Opposition Brief — Memorial-Hermann Healthcare Systems v. Ethridge

Supreme Court brief2005

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

but also by ERISA plans, and, in particular, claims involv-

ing an ERISA plan’s assertions of purported reimbursement

and subrogation rights. Sunbeam-Oster Co. Group Benefits

Plan v. Whitehurst, 102 F.3d 1368, 1373 (5th Cir. 1996).

A two step analysis is typically utilized. Gooselink,

272 F.3d at 726; Threadgill, 145 F.3d at 292; Wildbur, 974

F.2d at 631; Bourgeois, 308 F. Supp. 2d at 763. First, a

court determines whether the administrator gave the plan

the legally correct interpretation. Jd. To determine

whether the administrator’s interpretation was legally

correct, a court considers:

1. whether the administrator has given the

plan a uniform construction;

2. whether the administrator’s interpretation

is consistent with the fair reading of the

plan; and

3. whether different interpretations of the plan

will result in unanticipated costs.

Id.

If a court concludes that the administrator did not

give a legally correct interpretation, a court next deter-

mines whether the interpretation constitutes an abuse of

discretion. Jd. In making that analysis, three factors are

particularly important:

1. the internal consistency of the plan under

the administrator’s interpretation;

2. any relevant regulations; and

3. the factual background of the determination

and inferences of lack of good faith.

Id.

8

These three factors, however, are non-exclusive and do

not apply to every case. Gooselink, 272 F.3d at 726-27;

_ Threadgill, 145 F.3d at 292 n. 12; Duhon v. Texaco, Inc., 15

F.3d 1302, 1307-08 & n. 3 (5th Cir. 1994); Bourgeois, 308

F. Supp. 2d at 763-64. Consequently, when an administra-

tor interprets a plan in a way that directly contradicts the

plain meaning of the plan language, the administrator

abuses his discretion even if there is neither evidence of

bad faith nor a violation of any pertinent administrative

regulations. Gooselink, 272 F.3d at 727.

Moreover, other factors, such as conflict of interest,

should be considered when applicable. See Vega v. Na-

tional Life Ins. Sucs., 188 F.3d 287, 297 (5th Cir. 1999);

Bourgeois, 308 F.Supp. 2d at 763-64. The greater the

evidence of conflict of interest, the less deferential the

abuse of discretion standard will be. Jd.

MHHS’ attempt to have this Court apply a different

standard under the auspices of Firestone Tire & Rubber

Co. v. Bruch is erroneous. Firestone did not specifically

address.the abuse of discretion standard, but instead

concerned the de novo standard of review in the context of

denial of benefits and the interpretation of the term

“benefit.” Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S.

101, 108 (1989). In Firestone, the Court discussed some

similarities of trust terminology with ERISA such as the

terms beneficiary, fiduciary, trustee, and fiduciary duties.

Id. at 110. The Court, however, did not adopt trust princi-

ples across the board. Instead, the Court commented that

it was guided by principles of trust law. Jd. at 111.

Moreover, the standard that petitioner would have

this Court adopt is not, as of this date, effective. Peti-

tioner’s authority of the RESTATEMENT (THIRD) OF TRUSTS

9

§ 87 is a tentative draft. Petitioner’s request to ignore

years of precedent concerning the abuse of discretion

standard and adopt the standard in the RESTATEMENT

(THIRD) OF TRUSTS should clearly be rejected.

The bottom line is petitioner demands the carte

blanche right to do whatever it wants without any regard

for the individual rights of a participant’s grieving widow.

Carol Pittman tragically had her husband taken from her,

and petitioner claims it can also take her individual cause

of action for this loss. Common sense, and public policy

dictate otherwise.

2. The Plan Language was Consistent

The pertinent provisions of the Plan are as follows:

8.2. Death or Dismemberment; Schedule of Benefits.

In the event of the Death of an Eligible Em-

ployee, any Death Benefits payable hereunder

shall be paid to the personal representative

of the estate of the deceased Eligible Employee

after the Administrative Committee receives

appropriate directions. In the event that no ad-

ministration is had on the Eligible Employee’s

estate, any Death Benefits payable hereunder

shall be paid to the Eligible Employee’s heirs at”

law, as such heirs are determined by the Admin-

istrative Committee in its discretion. Each re-

cipient of a Death Benefit_may be required to

sign an appropriate release of claims under the

Plan as determined by the Administrative Com-

mittee.

11.1. Plan Right of Subrogation. In the event of any

Benefit payment made under the Plan to or on

behalf of any Employee, the Plan shall, to the

11.2.

10

extent of such payments be subrogated to all

the rights of recovery and other rights of the

Employee arising out of any claim or cause of

action which may accrue. ... Employee, by par-

ticipation in the Plan agrees that his estate,

and the legal representative of his estate

shall likewise be obligated and that the Plan

shall be fully subrogated to any recovery or

right of recovery that the estate may have

against any third party....

The employee, or the legal representative or

beneficiaries of Employee shall notify the Plan

Administrator of any claim or lawsuit against a

third party or insurance carrier within thirty

(30) days of the date that the claim is made or

the lawsuit is filed. The Plan Administrator, on

behalf of the Plan, also has the right to pursue

any action to enforce its subrogation rights

against a third party.

Employee’s Agreement To Subrogation. Em-

ployee, on behalf of himself and each benefi-

ciary of a payment made on Employee’s

behalf, by accepting Benefits under the Plan,

consents and agrees (i) that the Plan shall be

promptly reimbursed for any payments made

to or on the Employee’s behalf under the Plan

out of any monies recovered as the result of any

lawsuit, judgment, order, award, settlement,

compromise, arbitration or other arrange-

ment.... Furthermore, Employee and said

beneficiaries promise and agree to take such

action, to furnish such information and assis-

tance, to execute and deliver any assignments,

reimbursement agreements and other instru-

ments as the Plan Administrator may require to

facilitate enforcement of the Plan’s subrogation

11

rnghts, and not to prejudice, or in any way det-

rimentally affect, such rights.

11.3 Limitation to Plan’s Subrogation Rights. The

Plan’s subrogation rights (a) shall extend only

to the recovery by the Plan of (i) the Benefits

that it has paid or will pay to or on behalf of the

Employee and (ii) the cost of prosecuting the

claim including attorney’s fees and court and

collection costs and (b) shall fully apply even if

the Participant or beneficiary thereof has only

received a partial recovery from a third party.

(Emphasis added) (App., 101 at 133-34, 143, 144-45).

According to the Administrative Committee, pursuant

to §§ 11.1 and 11.2 of the Plan, the Administrative Com-

mittee had the right to require Carol Pittman to assign all

of her claims to the Plan, and the Plan had the right to

control the prosecution of any claims she or the estate of

John Pittman may have against third parties. As the Fifth

Circuit held, this language means only that the Pittman

Estate, via Pittman as the Estate Representative, is

subject to MHHS’ subrogation rights. The language does

not mean that Carol Pittman must surrender the wrongful

death claims she independently possesses as John

Pittman, Jr.’s wife simply because she also served as the

Executrix of the Pittman Estate.

MHHS should not be allowed to profit by now claim-

ing there is an inconsistency in a document it drafted. The

Texas Wrongful Death Statute and Survival Statute set

forth the relevant causes of action. See TEX. Civ. PRAC. &

REM. CODE §§ 71.002-71.004 & 71.021(b) (Vernon 2005).

Even petitioner concedes that this statute, like almost all

wrongful death statutes, provides that an estate can never

12

have a wrongful death claim. This Court should not allow

MHHS to benefit from its own mistake.

Il. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION DOES NOT

EMASCULATE CONGRESS’ RULINGS PRO-

TECTING CERTAIN POLICIES

As opposed to petitioner's assertion, the Fifth Circuit's

opinion does not prohibit a plan administrator from

exercising discretion. Instead, it requires a plan adminis-

trator not to abuse his discretion. (App., 1). As explained

supr., this is the well-reasoned standard established

many years ago. Adopting petitioner’s position would allow

a plan administrator to make a decision without any basis

when the plan has some inconsistent language. This

contention is untenable.

IV. THE FIFTH CIRCUITS OPINION DOES NOT

THREATEN THE CONTINUED EFFICACY OF

CONGRESS’ ERISA POLICY AND THIS COURT'S

RULINGS PROTECTING THAT POLICY

MHHS contends that it should be allowed to usurp

Carol Pittman’s individual claim under the guise that it is

necessary to ensure that plan assets are soundly managed

for the benefit of current and future beneficiaries. MHHS

further alleges that it should, as a practical matter, be able

to steal Carol Pittman’s wrongful death claim to accu-

rately assess the future benefits expenses MHHS will be

required to pay. This position is absurd. Instead of indi-

vidual participants seeking to exploit ambiguities in a

plan, it is MHHS who is attempting to exploit individual

rights. In this case, most importantly, these rights do not

belong to a participant or beneficiary. The rights belong to

13

Carol Pittman individually. MHHS obviously should not be

allowed to fleece these individual nghts.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

LAWRENCE D. THOMPSON

TBN: 19930000

PHILLIP C. SUMMERS

TBN: 19506600

SHANNON L. RANKIN

TBN: 16546250

LORANCE & THOMPSON, P.C.

2900 North Loop West, Suite 500 :

Houston, Texas 77092

(713) 868-5560

Counsel for Respondent

Carol Ann Pittman, also

known as Carol Ann Peterson,

Independent Executrix of the

Estate of John Linwood

Pittman, Jr. Deceased and

Individually and as Beneficiary

of John Linwood Pittman, dr.

APPENDIX

Page

RPRPOCUREE RAIITE TIBOCTGAO RR 555 oi, das ccc viak co sedonisoens te nsvcacensvens App. 1 :

Order of District Court Denying Pittman’s Motion

for Partial Summary Judgment... App. 16

Order of District Court Granting MHHS Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment ...................ccccsseeeeeees App. 29

Agreed Final Judgment of Probate Court of Galves-

Ma ices cca vonnce a nsactie ss caneuanikGeeahe nel tysunvddsauneyvencees ts App. 44

Denial of Petition for Rehearing En Banc................. App. 48

oo EE BON ASE 0” SAA Brea ice niin Rome ned feo App. 50

Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 71.001-71.004........... App. 72

Tex. Civ Prac. & Rem. Code § 71.021....................008 App 76

Restatement (Third) of Trusts (Tentative Draft)

DOA co veclviisiicarant rdlshie Binsoicsdonedsseatasbepsswotavaned darsndastaes te App. 77

Restatement (Second) of Trusts § 183..................... App. 100

RAY SOME OPE ME TOUE sca foc sans sadasssnensviantsr incr evndansuessontes App. 101

MJHS Letter Re: Decision of Administrative

RAUNT opi chiesccccasedouaencephacives vosoeaactecoastuveacuupnn sone App. 163

-

App. 1

No. 04-20349

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

CHARLES ATTEBERRY, SR, ET AL,

Plaintiffs

V.

MEMORIAL-HERMANN HEALTHCARE SYSTEMS,

On Behalf and for the Benefit of The Estates,

Heirs, Devisees, Legatees, Spouses, Children

and/or Parents of Charles Atteberry, Jr.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees

Vv

MEMORIAL-HERMANN HEALTHCARE SYSTEM;

MEMORIAL-HERMANN HOSPITAL SYSTEM,

Plaintiffs-Appellants-Appellees

V.

BEN ETHRIDGE,

Intervenor-Plaintiff-Appellee

V.

DALINDA SHELTON; CAROL ANN PITTMAN,

also known as Carol Ann Peterson, Independent

Executrix of the Estate of John Linwood Pittman, Jr.,

Deceased and Individually as Beneficiary of

John Linwood Pittman, Jr.,

Intervenor-Plaintiffs-Appellants

V.

EUROCOPTER DEUTSCHLAND, GMBH, ET AL,

Defendants

April 1, 2005, Filed

JUDGES: Before GARWOOD, BENAVIDES and STEW-

ART, Circuit Judges.

App. 2

OPINION BY: BENAVIDES

OPINION: BENAVIDES, Circuit Judge:

I. INTRODUCTION

This action arises from the crash of a Life Flight

helicopter owned and operated by Memorial-Hermann

Healthcare System and Memorial-Hermann Hospital

System (collectively “MHHS”). All three MHHS employees

aboard the helicopter — Charles Atteberry, Jr., John

Pittman, Jr., and Silvia Lynn Ethridge — perished in the

crash. At the time of their deaths, the employees were

covered by MHHS’ ERISA Occupational Benefits Plan (the

“Occupational Benefits Plan”) which essentially provided

death benefits of $1,000,000 to the estate of the deceased

employee or, in the absence of a will, to the employee's

heirs at law.

This appeal involves the claims of three separate

appellants, Dalinda Shelton (“Shelton”), MHHS, and Carol

Pittman (“Pittman”). Each of the disputes centers on the

scope and extent of MHHS’ claimed subrogation rights

following the payment of death benefits pursuant to

MHHS’ Occupational Benefits Plan. More specifically,

Shelton appeals the district court’s grant of summary

judgment against her and its conclusion that MHHS’

subrogation right gives MHHS the right to control the

prosecution and settlement of the claims of the Estate of

Silvia Lynn Ethridge (the “Ethridge Estate”). MHHS

appeals the district court’s denial of its motion for sum-

mary judgment with respect to Ben Ethridge and its

conclusion that MHHS is not subrogated to Ben Ethridge's

wrongful death claim arising from the death of his daugh-

ter Silvia Ethridge. Pittman appeals the district court’s

App. 3

grant of partial summary judgment against her — as well

as its subsequent denial of her motion for partial summary

judgment against MHHS - and its conclusion that MHHS

is subrogated to her claims, both as an individual and as

the independent executrix of the Estate of John Linwood

Pittman, Jr. (the “Pittman Estate”).

Having reviewed the record and considered the briefs

and arguments on appeal, we uphold the district court’s

grant of summary judgment against Shelton and its denial

of MHHS’ motion for summary judgment with-respect to

Ben Ethridge. However, we reverse the district court’s

grant of summary judgment against Pittman in her

individual capacity.

Il. STANDARD OF REVIEW

The parties agree that MHHS’ ERISA Occupational _

Benefits Plan Administrative Committee (the “Adminis-

trative Committee”) had discretionary and final authority

to interpret MHHS’ Occupational Benefits Plan and make

all necessary factual findings. When a plan administrator

has such discretionary authority, this Court applies an

abuse of discretion standard. Pickrom v. Belger Cartage

Serv., Inc., 57 F.3d 468, 471 (5th Cir. 1995). This Court

reviews de novo the district court’s holdings regarding

whether a plan administrator has abused its discretion.

Threadgill v. Prudential Sec. Group, Inc., 145 F.3d 286,

292 (5th Cir. 1998).

App. 4

Ill. DISCUSSION 7

A. Dalinda Shelton and Ben Ethridge

1. Factual and procedural history

On December 23, 1999, MHHS paid a death benefit

under its Occupational Benefits Plan in the amount of

$1,050,816 to the Ethridge Estate through Dalinda Shel-

ton; Shelton is Silvia Ethridge’s same-sex domestic part-

ner, the personal representative and independent

executrix of the Ethridge Estate, and the principal benefi-

ciary under Silvia Ethridge’s will. Payment of the death

benefit to the estate representative is consistent with

Article 8.2 of MHHS’ Occupational Benefits Plan which

states that “in the event of the Death of an Eligible Em-

ployee, any Death Benefits payable hereunder shall be

paid to the personal representative of the estate of the

deceased Eligible Employee after the Administrative

Committee receives appropriate directions.”

At the time the death benefit was paid, Shelton and

the Occupational Benefits Plan Administrator for MHHS

entered into an Acknowledgment of Receipt of Benefits,

Subrogation Rights and Confidentiality Agreement (the

“Agreement”). As part of the Agreement, Shelton recog-

nized that she received funds from MHHS’ Occupational

Benefits Plan and acknowledged that MHHS was subro-

gated to the Ethridge Estate’s claims and causes of action.

The Administrative Committee subsequently determined

that MHHS'’ subrogation rights gave it the right to pursue

and settle the Ethridge Estate's claims without the par-

ticipation of Shelton as ihe Ethridge Estate representa-

tive.

Ben Ethridge, for his part, denies receiving Occupa-

tional Benefits Plan death benefits. In his deposition

App. o

testimony, Ben Ethridge acknowledged receipt of a share

of the Occupational Benefits Plan death benefit, but stated

that he received that money not from the Occupational

Benefits Plan, but as a gift from Shelton. Although Ben

Ethridge did not receive Occupational Benefits Plan death

benefits, he did receive other insurance proceeds resulting

from his daughter’s death; those proceeds were paid to

him through separate insurance policies that are different

from the Occupational Benefits Plan that is at the heart of

the instant dispute. Specifically, Ben Ethridge received life

insurance and accidental death and dismemberment

insurance proceeds pursuant to a Beneficiary Designation

Form, on which Silvia Ethridge designated both Ben

Ethridge and Dalinda Shelton as her designated benefici-

aries. At oral argument, it was conceded by MHHS that

while the Beneficiary Designation Form determined how

the life insurance and accidental death and dismember-

ment insurance proceeds were to be paid out in the event

of Silvia Ethridge’s death, it did not set forth how the

death benefit under MHHS’ Occupational Benefits Plan

was to be disbursed.

The Administrative Committee determined that the

Beneficiary Designation Form governed the disbursement

of the death benefit under MHHS’ Occupational Benefits

Plan and that Ben Ethridge was a designated beneficiary

who received Occupational Benefits Plan monies, albeit

indirectly from Shelton. The Administrative Committee

concluded that because Ben Ethridge was a beneficiary of

Occupational Benefits Plan death benefits, his wrongful

death cause of action was subrogated to MHHS, which

could then sue third parties on Ben Ethridge’s behalf.

MHHS filed suit against the third-party helicopter

manufacturer on behalf of, inter alios, Ben Ethridge and

App. 6

the Ethridge Estate. The district court subsequently

permitted Shelton and Ben Ethridge to intervene in the

action. Shelton claimed that as executrix of the Ethridge

Estate, she had the right to control the prosecution and

settlement of Silvia Ethridge’s survival action. Ben Eth-

ridge contended that his wrongful death cause of action

was not subrogated to MHHS because he was not a recipi-

ent of Occupational Benefits Plan death benefits and that,

therefore, MHHS could not sue the helicopter manufac-

turer on his behalf.

MHHS moved for summary judgment against Shelton,

as executrix and beneficiary, and against Ben Ethridge.

The district court granted MHHS’ motion for summary

judgment with respect to Shelton and concluded that

MHHS, as subrogee, has the authority to prosecute and

settle the claims of the Ethridge Estate without the

consent or participation of the Ethridge Estate representa-

tive. The district court denied MHHS’ motion for summary

judgment with respect to Ben Ethridge and concluded that

Ben Ethridge’s claims were not subrogated to MHHS

because he had not received Occupational Benefits Plan

death benefits. Shelton and MHHS subsequently appealed

the judgment of the district court.

2. Shelton’s claims

Because it is undisputed that MHHS is subrogated to

the Ethridge Estate’s causes of action, the sole issue of

contention between Shelton and MHHS is the meaning of

the term “subrogation” as used in the Occupational Bene-

fits Plan. Shelton contends that the Administrative Commit-

tee’s interpretation of the meaning of subrogation amounts to

an abuse of discretion because MHHS’ subrogation rights do

App. 7

not allow MHHS the right to exclusively control the

Ethridge Estate’s causes of action without the consent or

participation of the Ethridge Estate representative.

We conclude that the Administrative Committee’s

interpretation of the meaning of subrogation is legally

correct under both an ordinary meaning analysis and the

three-part test this Court employs to determine the legal

correctness of an ERISA plan administrative committee’s

determination.

a. Ordinary meaning analysis

Subrogation is not defined in the Occupational Bene-

fits Plan and its meaning cannot: be unambiguously

discerned from the Occupational Benefits Plan language.

However, as it is ordinarily understood, “subrogation

simply means substitution of one person for another; that

is, one person is allowed to stand in the shoes of another

and assert that person’s rights.” Black’s Law Dictionary

1468 (8th ed. 2004). Put differently, “[iln a subrogation

action, it is well established that there is only one cause of

action for the insured’s injuries .... {and t]he insurer can

assert its subrogation claim independently of the insured.”

Prudential Prop. and Cas. Co. v. Dow Chevrolet-Olds, Inc.,

10 S.W.3d 97, 100 (Tex. App. Texarkana 1999). Moreover,

under Texas state law, “the subrogees stand in the shoes of

the one whose rights they claim.” Jnterstate Fire Ins. Co. v.

First Tape, Inc., 817 S.W.2d 142, 145 (Tex. App. Houston

1991). Therefore, if there is only one cause of action for an

insured’s injuries, and in a subrogated action that cause of

action belongs to the insurance company subrogee, it

follows that the insurance company subrogee has the right

to control the subrogated cause of action.

App. 8

As applied to the instant case, the Ethridge Estate

has a cause of action on behalf of Silvia Ethridge. How-

ever, under the clear terms of the Occupational Benefits

Plan, by accepting Occupational Benefits Plan death

benefits, the Ethridge Estate has subrogated its cause of

action to MHHS, which then stands in the shoes of the

Ethridge Estate. Because there is only one cause of action,

and MHHS received from the Ethridge Estate the right to

control that cause of action, as the party in control MHHS

is entitled to prosecute and settle the Ethridge Estate's

claims without séeking approval from the Ethridge Estate

representative. :

b. Legally correct interpretation

Moreover, the Administrative Committee gave the

meaning of subrogation in the Occupational Benefits Plan

a legally correct interpretation under the three-part test

employed by this Court to determine the legal correctness

of an ERISA administrative committee’s determination.

Pickrom v. Belger Cartage Serv., Inc., 57 F.3d 468, 471 (5th

Cir. 1995). Under the three-part test, this Court considers:

(1) whether the administrative committee has given the

plan a uniform construction; (2) whether the administra-

tive committee’s interpretation is consistent with a fair

reading of the plan; and (3) whether different interpreta-

tions of the plan will result in unanticipated costs. Id.

Regarding the first factor, when there is no evidence

in the record as to whether an administrative committee

has given the plan a uniform construction, this Court

should proceed to the other two factors. See id. Because

there is no evidence in the record that the Administrative

Committee previously had to construe the scope of the

App. 9

Occupational Benefits Plan’s subrogation rights, our

analysis necessarily turns to the remaining two factors.

Regarding the second factor, the Administrative

Committee’s interpretation of the term “subrogation” is

consistent with a fair reading of the Occupational Benefits

Plan. The Occupational Benefits Plan language limits

MHHS’ recovery to the extent of “any Benefit payments

made under the Plan,” but does not limit MHHS’ right of

subrogation. The Occupational Benefits Plan language, in

fact, grants MHHS a broad subrogation right since it

states that MHHS “has the right to pursue any action to

enforce its subrogation rights against a third party.”

Therefore, a plain reading of the Occupational Benefits

Plan language gives MHHS the right of subrogation to all

of the Ethridge Estate’s claims, with MHHS’ right of

recovery in any action against a third party limited to the

amount of the death benefit paid to the Ethridge Estate.

Regarding the third factor, a different interpretation

of the Occupational Benefits Plan than the one adopted by

the Administrative Committee would result in unantici-

pated costs to MHHS. If, as Shelton argues, MHHS should

not be permitted to prosecute or settle any subrogated

claims without the consent of an employee's estate as

subrogor, MHHS would be at the mercy of the estate.

Pursuant to Article 11.3 of the Occupational Benefits Plan,

MHHS has priority over an employee's estate with respect

to all funds recovered from third parties, up to the amount

of benefits MHHS has paid plus the costs of recovery. If

MHHS is not permitted to independently prosecute and

settle the claims of an employee's estate, MHHS runs the

risk that the estate — having already received funds from

MHHS - will hold up settlement negotiations in the hopes

of obtaining a larger recovery. An estate that has received

App. 10

funds from MHHS has no incentive to settle its claims for

any amount that does not exceed that already paid to it by

MHHS, irrespective of how reasonable the settlement offer

may be. Adopting an alternate reading of the term “subro-

gation” would result in unanticipated costs to MHHS,

namely the increased costs of recovering from third par-

ties. Accordingly, we conclude that the Administrative

Committee has given a legally correct interpretation to the

term “subrogation” as it appears in the Occupational

Benefits Plan.

Therefore, for the foregoing reasons, we affirm the

judgment of the district court upholding the Administra-

tive Committee’s interpretation of MHHS’ subrogation

rights with respect to any claims of the Ethridge Estate,

and rejecting Shelton’s argument that she should control

or share in the control of the prosecution of any actions

brought on behalf of the Ethridge Estate.

3. MHHS'’ claims

MHHS appeals the district court's denial of MHHS'

motion for summary judgment and its holding that Ben

Ethridge retained his wrongful death cause of action

against third parties because he was not a beneficiary of

MHHS’ Occupational Benefits Plan death benefits. MHHS

contends that the Administrative Committee's determina-

tion was not an abuse of discretion for the following

reasons: (1) because Silvia Ethridge designated Ben

Ethridge as a beneficiary of her Life Insurance and Acci-

dental Death & Dismemberment Insurance Plans, Ben

Ethridge also should be considered a designated benefici-

ary of Occupational Benefits Plan death benefits; (2) under

Article 8.2 of the Occupational Benefits Plan, MHHS must

App. 11

pay the Occupational Benefits Plan death benefit as the

designated Occupational Benefits Plan _ beneficiaries

request; (3) at the request of Ben Ethridge and Shelton,

MHHS made the death benefit check payable to Shelton as

the personal representative of the Ethridge Estate; and (4)

Ben Ethridge did receive money from Shelton.

We conclude that the Administrative Committee’s

determination that Ben Ethridge received Occupational

Benefits Plan death benefits and was therefore required to

comply with the Occupational Benefits Plan’s subrogation

and assignment provisions is legally incorrect under the

first prong of the abuse of discretion standard articulated

supra.

MHHS has not demonstrated that Ben Ethridge was a

recipient of Occupational Benefits Plan death benefits.

Although Ben Ethridge did receive life insurance and

accidental death and dismemberment insurance proceeds,

which are not at issue in the instant case, he did not

receive from MHHS any portion of the Occupational

Benefits Plan death benefit, nor was he a designated

beneficiary of Occupational Benefits Plan benefits. The

entire amount of the death benefit was made payable to ©

Dalinda Shelton as the personal representative of the

Ethridge Estate; Ben Ethridge did not receive any money

directly from MHHS’ Occupational Benefits Plan. More-

over, the money Ben Ethridge did receive from Shelton

was a gift to Ben Ethridge and was drawn from Shelton’s

own funds.

Therefore, because the Administrative Committee’s

determination that Ben Ethridge received Occupational

Benefits Plan death benefits is inconsistent with a fair

reading of the Occupational Benefits Plan, we conclude

App. 12

that the Administrative Committee’s determination is

legally incorrect. See Gosselink v. Am. Tel. & Tel., Inc., 272

F.3d 722, 727 (Sth Cir. 2001) (holding that it is an abuse of

discretion if an administrative committee interprets a plan

in a way that directly contradicts the plain meaning of the

plan language). Accordingly, we agree with the decision of

the district court denying MHHS’ motion for summary

judgment as it relates to Ben Ethridge.

B. Carol Pittman

1. Factual and procedural history

Both Carol Pittman, common law wife of the deceased

John Pittman, Jr., and John Pittman III and Jennifer

Pittman (collectively, the “Pittman children”), the surviv-

ing children of the deceased, asserted to MHHS that the

$1,000,000 death benefit under the Occupational Benefits

Plan be paid to them. Unsure who it should pay, on De-

cember 21, 2000, MHHS filed a Petition in Interpleader

against Pittman and the Pittman children asking that the

probate court administering the Pittman Estate determine

who, as between Pittman and the Pittman children, was

the appropriate payee. MHHS then deposited the

$1,000,000 death benefit into the court registry. The

probate court subsequently issued an Agreed Final Judg-

ment ordering that the funds be released to the “personal

representative of the Estate of John Linwood Pittman, Jr.”

The probate court further determined that Pittman was

the duly authorized personal representative of the

Pittman Estate.

After Pittman accepted the death benefit provided

under the Occupational Benefits Plan, she filed a declara-

tory judgment action in probate court in which Pittman

App. 13

sought to avoid the subrogation provisions of the Occupa-

tional Benefits Plan. MHHS removed Pittman’s claim to

federal court and Pittman filed a motion to remand. The

district court denied Pittman’s motion to remand and

consolidated the removed action with MHHS’ action

against the third-party helicopter manufacturer on behalf

of, inter alios, Carol Pittman and the Pittman Estate.

On July 30, 2003, MHHS filed with the district court a

motion for partial summary judgment against Pittman in

her capacity as executrix and beneficiary of the Pittman

Estate. MHHS contended that summary judgment was

appropriate because the Administrative Committee

concluded that Pittman had accepted death benefits under

the Occupational Benefits Plan and that MHHS had a

right of subrogation to the amounts paid by it plus the

costs of prosecuting the claim. Pittman also filed with the

district court a motion for partial summary judgment

against MHHS.

The district court granted MHHS’ motion for partial

summary judgment and denied Pittman’s motion for

partial summary judgment. Pittman appeals those ad-

verse judgments against her.

2. Pittman’s claims

Pittman concedes that the claims of the Pittman

Estate are subject to subrogation because the Pittman

Estate received Occupational Benefits Plan death benefits

from MHHS. Moreover, as the Pittman Estate’s personal

representative, Carol Pittman admits she accepted Occu-

pational Benefits Plan death benefits, but did so only on

behalf of her deceased husband and not on her own behalf

as his wife. As such, Pittman contends that her claims as

App. 14

an individual are not subject to subrogation because she as

an individual did not receive Occupational Benefits Plan

death benefits, nor did she as an individual contractually

assign her claims to MHHS by executing an Acknowledg-

ment of Receipt of Benefits, Subrogation Rights and

Confidentiality Agreement.

The Administrative Committee read the Occupational

Benefits Plan language to mean that Pittman, upon

receipt of Occupational Benefits Plan death benefits,

subrogated all of her rights, in whatever capacity, to

MHHS. We conclude that this interpretation amounts to

an abuse of discretion because the Administrative Com-

mittee, in reaching its conclusion, ignored the plain

language of the Occupational Benefits Plan.

Article 11.1 of the Occupational Benefits Plan states

that “in the event of any Benefit payments made under the

Plan to or on behalf of any Employee, the Plan shall, to the

extent of such payments, be subrogated to all the rights of

recovery ... of the Employee.” Article 11.1 further states

that by participating in the Occupational Benefits Plan, an

employee also obligates the legal representative of his

estate and that “the Plan shall be fully subrogated to any

recovery or right of recovery that the estate may have

against any third party.” The quoted language plainly

means that when an employee or his estate accepts Occu-

pational Benefits Plan benefits, the employee or his estate

must surrender to MHHS all of its rights against third

parties.

As applied to the instant case, the Occupational

Benefits Plan language means only that the Pittman

Estate, via Pittman as the estate representative, must

surrender its claims to MHHS. The language does not

App. 15

mean that Pittman must surrender the wrongful death

claims she independently possesses as John Pittman, Jr.’s

wife merely because she also served as the representative

of the Pittman Estate. Because Pittman took Occupational

Benefits Plan death benefits as the Pittman Estate repre-

sentative — and not in her individual capacity — she cannot

be made to subrogate to MHHS the wrongful death claims

she independently possesses in her individual capacity as

the decedent’s wife. In other words, MHHS acquired no

subrogation rights nor control of any of Pittman’s individ-

ual claims. Accordingly, we reverse the judgment of the

district court insofar as it granted MHHS’ motion for

summary judgment with respect to Pittman in her indi-

vidual capacity, and remand the case to the district court

for proceedings not inconsistent with this opinion.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the district

court is AFFIRMED in part and REVERSED and RE-

MANDED in part.

App. 16

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

CHARLES ATTEBERRY,SR., § CIVIL ACTION NO.

ET AL. § H-02-3689

Plaintiffs, ;

versus §

EUROCOPTER DEUTSCHLAND §

GMBH, ET AL. :

Defendants. §

ORDER

(Filed Dec. 1, 2003)

Pending before this Court is the Plaintiff's Motion for

Partial Summary Judgement (Instrument No. 125).

Based on the parties’ submissions and applicable law, the

Court finds that Plaintiffs Motion (Instrument No. 125)

is DENIED.

I.

On July 17, 1999 a Eurocopter BK-117 helicopter,

owned and operated by Memorial Hermann Healthcare

and Memorial Hermann Hospital Systems (*“MHHS"”) as a

Life Flight emergency aircraft, crashed near Fresno,

Texas. All MHHS employees aboard the helicopter were

killed. At the time of their deaths, the employees were

covered by MHHS’ ERISA Occupational Benefits Plan (the

“Plan”), which provided death benefits of $1,000,000.00 to

each employee's beneficiaries. John Linwood Pittman, Jr.

was the pilot of the helicopter and one of the employees

who died.

App. 17

On August 1, 2003 Plaintiff Carol Ann Pittman, a.k.a

Carol Ann Peterson, Independent Executrix of the Estate

of John Linwood Pittman, Jr., Deceased and Individually

as Beneficiary of John Linwood Pittman, Jr. filed a motion

for summary judgment requesting that the Court find that

MHHS' subrogation claims are barred by res judicata or in

the alternative that MHHS’ claims are not equitable

claims authorized under ERISA. (Instrument No. 125).

The Court recognizes that this motion for summary

judgment also serves as a response to MHHS’ earlier

motion for partial summary judgment. (Instrument No.

121).

Plaintiff argues that the re-litigation of _MHHS’

subrogation claim is barred under the doctrine of res

judicata as it was already decided in May 2000, when the

Probate Court of Galveston County entered an “Agreed

Final Judgment” in MHHS’ Interpleader Action. (Instru-

ment No. 126, at 2). Plaintiff contends that MHHS filed a

“Petition in Interpleader” in the Probate Court in Galves-

ton County, affirmatively asking for MHHS to be “dis-

charged from any further obligation with regard to

decedents death [and] that Memorial Hermann has a right

of subrogation. ... ” (Id., Exh. 2 at 4). The Probate Court

signed an Agreed Final Judgment that granted MHHS’

request to be discharged from any further obligation and

“ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that any and

all relief not specifically granted herein is denied.” (Id.,

Exh. A, at 2). Therefore, Plaintiff asserts that the Probate

Court was “implicitly addressing Memorial's affirmative

subrogation claims... ” (Id., at 9).

According to Plaintiff, whether one looks at MHHS’

subrogation claim as an action barred by issue preclusion

(collateral estoppel), which prevents re-litigation of issues

App. 18

that have already been resolved in a prior suit, or claim

preclusion (res judicata), which bars re-litigation of claims

or causes of action that have already been adjudicated or

should have been adjudicated, the elements for each are

satisfied. (Instrument No. 125, at 7-8).

Alternatively, Plaintiff claims that the Supreme Court

has recently held that an ERISA plan administrator may

not seek to enforce a contractual obligation for the pay-

ment of money in federal court because ERISA only

permits suits that seek to obtain “appropriate equitable

relief.” Plaintiff refers to Great-West Life & Annuity Ins.

Co. v. Knudson, 534 U.S. 204 (2002) and Bahaus USA, Inc.

vu. Copeland, 292 F.3d 439 (5th Cir. 2002) to support her

position. (Id.).

On August 20, 2003, Memorial Hermann Healthcare

and Memorial Hermann Hospital Systems filed its Re-

sponse to Carol Ann Peterson Pittman’s Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment. (Instrument No. 132). MHHS argues that

the Agreed Final Judgment signed by the Galveston

Probate Court on May 5, 2000 was not a ruling by the

court regarding the assignment of claims or subrogation

rights pursuant to the terms and provisions of the Plan.

(Id., at 5). MHHS notes that it is Carol Ann Pittman who

filed an Original Petition for Declaratory Judgment in the

Galveston Probate Court on August 1, 2000, seeking to

have the rights and obligations of the parties with respect

to MHHS’ subrogation rights and right to require assign-

ment of all claims against third party action resulting

from the helicopter crash, determined by declaratory

judgment. (Id., at Exh. C). It is this same declaratory

judgment action that was removed to federal court by

MHHS on September 11, 2000 by MHHS and ultimately

App. 19

consolidated with this present case on August 7, 2000 by

Judge Samuel! B. Kent. (Id., at Exh. E).

MHHS alleges that ERISA regulates employee benefit

plans such as the occupational benefits program at issue

in this case. (See 29 U.S.C. Section 1001; NGS America,

Inc. v. Barnes, 998 F.2d 296, 298 (5th Cir. 1993). ERISA

includes a preemption provision that states that it shall

“supercede any and all State laws.” 29 U.S.C. section

1144(a). MHHS argues that caselaw supports their posi-

tion, that under ERISA, when an occupation benefit plan

vests its administrator with discretionary and final au-

thority to determine eligibility and interpret the plan, the

Court reviews the administrator’s, decisions for abuse of

discretion. (Instrument No. 132, at 6).

According to MHHS, the Plan Administrative Com-

mittee met to interpret and construe the Plan. The Com-

mittee determined that John Pittman, Jr. was an eligible

employee under the Plan and that his estate was eligible

for benefits under the Plan. MHHS also claims that the

Committee concluded that the estate and beneficiaries

were subject to the Plan’s terms and conditions. MHHS

asserts that it is apparent that the Administrator con-

strued the Plan uniformly and in a manner consistent

with a fair reading of the Plan’s plain language, thus the

effect of a beneficiary’s acceptance of benefits is clearly

established by the Plan as set out in Article XI, section

11.2 quoted above. (Instrument No. 132, at 7).

In Article XI of Section 11.2 of the Plan provides:

Employee's Agreement to Subrogation. Employee

on behalf of himself and each beneficiary of pay-

ment made on Employee’s behalf, by accepting

Benefits under the plan consents and agrees (1)

App. 20

that the Plan shall be promptly reimbursed for

any payments made to or on the Employee's be-

half under the Plan out of any monies recovered

as the result of any lawsuit, judgment, order,

award, settlement, compromise, arbitration or

other arrangement.... Furthermore, Employee

and said beneficiaries promise and agree to take

such action, to furnish such information and as-

sistance, to execute and deliver any assignments,

reimbursement agreements and other instru-

ments as the Plan Administrator may require to

facilitate enforcement of the Plan’s subrogation

rights. ...

(Instrument No. 132, Exh. A, Art. XI, Sect. 11.2)

MHHS' Benefit Plan contains a subrogation provision

at Article XI, § 11.2 which MHHS’ Administrative Commit-

tee claims has only one reasonable interpretation which 1s

“that anyone who receives benefits paid under the Plan 1s

required, upon the request of the administrator to assign

to the Plan any claims which he or she may have.” (In-

strument No. 132, at 8).

On May 15, 2000, Judge Gladys B. Burwell signed an

Agreed Final Judgment, ordering that the funds previ-

ously placed in the registry of the court be paid to the

personal representative of the Estate of John Linwood

Pittman, Jr. The court further found that Carol Ann

Pittman is the duly authorized personal representative of

the Estate of John Linwood Pittman, Jr. (Instrument No.

132, at Exh. B).

According to MHHS, the Agreed Final Judgment was

entered after, Carol Pittman and her attorney had been

provided the Plan and had ample time and opportunity to

study its provisions before she accepted the benefits.

App. 21

MHHS asserts that Carol Ann Pittman “indisputable, [sic]

knowingly, and voluntarily accepted benefits” and because

she “accepted benefits under the Plan, MHHS is entitled,

as the Administrative Committee found, to require her,

individually, to assign any and all rights of recovery she

may have to MHHS.” (Instrument No. 132, at 8). Addi-

tionally, MHHS argues that the cases Carol Ann Pittman

relies on are distinguishable. (Id., at 9).

IT.

Summary judgment is appropriate if no genuine issue

of material fact exists and the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law. FED. R. CIV. P. 56. A fact is

“material” if its resolution in favor of one party might

affect the outcome of the suit under governing law. See

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 47 U.S. 242, 247 (1986);

see also United States v. Arron, 954 F. 2d 249, 251 (5th Cir.

1992). An issue is “genuine” if the evidence is sufficient for

a reasonable jury to return a verdict for the nonmoving

party. See Anderson, 47 U.S. at 247. If the evidence rebut-

ting the motion for summary is only colorable or not

significantly probative, summary judgment should be

granted. Id. at 247-48; see also Thomas v. Barton Lodge,

Ltd., 174 F. 3d 636, 644 (5th Cir. 1999). The summary

judgment procedure, therefore, enables a party “who

believes there is no genuine issue as to a specific fact

essential to the other side’s case to demand at least one

sworn averment of that [specific] fact before the lengthy

process continues.” See Lujan v. Natl Wildlife Fed’n, 497

U.S. 871, 888-89 (1990).

Under Rule 56(c), the moving party bears the initial

burden of informing the district court of the basis for its

App. 22

belief that there is an absence of a genuine issue for trial, —

and for ider.tifying those portions of the record that dem-

onstrate such absence. See Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v.

Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586 (1986); see also

Burge v. Parish of St. Tammany, 187 F. 3d 452, 464 (5th

Cir. 1999).

Where the moving party has met its Rule 56 (c)

burden, the nonmovant “must do more than simply show

that there is some metaphysical doubt as to the material

facts ... [T]he nonmoving party must come forward with

‘specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for

trial.” See Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 586 (quoting Fed. R.

Civ. P. 56 (e)) (emphasis in original); see also Celotex Corp

v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 321-22 (1986); Engstrom v. First

Nat'l Bank, 47 F. 3d 1459, 1462 (5th Cir. 1995). To sustain

the burden, the nonmoving party must produce evidence

admissible at trial. See Anderson, 47 U.S. at 256-57; see

also Thomas v. Price, 975 F. 2d 231, 235 (5th Cir. 1992)

(“To avoid a summary judgment, the nonmoving party

must adduce admissible evidence which creates a fact

issue.”),

The Court reviews the facts in the light most favor-

able to the nonmovant and draws all reasonable inferences

in favor of the nonmovant. See Brown v. Bunge Corp., 207

F. 3d 776, 781 (5th Cir. 2000). “The mere existence of a

scintilla of evidence in support of plaintiff’s position will

be insufficient; there must be evidence on which the jury

could reasonably find for the plaintiff.” Anderson, 47 U.S.

at 252.

Plaintiff claims that MHHS’ subrogation claim is an

action barred by issue preclusion (collateral estoppel),

which prevents re-litigation of issues that have already

been resolved in a prior suit, or claim preclusion (res

judicatar), which bars re-litigation of claims or causes of

action that have already been adjudicated or should have

been adjudicated. However, the subrogation claims Carol

Ann Pittman is requesting summary judgment on, stem

from the declaratory action that she filed on August 1,

2000, in Galveston County Probate Court and was then

removed to federal court and consolidated into this case,

and is an entirely new lawsuit from MHHS’ Interpleader

Action which was decided in May 2000. This demonstrates

to the Court that Carol Ann Pittman did not believe that

the Agreed Final Judgment signed by the Galveston

County Probate Court on May 15, 2000 and ended MHHS’

Interpleader Action resolved the subrogation issues, since

she proceeded to file a declaratory action the following

August. Therefore, the evidence in the record does not

support Plaintiff Carol Ann Pittman’s assertion that res

judicata or collateral estoppel applies.

hate

Plaintiff Carol Ann Pittman also claims that the_

Supreme Court holds that an ERISA plan administrator

may not seek to enforce a contractual obligation for the

payment of money in federal court because ERISA only

permits suits that seek to obtain “appropriate equitable

relief” Ms. Pittman argues that the Supreme Court

outlines this proposition in Great-West Life & Annuity Ins.

App. 24

Co. v. Knudson, 534 U.S. 204 (2002) and that the Fifth

Circuit supports it in Bahaus USA, Inc. v. Copeland, 292

F.3d 439 (5th Cir. 2002).

In Great-West Life & Annuity Ins. Co. v. Knudson, 534

U.S. 204 (2002) Respondent Janette Knudson was injured

in a car accident in June 1992 in California. The health

plan of Petitioner Earth Systems, Inc., the employer of Ms.

Knudson’s former husband, covered $411,157.11 of her

medical expenses, most of which was paid by petitioner

Great-West Life & Annuity Insurance Co. The Plan's

reimbursement provision gave it the right to recover from

a beneficiary any payment for benefits paid by the Plan

that the beneficiary is entitled to recover from a third

party. A separate agreement assigned Great-West the

Plan's rights to any reimbursement provision claim. After

the Knudsons filed a state-court tort action to recover from

the manufacturer of their car, they negotiated a settlement

which allocated the bulk of the recovery to attorney’s fees

and to a trust for Janette’s medical care, and earmarked

$13,828.70 (the portion of the settlement attributable to

past medical expenses) to satisfy Great-West’s reimburse-

ment claim. After approving the settlement, the state

court ordered the defendants to pay the trust amount

directly and the remainder to respondents’ attorney, who,

in turn, would tender checks to Great-West and other

creditors. Instead of cashing its check, Great-West filed a

federal action under § 502(a\3) of ERISA codified at 29

U.S.C. § 1132(aX3) to enforce the Plan’s reimbursement

provision by requiring the Knudsons to pay the Plan

$411,157.1.1 of any proceeds recovered from third parties.

App. 25

In relevant part, 29 U.S.C.§ 1132(a)(3) states:

(a) Persons empowered to bring a civil action. A

civil action may be brought —

(3) by a participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary (A)

- to enjoin any_act or practice which violates any

provision of this title or the terms of the plan, or

(B) to obtain other appropriate equitable relief (i)

to redress such violations or (ii) to enforce any

provisions of this title or the terms of the plan.

The Knudsons filed a motion for summary judgment

whick the district court granted, holding that the terms of

the Plan limited its right of reimbursement to the

$13,828.70 determined by the state court. The Court of

Appeals affirmed on different grounds, holding that

judicially decreed reimbursement for payments made to a

beneficiary of an insurance plan by a third party is not

“equitable relief” authorized by § 502(a)(3). The Supreme

Court held that because petitioners Great-West Life &

Annuity Insurance Co. and Earth Systems, Inc. were

seeking legal relief — the imposition of personal liability on

respondents for a contractual obligation to pay money —

§ 502(a\(3) did not authorize the action. See id. at 221.

The Fifth Circuit concluded that the facts in Bahaus

USA, Inc. v. Copeland were indistinguishable in principle

from Great- West. 292 F .3d 439 (5th Cir. 2002).

Both cases involve ERISA-governed em-

ployee benefit plans that include reimbursement

provisions allowing the plans to recover from any

settlement proceeds any amount the plans ad-

vanced for medical expenses resulting from third

party wrong-doing. Third-party tortfeasors injured

App. 26

the plan beneficiaries in both cases, and the

plans advanced funds to the beneficiaries for

medical expenses. In both cases, the plan benefi-

claries made tort settlements with third-party

tortfeasors following suit in state court. In both,

the plan administrator or assignee filed suit in

the federal district court seeking declaratory re-

lief that it was entitled to repayment of the bene-

fits it had conferred.‘\In the instant case, the

settlement proceeds are in the registry of the

Mississippi Chancery Court. In Great-West,. the

proceeds of the settlement were placed in a pri-

- vate Special Needs Trust outside the possession

and control of the plan beneficiary. Nevertheless,

the defendants in this case, like the. Knudsons in

- Great-West, are not in possession of the disputed

funds, a fact that Justice Scalia found extremely

important in Great-West.

The Court in Great-West characterized the

suit in that case as “[{a] claim for money due and

owing under a contract” and that such a suit is

“quintessentially an action at law.” Because the

facts in today’s case are, in principle, indistin-

guishable from those in Great-West, we are bound

by that decision and hold that § 502(a\3) does

not authorize Bauhaus’ suit.

Bahaus USA, Inc., 292 F.3d 439, 445.

However, the facts of this case are wholly different. In

this case, MHHS is seeking equitable subrogation. Equita-

ble subrogation, “is not dependent upon contract but arises

by operation of law or by implication in equity to prevent

injustice.” Id.; see also 11 John Alan Appleman & Jean

Appleman, Insurance Law § 6501 (1981) (“Legal subroga-

tion has been defined as the right to be subrogated to the

creditor’s position, arising from the mere fact of payment

App. 27

by a surety.”). Under Texas law, equitable subrogation has

been defined as “‘a legal fiction by force of which an

obligation, extinguished by payment made by a third

person, is treated as still subsisting for his benefit’” or

“‘the procedure by which the equitable rights of one

person are worked out through the legal rights of an-

other.’” Texas Co. v. Miller, 165 F.2d 111, 115 (5th Cir.

1947) (citations omitted); see also 73 AM. JUR. 2D Subroga-

tion §§ 2, 3 (1964).

MHHS’ Benefit Plan contains a subrogation provision

at Article XI, § 11.2 which MHHS’s Administrative Com-

mittee claims has only one reasonable interpretation

which is “that anyor 2 who receives benefits paid under the

Plan is required, upon the request of the administrator to

assign to the Plan any claims which he or she may have.”

(Instrument No. 133, at 11). ERISA also allows for a civil

action “to obtain other appropriate equitable relief ... or

to enforce any provisions of this title or the terms of the

plan.” See 29 U.S.C.§ 1132(a)(3).

MHHS has provided the Court with evidence that it

paid death benefit monies pursuant to the Plan to Carol

Ann Pittman and has a subrogation interest in her wrong-

ful death claim. The documentation provided to the Court

by MHHS including the Agreed Final Judgement which

clearly states that the-parties MHHS, Carol Ann Pittman

and the Pittman Children agreed that the funds previ-

ously placed in the Galveston County Probate Court’s

registry by MHHS “shall be paid to the personal represen-

tative of the Estate of John Linwood Pittman. Jr. Further, ~

the Court finds that Carol Ann Pittman, a k a Carol Ann

Peterson is the duly authorized personal representative of

the Estate of John Linwood Pittman, Jr.” (Instrument No.

133, at Exh. D). Additionally, the December 1, 2000 letter

App. 28

authored by Carrol E. Aulbaugh of the Administrative

Committee, support the Pittman Children’s contention

that-it was Carol Ann Pittman who has accepted benefits

of the Occupational Benefits Plan. (Instrument No. 133,

Exh. C). In fact, this Court granted, in its Order dated

November 21, 2003, MHHS’ Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment as to Carol Ann Pittman, granting MHHS

subrogation rights and the exclusive and sole authority to

direct prosecution of Carol Ann Pittman’s wrongful death - -

claims.

Because MHHS, in this case, is seeking an equitable

relief the caselaw cited by Plaintiff does not apply. MHHS

is not asking Carol Ann Pittman to pay any monies, only

for the equitable relief of subrogation provided for by

ERISA and MHHS'’ Plan.

IV.

Based on the foregoing, the Court DENIES Plaintiff’s

Motion for Summary Judgment (Instrument No. 125).

The Clerk shall enter this Order and provide a copy to

all parties.

SIGNED on this the 28th day of November, 2003, at

Houston, Texas.

/s/ Vanessa D. Gilmore

VANESSA D. GILMORE

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 29

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

CHARLES ATTEBERRY, SR.,

ET AL.

Plaintiffs,

CIVIL ACTION NO.

H-02-3689

EUROCOPTER DEUTSCHLAND

GMBH, ET AL.

Defendants.

§

§

$

8

versus §

§

§

§

§

ORDER

(Filed Feb. 26, 2004)

Pending before this Court is Memorial Hermann’s

Motion for Partial Summary Judgement (Instrument No.

178).

I.

On July 17, 1999 a Eurocopter BK-117 helicopter,

owned and operated by Memorial Hermann Healthcare

and Memorial Hermann Hospital Systems (“MHHS”) as a

Life Flight emergency aircraft, crashed near Fresno,

Texas. All MHHS employees aboard the helicopter were

killed. At the time of their deaths, the employees were

covered by MHHS’ ERISA Occupational Benefits Plan (the

“Plan”), which provided death benefits of $1,000,000.00 to

each employee's beneficiaries. Charles Atteberry, Jr. was

one of the employees who died.

On August 7, 2000, Charles Atteberry, Sr. and Judy

Atteberry, Individually and as Co-Administrators of the

Estate of Charles Atteberry Jr., and MHHS on behalf and

App. 30

for the benefit of the Estates, Heirs, Devisees, Legatees,

Spouses, Children and/or Parents of Charles Atteberry, Jr.,

Lynn Ethridge and John Pittman’ filed an Original Com-

plaint in this Court claiming that Eurocopter is liable for

all claims including but not limited to negligence and/or

strict liability, related to the design, testing, manufacture,

quality control, and marketing of the BK-117-B2, the

helicopter at issue. (Instrument No. 1).

On December 1, 2003, MHHS filed a Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment. (Instrument No. 178). MHHS

seeks summary judgment on the issue of its right and —

authority to. settle this lawsuit. MHHS has reached a

settlement agreement with Defendants Eurocopter

Deutschland, GMBH, Eurocopter SA, Eurocopter Holding

SA and Honeywell International Inc. (collectively “Defen-

dants”). However, MHHS claims that the settlement has

been frustrated by a dispute that has arisen between

MHHS and one of the Plaintiff families, Charles Atteberry,

Sr. and Judy Atteberry (“Atteberrys”), concerning MHHS’

subrogation rights and its authority to settle this lawsuit.

MHHS argues that their ERISA Occupational Benefits

Plan contains unambiguous provisions requiring that_

anyone receiving benefits on behalf of an employee under

the Plan assign to MHHS all rights of recovery that the

employee’s estate may have against third parties who are

potentially liable for an employee’s death. Specifically,

\

' Charles Atteberry, Sr. and Judy Atteberry dispute MINIS’

assertion that it filed suit on their behalf. Charles Atteberry, Sr. and

Judy Atteberry contend that “the complaint clearly reflects that |the]

suit was filed by them on their own behalf, with Memoria] Hermann as

a plaintiff, seeking to recover damages because of their subrogation

rights.” (Instrument No. 187, at 5).

App. 31

_

MHHS cites Article 11.1 of the ERISA Plan which provides

‘in relevant part:

In the event of any Benefit payments made un-

der the Plan to or on behalf of any Employee, the

Plan shall, to the extent of such payments, be

subrogated to all the rights of recovery and other

rights of the Employee arising out of any claim or

cause of action which may accrue because of the

alleged accidental, negligent, intentional, or tor-

tious conduct, act, or omission of another person

or entity.... Employee, by participation in the

Plan agrees that his estate, and the legal repre-

sentative of his estate, shall likewise be obligated

and that the Plan shall be fully subrogated to

any recovery or right of recovery that the estate

may have against any third party on account of,

arising out of, the Employees’s bodily Injury, Dis-

ease or Commutative Trauma, including without

limitation, any wrongful death claim or ac-

tion... . The Plan Administrator, on behalf of the

Plan, also has the right to pursue any action to

enforce its subrogation rights against a third

party. ...

Article 11.2 provides:

Employee’s Agreement to Subrogation. Employee

on behalf of himself and each beneficiary of pay-

ment made on Employee's behalf, by accepting

Benefits under the plan consents and agrees (i)

that the Plan shall be promptly reimbursed for

any payments made to or on the Employee’s be-

half under the Plan out of any monies recovered

as the result of any lawsuit, judgment, order,

award, settlement, compromise, arbitration or

other arrangement....

App. 32

Furthermore, Employee and said beneficiaries promise

and agree to take such action, to furnish such information

and assistance, to execute and deliver any assignments,

reimbursement agreements and other instruments as the

Plan Administrator may require to facilitate enforcement

of the Plan’s subrogation rights. ...

(Instrument No. 178, at Exh. A)

MHHS argues that the Plan’s Administrative Com-

mittee confirms that the construction given by the Com-

mittee to the above provisions is that the effect of a

beneficiary's acceptance of Plan benefits is that the Plan

acquires subrogation rights and has the right to control

the settlement of all claims against third parties who are

potentially liable for the death of the employee. (Instru-

ment No. 187, at 4). MHHS also argues, that “this Court

recently held that the acceptance of Plan monies by a

beneficiary gives MHHS-the sole authority to direct

prosecution of that beneficiary's subrogation claims.” (Id.).

MHHS states that the Atteberrys’ have received and

accepted benefits pursuant to MHHS’ ERISA Plan. As well

as MHHS claims that the Atteberrys executed an agree-

ment with the Plan Administrator, specifically acknow]-

edging their receipt of benefits under the ERISA plan, as

well as MHHS’ subrogation rights. The Acknowledgment

of Receipt of Benefits, Subrogation Rights and Confidenti-_

ality Agreement (“Agreement”) states in relevant part:

WHEREAS, Claimants and Memorial Hermann

desire to resolve fully and finally all claims of en-

titlement to occupational employee injury bene-

fits arising out of or related to the Incident

and/or any benefits to be paid as a result thereof;

App. 33

Subrogation. Claimants further acknowledge and

agree to protect the subrogation rights of Memo-

rial Hermann to any monies that might be recov-

ered from any third party either by judgment,

order, award, settlement, compromise, arbitra-

tion, or other arrangement a reflected in but not

limited The Occupational Benefits Plan for the

Employees of Memorial Hermann Healthcare

System. Claimants agree that the right of subro-

gation by Memorial Hermann is primary to any

recovery to the extent of any payments made by

Memorial Hermann.... Memorial Hermann and

Claimants agree that the Memorial Hermann

shall be entitled only to the first $1 million dol-

lars in gross recovery from any third party.

Claimants further agree to cooperate fully with

Memorial Hermann and its attorneys in the

prosecution of its subrogation claims and will do

nothing to impede, jeopardize or prejudice those

rights and/or claims. Memorial Hermann agree

that it will not settle the subrogation litigation

without consulting with Claimants.

(Instrument No. 178, Exh. C, at 2-3). MHHS argues that

the Plan and the Acknowledgment give MHHS the subro-

gation rights as well as the authority to prosecute and to

settle the Atteberrys’ subrogation claims. MHHS contends

that because the Atteberrys actually received benefits

under the Plan, they are subject to the Plan’s subrogation _

provisions, which require them to execute any assignment

necessary to facilitate the enforcement of the Plan’s

subrogation rights.

However, according to MHHS, the Atteberrys have

sought to avoid these documents in order to frustrate the

App. 34

settlement agreement reached between MHHS and De-

fendants. (Instrument No. 178, at 6). The agreement

between MHHS and the Defendants is contingent upon

either the presentation of a release agreement executed by

the Atteberrys — and the Atteberrys have refused to sign

such a release — or on a Court Order finding that Memo-

rial Hermann has the right to settle the Atteberrys’ claims.

Therefore, MHHS requests that the Court to declare that,

because the Atteberrys accepted Plan benefits and ac-

knowledged MHHS’ right to prosecute their subrogation

claims, MHHS owns the Atteberrys’ subrogation claims

and may settle the claims on the Atteberrys’ behalf with-

out their signature. (Id.).

On December 22, 2003, Charles and Judy Atteberry

filed a Response in Opposition to Memorial Hermann’s

Motion for Partial Summary Judgment. (Instrument No.

187). The Atteberrys assert that MHHS is not entitled to

partial summary judgment because MHHS has no plead-

ing supporting a judgment, its ERISA Plan limits its

rights only to the extent of payment, and the subsequent

agreement between MHHS and the Atteberrys limit

MHHS’ right to subrogation to only receive payment of

monies received, not to force the Atteberrys to settle or

assign to MHHS all of their rights, claims and causes of

action against the Defendants. (Id., at 1).

The Atteberrys contend that Rule 56(a) of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure, “requires that a movant have

pleadings supporting the requested judgment.” (Id., at 8).

The Atteberrys argue that notwithstanding MHHS’ motion

for partial summary judgment, MHHS had not filed any

pleadings asserting any claims against the Atteberrys or

that support its right to ask the Court to enter a declara-

tory judgment in its favor. (Id.).

App. 35

The Atteberrys also claim that the January 27, 2000

Agreement between MHHS and the Atteberrys supercedes

the ERISA Plan and “does not grant MHHS the power or

right to force the Atteberrys to assign all of their rights,

claims and causes of action to Memorial Hermann or grant

Memorial Hermann the power to settle the Atteberrys’

claims against the defendants.” (Id., at 8). The Agreement

contains a merger clause that states — “This agreement

sets forth the entire agreement between the parties

hereto, and fully supercedes any and all prior agreements,

representations, promises or understandings, written or

oral, between the parties hereto pertaining to the subject

matter hereof. This Agreement cannot be changed, modi-

fied, or altered except in writing, signed by both Claimants

and Memorial Hermann,” (Id., at 9). Accordingly, the

Atteberrys argue that the Court should disregard the

ERISA Plan and only look to the Agreement to determine

whether MHHS has the legal right to force an assignment

or settle the Atteberrys’ claims.

The Atteberrys contend that the Agreement does not

require <n assignment and in fact limits MHHS'’ rights to

subrogation to $1,000,000. (Instrument No. 187, at 10).

According to the Atteberrys, the “lalgreement clearly

contemplates that the Atteberrys had the right to prose-

cute their claims against the defendants.” (Id.). Further,

the Atteberrys recognize that the Agreement contemplates

that MHHS has the right to settle its subrogation claim,

but is required to consult with the Atteberrys before doing _

so. The Atteberrys do not object to MHHS settling its

subrogation claims so long as the settlement does not

preclude the Atteberrys from continuing their claims

against the defendants, “especially in light of the fact that

App. 36

the current offer does not contemplate compensating the

Atteberrys.” (Id., at 12).

The Atteberrys also argue that even if the Court finds

that the Agreement does not supercede MHHS’ ERISA

Plan, the Plan does not provide MHHS with the power or

right to require the Atteberrys to assign all of their rights,

claims and causes of action to MHHS or to allow MHHS to

settle both its subrogation claims but also the Atteberrys’

claims. The Atteberrys maintain that the Plan “by its own

terms limits Memorial Hermann’s right only to the

amount paid.” (Id., at 13). The Plan provides the following:

11.1 Plan's Right of Subrogation. In the event of

any Benefit payments made under the Plan to or

on behalf of any Employee, the Plan shall, to the

extent of such payments, be subrogated to all the

rights of recovery and other rights of the Em-

ployee arising out of any claim or cause of action

which may accrue because of the alleged acciden-

tal, negligent, intentional, or tortious conduct,

act, or omission of another person or entity. ...

Employee, by participation in the Plan agrees

that his estate, and the legal representative of

his estate, shall likewise be obligated and that

the Plan shall be fully subrogated to any recov-

ery or right of recovery that the estate may have

against any third party on account of, arising out

of, the Employees’s Bodily Injury, Disease or

Commutative Trauma, including without limita-

tion, any wrongful death claim or action. ... The

Plan Administrator, on behalf of the Plan, also

has the right to pursue any action to enforce its

subrogation rights against a third party. ...

11.3 Limitations To Plan's Subrogation Rights.

The Plan’s subrogation rights (a) shall extend only

to the recovery by the Plan of (i) the Benefits that

App. 37

it has paid or will pay to or on behalf of the Em-

ployee and (ii) the cost of prosecuting the claims

including attorney’s fees and court and collection

costs and (b) shall fully apply even if Participant

or beneficiary thereof has only received a partial

recovery from a third party.

(Instrument No. 178, Exh. A). The Atteberrys argue that

the Court should deny MHHS’ motion for partial summary

judgment, because MHHS is only entitled to seek recovery

of subrogation up to amounts paid and that no where do

the documents grant MHHS the right or power to settle all

of the Atteberrys’ claims or causes of action. (Instrument

No. 187, at 14).

II.

Summary judgment is appropriate if no genuine issue

of material fact exists and the moving party is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law. FED. R. CIV. P. 56, A fact is

“material” if its resolution in favor of one party might

affect the outcome of-the suit under governing law. See

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 47 U.S. 242, 247 (1986);

see also United States v. Arron, 954 F. 2d 249, 251 (5th Cir.

1992). An issue is “genuine” if the evidence is sufficient for

a reasonable jury to return a verdict for the nonmoving

party. See Anderson, 47 U.S. at 247. If the evidence rebut-

ting the motion for summary is only colorable or not

significantly probative, summary judgment should be

granted. Id. at 247-48; see also Thomas v. Barton Lodge,

Ltd., 174 F. 3d 636, 644 (5th Cir. 1999). The summary

judgment procedure, therefore, enables a party “who

believes there is no genuine issue as to a specific fact

essential to the other side’s case to demand at least one

sworn averment of that [specific] fact before the lengthy

App. 38

process continues.” See Lujan v. Nat! Wildlife Fed'n, 497

U.S. 871, 888-89 (1990).

Under Rule 56 (c), the moving party bears the initial

burden of informing the district court of the basis for its

belief that there is an absence of a genuine issue for trial,

and for identifying those portions of the record that dem-

onstrate such absence. See Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v.

Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586 (1986); see also

Burge v. Parish of St. Tammany, 187 F. 3d 452, 464 (5th

Cir. 1999).

Where the moving party has met its Rule 56 (c)

burden, the nonmovant “must do more than simply show

that there is some metaphysical doubt as to the material

facts ... [T]he nonmoving party must come forward with

‘specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for

trial.” See Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 586 (quoting Fed. R.

Civ. P. 56 (e)) (emphasis in original); see also Celotex Corp

v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 321-22 (1986); Engstrom v. First

Natl Bank, 17 F. 3d 1459, 1462 (5th Cir. 1995). To sustain

the burden, the nonmoving party must produce evidence

admissible at trial. See Anderson, 47 U.S. at 256-57: see

also Thomas v. Price, 975 F. 2d 231, 235 (5th Cir. 1992“To

avoid a summary judgment, the nonmoving party must

adduce admissible evidence which creates a fact issue.”).

The Court reviews the facts in the light most favor-

able to the nonmovant and draws all reasonable inferences

in favor of the nonmovant. See Brown v. Bunge Corp., 207

F. 3d 776, 781 (5th Cir. 2000). “The mere existence of a

scintilla of evidence in support of plaintiff’s position will

be insufficient; there must be evidence on which the jury

could reasonably find for the plaintiff” See Anderson, 47

US. at 252.

App. 39

Il.

Subrogation was first recognized as a right in equity

to prevent the unjust enrichment of a party who was owed

a claim that had been satisfied by another party. Later the

equitable right was preserved and sometimes extended by

incorporating it into the contract between the claim-debtor

and the party who, although not ultimately liable for the

claim, satisfied it. Whether subrogation is equitable or

conventional or both, the subrogee does not obtain redress

in its own right but only as successor to the rights of the

subrogor. Accordingly, a subrogee can obtain no greater

rights than its subrogor had. See In re Complaint of

Admiral Towing & Barge Co., 767 F.2d 243, 250 (5th Cir.

1985)

The January 27, 2000 Agreement between MHHS and

the Atteberrys was clearly meant to supercede the ERISA

Plan. The language is clear that the parties intended for

the Agreement to “set[{] forth the entire agreement be-

tween the parties hereto, and fully supercede[] any and all

prior agreements, representations, promises or under-

standings, written or oral, between the parties hereto

pertaining to the subject matter hereof” (Instrument No.

178, Exh. C, at 5). Therefore, the Court finds that the

Agreement supercedes MHHS’ ERISA Plan and will focus

on its language in the analysis.

_ MHHS interprets the Agreement to give MHHS the

subrogation rights as well as the authority to prosecute

and to settle the Atteberrys’ claims, and requires the

Atteberrys to execute any assignment necessary to facili-

tate the enforcement of the Plan’s subrogation rights. The

Atteberrys contend that the Agreement does not require

App. 40

an assignment and in fact limits MHHS' rights to subroga-

tion to $1,000,000.

This issue is but a disagreement over contract inter-

pretation. The primary objective in contract interpretation

is to give effect to the intent of the contracting parties as

revealed by the language they chose to use. In a contract

dispute a motion for summary judgment may be granted

only where the agreement’s language is unambiguous and

conveys a definite meaning. If the language is susceptible

to different reasonable interpretations, and where there is

relevant extrinsic evidence of the parties’ actual intent,

then the contract's meaning becomes an issue of fact

precluding summary judgment. Savers v. Rochester Tel.

Corp. Supplemental Management Pension Plan, 7 F.3d

1091, 1094 (2d Cir. 1993) (internal citations and quota-

tions omitted).

Ascertaining whether or not a writing is ambiguous is

a question of law for the trial court. See td. “Contract

language is ambiguous if it is capable of more than one

‘meaning when viewed objectively by a reasonably intelli-

gent person who has examined the context of the entire

integrated agreement and who is cognizant of the customs,

practices, usages and terminology as generally understood

in the particular trade or business. No ambiguity exists

when contract language has a definite and precise mean- »

ing, unattended by danger of misconception in the purport

of the contract itself, and concerning which there is no

reasonable basis for a difference of opinion.” /d. (internal

citations, quotations, and alterations omitted). In inter-

preting the terms of a contract, the Court must consider

the entirety of the agreement, including any references

therein, and “safeguard against adopting an interpretation

App. 41

that would render any individual provision superfluous.

Id.

The Atteberrys’ argument rests on the fact that the

Agreement states that MHHS “shall be entitled only to the

first $1,000,000 in gross recovery from any third party.”

(Instrument No. 178, Exh. C at 3). According to the Atte-

berrys, the Agreement clearly contemplates that they have

the right to prosecute their claims against the defendants,

because the Agreement provides that the Atteberrys were

responsible for attorney’s fees for all recoveries over and

above the first $1,000,000. The Agreement also provides

that MHHS “will not settle the subrogation litigation

without consulting with Claimants,” which the Atteberrys

read as confirmation that MHHS does not have the right

to force them to assign all of their rights, claims and

causes of action against the defendants.

The language in the subrogation section of the Agree-

ment first acknowledges “that the right of subrogation by

Memorial Hermann is primary to any recovery....” Itis a

common in ERISA plans to have subrogation clauses.

However,

[w]hile they vary widely in precise operation and

effect, they-share the goal of limiting the total

expenditure of plan assets. Subrogation accom-

plishes this by permitting the plan to “stand in

the shoes” of the beneficiary with respect to tort

or other recoveries to which the beneficiary is en-

titled on account of the injuries for which the plan

has paid benefits. This prevents the beneficiary

from recovering twice-once from the plan, and

once from the tortfeasor. ... Subrogation is fre-

quently confused with reimbursement, owing per-

haps to the frequency with which both provisions

are included in ERISA plans, The key distinction

App. 42

is that subrogation in effect assigns (or requires

assignment of) the tort claim to the subrogee (the

plan). Reimbursement simply requires the suc-

cessful owner of the tort claim (the beneficiary)

to repay the plan’s advances.

Waller v. Hormel Foods, 950 F. Supp. 941, 944 (D. Minn.

1996).

The Agreement language limits MHHS’ recovery, to

“the extent of any payments made by Memorial

Hermann,” not their nght of subrogation. The intent of the

language is clear, MHHS has the right to subrogate all of

the Atteberrys’ claims, thus they “stand in the shoes” of

the beneficiary, but they are limited to receiving only the

amount they actually paid to the Atteberrys, $1,000,000.

Therefore, if MHHS received more than the $1,000,000

paid to the Atteberrys, the remainder would go to the

Atteberrys. The Atteberrys’ interpretation would render

the terms of the Agreement superfluous and meaningless.

MHHS would not have the ability to settle, thus their

right of subrogation would not be “primary to any recov-

ery” as set out in the Agreement.

The Agreement also refers to the Plan to provide exam-

ples of the ways in which MHHS would be able to recover

monies from a third party. The Agreement states that “any

monies that might be recovered from any third party either

by judgment, order, award, settlement, compromise, arbitra-

tion, or other arrangement as reflected in but not limited to

The Occupational Benefits for the Employees of Memorial

Hermann Healthcare System.” The Plan states that it “also

has the right to pursue any action to enforce its subrogation

rights against a third party.” (Instrument No. 178, Exh. A, at

11.1). Now that MHHS has the right to “stand in the shoes”

of the Deceased’s beneficiaries, due to the payment of

App. 43

benefits and the terms of the Agreement, “any action” would

include the ability to settle the claims of the Deceased. In

addition, “any action” would also include seeking a declara-

tory judgment as to MHHS’ subrogation rights.

Therefore, after reading the Agreement in its entirety,

the Court does not find the provision at issue to be rea-

sonably susceptible to differing interpretations. Section 3

of the Acknowledgment of Receipt of Benefits, Subrogation

Rights and Confidentiality Agreement constitutes the

subrogation, in effect the “assignment,” of all claims,

causes of action, rights and recoveries to MHHS. See Ulico

Cas. Co. v. Clover Capital Mgmt., Inc., 146 F. Supp. 2d

163, 169 (ND NY 2001). Thus, because the Atteberrys

— accepted Plan benefits and acknowledged MHHS’ right to

prosecute their subrogation claims, MHHS owns the

Atteberrys’ subrogation claims and may settle the claims

on the Atteberrys’ behalf without their signature.

IV.

Based on the foregoing, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED

that Memorial Hermann’s Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment (Instrument No. 178) is GRANTED.

The Clerk shall enter this Order and provide a copy to

all parties.

SIGNED on this the 25th day of February, 2004, at

Houston, Texas.

/s/ Vanessa D. Gilmore

VANESSA D. GILMORE

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

~ VS,

App.-44

CAUSE NO. 62,827-C

MEMORIAL HERMANN § PROBATE COURT OF

HEALTHCARE SYSTEM AND §

MEMORIAL HERMANN §

HOSPITAL SYSTEMS

CAROL ANN PITTMAN, a.k.a.

CAROL ANN PETERSON,

Independent Executrix of the

Estate of JOHN LINWOOD

PITTMAN, JR., Deceased and

Individually as beneficiary of

the Estate of JOHN LINWOOD

PITTMAN, JR., Deceased,

JOHN LINWOOD PITTMAN,

III, Individually as adult child

and heir-at-law of JOHN

LINWOOD PITTMAN, JR.,

Deceased, and JENNIFER

LYNN PITTMAN, Individually §

as adult child and heir-at-law of § GALVESTON COUNTY,

JOHN LINWOOD PITTMAN, § _.

JR., Deceased — § TEXAS

§

§

§

§

§

§

§

§

§

§

§

§

§

§

§

§

AGREED FINAL JUDGMENT

(Filed May 15, 2000)

ON THIS DAY, came Interpleader-Defendant, Carol

Ann Pittman, a k a Carol Ann Peterson, Independent

Executrix of the Estate of John Linwood Pittman, Jr.,

Deceased and Individually as Beneficiary of the Estate of

John Linwood Pittman, Jr., Deceased, Interpleader-

Plaintiffs, Memorial Hermann Healthcare System and

Memorial Hermann Hospital Systems, and Interpleader-

App. 45

\

Defendants, John L Pittman, III and Jennifer Pittman by

and through their attorneys of record, and announced to

the Court that the parties have entered into the following

Final Agreed Judgment. It is therefore,

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that

pursuant to the terms of Paragraph 8.2 of the Occupation

Benefits Plan for The. Employee of Memorial Hermann

Healthcare System and Memorial Hermann Hospital ~

System, the funds previously placed in the registry of the

Court shall be paid to the personal representative of the

Estate of John Linwood Pittman, Jr. Further, the Court

finds that Carol Ann Pittman, a k a Carol Ann Peterson is

the duly authorized personal representative of the Estate

of John Linwood Pittman, Jr., and it is further

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that the

Interpleader Plaintiffs, Memorial Hermann Healthcare

System and Memorial Hermann Hospital Systems are

hereby discharged from this Interpleader action, and that

Interpleader Plaintiffs have voluntarily relinquished any

request for attorney fees in prosecuting this Interpleader

action, and it is further

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that all

cross-claims, including cross-claims for declaratory judg-

ment, and counter-claims are dismissed with prejudice;

and it is further

ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED that any.

and all relief not specifically granted herein is denied

SIGNED this the 15th day of May, 2000.

/s/ Gladys B. Burwell

JUDGE PRESIDING

App. 46

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

LORANCE & THOMPSON, P.C.

/s/ Phil Summers

Larry D. Thompson

TBN: 19930000

Phillip C. Summers

TBN: 19506600

2900 North Loop W., Suite 500

Houston, Texas 77092

(713) 868-5560

(713) 864-4671 (FAX)

‘Attorneys for Interpleader-Defendant,

Carol Ann Pittman a.k.a. Carol Ann

Peterson, Independent Executrix of

_ the Estate of John Linwood Pittman,

Jr., Deceased and Individually as

Beneficiary of the Estate of John

Linwood Pittman, Jr., Deceased

CRAIN, CATON & JAMES

/s/ (Illegible]

Helen B. Wils

TBN: 21665350

Sarah Patel Pachco

TBN: 00788164

Christopher A. Prine

TBN: 16329450

909 Fannin, Suite 3300

Houston, TX 77010-1079

~ 713/658-2323

713/658-1921 fax

Attorneys for Interpleader-Defendants

John L. Pittman, III and Jennifer

Pittman

App. 47

HANEN, ALEXANDER, JOHNSON &

SPALDING, L.L.P.

/s/ (Illegible]

Joseph R. Alexander, Jr.

TBN: 00995150

Craig A. Choate

TBN: 00790461

910 Travis Street, Suite 1700

Houston, TX 77002

713/222-2323

713/222-2226 fax

Attorneys for Interpleader-Plaintiffs,

Memorial Hermann Healthcare

System and Memorial Hermann

Hospital Systems

App. 48

No. 04-20349

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

CHARLES ATTEBERRY SR, ET AL,

Plaintiffs

¥.

MEMORIAL-HERMANN HEALTHCARE SYSTEMS,

On Behalf and for the Benefit of The Estates,

Heirs, Devisees, Legatees, Spouses, Children

and/or Parents of Charles Atteberry Jr.,

Plaintiffs — Appellees

¥.

MEMORIAL-HERMANN HEALTHCARE

SYSTEM; MEMORIAL-HERMANN HOSPITAL SYSTEM,

Plaintiffs - Appellants - Appellees

V.

: BEN ETHRIDGE,

Intervenor - Plaintiff-Appellee

v.

DALINDA SHELTON; CAROL ANN PITTMAN,

also known as Carol Ann Peterson,

[Independent Executrix of the Estate of

John Linwood Pittman, Jr., Deceased and

Individually as Beneficiary of

John Linwood Pittman, Jr.,

Intervenor - Plaintiffs - Appellants

V.

EUROCOPTER DEUTSCHLAND, GMBH, ET AL,

Defendants

Filed 5/3/2005

App. 49

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of Texas, Houston

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

Before GARWOOD, BENAVIDES, and STEWART, Circuit

Judges. PER CURIAM:

Treating the Petition for Rehearing En Banc as a Petition

for Panel Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Rehearing is

DENIED. No member of the panel nor judge in regular

active service of the court having requested that the court

be polled on Rehearing En Banc (FED. R. APP. P. and 5TH

CIR. R. 35), the Petition for Rehearing En Banc is DE-

NIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

United States Circuit Judge

Judge Jones and Judge Clement did not participate in the

consideration of the rehearing en banc.

App. 50

29 U.S.C. § 1002. Definitions

For purposes of this title:

(1) The terms “employee welfare benefit plan” and

“welfare plan” mean any plan, fund, or program which was

heretofore or is hereafter established or maintained by an

employer or by an employee organization, or by both, to

the extent that such plan, fund, or program was estab-

lished or is maintained for the purpose of providing for its

participants or their beneficiaries, through the purchase of

insurance or otherwise, (A) medical, surgical, or hospital

care or benefits, or benefits in the event of sickness,

accident, disability, death or unemployment, or vacation

benefits, apprenticeship or other training programs, or day

care centers, scholarship funds, or prepaid legal séfvices,

or (B) any benefit described in section 302(c) of the Labor

Management Relations Act, 1947 {29 USCS § 186ic)]

(other than pensions on retirement or death, and insur-

ance to provide such pensions).

(24A) Except as provided in subparagraph (B), the

terms “employee pension benefit plan” and “pension plan”

mean any plan, fund, or program which was heretofore or

is hereafter established or maintained by an employer or

by an employee organization, or by both, to the extent that

by its express terms or as a result of surrounding circum-

stances such plan, fund, or program —

(i) provides retirement income to employees,

or

(ii) results in a deferral of income by em-

ployees for periods extending to the termination of covered

employment or bevond,

App. 51

regardless of the method of calculating the contribu-

tions made to the plan, the method of calculating the

benefits under the plan or the method of distributing

benefits from the plan.

(B) The Secretary may by regulation prescribe

rules consistent with the standards and purposes of this Act

providing one or-more exempt categories under which —

(i) severance pay arrangements, and

(ii) supplemental retirement income pay-

ments, under which the pension benefits of retirees or

their beneficiaries are supplemented to take into account

some portion or all of the increases in the cost of living (as

determined by the Secretary of Labor) since retirement,

shall, for purposes of this title, be treated as welfare

plans rather than pension plans. In the case of any ar-

rangement or payment a principal effect of which is the

evasion of the standards or purposes of this Act applicable

to pension plans, such arrangement or payment shall be

treated as a pension plan.

(3)- The term “employee benefit plan” or “plan”

means an employee welfare benefit plan or an employee

pension benefit plan or a plan which is both an employee

welfare benefit plan and an employee pension benefit plan.

(4) The term “employee organization” means any

labor union or any organization of any kind, or any agency

or employee representation committee, association, group,

or plan, in which employees participate and which exists

for the purpose, in whole or in part, of dealing with em-

ployers concerning an employee benefit plan, or other

matters incidental to employment relationships; or any

App. 52

employees’ beneficiary association organized for the

purpose in whole or in part, of establishing such a plan.

(5) The term “employer” means any person acting

directly as an employer, or indirectly in the interest of an

employer, in relation to an employee benefit plan; and

includes a group or association of employers acting for an

employer in such capacity.

(6) The term “employee” means any individual em-

ployed by an employer.

(7) The term “participant” means any employee or

former employee of an employer, or any member or former

member of an employee organization, who is or may

become eligible to receive a benefit of any type from an

employee benefit plan which covers employees of such

employer-or members of such organization, or whose

beneficiaries may be eligible to receive any such benefit.

(8) The term “beneficiary” means a person desig-

nated by a participant, or by the terms of an employee

benefit plan, who is or may become entitled to a benefit—

thereunder.

(9) The term “person” means an individual, partner-

ship, joint venture, corporation, mutual company, joint-

stock company, trust, estate, unincorporated organization,

association, or employee organization.

(10) The term “State” includes any State of the

United States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the

Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam, Wake Island, and

the Canal Zone. The term “United States” when used in

the geographic sense means vhe States and the Outer

Continental Shelf lands defined in the Outer Continental

Shelf Lands Act (43 U.S.C. 1331-1343).

App. 53

(11) The term “commerce” means trade, traffic,

commerce, transportation, or communication between any

State and any place outside thereof.

(12) The term “industry or activity affecting com-

merce” means any activity, business, or industry in com-

merce or in which a labor dispute would hinder or obstruct

commerce or the free flow of commerce, and includes any

activity or industry “affecting commerce” within the

meaning of the Labor Management Relations Act, 1947, or

the Railway Labor Act.

(13) The term “Secretary” means the Secretary of

Labor.

(14) The term “party in interest” means, as to an

employee benefit plan —

(A) any fiduciary (including, but not limited to,

any administrator, officer, trustee, or custodian), counsel,

or employee of such employee benefit plan;

(B) a person providing services to such plan;

(C) an employer any of whose employees are

covered by such plan;

(D) an employee organization any of whose

members are covered by such plan;

(E) an owner, direct or indirect, of 50 percent or

more of —

(i) the combined voting power of all classes

of stock entitled to vote or the total value of shares of all

classes of stock of a corporation. [,]

App. 54

(ii) the capital interest or the profits inter-

est of a partnership, or

(iii) the beneficial interest of a trust or

unincorporated enterprise, which is an employer or an

employee organization described in subparagraph (C) or

(D);

(F) a relative (as defined in paragraph (15)) of

any individual described in subparagraph (A), (B), (C), or

(E);

(G) acorporation, partnership, or trust or estate

of which (or in which) 50 percent or more of —

(i) the combined voting power of all classes

of stock entitled to vote or the total value of shares of all

classes of stock of such corporation,

(ii) the capital interest or profits interest of

such partnership, or

(ili) the beneficial interest of such trust or

estate, is owned directly or indirectly, or held by persons

described in subparagraph (A), (B), (C), (D), or (E);

(H) an employee, officer, director (or an individ-

ual having powers or responsibilities similar to those of

officers or directors), or a 10 percent or more shareholder

directly or indirectly, of a person described in subpara-

graph (B), (C), (D), (E), or (G), or of the employee benefit

plan; or

(I) a 10 percent or more (directly or indirectly in

capital or profits) partner or joint venturer of a person

described in subparagraph (B), (C), (D), (E), or (G).

App. 55

The Secretary, after consultation and coordination

with the Secretary of the Treasury, may by regulation

prescribe a percentage lower than 50 percent for subpara-

graph (E) and (G) and lower than 10 percent for subpara-

graph (H) or (I). The Secretary may prescribe regulations

for determining the ownership (direct or indirect) of profits

and beneficial interests, and the manner in which indirect

stockholdings are taken into account. Any person who is a

party in interest with respect to a plan to which a trust

described in section 501(c)(22) of the Internal Revenue

Code of 1986 [26 USC § 501(c)(22)] is permitted to make

payments under section 4223 [29 USC § 1403] shall be

treated as a party in interest with respect to such trust.

(15) The term “relative” means a spouse, ancestor,

lineal descendant, or spouse of a lineal descendant.

(16A) The term “administrator” means —

(i) the person specifically so designated by

the terms of the instrument under which the plan is

operated;

(ii) if an administrator is not so designated,

the plan sponsor; or

(iii) in the case of a plan for which an

administrator is not designated and a plan sponsor cannot

be identified, such other person as the Secretary may by

regulation prescribe.

(B) The term “plan sponsor” means (i) the

employer in the case of an employee benefit plan estab-

lished or maintained by a single employer, (ii) the em-

ployee organization in the case of a plan established or

maintained by an employee organization, or (iii) in the

case of a plan established or maintained by two or more

App. 56

employers or jointly by one or more employers and one or

more employee organizations, the association, committee,

joint board of trustees, or other similar group of represen-

tatives of the parties who establish or maintain the plan.

(17) The term “separate account” means an account

established or maintained by an insurance company under

which income, gains, and losses, whether or not realized,

from assets allocated to such account, are, in accordance

with the applicable contract, credited to or charged against

-such_account without regard to other income, gains, or

losses of the insurance company.

(18) The term “adequate consideration” when used in

part 4 of subtitle B [29-USCS §§ 1101 et seq.] means (A) in

the case of a security for which there is a generally recog-

nized market, either (i) the price of the security prevailing

on a national securities exchange which is registered

under section 6 of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 [15

USCS § 78f], or (ii) if the security is not traded on such a

national securities exchange, a price not less favorable to

the plan than the offering price for the security as estab-

lished by the current bid and asked prices quoted by

persons independent of the issuer and of any party in

interest; and (B) in the case of an asset other than a

security for which there is a generally recognized market,

the fair market value of the asset as determined in good

faith by the trustee or named fiduciary pursuant to the

terms of the plan and in accordance with regulations

promulgated by the Secretary.

(19) The term “nonforfeitable’ when used with

respect to a pension benefit or right means a claim ob-

tained by a participant or his beneficiary to that part of an

immediate or deferred benefit under a pension plan which

App. 57

arises from the participant’s service, which is unconditional,

and which is legally enforceable against the plan. For

purposes of this paragraph, a right to an accrued benefit

derived from employer contributions shall not be treated

as forfeitable merely because the plan contains a provision

described in section 203 (a)(3) [29 USCS § 1053(a)(3)].

(20) The term “security” has the same meaning as

such term has under section 2(1) of the Securities Act of

1933 (15 U.S.C. 77b(1)).

(21)A) Except as otherwise provided in subpara-

graph (B), a person is a fiduciary with respect to a plan to

_the extent (i) he exercises any discretionary authority or

discretionary control respecting management of such plan

or exercises any authority or control respecting manage-

ment or disposition of its assets, (ii) he renders investment

advice for a fee or other compensation, direct or indirect,

with respect to any moneys or other property of such plan,

or has any authority or responsibility to do so, or (ili) he

has any discretionary authority or discretionary responsi-

bility in the administration of such plan. Such term

includes any person designated under section 405(c)(1)(B)

[29 USCS § 1105(c)(1)(B)].

(B) If any money or other property of an em-

ployee benefit. plan is invested in securities issued by an

investment company registered under the Investment

Company Act of 1940, such investment shall not by itself

cause such investment company or such investment

company’s investment-adviser or principal underwriter to

be deemed to be a fiduciary or a party in interest as those

terms are defined in this title, except insofar as such

investment company or its investment adviser or principal

underwriter acts in connection with an employee benefit

App. 58

plan covering employees of the investment company, the

investment adviser, or its principal underwriter. Nothing

contained in this subparagraph shall limit the duties

imposed on such investment company, investment adviser,

or principal underwriter by any other law.

(22) The term “normal retirement benefit” means the

greater of the early retirement benefit under the plan, or

the benefit under the plan commencing at normal retire-

ment age. The normal retirement benefit shall be deter-

mined without regard to —

(A) medical benefits, and

(B) disability benefits not in excess of the

qualified disability benefit.

For purposes of this paragraph, a qualified disability

benefit is a disability benefit provided by a plan which

does not exceed the benefit which would be provided for

the participant if he separated from the service at normal

retirement age. For purposes of this paragraph, the early

retirement benefit under a plan shall be determined

without regard to any benefit under the plan which the

Secretary of the Treasury finds to be a benefit described in

section 204(b)(1G) (29 USCS § 1054(b)( 1 G)].

(23) The term “accrued benefit” means —

(A) in the case of a defined benefit plan, the

individual's accrued benefit determined under the plan

and, except as provided in section 204(c3) [29 USCS

§ 1054(c)(3)], expressed in the form of an annual benefit

commencing at normal retirement age, or

(B) in the case of a plan which is an individual

account plan, the balance of the individual's account.

App. 59

The accrued benefit of an employee shall not be less

than the amount determined under section 204(c)(2)(B) [29

USCS § 1054(c)\(2)(B)] with respect to the employee’s

accumulated contribution.

(24) The term “normal retirement age” means the

earlier of —

(A) the time a plan participant attains normal

retirement age under the plan, or

(B) the later of -—

(i) the time a plan participant attains age

65, or

(ii) the 5th anniversary of the time a plan

participant commenced participation in the plan.

(25) The term “vested liabilities” means the present

value of the immediate or deferred benefits available at

normal retirement age for participants and their benefici-

aries which are nonforfeitable.

(26) The term “current value” means fair market

value where available and otherwise the fair value as

determined in good faith by a trustee or a named fiduciary

(as defined in section 402(a)(2) [29 USCS § 1102(a)(2)])

pursuant to the terms of the plan and in accordance with

regulations of the Secretary, assuming an orderly liquida-

tion at the time of such determination.

(27) The term “present value”, with respect to a

liability,-means the value adjusted to reflect anticipated

events. Such adjustments shall conform to such regula-

tions as the Secretary of the Treasury may prescribe.

App. 60

(28) The term “normal service cost” or “normal cost”

means the annual cost of future pension benefits and

administrative expenses assigned, under an actuarial cost

method, to years subsequent to a particular valuation date

of a pension plan. The Secretary of the Treasury may

prescribe regulations to carry out this paragraph.

(29) The term “accrued liability” means the excess of

the present value, as of a particular valuation date of a

pension plan, of the projected future benefit costs and

administrative expenses for all plan participants and

beneficiaries over the present value of future contributions

for the normal cost of all applicable plan participants and

beneficiaries. The Secretary of the Treasury may prescribe

regulations to carry out this paragraph.

(30) The term “unfunded accrued liability” means

the excess of the accrued liability, under an actuarial cost

method which so provided, over the present value of the

assets of a pension plan. The Secretary of the Treasury

may prescribe regulations to carry out this paragraph.

(31) The term “advance funding actuarial cost

method” or “actuarial cost method” means a recognized

actuarial technique utilized for establishing the amount

and incidence of the annual actuarial cost of pension plan

benefits and expenses. Acceptable actuarial cost methods

shall include the accrued benefit cost method (unit credit

method), the entry age normal cost method, the individual

level premium cost method, the aggregate cost method, the

attained age normal cost method, and the frozen initial

liability cost method. The terminal funding cost method

and the current funding (pay-as-you-go) cost method are

not acceptable actuarial cost methods. The Secretary of

App. 61

the Treasury shall issue regulations to further define

acceptable actuarial cost methods.

(32) The term “governmental plan” means a plan

established or maintained for its employees by the Gov-

ernment of the United States, by the government of any

State or political subdivision thereof, or by any agency or

instrumentality of any of the foregoing. The term “gov-

ernmental plan” also includes any plan to which the

Railroad Retirement Act of 1935 or 1937 applies, and

which is financed by contributions required under that Act

and any plan of an international organization which is

exempt from taxation under the provisions of the Interna-

tional Organizations Immunities Act (59 Stat. 669).

(33)(A) The term “church plan” means a plan estab-

lished and maintained (to the extent required in clause (1i)

of subparagraph (B)) for its employees (or their beneficiar-

ies) by a church or by a convention or association of

churches which is exempt from tax under section 501 of

the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 [26 USCS § 501].

(B) The term “church plan” does not include a plan —_

(i) which is established and maintained

primarily for the benefit of employees (or their beneficiar-

ies) of such church or convention or association of churches

who are employed in connection with one or more unre-

lated trades or businesses (within the meaning of section

513 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 [26 USCS

§ 513]), or

(ii) if less than substantially all of the

individuals included in the plan are individuals described

in subparagraph (A) or in clause (ii) of subparagraph (C)

(or their beneficiaries).

App. 62

(C) For purposes of this paragraph —

(i) A plan established and maintained for its

employees (or their beneficiaries) by a church or bya

convention or association of churches includes a plan

maintained by an organization, whether a civil law corpo-

ration or otherwise, the principal purpose or function of

which is the administration or funding of a plan or pro-

gram for the provision of retirement benefits or welfare

benefits, or both, for the employees of a church or a con-

vention or association of churches, if such organization is

controlled by or associated with a church or a convention

or association of churches.

(ii) The term employee of a church or a

convention or association of churches includes —

(I) a duly ordained, commissioned, or

licensed minister of a church in the exercise of his minis-

try. regardless of the source of his compensation;

(II)- an employee of an organization,

whether a civil law corporation or otherwise, which is

exempt from tax under section 501 of the Internal Reve-

nue Code-of 1986 [26 USCS § 501] and which is controlled

by or associated with a church or a convention or associa-

tion of churches; and

(III) an individual described in clause

Cy}.

(iii) A church or a convention or association

of churches which is exempt from tax under section 501 of

the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 [26 USCS § 501] shall

be deemed the employer of any individual included as an

employee under clause (ii).

App. 63

(iv) An organization, whether a civil law

corporation or otherwise, is associated with a church or a

convention or association of churches if it shares common

religious bonds and convictions with that church or con-

vention or association of churches.

(v) If an employee who is included in a

church plan separates from the service of a church or a

convention or association of churches or an organization,

whether a civil law corporation or otherwise, which is

exempt from tax under section 501 of the Internal Reve-

nue Code of 1986 [26 USCS § 501] and which is controlled

by or associated with a church or a convention or associa-

tion of churches, the church plan shall not fail to meet the

requirements of this paragraph merely because the plan —

(I) retains the employee’s accrued

benefit or account for the payment of benefits to the

employee or his beneficiaries pursuant to the terms of the

plan; or

(II) receives contributions on _ the

employee’s behalf after the employee’s separation from

such service, but only for a period of 5 years after such

separation, unless the employee is disabled (within the

meaning of the disability provisions of the church plan or,

if there are no such provisions in the church plan, within

the meaning of section 72(m)(7) of the Interna! Revenue

Code of 1986 [26 USCS § 72(m\7)] at the time of such

separation from service.

(D)G) If a plan established and maintained for

its employees (or their beneficiaries) by a church or by a

convention or association of churches which is exempt

from tax under section 501 of the Internal Revenue Code

of 1986 [26 USCS § 501] fails to meet one or more of the

App. 64 _

requirements of this paragraph and corrects its failure to

meet such requirements within the correction period, the

plan shall be deemed to meet the requirements of this

paragraph for the year in which the correction was made

and for all prior years,

(ii) If a correction is not made within the

correction period, the plan shall be deemed not to meet the

requirements of this paragraph beginning with the date on

which the earliest failure to meet one or more of such

requirements occurred.

(iii) For purposes of this subparagraph, the

term “correction period” means —

(I) the period ending 270 days after the

date of mailing by the Secretary of the Treasury of a notice

of default with respect to the plan’s failure to meet one or

more of the requirements of this paragraph; or

(II) any period set by a court of compe-

tent jurisdiction after a final determination that the plan

fails to meet such requirements, or, if the court does not

specify such period, any reasonable period determined by

the Secretary of the Treasury on the basis of all the facts

and circumstances, but in any event not less than 270

days after the determination has become final; or

(III) any additional period which the

Secretary of the Treasury determines is reasonable or

necessary for the correction of the default, whichever has

the latest ending date.

(34) The term “individual account plan” or “defined

contribution plan” means a pension plan which provided

for an individual account for each participant and for

benefits based solely upon the amount contributed to the

App. 65

participant’s account, and any income, expenses, gains and

losses, and any forfeitures of accounts of other participants

which may be allocated to such participant’s account.

(35) The term “defined benefit plan” means a pen-

sion plan other than an individual account plan; except

that a pension plan which is not an individual account

plan and which provided a benefit derived from employer

contributions which is based partly on the balance of the

separate account of a participant —

(A) for the purposes of section 202 [29 USCS

§ 1052], shall be treated as an individual account plan,

and

(B) for the purposes of paragraph (23) of this

section and section 204 [29 USCS § 1054], shall be treated

as an individual-aceount plan to the extent benefits are

based upon the separate account of a participant and as a

defined benefit plan with respect to the remaining portion

of benefits under the plan.

(36) The term “excess benefit plan” means a plan

maintained by an employer solely for the purpose of

providing benefits for certain employees in excess of the

limitations on contributions and benefits imposed by

section 415 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 [26

USCS §415] on plans to which that section applies,

without regard to whether the plan is funded. To the

extent that a separable part of a plan (as determined by

the Secretary of Labor) maintained by an employer is

maintained for such purpose, that part shall be treated as

a separate plan which is an excess benefit plan.

App. 66

(37)A) The term “multiemployer plan” means a plan —

(i) to which more than one employer is

required to contribute,

(ii) which is maintained pursuant to one or

more collective bargaining agreements between one or more

employee organizations and more than one employer, and

(iii) which satisfies such other requirements

as the Secretary may prescribe by regulation.

(B) For purposes of this paragraph, all trades or

businesses (whether or not incorporated) which are under

common control within the meaning of section 4001(b)(1)

{29 USCS § 1301(b)(1)] are considered a single employer.

(C) Notwithstanding subparagraph (A), a plan is

a multiemployer plan on and after its termination date if

the plan was a multiemployer plan under this paragraph

for the plan year preceding its termination date.

(D) For purposes of this title, notwithstanding

the preceding provisions of this paragraph, for any plan year

which began before the date of the enactment of the Mul-

tiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980 [enacted

Sept. 26, 1980], the term “multiemployer plan” means a plan

described in section 3(37) of this Act [para. (37) of this

section] as in effect immediately before such date.

(E) Within one year after the date of the enact-

ment of the Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act

of 1980 lenacted Sept. 26, 1980], a multiemployer plan

may irrevocably elect, pursuant to procedures established

by the corporation and subject to the provisions of sections

- 4403 [4303](b) and (c) [29 USCS § 1453(b) and (c)], that

the plan shall not be treated as a multiemployer plan for

App. 67

all purposes under this Act or the Internal Revenue Code

of 1954 [26 USCS §§ 1 et seq.] if for each of the last 3 plan

years ending prior to the effective date of the Multiem-

ployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980 —

(i) the plan was not a multiemployer plan

because the plan was not a plan described in section

3(37)(AXiii) of this Act [para. (37)(A)(iii) of this section]

and section 414(f)(1)C) of the Internal Revenue Code of

1954 [26 USCS § 414(f)(1)(C)] (as such provisions were in

effect on the day before the date of the enactment of the

Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of 1980

[enacted Sept. 26, 1980]); and

(ii) the plan had been identified as a plan

that was not a multiemployer plan in substantially all its

filings with the corporation, the Secretary of Labor and

the Secretary of the Treasury.

(F)(i) For purposes of this title a qualified

football coaches plan —

(I) shall be treated as a multiemployer

plan to the extent not inconsistent with the purposes of

this subparagraph; and

(II) notwithstanding section 401(k)(4)(B)

of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 [26 USCS

§ 401(k4)(B)], may include a qualified cash and deferred

arrangement.

(ii) For purposes of this subparagraph, the

term “qualified football coaches plan” means any defined

contribution plan which is established and maintained by

an organization —

App. 68

(I) which is described in section 501(c)

of such Code [26 USCS § 501(c));

(II) the membership of which consists

entirely of individuals who primarily coach football as full-

time employees of 4-year colleges or universities described

in section 170(b) (1)(A)ji) of such Code [26 USCS

§ 170(b)( 1 Ai); and

(III) which was in existence on Septem-

ber 18, 1986.

(38) The term “investment manager” means any

fiduciary (other than a trustee or named fiduciary, as

defined in section 402(a)(2) [29 USCS § 1102(a\(2)}) —

(A) who has the power to manage, acquire, or

dispose of any asset of a plan;

(B) who (i) is registered as an investment

adviser under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 [15

USCS §$§ 80b-1 et seq.]; (ii) is not registered as an invest-

ment adviser under such Act by reason of paragraph (1) of

section 203A(a) of such Act [15 USCS § 80b-3a(aX1)], is

registered as an investment adviser under the laws of the

State (referred to in such paragraph (1)) in which it

maintains its principal office and place of business, and, at

the time the fiduciary last filed the registration form most

recently filed by the fiduciary with such State in order to

maintain the fiduciary’s registration under the laws of

such State, also filed a copy of such form with the Secre-

tary; (ili) is a bank, as defined in that Act [15 USCS

§§ 80b-1 et seq.]; or (iv) is an insurance company qualified

to perform services described in subparagraph (A) under

the laws of more than one State; and

App. 69

(C) has acknowledged in writing that he is a

fiduciary with respect to the plan.

(39) The terms “plan year” and “fiscal year of the

plan” mean, with respect to a plan, the calendar, policy, or

fiscal year on which the records of the plan are kept.

(40(A) The term “multiple employer welfare ar-

rangement” means an employee welfare benefit plan, or

any other arrangement (other than an employee welfare

benefit plan), which is established or maintained for the

purpose of offering or providing any benefit described in

paragraph (1) to the employees of two or more employers

(including one or more self-employed individuals), or to

their beneficiaries, except that such term does not include

any such plan or other arrangement which is established

or maintained —

(i) under or pursuant to one or more agree-

ments which the Secretary finds to be collective bargain-

ing agreements,

(ii) by a rural electric cooperative, or

(iii) by a rural telephone cooperative asso-

ciation.

(B) For purposes of this paragraph —

(i) two or more trades-or businesses,

whether or not incorporated, shall be deemed a single

employer if such trades or businesses are within the same

control group,

(ii) the term “control group” means a group

of trades or businesses under common control,

App. 70

(iii) the determination of whether a trade or

business is under “common control” with another trade or

business shall be determined under regulations of the

Secretary applying principles similar to the principles

applied in determining whether employees of two or-more

trades or businesses are treated as employed by a single

emplover under section 4001(b) [29 USCS § 1301(bf,

except that, for purposes of this paragraph, common

control shall not be based on an interest of less than 25

percent,

(iv) the term “rural electric cooperative”

(I) any organization which is exempt

from tax under section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue

Code of 1986 [26 USCS § 501(a)] and which is engaged

primarily in providing electric service on a mutual or

cooperative basis, and

(II) any organization described in

paragraph (4) or (6) of section 50l(c) of the Internal

—Revenue Code of 1986 [26 USCS § 501(c)4) or (6)] which is

exempt from tax under section 501(a) of such Code [26

USCS § 501(a)] and at least 80 percent of the members of

which are organizations described in subclause (I), and

(v) the term “rural telephone cooperative

association” means an organization described in para-

graph (4) or (6) of section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue

Code of 1986\[26 USCS § 501(c)4) or (6)| which is exempt

from tax under section 501(a) of such Code [26 USCS

§ 501(a)] and at least 80 percent of the members of which

are organizations engaged primarily in providing tele-

phone service to rural areas of the United States on a

mutual, cooperative, or other basis.

App. 71

(41) Single-employer plan. The term “single-employer

plan” means an employee benefit plan other than a mul-

tiemployer plan.

{(42)]}(41) The term “single-employer plan” means a

plan which is not a multiemployer plan.

App. 72

Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 71.001 (2005)

§ 71.001. Definitions

In this subchapter:

(1) “Corporation” means a municipal, private,

public, or quasi-public corporation other than a

county or a common or independent school dis-

trict.

(2) “Person” means an individual, association of

individuals, joint-stock company, or corporation

or a trustee or receiver of an individual, associa-

tion of individuals, joint-stock company, or corpo-

ration.

(3) “Death” includes, for an individual who is an

unborn child, the failure to be born alive.

(4) “Individual” includes an unborn child at

every stage of gestation from fertilization until

birth.

os

§ 71.002. Cause of Action

(a) An action for actual damages arising from an

injury that causes an individual’s death may be brought if

liability exists under this section.

(b) A person is liable for damages arising from an

injury that causes an individual's death if the injury was

caused by the person’s or his agent’s or servant's wrongful

act, neglect, carelessness, unskillfulness, or default.

(c) A person is liable for damages arising from an

injury that causes an individual's death if:

App. 73

(1) the person is a proprietor, owner, charterer,

or hirer of an industrial or public utility plant or

of a railroad, street railway, steamboat, stage-

coach, or other vehicle for the transportation of

goods or passengers; and

(2) the injury was caused by the person’s or his

agent’s or servant's wrongful act, neglect, care-

lessness, unskillfulness, or default.

(d) A person is liable for damages arising from an

injury that causes an individual’s death if:

(1) the person is a receiver, trustee, or other

person in charge of or in control of a railroad,

street railway, steamboat, stagecoach, or other

vehicle for the transportation of goods or passen-

gers, of an industrial or public utility plant, or of

other machinery; and

(2) the injury was caused by:

(A) the person’s wrongful act, neglect, care-

lessness, unskillfulness, or default;

(B) the person’s servant’s or agent’s wrong-

ful act, neglect, carelessness, unfitness, un-

skillfulness, or default; or

(C) a bad or unsafe condition of the rail-

road, street railway, or other machinery un-

der the person’s control or operation.

(e) A person is liable for damages arising from an

injury that causes an individual’s death if:

(1) the person is a receiver, trustee, or other per-

son in charge of or in control of a railroad, street

railway, steamboat, stagecoach, or other vehicle for

the transportation of goods or passengers, of an

App. 74

industrial or public utility plant, or of other ma-

chinery; and

(2) the action could have been brought against

the owner of the railroad, street railway, or other

machinery if he had been acting as operator.

§ 71.003. Application; Certain Conduct Excepted

(a) This subchapter applies only if the individual

injured would have been entitled to bring an action for the

injury if the individual had lived or had been born alive.

(b) This subchapter applies whether the injury

occurs inside or outside this state.

(c) This subchapter does not apply to a claim for the

death of an individual who is an unborn child that is

brought against:

(1) the mother of the unborn child;

(2) a physician or other licensed health care pro-

vider, if the death is the intended result of a lawful

medical procedure performed by the physician or

health care provider with the requisite consent;

(3) a person who dispenses or administers a

drug in accordance with law, if the death is the

result of the dispensation or administration of

the drug; or

(4) a physician or other health care provider li-

censed in this state, if the death directly or indi-

rectly is caused by, associated with, arises out of, or

relates to a lawful medical or health care practice

App. 75

or procedure of the physician or the health care

_ provider. i

§ 71.004. Benefitting From-and Bringing Action

(a) An action to recover damages as provided by this

subchapter is for the exclusive benefit of the surviving

spouse, children, and parents of the deceased.

(b) The surviving spouse, children, and parents of

the deceased may bring the action or one or more of those

individuals may bring the action for the benefit of all.

(c) If none of the individuals entitled to bring an

action have begun the action within three calendar

months after the death of the injured individual, his

executor or administrator shall bring and prosecute the

action unless requested not to by all those individuals.

App. 76

Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 71.021 (2005)

§ 71.021. Survival of Cause of Action

(a) A cause of action for personal injury to the

health, reputation, or person of an injured person does not

abate because of the death of the injured person or be-

cause of the death of a person liable for the injury.

(b). A personal injury action survives to and in favor

of the heirs, legal representatives, and estate of the

injured person. The action survives against the liable

person and the person’s legal representatives.

(c) The suit may be instituted and prosecuted as if

the liable person were alive.

App. 77

Restatement of the Law, Third, Trusts

(Tentative Draft No. 4, April 5, 2005)

Part 6 — Trust Administration

Chapter 16 — Extent and Exercise of Trustees’ Powers

§87 Judicial Control of Discretionary Powers

‘When a trustee has discretion with respect to the

exercise of a power, its exercise is subject to super-

vision by a court only to prevent abuse of discre-

tion.

COMMENTS & ILLUSTRATIONS: Comments:

a. Scope of Section; cross-references. A trustee generally

has discretion (i.e., is to use fiduciary judgment) with

respect to the exercise of the powers of the trusteeship.

That is, a power is discretionary except to the extent its

exercise is directed by the terms of the trust or compelled

by the trustee’s fiduciary duties. Even in cases of what are

often called “mandatory” powers or provisions, for which

trustee compliance is required except as provided in § 66

(equitable deviation in unanticipated circumstances), the

trustee often has some discretionary authority and re-

sponsibility in important matters of implementation. For

example, the terms of a trust may require the sale of

certain real property but then, by failing to provide more,

leave the trustee to exercise fiduciary judgment with

respect to the timing (on which see § 92, Comment b),

price, and other terms of the sale. Similarly, room for

fiduciary judgment and responsibility may well remain in

situations in which a trustee is directed to take action by

the holder of a directory power (see § 75, Comment 38,

Illustration 1) or by the settlor of a revocable trust (§ 74,

Comment B, Illustration 3).

App. 78

The most important of the discretionary powers in most

trusts are those having to do with various aspects of the

investment function, together with, in many trusts, those

having to do with discretionary distributions, such as a

power to invade principal for an income beneficiary or the

power to distribute income to a beneficiary or among a

class of beneficiaries. These matters are dealt with in

considerable detail in Chapter 17 (§§ 90-92, on “Invest-

ment of Trust Funds”) and in §50 (“Enforcement and

Construction of Discretionary Interests”). See also Chapter

23 on discretionary powers in principal-income accounting.

The rule of this Section and the principles described in its

commentary apply not only to these matters but also to

discretionary powers regarding other aspects of trust

administration.

This Section applies to discretionary authority that is

ordinarily implicit in the powers of trustees (supra) as well

as to discretionary authority that is expressly stated in the

terms of a trust. Express grants of discretion and accom-

panying language, however, often present issues of inter-

pretation or effect, sometimes beginning with a question of

whether a settlor’s “grant” of discretion with regard to a

power is merely redundant or confers a broader degree of

authority than would normally be implicit in the particu-

lar power. See Comment d.

b. Judicial review and control of trustee’s discretion.

When judicial intervention is required, the court may

(ordinarily upon petition by a beneficiary) assert control

over the exercise of a discretionary power by directing the

trustee to act or refrain from acting or by setting aside a

transaction in which the trustee has already acted. Or the

court may hold the trustee liable for the adverse conse-

quences of improper conduct, as in other breaches of

App. 79

fiduciary duty. The court may also, or instead: issue

instructions clarifying the trustee’s duties in exercising

the discretionary power (cf. § 71) or otherwise establish

safeguards against future abuse;-deny or diminish the

trustee’s compensation; or even remove the trustee if there

has been repeated or_serious abuse of the discretionary

power (see § 37, Comments e and g). Further discussion of

remedies is beyond the scope of this Section, but see

Chapters 18 (especially § 95) and 19; also see § 50, Com-

ment b.

A court will not interfere with a trustee’s exercise of a

discretionary power (including a decision not to exercise

the power) when that exercise is reasonable, not based on

an improper interpretation of the terms of the trust, and

not otherwise inconsistent with the trustee’s fiduciary

duties (see particularly §§ 76-79). Thus, judicial interven-

tion is not warranted merely because the court would have

differently exercised the discretion.

On the other hand, a court may be called upon to inter-

vene for the purpose of preventing a trustee’s abuse

(including by misinterpretation) of discretionary authority.

What constitutes an abuse of discretion depends on the

terms and purposes of the trust, and particularly on the

terms and purposes of the power and any standards or

guidance provided for its exercise, as well as on applicable

principles of fiduciary duty. See Comment c. Also relevant

is the extent of the discretion conferred upon the trustee.

See Comment d. Sis

c. Abuse of discretion: in general. An abuse of discretion

may result from the exercise of discretionary authority in

bad faith. or from improper motive. Thus, a discretionary

power is abused if a trustee acts dishonestly, such as when

App. 80

the trustee receives an improper inducement for exercising

the power in question. Similarly, an abuse of discretion

occurs when a trustee acts from an improper even though

not dishonest motive, such as when the act is undertaken

in good faith but for a purpose other than to further the

purposes of the trust or, more specifically, the purposes for

which the power was granted. See, e.g., § 50, Comment

5(2), that a discretionary power to make distributions for a

beneficiary's “support” does not permit the trustee to make

well-intentioned, even otherwise reasonable, distributions

that are not support-related.

When the exercise of a discretionary power is left to the

judgment of a trustee, an abuse of discretion may result

from the trustee’s improper failure to exercise that judg-

ment. An abuse of this type results if the trustee, arbitrar-

ily or without knowledge of or inquiry into relevant

circumstances, fails to exercise the discretion. So also, the

court will interpose where a trustee fails to exercise or

otherwise abuses discretionary authority because of

mistaken interpretation of the terms of the trust or mis-

understanding of fiduciary law.

Perhaps most of the litigation in which it is concluded that

a trustee has committed an abuse of discretion involves a

finding that the trustee, in exercising a power, has acted

unreasonably — that is, beyond the bounds of a reasonable

_ judgment. In some cases there is an objective standard by

which the reasonableness of the trustee’s conduct can be

measured, but expressed standards are not necessary in

order for a good-faith decision of a trustee to be found

unreasonable; a court may apply what has sometimes been

called “a general standard of reasonableness,” taking

account of other terms and purposes of the trust. In either

event, judicial intervention on the ground of abuse is

App. 81

called for, not because the court would have exercised the

discretion differently, but because the trustee’s decision is

one that would not be accepted as reasonable by persons of

prudence. Thus, a court may properly interpose if it finds

that the trustee’s conduct, in exercising a discretionary

power, fails to satisfy the applicable standard of care and

skill (§ 77). 3

For example, if discretionary power is conferred upon a

designated trustee to appoint a successor or additional

trustee, and the designated trustee appoints an unfit

person, the court will remove the person so appointed.

Other common examples, and many reported cases, of

allegedly unreasonable or otherwise abusive exercise of

discretion involve either investment management (see

commentary and illustrations in §§ 90-92, and Reporters

Notes thereto) or discretionary distributions to beneficiar-

ies (see commentary and illustrations in § 50, and Re-

porter’s Note thereto).

Illustrations:

1. The corpus of S’s revocable trust passed on.

her death to T, as her successor trustee, to pay

the trust income to S’s daughter D during her

lifetime, remainder thereafter to go by right of

representation to the issue of D who survive her.

The terms directed T to sell the real property

that had served as S’s home and to reinvest the

proceeds, “unless T, in his discretion, decides to

retain that property for D’s use as her residence,

which T is hereby authorized to do if and for as

long as he believes this to be an appropriate and

reasonable use of that property.” Shortly after S’s

death, T received and accepted an offer from P to

purchase that residential property (upon terms

App. 82

’

that no one challenges as unsatisfactory or im-

prudent if a sale is to made); but T had made no

effort to ascertain D’s interest or personal or fi-

nancial circumstances, or otherwise to investi-

gate or consider whether her use of the property

as a residence would be “appropriate and reason-

able.” By failing to exercise his judgment, T has

abused his discretionary power regarding reten-

tion of the residential property for D’s benefit.

2. The same facts as in Illustration 1, except

that in the years between S’s creation of the

revocable trust and her death, D's husband died

and her children became adults, left home, and

married. T exercised his judgment, deciding that

the residential property was not appropriate to

D's needs and circumstances and also finding

that D had no desire for the property to be re-

tained for her use. Upon inquiry and investiga-

tion, T reached the further conclusion that the

residential property would be just right for one of

D’s sons and his growing family. T therefore de-

cided that the property should be retained and

entered into a rental agreement with the son,

setting a reasonable rent that could be paid to D

as trust income. Absent other facts (e.g., showing

grounds for equitable deviation under § 66), T

has abused his discretion, even if in good faith,

by exercising it for an improper motive — that is,

for a purpose other than that for which he was

granted discretionary power to retain the prop-

erty, rather than sell it as otherwise directed.

d. Extended discretion: limitations, interpretation, and

effects. Ordinarily, a mere grant of discretion in the terms of

the trust, or an express reference to the discretionary

character of a power or of powers generally, does not au-

thorize the trustee to act beyond the bounds of reasonable

App. 83

judgment. See, e.g., discussion in §90, Comments

g-g(2). A settlor may, however, manifest an intention to

grant greater than ordinary latitude in the trustee’s

exercise of discretionary judgment. :

Once it is determined that the power in question is held in

the role of trustee, words such as “absolute” or “sole and

uncontrolled” or “unlimited” are not interpreted literally.

It is contrary to sound policy, and a contradiction in terms,

to permit the settlor to relieve a trustee of all accountabil-

ity. See § 50, Comment a, and cf. § 75, Comment c. Even

under the broadest grant of fiduciary discretion, a trustee

must act honestly and (as cases have sometimes quoted

from prior Restatements) “in a state of mind contemplated

by the settlor.” What this means is that courts will inter-

vene to prevent trustees from acting in bad faith or with-

out regard to the terms and purposes of the trust and the

interests of its beneficiaries, or for some purpose or motive

other than the accomplishment of the purposes of the

discretionary power. Except to the extent the power is for

the personal benefit of a beneficiary-trustee, the court may

also be called upon to prevent the trustee from failing to

act, whether capriciously, arbitrarily, or from a misunder-

standing of the trustee’s powers or duties.

Within these limits, it is a matter of interpretation to

determine the degree to which a settlor’s use of language

of extended discretion (e.g., “absolute discretion”) mani-

fests an intention to modify the normal duties of the

trustee and the normal grounds of judicial intervention in

the exercise of a discretionary power. A primary question

is whether and to what extent the settlor’s language may

authorize the trustee to act beyond the bounds of what

would otherwise be a reasonable judgment.

App. 84

Examination of the overall tenor of language granting

powers and other terms of trusts may lead to diverse,

refined interpretations on a case-by-case basis. For exam-

ple, a court may conclude that the language of extended

discretion and other evidence before it manifests a settlor

intention to authorize the particular trustee to act with a

lesser degree of caution (e.g. to accept a greater degree

compensated risk), but not a lesser degree of care, than

would otherwise be appropriate to the particular trust and

its circumstances under the duty of prudence (§ 77). Cf., in

the investment -context, § 91, Comment g(1), and § 90,

Comment g. Similarly, on the possibility of a “one-sided”

liberalization of discretionary authority with regard to

distributions (and on likely reasons for granting extended

discretion), see § 50, Comment c (text following Illustra-

tions 3 and 4).

Illustrations: —

3. The same facts as in Illustration 2 (in Com-

ment c, above), except that the quoted terms of

the trust began “unless T, in his absolute discre-

tion, decides to retain.... ” The addition of the

word “absolute” would not affect the result stated

in Illustration 2, because T is still not authorized

to retain the property for a purpose other than

that for which the extended discretion was

granted.

4. The same facts as in Illustration 3, above,

except that the language there quoted continues

by allowing T to retain “that property for a bene-

ficiary’s use as a residence, which T is authorized

to do if, and for so long and upon such terms as,

T believes appropriate and reasonable.” T’s ac-

tions in retaining the property and in leasing it

to D's son are within the range of the authorized

App. 85

discretion (and would appear to be so even with-

out the extended discretion).

5. The same trust as in the foregoing Illustra-

tions (essentially, a trust for D for life, remainder

to her issue who survive her), except that the

terms of the trust grant T “absolute and binding

discretion, in the event of any controversy or un-

certainty, to construe and finally determine the

meaning of the trust provisions.” Upon the death

of D, T distributes the corpus in three equal

shares to D’s two then surviving children and the

surviving spouse of D’s other child, who died

shortly before D. This is an abuse even of T’s ex-

tended discretion, there being no “uncertainty” in

(or reasonable grounds for “controversy” over) a

disposition (Illustration 1 wording) “to the issue

of D who survive her” that would justify a con-

struction including the spouse of a deceased

child. (Such a broad grant of discretion, however,

should ordinarily be interpreted as allowing T to

so construe the remainder to D’s “issue” as to in-

clude her deceased child’s adopted or nonmarital

child, even if such a traditionally troublesome

question of construction would, at the time, have

been subject to a different presumption under

applicable case law or statutory rule of construc-

tion.)

With grants of extended discretion, contrast $96 on

exculpation clauses. An exculpatory provision is not

intended to broaden the authority of the trustee, or to

encourage or authorize breach of trust, or even to narrow

the grounds of judicial intervention, but to relieve the

trustee of liability (to the extent provided in the clause and

allowed by law) should a breach of trust occur.

App. 86

REPORTERS NOTES: REPORTER’S NOTES ON § 87

The earlier counterpart of the material in this Section was

Restatement Second, Trusts § 187. The principles stated

here are consistent with those of the earlier edition except

for the narrow variation indicated in the Reporter’s Note

to Comment d. The present Section is relatively brief due

to the elaborate treatment of discretionary distribution

provisions in § 50 (which had only a modest counterpart in

the commentary of prior § 128) and the extensive treat-

ment of discretion in investment matters in §§ 90-92; also

see consideration of discretionary powers regarding

principal-income accounting in Chapter 23.

See also III William F. Fratcher, Scott on Trusts §§ 187-

187.5 (4th ed. 1988); and George G. Bogert & George T.

Bogert, The Law of Trusts and Trustees § 560 soaks 2d ed.,

1980), and cf. id., § 552.

Comment a:

In criticizing Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489

U.S. 101, 109 S.Ct. 948, 103 L. Ed. 2d 80 (1989) (an

ERISA case), J. Langbein, “The Supreme Court Flunks

Trusts,” 1990 Supreme Ct. Rev. 207 (1991), stated (at 219):

“This distinction between trust powers that derive from

the background law of trusts, and those that derive from

the trust instrument, is fundamentally mistaken. It is

refuted in the very source that the Court treats as authori-

tative, section 187 of the Restatement [Second] of Trusts.

Official Comment a to section 187 says: ‘... The exercise

of a power is discretionary except to the extent to which its

exercise is required by the terms of the trust or by the

principles of law applicable to the duties of trustees.’ In

other words, discretion does not depend upon an explicit

grant in the instrument. The trustee has discretion unless

App. 87

the instrument or some particular doctrine of trust law

denies discretion. Discretion is the norm.”

The power trustees have to maintain lawsuits is discre-

tionary and not to be interfered with by courts at the

instance of beneficiaries without a showing of abuse.

Matter of Geffen’s Estate, 25 Misc. 2d 734, 202 N.Y.S.2d

599 (Sur. Ct. 1960). But where a trust purpose is to sell

trust realty, despite a trustee’s discretion regarding

timing, an allegation of unreasonable delay in the selling

is not demurrable. Hawkins v. Tanner, 243 Ala. 641, 11

So.2d 351 (1943).

That an express grant of simple “discretion” in the terms

of the trust is ordinarily to be construed as granting the

trustee no wider latitude than is already conferred by the

prudent investor rule (which itself authorizes flexible,

discretionary asset management), but that the settlor’s

use of that term is likely to expand the authority of a

trustee who would otherwise be subject to a more restric-

tive statutory or common-law body of default rules, see

§ 91, Comments c-c(2), and illustrations in id. Comment

c(3).

Comments 6 and c:

For a few of the cases citing or quoting prior Restatement

provisions similar to those in Comments 6 and c of this

Section, see Moench v. Robertson, 62 F.3d 553 (3d Cir.

1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1115 (1996) noted 58 U. of

Pittsburgh L. Rev. 255 (1996), and 49 Rutgers L. Rev. 1231

(1997); and Raffety v. Parker, 241 F.2d 594 (8th Cir. 1957);

In re Trust Estate of Wills, 8 Ariz. App. 591, 448 P.2d 435

(1968); Takabuki v. Ching, 695 P.2d 319 (Haw. 1985);

Johnson v. Johnson, 242 Iowa 27, 45 N.W.2d 573 (1951)

(power of sale), noted 6 Arkansas L. Rev. 78; Jennings v.

App. 88

Murdock, 220 Kan. 182, 553 P.2d 846 (1976); Boston Safe

Deposit & Trust Co. v. Stone, 348 Mass. 345, 203-N.E.2d

547 (1964) (power to fix values); United States v.

O’Shaughnessy, 517 N.W.2d 574 (Minn. 1994); Yeates v.

Box, 198 Miss. 602, 20 So.2d 411 (1945) (power to termi-

nate trust); Matter of Heisserer, 797 S.W.2d 864 (Mo. App.

1990); In re Frances M. Johnson Trust, 211 Neb. 750, 320

N.W.2d 466 (1982); Hanford v. Clancy, 87 N.H. 458, 183 A.

271 (1936); Matter of Roberts, 61 N.Y.2d 782, 461 N.E.2d

300, 473 N.Y.S.2d 163 (1984); Little v. Wachovia Bank &

Trust Co. 252 N.C. 229, 113 S.E.2d 689 (1960) (principal-

income allocation power); Geron v. Kennedy, 381 Pa. 97,

112 A.2d 181 (1955); Krug v. Krug, 838 S.W.2d 191 (Tenn.

App. 1992) (power to remove and replace co-trustee),

appeal denied, 838 S.W.2d 197 (Tenn. 1992); Austin v. U.S.

Bank, 73 Wash. App. 293, 869 P.2d 404 (1994), review

denied, 124 Wash. 2d 1015, 880 P.2d 1005 (1994); and

Estate of Filzen, 252 Wis. 322, 31 N.W.2d 520 (1948)

(discretion to terminate).

See generally Scott on Trusts, supra, § 187:

... The court will not control |a trustee’s] exer-

cise of [discretion] as long as he does not exceed

the limits of the discretion conferred upon him.

The court will not substitute its own judgment

for his. Even where the trustee has discretion,

however, the court will not permit him to abuse

the discretion. This ordinarily means that so long

as he acts not only in good faith and from proper

motives, but also within the bounds of a reason-

able judgment, the court will not interfere; but

the court will interfere when he acts outside the

bounds of a reasonable judgment. In other words,

although there is a field, often a wide field,

within which the trustee may determine whether

App. 89

_ to act or not and when and how to act, beyond

that field the court will control him. How wide

that field is depends upon the terms of the trust,

the nature of the power, and all the circum-

stances....

In determining whether the trustee in exercising

or refraining from exercising a power is abusing

the discretion conferred upon him, much depends

of course upon the extent of the discretion in-

tended by the settlor to be conferred upon him

... [and] upon whether there was any standard

by which the trustee’s conduct can be judged... .

Compare Bogert & Bogert, supra, § 560 (pp. 194-195, 207):

Clearly, if the trustee who has the discretionary

power has failed or refused to exercise that

power or to consider its use, the court may com-

pel him to review the question of whether to ex-

ercise the power in light of all surrounding

circumstances and to make some decision... .

[P]So also, if the trustee has gone through the

formality of using his discretion but has not de-

liberately considered the arguments pro and con,

and has thus made a decision for no reason at all,

his conduct can be characterized as arbitrary and

capricious, ... [and] as not in performance of his

duty in regard to the discretionary power....

[P]On the other hand, a trustee who is author-

ized to retain oil investments will not be sub-

jected to court intervention with his discretion if

he has acted honestly, even though the securities

are returning a very small income and many

trustees would have sold them.

That, absent any standards in the terms of the trust for

the trustee’s (and court’s) guidance, a court will require a

trustee to follow a general standard of reasonableness in

App. 90

exercising a discretionary power, see, e.g., Rowe v. Rowe,

219 Ore. 599, 347 P.2d 968 (1959); and Rinker’s Adm'r. v.

Simpson, 159 Va. 612, 166 S.E. 546 (1932) (clear standard

or guide in terms of power not essential to finding good-

faith decision so unreasonable as to constitute an abuse of

discretion under language “as [trustee] deems best”), noted

in 81 U. of Pennsylvania L. Rev. 1008 (1933).

Various aspects of a trustees’ judgments in the mainte-

nance and general management of a farm were challenged

in Goodwine v. Goodwine, 819 N.E.2d 824 (Ind. App. 2004),

but the trial and appellate courts found that the trustees

had not acted in an unreasonable manner that would

constitute an abuse of their discretion. But in Alexander v.

Nelson, 825 S.W.2d 106 (Tenn. App. 1991), the court held it

improper for the trustee to sell property to a child of the

testator for a price significantly below its market value,

despite a trust provision granting power to sell trust

property to children of the settlor for a “price and upon

such terms as [the trustee] thinks best” (cf. § 79(1) on

impartiality); and cf. Keeler v. Lauer, 73 Kan. 388, 85 P.

541 (1906), that a trust provision relieving the trustee of

any duty to report to a court did not relieve the trustee

from accountability in court for mismanagement.

In re Watland, 211 Minn. 84, 300 N.W. 195 (1941), found it

unreasonable, and an abuse of discretion, for the trustee to

allocate to income the proceeds of the sale of trust securi-

ties. Also, on discretionary powers to make allocations

between income and principal, compare In re Clarenbach’s

Trust, 23 Wis. 71, 126 N.W.2d 614 (1964), with the much-

cited case of Dumaine v. Dumaine, 301 Mass. 214, 16

N.E.2d 625 (1938), 118 A.L.R. 834; both cases involved

discretionary allocation of capital gains. See also oft-cited

Old Colony Trust Co. v. Silliman, 352 Mass. 6, 223 N.E.2d

App. 91

504 (1967). And see Gimbel v. B.F. & A.B. Gimbel Founda-

tion, 95 N.J. Super. 418, 231 A.2d 389 (1974) (discretionary

principal-income power not to be used to alter substan-

tially the value of the interests of the income and remain-

der beneficiaries); Comment, “Principal and Income: The

Discretionary Allocation Clause,” 30 Baylor L. Rev. 343

(1978); and compare 1997 Revised Uniform Principal and

Income Act § 2 that “no inference of imprudence or partial-

ity arises from the fact that a trustee” with discretionary

authority “has made an allocation contrary to the provi-

sions of this Act.” On the possible adverse effects of ex-

tended discretion regarding principal-income accounting,

see Samuel P. Hunt Trust v. U.S., 93 A.F-T.R.2d 351 (D.

N.H. 2004) (gains not permanently set aside for charity).

A court found an abuse of discretion in Thomas v. Wood,

228 Ga. 206, 184 S.E.2d 561 (1971), in a situation in which

a trustee, having broad power to manage trust property as

he deemed appropriate, paid off a loan amount in excess of

the amount of the lien against trust realty even though

the testatrix (settlor) had no personal liability on the loan.

In Benadom v. Colby, 81 Md. App. 222, 567 A.2d 463

(1989), the court construed a provision in the trust agree-

ment as granting the trustees power to interpret the

trust’s dispositive provisions, and therefore held that the

trial court had erred by not deferring to the trustees’

interpretation of the distributive provision in question.

Compare Bogert & Bogert, supra, § 559 (p. 169): “Although

the settlor may give the trustee power to construe the

trust instrument in case of dispute or doubt, the trustee’s

decision will be subject to review by the court as to its

reasonableness.”

App. 92

“Discretion is the touchstone of trusteeship, and we invade ._

the province of the trustee only when he violates the

proper exercise of his discretion.” Lowry v. Bankers Life &

Casualty Retirement Plan, 865 F.2d 692, 694 (5th Cir.

1989) (ERISA case). And see (another ERISA case) Exbom

v. Central States Welfare Fund, 900 F.2d 1138, 1142 (7th

Cir. 1990): “Under the common law courts will not review

the discretionary decisions of trustees and other fiduciar-

ies de novo, but will look only for the trustee’s abuse of its

discretionary authority.”

For an example of judicial intervention based on a trus-

tee’s misinterpretation of trust terms, see Griffin v. Griffin,

463 So.2d 569 (Fla. App. 1985).

For an example of court intervention for nonexercise of

discretion, see Clark v. Mississippi Valley Trust Co., 357

Mo. 785, 211 S.W.2d 10 (1948). Cf. Matter of Osborn, 252

App. Div. 438, 299 N.Y.S. 593 (1937) (trustee responding to

demands of a beneficiary without exercise of independent

judgment); and Jacob v. Davis, 128 Md. App. 433, 738 A.2d

904 (1999), cert. denied 357 Md. 482, 75 A.2d 436 (2000).

For an example of the removal of a trustee for favoring one

beneficiary over others in exercising discretion (see § 79 on

duty of impartiality), see Jones v. Jones, 8 Misc. 660, 30

N.Y.S. 177 (1894); and cf. Wiggins v. PNC Bank, 988

S.W.2d 498 (Ky. App. 1998).

For an example of judicial intervention on behalf of per-

sons holding support judgments against the beneficiary of

a discretionary spendthrift trust, based on the trustee’s

abuse of his discretion by withholding discretionary

distributions, see Ventura County Dept. of Child Support

Services v. Brown, 116 Cal. App. 4th 144, 11 Cal. Rptr. 3d

App. 93

489 (2004). Cf. § 60, Comment.c, and also (on spendthrift

exception) § 59, Comment b.

For a refusal to intervene, finding no abuse of discretion or

other breach of fiduciary duty, where it was alleged that

the trustees (in exercising their broad discretion to amend

the trust) had violated their duties to plaintiff by modify-

ing the trust to eliminate her beneficial] interest, see

Rubinson v. Rubinson, 250 III. App. 3d 206, 620 N.E.2d

1271, 190 Ill. Dec. 10 (1993) (the court concluding that the

trustees’ action was consistent with the settlor’s intention

in granting the power).

Comment d:

Policy limits on settlor’s grant of extended discretion. In

Carrier v. Carrier, 226 N.Y. 114, 125, 123 N.E. 135, 138

(1919), the opinion (Cardozo, J.) acknowledged that the

trustee had very broad management powers and that his

discretion was to be “absolute and uncontrolled” but stated

that this does not mean “that it might be recklessly or

willfully abused,” adding: “He had made himself a trustee;

and in so doing had subjected himself to those obligations

of fidelity and diligence that attached to the office of

trustee.” And the court in Keating v. Keating, 182 lowa

1056, 1069, 165 N.W. 74, 77-78 (1917), stated: “We think

... that no trust has been or can be created in property

where the discretion of the trustee is so broad or illimit-

able that equity will not entertain a complaint by the

beneficiary that the trust has been or is being abused, or

that the property is being wrongfully diverted to the

destruction or defeat of the purpose for which the founder

established it.... And we think if the devise in this case

were to be construed in accordance with the defendant’s

App. 94

theory as being intended to give him absolute and uncon-

trolled discretion independent of any authority in the

court to control its arbitrary exercise, it would have to be

held, to that extent, void.”

Compare Armitage v. Nurse, [1998] Ch. 241 (CA), in which

Millot, L.J., stated (at 253-254): “There is an irreducible

core of obligations owed by the trustees to the beneficiaries

and enforceable by them which is fundamental to the

concept of a trust. If the beneficiaries have no rights

enforceable against the trustees there are no trusts....

The duty of the trustees to perform the trusts honestly and

in good faith for the benefit of the beneficiaries is the

minimum necessary to give substance to the trusts... .”

Effect and construction of language of extended discretion.

Comment j of Restatement Second, Trusts § 187 states

that the settlor may manifest an intention “that the

trustee’s judgment need not be exercised reasonably, even

when there is a standard by which the reasonableness of

the trustee’s conduct can be judged.” The Comment con-

tinues: “This may be indicated by a provision in the trust

instrument that the trustee shall have ‘absolute’ or ‘unlim-

ited’ or ‘uncontrolled’ discretion” — language that is “ordi-

narily construed as merely dispensing with the standard

of reasonableness” so that “the mere fact that the trustee

has acted beyond the bounds of a reasonable judgment is

not a sufficient ground for interposition by the court.” The

Comment adds, however: “The court will interfere if the

trustee acts in a state of mind not contemplated by the

settlor. Thus, the trustee will not be permitted to act

- dishonestly, or for some motive other than the accomplish-

ment of the purposes of the trust, or ordinarily to act

arbitrarily without an exercise of his judgment.” Id., Com-

ment k (“Limits of power of settlor to confer discretion”)

App. 95

further observes that, if a trust is created, it is “against

public policy to permit the settlor to relieve the trustee of

all accountability.”

Although the commentary here (to present § 87) does not

foreclose the possibility of an interpretation that dispenses

with the requirement of “reasonableness,” it does not

follow Trusts Second in its recognition of that result as the

ordinary construction of typical language of extended

discretion (i.e., “absolute,” “sole and uncontrolled,” and the

like), because that construction neither seems routinely

appropriate nor does case authority actually support that

generalization. It is difficult to find cases in which the

court has upheld an exercise of discretion that, in the

circumstances, truly appears to have been unreasonable.

Compare the segment specially entitled “Update: Absolute

or Uncontrolled Discretionary Powers of Trustees” in the

-2003 Supplement to § 560 of Bogert & Bogert, supra: “In

many cases it would appear that the same result is

reached regardless of which standard [i.e., extended or

simple discretion] is applied by the court.... There is

agreement that a trustee must act in good faith and

without an improper motive, and that a trustee must not

act arbitrarily or capriciously, that is, without any exercise

of his judgment. ... All courts probably would agree that

the trustee’s absolute discretion cannot be exercised to

defeat the settlor’s intent or the trust purposes....

[P]Sometimes the trustee is given the power to invest in

his absolute and uncontrolled discretion; in several recent

cases the court found that ... the grant of discretion did

not protect the trustee from liability for imprudent in-

vestments. Where the trustee is granted broad discretion

in making allocations of receipts and disbursements to the

principal and income accounts, some courts have held that

App. 96 ;

the trustee nevertheless must follow the applicable princi-

pal and income statute, while other courts have given

effect to the grants of discretion by construing that they

‘authorize the trustee to deviate from established principal

and income law, although holding that the exercise of

discretion remains subject to the standards of reasonable-

ness and good faith and that an exercise of the power must

not defeat the settlor’s intent or the trust purposes... .

[P]It would appear that the difference in the attitude of

the courts toward ‘simple’ discretionary powers, on the one

hand, and ‘absolute’ or ‘uncontrolled’ discretionary powers,

on the other hand, is one of degree rather than of kind.

The courts appear more likely to find an abuse of a simple

discretionary power than an abuse of an absolute or

uncontrolled discretionary power.... ” The orginal

version (of rev. 2d ed., 1980) of Bogert & Bogert, supra,

$ 560 (after quoting from a couple of leading cases (also

quoted, supra this Note) on the limits of discretion),

expressed some doubt about the Restatement Second

position and stated essentially (at 213-215) that the

difference between extended and simple discretion is one

of degree more than of kind, noting that even an “absolute

discretionary power must not be used in a ‘extravagantly

unreasonable’ or ‘arbitrary’ manner ... or for a purpose

other than a trust purpose” and then further observing (at

220-221) that it “may be concluded” that courts “are more

easily persuaded to find an abuse of a mere discretionary

power than to find an improper use of an absolute or

uncontrolled power.”

A case that at least appears supportive of the Restatement

Second position is In re Koos’ Estate, 269 Wis. 479, 69

N.W.2d 598 (1955),

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.