Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Herring v. United States (No. 05-821)

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

7

the federal courts to review such claims of privilege in

camera to evaluate their validity and proper scope, and

therefore affirmed. Jd. at 996-98. See also C8 (4% 19).

The United States successfully petitioned for certiorari

and urged the Supreme Court to reverse the widows’

judgments. C8 ("11 20-21). In its petition and its briefs, the

government advanced an even more expansive claim of

privilege, insisting that the executive branch might lawfully

withhold any document from judicial scrutiny if it deemed

secrecy in the public interest. United States v. Reynolds, 345

US. 1, 6 (1953).

A majority of this Court, however, declined to rule so

broadly, choosing instead to rely on Secretary Finletter’s

and Major General Harmon’s affidavits:

Experience in the past war has made it common

knowledge that air power is one of the most potent

weapons in our scheme of defense, and that newly

developing electronic devices have greatly enhanced

the effective use of air power. It is equally apparent

that these electronic devices must be kept secret if

their full military advantage is to be exploited in the

national! interests. On the record before the trial

court it appeared that this accident occurred to a

military plane which had gone aloft to test secret

electronic equipment. Certainly there was a reason-

able danger that the accident investigation report

would contain references to the secret electronic

equipment which was the primary concern of the

mission.

345 U.S. at 10 (emphasis added). Indeed, the Secretary had

attested that the aircraft and crew “were engaged in a highly

secret mission” and the documents were “concerned with

confidential missions and equipment of the Air Force.”

Similarly, the Judge Advocate General had sworn that

furnishing the reports and witness statements would

compromise “national security ... and the development of

8

highly technical and secret military equipment.” Jd. at 4-5,

10. In the majority’s view, these representations that the

documents contained “military secrets” were sufficient to

forestall disclosure even to the district judge, absent a more

compelling necessity. Jd. at 10-11. The balance between the

government’s need for secrecy and the widows’ need for the

documents weighed in favor of the government:

There is nothing to suggest that the electronic

equipment, in this case, had any causal connection

with the accident. Therefore, it should be possible

for respondents to adduce the essential facts as to

causation without resort to material touching upon

military secrets. Respondents were given a reason-

able opportunity to do just that, when petitioner

formally offered to make the surviving crew

members available for examination. We think that

offer should have been accepted.

Id. at 11. The Court, accordingly, reversed.°

After remand, without the benefit of the accident report

and witness statements, the widows settled their cases with

the government for $170,000.* The cases were discontinued

on August 5, 1953. C9 (11 22).

In early 2000, Palya’s daughter, Judith, learned

through internet research that previously-classified Air

Force documents regarding military aircraft accidents had

been declassified and were publicly available. Curious about

the “secret mission” that had occupied her father on the day

of his death, she ordered a copy of materials relating to her

3. Chief Justice Vinson wrote for the majority. Justices Black,

Frankfurter and Jackson dissented “substantially for the reasons set

forth in the opinion of Judge Maris [of the Court of Appeals] below.” 345

U.S. at 12.

4. The widows noticed depositions of several survivors of the crash and

it appears that those depositions were taken prior to settlement.

Petitioners do not have copies of any transcripts of such depositions. It

is possible they were never ordered transcribed.

9

father’s accident. She soon saw what the government had

fought so hard to keep her mother and a federal district

judge from seeing. C9-10, C104-162 (191 23-25 & Ex. J).°

The accident report and witness statements contained

none of the military or national security secrets the

government had claimed. The materials nowhere described

any part of the “secret mission” in which Reynolds, Palya

and Brauner were involved. They did not refer to any

“newly developing electronic devices” or “secret electronic

equipment” aboard the plane or elsewhere. They made no

mention of anything that was or should have been

“confidential.” Indeed, they recorded nothing beyond the

events surrounding the crash and the likely reasons for its

occurrence, none of which had anything to do with the

mission of the flight or the confidential equipment on board.

C10, C11-12 (11 26, 32-34).°

Thus, petitioners’ complaint alleges:

® The affidavits offered by Secretary Finletter and

Major General Harmon in support of the Air Force’s

claim of privilege were intentionally false and

5. The documents Judith Palya Loether obtained included all of the

materials identified in the district court’s September 21, 1950 order. C9-

10 ({1 25). Copies of these documents were attached to the Complaint in

their original form as Exhibit I and in printed form as Exhibit J. Because

this Court’s rules forbid the attachment of originals, only Exiivit J, the

printed form, is included in Appendix C.

6. The accident report identifies the main cause of the accident as “he

Air Force’s failure to comply with certain technical orders which

mandated “changes in the exhaust manifold assemblies for the

purposes of eliminating a definite fire hazard” C11, C110 (1 33 & Ex.

J). As a result, “[t]he aircraft is not considered to have been safe for

flight,” and when the No. 1 engine on the plane caught fire, the fire could

not be contained and the plane plummeted to the ground. C116 (Ex. J).

The declassified documents also reveal that one of the government’s key

interrogatory responses was false. C169-170, C175 (Ex. K) (Interrogatory

3l(a): “Have any modifications been prescribed by defendant for the

engine in its B-29 type aircraft to prevent overheating of engines and/or

reduce the fire hazard in the engine?” Answer: “No.”).

10

misleading. They were proffered to cover up and

suppress conclusive evidence that the Air Force’s

negligence had caused the deaths of Reynolds, Palya

and Brauner, and with a view toward fabricating a

“test case” for a favorable judicial ruling on claims of

an executive or “state secrets” privilege -— a case

built on a fraudulent premise. C11-13 (19 32-35).

o The affidavits were made with knowledge of their

falsity or in reckless disregard for whether the

statements they contained were true or false.

Indeed, the affidavits’ falsity is apparent upon

reading the accident report and witness statements

themselves. They provide no confidential informa-

tion of any kind concerning the plane’s secret

mission or equipment — the “secret” topics the Air

Force claimed and the courts at the time understood

them to address. C13 (79 36-38). And,

o The Air Force intended that the federal courts rely

upon the affiants’ testimony to deny the widows

evidence to which they were entitled and, later, to

reverse the judgments rendered in the widows’

favor. And, ultimately this Court did rely on the Air

Force’s falsehoods. The government thereby prac-

ticed a fraud on this Court and worked a grave

miscarriage of justice. C13-15 (19 39-45).

C. The Decisions Below.

In dismissing petitioners’ complaint, the district court

agreed that Secretary Finletter and Major General Harmon

were acting as officers of the court in asserting a “state

secrets” privilege. B12. The court went on to hold, however,

that courts generally should “defer on some level to

governmental claims of privilege” for military secrets and

it was therefore obliged to give the Finletter and Harmon

affidavits “a broader reading” than the federal judges and

justices who considered them fifty years before. B9-11.

11

From [the affidavits], Plaintiffs deduce that only the

mission and electronic equipment were confidential,

but a broader reading of the affidavits suggests that

beyond the mission itself, disclosure of technical

details of the B-29 bomber, its operation, or

performance would also compromise national

security.

B10-11. The district court then pointed to references in the

report to technical aspects of the plane’s operation and

performance that it believed “in the hands of the wrong

party could surely compromise national security,” B11-12,

and — based on its reading of the affidavits - ruled as a

matter of law that appellants could not show that “the Air

Force sought to defraud the Courts.” B12.

To buttress this ruling, the district court also undertook

to identify a purported “public record” on the development

of a Soviet copycat bomber. Based on its own independent

research (which petitioners had no opportunity to address or

contest), the district court posited that the Soviet Union’s

Tu-4 “copied the B-29 almost exactly, including the fire-

prone engines.” B16. On this mistaken premise,’ the district

judge speculated that “it seems that the accident investiga-

tion report may have reasonably contained sufficient

intelligence, if not about the secret equipment or mission,

then about ongoing developments in Air Force technical

engineering, to warrant an assertion of the military secrets

privilege.” B18. Thus, the district court held that petitioners

7. The Tu-4 did not copy the B-29’s engine, but instead used the

Shestov Ash-73TK, a Soviet variant of a different U.S. engine that the

Soviets had licensed years before. Von Hardesty, Made in the

U.S.S.R., Air & Space/Smithsonian, Feb./Mar. 2001 (available at

http://www.airandspacemagazine.com/ASM/Mag/Index/2001/FM/TU-

4.html). The existence of the Tu-4 was, moreover, public knowledge a

year before the crash. It was disclosed in a 1947 hearing chaired by

Secretary Finletter. See “Russian Air Gain Noted by Spaatz,” New

York Times, Nov. 18, 1947, at 33.

12

could not challenge the government’s privilege claim as

fraudulent.

The Court of Appeals took a different approach. Its

keynote was that “(t]he presumption against the reopening

of a case ... must be not just a high hurdle to climb but a

steep cliff-face to scale.” A3. This “steep cliff-face” meant

that, where sworn affidavits were involved, it was not

enough to show that officers of the court had engaged in

fraud.® Rather, petitioners had to allege and prove that

these officers had committed perjury. Therefore, petitioners

needed to plead and prove that Finletter’s and Harmon’s

affidavits were “not subject to a literal, truthful interpreta-

tion” as “a necessary element” of their claim. A1l2.

Petitioners, however, could not make out this “neces-

sary element.” In the Court of Appeals’ view, if read literally

— and without regard for the circumstances in which they

were made or how the courts had understood them at the

time — the Air Force’s affidavits might be construed to claim

“state secrets” protection not just for the mission and secret

equipment aboard the ill-fated plane, but generally for

anything to do with the “workings” of the B-29. A13-14.

Because this was “an obviously reasonable truthful

interpretation of the statements made by the Air Force,”

petitioners were “unable to make out a claim for the perjury

which ... forms the basis for their fraud upon the court

claim,” and their complaint was properly dismissed. Al4.°

Reasons for Granting the Writ

The Court of Appeals has held that government officials

may intentionally defraud the federal courts by false and

misleading affidavits and the government may escape

answering for their misconduct, so long as the affiants are

8. The Court of Appeals agreed that Finletter and Harmon were acting

as “officers of the court” in Reynolds. A11.

9. In light of this conclusion, the Court of Appeals did not reach the

district court’s additional “independent research"-based ground for

dismissal.

13

careful to avoid committing the crime of perjury. This

unprecedented holding conflicts with prior decisions of this

Court and other circuit courts governing independent

actions for fraud upon the court and establishes a standard

that promises only to bring shame on the federal judiciary. A

fraud directed squarely at the integrity of this Court’s

decision-making, as happened in the Reynolds case, should

be confronted, not excused. In the exercise of its supervisory

powers, this Court should issue a writ of certiorari to review

the Court of Appeals’ ruling.

I. The Court of Appeals’ Decision Conflicts with

Rule 60(b) and Prior Decisions of this Court and

Other Courts of Appeals.

The Court of Appeals’ decision in this case makes

pleading and proof of criminal perjury the sine qua non of an

independent action under Rule 60(b) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, at least where allegedly false and

misleading statements appear in sworn affidavits or

declarations:

To allege that false statements were made in these

documents is to allege perjury .... In such a case,

proof of perjury, though not sufficient to prove fraud

upon the court, becomes a necessary element which

must be met before going on to meet the additional

rigors of proving fraud upon the court.

Al2. On this basis, the Court of Appeals flipped the rules

that generally govern motions to dismiss; read the Finletter

and Harmon affidavits entirely outside the context in which

they were presented and previously understood; and held

that because those affidavits were arguably susceptible to a

“literal, truthful interpretation” petitioners could not prove

perjury and hence could not make out a claim for fraud upon

the court. A12-14.

The Court of Appeals cites no authority for its

holding that “proof of perjury” is a necessary element of a

fraud upon the court in this or any other context. None

14

exists. The court’s decision conflicts with the plain language

of Rule 60(b) and with Hazel-Atlas Glass Co. v. Hartford-

Empire Co., 322 U.S. 238 (1944), and United States v.

Beggerly, 524 U.S. 38 (1998), this Court’s leading recent

discussions of fraud upon the court. It is also at odds with

the standards for Rule 60(b) independent actions estab-

lished by other federal appeals courts.

Rule 60(b), as amended in 1946, abolished almost all

common law avenues for post-judgment relief in the district

courts. Beggerly, 524 U.S. at 45. The amended rule,

however, specifically preserved “the power of the court to

entertain an independent action ... to set aside a judgment

for fraud upon the court.” Such an independent action

sounds in equity and, as Beggerly notes, appears “more

broadly available than the more narrow writs that the 1946

Amendment abolished.” Id.

The rule allows an action for fraud upon the court, not

perjury upon the court. Perjury and fraud are different.

Perjury is a crime. It requires proof of a willfully false

statement made under oath or expressly under penalty of

perjury, on a material matter which the defendant does not

believe to be true. 18 U.S.C. § 1621. These criminal

standards are exacting. Only an affirmative false statement

will sustain a charge of perjury; a literally true statement is

not perjury, even if it is intentionally evasive, misleading

and deceitful. Bronston v. United States, 409 U.S. 352, 360-

62 (1973). Further, a conviction lies only if the prosecution

proves that the defendant knew his testimony was false at

the time he gave it. United States v. Sweig, 441 F.2d 114, 117

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 403 U.S. 932 (1971); La Placa uv.

United States, 354 F.2d 56, 59 (1st Cir. 1965).

Fraud, by contrast, is the intentional misstatement or

omission of a material fact made with knowledge of its

falsity or in reckless disregard for whether it is true or false.

E.g., SEC v. Infinity Group Co., 212 F.3d 180, 191-92 (3d Cir.

2000), cert. denied, 532 U.S. 905 (2001) (actionable securities

fraud consists of knowing or reckless misstatements or

15

omissions); McLean v. Alexander, 599 F.2d 1190, 1197 & n.

12 (3d Cir. 1979) (same, collecting cases). Fraud is both a

criminal and civil law concept. Unlike perjury, fraud does

not depend upon an affirmative false statement; it may rest

upon an omission to state a material fact that the actor is

under a duty to disclose or that is necessary to make the

facts stated not misleading. Bronston, 409 U.S. at 358 n.4

(criminal fraud, unlike perjury, “goes ‘rather far in punish-

ing intentional creation of false impressions by a selection of

literally true representations, because the actor himself

generally selects and arranges the representations’”)

(citation omitted); Kline v. First Western Govu’t Sec., 24

F.3d 480, 491 (3d Cir. 1994); SEC v. Coffey, 493 F.2d 1304,

1314 (6th Cir. 1974). Fraud also does not require that the

actor know his statements and omissions to be false; the

actor may answer for fraud if he acts in reckless disregard

for whether his statements and omissions are true or not.

Infinity Group Co., 212 F.3d at 191-92; First Commodity

Corp. v. Commodity Futures Trading Comm., 676 F.2d 1, 6-7

(1st Cir. 1982).

Fraud thus is not perjury, and in preserving an

“independent action ... for fraud upon the court” Rule

60(b) is not preserving an action confined by the elements of

the crime of perjury. It is preserving a coader remedy for

deceit directed at the court itself.

This Court’s leading decision on “fraud upon the court,”

Hazel-Atlas, makes this clear.*° In 1941, h wel-Atlas

commenced an action to set aside a judgment entered

against it in 1932 on a claim of patent infringement. It

10. Hazel-Atlas is a prime example of a situation for which the

independent action was preserved under amended Rule 60(b). 28 U.S.C.

App., Fed R. Civ. P. 60, Advisory Committee’s Notes on 1946

Amendment, at p. 795 (“the rule expressly does not limit the power of

the court, when fraud has been perpetrated upon it, to give relief under

the saving clause. As an illustration of this situation, see Hazel-Atlas

Glass Co. v. Hartford-Empire Co., 322 U.S. 238 (1944).”). See also

Beggerly, 524 U.S. at 46.

16

alleged that Hartford-Empire had procured the judgment by

a fraud upon the court. Its evidence showed that in 1926 an

attorney for Hartford had written an article extolling

Hartford’s glass-making machine as a “remarkable ad-

vance” and arranged to have that article published in a

trade journal under the name of William Clarke, a leader in

the field. 322 U.S. at 240. Hartford and its attorney

submitted the article to the Patent Office in support of

Hartford’s patent application and later cited it to the Third

Circuit in a brief, directing the <ourt’s attention to “(t]he

article by Mr. William Clarke, fo: mer President of the Glass

Workers’ Union.” Id. at 240-41. The truth came fully to light

in the course of testimony in a later government prosecution

of Hartford for antitrust violations. Jd. at 243.

The Court of Appeals denied Hazel-Atlas relief, but this

Court reversed. The Court found that “[ejvery element of

the fraud here disclosed demands the exercise of the historic

power of equity to set aside fraudulently begotten judg:

ments.” Id. at 245." Hartford’s sin was not the crime of

perjury: Hartford was. not under oath when it misrepre-

sented the authorship of the article in its Patent Office

filings and appeal brief. Hartford’s sin was deception and

fraud — “a deliberately planned and carefully executed

scheme to defraud ... the Circuit Court of Appeals” — and

deception and fraud was enough to support an independent

action:

(Tjampering with the administration of justice in

the manner indisputably shown here involves far

more than an injury to a single litigant. It is a wrong

against the institutions set up to protect and

safeguard the public, institutions in which fraud

11. The Court observed that the federal courts’ equitable power to set

aside a final judgment obtained by fraud was well established and that,

notwithstanding the “deep-rooted policy” of finality, “where the occasion

has demanded, where enforcement of the judgment is ‘manifestly

unconscionable,’ they have wielded the power without hesitation.” 322

U.S. at 244-45 (citations and footnote omitted).

17

cannot complacently be tolerated consistently with

the good order of society. ... The public welfare

demands that the agencies of public justice be not so

impotent that they must always be mute and

helpless victims of deception and fraud.

Id. at 246. It was, moreover, no answer to Hazel-Atlas’ claim

that the article was not basic to the 1932 judgment or that

the statements it contained were true. Hartford was in no

position to dispute that the article was material and

effective or to argue its accuracy having misrepresented its

true origin. Jd. at 246-47.

Similarly, in Beggerly, this Court reviewed amended

Rule 60(b) and the independent action it allows and

concluded that such an action “should be available only to

prevent a grave miscarriage of justice.” 524 U.S. at 47. As

support for this proposition the Court pointed not only to

Hazel-Atlas, but also to Pacific R. Co. v. Missouri Pacific R.

Co., 111 U.S. 505 (1884), and Marshall v. Holmes, 141 U.S.

589 (1891). The Pacific case involved an action to set aside a

foreclosure decree as the product of conspiracy among

certain parties fraudulently to expand the deed and decree

to embrace more property than had originally been

mortgaged. Marshall v. Holmes was an effort to vacate a

series of judgments that had been entered based on an

allegedly forged letter. Like Hazel-Atlas, both of these cases

were fraud cases; neither involved false statements under

oath.

These cases make it clear that the availability of the

independent action has never depended on proof of the

crime of perjury. Nor have any other Courts of Appeals held

that proof of perjury is a “necessary element” of such a

claim. The standard the Sixth Circuit has announced for

independent actions, for example, requires conduct:

1. On the part of an officer of the court; 2. That is

directed to the “judicial machinery” itself; 3. That is

intentionally false, willfully blind to the truth, or is

18

in reckless disregard for the truth; 4. That is a

positive averment or is concealment when one is

under a duty to disclose; 5. That deceives the court.

Demjanjuk v. Petrousky, 10 F.3d 338, 348 (6th Cir. 1993).

This standard recognizes that fraud upon the court, unlike

perjury, need not be based on affirmative misstatements,

but may be based on nondisclosures, and need not be based

on proof of subjective knowledge of falsity, but may be

founded on a showing of willful blindness or reckless

disregard for the truth.

Other circuits have adopted more general standards.

See, e.g., Aoude v. Mobil Oil Corp., 892 F.2d 1115, 1118 (1st

Cir. 1989) (fraud upon the court is an “unconscionable

scheme calculated to interfere with the judicial system’s

ability impartially to adjudicate a matter by improperly

influencing the trier or unfairly hampering the presentation

of the opposing party’s claim or defense”); Gleason uv.

Jandrucko, 860 F.2d 556, 559 (2d Cir. 1989) (“fraud which

seriously affects the integrity of the normal process of

adjudication”); Rozier v. Ford Motor Co., 573 F.2d 1332,

1338 (5th Cir. 1978) (“only the most egregious conduct, such

as bribery of a judge or members of the jury, or the

fabrication of evidence by a party in which an attorney is

implicated”); Oxxford Clothes XX, Inc. v. Expeditors Int'l,

Inc., 127 F.3d 574, 578 (7th Cir. 1997) (“conduct that might

be thought to corrupt the judicial process itself, as where a

party bribes a judge or inserts bogus documents into the

record”); Greiner v. City of Champlin, 152 F.3d 787, 789 (8th

Cir. 1998) (“egregious misconduct directed to the court

itself”); Dixon v. Commissioner, No. 00-70858, 2003 U.S.

App. LEXIS 4831, at *11-12 (9th Cir. Mar. 18, 2003),

amending 316 F.3d 1041 (9th Cir. 2003) (“unconscionable

plan or scheme which is designed to improperly influence

the court in its decision”).

Not one of these formulations, however, demands proof

of perjury to establish fraud upon the court. Nor do any

other decided cases petitioners have been able to locate. In

19

announcing and enforcing such a standard, the Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit stands alone.

Il. The Court of Appeals’ “Perjury” Standard for

Independent Actions So Far Departs from the

Accepted and Usual Course of Judicial Proceed-

ings as to Call for the Exercise of this Court’s

Supervisory Powers.

Independent actions for fraud upon the court -

especially fraud upon this Court - are admittedly rare. But

they are important. The standards courts apply to

independent actions establish when, notwithstanding the

doctrine of finality, courts will act to defend the integrity of

their own processes to assure that justice is done. Where a

court, in the name of finality or expediency, announces a

standard that turns a blind eye to potential corruption of its

processes, it demeans itself and the public confidence that is

the court’s most vital resource.

This is what the Court of Appeals has done here. Its

decision begins with a vow to erect “not just a high hurdle to

climb but a steep cliff-face to scale” in pleading and proving

fraud upon the court. A3. It concludes with an extraordinary

holding that, at least where the fraud is perpetrated by

sworn statements, a showing that the statements were

intentionally misleading and deceptive is not enough. The

affidavits must be perjurious, and must be viewed with all of

the facts in the light most favorable to their proponents to

see if they might bear any literal, truthful interpretation.

This standard is result-driven in its reasoning and outcome

and, at bottom, shameful. A court should expect more of

government officials who solicit judicial action than that

they not be guilty of perjury.

Petitioners duly pleaded that Secretary Finletter and

Major General Harmon defrauded the federal courts,

including this Court, in claiming “state secrets” protection

for the accident report and witness statements at issue in

Reynolds. When these officials’ affidavits are read in the

20

context of the underlying litigation, it is plain that they

intended to lead the trial court and later the Court of

Appeals and this Court to believe that the documents in

question contained secret information regarding the plane’s

mission and the confidential equipment it carried. More-

over, the record establishes beyond question that this is

precisely how they were understood by the trial court, the

Court of Appeals, and this Court. And, it is because they were

so understood that the government secured in this Court a

broad privilege for “state secrets” that led to the reversal of

the widows’ judgments. Reynolds, 345 U.S. at 10:(“On the

record before the trial court it appeared that this accident

occurred to a military plane which had gone aloft to test

secret electronic equipment. Certainly there was a reason-

able danger that the accident investigation report would

contain references to the secret electronic equipment which

was the primary concern of the mission.”)

It turns out that the accident report and witness

statements contain no “state secrets” of the sort this Court

understood the Air Force to claim. The documents contain

nothing secret about the plane’s mission or its confidential

equipment.'* On this score, which is the score that matters,

the affiants perpetrated fraud. That their affidavits might be

12. The district court suggested, sua sponte, that references in the

accident report that the plane was involved in an “electronics project,” an

“authorized research and development mission” and “projects

requirling] aircraft capable of dropping bombs at altitudes of 20,000

feet and above” might reveal secret information. B11. This speculation,

even if it were appropriate on a motion to dismiss (which it is not), is

easily answered. Contemporancous news reports at the time publicly

reported these facts. Indeed, many of them appear in this Court’s opinion

in Reynolds. 345 U.S. at 2-3. On appeal, the government also pointed to a

reference in a witness statement to the fact that the plane had an auto-

pilot, hinting that this fact might be confidential. But this speculation,

even less appropriate on appeal, is also baseless. The Air Foree had

publicized that its bombers had auto-pilot technology in 1943. “Army

Tells Secret of its Robot Pilot: Electronically Controlled, It Is Said to Keep

Plane Rigidly On Course In Bombing,” New York Times, Sept. 21, 1943,

p. 25.

21

read literally to claim a privilege for other information about

the B-29, as the Court of Appeals suggests, might help the

affiants avoid a perjury prosecution.’® But it does not render

their affidavits any less false, misleading and fraudulent, for

the affidavits were intended to deceive — and did deceive -

the courts on key facts that drove this Court’s decision. See

Hazel-Atlas, 322 U.S. at 247 (misrepresentation of key fact

of authorship upon which court relied constituted fraud

upon the court, even if other facts presented were truthful);

Lucia v. Prospect St. High income Portfolio, Inc. 36 F.3d 170,

175 (1st Cir. 1994) (literally accurate statements may, in

context and manner of presentation, be misleading and

fraudulent under securities laws); McMahan v. Wherehouse

Entertainment, Inc., 900 F.2d 576, 579 (2d Cir. 1990) (same);

SEC v. First American Bank & Trust Co., 481 F.2d 673, 678-

79 (8th Cir. 1973)."

The standard adopted below leads to the absurd result

that a fraud upon the court practiced by means of sworn

affidavits will be harder to make out than one founded on

unsworn statements. Let us imagine that Congress had not

required the Secretary of the Air Force to take an oath when

claiming “state secrets” protection and the Secretary and

13. Petitioners do not agree with the Court of Appeals’ reading of the

affidavits. Secretary Finletter, for instance, specifically represented that

the documents in question were “concerned with confidential missions

and equipment of the Air Force.” C31. This statement, which the Court of

Appeals does not even mention, has no “literal, truthful interpretation.”

It is false. Petitioners also do not agree that the affiants sought to claim

any privilege for the “workings” of the B-29. The affiants were offering to

produce witnesses to testify to precisely these matters. 345 U.S. at 11. Nor

is there any evidence that what the accident reports or witness

statements disclosed about the “workings” of the B-29 was, in fact, secret.

14. See also Stuart P. Green, Lying, Misleading, and Falsely Denying:

How Moral Concepts Inform the Law of Perjury, Fraud, and False

Statements, 53 HastinGs L.J. 157, 182 (November, 2001) (“Under modern

criminal law, literally true but misleading assertions, misleading

statements expressing mere beliefs and opinions, and various forms of

misleading nonverbal conduct can all provide a predicate to prosecution

for fraud and related offenses”).

22

Judge Advocate General had simply presented their claims

by letter to the trial court. The fraud upon the court would

be the same. Yet the crime of perjury would not be

implicated and hence there would be no quest for a “literal,

truthful interpretation” of the claims. The letters would be

evaluated under the standards for fraud and considered as a

whole and in context to ascertain whether, by commission or

omission, they were intentionally false, misleading or

deceptive.

Surely a government official who defrauds the court

under oath is no less contemptible than one who fabricates

evidence or offers unsworn factual misrepresentations.

After all, the oath-taker has made a solemn vow to be

truthful. There is no logic or justice in according him the

heightened protection of a “perjury” standard. The rule the

Court of Appeals adopted licenses the worst sort of fraud

upon the court: the clever, sworn series of “literally truthful

statements” that will beat off a perjury prosecution but

nonetheless deceive the court on facts fundamental to its

decision-making.

History reveals another example of fraud directed at the

integrity of this Court’s decision-making and accomplished

through “literally truthful statements” by high government

officials. It arose in a context no less charged than Reynolds.

It was discovered only decades after the event. But, it was

rightly condemned as a fraud upon this Court because these

“literally truthful statements” were intentionally dishonest

and deceptive.

In Korematsu v. United States, 323 U.S. 214 (1944), the

Court affirmed the conviction and internment of Fred

Korematsu, an American of Japanese ancestry. In 1983,

Korematsu filed a petition for a writ of coram nobis to vacate

this conviction based on government misconduct. That

misconduct included evidence that the government’s brief

in this Court i.ad been deliberately misleading in setting out

the facts upon which the government had relied in ordering

23

the evacuation and internment of Japanese-Americans as a

“military necessity.”

The Justice Department’s original draft brief before

this Court admitted that:

The Final Report of General DeWitt [supporting the

military necessity justification] ... is relied on in this

brief-for- statistics and other details concerning the

actual evacuation and the events that took place

subsequent thereto. The recital of the circumstances

justifying the evacuation as a matter of military

necessity, however, is in several respects, particularly

with reference to the use of illegal radio transmit-

ters and to shore-to-ship signaling by persons of

Japanese ancestry, in conflict with the information

in the possession of the Department of Justice. In

view of the contrariety of the reports on this matter

we do not asks [sic] the Court to take judicial notice

of the recital of those facts contained in the Report.

Korematsu v. United States, 584 F. Supp. 1406, 1417 (N.D.

Cal. 1984) (emphasis in original). However, by the time the

brief was filed with this Court, this passage had been revised

to:

The Final Report of General DeWitt ... is relied on in

this brief for statistics and other details concerning

the actual evacuation and the events that took place

subsequent thereto. We have specifically recited in

this brief the facts relating to the justification for the

evacuation, of which we ask the Court to take

judicial notice, and we rely upon the Final Report

only to the extent that it relates to such facts.

Id. at 1418 (emphasis in original) (citing Brief for the United

States, Korematsu v. United States, October Term, 1944, No.

22, at 11). The final brief made no mention of the

contradictory reports, nor of the “willful historical in-

accuracies and intentional falsehoods” that Justice Depart-

ment officials believed the DeWitt Report contained. 585 F.

24

Supp. at 1418. The United States’ brief was literally true,

but deliberately misleading.

As the district court recognized, the government’s

~ deceitful omissions were critical. Jd. The government had

relied heavily in the district court on the entire range of

factual findings in the DeWitt Report to justify the

evacuation. And, this Court assumed the integrity of the

executive branch’s factual determinations in that report in

adopting a deferential standard of review in Hirabayashi v.

United States, 320 U.S. 81, 95 (1943), and in applying that

deferential standard to sustain Korematsu’s conviction a

year later. See 323 U.S. at 218-24. “Whether a fuller, more

accurate record would have prompted a different decision

cannot be determined. Nor need it be determined.” 584 F.

Supp. at 1419 (emphasis added). The record had been falsely

depicted and relevant evidence had been knowingly with-

held from the Court. This was sufficient to issue the writ

and vacate Korematsu’s conviction. /d.

Korematsu and, petitioners believe, this case show that

where the stakes warrant and the opportunity exists, fraud

upon the court will occur. lf the Court of Appeals’ decision

should stand - if “perjury” standards can defeat claims of

fraud - officials intent on fraud will find ways to practice

their deceit within the bounds of that decision and equity

will turn its back on the consequences. That will be a sad

day for the victims and for our courts. The Court should

issue a writ of certiorari to set the standards right.

Ili. This Court Should Provide Petitioners a Re-

medy for the Government’s Fraud.

Petitioners sought a writ of error coram nobis from this

Court in March, 2003. The government opposed the petition,

pointing to the availability of an independent action under

Rule 60(b). This Court declined to accept the petition for

filing, remitting the petitioners to their district court

remedy. .

25

The fraud in this case succeeded only in this Court.

Petitioners therefore believed this Court was the appro-

priate forum in which to seek redress in the first instance.

Subsequent proceedings have confirmed that petitioners

were correct. The lower courts have gone to extraordinary

lengths to dismiss this case. The district court conducted its

own “independent” factual research, made demonstrably

erroneous findings to which petitioners had no opportunity

to respond, then dismissed the case with prejudice on a

theory the government itself had never advanced. The Court

of Appeals vowed to put a “cliff-face” before petitioners, and

it did.

The lower courts have no sufficient stake in this case.

This Court does. It is this Court’s processes that were

subverted. The Court should issue a writ of certiorari to

assure that petitioners have a remedy for the fraud upon

this Court the government perpetrated.

Conclusion

This is a case about a fraud upon the Court. Some may

find in the petitioners’ complaint reason to doubt the

wisdom of this Court’s holding in United States v. Reynolds.

Others will see this “back-story” as merely a sad footnote

that takes nothing away from the logic of the Court’s 1953

decision. The merits of the Reynolds holding - and its

impact on present day controversies - pose interesting and

no doubt important questions. But petitioners do not raise

any of them. Whether the legal principles established in

Reynolds are right or wrong is for another day and another

case.

For petitioners, the only issue this Court must today

address is whether it will tolerate a fraud - a fraud that

struck at the integrity of the Court’s decision-making

process and that cheated three struggling widows and their

children out of that which was rightly theirs. Petitioners

pray that it will not.

26

For all of these reasons the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Wilson M. Brown, III

Counsel of Record

Lori J. Rapuano

DRINKER BIDDLE & REATH LLP

Attorneys for Petitioners

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Appendix Page

Appendix A:

Opinion and Judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit, filed September 22,

Appendix B:

Memorandum and Order of the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania,

filed September 10, 2004

Appendix C:

Independent Action for Relief from Judgment to

Remedy Fraud Upon the Court (Complaint), filed

October 1, 2003

Al

PRECEDENTIAL

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 04-4270

PATRICIA J. HERRING, INDIVIDUALLY; JUDITH

PALYA LOETHER, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS A LIVING

HEIR OF ELIZABETH PALYA (DECEASED); WILLIAM

PALYA, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS A LIVING HEIR OF

ELIZABETH PALYA (DECEASED); ROBERT PALYA,

INDIVIDUALLY AND AS A LIVING HEIR OF

ELIZABETH PALYA (DECEASED); SUSAN BRAUNER,

INDIVIDUALLY AND AS A LIVING HEIR OF PHYLLIS

BRAUNER (DECEASED); CATHERINE BRAUNER,

INDIVIDUALLY AND AS A LIVING HEIR OF PHYLLIS

BRAUNER (DECEASED), Appellants

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(District Court No. 03-CV-5500)

District Court Judge: Honorable Legrome D. Davis

Argued: July 15, 2005

Before: ALITO, VAN ANTWERPEN and ALDISERT,

Circuit Judges

(Filed: September 22, 2005)

A2

Wilson M. Brown, III (Argued)

Lori J. Rapuano

Angie Halim

Drinker Biddle & Reath, LLP

One Logan Square

18th and Cherry Streets

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Attorneys for Appellants

Peter D. Keisler

Assistant Attorney General

Patrick L. Meehan

United States Attorney

Barbara L. Herwig

August E. Flentje (Argued)

Attorneys

Appellate Staff, Civil Division

Department of Justice

950 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Room 7242

Washington, D.C. 20530-0001

Attorneys for Appellee

A3

OPINION OF THE COURT

ALDISERT, Circuit Judge.

In this case we decide whether the Government’s

assertion of military secrets privilege for an accident

report discussing the October 6, 1948 crash of a B-29

bomber which killed three civilian engineers along with six

military personnel, at Waycross, Georgia, was fraud upon

the court.

I.

Actions for fraud upon the court are so rare that this

Court has not previously had the occasion to articulate a

legal definition of the concept. The concept of fraud upon the

court challenges the very principle upon which our judicial

system is based: the finality of a judgment. The presumption

against the reopening of a case that has gone through the

appellate process all the way to the United States Supreme

Court and reached final judgment must be not just a high

hurdle to climb but a steep cliff-face to scale.

In order to meet the necessarily demanding standard

for proof of fraud upon the court we conclude that there

must be: (1) an intentional fraud; (2) by an officer of the

court; (3) which is directed at the court itself; and (4) in fact

deceives the court.’

1. The United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit has set

forth five elements of fraud upon the court which consist of conduct: “1.

On the part of an officer of the court; 2. That is directed to the ‘judicial

machinery’ itself; 3. That is intentionally false, willfully blind to the

truth, or is in reckless disregard for the truth; 4. That is a positive

averment or is concealment when one is under a duty to disclose; 5. That

deceives the court.” Demjanjuk v. Petrovsky, 10 F.3d 338, 348 (6th Cir.

1993).

Although other United States Courts of Appeals have not articulated

express elements of fraud upon the court as the Sixth Circuit did, the

doctrine has been characterized “as a scheme to interfere with the judicial

A4

We further conclude that a determination of fraud on the

court may be justified only by “the most egregious

misconduct directed to the court itself,” and that it “must

be supported by clear, unequivocal and convincing

evidence.” In re Coordinated Pretrial Proceedings in

Antibiotic Antitrust Actions, 538 F.2d 180, 195 (8th Cir.

1976) (citations omitted). The claim of privilege by the

United States Air Force in this case can reasonably be

interpreted to include within its scope information about the

workings of the B-29, and therefore does not meet the

demanding standard for fraud upon the court.

II.

Early in 2000, Judith Palya Loether learned through

internet research that the government had declassified Air

Force documents regarding military aircraft accidents. She

ordered documents related to the crash of a B-29 bomber at

Waycross, Georgia, on October 6, 1948. Her father, Albert

machinery performing the task of impartial adjudication, as by

preventing the opposing party from fairly presenting his case or

defense.” In re Coordinated Pretrial Proceedings in Antibiotic Antitrust

Actions, 538 F.2d 180, 195 (8th Cir. 1976) (citations omitted); see also

Rozier v. Ford Motor Co., 573 F.2d 1332, 1338 (5th Cir. 1978) (holding

“only the most egregious misconduct, such as bribery of a judge or

members of a jury, or the fabrication of evidence by a party in which an

attorney is implicated, will constitute a fraud on the court”). Additionally,

fraud upon the court differs from fraud on an adverse party in that it “is

limited to fraud which seriously affects the integrity of the nermal process

of adjudication.” Gleason v. Jandrucko, 860 F.2d 556, 559 (2d Cir. 1998).

Other United States Courts of Appeals expressly require that fraud

upon the court must involve an officer of the court. See Geo. P. Reintijes

Co. v. Riley Stoker Corp., 71 F.3d 44, 48 (1st Cir. 1995); Demjanjuk, 10

F.3d at 348. The Ninth Circuit noted that “one species of fraud upon the

court occurs when an ‘officer of the court’ perpetrates fraud affecting the

ability of the court or jury to impartially judge a case.” Pumphrey v.

Thompson Too! Co., 62 F.3d 1128, 1130 (9th Cir. 1995); see also Weese v.

Schukman, 98 F.3d 542, 553 (10th Cir. 1996) (noting that “fraud on the

court should embrace only that species of fraud which does or attempts to,

subvert the integrity of the court itself, or is a fraud perpetrated by

officers of the court”) (citation omitted); Kerwit Med. Prods., Inc. v. N. &

H. Instruments, Inc., 616 F.2d 833, 837 (11th Cir. 1980) (same).

A5

Palya, along with two other civilian engineers, had been

killed in that crash. Her mother and the other two widows

had sued the Government under the Tort Claims Act, but

had not been able to gain access to the, now declassified, Air

Force documents because of the Government’s claim that

the documents were protected by privilege. The case was

heard by the Supreme Court in United States v. Reynolds,

345 U.S. 1(1953), which explained the legal framework we

must use in analyzing claims in which the Government

asserts a privilege against revealing military secrets. Id. at

7-12. The Supreme Court reversed the decision of this Court

and remanded the case to District Court for determination

of whether the facts of that particular case, applied to the

legal standard articulated, merited a determination that the

privilege sought by the Government should be granted. Id.

at 12. Before the District Court was able to consider the case

on remand, the parties settled for 75% of the District

Court’s original verdict and the case was then dismissed

with prejudice.

The Supreme Court explained the facts and procedural

history leading up to its determination of the case as follows:

These suits under the Tort Claims Act arise from

the death of three civilians in the crash of a B-29

aircraft at Waycross, Georgia, on October 6, 1948.

Because an important question of the Government’s

privilege to resist discovery is involved, we granted

certiorari.

The aircraft had taken flight for the purpose of

testing secret electronic equipment, with four

civilian observers aboard. While aloft, fire broke

out in one of the bomber’s engines. Six of the nine

crew members, and three of the four civilian

observers were killed in the crash.

The widows of the three deceased civilian observers

brought consolidated suits against the United

States. In the pretrial stages the plaintiffs moved,

A6

under Rule 34 of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, for production of the Air Force’s official

accident investigation report and the statements of

the three surviving crew members, taken in

connection with the official investigation. The

Government moved to quash the motion, claiming

that these matters were privileged against

disclosure pursuant to Air Force regulations

promulgated under R.S. § 161. The District Judge

sustained plaintiffs’ motion, holding that good cause

for production had been shown. The claim of

privilege under R.S. § 161 was rejected on the

premise that the Tort Claims Act, in making the

Government liable “in the same manner” as a

private individual had waived any privilege based

upon executive control over governmental

documents.

Shortly after this decision, the District Court

received a letter from the Secretary of the Air

Force, stating that “it has been determined that it

would not be in the public interest to furnish this

report....” The court allowed a rehearing on its

earlier order, and at the rehearing the Secretary of

the Air Force filed a formal “Claim of Privilege.”

This document repeated the prior claim based

generally on R.S. § 161, and then stated that the

Government further objected to production of the

documents “for the reason that the aircraft in

question, together with the personnel on board,

were engaged in a highly secret mission of the Air

Force.” An affidavit of the Judge Advocate General,

United States Air Force, was also filed with the

court, which asserted that the demanded material

could not be furnished “without seriously

hampering national security, flying safety and the

development of highly technical and secret military

equipment.” The same affidavit offered to produce

the three surviving crew members, without cost, for

A7

examination by the plaintiffs. The witnesses would

be allowed to refresh their memories from any

statement made by them to the Air Force, and

authorized to testify as to all matters except those of

a “classified nature.”

The District Court ordered the Government to produce

the documents in order that the court might determine

whether they contained privileged matter. The Government

declined, so the court entered an order, under Rule

37(b)(2)(i), that the facts on the issue of negligence would

be taken as established in plaintiffs’ favor. After a hearing to

determine damages, final judgment was entered for the

plaintiffs. The Court of Appeals affirmed, both as to the

showing of good cause for production of the documents, and

as to the ultimate disposition of the case as a consequence of

the Government’s refusal to produce the documents.

Id. at 2-5 (citations and internal quotations omitted).

In the present action, Palya Loether is joined by

Patricia Herring, William Palya, Robert Palya, Susan

Brauner and Catherine Brauner. Patricia Herring is one

of the widows who was a party in the original action. The

others are heirs of the two other, now deceased, widows in

the original action. The substance of their complaint is that

the purportedly top secret documents for which the

Government claimed a military secrets privilege did not

actually reveal anything of a sensitive nature. They claim,

therefore, that Government officers fraudulently

misrepresented the nature of the report in a way that

caused the widows to settle their case for less than its full

value.

Appellants first pursued this current claim in the

Supreme Court by a motion seeking leave to file a petition

for a writ of error coram nobis. The Court denied this

motion on June 23, 2003. In re Herring, 539 U.S. 940 (2003).

Then, on October 1, 2003, Appellants filed this action in the

District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania,

A8

preserved by the savings clause of Rule 60(b) of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure, to set aside the 50-year-old

settlement agreement on the grounds that the settlement

was procured by fraud upon the court. The Appellants

sought the difference between the settlement amount and

judgment originaily entered by the District Court (which

was later set aside by the Supreme Court). The Government

then filed a motion to dismiss for failure to state a claim

under Rule 12(b)(6). The District Court granted the

Government’s 12(b)(6) motion. It determined that there

was no fraud because the documents, read in their historical

context, could have revealed secret information about the

equipment being tested on the plane and, on a broader

reading, the claim of privilege referred to both the mission

and the workings of the B-29. We affirm.

IIT.

The District Court had jurisdiction supplemental to its

exercise of ‘urisdiction over the original claim in Reynolds v.

United States, No. 10142 (E.D. Pa.) (filed September 27,

1949), and Brauner v. United States, No. 9793 (E.D. Pa.)

(filed June 21, 1949). See 28 U.S.C. § 1367 (2000). We have

jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

IV.

The Government urges us to apply an abuse of

discretion standard of review to our review of the District

Court’s grant of its Rule 12(b)(6) motion and provides

several arguments in favor of departure from the normally

applicable standard.

Initially, we must be clear that we are not here

reviewing a Rule 60(b) motion. The provision of Rule 60(b)

commonly known as the “savings clause” states: “This rule

does not limit the power of a court to entertain an

independent action to relieve a party from a judgment,

order, or proceeding, or to grant relief to a defendant not

actually personally notified as provided in Title 28, U.S.C., §

1655, or to set aside a judgment for fraud upon the court.”

A9

Rule 60(b), Federal Rules of Civil Procedure (emphasis

added). It follows that an independent action alleging fraud

upon the court is completely distinct from a motion under

Rule 60(b). See Geo. P. Reintjes Co., 71 F.3d at 48.

The Government contends that because Appellants

seek an equitable remedy ancillary to the prior suit of

relief from a prior judgment of the District Court we should

treat this action as if it were a review of denial of a Rule

60(b) motion and therefore review for abuse of discretion.

We will not treat as a Rule 60(b) motion something that is

explicitly preserved without being included by the text of

Rule 60(b).

We are similarly unpersuaded by the Government’s

argument that because Rule 60(b) allows relief more broad

than an independent action for fraud upon the court, and

determinations based on Rule 60(b) are reviewed only for

abuse of discretion, see Pridgen v. Shannon, 380 F.3d 721,

725 (3d Cir. 2004), an independent action for fraud upon the

court should be reviewed at least as deferentially.

Fundamentally, this argument confuses standard of review

with burden of proof. We are quite capable of taking full

account of the narrow criteria for relief present in an

independent action for fraud upon the court without

altering the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Under the

normal de novo, review that applies to a district court’s

grant of a Rule 12(b)(6) motion to dismiss for failure to state

a claim, we can determine whether the Appellants have

alleged facts which, if true, provide a basis for relief under

the very demanding legal standard for fraud upon the court.

Finally, the Government cites United States v. Buck,

281 F.3d 1336, 1342-1343 (10th Cir. 2002), for the

proposition that independent actions to reopen a judgment

based on fraud upon the court are reviewed for abuse of

discretion. We note initially that Buck is not binding on this

Court. Even if it were, it does not support the Government’s

proposition because it reviewed a case in a much different

procedural posture than the one at bar. In Buck, the court

Al0

converted a motion brought under Rule 60(b)(6) alleging

fraud upon the court into an independent action and then

reviewed for abuse of discretion. Instead, we are faced with

the simple review of a district court’s grant of a Rule

12(b)(6) motion to dismiss for failure to state a claim to

which de novo review clearly applies. See In re Adams Golf,

Inc. Sec. Litig., 381 F.3d 267, 273 (3d Cir. 2004).

V.

As noted above, we will employ a demanding standard

for independent actions alleging fraud upon the court

requiring: (1) an intentional fraud; (2) by an officer of the

court; (3) which is directed at the court itself; and (4) that in

fact deceives the court. We agree with the Court of Appeals

of the Eighth Circuit that the fraud on the court must

constitute “egregious misconduct... such as bribery of a

judge or jury or fabrication of evidence by counsel.” In re

Coordinated Pretrial Proceedings in Antibiotic Antitrust

Actions, 538 F.2d at 195 (citations omitted). We must decide

whether the United States Air Force’s assertion of military

secrets privilege over the accident report describing the

cause of the B-29’s crash at Waycross, Georgia, was fraud

upon the court. In order to do this we look carefully at two

documents central to the original litigation: the formal

affidavit and claim of privilege filed by then-Secretary of the

Air Force, Thomas K. Finletter and an affidavit of

then-Judge Advocate General of the Air Force, Reginald

Harmon.

Before engaging in a detailed inquiry into the substance

contained in these docun.ents it is important to note the

form and authorship of the documents. Both are formal

documents making assertions to the court under oath

authored by lawyers who were participating in the

litigation though not directly representing the United

States.

Authorship is important because, as noted above, we

agree with the courts analyzing fraud upon the court which

All

have required the fraud to be perpetrated by an “officer of

the court.” See Geo. P. Reintjes, 71 F.3d at 49; Demjanjuk,

10 F.3d at 348; Lockwood v. Bowles, 46 F.R.D. 625, 622 (D.C.

Cir. 1969). These cases have noted, and we agree, that

perjury by a witness is not enough to constitute fraud upon

the court. See e.g., Geo. P. Reintjes Co., 71 F.3d at 49 (“The

possibility of perjury, even concerted, is a common hazard of

the adversary process with which litigants are equipped to

deal through discovery and cross-examination, and, where

warranted, motion for relief from judgment to the presiding

court. Were mere perjury sufficient to override the

considerable value of finality after the statutory time

period for motions on account of fraud has expired, it

would upend [Rule 60’s] careful balance.”) (citations

omitted).

The Government seeks to define officer of the court

narrowly to exclude Secretary Finletter and Judge Advocate

Harmon because, though lawyers, they did not represent the

United States in the litigation sought to be reopened.

Although it is true that Finletter and Harmon did not

represent the United States in the litigation, they did

represent the United States Air Force’s claim of privilege

over a document central to that litigation. They were

attorneys making a formal claim of privilege on behalf of

the Government. We agree with the District Court’s

conclusion that the Supreme Court depended upon

Finletter and Harmon’s “experience, expertise and

truthfulness” in its decision to reverse and remand.

Herring v. United States, No. Civ. A.03-CV-5500-LDD,

2004 WL 2040272, *6 n.3 (E.D. Pa. Sept. 10, 2004). Given

these unique facts, we find it inappropriate to decide the

case on the basis that Secretary Finletter and Judge

Advocate General Harmon were not officers of the court.

2. In this view that we take, we extend to Appellants the full reach of

case law that prescribed required elements of “fraud upon the court.”

Were we to proceed otherwise, the following discussion would not have

been necessary to affirm the judgment of the District Court.

Al2

The stature of the documents in which the allegedly

fraudulent representations were made is also important.

The representations were made in an affidavit of Judge

Advocate General Harmon and an affidavit and formal claim

of privilege of Secretary Finletter both made under oath. To

allege that false statements were made in these documents

is to allege perjury; a particularly serious type of perjury

because of the high degree of faith the Court placed in the

truth of Finletter and Harmon’s representations. In a

perjury case, the plaintiff must prove that the allegedly

perjurious statement is not subject to a literal, truthful

interpretation. United States v. Tonelli, 577 F.2d 194, 198

(3d Cir. 1978). As explained above, proof of perjury is not

enough to establish fraud upon the court. See e.g., Geo. P.

Reintjes Co., 71 F.3d at 49. In this case, however, an

accusation of perjury forms the basis of the fraud upon the

court claim. In such a case, proof of perjury, though not

sufficient to prove fraud upon the court, becomes a

necessary element which must be met before going on to

meet the additional rigors of proving fraud upon the court.

Moving to our examination of the substence of the two

documents relied on by the Appellants, it is apparent that

we must determine whether they are susceptible to a

truthful interpretation. More specifically, can they be

reasonably read to include within their scope an assertion

of privilege over the workings of the B-29? If they can, the

Appellants’ assertion that the Air Force claim of military

secrets privilege misrepresented the nature of the

information contained in the accident report over which

the privilege was asserted falls apart.®

3. Even if we concluded that the Air Force’s claim of privilege could not

be read to include concern about revealing the workings of the B-29, we

would be obligated to consider whether certain information contained in

the accident report actually revealed sensitive information about the

mission and the electronic equipment involved. ‘The accident report

revealed, for example, that the project was being carried out by “the

3150th Electronics Squadron,” that the mission required an “aircraft

capable of dropping bombs” and that the mission required an airplane

Al3

We conclude that the statements of Finletter and

Harmon can be reasonably read to assert privilege over

technical information about the B-29. The formal claim of

privilege made by Secretary Finletter states:

The defendant further objects to the production of

this report, together with the statements of

witnesses, for the reason that the aircraft in

question, together with the personnel on board,

were engaged in a confidential mission of the Air

Force. The airplane likewise carried confidential

equipment on board and any disclosure of its

mission or information concerning its operation or

performance would be _ prejudicial to _ this

department and would not be in the public interest.

(Claim of Privilege by the Secretary of the Air Force

(emphasis added).)

Appellants and the Government disagree on whether

the pronoun “its” refers only to the electronic equipment on

board or the B-29 airplane itself. While both readings are

capable of “operating at altitudes of 20,000 feet and above.” (Report of

Special Investigation of Aircraft Accident Involving TB-29-100BS No.

45-21866.) Our conclusion that information about the workings of the

B-29 was included within the claim of privilege makes it unnecessary to

engage in this analysis. If such an analysis were necessary, it would

require a certain amount of deference to the Government’s position

because of the near impossibility of determining with any level of

certainty what seemingly insignificant pieces of information would have

been of keen interest to a Soviet spy fifty years ago. See e.g, Knight v.

C.LA., 872 F.2d 660, 663 (5th Cir. 1989) (“[E]ven the most apparently

innocuous [information] can yield valuable intelligence.”); C.I.A. v. Sims,

471 U.S. 159, 178 (1985) (“Foreign intelligence services have both the

capacity to gather and analyze any information that is in the public

domain and the substantial expertise in deducing the identities of

intelligence sources from seemingly unimportant details. In this context,

the very nature of the intelligence apparatus of any country is to try to

find out the concerns of others; bits and pieces of data ‘may aid in piecing

together bits of other information even when the individual piece is not of

obvious importance in itself.’” (citation omitted).

Al4

conceivable, the Government’s is more logical. It is more

natural to refer to an airplane’s mission than to refer to the

confidential equipment’s mission. At the very least, the

statement is readily susceptible to the reading preferred by

the Government.

Appellants’ contention about the meaning of “its” in

the claim of privilege is also completely undercut by the

statement in their original Supreme Court brief that “the

Secretary for Air [sic] in his claim of privilege states (R. 22)

that ‘any disclosure of its (the airplane's) mission or

information concerning its operation or performance would

be prejudicial’” and that it was “obvious that the Air Force

considers that all details concerning the operation of the

airplane are ‘classified.’” (Brief for Respondents submitted

to the Supreme Court at 35 n.4 (emphasis added)

(parenthetical alteration in the original).)

Nothing in Judge Advocate General Harmon’s affidavit

contradicts the Government’s contention that the claim of

privilege referred to the B-29 itself rather than solely the

secret mission and equipment.

* * * * *

Because there is an obviously reasonable truthful

interpretation of the statements made by the Air Force,

Appellants are unable to make out a claim for the perjury

which, as explained above, forms the basis for their fraud

upon the court claim. We, therefore, conclude that

Appellants failed to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted.

We will affirm the judgment of the District Court.

Ald

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 04-4270

PATRICIA J. HERRING, INDIVIDUALLY; JUDITH

PALYA LOETHER, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS A LIVING

HEIR OF ELIZABETH PALYA (DECEASED); WILLIAM

PALYA, INDIVIDUALLY AND AS A LIVING HEIR OF

ELIZABETH PALYA (DECEASED); ROBERT PALYA,

INDIVIDUALLY AND AS A LIVING HEIR OF

ELIZABETH PALYA (DECEASED); SUSAN BRAUNER,

INDIVIDUALLY AND AS A LIVING HEIR OF PHYLLIS

BRAUNER (DECEASED); CATHERINE BRAUNER,

INDIVIDUALLY AND AS A LIVING HEIR OF PHYLLIS

BRAUNER (DECEASED)

Appellants

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania

(D.C. No. 03-CV-5500)

District Judge: The Honorable Legrome D. Davis

Argued: July 15, 2005

Before: ALITO, VAN ANTWERPEN and ALDISERT,

Circuit Judges

JUDGMENT

This cause came to be considered on the record from the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania and was argued on July 15, 2005.

Al6

On consideration whereof, it is now hereby ORDERED

and ADJUDGED by this Court that the judgment of the

District Court entered September 10, 2004, be and the same

is hereby affirmed. All of the above in accordance with the

opinion of this Court.

Costs taxed against Appellants.

ATTEST:

/s/ Marcia M. Waldron

Marcia M. Waldron, Clerk

Dated: September 22, 2005

Bl

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

PATRICIA J. HERRING, et al., : CIVIL ACTION

Plaintiffs,

v. : NO. 03-CV-5500-LDD

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

LEGROME D. DAVIS, J. SEPTEMBER 10th, 2004

I. INTRODUCTION

Presently before this Court is the Motion to Dismiss

filed by the United States of America (“Government”) on

January 23, 2004 (Doc. No. 6, “D’s Mot.”), the

Memorandum in Opposition to Defendant’s Motion to

Dismiss filed by Plaintiffs on February 24, 2004 (Doc. No.

9, “Pl’s Opp.”), and the Reply Brief in Support of

Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss filed by the Government on

March 19, 2004 (Doc. No. 10, “Reply”). This Court heard

argument on this matter on May 11, 2004. (Doc. No. 15,

“lrg. Tr.”).

II. FACTUAL BACKGROUND AND PROCEDURAL

HISTORY

This case revisits three consolidated actions originally

brought in 1949 under the Federal Tort Claims Act by

widows of civilians killed in a crash of an Air Force plane,

that culminated in the Supreme Court decision United

States v. Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1 (1953). In Reynolds, the Court

recognized the military secrets privilege that, upon

adequate showing, allows the government to withhold

evidence the disclosure of which would compromise

national security.

Reynolds, 345 U.S. at 11. This Court adopts, in pertinent

part, the factual background set out in Reynolds:

B2

“These suits under the Tort Claims Act arise

from the death of three civilians in the crash of a

B-29 aircraft at Waycross, Georgia, on October 6,

1948. Because an important question of the

Government’s privilege to resist discovery is

involved, [the Supreme Court] granted certiorari.

The aircraft had taken flight for the purpose of

testing secret electronic equipment, with four

civilian observers aboard. While aloft, fire broke

out in one of the bomber’s engines. Six of the nine

crew members, and three of the four civilian

observes were killed in the crash. The widows of

the three deceased civilian observers brought

consolidated suits against the United States. In

the pretrial stages the plaintiffs moved, under Rule

34 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, for

production of the Air Force’s official accident

investigation report and the statements of the

three surviving crew members, taken in

connection with the official investigation. The

Government moved to quash the motion, claiming

that these matters were privileged against

disclosure pursuant to Air Force regulations

promulgated under R.S. § 161. The District Judge

sustained plaintiffs’ motion, holding that good

cause for production had been shown. The claim

of privilege under R.S. § 161 was rejected on the

premise that the Tort Claims Act, in making the

Government liable ‘in the same manner’ as a

private individual had waived any privilege based

upon executive control over governmental

documents.

Shortly after this decision, the District Court

received a letter from the Secretary of the Air

Force, stating that ‘it has been determined that it

would not be in the public interest to furnish this

report.’ The court allowed a rehearing on its earlier

B3

order, and at the rehearing the Secretary of the Air

Force filed a formal ‘Claim of Privilege.’ This

document repeated the prior claim based

generally on R.S. § 161, and then stated that the

Government further objected to production of the

documents ‘for the reason that the aircraft in

question, together with the personnel on board,

were engaged in a highly secret mission of the Air

Force.’ An affidavit of the Judge Advocate General,

United States Air Force, was also filed with the

court, which asserted that the demanded material

could not be furnished ‘without seriously

hampering national security, flying safety and the

development of highly technical and secret military

equipment.’ The same affidavit offered to produce

the three surviving crew members, without cost,

for examination by the plaintiffs. The witnesses

would be allowed to refresh their memories from

any statement made by them to the Air Force, and

authorized to testify as to all matters except those

of a ‘classified nature.’

The District Court ordered the Government to

produce the documents in order that the court

might determine whether they contained privileged

matter. The Government declined, so the court

entered an order, under Rule 37(b)(2)‘i), that the

facts on the issue of negligence would be taken as

established in plaintiffs’ favor. After a hearing to

determine damages, final judgment was entered for

the plaintiffs. The Court of Appeals affirmed, both

as to the showing of good cause for production of

the documents, and as to the ultimate disposition of

the case as a consequence of the Government’s

refusal to produce the documents.”

Reynolds, 345 U.S. at 2-5. The Supreme Court formally

recognized a military secrets privilege and held that:

B4

The privilege belongs to the Government and must

be asserted by it; it can neither be claimed nor

waived by a private party. It is not to be lightly

invoked. There must be a formal claim of privilege,

lodged by the head of the department which has

control over the matter, after actual personal

consideration by that officer. The court itself

must determine whether the circumstances are

appropriate for the claim of privilege, and yet do so

without forcing a disclosure of the very thing the

privilege is designed to protect.

Id. at 7-8 (citations omitted). The Court reversed the

decision of the Court of Appeals and remanded the case to

the District Court for proceedings consistent with its

opinion. On remand from the Reynolds decision, the

parties conducted limited discovery, settled their claims

for approximately seventy-five percent of the original

judgment. The District Court dismissed the case with

prejudice in August of 1953.

In 2000, the daughter of une of the deceased civil

engineers obtained the newly declassified accident report

from an internet service provider. Pl’s Opp. at 9. Because

the report lacked a detailed description of the “secret

mission,” “newly developing electronic devices,” or “secret

electronic equipment,” Plaintiffs sought leave to file a

petition for a writ of error coram nobis before the Supreme

Court; the Court denied the motion in a one line order on

June 23, 2003. In_re Herring, 539 U.S. 940 (2003). On

October 1, 2003, pursuant to Rule 60(b) of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure, the parties and their living heirs filed

this action seeking to set aside the settlement agreement

reached fifty years earlier on the grounds that the

settlement was procured by the Air Force’s claim of

privilege, through which it committed a fraud on the

Court actionable under Rule 60(b)’s savings clause. Fed. R.

Civ. P. 60(b)(6). Plaintiffs request the difference between

the amount for which they settled the claims and the default

B5

judgment originally entered by the District Judge. Compl. at

7 45. On January 23, 2004, the Government filed a Motion to

Dismiss for failure to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure. This Court heard argument on the Motion

on May 11, 2004.

fll. STANDARD OF REVIEW

A. Legal Standard for Motion to Dismiss Under

Rule 12(b)(6)

Dismissal for failure to state a claim is appropriate

when it clearly appears that plaintiff can prove no set of

facts in support of the claim which would entitle him to

relief. See Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46 (1957); Robb

v. City of Philadelphia, 733 F.2d 286, 290 (3d Cir. 1984).

Such a motion tests the legal sufficiency of a claim while

accepting the veracity of the claimant’s allegations. See

Markowitz v. Northeast Land Co., 906 F.2d 100, 103 (3d Cir.

1990); Sturm v. Clark, 835 F.2d 1009, 1011 (3d Cir. 1987);

Winterberg v. CNA Ins. Co., 868 F. Supp. 713, 718 (ED. Pa.

1994), affd, 72 F.3d 318 (3d Cir. 1995). A court may consider

only the pleadings, exhibits thereto, any document

appended to and referenced in the complaint on which

plaintiffs claim is predicated, and matters of public record.

See Fed. R. Civ. P. 10(c); In re Burlington Coat Factory Sec.

Litig., 114 F.3d 1426 (3d Cir. 1997); In re Westinghouse Sec.

Litig., 90 F.3d 696, 707 (3d Cir. 1996). A court, however,

need not credit conclusory allegations or legal conclusions in

deciding a motion to dismiss. See Gen. Motors Corp. v. New

A.C. Chevrolet. Inc., 263 F.3d 296, 333 (3d Cir. 2001); Morse

v. Lower Merion Sch. Dist., 132 F.3d 902, 906 (3d Cir. 1997);

L.S.T., Inc. v. Crow, 49 F.3d 679, 683-84 (11th Cir. 1995). A

claim may be dismissed when the facts alleged and the

reasonable inferences therefrom are legally insufficient to

support the relief sought. See Pennsylvania ex rel.

Zimmerman v. PepsiCo., Inc., 836 F.2d 173, 179 (3d Cir.

1988).

B6

B. Legal Standard for “Fraud Upon the Court”

Under Rule 60(b)

Rule 60(b) reads as follows:

(b) Mistakes; Inadvertence; Excusable Neglect;

Newly Discovered Evidence; Fraud, Etc. On

motion and upon such terms as are just, the court

may relieve a party or a party’s legal representative

from a final judgment, order, or proceeding for the

following reasons: (1) mistake, inadvertence,

surprise, or excusable neglect; (2) newly

discovered evidence which by due diligence couid

not have been discovered in time to move for a new

trial under Rule 59(b); (3) fraud (whether

heretofore denominated intrinsic or extrinsic),

misrepresentation, or other misconduct of an

adverse party; (4) the judgment is void; (5) the

judgment has been satisfied, released, or

discharged, or a prior judgment upon which it is

based has been reversed or otherwise vacated, or it

is no longer equitable that the judgment should

have prospective application; or (6) any other

reason justifying relief from the operation of the

judgment. The motion shall be made within a

reasonable time, and for reasons (1), (2), and (3) not

more than one year after the judgment, order, or

proceeding was entered or taken. A motion under

this subdivision (b) does not affect the finality of a

judgment or suspend its operation. This rule does

not limit the power of a court to entertain an

independent action to relieve a party from a

judgment, order, or proceeding, or to grant relief

to a defendant not actually personally notified as

provided in Title 28 U.S.C., § 1655, or to set aside a

judgment for fraud upon the court. Writs of coram

nobis, coram vobis, audita querela, and bills of

review and bills in the nature of a bill of review, are

abolished, and the procedure for obtaining any

B7

relief from a judgment shall be by motion as

prescribed in these rules or by an independent

action.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b). Though the Third Circuit has not

expressly addressed the standard for fraud upon the court,

other courts have characterized it as an unconscionable plan

or scheme to improperly influence the court or interfere

with the judicial machinery performing a task of impartial

adjudication, as by preventing an opposing party from fairly

presenting his case or defense. See e.g., In re Coordinated

Pretrial Proceedings in Antibiotic Antitrust Actions, 538

F.2d 180 (8th Cir. 1976); Hrg. Tr. at 27, 37. A finding of

fraud upon the court is justified only by the most egregious

misconduct directed to the court itself such as bribery of a

judge or jury or fabrication of evidence by counsel. In re

Coordinated Pretrial Proceedings in Antibiotic Antitrust

Actions, 538 F.2d 180; see also Gleason v. Jandrucko, 860

F.2d 556, 558-59 (2d Cir.1988) (“[T]he type of fraud

necessary to sustain an independent action attacking the

finality of a judgment is narrower in scope than that which

is sufficient for relief by timely motion’ under Rule 60(b)(3)

for fraud on an adverse party ... ‘{[F]raud upon the court as

distinguished from fraud on an adverse party is limited to

fraud which seriously affects the integrity of the normal

process of adjudication.’). It must be supported by clear,

unequivocal, and convincing evidence. In re Coordinated

Pretrial Proceedings in Antibiotic Antitrust Actions, 538

F.2d 180; see also England v. Doyle, 281 F.2d 304 (9th Cir.

1960) (holding that a motion to set aside the action of the

court on this ground is addressed to the sound discretion of

the trial court and the burden is on the moving party to

establish fraud by clear and convincing evidence).

Though Rule 60(b) generally imposes a one year

limitation, a court’s power to set aside a prior judgment,

fraud upon the court, as alleged here, is not subject to that

limitation. King v. First Am. Investigations, Inc., 287 F.3d

91, 95 (2d Cir. 2002) (citing Hadges v. Yonkers Racing Corp.,

B8

48 F.3d 1320, 1325 (2d Cir.1995) (“Fraud upon the court

should embrace ‘only that species of fraud which does or

attempts to, defile the court itself, or is a fraud perpetrated

by officers of the court so that the judicial machinery cannot

perform in the usual manner its impartial task of adjudging

cases.’”)). In order to sustain an independent action

pursuant to Rule 60(b), however, a claimant must

adequately allege a grave miscarriage of justice. United

States v. Beggerly, 524 U.S. 38, 46-47 (1998) (“Independent

actions must, if Rule 60(b) is to be interpreted as a coherent

whole, be reserved for those cases of ‘injustices which, in

certain instances, are deemed sufficiently gross to demand a

departure’ from rigid adherence to the doctrine of res

judicata.’’) (citing Hazel-Atlas Glass Co. v. Hartford-Empire

Co., 322 U.S. 238, 244 (1944)). Under Rule 60(b), the

propriety of granting relief from judgment is committed to

the district court’s broad discretion. Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b);

see e.g., Schultz v. Commerce First Financial, 24 F.3d 1023

(8th Cir. 1994) (noting that while the determination is

within the court’s discretion, Rule 60(b) does “not give

courts unlimited authority to fashion relief as they deem

appropriate” (citing Doe v. Zimmerman, 869 F.2d 1126,

1128 (8th Cir.1989)), but that the rule “provides for

extraordinary relief which may be granted only upon an

adequate showing of exceptional circumstances” (citing

United States v. Young, 806 F.2d 805, 806 (8th Cir. 1986)

(per curiam), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 836 (1987))).

IV. DISCUSSION

A. Plaintiffs Have Not Adequately Pled Fraud on

the Court Under Rule 60(b)(3)’s Savings

Clause

Complaint, Exhibits, and Declassified

Documents, Do Not Suggest Air Force

Intent to Deliberately Misrepresent

Truth or Commit Fraud

hs

«

B9

Despite Plaintiffs’ allegations, a review of the complaint

and the exhibits attached thereto, including the declassified

documents, does not suggest that the Air Force intended to

deliberately misrepresent the truth or commit a fraud on

the court. Because a determination of what information

should be kept confidential in the interest of national

security involves predictive judgments about the potential

future harm of premature disclosure, informed expertise

and even intuition “must often control in the absence of

hard evidence.” Kaluse v. Blake, 428 F. Supp. 37, 38 (D.D.C.

1976). In all likelihood, fifty years ago the government had a

more accurate understanding “on the prospect of danger to

{national security] from the disclosure of secret or sensitive

information” than lay persons could appreciate or than

hindsight now allows. Halperin v. NSC, 452 F. Supp. 47

(D.D.C. 1978), aff'd 612 F.2d 586 (D.C. Cir. 1980). Plaintiffs

take aim at the factual foundation of the military secret

privilege, suggesting that concealing this accident

investigation report constituted an unconscionable plan or

scheme to improperly influence the Court such that the

priv..cge resulted from an undeserving test case. But,

because “each individual piece of intelligence information,

like a piece of [a] jigsaw puzzle, may aid in piecing together

bits of information even when the individual piece is not of

obvious importance itself,” Fitzgibbons v. CIA, 911 F.2d

755, 763 (D.C. Cir. 1990), it is proper to defer on some level!

to governmental claims of privilege even for “information

that standing alone may seem harmless, but that together

with other information poses a reasonable danger of

divulging too much to a ‘sophisticated intelligence

analyst.’ In re United States, 872 F.2d 472, 475 (D.C. Cir.

1989) (quoting Halkin v. Helms, 598 F.2d 1, 9 (DC. Cir.

1978). “Even the most apparently innocuous [information]

can yield valuable intelligence.” Knight v. CLA, 872 F.2d

660, 663 (5th Cir. 1989).

Plaintiffs argue that nothing in the accident

investigation report constitutes a military secret such that

B10

the claim of privilege was proper.’ Instead, Plaintiffs

surmise that the Air Force engaged in conscious-shocking

fraud on the courts by misrepresenting the contents of the

accident investigation report with the intent to deliberately

trade on the trust with which the Court imbued the military

in order to obtain a broad-sweeping military secrets

privilege at the dawn of the Cold War and insulate all

manner of documents from judicial and public scrutiny.

Hrg. Tr. at 26. In response, the Government submits that

the apparent dearth of sensitive information in the accident

investigation report and witness statements is not probative

of whether its disclosure may have been “of great moment”

to sophisticated intelligence analyst(s] having a “broad view

of the scene” in 1950, CIA v. Sims, 471 U.S.159, 178 (1985),

or whether the Air Force, operating on the basis of

information and expertise that Plaintiffs and the Court

lack, could have correctly reached that conclusion. D’s Mot.

at 20.

Specifically, the affidavit and claim of privilege by

Secretary of the Air Force, Thomas K. Finletter, states that:

the aircraft in question, together with the

personnel on board, were engaged in a

confidential mission of the Air Force. The

airplane likewise carried confidential equipment

on board and any disclosure of its mission or

information concerning its operation or

performance would be prejudicial to this

Department and would not be in the public

interest.

Compl. at 7 14, Ex. C. From this, Plaintiffs deduce that only

the mission and electronic equipment were confidential, but

a broader reading of the affidavit suggests that beyond the

1. Plaintiffs, convinced that nothing in the accident investigation

report would compromise the public interest, conjectured that this Court

would be hard-pressed to find national security secrets lurking

somewhere in the accident investigation report. Hrg. Tr. at 29.

Bll

mission itself, disclosure of technical details of the B-29

bomber, .its operation, or performance would also

compromise national security. The Secretary’s claim of

privilege also indicates that the purpose of such accident

investigation reports is to ensure continued efforts at flying

safety.“ Similarly, the affidavit taken by Judge General of

the Air Force, Major General Reginald C. Harmon,

characterizes the confidential nature of the accident

investigation report more expansively. Major General

Harmon’s affidavit indicates that furnishing the requested

documents would seriously hamper “national security,

flying safety and the development of highly technical and

secret military equipment.” Compl. at 7 15, Ex. D.

Review of the accident investigation report indicates

that though it offers no thorough exploration of the secret

mission, it does describe the mission in question as an

“electronics project” and an “authorized research and

development mission.” Compl. at Ex. I. Specifically, the

report states that “(t]he projects which the 3150th

Electronics Squadron were conducting require aircraft

capable of dropping bombs and operating at altitudes of

20,000 feet and above.” Id. It also provides a detailed

account of the technical requirements imposed by the Air

2. “The report of investigation, together with all the statements of the

witnesses, was prepared under regulations which are designed to insure

the disclosure of all pertinent factors which may have caused, or which

may have a bearing on, the accident in order that every possible safeguard

may be developed so that precautions may be taken for the prevention of

future accidents and for the purpose of promoting the highest degree of

flying safety. These statements are obtained in confidence, and these

reports are prepared for intra-departmental use only, with the view of

correcting deficiencies found to have existed and with the view of taking

necessary corrective measures or additional precautions based on the

opinions and conclusions of the Board of Officers convened to investigate

the accident. The disclosure of statements made by witnesses and

air-crewmen before Accident Investigation Boards would have a deterrent

effect upon the much desired objective of encouraging uninhibited

statements in future inquiry proceedings instituted primarily in the

interest of flying safety.” Comp] at Ex. C

B12

Force to remedy engine and mechanical difficulties. Jd. The

accident investigation report makes specific reference to Air

Force technical orders geared to improving the functionality

of the B-29 bombers, implementing “changes to the exhaust

manifold assemblies for the purpose of eliminating a definite

fire hazard” including installation of heat defiector shields

“to prevent excessive heat from entering the accessory

section,” and making the aircraft safe for flight. Compl. at

7 33, Ex. I and J. These affidavits, reports, and orders

implicate far more than the particulars of the secret

equipment aboard that flight; they also suggest the need

to preserve engineering technology, mechanical and

operational data, and equipment usage for the safety and

development of the Air Force fleet. Details of flight

mechanics, B-29 glitches, and technical remedies in the

hands of the wrong party could surely compromise national

security. For all these reasons, that the accident

investigation report itself does not make plain the

substance of those intelligence concerns does not suffice to

support a conclusion that disclosure at that time would not

have harmed national security or that in so asserting the

privilege, the Air Force sought to defraud the Courts.”

3. The Government argues that the Secretary of the Air Force and the

Judge Advocate General of the Air Force were not officers of the Court,

and did not owe integrity and impartiality to the Court as fiduciaries, but

rather were mere affiants. D’s Mot. at 5-6; Hrg. Tr. at 11. In response,

Plaintiffs contend that the affiants were high-ranking officials, not

merely witnesses, who owed an obligation to the Court to speak with

veracity. Pl’s Opp at 17; Hrg. Tr. at 18, 19. Adopting the Government's

position would directly contravene the role contemplated in United States

v. Reynolds for military officers; the military secrets privilege standard

demands that only the head of the department with control over the

matter lodge the formal claim of privilege following her/his personal

consideration. Reynolds, 345 U.S. at 8. The Court depends on the

experience, expertise, and truthfulness of the official lodging the military

secrets privilege claim, such that the official must speak truthfully. In the

instant case, the Court finds the affiants satisfy this burden.

B13

2. The Accident Investigation Report Need

Not Reveal Details of Secret Mission or

Equipment to Constitute Military Secret

Even if, as Plaintiffs suggest, the accident investigation

report contained no concrete data that would expose Air

Force intelligence, hamper national security, or affect the

public interest, sufficient cause for the Air Force’s assertion

of the military secrets privilege may have existed. To better

amplify the contention that the Air Force sought to disguise

its negligence, Plaintiffs cite a number of secondary sources

that speak to the chronic mechanical and _ technical

deficiencies of the B-29 bomber, catalog its role in World

War II, and place the Air Force’s developing technology

within a historical framework.* In so doing, Plaintiffs place

these matters of public record squarely at issue. To decide a

motion to dismiss, courts generally consider only the

allegations contained in the complaint, exhibits attached to

the complaint and matters of public record. Churchill v. Star

Enterprises, 183 F.3d 184, 190 (3d Cir. 1999) (emphasis

added) (citing Pension Benefit Guar. Corp. v. White Consol.

Indus. Inc., 998 F.2d 1192, 1196 (3d Cir.1993)):; Rose v.

Bartle, 871 F.2d 331, 339 n.3 (3d Cir.1989). See also 5A

Charles A. Wright & Arthur R. Miller, Federal Practice and

Procedure § 1357 (1990) (“In determining whether to grant

a Rule 12(b)(6) motion, the court primarily considers the

allegations in the complaint, although matters of public

record, orders, items appearing in the record of the case, and

exhibits attached to the complaint, also may be taken into

account.”).

4. In addition to the accident investigation report, the affidavits, the

District Court’s orders, witness statements, and attorney-client

correspondence, Plaintiffs also cite to Geoffrey Perret, Winged Victory:

The Army Air Forces in World War II, 448 (1993) (“Winged Victory”);

Wilbur H. Morrison, Point of No Return: The Story of the 20th Air Force

19 (1979) (“Point of No Return”); and Curtis E. LeMay and Bill Yenne,

Superfortress: The B-29 and American Air Power 61-64, 70-71, 78 (1988)

(“Superfortress”).

B14

Despite the plain language of Rule 12(b), which requires

conversion of a Rule 12(b) motion to a Rue 56 motion

whenever a district court considers materials outside the

pleadings, the Third Circuit and other appellate courts have

held that certain narrowly defined types of material may be

considered by the trial court without converting the motion

to dismiss. See In re Rockefeller Ctr. Prop., Inc. Secs. Litig.,

184 F.3d 280, 287 (3d Cir. 1999) (citing In re Burlington

Coat Factory Sec. Litig., 114 F.3d 1410 (3d Cir. 1997) (A

court can consider a “ ‘document integral to or explicitly

relied upon in the complaint.” (quoting Shaw v. Digital

Equip. Corp., 82 F.3d 1194, 1220 (1st Cir. 1996))). See also,

PBGC v. White Consol. Indus. 998 F.2d 1192, 1196 (3d Cir.

1993) (A district court may examine an “undisputedly

authentic document that a defendant attaches as an

exhibit to a motion to dismiss if the plaintiffs claims are

based on the document.”). As the Third Circuit stated in In

re Rockefeller, “the rationale for these exceptions is that

‘the primary problem raised by looking to documents

outside the complaint—lack of notice to the plaintiff—is

dissipated ‘(wjhere plaintiff has actual notice ... and has

relied upon these documents in framing the complaint.’”

184 F.3d at 287. (citations omitted). Many other courts have

considered matters of public record in ruling on a motion to

dismiss for failure to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted under Rule 12(b)(6) without converting the motion

to one for summary judgment. See, e.g., In re Colonial

Mortgage Bankers Corp., 324 F.3d 12 (1st Cir. 2003) (stating

that while court generally may not consider material beyond

the four corners of complaint when ruling on motion to

dismiss without thereby converting the motion into one for

summary judgment, narrow exception exists for documents

whose authenticity is not disputed by parties, for official

public records, for documents central to plaintiffs claim, and

for documents sufficiently referred to in the complaint);

Porous Media Corp. v. Pall Corp., 186 F.3d 1077, 1079 (8th

Cir. 1999) (concluding that the court may consider, in

addition to the pleadings, materials “embraced by the

B15

pleadings” and materials that are part of the public record);

Marshall County Health Care Auth. v. Shalala, 988 F.2d

1221 (D.C. Cir. 1993) (stating that matters of public record

are fair game in adjudicating motions to dismiss for failure

to state a claim, and that the court’s reference to such

matters does not convert motion to dismiss into motion for

summary judgment).” Naturally, Plaintiffs’ challenge to the

veracity of fifty-year-old military privilege claims requires

some reliance on contemporary intelligence. Because

Plaintiffs turn to numerous documents outside the four

corners of the complaint in order to bring matters of public

record to this Court’s attention, the Court may consider

those public documents and the factual considerations they

bring to bear on the motion before it. To determine whether

the Plaintiffs in this case have established fraud on the

court, this Court will examine those facts that, in addition to

averments in the complaint, exhibits, and the accident

investigation report, the public record now unearths.

Among the facts now widely known about the Boeing

B-29 bomber are the many mechanical and technical

problems that plagued the _ propeller-driven plane,

specifically its notoriously unreliable engines, which were

famed for catching fire. See, supra, n.4. The accident

investigation report concludes that engine failure caused

the crash on October 6, 1948; the report also indicates that

had the plane complied with the technical orders dated

May 1, 1947, the accident might have been avoided. Compl.

at Ex. I. It does not, as Plaintiffs point out, refer to any

newly developed electronic devices or secret electronic

equipment. Compl. 11 26, 32-34 & Exs. I & J. Yet,

Plaintiffs exclude from their historical recitation that four

5. For a more complete analysis of those materials courts have

considered on 12(b)6) motions, see Kurtis A. Kemper, Annotation,

What Matters Not Contained in the Pleadings May Be Considered in

Ruling on a Motion to Dismiss under Rule 12(6)(6) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure or Motion for Judgment on the Pleadings Under Rule

12(c) Without Conversion to Motion for Summary Judgment, 138 A.L.R.

Fed. 393, 1997 WL 475158 (1997).

B16

years before the accident, in 1944, after bombing missions

against Japanese targets, three American B-29 bombers

were forced to land in Vladivostok, Russia, a town in the

then Soviet Union. See Superfortress, supra at 166-168

(outlining the details of the emergency landing, detention of

Air Force personnel, and confiscation of the planes); see also

Point of No Return, supra at 85 (summarizing that

in addition to these lost planes, three B-29’s were shot

down over Yawata, 10 others were lost, 95 airmen were dead

or missing, and one crew bailed out near Khabarovsk);

Von Hardesty, Made in the U.S.S.R., Air & Space Magazine,

February/March 2001, available at http://www.airspacemag.

com/ASM/Mag/Index/2001/FM/TU-4.html. (summarizing

events in Vladivastok); Associated Press, How Soviets

Copied America’s Best Bomber During WWII (Jan. 25,

2001), available at http://www.cnn.com/2001/US/01/25/

smithsonian.cold.war/ (same). The Soviet government

released the crews but kept the planes and, between 1945

and 1947, used reverse engineering to build a copy of the

B-29-the Tu-4 designed by Andrei Tupolev.® Point of No

Return, supra, at 85-86. See also Made in the U.S.S.R, supra,

at 2 (noting that this technology transfer gave the Soviets

“an intercontinental bomber capable of striking New York

City and the industrial heartland of the United States” in a

fraction of the time needed to develop their own design).

The replicas copied the B-29 almost exactly, including the

fire-prone engines. Superfortress, supra, at 167 (“The Tu-4

was outwardl) identical to the B-29...so faithful to the

originals that the Soviets had many of the same technical

problems.”); Made in U.S.S.R., supra, at 12 (“Operational

deployment of the Tu-4 brought a series of breakdowns and

near disasters as the airplane encountered teething

problems such as engine overheating, a glitch that

6. The Smithsonian’s accounts of the Tu-4 development are based

largely on the writings of Leonid Kerber, who worked with Tupolev and

specialized in radios and navigation instruments. His unofficial biography

about Tupolev, Tupolev’s Prison Workshop, is reprinted by the

Smithsonian Institution Press as Stalin’s Aviation Gulag (1996).

B17

mirrored the U.S. experience with the first generation of

B-29’s.”’). As a result, though “World War II began with the

catastrophic failure of U.S. air defenses over Pearl Harbor

and in the Philippines,” the atomic attacks on Hiroshima

and Nagasaki contributed to the war’s end and were

supposed to “usher in a time when a U.S. nuclear

monopoly would restore America’s strategic

invulnerability;” that dominance was short-lived. Lester

W. Grau & Jacob W. Kipp, Maintaining Friendly Skies:

Rediscovering Theater Aerospace Defense, AEROSPACE

PowER J. 3448 (July 1, 2002). Following the construction if

its nuclear capable Tu-4, the U.S.S.R. used the B-29

reproduction to detonate its first atomic bomb in 1949. Id.

These facts might seem harmless decades after the Cold

War began, but in Reynolds, the Supreme Court determined

that as a matter of law, “(t]he occasion for the privilege is

appropriate” if the court is satisfied, “from all

circumstances of the case, that there is a reasonable

danger that compulsion of the evidence will expose

military matters which, in the interest of national

security, should not be divulged.” Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1, 10

(1953). The Court in Reynolds also took “judicial notice that

this [was] a time of vigorous preparation for national

defense.” Id. at 11. In 1948, amid Communist paranoia, it

is hardly shocking to contemplate an Air Force eager to

protect from public view the accident investigation report

that mentions modifications needed for the B-29, and by

extension the Tu-4. By no means, will this Court draw firm

conclusions as to military intelligence concerns in existence

some fifty years ago. Rather, we will examine the events

contemporaneous to the accident only in order to shed light

on factors surrounding the Air Force’s assertion of military

privilege. It is at least conceivable that were the accident

investigation report released, it might have alerted the

otherwise unaware Soviets to a technical problem in the

Tu-4 that the May 1, 1947 technical order sought to remedy

B18

in the B-29.’ Though the Plaintiffs argue that the Air Force

deliberately hid its obvious negligence behind fraudulent

affidavits, disclosure of this now seemingly innocuous report

would reveal far more than the negligence Plaintiffs read; it

may have been of great moment to sophisticated intelligence

analysts and Soviet engineers alike.® Pl’s Opp. at 12. Viewed

against this political and technical backdrop, it seems that

the accident investigation report may have reasonably

contained sufficient intelligence, if not about the secret

equipment or mission, then about ongoing developments in

Air Force technical engineering, to warrant an assertion of

the military secrets privilege.

B. Plaintiffs Have Not Sufficiently Established a

Claim Under Rule 60(b)(6)

Rule 60(b)(6) authorizes courts to grant post-judgment

remedies for “any other reason justifying relief from the

operation of the judgment.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b)(6). Both

the Supreme Court and the Third Circuit have recognized

that Rule 60(b)(6) permits an independent action for fraud

perpetrated by one party upon another where necessary “to

prevent a grave miscarriage of justice.” United States v.

Beggerly, 524 U.S. 38, 46-47 (1998) (holding that in an

action to set aside a settlement between the claimants and

the government, the alleged failure by the government to

make full disclosures failed to satisfy the requirements of an

independent action for relief from the judgment). “If relief

may be obtained through an independent action...where

7. Coincidentally, though the accident investigation report mentions

little detail of the secret mission and electronic equipment on that flight,

the Court notes that the B-29 also saw military service two years later.

From 1950 to 1953 in Korea, electronic weapons, or radio controlled

bombs known as Razons, were dropped against bridges. Boeing World

Headquarters, Post-War Developments: 1946-1956, at http://

www.boeing.com/history/boeing/postwar.htm!.

8. The War Department also asked returning airmen interned in the

Soviet Union to keep silent about their time there due to the emerging

friction between the Soviets and the Allies. Made in the U.S.S.R., supra,

at 3.

B19

the most that may be charged against the Government is

failure to furnish relevant information that would at best

form the basis for a Rule 60(b)(3) motion, the strict l-year

time limit on such motions would be set at naught.” Id. at 46

(emphasis added). In the complaint, Plaintiffs do not assert

an independent action on the basis of fraud by one party

upon another under Rule 60(b)(6). Pl’s Opp. at 19-21; Reply

at 6. Not until the Memorandum in Opposition to the

Government’s Motion to Dismiss do Plaintiffs submit that

the government sought to defraud the widows by claiming

the military secrets privilege. Plaintiffs fail to set forth

allegations in the complaint amounting to gross injustice to

warrant relief. Reply at 7 (citing, for example Campaniello

Imports, Ltd. v. Saporiti Italia, S.p.A., 117 F.3d 655, 663 (2d

Cir. 1997) (holding that plaintiff who neither adequately

established fraud nor escaped responsibility for a voluntary

agreement could not obtain relief from the judgment);

George P. Reintjes Co. v. Riley Soker Corp., 71 F.3d 44,

48-49 (1st Cir. 1995) (“[Whhile the notion that it would be

‘against conscience’ to let a particular judgment stand may

in some instances serve to tip what would otherwise be

ordinary fraud into the special category that can invoke a

court’s inherent powers to breach finality, [the plaintiff] has

failed to so move us here (citing Marshall v. Holmes, 141

U.S. 589, 595 (1891), Hazel-Atlas Glass, 322 U.S. at 244-45,

64)). But, because the independent action under Rule

60(b)(3) fails, leaving Plaintiffs with no viable claim

against the Government, the Court will entertain a

discussion of the merits of Plaintiffs’ Rule 60(b)(6)

arguments out of an abundance of caution.

1. Settlement Agreement Did Not Constitute

a Grave Miscarriage of Justice In Support

of A Claim for Relief Under Rule 60(b)(6)

The Government correctly argues that the Plaintiffs

cannot undo the careful and prudent decision to settle their

claims and relitigate issues they voluntarily put to rest more

than fifty years ago. In Bandai Am. Inc. v. Bally Midway

B20

Mfg. Co., 775 F.2d 70 (3d Cir 1985), the Third Circuit

recognized that under Rule 60(b)(3), an attorney’s

deliberate attempt to mislead the court may suffice to

reopen the judgment. Bandai, 775 F.2d at 73 (citing

Hazel-Atlas Glass Co. v., Hartford Empire Co., 322 US.

238, 245-46 (1944), questioned on other grounds, Standard

Oil Co. of Cal. v. United States, 429 U.S. 17 (1976)). But, the

Court of Appeals also noted that alleged misconduct or

perjury does not prevent the moving party from “fully and

fairly presenting [its] case” unless the “misrepresentations

relied up on were clearly material to the outcome of the

litigation.” Id. (citing Publicker v. Shallcross, 106 F.2d 949

(3d Cir 1939), cert. denied, 308 U.S. 624, Schum v. Bailey,

578 F.2d 493, 499 (3d Cir. 1978); Stridiron v. Stridiron, 698

F.2d 204, 207 (3d Cir. 1983). “The judicial system’s interest

in finality and in efficient administration dictates that,

absent extraordinary circumstances, litigants should not be

permitted to relitigate issues that they have already had a

fair opportunity to contest.” Skretvedt v. E.I. DuPont De

Nemours, 372 F.3d 193, 204 (3d Cir.) (citations omitted).

Settlement, as the Government rightly concludes, is a

pragmatic decision made daily by civil litigants after a

measured evaluation of the merits of their claims

notwithstanding foreseeable obstacles. Hrg. Tr. at 14. See

United States v. Bank of N.Y., 14 F.3d 756 (2nd Cir. 1994)

(noting that when party makes the deliberate, strategic

choice to settle, she cannot be relieved of such choice merely

because of her own incorrect assessment); Schultz, 24 F.3d

at 1024 (“When a party voluntarily accepted the earlier

decision, its burden ‘is perhaps even more formidable than if

it had litigated the claim and lost.’” (citing United States v.

Fort Smith, 760 F.2d 231, 234 (8th Cir. 1985)). Altogether

absent from the pleadings in this case is a sufficient showing

of egregious conduct by any Air Force representatives. As

such, this Court cannot, in good conscience, find a gross

miscarriage of justice or grant Plaintiffs the relief from

judgment they seek.

B21

2. The Supreme Court Contemplated Other

. Discovery Options For Plaintiffs

It is undisputed that in Reynolds, the Supreme Court

left other avenues of discovery open to Plaintiffs, including

examination of the surviving crew members and the right to

challenge the claim of military privilege by an adequate

showing of necessity. Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1, 12 (1953). More

generally, the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure provide, in

pertinent part, that:

Parties may obtain discovery regarding any matter,

not privileged, which is relevant to the subject

matter involved in the pending action, whether it

relates to the claim or defense of the party seeking

discovery or to the claim or defense of any other

party....The information sought need not be

admissible at the trial if the information sought

appears ressonably calculated to lead to the

discovery of admissible evidence.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 26(b)(1). It is widely recognized that the

federal rules allow broad and liberal] discovery. Pacitti v.

Macy’s, 193 F.3d 766, 777-78 (3d Cir. 1999) (citations

omitted). In his affidavit, the Judge Advocate General

offered the testimony of Air Force military personnel who

survived the crash, provided at the Government’s expense.

Compl. at Ex. D. Those witnesses could “testify regarding all

matters pertaining to the cause of the accident, except as to

facts and matters of a classified nature.” Id. In order to

refresh their memories, the witnesses were free to rely on

those confidential Air Force records, including the

statements witnesses made to the Aircraft Accident

Investigating Board. Id. And, though Plaintiffs argue that

they should not have been required to conduct discovery

independent of the accident report, this argument is

contingent upon a finding of fraud which is absent here.

Moreover, as Plaintiffs concede, they only partially followed

the Supreme Court’s guidance by deposing the surviving

witnesses. Reynolds, 345 U.S. at 11-12; Hrg. Tr. at 21. They

B22

did not, as suggested, revisit the question of military secrets

privilege by offering the requisite showing of necessity, but

instead, made the calculated choice to settle their claims. Id.

The litigation reached its close by virtue of a strategic

decision by Plaintiffs that should not now be revisited.

V. CONCLUSION

For all these reasons, it is hereby ORDERED that the

Motion to Dismiss (Doc. No. 6) is GRANTED. The Clerk of

Court is instructed to statistically close this matter.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Legrome Davis

Legrome D. Davis, J.

Cl

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

PATRICIA J. HERRING,

individually, JUDITH PALYA

LOETHER, WILLIAM PALYA,

ROBERT PALYA, individually and : Civil Action No.

as living heirs of Elizabeth Palya

(deceased), SUSAN BRAUNER and -

CATHERINE BRAUNER,

individually and as living heirs of

Phyllis Brauner (deceased),

Plaintiffs,

“¥.<

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, -: JURY TRIAL DEMANDED

Defendant

INDEPENDENT ACTION FOR RELIEF FROM

JUDGMENT TO REMEDY FRAUD ON THE COURT

Plaintiffs Patricia J. Herring (“Herring”), individually,

Judith Palya Loether, William Palya, Robert Palya,

individually and as living heirs of Elizabeth Palya

(collectively, the “Palyas”), and Susan Brauner and

Catherine Braune#,, individually and as living heirs of

Phyllis Brauner ‘collectively, the “Brauners”), by and

through their undersigned attorneys, file this independent

action for relief from judgment to remedy fraud on the court

pursuant to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 60(b).

C2

I. PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

Three widows came before this Court in 1949 asserting

claims against the United States under the Federal Tort

Claims Act. Their husbands had died in the crash of an Air

Force plane. This Court awarded each of them ful!

compensation. But the United States was bent on

overturning their judgments, and — to accomplish this - it

committed a fraud not only upon the widows, but upon this

Court, the Third Circuit Court of Appeals, and the Supreme

Court. As a result, what the widows had won was lost. One

of the widows and the children of the other two ask this

Court to right this wrong.

At the heart of the case is a report the Air Force

prepared on the accident that had resulted in the deaths of

the widows’ husbands, who were civilian engineers assisting

the Air Force with the development and testing of

sophisticated electronic guidance systems when the

tragedy occurred. The Air Force refused to produce this

report, even to Judge Kirkpatrick, for in camera review.

Judge Kirkpatrick, therefore, ruled for the widows on

liability, determined damages, and entered judgment. The

Third Circuit affirmed. Undeterred, the United States tcok

the case to the Supreme Court and advanced a sweeping

claim of executive privilege, contending that the report

contained “military secrets” so sensitive not even the

district court should see them. It pointed to affidavits of

two of the highest-ranking men in the Air Force in support

of this plea. The Supreme Court took the government at its

word, and reversed. Without these documents, the widows

settled with the government for less than the value of their

judgments. ey

Fifty years later, one of the plaintiffs, Judith Palya

Loether, came across an internet website offering access to

recently-declassified military aircraft accident reports. She

obtained the report that the Air Force fought so hard to

prevent her mother and the federal courts from seeing and

was astonished to find that the report contains nothing

approaching a “military secret.” There is not one mention of

C3

the secret mission or the secret equipment that had

occupied these men on the day of the crash. The accident

report is no more than an accounts of a flight that, due to the

Air Force’s negligence, went tragically awry. In telling three

federal courts otherwise by way of sworn affidavits, the Air

Force lied. And, in reliance upon the Air Force’s lie, the

Supreme Court deprived the widows of their judgments.

Plaintiffs urge that it is now for this Court, in exercise of its

authority under Rule 60(b) and its inherent power to

remedy a fraud on the court, to see that justice is done.

Il. PARTIES

1. Plaintiff Herring (formerly, Patricia J. Reynolds) is

an individual resident of the State of Indiana. She is the

widow of the deceased, Robert Reynolds, and was an original

party to Reynolds v. United States, Civil Action No. $0142

(E.D. Pa, filed Sept. 27, 1949). (A true and correct copy of the

docket entries in the Reynolds case is attached as Exhibit A.)

2. Plaintiffs the Brauners are the children and living

heirs of the deceased, William H. Brauner. They reside in

the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. Their mother, Phyllis

Brauner (now deceased), was an original party to Brauner,

et al. v. United States, Civil Action No. 9793 (E.D. Pa., filed

June 21, 1949). (A true and correct copy of the docket

entries in the Brauner case is attached as Exhibit B.) The

Brauners bring this suit individually and as living heirs of

Phyllis Brauner.

3. Plaintiffs the Palyas are the children and living

heirs of the deceased, Albert H. Palya. They reside in New

Jersey, Massachusetts and Alabama. Their mother,

Elizabeth Palya (now deceased), was an original party to

Brauner, et al. v. United States, Civil Action No. 9793 (E.D.

Pa., filed June 21, 1949). They bring this suit individually

and as the living heirs of Elizabeth Palya.

C4

4. Defendant United States of America was an

original party defendant to Reynolds v. United States,

Civil Action No. 10142 (E.D. Pa.), and Brauner, et al. v.

United States, Civil Action No. 9793 (E.D. Pa.).

5. The Reynolds and Brauner actions were

consolidated for trial by stipulation and order dated

December 8, 1949. Published decisions and orders in the

consolidated Reynolds and Brauner cases are reported at

Brauner v. United States, 10 F.R.D. 468 (E.D. Pa. 1950),

United States v. Reynolds, 192 F.2d 987 (3d Cir. 1951), and

United States v. Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1 (1953).

III. JURISDICTION AND VENUE

6. This Court has subject matter jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1331 because the acts complained

of raise federal! questions under the Constitution and laws of

the United States. This Court also has jurisdiction ancillary

to its original exercise of jurisdiction in Reynolds v. United

States, Civil Action No. 10142 (E.D. Pa.), and Brauner, et al.

v. United States, Civil Action No. 9793 (E.D. Pa.). See

Standard Oil Co. of California v. United States, 429 U.S. 17

(1976).

7. Venue is proper in this Court under 28 U.S.C. §

1391(b) because the fraud committed by the United States

was practiced in this district and the injuries occasioned by

the fraud were suffered in this district by named plaintiffs.

IV. FACTS

The 1949 Litigation

8. On October 6, 1948, a United States Air Force B-29

Superfortress Bomber crashed outside of Waycross, Georgia,

while on a mission for the purposes of testing newly-

developed electronic equipment. The crash killed nine of the

thirteen men on board.

C5

9. Three of the deceased, Robert Reynolds, William H.

Brauner, and Albert H. Palya, were civilian research and

development engineers working in the private sector for the

Radio Corporation of America in Camden, New Jersey, and

the Franklin Institute of Technology in Philadelphia,

Pennsylvania. These men were hired to assist Air Force

personnel with the development and testing of the electronic

equipment.

10. In 1949, the three widows of the civilian deceased

brought suits against the United States in this Court

seeking damages under the Federal Torts Claims Act for

wrongful death. The suits were captioned Reynolds v.

United States, Civil Action No. 10142 (E.D. Pa.), and

Brauner, et al. v. United States, Civil Action No. 9793

(E.D. Pa.). They were assigned to Judge William H.

Kirkpatrick.

!1. In discovery, the widows sought production of the

Air Force’s official accident invistigation report (“the

Accident Report”) and several statements of surviving

witnesses. The Air Force refused to produce these specified

documents and the widows moved for an order compelling

their production. See Brauner v. United States., 10 F.R.D.

468,469 (E.D. Pa. 1950).

12. In response to the widows’ motion to compel, the

government originally did not claim that the requested

documents should be protected as “state secrets or facts

which might harm the [glovernment in its diplomatic

relations, military operations or measures for national

security.” 10 F.R.D. at 471-72. Rather. the government

claimed a different kind of privilege:

Its position is that the proceedings of boards of

investigation of the armed services should be

privileged in order to allow the free and unhampered

self-criticism within the service necessary to obtain

maximum efficiency, fix responsibility and maintain

proper discipline.

C6

Id. at 472. After full briefing, this Court concluded that no

such privilege existed and ordered the United States to

produce the Accident Report and witness statements to the

widows. Id.

13. The United States moved for a rehearing in August

1950. In support of this motion, the government submitted

an affidavit ana a formal claim of privilege taken by the

Secretary of the Air Force, Thomas K. Finletter, as well an

affidavit taken by the Judge Advocate General of the Air

Force, Major General Reginald C. Harmon. ‘rhese affidavits

(hereinafter, “the Affidavits”) amended and _ greatly

expanded the claims of privilege urged before this Court.

14. Secretary Finletter stated in his Affidavit and claim

of privilege that

[T]he [United States] further objects to the production

of this report, together with the statements of witnesses,

for the reason that the aircraft in question, together

with the personnel on board, were engaged in a

confidential mission of the Air Force. The airplane

likewise carried confidential equipment on board and

any disclosure of its mission or information concerning

its operation or performance would be prejudicial to this

Department and would not be in the public interest.

(A true and correct copy of the Claim of Privilege of Thomas

K. Finletter is attached hereto as Exhibit C.)

15. Major General Harmon’s Affidavit swore that the

materials could not be furnished “without seriously

hampering national security, flying safety and the

development of highly technical and secret military

equipment.” (A true and correct copy of the Affidavit of

Reginald C. Harmon is attached hereto as Exhibit D.)

16. On September 21, 1950, in light of these

submissions, Judge Kirkpatrick amended his prior order

and directed the United States to produce the following

C7

documents to the Court for in camera inspection by October

4, 1950:

“(a) the report and findings of the official

investigation of the crash of defendant’s B-29 type of

aircraft near Waycross, Georgia on October 6, 1948.

(b) the statement with reference to such crash of

Captain Herbert W. Moore, 1279A.

(c) the statement with reference to such crash of

Staff Sergeant Walter J. Peny, AF 698025.

(d) the statement with reference to such crash of

Technical Sergeant Ear] W. Murrhee.”

(A true and correct copy of the Amended Order for

Production and Inspection of Documents, dated September

21, 1950, is attached hereto as Exhibit E.)

17. Notwithstanding this order, the United States

refused to produce the specified documents to the Court

for in camera review. Accordingly, on October 12, 1950, this

Court held the government in default and entered a finding

of liability in favor of the widows. (A true and correct copy of

the unpublished October 12, 1950 decision of Judge

Kirkpatrick is attached hereto as Exhibit F.)

18. The Court thereafter conducted a hearing on

damages. Following this hearing, the Court determined

that the United States should pay damages to the widows

totaling $225,000 ($80,000 each to Mrs. Brauner and Mrs.

Payla, plus $65,000 to Mrs. Reynolds (now Ms. Herring)).

Judge Kirkpatrick specifically found that these sums

represented the full value of the working lives of the

deceased, reduced to present value. (A true and correct copy

of the November 27, 1950 Hearing Transcript and the

February 20, 1951 unpublished decision on the issue of

damages are attached hereto as Exhibits G and H,

respectively.) Judgments were entered in favor of the

widows on February 27, 1951.

C8

The Government Appeals

19. The United States appealed. In United States v.

Reynolds, 192 F.2d 987 (3d Cir. 1951), the Court of Appeals

upheld the decisions of this Court and affirmed the

judgments entered in favor of the widows. It agreed that it

was within the competence of the district court to review the

requested documents in camera in an effort to assess the

validity and proper scope of the government’s claim of

privilege. Id. at 997.

20. The United States petitioned the United States

Supreme Court for certiorari, advancing a sweeping claim of

executive privilege. The Supreme Court granted certiorari

on the question posed by the government, 343 U.S. 918

(1952), and thereafter reversed the decisions of this Court

and the Third Circuit, vacating the widows’ judgments.

United States v. Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1 (1953).

21. In so ruling the Supreme Court found that the

claim of “state secrets” protection that the government had

made out through the Air Force’s Affidavits was sufficient to

justify withholding the Accident Report and witness

statements, even from the federal courts:

[I]t is apparent that these electronic devices must be

kept secret if their full military advantage is to be

exploited in the national interests ... {and that) there

was a reasonable danger that the accident investigation

report would contain references to the secret electronic

equipment which was the primary concern of the

mission.

United States v. Reynolds, 345 U.S. at 10. The Supreme

Court therefore concluded that “when the formal claim of

privilege was filed by the Secretary of the Air Force, there

was certainly a sufficient showing of privilege to cut off

further demand for the documents....” Id. at 11.

C9

The Settlements

22. After remand, without the benefit of the Accident

Report and witness statements, the widows settled their

cases with the government. Their settlements totaled

$170,000, $55,000 less than the judgments the widows had

originally obtained. Pursuant to the settlements, the

Reynolds and Brauner cases were dismissed on August 5,

1953.

The Fraud Is Discovered

23. The government classified the Accident Report and

witness statements, ostensibly to maintain their secrecy.

These documents remained classified for nearly 50 years.

24. In early 2000, one of the daughters of the deceased,

Ms. Palya Loether, learned through internet research that

previously-classified documents regarding military aircraft

accidents had been made available to the public by the

United States government. Curious about the secret mission

her father had undertaken with the Air Force on the day of

his death, Ms. Palya Loether ordered and received a copy of

the declassified documents relating to her father’s accident

in or about February or March of 2000.

25. The documents that were the subject of Judge

Kirkpatrick’s September 21, 1950 Order providing for an

in camera review of the government’s claim of privilege, and

of the ensuing district court and appellate proceedings, were

included in the materials Ms. Palya Loether received.

Ms. Palya Loether thus saw for the first time (a) the

official “Report of Special Investigation of Aircraft Accident,

Involving TB-29-100BH No 45-21866” (b) a “Memorandum

for the Chief of Staff, United States Airforce, Re: Aircraft

Accident TB-29-100BH No 45-21866,” (c) a “Summary of

B-29 Aircraft Accident,” (d) the statement with reference to

such crash of Captain Herbert W. Moore, 1279A, (e) the

statement with reference to such crash of Staff Sergeant

Walter J. Peny, AF 698025, and (f) the statement with

reference to such crash of Technical Sergeant Earl W.

C10

Murrhee. (True and correct copies of these declassified

documents are collectively attached hereto as Exhibit I; a

typeset copy of these documents has been prepared and is

attached as Exhibit J.)

26. These newly-uncovered documents revealed that

the decision of the Supreme Court in United States v.

Reynolds, 345 U.S. 1 (1953), the settlement, and the

dismissal of the Reynolds and Brauner cases were

procured by a fraud on the courts. Contrary to the

statements in the Affidavits, on which the Supreme Court

expressly relied, not one of the documents that were the

subject of the trial court proceedings and orders contain any

secret or privileged information. The documents consist,

instead, of admissions of negligence on the part of the Air

Force.

The Families Attempt to File a Petition for Writ of

Error Coram Nobis to Remedy Fraud On The Court

27. Ms. Palya Loether attempted over the course of the

next year to locate the other families who were affected by

the government’s misconduct. Ultimately, she succeeded.

The families then sought out the law firm of Charles J.

Biddle, who had represented the widows in the original

proceedings, in an effort to see if the injustice done the

families could be remedied.

28. On or about February 26, 2003, the plaintiffs in

this action filed a “Petition for a Writ of Error Coram Nobis

to Remedy Fraud Upon the Court” with the United States

Supreme Court, pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 20 and the

All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1651.

29. The Supreme Court Clerk’s Office refused to

docket the case and required the petitioners to file a

“motion for leave to file” along with their petition.

Petitioners complied. The government opposed petitioners’

motion to file: Its opening argument was that the petitioners

should first seek relief in the district court by way of an

“iedependent action” under Rule 60(b).

Cll

30. In a one line order dated June 23, 2003, the

Supreme Court denied petitioners’ motion for leave to file

their petition for a writ of error coram nobis, thereby

remitting the plaintiffs to such other remedies as the law

provides.

V. CLAIM FOR RELIEF FOR FRAUD

ON THE COURTS

31. The allegations in paragraphs 1 through 30, above,

are incorporated herein by reference as if set forth in full.

32. Contrary to the claim of privilege and sworn

Affidavits submitted by Secretary Finletter and Judge

Advocate General Harmon, the Accident Report and

witness statements that Judge Kirkpatrick had ordered

the government to produce contain no military secrets or

other information implicating national security interests.

33. Instead, the Accident Report consists of nothing

more than an account of the accident and a series of

admissions that it was the Air Force’s negligence that

caused the deaths of the civilian engineers. Thus, the

Accident Report reveals that:

(a) The main cause of the accident as the failure

of Air Force personne! to comply with Technical Orders

01-20EJ-177 and 01-20EJ-178, which provided for

necessary “changes to the exhaust manifold

assemblies for the purposes of eliminating a definite

fire hazard.”

(b) These mandatory changes involved the

installation of heat deflector shields “to prevent

excessive heat from entering the accessory section [of

the engine]}.”

(c) Without these changes to the engine manifold,

“(t]he aircraft is not considered to have been safe for

flight.”

C12

(d) The mandatory heat deflector shields were not

installed in the B-29 type aircraft prior to flight, as

required, and that the No. 1 engine of the plane caught

fire as a result.

(e) The fire had begun in the accessory section of

the No. 1 engine, exactly where it would have started

without the required heat deflectors.

(1) None of civilian engineers were briefed prior to

the flight on emergency and aircraft evacuation

procedures, as required by Air Force regulations.

(g) The aircraft commander, copilot and engineer

had never flown together as a crew prior to this flight.

And,

(h) When the fire first broke out in the No. 1

engine, the pilot inadvertently “feathered” the No. 4

engine, accidentally leaving a second working engine

disabled. See Exhibits I and J. There is not one mention

of anything remotely approaching a military secret.

34. Likewise, the surviving witnesses’ statements that

were ordered produced by this Court in 1950 consist of

nothing more than the witnesses’ accounts of the flight.

They make no mention whatsoever of “secret” equipment,

the aircraft’s mission or any other information implicating

military secrets or national security concerns. Id.

35. The Accident Report and the witness statements

also show that the Air Force lied in earlier discovery in the

cases. This includes a lie told in the Air Force’s sworn

responses to interrogatories about the main cause of the

accident:

Q: 31. (a) Have any modifications been prescribed by

defendants for the engines in its B-29 type aircraft to

prevent overheating of the engines and/or to reduce the fire

hazard in the engines?

(b) If so, when were such modifications prescribed?

C13

(c) If so, has any such modifications been carried out

on the engines of the particular B-29 type aircraft involved

in the instant case? Give details.

A: 31. No.

(A true and correct copy of the Interrogatories and

Responses to Interrogatories are attached hereto as

Exhibit K.)

36. The Affidavits advanced in support of the

government’s claims of privilege, as well as_ the

government’s sworn discovery responses, were intended to,

and ultimately did, cover-up and suppress conclusive

evidence that the Air Force’s negligence caused the deaths

of the three civilian engineers.

37. Moreover, the Affidavits advanced in support of the

government’s claims of privilege were intended to, and

ultimately did, set up for the government a “test case” for a

favorable judicial ruling on claims of an executive or “state

secrets” privilege - a test case built on the fraudulent

premise that the documents in question contained “secret”

military or national security information.

38. The Affidavits advanced in support of the

government’s claims of privilege, as well as_ the

government’s sworn discovery responses, were

intentionally and knowingly false when made ‘or were

made in reckless disregard of whether the statements

contained therein were true or false. Government officials,

including Secretary Finletter and Judge Advocate General

Harmon, acted with knowledge of the falsity of the

statements in the Affidavits or with reckless disregard for

the truth or falsity of such statements; indeed, the falsity of

such statements is apparent upon reading the documents

that were the subject of this Court’s orders and the claims of

privilege.

39. The government intended that the federal courts

would rely upon its false statements and honor its false

C14

claim of privilege to deny the widows discoverable evidence

to which they were lawfully entitled. The government

further intended, after this Court entered judgments in

favor of the widows, that the federal appellate courts would

rely upon its false statements to reverse such judgments. In

fact, the United States Supreme Court did rely on those

statements to reverse the widows’ judgments. And, this

Court ultimately relied on them to enforce the Supreme

Court’s mandate, to approve the parties’ subsequent

settlement, and to dismiss the Reynolds and Brauner

actions.

40. The widows were without knowledge that the

government’s claims of opriviiege were false and

fraudulent. They settled with the government and agreed

to a dismissal of their lawsuits in ignorance of the

government’s misconduct. It was only some 50 years later,

after the government declassified the purportedly “secret”

documents that were the subject of the Reynolds and

Brauner actions, that Ms. Herring and the other widows’

families came to learn the truth.

41. By the foregoing conduct, the government

practiced a fraud on this Court and other federal courts.

42. The government’s fraud on the courts is manifestly

unjust and shocks the conscience. The government’s fraud

directly harmed three widows and their five young children,

who were forced to march through a series of appeals to

defend their judgments, ultimately lost those judgments,

and then settled for less than they were entitled. Moreover,

the government’s fraud was intended to and did subvert the

processes of this Court, the Court of Appeals, and the United

States Supreme Court.

43. Asa result of the government’s fraud on the courts,

the widows were deprived of judgments to which they were

lawfully entitled and they and their heirs suffered

substantial loss for which they should be compensated in

damages. The settlements that the widows made with the

C15

government and the dismissals this Court entered, after the

widows’ judgments were wrongly vacated, are all tainted by

the government’s fraud, and are no bar to according

plaintiffs relief pursuant to the Court’s authority under

the Federal Rules and the Court’s inherent powers.

44. The proper measure of the plaintiffs’ damages for

the government’s fraud on the courts is the difference

between the amounts the widows were entitled to pursuant

to the judgments less amounts paid to the widows pursuant

to the settlements, increased to present value at a market

interest rate in order fully and fairly to compensate the

plaintiffs for their loss. Such damages are in excess of

$1 million.

45. By reason of the government’s fraud on the courts,

the plaintiffs are also entitled to an award of their attorneys’

fees and costs of litigation.

WHEREFORE, plaintiffs pray that this Court enter a

judgment in their favor and against the United States:

A. Ruling that the United States perpetrated a fraud

on the federal courts in the Reynolds and Brauner actions;

and,

B. Awarding plaintiffs (1) damages as aforesaid,

including interest at a market rate since February

27, 1951, (2) their attorneys’ fees and costs of litigation,

and (3) such other and further relief as this Court deems

just and proper.

DATE: October 1, 2003

/s/ Wilson M. Brown, III

Wilson M. Brown, III

Jeff A. Almeida

DRINKER BIDDLE & REATH LLP

One Logan Square

18th and Cherry Streets

Philadciphia, Pennsylvania 19107

(215) 988-2700

(215) 988-2757 (facsimile)

C16

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

Patricia J. Herring, Judith Palya Loether,

William Palya, Robert Palya,

Susan Brauner and Catherine Brauner

Demand for Jury Trial

Plaintiffs demand a trial by jury of all issues so triable in

this cause.

DATE: October 1, 2003

/s/ Wilson M. Brown, III

Wilson M. Brown, III

Jeff A. Almeida

DRINKER BIDDLE & REATH LLP

One Logan Square

18th and Cherry Streets

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19107

(215) 988-2700

(215) 988-2757 (facsimile)

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

Patricia J. Herring, Judith Palya Loether,

William Palya, Robert Palya,

Susan Brauner and Catherine Brauner

C17

EXHIBIT A

C18

DOCKET

DOCKET 10142

PATRICIA J. REYNOLDS

vs.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Basis of Action Death

ATTORNEYS

For Plaintiff:

Charles J. Biddle

For Defendant:

G.A. Gleeson

DATE

MONTH DAY YEAR PLAINTIFF’S ACCOUNT RECEIVED DISBURSED

Sept. 27 1949 C.J.B. $15.00

Dec. 14 1949 TO US. TREAS. $15.00

C19

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

September 27, 1949

September 27, 1949

November 9, 1949

November 22, 1949

November 22, 1949

December 8, 1949

June 30, 1950

July 20, 1950

August 30, 1950

September 21, 1950

October 10, 1950

~ October 10, 1950

Complaint filed.

Summons exit.

Summons returned “on September 28

- 1949 served on Gerald A. Gleeson,

Esq.” and “on October 10 - 1949

served on the Attorney General by

registered mail” and filed.

Answer filed.

Order to place case on trial list filed.

Motion for stipulation of counsel and

Order of Court consolidating this case

with civil action #9793 for trial filed

(#9793). Notes 12/9/49.

Opinion Kirkpatrick J. denying

defendant’s motion to quash and

granting plaintiffs motion to

produce filed (#9793).

Order of Court permitting plaintiff to

inspect certain documents etc. and

staying all other proceedings until

order is complied with or vacated

filed (#9793). Noted 7/21/50.

Transcript of hearing on Aug. 9, 1950

before Kirkpatrick J. at Washington

D.C. filed (see c.a. #9793)

Amended order re inspection of

documents, filed. (see #9793)

Petition for rehearing on motion to

quash order and ~motion for

production of documents, filed.

Claim of Privilege by Secretary of Air

Force, filed.

October 10, 1950

October 12, 1950

November 27, 1950

December 11, 1950

December 18, 1950

December 18, 1950

February 20, 1951

February 27, 1951

March 2, 1951

April 20, 1951

April 20, 1951

May 29, 1951

November 8, 1951

January 15, 1952

C20

Affidavit of Judge Advocate General,

U.S. Air Force, filed.

Order of Court that certain facts be

taken as established, filed 10/13/50.

Notes and Notice mailed.

Trial (Kirkpatrick J.). Witnesses

sworn.

Transcript of testimony filed (#9793).

Plaintiffs Requests for findings of

fact filed.

Plaintiff's Requests for conclusions of

law, filed.

Opinion, Kirkpatrick J. finding in

favor of plaintiff, affirming certain

plaintiffs requests for findings of

fact and conclusions of law filed.

Decree granting judgment in favor of

plaintiff in the sum of $65,000.00,

filed. Noted and notice mailed 2/28/51.

Transcript of hearing of November 21,

1950 (In Chambers, K., J.) filed.

Notice of Appeal of defendant filed (4/

23/51 Copy to Charles J. Biddle).

Copy of Clerk’s notice to U.S. Court of

Appeals filed.

Record transmitted to U.S. Court of

Appeals.

Letter of U.S. Attorney together with

letter of Dept. of the Air Force filed

(C.A. #9793).

Mandate of U.S. Court of Appeals

affirming judgment of this Court filed.

March 27, 1953

April 13, 1953

April 13, 1953

June 22, 1953

August 5, 1953

August 5, 1953

C21

Notice of taking depositions of Capt.

Herbert W. Moore, et al. filed.

Certified Copy of Order of U.S. Court

of Appeals recalling mandate, filed. (4/

14/53 Mandate returned to U.S. Court

of Appeals.)

Mandate of U.S. Supreme Court

reversing judgment of U.S. Court of

Appeals and remanding case to U.S.

District Court for further

proceedings, filed (#9793).

Stipulation of Counsel for

compromise settlement and Order of

Court approving same, filed. (See

#9793.) 6/23/53 Noted.

Order to Dismiss filed.

In accordance with Order filed, this

action is marked dismissed with

prejudice.

Attest: /s/ J.A. Comey, Dep. Clerk

C22

EXHIBIT B

C23

DOCKET

DOCKET 9793

PHYLLIS BRAUNER and ELIZABETH PALYA

vs.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Basis of Action Wrongful Death

ATTORNEYS

For Plaintiff:

Charles J. Biddle

For Defendant:

G.A. Gleeson

DATE

MONTH DAY YEAR PLAINTiFF’S ACCOUNT RECEIVED DISBURSED

June 21 1949 C.J.B. $15.00

July 15 1949 TO US. TREAS. $15.00

C24

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

June 21, 1949

June 21, 1949

July 5, 1949

July 14, 1949

August 17, 1949

October 20, 1949

November 22, 1949

November 22, 1949

November 28, 1949

December 5, 1949

December 8, 1949

Complaint filed.

Summons exit.

Appearance of Gerald A. Gleeson Esq.

for defendant filed.

Summons returned June 30 - 1949

and served on Attorney General of the

United States by registered mail and

on June 22, 1949 served Gerald A.

Gleeson, Esq., United States District

Atty., and filed.

Stipulation of counsel extending time

within which to file Answer to

October 19, 1949 and Order of Court

approving same filed. Noted 8/18/

1949.

Stipulation of counsel extending time

for filing Answer to December 18 -

1949 and Order of Court approving

same filed. 10/21/49 Noted.

Answer filed.

Order to place case on trial list filed.

Plaintiffs interrogatories filed.

Stipulation of counsel extending time

for filing answers to plaintiffs’

interrogatories to December 28 -

1949 and Order of Court approving

same filed. Noted 12/6/49.

Motion for, stipulation of counsel and

Order of Court consolidating Civil

Action #10142 with this case for

trial filed. Noted 12/9/49.

December 28, 1949

January 5, 1950

January 18, 1950

January 18, 1950

January 25, 1950

February 15, 1950

June 30, 1950

July 20, 1950

August 20, 1950

September 21, 1950

October 10, 1950

C25

Stipulation of counsel extending time

for filing answers tc interrogatories to

Jan. 17, 1950 and Order of Court

approving same, filed. 12/29/49 noted.

Defendant’s answer to intertogatories

filed.

Plaintiffs’ motion for production of

documents, filed.

Order to place case on Argument List,

filed.

Motion to quash order and motion for

production of documents filed.

Hearing sur plaintiffs motion for

' production of documents and sur

defendant’s motion to quash etc.

C.A.V.

Opinion Kirkpatrick J. denying

defendant’s motion to quash and

granting plaintiffs motion to

produce filed.

Order of Court permitting plaintiff to

inspect certain documents, etc. and

staying all proceedings until,order is

complied with or vacated. Noted and

notice mailed 7/21/50.

Transcript of hearing on August 9,

1950 before Kirkpatrick, J. at

Washington, D.C. filed.

Amended Order re production and

inspection of documents, filed.

Defendant’s Petition for rehearing on

motion to quash Order and motion for

production of documents, filed.

October 10, 1950

October 10, 1950

October 12, 1950

November 27, 1950

December 11, 1950

December 18, 1950

December 18, 1950

February 20, 1951

February 27, 1951

March 2, 1951

April 20, 1951

April 20, 1951

May 29, 1951

C26

Claim of privilege by Secretary of the

Air Force, filed.

Affidavit of Judge Advocate General,

U.S. Air Force, filed.

Order of Court that facts be taken as

established, filed. 10/15/50 Noted and

Notice Mailed (#10142).

Trial (Kirkpatrick J.) Witnesses

sworn. C.A.V.

Transcript of testimony filed.

Plaintiff's Requests for findings of

fact, filed.

Plaintiff's Requests for conclusions of

law, filed.

Opinion, Kirkpatrick J. granting

judgment for plaintiff and affirming

certain of plaintiffs requests for

Findings of Fact and Conclusions of

Law filed.

Decree granting judgment in favor of

plaintiffs in the sum of $80,000 each

filed. Noted and notice maijéd 2/28/51.

Transcript of hearing of November 21,

1951 (In Chambers, K., J.) filed (See

#10142).

Notice of appeal of defendant filed

(4/23/51 Copies to Charles J. Biddle).

Copy of Clerk’s ..otice to U.S. Court of

Appeals filed.

Record transmitted to U.S. Court of

Appeals.

November 8, 1951

November 8, 1951

January 15, 1952

January 23, 1953

March 27, 1953

April 13, 1953

April 13, 1953

June 22, 1953

August 5, 1953

August 5, 1953

C27

Letter of U.S. Attorney together with

letter of Dept. of the Air Force, filed.

Supplemental record transmitted to

Court of Appeals.

Mandate affirming judgment of this

Court filed.

Certificate and the disposition of

exhibits, filed. |

Notice of taking depositions of Capt.

Herbert W. Moore, et al. filed.

Certified Copy of Order of U.S. Court

of Appeals recalling mandate, filed.

(4-14-53 Mandate returned; to U'S.

Court of Appeals).

Mandate of U.S. Supreme Court

reversing judgment of U.S. Court of

Appeals and remanding case to U.S.

District Court for further

proceedings, filed. :

Stipulation of Counsel as_ to

compromise settlerent and Order of

Court approving same, filed. 6/22/53

Noted.

Order to Dismiss filed.

In accordance with Order filed, this

action is marked dismissed with

prejudice.

Attest: /s/ J.A. Comey, Dep. Clerk

EXHIBIT C

C29

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

PATRICIA J. REYNOLDS

CIVIL ACTION'NO. 10142

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

CLAIM OF PRIVILEGE BY THE SECRETARY

OF THE AIR FORCE

The plaintiff has filed suit against the United States for

the wrongful death of her husband, who was killed in a

military aircraft while on a confidential mission, near

Waycross, Georgia, on 6 October 1948. Counsel for the

plaintiff has applied to this court pursuant to Rule 34 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure for copies of the findings of

the Board of Officers appointed to investigate the accident

pursuant to Air Force Regulation No. 62-14 and statements

of Air Force personnel witnesses.

With respect to the production of statements of

witnesses interrogated by the Board sought: by the

plaintiff's counsel, there has been no affidavit showing

good cause; nor any showing of necessity for the production

of this information. The defendant, in fact, as the affidavit of

The Judge Advocate General, United States Air Force, filed

herein, more particularly shows, has provided the iplaintiff

with certain records and with the names and known

addresses of its witnesses and now undertakes to produce

all witnesses in its employ and under its control for: pretrial

examination by the plaintiff. The names and addresses of

defendant’s witnesses were furnished in answer to the

plaintiff's interrogatories.

With regard to the demand for the production of the

Report of Investigation (Report of Major Aircraft Accident,

AF Form 14) and any other ancillary report or statement

C30

pertaining to this investigation, the respondent-defendant,

the United States, has objected and still objects to the

production of this report on the grounds that it is privileged.

The report of investigation (Report of Major Aircraft

Accident, AF Form 14), together with all the statements of

the witnesses, was prepared under regulations which are

designed to insure the disclosure of all pertinent factors

which may have caused, or w’ *h may have had a bearing

on, the accident in order that every possible safeguard may

be developed so that precautions may be taken for the

prevention of future accidents and for the purpose of

proinoting the highest degree of flying safety. These

statements are obtained in confidence, and these reports

are prepared for intra-departmental! use only, with the view

of correcting deficiencies found to have existed and with the

view of taking necessary corrective measures or additional

precautions based on the opinions and conclusions of the

Board of Officers convened to investigate such accidents.

The disclosure of statements made by witnesses and air-

crewmen before Accident Investigation Boards would have a

deterrent effect upon the much desired objective of

encouraging uninhibited statements in future inquiry

proceedings instituted primarily in the interest of flying

safety.

The defendant further objects to the production of this

report, together with the statements of witnesses, for the

reason that the aircraft in question, together with the

personnel on board, were engaged in a confidential mission

of the Air Force. The airplane likewise carried confidential

equipment on board and any disclosure of its mission or

information concerning its operation or performance would

be prejudicial to this Department and would not be in the

public interest. The furnishing of such information to

claimants or litigants against the Government is not

contemplated under the provisions of Air Force Regulation

No. 62-14, and if such information is to be released it must

be released as prescribed in Air Force Regulation No. 112-2,

paragraph 6; Air Force Regulation No. 112-2, paragraph 20;

C31

Army Regulation No. 410-5; and Army Regulation No. 420-5,

32 CFR 836.7 (by Joint Army-Air Force ' Regulation

No. 1-1-60, dated 11 May 1949, the Air Force has adopted

all pertinent Army Regulations that have: not been

superseded by Air Force Regulations).

The issue presented is solely whether reports of Boards

of Investigation and statements of witnesses which are

concerned with confidential missions and equipment of the

Air Force, declared confidential and privileged by law and

Department regulations, and which are the work-product of

the Department of the Air Force, are privileged and their

production is beyond judicial authority in this litigation.

It has been the historic position of the executive branch

of the Government, as the Attorney General of the United

States has informed this Honorable Court by statement filed

by him in Nathan Alltmont, et al, v. United States, Civil

Action No. 10019, 177 F.(2d) 971, that executive files and

investigative reports are confidential and privileged and

that their disclosure would not be in the public interest. In

that statement the Attorney General said:

“President Washington in 1796 refused to furnish the

instructions to the U.S. Minister concerning the Jay

Treaty. :

President Jefferson in . 1807 refused to furnish

confidential letters relative to the Burr conspiracy.

President Monroe in 1825 refused to furnish documents

relating to the conduct of naval officers in the Pacific.

President Jackson in 1833 refused to furnish a paper

read by him to the heads of departments relating to the

removal of bank deposits.

President Tyler in 1842 refused to furnish the names of

the Congressmen who applied for office, and in 1843

refused to furnish a War Department report on alleged

Indian frauds.

C32

President Polk in 1846 refused to furnish evidence of

payments made by the State Department on President’s

certificates. .

President Fillmore in 1852 refused to furnish

information on a proposal by the King of the Sandwich

Islands to transfer the islands to the United States.

President Lincoln in 1861 refused to furnish Major

Anderson’s dispatches relative to the defense of

Fort Sumter.

President Grant in 1876 refused to furnish information

concerning executive acts performed away from the

Capitol.

President Hayes in 1877 refused to permit the Secretary

of the Treasury to produce papers concerning the

nomination of Theodore Roosevelt as Collector of the

Port of New York.

President Cleveland in 1886 refused to produce

documents relating to suspension and removal of

Federal] Officials.

President Theodore Roosevelt in 1909 refused to

produce documents relating to the Bureau of

Corporations.

President Coolidge in 1924 refused to produce a list of

companies in which Secretary of the Treasury Mellon

was interested.

President Hoover in 1930 refused to produce the letters

leading up to the London Naval Treaty; and in 1932

refused to produce documents concerning a Treasury

Department investigation.

President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1941 refused to

permit the Director, F.B.I., to produce F.B.I. reports; in

1943 he refused to permit the Director, Bureau of the

Budget, to produce the files and correspondence of that

Bureau relative to the transfer of the F; C. C.’s

C33 ;

functions; also refused to permit the Chairman of the

Board of War Communications and the Secretary of War

to produce their files in the matter; and in 1944 refused

to permit the Director, F. B. I., to produce reports of that

agency.

President Truman in 1947 refused to permit' the Civil

Service Commission to produce records concerning

applicants for positions; and in 1948 refused to permit

disclosure of F. B. I. reports used in the Employees

Loyalty Investigation.”

The position of the executive branch of the Government

and of this Department is restated in the opinion of

Attorney General Jackson of April 30, 1941, 40 Op. Atty.

Gen. No. 8. That opinion pointed to the following injurious

results: (1) disclosure would seriously prejudice law

enforcement; (2) disclosure would prejudice the national

defense; (3) disclosure would seriously prejudice the future

usefulness of the Federal Bureau of Investigation for

keeping of faith with confidential informants is an

indispensable condition of future efficiency; ‘and (4)

disclosure might also result in the grossest kind of

injustice to innocent individuals because the, reports

include leads and suspicions and sometimes even the

statements of malicious or misinformed people.

This position is historically approved and authorized by

authority of R.S. 161, 5 U.S.C. 22, and Air Force Regulations

issued pursuant thereto, including Air Force Regulations

Nos. 205-1, 112-2, 62-14, and Army Regulations Nos. 410-5

(Sections III and IV) and 420-5 (by Joint Army-Air Force

Regulation No. 1-11-60 and Air Force Regulation No. 5-9,

dated 11 May 1949, the Air Force has adopted all pertinent

Army Regulations that have not been superseded by Air

Force Regulations). It may therefore be seen, the position

taken by the Air Force in respect to the production of the

documents in question has been affirmed time and time

again by the courts: Boske v. Comingore, 177 U.S. 459

(1900); Totten v. United States, 92 U.S. 105 (1875); Ex parte

C34

Sackett, ¥.(2d) 922 (C.C.A. 9th, 1935); United States v.

Potts, 5. » Supp. 204 (M.D. Pa., 1944); United States v.

Haugen, 58 F.Supp. 436 (E.D. Wash., 1944); U.S. ex rel

Bayarsky v. Brooks, 51 F.Supp. 974 (D.N.J., 1943); Harwood

v. McMurtry, 22 F.Supp. 572 (W.D. Ky., 1938); Federal Life

Ins. Co. v. Tolod, 30 F.Supp. 713 (M.D. Pa., 1940); Walling as

W. & H. Adm. v. Comet Carriers, 3 F.R.D. 442 (S.D.N.Y.,

1944); Young v. Terminal Ry., 70 F.Supp. 106 (E.D. Mo.,

1947); see In re Lamberton, 124 F. 446 (W.D. Ark., 1903);

Stegall v. Thurman, 175 F. 813 (N.D. Ga., 1910); Brent v.

Hagner, 5 @ranch. C.C. 71, Fed. Cas. No. 1,839 (C.C.D.C.,

1836); (1853) 6 Op. Atty. Gen. 7; (1877) 15 Op. Atty. Gen.

342; (1905) 25 Op. Atty. Gen. 326; (1941) 40 Op. Atty. Gen.

No. 8.

For the reasons stated above, I consider that the

compulsory production of the Reports of Investigation

conducted by the Board of Officers convened under the

provisions of Air Force Regulation No. 62-14 and other

pertinent regulations in connection with aircraft accidents

is prejudicial to the efficient operation of the Department of

the Air Force, is not in the public interest, and is

inconsistent with national security. Accordingly, pursuant

to the authority vested in me as the head of the Department

of the Air Force, I assert the privileged status of reports here

involved and must respectfully decline to permit their

production.

/s/ THOMAS K. FINLETTER

THOMAS K. FINLETTER,

Secretary of the Air Force

C35

EXHIBIT D

C36

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

PATRICIA J. REYNOLDS )

v. ) Civil Action No. 10142

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA )

AFFIDAVIT OF THE JUDGE ADVOCATE GENERAL,

UNITED STATES AIR FORCE

REGINALD C. HARMON, Major General, USAF, Serial

Number 721A, The Judge Advocate General, United States

Air Force, who being first duly sworn, deposes and says:

THAT as The Judge Advocate General, United States

Air Force, he is responsible for the furnishing of material

and the appearance of witnesses from among the military

personnel of the United States Air Force in all matters

where the United States Air Force is interested and in

particular the above-styled suit,

THAT the following personnel of the Air Force are the

only surviving military witnesses to the aircraft accident

that occurred on October 6, 1948, approximately two miles

south of Waycross, Georgia, in which aircraft type TB-29

(Serial Number 45-21866) was completely destroyed, and in

which plaintiffs’ decedents were killed:

Captain Herbert W. Moore, 1279A,

Tyndall Air Force Base, Florida,

Staff Sergeant Walter J. Peny, AF 6980255,

Chatham Air Force Base, Florida,

Technical Sergeant Earl W. Murrhee, AF 14171471,

MacDiil Air Force Base, Florida,

THAT the aforementioned three witnesses will be made

available at the expense of the United States for

C37

interrogation by the plaintiffs at a place and time to be

designated by the plaintiffs,

THAT these witnesses will be authorized to testify

regarding all matters pertaining to the cause of the accident

except as to facts and matters of a classified nature,

THAT these witnesses will be authorized to refresh

their memories by reference to any statements made by

them before Aircraft Accident Investigating Boards or

Investigating Officers, as well as other pertinent and

material records that are in the possession of the United

States Air Force,

THAT upon demand by the plaintiffs all records, other

than those which have been classified or determined to be

privileged, have already been made available by the Air

Force, .

THAT such information and findings of the Accident

investigation Board and statements which have been

demanded by the plaintiffs cannot be furnished! without

seriously hampering national security, flying safety and the

development of highly technical and secret military

. equipment,

AND THAT the disclosure of statements made by

_ witnesses before Accident Investigation Boards would have

a deterrent effect upon the much desired objective of

encouraging uninhibited admissions in future inquiry

proceedings instituted primarily in the interest of flying

safety.

/s/ REGINALD C. HARMON

REGINALD C. HARMON,

Major General, USAF

Subscribed and sworn to before me this seventh day of

August, 1950.

/s/ J. xxxxxx Will

J. xxxxxx Will

Notary Public Arlington County, Virginia

My Commission Expires December '3, 1950

C38

EXHIBIT E

C39

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

PHYLLIS BRAUNER and

ELIZABETH PALYA

Vv. : Civil Action No. 9793

UNITE

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.