Opposition Brief — Leavitt v. Baystate Health Health Systems Systems (No. 05-936)

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

2

COUNTERSTATEMENT

1. The Medicare Reopening Regulation. In addition

to the vertical appeal process established under 42 U.S.C.

§ 139500 (Pet. 2-3) for review of Medicare payment deter-

minations, the Secretary’s regulations provide for horizontal

review of payment determinations through reopening. See 42

C.F.R. § 405.1885. The reopening regulations provide for

both discretionary and mandatory reopening. Section

405.1885(a), the subsection governing discretionary reopen-

ing, provides that a payment determination “may” be re-

opened within a three-year window upon request of a pro-

vider or upon the motion of the Secretary’s contractor, the

fiscal intermediary. See Pet. 2-3. A decision denying a

request for discretionary reopening under subsection (a) is

not subject to review. Your Home Visiting Nurse Servs., Inc.

v. Shalala, 525 U.S. 449, 452-57 (1999).

This case is about mandatory reopening under 42 C.F.R.

§ 405.1885(b). As it existed at the relevant time—in 1997—

subsection (b) directed that a payment determination “shal/

be reopened and revised * * * within the aforementioned 3-

year period,” if “HCFA [now the Centers for Medicare and

Medicaid Services (“CCMS”)] notifies the intermediary that

such determination is inconsistent with applicable law,

regulations, or general instructions issued by [CMS] in

accordance with the Secretary’s agreement with the interme-

diary.” 42 C.F.R. § 405.1885(b). A notice of inconsistency

with law triggers a mandatory, automatic duty to reopen.

Monmouth, App. 45a. See also Bartlett Mem. Med. Ctr. v.

Thompson, 347 F.3d 828, 837-38 (10th Cir. 2003). When-

ever a Medicare payment determination is reopened, and

regardless of whether reopening was effected under subsec-

tion (a) or (b), the determination is not “final and binding” as

to the matters at issue in the reopening. See 42 C.F.R.

§§ 405.1807, 405.1885, 405.1889.

3

In 2002, the Secretary amended subsection (b) in response

to the D.C. Circuit’s decision construing that regulation in

Monmouth (discussed below), and the decision of a district

court that had foliowed Monmouth. 67 Fed. Reg. 49,982

(Aug. 1, 2002). As amended, the regulation now requires, in

addition to the notice of inconsistency, an explicit direction

by the agency “to reopen and revise the intermediary deter-

mination.” /d. at 50,110.

2. The Medicare Payment Adjustment For A Dis-

proportionate Share Hospital. For most hospitals,

the Medicare payment for the operating costs of inpatient

hospital services is based on preset, standardized rates per

discharge, subject to certain adjustments. See 42 U.S.C.

§ 1395ww(d); Baystate, App. 3a. One of the payment

adjustments is the “disproportionate share hospital”

(or ““DSH”) adjustment, which is a percentage add-on to

the standardized rates paid to hospitals that serve a dispropor-

tionate share of low-income patients. 42 U.S.C.

§ 1395ww(d)(5)(F); 42 C.F.R. § 412.106; Baystate, App. 3a.”

2 During the years following congressional authorization of the

DSH payment in 1983, Congress repeatedly expressed concems

about the Secretary’s lack of effort to define a DSH and the

agency’s failure to implement the DSH adjustment “in any

meaningful way.” See H.R. Rep. No. 99-241, at 16 (1986),

reprinted in 1986 U.S.C.C.A.N. 579, 594; see also H.R. Conf.

Rep. No. 98-861, at 1356 (1984), reprinted in 1984 U.S.C.C_A.N.

1445, 2044. Since then, several courts likewise have commented

on the agency's apparent hostility toward the DSH adjustment.

See Portland Adventist Med. Ctr. v. Thompson, 399 F.3d 1091,

1099 (9th Cir 2005) (“This appears to be the latest in a series of

cases in which the Secretary has refused to implement the DSH

provision in conformity with the intent behind the statute.”); Clark

Reg'l Med. Ctr. v. United States Dep't of Health & Human Servs.,

314 F.3d 241, 249 (6th Cir. 2002) (“{T]he Department cannot

simply interpret the [DSH] regulation so as to always disadvantage

the subject hospital.”); Jewish Hosp., Inc. v. Sec’y of Health &

Human Servs., 19 F.3d 270, 276 (6th Cir. 1994) (noting “credible

4

Under the statutory criteria in effect during the periods at

issue here, a hospital’s qualification for a DSH adjustment

and the amount of that adjustment generally are based on the

hospital’s “disproportionate patient percentage.” That

percentage is defined as the sum of two fractions that func-

tion as proxies for inpatient hospital utilization by low-

income individuals. 42 U.S.C. §§ 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(v), (vi).

This case concerns the composition of the numerator of one

of those fractions, the so-called “Medicaid fraction.” As

defined in the Medicare Act, the numerator of a hospital’s

Medicaid fraction for a fiscal year consists of:

[T]he number of the hospital’s patient days for such pe-

nod which consists of patients who (for such days) were

eligible for medical assistance under a State plan ap-

proved under [the Medicaid statute], but who were not

entitled to benefits under part A of [the Medicare statute].

42 U.S.C. § 1395ww(d)(5)(F)(vi)(II) (emphasis added).

3. The Secretary’s Invalid DSH Rule. From the start,

the Secretary’s regulations were at odds with the statutory

definition of the Medicaid fraction. While the statute counts

all days attributable to patients who were “eligible” for

Medicaid but not “entitled” to Medicare benefits, from 1986

through 1997, the Secretary’s DSH _ regulation literally

substituted “entitled” for “eligible.” See 42 C.F.R. §

412.106(b)(4) (1997) (defining the numerator of the Medi-

caid fraction to consist of days attributable to patients who

were “entitled to Medicaid but not to Medicare part A’).

Under this regulation, the Secretary allowed hospitals to

count only those days for which a Medicaid-eligible patient

was entitled to have Medicaid payment made on his or her

behalf. See 51 Fed. Reg. 16,772, 16,788 (May 6, 1986); 51

Fed. Reg. 31,454, 31,460 (Sept. 3, 1986). The effect of the

and compelling” evidence of the agency’s “hostil[ity] to the

concept of the disproportionate share adjustment’’).

5

Secretary’s restrictive interpretation of the DSH statute was

to reduce DSH payments to hospitals, in that a hospital might

not be paid by Medicaid for some portion of a Medicaid-

eligible patient’s stay for any number of reasons having

nothing to do with the patient’s low-income status or eligibil-

ity for Medicaid.3

Between 1994 and 1996, all four of the federal circuit

courts that considered the Secretary’s DSH rule invalidated

it, holding that the regulation was inconsistent with the plain

meaning of the DSH statute because it conflated eligibility

and entitlement.4 See Cabell Huntington Hosp. v. Shalala,

101 F.3d 984, 990 (4th Cir. 1996) (characterizing the Secre-

tary’s regulation as an attempt to “rewrite the wil! of Con-

gress’’ by an agency that has been “hostile from the start to

the very idea of making the payments at issue”). The

Secretary did not seek Supreme Court review of any of the

adverse circuit court decisions; nor did his interpretation

prevail in any other case.

4. Ruling 97-2. On February 27, 1997, the Secretary

issued Ruling 97-2. App. 49a. In that Ruling, issued

3 For example, because Medicaid is the “payer of last resort,”

New York State Dep't of Social Servs. v. Bowen, 846 F.2d 129, 133

(2d Cir. 1988), a Medicaid-eligible patient is not entitled to have

Medicaid payment made if some other person is liable for medical

expenses.

4 See Cabell Huntington Hosp. v. Shalala, 101 F.3d 984 (4th

Cir. 1996); Legacy Emanuel Hosp. & Health Ctr. v. Shalala, 97

F.3d 1261 (9th Cir. 1996); Deaconness Health Servs. Corp. v.

Shalala, 83 F.3d 1041 (8th Cir. 1996) (per curiam); Jevs4 Hosp.,

Inc. v. Sec'y of Health & Human Servs., 19 F.3d 270 (6th Cir.

1994).

5 The version of Ruling 97-2 appended to the petition,

App. 49a, is incorrect. It omits language in the official ver-

sion regarding the binding nature of CMS rulings on

al! components of the agency. A complete version of Rul-

6

without notice and comment, the agency changed its DSH

rule. While insisting that the agency believed that its prior

DSH rule was “permissible,” the agency conceded that it “is

contrary to the applicable law in four judicial circuits.” /d. at

Sia. The Ruling announced the agency’s determination “to

follow the holdings” of the circuit courts and to count all

Medicaid-eligible days in the Medicaid fraction, regardless of

whether the patient was actually entitled to have Medicaid

payment made for those days. /d. at 50a-52a.°

5. The Retroactive Effect of the Ruling. In Ruling 97-

2, the Secretary stated that the agency would count all

Medicaid-eligible days “on a prospective basis.” Jd. at Sla.

That characterization is not entirely accurate. The Ruling

was effective for “hospital cost reports that are settled by

fiscal intermediaries on or after the effective date of this

ruling”—which necessarily included cost reports for prior

years. For example, Ruling 97-2 applied by its terms to a

determination issued after February 1997 with respect to a

hospital cost report filed in 1996 for a fiscal period ending in

1995.

Ruling 97-2 therefore established a new substantive rule for

determining payments made for prior fiscal periods—the

hallmark of a retroactive rule. See Bowen v. Georgetown

ing 97-2 is published on the agency’s website at

http://www.cms.hhs.gov/Rulings/downloads/hcfar972.pdf.

© In 1998, the Secretary amended the DSH regulation to con-

form it to Ruling 97-2. In the accompanying preamble, the

Secretary confirmed that the Ruling had been issued to “acqui-

esce[] in the four adverse appellate court decisions,” 63 Fed. Reg.

25,576, 25,594 (May 8, 1998), and to “change[] the agency’s

statutory construction to comport with those decisions,” see id. and

63 Fed. Reg. 40,954, 40,985 (July 31, 1998). The new regulations,

in turn, were “intended simply to conform the regulations to

HCFA Ruling 97-2 (and hence to the four adverse court deci-

sions).” 63 Fed. Reg. at 40,985.

7

Univ. Hosp., 488 U.S. 204 (1988) (Secretary lacks authority

to promulgate a new rule for determining payments to

hospitals for prior years). The Ruling expressly forbade

reopening of prior DSH payment determinations, however,

App. 52a, regardless of whether such determinations were

within the three-year reopening window when the Ruling

issued.

6. Monmouth. \n Monmouth, App. 31a, the D.C. Cir-

cuit unanimously ruled that mandamus should issue to

compel the Secretary to reopen DSH determinations rendered

within the three-year reopening period that preceded Ruling

97-2. The court of appeals explained that, by issuing the

Ruling without invoking notice and comment rulemaking

procedures, the Secretary had given notice that prior DSH

determinations rendered under the agency’s original interpre-

tation of the statute were “inconsistent with law,” as deter-

mined by all four circuits that had considered the matter. The

Secretary’s notice of inconsistency with law triggered a

mandatory and “automatic” duty to reopen the pnor DSH

determinations under subsection (b) of the Secretary’s

reopening regulations. App. 41a, 45a. The Secretary’s

directive in Ruling 97-2 that no reopenings occur therefore

was a “nullity” in light of the clear legal duty that arose under

his own reopening regulations. /d. at 43a-45a (citing, inter

alia, Dixon v. United States, 381 U.S. 68, 74 (1965)).

The Secretary petitioned the court of appeals to rehear the

case en banc. That petition was denied with no votes in favor

of it, and the Secretary did not seek certiorari.

7. Baystate. Respondents are 26 public and private non-

profit hospitals that sued the Secretary in March 2002,

approximately eight months after the D.C. Circuit decided

Monmouth. They sought relief in the nature of mandamus

compelling the Secretary to reopen DSH payment determina-

tions that were issued within the three-year reopening win-

dow preceding Ruling 97-2, on grounds that, under Mon-

8

mouth, the Ruling triggered mandatory and automatic

reopening under subsection (b).’

The district court granted the hospitals’ motion for sum-

mary judgment. App. 12a. A unanimous panel of the D.C.

Circuit affirmed, App. 1a, concluding that the hospitals were

not required to request discretionary reopening under Section

405.1885(a) in order to qualify for mandatory reopening

under Section 405.1885(b), and that the district court acted

within its discretion in balancing the equities on mandamus

in favor of the hospitals. App. 7a-lla. The Secretary

petitioned for rehearing en banc. That petition garnered no

votes and was denied. The court of appeals later denied the

Secretary’s motion to stay the mandate.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The Secretary’s petition belies his assertion that this case

presents an important federal question warranting this

Court’s attention. Baystate itself poses no such question, as

is evident both from the Secretary’s Question Presented

(which identifies no issues of any broad significance) and

from the text of the petition itself, the bulk of which consists

of a diffuse complaint about no fewer than three unanimous

decisions of the D.C. Circuit. Indeed, the Secretary’s petition

amounts to a generic appeal from the adverse decisions

below. But this Court sits to settle important questions of

federal law, not as an additional appellate option for disap-

pointed litigants.

The writ should be denied for the following reasons:

1. The petition does not urge that the court of appeals’

decision on the narrow question presented in this case—

whether the mandatory duty to reopen under subsection

? By agreement of the parties and the district court, Baystate is

the lead case among approximately 250 similar cases, consolidated

and presently stayed below.

9

(b) should be enforced in the absence of a request for discre-

tionary reopening under subsection (a}—is sufficiently

important to warrant further review. Indeed, that aspect of

the decision is not in conflict with the decision of any court.

2. The prior D.C. Circuit decisions the petition chal-

lenges similarly do not warrant review. The asserted “circuit

split” between Monmouth and Bartlett is shallow and stale.

It is shallow because the split is alleged on a narrow issue in

which just two circuits—one of them by a 2-1 vote—have

disagreed. And it is stale because the issue in both cases

turned on the particular reopening regulation in effect when

the Ruling issued in 1997. That regulation was unique in the

entire Code of Federal Regulations, and the Secretary has

since amended it to resolve the split he complains about here.

3. The petition also alleges a “conflict” between the

D.C. Circuit’s decision nine years ago in Paralyzed Veterans

and two decisions of the First and Ninth Circuits (Pet. 25).

That “conflict” is not presented in Baystate; certiorari should

not be granted to address an issue not presented in this case.

Nor, for that matter, is the asserted conflict a genuine one.

Paralyzed Veterans and the decisions the Secretary contends

are in tension with it all are consistent with this Court’s

precedent. See Shalala v. Guernsey Mem. Hosp., 514 U.S.

87, 100 (1995).

4. The Secretary does not directly challenge the D.C.

Circuit’s holding that the district court acted within its

discretion in finding that the equities in this case weigh in

favor of the hospitals. App. 9a-lla. He does offer seif-

serving allegations about the administrative and financial

impact of this case on his agency, Pet. 27-30, but those

allegations do not support granting certiorari. The petition’s

representations about the potential impact of the decision are

both newly revised from representations previously made and

do not square with statements made since: In his most recent

filing with the district court, the Secretary refused to engage

10

in what he characterized as “rank speculation” about the

impact of the court of appeals’ decision in Baystate.®

5. The D.C. Circuit’s decisions in Monmouth and Bay-

state are correct. Crediting the Secretary’s actions over the

self-serving statements in Ruling 97-2, the court of appeals in

Monmouth properly compelled the agency, consistent with

this Court’s decisions in Morton v. Ruiz, 415 U.S. 199

(1974), and United States ex rel. Accardi v. Shaughnessy,

347 U.S. 260 (1954), to perform the mandatory reopening

duty that arose under the Secretary’s own rules. In addition,

consistent with this Court’s decisions in Bethesda Hospital

Association v. Bowen, 485 U.S. 399 (1988), and Shalala v.

Illinois Council on Long Term Care, Inc., 529 U.S. 1 (2000),

the court of appeals in Baystate did not require the hospitals

to pursue unavailable, futile, and unnecessary administrative

remedies before suing to vindicate their right to mandatory

reopening.

I. THE PETITION IDENTIFIES NO

SIGNIFICANT CONFLICT WITH THE

DECISIONS OF OTHER CIRCUITS.

1. Baystate presents no circuit conflict. Having ruled in

Monmouth that Ruling 97-2 gave notice of inconsistency

with law, triggering the mandatory reopening duty under

subsection (b), the court of appeals held in Baystate that the

obligation to reopen may be enforced against the Secretary

even if the hospitals did not timely request discretionary

reopening under subsection (a).? The court’s decision on this

8 Defendant’s Reply in Further Support of Motion to * 2y

Proceedings, at 9, Misc. No. 03-0090 (D.D.C. Feb. 16, 2006).

9 This holding is not a “dramatic extension” of Monmouth. See

Pet. 9. Monmouth had already held that the reopening guaranteed

by subsection (b) was mandatory and “automatic” upon issuance

of a notice of inconsistency with law. App. 41a, 45a. In light of

that, the holding in Baystate that there was nothing the hospitals

had to do to perfect their reopening right is hardly surprising. See

1]

narrow question does not conflict with any decision of any

other court, including the Tenth Circuit. While the Secretary

generally complains that Baystate was wrong, he quite

properly does not assert that this aspect of the decision-—the

only new issue preseated in Baystate—warrants this Court’s

attention. See Pet. 22-30.

2. The conflict about which the Secretary complains is

instead between the portion of Baystate that relies on the

prior unanimous decision in Monmouth, and the Tenth

Circuit’s split panel decision in Bartlett. That shallow split

does not raise any important question of federal law.

To begin with, the underlying conflict between Monmouth

and Bartlett, such as it is, does not relate to whether manda-

mus jurisdiction is available or to the requirements for

mandamus relief. Nor is there any conflict between Mon-

mouth and the Bartlett majority over whether subsection (b)

requires reopening upon issuance of the requisite notice of

inconsistency with law. Both courts agree that it does.

Monmouth and Bartlett part ways only on the narrow ques-

tion whether Ruling 97-2 in fact gave notice of inconsistency

with law and whether subsection (b) required specific intent

on the Secretary’s part to compel reopening when the notice

was issued. See Bartlett, 347 F.3d at 839 (rejecting Mon-

Baystate, App. 8a. After the panel decision in Menmouth, more-

over, the Secretary plainly was not operating on the assumption

that it would take a “dramatic extension” of that decision to visit

substantial liability on the agency. In fact, the Secretary’s unsuc-

cessful petition for rehearing en banc in Monmouth included the

assertion that the impact of that decision “could total as much as

$3.25 billion.” Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehear-

ing En Banc, at 3, Nos. 00-5109 & 00-5110 (D.C. Cir. Sept. 10,

2001). The Secretary’s failure to seek certiorari then, when the

agency was estimating an even greater impact than what it fore-

casts now (see Part III, infra), belies the Secretary’s assertion that

the Monmouth decision is sufficiently important to warrant review

on certiorari now.

12

mouth “because it makes assumptions about the premises and

intended effect of Ruling 97-2 that do not comport with fact

or with the clear intention of the Secretary”) (emphasis

added). That narrow disagreement does not warrant review

by this Court. S. Ct. Rule 10; cf United States v. Johnston,

268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925) (this Court “dofes] not grant a

certiorari to review evidence and discuss specific facts”’).

Whatever difference there is between the Tenth and D.C.

Circuit panels over the 1997 version of subsection (b) also

has little, if any, continuing significance. _ The Secretary

amended his reopening regulation in 2002; since then, a

notice of inconsistency with law will only trigger reopening

in the Medicare context if it is accompanied by an express

direction to reopen from the Secretary. Compare 42 C.F.R.

§ 405.1885(b) (1997) with 42 C.F.R. § 405.1885(b) (2002).

The Secretary thus has resolved the Monmouth/Bartlett split

himself, ensuring that Monmouth and Baystate will not

require reopening with respect to Medicare notices issued

after 2002. '° Nor is the issue likely to recur in other con-

texts; the Secretary cites no other regulation anywhere in the

Code of Federal Regulations (and respondents are unaware of

any) that operates as subsection (b) once did—to compel

reopening solely upon the issuance of a notice of inconsis-

tency with law.

3. The next “conflict” the Secretary alleges is between a

statement in the D.C. Circuit’s 1997 decision in Paralyzed

Veterans and two later decisions of the First and Ninth

Circuits (in 1998 and 2004, respectively). There is no

genuine conflict here, either. First of all, the statement with

10 The “additional mandamus litigation” that the Secretary

identifies (Pet. 29-30) relates to other agency actions preceding his

2002 amendments to the reopening rules. “{T]he Secretary believes

that the 2002 amendments to the reopening rule should prevent

future mandamus actions to force reopening in cases governed by

the amended rule.” Pet. 27.

13

which the Secretary takes issue was, the Secretary concedes,

“dictum” in Paralyzed Veterans, only “later elevated * * * to

a holding” in Alaska Professional Hunters v. FAA, 177 F.3d

1030 (D.C. Cir. 1999). See Pet. 24 n.5. Second, certiorari

was sought in Paralyzed Veterans and was denied. 523 U.S.

1003 (1998). And third, the later First and Ninth Circuit

decisions allegedly in “conflict” with Paralyzed Veterans

both endorse the proposition, stated in that case and in the

earlier case of American Mining Congress v. Mine Safety and

Health Administration, 995 F.2d 1106, 1112 (D.C. Cir.

1993), that interpretive rules that effectively change agency

regulations require notice and comment rulemaking. See

Erringer v. Thompson, 371 F.3d 625, 632 (9th Cir. 2004)

(applying the principle that a rule is legislative and therefore

requires notice and comment rulemaking if it is inconsistent

with another rule having the force of law); Warder v. Sha-

lala, 149 F.3d 73, 80-81 (lst Cir. 1998) (same).'' That

proposition is entirely consistent with this Court’s opinion in

Guernsey Memorial Hospital, 514 U.S. at 100. And it is that

settled principle that applies here—effective amendment of a

substantive rule by an interpretive rule—not just amendment

of one interpretive rule by another, which is the narrow

application of Paralyzed Veterans that the Secretary chal-

lenges. Pet. 25. See infra at 25-27.

For that reason, this is not the case to address Paralyzed

Veterans, even if there were a question worth addressing. In

light of Guernsey, Paralyzed Veterans is not needed to

support Monmouth's holding regarding the operative effect

of Ruling 97-2. The D.C. and Tenth Circuits in any event did

not split over Paralyzed Veterans in Monmouth and Bartlett.

And most important, Paralyzed Veterans is not at all relevant

to Baystate’s narrow holding. Any conflict between Para-

'!_ The Secretary does not challenge Monmouth’s observation

(App. 44a) that the codified DSH regulation that Ruling 97-2

changed was indeed a “legislative rule.”

14

lyzed Veterans and the decisions of other circuits is best left

to be addressed in a-case in which the challenged principle

stated in Paralyzed Veterans is actually at issue. Cf The

Monrosa v. Carbon Black Export. Inc., 359 U.S. 180 (1959)

(Court was compelled to dismiss a writ of certiorari as

improvidently granted when the question presented in the

petition tu. aed out not to be presented in the case).

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ DECISIONS

ARE CONSISTENT WITH THE DECISIONS

OF THIS COURT.

1. The Secretary argues that Monmouth and Baystate

undermine important administrative interests in finality, in

conflict with decisions of this Court. Pet. 21-22 (citing Your

Home, 525 U.S. 449, Pittston Coal Group v. Sebben, 488

U.S. 105 (1988), and JCC v. Brotherhood of Locomotive

Engineers, 482 U.S. 270 (1987)). That is not correct; Mon-

mouth and Baystate are fully consistent with this Court’s

decisions regarding finality.

The cases the Secretary cites are demonstrably inapposite.

Respondents are not trying to secure judicial review of an

agency’s refusal to grant a request for discretionary reopen-

ing, as was the case in Locomotive Engineers and Your

Home. Nor are the hospitals trying to pursue an unauthorized

further review of a determination the agency is under no

obligation to reopen again, as was the case in Sebben, 488

U.S. at 110, 121-22. Rather, respondents brought this action

to vindicate their right to the mandatory reopening required

by the Secretary’s own regulations upon a notice of inconsis-

tency. Monmouth and Baystate are predicated on the notice

of inconsistency with law the Secretary gave when he issued

Ruling 97-2 and the sui generis reopening regulation in effect

when that notice was given.

In view of the plain meaning of subsection (b) of the Secre-

tary’s 1997 reopening regulation, the rest of what the Secre-

tary has to say about the importance of “finality” is beside

15

the point. And, as there appears to be no other federal

regulation that operates as subsection (b) once did, the D.C.

Circuit’s decisions in Monmouth and in this case could not

possibly have any “chilling” effect on any agency’s decision

to acquiesce in judicial decisions in the future, as the Secre-

tary suggests.

2. The D.C. Circuit also acted consistent with this

Court’s precedents when it properly compelled the Secretary

to follow his own rules. The Secretary suggests that Mon-

mouth and Baystate are “in tension” with this Court’s deci-

sions in Your Home and Thomas Jefferson University v.

Shalala, 512 U.S. 504 (1994). According to the petition, the

agency was under no obligation to issue a notice of inconsis-

tency with law, and the court of appeals therefore should

have deferred to the Secretary’s statement in Ruling 97-2 that

‘his “acquiescence” was “prospective.” Pet. 13-17. But the

question in Monmouth was not whether the Secretary was

required to give notice; it was whether he did give notice and

what obligations follow from that act.

The D.C. Circuit correctly determined in Monmouth that

whatever else the Secretary may have said when he issued

the 1997 Ruling, his determination to follow the holdings of

the four circuit courts that ruled the prior DSH rule invalid,

together with the manner in which he effected that acquies-

cence, in fact gave notice of inconsistency and thereby

triggered a mandatory duty to reopen under Section

405.1885(b). This Court’s precedents do not require or

permit -the lower courts to privilege an agency’s contradic-

tory and self-serving pronouncements over the clear dictates

of its regulations. “[I}t is incumbent upon agencies to follow

their own procedures * * * even where the internal proce-

dures are possibly more rigorous than otherwise would be

required.” Morton v. Ruiz, 415 U.S. 199, 235 (1974). See

Accardi, 347 U.S. at 267-68 (requiring agency adjudicative

board to exercise its own d‘scretion as required by regulation,

16

despite contrary direction by Attorney General as head of the

agency).

The Secretary also expresses the view that his acquiescence

in Ruling 97-2 put the agency in a worse position than it

would have been in had it continued to litigate the validity of

the original DSH rule after its first four appellate losses.

That lament is difficult to credit, for it again amounts to

nothing more than a complaint about the requirements of the

Secretary's own rules. See United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S.

683, 696 (1974) (so long as a “regulation remains in force,

the Executive Branch is bound by it, and indeed the United

States as the sovereign composed of the three branches is

bound to respect and to enforce it”). !2

3. Monmouth and Baystate are also fully consistent with

this Court’s decisions excusing exhaustion of unavailable or

futile administrative remedies. The Secretary therefore is

incorrect in contending that the decisions ran afoul of Heck-

ler v. Ringer, 466 U.S. 602 (1984), because the hospitals had

not pursued appeals prior to Ruling 97-2 and had not re-

quested discretionary reopening under Section 405.1885(a).!3

12 The Secretary’s revocation of his unlawful regulation came

too late, in any event, for thousands of other prior erroneous DSH

deterrninations that were final and beyond the three-year reach of

any reopening by the time the Ruling issued.

13 The Secretary also complains that the hospitals waited five

years after Ruling 97-2 to seek relief in district court. Pet. 20.

However, the hospitals sued only eight months after Monmouth

made clear that the hospitals did indeed have a cause of action for

reopening, despite the Ruling’s express bar to reopening. The

hospitals acted within the applicable statute of limitations, and the

Secretary does not challenge the D.C. Circuit’s finding that the

Secretary suffered no prejudice from the hospitals’ alleged

“delay.” Baystate, App. 9a

17

in the first place, it is irrelevant whether the hospitals in

Monmouth and in this case took direct appeals from DSH

payment determinations issued before Ruling 97-2. As in

Monmouth, the hospitals in this case seek to compel reopen-

ing of their payment determinations under a separate regula-

tory mechanism. The question is not whether the hospitals

did all they could to “vindicate their claims to payment,” Pet.

13, but rather, as Monmouth properly framed it, “whether

[the hospitals] have done all they can to vind»cate their right

to reopening.” Monmouth, App. 45a (emphasis added)

(quoted with approval in Bartlett, 347 F.3d at 837).

The only reopening that a hospital has any role in initiating

is discretionary reopening under subsection (a), Pet. 14, and

as the D.C. Circuit correctly concluded in both Monmouth

and this case, that avenue was foreclosed before and after

Ruling 97-2. App. 35a. Before the Ruling, the applicable

DSH regulation prohibited intermediaries from counting

Medicaid-eligible days in the DSH payment calculation

unless the patient was also entitled to Medicaid payment.

After that rule was revoked, the Ruling itself expressly

forbade the Secretary’s intermediaries from granting provider

requests for reopening. Pet. 5,9. See 42 C.F.R. § 401.108.

As the Secretary properly conceded below, the Medicare

“intermediaries were not at liberty to ignore this bar even if

they believed the ruling amounted to a notice of inconsis-

tency.” Baystate, App. 8a. Moreover, following the Court’s

decision in Your Home, 525 U.S. 449, hospitals have no right

to administrative review of an intermediary’s refusal to grant

a request for discretionary reopening under subsection (a).

The Secretary nevertheless argues that the Baystate hospi-

tals should have sought discretionary subsection (a) reopen-

ing anyway, if for no o*>er reason than to “at least claim an

equitable tochold to invoke mandamus.” Pet. 20. Whatever

that means, it is not the law. Exhaustion principles do not

require hospitals to make futile requests for reopening before

they can bring suit to compel reopening. See Bethesda Hosp.

18

Ass'n, 485 U.S. at 404 (hospitals are not required to request

that their intermediaries grant relief proscribed by the Secre-

tary’s rules).!4

The question that matters in this case is what the Secre-

tary’s own rules required the agency to do in a mandatory

subsection (b) reopening. Subsection (b) reopenings occur

automatically upon the Secretary’s notice of inconsistency.

Under the Secretary’s reopening regulations, there is nothing

the provider must do to secure mandatory reopening; indeed,

there is nothing the provider can do. The D.C. Circuit

correctly concluded as much in Baystate when it found that

the respondent hospitals did not first need to request discre-

tionary reopening under subsection (a) before compelling

mandatory reopening under subsection (b).

14 The Secretary also suggests that, futile as it would have been,

the hospitals nonetheless should have requested reopening in order

to satisfy the “presentment” requirement of 42 U.S.C. § 405(g).

Pet. 20. Presentment, however, is a prerequisite only for the

statutory judicial review that follows a final determination by the

Secretary on a claim for benefits, after the administrative hearing

provided for under the Medicare Act. See Ringer, 466 U.S. at 617

(“[T]he exhaustion requirement of § 405(g) consists of a nonwaiv-

able requirement that a ‘claim for benefits shall have been pre-

sented to the Secretary’”) (quoting Mathews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S.

319, 328 (1976)). This, of-course, is not such a claim; this is a

mandamus action to compel reopening required by the Secretary’s

regulations and unlawfully withheld. Cf Shalala v. Illinois

Council on Long Term Care, Inc., 529 U.S. 1, 19 (2000) (noting an

exception to the statutory preclusion of federal question jurisdic-

tion over claims arising under the Medicare Act when there is no

available administrative remedy for vindication of the right

plaintiffs seek to secure).

19

fil. THE SECRETARY’S UNSUPPORTED

ALLEGATIONS CONCERNING THE

FINANCIAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE

IMPLICATIONS OF THIS CASE PROVIDE

NO BASIS FOR CERTIORARI.

1. The lower courts rejected the Secretary’s argument

that the economic impact of an adverse decision in Baystate

counseled against mandamus relief, and those discretionary

rulings go unchallenged even now. See Pet. 29. Yet the

petition asserts, post hoc and without citation to any evidence

in the record, that the decision in this case warrants review

because it might possibly result in liability of $2.8 billion and

may impose administrative burdens on the agency and its

fiscal intermediaries. Pet. 27. The various figures the

Secretary cites for support were not presented to the district

court or the court of appeals. Respondents object to each

such assertion pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 15.2.

2. The Secretary’s self-described “speculation” about

Baystate’s possible financial impact also has been inconsis-

tent, to say the least. When the Secretary petitioned for en

banc review of the panel’s decision in Monmouth, he said at

the time that the impact of that decision “could total as much

as $3.25 billion.” !5 He later told the district court in Baystate

that relief should not be granted because there is “‘no guaran-

tee that the end result would necessarily produce any finan-

cial benefit to the hospital.”'® In the court of appeals, this

“zero liability” estimate grew to $1 billion, App. Ila, and

15 Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En

Banc, at 3, Nos. 00-5109 & 00-5110 (D.C. Cir. Sept. 10, 2001).

16 Defendant’s Memorandum in Support of His Motion to

Dismiss, at 15-16, No. 02-00601 (D.D.C. july 30, 2002) (emphasis

added).

20

then to “at least $1.5 billion” by the time the Secretary sought

rehearing. !7

Since last August, the Secretary has nearly doubled that

estimate in service of his arguments for certiorari, offering

“$2.8 billion” as the outcome of his examination of the

“actual” DSH payment records of the “affected hospitals.”

Pet. 27 n.7.'8 And yet, on February 16, the Secretary told the

district court that his agency cannot at this time identify a

single case or category of claims where the hospitals in the

consolidated cases would be entitled to relief under the D.C.

Circuit’s decision in Baystate:

Until Baystate is finally resolved, there is no

way of knowing what categories of claims, if

any, might be entitled to relief in these con-

solidated cases, or for that matter, what issues

would be raised by different categories of

claims. Consequently, any attempt to come

up with abstract “categories” and procedures

for determining which claims fit into which

catégories would be a pointless exercise in

rank speculation.

See Defendant’s Reply in Further Support of Motion to Stay

Proceedings, at 9, Misc. No. 03-0090 (D.D.C. Feb. 16, 2001)

(emphasis added).

17 Appellant’s Petition for Rehearing En Banc, at 2, No.

04-5203 (D.C. Cir. Aug. 15, 2005).

18 But compare Defendant's Reply in Further Support of Mo-

tion to Stay Proceedings, at 4, Misc. No. 03-0090 (D.D.C. Feb. 16,

2001) (stating to the district court that the estimated financial

impact of the court of appeals’s decision “is not based on (and

defendant did not conduct) an individualized ‘investigation’ of the

underlying factual and legal merits of all 2,300 or so fiscal period

claims raised in this litigation”).

21 ‘

3. The petition also exaggerates the purported adminis-

trative burdens associated with the decision below. To begin

with, as the D.C. Circuit observed, the burden is on the

hospitals to justify their entitlement to additional DSH

payment, not the other way around. App. !0a. Moreover,

correcting the DSH calculation is not “exceedingly complex”

(Pet. 28); it involves a single change to just one variable

term—the number of Medicaid-eligible days—that appears

on a single line of each hospital’s Medicare cost report. The

agency’s protest about the “audit hours” that it (or more

precisely, its fiscal intermediaries) will spend in processing

the required reopenings is not only unsupported by record

evidence but is also overblown and misleading.'? The same

is true of the Secretary’s complaint about the number of

items listed on provider cost reports.*° And, in any event, as

the district court and D.C. Circuit both observed, any in-

creased burden on the Secretary does “ ‘not outweigh the

public’s substantial interest in the Secretary’s following the

law.’” App. 10a.

19 The Secretary has at his disposal several tools, like sampling

or the use of other reasonable proxies, that can be employed to

minimize the administrative burden of reopening. See, e.g., St.

Joseph's Hosp. v. BlueCross BlueShield Ass'n, {2004 Transfer

Binder] Medicare & Medicaid Guide (CCH) 4 81,265 at 203,872

(CMS Adm’r 2064) (fiscal intermediary conducted a small-sample

review of patient days to determine hospital’s DSH payment);

Barnes Hosp. v. Mutual of Omaha, [1994 Transfer Binder]

Medicare & Medicaid Guide (CCH) 4 42,592 at 41,421-22 (HCFA

Adm’r 1994) (applying a 1964 agreement, a 1992 amendment to

the agreement, and a 1990 time study as proxies for establishing

the cost of teaching residents in 1984).

20 The vast majority of entries on a cost report go to the re-

quired reporting of the costs of services furnished to Medicare

beneficiaries. In almost all cases, these items no longer have any

bearing on payment to the provider; nearly all institutional provid-

ers today are reimbursed by Medicare under a prospective payment

system that does not vary based on cost.

22

4. Finally, whatever the economic or administrative impact

of the decision in this case, the salient fact is that the DSH

payments at stake are funds that Congress intended the

Secretary to pay to the mostly non-profit and governmental

hospitals that typically qualify for these DSH payments

because they incur higher costs treating a large proportion of

low-income and uninsured patients.

Like all of the hospitals in the case, the great majority of

the hospitals involved in the consolidated cases before the

district court are non-profit, governmental or religious

institutions that are located in urban areas and provide care

not only for low-income Medicare and Medicaid patients but

also for the millions of other low-income, uninsured pa-

tients.2!_ These hospitals provide a crucial safety net in our

health care system, and they incur substantial financial stress

in providing high-risk care to low-income patients. Indeed,

just during the pendency of this litigation, at least three of the

plaintiff hospitals in the consolidated cases have gone into

bankruptcy.22

There will be no “windfall” to these hospitals as a result of

the rulings below; if anything, the hospitals are still going to

come up well short of being fully reimbursed for the critical

services they provided long ago. Whatever the amount at

stake in these cases, it represents only the additional pay-

ments that were owed but not paid to the hospitals in unlaw-

ful Medicare payment determinations issued in the three

21 See Robin A. Cohen, PhD, Michael E. Martinez, M.P.H.,

Centers for Disease Control, Health Insurance Coverage: Esti-

mates from the National Health Interview Survey, January —

March 2005, at | (2005) (reporting that 41.7 million persons were

uninsured in early 2005).

22 The hospitals are Osteopathic Medical Center of Texas, St.

Vincent’s Catholic Medical Center of New York, and United

Hospital Medical Center of New York.

23

years preceding Ruling 97-2. Even as to those sums that are

recoverable, the hospitals will never recoup the substantial

lost time value of money, as the Medicare Act does not

provide for interest on the additional payments due upon

reopening. And DSH_payments for prior years back to 1986

that were not subject to reopening when Ruling 97-2 issued

will never be recouped, despite the fact that the Secretary’s

old DSH rule was just as unlawful then as it is now.

When he declined to seek certiorari in Monmouth, the

Secretary apparently understood that not even substantial

estimated liability provided a sound basis to seek this Court’s

review of the D.C. Circuit’s unanimous decision. That

reasoning should prevail all the more now. As the Secretary

conceded below, “Congress imposed on the Secretary a clear

statutory duty to pay the hospitals these funds.” Baystate

App. Ila. And, as the court of appeals concluded: “Having

to pay a sum one owes can hardly amount to an equitable

reason for not requiring payment.” /d.

IV. THE D.C. CIRCUIT CORRECTLY DECIDED

MONMOUTH AND BAYSTATE.

1. The D.C. Circuit correctly decided Monmouth. The

court properly construed and enforced the Secretary’s

reopening regulation in light of the notice of inconsistency

that the agency gave through Ruling 97-2. Consistent with

the interpretive framework articulated in Thomas Jefferson

University, the court correctly discerned the meaning and

requirements of subsection(b) from its plain text and

context.

The Secretary argues that subsection (b) did not require

reopening unless the Secretary specifically directed interme-

diaries to reopen. But the text of the regulation itself (before

the 2002 amendments) did not require any such express

directive, and for good reason. The Secretary maintains that

he has, and has always had, the “inherent authority to direct

the actions of our own agents [i.e., the fiscal intermediaries]

24

with respect to reopening matters under § 405.1885(a)”—the

discretionary reopening provision. 67 Fed. Reg. 49,982,

50,096 (Aug. 1, 2002). That being the case, subsection (b)

would serve no purpose not already subsumed within subsec-

tion (a) if subsection (b) were construed to require specific

intent to reopen in addition to a notice of inconsistency with

law. Because the Secretary already has inherent authority to

cause his intermediaries to reopen under subsection (a) when

that is what he intends to do, the D.C. Circuit was correct in

declining to construe subsection (b) as serving a wholly

redundant role. See Carus Chem. Co. v. EPA, 395 F.3d 434,

441 (D.C. Cir. 2005).?3

The D.C. Circuit also properly found that Ruling 97-2 gave

notice of inconsistency with law as contemplated by subsec-

tion (b). That Ruling expressly announced the agency’s

determination to follow the uniform holdings of four circuit

courts that the Secgetary’s prior rule was inconsistent with

the plain meaning of the controlling statute. Notably, the

Ruling did not and could not say that the prior DSH rule was

valid; it said only that the agency “believes” that it was a

“permissible reading of the statutory language.” App. 5la.

All four circuit courts that considered the question had held

otherwise. See Monmouth, App. 44a (‘As a general rule, it is

for the courts to determine whether or not a regulation is

invatid.”’). If the prior DSH rule really were valid, moreover,

23 The Secretary cites language in the preamble to the first

iteration of a prior version of his reopening regulations in 1972, to

the effect that mandatory reopening occurs upon “request” of the

agency. Pet. 15 (quoting 37 Fed. Reg. 10722, 10723 (May 27,

1972)). However, the preamble does not state that such reopenings

could occur “only” upon request, as the Secretary erroneously

states. Jd. More importantly, the text of the actual regulation—as

was always the case until the 2002 amendments—contains no

mention of any “request.” Rather, the regulation makes mandatory

reopening dependent on notification of inconsistency. 20 C.F.R.

§ 405.499g (1972); 20 C.F.R. § 405.1885(b) (1974).

25

then the Secretary simply could not have changed the rule

without advance notice and comment rulemaking, made the

new rule effective immediately in all circuits, and applied it

not only prospectively but also retroactively to at least some

prior fiscal years. But that is exactly what the Secretary did

when the agency issued Ruling 97-2.

As Monmouth correctly concluded, App. 42a-43a, the

issuance of the Ruling without notice and comment rulemak-

ing could only have been permissible if the Secretary’s prior

interpretation was in fact a nullity, and if the Ruling were

understood to convey notice of that fundamental inconsis-

tency with law. See Dixon v. United States, 381 U.S. 68, 74

(1965); Manhattan Gen. Equip. Co. v. Comm'r, 297 U.S.

129, 134-35 (1936) (an amended regulation may apply to

prior transactions that occurred when a prior, invalid rule was

in place because a regulation that does not “carry into effect

the will of Congress” but instead “operates to create a rule

out of harmony with the statute, is a mere nullity”).

In so holding, the D.C. Circuit also properly applied the

sound principles reflected in Paralyzed Veterans. Paralyzed

Veterans and its progeny stand for the unremarkable proposi-

tion that the APA requires notice and comment when an

agency revises a putatively interpretive rule to such an extent

that it has effectively amended a substantive rule. See, ¢.g.,

Alaska Prof’l Hunters Assoc. v. FAA, 177 F.3d 1030, 1034

(D.C. Cir. 1999). That proposition is consistent with this

Court’s opinion in Guernsey Memorial Hospital—a case the

Secretary curiously chooses not to cite despite the D.C.

Circuit’s reliance on it in Paralyzed Veterans. As this Court

explained in Guernsey, “APA rulemaking would still be

required if [the interpretive rule] adopted a new position

inconsistent with any of the Secretary’s existing regulations.”

26

514 U.S. at 100. Guernsey fully supports the court of ap-

peals’ decision in Monmouth.24

Indeed, whether Ruling 97-2 itself is deemed substantive or

merely interpretive in form, there is no question that the

Ruling effectively changed the underlying substantive DSH

regulation codified at 42 C.F.R. § 412.106(b)(4). The

regulation in effect when the Ruling issued allowed hospitals

to count only those days for which a Medicaid-eligible

patient was “entitled” to have Medicaid payment made on his

or her behalf. Ruling 97-2 adopted a new rule permitting a

hospital to count all Medicaid-eligible days, regardless of

whether the patient was entitied to have Medicaid payment

made for those days. App. 51a-52a.

If there were any doubt that Ruling 97-2 effectively

amended the DSH regulation, it was eliminated in 1998,

when the Secretary promulgated a new DSH regulation (after

notice and comment) stating that, for cost reporting periods

beginning on or after October 1, 1998, the numerator of the

Medicaid Fraction would include days attributable to patients

who were “eligible” for Medicaid but not entitled to Medi-

care Part A benefits. 63 Fed. Reg. 40,954, 41,004 (July 31,

24 No precedent supports the Secretary’s idea that the APA’s

notice and comment rulemaking requirements were inapplicable to

Ruling 97-2 because the ruling worked to the benefit of some

providers. Pet. 26. If they had been given the chance, some

Medicare providers that are not DSH hospitals might have had

something to say about the new rule benefiting their competitors,

and if DSH hospitals had been given the chance, they might have

objected to the Ruling’s purported ban on reopening. But, more

importantly, it is not for an agency to decide unilaterally whether

those affected by a proposed rule (adversely or otherwise) deserve

advance notice and an opportunity to comment on the rule. The

exception the Secretary apparently desires would swallow the

APA’s notice-and-comment rulemaking requirements.

27

1998).25 The Secretary made clear that the agency was

making this substantive change “to conform the regulations

to HCFA Ruling 97-2 (and hence to the four adverse circuit

court decisions),” and indeed, expressly left Ruling 97-2

itself in place as the governing substantive rule for cost

reporting periods beginning before October 1, 1998. Jd. at

40,985. Thus, the D.C. Circuit properly called the Secre-

tary’s action for what it was despite some of what the Secre-

tary said when the Ruling issued. The Secretary’s desire for

a replay does not warrant review on certiorari.

Monmouth’s result also follows from the retroactive reach

of Ruling 97-2. Despite the Secretary’s claim that the

_agency’s acquiescence was only “prospective,” Ruling 97-2

plainly supplied a new rule not only for future periods, but

also for prior periods that had not yet been settled when the

Ruling was issued in February 1997. In terms of its retroac-

tive effect, then, the 1997 Ruling is not different in any

material respect from the retroactive rule invalidated by this

Court in Bowen v. Georgetown University Hospital, 488 U.S.

204 (1988). Like the 1984 cost limit schedule at issue in

Georgetown, the 1997 Ruling established a new substantive

standard applicable to payments to hospitals for services

rendered in prior periods. Just as the cost limit schedule in

25 The Secretary is incorrect to the extent he suggests that the

1998 notice-and-comment rulemaking transformed Ruling 97-2

from a confession of past legal error to a purely prospective change

in the law. Pet. 26 n.6. Ruling 97-2 was a fait accompli by the

time the new regulations were offered for comment, and comment

on the Ruling itself (including its purported ban on reopening) was

not invited. See Nat'l Tour Brokers Ass'n v. United States, 591

F.2d 896, 902 (D.C. Cir. 1978) (invalidating ICC rulemaking

where comments were sought only after rules were finalized; “We

doubt that persons would bother to submit their views, or that the

Secretary would seriousiy consider their suggestions after the

regulations are a Fait accompli.”) (internal quotations and citation

omitted).

28 -

Georgetown applied retroactively to payments for services

rendered during a period beginning July 1, 1981, Ruling 97-2

applied retroactively to payment for services rendered in cost

reporting periods that ended before February 1997 but were

settled after that date.

Under Georgetown, the Secretary simply does not have

authority to promulgate a rule with retroactive effect, unless

the new rule merely supplants a rule that was invalid because

it conflicted with the statute itself. See Manhattan Gen.

Equip. Co., 297 U.S. at 135. The Secretary’s determination

to proceed retroactively in Ruling 97-2 thus furnishes another

independent reason to sustain Monmouth’s reading of Ruling

97-2 as a concession by the Secretary that his old rule was

unlawful.

Indeed, that concession appears on the face of the Ruling.

Although the Secretary describes Ruling 97-2 as merely a

“prospective acquiescence” in four adverse circuit rulings,

Pet. 18, it is not possible to “acquiesce” in or determine to

“follow the holdings” of those particular decisions only

“prospectively.” App. 49a-50a. The circuit courts uniformly

held that the Secretary’s interpretation of Medicaid-eligible

days was contrary to statute. The Secretary cannot “prospec-

tively acquiesce” in decisions that, by their very terms,

require the conclusion that the Secretary’s interpretation was

never lawful.

29

For all these reasons, it was perfectly appropriate for the

D.C. Circuit to credit what the Secretary actually did when

the agency issued Ruling 97-2——that is, notify his intermedi-

aries that his old rule was inconsistent with law—over some

of what the agency said it was doing at the time. Courts

review agency action, not the agency’s own self-serving

characterizations.2° The agency’s professed “belief” that its

prior DSH rule was permissible (see App. 51a) is not incom-

patible with the D.C. Circuit’s conclusion that the Ruling

gave notice that the prior rule nevertheless was, in fact,

inconsistent with the plain meaning of the DSH statute.

2. Baystate also was correctly decided. Following Mon-

mouth, the only additional question raised by Baystate was

whether the respondent hospitals were entitled to the fanda-

tory reopening due them under subsection (b) if they did not

request discretionary reopening under subsection (a). Notice

of inconsistency with law is the only stated “precondition”

that “triggers” the reopening obligation under the reopening

regulation that was in effect in 1997. See 67 Fed. Reg. at.

50,096-97. The Secretary tacitly admitted as much when he

amended his reopening regulations in response to Monmouth

without suggesting that a hospital must request reopening as

a precondition to mandatory reopening under subsection (b).

See id. The D.C. Circuit therefore was correct in holding

that no additional conditions beyond a notice of inconsis-

tency were necessary to trigger mandatory reopening.

26 See Appalachian Power Co. v. EPA, 251 F.3d 1026, 1033

(D.C. Cir. 2001) (“whether an agency has in fact reopened an issue

{for comment] is dependent upon the entire context of the rulemak-

ing including all relevant proposals and reactions of the agency,

and not just on the agency’s stated intent’’) (internal quotations and

citation omitted).

30

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

CATHERINE E.STETSON * CHRISTOPHER L. KEOUGH

HOGAN & HARTSON L.L.P. JOHN M. FAUST

555 13th Street, NW. STEPHANIE A. WEBSTER

Washington, DC 20004 VINSON & ELKINS L.L.P.

(202) 637-5600 1455 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.

Washington, DC 20004

(202) 639-6500

*Counsel of Record

Counsel for Respondents Baystate

Health Systems, et al.

February 2006

( ) ) ‘ ~

. ?

’ e

No. 05-936 hee

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

MICHAEL O. LEAVITT, SECRETARY OF HEALTH

AND HUMAN SERVICES, PETITIONER

v.

BAYSTATE HEALTH SYSTEMS, DBA BAYSTATE

MEDICAL CENTER, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

PAUL D. CLEMENT

Solicitor General

Counsel of Record

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530-0001

(202) 514-2217

~

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Bartlett Mem'l Med. Ctr., Jue. v. Thompson,

O47 F.20 S28 (100 Civ. 2008) .... cc ccc cccccsccs 2

Bowen v. Georgetown Univ. Hosp.,

Ce 10

Cabell Huntington Hosp., Inc. v. Shalala,

ge A ee | 6

Cheney v. United States Dist. Ct.,

TED, Sade vcs csevocbecvecsereyes 3

Erringer v. Thompson, 371 F.3d 625 (9th

I kn, sshd d paw anseesbsveceresesee 3

Heckler v. Ringer, 466 U.S. 602 (1984) ............ 7

Jewish Hosp., Inc. v. Secretary of HHS, 19 F.3d

AMES Vwatvecey sve vevccceececeess 6

MCI v. AT&T, 512 U.S. 218 (1994) ........ weluesan 2

Monmouth Med. Ctr. v. Thompson, 257 F.3d

CE ES cca ciedavvsvecvevcees 1,2

Paralyzed Veterans of Am. v. D.C. Arena

L.P., 117 F.3d 579 (D.C. Cir. 1997), cert.

TNE, De Uo. RO CLMOO) 2. ccc ccc cc ccceccees l

Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc.,

OO EMMOD ei phous ova'evescveevecsees 10

Scheidler v. NOW, 1268S. Ct. 1264 (2006) ........... x

Shalala v. Guernsey Mem Hosp.,

EE 3

Thomas Jefferson Univ. v. Shalala, 512 U.S.

ee EC bcc dics oe ees aacve nt i)

United States v. Mendoza 464 U.S. 154

Re eens 2Os b's bab ove 6 Vo «00h oon 08 4

l’nited States v. Recio, 53

~I

—

Ta

Iw

~1

-~

—_

|)

=

>

w

tw

(1)

I]

Case—Continued: Page

Your Home Visiting Nurse Servs., Ine. v.

Shalala, 525 U.S. 449 (1999). 2. cc ccc cee ccess 8

Statutes and regulation:

Medicare Act, Tit. XVIII, 42 U.S.C. 1395 et seq.:

Ge Recs SICA. b iuadinedeeedeueesnanxa cs 2

Se Sdn PE: Scabies cee nisnsbandssweneee 2

42 C.F.R.:

OCTET GER OUR - 0 hd vcbedna dst recasvins 4,7,8

eens A SOD os d's oid aro Wee eh ddewe 4,8,9

Miscellaneous:

Christopher L. Keogh, CMS Reverses

Application of Payment-Reduction

~'actor to Part B Inpatient Ancillary

Services Healthcare Fin. Mgmt. (2002) ........ 6

REPLY BRIEF FOR THE PETITIONER

The court cf appeals, based on its prior decisions in

Monmouth Medical Center v. Thompson, 257 F.3d 807 (2001),

and Paralyzed Veterans of America v. D.C. Arena L.P., 117

*.3d 579 (1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1003 (1998), has held

that the Secretary must reopen Medicare payment determina-

tions for as many as 2380 cost reports at issue in more than

275 pending cases because the Secretary, without notice-and-

comment rulemaking, issued an acquiescence ruling to ensure

nationwide uniformity in Medicare payments. The court of

appeals reached that unprecedented result even though the

acquiescence ruling, Ruling 97-2, explicitly prohibited reopen-

ing of closed cost reports.

The court of appeals’ decision erroneously exposes the

Medicare program to staggering (and previously unforesee-

able) financial and administrative burdens and threatens to

chill future agency acquiescence rulings to the detriment of

agencies, private parties, and the courts. It conflicts with

decisions of other courts of appeals on whether the Secretary

can be ordered to reopen final Medicare determinations con-

trary to his express direction, and whether an agency may

change an interpretive rule absent notice-and-comment

rulemaking. And it cannot be reconciled with this Court’s

decisions compelling the conclusion that mandamus relief is

not available for parties, such as respondents, that slept on

their rights and now seek a form of administrative re-

lief—reopening—-that is inherently discretionary. Review by

this Court is warranted.

1. Respondents contend that the circuit conflicts presented

by the decision below are not worthy of this Court’s review.

Br. in Opp. 11-14. That contention lacks merit.

a. Respondents argue that there is no conflict on whether

the court of appeals in this case correctly held that Mon-

; (1)

2

mouth applies to hospitals such as respondents that (unlike

the hospitals in Monmouth) never sought reopening. Br. in

Opp. 8-9, 10-12. Respondents concede (id. at 9, 11-12), how-

ever, that Monmouth conflicts with the Tenth Circuit's deci-

sion in Bartlett Memorial Medical Center, Inc. v. Thompson,

347 F.3d 828, 838-840 (2003), on the critical threshold question

in this case: whether Ruling 97-2 triggered a mandatory duty

to reopen. Respondents do not dispute that Monmouth’s

holding on that question was a fundamental premise of the

decision below. Pet. App. 6a-7a. Thus, resolution of the

Monmouth-Rartlett conflict in the government’s favor would

necessarily require the reversal of the decision below. The

conflict therefore is squarely presented and merits this

Court’s review. See, e.g., United States v. Recio, 537 U.S. 270,

274 (2003) (reviewing the validity of a legal rule announced in

a prior decision of Ninth Circuit that had been applied in a

subsequent case); ef. MCIl v. AT&T, 512 U.S. 218 (1994).

Respondents contend that the conflict is “shallow” and

“narrow” because it implicates only two circuits. Br. in Opp.

12. The D.C. District Court, however, has nationwide venue

in mandamus actions involving the Secretary and in Medicare

cases in general. 28 U.S.C. 1391(e); 42 U.S.C. 139500(f)(1).

Given that nationwide venue and the unprecedented relief

granted below, there is no reason to expect that providers in

the future will press for reopening in any other forum.

b. As the petition explains, the courts of appeals also are

divided on whether an agency may change an interpretation

of a regulation without notice-and-comment rulemaking. That

issue is of ongoing and obvious significance and worthy of this

Court’s review. Pet. 25-26. Respondents do not directly chal-

lenge those points, but argue that the issue is not presented

here because the Secretary’s DSH regulation was a /egislative

rule and that the circuits agree that amendments to legisla-

tive rules must be preceded by notice and comment. Br. in

3

Opp. 12-14, 25-27; Shalala v. Guernsey Mem'l Hosp., 514 U.S.

87, 100 (1995). But the question decided by the court of ap-

peals and therefore presented here is whether the Secretary

was permitted to change his interpretation of that regulation

without notice-and-comment rulemaking. On that question,

the court of appeals erred, see id. at 99 (“|i]nterpretive rules

do not require notice and comment”), and the circuits are

divided. Compare Pet. App. 44a (after an agency interprets

a regulation, it cannot alter that interpretation without notice

and comment) with Erringer v. Thompson, 371 F.3d 625, 632

(9th Cir. 2004) (stating that “[a]ny rule that effectively

amends a prior legislative rule is legislative and must be pro-

mulgated under notice and comment rulemaking,” but that

“no notice and comment rulemaking is required to amend a

previous interpretive rule”). Monmouth expressly held that

both the Secretary’s original interpretation and his subse-

quent interpretation as reflected in Ruling 97-2 were inter-

pretive rules, but that notice-and-comment rulemaking none-

theless was required before the agency could change course.

Pet. App. 34a, 42a-48a (Secretary’s original interpretation),

43a-44a (Secretary’s subsequent interpretation). The circuit

conflict is squarely presented here.

2. Respondents argue that the conflicts in the circuits do

not warrant this Court’s review because the Secretary did not

seek immediate review of Monmouth. Br. in Opp. 9, 12. The

government, however, should not be penalized for allowing

the D.C. Circuit an opportunity to limit the consequences of

its erroneous decision in Monmouth. Cf. Cheney v. United

States Dist. Ct., 542 U.S. 367, 379 (2004) (“the Government

cannot be faulted for attempting to resolve the dispute

through less drastic means.”). The decision below makes

clear that the D.C. Circuit will extend, not limit, Monmouth.

Thus, review is now appropriate.

4d

Monmouth involved only two providers that had timely

sought reopening under the Secretary’s regulations. The

Secretary was not aware of any significant number of other

similarly situated hospitals. And because Monmouth itself

stressed that the two hospitals had sought reopening within

the three-year deadline imposed by 42 C.F .R. 405.1885(a) (see

Pet. App. 45a), the Secretary reasonably believed that the

court would not extend a mandamus remedy to providers,

such as respondents, that never made any administrative re-

quest for reopening at all.

The decision below makes clear that the court of appeals

does not view Monmouth as a limited holding. Pet. 27. More-

over, when Monmouth was decided, the Tenth Circuit had not

yet rendered its conflicting decision in Bartlett. Cf. United

States v. Mendoza 464 U.S. 154, 160 (1984) (agencies immedi-

ately seeking review may “deprive this Court of the benefit it

receives from permitting several courts of appeals to explore

a difficult question”). Now that there is a square conflict with

the Tenth Cireuit and the D.C. Circuit has dramatically ex-

tended the reach of its Monmouth decision, review by this

Court is plainly warranted.

Respondents also incorrectly assume that this case con-

cerns only the meaning of Ruling 97-2 and a previous version

of Section 405.1885(b). Monmouth concluded more broadly

that an acquiescence ruling, even when it only departs from

a prior interpretive rule, must be a nullity because it was not

preceded by notice-and-comment rulemaking. Pet. App. 43a-

44a. That holding is of significant and ongoing importance to

federal agencies that regularly must consider whether to ac-

quiesce in adverse circuit precedent (and often must do so

promptly). In this case, the court of appeals held that the Sec-

retary’s routine acquiescence for one Medicare cost item re-

sulted in a completely unforeseeable and mandatory duty

retroactively to calculate cost reports for providers that

5

waited five to eight years to challenge those reports. The

decision, if not corrected, would create significant confusion

and substantial disincentives for agencies to acquiesce in cir-

cuit precedent. The net effect of respondents’ position would

create substantial incentives for unnecessary litigation. The

government would need to seek certiorari, rather than try to

limit the reach of adverse decisions, and the costs of acquies-

cence would needlessly increase.

Furthermore, the Secretary’s amendment of the reopening

rule does not ameliorate the immediate consequences directly

imposed by the decision below even in the Medicare context.

Pet. 11, 27-30. Respondents argue that the government’s $2.8

billion estimate of the potential costs on the DSH issue alone

is speculative, different from previous estimates, and not part

of the record below. Br. in Opp. 19-20. But CMS’s most re-

cent $2.8 billion estimate was prepared after a careful analysis

and for reasons unrelated to this litigation, 7.e., in connection

with the agency’s public financial statement. Pet. 27 & n.7.

The Secretary has always estimated that the hospitals’

claims, if fully successful, could result in payments totaling

between $1 billion and $3.25 billion. /bid.; Br. in Opp. 19.

Such a massive drain on the Medicare Trust Fund, as well as

the tremendous administrative burden associated with re-

opening potentially thousands of previously settled cost re-

ports at issue in the 275 cases pending in the district court,

merits this Court's review. '

' Contrary to respondents’ assertion (Br. in Opp. 1, 10, 19-21), the Secretary

has not suggested that the potential financial and administrative impact of the

court of appeals’ decision is speculative. The government has simply objected

to further proceedings in the district court until this Court has completed its

review of the decision below. In addition, the Secretary reasonably believes

that compliance with the decision will impose a tremendous burden on the

agency and divert its scarce auditing resources to reviewing stale cost report

information. Pet. 28. Kespondents challenge that assertion as “exaggerate| d|.”

6

Finally, respondents do not dispute that many providers

have filed similar mandamus actions that are governed by the

Secretary’s prior reopening regulation and that seek to ex-

tend Monmouth to cost issues other than DSH payments.

Pet. 29-30. Indeed, respondents’ counsel has urged hospitals

to file similar mandamus actions, “|flollowing | Monmouth’s|

line of reasoning,” in the District of Columbia based on other

prospective-only changes in policy. C. L. Keogh, CMS Re-

verses Application Of Payment-Reduction Factor To Part B

Inpatient Ancillary Services, Healthcare Fin. Mgmt. (2002).

3. In defense of the court of appeals’ decision on the mer-

its, respondents attack the Secretary's original methodology

for DSH payment determinations. Br. in Opp. 3-5, 22-23. The

Secretary believes (as Ruling 97-2 itself stated) that his prior,

longstanding interpretation was proper,” but that acquies-

cence nonetheless was appropriate to ensure national unifor-

mity in light of adverse circuit precedent. Pet. App. 5la. The

issue here, however, is not the validity of the Secretary’s prior

interpretation. The relevant question rather is whether re-

spondents are entitled, through the extraordinary remedy of

mandamus, to force the Secretary to recalculate Medicare

payments even though they first challenged those payments

five to eight years after the determinations became final. The

answer ¢@ that question is clearly no, because respondents

both faiied to invoke the prescribed statutory and regulatory

remedies and failed to show an indisputable right of recovery.

“overblown,” and “misleading” (Br. in Opp. 21), but the Secretary respectfully

submits that he is in a far superior position than respondents to judge the

complexity and burdens from review and recalculation of DSH payments for

cost vears more than ten vears old.

* Strong dissents in two decisions approved the Secretary's position. See

Cabell Huntington Hosp. luc. v. Shalala, 101 F.3d 954, 991 (4th Cir. 1996)

(Luttig, J., dissenting); Jewish Hosp. luc. v. Secretary of HHS, 19 F 3d 270,

276 (6th Cir. 1994) (Batchelder, J., dissenting).

7

a. Admitting that they did “nothing” (Br. in Opp. 18) to

exhaust their claims before the Secretary, respondents argue

that seeking reopening would have been futile because re-

opening was prohibited by Ruling 97-2. But respondents

could have appea/ed their initial DSH payment determina-

tions to the Provider Reimbursement Review Board (PRRB),

and then sought direct judicial review in the manner provided

by the Medicare Act. Pet. 12-13. If they had, they might have

obtained precisely the relief that they now seek: recalculation

of their original DSH determinations under the methodology

later adopted in Ruling 97-2. Other hospitals in fact obtained

that relief after they appealed and sought judicial review.

Pet. 13 n.3; Br. in Opp. 5 & n4. Respondents thus did not in-

voke that “adequate remedy * * * for challenging all aspects

of the Secretary’s denial of their claims for payment.” Heck-

ler v. Ringer, 466 U.S. 602, 617 (1984).

In all events, even if reopening were the only relevant focal

point, as respondents maintain (Br. in Opp. 16-18), they never

invoked that remedy either, unlike the hospitals in Monmouth

that timely sought reopening within three vears of the deter-

minations as required by Section 405.1885(a)—the only regu-

lation that permits reopening at the behest of providers. Pet.

20. Any effort by respondents to obtain reopening therefore

is time-barred, in addition to being foreclosed on the merits.

The hospitals’ excessive delay before challenging their final

Medicare payment determinations is alone sufficient to pre-

clude them from the equitable remedy of mandamus.”

Given the government's consistent position that reopening of DSH deter-

minations would impose wholly unwarranted and potentially far-reaching

liability on the Medicare Trust Fund in favor of hospitals that slept on their

rights, respondents’ suggestion (Br. in Opp. %, 19) that the government has

conceded that the equities lie in their favor and that the Secretary suffers no

prejudice from the court of appeals’ decision is baseless.

8

b. Respondents’ reliance on the principle that an agency

must follow its own regulations is misplaced. Br. in Opp. 15-

16. Since the inception of the reopening regulation in 1972,

the Secretary has always considered that regulation to be

entirely discretionary. Pet. 15-17. Respondents have pointed

to nothing in the regulation that gives them a right to demand

reopening (much less a clear and undisputable right), and to

do sa contrary to the Secretary’s express directive in Ruling

97-2. In fact, they admit that “[t]he only reopening that a

hospital has any role in initiating is discretionary reopening

under subsection (a).” Br. in Opp. 17 (emphasis added).

Respondents nonetheless argue (Br. in Opp. 24) that See-

tion 405.1885(b) must be read to require reopening, even when

the Secretary has prohibited it, or subsection (b) “would serve

no purpose not already subsumed within subsection (a).” But

any arguable superfluity would not justify reading the regula-

tion contrary to the Secretary’s manifest intent. F.4.,

Scheidler v. NOW, 1268S. Ct. 1264, 1273-1274 (2006). In any

event, there is nothing superfluous about subsections (a) and

(b). Section 405.1885(a) confers discretion not only on inter-

mediaries, but also on the PRRB and the Secretary if they

(rather than an intermediary) entered the decision that the

provider seeks to reopen, if a motion is made within three

years. By contrast, Section 405.1885(b) is directed only to

intermediaries and specifies that reopening “shall” occur

when the Secretary himself explicitly instructs the intermedi-

ary to reopen. Pet. 14-17. Thus, while Section 405.1885(a)

“generously gives [providers] a second chance to get the deci-

sion changed” (Your Home Visiting Nurse Servs., Tne. v.

Shalala, 525 U.S. 449, 455 (1999)), Section 405.1885(b) allows

the Secretary, on his own initiative, to identify errors in inter-

mediary determinations and to direct the intermediaries to

correct them. As we demonstrate in the petition (at 15-17),

Section 405.1885(b) creates a contingent duty owed by the

intermediary to the Secretary in accordance with their bilat-

eral contractual arrangement; it creates no duty owed by ei-

ther an intermediary or the Secretary to providers. Respon-

dents make no effort to refute this showing that Section

405.1885(b) creates no clear duty owed to them, a necessary

prerequisite for mandamus relief. Pet. 15-16 & n.4.

The Secretary’s reading not only comports with the text

and his longstanding interpretation, but also with the well-

settled understanding of reopening as inherently discretion-

ary and non-reviewable. Pet. 17. It also comports with Con-

gress’s stringent time-requirements for appealing payment

determinations under a program as complex and massive in

size as Medicare. The Secretary's eminently reasonable inter-

pretation was therefore binding on the court of appeals.

Thomas Jefferson Univ. v. Shalala, 512 U.S. 504, 505 (1994).

Respondents defend the court of appeals’ reading of Ruling

97-2 as the Secretary’s concession of an error of law (despite

the Ruling’s express statement to the contrary) on the ground

that any other reading would have required the Secretary to

promulgate a new legislative regulation in order to acquiesce

in circuit precedent. Br. in Opp. 24-27. But it has never been

the law that an agency must issue such a regulation to effectu-

ate what quintessentially is a /itigation judgment. Pet. 25-26.

Moreover, any procedural defect in Ruling 97-2 would, at

most, permit a court to invalidate the Ruling until notice and

comment had been completed. It would not authorize a court

to strike the Ruling’s critical provision expressly prohibiting

reopening while enforcing its substantive provision. Pet. 19.

Respondents also err in arguing that the Secretary's prior

DSH determinations must have been void ab initio because

Ruling 97-2 applied the new DSH payment methodology for

costs incurred by hospitals in prior years if the cost reports

were not yet finally settled or were still pending on review.

-”

Br. in Opp. 6-7, 27-28. In respondents’ view (/bid.), the Ruling

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.