Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kerian v. Harvey

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Conventions, the Whistleblower Act, and iis own

regulations are legal questions. It follows that the extent of

a Service Member’s duty to comply with and to he

protected by International and Federal law and Federal

regulations is properly reviewed as a “legal” matter. U.S.

Const., Article 3, cl. 2 (Quoted above).

The Second Circuit's failure to consider Petitioner's class

action constitution, allow a jury trial and premature

dismissal of Petitioner’s civil rights cause of action are

reversible errors because Military service members are

vulnerable citizens entitled to the protections of the U.S.

Constitution and careful--perhaps heightened-- judicial

scrutiny. A military service member's duty to respect

human rights and to refuse to violate human rights is

fundamental and Constitutional (involving the right to not

act criminally). Governmental action here appealed in

derogation of these rights facilitate an Apparent Executive

Branch Conspiracy to interfere with civil rights, 42 USC

1985.

In light of the pleadings as a whole, see, Pleadings at APP

AA, (A344-A384), the EDNY erroneously dismissed

Petitioner's civil right allegations as conclusory and

unfairly denied discovery and leave to amend. See, APP B,

(A45-A59). At least one court has ruled that Whistle

blower status itself is sufficient to describe a protected class

suffering based invidious discrimination status under Civil

Rights Law. Lapin v Taylor, (1979, DC Hawaii) 475 F

Supp 446. Congressional pronouncements alone provide a

basis for affording military service members civil rights

protection, not only when it created whistle blower

protection, but with other military status relate laws. See

e.g., Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Civil Relief Act (SSCRA), 50

U.S.C. 501 to 593 (as now modified by the Service

Members Civil Relief Act of 2004), Uniformed Services

Employment and Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA),

38 U.S.C. 4301-4333. These bodies of law mandate a

Supreme Court finding that Military Service members

suffer civil disabilities meriting heightened judicial

protection. Congress specifically provided for broad

remedial authority for wrongs such as those suffered by

Petitioner. See, Military Whistle Blower Act, APP N

(A161-A177), and did so in a manner and during a time

when such decisions were reviewable under the APA and

was therefore intended to be judicially review able. See

APA at APP W (A298). (Sce also part VI below concerning

Congressionally mandated judicial review of military

personnel decisions)

The Military Whistle Blower Protection Act (MWPA),

which DOD has wrongfully failed to implement, gives

DOD and Service Secretaries broad authority to deter

reprisal and authorize restitution “for the loss of pay,

allowances, compensation, emoluments, other pecuniary

benefits." See MWPA at APP N (A161-A177). Seeking

relief and correct systemic lawlessness, Petitioner sues

agency heads in their representative capacity seeking

equitable relief available under the Administrative

Procedures Act (APA). A military service member may

bring an APA action where he seeks “relief other than

money damages,” in cases "for which there is no other

adequate remedy in a court.” 5 U.S.C. §§ 702, 704 (2000).

See APA at APP W, (A298).

Contrary to the nonreview-able and non-justiciable military

label imputed these matters by judicial holding to date,

Petitioner's request for equitable relief asks not that Courts

involve themselves in matters military; it merely asks that

they enforce existing laws and mulitary regulations. It is

axiomatic that ap agency of the government must

scrupulously observe its own rules, regulations, and

procedures. United States ex rel Accardi v. Shaughnessy,

347 U.S. 260 (1954). With respect to the armed forces, this

requirement “does not involve any undue interference with

the proper and efficient operation of our military forces

~

= - =U

because we require only that the [Navy] carry out the

procedures and regulations it created itself." Smith v.

Resor, 406 F.2d 141, 146 (2d Cir. 1969). For this reason

class action status for classes of service members denied

access to the rule of law, transparency, and whistleblower

protection cannot be said to unfairly burden the military;

for this is the very rule of law or liberty which the United

States military is constituted to defend. The trial court,

therefore, committed reversible error by dismissing

petitioner’s case and ignoring Petitioner’s repeated requests

for rulings on class action certification, civil rights and

whistleblower protection.

A class-certification decision will “only be overturned if it

constitutes an abuse of discretion’ Lunquisist v. Sec. Pac.

Auto. Fin. Servs. Corp., 993 F. 2d 11, 14 [2d Cir. 1993)

(per curiam). “However, the failure to follow the proper

legal standards in certifying a class... is an abuse of

discretion’ Blyden v. Mancusi, 186 F .3d 252, 269 [2d Cir.

1999) ). And, our deference is “noticeably less” when a

district court “has denied a class status than when it has

certified a class.” Caridad, 191 F. 3d at 291 (quoting

een es F 2d : “ ” Robinson v Metro North

47 The

ter

mu ignored wr ee $ repeated objections and request

for Class Action constitution and Certification. See, Class

Action Complaint at Class Act at APP Y (A305-A325).

Petitioner’s claims are reviewable under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331

~{Federal Question Jurisdiction). The Administrative

Procedure Act determines the standard and scope of review.

This Court held in Chappell v. Wallace, 462 U.S. 296

(1983) that decisions regarding the correction of military

records are subject to judicial review under the APA “and

can be set aside if they are arbitrary, capricious, or not

based on substantial evidence.” Chappell, 462 U.S. at 303.

Case law “casts serious doubt" on an argument that service

members’ APA claims are never reviewable. Knes vy. Sec'y

of the Air Force l 1513 (D.C. Cir. 1989). It

is, after all, the "function of the courts to make sure . . . that

the men and women constituting our Armed Forces are

treated as honored members of society whose nights do not

turn on the charity of a military commander.” Winters vy.

United States, 89 S. Ct, 57, 59-60 (Douglas, Circuit Justice

1968).

Treaties are the supreme law of the land. See, U.S. Const.,

Article 6, cl. 2 (Quoted above). This Court, in The Paquete

Habana 175 U.S. 677, 700 (1900), held that international

law is part of customary U.S. law and controlling law as

U.S. conducts international affairs. See also e.g.,: Filartiga

y. Pena-Irala, 630 F.2d 876 (2d Cir. N.Y. 1980), Vietnam

. tp sete -

yy a on 7 0 Prod, Liab. Litig,),

(E.D.N.Y. Mar. 10, 2005), In re S. African Apartheid Litig.,

346 F. Supp. 2d 538, (S.D.N.Y. 2004), Presbyterian Church

of Sudan v. Talisman Energy, Inc., 244 F. Supp. 2d 289,

155 Oil & Gas Rep. 409 (S.D.N.Y. 2003). The recent

Treaty of Rome establishing the International Criminal

Court (ICC) is a critical development in the history of

human kind. The ICC holds the power to deter aggression

by penetrating the sovereign impunity afforded by faux

national systems of injustice as illustrated by the case at

bar. Under binding Supreme Court precedent above, the

ICC represents binding Customary International Law. The

executive bad faith and unclean hands of record sadly

demonstrates that American Military Service Members

require the Supreme Court limit Executive interference with

the process implementing customary international law.

When the executive investigative process into reprisal and

war crimes is not transparent (or spun from the top down)

and complainants are denied judicial review, there are too

few alternatives and too few limits upon mans’ inhumanity

to man. Denied the checks and balance and longer- term

perspective provided by judicial review, there can be no

cure for terrorism; war (by other means) has an uncanny

way of finding means of indiscriminate (extrajudicial)

slaughter of the masses. Without an International Criminal

Court, one self-deluded powerful state, can pervert liberty

and define complementariness, rationality, judiciousness

and humanity, out of existence.

Dismissal of Petitioner's causes of action as non-

reviewable and non-justiciable, conflicts with 2d circuit

precedent implementing prior Supreme Court decisions on

Executive lawlessness. In Harmon v. Brucker, 355 U.S.

579 (1958) (per curiam) the Supreme Court approved

substantive Federal Court review of military decisions

(discharges). Five years earlier, the Supreme Court ruled

that courts-martial proceedings were subject to judicial

review. Burns _v. Wilson, 346 U.S. 137 (1953). (Court-

martial convictions lacked fundamental fairness). The 2d

Circuit has applied these Supreme Courts rulings. See e.g.

Feliciano vy. Laird, 426 F.2d 424 (2d Cir 1970). In

Feliciano, the 2d Circuit reversed the EDNY trial court and

granted Petitioner soldier's request for a writ of mandamus

directing the trial court to issue an order requiring the

selective service system to reconsider Petitioner's hardship

application because, as in the instant case, the Army failed

to follow its own regulations. The 2d Circuit held judicial

review of military decisions to be the kind of error that the

2d Circuit would not even hesitate to rectify. Accord,

Smith y. Resor, 406 F.2d 141, 145 (2 Cir. 1969); Hammond

y. Lenfest, 398 F.2d 705, 715 (2 Cir. 1968); See also

Crawford v. Cushman, 531 F.2d 1114 (2d Cir. 1976).

Crawford , illustrates 2d Circuit review of the second type

of military decision the 2d Circuit has not hesitated to

review, i.¢., those involving Fundamental Constitutional

rights.

“preparing” to contact Congress language in 10 USC

1034 3

I. Disregard of Whistleblower regulations

DoD agents failed to investigate Petitioner’s claim of

whistleblower reprisal, as required. APP N (A161-A177),

APP S, (A265-274), when he reported Grave Breaches of

the Geneva Convention (Whistle) APP E (A64-A8]1).

Instead, DoD agents compiled unauthenticated

“summaries” of statements and then used those summaries

to deny Petitioner relief. See Investigation at APP F, (A81-

A99). In the case of Petitioner’s Officer Efficiency Report

(OER) appeal, SEE APP G, (A100-A106), the “protection”

process which was used as an opportunity to take further

reprisal. See, SRB decision at APP H, (107-114). The

SRB, instead of reviewing for unfairness selected one of

several procedural deficiencies complained of, neglected

entirely the unfairness and injustice issues, and made

Petitioner’s records worse while ruling that reconsideration

of non promotion by a Special Selection Board, APP X,

(A299-A304) would not make a difference. The decision of

the SRB was not followed, as Petitioner’s military records

endured even further reprisal when the SRB decision was

(not) implemented. See, APP BB (A385-A390) for copies

of Petitioner’s OPR’s as “corrected”.

Consider the whistle blower investigator’s description of

the evidence provided by the Inspector General Officer of

2d Armored Division APP F, (A84) of the Investigating

officer’s report. See Investigation at APP F (A81-99). The

investigating officer’s “discussion” spins this witness’

testimony concerning Cpt Kerian’s advice to the

Commanding General as being to the effect that petitioner

threatened to send the CG 2AD to jail. See, Whistle at APP

E (A84) (this is relevant to the “preparing” to contact

Congress analysis in part TV & V below) See also at

Investigation at APP F (A86). The 14 MP Commander’s

12

Statements regarding petitioner’s problems with Saudi’s are

unsubstantiated. In fact, the 14° MP Brigade Commander

was not present at the refugee holding areas. The officer

taking reprisal, Col Huffman, depicts Petitioner’s efforts to

comply with the Geneva Convention as a personnel issue,

i.e., Suggesting that Petitioner caused “management”

problems. Moreover, the investigating officer incorrectly

suggests that only one conversation took place between the

2AD IG and Petitioner. Again, this conclusion is

unsubstantiated by the evidence. See Petitioner’s appeal to

the ABCMR, APP I (A115-A138, Ai24,5) for discussion

of Petitioner’s evidence concerning these contested facts.

The Geneva Conventions are specific, but were not

implemented by military superiors. See, GC IV at APP Q,

(A179-A256). Petitioner led task forces back and forth

across Saudi Arabia, Iraq and Kuwait. Petitioner gathered,

found, fixed and signed for 40 Saudi buses that were used

to evacuate prisoners from the front. Petitioner established

an Arabic/English administrative punishment process so

that prison guards would not punish prisoners; so that MPs

would not allow maltreatment by interrogators; so that MPs

would not allow pictures (also too dangerous to their

families) to be taken of prisoners; ensured MPs would treat

prisoners humanely; and not punish without due process

(all part of judicial record below). Petitioner performed

these acts in addition to his Judge Advocate responsibilities

because the Geneva Conventions (GC) specifically required

these protections. The GC also required that deaths be

investigated. GC Art 129, APP Q, (A238).

Department of the Army agents affirmed Petitioner’s

whistle blower investigation, despite Petitioner specific

detailed and corroborated objections to the process’ lack of

transparency and Petitioner’s inability to participate.- See ,

APP I (A115-A138 , and APP E-K generally). Petitioner’s

Freedom of Information Act and Privacy Act requests for

13

information were all denied. See additional correspondence

at APP Z (A326-A329).

The EDNY trial judge started and ended unfairly. AT the

outset the trial court erroneously neglected to mention that

Petitioner's must repay his “voluntary” separation pay.

APP A, (A2) to receive military retired pay. See, 10 U.S.C.

1175 (e) (3). Similarly, the trial judge erroneously balanced

equities in invoking the statute of limitations to deny

Petitioner's claims. The Army took 5 years to fail to

properly do what Congress required the Army to do in 180

days (A273). Yet Petitioner, facing no such processing

requirements is time barred from “correction” by a

Correction Board, which even now regularly corrects WWI

and WWII historic records. See additional correspondence

APP Z, (A329-A343). Showing bad faith and Due Process

denial by Army/DoD agents in Correspondence related to

the delay, disclosure, supplemental (SRB) reprisal, etc.

The military failed to follow its own regulations. Whistle

Blower protection requires an investigation of the wrong

alleged to have been reported by the individual alleging

whistle blower reprisal. See, DoD Directive 7056.6

MILITARY WHISTLEBLOWER PROTECTION did

Nov 20 1989 at APP S (A265-A274) Responsibilities: (1)

The Inspector General, Department of Defense (IG, DoD)

shall: [... (b) Initiate a separate investigatiod of the

information the military member believes evidences

wrongdoing if such investigation has not already been

completed. ...]

At the end of the flawed (no investigation) “process” the

military afforded Petitioner, the Military re-violated its own

regulations by failing to properly inform Petitioner of his

right to appeal the ABCMR denial! of relief to Sec. Def. as

required. DoD Directive 7056.6 MILITARY

WHISTLEBLOWER PROTECTION did Nov 20 1989

APP S (A272) Responsibilities: (5) The Secretaries of

14

Military Departments, or their designees, under 10 U.S.C.

1552 (reference (c)), shall:

within 180 days of its receipt, issue a final

decision on an application for the correction of

military records from a military member or

former military member alleging reprisal for

making or preparing to make (emphasis added) a

lawful communication to members of Congress

or an IG. When the final decision does not grant

the full relief requested by the military member,

advise the member that within 90 days he and/or

she may request Secretary of Defense to

reconsider the decision.

In violation of law, Petitioner’s request for quick resolution

was denied and his appeal rights were not communicated.

See, 8 Feb 1996 final denial letter from David Kinneer,

Executive Secretary, ABCMR. APP K (A155-A158). The

ABCMR, in its 8 February 1996 final denial, clearly failed

to advise Petitioner of his right to administrative appeal:

“The only remaining avenue of appeal, should you

desire to pursue it, would be in federal court.” (emphasis

added) APP K (A157). Such military ~ ‘sconduct alone

provides an appropriate basis for Federal ourt jurisdiction

and equitable relief.

il. Disregard of Law of War Program Requirements.

The DoD failed to investigate war crimes. DoD Directive

5100.77, DoD Law of War Program APP R, (APP A256-

A264) states: “Higher authority receiving an initial report

shall: ... “6.3.1. Request formal investigation by the

cognizant military investigation authority”. “Formal”

as used in this context to modify “investigation” should not

be allowed to connote orchestrating secret (largely

undisclosed) libel and slander sessions about the person

seeking protection and avoiding those with evidence to

offer regarding the war crimes (such as the complainant

who specifically expressed a desire to offer additional

evidence and witnesses). See Investigation at APP F,

(A81-A91) containing only excerpts of unauthenticated

(contrived) “summaries” of (often hearsay) testimony. See

also “Investigation”, APP F, (A95-A99) portraying

Petitioner's complaint as against 14" MP Brigade and

misstating the law and facts. A “thorough”, “ formal”

investigation would have identified the source of the

“refoul and wean” orders and the names of the thirsty

refugees who were murdered when they ran towards a late

arriving water truck. Rather than investigate Petitioner’s

underlying complaint (refugee refouleme:.i and murder) the

investigation instead focused on maligning Petitioner and

white washing the compendium of adverse actions

expelling him from the Army.

Petitioner’s superior took the position that there was “no

intent to occupy” Iraq, so the GC did not apply and there

was no problem with “repatriating” (as he called it) and

weaning. See Petitioner’s initial request for protection

(Whistle) at APP E (A64-A81) as corroborated by the

Whistle blower investigating officer, through Col

Chapman, prior SJA, 2 AD, at Investigation, at APP F

(A92-93) (admits it was unknown/undecided whether GC

applied). Petitioner’s superiors position, clearly disregards

long standing U.S. policy to pervasively apply/conform

with the Geneva Conventions, see e.g.,:

CHAIRMAN JOINT CHIEF OF _ STAFF

INSTRUCTION, JCSI 5810.018 IMPLEMENTATION

OF THE DOD LAW OF WAR PROGRAM , 25 March

2002 APP U, (A290-A297) Provides in relevant part:

--- 3. Applicability: This instruction applies to

all personnel of the Armed Forces, including

civilians, regardless of assignment or

attachment. 4. Policy: a. The Armed Forces of

the United States will comply with the law of

16

war during all armed conflicts, however such

conflicts are characterized, and, unless

otherwise directed by competent authorities, the

US Armed Forces will comply with the

principles and spirii of the law of war during all

other operations..... [it is the policy of the

Department of Defense to ensure that: ....(1)

The law of war obligations of the US

Government are observed and enforced by the

US Armed Forces. (2) An effective program

designed to prevent violations of the law of war

is implemented by the US Armed Forces. (3) All

reportable incidents committed by or against

members of (or persons serving with or

accompanying) the US Armed Forces are

promptly reported, thoroughly investigated

(Emphasis added) and, where appropriate,

remedied by corrective action.... b. At all

appropriate levels of command and during all

stages of operational planning and execution of

joint and combined operations, legal .advisers

will provide advice concerning law of war

compliance. Advice on law of war compliance

will address not only legal constraints on

operations but also legal rights to employ force.

Petitioner respectfully submits it is painful to contemplate

the incongruity between the non-investigation of

Petitioner’s allegations and the non release of information

Petitioner required to save his career, ABCMR at APP J

(A115-A138) and the thoroughness of the investigation

(and the release of information) regarding Abu Ghraib to

the general public (with no personal Due Process direct

need to know). The contemptuous dismissal, lawlessness,

lack of transparency and overreaching exhibited by DoD

and the Federal Judiciary to date presaged Abu Ghraib. Abu

Ghraib, though a human tragedy, and a humiliating disgrace

for the U.S., is far less serious than Petitioner's report of

17

- wrongs to the IG, SJA and CG regarding the failure to LD.

process, protect, and the forced refoulement of tens of

thousands of refugees, including former allies, ‘o certain

death, See Abu Ghraib Investigation (AR 15-6

investigation into the 800 MP Brigade last consulted 12

May 2005) Hitp://www.globalsecunity.org/

Iti. Disregard of ABCMR Regulatory Requirements

When Petitioner appealed the reprisal he suffered, the

ABCMR perpetuated the Army Special Review Board's

(SRB) took further reprisal against Petitioner rather than

correcting the Officer Efficiency Report (OER) vindictively

labelling him as excessively zealous (untrustworthy). The

SRB’s “corrective” actions were arbitrary, capricious and

an abuse of discretion - making Petitioner’s military records

worse. See SRB at APP H, (A107-A114). Moreover, the

agency itself disregarded the “corrections” that the SRB

ordered. See Petitioner’s “corrected” military records at

APP BB (A385-390). Petitioner's military records (more

legible full sized copies in record below if Petition granted)

have multiple trashed (filthy largely illegible) copies of his

OER stamped VOID on every page (and not other same

pages) leaving a reviewer wondering which version is

accurate and leaving no unvoided se to his OER (as

opposed to a modified portion of the 2" page as directed by

the SRB at APP H, (A112-Al114). Petitioner’s records

were over-stamped and trashed in a_ vindictive,

unprofessional manner as to constitute constructive

termination. (Compare (if writ is granted and the entire

record reviewed) with Petitioner’s other Army records top

block, multiple Meritorious Service Medals, etc. and after

he left the Army and joined the Air Force (Appendix to

Petitioner's reply brief) which consistently refer to

Petitioner as outstanding, extremely brilliant and even “the

best Judge Advocate...”

Furthermore, the SRB decision at APP H, (A107-A114)

disregards that the OER omitted Petitioner’s correct jobs or

duties and fails to review for unjustness. As a result,

Petitioner's appeal to ABCMR, APP I, (A115-A138)

perpetuates SRB unfairness. Where ABCMR failed to

substantively review and to correct such unjustness or

unfaimess, the ABCMR failed to follow its own

regulations. See APP T (A?74-A278) attached Appendix;

Reg AR 15-185, Army Board for Correction of Military

Records, dtd 29 March 2000, para 1-8 The ABCMR

WILL: “a. Review all applications that are properly

before them to determine the existence of error or

injustice”. Rather than apply the unfair/unjust standard,

the ABCMR improperly required Petitioner to prove that

the bad efficiency report was “the sole basis” (emphasis

added) for his non-promotion. See ABCMR at APP J

(A139-A155,)

The ABCMR decision was arbitrary, capricious and an

abuse of discretion because Petitioner offered documentary

evidence that directly contradicted the summaries

(contrived unauthenticated “investigative” statements)

adopted by the ABCMR and used to justify their

action/inaction. See e.g. APP I (A115-A138) (para 21)

where Petitioner provides the ABCMR an offer of proof

regarding evidence (directly contrary to the contrived

hearsay in the highly informal “summary of witnesses

interviews”).

Petitioner's appeal of his adverse efficiency report to the

Army Special Review Board (SRB) assures Petitioner's

non-promotion with admittedly “punitive relief”. The SRB

acknowledged their punitive result when they found that

with the “relief” they provided as part of his military

records Petitioner stood no chance of promotion and

refused to allow him to be re considered for promotion. See

SRB at APP H, (A113). Similarly, the lower Federal

Courts have all refused to hear his case contrary to the

19

Congress intended such decisions to be the judicially

review able ~ See V below.

The ABCMR granted the Whistleblower Investigation and .

SRB actions a presumption of regularity even though

Petitioner’s “statement” was allegedly “misplaced”:

“Although a copy of telephonic interview between the

DAIG investigator and the Applicant is now

unavailable....”_ See ABCMR at APP J (A142,143). The

ABCMR’s failure to grant Petitioner a hearing while

proceeding on an inadequate, inconsistent, and summarized

statement is plainly erroneous. To deny Petitioner’s

repeated requests to participate where key evidence is

“missing” (or to even contact the IG Investigator to secure

same) is unconscionable. Such a compendium of

“omissions” constitutes a criminal conspiracy. See, APP O

(A176,7) Conspiracy to impede or injure officer, 18 USC

§ 372. Despite the ABCMR’s statement alleging loss of

Petitioner’s “summarized” (contrived) statement, same was

of record and part of the ABCMR appeal! (This will be

shown if petition is granted and a joint appendix

assembled).

When clear-cut duty imposed by regulations are not

performed, as shown above, Federal Courts will review

Military decisions. See e.g. Schlesinger v. Ballard, 419 U.S.

498, 505-10 (1975) (reviewing equal protection challenge

of a discharge statute). The irreconcilable and incomplete

nature of the evidence made denial of an adjudicative

hearing by the ABCMR Arbitrary, abusive and an abuse of

discretion; a flagrant failure to follow its own regulations.

See Reg AR 15-185, Army Board for Correction of

Military Records. dtd 29 March 200, para 1-8 The

ABCMR WILL: ‘“c. Recommend a hearing when

appropriate in the interest of justice.” (A276).

The ABCMR further abandoned its obligation to

independently review records for correctness and injustice

by describing their standard of review as one where they [

.. MUST PRESUME (emphasis added) ....records... not

strong enough to merit .. .promotion see ABCMR at APP J,

(A155). The ABCMR’s duties are to-review for unfairness

and correct injustice. See ABCMR Reg at APP T, (A274-

A278)

As part of this process, the ABCMR may start with a

presumption of regularity. This presumption is dispelled,

however, where the testimony of the witness and

complainant is absent from the record and where the

Petitioner has specifically contested the truth of

unauthenticated, facially inconsistent statements.

Additional matter rebutting any presumption of regularity

include: 1) An SRB decision which fails to consider the

substance (fairness and injustice)’ of that appeal; 2)

considers only a portion of procedural errors; 3) fashions

undisclosed admittedly punitive relief; 4) which is not

previously disclosed or discussed with the Petitioner; 5) at a

proceeding in which he is not allowed to appear and offer

additional evidence; 6) and Petitioner’s records are not even

corrected as directed by the agency. APP BB, (A385-

A390).

Given the number of names and statements redacted and

withheld the ABCMR process could not have been fair.

See, Investigation at APP F, (A88, A89). It appears even

the CG's testimony was “summarized” (contrived).

Petitioner is unaware if the ABCMR saw this statement or

in which form it was reviewed. Petitioner speculates that

the ABCMR was somehow able to review an

“unsummarized” version of the investigation because his

case was delayed for years as the ABCMR attempted to

obtain a copy of Petitioner’s investigation. See,

Correspondence at APP Z, (A332) (indicating ABCMR

still had not received Petitioner’s records to begin their

review in mid Oct 1995). Without discovery, Petitioner is

unable to know the “legal” process he was (not) afforded.

21

[V. 10 USC 1034 protects Military whistle blowers

even if merely “preparing” to make protected

disclosures. In its review of the Inspector General Whistle

Blower reprisal investigation, the ABCMR acknowledges

that 10 USC 1034 supposedly protects Military whistle

blowers “preparing” protected disclosures. See, Appeal to

ABCMR at APP I, (A115-A138). Yet, the Investigating

officer denied (and the ABCMR approved) denial of the

Petitioner Whistle Blower protection when his own

findings validated Petitioner was replaced after stating he

was “prepared” to blow the whistle on the Commander, 2

AD, responsible, under non-delegable theory of command

responsibility Application of Yamishita, 327 U.S. 1 (1946),

for knowing about war crimes within his command. See,

Whistle at APP E, (A64-A81).

In his complaint and request for Whistleblower protection

APP E, (A64-A81) the Petitioner concedes that he informed

the CG of Grave Breach of the Geneva Convention and

informed his Judge Advocate superior, who took reprisal,

immediately after Petitioner's advice to CG 2AD.

Petitioner’s original complaint sets forth his belief that his

threats or preparations to testify or report wrongs were

successful because his suggestions were adopted and

20,000 refugees were processed and returned back to

Saudia Arabia from Iraq, making their refugee status

verifiable and extending international protections

unavailable to mere “internally displaced” (traitors).

The ABCMR approved the whistle blower Investigator’s

denial of Whistle Blower protection by indulging the

pretext that the SJA VII Corps, (officer taking reprisal) who

fired Petitioner the next day, and later terminated (in great

detail) his career for over zealousness, didn’t know about

Petitioner’s communications with the IG 2 AD. Even if he

didn’t know of Petitioner’s reports to the IG, Petitioner’s

reports of war crimes to his superior (the officer taking

reprisal), and the follow on repression of breaches using

threats of preparing to testify to the CG 2AD, are

ABSOLUTELY sufficient to constitute both protected

disclosures and “preparing” to make a protected disclosure

invoking whistle blower protection. At the time the

ABCMR reviewed Petitioner's case, Whistle Blower

Protection was expanded far beyond the narrow definition:

of protected communication applied by the Investigating

officer. See APP J, (A139-A155). As a function of

correcting unfairness (injustice) the ABCMR should have

liberally construed this remedial legislation as

Congressionally strengthened due to DoD’s past improper

failure to implement the obvious Congressional intent

behind “preparing” in the first place. At the time of

ABCMR review, The Statute provided:

No person may take (or threaten to take) an

unfavorable personnel action, or withhold (or

threaten to withhold) a favorable personnel

action, as a reprisal against a member of the

armed forces for making or preparing -

(A) a communication to a Member of

Congress or an Inspector General that (under

subsection (a)) may not be restricted; or

(B) a communication that is described in

subsection (c)(2) and that is made (or prepared

to be made) to -

(ij) a Member of Congress;

(ij) am Inspector General (as defined in

subsection (i)) or any other Inspector General

appointed under the Inspector General Act of

1978;

(iij)ja member of a Department of Defense audit,

inspection, investigation, or law enforcement

organization; or

(iv) any other person or organization (including

any person or organization in the chain of

mand

command) designated pursuant to regulations

or other established administrative procedures

23

(emphasis added) See

10 USC 1034 at A161-176

Even if Petitioner’s communication that superiors were not

in compliance with the GC did not meet “preparing to

contact Congress” definition, the ABCMR abused its

discretion when it failed to accord relief because the statute

clearly protects disclosures to IG who reports to the

Commanding General Petitioner went to when his

complaints to the IG failed to repress the GC violations.

Petitioner has not seen even a contrived “summary” of any

Statement given by his superior. However, it is clear that

the superior officer who took reprisal knew of Petitioner's

legal advice to the CG 2AD. Petitioner had earlier told his

superior he was going to do this (counsel compliance to his

CG 2AD) and his superior made it clear that he did not

believe petitioner should do so. In fact, after Petitioner

called his superior JA and told him he had done so.

Petitioner was immediately “relieved” (fired as SJA ? AD).

The protected communication was characterized, not as

legal advice but as excessive zeal and resulted in

Petitioner’s termination through a virtual cavalcade of

adverse personnel actions, including Petitioner's negative

OER, the appeal of which led to further reprisal.

Petitioner’s Superior who took reprisal, had opined that the

Geneva Conventions, APP Q, (A179-A256) did not apply.

His confused (albeit career enhancing) legal opinion

regarding the Geneva Conventions was corroborated in the

Statement of the SJA of 2AD Col Chapman, another of his

subordinates. ABCMR at APP J, (A93). Petitioner

requests the court rule, that as a matter of law, it is unjust

and unfair, that the ABCMR failed to “correct”, military

records reflecting unfavorably upon a mere, Captain,

legally, ethically and morally required to truthfully counsel

his Commanding General as to his painful preparations to

testify truthfully regarding his actions/inactions in order to

repress grave breeches of the Geneva‘Conventions. APP Q,

(A179-A2S6). Even where, as here the erroneous legal

opinions he was forced to disagree with, were those of his

superior SJA or the National Command Authority (and

legal advisors thereto).

Vv. The ABCMR disregarded the plain statutory

language in 10 USC 1034 which extends protection to

those “preparing” to contact’ Congress: Congress

extended Whistle Blower Protection, 10 USC 1034, to

those “preparing” to contact Congress. Neither 10

U.S.C.A. § 1034, nor the DoD directive, DOD DIR. 7050.6

defines “preparing”. § The floor debate over the intent

behind the “preparing to make” in the Byrnes Amendment

is instructive. The amendment was “to permit any man. . .

to sit down and take pencil and paper and write to his

Congressman or Senator.” 97 CONG. REC. 3775, 3776

(1951). The ABCMR and judicial failure to apply

“prepares to make” analysis to Petitioner’s facts is

reversible error. Congressional intent was to protect one

“known” to be preparing to communicate with his or her

Congressperson.

The whistle blower investigating officer’s report States:

Major Talbot 2AD IG stated he was aware through second

or third-hand information that Captain Kerian and the

Commanding General, 2nd Armored Division (Forward)

had words about the Geneva Convention and that Captain

Kerian had told the Commanding General that he would go

to jail unless he followed Captain Kerian’s advice. APP F

(A84).

Actually, the Petitioner merely told the CG 2AD that he

was prepared to testify truthfully regarding his, the on-sight

commander’s legal responsibility to assure Geneva

Convention compliance. Petitioner said nothing of criminal

laws or jail. Petitioner's “preparations” to go to Congress

or an IG, are therefore a corroborated matter of record and

25

the failure by administrative and Judicial fora to date to

consider the possibility that Plaintiff is entitled to Whistle

Blower protection where he was caught “preparing” to

complain to Congress about breaches of the Geneva

Convention, is reversible error. Petitioner not only

informed his Commanding General that he was prepared to

testify that the CG was personally responsible for deaths of

protected persons, he informed his Judge Advocate superior

(officer taking reprisal) that he had done so, and was

immediately relieved. Petitioner fell squarely within the

Congressionally defined category of persons entitled to

whistle blower protection as one “preparing” to contact

Congress. 10 USC 1034, APP N (A161-A177). Petitioner,

though fired as SJA 2AD the next day, was gratified the

refugees lives were protected by being IDd and (many but

not all) moved from Iraq back into Saudia Arabia (some

were flown in from other holding areas/refugee camps in

Iraq).

VI. Contrary to the District Courts holdings, 10 U.S.

C.. 36 Sec. 628 (g) specifically provides for judicial

review of the military service’s refusal to refer a

“corrected” Officer Efficiency report to a Special |

Selection Board for reconsideration. 10 U.S. C. 36 Sec.

628 (g) provides:

A court of the United States may review a

determination by the Secretary of a military

department under subsection (a)(1) or (b)(1) not

to convene a special selection board in the case

of any person. In any such case, the court may

set aside the Secretary's determination only if

the court finds the determination to be - (i)

arbitrary or capricious; (ii) not based on

substantial evidence; (iii) a result of material

error of fact or material administrative error;

or (iv) otherwise contrary to law. Id at (1) (A)

26

The SRB failed to review Petitioner’s case for unjustness and

unfairness or allow reconsideration by a special selection

board of Petitioner’s records. The agency did not follow its

own rulings and made Petitioner’s records even worse than

“corrected”. APP H (A107-A114). Further, where the

EDNY/2d Circuit found Petitioner’s complaint to be a non-

reviewable military matter, the trial court also disregarded 10

US. C. 36 Sec. 628(i) which provides :

Nothing in this section limits--

(1) the jurisdiction of any court of the United States under

any provision of law to determine the validity of any law,

regulation, or policy relating to selection boards; or

(2) the authority of the Secretary of a military department

to correct a military record under section 1552 of this title.

POINt Il: Where di rsued

own lati where a ba

me eng apes court comme reverie err

discharge was barred by the statute of limitations.

The EDNY and 2d Circuit decisions are inconsistent with

respect to the Statute of Limitations. The EDNY found that

Petitioner’s case was not time barred. APP A (A1-A44) in

light of Blassingame v. Secretary of Navy 866 F.2d 556 (2d

Cir. N.Y. 1989). The second opinion, inexplicably, dismissed

all Plaintiff's causes of action. APP B, (A45-A59). The

Second Circuit affirmed: “essentially for the reasons stated in

its Orders of October 1, 2001 and January 22, 2002,”

Petitioner relied upon Blassingame v. Secretary of Navy,

866 F.2d 556 (2d Cir. N.Y. 1989) for the proposition that

the Military and their agents could not violate their own

military regulations (much Jess act in bad faith as in the

instant case) and assert the statute of limitations. Because

27

Blassingame is still the law in the 2d Circuit, the District

Court’s assertion of a time bar is reversible error.

Petitioner urges the Supreme Court adopt the admittedly

minority rule of law: i.e., that the statute of limitation

begins to mn only after proper exhaustion of administrative

remedies through military corrections boards, to resolve the

current Conflicts between the Circuits on this issue.

The statute of limitations remain equitably tolled because,

war crimes were never investigated or if investigated,

because same was wrongfully denied Petitioner despite

repeated written requests to DoD agencies and officers, to

the Secretary of Defense. APP Z. (A326-A343). If such a

deprivation comports with Due Process I(it does not) same

was at least unjust and correction appropriately mandated.

The Supreme Court has made clear that the Statute of

limitations is a shield of equity and subject to waiver,

estoppel, and equitable tolling. For instance in analyzing a

late EEOC filing and finding same not jurisdictional the

court reviewed the structure of Title VII, the congressional

policy underlying it, and the reasoning of its earlier cases

and found these considerations mandated rejection of a

Statute of limitations defense. See, Zipes v. Trans World

Airlines, Inc., 455 U.S. 385, 393 (1982).

Such tolling issues are resolved by analysis as to whether or

not an equitable exception was generally-recognized at

common jaw at the time of the statute’s enactment and

whether the equitable exception is incorporated, or

foreclosed, by the language of the statute or other

indications of legislative intent. With respect to Military

Correction Board APP T (A278-A289), Congress APP N

(A161-A177) the regulation, as well as the judiciary.

F ir. (court can

order correction board to decide whether to waive statute of

limitations) have all stated the waiver is appropriate in the

28

\

interest of justice the law is clearly in favor of waiving the

statute in the interest of substantial justice.

if the events surrounding the murder of the Iraqi’s who

objected to being refouled and weaned into Iraq had been

investigated and disclosed as required by law (GC TV, APP Q

(A179-A264), and Military Regulations, APP R (A256-

A264)), a plethora of evidence would have shown Petitioner’s

disclosures to be mandated by the GC, protected by binding

law; and not career-terminal overzealousness. The post

cease-fire occupational events at issue involved the actions of

multiple nations of the coalition who together, under cover of

United Nations mandate, worked together to frustrate the

Geneva Conventions. This is apparently not unusual. See

Article: United Nations and The Geneva Conventions, by Roy

Gutman. APP N, (A290-A297) (explaining that U.N

initiatives frequently disregard Geneva Convention

requirements).

Thus, the Petitioner’s request for equitable relief at para 65

(APP AA, A383) of his amended complaint, (asking for the

protections of an International Criminal Court and that the

Supreme Court enjoin future U.S. involvement in United

Nations based coalitions and mandates outside the strictures

of the Geneva Convention) are necessary to vindicate

Constitutionally mandated respect for treaties and customary

International Law. The GC affords United States Citizens

protection from reprisal and “terror” (indiscriminate war on

innocent civilians) an indiscriminate slaughter; it provides

military service members’ protection from torture and other

forms of reprisal against American prisoners of war (and

contractors).

It is long established in this court’s jurisprudence that the

Statute of limitations is an equitable concept. See Bailey v.

Glover, 88 U.S. (21 Wall.) 342, 347 (1874). See also 2 H.

G. Wood, Limitation of Actions 275, at 1363 (4th ed. 1916)

(stating that it is a rule of equity in United States courts

"that where relief is asked on the ground of actual fraud,

especially if the fraud has been concealed, that time will not

run in favor of the defendant until the discovery of the

fraud or until, with reasonable diligence, it might have been

discovered”).

In the instant case Petitioner, despite numerous FOJA and

PA requests, and specific requests to the ABCMR and

Secretary of Defense APP Z, (A326A-A384) has not been

allowed uncensored versions of his own whistle blower

reprisal investigation or any anciliary investigations into the

facts at issue and, remains unaware of what evidence was

used against him, and any investigations conducted. APP Z,

weengtiiniing See Holmberg v. Armbrecht, 327 U.S. 392,

97 (1946)). In Holmberg, the Court held that equitable

aie applies where plaintiff has been injured by fraud and

remains ignorant of the fraud, "though there be no special

circumstances or efforts on the part of the party committing

the fraud to conceal it from the knowledge of the other

party.” Holmberg, __ 327 ! ae 397,

CONCLUSION: This Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

should be GRANTED.

DATED: June 25, 2005

Ae oaeh

Paul Kerian, Petitioner, Pro Se

195 E. Argyle St.,

Valley Stream, NY 11580

(516) 792-6500

CONTENTS OF APPENDIX

A.

Revised Memorandum aad Order, EDNY, DJ Trager

dtd October 16, 2001................ceeceeeeee0ee AL-A44

Revised Memorandum and Order, EDNY, DJ Trager

Ee SEED Bl, dee ecocccecccceccccsvcesscsecoon A45-AS9

2d Circuit Summary Affirmation of EDNY, December

_ 2d Circuit denial of Request for Reconsideration with

Suggested en banc, March 31, 2005.............. A63-64

Petitioners Request for Whistle Blower

Protection, dtd November 20, 1991 ............ A681

DoD/DA Whistle Blower Reprisal Investigation

(undated) & December 11,1992 letter from

Appeal of Officer Efficiency Report (OER)

to Army Special Review Board (SRB).......A100-A106

Decision on Adverse OER by SRB.............A107-114

Petitioner's Appeal of denial of whistle Blower

protection and SRB action to Army Board for.

Correction of Military Records (ABCMR)..A115-A138

31

-_

Denial of whistle Blower protection and Correction

of Military Records by ABCMR..............A139-A155

Final Denial of Relief by Army and

Appeal Rights Advisement.............-..... A155-A158

pg tl | ee A158

Correction of Military Records,

_. 4) ery See A159-161

Military Whistle Blower Protection,

. | Se ee A161-A177

Conspiracy to impede or injure officer,

BD Uae 1 BOE cevecicicccocscceneouseccsidonmen A176-A177

Conspiracy to interfere with civil rights,

ke. 0 i eetcssiccccsicnntativadntnnsanacii A177-Al178

Geneva Convention (TV) relative to the

Protection of Civilian Persons in Times

of War, Geneva, 12 August 1949............. A179-A256

DoD Directive 5100.77, DoD Law of

War Program, December 9, 1998............. A256-A265

DoD Directive 7056.6, Military Whistle

blower Protection, November 20, 1989........266-A275

Army Regulation 15-185, Army Board for Correction

of Military Records, Feb. 29, 2000...... .... A275-A279

32

BB.

Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Instruction

(CJCST) IMPLEMENTATION OF THE DOD LAW

OF WAR PROGRAM 5810.01, 25 Maich

Dee Dowicovtssncecsssecsecnvebiicresuedeeomnecbieee A279-A291

Article: United Nations and The Geneva Conventions,

BaP RR GER ccncpentccvcyeovcctecceqcosons A292-A299

Administrative Procedures Act, 5 USCS § 706....A300

Special selection boards, 10 USCS § 628...A301-A306

Petitioner’s Class Action Complaint,

GRD BOO ee Picdcivcesdentcintceséconsnteceue A307-A327

Miscellaneous correspondence evidencing

refusal to investigate, denial of administrative

Be ccnasbecccacannconmnenssgas topdedquanes A328-A344

Petitioner’s Amended Complaint............. A345-A386

Petitioner/Whistle blower Officer Efficiency

Reports before (clean legible) and after winning

“correction” (dark voided) using Army Whistle

Blower protection and executive branch

administrative “justice” process............... A387-A392

33

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

Civil Action No. CV 00-745 (DGT)

MEMORANDUM AND

REVISED ORDER

PAUL D. KERIAN

against —

LOUIS CALDERA, Secretary of the Army,

WILLAIM S. COHEN, Secretary of Defense,

JANET RENO, United States Attorney

General, and TODD D. WEST, Secretary of

Veterans Affairs,

Defendants.

TRAGER, District Judge:

Plaintiff Paul Kerian, a iawyer, brings this pro se action

asserting a variety of claims against the former Secretary of

the Army, Secretary of Veterans Affairs and U.S. Attorney

General. Kerian alleges that the Secretaries of the Army and

Defense, by and through their respective departments,

Department of the Army (“ DA”) and Department of Defense

(“DOD”), forced Kerian to leave active military service.

Kerian appears to allege that his discharge violated the Due

Process and Equal Protection guarantees of the Fifth

Amendment as well as the Whistleblower Protection Act,

Freedom of Information Act, Privacy Act, and

Administrative Procedures Act (“APA”).

Against the Secretary of Veterans Affairs, Kerian alleges that

his agency, the Veterans Administration (“VA”) has

discriminated against Kerian based upon his status

as a disabled person in violation of the Due Process

Al

and Equal Protection guarantees of the Fifth Amendment,

Rehabilitation Act and Americans with Disabilities Act. In

addition, Kernan claims that the Department of Justice

(“DOJ”) is preventing him from practicing law in violation

of the Due Process and Equal Protection guarantees of the

Fifth Amendment. Defendants now move to dismiss all of

Kerian’s claims.

Background

Kerian served as an Army Judge Advocate General

(“JAG”) during a period of time which included Operations

Desert Storm of the Persian Gulf War. Lekakis Decl., Lxh.

A (Kerian’s Amended Compliant) at 2a, 11, 15. Kerian

claims that during the Desert Storm Operation he was forced

to participate in war crimes perpetrated by the Army against

the Iraqi civilian refugees and prisoners of war. Id. at FJ 2a,

8-11. He reported these “crimes” to his superior Judge

Advocate and later to the Inspector General (“IG”) and

commanding General. Id. at {7 14, 34.

In 1991 Kerian received an unfavorable Officer

Efficiency Report (“OER”) from his superior officer and

was later denied an end-of-tour award and promotion to

Major. Id. at 4 15 -16. After denial of the promotion,

Kerian chose to leave active military service and avail

himself to the Army's Voluntary Separation Incentive, a

separation incentive payment for officers who wish to leave

active military service. Id. at | 16. Pursuant to

participation in this program, Kerian receives an annual

payment in the amount of $11,233.89 for 22 years. Lekakis

Decl., Exh. Bat ll, 293.

However, Kerian believed that he was denied his

promotion and other accolades in retaliation for his

conversations with the 1G, and in November 1991 he filed a

whistle blower protection petition along with a

request for an investigation of the alleged war

A2

crimes with the DA and the DOD. Id. at 917. Lekakis

Decl., Exh. B at 102-13. Kerian’s request was denied, and,

in a memorandum dated December 16, 1992, Kerian

appealed the denial of whistle blower protection top the

Army Board for the Correction of Military Records

(“ABCMR”) and petitioned for the correction of his military

record by removal of the negative portion of the OER at

issue. Lekakis Decl., Exh. B at 86-100. claiming that

Kerian had not yet appealed the OER and therefore not

exhausted all administrative remedies available, the Board

responded in a letter dated February 19, 1993 that it would

not yet consider his application. Id, at 72-75. The ABMCR

also affirmed the decision of the DA and DOD regarding his

request for whistle blower protection. Id.

In a memorandum dated November 30, 1993, Kerian

administratively appealed the OER in question. Id. at 62-

64. On August 23, 1994, a Case Summary was prepared by

the Officer Speciai Review Board (“OSRB”) which

concluded that the senior rater who had given Kerian an

apparently less favorable review had not served in that

capacity for the required minimum number of days to be able

to rate Kerian. The OSRB decided that the whole portion of

the senior rater’s comments would be removed and replaced

with the statement: “I am unable to evaluate the rated officer

because 1 have not been his senior rater for the required

number of days.” Id. at 12-13, 29-32, 58. The OSRB

further determined that it was not convinced that Kerian

would have been promoted had the change been made before

Kerian was considered for promotion. Id. at 33, 58.

Kerian continued to believe, however, that the initial

decision not to promote him to Major and the decision of the

OSRB constituted retaliation for his alleged prior whistle

blower activities, and on September 12, 1994 he filed a claim

with the IG requesting that an investigation be undertaken to

determine the merits of his compliant. Id. at 57.

The IG requested that he provide some factual basis

A3

for his allegation that the ORSB board members reprised

against him because they would not conduct investigation

based purely on Kerian’s speculation. Id, at 22-24. Kerian

failed to provide this additional information, and in letter

dated March 7, 1995, the IG informed him his case had been

closed. Id. at 21.:

Kerian subsequently re-petitioned the ABCMR for the

correction of his military records and re-appealed the denial

of whistle blower protection. Lekakis Decl., Exh. A at 4 22,

Exh. B at 57. included in this re-appeal to the ABCMR was

Kerian’s request for administrative review of the alleged

defective DOD/DA and SIB process and procedure and the

“star chamber” nature of the proceedings. Lekakis Decl.,

Exh. A at 9 22. The ABCMR denied relief. Id. at 4 24,

Lekakis Decl., Exh. B at 1-2. Kerian did not attempt to

present any further evidence.

As a result of the time Kerian spent in active military

service, he hus a service connected skin condition and had

been granted by defendant Department of Veteran’s Affairs ~

(VA) a 10% disability and the right to receive disability

compensation in the amount of approximately $90.00 per

month. Lekakis Decl., Exh. A at 4.55, Exh. C at 1-2. Kerian

was given the option to to receive military pay for the

performance of active or inactive duty in lieu of VA benefits

while on reserve duty, and he elected to co so. Lekakis

Decl., Exh. D at I.

After Kerian’s discharge from the Army, he obtained

employment with the United States Department of Justice,

Immigration and Naturalization Service (“INS”). See

Lekakis Decl.,{) Exh. A at 4% 62. As part of his

responsibilities, Kerian has adjudicated and later supervised

others adjudicating application for political asylum. Id. As

an employee of the Department of Justice, Kerian is

prohibited by DOJ regulations from engaging in any

outside practice of law. See 5 C.F.R. § 3801.106.

A4

Discussion

(1) Statue of limitations.

Kerian’s first claim for relief challenges the

circumstances which led to his participation in the Army's

Voluntary Separation Incentive claiming. It appears that he

is claiming that he was constructively discharged from the

Army. Defendants he moved to dismiss this claim on the

ground that it is barred by the statute of limitations. It states,

in relevant part:

every civil action commenced against theUnited States shall

be barred unless the complaint is filed within six years after

the right of action first accrues. The action of any person

under legal disability or beyond the seas at the time the claim

accrues may be commenced within three years after the

disability ceases.

28 U.S.C.A. § 2401 (West Supp. 2001). It is well settled in

the Second Circuit that the statue of limitations on a

serviceman’s challenge to the terms underlying his discharge

from military service begins to run at the time of the

discharge. See Boruski v. Unites States Gov't, 493 F. 2d

301, 304n.5 (2d Cir. 1974); Long y. United States, 616 F.

Supp. 1280, 1284 (E.D.N.Y. 1985). Kerian was discharged

from the Army on February 25, 1993, see Lekakis Decl.,

Exh. B at 6, 293 (Certificate of Release or Discharge from

Active Duty at § 12b). | The period of time in which Kerian

could have brought this cause of action therefore expired on

Feb. 25, 1999. 2 Kerian, however, did not file his

complaint until Feb. 4, 2000, nearly one year after the statue

of limitations expired. See Lekakis Decl., Exh. A at 35.

Kerian alleges that the court should toll the statue of

limitations for equitable reasons. Id. at 4 4. The Second

Circuit has recognized that there may be

“extraordinary circumstances” in which a part may

AS

not be able to file on a timely basis and equitable tolling

there allows “courts to

‘Although on a motion to dismiss a district court must

limit itself to a consideration of facts alleged on the face of

_ the complaint and any documents attached as exhibits or

incorporated by reference, sce Goldman v, Belden, 754 F.

2d 1059, 1065-66 (2d Cir. 1985), the Second Circuit has held

that a court may consider any documents upon which

plaintiff relies in his complaint and which plaintiff had in his

possession and relied upon in bringing suit. See Cortec

Industries, Inc. v. Sum Holding L.P., 949 F. 2d 42, 48

(1991); Yak v. Bank Brussels Lambert, BBL, No. 00-7821,

2001 WL 589446, at *3 (2d Cir. June 1, 2001) (extending

the ruling of Cortec beyond the securities fraud arena). In

the present case plaintiff relies on his military personnel file

and the Army’s Administrative Record on the plaintiff.

Those documents are therefore integral to the complaint and

will be considered in deciding this motion. See Yak, 2001

WL 589446, at *2.

? 28 U.S.C. § 2401 does provide an exception to the

six year statue of limitations rule for persons who are under

legal disability or beyond the seas at the time the claim

accrues. Kerian, however, does not claim to fall into either

one of these categories.

extend a statue of limitations on case-by-case basis to

prevent inequity.” Warren v. Garvin, 219 F. 3d 111, 113

(2d. Cir. 2000); see also lavorski _v. United States

Immigration and Naturalization Service, 232 F. 3d 124, 129

(2d. Cir. 2000). These “extraordinary circumstances” have

generally been limited to situations “where fraud or

concealment of the existence of a claim prevents an

individual from timely filing” and only to the point where

“the fraud or concealment is, or should have been,

discovered by reasonable person in the situation”.

lavorski, 232 F. 3d at 134.

A6

In the present case, Kerian does not allege any “fraud

or concealment” that prevented him form challenging his

discharge from active service in the Army in a timely

manner. See Id. at 134 (finding equitable tolling not

applicable where there was no fraud and concealment that

would preclude plaintiff from filing claim within the statue

of limitations). Additionally, Kerian does not claim that

there were any extraordinary or unusual circumstances which

caused him to file after six-year period had expired. See

Mamaradlo v. United States, No. 00-2474, 2001 WL 388069,

AT *1 (2D Cir. April 16, 2001) (denying request for

equitable tolling even though there were unusual

circumstances because they did not rise to the level of

“extraordinary” so as to prevent Petitioner from ste

petition).

Rather, Kerian alleges that “[g] rave [b] reeches of the

Geneva Conventions, and various other exceptions (such as

the minority of ‘illegitimate’ children)” should toll the statue

of limitations. Lekakis Decl., Exh. A at 94. With respect to

the grave breeches of the Geneva Conventions during the

Persian Gulf War, even if it was assumed that this rose to the

level of being an extraordinary or unusual circumstance

prevented him from filing his suit on a time by

“demostrat[ing} a casual relationship between the

extraordinary circumstances on which the claim for equitable

tolling rests and the lateness of his filing.”

Hizbullahankhamon_v. Walker, No. 00-2493. 2001 WL

672747, at *7 (2d. Cir. June 15, 2001) (quoting Valverde v.

Stinson, 224 F. 3d 129, 134 (2d Cir. 2000)). Kerian does not

allege that this circumstance “prevented” him from filing on

time and has therefore failed to demonstrate that but for this

extraordinary circumstance he would have filed within the

statue of limitations. See ki. Regarding the minority statue

of “illegitimate” children, although Kerian attempts to

articulate some claims on behalf of illegitimate

children of military personnel, defendants do not

A7

a

move to dismiss those claims on statue of limitations

grounds. Therefore, whether the statue should be tolled due

to the infancy of the children is irrelevant.

Kerian’s final argument is that equitable tolling of the

statue of limitations is mandated because he has not yet been

given the relief that he seeks. See Pl.’s Resp. Gov't Mot.

Dismiss (“PI.’s Resp.”) at 2. If this were a sufficient basis

for equitable tolling, every litigant would be entitled to

equitable relief. Clearly, this is not the case.

Even if Kerian had alleged that “fraud or concealment”

or extraordinary circumstances prevented him from filing on

time, Kerian would still not able to make an argument for

equitable tolling because he does not satisfy the requirement

that a party seeking equitable tolling must have acted with

reasonable diligence throughout the period he seeks to toll.

See Warren, 219 F. 3d at 113; lavorski, 232 F. 3d at 1134

(denying plaintiff's request on the basis of equitable tolling

because and “it is a common maxim that equity is not

intended for those who sleep on their “). The ABCMR

informed Kerian of their latest decision not to reconsider his

military record in February 1996. See Lekakis Decl., Exh. B

at 1-2. He therefore had three years in which to file his claim

with this court before the expiration of the statue limitations,

yet he did not file his claim until a year after it had expired.

Because Kerian has not acted with reasonable diligence

during the period he seeks to toll, he cannot now claim

equitable tolling of the statue of limitations. Warren, 219 F.

3d at 113-14.

Kerian also argues that the Second Circuit’s decision in

Blassingame vy. Navy, 811 F. 2d 65, 68 (2d Cir. 1987),

should govern on which date the statue of limitations begins

to run after exhaustion of administrative appeals rather than

the date of discharge. See PI's Resp. at 2. In Blassingame,

the plaintiff brought suit in 1984 in federal district

court after the Naval Discharge Review Board

A8

(“Review Board”) and the Board for Correction of Naval

Records (“Correction Board”) refused to honorable. Plaintiff

sought judicial review of the decisions of the Review Board

and Correction Board which he claimed were “arbitrarily and

capriciously” made. Id. The district court determined that

the plaintiff was barred from bringing suit because of the six-

year statue of limitations and granted the government's

motion for summary judgment. Id.

On appeal the Second Circuit noted the discrepancy that

arose between 28 U.S.C § 2401 (a), 10 U.S.C. § 1553 (a)

and 10 U.S.C. § 1552 (b) if the six-year statue of limitations

was always held to accrue at the time of discharge. See

Blassingame, $11 F.2d at 67. Plaintiff had fifteen years from

the date of his discharge to petition the Review Board

pursuant to 10 U.S.C. § 1553 (a) and an additional three

years to appeal the Review Board's decision to the

Correction Board pursuant to 10 U.S.C. § 1552 (b).

Plaintiff was also required to exhaust his administrative

remedies before he could petition the Corrections Board. See

32 C.F.R. §723.3 (c). Accordingly, if the statue of the

limitations ran from the time of discharge, plaintiff and

others similarly situated would be barred from judicial

revicw any time the Corrections Board rendered its decision

more than six years after the discharge date. Given

plaintiff's diligent pursuit of all administrative remedies, the

Court could find no reason, absent “clear and convincing

evidence,” that Congress intended to deny, in such obscure

manner, judicial review of Board decisions to plaintiff and

those similarly situated. See Bilassingame, 81! F.2d at 71.

The Court therefore held that right to obtain judicial review

of a Correction Board decision accrues at the time of the

decision. Id. By adopting this rule, the Court would afford

all veterans who petitioned the Corrections Board in a timely

manner the opportunity to seck judicial review of an adverse

decision. See id.

A9

\

Thus, under Blassingame, although the circumstances

surrounding Kerian’s participation in the Voluntary

Separation Incentive program and his subsequent discharge

are beyond review, judicial review may still available for the

ABCMR’s decision. Kerian was discharged from active

military service on Feb. 2, 1993. Lekakis Decl., Exh. B at 6,

293. Kerian petitioned the Officer Special Review Board on

November 30, 1993 and later appeal the Board’s decision to

the ABCMR on September 12, 1994. Id. at 62-64, 57.

Both of these actions were taken within the statue of

limitations. See 10 U.S.C. § 1553 (a), 1552 (b). Moreover,

Kerian filed his compliant on Feb. 4, 2000, less than six

years after the ABCMR decision. Kerian is therefore entitled

to judicial review of the ABCMR’s decision to deny his

request for correction of his military records since it is not

barred by the statute of limitations to the decision of the

ABCMR;; plaintiff cannot use Blassingame to circumvent the

statute of limitations for directly challenging the discharge

itself since the court’s review of a Correction Board decision

is distinct from its direct review of a veteran’ claim of

wrongful discharge. See id, at 72-73.

(2) Jurisdiction

Having established that this court is not barred from

reviewing the decision of the ABCMR because of the statute

of limitations, the court must next determine if there is

jurisdiction to hear Kerian’s claims. Kerian’s first and

second claims are against the DA and DOD, executive

agencies of the United States. The United States, as

sovereign, is generally immune from suit unless it

specifically consents to be sued and such consent is

unequivocally express. United States v. Mitchell, 445 US.

535, 538 (1980). Therefore, this court does not have

jurisdiction to review Kerian’s claims unless there is both a

grant of subject matter jurisdiction and an independent

wavier of sovereign immunity. See Ward v. Brown,

22 F. 3d 516, 519 (2d Cir. 1994). Kerian argues that

AlO

this court has jurisdiction pursuant to both the Administrative

Procedures Act (“APA”) and the Tucker Act. The Supreme

Court has determined that a service member may challenge a

Correction Board’s decision in federal trail courts under the

APA if he seeks something other than monetary relief. See

Clinton v. Goldsmith, 526 U.S. 52%, 539 (1999). On the

other hand, if monetary relief is requested in addition to the

equitable relief sought, the claim may be brought under the

Tucker Act or “Little Tucker Act”. See id. at 539-40.

A. Administrative Procedures Act

The APA authorizes district court review of an

agency decision when a person has suffered a legal wrong

because of agency action. 5 U.S.C.A § 702 (West Supp.

2001). The Second Circuit has long since determined,

however, that sovereign immunity is waived by the APA

only when the complaint seeks equitable relief. See Polanco

v. ‘ E Admini ion, 158 F.3d 647,

652 (2d Cir, 1998). In an action seeking equitable relief

from wrongful agency action, sovereign immunity is not

waived where (i) the action also seeks monetary relief; (ii)

there is an adequate remedy at law; or (iii) the action is

precluded from judicial review by statute or committed by

law agency discretion. See id. The types of relief that are

specifically barred by the APA include any “injunctive,

mandatory or declaratory relief against government officials

damages.” Presidential Gardens Assocs. V. United States,

175 F.3d 132. 143 (2d Cir. 1999) (quoting B.K. Instrument,

Inc. v. United States, 715 F.2d 713, 727 (2d Cir. 1983)).

Kerian’s claims include not only the equitable claims for

review of his military record and reinstatement to his former

position but also a request for back pay. See Lekakis Decl.,

Exh. A at 4 2j. Back pay, as a claim for money damages,

falls outside the scope of the APA so Kerian may rely on the

APA as a basis for jurisdiction only to the extent that

he secks declaratory and injunctive relief. Ward, 22

All

F.3d at 520. Therefore, this court does have the authority

‘ under the APA to review the agency decision of the ABCMR

though only equitable relief may be granted. See Clinton,

526 U.S. at 539. To determine if Kerian is entitled to recover

back pay, the court must determine if his claim can be

brought under the Tucker Act.

b. Tucker Act

It would seem that, because the statue of limitations has

passed on Kerian’s initial discharge claims, see supra, this

court does not have the authority to grant any of Kerian’s

request for monetary relief. However, this issue is not well

settled in the Second Circuit. The court in Blassingame only

contemplated the issue on monetary relief under the Tucker

Act and did not actually have make a determination because

the plaintiff had expressly relinquished any claim for

monetary relief. See Blassingame, 811 F.2d at 69.

Even if it were assumed that Kerian’s claim related to

the ABCMR decision could be reviews under the Tucker

Act, the plaintiff does not have a basis on which to establish

subject matter jurisdiction The Tucker Act grants, original

jurisdiction to the Claims Court to decide claims against the

Unite States founded upon either the Constitution, a federal

statue, or any regulation of an executive department. 28

U.S.C.A. § 1491 (a) (1, (West Supp. 2001). The “tittle”

Tucker Act grants concurrent jurisdiction to the district

courts 7 any of these same claims not exceeding $10,000 in

amount. 28 U.S.C.A. § 1346 (a) (2).

The Tucker Act provides a limited waiver of sovereign

immunity for servicemen and servicewomen alleging

wrongful discharge from military. See Janniers v. United

States Army, 34 F. Supp. 2d 850, 854 (E.D.N.Y. 1999).

Unlike the APA, the Tucker Act can, in appropriate military

back pay cases, “provide

PS OBES BER E EE EEE EEE EEE EEE EERE

Al2

> In his First Amended Complaint, Kerian asks for

monetary relief ion the form of back pay but does not specify

a dollar amount. If Kerian were to be awarded the full

amount of the back pay for which he claims to be entitled,

that amount will exceed the $10,000 limit. See Mem. Law

Supp. Def. Mot. Dismiss at 12-13. As the complaint stands

now, the government’s argument that this court does not

have jurisdiction over Kerian’s claim under the Tucker Act is

correct. His complaint would to be brought in the Court of

Claims pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1491. However, in his

Response to Government’s Motion to Dismiss, Kerian

alleges that $10,000 to ensure the jurisdiction of this court.

See Pl.’s Resp. at 4. There is no reason why this court

shouldn't allow Kerian the opportunity to amend his

complaint to demand no more than $10,000 which would

bring his action into the jurisdiction of the district court. See

Brewster _v. Secretary of the United States Army, 489 F.

Supp. 85, 88n.1 (E.D.N.Y. 1980).

an entire remedy,” including back pay, restoration to office

Or position, placement in appropriate duty or retirement

status, and correction of applicable records.” 28 U.S.C. §

1491 (a) (2), 1346 (a) (2); See Clinton v. Goldsmith, 526

U.S. 529, 539-40 (1999) (citing with approval Mitchell v.

United States, 930 F. 2d 893, 896 (Fed. Cir. 1991)). Thus,

Kerian can establish a wavier under the Tucker Act.

The issue of sovereign immunity and subject matter

jurisdiction are, nonetheless, wholly distinct and a showing

of a waiver immunity does not guarantee that the suit can

proceed — Pern of ap matter yore :

America, 175 F. 3d 132, 138 (2d Cir. "1999). A cout cual

dismiss an action “whenever it appears...that the court lacks

jurisdiction of the subject matter.” Id; see Merritt v. Shuttle

Inc., 187 F. 3d. 263, 268 (2d Cir. 1999) (declining to

reach the substance of an order from the lower court

Al3

“without first carrying out our ‘special obligation to satisfy

[ourselves] not only of four] own jurisdiction, but also that of

the lower courts in [the] cause under review,” (quoting Steel

Co. v. Citizens for a Better Environment, 523 U.S. 83, 95

(1998))).

The Tucker Act provides a waiver of sovereign

immunity to allow jurisdiction over all claims (1) founded on

a express or implied contract with the United States; (2) fro

a refund from a prior payment made to the government; or

(3) based on federal constitutional, statutory, or regulatory

law but is itself only a jurisdictional statute. See United

States v. Testan, 424 U.S. 392, 400 (1976). It “does not

create any substantive right enforceable against the United

States for money damages.” Id. at 398-99. Therefore, |

order for this court to have jurisdiction over Kerian’s

complaint, the Tucker Act requires that the plaintiff identify

an independent substantive right enforceable against the

United States for money damages. See Osborn v. United

States, 47 Fed. Cl. 224, 228 (2000).

When a contract with the United States is not involved,

to invoke jurisdiction under the Tucker Act, the plaintiff

must identify a constitutional provision, a statute, or a

regulation that provides a substantive right to money

damages. United States v. Tippett, 185 F. 3d 1250, 1254-55

(Fed. Cir. 1999). For claims founded on a statute or

regulation to be successful, the provisions relied upon “must

contain language which could fairly be interpreted as

mandating recovery of compensation from the government.”

Testan, 424 U.S. at 400. Kerian asserts that this court has

subject matter jurisdiction to hear this case pursuant to the

Military Whistleblower Protection Act, the Privacy Act, and

37 U.S.C. § 204.

1. Military Whistleblower Protection Act

Al4

Under the Military Whistleblower Protection Act, no

person may take unfavorable personnel action against a

member of the military because he has made a

communication with an Inspector General. 10 U.S.C.A. §

1034 (West Supp. 2001). Kerian claims that the Army

violated this statute when they denied him promotion to

Major because they did do in retaliation for his having

communicated to the IG the war crimes allegedly committed

by members of the Army.

Section 1034 does not establish the jurisdiction of

this court over Kerian’s claim because it provides solely an

administrative process for handling complaints of improper

retaliatory personnel actions and does not provide Kerian

with any private cause of action. See Acquisto vy. United

States, 70 F. 3d 1010, 1001 (8” Cir. 1995) (remanding case

to district court with directions to dismiss for lack of subject

matter jurisdiction); Soken v. United States, 47 Fed. Cl. 430,

433 (2000); Tureman v. Lekberg, No. CTV.A. 97-1018, 1998

WL 181816 at *2 n.6. (E.D. Pa. April 16, 1998) (“Section

1034 confers an administrative remedy with a six-month

statute of limitations, and creates no private right of action.”)

(citations omitted). Therefore, Kerian cannot rely on the

Whistle Blower Protection Act to provide subject matter

jurisdiction.

2. Privacy Act

Kerian also maintains that the Privacy Act provides

this court with subject matter jurisdiction. Lekakis Decl.,

Exh. A at $3; Pl.’s Relay at 5; see 5 U.S.C.A. § 552a (West

Supp. 2001). Congress enacted the Privacy Act to “’ provide

certain safeguards for an individual against an invasion of

personal privacy,’ by requiring governmental agencies to

maintain accurate records and providing individuals with

more control over gathering dissemination, and accuracy of

agency information about themselves.” vine v.

United States, 202 F. 3d 547, 550 (2d Cir. 2000).

Al5

Under the Act, an agency is precluded from disclosing

information in its file to any person or the another agency

without prior written consent of the individual to whom the

information pertains. See Id.

Unlike the Military Whistleblower Protection Act, the

Privacy Act does provide Kerian with private right action. 5

U.S.C.A. § 552a (g) (1) (D). However, Privacy Act claims

are subject to a two year statute of limitations. 5 U.S.C.A. §

552a (g) (5). Failure to file within the statute of limitations is

jurisdictional, thus an untimely complaint deprives the

district court of subject matter jurisdiction. See Akutowicz

vy. United States, 859 F. 2d 1122, 1126 (1988) (affirming the

dismissal of plaintiff's Privacy Act claim because the two

year statute of limitations had passed).

For Privacy Act claims, the statute of limitations begins

to accrue either from the date on which the cause of action

arises or, if an agency has materially or willfully

misrepresented any information that is required to be

disclosed, from the date on which the individual discovers

the misrepresentation. 5 U.S.C.A. § 552a (g) (5). The

government argues that Kerian’s Privacy Act claim should be

dismissed because the latest actions that any of the

defendants took that are the subject of Kerian’s first and

second claims for relief occurred in 1996. See Reply Me.

Law Supp. Def’s Mot. Dismiss at 7.

Although Kerian does not specify in his complaint the

date of the information that he requested pursuant to the

Privacy Act, it appears from the context of the complaint that

the request was made prior to 1996. See Lekakis Decl., Exh.

A at 4 23. Kerian states that he appealed the Special Inquiry

Board’s unfavorable “remedy” to the ABCMR on September

12, 1998. See Lekakis Decl., Exh. A at § 24, Exh. B at 1-2.

Given the context of the complaint, we can infer that the

Al6

“Agency” referred to is the ABCMR and that the request for

information was made some time prior to that agency’s

denial of relief.

Accordingly, the cause of action giving rise to Kerian’s

Privacy Act claim must have occurred some time before

February 8. 1996 which would allow Kerian until February

8, 1998 at the latest to file Privacy Act claim. Kerian,

however, did not file his initial complaint until February 4,

2000, almost two years after the statue of limitations had

expired. See Lekakis Decl. Exh. A at 35. The Privacy Ac,

therefore, does not provide Kerian with jurisdiction for his

first and second claims for relief because these causes of

action are time-barred. See Akutowicz, 859 F. 2d at 1126;

see also sien Sant Stn Danan of Saas, 204 F.

3d 723, 726 (7" Cir. 2000) (Privacy Act claim dismissed for

failure to bring within two-year statute of limitations because

“where the government’s consent as sovereign to be sued is

conditional upon filing of suit within a specified period of

time, strict compliance with that condition is jurisdictional

prerequisite.”), Trueman _v. United States Department of

Navy, No. 97-1877, 1997 WL 734154 (8" Cir. Nov. 26,

1997).

3. 37 U.S.C. § 204

Kerian also cities the military pay statute as a basis for

district court jurisdiction. Lekakis Decl. Exh. A at 4 3.

Although the government does not address jurisdiction under

37 U.S.C 3 204 in their motion to dismiss, we will consider it

here. See Ruhrgas AG v. Marathon Oil Co., 526 U.S. 574,

583 (1999) (“Sudject-matter delineations must be policed by

the courts on their own initiative... because it is nonwaivable

and delimits federal-court power.”).

For military pay cases contesting the nature of discharge

from branch of the armed forces, 37 U.S.C § 204 isa

money-mandating statute providing jurisdiction

Al7

under the Tucker Act. See Osborn v. United States, 47 Fed.

Cl. 224, 229 (2000). Section 204 entitles a member of a

uniformed service who is on active duty to basic pay. 37

U.S.C § 204 (West Supp. 2001); see Osborn v. United

States, 47 Fed. Cl. 224, 229 (“37 U.S.C § 204 ...confers on

an officer the right to the pay of the rank he was appointed to

until he was properly separated from the service.”)

However, federal courts do not have jurisdiction under

section 204 if a plaintiff's retirement from the military is

voluntary. Sammt v. United States, 780, F. 2d 31, 32 (Fed.

Cir. 1985). For purposes of jurisdiction, a military

resignation is presumed to ve voluntary. Osborn, 47 Fed. Cl.

At 230. For a plaintiff to rebut this presumption, he must

show that he could not exercise free choice in the decision to

separate from the military or his decision was a result or

duress, coercion, misrepresentation , or mental

incompetence. Id. On the other hand, if a serviceman or

woman is selected fro early retirement under 10 U.S.C. 638

and 638a because of non-promotion, the fact that he elects to

leave at an earlier date does not make his retirement

voluntary. Adkins v. United States, 68 F. 3d 1317, 1321

(Fed. Cir. 1995).

In the present case, Kerian does not allege that

he was going to be mandatorily retired from active service in

the Army subsequent to his non-selection fro promotion and

pursuant to 10 U.S.C. § 638 or 638a. Furthermore, Kerian

has not alleged that there is any evidence to rebut the

presumption that he voluntarily retired by showing that the

elements of duress, time—pressure, misrepresentation, or

mental incompetence were present at the time of his

separation; and the facts in his complaint do not support such

an inference. Since Kerian cannot overcome the

presumption that his separation was voluntary, 37 U.S.C §

204 is not an appropriate money mandating statute on which

Kerian can base his first and second claims for

relief. See Osborn, 47 Fed. Cl. At 231.

Al8

For the reason stated above, neither the Military

Whistleblower Protection Act, the Privacy Act, nor 37 U.S.C

§ 204 provide this court with jurisdiction over Kerian’s

money claims, so review of his first and second claims under

the Tucker is not applicable. The court does not have

jurisdiction to award Kerian back pay any form of monetary

damages and may therefore only considered Kerian’s request

for equitable relief pursuant to APA. See supra p. 8-9.

If a plaintiff challenges performance evaluations and

promotions within the framework of the intramilitary

administrative procedure and his claims are denied without a

hearing, he may then seek judicial review. Chappell v.

Wallace, 462 U.S. 296, 303 (1983). The relevant standard

of review set forth in the APA, 5 U.S.C. § 706, is that a

reviewing court shall not set aside an agency decision unless

it is “arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion, or

otherwise not in accordance with the law.” 5 U.S.C. § 706

(2) (A) (West Supp. 2001). For the court to make this

determination “[it} must consider whether the decision was

based on a consideration of the relevant factors and whether

there has been a clear error of judgment .” Blassingame v.

Secretary of the Navy, 811 F. 2d 65, 72 (2d Cir. 1987)

(quoting Citizens to Preserve Overton Park v. Volpe, 401

U.S. 402,416 (1971)).

The problem for Kerian, however, is that his complaint

simply does not contain any factual allegations in this

regard. While the complaint does allege that the ABCMR

acted arbitrarily in refusing to review his claims that the

military was violating military law, * he fails to included

any similar allegations with respect to whatever review the

ABCMR conducted of his voluntary discharge. See Lekakis

Decl., Exh. A 99 19, 20, 22. Accordingly, he does not

provide allegations from which it can be inferred that the

decision of the ABCMR relative to his discharge

was arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discretion or

Al9

contrary to law. Consequently, the defendants’ motion to

dismiss Kerian’s APA challenge to the decision of the

ABCMR relative to his discharge is granted. Kerian has

leave to amend, however, if he has a basis for alleging that

the decision of the ABCMR was arbitrary or capricious.

Consistent with this opinion, any future complaint must be

limited to the decision of the ABCMR relative to his

discharge, and the relief requested can only be equitable.

-<——-

“These allegation are addressed infra, part (5).

(3) Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act

In the first and second claims for relief, Kerian alleges

that the government retailed against him for whistle blowing

activities after he communicated with the Inspector General

about the war crimes he allegedly witnessed during the time

of the Persian Gulf War, and that, as a result, he was

punished by being denied a promotion and end-of-tour

award. Lekakis Decl., Exh. A at J 44-45, 52-53 .

Although Kerian does not specifically cite to violations of

the Title VII in his complaint, he does argue in his Response

that his action’s against his superior officers, including the

communications with the Inspector General, fall under Title

VII's protection from employment discrimination and

retaliation. See Pl.’s Resp. at 3. Although Kerian is acting

pro se, he is a lawyer, and ought not be entitled to any

special consideration. Nonetheless, even is these allegations

were treated as properly pleaded, they lack merit.

Under 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-3 an employer may not

discriminate against an employee who has “made a charge,

testified, assisted, or participated in amy manner in an

investigation, proceeding, or hearing under this subchapter.”

To establish a prima facie case fro retaliation, a plaintiff must

demonstrate “participation in protected activity

known to the defendant, an employment action

A20

disadvantaging the person engaged in the protected activity,

and a casual connection between the protected activity and

the adverse employment action.” Cruz v. Coach Stores, Inc.,

202 F. 3D 560, 566 )2D. Cir. 2000). Kerian argues that

his action—demanding and exacting compliance with the

rule of law—should be construed as activity protected under

Title VII. See Pl.’s Reply at 3. Such a construction,

however, would be contrary to the meaning of Title VII,

which is intended to prevent employment discrimination

based on race, color, religion, sex, or national origin. See 42

U.S.C.A. § 2000e-2 (West Supp. 2001). The term

“protected activity” refers to “action taken to protest or

oppose statutorily prohibited discrimination.” Cruz, 202 F.

3d at 556. Clearly, Kerian’s claims do not fall within the

meaning of Title VII’s protected activity, since Kerian makes

no allegations that the Army either discriminated against

him or retaliated against him for opposing discriminatory

employment practices set forth in section 2000e-2.

Even if Kerian could show that he engaged in “protected

activity” within the meaning of the statute, he still cannot

assert a Title VII retaliation claim because it is a claim that

arose from his employment as an active duty Judge Advocate

I the U.S. Army, and Title VII does not apply to uniformed

members of the armed forces. Spain v. Ball, 928 F.2d 61,

62 (2d Cir. 1991); Roper v. Department of the Army, 832

F.2d 247, 248 92d Cir. 1987) (finding that employment in

the military differs materially from civilian employment and

there is a need to defer to the military in matters involving

hierarchy and structure of command); Janniere v. United

States Army, 34 F. Supp. 2d 850, 853 (E.D.N.Y.);

Cedano v. United States Gov't, No. CV-86-2223, 1989 WL

23901, at *! (E.D.N.Y. March 13, 1989) (dismissing Air

Force veteran’s employment discrimination claims because

42 US.C. § 2000e-16 is “the exclusive judicial remedy for

claims of discrimination in federal employment” and it doe

not apply to uniformed members of the armed

services). The Second Circuit explained in Roper

A21

“

that, although “Title VIl was designed to protect from

discrimination ‘employees or applicants for employment...in

military departments...’. ‘military department’...include[s]

only civilian employees...not establish a Title VII claim of

retaliation.

(4) Constitutional and Tort Claims Against DOD and DA

In his first and second claims for relief, Kerian also

alleges constitutional and tort claims against the United

States military. The first court alleges that, while Kerian was

a member of the Army’s JAG Corps. Defendants Army and

DOD committed tort against Kerian by forcing him to

participate in war crimes causing him “to suffer financial and

emotional harm and severe humiliation and embarrassment.”

Lekakis Decl., Exh. A at JJ 44-49. In the second court of

his Amended Complaint, Kerian alleges that he suffered

injury as a result of the administrative remedy process made

available to him which he claims violated the Equal

Protection and Due Process clauses of the U.S. Constitution.

The Supreme Court has_ repeatedly held _ that

constitutional claims of military personnel arising out of

activities incident to their military service are generally not

reviewable by civilian courts. Feres v. United States, 340

U.S. 135 (1950); Chappell v. Wallace, 462 U.S. 296

(1983). In Feres, the Court first looked at the Federal Tort

Claims Act as it applied to three separate plaintiffs who had

brought suit to recover fro injuries they had sustained while

on active duty as a result of the negligence of other in the

armed forces. Id. 138. Looking at the history of the Act, the

Court determined that Congress did not intend to create

any new cause of action. Since the Court knew of no

previous law which ever permitted a soldier to recover for

negligence against either his superior officers or the

Government, it concluded that “the Government was not

liable under the Federal Tort Claims Act for injuries

to servicemen where the injuries arise out of or are

A22

in the course of activity incident to service.” Id. at 146.

In Chappell, the Court expanded the Feres ruling to

preclude an enlisted serviceman from maintaining a suit

against a superior officer fro any constitutional violations

since Congress, the constitutionally authorized source of

authority over the military system of justice, had not

provided a damages remedy for military personne! claiming

that their constitutional rights had been violated by superior

officers. Chappell, 462 U.S. at 304. The Court reasoned

that providing such a remedy by way of a judicial response

would be in inconsistent with Congress’ authority in this

field. See id.

The Court was particularly concerned with the

consequences of a disruption to the relationship between a

soldier and his superiors if the soldier were allowed to hale

his superiors into court, noting that ‘[t}he special nature of

military life, the need for unhesitating and decisive action by

military officers and equally disciplined responses by

enlisted personnel, would be undermined by a judicially

created remedy exposing officers to personal liability at the

hands of those they are charged to command.” Id. ; see also

United States v. Stanley, 483 U.S. 669, 683 (1987)

(affirming Chappell reasoning that “the unique disciplinary

structure of the Military Establishment and Congress’

activity in the field” counse/ judicial abstention) (citation

omitted). ’

The Second Circuit has also followed the Feres and

Chappell doctrines barring military service persons from

bringing constitutional claims against their superior officers.

See Baldwin v. United States Army, 223 F.3d 100, 101

(2d Cir. 2000) (extending bar on uniformed members of the

armed forces from bringing Title VII and ADEA claims to

also included ADA ciaims) ; Jones _v. New York Siate

Division of Military and Naval Affairs, 166 F.3d

45, 50 (2d Cir. 1999) (noting that the judiciary

A23

should hesitate to review decisions of the military because

the Constitution gives primary control of the military to the

executive and legislative branches).

Kerian argues that Crawford v. Cushman, 531 F.2d

1114 (2d Cir. 1976) is the applicable precedent governing

the present case. Kerian’s argument is incorrect for two

reasons. First, the plaintiff ion Crawford brought a suit

challenging the constitutionality of the regulation under

which she was discharged after being forced out of the

Marine Corps when she became pregnant. Id. at 1116.

Here, in contrast, Kerian’s claims revolve around the

individual injury he suffered as a result of his forced

participation in war crimes. Challenges to such individual

tort or constitutional claims are proscribed by the authority

described above. Second, Crawford was decided prior to the

Supreme Court’s Chappell ruling. Therefore, even assuming

there was some tension between the decisions, the rule set

forth in Chappell controls. | Consequently, Kerian’s

constitutional and tort claims are dismissed because Kerian és

barred from bringing such claims against his superior

officers. See Chappell, 462 U.S. at 304.

(5) Jr sticiability

a. Military administrative review process

Kerian also challenges te the processes by which

defendants Army and DOD conduct military affairs. In his

second claim for relief Kerian’ challenges the

constitutionality of the administrative legal processes made

available to him claiming he was deprived of Fifth

ADMENT Due Process. Lekakis Decl., Exh. A at 4 51.

Specifically, Kerian challenges the “star ‘chamber” nature of

the proceedings.’ Pl.’s Reply ai 6.

In drafting the Constitution, the Framers anticipated

that there would be issues regarding the military

such as those raised in this case. In response, they

A24

explicitly granted plenary authority to Congress “To raise

and support Armies”; “To provide and maintain a Navy”, and

“To make Rules for the Government and Regulation of the

land and naval Forces.” Art. I, § 8, cls. 12-14, see

Chappell, 462 U.S. at 301. Clearly, the Constitution

contemplates that the Legislative Branch would have plenary

control over rights, duties and responsibilities in the

framework of the military establishment including

regulations, procedures and remedies related to military

discipline. See id.

> We assume that Kerian’s references to the “star

chamber” is a references to the English court with that name

during the 14" to 17" centuries. Finding its support from the

king’s prerogative (sovereign power and privilege), the

Court of Star Chambers was not bound by the common law

and eventually came to be a symbol of oppression because of

its corrupt procedures, oppressive methods, and arbitrary

punishments. Encyclopedia __ Britannica ,

<http://www.Britannica.com/eb/article>.

Chief. U.S. Const. Art. Il, § 2. The Court, on the other

hand, is assigned non constitutional responsibility for

supervision of military decisions. For that reason judicial

deference’s in the military context “is greater than [in] any

other area.” Falk v. Secretary of the Army, 870 F.2d 941,

945 (2d Cir. 1989) (quoting Chappell, 462 U.S. at 301).

Furthermore, it is presumed that judges do not have the

requisite competence to make decisions about internal

military affairs. As the Court stated in Gilligan v. Morgan,

[I] t is difficult to conceive of an area of governmental

activity in which the courts have less competence. The

complex subtle, and professional decisions as to the

composition, training, equipping, and control of a

military force are essentially professional military

A25

judgments, subject always to civilian contro) of the

Legislative and Executive Branches.

413 U.S. 1, 10 (1973). For this reason the Constitution has

vested the responsibility for control over the military in the

Executive and Legislative branches of government since they

are periodically subject to electoral accountability. See id. at

10. It is Congress and the President to determine how the

Armed Forces shall best execute the business of fighting and

preparing to fight in wars. See Schlesinger v. Ballard, 419

U.S. 498, 510 (1975).

Congress and the courts have acted in conformity with

that view as a defense to legislative and executive judgments

in the are of military affairs is evident in several Supreme

Court decisions. In Orloff y Willoughby, 345 U.S. 83, 93-

94 (1953), the court noted that

Judges are not given the task of running the Army. The

responsibility for setting up channels through

which...grievances can be considered and fairly settled rests

upon the Congress and upon the President of the United

States and his subordinates...Orderly government requires

that the judiciary be...scrupulous not to interfere with

legitimate Army matters.

In Parker v. Levy, 417 U.S 733, 756 (1974), the Court

rejected both vagueness and overbreadth challenges to

provisions of the Uniform Code of Military Justice, noting

that “Congress is permitted to legislate both with greater

breadth and with greater flexibility” when the statute governs

military society. In Schlesinger v. Ballard, 419 U.S. 498,

510, the court heid that Congress did not violate the Due

Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment by enacting military

regulations that treat men and women differently when they

are discharged from service. Finally, in Rostker v. Goldberg,

101 S. Ct. 2646, 2653 (1981), the Court noted that,

when deciding the question of whether the required

A26

registration of men, and not women, under the Military

Selective Service Act violated Due Process, “we must be

particularly careful not to substitute our judgment of what is

desirable for that of Congress, or our own evaluation of

evidence fro a reasonable evaluation by the Legislative

Branch.”

Still, Congress is not free to disregard the Constitution

when it acts in the area of military affairs. For example,

though the court’s review of military regulations challenged

on First Amendment grounds is far more deferential than

constitutional review of similar laws or regulations designed

for civilian society, this does not mean that servicemen and

servicewomen are excluded from protection by the First

Amendment. See Goldman v. Weinberger, 475 U.S. 503,

507 (1986). But any decision that entails a matter provided

for by Congress in the exercise of its power is to be treated as

presumptively valid and any doubt as to its constitutionality

should be resolved in favor of deference of the military’s

exercise of its discretion so long as it is “reasonably relevant

ceoslne baci Saghan ans, dod Gear ams ae

Katcoff v. Marsh, 755 F.2d 223, 234 (2d Cir. 1985);

Mack v. Rumsfeld, 784 F.2d 438, 439 (2d Cir. 1986)

(reaffirming Katcoff).

To the extent that Kerian claims in his second claim for

relief that the administrative process made available to him

after his discharge violates the Fifth Amendment, the

Supreme Court had already determined that the forum

provided by the ABCMR comports with Due Process. See

Chappell, 462 U.S. at 302-03. The court found the

procedures provided by the ABCMR sufficient as the remedy

Congress has chosen to provide for the review and remedy of

complaints and grievances, particularly since, under the

APA, they are ultimately subject to judicial review and may

be set aside if they are arbitrary, capricious, or not supported

by substantial evidence. Id. Kerian was provided

with the opportunity to challenge his non-promotion

A27

within the framework of this intramilitary administrative

procedure and he took advantage of that opportunity. There

is no reason for this court to think that the process by which

Kerian brought his challenge does not comport with the Fifth

Amendment due process of the law. Therefore, those claims

should be dismissed.

In his fourth claim relief, Kerian alleges that defendant

DOD inappropriately rejected, and later implemented some

or all of his suggestions regarding the treatment and care of

illegitimate children of service members without giving him

credit or the appropriate compensation for the suggestions.

See Lekakis Decl., Exh. A at 4 60. After considering this

allegation in light of the standard for reviewability

promulgated by the Supreme Court and the Second Circuit,

the claim must also be dismissed. The presence and care of

illegitimate children may have an effect on military defense

efforts and any policy determination on that basis is

reasonably related to furtherance of national defense. See

id.°

b. Army foreign policy

In addition in his fourth claim for relief, Kerian makes

several blanket statements about the DOD and DA’s “failure

ed -<-<--

° For some inexplicable reason, the defendants have not

raised the plaintiff's lack of standing to assert his fourth

claim on behalf of illegitimate children of servicemen. His

claim for compensation for raising these issues, like all of his

arguments related to his time of service, is time-barred. ;

adheve to fundamental international law.” Lekakis Decl.,

Exh. A at 9 59. It is unclear from his Amended

Complaint what law or laws Kerian believes these

A28

agencies to have violated’ Here merely accuses the agencies

of neglecting “helpless ‘illegitimate’ children, of service

persons,” engaging in “criminally irresponsible conduct” and

advancing the “criminal” and conspiratorial polic[ies] and

programs of [their] officers.” Lekakis Decl., Exh. A at 4

59. It is unclear what the legal basis is for Kerian’s

complaint in this regard; however, it is not necessary that the

court try to make this determination since it is clear that

Kerian’s claims call within political question doctrine and are

therefore non-justiciable claims.

The political question doctrine, which is “primarily a

function of the separation of powers” as it addresses the

“relationship between the judiciary and coordinate branches

of the Federal Government,” requires the court to dismiss as

nonjusticiable cases concerning matter which have in any

measure been committed by Constitution to another branch

of government and where that branch has not exceeded

whatever authority has been committed. Baker v. Carr, 369

U.S. 186, 210-11 (1962). In Baker, the Court identified

six factors that may render as issue as a nonjusticiable

political question: (1) a -

” In his prayer for relief, Kerian does request that

DOD employees be enjoined from opposing the adoption to

the Treaty of Rome and the International Criminal Court

Statute but it is unclear how, if at all, these laws pertain to

the DOD’s position with regard to the illegitimate children of

service persons.

textually demonstrable constitutional commitment of the

issue to a coordinate political department; (2) a lack of

judicially discoverable and manageable standards fro

resolving it; (3) the impossibility of deciding without an

initial policy determination of a kind clearly for

nonjudicial discretion; (4) the impossibility of a

A29

court’s undertakifg independent resolution without

expressing lack of the respect due coordinate branches of

government, an unusual need for unquestioning adherence to

a political decision already made; or (6) the potentiality of

The Court had long since recognized that foreign

policy is the province and responsibility of the Executive and

Legislature. See Chicago & S. Airlines. Inc. v. Waterman

Stcamship Corp., 333 U.S. 103, 111 (1948); see also

Department of the Navy v. Egan, 484 US. 518, 529

(1988). In Chicago & Southern Airlines the Supreme Court

declared that:

the very nature of executive decisions as to foreign policy

is political, not judicial. Such decision are wholly

confided by our Constitution to the political departments of

the government, Executive and Legislative.... They are

decisions a kind for which the Judiciary has neither aptitude,

facilities nor responsibility and which has long been held in

the domain of political power not subject to judicial intrusion

or inquiry.

843 F.2d at 111. For this reason, courts are traditionally

reluctant to intrude upon the authority of the executive in

military affairs. See id. at 530. Questions touching the

military and foreign relations are generally treated as

political questions since they may not only frequently require

standards that defy judicial application but they involve the

exercise of a discretion demonstrably committed to the

executive as well as legislative branch of government's

views. Baker, 369 U.S. at 211.

in Greenham W Neninet Cruige Missiles vB

755 F.2d 34 (2d Cir. 1985), the Second Circuit

affirmed the lower court's dismissal of a complaint

A30

challenging the decisions of the executive branch regarding

the deployment of cruise missiles. Although the court was in

agreement with the lower court’s analysis that decisions

regarding the deployment of cruise missiles cannot be

resolved by courts because of the lack of judicially

discoverable and manageable standards, they “believe[d] it

even clearer that the complaint of the non-congressional

dela ddien tenet <tc Unie (aan Gonnitent tr tn

Constitution to coordinate political departments and requests

relief which cannot be granted absent an initial policy

determination of a kind clearly for nonjudicial discretion.”

Id. at 37 (internal citations omitted) ; see also DaCosta v.

Laird, 471 F.2D 1146, 1147 (2D Cir. 1973) (dismissal

of complaint because question of whether Secretaries of

Defense, Army, Navy and Air Force and Commander of

American Military Forces may follow the laws and directives

set forth by the President was nonjusticiable political

question outside the power of the court to review).

Kerian’s claims concerning the policy and programs of

the DOD and DA with regard to their treatment of the

illegitimate children of U.S. service persons are not

justiciable because they raise purely political questions for

which thee is no judicial remedy. See Eveland v. Director of

CIA, 843 F.2d 46, 46 (1" Cir. 1988). Again, Kerian is

clearly trying to litigate, not some personal injury, but his

disagreement with how the executive and military manage

this country’s foreign policy. See id.

Finally, Kerian is not content with just asking this court

to intervene on behalf of helpless illegitimate children

throughout the world In his prayer for relief he also includes

a rather lengthy laundry list of additional requests for judicial

intervention in military affairs. (1) judicial order enjoining

future U.S. military action in UN Chapter VII peace

enforcement if the U.S. fails to comply with the Geneva

Conventions; (2) judicial mandate compelling

remedial international treaty compliance by U.S.

A31

executive branch agencies involved in the Persian Gulf

operation; (3) mandate to the Attorney General for the

appointment of an Independent Counsel to investigate

military war crimes;. (4) injunction restraining DOD from

spending public funds or lobbying in opposition to the

adoption of the Treaty of Rome and the International

Criminal Court Statute or undercutting treaty obligations of

the U.S.; (5) judicial mandate or declaratory judgment for

the protection of service members’ right to protect their

fundamental humanity by allowing knowing participation in

the war fighting process; (6) judicial mandate or declaratory

judgment that members of the military be allowed to

communicate with “those would they would kill”; (7)

judicial mandate or declaratory judgment protecting service

persons right to provide the “enemy” with information to

help them decide whether or not to surrender and right to

“allow the ‘enemy’ to manifest an intent to surrender before

they kill them; and (8) judicial mandate entitling U.S.

service persons access to sufficient information so they can

assess the necessity and proportionality of response

consistent with international law.

It is unclear how any of these prayers for relief relate to

any of Kerian’s causes of action against the DOD and DA

and it is, therefore, questionable whether Kerian has the

proper standing to make any of these requests for relief.

Regardless, all of the requests mentioned above are directly

related to foreign relations and fall squarely within the

province of the other two branches of government. It is not

within the authority of this court to superintend the manner

and methods by which executive branch agencies charged

with control over the military and U.S. activities abroad

fulfill their responsibilities.

(6) Claims Against Defendant Veteran’s

Administration

In his Third Claim for relief, Kerian

challenges the military regulation under which his

A32

military pay is, and will be, reduced. Kerian alleges that his

military separation pay and his military reserve pay (Kerian

is a member of the military reserve) has been reduced by the

amount of the VA disability pay and that when he retires, the

reserve military retire pay that he will receive will also be

reduced by the amount of his disability pay. Lekakis Decl.,

Exh. A at 9 56. Kerian claims that this three-time reduction

of his disability constitutes a violation of the Rehabilitation

Act, American with Disabilities Act and the Due Process and

Equal Protection Clause of the Fifth Amendment since he is

being discriminated against based on his status as a disabled

veteran. Lekakis Decl., Exh. A at ¢ 57.

38 U.S.C. § SII is the relevant statute governing

judicial review of decisions made by the Secretary of

Veterans Affairs. It states that

The Secretary [of Veterans Affairs] shall decide

all questions of law and fact necessary to a decision by the

Secretary under a law that affects the provision of benefits

by the Secretary to veterans or the dependents or survivors of

veterans. Subject to subsection (b)*, the decision of the

Secretary as to any question shall be final and conclusive and

may not be reviewed by any other official or by any court,

whether by an action in the of mandamus or otherwise.

38 U.S.C.A. § 511 (West Supp. 2001). The Supreme

Stee et ee ee

® Subsection (b) provides for four exceptions to the

Statute; (1) by the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit as

to alleged violations of FOIA; (2) in cases involving life

insurance benefits under 38 U.S.C. §§ 1975, 1984; (3) in

cases involving housing and small business loans under 38

U.S.C. §§ 3701-3751; and (4) by the Court of Veterans

Appeal in cases where a veteran filed a notice of

disagreement with the decision of the VA with the

Board of Veterans Appeals, on or after November

A33

ral (ww

18, 1988. See New York v. Eadaro, 946 F. Supp. 240, 242

(E.D.N.Y. 1996). None of these exceptions apply in this

case.

Court first addressed the no-review clause in Johnson vy.

Robinson, 415 U.S. 36) (1974). In Johnson the Court

distinguished between a constitutional attack on legislation

governing the provisions of VA benefits which would entitle

a plaintiff to district court review and a challenge to the

Administrator's decisions of law or fact concerning the

administration of benefits legislation which would not be

reviewable under section 511. See id. at 367. Thus, under

Johnson, district courts may review actions involving

challenges to the constitutionally of veterans’ benefits

legislation, but may not review the application of such

legislation to an individual’s case. Any challenge to the

amount of VA benefits received by a plaintiff cannot be

reviews by a federal district court. See

_Tieven v. United

Sees Sone Aenean, 884 F2d 514, 515 (1989)

Kerian argues that this court should look to the Supreme

Court's ruling in Traynor v. Turnage, 485 U.S. 535 (1988)

. While Kerian id correct that the Court held in Traynor that

under 38 U.S.C. §211 a district court could review the

question of whether a Veteran's Administration regulation

violates the Rehabilitation Act, Kerian’s argument ignores

the changes that Congress made to the provisions when

section 211 was repealed. Prior to 1991, 38 U.S.C. § 211

(a) governed judicial review of decisions by the Secretary of

Veterans Affairs. In 1991, section 21! (a) was repealed and

those provisions are now contained in 38 U.S. § 511. See

Veterans’ Judicial Review Act (“VJRA”), Pub. L. 102-83,

§ 2(a), 105 Stat. 378 (1991). Congress repealed

section 211 because of their concern that “the

A34

Court’s opinion in Traynor would inevitably lead too

increased involvement of the judiciary in technical VA

decision-making."” Larrabee v. Derwinski, 968 F.2d 1497,

1500 (2d Cir. 1992) (quoting H. R. Rep. No. 963, 100"

Cong. , 1" Sess. 27 (1988), reprinted in 1988 U.S.C.C_AN.

5782, 5803).

The VJRA provides a comprehensive process for

appealing a decision of the Secretary of Veteran’s Affairs.

Under the VJRA, judicial review of veteran's benefits

determinations is to be held in the Federal Circuit. See H.R.

Rep. No. 963, 100” Cong., I" Sess. 27 (1988), reprinted

in. 1988 U.S.C.C_AN. 5782, 5809; Larrabee, 968 F.2d at

1501. Congress’s purpose in designing section 511 to

provide judicial review in the Federal Circuit was twofold:

(1) to ensure that benefits claims will not burden the courts

and the VA with litigation and (2) to maintain uniformity by

establishing an exclusive mechanism for appellate review of

decision of the Secretary. See Surge v. Derwinski, 26 F.3d

8, 11 (2d Cir. 1994), see also Larrabee, 968 F.2d at

1501. Once a veteran has exhausted all administrative

avenues by appealing the Secretary's decision to the Board

of Veterans’ Appeals, see 38 U.S.C.A. § 7105 (1991), he

may then appeal that decision to the Court of Veteran’s

Appeal, see id. § 7104. Decisions of the Court of Veterans

Appeals may then be appealed, but only to the Federal

Circuit. See id. § 7292. Given this new statutory scheme,

the Second Circuit determined that “[t}hese provisions amply

evince Congress’s intent to include all issues, even

constitutional ones, necessary to a decision which affects

benefits in this exclusive appellate review scheme.”

Larrabee, 968 F.2d at 1501 (citation omitted). A district

court may therefore only hear facial challenges of legislation

affecting veteran's benefits but it does not have jurisdiction

over other constitutional and statutory claims since those

must be pursed according to the appellate guidelines

established under the VJRA. See id.

A35

!

Insofar as Kerian claims that the reduction of his

military separation pay, reserve pay arid retirement pay by

the amount of his disability pay is a violation of the

Rehabilitation Act and the American with Disabilities Act,

this court does not have the jurisdiction to reach that issue.

The only claims, therefore, that may be reviewed by the

courts are that the VA regulation violates Kerian’s equal

protection and due process rights under the Fifth Amendment

of Constitution.”

a. Equal Protection

The Supreme Court has interpreted the Equal Protection

component of the Fifth Amendment to stand for equal

treatment by the government of all persons similarly situated.

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center, 473 U.S 432,

440 (1985).

When deciding whether a piece of legislation is in violation

of the Fifth Amendment, the general rule is that the

legislation is presumed to be valid and will be sustained if

the classification drawn by the statue is rationally related to a

legitimate governmental interest. Id, at 440. An exception to

this general rule exists when a classification is based on race,

alineage, national origin, illegitimacy or gender. When these

bases are

° In his Amended Complaint, Kerian states in the

abstract the “the laws and regulations mandating this

discriminatory result” violates the Equal Protection and Due

Process Clauses of the Fifth Amendment but does not specify

to which “laws and regulations” he is referring. Lekakis

Decl., Exh. A at § 57. It ca be inferred based on the nature

of his claim, that Kerian is referring to 10 U.S.C. § 12316

and 38 U.S.C § 5304. Under 10 U.S.C. § 12316, a

member of the Army Reserve who is entitled to disability

compensation because of prior military service may

elect to receive military pay. See 10 U.S.C. §

A36

12316 (a) (West Supp. 2001). Similarly, 38 U.S.C § 5304

states in relevant part that no person may concurrently

receive both disability compensation and retirement pay, see

38 U.S.C § 5304 (c) (West Supp. 2001). Present, the Court

will employ a heightened standard of review to determine

whether the government has committed an equal protection

violation. See id. When the claimed discrimination is based

on any other classification, the government need only show

that there is rational relationship between the legislation and

a legitimate governmental interest. See Able v. Unites

States, 155 F.3c 628, 631 (2d Cir. 1998), Cocos

International. Inc., 895 F.2d 66,72 (2d Cir. 1990).

In this case, however, it is not necessary that the court

even reach the issue of whether the government can

demonstrate that the relevant legislation bears a rational

relation to a legitimate interest since Kerian does not meet

the threshold requirement for an equal protection claim

which is showing that the government has discriminated

amongst similarly situated groups. See Eagleston v. Guido,

41 F.3d 865, 876 (2d Cir. 1994).

that Kerian is being treated differently from other receiving

similar VA benefits and Army Voluntary Separation

Incentive payments. In his Amended Complaint, Kerian

states that he is being discriminated against as a veteran and

disabled former member of the United States military.

Lekakis Decl., Ex’. A at ¢ 57. Nowhere in the Amended

Complaint does Kerian assert that there is another group that

is similarly situated to disabled veterans who are not

prohibited from concurrently receiving military pay and VA

disability oe See Patel v. Penman, 103 F.3d

868, 876 Cir. 1996) (upholding grant of summary

judgment to defendants equal protection claim because

plaintiffs failed to show that those who ere similarly situated

were treated any differently than plaintiffs); Samaad

vy. City of Dallas, 940 F.2d 925, 941-42 (5S Cir

A37

1991) (“Because the Kerians faiied to allege the existence of

a similarly situated non-minority neighborhood (i.c., one

near a location suitable for an automobile race), their

complaint does not allege an equal protection violation.”).

b. Due Process

Kerian‘s claim that the Veteran's Administration has

violated his substantive due process rights is similarly

faulted. The Due Process Clause is intended to secure an

individual from an abuse of power or its use for the purpose

of oppression by government officials. See Daniels vy.

Williams, 474 U.S. 327. 331 (1986), Howard v. Grinage,

82 F.3d 1343, 1350 (6 Cir. 1996). In order to establish a

substantive due process claim, a Kerian must show that the

government has deprived him of life, liberty or property. To

have a property interest, Kerian “clearly must have more than

an abstract need or desire for it...He must, instead, have a

legitimate claim of entitlement to it.” Board of Regents v.

Roth, 408 US. 564, 577 (1972). in his Amended

Complaint Kerian makes no such claim of entitlement to any

property interest that he is being denied. Accordingly, the

absence of any such claim by the plaintiff is a defect in his

substantive due process allegation.

Furthermore, eve if Kerian had asserted that the

government impaired a legitimate liberty or property interest,

Kerian’s claim would still not survii>. When a statute or

regulation is alleged to violate a plaintiff's substantive due

process rights, it is considered presumptively valid so ling as

the government can show that there is a rational basis for the

law and the deprivation is not clearly arbitrary and

unreasonable. See Curto v. City of Harper Woods, 954 F.2

d 1237, 1240 (6" Cir. 1992). A law will be considered

valid if it advances a legitimate governmental interest or if it

is reasonable means of advancing a legitimate interest. See

id. For claim of a substantive due process violation

to prevail where a non-fundamental right is

A38

implicated, the plaintiff must show that the conduct “shocks

the conscience” of the court. Howard v. Grinage, 82 F.3d

1343, 1350. In the present case, Kerian has alleged no facts

which will put this court on its guard when reviewing the

challenged statutes. Kerian’s complaint fails to overcome

the presumption that 10 U.S.C. § 12316 and 38 US.C §

5304 are reasonable mandates of the law which have been

enacted to serve a legitimate governmental purpose. His

claim of the Fifth Amendment Due Process violation is

therefore dismissed.

(7) Fifth Amendment Claim Against the Department of

Justice

In his fifth claim for relief, Kerian alleges that the

Department of Justice (“DOJ”) regulations on “Supplemental

Standards of Ethical Conduct for Employees of the

Department of Justice,” published at 5 C.F.R. § 3801.106

(b) prevent him form engaging in limited, part-time practice

law outside of his employment with the Immigration and

Naturalization Service (“INS”) and therefore deprive him of

a constitutionally protected liberty interest. See Lekakis

Decl., Exh. A at 4¥ 62-63. 6C.F.R. § 3801.106 (b) states

in relevant part:

(b) Prohibited outside employment. (1) No

employee may engage in outside employment that involves:

(i) The practice of law, unless it is

uncompensated and in the nature of community service,

unless it is on behalf of himself, his parents, spouse

minor children;...

The first question the court must ask regarding Kerian’s

claim is whether pursing employment as an attorney outside

of his position with the INS is protected liberty interest. The

Supreme Court has made it very clear that, under protection

of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments, a person

has a liberty interest in pursing an occupation. See

A39

Greene v. McElroy. 360 U.S. 474, 492 (1959) (“[T}he

right to hold specific private employment governmental

interference comes within the ‘liberty’ and ‘property’

concepts of the Fifth Amendment...”); Traux v. Raich, 239

U.S. 33, 41 (1915) (‘[T)he right to work for a living in the

common occupations of the community is of the very

essence of the personal freedom and opportunity that it was

the purpose of the [Fourteenth] Amendment to secure.”) ;

Schware v. Board of Bar Examiners, 353 U.S. 232, 238-39

(1957) (“A state cannot exclude a person from the practice

of law or from any other occupation in a manner or for

reasons that contravenes the Due Process or Equal Protection

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.”). Since the “right to

work for a living in the common occupations of the

community is of the very essence of the personal freedom

and opportunity that it was the purpose of the [Fourteenth]

Amendment to secure.” Traux vy. Raich, 239 U.S. 33, 41

(1915).

However, this right to engage in an occupation of one's

preference may be constrained within the strictures of due

process. See Schware, 353 U.S. at 238. The Court

recognized that a state mat place limits on a person's ability

too engage in a certain profession so long as there is a

rational relationship to a legitimate governmental interest,

id, at 239, but held that denying Petitioner the opportunity to

qualify for the practice of law deprived him of due process,

id, at 247,

The present case, however, is distinguished from

Schware. The Kerian here is not foreclosed from anything.

The DOJ’s regulation does not permanently exclude Kerian

from the practice of law. It does not even exclude him

temporarily from the practice of the law if he so chooses.

Kerian does not allege that he cannot seck other employment

in which he can engage in the private practice law where the

DOJ) regulation will affect him. Accordingly,

Kerian differs from the plaintiff in Schware who

A40

was forbidden even to take the bar examination ance was thus

truly foreclosed from his ability to seek employment as an

attorney. Id.

An employee is not deprived of a liberty interest when is

employee's power to correct.” Russell v. Hodges, 470 F.2d

212, 217 (2d Cir. 1972). In O'Neill v. City of Auburn, 23

F.3D 685 691-93 (2D Cir. 1994), the Second Circuit held

that an employee who was terminated because of charges

that he had “poor relationships” with state agencies, and his

work was not “up to par” did not have a liberty interest that

was violated because the employee had the ability to correct

these problems. Id. Similarly, in the present case, Kerian

has the ability to correct the situation so as to be able to

engage in the private practice of law. Kerian can resigning

from his position at the INS. The moment he does that he

will be free to begin looking for legal work. Kerian cannot

both voluntarily remain as an employee of the INS and then

turn around and complain that he has liberty interest in the

pursuit of his chosen profession as a lawyer that has been

violated by the government. The right to engage in the

profession that one chooses is not absolute. . See Schware,

353 US. at 239.

Similarly, Kerian’s equal protection claim must be

dismissed. In order to assert a Fifth Amendment Equal

Protection claim, Kerian must demonstrate that the

Government discriminated among similarly situated groups.

City of Cleburne, 473 U.S. at 439; Eagleston, 41 F.3d at

876. Thus, Kerian must show that he has somehow been

treated differently than others in a similar situation. Klinger,

31 F.3d at 731.

Legislation that does not employ suspect classification

or impinge on fundamental rights must be upheld against

equal protection attack as long there is a rational

relationship to a legitimate governmental purpose.

A4l

+ +] v*

Hodel v. Indiana, 452 U.S. 314, 331 (1981); Erazier v.

Manson, 703 F.2d 30, 33 (2d Cir. 1983). Legislation is

presumed to rational and will usually only be found to be

invalid upon finding that “the varying treatment of different

groups or persons is so unrelated to the achievement of any

combination of legitimate purposes that [ a court] can only

conclude that the [government’s} actions were irrationa).”

Hodel, 452 U.S. at 332 (quoting Vance v. Bradley, 440

U.S. 93, 97 (1979)).

Although it is unclear in his complaint what distinction

the government has drawn that Kerian is challenging, it is

clear that Kerian does not allege any discrimination on the

basis of race, alienage, national origin, or gender. If Kerian’s

equal. protection challenge is to governmental regulation

itself, Kerian’s claim must fail. The DOJ’s regulation

applies to all employees working for that executive

department. Therefore, no suspect classification is at issue

and this court need only apply the minimal standard of

review to determine whether the DOJ has a rational basis for

preventing its employee from engaging in the outside

practice of law when it is not for immediate family or

community service. See Cleburne, 473 U.S. at 442.

As Kerian notes in his complaint, the purpose behind the

regulation at issue is to ‘avoid any or all conflicts [of

interest] or even the appearance thereof.” Lekakis Decl.,

Exh. A at ¢ 63. Kerian does not argue that he desire of the

DOJ to prevent it is arbitrary or irrational. Sce Hodel, 452

U.S. at 331-32. Im fact, Kerian states in his Response

Memorandum that he “[does} not contest the fact that [he]

should not practice [his] profession where there might be so

little as an appearance of impropriety” and he agrees to limit

his outside practice so as to avoid the appearance of any such

conflict. Pl.’s Resp. at 11. In other words, Kerian believes

that because he is willing to limit his action, the government

no longer has a right to have a legitimate (by

Kerian’s own admission) regulation without

A42

violating the Equal Protection Clause. What Kerian’s

argument fails to acknowledge is that the question of whether

the government has violated the Fifth Amendment centers or

the government's regulation and not on the Kerian’s actions

in response to this regulation. The mere fact Kerian is

willing to conduct his actions in a way that negates the need

for the regulation does not mean that the purpose of the

regulation is no longer legitimate. Although, as a public

employee, Kerian does not loses his constitutional rights,

See United States v. National Treasury Employee Union,

513 U.S. 454, 115 S.Ct. 1003 (1995) (holding that lower

level public employees cannot be prohibited for receipt of

honoraria for writings unrelated to their work), he is an

attorney and, while he might endeavor to avoid the

appearance of conflict, as a practical matter, this is

something clearly beyond his control. For example, if he

were to handle a rea\ estate transaction which would appear

to be totally unrelated to his work, it could easily turn out

that one of the attorneys that he is dealing with has a case

with his agency. Immediately, this would raise an

appearance of interest.

Kerian also seems to be arguing that he is being treated

differently from the other DOJ employees. See Lekakis

Decl., Exh. A at 9 62. However, nowhere in the Amended

Complaint does Kerian allege that any of these other

employees are engaged in the private part time practice of the

law in a manner inconsistent with 5 C.F.R. § 3801.106 (b)

(¢.g. permitting practice of law for non-paid community

service , and/or for family members). Clearly, this argument

fall short of the minimum allegations needed to establish that

Kerian’s fifth amendment equal protection rights have been

violated since none of the alleged facts support a conclusion

that Kerian has been treated any differently from those

similarly situated. See Patel, 103 F.3d at 876.

A43

Conclusion

For the reasons stated above, the Government's Motion

to dismiss is granted and all of Kerian’s claims are

dismissed. Kerian is granted leave to amend within thirty

days but only with respect to his challenge to the ABCMR’s

After, reviewing his other requests for leave to amend, it is

apparent that such amendments would be futile. If no

amended complaint is filed within thirty days of this

decision, the Clerk of the Court is directed to close the case.

Brooklyn, New York Dated: October 16, 2001

SO ORDERD:

/S/

David G. Trager

United States District Judge

A44

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

PAUL D. KERIAN

Plaintiff,

against -

Civil Action No.

CV 00-745

(DGT)

LOUIS CALDERA, Secretary of the Army,

WILLAIM S. COHEN, Secretary of Defense,

JANET RENO, United States Attorney

General, and TODD D. WEST, Secretary of

Veterans Affairs,

TRAGER, District Judge:

A45

Plaintiff Paul Kerian (“Kerian”), a lawyer, filed his

original complaint pro se on February 4, 2000, asserting a

variety of claims against the former Secretary of the Army,

Secretary of the Defense, Secretary of Veterans Affairs and

the United State Attorney General. Among his many claims

for relief, Kerian alleged that defendants forced him to leave

active military service, in violation of his rights to Due

Process and Equal Protection guaranteed of the Fifth

Amendment. On September 28, 2001, all Kerian’s claims

were dismissed, except that as for one claim Kerian was

given leave to amend the complaint. Subsequently, on

January 10, 2002, Kerian filed a motion for reconsideration

of the dismissal of Kerian’s claims and a motion for leave to

amend his complaint.

Background’

Kerian served as a Judge Advocate General (“JAG”) in

the United States Army (the “Army”) during a period of

time, which included operations Desert Storm of the Persian

Gulf War in 1991. (Lekakis Decl., Exh. A (Kerian’s 1"

Amended Compl.) at $f] 2a, 11, 15). Kerian claimed that,

during operations Desert Storm he was forced to participate

in war crimes perpetrated by the Army against Iraqi civilian

refugees and prisoners of war. (Id. at {J 2a, 8-11).

According to Kerian, he repeatedly reported these “crimes”

to his superior Judge Advocate and later to the Inspector

General (“IG”) and commanding General. (Id. at FJ 14,

34).

In 1991, Kerian received an unfavorable Officer Efficiency

Report (“OER”) from his superior officer

A46

' The following is a brief background of the case. The

facts of this case recited in greater detail in the Memorandum

and Revised Order, entered October 18, 2001. at 2-6.

and was later denied an end-of-tour award and

promotion to Major. (Id, at 4 15 —16). After denial of the

promotion, Kerian chose to leave active military service and

avail himself to the Army's Voluntary Separation Incentive,

a separation

incentive payment for officers who wish to leave active

military service. ( Id. at 416). As a participant in this

program, Kerian receives an annual payment in the amount

of $11,233.89 for 22 years. (Id. Exh. Bat 11, 293).

However, Kerian believed that he was denied his

promotion and other accolades in retaliation for his

conversations with the 1G, and in November 1991 he filed a

whistle blower protection petition along with a request for an

investigation of the alleged war crimes with the Department

of the Army (“DA”) and the Department of Defense

(“DOD”). (Id, at Ex. A at 9 17; Exh. B at 102-13).

Kerian’s request was denied. Kerian appealed the denial of

whistle blower

protection to the Army Board for the Correction of Military

Records (“ABCMR"), requesting the correction of his

military record by removal of the negative portion of the

OER at issue. (Id. Ex. B at 86-100). Claiming that Kerian

had not yet appealed the OER; and, therefore, had not

exhausted all available remedies, the ABMCR _ responded in

a letter dated February 19, 1993, that it would not yet

consider his application. (Id, at 72-75). The ABMCR also

affirmed the decision of the DA and DOD regarding Kerian's

request for whistle blower protection. (Id.)

In a memorandum dated November 30, 1993,

Kerian administratively appealed the OER. (Id. at

A47

62-64). On August 23, 1994, a Case Summary was prepared

by the Officer Special Review Board (“OSRB”), which

concluded that the senior rater who had given Kerian an

apparently less favorable review had not served in that

capacity for the required minimum number of days to be

qualified to rate Kerian. The OSRB decided that the whole

portion of the senior rater’s comments would be removed

and replaced with the statement: “I am unable to evaluate

the rated officer because I have not been his senior rater for

the required number of days.” (Id. at 12-13, 29-32, 58).

The OSRB further determined that it was not convinced that

Kerian would have been promoted had the change been made

before Kerian was considered for promotion. (Id. at 33, 58).

Kerian continued to believe, however, that the initial

decision not to promote him to Major and the decision of the

OSRB was in retaliation for his alleged whistle blower

activities, and on September 12, 1994, Kerian filed a claim

with the IG requesting that an investigation be undertaken to

determine the merits of his compliant. (Id. at 57). The IG

requested that Kerian provide some factual basis for his

allegation that the ORSB retaliated against him because they

would not conduct an investigation based purely on Kerian’s

speculation. (Id. at 22-24). Kerian failed to provide this

additional information, and ‘n letter dated March 7, 1995, the

IG informed him his.case had been closed. (Id. at 21).

Kerian subsequently re-petitioned the ABCMR for the

correction of his military records and re-appealed the denial

of whistle blower protection. (Id., Exh. A at 4 22; Exh. B at

57). Included in this re-apneal to the ABCMR was Kerian’s

request for administrative review of the alleged defective

DOD/DA and OSRB processes and procedure and the “star

chamber” nature of the proceedings. (Id., Ex. A at ] 22).

The ABCMR denied all relief. (id. at ¢ 24, Exh. B at 3-18).

In a letter dated February 8, 1996, the ABCMR informed

Kerian that they were denying his petition and

would reconsider his application only if he were to

A48

present newly discovered relevant evidence that was not

available for consideration by the Board when it initially

denied his application. (Id., Ex. B at 1-2). Kerian did not

attempt to present any further evidence.

As a result of the time Kerian spent in active military

service, he has a service- connected skin condition and had

been granted by defendant Department of Veteran’s Affairs

(“VA”) a 10% disability and the right to receive disability

compensation in the amount of approximately $90.00 per

month. (Id., Ex. A at 955, Ex. C at 1-2). Kerian was given

the option to receive military pay for the performance of

active or inactive duty in lieu of VA benefits while on

reserve duty, and he elected to do so. (Id., Ex. D at 1).

After Kerian’s discharge from the Army, he obtained

employment with the United States Department of Justice,

Immigration and Naturalization Service (“INS”). (Id., Ex. A

at 462). As part of his responsibilities, Kerian adjudicated

and later supervised others adjudicating application for

political asylum. (Id.) As an employee of the DOJ, Kerian is

prohibited by DOJ regulations from engaging in any outside

practice of law. (See 5 C.F.R. § 3801.106).

After review of Kerian’s various allegations, a

Memorandum and Revised Order was entered on October 18,

2001, dismissing all of his claims, except that with regard to

his claim against the ABCMR. Kerian was given leave to

amend if he could allege that the decision of the ABCMR

with respect to Kerian’s discharge from service was arbitrary

or capricious. (See Mem. & Rev. Order at 25).

Subsequently, Kerian submitted a motion for reconsideration

of the order dismissing his claims, as well as a motion to

broadly amend his complaint. (See generally Pl.’s Mot. For

Recons. And proposed Sec. Am. Compl. (“Pl.’s_ for

Recons.”)).’

A49

Discussion

Under Rule 60(b)(2) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, a party may move for reconsideration of a final

order or judgment on the basis of “newly discovered

evidence that could not have been discovered earlier and that

is relevant to the merits of the litigation”. Hemric v. City of

New York, 96-CV-0213, 2002 WL 1203850, at *2 (S.D.N.Y.

June 3, 2002) (citing Schwartz v. Capital Liquidators, Inc.,

984 F.2d 53, 54 (2d Cir. 1993) (per curiam)). Such motions,

however, are generally not favored, “United States v. int'l

Bhd. Of Teamster, 247 F.3d 370, 391 (2d Cir. 2001), and

may not be used “solely to re-litigate an issue already

decided.” Shrader v. CSX Tranp.. Inc., 70 F.3d 255, 257 (2d

Cir. 1995); accord Resources N.E. of Long Island v. Town of

Babylon, 80 F. Supp. 2d 52, 64 (E.D.N.Y.) 2000). The

standard for granting motions under Rule 60(b) is very strict

and “reconsideration will generally be denied unless the

moving party can point to controlling decisions or data that

the court overlooked — matters, in

other words, that might reasonably be expected to

alter to conclusion reached by the court.” Shrader, 70

? Citations to “Pl.’s Mot,. for Recons. & 2” Am.

Compl.” Refer to Kerian’s brief and memorandum of law in

support of his motion for reconsideration and leave further

amend his complaint, dates January 10, 2002.

F.3d at 257 (citing Schonberger v. Serchuck, 742 F.

Supp. 108, 119 (S.D.N.Y. 1990))). Indeed, a motion under

Rule 60(b) “is properly granted only upon showing of

exceptional circumstances.” Int’i Bhd. Of Teamster, 247

F.3d at 391 (citing Padding Partners v. Bouchard, 34 F.3d

1132, 1142 (2d Cir.1994) (emphasis added)).

Additionally, although Kerian is proceeding pro se,

ASO

he “is an attorney and his complaint will not be given the

very liberal consideration afforded non-lawyer pro se

parties.” Guardino v. Am. Sav. & Loan Ass’n, 593 F. Supp-

691, 694 (E.D.N.Y.) 1984).

(1)

Claims Against the DA and DOD

Kerian’s first claim against the DOD and DA alleged

that he was constructively discharged from the army.

According to Kerian, he was forced to voluntarily discharge

himself from the army as a result “fraud, deception and

duress” committed by the DOD and the Army. PI's. Recons.

At 28. In its original order, Kerian’s constructive discharge

claim was dismissed on the ground that the statute of

limitations had expires. See Mem. & Rev. Order at 8-13.

Although Kerian claimed that equitable tolling of the statute

was appropriate because of “grave breeches [sic] of the

Geneva Convention and various exceptions,” the Court held

that there was no ‘casual relationship” between these

circumstances and Kerian’s untimely filing of his complaint.

Id. at 9. As a result, and because Kerian had pointed to no

“fraud or concealment” that prevented him form filing his

complaint on time, the Court held that equitable tolling of the

Statute was not appropriate. Id.

Kerian now attempts to establish such “fraud or

concealment” committed by the DOD and DA. See Pi.’s

Recons. At 19, 9 23. Kerian alleges that “wrongful,

fraudulent, deceptive and legally infirm: practices rendered

his discharge from the army involuntary. Id. § However,

Kerian still does not allege that these practices prevented him

from filing his complaint on time. Kerian has submitted

papers reciting conclusory statements, such as “fraud,

deception, duress and deceit,” but he does not explain why he

would be entitled to an equitable tolling of the statute

limitations. Thus, because Kerian still does not

point to any facts or evidence that prevented him

ASI

from timely filing his compliant, and does not allege that any

controlling law was overlooked, his motion to reconsider his

constructive discharge claim is denied.

Kerian’ second claim against the DOD and DA

challenged the way military affairs foreign policy were

conducted, including the administrative procedure by which

his claims were denied and the allegedly harsh treatment of

illegitimate children of United States soldiers in foreign

countries. Specifically, Kerian claimed that the

administrative legal processes made available to him after his

Clause of the Fifth Amendment. This claim was dismissed

on the grounds that the Supreme Court had already deemed

the appeal procedure provided by the ABCMR constitutional

and not violative of Due Process Clause. See Mem. & Rev.

Order at 35 (citing Chappell v. Wallace, 462 U.S. 296, 302-

03, 103 S. Ct. 2362, 2368 (1983))). With respect to his claim

regarding illegitimate children, it was dismissed on the

ground that Kerian had no standing to assert a claim for relief

on behalf of illegitimate children around the world. See id.

at 32. In his motion for reconsideration, Kerian does not

allege that any controlling law or evidence was overlooked

on this matter. Rather, he claims that he standing to bring a

claim on behalf of illegitimate children because he is also

“damaged goods” and suffered wrongdoing in his life. of

illegitimate children. See Pl.’s Recons. At 10-11. This

contention, however, would not have been sufficient on a

motion for reconsideration. Thus, for the same reasons cited

in the original decision, Kerian’s motion for reconsider his

claim for relief on behalf of illegitimate children of the

United States Army and certification of a class to represent

these children is denied.’

(2)

Claims against the VA

A52

In his original complaint Kerian’s first claim

against the VA challenged the military regulation under

which his military pay was reduced. See Mem. & Rev.

Order at 42. Essentially, Kerian claimed that this reduction

of his pay violated the Rehabilitation ct and the Americans

with Disabilities Act because there was a three-time

reduction of his pay. Kerian claimed that his military

separation pay and his military reserve pay had been reduced

by the amount of his VA disability pay and that when he

retires, the military reserve pay that he will receive will de

reduced by the amount of his disability pay. See id, at 42-43.

* In his original complaint, Kerian also alleged

constitutional, Kerian also alleged constitutional, Title VII,

and tort claims against the DOD and DA, claiming that, inter

alia, he was forced to “suffer server financial and emotional

harm” by being forced to commit war crimes. Mem, & Rev.

Order at 29. These claims were dismissed on the ground that

according to controlling law, Kerian was barred from

bringing these claims against his superior officers. See id. at

32. In his motion for reconsideration, Kerian fails to address

these claims, so it is not necessary to address them here.

This claim was dismissed for lack of jurisdiction.

Specifically, the Court held that, according to prevailing case

law, “a district court doe not have jurisdiction over

constitutional and statutory claims since these must be

pursued according to the appellate guideline established

under the VJRA.,” Id. at 46 (citing Larrabee v. Derwinski,

968 F.2d 1497, 1501 (2d Cir. 1992)). Kerian’s motion for

reconsideration alleges nothing new. To the extent he even

mentions these allegations in his motion, the wording is

identical to his original complaint. Thus, Kerian points to no

new evidence or overlooked precedent to present

grounds for reconsideration.

A53

Kerian also alleged Due Process and Equal Protection

claims against the VA. Specifically, in his original

complaint Kerian claimed that “the laws and regulations

mandating the discriminatory result” violated the Equal

Protection and Due Process Clauses of the Fifth Amendment.

See id, at 46, n. 9. The Court, after noting that Kerian did

not even specify to what “laws and regulations” he was

referring to, interpreted Kerian’s -

* The Veterans’ Judicial Review Act (“VJRA”)

provides a comprehensive process for appealing a decision of

the Secretary of Veterans Affairs. According to the Second

Circuit and prevailing case law, Kerian could not recover

under these claims in the district court. See Mem. & Rev.

Order at 42-45 (discussing Traynor v. Turnage, 485 U.S. 535

(1988); Surgue vy. Derwinski, 26 F. 3d 8, 11 (2d Cir. 1994),

Larrabbee, 968 F.2d at 1501).

claim as referring to 10 U.S.C. § 12316 AND 38 U.S.C. §

5204 (a).° With respect to his Equal Protection claim, it

was dismissed on the ground the “Kerian did noi assert that

there was another group similarly situated to disabled

veterans who are not prohibited from concurrently receiving

military pay and VA disability compensation.” id. at 48. In

his motion for reconsideration, Kerian again fails to make

this essential allegation. Kerian recites his original allegation,

including a new sentence stating that “[p}laintiff is a member

of a class discriminated against because they are disabled in

manner which is different and much more discriminatory

than other federal employees qualified for retired

pay.” PI.’s Recons. At 32,457. Yet, Kerian fails to

mention (1) which other “federal employees” he is

AS4

referring to or (2) whether these federal employees, unlike

Kerian, are exempt from the provisions of 10 U.S.C §

12316 or 38 U.S.C. § 5304. Thus, Kerian still does not

make key allegations necessary to comprise an equal

protection claim: that there is another group similarly

situated that is treated differently. Moreover, Kerian does

not allege that in dismissing this claim, any prevailing law or

evidence was overlooked. Consequently, Kerian’s motion to

reconsider his equal protection claim against the VA is

denied.

Kerian’s final claim against the VA was that his

substantive due process rights were violated. However, this

claim was dismissed on the ground that Kerian failed to

establish that the government deprived him of a proprietary

interest without due process of the law. See Mem & Rev.

Order at 49 (citing Bd.. of Regents v. Roth , 408 U.S. 564,

577 (1972)). With respect to this claim in his motion for

reconsideration, Kerian again does nothing

* Under 10 U.S C. § 12316, a member of the Army Reserve

is entitled to elect to receive either disability compensation or

reserve military pay. Under 38 U.S.C. § 5204(a), no person

See Mem. & Rev. Order at 46, n. 9.

in an apparent attempt to re-litigate issue already decided.

Thus, Kerian’s motion to reconsider his Due Process claim

against the VA is denied.

(3)

AS5S5

Claims against the DOJ .

In his original complaint, Kerian asserted Fifth

Amendment claims a,ainst the DOJ, alleging that he was

prevented from engaging in a part-time practice of law

outside of his employment with the INS. See id. at 50.

Specifically, Kerian alleged that the prohibition against

engaging in the practice of law deprived him of his

“constitutionally protected liberty” and right to equal

protection. See id. (referring to PI.’s Original Compl.

(Lekakis Decl. Ex. A at %§ 62-63)). This claim was

dismissed on the ground that Kerian was free to practice law,

as the DOJ regulation neither permanently not temporarily

excluded Kerian from the practice of law if he ceased to be

employed by the DOJ. See id. at 52. Additionally, it was

held that Kerian had once again failed to allege that there

was a group of DOJ employee similarly situated who were

allowed to practice law, which precluded any Equal

Protection claim. In his motion for reconsideration, Kerian

does not address these issues in any more details than before,

nor does he attempt to rectify the faults of his original

complaint by pointing to a group of people treated differently

under the sane DOJ regulations. This fact, along with

Kerian’s failure to allege the overlooking of any evidence or

controlling case law, precludes Kerian from reconsideration

of his Fifth Amendment claim against the DOJ. °

(4)

Motion to Amend the Complaint

AS6

According to Rule 15 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, “after a pleading is amended once ... a party

may amend the party’s pleading only by leave of court or

written consent of the adverse party”. Additionally, Rule 15

states the “leave to amend shall be given freely when justice

so requires.” In determining whether leave to amend should

be granted, the

district court has its discretion to consider, inter alia, the

apparent “futility of the amendment” Grace v. Rosenstock,

228 F.3d 40, 53 (2d Cir. 2000) (citing Foman v. Davis, 371

U.S. 178, 182 (1962); John Hancock Life Ins. Co, v.

Amerford Int’] Corp., 22 F.3d 458 462 (2d Cir. 1994)).

® Kerian’s final requests for reconsideration

involve the certification of a class to represent the

illegitimate children of United Stated soldiers across the

world, as well as the “inappropriate rejection and later

implementation” of Kerian’s suggestions regarding the

treatment and care of these children. These claims were

dismissed on the ground that “any policy determination on

these basis is reasonably related to the furtherance of national

defense” Mem. & Rev. Order at 36. To the extent that

Kerian does nothing but resubmit his original allegations

with respect to these matters, his motion to reconsider is

denied in the respect as well.

a. Claims against the ABCMR

In the Court’s Memorandum and Revised Order

Kerian was given leave to amend his complaint with respect

to the decision of the ABCMR concerning his discharge from

the Army. See Mem. Rev. Order at 25. Specifically, the

Court stated that if Kerian had a factual basis to allege that

the decision of the ABCMR concerning his discharge was

arbitrary or capricious, his second amended

complaint could request only equitable relief. See

A57

id. In his proposed secoi.; amended complaint, Kerian fails

to make such allegations. In fact, Kerian merely re-submits

the section of his original complaint pertaining to his

allegations against the ABCMR, containing the same

conclusory statements put forth in his original complaint.

See PI.’s Mot. for Recons. 2nd Am. Compl. At { 20. Kerian

still does not set forth any factual basis to allege that the

decision of the ABCMR with respect to his discharge was

arbitrary, capricious, or contrary to existing law.

Furthermore, Kerian does nor even attempt to correct the

faults of his original complaint and merely relies on vague

statements, which it has already been determined entitle him

to no relief. Thus, Kerian’s attempt to amend his complaint,

as allowed by the Revised Memorandum and Order, fails to

state a claim against the ABCMR.

Claims under 42 U.S.C. § 1985

Kerian’s motion for reconsideration and leave to

amend additionally asserts conspiracy claims under 42

U.S.C. § 1985(2) AND (3). ’ Under 42 U.S.C. § 1985, “such

a conspiracy to violate rights is actionable only if it involves

a discriminatory animus based on a race or some other

invidious classification.” Posr v. Court Officer Shield #207,

180F.3d 409, 419 (2d Cir. 1999) (citing United Bhd. of

Carpenters. Local 610 v. Scott, 463 U.S 825, 829 (1983)). In

addition, mere conclusory statements without factual

allegations are not sufficient to create a valid claim under §

1985. See Temple if the Lost Sheep, Inc. v. Abrams, 930

F.2d 178, 185 (2d Cir. 1991) (citing New York State Nat'l

Org. for Women v. Terry 886 F.2d 1339, 1358 (2d Cir.

1989)).

In the present case, Kerian’s Proposed Second

Amended Complaint contains only broad allegations of

conspiracy, without stating allegations to support a

claim. For instance, Kerian claims that “the

AS8

conspirators advance isolationist, unilateral sovereign

prerogatives to maintain the impunity for those violating

treaty obligations and principals [sic] for which the Unites

States stands.” PI.’s Proposed 2nd Am. Comp. at ¥ Id. (C).

Kerian goes on to state that, “these acts are illegal, they lead

to more war.” Id. Kerian fails to make clear, however, who

these “conspirators” actually are. Moreover, Kerian also

fails to make clear what he is alleging these “conspirators”

actually did violate his rights. In addition, Kerian alleges no

racial or other ‘class based animus” that would motivate a

conspiracy to violate his rights. Rather, Kerian merely

makes vague and conclusory statements unsupported by any

facts to prove that there was

” 42 U.S.C. § 1985(2) creates a cause of action

for damages as a result of a conspiracy to obstruct justice. 42

U.S.C. § 1985(3) creates a cause of action for damages for a

conspiracy to deny equal protection. actually a conspiracy

against him. Thus, Kerian proposed amendment to his

complaint fails to state claim under 42 U.S.C. § 1985. See

Temple of Lost Sheep, 930 F.2d at 178 (affirming as

dismissal of § 1985 claims because appellant’s claim only

contained conclusory allegations.)

Conclusion\ For the reasons stated, Kerian’s

motion for reconsideration is denied. Kerian’s motion

for leave to amend his complaint is denied.

Dated: Brooklyn, New York

August 28, 2003

SO ORDERED:

Original signed

David G. Trager

United States District Judge

A59

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS |

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

SUMMARY ORDER

THiS SUMMARY ORDER WILL NOT BE

PUBLISHED IN THE FEDERAL REPORTER AND

MAY NOT BE CITED AS PRECEDENTIAL

AUTHORITY TO THIS OR ANY OTHER COURT,

BUT MAY BE CALLED TO THE ATTENTION OF

THIS OR ANY OTHER COURT IN A SUBSEQUENT:

STAGE OF THIS CASE, IN A RELATED CASE, OR IN

ANY CASE FOR PURPOSES OF COLLATERAL

ESTOPPEL OR RES JUDICATA.

At a Stated Term of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit, held at the Thurgood Marshall United

States Courthouse, at Foley Square, in the City of New York,

on the 9th day of Décember, two thousand and four.

PRESENT:

HON. GUIDO CALABRESI,

HON. BARRINGTON D. PARKER, JR.,

HON. REENA RAGGI,

Circuit Judges.

PAUL D. KERIAN, Plaintiff-Appeltlant, —~

v. No. 03-6253

A60

LOUIS CALDERA, Secretary of the Army The Pentagon,

Washington, DC 20310, WILLIAM S. COHEN, Secretary

of Defense The Pentagon, Washington, DC 20301, JANET

RENO, United States Attorney General 950 Pennsylvania

Ave. NW., Washington DC 20530, TOGO D. WEST, JR..,

Secretary of Veterans Affairs Vermont Avenue NW.,

Washington DC 20420, GEORGE BUSH, Defendants-

Appellees,

For Plaintiff-Appellant: PAUL D. KERIAN, pro se, Valley

Stream, N.Y. 11580

For Defendants-Appellees: ARTEMIS LEKAKIS, Assistant

United States Attorney,

for Roslynn R. Mauskopf, United States Attorney for the

Eastern District of New York (Varuni Nelson, Assistant

United States Attorney, on the brief)

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Eastern

- District of New York

(Trager, J/.).

UPON DUE CONSIDERATION, IT IS HEREBY

ORDERED, ADJUDGED, AND DECREED that the

judgment of the District Court is AFFIRMED.

Plaintiff-Appellant Paul D. Kerian (“Kerian”), an attorney

appearing pro se, brought a_ cavalcade of claims related to

his service in the Judge Advocate Generals’ Corps of the

‘ U.S. Army. The court (Trager, /.) granted the defendants’

motion to dismiss Kerian’s complaint and then denied

Kerian’s motion for reconsideration and to amend his

complaint. Kerian appeals the decision of the court with

respect to the majority of his claims. Specifically, he asserts

that the district court erred in (1) dismissing his claims

against the Department of Defense (“DoD”) for how it

conducted its military affairs in Operation Desert

Storm; (2) dismissing his claims against the DoD for

A6él

-¢

~

retaliating against him for reporting alleged military

violations and for constructively discharging him; (3)

refusing Kerian’s request to certify, in his name, a class of

illegitimate children of soldiers and veterans to raise claims

against the DoD; and (4) denying Kerian’s motion for

reconsideration and to amend his complaint. We affirm for

substantially the reasons given by the court below. We have

considered all of Kerian’s arguments and find them to be

without merit. We therefore AFFIRM the judgment of the

district court.

For the Court,

ROSEANN B. MACKECHNIE, Clerk of Court

_ eS ‘

Oliva M. George, Deputy Clerk

A62

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Second Circuit

Thurgood Marshall U.S. Court House

40 Foley Square

New York 10007

Roseann B. MacKechnie

Clerk

At a stated term of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit, held at the Thurgood Marshall United

States Courthouse, Foley Square, in the City of New York,

on the 31st day of March, two thousand five.

PAUL D. KERIAN,

Plaintiff — Appellant,

03-

6253-CV ‘

(Seal of United States)

Court of Appeals

Second District

“Filed” Mar 31 2005)

LOUIS CALDERA, Secretary of the Army The Pentagon,

Washington, DC 20310, WILLIAM S. COHEN, Secretary of

Defense The Pentagon, Washington, DC 20301, JANE!

RENO, United

States Attorney General 950 Pennsylvania Ave. NW .,

A63

Washington, DC 20530, TOGO D. WEST, JR., Secretary of

Veterans Affairs Vermont Avenue NW., Washington, DC

20420, GEORGE BUSH,

Defendants — Appellees.

A petition for panel rehearing and a petition for rehearing en

banc having been filed herein by the appellant Paul D.

Kerian. Upon consideration by the panel that decided the

appeal, it is Ordered that said petition for rehearing is

DENIED. :

It is further noted that the petition for rehearing en banc has

been transmitted to the judges for the court in regular active

service and to any other judge that heard the appeal and that

no such judge has requested that a vote be taken thereon.

For the Court,

Roseann B. MacKechnie, Clerk

By:

(Signature)

Motion

Staff Attorney

APPENDIX E

DEPARTMENT OF THE ARMY

THE JUDGE ADVOCATE GENERAL’S SCHOOL

CHARLOTTESVILLE, VIRGINIA 22903

AETS-JA

20 NOV 91

Memorandum For the Inspector General, HQDA,

Washington, DC 20310-1720

A64

Subject: Request for Investigation and Military

Whistleblower Protection UP DOD Directive 7050.6., 10

U.S.C. 1034.

1. 1, CPT Paul D. Kerian, was the Command Judge

Advocate for VII 14th MP Bde, VII Corps, for Operations

De

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kerian v. Harvey · 546 U.S. 961 | Frix