Opposition Brief — American Coalition of Life Activists v. Planned Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette, Inc. (No. 05-1083)

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

4

(Id. at 77, 240), petitioners unveiled, in blown-up form, their

“Deadly Dozen” hit list of thirteen physicians, including three

respondents, accusing them of “crimes against humanity.” (/d.

at 78-79, 228-30.) The Federal Bureau of Investigation and

U.S. Marshals immediately contacted respondents, who, with

full knowledge of the prior poster/murder pattern and

petitioners’ “pro-force” position, purchased bulletproof vests,

wigs and disguises. (/d. at 78-82, 122, 228-31.)

ACLA’s threats continued unabated. In August 1995,

ACLA released a poster of respondent Dr. Robert Crist, with his

photograph and home and work addresses, declaring him “guilty

of crimes against humanity” and offering a “reward.”

Petitioners visited Dr. Crist’s St. Louis clinic to relay their threat

directly. Once again, petitioners succeeded in their intent to

intimidate: Dr. Crist accepted law enforcement protection and

undertook additional security measures to protect himself and

his family. (Pet. App. 79, 231.)

In January 1996, ACLA unveiled “the Nuremberg

Files.” (Pet. App. 78-79.) Subsequently, petitioners

surreptitiously sent the Nuremberg Files to Neal Horsley for

placement on the internet in ACLA’s name. Horsley complied,

and the hardeonwy files were destroyed. (/d. at 78-79, 231-35.)

Amidst dripping blood, crossed-out names of murdered doctors

and grayed names of wounded doctors, the Nuremberg Files

contained Physicians’ names, addresses and family information,

and warned of a “payday someday, a day when what is sown Is

” 6

reaped.”” (/d. at 78-79, 109-10.)

ACLA struggles to distance itself from the Nuremberg Files by noting

that Horsley is a non-party. It 1s undisputed, however, that the

Nuremberg Files were petitioners’ creation. (Pet. App. 78-79, 232-35,

281-85.) ACLA’s “Lodging” tellingly does not include the trial exhibits

documenting ACLA’s role in creating the Nuremberg Files or ACLA’s

involvement in the internet version. (4. ¢., Exs. 4, 7B, 80.) And, Paul

dePame, petitioners’ agent, was directly involved im the creation of the

B. Trial, Jury Verdict and Injunction

Fearing for their lives and the safety of their

families, respondents sued, contending that petitioners’

communications to Physicians were “threats of force” in

violation of federal law.’ Relying on settled threats law under

multiple federal threats statutes (on which FACE was modeled),

the district court denied ACLA’s motions to dismiss and, after

discovery, denied ACLA’s motions for summary judgment.

(Pet. App. 332, 400.) After three weeks of trial and four days of

deliberations, the jury found that each of the Deadly Dozen List,

Crist Poster and Nuremberg Files constituted “a true threat by

one or more of the defendants to bodily harm, assault or kill any

one of the plaintiffs.” (Pet. App. 429.) The jury also found—in

response to a question in the jury verdict form proposed by

ACLA—that each petitioner “violate[d] or conspire[d] to violate

FACE”; it further found that all but two petitioners violated

RICO. (Pet. App. 429-444; Resp. App. 37a-67a.) Carefully

assigning differing degrees of fault to each defendant, the jury

awarded Physicians compensatory damages under FACE and

RICO and punitive damages under FACE. (Pet. App. 429-44.)

In enjoining petitioners from further unlawful conduct,

District Judge Robert E. Jones independently found,

by clear and convincing evidence that each

defendant, acting independently and as a co-

conspirator, prepared, published and

disseminated the “Deadly Dozen” poster, the

Poster of Dr. Robert Crist and the “Nuremberg

Files” with specific intent and malice in a latant

Nuremberg Files and participated in the destruction of the hardcopy

Files after they were sent by ACLA to Horsley. (Pet. App.124, 281-85)

Physicians sued under PACE, 18 U.S.C. § 248, and RICO, 18 U.S.C

$$ 1961-1968

6

and illegal communication of true threats to kill,

assault or do bodily harm to each of the plaintiffs

and with the specific intent to interfere with or

intimidate the plaintiffs from engaging in legal

medical practices or procedures.

(Pet. App. 81-82, 226-92, 294.)°

In its findings, the district court found both subjective

and objective intent to threaten on behalf of each petitioner.

(Pet. App. 81-82, 228-31, 286.) The jury’s finding of intention

to intimidate under FACE, as the en banc Ninth Circuit made

clear, reflects this very same determination. (/d. at 75, 100-01,

111-12.)

C. ACLA’s First Ninth Circuit Appeal

ACLA appealed/_raising— an amalgam of 35

constitutional, statutory, instructional, evidentiary and mistrial

issues—but none of the RICO or standing arguments discussed

in its certiorari petition. In an opinion by Judge Kozinski, a

three-judge panel reversed on First Amendment grounds, ruling

that the evidence did not establish that petitioners’ posters and

list conveyed the message that petitioners themselves would

inflict bodily harm on respondents. The Ninth Circuit reheard

the case en banc. {In an opmion authored by Judge Rymer,

joined by Chief Judge Schroeder and Judges Hawkins,

Silverman, Wardlaw and Rawlinson, the en banc majority found

that petitioners’ conduct was not protected, as the record

showed that petitioners threatened violence with intention to

intimidate. The en banc Ninth Circuit affirmed the liability

The district court issued its injunction under FACE, which specifically

authorizes private parties to obtain injunctive relief. 18 U.S.C.

§$ 248(c)(1)(B). Respondents did not seek a RICO injunction, which

distinguishes this case from Scheidler v. National Organization for

Women, Inc., 123 S. Ct. 1264 (2006), see infra pp. 24-27.

verdict, compensatory damages and injunction m their entirety,

and remanded to the district court solely on the amount of the

FACE punitive damages award.

In her opinion for the en banc majority, Judge Rymer

carefully surveyed the uniform body of threats law developed in

the Ninth Circuit and the other Circuits following this Court's

decision in Watts v. United States, 394 U.S. 705 (1969), and

determined that the district court properly defined “threat” for

purposes of this case. (Pet. App. 93-110.) The court of appeals

also held that, under well-settled law, the jury properly

considered context in determining whether petitioners’

statements were “true threats.” (/d. at 106-10.) The court

further found that, even were subjective intent required as a

matter of constitutional law, the FACE instructions in this case

required the jury to find that petitioners issued their threats with

intent to intimidate respondents—that ts, that they subjectively

intended to cause respondents to fear bodily injury. (/d. at 75,

100-01, 111.)”

Although disagreeing with the result, the dissenting

judges—Judges Reinhardt, Kozinski, O’Scannlain, Kleinfeld

and Berzon—agreed that the en banc majority properly defined

the legal standard for true threats, properly approved the jury’s

consideration of context, and properly held that the case

required an independent review of the factual record. (Pet. App

128-32.) The dissenting opinions simply disagreed with the

The en banc court also considered and rejected the other arguments

raised by ACLA on appeal. (Pet. App. H2n.16, 114n.17, 114-19.) In

particular, the en banc court rejected ACLA’s argument—now raised

again in its second certiorari petition—that no claim for conspiracy to

violate FACE exists. (/d. at 112 n.16) The court of appeals held that

because ACLA raised this issue “‘for the first time on appeal,” and that

ACLA ttself had proposed the disjunctive jury verdict question, it farled

on preservation grounds. The en banc court also held that even if it were

to consider this waived argument, it would not find in ACLA’s favor

hecause no “substantial injustice occurred.” (/d.} See infra pp. 29-30

application of those settled legal standards to the particular facts

. ‘ . . 0

of this case. (E.g., id. at 128-29.)!

D. ACLA’s First Certiorari Petition

After its request for en banc rehearing by the full Ninth

Circuit was denied, on October 8, 2002, ACLA filed a petition

for a writ of certiorari with this Court, raising the very same

First Amendment questions, as well as the same FACE

conspiracy question, that are presented again by the present

petition.’ Physicians opposed certiorari. On December 16,

2002, this Court invited the U.S. Solicitor General to file a brief

expressing the views of the United States as to whether

certiorari should be granted. After this Court issued its decision

in Black, the Solicitor General, on May 30, 2003, filed his brief

expressing the United States’s view that the en banc Ninth

Circuit “applied a legal standard for distinguishing ‘true threats’

from protected speech that is correct and consistent with this

Court’s decisions” and that for this and other reasons the

petition should be denied. (Resp. App. 8a.)'> ACLA and

Physicians also filed supplemental briefs addressing the impact

In addition to joining Judge Kozinski’s dissent, which agreed with the

majority's articulation of threats law and standard of review, Judges

Reinhardt and Berzon authored separate dissents. Judge Reinhardt

argued that “political speech’ deserves “heightened scrutiny.” (Pet

App. 127-128.) Judge Berger «aivocated a subjective intent standard,

which, as noted, was mei # ®ms case. (Id. at 166-70.)

ACLA’s amici raised net onty these First Amendment and FACE

conspiracy questions, bul aiso the same RICO and standing questions

raised by the present petition. See supra note 3.

The Solicitor General’s brief recognized that, because the jury was

required to—and did—tfind that each petitioner acted with subjective

intent under the FACE statute, this case is “not a suitable vehicle’ to

address the question whether subjective intent is required for “true

threats” under the First Amendment. (Resp. App. 15a.)

9

of Black on this case. On June 27, 2003, the Court denied

‘ r ‘ , 3

certiorari review. (Pet. App. 66.)

E. The Ninth Circuit Mandate

On July 9, 2003, the court of appeals issued its mandate.

As noted above, the en banc court had found “no reversible

error on liability or in the equitable relief that was granted,”

“affirm[ed] the judgment in all respects but for punitive

damages,” and remanded solely for “consideration of whether

the punitive damages award comports with due process.”’) (Pet.

App. 75, 127.)

F. District Court Proceedings on Remand

On remand, contrary to petitioners’ representation in

their motion to stay the mandate that “[t]he only issue on

remand would be whether the punitive damages award should

stand or be lowered” (Resp. App. 26a-27a), and the Ninth

Circuit’s clear mandate that the proceedings were limited to

review of the jury’s punitive damages awards (Pet. App. 75),

ACLA filed motions raisimg arguments wholly unrelated to the

punitive damages question—all of which either had already

been rejected or could have been raised long ago. (/d. at 45-46.)

The district court properly “decline[d] to address the multitude

ACLA contends that denial of its first petition does not preclude review

now “‘because the denial of certiorari is not an adjudication on the

merits.” (Pet. 9n.4.) But this contention ignores the realities of what

occurred before this Court when ACLA filed its prior petition. At that

time, the parties and the Solicitor General submitted briefs that

addressed the very First Amendment questions that ACLA presents in its

current petition, not jurisdictional or “‘finality” issues (which Physicians

had noted only in a passing footnote in their brief). It was only after this

Court received the Solicitor General's detailed submisston—“which

concluded that none of ACLA’s challenges merited review” and

which made no mention at all of any “finality” concerns—that ACLA’s

first petition was denied

ae

of other issues” raised by ACLA, and “specifically den[ied]

defendants’ demand for a new trial.” (/d.) Addressing the

punitive-damages question properly before it, the district court

concluded that the jury’s awards were “reasonable and

constitutional” under the Due Process Clause. (/d. at 46.)

G. ACLA’s Second Appeal and Certiorari

Petition

ACLA appealed. Again in contravention of the

mandate, ACLA—as it did in the district court—raised a

multitude of issues before the Ninth Circuit unrelated to punitive

damages. ACLA’s second appeal was heard by a three-judge

panel comprised of Judges Fernandez, Rymer, and Kleinfeld. In

an opinion by Judge Rymer, the three-judge panel unanimously

held that the appeal was limited to punitive damages, as the en

banc court had mandated, and remitted the punitive damages

awards dramatically. In particular, the court of appeals held that

although petitioners’ conduct was “on the high side of

reprehensibility” and “warrant|ed] the imposition of significant

sanctions to punish and deter,” the ratio of punitive to

compensatory damages awarded by the jury exceeded

constitutional limits. (Pet. App. 19-20.) Based on a single-digit

ratio of 9:1, the court remitted the awards to a reduced amount

totaling $4.7 million and remanded “so that the district court

may order anew trial unless [P]hysicians accept the remittitur.”

(Id. at 28-32.) '* The panel also unanimously affirmed the

district court’s disposition of the many non-punitive-damages

4 , - ’ .

The court of appeals expressly rejected Physicians’ position, which was

adopted by the district court, as to how the applicable ratios should be

calculated in this case. Instead, the Ninth Circuit articulated its own

approach (not argued by ACLA) in formulating the ratios, which was

more favorable to petitioners. (Pet. App. 20-29.) Because the Ninth

Circuit has stayed its mandate pending the conclusion of proceedings in

this Court, the parties have not appeared before the district court on the

question whether Physicians will accept the remitttur.

11

issues raised by ACLA, holding that “all these issues were

finally settled” by the en banc court on the first appeal and “are

i 15

not open for review.” Ud. at 32-34.)

ACLA’s request for rehearing and rehearing en banc

was denied, with no judge on the Ninth Circuit requesting a vote

on whether to rehear the matter. (Pet App. 402-03.) Now, for

the second time, petitioners seek review in this Court.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

ACLA devotes the majority of its petition to re-raising

the very same First Amendment questions that this Court

properly declined to review three years ago. Indeed, although

the First Amendment questions presented have now been

reduced in number (from seven to one) and the arguments have

been somewhat reorganized, ACLA’s current petition is largely

a word-for-word copy of its prior petition. Nothing has changed

since 2003, however, to make ACLA’s factbound disagreements

over the court of appeals’ application of settled threats law any

more certworthy this second time around. See S. Ct. R. 10;

United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925) (“We do

not grant a certiorari to review evidence and discuss specific

facts.”); C..D. Rudolph v. United States, 370 U.S. 269, 270

(1962) (dismissing writ where question turned on review of

factual findings).

Nevertheless, in an effort to suggest that its second

petition is somehow different than its first, ACLA contends that

a conflict now exists over the appropriate intent standard for

true threats and that this warrants certiorari review. ACLA ts

Notably, Judge Kleinfeld—who had dissented from the en banc majority

on the first appeal and had joined Judge Kozinski’s origimal panel

opinion—agreed that non-punitive-damages issues raised by

peliioners—including all three proposed questions in the pettuon——were

not open for review. (Pet. App. 32-34.)

12

incorrect. This Court’s decision m Black—which was handed

down before the Court denied certiorari on ACLA’s prior

petition and whose impact was previously briefed to the Court

by both the parties and the U.S. Solicitor General—does not

establish a subjective-intent requirement for true threats. And

even if it did, it would not matter here. As the en banc Ninth

Circuit indisputably held, any subjective-intent requirement was

satisfied in this case by the jury’s finding that each petitioner

was liable under the FACE statute. (Pet. App. 100-01, 111.)

Thus, as the Solicitor General emphasized in opposing certiorari

on ACLA’s first petition, this case is “not a suitable vehicle to

address... whether the definition of a true threat should include

a subjective as well as an objective component.” (Resp. App.

15a.)

The remuinmg questions presented by ACLA’s

petition-—a factbound challenge to the size of the remitted

punitive damages awards as well as petitioners’ unpreserved

RICO, standing and FACE conspiracy arguments—also fall far

short of the standards required for this Court’s review. See S.

Ct. R.. 10. The petition for certiorari, accordingly, should be

denied.

PETITIONERS’ FIRST AMENDMENT

ARGUMENTS PRESENT NO LEGAL ISSUE

FOR SUPREME COURT REVIEW

A. The Ninth Circuit Properly Applied The

Settled Legal Standard For True Threats of

Violence—Which Fully Governs “Public

Forum Political Speech”

It is well-settled that “true threats” of violence are not

protected by the First Amendment. Black, 538 U.S. at 359;

Waits, 394 U.S. at 707; Madsen v. Women’s Health Ctr., Inc..,

512 U.S. 753, 773 (1994). (See Pet. App. 75, 90, 93, 126-27,

130, 207.) ACLA does not—and cannot—argue otherwise.

Instead, ACLA contends that its statements could not be true

threats because they consisted of “public- forum political

speech” and, thus, under NAACP vy. Claiborne Hardware Co.,

458 U.S. 886 (1982), required some sort of heightened,

“extreme care” standard of review that allegedly was not

satisfied in this case. (Pet. 12-13.) This is just wrong. The

court of appeals independent review of the facts of this case

took mto account all contextual factors, as this Court’s

precedents require, and ACLA’s disagreement, once again,

concerns the result of that application of settled law to the facts.

Indeed, many threats cases—including those involving

threats against the President and other federal officers—involve

public, political speech, and no different standard applies. As

the en banc Ninth Circuit held, and the Solicitor General noted

in opposing ACLA’s first certiorari petition, the same

standard—an objective, reasonable person test, in which “the

whole factual context” is considered'°—controls the threats

determination irrespective of the speaker’s particular political

views or method of communication. (Pet. App. 106-13; Resp.

App. |5a-17a); see, e.g., Madsen, 512 U.S. at 773 (stating, in a

case involving abortion protesters, that “threats ... however

communicated, are proscribable under the First Amendment’).

The en banc Ninth Circuit carefully considered both the

political aspect and the public distribution of petitioners’

statements. (Pet. App. 101-103; see Resp. App. 24a.) And,

upon de novo review of the factual record, the en banc court

determined, as had the jury and district court Judge, that a

reasonable speaker in ACLA’s position would reasonably

toresee—indeed, could only believe—that respondents would

'® ACLA contends that, after Black, the test for true threats requires

subjective intent to threaten. (Pet. 14.) As discussed below, ACLA not

only misinterprets Black, but ignores that, as the Ninth Circuit found and

the Solicitor General agreed, any subjective-intent requirement was met

in this case. This case, therefore, is not a suitable vehicle for the Court

to revisit the recent Black decision. See tafra pp. 15-19

14

perceive ACLA’s statements as a serious expression of an intent

to do them bodily harm. (Pet. App. 89, 119-23, 126-27.)

ACLA’s factbound disagreement with the finding that then

statements constituted unprotected threats of violence 1s no basis

for certiorari review. See S. Ct. R. 10

At bottom, ACLA’s argument boils down to a claim that

the en banc Ninth Circuit’s decision in this case conflicts with

this Court’s 1982 decision in Claiborne Hardware. (Pet. 11-

24.) But, as the Solicitor General emphasized in opposing

ACLA’s prior petition, this is simply not so. (Resp. App. 23a

(“Nor are petitioners correct in claiming that that the court of

appeals’ decision conflicts with Claiborne Hardware.”).) The

en banc court, in fact, fully and carefully analyzed the facts of

Claiborne Hardware against the very different facts of this case,

and ACLA’s disagreement with the result of that analysis

presents no question for certiorari review. (Pet. App. 94-97.)

Claiborne Hardware did not even involve a true threats

analysis under a threats statute. As the en banc Ninth Circuit

explained, although some of the statements by Charles Evers at

issue in Claiborne Hardware (including “the break your heck”

comments referred to in the petition) could have been

understood as threats in some other contexts, “there was no

context [under the facts of Claiborne Hardware] to give” the

Statements “the implication of authorizing or directly

threatening unlawful conduct.” (Pet. App. 97.) The en banc

court further noted that—unlike this case—Evers’s statements

were “extemporaneous, surrounded by statements supporting

non-violent action,” did not target specific individuals, and were

not similar to statements that preceded violence in the past. (/d.)

“Nor is there any indication that Evers’s listeners took his

statement that boycott breakers’ ‘necks would be broken’ as a

serious threat that their necks would be broken; they kept on

shopping at boycotted stores.” (/d.)

15

As the Solicitor General stated, “f{a]ll of those

considerations distinguish Claiborne Hardware trom this case.”

(Resp. App. 24a.) Indeed, unlike the targets of Evers’s speech

-the boycott-breakers who were not the plaintiffs in Claiborne

Hardware—Physicians testified about their personal fear

following ACLA’s threats (and fear of ACLA im particular) and

described the extensive security measures they undertook as a

direct result. (Pet. App. 60, 78-81, 294.) The prior posters and

murders and petitioners’ repeated endorsement of that violence

provided further context for the finding of intent to threaten

violence that the Claiborne Hardware facts lacked. (/d. at 94-

97, 119-123.) There simply is no conflict here with the law

enunciated in Claiborne Hardware—the facts and legal bases of

the decisions are just different.

Finally, it should be noted that, in Black, this Court held

that cross-burning—which indisputably is “public” and

“political” in nature—was a “true threat” unprotected by the

First Amendment. And, in so holding, the Black Court

directly contrary to ACLA’s argument here—applied no

heightened, “extreme care” threats standard and did not cite

Claiborne Hardware. 538 U.S. at 363. Petitioners’ Claiborne

Hardware argument provides no basis for review.

B. Petitioners’ Proposed Subjective Intent

Requirement for “True Threats” Presents

No Issue For Review Because Subjective

Intent Was Found In This Case

ACLA once again asks this Court to grant review in

order to change First Amendment law in all cases to require

subjective intent for “true threats”—a standard that was, in any

event, met in this case.'’ ACLA bases this renewed request on

i

'

ACLA’'s petition makes clear that tts proposed subjective intent

requirement would derive not trom any statute but rather from the First

Amendment. (Pet. 14-15.) Thus, adoption of a subjective intent

16

a misreading of this Court’s decision m Black and a

: . ~: . 18

misunderstanding of its impact here.

In Black, this Court held that Virginia’s ban on cross

burning with an intent to intumidate did not violate the First

Amendment. 538 U.S. at 347-48. The Black Court reaffirmed

that “true threats” are unprotected by the Constitution and

explained that “‘[t}rue threats’ encompass those statements

where the speaker means to communicate a serious expression

of an intent to commit an act of unlawful violence to a particular

individual or group of individuals.” As it did m a supplemental

brief filed on the prior petition, ACLA now points to this

language as somehow imposing a subjective-intent requirement

for threats as a matter of First Amendment law. (Pet. 14-15.)

As the Solicitor General noted in opposing ACLA’s first

petition, however, the Black Court “was not asked to (and did

not) decide whether the true threats standard is an objective one

or a subjective one (or both).” (Resp. App. 21a n.6.)

standard in this case would make subjective intent the constitutional

intent requirement for all threats statutes, including those that proscribe

threats against the President and contained in anti-terrorism laws. See

supra note 16. Defendants in all of these contexts would contend that

they are engaging in protected political speech

ACLA’s argument that the Court should adopt a subjective intent

requirement for true threats also was not properly preserved below.

Petitioners supposedly “preserved for appeal” a specific intent argument

by including a specific intent jury charge in a mass of proposed jury

instructions that contained contradictory instructions on the standard of

intent. But, petitioners never argued that the trial court should give the

instruction. Instead, at the final charge conference, ACLA’s lead

counsel stated with respect to the “true threats” instruction: “Yes, I

never saixi—lI never said the test should be changed.... I am not

arguing, your Honor, that the test should be changed.”’ (1/25/99 Tr

3123.) Simply submitting a proposed instruction stating it is ‘preserved

for appeal” is insufficient under well-settled rules of preservation. Fed

R. Civ. P. 51, see, ¢.g., Monroe v. City of Phoenix, 248 F.3d 851, 858-59

(9th Cir. 2001)

17

And, even more significantly—as the en banc Ninth

Circuit majority made abundantly clear and ACLA ignores—the

jury in this case found specific intent and for this reason, as the

Solicitor General stated, “| t]his case is not a suitable vehicle to

address... whether... the definition of a true threat should

include a subjective as well as an objective component.” (Pet.

App. LO1; Resp. App. 15a.) As Judge Rymer’s opinion for the

en banc court explains, the Jury instructions for the statutory

elements of FACE—which ACLA ignores entirely—required a

finding of intent to mtumidate (with intimidation specifically

defined to mean by threats of bodily injury) and thus satisfied

any subjective intent standard. (Pet. App. 101 (noting that a

subjective intent standard “is subsumed within the statutory

standard of FACE itself, which requires that the threat of force

be made with the intent to intimidate”).)'’ Thus, this Court

should not review ACLA’s subjective-intent question because it

would have no impact on this case. (Resp. App. [5a (“The court

of appeals’ refusal to incorporate into its true threats standard a

requirement that the speaker intended to make a threat could not

have affected the outcome of this case. The FACE Act, the

statute under which petitioners were held liable for their threats,

requires that the defendant act with the intent to injure,

intimidate, or interfere with a person, and the jury was

instructed in accordance with that requirement.”).)”°

19

ACLA contends that the “intent to inumidate” found by the jury may

have been only a “generalized” intent to intimidate and not a “specific

intent to threaten violence to be committed by the speaker,” which it

claims is required by Black. (Pet. 16.) This is not so, as intumidation is

explicitly defined in FACE (and in the jury instructions) to be limited to

threats of bodily harm. 18 U.S.C. § 248, (see also Resp. App. 22a (“An

intent to intimudate—defined by the district court as “to place a person in

reasonable apprehension of bodily harm—is virtually identical to an

intent to threaten.’’).)

Nor is ACLA’s argument that the Ninth Circuit erred in not considering

the impact of Black (or Scheidler v. National Organization for Women,

Inc., 537 U.S. 393 (2003), see infra pp. 24-27) of any merit. As the

18

Indeed, although ACLA asserts that a circuit conflict

now exists on the subjective-intent question after Black, the very

case that it relies on in an attempt to prove this conflict—the

Ninth Circuit's decision in United States v. Cassel, 408 F.3d

622 (9th Cir. 2005)—not only would present a nonreviewable

intra-circuit conflict but actually undermines any argument for

certiorari review by expressly recognizing that the adoption of a

subjective-intent requirement would not affect the outcome of

this case. As the Cassel court stated, because “in Planned

Parenthood . . . the statute in question contained an explicit

requirement of intent to threaten (Fr ‘intent to intimidate’),” any

subjective-intent requirement was satisfied by the jury’s finding

that each defendant was liable under FACE. /d. at 630

(emphasis added); see also United States v. Stewart, 420 F.3d

1007, 1017 (9th Cir. 2005) (post-Cassel, holding that any

subjective-intent standard for true threats was met by the intent

Ninth Circuit explained, under the rule of mandate, the only issue open

on the second appeal after remand was the jury’s awards of punitive

damages—and thus the only supervening Supreme Court decision of any

relevance was State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. v

Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2003), which was fully considered by the

courts below. (Pet. App. 32-34.) The cases cited by ACLA are

inapposite. (Pet. 15-17.) Both United States v. Wells, 519 U.S. 482, 488

n.4 (1997), and Fogel v. Chestuitt, 668 F.2d 100, 109 (2d Cir. 1981),

address the law of the case doctrine, not the rule of mandate. (ACLA’s

claim that Wells deals with the rule of mandate is just wrong and appears

to be a (rather clumsy) attempt to mislead the Court. Even a cursory

review of the Wells decision—indeed of the very footnote ated by

ACLA—demonstrates this. Wells, 519 U.S. at 487 & n4.) And,

ACLA’s claim that Arthur Andersen LLP v. United States, 125 S.Ct

2129 (2005), somehow “compels a new trial” here is wholly misguided

(Pet. 18.) In Arthur Andersen, this Court considered the “elements of a

‘corrup|t) persuas|ion}* conviction” under 18 U.S.C. § 1512(b). Id. at

2132. Plamly, this interpretation of a federal obstruction of justice

statute has no bearing on the intent standard for “true threats” under the

First Amendment. See id. at 2135.9 (noung that this interpretation of §

1512¢b) does not even control the intent element for other federal

obstrucuion statutes)

19

element of the statute in question there, which punishes only

certain categories of threats made with the intent to “impede,

intimidate, interfere with, or retaliate’”).~' This Court’s review

of what, m any event, would be an mntra-circuit conflict is,

therefore, plainly unwarranted. See Rogers v. United States,

522 U.S. 252, 259 (1998) (dismissing writ as improvidently

granted where “the record does not fairly present. the

question”).””

cs ACLA Was Not Held Liable For

“Generating Fear” of Third-Party

Violence—It Was Held Liable For Its Own

True Threats of Violence

ACLA also contends—as it did without success on its

first petition—that the en banc Ninth Circuit’s decision conflicts

with Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444 (1969), by allegedly

finding petitioners liable for “‘generating fear’ of third-party

violence, rather than direct threats of violence.” (Pet. 19-24.)

This is clearly not so and provides no basis for certiorari review.

This is not an incitement case. ACLA was held liable

not for inciting acts by others or for “‘generat[ing] fear’ of third-

party violence that never followed,” but for its own threats of

“— Intra-circuit conflict is not a basis for Supreme Court review. S.Ct. R

10; Wisniewski v. United States, 353 U.S. 901, 902 (1957) (per curiam).

“Although ACLA’s petition does not seek review of the scope of the

injunction, in a footnote ACLA suggests that the injunction’s specific

intent requirement for restrained future conduct somehow supports

petitioners’ position. (Pet. 15 n.7.) This makes no sense. As the en

banc majority held, the terms of the injunction are “finely tuned and

exceedingly narrow” in order to “leave[] huge room for ACLA to

express its views.” (Pet. App. 126.) The district court’s abundance of

caution in crafting the injunction clearly satisfies this Court’s precedents

reconciling iaportant protections afforded by injunctions with the

expressive rights of the enjoined party. (Ud. at 125-126), see Madsen,

$12 US. at 765

20

violence. Brandenburg—which governs incitement—thus has

no relevance here. As the Solicitor General emphasized:

“Brandenburg was not... athreats case. This Court has never

suggested that true threats should be subject to Brandenburg’ s

imminence requirement; to the contrary, the Court has

characterized true threats and incitement as separate categories

of proscribable expression.” (Resp. App. 23a (citing Black, 538

U.S. at 359).) Indeed, recognizing this very distinetion, ACLA

urged the district court to instruct the jury on the difference

between threats and incitement—and received the precise

instruction it requested. (Resp. App. 29a-30a; Pet. App. 165-

66.)

ACLA’s contention that its statements incited no

violence (Pet. 21-22) is thus wholly beside the point. “True

threats” are proscribable if—as here—they are directed at

specific targets whom the speaker should foresee would take the

Statements as a serious expression of an imtent to do bodily

harm. (Pet. App. 126.) That violence was not “incited” (even if

true) is irrelevant to a threats analysis. True threats are

proscribed to protect “individuals from the fear of violence,

from the disruption that fear engenders, and from the possibility

that the threatened violence will occur.” R.A.V. v. City of St.

Paul, 505 U.S. 377, 388 (1992); accord Black, 359 U.S. at 360.

Indeed, if a threatener’s words provoke enough fear, physical

violence—by anyone—to carry out the threat is unnecessary, as

the threatener’s terrorist purpose is accomplished. See, e.g.,

United States v. Velasquez, 772 F.2d 1348, 1357 (7th Cir.

1985).7°

Nor does this case present any common issue—much less a conflict—

with Ashcroft v. Free Speech Coalition, 535 U.S. 234 (2002). There,

this Court struck down a statute that prohibited simulated child

pornography, holding that the connection between the speech at issue

and the harm it may cause was too “contingent and indirect” to justify

suppression. 535 U.S. at 1401-03. Thatis not what this case is about.

21

Further, to the extent ACLA is arguing what Judge

Kozuiski argued in his en banc dissent (as well as in his original

three-judge panel opinion)—i.e., that the evidence does not

establish that petitioners’ posters and list conveyed the message

that petitioners themselves would inflict bodily harm on

Physicians (Pet. App. 129)—that argument also provides no

basis for this Court’s review. As noted above, Judge Kozinski’s

dissent took issue not with the en banc majority’s articulation of

the applicable legal standard, but with its application of that

standard to the facts of this case. (/d. at 128-30.) Indeed, upon

independent review of the factual record, the en banc majority,

like the jury, found that Judge Kozinski’s proposed standard

was met—and that the evidence demonstrated that petitioners,

not third parties, would be the source of the threatened harm on

Physicians. (E.g., id. at 75 (“the jury must have found that

ACLA made statements to intimidate the [P]hysicians,

reasonably foreseeing that [P|hysicians would interpret the

statements as a serious expression of ACLA’s intent to harm

them” (emphasis added).)* The dissenting Ninth Circuit

judges—and ACLA, to the degree it now makes this same

ACLA’s posters were found to be true threats to kill because ACLA

knew that the posters would be perceived as a serious expression of an

intent to do bodily harm to Physicians. (Pet. App. 119-23.) Threats

simply were not al issue in Free Speech Coalition

The evidence was substanual on tis issue. ACLA issued its posters

with knowledge of the preceding posters and murders, and Physicians

“could well believe that ACLA would make good on the threat.” (Pet.

App. 120-22 (emphasis added).) The verdict form showed the jury’s

finding that each of the three statements “is a Que threat by one or more

of the defendants to bodily harm, assault or kill one or more of the

plaintiffs.” (Ud. at 429.) Physicians also testified that they feared these

defendants. Dr. Hern, for example, testified that ACLA’s hit lists said

“do what we tell you to do, or we will kill you. And they do.”” “This 1s a

hit list and that these people who made this list will kill me.” “1 am

fearful for my life, that I am afraid that—that someone from the group

that put out this poster would be there and would kill me.” (Tr. 639,

664, Pet. App. 80 (emphases added). )

Nm

mW

arguiment—simply take a different view as to what the evidence

in this case shows. (/d. at 129.) Like every other question

presented by ACLA’s petition, this sort of factbound

disagreement over the evidence does not warrant certiorari

review. NLRB v. Hendricks County Rural Elec. Membership

Corp., 454 U.S. 170; 177 n.8 (1981) (“we are presented

primarily with a question of fact, which does not merit Court

review.”).”

II. PETITIONERS’ FACTBOUND CHALLENGE

TO THE REMITTED PUNITIVE DAMAGES

AWARDS DOES NOT MERIT REVIEW

Since the time of ACLA’s first unsuccessful certiorari

petition, the Ninth Circuit, applying this Court’s precedents,

including State farm, has drastically reduced the punitive

damages awards in this case from $108.5 million to $4.7

million. (Pet. App. 2, 30-31.) ACLA contends that even this

amount is too much—that, under State Farm, “punitive damages

may not be assessed absent truly reprehensible conduct and

adequate notice that such a penalty was in the offing” and that,

therefore, ~“‘[a]t a minimum,” the entire award should be

stricken. (Pet. 24-26.) As the petition makes plain, however,

ACLA’s real complaint is not with the legal standard applied by

In a footnote, ACLA makes the undeveloped argument that the court of

appeals “departed from this Court’s requirement of de novo review of

the record in First Amendment cases.” (Pet. 24 n.13.) This is just

wrong. As is clear from its opinion, the en banc majority “review[ed]

the evidence on true threats independently” (Pet. App. 120), adhering to

the standard of appellate review on First Amendment issues set out in

this Court’s decisions in Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union of United

States, Inc., 466 U.S. 485 (1984), Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc. v.

Connaughton, 49¢ U.S. 657 (1989), and Hurley v. Irish-American Gay,

Lesbian & Bisexual Group of Boston, 515 U.S. 557 (1995). Even the

dissenting Ninth Circuit judges agreed that the majority articulated the

appropriate standard of independentreview. (Pet. App. 129; see also id.

at 175 n.15.) As did the Solicitor General. (Resp. App. 25a.)

23

the Ninth Circuit, but with a result other than no damages. This

is not a basis for this Court’s review. See S. Ct. R. 10.°

The court of appeals articulated this Court’s three-prong

test for evaluating the constitutionality of punitive damages

awards under the Due Process Clause—which ACLA does not

(and cannot) challenge. (Pet. App. 7; Pet. 24-26.) The court

then found ACIL.A’s conduct to be “particularly reprehensible”’

and thus expressly rejected the argument that no punitive

damages should be awarded in this case. (Pet. App. 15-26, 27

(noting that “ACLA made no bones about its mitent to mtimidate

these in the reproductive health services community by true

threats of serious injury or death’).) The Ninth Circuit held that,

under this Court’s case law (which, again, ACLA does-not _

challenge), a9 to | ratio of punitive to compensatory damages

was the appropriate balance in this case—thus dramatically

remitting the awards, in petitioners’ favor, by $103.8 million.

(id. at 28-29.) ACLA’s wish that the award had been reduced

even more is no basis for certiorari review.”

ACLA has failed to include a punitive-damages argument in the

Questions Presented in the petition. This alone is enough to defeat

certiorari review. See S.Ct. R. 14.1(a) (Only the questions set out in

the petition, or fairly included therein, will be considered by the

Court.”); Zoyota Motor Mfg., Ky., Inc. v. Williams, 534 U.S. 184, 202

03 (2002) (holding that a question not presented in the petition was “not

properly before” the Court).

Indeed, if anything, the punitive damages awards should be higher. The

court of appeals gave no consideration to the potential and noneconomic

harms suffered by Physicians, and it expressly rejected Physicians’

position, which had been the view adopted by the district court, as to

how properly to formulate the applicable ratios in this multi-defendant

case. (Pet. App. 15-29.) After the Ninth Circuit’s decision, some

respondents are left with very little in the way of monetary damages.

(F.g. id. at 31 (reducing the punitive damages awarded to respondent

Dr. James Newhall from $14 million to $3,375).) This result clearly

does not provide grounds tor petitioners” request for review by this

Court.

24

PETITIONERS’ OTHER ARGUMENTS

PRESENT NO PRESERVED LEGAL ISSUE FOR

SUPREME COURT REVIEW

A. Petitioners Have Failed To Preserve Their

RICO Arguments

- ACLA contends that the Ninth Circuit—on the second

appeal followimg remand-—erred in not reconsidering the RICO

liability judgment, which had been affirmed in its entirety, in

light of this Couri’s decision in Scheidler v. National

Organization for Women, Inc., 537 U.S. 393 (2003) (“‘Scheidler

IT’), which was decided between ACLA’s first and second

appeals to the Ninth Circuit.°° ACLA failed properly to

preserve this argument, however, and it therefore is barred by

waiver principles, the mandate rule, and the law of the case

doctrine. (Pet. App. 31-34); see In re Sanford Fork & Tool Co.,

160 U.S. 247, 255 (1895).(mandate rule); Kesselring v. F/T

Arctic Hero, 95 F.3d 23, 24-25 (9th Cir. 1996) (issues not raised

on first appeal are waived); United States v. Hylton, 294 F.3d

130, 135 (D.C. Cir. 2002) (“A legal decision made at one stage

of litigation, unchallenged in a subsequent appeal when the

opportunity to do so existed, becomes the law of the case for

future stages of the same litigation, and the parties are deemed

to have waived the right to challenge that decision at a later

time” (quoting Williamsburg Wax Museum, Inc. v. Historic

Figures, Inc., 810 F.2d 243, 250 (D.C. Cir. 1987)) (internal

quotation marks omitted).). Indeed, this very argument was

made on ACLA’s first petition by one of petitioners’ amici.

This Court properly declined review then; it should do the same

now.

28 ; ’

The limited remand as to punitive damages concermed only the FACE

judgment, as punitive damages are not available—and were not

sought— under RICO. (Pet. App. 34, 75.)

Nm

v1

Although petitioners raised several RICO and Hobbs-

Act arguments in their motions for summary judgment, at trial,

in Rule 50 motions at the close of all evidence, and on their first

Ninth Circuit appeal, petitioners—despite their knowledge of

the ongoing proceedings in Scheidler—never raised the

argument that they had not “obtained” Physicians’ property for

purposes of Hobbs- Act extortion after the district court rejected

this argument at the motion-to-dismiss stage. (See Pet. App.

381-83.) The jury in this case was instructed on the RICO claim

without any argument by petitioners as to the “obtamimg”’

element of the Hobbs Act. (See Resp. App. 73a, 81a.) It was

not until the punitive-damages remand in 2003—seven years

after the: district court’s decision on the motion to dismiss and

ten years after this Court first noted this Hobbs- Act “obtaining”’

argument at oral argument in National Organization for Women,

Inc. v. Scheidler, 510 U.S. 249 (1994) (“Scheidler T°), see

Transcript of Oral Argument, 1993 WL 757635, at *13-16, 21-

24, 27-28, 36 (Dec. 8, 1993), that petitioners sought yet another

bite at the apple. When ACLA sought to raise this Hobbs- Act

argument on its second appeal to the Ninth Circuit, the panel

properly held that any challenge to the final RICO liability

judgment was precluded. (Pet. App. 32-34.)

ACLA’s apparent suggestion that it could not waive the

“obtaining” argument because Scheidler I] was not handed

down until after the trial and first appeal in this case is

meritless.~” As the Court stated in Ackermann v. United States,

340 U.S. 193, 198 (1950):

Petitioner cannot be relieved of [his] choice [not

to appeal from a court holding on a specific

issue] because hindsight seems to indicate to him

that [this] decision . . . was probably wrong,

Like Black, Scheidler ll was decided before this Court denied ACLA’s

first cerlioran peution

26

considering the outcome of the [intervening]

Keilbar case. There must be an end to litigation

someday, and free, calculated, deliberate choices

are not to be relieved from

See also Hylton, 294 F.3d at 135; Clifton v. Attorney Gen. of

Cal. , 997 F.2d 660, 664 n.5 (9th Cir. 1993) (noting that even if a

supervening Supreme Court decision has authoritatively

changed the law on a specific issue, relief should not be

permitted where, as here, “‘a party has made a deliberate choice

not to pursue an appeal” from a determination of the trial court

on that issue); Title v. United States, 263 F.2d 28, 31 (9th Cir.

1959) (same).

At deast as early as 1993 (when the Hobbs Act

“obtaining” argument was a subject of this Court’s oral

argument in Scheidler I, see Transcript of Oral Argument, 1993

WL 757635, at **13-16, 21-24, 27-28, 36) or 1995 (when, on

remand, the district court in Scheidler expressly addressed the

“obtaming” argument in a published opinion, National

Organization for-Women, Inc. v. Scheidler, 897 F.Supp. 1047,

1075 n.20 (N.D. IIL 1995)) ACLA was clearly on notice of the

“obtaming” argument. ACLA’s failure to raise the argument at

trial or on its first appeal is without justification or excuse.

That appeal concluded with a final decision on the RICO claims

in this case, with a remand solely as to punitive damages under

FACE. Following that limited remand, the Ninth Circuit

properly denied ACLA’s request to re-open the RICO

judgment.”

In a few passing sentences, ACLA also asserts that Physicians’ RICO

claims fail for lack of “standing” because Physicians have not proven

“an injury to ‘business or property” as required for standing under

RICO.” (Pet. 27.) This undeveloped argument, too, is meritless—the

jury specifically found such injury to property under RICO and the

Hobbs Act (Pet. App. 430-444)—and such a factbound disagreement

with the jury’s findings provides no basis for this Court’s review. In

27

Indeed, this case demonstrates precisely why the

preservation doctrine exists. Unlike the defendants in Scheidler,

ACLA failed to raise this “obtaining” argument at trial when ~

Physicians could have pursued other RICO predicate acts had

ACLA challenged the RICO claims. Such other predicate acts

are not precluded by Scheidler I’s ruling as to the meaning of

extortion under the Hobbs Act. (Pet. App. 381-385.)"!

B. Petitioners Have Failed To Preserve Their

Standing Argument

ACLA argues that the respondent health clinics (Planned

Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette, Inc. and Portland

Feminist Women’s Health Center) lacked standing to sue and

that the Court should therefore remand to the Ninth Circuit with

“instructions to dismiss the clinics’ claims and vacate the

damages awards in their favor. (Pet. 28-29.) But the district

court rejected this precise standing argument as a matter of law

on summary judgment, and the jury rejected the argument on the

facts at trial when it awarded the clinics distinct damages

pursuant to instructions that are not challenged here. (Pet. App.

330-331, 430-444.) ACLA admits that it did not raise the

argument On its first Ninth Circuit appeal. (Pet. 28.) It plainly

is barred. (Pet. App. 28-29.) Moreover, like the Hobbs-Act

argument just discussed, this standing argument was raised by

one of ACLA’s amici on the first petition, and this Court

correctly did not grant review. See supra note 3.

addition, this argument was raised by one of ACLA’s amici on the first

peutuion, and this Court properly declined review. Seesupra note 3.

It should be noted that a new trial on the RICO claims alone, rather than

dismissal, is the very most ACLA could attain (and, of course, it cannot

attain even this, for the reasons noted above). It would be unfair to give

ACLA the right to reargue waived points without providing Physicians

the concomitant benefit of how they would have proceeded against

ACLA in light of the ruling in Schetdler IL.

28

ACLA erroneously contends that its standing argument

somehow is a nonwaivable issue of subject-matter jurisdiction

that should be considered now. (Pet. 28.) But, as the district

court made clear, the standing argument presented by ACLA

requires an analysis into the respondent clinics’ underlying

factual claims Of liability under FACE and RICO—which

makes ACLA’s argument one of statutory, not constitutional,

standing. (Pet. App. 330-31); see also Lerner v. Fleet Bank,

N.A., 318 F.3d 113, 129 (2d Cir. 2003) (“{iJn evaluating whether

a plaintiff has standing under RICO, the court must

‘evaluate the plaintiffs harm, the alleged wrongdoing by the

defendants, and the relationship between them’” and that

because such af examination 1s “sufficiently intertwined with

the merits of the RICO claim,” “RICO standing is not a

jurisdictional issue” (quoting Associated Gen. Contractors v.

Cal. State Council of Carpenters, 459 U.S. 519, 535 (1983)))

In any event, even if ACLA’s standing argument implicated

Article II] (and it does not), it would still be precluded now.

(Pet. App. 32-34); see also Ferreira v. Borja, 93 F.3d 671, 674

(9th Cir. 1996) (law of the case applies to jurisdictional rulings)

At bottom, ACLA’s only disagreement here is with the

jury’s application of the evidence in this case to the statutory

standards of FACE and RICO under which the jury was

instructed. (See Pet. App. 420 (“To find for a particular plaintiff

on the FACE claim, you must find . . . that the plaintiff was

aggrieved or harmed by that threat.’”’”); Resp. App. 30a-33a

(instructing jury that it must find that defendant’s violation

specifically caused the plaintiff's injury to award that plaintiff

any damages under FACE or RICO); see also Pet. App. 330-31

(rejecting defendants’ standing arguments when “at trial each

plaintiff will be required to prove that a reasonable person in

that plaintiff's position would have felt threatened by the

defendants’ statements in the context in which the statements

were made” and “each plaintiff must prove pecuniary loss’’).

Based upon its view of the evidence at trial, the jury found that

petitioners caused each clinic respondent distinct damages as a

29

result of the threats at issue. (Resp. App. 30a-33a; Pet. App.

429-44.) ACLA’s continuing factbound dispute with the jury’ s

verdict is not a basis for certiorari review. S. Ct. R. 10.

a Petitioners Have Failed To Preserve Their

FACE Conspiracy Argument

Finally—-just as it did unsuccessfully on its first

petition—ACLA argues that this Court should order a new trial

on Physicians’ FACE claim because the jury was allowed to

consider a “non-existent” claim for conspiracy to violate FACE.

(Pet. 29-30.) But, not only did ACLA fail ever to raise this

argument in the district court, ACLA’s own proposed jury

instructions and jury verdict form actually included a FACE

conspiracy claim. (Resp. App. 37a-67a, 7la-72a, 78a-80a.)

Thus, the en banc Ninth Circuit properly rejected the argument

on preservation grounds, (Pet. App. 112 n.16 (“declin[ing] to

consider the issue because it is raised for the first time on

appeal” and noting that “|ACLA] had every opportunity to

assert this view in the district court before judgment, having

moved to dismiss, for summary judgment, and for judgment asa

matter of law as well as having objected to proposed

instructions (but not on conspiracy)”’). )

Petitioners’ assertion that they are raising a nonwaivable

matter of subject-matter jurisdiction is nonsense. The question

whether civil conspiracy claims are permissible under FACE is

one that goes to whether Physicians have stated a claim—it does

not iivolve the Court's subject matter jurisdiction. See, e.g.

Arbaugh v. Y & H Corp., 126 S. Ct. 1235, 1244 n.10 (2006)

(citing Bell v. Hood, 327 U.S. 678 (1946)).

In sum, ACLA’s argument concernmg Physicians’

FACE conspiracy claim has not been properly preserved or

30

developed and, accordingly, is not a basis on which this Court

a *

should grant review:

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Dated: March 27, 2006

Respectfully submitted,

Maria T. Vullo

Counsel of Record

William J. Taylor, Jr.

PAUL, WEISS, RIFKIND,

WHARTON & GARRISON LLP

1285 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10019-6064

(212) 373-3000

Attorneys for Respondents

Carol J. Bernick, Esq.

DAVIS WRIGHT TREMAINE LLP

1300 S.W. Fifth Avenue

Portland, Oregon 97201

(503) 241-2300

Roger K. Evans, Esq.

PLANNED PARENTHOOD FEDERATION OF AMERICA, INC.

434 West 33rd Street 2

New York, New York 10001

(212) 541-7800

As the en banc Ninth Circuit noted, “FACE came into being in part

because of ‘organized,’ ‘concerted’ campaigns by ‘groups’ to disrupt

access to reproductive health services... .” (Pet. App. 112. n.16 (quoting

S. Rep. No. 103-117, at 6-7).) Thus, despite ACLA’s argument that

plain error has taken place here, the Ninth Circuit correctly found to the

contrary. (d. at 112 n.16.)

App. 55

Gore, 517 U.S. at 582-83, 116 S.Ct. 1589 (bracketed mate-

rial in original; citations omitted).

In State Farm, the Supreme Court further elaborated

on the ratic guidepost, stating:

We have been reluctant to identify concrete con-

stitutional limits on the ratio between harm, or

potential harm, to the plaintiff and the punitive

damages award. * * * We decline again to impose

a bright-line ratio which a punitive damages

award cannot exceed. Our jurisprudence and the

principles it has now established demonstrate,

however, that, in practice, few awards exceeding

a single-digit ratio between punitive and com-

pensatory damages, to a significant degree, will

satisfy due process. * * *

Nonetheless, because there are no rigid

benchmarks that a punitive damages award may

not surpass, ratios greater than those we have

previously upheld may comport with due process

where “a particularly egregious act has resulted

in only a small amount of economic damages.”

** * [A] higher ratio might be necessary where

the injury is hard to detect or the monetary value

of noneconomic harm might have been difficult to

determine. * * * The precise award in any case,

of course, must be based upon the facts and cir-

cumstances of the defendant’s conduct and the

harm to the plaintiff.

In sum, courts must ensure that the meas-

ure of punishment is both reasonable and propor-

tionate to the amount of harm to the plaintiff

and to the general damages recovered.

State Farm, 123 S.Ct. at 1524 (internal citations omitted).

App. 56

Accordingly, the relevant inquiry is whether, in view

of each defendant’s conduct toward these plaintiffs, the

punitive damages awards are reasonable and proportion-

ate to the amount of harm each defendant caused. Before

addressing that issue, however, I must decide two prelimi-

nary issues. The first is whether each plaintiff is entitled

to 14 separate judgments for the same compensatory

damages, or the compensatory awards are joint and

several as to all defendants. Second, I must decide which

proposed comparison of compensatory damages to punitive

damages, defendants’ or plaintiffs’, yields the appropriate

ratio for purposes of my review.

With respect to the first issue, it should be beyond

cavil that the compensatory awards in this case against

these joint tortfeasors and co-conspirators are joint and

several,’ and I so find. See, e.g., U.S. v. Gregg, 226 F.3d

253, 257-60 (3rd Cir.2000) (“Congress intended FACE’s

compensatory statutory damages be awarded per violation

and jointly and severally among defendants”). In calculat-

ing the compensatory damages awards in this case, the

jury appears to have carefully considered each plaintiff’s

damages, then awarded that same amount against each

individual defendant. The verdicts thus leave no room for

a credible debate that the compensatory damages awards

were anything but joint and several, and plaintiffs do not

now contend and never have contended that they are

entitled to recover multiple separate compensatory dam-

age judgments.

* Liability is joint and several when “‘the creditor may sue one or

more of the parties to such liability separately, or all of them together,

at his for her] option.’” U.S. v. Gregg, 226 F.3d 253, 260 (3rd Cir.2000)

citation omitted). '

App. 57

This brings me to the second issue, what is the appro-

priate comparison for purposes of determining ratios.

Defendants assert that the only fair calculation is to

compare the compensatory damages recoverable by each

plaintiff with the total punitive damages awarded each

plaintiff against all defendants. See Defendants’ Reply

Memorandu.n, p. 17. That comparison yields ratios of

compensatory damages to punitive damages, by plaintiff,

as follows: Crist (366:1); Hern (901:1); E. Newhall (886:1);

J. Newhall (37,333:1); Planned Parenthood (73:1); and

Portland Feminist (467:1). See Defendants’ Reply Memo-

randum, p. 17.

Plaintiffs, in turn, propose an approach that compares

the total joint and several liability of each defendant

($526,336.14) to the total punitive damages awarded

against that defendant. That comparison yields ratios of

compensatory damages to punitive damages, by defendant,

as follows: ACLA (31.8:1); ALM (31.8:1); Bray (15.2:1);

Burnett (15.2:1); Crane (15.2:1); Dodds (9.5:1); Dreste (9.5:1);

Foreman (9.5:1); McMillan (15.2:1); Murch (9.5:1); Ramey

(6.65:1); Stover (6.65:1); Treshman (15.2:1); and Wysong

(15.2:1). See Plaintiffs’ Memorandum in Response, p. 8.

A third possible approach, not proposed by either side,

would be to compare each plaintiff’s individual compensa-

tory damages and punitive damages awards as to each

defendant. This approach yields extreme variations in

ratio, depending on the amount of the compensatory

award. Thus, the ratios with respect to plaintiff Crist,

calculated in this manner, range from a high of 56.7:1

(ACLA and ALM) to a low of 12.6:1 (Ramey and Stover);

for plaintiff Hern, a high of 103.9:1 (ACLA and ALM) to a

low of 34.65:1 (Ramey and Stover); for plaintiff E. New-

hall, a high of 126.6:1 (ACLA and ALM) to a low of 31.6:1

App. 58

(Ramey and Stover); for J. Newhall, a high of 5333:1

{ACLA and ALM) to a low of 1333.3:1 (Ramey and Stover);

for Planned Parenthood, a high of 14.78:1 (ACLA and

ALM) to a low of 1.85:1 (Ramey and Stover); and for

Portland Feminist, a high of 59.7:1 (ACLA and ALM) to a

low of 14.9:1 (Ramey and Stover).

I have carefully considered all three options, and

conclude that the fairest and most appropriate comparison

is that proposed by plaintiffs, which compares the aggre-

gate compensatory damages award against each defendant

with the aggregate award of punitive damages against

that defendant. This approach thus compares the joint and

several liability of each defendant for compensatory

damages with the defendant’s individual liability for

punitive damages, which comports with due process and is

the proper approach. See Bell v. Clackamas County, 341

F.3d 858, 867-68 (9th Cir.2003) (on remand, “trial court

should evaluate the degree of reprehensibility of each of

the defendant’s misconduct individually, as opposed to en

grosse”); Transgo, Inc. v. Ajac Transmission Parts Corp.,

768 F.2d 1001, 1024-25 (9th Cir.1985) (relevant ratio

calculated by comparing total compensatory damages for

which each defendant was jointly and severally liable with

the punitive damages awards against each individual

defendant).

Thus, the relevant ratios’ under my consideration are

as follows:

es 4

[he numbers have been rounded as appropriate.

Defendant Ratio

ACLA 31.8:1

ALM 31.8:1

Bray 15.2:1

Burnett 15.2:1

Crane 15.2:1

Dodds 9.5:1

Dreste 9.5:1

Foreman 9.5:1

McMillan 15.2:1

Murch 9.5:1

Ramey | 6.7:1

Stover 6.7:1

Treshman 15.2:1

Wysong 15.2:1

These ratios “can be contemplated while maintaining

normal respiration,” Lee v. Edwards, 101 F.3d 805, 811

(2nd Cir.1996), and are not unconstitutionally excessive.

This is particularly true in view of defendants’ egregious,

unrelenting, and unapologetic conduct. Moreover, the

above ratios compare only the damages plaintiffs were

able to prove at trial, and do not incorporate any potential

ongoing or future economic or noneconomic harm to them.

See the portions of the Amended Order and Permanent

Injunction set forth supra, in which I acknowledge plain-

tiffs’ ongoing harm.

This case presents the type of situation the Supreme

Court anticipated in Gore and State Farm, where a higher

App. 60

ratio can comport with due process where “a particularly

egregious act has resulted in only a small amount of

economic damages,” or “the injury is hard to detect or the

monetary value of noneconomic hk? ™m might have been

difficult to determine.” Gore, 517 U.S. at 582, 116 S.Ct.

1589; State Farm, 123 S.Ct. at 1524. Thus, in Mathias v.

Accor Economy Lodging, Inc., 347 F.3d 672 (7th Cir.2003),

the Seventh Circuit approved a compensatory to punitive

damage ratio of 37.2:1 where defendant motel deliberately

exposed its customers to a substantial risk of being bitten

by bedbugs: “The defendant’s behavior was outrageous but

the compensable harm done was slight and at the same

time difficult to quantify because a large element of it was

emotional.” 347 F.3d at 677. And in Swinton, supra, a race

discrimination in employment case, the Ninth Circuit

approved a compensatory to punitive damage ratio of 28:1

in view of “particularly egregious” acts and “noneconomic

harm that might have been difficult to determine.” Swin-

ton, 270 F.3d at 818 (citation and internal quote marks

omitted).

The present case was rife with evidence that plaintiffs

suffered harm from the conduct of these defendants, harm

that likely was difficult for the jury to quantify. Defen-

dants forced the plaintiffs, out of fear, to restructure their

lives and those of their children, to undertake various

security measures, to change their habits and routines,

and to view the world around them with suspicion. Much

more than the bedbug bites in Mathias, even more than

racial slurs and harassment in Swinton, the personal

harm to these plaintiffs caused by defendants’ threats of

violence might be difficult to quantify but justifies a higher

ratio in the award of punitive damages.

App. 61

In summary, I cannot say that the ratios in this case

are constitutionally excessive or “jar{] [my] ‘constitutional

sensibilities.” Swinton, 270 F.3d at 819 (quoting Haslip,

supra, 499 U.S. at 18, 111 S.Ct. 1032). I therefore find the

punitive damages awards, with respect to this guidepost,

to be reasonable and in proportion to the amount of harm

each defendant caused.

C. Comparable Penalties

The third indicium of “excessiveness” involves a

comparison between the punitive damages awards and the

civil penalties that could be imposed for comparable

conduct. State Farm, 123 S.Ct. at 1526 (noting that the

existence of a criminal penalty bears on the seriousness of

the conduct, but has limited utility in determining the

amount of the punitive award). In this regard, FACE

provides both criminal penalties’ and civil remedies for

each violation.

In action commenced by the United States Attorney

General or state attorneys general, the available civil

remedies include injunctive relief, compensatory damages

to the persons aggrieved, and civil penalties. As relevant,

the civil penalty for a first offense is $15,000, and $25,000

’ The criminal penalties can include prison time and criminal

fines. Offenses involving exclusively nonviolent physical obstruction

carry fines of not more than $10,000 and six months imprisonment for

the first offense, and fines of not more than $25,000 and 18 months

imprisonment for each subsequent offense. Offenses involving bodily

injury can bring prison terms of 10 years, and offenses involving death

can result in any term of vears up to life. See 18 U.S.C. § 248(b)

" Defendants’ threats do not qualify as “non-violent physical obstruc-

tion{s],” which carry lesser penalties. See 18 U.S.C. § 248(cX2)BXi) and (i).

App. 62

for each subsequent violation. 18 U.S.C. §§ 248(c)(2)(B)

and (c)(3)(B). Notably, in an action commenced by the

person or persons aggrieved, FACE places no limit on the

amount of compensatory or punitive damages that may be

recovered, but does provide for statutory damages in lieu

of actual damages in the amount of $5,000 per violation.

18 U.S.C. § 248(c)(1)(B).

In this case, defendants engaged in repeated viola-

tions of FACE by republishing the same threats over

several years’ time, from 1995 through at least early 1999.

Defendants unveiled the Deadly Dozen poster in Washing-

ton, D.C. in January 1995 and the Crist poster in August

1995, and revealed the so-called “Nuremberg Files,” in

hard copy form, at a January 1996 ACLA event in Wash-

ington, D.C. See Planned Parenthood, 41 F.Supp.2d at

1131-34. Plaintiffs commenced this action in October 1995;

despite plaintiffs’ allegations that defendants’ actions

involved true threats of violence, they continued to publish

and republish the posters and the Nuremberg Files until

this court issued the Order and Permanent Injunction on

February 25, 1999. See Planned Parenthood, 1999 WL

65450 (D.Or.1999).

Defendants’ suggestion that until the Ninth Circuit

issued its en banc decision in May 2002, they had “no”

notice that their conduct crossed the First Amendment

line is, at best, untenable. As the Ninth Circuit recounted

in the en banc decision,

By January 1995, ACLA knew the effect that

“WANTED,” “unWANTED,” OR “GUILTY” post-

ers had on doctors named in them. For example,

in a September 1993 issue of Life Advocate which

reported that an “unwanted” poster was being

prepared for |Dr.] Britton, ALM remarked of the

App. 63

{[Dr.} Gunn murder that it “sent shock waves of

fear through the ranks of abortion providers

across the country. As a result, many more doc-

tors quit out of fear for their lives, and the ones

who are left are scared stiff.” * * * Of another

doctor who decided to quit performing abortions

after circulation of a “Not Wanted” poster, Bray

wrote that “it is clear to all who possess faculties

capable of inductive analysis: he was bothered

and afraid.” Wysong also stated: “Listening to

what abortionists said, abortionists who have

quit the practice who are no longer killing babies

but are now pro-life. They said the two things

they feared most were being sued for malpractice

and having their picture put on a poster.” And

Burnett testified with respect to the danger that

“wanted” or “guilty” posters pose to the lives of

those who provide abortions: “I mean, if] was an

abortionist, I would be afraid.”

Planned Parenthood, 290 F.3d at 1065-66 (emphasis

added).

While the comparable civil penalties in FACE provide

some guidance in this court’s determination of the reason-

ableness of the punitive damages awards, they are a

starting point, not an upper limit. See State Farm, 123

S.Ct. at 1526 (suggesting that a reasonable punitive

damage award would be “at or near the amount of compen-

satory damages,” a figure 100 times the comparable civil

penalty of $10,000); see also Zhang v. American Gem Sea-

foods, Inc., 339 F.3d 1020, 1045 (9th Cir.2003) (upholding

$2.6 million punitive award where damages subject to

statutory cap of $300,000).

Turning to the punitive damages awards in this case,

and considering the awards individually by defendant and

App. 64

not in the aggregate, as defendants would desire, I cannot

say that the awards are excessive when compared to the

civil penaltiés available per FACE violation. As plaintiffs

aptly describe it, the evidence at trial left no doubt that

through use of the posters and Nuremberg Files, defen-

dants embarked on a “reign of terror” intentionally de-

signed to make the plaintiffs fear for their lives.

Defendants continued their unlawful threats throughout

the proceedings in this court and did so without apology,

even after the verdict was announced. See Plaintiffs’

Memorandum of Law in Further Support, p. 3 n. 2. Each

of defendants’ multiple publications qualify as “subsequent

violation{s]” of FACE; presumably, any civil penalties

imposed under FACE consequently would be substantial.

In summary, I cannot say that the jury’s awards of

punitive damages were grossly disproportionate or exces-

sive. I therefore conclude that the awards comport with

the due process requirements of the Fourteenth Amend-

ment and are proper.”

CONCLUSION

Defendants’ Motions on Remand (# 790) are DENIED.

Plaintiffs’ Motion to Strike (# 793) and defendants’ Motion

to Preclude Further Briefing (# 808) are DENIED as

* | acknowledge Judge Kozinski’s concern that as a result of the

liability verdict and punitive damages awards, defendants “will be

destroyed financially by a huge debt * * * [that] will * * * prevent them

from ever again becoming financially self-sufficient.” Planned Parent-

hood, 290 F.3d at 1101 (Kozinski, J., dissenting). As a practical matter,

however, these defendants either have no assets or long ago rendered

themselves judgment proof; thus, my review of the punitive damages

awards largely is academic. Indeed, despite tremendous post-judgment

collection efforts, plaintiffs’ recovery to date has been de minimus.

App. 65

MOOT. The jury awards of punitive damages are affirmed

in full.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

App. 66

539 U.S. 958, 123 S.Ct. 2637

Supreme Court of the United States AMERICAN COALI-

TION OF LIFE ACTIVISTS, et al., petitioners,

V.

PLANNED PARENTHOOD OF THE COLUM-

-BIA/WILLAMETTE, INC., et al. No. 02-563.

June 27, 2003.

Case below, 290 F.3d 1058.

Petition for writ of certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit denied.

App. 67

290 F.3d 1058

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

PLANNED PARENTHOOD OF THE

COLUMBIA/WILLAMETTE, INC.; Portland

Feminist Women’s Health Center; Robert Crist, M.D.;

Warren M. Hern, M.D.; Elizabeth Newhall, M.D.;

James Newhall, M.D., Plaintiffs-Appellees,

and

Karen Sweigert, M.D., Plaintiff,

V.

AMERICAN COALITION OF LIFE ACTIVISTS;

Advocates for Life Ministries; Michael Bray;

Andrew Burnett; David A. Crane; Timothy Paul Dreste;

Michael B. Dodds; Joseph L. Foreman; Charles

Roy McMillan; Stephen P. Mears; Bruce Evan Murch;

Catherine Ramey; Dawn Marie Stover; Charles Wysong,

Defendants,

and

Monica Migliorino Miller; Donald Treshman,

Defendants-Appellants.

Planned Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette, Inc.;

Portland Feminist Women’s Health Center; Robert

Crist, M.D.; Warren M. Hern, M.D.; Elizabeth Newhall,

M.D.; James Newhall, M.D., Plaintiffs-Appellees,

and

Karen Sweigert, M.D., Plaintiff,

We

American Coalition of Life Activists; Advocates for

Life Ministries; Michael Bray; Andrew Burnett;

David A. Crane; Timothy Paul Dreste; Joseph L.

App. 68

Foreman; Stephen P. Mears; Monica Migliorino

Miller; Catherine Ramey; Dawn Marie Stover;

Donald Treshman; Charles Wysong, Defendants,

and

Michael Dodds; Charles Roy McMillan;

Bruce Evan Murch, Defendants-Appellants.

Planned Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette, Inc.;

Portland Feminist Women’s Health Center;

Robert Crist, M.D.; Warren M. Hern, M.D.;

Elizabeth Newhall, M.D.; James Newhall, M.D.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

and

Karen Sweigert, M.D., Plaintiff,

V.

American Coalition of Life Activists; Advocates for

Life Ministries; Michael Bray; Andrew Burnett;

David A. Crane; Michael Dodds; Charles Roy McMillan;

Stephen P. Mears; Monica Migliorino Miller;

Bruce Evan Murch; Catherine Ramey;

Dawn Marie Stover; Donald Treshman, Defendants,

and

Timothy Paul Dreste; Joseph L. Foreman;

Charles Wysong, Defendants-Appellants.

Planned Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette, Inc.;

Portland Feminist Women’s Health Center;

Robert Crist, M.D.; Warren M. Hern, M.D.;

Elizabeth Newhall, M.D.; James Newhall, M.D.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

and

Karen Sweigert, M.D., Plaintiff,

V.

App. 69

American Coalition of Life Activists; Advocates for

Life Ministries; Michael Bray; Andrew Burnett;

David A. Crane; Catherine Ramey; Dawn Marie Stover,

Defendants-Appellants,

and

Timothy Paul Dreste; Michael Dodds; Joseph L.

Foreman; Charles Roy McMillan; Stephen P. Mears;

Monica Migliorino Miller; Bruce Evan Murch;

Donald Treshman; Charles Wysong, Defendants.

Planned Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette, Inc.;

Portland Feminist Women’s Health Center;

Robert Crist, M.D.; Warren M. Hern, M.D.:

Elizabeth Newhall, M.D.; James Newhall, M.D.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

V.

American Coalition of Life Activists; Advocates for

Life Ministries; Michael Bray; Andrew Burnett;

David A. Crane; Timothy Paul Dreste; Michael B. Dodds;

Joseph L. Foreman; Charles Roy McMillan;

Bruce Evan Murch; Catherine Ramey;

Dawn Marie Stover; Donald Treshman;

Charles Wysong, Defendants.

Paul deParrie, Movant-Appellant

Planned Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette, Inc.;

Portland Feminist Women’s Health Center:

Robert Crist, M.D.; Warren M. Hern, M.D.; Elizabeth

Newhall, M.D.; James Newhall, M.D.; Karen Sweigert,

M.D., individually and on behalf of all persons

similarly situated, Plaintiffs-Appellees,

wi

American Coalition of Life Activists; Advocates for

Life Ministries; Michael Bray; Andrew Burnett;

David Crane; Timothy Paul Dreste; Michael Dodds;

App. 70

Joseph L. Foreman; Charles Roy McMillan;

Monica Migliorino Miller; Bruce Evan Murch;

Catherine Ramey; Dawn Marie Stover;

Donald Treshman; Charles Wysong,

Defendants-. ppellants.

Nos. 99-35320, 99-35325, 99-35327,

99-35331, 99-35333 and 99-35405.

Argued and Submitted En Banc Dec. 11, 2001.

Filed May 16, 2002.

As Amended on Denial! of

Rehearing En Banc July 10, 2002.*

Reinhardt, Circuit Judge, filed dissenting opinion in

which Kozinski, Kleinfeld, and Berzon, Circuit Judges,

joined.

Kozinski, Circuit Judge, filed dissenting opinion in

which Reinhardt, O’Scannlain, Kleinfeld and Berzon,

Circuit Judges, joined

Christopher A. Ferrara, American Catholic Lawyers

Ass’n Inc., Ramsey, NJ, for defendants-appellants Donald

Treshman and Monica Migliorino Miller

Stephen J. Safranek, Richard Thompson, and Edward

L. White, III], Thomas More Center for Law & Justice, Ann

Arbor, MI, for defendants-appellants American Coalition of

Life Activists, Advocates for Life Ministries, Andrew

Burnett, David Crane, Catherine Ramey, Michael Bray,

and Dawn Stover.

Maria T. Vullo, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton &

Garrison, New York, NY, for plaintiffs-appellees Planned

* Judges KOZINSKI and O’SCANNLAIN voted to grant

App. 71

Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette, Inc., Portland

Feminist Women’s Health Center, Robert Crist, M.D.,

Warren Hern, M.D., Elizabeth P. Newhall, M.D., and

James Newhall, M.D.

Robert M. O’Neil, for amicus curiae Thomas Jefferson

Center for the Protection of Free Expression, Charlottes-

ville, VA.

Paul deParrie, Portland, OR, amicus curiae pro se.

Michael H. Simon, Perkins Coie LLP, Portland, OR,

for amicus curiae ACLU Foundation of Oregon, Inc.

Susan M. Popik, Chapman, Popik & White, San

Francisco, CA, for amici curiae Feminist Majority Founda-

tion, Center for Reproductive Law and Policy, National

Abortion and Repreductive Rights Action League and

NARAL Foundation, National Abortion Federation,

National Coalition of Abortion Providers, National Organi-

zation for Women Foundation, NOW Legal Defense and

Education Fund, National Women’s Health Foundation,

Northwest Women’s Law Center, Physicians for Reproduc-

tive Choice and Health, and Women’s Law Project.

Eliot D. Prescott and Jane R. Rosenberg, Assistant

Attorneys General of Connecticut, for amici curiae Con-

necticut, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Kansas,

Montana, Nevada, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon and

Washington.

Erwin Chemerinsky, University of Southern Califor-

nia Law School, Los Angeles, CA, for amici curiae Anti-

Defamation League, The American Jewish Committee,

Hadassah, the Women’s Zionist Organization of America,

Inc.

App. 72

William A. Norris, Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer &

Feld, L.L.P., Los Angeles, CA, for amicus American Medi-

cal Association.

Lawrence S. Lustberg, Gibbons, Del Deo, Dolan,

Griffinger & Vecchione, Newark, NJ, for amici curiae

Senator Charles E. Schumer, et al.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

District of Oregon; Robert E. Jones, District Judge, Presid-

ing. D.C. No. CV-95-01671-REJ (District of Oregon).

Before: SCHROEDER, Chief Judge, and REINHARDT,

KOZINSKI, O'SSCANNLAIN, RYMER, KLEINFELD, HAW-

KINS, SILVERMAN, WARDLAW,~ BERZON, and

RAWLINSON; Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge RYMER; Dissent by Judge

REINHARDT; Dissent by Judge KOZINSKI; Dissent by

Judge BERZON.

RYMER, Circuit Judge.

For the first time we construe what the Freedom of

Access to Clinics Entrances Act (FACE), 18 U.S.C. § 248,

means by “threat of force.” FACE gives aggrieved persons

a right of action against whoever by “threat of force ...

intentionally ... intimidates ... any person because that

person is or has been ... providing reproductive health

services.” 18 U.S.C. § 248(a)(1) and (c)(1)(A). This requires

that we define “threat of force” in a way that comports

with the First Amendment, and it raises the question

whether the conduct that occurred here falls within the

category of unprotected speech.

Four physicians, Dr. Robert Crist, Dr. Warren M.

Hern, Dr. Elizabeth Newhall, and Dr. James Newhall, and

App. 73

two health clinics that provide medical services to women

including abortions, Planned Parenthood of the Columbia/

Willamette, Inc. (PPCW) and the Portland Feminist

Women’s Health Center (PFWHC), brought suit under

FACE’ claiming that they were targeted with threats by

the American Coalition of Life Activists (ACLA), Advocates

for Life Ministries (ALM), and numerous individuals.” Three

threats remain at issue: the Deadly Dozen “GUILTY” poster

which identifies Hern and the Newhalls among ten others;

the Crist “GUILTY” poster with Crist’s name, addresses and

photograph; and the “Nuremberg Files,” which is a compi-

lation about those whom the ACLA anticipated one day

might be put on trial for crimes against humanity. The

“GUILTY” posters identifying specific physicians were

circulated in the wake of a series of “WANTED” and

“unWANTED” posters that had identified other doctors

who performed abortions before they were murdered.

Although the posters do not contain a threat on their

face, the district court held that context could be consid-

ered. It defined a threat under FACE in accordance with

our “true threat” jurisprudence, as a statement made

' We refer collectively to the plaintiffs as “physicians” unless

reference to a particular party is required. In addition to FACE, the

case went to trial on claims that the same conduct violated the Racket-

eer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO), 18 U.S.C. § 1962

(except that ACLA was alleged to be the RICO enterprise and was not a

defendant on this clairn), and on claims that the defendants conspired

to violate FACE and RICO. As each claim turns on whether there were

true threats without constitutional protection, the appeal and our

opinion focus only on FACE.

* Michael Bray, Andrew Burnett, David A. Crane, Timothy Paul

Dreste, Joseph L. Foreman, Stephen P. Mears, Monica Migliorino

Miller, Catherine Ramey, Dawn Marie Stover, Donald Treshman, and

Charles Wysong. We refer to them collectively as “ACLA.”

App. 74

when “a reasonable person would foresee that the state-

ment would be interpreted by those to whom the maker

communicates the statement as a serious expression of

intent to harm.” Applying this definition, the court denied

ACLA’s motion for summary judgment in a published

opinion. Planned Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette,

Inc. v. ACLA (PPCW II), 23 FSupp.2d 1182 (D.Or.1998).”

The jury returned a verdict in physicians’ favor, and the

court enjoined ACLA from publishing the posters or

providing other materials with the specific intent to

threaten Crist, Hern, Elizabeth Newhall, James Newhall,

PPCW, or the Health Center. Planned Parenthood of the

Columbia/Willamette, Inc. v. ACLA (PPCW III), 41

F.Supp.2d 1130 (D.Or.1999). ACLA timely appealed.

A panel of this court reversed. In its view, the stan-

dard adopted by the district court allowed the jury to find

ACLA liable for putting the doctors in harm’s way by

singling them out for the attention of unrelated but violent

third parties, conduct which is protected by the First

Amendment, rather than for authorizing or directly

threatening harm itself, which is not. Planned Parenthood

of the Columbia/Willamette, Inc. v. ACLA (PPCW IV), 244

F.3d 1007 (9th Cir.), reh’g en banc granted, 268 F.3d 908

(9th Cir2001). The panel decided that it should evaluate

the record independently to determine whether ACLA’s

statements could reasonably be construed as saying that

ACLA, or its agents, would physically harm doctors who

' The court had previously denied ACLA’s motion to dismiss

pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)6). Planned Parent

hood of the Columbia/Willamette, Inc. v. ACLA (PPCW I), 945 F.Supp

1355 (D.Or.1996).

App. 75

did not stop performing abortions. Having done so, the

panel found that the jury’s verdict could not stand.

We reheard the case en banc because these issues are

obviously important. We now conclude that it was proper

for the district court to adopt our long-standing law on

“true threats” to define a “threat” for purposes of FACE.

FACE itself requires that the threat of force be made with

the intent to intimidate. Thus, the jury must have found

that ACLA made statements to intimidate the physicians,

reasonably foreseeing that physicians would interpret the

statements as a serious expression of ACLA’s intent to

harm them because they provided reproductive health

services. Construing the facts in the light most favorable

to physicians, the verdict is supported by substantial

evidence. ACLA was aware that a “wanted"-type poster

would likely be interpreted as a serious threat of death or

bodily harm by a doctor in the reproductive health services

community who was identified on one, given the previous

pattern of “WANTED?” posters identifying a specific physi-

cian followed by that physician’s murder. The same is true

of the posting about these physicians on that part of the

“Nuremberg Files” where lines were drawn through the

names of doctors who provided abortion services and who

had been killed or wounded. We are independently satis-

fied that to this limited extent, ACLA’s conduct amounted

to a true threat and is not protected speech.

As we see no reversible error on liability or in the

equitable relief that was granted, we affirm. However, we

remand for consideration of whether the punitive damages

award comports with due process.

App. 76

I .

The facts are fully set out in the district court’s order

granting injunctive relief, PPWC JI], 41 F Supp.2d at 1131-

1155, and we shall not belabor them. In sum:

On March 10, 1993, Michael Griffin shot and

killed Dr. David Gunn as he entered an abortion

clinic in Pensacola, Florida. Before this, a

“WANTED” and an “unWANTED” poster with

Gunn’s name, photograph, address and other per-

sonal information were published. The “WANTED”

poster describes Gunn as an abortionist and invites

participation by prayer and fasting, by writing and

calling him and sharing a willingness to help him

leave his profession, and by asking him to stop

doing abortions; the “unWANTED” poster states

that he kills children at designated locations and

“[tlo defenseless unborn babies Gunn in [sic]

heavily armed and very dangerous.” After Gunn’s

murder, Bray and Paul Hill (a non-party who

was later convicted of murdering a different doc-

tor) prepared a statement supporting Griffin's

acquittal on a justifiable homicide theory, which

ALM, Burnett, Crane, Dodds, Foreman,

McMillan, Ramey and Stover joined.

On August 21, 1993, Dr. George Patterson, who

operated the clinic where Gunn worked, was shot to death.

A “WANTED” poster had been circulated prior to his

murder, indicating where he performed abortions and that

he had Gunn perform abortions for his Pensacola clinic.

In July 1994, Dr. John Bayard Britton was murdered by

Paul Hill after being named on an “unWANTED” poster that

Hill helped to prepare. One gives Britton’s physical descrip-

tion together with his home and office addresses and phone

numbers, and charges “crimes against humanity”; another

App. 77

also displays his picture and states that “he is considered

armed and extremely dangerous to women and children.

Pray that he is soon apprehended by the love of Jesus!!!”

In addition to these items, a third version of the Britton

“unWANTED” poster lists personal achievements and

Britton’s “crimes against humanity,” also warning that

“John Bayard Britton is considered armed and extremely

dangerous, especialy [sic] to women and children.” ALM,

Bray, Burnett, Crane, McMillan, Ramey and Stover signed

a petition supporting Hull.

Many pro-life activists in Operation Rescue con-

demned these acts of violence. As a result, ALM, Bray,

Burnett, Crane, Foreman, McMillan, Ramey and Stover,

who espoused a “pro-force” point of view, split off to form

ACLA. Burnett observed, “if someone was to condemn any

violence against abortion, they probably wouldn't have felt

comfortable working with us.” Organizational meetings

were held in the spring of 1994, and ACLA’s first event

was held in August 1994. ACLA is based in Portland,

Oregon, as is ALM. ALM publishes Life Advocate, a maga-

zine that is distributed nationally and advocates the use of

force to oppose the delivery of abortion services. Except for

Bray, who authored A Time to Kill and served time in

federal prison for conspiring to bomb ten clinics, the

individual defendants were directors of ACLA and actively

involved in its affairs. ALM commissioned and published

Bray’s book, noting that it “shows the connection between

the [justifiable homicide] position and clinic destruction

and the shootings of abortionists.” Wysong and ACLA also

drafted and circulated a “Contract on the Abortion Indus-

try,” having deliberately chosen that language to allude to

mafia hit contracts.

App. 78

ACLA presented the Deadly Dozen poster during a

January 25, 1995 press conference at the March for Life

event in Washington, D.C. Bray, Burnett, Crane, Dodds,

Foreman, McMillan, Murch, Ramey, Stover, Treshman and

Wysong were there; Dreste later ratified the poster’s

release. This poster is captioned “G™ILTY” at the top

(which meant the same thing to Crane, who drafted it, as

“wanted”), beneath which in slightly smaller print the

poster indicates “OF CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY.”

The poster continues: “Abortion was provided as a choice

for East European and Jewish women by the (Nazi)

National Socialist Regime, and was prosecuted during the

Nuremberg Trials (1945-46) under Allied Control Order

No. 10 as a ‘war crime.” Under the heading “THE

DEADLY DOZEN,” the poster identifies thirteen doctors of

whom James Newhall, Elizabeth Newhall, and Warren

Hern are three. The poster provides Hern’s residence and

the home address of James Newhall and Elizabeth New-

hall; it also lists the name and home address of Dr. George

Kabacy, a doctor who provided abortions at PPCW. It offers

a “$5,000 REWARD” “for information leading to arrest,

conviction and_revocation of license to practice medicine.”

At the bottom the poster bears the legend “ABORTION-

IST” in large, bold typeface. The day after the Deadly

Dozen poster was released, the FBI offered protection to

doctors identified on it and advised them to wear bullet-

proof vests and take other security precautions, which

they did. Knowing this, ALM reprinted the poster in the

March 1995 edition of its magazine Life Advocate under a

cover with the “grim reaper” holding a scythe; Murch

printed it in his newsletter Salt & Light; and ACLA

republished the Deadly Dozen poster at events in August

1995 and January 1996.

App. 79

ACLA released the Crist poster along with five others

in August 1995 at the old federal courthouse in St. Louis

where the Dred Scott decision had been handed down.

Burnett, Crane, Dreste, McMillan, Ramey, Stover and

Wysong attended the event. Three of the posters identify

doctors; the others ‘identify reproductive health care

clinics, one of which was a Planned Parenthood affiliate

where Crist worked. The Crist poster has “GUILTY” in

large bold letters at the top followed by “OF CRIMES

AGAINST HUMANITY” in smaller font. It also gives his

home and work addresses; states “Please write, leaflet or

picket his neighborhood to expose his blood guilt”; offers a

“$500 REWARD” “to any ACLA organization that success-

fully persuades Crist to turn from his child killing through

activities within ACLA guidelines”; and has “ABORTION-

IST” in large bold type at the bottom.

At its January 1996 conference, ACLA displayed the

Deadly Dozen poster, held a “White Rose Banquet” to

honor prisoners convicted of anti-abortion violence, and

introduced ALM’s Paul deParrie to unveil the “Nuremberg

Files.” ACLA sent a hard copy of some of the Files to Neal

Horsley (a non-party) to post on the internet, and ACLA’s

name appeared on the Nuremberg Files website opened in

January 1997. Approximately 200 people are listed under

the label “ABORTIONISTS: the shooters,” and 200 more

are listed under Files for judges, politicians, law enforce-

ment, spouses, and abortion rights supporters. Crist, Hern

and the Newhalls are listed in the “abortionists” section,

which bears the legend: “Black font (working); Greyed-out

Name (wounded); Strikethrough (fatality).” The names of

Gunn, Patterson and Britton are struck through.

By January 1995 ACLA knew the effect that

“WANTED,” “unWANTED,” or “GUILTY” posters had on

App. 80

doctors named in them. For example, in a September 1993

issue of Life Advocate which reported that an “unwanted”

poster was being prepared for Britton, ALM remarked of

the Gunn murder that it “sent shock waves of fear through

the ranks of abortion providers across the country. As a

result, many more doctors quit out of fear for their lives,

and the ones who are left are scared stiff.” Of another

doctor who decided to quit performing abortions after

circulation of a “Not Wanted” poster, Bray wrote that “it is

clear to all who possess faculties capable of inductive

analysis: he was bothered and afraid.” Wysong also stated:

“Listening to what abortionists said, abortionists who have

quit the practice who are no longer killing babies but are

now pro-life. They said the two things they feared the most

were being sued for malpractice and having their picture

put on a poster.” And Burnett testified with respect to the

danger that “wanted” or “guilty” posters pose to the lives

of those who provide abortions: “I mean, if | was an abor-

tionist, I would be afraid.”

By January 1995 the physicians knew about the

Gunn, Patterson and Britton murders and the posters that

preceded each. Hern was terrified when his name ap-

peared on the Deadly Dozen poster; as he put it: “The fact

that wanted posters about these doctors jiad been circu-

lated, prior to their assassination, and that the — that the

posters, then, were followed by the doctor’s assassination,

emphasized for me the danger posed by this document, the

Deadly Dozen List, which meant to me that — that, as

night follows day, that my name was on this wanted poster

. and that I would be assassinated, as had the other

doctors been assassinated.” Hern interpreted the poster as

meaning “Do what we tell you to do, or we will kill you.

And they do.” Crist was “truly frightened,” and stopped

App. 81

practicing medicine for a while out of fear for his life. Dr.

Elizabeth Newhall interpreted the Deadly Dozen poster as

saying that if she didn’t stop doing abortions, her life was

at risk. Dr. James Newhall was “severely frightened” in

light of the “clear pattern” of a wanted poster and a

murder when there was “another wanted poster with my

name on it.”

The jury found for plaintiffs on all claims except for

Bray and Treshman on the RICO claims.’ The district

court then considered equitable relief. It found that each

defendant used intimidation as a means of interfering

with the provision of reproductive health services; that

each independently and as a co-conspirator published and

distributed the Deadly Dozen poster, the Crist poster, and

the Nuremberg Files; and that each acted with malice and

specific intent in communicating true threats to kill,

assault or do bodily harm to each of the plaintiffs to

intimidate them from engaging in legal medical practices

and procedures. The court found that the balance of

hardships weighed “overwhelmingly” in plaintiffs’ favor. It

also found that the defendants’ actions were not protected

speech under the First Amendment. Accordingly, it issued

a permanent injunction restraining defendants from

threatening, with the specific intent to do so, any of the

* On the FACE claims, the jury awarded $39,656 to Crist, $14,429

to Hern, $15,797.98 to Elizabeth Newhall, $375 to James Newhall,

$405,834.86 to PPCW, and $50,243 to PFWHC from each defendant as

compensatory damages and $14.5 million to Crist, $13 million to Hern,

$14 million to Elizabeth Newhall, $14 million to James Newhall, $29.5

million to PPCW, and $23.5 million to PFWHC in punitive damages. On

the RICO claims (after trebling), Crist was awarded $892,260; Hern,

$324,657; Elizabeth Newhall, $355,454; James Newhall, $8,442; PPCW

$9,131,280; and PFWHC, $1,130,466.

App. 82

plaintiffs in violation of FACE; from publishing or distrib-

uting the Deadly Dozen poster and the Crist poster with

specific intent to threaten the plaintiffs; from providing

additional material concerning plaintiffs, with a specific

intent to threaten, to the Nuremberg Files or similar web

site; and from publishing or distributing the personally

identifying information about the plaintiffs in the Files with

a specific intent to threaten. The court also required defen-

dants to turn over materials that are not in compliance with

the injunction except for one copy of anything included in the

record, which counsel was permitted to retain.

II

Before turning to the merits, we must consider the

standard of review because ACLA contends that in a free

speech case it is de novo. Relying on Bose Corp. v. Con-

sumers Union of United States, Inc., 466 U.S. 485, 104

S.Ct. 1949, 80 L.Ed.2d 502 (1984), ACLA submits that we

must first determine for ourselves whether its speech is

classic protected speech or is a “true threat” by reviewing

the entire record.

Physicians assert that the standard of review for

which ACLA contends comes from libel cases, but that

threat cases are different; the more searching review of

the record incumbent upon courts in libel cases, they urge,

is inapposite to threat cases. They also point out that we

have decided all of our threats cases without engaging in

de novo review of the factual record. See, e.g., United

States v. Gilbert, 884 F.2d 454, 457 (9th Cir.1989) ‘Gilbert

IT) (“Viewed as a whole, and using the contextual analysis

we have used for other statutes, a rational trier of fact

could find a thr, .”); United States v. Gordon, 974 F.2d

App. 83

1110, 1117 (9th Cir.1992) (“Although some of the factual

circumstances surrounding the incident suggest a contrary

result, the jury acted reasonably [in finding that] the

threats were serious.”); United States v. Orozco-Santillan,

903 F.2d 1262, 1266 (9th Cir.1990) (“[A] rational jury could

conclude that Orozco Santillan’s statement ... was a

threat.”); see also United States v. Hoff, 22 F.3d 222, 224

(9th Cir.1994) (reviewing for clear error conviction for

intimidating forest ranger).

We do not entirely agree with either side. It is true

that our threats cases have been decided without conduct-

ing a de novo review of the factual record, but the issue

was not squarely presented in any of those cases. For this

reason, we cannot take.it as definitively resolved.

In Bose (a defamation action arising out of a publica-

tion about loudspeaker systems), the Court confronted an

apparent conflict between Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

52(a), providing that findings of fact shall not be set aside

unless clearly erroneous, and its rule in cases raising First

Amendment issues that “an appellate court has an obliga-

tion to ‘make an independent examination of the whole

record’ in order to make sure that ‘the judgment does not

constitute a forbidden intrusion on the field of free expres-

sion.’” Bose, 466 U.S. at 498-99, 104 S.Ct. 1949 (quoting

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254, 284-86, 84

S.Ct. 710, 11 L.Ed.2d 686 (1964)). The Court noted that it

had previously exercised independent judgment on ques-

tions such as whether particular remarks are “fighting

words,” Street v. New York, 394 U.S. 576, 592, 89 S.Ct.

1354, 22 L.Ed.2d 572 (1969), and whether, as a matter of

constitutional law, a motion picture is obscene. Jenkins v.

Georgia, 418 U.S. 153, 159-61, 94 S.Ct. 2750, 41 L.Ed.2d

642 (1974). In this connection, the Court observed that in

App. 84

Jenkins it had rejected the notion that a jury finding

(there of obscenity) “is insulated from review so long as the

jury was properly instructed and there is some evidence to

support its findings”; rather, substantive constitutional

limitations govern. Bose, 466 U.S. at 506-07, 104 S.Ct.

1949. Therefore, it concluded, appellate judges must

themselves determine whether the record establishes the

constitutional facts required for showing actual malice

with convincing clarity in a case governed by New York

Times. This obligation does not, however, extend to any

evidence that is not germane to the actual malice (or core

constitutional fact) determination. Jd. at 514 n. 31, 104

S.Ct. 1949.

The Court revisited the issue in Harte-Hanks Com-

munications, Inc. v. Connaughton, 491 U.S. 657, 109 S.Ct.

2678, 105 L.Ed.2d 562 (1989). Harte-Hanks was a libel

action against a newspaper, also governed by New York

Times. The court of appeals had affirmed a judgment

against the paper without attempting to make an inde-

pendent evaluation of the credibility of conflicting oral

testimony concerning the facts underlying the jury’s

finding of actual malice. Certiorari was granted to con-

sider whether the appellate court’s analysis was consistent

with Bose. Harte-Hanks conceded that when conducting

the independent review required by New York Times and

Bose, a reviewing court should properly hesitate to disre-

gard a jurys opportunity to observe live testimony and

assess witness credibility, but contended that the Supreme

Court had nevertheless rejected the trial court’s credibility

determination in Bose. Justice Stevens, writing for the

Court in both Bose and Harte-Hanks, noted that this was

not correct; he explained that in Bose the Court had

accepted the trial court’s determination that the author of

App. 85

the report at issue did not provide credible testimony, but

had been unwilling to infer actual malice from the finding.

Id. at 689 n. 35, 109 S.Ct. 2678. The Harte-Hanks Court

went on to review-the entire record, holding that given the

instructions, the jury’s answers to special interrogatories,

and the facts that were not in dispute, the jury must have

found certain testimony incredible and that from these

findings, considered with the undisputed evidence, it

followed that the paper acted with actual malice and that

the evidence was sufficient to support such a finding.

The same rule was reiterated in Hurley v. Irish-

American Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual Group of Boston, 515

U.S. 557, 115 S.Ct. 2338, 132 L.Ed.2d 487 (1995), a First

Amendment case involving a parade permit. As the Court

explained: “This obligation rests upon us simply because

the reaches of the First Amendment are ultimately defined

_ by the facts it is held to embrace, and we must thus decide

for ourselves whether a given course of conduct falls on the

near or far side of the line of constitutional protection.” Jd.

at 567, 115 S.Ct. 2338.

We have discussed the issue a number of times, in

connection with threats in United States v. Merrill, 746

F.2d 458 (9th Cir.1984), United States v. Gilbert (Gilbert I),

813 F.2d 1523 (9th Cir.1987), Melugin v. Hames, 38 F.3d

1478 (9th Cir.1994), and Lovell v. Poway Unified School

Dist., 90 F.3d 367 (9th Cir.1996), and in defamation

actions in Newton v. National Broadcasting Co., 930 F.2d

662 (9th Cir.1990), Eastwood v. National Enquirer, Inc.,

123 F.3d 1249 (9th Cir.1997), and Hoffman v. Capital

Cities/ABC, Inc., 255 F.3d 1180 (9th Cir.2001).

Merrill was prosecuted for mailing injurious articles

through the mail (letters with live .22 caliber rim fire

App. 86

bullets, some with the words “Kill Reagan,” some with

pornographic playing cards) and for threatening the life of

the President in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 871. ACLA relies

on that part of Merrill where we considered the obscenity

conviction under the Bose standard of review. We inter-

preted Bose and Smith v. United States, 431 U.S. 291, 97

S.Ct. -1756, 52 L.Ed.2d 324 (1977), as allowing deferential

(sufficiency of the evidence) review of findings about

contemporary community standards and the offensiveness

of the material, but as requiring more extensive review of

the district court’s findings that Miller’s letters lacked

serious political value. Smith, 431 U.S. at 305, 97 S.Ct.

1756 (whether a work lacks serious literary, artistic,

political, or scientific value for purposes of an obscenity

prosecution is a “determination ... particularly amenable

to appellate review”). However, we did not apply height-

ened review to the threats conviction. Instead, we stated:

Whether any given form of written or oral ex-

pression constitutes a true threat for the stat-

ute’s [§ 871] purposes is a question for the trier of

fact under all of the circumstances. Roy v. United

States, 416 F.2d [874,] 877-78 [(9th Cir.1969)]. A

few cases may be so clear that they can be re-

solved as a matter of law, e.g., Watts v. United

States, 394 U.S. 705, 89 S.Ct. 1399, 22 L.Ed.2d

664[] (1969) (conditional statement made at po-

litical rally which provoked listeners’ laughter

was merely “political hyperbole,” and question

should not have gone to jury), but most cases

arising under this statute present widely varying

fact patterns that shouid be left to the trier of

fact. United States v. Carrier, 672 F.2d [300,] 306

[((2d Cir.1982)].

App. 87

Merrill, 746 F.2d at 462-63. Under this standard we

held that the district judge was not clearly erroneous in

finding that the letters constituted an objectively serious

threat to harm the President.

We followed Merrill in Gilbert I, 813 F.2d at 1529-30.

Gilbert was charged with violating the Fair Housing Act,

42 U.S.C. § 3631(b) and (c), by mailing menacing flyers to

ntimidate the director of an adoption organization respon-

sible for the placement and adoption of black and Asian

children from aiding minority children’s occupancy of

dwellings in Kootenai County. Noting that whether ex-

pression is a true threat is for the trier of fact, we recog-

nized that “[w]hether any given form of written expression

can supply the requisite intent requirement is a question

for the trier of fact.” Gilbert I, 813 F.2d at 1529. Thus, “it is

a jury question whether actions and communications are

clearly outside the ambit of first amendment protection.”

Id. at 1530. And following the Seventh Circuit’s lead in

United States v. Khorrami, 895 F.2d 1186, 1192 (7th

Cir.1990), we held in Melugin that “the issue whether the

prosecution has shown a ‘true threat’ is a question of fact

for the jury, not a question of law for the court.” Melugin,

38 F.3d at 1485.

Lovell was a § 1983 action in which a student was

suspended for allegedly threatening to shoot a teacher. We

acknowledged that “[djifferent standards are sometimes

used when reviewing district court cases in which the

court adjudged the constitutionality of a restriction on

speech,” and that a de novo review of the facts is con-

ducted when a restriction is upheld. Lovell, 90 F.3d at 370.

Newton was a defamation action brought by Wayne

Newton (a public figure) against NBC. It was tried to a

App. 88

jury, which found actual malice. The appeal caused us

specifically to consider how “to strike the proper balance

between our constitutional (Seventh Amendment) defer-

ence to the factfinder and our constitutional duty to

safeguard First Amendment values” in light of Bose and

Harte-Hanks. Newton, 930 F.2d at 666. We observed that

the “independent examination of the record” contemplated

by Bose is “‘not equivalent to a “de novo” review of the

ultimate judgment itself,” where the reviewing court

makes an “original appraisal of all the evidence to decide

whether or not judgment should be entered for the plain-

tiff.” Id. at 670 n. 10 (quoting Bose, 466 U.S. at 514 n. 31,

104 S.Ct. 1949). However, we also noted that as a general

rule, we have conducted de novo review of the record when

a restriction on speech has been upheld. /d. (citing Daily

Herald Co. v. Munro, 838 F.2d 380, 383 (9th Cir.1988)). We

then read Bose and Harte-Hanks as creating a “credibility

exception” to the New York Times rule of independent

review, such that we give “special deference” to credibility

determinations but conduct “a more searching review of

other evidence” germane to the actual malice determina-

tion. Id. at 671, 672.

Eastwood was. another defamation action in which we

engaged in an independent review of actual malice. We

thought that the jury was properly instructed, but in

conducting the review we explained that “it is not enough

for us to determine that a reasonable jury could have

found for the plaintiff —- a kind of sufficiency-of-the-

evidence test, permitting us to affirm even though we

would have reached a different conclusion. Rather, ‘First

Amendment questions of “constitutional fact” compel [us

to conduct a] de novo review.’ We ourselves must be con-

vinced that the defendant acted with malice,” even though

App. 89

we defer to the jury on questions of credibility. Eastwood,

123 F.3d at 1252 (citations omitted). See also Hoffman, 255

F.3d at 1186 (relying on Eastwood).

It is not easy to discern a rule from these cases that can

easily be applied in a threats case where, by definition, a

true threat is constitutionally unprotected. Indeed, FACE on

its face requires that “threat of force” be defined and applied

consistent with the First Amendment. Perhaps this explains

why we have treated threat cases differently, explicitly

holding that the question of whether there is a true threat

is for the jury.

We conclude that the proper definition of a “threat” for

purposes of FACE is a question of law that we review de

novo. If it were clear that neither the Deadly Dozen nor

the Crist poster, or the Nuremberg Files, was a threat as

properly defined, the case should not have gone to the jury

and summary judgment should have been granted in

ACLA’s favor. If there were material facts in dispute or it

was not clear that the posters were protected expression

instead of true threats, the question whether the posters

and the Files amount to a “threat of force” for purposes of

the statute was for the trier of fact. Assuming that the

district court correctly defined “threat” and properly

instructed the jury on the elements of liability pursuant to

the statute, our review is for substantial evidence support-

ing the historical facts (including credibility determina-

tions) and the elements of statutory liability (including

intent). We review the district court’s findings with respect

to injunctive relief for clear error and its conclusions of law

de novo. However, while we normally review the scope of

injunctive relief for abuse of discretion, we will scrutinize

the relief granted in this case to determine whether the

challenged provisions of the injunction burden no more

App. 90

speech than necessary to achieve its goals. Madsen uv.

Women’s Health Ctr, Inc., 512 U.S. 753, 765, 114 S.Ct.

2516, 129 L.Ed.2d 593 (1994).

Given that the verdict for physicians and the injunc-

tive relief granted in their favor restrict speech, we review

the record independently in order to satisfy ourselves that

the posters and the Files constitute a “true threat” such

that they lack First Amendment protection. We will

consider the undisputed facts as true, and construe the

historical facts, the findings on the statutory elements,

and all credibility determinations in favor of the prevailing

party. In this way we give appropriate deference to the

trier of fact, here both the jury and the district judge, yet

assure that evidence of the core constitutional fact — a true

threat — falls within the unprotected category and is

narrowly enough bounded as a matter of constitutional

law.

Il

ACLA’ argues that the First Amendment requires

reversal because liability was based on political speech

that constituted neither an incitement to imminent law-

less action nor a true threat. It suggests that the key

question for us to consider is whether these posters can be

considered “true threats” when, in fact, the posters on

* Treshman and Miller filed a separate brief. We treat their

arguments with ACLA’s, as each adopts the others’ brief. An amicus

curiae brief in support of reversal was also submitted on behalf of The

Thomas Jefferson Center for the Protection of Free Expression. Paul

deParrie submitted a pro se, non-party-in-interest brief challenging the

permanent injunction entered by the district court, and an amicus brief

in opposition to reconsideration of the panel opinion.

App. 91

their face contain no explicitly threatening language.

Further, ACLA submits that classic political speech cannot

be converted into non-protected speech by a context of

violence that includes the independent action of others.

Physicians’ counter that this threats case must be ana-

lyzed under the settled threats law of this circuit. Follow-

ing precedent, it was proper for the jury to take context

into account. They point out that the district court limited

evidence of anti-abortion violence to evidence tending to

show knowledge of a particular defendant, and maintain

that the objective standard on which the jury was in-

structed comports both with Ninth Circuit law and con-

gressional intent. As the First Amendment does not

protect true threats of force, physicians conclude, ACLA’s

speech was not protected.

A

We start with the statute under which this action

arises. Section 248(c)(1)(A) gives a private right of action

to any person aggrieved by reason of the conduct prohib-

ited by subsection (a). Subsection (a)(1) provides:

a

* Amicus briefs in support of affirmance were submitted on behalf of

the American Medical Association; seventeen United States Senators and

forty-two United States Representatives; the State of Connecticut; the Anti-

Defamation League, the American Jewish Committee, and Hadassah, the

Women’s Zionist Organization of America, Inc.; Feminist Majority Founda-

tion, Center for Reproductive Law and Policy, National Abortion and

Reproductive Rights Action League and NARAL Foundation, National

Abortion Federation, National Coalition of Abortion Providers, National

Organization for Women Foundation, NOW Legal Defense and Education

Fund, National Women’s Health Foundation, Northwest Women’s Law

Center, Physicians for Reproductive Choice and Health, and Women’s Law

Project; and the ACLU Foundation of Oregon, Inc.

App. 92

(a) ... Whoever —

(1) by force or threat of force or by physical ob-

struction, intentionally injures, intimidates or in-

terferes with or attempts to injure, intimidate or

interfere with any person because that person is

or has been, or in order to intimidate such person

or any other person or any class of persons from,

obtaining or providing reproductive health ser-

vices

shall be subject to the . . . civil remedies provided

in subsection (c)....

18 U.S.C. §248(a)(1). The statute also provides that

“{nJothing in this section shall be construed ... to prohibit

any expressive conduct (including peaceful picketing or

other peaceful demonstration) protected from legal prohi-

bition by the First Amendment to the Constitution.” 18

U.S.C. § 248(d)(1).

FACE does not define “threat,” although it does

provide that “[t]he term ‘intimidate’ means to place a

person in reasonable apprehension of bodily harm to him —

or herself or to another.” 18 U.S.C. § 248(e)(3). Thus, the

first task is to define “threat” for purposes of the Act. This

requires a definition that comports with the First Amend-

ment, that is, a “true threat.”

The Supreme Court has provided benchmarks, but no

definition.

Brandenburg v. Ohio, 395 U.S. 444, 447, 89 S.Ct.

1827, 23 L.Ed.2d 430 (1969), makes it clear that the First

Amendment protects speech that advocates violence, so

long as the speech is not directed to inciting or producing

App. 93

imminent lawless action and~is not likely to incite or

produce such action. So do Hess v. Indiana, 414 U.S. 105,

94 S.Ct. 326, 38 L.Ed.2d 303 (1973) (overturning disor-

derly conduct conviction of antiwar protestor who yelled

“We'll take the fucking street later (or again)”), and

NAACP uv. Claiborne Hardware Co., 458 U.S. 886, 102

S.Ct. 3409, 73 L.Ed.2d 1215 (1982). If ACLA had merely

endorsed or encouraged the violent actions of others, its

speech would be protected.

However, while advocating violence is protected,

threatening a person with violence is not. In Watts v.

United States, 394 U.S. 705, 89 S.Ct. 1399, 22 L.Ed.2d 664

(1969), the Court explicitly distinguished between political

hyperbole, which is protected, and true threats, which are

not. Considering how to construe a statute which prohib-

ited “knowingly and willfully ... (making) any threat to

take the life of or to inflict bodily harm upon the Presi-

dent,” the Court admonished that any statute which

criminalizes a form of pure speech “must be interpreted

with the commands of the First Amendment clearly in

mind. What is a threat must be distinguished from what is

constitutionally protected speech.” Jd. at 705, 707, 89 S.Ct.

1399. In that case, an 18-year old war protester told a

discussion group of other young people at a public rally on

the Washington Monument grounds: “They always holler

at us to get an education. And now I have already received

my draft classification as 1-A and I have got to report for

my physical this Monday coming. I am not going. If they

ever make me carry a rifle the first man I want to get in my

sights is L.B.J.” Id. at 706, 89 S.Ct. 1399. His audience

laughed. Taken in context, and given the conditional nature

of the statement and the reaction of the listeners, the Court

concluded that the speech could not be interpreted other

App. 94

than as “a kind of very crude offensive method of stating a

political opposition to the President.” Jd. at 708, 89 S.Ct.

1399. Accordingly, it ordered judgment entered for Watts.

ACLA’s position is that the posters, including the

Nuremberg Files, are protected political speech under

Watts, and cannot lose this character by context. But this

is not correct. The Court itself considered context and

determined that Watts’s statement was political hyperbole

instead of a true threat because of context. Jd. at 708, 89

S.Ct. 1399. Beyond this, ACLA points out that the posters

contain no language that is a threat. We agree that this is

literally true. Therefore, ACLA submits, this case is really

an incitement case in disguise. So viewed, the posters are

protected speech under Brandenburg and Claiborne,

which ACLA suggests is the closest analogue. We disagree

that Claiborne is closely analogous.

In March 1966 black citizens in Claiborne County

made a list of demands for racial equality and integration.

Unsatisfied by the response, several hundred black per-

sons at a meeting of the local National Association for the

Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) voted to place a

boycott on white merchants in the area. The boycott

continued until October 1969. During this period, stores

were watched and the names of persons who violated the

boycott were read at meetings of the NAACP at the First

Baptist Church, and published in a local paper called

“Black Times.” These persons were branded as traitors to

the black cause, were called demeaning names, and were

socially ostracized. A few incidents of violence occurred.

Birdshot was fired at the houses of two boycott violators; a

brick was thrown through a windshield; and a flower

garden was damaged. Nome of the victims ceased trading

with white merchants. Six other incidents of arguably

App. 95

unlawful conduct occurred. White business owners

brought suit against the NAACP and Charles Evers, its

field secretary, along with other individuals who had

participated in the boycott, for violating Mississippi state

laws on malicious interference with a business, antitrust,

and illegal boycott. Plaintiffs pursued several theories of

liability: participating in management of the boycott;

serving as an “enforcer” or monitor; committing or threat-

ening acts of violence, which showed that the perpetrator

wanted the boycott to succeed by coercion when it could

not succeed by persuasion; and as to Evers, threatening

violence against boycott breakers, and as to the NAACP

because he was its field secretary when he committed

tortious and constitutionally unprotected acts. Damages

for business losses during the boycott and injunctive relief

were awarded.

The Court held that there could be no recovery based

on intimidation by threats of social ostracism, because

offensive and coercive speech is_ protected by the First

Amendment. “The usé of speeches, marches, and threats of

social ostracism cannot provide the basis for a damages

award. But violent conduct is beyond the pale of constitu-

tional protection.” 458 U.S. at 933, 102 S.Ct. 3409. There

was some evidence of violence, but the violence was not

pervasive as it had been in Milk Wagon Drivers Union

Local 753 v. Meadowmoor Dairies, Inc., 312 U.S. 287, 61

S.Ct. 552, 85 L.Ed. 836 (1941). Accordingly, the Court

made clear that only losses proximately caused by unlaw-

ful conduct could be recovered. Further, civil liability could ~

not be imposed consistent with the First Amendment

solely on account of an individual’s association with others

who have committed acts of violence; he must have incited

or authorized them himself.

App. 96

For the same reasons the Court held that liability

could not be imposed on Evers for his participation in the

boycott itself, or for his threats of vilification or ostracism.

However, the merchants also sought damages from Evers

for his speeches. He gave one in April 1966, and two others

in April 1969. In the first, he told his audience that they

would be watched and that blacks who traded with white

merchants would be answerable to him; he also said that

any “uncle toms” who broke the boycott would “have their

necks broken” by their own people. In his April 19, 1969

speech, Evers stated that boycott violators would be

“disciplined” by their own people and warned that the

Sheriff could not sleep with boycott violators at night. And

on April 21, Evers gave another speech to several hundred

people calling for a total boycott of white-owned businesses

and saying: “If we catch any of you going in any of them

racist stores, were gonna break your damn neck.” The

Court concluded that the “emotionally charged rhetoric” of

Evers’s speeches was within the bounds of Brandenburg.

It was not followed by violence, and there was no evidence

— apart from the speeches themselves — that Evers author-

ized, ratified, or directly threatened violence. “If there

were other evidence of his authorization of wrongful

conduct, the references to discipline in the speeches could

be used to corroborate that evidence.” Claiborne, 458 U.S.

at 929, 102 S.Ct. 3409. As there was not, the findings were

constitutionally inadequate to support the damages

judgment against him and, in turn, the NAACP.

Claiborne, of course, did not arise under a threats

statute. The Court had no need to consider whether

Evers’s statements were true threats of force within the

meaning of a threats statute; it held only that his speeches

did not incite illegal activity, thus could not have caused

App. 97

business losses and could not be the basis for liability to

white merchants. As the opinion points out, there was no

context to give the speeches (including the expression

“break your neck”) the implication of authorizing or

directly threatening unlawful conduct. To the extent there

was any intimidating overtone, Evers’s rhetoric was

extemporaneous, surrounded by statements supporting

non-violent action, and primarily of the social ostracism

sort. No specific individuals were targeted. For all that

appears, “the break your neck” comments were hyperbolic

vernacular. Certainly there was no history that Evers or

anyone else associated with the NAACP had broken

anyone’s neck who did not participate in, or opposed, this

boycott or any others. Nor is there any indication that

Evers’s listeners took his statement that boycott breakers’

“necks would be broken” as a serious threat that their

necks would be broken; they kept on shopping at boycotted

stores.

Thus, Watts was the only Supreme Court case that

discussed the First Amendment in relation to true threats

before we first confronted the issue. Apart from holding

that Watts’s crack about L.B.J. was not a true threat, the

Court set out no standard for determining when a state-

ment is a true threat that is unprotected speech under the

First Amendment. Shortly after Watts was rendered, we

had to decide in Roy v. United States, 416 F.2d 874 (9th

Cir.1969), whether a Marine Corps private made a true

threat for purposes of 18 U.S.C; § 871 against the Presi-

dent, who was coming to his base the next day, by saying:

“I am going to get him.” We adopted a “reasonable

speaker” test. As it has come to be articulated, the test is:

App. 98

Whether a particular statement may properly be

considered to be a threat is governed by an objec-

tive standard — whether a reasonable person

would foresee that the statement would be inter-

preted by those to whom the maker communi-

cates the statement as a serious expression of

intent to harm or assault:

United States v. Orozco-Santillan, 903 F.2d 1262, 1265

(9th Cir.1990).

We have applied this test to threats statutes that are

similar to FACE, see, e.g., United States v. Gilbert (Gil-

bert IT), 884 F.2d 454, 457 (9th Cir.1989) (Fair Housing

Act banning threat of force to intimidate person based on

race and housing practices, 42 U.S.C. § 3631); United

States v. Mitchell, 812 F.2d 1250, 1255 (9th Cir.1987)

(threats against the President, 18 U.S.C. § 871); Merrill,

746 F.2d at 462-63 (same); United States v. Gordon, 974

F.2d 1110, 1117 (9th Cir.1992) (threat to kill a former

President, 18 U.S.C. § 879); Orozco-Santillan, 903 F.2d at

1265 (threats to assault a law enforcement officer with

intent to intimidate, 18 U.S.C. § 115); Melugin, 38 F.3d at

1483-84 (threat to influence judicial proceeding under

Alaska state law); McCalden v. California Library Ass’n,

955 F.2d 1214, 1222 (9th Cir.1990) (threat to disrupt

conference under California’s Unruh Act); and Lovell, 90

F.3d at 371 (9th Cir.1996) (§ 1983 action involving threat

to shoot teacher). Other circuits have, too. We see no

* See, e.g., United States v. Whiffen, 121 F.3d 18, 20-21 (ist

Cir.1997) (statement is threat under 18 U.S.C. § 875(c) if reasonable

person would foresee that it would be interpreted as expression of

intent to harm); United States v. Sovie, 122 F.3d 122, 125 (2d Cir.1997)

(Continued on following page)

App. 99

reason not to apply the same test to FACE."

(Second Circuit approach to threats, adopted in United States v. Kelner,

534 F.2d 1020 (2d Cir.1976), is objective test and requires assessing

whether a reasonable recipient of statement would construe it as threat

in light of context); United States v. Kosma, 951 F.2d 549, 556-57 (3d

Cir.1991) (statement is threat under 18 U.S.C. § 871 if reasonable

person would foresee that it would be interpreted as expression of

intent to harm); United States v. Darby, 37 F.3d 1059, 1066 (4th

Cir.1994) (statement is threat under 18 U.S.C. § 875(c) if reasonable

person would interpret the statement as threat); United States v.

Morales, 272 F.3d 284, 287 (5th Cir.2001) (statement is threat under 18

U.S.C. § 875(c) if recipient placed in reasonable fear of bodily harm);

United States v. Landham, 251 F.3d 1072, 1080 (6th Cir.2001) (state-

ment is threat under 18 U.S.C. § 875(c) if reasonable recipient of

message would interpret it as expression of intent to harm); United

States v. Hartbarger, 148 F.3d 777, 782-83 (7th Cir.1998) (cross burning

is threat under 42 U.S.C. § 3631 because the reasonable person would

foresee that it would be interpreted as expression of intent to harm);

United States v. Hart, 212 F.3d 1067, 1072 (8th Cir.2000) (placing Ryder

truck in driveway of abortion clinic is threat under FACE because, in

light of entire factual context, person would reasonably conclude that

the act expresses an intent to harm); United States v. Magleby, 241 F.3d

1306, 1311-13 (10th Cir.2001) (cross burning is threat under the Fair

Housing Act, 42 U.S.C. § 3631, because reasonable person would foresee

that it would be interpreted as expression of intent to harm); United

States v. Callahan, 702 F.2d 964, 965-66 (11th Cir.1983) (statement is

threat under 18 U.S.C. § 871 if reasonable person would construe

statement as expression of intent to harm); Metz v. Dept of Treasury,

780 F.2d 1001, 1002 (Fed.Cir.1986) (threat evaluated by reasonable

listener considering numerous factors).

Although all now apply an objective standard, several circuits have

a “reasonable listener” test while others have a “reasonable speaker”

test as we do. The difference does not appear to matter much because

all consider context, including the effect of an allegedly threatening

statement on the listener.

* Both the House and Senate specifically referred to Gilbert's

interpretation of the Fair Housing Act’s threat provision in adopting

FACE’s quite similar text. H. Rep. No. 103-306, 12 n. 19 (1993), 1994

U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News at 699, 709 n. 19; S.Rep. No. 103-117,

at 29 (1993).

App. 100

Under our cases, a threat is “an expression of an intention

to inflict evil, injury, or damage on another.” Gilbert IT, 884

F.2d at 457; Orozco-Santillan, 903 F.2d at 1265. “Alleged

threats should be considered in light of their entire factual

context, including the surrounding events and reaction of

the listeners.” Orozco-Santillan, 903 F.2d at 1265; see also

Mitchell, 812 F.2d at 1255 (citing Watts, 394 U.S. at 708,

89 S.Ct. 1399; Merrill, 746 F.2d at 462; Roy, 416 F.2d at

876). ““The fact that a threat is subtle does not make it

less of a threat.’” Orozco-Santillan, 903 F.2d at 1265

(quoting Gilbert IJ, 884 F.2d at 457). A true threat, that is

one “where a reasonable person would foresee that the

listener will believe he will be subjected to physical vio-

lence upon his person, is unprotected by the first amend-

ment.” Jd. (citing Merrill, 746 F.2d at 462).

It is not necessary that the defendant intend to, or be

able to carry out his threat; the only intent requirement

for a true threat is that the defendant intentionally or

knowingly communicate the threat. Orozco-Santillan, 903

F.2d at 1265 n. 3; Gilbert II, 884 F.2d at 456-57; Mitchell,

812 F.2d at 1256 (upholding § 871 conviction of defendant

with no capacity to carry out threat); Roy, 416 F.2d at 877.”

Other circuits are in accord.” Nevertheless, we are urged

* We have held that 28 U.S.C. § 876, which criminalizes knowingly

mailing any communication containing a threat to injure, is a specific

intent crime. United States v. Twine, 853 F.2d 676 (9th Cir.1988);

United States v. King, 122 F.3d 808 (9th Cir.1997). However, we were

not defining “threat” or considering what a true threat is, and we made

it clear that specific intent or ability to carry out the threat is not an

essential element. Aing, 122 F.3d at 810 (quoting Twine, 853 F.2d at 681

n. 4).

See, e.g., United States v. Francis, 164 F.3d 120, 123 (2d Cir.1999)

(rejecting addition of substantive intent requirement to objective test);

United States v. Miller, 115 F.3d 361, 363-64 (6th Cir.1997) (same);

(Continued on following page)

App. 101

to adopt a subjective intent requirement for FACE. In

particular, amicus ACLU Foundation of Oregon, Inc.,

advocates a subjective intent component to “require

evidence, albeit circumstantial or inferential in many

cases, that the speaker actually intended to induce fear,

intimidation, or terror; namely, that the speaker intended

to threaten. If a person did not intend to threaten or

intimidate (i.e., did not intend that his or her statement be

understood as a threat), then the speech should not be

considered to be a ‘true threat,’ unprotected by the First

Amendment.” However, this much is subsumed within the

statutory standard of FACE itself, which requires that the

threat of force be made with the intent to intimidate. The

“requirement of intent to intimidate serves to insulate the

statute from unconstitutional application to protected

speech.” Gilbert I, 813 F.2d at 1529 (construing the Fair

Housing Act’s threat provision, 42 U.S.C. § 3631, which is

essentially the same as FACE’s). No reason appears to

engraft another intent requirement onto the statute,

because whether or not the maker of the threat has an

actual intention to carry it out, “an apparently serious

threat may cause the mischief or evil toward which the

statute was in part directed.” Gilbert II, 884 F.2d at 458

(quoting Roy, 416 F.2d at 877).

The dissents would change the test, either to require that

the speaker actually intend to carry out the threat or be in

control of those who will, or to make it inapplicable when

United States v. Aman, 31 F.3d 550, 553-56 (7th Cir.1994) (same);

United States v. Patrick, 117 F.3d 375, 377 (8th Cir.1997) (same); United

States v. Martin, 163 F.3d 1212, 1215-16 (10th Cir.1998) (same). But see

United States v. Patillo, 438 F.2d 13, 15 (4th Cir.1971) (including

subjective intent element in § 871). The Fourth Circuit has abandoned

this approach in its other true threat cases.

App. 102

the speech is public rather than private. However, for

years our test has focused on what a reasonable speaker

would foresee the listener’s reaction to be under the

circumstances, and that is where we believe it should

remain. See Madsen, 512 U.S. at 773, 114 S.Ct. 2516

(noting that “threats ... however communicated, are

proscribable under the First Amendment, and indicating

that display of signs “that could be interpreted as threats

or veiled threats” could be prohibited”). Threats are

outside the First Amendment to “protect|] individuals

from the fear of violence, from the disruption that fear

engenders, and from the possibility that the threatened

violence will occur.” R.A.V. v. City of St. Paul, Minn., 505

U.S. 377, 388, 112 S.Ct. 2538, 120 L.Ed.2d 305 (1992).

This purpose is not served by hinging constitutionality on

the speaker’s subjective intent or capacity to do (or not to

do) harm. Rather, these factors go to how reasonably

foreseeable it is to a speaker that the listener will seri-

ously take his communication as an intent to inflict bodily

harm. This suffices to distinguish a “true threat” from

speech that is merely frightening. Thus, no reasonable

speaker would foresee that a patient would take the

statement “You have cancer and will die within six

months,” or that a pedestrian would take a warning “Get

out of the way of that bus,” as a serious expression of

intent to inflict bodily harm; the harm is going to happen

anyway.

Neither do-we agree that threatening speech made in

public is entitled to heightened constitutional protection

just because it is communicated publicly rather than

privately. As Madsen indicates, threats are unprotected by

App. 103

the First Amendment “however communicated.” Madsen,

512 U.S. at 753, 114 S.Ct. 2516.”

Therefore, we hold that “threat of force” in FACE

means what our settled threats law says a true threat is: a

statement which, in the entire context and under all the

circumstances, a reasonable person would foresee would

be interpreted by those to whom the statement is commu-

nicated as a serious expression of intent to inflict bodily

harm upon that person. So defined, a threatening state-

ment that violates FACE is unprotected under the First

Amendment.

B

Although ACLA does not believe we should reach this

point, if we do it submits that no claim was made out even

under “true threats” cases. First, it argues that other

" Judge Reinhardt chides us for failing to accord public speech

more protection than private speech. He misses the point. Threats, in

whatever forum, may be independently proscribed without implicating

the First Amendment. See e.g., Schenck v. Pro-Choice Network of

Western New York, 519 U.S. 357, 373, 117 S.Ct. 855, 137 L.Ed.2d 1

(1997) (so indicating in case involving public protest against abortion

providers); Madsen, 512 U.S. at 774, 114 S.Ct. 2516 (same); Kelner, 534

F.2d 1020 (JDL press conference in connection with public demonstra-

tion about the Palestine Liberation Organization and its leader); Hart,

212 F.3d 1067 (public protest against abortion providers).

Nor does Bauer v. Sampson, 261 F.3d 775 (9th Cir.2001), turn on a

public/private distinction, as Judge Kozinski’s dissent suggests. No

heightened scrutiny was given to the professor’s speech on account of

the fact that it had to do with a campus debate. Rather, the Orozco-

Santillan test was applied, and we concluded that even though there

was some violent content to his writings and cartoons, in the context of

the underground campus newspaper in which they appeared, they

would be perceived as hyperbole instead of as a serious expression of

intent to inflict bodily harm.

App. 104

threats cases were criminal actions against someone who

made a real threat directly to others, not political speech

as is the case here. It contrasts what it calls “a threat plus

context” present in United States v. Dinwiddie, 76 F.3d

913 (8th Cir.1996), and in other out-of-circuit cases,” with

the absence of a direct threat in this case. However, our

cases do not require that the maker of the threat person-

ally cause physical harm to the listener. In Orozco-

Santillan, we made it clear that the speaker did not need

to be able to carry out the threat. Likewise in Mitchell, the

speaker could not possibly have done so. In Gilbert, the

threatening letter mentions neither the intended victim

nor who would carry out the threat. No case to our knowl-

edge has imposed such a requirement,’ and we decline to

" It relies on United States v. Viefhaus, 168 F.3d 392 (10th Cir.1999)

(threat that bomb will be activated in 15 pre-selected major cities); United

States v. Schiefen, 139 F.3d 638 (8th Cir.1998) (personal letter sent to

judge); United States v. Khorrami, 895 F.2d 1186 (7th Cir.1990) (telephone

calls and wanted posters sent directly to Jewish National Fund stating

“death to the Fucking JNF”); United States v. Cooper, 865 F.2d 83 (4th

Cir.1989) (scoping out areas in Washington, D.C. to blow Rajiv Gandhi's

brains out); United States v. Kosma, 951 F.2d 549 (3d Cir.1991) (threat

that 21 guns are going to put bullets through President Reagan’s heart

and brain); United States v. Kelner, 534 F.2d 1020 (2d Cir.1976)

(statement over radio that people are trained who are out now and

intend to make sure that Arafat is assassinated); United States v. Sovie,

122 F.3d 122 (2d Cir.1997) (reiterating Second Circuit test that “true

threat” is one that “on its face and in the circumstances in which it is

made is so unequivocal, unconditional, immediate and specific as to the

person threatened, as to convey a gravity of purpose and imminent

prospect of execution”); United States v. Fulmer, 108 F.3d 1486 (1st

Cir.1997) (silver bullets are coming; considered in context, appeared to

be a threat).

To the contrary, in Viefhaus, for example, the threat consisted of

a hotline message from an unnamed person that violent acts would be

executed by unnamed persons. In Khorrami, the purveyor of a “Crimes

Against Humanity” poster made no statement that he would be the one

to implement the threat. And in United States v. Bellrichard, 994 F.2d

(Continued on following page)

App. 105

now. It is the making of the threat with intent to intimi-

date — not the implementation of it — that violates FACE.

We do not understand Dinwiddie to hold anything

different. Dinwiddie was also a civil suit under FACE.

Mrs. Dinwiddie made comments to Crist outside his clinic,

warning “Robert, remember Dr. Gunn ... This could

happen to you ... He is not in the world anymore. Who-

ever sheds man’s blood, by man his blood shall be shed.”

76 F.3d at 917. She also said: “[Y]ou have not seen violence

yet until you see what we do to you.” Jd. Writing for the

~ Eighth Circuit, Judge Richard S. Arnold explained that in

applying FACE’s prohibition on using “threats of force,”

courts or juries must differentiate between “true threats”

and protected speech. The alleged threat must be analyzed

in light of its entire factual context to determine whether

the recipient of the alleged threat could reasonably con-

clude that it expresses a determination or intent to injure

presently or in the future. As outlined in the opinion, the

Eighth Circuit considers a number of factors when decid-

ing whether statements constitute threats of force: the

reaction of the recipient and of other listeners, whether the

threat was communicated directly to its victim, whether the

maker of the threat had made similar statements to the

victim in the past, and whether the victim had reason to

believe that the maker had a propensity to engage in vio-

lence, but the list is not exhaustive and the presence or

absence of any of these things is not dispositive. Jd. at 925.

1318 (8th Cir.1993), letters warned that God or unnamed parties would

kill the addressees. The same is true of Kelner, where the court noted

that it was not necessary under § 875(c) (prescribing a communication

containing a threat) for the government to prove that Kelner had a

specific intent or a present ability to carry out his threat. 534 F.2d at

1023.

App. 106

(

The court concluded that although Mrs. Dinwiddie did not

specifically say to Dr. Crist, “I am going to injure you,” the

statements in context, and Crist’s reaction to them, show

that they were “threats of force” that “intimidated” Crist.

The court also noted that the fact that Mrs. Dinwiddie did

not specifically say to Crist that she would injure him does

not mean that her comments were not “threats of force.”

Id. at 925 n. 9. Accordingly, the court upheld an injunction

ordering Mrs. Dinwiddie to stop violating FACE (which, as

it pointed out, would have a de minimis effect on her

ability to express herself) and approved the injunction’s

nationwide scope.

ACLA also maintains that “context” means the direct

circumstances surrounding delivery of the threat, or

evidence sufficient to resolVe ambiguity in the words of the

statement — not two weeks of testimony as occurred here

in the district court. Otherwise, ACLA submits, FACE is

facially invalid. However, none of our cases has limited

“context” to explaining ambiguous words, or to delivery.

We, and so far as we can tell, other circuits as well, con-

sider the whole factual context and “all of the circum-

stances,” Merrill, 746 F.2d at 462, in order to determine

whether a statement is a true threat. ACLA points to

United States v. Kelner, 534 F.2d 1020 (2d Cir.1976), but

the Second Circuit’s view is not to the contrary, as we

noted in Lovell. Lovell, 90 F.3d at 372. The defendant in

Kelner, who threatened to assassinate Yasser Arafat

during a radio broadcast that also contained protected

political expression, argued that this insulated his threat

from prosecution; the court observed that this was not the

case “[s]o long as the threat. on its face and in the circum-

stances in which it is made is so unequivocal, uncondi-

tional, immediate and specific as to the person threatened,

App. 107

as to convey a gravity of purpose and imminent prospect of

execution.” Kelner, 534 F.2d at 1027. In Kelner as well as

in Lovell, the threatening statement was considered in

context to determine if it were a true threat or not. See

United States v. Malik, 16 F.3d 45, 50 (2d Cir.1994) (once

there is sufficient extrinsic evidence to show that an

ordinary and reasonable recipient would interpret letter as

threat, case should go to the jury).

Indeed, context is critical in a true t! eats case and

history can-give meaning to the medium. Use of Ryder

trucks — which the Eighth Circuit found to be a true threat

in United States v. Hart, 212 F.3d 1067 (8th Cir.2000) — is

an example that is strikingly similar to the use of

“wanted"-type posters in this case. Hart, who was a known

anti-abortion activist, parked two Ryder trucks in the

driveways of an abortion clinic. He was prosecuted and

convicted of violating FACE. The court held that Hart had

threatened the clinic to intimidate-it by using Ryder

trucks, because a Ryder truck had been used in the Okla-

homa City bombing of the Murrah Federal Building. Hart

knew the clinicians knew this and would fear for their

lives. Thus, use of the Ryder truck was a true threat. Like

the poster format here, the Ryder truck in Hart was a

symbol of something beyond the vehicle: there, a devastat-

ing bomb; in this case, murder.“

ACLA’s contention that allowing consideration of

context beyond the direct circumstances surrounding

delivery of the words themselves creates a facial invalidity

in FACE and the Hobbs Act is unavailing. Of the courts to

'* See also, e.g., United States v. Magleby, 241 F.3d 1306 (10th

Cir.2001) (cross burning).

App. 108

consider the constitutionality of threats statutes, including

the United States Supreme Court in Watts, all have

upheld constitutionality and ACLA points to none that has

disallowed consideration of context.” This makes sense,

because without context, a burning cross or dead rat mean

nothing. In any event, the requirement of intent to intimi-

. date cures whatever risk there might-be of overbreadth.

Nor does consideration of context amount to viewpoint

discrimination, as ACLA contends. ACLA’s theory appears

to be that because the posters did not contain any threat

on their face, the views of abortion foes are chilled more

than the views of abortion-right proponents because of the

random acts of violence committed by some people against

abortion providers. However, FACE itself is viewpoint

neutral. See, e.g., United States v. Weslin, 156 F.3d 292,

296-97 (2d Cir.1998); United States v. Wilson, 154 F.3d

658, 663 (7th Cir.1998) (“The Act punishes anyone who

engages in the prohibited conduct, irrespective of the

person’s viewpoint and does not target any message based

on content. “The Access Act thus does not play favorites: it

protects from violent or obstructive activity not only

abortion clinics, but facilities providing pre-pregnancy and

pregnancy counseling services, as well as facilities coun-

seling alternatives to abortion.’”) (quoting Terry v. Reno,

101 F.3d 1412, 1419 (D.C.Cir.1996)). Moreover, ACLA

could not be liable under FACE unless it made a true

threat with the intent to intimidate physicians. Thus it is

’ See, e.g., United States v. Weslin, 156 F.3d 292 (2d Cir.1998);

United States v. Wilson, 154 F.3d 658 (7th Cir.1998); United States v.

Bird, 124 F.3d 667 (5th Cir.1997); Hoffman v. Hunt, 126 F.3d 575 (4th

Cir.1997); Terry v. Reno, 101 F.3d 1412 (D.C.Cir.1996); United States v.

Soderna, 82 F.3d 1370 (7th Cir.1996); Dinwiddie, 76 F.3d 913; Cheffer v.

Reno, 55 F.3d 1517 (11th Cir.1995).

App. 109

making a threat to intimidate that makes ACLA’s conduct

unlawful, not its viewpoint.

Because of context, we conclude that the Crist and

Deadly Dozen posters are not just a political statement.

Even if the Gunn poster, which was the first “WANTED”

poster, was a purely political message when originally

issued, and even if the Britton poster were too, by the time

of the Crist poster, the poster format itself had acquired

currency as a death threat for abortion providers. Gunn

was killed after his poster was released; Britton was killed

after his poster was released; and Patterson was killed

after his poster was released. Knowing this, and knowing

the fear generated among those in the reproductive health

services community who were singled out for identification

on a “wanted”-type poster, ACLA deliberately identified

Crist on a “GUILTY” poster and intentionally put the

names of Hern and the Newhalls on the Deadly Dozen

“GUILTY” poster to intimidate them. This goes well

beyord the political message (regardless of what one

thinks of it) that abortionists are killers who deserve

death too.

The Nuremberg Files are somewhat different. Al-

though they name individuals, they name hundreds of

them. The avowed intent is “collecting dossiers on abor-

tionists in anticipation that one day we may be able to

hold them on trial for crimes against humanity.” The web

page states: “One of the great tragedies of the Nuremberg

trials of Nazis after WWII was that complete information

and documented evidence had not been collected so many

war criminals went free or were only found guilty of minor

crimes. We do not want the same thing to happen when

the day comes to charge abortionists with their crimes. We

anticipate the day when these people will be charged in

App. 110

PERFECTLY LEGAL COURTS once the tide of this

nation’s opinion turns against child-killing (as it surely

will).” However offensive or disturbing this might be to

those listed in the Files, being offensive and provocative is

protected under the First Amendment. But, in two critical

respects, the Files go further. In addition to listing judges,

politicians and law enforcement personnel, the Files

separately categorize “Abortionists” and list the names of

individuals who provide abortion services, including,

specifically, Crist, Hern, and both Newhalls. Also, names

of abortion providers who have been murdered because of

their activities are lined through in black, while names of

those who have been wounded are highlighted in grey. As a

result, we cannot say that it is clear as a matter of law

that listing Crist, Hern, and the Newhalls on both the

Nuremberg Files and the GUILTY posters is purely

protected, political expression.

Accordingly, whether the Crist Poster, the Deadly

Dozen poster, and the identification of Crist, Hern, Dr.

Elizabeth Newhall and Dr. James Newhall in the Nurem-

berg Files as well as on “wanted”-type posters, constituted

true threats was properly for the jury to decide.

C

ACLA next argues that the true threat instructions

require reversal because they permitted consideration of

motive, history of violence including the violent actions of

others, and the defendants’ subjective motives as part of

context. We have already explained why it is proper for the

whole factual context and all the circumstances bearing on a

threat to be considered. The court also instructed the jury to

consider evidence presented by the defense of non-violence

App. 111

and permissive exercise of free speech. That the contextual

facts may have included the violent actions of others does

not infect the instruction, because the issue is whether a

reasonable person should have foreseen that the Crist

Guilty Poster, the Deadly Dozen Poster, and the Nurem-

berg Files, would be interpreted as a serious threat of

harm by doctors who provide abortions and were identified

on them.

ACLA also contends that the district court employed

the wrong standard of intent, allowing the jury to find in

physicians’ favor regardless of ACLA’s subjective intent.

The court instructed: “A statement is a ‘true threat’ when

a reasonable person making the statement would foresee

that the statement would be interpreted by those to whom

it is communicated as a serious expression of an intent to

bodily harm or assault.” This language is taken from

Orozco-Santillan, 903 F.2d at 1265, is an accurate state-

ment of our law, and is faithful to the objective standard

we use for determining whether a statement is a true

threat. For reasons we have already explained, we decline

to read into FACE (or the Hobbs Act) a specific intent to

threaten violence or to commit unlawful acts in addition to

the intent to intimidate which the statute itself requires.

ACLA additionally faults the court for failing to

provide any standard of intent because the elements

instruction merely states that FACE is violated by “a

threat of force to intimidate or interfere with, or attempt

to intimidate or interfere with” physicians’ ability to

provide reproductive health services. As best we can tell,

this boils down to a complaint that the instruction did not

say “in order to” between “threat of force” and “to intimi-

date.” However, this is the plain import of the instruction.

App. 112

ACLA further suggests that the conspiracy instruc-

tion, combined with the “attempt to intimidate” instruc-

tion, could have resulted in liability for an “attempt to

threaten” without proof of an actual threat. We do not see

how, because the jury had to find a true threat before

reaching any other FACE or RICO issues. ACLA also

posits that the standard form instruction, “[ilf you find a

defendant was a member of a conspiracy, that defendant is

responsible for what other conspirators said or did to carry

out the conspiracy, whether or not that defendant knew

what they said or did,” had the effect in this case of violat-

ing the rule of Claiborne that one cannot be held account-

able for the speech of others by reason of mere association,

absent ratification or adoption of it. However, the jury was

instructed that a person does not become a conspirator

'" ACLA argues more broadly that no claim for conspiracy to

violate FACE exists, but we decline to consider the issue because it is

raised for the first time on appeal. Los Angeles News Serv. v. Reuters

Television Intl Ltd., 149 F.3d 987, 996 (9th Cir.1998). It had every

opportunity to assert this view in the district court before judgment,

having moved to dismiss, for summary judgment, and for judgment as a

matter of-law as well as having objected to proposed instructions (but

not on conspiracy). Failing to raise the issue until now, absent any

exceptional circumstances or change in the law, prejudices both the

plaintiffs and the process. Considerable time and resources were

devoted to litigating these claims to verdict. In any event, we cannot see

that substantial injustice occurred. FACE came into being in part

because of “organized,” “concerted” campaigns by “groups” to disrupt

access to reproductive health services, S.Rep. No. 103-117, at 6-7 (1993),

and the instruction effectively channeled the jury away from finding

defendants liable for mere association and instead required it to find

that each defendant threatened physicians intending to intimidate

them or willfully joined with others to do so. See Madsen v. Women’s

Health Center, Inc., 512 U.S. 753, 776, 114 S.Ct. 2516, 129 L.Ed.2d 593

(1994) (freedom of association protected by First Amendment does not

extend to joining with others for the purpose of depriving third parties

of their lawful rights).

App. 113

merely by associating with one or more persons who are

conspirators; rather, one becomes a member of a conspir-

acy by willfully participating in an unlawful plan with the

intent to advance or further some object or purpose of it.

There is no right to associate with others to engage in

activities that are unlawful and unprotected by the First

Amendment, as the making of true threats to intimidate

providers of reproductive health services is. Madsen, 512

U.S. at 776, 114 S.Ct. 2516 (upholding injunction restrain-

ing abortion protestors acting in concert with defendants).

The Seventh Circuit had occasion to consider (and reject) a

similar argument made by abortion protestors who had

been convicted of conspiring to violate FACE in United

States v. Wilson, 154 F.3d 658, 666-67 (7th Cir.1998). It

explained that the Supreme Court in Claiborne was

referring to individuals who were engaging in a peaceful

protest and thus were properly exercising their First

Amendment rights, whereas FACE is aimed at those who

themselves intend to intimidate and thereby deprive

others of their lawful rights. As in Wilson, we are not

persuaded that the instructions allowed any defendant in

this case to be found liable for threats to intimidate for

which he or she was not responsible. They either partici-

pated in making them, or agreed that they should be

made.

Finally, we note that the jury was instructed that

“lelven speech that is coercive may be protected if the

speaker refrains from violence or from making a true

threat. Moreover, the mere abstract teaching of the moral

propriety or even moral necessity for resort to force and

violence is protected speech under the First Amendment.”

It was reminded that “plaintiffs’ claims are based only on

the three statements I have listed for you,” and that it

App. 114

should determine the case as to each defendant and each

claim separately. Accordingly, the court did not abuse its

discretion in formulating the instructions, nor was the

jury incorrectly instructed as a matter of law on true

threats or the elements of FACE.”

D

ACLA joins in Treshman’s assertion that the court

erroneously admitted prejudicial evidence by permitting:

an FBI agent and two federal marshals to testify that the

FBI and the Justice Department considered ACLA’s two

posters to be “serious threats”; references to non-party

violence; introduction of defendants’ arrests; physicians’

counsel to tell the jury about Bray’s invocations of the

Fifth Amendment through a summary of his deposition;

references to actions of certain defendants and non-parties

on the abortion debate and to such things as the signing of

“Defensive Action petitions” by five or six of the individual

defendants; an exhibit with Rev. Sullivan’s hearsay opin-

ion that ACLA is a “cancer” which prolifers must “cut out

immediately” before it “destroys the pro-life movement” to

” ACLA cites other errors in the Hobbs Act and RICO instructions

but offers no authority in support. Neither does it indicate that any

objection on these issues was preserved. Its argument on appeal is not

developed. In any event, the instructions appear to track model

instructions and are not obviously wrong. For these reasons, we do not

discuss these challenges and summarily reject them.

ACLA also contends that the court compromised its right to a fair

trial by telling the-jury that the United States Supreme Court has

declared that women have a constitutional right to abortion, and no one

is permitted to violate the law because of their views about abortion. It

objected on the ground that the charge was “death to us” but makes no

substantial argument on appeal why there was reversible error on this

account. We summarily reject this argument as well.

App. 115

remain in the exhibit books; and by permitting deposition

summaries to be introduced. ACLA recognizes that eviden-

tiary rulings are normally reviewed for an abuse of discre-

tion, but argues that in cases raising First Amendment

issues appellate courts must independently examine the

record for evidentiary errors which penalize political

speech or allow “a forbidden intrusion on the field of free

expression.” Milkovich v. Lorain Journal Co., 497 U.S. 1,

17, 110 S.Ct. 2695, 111 L.Ed.2d 1 (1990) (citation omitted).

We decline ACLA’s invitation to review evidentiary rulings

de novo. No case of which we are aware suggests that the

obligation to examine the record independently extends so

far. Nor do we believe that appellate judges should retry

cases, as ACLA’s proposal would have us do. Accordingly,

we review the district court’s evidentiary rulings in this

case, as we do evidentiary rulings in all cases, for abuse of

discretion. None appears.

Testimony about the law enforcement officers’ re-

sponse to the Crist and Deadly Dozen “GUILTY” posters

had some tendency to show the physicians’ state of mind

when they found out they were named on “wanted”-type

posters, as well as to show the knowledge and intent of

ACLA in distributing the posters regardless of the reaction

they precipitated. Both are non-hearsay purposes. No

testimony was allowed about what officers thought the

posters meant. That FBI agents and United States Mar-

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — American Coalition of Life Activists v. Planned Parenthood of the Columbia/Willamette, Inc. (No. 05-1083) | Frix