Opposition Brief — At Home Corp. v. Cox Communications, Inc. (No. 06-147)

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

my Supreme Court, U.S. |

(a) FILED

| AUG 30 2006

No. 06-147

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Pet *‘ioner,

Vv.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX @HOME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS, AND DAVID M. Wooprow,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION ON BEHALF

OF THE COMCAST RESPONDENTS

MICHAEL S. SHUSTER *

SHERON KORPUS

JAMES T. CAIN

KASOWITZ, BENSON, TORRES

& FRIEDMAN LLP

1633 Broadway

New York, New York 10019

- (212) 506-1700

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Comcast

Respondents

cee a SEN A NR AN RE SN EE EEN INO PCO ON

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. ~ (202) 789-0096 = WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. With respect to a hybrid derivative security (i.e., one

permitting exercise at either a fixed or a floating exercise

price depending upon the market price of the underlying

equity security at the time of exercise), whether the courts

below properly ruled that the acquisition of the instrument

constitutes a Section 16(b) transaction in the underlying secu-

rity pursuant to 17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(a), and that the even-

tual exercise of the instrument pursuant to its fixed-price

component is a non-event for Section 16(b) purposes by

operation of 17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(b).

2. Whether the lower courts properly ruled that Com-

cast’s acquisitions of the shares of three cable companies are

not equivalent to Section 16(b) purchases of At Home war-

rants held by those companies in their investment portfolios

that can be matched to Comcast’s deemed sale of At Home

stock.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

No publicly-held corporation owns 10% or more of the

stock of Comcast Corporation. Comcast Online Commu-

nications, Inc. and Comcast PC Investments, Inc. certify that

Comcast Corporation is their corporate parent and that no

publicly-held corporation other than Comcast Corporation

owns 10% or more of their stock.

(ii)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF QUESTIONS

FE a ractcieriitinenisianentemrerninianieasinipaunvivnseniiiieateintn

Re CE FREE Et itecitcinteninnineinsimucinomiavmnnn

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION ON BEHALF OF THE-

COMCAST RESPONDENTG.............cccccssscersessssesrees

DEA TERETE OF TERS CASE. q.cccncsccricessesvernsonverinnvecvens

A. The Complaint And The District Court’s

PN ainsi eachabisahidatsdenaiscicicasaichaaeecimnseinny

B. The Second Circuit’s Decision And The seal S

pS RIE AR tO A eo PNT EEO A

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT.........0.0.......

I. ON COUNT I, THE SECOND CIRCUIT

CORRECTLY HELD THAT THE ACQUISI-

TION OF THE PUT OPTION WAS A

SECTION 16(B) SALE AND THAT ITS

SUBSEQUENT FIXED-PRICE EXERCISE

PP PEE © seitiohcdinnieinsctsesnishiteievintvciasneiiiasin

A. The Lower Courts Correctly Applied The

Rules Under Section -16(b) To The Put

PIT sic scsdsiusonssiecsitaisaisodaadeetidceniesbaaiabesateuaiiiel

B. The Arguments Presented In The Bond-

holders’ Peiition Do Not Identify Any

Error In The Lower Courts’ Application Of

TRO ADDICROIS RUIOS ...cccinescsccccscesccecrsecceesee

1. The Bondholders Improperly "aise A

New Argument In Their + “tiorari

SPs ss claiasshescbchaindehelibiniasasies iehassibioaceiies

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

2. The Bondholders’ Reliance On Rule

16a-1(c) Is Misplaced ...............cceeceeeeeee 12

3. The Bondholders’ Self-Defeating

“Market Reality’ And “Increased

Te IIS icnisciciisresissvcsnnvntinhaiitins 14

4. The Bondholders’ Spurious “Hind-

sight” Argument .................04 valeninssvetee 17

Il. ON COUNT IJ, THE LOWER COURTS

CORRECTLY DETERMINED THAT COM-

CAST’S PURCHASES OF CABLE COM-

-PANY SECURITIES COULD NOT BE

MATCHED TO ITS DEEMED SALE OF AT

SER PGEL THR RIPE D S0Ce isncicusidinsssmstiservinreedoeaniebosaeed 18

A. The Lower Courts Correctly Ruled That

The Challenged Transactions Fall Outside

The Scope Of Section 16(b) As Deter-

mined By The Statute’s Plain Language ..... 18

B. The Countertextual Reading Of Section

16(b) Advocated By The Bondholders

Would Create An Unprecedented Expan-

sion Of The Statute Far Beyond Its Literal

AMG INVENGOR SCOMC..0cesccssscesceressecsscncvissecenee 22

NEAT sinker doenvubeeneecesssintncadsncnismniveseveninndeciensaeees 25

FR REE, Pitas hinviacseinsnnionencitiartiecsyconsienstipeiaininonenens la

Pe IRIE OE sirkisn div thidcnisndaniesiinetoeinthevicespcibenaneiahiinnant 35a

(iv)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

American Standard Co. v. Crane Co,

510 F.2d 1043 (2d Cir. 1974)... eeeeeeeee 3, 19, 20

Burnette v. Carothers,

ER hae 1 ED, | sone ae

Cioffi v. Averill Park Cent. Sch. Distr. Bd. of Ed.,

GEG FFG USS GS CE, BOGGS) cccccccvsnncerevereecesonsoics

City of Springfield, Mass. v. Kibbe,

A nn I FD Laika diinetcbemirsubicencadeniticenedienay 11-12

Davenport v. Harry N. Abrams, Inc.,

Ee cle Be GE Gls BOE eenchcrnecennceninesinneoions

Gwozdzinsky v. Zell/Chillmark Fund, L.P.,

ee ed Pe Ee As BFF ivicsencecsctctctcnensectonns

Heublein, Inc. v. Gen. Cinema Corp.,

pp G Reo. fo 1: | een ere ne

Kern County Land Co. v. Occidental Petroleum

oe UME & 4. os | 21, 22

Mellon Bank N.A. v.United Bank Corp.,

re EO le Gi. BED eicsnsncscnerenesensiovevsincie

Reliance Elec. Co. v. Emerson Ele. Co.,

ee A DIE EEE vihcdsniiichiccinieisisntonincalnisctnnsoides

Schaffer v. CC Invs., LDC, 280 F. Supp. 2d 128

(S.D.N.Y.), recon. granted in part, No. 99-

2821, 2003 WL 22480052 (S.D.N.Y. Oct. 31,

Strauss v. Comcast Corp., 149 Fed. Appx. 15 (2d

pe aI il die ccciachais aadipnieatmep ndccboapicmiinestanceimiaiees

U.S. v. Ortiz, 422 U.S. 891 (1975).........ccccsecesseeees

STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND RULES

re ae 6, 12

ee a. 6, 13, 14, 16, 18

PR 0 i

a SRE SS eee Se arene ata 17, 19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

OTHER Page

Ownership Reports and Trading by Officers,

Directors, and Principal Security Holders,

Exchange Act Release No. 28,869, 1991 WL

re RS | ERR nen 7

(vi)

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 06-147

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

V.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX @HOME, iNC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATION, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENT, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS, AND DAVID M. WOODROW,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION ON BEHALF

OF THE COMCAST RESPONDENTS

In their petition for a writ of certiorari, petitioners,

representing former bondholders of the defunct At Home

Corporation (the “Bondholders”), challenge the dismissal of

two, alternative claims under Section 16(b) of the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934 (relating to “short swing” profits on

purchases and sales of securities by an issuer’s insiders, all as

defined). Each of these claims arises from the acquisition and

exercise of a hybrid derivative security’ (the “Put Option”)

' A “hybrid” derivative is a right to buy or scll a security that contains

both fixed and floating price components and is exercisable at one or the

other depending upon the terms of the instrument and the market price of

2

which gave Comcast’ the right to sell its At Home common

stock to AT&T Corp. at the greater of $48 per share or the

applicable thirty trading-day average market price of At

Home stock. For their first claim, the Bondholders challenge

the lower courts’ determination that Comcast’s acquisition of

the Put Option was equivalent to a sale of the underlying At

Home securities by virtue of Securities and Exchange

Commission (“SEC”) Rule 16b-6(a), and that Comcast’s sub-

sequent exercise of the Put Option at its fixed price

component was an exempt event under Rule 16b-6(b). For

their second claim, the Bondholders. argue that the lower

courts improperly ruled that Comcast’s deemed sale of Af

Home stock could not be matched to Comcast’s purchases

of the stock of three other cable companies whose securi-

ties portfolios happened to contain, among other things, At

Home warrants.

The Bondholders have failed to identify any reason for

granting certiorari in this case. There is no split of authority

among the circuit courts: the Second Circuit is the only court

of appeals to have applied Section 16(b) in the context of

hybrid derivative securities. No aspect of the Second Cir-

cuit’s decision touches upon any important federal question

that conflicts with relevant Supreme Court authority. With

respect to Count I of the Complaint, the Bondholders con-

tinuously maintained throughout this litigation that the Put

Option was different from “any instrument in any other

reported case” and that the analytical approach adopted in

the security. See Petitioncr’s App. A (Second Circuit opinion) at 4a (“The

Letter Agreement grants a ‘hybrid option’ because the pricing formula has

both fixed and floating components.”’); Petitioner’s App. B (district court

decision) at 23a (“The question presented . . . is how to apply § 16(b) to

options containing both a fixed and a floating component (‘hybrids’).”).

? Respondents Comcast Corporation, Comcast Online Communica-

tions, Inc., and Comcast PC Investments, Inc. are collectively referred to

herein as “Comcast.”

3

those cases “simply does not ‘work’ when applied to the

unique instrument at issue here.” Appellant’s Br. at 24, 37.

This Court has also previously denied certiorari with respect

to the very issue asserted in Count II, letting stand the Second

Circuit’s determination that Section 16(b) applies only to

single-issuer transactions. See American Standard Co. v.

Crane Co., 510 F.2d 1043 (2d Cir. 1974), cert den’d, 421

U.S. 1000 (1975). Indeed, though the Bondholders fail to

mention the fact in their petition, the Second Circuit issued its

decision after requesting an amicus brief from the SEC that

also concluded that these claims should be dismissed. In

truth, the only reason for this petition is that it represents the

Bondholders’ last chance at obtaining a windfall recovery

based on two novel theories of short-swing liability that have

been reviewed and rejected by the courts below and the SEC

as contrary to both the letter and the spirit of Section 16(b).

For these and the reasons discussed below, the Bondholders’

petition should be denied.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Complaint And The District Court’s Decision

In Count I of their Complaint, the Bondholders alleged that

Comcast’s purported exercise of the Put Option at its fixed

price component on January 11, 2001 constituted a Section

16(b) sale of the underlying At Home securities that could be

matched to a putative deemed “purchase” of At Home stock

on May 18, 2001 under the six-month short-swing profits

rules and regulations. See Complaint §{] 64—72 (Petitioner’s

App. G at 57a—59a). In Count II, the Bondholders alter-

natively alleged that Comcast’s acquisition of the Put Option

on March 28, 2000 constituted a deemed Section 16(b) sale of

the underlying At Home stock that could be matched not with

any actual or deemed purchase of At Home securities, but

rather with Comcast’s acquisitions of all of the outstanding

shares of three different cable companies which happened to

4

hold At Home warrants in their investment portfolios. See id.

{| 73-76 (Petitioner’s App. G at 59a).

Comcast moved to dismiss both counts for failure to state a

claim. The district court granted the motion with respect

to Count I on the grounds that, under the applicable SEC

rules, a Section 16(b) “sale” event occurs when a derivative

containing a fixed price component (such as the Put Option)

was established, and the subsequent exercise of the derivative

at that fixed price is an exempt (irrelevant) occurrence. See

Petitioner’s App. D at 25a—-26a. Consequently, the court held

that Count I failed to state a claim because more than six

months had elapsed between the “only conceivable purchase-

equivalent event” (the Put Option’s putative “cancellation” on

May 18, 2001) and the “only sale-equivalent event” alleged

(the Put Option’s establishment on March 28, 2000). See id.

at 25a. The district court dismissed Count II because: it

determined that Comcast’s purchases of the cable companies’

shares were not vehicles for speculating in the At Home war-

rants held by those companies in their investment portfolios

and thus fell outside the scope of Section 16(b). See id.

at 29a.

B. The Second Circuit’s Decision And The SEC’s

Amicus Brief

On appeal, the Second Circuit affirmed the dismissal of the

Bondholders’ claims. After oral argument but prior to render-

ing its decision, the Second Circuit solicited comment from

the SEC on the Bondholders’ novel Section 16(b) theories.

With respect to the issue presented in Count I, the SEC

reasoned that the establishment of the Put Option must

be deemed the operative Section 16(b) event because the

hybrid’s fixed price component presented an immediate

opportunity to abuse inside information, whereas the subse-

quent exercise of the option at the fixed price was exempt

under Rule 16b-6(b). See Comcast’s App. A at 13a. On

Count II, the SEC concluded that Comcast’s purchases of the

5

cable companies’ securities did not constitute purchases of At

Home securities within the scope of Section 16(b) because

“indirect and incidental acquisition[s]” pursuant to change of

control transactions are not vehicles for speculative insider

trading of the sort that Congress enacted the statute to

prevent. /d. at 17a.

As to Count I, the Second Circuit agreed with the SEC and

the district court that the Put Option was indeed a hybrid

derivative containing “both fixed and floating [price] com-

ponents.” Petitioner’s App. A at 4a. From this foundation,

the court held that Rules 16b-6(a) and (b) easily “decide[d]

this case” by their plain terms. /d. at 8a. Because the Put

Option contained a fixed price, Rule 16b-6(a) mandated that

the acquisition of the Put Option be considered a Section

16(b) sale of the underlying At Home shares; further, because

the Put Option was eventually exercised pursuant to its fixed

price component, that event was exempt by operation of Rule

16b-6(b). See id.

The Second Circuit also affirmed the district court’s dis-

missal of Count II, but on different grounds. The circuit court

found that the plain language of Section 16(b) precluded

matching transactions in the securities of more than one

issuer:

Section 16(b) speaks of matching transactions in the

equity securities of one issuer, and disgorging ‘any profit

realized . . . from any purchase and sale, or any sale and

purchase, of any equity security of such issuer.’ Use of

the singular (‘any equity security’ and ‘such issuer’)

supports an inference that a transaction in the equity

securities of one company [i.e., the cable companies]

cannot be matched with a transaction in the equity

securities of another [i.e., At Home].

Id. at 10a.

6

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. ON COUNT I, THE SECOND CIRCUIT COR-

RECTLY HELD THAT THE ACQUISITION OF

THE PUT OPTION WAS A SECTION 16(B)

SALE AND THAT ITS SUBSEQUENT FIXED-

PRICE EXERCISE WAS EXEMPT

A. The Lower Courts Correctly Applied The

Rules Under Section 16(b) To The Put Option

SEC Rule 16a-1(c) defines the term “derivative security” to

include “any option . . . with an exercise or conversion priv-

ilege at a price related to [or] a value derived from the value

of an equity security.” 17 C.F.R. § 240.16a-l(c). As alleged

in the Complaint, the Put Option is plainly an “option” with

an exercise price “related to” or “derived from the value of”

an equity security (here, At Home common stock). More

precisely, within the broader class of derivative securities, the

Put Option qualifies as a “put equivalent position” because it

“increases in value as the value of the underlying equity

decreases.” Jd. § 240.16a-1(h).

In light of the recognized equivalence between derivative

instruments and their underlying equity securities (see infra

n.3), Rule 16b-6(a) provides that the “establishment of ...a

put equivalent position . . . shall be deemed a sale of the

underlying securities for purposes of Section 16(b).” /d.

§ 240.16b-6(a) (emphasis added). To avoid double liability

and recovery with respect to the same instrument, Rule 16b-

_ 6(b) provides that the exercise of a put equivalent position is

an exempt event for Section 16(b) purposes:

[T]he closing of a derivative security position as a result

of its exercise or conversion shall be exempt from the

operation of Section 16(b), and . . . the disposition of

underlying securities at a fixed exercise price due to

the exercise of a put equivalent position shall [also] be

exempt. ...

Comcast’s App. B at 35a (emphasis added).

7

Applying these rules, a Section 16(b) sale event occurred

on March 28, 2000 when the Put Option was established, and

the subsequent closing of the Put Option when it was

exercised at its fixed-price component more than ten months

later was a non-event for purposes of the statute. Because the

putative “purchase” event alleged in Count I occurred on May

18, 2001, nearly fourteen months after the establishment of

the Put Option, Section 16(b) does not apply.

This result—reached by both the lower courts and the

SEC—is entirely proper, given that the acquisition of a de-

rivative instrument such as the Put Option guarantees its

holder an opportunity to sell a maximum number of under-

lying shares at a minimum price of $48 per share. If the

acquisition of the option were not deemed to be a sale event,

then the holder of such an instrument with inside information

that would adversely affect stock price could simply (i) ac-

quire such an option with a minimum exercise price of $48

per share, (ii) buy shares in the market the next day, say,

at $45 per share, (iti) wait six months and a day before

exercising the option, and (iv) realize an unrecoverable $3 per

share short-swing profit. In other words, the approach which

the Bondholders steadfastly advocated below would reopen

the very loophole that the SEC sought to close through its

1991 amendments of the rules under Section 16(b).°

> One of the factors motivating the SEC’s 1991 amendments to the

rules under Section 16(b) was the concern that the former rules permitted

insiders to exploit non-public information without liability by engaging in

transactions in fixed price derivative securities as exemplified above. See

Ownership Reports and Trading by Officers, Directors, and Principal

Security Holders, Exchange Act Release No. 28,869, 1991 WL 292000

(Feb. 21, 1991), at *11 (“The functional equivalence of derivative securi-

ties and their underlying equity securities for Section 16 purposes requires

that the acquisition of the derivative security be deemed the significant

event, not the exercise. Failure to recognize [this] would permit insiders

8

B. The Arguments Presented In The Bondholders’

Petition Do Not Identify Any Error In The

Lower Courts’ Application Of The Applicable

Rules

1. The Bondholders Improperly Raise A New

Argument In Their Certiorari Petition

In their petition, the Bondholders claim that the “driving

issue” in this case, which was incorrectly decided by the

circuit court, is “when the matching sale occurred for § 16(b)

purposes” with respect to the Put Option: (i) upon acquisition

on March 28, 2000; (ii) on February 2, 2001, fifteen trading

days following exercise; “or (111) on both dates as At Home

argued to the Second Circuit.” Cert. Pet. at 9 (italics in origi-

nal; underlining added). As to the third point, this repre-

sentation is misleading. The Bondholders never argued in the

district court that a sale event occurred both upon establish-

ment and exercise of the Put Option, and did not address this

argument in the Second Circuit until after oral argument was

complete and the parties were asked to comment on the

SEC’s amicus brief.

In the Second Circuit, the Bondholders argued that the

district court committed reversible error when it held that “a

Section 16(b) sale ‘first’ occurred when the Put [Option] was

created and that a ‘second’ Section 16(b) event might have

occurred when the number of shares and price per share were

fixed 11 months later’ when the Put Option was exer-

cised (if such exercise were at the floating price component).

Appellant’s Br. at 2. Indeed, in criticizing the district court’s

observation that a hybrid option exercised at its floating price

component (a situation not raised by the facts in this case)

may result in two events, the Bondholders vehemently argued

that the Put Option was not a hybrid derivative, did not

to evade disgorgement of short-swing profits simply by . . . buying under-

lying stock and buying put options.”) (emphasis added).

9

contain a fixed price component, did not present an oppor-

tunity for speculative abuse upon acquisition, and thus could

not have given rise to Section 16(b) events both at acquisition

and at exercise:

¢ “Under governing SEC Rules, a Put Instrument [such

as the Put Option] without a fixed price per share is

not considered a derivative security, and there is no

Section 16(b) event, i.e. no sale, when such an in-

strument is created.” Appellant’s Br. at 20 (empha-

sis in Original);

¢ “You could have two transactions [with a hybrid

derivative]. Jt can’t be done [with the Put Option] in

our case... .” Oral Argument Transcript at 5

(emphasis added);

¢ “(Aj security [like the Put Option] where neither the

price per share nor the number of shares are known

is not deemed a derivative security, and the crea-

tion of such a security is not [an event] under Sec-

tion 16(b).” Appellant’s Reply Brief at 9 (emphasis

added).

Rather, the Bondholders insisted that the Put Option “func-

tioned” or “operated as a floater” (i.e., an instrument with

only a floating price) and thus did not become a “deriv-

ative security” subject to Section 16(b) at all until notice of

exercise was given and the share price became determinate.”

* See also Appellant’s Br. at 33 (“As alleged in the Complaint, the [Put

Option] does not contain one fixed and one floating component.” (em-

phasis added)); id. at 37 (“[The Put Option] was not susceptible to a fixed

conversion at a minimum level and then an additional conversion per a

floating component.” (emphasis added)); Oral Argument Transcript at 36

(“[T]he one thing that is crystal clear is we said [the establishment of the

Put Option] was not a sale. There was no event under 16(b) until after

[Comcast] gave notice [of its intent to exercise] and you knew the number

of shares and the price of those shares.” (emphasis added)).

* See, e.g., Appellant’s Br. at 5 (arguing that the Put Option “func-

tioned as a ‘floating put’”); id. at 20 (“the Put at issue here operated as a

10

On this basis, the Bondholders argued that the first and only

Section 16(b) event with respect to the Put Option occurred

upon its exercise:

¢ “On February 2, 2001 (i.e., 15 trading days after

Comcast exercised the Put Option)], and on/y at that

time, did AT&T have a binding obligation to buy a

fixed number of shares at a set price; at only that

time was a ‘put equivalent position’ established

which, under SEC Rules, is the equivalent of a

Section 16(b) sale.” Appellant’s Br. at 17 (emphasis

added); :

¢« “fBjecause the [Put Option] here functions like a

floater, the Court should apply Rule 16a-1(c)(6) on

its face, and treat the Put as a derivative security

within the meaning of the Rule on/y when the price

per share is set for the first time—that is, 15 days

after notice of exercise was given... .” Id. at 41

(emphasis added).

¢ “Only fifteen days after... Comcast gave notice to

AT&T of [its] intent to exercise the [Put Option] did

this instrument become a derivative security and a

‘sale’ occur under Section 16(b).” Appellant’s Reply

Br. at 9 (emphasis added).°

floater”); id. at 28 (arguing that the Put Option “functioned as a floater”);

41 (same).

® See also Appellant’s Br. at 20 (“{A]s alleged in the Complaint, the

Section 16(b) sale occurred . . . after notice had been given and the

number of shares and price per share was [sic] first set.”); id. at 32-(“[A]s

alleged in the Complaint, the Put [Option] was not established under the

SEC Rules until February 2, 2001 when the number of shares and price

per share were set by operation of the [hybrid] pricing mechanism. . . .”);

Appellant’s Reply Br. at 9 (“Only fifteen days after . . . Comcast gave

notice to AT&T of [its] intent to exercise the [Put Option] did this in-

strument become a derivative security and a ‘sale’ occur under Section

16(b).” (emphasis added)).

1]

In sum, up until after oral argument in the Second Circuit,

it has never been the Bondholders’ position that the Put

Option presented two opportunities for speculative abuse,

much less that it gave rise to two distinct Section 16(b)

events. To the contrary, the Bondholders expressly argued

that recognizing the possibility of two sale events to calculate

profits on a hybrid option exercised at its floating price

component would be an “egregious error” that would “only

serve to confuse market participants, their advisors and

courts.”’ Appellant’s Reply Br. at 12. As this Court has

routinely recognized, certiorari should not be granted where a

petitioner presses an argument which it did not raise (or, as

here, emphatically and consistently disavowed) below. See,

e.g., City of Springfield, Mass. v. Kibbe, 480 U.S. 257, 258

’ The Bondholders’ only non-derisory reference to the notion that the

Put Option could present two Section 16(b) events appeared in sup-

plemental briefing solicited by the Second Circuit to comment on the

SEC’s amicus brief. Even there, however, the Bondholders did not

endorse a two-event approach to the Put Option, but simply noted that

“nothing in the SEC’s perfunctory discussion precludes a finding” that the

Put Option presented two opportunities for speculative abuse. Appellant’s

Supp. Br. at 4. In fact, this characterization of the SEC’s opinion is

incorrect: the SEC specifically noted that “[i]f inside information is

learned only after the fixed price is set [i.e., upon acquisition], the

information cannot be abused in later exercising at the fixed price.”

Comcast’s App. at 13a (emphasis added). In any event, even if the Bond-

holders’ change of heart could be viewed as genuine, it came too late.

The Bondholders could not raise an argument in the Second Circuit that

they failed to raise in the districi court. Davenport v. Harry N. Abrams,

Inc., 249 F.3d 130, 132 (2d Cir. 2001) (argument not raised in the district

court should not be considered on appeal); Mellon Bank N.A. v. United

Bank Corp., 3) F.3d 113, 116 (2d Cir. 1994) (same); Burnette v. Caroth-

ers, 192 F.3d 52, 58 (2d Cir. 1999) (appellants waived an argument not

raised in the district court). They certainly could not raise such an argu-

ment for the first time in a supplemental brief after oral argument. See,

e.g., Cioffi v. Averill Park Cent. Sch. Distr. Bd. of Ed., 444 F.3d 158, 169

(2d Cir. 2006) (new argument raised for the first time in reply brief was

untimely and deemed waived).

12

(1987) (dismissing writ as improvidently granted, where posi-

tion advocated by petitioner before the Supreme Court was

not pressed at the district or circuit level); U.S. v. Ortiz, 422

U.S. 891, 898 (1975) (declining to consider issue which was

first raised in certiorari petition).

2. The Bondholders’ Reliance On Rule I6a-

I(c)(6) Is Misplaced

Paradoxically, at the same time that they press their new

“two-event” theory, the Bondholders persist in arguing that

the Put Option was not a derivative security at all within the

meaning of Rule 16a-1(c)(6) because neither “the actual

number of shares to be sold [nor] the price per share to be

paid” were fixed at the time the instrument was established.

Cert. Pet. at 5. This argument is wrong for several reasons.

In the first place, as the lower courts recognized, the cited

rule requires only that an instrument’s exercise or conversion

price be fixed. Rule 16a-1(c)(6) excludes from the definition

of derivative security “rights with an exercise or conversion

privilege at a price that is not fixed.” 17 C.F.R. § 240.16a-

1(c)(6) (emphasis added). The rule does not require (or even

suggest) that the number of underlying shares subject to the

instrument be fixed in order for it to qualify as a “derivative

security.”

Next, it is plain here that the Put Option did contain a fixed

exercise price: $48 per share. As the Second Circuit correctly

noted, this reality cannot be ignored simply because the Put

Option also contained a floating price component:

As with many hybrid options . . . the [Put Option]

contained a possible fixed price ($48 per share) payable

depending on the market price at the time of exercise.

- The prospect of a higher exercise price does not mean

that there is no fixed-price component; the prospect of a

higher price is what makes the option a “hybrid” in the

first place.

Petitioner’s App. A at 5a n.2 (emphasis added).

13

In any event, as the Second Circuit and district court

rightly observed, the maximum number of shares subject to

the Put Option for Comcast (31,253,180) is easily calculated

by dividing the total consideration the option’s writer could

be required to pay Comcast—$1,500,152,640 (see Peti-

tioner’s App. H at 72a)—by the fixed price of $48 per share

(which was the minimum sale price possible under the Put

Option). See Petitioner’s App. A at 5a n.2.

Finally, there is no support in the SEC rules for the Bond-

holders’ newly-asserted argument that a hybrid like the Put

Option that was exercised at its fixed price component

presented two opportunities for abuse and thus gave rise to

Section 16(b) sales “on both dates.” Indeed, if the Put Option

did not contain a fixed price component ab initio, there would

be no conceivable reason—and the Bondholders have not

identified any basis in the rules—for treating its establishment

as a sale on March 28, 2000. To the extent that the Bond-

holders now agree that the Put Option did contain a fixed

price option, Rule 16b-6(a) requires that its establishment be

treated as a sale event, but the Bondholders cite no rule that

would require—much less permit—the subsequent fixed price

exercise to be treated as a second sale. To the contrary, Rule

16b-6(b) (which the Bondholders did not see fit to irfclude in

their appendix) requires that the Put Option’s exercise at its

fixed $48 price component be exempt from the statute.® See

Comcast’s App. B at 35a.

* To clarify, the Bondholders’ proposed two-step approach for a hybrid

put exercised at its fixed price component (such as the Put Option) must

be distinguished from the two-step calculation of short swing profits for

a hybrid option exercised at its floating price, a situation not presented

by the facts of this case. As stated in the text above, the Bondholders’

approach contravenes the SEC rules because Rule 16b-6(b) expressly

requires that the Put Option’s exercise at its fixed price component be

exempt. On the other hand, the SEC rules do not forbid—and, in addition

to the district court in this case, at least one other court has recognized—

14

3. The Bondholders’ Self-Defeating “Market

Reality” and “Increased Risk” Arguments

The Bondholders also fault the circuit court’s conclusion

that the exercise of the Put Option at its fixed price compo-

nent was a non-event by application of Rule 16b-6(b). In so

ruling, the Bondholders contend, the Second Circuit improp-

erly “refused” to consider “market realities” and “ignored

[that] the risk of speculative abuse with respect to the Put. . .

dramatically increased as . . . Comcast approach the point

when [it] could file a notice [of exercise] under the Put and

when the number of shares and the price per share would be

set for the first time.” Cert. Pet. at 10. This argument is

misplaced for several reasons. .

First, it is clear that what the Bondholders characterize as

“marketplace realities” (i.e., the fact that “all . . . Comcast

knew” on March 28, 2000 was that the Put Option entitled it

to sell up to 31,253,180 shares of At Home at a minimum

price of $48 per share, see Cert Pet. at 10) were simply the

terms of the Put Option itself. See supra at 1, 12-13..

Contrary to the Bondholders’ assertion, the Second Circuit —

took this reality into account when it rendered its decision.

See, e.g., Petitioner’s App. A at 4a—Sa (discussing operation

of hybrid pricing mechanism); see id. at 5a n.2 (noting that

the “maximum number of shares [subject to the Put Option] is

likewise fixed”). ,

Second, this “market reality” argument rings hollow given

that the Bondholders fault the lower courts for having

taken such realities into account. For example, the Bond-

holders criticized the district court for concluding that the Put

Option’s floating price component was “irrelevant” at the

the application of a two-step approach to calculate short-swing profits

from a hybrid option exercised at its floating price. See Schaffer v. CC

Invs., LDC, 280 F. Supp. 2d 128 (S.D.N.Y.), recon. granted in part, No.

99-2821, 2003 WL 22480052 (S.D.N.Y. Oct. 31, 2003).

15

time of exercise based on the “undisputed” reality (confirmed

in the Complaint, no less) that the market price for At Home

stock in the days preceding exercise was “far below the fixed

minimum of $48 per share.” Petitioner’s App. D at 26a.’

Equally spurious is the Bondholders’ assertion that the

circuit court failed to consider the “reality” that an insider

holding an instrument like the Put Option cannot engage in

“effective hedging” at the time it is established. Cert. Pet. at

10; see also id. at 11 (“Hedging . . . do[es] not work when a

party has no idea of the number of shares to be hedged.”).

This argument is a straw man, and makes no more sense now

than it did when the Bondholders presented it below.

Section 16(b) is not concerned with hedging; rather, its

purpose is to deter insiders from speculating based on inside

information by requiring the disgorgement of profits earned

by an insider from matching purchases and sales of issuer

securities occurring within a six month period. Any “hedg-

ing” an insider might try to engage in (be it “effective” or not)

with respect to the acquisition of an instrument like the Put

Option would itself be treated as a Section 16(b) event, and

the “loss” hedged against would be subject to immediate

disgorgement. Moreover, the very notion that an insider,

benefiting from access to non-public information and holding

a long derivative position, would need (or bother) to engage

in hedging is absurd: if the instrument’s exercise price were |

unfavorable relative to the prevailing market price (e.g., if the

exercise price for a call option is greater than market price),

all the holder would need do to avoid a “loss” would be to

refrain from exercising the option.

* See Oral Argument Transcript at 9 (“When Cox and Comcast [exer-

cised the Put Option], your Honor, they said, we assume the price will be

$48. Only the district court knew, said it was undisputed that he stock

price was going to be [$]48. Wrong; it was disputed, your Honors.

Nobody knew. . . .”.

16

Fourth, and more fundamentally, the Bondholders’ argu-

ment that the “risk” of speculative abuse with respect to the

Put Option “dramatically increased” as the “10-month wait-

ing period came to end” (i.e., when the Put Option first

became exercisable) makes no sense whatsoever. On page 11

of their petition, the Bondholders provide an example which

purportedly demonstrates why the exercise of a hybrid at its

fixed price component should not be an exempt event as

required by Rule 16b-6(b). In that example, the Bondholders

posit that, more than ten months after the option was estab-

lished, an insider could obtain non-public information indicat-

ing that At Home planned to release bad and then good news.

According to the Bondholders, the insider could (i) wait until

the release of bad news when the stock price drops to $24 per

share, (ii) exercise the Put Option at the fixed price of $48 per

share, and then (iii) immediately buy At Home stock in the

market at $24 per share before the good news is released and

the price rebounds. The Bondholders argue that, unless the

fixed price exercise is also treated as a Section 16(b) sale, this

$24 per share profit could not be recovered.

What the Bondholders fail to mention (or, apparently, to

even realize) is that the “risk” which they deem intolerable in

the foregoing example is no different than the “risk” pre-

sented by a pure fixed price option (i.e., one exerciseable at

$48 per share only). As in the Bondholders’ scenario, the

holder of such an option could profit in exactly the same

manner as in the prior example by (i) waiting until the stock

dropped to $24, (ii) exercising the put at its $48 per share price,

and then (iii) immediately buying back shares in the market at

$24. The profit realized here, of course, would plainly not be

subject to disgorgement because the closing of the option and

sale of underlying securities would undeniably be exempt by

operation of Rule 16b-6(b) See 17 C.F.R. § 240.16b-6(b).

In short, if the “risk” described by the Bondholders can

possibly be viewed as “unacceptable,” the fault lies in the

17

Section 16(b) rules themselves, not in their faithful appli

cation by the Second Circuit and the district court. Indeed,

what the Bondholders complain about is the reality that

Section 16(b), a strict liability statute, “‘is simply not an

antidote to all the ills that may plague the securities market.’”

Petitioner’s App. A at 12a (quoting Heublein, Inc. v. Gen.

Cinema Corp., 722 F.2d 29, 31 (2d Cir. 1983)).

4. The Bondholders’ Spurious “Hindsight”

Argument

Finally, the Bondholders condemn the Second Circuit for

establishing a “hindsight” test for applying Section 16(b) to

“complex hybrid instruments.” Cert. Pet. at 12. This criti-

cism is both unpersuasive and misplaced.

As an initial matter, the Bondholders provide no expla-

nation as to why a “hindsight” application would be problem-

atic, much less inconsonant with the broader statutory regime.

Indeed, they would be hard pressed to do so, given that

Section 16(b) expressly exhorts courts to look both forward

and backward from a purchase of issuer securities to find a

profit-making sale. See 15 U.S.C. § 78p(b) (“[A]ny profit

realized by [an insider] from any purchase and sale, or any

sale and purchase, of any equity security of [the] issuer

. .. Within any period of less than six months . . . shall inure

to and be recoverable by the issuer.”).

In any event, the Second Circuit’s decision did not estab-

lish a “hindsight” test. Strictly applying Rules 16b-6(a)

and (b), the court held: (i) that the establishment of the Put

Option on March 28, 2000 constituted a matchable sale of the

“maximum number” of At Home stock at $48 per share; and

(ii) that the closing of the Put Option approximately 11

months later as a result of its fixed price exercise was a

statutorily exempt event. See Petitioner’s App. A at 8a. This

result required no “hindsight” whatsoever.

18

With respect to the hypothetical exercise of the Put Option

at its floating price component (an event which the Bond-

holders concede did not occur), the Second Circuit exhibited

restraint and expressly declined to formulate a legal rule

concerning facts not presented in this case. However a

floating price exercise might or should be treated, because the

Put Option was exercised at its fixed price component here

(an exempt event under Rule 16b-6(b)), the court’s determi-

nation that a Section 16(b) sale event “occurred only with the

acquisition of the . . . options” was indisputably correct. Jd.

Il. ON COUNT Il, THE LOWER COURTS COR-

RECTLY DETERMINED THAT -COMCAST’S

PURCHASES OF CABLE COMPANY SECUR-

ITIES COULD NOT BE MATCHED TO ITS

DEEMED SALE OF AT HOME SECURITIES

A. The Lower Courts Correctly Ruled That The

Challenged Transactions Fall Outside The .

Scope Of Section 16(b) As Determined By The

Statute’s Plain Language

In Count II of their Complaint, the Bondholders concede

that the establishment of the Put Option was a Section 16(b)

sale event, but improperly seek to match that sale, not to any

purchase of At Home securities, but rather to Comcast’s

acquisition of the shares of three cable companies—unrelated

to At Home—for nearly $10 billion. In advancing this claim,

the Bondholders seek to equate the purchase of cable com-

pany shares with Section 16(b) purchases of the securities

held by those companies in their investment portfolios, which

in this case happened to include At Home warrants.'” The

Second Circuit (as well as the district court and the SEC)

'° As the district court noted, the maximum potential value of the

warrants was less than 3% of the $10 billion Comcast spend to acquire the

cable companies. See Petitioner’s App. D at 29a n.12.

19

correctly determined that the transactions alleged in Count !I

do not fall within the short-swing statute.

On its face, Section 16(b) is geared toward preventing an

issuer’s insiders from profiting from non-public information

by engaging in transactions in “any equity security” of “such

issuer.” 15 U.S.C. § 78p(b). As the Second Circuit has

rightly recognized, the statutory “(u]se of the singular (‘any

equity security’ and ‘such issuer’) supports an inference that a

transaction in the equity securities of one company cannot be

matched with a transaction in the equity securities of

another.” Petitioner’s App. A at 10a. In other words, by its

express terms, Section 16(b) applies only to matching trans-

actions involving the securities of the same issuer.

Because Count II of the Complaint sought to match trans-

actions in the securities of different issuers (i.e., purchases of

cable companies’ securities with a deemed sale of At Home

securities), the circuit court correctly concluded that the

Bondholders had not pled a viable Section 16(b) claim. In so

ruling, the court was not blazing new ground. To the

contrary, the decision below marked the third time that the

Second Circuit has refused to expand the statute to embrace

situations where the securities actually bought and sold (or

deemed bought and sold, in the case of derivative instru-

ments) were of different issuers.

In American Standard Co. v. Crane Co., the Second Circuit

addressed the fundamental question presented by the Bond-

holders’ Count II: “whether Section 16(b) permits a statutory

liability to attach by matching the purchase[] of the shares of

one ‘issuer’ against the sale of shares of another ‘issuer.’”

510 F.2d at 1057. After extensive analysis of the statute’s

text and legislative history, the court squarely ruled that “the

style and substance [of the statute] lead to the conclusion that

Congress was concerned with a single issuer.” Jd. at 1059

(emphasis added); see also id. at 1058 (“The statute speaks of

‘such issuer’ in the singular. There is no room for a

20

grammatical construction that would convert the singular into

a plural.”) {emphasis added). Based on this plain reading of

the statute, the court held that a purchase of a pre-merger

company’s securities could not be matched for Section 16(b)

purposes to a sale of the post-merger company’s securities.

This Court denied petitioner’s subsequent certiorari petition.

421 U.S. 1000.

The Second Circuit reached the same result more recently in

Strauss v. Comcast Corp., 149 Fed. Appx. 15 (2d Cir. 2005).

There, plaintiff sought to match (i) Comcast’s sale of its shares

in QVC, with (ii) third-party ITH’s purchase of GSI shares.

See id. at *16. Notwithstanding plaintiff's allegation that QVC

owned a sizeable stake in ITH, and that ITH was a 10%

beneficial owner of GSI stock, the court held that the case did

“not fall within the purview of Section 16(b) because the issuer

of the securities purchased [i.e., GSI] is substantially separate

from the issuer of the securities sold [i.e., QVC].” Jd.

As such, the Second Circuit’s ruling that the Bondholders’

allegations of purchases and sales of different issuers’

securities failed to state a cognizable Section 16(b) claim was

correct and consistent with its prior holdings in American

Siandard and Strauss. Alternatively, Count II was properly

dismissed, as stated by the district court, on the basis of the

“unorthodox transaction” doctrine. See Petitioner’s App. D.

at 28a-29a. To the extent that Comcast’s purchase of the

cable companies’ shares can be viewed at all as “trans-

actions” in the issuer securities held by those companies in

their portfolios, they were manifestly not the type of “garden-

variety” transactions to which Section 16(b) presumptively

applies. Rather, the “indirect” acquisition via change-of-

control transactions alleged in Count II are, on their face,

borderline or unorthodox—a fact borne out by the total

21

absence of decisional authority showing that Section 16(b)

has ever been applied in such circumstances."

In Kern County, this Court endorsed a “pragmatic ap-

proach” to analyzing such borderline transactions, which en-

tails an assessment of “whether the transaction may serve as a

vehicle for the evil which Congress sought to prevent. . . .”

Kern County Land Co. v. Occidental Petroleum Corp., 411

U.S. 582, 594 (1973). Here, the determination by both the

Second Circuit and the SEC that change-of-control trans-

actions such as those alleged in Count II do not present

plausible opportunities for speculative abuse amply supports

the district court’s application of the unorthodox transaction

in this case. See Petitioner’s App. A at lla (“The SEC

convincingly argues that a typical change-of-control transac-

tion does not present an intolerable risk of abuse.”), id. at 12a

(“We conclude that section 16(b) generally does not take

account of transactions in which an insider’s acquisition of an

enterprise holding the issuer’s stock entails appreciable risks

and opportunities independent of the risks and opportunities

that inhere in the stock of the issuer.”); see also Comcast’s

App. A at 18a (“While it is not beyond possibility that an

acquiror would tailor a change of control transaction to obtain

short-swing profits from insider trading, it is certainly not

going to be a common scenario. Good faith change in con-

trol transactions are not ones ‘in which the possibility of

abuse [is] intolerably great.’”) (quoting Kern County, 411

U.S. at 592).

'' Given the frequency with which companies buy and sell stakes in

one another, indirect or incidental “transactions” in the issuer securities

held by the bought and sold companies are inevitable; if such transactions

fall within the scope of Section 16(b), claims such as the Bondholders’

should be commonplace. They are not. As the district court correctly

noted, this “absence of precedent” strongly supports the view that such

change-of-control transactions are “unorthodox” to the extent that they

concern the portfolio securities held by the subject companies. Peti-

tioner’s App. D at 28a.

22

B. The Countertextual Reading Of Section 16(b)

Advocated By The Bondholders Would Create

An Unprecedented Expansion Of The Statute

Far Beyond Its Literal And Intended Scope

In a transparent attempt to manufacture a “circuit split”

meriting grant of certiorari with respect to Count Il, the

Bondholders claim that the Second Circuit “bypassed clear

statutory language in favor of crafting its own definition of

‘purchase’” and thereby parted company with “other Circuit

courts [which] have continued to interpret definitional terms

[in the securities laws] based on their plain meaning.” Cert.

Pet. at 12, 14. This characterization of the lower court’s

decision is grossly inaccurate.

In the first place, the Bondholders’ contention that the

circuit court “judicially legislated a new definition” for the

term “purchase” cannot be squared with the decision itself.

Id. at 2. Nowhere in the court’s discussion of Count II did it

purport to define that term. To the contrary, as even a cursory

review of the decision confirms, the Second Circuit’s dis-

missal of that Count was based upon a strict, plain-language

reading of the term “issuer” in Section 16(b).

Moreover, even if the circuit court’s decision could be

viewed as implicitly propounding a definition of the term

“purchase” that departs from 15 U.S.C. § 78c(a)(13), it would

not have erred in doing so. Indeed, as this Court has repeat-

edly recognized, whether a specific transaction constitutes a

Section 16(b) event in a given case depends upon whether it

gives rise to the type of risk Congress enacted the statute to

combat. See, e.g., Reliance Elec. Co. v. Emerson Ele. Co.,

404 U.S. 418, 424 n.6 (1972) (“Thus, in interpreting the terms

‘purchase’ and ‘sale,’ courts have properly asked whether the

particular type of transaction involved is one that gives rise

to reculative abuse.”); see also Kern County, 411 U.S. at

595 (same).

23

The Bondholders’ next argument—that Section 16(b)

should be read broadly enough to cover transactions in the

securities of multiple issuers because the Second Circuit’s

strict reading creates a “sizeable loophole in § 16(b) enforce-

ment,” Cert. Pet. at 15—fares no better. In its decision, the

Second Circuit acknowledged that applying Section 16(b)

according to its plain terms would, in certain circumstances,

potentially permit insiders to circumvent the statute. As the

court expressly recognized, however, Section 16(b) does not

(and is not designed to) capture all conceivable forms of

insider profiteering. In fact, an insider with non-public

information need do nothing more complex to avoid the

statute than allow six months and a day to elapse before

engaging in a matching transaction. Similarly, a large share-

holder could escape Section 16(b) simply by maintaining its

beneficial shareholding in the issuer at 9.9%, just below the

statutory threshold. Other possibilities abound, all of them

more plausible than buying and selling third party companies

which happen to hold the subject issuer’s securities in their

investment portfolios—a tactic that the Second Circuit aptly

analogized to “speculating in tractors by buying a farm.”

Petitioner’s App. A at Ila.

Nevertheless, the possibility that Section 16(b) can be

“evaded” by insiders using various strategies (be they simple

or convoluted) does not warrant the expansion of the statute

beyond its strict terms. As the circuit court rightly noted,

Section 16(b) “is simply not an antidote to all the ills that may

plague the securities market.” Jd. at 12a (internal quotations

omitted). Rather, the short-swing statute exists alongside

other statutory regimes for combating insider trading: “{t}he

more a transaction is crafted to evade section 16(b), the

stronger the case [will be] for holding an insider liable under

section 10(b).” Jd. Accordingly, the fact that transactions

such as those challenged in Count II do not fall within the

scope of Section 16(b) is not a reason to expand the statute

beyond its plain terms.

24

As such, the Bondholders’ appeal to policy to expand the

statute’s scope to reach transactions not covered by its plain

terms is misplaced. Indeed, as the Second Circuit has pre-

viously recognized, because Section 16(b) establishes strict

liability within somewhat arbitrary parameters, policy consid-

erations weigh in favor of limiting, rather than extending, the

statute’s reach. See Gwozdzinsky v. Zell/Chillmark Fund,

L.P., 156 F.3d 305, 310 (2d Cir. 1998) (“The statute, as

written, establishes strict liability for all transactions that

meet its mechanical requirements. When courts have looked

to policy, it [has been] to avoid the sometimes harsh results of

this inflexible rule.”’).

Finally, the countertextual and open-ended view of Section

16(b) advocated by the Bondholders (and correctly rejected

by the Second Circuit) would lead a host of absurd and unrea-

sonable results. Assume, for example, that Company A (a

statutory insider with respect to Issuer X) owns a major stake

in Company B, which holds a small number of Issuer X

shares in its securities portfolio. Under the Bondholders’

theory, if Company A simply bought additional shares of

Company B, and then sold those shares within six months,

those transactions would generate disgorgeable short-swing

profits not only with respect to Company B stock, but also

with respect to Issuer X shares. Moreover, these profits

would be based on the difference in Issuer X share prices

notwithstanding that there was never any actual transaction in

Issuer X securities. The same holds true for any other issuer

securities which Company B happened to hold in its portfolio,

resulting in an endless sequence of Section 16(b) events

relating to securities not actually traded.

In short, far from creating an “expandable loophole,” the

Second Circuit’s adherence to the plain language of Section

16(b) ensures that the threat of its draconian penalties will not

curtail legitimate business transactions about which Congress

was plainly not concerned when it enacted the short-swing

Statute.

25

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Bondholders’ petition for a

writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL S. SHUSTER *

SHERON KORPUS

JAMES T. CAIN

KASOWITZ, BENSON, TORRES

& FRIEDMAN LLP

1633 Broadway

New York, New York 10019

(212) 506-1700

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Comcast

- Respondents

August 30, 2006

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

No. 05-0115-CV %

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Ve

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX@HOME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS AND DAVID M. WooDROw,

Defendants-Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of New York

BRIEF OF THE SECURITIES AND

EXCHANGE COMMISSION, AMICUS CURIAE,

SUBMITTED AT THE REQUEST OF THE COURT

BRIAN G. CARTWRIGHT

General Counsel

JACOB H. STILLMAN

Solicitor

ERIC SUMMERGRAD

Deputy Solicitor

ALLAN A. CAPUTE

Special Counsel to the Solicitor

Securities and Exchange Commission

100 F Street, NE

Washington, D.C. 20549-8010

(202) 551-5122 (Capute)

2a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SEE GY MERE ERUCIECE BRED seccsnsserccococscsccersevcsscessecesereesoovess iil

aise ccd cebeecereonieitebesrivoveeteertersevevereves l

isd aticeliceuasincerneprtorseeeiocverssceueeseosors 2

Ela. snsccninegncnversessioesccseventoseres 4

I. THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE PUTS IN

MARCH 2000 CONSTITUTED A SALE OF

AT HOME STOCK FOR PURPOSES OF

ashen iettinidestopeirosvecereseesortesrovetrecevenees 4

Il. THE MAY 2001 AGREEMENT TO

CANCEL THE FIXED PRICE PUTS WAS A

PURCHASE FOR SECTION _ 16(b)

EID scaled notceiahieendsetvevdcaeadersencoreedecestonsccocees 9

Ill. COMCAST’S ACQUISITION OF THREE

CABLE COMPANIES THAT OWNED AT

HOME WARRANTS WAS NOT A

PURCHASE OF THE WARRANTS FOR

PURPOSES OF SECTION 16(D)..........::.ccccsessssssseess 10

IV. THE “UNORTHODOX TRANSACTION

DOCTRINE” IS INAPPLICABLE TO THE

TRANSACTIONS IN THIS CASE ...........:cccceceeeseees 15

V. CONTROLLING DEFERENCE IS OWED

BY THE COURT TO THE COMMISSION’S

REASONABLE INTERPRETATIONS OF

SECTION 16(b) AND RELATED COMMIS-

i Se 16

A. This Court and the Supreme Court Have

Repeatedly Held that a Court Is Bound

by an Agency’s Reasonable Interpretations

of Its Own Regulations Provided in an

REE LE Re 16

3a

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

B. This Court Should Accord Chevron Def-

erence to Interpretations of the Federal

Securities Statutes Provided in Commis-

SESE RNASE Pec DR eet A BPE ea 18

ot RR RU ESR as teat oie Wan re RRO ee 27

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE WITH F.R.A.P.

32(A)

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE WITH LOCAL

RULE 32(a)(1): BRIEFS IN DIGITAL FORMAT

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

4a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Alaska Dept. of Environmental Conservation v.

es FR Cs I GEE vonisersiaieieslcinanisaiegtantiecnalin 22

American Standard, Inc. v. Crane Co., 510 F.2d

as Be Wacdecidiptiesncavnicheeniciienisibinsiatnintaiients 12

At Home Corporation v. Cox Communications, et

al., 340 F. Supp. 2d 404 (S.D.N.Y. 2004)... 2

Auer v. Robbins, 519 U.S. 452 (1997) ......ccccceeeeeeees 17, 18

Barnhart v. Walton, 535 U.S. 212 (2002) ......... 17, 21, 23

Bowen v. Georgetown Univ. Hospital, 488 US.

iaiilicleisinshsedisdisb cain avteicniniilgaseatinnnentiaaipainiciereiaaete 17

Bowles v. Seminole Rock & Sand Co., 325 U.S.

en aisthcdaubicidtalnticaitaacstiadipikciniidesaeiians 17, 18

Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources

Defense Council, Inc., 467 US. 837

(ITER kchicctiicendebiidaistemiibieicaliaintsaiiepdein 18, 19, 20, passim

Christensen v. Harris County, 529 U.S. 576

(aa sissies iiesGichitestihisialadactasliounadaiiniticeiildaainsaebt 20, 22

Community Health Center v. Wilson-Coker, 311

Se Fae te Geils EE ephndcninnetetetcinidainventdecianiacenen 23

Dabit v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,

Inc., 395 F.3d 25 (2d Cir.), cert. granted, 126

Bs es ae te scaessosclusisahinieesinetciodhiebiiasistceanisiioncootetil 20, 23

DeMaria v. Andersen, 318 F.3d 170 (2d Cir.

Te wxisistieiiuseinenceiscileghninsstbichaibbeguaibiiiatanbaesnapncaiaseaiaateienhte 17

Drake v. FAA, 291 F.3d 59 (D.C. Cir. 2002)........:.00000 18

Ecarnacion v. Barnhart, 331 F.3d 78 (2d Cir.

POs cccesheshocuithciseueleiseadsasihaintaedaaitaaeseisdecounrhibieaeienet 18

In re Enterprise Mortgage Acceptance Co., LLC,

Securities Litigation, 391 F.3d 401 (2d Cir.

y | REARS NaS alts nN OD 20, 23

Foremost-McKesson, Inc. v. Provident Securities

kg Ae ay ey ee ic cnrctindieptiscccinaysninnineninintie 13

Gollust v. Mendell, 501 U.S. 115 (1991)... ccccceseeeeeees 13

Sa

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Gryl v. Shire Pharmaceuticals Group PLC., 298

a Ee Ge Geile ED ss scevincespaicdidokccsanapeloceevesenseeecns 25

Kern County Land Co. v. Occidental Petroleum

Corp., 411 U.S. 582 (1973).............. 11, 12, 14, passim

LaFleur v. Whitman, 300 F.3d 256 (2d Cir. 2002)........ 18

Levy v. Southbrook International Investments,

BE y Ee Be OO GEE GE. DOOD ivesinnsovicsssercsevesies 17, 25

Martin v. Occupational Safety & Health Rev.

Cote 00. 499 U.S. 144 C1991). .cccecescssevcssscssosevecsssceses 18

National Cable & Telecommunications Assoc. v.

Brand X Internet Services, _U.S. __, 125 S.

ee SD cinivunssivisbabiianinncsbictecisnniceledieiniateiaedens 19

In re New Times Securities Services, Inc., 371

ce ey PD scrvhsc esc veusadtesceqenthinvetaeabeien 24, 26

Press v. Quick & Reilly, Inc., 218 F.3d 121 (2d

1 SS REET NPR RN Bence Mets tao RE er OCD ORE 17

Reliance Electric Co. v. Emerson Electric Co.,

Pe OE UE PEED scanrcicsgnscinehcncokosiibneniasanveoniine | aS

SEC v. American Board of Trade, Inc., 751 F.2d 3

IS, ROE cide sic plianpetigdi ne siceipneiieinssiviasagiecticiasties 14

Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134 (1944).............. 19

Taylor v. Vt. Dep. of Educ., 313 F.3d 768 (2d

aan UNIED hccesauoriesadindhnoiakceeanteb wuascontin todliniteiin hdsiaaiuesdandie 18

United States v. Mead Corp., 533 U.S. 218

ICI Abs icksSibiienteivacdles doscannnosbishias saeidealanesiuicobisohicpigieiana 20, 22

Washington State Dept. of Social and Health

Servs. v. Guardianship Estate of — 537

ie See ITED Aieibiins dina asa sceoebbanibcvarehicecsvebeaicesmsotpaidic 22

Yoder v. Orthomolecular Nutrition Institute, Inc.,

(poh ee Be AR. | eRe enna ener 14

Yourman v. Giuliani, 229 F.3d 124 (2d Cir.

6a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

COMMISSION RELEASES Page

Notice of Proposal to Adopt a Rule Exempting

from the Operation of Section 16(b) Certain

Acquisitions and Dispositions of Securities

Pursuant to Mergers or Consolidations,

Exchange Act Rel. No. 4696, 17 Fed. Reg.

3177, 1952 SEC LEXIS 63 (April 9, 1952) .............. 13

Ownership Reports and Trading By Officers,

Directors and Principal Securities Holders,

Exchange Act Rel. No. 28869, 56 Fed. Reg.

Fee Cs Bs CE Wi evihisstniteideininstiaiibdecniie 4,5, 18

STATUTES AND RULES

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. 78a,

et seq.

BOON DEGD, 3S VIG, FED iaintscscaceinenvivisrciseceninecs 15

Section 3(a)(10), 15 U.S.C. 78c(a)(10) 0... 14

Section 3(a)(13), 15 U.S.C. 78c(a)(13) ............... 10, 14

Section 16(b), 15 U.S.C. 78p(b)............. 1, 2, 3, passim

Rules Under the Securities Exchange Act of

1934, 17 C.F.R. 240.01, et seg.

Rule 16a-1(c), 17 C.F.R. 240.16a-1(C) ....... eee eee 5

Rule 16a-1(c) (6), 17 C.F.R. 240.16a-1(c) (6)............. 7

Rule 16a-1(h), 17 C.F.R. 240.16a-1(h)........... ce eeeeeeees 5

Rule 16a-9, 17 C.F.R. 240. 16a-9............cccseccccsereceeeee 25

Ruie 16a-10, 17 C.F.R. 240.16a-10..............ccccceerseees 25

Rule 16a-11, 17 C.F.R. 240.16a-11 .0..... eee 25

Rule 16e-12, 17 C.F.R. 240. 1Ge-12 ..........secccceccccceeees 25

Rule 16a-13, 17 C.F.R. 240. 16a-13..............cccccsccecees 25

Rule 16b-1, 17 C.F.R. 240.16b-1 .0.0... eee e eee eee 25

Rule 166-2, 17 C.F. 240. 1G? ..20ccecececcvsecenesesceseese 25

Pain 16-5, FF CB. et BS cecrewcictcneicerscevntoncees 25

Rule 16b-4, 17 C.F.R. 240.16b-4 oo. eee eeeeee 25

Rute 160-5, 17 CFR. 240. 1GB-5S ..0...ciccccrscceseccevsseeees 25

7a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

STATUTES AND RULES (Continued) Page

Rule 16b-6, 17 C.F.R. 240.16D-6 ...cccccccssesssssseesesseeee 25

Rule 16b-6(a), 17 C.F.R. 240.61b-6(a)...ccccscseecccevees 5,9

Rule 16b-6(b), 17 C.F.R. 240.61b-6(b) ....scccecccssseeeeoee 6

Rule 16b-6(d), 17 C.F.R. 240.16b-6(d) ......scccssssoeee- 8,9

Rule 16b-7, 17 C.F.R. 240.16D-7 o..ccecccsssessssssessssseeee 25

Rule 166-8, 17 CF.R. 240.16D-8 ..ccccsccsscsccssececssseeeee 25

MISCELLANEOUS

David S. Ruder, Address: The Development of

Legal Doctrine Through Amicus Participation:

The SEC Experience, 1989 Wis. L. Rev. 1167

eee ae Oh en Ana tee OR Oe 26

H.R. Rep. No. 1383, 73¢ Cong., 2d Sess. 13

SSRN LE ones eae Soe CUMS 13

Request for Commission Amicus Participation in

a Pending Case, http://www.sec.gov/litigation/

DCbCES/ MTNCURT ORIOL TIIN 2.0001 eccenesvecceenvsercereceesesseorseees 26

8a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

No. 05-0115-cv

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellani,

V.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX@HOmME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS AND DAVID M. WooprRow,

Defendants-Appellees.

On Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of New York

BRIEF OF THE SECURITIES AND

EXCHANGE COMMISSION, AMICUS CURIAE,

SUBMITTED AT THE REQUEST OF THE COURT

INTRODUCTION

The Securities and Exchange Commission submits this

brief as amicus curiae in response to a request by the Court.

This action was brought by At Home Corporation (“At

Home,” “issuer,” or “plaintiff’) under Section 16(b) of the

Securities Exchange Act of 1934, 15 U.S.C. 78p(b), to

recover alleged short-swing profits obtained by insiders of At

Home. The complaint alleges that defendants—Cox Commu-

nications, Inc., Comcast Corporation and their affiliates—

sold and then purchased, or purchased and sold, At Home

9a

equity securities within six months. The defendants are

alleged to have acted as a group that owned more than 10

percent of At Home securities, and thus to be statutory

insiders of At Home. The suit seeks recovery of profits the

defendants allegedly realized on these short-swing trades. The

district court dismissed plaintiff's Section 16(b) claims. See

At Home Corporation v. Cox Communications, et al., 340 F.

Supp. 2d 404 (S.D.N.Y. 2004). The Commission agrees with

the district court that defendants are not liable under Sec-

tion 16(b).

BACKGROUND

At Home was founded by a number of cable companies in

March 1995 to provide cable-based internet access to

customers (Compl. 418). On March 28, 2000, the defendants,

Cox and Comcast, entered into a letter agreement with AT&T

(“agreement”) in which Cox and Comcast acquired, re-

spectively, a put to sell to AT&T up to $1.4 billion and $1.5

billion in At Home shares. Under the terms of the agree-

ment, Cox and Comcast could sell each share for the higher

of (1) $48 or (2) a floating average market price at the time of

exercise (A-133; Compl. 4/45).

Defendants notified AT&T of their intention to exercise

their puts on January 11, 2001. At that time, At Home’s

shares were selling for an average $7.72 per share (Compl.

53). Accordingly, defendants’ notices to AT&T stated that

the defendants “assumed” that the purchase price would be

$48 per share (A-165, 168). AT&T did not want the shares.

AT&T and the defendants entered into a new agreement on

May 18, 2001 whereby the defendants canceled their puts in

exchange for 155.3 million shares of AT&T stock worth

$3.43 billion (Compl. 956).

The plaintiff alleged that Cox and Comcast sold At Home

shares for purposes of Section 16(b) on January 11, 2001,

when they provided notice of their intent to exercise the

10a

puts. This was within six months of the May 18, 2001

agreement to rescind the puts, which plaintiff contended was

a purchase of At Home securities. The district court agreed

that the rescission was a purchase, but held that the earlier

sale occurred on March 28, 2000, when the puts were

established, so that the sale and purchase took place more

than six months apart, and were thus not subject to Section

16(b).

The plaintiff alternatively claimed that if the sale occurred

on March 28, 2000, Comcast made matching purchases when,

between January and August 2000, it acquired three cable

companies that held At Home securities. The district court

dismissed this claim, holding that these indirect acquisitions

were not cognizable transactions under Section 16(b).

The plaintiff appealed, and this Court has sent a letter to

the Commission inviting it to answer five questions. We

address those questions in order.

ARGUMENT

I. THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE PUTS IN

MARCH 2000 CONSTITUTED A SALE OF AT

HOME STOCK FOR PURPOSES OF SECTION

16(b).

The Court asks “[w]hether the establishment of the puts on

March 28, 2000 constituted a sale of At Home securities for

purposes of section 16(b) * * *.” It did. Before 1991, the

purchase or sale of securities underlying a derivative security

occurred on the exercise of the derivative, rather than upon its

creation. In 1991, the Commission noted that this left “open a

significant potential for short-swing abuse in trading de-

rivative securities.” Ownership Reports and Trading By

' Alternatively, the plaintiffs contended that the sales occurred on Feb-

ruary 2, 2001, at the end of the 30 day period for determining if the fixed

rate or the floating rate was higher.

lla

Officers, Directors and Principal Securities Holders, Ex-

change Act Rel. No. 28869, 56 Fed. Reg. 7242, 7250 (Feb.

21, 1991). In that release, the Commission offered the fol-

lowing example:

[A]n insider with knowledge of a positive material

development, to be announced shortly, determines

that while he wants to retain his existing equity

position, he wants to take advantage of the infor-

mation, so he purchases issuer warrants. After the

public announcement and rise in the stock price the

insider sells his common stock, obtaining a short-

swing profit, knowing that he can replace the shares

at a predetermined price since he holds the war-

rants. Under the former rules, he could simply wait

six months and a day to exercise the warrants so the

profit would not be subject to section 16(b) and not

recoverable by the company.

Id. at 7250. Likewise, an insider who knows of impending

negative information can negotiate a fixed price put, enabling

it to sell, after the negative information is released and the

price falls, at the higher price. The insider unfairly uses the

inside information by fixing the price when the derivative is

created, not when it is exercised.

In 1991, the Commission amended the rules so that the

acquisition of a “derivative security” is also considered the

acquisition of the underlying securities for purposes of

Section 16(b). “[D]erivative security” was defined to mean

“any option, warrant, convertible security, stock appreciation

right, or similar right with an exercise or conversion privilege

at a price related to an equity security, or similar securities

with a value derived from the value of an equity security

** *” Rule 16a-1(c), 17 C.F.R. 240.16a-1(c). Rule 16b-6(a),

17 C.F.R. 240.16b-6(a), provides:

The * * * establishment of or increase in a put

equivalent position or liquidation of or decrease in a

12a

call equivalent position shall be deemed a sale of

the underlying securities for purposes of section

16(b) of the Act * * *.

A “put equivalent position” is defined by Rule 16a-1(h), 17

C.F.R. 240.16a-1(h), to mean “a derivative security position

.that increases in value as the value of the underlying equity

decreases, including, but not limited to, a long put option and

a short call option position.” A put with a fixed exercise price

increases in value as the price of the underlying stock

decreases because the spread between the market price and

the fixed exercise price increases.

On the other hand, a floating price linked to the market

price does not have that attribute. The 1991 rules draw a

sharp distinction between fixed and floating prices. The

Commission explained that “[r]ights without a fixed exercise

price do not provide an insider the same kind of opportunity

for short-swing profit since the purchase price is not known in

advance.” Ownership Reports, Exchange Act Rel. No. 28869,

56 Fed. Reg. at 7252. The Commission stressed that “[t}he

opportunity to lock in a profit begins when the exercise price

is fixed; at that time, the right becomes a derivative security

subject to section 16.” /d. Conversely, the later exercise of a

derivative at its previously fixed price is exempt from Section

16(b) and has no Section 16(b) consequences. See Rule 16b-

6(b), 17 C.F.R. 240.16b-6(b).

On the other hand, the Commission explained that:

[A] right with a floating exercise price is not

required to be reported and will not be deemed to

be acquired or purchased, for section 16 purposes,

until the purchase price of the underlying security

becomes fixed or established, which commonly

occurs at exercise. Thus, a right to purchase an

equity security is deemed acquired as of the date

the exercise or conversion price becomes fixed, and

the acquisition, absent an exemption, would be

13a

matchable for section 16(b) purposes with a dispo-

sition within six months of the fixing of the price.

56 Fed. Reg. at 7253. “The primary potential for abuse [of

inside information] arises at the time of exercise for a floating

price derivative security because only at exercise is the price

fixed and, therefore, the extent of the profit opportunity

defined.” Thus, “[b]y treating the exercise of the floating

price derivative security as the ‘acquisition’ of the underlying

security, the rules mitigate the incentives for insiders to abuse

their informational advantage.”

In this case, the March 2000 agreement presented the

defendants with puts with a fixed price of $48 paired with

puts with a floating price based on a specified market

average. In January 2001, with the market price far below

$48, the defendants chose to exercise their puts at the fixed

price. The opportunity to abuse inside information existed

only at the time the fixed exercise price was set. If inside

information is learned only after the fixed price is set, the

information cannot be abused in later exercising at the fixed

price. Because the fixed price was used in this case, the

establishment of the puts is when the six month trading period

should begin. The district court correctly concluded that the

establishment of the puts in March 2000 constituted a saie of

At Home stock under Section 16(b).

Plaintiff nevertheless argues that the hybrid security should

be treated as a floating price derivative security, as though

there were no fixed component. The cornerstone of plaintiff's

contention is that, “in contrast to any other instrument in any

other reported case of which we are aware, the only fixed

component at issuance was not the number of shares or price

per share, but the total consideration to be paid by the

? This is reflected in Rule l6a-1(c)6), 17 C.F.R. 240. 16a-1(c)(6),

which excludes from the definition of a “derivative security” “[r]ights

with an exercise or conversion privilege at a price that is not fixed.”

l4a

grantor of the option (AT&T).” (Appellant’s Brief p. 37

(emphases in original)). Thus, “[t]he only fact that all the

parties to the Put knew on March 28, 2000 was that AT&T

would pay a total of approximately $2.9 billion, but the

number of shares and the price per share could not be known

until after notice was given and the stock market determined

the final price”(Appellant’s Brief p. 37-38).

The district court correctly rejected this argument, pointing

out that “[t]he specified maximum overall price of $2.9

million, when combined with the specified minimum per-

share price of $48, dictated that defendants could sell, at

most, 60.4 million shares.’ Thus the initial agreement did

limit the number of shares which AT&T would be required to

buy.” 340 F. Supp. 2d at 410 (emphasis in original).*

Il. THE MAY 2001 AGREEMENT TO CANCEL

THE FIXED PRICE PUTS WAS A PURCHASE

FOR SECTION 16(b) PURPOSES.

The Court next asks whether the May 18, 2001 agree-

ment—in which the defendants agreed not to exercise their

puts—was a purchase for purposes of Section 16(b). The

district court held that it was a purchase but that, since it

occurred more than six months after the sale on March 28,

2000, the plaintiffs first claim should be dismissed. That is

correct.

> Since both the total and per share prices were fixed, the number of

shares with respect to the fixed price component was fixed.

* Plaintiff also argues that the holding of the district court is unwork-

able in cases when the insider exercises a hybrid put at the floating rate

because it would require there to be a second sale of the same underlying

securities: “There could not be a ‘second’ sale, because according to the

district court, all of the shares were deemed sold on March 28, 2000 at

$48 per share * * *” (Appellant’s Brief p. 37). This is incorrect. Where an

insider exercises a hybrid put at the floating price, the fixed price put

expires on an exempt basis by virtue of Rule 16b-6(d). The underlying

shares become available for a different sale.

lSa

Under Rule 16b-6(a) the “liquidation of or decrease in a

put equivalent position shall be deemed a purchase of the

underlying security for purposes of section 16(b) * * *.” The

May 2001 agreement explicitly cancelled what had been the

defendants’ put equivalent position. Rule 16b-6(d), 17 C.F.R.

240.16b-6(d), provides that “[t}he disposition or closing of a

long derivative security position, as a result of cancellation or

expiration, shall be exempt from section 16(b) of the Act

where no value is received from the cancellation or expira-

tion” (emphasis added). This agreement does not qualify for

that exemption since Cox and Comcast did receive value in

exchange for agreeing to forgo the right to exercise their puts.

Defendants nonetheless contend that “[a]fter the March

2000 Put was exercised on January 11, 2002, there was no

put to ‘cancel’” and that the “[c]ourts uniformly have held

that ‘once an option is exercised, the option itself ceases to

exist and an enforceable bilateral contract is formed.’” (Brief

of Appellee Cox p. 45 (emphases in original); see also Brief

of Appellee Comcast pp. 38-39). Defendants’ argument

places semantics over substance: while the defendants gave

notice of their intent to exercise the puts, they never, in fact,

followed through and transferred any shares to AT&T.

fil. COMCAST’S ACQUISITION OF THREE

CABLE COMPANIES THAT OWNED AT

HOME WARRANTS WAS NOT A PURCHASE

OF THE WARRANTS FOR PURPOSES OF

SECTION 16(b).

This Court’s third. question is “[w]hether Comcast’s

acquisition of three cable companies that owned warrants to

purchase shares of At Home stock in January, March and

August 2000 should be characterized as a § 16(b) purchase of

At Home securities.” Under Count II of their complaint,

plaintiff urges that if, arguendo, as Comcast contends, the

creation of the put in March 28, 2000 constituted a ‘sale’ for

purposes of Section 16(b), then that sale can be matched with

l6a

Comcast’s acquisition of the warrants, which took place

within six months of March 28, 2000 (Appellant’s Brief pp.

44-46; See also Compl. 4 74).° The plaintiff argues that

“purchase,” as defined by Section 3(a)(13) of the Exchange

Act, 15 U.S.C. 78c(a)(13), includes “any contract to buy,

purchase, or otherwise acquire” and that this definition is

broad enough to include the purchase of another company

that, in turn, owns securities of the issuer (Appellant’s Brief

pp. 44-46).

The district court held that these transactions are not within

the scope of Section 16(b) because the acquisition of the

warrants was an incidental part of acquisitions of the three

companies. Without deciding whether this amounted to a

“purchase” of securities for purposes of Section 16(b), the

court held (340 F. Supp. 2d at 411):

‘In deciding whether borderline transactions are

within the reach of the statute, the courts have come

to inquire whether the transaction may serve as a

vehicle for the evil which Congress sought to pre-

vent—the realization of short-swing profits based

upon access to inside information.’ Kern County

Land Co. v. Occidental Petroleum Corp., 411 U.S.

582, 594 [ ] (1973). We can conceive of situations

where an insider could acquire one company simply

(or mainly) to obtain its interests in the subject

company, as when the acquired company has few

other assets or exists for the sole purpose of trading

in shares of the subject company. However,

plaintiff has failed to plead any facts giving rise to

such a possibility here.

The district court was correct to find that this sort of

indirect acquisition in a change-in-control transaction typic-

ally does not fall within the scope of Section 16(b). The

> There are no allegations against Cox in Count II.

17a

district court, however, incorrectly resolved the issue by use

of Kern. The Kern Court held that a transaction that literally

falls within the scope of Section 16(b) may, nevertheless, be

excluded from the section if, on the facts of the case, it does

not present a risk of speculative abuse. While the defendant in

Kern was a greater than 10% owner of stock in the issuer, it

also was an unsuccessful hostile tender offeror. To the Court,

the critical factors in excluding the defendant from liability

under Section 16(b) were that the defendant was forced to sell

pursuant to a merger agreement, whose terms it did not

negotiate, and, as a hostile tender offeror, the defendant did

not have access to inside information. See Kern, 411 U.S. at

597-98. This Court has read Kern to require that the insider

not have access to inside information and/or have no control

over the terms of the transaction or its occurrence. See

American Standard, Inc. v. Crane Co., 510 F.2d 1043, 1054

(2d Cir. 1974). Here, defendant Comcast does not meet either

of those criteria, and we believe Kern does not apply.

This case calls for a different approach. The acquisition of

At Home warrants here was an indirect consequence of a

change-in-control transaction. In general (although there can

be exceptions, as we discuss below), this sort of indirect and

incidental acquisition should be presumed not to be a

“purchase” for purposes of Section 16(b), since it is not the

sort of transaction Congress was concerned about. The

Supreme Court has stated that “‘the only method Congress

deemed effective to curb the evils of insider trading was a flat

rule taking the profits out of a class of transactions in which

the possibility of abuse was believed to be intolerably great.’”

Kern, 411 U.S. at 592 (quoting Reliance Electric Co. v.

Emerson Electric Co., 404 U.S. 418, 422 (1972)). As the

Commission explained long ago, a six-month period was

chosen because that “arbitrary period” was thought “as

roughly marking the distinction between short swing spec-

ulation and long term investment.” Notice of Proposal io

Adopt a Rule Exempting from the Operation of Section 16(b)

18a

Certain Acquisitions and Dispositions of Securities Pursuant

to Mergers or Consolidations, Exchange Act Rel. No. 4696,

17 Fed. Reg. 3177, 1952 SEC LEXIS 63 (April 9, 1952).

Because Section 16(b) can be harsh in imposing strict

liability, “Congress itself limited carefully the liability

imposed by §16(b).” Foremost-McKesson, Inc. v. Provident

Securities Co., 423 U.S. 232, 252 (1976).° “When Congress

has so recognized the need to limit carefully the ‘arbitrary and

sweeping coverage’ of §16(b) * * * courts should not be

quick to determine that * * * Congress intended the section to

cover a particular transaction.” Jd. at 252 (citations omitted).

See also Gollust v. Mendell, 501 U.S. 115, 122 (1991); H.R.

Rep. No. 1383, 73d Cong., 2d Sess. 13 (1934).

An insider who seeks to profit from inside information

typically will engage in a purchase or sale in the issuer’s

securities, and then engage in an opposite-way transaction

when the information becomes public, and the securities’

price is affected. A change in control, however, is typically

motivated by a desire to acquire contro] of a company. It also

involves complex negotiations, and many strategic corporate

considerations, and often involves regulatory review and

approval. While it is not beyond possibility that an acquiror

would tailor a change in control transaction to obtain short-

swing profits from insider trading, it is certainly not going to

be a common scenario. Good faith change in control trans-

actions are not ones “in which the possibility of abuse [is]

intolerably great,” Kern, 411 U.S. at 592.

The plaintiff nonetheless argues that these acquisitions

literally meet the words of the definition of “purchase” in

Section 3(a)(13) of the Exchange Act. However, the prefatory

language to the Exchange Act definitions states that they

apply “[w]hen used in this title, unless the context otherwise

® See also Gollust v. Mendell, 501 U.S. 115, 122 (1991); Reliance

Electric Co. v. Emerson Electric Co., 404 U.S. at 422-25.

_

19a

requires.” Section 3(a), 15 U.S.C. 78c(a) (emphasis added).

This Court has “recognized the importance of this introduc-

tory phrase in certain situations.” Yoder v. Orthomolecular

Nutrition Institute, Inc., 751 F.2d 555, 559 (2d. Cir. 1985).

For example, Section 3(a)(10) of the Exchange Act, 15

U.S.C. 78c(a)(10), excludes from the definition of “security”

“any note * * * which has a maturity at the time of issuance

of not exceeding nine months, exclusive of days of grace, or

any renewal thereof the maturity of which is likewise lim-

ited.” In spite of this language, which would seem to exempt

all notes of any quality, so long as of proper duration, this

Court has long held, citing the context clause, that the exemp-

tion does not apply “literally,” but only applies to notes that

are the equivalent of commercial paper. See, e.g., SEC v.

American Board of Trade, Inc., 75\ F.2d 529, 538 (2d Cir.

1984) (Friendly, J.).

Employment of the context clause is likewise appropriate

here. As discussed above, Section 16(b) is a strict liability

statute. The purpose of the provision must be taken into

account when construing the Section 3(a) definitions of

“purchase” and “sale” with respect to Section 16(b). Since a

change in control transaction will rarely be used to engage in

insider trading in securities held as an asset by the acquired

company, this sort of indirect acquisition should presump-

tively be deemed not to be a purchase for purposes of Section

16(b) (or a sale by the prior owners of the company). We say

“presumptively” because, as the district court noted, there

may be circumstances where an insider uses the acquisition of

another entity as a subterfuge in order to acquire underlying

securities. The plaintiff, however, should bear the burden of

pleading and proving that this indirect acquisition was such

an exception, something the plaintiff has not done here.’

’ This does not mean, as might be thought, that Section 16(b) would

cease to be a strict liability statute. It is a strict liability statute with respect

to short-term transactions that are properly deemed purchases and sales

20a

IV. THE “UNORTHODOX TRANSACTION DOC-

TRINE” IS INAPPLICABLE TO THE TRANS-

ACTIONS IN THIS CASE.

This Court next asks “[w]hether the Kern ‘unorthodox

transaction’ doctrine supports the District Court’s dismissal

of either of the relevant claims.” As discussed in the prior

section, we do not believe that the doctrine should be

expanded to apply, as the district court did, to the claim based

on indirect acquisition of At Home warrants in three change

of control transactions.

Separately, Cox argues that dismissal of plaintiff's first

cause of action should be affirmed because “[a]s in Kern

County, AT&T ‘undoubtedly knew more about’ At Home

than Cox at the time of the alleged ‘purchase’ and ‘sale’”

(Brief of Appellee Cox pp. 54-55, citing Kern County, 411

U.S. at 602). While this might be true, it is not a basis for

applying Kern, which this Court has read to require lack of

access to inside irformation and/or a forced transaction,

neither of which existed here.

V. CONTROLLING DEFERENCE IS OWED BY

THE COURT TO THE COMMISSION’S REA-

SONABLE INTERPRETATIONS OF SECTION

16(b) AND RELATED COMMISSION RULES.

The Court asks “[w]hat deference, if any, this Court owes

the positions the SEC adopts in its amicus curiae brief.” This

actually presents two questions: (1) what deference is owed to

the Commission’s construction of its own rules in an amicus

brief; and (2) what deference is owed to the Commission’s

construction of the federal securities statutes provided in an

amicus brief.

for purposes of the statute. The inquiry here is whether a purchase was

involved.

2la

A. This Court and the Supreme Court Have

Repeatedly Held that a Court Is Bound by an

Agency’s Reasonable Interpretations of Its

Own Regulations Provided in an Amicus Brief.

The deference accorded by the courts to the Commission’s

interpretations of its own rules in an amicus brief is settled

law. This Court has repeatedly held that it is “‘bound by the

SEC’s interpretations of its regulations in its amicus brief,

unless they are ‘plainly erroneous or inconsistent with the

regulation{s].’” DeMaria v. Andersen, 318 F.3d 170, 175 (2d

Cir. 2003) and Levy v Southbrook International Investments,

Lid., 263 F.3d 10, 14 (2d Cir. 2001) (both cases quoting Press

v. Quick & Reilly, Inc., 218 F.3d 121, 128 (2d Cir. 2000)).

Accord Yourman v. Giuliani, °29 F.3d 124, 128 (2d Cir.

2000) (deferring to an interpretation of regulations submitted

in an amicus brief by the Secretary of Labor). In Bowles v.

Seminole Rock & Sand Co., 325 U.S. 410, 414 (1945), the

Supreme Court first established the principle that an agency’s

interpretation of one of its own regulations commands sub-

stantial judicial deference such that the agency’s interpre-

tation “becomes of controlling weight unless it is plainly

erroneous or inconsistent with the regulation.”

More recently, the principle was reinforced in Auer v.

Robbins, 519 U.S. 452 (1997), where petitioner complained

that an agency’s interpretation of a regulation came in the

form of an amicus brief. The Supreme Court declared, “[t]hat

does not, in the circumstances of this case, make it any less

worthy of deference” because the agency’s “position is in no

sense a ‘post hoc rationalizatio[n]’ advanced by [the] agency

seeking to defend past agency action against attack” 519 U.S.

at 462 (quoting Bowen yv. Georgetown Univ. Hospital, 488

U.S. 204, 212 (1988)). “There is simply no reason to suspect

that the interpretation does not reflect the agency’s fair and

considered judginent on the matter in question.” Jd. See also

22a

Barnhart v. Walton, 535 U.S. 212, 217 (2002) (reaffirming

Auer). As this Court has explained:

[W]e recognized that an agency’s irserpretation of

its own regulations is entitled to considerable defer-

ence, irrespective of the formality of the procedures

used in formulating the interpretations. See Taylor

v. Vt. Dep. of Educ., 313 F.3d 768, 779-80 (2d Cir.

2002) (citing Auer v. Robbins [,supra, at 461]);

LaFleur v. Whitman, 300 F.3d 256, 277 (2d Cir.

2002)). We defer to an agency’s interpretation of

its own regulations because we ‘presume that the

power authoritatively to interpret [the agency’s]

own regulations is a component of the agency’s

delegated lawmaking powers.’ Martin v. Occu-

pational Safety & Health Rev. Com’n., 499 US.

144, 151 [] (1991).

Ecarnacion v. Barnhart, 331 F.3d 78, 86 (2d Cir. 2003).® In

light of the well established law in the Supreme Court and

this Court, the Commission’s interpretations of its rules

expressed in this brief are binding, unless they are plainly

erroneous or inconsistent with the regulations.

B. This Court Should Accord Chevron Deference to

Interpretations of the Federal Securities Stat-

utes Provided in Commission Amicus Briefs.

The Court also owes controlling deference to the Com-

mission’s interpretation of the statute—Section 16(b)—pro-

vided in this amicus brief. The analysis of this question

* There are three preconditions for applying Bowles or Auer deference:

the language of the regulation in question must be ambiguous; there must

be no reason to suspect that the interpretation does not reflect the agency’s

fair and considered judgment on the matter in question; and the agency’s

reading of its regulation must be fairly supported by the text of the

regulation itself. Drake v. FAA, 291 F.3d 59, 68 (D.C, Cir. 2002)

(citations omitted).

23a

begins with Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources De-

fense Council, Inc., 467 U.S: 837 (1984). As the Supreme

Court has recently summarized:

In Chevron, this Court held that ambiguities in stat-

utes within an agency’s jurisdiction to administer

are delegations of authority to the agency to fill the

statutory gap in reasonable fashion. Filling these

gaps, the Court explained, involves difficult policy

choices that agencies are better equipped to make

than courts. 467 U.S., at 865-866, 81 L. Ed. 2d 694,

104 S. Ct. 2778. If a statute is ambiguous, and if

the implementing agency’s construction is reason-

able, Chevron requires a federal court to accept the

agency’s construction of the statute, even if the

agency’s reading differs from what the court be-

lieves is the best statutory interpretation. /d. at 843-

844, and n. 11, 104 S. Ct. 2778.

National Cable & Telecommunications Assoc., v. Brand X

Internet Services, U.S. _, 125 S.Ct. 2688, 2699 (2005).’

For an agency interpretation to receive Chevron deference,

the agency must have been entrusted by Congress with

authority to interpret the statute, the statute must be am-

biguous and subject to interpretation, and the agency’s inter-

pretation must be a reasonable one. The term “purchase” as

applied to Section 16(b) is ambiguous. Congress has en-

trusted the Commission with responsibility for resolving

ambiguities in light of the purpose of the statute. Section

16(b) provides that “[t]his subsection shall not be construed

* Prior to Chevron, the Court held in Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S.

134 (1944), that the “rulings, interpretations and opinions of” an agency

that do not constitute an exercise of lawmaking authority, “while not

controlling upon the courts by reason of their authority, do constitute a

body of experience and informed judgment” which are “entitled to

respect” to the extent they are persuasive. /d. at 140.

24a

to cover * * * any transaction or transactions which the

Commission by rules and regulations may exempt as not

comprehended within the purpose of this subsection.” As this

shows, Congress did not believe Section 16(b) was self-

explanatory and vested the Commission with authority to

identify the purpose of the statute and identify transactions

which do not contravene the section’s purpose.

The Commission has generally done that through rule-

making. However, rulemaking is not a prerequisite for the

Commission’s views to be accorded Chevron deference.

While earlier cases focused on the formality of an agency

decision, such as whether it was the product of notice and

comment rulemaking or of an adjudication, see Christensen v.

Harris County, 529 U.S. 576, 587 (2000), more recent cases

have focused on whether the interpretation is the product of

authoritative agency consideration. In United States v. Mead

Corp., 533 U.S. 218 (2001), the Court addressed the level of

deference to be accorded to Customs Service tariff classi-

fications contained in “letter rulings.” The court held that

“administrative implementation of a particular statutory pro-

vision qualifies for Chevron deference when it appears that

Congress delegated authority to the agency generally to make

rules carrying the force of law, and that the agency inter-

pretation claiming deference was promulgated in the exercise

° In two recent cases, this Court declined to give Chevron deference to

Commission amicus briefs because the statutes at issue did not explicitly

look to the Commission t fil} in interstices in the statutes. See Dabit v.

Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenaer & Smith, Inc., 395 F.3d 25, 34 n.6 (2d Cir.),

cert. granted., 126 S. Ct. 34 (2005) (Mem.) (construing provision of Secu-

rities Litigation Uniform Standards Act preempting state law securities

fraud actions); /n re Enterprise Mortgage Acceptance Co., LLC, Secu-

rities Litigation, 39\ F.3d 401, 410 n.8 (2d Cir. 2005) (construing provi-

sion in Sarbanes-Oxley Act modifying statutes of limitation in private

securities lawsuits). Whatever the merit of those decisions as to those

statutes, this case involves a statute, Section 16(6), in which Congress

expressly delegated to the Commission that responsibility.

25a

of that authority.” Jd. at 226-27. While the Court noted that

“the overwhelming number of our cases applying Chevron

deference have reviewed the fruits of noticeand-comment

rulemaking or formal adjudication,” the Court added:

That said, and as significant as notice-and-comment

is in pointing to Chevron authority, the want of that

procedure here does not decide the case, for we

have sometimes found reasons for Chevron defer-

ence even when no such administrative formality

was required and none was afforded.

Id. at 230-31. The Court held that “{t}he fact that the tariff

classification here was not a product of such formal process

does not alone, therefore, bar the application of Chevron,” Id.

at 231. The opinion, however, gives little conclusive guidance

as to what must be shown, since the Court held that the

authorities cited to it—letter rulings issued by 46 different

scattered Customs offices—were obviously not authoritative

agency positions. See id. 233.

The next year, however, in Barnhart v. Walton, 535 U.S.

212 (2002), the Court achieved some clarity by stating flatly

that an agency interpretation may be entitled to Chevron

deference even when it is neither the product of notice-and-

_ comment rulemaking nor has the force of law. The major

factor the Court looked to is the level of careful consideration

an agency has given the question. See 535 U.S. at 222. In

Barnhart the petitioner, whose application for benefits was

denied by the Social Security Administration, asked the Court

to disregard the agency’s interpretation found in recently

promulgated regulations. The Court noted that the interpre-

tation in fact was a “long standing” one and “the fact the

Agency previously reached its interpretation through means

less formal than ‘notice and comment’ rulemaking * * * does

not automatically deprive that interpretation of the judicial

deference otherwise due” under Chevron. 535 U.S. at 221

26a

(citations omitted). Then, turning its attention to the con-

fusion caused by Christensen and Mead, the Court stated:

If this Court’s opinion in Christensen * * * sug-

gested an absolute rule to the contrary, our later

opinion in United States v. Mead * * * denied the

suggestion. * * * Indeed, Mead pointed to instances

in which the Court has applied Chevron deference

to agency interpretations that did not emerge out of

notice-and-comment rulemaking. * * * It indicated

that whether a court should give such deference

depends in significant part upon the interpretative

method used and the nature of the question at issue.

535 U.S. at 221-222 (citations omitted).'' The Court went on

to conclude (id. at 222):

In this case the interstitial nature of the legal

question, the related expertise of the Agency, the

importance of the question to administration of the

statute, the complexity of that administration, and

the careful consideration the Agency has given the

question over a long period of time all indicate that

Chevron provides the appropriate legal lens through

which to view the legality of the Agency interpre-

tation here at issuc. * * *

'' As this makes clear, not every informal statement of agency position

is to be accorded Chevron deference. The Supreme Court has since

declined to accord such deference to internal agency guidance, such as

that “presented in internal guidance memoranda,” Alaska Dept. of Enviro-

nmental Conservation v. EPA, 540 U.S. 461, 487 (2004), and an internal

operating manual, Washington State Dept. of Social and Heaith Servs. v.

Guardianship Estate of Xeffeler, 537 U.S. 371, 385 (2003). We believe

that the public position articulated here by the Commission itself, with the

deliberative process undertaken to reach its position and the explanation

of the reasons for that position, is more akin to the sort of articulations

contained in rulemaking than it is to internal guidelines.

27a

Later that year, this Court construed Barnhart to mean:

Less formal interpretations may also be entitled to

mandatory deference, depending upon to what ex-

tent the underlying statute suffers from exposed

gaps in its policies, especially if the statute itself is

very complex, as well as on the agency’s expertise

in making such policy decisions, the importance of

the agency’s decisions to the administration of the

statute, and the degree of consideration the agency

has given the relevant issues over time. See

Barnhart v. Walton, 535 U.S. 212, 122 S. Ct. 1265,

1272, 152 L. Ed. 2d 330 (2002).

Community Health Center v. Wilson-Coker, 311 F.3d 132,

138 (2d Cir. 2002).'?

The only statutory interpretation in this brief is whether

Section 16(b) applies to a transaction where an insider

acquires securities of an issuer indirectly by acquiring

ownership of a third party company which, in turn, owns

securities of the issuer. This is precisely the sort of question

that Congress directed the Commission to deal with. Section

16(b) states that it will not apply to transactions which the

Commission exempts as not within the purpose of the statute.

Because the statute imposes strict liability, the Commission’s

role in determining when to exempt transactions is of critical

importance to application of the statute. Congress and the

Supreme Court have been clear that this is a statute which the

Commission should assure is not unduly broad. This is, in -

short, precisely the sort of interstitial issue where Chevron

deference is due the Commission’s informal conclusions; “the

2 In Dabit and Enterprise Mortgage, this Court later cited Mead for

the proposition that Commission views expressed in an amicus brief,

rather than a rule or regulation, cannot receive Chevron deference. That

position appears contrary to the Supreme Court’s decision in Barnhart

and this Court’s decision in Community Health Center.

28a

statute itself is very complex”, the Commission has long and

broad “expertise in making such policy decisions,” and “the

importance of the agency’s decisions to the administration of

the statute” is critical.

The only reason to consider not according conclusive

deference to the Commission’s position might be that it is not

a “long-standing” one. That, however, is only true in the

limited sense that the claim that the indirect acquisitions are

within the scope of Section 16(b) is itself an apparently novel

claim. The Commission should not have to envision every

novel claim that might be made under Section 16(b) and

analyze these hypothetical claims, before its views will be

deemed authoritative. '?

In a broader sense, moreover, the analysis here is closely

similar to the sort of analysis the Commission has repeatedly

engaged in for many years. The Commission has over the

decades analyzed which transactions do not present risk

within the purposes of Section 16(b).'* Consistent with its

rulemaking authority, the Commission has emphasized in

both rules and amicus briefs that liability should exist only in

situations where there is a real risk of insider trading. '°

'3 In In re New Times Securities Services, Inc., 37\ F.3d 68, 80-83 (2d

Cir. 2004), this Court appeared to recognize that a Commission amicus

brief might be entitled to Chevron deference, but declined to give it such

deference because of the Commission’s failure to previously address an

issue even though it was longstanding. The Court also noted the presence

of a competing view by an entity that administers the provision on a day

to day basis, and the relation of the Commission to that entity. None of

those facts exist in this case.

* See, e.g. Rules 16a-9 through 13 and 16b-1 through 16b-8, 17

C.F.R. 240.16a-9 to 16a-13 and 16b-1 to 16b-8.

'S See, e.g., Ownership Reports and Trading By Officers, Directors and

Principal Securities Holders, Exchange Act Rel. No. 28869, 56 Fed. Reg.

7242, 7252 (Feb. 21, 1991); Brief of the Securities and Exchange Com-

mission, Amicus Curiae, in Support of the Appellee on Issues Addressed,

at 23-24; Levy v. Southbrook International Investments, Ltd, 263 F.3d 10

29a

The Commission’s amicus position here satisfies the other

requirements for Chevron deference. It is the product of

careful consideration, and is the authoritative view of the

Commission itself, not merely staff views. The Commission’s

Office of the General Counsel posted to the Commission’s

Web site a statement regarding consideration of amicus

briefs. In relevant part, it states that after a request is made:

The Office of the General Counsel will review the

materials submitted and seek input from Divisions

and Offices of the Commission that may have an

interest in the case. In cases where further review is

appropriate, the staff generally will contact both

sides and offer them the opportunity to make fur-_

ther submissions in writing, in person, or by tele-

phone. If the staff determines that amicus partici-

pation is merited in a particular case, the Office of

the General Counsel will make a recommendation,

together with interested Divisions and Offices, to

the Commission. The Commission then considers

and votes on whether to accept the recommendation

and file a brief. This process can take a significant

amount of time.

Request for Commission Amicus Participation in a Pending

Case, posted at http://www.sec.gov/litigation/briefs/amicus

request.htm. Amicus briefs submitted by the Commission thus

represent the views of the Commission. See e.g., David S.

Ruder, Address: The Development of Legal Doctrine Through

Amicus Participation: The SEC Experience, 1989 Wis. L.

Rev. 1167 (1989). All of these steps were taken in this case. '®

(2d Cir. 2001); Brief of the Securities and Exchange Commission, Amicus

Curiae at 13-14, Gryl v. Shire Pharmaceuticals Group PLC., 298 F.3d

136 (2d Cir. 2002).

'® The Commission’s staff had detailed meetings with both sides’ coun-

sel, made further inquiries of them and received responses, and prepared a

detailed written analysis and recommendation. The Commission reviewed

30a

Even when denying deference to a Commission amicus brief

on other grounds, this Court has said it had “no reason to

doubt that the SEC’s interpretation was the product of careful

consideration.” Jn re New Times Securities Services, Inc., 371

F.3dat82.

The statutory interpretation in this brief is an authoritative

and fully considered position by the Commission, which

reasonably construes an ambiguous statutory provision whose

interpretation was explicitly entrusted by Congress to the

Commission. We believe that the views expressed in this

brief are entitled to Chevron deference.

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the district court should be affirmed and

the positions of the Commission urged above should be

adopted by the Court.

Respectfully submitted,

BRIAN G. CARTWRIGHT

General Counsel

JACOB H. STILLMAN

Solicitor

ERIC SUMMERGRAD

Deputy Solicitor

ALLAN A. CAPUTE

Special Counsel to the Solicitor

Securities and Exchange Commission

100 F Street, NE

Washington, D.C. 20549-8010

February, 2006 (202) 551-5122 (Capute)

the recommendation for three weeks, met and discussed it, and then voted

to authorize the brief. It also reviewed the brief itself.

3la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

No. 05-01 15-cv

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX@HOME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS AND DAVID M. WooprRow,

Defendants-Appellees.

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE WITH F.R.A.P. 32(a)

I cerufy that THE BRIEF OF THE SECURITIES AND

EXCHANGE COMMISSION, AMICUS CURIAE, SUB-

MITTED AT THE REQUEST OF THE COURT complies

with the type-volume requirements of Rules 32(a)(7)(B) and

29(d) of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure (F.R.A.P.)

because it contains 6988 words. I further certify that this brief

complies with the typeface requirements of F.R.A.P. 32(a)(5)

and the type style requirements of F.R.A.P. 32(a)(6) becatise

it has been prepared in proportionally-spaced typeface using

WordPerfect (version 11) in garamond 14-point font size.

Allan A. Capute

Special Counsel to the Solicitor

Securities and Exchange Commission

100 F. Street, N.E.

Washington, D.C. 20549-8010

(202) 551-5122

32a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT .

No. 05-01 15-cv

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX@HOME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS AND DAVID M. WOODROW,

Defendants-Appellees.

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE WITH LOCAL

RULE 32(a)(1): BRIEFS IN DIGITAL FORMAT

I certify that THE BRIEF OF THE SECURITIES AND

EXCHANGE COMMISSION, AMICUS CURIAE, SUB-

MITTED AT THE REQUEST OF THE COURT, as

submitted in digital format, has been scanned for viruses

using McAfee VirusScan version 8.0 with signature 4692 of

February 8, 2006 and that no viruses have been detected as

required by Local Rule 32(a)(1).

Allan A. Capute

Special Counsel to the Solicitor

Securities and Exchange Commission

100 F. Street, N.E.

Washington, D.C. 20549-8010

(202) 551-5122

33a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

No. 05-01 15-cv

AT HOME CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

Cox COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COX@HOME, INC.,

COMCAST CORPORATION, COMCAST ONLINE

COMMUNICATIONS, INC., COMCAST PC INVESTMENTS, INC.,

BRIAN L. ROBERTS AND DAVID M. WooprRow,

Defendants-Appellees.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Allan A. Capute, am a member of the bars of Maryland

and the District of Columbia, and I hereby certify that on 9th

day of February, 2006, i caused to be served two copies of the

BRIEF OF THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COM-

MISSION, AMICUS CURIAE, SUBMITTED AT THE

REQUEST OF THE COURT, to counsel for the parties of

record at the address below, by overnight Federal Express:

Allan A. Capute

Counsel for the Plaintiff

Joseph S. Allerhand, Esq.

Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

767 Fifth Avenue

New York, New York 10153

34a

Counsel for Defandant Comcast Corporation

Sheron Korpus, Esq.

James T. Cain, Esq.

White & Case LLP

1155 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10036

Counsel for Defendant Cox Communications, Inc.

Michael D. Hays, Esq.

Daniel D. Prichard, Esq.

Dow, Lohnes & Albertson

1200 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

35a

APPENDIX B

SEC Rule 16b-6(b) (17 C.F.R. § 240.16b—6(b))

The closing of a derivative security position as a result of

its exercise or conversion shall be exempt from the operation

of section 16(b) of the Act, and the acquisition of underlying

securities at a fixed exercise price due to the exercise or

conversion of a call equivalent position or the disposition of

underlying securities at a fixed exercise price due to the

exercise of a put equivalent position shall be exempt from the

operation of section 16(b) of the Act: Provided, however,

That the acquisition of underlying securities from the exercise

of an out-of-the-money option, warrant, or right shall not be

exempt unless the exercise is necessary to comport with the

sequential exercise provisions of the Internal Revenue Code

(26 U.S.C. 422A).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.