Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Invention Submission Corp. v. Dudas

Supreme Court brief2006

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

4

On October 30, 2002, without affording ISC any

opportunity to develop the agency record relating to the

PTO’s implementation of its scheme to misuse agency

resources and influence, the district court dismissed ISC’s

Complaint. Rather than addressing the issue of sovereign

immunity under Rule Ib I), the district court evaluated

ISC’s allegations under Fed. R. Civ. F 12(bX6). ISC ap-

pealed the district court's order because it dismissed ISC’s

complaint under Rule 12(b\6) and also because he court

failed to apply the standard set forth in Industrial Safety.

On appeal, ISC focused in greater detail on the un-

derpinnings for the Industrial Safety standard of review

by tracing the “presumption” in favor of judicial review to

its origin in the McAnnulty Doctrine. The “McAnnulty

Doctrine” refers to this Court’s decision in American

School of Magnetic Healing u. McAnnulty, 187 U.S. 94, 23

S. Ct. 33, 47 L. Ed. 90 (1902). See Chamber of Commerce of

the United States v. Reich, 74 F.3d 1322, 1327 (D.C. Cir.

1996). The McAnnulty Doctrine broadly protects against

arbitrary action by agency officials by affording judicial

review whenever an agency official's conduct is unauthor-

ized by law or violates the rights of the aggrieved plaintiff.

ISC argued that as part of the restructuring of federal

question jurisdiction in 1976, Congress provided for

McAnnulty-type review in the context of federal question

jurisdiction and the APA. ISC asserted that post 1976,

federal question jurisdiction and the APA's waiver of

sovereign immunity provide jurisdiction for the court to

review agency action in the nature of a sanction, such as

the PTO’s misuse of agency resources to cause ISC irrepa-

rable harm.

The Fourth Circuit held that the PTO’s conduct was

not final agency action reviewable under the APA and

5

therefore the district court lacked s bject matter jurisdic-

tion. The Court held as follows:

Because the conduct of the [Patent and Trade-

mark Office] ... did not constitute “final agency

action” as used under the [Administrative Proce-

dure Act}, the district court did not have subject

matter jurisdiction to evaluate the complaint un-

der Rule 12(b)\(6) and s' ould have dismissed this

case under Rule Ib I). We therefore vacate its

order of October 30, 2002, as well as the support-

ing opinion, and remand with instructions to

dismiss this case under Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 12(b\1).

Invention Submission Corp. v. Dudas, 413 F.3d 411, 412

(2005); App. p. 2. In reaching this decision, the Fourth

Circuit interpreted the scope of review of agency action

under the APA to apply only to the text of statements

having “regulatory effect.” Invention Submission Corp. v.

Rogan, 357 F.3d. 452, 460; App. p. 35. Under this stan-

dard, the PTO’s media campaign, which involved the use

of false or unauthorized adverse publicity intended to put

ISC out of business, was not subject to judicial review

because the “text” itself did not have a regulatory effect.

Id. at 459-60; App. pp. 32-34. The Court observed that the

Pro's advertising did not create legal consequences’

for Invention Submission or any other member of the

public cognizable as final agency action” and that under

the regulatory effects standard the harm to ISC’s lawful

business activities is “ ... attributable to ir ſependent

responses and choices of third parties and cannot be

imputed to the PTO for purposes of determining whether

its conduct was a final agency action.” Jd. at 460; App. pp.

34-35.

6

The Fourth Circuit also concluded that subject matter

jurisdiction under McAnnulty has not been incorporated

into federal question jurisdiction and the APA as argued by

ISC. Id. at 457; App. p. 29. In its decision, the Fourth

Circuit stated that general equity jurisdiction under the

McAnnulty Doctrine is separate and apart from the APA,

rather than incorporated into the APA. Jd. The Fourth

Circuit indicated that although subject matter jurisdiction

may rest outside the APA under the McAnnulty Doctrine,

it did not need to address this issue because ISC had

relied on Industrial Safety “which was construing the APA

itself,” and ISC had not raised the issue of subject matter

jurisdiction under McAnnulty in the district court. Id. The

Fourth Circuit stated in its opinion that “[flor these

reasons, we do not address whether the ‘McAnnulty

Doctrine’ which Invention Submission raises for the first

time on appeal, provides a basis for judicial review of

unlawful agency action.” Id.

On April 22, 2004, after the Fourth Circuit’s mandate

was returned, the district court ordered the parties to

advise the court within ten days of any reason why the

court should not dismiss this civil action under Fed. R. Civ.

P. 12(b)(1). Order dated April 22, 2004; App. pp. 18-19. On

May 5, 2004, prior to the expiration of the response period,

the district court entered an order vacating its October 30,

2002 Order and Memorandum Opinion and dismissing the

civil action under Rule 12(b)(1). Order dated May 5, 2004;

App. pp. 16-17. On the same day, May 5, 2004, ISC moved

under Fed. R. Civ. P. 60 to vacate the entry of the district

court’s order of May 5, 2004, and moved under Fed. R.

Civ. P. 15 and 28 U.S.C. § 1653 for leave to amend its

complaint to plead subject matter jurisdiction under

the court’s general equity jurisdiction known as the

7

McAnnulty Doctrine. Plaintiff’s Response To Court’s Order

Dated April 22, 2004, Motion To Vacate Order Of May 5,

2004, and Motion For Leave To File Amended Complaint;

App. pp. 51-84.

Except for the jurisdictional basis for its claim, ISC’s

Amended Complaint did not raise new or additional

matters. Based on the same underlying facts, paragraph 1

of ISC’s Complaint was revised to plead subject matter

jurisdiction as follows:

This court has federal question jurisdiction over

the instant case under 28 U.S.C. 61331 as

ISC seeks judicial review under the. APA and

nonstatutory judicial review under the court's

general equity jurisdiction and the McAnnulty

Doctrine of the. PTOJ’s] conduct in acting

and/or failing to act in an official capacity or un-

der color of legal authority... .

Motion Exhibit A, Amended Complaint 7 1; App. pp. 59-60.

By order dated August 13, 2004, the district court denied

ISC leave to amend and reaffirmed its prior order of May

5, 2004 dismissing plaintiff's complaint pursuant to Rule

12(b\(1). Order dated August 13, 2004; App. pp. 11-15.

Thereafter, ISC appealed the district court's order denying

It is undisputed that the district court's order of May 5, 2004 was

entered prior to the expiration of the response period. Under Rule 6(a)

of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the computation of any period

of time prescribed or allowed by any order of court which is less than 11

days does not include intermediate Saturdays and Sundays. Thus the

district court's Order of April 22, 2004, required response on or before

May 6, 2004. The PTO did not object to ISC’s Motion to Vacate and filed

Defendant's response to the Court's April 22, 2004 Order on May 5,

2004. See Motion To Vacate J 10; App. p. 54. In its Order dated August

13, 2004 the district court stated that “May 5, 2004 was the deadline for

filing any objection to dismissal.” See App. p. 12.

8

ISC’s request for leave to amend its complaint in accor-

dance with Fed. R. Civ. P. 15 and 28 U.S.C. § 1653.

The issue before the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals

in this appeal was the “scope of ... [its] mandate and a

determination of whether the district court faithfully

executed ... [its mandate) in dismissing this case without

permitting Invention Submission leave to file an amended

complaint.” ISC v. Dudas, at 415; App. pp. 8-9. The Fourth

Circuit concluded that ISC had waived subject matter

jurisdiction under McAnnulty by not raising it in the

district court prior to the first appeal. The Court explained

“that Invention Submission had not properly raised the

McAnnulty doctrine as a jurisdictional basis before the

district court and therefore had not preserved that issue

for consideration on appeal.” Id.; App. p. 9. The Fourth

Circuit held that its mandate directing the district court to

dismiss this case for lack of subject matter jurisdiction

precluded the district court from taking any further action

other than dismissing the case, and therefore there was no

basis to reverse the district court’s order of dismissal

denying ISC leave to amend its complaint to remedy

inadequate jurisdictional allegations. Id.

V.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Writ Should Be Granted to Resolve the Conflict

Between the Fourth Circuit’s Prohibition Against

Pleading an Alternate Ground for Subject Matter

Jurisdiction on Remand and Decisions of this Court

and Other Circuits Which Permit Such Amendment

The mandate in the instant case consisted of the

Fourth Circuit's instruction to dismiss under Rule 12(b)(1),

9

and the Court’s statement of the reasons on which the

decision or judgment rested, that is:

Because the conduct of the [Patent and Trade-

mark Office] that is the subject of this action did

not constitute “final agency action” as used under

the [Administrative Procedure Act], the district

court did not have subject matter jurisdiction to

evaluate the complaint under Rule 12(b)(6) and

should have dismissed this case under Rule

12(b\(1).

ISC v. Dudas, at 412; App. p. 2. The Fourth Circuit inter-

preted its mandate as foreclosing consideration of subject

matter jurisdiction under the McAnnulty Doctrine because

it had not “properly” been raised in the district court and

therefore had not been “preserved” for consideration on

appeal. Id. at 415; App. p. 9. The Fourth Circuit denied

ISC the right to remedy inadequate jurisdictional allega-

tions under 28 U.S.C. § 1653 by adopting a rigid applica-

tion of Stamper v. Baskerville, 724 F.2d 1106 (4th Cir.

1984). Id. The Fourth Circuit held, in effect, that in all

cases where the Court orders dismissal under Fed. R. Civ.

P 12(b)(1), the lower court is precluded from taking any

further action even though an alternative basis for juris-

diction may exist on the facts plead. Id. (See Section 2

below for discussion of McAnnulty as a basis for jurisdic-

tion). The application of Stamper to the instant case is not

warranted and serves only to improperly foreclose ISC’s

rights under § 1653.

The mandate rule is a specific application of the law of

the case doctrine which provides that when a court decides

a rule of law, the mandate of the higher court is controlling

as to matters within its compass. Sprague u. Ticonic Nat'l

Bank, 307 U.S. 161, 59 S. Ct. 777, 83 L. Ed. 1184 (1939),

10

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., 680 F.2d 527 (7th Cir. 1982); S.

Atl. Ltd. Pship of Tenn, L.P. v. Riese, 356 F.3d 576 (4th Cir.

2004); See also Quern v. Jordan, 440 U.S. 332, 347 n.18, 99

S. Ct. 1139, 1148 n.18, 59 L. Ed. 2d 358 (1979). The doc-

trine of law of the case is implicated only with respect to

issues previously determined. Quern v. Jordan, supra.

(citing In re Sanford Fork & Tool Co., 160 U.S. 247, 16

S. Ct. 291, 40 L. Ed. 414 (1895)). A lower court has author-

ity to address any issue which was not expressly or impli-

edly disposed of on appeal. Id.; Sprague v. Ticonic Natl

Bank, supra; Wells Fargo and Company v. Taylor, 254 U.S.

175, 41 S. Ct. 93, 65 L. Ed. 205 (1920).

In the instant case, there is no law of the case ad-

dressing subject matter jurisdiction under the McAnnulty

Doctrine. ISC pled subject matter jurisdiction under

federal question jurisdiction and the APA based on the

Industrial Safety standard, that the malicious targeting of

ISC by PTO officials constituted final agency action in the

nature of a sanction. The Fourth Circuit expressly stated,

both in the prior appeal and in this appeal, that the Court

was not addressing the issue of subject matter jurisdiction

under the McAnnulty Doctrine, which it characterized as

“a doctrine of equity jurisdiction apart from the APA....”

ISC v. Dudas, at 415; App. p. 9; JSC v. Rogan, at 457; App.

p. 29. The Fourth Circuit’s reliance on Stamper to limit the

court’s authority to remedy inadequate jurisdictional allega-

tions represents a direct conflict with: 1) section 1653 of the

Judicial Code and the decisions of this Court and other

Circuit Courts establishing the appellate court’s responsibil-

ity under § 1653 to broadly consider alternative grounds for

subject matter jurisdiction at any stage of the proceeding;

and, 2) the decisions of this Court limiting the scope

of appellate mandates to issues actually addressed on

11

appeal. Consistent with the mandate rule set forth in the

Quern-Sprague-Wells Fargo line of cases (see above), the

Fourth Circuit’s statement that it was not addressing the

court’s equity jurisdiction under McAnnulty conclusively

establishes that the law of the case does not discharge the

district court from its duties and responsibilities under

§ 1653 of the Judicial Code to allow amendments to plead

alternative grounds for jurisdiction.

1. The Fourth Circuit’s Failure to Permit

Amendment Is in Direct Conflict with Section

1653 of the Judicial Code Requiring Both Ap-

pellate Courts and the District Courts to Con-

sider Alternative Grounds for Jurisdiction at

Any Stage of the Proceeding

The Fourth Circuit concluded in the instant case that

the effect of ISC’s failure to raise McAnnulty prior to the

first appeal resulted in waiver of McAnnulty as a grounds

for the court to exercise subject matter jurisdiction. Thus,

had the district court considered the McAnnulty Doctrine

as an alternative ground for jurisdiction, which it did not

do, the Fourth Circuit stated that the district court “would

have had to violate what we did instruct: to dismiss the

case for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.” JSC v. Dudas,

at 415; App. pp. 9-10. The Fourth Circuit's use of waiver as

a vehicle to foreclose ISC’s rights under 28 U.S.C. § 1653 is

clearly in conflict with the decisions of this Court and

other Circuit Courts and should not serve as legal basis for

affirming the district court’s abuse of discretion in denying

ISC leave to amend.

Under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 8(aX1) an

affirmative pleading of the precise statutory basis for

federal subject matter jurisdiction is not required as long

12

as a complaint alleges sufficient facts to establish jurisdic-

tion. LeBlanc v. Salem (In re Mailman Steam Carpet

Cleaning Corp.), 196 F.3d 1, 5 (Ist Cir. 1999); Rohler v.

TRW Inc., 576 F.2d 1260, 1264 (7th Cir. 1978). If the stated

grounds do not provide jurisdiction, the district court has

the “duty” under Rule 8(a) to read a complaint liberally

and to determine whether the facts set forth justify the

court exercising jurisdiction on grounds other than those

pleaded. Rohler v. TRW Inc., supra. Consistent with this

liberal pleading standard, § 1653 authorizes federal

district and appellate courts to remedy inadequate juris-

dictional allegations at any stage of the proceeding.

Newman-Green, Inc. v. Alfonzo-Larrain, 490 U.S. 826, 109

S. Ct. 2218, 104 L. Ed. 2d 893 (1989).

Apart from the instant case, all courts which have

addressed this issue have held that a plaintiff may rely on

§ 1653 at any stage of the proceeding, including on appeal,

to assert a new theory of subject matter jurisdiction that is

apparent from the face of the complaint. Advani Enter-

prises, Inc. v. Underwriters at Lloyds, 140 F.3d 157, 161

(2d Cir. 1998) (pursuant to § 1653 an appellate court can

allow amendment to assert a new theory f subject-matter

jurisdiction after finding that the original theory was

insufficient); Kiser v. General Electric Corp., 831 F.2d 423

(3rd Cir. 1987) (pursuant to § 1653 a federal court not only

has the power but also the duty to consider on the merits a

proposed amendment remedying defective allegation of

subject matter jurisdiction); Whitmire v. Victus Limited t/a

Master Design Furniture, supra (§ 1653 allows amendment

to state an alternative jurisdictional basis for recovery

upon the facts previously alleged either in the district

court or the appellate court); Seagraves v. Harris, 629 F.2d

385 (5th Cir. 1980) (§ 1653 in conjunction with Fed. R. Civ.

13

P. 15 allow plaintiff to amend after appellate argument to

plead a new theory of subject matter jurisdiction); Miller v.

Davis, 507 F.2d. 308 (6th Cir. 1974) (§ 1653 allows the

appellate court to direct plaintiff to assert a new basis for

subject matter jurisdiction); See also LeBlanc v. Salem (In

re Mailman Steam Carpet Cleaning Corp.), 196 F.3d 1, 5

(1st Cir. 1999) (plaintiff’s misplaced reliance on statute as

basis for subject matter jurisdiction does not foreclose the

appellate court from considering any other jurisdictional

source because “federal subject matt jurisdiction may be

established by reading a complaint holistically, ‘even

though the jurisdiction expressly asserted was im-

proper). In Vukonick v. Civil Service Comm’n, 589 F.2d

494 (10th Cir. 1978), for example, plaintiff pled subject

matter jurisdiction under the APA in an attempt to obtain

judicial review of the civil service commission’s refusal to

proceed with an appointment due to a dispute with the

EPA. While the case was pending, the United States

Supreme Court held that the APA did not afford independ-

ent subject matter jurisdiction for judicial review and that

subject matter jurisdiction rests solely on federal question

jurisdiction, 28 U.S.C. § 1331. The Tenth Circuit concluded

that the failure to allege this alternate basis for jurisdic-

tion was not fatal because “the complaint revealed a basis

for § 1331 jurisdiction.” Jd. at 496.

The Fourth Circuit’s failure to consider alternative

jurisdictional grounds and its use of waiver to deny ISC’s

rights to amend in conformity with § 1653 of the Judicial

Code presents an irreconcilable conflict in the law which is

likely to have significant impact beyond this case. By

enacting § 1653, it was the intention of Congress to permit

amendment broadly to avoid the dismissal of suits on

technical grounds. Moore v. Coats Co., 270 F.2d 410 (3rd

14

Cir. 1959); Whitmire v. Victus Limited T/A Master Design

Furniture, 212 F.3d 885 (5th Cir. 2000), Miller v. Davis,

507 F.2d 308 (6th Cir. 1974); Commercial Union Insurance

Co. v. U.S., 999 F.2d 581 (D.C. Cir. 1993). Accordingly,

federal practice dictates that “Section 1653 should be

construed ‘liberally to permit the action to be maintained

if it is at all possible to determine from the record that

jurisdiction does in fact exist Advani Enterprises, Inc.,

supra. The Fourth Circuit’s decision in the instant case

stands in stark contrast to these legal precepts. Here the

Fourth Circuit adopted a pleading standard which ele-

vates form over substance: all jurisdictional grounds not

precisely pled by plaintiff are waived. Under this standard

Fourth Circuit practice permits the court to arbitrarily

deny plaintiff rights protected in the Judicial Code and by

the decisions of this Court and all other Circuit Courts.

2. The Fourth Circuit’s Reliance on the Mandate

Rule to Deny ISC Leave to Amend under Sec-

tion 1653 Is in Direct Conflict with this Court’s

Decisions Limiting the Scope of an Appellate

Mandate to Issues Actually Addressed on Ap-

peal

Nothing contained in the Fourth Circuit’s mandate

should have precluded the district court from discharging

its responsibilities under § 1653 to broadly consider

alternative grounds for subject matter jurisdiction which

were apparent on the face of the complaint. The district

court in the instant case had authority under the mandate

rule to address any issue which was not expressly or

impliedly disposed of on appeal. The Fourth Circuit

expressly stated that it did not address the issue of subject

matter jurisdiction under the McAnnulty Doctrine, nor did

15

it address the merits of jurisdiction under McAnnulty by

implication.

The jurisdictional issue decided by the Fourth Circuit

was whether the PTO’s advertising campaign, directed at

ISC for the purpose of causing ISC irreparable harm,

constituted final agency action under the APA so as to be

reviewable in court. [SC v. Rogan, 357 F.3d at 458; App. p.

31. The Fourth Circuit stated that in order to constitute

final agency action the agency’s conduct must have regula-

tory impact, that is, it must be both the “‘consummation of

the agency's decision making process land] must be [an

action] by which rights or obligations have been deter-

mined, or from which legal consequences will flow.” Id. at

559; App. p. 32. The Fourth Circuit concluded that this

inquiry into regulatory impact is limited to the “text” of

the publication and whether the text constitutes the

“consummation” of a decision making process which

results in a formal determination of rights or obligations

or legal consequences. The Fourth Circuit explained that

the PTO advertisements did not have the requisite regula-

tory impact to be reviewable as “final agency action” under

the APA because the PTO advertisements did not ex-

pressly name ISC. The court further stated that unless the

“intent to penalize” is “referenced” in the text, any scheme

to penalize ISC, including the PTO’s attempts to link ISC

to the advertisements, was incapable of “taint{ing]” the

text. In other words, jurisdiction under the APA is to be

determined from the text of the agency publication with-

out consideration of the intent to penalize, the libel actu-

ally committed, or the federal rights violated.

This is quite different from the court’s jurisdiction

under the McAnnulty Doctrine, which broadly protects

against arbitrary and unlawful action by agency officials.

16

Nothing addressed by the court in the context of final

agency action forecloses jurisdiction under the McAnnulty

Doctrine. Under the McAnnulty Doctrine, judicial review

is afforded whenever an agency official’s conduct is unau-

thorized by law or violates the rights of the aggrieved

plaintiff. See Chamber of Commerce of the U.S. v. Reich, 74

F.2d 1322 (D.C. Cir. 1996); See also RI. Dep't of Enutl.

Mgmt. v. U.S., 304 F.3d 31 (ist Cir. 2002); Aid Assen for

Lutherans v. U.S. Postal Serv., 321 F.3d 1166 (D.C. Cir.

2003).

Under the McAnnulty Doctrine, regulatory impact is

not a pre-condition for the district court’s subject matter

jurisdiction. See Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Comm. v.

McGrath, 341 U.S. 123, 71 S. Ct. 624, 95 L. Ed. 817 (1951)

(plurality opinion); B.C. Morton Int'l Corp. u. FDIC, 305

F.2d 692 (Ist Cir. 1962). Therefore, the Fourth Circuit's

statement that the non-regulatory harm to ISC’s reputa-

tion “cannot be imputed to the PTO for purposes of deter-

mining whether its conduct was a final agency action” does

not preclude review jurisdiction under the McAnnulty

Doctrine. See ISC v. Rogan, 357 F.3d at 460; App. pp. 34-

35. In fact, there are many circumstance, such as the

instant case, where the risk of harm to reputation caused

by the conduct of agency officials does not have direct

regulatory effect yet nonetheless constitutes a sufficiently

“cognizable injury” to support equity jurisdiction in federal

court. Meese v. Keene, 481 U.S. 465, 107 S. Ct. 1862, 95

L. Ed. 2d 415 (1987); Joint Anti-Fascist, supra; B.C.

Morton, supra. See also Foretich v. U.S., 351 F.3d 1198

(D.C. Cir. 2003); S. Mut. Help Ass’n, Inc. v. Califano, 574

F.2d 518 (D.C. Cir. 1977).

Furthermore, while the fact that the text of the media

campaign did not name ISC may defeat jurisdiction based

17

on final agency action under the APA, this does not fore-

close judicial review under the McAnnulty Doctrine when

the underlying intent of the PTO officials was to target

ISC through the improper use of agency resources and

agency influence. In the context of the court’s equity

jurisdiction, allegations of the underlying intent of agency

officials to specially target an individual or company are

not limited to the four corners of the text of the agency

publication as they are under the regulatory effects

standard applied by the Fourth Circuit. See B.C. Morton,

supra.” Similarly, the Fourth Circuit’s statement that the

text of the advertisements was not a regulatory effect but

a “warning [to] the public about invention promotion

scams [that is] consistent with the PTO’s commission

granted by the Inventors’ Rights Act of 1999” does not

foreclose judicial review under McAnnulty. Sve ISC v.

Rogan, 357 F.3d at 460; App. p. 35."

In B.C. Morton, the First Circuit was presented with virtually the

same type of agency abuse, resulting harm to reputation and lawful

business activities as presented in the instant case. Plaintiff alleged

that the FDIC has issued a lawful press release that contained deliber-

ate misrepresentations regarding the sale of certain types of certifi-

cates. Plaintiff alleged that, although not specifically identified in the

press release, its business was the target of agency officials who

intended to use the press release to destroy lawful business activities.

The First Circuit found that it had McAnnulty-type subject matter

jurisdiction where agency officials target a specific company with the

intent to interfere with lawful business activities. The Court held that

the district court may grant relief based on the threatened injury to

reputation resulting from arbitrary action of agency officials regardless

of whether the use of adverse publicity has regulatory impact.

In B.C. Morton, as in the instant case, it was the improper use of

agency resources and agency influence to interfere with lawful business

activities that supported the district court exercising equity jurisdiction

under McAnnulty. Subject matter jurisdiction is not defeated, as it is

under the regulatory impact standard, where the agency uses “artful

(Continued on following page)

18

In summary, the Fourth Circuit's prohibition of

amendment under § 1653 is in direct conflict with long

standing law. The Quern-Sprague-Wells Fargo line of cases

(discussed above) limit the doctrine of law of the case to

issues actually decided by the appellate court. The district

court on remand has the authority to address any issue

which was not expressly or impliedly decided. As discussed

in Section 1 above, where the issue left open concerns an

alternative ground for the court to exercise jurisdiction,

§ 1653 permits amendment in conformity with the liberal

policy of amendment contained in the Federal Rules. In

the instant case, the Fourth Circuit did not decide, directly

or indirectly on the merits, whether equity jurisdiction

exists in the district court under the McAnnulty Doctrine.

Thus, Stamper, on which the Fourth Circuit relies, does

not apply because the district court has jurisdiction on

grounds other than those addressed by the appellate court.

generality” in its written communication, whether in a press release, as

was used in B.C. Morton, or in advertisements, as were used in this

case. In this regard the First Circuit stated as follows:

The Joint Anti- Fuscist Committee case shows that in determining

the right of a plaintiff to relief against arbitrary governmental ac-

tion, “the true test is the substantiality of the present or immi-

nent harm which the administrative action inflicts on the

plaintiff.” ... There is no merit in the contention that a private

business has no protection against attack by a government agency

as long as the agency uses artful generality ... we are unable to

see any sound reason why, upon the facts alleged in the amended

complaint, a federal court should refuse to exercise jurisdiction.

B.C. Morton, 305 F.2d at 698-99 (citations omitted).

19

3. The Fourth Circuit’s Affirmance of the District

Court’s Order Denying ISC Leave to Amend Is

in Conflict with this Court’s Decisions and the

Decisions of the Other Circuit Courts Address-

ing the Right to Amend

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 15(a) provides that

a] party may amend the partys pleading .. . by leave of

court ... and leave shall be freely given when justice so

requires.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a). The liberal approach to

amendment embodied in Rule 15 allows a district court, in

conjunction with §1653, to grant leave to amend after

dismissal in order to assert a new basis for subject matter

jurisdiction, provided that the amendment is not unduly

delayed, advanced in bad faith, or prejudicial to the

opposing party. Berkshire Fashions, Inc. u. The M.V.

Hakusan II, supra; United Steelworkers of America, AFL-

CIO v. Mesker Bros. Industries, Inc., 457 F.2d 91 (8th Cir.

1972); Whitmire u. Victus Limited t/a Master Design

Furniture, supra; Miller v. Davis, supra.

Inherent in the authority to address issues not dis-

posed of on appeal is the district court’s authority, on

remand, to allow amendments of the pleadings. Jn re

Sanford Fork & Tool Co., supra; Wells Fargo and Company

v. Taylor, supra. It is well settled that unless an appellate

mandate constitutes a final decision on the merits, a

district court is to exercise its sound discretion on remand

to allow the plaintiff to amend pleadings in order to cure

defects in the sufficiency of a complaint. Rogers v. Hill, 289

U.S. 582, 53 S. Ct. 731, 77 L. Ed. 1385 (1933). This author-

ity includes jurisdictional amendments as there is no

general prohibition against asserting another basis for

jurisdiction in an amendment to a pleading, provided that

such jurisdiction would have existed at the time the

20

complaint was originally filed (Berkshire Fashions, Inc. v.

The M.V. Hakusan II, 954 F.2d 874 (3rd Cir. 1992)) and

dismissal for lack of subject matter jurisdiction does not

constitute a final decision on the merits (Fed. R. Civ. P.

41(b); See also Costello v. U.S., 365 U.S. 265, 81 S.Ct. 534,

5 L. Ed. 2d 551 (1961)).

ISC’s original complaint set forth all of the requisite

facts for the court to exercise subject matter jurisdiction

under the McAnnulty Doctrine even though this theory

was not specifically pled, including:

¢ The overarching goal of the PTO officials

was to use false and unauthorized adverse

publicity to put ISC out of business and oth-

erwise prevent ISC from engaging in its law-

ful business activities although Congress

placed specific restrictions on the PTO by

denying it authority, directly or indirectly, to

interfere with the lawful business activities

of invention promoters and by placing spe-

cific restrictions on the PTO with respect to

the manner and context in which the PTO

was authorized to make customer com-

plaints publicly available in a neutral public

forum. Amended Complaint JA 4-7, 11-14,

16, 28-39; App. pp. 60-62, 64-65, 69-75.

* Petitioner refers to Paragraphs 4 through 45 of the Amended

Complaint reprinted in the Appendix hereto at pp. 59 through 84. These

paragraphs are identical to Paragraphs 4 through 45 of the original

Complaint. The facts supporting the court’s general equity jurisdiction

under the McAnnulty Doctrine are set forth in Paragraphs 46 through

54, which incorporate and summarize the facts pled in Paragraphs 4

through 45. In its Amended Complaint ISC pled the same facts in

support of both general equity jurisdiction under the McAnnulty

Doctrine and federal question jurisdiction under the APA to preserve

(Continued on following page)

21

¢ The PTO officials implemented their scheme

to target ISC through the improper use of

agency resources and agency influence, in-

cluding featuring an ISC customer in its

media campaign because PTO officials har-

bor a specific animus toward ISC. Amended

Complaint 1 15-16, 18-19, 22, 32-38; App.

pp. 65-67, 71-74.

„ As part of its improper efforts to publicly

identify ISC as running a scam and to cause

harm to ISC: i) the PTO publicized the alle-

gation contained in the Lewis complaint

outside the neutral public forum provided

for in the IRA and linked ISC through the

PTO’s contacts with the media; ii) the PTO

officially embraced the false allegations

made by Lewis and falsely represented to

the public that Lewis was the victim of a

patent scam; and, iii) the PTO disparaged

ISC’s services to various individuals and

groups, expressly or impliedly, including

that it was featuring an ISC customer in its

media campaign to counter patent scams

like ISC. Amended Complaint 11 20-21, 23-

27; App. pp. 66-69.

¢ The PTO officials’ conduct is ultra vires be-

cause it is arbitrary and capricious, is in ex-

cess of the PTO jurisdiction, is contrary to

ISC’s federal and constitutional rights and

has proximately caused and continues to

cause harm to ISC. Amended Complaint

14 40-45; App. pp. 75-79.

both jurisdictional bases while ISC petitioned this Court for a writ of

+ — Fourth Circuit in connection with its decision in JSC u

upra.

Rogan, supra.)

22

The Fourth Circuit’s affirmance of the district court’s order

denying ISC leave to amend to plead an alternative basis

for jurisdiction disregards completely § 1653 of the Federal

Judicial Code and Rule 15(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure.

The exercise of the lower court’s discretion in granting

leave to amend after remand must be in accordance with

the liberal policy of amendment as set forth in Fed. R. Civ.

P. 15(a). Nguyen v. U.S., 792 F.2d 1500 (9th Cir. 1986); See

also Harkless v. Sweeny Indep. Sch. Dist., 554 F.2d 1353

(5th Cir. 1977). The seminal case addressing the liberal

amendment standard is Foman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178, 83

S. Ct. 227, 9 L. Ed. 2d 222 (1962). In Foman, this Court

described the liberal amendment standard under Rule 15

as follows:

Rule 15(a) declares that leave to amend “shall be

freely given when justice so requires”; this man-

date is to be heeded. . . If the underlying facts or

circumstances relied upon by a plaintiff may be a

proper subject of relief, he ought to be afforded

an opportunity to test his claim on the merits. In

the absence of any apparent or declared reason

such as undue delay, bad faith or dilatory motive

on the part of the movant, repeated failure to

cure deficiencies by amendments previously al-

lowed, undue prejudice to the opposing party by

virtue of allowance of the amendment, futility of

amendment, etc. — the leave sought should, as

the rules require, be “freely given.” Of course, the

grant or denial of an opportunity to amend is

within the discretion of the District Court, but

outright refusal to grant the leave without any

justifying reason appearing for the denial is not

an exercise of discretion; it is merely abuse of

23

that discretion and inconsistent with the spirit of

the Federal Rules.

371 U.S. at 182 (citations omitted).

As discussed in Section 1 above, the district court is

duty bound to broadly consider alternative grounds for

subject matter jurisdiction supported by the factual

allegations of the complaint at any stage of the proceeding.

Accordingly, in considering ISC’s request for leave to

amend its complaint to plead equity jurisdiction under

McAnnulty, the Fourth Circuit should have focused solely

on whether the district court had abused its discretion in

concluding that dismissal under 12(b)(1) constitutes a final

decision on the merits and in failing to apply the Foman

standard. The record in the instant case establishes that

ISC’s right to amend under Foman is clear.

The district court abused its discretion by disregarding the

liberal amendment policies embodied in Rule 15 and § 1653 and,

contrary to established law, concluding that the Fourth Circuit's

dismissal under 12(b)(1) constituted a decision on the merits. In this

regard, the district court stated as follows:

[Tlo allow the plaintiff to amend its Complaint by adding a com-

pletely new legal theory at this stage would defeat notions of judi-

cial economy and finality. “Although amendment of pleadings

following remand may be permitted.... The genera! rule that

leave to amend under rule 15 should be freely granted will not be

extended without limit when a rule 15 motion is brought after a

claim has been fully litigated on the merits through appeal. At

some point, there must be finality. Permitting amendment in this

case would not enhance finality, but instead would encourage se-

riatim judgments in the same basic dispute, as a plaintiff contin-

ues to put forth new theories of recovery. For these reasons,

plaintiff's Motion to Vacate Order of May 5, 2004 and Motion for

Leave to File an Amended Complaint are DENIED.

Order dated August 13, 2004; App. pp. 11-15. Of course, the instant case

was never “fully litigated on the merits through appeal.”

24

ISC did not act in bad faith in moving for leave to

amend to assert subject matter jurisdiction under the

McAnnulty Doctrine. The forty day period between the

filing of the PTO’s 12(b)\(1) motion and the time the district

court entered its dismissal order under 12(b)(6) does not

provide a basis under Foman to deny leave to amend.

This is not a case where plaintiff has attempted

piecemeal litigation, one theory at a time, and any impli-

cation to the contrary is incorrect and not based on the

record. At the time ISC filed its complaint there was a

bona fide conflict in the law regarding the source of the

Court’s authority to review ultra vires agency conduct.

This Court has repeatedly instructed courts, both prior to

and after the enactment of the APA, to apply a presump-

tion in favor of judicial review where plaintiff seeks

injunctive or declaratory relief from ultra vires adminis-

trative agency action. Bowen v. Mich. Academy of Family

Physicians, 476 U.S. 667, 106 S. Ct. 2133, 90 L. Ed. 2d 623

(1986); Barlow v. Collins, 397 U.S. 159, 90 S. Ct. 832, 25

L. Ed. 2d 192 (1970); Abbott Labs v. Gardner, 387 U.S.

136, 87 S. Ct. 1507, 18 L. Ed. 2d 681 (1967); Joint Anti-

Fascist, supra; Leedom v. Kyne, 358 U.S. 184, 79 S. Ct.

180, 3 L. Ed. 2d 210 (1958); Stark v. Wickard, 321 US.

288, 64 S. Ct. 559, 88 L. Ed. 773 (1944). These decisions,

however, leave unclear the specific basis for the Court’s

subject matter jurisdiction as certain cases arise under the

APA and others do not specify whether or not relief is

sought under the ApA. At the time ISC filed its complaint

The law in this area showed that in 1976, in order to provide “a

safety-valve to ensure greater fairness and accountability in the

administrative machinery of the Government” (H. Rep. No. 1656, 94th

Cong., 2d Sess. 9 (1976), reprinted in 1976 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 6129-30),

Congress decided to combine equity with federal question jurisdiction,

(Continued on following page)

25

there were no Fourth Circuit opinions reconciling the

relationship between the court’s equity jurisdiction under

McAnnulty and the APA. In fact, it was not until the

Fourth Circuit’s decision in this case that any Circuit

Court had held that equity jurisdiction to review agency

action remains separate from federal question jurisdiction

and the APA, a decision that necessitated the need for ISC

to seek leave to amend to plead subject matter jurisdiction

under the McAnnulty Doctrine. As discussed above, the

limitations which the Fourth Circuit placed on final

agency action do not defeat jurisdiction under the McAn-

nulty Doctrine and therefore amendment of the complaint

would not be futile.

The PTO is not prejudiced by the Court allowing ISC

leave to amend the allegations of subject matter jurisdic-

tion contained in its Complaint. This case is in the initial

pleading stage and no discovery has been taken. The

stating: ‘the time ſhas] now come to eliminate the sovereign immunity

defense in all equitable actions for specific relief against a Federal

agency or officer acting in an official capacity.” Presbyterian Church

(U.S.A, v. U.S., 870 F.2d 518, 525 (9th Cir. 1989) (emphasis in opinion)

(citing H. Rep. No. 1656, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 9 (1976), reprinted in

1976 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 6129). Specifically, Congress amended 28 U.S.C

§ 1331 to eliminate the monetary requirement in order to provide

federal question jurisdiction in all cases challenging an agency action,

including equity cases. See Califano v. Sanders, 430 U.S. 99, 106, 97

S. Ct. 980, 51 L. Ed. 2d 192 (1977) (in “restructur[ing] afresh the scope

of federal-question jurisdiction,” the “obvious effect” was to confer broad

jurisdiction on federal courts to review agency action). At the same

time, additional language was added to § 702 of the APA in order to

provide broad waiver of sovereign immunity. It was entirely consistent

with the case law to argue that the combination of the amendment to

§ 1331, which removed the monetary requirement, together with the

addition to § 702 of the APA, in effect codified the right to judicial

review exsting in equity as the McAnnulty Doctrine. See Chamber of

Commerce, supra; R.] Dep't, supra; Presbyterian Church, supra.

26

requested amendment does not cause any unfair surprise

to the PTO as the underlying facts and circumstances

have been known to the PTO since ISC filed its complaint.

In contrast, ISC is greatly prejudiced by the failure of

the Fourth Circuit to allow ISC to amend its complaint.

The prohibition against amendment adopted by the

Fourth Circuit has unfairly left ISC without a judicial

remedy against conduct that offends every notion and

sense of fairness and justice. Here PTO officials have

publicly stated their intention to wield agency resources

and influence to stigmatize ISC and prevent ISC from

engaging in lawful business activities because of the

animus PTO officials personally harbor against ISC. In

response to the PTO’s attempt to shield its agency abuse

from judicial review, the Fourth Circuit was called upon,

as a case of first impression in the Fourth Circuit, to

resolve the relationship between federal question jurisdic-

tion under the APA and equity jurisdiction under the

McAnnulty Doctrine. Contrary to the decisions in other

Circuits, the Fourth Circuit concluded that equity jurisdic-

tion under the McAnnulty Doctrine is separate and apart

from federal question jurisdiction. The Fourth Circuit then

further shielded the PTO’s agency abuses from judicial

review by adopting a prohibition against amendment in

direct conflict with § 1653 of the Judicial Code which is the

subject of this petition for writ of certiorari.

*

27

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons Petitioner respectfully

requests that this Court grant its petition for writ of

certiorari to review the decision of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

EDWARD B. FRIEDMAN RICHARD C. SULLIVAN, JR.

Counsel of Record REEDSMITH, LLP

J. STEPHEN PURCUPILE Suite 1400

FRIEDMAN AND 3110 Fairview Park Drive

FRIEDMAN Falls Church, VA 22042-3844

900 Fifth Avenue Tel. (703) 641-4200

Pittsburgh, PA 15219 Fax (703) 641-4340

Tel. (412) 261-5834

Fax (412) 261-0350

Attorneys for Petitioner

Invention Submission Corporation

App. 1

PUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

INVENTION SUBMISSION CORPORATION,

a Pennsylvania corporation,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

JONATHAN W. DuDAS, Under

Secretary of Commerce for

Intellectual Property and

Director, United States Patent

and Trademark Office,

U.S. Department of Commerce,

in his official capacity,

Defendant-Appellee.

No. 04-2295

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Virginia, at Alexandria.

Leonie M. Brinkema, District Judge.

(CA-02-1038-1)

Argued: May 24, 2005

Decided: June 24, 2005

Before WILKINS, Chief Judge, and NIEMEYER

and SHEDD, Circuit Judges.

Affirmed by published opinion. Judge Niemeyer wrote the

opinion, in which Chief Judge Wilkins and Judge Shedd

joined.

App. 2

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Edward B. Friedman, Pittsburgh, Pennsyl-

vania, for Appellant. Rachel Celia Ballow, Assistant

United States Attorney, Office of the United States

Attorney, Alexandria, Virginia, for Appellee. ON BRIEF:

J. Stephen Purcupile, Friedman & Friedman, Pittsburgh,

Pennsylvania; Richard C. Sullivan, Reed Smith, L.L.P.,

Falls Church, Virginia, for Appellant. Paul J. McNulty,

United States Attorney, Alexandria, Virginia, for Appellee.

OPINION

NIEMEYER, Circuit Judge:

In our earlier review of the district court’s final order

dismissing this case under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

12(bX6), we held:

Because the conduct of the [Patent and

Trademark Office] that is the subject of this ac-

tion did not constitute “final agency action” as

used under the [Administrative Procedure Act],

the district court did not have subject matter ju-

risdiction to evaluate the complaint under Rule

12(bX6) and should have dismissed this case un-

der Rule 12(b)(1). We therefore vacate its order of

October 30, 2002, as well as the supporting opin-

ion, and remand with instructions to dismiss this

case under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

12(b\(1).

Invention Submission Corp. v. Rogan, 357 F.3d 452, 460

(4th Cir. 2004). By order dated May 5, 2004, the district

court did vacate its earlier dismissal order and dismissed

this case under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(1).

App. 3

Invention Submission Corporation filed a motion to

vacate the district court’s May 5, 2004 order and to grant

Invention Submission leave to file an amended complaint

for the purpose of avoiding the jurisdictional issue. The

district court denied this motion and reaffirmed its earlier

dismissal order. Invention Submission now challenges the

district court’s order denying its motion to vacate and for

leave to amend.

Because the district court was bound by the mandate

of this court to dismiss this case for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction, we affirm.

I

In January 2002, the Patent and Trademark Office

(“PTO”) launched a media campaign to counter invention

promotion scams. The print advertisements featured an

inventor named Edward Lewis, along with text that

identified him by name and read, “I spent $13,000 and

three years ‘spinning my wheels’ with a company that

promised my idea would make lots of money. They were

right. It made lots of money . for them. I havent seen a

penny.” The advertisement ended with a general state-

ment about avoiding “invention promotion scams” and

contact information for the PTO.

A journalist for a cable television network, who saw

the PTO’s advertisements, interviewed Lewis and pub-

lished a story revealing that Lewis was referring in the

advertisements to his relationship with Invention Submis-

sion, a business engaged in assisting inventors with

obtaining patents. The article revealed that Lewis had

filed a complaint with the PTO in August 2001 that was

“being processed.” The article also revealed that Invention

App. 4

Submission was one of several companies investigated by

the FTC in the 1990s “for misrepresentation in patent

marketing schemes.” The article concluded with Invention

Submission’s response that it did nothing wrong and that

its representations and commercials misled neither Lewis

nor anyone else.

After the article appeared, Invention Submission

commenced this action under the Administrative Proce-

dure Act (“APA”), 5 U.S.C. § 704, against the PTO, alleging

that the PTO’s advertising campaign was aimed at Inven-

tion Submission to penalize it and ultimately to put it out

of business. Invention Submission claimed that the cam-

paign was an illegal final agency action that was arbitrary

and capricious and exceeded any statutory authority

conferred on the PTO.

The PTO filed a motion to dismiss Invention Submis-

sion’s complaint under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

12(bX1), contending that the PTO advertising campaign

was not a “final agency action” and therefore that the

district court lacked subject matter jurisdiction to review

its actions. The district court granted the motion to dis-

miss but based its decision on Rule 12(b)(6), finding that

“it is clear as a matter of law that no relief could be

granted under any set of facts that could be proved consis-

tent with the allegations.” The court observed that “(t]he

PTO’s publications in this case were merely generic

advertisements of agency programs not specifically nam-

ing the plaintiff. Any harm to the plaintiff was, at most,

indirect.” Finally, the court found that the agency’s con-

duct was not a “final agency action” and that Invention

Submission had not alleged any specific harm caused by

the PTO’s actions.

App. 5

On Invention Submission’s first appeal, we agreed

with the district court that the PTO’s alleged conduct did

not constitute final agency action and therefore was not

reviewable under the APA. We observed:

The text of the advertising material can only be

construed to be an effort by the

any right or obligation of any party.

Invention Submission, 357 F.3d at 460 (emphasis added).

In response to Invention Submission’s contention that in

conducting the advertising campaign, the PTO harbored

an intent to put Invention Submission out of business and

that therefore the advertising campaign was agency action

adversely affecting Invention Submission, we stated:

acted the Inventors’ Rights Act — into a PTO

sanction imposed on Invention Submission that

would be reviewable in court, especially when the

material itself does not reference an intent to pe-

nalize any particular company.

Id. Focusing particularly on the effect of the advertising

campaig. on Invention Submission, we observed:

If the PTO’s advertising made business more dif-

ficult for Invention Submission by raising the

public’s awareness, the decisions of members of

Id. (internal quotation marks and citation omitted). We

summarized our holding as follows:

In short, the PTO’s advertising campaign

warning the public about invention promotion

scams was consistent with the PTO’s commission

granted by the Inventors’ Rights Act of 1999, and

in the circumstances of this case, the decision to

pursue such a campaign, as well as its content,

did not create a final agency action that is re-

viewable in court.

id. (emphasis added). Accordingly, we concluded that the

district court did not have subject matter jurisdiction over

the case and remanded it “with instructions to dismiss this

case under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(1).” Id.

During the course of its prior appellate briefing,

Invention Submission argued that the district court's

jurisdiction over its complaint could have rested on gen-

eral equity jurisdiction under the holding of American

School of Magnetic Healing v. McAnnulty, 187 U.S. 94

(1902), an argument that it raised for the first time on

appeal. In response, we stated, “we do not address

whether the ‘McAnnulty Doctrine,’ which Invention Sub-

mission raises for the first time on appeal, provides a basis

for judicial review of unlawful agency action.” Invention

Submission, 357 F.3d at 457 n.“.

After the case was remanded to the district court and

the district court had dismissed the case under Rule

App. 7

12(b\1), Invention Submission filed a motion to vacate the

dismissal order and for leave to amend its complaint to

allege jurisdiction under the McAnnulty doctrine. The

district court, relying on the scope of our mandate on

remand, denied Invention Submission’s motion and

reaffirmed its dismissal under Rule 12(b)(1). In addition,

the court observed that to reopen the case at that point in

time “would defeat notions of judicial economy and final-

ity.”

Invention Submission now appeals the district court's

order denying its motion to vacate and for leave to amend

its complaint.

II

In challenging the district court’s reliance on the plain

language of our mandate on remand, Invention Submis-

sion contends that on remand, the district court was “free

to pass upon any issue which was not expressly or impli-

edly disposed of on appeal so long as consideration of the

issue raised on remand is not inconsistent with the appel-

late mandate.” Invention Submission argues that it would

not have been inconsistent with our mandate to permit it

to amend its complaint to rest jurisdiction on the McAn-

nulty doctrine. It relies heavily on our statement made in

the opinion on the first appeal that Invention Submission

“relied exclusively on the APA” to establish subject matter

jurisdiction, an issue that we disposed of on that appeal,

and our observation that “we do not address whether the

‘McAnnulty Doctrine’ ... provides a basis for judicial

review of unlawful agency action.” Invention Submission,

357 F.3d at 457 n.“.

App. 8

The force of our prior mandate is governed by well-

established principles. In general, once a case has been

decided on appeal and a mandate issued, the lower court

may not deviate from that mandate but is required to give

full effect to its execution. See Stamper v. Baskerville, 724

F.2d 1106, 1107 (4th Cir. 1984). This “mandate rule” is a

more powerful version of the law of the case doctrine and

is based on “the principle that an inferior tribunal is

bound to honor the mandate of a superior court within a

single judicial system.” 18B Charles Alan Wright, Arthur

B. Miller, & Edward H. Cooper, Federal Practice and

Procedure § 4478.3 (2d. ed. 2002). As we observed in

United States v. Bell, 5 F.3d 64, 66 (4th Cir. 1993) (quoting

Sprague v. Ticonic National Bank, 307 U.S. 161, 168

(1939)), “[flew legal precepts are as firmly established as

the doctrine that the mandate of a higher court is ‘control-

ling as to matters within its compass.’” Under the man-

date rule, therefore, a lower court generally may not

consider questions that the mandate has laid to rest.

Sprague, 307 U.S. at 168.

Deviation from the mandate rule is permitted only in

a few exceptional circumstances, which include (1) when

“controlling legal authority has changed dramatically”; (2)

when “significant new evidence, not earlier obtainable in

the exercise of due diligence, has come to light”; and (3)

when “a blatant error in the prior decision will, if uncor-

rected, result in a serious injustice.” United States v.

Aramony, 166 F.3d 655, 662 (4th Cir. 1999) (quoting Bell, 5

F.3d at 67) (internal quotation marks omitted). But it is

clear that none of these exceptions applies here. Our

review, therefore, is limited to consideration of the scope of

our mandate and a determination of whether the district

court faithfully executed it in dismissing this case without

App. 9

permitting Invention Submission leave to file an amended

complaint.

The language of our mandate directed the district

court to dismiss this case for lack of subject matter juris-

diction and, on its face, does not authorize the district

court to open the case for further adjudication. Because

our order stated that the district court lacked jurisdiction,

the court was not free to do anything else but to dismiss

the case. As we have explained previously, “[clompliance

with an order to relinquish jurisdiction necessarily pre-

cludes the lower court from taking any further action

other than dismissal, for to do so would involve retaining

jurisdiction.” Baskerville, 724 F.2d at 1108. Thus, to

comply with our mandate, the district court could only

dismiss the case. [Alny action by the lower court other

than immediate and complete dismissal [would have been]

by definition inconsistent with and therefore a violation

of - the order [to dismiss]. Jd. In short, our instruction to

the district court was clear, direct, and limiting, and we

conclude that the district court followed the mandate as

directed. Thus, in restricting its action to that directed by

the mandate, the district court did not err.

Invention Submission’s reliance on our previous

opinion’s footnote, 357 F.3d at 457 n.*, is misplaced. In

limiting our discussion to whether the district court had

jurisdiction under the APA, as invoked by Invention

Submission, we simply took note that Invention Submis-

sion had not properly raised the McAnnulty doctrine as a

jurisdictional basis before the district court and therefore

had not preserved that issue for consideration on appeal.

While we noted this fact in the footnote, we did not in-

struct the district court to consider that doctrine on

remand. Had the district court done so anyway, it would

App. 10

have had to violate what we did instruct: to dismiss the

case for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

Because the district court was bound by the mandate

of this court to dismiss this case for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction, and the district court did dismiss this case we

conclude that there is no basis to reverse its order.

AFFIRMED.

App. 11

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Alexandria Division

INVENTION SUBMISSION

CORPORATION,

Plaintiff

v 1:02cv1038 (LMB)

)

)

)

)

)

JAMES E. ROGAN, Undersecretary ?

of Commerce for Intellectual )

Property and Director, )

United States Patent )

and Trademark Office, )

U.S. Department of Commerce,

in his official capacity,

)

Defendant.

ORDER

(Filed Aug. 13, 2004)

Before the Court are plaintiff's Response to the

Court’s Order Dated April 22, 2004, Motion to Vacate

Order of May 5, 2004, and Motion for Leave to File an

Amended Complaint. The government has filed its Opposi-

tion, and the plaintiff has filed a reply. For the reasons

that follow, plaintiff’s motions will be DENIED.

On July 17, 2002, plaintiff filed its Complaint under

the Administrative Procedures Act (APA), alleging that the

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) had violated the

Inventors’ Rights Act, 35 U.S.C. § 297. Plaintiff seeks both

declaratory and injunctive relief. Defendant moved to

dismiss the Complaint under Fed. R. Civ. P 12(b)(1) for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction on the ground that the

PTO action at issue did not constitute final agency action.

App. 12

Plaintiff did not seek to amend its complaint in response

to the Motion to Dismiss, but opposed the motion on its

merits. On October 30, 2002, this Court dismissed the

Complaint under Fed. R. Civ. P 12(b\6) for failure to state

a claim upon which relief could be granted. That decision

was appealed to the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit, which on February 11, 2004, affirmed the

dismissal but remanded with instructions to dismiss the

Complaint under Rule 12(b)(1) because the court lacked

subject matter jurisdiction. After the mandate was re-

turned, the Court, on April 22, 2004, advised the parties

that it intended to dismiss the Complaint under Rule

12(bX1) unless they filed an objection within ten days.

May 5, 2004 was the deadline for filing any objection to

dismissal. On May 5, 2004, the Court, not having heard

from the parties, entered an Order dismissing the Com-

plaint. Apparently, plaintiff filed its opposition on the

same day. Although the Complaint has been dismissed, the

Court has considered plaintiff's motion.

The original Complaint was brought under only one

legal theory, that the APA had been violated. In affirming

the dismissal of plaintiff’s Complaint, the Fourth Circuit

held that the conduct of the PTO that is the subject of the

Complaint did not constitute final agency action under the

APA, and therefore this Court did not have subject matter

jurisdiction over the Complaint. Invention Submission

Corporation v. Rogan, 357 F.2d 452, 460 (4th Cir. 2004). In

its Opinion, the Fourth Circuit noted plaintiff's argument

that subject matter jurisdiction may rest outside the APA

under the McAnnulty Doctrine, but declined to address

that argument because plaintiff had pled its claims only

under the APA, not the McAnnulty Doctrine. Id. at 457, n“.

App. 13

Plaintiff has filed a petition for certiorari with the Su-

preme Court, but has not asked for a stay.

In its Motion for Leave to File Amended Complaint,

plaintiff essentially seeks to re-plead its allegations under

an entirely new legal theory, the McAnnulty Doctrine,

which provides that the lack of final agency action may not

necessarily deprive this Court of subject matter jurisdic-

tion to hear the Complaint. Defendant opposes any effort

by plaintiff to amend its Complaint at this stage in the

proceedings, arguing that under the mandate rule, this

court should not allow the Complaint to be amended to

include entirely new claims.

The government's argument has merit. The mandate

rule “compels compliance on remand with the dictates of a

superior court and forecloses relitigation of issues ex-

pressly or impliedly decided by the appellate court. In

addition, the rule forecloses litigation of issues decided by

the district court but foregone on appeal or otherwise

waived, for example because they were not raised in the

district court.” United States v. Bell, 5 F.3d 64, 66 (4th Cir.

1993).

In discussing plaintiff's argument that jurisdiction

would lie under the McAnnulty Doctrine, the Fourth

Circuit held that the issue had not been properly raised in

the district court for consideration on appeal. It then

remanded the case to this Court only with instructions to

dismiss the Complaint for lack of subject matter jurisdic-

tion. The Fourth Circuit did not direct the Court to reopen

the case or consider the applicability of the McAnnulty

Doctrine. Under the mandate rule, all this Court is au-

thorized to do is dismiss this civil Complaint. To allow

plaintiff to raise the McAnnulty Doctrine issue in an

App. 14

amended complaint would be inconsistent with the Fourth

Circuit’s opinion, because the Fourth Circuit found that

plaintiff had waived that issue.

In addition to violating the mandate rule, to allow the

Plaintiff to amend its Complaint by adding a completely

new legal theory at this stage would defeat notions of

judicial economy and finality. “Although amendment of

pleadings following remand may be permitted, such

amendment cannot be inconsistent with the appellate

court’s mandate. ... The general rule that leave to amend

under rule 15 should be freely granted will not be ex-

tended without limit when a rule 15 motion is brought

after a claim has been fully litigated on the merits through

appeal. At some point, there must be finality. Permitting

amendment in this case would not enhance finality, but

instead would encourage seriatim judgments in the same

basic dispute, as a plaintiff continues to put forth new

theories of recovery.” In re Beverly Hills Bancorp, 752 F.2d

1334, 1337-38 (9th Cir. 1984) (internal citations omitted).

See also Rolo v. City Investing Co. Liquidating Trust, 155

F.3d 644, 654 (3d Cir. 1998) (leave to amend after remand

properly denied when plaintiff sought to add claims that

“could have been pled much earlier in the proceedings”).

For these reasons, plaintiff’s Motion to Vacate Order

of May 5, 2004, and motion for Leave to File an Amended

Complaint are DENIED, and it is hereby

App. 15

ORDERED that the Court’s Order of May 5, 2004,

dismissing this action under Rule 12(bX1) be and is

reaffirmed and this civil action is dismissed.’

The Clerk is directed to forward copies of this Order to

counsel of record.

Entered this 13th day of August, 2004.

/s/ Leonie M. Brinkema

Leonie M. Brinkema

United States District Judge

Alexandria, Virginia

' No Stay has been filed pending Supreme Court action on

the

petition. Because the mandate has been returned to the Court, the

Court has the authority to dismiss this Complaint.

App. 16

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

4] ria Divisi

INVENTION SUBMISSION

CORPORATION,

Plaintiff

1:02cv1038 (LMB)

*

)

)

)

)

. )

JAMES E. ROGAN, Under )

Secretary of Commerce for )

Intellectual Property and )

Director, United States )

Patent and Trademark Office, )

U.S. Department of Commerce,

in his official capacity,

Defendant. )

ORDER

(Filed May 5, 2004)

The parties have not filed any objections to the pro-

posed dismissal of this civil action as described in our

Order of April 22, 2004. Accordingly, it is hereby

ORDERED that pursuant to the decision issued by

the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit,

the October 30, 2002 Order and Memorandum Opinion

issued by this Court are VACATED; and it is further

ORDERED that this civil action be and is DIS-

MISSED under Fed. R Civ. P 12(b\1).

The Clerk is directed to forward copies of this Order to

counsel of record.

App. 17

Entered this 5th day of May, 2004.

/s/ Leonie M. Brinkema

Leonie M. Brinkema

United States District Judge

Alexandria, Virginia

App. 18

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Alexandria Division

INVENTION SUBMISSION

CORPORATION,

Plaintiff

Civil Action No.

1:02cv 1038

Vv

)

)

)

)

)

JAMES E. ROGAN, Under

Secretary of Commerce for )

Intellectual Property and )

Director, United States )

Patent and Trademark Office, )

U.S. Department of Commerce,

in his official capacity,

Defendant. )

ORDER

(Filed Apr. 22, 2004)

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Circuit has returned the mandate in this civil action with

instructions to dismiss this civil action under Fed. R. Civ.

P 12(bX1) rather than Rule 12(b)(6), and to vacate the

Court’s memorandum opinion. Accordingly, it is hereby

ORDERED that the parties advise the Court within

ten days of any reason why the Court should not comply

with this Order at this time.

The Clerk is directed to forward copies, of this Order

to counsel of record.

App. 19

Entered this 22nd day of April, 2004.

/s/ Leonie M. Brinkema

Leonie M. Brinkema

United States District Judge

Alexandria, Virginia

App. 20

125 S. Ct. 415; 160 L. Ed. 2d 317;

2004 U.S. LEXIS 7119; 73 U.S.L.W. 3272

Invention Submission Corporation, Petitioner

v. Jonathan W. Dudas, as Undersecretary of Commerce

for Intellectual Property and Director, Patent and

Trademark Office, Department of Commerce.

No. 04-40.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

November 1, 2004, Decided

JUDGES: Rehnquist, Stevens, O’Connor, Scalia, Ken-

nedy, Souter, Thomas, Ginsburg, Breyer.

OPINION: Petition for writ of certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit denied.

App. 21

357 F.3d 452

No. 02-2461

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

INVENTION SUBMISSION CORPORATION,

a Pennsylvania Corporation, Plaintiff-Appellant,

v. JAMES E. ROGAN, Under Secretary of

Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director,

United States Patent and Trademark Office,

U.S. Department of Commerce, in his

official capacity, Defendant-Appellee.

October 30, 2003, Argued

February 11, 2004, Decided

COUNSEL: Edward B. Friedman, FRIEDMAN &

FRIEDMAN, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, for Appellant.

Rachel Celia Ballow, Assistant United States Attorney,

Alexandria, Virginia, for Appellee.

ON BRIEF: J. Stephen Purcupile, Carolyn M. Corry,

FRIEDMAN & FRIEDMAN, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania;

Richard C. Sullivan, Jr, REED SMITH, L.L.P, Falls

Church, Virginia, for Appellant.

Paul J. McNulty, United States Attorney, Alexandria,

Virginia, for Appellee.

JUDGES: Before WILKINS, Chief Judge, and NIE-

MEYER and SHEDD, Circuit Judges. Judge Niemeyer

wrote the opinion, in which Chief Judge Wilkins and

Judge Shedd joined.

OPINION BY: NIEMEYER

App. 22

OPINION: NIEMEYER, Circuit Judge:

Invention Submission Corporation commenced this

action under the Administrative Procedure Act (“APA”)

against James E. Rogan in his official capacity as Under

Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and

Director of the United States Patent and Trademark Office

(“PTO”), alleging that the PTO’s 2002 advertising cam-

paign to alert the public about “invention promotion

scams” was aimed at Invention Submission to penalize it

and ultimately put it out of business. Invention Submis-

sion alleged that the advertising campaign was an illegal

final agency action that was arbitrary and capricious and

exceeded any statutory authority conferred on the PTO.

On the PTO’s motion to dismiss the complaint under

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(bX1), based on the

ground that the PTO advertising campaign was not a

“final agency action” and therefore that the district court

lacked subject matter jurisdiction, the district court

dismissed the action. See Invention Submission Corp. v.

Rogan, 229 F. Supp. 2d 498 (E. D. Va. 2002). The district

court, however, acted under Federal Rule of Civil Proce-

dure 12(b\6), concluding that “under any set of facts that

could be proved consistent with the [complaint’s} allega-

tions,” no relief could be granted to Invention Submission.

Reviewing the district court’s order de novo, we agree

that the complaint must be dismissed, but not under Rule

12(b)(6). As we explain below, we conclude that because

the PTO’s advertising campaign was not a final agency

action a conclusion that the district court also reached in

its opinion — the district court had no subject matter juris-

diction to review it. See 5 U.S.C. § 704. We must therefore

vacate the district court's order of October 30, 2002, as well

App. 23

as the supporting opinion, and remand with instructions

to dismiss Invention Submission’s complaint for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction.

I

Congress enacted the Inventors’ Rights Act of 1999, 35

U.S.C. § 297, to protect inventors from invention promo-

tion scams and the deceptive advertising related to them

by authorizing the PIO to publicize complaints that it

receives against invention promoters. See 145 Cong. Rec.

814521 (Nov. 10, 1999). The Act and the regulations

adopted under it impose a duty on the PTO “to provide a

forum for the publication of complaints concerning inven-

tion promoters.” 37 C. FR. 54.1, see also 35 U.S.C.

§ 297(d). The Act and regulations do not, however, author-

ize the PTO to conduct any independent investigations of

invention promoters, authorizing instead enforcement by

injured persons through civil actions. See 35 U.S.C.

§ 297(b), (d) 37 C. FR. § 4.1.

In connection with its duty to publicize complaints

concerning invention promoters, the PTO initiated an

advertising campaign in January 2002 to alert the public

to “invention promotion scams,” and its advertisements

stated, “Make sure your ideas — and your money don't

wash away. To learn more, call the U.S. Patent and

Trademark Office toll-free.” In launching the media

campaign, the PTO stated in a press release:

This week, the United States Patent and

Trademark office (USPTO) unveils a television

and radio campaign in five media markets to

counter the flood of deceptive advertising aimed at

App. 24

America’s independent inventors. ... The Agency

also will be placing print ads.

“USPTO’s ads caution inventors that ‘if it

sounds too good to be true, it is, said James E.

Rogan, Under Secretary of Commerce for Intel-

lectual Property. “Our ads offer practical infor-

mation, guiding inventors to USPTO’s Office of

Independent Inventor Programs, where they can

get real help with patenting and marketing their

inventions.”

Every year invention promotion scams cost

U.S. inventors an estimated $200 million. The

spots feature an actual inventor, Edward Lewis,

who lost several thousand dollars.

In the print advertising published by the PTO, Edward

Lewis is quoted as saying, “I spent $13,000 and three

years ‘spinning my wheels’ with a company that promised

my idea would make lots of money. They were right. It

made lots of money . for them. I havent seen a penny.”

A journalist for a cable television network, who saw

the PTO’s advertising campaign, contacted the PTO and

requested contact information for Lewis. After the PTO

provided the information, the cable television network

interviewed Lewis and published a story that revealed

that, in the PTO-published quotation of Lewis, Lewis was

referring to his relationship with Invention Submission

Corporation, an invention promoter The article revealed

that Lewis had filed a complaint with the PTO in August

2001 that was “being processed.” The article also revealed

that Invention Submission was one of several companies

investigated by the FTC in the 1990s “for misrepresenta-

tion in patent marketing schemes.” It stated that in 1994,

“without admitting or denying guilt, the company agreed

App. 25

to pay a $1.2 million settlement for refunds in the case, as

well as change its business practices.” The article included

Invention Submission’s response to Lewis’ accusations that

it did nothing wrong, that neither its representatives nor

commercials misled Lewis or any other inventor.”

Edward Lewis, from Sicklerville, New Jersey, who

invented “BodyGuard” to “shield automobile paint while

tough wheel-cleaning products do their work,” had indeed

filed a complaint with the PTO against Invention Submis-

sion on August 1, 2001, and the PTO sent a copy of the

complaint for response to Invention Submission on March

1, 2002. Sometime before March 26, 2002, Invention

Submission and Lewis resolved Lewis’ complaint, and, on

that date, Lewis withdrew his complaint from the PTO.

Accordingly, Invention Submission advised the PTO that it

was not submitting a response to the complaint, and the

PTO did not post Lewis’ complaint on the agency’s web

site.

A few months after Lewis withdrew his complaint

from the PTO, Invention Submission commenced this

action against the PTO under the APA, alleging that

because the PTO was authorized only to receive customer

complaints, provide invention promoters with notice and

reasonable opportunity to respond, and provide a forum to

publicize complaints and responses, the PTO exceeded its

authority in publicizing Lewis’ complaint in its media

advertising and illegally used the public media to single

out Invention Submissicn to penalize it. As it alleged:

[T)he PTO intentionally publicized ISC [Inven-

tion Submission] as the invention company

which was the subject of the Lewis complaint, for

the purpose of stigmatizing ISC.

App. 26

*

The PTO knew that, if the Lewis complaint

was not withdrawn, and was subsequently made

publicly available on the PTO’s web site under

the [Inventors’ Rights Act], ISC would be further

identified with the PTO’s unfair and untrue tele-

vision and print advertisements, and an addi-

tional link would be established between ISC and

the PTO’s statements about “scams” and false

promises of money to Lewis.

The PTO thereby knowingly violated the

Unventors Rights Act's] requirement that it

make the Lewis complaint publicly available only

in a neutral forum, without comment or judg-

ment, together with ISC’s response.

In addition, Invention Submission’s complaint alleged that

John Calvert, the Acting Director of the Office of Inde-

pendent Inventor Programs at the PTO, “demonstrated

lan] animus of the PTO against ISC when he stated an

intention to solicit and investigate customer complaints

despite the PTO’s lack of authority to do this.” Invention

Submission’s complaint described a meeting of inventors

at which Calvert was alleged to have said:

The only way that we do not post it [a customer

complaint] is if you withdraw it, and we have one

company that Bob ... and I were talking about

that has a tendency to settle quickly ... but

we're going to get them up there yet. We got to

find somebody that doesn’t want to settle and get

their name on our Internet, on the Internet site,

and we will have them up eventually. We have

one up there now, and you can look at it.

App. 27

The complaint concluded with allegations that in pursuing

these actions directed against Invention Submission, the

PTO “has taken final agency actions in the nature of

imposing sanctions and/or failing to act in accordance with

the [Inventors’ Rights Act] and the regulations,” and

therefore, under the APA, the actions were “arbitrary,

capricious, an abuse of discretion|[,] . . . contrary to consti-

tutional right l.] in excess of statutory jurisdiction, author-

ity, or short of statutory right.” Invention Submission

sought declaratory and injunctive relief, as well as attor-

neys fees.

The PTO filed a motion to dismiss Invention Submis-

sion’s complaint for lack of subject matter jurisdiction,

asserting that the federal courts could review only “final

agency actions” and that the PTO’s alleged conduct did not

qualify as a final agency action. The district court granted

the PTO’s motion, but it did so under Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 12(b\(6). The court assumed the facts of the

complaint to be true and concluded that “it is clear as a

matter of law that no relief could be granted under any set

of facts that could be proved consistent with the allega-

tions.” The court ruled first that because it was Lewis, not

the PTO, who identified Invention Submission, it could

only be speculation that the PTO was referring to Inven-

tion Submission by quoting Lewis in the advertising.

Focusing on Calvert’s statements, the district court ob-

served that they were merely consistent with the congres-

sional intent behind passage of the Inventors’ Rights Act

that “invention promotion scams harm individual inven-

tors and ought to be eliminated.” In addition, the court

concluded that such statements could not be considered

agency action. The district court also found that any harm

sustained by Invention Submission was indirect because it

App. 28

was not based directly upon what the PTO included in its

advertising campaign. Therefore, the court concluded,

“The PTO’s publications in this case were merely generic

advertisements of agency programs not specifically nam-

ing the plaintiff. Any harm to the plaintiff was, at most,

indirect.” Finally, the district court rejected the plaintiff’s

contention that PTO violated its own regulations by using

the media to enforce a private complaint. It concluded:

Even if plaintiff could demonstrate that the de-

fendant violated agency regulations, an agency’s

failure to follow its own regulations is only ac-

tionable under the APA if it results in a final

agency action. A violation of agency regulations

alone, absent some harm to the plaintiff, is not

reviewable. As discussed above, plaintiff has not

alleged any specific harm caused by the defen-

dant’s actions.

Accordingly, the district court entered an order dated

October 30, 2002, dismissing the complaint “with preju-

dice.”

This appeal followed.

II

Invention Submission contends that PTO’s advertising

campaign was both false and unauthorized, targeting

Invention Submission in order to penalize it and put it out

of business. It argues that the Inventors’ Rights Act of

1999 granted the PTO only limited authority to create a

forum to publish complaints and responses to them and

that the PTO’s 2002 advertising campaign directed at

Invention Submission went beyond this stated authoriza-

tion. Therefore, it asserts that the campaign was illegal

App. 29

agency action. Invention Submission relies heavily on

Industrial Safety Equipment Association, Inc. v. EPA, 267

U.S. App. D.C. 112, 837 F.2d 1115 (D.C. Cir. 1988), to

justify court review of this agency conduct under the

APA.“

In Industrial Safety, the D.C. Circuit held that an

agency's publication of a report evaluating respirators for

their effectiveness in protecting against asbestos exposure

was not an “agency action,” as used in the APA, that was

reviewable in court, even though the report recommended

against using several respirators that had already been

certified for use. Observing that its own precedent in

* In its brief, Invention Submission also seeks to justify the federal

court's jurisdiction on its general equity jurisdiction to review unlawful

actions of officials of an administrative agency, under the “McAnnulty

Doctrine,” citing American School of Magnetic Healing u McAnnulty,

187 U.S. 94, 47 L. Ed. 90, 23 S. Ct. 33 (1902), and a plurality opinion in

Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S. 123, 95 L.

Ed. 817, 71 S. Ct. 624 (1951)

Invention Submission did not, however, bring this action against

the PTO under the “McAnnulty Doctrine,” but rather relied exclusively

on the APA. In addition, it did not present this theory to the district

court. In its brief, it argues that its reliance in the district court on

Industrial Safety was the same as reliance on the “McAnnulty Doc-

trine,” and because it relied on Industrial Safety before the district

court, it therefore was, by implication, relying on the “McAnnulty

Doctrine.” But this syllogism mischaracterizes Industrial Safety. The

court in Industrial Safety did not discuss the “McAnnulty Doctrine,” a

doctrine of equity jurisdiction apart from the APA, but rather was

construing the APA itself. The discussion in Industrial Safety on which

Invention Submission relied related to whether an agency's penalizing

a party through adverse publicity was a “sanction” as defined by 5

U.S.C. § 551(10), which in turn was included as a component of “agency

action,” defined in § 551(12).

For these reasons, we do not address whether the “McAnnulty

Doctrine,” which Invention Submission raises for the first time on

appeal, provides a basis for judicial review of unlawful agency action.

App. 30

Hearst Radio, Inc. v. FCC, 83 U.S. App. D.C. 63, 167 F.2d

225 (D.C. Cir. 1948) (holding that “agency action,” includ-

ing its component term “sanction,” does not include an

agency's publication of a report, even if the report is false

and amounts to libel causing actual damage), might be too

restrictive, the D.C. Circuit explained that Hearst Radio

created a problem because it failed “to . protect l] parties

from false or unauthorized agency news releases.” 837

F.2d at 1118. Inasmuch as the APA's definition of “agency

action” includes agency sanctions, adverse publicity might

be a “sanction” and therefore an agency action in certain

Thus, though adverse impact alone would not

necessarily make agency publicity reviewable as

a sanction, an agency intent on penalizing a

party through adverse publicity, especially false

or unauthorized publicity, might well merit a re-

view of its action. This conclusion would be espe-

cially compelling if an information release caused

destruction of property,” or “revocation .. . of

a license.”

Id. at 1119 (quoting 5 U.S.C. § 551(10)) (citation omitted).

The court found no facts in the record before it to justify

an exploration of the interpretation that adverse publicity

might amount to a sanction, and it concluded that the

agency's publication of the asbestos respirator report was

not an agency action under any other component of the

APA definition that would make it reviewable by a court.

Id.

Invention Submission’s argument that the district

court had jurisdiction thus rests on its advancement of an

interpretation of “agency action” that would include

through the “sanction” component of the definition of

App. 31

agency action — false or unauthorized advertising aimed at

the plaintiff. See 5 U.S.C. §§ 551(10), 551(13).

The PTO argues that our recent decision in Flue

Cured Tobacco Cooperative Stabilization Corp. v. EPA, 313

F.3d 852 (4th Cir. 2002), which does not construe “agency

action” so broadly as might be indicated by Industrial

Safety, controls the outcome of this case. In Flue-Cured

Tobacco, we held that publication of an EPA report that

classified environmental tobacco smoke as a potentially

harmful human carcinogen was not an agency action

reviewable under the APA, even though the report was

allegedly arbitrary and capricious and created harm to the

plaintiff. The PTO argues that even though Invention

Submission was displeased with the advertising campaign,

it cannot challenge the campaign in the courts because the

campaign at most produced only “coercive pressures on

third parties” and did not signal the “consummation of the

agency's decisionmaking process so as to ‘give rise to legal

consequences, rights, or obligations.’” Addressing Inven-

tion Submission’s reliance on Industrial Safety, the PTO

argues that the D.C. Circuit’s statements in that case were

only posited as potential holdings and were no more than

dicta. In addition, the PTO argues that our decision in

Flue-Cured Tobacco followed the D.C. Circuit’s decision in

Hearst Radio, which the Industrial Safety decision criti-

cized but did not overrule. For these reasons, the PTO

contends that Industrial Safety is hardly persuasive

precedent in this circuit.

Thus, the issue presented is whether the PTO’s

advertising campaign, allegedly aimed at Invention

Submission to penalize it, constituted final agency action

under the APA so as to be reviewable in court. See 5 U.S.C.

§§ 702, 704. As a question of subject matter jurisdiction,

App. 32

see Flue-Cured Tobacco, 313 F.3d at 857, we must address

this issue before evaluating Invention Submission’s

complaint for whether it states a claim upon which relief

can be granted, see Steel Co. v. Citizens for a Better Env't,

523 U.S. 83, 93-95, 140 L. Ed. 2d 210, 118 S. Ct. 1003

(1998), although these questions are close to one another

in circumstances such as are presented in this case, see

Montana-Dakota Utils. Co. v. Northwestern Pub. Serv. Co.,

341 U.S. 246, 249, 95 L. Ed. 912, 71 S. Ct. 692 (1951).

Section 704 of the APA provides that “final agency

action for which there is no other adequate remedy in a

court lis] subject to judicial review.” 5 U.S.C. § 704.

“Agency action” is defined to include “the whole or a part

of an agency rule, order, license, sanction, relief, or the

equivalent or denial thereof.” Id. § 551(13). Although each

of the constituent elements of “agency action” are in turn

defined in § 551, at bottom, a final agency action as used

in §704 must be the “consummation of the agency's

decisionmaking process ... [and] must be lan action] by

which rights or obligations have been determined, or from

which legal consequences will flow.” Bennett v. Spear, 520

U.S. 154, 178, 137 L. Ed. 2d 281, 117 S. Ct. 1154 (1997)

(internal quotation marks and citations omitted); Flue-

Cured Tobacco, 313 F.3d at 858. In Flue-Cured Tobacco, we

explained that the persuasive value of agency reports or

publications did not create a reviewable agency action

under the APA because such reports or publications in

themselves did not “create any rights, obligations, or

consequences.” 313 F.3d at 860. As we summarized it:

We do not think that Congress intended to create

private rights of actions to challenge the inevita-

ble objectionable impressions created whenever

App. 33

controversial research by a federal agency is pub-

lished. Such policy statements are properly chal-

lenged through the political process and not the

courts.

Id. at 861. Those principles govern the disposition of this

case.

In this case, the advertising mater'al published by the

PTO under the Inventors’ Rights Act did not name or

single out Invention Submission or any other invention

promoter. The advertisements were facially neutral, aimed

at all invention promotion scams scams that the adver-

tisements asserted were causing the public to lose $200

million each year. While the advertising did include a

quotation from “Edward Lewis, Inventor,” it quoted his

experience with an unidentified company. Lewis is quoted

as saying that “I spent $13,000 and three years ‘spinning

my wheels’ with a company that promised my idea would

make lots of money.” (Emphasis added).

Invention Submission argues that the advertising

cause a journalist was able to irterview Lewis and obtain

the details of his experiences with Invention Submission

and because the PTO made ‘hat possible by providing the

journalist with Lewis’ telephone number. Whether a third

person could obtain sufficient information to link the two,

however, does not taint the otherwise nonspecific advertis-

ing. The PTO did not publish any material that linked

Lewis with Invention Submission, and it did not post

Lewis’ complaint on its web site.

“(The Administrative Procedure Act does not provide

judicial review for everything done by an administrative

agency,” Hearst Radio, 167 F.2d at 227, and the PTO’s

App. 34

advertising campaign, including its conduct in giving a

journalist Lewis’ telephone number, is not the type of

conduct that constitutes agency action that is reviewable

in court under the APA. Other than the administrative

decision to conduct an advertising campaign at all — a

decision that Invention Submission has not challenged —

the content of the campaign was not the consummation cf

any decisionmaking process that determined rights or

obligations or from which legal consequences flowed. See

Bennett, 520 U.S. at 178; Flue-Cured Tobecco, 313 F.3d at

858. Moreover, by looking at the campaign material, the

public would see only that a consumer complained about

an invention promoter and that invention promotion

scams are causing the public $200 million in losses every

year. Surely Invention Submission would not suggest that

the attribution in the advertisements of $200 million in

losses to patent scams was in any respect focusing the

public's eye on it. The text of the advertising material can

only be construed to be an effort by the PTO to inform

inventors of the perils and potential scams that they might

encounter during the patent process. Such advertising did

not crvate “legal consequences” for Invention Submission

or any other member of the public cognizable as final

agency action, and the campaign itself did not determine

any right or obligation of any party.

While Invention Submission points to the adverse

effect it suffered as a result of the campaign, that effect

was based on the fact that a journalist linked Invention

Submission with Lewis, and such an indirect unpact does

not transform the agency's conduct into final agency action

under the APA. See Flue-Cured Tobacco, 313 F.3d at 860. If

the PTO’s advertising made business more difficult for

Invention Submission by raising the public’s awareness,

App. 35

the decisions of members of the public “are attributable to

independent responses and choices of third parties” and

cannot be imputed to the PTO for purposes of determining

whether its conduct was a final agency action. See id. at

861.

Invention Submission argues that the advertising

must not be considered only facially but also in light of the

intent of PTO officials whose purpose was more clearly

focused on Invention Submission. Such underlying intent

of agency officials, however, does not convert the PTO’s

legal advertising material warning generally of invention

promotion scams the purpose for which Congress en-

acted the Inventors’ Rights Act — into a PTO sanction

imposed on Invention Submission that would be review-

able in court, especially when the material itself does not

reference an intent to penalize any particular company.

The measure of the advertising campaign must be made

by the information conveyed by it to the public. As we have

noted, the effect of the PTO’s campaign so measured was

not a regulatory effect reviewable in court, but at most an

indirect effect from third parties and market forces.

In short, the PTO’s advertising campaign warning the

public about invention promotion scams was consistent

with the PTO’s commission granted by the Inventors’

Rights Act of 1999, and in the circumstances of this case,

the decision to pursue such a campaign, as well as its

content, did not create a final agency action that is re-

viewable in court. As we said in Flue-Cured Tobacco, this

type of a campaign is “properly challenged through the

political process and not the courts.” 313 F.3d at 861.

App. 36

III

Because the conduct of the PTO that is the subject of

this action did not constitute “final agency action” as used

under the APA, the district court did not have subject

matter jurisdiction to evaluate the complaint under Rule

12(b\6) and should have dismissed this case under Rule

12(b)(1). We therefore vacate its order of October 30, 2002,

as well as the supporting opinion, and remand with

instructions to dismiss this case under Federal Rule of

Civil Procedure 12(b)(1).

VACATED AND REMANDED WITH INSTRUCTIONS

App. 37

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

JUDGMENT FILED: February 11, 2004

NO. 02-2461

CA-02-1038-A

INVENTION SUBMISSION CORPORATION,

a Pennsylvama Corporation

Plaintiff-Appellant

Vv.

JAMES E. ROGAN, Under Secretary of Commerce

for Intellectual Property and Director, United States

Patent and Trademark Office, U. S. Department of

Commerce, in his official capacity

Defendant-Appellee

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Virginia at Alexandria

In accordance with the written opinion of this Court

filed this day, the Court vacates the judgment of the

District Court. This case is remanded to the District Court

for further proceedings consistent with the Court’s opin-

ion.

App. 38

A certified copy of this judgment will de provided to

the District Court upon issuance of the mandate. The

judgment will take effect upon issuance of the mandate.

/s/ Patricia S. Connor

CLERK

App. 39

229 F. Supp. 2d 498

Civil Action No. 02-1038-A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA,

ALEXANDRIA DIVISION

INVENTION SUBMISSION CORPORATION,

Plaintiff, v. JAMES k. ROGAN, UNDERSECRETARY

OF COMMERCE FOR INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY

AND DIRECTOR, UNITED STATES PATENT

AND TRADEMARK OFFICE, U.S. DEPARTMENT

OF COMMERCE, Defendant.

October 30, 2002, Decided

October 30, 2002, Filed

COUNSEL: FOR PLAINTIFF: Richard C. Sullivan, Jr.,

Reed Smith LLP, Falls Church, VA.

FOR DEFENDANT: Rachel C. Ballow, Asst. U.S. Attor-

ney, U.S. Attorney s Office, Alexandria, VA.

JUDGES: Honorable Leonie M. Brinkema, United

States District Judge.

OPINION BY: Leonie M. Brinkema

OPINION:

MEMORANDUM OPINION

This matter is before the Court on defendant’s Motion

to Dismiss plaintiff's complaint. For the reasons set forth

below, the motion will be granted.

BACKGROUND

This case arises out of efforts by the United States

Patent and Trademark Office (“PTO”) to implement the

Inventors’ Rights Act of 1999 (“IRA”). 35 U.S.C. § 297

App. 40

(2002). The IRA was designed to protect inventors who

each year “lose tens of millions of dollars” to “invention

promotion scams.” 141 Cong. Rec. 814521 (Nov. 10, 1999).

The IRA mandates certain disclosures by invention

promoters to their customers and provides for a private

right of action against invention promoters. The IRA also

requires the Commissioner of Patents to receive com-

plaints regarding invention promoters and make these

complaints available to the public. 35 U.S.C. § 297. Spe-

cifically, the IRA provides that the PTO

shal! make all complaints received by the Patent

and Trademark Office involving invention pro-

moters publicly available, together with any

response of the invention promoters. The Com-

missioner of Patents shall notify the invention

promoter of a complaint and provide a reason-

able opportunity to reply prior to making such

complaint publicly available.

35 U.S.C. § 297(d(1).

In September of 2000, the PTO adopted regulations

implementing the IRA, and set up a website on which to

publish complaints received under the IRA. The regula-

tions state that “the invention promoter named in the

complaint will be notified of the complaint and given 30

days to rc spond. The invention promoters response will be

made available to the public along with the complaint.” 37

CFR § 4.4 (2002).

In August 2001, the PTO received a complaint from

Edward Lewis regarding the plaintiff, Invention Submis-

sion Corporation (“ISC”), in which Lewis alleged that he

paid ISC for help patenting and marketing his invention

and received nothing in return. Lewis wrote in his complaint

App. 41

“the representative indicated to me that I would make a

lot of money with my invention and I have made nothing.”

Shortly after receiving Lewis’ complaint, the PTO con-

tacted Lewis and solicited his participation in a PTO

media campaign regarding invention promotion compa-

nies. Lewis agreed to participate by appearing in televi-

sion and print advertisements.

On January 10, 2002, the PTO issued a press release

announcing a nationwide media campaign “to counter the

flood of deceptive advertising aimed at America’s inde-

pendent inventors.” The campaign included television and

print advertisements that featured a picture of Lewis and

his statement that he spent $13,000 and three years and

“fhasn't] seen a penny.” The advertisements, which ran

from January through May of 2002, did not mention 180

by name. However, in response to a request from TechTV,

a cable television network, the PTO disclosed contact

information for Lewis to a TechTV reporter. After inter-

viewing Lewis, TechTV ran a story in which it identified

ISC as the invention promoter involved in the Lewis

complaint.

On March 1, 2002, after the general media campaign

had begun, but before Lewis’ complaint was posted on the

PTO website, the PTO gave ISC notice of the Lewis com-

plaint. On March 26, 2002, Lewis attempted to withdraw

his complaint, apparently after settling with ISC, and

requested that the PTO discontinue using him in their

media campaign. By letter that same day, John Calvert of

the PTO informed Lewis that his request to withdraw his

complaint was received and the complaint would not be

posted on the website. The record establishes that Lewis’

complaint never appeared on the website. The TV ads,

however, continued to run until March or April of 2002.

App. 42

Plaintiff alleges in its complaint that the PTO’s

actions with respect to ISC are motivated by bias. As

evidence of this bias, plaintiff cites public statements by

John Calvert, Acting Director of the Office of Independent

Inventor Programs, in which he states that he hates “these

invention marketing firms” and wants to “put these people

out of business.” None of these statements mention [SC

specifically.

On June 17, 2002, plaintiff brought the instant

complaint in which it claims that the PTO’s use of Lewis’

complaint in its media campaign was a final agency action

which is reviewable under the Administrative Procedures Act

(“APA”). Plaintiff seeks declaratory and injunctive relief.

DISCUSSION

A. Standard of Review

A motion to dismiss pursuant to Rule Ibs) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure is properly granted

where, assuming the facts in the complaint are true, it is

clear as a matter of law that no relief could be granted

under any set of facts that could be proved consistent with

the allegations. Hishon v. King & Spalding, 467 U.S. 69,

73, 81 L. Ed. 2d 59, 104 S. Ct. 2229 (1984). Here, assuming

the truth of plaintiff’s allegations regarding the PTO’s

actions with respect to the Lewis complaint and the

statements made by PTO officials, defendant makes two

arguments for dismissal. First, defendant argues that the

action taken by the PTO was not a final agency action

within the meaning of the APA. Second, defendant argues

that plaintiff’s claim is moot because all advertisements

and references to the Lewis complaint have been discon-

tinued. Because we find that plaintiff's complaint fails to

App. 43

state a cause of action under the APA, we decline to

address defendant's mootness argument.

B. Administrative Procedures Act Claim

The APA authorizes review of “final agency action” for

which there is no other adequate remedy in a court. 5

U.S.C. § 704 (2002). The Act defines agency action as “the

whole or part of an agency rule, order, license, sanction,

relief, or the equivalent or denial thereof, or failure to act.”

5 U.S.C. § 551013) An agency action will be considered

final for purposes of judicial review if it is definitive and

has direct or immediate legal force or practical effect, if

the questions at issue are purely legal, and if immediate

judicial review would foster agency and judicial efficiency.

Federal Trade Comm'n v. Standard Oil Co. of Cal., 449

U.S. 232, 239-40, 66 L. Ed. 2d 416, 101 S. Ct. 488 (1980).

Although plaintiff's complaint is extremely vague as

to the specific final agency action at issue, in its opposition

to the Motion to Dismiss plaintiff makes clear that it

claims the PTO’s conduct in publicizing the Lewis com-

plaint outside the neutral forum mandated by the IRA,

together with its purported determination that Lewis was

a victim of a ‘scam,’ was final agency action which is

reviewable under the APA.” Pl. Opp. at 14. We construe

this explanation as an allegation that the PTO’s actions

were in the form of a sanction against ISC. Plaintiff also

alleges that the PTO’s actions are reviewable because they

constitute a violation of the PTO’s own regulations regard-

ing inventor complaints.

At. oral argument, plaintiff's counsel represented that

its view of final agency action rests upon the reasoning in

Indus. Safety Equip. Assoc., Inc. v. EPA, 267 U.S. App.

App. 44

D.C. 112, 837 Fu 1115 (D.C. Cir. 1988) (HEAD In ISA

the court held that an EPA report recommending industry

use of only two types of asbestos protection respirators did

not constitute final agency action because it was advisory

in nature and, therefore, did not have a direct impact on

the plaintiffs. 837 F.2d at 1121. In dicta, however, the

court appeared to reject absolute immunity for agency

publications because such immunuty fails to protect parties

from false or unauthorized agency news releases. Id. at

1118. The court said that “an agency intent on penalizing a

party through adverse publicity, especially false or unau-

thorized publicity, might well merit a review of its action.”

Id. at 1119. Plaintiff contends that its complaint squarely

presents the situation contemplated in ISEA

Initially, we observe that this Court is not bound by

dicta announced by an appellate court in another jurisdic-

tion. However, even if we were bound by the ISEA dicta,

the plaintiff would not prevail because it has failed to

plead facts that would warrant judicial review of the

PTO’s actions.

First, the PTO’s media campaign hardly supports

plaintiff's view that the PTO was “intent on penalizing”

the plaintiff because the plaintiff is not named anywhere

in the PTO materials. Plaintiff argues that it was “inevi-

table” that ISC would be identified with these advertise-

ments after the Lewis complaint was published on the

PTO website, as required by the IRA. Had the PTO pub-

lished Lewis’ complaint on their website as required by the

IRA, ISC would have been identified as the subject of a

complaint, regardless of the media campaign. However,

the Lewis complaint was never posted on the website. It

was Lewis, not the PTO, who publicly identified the plain-

tiff to the media. ISC’s allegation that the combination of

App. 45

the two publications would create the impression that the

PTO considered ISC a “scam” operation is too speculative.

Even if such an impression were created, an impression

alone cannot constitute agency action.

Plaintiff also cites to extemporaneous statements of

try as a whole as evidence of the PTO’s desire to sanction

plaintiff. This argument is unpersuasive because such

statements by agency officials do not, without more,

constitute final agency action. See Hazardous Waste

Treatment Comm'n v. Reilly, 291 U.S. App. D.C. 131, 938

F.2d 1390, 1396 (D.C. Cir. 1991); Robinshaw Engineering,

Inc. u United States, 891 F. Supp. 1134, 1150-51 (K. D. Va.

1985). Moreover, these statements, like the advertise-

ments, do not mention the plaintiff in particular, but are

directed at the industry generally. The PTO officials

merely expressed a view, consistent with the Congres-

sional intent behind passage of the IRA, that invention

promotion scams harm individual inventors and ought to

be eliminated. We find, therefore, that the PTO’s genera!

statements about the invention promotion industry cannot

be considered equivalent to the agency imposing a sanc-

tion on the plaintiff.

Second, the PTO media campaign does not order the

plaintiff or any third party to engage in or refrain from

any action. In cases considering agency publication as a

sanction, courts are careful to distinguish agency publica-

tions which are merely advisory in nature, and therefore

not deemed agency action, from those that are agency

action because they effect a parties’ legal rights. See ISKA.

837 F.2d at 1120; Pharmaceutical Mfrs. Asso. v. Kennedy,

471 F Supp. 1224, 1231 (D. Md. 1979). The PTO’s actions

in this case do not even rise to the level of advising the

App. 46

public not to deal with the plaintiff. The advertisements

merely alert the public to the PTO’s concern about the

invention promotion industry and how individual inven-

tors may file complaints against invention promoters.

Finally, plaintiff has not alleged that it has been

directly harmed by the defendant's actions. Even if plain-

tiff had alleged that its business had been harmed by the

media campaign, the mere fact that activity by an agency

has a “substantial impact” on a party, does not transform

that activity into final agency action of which a party may

seek judicial review under the APA. JSEA, 837 F.2d at

1121. Any harm to plaintiff's business based upon the

PTO’s statements about invention promoters in general

would be indirect and the result of the reactions and

choices of individual inventors. Such an indirect impact is

not sufficient to support a finding of agency action. See id.

(rejecting appellant’s claim that an EPA report recom-

mending certain asbestos protection respirators consti-

tuted an agency sanction because it would likely result in

decreased consumer demand).

Plaintiff argues that the risk of a public connection

between it and the PTO advertisement forced it to settle

the Lewis complaint. Even if plaintiff felt forced to settle

the Lewis complaint, such “harm” is also too indirect to

render defendant’s actions agency action. It is mere

speculation that plaintiff would not have settled the Lewis

complaint in the absence of the advertisements. As counsel

admitted at oral argument, plaintiff settles the majority of

complaints against it and may well have settled this

complaint unce it received the thirty-day notice of publica-

tion on the website, regardless of defendant’s media

advertising.

App. 47

For all these reasons, we conclude that plaintiff's

argument that its complaint states a claim for judicial

review of the PTO’s publications under the APA fails. The

PTO’s publications in this case were merely generic adver-

tisements of agency programs not specifically naming the

plaintiff. Any harm to the plaintiff was, at most, indirect.

In its opposition to defendant's Motion to Dismiss,

agency action because they were taken in violation of the

IRA statute and agency regulations. However, plaintiff points

to no specific regulation that the PTO has violated. Plaintiff

complains that it was only notified of Lewis’ complaint after

the media campaign had begun and seven months after the

complaint was received by the PTO. The regulations do not

designate a time limit within which the PTO must notify the

invention promoter of a complaint. Instead, they require that

a promoter receive sufficient time to respond to the com-

plaint. “The invention promoter named in the complaint will

be notified of the complaint and given 30 days to respond.” 37

CFR 544. Plaintiff was notified of the complaint and

resolved it within thirty days of notification, thereby avoid-

ing publication of the Lewis complaint on the PTO website.

Even if plaintiff could demonstrate that the defendant

violated agency regulations, an agency's failure to follow

its own regulations is only actionable under the APA if it

results in a final agency action. A violation of agency

regulations alone, absent some harm to the plaintiff, is not

any specific harm caused by the defendant’s actions.

For these reasons we find that plaintiff's complaint

fails to state e claim upon which relief can be granted and

must be dismissed. An appropriate Order shall issue.

App. 48

The Clerk is directed to forward copies of this Memo-

randum Opinion to counsel of record.

Entered this 30th day of October, 2002.

Leonie M. Brinkema

United States District Judge

Alexandria, Virginia

ORDER

For the reasons stated in the accompanying Memo-

randum Opinion defendant’s Motion to Dismiss is granted

and it is hereby

ORDERED that plaintiff’s complaint be and is DIS-

MISSED WITH PREJUDICE.’

The Clerk is directed to forward copies of this Order to

counsel of record.

Entered this 30th day of October, 2002.

Leonie M. Brinkema

United States District Judge

Alexandria, Virginia

* This ruling renders moot all pending motions.

App. 49

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

FILED

April 9, 2004

No. 02-2461

CA-02-1038-A

INVENTION SUBMISSION CORPORATION,

a Pennsylvania Corporation

Plaintiff-Appellant

V.

JAMES E. ROGAN, Under Secretary of Commerce

for Intellectual Property and Director, United States

Patent and Trademark Office, U.S. Department of

Commerce, in his official capacity

Defendant-Appellee

On Petition for Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc

The appellant’s petition for rehearing and rehearing

en banc was submitted to this Court. As no member of this

Court or the panel requested a poll on the petition for

rehearing en banc, and

As the panel considered the petition for rehearing and

is of the opinion that it should be denied,

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing and

rehearing en banc is denied.

App. 50

Entered for a panel comprised of Judge Wilkins,

Judge Niemeyer, and Judge Shedd.

For the Court

/s/ Patricia S. Connor

CLERK

App. 51

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Alexandria Division

INVENIION SUBMISSION

CORPORATION,

Plaintiff,

v.

JAMES E. ROGAN, UNDER Civil Action No.:

FOR INTELLECTUAL

PROPERTY AND DIRECTOR,

UNITED STATES PATENT AND

TRADEMARK OFFICE, U.S.

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE.

in his official capacity,

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

SECRETARY OF COMMERCE =) “99. 1038-A

Judge Brinkema

)

)

)

)

)

Plaintiff Invention Submission Corporation (“ISC”), by

counsel, files the following Response to the Court’s Order

Dated April 22, 2004, and Motion to Vacate the Court’s

Order of May 5, 2004, and Motion for Leave to File

Amended Complaint, as follows:

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

1. ISC filed suit against the U.S. Patent and Trade-

mark Office (PTO) in this Court alleging that a PTO

advertising campaign wrongfully targeted ISC for adverse

App. 52

publicity. The PTO filed a Motion to Dismiss the Com-

plaint for lack of subject matter jurisdiction pursuant to

Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(6)(1), asserting sovereign immunity.

2. By Memorandum Opinion and Order dated

October 30, 2002, this Court dismissed ISC’s Complaint

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P 12(b)(6), for failure to state a

claim upon which relief maybe granted.

3. ISC filed an appeal with the Fourth Circuit Court

of Appeals, seeking review of the October 30, 2002 Order

dismissing the Complaint.

4. On February 11, 2004, the Fourth Circuit Court of

Appeals issued its opinion in Invention Submission Corpo-

ration v. Rogan, 357 F.3d 452 (4th Cir. 2004), vacating this

Court’s Order of October 30, 2002, and remanding with

instructions to dismiss this case under Fed. R. Civ. P.

12(bM1). The Fourth Circuit concluded that the conduct

alleged in the Complaint did not constitute final agency

action under the APA. The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals

has returned the mandate to this Court and jurisdiction

has been reacquired by this Court.

5. By Order dated April 22, 2004, this Court re-

quested that the parties advise the Court within ten days

of any reason why the Court should not comply with the

returned mandate to dismiss th civil action under Fed.

R. Civ. P 12(b)(1), rather than Kule 12(b\(6), and to vacate

the Court’s Memorandum Opinion and Order at this time.

6. ISC is currently preparing a Petition for Writ Of

Certiorari to the United States Supreme Court asserting

that the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals’ decision raises

important questions of federal jurisdiction pertaining to

judicial review of ultra vires agency action under the APA

App. 53

in cases where a party alleges that an agency utilized false

or unauthorized adverse publicity to penalize that party.

The Petition is due to be filed by July 8, 2004. The man-

date entered by the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals is not

currently subject to a stay order issued by the Fourth

Circuit Court of Appeals or the United States Supreme

Court.

RESPONSE TO THE COURT'S

ORDER DATED APRIL 22, 2004

7. Prior to complying with the mandate returned in

this action, ISC requests that the Court grant ISC leave to

amend its complaint to plead its claims under equity

jurisdiction and the McAnnulty Doctrine.

8. After reacquiring jurisdiction on remand, a

district court may permit the plaintiff to amend pleadings

and to vary or expand issues, provided that the amend-

ment does not involve an issue disposed of on appeal.

MOTION TO VACATE THE COURT’S

ORDER OF MAY 5, 2004

9. The Court’s Order of April 22, 2004, ordered that

the parties advise the Court within 10 days of any reason

why the Court should not comply with the Fourth Circuit’s

order. Under Rule 6(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-

dure, the computation of any period of time prescribed or

allowed by any order of court which is less than 11 days

does not include intermediate Saturdays and Sundays.

Thus, the Court’s Order of April 22, 2004, required re-

sponse by the parties on or before May 6, 2004.

App. 54

10. By filing this response to the Court's Order, and

its Motion for Leave to File an Amended Complaint on

May 5, 2004, ISC is within the time limits prescribed by

the Court's April 22, 2004 Order. ISC now moves under

FRCP 60 to vacate the May 5, 2004 Order, and asks this

Court to do so to enable ISC to be heard on the issues

timely raised in ISC’s response to the April 22, 2004 Order

and its Motion for Leave to File Amended Complaint.

Counsel for Defendant has informed counsel for ISC that

Defendant has no objection to ISC’s Motion to Vacate, and

indeed has only today filed Defendant’s response to the

Court’s April 22, 2004 Order, having calculated the re-

sponse date in the same manner as ISC.

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE

AMENDED COMPLAINT

11. The relief requested by ISC is in response to the

Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals’ statement that ISC had

not pled claims under equity jurisdiction and the McAn-

nulty Doctrine. In its opinion, in a footnote, the Fourth

Circuit stated, as follows:

... Invention Submission Corporation seeks

to justify the federal court's jurisdiction on its

general equity jurisdiction to review unlawful ac-

tions of officials of an administrative agency, un-

der the “McAnnulty Doctrine,” citing American

School of Magnetic Healing u McAnnulty, 187

U.S. 94, 47 L.Ed. 90, 23 S.Ct. 33 (1902), and a

plurality opinion in Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee

Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S. 123, 95 L.Ed.

817, 71 S.Ct. 624 (1951).

Invention Submission did not, however, bring this

action against the PTO under the “McAnnulty

App. 55

Doctrine,” but rather relied exclusively on the

APA.

For these reasons, we do not address whether the

“McAnnulty Doctrine, provides a basis for

judicial review of unlawful agency action.

357 F.3d at 457.

12. The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals concluded

that the Court’s authority to review ultra vires agency

actions under equity jurisdiction and the McAnnulty

Doctrine is separate and apart from the APA. In light of

this distinction, the mandate requires this Court to dis-

miss under Rule 12(b)\(1) for lack of subject matter juris-

diction because the conduct of the PTO that is the subject

of this action did not constitute final agency action under

the APA.

13. ISC seeks leave to amend its complaint in

accordance with Fed. R Civ. P 15 and 28 U.S.C. § 1653 in

order to address the distinction raised by the Fourth

Circuit Court of Appeals in its opin’»n and plead jurisdic-

tion for its claim under equity jurisdiction and the McAn-

nulty Doctrine.

14. Under Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a), a party may amend

its pleading once as a matter of course at any time before a

responsive pleading is served, otherwise a party may so

amend its pleading only by leave of court or by written

consent of the adverse party, which leave shall be freely

given when justice so requires. Amendment of pleadings to

show jurisdiction is broadly authorized by 28 U.S.C.

§ 1653 at any stage of the proceeding.

App. 56

15. Except for the jurisdictional basis for its claim,

ISC’s Amended Complaint does not raise new or additional

matters. See Amended Complaint attached hereto as

Exhibit A.

16. Granting leave for ISC to amend its Complaint is

not inconsistent with the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals’

mandate which, while requiring dismissal under Rule

12(bX 1), does not address amendment of the Complaint

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 15 and 28 U.S.C. § 1653 to

plead jurisdiction in accordance with its opinion.

17. Justice requires that leave be granted to ISC in

order to plead its claims under equity jurisdiction and the

McAnnulty Doctrine.

18. The PTO is not prejudiced, as no responsive

pleading has been filed, the parties have not engaged in

discovery, and by statute any party may amend the juris-

dictional allegations to show a basis for jurisdiction at any

time whether in the trial or appellate court. 28 U.S.C.

§ 1653. The amended cause of action under the Court’s

general equity jurisdiction and the McAnnulty Doctrine is

not barred by any applicable statute of limitations.

19. Justice requires that ISC be afforded judicial

review of the ultra vires actions of the PTO, as otherwise

there would be no remedy afforded for what ISC contends

was false or unauthorized adverse publicity used by the

PTO to target and penalize ISC.

20. Fairness requires that ISC be afforded the

opportunity to amend the jurisdictional basis for review to

conform with the appellate decision issued by the Fourth

Circuit Court of Appeals.

App. 57

WHEREFORE, plaintiff Invention Submission Corpo-

ration respectfully requests that the Court vacate the

Order of May 5, 2004 and grant it leave to file the attached

Amended Complaint and that the Court thereafter comply

with the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals’ mandate by

dismissing only Count I of the Amended Complaint under

the Administrative Procedures Act, leaving for considera-

tion ISC’s claims in Count II of the Amended Complaint

under equity jurisdiction and the McAnnulty Doctrine.

Respectfully submitted,

INVENTION SUBMISSION

CORPORATION

By Counsel

REED SMITH LLP

/s/ Ri

Richard C. Sullivan, Jr., Esq. (VSB #27907)

3110 Fairview Park Drive, Suite 1400

Falls Church, Virginia 22042

Telephone: (703) 641-4200

Facsimile: (703) 641-4340

Edward B Friedman (Pa. I D. 09688)

J. Stephen Purcupile (Pa. I. D. 39174)

Elliot S. Katz (Pa. ID. 31454)

FRIEDMAN and FRIEDMAN

900 Fifth Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

(412) 261-5834

App. 58

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and accurate copy of the

foregoing Plaintiff's Response to the Court's Order Dated

April 22, 2004, Motion to Vacate Order of May 5, 2004, and

Motion for Leave to File Amended Complaint was hand

delivered this 5th day of May, 2004 to:

Rachel C. Ballow, Esq.

Assistant United States Attorney

2100 Jamieson Avenue

Alexandria, Virginia 22314

Richard. C. Sullivan, Jr.

Richard C. Sullivan, Jr.

App. 59

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Alexandria Division

INVENTION SUBMISSION ) Civil Action No.:

CORPORATION,

a Pennsylvania Corporation,

217 Ninth Street

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Plaintiff,

AND DIRECTOR, UNITED STATES

PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE,

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, )

in his official capacity, )

2121 Crystal Drive )

Arlington, VA 22202 )

)

Invention Submission Corporation files the following

Amended Complaint against James E. Rogan, Under

Secretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and

Director, United States Patent and Trademark Office, U.S.

Department of Commerce, in his official capacity.

JURISDICTION AND VENUE

1. This court has federal question jurisdiction over

the instant case under 28 U.S.C. 51331 as Invention

App. 60

Submission Corporation (hereinafter “ISC”) seeks judicial

review under the Administrative Practices Act (hereinafter

“APA”) and nonstatutory judicial review under the court’s

general equity jurisdiction and the McAnnulty Doctrine of

the United States Patent and Trademark Office’s (herein-

after “PTO”) conduct in acting and/or failing to act in an

official capacity or under color of legal authority. Venue in

the Eastern District of Virginia, Alexandria Division, is

proper under 28 U.S.C. §1391(e), and 35 U.S.C. §1(b).

PARTIES

2. The plaintiff is ISC, a Pennsylvania corporation,

with an address at The Renshaw Building, 217 Ninth

Street, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15222. Invention Sub-

mission Corporation provides inventor-related services to

the public. ISC has been treated by the Patent and Trade-

mark Office as an “invention promoter,” as that term is

defined in the Inventors’ Rights Act of 1999 (hereinafter

IRA“), 35 U.S.C. §297(cX3).

3. Defendant James E. Rogan is Under Secretary of

Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the

United States Patent and Trademark Office, U.S. Depart-

ment of Commerce, and Assistant Secretary of Commerce,

and is named in his official capacity.

GENERAL ALLEGATIONS

4. The IRA, e PTO regulations implementing

the IRA, require it the PTO receive customer com-

plaints against invention promoters, and provide the

promoters with notice of the complaints and a reasonable

opportunity to respond. The IRA and the regulations

App. 61

further require that the PTO provide a neutral forum in

which it makes publicly available customer complaints

against invention promoters, and any responses of the

invention promoters, without any judgment or comment

relative to the complaints or responses. The IRA does not

provide the PTO with any investigative or enforcement

function or authority relative to customer complaints

against invention promoters.

5. With respect to customer complaints concerning

invention promoters, the IRA, 35 U.S.C. §297(d), provides

in relevant part, as follows:

“(t]he Commissioner of Patents shall make all

complaints received by the Patent and Trade-

mark Office involving invention promoters pub-

licly available, together with any response of the

invention promoters. The Commissioner of

Patents shall notify the invention promoter

of a complaint, and provide a reasonable

opportunity to reply, prior to making such

complaint publicly available.“ [Emphasis

added]

6. The regulations of the Patent and, Trademark

Office at 37 C. FR. §4.1, which implement the IRA, provide

in relevant part as follows:

“These regulations govern the Patent and

Trademark Office’s (Office) responsibilities under

the Inventors’ Rights Act of 1999[.] ... The Act

requires the Office to provide a forum for the

publication of complaints concerning invention

promoters. The Office will not conduct any

independent investigation of the invention

promoter. Although the Act provides additional

civil remedies for persons injured by invention

promoters, those remedies must be pursued by

App. 62

the injured party without the involvement of the

Office.” [Emphasis added]

7. On its web site, the PTO acknowledges that the

IRA gives the PTO no authority relative to invention

promoters except to receive customer complaints and any

responses from invention promoters and make them

publicly available in a neutral forum. In this regard, the

text of the PTO’s “Independent Inventors” web page states

in relevant part, as follows:

... The USPTO has no jurisdiction over mat-

ters relating to the promotion or utilization of

patents or inventions, other than providing a

public forum for complaints against invention

promoters/promotion firms. The USPTO cannot

act for or advise inventors concerning the busi-

ness transactions or arrangements that are in-

volved in the development and marketing of an

invention

* * *

While the USPTO does not investigate com-

plaints or participate in any legal proceedings

against invention promoters / promotion firms, un-

der the American Inventors Protection Act of

1999, the USPTO will provide a public forum

for the publication of complaints concerning

invention promoters/promotion firms. Also,

in the forum, the USPTO will publish re-

sponses to the complaints from the inven-

tion promoters/promotion firms.”

[Emphasis added]

8. The regulations at 37 C.F.R. §4.3(b) contain

requirements for complaints sent to the PTO for publica-

tion, including that each complaint must be

“clearly

8 App. 63

marked, or otherwise identified, as a complaint under

these rules”, and must contain:

(1) The name and address of the complainant;

(2) The name and address of the invention pro-

moter;

(3) The name of the customer;

(4) The invention services offered or performed

by the invention promoter;

(5) The name of the mass media in which the

invention promoter advertised providing

such services;

(6) An explanation of the relationship between

the customer and the invention promoter;

and

(7) Asignature of the complainant.

9. The PTO’s regulations at §4.3(c) provide further

requirements for the contents of complaints, as follows:

“The complaint should fairly summarize the ac-

tion of the invention promoter about which the

person complains. Additionally, the complaint

should include names and addresses of persons

believed to be associated with the invention pro-

moter. Complaints, and any replies, must be ad-

dressed to the Office of Independent Inventor

Programs, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office,

Washington, D.C. 20231.”

10. The PTO's regulations at 54. 30d) state the

method by which the PTO is to handle complaints which

do not conform to its regulations, as follows:

“Complaints that do not provide the information

requested in paragraphs (b) and (c) of this section

App. 64

will be returned. If complainant’s address is not

provided, the complaint will be destroyed.”

11. The regulations at §4.3(f) provide for withdrawal

of complaints by customers prior to publication by the

PTO, as follows:

“A complaint [against an invention promoter] can

be withdrawn by the complainant or the named

customer at any time prior to its publication.”

12. The regulations at 37 C. FR. §4.4(a), relative to

the PTO’s duty to provide invention promoters with notice

of a complaint and a reasonable opportunity to respond,

provide in relevant part, as follows:

“If a submission appears to meet the require-

ments of « complaint, the invention promoter

named in the complaint will be notified of the

complaint and given 30 days to respond. The in-

vention promoter’s response will be made

available to the public along with the com-

plaint. If the invention promoter fails to reply

within the 30-day time period set by the Office,

the complaint will be made available to the pub-

lic. Replies sent after the complaint is made

available to the public will also be published.”

{Emphasis added}

13. The PTO’s regulations interpret the IRA as only

providing the PTO with authority to receive customer

complaints, provide invention promoters with notice and a

reasonable opportunity to respond, receive the responses,

and provide a neutral forum for both customer complaints

and invention company responses to the complaints.

Accordingly, the regulations set forth a specific course of

action to be taken by the PTO relative to complaints.

App. 65

14. The PTO acknowledges on its web site that it has

no jurisdiction over what it calls the “promotion or utiliza-

tion of patents or inventions,” except to provide a neutral)

forum for complaints and responses; that it has no investi-

gative power relative to invention promoters; and that it

cannot even advise inventors relative to what it calls the

“development and marketing of an invention.”

15. The PTO violated the IRA and acted contrary to

its own regulations by targeting ISC, an invention pro-

moter, for a media campaign, by publicizing a customer

complaint regarding ISC (hereinafter “Lewis’ complaint”)

outside the neutral forum required by the IRA, by stigma-

tizing ISC as an “invention promotion scam,” by using the

news media to identify ISC with the Lewis complaint and

with the PTO’s comments about “scams,” and by otherwise

engaging in a course of conduct calculated to deny ISC’s

right to a neutral public forum.

16. The actions of the PTO in illegally publicizing

Lewis’ complaint, identifying ISC with that complaint, and

otherwise mishandling customer complaints contrary to

the IRA and its own regulations, are final agency actions

taken by the PTO because of an animus against ISC, for

the purpose of putting ISC out of business.

FIRST CAUSE OF ACTION-

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT

17. In or about August of 2001, the PTO received a

complaint concerning ISC from an ISC customer, Edward

Lewis, who states that he invented the Bodyguard,“ an

invention which is intended to protect the body of an

automobile while the tires are washed.

App. 66

18. Instead of complying with the IRA and the PTO’s

regulations, by providing ISC with notice of Lewis’ com-

plaint and an opportunity to respond, the PTO singled out

ISC for a media campaign, even though it had no author-

ity to do so. Pursuant to the decision to target ISC in this

manner, and without any authority, the PTO contacted

Lewis concerning his complaint, and solicited his partici-

pation in PTO advertisements pwhlicizing his complaint

regarding ISC.

19. Although the PTO has no authority to reformu-

late inventor complaints, it nonetheless worked with

Lewis to reformulate his complaint for the PTO’s television

and print advertisements publicizing his complaint. In

addition, the PTO expended funds and worked with

advertising professionals and consultants to prepare

television and print advertisements, with the intention of

publicizing Lewis’ complaint in a manner which was

contrary to the IRA and withou! any statutory authority.

20. The PTO issued a press release on January 10,

2002, announcing a nationwide media campaign, purport-

edly to counter “patent scams,” “invention promotion

scams” and “deceptive advertising,” but in actuality

focusing on one invention company, ISC, and one customer

complaint, Edward Lewis’ complaint. See copy of press

release, Exhibit 1. N

21. In January of 2002, the PTO launched its media

campaign publicizing the Lewis complaint, which con-

sisted of television and print media advertisements which

were run from approximately January through Ma 2002.

The media campaign included an article on the PTO web

site, publicizing the Lewis complaint and referring to

“scams,” and false promises that the invention would

App. 67

make money. See Exhibit 2, excerpt from the PTO web

site. In conducting this advertising campaign, the PTO

violated the IRA, which requires that complaints about

invention promoters only be made publicly available in a

neutral forum, together with the invention promoters’

responses, and which does not permit the PTO to single

out a particular complaint or a particular company.

22. In a further effort to target ISC, the PTO se-

lected Pittsburgh, Pa., the location of ISC’s headquarters,

and also some of ISC’s other markets, San Francisco/

San Jose, Tampa, New York and southern Florida, as the

markets in which to run its illegal television advertise-

ments of the Lewis complaint, which contained references

to “scams” and to false promises of financial gain.

23. As part of its illegal media campaign targeting

ISC, the PTO intentionally publicized ISC as the invention

company which was the subject of the Lewis complaint, for

the purpose of stigmatizing ISC. In order to connect ISC

with its comments in its advertisements about “invention

promotion scams,” for the purpwse of causing harm to ISC,

the PTO informed Peter Barnes of Tech TV, a cable televi-

sion network, that ISC was the invention company which

had contracted with Lewis. As a result, in a story on Tech

TV on January 22, 2002, and in an articie on the Tech TV

web site, which is also published on the ABC News web

site, Barnes reported on the PTO commercial involving

Lewis which warned against scams and identified ISC as

the invention company which had contracted with Lewis.

See Exhibit 3 hereto. The Barnes story was picked up and

sinked by InventorEd and United Inventors Association

(UIA), which are adversaries and critics of ISC, and

Franklin Gray Patents, LLC, and placed on their web

sites. As a result of the PTO’s contacts with Barnes, it

App. 68

became widely known that ISC was the company which

was the subject of the Lewis complaint, and of the PTO’s

unfair advertisements. Thus, the PTO intentionally, and

without any statutory authority, publicized ISC as an

“invention promotion scam” and publicized that ISC had

“scammed” Lewis and falsely promised him money from

the “Bodyguard” invention.

24. The PTO knew that, if the Lewis complaint was

not withdrawn, and was subsequently made publicly

available on the PTO’s web site under the IRA, ISC would

be further identified with the PTO’s unfair and untrue

television and print advertisements, and an additional

link would be established between [SC and the PTO’s

statements about “scams” and false promises of money to

Lewis. Through its advertisements concerning Lewis’

complaint, and the prospect of the Lewis complaint being

made publicly available on the PTO’s web site, the PTO

placed enormous pressure on ISC to settle Lewis’ com-

plaint, although that complaint was unjustified.

25. In addition, ISC believes and therefore avers

that the PTO revealed information on customer com-

plaints involving ISC, and connected ISC to Lewis’ com-

plaint, in communications with persons who are critics

and adversaries of ISC, and in communications with other

members of the public. This action was in violation of the

IRA, which only permits customer complaints to be made

publicly available in a neutral forum, after providing the

invention promoters wi u notice and an opportunity to

respond.

26. Despite ISC’s objections that advertisements of

customer complaints violated the IRA, the PTO continued

its media campaign against ISC. In approximately March

App. 69

through May, 2002, the PTO ran advertisements of Lewis’

complaint in Inventors Digest and Popular Mechanics,

containing statements referring to “invention promotion

scams,” stating “don’t get scammed,” referring to false

promises of money, and directing the public to the PTO

web site. See copies of advertisements, Exhibit 4 hereto.

The PTO stated on its web site that it also intended to run

advertisements of Lewis’ complaint in Popular Science and

Family Handyman. By publicizing ISC as the company

involved with Lewis through its contacts with Barnes and

others, the PTO connected these advertisements to ISC,

and thereby unfairly identified ISC as a “scam” and as a

company which made false promises of money to custom-

ers.

27. The PTO, by publicizing the Lewis complaint in

PTO advertisements with its unfair comments about

“invention promotion scams” and “don’t get scammed,” and

statements about alleged false promises of money, en-

dorsed the Lewis complaint as factually correct. The PTO

thereby knowingly violated the IRA’s requirement that it

make the Lewis complaint publicly available only in a

neutral forum, without comment or judgment, together

with ISC’s response. Further, because the PTO had inten-

tionally connected the Lewis complaint to ISC through its

contact with Barnes, the PTO’s advertisements of Lewis’

complaint labeled ISC as a “scam.”

28. Edward Lewis’ complaint was the only customer

complaint which the PTO publicized in a media campaign,

and was the only complaint which the PTO had made

public in any way at the time of this media campaign. No

invention company other than ISC was targeted by the

PTO in its media campaign, unfairly labeled as a “scam”

by the PTO, or identified with a customer complaint

App. 70

through contacts with the news media. Thus, the PTO

demonstrated an animus against ISC, by singling it out for

a media cara un labeling it a “scam,” while not treating

any other con. . ay in this manner.

29. After two months of conducting its media cam-

paign regarding Mr. Lewis’ complaint with television and

print advertisements concerning “invention promotion

scams,” after it identified Lewis’ complaint with ISC

through its contacts with Barnes and Tech TV, and after it

publicized Lewis’ complaint on its own web site, the PTO

for the first time provided ISC with notice of the Lewis

complaint and an opportunity to respond on March 1,

2002. This was approximately eight months after the PTO

first received the Lewis complaint, in or about August of

2001. This extensive delay in providing ISC any opportu-

nity to respond to the Lewis complaint demonstrates the

PTO’s intentional violation of the IRA and its animus

against ISC, since making Lewis’ complaint publicly

available subsequent to the unfair media campaign, even

with an ISC response, would only exacerbate the harm to

ISC.

30. Mr. Lewis attempted to withdraw his complaint

with the PTO by letter dated March 26, 2002, and re-

quested that the PTO discontinue using him in its media

campaign. However, contrary to its own regulations, the

PTO ieft Lewis’ complaint on its web site after the com-

plaint had been withdrawn, and continued to use Lewis in

its media campaign. The PTO’s failure to remove Lewis’

complaint from its web site after Lewis withdrew it was

arbitrary and capricious, because it was contrary to the

PTO’s own regulations, and was the result of an animus

against ISC.

App. 71

31. In addition to publicizing Lewis’ complaint

contrary to the IRA and its own regulations, identifying

Lewis’ complaint with ISC through contacts with Barnes

and Tech TV, and publicizing Lewis’ complaint after it was

withdrawn, the PTO also took other agency actions which

exceeded its statutory authority under the IRA, and which

demonstrated an animus against ISC, as follows:

a. soliciting complaints against ISC; n

contacting ISC customers who have com-

plaints and suggesting content for com-

plaints;

c. contacting ISC customers who complained to

make investigative inquiries into the facts of

their complaints and any settlement efforts

by ISC;

d. sending complaints later than the date on

the transmittal letter, so that ISC will not

have the full thirty days’ notice to attempt to

investigate and resolve the complaints.

32. John Calvert, the Acting Director of the Office of

Independent Inventor Programs at the PTO, demonstrated

the animus of the PTO against ISC when he stated an

intention to solicit and investigate customer -complaints

despite the PTO’s lack of authority to do this, and an

intention to circumvent the required neutrality of the

PTO’s forum for customer complaints and invention

promoters’ responses. In this regard, in his remarks at the

Midwest Inventors’ Council meeting on April 5, 2002, at

which he spoke as a representative of the PTO, Calvert

stated, as follows:

“The only way that we do not post it [a customer

complaint] is if you withdraw it, and we have one

App. 72

company that Bob ... and I were talking about

that has a tendency to settle quickly ... but

we're going to get them up there yet. We got to

find somebody that doesn’t want to settle and get

their name on our Internet, on the Internet site,

and we will have them up eventually. We have

one up there now, and you can look at it.”

33. ISC believes and therefore avers that the com-

pany to which Calvert was referring in the remarks quoted

above was ISC, which has a policy and practice of attempt-

ing to resolve customer complaints, which predates the

PTO’s illegal publicity campaign against ISC. Thus,

Calvert stated the PTO’s intention to target ISC and to

make certain that the PTO publicized complaints against

ISC before ISC could settle the complaints, contrary to the

IRA and the PTO’s regulations, thereby demonstrating the

PTO’s animus against ISC.

34. In addition, Calvert made other statements as a

representative of the PTO, which demonstrate the PTO’s

animus against invention companies in general and ISC in

particular. In this regard, at the Midwest Inventors’

Council meeting, Calvert stated, as follows:

“But, anyway, we are really trying to work

and get these invention marketirg firms

put out of business.

* * *

I've also got Bob ... out here. and I talked to

Bob about this, a very, very informative gentle-

man that hates them as much as I do.

* * *

Before I leave the Office of Independent In-

ventor Programs, I want to see at least one

— = — a . — = n — — *

— — e — —

— — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — —Vꝓꝓ p — * —

App. 73

of these major companies out of business.

That is my goal.” [Emphasis added]

35. At the Minnesota Inventors Congress on June

14, 2002, John Calvert, speaking as a representative of the

PTO, repeated the PTO’s goal of putting ISC out of busi-

ness, stating, as follows:

“My goal in life is to put these people out of

business.”

36. Based on Calvert’s comments about a company

which settles complaints quickly, and based on the PTO

media campaign targeting ISC, ISC believes that it is the

company which the PTO seeks to put out of business.

37. Calvert further manifested his and the PTO’s

animus against ISC when he stated publicly at the Minne-

sota Inventors Congress on June 14, 2002, that he would

continue his illegal activities and challenged ISC to bring

suit against the PTO. In this regard, Calvert stated, as

follows:

“...I say, come and get me. Come and file

suit. I'd love you to file suit and take me to

federal court and [ll expose you as the

bums you are.”

38. In addition, at the Midwest Inventors’ Council

Meeting, on April 5, 2002, Calvert made statements which

indicated that the PTO is investigating invention promot-

ers and customer complaints concerning invention pro-

moters, and is soliciting complaints against invention

promoters. In this regard, Calvert stated, as follows:

“We need your help. If you run across any-

body that’s got or has been taken by an in-

vention marketing firm, see us. Get them in

App. 74

touch with us. I want to know about it. Im

really serious about this.

* * *

My daughter is a senior in college this year

... and she said I have a project due ... [at] the

end of April. It’s her last project for college,

and it’s to do an investigative report. She

said, what do you think I should do? What do you

think I told her? I told her that I can be a

source, but I couldn’t be named, because I

can’t say anything. Pm not allowed to, not

without my handler, as they call him. So,

she’s going to talk to me. I also told her of an 800

number that she’s going to call that she was on

the T.V. the other day that she can actually call.

She’s got five questions she’s going to ask

that 800 number and get some information

about it. That’s her investigative report.

* * *

Hopefully, this will start some other people

thinking. Td like to see more of this. I keep

getting phone calls from newspaper pe_ple

around the country, and this is what I talk

about more than anything else.” (Emphasis

added]

Although the IRA provides the PTO with no investigative

authority, the PTO by its actions has attempted to assume

the role of an investigative agency, contrary to the IRA and

the PTO’s regulations.

39. The PTO’s actions in targeting ISC for its media

campaign, publicizing Lewis’ complaint outside the neutral

forum without statutory authority and without providing

ISC with an opportunity to respond, identifying ISC as the

App. 75

company with which Lewis dealt through its contacts with

Barnes of Tech TV, publicizing Lewis’ complaint after it

was withdrawn, and otherwise denying ISC its rights,

demonstrate the PTO’s animus against ISC and intent to

put ISC out of business.

40. As a result of the PTO’s actions contrary to the

IRA and its own regulations, ISC has been subjected to a

sanction by the PTO in being singled out for a media

campaign in which the PTO endorsed allegations against

ISC, identified ISC as the company which was the subject

of publicity campaign though contacts with Barnes and

Tech TV, and falsely characterized ISC as “invention

promotion scam.” ISC has thereby been harmed by being

subjected to public identification as a “scam.” No other

invention company has ever been subjected to such a

sanction by the PTO.

41. The PTO imposed the sanction of a publicity

campaign against ISC, in which it use the word “scam” in

connection with Lewis’ complaint, and attached ISC’s

name to Lewis’ complaint through identifying ISC to Peter

Barnes of Tech TV as the company with which Lewis had

dealt. The PTO took these actions without providing ISC

with notice of Lewis’ complaint and an opportunity to

respond, or any process at all. These actions were per-

formed without any statutory authority, either under the

IRA or otherwise.

42. ISC objected to the PTO’s publication of Lewis’

complaint in its media campaign because the PTO had not

made Lewis’ complaint publicly available along with ISC’s

response in a neutral forum, because the PTO had unfairly

characterized ISC as a “scam,” and because the PTO had

App. 76

gone to the news media, i. e., Peter Barnes of Tech TV, to

publicly identify ISC with Lewis’ complaint.

43. The PTO’s actions in illegally publicizing Lewis’

complaint outside a neutral public forum, and in illegally

denying ISC the right to notice and an opportunity to

respond, are final, and are not subject to any administra-

tive review or appeal procedu~es. The only review of the

PTO’s action which ISC may obtain is through this court.

44. In conducting its illegal media campaign in

which it targeted ISC and publicized Lewis’ complaint

through television advertisements and on its web site, and

identified ISC with Lewis’ complaint through its contacts

with Barnes of Tech TV, and in failing to provide ISC with

notice of Lewis’ complaint and an opportunity to respond,

and failing to make the Lewis complaint and response

available only in a neutral public forum, the PTO has

taken final agency actions in the nature of imposing

sanctions and/or failing to act in accordance with the IRA

and the regulations. These final agency actions are unlaw-

ful within the meaning of the Administrative Procedures

Act, 5 U.S.C. §706(2), in that they are:

“(A) arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion

[and] otherwise not in accordance with law [the

IRA);

(B) contrary to constitutional right

(C) in excess of statutory jurisdiction, authority,

or limitations, or short of statutory right (under

the IRA]; [and]

(D) without observance of procedure required

by law [the [RA]...

App. 77

45. ISC has been subjected to irreparable harm

through the PTO’s actions in singling out ISC for a public-

ity campaign which unfairly characterized ISC as a “scam”

and included Lewis’ allegations to which ISC had not been

permitted to respond; and publicly identifying ISC with

Lewis’ complaint to Peter Barnes of Tech TV at the same

time it was conducting the publicity campaign. ISC has

also been subjected to continuing irreparable harm in

being denied rights which are guaranteed under the IRA

and are provided to other invention companies, that is, the

right to notice of complaints and an opportunity to re-

spond, and the right to have the response published along

with the complaint, only in a neutral forum. Through the

PTO’s illegal actions, ISC has been singled out as the only

invention company stigmatized by the PTO as a scam in a

publicity campaign.

WHEREFORE, ISC requests that the court issue a

permanent injunction and/or a declaratory judgment and

order the following:

a. That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be prohibited

from conducting any media campaign which

targets ISC and/or which publicizes the

Lewis complaint or any other customer com-

plaint concerning ISC;

b. That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be prohibited

from conducting any educational campaign

or activity which targets ISC and/or which

publicizes the Lewis complaint or any other

customer complaint concerning ISC, except

in the neutral forum provided for in the IRA,

App. 78

That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be required to

remove any and all references to the Lewis

complaint, and to any other customer com-

plaint, from its web site, except in the neu-

tral forum provided for in the IRA;

That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be prohibited

from stating that they intend to conduct an

investigation or conducting an investigation

of invention promoters; categorizing any in-

vention promoter or invention promoters as

good, bad, or scams; stating or publishing

any negative information regarding any in-

vention promoters or invention promoters,

except in the neutral forum provided for in

the IRA; or stating an intention to or at-

tempting to put any invention promoter or

invention promoters out of business;

That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be prohibited

from making any complaints from ISC cus-

tomers publicly available unless it provides

ISC at least thirty days from the date of

ISC’s receipt of notice of the complaints to

respond to such complaints, and makes the

complaints publicly available, together with

ISC’s responses, in the neutral forum pro-

vided for in the IRA;

That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be prohibited

from publicizing complaints which the cus-

tomers have withdrawn within the time lim-

its provided by the PTO;

App. 79

g. That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be prohibited

from soliciting complaints against ISC;

h. That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be required to

publicize on its web site and elsewhere a

statement that it has no authority to regu-

late invention promoters or invention com-

panies, and that it has no intention to put

invention promoters or invention companies

out of business;

i. That ISC be reimbursed for its reasonable

attorneys’ fees and costs; and

j. Such other relief as the court shall deem ap-

propriate.

SECOND CAUSE OF ACTION-JUDICIAL REVIEW

UNDER GENERAL EQUITY JURISDICTION

AND THE MCANNULTY DOCTRINE

46. The allegations contained in Paragraphs 1-45 of

the Amended Complaint are incorporated by reference and

repleaded herein as if fully set forth at length.

47. The IRA and the PTO’s regulations require that

the PTO provide a neutral public forum to publicize

customer complaints together with the invention promot-

ers’ responses. The PTO was not granted authority to

make complaints publicly available outside the neutral

public forum and without the invention promoter’s re-

sponse.

48. The Lewis complaint received by the PTO on or

about August 2001 was clearly marked as being made

pursuant to the IRA.

App. 80

49. The PTO knowingly acted in excess of its author-

ity with an intent to penalize ISC and put ISC out of

business and otherwise interfere with ISC’s business

relationships by using the Lewis complaint to proclaim

publicly the misleading and untrue message that it had, in

effect, verified the truth of the customer’s allegations and

determined, based on an investigation, that Lewis was

scammed by ISC and that other inventors and third

parties should not deal with ISC.

50. The content and context of the PTO’s publication,

as well as the PTO’s public efforts to connect Lewis’

complaint to ISC, resulted in the audience knowing that

ISC was the company featured in the PTO media cam-

paign.

51. In conducting its illegal media campaign in

which it targeted ISC and publicized Lewis’ complaint

through television advertisements and on its web site, and

identified ISC with Lewis’ complaint through its contacts

with Barnes of Tech TV, and in failing to provide ISC with

notice of Lewis’ complaint and an opportunity to respond,

and failing to make the Lewis complaint and response

available only in a neutral public forum, the PTO has

engaged in ultra vires actions which are reviewable under

the Court’s general equity jurisdiction and the McAnnulty

Doctrine. It is further alleged that tie various actions

alleged in this complaint were ultra vires and subject to

review by this Court.

52. Under equity jurisdiction and the McAnnulty

Doctrine, ISC is entitled to judicial review of the PTO’s

ultra vires actions which are in excess of its statutory

authority and/or violates ISC’s individual rights.

App. 81

53. ISC has no adequate remedy at law, as the PTO’s

ultra vires actions and violation of ISC’s individual rights

are not subject to any administrative review or appeal

procedures. The only review of the PTO’s action which ISC

may obtain is through this court and Congress has not

expressly precluded review of the PTO’s actions under the

IRA.

54. As a direct and proximate consequence of the

Pro's ultra vires actions, ISC has suffered irreparable

harm to its business in being stigmatized by the PTO in a

publicity campaign which illegally characterized ISC as a

“scam” and included Lewis’ false allegations to which ISC

had not been permitted to respond; and publicly identify-

ing ISC with Lewis’ complaint to Peter Barnes of Tech TV

at the same time it was conducting the publicity cam-

paign. ISC has been denied constitutional and other

individual rights, as well as rights which are guaranteed

under the IRA, and are provided to other invention pro-

moters, that is, the right to notice of complaints and

opportunity to respond, and the right to have the response

published along with the complaint, only in a neutral

forum. Through the PTO’s ultra vires actions, ISC has

suffered harm in the form of lost business and damage to

its relationships with third parties as a result of these

actions.

WHEREFORE, ISC requests that the court issue a

permanent injunction and/or a declaratory judgment and

order the following:

a. That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be prohibited

from conducting any media campaign which

targets ISC and/or which publicizes the

App. 82

Lewis complaint or any other customer com-

plaint concerning ISC;

That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be prohibited

from conducting any educational campaign

or activity which targets ISC and/or which

publicizes the Lewis complaint or any other

customer complaint concerning ISC, except

in the neutral forum provided for in the-

IRA;

That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be required to

remove any and all references to the Lewis

complaint, and to any other customer com-

plaint, from its web site, except in the neu-

tral forum provided for in the IRA;

That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be prohibited

from stating that they intend to conduct an

investigation or conducting an investigation

of invention promoters; categorizing any in-

vention promoter or invention promoters as

good, bad, or scams; stating or publishing

any negative information regarding any in-

vention promoters or invention promoters,

except in the neutral forum provided for in

the IRA; or stating an intention to or at-

tempting to put any invention promoter or

invention promoters out of business;

That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be prohibited

from making any complaints from ISC’s cus-

tomers publicly available unless it provides

ISC at least thirty days from the date of

ISC’s receipt of notice of the complaints to

App. 83

respond to such complaints, and makes the

complaints publicly available, together with

ISC’s responses, in the neutral forum pro-

vided for in the IRA;

That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be prohibited

from publicizing complaints which the cus-

tomers have withdrawn within the time lim-

its provided by the PTO;

That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be prohibited

from soliciting complaints against ISC;

That the PTO and its officers, employees,

agents and/or representatives be required to

publicize on its web site and elsewhere a

statement that it has no authority to regu-

late invention promoters or invention com-

panies, and that it has no intention to put

invention promoters or invention companies

out of business;

That ISC be reimbursed for its reasonable

attorneys’ fees and costs; and

Such other relief as the court shall deem ap-

propriate.

Respectfully submitted,

INVENTION SUBMISSION

CORPORATION

By Counsel

App. 84

REED SMITH LLP

/s/ Richard. C. Sullivan, Jr.

Richard C. Sullivan, Jr., Esq. (VSB #27907)

3110 Fairview Park Drive, Suite 1400

Falls Church, Virginia 22042

Telephone: (703) 641-4200

Facsimile: (703) 641-4340

Edward B. Friedman (Pa. I. D. 09688)

J. Stephen Purcupile (Pa. I.D. 39174)

Elliot S. Katz (Pa. I.D. 31454)

FRIEDMAN and FRIEDMAN

900 Fifth Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

(412) 261-5834

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that a true and accurate copy of the

foregoing Amended Complaint was hand delivered this 5th

day of May, 2004 to:

Rachel C. Ballow, Esq.

Assistant United States Attorney

2100 Jamieson Avenue

Alexandria, Virginia 22314

/s/ Richard C. Sullivan, Jr.

Richard C. Sullivan, Jr.

2 | PT aac

DCC - 2005

72 ——.—

{

No. 05-376

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

INVENTION SUBMISSION CORPORATION, PETITIONER

V.

JONATHAN W. DUDAS, UNDERSECRETARY OF

COMMERCE FOR INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY AND

DIRECTOR, PATENT AND TRADEMARK OFFICE

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENT IN OPPOSITION

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.