.

19.

As of August, 2000, Defendant SID employed or had

employed Defendants Cuffy, Ramsey, Skyers, and Walker

as providers of security services.

20.

As of August, 2000, Defendant Walker was an owner

or part owner, as well as employee, of Defendant Mecca.

App. 7

21.

As of August, 2000, Defendant Mecca employed or had

employed Defendant Skyers as a provider of security

services.

22.

Between August 8, 2000, and December 15, 2000,

Defendant Sidney Dorsey met with Defendants Cuffy,

Walker, Ramsey, and Skyers in DeKalb County for the

purpose of planning how and where Derwin Brown could

be murdered.

23.

Between August 8, 2000, and December 15, 2000,

Defendants Cuffy, Walker, Ramsey, and Skyers conducted

surveillance, in DeKalb County and elsewhere, on Derwin

Brown personally and on his residence.

24.

Between August 8, 2000, and December 15, 2000,

Defendants Cuffy, Walker, Ramsey, and Skyers obtained

firearms for the purpose of killing Derwin Brown.

25.

Between August 9, 2000, and August 12, 2000, in

DeKalb County, Defendant Sidney Dorsey reassigned

Defendant Cuffy from the Jail Division to Community

Relations in order to allow Defendant Cuffy to more easily

participate in the planning and execution of the conspiracy

to murder Derwin Brown.

App. 8

26.

On or about September 23, 2000, in DeKalb County,

DeKalb County Board of Education School Resource

Officer Karey Harris encountered Defendant Cuffy and/or

Defendants Walker, Ramsey, and Skyers during an

aborted attempt to murder Derwin Brown at his residence

or to conduct surveillance of Derwin Brown for the pur-

pose of facilitating his murder. Defendant Sidney Dorsey

stated to School Resources Officers that Defendant Cuffy

was on a special assignment for Defendant Sidney Dorsey.

27.

Between August 8, 2000, and December 15, 2000,

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Cuffy, Walker, Ramsey, and

Skyers discussed the consideration or compensation that

Defendants Ramsey, Skyers, and Walker would receive for

their participation in the murder of Derwin Brown.

28.

On or about October 30, 2000, Defendant Sidney

Dorsey ordered Sheriffs Department personnel to hire, on

an expedited basis, Defendants Skyers and Ramsey, as

consideration for Defendants Skyers’ and Ramsey’s par-

ticipation in the conspiracy to murder Derwin Brown.

29.

Between August 8, 2000, and December 15, 2000,

Defendant Dorsey ordered that Defendant Walker be given

special consideration for admission to the Peace Officer

Standards and Training (POST) Mandate School as

App. 9

consideration for his participation in the conspiracy to

murder Derwin Brown.

30.

Between August 8, 2000, and December 15, 2000,

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Cuffy, Walker, Ramsey, and

Skyers discussed alibis for the time of the murder.

31.

On or about December 15, 2000, Defendants Walker,

Ramsey, Cuffy, and Skyers traveled to the home of Derwin

Brown.

32.

While present at the home of Derwin Brown, Defen-

dant Walker intentionally and maliciously shc Derwin

Brown and killed him. :

33.

During the murder of Derwin Brown, Defendants

Ramsey, Cuffy, and Skyers stood by ready to aid Defendant

Walker in the event that Defendant Walker required help

in committing the murder.

34,

Following the murder of Derwin Brown, Defendants

Walker, Ramsey, Cuffy, and Skyers fled the scene together.

Defendant Skyers drove the getaway car.

App. 10

35.

In committing the murder of Derwin Brown, Defen-

dants Walker, Ramsey, Cuffy, and Skyers acted on the

orders of Defendant Sidney Dorsey.

36.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Cuffy, Walker, Ramsey,

Skyers, SID, and Mecca acted in concert to plan, commit,

and/or cover-up the murder of Derwin Brown.

37.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Cuffy, Walker, Ramsey and

Skyers acted with the actual and malicious intent to inflict

injury upon Derwin Brown.

COUNT I: WRONGFUL DEATH

38.

The averments set forth in paragraphs 1 through 37

above are hereby incorporated by reference as if fully set

forth herein.

39.

Defendant Sidney Dorsey solicited Defendants Cuffy,

Walker, Ramsey, and Skyers to commit the murder of

Derwin Brown. Defendants Cuffy, Walker, Ramsey, and

Skyers agreed to participate and did participate in the

planning, preparation, and execution of the murder.

App. 11

40.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, Cuffy, Skyers, and

Ramsey, in planning, shooting, or participating in the

shooting of Derwin Brown, did unlawfully and with malice

aforethought cause Derwin Brow ’s death.

41.

At the time of the murder of Derwin Brown, Plaintiff

Phyllis Brown was Derwin Brown’s lawfully-married wife.

42.

Pursuant to O.C.G.A. §51-4-2, Defendants Sidney

Dorsey, Cuffy, Walker, Ramsey, and Skyers are liable to

Plaintiff Phyllis Brown, in her capacity as the surviving

spouse of Derwin Brown, for the full value of Derwin

Brown’s life.

43.

Additionally, Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker,

Cuffy, Skyers, and Ramsey, in murdering Derwin Brown,

acted with an intent to promote the interests of Defen-

dants Mecca and/or SID. Said Defendants therefore acted

within the scope of their employment to Defendants Mecca

and/or SID.

44.

Therefore, pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 51-4-2 and the

doctrine of respondeat superior, Defendants Mecca and

SID are liable to Plaintiff Phyllis Brown, in her capacity as

App. 12

the surviving spouse of Derwin Brown, for the full value of

Derwin Brown's life.

COUNT II: SURVIVAL ACTION

FOR PAIN AND SUFFERING

45,

The averments set forth in paragraphs 1 through 44

above are hereby incorporated by reference as if fully set

forth herein.

46.

Defendant Sidney Dorsey solicited Defendants Cuffy,

Walker, Ramsey, and Skyers to commit the murder of

Derwin Brown. Defendants Cuffy, Walker, Ramsey, and

Skyers agreed to participate and did participate in the

planning, preparation, and execution of the murder.

47.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, Cuffy, Skyers, and

Ramsey, in planning, shooting, or participating in the

shooting of Derwin Brown, did unlawfully and with malice

aforethought cause Derwin Brown’s death.

———

48.

Derwin Brown experienced pain and suffering, mental

anguish, and emotional distress prior to his death.

App. 13

49.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Cuffy, Walker, Ramsey,

and Skyers are therefore liable to Plaintiff Phyllis Brown

in her capacity as Executrix of Derwin Brown’s estate for

general damages for injuries caused to her husband,

Derwin Brown.

50.

Additionally, Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker,

Cuffy, Skyers, and Ramsey, in murdering Derwin Brown,

acted with an intent to promote the interests of Defen-

dants Mecca and/or SID. Said Defendants therefore acted

within the scope of their employment to Defendants Mecca

and/or SID.

51.

Therefore, pursuant to the doctrine of respondeat

superior, Defendants Mecca and SID are liable to Plaintiff

Phyllis Brown, in her capacity as Executrix of Derwin

Brown's estate, for general damages for. injuries caused to

her husband, Derwin Brown.

COUNT III: ACTION FOR MEDICAL

AND FUNERAL EXPENSES

7 52.

The averments set forth in paragraphs 1 through 51

above are hereby incorporated by reference as if fully set

forth herein.

App. 14

53.

Defendant Sidney Dorsey solicited Defendants Cuffy,

Walker, Ramsey, and Skyers to commit the murder of

Derwin Brown. Defendants Cuffy, Walker, Ramsey, and

Skyers agreed to participate and did participate in the

planning, preparation, and execution of the murder.

54.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, Cuffy, Skyers, and

Ramsey, in planning, shooting, or participating in the

shooting of Derwin Brown, did unlawfully and with malice

aforethought cause Derwin Brown’s death.

55.

As the result of the murder of Derwin Brown, Derwin

Brown’s estate incurred special damages including medical

. and funeral expenses for Derwin Brown.

56.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Cuffy, Walker, Ramsey,

and Skyers are therefore liable to Plaintiff Phyllis Brown

in her capacity as Executrix of Derwin Brown’s estate for

special damages for injuries caused to her husband,

Derwin Brown.

57.

Additionally, Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker,

Cuffy, Skyers, and Ramsey, in murdering Derwin Brown,

acted with an intent to promote the interests of Defen-

dants Mecca and/or SID. Said Defendants therefore acted

App. 15

within the scope of their employment to Defendants Mecca

and/or SID.

58.

Therefore, pursuant to the doctrine of respondeat

superior, Defendants Mecca and SID are liable to Plaintiff

Phyllis Brown, in her capacity as Executrix of Derwin

Brown’s estate, for general damages for injuries caused to

her husband, Derwin Brown.

COUNT IV: WRONGFUL DEATH RESULTING FROM

THE VIOLATION OF FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT

RIGHTS PROTECTED BY 42 U.S.C. § 1983

59.

=-

The averments set forth in paragraphs 1 through 58

above are hereby incorporated by reference as if fully set

forth herein. ~

60.

Defendant Sidney Dorsey employed the resources and

manpower of the DeKalb County Sheriffs Department,

including two deputies, Defendants Walker and Cuffy, to

murder Derwin Brown.

61.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, and Cuffy, acting

jointly with Defendants Skyers and Ramsey, committed

the murder of Derwin Brown under color of state law.

App. 16

62.

As Sheriff of DeKalb County, Defendant Sidney

Dorsey was the final policymaker for Defendant DeKalb

County in matters concerning the use of deadly force by

Sheriff’s Department personnel, the direction and control

of Deputies and Jailors, and the direction, control, and use

of Sheriff’s Department materials, equipment, and re-

sources. Defendant DeKalb County therefore bears liabil-

ity for the actions of Defendant Sidney Dorsey taken under

color of state law.

63.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, Cuffy, Ramsey,

Skyers, and DeKalb County have therefore acted under

color of state law by murdering Derwin Brown and have

thereby deprived Derwin Brown of his life, liberty, and

bodily integrity without due process of law in violation of

Derwin Brown’s rights as protected by the Fourteenth

Amendment of the United States Constitution.

64.

As the actual and proximate result of the actions of

Defendants as aforesaid, Derwin Brown died.

65.

At the time of the murder of Derwin Brown, Plaintiff

Phyllis Brown was Derwin Brown’s lawfully-married wife.

App. 17

66.

Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and O.C.G.A. § 51-4-2,

Defendants DeKalb County, Skyers, and Ramsey as well

as Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, and Cuffy in their

individual capacities, are liable to Plaintiff Phyllis Brown,

in her capacity as the surviving spouse of Derwin Brown,

for the full value of Derwin Brown’s life.

COUNT V: SURVIVAL ACTION FOR THE

VIOLATION OF FOURTEENTH AMENDMENT

RIGHTS PROTECTED BY 42 U.S.C. § 1983

67.

The averments set forth in paragraphs 1 through 66

above are hereby incorporated by reference as if hilly set

forth herein.

68.

Defendant Sidney Dorsey employed the resources and

manpower of the DeKalb County Sheriff’s Department,

including two deputies, Defendants Walker and Cuffy, to

murder Derwin Brown.

69.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, and Cuffy, acting

jointly with Defendants Skyers and Ramsey, committed

the murder of Derwin Brown under color of state law.

App. 18

70. if

As Sheriff of DeKalb County, Defendant Sidney

Dorsey was the final policymaker for Defendant DeKalb

County in matters concerning the use of deadly force by

Sheriff’s Department personnel, the direction and control

of Deputies and Jailors, and the direction, control, and use

of Sheriff’s Department materials, equipment, and re-

sources. Defendant DeKalb County therefore bears liabil-

ity for the actions of Defendant Sidney Dorsey taken under

color of state law.

71.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, Cuffy, Ramsey,

Skyers, and DeKalb County have therefore acted under

color of state law by murdering Derwin Brown and have

thereby deprived Derwin Brown of his life, liberty, and

bodily integrity without due process of law in violation of

Derwin Brown’s rights as protected by the Fourteenth

Amendment of the United States Constitution.

72.

As the actual and proximate result of the actions of

Defendants as aforesaid, Derwin Brown died.

73.

—_

Derwin Brown experienced pain and suffering, mental

anguish, and emotional distress prior to his death.

App. 19

74.

As a result of the murder of Derwin Brown, the estate

of Derwin Brown incurred special damages including

medical and funeral expenses.

75.

Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, Defendants DeKalb

County, Skyers, and Ramsey, as well as Defendants Sidney

Dorsey, Walker, and Cuffy in their individual capacities,

are liable to Plaintiff Phyllis Brown, in her capacity as

Executrix of Derwin Brown’s estate, for general and

special damages for injuries caused to her husband,

Derwin Brown. Furthermore, Plaintiff is entitled to an

award of punitive damages to punish Defendants Sidney

Dorsey, Walker, Cuffy, Ramsey, and Skyers for their

intentional depravation of Plaintiff’s constitutional rights

and to deter said Defendants from similar misconduct in

the future.

COUNT VI: WRONGFUL DEATH RESULTING

FROM THE VIOLATION OF FIRST AMENDMENT

RIGHTS PROTECTED BY 42 U.S.C. § 1983

76.

The averments set forth in paragraphs 1 through 75

above are hereby incorporated by reference as if fully set

forth herein.

tk

Defendant Sidney Dorsey employed the resources and

manpower of the DeKalb County Sheriff’s Department,

App. 20

including two deputies, Defendants Walker and Cuffy, to

murder Derwin Brown.

78.

Defendant Dorsey murdered Derwin Brown to prevent

Derwin Brown from taking office at the expiration of

Dorsey’s term.

79.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, and Cuffy, acting

jointly with Defendants Skyers and Ramsey, committed

the murder of Derwin Brown under color of state law.

80.

As Sheriff of DeKalb County, Defendant Sidney

Dorsey was the final policymaker for Defendant DeKalb

County in matters concerning the use of deadly force by

Sheriff’s Department personnel, the direction and control

of Deputies and Jailors, and the direction, control, and use

of Sheriff’s Department materials, equipment, and re-

sources. Defendant DeKalb County therefore bears liabil-

ity for the actions of Defendant Sidney Dorsey taken under

color of state law.

81.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, Cuffy, Ramsey,

Skyers, and DeKalb County have therefore acted under

color of state law by murdering Derwin Brown in retalia-

tion for his exercising of his right to campaign for public

office and to speak out on matters of public concern, as

App. 21

protected by the First Amendment of the United States

Constitution and as applied to the State of Georgia by the

Fourteenth Amendment of the United States Constitution.

82.

As the actual and proximate result of the actions of

Defendants as aforesaid, Derwin Brown died.

83.

At the time of the murder of Derwin Brown, Plaintiff

Phyllis Brown was Derwin Brown’s lawfully-married wife.

84.

Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and O.C.G.A. § 51-4-2,

Defendants DeKalb County, Skyers, and Ramsey, as well

as Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, and Cuffy in their

individual capacities, are liable to Plaintiff Phyllis Brown,

in her capacity as the surviving spouse of Derwin Brown,

for the full value of Derwin Brown’s life.

COUNT VII: SURVIVAL ACTION FOR THE

VIOLATION OF FIRST AMENDMENT

RIGHTS PROTECTED BY 42 U.S.C, § 1983

85.

The averments set forth in paragraphs 1 through 84

above are hereby incorporated by reference as if fully set

forth herein.

—.— anes

App. 22

86.

Defendant Sidney Dorsey employed the resources and

manpower of the DeKalb County Sheriff’s Department,

including two deputies, Defendants Walker and Cuffy, to

murder Derwin Brown.

87.

Defendant Dorsey murdered Derwin Brown to prevent

Derwin Brown from taking office at the expiration of

Dorsey’s term.

88. .

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, and Cuffy, acting

jointly with Defendants Skyers and Ramsey, committed

‘the murder of Derwin Brown under color of state law.

89.

As Sheriff of DeKalb County, Defendant Sidney

Dorsey was the final policymaker for Defendant DeKalb

County in matters concerning the use of deadly force by

Sheriff’s Department personnel, the direction and control

of Deputies and Jailors, and the direction, control, and use

of Sheriff’s Department materials, equipment, and re-

sources. Defendant DeKalb County therefore bears liabil-

ity for the actions of Defendant Sidney Dorsey taken under

color of state law.

90.

Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Walker, Cuffy, Ramsey,

Skyers, and DeKalb County have therefore acted under

App. 23

color of state law by murdering Derwin Brown in retalia-

tion for exercising of his right to campaign for public office

and to speak out on matters of public concern, as protected

by the First Amendment of the United States Constitution

and as applied to the State of Georgia by the Fourteenth

Amendment of the United States Constitution.

91.

As the actual and proximate result of the actions of

Defendants as aforesaid, Derwin Brown died.

92.

Derwin Brown experienced pain and suffering, mental

anguish, and emotional distress prior to his death.

93.

Additionally, as a result of the murder of Derwin

Brown, the estate of Derwin Brown incurred special

damages including medical and funeral expenses.

94.

Pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983,Defendants DeKalb

County, Ramsey, and Skyers, as well as Defendants Sidney

Dorsey, Walker, and Cuffy in their individual capacities,

are liable to Plaintiff Phyllis Brown, in her capacity as

Executrix of Derwin Brown’s estate, for general and

special damages for injuries caused to her husband,

Derwin Brown. Furthermore, Plaintiff is entitled to an

award of punitive damages to punish Defendants Sidney

Dorsey, Walker, Cuffy, Skyers, and Ramsey for their

App. 24

intentional depravation of Plaintiff s constitutional rights

and to deter said Defendants from similar misconduct in

the future.

COUNT VIII: PUNITIVE DAMAGES

95.

The averments set forth in paragraphs 1 through 94

above are hereby incorporated by reference as if fully set

forth herein.

96.

The actions of Defendants Sidney Dorsey, Cuffy,

Walker, Ramsey, Skyers, SID; and Mecca as aforesaid

show willful misconduct, malice, wantonness, oppression,

or that entire want of care that would raise the presump-

tion of conscious indifference to consequences, such that

Plaintiff Phyllis Brown, in her capacity as Executrix of the

Estate of Derwin Brown, is entitled to recover punitive

damages to deter Defendants from similar wrongful

conduct in the future in such amount as shall be deter-

mined by an impartial finder of fact.

ANTE LITEM NOTICE PRESENTED

97.

The averments set forth in paragraphs 1 through 96

above are hereby incorperated by reference as if fully set

forth herein.

On December 14, 2001, Plaintiff made written pre-

sentment of her claims for the official misconduct of

Defendant Sidney Dorsey, including wrongful death,

general damages, and special damages, to Defendant

DeKalb County. Plaintiff presented said claims via letter

to Vernon Jones, the Chief Executive Officer, and Thomas

App. 25

98.

E. Brown, the current Sheriff of DeKalb County.

[Signatures on Next Page]

WHEREFORE Plaintiff prays,

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

That summons issue and process be served

upon Defendants;

That Plaintiff have trial by a jury of twelve

(12) persons;

That Plaintiff, in her capacity as executrix of

Derwin Brown’s estate, recover general

damages from Defendants Sidney Dorsey,

SID, Mecca, Walker, Ramsey, Cuffy, Skyers,

and DeKalb County in an amount to be de-

termined in the enlightened conscience of a

jury;

That Plaintiff, in her capacity as executrix of

Derwin Brown’s estate, recover special dam-

ages from Defendants Sidney Dorsey, SID,

Mecca, Walker, Ramsey, Cuffy, Skyers, and

DeKalb County for medical and funeral ex-

penses in amounts to be proven at trial;

That Plaintiff, in her capacity as surviving

spouse of Derwin Brown, recover damages

from Defendants Sidney Dorsey, SID, Mecca,

Walker, Ramsey, Cuffy, Skyers, and DeKalb

County for the full value of Derwin Brown’s

App. 26

life, said amount to exceed fifty million dol-

lars ($50,000,000.00);

(f) The Plaintiff recover punitive damages

against Defendants SID, Mecca, Ramsey, and

Skyers, as well as Defendants Sidney Dorsey,

Walker, and Cuffy in their individual capaci-

ties, in an- amount to be determined in the

enlightened conscience of a jury;

(g) That Plaintiff recover her costs and attor-

ney’s fees in this action, pursuant to 42 USC

§ 1988, O.C.G.A.§ 13-6-11, and other appli-

cable Federal and state law; and

(h) That Plaintiff have such other relief as this

Court may deem just and proper.

Respectfully submitted this 21st day of November,

2002.

CASEY GILSON LEIBEL P.C.

By: /s/ Steven K. Leibel

STEVEN K. LEIBEL

Georgia State Bar No. 445050

/s/ George P. Shingler

GEORGE P. SHINGLER

Georgia State Bar No. 642850

MICHAEL T. MCCULLEY .

Georgia State Bar No. 486989

Attorneys for Plaintiff

31st Floor

Six Concourse Parkway

Atlanta, Georgia 30328 _

(770) 512-0300

Fax (770) 512-0070

App. 27

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF

GWINNETT COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

CIVIL ACTION FILE

NO.: 02-A-12722-7

PHYLLIS BROWN,

Individually as surviving

spouse and as Executrix

of the Estate of DERWIN

BROWN, deceased,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

SIDNEY DORSEY, in his

Individual Capacity,

SECURITY INVESTIGA-

TION DIVISION, INC.,

MECCA SECURITY, INC.,

MELVIN D. WALKER, in

his Individual Capacity,

PATRICK CUFFY, in his

Individual Capacity,

PAUL SKYERS,

DAVID I. RAMSEY, and

DEKALB COUNTY,

Defendants.

ee A ee ee ee ee a ae ae ae ee ee a a a a a

AMENDED COMPLAINT

(Filed Aug. 15, 2003)

COMES NOW Phyllis Brown, Plaintiff in the above-

styled action, and shows this Court as follows:

App. 28

i.

Plaintiff incorporates paragraphs 1 to 98 of her

original Complaint as fully and completely as if they were

set forth verbatim herein.

2.

Plaintiff incorporates the “Wherefore” paragraph of

her original Complaint as fully and completely as if it were

set forth verbatim herein.

3.

Plaintiff hereby adds the following to her original

Complaint as paragraph 99: In violating Derwin Brown’s

federally-protected constitutional rights, as alleged in

Counts IV, V, VI, and VII of Plaintiff's Complaint, Defen-

dant Sidney Dorsey acted, pursuant to his authority as

Sheriff of DeKalb County, to implement a policy of keeping

himself in office by eliminating his competition.

Respectfully submitted this 13th day of August, 2003.

CASEY GILSON LEIBEL P.C.

By: /s/ Steven K. Leibel

STEVEN K. LEIBEL

Georgia State Bar No. 445050

GEORGE P. SHINGLER

Georgia State Bar No. 642850

MICHAEL T. MCCULLEY

Georgia State Bar No. 486989

Attorney for Plaintiff

App. 29

31st Floor

Six Concourse Parkway

Atlanta, Georgia 30328

(770) 512-0300

(770) 512-0070 (fax)

App. 30

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF

GWINNETT COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

PHYLLIS BROWN,

Plaintiff,

) CIVIL ACTION FILE

)

)

vs. )

)

)

)

NO.: 02-A-12722-7

SIDNEY DORSEY et al.,

Defendants.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that I have this day served copies of

the Amended Complaint upon all parties by depositing a

true and exact copy-of the same in the United States Mail

with proper postage affixed and addressed as follows:

Xernia L. Fortson

DeKalb County Law Department

Senior Assistant County Attorney

1300 Commerce Drive, 5th Floor Decatur, GA 30030

Brian Steel

The Steel Law Firm, P.C.

Suite 300

1800 Peachtree Road, NW

Atlanta, GA 30309

Duane Jones

Duane Jones & Associates

Suite 117

5036 Snapfinger Woods Drive

Decatur, GA 30035

App. 31

Albert A. Mitchell

Albert A. Mitchell, P.C.

The C&S Professional Building

3079 Campbellton Road, Suite 203

Atlanta, GA 30311

Security Investigation Division, Inc.

c/o Sherry Dorsey

1891 Montvallo Terrace SE

Atlanta, GA 30316-2812.

Paul Skyers

4398 Redgate Rd NW

Norcross, GA 30093.

Respectfully submitted this 13th day of August, 2003.

CASEY GILSON LEIBEL P.C.

/s/ Michael T. McCulley

Michael T. McCulley

Georgia Bar No.: 486989

31st Floor

Six Concourse Pkwy

Atlanta, Georgia 30328

(770) 512-0300 [voice]

(770) 512-0070 [facsimile]

App. 32

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF

GWINNETT COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

CIVIL ACTION FILE

NO.: 02-A-12722-7

PHYLLIS BROWN,

Individually as surviving

spouse and as Executrix

of the Estate of DERWIN

BROWN, deceased,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

SIDNEY DORSEY,

PATRICK CUFFY, and

PAUL SKYERS,

Defendants.

)

)

)

)

)

)

) i

)

)

)

)

)

)

JUDGMENT

(Filed Nov. 24, 2004)

This action came on for trial before the court and a

jury, Honorable Melodie Snell Conner presiding, and the

issues having been duly tried and the jury having duly

rendered its verdict on November 18, 2004,

It Is Ordered and Adjudged that:

1. Plaintiff Phyllis Brown, individually as surviving

spouse of Derwin Brown, recover of defendants, jointly and

severally, the sum of $250,108,398.00, with interest

thereon at the rate of 12% as provided by law, and her

costs of action.

2. Plaintiff Phyllis Brown, as the Executrix of the

Estate of Derwin Brown, deceased, recover from defendants,

App. 33

jointly and severally, the sum of $76,028,000.00, with

interest thereon at the rate of 12% as provided by law, and -

her costs of action.

It Is Further Ordered and Adjudged, based on the

jury’s separate verdict on the punitive damages claim, that

Plaintiff Phyllis Brown, as the Executrix of the Estate of

Derwin Brown, deceased, recover of Defendants Sidney

Dorsey, Patrick Cuffy and Paul Skyers, jointly and sever-

ally, the sum of $450,000.00 as punitive damages with

interest thereon at the rate of 12% as provided by law, and

her costs of action.

So ordered this 23rd day of November, 2004.

/s/ Melodie Snell Conner

Melodie Snell Conner, Judge

Superior Court of Gwinnett

County

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.