Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Nokia, Inc. v. Naquin

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

xi

Cited Authorities

Linited States v. Locke,

529 US. 89 (2000)... oe cece cece eee.

Louisiana Public Service Commission v. FCC,

Be ae ee ee ec ddvcduvccevétcosnace

Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr,

SURG GOIN oividc cv ccvcctsaco sine.

NBC v. United States,

319 U.S. 190 (1943) ....... 0... cee ee eee.

New York v. FERC,

50S UG. 2 OGD... occ ccccvcccecccceces:

Pinney v. Nokia, Inc.,

402 F.3d 430 (4th Cir. 2004) .............

Linited States v. Shimer,

367 US. 374 (1961)... 6... cece cc eeeeees

Sprietsma v. Mercury Marine,

507 UG. G8 CIBUID «occ ccceccccocccscces:

Ting v. AT&T Corp.,

319 F.3d 1126 (2003) .. 22.0... cc cece eees

In re Wireless Litigation,

170 F. Supp. 2d 1356 (J. P.M. L. 2001) .....

TTT passim

pound 18

veces 22

TrTT 26

13

xii

Cited Authorities

Page

In re Wireless Telephone Radio Frequency Emissions

Products Liability Litigation,

286 F. Supp. 26 4746 (B0GZ) on. ccc cccccccccces 1,14

In re Wireless Telephone Radio Frequency Emissions

Products Liability Litigation,

248 F. Supp. 2d 452 (2003) .............0005. passim

DOCKETED CASES

Farina v. Nokia, Inc.,

No. 01-2477 (E.D. Pa. filed May 18,2001) ........ 12

Gilliam v. Nokia, Inc.,

No. 01-4275 (S.D.N.Y filed May 18, 2001) ........ 12

Gimpelson v. Nokia, Inc.,

No. 01-1615 (N.D. Ga. filed June 20, 2001) ........ 12

Pinney v. Nokia, Inc.,

No. 01-1456 (D. Md. filed May 18, 2001) ......... 12

CONSTITUTION AND STATUTES

Sree GEE BE. VE vctcccccccccevccscctosesooes 18

BS Cae POSED cevdescéeveccucnscotiacceness 12

Pe BESO cece ctecececvcavestvbeswcosves 1

EG GGG 6 bc os ve ccdcccceccucescess 9

Ge BG hed ccacecsevcovesacereses 12

SI CRIN iio von dinddecetncnkeascees 9

Xili

Cited Authorities

Page

GF Waa OE. wecddcepecvrewesces sénugedeaee 27

GF Pas ED Kb 44 be conecees des cuoccedawees 5

PURE GRE... iesvdesisneiee nee 2,5,9

CPUGL. SOUMIGUMAD «i- cc scccsccesecces 4, 8, 25, 26

47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7)(B)(II]) ... 0... ccc ec cee eeeees 27

Pub. L. No. 104-204, § 704(b), 110 Stat 56 (1996) ..... 10

Pub. L. No. 193-66, § 6002(b), 107 Stat. 312 (1993) ... 8

Radio Act of 1927 § 1, 44 Stat. 1162 (1927) ......... 5

Radio Act of 1927 § 4(b), 44 Stat. 1162 (1927) ....... 5

FEDERAL REGULATIONS

Paci Nk eperroererrr 11

WOR GRID 56s icacddeisccosstenee 11, 20

CORO oo sinc esséinsdciventedci ne 11, 20

47 C.F.R.§ 20.18 ....... oni ddeaat le tae 17

PEDRO oo ic leccsecathtoveencces 29

OCHS SMM .F 6cioscicckdenee 12

xiv

Cited Authorities

Page

ADMINISTRATIVE MATERIALS

An Inquiry into the Use of the Bands 825-845 MHz

and 870-890 MHz for Cellular Communications

Systems,

EP CREEED covcccvcesscccevcccscoes 7

An Inquiry into the Use of the Bands 825-845 MHz

and 870-890 MHz for Cellular Communications

Systems,

PCP CREEED voccceccecesccccescosecs 7-8, 19

An Inquiry Relative to the Future Use of

Frequency Band 806-960 MHz,

TC CRITED occcvecccccccccescvocees 7

Biological Effects of Radiofrequency Radiation,

ei oP EPOED cccccccceccccecccces: 9

Guidelines for Evaluating the Environmental Effects

of Radiofrequency Radiation,

DE ME EROTED coco Vecsccccedcocecees 9, 10

Guidelines for Evaluating the Effects of

Radiofrequency Radiation,

i Me CROOOD cocccccccccccccces 10, 11, 12

Guidelines for Evaluating the Environmental Effects

of Radiofrequency Radiation,

Ds EEEPEENUOE) cocccccccccecccescoes 11

Improving Public Safety Communications in the

800 MHz Band,

19 F.C.C.R. 14969 (2004) 2.0... cece eee eeeeees 17

XU

Cited Authorities

Petition on Behalf of the State of Hawaii, Public

Utility Commission, for Authority to Extend

Its Rate Regulation of Commercial Mobile

Radio Services in the State of Hawaii,

IO PLR, FROG cccccccvececccscvcvess

Petition on Behalf of the State of Connecticut,

WRC, FORD GED cccccvcoccccevecccesns

FCC/OET,

Questions and Answers about Biological Effects

and Potential Hazards of RF Electromagnetic Fields,

Bulletin 56 (Aug. 1999), available at

http:/ / www.fcc.gov/ Bureaus/Engineering ...

FCC/FDA,

Market Sense, Cell Phones: Facts, Fiction, Frequency,

available at www.fcc.gov/cgb/cell-phone ......

FCC/FDA,

Cell Phone Facts: Consumer Information on Wireless

Phones, available at http:/ / www.fda.gov/

cellphones/qa.html#6a ............6.0000005

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS

H. R. Rep. No. 103-111 (1993) .......... 0.00000.

H. R. Rep. No. 104-204 (1995)... 22... .. eee euees

Page

24

xvi

Cited Authorities

Page

MISCELLANEOUS

Authorization of Aynicus Participation by the

FCC in Support of Rehearing and Rehearing

En Banc, Pinney v. Nokia, Inc., No. 03-1433

Gols Cie. AME. Th, AUS) occccccccccccsescceces 16

Brief of the Responden:ts in Opposition, Citizens

for the Appropriate Placement of Telecommunications

Facilities v. FCC,

Nos. 00-393, 00-407, 00-417, 00-427

RE SED 0 60 bbe uaa Vests peceees cuss 11, 21

Dale N. Hatfield,

A Report on Technical and Operational issues

Impacting the Provision of Enhanced 911 Services

(Nov. 2002), available at http:/ / gullfoss2.

fec.gov/ prod/ecfs/retrieve.cgi?native

_or_pdf=pdf&id_document=6513296239 ...... 23

First Supplemental and Amending Class Action

Complaint, Naquin v. Nokia Mobile Phones,

Inc., No. 00-2023

(E.D. La. Apr. 20, 2001) ...........04.. 13, 15, 24

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fourth Circuit Denying Petition for

Rehearing, Pinney v. Nokia, Inc., No. 03-1433

C6Gs Cis, Re. TR, SOGED cvccevescscsceccedseve 1, 16

Theodore S. Rappaport,

Wireless Communications - Principles and

PRE GSE wh eb cencccdbsccccecccestvces 7, 28, 29

William C.Y. Lee,

Mobile Communications Engineering (1982) ...... 6

xvii

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Opinion Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Fourth Circuit Filed March

DE END Vaevvblecdevusey kone ¥veNnbas Seeeeaes la

Appendix B — Memorandum And Order Of The

United States District Court For The District Of.

Maryland Filed March 5, 2003 ................ 5la

Appendix C — Memorandum And Order Of The

United States District Court For The District Of

Maryland Filed June 21, 2002 ................ 77a

Appendix D — Order Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Fourth Circuit Denying

Petition For Rehearing Filed April 12, 2005 .... 130a

Appendix E — Article VI Cl. 2 Of The Constitution

Cie Bee COT UND oc vevaccucnpevctnebeenes 134a

Appendix F — Public Law 104-104 Section 704 ... 135a

Appendix G — 47U.S.C.§ 152 ..........).0005. 136a

Appendix H — 47 U.S.C. § 301 .............008, 138a

Appendin 5 — GF UDC. GAS ..cccssccccesvenss 140a

Appendix J — 47 U.S.C. § 332 cde veeedesctueee ea 149a

Appendix K — 47 U.S.C. § 414 .......... ccc euee l6la

Appendix L — 21 U.S.C. § 36011 ..... 1... ee eee 162a

Appendix M — 47 C.F.R.§ 1.1307 ............... 165a

xviii

Table of Appendices

Page

Appendix N — 47 C.F.R.§ 2.803 ............4... 169a

Appendix O — 47 C.F.R.§ 2.1093 ........-.6605. 176a

Appendix P — 47 C.F.R.§ 22.927 ...........44:. 181la

Appendix Q — 47 C.F.R.§ 24.51 ...........0055. 182a

Appendix R — Authorization of Amicus

Participation By The FCC In Support Of

Rehearing And Rehearing En Bane Dated April

Bp a cvvabascucvassdececdoutaesépevannes 184a

Appendix S — First Supplemental And Amending

Class Action Complaint Filed April 20,2001 ... 185a

1

OPINIONS BELOW

The Fourth Circuit's decision is reported at 402 F.3d

430, and reprinted in the Appendix (“App.”) at 1a-50a. The

district court’s decision granting petitioners’ motion to

dismiss is reported at248 F. Supp. 2d 452, and reprinted at

App. 51a-76a. The district court’s decision denying

respondents’ motion to remand is reported at 216

F. Supp. 2d 474, and reprinted at App. 77a-129a.

JURISDICTION

The Fourth Circuit rendered its decision on March 16,

2005, App. 3a, and denied a timely petition for rehearing

on April 12, 2005. App. 130a. On July 8, 2005, the Chief

Justice extended petitioners’ time to file this petition up to

and including August 10, 2005. This Court has jurisdiction

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254.

PERTINENT CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY

AND REGULATORY PROVISIONS

The pertinent constitutional, statutory, and regulatory

provisions are set forth in the Appendix, App. 134a-183a.

INTRODUCTION AND SUMMARY OF REASONS

FOR GRANTING THE PETI .ON

This case is about the proper balance between federal

and state authority over a critical channel of interstate _

communication and commerce—the modern wireless

telephone network.’ For almost a century, the Federal

' In the proceedings below, this case was consolidated with four similar

cases, and the Fourth Circuit's decision was thus rendered sub nom Pinney

v. Nokia, Inc., 402 F.3d 430 (4th Cir. 2005). The Fourth Circuit’s opinion in

Pinney embodiés two judgrients—a finding of a lack of federal subject

matter jurisdiction in four of the consolidated cases, and a holding on the

merits as to the defense of federal preemption in the fifth case, where federal

jurisdiction was not at issue. This petition concerns only the fifth case,

Naquin v. Nokia, Inc., and seeks review of the Fourth Circuit's reversal of

the district court's dismissal with prejudice of the Naquin complaint on

federal preemption grounds. See pp. 14-16, infra.

2

Government — to the exclusion of the States — has exercised

plenary control over the design and operational standards

that govern every form of interstate communication by

radio. As this Court recognized more than 70 years ago:

“No state lines divide the radio waves, and national

regulation is not only appropriate but essential to the

efficient use of radio facilities.” Fed. Radio Comm'n v. Nelson

Bros. Bond & Mortgage Co., 289 U.S. 266, 279 (1933). The

Communications Act acknowledges this need for uniform,

national standards by granting the FCC broad power over

all technical aspects of radio communications, including

spectrum licensing, frequency assig.“:nent, signal strength,

resolution of interference issues, and the “kind of apparatus

to be used” for all forms of wireless communication. 47

U.S.C. § 303.

Pursuant to this statutory mandate, the FCC has

established detailed standards governing RF emissions by

all fixed and portable wireless transmitters, including

wireless telephones. After extensive rulemaking

proceedings that included contributions and approval from

the Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”), the

Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”), and the

Occupational Safety and Health Administration (“OSHA”),

the Commission arrived at a comprehensive set of pre-

market testing standards, maximum RF emission levels, and

equipment authorization procedures for all wireless

telephones sold or leased in the United States. These

regulations strike a balance between two competing

national priorities— public health and safety on the one

hand, and reliable and efficient interstate wireless

communications on the other.

A divided panel of the Fourth Circuit has now rendered

meaningless the careful balance achieved in the federal RF

regulations. Under the decision below, state courts are

authorized to conduct their own “risk-utility” balancing of

RF emission levels for wireless telephones and to arrive at

different conclusions as to what is “safe” or what constitutes

3

an “unreasonable” danger. App. 19a-20a. The Fourth Circuit

decision thus would allow state courts to impose differing,

state-specific “remedies,” such as design, labeling, and

equipment mandates for wireless telephones — including

requirements, such as headset mandates, that have been

expressly considered and rejected by the FCC. As Judge

Kiser recognized in dissent, judicial acceptance of

respondents’ claims would “result in the complete

invalidation of federal regulatory standards.” App. 49a. This

Court has repeatedly held that conflict preemption

principles bar exactly this kind of state regulation. See, e.g.,

Buckman Co. v. Plaintiffs’ Legal Comm., 531 U.S. 341, 348

(2001); Geier v. Am. Honda Motor Co., 529 U.S. 861, 881 (2000).

The Fourth Circuit panel reached a contrary result only

by applying a legal standard fundamentally at odds with

the decisions of this Court. In particular, the panel majority

disregarded the preemptive force of the FCC’s regulations,

as if the comprehensive federal regulatory regime governing

RF emissions did not exist, and instead searched for specific

congressional authorization to displace state regulation. Not

only has this Court rejected such a congressional “plain

statement” rule, see Geier, 529 U.S. at 881 (2000); see also

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504, 548 (1992)

(Scalia, J., concurring in part and concurring in the

judgment), it is irreconcilable with congressional authority

to delegate general rulemaking power to federal agencies

against the backdrop of the Supremacy Clause.

The panel majority below also improperly applied a

“presumption against preemption” despite this Court's

nearly century long recognition that radio communications

are uniquely federal and the FCC’s assertion of “federal

primacy” over regulation of technical standards for wireless

telephony. App. 34a n.4. In the process, the Fourth Circuit

purported to limit the principles recognized by this Court's

decision in United States v. Locke, 529 U.S. 89 (2000), to the

narrow context of maritime law. The net result of the Fourth

+

Circuit's analysis is that federal regulations are presumed

to be subordinate to state law—unless Congress

affirmatively states that every aspect of the federal

regulatory regime that it intends to authorize will preempt

unforeseen conflicting applications of state law.

In addition, the Fourth Circuit badly misread a critical

provision of the Communications Act that establishes a clear

jurisdictional divide between federal and state authority

over wireless services. Entitled “State Preemption,” 47

U.S.C. § 332(c)(3)(A) denies state and local governments

“any authority to regulate the entry of . . . any commercial

mobile service.” 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(3)(A) (emphasis added).

Setting operational standards such as permissible RF

emissions, and imposing design, equipment, or labeling

duties as conditions precedent to distributing or using

wireless telephones, are quintessential forms of entry

regulation. In contrast to the Fourth Circuit, the Seventh

Circuit has correctly read the statute to “create separate

spheres of responsibility” and to reserve design and

operational standards for all network components to the

“exclusively federal” sphere. Bastien v. AT&T Wireless Servs.,

205 F.3d 983, 987 (7th Cir. 2000).

The Fourth Circuit's endorsement of a state common

law broadside into the coherence and uniformity of federal

radio regulation, standing alone, makes this case one of

exceptional importance and worthy of this Court's plenary

review. Both Congress and the FCC have repeatedly

recognized that a reliable and seamless interstate wireless

network is a national resource —essenrtial to homeland

security, public safety, and the economic health of this

country. This Court's intervention is necessary to prevent

the balkanization of network standards invited by the

decision below, which will, if uncorrected, undermine the

ability of consumers to use an FCC-approved wireless

telephone in every state in the Union. For these reasons,

discussed in detail below, this petition should be granted.

5

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Factual Background

1. Federal Regulation Of Radio Transmissions

Regulation of radio transmissions has long been the

responsibility of federal, not state, government. The Radio

Act of 1912 first established a comprehensive federal

licensing regime for commercial radio transmissions and

“forbade the operation of radio apparatus without a license

from the Secretary of Commerce and Labor.” NBC v. United

States, 319 U.S. 190, 210 (1943). Congress strengthened that

regime in the Radio Act of 1927 in order “to maintain the

control of the United States over all the channels of interstate

and foreign radio transmission.” Radio Act of 1927 § 1, 44

Stat. 1162 (1927). The 1927 Act created a new regulatory

agency, the Federal Radio Commission, with the power to

assign frequencies and regulate not only the power and

duration of all radio transmissions but also the “apparatus

to be used” for such transmissions. Id. § 4(e), 44 Stat. at 1163.

Congress built on the foundations of the 1927 Act in

the Communications Act of 1934, which established the FCC

and gave the agency plenary authority to regulate interstate

and foreign radio communications. See NBC, 319 U.S. at 214.

Section 301 of the 1934 Act reaffirmed the exclusive federal

authority established by the 1927 Act: “No person shall use

or operate any apparatus for the transmission of energy or

communications or signals by radio, . . . except under and

in accordance with this chapter and with a license in that

behalf granted unde: the provisions of this chapter.” 47

U.S.C. § 301. Title [II of the Act gave the FCC authoritv over

every technical aspect of radio communication, including

the power and time of operation, id. § 303(c), the location

of stations or classes of stations, id. § 303(d), and “the kind

of apparatus to be used with respect to its external effects and

the purity and sharpness of the emissions from each station

and from the apparatus therein,” id. § 303(e) (emphases

added).

6

2. The Advent Of Cellular Telephone Technology

Against this federal regulatory backdrop, commercial

deployment of “cellular” radio telephone technology began

in the late twentieth century. Such technology is designed

to maximize the ability of multiple subscribers to use the

same limited portion of radio spectrum without

interference. By breaking a geographic area into “cells” and

placing a base station in each cell, both the handsets and

the base stations can use significantly less transmission

power than they otherwise would. This allows more

handsets to use the same set of radio frequencies within a

given geographic area, by reducing the potential for

interference between individual mobile units. See WILLIAM

C.Y. Lee, Mobile Communications Engineering: Theory and

Applications 6 (1982).

In a cellular system, each handset communicates with

the base station that provides the best overall signal, and a

call is automatically handed from base station to base station

as the user’s position in the network changes. Id. at 10. RF

emissions provide the radio communications by carrying

the signal from a transmitter to a receiver. See FCC, OET,

Questions and Answers about Biological Effects and Potential

Hazards of RF Electromagnetic Fields, Bulletin 56 at 3 (August

1999), available at http://www.fcc.gov/oet/info/documents/

bulletins/. There is a direct correlation between any

transmitter’s signal strength and the amount of RF energy

that the transmitter emits. See id. at 5. A wireless telephone

is thus an integral part of the wireless network itself. Its

power levels and ability to send and receive voice and data

communications through RF emissions (as well as the

ancillary signals necessary to other network functions)

cannot be severed from network design as a whole. For

example, the network’s effective coverage area can only be

defined in relation to the design and power levels of both

the fixed antennae that serve as “base stations” and the

portable transceivers contained in each subscriber's wireless

7

telephone. See THeopore S. Rappaport, Wireless

Communications — Principles and Practice 17 (1996)

(“RAPPAPORT”).

At the inception of commercial two-way wireless

telephony, the FCC recognized that all technical aspects of

the service fall squarely within its plenary authority over

all forms of interstate radio transmission under Title III of

the Communications Act. See Future Use of Frequency Band

806-960 MHZ, 46 FCC 2d 752, 766-67, 944 (1974). The

Commission made clear that its “technical standards and

... Operational rules are to apply nationwide . . . without

regard to state boundaries or varying local jurisdictions.”

Id. at 766, 443. After initial deployments of wireless

networks proved successful, the FCC revised its rules

regarding cellular telephony and allocated additional

spectrum to commercial mobile services. See Use of the Bands

825-845 MHz and 870-890 MHz, 86 FCC 2d 469 (1981). The

Commission reaffirmed that the “essential objective” of its

wireless policy was to “achieve nationwide compatibility,”

so that a subscriber could use a wireless telephone anywhere

in the Nation. Id. at 503, 79. To that end, the Commission

again “assert[ed] federal primacy over the areas of technical

standards and competitive market structure for cellular

service.” Id. at 504-05, 482.

The FCC’s reconsideration order in the first standard-

setting docket for wireless devices explained that its

technical standards were intended to be exclusive of

competing state regulation. See Use of the Bands 825-845 MHz

and 870-890 MHz, 89 FCC 2d 58, 66 415 (1982) (“1982 Cellular

Order”). The Commission emphasized that federal design

and operational specifications were “carefully developed”

in order to achieve “efficient spectrum re-use and

nationwide compatibility, while providing sufficient

flexibility to accommodate new technological innovations.”

Id. at 95, 81. The FCC identified national uniformity as a

central component of federal wireless policy: “It is

8

imperative that no additional requirements be imposed by

the states which could conflict with our standards and

frustrate the federal scheme for the provision of nationwide

cellular service.” Id.

In 1993, Congress made significant amendments to the

Communications Act in order to further consolidate

wireless regulation at the federal level and thus “foster the

growth and development of mobile services that, by their

nature, operate without regard to state lines as an integral

part of the national telecommunications infrastructure.” H.

R. Rep. No. 103-111, at 260 (1993). In particular, the 1993

amendments added § 332(c)(3)(A), entitled “State

Preemption,” to the Communications Act Omnibus Budget

Reconciliation Act of 1993, Pub. L. No. 193-66, Title VI,

§ 6002(b), 107 Stat. 312 (1993) (“OBRA”). That provision

provides, in pertinent part, that “no State or local

government shall have any authority to regulate the entry

of or rates charged by any commercial mobile service.” 47

U.S.C. § 332(c)(3)(A) (emphasis added).

In addition, the OBRA amendments excluded wireless

services from the traditional division between state and

federal regulatory authority over “intrastate” versus

“interstate” telecommunications services. See e.g., AT&T

Corp. v. Iowa Utils. Bd., 525 U.S. 366, 728-33 (1999). The OBRA

amendments expressly removed wireless services from the

reservation of state authority in 47 U.S.C. § 152(b) — negating

any argument that there exists any “intrastate” component

of wireless service presumptively subject to state control.

In the FCC’s words, this change was designed to ensure a

“national regulatory policy for [wireless telephony], not a

policy that is balkanized state-by-state.” Petition on Behalf

of the State of Conn., 10 F.C.C.R. 7025, 7034, 414 (1995).

2) =

3. The FCC’s RF Emissions Regulations

The FCC has long understood that, as the exclusive

licensing agency for communications by radio, it bears the

responsibility under federal law for evaluating and

addressing any safety concerns raised by RF emissions from

FCC-licensed devices. See Biological Effects of Radiofrequency

Radiation, 100 FCC 2d 543, 543, 41 (1985) (“ Biological Effects

of RF”). Pursuant to its obligations under the National

Environmental Policy Act of 1969 (“NEPA”), 42 U.S.C. §§

4321-4335, the Commission initiated its first inquiry into

potential biological impacts of FCC-licensed devices in 1979.

Biological Effects of RF, 100 FCC 2d at 544, 42. This proceeding

resulted in the adoption of specific federal RF emission

standards based on the research and recommendations

contained in the 1982 report of the American National

Standards Institute (“ANSI”). Id. at 551, 924. Many low

power devices, including wireless telephones, were

“categorical[ly] exclu[ded]” from NEPA obligations based

upon the FCC’s determination that the devices posed no

RF dangers under normal! conditions of use. Id. at 563, 458.

In 1993, the FCC opened the rulemaking that led to the

regulations at issue in this case. The rulemaking was

prompted by the FCC’s desire to harmonize its RF

regulations with new ANSI standards. The Commission

specifically contemplated that the updated RF regulations

would apply more broadly, to a whole range of FCC-

regulated transmitters, including cellular telephones.

Guidelines for Evaluating the Envtl. Effects of Radiofrequency

Radiation, 8 F.C.C.R. 2849, 2851, 416 (1993) (“RF NPRM”).

The FCC invoked its general regulatory authority under the

Communications Act as grounds for promulgating this

comprehensive RF emissions regulatory scheme, id. at 2854,

931; see 47 U.S.C. §§ 154(i)-(j), 303(r), as well as its

“obligations under the NEPA .. . to provide the means by

which to evaluate Commission actions with respect to

10

environmental significance,” RF NPRM, 8 F.C.C.R. at 2854,

31 (citations omitted). As mandated by NEPA, the

Commission solicited comments “from expert health and

safety agencies within the Federal Government ... in the

interest of developing a consistent approach to the treatment

of RF exposure environments for the private sector and

Federal Government.” /d. at 2850, 4 11.

Three years later, while this rulemaking was still

pending, Congress passed the Telecommunications Act of

1996 (the “1996 Act”), a sweeping, deregulatory reform of

federal telecommunications policy. Section 704(b) of the

1996 Act, captioned “Radio Frequency Emissions,”

provided: “Within 180 days after the Enactment of this Act,

the Commission shall complete action in [the 1993

rulemaking] to prescribe and make effective rules regarding

the environmental effects of radio frequency transmissions.”

Pub. L. No. 104-204, § 704(b), 110 Stat. 56 (1996). This call

for swift FCC action was based upon Congress's judgment

that “it is in the national interest that uniform, consistent

requirements, with adequate safeguards of the public health

and safety, be established as soon as possible.” H. R. Rep.

No. 104-204, at 94 (I) (1995) (emphasis added). Congress

knew that any such rules, by their nature, required the FCC

to strike “an appropriate balance in policy” between

“adequate safeguards of the public health and safety” and

the “speed[y] deployment and the availability of

competitive wireless telecommunications services.” [d.

Consistent with this statutory directive, the FCC

adopted the mandatory RF testing, certification, and

emission standards at issue here so as “[t]o protect public

health with respect to RF radiation from FCC-regulated

transmitters.” Guidelines for Evaluating the Effects of

Radiofrequency Radiation, 11 F.C.C.R. 15123, 15184, $169

(1996) (“RF Order I”). The FCC’s final rules balanced the

competing national priorities identified by Congress in the

passage of § 704(b). Indeed, the Commission characterized

11

its RF standards as reflecting a “balance between the need

to protect the public . . . from exposure to potentially

harmful RF electromagnetic fields and the requirement that

the industry be allowed to provide telecommunications

services to the public in the most efficient and practical

manner possible.” Guidelines for Evaluating the Envtl. Effects

of Radiofrequency Radiation, 12 F.C.C.R. 13494, 13496, 42

(1997) (“RF Order II”).

The Commission set maximum permissible exposure

levels for every component of the wireless network capable

of RF emissions, including handsets. See RF Order I, 11

F.C.C.R. at 15147, 463 (“The [RF emissions] limits we are

adopting will generally apply to portable devices . . . [and

include] hand-held cellular telephones.”); 47 C.F.R.

§ 1.1307(b)(2) (regulating wireless “[mJobile and portable

transmitting devices”); id. § 2.1093(b) (setting specific RF

levels for portable transmitting devices “designed to be used

. within 20 centimeters of the body of the user”). The

FCC’s RF regulations specify testing and exposure limits

for the entire body, for any one cubic gram of human tissue,

and for the hands, feet, and ankles. See 47 C.F.R. § 2.1093(d).

These regulations, which have a fifty-fold safety factor built

into authorized exposure limits, see Brief of the Respondents

in Opposition at 3 n.4, Citizens for the Appropriate Placement

of Telecomms. Facilities v. FCC, Nos. 00-393, 00-407, 00-417,

00-427 (U.S. Dec. 4, 2001) (“FCC Brief in Citizens for

Appropriate Placement”) are even more restrictive in some

respects than the revised RF standards adopted by ANSI.

The FCC made pre-market RF testing and certification

of wireless telephones a part of its equipment authorization

process. Thus, no such telephone may be offered for sale or

lease in the United States “unless . . . such device has been

authorized ... in accordance with [the RF regulations].”

47 C.F.R. § 2.803(a)(1). The Commission also incorporated

compliance with RF requirements as a condition on the

exercise of wireless service providers’ federal spectrum

12

licenses. See id. § 24.51(a) (“Each transmitter utilized for

operation under this part and each transmitter marketed, as

set forth in § 2.803 of this chapter, must be of a type that has been

authorized by the Commission under its certification procedure for

use under this part.”) (emphasis added).

As required by NEPA, see 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C), the FCC

consulted extensively with other federal agencies, including

the FDA, the EPA, and OSHA. The FDA’s participation was

particularly important, given its overlapping regulatory

authority “to protect the public health and safety from

electronic product radiation.” 21 U.S.C. § 360ii(a). The final

RF emission standards “represent[ed] a consensus view of the

federal agencies responsible for matters relating to the public

heaith and safety.” RF Order I, 11 F.C.C.R. at 15124, 42.

The FCC’s RF standards were directly, but unsuccessfully,

challenged in court. These challenges related not only to the

Commission's authority to promulgate the standards, but also

to the policy judgments made regarding the scientific evidence

and the appropriate safety factor. See EMR Network v. FCC,

391 F.3d 269 (D.C. Cir. 2004) (affirming FCC denial of a petition

to amend the RF rules to reduce authorized emission levels),

cert. denied, 125 S. Ct. 2925; Cellular Phone Taskforce v. FCC, 205

F.3d 82, 90 (2d Cir. 2000) (rejecting argument that the RF

standards are insufficiently protective in light of possible “non-

thermal effects of RF radiation”).

B. Proceedings Below

Respondents filed a complaint in Louisiana state court

on May 26, 2000, which was removed to federal district court

in Louisiana based on diversity of citizenship. This complaint

(Naquin), as well as four other class action complaints filed in

different state courts,’ alleged that FCC-approved wireless

? The other four cases are Pinney v. Nokia; Inc., No. 01-1456 (D. Md.),

Gimpelson v. Nokia, Inc., No. 01-1615 (N.D. Ga.), Gilliam v. Nokia, Inc., No.

01-4275 (S.D.N.Y.), and Farina v. Nokia, Inc., No. 01-2477 (E.D. Pa.).

13

telephones are defective products and unreasonably

dangerous under the product liability and tort laws of their

respective States. The five complaints named virtually the

entire wireless industry, including most of the major

manufacturers and service providers. Petitioners removed

the Naquin case at issue here, and the four other state class

action lawsuits, to the appropriate federal district courts.

The Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation consolidated

the cases for pretrial proceedings in the U.S. District Court

for the District of Maryland. See In re: Wireless Litigation,

170 F. Supp. 2d 1356 (J.P.M.L. 2001).

The gravamen of all five complaints, including that at

issue here, is that scientific uncertainty exists regarding

putative “non-thermal effects” of RF emissions. See, e.g.,

Naquin Compl. 4 XLI, App. 203a (alleging that “it was

foreseeable that [wireless telephones] created some health

risk and would or could cause some adverse health effect” ).

The complaints also alleged that petitioners misrepresented

“{t}he presence of adequate testing of RFR,” id. 4 LIX.b,

App. 209a, and “intentionally, negligently and wrongfully

reported that the [wireless telephones] were safe,” id.

4 XLVIIL, App. 206a.

According to respondents, the alleged risk that wireless

telephones (which respondents acknowledge complied with

all FCC testing and emission requirements) might cause

someone injury is sufficient to require petitioners to include:

(1) warnings that their phones are unsafe if used without a

headset; (2) a headset with every telephone to reduce RF

exposure of the brain and ear; and (3) instructions for the

use of headsets. Id. ¢ CXXXI, App. 239a. Respondents

specifically sought an injunction forcing petitioners to

provide class members nationwide with headsets. Naquin

Compl. 4 CXXVIIL, App. 236a. For class members whose

wireless telephones were not compatible with a headset,

respondents sought an injunction requiring petitioners to

provide a new headset-compatible phone and a headset.

Id.

14

After the district court denied respondents’ motion to

remand the four non-diversity cases, App. 77a-78a,

petitioners filed a consolidated motion to dismiss all five

complaints with prejudice on federal preemption grounds.

The district court granted the motion, concluding that both

respondents’ theories of liability and their requested relief

conflicted with the purposes and efficacy of the FCC’s RF

regulations. App. 64a-65a.

The district court held that the long and significant

history of federal control of radio transmission and

transmitters negated any possible presumption against

federal preemption. App. 63a (citing Locke, 529 U.S. at

108). After carefully examining the entire regulatory

scheme, including Section 332’s express preemption

provisions, thé FCC’s statements of purpose in its

rulemaking proceedings, and the scope and operation of

the federal RF regulations themselves, the district court

concluded:

{[Respondents’ claims] seek to have the

responsible federal agencies’ judgment overruled

in several separate states by an individual judge

or jury through compensatory and declaratory

relief requiring the provision of headsets,

instructions, and “reasons” the headsets should

be used. Such a result is contrary to the

Congressional purposes of national uniformity,

deference to agencies’ expertise, and striking an

appropriate balance between wireless

telecommunications development and public

safety.

App. 73a.

A divided panel of the Fourth Circuit reversed. App.

4a, 46a. As an initial matter, the panel majority overturned

the district court’s holding that federal subject matter

jurisdiction existed in four of the cases removed from state

15

court. App. 9a-29a. Because subject matter jurisdiction over

Naquin rested on diversity of citizenship, however, the

Fourth Circuit reached the merits of the federal preemption

issue in this case. App. 29a.*

On the merits, the Fourth Circuit held that neither the

claims at issue in this case nor the relief specifically sought,

was preempted by federal law and hence reversed the

district court’s judgment of dismissal under Rule 12(b)(6)

and reinstated the Naquin complaint. The majority began

by invoking a “presumption against preemption” and

emphasizing that this presumption is “particularly strong

when Congress legislates in a field which the States have

traditionally occupied, such as health and safety.” App. 34a

(internal quotation and citations omitted). The majority held

that the district court's reliance on Locke was “misplaced

because there is not the same federal presence in the wireless

telecommunications area as there is in the area of maritime

commerce.” Id. at 34a-35a & n4.

Applying this presumption in favor of state authority,

the Fourth Circuit then held that the FCC’s comprehensive

regulatory regime did not preempt respondents’ claims.

According to the majority, the Commission could not

preempt state law in the absence of clear “evidence” of “a

congressional goal of achieving preemptive national RF

radiation standards for wireless telephones.” Id. at 43a. The

majority failed to find any such “evidence” and further held

* In four of the consolidated cases, see n. 2, supra, federal jurisdiction

rested solely on federal question grounds. A separate group of

petitioners has asked this Court to vacate and remand the Fourth

Circuit's jurisdictional ruling in light of this Court's intervening decision

in Grable & Sons Metal Prods., Inc. v. Darue Eng’g & Mfg., 125 S. Ct. 2363

(2005). In the fifth case, which is at issue in this petition, federal

jurisdiction also rested on diversity of citizenship, and the plaintiffs

eventually amended their complaint to add a federal claim. See App.

237a. Thus, there is no dispute over subject matter jurisdiction in this

case, and both the district court and the Fourth Circuit properly reached

the merits of the federal preemption defense.

16

that the supposed absence of express preemption

“counsel[ed] against” a finding of conflict preemption. Id.

The Fourth Circuit also held that § 332(c)(3)(A)’s ban

on any form of state entry regulation did not preempt

respondents’ claims. The majority ruled that that the relief

sought by respondents — “a headset requirement” — did not

constitute “a barrier to entry for PCS providers.” Id. at 40a.

The majority asserted that because the wireless telephone

was not part of the wireless network itself, and instead only

served as a means of accessing the network, state regulation

of the wireless telephones (as opposed to fixed antennae)

could not violate § 332. Id. at 36a-40a.

Senior District Judge Kiser dissented from the panel's

decision to remand four of the cases. Id. at 46a. He agreed

with the district court that the federal RF regulations “reflect

what the FCC believes will maintain the proper balance

between the interest in promoting wireless communication

throughout the country and the interest in protecting the

health and safety of all consumers.” Id. The dissent

concluded that respondents’ claims, by upsetting that

balance, would “result in the complete invalidation of

federal regulatory standards.” Id. at 49a.

On April 12, 2005, the Solicitor General authorized the

filing of an amicus brief by the United States expressing

the FCC’s view that the panel decision was wrong and

should be reviewed by the full court. Id. at 184a. That same

day, the Fourth Circuit denied rehearing en banc, id. at 130a,

depriving the Fourth Circuit of the FCC’s views regarding

the preemptive effect of its own regulations.

17

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. The Fourth Circuit Effectively Invalidated the Federal

RF Regulatory Regime by Ignoring this Court's

Precedent on Agency Conflict Preemption.

The Fourth Circuit's holding that state lawsuits may

rebalance competing federal goals, re-evaluate expert

findings and policy judgments made by federal agencies,

and create different and conflicting obligations from those

contained in federal standards designed to apply uniformly

across the country, cannot coexist with settled principles

of this Court's conflict preemption jurisprudence. App. 41la-

45a. The decision will wreak havoc on the law of agency

conflict preemption: It denies agency regulations any

independent preemptive force under the Supremacy Clause

and places Congress in a legislative straightjacket in crafting

agency mandates where conflicts with state law might

eventually arise.

Of most immediate concern, the decision below opens

the door to a novel encroachment by state law into the

technical and operational standards for interstate

communications by radio. Not only will a patchwork of state

standards undermine network reliability in general, it will

threaten the ability of the wireless network to serve critical

national security and public safety functions. As the FCC

has recognized, “(t]he Homeland Security obligations of the

Nation’s public safety agencies make it imperative that their

communications systems are robust and highly reliable.”

Improving Pub. Safety Commc’ns in the 800 MHz Band, 19

F.C.C.R. 14969, 14969, 41 (2004). Disparate state regulation

of the design and RF emissions of portable wireless devices

will adversely impact nationwide interoperability, the

ability to “roam” outside a subscriber's designated network,

and interstate public safety communications, as well as the

new location technologies now being deployed as part of

the FCC’s wireless E911 initiative. See 47 C.F.R. § 20.18; see

also infra n. 5.

18

1. Under the Supremacy Clause, U.S. Const. art. VI, sec.

2, federal law preempts all state law that stands “as an

obstacle to the accomplishment and execution of the full

purposes and objectives of Congress.” Crosby v. Nat'l Foreign

Trade Council, 530 U.S. 363, 372-73 (2000). Federal

regulations are clearly “Laws of the United States” that can

have independent preemptive effect under the Supremacy

Clause. See, e.g., Fid. Fed. Savs. & Loan v. de la Cuesta, 458

U.S. 141, 152-54 (1982). Indeed, “[flederal regulations have

no less preemptive effect than federal statutes.” Jd. at 153.

Thus, the only relevant statutory inquiry in an agency

preemption case is whether the agency was “acting within

the scope of its congressionally delegated authority” by

adopting the regulation at issue. La. Pub. Serv. Comm’‘n v.

FCC, 476 U.S. 355, 369 (1986); see also Fid. Fed. Savs. & Loan,

458 U.S. at 153-54; United States v. Shimer, 367 U.S. 374, 383

(1961). This Court has made quite clear that no special

statement of congressional intent to preempt or to authorize

the agency to preempt is necessary. See, e.g., City of New

York v. FCC, 486 U.S. 57, 64 (1988).

The Fourth Circuit disregarded these bedrock

preemption principles. According to the panel majority, the

question here is not whether Congress has authorized the

FCC to promulgate the regulations at issue, which it

indisputably has, but rather whether Congress itself has

expressly stated an “objective of achieving preemptive

national RF radiation standards for wireless telephones.”

App. 42a-43a. Because, in the majority's view, no federal

statute expressly preempts respondents’ claims, no conflict

preemption can arise from state interference with the

governing federal regulatory regime: “The complete

absence of any provision addressing wireless telephones

counsels against a finding that § 332 evidences a

congressional goal of achieving preemptive national RF

radiation standards for wireless telephones.” Id. at 43a.

This myopic focus on congressional action, rather than

agency action, allowed the Fourth Circuit panel to “accord

... no weight,” App. 28a, to the FCC’s repeated statements

19

that its technical standards for all wireless devices must be

exclusive in order to be effective: “It is imperative that no

additional requirements be imposed by the states which could

conflict with our standards and frustrate the ‘ederal scheme

for the provision of nationwide cellular service.” 1982

Cellular Order, 89 FCC 2d at 95, 481 (emphasis added). The

panel majority simply refused to examine agency intent,

the legislative and regulatory background against which

the federal RF standards were adopted, or the practical

effect of disparate state regulation on the ability of federal

regulations to achieve federal policy goals — factors that the

district court found dispositive under this Court's

precedents. App. 64a-72a.

The Fourth Circuit's approach to agency conflict

preemption is flatly inconsistent with this Court's

precedents. This Court has “emphasized that in a situation

where state law is claimed to be pre-empted by federal

regulation, a ‘narrow focus on Congress’ intent to supersede

state law [is] misdirected.’” City of New York, 486 U.S. at 64

(quoting Fid. Fed. Savs. & Loan, 458 U.S. at 154). The majority

effectively conflated express and implied preemption,

making it essentially impossible to find the latter in the

absence of the former. As this Court has explained, however,

“conflict pre-emption is different in that it turns on the

identification of ‘actual conflict’ and not an express

statement of pre-emptive intent.” Geier, 529 U.S. at §84

(citation omitted).

2. Had the panel majority asked the right question, it

would have recognized that “(t]he answer” to whether

respondents’ state-law claims frustrate federal law is, as the

district court concluded, “yes.” App. 65a. That is so because

respondents’ claims “would necessarily require a judge and

jury to usurp the regulatory function entrusted by Congress

to the expertise and discretion of federal agencies.” Id.

As the dissent pointed out, “[t]he FCC has enacted a

uniform, nationwide regulatory scheme pertaining to

wireless telephones which is the result of a thorough and

complex rule-making process.” Id. at 46a. In adopting the

20

federal RF emissions standards, the FCC struck a careful

and deliberate balance between the goal of promoting the

prompt and efficient roll-out of a seamless national wireless

communications network and the potential health risks

from exposure to RF emissions. See supra at 10-11.

If these state lawsuits are permitted to proceed, the

FCC’s detailed regulations regarding the testing of wireless

telephones for RF emissions, 47 C.F.R. § 2.1093(d)(3); the

authorized RF emission levels themselves, id. § 2.1093(d);

resulting FCC certification; and “grant[s] of equipment

authorization,” id. § 2.803(a)(2), would all be rendered

meaningless. Courts (and juries) applying state law would

be free to conduct their own “risk-utility” balancing under

various doctrines of product liability and tort law (or

conduct no balancing at all), and thus effectively revoke

the FCC’s grant of equipment authorization to market a

wireless telephone on a nationwide basis.‘

These lawsuits thus constitute obstacles to the

accomplishment of at least two federal objectives. The first

is the existence of uniform national standards, which ensure |

that subscribers can seamlessly use their wireless telephones

across the country. Both Congress and the FCC have

repeatedly emphasized the need for national uniformity in

the area of wireless telecommunications. See supra 7-11.

When Congress passed § 704(b) it directed a national risk-

utility analysis, based upon nationwide network concerns

that lie beyond the ken of any individual state or state court. _

Many consumer products, such as lawnmowers or

dishwashers, are purchased and used within the same state.

A wireless telephone, by contrast, is part of an interstate

network and intended to “roam” among the fifty states and

* Respondents’ claims even contemplate that petitioners could be

held liable for common law fraud for telling consumers that FCC-

approved handsets are “safe.” See App. 15a-16a. Ironically, the FCC and

FDA make exactly this sort of statement ir explaining their RF standards

to the public. See FCC/FDA— Market Sense, Ceil Phones: Facts, Fiction,

Frequency, available at www.fcc.gov/cgb/cell_phones.html (asserting that

“[a]ny cell phone at or below these (FCC-mandated] SAR levels (that is,

any phone legally sold in the U.S.) is a ‘safe’ phone”).

21

to provide reliable communications in every one of them.

As with control of the authorized routes and flight times of

aircraft traveling in federal airspace, see City of Burbank v.

Lockheed Air Terminal, Inc., 411 U.S. 624 (1973), the maximum

authorized speeds for interstate trains, see CSX Transp., Inc.

v. Easterwood, 507 U.S. 658 (1993), or the design and crew

requirements for interstate tankers, Locke, 529 U.S. at 110,

uniformity of regulation is central to the achievement of

the primary objective of federal regulation — seamless

interstate operation.

The second relevant federal objective is achievement

of the proper balance between potential health and safety

concerns and the deployment of a reliable and seamless

wireless infrastructure. Indeed, the Solicitor General has

emphasized the FCC's exclusive role in striking this balance

in briefs filed with this Court:

There is a trade-off between [the goal of

promoting the prompt and efficient roll-out of a

national wireless telecommunications

infrastructure] and public exposure to RF energy:

all risk from RF energy could be eliminated by

prohibiting wireless communications

technologies. Congress has entrusted to the FCC

the process of striking the appropriate balance,

a subject squarely within the agency's expertise.

FCC Brief in Citizens for Appropriate Placement at 21. Yet,

respondents’ claims are premised on the theory that the FCC

rules can be superseded by verdicts in state tort suits, which

rebalance the same competing interests in arriving at new

and different standards for RF emissions.

By their very nature, respondents’ state-law claims seek

to upset the balance struck by the FCC and replace it with a

more “ protective” regime. See, e.g., Buckman, 531 U.S. at 348

(finding obstacle preemption where “somewhat delicate

balance of statutory objectives” could “be skewed by

allowing” state-law claims); Geier, 529 US. at 881 (holding

that a rule of state tort law that imposed a duty contrary to

22

the “mix” of options permitted by federal regulations is

conflict-preempted); Edgar v. MITE Corp., 457 U.S. 624, 634

(1982) (finding obstacle preemption where state law “upset

the careful balance struck by Congress”).

3. No “presumption against preemption” diminishes

these conflicts with the federal regulatory regime. App. 34a

n.4. Putting aside the fact that the federal presence in the

area of RF regulation is substantial in both scope and

longevity, see supra at 5-12, a presumption against federal

authority has no place in an Article Ili court's assessment

of the scope of an administrative agency's statutory

mandate. See, e.g., Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v. NRDC, 467 US.

837, 842-45 (1984); Buckman, 531 U.S. at 347-48. The very

theory of the administrative state —Congressional

delegation of legislative powers, with sufficient guidance,

to an Executive agency —cannot be reconciled with any

presumption >gainst the scope of that authority. New York

v. FERC, 535 .'»-. 1, 18 (2002). Indeed, the fact that Congress

has seen fit to centralize authority over certain subject

matter in an expert federal agency, standing alone, suggests

that a presumption in favor of state law is inappropriate.

See Geier, 529 U.S. at 885 ("[O}ne can assume that Congress

or an agency ordinarily would not intend to permit a

significant conflict.”).

The panel majority also erred, and acted in

contravention of this Court's decision in Geier, by holding

that the absence of express preemption creates a

presumption against conflict preemption. Compare App.

42a-44a with Geier, 529 U.S. at 869-71. As Geier explained,

Congress’ inclusion of an express pre-emption clause “does

not bar the ordinary working of conflict pre-emption

principles.” Id. at 869; see also Sprietsma v. Mercury Marine,

537 U.S. 51, 65 (2002) (quoting Geier, 529 U.S. at 869). Because

Congress acts against a background presumption of conflict

preemption, it need not (and should not be expected to)

enact an express preemption clause in order to establish

conflict preemption, and its inclusion of such a clause does

not narrow the operation of conflict preemption. Here, as

23

in Geier, there is simply no reason why “Congress [would]

not have wanted ordinary pre-emption principles to apply

where an actual conflict with a federal objective is at stake.”

529 U.S. at 871.

4. The practical implications forthe FCC and the

wireless industry of the Fourth Circuit's ruling are daunting.

The decision below places no apparent limits on the ability

of a court, applying state law, to strike a new “risk-utility”

balance, no matter how different from the one set by the

FCC. Additional testing requirements, lower RF emissions

standards, headsets, warning labels, metal shields, novel

antenna designs, and even outright bans on certain handset

configurations, for example, are all apparently within the

new state authority over RF standards established by the

court of appeals. Each state may now fashion its own trade-

offs and adopt its own new RF standards without reference

to the federal standards. Allowing fifty state court systems

to arrive at their own respective definitions of RF safety

and to implement those definitions through various new

legal duties could negatively impact network coverage,

roaming capabilities, and the deployment of new

technologies designed to provide a consistent, predictable

location service for E911 purposes.°

In fact, this is a case where both the theory of liability,

see supra 18-22, and the proposed relief conflict with federal

law. While the panel majority asserted that “a headset

requirement would not stand as an obstacle to Congress's

* In the Enhanced 911 context, when a customer makes such a call

using a cellular phone, some carriers triangulate the position of the call

using multiple cell sites in order to determine the customer's location

and pass it on to public safety officials. See Dale N. Hatfield, A Report on

Technical and Operational Issues Impacting the Provision of Enhanced 911

Services, at 10 (Nov.2002), available at http:/ / gullfoss2.fcc.gov/ prod/

ecfs/retrieve.cgi?native_or_pdf=pdf&id_document=6513296239.

Reducing RF emissions can jeopardize this approach, because the weaker

the handset’s signal, the less likely it is that the signal will be received

in at least three cell sites at a level sufficient to allow the caller's location

to be determined. This concern applies particularly in rural areas, which

tend to have lower cell site density.

24

goal of achieving nationwide coverage,” App. 45a, that is

unpersuasive for several reasons.

First, in a joint publication, the FCC and FDA have

specifically stated that they do not believe that a headset

requirement promotes RF safety. See FCC/FDA - Cell Phone

Facts: Consumer Information on Wireless Phones, available at

http://www .fda.gov/cellphones/qa.htm|#6a (“Since there are no

known risks from exposure to RF emissions from wireless

phones, there is no reason to believe that hands-free kits

reduce risks.”). Second, where a class member's wireless

telephone is not headset-compatible, respondents seek

injunctive relief requiring both a new wireless telephone

and a headset. Third, the headset requirement must be

accompanied by a statement regarding the use or

recommended use of the headset in such a way as to avoid

liability under respondents’ theories, which, by definition,

will require petitioners to tell consumers that FCC-approved

wireless telephones are “unsafe” or “unreasonably

dangerous.” See Naquin Compl. ¢ CXXX, App. 237a

(alleging that petitioners’ public statements that FCC-

approved phones “are safe” without a headset is a deceptive

trade practice under federal law). This combination of

requested relief would substantially alter the balance struck

by the FCC and undermine public confidence in the safety

of wireless communications.

This Court should not wait for the Fourth Circuit's

erroneous decision to spawn a crazy quilt of state RF and

wireless telephone design and equipment mandates. At the

very least, this Court should call for the views of the Solicitor

General, who authorized a brief supporting the petition for

rehearing en banc in the Fourth Circuit but was unable to

place the position of the United States and the FCC before

that court. Given this Court's repeated recognition thatthe |

relevant federal agency's views on the issue of conflict

preemption are entitled to substantial weight, see, ¢.g., Geier,

529 U.S. at 883; Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr, 518 U.S. 470, 496-97,

498-99 (1996); id. at 505-06 (Breyer, J., concurring);

25 =

Hillsborough County, Florida-v. Automated Medical

Laboratories, 471 U.S. 707, 716-17 (1985), the views of the

Solicitor General and the FCC are vital to the Court's

consideration of this petition.

Il. The Fourth Circuit Misread the Categorical Ban on

State Entry Regulation in § 332(c)(3)(A), Creating a

Conflict with the Seventh Circuit.

The Fourth Circuit also erred, and created a conflict

with the Seventh Circuit, by holding that respondents’

lawsuit is not expressly preempted by a federal statute that

denies state and local governments “any authority to regulate

the entry of .. . any commercial mobile service.” 47 U.S.C.

§ 332(c)(3)(A) (emphasis added). The lower court ignored

the plain language and purpose of the statute, improperly

grafted an undefined “barrier to entry” test on the

provision’s flat ban on any form of entry regulation, and

erroneously held that a wireless telephone is not part of

the wireless network.

1. As with its analysis of agency conflict preemption,

the panel majority began its examination of § 332(c)(3)(A)

applying a presumption against preemption, which tainted

the panel majority's entire analysis. App. 34a-35a & n.4.

Although such a presumption may be appropriate in certain

areas of traditional state regulation, see, e.g., Bates v. Dow

Agrosciences LLC, 125 S. Ct. 1788 (2005); Medtronic, 518 U.S.

at 485, this Court has made clear that it does not apply

“when the State regulates in an area where there has been a

history of significant federal presence,” Locke, 529 US. at

108. As explained in detail above, see supra at 5-12, and as

the district court correctly found, App. 62a-63a, the design

and operational characteristics of radio transmitters has

been an area of primary federal concern and control since

the early twentieth century.

The Fourth Circuit attempted to distinguish Locke on

’ the ground that “there is not the same federal presence in

the wireless telecommunications area as there is in the area

of maritime commerce,” at issue in Locke. App. 34a n.4. To

26

the contrary, comprehensive federal regulation of wireless

communications actually predates the federal maritime

statutes at issue in Locke. 529 U.S. at 101 (Tank Vessel Act of

1936). As described above, Congress first established federal

regulation over the technical aspects of all wireless

communications in the Radio Acts-of 1912 and 1927, swift

on the heels of Marconi’s first demonstrations of the

wonders of “ wireless telegraphy.” The Communications Act

of 1934 “formulated a unified and comprehensive

regulatory system for the industry [and] the objectives of

the legislation have remained substantially unaltered since

1927.” NBC, 319 U.S. at 214; see supra at 5. If this long and

comprehensive regulatory history does not constitute a

“significant federal presence” in the regulation of technical

aspects of wireless communication., then Locke has no

meaning outside federal regulation of international tankers.°

2. Applying this “presumption,” the panel majority

interpreted Section 332(c)(3)(A) to apply only to “barriers”

to entry and held that state regulation of a wireless

telephone’s RF emissions is not such a “barrier.” App. 38a-

40a. The relevant statutory provision, however, does not

employ the term “barrier.” Rather, the statute more broadly

forbids the exercise of “any authority” to “regulate entry”

in the context of commercial wireless service, 47 "J.S.C. §

332(c)(3)(A) (emphasis added), regardless of the extent of

the burden imposed by such regulation. The court below

thus erred by asking whether the relief requested might

create a “barrier” to entry, as opposed to inquiring whether

the lawsuit seeks to “regulate the entry of ... any commercial

* Other circuits have correctly read Locke to apply to areas such as

railroad safety regulation, see CSX Transp., Inc. v. Williams, 406 F.3d

667, 673 (D.C. Cir. 2005), and the regulation of interstate communications

by wire, see Ting v. AT&T Corp., 319 F.3d 1126, 1136 (9th Cir. 2003). This

petition provides the Court with a vehicle to address the confusion

among the circuits as to when Locke applies and how its application

affects implied preemption analysis.

27

mobile service” at all.” The Fourth Circuit’s addition of a

“barrier to entry” requirement to what was heretofore

viewed as a categorical prohibition on certain state action —

and a jurisdictional dividing line —is contrary to both the

plain language of § 332(c)(3)(A) and congressional intent

in enacting that provision.

The breadth of this language is underscored when

considered in light of OBRA’s amendment to 47 U.S.C. §

152(b). See supra at 8. Prior to that amendment, as this Court

has explained, the Communications Act established “a

system of dual state and federal regulation over telephone

service,” La. Pub. Serv. Comm'n, 476 U.S. at 360, with the

FCC exercising plenary jurisdiction over “interstate . . .

communications” and jurisdiction over “intrastate services”

reserved to state public utility commissions, id. Indeed, the

holding of Louisiana was that Section 152(b) deprived the

FCC of authority to preempt state regulation of depreciation

rates for intrastate services. Id. at 379.

In 1993, Congress decided to exclude wireless services

from Section 152(b), and thus to remove such services from

the sphere of intrastate jurisdiction. Congress thereby

evinced its intent to exempt wireless carriers from the type

of regulation state commissions had imposed on wireline

carriers (i.e., carriers offering telecommunications over

wired networks). The amendment to Section 152(b) also

” Other parts of the Communications Act, in contrast, do mandate

that a particular state or local action actually operate as a barrier to a

carrier's ability to provide service. See, ¢.g., 47 U.S.C. § 253(a) (“Removal

of Barriers to Entry . . . No State or local statute or regulation, or other

State or local legal requirement, may prohibit or have the effect of

prohibiting the ability of any entity to provide any interstate or intrastate

telecommunications service.” (emphasis added)); id. § 332 (c)(7)(B)(II)

(state or local regulation of personal wireless service facilities “shall

not prohibit or have the effect of prohibiting the provision of personal wireless

services”) (emphasis added). These provisions demonstrate that

Congress knows full well how to draft a statute that preempts only state

regulation that can be shown to actually impede the provision of a

telecommunications service. See Barnhart v. Sigmon Coal Co., 534 U.S.

438, 452 (2002).

28

represents a congressional judgment that wireless services

have no intrastate component for the States to regulate. The

reference to entry regulation in Section 332(c)(3)(A), then,

is best construed as a term of art referencing all forms of

regulation over equipment and services that state

commissions had imposed on wireline telephone

companies. See id. at 372 (explaining that “technical terms

of art should be interpreted by reference to the trade or

industry to which they apply”). By ignoring this

background and context of Section 332(c)(3)(A), the Fourth

Circuit ignored congressional intent and authorized state

entry regulation as long as it does not run afoul of an

undefined “barrier to entry” test.

The Fourth Circuit's exclusion of the wireless handset

from the protection of § 332(c)(3)(A) was also plainly wrong.

See App. 40a (“A headset requirement for wireless

telephones would not constitute a barrier to entry into the

[mobile commercial services] market because wireless

telephones are only used to access a wireless service

provider's network of coverage; the telephones themselves

do not provide the actual coverage.”). As explained above,

in two-way radio communications, the coverage of the

network is defined both by the power, design, and placement

of the base station transmitter and by the power and design

of the antenna and transceiver in the handset. See Rappaport

at 17. A given set of base stations may provide seamless

coverage for one handset design, but may provide wholly

inadequate coverage for another handset with a different

antenna or operating at lower power. Particularly in rural

areas, lower handset signal strength could mean that the

handset loses contact with one base station before the call

can be handed off to another base station. Unless there is

some set level of RF emissions from wireless handsets, the

network (including the telephone itself) is useless.

The FCC’s own regulations underscore that the wireless

telephone is a transmitter that is part of the carrier's wireless

network. Subscribers’ mobile stations “when receiving

service from [a] cellular system, are considered to be

29

operating under the authorization of that cellular system,” and

thus “[c]ellular system licensees are responsible for exercising

effective operational control over mobile stations receiving service

through their cellular systems.” 47 C.F.R. § 22.927 (emphasis

added). The integral nature of the handset is also shown by

the fact that in wireless networks, “the power ievels

transmitted by every subscriber unit are under constant control

by the serving base stations,” Rappaport at 17, which can and

do adjust the power outputs of the handsets in order to ensure

that each handset transmits the smallest amount of power

necessary to maintain a quality link.

Technical mandates for equipment design and

configuration, pre-market testing and labeling requirements

are all quintessential forms of entry regulation. As the FCC has

made clear, state certification regimes that include

“engineering standards, inspections and tests, service quality

standards, and safety requirements” are “precluded by the

provision in amended Section 332 that categorically preempts

state and local entry regulation.” Petition on Behalf of the State

of Haw. Pub. Util. Comm ‘n for Auth. To Extend Its Rate Regulation

of Commercial Mobile Radio Servs. in the State of Haw., 10 F.C.C.R.

7872, 7880, 437 n. 120 (1995) (citing H. R. Rep. No. 103-111,

103rd Cong., 1st Sess. 261 (1993)).

3. The Fourth Circuit's engrafting of a “barrier to entry”

requirement onto Section 332(c)(3)(A) conflicts with the

Seventh Circuit's decision in Bastien. Bastien held that Section

332(c)(3)(A) preempted a state tort action alleging that a

cellular service provider “misled [the plaintiff] about his

cellular telephone service.” 205 F.3d at 984. As the Seventh

Circuit explained, the complaint challenged “the modes and

conditions under which AT&T Wireless may begin offering

service in the Chicago market.” Id. at 989. Because “[t}he statute

makes the FCC responsible for determining the number,

placement and operation of the cellular towers and other

infrastructure,” granting the plaintiff relief “ would necessarily

force AT&T Wireless to do more than required by the FCC: to

provide more towers, clearer signals or lower rates.” Id. “The

statute,” however, “ specifically insulates these FCC decisions

from state court review.” Id. The plaintiff in Bastien (like

30

respondents here) was engaged in a “transparent attempt to

recast federal claims [challenging the FCC regulations] as state

law fraud and breach of contract actions.” Id.*

Just as a challenge to the number of base stations in a

coverage area constitutes forbidden entry regulation, so too

does state regulation based upon the wireless handset’s RF

emissions to a base tower, particularly given that the design

and signal strength of both parts of the network are completely

interdependent. To regulate one is to regulate the other — and

regulatory authority over different parts of the network cannot

practically be divided between the FCC and the fifty states.

Accordingly, respondents’ lawsuits are preempted not

only by the FCC’s comprehensive regulation of RF testing and

emissions, but also by the express preemption of “entry”

regulation contained in § 332(c)(3)(A). The Fourth Circuit

badly misread the preemptive scope of § 332(c)(3)(A) in its

own right, and then used its erroneous conclusion regarding

statutory preemption to buttress its rejection of agency conflict

preemption. Because the questions presented are interrelated,

and because the Fourth Circuit's treatment of § 332(c)(3)(A)

conflicts with the Seventh Circuit's analysis in Bastien, this

Court should grant certiorari on both questions presented by

this petition.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should grant the

petition for writ of certiorari.

* The Bastien court also correctly rejected the “savings clause”

argument relied upon by the court below. Compare Bastien, 205 F.3d at 987,

with App. 44a. As the Seventh Circuit explained, “(t]o read the [saving]

clause expansively would abrogate the very federal regulation of mobile

telephone providers that the act intended to create.” 205 F.3d at 987. Rather,

“[t}he two clauses read together create separate spheres of responsibility,

one exclusively federal and the other aliowing concurrent state and federal

regulation.” Id; see also AT&T Corp. v. Cent. Office Tel., Inc., 524 U.S. 214,

227-28 (1998) (reasoning that savings clause “cannot in reason be construed

as continuing in customers a common law right . . . which would be

absolutely inconsistent with the provisions of the act.”) (internal quotation

omitted).

KENNETH W. STARR

CHRISTOPHER LANDAU

KIRKLAND & Eis LLP

655 Fifteenth Street, NW

Washagton, DC 20005-5793

(202) 879-5000

Counsel for Motorola, Inc.

KENNETH S. GELLER

Davip M. Gossett

Mayer, Brown, Rowe

& Maw LLP

1909 K Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 263-3000

Counsel for Cingular

Wireless LLC

Respectfully submitted.

Anprew G. McBawe

Counsel of Record

Hea! C. WALKER

KATHRYN COMERFORD TODD

Josnua S. TURNER

Wiey Rew & Fre_omo LLP

1776 K Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 719-7000

Counsel for Nokia Inc.

Seamus C. Durry

CuristorHer M. ARFAA

Droxer Biooie & Reatu LLP

One Logan Square

18th & Cherry Streets

Philadelphia, PA 19103

(215) 988-2700

Counsel for AT&T Corp.;

Counsel for Cingular

Wireless LLC, formerly

known as BellSouth

Mobility, Inc.; Counsel for

BellSouth Mobility LLC,

successor-in-interest to

BellSouth Mobility, Inc.

Garrett B. Jounson, P.C.

Terrence J. Dee

Micwaet B. SLADE

Kurx_ano & Exus LLP

200 East RANDOLPH Drive

Cuicaco, [L 60601-6636

(312) 861-2000

Counsel for Motorola, Inc.

Marx H. KoLMan

Deporan GoLosTock RINGEL

Kennet B. TROTTER

DicxsTew SHaPirno Morin

& Osniwsxy LLP

2101 L Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20037-1526

(202) 785-9700

Counsel for Audiovox

Communications Corporation

CuHar_es L. BABCock

Davip T. Moran

Ryan C. Wirtz

JACKSON WALKER L.L.P.

901 Main Street

Suite 6000

Dallas, TX 75202

(214) 953-6000

Counsel for Ericsson

Mark H. Kouman

Desoran Goipstock RINGEL

KenneTH B. TROTTER

DicxsTEIN SHAPIRO Morin

& Osnisxy LLP

2101 L Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20037-1526

(202) 785-9700

Counsel for Kyocera

Wireless Corporation

James P. ULwicx

KRramMon & Granam, PA.

One South Street

Suite 2600

Baltimore, MD 21202

(410) 752-6030

Counsel for NEC America, Inc.

Epwarp M. Crane

Topo A. FRANKEL

SKADDEN, Arps, SLATE,

Meacuer & Fiom, LLP

333 W. Wacker Drive

Suite 2100

Chicago, IL 60606-1285

(312) 407-0700

Water T. DuDLey

Patrick R. Bucker

McGumeWooos, LLP

1750 Tysons Boulevard

Suite 1800

McLean, VA. 22102

(703) 712-5465

Counsel for Nextel South Corp.

Steven M. ZaAcer

Axin Gump STRAuss

Hauer & Fetp LLP

1111 Louisiana Street

44th Floor

Houston, TX 77002

(713) 220-8109

Counsel for Nokia Inc.

RAYMOND B. BIAGINI

Lisa M. Norrett

McKenna LONG

& ALprince LLP

1900 K Street, N.W.

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 496-7500

Counsel for Philips

Electronics North America

Corporation

Francis A. CITERA

GREENBERG TRAURIG, LLP

77 West Wacker Drive

Suite 2500

Chicago, IL 60601

(312) 456-8413

Counsel for QUALCOMM

Incorporated

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

DECIDED MARCH 16, 2005

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 03-1433

J. Douctas PINNEY, M.D.; Patricia S. Covone., individually

and on behalf of all others similarly situated; Francis J. Farina,

individually and on behalf of all those similarly situated;

Garrett J. Naguin; Ronaco Lesianc; Jupity A. KaurMan;

Asner Rupenstein; Crystact Gitittam; Dimitri Mack;

Riepy Gimpecson, individually and on behalf of all others

similarly situated; Sakan DAHiGRen, on behalf of herself and

all others similarly situated; Linpa Barrett; BLAYNE

MinoGcue; Brian Lane Barrett; Diana Barrett; Davin C.

Keiver; MarsuHa L. Keer,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

Nokia, INcorPoRATED, a/k/a Nokia Mobile Phones, Incorporated,

a/k/a Nokia Corporation; NEC America, INCORPORATED;

EricssON WirELESS COMMUNICATIONS, INCORPORATED, a/k/a

Ericsson, Incorporated; Sprint PCS Limirep PartNersuip,

a/k/a Sprint PCS, a/k/a Sprint Spectrum, LLP, a/k/a Sprint

Spectrum; Aupiovox CommunicaTIONS CorPORATION; NEXTEL

COMMUNICATIONS, INCORPORATED, a/k/a Nextel

Communications of the Mid-Atlantic, Incorporated, a/k/a

Nextel Partners, Incorporated, a/k/a Nextel; MaTsusHIta

2a

Appendix A

CORPORATION OF America, a/k/a Panasonic Corporation;

Puities ELectronics NortH AMERICA CORPORATION; QUALCOMM

INCORPORATED; SAMSUNG ELECTRONICS AMERICA, INCORPORATED,

a/k/a SAMSUNG ELecTroNics; Sanyo NortH AMERICA,

INCORPORATED, a/k/a Sanyo Business Systems Corporation,

a/k/a Sanyo North America Group; Sony ELEcTRONICcs,

IncorPoRATED; AT & T Corporation, a/k/a AT & T; VERIZON

MARYLAND, INCORPORATED, a/k/a Verizon, a/k/a Verizon

Wireless, formerly known as Bell Atlantic Maryland,

Incorporated; VERIZON COMMUNICATIONS, INCORPORATED,

formerly known as Bell Atlantic Corporation; Verizon

Wirevess, a/k/a NYNEX, a/k/a Bell Atlantic NYNEX, a/k/a

Bell Atlantic Mobile, Incorporated, a/k/a Bell Atlantic

NYNEX Mobile; Ceti_co Partnersuip, d/b/a Verizon

Wireless, formerly known as Bell Atlantic NYNEX Mobile,

formerly known as Bell Atlantic Mobile; CinGuLar WiRELEss,

LLC, formerly known as Bell]South Mobility, Incorporated,

a/k/a Southwestern Bell Wireless, formerly known as

Southwestern Bell Mobile Systems, Incorporated; CINGULAR

Wireess, a/k/a Washington/Baltimore Cellular Limited

Partnership; SBC Communications, INCORPORATED, CELLULAR

One Group, a/k/a Cellular One; VoicestTrREAM WIRELESS

Corporation; C.E.1., Incorporatep, a/k/a Communications

Electronics, a/k/a Communications Electronics, Incorporated;

BALTIMORE Business COMMUNICATIONS, INCORPORATED;

Comcast/METROPHONE; RADIOFONE; POWERTEL, INCORPORATED;

Powertet PCS, INcorPORATED; PowerRTEL/ATLANTA,

INCORPORATED; MitsupisHt WirkELESS COMMUNICATIONS,

INCORPORATED; MOTOROLA, INCORPORATED, a Delaware

corporation; CELLULAR TELECOMMUNICATIONS AND INTERNET

Association, a District of Columbia corporation; CELLULAR

TELECOMMUNICATIONS INDUSTRY ASSOCIATION; TELECOMMUNI-

3a

Appendix A

CATIONS INDUSTRY ASSOCIATION, a/k/a TIA; NexTet PARTNERS

OPERATING CORPORATION,

Defendants-Appellees,

and

WESTINGHOUSE COMMUNICATIONS; SOUTHERN TELECOM,

INCORPORATED, a/k/a Southern Linc; Joun Does 1-100; LGIC

CORPORATION; PANASONIC CORPORATION; SAMSUNG SDI

Company; SANYO CorPoRATION; SONY CORPORATION; PLANET

CELLULAR COMMUNICATIONS, INCORPORATED; VisiTOR CELLULAR

L.L.C.; Bett Soutn Mositity; Kyrocera WIRELESS

Corporation; MCI Woritpcom COMMUNICATIONS,

IncorporateD; U.S. West Wirecess, L.L.C., A Colozado

corporation; U.S. West COMMUNICATIONS, INCORPORATED, a

Colorado corporation; GTE Mositnet or San Digco,

INCORPORATED, a Delaware corporation; GTE Wire.ess SAN

Dieco, LLC, a California Limited Liability; CELLULAR

CARRIERS ASSOCIATION OF CALIFORNIA, a California

corporation; AB CeLLuLar Howpincs, LLC, d/b/a LA Cellular,

d/b/a Los Angeles Cellular Telephone Company,

Defendants.

Argued: October |, 2004

Decided: March 16, 2005

Before LUTTIG and MICHAEL, Circuit Judges, and

Jackson L. KISER, Senior United States District Judge for

the Western District of Virginia, sitting by designation.

4a

Appendix A

OPINION

MICHAEL, Circuit Judge:

This multidistrict litigation includes five class actions

brought initially in the state courts of Georgia, Louisiana,

Maryland, New York, and Pennsylvania. The plaintiffs sue

Nokia Inc. and other entities (collectively, “Nokia”) involved

in the manufacture and sale of wireless telephones. The

plaintiffs claim that wireless telephones emit an unsafe level

of radio frequency radiation and that Nokia has hidden this

fact from consumers. Nokia removed the five cases to various

federal courts, and the Judicial Panel on Multidistrict

Litigation (JPML) transferred the cases to the United States

District Court for the District of Maryland (the district court)

for consolidated pretrial proceedings. The district court

denied the plaintiffs’ motion to remand four of the cases to

state court and then dismissed al! five cases on the ground

that the plaintiffs’ state law claims are preempted by the

Federal Communications Act of 1934 (FCA), 47 U.S.C.

§ 151 et seq. The plaintiffs appeal both rulings. Because

federal subject matter jurisdiction is lacking in four of the

cases, we reverse the district court's order denying the motion

to remand those cases. There is diversity jurisdiction over

the fifth case, and because the state law claims are not

preempted, we reverse the order dismissing that case.

A wireless telephone (commonly called a cell phone) is

actually a radio containing a low power transmitter. When a

wireless telephone is turned on, it searches for a base station

5a

Appendix A

(usually a tower) within range. A base siation is a fixed

transmitter containing antennae and electronic equipment that

communicates with the transmitter in a wireless telephone.

If a wireless telephone finds a base station within range, the

telephone identifies itself by transmitting its Mobile

Identification Number (MIN), its System Identification Code

(SID), and its Electronic Serial Number (ESN). The ESN is

a number permanently programined into the telephone when

it is manufactured. The SID and the MIN are programmed

into the wireless telephone when a customer purchases a

service plan and the telephone is activated. The base station

relays the identifying information (MIN, SID, and ESN) to

the local mobile telephone switching office (MTSO), which

confirms that the telephone is assigned to a valid customer.

An MTSO is a sophisticated computer that controls all of

the base stations in a particular area for the purpose of

coordinating radio transmissions to and from wireless

telephones. Once an MTSO confirms that a wireless

telephone is assigned to a valid customer, the MTSO assigns

a frequency on which the user may communicate.

Base stations receiving and routing transmissions from

wireless telephones have a relatively small transmission range

because they have low power transmitters. Accordingly, to

provide continuous wireless telephone service coverage over

an extended area, numerous base stations must be built.

Cities and regions are divided into cells, typically ten square

miles, cach containing a base station. As a user moves out

of one cell (and thus out of range of the base station in

that cell) and into an adjoining cell, the MTSO hands

the signal off to the base station in the adjoining cell.

6a

Appendix A

Marshall Brain & Jeff Tyson, How Cell Phones Work,

at http://www.howstuffworks.com/cell-phone.htm/printable

(last visited January 24, 2005).

Wireless telephones emit a low level of radio frequency

(RF) radiation, a form of electromagnetic energy, from their

antennae when they communicate with base stations. See Cell

Phone Facts: Consumer Information on Wireless Phones,

at http://www.fda.gov/cellphones/qa.html (last updated

July 29, 2003). While it is well established that exposure to

high levels of RF radiation can cause adverse health effects,

there is no scientific consensus on the effects of low level

exposure. The Federal Communications Commission (FCC)

requires all transmitters that emit RF radiation to be

authorized by the agency before they are marketed or sold.

See 47 C.F.R. §§ 2.801, 2.803 (2004). Pursuant to the

National Environmental Policy Act of 1969, 42 U.S.C. § 4321

et seq., which requires agencies to consider the impact of

their actions on the quality of the human environment, the

FCC has promulgated rules that limit the amount of RF

radiation that FCC-regulated transmitters (including wireless

telephones) may emit. /n re Guidelines for Evaluating the

Envtl. Effects of Radiofrequency Radiation, 11 FCC Rcd.

15123, 15125 (1996) (in re Guidelines ); see 47 C.F.R.

$§ 1.1307, 1.1310, 2.1091, 2.1093.

The plaintiffs brought five class actions in state courts

against Nokia, claiming, among other things, that (1) wireless

telephones emit an unsafe level of RF radiation and (2) Nokia,

in knowing this, negligently and fraudulently endangered the

consuming public by marketing wireless telephones without

headsets. According to the plaintiffs, they were exposed to

7a

Appendix A

the risk of adverse biological effects from the RF radiation

emitted by their wireless telephones when they used the

telephones without headsets. The plaintiffs purport to

represent wireless telephone users who have not been

diagnosed with brain- or eye-related diseases and who were

not provided headsets when they leased or bought their

wireless telephones. Compensatory damages are sought in

an amount sufficient to buy a headset for each class member

who lacks one and to reimburse each class member who has

already bought one. For class members with wireless

telephones that are not headset-compatible, an injunction is

sought to require Nokia to provide them with telephones that

can be used with a headset. The plaintiffs also seek punitive

damages, costs, and attorneys’ fees.

After these cases were filed in the five state courts, Nokia

removed them, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1447, to the five

appropriate federal district courts. On October 31, 2001, the

JPML transferred the five cases to the District of Maryland

for consolidated or coordinated pre-trial proceedings.

On January 7, 2002, the plaintiffs in four of the cases —

those with lead plaintiffs named Pinney, Farina, Gilliam,

and Gimpelson (collectively, the “Pinney plaintiffs”) — filed

a consolidated motion to remand their cases to the state courts

in which they originated. The piaintiffs in the fifth case

(the “Naquin plaintiffs”) did not join this motion because

there was federal subject matter jurisdiction over their case

based on diversity of citizenship. On June 21, 2002, the -

district court denied the Pinney plaintiffs’ motion to remand

on the ground that their claims necessarily depend on the

resolution of a substantial federal question. According to the

8a

Appendix A

district court, the claims are a disguised attack on the FCC's

RF radiation standards, and resolution of the claims would

require the court to rule on the validity of those standards.

After remand was denied, Nokia filed a consolidated

motion to dismiss for failure to state a claim, see Fed.R.Civ.P.

12(b)(6), on the ground of federal preemption. On March 5,

2003, the district court granted Nokia’s motion on the basis

that the plaintiffs’ claims are pre-empted by the FCA. More

specifically, the district court concluded that the relief sought

by the plaintiffs in all five cases conflicts with Congress's

goal of achieving national uniformity in RF radiation

emission levels for all wireless telecommunications

equipment. The plaintiffs appeal the district court's orders.

Il.

We turn first to the district court’s order denying the

Pinney plaintiffs’ consolidated motion to remand their four

cases to state court. Federal removal jurisdiction may be

exercised over state court actions “of which the district courts

of the United States have original jurisdiction.” 28 U.S.C.

§ 1441(a). The original jurisdiction of the district courts

includes jurisdiction over “all civil actions arising under the

Constitution, laws, or treaties of the United States.” 28 U.S.C.

§ 1331. The propriety of Nokia's removal of the Pinney

plaintiffs’ state court cases depends on whether the claims

“aris[e} under” federal law. See Mulcahey v. Columbia

Organic Chems. Co., 29 F.3d 148, 151 (4th Cir. 1994).

We must strictly construe our removal jurisdiction because

removal “raises significant federalism concerns.” /d. “If it

appears before final judgment that a case was not properly

9a

Appendix A

removed, because it was not within the original jurisdiction

of the United States district courts, the district court must

remand it to the state court from which it was removed.”

Franchise Tax Bd. of Cal. v. Constr. Laborer’s Vacation Trust,

463 U.S. 1, 8, 103 S.Ct. 2841, 77 L.Ed.2d 420 (1983) (citing

28 U.S.C. § 1447(c)).

We begin with the issue of whether the Pinney plaintiffs’

claims arise under federal law pursuant to the substantial

federal question doctrine. We then address whether their

claims arise under federal law pursuant to the doctrine of

complete preemption. We ultimately conclude that the claims

of the Pinney plaintiffs do not arise under federal law by

reason of either doctrine. Accordingly, the district court

lacked jurisdiction over these claims, and the court erred in

denying the Pinney plaintiffs’ consolidated motion to remand

their cases to state court.

A.

In determining whether a plaintiff's claim arises under

federal law, we apply the well-pleaded complaint rule, which

holds that courts “ordinarily ... look no further than the

plaintiff's [properly pleaded] complaint in determining

whether a lawsuit raises issues of federal law capable of

creating federal-question jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1331.” Custer v. Sweeney, 89 F.3d 1156, 1165 (4th Cir.

1996). Thus, in examining the complaint, our first step is to

“discern whether federal or state law creates the cause of

action.” Mulcahey, 29 F.3d at 151; see also Dixon v. Coburg

Dairy, Inc., 369 F.3d 811, 816 (4th Cir.2004) (“The vast

majority of lawsuits ‘arise under the law that creates the cause

10a

Appendix A

of action.’ ”) (quoting Am. Well Works Co. v. Layne & Bowler

Co., 241 U.S. 257, 260, 36 S.Ct. 585, 60 L.Ed. 987 (1916)).

If federal law creates a plaintiff's claim, then removal is

proper. Mulcahey, 29 F.3d at 151. The general rule, of course,

is that a plaintiff is the “master of the claim,” and he may

“avoid federal jurisdiction by exclusive reliance on state law”

in drafting his complaint. Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams,

482 U.S. 386, 392, 107 S.Ct. 2425, 96 L.Ed.2d 318 (1987).

Here, it is undisputed that state law creates the claims asserted

by the Pinney plaintiffs, but this does not end our inquiry.

We must also determine whether these cases fall within the

small class of “cases in which a well-pleaded complaint

establishes . . . that the plaintiff’s right to relief necessarily

depends on resolution of a substantial question of federal

law, in that federal law is a necessary element of one of the

well-pleaded ... claims.” Christianson v. Colt Indus.

Operating Corp., 486 U.S. 800, 808, 108 S.Ct. 2166, 100

L.Ed.2d 811 (1988) (quoting Franchise Tax Bd., 463 US.

at 13, 27-28, 103 S.Ct. 2841) (internal quotation marks and

citations omitted). Under the substantial federal question

doctrine, “a defendant seeking to remove a case in which

state law creates the plaintiff's cause of action must establish

two elements: (1) that the plaintiff's right to relief necessarily

depends on a question of federal law, and (2) that the question

of federal law is substantial.” Dixon, 369 F.3d at 816. If the

defendant fails to establish either of these elements, the claim

does not arise under federal law pursuant to the substantial

federal question doctrine, and removal cannot be justified

under this doctrine. /d.

Appendix A

A plaintiff’s right to relief necessarily depends on a

question of federal law when “it appears that some ...

disputed question of federal law is a necessary element of

one of the well-pleaded state claims.” Franchise Tax Bd.,

463 U.S. at 13, 103 S.Ct. 2841. If a plaintiff can establish,

without the resolution of an issue of federal law, all of the

essential elements of his state law claim, then the claim does

not necessarily depend on a question of federal law. See id.

at 13-14, 103 S.Ct. 2841; see also Dixon, 369 F.3d at 817

(“[I)f the plaintiff can support his claim with even one theory

that does not cail for an interpretation of federal law, his

claim does not ‘arise under’ federal law for purposes of §

1331.”). This principle is illustrated in Franchise Tax Board.

There, the Supreme Court found no substantial federal

question when a California tax agency attempted to enforce

a levy on funds held in trust for several taxpayers under an

ERISA-covered benefit plan. 463 U.S. at 13-14, 193 S.Ct.

2841. The claim did not necessarily depend on a resolution

of federal law because “California law establishe[d] a set of

conditions, without reference to federal |aw, under which a

tax levy may be enforced; federal law bec[ame] relevant only

by way of a defense to an obligation created entirely by state

law, and then only if [the state agency] ha[d] made out a

valid claim for relief under state law.” Jd. at 13, 103 S.Ct.

2841. “[I}t has been well-settled law,” the Court noted, “that

a case may not be removed to federal court on the basis of a

federal defense, including the defense of preempxion, even

if the defense is anticipated in the plaintiff's complaint, and

even if both parties admit that the defense is the only question

truly at issue in the case.” /d. at 14, 103 S.Ct. 2841.

l2a

Appendix A

We now examine the claims in the complaints filed by

the Pinney plaintiffs. We note parenthetically that the district

court allowed these plaintiffs to amend their complaints after

it denied their motion to remand. Because amendment

occurred after removal, we look at the original complaints

rather than the amended complaints in determining whether

removal was proper. See Pullman Co. v. Jenkins, 305 U.S.

534, 537, 59 S.Ct. 347, 83 L.Ed. 334 (1939). The Pinney

plaintiffs assert seven claims in their original complaints.

They first allege that Nokia is strictly liable for placing a

defectively designed product into the stream of commerce.

These claims are brought under the laws of Georgia,

Maryland, New York, and Pennsylvania. Under the laws of

all four states, a manufacturer (and sometimes a seller) is

strictly liable for selling a defectively designed product that

causes personal injury. Georgia, Maryland, and New York

assess whether a product suffers from a design defect by using

the risk-utility balancing test. Under this test a fact-finder

must determine whether the manufacturer acted reasonably

in choosing a particular product design, given the probability

and magnitude of the risk, the usefulness of the product in

its particular condition, and the burden on the manufacturer

to eliminate the risk. See Banks v. IC] Ams., Inc., 264 Ga.

732, 450 S.E.2d 671, 673-74 (1994); Nissan Motor Co. v.

Nave, 129 Md.App. 90, 740 A.2d 102, 118 (1999); Voss v.

Black & Decker Mfg. Co., 59 N.Y.2d 102, 463 N.Y.S.2d 398,

450 N.E.2d 204, 208-09 (1983). Under Pennsylvania law a

product suffers from a design defect if it lacks a component

necessary to make it safe for its intended use. See Harsh v.

Petroll, 840 A.2d 404, 416-17 (Pa.2003).

13a

Appendix A

Second, the Pinney plaintiffs allege that Nokia is strict!y

liable for its failure to warn about the adverse health risks

associated with wireless telephones. These claims are brought

under the laws of Georgia, Maryland, New York, and

Pennsylvania. According to these laws, when a manufacturer

or a seller knows or should have known of the latent danger

of a product and fails to warn the consuming public, the

manufacturer or seller is strictly liable for injuries caused by

the danger while the product is used in a foreseeable manner.

See Hunt v. Harley-Davidson Motor Co., 147 Ga.App. 44,

248 S.E.2d 15, 16 (1978); Owens-Illinois, Inc. v. Zenobia,

325 Md. 420, 601 A.2d 633, 639 (1992); Rastelli v. Goodyear

Tire & Rubber Co., 79 N.Y.2d 289, 582 N.Y.S.2d 373, 591

N.E.2d 222, 225 (1992); Davis v. Berwind Corp., 547 Pa.

260, 690 A.2d 186, 190 (1997).

Third, the Pinney plaintiffs allege that Nokia is liable

for violating various state consumer protection statutes. These

claims are brought under the laws of Maryland, New York,

and Pennsylvania, where the relevant statutes allow a plaintiff

to recover for losses or injuries sustained when a merchant

engages in deceptive trade practices. See Md.Code Ann.,

Com. Law II, § 13-408; N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law § 349(h)

(McKinney); 73 Pa. Cons.Stat. § 201-9.2. These statutes

generally require a plaintiff to prove either (1) that the

defendant made materially false or misleading statements

about its product that deceived, or had the tendency to

deceive, consumers, or (2) that the defendant failed to state

a material fact with respect to its product, and this failure

deceived, or had the tendency to deceive, consumers.

See Md.Code Ana., Com. Law II, § 13-301(1), (2)(i), (3),

l4a

Appendix A

(9)(i); N.Y. Gen. Bus. Law § 350-a(1); 73 Pa. Cons.Stat.

§ 201-2(4)(v), (vii), (ix), (xxi).

Fourth, the Pinney plaintiffs allege that Nokia breached

an implied warranty of merchantability by selling and

distributing unreasonably dangerous wireless telephones.

These claims are brought under the laws of Georgia,

Maryland, New York, and Pennsylvania. To make out a ciaim

for breach of this implied warranty, a plaintiff must establish

that a product is not of merchantable quality and that he

suffered an injury as a result. A product is not of merchantable

quality when it is not fit for the ordinary purposes for which

it is used. See Wilson vy. J & L Melton, Inc., 270 Ga.App. 1,

606 S.E.2d 47, 49 n. 1 (2004); Ford Motor Co. v. Gen. Acc.

Ins. Co., 365 Md. 321, 779 A.2d 362, 370 n. 13 (2001); Denny

v. Ford Motor Co., 87 N.Y.2d 248, 639 N.Y.S.2d 250, 662

N.E.2d 730, 736 (1995); Phillips v. Cricket Lighters, 852

A.2d 365, 370-71 (Pa.Super.Ct.2004). In determining

whether a product is of merchantable quality, the fact-finder

focuses on the “expectations for the performance of the

product when used in the customary, usual, and reasonably

foreseeable manners.” Denny, 639 N.Y.S.2d 250, 662 N.E.2d

at 736.

Fifth, the Pinney plaintiffs allege that Nokia was

negligent (1) in failing to conduct adequate and appropriate

scientific research on the adverse health effects of exposure

to RF radiation from wireless telephones, (2) in misrepresent-

ing to the public that wireless telephones are safe, (3) in

suppressing any scientific evidence suggesting that wircless

telephones are not safe, (4) in failing to provide warnings

about the potential health risks from failing to use a headset,

.1Sa

Appendix A

and (5) in failing to provide headsets and instructions

encouraging their use. These claims are brought under the

laws of Georgia and Maryland. To make out a claim for

negligence, a plaintiff must establish the following elements:

(1) the defendant owed the plaintiff a duty, (2) the defendant

breached that duty, (3) the plaintiff suffered an injury, and

(4) there was a causal connection between the breach and

the injury. See Johnson v. Am. Nat'l Red Cross, 276 Ga. 270,

578 S.E.2d 106, 108 (2003); Hemmings v. Pelham Wood LLP,

375 Md. 522, 826 A.2d 443, 451 (2003). A manufacturer

generally has a duty to exercise reasonable care in

manufacturing, designing, and selling its products “so as to

make the products reasonably safe for intended or foreseeable

uses.” Chrysler Corp. v. Batten, 264 Ga. 723, 450 S.E.2d

208, 211 (1994) (citation omitted), see also Eagle-Picher

Indus., Inc. v. Balbos, 326 Md. 179, 604 A.2d 445, 454 n. 9

(1992).

Sixth, the Pinney plaintiffs allege that Nokia engaged in

fraud by misinforming and misleading the public as to the

safety of wireless telephones. These claims are brought under

the laws of Georgia, Maryland, New York, and Pennsylvania.

To make out a claim for fraud, a plaintiff must establish the

following elements: (1) the defendant made a false

representation, (2) the defendant knew the representation

was false or was recklessly indifferent to its truth or falsity,

(3) the defendant made the representation with the intent to

defraud the plamtiff, (4) the plaintiff justifiably relied on

the false representation, and (5) the plaintiff suffered damages

as a result. See Rhone v. Bolden, 270 Ga.App. 712, 608 S.E.2d

22 (2004); Martens Chevrolet, Inc. v. Seney, 292 Md. 328,

439 A.2d 534, 537 (1982); P. Chimento Co. v. Banco Popular

16a

Appendix A

de Puerto Rico, 208 A.D.2d 385, 617 N.Y.S.2d 157, 158

(N.Y.App.Div.1994), Gibbs v. Ernst, 538 Pa. 193, 647 A.2d

882, 889 (1994). Concealment of a material fact, with intent

to deceive, satisfies the false representation element of fraud.

See Paul v. Destito, 250 Ga.App. 631, 550 S.E.2d 739, 744

(2001); Hoffman v. Stamper, 155 Md.App. 247, 843 A.2d

153, 186 (2004); Nasaba Corp. v. Harfred Realty Corp.,

287 N.Y. 290, 39 N.E.2d 243, 245 (1942); De Joseph v.

Zambelli, 392 Pa. 24, 139 A.2d 644, 647 (1958).

Seventh, the Pinney plaintiffs allege that Nokia engaged

in a civil conspiracy to market unsafe wireless telephones

by improper and wrongful means, and, in doing so, both

defrauded the plaintiffs and failed to warn them of the health

risks of using wireless telephones. These claims are brought

under the laws of Georgia and Maryland. In a claim for civil

conspiracy a plaintiff must establish that two or more

defendants, acting in concert, engaged in conduct constituting

a tort. Damages are assessed on the basis of the defendants’

tortious conduct, not on the basis of their agreement to engage

in such conduct. See Miller v. Lomax, 266 Ga.App. 93, 596

S.E.2d 232, 242 (2004); Aileco, Inc. v. Harry & Jeanette

Weinberg Found., Inc., 99 Md.App. 696, 639 A.2d 173,

176-77 (1994).

We have thoroughly examined the claims asserted by

the Pinney plaintiffs in their complaints, and one thing is

clear: the elements of each of the claims depend only on the

resolution of questions of state law. There is no “substantial,

disputed question of federal law [that] is a necessary element

of [any] of the well-pleaded state claims.” Franchise Tax

Bd., 463 U.S. at 13, 103 S.Ct. 2841. The district court,

17a

Appendix A

however, determined that these cases depend on the

resolution of a substantia! federal question because the claims

“put . . . directly into dispute” the validity and sufficiency of

the federal RF radiation standards for wireless telephones.

See In Re Wireless Tel. Radio Frequency Emissions

Prods. Liab. Litig., 216 FSupp.2d 474, 488 (D.Md.2002)

(In re Wireless I). The ultimate objective of these complaints,

according to the district court, “is to attack the lack of a

headset requirement under the federal RF safety rules.” /d.

Although the court acknowledged that the complaints contain

no allegations attacking the federal RF radiation standards,

it believed that it could ultimately resolve the case only by

passing judgment on the validity of the federal standards.

The court therefore determined that removal was justified

under the substantial federal question doctrine. /d. at 488,

491-92.'

The district court erred by not recognizing that its inquiry

was limited by the well-pleaded complaint rule. It should

have considered only whether a disputed question of federal

law is an essential element of one of the well-pleaded state

claims. See Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. at 13, 103 S.Ct.

2841. The district court went beyond this restricted inquiry

and in effect anticipated (1) that Nokia would raise the

affirmative defense that the state law claims are preempted

by the FCA and federal RF radiation standards and (2) that

the Pinney plaintiffs would be called upon to rebut that

1. The dissent makes the same argument as the district court

~ that a substantial federal question exists because “the effect of

[the Pinney plaintiffs’) allegations” is to “challenge the sufficiency

of the FCC standard.” Post at 459. As we explain in the text that

follows, this argument cannot be sustained.

18a

Appendix A

defense. The cases could be decided, the court concluded,

only by resolving whether the claims are preempted by the

FCA and the federal RF radiation standards. Even if that is

$0, a preemption defense “that raises a federal question is

inadequate to confer federal jurisdiction.” Merrell Dow

Pharms., Inc. v. Thompson, 478 U.S. 804, 808, 106 S.Ct.

3229, 92 L.Ed.2d 650 (1986). Again, “a case may not be

removed to federal court on the basis of a federal defense,

including the defense of preemption,” even if the complaint

begs the assertion of the defense, and even if “the defense is

the only question truly at issue in the case.” Franchise Tax

Bd., 463 U.S. at 14, 103 S.Ct. 2841

The thrust of the claims is that Nokia violated state law

by manufacturing and selling a product that it knew, or should

have known, was dangerous and by not adequately warning

of the dangers. As was the case in Franchise Tax Board, state

law establishes a set of elements, without reference to federal

law, that the plaintiffs must establish in order to a make out

“valid claim({s] for relief.” 463 U.S. at 13, 103 S.Ct. 2841.

Federal law becomes relevant only as a defense, and only

after the Pinney plaintiffs have made out the elements of

their state law claims. In this situation, as the Supreme Court

has observed, “[t]he most one can say is that a question of

federal law is lurking in the background.” Gully v. First Nat'l

Bank, 299 U.S. 109, 117, 57 S.Ct. 96, 81 L.Ed. 70 (1936).

The lurking question of federal law is, of course, the

affirmative defense of preemption, but that does not make

the claims into ones arising under federal law.

19a

Appendix A

B.

It becomes even clearer that the Pinney plaintiffs’ claims

do not contain a disputed question of federal law when we

consider Nokia's arguments. Nokia argues that an issue of

federal law must be resolved for the Pinney plaintiffs to

establish the necessary elements for two of their claims.

Nokia first points to the claim of strict liability due to a design

defect. As discussed above, see supra at 12-13, one element

a plaintiff must establish is that the product suffered from a

design defect. A design defect is established by proving that

the product is unreasonably dangerous, as determined by the

risk-utility standard. Nokia argues that the FCC’s RF

radiation standards establish the relevant “duty” with regard

to RF radiation emissions from wireless telephones, and

therefore the unreasonably dangerous inquiry depends on the

resolution of a federal question. Br. for Appellees at 26.

Nokia’s use of the term “duty” is misplaced because the term

is more commonly employed in a negligence context, not a

Strict liability context. In any event, the nub of Nokia's

argument is that a wireless telephone’s compliance

(or noncompliance) with the federal RF radiation standards

determines whether the telephone is unreasonably dangerous.

Nokia is wrong. Under the laws of Georgia, Maryland, and

New York, compliance with the federal RF radiation

standards is only one factor in assessing whether a wireless

telephone is unreasonably dangerous under the risk-utility

standard. See Doyle v. Volkswagenwerk Aktiengesellschaft,

267 Ga. 574, 481 S.E.2d 518, 521 (1997); Beatty v.

Trailmaster Prods., 330 Md. 726, 625 A.2d 1005, 1014

(1993); Denny, 639 N.Y.S.2d 250, 662 N.E.2d at 735-36;

Sherman v. M. Lowenstein & Sons, Inc., 28 A.D.2d 922, 282

20a

Appendix A

N.Y.S.2d 142, 143-44 (N.Y.App.Div.1967). And because

Pennsylvania law rejects the importation of negligence

concepts into its strict liability doctrine, compliance with

the federal RF radiation standards is not relevant in

determining whether Nokia is strictly liable under

Pennsylvania iaw for selling a product that suffers from a

design defect. See Lewis v. Coffing Hoist Div., Duff-Norton

Co., 515 Pa. 334, 528 A.2d 590, 593-94 (1987) (holding that

product compliance with industry standards is irrelevant in

Strict liability case based on defective design). Thus, even if

Nokia’s wireless telephones comply with the federal RF

radiation standards, the Pinney plaintiffs could still establish

the defective design element of the their strict liability

claim. Conversely, if Nokia’s wireless telephones do not

comply with the federal RF radiation standards, the Pinney

plaintiffs would not automatically establish the defective

design element.

Nokia also argues that the Pinney plaintiffs “need to

establish disputed federal-law propositions” to make out their

fraud claims. Br. for Appellees at 27. To make out a claim of

fraud, a plaintiff must establish, among other elements, that

the defendants made a false statement. Nokia asserts that

the Pinney plaintiffs, in order to prove that statements made

by Nokia were false, must demonstrate that the “substantive

content of federal wireless emissions regulations is

inconsistent with [Nokia's] alieged characterizations of those

regulations.” /d. This is a mischaracterization of the fraud

claims. The Pinney plaintiffs do not allege that Nokia

fraudulently misrepresented the RF radiation standards,

Rather, they allege that Nokia made false statements by

misrepresenting the general safety of wireless telephones and

21a

Appendix A

by misrepresenting or failing to disclose the biological risks

posed by wireless telephones. To prove the falsity of these

statements, the Pinney plaintiffs must establish that the RF

radiation emissions from wireless telephones create a health

risk. This has nothing to do with the substantive content of

the federal regulations. In sum, there is no substantial

question of federal law that is a necessary element of the

Pinney plaintiffs’ strict liability (design defect) or fraud

claims.’

2. In arguing for removal jurisdiction, the dissent points to one

of the many factual allegations made by the Pinney plaintiffs in

support of their fraud claims. The Pinney plaintiffs allege that Nokia

engaged in fraud on an occasion when it claimed that wireless

telephones are safe and “fall within [FCC] safety standards,”

but “deceitfully omitted the fact that the FCC had declared that it

does not consider itself the ‘expert agency’ for evaluating health

effects.” J.A. 142 (emphasis in original). According to the dissent,

this allegation “call[s] into question the expertise of the FCC.”

Post at 37. That is not the case. To establish that the safety statement

made by Nokia was false, a necessary element for fraud, the Pinney

plaintiffs need only prove that the failure to disclose the FCC's

statement was the concealment of a material fact or that Nokia's

safety statement was false in light of the FCC's statement. The

plaintiffs will not have to prove any lack of FCC expertise in the RF

radiation area in order to establish that Nokia made false statements

about the safety of wireless telephones. A “substantial, disputed

question of federal law” is simply not a necessary element of the

fraud claims. Franchise Tax Bd., 463 U.S. at 13, 103 S.Ct. 2841.

The dissent also relies on a general allegation in the Pinney

plaintiffs’ complaint to support its argument that removal jurisdiction

exists. This allegation is that Nokia “obtain[ed] and exercised control

over the American National Standards Institute (‘ANSI’) Committee

(Cont'd)

22a

Appendix A

To get around this problem, Nokia advances a new theory

— the “sufficient connection” to a federal regulatory scheme

theory — for why the Pinney plaintiffs’ claims are removable

pursuant to the substantial federal question doctrine. Nokia

relies on Our decision in Ormet Corp. v. Ohio Power Co.,

98 F.3d 799 (4th Cir. 1996), to argue that “where a plaintiff's

state law complaint is sufficiently connected to a federal

regulatory regime as to which Congress has expressed a need

for uniform implementation and interpretation, that

connection can provide a basis for federal question

jurisdiction even if no explicitly federal claim is pled.” Br.

for Appellees at 25. Nokia does not suggest a standard for

determining when a connection is sufficient to render removal

proper under its theory, but it nonetheless asserts that a

sufficient connection exists in the present cases. According

to Nokia, there is a comprehensive federal scheme to regulate

wireless telecommunications, and Congress has delegated

to federal regulators the exclusive authority over all technical

aspects of wireless telecommunications. A sufficient

connection exists between the telecommunications regulatory

regime and the Pinney plaintiffs’ claims, Nokia says, because

(Cont'd)

responsible for developing safety standards for RFR emitting

devices.” J.A. 140. ANS! s proposals regarding RF radiation

standards were generally adopted in PCC rulemaking. See /n re

Guidelines, 11 PCC Red. at 15123-25, 1996 WL 926565. According

to the dissent, the allegation about Nokia's influence over ANSI

means that the plaintiffs “are .. . attacking the rule-making process

that the PCC used in developing [its RF radiation) standards.” Pos

at 38. The dissent, however, does not explain how the allegation

about ANSI raises a substantial question of federal law that is a

necessary clement of any one of the plaintiffs’ state law claims.

23a

Appendix A

the claims are premised on the amcunt of RF radiation that

emits from wireless telephones, a technical aspect of wireless

telephones that is regulated by the FCC. To begir with,

Nokia’s sufficient connection theory, as applied to these

claims, is similar to, if not indistinguishable from, the

argument that the Pinney plaintiffs’ claims are removable

under the substantial federal question doctrine because they

are preempted by the FCA and the federal RF radiation

standards. Nokia, of course, avoids couching its argument

in preemption terms because it knows that the affirmative

defense of preemption cannot serve as a basis for removal

under the substantial federal question doctrine. Regardless

of whether Nokia's sufficient connection theory is at bottom

a preemption argument, we reject it because it is not

supported by our Ormet decision, and it is inconsistent with

Supreme Court precedent.

Ormet does not establish, or even support, Nokia's

sufficient connection theory. In Ormet one of the elements

of the plaintiff's state commercial law claim contained a

disputed question of federal law: for the plaintiff to establish

the element, it had to show that it was an owner (as defined

by the federal Clean Air Act) of tradeable emission allowance

permits. 98 F.3d at 807. Nokia relies on ou: statement,

“[w here the resolution of a federal issue in a state-law cause

of action could, because of different approaches and

inconsistency, undermine the stability and efficiency of a

federal statutory regime, the need for uniformity becomes a

substantial federal interest, justifying the exercise of

jurisdiction by federal courts.” Jd. at 807 (citation omitted).

Nokia claims this language stands for the proposition that a

nexus (or, in Nokia's words, a “sufficient connection”)

24a

Appendix A

between a plaintiff's claim for relief and a federal regulatory

scheme is sufficient to establish removal jurisdiction. Nokia's

reliance on the quoted statement from Ormet is completely

off the mark because the statement specifically addresses the

issue of whether a federal question is substantial enough to

justify removal jurisdiction, not the threshold issue of

whether a federal question must be resolved in order for the

plaintiff to establish a necessary element of his claim.

Nowhere in Ormet did we ever suggest that some “sufficient

connection” between a federal regulatory regime and a state

claim is enough to establish removal jurisdiction. In short,

Ormet did not slacken in any way the principle that the

substantial federal question doctrine applies only when a

disputed issue of federal law is an essential element of at

least one of the plaintiffs’ state claims.

Ormet aside, Nokia's sufficient connection theory is

inconsistent with Supreme Court precedent. By Nokia's

reasoning, even if the Pinney plaintiffs can establish the

necessary elements of their claims without resolving a

question of federal law, the cases are still removable under

the substantial federal question doctrine because of a

connection between the federal scheme regulating wireless

telecommunications and the Pinney plaintiffs’ state claims.

That is not enough. The Supreme Court has been quite clear

that for removal to be proper under the substantial federal

question doctrine, a plaintiff's ability to establish the

necessary elements of his state law claims must rise or fall

on the resolution of a question of federal law. See Merrell

Dow, 478 U.S. at 813, 106 S.Ct. 3229 (“[T]he mere presence

of a federal issue in a state cause of action does not confer

federal question jurisdiction.”). In sum, removal of thes<

2Sa

Appendix A

cases cannot be sustained on the basis of the substantial

federal question doctrine.

Cc.

Having determined that these cases do not arise under

federal law pursuant to the substantial federal question

doctrine, we consider whether they arise under federal law

through the doctrine of complete preemption. Under complete

preemption a state claim arises under federal law when

Congress “so completely preempt [s] a particular area that

any civil complaint raising th{e] select group of claims is

necessarily federal in character.” Metro. Life Ins. Co. v.

Taylor, 481 U.S. 58, 63-64 (1987). There is, of course, a

difference between the doctrine of complete preemption and

the affirmative defense of federal preemption. “As a defense,

[federal preemption] does not appear on the face of a well-

pleaded complaint, and, therefore, does not authorize removal

to federal court.” /d. at 63 (citation omitted). In contrast, the

doctrine of complete preemption “converts an ordinary state

common law complaint into one stating a federal claim,”

id. at 65, and the federal claim is deemed to appear

on the face of the complaint. Darcangelo v. Verizon

Commu tications, Inc., 292 F.3d 181, 187 (4th Cir.2002). To

remove an action on the basis of complete preemption, a

defendant must establish that the plaintiff has a “discernible

federal [claim]” and that “Congress intended [the federal

claim] to be the exclusive remedy for the alleged wrong.”

King v. Marriott Int'l, Inc., 337 F.4d 421, 425 (4th Cir.2003).

In assessing the removal of these cases on the basis of

complete preemption, our basic inquiry is whether the FCA

26a

Appendix A

establishes the exclusive claim /or consumers alleging injury

by wireless telephones. Nokia argues that §§ 201 and 207 of

the FCA provide the exclusive claim for the Pinney plaintiffs.

Section 207 allows private parties to sue common carriers

and recover damages resulting from a common carrier's

breach of its obligations under the FCA. 47 U.S.C. § 207.

Nokia argues that the Pinney plaintiffs’ exclusive claim is to

allege that Nokia violated § 201(b), which imposes on

common carriers the obligation that “[a}ll charges, practices,

classifications, and regulations for and in connection with

{wire or radio] communication service, shall be just and

reasonable.” 47 U.S.C. § 201(b). Specifically, Nokia argues

that the sale of dangerous wireless telephones constitutes a

“practice in connection with” wireless service. Nokia is

wrong in saying that the FCA provides the exclusive claim.

First off, § 207 does not provide any claim against a

number of the defendants in these cases. Sections 201 and

207 allow recovery only against common carriers. Under the

FCA “‘common carriers’ are entities that must provide

[transmission] service [s} to the public without discrimination

and are heavily regulated by the FCC.” /n re Application of

the United States for an Order Authorizing the Roving

Interception of Oral Communications, 349 F.3d 1132, 1137

n. 9 (9th Cir.2003) (citations omitted); see also 47 U.S.C.

§ 153(10). In the wireless telecommunications arena,

“[a] person engaged in the provision of” wireless service is

treated as a common carrier. See 47 U.S.C. § 332(c) 1 (A).

In their complaints the Pinney plaintiffs name two groups of

defendants: providers of wireless service (that also market

and distribute wireless telephones) and manufacturers of

wireless telephones. As to the second group, the plaintiffs

27a

Appendix A

allege that these defendants “engaged in the design,

manufacture, marketing, and sale of” wireless telephones.

See, ¢.g., J.A. 122-127. There are no allegations that these

manufacturer-defendants are engaged in providing any

wireless service, and we therefore conclude that these

defendants canrot be treated as common carriers. As a result,

they cannot be sued under §§ 201 and 207.

As to the first group of defendants (certain wireless

service providers), Nokia does not cite to any authority that

supports the proposition that §§ 201 and 207 provide wireless

telephone users with a claim against wireless service

providers for their role in marketing and distributing wireless

telephones. An interpretation of § 201 that would construc

the selling of dangerous wireless telephones as a “practice

in connection with” wireless service would be dubious at

best. A “practice in connection with” wireless service does

not even include tortious conduct such as deceptive

advertising and billing by wireless service providers in the

provision of wireless telephone service. See Marcus v. AT&T

Corp., 138 F.3d 46, 54 (2d Cir.1998). Further, even if we

were to broadly construe § 201 as Nokia urges, there is simply

no evidence that Congress intended §§ 201 and 207 to be

the exclusive claim for plaintiffs alleging injury from wireless

telephones. Nokia fails to identify any evidence in the statute

or legislative history that Congress intended §§ 201 and 207

to preempt completely state law claims that are based on a

wireless service provider's sale and promotion of wircless

telephones. The single authority to which Nokia cites is an

FCC statement claiming that individual states should not be

permitted to add additional requirements to the standards the

FCC imposes for cellular systems. See Br. for Appellees at

28a

Appendix A

36 (citing In re An Inquiry into the Use of the Bands 825-

845 MHz and 870-890 MHz for Cellular Communications

Sys.; and Amendment of Parts 2 and 22 of the Commission's

Rules Relative to Cellular Communication Sys. , 89 F.C.C.2d

58, 1982 WL 190439 (1982)). This statement is not evidence

of congressional intent, and we accord it no weight.

The FCA also contains a savings clause: “Nothing

contained in this chapter shall in any way abridge or alter

the remedies now existing at common law or by statute, but

the provisions of this chapter are in addition to such

remedies.” 47 U.S.C. § 414. The presence of a savings clause

counsels against a finding that Congress intended to sweep

aside all state claims in a particular area. Indeed, at least two

circuits have recognized in other contexts that § 414

precludes such a finding. See Smith v. GTE Corp., 236 F.3d

1292, 1313 (1 1th Cir.2001) (concluding that § 414 counsels

against a determination that the FCA completely preempts

telecommunications customers’ claims against a

telecommunications service provider's fraudulent conduct

in leasing telephones and related equipment); Marcus, 138

F.3d at 54 (concluding that § 414’s savings clause counsels

against a determination that the FCA completely preempts

wireless service customers’ claims against a wireless service

provider based on the provider's deceptive billing and false

advertising). Because there is no evidence that Congress

intended the FCA to provide the exclusive remedy for claims

like those of the Pinney plaintiffs, and because there is

evidence that Congress intended to preserve state law claims

such as the ones asserted in these cases, we conclude that

these claims do not arise under federal law through the

doctrine of complete preemption. Because the Pinney

29a

Appendix A

plaintiffs’ claims do not arise under federal law, the district

court lacked jurisdiction over them, making removal

improper.

i.

After the district court denied the Pinney plaintiffs’

motion to remand their four cases to state court, it dismissed

all five cases, including the one brought by the Naquin

plaintiffs, on the ground that the claims are preempted by

the FCA. Because the district court lacked subject matter

jurisdiction over the four cases brought by the Pinney

plaintiffs, the district court had no power to dismiss them.

However, as we noted earlier, the district court has diversity

jurisdiction over the case brought by the Naquin plaintiffs.

See 28 U.S.C. § 1332(a). We must therefore review the

district court's order granting Nokia's motion to dismiss the

claims of the Naquin plaintiffs.

A.

Before we address the substance of the dismissal, we

consider the Naquin plaintiffs’ argument that the district court

erred in taking up Nokia's motion to dismiss their case. They

first contend the dismissal should be vacated because there

is NO subject matter jurisdiction over the other four cases

(the Pinney plaintiffs’ cases) that were consolidated with their

case. The Naquin plaintiffs argue that if the district court

had not erred in failing to recognize that it lacked jurisdiction

over the cases of the Pinney plaintiffs, only the Naquin case

would have remained, and Nokia’s motion to dismiss would

not have been considered due to lack of venue over the lone

30a

Appendix A

remaining case. According to the Naquin plaintiffs, the

district court's error also denied them the procedural right to

petition the JPML or the district court for a retransfer of their

case to the transferor court, the Uniied States District Court

for the Eastern District of Louisiana. Finally, the Naquin

plaintiffs argue that the district court should not have

considered the motion to dismiss because it had been denied

by the transferor court prior to transfer.

There is no merit to the argument that venue over the

Naquin plaintiffs’ case in the District of Maryland was

improper due to the lack of federal jurisdiction over the other

four consolidated cases. The statute authorizing transfer (and

consolidation) of multidistrict actions, 47 U.S.C. § 1407, is

a venue statute that allows the JPML to override a plaintiff's

choice of forum when three factors are present: (1) “one or

more common questions of fact are pending in different

districts,” (2) a transfer would serve “the convenience of

parties and witnesses,” and (3) a transfer would “promote

the just and efficient conduct of [the] actions.” 28 U.S.C.

§ 1407(a); see also In re Vernitron Secs. Litig., 462 F. Supp.

391, 394 (J.P.M.L.1978) (“Nor can the policies behind venue

provisions designed to operate in the context of single

independent actions prevail, in a multidistrict context, over

the Panel's statutory mandate to weigh the interests of all

the plaintiffs and all the defendants and to consider

multidistrict litigation as a whole in light of the purposes of

the law.”). Transfer, of course, may be ordered only for the

purpose of “coordinated or consolidated pretrial

proceedings.” 28 U.S.C. § 1407(a).

3la

Appendix A

In the present cases, the JPML, after noting the presence

of common questions of fact, found that “[c]entralization

... in the District of Maryland [would] serve the convenience

of the parties and witnesses and [would] promote the just

and efficient conduct of the litigation, while accordingly

being necessary in order to avoid duplication of discovery,

prevent inconsistent pretrial rulings, and conserve the

resources of the parties, their counsel, and the judiciary.”

In Re Wireless Tel. Radio Frequency Emissions Prods. Liab.

Litig., 170 F.Supp.2d 1356 (J.P.M.L.2001) (order

consolidating and transferring the cases to the District of

Maryland). Because these findings satisfied the prerequisites

for transfer, and because the proceedings were still in the

pretrial stage, venue in the District of Maryland was proper.

The Naquin plaintiffs essentially seek to add an additional

requirement that subject matter jurisdiction must exist over

all transferred and consolidated cases for venue to be proper

in the transferee court. There is no basis for this requirement

in either the multidistrict litigation statute or the case law.

The Naquin plaintiffs next argue that they were denied

their procedural right to request a remand to the Eastern

District of Louisiana as a result of the district court’s error

in finding subject matter jurisdiction over the cases brought

by the Pinney plaintiffs. We disagree. At any point in the

district court proceedings, the Naquin plaintiffs could have

petitioned the JPML directly for a remand, or they could have

requested that the district court suggest a remand to the JPML.

J.P.M.L. Rule 7.6(c)(i), (ii); see also In re Roberts, 178 F.3d

181, 184 (3d Cir. 1999) (noting that once-a case is transferred,

only the JPML, and not the transferee court, has the authority

to remand the case to the transferor court). The Naquin

32a

Appendix A

plaintiffs never moved the JPML for a remand nor asked the

district court to suggest remand to the JPML. Because these

plaintiffs failed to raise the rernand issue with either the JPML

or the district court, we consider the issue waived for

purposes of this appeal. See Holland v. Big River Minerals

Corp., 181 F.3d 597, 605 (4th Cir. 1999) (“Generally, issues

that were not raised in the district court will not be addressed

on appeal.”’).

Finally, the Naquin plaintiffs argue that the district

court’s dismissal order should be vacated because Judge

Lemelle of the Eastern District of Louisiana had denied, prior

to transfer, motions to dismiss filed by some of the

defendants. The Naquin plaintiffs claim that a transferee court

may reconsider a prior order of a transferor court only when:

(1) there is an intervening change in the law, (2) there is

newly discovered (material) evidence, or (3) reconsideration

is necessary to correct a clear error of law or prevent manifest

injustice. The two cases relied on by the Naquin plaintiffs

do not support such a constricted view of a transferee court's

authority. In each of the cases, Microbix Biosys., Inc. v.

BioWhittaker, Inc., 184 F. Supp. 2d 434, 436 (D. Md. 2000),

and Potter v. Potter, 199 F.R.D. 550, 552 (D. Md. 2001), the

district court was ruling on a motion for reconsideration of

its own order. The rules of constraint urged by the Naquin

plaintiffs make sense when a district court is asked to

reconsider its own order. “Were it otherwise, then there would

be no conclusion to motions practice, each motion becoming

nothing more than the latest installment in a potentially

endless serial that would exhaust the resources of the parties

and the court — not to mention its patience.” Potter, 199

F.R.D. at 553. This same constraint is not always justified in

33a

Appendix A

the multidistrict litigation context, where there is a need for

consistent treatment of consolidated cases. See Astarte

Shipping Co. v. Allied Steel & Export Svc., 767 F.2d 86, $7

(Sth Cir.1985) (“The transferee court has the power and the

obligation to modify or rescind any orders in effect in the

transferred case which it concludes are incorrect.”);

Degulis v. LXR Biotech., Inc., 928 F. Supp. 1301, 1309

(S.D.N.Y.1996) (“A transferee court in a multidistrict

litigation thus has the power to modify interlocutory orders

entered by the transferor court prior to transfer under

28 U.S.C. § 1407.”) (citation omitted). Here, Judge Lemelle,

in denying the motions to dismiss, denied them without

prejudice and explicitly acknowledged that the issue of

federal preemption could be revisited later in the litigation.

In sum, the district court did not err in considering Nokia's

motion to dismiss the Naquin case.

In their amended complaint the Naquin plaintiffs allege -

both state and federal claims atiu seek the same remedy as

the Pinney plaintiffs, headsets for wireless telephones.’

3. For their federal claims the Naquin plaintiffs allege that

Nokia has violated the Magnuson-Moss Warranty Improvement Act,

15 U.S.C. § 2310. More specifically, they allege that Nokia breached

the implied warranty of fitness for a particular purpose by failing to

provide headsets and by engaging in deceptive trade practices in

failing to disclose the harmful effects of RF radiation from wireless

telephones. This failure to disclose renders the manufacturers’

express warranties for wireless telephones misleading, the amended

complaint alleges. The district court appeared to dismiss the Naquin

plaintiffs’ amended complaint entirely on preemption grounds, even

though federal claims are also alleged.

34a

Appendix A

We now consider whether the Naquin plaintiffs’ state law

claims are preempted by the FCA. Under the Supremacy

Clause a state law that “interferes with, or is contrary to”

federal law is invalid. Free v. Bland, 369 U.S. 663, 666

(1962). There are three theories under which Congress

preempts state law. First, under express preemption Congress

expressly declares its intent to preempt state law. S. Blasting

Sves., Inc. v. Wilkes County, 288 F.3d 584, 590 (4th Cir. 2002)

(citing Hillsborough County v. Automated Med. Labs., Inc.,

471 U.S. 707, 713 (1985)). Second, under field preemption

Congress impliedly preempts state law when “federal law so

thoroughly occupies a legislative field as to make reasonable

the inference that Congress left no room for the states to

supplement it.” Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S.

504, 516 (1992) (internal quotation marks and citations

omitted). Third, under conflict preemption Congress

impliedly preempts state law when it “actually conflicts with

federal law.” Hillsborough, 471 U.S. at 713. We must

remember that “the purpose of Congress is the ultimate

touchstone in every preemption case.” Medtronic, Inc. v.

Lohr, 518 U.S. 470, 485 (1996) (internal quotation marks

and citations omitted). Further, “[c]onsideration under the

Supremacy Clause starts with the basic assumption that

Congress did not intend to displace state law.” Maryland v.

Louisiana, 451 U.S. 725, 746 (1981) (citation omitted). This

presumption against preemption is particularly strong when

Congress !egislates “‘in a field which the States have

traditionally occupied,’” such as health and safety.‘

4. The district court decided that the presumption against

preemption does not apply here because the Naqui. plaintiffs’ claims

relate to wireless telecommunications, an area where, according to

(Cont'd)

35a

Appendix A

Medtronic, 518 U.S. at 485 (quoting Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator

Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947)).

1.

Nokia argues that the Naquin plaintiffs’ claims are

expressly preempted by two provisions of the FCA. The first

provision appears in § 332(c)(7), which is aimed

at the “[p]reservation of local zoning authority” over

(Cont'd)

the court, “‘there has been a history of significant federal presence.’”

In re Wireless Tel. Radio Frequency Prods. Liab. Litig., 248 F. Supp.

2d 452, 463 (D.Md.2003) (quoting United States v. Locke, 529 U.S.

89, 108 (2000)). In Locke the Supreme Court concluded that the

State of Washington's oil tanker regulations were not entitled to the

presumption against preemption because the regulations governed

national and international maritime commerce, an area long regulated

by Congress. 529 U.S. at 108. The district court’s reliance on Locke

is misplaced because there is not the same federal presence in the

wireless telecommunications area as there is in the area of maritime

commerce. States continue to have considerable authority in the

wireless telecommunications area. See, e.g.,47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(3)(A)

(providing that states may not regulate “the entry of or rates charged

by” wireless service providers, but that they may regulate “other

terms and conditions” of wireless service); 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7)

(providing that state authority to regulate the “placement,

construction, and modification of personal wireless service facilities”

is preserved except in specific circumstances). While wireless

telephones must meet the FCC’s specifications and be authorized by

the FCC before they can be sold, see 47 C.F.R. § 2.803, these

provisions do not provide a remedy to someone injured by a defective

wireless telephone. “The presumption against preemption is even

stronger against preemption of state remedies, like tort recoveries,

when no federal remedy exists.” Abbot v. Am. Cyanamid Co., 844

F.2d 1108, 1112 (4th Cir. 1988) (citation omitted).

36a

Appendix A

“decisions regarding the placement, construction, and

modification of personal wireless service facilities.”

47 U.S.C. § 332(c\(7)(A). Nokia asserts that the claims are

expressly preempted by § 332(c)(7)(B)(iv), which limits the

general authority of local bodies as follows: “No State or

local government or instrumentality thereof may regulate the

placement, construction, and modification of personal

wireless service facilities on the basis of the environmental

effects of radio frequency emissions” if the facilities

comply with the FCC’s RF radiation standards. 47 U.S.C.

§ 332(c\(7)(BXiv). This section applies only to “personal

wireless service facilities,” a term defined in circular fashion

as “facilities for the provision of personal wireless services.”

47 U.S.C. § 332(cK7)(C\ii). The statute does not define the

term “facilities” or “facility.” We must therefore determine,

as a matter of first impression, whether a wireless telephone

constitutes a “facility” for purposes of § 332(c)(7)(B)(iv).

We conclude that it does not.

“If the ‘statutory language is unambiguous and the

Statutory scheme is coherent and consistent,’ our inquiry

ends.” Alexander S. v. Boyd, 113 F.3d 1373, 1383 (4th

Cir.1997) (quoting Robinson v. Shell Oil Co., 519 U.S. 337,

342 (1997)). “The plainness or ambiguity of statutory

language is determined by reference to the language itself,

the specific context in which the language is used, and the

broader context of the statute as a whole.” Robinson, 519

U.S. at 341. Although “facility” as used in § 332(c\7)(B){iv)

is not defined, when the specific and broader contexts of its

use are considered, it becomes plain that a wireless telephone

is not a facility. The dictionary defines “facility” as

“something (as a hospital, machinery, plumbing) that is built,

37a

Appendix A

constructed, installed, or established to perform some

particular function or serve or facilitate some particular end.”

Webster's Third New International Dictionary 812 (1993).

If the dictionary definition was used here, a facility would

be something “built, constructed, installed, or established”

to provide personal wireless service. This might arguably

include a wireless telephone. We continue our inquiry,

however, and examine the specific statutory context in which

the term “facility” is used. Section 332(c)(7) is entitled,

“Preservation of local zoning authority” and provides, as the

general rule, that “nothing [in the statute] shall limit or affect

the authority of a State or local government or instrumentality

thereof over decisions regarding the placement, construction,

and modification of personal wireless service facilities.”

47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7)(A). The section goes on to provide

limitations to the general rule, and in doing so attempts to

strike a balance between the states’ interests in regulating

iand use and the federal government's interest in facilitating

the development of wireless telephone service.

See Omnipoint Communications Enters., L.P. v. Newtown

Township, 219 F.3d 240, 242-43 (3rd Cir.2000); Town of

Amherst v. Omnipoint Communications Enters., Inc., 173

F.3d 9, 13 (ist Cir. 1999). Because § 332(c)(7) deals with the

authority of the states over zoning and land use, we conclude

that Congress intended the term “facility” to mean a structure

or object, such as a base station or a mobile telephone

switching office (MTSO), that falls within the states’ zoning

or land use authority. This interpretation excludes devices,

such as wireless telephones, that are completely portable and

have no attachment to land. The broader context in which

the term “facility” is used also supports the interpretation

that the term does not include wireless telephones. As we

38a

Appendix A

discuss below, see infra at 33, Congress enacted the entire

§ 332 to ensure the availability of a nationwide network of

wireless service coverage. Consistent with this objective, a

facility should, at the very least, be part of the infrastructure

(a base station or an MTSO, for example) that provides

wireless service coverage. A wireless telephone, however,

only accesses a wireless service provider's network of

coverage; a wireless telephone itself is not part of the

underlying infrastructure. Because both the specific context

of the use of the term “facilities” in § 332(c)(7) and the

broader context (and purpose) of § 332 reveal that a wireless

telephone is not a facility under § 332(c)(7)(B){iv), state tort

claims relating to the manufacture and sale of wireless

telephones are not expressly preempted by § 332(c)(7)(B)(iv).

Nokia next argues that § 332(c)(3)(A) expressly preempts

the Naquin plaintiffs’ claims. This section prohibits a state

or local government from regulating “the entry of or the rates

charged by any commercial mobile service,” but allows it to

regulate “other terms and conditions of commercial mobile

services.” 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(3)(A). Nokia argues that the

Naquin plaintiffs seek to use state law to regulate technical

specifications for wireless telephones; this, Nokia says,

would hinder entry into the commercial mobile service

market because the FCC requires that wireless service

providers certify that they are using only FCC-authorized

equipment. Because Nokia cites to the licensing provisions

dealing with personal communications services (PCS), a

specific type of commercial mobile service, we understand

Nokia’s argument to assert that state regulation of wireless

39a

Appendix A

telephone specifications constitutes a barrier to entry for PCS

providers.°

While § 332(c)(3)(A) is unclear as to what precisely

constitutes a barrier to entry into the PCS market, we

conclude that the relief sought by the Naquin plaintiffs (a

headset requirement) is not such a barrier. To begin with, the

PCS market is a market for wireless service. Wireless service

providers use base stations and MTSOs to create a network

of coverage, a network that wireless telephone users generally

pay a fee to access. The FCC licenses portions of the radio

spectrum to wireless service providers so they can provide

PCS coverage, see 47 C.F.R. § 24.1(a), (b), and one of the

main requirements for the grant of a license is that the licensee

must construct enough base stations to provide coverage to

the area for which it receives a license. 47 C.F.R. §§ 24.103,

24.203. Accordingly, in order for state law to constitute a

barrier to entry, it must, at a minimum, obstruct or burden a

wireless service provider's ability to provide a network of

wireless service coverage. See, e.g., Bastien v. AT&T Wireless

Svcs., Inc., 205 F.3d 983 (7th Cir.2000) (concluding that an

5. There are basically two competing modes of wireless

communications, cellular services and PCS. Malcom J. Tuesly, Note,

Not in My Backyard: The Siting of Wireless Communications

Facilities, 51 Fed. Comm. LJ. 887, 888 (1999). Cellular systems

operate-in the 834-MHz to 894-MHz range, and PCS systems operate

in the 1850-MHz to 1990-MHz range. Marshall Brain & Jeff Tyson,

How Cell Phones Work, at hitp:// electronics.howstuffworks.com/

cell-phone.htm/printable (last visited Jan. 24, 2005). “As demand

for cellular service *ias outgrown the available radio spectrum used

for cellular signals, the wireless industry has turned to PCS, which

utilizes digital technology that triples the capacity of traditional

cellular systems.” Tuesly, supra at 88.

40a

Appendix A

action brought under state law to challenge the number of

base stations in a coverage area constitutes a barrier to entry

and is prohibited by § 332(c)(3)(A)).

A headset requirement for wireless telephones would not

constitute a barrier to entry into the PCS market because

wireless telephones are only used to access a wireless service

provider's network of coverage; the telephones themselves

do not provide the actual coverage. It is true that wireless

service providers commonly market wireless telephones in

conjunction with wireless service packages, and the wireless

telephones that they sell must comply with federal

RF radiation standards. See 47 C.F.R. § 24.52. Nevertheless,

a wireless service provider's choice to bundle service

packages and telephones does not mean that a headset

requirement would affect its ability to enter into the wireless

service market or to provide a network of wireless service

coverage. Furthe "more, notwithstanding Nokia's assertion,

we find nothing in the regulations that requires a wireless

service provider to certify, as a condition for obtaining a

license to provide PCS, that the wireless telephones used

within its coverage area comply with the FCC’s RF radiation

standards. This certification is generally undertaken by the

manufacturer of the telephones when it requests equipment

authorization. See 47 C.F.R. §§ 24.51(b); 24.52. Because the

relief sought by the Naquin plaintiffs would not be a barrier

for wireless service providers seeking to enter the PCS

market, § 332(c)(3)(A) does not expressly preempt the claims

of the Naquin plaintiffs.

4la

Appendix A

2.

We also hold that the Naquin plaintiffs’ claims are not

preempted under the doctrines of conflict preemption and

field preemption. As noted above, a state statute can be set

aside by conflict preemption “when compliance with both

federal and state regulations is a physical impossibility, or

when state law stands as an obstacle to the accomplishment

and execution of the full purposes and objectives of

Congress.” Hillsborough, 471 U.S. at 713 (internal quotation

marks and citations omitted). Again, there is a strong

presumption against preemption when the federal

government regulates in areas traditionally left to the states,

such as health and safety. Medtronic, 518 U.S. at 485.

The district court concluded that the Naquin plaintiffs’

claims are preempted because their cases stand as an obstacle

to ‘Congress’ objectives of achieving national uniformity in

wireless telecommunications services aid striking a balance

between the proliferation of wireless services and the need

to protect the public from any harmful effects of

RF exposure.” /n re Wireless Tel. Radiv Frequency Emissions

Prods. Liab. Litig., 248 F. Supp.2d 452, 463 (D. Ma. 2003).

Reasoning that the plaintiffs were essentially seeking to

impose a headset requirement or a stricter RF radiation

standard, the district court concluded that allowing the cases

to go forward would usurp the regulatory authority Congress

entrusted to expert federal agencies that had already

confronted these issues. /d. The district court relied on § 332

of the FCA to find a sweeping congressional objective of

ensuring that all equipment used in counection with wireless

telecommunications be subject to exclusive national RF

42a

a

Appendix A

radiation standards that have the effect of precluding state

regulation on the subject. /d. at 464 (citing In re Wireless I,

216 F. Supp.2d at 483-87).

We conclude that the district court erred because the FCA

provides no evidence of such an objective. Congress enacted

§ 332 to ensure the availability of a nationwide network of

wireless service coverage, more specifically, to develop the

infrastructure necessary to provide wireless services. Thus,

§ 332(1) provides factors that the FCC must consider in

managing the spectrum used for wireless services, 47 U.S.C.

§ 332(a); (2) classifies wireless service providers that provide

wireless service to the public for profit as “common carriers”

(subjecting them to numerous duties under the FCA),

47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(1)(A); (3) prevents states from regulating

“the entry of or the rates charged by” wireless service

providers, 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(3)(A); and (4) limits in certain

respects the ability of states and local zoning authorities to

regulate the “placement, construction, and modification” of

facilities that provide wireless service, 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7).

We do not infer from § 332 the congressional objective

of achieving preemptive national RF radiation standards for

wireless telephones. First, § 332 does r 4 .ddress the subject

of wireless telephones, let alone the i..ore specific issue of

the permissible amount of RF radiat.:>.1 from wireless

telephones. The FCC’s RF radiation standards for wireless

telephones were not promulgated pursuant to a mandate

contained in § 332 of the FCA, but rather pursuant to the

National Environmental Policy act’s mandate that all

agencies assess the environmental impact of their actions.

For the FCC, the action was authorizing transmitters that

43a

Appendix A

emit RF radiation. Jn re Guidelines for Evaluating the Envt'l

Effects of Radiofrequency Radiation, 11 FCC Red. 15123,

15125 (1996). The complete absence of any provision

addressing wireless telephones counsels against a finding that

§ 332 evidences a congressional goal of achieving preemptive

national RF radiation standards for wireless telephones.

Second, in pursuing its objective of ensuring the

availability of a nationwide network of wireless service

coverage, Congress has been very careful to preempt

expressly only certain areas of state law, preserving the

remainder for state regulation. For example, § 332(c)(3)(A)

prohibits states from regulating “the entry of or the rates

charged by” wireless service providers, but explicitly

provides that states may still regulate “the other terms

and conditions of commercial mobile service.” 47 U.S.C.

§ 332(c)(3)(A). And § 332(c)(7) preserves a good measure

of the states’ authority over decisions regarding “placement,

construction, and modification of personal wireless service

facilities.” 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7)(A). Consistent with this

conscious and careful effort to carve out the areas of state

laws that it wants to preempt, Congress has specifically

allowed for preemptive national RF radiation standards only

for personal wireless service facilities. Section

332(c)(7)(B)(iv) provides that state and local zoning

authorities may not “regulate the placement, construction,

and modification of personal wireless service facilities” on

the basis of RF emissions as long as the facilities comply

with the FCC’s RF radiation standards. This specificity as to

the preemptive nature of federal RF radiation standards for

personal wireless service facilities weighs against a finding

that Congress has an implicit goal of making preemptive the

44a

Appendix A

RF radiation standards for all other types of wireless

telecommunications equipment, including wireless

telephones.

Third, there are two applicable savings clauses. There is

the general savings clause of the FCA, which provides that

“[njothing contained in this chapter shall in any way abridge

or alter the remedies now existing at common law or by

statute, but the provisions of this chapter are in addition to

such remedies.” 47 U.S.C. § 414. And there is the savings

clause in section 601(c)(1) of the Telecommunications Act

of 1996. This Act added 47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(7), which

preempts some of the states’ authority to regulate the location

of base stations (not wireless telephones); the savings clause,

however, provides that the Act “shall not be construed to

modify, impair, or supersede Federal, State, or local law

unless expressly so provided. .. .” Telecommunications Act

of 1996, Pub.L. No. 104-104, § 601(c)(1), 110 Stat. 56, 143.

These savings clauses counsel against any broad construction

of the goals of § 332 and § 332(c)(7) that would create an

implicit conflict with state tort law.

Having determined that the FCA provides no evidence

of a congressional objective to ensure preemptive national

RF radiation standards for wireless telephones, we next

examine whether the relief sought by the Naquin plaintiffs

would stand as an obstacle to Congress’ actual goal of

establishing a nationwide network of wireless telephone

service coverage. We conclude that it would not. It is difficult

to understand how a headset requiremer ‘the specific relief

sought) would affect the establishment of a nationwide

wireless service network or the availability of wireless service

45a

Appendix A

coverage. Wireless service providers generally provide

wireless service coverage through a network of base stations

that are coordinated by MTSOs. A wireless telephone user

purchases a service plan from a wireless service provider,

and the provider assigns the user a MIN and a SID, which

allow the user to access this network of base stations and

MTSOs. While wireless telephones access the network, they

are not part of the infrastructure; accordingly, a headset

requirement would not stand as an obstacle to Congress’s

goal of achieving nationwide coverage.

Finally, we reject Nokia’s argument that the Naquin

plaintiffs’ claims are preempted on the basis of field

preemption. As our previous discussion indicates, the FCA

does not “so thoroughly occup[y][the] legislative field [of

wireless telecommunications] as to make reasonable the

inference that Congress left no room for the states to

supplement it.” Cipollone, 505 U.S. at 516. There is no

evidence that Congress intended that state law claims, such

as those assested by the Naquin_plaintiffs, be swept aside.

IV.

For the foregoing reasons, we reverse the district court’s

order denying the consolidated motion to remand made by

the plaintiffs in the Pinney, Farina, Gilliam, and Gimpelson

cases. Because federal-subject matter jurisdiction does not

exist over these four cases, we return them to the district

court for remand to the state courts in which they originated.

We also reverse the district court’s order dismissing the

Naquin plaintiffs’ case as preempted by the FCA. That case

is remanded to the district court for further proceedings.

REVERSED AND REMANDED

46a

Appendix A

KISER, Senior District Judge, dissenting:

I dissent because, like the district court in its well-

researched and well-reasoned opinion, | believe the case

cannot be resolved without proving that the FCC’s

RF radiation emission standards are too high to protect the

consuming public, This conclusion stems from a reading of

the plaintiffs’ complaint — not from any defense that the

defendants may assert.

The majority opinion reviews in some detail what

elements of the seven claims must be proved and concludes

that none of the claims are dependent on whether or not the

wireless te‘zphones comply with the FCC standards.

Apparently, the majority believes that the plaintiffs can prove

their prima facie case of all seven claims without reference

to the FCC standards regulating RF radiation emissions in

wireless telephones and without proving that those standards

are insufficient and invalid. I disagree. The plaintiffs are not

trying this case in a vacuum. The FCC has enacted a uniform,

nationwide regulatory scheme pertaining to wireless

telephones which is the result of a thorough and complex

rule-making process. The final rules reflect what the FCC

- believes will maintain the proper balance between the interest

in promoting wireless communication throughout the country

and the interest in protecting the health and safety of all

consumers, The plaintiffs will not be able to ignore these

standards. In proving their prima facie case for each claim,

the plaintiffs will have to prove the unreasonableness of the

RF radiation emitted by FCC-compliant wireless telephones.

The plaintiffs will thus have to establish that the FCC

standards are insufficient. It is well-settled that a suit to

47a

Appendix A

invalidate a federal regulation arises under federal law.

See Cahnmann v. Sprint Corp., 133 F.3d 484, 488 (7th

Cir.1998). In this case, the FCC standards’ validity vel non

is a matter of plaintiffs’ proof by the very words of the

complaint which purport to attack the FCC regulations. This

thinly-disguised attack on the validity of the FCC standards

raises a substantial federal question.

The plaintiffs attack the FCC standards in three ways.

First, the plaintiffs challenge the sufficiency of the FCC

standard. The plaintiffs allege that the defendants’ wireless

telephones, which comply with the FCC standard, do not

give adequate protection from RF radiation. Although the

plaintiffs have not indicted the FCC standard by name, that

is the effect of their allegations.

Second, the plaintiffs challenge the expertise of the FCC.

The plaintiffs allege that defendants were dishonest when

they stated to the public that “cell phones fall within the safety

standards of the [FCC].” 4 79. Plaintiffs arrive at the

conclusion that the above statement is false because the

defendants “omitted the fact that the FCC had declared it

does not consider itself the ‘expert agency’ for evaluating

health effects,” even though the FCC relied on experts in

evaluating health effects, one of which was the FDA.

See Cellular Phone Taskforce v. FCC, 205 F.3d 82, 88

(2d Cir.2000). This allegation is incorporated by reference

in all of the ‘plaintiffs’ claims but is particularly pertinent to

Count VI (Fraud) and Count VII (Fraud by Concealment).

These allegations form a part of plaintiffs’ factual basis on

which these two counts are based. These are facts plaintiffs

must prove along with any other alleged misrepresentations

48a

Appendix A

to sustain the allegations in the complaint. Therefore, the

plaintiffs call into question the expertise of the FCC and the

sufficiency of its standards.

Third, the plaintiffs question »>rocedure by which the

FCC developed the regulations. Specifically, the plaintiffs

challenge the data on which the FCC relied. In the rule-

making process, the FCC relied in part on standards of the

American National Standards Institute (“ANSI”). /d.

Plaintiffs allege that the defendants “obtain[ed] and

exercise[d] control over the [ANSI] Committee responsible

for developing safety standards for RFR emitting devices.”

{ 71. The plaintiffs are therefore attacking the rule-making

process that the FCC used in developing these standards.

Because the plaintiffs are making a direct attack upon the

validity and sufficiency of the FCC regulations, their claims

arise under federal law.

The majority finds that this case fails to raise a substantial

federal question because it does not rise or fall on the

resolution of a question of federal law. In support of this

conclusion, the majority points out the holding of the

Supreme Court that the “mere presence of a federal issue in

a State cause of action does not confer federal question

jurisdiction.” Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v.

Thompson, 478 U.S. 804, 813 (1986). The situation in Merrell

Dow, however, is inapposite to the one in this case. lo Merrell

Dow, the plaintiffs were supporting the Federal Foc.i, Drug,

and Cosmetic Act and claiming a violation of that act was

negligence. Here, the plaintiffs are seeking to completely

undo the FCC standard. Claims with the potential for severely

limiting or eliminating a federal regulatory scheme raise a

49a

Appendix A

much more substantial federal question than those that merely

seek to inure to the benefit of such a scheme. On the other

hand, I find this case very similar to our holding in Ormet

Corp. v. Ohio Power Co. In Ormet, the plaintiff's claim was

couched in traditional commercial litigation language, but

we held that because the plaintiffs had to make reference to

the Clean Air Act to define one of the terms of the contract

there was a sufficient nexus to the Clean Air Act to support

federal question jurisdiction. Ormet Corp. v. Ohio Power

Co., 98 F.3d 799, 807 (4th Cir. 1996). The same logic applies

here. Although the FCC regulation must be dealt with by the

plaintiffs in a negative manner, its inadequacy is a fact that

plaintiffs must prove. This provides a sufficient nexus to

support federal question jurisdiction.

Moreover, the need for uniformity in a federal regulatory

scheme heightens the importance of the federal question. In

Ormet, we held that “[{w]here the resolution of a federal issue

in a state-law cause of action could, because of different

approaches and inconsistency, undermine the stability and

efficiency of a federal statutory regime, the need for

uniformity becomes a substantial federal interest justifying

the exercise of jurisdiction by federal courts.” /d. (citing

Martin v. Hunter’s Lessee, 14 U.S. (1 Wheat.) 304, 347-48,

4 L.Ed. 97 (1816)). Here, plaintiffs are not merely raising a

claim which may undermine a federal] regulatory scheme

through inconsistent interpretations; rather they are raising

claims which, if successful, will result in the complete

invalidation of federal regulatory standards. This presents a

substantial federal question.

50a

Appendix A

This Court has repeated the call by Justice Cardozo for

“principled, pragmatic distinctions” in determining federal

question jurisdiction. Columbia Gas Transmission Corp. v.

Drain, 191 F.3d 552, 558 (4th Cir.1999). In the words of

Justice Cardozo, “[w]Jhat is needed is something of that

common-sense accommodation of judgment to kaleidoscopic

situations w

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.