Opposition Brief — At Home Corp. v. Cox Communications, Inc. (No. 06-147)

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 06-147

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

AT HOME CORPORATION,

; Petitioner,

Vv.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX @HOME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS, AND DAVID M. WoopDROW,

Respondents.

- On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

RESPONDENTS COX COMMUNICATIONS, INC.

AND COX @HOME, INC.’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

MICHAEL D. HAYS *

MICHAEL D. ROTHBERG

DANIEL D. PRICHARD

Dow LOHNES PLLC

1200 New Hampshire Avenue

Washington, D.C. 20036

* Counsel of Record (202) 776-2000

August 30, 2006

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 — WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

ig Sean

Supreme Court, U.S.

7,“ FILED

(YD

AUG 30 2006

No. 06-147

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE ;

Supreme Court of the Anited States

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

Vv.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX @HOME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS, AND DAVID M. WooprRow,

Respondents.

On Petition for 2 Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

RESPONDENTS COX COMMUNICATIONS, INC.

AND COX @HOME, INC.’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

MICHAEL D. HAYs *

MICHAEL D. ROTHBERG

DANIEL D. PRICHARD

Dow LOHNES PLLC

1200 New Hampshire Avenue

Washington, D.C. 20036

* Counsel of Record (202) 776-2000

August 30, 2006

PE DAMA LATED SE: BREMEN LE ILE EGLO DOIG LI ROE, IEEE LIL TI EI IA ERR RIES SO RE I TE

WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

——————————————— i i“

_

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF QUESTION PRESENTED

Did the United States Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit properly hold that, under Section 16(b) of the Secu-

rities Exchange Act of 1934 (15 U.S.C. § 78p(b)), the Com-

plaint failed to plead the required “matching” purchase and

sale of At Home Corporation (“At Home”) stock within a

period of less than six months by Cox Communications, Inc.

and Cox @Home, Inc. (collectively, “C_x”) where: (a) the

relevant Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) regu-

lations provide that a put option exercised solely at its fixed

price component (like the put option at issue here) can give

rise to a Section 16(b) “sale” only on the date that it is estab-

lished; and (b) the establishment date of the put was more

than thirteen months before the alleged matching purchase?

(1)

CC en

il

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6, respondents Cox

Communications, Inc. (“CCI”) and Cox @Home, Inc. (“Cox

@Home’) state that, through Cox Holdings, Inc. and Cox

DNS, Inc., CCI is an indirect wholly-owned subsidiary of

Cox Enterprises, Inc., which is a privately held corporation.

Cox @Home is a wholly-owned subsidiary of CCI.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

~ COUNTERSTATEMENT OF QUESTION

ne et ae i

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT ....................... il

Ny re RIF EI TIE sess occh.cncc'oceccncsccensseodsiecpuesdeensesnannsiod iV

I ]

I. PERTINENT STATUTORY AND REGULA-

vio co Bl’): | IRE RCERREE Rtenee e: Pomona 4

Bee. ee Te CR vcividewisccneneccezastinnsevocsuens 5

A. Allegations Of The Complaint .......00...0 cece: 5

B. Transfer And Dismissal Of The Action................. 7

C. The SEC Determines That The District

Cee SPUN FOS PATE IIIIOE Savi svsscsininsivonivevdveecececevcces )

D. The Second Circuit Affirms The District

a 1]

Ill. REASONS THAT THE PETITION SHOULD

ks SEES OR ERIS eeS ie env RO ne 12

A. There Is No Circuit Split Or Issue Of

Widespread Application In This Case

Demanding The Court’s Attention .................00 13

B. The Second Circuit Correctly Determined

That The Only Section 16(b) Sale

Occurred On The March 2000 Put’s

RUNNIN CII csi sss ccscuienittdineiuodaisaah chuuibaevtaces 14

C. The Bondholders Present No Valid Basis

To Reverse The Second Circuit.................000..-.... 20

8 8 MTOR SOS RR RO OE NE TRMISRT Te NSO 26

IIT iii latae siplescribe ahi tantniadiclaeadliddeddueeon eaedooniod la

TE Feces Oe To OT RN a Ree 35a

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

At Home Corp. v. Cox Commc'ns, Inc., Civ. A.

No. 02-1486-JJF, 2003 WL 22350925 (D. Del.

SE Say rd te cnvsisiasnisiiclnieieithcibicbesishsseaunin aiatlpnaiibenMeiesadtakeas 8

At Home Corp. v. Cox Commc'ns, Inc., 340 F.

Supp. 2d 404 (S.D.N.Y. 2004) oo... eee passim

At Home Corp. v. Cox Commc’ns, Inc., 446 F.3d

ke Lt tae SRDMRSIRaNre rem hon eee aw ERRNO passim

Auer v. Robbins, 519 U.S. 452 (1997)... ccecceeeeeeeeeeeees 19

Chevron U.S.A. v. Natural Res. Def. Council, 467

SF A ET Cea chanacdnieisniedaabhaialieseavsdndiadonnidandaiaadcminidunts 1]

Cioffi v. Averill Park Central Sch. Dist. Bd. of

Educ., 444 F.3d 158 (2d Cir. 2006) .........ccscseeseeeeee: 22

City of Springfield, Mass. v. Kibbe, 480 U.S. 257

FI Beasisicsin icscusbesseniideraipciclaspiniedeenabenaniatetconies 20, 22

Davenport v. Harry N. Abrams, Inc., 249 F.3d

Ee Gee Gls SOE E DP citcsiseincsasnrsnstiaenin jasahcelidibebibicin 20, 22

Kern County Land Co. v. Occidental Petroleum

Conk S085 STS es 25

Lerner v. Millenco, L.P., 23 F. Supp. 2d 337

(S.D.N.Y.), recon. denied, 23 F. Supp. 2d 345

ER ty ae. SRRURRERTEN SW ONtle fateh arse eee emesatunn ape rAn-w mere 8

Levy v. Clearwater Fund IV, Ltd.., No. Civ. A.

99-004-SLR, 2000 WL 152128 (D. Del. Feb.

Fy BI cis tisiasisssidelplalaseebensvbnuaastuabaahepsthaceanniinbatseibeeoualiecds 8

Levy v. Oz Master Fund, Ltd., No. Civ. 7148,

2001 WL 767013 (S.D.N.Y. July 9, 2001)............ 8, 15

Press v. Quick & Reilly, Inc., 218 F.3d 121 (2d

i aa oicis cj ccdaspicio meat niecbaciahividcatvbemetiad laced 19

Schaffer v. CC Invs., LDC, 280 F. Supp. 2d 128

(S.D.N.Y.), recon. granted in part, No. 99-

2821, 2003 WL 22480052 (S.D.N.Y. Oct. 31, ‘

V

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

_ STATUTES Page

15 U.S.C. § ,op(b) (Securities Exchange Act of

PSSA, BOCUG FOOD cciscsicsivvecssscerssisessesacornstecsacess passim

28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)

RULES AND REGULATIONS

17 C.F.R. § 240.16a-1(c) (SEC Rule 16a-1(c))........... 4,9

17 C.F.R. § 240.16a-1(h) (SEC Rule 16a-1(h))...4, 10, 14

17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(a) (SEC Rule 16b-6(a))..... passim

17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(b) (SEC Rule 16b-6(b)).... passim

RE AA. Ws PROD vivicccnseicdiinssiacssanidaeniastaceaa 12

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Brief Of The Securities And Exchange Com-

mission, Amicus Curiae, Submitted To The

Second Circuit Court of Appeals on February

Fy aE vehastciencdonveki as ciaiigiesbbaa osand webeepmeia teat passim

Ownership Reports and Trading By Officers,

Directors and Principal Security Holders,

Exchange Act Release No. 28,869, 56 Fed.

Reg. 7242 (Feb. 21, 1991)

POCO H THEE O EEE OH EHH HEE SESEEEES

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 06-147

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

V. ;

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX @HOME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS, AND DAVID M. WooprRow,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

RESPONDENTS COX COMMUNICATIONS, INC.

AND COX @HOME, INC.’S BREEF IN OPPOSITION

This case involves an unfounded attempt by former At

Home bondholders (the “Bondholders”)}—to whom that de-

funct corporation’s claims were transferred—to manufacture

liability against Cox under the federal short-swing profits

statute, i.e., Section 16(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of

1934. Section 16(b) imposes liability against a corporate

insider only if the insider engages in a “matching” purchase

and sale of company securities within a period of less than six

months. The Second Circuit, the Southern District of New

York, and the SEC (in an amicus curiae brief requested by

the Second Circuit) each properly determined that the Bond-

2

holders’ Section !6(b) claims should be dismissed as a matter

of law because the Bondholders failed to plead that Cox

engaged in matching transactions in At Home stock within

the proscribed time period.

The “hybrid” put option in this case (i.e., an option to sell

with both a fixed and a floating price component!) granted

Cox the right to sell its shares of At Home stock to At

Home’s controlling stockholder, AT&T Corp. (“AT&T”), at

the greater of the fixed price of $48 a share or a floating

market price. This put option (the “March 2000 Put” or

“Put’”) was established on March 28, 2000, and its subsequent

exercise price was solely its $48 fixed price. The Second

Circuit, the Southern District of New York, and the SEC each

agreed that SEC rules require that the Put be treated as a

Section 16(b) sale solely on its establishment date (when the

primary potential for abuse of the option existed), and not, as

the Bondholders argued below, on or after the Put’s sub-

sequent exercise date. Because the only conceivable match-

ing “purchase” in this case occurred on May 18, 2001—vwell

over six months after the March 28, 2000 deemed sale date—

the courts below held that the Bondholders failed to state a

claim against Cox. .

As explained in more detail below, the Bondholders’

petition for certiorari should be denied. First, there is no

' A put option is an option that gives its holder the right, but not the

obligation, to sell shares of stock to the other party to the put at a price

determined by the option’s terms. In the case of a hybrid option, whether

the option is exercised at the fixed or the floating component depends

upon the market price of the underlying security. Where a hybrid put

option contains a provision (like the put in this case) specifying that the

exercise price will be the greater of the fixed price or the floating price,

the fixed price component necessarily sets a minimum price. If the

market price following exercise (at the time of the closing of the floating

component’s market pricing window) is below the price set in the fixed

component (as here), then the exercise price of the hybrid put option will

be the fixed price.

3

circuit split regarding the issues addressed in the Second

Circuit’s opinion; the Second Circuit is the only appellate

court to have addressed the Section 16(b) treatment of a

hybrid security. Further, there is no disagreement between

the SEC (the agency charged with administering Section 16)

and the Second Circuit, as the SEC also concluded in its

amicus brief that the District Court’s dismissal order should

be affirmed.

Second, the Second Circuit’s opinion was correct and,

indeed, was required by the relevant SEC regulations

governing the Section 16(b) treatment of derivative securities.

Those regulations were designed to serve Section 16(b)’s

statutory purpose of preventing corporate insiders from mak-

ing short-swing profits by using non-public information. The

SEC amended its regulations in 1991 to close an easily-

exploitable loophole, which the Bondholders’ position in the

courts below would have reopened.

Finally, the Bondhoiders’ remaining arguments for grant-

ing certiorari are meritless, including their newly raised “dual

sale” argument that is the focus of their petition. Before this

Court, the Bondholders have abandoned (and indeed do not

even mention) .the argument that they unsuccessfully pre-

sented to the Second Circuit, the District Court, and the SEC.

Specifically, the Bondholders argued (and pled in their Com-

plaint) that the March 2000 Put was a sale only after it was

exercised in January 2001, and that it could not be treated as a

sale on its March 28, 2000 establishment date. The Bond-

holders now concede that the Put’s establishment was a sale,

but also argue that a second sale should be recognized as a

result of the Put’s exercise. This new “dual sale” argument

was never properly raised below, and is directly contrary to

SEC regulations. In fact, the SEC explained in its amicus

brief that the exercise of a hybrid put at a fixed price is not a

Section 16(b) sale under its rules.

4 as

I, PERTINENT STATUTORY AND REGULA-

TORY PROVISIONS

* Section 16(b) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934,

15 U.S.C. § 78p(b):

For the purpose of preventing the unfair use of

information which may have been obtained by such

beneficial owner, director, or officer by reason of his

relationship to the issuer, any profit realized by him

from any purchase and sale, or any sale and purchase,

of any equity security of such issuer (other than an

exempted security) ... within any period of less than

six months, ... shall inure to and be recoverable by

the issuer...

® SEC Rule 16a-1(c), 17 C.F.R. § 240.16a-1(c):

The term derivative securities shall mean any option

... With an exercise or conversion privilege at a price

related to an equity security ..., but shall not

include: . . .

(6) Rights with an exercise or conversion privilege at

a price that is not fixed....

® SEC Rule 16a-1(h), 17 C.F.R. § 240.16a-1(h):

The term put equivalent position shall mean a

derivative security position that increases in value as

the value of the underlying equity decreases,

including, but not limited to, a long put option and a

short call option position.

® SEC Rule 16b-6(a), 17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(a):

(T]he establishment of or increase in a put equivalent

position ... shall be deemed a sale of the underlying

securities for purposes of section 16(b) of the Act....

5

=" SEC Rule 16b-6(b), 17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(b):”

The closing of a derivative security position as a result

of its exercise ... shall be exempt from the operation

of section 16(b) of the Act, and the . . . disposition of

underlying securities at a fixed exercise price due to

the exercise of a put equivalent position shall be

exempt from the operation of section 16(b) of the

Act.

Il. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Bondholders have petitioned for a writ of certiorari

for review of the Second Circuit’s decision affirming the

Southern District of New York’s dismissal with prejudice of

the Bondholders’ Section 16(b) claims. The courts below

held that the sole Section 16(b) claim asserted against Cox

(the first cause of action) failed to plead that Cox engaged in

a “matching” purchase and sale of At Home stock within a

period of less than six months, and thus did not state a

Section 16(b) claim against Cox. See At Home Corp. v. Cox

Commc'ns., Inc., 340 F. Supp. 2d 404, 410 (S.D.N.Y. 2004)

(Pet. App. I7a-30a), aff'd, 446 F.3d 403 (2d Cir. 2006) (Pet.

App. 1a-13a).

A. Allegations Of The Complaint.

The sole Section 16(b) cause of action against Cox’ alleges

that Cox’s January 2001 exercise of the March 2000 Put

> The Bondholders omitted this rule from their appendix, and therefore

Cox has included it in its appendix. See Cox App. 35a.

> The Bondholders also named as defendants Comcast Corporation,

Comcast Online Communications, Inc. and Comcast PC Investments, Inc.

(collectively “Comcast”) and Brian L. Roberts, as well as David M.

Woodrow, a former Cox executive and former At Home director. In addi-

tion to the Section 16(b) claims against Cox and Comcast, the Bond-

holders also asserted a state law fiduciary duty claim against all defen-

dants, which the District Court dismissed without prejudice on December

3, 2004 pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c).

6

constitutes a “sale” of At Home stock that can be matched

with an alleged purchase, i.e., Cox’s subsequent entry into a

Share Issuance Agreement with AT&T on May 18, 2001, to

create liability under Section 16(b). Although Cox owned

only approximately 8.3% of At Home’s Series A common

stock when the Put was established on March 28, 2000, the

Complaint alleges that Cox is nevertheless subject to Section

16(b) as a statutory insider because Cox and Comcast to-

gether purportedly held a greater than 10% stock ownership

stake as a “group.” Compl. §f| 11-12, Pet. App. 39a.

As the Complaint concedes, the Put contained a “hybrid

pricing mechanism” (Compl. 4 54, Pet App. 53a) that, at any

time from January |, 200-1 through June 4, 2002, allowed Cox

to require AT&T to purchase up to approximately $1.4 billion

of At Home stock from Cox at the greater of:

= the fixed price of “$48 per share” (Compl. 4 45,

Pet. App. 49a); or

=" “the average per share trading price of At Home

common stock” over a specified period before and

after the exercise date (the “floating component’s

market pricing window’) (id.).

The March 2000 Put capped the maximum consideration

that Cox could receive from AT&T at approximately $1.4

billion, which was the amount payable to Cox if it sold all its

At Home shares to AT&T at the fixed price of $48 a share.

Compl. ff 11, 44, Pet. App. 39a, 49a. Thus, the Put’s fixed

price component allowed Cox to sell a fixed number of shares

to AT&T at $48 per share. Jd. § 45, Pet. App. 49a. Even if

the Put’s exercise price were a higher floating price, Cox

would still receive the same amount of total consideration,

but would be able to sell fewer shares to AT&T than under

the fixed price component. Jd.“

* The March 2000 Agreements provided Comcast with essentially the

same put right, although the Comcast put had a higher tota! consideration

7

On January 11, 2001, CCI exercised the Put and notified

AT&T of its election to sell all the At Home common stock,

owned directly or indirectly by it or Cox @Home, to AT&T.

Compl. 452, Pet. App. 52a. Because the average market

price during the relevant period was less than $48 per share,

the exercise price for Cox’s At Home stock was solely the

fixed price of “$48 per share pursuant to the [Put’s] hybrid

pricing mechanism.” /d. 4 54, Pet. App. 53a.

The Complaint alleges that the purported matching “pur-

chase” occurred on or about May 18, 2001, when AT&T and

Cox entered into an agreement (the “Share Issuance Agree-

ment’), pursuant to which Cox would retain its At Home

stock and AT&T would be deemed to have satisfied the

March 2000 Put in full. Compl. 456, Pet. App. 53a.° Cox

entered into this Share Issuance Agreement over thirteen

months after the establishment of the March 2000 Put on

March 28, 2000. Jd. 4] 43, 56, Pet. App. 49a, 53a.

B. Transfer And Dismissal Of The Action.

The Bondholders originally filed this action in the United

States District Court for the District of Delaware. On

September 24, 2002, that court held that the Bondholders had

“engage[d] in forum shopping [by] attempting to force this

limit (and therefore under the fixed price component a higher number of

shares).

> At Home stock closed at ‘$7.72 per share” on January 11, 2001, and

at “$6.00 per share” on February 2, 2001. Compl. 44 53, 54, Pet. App.

53a.

° The Bondholders contended that the Share Issuance Agreement con-

stituted a cancellation of the March 2000 Put (Compl. 4] 55, 56, Pet. App.

53a), which they claimed was a deemed purchase pursuant to Rule 16b-

6(a). The defendants disputed that the Put was cancelled, asserting

that after its exercise, the Put ceased to be a unilateral option contract

within the scope of Rule 16b-6(a), and instead became a bilateral contract.

Neither court below ruled on this issue.

8

case into the District of Delaware,” and transferred the action

to the Southern District of New York. At Home Corp. v. Cox

Commc’ns Inc., Civ. A. No. 02-1486-JJF, 2003 WL

22350925, at *2 (D. Del. Oct. 8, 2003).

Following the transfer, Cox and Comcast moved to dismiss

the Section 16(b) causes of action against them. On August

12, 2004, the District Court granted defendants’ motions.

Relying upon three prior Southern District of New York cases

that had decided the Section 16(b) issue presented in the first

cause of action in a manner favorable to defendants,*® the

District Court dismissed that claim. It held that the March 28,

2000 establishment of the Put was “the only sale-equivalent

event” pled in the Bondholders’ Complaint. Recognizing that

this event “occurred more than six months before the only

conceivable purchase” on May 18, 200], the District Court

ruled that the Bondholders’ first cause of action failed to

state a Section 16(b) claim against Cox and Comcast. Pet.

App. 27a.’

’ The Bondholders originally filed in Delaware in hopes of availing

themselves of a District of Delaware case, Levy v. Clearwater Fund IV,

Ltd., No. Civ. A. 99-004-SLR, 2000 WL 152128 (D. Del. Feb. 2, 2000).

That case ignored the importance of the fixed price component of a hybrid

put and has now been thoroughly discredited by the SEC in its amicus

brief, the Second Circuit, and multiple cases in the Southern District of

New York. See cases cited n.8 supra. The Bondholders have now aban-

doned their reliance on this inapposite decision, which dealt with the

exercise of a hybrid option at a floating price (unlike here) and, in any

_ event, does not support the Bondholders’ new “dual sale” argument.

* See Lerner v. Millenco, L.P., 23 F. Supp. 2d 337 (S.D.N.Y.), recon.

denied, 23 F. Supp. 2d 345 (S.D.N.Y. 1998); Lévy v. Oz Master Fund,

Lid., No. Civ. 7148, 2001 WL 767013 (S.D.N.Y. July 9, 2001); Schaffer

~ v. CC Invs., LDC, 280 F. Supp. 2d 128 (S.D.N.Y.), recon. granted in part,

No. 99-2821, 2003 WL 22480052 (S.D.N.Y. Oct. 31, 2003).

® The District Court also dismissed a separate alternative Section 16(b)

claim (the second cause of action) that the Bondholders asserted against

Comcast only.

9

C. The SEC Determines That The District

Court Should Be Affirmed.

On appeal, prior to the Second Circuit’s affirmance of the

District Court’s dismissal of the Bondholders’ Complaint, the

Second Circuit requested the SEC to submit an amicus curiae

brief. After soliciting the parties’ views and meeting with

their counsel, the SEC filed its amicus brief on February 9,

2006 (“SEC Amicus Brief’). See Cox App. la-34a. The SEC

rejected the Bondholders’ claim that the Put’s exercise date,

rather than its establishment date, should be deemed a Section

16(b) sale (Cox App. 13a-14a) and recommended that the

District Court’s ruling be affirmed (Cox App. 9a, 30a).

In reaching this conclusion, the SEC relied on the 1991

amendments to its Section 16(b) rules. Cox App. 10a-13a.

The SEC explained that these amendments were specifically

_ designed to eliminate the potential for an insider to easily

circumvent Section 16(b) through the use of derivative

securities:

Before 1991, the purchase or sale of securities

underlying a derivative security [such as a fixed

price option]’® occurred on the exercise of the

derivative, rather than upon its creation. In 1991,

the Commission noted that this left “open a

significant potential for short-swing abuse in

trading derivative securities.”

Cox App. 10a (quoting Ownership Reports and Trading By

Officers, Directors and Principal Security Holders, Exchange

Act Release No. 28,869, 56 Fed. Reg. 7242, 7250 (Feb. 21,

1991) (“i991 Release”)).

'° As the SEC explained in its Amicus Tirief, the term “derivative

security” includes “‘any option’” with an ““e..ccise or conversion priv-

ilege at a price related to any equity secu or similar securities with a

value derived from the value of an equity security,” and includes a “put

equivalent position” such as a fixed price put option. Cox App. at | la-

12a (quoting 17 C.F.R. § 240.16a-1(c)).

10

The SEC then offered the following example of how an

insider could use a fixed price put to profit under the pre-

1991 rules:

[A]n insider who knows of impending negative

information can negotiate a fixed price put, en-

abling it to sell, after the negative information is

released and the price falls, at the higher price. The

insider unfairly uses the inside information by

fixing the price when the derivative is created, not

when it is exercised.

Cox App. lla. Thus, by acquiring a put with a fixed price, an

insider can obtain the same short-swing profit that it could by

selling stock. Although these two events are equivalent, one

event (the traditional sale) was a Section 16(b) sale under pre-

1991 law and the other (the acquisition of the fixed price put)

was not.

The SEC amended its rules in 1991 to address this dis-

parity. Cox App. at lla. Specifically, the amended rules

provide that the establishment of a put equivalent position

(such as a put with a fixed exercise price)'' “‘shall be deemed

a sale of the underlying securities for purposes of section

16(b).’” Cox App. at 1la-12a (quoting 17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-

6(a)). In contrast, under SEC Rule 16b-6(b), the exercise of

an option at its fixed price is not a Section 16(b) sale, since its

establishment has already been recognized as a sale. 17

C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(b).

The SEC applied these rules and their underlying policy

rationale to the March 2000 Put to determine that its March

'' Rule 16a-1(h) defines a “put equivalent position” as “a derivative

position that increases in value as the value of the underlying equity

decreases... .” 17 C.F.R. 240.16a-1(h). As the SEC noted, a put with a

fixed exercise price comes within this definition because it “increases in

value as the price of the underlying stock decreases because the spread

between the market price and the fixed exercise price increases.” Cox

App. 12a.

11

28, 2000 establishment was the only Section 16(b) sale attrib-

utable to the Put. The SEC first explained that, under its

rules, a hybrid put instrument such as the March 2000 Put

was equivalent to two puts: a fixed put and a separate

floating put:

In this case, the March 2000 [Put] presented [Cox]

with [a] put[] with a fixed price of $48 paired with

[a] put[] with a floating price based on a specified

market average.

Cox App. at 13a (emphasis added).

The SEC then determined that because the hybrid Put’s

exercise price was solely its $48 fixed price, the Put’s estab-

lishment constituted the sole deemed Section 16(b) “sale”

under Rules 16b-6(a) and (b):

In January 2001, with the market price far below

$48, the defendants chose to exercise their puts at

the fixed price. The opportunity to abuse inside

information existed only at the time the fixed

exercise price was set. . . . Because the fixed price

was used in this case, the establishment of the puts

is when the six month trading period should begin.

Cox App. 13a (emphasis added).

D. The Second Circuit Affirms The District Court.

Consistent with the SEC Amicus Brief and the deference to

be accorded to the agency that administers a statutory

provision,’~ the Second Circuit likewise determined that the

March 2000 Put was a “‘hybrid option,’ because [its] pricing

formula ha[d] both fixed and floating components” (Pet. App.

4a), and was cognizable as a Section 16(b) sale solely on

March 28, 2000 (Pet. App. 8a).

'2 See generally Chevron U.S.A. v. Natural Res. Def. Council, 467 U.S.

837 (1984).

12

The Second Circuit explained that two regulations com-

pelled this result, Pet. App. 8a. First, Rule 16b-6(a) provides

that “the establishment of ... a put equivalent position shall

be deemed a sale of the underlying securities for purposes of

section 16(b) ....” 17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(a) (emphasis

added). Second, Rule 16b-6(b) provides that “the disposition

of underlying securities at a fixed exercise price due to the

exercise of a put equivalent position shall be exempt from the

operation of section 16(b) ....” 17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(b)

(emphasis added).

The Second Circuit concluded that, “[rjead together, the

two rules treat the acquisition date of a put as the only sale

date if the option is ultimately exercised according to a fixed

price mechanism.” Pet. App. 8a (italics in original; underline

added). Therefore, the Second Circuit ruled that because the

March 2000 Put was exercised solely at its $48 per share

fixed price, the deemed sale occurred only on March 28,

2000, when the Put was established, and not on the later

exercise date. Accordingly, the Second Circuit affirmed the

District Court’s decision that the Bondholders failed to plead

matching Section 16(b) transactions by Cox. Pet. App. 8a-9a.

Ill. REASONS THAT THE PETITION SHOULD

BE DENIED

There is no reason for the Court to grant certiorari in this

case. Rule 10(c), on which the Bondholders rely in their

petition (Pet. at 2), provides that this Court may grant a writ

of certiorari to address an “important question of federal law

that has not been, but should be, settled by this Court.” Sup.

CT. R. 10(c) (emphasis added). For the multiple independent

reasons set forth below, there is no such question of federal

law present in this case.

13

A. There Is No Circuit Split Or Issue Of

Widespread Application In This Case

Demanding The Court’s Attention.

First, the Court need not grant certiorari because there is

no circuit split involving any issue presented in this case; the

Second Circuit is the only Court of Appeals to have addressed

these issues.'* Moreover, the District Court (citing three

prior district court decisions) and the SEC (in its Amicus

Brief) agreed with the Second Circuit that the Bondholders’

Section 16(b) claims should be dismissed. In contrast, the

Bondholders fail to cite a single case tit supports reversing

the Second Circuit’s ruling, and there is none.

Second, by the Bondholders’ own admission, this case does

not involve issues of widespread application to which this

Court should devote its scarce judicial resources. Throughout

the course of this litigation the Bondholders have taken great

pains to argue that the March 2000 Put was entirely different

from any other instrument, and that rules applicable to other

hybrid derivatives thus could not be applied to it:

= “{T]his was no run of the mill put.” Compl. § 44,

Pet. App. at 49a.

=" “[P]recedent ... simply does not ‘work’ when

applied to the unique instrument at issue here

....” Appellant’s Br. at 24 (emphasis added).

"= The March 2000 Put is different from “any

instrument in any other reported case of which we

are aware....” Appellant’s Br. at 37.

' In fact, as explained in Section C below, the principal disagreement

at this point seems to be between the position that the Bondholders

adopted in their Complaint and argued below (i.e., that there was one

Section 16(b) sale occurring after exercise of the Put), and the belatedly

devised and inconsistent position that they now scek to press before this

Court (i.e., that there were two Section 16(b) sales).

14

* “This is not a typical put.” Transcript of October

17, 2005 Oral Argument Before The Second

Circuit (“Tr.”) at 10. See also id. at 4 (the Put was

“a unique instrument’).

Although respondents believe the Bondholders’ assertions

regarding the uniqueness of the March 2000 Put are exagger-

ated, it is clear that the resolution of the issues in this case

will hardly have “widespread application.” In fact, there have

been only a handful of published opinions dealing with

hybrid derivative securities under Section 16(b) in the history

of the statute. For these reasons and on the additional

grounds set forth below, this Court should deny the petition.

B. The Second Circuit Correctly Determined

That The Only Section 16(b)-Sale Oc-

curred On The March 2000 Put’s Estab-

lishment Date.

This. Court also need not grant certiorari because the

decisions of the courts below were correct. Specifically, in

affirming the dismissal with prejudice of petitioner’s Section

16(b) claim against Cox, the Second Circuit reached a con-

clusion that is fully consistent with (i) the controlling stat-

ute and regulations, (ii) the relevant regulatory policy, and

(iii) the SEC’s Amicus Brief submitted to the Second Circuit

supporting the dismissal of the Bondholders’ Complaint.

First, the Second Circuit’s decision to affirm the District

Court is mandated by the relevant SEC regulations. At the

outset, the Second Circuit properly concluded that the March

2000 Put was a hybrid option with both a $48 per share fixed

component and a separate floating market price component.

Pet. App. 4a. Below, the Bondholders essentially argued that

the Put contained “no real fixed-price component” because, if

market conditions had been different, the Put might have been

exercised at a higher floating price for a lower number of

shares due to its consideration cap. In properly rejecting

15

this argument as “erroneous” (Pet. App. 4a-5a), the Second

Circuit stated:

The prospect of a higher exercise price does not

mean that there is no fixed-price component; the

prospect of a higher exercise price [through the

floating component] is what makes the option a

“hybrid” in the first place.

Pet. App. 5a, n.2 (emphasis added).

Based on this determination, the Second Circuit then cor-

rectly applied the SEC’s regulations to the fixed and floating

components of the hybrid as, in effect, separate instruments

contained within the March 2000 Put. Because the March

2000 Put contained a fixed price component, the Second

Circuit necessarily concluded that it was a “put equtvalent

position,”’* which is a form of “derivative security.”’” Pet.

App. 8a & n.3.

The Second Circuit then examined the SEC rules per-

taining to derivative securities. SEC Rule 16b-6(a) provides

that, in light of the recognized equivalence between deriv-

'* As the Second Circuit noted, the SEC’s definition of put equivalent

position (Rule |16a-1(h)) “specifically covers put options such as those

involved in this case” because through the “locked-in sale price” provided

by the March 2000 Put’s fixed price component, Cox “realized profit

as At Home [stock] declined in price.” Pet. App. 8a, n.3; 17 C.F.R.

§ 240.16a-1(h) (“put equivalent position” includes “derivative security

position that increases in value as the value of the underlying equity

decreases”).

' The Bondholders argued below that the March 2000 Put was ex-

cluded from the definition of “derivative security” because it had an unex-

ercised floating price component. This contention is meritless. “Rule

16b-6(a)(6) only ‘excludes those securities without a fixed exercise

price.’” Oz Masterfund, 2001 WL 7670i3 at *9 n.14 (quoting 1991

Release) (emphasis added). Thus, a hybrid (like the March 2000 Put),

“which contains a fixed exercise price, would fall within the definition of

‘derivative security.’” Jd.

16

ative positions and their underlying equity securities (see

1991 Release, 56 Fed. Reg. at 7250), “the establishment of or

increase in a put equivalent position ... shall be deemed a

sale of the underlying securities for purposes of section 16(b)

of the Act.” 17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(a). In contrast, Rule 16b-

6(b) provides that, to avoid double liability:

the disposition of underlying securities at a fixed

price due to the exercise of a put equivalent

position [such as a fixed put option] shall be exempt

from the operation of section 16(b)....

17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(b) (emphasis added).

The Second Circuit correctly determined that these rules

“decide the case”: (i) the establishment of the Put’s fixed

price component on March 28, 2000 was a sale under Rule

16b-6(a); (ii) the exercise of the fixed price component in

January 2001 was a non-event under Rule 16b-6(b); and

(i11) the mere existence of the floating price component did

not lead to any Section 16(b) event because it was never exer-

cised. See Pet. App. at 8a. See also 1991 Release, 56 Fed.

Reg. at 7253 (rules require “the floating price derivative

security” to be exercised to constitute a Section 16(b) event).

Thus, the Second Circuit properly determined that, because

the Put’s “floating price [component] did not affect the

calculation of the exercise price, the section 16(b) sale in this

case occurred only with the acquisition of the [Put] ... [on]

March 28, 2000.” Pet. App. 8a (emphasis added).

Second, the Second Circuit’s decision is fully consistent

with the policy rationale underlying the SEC’s regulations.

The Bondholders’ proposed approach below of treating the

exercise (rather than the establishment) of the fixed price

component of the March 2000 Put as the relevant Section

16(b) event would reopen a loophole that the SEC closed with

its 1991 revisions to its Section 16(b) rules. Under the

Bondholders’ approach (and the law prior to 1991), an insider

with knowledge of an impending release of negative in-

17

formation could avoid Section 16(b) liability entirely by:

~ (i) acquiring a hybrid put with a fixed component on Day |

(a non-event under the Bondholders’ approach); (ii) pur-

chasing stock on Day 2 after the stock price had fallen (a non-

matchable purchase under the Bondholders’ approach); and

(iii) waiting six months to exercise the fixed component of

the hybrid put at the higher price (a non-matchable sale under

the Bondholders’ approach). Although the insider would wait

six months to exercise the put at its fixed price, the insider

could be certain of the put’s fixed exercise price (and the

existence of a locked-in profit) as of Day 1. Prior law,

however, treated the exercise of the put as the relevant sale.

Current law—Rules 16b-6(a) and (b)}—dictates that only

the put’s establishment is deemed a sale. These rules reflect

the SEC’s 1991 determination that the primary potential for

abuse of an option with a fixed price component occurs at its

establishment. Pet. App. 7a (“As to options with fixed price

components, the SEC is of the view that the greatest risk of

short-swing profiteering arises at the point in time nearest the

establishment of the option.”’).

This is in contrast to a purely floating price option, which

as the District Court explained, does not allow its holder to

lock-in a profit until it is exercised, and accordingly is not

treated as a Section 16(b) event until it is exercised. See Pet.

App. 22a (“This type of option does not pose a risk of insider

trading at the time of its creation because it does not lock in a

price that may profitably diverge from the market price (i.e.,

once the inside information reaches the market).”).

The below chart illustrates an insider’s ability to insulate a

short-swing profit from Section 16(b) liability under the

approach that the Bondholders advocated in the courts below.

The chart’s shaded cells indicate the matching transactions

that are present under the SEC rules and the Second Circuit’s

18

holding, but are absent under the Bondholders’ proposed

treatment of hybrid options below.'®

Opportunity For Abuse Created By Bondholders’ Position

Date Event Bondholders’ | Second

Position Circuit

Below Classification

Day Insider learns | Non-event. Matchable

one of an Th Sale at $100 a

; e

el ht: Bondholders share.

price decrease | i snorethe _'| Rule 16b-6(a)

from existing ces

$100 market acquisition of | treats the

; the fixed establishment

so ond component. of the put as a

enters into allt

hybrid

fixed/floating

put at the

greater of

$100 a share

or a floating

market price.

The Stock price Non- Matchable

next drops to $50.a | Matchable Purchase at

day share, and the | Purchase at $50 a share.

insider buys $50 a share. The insider is

stock at that liable for a $50

price. per share

profit.

'® Because the insider in the above scenario exercises the hybrid put

solely at its fixed price component, the same result occurs regardless of

whether the put contains a restriction (as the March 2000 Put did) on total

consideration that would limit the number of shares that could be sold at

the (irrelevant) floating price.

19

Date Event Bondholders’ | Second

Position Circuit

Below Classification

Six Insider Non- Non-event.

months | exercises put | Matchable As noted

and right and sells | Sale at $100 above, a short-

one the stock a share. swing profit

da originally rae already is

hae bought at $50 _ — recoverable.

evades Section

for the $1002 | 1604) liability | The fixed

mare mae because the price exercise

price, making purchase and _ | is a non-event

a $50 per sale are over under Rule

share profit. six months 16b-6(b).

apart.

Because the Bondholders have no answer for the loophole

that would be created by the position that they took in the

courts below, they now simply have abandoned that position

and replaced it with their new “dual sale” argument. That

argument asserts that the March 2000 Put should be treated as -

a sale both on its establishment date and on the last day of the

irrelevant floating component’s market pricing window. See

Pet. at 9, 11 n.4. As established in Section C, however, the

Bondholders’ new “dual sale” argument was not properly

raised below (and thus cannot be considered) and, in any

event, is directly contrary to SEC rules.

Third, the Second Circuit’s decision is in accord with the

SEC’s interpretation of its regulations in its Amicus Brief.

Courts are “bound by the SEC’s interpretations of its

regulations in its amicus brieffs], unless they are ‘plainly

erroneous Or inconsistent with the regulations.’” Press v.

Quick & Reilly, Inc., 218 F.3d 121, 128 (2d Cir. 2000) (citing

Auer v. Robbins, 519 U.S. 452, 461-63 (1997).). Thus,

20

because the SEC reached the correct result consistent with its

regulations, the Bondholders’ petition should be denied.

C. The Bondholders Present No Valid Basis

To Reverse The Second Circuit.

Certiorari should also be denied because the Bondholders

have failed to present any basis for reversal of the Second

Circuit and District Court’s opinions.

First, as this Court has repeatedly held, a petition for

certiorari should not be granted where a petitioner bases its

argument on a contention not raised below. See, e.g., City of

Springfield, Mass. v. Kibbe, 480 U.S. 257, 258 (1987) (dis-

missing writ as impgovidently granted, where petitioner advo-

cated position before the Supreme Court it did not press

below); see also Davenport v. Harry N. Abrams, Inc., 249

F.3d 130, 132 (2d Cir. 2001) (party cannot assert on appeal an

argument that it failed to raise in the district court).

Here, the lynchpin of the Bondholders’ request for certio-

rari is their new “dual_sale” approach, whereby they claim

the Put should be treated as a Section 16(b) “sale” both on its

establishment date (March 28, 2000) and fifteen days after its

exercise when the irrelevant floating component’s market

pricing window closed (February 2, 2001). Pet. at 9, 11 n.4.

Ignoring their own Complaint and their arguments below, the

Bondholders now assert that they “argued [this dual ap-

proach] to the Second Circuit.” Pet. at 9.

To the contrary, the position that the Bondholders took in

their Complaint'’ and consistently argued in their briefs

'” See Compl. §j 69, Pet. App. 58a (February 2, 2001 end of the floating

component’s market pricing window “was equivalent to a ‘sale’ by Cox”

of At Home common stock).

21

before the District Court'® and Second Circuit’? was that the

March 2000 Put was a Section 16(b) sale solely on or after its

exercise. For example, in their reply brief before the Second

Circuit, the Bondholders contended:

Only fifteen days after Cox ... gave notice to

AT&T of [its] intent to exercise the option did this

instrument become a derivative security and a ‘sale’

occur under Section 16(b).

Appellant’s Reply Br. at 9 (emphasis added); see also id. at

12 (“[{T]he Court should hold that ... the ‘sale’ occurs . . . in

this case [on] February 2, 2001.”) (emphasis added). Indeed,

at oral argument before the Second Circuit, the Bondholders

expressly disavowed that the establishment of the March

2000 Put could be a sale:

If your Honors go back and look at our complaint,

the one thing that is crystal clear is we said |the

Put’s establishment] was not a sale. There was no

event under 16(b) until after [Cox] gave notice [of

exercise].

Tr. at 36 (emphasis added).

Consistent with these representations, the Second Circuit’s

opinion recounts that the Bondholders “argue[d] that, for the

purposes of section 16(b), the sale date was the exercise

date” of the March 2000 Put. Pet. App. 5a (emphasis

'® See Pet. App. 26a (reflecting that the Bondholders “argue[d] that [the

district court] should ... treat the [Put] as a purely floating derivative”

cognizable as a sale only on its exercise date).

' See Appellant’s Br. at 2 (asserting that “the district court erred . . . in

holding that a Section 16(b) sale ‘first’ occurred when the Put ... was

created”); see also Appellant’s Br. at 21 (second cause of action is rele-

vant only “[i]f contrary to the facts and logic, this Court finds that a

Section 16(b) sale occurred in March 2000, and not in February 2001”).

22

added).”° In their certiorari petition, however, the Bond-

holders do not even acknowledge that they made this

argument below, and instead claim that they argued the dual

sale approach “to the Second Circuit.” Pet. at 9.

In any event, even if the Bondholders were somehow

deemed to have raised the “dual sale” argument before the

Second Circuit, that_argument—only hinted at for the first

time on appeal months after full briefing and oral argument in

a supplemental reply letter brief’'—would still have come far

too late to be considered by this Court. See Davenport, 249

F.3d 132-33 (“argument [wa]s not properly asserted” because

litigant “never argued [it] in district court”); Cioffi v. Averill

Park Cent. Sch. Dist. Bd. of Educ., 444 F.3d 158, 169 (2d Cir.

2006) (new argument raised for the first time in reply brief

was untimely and deemed waived). Accordingly, certiorari

should be denied. City of Springfield, Mass. v. Kibbe, 480

USS. at 258.

Second, even if it had been properly raised (which it was

not), the Bondholders’ new “dual sale” argument fails on the

20 Because the Bondholders asserted that there was only one sale, the

Second Circuit noted that “[i]f the section 16(b) sale occurred as of the

granting of the [March 2000 Put], it is undisputed that At Home’s short-

swing [profit] claim fails as to Cox.” Pet. App. 5a (emphasis added).

*! Specifically, the Bondholders mentioned a “dual sale” only in a

single passage in a letter to the Second Circuit replying to the SEC Amicus

Brief. See Bondholders’ Letter dated March 3, 2006 (“Reply Letter Br.”).

That letter never argued that the Second Circuit should adopt a “dual sale”

position, but simply noted—incorrectly—that “[njothing in the SEC’s

[brief] precludes a finding here” that two sales might be recognized. See

id. at 4. Rather, the Bondholders’ letter unequivocally took the position

that “the sale occurred on February 2, 2001, when the price and number of

shares subject to the [Put] were set for the first time.” /d. at 2 (emphasis

added). Given the Bondholders’ failure to properly raise their new “dual

sale” argument, the Second Circuit correctly elected not to address that

argument in its decision. See Pet. App. 5a (recounting that the Bond-

holders argued that “the sale date was the exercise date”).

23

merits. As explained in Section B above, the fixed price

exercise of the Put did not lead to a “sale” under the SEC’s

regulations. See 17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(b). Moreover, the

SEC itself has twice rejected the dual sale approach the

Bondholders now propose: first in its 1991 regulations,

which treat a fixed price exercise as a non-event (i.e., Rules

16b-6(a) and (b)), and second in its Amicus Brief to the

Second Circuit that concluded that the March 2000 Put can

only be recognized as a sale on its March 28, 2000

establishment date (Cox App. 13a-14a).”

Third, the Bondholders are flatly wrong in asserting that

the March 2000 Put should be treated as a sale on its exercise

date because supposedly “the risk of speculative abuse with

respect to the Put .. . dramatically increased” over time. Pet.

at 11. As the Second Circuit and SEC found (and as demon-

strated above in Section B), for. options with fixed price

components (such as the Put), “the greatest risk of short-

swing profiteering arises at the point in time nearest the

establishment of the option,” at which time corporate insiders

with non-public information can use the hybrids to lock-in

guaranteed profits. See Pet. App. 7a. This locked-in profit is

not dependent upon the passage of time, but rather exists

regardless of the option’s exercise date.

” The Bondholders’ “dual sale” approach to the fixed price exercise of

the March 2000 Put must be distinguished from the issue of a two-step

profit calculation for a hybrid exercised at a floating price (an issue not

present here). As noted above, the Bondholders’ “dual sale” approach,

which would treat both the establishment and exercise of the fixed price

component of a hybrid put as a Section 16(b) sale, violates Rule 16b-6(b).

That rule mandates that the “the closing of a derivative security position

as a result of its exercise ... shall be exempt from the operation of”

Section 16(b). 17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(b). On the other hand, the SEC

rules do not forbid a two-step profit calculation for the exercise of a

hybrid’s floating component, and in addition to the District Court in this

case, at least one other court has suggested that a two-step approach may

be applied in such circumstances. See Schaffer, 280 F. Supp. 2d at 140.

24

The Bondholders ignore this locked-in profit and instead

present a complicated Rube Goldberg scenario that purport-

edly demonstrates this “increased potential for speculative

abuse.” Specifically, the Bondholders posit that an insider

might: (1) enter into a hybrid put at a $48 fixed price or a

floating market price; (2) wait ten months for the put to be

exercisable under its terms; (3) receive information that a

company will (a) announce news that will make its stock

price drop to $24 a share, and then (b) announce additional

news that will make its stock price rise above $24 a share;

(4) exercise the put at the $48 per share price after the release

of the bad information; (5) buy back the stock sold through

the put at a lower market price; and (6) benefit from an in-

crease in the price of stock from the anticipated appre-

ciation of the stock. See Pet. at 11.

In fact, this hypothetical does not demonstrate any

increased potential for speculative abuse between the Put’s

establishment and its exercise. Rather, the SEC regulations

that dictate how derivatives are treated reflect the SEC’s

careful balancing of the risks posed by these instruments.

Because the hybrid put in the example is exercised at its fixed

price, and its floating component never comes into play, an

insider could accomplish the same effect as in the scenario

above through a purely fixed price put. By design, as

explained above in Section B, SEC Rules 16b-6(a) and (b)

treat the establishment of such a fixed price put as a sale and

its exercise as a non-event. See 17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(a) &

(b). Because a hybrid put exercised at its fixed price presents

the same potential for abuse as a purely fixed price put, it

makes perfect sense that such a hybrid should be treated the

same way as a purely fixed price put."

3 In addition, this convoluted scenario would not allow an insider to

circumvent Section 16(b). Section 16(b) by design only covers “short

swing” profits, i.e. those obtained from a matching purchase and sale

within a period of less than six months. Because the establishment of a

25

Fourth, the Bondholders’ assertion that the March 2000

Put should be treated as a sale in 2001 because its hybrid

pricing mechanism purportedly did not allow Cox to “hedg[e]

and speculat[e]” until close to the Put’s exercise date (Pet. at

10-11) is nonsensical and entirely misapprehends the purpose

of Section 16(b). Section 16(b) is aimed at preventing insid-

ers from making profits from the misuse of inside information

regarding known future price movements. See 15 U.S.C.

§ 78p(b) (statute is “[flor the purpose of preventing the unfair

use of information which may have been obtained” by insid-

ers); Kern County Land Co. v. Occidental Petroleum Corp.,

411 U.S. 582, 591 (1973) (prior to enactment of Section

16(b), “[i]nsiders could exploit information not generally

available to others to secure quick profits”).

Section 16(b) is not aimed at preventing insiders from

hedging against unknown risks, or from protecting themselves

from price swings that a stock price might take (i.e., situations

where an insider has no inside information), as the Bond-

holders imply. Because any locked-in profit from inside

information is known when a hybrid derivative (such as the

Put) is established, SEC rules treat derivatives with fixed

exercise prices as Section 16(b) events on the date of their

establishment, and not later based on their alleged potential to

“hedge” against unknown market developments. See 17

C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(a) & (b).

fixed price put — equivalent to a simple sale, Rule 16b-6(a) treats that

establishment as a sale. The Bondholders’ hypothetical posits a 10 month

waiting period from the establishment of the fixed price option (step one)

until the alleged matching purchase (step five), and thus by definition

does not involve a matching purchase and sale within a period of less than

six months. Moreover, the profit from the difference between the reduced

purchase price (in step five) and the anticipated higher price (in step six)

would be captured by Section 16(b) if the insider realized that profit by

selling at the higher price within six months of the purchase.

26

Finally, the Bondholders’ contention that the Second Cir-

cuit employed a “hindsight” approach when it held that the

March 2000 Put was a sale as of March 28, 2000 (Pet. at 12)

is wholly misguided.” In fact, the Second Circuit applied

Rule 16b-6(a) to the establishment of the Put (to conclude

that it was a sale), and separately applied Rule 16b-6(b) to the

subsequent fixed price exercise of the Put (to conclude that it

was an exempt non-event under Section 16(b)). See Pet. App.

8a. No “hindsight” at all was involved in this analysis. The

Second Circuit did not hold that the March 2000 Put only

became a sale in March 2000 when it was exercised at a fixed

price in January 2001 (as the Bondholders suggest). Rather,

it concluded that it was a sale on the date of its establishment

because that is when the profit opportunity was locked-in.

CONCLUSION

WHEREFORE, respondents Cox Communications, Inc.

and Cox @Home, Inc. respectfully request that the Bond-

holders’ petition for a writ of certiorari be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL D. HAYS *

MICHAEL D. ROTHBERG

DANIEL D. PRICHARD

Dow LOHNES PLLC

1200 New Hampshire Avenue

Washington, D.C. 20036

* Counsel of Record (202) 776-2000

August 30, 2006

*4 The Second Circuit’s holding is also correct for a number of inde-

pendent reasons not reached by the Second Circuit’s opinion. Among

other things, there was no matching Section 16(b) “purchase” of At Home

stock and no purchase or sale of At Home securities would be cognizable

under the unorthodox transaction doctrine. See Cox Appellate Brief at

45-55.

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

ee

No. 05-0115-CV

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX@HOME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS AND DAVID M. WooprRow,

Defendants-Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of New York

BRIEF OF THE SECURITIES AND

EXCHANGE COMMISSION, AMICUS CURIAE,

SUBMITTED AT THE REQUEST OF THE COURT

BRIAN G. CARTWRIGHT

General Counsel

JACOB H. STILLMAN

Solicitor

ERIC SUMMERGRAD

Deputy Solicitor

ALLAN A. CAPUTE

Special Counsel to the Solicitor

Securities and Exchange Commission

100 F Street, NE

. Washington, D.C. 20549-8010

(202) 551-5122 (Capute)

2a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ....sssesssssssssnsseseeees nennigcas al

a os l

0 EI TT ROE SCO CE em RR 2

SETS RA a eon Se Rt ae 4

I. THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE PUTS IN

MARCH 2000 CONSTITUTED A SALE OF

AT HOME STOCK FOR PURPOSES OF

a 4

Il. THE MAY 2001 AGREEMENT TO

CANCEL THE FIXED PRICE PUTS WAS A

PURCHASE FOR SECTION 16(b)

I I sipbasicitadhish sacalesheneshbstcaginesnalenhall Vadathah sai gh iu 9

Ilt} COMCAST’S ACQUISITION OF THREE

CABLE COMPANIES THAT OWNED AT

HOME WARRANTS WAS NOT A

PURCHASE OF THE WARRANTS FOR

PURPOSES OF SECTION 1600) ...2..<cccooseosesoneseevones 10

IV. THE “UNORTHODOX TRANSACTION

DOCTRINE” IS INAPPLICABLE TO THE—

TRANSACTIONS IN THIS CASE ...... eee 15

V. CONTROLLING DEFERENCE IS OWED

BY THE COURT TO THE COMMISSION’S

REASONABLE INTERPRETATIONS OF

SECTION 16(b) AND RELATED COMMIS-

NE wiitcbiasulaiidiniconnahsesabilianminauanssnaliiiiglcetnee 16

A. This Court and the Supreme Court Have

Repeatedly Held that a Court Is Bound

by an Agency’s Reasonable Interpretations

of Its Own Regulations Provided in an

DTI ssintnbscinsnttissiuciasesstenatecketatastailas 16

3a

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

B. This Court Should Accord Chevron Def-

erence to Interpretations of the Federal

Securities Statutes Provided in Commis-

BI I 18

EBL rae NTE ee ear RTD SRL NNO FOS 27

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE WITH F.R.A.P.

32(A)

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE WITH LOCAL

RULE 32(a)(1): BRIEFS IN DIGITAL FORMAT

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

4a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Alaska Dept. of Environmental Conservation v.

py BR Bk | RR eens een 22

American Standard, Inc. v. Crane Co., 510 F.2d

ee Ie cheiniieithsntcensbitneessanabiniinianteiibutininrabinins 12

At Home Corporation v. Cox Communications, et

al., 340 F. Supp. 2d 404 (S.D.N.Y. 2004) .....00 ee. 2

Auer v. Robbins, 519 U.S. 452 (1997).......ccccceeeeeees 17, 18

Barnhart v. Walton, 535 U.S. 212 (2002) ......... yp ee

Bowen v. Georgetown Univ. Hospital, 488 U.S.

Fe EE Bicciicidiscincvibntnccediciamtadeaedibictiiiacencemieabitaitedeiniainads 17

Bowles v. Seminole Rock & Sand Co., 325 U.S.

410 (1945)............... nckaitinatninbieidsiiameatieaniisaiieneis 17,18

Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources

Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 .

SID cistern secebaiesiiesesileisicaiiiadiiiamiansnaales 18, 19, 20, passim

Christensen v. Harris County, 529 U.S. 576

i aieiccsiistedeiisoueihbaneiiesieanmisendeetsadjabidadstememeinicibemaiees 20, 22

Community Health Center v. Wilson-Coker, 311

2 gerd Le Te. . SORE ei erie aeweee 23

Dabit v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,

Inc., 395 F.3d 25 (2d Cir.), cert. granted, 126

ee Ts | ARR ers ee ere 20, 23

DeMaria v. Andersen, 3\8 F.3d 170 (2d Cir.

Se ciesesiciinotindeticinssveiceinlaleachiddiidik meta litacabelactaeiaia alg 17

Drake v. FAA, 291 F.3d 59 (D.C. Cir. 2002).............0+ 18

Ecarnacion v. Barnhart, 331 F.3d 78 (2d Cir.

PIA ccladasinitcciaiicthiedaailsctneiicdieddaataaaiicdidaiiidimmesidiaie 18

In re Enterprise Mortgage Acceptance Co., LLC,

Securities Litigation, 391 F.3d 401 (2d Cir.

SITE Ph ssiccciarcesbhcied-cicshndiliechedaibensibeshiphiteidalaiotabeiotshaididalaman 20, 23

Foremost-McKesson, Inc. v. Provident Securities

eis ee i hccitictnsnsinaadeindiicdecipieteniagaaal 13

Gollust v. Mendell, 501 U.S. 115 (1991).............0...cee0e 13

Sa

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Gryl v. Shire Pharmaceuticals Group PLC., 298

ge Te oe me | RE es seen wean: 25

Kern County Land Co. v. Occidental Petroleum

Corp., 411 U.S. 582 (1973) ............. 11, 12, 14, passim

LaFleur v. Whitman, 300 F.3d 256 (2d Cir. 2002)........ 18

Levy v. Southbrook International Investments,

Lid., 263 F.3d 10 (2d Cir. 2001)..........ceeeeeeseeeees 17, 25

Martin v. Occupational Safety & Health Rev.

ae a, Be ie Baile eterierctensnicncesnnenionions 18

National Cable & Telecommunications Assoc. v.

Brand X Internet Services, U.S. _, 125%.

te a i dinctdtacncetisdiastakccicitecnicbemedeindeipeeeancesncsnetneint 19

In re New Times Securities Services, Inc., 37}

Fe Cc eT ahinicicdnccidecsktntnendaiisenuvetpsniesin 24, 26

Press v. Quick & Reilly, Inc., 218 F.3d 121 (2d

I hisisditlenhicaibstinmeutuciiaesimmichipketab tigen cipal 17

Reliance Electric Co. v. Emerson Electric Co..,

We I I i 12, 13

SEC v. American Board of Trade, Inc., 751 F.2d

See Tic SIE seeosisesennsonksciasemnsbonhauicuibeihaaseintenbdinmes 14

Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134 (1944)......000.... 19

Taylor v. Vt. Dep. of Educ., 313 F.3d 768 (2d

8 RSE Artie ero oe ay Pe AsO el DOERR IP 18

United States v. Mead Corp., 533 U.S. 218

a ae 20, 22

Washington State Dept. of Social and Health

Servs. v. Guardianship Estate of Keffeler, 537

RE 8 er _ | ERRaRa, HUN ALOU OE eek CON eee 22

Yoder v. Orthomolecular Nutrition Institute, Inc..,

Fe ae ree Ce Gs WD cccnecsvcnsdeccisinioesbicsiteiaiaaoiunic 14

Yourman vy. Giuliani, 229 F.3d 124 (2d Cir.

6a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

COMMISSION RELEASES Page

Notice of Proposal to Adopt a Rule Exempting

from the Operation of Section 16(b) Certain

Acquisitions and Dispositions of Securities

Pursuant to Mergers or Consolidations,

Exchange Act Rel. No. 4696, 17 Fed. Reg.

3177, 1952 SEC LEXIS 63 (April 9, 1952) ............. i3,

Ownership Reports and Trading By Officers,

Directors and Principal Securities Holders,

Exchange Act Rel. No. 28869, 56 Fed. Reg.

FONE ecg SO nviietitcientioimnana 4,5, 18

STATUTES AND RULES

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. 78a,

et seq.

Octet HA), 15 CBA. FR ccvtencessctetinsenensctenkecabenon 15

Section 3(a)(10), 15 U.S.C. 78c(a)(10) ...... eee 14

Section 3(a)(13), 15 U.S.C. 78c(a)(13) .............. 10, 14

Section 16(b), 15 U.S.C. 78p(b)............. 1,2, 3, passim

Rules Under the Securities Exchange Act of

1934, 17 C.F.R. 240.01, et seq.

Rule 16a-1(c), 17 C.F.R. 240.16a-1(C) 00... ceeeeeesreeees 5

Rule 16a-1(c) (6), 17 C.F.R. 240.16a-1(c) (6)............. 7

Rule 16a-1(h), 17 C.F.R. 240.16a-1()....... ce eeeeeeees 5

Rule 16a-9, 17 C.F.R. 240.16a-9..................cccccssseeees 25

Rule 160-10, 17 C.F.R. 240. 16m 1G .....cccccccsveseceseacsess 25

Rule 16a-11, 17 C.F.R. 240. 16a-11 ...........ccccesseserceres 25

Rule 16a-12, 17 C.F.R. 240. 160-12...........ccccccccccesseees 25

Rule 160-13, 17 C.F.R. 240. 16a-13 ....cscsccccccsescscccessss 25

Rule 166-1, 17 C.F.R. 240. 16D-1 ........csccccorscsessvesenees 25

Rule 160-2, 17 C.F RR. SOO Te sevssvesesessstestcnsteneeins 25

Rule 160-3, 17 CPR. DOG AGS ccccccscstiscrenisivgniin 25

Rule 16b-4, 17 C.F.R. 240. 16b-4 oo. eeceeeeeeeee 25

Rule 160-5, 17 C.F. ZAG TGS cscsscccecscsetecssnsioonsoces 25

Ta

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

STATUTES AND RULES (Continued) Page

Rule 16b-6, 17 C.F.R. 240. 166-6 ...........cccccseeseeseeeee 25

Rule 16b-6(a), 17 C.F.R. 240.61 b-6(4)............cc0ee0ee 5,9

Rule 16b-6(b), 17 C.F.R. 240.61b-6(b) ......... cc eeeeceeees 6

Rule 16b-6(d), 17 C.F.R. 240.16b-6(d) ..............000. 8,9

Rule 16b-7, 17 C.F.R. 240.16b-7 ............ccceccececeeeeeee 25

Rule 160-6, 17 CFR. 240. 1GB-B oo. ..ccccscoscsccceveececeeeee 25

MISCELLANEOUS

David S. Ruder, Address: The Development of

Legal Doctrine Through Amicus Participation:

The SEC Experience, 1989 Wis. L. Rev. 1167 —

RAE RE Cid osuusonubororphoevesseveotonté 26

H.R. Rep. No. 1383, 73d Cong., 2d Sess. 13

ns cnesionentoorsornvenerveds 13

Request for Commission Amicus Participation in

a Pending Case, http://www.sec.gov/litigation/

DLISTS/ AMNICUSTEDUCSE. NAIM .......0cecrcerervererrsesecescoseseerooees 26

8a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

a

No. 05-01 15-cv

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX@HOME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS AND DAVID M. WooprRow,

Defendants-Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of New York

BRIEF OF THE SECURITIES AND

EXCHANGE COMMISSION, AMICUS CURIAE,

SUBMITTED AT THE REQUEST OF THE COURT

INTRODUCTION

The Securities and Exchange Commission submits this

brief as amicus curiae in response to a request by the Court.

This action was brought by At Home Corporation (“At

Home,” “issuer,” or “plaintiff’) under Section 16(b) of the

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C.. 78p(b), to

recover alleged short-swing profits obtained by insiders of At

Home. The complaint alleges that defendants—Cox Commu-

nications, Inc., Comcast Corporation and their affiliates—

sold and then purchased, or purchased and sold, At Home

9a

equity securities’ within six months. The defendants are

alleged to have acted as a group that owned more than 10

percent of At Home securities, and thus to be statutory

insiders of At Home. The suit seeks recovery of profits the

defendants allegedly realized on these short-swing trades. The

district court dismissed plaintiff's Section 16(b) claims. See

At Home Corporation v. Cox Communications, et al., 340 F.

Supp. 2d 404 (S.D.N.Y. 2004). The Commission agrees with

the district court that defendants are not liable under Sec-

tion 16(b).

BACKGROUND

At Home was founded by a number of cable companies in

March 1995 to provide cable-based internet access to

customers (Compl. 418). On March 28, 2000, the defendants,

Cox and Comcast, entered into a letter agreement with AT&T

(“agreement”) in which Cox and Comcast acquired, re-

spectively, a put to sell to AT&T up to $1.4 billion and $1.5

billion in At Home shares. Under the terms of the agree-

ment, Cox and Comcast could sell each share for the higher

of (1) $48 or (2) a floating average market price at the time of

exercise (A-133; Compl. 445).

Defendants notified AT&T of their intention to exercise

their puts on January 11, 2001. At that time, At Home’s

shares were selling for an average $7.72 per share (Compl.

453). Accordingly, defendants’ notices to AT&T stated that

the defendants “assumed” that the purchase price would be

$48 per share (A-165, 168). AT&T did not want the shares.

AT&T and the defendants entered into a new agreement on

May 18, 2001 whereby the defendants canceled their puts in

exchange for 155.3 million shares of AT&T stock worth

$3.43 billion (Compl. 956).

The plaintiff alleged that Cox and Comcast sold At Home

shares for purposes of Section 16(b) on January 11, 2001,

when they provided notice of their intent to exercise the

10a

puts.’ This was within six months of the May 18, 2001

agreement to rescind the puts, which plaintiff contended was

a purchase of At Home securities The district court agreed

that the rescission was a purchase, but held that the earlier

sale occurred on March 28, 2000, when the puts were

established, so that the sale and purchase took place more

than six months apart, and were thus not subject to Section

16(b).

The plaintiff alternatively claimed that if the sale occurred

on March 28, 2000, Comcast made matching purchases when,

between January and August 2000, it acquired three cable

companies that held At Home securities. The district court

dismissed this claim, holding that these indirect acquisitions

were not cognizable transactions under Section 1 6(b).

The plaintiff appealed, and this Court has sent a letter to

the Commission inviting it to answer five questions. We

address those questions in order.

ARGUMENT

I. THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE PUTS IN

MARCH 2000 CONSTITUTED A SALE OF AT

HOME STOCK FOR PURPOSES OF SECTION

- 16(b).

The Court asks “[w]hether the establishment of the puts on

March 28, 2000 constituted a sale of At Home securities for

purposes of section 16(b) * * *.” It did. Before 1991, the

purchase or sale of securities underlying a derivative security

occurred on the exercise of the derivative, rather than upon its

creation. In 1991, the Commission noted that this left “open a

significant potential for short-swing abuse in trading de-

rivative securities.” Ownership Reports: and Trading By

' Alternatively, the plaintiffs contended that the sales occurred on Feb-

ruary 2, 2001, at the end of the 30 day period for determining if the fixed

rate or the floating rate was higher.

lla

Officers, Directors and Principal Securities Holders, Ex-

change Act Rel. No. 28869, 56 Fed. Reg. 7242, 7250 (Feb.

21, 1991). In that release, the Commission offered the fol-

lowing example:

[A]n insider with knowledge of a positive material

development, to be announced shortly, determines

that while he wants to retain his existing equity

position, he wants to take advantage of the infor-

mation, so he purchases issuer warrants. After the

public announcement and rise in the stock price the

insider sells his common stock, obtaining a short-

swing profit, knowing that he can replace the shares

at a predetermined price since he holds the war-

rants. Under the former rules, he could simply wait

six months and a day to exercise the warrants so the

profit would not be subject to section 16(b) and not

recoverable by the company.

Id. at 7250. Likewise, an insider who knows of impending

negative information can negotiate a fixed price put, enabling

it to sell, after the negative information is released and the

‘ price falls, at the higher price. The insider unfairly uses the

inside information by fixing the price when the derivative is

created, not when it is exercised.

In 1991, the Commission amended the rules so that the

acquisition of a “derivative security” is also considered the

acquisition of the underlying securities for purposes of

Section 16(b). “[D]erivative security” was defined to mean

“any option, warrant, convertible security, stock appreciation

right, or similar right with an exercise or conversion privilege

at a price related to an equity security, or similar securities

with a value derived from the value of an equity security

** *” Rule 16a-1(c), 17 C.F.R. 240.16a-1(c). Rule 16b-6(a),

17 C.F.R. 240.16b-6(a), provides:

Tne * * * establishment of or increase in a put

equivalent position or liquidation of or decrease in a

12a

call equivalent position shall be deemed a sale of

the underlying securities for purposes of section

16(b) of the Act * * *.

A “put equivalent position” is defined by Rule 16a-1(h), 17

C.F.R. 240.16a-1(h), to mean “a derivative security position

that increases in value as the value of the underlying equity

decreases, including, but not limited to, a long put option and

a short call option position.” A put with a fixed exercise price

increases in value as the price of the underlying stock

decreases because the spread between the market price and

the fixed exercise price increases.

On the other hand, a floating price linked to the market

price does not have that attribute. The 1991 rules draw a

sharp distinction between fixed and floating prices. The

Commission explained that “[rlights without a fixed exercise

price do not provide an insider the same kind of opportunity

for short-swing profit since the purchase price is not known in

advance.” Ownership Reports, Exchange Act Rel. No. 28869,

56 Fed. Reg. at 7252. The Commission stressed that “[t]he

opportunity to lock in a profit begins when the exercise price

is fixed; at that time, the right becomes a derivative security

subject to section 16.” /d. Conversely, the later exercise of a

derivative at its previously fixed price is exempt from Section

16(b) and has no Section 16(b) consequences. See Rule 16b-

6(b), 17 C.F.R. 240.16b-6(b).

On the other hand, the Commission explained that:

[A] right with a floating exercise price is not

required to be reported and will not be deemed to

be acquired or purchased, for section 16 purposes,

until the purchase price of the underlying security

becomes fixed or established, which commonly

occurs at exercise. Thus, a right to purchase an

equity security is deemed acquired as of the date

the exercise or conversion price becomes fixed, and

the dcquisition, absent an exemption, would be

13a

matchable for section 16(b) purposes with a dispo-

sition within six months of the fixing of the price.

56 Fed. Reg. at 7253. “The primary potential for abuse [of

inside information] arises at the time of exercise for a floating

price derivative security because only at exercise is the price

fixed and, therefore, the extent of the profit opportunity

defined.” Thus, “[b]y treating the exercise of the floating

price derivative security as the ‘acquisition’ of the underlying

security, the rules mitigate the incentives for insiders to abuse

their informational advantage.”

In this case, the March 2000 agreement presented the

defendants with puts with a fixed price of $48 paired with

puts with a floating price based on a specified market

average. In January 2001, with the market price far below

$48, the defendants chose to exercise their puts at the fixed

price. The opportunity to abuse inside information existed

only at the time the fixed exercise price was set. If inside

information is learned only after the fixed price is set, the

information cannot be abused in later exercising at the fixed

price. Because the fixed price was used in this case, the

establishment of the puts is when the six month trading period

should begin. The district court correctly concluded that the

establishment of the puts in March 2000 constituted a sale of

At Home stock under Section 16(b).

Plaintiff nevertheless argues that the hybrid security should

be treated as a floating price derivative security, as though

there were no fixed component. The cornerstone of plaintiff's

contention 1s that, “in contrast to any other instrument in any

other reported case of which we are aware, the only fixed

component at issuance was not the number of shares or price

per share, but the total consideration to be paid by the

* This is reflected in Rule 16a-1(c)(6), 17 C.F.R. 240. 16a-1(c)(6),

which excludes from the definition of a “derivative security” “[r]ights

with an exercise or conversion privilege at a price that is not fixed.”

l4a

grantor of the option (AT&T).” (Appellant’s Brief p. 37

(emphases in original)). Thus, “[t]he only fact that all the

parties to the Put knew on March 28, 2000 was that AT&T

would pay a total of approximately $2.9 billion, but the

number of shares and the price per share could not be known

until after notice was given and the stock market determined

the final price”(Appellant’s Brief p. 37-38).

The district court correctly rejected this argument, pointing

out that “[t]he specified maximum overall price of $2.9

million, when combined with the specified minimum per-

share price of $48, dictated that defendants could sell, at

most, 60.4 million shares.> Thus the initial agreement did

limit the number of shares which AT&T would be required to

buy.” 340 F. Supp. 2d at 410 (emphasis in original).*

ll, THE MAY 2001 AGREEMENT TO CANCEL

THE FIXED PRICE PUTS WAS A PURCHASE

FOR SECTION 16(b) PURPOSES.

The Court next asks whether the May 18, 2001 agree-

ment—in which the defendants agreed not to exercise their

puts—was a purchase for purposes of Section 16(b). The

district court held that it was a purchase but that, since it

occurred more than six months after the sale on March 28,

2000, the plaintiff's first claim should be dismissed. That is

correct.

> Since both the total and per share prices were fixed, the number of

shares with respect to the fixed price component was fixed.

* Plaintiff also argues that the holding of the district court is unwork-

able in cases when the insider exercises a hybrid put at the floating rate

because it would require there to be a second sale of the same underlying

securities: “There could not be a ‘second’ sale, because according to the

district court, all of the shares were deemed sold on March 28, 2000 at

$48 per share * * *” (Appellant’s Brief p. 37). This is incorrect. Where an

insider exercises a hybrid put at the floating price, the fixed price put

expires on an cxempt basis by virtue of Rule 16b-6(d). The underlying

shares become available for a different sale.

Ry: |

Under Rule 16b-6(a) the “liquidation of or decrease in a

put equivalent position shall be deemed a purchase of the

underlying security for purposes of section 16(b) * * *.” The

May 2001 agreement explicitly cancelled what had been the

defendants’ put equivalent position. Rule 16b-6(d), 17 C.F.R.

240.16b-6(d), provides that “{t]he disposition or closing of a

long derivative security position, as a result of cancellation or

expiration, shall be exempt from section 16(b) of the Act

where no value is received from the cancellation or expira-

tion” (emphasis added). This agreement does not qualify for .

that exemption since Cox and Comcast did receive value in

exchange for agreeing to forgo the right to exercise their puts.

Defendants nonetheless contend that “[a]fter the March

2000 Put was exercised on January 11, 2002, there was no

put to ‘cancel’” and that the “[c]ourts uniformly have held

that ‘once an option is exercised, the option itself ceases to

exist and an enforceable bilateral contract is formed.’” (Brief

of Appellee Cox p. 45 (emphases in original); see also Brief

of Appellee Comcast pp. 38-39). Defendants’ argument

places semantics over substance: while the defendants gave

notice of their intent to exercise the puts, they never, in fact,

followed through and transferred any shares to AT&T.

Ill. COMCAST’S ACQUISITION OF THREE

CABLE COMPANIES THAT OWNED AT

HOME WARRANTS WAS NOT A PURCHASE

OF THE WARRANTS FOR PURPOSES OF

SECTION 16(b).

This Court’s third question is “[w]hether Comcast’s

acquisition of three cable companies that owned warrants to

purchase shares of At Home stock in January, March and

August 2000 should be characterized as a § 16(b) purchase of

At Home securities.” Under Count II of their complaint,

plaintiff urges that if, arguendo, as Comcast contends, the

creation of the put in March 28, 2000 constituted a ‘sale’ for

purposes of Section 16(b), then that sale can be matched with

l6a

Comcast’s acquisition of the warrants, which took place

within six months of March 28, 2000 (Appellant’s Brief pp.

44-46; See also Compl. § 74).° The plaintiff argues that

“purchase,” as defined by Section 3(a)(13) of the Exchange

Act, 15 U.S.C. 78c(a)(13), includes “any contract to buy,

purchase, or otherwise acquire” and that this definition is

broad enough to include the purchase of another company

that, in turn, owns securities of the issuer (Appellant’s Brief

pp. 44-46).

The district court held that these transactions are not within

the scope of Section 16(b) because the acquisition of the

warrants was an incidental part of acquisitions of the three

companies. Without deciding whether this amounted to a

“purchase” of securities for purposes of Section 16(b), the

court held (340 F. Supp. 2d at 411):

‘In deciding whether borderline transactions are

within the reach of the statute, the courts have come

to inquire whether the transaction may serve as a

vehicle for the evil which Congress sought to pre-

vent—the realization of short-swing profits based

upon access to inside information.’ Kern County

Land Co. v. Occidental Petroleum Corp., 411 U.S.

582, 594 [ ] (1973). We can conceive of situations

where an insider could acquire one company simply

(or mainly) to obtain its interests in the subject

company, as when the acquired company has few

other assets or exists for the sole purpose of trading

in shares of the subject company. However,

plaintiff has failed to plead any facts giving rise to

such a possibility here.

The district court was correct to find that this sort of

indirect acquisition in a change-in-control transaction typic-

ally does not fall within the scope of Section 16(b). The

> There are no allegations against Cox in Count II.

17a

district court, however, incorrectly resolved the issue by use

of Kern. The Kern Court held that a transaction that literally

falls within the scope of Section 16(b) may, nevertheless, be

excluded from the section if, on the facts of the case, it does

not present a risk of speculative abuse. While the defendant in

Kern was a greater than 10% owner of stock in the issuer, it

also was an unsuccessful hostile tender offeror. To the Court,

the critical factors in excluding the defendant from liability

under Section 16(b) were that the defendant was forced to sell

pursuant to a merger agreement, whose terms it did not

negotiate, and, as a hostile tender offeror, the defendant did

not have access to inside information. See Kern, 411 U.S. at

597-98. This Court has read ‘Kern to require that the insider

not have access to inside information and/or have no control

over the terms of the transaction or its occurrence. See

American Standard, Inc. v. Crane Co., 510 F.2d 1043, 1054

(2d Cir. 1974). Here, defendant Comcast does not meet either

of those criteria, and we believe Kern does not apply.

This case calls for a different approach. The acquisition of

At Home warrants here was an indirect consequence of a

change-in-control transaction. In general (although there can

be exceptions, as we discuss below), this sort of indirect and

incidental acquisition should be presumed not to be a

“purchase” for purposes of Section 16(b), since it is not the

sort of transaction Congress was concerned about. The

Supreme Court has stated that “‘the only method Congress

deemed effective to curb the evils of insider trading was a flat

rule taking the profits out of a class of transactions in which

the possibility of abuse was believed to be intolerably great.’”

Kern, 411 U.S. at 592 (quoting Reliance Electric Co. v.

Emerson Electric Co., 404 U.S. 418, 422 (1972)). As the

Commission explained long ago, a six-month period was

chosen because that “arbitrary period” was thought “as

roughly marking the distinction between short swing spec-

ulation and long term investment.” Notice of Proposal to

Adopt a Rule Exempting from the Operation of Section 16(b)

18a

Certain Acquisitions and Dispositions of Securities Pursuant

to Mergers or Consolidations, Exchange Act Rel. No. 4696,

17 Fed. Reg. 3177, 1952 SEC LEXIS 63 (April 9, 1952).

Because Section 16(b) can be harsh in imposing strict

liability, “Congress itself limited carefully the liability

imposed by §16(b).” Foremost-McKesson, Inc. v. Provident

Securities Co., 423 U.S. 232, 252 (1976).° “When Congress

has so recognized the need to limit carefully the ‘arbitrary and

sweeping coverage’ of §16(b) * * * courts should not be

quick to determine that * * * Congress intended the section to

cover a particular transaction.” /d. at 252 (citations omitted).

See also Gollust v. Mendell, 501 U.S. 115, 122 (1991); H.R.

Rep. No. 1383, 73d Cong., 2d Sess. 13 (1934).

An insider who seeks to profit from inside information

typically will engage in a purchase or sale in the issuer’s

securities, and then engage in an opposite-way transaction

when the information becomes public, and the securities’

price is affected. A change in control, however, is typically

motivated by a desire to acquire control of a company. It also

involves complex negotiations, and many strategic corporate

considerations, and often involves regulatory review and

approval. While it is not beyond possibility that an acquiror

would tailor a change in control transaction to obtain short-

swing profits from insider trading, it is certainly not going to

be a common scenario. Good faith change in control trans-

actions are not ones “in which the possibility of abuse [is]

intolerably g eat,” Kern, 411 U.S. at 592.

The plaintiff nonetheless argues that these acquisitions

literally meet the words of the definition of “purchase” in

Section 3(a)(13) of the Exchange Act. However, the prefatory

language to the Exchange Act definitions states that they

apply “[w]hen used in this title, unless the context otherwise

© See also Gollust v. Mendell, 501 U.S. 115, 122 (1991); Reliance

Electric Co. v. Emerson Electric Co., 404 U.S. at 422-25.

19a

requires.” Section 3(a), 15 U.S.C. 78c(a) (emphasis added).

This Court has “recognized the importance of this introduc-

tory phrase in certain situations.” Yoder v. Orthomolecular

Nutrition Institute, Inc., 751 F.2d 555, 559 (2d. Cir. 1985).

For example, Section 3(a)(10) of the Exchange Act, 15

U.S.C. 78c(a)(10), excludes from the definition of “security”

“any note * * * which has a maturity at the time of issuance

of not exceeding nine months, exclusive of days of grace, or

any renewal thereof the maturity of which is likewise lim-

ited.” In spite of this language, which would seem to exempt

all notes of any quality, so long as of proper duration, this

Court has long held, citing the conteat clause, that the exemp-

tion does not apply “literally,” but only applies to notes that

are the equivalent of commercial paper. See, e.g., SEC v.

American Board of Trade, Inc., 751 F.2d 529, 538 (2d Cir.

1984) (Friendly, J.).

Employment of the context clause is likewise appropriate

here. As discussed above, Section 16(b) is a strict liability

statute. The purpose of the provision must be taken into

account when construing the Section 3(a) definitions of

“purchase” and “sale” with respect to Section 16(b). Since a-

change in control transaction will rarely be used to engage in

insider trading in securities held as an asset by the acquired

company, this sort of indirect acquisition should presump-

tively be deemed not to be a purchase for purposes of Section

16(b) (or a sale by the prior owners of the company). We say

“presumptively” because, as the district court noted, there

may be circumstances where an insider uses the acquisition of

another entity as a subterfuge in order to acquire underlying

securities. The plaintiff, however, should bear the burden of

pleading and proving that this indirect acquisition was such

an exception, something the plaintiff has not done here.’

’ This does not mean, as might be thought, that Section 16(b) would

cease to be a strict liability statute. It is a strict liability statute with respect

to short-term transactions that are properly deemed purchases and sales

20a

IV. THE “UNORTHODOX TRANSACTION DOC-

TRINE” IS INAPPLICABLE TO THE TRANS-

ACTIONS IN THIS CASE.

This Court next asks “[w]hether the Kern ‘unorthodox

transaction’ doctrine supports the District Court’s dismissal

of either of the relevant claims.” As discussed in the prior

section, we do not believe that the doctrine should be

expanded to apply, as the district court did, to the claim based

on indirect acquisition of At Home warrants in three change

of control transactions.

Separately, Cox argues that dismissal of plaintiff's first

cause of action should be affirmed because “[a]s in Kern

County, AT&T ‘undoubtedly knew more about’ At Home

than Cox at the time of the alleged ‘purchase’ and ‘sale’”

(Brief of Appellee Cox pp. 54-55, citing Kern County, 411

U.S. at 602). While this might be true, it is not a basis for

applying Kern, which this Court has read to require lack of

access to inside information and/or a forced transaction,

neither of which existed here.

V. CONTROLLING DEFERENCE IS OWED BY

THE COURT TO THE COMMISSION’S REA-

SONABLE INTERPRETATIONS OF SECTION

16(b) AND RELATED COMMISSION RULES.

The Court asks “[w]hat deference, if any, this Court owes

the positions the SEC adopts in its amicus curiae brief.” This

actually presents two questions: (1) what deference is owed to

the Commission’s construction of its own rules in an amicus

brief; and (2) what deference is owed to the Commission’s

construction of the federal securities statutes provided in an

amicus brief.

for purposes of the statute. The inquiry here is whether a purchase was

involved.

2la

A. This Court and the Supreme Court Have

Repeatedly Held that a Court Is Bound by an

Agency’s Reasonable Interpretations of Its

Own Regulations Provided in an Amicus Brief.

The deference accorded by the courts to the Commission’s

interpretations of its own rules in an amicus brief is settled

law. This Court has repeatedly held that it is “‘bound by the

SEC’s interpretations of its regulations in its amicus brief,

unless they are ‘plainly erroneous or inconsistent with the

regulation[s].”” DeMaria v. Andersen, 318 F.3d 170, 175 (2d

Cir. 2003) and Levy v Southbrook International Investments,

Ltd., 263 F.3d 10, 14 (2d Cir. 2001) (both cases quoting Press

v. Quick & Reilly, Inc., 218 F.3d 121, 128 (2d Cir. 2000)).

Accord Yourman v. Giuliani, 229 F.3d 124, 128 (2d Cir.

2000) (deferring to an interpretation of regulations submitted

in an amicus brief by the Secretary-of Labor). In Bowles v.

Seminole Rock & Sand Co., 325 U.S. 410, 414 (1945), the

Supreme Court first established the principle that an agency’s

interpretation of one of its own regulations commands sub-

stantial judicial deference such that the agency’s interpre-

tation “becomes of controlling weight unless it is plainly

erroneous or inconsistent with the regulation.”

More recently, the principle was reinforced in Auer v.

Robbins, 519 U.S. 452 (1997), where petitioner complained

that an agency’s interpretation of a regulation came in the

form of an amicus brief. The Supreme Court declared, “[t]hat

does not, in the circumstances of this case, make it any less

worthy of deference” because the agency’s “position is in no

sense a ‘post hoc rationalizatio[n]’ advanced by [the] agency

seeking to defend past agency action against attack” 519 U.S.

at 462 (quoting Bowen v. Georgetown Univ. Hospital, 488

U.S. 204, 212 (1988)). “There is simply no reason to suspect

that the interpretation does not reflect the agency’s fair and

considered judgment on the matter in question.” Jd. See also

22a

Barnhart v. Walton, 535 U.S. 212, 217 (2002) (reaffirming

Auer). As this Court has explained:

[W]e recognized that an agency’s interpretation of

its own regulations is entitled to considerable defer-

ence, irrespective of the formality of the procedures

used in formulating the interpretations. See Taylor

v. Vt. Dep. of Educ., 313 F.3d 768, 779-80 (2d Cir.

2002) (citing Auer v. Robbins [,supra, at 461));

LaFleur v. Whitman, 300 F.3d 256, 277 (2d Cir.

2002)). We defer to an agency’s interpretation of

its own regulations because we ‘presume that the

power authoritatively to interpret [the agency’s]

own regulations is a component of the agency’s

delegated lawmaking powers.’ Martin v. Occu-

pational Safety & Health Rev. Com’n., 499 US.

144, 151 [] (1991).

Ecarnacion v. Barnhart, 331 F.3d 78, 86 (2d Cir. 2003).° In

light of the well established law in the Supreme Court and

this Court, the Commission’s interpretations of its rules

expressed in this brief are binding, unless they are plainly

erroneous or inconsistent with the regulations.

B. This Court Should Accord Chevron Deference to

Interpretations of the Federal Securities Stat-

utes Provided in Commission Amicus Briefs.

The Court also owes controlling deference to the Com-

mission’s interpretation of the statute—Section 16(b)}—pro-

vided in this amicus brief: The analysis of this question

* There are three preconditions for applying Bowles or Auer deference:

the language of the regulation in question must be ambiguous; there must

be no reason to suspect that the interpretation docs not reflect the agency s

fair and considered judgment on the matter in question; and the agency’s

reading of its regulation must be fairly supported by the text of the

regulation itself. Drake v. FAA, 291 F.3d 59, 68 (D.C. Cir. 2002)

(citations omitted).

23a

begins with Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources De-

fense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984). As the Supreme

Court has recently summarized:

In Chevron, this Court held that ambiguities in stat-

utes within an agency’s jurisdiction to administer

are delegations of authority to the agency to fill the

statutory gap in reasonable fashion. Filling these

gaps, the Court explained, involves difficult policy

choices that agencies are better equipped to make

than courts. 467 U.S., at 865-866, 81 L. Ed. 2d 694,

104 S. Ct. 2778. If a statute is ambiguous, and if

the implementing agency’s construction is reason-

able, Chevron requires a federal court to accept the

agency’s construction of the statute, even if the

agency’s reading differs from what the court be-

lieves is the best statutory interpretation. /d. at 843-

844, and n. 11, 104 S. Ct. 2778.

National Cable & Telecommunications Assoc., v. Brand X

Internet Services, _U.S. _, 125 S.Ct. 2688, 2699 (2005).°

For an agency interpretation to receive Chevron deference,

the agency must have been entrusted by Congress with

authority to interpret the statute, the statute must be am-

biguous and subject to interpretation, and the agency’s inter-

pretation must be a reasonable one. The term “purchase” as

applied to Section 16(b) is ambiguous. Congress has en-

trusted the Commission with responsibility for resolving

ambiguities in light of the purpose of the statute. Section

16(b) provides that “[t]his subsection shall not be construed

” Prior to Chevron, the Court held in Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S.

134 (1944), that the “rulings, interpretations and opinions of” an agency

that do not constitute an exercise of lawmaking authority, “while not

controlling upon the courts by reason of their authority, do constitute a

body of experience and informed judgment” which are “entitled to

respect” to the extent they are persuasive. /d. at 140.

24a

to cover * * * any transaction or transactions which the

Commission by rules and regulations may exempt as not

comprehended within the purpose of this subsection.” As this

shows, Congress did not believe Section 16(b) was self-

explanatory and vested the Commission with authority to

identify the purpose of the statute and identify transactions

which do not contravene the section’s purpose. '

The Commission has generally done that through rule-

making. However, rulemaking is not a prerequisite for the

Commission’s views to be accorded Chevron deference.

While earlier cases focused on the formality of an agency

decision, such as whether it was the product of notice and

comment rulemaking or of an adjudication, see Christensen v.

Harris County, 529 U.S. 576, 587 (2000), more recent cases

have focused on whether the interpretation is the product of

authoritative agency consideration. In United States v. Mead

Corp., 533 U.S. 218 (2001), the Court addressed the level of

deference to be accorded to Customs Service tariff classi-

fications contained in “letter rulings.” The court held that

“administrative implementation of a particular statutory pro-

vision qualifies for Chevron deference when it appears that

Congress delegated authority to the agency generally to make

rules carrying thé force of law, and that the agency inter-

pretation claiming deference was promulgated in the exercise

'° In two recent cases, this Court declined to give Chevron deference to

Commission amicus briefs because the statutes at issue did not explicitly

look to the Commission to fill in interstices in the statutes. See Dabit v.

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 395 F.3d 25, 34 n.6 (2d Cir.),

cert. granted., 126 S. Ct. 34 (2005) (Mem.) (construing provision of Secu-

rities Litigation Uniform Standards Act preempting state law securities

fraud actions); Jn re Enterprise Mortgage Acceptance Co., LLC, Secu-

rities Litigation, 391 F.3d 401, 410 n.8 (2d Cir. 2005) (construing provi-

sion in Sarbanes-Oxley Act modifying statutes of limitation in private

securities lawsuits). Whatever the merit of those decisions as to those

statutes, this case involves a statute, Section 16(b), in which Congress

expressly delegated to the Commission that responsibility.

25a

of that authority.” /d. at 226-27. While the Court noted that

“the overwhelming number of our cases applying Chevron

deference have reviewed the fruits of noticeand-comment

rulemaking or formal adjudication,” the Court added:

That said, and as significant as notice-and-comment

Is in pointing to Chevron authority, the want of that

procedure here does not decide the case, for we

have sometimes found reasons for Cizevron defer-

ence even when no such administrative formality

was required and none was afforded.

Id. at 230-31. The Court held that “[t}he fact that the tariff

classification here was not a product of such formal process

does not alone, therefore, bar the application of Chevron,” Id.

at 231. The opinion, however, gives little conclusive guidance

as to what must be shown, since the Court held that the

authorities cited to it—letter rulings issued by 46 different

scattered Customs offices—were obviously not authoritative

agency positions. See id. 233.

The next year, however, in Barnhart v. Walton, 535 U.S.

212 (2002), the Court achieved some clarity by stating flatly

that an agency interpretation may be entitled to Chevron

deference even when it is neither the product of notice-and-

comment rulemaking nor has the force of law. The major

factor the Court looked to is the level of careful consideration

an agency has given the question. See 535 U.S. at 222. In

Barnhart the petitioner, whose application for benefits was

denied by the Social Security Administration, asked the Court

to disregard the agency’s interpretation found in recently

promulgated regulations. The Court noted that the interpre-

tation in fact was a “long standing” one and “the fact the

Agency previously reached its interpretation through means

less formal than ‘notice and comment’ rulemaking * * * does

not automatically deprive that interpretation of the judicial

deference otherwise due” under Chevron. 535 U.S. at 221

26a

(citations omitted). Then, turning its attention to the con-

fusion caused by Christensen and Mead, the Court stated:

If this Court’s opinion in Christensen * * * sug-

gested an absolute rule to the contrary, our later

opinion in United States v. Mead * * * denied the

suggestion. * * * Indeed, Mead pointed to instances

in which the Court has applied Chevron deference

to agency interpretations that did not emerge out of

notice-and-comment rulemaking. * * * It indicated

that whether a court should give such deference

depends in significant part upon the interpretative

method used and the nature of the question at issue.

535 U.S. at 221-222 (citations omitted).'' The Court went on

to conclude (id. at 222):

In this case the interstitial nature of the legal

question, the related expertise of the Agency, the

importance of the question to administration of the

statute, the complexity of that administration, and

the carefui consideration the Agency has given the

question over a long period of time all indicate that

Chevron provides the appropriate legal lens through

which to view the legality of the Agency interpre-

tation here at issue. * * *

'! As this makes clear, not every informal statement of agency position

is to be accorded Chevron deference. The Supreme Court has since

declined to accord such deference to internal agency guidance, such as

that “presented in internal guidance memoranda,” Alaska Dept. of Enviro-

nmental Conservation v. EPA, 540 U.S. 461, 487 (2004), and an internal

operating manual, Washington State Dept. of Social and Health Servs. v.

Guardianship Estate of Keffeler, 537 U.S. 371, 385 (2003). We believe

that the public position articulated here by the Commission itself, with the

deliberative process undertaken to reach its position and the explanation

of the reasons for that position, is more akin to the sort of articulations

contained in rulemaking than it is to internal guidelines.

27a

Later that year, this Court construed Barnhart to mean:

Less formal interpretations may also be entitled to

mandatory deference, depending upon to what ex-

tent the underlying statute suffers from exposed

gaps in its policies, especially if the statute itself is

very complex, as well as on the agency’s expertise

in making such policy decisions, the importance of

the agency’s decisions to the administration of the

statute, and the degree of consideration the agency

has given the relevant issues over time. See

Barnhart v. Walton, 535 U.S. 212, 122 S. Ct. 1265,

1272, 152 L. Ed. 2d 330 (2002).

Community Health Center v. Wilson-Coker, 311 F.3d 132,

138 (2d Cir. 2002).'*

The only statutory interpretation in this brief is whether

Section 16(b) applies to a transaction where an insider

acquires securities of an issuer indirectly by acquiring

ownership of a third party company which, in turn, owns

securities of the issuer. This is precisely the sort of question

that Congress directed the Commission to deal with. Section

'6(b) states that it will not apply to transactions which the

Commission exempts as not within the purpose of the statute.

Because the statute imposes strict liability, the Commission’s

role in determining when to exempt transactions is of critical

importance to application of the statute. Congress and the

Supreme Court have been clear that this is a statute which the

Commission should assure is not unduly broad. This is, in

short, precisely the sort of interstitial issue where Chevron

deference is due the Commission’s informal conclusions; “the

"2 In Dabit and Enterprise Mortgage, this Court later cited Mead for

the proposition that Commission views expressed in an amicus brief,

rather than a rule or regulation, cannot receive Chevron deference. That

position appears contrary to the Supreme Court’s decision in Barnhart

and this Court’s decision in Community Health Center.

28a

statute itself is very complex”, the Commission has long and

broad “expertise in making such policy decisions,” and “the

importance of the agency’s decisions to the administration of

the statute” is critical.

The only reason to consider not according conclusive

deference to the Commission’s position might be that it is not

a “long-standing” one. That, however, is only true in the

limited sense that the claim that the indirect acquisitions are

within the scope of Section 16(b) is itself an apparently novel

claim. The Commission should not have to envision every

novel claim that might be made under Section 16(b) and

analyze these hypothetical claims, before its views will be

deemed authoritative."

In a broader sense, moreover, the analysis here is closely

similar to the sort of analysis the Commission has repeatedly

engaged in for many years. The Commission has over the

decades analyzed which transactions do not present risk

within the purposes of Section 16(b).'* Consistent with its

rulemaking authority, the Commission has emphasized in

both rules and amicus briefs that liability should exist only in

situations where there is a real risk of insider trading.’

'3 In In-'re New Times Securities Services, Inc., 371 F.3d 68, 80-83 (2d

Cir. 2004), this Court appeared to recognize that a Commission amicus

brief might be entitled to Chevron deference, but declined to give it such

deference because of the Commission’s failure to previously address an

issue even though it was longstanding. The Court also noted the presence

of a competing view by an entity that administers the provision on a day

to day basis, and the relation of the Commission to that entity. None of

those facts exist in this case.

'4 See, e.g., Rules 16a-9 through 13 and 16b-1 through 16b-8, 17

C.F.R. 240.16a-9 to 16a-13 and 16b-1 to 16b-8.

'S See, e.g., Ownership Reports and Trading By Officers, Directors and

Principal Securities Holders, Exchange Act Rel. No. 28869, 56 Fed. Reg.

7242, 7252 (Feb. 21, 1991); Brief of the Securities and Exchange Com-

mission, Amicus Curiae, in Support of the Appellee on Issues Addressed,

at 23-24; Levy v. Southbrook International Investments, Ltd, 263 F.3d 10 -

29a

The Commission’s amicus position here satisfies the other

requirements for Chevron deference. It is the product of

careful consideration, and is the authoritative view of the

Commission itself, not merely staff views. The Commission’s

Office of the General Counsel posted to the Commission’s

Web site a statement regarding consideration of amicus

briefs. In relevant part, it states that after a request is made:

The Office of the General Counsel will review the

materials submitted and seek input from Divisions

and Offices of the Commission that may have an

interest in the case. In cases where further review is

appropriate, the staff generally will contact both

sides and offer them the opportunity to make fur-

ther submissions in writing, in person, or by tele-

phone. If the staff determines that amicus _partici-

pation is merited in a particular case, the Office of

the General Counsel will make a recommendation,

together with interested Divisions and Offices, to

the Commission. The Commission then considers

and votes on whether to accept the recommendation

and file a brief. This process can take a significant

amount of time.

Request for Commission Amicus Participation in a Pending

Case, posted at http://www.sec.gov/litigation/briefs/amicus

request.htm. Amicus briefs submitted by the Commission thus

represent the views of the Commission. See e.g., David S.

Ruder, Address: The Development of Legal Doctrine Through

Amicus Participation: The SEC Experience, 1989 Wis. L.

Rev. 1167 (1989). All of these steps were taken in this case.'°

(2d Cir. 2001); Brief of the Securities and Exchange Commission, Amicus

Curiae at 13-14, Gryl v. Shire Pharmaceuticals Group PLC., 298 F.3d

136 (2d Cir. 2002).

'® The Commission’s staff had detailed meetings with both sides’ coun-

sel, made further inquiries of them and received responses, and prepared a

detailed written analysis and recommendation. The Commission reviewed

30a

Even when denying deference to a Commission amicus brief

on other grounds, this Court has said it had “no reason to

doubt that the SEC’s interpretation was the product of careful

consideration.” Jn re New Times Securities Services, Inc., 371

F.3d at 82.

The statutory interpretation in this brief is an authoritative

and fully considered position by the Commission, which

reasonably construes an ambiguous statutory provision whose

interpretation was explicitly entrusted by Congress to the

Commission. We believe that the views expressed in this

brief are entitled to Chevron deference.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the district court should be affirmed and

the positions of the Commission urged above should be

adopted by the Court.

Respectfully submitted,

BRIAN G. CARTWRIGHT

General Counsel

JACOB H. STILLMAN

Solicitor

ERIC SUMMERGRAD

Deputy Solicitor

ALLAN A. CAPUTE

Special Counsel to the Solicitor

Securities and Exchange Commission

100 F Street, NE

Washington, D.C. 20549-8010

February, 2006 (202) 551-5122 (Capute)

the recommendation for three weeks, met and discussed it, and then voted

to authorize the brief. It also reviewed the brief itself.

3la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

No. 05-0115-cv

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX@HOmE, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS AND DAVID M. WooprRow,

Defendants-Appellees.

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE WITH F.R.A.P. 32(a)

I certify that THE BRIEF OF THE SECURITIES AND

EXCHANGE COMMISSION, AMICUS CURIAE, SUB-

MITTED AT THE REQUEST OF THE COURT complies

with the type-volume requirements of Rules 32(a)(7)(B) and

29(d) of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure (F.R.A.P.)

because it contains 6988 words. I further certify that this brief

complies with the typeface requirements of F.R.A.P. 32(a)(5)

and the type style requirements of F.R.A.P. 32(a)(6) because

it has been prepared in proportionally-spaced typeface using

WordPerfect (version 11) in garamond 14-point font size.

Allan A. Capute

Special Counsel to the Solicitor

Securities and Exchange Commission

100 F. Street, N.E.

Washington, D.C. 20549-8010

(202) 551-5122

32a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

No. 05-01 15-cv

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX@HOME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS AND DAVID M. WoopDRow,

Defendants-Appellees.

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE WITH LOCAL

RULE 2 °?(a)(1): BRIEFS IN DIGITAL FORMAT

I certify that THE BRIEF OF THE SECURITIES AND

EXCHANGE COMMISSION, AMICUS CURIAE, SUB-

MITTED AT THE REQUEST OF THE COURT, as

submitted in digital] format, has been scanned for viruses

using McAfee VirusScan version 8.0 with signature 4692 of

February 8, 2006 and that no viruses have been detected as

required by Local Rule 32(a)(1).

Allan A. Capute

Special Counsel to the Solicitor

Securities and Exchange Commission

100 F. Street, N.E.

Washington, D.C. 20549-8010

(202) 551-5122

33a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

No. 05-01 15-cv

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX@HOME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTs AND DAVID M. WoopRow,

Defendants-Appellees.

aa

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Allan A. Capute, am a member of the bars of Maryland

and the District of Columbia, and I hereby certify that on 9th

day of February, 2006, I caused to be served two copies of the

BRIEF OF THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COM-

MISSION, AMICUS CURIAE, SUBMITTED AT THE

REQUEST OF THE COURT, to counsel for the parties of

record at the address below, by overnight Federal Express:

Allan A. Capute

Counsel for the Plaintiff

Joseph S. Allerhand, Esq.

Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

767 Fifth Avenue

New York, New York 10153

34a

Counsel for Defandant Comcast Corporation

Sheron Korpus, Esq.

James T. Cain, Esq.

White & Case LLP

1155 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10036

Counsel for Defendant Cox Communications, Inc.

Michael D. Hays, Esq.

Daniel D. Prichard, Esq.

Dow, Lohnes & Albertson

1200 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

35a

APPENDIX B

SEC Rule 16b-6(b) (17 C.F.R. § 240.16b—6(b))

The closing of a derivative security position as a result of

its exercise or conversion shall be exempt from the operation

of section 16(b) of the Act, and the acquisition of underlying

securities at a fixed exercise price due to the exercise or

conversion of a call equivalent position or the disposition of

underlying securities at a fixed exercise price due to the

exercise of a put equivalent position shall be exempt from the

operation of section 16(b) of the Act: Provided, however,

That the acquisition of underlying securities from the exercise

of an out-of-the-money option, warrant, or right shall not be

exempt unless the exercise is necessary to comport with the

sequential exercise provisions of the Internal Revenue Code

(26 U.S.C. 422A).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.