Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Tilton v. Remeidio (No. 06-167)

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

supreme Court U.S.

e), FILE

No. _ 06-167 JUL 31 2006

Jn Tye OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Anited States

S

JEANNE WOODFORD, DEWEY WOOTEN,

ANTHONY P. KANE, H. WILLIAMS,

D.A. DACANAY, AND 1.A. NIENHUIS,

Petitioners,

Vv.

ROMIRICO REMEIDIO,

Respondent.

° : +

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

a

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

S 7

BILL LOCKYER

Attorney General of the

State of California

JAMES M. HUMES

Chief Assistant Attorney General

MANUEL M. MEDEIROS

State Solicitor General

FRANCES T. GRUNDER

Senior Assistant Attorney General

THOMAS S. PATTERSON*

Deputy Attorney General

State Bar No. 202890

455 Golden Gate Avenue,

Suite 11000

San Francisco, CA 94102-7004

Telephone: (415) 703-5727

Facsimile: (415) 703-5843

Counsel for Petitioners

*Counsel of Record

ae ene oe es a laced

ae ———— ame

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

Can an inmate proceed on a civil-rights claim that

prison officials retaliated against him for First Amend-

ment expression if the action taken against the inmate

objectively served a legitimate penological purpose?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION FRR Rtn re Cpe P i cccecccccessecreseressereeseevvevesecessees i

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI ................... 1

CPTI a ee iintertentcetenesececveseseoseees 1

Fes he eae eiieindanetitesterecececoveseveessess 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED.......... 1

SEAT Ree wisest aaa albibiwrenevecteseceveseescoees 2

A. The Cell Search and Eventual Disciplinary

Action Stemmed from an Investigation

into Dlicit Activities Among Inmates in the

LS 2

B. The District Court Granted Summary

Judgment on the Retaliation Claim, but

the Ninth Circuit Reversed, Holding that

Regardless of the Legitimate Bases for the

Action Against Mr. Remeidio, Summary

Judgment Was Improper Because of a Dis-

pute Over the Officials’ Motivation ............ 5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION............ 7

I. The Circuits Are Divided on Whether an

Inmate’s Retaliation Claim Is Defeated by Ob-

jectively Legitimate Penological Goals for the

Adverse Action, and If Not, What the Proper

Standard of Pleading and Proof Is for Deciding

a nn cwwnccsvcersencs 7

II. The Circuits that Allow a Prisoner to Chal-

lenge an Objectively Legitimate Action As Re-

taliatory Are in Conflict with Turner v. Safley

and Out of Step with Hartman v. Moore........... 10

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

III. The Dispute Among the Circuits Potentially

Impacts a Substantial Portion of the Federal

SII sxccecassnsineunstisminegnrepeaninniiihinianionammanaiiiiaa 13

lv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Allen v. Thomas, 388 F.3d 147 (5th Cir. 2004).................. 14

Babcock v. White, 102 F.3d 267 (7th Cir. 1996)............. 9,14

Barnett v. Centoni, 31 F.3d 813 (9th Cir. 1994).................. 2)

Bigelow v. Virginia, 421 U.S. 809 (1975) 0... eeeeseeereees 1

Bruce v. Ylst, 351 F.3d 1283 (9th Cir. 2008)................... 6, 8

Cornell v. Woods, 69 F.3d 1383 (8th Cir. 1995)................. 10

Davidson v. Flynn, 32 F.3d 27 (2d Cir. 1994)........... eee 14

Goff v. Burton, 7 F.3d 734 (8th Cir. 1993)............cseceesees 10

Graham v. Henderson, 89 F.3d 75 (2d Cir. 1996)...... 8, 9, 10

Hall v. Sutton, 755 F.2d 786 (11th Cir. 1985) ................0. 14

Hartman v. Moore, 126 S. Ct. 1695 (2006)............. 11, 12, 13

Henderson v. Baird, 29 F.3d 464 (8th Cir. 1994) ................ 7

Hewitt v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460 (1983) ..............cccceseceeseeeees 10

Hines v. Gomez, 108 F.3d 265 (9th Cir. 1997)............... 9, 15

Layne v. Vinzant, 657 F.2d 468 (1st Cir. 1981) .....20.0........ 10

Marshall v. Knight, 445 F.3d 965 (7th Cir. 2006)............. 14

Morris v. Powell, 449 F.3d 682 (5th Cir. 2006)................ 14

Mt. Healthy City Sch. Dist. Bd. of Educ. v. Doyle,

a Bee EE itinstans psn casnctinhicanigniananecmbbantinniiie 9, id

Orebaugh v. Caspari, 910 F.2d 526 (8th Cir. 1990) .. 7, 8, 10

Peterson v. Shanks, 149 F.3d 1140 (10th Cir. 1998).......... 10

Pratt v. Rowland, 65 F.3d 802 (9th Cir. 1995).................. 14

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Rauser v. Horn, 241 F.3d 330 (8d Cir. 2001)....................00 9

Rhodes v. Robinson, 408 F.3d 559 (9th Cir. 2005) ............ 14

Superintendent v. Hill, 472 U.S. 445 (1985) .........ccceceeeseees 8

Thaddeus-X v. Blatter, 175 F.3d 378 (6th Cir. 1999).....9, 15

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987)............:000 10, 11, 12, 13

Woods v. Smith, 60 F.3d 1161 (5th Cir. 1995)................... 10

STATUTES

28 U.S.C.

cs aici si cihiah ios a daca aadelliiimpannanenadhacudesepuaaiiliniteadte 1

42 U.S.C.

I i niriis isis caainiscncuslia d edunannaahadbishiiiaieauadanenihiastneainiel 2,8

IT ssidins <dnciits his stlascoidibsdintennensnnubicaslonniusancddéabaencsieupiabetos 12

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts, Judicial

Business of the United States Courts 2005,

Table C-3 (Sept. 30, 2005), http://www.uscourts.

gov/judbus2005/appendices/c3. pdf .............:::sssseeeeeees 13

Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts, Judicial

Facts and Figures: U.S. District Court — Civil Cases

Filed by Nature of Suit, Table 4.6 (2005), avail-

able at http://Awww.uscourts.gov/judicialfactsfigures/

RET EON CITE Here TC Ne PLOT 13

1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners Jeanne S. Woodford, Dewey Wooten,

Anthony P. Kane, H. Williams, D.A. Dacanay, and I.A.

Nienhuis — who are current and retired employees of the

California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation —

respectfully petition for a writ of certiorari to review the

judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit in this case.

42

Vv

OPINIONS BELOW

The court of appeals’ opinion (App., infra, 1-4) is

unpublished but reported at 173 F. App’x 636. The district

court’s opinion granting summary judgment (App. 5-32) is

also unpublished but available at 2004 WL 1635561.

,

Vv

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered judgment on April 5,

2006 (App. 1) and denied a timely petition for rehearing on

May 1, 2006 (App. 33). This Court may exercise jurisdic-

tion under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). =

,

v

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The First Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion, which is applicable to the States through the Four-

teenth Amendment, Bigelow v. Virginia, 421 U.S. 809,

811 (1975), states that “Congress shall make no law...

abridging the freedom of speech ... or the right of the

2

people ... to petition the Government for a redress of

grievances.”

,

ww

STATEMENT

The Respondent, Romirico Remeidio, is a former

inmate from San Quentin State Prison, who contends that .

various prison officials retaliated against him for his First

Amendment expression. Specifically, he alleges that after

he complained about the prison’s College Program, officials

searched his cell and found prohibited gambling and

pornographic materials, and that this discovery led to

disciplinary action against Mr. Remeidio, the eventual

denial of his parole, his confinement in administrative

segregation, and transfer to another prison. (App. 5-11.)

The complaint, which was filed under 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983, alleged retaliation, due-process, and equal-

protection claims. (Id. at 14-15.) The retaliation claim

alleged only that the search and administrative segrega-

tion were retaliatory. (/d. at 21.) The complaint demanded

compensatery damages, punitive damages, and declara-

tory and injunctive relief, including expungement of all

adverse reports from Mr. Remeidio’s prison central file.

A. The Cell Search and Eventual Discipli-

nary Action Stemmed from an Investiga-

tion into Dllicit Activities Among Inmates

in the College Program.

San Quentin’s College Program allows volunteers to

enter the prison and provide college-level courses to inmates.

In 2001, Defendant Nienhuis, the former Community

3

Resource Manager at San Quentin, learned of conflict that

was developing among some inmates, volunteers, and the

program’s coordinator about the leadership and direction

of the program. (App. 5-6.)

As Mr. Nienhuis looked into the issue, several mem-

bers of the College Program expressed concern to him

about the program’s stability and safety, and that some

inmates may have been creating conflict within the Col-

lege Program. (See id. at 6.) In particular, Mr. Nienhuis

learned that inmates may have been trying to change the

nature of the program and remove its coordinator in order

to gain freer access to the program volunteers and thereby

engage in illicit activity with them. (Id. at 6-7.)

Mr. Nienhuis was also aware that two inmates in-

volved in the College Program were previously investi-

gated for fostering inappropriate romantic relationships

with volunteers in other prison programs. (Jd.) After

reviewing a proposal by several inmates within the Col-

lege Program, including Mr. Remeidio, that used harsh

and discrediting language regarding the College Program

coordinator, Mr. Nienhuis began working with San Quen-

tin’s Investigative Services to determine if any unauthor-

ized or illegal activities were occurring within the College

Program. (See id.)

With the consent of San Quentin’s warden at the time,

Jeanne Woodford, Mr. Remeidio’s cell was searched and

documents were seized. (Jd. at 7.) When Mr. Nienhuis

reviewed the documents, he found no evidence that Mr.

Remeidio was engaging in illicit activity connected to the

College Program. But he did find gambling materials,

hardcore pornographic photographs depicting bestiality,

and several loose magazine pages of other hardcore

4

pornography. (See id. at 7-8.) All of these items are contra-

band under prison regulations. (Jd. at 8.)

Before the cell search, Mr. Remeidio had been recom-

mended for parole. (Jd. at 7.) Following discovery of the

prohibited materials, a classification committee headed by

Defendant Dacanay anticipated that if Mr. Remeidio was

denied parole because of the contraband, he might react

unfavorably and create a security threat as a possible

escape risk. (Jd. at 8.) Thus, the committee placed him in

administrative segregation pending the disciplinary

charges. (Id.)

Eventually, Mr. Remeidio was only reprimanded for

possessing gambling materials after the rules-violation

charge was reduced to a “counseling chrono” (id. at 11),

but he was found guilty of a prison-rules violation for

possessing the pornography (id. at 8.) His parole was

denied (id. at 10), and out of continuing concern that he

might pose a security threat, a classification committee

headed by Defendant Kane recommended that Mr. Re-

meidio be retained in administrative segregation and

considered for transfer to a more-secure prison (id. at 10.)

Later, Defendant Wooten headed a classification commit-

tee that also recommended transfer to another prison,

citing Mr. Remeidio’s two disciplinary charges within

recent months, the parole denial, possible future parole

denials, and San Quentin’s lack of modern security fea-

tures. (Id.)

Although Mr. Remeidio was not personally linked to

improper activity within the College Program, the investi-

gation uncovered threats to San Quentin’s security caused

by prohibited activities between program volunteers and

two other inmates, Mike Viet Ngo and Eddy Zheng. (See

-5

id. at 9-10.) According to the record, officials found that

Mr. Ngo was involved in an illicit romantic relationship with

a female volunteer, both of whom shared violent ideologies

that advocate governmental overthrow. In their correspon-

dence, the two spoke of revolution and effecting change

through violence. The volunteer spoke of whether she had

“resolve to hold the gun,” and Mr. Ngo believed that he would

be killed while in prison. The officials also found that Ngo

and the volunteer smuggled items through prison security, as

did Mr. Zheng and another female volunteer.

B. The District Court Granted Summary

Judgment on the Retaliation Claim, but

the Ninth Circuit Reversed, Holding that

Regardless of the Legitimate Bases for the

Action Against Mr. Remeidio, Summary

Judgment Was Improper Because of a Dis-

pute Over the Officials’ Motivation.

The district court granted summary judgment to the

officials on all of the claims, including retaliation, based on

the above facts. (App. 31.) As to the retaliation claim, the

court noted that officials are entitled to appropriate

deference concerning their asserted legitimate penological

reasons for conduct alleged to be retaliatory. (Id. at 22.)

Finding that Mr. Remeidio failed to show that there was

“no legitimate penological objective to defendants’ actions,”

the court ruled that the retaliation claim failed as a

matter of law. (id. at 22-23.) Further, the court reasoned

that the officials provided significant evidence that the

search advanced legitimate penological goals. (Jd. at 23-24.)

And it held that although Mr. Remeidio presented some

evidence that “may tend to support defendants’ intent to

retaliate,” the officials showed that the administrative

6

segregation and later transfer “were made pursuant to

legitimate penological goals.”

On appeal, the Ninth Circuit affirmed summary

judgment on the due-process and equal-protection claims

but reversed on the retaliation claim. (Jd. at 1-4.) The

court specifically confirmed that the “defendants were

within their rights to search Remeidio’s cell,” but held that

summary judgment was improper because there was a

dispute over the officials’ actual motivation for their

conduct. (Jd. at 2.) As the court noted, Mr. Remeidio

contended that no other inmate was similarly punished for

possession of similar contraband or had been placed in

administrative segregation after a denial of parole. (Id.)

Further, the verified complaint alleged that before the

contraband was discovered, Mr. Remeidio’s correctional

counselor told him that he would be transferred because

he complained about the College Program. (Id.) Although

_ the court conceded that the evidence of improper motive

may be of limited force, it was enough to create a dispute

of material fact about motive. (Jd.) Thus, in line with the

Ninth Circuit’s retaliation precedent, the court held that

summary judgment could not be granted. See Bruce v. Yist,

351 F.3d 1283, 1289 (9th Cir. 2003) (holding that summary

judgment on a prisoner’s retaliation claim is improper if

there is a dispute over the official’s motive).

In addition, the Ninth Circuit ruled that the officiais

could not receive qualified immunity. (Jd. at 2-3.) Rather

than examining whether a reasonable official in Defen-

dants’ position could have believed that the conduct was

lawful, the court held generally that retaliatory punish-

ment is clearly unlawful within the Ninth Circuit. (Jd. at

7

2-3.) It then remanded the case for further proceedings.

(Id. at 3.)

2

Vv

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. The Circuits Are Divided on Whether an

Inmate’s Retaliation Claim Is Defeated by Ob-

jectively Legitimate Penological Goals for the

Adverse Action, and If Not, What the Proper

Standard of Pleading and Proof Is for Decid-

ing the Claim.

There is conflict among the circuits over the proper

standard for deciding a prisoner’s retaliation claim when

the defendant-official’s subjective motive is disputed. First,

the circuits disagree about whether a retaliation claim is

defeated if the official puts forth an objectively legitimate

reason for taking adverse action against the inmate

Second, the circuits that allow a claim to proceed despite

an objectively legitimate reason disagree over what stan-

dards of pleading and proof apply to establish a retaliatory

motive.

The Eighth Circuit focuses on whether the action

against the inmate was objectively legitimate, and not on

any dispute over the officials’ subjective motive, when

considering retaliatory-discipline cases. Henderson uv.

Baird, 29 F.3d 464, 469 (8th Cir. 1994). The court holds

that such claims fail if the disciplinary action is objectively

legitimate. Jd. (stating that an adequate evidentiary basis

for a disciplinary conviction “essentially checkmates” the

claim); see also Orebaugh v. Caspari, 910 F.2d 526, 528

(8th Cir. 1990) (holding that “no claim can be stated when

the alleged retaliation arose from discipline imparted for

8

acts that a prisoner was not entitled to perform”). And to

be objectively legitimate, the conviction must simply

satisfy the some-evidence test under Superintendent uv.

Hill, 472 U.S. 445, 454-56 (1985), which holds that disci-

plinary findings satisfy due-process standards if they are

supported by some evidence. As the Eighth Circuit ex-

plains, applying any other rule would allow a prisoner to

file an inmate grievance or lawsuit, “openly flout prison

rules,” and then file suit under § 1983 alleging that the

prison officials disciplined him in retaliation. Orebaugh,

910 F.2d at 528.

The Second Circuit declines to apply such an ap-

proach. Graham v. Henderson, 89 F.3d 75, 80 (2d Cir.

1996). The court reasons that an objective inquiry like the

some-evidence test does not fit into the analysis of a claim

that concerns subjective motivation. Id. Of course, this

reasoning assumes that a prisoner who brings a retalia-

tion claim need not show both improper subjective motive

and a lack of an objectively legitimate penological interest.

Whether the latter must be shown is the question pre-

sented here.

The Ninth Circuit has vacillated between the Eighth

and Second Circuit’s approaches. Generally, the Ninth

Circuit holds that the objective some-evidence test does

“not apply to retaliation claims.” Bruce v. Yist, 351 F.3d

1283, 1289 (9th Cir. 2003). Thus, in a case alleging retalia-

tion because an inmate was classified as a gang member

and placed in administrative segregation, the court held

that the inmate was entitled to proceed to trial as long as

there was a dispute over the officials’ intent, “even though

[the inmate] may have arguably ended up where~he

belonged.” Jd.

9

In other cases, however, the Ninth Circuit has given

at least some of the defendants the benefit of an objective-

legitimacy inquiry. For example, the court held in a case

alleging retaliatory reclassification that the officers were

entitled to judgment because there was some evidence to

support the reclassification, which “serv-d the legitimate

penological purpose of maintaining prison discipline.”

Barnett v. Centoni, 31 F.3d 813, 816 (9th Cir. 1994). And in

a retaliatory-discipline case, the court held that a discipli-

nary-board member was entitled to judgment as a matter

of law after trial because there was evidence to support

the guilty finding, but that the officer who brought the

same charge was not entitled to judgment. Hines v. Gomez,

108 F.3d 265, 268-70 (9th Cir. 1997). The court’s only

explanation for this distinction was that a disciplinary

board is required to provide inmates due-process protec-

tions like notice and a hearing, which apparently help to

prevent retaliation, but the charging officer need not

provide such protections. Jd. at 268-69.

Other circuits also allow an inmate to proceed on a

retaliation claim despite the existence of objective legiti-

macy, but there is a further split over the standards of

pleading and proof to determine whether the official was

actually motivated by retaliatory animus. As previously

discussed, the Ninth Circuit allows the inmate to proceed

to trial as long as there is a dispute over motivation.

Bruce, 351 F.3d at 1289. Other circuits — the Second,

Third, Sixth, and Seventh — follow the standard used in

employment-retaliation cases, as set forth in Mt. Healthy

City School District Board of Education v. Doyle, 429 U.S.

274 (1977). Graham v. Henderson, 89 F.3d 75, 79 (2d Cir.

1996); Rauser v. Horn, 241 F.3d 330, 333 (3d Cir. 2001);

Thaddeus-X v. Blatter, 175 F.3d 378, 399 (6th Cir. 1999);

Babcock v. White, 102 F.3d 267, 275 (7th Cir. 1996). Under

10

this standard, the inmate must first raise an inference

that the protected conduct was a substantial or motivating

factor for the adverse action. Graham, 89 F.3d at 80. Then

the burden shifts to the official to show that he would have

taken the same action absent the protected conduct. Jd.

The Eighth Circuit criticizes the application of Mt. Healthy

to prisoners’ retaliation cases, noting that Mt. Healthy was

not a prison-retaliation case, Goff v. Burton, 7 F.3d 734,

738-39 (8th Cir. 1993), and that its application in the

prison context allows an inmate to disobey prison regula-

tions and then file suit when he receives the discipline he

deserves, Orebaugh, 910 F.2d at 528.

The rest of the circuits to address the issue — the

First, Fifth, and Tenth, along with the Eighth in relation

to retaliatory-transfer cases — decline to apply the Mz.

Healthy test for prison-retaliation cases and have adopted

a “but for” test. Layne v. Vinzant, 657 F.2d 468, 475 (1st

Cir. 1981); Woods v. Smith, 60 F.3d 1161, 1166 (5th Cir.

1995); Cornell v. Woods, 69 F.3d 1383, 1388-89 (8th Cir.

1995); Peterson v. Shanks, 149 F.3d 1140, 1144 (10th Cir.

1998). These circuits, in apparent recognition of the

burden that retaliation suits impose on prison officials,

place on the inmate the burden of showing that the official

would not have taken the adverse action “but for” the

protected conduct. E.g., Layne, 657 F.2d at 475.

IL The Circuits that Allow a Prisoner to Challenge

an Objectively Legitimate Action As Retalia-

tory Are in Conflict with Turner v. Safley and

Out of Step with Hartman v. Moore.

Because this Court has held that a restriction on an

inmate’s First Amendment rights is legitimate as long as it

is objectively reasonable, inmates should not be able to

11

challenge objectively legitimate conduct as retaliatory. In

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 89 (1987), the Court bal-

anced its competing goals of protecting inmates’ constitu-

tional rights and providing substantial deference to prison

administrators’ professional judgment, by holding that

burdens on inmates’ fundamental rights are constitutional

if they are “reasonably related to legitimate penological

interests.” Key to this inquiry is whether there is “a ‘valid,

rational connection’ between the prison regulation and the

legitimate governmental interest put forward to justify it.”

Id. This consideration does not analyze the official’s

subjective motive, but whether there is a “logical connec-

tion between the regulation and the asserted goal.” Id.

(emphasis added).

Thus, if an official accused of retaliation can put forth a

legitimate basis for taking adverse action against an

inmate, and that basis is logically connected to the action,

the official should not be burdened by a retaliation suit

simply because the inmate challenges the officer’s motive.

As this Court recognized in Hewitt v. Helms, 459 U.S. 460,

474 (1983), the prison atmosphere is a volatile one, with

ever-present safety and security threats. Prison officials

should not be deterred from making objectively reasonable

decisions, which may have important safety and security

implications, because they are fearful that their action may

be construed as retaliatory, subjecting them to burdensome

litigation. Because it is all too easy for a prisoner to claim

retaliatory motive, and even present circumstantial evi-

dence of one, but very difficult for an officer to conclusively

refute such claims, Turner’s objective reasonableness

standard should apply to prisoners’ retaliation claims.

This Court’s recent decision in Hartman v. Moore, 126

S. Ct. 1695 (2006), also counsels that objective legitimacy

12

should be sufficient to defeat a prisoner’s retaliation claim.

Hartman holds that a plaintiff who alleges that govern-

mental officers induced criminal charges out of retaliation

must plead and prove an absence of probable cause. Id. at

1707. This decision is based on two factors with ready

analogies to the prison context.

First, Hartman explained that in _ retaliatory-

prosecution cases, there is a “distinct body of highly

valuable circumstantial evidence available and apt to

prove or disprove retaliatory causation, namely evidence

showing whether there was or was not probable cause to

bring the criminal charge.” Jd. at 1704. Likewise, in the

prison context, records exist to prove whether there was

an objectively legitimate basis for the action taken against

the inmate. Prisons regularly document both monumental

and mundane events concerning inmates. And because

of the Prison Litigation Reform Act’s administrative-

exhaustion requirement, 42 U.S.C. §1997e(a), inmates

cannot bring a claim to court without first exhausting

available administrative remedies — a process that typi-

cally documents any legitimate basis for the action about

which the inmate complains.

Second, Hartman’s decision was based on the “pre-

sumption that a prosecutor has legitimate grounds for the

action he takes.” Hartman, 126 S.Ct. at 1706. In the

prison context also, an official’s decision is entitled to a

high presumption of legitimacy. Turner, 482 U.S. at 84-85.

“Running a prison is an inordinately difficult undertaking

that requires expertise, planning, and the commitment of

resources, all of which are peculiarly within the province

of the legislative and executive branches of government.”

Id. When state prisons are involved, deference is further

required under federalism concerns. Id. at 85.

13

Thus, the rationale of both Turner and Hartman

dictate that prison officials should not be held to answer a

retaliation suit for objectively legitimate conduct. In line

with these decisions, an inmate alleging retaliatory action

should be required to allege and prove that the adverse

action did not further any legitimate penological interest.

Ill. The Dispute Among the Circuits Potentially

Impacts a Substantial Portion of the Federal

Docket.

The issue in this case potentially affects a great

number of cases before the federal judiciary. Over the last

six years, inmates have filed an average of over 24,000

prisoner-civil-rights and prison-conditions suits against

state and federal correctional officials. See Administrative

_ Office of the U.S. Courts, Judicial Facts and Figures: U.S.

District Court — Civil Cases Filed by Nature of Suit,

Table 4.6 (2005), available at http://www.uscourts.gov/

judicialfactsfigures/Table406.pdf. In 2005, there were

24,614 such cases, see id., accounting for 9.7% of all civil

cases nationwide, see id. Table 4.4 (noting that there were

a total of 253,273 civil cases filed). In the Ninth Circuit,

the percentage is even higher than the national average.

In 2005, 16.5% of all civil filings in the Ninth Circuit were

prisoner-civil-rights and prison-conditions cases. See

Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts, Judicial Business

of the United States Courts 2005, Table C-2 (Sept. 30,

2005), available at http://www.uscourts.ge«judbus2005/

appendices/c3.pdf (showing that there ~ere 6,890 civil

prisoner suits against state and feders officials and a

total of 41,662 civil cases).

14

Available statistics do not show the number of inmate

cases that include retaliation claims. But whenever an

inmate alleges some harm that is sufficient to state a

constitutional violation, whatever the claim might be, he

almost certainly has alleged sufficient harm for a retalia-

tion claim. In fact, alleged retaliatory action need not

independently violate the Constitution in order to be

cognizable. Babcock v. White, 102 F.3d 267, 275 (7th Cir.

1996); Pratt v. Rowland, 65 F.3d 802, 806 (9th Cir. 1995).

Rather, an inmate need only show some adverse action

that would chill an inmate of ordinary firmness from

exercising First Amendment rights in the future. See, e.g.,

Morris v. Powell, 449 F.3d 682, 685-86 (5th Cir. 2006)

(citing cases from the Second, Sixth, Seventh, and D.C.

Circuits); Rhodes v. Robinson, 408 F.3d 559, 568-69 (9th

Cir. 2005). Thus, courts have allowed inmates to proceed

on a variety of retaliation claims, relating to all aspects of

prison life. See, e.g., Marshall v. Knight, 445 F.3d 965, 970-

71 (7th Cir. 2006) (allowing inmate to allege claims that he

was put on idle status from his prison job without pay,

restricted from proper law-library access, denied educa-

tional and vocational opportunities, denied a transfer to

minimum security, and celled with violent inmates); Allen

v. Thomas, 388 F.3d 147, 150 (5th Cir. 2004) (holding that

inmate could proceed on a claim that his typewriter was

confiscated); Davidson v. Flynn, 32 F.3d 27, 30 (2d Cir.

1994) (holding that the plaintiff stated a claim by alleging

that he was handcuffed too tightly); Hall v. Sutton, 755

F.2d 786, 788 (11th Cir. 1985) (allowing prisoner to proceed

on a claim that his tennis shoes were confiscated).

Moreover, inmates frequently engage in First

Amendment expression that might be construed as the

15

basis for adverse action. See, e.g., Hines v. Gomez, 108 F.3d

265, 268 (9th Cir. 1997) (holding that evidence of an

inmate’s reputation for filing grievances was relevant to

whether the officer had a retaliatory motive). Inmates file

appeals to challenge their convictions, administrative

grievances to address virtually every aspect of prison life,

and lawsuits to contest their conditions of confinement.

With such frequent First Amendment exercise, inmates

will often be able to point to factors suggesting that an

official might have had a retaliatory motive. See, e.g.,

Thaddeus-X v. Blatter, 175 F.3d 378 (6th Cir. 1999) (hold-

ing that circumstantial evidence, such as the timing of

events or disparate treatment of prisoners, is sufficient to

demonstrate retaliatory motive).

&

v

16

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Dated: July 31, 2006

Respectfully submitted,

BILL LOCKYER

Attorney General of the State

of California

JAMES M. HUMES

Chief Assistant Attorney General

MANUEL M. MEDEIROS

State Solicitor General

FRANCES T. GRUNDER

s Senior Assistant Attorney General

THOMAS S. PATTERSON*

Deputy Attorney General

State Bar No. 202890

455 Golden Gate Avenue,

Suite 11000

San Francisco, CA 94102-7004

Telephone: (415) 703-5727

Facsimile: (415) 703-5843

Counsel for Petitioners

*Counsel of Record

App. 1

173 Fed.Appx. 636

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ROMIRICO REMEIDIO, No. 04-16427

Plaintiff-Appellant, | D.C. No. CV-C¥-02212-SI

Vv. .

J. WOODFORD; et al., MEMORANDUM*

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

Susan Yvonne Illston, District Judge, Presiding.

Argued and Submitted February 14, 2006.

San Francisco, California

(Filed Apr. 05, 2006)

Before: SILVERMAN, GRABER, and CLIFTON,

Circuit Judges.

Romirico Remeidio appeals the district court’s grant of

summary judgment in his 42 U.S.C. § 1983 action against

several California prison officials. We review the district.

court’s decision de novo, drawing all reasonable inferences

in favor of the non-moving party. Porter v. California

Department of Corrections, 419 F.3d 885, 891 (9th Cir.

* This disposition is not appropriate for publication and may not

be cited to or by the courts of this circuit except as provided by 9th Cir.

R. 36-3.

App. 2

2005). We affirm in part and reverse in part, and remand

for further proceedings on the retaliation claim.

We conclude that summary judgment should not have

been granted on the retaliation claim. To establish a First

Amendment retaliation claim, a prisoner must show “that

he was retaliated against for exercising his constitutional

rights and that the retaliatory action does not advance

legitimate penological goals.” Bruce v. Yist, 351 F.3d 1283,

1288 (9th Cir. 2003) (citation omitted). On the current

record, there is a genuine issue of material fact as to

whether the discipline imposed was retaliatory and not

motivated by a legitimate correctional purpose. Even

though the defendants were within their rights to search

Remeidio’s cell (which search led to the discovery of

contraband), Remeidio’s verified complaint asserts that no

other inmate within his cell block has ever been similarly

punished ~— in particular, issued a rules violation report —

for the possession of such contraband. The complaint. also

contends that no other inmate serving a life sentence has

been placed in administrative segregation when his parole

date was rescinded. Although the persuasive force of

Remeidio’s assertions on information and belief might be

limited, the defendants have offered no evidence to rebut

these allegations, thus permitting an inference that the

consequences he suffered were motivated in part by

retaliation and not by legitimate penological concerns.

Remeidio further alleges in his verified complaint that

even before the contraband was discovered, his correc-

tional counselor told him that he would be transferred

because he had signed the College Program petition,

thereby further bolstering the claim. The defendants are

not entitled to qualified immunity for this claim, because

“the prohibition against retaliatory punishment is ‘clearly

App. 3

established law’ in the Ninth Circuit, for qualified immu-

nity purposes.” Pratt v. Rowland, 65 F.3d 802, 806 (9th Cir.

1995) (citation omitted).

Summary judgment was proper on Remeidio’s equal

protection claim, which alleges that he was targeted

because of his Asian background. To the extent that his

claim alleges disparate treatment between himself and

other inmates in his cell block, that claim fails, because he

has not shown that the defendants’ actions “result{ed] in

members of a certain group being treated differently from

other persons based on membership in that group.”

McLean v. Crabtree, 173 F.3d 1176, 1185 (9th Cir. 1999)

(citation omitted). To the extent that his claim is based on

disparate treatment among the petition signatories, that

claim is also deficient because incriminating materials

were not found in the cell of the non-Asian signatory.

Therefore, Remeidio cannot show “that the defendant(s]

acted with an intent or purpose to discriminate against

him based upon his membership in a protected class.”

Serrano v. Francis, 345 F.3d 1071, 1082 (9th Cir. 2003).

The district court properly granted summary judg-

ment on Remeidio’s due process claim. This claim falls

short because Remeidio has not shown that due process

standards were violated. Although he claims that he was

prevented from introducing documentary evidence at the

hearing, cf. Serrano, 345 F.3d at 1077, he apparently only

wanted to present the letter and envelope that contained

the contraband. These documents would have apparently

been used to show that prison staff inspected the contra-

. band materials when they were delivered to Remeidio, and

to demonstrate that the materials were not openly dis-

played. Because Remeidio had a chance to testify and thus

App. 4

to make these points, the papers themselves would not

have affected the outcome of his hearing.

Each party to bear its own costs.

AFFIRMED in part; REVERSED and RE-

MANDED in part.

App. 5

2004 WL 1635561

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

-ROMIRICO REMEIDIO, _No. C 03-02212 SI

Plaintiff, ORDER GRANTING

: DEFENDANTS’

: MOTIONS FOR

J. WOODFORD, et al. SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Defendant. _ (Filed Jul. 1, 2004)

ENTERED IN CIVIL DOCKET ___7/2/04

Plaintiff Romirico Remeidio, an inmate at San Quen-

tin State Prison, filed this civil rights complaint under 42

U.S.C. § 1983. Defendants move for summary judgment

pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 56. For the reasons set forth

below, the Court GRANTS defendants’ motions for sum-

mary judgment with respect to plaintiff’s three causes of

action.

BACKGROUND

Plaintiff Romirico Remeidio is a prisoner serving a life

term following his 1981 conviction for second degree

murder. Cattermole Decl. Ex. B. From July 15, 1993 to

October 18, 2002, plaintiff was incarcerated at California

State Prison, San Quentin, including the period June 11,

2002 to October 18, 2002 in which plaintiff was housed in

administrative segregation. Cattermole Decl. Ex. C.

In the latter part of 2001, defendant Nienhuis, serving

as Community Resource Manager, learned of a dispute

between several supervi: ~s and coordinators of the San

App. 6

Quentin College Program. Nienhuis Decl. { 3(A), Ex. A at

2. Nienhuis learned that the former coordinator of the

College Program, Janowitz, was attempting to replace the

current program through Patton College with another

program. Jd. Furthermore, Nienhuis was informed that

inmates may be encouraging this dispute. Jd. Plaintiff

disputes use of the term “conflict” and whether Janowitz

was attempting to have the College Program replaced.

Opp’n at 1.

During January of 2002, Lewen, the coordinator of the

College Program at the time, discussed with Nienhuis the

rights of prisoners to correspond with volunteers of the

College Program. Nienhuis Decl. 7 3(D), Ex. A at 2-3. It

became apparent to Nienhuis that some inmates wanted

to change the program to allow more interaction between

the program volunteers and inmates. Jd. Nienhuis advised

Lewen that more interaction between inmates and volun-

teers was not appropriate due to safety concerns. Id.

During the week of April 29, 2002, Educational Officer

Davis and Academic Teacher DeArteaga discussed their

concerns with Nienhuis about the College Program.

Nienhuis Decl. { 3(C), Ex. A at 3-4. Their concerns focused

on a list of demands some inmates made at a College

Program meeting. Jd. During the week of April 29th,

Nienhuis also met with Lewen. Nienhuis Decl. { 3(D), Ex.

A at 3. Lewen told Nienhuis that she had received a

document entitled “Proposal For Academic Committee To

Manage The San Quentin College Program” (“Inmates’

Proposal”), which contained the inmates’ complaints

expressed at the earlier meeting. Id.

Dating back to December 2000, Nienhuis suspected

illicit activities by two of the other inmates signing the

App. 7

proposal with plaintiff. Nienhuis Decl. { 3(F), Ex. A at 4.

These two inmates had fostered inappropriate relation-

ships with volunteers in another prison program. Jd. In

light of this history, Nienhuis was concerned about rela-

tionships between volunteers and the inmates in the

College Program. Jd. Plaintiff contends these two inmates

were never found guilty of improper relationships in the

earlier circumstances. Opp’n at 2.

On May 10, 2002, Nienhuis informed defendant

Warden Woodford about the College Program situation.

Nienhuis Decl. { 3, Ex. A at 3. Woodford instructed Nien-

huis to work with the Investigational Services Unit to

investigate the signatories of the Inmates’ Proposal for

possible involvement in unauthorized activities. Jd. Based

on these instructions, beginning May 10, 2002, Nienhuis

began an investigation into possible unauthorized activi-

ties of plaintiff and the three other signatories of the

Inmates’ Proposal. Nienhuis Decl. {{ 1, 3; Ex. A at 1.

On May 13, 2002, plaintiff appeared in front of the

Board of Prison Terms (“BPT”), which recommended that

he be granted a parole date. Cattermole Decl. Ex. D. On

May 15, 2002, Plaintiff’s cell was searched pursuant to

_ the College Program investigation. Nienhuis Decl. 7 4, Ex.

A at 4. During the search, plaintiff’s written materials

were confiscated. Jd. On May 28, 2002, the materials

seized from plaintiff’s cell were searched, yielding gam-

bling materials, two pages of hardcore pornographic

material printed from the internet, and additional loose

magazine pages depicting hardcore pornographic material.

Nienhuis Decl. { 5, Ex. C at 43-44. On June 10, 2002,

Nienhuis issued plaintiff a Rules Violation Report (“RVR”)

for possession of pornographic materials. Nienhuis Decl.

q 7, Ex. C at 43-44.

App. 8

On June 11, 2002, plaintiff was placed on administra-

tive segregation status out of concern that the recent RVR

might affect plaintiff’s behavior, given the potential

impact of the RVR on plaintiff’s recent recommendation

for a parole date. Cattermole Decl. Ex. F. Three days later

plaintiff appeared before an Institutional Classification

Committee (“ICC”) chaired by defendant Dacanay. Cat-

termole Decl. Ex. G. The ICC recommended that plaintiff

remain in administrative segregation until adjudication of

the RVR, in light of the potential for plaintiff to lose his

parole date and out of concern for the safety and security

of the facility in such an event. Jd. Furthermore, the ICC

referred the issue of extending the administrative segrega-

tion due to possible loss of plaintiff’s parole date to the

Classification Staff Representative (“CSR”). Jd. On June

25, 2002, the CSR approved a 90 day administrative

segregation extension due to the pending RVR and its

potential impact on plaintiff’s parole date. Cattermole

Decl. Ex. G.

On June 28, 2002, a disciplinary hearing was held on

plaintiff’s RVR, chaired by defendant Williams. Williams

Decl. {{ 5-9; Nienhuis Decl. Ex. C. Plaintiff was given all

pertinent documentation 24 hours prior to the hearing and

at the hearing stated he was ready to proceed. Williams

Decl. {7 5-9. At the hearing plaintiff entered a plea of not

guilty, but admitted to possessing the hardcore porno-

graphic material in question. Id.; Nienhuis Decl. Ex. C.

Plaintiff was found guilty of “Possession of Obscene

Material Depicting Anal and Vaginal Penetration and

Bestiality” in violation of California Code of Regulations,

Title 15, § 3006(c)(15)(C)(1) and (2), an administrative

level offense. Id. The decision was based on three finding:

(i) plaintiff admitted to possessing the material stated in

App. 9

the RVR, (ii) the RVR was accurate and correct, and (iii)

the material was contraband. Id.

Plaintiff claims he was not afforded sufficient due

process. Opp’n at 3-4. He alleges that he was denied “the

right to present documentary evidence in mitigation of the

charges” and that the hearing officer “refused to accept

documents in my defense,” in violation of California Code

of Regulations, Title 15, section 3329. (“The inmate may

present documentary evidence in defense or mitigation of

the charges.”) Id.; see also Remeidio Compl. Claim I.

Furthermore, plaintiff alleges Nienhuis withheld key

evidence, because the hearing officer was not given the

“letter and envelope containing the obscene materials.”

Remeidio Compl. Claim 1. Plaintiff does not state what

“documentary evidence in mitigation of the charges” he

wished to present, nor what “documents in my defense”

might have been presented, except for the “letter and

envelope containing the obscene materials.”

On July 19, 2002, plaintiff appeared before a second

ICC chaired by defendant Dacanay for review of plaintiff’s

administrative segregation. Cattermole Decl. Ex. I. The

ICC noted that plaintiff had been found guilty of an RVR

and that the Governor’s Office was still reviewing his

parole date. Id. The ICC concluded the plaintiff should be

kept in administrative segregation, because if plaintiff’s

parole date was rescinded, he would pose a security threat

as a possible escape risk. Jd. Furthermore, the ICC re-

ferred the issue of transfer to more secure institution to

the CSR. Id.

On or about July 26, 2002, defendant Nienhuis con-

cluded his investigation into the College Program. Nien-

huis Decl. { 9, Ex. A at 39-40. Nienhuis concluded two of

App. 10

the signatories on the Inmates’ Proposal had engaged in

inappropriate relationships with volunteers and had

circumvented prison security by trafficking materials into

and out of the institution. Jd. Nienhuis found that there

was insufficient information to find that plaintiff had

engaged in inappropriate relationships or circumvented

prison security. Id.

On July 31, 2002, the Board of Prison Terms Decision

Review Unit recommended disapproval of the May 13,

2002 recommendation for a parole date. Cattermole Decl.

Ex. J. On August 14, 2002, the BPT, sitting en banc,

disapproved the May 13, 2002 recommendation for a

parole date. Cattermole Decl. Ex. K.

On August 23, 2002, plaintiff appeared before an ICC,

chaired by defendant Kane, for review of plaintiff’s

administrative segregation. Cattermole Decl. Ex. L. The

ICC decided to continue plaintiff’s administrative segre-

gation, taking into account plaintiff’s 90 day extension of

administrative segregation, the BPT decision of August 14,

and the pending disciplinary action for gambling. Catter-

mole Decl. Ex. L. Additionally, the ICC referred the case to

the CSR to consider transfer to a more secure institution.

Id.

On October 4, 2002, plaintiff appeared before an ICC

chaired by defendant Wooten for review of plaintiff’s

administrative segregation. Cattermole Decl. Ex. N. The

ICC recommended that plaintiff be transferred to a more

secure institution. Jd. This recommendation was based on

plaintiff’s two RVRs in recent months, his denial of parole,

possible future denials of parole and because San Quentin

was an older facility lacking modern security features. Id.

On October 18, 2002, plaintiff was transferred from San

App. 11

Quentin to California State Prison, Solano. Cattermole

Decl. Ex. C.

Sometime between July 30, 2002 and August 27, 2002,

plaintiff was issued an RVR for participating in a gam-

bling pool based on gambling materials seized from plain-

tiff’s cell on May 15, 2002. Cattermole Decl. Ex. M. Due to

lack of evidence and failure to meet time constraints,

sometime in September 2002 the gambling RVR was

reduced to a CDC-128A Counseling Chrono, and plaintiff

received a reprimand. Id.

On May 13, 2003, plaintiff, proceeding pro se, filed a

complaint against Dacanay, Kane, Lemos, Nienhuis,

Williams, Woodford and Wooten. Remeidio Compl. Claims

1, 2 and 3. Defendants’ responded with a request for

screening review under 28 U.S.C. § 1915A. Defs’ Req. for

Screening Review at 1. Pursuant to defendants’ request,

the Court issued an order on August 13, 2003 dismissing

with leave to amend the claim for an equal protection

violation, dismissing without leave to amend the claim

based on administrative review, and dismissing defendant

Lemos. Order of Dismissal with Leave to Amend at 7-8. On

September 5, 2003, plaintiff filed an amendment to the

equal protection claim, alleging a claim against Dacanay,

Kane, Nienhuis, Woodford, and Wooten. Amendment to

Compl. at 1-4.

Now before the Court is defendants’ motion for sum-

mary judgment, filed February 20, 2004. Defs’ Mot. for

Summ. J. On February 23, 2004, prior to filing an opposi-

tion to the summary judgment motion, Charles Carbone

was added as plaintiff’s attorney. Notice of Appearance of

Carbone at 1.

App. 12

LEGAL STANDARD

The Court will grant summary judgment “against a

party who fails to make a showing sufficient to establish

the existence of an element essential to that party's case,

and on which that party will bear the burden of proof at

trial ... since a complete failure of proof concerning an

essential element of the nonmoving party’s case necessar-

ily renders all other facts immaterial.” Celotex Corp. v.

Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-23, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 91 L.Ed.2d

265 (1986); see also Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S. 242, 248, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986) (a

fact is material if it might affect the outcome of the suit

under governing law, and a dispute about a material fact

is genuine “if the evidence is such that a reasonable jury

could return a verdict for the nonmoving party”).

Generally, as is the situation with defendants’ chal-

lenge to. the plaintiff’s § 1983 claims, the moving party

bears the initial burden of identifying those portions of the

record which demonstrate the absence of a genuine issue

of material fact. Celotex, 477 U.S. at 324. The burden then

shifts to the nonmoving party to “go beyond the pleadings,

and by his own affidavits, or by the ‘depositions, answers _

to interrogatories, or admissions on file,’ designate ‘specific

facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial.”’ Id.

(citations omitted).

Where, as is the situation with a qualified immunity

defense, the moving party bears the burden of proof at

trial and must come forward with evidence which would

entitle him to a directed verdict if the evidence went

uncontroverted at trial. See Houghton v. South, 965 F.2d

1532, 1536 (9th Cir.1992). He must establish the absence

of a genuine issue of fact on each issue material to his

App. 13

affirmative defense. Jd. at 1537; see also Anderson v.

Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. at 248. When the defendant-

movant has come forward with this evidence, the burden

shifts to the non-movant to set forth specific facts showing

the existence of a genuine issue of fact on the defense.

A verified complaint may be used as an opposing

affidavit under Rule 56, as long as it is based on personal

knowledge and sets forth specific facts admissible in

evidence. See Schroeder v. McDonald, 55 F.3d 454, 460 and

nn. 10-11 (9th Cir.1995) (treating plaintiff’s verified

complaint as opposing affidavit where, even though

verification not in conformity with 28 U.S.C. § 1746,

plaintiff stated under penalty of perjury that contents

were true and correct, and allegations were not based

purely on his belief but on his personal knowledge). Here,

the Court will consider as evidence Remeidio’s verified

Complaint, and his Amendment of Equal Protection

Claim.

The court’s function on a summary judgment motion

is not to make credibility determinations or weigh conflict-

ing evidence with respect to a disputed material fact. See

T.W. Elec. Serv. v. Pacific Elec. Contractors Ass’n, 809 F.2d

626, 630 (9th Cir.1987). The evidence must be viewed in

the light most favorab to the nonmoving party, and the

inferences to be drawn from the facts must be viewed in a

light most favorable to the nonmoving party. See id. at

631.

Title 42 U.S.C. § 1983 “provides a cause of action for

the ‘deprivation of any rights, privileges, or immunities

secured by the Constitution and laws’ of the United

States.” Wilder v. Virginia Hosp. Ass’n, 496 U.S. 498, 508,

110 S.Ct. 2510, 110 L.Ed.2d 455 (1990) (quoting 42 U.S.C.

App. 14

§ 1983). Section 1983 is not itself a source of substantive

rights, but merely provides a method for vindicating

federal rights elsewhere conferred. See Graham v. Connor,

490 U.S. 386, 393-94, 109 S.Ct. 1865, 104 L.Ed.2d 443

(1989). To state a claim under § 1983, a plaintiff must

allege two essential elements: (1) that a right secured by

the Constitution or laws of the United States was violated

and (2) that the alleged violation was committed by a

person acting under the color of state law. See West v.

Atkins, 487 U.S. 42, 48, 108 S.Ct. 2250, 101 L.Ed.2d 40

(1988); Ketchum v. Alameda County, 811 F.2d 1243, 1245

(9th Cir.1987).

DISCUSSION

Defendants seek summary judgment on all of plain-

tiff’s claims and to assert qualified immunity. Defs.’ Mot.

for Summ. J. at 1. As amended, plaintiff makes three

claims under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 against the defendants. See

Remeidio Compl. Claims-1, 2 and 3; see also Amendment

to Compl. First, plaintiff makes an equal protection claim

against defendants Nienhuis, Woodford, Kane, Wooten,

and Dacanay based on alleged different treatment of Asian

inmates by defendants. Amendment to Compl. at 4.

Second, plaintiff makes a retaliation claim against defen-

dants Woodford, Nienhuis, Dacanay, Kane, and Wooten

based on alleged retaliation against plaintiff for signing

the Inmates’ Proposal. Remeidio Compl. Claim 2; see also

Order of Dismissal with Leave to Amend at 5-6. Finally,

plaintiff makes a due process claim against defendants

Williams, Nienhuis and Woodford arising from the alleged

denial of due process procedural protections during his

disciplinary hearing for possession of pornographic material.

App. 15

Remeidio Compl. Claim 3; see also Order of Dismissal with

Leave to Amend at 3-4.

1. Plaintiff’s equal protection rights were not vio-

lated ;

Plaintiff makes two arguments concerning his equal

protection rights. Amendment to Compl. at 4. First,

plaintiff alleges that defendants Nienhuis and Woodford

singled out plaintiff, as one of three Asian signatories on

the Inmates’ Proposal, for punishment. Id. Second, plain-

tiff alleges defendants Woodford, Kane, Wooten, and

Dacanay treated plaintiff differently than other inmates

when they placed him in administrative segregation and

transferred him to a different institution because of his

race. Id. at 3-4.

“The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment commands that no State shall ‘deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws,’ which is essentially a direction that all persons

similarly situated should be treated alike.” City of Cle-

burne v. Cleburne Living Center, 473 U.S. 432, 439, 105

S.Ct. 3249, 87 L.Ed.2d 313 (1985) (quoting Plyler v. Doe,

457 U.S. 202, 216, 102 S.Ct. 2382, 72 L.Ed.2d 786 (1982)).

“Prisoners are protected under the Equal Protection

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment from invidious

discrimination based on race.” Wolff v. McDonnell, 418

U.S. 539, 556, 94 S.Ct. 2963, 41 L.Ed.2d 935 (1974) (cita-

tion omitted). Invidious racial discrimination such as

racial segregation, which is unconstitutional outside

prisons, is unconstitutional within prisons, save for the

necessities of prison security and discipline. Cruz v. Beto,

App. 16

405 U.S. 319, 321, 92 S.Ct. 1079, 31 L.Ed.2d 263 (1972);

Johnson v. California, 207 F.3d 650, 655 (9th Cir.2000).

A plaintiff alleging denial of equal protection under 42

U.S.C. § 1983 must plead intentional unlawful discrimina-

tion or allege facts that are at least susceptible of an

inference of discriminatory intent. See Monteiro v. Tempe

Union High School Dist., 158 F.3d 1022, 1026 (9th

Cir.1998). In addition, the claim must be rejected if the

prison regulation or practice claimed to have infringed on

an inmate’s constitutional rights is “reasonably related to

legitimate penological interests.” Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S.

78, 89, 107 S.Ct. 2254, 96 L.Ed.2d 64 (1987); see also

Washington v. Harper, 494 U.S. 210, 223-25, 110 S.Ct.

1028, 108 L.Ed.2d 178 (1990) (standard of review adopted

in Turner applies in all circumstances in which needs of

prison administration implicate constitutional rights,

including when the constitutional right claimed to have

been infringed is fundamental or a suspect class is in-

volved).

A. Plaintiff fails to provide evidence showing

defendants Nienhuis and Woodford acted

with discriminatory intent or without le-

gitimate penological goal

Plaintiff alleges that defendants Nienhuis and Wood-

ford violated plaintiff’s right to equal protection in their

investigation of the Inmates’ Proposal. Amendment to

Compl. at 4. Plaintiff claims the three Asian inmates who

signed the Inmate’ Proposal were targeted for investiga-

tion and punishment. Jd. at 3. Plaintiff was issued an RVR

for possession of sexually explicit material, and later

Woodford informed the BPT of the RVR, leading to denial

of plaintiff’s parole date. Id.

App. 17

Plaintiff alleges Nienhuis and Woodford acted with

discriminatory intent in choosing to investigate plaintiff

and the other two Asian inmates who signed the Inmates’

Proposal. Jd. at 4. Plaintiff asserts that a group of other

inmates found in possession of obscene contraband in the

North Block where plaintiff is housed were not charged

with an RVR, as plaintiff was. Jd. at 3. Plaintiff believes

that in the last five years no North Block inmate has been

issued an RVR for possession of obscene material. Id. at 2.

Furthermore, plaintiff states that only the three Asian

inmates who signed the Inmates’ Proposal were placed in

administrative segregation, found guilty of rule violations,

and transferred to different institutions. Id. at 3.

A claim for racial discrimination must plead inten-

tional unlawful discrimination or allege facts that are at

least susceptible of an inference of discriminatory intent.

See Monteiro, 158 F.3d at 1026. Plaintiff’s statements

concerning enforcement of the ban on sexually explicit

materials do not support plaintiff’s allegations that

Nienhuis and Woodford acted with intent to discriminate.

Plaintiff does not allege that Nienhuis and Woodford were

responsible for the prior enforcement decisions in the

North Block. Furthermore, previous enforcement in the

North Block does not address plaintiff’s primary allega-

tion that Nienhuis and Woodford treated plaintiff differ-

ently because he was Asian. Nonenforcement of the ban on

pornography in the past, by unknown individuals, does not

show intent to discriminate against Asian inmates and

therefore has no evidentiary value.

Plaintiff argues Nienhuis and Woodford were target-

ing Asians by pointing out that only the three Asians who

signed the Inmates’ Proposal were found guilty of rule

violations, placed in administrative segregation and

App. 18

transferred. Amendment to Compl. at 3. In total, there

were four inmates who signed the Inmates’ Proposal. Decl.

Nienhuis Ex. A at 3. Plaintiff alleges that three of the

inmates who signed the proposal, including himself, were

of Asian descent, and the fourth, plaintiff apparently

alleges, was not of Asian descent. Amendment to Compl. at

3.

Woodford and Nienhuis authorized cell searches for

all of the inmates involved in the Inmates’ Proposal. Decl.

Nienhuis Ex. A at 4. All four of the inmates had their cells

searched and their written material confiscated. Jd.

Materials confiscated from the three Asian inmates led to

charges being filed for improper relationships with volun-

teers, compromising institutional security, and, in the case

of plaintiff, possession of contraband materials. Jd. Ex. A

at 37-40; Ex. C. Incriminating materials were not found in

the fourth inmate’s cell, and therefore no charges were

filed. Id. Ex. A at 4.

Plaintiff’s argument that Asian inmates were inten-

tionally targeted for investigation and discipline does not

have an evidentiary basis. Plaintiff’s comparison with the

North Block as a whole does not substantiate his claims

that plaintiff was singled out as an Asian. The fact that

only the Asian inmates who signed the Inmates’ Proposal

were issued RVRs is not evidence of differential treatment.

The Asian inmates, including plaintiff, were found in

possession of materials that led to disciplinary charges,

while the non-Asian inmate was not in possession of such

materials. Moreover, plaintiff does not dispute that the

fourth inmate was not in possession of materials which

could lead to disciplinary charges.

App. 19

Defendants’ motion for summary judgment points out

plaintiff’s failure to provide evidence supporting intent to

discriminate against the Asian inmates. Defs.’ Mot. for

Summ. J. at 18-19. Once the moving party has pointed out

the portions of the record which demonstrate the absence

of a genuine issue of material fact, the burden shifts to the

non-moving party to show a material fact at issue. Celotex,

477 U.S. at 324. As discussed above, plaintiff’s Complaint

and Amendment to Complaint do not provide evidence

supporting intent to discriminate.

Furthermore, defendants point out there were legiti-

mate non-discriminatory reasons for issuing RVRs to the

three Asian inmates and not the fourth non-Asian inmate.

The claim must be rejected if the prison regulation or

practice is “reasonably related to legitimate penological

interests.” Turner, 482 U.S. at 89; see also Washington, 494

U.S. at 223-25. Plaintiff has provided no evidence that

legitimate penological goals were not being pursued when

the four inmates’ cells were searched, and rule violations

were issued to three of the inmates. Defendant has pro-

vided a record of the investigation which cites specific

penological goals for the defendants actions. See Nienhuis

Decl. Ex. A at 2-4.

Plaintiff has not carried his burden of proof, and the

Court therefore GRANTS summary judgment to defen-

dants on the issue of the equal protection violation by

Nienhuis and Woodford.

App. 20

B. Plaintiff fails to provide evidence showing

defendants Woodford, Dacanay, Kane and

Wooten acted with discriminatory intent or

without legitimate penological goals

Plaintiff alleges defendants Woodford, Kane, Wooten

and Dacanay violated plaintiff’s equal protection by

treating plaintiff differently than other inmates. Amend-

ment to Compl. at 3-4. Plaintiff claims that Kane, Wooten

and Dacanay targeted plaintiff for differential treatment,

while they were chairing various ICC hearings on the

plaintiff’s administrative segregation and transfer. Id.

Plaintiff alleges that only the three Asian inmates who

signed the Inmates’ Proposal were found guilty of rule

violations, placed in administrative segregation, and

transferred. Id. at 3.

Plaintiff supports his allegations by stating that no

North Block inmate has been placed on administrative

segregation for possession of obscene materials. Id. at 2.

Other North Block inmates were given notice that sexually

explicit material were contraband. Jd. Furthermore, other

inmates had been caught with sexually explicit materials

and had not been placed in administrative segregation. Id.

at 2-3. Plaintiff also asserts that prisoners similar to him

were denied parole but did not receive administrative

segregation or transfer. Jd.

Plaintiff’s allegations about prior discipline and

administrative segregation in the North Block, even if

true, do not support the essential element of inteucional

discrimination. Plaintiff does not allege that the prior

decisions were made by the defendants. Nor does plaintiff

allege other circumstances where Asian inmates have been

treated differently. Furthermore, defendants contend that

legitimate penological goals were advanced by their

App. 21

actions, and have provided a record of the ICC hearings

showing these goals. Defs.’ Mot. for Summ. J. at 13;

Cattermole Decl. F, G, I, L and N. Plaintiff bears the

burden of showing no legitimate goal was advanced, but

has not met it.

Plaintiff has not established an issue of material fact,

and the Court therefore GRANTS defendants’ motion for

summary judgment on the equal protection claim against

defendants Woodford, Dacanay, Kane and Wooten.

2. Plaintiff failed to establish a retaliation claim

Plaintiff makes two arguments that defendants

retaliated against him. Remeidio Comp]. Claim 2 and 3.

First, plaintiff claims defendants Woodford and Nienhuis

retaliated against his involvement in the Inmates’ Pro-

posal by searching his cell on May 15, 2002. Remeidio

Compl. Claims 2 and 3; see also Order of Dismissal with

Leave to Amend at 2. Second, plaintiff claims defendants

Woodford, Dacanay, Kane, and Wooten placed plaintiff in

administrative segregation as retaliation for plaintiff’s

involvement in the Inmates’ Proposal, for filing a habeas

corpus action in state court, and for challenging San

Quentin’s policy on the College Program. Remeidio Compl.

Claim 2; see also Order of Dismissal with Leave to Amend

at 2.

Retaliation by a state actor for the exercise of a

constitutional right is actionable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983,

even if the act, when taken for different reasons, would

have been proper. See Mt. Healthy City Bd. of Educ. v.

Doyle, 429 U.S. 274, 283-84, 97 S.Ct. 568, 50 L.Ed.2d 471

(1977). Retaliation, though it is not expressly referred to in

the Constitution, is actionable because retaliatory actions

App. 22

may tend to chill individuals’ exercise of constitutional

rights. See Perry v. Sindermann, 408 U.S. 593, 597, 92

S.Ct. 2694, 33 L.Ed.2d 570 (1972). In Pell v. Procunier, 417

U.S. 817, 822, 94 S.Ct. 2800, 41 L.Ed.2d 495 (1974), the

Supreme Court stated “a prison inmate retains those First

Amendment rights that are not inconsistent with his

status as a prisoner or with the legitimate penological

objectives of the corrections system.” In Rizzo v. Dawson,

778 F.2d 527, 582 (9th-Cir.1985), the Ninth Circuit held,

that for a prisoner to state a cause of action, “[plaintiff]

must do more than allege retaliation because of the

exercise of his First Amendment rights ... ; he must also

allege that the prison authorities’ retaliatory action did not

advance legitimate goals of the correctional institution or

was not tailored narrowly enough to achieve such goals.”

Furthermore, plaintiff bears the burden of showing that

there was no legitimate penological objective to defen-

dants’ actions. Pratt v. Rowland, 65 F.3d 802, 806 (9th

Cir.1995) (“The plaintiff bears the burden of pleading and

proving the absence of legitimate correctional goals for the

conduct he complains of.”).

Retaliation claims brought by prisoners must be

evaluated in light of concerns over “excessive judicial

involvement in day-to-day prison management, which

‘often squander[s] judicial resources with little offsetting

benefit to anyone.’” Pratt, 65 F.3d at 807 (quoting Sandin

v. Conner, 515 U.S. 472, 482, 115 S.Ct. 2293, 132 L.Ed.2d

418 (1995)). In particular, courts should “ ‘afford appropri-

ate deference and flexibility to prison officials in the

evaluation of proffered legitimate penological reasons for

cunduct alleged to be retaliatory.” Jd. (quoting Sandin, 515

US. at 482).

App. 23 -

A. Plaintiff failed to provide evidence show-

ing Woodford and Nienhuis acted without a

legitimate penological goal

Plaintiff claims that on May 15, 2002, his cell was

subject to a search in retaliation for his participation-in

the Inmates’ Proposal, an exercise of his First Amendment

rights. Remeidio Compl. Claim 3; see also Order to Dismiss

with Leave to Amend at 2. He alleges that the search took

place on Warden Woodford’s orders, after Nienhuis

brought the Inmates’ Proposal to Woodford’s attention. Id.

Both Woodford and Nienhuis are named as the defendants

responsible for this retaliation. Jd.

Defendants argue that plaintiff has failed to provide

evidence showing that a legitimate penological goal was

not advanced by the search of plaintiff’s cell. Defs.’ Mot.

for Summ. J. at 18-19. By pointing out a specific failure to

create material issue of fact, defendants have shifted the

burden to plaintiff to provide evidence creating a material

issue of fact. Celotex, 477 U.S. at 324.

Plaintiff simply alleges that the search of his cell by

Woodford and Nienhuis part of “a deliberate policy to

exclude the expression of viewpoints and opinions that are

unflattering or unwelcome.” See Remeidio Compl. Claim 3.

Plaintiff has not alleged or provided any facts suggesting

that the search of his cell did not advance legitimate

penological goals, as was his burden. Plaintiff’s pleadings

are considered a valid affidavit to oppose summary judg-

ment, but the complaint does not establish facts within

plaintiff’s knowledge which create a material issue of

triable fact.

Furthermore, defendants have provided significant

evidence, in the form of Nienhuis’s investigation report,

App. 24

showing there were legitimate penological goals advanced

by the search of plaintiff’s cell. See Nienhuis Decl. Ex. A.

Records show that an ongoing investigation was taking

place when plaintiff’s cell was searched. Jd. at 4. The

investigation was initiated partly because of the demands

made in the Inmate Proposal, but also because of the prior

records of the inmates involved and concerns of the Col-

lege Program staff. Jd. at 3-4. This investigation was

pursued for the safety of the College Program volunteers,

safety of the prison staff and security of the prison. Nien-

huis Decl. J 3(B). The search of plaintiff’s cell was not

retaliation, ut part of an ongoing investigation under-

taken for legitimate penological goals. Plaintiff has pro-

vided no evidence to refute the defendants’ records. For

the forgoing reasons, summary judgment is GRANTED on

plaintiff’s claims against defendants Woodford and

Nienkuis for retaliatory search of his cell.

B. Woodford, Kane, Dacanay, and Wooten did

not retaliate against the plaintiff because

placement in administrative segregation

advanced a legitimate penological goal

Plaintiff claims that he was retaliated against for his

participation in the Inmates’ Proposal, for filing a writ of

habeas corpus in Marin County Superior Court, and for

challenging prison policy. Remeidio Compl. Claim 2; see

also Order of Dismissal with Leave to Amend at 2. Plain-

tiff alleges that in retaliation he was placed in administra-

tive segregation and later transferred to another prison.

Id. Plaintiff names defendants Woodford, Dacanay, Kane,

and Wooten as the individuals responsible for the retalia-

tion. Id.

App. 25

Plaintiff does not detail what role Woodford played in

the alleged retaliation, beyond ordering the search of

plaintiff’s cell discussed earlier. Dacanay, Kane and

Wooten chaired various ICC hearings concerning plain-

tiff’s placement in administrative segregation and his

eventual transfer to another institution. See Cattermole

Decl. F,G,I,LandN. -

Defendants argue that plaintiff has failed to provide

evidence that the actions by Woodford, Dacanay, Kane,

and Wooten did not advance legitimate penological goals.

Mot. for Summ. J. at 20. The only evidence provided was

plaintiff’s own assertion in the complaint recounting that

Ms. Sorddragger told him that plaintiff was transferred

because he signed the proposal. Remeidio Compl. Claim 2.

Plaintiff’s recounting of Ms. Sorddragger’s statement may

tend to support defendants’ intent to retaliate, but does

not establish that there was no legitimate penological goal

advanced by the defendants’ actions. By pointing out a

specific failure to create material issue of fact, defendants

have shifted the burden to plaintiff to provide evidence

creating a material issue of fact. Celotex, 477 U.S. at 324.

Plaintiff has failed to bear his burden of showing a mate-

rial issue of fact that there was no legitimate penological

goal advanced by the defendants actions. .

Moreover, defendants have provided a record showing

the ICC finding in question were made pursuant to legiti-

mate penological goals, such as safety of staff and inmates,

and the security of the institution. See Cattermole Decl. F,

G, I, L and N. Plaintiff has failed to show that there is a

triable issue of material fact on whether defendants’

actions advanced legitimate penological goals. Therefore,

for the above reasons the, Court GRANTS summary

App. 26

judgment to the defendants on the “urges of retaliation

against Woodford, Dacanay, Kane, and Wooten.

3. Plaintiff’s due process rights were not violated

Plaintiff claims his due process rights were violated at

the June 28, 2002 ICC hearing, because he was denied

“the right to present documentary evidence in mitigation

of the charges” and the hearing officer “refused to accept

documents in my defense”; and because Nienhuis withheld

key evidence when the hearing officer was not given the

“letter and envelope containing the obscene materials.”

Remeidio Compl. Claim 1. Plaintiff does not state what

“documentary evidence in mitigation of the charges” he

wished to present, nor what “documents in my defense”

might have been presented, except for the “letter and

envelope containing the obscene materials.” Plaintiff does

not dispute that he possessed the ne materials

as charged in the RVR.

The Due Process.Clause of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment of the U.S. Constitution protects individuals against

governmental deprivations of life, liberty or property

without due process of law. Interests that are procedurally

protected by the Due Process Clause may arise from two

sources — the Due Process Clause itself and laws of the

states. See Meachum v. Fano, 427 U.S. 215, 223-27, 96

S.Ct. 2532, 49 L.Ed.2d 451 (1976).

Prison disciplinary hearings may amount to a depri-

vation of a constitutionally protected liberty interest if two

requirements are satisfied. Sandin v. Conner, 515 US.

472, 477-87, 115 S.Ct. 2293, 132 L.Ed.2d 418 (1995). First,

the liberty interest in question must be one of “real sub-

stance.” Jd. A liberty interest of “real substance” generally

App. 27

means (i) a restraint that imposes “atypical and significant

hardship on the inmate in relation to the ordinary inci-

dents of prison life,” or (ii) state action that “will inevitably

affect the duration of [a] sentence.” Jd. at 484, 487. Second,

the state statutes or regulations must narrowly restrict

the power of prison officials to deprive the inmate of the

liberty interest. Id. at 477-487; see Bonin v. Calderon, 77

F.3d 1155, 1161-62 (9th Cir.1996) (looking first to statutory

language and finding no state-created constitutionally

protected interest in choosing method of execution where

state statute does not guarantee prisoner a choice).

In the absence of a liberty interest, an inmate’s due

process rights are violated in a disciplinary proceeding

only if there is no evidence whatsoever supporting the

disciplinary sanction. See Burnsworth v. Gunderson, 179

F.3d 771, 773-74 (9th Cir.1999).

A. Plaintiff fails to allege Woodford participated

in the violation of plaintiff’s due process

rights

Plaintiff’s due process claim alleges that Woodford

denied plaintiff’s request to have the RVR for possession

of pornographic materials dismissed. Remeidio Compl.

Claim 3. Plaintiff does not describe what due process was

absent when this denial was issued, nor does plaintiff

claim that Woodford was involved in the alleged due

process violations that took place at the ICC on June 28,

2002. In Claim 1 of plaintiff’s complaint, plaintiff alleges

that Woodford participated in retaliation against plaintiff,

but this is a separate cause of action already discussed.

Remeidio Comp.. Claim 1. The Court GRANTS summary

judgment in favor of the defendants on the due process

claim against Woodford.

-

App. 28

B. Plaintiff’s placement in administrative segre-

gation subsequent to the June 28, 2002 ICC

- hearing was not an “atypical and significant

hardship”

To invoke the Due Process clause, plaintiff must meet

the first prong of the Sandin test by showing that a liberty

interest of real substance was at stake at the hearing.

Sandin, 515 U.S. 483-86. In Sandin, the Supreme Court

held that placement in administrative segregation after a

disciplinary hearing did not amount to atypical and

significant hardship. 515 U.S. at 486. In that case plaintiff

alleged that he was not provided the opportunity to

present a witness at his disciplinary hearing, and plaintiff

was subsequently placed in administrative segregation. Id.

at 475. The Court held that the situation was not atypical

and significant hardship, and therefore no liberty interest

of real substance was at stake. Jd. at 486. Because no

liberty interest of substance was at stake, only minimal

due process was necessary. Id.

Here, plaintiff argues that his situation differs from

mere administrative segregation as described in Sandin,

because the outcome of his June 28, 2002 disciplinary

hearing led to revocation of his parole date and his trans- °

fer to a Level III facility. Remeidio Compl. Claim 1. A state

action that “will inevitably affect the duration of [a]

sentence” creates a liberty interest for the inmate. Sandin,

515 U.S. at 487.

Sandin addressed whether a disciplinary hearing

having an effect on other administrative hearings gives

rise to a liberty interest of real substance. Id. “The deci-

sion to release a prisoner rests on a myriad of considera-

tions. And, the prisoner is afforded procedural protection

at his parole hearing in order to explain the circumstances

App. 29

behind his misconduct record. The chance that a finding of

misconduct will alter the balance is simply too attenuated

to invoke the procedural guarantees of the Due Process

Clause.” Jd. (citations omitted).

The Sandin analysis applies to plaintiff’s parole

denial and transfer to another prison facility. Plaintiff’s

parole and reassignment to a different facility were too

attenuated to create a substantial liberty interest at the

June 28th disciplinary hearing. Furthermore, plaintiff

does not allege that his due process rights were denied at

either his parole hearing or at the prison reassignment

hearing.

Finally, in light of the interests at stake, the discipli-

nary hearing did not violate minimum due process stan-

dards. Plaintiff does not deny that he received notice of the

hearing on the RVR, that he received all pertinent docu-

mentation 24 hours prior to the hearing, that he stated he

was ready to proceed with the hearing when it was called,

or that he was present during the hearing. Further, he

does not deny the statement attributed to him at the

hearing: “I had all the stuff they say I had but I do not feel

it is contraband. I have had it a long time and no one said

it was contraband in the past. I feel there is nothing wrong

with it, therefore [’'m not guilty.” Nienhuis Decl. Ex. C.

Although he now asserts that he was denied “the right to

present documentary evidence in mitigation of the

charges” and that the hearing officer “refused to accept

documents in my defense,” he appears to refer to the

“letter and envelope containing the obscene materials,”

which would not have affected the outcome of the hearing.

App. 30

Summary judgment is GRANTED in the defendants’

favor on the issue due process violations by Nienhuis and

Williams.

4. Qualified immunity

Defendants urge, in the alternative, that they are

entitled to qualified immunity for their conduct. The

defense of qualified immunity protects “government

officials . . . from liability for civil damages insofar as their

conduct does not violate clearly established statutory or

constitutional rights of which a reasonable person would

have known.” Harlow v. Fitegerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818, 102

S.Ct. 2727, 73 L.Ed.2d 396 (1982). The rule of qualified

immunity “‘provides ample protection to all but the

plainly incompetent or those who knowingly violate the

law’”; defendants can have a reasonable, but mistaken,

belief about the facts or about what the law requires in

any given situation. Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194, 202,

121 S.Ct. 2151, 150 L.Ed.2d 272 (2001) (quoting Malley v.

Briggs, 475 U.S. 335, 341, 106 S.Ct. 1092, 89 L.Ed.2d 271

(1986)). “Therefore, regardless of whether the constitu-

tional violation occurred, the [official] should prevail if the

right asserted by the plaintiff was not ‘clearly established’

or the [official] could have reasonably believed that his

particular conduct was lawful.” Romero v. Kitsap County,

931 F.2d 624, 627 (9th Cir.1991).

A court considering a claim of qualified immunity

must first determine whether the plaintiff has alleged the

deprivation of an actual constitutional right, then proceed

to determine if the right was “clearly established.” See

Wiison v. Layne, 526 U.S. 603, 119 S.Ct. 1692, 1694, 143

L.Ed.2d 818 (1999); Conn v. Gabbert, 526 U.S. 286, 290,

App. 31

119 S.Ct. 1292, 143 L.Ed.2d 399 (1999). The threshold

question must be: Taken in the light most favorable to the

party asserting the injury, do the facts alleged show the

officer’s conduct violated a constitutional right? Saucier,

533 U.S. at 201; see Martin, 360 F.3d at 1082-1084. If no

constitutional right would have been violated were the

allegations established, there is no necessity for further

inquiries concerning qualified immunity. Saucier, 533 U.S.

at 201.

On the other hand, if a violation could be made out on

the allegations, the next sequential step is to ask whether

the right was clearly established. Jd. This inquiry must be

undertaken in light of the specific context of the case, not

as a broad general proposition. Jd. at 202. The relevant,

dispositive inquiry in determining whether a right is

clearly established is whether it would be clear to a rea-

sonable officer that his conduct was unlawful ‘in the

situation he confronted. Jd. If the law did not put the

officer on notice that his conduct would be clearly unlaw-

ful, summary judgment based on qualified immunity is

appropriate. Jd. The plaintiff bears the burden of proving

the existence of a “clearly established right.”

In this case, summary judgment wil be granted to

defendants because plaintiff has not established triable

issues of material fact to warrant trial on his affirmative

case. Alternatively, if a qualified immunity analysis were

required, this Court would find that qualified immunity

protects defendants since under the circumstances of this

case it would not have been clear to reasonable officers

that their conduct in performing plaintiff’s cell search, in

placing plaintiff in administrative segregation or in

conducting the ICC hearing was unlawful. Accordingly,

App. 32

summary judgment in favor of defendants is GRANTED

on the claim for qualified immunity.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, defendants’ motions for

summary judgment are GRANTED. [Docket # 13]

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: June 30, 2004

s/

SUSAN ILLSTON

United States District Judge

App. 33

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ROMIRICO REMEIDIO, No. 04-16427

Plaintiff-Appellant, D.C. No.

x CV-03-02212-SI

Northern District of

J. WOODFORD; A. KANE; California, San Francisco

I. NEINHUIS; D. WOOTEN;

H. WILLIAMS; D. DACANAY, | ORDER

Defendants-Appellees. (Filed May 1, 2006)

Before: SILVERMAN, GRABER, and CLIFTON, Circuit

Judges. ,

Defendants-Appellees’ petition for rehearing is DE-

NIED.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.