Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Crater Corp. v. Lucent Technologies, Inc. (No. 05-1135)

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Opinion Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Federal Circuit Decided

September 7, 2005

Appendix B — Memorandum And Order Of The

United States District Court For The Eastern

District Of Missouri, Eastern Division Dated

February 19, 2004

Appendix C — Opinion Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Federal Circuit Dated June 6,

Appendix D — Memorandum And Order Of The

United States District Court For The Eastern

District Of Missouri, Eastern Division Dated And

Filed August 25, 1999

Appendix E — Order Of The United States District

Court For The Eastern District Of Missouri,

Eastern Division Dated And Filed March 24,

Appendix F — Order Of The United States District

Court For The Eastern District Of Missouri,

Eastern Division Dated And Filed September 17,

xi

Appendices

Page

Appendix G — Order Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Federal Circuit Denying

Petition For Rehearing Dated And Filed December

Gee esa ce ie cee a ee kie Cone kbs ees 67a

Appendix H — Declaration And Assertion Of

Military And State Secrets Privilege Of Richard

J. Danzig, Secretary Of The Navy, Undated ..... 69a

1

OPINIONS BELOW

Several opinions and orders below culminated in the Federal

Circuit’s ruling that is the subject of the petition writ of certiorari.

In chronological order, they are as follows:

On August 25, 1999, the district court dismissed all of

Crater’s claims. That order (App. D) is found at No.

4:98CVO09I3ZERW, 1999 WL 33973795 (E.D. Mo. Aug.

25, 1999).

On June 6, 2001, the Federal Circuit affirmed in part,

vacated in part, and remanded. The opinion (App. C) is

reported at 255 F.3d 1361.

On February 19, 2004, the district court denied Crater’s

Motion to Dissolve the Second Protective Order and

dismissed Crater’s claims. The district court’s memorandum

and order (App. B) is found at No. 4:98CV00913ERW,

2004 WL 3609347 (E.D. Mo. Feb. 19, 2004).

On September 7, 2005, a divided panel of the Federal Circuit

issued an opinion (App. A at la-20a), reported at 423 F.3d

1260, reversing and remanding. Judge Newman concurred

in part and dissented in part. (/d. at 2la-25a.) In an

unreported order filed December 6, 2005 (App. G), the court

of appeals also denied Crater’s petition for rehearing

en banc.

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered

September 7, 2005. (App. A.) The order of the court of

appeals denying the petition for rehearing en banc was filed

December 6, 2005. (App. G.) This Court has jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The United States Constitution, Amendment VII,

provides:

In Suits at common law, where the value in

controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right

of trial by jury shall be preserved, and no fact tried

by a jury shall be otherwise re-examined in any

Court of the United States, than according to the

rules of the common law,

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Crater Corporation (Crater) owns a patent

issued by the United States Patent and Trademark Office,

Patent Number 5,286,129 (Patent), which covers a split-

valve, underwater coupling device (the Coupler) Crater’s

owners invented. Respondent AT&T Company (AT&T)

contacted Crater to request help developing an underwater

fiber optic wetmate, i.e., a connecting device, for sale to an

undisclosed customer. Crater agreed to help AT&T and, later,

Respondent Lucent Technologies, Inc. (Lucent), but insisted

they promise that (1) any information on the Coupler not be

disclosed to anyone outside of AT&T and Lucent, (2) they

3

would provide Crater with copies of any CAD/CAM

drawings of the wetmate and with copies of models of the

wetmate, (3) they would not sell any wetmate incorporating

the Coupler without permission or license from Crater, and

(4) any work on the wetmate or Coupler would be done at

AT&T’s and Lucent’s machine shop. Crater provided

confidential data and trade secret information to AT&T and

Lucent on the Coupler; such information was used in the

wetmate Lucent developed. When Crater complained to

Lucent about breaches of promises, Lucent indicated to Crater

that the work had been for the government and that Crater

had no remedy against Lucent.

In May 1998, Crater filed a complaint in the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri, alleging

that Lucent and AT&T infringed Crater’s Patent, breached

contracts with Crater, and misappropriated Crater’s trade

secrets, by, inter alia, making, using and selling Couplers

without a license or permission from Crater.

On September 17, 1998, the district court granted a

protective order (First Protective Order) which limited all

parties’ discovery to jurisdictional issues raised in a motion

to dismiss filed by Lucent and AT&T and in Crater’s

opposition thereto. The court permitted the parties to proceed

with discovery on issues of whether Lucent and AT&T made,

used, or sold the Coupler to or for anyone other than the

government and whether the government gave authorization

or consented to Lucent and AT&T’s manufacture or use of

the Coupler. (App. F.)

1. In September 1998, Crater filed a First Amended Complaint,

which made only minor changes to the original pleading. The First

Amended Complaint invoked the district court’s subject matter

jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1338(a), (b), 1367(a).

4

On March 11, 1999, the United States (a respondent

herein) moved to intervene to assert the Military and State

Secrets Privilege (the Privilege) and moved for a protective

order prohibiting Crater “from conducting any discovery or

serving any subpoena for information relating to the

manufacture or use of plaintiff's coupling device, or any

coupling device, by or on behalf of the United States.” The

latter motion was accompanied by the Declaration and

Assertion of Military and State Secrets Privilege of Richard

J. Danzig, Secretary of the Navy. (App. H.) After declaring

that he had been informed of Crater’s discovery requests and

advised that defendants and possibly others possessed

information responsive to Crater’s discovery requests, Danzig

contended that Crater’s discovery could be expected to cause

grave damage to national security. He also mentioned an in

camera declaration describing the operations and programs

involved. Significantly, he did not state that he had personally

reviewed items requested by Crater, nor did he state that he

had attempted to segregate information that was non-secret,

and therefore available to Crater, from that which was truly

secret. In fact, he had made no such review.

In addition, Lucent and the government had previously

informed Crater that the Coupler was not part of the classified

government program mentioned in Danzig’s declaration. In

an April 24, 1997 letter to Crater, the Department of Navy

(Navy) wrote that “it will be several months before it can be

determined if the Government is going to use a coupling

design that maybe [sic] covered by one or more claims of

your asserted patent.” In a July 30, 1997 letter, the Navy

stated that the government’s only use of the Coupler was

“experimental,” “the solution using [Crater’s] asserted patent

has problematic features,” and “[t]hese problematic features,

5

and the apparent cost associated with correcting the deficiencies

..., counsel against use of the solution incorporating the

asserted patent.” In a December 23, 1997 letter to Crater, Lucent

wrote that “Lucent was not awarded a production contract for

an underwater connector based on the prototype as built by

Lucent under the classified contract.” Finally, in a January 26,

1998 letter to Crater, the Navy confirmed that it had no further

interest in using Crater’s invention.

Our investigation has determined, and I can

certify, that there has been a use by Lucent

Technologies Inc. for the Government of a total of

36 brassboard/prototype engineering development

units coupling devices of the type which you have

alleged are covered by U.S. patent number

5,286,129. These units were tested and evaluated,

and failed to meet fully the Government’s

requirements. Therefore, the Government is not

going to use these devices further.

In March 1999, the district court held a hearing on the

government's motions to intervene and for protective order. The

unopposed motion to intervene was granted. As to the protective-

order motion, however, Crater objected that the government

did not properly invoke the Privilege, in part because the agency

head did not submit an affidavit stating “that he had seen and

considered the documents he considered secret.” In response,

the government’s counsel confirmed the accuracy of Crater’s

objection by stating:

Now, we, the government, do not know what

documents the defendants necessarily have in their

possession or what information or the breadth of the

information the plaintiffs want from these

defendants.

6

Notwithstanding Danzig’s deficient affidavit, on March

24, 1999, the district court granted the government’s motion

for a protective order. The court’s order (Second Protective

Order) prohibited Crater—but no other party—from

“conducting any discovery or serving any subpoena for

information relating to the manufacture or use of plaintiff's

coupling device, or any coupling device, by or on behalf of

the United States.”? (App. E.) The Second Protective Order

prohibited discovery as to a whole category of information,

regardless whether (1) any particular item had been reviewed

by the government, as required, (2) revealing that item would

threaten national security, or (3) the item had until then been

kept secret.’ After entry of the Second Protective Order,

Crater took truncated depositions. The order, however,

prevented Crater from conducting meaningful discovery.

During a July 30, 1999 deposition, Kenneth Nagengast,

who had worked for Lucent and AT&T, testified about the

non-classified, non-secret Coupler and wetmate of which the

Coupler was a part. He admitted that in 1996 or 1997 he

gave two presentations about the wetmate to Lucent

employees; the first presentation had an audience of about a

dozen persons and the second had an even larger audience.

He testified that the Coupler and wetmate were never

classified and that he was allowed to talk about and show

them to the public. Nagengast testified under oath as follows:

2. The Second Protective Order, originally filed under seal, was

subsequently unsealed.

3. Crater provided discovery to Lucent and AT&T, including

numerous design documents concerning the Coupler and the wetmate

Lucent and AT&T had manufactured and sold.

7

Q. Do you know the security clearances of all the

people at these two presentations?

A. No.

Q. Do you know if there were people at those

presentations who had no clearance at all?

A. No.

Q. You don’t know the answer?

A. I do not know the answer.

Q. And yet at this presentation you presented a

demonstrated, a demonstrative model of the

device you were working on for the government?

A. Yes.

Rae eee

Q. Are you required to report breaches of

security?

A. Yes, I am.

Q. Have you reported the presencations to senior

management as breaches of security?

MR. TYLER [the government’s counsel]: Objection.

Assumes there was a breach of security.

Q. Go ahead. Have you reported it?

THE WITNESS: Should I answer him?

MR. BONACORSI: Yes. The objection stands. I

join in the objection. Go ahead and answer if you

can.

A. I have not reported it as a breach of security.

8

Q. Do you believe it was a breach of security?

A. No, I do not.

Q. Why not?

MR. BONACORSI: Calling for opinion,

conjecture, speculation. Go ahead and answer.

A. Well, let’s see —

MR. TYLER: Do you nee. ‘o speak about this

before you respond?

THE WITNESS: I just want to know how much.

MR. BONACORSI: Just before you do that, let

me ask you one thing before you talk. I am not

permitted to join in that conversation.

(Discussion off the record.)

A. Okay, read back the question.

(Pending question was read.)

A. I don’t believe it was a breach of security

because that part of the assembly is not considered

a breach of security to show that—

Q. Okay.

A. —outside of cleared personnel, which is why

our machine shop was making that for us.

Additionally, I was given permission from our

government customer to present this at this

presentation.

Q. What part of the device is not classified?

A. What part is not classified?

Q. You just told me that the part you presented at

this presentation is not classified?

~

9

A. Correct. The split ball is a part of what we

call the connector, that connector itself is not

considered classified.

Q. But the split ball is?

A. No

Q. I see. The connector is not classified and the

split ball is part of the connector?

A. Right.

Nagengast even used a “see-through” wetmate in the

presentations, and in deposition described the wetmate’s

design:

Q. The wet mate you used in your presentations

to senior Lucent management, did it have at least

partially an outer layer made of clear Lucite?

A. Yes.

Q. And that’s so you can see inside of it?

A. Yes.

Q. Did it have rotating black and white ball

segments in it?

A. I don’t recall the colors.

Q. Did it have contrasting colors so you can see,

it would make a better visual presentation?

A. It’s possible. I don’t recall.

. Did it have actuation linkages?

. It had, yes.

. Did it have bladders in silicone oil?

A. No.

Q. Did it have a spring-loaded MAC II multi fiber

electro optical connector?

A. Yes.

Q. Did that pass through the port of one segment

and mate with the split ball coupling device?

A. Yes.

Lucent employee Paul Rominski was also deposed on

July 30, 1999. Nearly a year before his deposition, Rominski

had indicated to the court by affidavit that around 1995 Crater

had submitted to Lucent “prototype designs for their version

of a quick disconnect coupler (the “Crater coupler’).” At the

deposition, Rominski identified drawings of the Coupler he

had sent to and received from Crater and identified other

employees involved in designing and making the Coupler.

On August 25, 1999, the district court dismissed Crater’ s

claims for patent infringement, breach of contract, and

misappropriation of trade secrets. (App. D.)

On June 6, 2001, the Federal Circuit affirmed as to the

patent infringement claim, but reversed and remanded the

dismissal of latter two claims. (App. C.)

On October 1, 2002, based in part upon the

uncontradicted testimony that the Coupler and wetmate had

never been classified and the public programs on the Coupler

and wetmate, featuring the “see-though” wetmate, Crater

moved to dissolve the Second Protective Order. Crater argued

that “large amounts of information, purportedly subject to

the Second Protective Order, have been made public with

1]

the consent of the government,” and that “[a]ny State Secret

Privilege protective order must be mutual.” The government

responded that the public presentations concerning the

Coupler and wetmate, and the testimony describing the design

and components of the Coupler and wetmate, did not reveal

secret or privileged information.

On March 23, 2003, following Crater’s renewed

discovery, Acting Secretary of the Navy Hansford T. Johnson

submitted a Declaration and Claim of Military and State

Secrets Privilege of. But Johnson’s declaration did nothing

to cure the deficiencies in his predecessor’s declaration, i.e.,

Johnson did not claim to have actually looked at the

documents claimed to be privileged. Instead, he averred that

“[glovernment officials have examined the documents

covered by the military and state secrets privilege which may

be responsive to plaintiff's discovery.” He contended that

“none of the documents responsive to plaintiff's discovery,

and no portion of any document,” could be produced without

violating the Privilege.

Despite earlier statements to Crater to the contrary, and

despite stating in court that public presentations featuring

the wetmate had occurred, the government insisted at a

December 2, 2003 motion hearing that all aspects of the

Coupler were secret and that revealing any information about

it would somehow jeopardize national security. The

government even claimed the pleadings and filings in the

public district court file were privileged, because “the line

has to be drawn somewhere.” The government assembled

approximately 26,000 documents or pages of documents,

which the court agreed to review. After reviewing the

12

assemblage, it was apparent to the court “that no one in the

government had even looked at these documents.” The court

added,

It just seemed so clear to me that if a pleading that’s

in the court files and correspondence that has been

produced from plaintiff's file in this case, I just

cannot imagine how, since everything in this case is

under protective order, how that could possibly

damage national security by disclosing it.

The court agreed, however, to delay issuing a ruling.

On December 9, 2003, Lucent and AT&T moved to

dismiss based upon the Privilege. Over Crater’s opposition,

on February 19, 2004, the court granted the motion to dismiss,

denied Crater’s motion to dissolve the Second Protective

order (App. B), and entered judgment accordingly.

On appeal, Crater argued, inter alia that the district court

improperly applied that state secrets privilege, because

(1) the government failed to meet the minimum threshold

requirements for asserting the privilege, and (2) the materials

for which the government sought protection did not constitute

military or state secrets. Crater also argued that the court

erred when it dismissed the action upon the Privilege because

the relevant information about what Lucent and AT&T did

for the government was not secret and had already been

disclosed with the government’s permission. The government

responded that “[t]he Acting Secretary of the Navy was not

required ... to review personally all 26,000 pages of

potentially responsive documents; it sufficed that the Acting

13

Secretary reviewed a representative sample.”* The

government maintained that to invoke the privilege properly,

the department head is not required to have personal

knowledge of the contents of every document at issue.

In a divided panel opinion, the Federal Circuit recognized

that Reynolds requires “actual personal consideration” by the

department head, but the court did not strictly apply Supreme

Court precedent. Instead, the panel majority ruled that the

governmental department heads were not personally required

to review any document at issue as a prerequisite for proper

invocation of the Privilege. The panel majority found it

sufficient that the department heads “were informed of the

nature and scope of the documents sought in discovery,” and

that each then determined that disclosure of the material

sought would jeopardize a state secret and threaten national

security. (App. A at 12a.) But the sole case the Federal Circuit

cited in support of its finding the government has properly

invoked the Privilege, Northrop Corp. v. McDonnell Douglas

Corp., 751 F.2d 395, 400 (D.C. Cir. 1984), held that the

Privilege was properly invoked when the department head

“stated that he had reviewed a representative sample of the

documents as well as affidavits of staff members who had

received all of the documents.” (/d.)

Next, the Federal Circuit addressed the dismissal order,

stating that “existence of a trade secret is a prerequisite to a

claim for misappropriation of trade secrets.” (/d. at 16a.) But

the court found, “it has not been established precisely what,

if any, trade secrets exist in connection with the Coupler.”

(/d.) The court indicated “that deciding the [i]mpact of the

4. The government’s contention that Johnson reviewed a

representative sample of the documents lacks evidentiary support.

14

government’s assertion of the state secrets privilege on

Crater’s State law claims without first determining what trade

secrets exist and whether a contract existed between Crater

and Lucent is akin to putting the cart before the horse.”

(/d. at 17a.) It reversed and remanded for “further

proceedings,” stating that “[i]f Crater establishes that it has

one or more trade secrets in connection with the Coupler,

the district court will know precisely what the secrets are.”

(Id. at 18a.)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT MISAPPLIED THE

MILITARY AND STATE SECRETS PRIVILEGE

BY PERMITTING THE GOVERNMENT TO

ASSERT THE PRIVILEGE WHEN DEPARTMENT

HEAD AFFIANTS DID NOT CLAIM TO HAVE

SEEN AND CONSIDERED A SINGLE DOCUMENT

A. An Important Federal Question was Decided in

Contravention of Longstanding Precedent from

United States v. Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1 (1953)

A common law evidentiary rule—the Privilege—permits

the United States to “block discovery in a lawsuit of any

information that, if disclosed, would adversely affect national

security.” See McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. United States,

323 F.3d 1006, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Ellsberg v. Mitchell,

709 F.2d 51, 56 (D.C. Cir. 1983). The “information protected

under the state secrets doctrine includes information that

would result in impairment of the nation’s defense

capabilities, disclosure of intelligence-gathering methods or

capabilities, and disruption of diplomatic relations with

foreign governments.” Jn re United States, 872 F.2d 472, 476

15

(D.C. Cir. 1989) (quotations omitted). The Privilege “is well

established in the law of evidence.” United States v. Reynolds,

345 U.S. 1, 7-8 (1953).

The Privilege is as a “drastic remedy that has rarely been

invoked.” See Fitzgerald v. Penthouse Int'l, Ltd., 776 F.2d

1236, 1242 (4th Cir. 1985); accord Halkin v. Helms, 598

F.2d 1, 14n.9 (D.C. Cir. 1978) (“[T]he state secrets privilege

. .. has surfaced only rarely in the United States.”). However,

the government has been invoking the Privilege with

~-increasing frequency. See, e.g., Tenet v. Doe, 544 US. |

(2005); Sterling v. Tenet, 416 F.3d 338 (4th Cir. 2005), cert.

denied, Sterling v. Goss, 126 S. Ct. 1052 (2006); Tenenbaum

v. Simonini, 372 F.3d 776 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 543 U.S.

1000 (2004); Darby v. United States Dep't of Defense, No.

02-1612574, 74 Fed. Appx. 813 (9th Cir.) (unpublished),

petition for cert. filed, No. 03-8342 (Oct. 27, 2003); Edmonds

v. United States Dep't of Justice, 405 F. Supp. 2d 23 (D.D.C.

2005); Burnett v. Al Baraka Inv. & Dev. Corp., 323 F.Supp.2d

82 (D.D.C. 2004); see generally, J. Steven Gardner,

Comment: The State Secret Privilege Invoked in Civil

Litigation: A Proposal for Statutory Relief, 29 Wake Forest

L. Rev. 567, 567-68, 585-86 (Summer 1994); Note, The

Military and State Secrets Privilege: Protection for the

National Security or Immunity for the Executive?, 91 Yale

L.J. 570 (1982).

While invocation of the Privilege is becoming a common

occurrence, the evidence upon which Reynolds, the leading

case on the Privilege, was based, i.e., affidavits and a sworn

formal claim of privilege, has recently been called into

question. One of the widows and two children of the men

who died in the Air Force plane crash that led to Reynolds

more than half a century ago filed suit upon learning that the

16

evidence upon which the Privilege claim was rooted was

untrue. Their petition for a writ of certiorari is still pending.

See Herring v. United States, 424 F.3d 384 (3d Cir.), petition

for cert. filed, 74 U.S.L.W. 3395 (U.S. Dec. 21, 2005)

(No. 05-821).

As to the issue at hand, in Reynolds, the Supreme Court

outlined three threshold requirements for invoking the

Privilege:

{t]here must be a (1) formal claim of privilege

(2) lodged by the head of the department which

has control over the matter, (3) after actual

personal consideration by that officer.

345 U.S. at 8 (numbers and emphasis added; footnotes

omitted).

The United States Supreme Court clearly defined the

“actual personal consideration” requirement:

[t]he essential matter is that the decision to object

should be taken by the minister who is the political

head of the department, and that he should have seen

and considered the contents of the documents and

himself have formed the view that on grounds of

public interest they ought not to be produced. * * *

Id. at 8 n.20 (quoting Duncan v. Cammell, Laird & Co.,

(1942) A.C. 624, 638 (emphasis added)).

Because of the serious potential for defeating worthy

claims for violations of rights that would otherwise be

proved, the Privilege is “not to be lightly invoked.” Reynolds,

17

345 U.S. at 7. In this case, the Privilege was lightly and

incorrectly invoked. As explained in greater detail the

Statement of the Case, the government provided declarations

from two department heads, Danzig and Johnson, neither of

whom in public declarations claimed to have seen—-much

less given actual personal consideration—to the documents

the government sought to prevent being disclosed. In fact,

the government’s counsel admitted the government did not

know what documents Lucent and AT&T necessarily had in

their possession were or what information or breadth of the

information Crater wanted from them.°

Given that the Privilege can erect an insurmountable

roadblock to meaningful access to the judicial system,

Reynolds—if it is to stand for anything beyond raw executive

power—must require at least a minimal check on such power.

Long ago, the Court recognized that the Privilege doctrine is

a “formula of compromise.” See id. at 9. There will be no

compromise, however, if the Court lets stand the Federal

Circuit’s evisceration of the “actual personal consideration”

requirement.

In addition, the greater implications of allowing the

government to skirt Reynolds’s safeguards are rea! and

substantial. If an unscrupulous agency employee were to

mislead the department head as to the nature of the documents

5. Although Crater has not been made privy to Danzig’s secret

affidavit, the panel majority and minority opinions clearly suggest

the affidavit did not indicate Danzig had personally reviewed any

documents sought to be shielded by the state secrets privilege.

Moreover, the government did not specifically contend that the secret

affidavit was based on actual personal review of any documents. In

oral argument, the government conceded the agency heads had never

reviewed any document.

18

sought to be shielded by the Privilege, and the department

head were permitted simply to submit an affidavit relying

on the subordinate’s summary of the documents, the purpose

behind requiring a formal claim of privilege lodged by the

head of the department with control over the matter would

be subverted. Cf. Marriott Int'l Resorts, L.P. v. United States,

No. 05-5046, 2006 WL 258458, *4 (Fed. Cir. Feb. 3, 2006)

(“Of most importance” why agency head may delegate

authority to invoke deliberative process privilege on agency’s

behalf is that “the state secrets privilege is an absolute

privilege; the deliberative process privilege is not.”). The

affidavit, even if offered innocently, would be predicated

upon a lie. The department head, not having seen and

considered the actual documents, could escape accountability.

Thus, the Supreme Court’s threshold requirements that there

be a “formal claim of privilege, lodged by the head of the

department which has control over the matter” would be

rendered meaningless.

In the instant case, the two public affidavits indicate—

and the government has conceded at oral argument—that the

agency heads never reviewed a single document claimed

secret.

19

B. To the Extent a Question Exists as to the Meaning of

‘Actual Personal Consideration” under Reynolds, the

Court Should Settle this Important Question of

Federal Law, Because the Federal Circuit Created a

Rift with Other Circuits

1. District of Columbia Circuit Court of Appeals

Although Reynolds states that the political head of the

department “should have seen ... the documents,” to the

extent any doubt exists, the Court should settle this important

question of federal law over which the circuits are in conflict.

Specifically, the District of Columbia Circuit concluded that

the Privilege was properly invoked when the department head

averred “that he had reviewed a representative sample of the

documents as well as affidavits of staff members who had

received all of the documents.” See Northrop Corp., 751 F.2d

at 400. The District of Columbia Circuit’s conclusion

overlooked the Supreme Court’s “seen and considered the

contents” requirement.

In any event, Northrop did not stretch the Supreme

Court’s “actual personal consideration” requirement nearly

as thin as did the Federal Circuit’s panel majority, which

was Satisfied that the department heads were “informed of

the nature and scope of the documents.” Thus, Northrop-the

sole case upon which the Federal Circuit based determination

of the consideration issue—does not stand for the proposition

for which the Federal Circuit cited it.

6. The Fourth Circuit's stance on the issue is difficult to discern,

because the affidavit language it has addressed was more specific

- than those at issue in this case. See, e.g., Bowles v. United States,

950 F.2d 154, 156 (4th Cir. 1991) (per curiam)

(Cont'd)

20

2. Third Circuit Court of Appeals

The Third Circuit does not appear to have addressed

Reynolds in the context of a state secrets case. Given its

application of the test in United States v. O'Neill, 619 F.2d

222 (3d Cir. 1980), however, that court would be hard pressed

to find that department heads need not personally review the

documents at issue. O’Neill concerned invocation of the

executive privilege, but the court correctly noted that

Reynolds’s “prerequisites for formal invocation of the

privilege have been uniformly applied irrespective of the

particular kind of executive claim advanced.” /d. at 226

(quoting Carter v. Carlson, 56 F.R.D. 9, 10 (D.D.C. 1972)).

After citing with approval Smith v. FTC, 403 F. Supp. 1000,

1010 (D. Del. 1975), which stated that the agency head

claiming the privilege “must personally review the material,”

the Third Circuit ruled against the government, finding “no

indication ... that the department heads made the type of

personal careful examination which must precede invocation

of the privilege.” O’Neill, 619 F.2d at 226.

3. Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals

Characterizing the invocation of the Privilege as

“a process safeguarded by the Supreme Court’s requirement

that the head of the relevant government department make

(Cont'd)

The Secretary of State . . . properly invoked the privilege

by stating that he was ‘asserting a formal claim of

privilege . . . based upon information conveyed to [him]

by United States Government advisers in the course of

their official duties and upon [his] own personal

determination that the nature of the information in

question require|d] an assertion of privilege.’.

21

a formal claim after personal perusal of the matter,”

Black v. United States, 62 F.3d 1115, 1119 (8th Cir. 1995)

(emphasis added; citing Reynolds, 345 U.S. at 7-8), cert.

denied, 517 U.S. 1154 (1996), the Eighth Circuit’s careful

word selection reveals that court’s interpretation of Reynolds.

The word “peruse” is commonly defined as meaning,

“[t]o read, esp. with great attention.” See Webster’s II New

Riverside University Dictionary 523 (1984).

4. Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

In Kerr v. United States District Court for Northern

District of California, 511 F.2d 192 (9th Cir. 1975), affirmed,

426 U.S. 394 (1976), the Ninth Circuit addressed the third

prong of the Reynolds test in a state secrets case, leaving no

doubt that the department head must conduct a personal

review of the material at issue. Kerr stemmed from a

discovery dispute in a civil rights action brought by seven

California state prisoners against the members of the

California Adult Authority, state administrative officers, their

agents, employees and successors in interest. Jd. at 194-95.

The defendants, i.e, petitioners, instituted a mandamus or

prohibition proceeding pursuant to the All Writs Act,

28 U.S.C. § 1651. See id. at 194. They contended that the

Privilege shielded them from having to produce requested

personnel files. See id. at 196, 198.

The Ninth Circuit concluded that it did “not have to reach

the question of whether this privilege extends to these

documents,” as that the “governmental privilege must be

formally asserted and delineated in order to be raised

properly.” /d. at 198. After noting that no agency official

had asserted any privilege in the district court, the Ninth

Circuit quoted the Supreme Court’s “seen and considered

22

the contents of the documents” requirement and declared

Reynolds “illustrative.” Id. Finally, the court denied the

petition. Jd. at 199.

Although the Supreme Court affirmed the Ninth Circuit’s

orders, see Kerr, 426 U.S. at 406, the Court narrowly focused

on the issues presented and did not address the level of

specificity required by Reynolds. Instead, the Court simply

summarized the decision below: “the Court of Appeals

indicated that because the assertions of privilege were not

personally made by high-level officials of the California

Adult Authority and because the assertions of privilege were

lacking in what it saw to be the requisite specificity, issuance

of the writ on grounds of privilege was inappropriate.” /d. at

399.

In the instant action—as opposed to Kerr—the level of

specificity required by Reynolds is paramount.

5. Federal District Courts

Not only does the Federal Circuit’s contrary

interpretation of Reynolds conflict with federal appellate

court decisions, it also conflicts with district court opinions.

For example, in Kinoy v. Mitchell, 67 F.R.D. 1 (S.D.N-Y.

1975), the government submitted two affidavits in support

of its state secrets claim. /d. at 5-6. Upon thorough review

of the affidavits, the district court concluded, “[iJt does not

appear ... that the Attorney General personally considered

the material as to which he lodged this claim of privilege

and decided that it was a military or state secret.” Jd. at 7-9

(emphasis added). After quoting the seen-and-considered-

the-contents requirement from Reynolds, the district court

explained: :

23

[t]his is not, in the Court’s view, a mere technical

requirement. Because the Court must rely so

heavily upon the judgment of the responsible

executive Officer in a case such as this, it must be

clear that the judgment was properly exercised.

At a minimum there must be an explicit

representation to this effect.

Id. at 9. The court would not recognize the government’s

claim “until assertion of that claim is made by the Attorney

General upon personal consideration.” /d. at 10. Moreover,

the court deemed a second affidavit “similarly defective as a

formal claim of privilege because it contain[ed] no indication

that the Attorney General personally considered the material.

Id.

The District Court for the Middle District of

Pennsylvania made its interpretation of Reynolds abundantly

clear.

In order to ensure that the executive official

invoking the state secrets privilege has adequate

knowledge of relevant facts, courts have held that

to trigger review of such claims the person

asserting the privilege must, at a minimum, make

an explicit representation that he or she has

personally seen and considered the material.

Yang v. Reno, 157 FR.D. 625, 632 (M.D. Pa. 1997) (emphasis

added; citing cases, including Northrop Corp., 751 F.2d at

405).

24

C. Conflict with a State Supreme Court Decision

In the first Vermont case to recognize the

“investigatory files privilege,” Douglas v. Windham Superior

Court, 157 Vt. 34, 49 (Vt. 1991), the Vermont Supreme Court

applied Reynolds and adopted the Third Circuit’s view as to

the requisite consideration by the agency head. Noting that

“(t]he purpose of the requirement [that the agency head must

invoke the privilege], in part, is to ensure that the agency

head has considered the documents involved and developed

‘precise and certain reasons for preserving’ the confidentiality

of the communications,” the court held that the requisite

declaration or affidavit “must be based on personal review

of the documents by an official in the police agency.”

Douglas, 157 Vt. at 41, 44 (quoting O'Neill, 619 F.2d at 226

(internal quotations omitted from first quotation)).

Il. THE MILITARY AND STATE SECRETS

PRIVILEGE WAS INAPPLICABLE BECAUSE THE

MATERIALS FOR WHICH THE GOVERNMENT

SOUGHT PROTECTION DID NOT CONSTITUTE

MILITARY OR STATE SECRETS AND HAD

ALREADY BEEN DISCLOSED

To block discovery, the government must show the court

there is a “reasonable danger that compulsion of the evidence

will expose military [or state] matters which, in the interest

of national security, should not be divulged.” Reynolds, 345

U.S. at 10. It must also show that the requested materials are

actually secret. If the government or its agents have

voluntarily revealed those materials, they are, ipso facto, no

longer secret and the Privilege is waived. See National

Lawyers Guild v. Attorney Gen., 96 F.R.D. 390, 402

(S.D.N.Y. 1982) (prior disclosure of the specific information

25

sought to be disclosed waives Privilege); 26 C. Wright, A.

Miller, & E. Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure § 5665

(“[I]f the matter has been disclosed, it is not a ‘secret’ and

there is no privilege for the government to waive.”).

Moreover, “the determination of its secrecy is made as of

the time of trial, not at some time in the past.” 26 C. Wright,

A. Miller, & E. Cooper, § 5665.

The uncontradicted evidence in this case, derived from

two depositions and numerous documents, demonstrates that

the Second Protective Order improperly shielded from

discovery nonsecret information and documents intentionally

disclosed by the government before and during case

proceedings. For example, Nagengast gave public

presentations about the wetmate and Coupler to large

audiences at Lucent without concern for whether his audience

had security clearances. To aid in the presentations, he even

used a “see-through” wetmate. He also knew that the wetmate

connector and the Coupler portion of it were never classified.

In fact, the government had given him permission to make

the presentations. Nagengast’s testimony makes clear the

perversion of the Privilege the court permitted. Crater seeks

the very information—nonsecret information—about which

Nagengast, without security clearances, received

governmental permission to give public presentations.

Rominski, another Lucent employee, gave detailed

testimony via affidavit and deposition about the Coupler and

the wetmate. At his deposition, Rominski identified drawings

of the Coupler he had sent to and received from Crater and

identified other employees involved in designing and making

the Coupler.

26

Nor would disclosure of information relating to the

Coupler threaten national security, because the government

claimed to have no interest in the Coupler and correspondence

about the Coupler was freely exchanged. Four unclassified

letters exchanged between the parties before this lawsuit was

filed (three of which were authored by the government)

demonstrate that the government’s claim of secrecy was

unfounded. Those letters identified the number of coupling

devices provided to the government and repeatedly stated

that the government was not going to use the Coupler in a

classified program. According to the government and Lucent,

the coupler actually used in the secret naval program was

not the Coupler and was not manufactured by Lucent or

AT&T.

According to the clear law, the nonsecret information

cannot be subject to the Privilege. See Ellsberg, 709 F.2d at

57; 26 C. Wright, A. Miller, & E. Cooper, § 5665. The

Privilege does not apply here because Lucent’s and AT&T’s

information relating to the Coupler was not classified and

had not been kept secret.

27

il. BY REVERSING THE GRANT OF A MOTION TO

DISMISS YET REMANDING FOR “FURTHER

PROCEEDINGS” FOR THE COURT TO

DETERMINE FACTS AND STRENGTH OF

CLAIMS IN WHICH CRATER CORPORATION IS

TO ESTABLISH THAT IT HAS TRADE SECRETS,

THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT VIOLATED CRATER’S

SEVENTH AMENDMENT RIGHT TO HAVE A

JURY MAKE THAT DETERMINATION AND SO

FAR DEPARTED FROM THE USUAL COURSE OF

JUDICIAL PROCEDINGS AS TO CALL FOR AN

EXERCISE OF THIS COURT’S SUPERVISORY

POWER

“*An essential characteristic of (the federal system) is

the manner in which, in civil common-law actions, it

distributes trial functions between judge and jury * * *

(assigning) the decisions of disputed questions of fact to the

jury.’” Magenau v. Aetna Freight Lines, Inc., 360 U.S. 273,

278 (1959) (quoting Byrd v. Blue Ridge Rural Elec. Coop.,

Inc., 356 U.S. 525; 537 (1958)).

After misinterpreting the Court’s threshold test for

invoking the Privilege, the Federal Circuit apparently

eviscerated Crater’s right to a jury trial by ordering sua sponte

a new type of district court proceeding. Cf. Garcia v. Murphy

Pac. Marine Salvaging Co., 476 F.2d 303, 306 (Sth Cir. 1973)

(federal district court cannot predetermine facts for jury). At

the very least, the panel placed yet another unsupportable

obstacle between Crater and its right to jury trial. The panel

Stated:

Although we agree that there is a state secret

here that must be protected, we conclude that

28

further proceedings are required because we do

not believe the record in the case—as it relates to

Crater’s two state law claims—is sufficiently

developed to enable a determination as to the

effect of the government’s assertion of the

privilege on those claims, in terms of Crater’s

ability to assert the claims and Lucent’s ability to

defend against them. If Crater establishes that it

has one or more trade secrets in connection with

the Coupler, the district court will know precisely

what the secrets are.

(App. A at 18a.) Such “proceedings”—which are neither

identified by statute, procedural rules, case law, nor the

Constitution—apparently take away Crater’s well established

right to have a jury determine the existence of a trade secret

in connection with its coupler. See Learning Curve Toys, Inc.

v. PlayWood Toys, Inc., 342 F.3d 714, 723 (7th Cir. 2003)

(“[T]he question of whether certain information constitutes

a trade secret ordinarily is best ‘resolved by a fact finder

after full presentation of evidence from each side.’”); see

also General Universal Sys., Inc. v. Lee, 379 F.3d 131, 150

(Sth Circ. 2004) (trade secret is question of fact); North Ail.

Instruments, Inc. v. Haber, 188 F.3d 38, 44 (2d Cir. 1999)

(trade secret is question of fact). Moreover, the Federal

Circuit failed to indicate what standards and burden would

govern the additional proceedings.

Further, as Judge Newman recognized, the majority

opinion “devised a remedy impossible of performance.”

(App. A at 23a (Newman, J., concurring in part and dissenting

in part).) To the extent the state secrets claim extends to the

information Crater provided to Lucent in connection with

this project, it is covered by the protective order the Federal

29

Circuit upheld. Crater is apparently to prove its case, to the

court, without discovery, and only after proving its case will

discovery be provided. Thus, Crater is hindered in its ability

to establish its trade secret. Furthermore, no precedent or

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure supports the conducting of

a trial before discovery.

Finally, numerous cases have held that the Privilege

exists and operates independent of the strength of the

plaintiff's case. See, e.g., Kasza v. Browner, 133 F.3d 1159,

1166 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 967 (1998); McDonnell

Douglas Corp., 323 F.3d at 1021, Ellsberg, 709 F.2d at 57.

30

CONCLUSION

The judgment of the Federal Circuit should be reversed

for the following reasons:

1. the government did not satisfy the Supreme Court’s

“actual personal consideration” requirement from Reynolds

when the department head affiants did not claim to have seen

and considered a single document;

2. the Privilege does not apply to the discovery of nonsecret

information and documents intentionally disclosed by the

government and with the government’s permission before

and during case proceedings; and

3. the circuit court violated Crater’s constitutional right to a

jury trial when it remanded to the district court for judge

determinations of fact and strength of claims not

countenanced by statute, case law, or the Constitution.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT SCHULTZ

Counsel of Record

RONALD J. EISENBERG

SCHULTZ & LitTLe, L.L.P.

640 Cepi Drive, Suite A

Chesterfield, MO 63005

(636) 537-4645

Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL

CIRCUIT DECIDED SEPTEMBER 7, 2005

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

No. 04-1349

CRATER CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

LUCENT TECHNOLOGIES, INC.

and AT & T COMPANY,

Defendants-Appellees,

and

UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appellee.

DECIDED: September 7, 2005

Before NEWMAN, SCHALL, and DYK, Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the court filed by Circuit Judge SCHALL.

Opinion concurring in part, dissenting in part filed by Circuit

Judge NEWMAN.

2a

Appendix A

SCHALL, Circuit Judge.

Crater Corporation (“Crater”) sued Lucent Technologies,

Inc. and AT & T Company (collectively, “Lucent”) in the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Missouri, alleging that Lucent infringed Crater’s U.S. Patent

No. 5,286,129 (the “ ‘129 patent’’). The ‘129 patent is directed

to an underwater coupling device (the “Crater coupler”).

Crater also asserted state law claims against Lucent for

misappropriation of trade secrets and breach of contract.

In an earlier decision, we affirmed the district court’s

dismissal of Crater’s patent infringement claim. See Crater

Corp. v. Lucent Techs., Inc., No. 4:98CV00913 (E.D.Mo.

Aug. 25, 1999) (order dismissing Crater’s claims) (“ Crater

I”); Crater Corp. v. Lucent Techs., Inc., 255 F.3d 1361

(Fed.Cir.2001) (affirming the dismissal of Crater’s patent

infringement claim) (“Crater IT’). However, we vacated the

court’s dismissal of Crater’s state law claims and remanded

the case for further consideration of those claims. Crater I],

255 F.3d at 1371. On remand, the district court determined

that the government’s proper assertion of the Military and

State Secrets privilege (the “state secrets privilege’) made it

impossible for Crater to engage in discovery or to make out

a prima facie case of misappropriation of trade secrets or

breach of contract. Crater Corp. v. Lucent Techs., Inc.,

No. 4:98CV00913 (E.D.Mo. Feb. 19, 2004) (“Crater IIT’).

At the same time, the court held that the government's

assertion of the privilege made it impossible for Lucent to

defend against Crater’s claims. /d., slip op. at 4-7. The court

therefore dismissed Crater’s remaining claims. Crater now

appeals the district court’s decision.

3a

Appendix A

On appeal, Crater makes essentially two arguments. The

first is that the district court erred in allowing the government

to assert the state secrets privilege. The second is that,

assuming the privilege was properly asserted, the court

nonetheless misapplied the privilege in its discovery ruling

and in its decision to dismiss the case. As far as the first

issue is concerned, we see no error in the court’s decision

sustaining the government’s assertion of the state secrets

privilege. However, for the reasons set forth below, we

conclude that the district court did err in dismissing Crater’s

suit. We therefore reverse the court’s decision and remand

the case for further proceedings consistent with this opinion.

BACKGROUND

The technology involved in this dispute relates to '

underwater connectors for fiber optics. The Crater coupler

can be incorporated into an underwater fiber optic “wetmate.”

Crater describes a wetmate as essentially a device which

connects and disconnects fiber optics beneath the sea.

In its complaint, Crater alleged the following facts,

which, for purposes of this appeal, we accept as true: Lucent

employees contacted the Craier inventors and asked them to

provide technical data, drawings, and other information

relating to the Crater coupler. The information and drawings

are Crater’s confidential trade secrets. Lucent expressly

agreed not to reveal the information to third parties. It further

agreed that Lucent would only use Crater’s confidential

4a

Appendix A

information for further research and that it would not produce

the Crater coupler until a license agreement was finalized.

Lucent also agreed to produce and to provide Crater with

copies of computer-aided design (“CAD”) drawings and solid

models of Crater technology. Lucent violated its agreement

with Crater by producing an infringing coupler, by

disseminating Crater’s confidentiaf information and trade

secrets to third parties, and by failing to provide Crater with

the requested CAD drawings and solid models.

Il.

Crater filed suit against Lucent in the Eastern District of

Missouri in May of 1998. Crater’s first amended complaint

alleged patent infringement and asserted state law claims of

misappropriation of trade secrets and breach of contract.

On March 11, 1999, the government moved to intervene in

the case in order to assert the state secrets privilege.

Specifically, the government sought to prohibit Crater “from

conducting any discovery or serving any subpoena for

information relating to the manufacture or use of [Crater’s]

coupling device, or any coupling device, by or on behalf of

the United States.” The government urged that disclosure of

such information would gravely damage national security.

In“support of its motion, the government submitted two

declarations (one classified, one public) from Richard J.

Danzig, then-Secretary of the Navy. Mr. Danzig’s public

declaration explained:

2. My statements in this Declaration are based on

my personal knowledge, on information provided

Sa

Appendix A

to me in my Official capacity, and on my evaluation

of that information.

6. [P]laintiff’s discovery in this case could be

expected to cause extremely grave damage to

national security. Requiring defendants and the

private subpoena recipients to respond to

plaintiff’s discovery would, directly or indirectly,

provide adversaries of the United States

Government with information concerning the

Operations and programs described in my

classified declaration. Those operations and

programs are currently ongoing. It is therefore my

opinion that disclosure of information concerning

them would permit potential adversaries to adopt

specific measures to defeat or otherwise impair

the effectiveness of those operations and

programs.

7. Based on my personal consideration of the

matter, requiring responses to plaintiff's discovery

. reasonably could be expected to cause

extremely grave damage to the vital national

security interests of the United States.

Accordingly, I formally invoke the military and

state secrets privilege ....

6a

Appendix A

Mr. Danzig also submitted a classified declaration to the

district court for inspection in camera. On March 16, 1999,

the district court granted the government’s motion to

intervene. Subsequently, on March 24, 1999, after reviewing

Secretary Danzig’s classified declaration, the court granted

the government’s request for a protective order. The court

stated:

Having reviewed the documents in the possession

of the Government in camera, the Court concludes

that the United States is entitled to assert the state

secrets privilege in this case. The Court finds that

exposure of the information sought by plaintiff's

discovery requests would cause extremely grave

damage to national security.

Accordingly, the court ordered that Crater was “prohibited

from conducting any discovery or serving any subpoena for

information relating to the manufacture or use of plaintiff's

coupling device, or any coupling device, by or on behalf of

the United States.”

Subsequently, Lucent movea to dismiss Crater’s suit,

citing 28 U.S.C. § 1498(a) (2000).' Lucent argued that any

1. That statute provides, in pertinent part:

Whenever an invention described in and covered by a

patent ... is used or manufactured by or for the United

States without license of the owner thereof ... the

owner's remedy shall be by action against the United

States in the United States Court of Federal Claims for

(Cont'd)

Ta

Appendix A

potentially infringing use of Crater’s device was exclusively

“for the United States,” and that Crater’s proper remedy was

to sue the government in the United States Court of Federal

Claims. Thus, Lucent argued that the district court lacked

jurisdiction over Crater’s patent infringement claim.

In addition, Lucent argued that without federal question

jurisdiction, the district court did not have jurisdiction over

Crater’s state law claims because the parties lacked diversity.

Ruling on Lucent’s motion, the district court determined

that it lacked jurisdiction over all of Crater’s claims.

See Crater I. On appeal, we affirmed the dismissal of Crater’s

patent infringement claims, although for a different reason.

See Crater Il, 255 F.3d at 1363. We held that 28 U.S.C.

§ 1498(a) provides a private party performing contract work

for the government with an affirmative defense against patent

infringement. As such, “dismissal of a lawsuit against a

private party pursuant to § 1498(a) is a dismissal because of

the successful assertion of an affirmative defense rather than

a dismissal because of the district court’s lack of subject

(Cont'd)

the recovery of his reasonable and entire compensation

for such use and manufacture.

For the purposes of this section, the use or manufacture

of an invention described in and covered by a patent ---

by a contractor, a subcontractor, or any person, firm, or

corporation for the Government and with the

authorization or consent of the Government, shall be

construed as use or manufacture for the United States.

8a

Appendix A

matter jurisdiction over the patent infringement claim.”

Id. at 1364. We held that dismissal of Crater’s patent

infringement claim on summary judgment was proper

because Lucent had successfully asserted section 1498(a) as

an affirmative defense. Jd. at 1369.

However, because the district court had original

jurisdiction over Crater’s patent infringement claim, the court

had supplemental jurisdiction to adjudicate Crater’s state law

claims of misappropriation of trade secrets and breach of

contract. We therefore vacated the dismissal of those claims

and remanded the case for the district court to consider, in

its sound discretion, whether to exercise supplemental

jurisdiction over those claims. /d. at 1370. Thus, our decision

in Crater II did not reach the merits of Crater’s state law

claims, nor did it reach the issue of whether the government

had properly invoked the state secrets privilege. See id.

Il.

On remand, the district court chose to exercise

supplemental jurisdiction. See Crater III, slip op. at 3.

In due course, Crater moved for the court to dissolve the

protective order entered on March 24, 1999. In its motion,

Crater contended that the government had consented to

disclosure of some of the information subject to the order.

Id. Specifically, Crater argued that Lucent employees had

testified in depositions that (i) the Crater coupler and the

wetmate of which it was a part did not constitute a classified

government secret; and (1i) the coupler/wetmate had been

shown at internal company meetings to individuals without

security clearances. Lucent responded that, to its knowledge,

9a

Appendix A

none of the incidents to which Crater referred involved the

disclosure of information subject to the state secrets privilege.

At a November 2002 hearing, the district court ordered

Crater to submit discovery requests to Lucent and the

government. After reviewing the approximately 26,000

documents responsive to the requests, the government took

the position that it could not satisfy any of Crater’s discovery

requests without jeopardizing national security. At another

hearing in May of 2003, the district court agreed to conduct

an in camera inspection of the 26,000 documents. Crater

I/I, slip op. at 4. When the court completed its inspection, it

ordered the government to disclose some of the documents

to Crater. The government resisted, arguing that releasing

even a small portion of the documents would harm national

security. Jd. Following a hearing for the government to show

cause why it should not be required to turn over the

‘documents, the court reviewed the classified declarations of

then Acting Secretary of the Navy Johnson and another

government official.

Following its review of the classified material, the district

court rendered its decision dismissing Crater’s complaint.

See Crater Ill. The court reasoned that, although Crater would

not have to prove the particular use of its trade secrets in

order to prevail on its misappropriation of trade secrets claim,

it would have to show that Lucent somehow incorporated its

design information in a classified government device. The

court also determined that “all of Crater’s breach claims

except one require Crater to prove what the defendants did

for the government.” /d., slip op. at 6. With regard to the

remaining claim — Crater’s claim that defendants breached

10a

Appendix A

a promise to give Crater CAD drawings and solid models —

that claim “accuses the defendants of failing to provide

drawings and models of a device that the government has

asserted is a state secret.” Jd. The court also noted that, in

light of the government’s proper invocation of the state

secrets privilege, Lucent would not be able to adequately

defend itself because it would not be able to disclose what it

did or did not do for the government. /d., slip op. at 6-7.

Crater timely appealed the district court’s final decision.

Although Crater’s patent infringement claim has been

dismissed with prejudice, we have jurisdiction over the

pendant state law claims because the district court’s original

jurisdiction was based in part on 28 U.S.C. § 1338(a). See28

U.S.C. § 1295(a)(1); Chamberlain Group, Inc. v. Skylink

Techs., Inc., 381 F.3d 1178, 1190 (Fed.Cir.2004).

DISCUSSION

In challenging the district court’s dismissal of its

complaint, Crater raises two issues, which we address in turn.

Crater argues first that the government did not properly

invoke the state secrets privilege. “The Military and State

Secrets privilege allows the United States to block discovery

in a lawsuit of any information that, if disclosed, would

adversely affect national security.” Crater II, 255 F.3d at

1370. Indeed, “even the most compelling necessity cannot

overcome the claim of privilege if the court is ultimately

Satisfied that military secrets are at stake.” United States v.

Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1, 11, 73 S.Ct. 528, 97 L.Ed. 727 (1953);

lla

Appendix A

see also McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. United States, 323 F.3d

1006 (Fed.Cir.2003); Ellsberg v. Mitchell, 709 F.2d 51,

57 (D.C.Cir. 1983). However, because of the “broad sweep”

of the privilege, Elisberg, 709 F.2d at 57, the Supreme Court

has advised that the privilege “is not to be lightly invoked,”

Reynolds, 345 U.S. at 7, 73 S.Ct. 528. The privilege does

not protect from discovery material that is not strictly

necessary to prevent potential harm to national security.

Ellsberg, 709 F.2d at 57.

For the privilege to be properly asserted, the head of the

pertinent government department must formally invoke the

privilege on behalf of the government. Then, after reviewing

the declarations of government officials and the

circumstances surrounding invocation of the privilege, the

court must determine whether assertion of the privilege is

appropriate. McDonnell Douglas, 323 F.3d at 1022.

Crater contends that “[t]he government failed to meet

the threshold requirements for asserting the privilege because

the government official charged with asserting the privilege

never reviewed the materials sought to be protected or made

any attempt to disentangle the secret from the non-secret.”

(Br. of Appellant at 28.) The government responds that, in

order to properly invoke the privilege, the department head

is not required to have personal knowledge of the contents

of every document at issue. The government urges that the

privilege was properly invoked in this case.’

2. Lucent does not take a position on whether the government

properly invoked the state secrets privilege. Lucent argues, however,

that Crater’s claims must be dismissed unless all of the evidence

regarding Lucent's work for the United States is available, so that

the parties may fully and fairly present their respective cases.

12a

Appendix A

We agree with the government that Secretary Danzig and

Acting Secretary Johnson were not required to personally

review each and every one of the 26,000 documents at issue

in order for the government to properl, invoke the state

secrets privilege. Although Reynolds requires that there be

“actual personal consideration” by the head of the pertinent

government department, 345 U.S. at 8, 73 S.Ct. 528, we think

it sufficient that the Secretary of the Navy and later the Acting

Secretary were informed of the nature and scope of the

documents sought in discovery, and that each then made the

ultimate policy determination, based on his personal

knowledge, that disclosure of the material sought would

jeopardize a legitimate state secret and would pose a threat

to national security. See Northrop Corp. v. McDonnell

Douglas Corp., 751 F.2d 395, 400 (D.C.Cir.1984) (holding

that the state secrets privilege was properly invoked when

the department head “stated that he had reviewed a

representative sample of the documents as well as affidavits

of staff members who had received all of the documents”).

We have reviewed both the public and classified

declarations submitted to the district court in connection with

the government's invocation of the state secrets privilege.

Having done so, we are satisfied that the government claims

a legitimate state secret. We therefore agree with the district

court that in this case “‘there is a reasonable danger that

compulsion of the evidence will expose military matters

which, in the interest of national security, should not be

divulged.” McDonnell Douglas, 323 F.3d at 1021 (quoting

Reynolds, 345 U.S. at 10, 73 S.Ct. 528). Accordingly, we

13a

Appendix A

see no error in the district court’s determination that the

government has properly invoked the state secrets privilege.*

I.

The second issue on appeal is whether, in light of the

government’s proper invocation of the state secrets privilege,

the district court correctly determined that none of Crater’s

claims could proceed without impinging upon the privilege.

The district court dismissed Crater’s complaint after it

determined that in view of the assertion of the privilege,

Crater would not be able to prove its state law claims. The

court reached this determination because it concluded that

the March 24th protective order prevented Crater from

discovering any relevant evidence related to its state law

claims. As far as Lucent was concerned, the court stated:

[T]here is no question that if the case proceeds,

the defendants will be unable to adequately defend

themselves. The defendants may not disprove

Crater’s allegations by stating what work they did

for the government, nor could they show that they

did not benefit from any alleged misappropriation.

In short, the defendants may not be able to disclose

what they did for the government, nor will they

be able to deny what they did not do for the

government, with respect to Crater’s coupler.

Crater III, slip op. at 6.

3. Crater argues that the district court improperly communicated

ex parte with government counsel and that, for this reason, the

government's invocation of the state secrets privilege should be

rejected. We rejected this argument in Crater /I. See 255 F.3d at

1371 n. 4.

l4a

Appendix A

Crater contends that the district court misapplied the state

secrets privilege. Focusing upon the protective order, it argues

that the order improperly shielded from discovery

information and documents that were not secret, as well as

documents that previously had been disclosed. Further, Crater

urges, this error carried over to the court’s dismissal of its

complaint. Crater contends that much of the evidence the

court determined could not be presented either was not secret

in the first place or previously had been disclosed.

The government responds that although the patented

Crater coupler obviously is not a state secret, the disclosure

of information related to the manufacture or use, if any, of

the coupler by or for the United States is a state secret. Lucent

in turn argues that the assertion of the privilege hampers its

ability to introduce adequate evidence to defend itself, for

example, by showing what work it did do for the government.

il.

“Although harsh, the presence of a properly invoked state

secrets privilege requires dismissal of [a] claim that cannot

prevail without the privileged information.” McDonnell

Douglas, 323 F.3d at 1021. Resolution of whether any of

Crater’s claims can be adjudicated without privileged

information turns on an analysis of the claims in light of the

state secret that forms the basis for the government’s assertion

of the privilege. We think that, at this juncture, however,

there is a fundamental obstacle to conducting that analysis.

The obstacle lies, we believe, in the fact that the record as it

15a

Appendix A

pertains to Crater’s state law claims is not adequately

developed. As we see it, the problem boils down to this:

The two claims remaining in Crater’s complaint after

our decision in Crater I] were (i) that Lucent misappropriated

one or more of Crater’s trade secrets; and (ii) that Lucent

breached a contract that it had with Crater. Missouri law

defines misappropriation of a trade secret as:

(a) Acquisition of a trade secret of a person by

another person who knows or has reason to know

that the trade secret was acquired by improper

means; or

(b) Disclosure or use of a trade secret of a person without

express or implied consent by another person who:

a. Used improper means to acquire

knowledge of the trade secret; or

b. Before a material change of position,

knew or had reason to know that it was

a trade secret and that knowledge of it

had been acquired by accident or

mistake; or

c. At the time of disclosure or use, knew

or had reason to know that knowledge

of the trade secret was:

i. Derived from or through a

person who had utilized improper

means to acquire it;

16a

Appendix A

ii. Acquired under circumstances

giving rise to a duty to maintain

its secrecy or limit its use; or

iii. Derived from or through a

person who owed a duty to the

person seeking relief to maintain

its secrecy or limit its use.

Mo Rev. Stat. § 417.453(2). Clearly, existence of a trade

secret is a prerequisite to a claim for misappropriation of

trade secrets. Yet, as far as we can tell, it has not been

established precisely what, if any, trade secrets exist in

connection with the Crater coupler.* Indeed, it does not appear

that Crater has even spelled out what trade secrets it claims

in connection with the coupler. In any event, if the preliminary

requirement of the existence of a trade secret is not met,

Lucent obviously could not be liable for misappropriation

of trade secrets. It would not be necessary to reach the state

secrets issue.

4. Mo. Rev. Stat. § 417.453(4) defines a “trade secret” as:

Information, including but not limited to, technical or

nontechnical data, a formula, pattern, compilation,

program, device, method, technique or process that:

(a) derives economic value, actual or potential, from

not being generally known to, and not being readily

ascertainable by proper means by other persons who can

obtain economic value from its disclosure or use; and

(b) is the subject of efforts that are reasonable under

the circumstances to maintain its secrecy

l7a

Appendix A

Turning to Crater’s breach of contract claim, as far as

we can tell, it has not been determined whether, under

Missouri law, there was a contract between Crater and Lucent

and, if there was a contract, what its terms were. Significantly,

it appears that Lucent disputes the existence of a contract.

(First Amended Complaint, Count | and Answer to First

Amended Complaint J¥ 10-24; Lucent’s Supplemental

Answers and Objections to Crater’s Interrogatories { 12

(“Lucent states it is not aware of any ‘contract’ or ‘agreement’

in the sense of a written document formally entered into

between Lucent and Crater.”)) Obviously if there was no

contract between Crater and Lucent, Lucent could not be

liable for breach of contract. Again, it would not be necessary

to reach the state secrets issue.

In short, we think that deciding the Impact of the

government's assertion of the state secrets privilege on

Crater’s state law claims without first determining what trade

secrets exist and whether a contract existed between Crater

and Lucent is akin to putting the cart before the horse.

If there are no alleged trade secrets and there was no contract,

the issue of the state secrets privilege becomes moot.

Alternatively, if there are trade secrets and/or there was a

contract, an understanding of the precise nature of the trade

secrets and the terms of the contract is essential to the analysis

of whether Crater’s misappropriation of trade secrets and

breach of contract claims may proceed in the face of the

assertion of the privilege. In other words, in order to

adjudicate this case, there must be a determination of (1) the

precise trade secrets that exist in connection with the Crater

coupler; (i1) which of those trade secrets Crater alleges were

misappropriated; (111) whether a contract existed between

18a

Appendix A

Crater and Lucent; (iv) if a contract did exist, its terms;

(v) which of the contract’s terms Crater alleges were

breached; and (vi) what constituted the alleged breach.

In sum, we conclude that the decision of the district court

dismissing Crater’s complaint must be reversed and the case

remanded to the court for further proceedings. Although we

agree that there is a state secret here that must be protected,

we conclude that further proceedings are required because

we do not believe the record in the case-as it relates to

Crater’s two state law claims-is sufficiently developed to

enable a determination as to the effect of the government’s

assertion of the privilege on those claims, in terms of Crater’s

ability to assert the claims and Lucent’s ability to defend

igainst them. If Crater establishes that it has one or more

trade secrets in connection with the Crater coupler, the district

court will Know precisely what the secrets are. The

government can then provide an affidavit or declaration-or

otherwise address-how the precise questions involved, such

as whether a particular trade secret was incorporated in a

government device, would impermissibly implicate the state

secrets privilege. Armed with that knowledge and with the

knowledge of the state secret that must be protected, the court

wiil be able to assess whether any misappropriation of trade

secrets claim can go forward. As far as Crater’s breach of

contract claim is concerned, if the district court determines

that a contract did exist between Crater and Lucent and what

the terms of that contract were, the district court, again armed

with its knowledge of the state secret that must be protected,

will be able to determine which, if any, of Crater’s breach of

contract claims can proceed in the face of the government’s

assertion of the state secrets privilege. In making that

19a

Appendix A

determination, the court may require the government to

supply particularized affidavits or declarations in order to

resolve the discovery issue.

Finally, the question of whether the state secrets privilege

would be implicated by the production of particular

documents is not ripe for resolution, and our discussion

should not be read as resolving that question. We have not

reviewed any of the documents which are sought in discovery

and which the district court reviewed in camera. On remand,

after the district court determines the precise nature of

Crater’s state law claims, it will be for that court then to

determine, in the first instance, which, if any, of the

documents sought in discovery may be produced in the face

of the government’s assertion of the state secrets privilege.

CONCLUSION

We see no error in the district court’s determination that

the government has properly invoked the state secrets

privilege and that a valid state secret exists in this case.

However, for the reasons set forth above, we reverse the

court's dismissal of Crater’s state law claims and remand

the case to the court for further proceedings consistent with

this opinion.

5. Contrary to the dissent’s view, our opinion is not a blanket

ratification of the state secrets claim. We have said that the

government has properly invoked the state secrets privilege and that

there 1s a valid state secret to be protected. We also have said,

however, that further proceedings are necessary in order to determine

the impact of the invocation of the privilege on discovery and on

Crater’s ability to assert its state law claims and Lucent's ability to

defend against those claims

20a

Appendix A

COSTS

Each party shall bear its own costs.

REVERSED and REMANDED.

2la

Appendix A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

No. 04-1349

CRATER CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

LUCENT TECHNOLOGIES, INC.

and AT & T COMPANY,

Defendants-Appellees,

and

UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appellee.

NEWMAN, Circuit Judge, concurring in part, dissenting

in part.

I agree that further proceedings are warranted, and to

that extent I concur in the remand. However, this court has

placed obstacles to those proceedings that may be

insurmountable in view of the court’s endorsement, without

review, of the full scope of the claim of state secrecy. Our

order that Crater must identify and establish the secret

information that it provided to Lucent in connection with

22a

Appendix A

the Crater Coupler does not remove this information from

the government’s secrecy order.

The panel majority holds, without the review required

by precedent, that “we see no error in the [district] court’s

decision sustaining the government’s assertion of the state

secrets privilege,” op. at 1262, ante; that “the government

has properly invoked the state secrets privilege and that a

valid state secret exists in this case,” id. at 1269; and that

“we agree that there is a state secret here that must be

protected,” id. at 1268. None of us on this panel has inspected

any of the information for which the claim is made,

nonetheless ratifying the withholding of the 26,000

documents in the government’s file, and ratifying the

prohibitions on Lucent including disclosure of its use of

Crater’s information. It is far from clear that Crater can now

place this information on the public record or otherwise

implement this court’s remand.

Thus there is a serious cloud on Crater’s ability to

describe the “trade secrets” that Crater provided to Lucent

with the Crater Coupler, for the government has asserted that

all information related to the Crater Coupler is a state secret.

Indeed, if it is sensitive technology, that breadth of state

secrecy may well be essential. The district court accepted

the “state secrecy” of the 26,000 documents from the

government’s files, while remarking that they included such

documents as pleadings that are in the public record. This

court has seen only one of the 26,000 documents, which

contains, as the majority opinion reports, only the general

statement that (unidentified) documents were reviewed

(by somebody unnamed) and claiming the state secret

23a

Appendix A

privilege without limitation. There was no compliance with

the requirement that the official invoking the privilege “must

set forth, with enough particularity for the court to make an

informed decision, the nature of the material withheld and

of the threat to the national security should it be revealed.”

Kinoy v. Mitchell, 67 F.R.D. 1, 8 (S.D.N.Y.1975). If the claim

is to be preserved in the breadth with which it is asserted,

our appellate responsibility requires assuring ourselves of

the scope and limits of the claim. Precedent has well clarified

the requirements:

[T}he privilege may not be used to shield any

material not strictly necessary to prevent injury

to national security; and whenever possible,

sensitive information must be disentangled from

nonsensitive information to allow for the release

of the latter.

Ellsberg v. Mitchell, 709 F.2d 51, 57 (D.C.Cir.1983). In

particular, and critical to this case, a valid state secrets claim

need not deprive Crater of necessary relief.

| agree that Crater should have the opportunity to

establish that it had trade secrets and that they were disclosed

by Lucent to the government without authorization. However,

the claim of military/state secrecy appears to extend to the

information that Crater provided to Lucent in connection with

this project, for if that information was indeed used by

Lucent, as Crater asserts and Lucent does not deny, it is

covered by the secrecy order. Thus we appear to have devised

a remedy impossible of performance.

24a

Appendix A

The remedy the panel has fashioned was not suggested

by any party. The district court, having reviewed the

government’s documents, observed that Crater can not make

its case, and Lucent can not make a defense, without violation

of the secrecy order. Although the majority opinion states

that “the question of whether the state secrets privilege would

be implicated by the production of particular documents is

not ripe for resolution and our discussion should not be read

as resolving that question,” op. at 1266, this statement is

contradicted by the majority’s blanket ratification of the state

secret claim, adding confusion to risk.

This case raises important principles of law and

procedure, for military and state secrets indeed warrant

protection from the nation’s enemies. At the same time,

persons who serve the government must have a reasonable

way of resolving disputes. It is neither in the nation’s interest,

nor can it be the nation’s intention, to bar judicial relief when

disputes arise among persons who serve sensitive government

business. The merits of the dispute between Crater and Lucent

are not before us; the only question is whether the dispute

can be adjudicated at all.

The judicial obligation is to enable resolution, with

safeguards appropriate to the subject matter. Although there

may be areas of such sensitivity that no judicial exposure

can be countenanced-such as, perhaps, the formation of the

Manhattan Project-there is no suggestion that the sensitive

information concerning the Crater Coupler can not be

protected by well-established judicial procedures for

preserving the security of sensitive information. Persons who

do business with the government should not readily be barred

25a

Appendix A

from access to judicial remedy, lest the government lose

access to the talents of the private sector, and government

reputation for fairness be diminished.

This case does not raise the constitutional debate about

public trials; this is a commercial dispute, of interest only to

the parties. It seems clear that the court’s requested remand

cannot be implemented without risk of violating the secrecy

order, with possible penalty. This is the third judicial cycle

of this simple dispute. We should remand this case for

in camera proceedings that would protect the information

from public disclosure, and allow this dispute to come to

closure. Trials in camera of issues subject to secrecy restraints

are not new, and such trial would be the appropriate procedure

in this case.

26a

APPENDIX B — MEMORANDUM AND ORDER OF

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI, EASTERN

DIVISION DATED FEBRUARY 19, 2004

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI,

EASTERN DIVISION

Case No. 4:98CV00913 ERW

CRATER CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,

V.

LUCENT TECHNOLOGIES, INC., and AT&T Company,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

WEBBER, J.

Before the Court is Plaintiff's Motion to Dissolve the

Second Protective Order [doc. # 176] and Defendants’ Motion

to Dismiss [doc. # 235].

Several years ago, the defendants developed certain

devices for the federal government on a classified Naval

project, Crater Corporation brought this suit in 1998 alleging

that the defendants infringed on its patent for an underwater

27a

Appendix B

coupling device, and added state law claims for breach of

contract and misappropriation of trade secrets. Essentially,

Crater claimed that the defendants stole Crater’s coupler

design and incorporated it into the devices the defendants

developed for the government. The defendants quickly moved

to dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, and in the

alternative, to dismiss for failure to state a claim upon which

relief could be granted. Citing 28 U.S.C. § 1498(a), the

defendants argued that they were not liable for patent

infringement because any work they performed with respect

to the Crater coupler was done under a government project

and was authorized by the United States. That statute provides

that a private party cannot be held liable for infringement

for any goods used or manufactured by or for the United

States; a plaintiff's only remedy in this situation is to sue the

United States in the Court of Federal Claims.

Because Crater’s patent claim was not properly before

the Court, the defendants further claimed that the Court

should dismiss Crater’s state-law claims, having no basis to

exercise supplemental jurisdiction over those counts. Shortly

after Lucent fsfed this motion, Crater moved to strike an

affidavit from Paul M. Rominski, a Lucent employee,

submitted in support of Lucent’s motion, which indicated

that Lucent’s work in connection with the allegedly infringing

coupler was done for the government with its authorization.

Crater moved to strike the affidavit, arguing that it was not

based on Mr. Rominski’s personal knowledge of the pertinent

facts. Crater also requested an evidentiary hearing on the

motion to dismiss, more time to respond to that motion, and

leave to conduct disovery on both its motion to strike and

the defendants’ motion to dismiss. The Court allowed

28a

Appendix B

discovery. Shortly after it began, however, the United States

intervened to formally assert the state secrets privilege and

to argue against any discovery by Crater. Shortly thereafter,

the Court granted Lucent’s motion to dismiss on August 25,

1999, concluding that all of the work the defendants

performed on the device at issue was performed for the

government with its consent.

On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit concluded that dismissal of the federal patent

claim was proper, and affirmed the Court’s underlying

determination that Crater failed to produce any evidence of

work on the coupler outside of the defendants’ czpacity as a

government contractor. The Federal Circuit held, however

that this Court dismissed the patent claim for the wrong

reason. According to the court, 28 U.S.C. § 1498(a) provides

an affirmative defense for private parties accused of patent

infringement, but it is not a jurisdictional provision. The court

found that the defendants were entitled to summary judgment

on that affirmative defense. This Court had concluded,

however, that it could not exercise supplemental jurisdiction

over Crater’s state-law claims because it did not have original

jurisdiction over the federal patent claim. Because the Federal

Circuit concluded that the correct way to dismiss the federal

patent claim was to grant summary judgment to the

defendants based on the statutory affirmative defense, that

Court concluded that this Court did indeed have original

jurisdiction over the federal patent claim. Thus, the Federal

Circuit ruled that this Court had discretion under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1367(c) to retain jurisdiction over Crater’s pendent state

law claims, even though the federal patent claim was

dismissed. Accordingly, the Federal Circuit remanded the

29a

Appendix B

state law claims to this Court to decide if it would exercise

supplemental jurisdiction over them. This Court decided to

hear the state-law claims because the case implicated national

security concerns.

Roughly five months before dismissing the case,

however, this Court entered a protective order sought by the

United States, which stated that Crater could not “conduct

any discovery or serve any subpoena for information relating

to the manufacture or use of plaintiff's coupling device, or

any coupling device, by or on behalf of the United States.”

Crater moved to dissolve this protective order in October

2002, arguing principally that the United States had consented

to public disclosure of some of the information subject to

the order. The Court held a hearing on the motion on

November 22, 2002, and ordered Crater to submit a set of

proposed discovery requests to both defendants and the

United States, which the Court could rule on individually.

Plaintiff then submitted 21 document requests and 15

interrogatories. Over the course of roughly four months, the

United States reviewed approximately 26,000 pages of

documents and concluded that it could not respond to any of

Crater’s requests, claiming that “responsive information

{could not] be wholly or partially disclosed without

jeopardizing the national security interests of the United

States.”

After hearing the parties’ arguments at a hearing in May

2003, and weighing the alternatives, the Court agreed to defer

ruling on the motion to dissolve the March 1999 protective

order, until after it conducted an in camera inspection of the

26,000 documents to properly rule on the United States’

30a

Appendix B

objections. The Court completed its inspection on September

9, 2003, and ordered the government to disclose a substantial

portion of the disputed 26,000 documents to Crater. The

government responded by claiming that national security

concerns prevented it from disclosing any of the documents.

According to the government, even a partial release of the

materials in redacted form could gravely harm the national

security interests of the United States. The Court then ordered

the United States to appear at a hearing and show cause why

the previously identified documents should not be disclosed

to counsel for Crater.

At the hearing, it became clear that the amount of

documents that would be required to be disclosed to Crater

is not the real issue in this case. Although the Court feels

that some of the documents should be disclosed, it is clear

from the Court’s in camera inspection that several documents

are indeed protected by the state secrets privilege. Under the

common law state secrets privilege, the government may

prevent disclosure of information in a lawsuit if the court is

satisfied “from all the circumstances of the case, that there

is a reasonable danger that compulsion of the evidence will

expose military matters, which in the interest of national

security, should not be divulged.” United States v. Reynolds,

345 U.S. 1, 10, 73 S.Ct. 528, 97 L.Ed. 727 (1953). The

privilege is absolute, making the information unavailable to

either party in this litigation, even if the court finds that a

party makes a strong showing of necessity. /d. at 11. No

competing interest can overcome the invocation of the

privilege. After conducting a painstaking review of numerous

documents over the course of four days, the Court has

accorded, as the courts require, the utmost deference to the

31a

Appendix B

Fxecutive’s determination of the impact of disclosure of the

information on military security. See Black v. United States,

62 F.3d 1115, 1119 (8th Cir.1995); Zuckerbraun v. General

Dynamics Corp., 935 F.2d 544, 547 (2d Cir.1991).

This raises the issue, brought forward by the defendants

in this motion, of whether a jury can decide the issues in this

case fairly when a substantial part of the relevant evidence

must remain secret. There is no Eighth Circuit precedent on

the subject, but other courts have recognized that when the

government invokes the state secrets privilege, there are three

circumstances when the case may not continue: (1) if state

sécrets are critical to the resolution of core factual questions

in the case; (2) if the plaintiff's ability to prove its case

necessarily depends on or threatens the disclosure of

privileged information; or (3) where the invocation of the

privilege deprives the defendant of a valid defense. See. e.g.,

D.T.M. Research, LLC v. AT & T Corp., 245 F.3d 327, 334

(4th Cir.2001); Kasza v. Browner, 33 F.3d 1159, 1166 (9th

Cir.1998); In re United States, 872 F.2d 472, 476

(D.C.Cir.1989).

After reviewing the record, the Court finds that it must

dismiss the case for any of these three independent grounds.

Crater alleges that the defendants misappropriated Crater’s

trade secrets and breached contracts with Crater in five ways.

|. Crater claims in its First Amended Complaint that the

defendants breached their contract with Crater by: (1) taking Crater’s

trade secrets and confidential information and disclosing this

information to third parties without the permission of Crater;

(Cont'd)

32a

App. ndix B

The defendants responded that their work, if any, related to

Crater’s coupler device, was performed at the request of the

United States under a government contract. This Court

agreed, and the Federal Circuit affirmed this Court’s

determination of that issue. Because of this, state secrets,

namely the defendants’ government contract, is the heart of

the case. To recover from the defendants under the Missouri

Uniform Trade Secrets Act, Crater must show that the

defendants disclosed or used its trade secret without Crater’s

express or implied consent, and that at the time of the

disclosure or use, knew or had reason to know that knowledge

of the trade secret was acquired under circumstances giving

rise to a duty to maintain its secrecy or limit its use.

Mo.Rev.Stat. § 417.453(2)(b) (defining misappropriation in

relevant part). While Crater need not prove the government's

intended use of the device, there is no way that Crater can

prove misappropriation without showing that the defendants

somehow incorporated Crater’s design information into the

classified government device. Because the protective order

and the government’s proper assertion of the state secrets

privilege prevents Crater from discovering any evidence

relating to this claim, Crater is unable to make out a prima

facie Case of misappropriation of trade secrets. Similarly, all

(Cont'd)

(2) taking and using Crater’s trade secrets and confidential

information and using it to produce, sell, offer to sell devices using

the trade secrets and confidential information provided by Crater;

(3) taking and using information and drawings provided by Crater

to produce, sell, and offer to sell devices; (4) disclosing the

information and drawings provided by Crater to third parties; and

(5) failing to provide Crater with copies of CAD drawings and solid

models of Crater technology as promised.

33a

Appendix B

of Crater’s breach of contract claims except one require

Crater to prove what the defendants did for the government.

The one contract claim that might not require Crater to

prove the defendants’ use is Crater’s claim that the defendants

breached their promise to provide Crater with copies of CAD

drawings and solid models of Crater technology. Essentially,

this claim accuses the defendants of failing to provide

drawings and models of a device that the government has

asserted is a state secret. In the Court’s view, litigating this

claim would unduly threaten the disclosure of privileged

information.

Furthermore, there is no question that if the case

proceeds, the defendants will not be able to adequately defend

themselves. The defendants may not disprove Crater’s

allegations by stating what work they did for the government,

nor could they show that they did not benefit from any alleged

misappropriation. In short, the defendants may not be able

to disclose what they did for the government, nor will they

be able to deny what they did not do for the government,

with respect to Crater’s coupler. The Court agrees with the

defendants that if the case were to proceed in this

circumstance, the jury could not make a fair determination;

thus dismissal is appropriate. See Moliero v. FBI, 749 F.2d

815, 825 (D.C.Cir. 1982).

Finally, the Court rejects Crater’s contention that the

defendants do not have standing to assert the state secrets

privilege in this case. In fact, the defendants have not asserted

the privilege; the government has. In making this motion,

the defendants argue that the consequences of the

34a

Appendix B

government's proper assertion of the state secrets privilege

require dismissal of this case, and the Court agrees. The clear

case law indicates that protecting our nation’s security takes

precedence over Crater’s claims against the defendants.

Therefore,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Plaintiff's Motion to

Dissolve the Second Protective Order [doc. # 176] is

DENIED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that Defendant’s Motion

to Dismiss [doc. # 235] is GRANTED. Plaintiff's claims are

DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE.

Dated this 19th day of February, 2004.

s/ E. Richard Webber

E. RICHARD WEBBER

UNITED STATES DISTRI CT COURT

35a

APPENDIX C — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

DATED JUNE 6, 2001

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FEDERAL CIRCUIT

No. 00-1125

CRATER CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

LUCENT TECHNOLOGIES, INC.

and American Telephone and Telegraph Company,

Defendants-Appellees,

and

United States,

Defendant-Appellee.

June 6, 2001

Rehearing Denied Sept. 17, 2001

Before MAYER, Chief Judge, NEWMAN, and SCHALL,

Circuit Judges.

36a

Appendix C

SCHALL, Circuit Judge.

Crater Corporation (“Crater”) sued Lucent Technologies, Inc.

and American Telephone and Telegraph Company

(collectively, “Lucent’) in the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Missouri alleging that Lucent

infringed Crater’s U.S. Patent No. 5,286,129 (the “ ‘129

patent”). The ‘129 patent is directed to an underwater

coupling device (the “Crater coupler”). Crater also alleged

state-law claims against Lucent for breach of contract and

misappropriation of trade secrets. Lucent moved to dismiss

Crater’s complaint for lack of subject matter jurisdiction

under Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(1) and, in the alternative, for failure

to state a claim upon which relief could be granted under

Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6). Citing 28 U.S.C. § 1498(a),' Lucent

argued that it was not liable for patent infringement because

any work it performed with respect to the Crater coupler was

done under a government project and was authorized by the

United States. Pursuant to § 1498(a), a private party cannot

be held liable for infringement for any goods “used or

manufactured by or for the United States.” See Va. Panel

Corp. v. MAC Panel Co., 133 F.3d 860, 869, 45 USPQ2d

1225, 1232 (Fed.Cir. 1997). Lucent argued that the state law

claims should be dismissed because there was no diversity

of citizenship between Crater and Lucent, and since the

district court lacked jurisdiction over the patent claims, due

!. All statutory references are to the 1994 version of the United

Staxes Code, as modified by Supplement IV of 1998.

37a

Appendix C

to § 1498(a), it could not exercise supplemental jurisdiction

over the state law claims. In due course, the district court

concluded that Lucent’s allegedly infringing activities were

for the government and dismissed Crater’s complaint for lack

of jurisdiction. Crater Corp. v. Lucent Techs., No. 4:

98CV00913 ERW (E.D.Mo. Aug. 25, 1999) (memorandum

and order) (“Crater IT’). Crater appeals the district court's

ruling.

Although we conclude that the district court erred in

dismissing Crater’s patent infringement claims for lack of

jurisdiction, the dismissal of those claims nevertheless was

proper. The reason is that Lucent established that it was

entitled to summary judgment on its 28 U.S.C. § 1498(a)

affirmative defense against the patent infringement charge.

However, since the district court did have jurisdiction over

Crater’s patent claims, we vacate the court’s dismissal of

Crater’s state claims for lack of supplemental jurisdiction

and remand for further proceedings on those claims.

BACKGROUND

I.

Section 1498(a) provides, in relevant part:

Whenever an invention described in and covered

by a patent of the United States is used or

manufactured by or for the United States without

license of the owner thereof or lawful right to use

or manufacture the same, the owner's remedy shall

38a

Appendix C

be by action against the United States in the United

States Court of Federal Claims for the recovery

of his reasonable and entire compensation for such

use and manufacture... .

For the purposes of this section, the use or

manufacture of an invention described in and

covered by a patent of the United States by a

contractor, a subcontractor, or any person, firm,

or corporation for the Government and with the

authorization or consent of the Government, shall

be construed as use or manufacture for the United

States. ...

28 U.S.C. § 1498(a). In addition to giving the United States

Court of Federal Claims exclusive jurisdiction over patent

infringement suits against the government, § 1498(a) also

provides “an affirmative defense for applicable government

contractors.” Va. Panel Corp., 133 F.3d at 869, 45 USPQ2d

at 1232. If a patented invention is used or manufactured for

the government by a private party, that private party cannot

be held liable for patent infringement. Trojan, Inc. v. Shat-

R-Shield, Inc., 885 F.2d 854, 856, 12 USPQ2d 1132, 1134-

35 (Fed.Cir.1989); W.L. Gore & Assocs., Inc. v. Garlock, Inc.,

842 F.2d 1275, 1282-83, 6 USPQ2d 1277, 1283-84

(Fed.Cir.1988). In Manville Sales Corp. v. Paramount

Systems, Inc., 917 F.2d 544, 16 USPQ2d 1587 (Fed.Cir. 1990),

we noted that pursuant to the United States Supreme Court's

decision in Sperry Gyroscope Co. v. Arma Engineering Co.,

271 U.S. 232, 235-36, 46 S.Ct. 505, 70 L.Ed. 922 (1926),

§ 1498(a)“is to be applied, at least with respect to suits to

which the United States is not a party, as a codification of a

39a

Appendix C

defense and not as a jurisdictional statute.” Manville, 917

F.2d at 554, 16 USPQ2d at 1595. Therefore, dismissal of a

lawsuit against a private party pursuant to § 1498(a) is a

dismissal because of the successful assertion of an affirmative

defense rather than a dismissal because of the district court’s

lack of subject matter jurisdiction over the patent

infringement claim. /d. at 554-55, 16 USPQ2d at 1595-96.

Il.

As noted above, after Crater filed suit, Lucent moved

for dismissal pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(1) and (6).

Lucent claimed that, under 28 U.S.C. § 1498(a), Crater could

not properly assert its claims for patent infringement against

Lucent because the accused devices were manufactured by

or for the government with its authorization and consent.

Lucent asserted that Crater’s only remedy was against the

United States in the Court of Federal Claims. Lucent also

claimed that the district court did not have original

jurisdiction over Crater’s state claims because there was no

diversity of citizenship between Crater and Lucent, both

corporations residing in Delaware. It further claimed that,

since the district court lacked jurisdiction over the

infringement claims, the court could not exercise

supplemental jurisdiction over the state law claims.

Accompanying Lucent’s motion was an affidavit from Paul

M. Rominski, a Lucent employee, indicating that Lucent’s

work in connection with the allegedly infringing coupler was

done for the government with its authorization.

40a

Appendix C

On August 27, 1998, shortly after Lucent’s motion was

filed, Crater moved to strike Mr. Rominski’s affidavit. In

support of the motion to strike, Crater asserted that the

affidavit was defective because it was not based upon Mr.

Rominski’s personal knowledge of the pertinent facts. Crater

also requested an evidentiary hearing on Lucent’s motion to

dismiss, additional time to respond to Lucent’s motion, and

leave to conduct discovery in support of its motion to strike

and in opposition to the motion to dismiss. In its papers,

Crater alleged that Lucent had engaged in commercial use

of the allegedly infringing coupler. It also alleged that Lucent

had provided the couplers to private parties and that not all

of Lucent’s work on the coupler was done for the government.

In response to Crater’s request, the district court allowed

discovery.

After discovery began, the United States intervened on

March 12, 1999, to formally assert the state secrets privilege

and to argue against any discovery by Crater regarding the

manufacture or use of the allegedly infringing coupler by or

on behalf of the United States. The state secrets privilege

and the circumstances surrounding its assertion in this case

are discussed infra in Part III of the DISCUSSION section

of this opinion.

After over a year of discovery, Crater filed its opposition

to Lucent’s motion to dismiss on August 9, 1999. Crater

supported its opposition with the deposition of Mr. Rominski.

Lucent replied and supplemented its motion with the affidavit

and deposition of Mr. Rominski, the deposition of Barry

Lack, a former Lucent employee, and the deposition of

Kenneth M. Nagengast, a current Lucent employee. Lucent

4la

Appendix C

also referenced, in its reply, its responses and the

government’s responses to Crater’s interrogatories and the

documents the government produced during discovery.

Thereafter, on August 25, 1999, the district court granted

Lucent’s motion. Crater II, slip op. at 6. The court noted

that Crater had failed to produce any evidence, over several

months of discovery, indicating that Lucent performed any

“work in regards to [Crater’s] patent for any entity or

individual other than the [g]overnment.” /d. at 4. The court

also noted that no evidence had been produced to indicate

that Lucent performed any work on the coupler without the

government’s authorization or consent. /d. The court

determined, based upon this lack of evidence, that “all the

work performed by [Lucent] in this matter with regard to the

[a]Jccused [dJevice was performed for the United States

Government with the authorization or consent of the United

States Government. As a result, the Court of Federal Claims,

not this district court, has the exclusive jurisdiction over this

cause of action.” Jd. at 6. Therefore, the court granted

Lucent’s motion to dismiss and entered judgment against

Crater. /d. at 6-7. The court also concluded that Crater’s

motion to strike Mr. Rominski’s affidavit was irrelevant in

light of the several months of discovery that had occurred

after the affidavit was filed. /d. at 4-5. Consequently, the

court did not rule on the motion. /d. at 4 n. 2. The court

noted, however, that granting the motion to strike would not

lead to a different result as far as Lucent’s motion to dismiss

was concerned. /d. at 4-5.

Crater appealed the dismissal of its complaint to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. The

Eighth Circuit transferred the appeal to this court pursuant

42a

Appendix C

to 28 U.S.C. § 1631.7 The Eighth Circuit ruled that Crater’s

claims against Lucerit arose, in whole or in part, under the

federal patent laws, thereby vesting this court with exclusive

appellate jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)(1).

DISCUSSION

[.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b) provides that if,

as in this case, on a 12(b)(6) motion “to dismiss for failure

of the pleading to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted, matters outside the pleading are presented to and

not excluded by the court, the motion shall be treated as one

for summary judgment and disposed of as provided in Rule

56.” See Rotec Indus., Inc. v. Mitsubishi Corp., 215 F.3d

1246, 1250, 55 USPQ2d 1001, 1003 (Fed.Cir.2000).

Summary judgment “shall be rendered forthwith if the

pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show

that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that

the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of

law.” Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c); Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S.

317, 322, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986); Dammen

v. UniMed Med. Ctr., 236 F.3d 978, 980 (8th Cir.2001). The

burden is initially upon the movant to establish the absence

of any genuine issue of material fact and entitlerment to

judgment as a matter of law. Celctex, 477 U.S. at 323-24,

106 S.Ct. 2548. Once a properly supported motion for

2. Section 1631 provides for transfers of cases that have been

filed in the wrong court in order t» cure the resulting lack of

jurisdiction.

43a

Appendix C

summary judgment is made, the adverse party ‘must set forth

specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial.’

Anderson vy. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 250, 106 S.Ct.

2505, 91 L.Ed.2d 202 (1986) (citing Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(e))

(footnotes omitted). We review a grant of summary judgment

without deference. Conroy v. Reebok, Int'l, Ltd., 14 F.3d

1570, 1575, 29 USPQ2d 1373, 1377 (Fed.Cir.1994). In

addition, we must, as the district court was required to do,

draw all reasonable factual inferences in favor of the

nonmovant. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 255, 106 S.Ct. 2505.

i].

Crater argues that Lucent failed to submit any competent

evidence to meet the standard for summary judgment. Crater

asserts that Mr. Rominski’s affidavit, that was submitted with

Lucent’s motion to dismiss, was not based on Mr. Rominski’s

personal knowledge, and thus could not be relied on by the

district court. Crater also argues that the district court

improperly considered evidence that was not submitted by

Lucent until it replied to Crater’s opposition to the motion

to dismiss. Crater further argues that the district court then

failed to give Crater a chance to respond to the evidence.

Finally, Crater argues that it submitted evidence that creates

a genuine issue of material fact as to whether all of Lucent's

couplers were made for the government.

Lucent responds that the Rominski affidavit was based

on personal knowledge. In any event, it urges, apart from

the Rominski affidavit, it brought forward enough evidence

to make it clear that Lucent did not use or make the allegedly

44a

Appendix C

infringing coupler for any commercial, non-government

purpose. Lucent also asserts that the evidence it submitted

with its reply brief did not prejudice Crater because Crater

already was aware of similar evidence that established that

Lucent’s only work on the coupler was for the government

and under the gover. ment’s authorization. Lucent argues that

the unique circumstances of the case, in which discovery was

taken after Lucent’s initial brief in support of its motion to

dismiss, forced Lucent to submit the challenged evidence

with its reply brief.

A. The issue of the Rominski affidavit

Lucent moved for dismissal on August 17, 1998. As indicated

above, it did so based in large part on 28 U.S.C. § 1498(a).

Lucent argued that any work it had done involving the ‘129

patent was performed for the government and with the

government’s authorization and consent. Crater I/, slip op.

at 1-2. To support its claim, Lucent submitted the Rominski

affidavit. After identifying himself as a Lucent employee,

Mr. Rominski asserted that Lucent had performed work as a

subcontractor on a government project involving “the

development of certain prototype equipment, one element

of which was a coupler device of a kind known as a quick

disconnect coupler.” Mr. Rominski further asserted that,

based upon his personal knowledge, he could state that all

of Lucent’s activities involving the coupler “were solely for

the Government in connection with the development project

[he] was working on under the classified development

contract.”

45a

Appendix C

As indicated above, Crater requested, and was granted,

additional time to conduct discovery. The court allowed

Crater to seek discovery on “(1) whether defendants made,

used, or sold the Accused Device (“Accused Device’ meaning

split valve coupling device), te or for anyone other than the

United States of America, and (2) whether the United States

Government gave its authorization or consent to defendants

for their manufacture of the Accused Device.” Crater Corp.

v. Lucent Techs., No. 4: 98CV00913 ERW, slip op. at 2

(E.D.Mo. Sept. 17, 1998) (order) (“ Crater 1/1”). The discovery

that was conducted included about twenty-five requests for

production and interrogatories, to which Lucent responded.

In addition, Lucent provided supplemental responses for at

least seven of Crater’s interrogatories and provided answers

to Crater’s proposed additional discovery requests. Crater

deposed Mr. Rominski, Mr. Lack, and Mr. Nagengast. Crater

also received documents and interrogatory responses from

the United States. When Crater responded to Lucent’s motion

to dismiss on August 9, 1999, it also moved to strike the

Rominski affidavit. Crater argued that the affidavit was

defective because, notwithstanding its language, it was

not based upon Mr. Rominski’s personal knowledge.

See Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(e); McSpadden v. Mullins, 456 F.2d 428,

430 (8th Cir. 1972). Crater contended that certain statements

made by Mr. Rominski when he was deposed undermined

the assertion in his affidavit that he had personal knowledge

with respect to the Lucent coupler project. Appellant Br. at

49-53. Specifically, Crater points to testimony by Mr.

Rominski in his deposition that, although he was an engineer

involved in Lucent’s underwater fiber optic connector project,

he had no responsibilities with respect to the negotiating or

signing of contracts in connection with the “government

46a

Appendix C

program.” As noted above, in ruling in favor of Lucent, the

district court did not rule on the motion to strike the Rominski

affidavit, stating that, in view of the discovery that had taken

place, the issue was moot. The court further stated that

granting the motion to strike would not have changed the

result in the case. Under these circumstances, we have not

considered the Rominski affidavit.

B. Evidence relevant to the § 1498(a) affirmative defense

Disregarding Mr. Rominski’s affidavit, we hold that

Lucent still provided sufficient evidence of record to meet

its burden under the summary judgment standard. All of the

evidence that was produced during discovery indicated that

Lucent’s work on the allegedly infringing coupler was done

for the government. Lucent, in its supplemental answers to

Crater’s interrogatories on March 31, 1999, stated that it had

“not designed, developed, manufactured, sold, or offered for

sale, directly or through another, any [allegedly infringing

coupler] to or for anyone other than the United States of

America.” The response continued, noting that Lucent’s work

on the coupler was part of a classified development project

for the government. Lucent further indicated, on July 16,

1999, in its response to Crater’s proposed additional

discovery, that the chain of custody of all of the couplers it

made was from Lucent to the government, and the

government now owned all of the couplers. The government

also provided evidence to support Lucent’s defense. On July

15, 1999, in response to Crater’s supplemental interrogatories

and requests for production, the government affirmed the

existence of a classified development contract covering work

on the coupler for the government, under which Lucent was

47a

Appendix C

a subcontractor, providing the specific dates the contract

covered. The government also produced redacted copies of

the classified contract between the government and the

primary contractor and the subcontract between the primary

contractor and Lucent. The contract between the government

and the primary contractor indicated that work under the

contract was authorized by the government. This evidence

alone substantiates Lucent's claim that it was a subcontractor

working on the coupler project for the government, thereby

establishing Lucent’s defense under § 1498(a).

The evidence Lucent submitted with its reply brief

further buttressed Lucent’s defense under § 1498(a}. The

deposition testimony of Mr. Nagengast, who was an engineer

at Lucent who worked with the coupler, indicated that all of

the work done on the coupler was for the government. Mr.

Nagengast testified that all of the couplers made were sold

to the government and all work on the coupler project was

billed to a government program account. Mr. Nagengast also

stated that he was never involved in discussions suggesting

that Lucent was engaging in commercial use of the coupler.

Mr. Lack, who worked on the coupler at Lucent, testified in

his deposition that all of the work on the coupler at Lucent

was associated with a classified program for the government.

Finally, in a declaration, Martin I. Finston, in-house counsel

at Lucent, stated that Lucent’s work on the coupler was part

of a classified government project under which Lucent was

a subcontractor. Mr. Finston indicated that the contract under

which Lucent performed its work on the coupler contained a

provision stating that “the government authorizes and

consents to all use and manufacture of any invention

described in and covered by a United States patent in the

performance of the contract.”

48a

Appendix C

Crater is correct that Lucent first presented the Finston

declaration and the Nagengast and Lack deposition testimony

with the reply brief that it filed on August 17, 1999, in support

of its motion to dismiss. However, since discovery was not

granted until after Lucent's initial motion to dismiss, filed

on August 17, 1998, the only chance Lucent had to submit

evidence produced during discovery was with its reply brief.

See E.D. Mo. L.R. 3.02(a) (July 1, 1998) (prohibiting the

filing of discovery and disclosure material except as exhibits

to a motion or memorandum). In addition, the depositions

of Mr. Nagengast and Mr. Lack were taken at the request of

Crater, whose counsel examined the two witnesses. Not only

did Crater have notice of the depositions and their contents,

but Crater filed its opposition to Lucent’s motion to dismiss

on August 9, 1999, after the depositions were taken on July

30, 1999. In the cases Crater cites to support its argument

that the evidence offered by Lucent should be ignored, Black

v. TIC Investment Corp., 900 F.2d 112, 116 (7th Cir.1990),

and Cia. Petrolera Caribe, Inc. v. Arco Caribbean, Inc., 754

F.2d 404, 409-10 (Ist Cir.1985), evidence submitted with a

reply brief was rejected because it was new and the opposer

was never given an opportunity to respond to it. Crater had

ample opportunity and notice of the substance of the

declaration and deposition evidence Lucent submitted with

its reply brief, and it was able to adequately address the

evidence in its opposition brief.

Contrary to its argument on appeal, Crater failed to come

forward with any evidence that raised a genuine issue of

material fact so as to defeat summary judgment, even though

it had the opportunity to develop relevant evidence in

discovery. The district court provided Crater with almost a

49a

Appendix C

year to perform discovery as to whether Lucent engaged in

any commercial activity with regard to the allegedly

infringing coupler device. Crater points to Mr. Rominski’s

deposition to prove that Mr. Rominski did not have personal

knowledge of the facts contained in his affidavit. However,

even if Mr. Rominski’s affidavit is insufficient, all of the

other evidence produced during discovery supports Lucent’s

claim that its activities involving the coupler were authorized

by the government. Crater also asserts, based upon the

affidavits of Steven P. Van Keuren, the president of Crater,

that there was a discrepancy between the number of couplers

the government indicates Lucent made for it and the number

of couplers Lucent admits to making. However, there is no

such discrepancy in Lucent’s and the government’s responses,

both of which indicate that all of the couplers made by Lucent

were for the government. We conclude that there is no

genuine issue of material fact that Lucent’s work on the

coupler project was for the government.

For the foregoing reasons, we hold that summary

judgment was properly granted in favor of Lucent on its

affirmative defense under 28 U.S.C. § 1498(a). The district

court did err in dismissing Crater’s complaint for lack of

jurisdiction, however. See Manville, 917 F.2d at 554-55, 16

USPQ2d at 1595-96 (noting that § 1498(a) is not

jurisdictional, but provides an affirmative defense for private

parties charged with patent infringement). Since the district

court’s dismissal of Crater’s patent infringement claim based

upon § 1498(a) could not be a dismissal for lack of

jurisdiction, the district court had original jurisdiction over

the case by reason of Crater’s patent claims. See 28 U.S.C.

§ 1338(a); Leatherman Tool Group Inc. v. Cooper Indus.,

50a

Appendix C

Inc., 131 F.3d 1011, 1013, 44 USPQ2d 1837, 1839-40

(Fed.Cir.1997). Having original jurisdiction based on Crater’s

patent law claims,’ the district court has supplemental

jurisdiction over Crater’s state law claims for breach of

contract and misappropriation of trade secrets because those

claims “form part of the same case or controversy,” 28 U.S.C.

§ 1367(a). Textile Prods., Inc. vy. Mead Corp., 134 F.3d 1481,

1486, 45 USPQ2d 1633, 1637 (Fed.Cir.1998). Even though

Crater’s patent infringement claims were properly dismissed,

the district court still has the discretion to exercise

supplemental jurisdiction over the state law claims. 28 U.S.C.

§ 1367(c); Gaia Techs., Inc. v. Reconversion Techs., Inc., 93

F.3d 774, 781, 39 USPQ2d 1826, 1832, amended in part by

104 F.3d 1296, 1297,41 USPQ2d 1134, 1140 (Fed.Cir. 1996).

We must therefore remand the state law claims for the district

court to determine, in its discretion, whether it will retain

jurisdiction over them.

IIT.

As-noted above, on March 12, 1999, the United States

officially intervened and moved to bar any discovery

regarding the manufacture or use of the coupler by or on

behalf of the United States. The government asserted that

any information to be obtained in such Giscovery was

protected by the state secrets privilege. The state secrets

privilege allows the United States to “block discovery in a

lawsuit to any information that, if disclosed, would adversely

3. Crater does not dispute that both parties are citizens of

Delaware. Therefore, the district court cannot exercise original

jurisdiction over Crater’s state law claims under 28 U.S.C. § 1332(a)

based on diversity of citizenship.

Sla

Appendix C

affect national security.” Ellsberg v. Mitchell, 709 F.2d 51,

56 (D.C.Cir.1983). The privilege is invoked to prevent

“impairment of the nation’s defense capabilities, disclosure

of intelligence-gathering methods or capabilities, and

disruption of diplomatic relations with foreign governments.”

Id. at 57 (footnotes omitted). See also United States v.

Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1, 73 S.Ct. 528, 97 L.Ed. 727 (1953).

The government supported its motion with both an

unclassified and a classified declaration of Richard J. Danzig,

Secretary of the Navy. At the court’s request, on March 23,

1999, the government presented the classified declaration to

the court for in camera inspection outside the presence of

Crater and Lucent. The court granted the government’s

motion, barring any discovery or the service of any subpoena

for information relating to the manufacture or use of Crater’s

patented coupling device, or any coupling device, by or on

behalf of the United States.

On appeal, Crater argues vigorously that the government

failed to meet the threshold requirements for proper assertion

of the state secrets privilege. Crater contencs that Secretary

Danzig failed to review the documents Crater was seeking

in order to determine whether assertion of the privilege truly

was necessary. Crater also contends that the material it sought

in discovery could not be protected under the state secrets

privilege because the government and its agents had

voluntarily revealed the material, thereby vitiating the

privilege. Finally, Crater contends that the district court erred

in not reviewing each document with respect to which the

privilege was being asserted.

52a

Appendix C

We conclude, however, that it is not necessary for us to

address Crater’s arguments concerning the state secrets

privilege. The reason is that we believe that the issue of the

privilege is irrelevant to the question that is before us on

appeal-whether the district court erred in dismissing Crater’s

patent infringement claims against Lucent based upon the

affirmative defense of 28 U.S.C. § 1498(a).

Even before the government intervened in the case and

invoked the privilege, the district court had limited discovery

on Lucent’s motion to dismiss to evidence relevant to the

§ 1498(a) issue-evidence relating to the question of whether

Lucent made, used, or sold the coupler device to or for anyone

other than the government. Crater /, slip op. at 2. The only

information relevant to Crater’s opposition to Lucent’s

motion was information of commercial use of the coupler

by Lucent. The privilege, by definition, only barred discovery

of evidence of non-commercial use of the coupler by Lucent.

The fact the district court allowed the government to assert

the privilege had no bearing on Crater’s ability to discover

evidence that would have created a genuine issue of material

fact as to whether Lucent engaged in commercial activity

regarding the coupler. Therefore, we do not decide whether

the privilege was erroneously invoked because any evidence

that was protected by the privilege was not relevant to

Crater’s opposition to Lucent’s motion.*

4. In a related matter, Crater claims that the district court took

part in what Crater characterizes as three improper ex parte

communications with the government. We have carefully considered

Crater’s claim and sce no impropriety in the court’s communications

with government counsel.

53a

Appendix C

CONCLUSION

We affirm the district court’s dismissal of Crater’s patent

infringement claims because there is no genuine issue of

material fact that Lucent’s use and manufacture of the

allegedly infringing coupler was for the government. Because

Lucent established its affirmative defense under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1498(a), Lucent’s activities cannot be held to be infringing.

However, as explained above, the district court did have

jurisdiction over Crater’s patent claims. Therefore, the district

court erred in dismissing Crater’s complaint for lack of

jurisdiction. We therefore vacate the district court’s disrnissal

of Crater’s complaint and remand the case to the district court ~

so that the court may decide whether, in its discretion, to

exercise jurisdiction over Crater’s state law claims.

AFFIRMED IN PART, VACATED IN PART, and

REMANDED.

S4a

APPENDIX D — MEMORANDUM AND ORDER OF

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI, EASTERN

DIVISION DATED AND FILED AUGUST 25, 1999

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION

Case No. 4:98CV00913 ERW

CRATER CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,

VS.

LUCENT TECHNOLOGIES, INC. and

AMERICAN TELEPHONE AND

TELEGRAPH COMPANY,

Defendant(s).

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

This matter is before the Court upon defendants’ Motion

to Dismiss [Document #8].

I. SUMMARY OF THE PROCEEDINGS IN THIS

MATTER.

Plaintiff Crater Corporation filed this suit against the

defendants on May 22, 1998. In its complaint, plaintiff alleges

that the defendants infringed on plaintiff's patent and caused

55a

Appendix D

others to infringe on plaintiff's patent and that defendants

took and misappropriated confidential information of

plaintiff concerning plaintiff's patented device without

plaintiff's permission. Plaintiff's claims against defendants

consisted of both state law claims as well as federal claims

under the patent laws of the United States. Plaintiff alleged,

at least at the outset of this case, that this Court had diversity

jurisdiction over plaintiff’s state law claims and federal

jurisdiction over plaintiff’s patent law claims. However,

because it appears from plaintiff's complaint that plaintiff

and defendant Lucent are both incorporated under the laws

of Delaware, making them citizens of the same state, plaintiff

is unable to establish that complete diversity exists in this

matter.

As a result of the lack of diversity jurisdiction in this

matter, this Court would not have jurisdiction over this matter

if the Court does not have jurisdiction over plaintiff's federal

patent infringement claims. On August 17, 1998, the

defendants moved to dismiss this action on the ground that

this Court does not have jurisdiction over plaintiff's patent

infringement claims. In support of their Motion, defendants

contended, with documentary support from the affidavit of

Paul Rominski, that any of their work involving the patent

at issue was performed for the United States Government

and with its authorization and consent. As a result, defendants

argued that the Court of Federal Claims had exclusive

jurisdiction over plaintiff's patent infringement claims

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1498(a). Therefore, defendants argued,

this Court lacked any jurisdictional basis to hear plaintiff's

claims.

56a

Appendix D

In response, plaintiff requested, among other things, a

ninety day extension in which to perform discovery on the

facts supporting defendants’ claim that the alleged patent

infringement claims at ‘sue should have been filed in the

Court of Federal claims pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1498(a).

Document #12. While plaintiff’s attempts at discovery did

not proceed expediently at the outset, in part because the

defendants represented to the Court that they could not

disclose certain information due to their obligation to keep

certain information confidential under their contract with the

United States Government, plaintiff was granted several

extensions of time in which to conduct discovery and was

allowed to conduct discovery on the issue of defendants’ use

of plaintiffs patent for any entity other than the United States

Government. However, plaintiff's attempt to conduct

discovery was limited following the Court’s finding that the

Government was entitled to assert the state secrets privilege

in this matter. Notwithstanding the Government’s presence

in this action to protect the state secrets threatened by

plaintiff's discovery, plaintiff was allowed to conduct

discovery related to defendants’ use of plaintiff's patent for

purposes other than on behalf of the United States

Government.

Plaintiff filed its response to defendants’ Motion to

Dismiss on August 9, 1999. In its response, plaintiff asserts

that defendants’ Motion to Dismiss shoul. be denied, because

the affidavit of Mr. Rominski, which was attached to

defendants’ Motion to Dismiss, was not based on his personal

knowledge. Defendants filed their reply to plaintiff’s Motion

to Dismiss on August 17, 1999, exactly one year after

defendants’ originally filed their Motion to Dismiss. Having

57a

Appendix D

reviewed the briefs filed by the parties in relation to this

issue, having participated in multiple hearings regarding

plaintiff’s discovery efforts, and having considered the

Government’s claim of entitlement to the state secrets

privilege, the Court concludes that plaintiff's claims should

be dismissed, because this Court lacks jurisdiction over

plaintiff's claims against defendants.

II ANALYSIS.

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1498(a),' Congress has vested

exclusive jurisdiction in the Court of Federal Claims over

actions for patent infringement against the United States

Government. See generally Croydon Co., Inc. v. Unique

Furnishings, LTD., 831 F. Supp. 480, 482-83 (E.D. N.C.

1993). While the plaintiff in this matter has not directly sued

the United States Government, section 1498 still vests

exclusive jurisdiction in the Court of Federal Claims if the

1. Section 1498(a) provides as follows in relevant part:

“Whenever an invention described in and covered by a patent of the

United States is used or manufactured by or for the United States

without license of the owner thereof or lawful right to use or

manufacture the same, the owner’s remedy shall be by action against

the United States in the United States Court of Federal Claims for

the recovery of his reasonable and entire compensation for such use

and manufacture... .

For the purposes of this section, the use or manufacture of an

invention described in and covered by a patent of the United States

by a contractor, a subcontractor, or any person, firm, or corporation

for the Government and with the authorization or consent of the

Government, shall be construed as use or manufacture for the United

States.”

58a

Appendix D

defendants’ use or manufacture of a device covered by

plaintiff's patent was for the Government and “with the

authorization or consent of the Government,” because under

section 1498, such use “shall be construed as use or

manufacture for the United States.” 28 U.S.C. § 1498(a).

See also Croydon Co., 831 F. Supp. at 482-83.

Notwithstanding plaintiff's repeated attempts over

several months to discover evidence indicating that

defendants’ use of plaintiff's patent was for an individual or

entity other than the Government or was not performed with

the authorization or consent of the Government, no evidence

presented to the Court indicates that defendants performec

work in regards to plaintiff’s patent for any entity or

individual other than the Government. Similarly, no evidence

indicates that defendants performed such work without the

authorization or consent of the Government. For this reason,

the Court finds that defendants’ Motion to Dismiss should

be granted.

In addition, the Court does not believe that plaintiff’s

attempt to strike the affidavit of Mr. Rominski should lead

to a contrary result.* Denying the Motion to Dismiss on such

a technicality would require the Court to turn its back on the

several months of discovery undertaken by the plaintiff in

this case. While the original Motion to Dismiss may have

been based in large part, if not entirely, on the Rominski

affidavit, plaintiff requested additional time to conduct

discovery on the jurisdictional issue, because “the disputed

facts in this case require discovery to determine the truth.”

2. This statement by the Court should not be construed as a

finding that the Court would strike Rominski’s affidavit.

59a

Appendix D

Plaintiff's Brief in Support of Motion for 90 Day Extension

[Document #12] at pg. 8. Plaintiff stated that discovery to

uncover the truth was necessary, because “Defendants’

affidavit is conclusory and not based upon personal

knowledge, and because [plaintiff] has not had any reasonable

opportunity to conduct discovery on the disputed issues. . .”

Id. Now, after conducting discovery in the search for the truth

over a period of several months without uncovering any

evidence supporting its position, plaintiff opposes the Motion

to Dismiss solely on the ground that the Rominski affidavit

was not based on his personal knowledge. However,

plaintiff's argument ignores the fact that its original attack

on the Rominski affidavit was one of the factors leading to

the discovery undertaken in this matter. At least one of the

purposes of such discovery was to ascertain if any real facts

supported the defendants’ Motion as corroborated by the

Rominski affidavit. As a result, plaintiff needed to come

forward with specific facts demonstrating the falsity of the

defendants’ assertions, as corroborated by the Rominski

affidavit. Instead, plaintiff only attacks the Rominski

affidavit. The Court will not deny the Motion to Dismiss on

that ground alone, especially when all the events and

discovery in this action since August of 1998 indicates that

defendants’ Motion should be granted.’

3. While defendants note that recent deposition testimony and

an affidavit provided by former and present Lucent employees

corroborate the Rominski affidavit, see Nagengast Deposition at 58-

59; Lack Deposition at 10-11; Declaration of Martin I. Finston, the

Court also notes that the Government’s presence in this case in

asserting the state secrets privilege established that at least some of

the work performed by defendants in regards to the Accused Device

(Cont'd)

60a

Appendix D

Ill. CONCLUSION.

For the reasons set forth in this Memorandum and Order,

the Court finds that ali the work performed by the defendants in

this matter with regard to the Accused Device was performed

for the United States Government with the authorization or

consent of the United States Government. As a result, the Court

of Federal Claims, not this district court, has the exclusive

jurisdiction over this cause of action. Therefore, defendants’

Motion to Dismiss shall be granted.

Accordingly,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that defendants’ Motion to

Dismiss [Document #8] is GRANTED. Plaintiff's claims shall

be dismissed without prejudice so that plaintiff can refile its

patent infringement claims in the Court of Federal Claims

against the United States Government if necessary and its state

law claims against defendants in a proper state court if necessary;

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that to the extent the

Government has requested, orally or otherwise, that the Court

unseal its Memorandum and Order of March 24, 1999

[Document #70], such request is DENIED; and

(Cont'd)

was performed with the authorization or consent of the Government.

See Croydon Co., Inc., 831 F. Supp. at 484 (noting that Government

need not “expressly” provide authorization and consent to patent

infringement if it “effectively” gave such authorization “by

contracting for and accepting delivery cf the alleged infringing

manufacture’).

6la

Appendix D

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that all other pending

motions in this matter are DENIED as moot.

An appropriate judgment shall accompany this

memorandum and order.

Dated this 25th day of August, 1999.

s/ E. Richard Webber

E. Richard Webber

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

62a

APPENDIX E — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT

OF MISSOURI, EASTERN DIVISION

DATED AND FILED MARCH 24, 1999

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION

Case No. 4:98CV00913 ERW

FILED UNDER SEAL

CRATER CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,

VS.

LUCENT TECHNOLOGIES, INC. and

AMERICAN TELEPHONE AND

TELEGRAPH COMPANY,

Defendant(s).

ORDER

This matter is before the Court upon the United States’

Motion to Quash and for a Protective Order [Document #61],

plaintiff's Motion for this District Court to Dissolve its Stay

and Reset the Document Productions Previously Set by

Subpoena Duces Tecum [Document #66], and following this

Court’s in camera review of documents possessed by the

United States. Having reviewed the documents possessed by

the Government,

63a

Appendix E

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the United States’

Motion to Quash and for a Protective Order [Document #61] ]

is GRANTED. Having reviewed the documents in the

possession of the Government in camera, the Court concludes

that the United States is entitled to assert the state secrets

privilege in this case. The Court finds that exposure of the

information sought by plaintiff's discovery requests would

cause extremely grave damage to national security.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that plaintiff is prohibited

from conducting any discovery or serving any subpoena for

information relating to the manufacture or use of plaintiff's

coupling device, or any coupling device, by or on behalf of

the United States.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the plaintiff's

Motion for This District Court to Dissolve its Stay and Reset

the Document Productions Previously Set by Subpoena

Duces Tecum [Document ##66] is DENIED in light of the

Court’s granting of the Government’s Motion tc Quash and

for a protective order. ~~

Dated this 24th day of March, 1999.

s/ E. Richard Webber

E. Richard Webber

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

64a

APPENDIX F — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT

OF MISSOURI, EASTERN DIVISION

DATED AND FILED SEPTEMBER 17, 1998

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION

Case No. 4:98CV00913 ERW

CRATER CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,

vs.

LUCENT TECHNOLOGIES, INC. and AMERICAN

TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH COMPANY,

Defendant(s).

ORDER

This matter is before this Court upon Defendants’ Motion

to Dismiss [Document #8], Plaintiff's Motion for Leave to

File First Amended Complaint [Document #91, Plaintiff's

Motion to Strike Affidavit and Exhibits [Document #10],

Plaintiff's Motion for an Evidentiary Hearing [Document

#11], and Plaintiff’s Motion for a 90 Day Extension o1 fime

[Document #12]. In response to these motions and the

arguments made by both parties, the Court enters the

following order:

6Sa

Appendix F

1. The Court will defer ruling on defendants’ Motion to

Dismiss [Document #8] until after December 31, 1998.

2. The Court will defer ruling on plaintiff’s Motion to

Strike [Document #10] until after December 31, 1998.

3. The Court will defer ruling on plaintiff’s Motion for

Hearing [Document #11] until after December 31, 1998.

4. The Court will grant Plaintiff’s Motion for Extension

of Time To Do Discovery Before Ruling on Defendants’

Motion to Dismiss [Document #12]. Plaintiff has until

December 31, 1998 to respond to defendant’s Motion to

Dismiss. Defendants shall have ten days following plaintiff's

service of its response to defendants’ motion to reply thereto.

5. The Court will grant Plaintiff's Motion to File First

Amended Complaint [Document #91. The First Amended

Complaint is deemed filed as of September 17, 1998.

6. Defendants may answer the First Amended Complaint

after the Court’s ruling on pending motions.

7. Parties are granted until December 31, 1998 to

conduct discovery, beginning immediately, limited to the

subject matter jurisdictional issue under 28 U.S.C. §1498(a)

raised by defendants’ Motion to Dismiss and plaintiff's

opposition thereto. The parties are permitted to proceed with

discovery on the issues of (1) whether defendants made, used,

or sold the Accused Device (““Accused Device” meaning split

ball valve coupling device), to or for anyone other than the

United States of America, and (2) whether the United States

66a

Appendix F

Government gave its authorization or consent to defendants

for their manufacture or use of the Accused Device.

8.- Discovery related to classified information or

materials that are not related to the two issues listed above is

strictly prohibited. Any discovery related to classified

information or materials that are related to the two issues

listed above may proceed only after the Court makes further

orders in response to the parties’ motions or requests.

9. All other discovery, including but not limited to

discovery relating to claims of infringement, breach of

contract, or trade secrets, is stayed pending decision on

defendants’ motion to dismiss.

SO ORDERED

s/ E. Richard Webber

E. RICHARD WEBBER

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

September 17, 1998

67a

APPENDIX G — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING

DATED AND FILED DECEMBER 6, 2005

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

04-1349

CRATER CORPORATION,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

LUCENT TECHNOLOGIES, INC.

and AT&T COMPANY,

Defendants-Appellees,

and

UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appellee.

ORDER

A petition for rehearing en banc having been filed by

the APPELLANT, and a response thereto having been invited

by the court and filed by the APPELLEES,* and the matter

having first been referred as a petition for rehearing to the

panel that heard the appeal, and thereafter the petition for

rehearing en banc and response having been referred to the

circuit judges who are in regular active service,

* The United States and Lucent Technologies Inc., et al. cach

filed a response.

68a

Appendix G

UPON CONSIDERATION THEREOF, it is

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing be, and the

same hereby is, DENIED and it is further

ORDERED that the petition for rehearing en bane be,

and the same hereby is, DENIED.

The mandate of the court will issue on December 13,

2005.

FOR THE COURT

s/ Jan Horbaly

Jan Horbaly

Clerk

Dated: December 6, 2005

69a

APPENDIX H — DECLARATION AND ASSERTION

OF MILITARY AND STATE SECRETS PRIVILEGE OF

RICHARD J. DANZIG, SECRETARY OF THE NAVY,

UNDATED

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION

Case No. 4:98CV00913ERW

CRATER CORPORATION,

Plaintiff

We

LUCENT TECHNOLOGIES, INC., and AMERICAN

TELEPHONE AND TELEGRAPH COMPANY,

Defendants

DECLARATION AND ASSERTION OF MILITARY

AND STATE SECRETS PRIVILEGE OF RICHARD J.

DANZIG, SECRETARY OF THE NAVY

I, RICHARD J. DANZIG, HEREBY DECLARE:

1. I am currently the Secretary of the Navy of the United

States of America and the chief executive officer of the

Department of the Navy.

2. My statements in this Declaration are based on my

personal knowledge, on information provided to me in my

70a

Appendix H

official capacity, and on my evaluation of that information.

The purpose of this Declaration, along with my classified

declaration in this case, is to assert a formal claim of the

military and state secrets privilege in response to discovery

directed by plaintiff against defendants and various third-

parties.

3. As Secretary of the Navy, I am authorized to determine

the proper classification of information through the level of

TOP SECRET on behalf of the United States. My in camera

declaration submitted in this case is properly classified as

TOP SECRET, because its public disclosure could reasonably

be expected to cause extremely grave damage to national

security. This is the most serious degree of damage that

existing security criteria recognize.

4. I have been informed of plaintiff's discovery requests in

this case served upon defendants and of plaintiff's subpoenas

issued to third-parties. I have also been informed of the nature

of the claims in the case and the contention to which

plaintiff's discovery pertains, i.e., that defendants have

infringed plaintiff's patent for a coupling device and have

breached the terms of a purported arrangement with plaintiff.

I have been advised that defendants and, possibly third

parties, possess information responsive to plaintiff’s

discovery requests. I have also been advised of plaintiff's

motion to compel the production of documents and

information and the Court’s order regarding participation by

the United States to assert its interest in this matter.

5. The official activities of the Department of the Navy are

many and diverse, but all have a single objective — the

Tila

Appendix H

preservation of national security. In order to achieve that

objective, the Navy employs various methods, and conducts

various programs and operations.

6. As explained herein and in my classified declaration,

plaintiff's discovery in this case could be expected to cause

extremely grave damage to national security. Requiring

defendants and the private subpoena recipients to respond

to plaintiff's discovery would, directly or indirectly, provide

adversaries of the United States Government with

information concerning the operations and programs

described in my classified declaration. Those operations and

programs are currently ongoing. It is therefore my opinion

that disclosure of information concerning them would permit

potential adversaries to adopt specific measures to defeat or

otherwise impair the effectiveness of those operations and

programs.

7. Any further elaboration of this matter on the public record

would harm national security interests by revealing the

information the military and state secrets privilege is designed

to protect. My classified declaration explains in greater detail

why the discovery of any information relating to the

operations and programs described in my classified

declaration would pose a threat to national security.

8. Based on my personal consideration of the matter,

requiring responses to plaintiff s discovery, including that

directed to private companies, reasonably could be expected

to cause extremely grave damage to the vital national security

interests of the United States. Accordingly, I formally invoke

the military and state secrets privilege in order to foreclose

72a

Appendix H

any discovery relating to the manufacture or use of plaintiff's

coupling device or any coupling device by or on behalf

of the Government I also invoke this privilege over the

in camera declarations describing the operations and

programs involved.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true

and correct.

s/ Richard J. Danzig

Richard J. Danzig

Secretary of the Navy

(>) FILED

MAY 1¢ 2006

OFFICE GF °F: AE “EE 3€

No. 05-1135 | SUPREME Cons?

In the Supreme Court of the Anited States

CRATER CORPORATION, PETITIONER

v.

LUCENT TECHNOLOGIES, INC., ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

PAUL D. CLEMENT

Solicitor General

Counsel of Record

PETER D. KEISLER

Assistant Attorney General

MARK B. STERN

ALISA B. KLEIN

Attorneys

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530-0001

(202) 514-2217

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the court of appeals correctly applied

settled law in sustaining the government’s invocation of

the state secrets privilege, and remanding for further

proceedings.

TABLE OF CONTENTS _

Opinions below

Jurisdiction .

Statement

PI a 55 5G is oo oo RRR Sod RK oe A a aes 5

Conclusion

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Bareford v. General Dynamics Corp., 973 F.2d 1138

(5th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 507 U.S. 1029 (1993)

Black v. United States, 62 F.3d 1115 (8th Cir. 1995),

cert. denied, 517 U.S. 1154 (1996)

Crater Corp. v. Lucent Technologies, Inc., 255 F.3d

1361 (Fed. Cir. 2001)

Douglas v. Windham Superior Court, 597 A.2d 774

(Vt. 1991)

Duncan v. Cammell, Laird & Co., [1942] App. Cas.

624 (appeal taken from C.A.)

Kasza v. Browner, 133 F.3d 1159 (9th Cir.), cert.

denied, 525 U.S. 967 (1998)

Kerr v. United States Dist. Court, 511 F.2d 192 (9th

Cir. 1975), aff'd, 426 U.S. 394 (1976)

Northrop Corp. v. McDonnell Douglas Corp., 751

F.2d 395 (D.C. Cir. 1984)

United States v. O'Neill, 619 F.2d 222 (3d Cir. 1980)

United States v. Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1 (1953)

Statute:

28 U.S.C. 1498(a)

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

No. 05-1135

CRATER CORPORATION, PETITIONER

Vv.

LUCENT TECHNOLOGIES, INC., ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1a-25a)

is reported at 423 F.3d 1260. The opinion of the district

court (Pet. App. 26a-34a) is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

September 7, 2005. A petition for rehearing was denied

on December 6, 2005 (Pet. App. 67a-68a). The petition

for a writ of certiorari was filed on March 6, 2006. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. Petitioner brought this suit against Lucent Tech-

nologies, Inc., and AT&T Company, alleging patent in-

(1)

2

fringement and related state law claims for misappropri-

ation of trade secrets and breach of contract. The gov-

ernment intervened to assert the state secrets privilege,

seeking to prohibit petitioner from conducting any dis-

covery of information relating to the manufacture or use

of petitioner’s patented device by or on behalf of the

United States. Pet. App. 4a.

To support the assertion of privilege, the government

submitted public and classified declarations of the Sec-

retary of the Navy and, later, the Acting Secretary of

the Navy. The public declarations explained that any

discovery into defendants’ alleged use of petitioner’s

patented device for or on behalf of the United States

government could be expected to cause “extremely

grave damage” to national security by providing adver-

saries of the United States with information concerning

ongoing programs and operations. Pet. App. 4a-5a; C.A.

App. 504, 1303. The details of the threat to national se-

curity were provided in “TOP SECRET” declarations

submitted for the district court’s 7x camera review. Id.

at 503.

After reviewing the classified declarations, the dis-

trict court issued the protective order sought by the gov-

ernment, barring petitioner from seeking any informa-

tion about the use or manufacture of petitioner’s pat-

ented device by or for the government. Pet. App. 6a.

The district court allowed discovery, however, into

whether defendants had used the patented device for

any non-governmental purpose. /d. at 56a. Ultimately,

the district court held that the evidence showed that all

of defendants’ work on the allegedly infringing coupler

was done for the United States and that therefore the

court lacked jurisdiction over the patent infringement

claim under 28 U.S.C. 1498(a). That provision makes a

3

suit against the United States the exclusive remedy

when a patented device is manufactured or used by the

United States. /bid.

The court of appeals affirmed that ruling, although

it held that Section 1498(a) supplies an affirmative de-

fense rather than a basis for denial of jurisdiction. The

court then remanded the case to the district court to

determine whether to exercise supplemental jurisdiction

over petitioner’s remaining state law claims for misap-

propriation of trade secrets and breach of contract. Pet.

App. 6a-8a, 35a-53a; Crater Corp. v. Lucent Technolo-

gies, Inc., 255 F.3d 1361 (Fed. Cir. 2001).

2. On remand, the district court exercised supple-

mental jurisdiction over the state law claims. Pet. App.

26a-34a. In response to petitioner’s subsequent discov-

ery requests to both Lucent and the United States, the

government reviewed roughly 26,000 pages of poten-

tially responsive materials to determine whether the

privileged information could be removed and a partial

production thus made. /d. at 26a-29a. The government

ultimately opposed the discovery and submitted the pub-

lic and classified declarations of the Acting Secretary of

the Navy in support of its privilege claim. C.A. App.

1298-1304.

The Acting Secretary confirmed that the threat to

national security identified in the earlier declarations

remained “equally relevant,” C.A. App. 1300, and con-

cluded that relevant information could not be redacted

or otherwise sanitized in a manner that would avoid

damaging national security. /d. at 1301. To the con-

trary, he concluded that disclosing “even limited por-

tions of the information would reasonably be expected to

cause serious or exceptionally grave damage to the na-

4

tional security because the mosaic of information would

reveal privileged information.” /d. at 1301-1302.

The district court conducted an in camera review of

the roughly 26,000 pages of documents responsive to pe-

titioner’s discovery requests. The court held that peti-

tioner’s claims could not be tried without implicating

matters at the core of the state secrets privilege, and

dismissed the case. Pet. App. 9a-10a, 30a-33a.

3. The court of appeals remanded for further pro-

ceedings. Pet. App. la-25a. A divided panel rejected

petitioner’s contention that the state secrets privilege

was not properly invoked because the Secretary and

Acting Secretary of the Navy did not review the docu-

ments asserted to be privileged. The court explained

that it was sufficient that the Secretary and Acting Sec-

retary “were informed of the nature and scope of the

documents sought in discovery, and that each then made

the ultimate policy determination, based on his personal

knowledge, that disclosure of the material sought would

jeopardize a legitimate state secret and pose a threat to

national security.” /d. at 12a.

The court reversed the order dismissing the com-

plaint, however, finding the record inadequately devel-

oped to allow the court to determine whether the asser-

tion of privilege required dismissal of petitioner’s com-

plaint. Pet. App. 14a-19a. The court observed that al-

though petitioner alleged misappropriation of trade se-

crets, it had never identified the trade secrets that were

at issue. /d. at 15a-16a. Likewise, although petitioner

alleged a breach of contract, the existence of a contract

was in dispute. /d. at 17a. The court explained that,

under those circumstances, it might not be necessary to

reach the issue of the impact of the state secrets privi-

lege if “there are no alleged trade secrets and there was

—

o

no contract.” /bid. Alternatively, the court concluded,

“if there are trade secrets and/or there was a contract,

an understanding of the precise nature of the trade se-

crets and the terms of the contract is essential to the

analysis of whether [petitioner’s] misappropriation of

trade secrets and breach of contract claims may proceed

in the face of the assertion of the privilege.” /bid. The

court accordingly remanded for further development of

the record. Jd. at 18a-19a.

Judge Newman filed an opinion concurring in part

and dissenting in part. Pet. App. 2la-25a. Judge

Newman concurred in the remand for further proceed-

ings but observed that the protective order sustained by

the court might prove an insurmountable obstacle to peti-

tioner’s ability to proceed -with its claims on remand. /d.

at 2la-23a. She would have remanded for an adjudica-

tion on the merits of petitioner’s claims in an in camera

proceeding. /d. at 25a.

ARGUMENT

The interlocutory decision of the court of appeals is

correct and does not conflict with any decision of this

Court or any other court of appeals. Further review is

therefore not warranted.

1. The state secrets privilege permits the United

States to prevent the unauthorized disclosure in litiga-

tion of information that may adversely affect national

security interests. United States v. Reynolds, 345 U.S.

1, 7-8 (1953). To invoke the state secrets privilege,

“(t]here must be a formal claim of privilege, lodged by

the head of the department which has control over the

matter, after actual personal consideration by that offi-

cer.” /bid. (footnote omitted).

6

Petitioner argues (Pet. 14-19) that the court of ap-

peals’ decision conflicts with Reynolds because the head

of the Navy did not personally review any documents

responsive to petitioner’s discovery requests. That

claim lacks merit. The privilege was invoked by the Sec-

retary and Acting Secretary of the Navy, who were in-

formed of the nature and scope of the documents sought

in discovery, and who made the ultimate policy determi-

nation, based on personal knowledge, that disclosure of

the material sought would jeopardize a legitimate state

secret and would pose a threat to national security. The

Acting Secretary further determined that relevant infor-

mation could not be redacted or otherwise sanitized in a

manner that would avoid damaging national security.

As the panel explained, that process readily satisfied

the Reynolds requirement that the head of the agency

give “actual personal consideration” to the matter. The

Secretary and Acting Secretary were not required to

review each of the 26,000 pages of documents responsive

to petitioner’s discovery in order to assert privilege over

a category of information, 7.e., any information relating

to the manufacture or use of petitioner’s patented device

for the United States. It is well-established that an

agency head may assert the privilege over a particular

subject matter, as was done here. See, e.g., Kasza v.

Browner, 133 F.3d 1159, 1169 (9th Cir.) (“In a case such

as this, the Secretary, once she has properly invoked the

claim of privilege and adequately identified categories of

privileged information, cannot reasonably be expected

personally to explain why each item of information argu-

ably responsive to a discovery request affects the na-

tional interest.”), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 967 (1998); Bare-

ford v. General Dynamics Corp., 973 F.2d 1138, 1141-

1142 (5th Cir. 1992) (where the government does not

7

target documents but objects to a claim that would re-

quire disclosure of sensitive information, the agency

head need only review the “type of evidence” necessary

to support the claim), cert. denied, 507 U.S. 1029 (1993);

accord Northrop Corp. v. McDonnell Douglas Corp., 751

F.2d 395, 400 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (the Secretary of Defense

properly had “reviewed a representative sample of the

documents as well as affidavits of staff members who

had received all of the documents”). The head of the

Navy

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.