Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cross v. Federal Labor Relations Authority

Supreme Court brief2004

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Midd tates

MAJOR GENERAL JAMES H. LIPSCOMB III, in his official

Capacities as the Adjutant General of the State of Mississippi,

of the Mississippi Militia, of the Mississippi National

Guard, and as Executive Head of the Mississippi Military

Department and the Mississippi Militia, the Mississippi

National Guard and the Mississippi Military Department,

Petitioners,

Vv.

FEDERAL LABOR RELATIONS AUTHORITY, NANCY SPEIGHT, in

her official capacity as Regional Director of the Federal Labor

Relations Authority, Atlanta Region and LINDA J. NoRWooD,

in her former official capacity as Acting Regional Director of

the Federal Labor Relations Authority, Atlanta Region,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

November 19, 2003

E. BARNEY ROBINSON III *

JEFFREY A. WALKER

BUTLER, SNOW, O’MARA, STEVENS

& CANNADA, PLLC

Post Office Box 22567

Jackson, Mississippi 39225-2567

(601) 948-5711

PAUL ROGER GOOGE, JR.

Special Assistant Attorney General

MISSISSIPPI ATTORNEY GENERAL’S OFFICE

P.O. Box 220

Jackson, Mississippi 39205

(601) 359-3824

Counsel for Petitioners

* Counsel of Record

_ ee

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

/52 #

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the Federal Labor Relations Authority has the

power to order state National Guards and their state Adjutants

General” to participate in federal union representation elec-

tions concerning Guard personnel.

Whether the valuable Tenth and Eleventh Amendment

rights of a state official and a state agency may be trumped by

federal statute, when Congress lacks the constitutional

authority to pierce those immunities with its Article I powers.

* Adjutants General are the senior military commanders of each state's

National Guard. They are the National Guard analogue to the Chairman

of the Joint Chiefs of Staff in the federal military. For the convenience of

the Court, a Wire Diagram reflecting the relationship of the various mili-

tary entities and persons at issue herein is included at App. J, 117a.

(i)

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

Parties to the proceedings are those listed in the caption,

to wit:

PETITIONERS:

Major General James H. Lipscomb III, in his official

Capacities as: the Adjutant General of the State of

Mississippi; of the Mississippi Militia; of the Mississippi

National Guard; and as Executive Head of the Mississippi

Military Department

The Mississippi Militia

The Mississippi National Guard

The Mississippi Military Department

RESPONDENTS:

Federal Labor Relations Authority

Nancy Speight, in her official capacity as Regional

Director of the Federal Labor Relations Authority, Atlanta

Region

Linda J. Norwood, in her former official capacity as acting

Regional Director of the Federal Labor Relations Authority,

Atlanta Region

Ee ta hee i RN 4. 8

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUES TIONG PRESEN 1 ED ...ccresserecesesersevcszcsscvcscessovees i

BRT GO PA TEED ecescccscesscssvecsscvssseosenccvepsovssovsvonsessnses ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES woceveccscccossescovevensesonsscvessseees Vv

Ce IIT cncvcvensssnsesoosesvencosenssvcensvensopsvenssssoees 2

cc aecicsinsi i

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED...............sscccssssssessereeeeees 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .........0s.ccccsecssossssveessevenees 4

A. Proceedings and Disposition in Lower Courts .. 4

Be I ietiiertnvarensnensovnoeennonesocsensnnnensoveoousenvennnvesenees 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .............064 8

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT'S FINDING THAT A

STATE ADJUTANT GENERAL AND

STATE NATIONAL GUARD ARE FED-

ERAL EXECUTIVE AGENCIES IS CON-

TRARY TO PERPICH AND WILL HAVE

UNINTENDED CONSEQUENCES DETRI-

MENTAL TO THE CONSTITUTIONAL

BALANCE AND NATIONAL SECURITY .... 11

II. JOINT APPLICATION OF THE TECH-

NICIANS ACT, PERPICH AND SOUTH

CAROLINA PORTS AUTHORITY PRESENTS

IMPORTANT ISSUES OF FEDERALISM

NOT YET.ADDRESSED BY THIS COURT... 19

(iii)

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

Ill. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION THAT

PETITIONERS’ PUTATIVE FEDERAL

AGENCY STATUS TRUMPS_ THEIR |

TENTH AMENDMENT IMMUNITY IS

CONTRARY TO PRINT Z.....0.:sevesssvcevsssosvessessoee 22

IV. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT'S OPINION HAS

CREATED SPLITS BETWEEN THE

Se AI sacisnapickasicemnstenainenninesinansvorbibeieietncbenmantas 24

Ae eM stiisissinnschirdiivsionielidineeweinian tesiesiaieaniiabo 26

FE eserihitsinnisanndestcaninlaniniiinincimmananiniiagin la

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Atascadero State Hosp. v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234

CT ivcecnncstsnciissnicssersvaemeniotiacsemetienenitinsinieinas 19

Clark v. United States, 322 F.3d 1358 (Fed. Cir.

BED cxsvincsnsbciasncinionsntcaienaiinaainiiaataaiiaiantion 10, 19, 24, 25

Day v. Massachusetts Air Nat’! Guard, 167 F.3d

GIG (BE CA, FOF) aacenscsacinarerectonsibanggiaenvnvagenmneaoes 10, 25

Federal Mar. Comm'n v. South Carolina State

Ports Auth., 535 U.S. 743 (2002) .........000+ 9, 20, 21, 22

Gilbert v. United States, 165 F.3d 470 (6th Cir.

EDDD) ..cisisrsssstninetvenisiviernnnmnnmnnemaanonian 11, 26

Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452 (1991)... 19, 21

Hefley v. Textron, Inc., 713 F.2d 1487 (10th Cir.

FISD ick vncinesnnacsvoinsavdvavioredaoenshuienniosonuideiatatabaiant 10, 19

Hefrich v. Pennsylvania Dept. of Military Affairs,

660 F.2d 88 (3rd Cir. 1981)... eesseesereseeeeeees 10, 25

Henry v. Textron, Inc., 577 F.2d 1163 (4th Cir.

1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1047 (1978)........ 20, 25

Intrioni v. South Carolina Nat’l Guard, 828 F.

Supp. 391 (D. S.C. 1993).........ccssscscsssssesessersers 20

Jones v. New York State Div. of Military Affairs,

166 F.3d 45 (2d Cir. 1999)... cecessseeeeees 6, 10, 17, 25

Kimel v. Florida Bd. of Regents, 528 U.S. 62

(DOD nvcicsssenverierevernecnivenncectainmaimainatioenine 10, 19, 21

Knutson v. Wisconsin Air Nat’l Guard, 995 F.2d

765 (7th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 933

EDI vcereciccscisnnicieiisevocieenentenmnlentiepianiaetimeieteneetan 10, 25

Maryland ex rel. Levin v. United States, 381 U.S.

41 (1965), vacated on other grounds, 382 U.S.

199 (19GB) vecevececenssnessvreseseisensnervmenutineemnieinandete 13

Meadows v. State of Ind. 854 F.2d 1068 (7th Cir.

FOGG) vecscorcivinssocsnnceressanevnieseininesaaninnnseninannnaennes 10, 25

NeSmith v. Fulton, 615 F.2d 196 (Sth Cir. 1980)... 7, 14

Perpich v. DOD, 496 U.S. 334 (1990) .....s-sesseseees passim

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Petr v. Delaware Nat'l Guard, Case No. 94-327-

SLR, 1995 WL 579634 (D. Del. Sept. 28,

PID sscensiinisadantiiinavianvabisssiseminidihieiiadiaaalniiians 20

Printz v. United States, 521 U.S. 898 (1997)...9, 22, 23, 24

Richardson-Longmire yv. Kansas, Adjutant Gen-

eral, no. Civ.A.97-2679, 1997 WL 156168 (D.

Plt. TI BF Riketcnniacconincccaveedinncaniiaiis 20

Scott v. Univ. of Miss., 148 F.3d 493 (Sth Cir.

1998), abrogated on other grounds by Kimel v.

Florida Bd. of Regents, 528 U.S. 62 (2000)...... 19

Singleton v. Merit Systems Prot. Bd., 244 F.3d

EO0) G06, CU, BPE kienicsennanniin 10, 25

Storer Broad. Co. v. United States, 251 F.2d 268

CRIED... FINED pre sessisitenciveceesnnciieesebisiamtiaaaaaannetiis 13

United States v. Hutchings, 127 F.3d 1255 (10th

ROR: BOY Piticesvacsiacesniscmennensneeenainineen it, 15, 17, 2

Zitser v. Walsh, 352 F.Supp. 438 (D. Conn.

FFF Fr incenntiiiesnianeanivceaaseuinnemntaabeauaiaadammaiicn 13, 16

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Oi .cv CAOUNRE., QUUNOINE, Fe secsveisesererevacesonsenens 4, 8,9, 10, 22, 23

U.S. Const., amend. XI................ 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 20, 21, 25

ge eS |, SEP NOREEN, 6, 13

FEDERAL STATUTES

F ites © TAI) stiseessniiesiomeniaiaiaana 25

TUBA... © TPIS encecninssonsasvevesseenns 4, 8, 12, 17, 22, 23

PRs © FF PET) <nisnintincenaeiannnninn 25

Pe EA... BT SCE RAD sienverssnevssinnivininninehnmessionnnmts 16, 17

BP a Rew © FIPE veinnrnteccentintaunsnnipiaamaieaminnns 17

AF Wl Ae ie © RE exrinnsvnessnesinnseenesicnanusliaesanlaagaidiiaianies 17

PF A, & Be cecieccinntorenenvinninininannaeinaaestioaaniinnes 17

FE Rice © PII scccesinesssmeshteeinaincesinaniienineannenen 5, 16

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

90 U.S.C. § TZAG1 ..xconcsssercororsecessorvessvesenenovesvesoonees 15

BO U.S.C. 8 1DGGS ccceserecerescocovessesvensesestovvemeenszgnsens 14,17

1D USC. © TG sccresccovesceccsesesoneserecesevescvonsnnesnees . 17

BO USC. 6 SGI) avececccesscccrseveccevescessseceessevsosenese 17, 18

BB UL, BFE ensvscessnscevesciesenrenscscreccainnnnsnensesennenne 22

BS UB. © TID seeeessscesevesessvensncseresvnsstinnuncasanssnntes 9, 18

FE UB. © FIR ccciecevssctocsesnsocsncccvennnintvecnersanense 2

D2 UB. © TG) wvcevevecscnsecsosesovesosssenensstoncceseionen 5

52 USES FE crcesceresncevesenvidionpeneomnnionmnmennn 13

52 UB. 6 BUG cicivcsnscorneriervnsennvemennsssinniesninin 6, 13

SE UTR. © Fae incintisernsscnsesinncesninesmniannasintan 4,8, 21, 22

FEDERAL REGULATIONS

S CHIR © DARL A .ccnvservsoseveverssesinisosencnapscscocssonsestvvete 8, 12

MISSISSIPPI STATUTES

Miss. Code Ann, § 33-3 1 .......csssovsccccccsscsecscevooonees 5, 6, 13

Miss. Code Ann. § 33-333 .....cceccoccrcssseensssosesseseosves 6

Miss. Code Ann, § 33-3-7 ......cccccscsessersesecsosssossveoss 7, 16

Migs. Code Ann, § 33-S-1 ...cccccccccscosescoscssscossveseoes 5,7

OTHER MATERIALS

B. Rich, “The National Guard and Posse

Comitatus” 1994 Army Law 16.........ccscceeeeeeees 26

MS Exec. Order no. 850 (Sept. 28, 2001) ............. 18

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No.

MAJOR GENERAL JAMES H. LIPSCOMB III, in his official

capacities as the Adjutant General of the State of

Mississippi, of the Mississippi Militia, of the Mississippi

National Guard, and as Executive Head of the Mississippi

Military Department and the Mississippi Militia, the

Mississippi National Guard and the Mississippi Military

Department,

Petitioners,

v.

FEDERAL LABOR RELATIONS AUTHORITY, NANCY SPEIGHT, in

her official capacity as Regional Director of the Federal

Labor Relations Authority, Atlanta Region and LINDA J.

NORWOOD, in her former official capacity as Acting

Regional Director of the Federal Labor Relations

Authority, Atlanta Region,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Major General James H. Lipscomb III, in his official

capacities as the Adjutant General of the State of Mississippi,

of the Mississippi Militia, of the Mississippi National Guard,

and as Executive Head of the Mississippi Military

Department and the Mississippi Militia, the Mississippi

National Guard and the Mississippi Military Department,

2

respectfully petition for a writ of certiorari to review the

judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals (App. B,

3a) is reported at 333 F.3d 611 (Sth Cir. 2003).

The district court opinion (App. D, 22a) is reported at 200

F.Supp.2d 650 (S.D. Miss. 2001).

JURISDICTION

The judgment and opinion of the Court of Appeals

affirming the district court in favor of Respondents was

entered on June 24, 2003. App. B, 3a. A timely Petition for

Rehearing En Banc, as well as a Petition for Panel Rehearing

was filed by the Petitioners in the Fifth Circuit on July 30,

2003. On August 22, 2003, the Fifth Circuit denied both

Petitions. App. A, la.

The jurisdiction of this Court is timely invoked by

Petitioners pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). Petitioners,

Plaintiffs below, invoked federal question jurisdiction in the

district court to review a complaint for declaratory and

injunctive relief concerning alleged violations of federal

statutes and the United States Constitution.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

U.S. Const., amend. X, which provides in part: “The

powers not delegated to the United States by the Constitution,

nor prohibited by it to the States, are reserved to the States

respectively, or to the people.” App. F, 50a.

U.S. Const., amend. XI, which provides in part: “The

Judicial power of the United States shall not be construed to

extend to any suit in law or equity, commenced or prosecuted

SOO ee EO Ot ee ee ee eee ae es

sae tie

ae ee eee ee os

3

against one of the United States by Citizens of another State,

or by Citizens or Subjects of any Foreign State.” App. F, 50a.

Miss. Const. art. V, § 119, which provides in part: “The

governor shall be commander-in-chief of the army and navy

of the state, and of the militia, except when they shall be

called into the service of the United States.” App. G, 5la.

5 U.S.C. § 1204(a)(2), is reproduced in App. H, 52a.

5 U.S.C. § 7103(a)(3), is reproduced in App. H, 52a.

5 U.S.C. § 7118(a)(7), is reproduced in App. H, 53a.

10 U.S.C. § 101(c)(2), is reproduced in App. H, 54a.

10 U.S.C. § 331, is reproduced in App. H, 55a.

10 U.S.C. § 332, is reproduced in App. H, 55a.

10 U.S.C. § 333, is reproduced in App. H, 55a.

10 U.S.C. § 10101, is reproduced in App. H, 57a.

10 U.S.C. § 12401, is reproduced in App. H, 58a.

10 U.S.C. § 12405, is reproduced in App. H, 58a.

10 U.S.C. § 12406, is reproduced in App. H, 58a.

10 U.S.C. § 3062(c), is reproduced in App. H, 60a.

18 U.S.C. § 922, is reproduced in App. H, 61a.

18 U.S.C. § 1385, is reproduced in App. H, 62a.

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1), is reproduced in App. H, 63a.

32 U.S.C. § 109(c) , is reproduced in App. H, 64a.

32 U.S.C. § 301, is reproduced in App. H, 65a.

32 U.S.C. § 314, is reproduced in App. H, 66a.

32 U.S.C. § 709, is reproduced in App. H, 67a.

5 CFR § 2421.4, is reproduced in App. H, 70a.

Miss. Code Ann. § 33-3-1, is reproduced in App. H, 71a. -

Miss. Code Ann. § 33-3-3, is reproduced in App. H, 71a.

Miss. Code Ann. § 33-3-7, is reproduced in App. H, 71a.

Miss. Code Ann. § 33-5-1, is reproduced in App. H, 72a.

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Proceedings and Disposition in the Lower Courts.

This case involves the coercive acts of federal instrumen-

tality, the Federal Labor Relations Authority (“FLRA”),

against a state agency, the Mississippi National Guard

(“Mississippi Guard”) and its Adjutant General, who is a state

official. 66a, 7la. At the urgence of a private union,

Association of Civilian Technicians, the FLRA ordered the

Mississippi Guard and its Adjutant General to submit to its

federal power and to hold a federal union election concerning

Mississippi Army National Guard Technicians (“Military

Technicians”), a type of Guard personnel who work for the

Guard full-time under 32 U.S.C § 709. 6a, 104a-109a.

After exhausting administrative remedies, on July 24,

2001, Petitioners filed the instant civil Action. App. I, 73a.

Petitioners seek only equitable relief and contend that

Respondents are acting in excess of their statutory powers

and are violating these state actors’ Tenth and Eleventh

Amendment constitutional rights. 73a.

On December 19, 2001, the district court issued a memo-

randum opinion and order denying Respondents’ motion to

dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, denying

Petitioners’ motion for a preliminary injunction and/or for

summary judgment, and granting Respondents summary

judgment. App. D, 22a.

On the merits, the district court rejected Petitioners’ statu-

tory construction arguments, and found the Mississippi

Guard to be a federal executive “agency” when administering _

Mississippi Army National Guard Military Technicians —

under 5 U.S.C. § 7103(a)(3), of the Federal Service Labor-

Management Relations Act (“Labor Management Act”).

40a. In reaching this conclusion, the district court mis-

takenly found the Mississippi Guard to be a subpart of the

federal National Guard of the United States, which is a

5

federal reserve component under 10 U.S.C. § 10101. 40a.

The district court further concluded that this putative federal

agency status trumped Petitioners’ Tenth and Eleventh

Amendment rights, allowing the court to avoid addressing

them altogether. 44a-45a n.15.

On January 8, 2002, the district court entered a final

judgment effectuating its prior opinion and order. App. C,

19a. On January 11, 2002, Petitioners timely filed a notice of

appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit.

The judgment and opinion of the Court of Appeals

affirming the district court in favor of Respondents was

entered on June 24, 2003. App. B, 3a. In its decision, the

Fifth Circuit panel affirmed the district court’s rulings. 18a.

A timely Petition for Rehearing En Banc, as well as a

Petition for Panel Rehearing, was filed by Petitioners in the

Fifth Circuit. On August 22, 2003, the Fifth Circuit denied

both Petitions, and this Petition follows. App. A, la.

B. Facts.

For the convenience of the Court, a Wire Diagram

reflecting the relationship of the various military entities and

persons at issue herein is included at App. J, 117a.

Petitioner the Mississippi Militia, of which Petitioner the

Mississippi Guard is a subset, is composed of the “[n]Jational

guard, the Mississippi State Guard, and the unorganized

militia.” Miss. Code Ann. § 33-5-1. App. H, 72a. Pursuant

to Miss. Code Ann. § 33-1-1(d) the “Mississippi National

' The Mississippi State Guard - an entity separate and distinct from the

Mississippi Guard (Petitioner here) - is a state defense force exempt from

being impressed into the Armed Forces of the United States. See 32

U.S.C. § 109%(c); see also Perpich, 496 U.S. at 352 (discussing state

defense forces). Essentially, the Mississippi State Guard is available to

take up state duties for the Mississippi Guard, in case the Mississippi

Guard deploys out of state.

amon mate

paren nd sinsriiienie{ mses Soneianaitbanr einai ety ie tial’

6

Guard [means] that part of the organized militia of this state

which is organized, equipped and federally recognized under

the provisions of the laws of the United States and of the

State of Mississippi relating to the National Guard.” /d.

The Governor of Mississippi, not the President of the

United States, is the Commander in Chief of the’ Mississippi

Guard (unless impressed into federal service). Miss. Code

Ann. § 33-3-1; Miss. Const. art. V, § 119. 5la. This is

because, unless called forth by the President, the respective

states’ National Guards are state militias, not federal military

entities. Perpich v. DOD, 496 U.S. 334, 350-51 (1990)

(discussing the three “hats” worn by Guardsmen and

recognizing that the militias are state entities); Jones v. New

York State Div. of Military Affairs, 166 F.3d 45, 49 (2d Cir.

1999) (holding that both the New York military department

and National Guard are state entities entitled to Eleventh

Amendment immunity). 11 1a.

Likewise, the Mississippi Military Department is a

department of the executive branch of the State of Missis-

sippi, Miss. Code. Ann. § 33-3-3 (1972), and therefore also a

state agency. /d. 7la. Essentially, the Mississippi Military

Department is the Mississippi state analogue to the federal

Department of Defense. In other words, it is the state agency

that administers the various parts of the Mississippi Militia.

The Adjutant General is a state, not federal, officer. Under

state law, the Adjutant General is the “[e]xecutive head of the

[Mississippi Military] department, and, as such, subordinate

only to the governor in matters pertaining thereto.” /d.; see

32 U.S.C. § 314 (state law sets duties of the Adjutant

General); see also Miss. Const. art. V, § 119; Miss. Code

Ann. § 33-3-1. 7la. In addition to serving as the executive

head of the Mississippi Military Department, a state agency,

the Adjutant General is the chief military officer of the

various parts of the Mississippi Militia, including the

Mississippi Guard, and is “[s]ubordinate only to the Governor

Pe A NENA itt

7

in matters affecting the . . . militia of this state.” Miss. Code

Ann. § 33-3-7 (1972). 71a. The Adjutant General is there-

fore a state militia officer, as well as a state agency head. See

NeSmith v. Fulton, 615 F.2d 196, 199 (Sth Cir. 1980) (“[t]he

legislative history of the National Guard Technicians Act also

states clearly that Congress viewed the adjutants general as

state officers’).

As described below in Section I, the Mississippi Guard can

have a federal capacity, but only when impressed into federal

service by the President. It is undisputed that such did not

occur during any of the time periods at issue. Rather, the

district court and the Fifth Circuit confused and conflated the

Mississippi Guard with a separate federal reserve component

entity - the National Guard of the United States - a shell entity

populated from time to time with Guardsmen who leave their

state National Guard and go onto federal military orders as

individual soldiers and airmen. See generally Perpich v.

DOD, 496 U.S. 334, 345-49 (1990) (explaining the purpose

and use of National Guard of the United States).

In a typical active component unit in the United States

Armed Forces, the unit is able to function year round through

the utilization of active duty soldiers, sailors, marines and

airmen. 103a. However, as “traditional” or mobilization-day

(“M-day”) Guardsmen normally perform their duties only on

a part-time basis, the Mississippi Guard, like every other

state’s Guard, must have certain full-time personnel to staff

and maintain operations year-round. App. I, 103a-104a.

Decades ago, the States, as well as Congress, recognized

this need, and together they created a variety of positions

staffed by a variety of personnel to run each state’s Guard

operations when its “traditional” (part-time) Guardsmen are

away at their civilian occupations. 103a. In that regard, the

Mississippi Guard, and its concomitant state agency, the

Mississippi Military Department, Miss. Code Ann. § 33-5-1,

thus utilize a variety of personnel in the accomplishment of

ve Re UC Ope ee ee RE ee

q

8

its mission. 103a. One category of military capacity full-

time personnel used by Petitioners is 32 U.S.C. § 709

excepted service technicians (Military Technicians). 104a. 3

These Military Technicians are M-day Guardsmen who also

hold a full-time position with the Mississippi Guard as !

nominal federal employees. 104a.

Military Technicians are required to be a member of the

Mississippi Guard, to wear their military uniform in the

performance of their technician duties, to observe military

courtesy and protocol, and to perform duties that are military

in nature. 104a. Under 32 U.S.C. § 709, Military Tech- |

nicians answer solely to their state Adjutant General.

Whether the FLRA may lawfully and constitutionally

compel Petitioners - who are state actors - to participate in

the federal Labor Management Act with respect to their

Military Technicians is the central dispute that led to the

filing of this case. Importantly, the focus of this case is on

the status of the Mississippi Guard and its Adjutant General,

not that of the Military Technicians themselves.

As Petitioners do not meet the definition of a federal

executive “agency” as set forth by 5 U.S.C. § 7103(a)(3) or of

an “activity” under 5 CFR § 2421.4, they are simply not

subject to the jurisdiction of, or compulsory commands by,

the FLRA. Additionally, even if they did, the application of

the Labor Management Act to Petitioners would violate

Petitioners’ valuable Tenth and Eleventh Amendment rights.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Certiorari should be granted in this case for three reasons.

First, this case presents an issue of national importance,

whether the FLRA has the power to order state National

Guards and their state Adjutants General to participate in

federal union representation elections concerning Guard

_ personnel, and the unintended and negative national security

9

consequences flowing from the Fifth Circuit’s affirmative

resolution of that question. Second, the Fifth Circuit’s

decision is contrary to numerous Tenth and Eleventh Amend-

ment federalism decisions of this Court, and at a minimum

exposes new, difficult and important issues created by the

intersection of the Technicians Act, Perpich v. DOD, 496

U.S. 334, 345 (1990) and Federal Maritime Commission v.

South Carolina State Ports Authority, 535 U.S. 743, 760

(2002). Third, the Fifth Circuit’s decision conflicts with the

decisions of at least five other Circuits.

The Fifth Circuit’s decision that state National Guards and

their state Adjutants General are subject to the commands of

the Federal Labor Relations Authority, and must submit to

federal union representation elections concerning their

Military Technician personnel warrants this Court’s review.

Not only does the Fifth Circuit’s decision conflict with

Perpich v. DOD, 496 U.S. 334, 345 (1990), it also threatens

to harm our federal system, as it is important to the

interworkings of the Guard and the Active Components that

the distinctions of authority and jurisdiction between the

federal military and each state’s militia be maintained.

Additionally, the Fifth Circuit’s holding that the Mississippi

Guard is a federal agency and part of the National Guard of

the United States - a federal reserve component - threatens to

criminalize the use of the Mississippi Guard for counter-

terrorism and domestic law enforcement operations under the

Posse Comitatus Act, 18 U.S.C. § 1385, at a time when this

Nation is at war on post-911 soil. App. E, 48a, 61a.

Moreover, the Fifth Circuit’s opinion ignores this Court’s

recent federalism rulings in Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S.

452, 460 (1991), Printz v. United States, 521 U.S. 898, 935

(1997) and South Carolina State Ports Authority, 535 U.S. at

760. For example, in a finding directly contrary to Printz, the

Fifth Circuit found that a putative statutory designation of the

Adjutant General as a federal agent vitiated Petitioners’

10

valuable Tenth and Eleventh Amendment rights. The Fifth

Circuit made such a finding in violation of the Plain

Statement Rule, and despite the fact that under Kimel v.

Florida Board of Regents, 528 U.S. 62, 78 (2000), Congress

lacks any authority under its Article I powers to pierce a state

actor’s sovereign immunity. At a minimum, the decision

below deserves this Court’s attention so that it may address

the new, difficult and important issues created by the

intersection of the Technicians Act, Perpich, 496 U.S. at 345

and South Carolina State Ports Authority, 535 U.S. at 760,

which the Fifth Circuit failed to reconcile.

Finally, the Fifth Circuit’s opinion is in conflict with the

Federal Circuit’s recent decision in Clark v. United States,

322 F.3d 1358, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2003), which found the

Alabama National Guard to be a state agency and an entity

separate and distinct from the National Guard of the United

States, a federal reserve component. It is also in conflict with

First, Second, Third, Fourth, Seventh and Tenth Circuit

decisions, all of which have recognized and protected the

Eleventh Amendment immunity of a state Guard or its

Adjutant General. See Day v. Massachusetts Air Nat'l

Guard, 167 F.3d 678, 686 (1st Cir. 1999); Jones v. New York

State Div. of Military Affairs, 166 F.3d 45, 49 (2d Cir. 1999);

Knutson v. Wisconsin Air Nat’l Guard, 995 F.2d 765, 769 n.3

(7th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 933 (1993) (citing

Meadows v. State of Ind. 854 F.2d 1068, 1069 (7th Cir.

1988)); Hefley v. Textron, Inc., 713 F.2d 1487, 1493 (10th

Cir. 1983); Hefrich v. Pennsylvania Dept. of Military Affairs,

660 F.2d 88, 90 (3rd Cir. 1981); Henry v. Textron, Inc., 577

F.2d 1163, 1164 (4th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1047

(1978).

Additionally, the Fifth Circuit’s decision conflicts with

Singleton v. Merit Systems Protection Board, 244 F.3d 1331,

1333 (Fed. Cir. 2001), in which the Federal Circuit found that

as a state Adjutant General is not a federal employee, he

11

therefore is not subject to the commands of federal admin-

istrative agencies while serving in a state status. Finally, the

Fifth Circuit’s finding that the Adjutant General can act in a

federal capacity when in a state status is contrary to Gilbert v.

United States, 165 F.3d 470, 473 (6th Cir. 1999) and United

States v. Hutchings, 127 F.3d 1255, 1258-59 (10th Cir. 1997),

both of which found that Guardsmen hold a state capacity

unless command authority has been taken away from the

Governor and transferred to the President.

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S FINDING THAT A

STATE ADJUTANT GENERAL AND STATE

NATIONAL GUARD ARE FEDERAL EXEC-

UTIVE AGENCIES IS CONTRARY TO

PERPICH AND WILL HAVE UNINTENDED

CONSEQUENCES DETRIMENTAL TO THE

CONSTITUTIONAL BALANCE AND

NATIONAL SECURITY.

The central question in this case is whether the FLRA - a

federal instrumentality - may constitutionally dragoon two

State actors - a state Adjutant General and National Guard - to

unwillingly participate in a federal regulatory program.

Ignoring Perpich v. DOD, 496 U.S. 334, 345 (1990), as well

as the Guard statutory scheme, the Fifth Circuit found that the

Mississippi Adjutant General and the Mississippi Guard are

federal/state “hybrids,” a finding that infects the entire

decision and allowed the Fifth Circuit to avoid addressing the

major constitutional issues in this case. 6a, 14a-15an.7.

Specifically, the Fifth Circuit made a fundamental error in

holding “[t]hat the AG .. . [and] the MSNG[,] . . . are federal

executive agencies . . . , and consequently subject to the

jurisdiction of the FLRA.” 4a. The Fifth Circuit based this

holding on its finding that the Adjutant General and MSNG

are “hybrid[s]” - simultaneously holding a state and federal

status. 6a. However, under controlling federal statutes and

12

case law, the Adjutant General and the Mississippi Guard

have dual and mutually exclusive statuses, which is some-

thing entirely different from being hybrids.

Without so explicitly stating, the Fifth Circuit appears to

have employed common law agency principles in its analysis

of whether the Adjutant General and the Mississippi Guard

are federal Executive agencies. Yet the instant inquiry is not

about common law agency principles—rather, it is about

whether the Titles 10 and 32 statutory scheme, coupled with

the literal language of 5 U.S.C. § 7103(a)(3) and 5 CFR

§ 2421.4, render the Adjutant General and the Mississippi

Guard “[a]n Executive agency” or “[a]ctivity” of an “[a]n

Executive agency.” 52a, 70a.

In the context of the Guard, Congress has set forth a very

carefully crafted statutory scheme which delineates and dis-

tinguishes the rights of the States and the Federal Govern-

ment. This scheme is one premised in large part on important

constitutional boundaries of authority—necessitated by the

respective spheres of the two Militia Clauses and the War

Powers Clause. It is that carefully crafted statutory scheme -

not common law agency principles - that must be dispositive.

With that premise, the Fifth Circuit’s holding - and its

underlying rationale - are mistaken for the following reasons,

all of which counsel for the grant of a writ of certiorari.

First, the Titles 10 and 32 Guard statutory scheme make it

clear that the Adjutant General and the Mississippi Guard’s

status at any given time is a function of who has com-

mand authority. Second, the Fifth Circuit’s finding that the

Adjutant General and the Mississippi Guard are “hybrids” 6a,

that can simultaneously hold both a state and federal status, is

contrary to the holding of Perpich, 496 U.S. 345-46, that

Guardsmen cannot - as a matter of law - wear a state and a

federal hat at the same time.

13

It is true that the Adjutant General, like any Guardsman,

took two oaths. In his state capacity, he took an oath to the

Mississippi Constitution, and enlisted in the Mississippi

Guard, a state entity. In that status, as a matter of both state

and federal constitutional law, he acts as a state - not federal -

officer: :

It is not argued here that military members of the Guard

are federal employees, even though they are paid with

federal funds and must conform to strict federal

requirements in order to satisfy training and promotion

standards. Their appointment by state authorities and

the immediate control exercised over them by the States

makes it apparent that military members of the Guard

are employees of the States....

Maryland ex rel. Levin v. United States, 381 U.S. 41, 48

(1965), vacated on other grounds, 382 U.S. 159 (1965) .

(citing Storer Broadcasting Co. v. United States, 251 F.2d i

268, 269 (Sth Cir. 1958) (“[a]ll located decisions . . . hold that

National Guardsmen of the several states are employees of

the state except when in the actual service of the United

States”)); accord Perpich, 496 U.S. at 348 (“{i]ts constitu-

tional aspect is [that] State Guard personnel . . . retain their i

state affiliation during their periods of service”); see 32

U.S.C. § 314 (state law sets duties of the Adjutant

General); see also Miss. Const. art. V, § 119; Miss. Code i

Ann. § 33-3-1. 51a, 71a.

It is also true that the Adjutant General, like any Guards-

man who holds federal recognition,” took a second oath - one

to the United States Constitution - and enrolled as a member

> “Federal recognition” merely means that a given Guardsman, in

addition to membership in his state's Guard, may also be a member of the

National Guard of the United States. See 32 U.S.C. § 301; see also Zitser

v. Walsh, 352 F.Supp. 438, 440 (D. Conn. 1972)(“One may be a member

of the National Guard of a state without receiving federal recognition, but

never the reverse’”’).

sii aaa

14

of an organization separate and distinct from the Mississippi

Guard - the National Guard of the United States, a federal

reserve component. If actually serving in the National Guard

of the United States, the Adjutant General would hold a

federal status. However, the statutory scheme and Supreme

Court precedent, make it clear that the Adjutant General’s

respective state or federal statuses are mutually exclusive.’

More particularly, when serving in the National Guard of

the United States, the Adjutant General - like all Guardsmen -

loses his state militia status and becomes a Title 10 federal

soldier. See 10 U.S.C. § 12405 (“Members of the National

Guard called into Federal service are, from the time when

they are required to respond to the call, subject to the laws

and regulations governing the Army or the Air Force, as the

case may be...”). 58a. Furthermore, Perpich held that:

Since 1933 all persons who have enlisted in a State

National Guard unit have simultaneously enlisted in the

National Guard of the United States. [BJut unless and

until ordered to active duty in the Army, they retained

their status as members of a separate State Guard unit. .

” All persons so ordered into the active military

service of the United States shall from the date of such

order stand relieved from duty in the National Guard of

their respective States, . . . and during such time shall be

subject to such laws and regulations for the government

of the Army of the United States... .” Upon being

relieved from active duty ...all individuals and units shall

thereupon revert to their National Guard status.”

Perpich, 496 U.S. at 345-46 (emphasis added)(some citations

omitted). Thus, Guardsmen “[n]ow must keep three hats in

their closets - a civilian hat, a state militia hat, and an

army hat - only one of which is worn at any particular

* To the extent that NeSmith v. Fulton, 615 F.2d 196, !98 (Sth Cir.

1980), can be read to the contrary, it has been overruled by Perpich v.

DOD, 496 U.S. 334 (1990).

15

time.” Id. at 348 (emphasis added). This is “dual” military

status, not “hybrid” status.

Just as one cannot be a little bit pregnant, the Adjutant

General cannot simultaneously be a little bit state and a little

bit federal. This is because, in the context of the Guard,

whether one is in a state or federal status “[d]Jepends solely on

whether command of the Guardsman has been taken away

from a state’s governor by one authorized to do so by

Congress.” United States v. Hutchings, 127 F.3d 1255, 1258-

59 (10th Cir. 1997) (emphasis added). The Adjutant General

is either commanded by the Governor or the President, but

never both.

Thus, while the Adjutant General certainly holds “dual”

statuses, it is simply mistaken - and contrary to Perpich - to

say he has a “hybrid” status—as found by the Fifth Circuit.

Compare 13a (“[t]he hybrid character of the AG includes a

federal component . . .) with Perpich, 496 U.S. at 348

(Guardsmen “[n]ow must keep three hats in their closets - a

civilian hat, a state militia hat, and an army hat - only one of f

which is worn at any particular time”) and id. at 349

(emphasis added) (“[t]he state affiliation is suspended in

favor of an entirely federal affiliation during the period of

active duty”). This strict and mutually exclusive duality is

important, as the state status of nonfederalized Guardsmen

is a “[c]onstitutional aspect” of their service. Perpich, 496 ;

U.S. at 349.

* Respondents offered no evidence whatsoever, and the Fifth Circuit

did not purport to rely upon any, suggesting that the Adjutant General was

serving in the National Guard of the United States during any of the time

periods at issue in this Action. See 10 U.S.C. § 12401 (National Guard of

the United States members “[a]re not in active Federal service except

when ordered thereto under law”). 58a. In fact, the Adjutant General did

not even hold federal recognition (National Guard of the United States

membership) during part of the time at issue. 1 16a.

;

16

Likewise, the Mississippi Guard is not a federal Executive

agency or activity. Unlike the National Guard of the United

States, the Mississippi Guard is not (and never is) a federal

reserve component under 10 U.S.C. § 10101.° 57a. Rather,

under 10 U.S.C. § 101(c)(2), the Mississippi Guard is one of

the “[o]rganized militia of the several States... .” Jd. 54a.

Admittedly, if the President uses his call power to impress the

Mississippi Guard, it becomes part of the Army itself, under

10 U.S.C. § 3062(c), as the Army can include, “[t]he Army

National Guard® while in the service of the United States... .”

Id. (emphasis added). 60a. However, it is undisputed that the

Mississippi Guard - the entity - was not impressed’ during

any of the time period at issue. In fact, during any time

*Because federal law does not require a Guardsman to keep his federal

recognition in order to remain in a state's Guard, Zitser v. Walsh, 352 F.

Supp. 438, 440 (D. Conn. 1972), the National Guard of the United States

can never contain a state's Guard (the entity), because such would

subsume non-federally recognized Guardsmen into the National Guard of

the United States, in violation of 10 U.S.C. § 10105. In that regard, Miss.

Code Ann. § 33-3-7 does not even require the Adjutant General to hold

federal recognition, so long as he is “[eJligible to receive federal

recognition.” Mississippi has had periods of time when the then Adjutant

General did not hold federal recognition. 116a. As a result, during those

time periods (which included some of the time of Respondents’ Labor

Management Act proceeding), the Adjutant General could not have been a

member of the National Guard of the United States as a matter of law.

° The federally recognized parts of the Mississippi Guard are part of

the Army National Guard under 10 U.S.C. § 101(c)(2). 54a. However,

the Army National Guard, like the Mississippi Guard, is not a federal

reserve component under 10 U.S.C. § 10101. 57a.

’ Certainly, significant numbers of Mississippi Guardsmen have been

mobilized to federal active duty in recent years through their separate

membership in the National Guard of the United States. However, the

Mississippi Guard itself has not been impressed by Presidential call

during the time period at issue. See Perpich, 496 U.S. at 350 n.21

(explaining the difference between Presidential impression of a state's

Guard itself versus activation of individual National Guard of the United

States members).

17

period when the Mississippi Guard assumes a federal status—

it no longer has any Military Technicians. This is because

upon impression of the Mississippi Guard, its Military

Technicians lose their Technician status and become Title 10

soldiers and airmen, as the case may be.” 58a.

In other words, the respective States’ Militias, (parts of

which comprise the term “Army National Guard”), are sep-

arate legal entities and are never a part of the National Guard

of the United States. Those state entities only become part of

the “Army” when “[iJn the service of the United States. . . ,”

10 U.S.C. § 3062(c)(1), when impressed by call under federal

Statutory authority. 60a. E.g., 10 U.S.C. §§ 331-333 &

12406 (authorizing executive officials to call forth the militia

of the States). 55a, 58a.

Thus, when in a state status, the Mississippi Guard is a

State entity, under the command of the Governor. E.g., Jones

v. New York State Div. of Military Affairs, 166 F.3d 45, 49

(2d Cir. 1999) (New York Guard is state entity). It only

obtains a federal status when and if converted into part of the

Army when impressed by Presidential call. 10 U.S.C.

§ 3062(c)(1); 10 U.S.C. §§ 331-333 & 12406; Hutchings, 127

F.3d at 1258-59. 55a, 58a. Absent such an impression, the

Mississippi Guard is never a “federal” Executive agency

under 5 U.S.C. § 7103(a)(3) or an “activity” of a federal

Executive agency under 5 CFR § 2421.4 and cannot be a

subjected to federal labor laws. 52a, 70a.

Because the Fifth Circuit found to the contrary, its decision

threatens to warp the carefully crafted Congressional and

constitutional scheme delineating the respective spheres of

State versus federal military power. As evidenced by

* See 10 U.S.C. § 12405 (“Members of the National Guard called into

Federal service are, from the time when they are required to respond to the

call, subject to the laws and regulations governing the Army or the Air

Force, as the case may be. . .”). 58a.

18

Perpich, it is very important - as a matter of Federalism, as

well as the interworkings of the Guard and the Active

Components - that the distinctions of authority and juris-

diction between the federal military and each state’s militia

be maintained. Additionally, if left undisturbed, the Fifth

Circuit’s decision will harm national security.

Soberingly, this Nation is at war. Unlike any other war in

recent history, the War on Terrorism is being fought not only

overseas, but also - and tragically, as evidenced by the events

of September 11 - on our own soil. Each state’s National

Guard is playing a critical role in this War.

Under the Posse Comitatus Act, it has long been accepted

that the Guard - because it is not a part of the federal

military - is not prohibited from engaging in domestic opera-

tions—including counterterrorism and law enforcement

operations. For example, in the post-911 period, Guardsmen

were detailed as security at airports nationwide. These

Guardsmen served in a state status - as members of their

respective states’ Guards - so as not to run afoul of the Posse

Comitatus Act. See (MS Exec. Order no. 850 (Sept. 28,

2001)), App. E, 48a.

However, the Fifth Circuit’s holding that the Mississippi

Guard is a federal agency and part of the National Guard of

the United States, 15a-16a n.8 - a federal reserve component -

threatens to criminalize the use of the Mississippi Guard for

these and certain other domestic operations. This is because

the Posse Comitatus Act prohibits the use of “[a]ny part of

the Army or Air Force as a posse comitatus or otherwise to

execute the laws... .” 18 U.S.C. § 1385 (emphasis added). 62a.

Under 10 U.S.C. § 3062(c), National Guard of the United

States is indisputably part of the Army. 60a. Thus, if the

Fifth Circuit’s finding that the Mississippi Guard is a subpart

of the National Guard of the United States stands, some may

well contend that use of the Mississippi Guard for certain

19

domestic counterterrorism and law enforcement operations is

a felony. See Clark v. United States, 322 F.3d 1358, 1367

(Fed. Cir. 2003) (“To include a National Guard member in a

reserve component . . . when he is in service to the state

National Guard would be to treat that member as a federal

employee, and not as a state serviceman, and would be

contrary to [Posse Comitatus]”). Such a result, especially

with this Nation at war, would damage national security.

Il. JOINT APPLICATION OF THE TECHNICIANS

ACT, PERPICH AND SOUTH CAROLINA PORTS

AUTHORITY PRESENTS IMPORTANT ISSUES

OF FEDERALISM NOT YET ADDRESSED BY

THIS COURT.

It is well established that, “[i]f Congress intends to alter the

‘usual constitutional balance between the States and the

Federal Government,’ it must make its intention to do so

‘unmistakably clear in the language of the statute.’” Gregory

v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452, 460 (1991) (quoting Atascadero

State Hosp. v. Scanlon, 473 U.S. 234, 242 (1985)). This

“plain statement” rule is not met by a mere “general author-

ization for suit in federal court... .” Scott v. Univ. of Miss.,

148 F.3d 493, 499 (5th Cir. 1998), abrogated on other

grounds by Kimel v. Florida Bd. of Regents, 528 U.S. 62

(2000). Rather, both the text and structure of the statute must

“make[] it clear that the State is the [intended] Defendant in

the suit.” /d.

The Adjutant General - a state officer - and the Mississippi

Guard - a state entity - are entitled to sovereign immunity

under the Eleventh Amendment,’ and their i immunity extends

® See Day v. Massachusetts Air Nat'l Guard, 167 F.3d 678, 686 (1st

Cir. 1999); Jones v. New York State Div. of Military Affairs, 166 F.3d 45,

49 (2d Cir. 1999); Knutson v. Wisconsin Air Nat'l Guard, 995 F.2d 765,

769 n.3 (7th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 933 ( 1993)(citing Meadows

v. State of Ind., 854 F.2d 1068, 1069 (7th Cir. 1988)); Hefley v. Textron,

20

to federal administrative proceedings - like those at issue

here - that are initiated by private parties such as Association

of Civilian Technicians, a union. E.g., Federal Mar. Comm.

v. South Carolina State Ports Auth., 535 U.S. 743, 760 (2002)

(“[s]tate sovereign immunity bars [federal administrative

agencies, like the FLRA] from adjudicating complaints filed

by a private party against a nonconsenting State’’).

Here, the Fifth Circuit found the Adjutant General and

the Mississippi Guard to have no Eleventh Amendment

immunity—implicitly holding that such had been pierced

through Congress’ putative designation of them as federal

Executive agencies or activities under the Technicians Act.

14a-15a n.7. However, the Fifth Circuit itself repeatedly

admits that there is no plain statutory statement by Congress,

reflecting any intent to pierce these state actors’ immunities.

For example, the decision’s operative portion states that

upon review of the actual statutory language - which of

course should control the outcome - “[w]e begin to get into a

thicket... .” 9a. Maneuvering through that “thicket,” the

Fifth Circuit then “[f]lind[s] that the broad and somewhat

circular terms of the statutory definitions of agency and

Executive agency are non-dispositive in resolving the specific

question that this appeal presents.” 12a-13a n.6 (emphasis

added).

This finding is not surprising, as if the Fifth Circuit had

found the actual statutory words dispositive, the Fifth Circuit

implicitly concedes it would have to rule the other way:

Inc., 713 F.2d 1487, 1493 (10th Cir. 1983); Hefrich v. Pennsylvania Dept.

of Military Affairs, 660 F.2d 88, 90 (3rd Cir. 1981); Henry v. Textron,

Inc., 577 F.2d 1163, 1164 (4th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1047

(1978); Richardson-Longmire v. Kansas, Adjutant General, no. Civ.A.97-

2679, 1997 WL 156168 (D. Kan. March 8, 1999); Petr v. Delaware Nat'l

Guard, Case No. 94-327-SLR, 1995 WL 579634 (D. Del. Sept. 28, 1995);

Intrioni v. South Carolina Nat'l Guard, 828 F.Supp. 391, 396 (D. S.C.

1993).

21

“{w]e must admit that if one is searching for translucent,

definitional, statutory words under the Labor Management

Act stating that the entities composing the [Mississippi

Guard] constitute an ‘Executive agency,’ the search will be

disappointing.” 13a. A “thicket” is not a “plain statement.”

Additionally, even if there was a plain statement - which

there is not - Congress must have constitutional authority to

pierce a state’s Eleventh Amendment immunity. Here, Con-

gress could not pierce Petitioners’ immunity as the Militia

Clauses are part of Article I of the Constitution and “{C]on-

gress lacks power under Article I to abrogate the States’

sovereign immunity.” Kimel v. Florida Bd. of Regents, 528

U.S. 62, 78 (2000). The Fifth Circuit’s opinion ignores this

black letter rule of law.

In Perpich v. DOD, 496 U.S. 334, 345, 350 n.21 (1990),

this Court made it clear that state National Guards are state

agencies, unless impressed into federal service by Presidential

call. Further, this Court made it clear that Guardsmen are not

in federal service merely because they hold a separate

membership in the National Guard of the United States. Id. at

345. These holdings should have entitled the Mississippi

Guard and its Adjutant General to the full benefits of this

Court’s Eleventh Amendment case law, including Gregory,

501 U.S. at 460, Kimel, 528 U.S. at 78 and South Carolina

State Ports Authority, 535 U.S. at 760.

However, employing the Technicians Act, 32 U.S.C. § 709,

in a context to which it does not apply - federal unionization

proceedings - the Fifth Circuit found that the Adjutant Gen-

eral’s putative status as a federal agent in administering his

Military Technicians somehow converted him into a federal

“Executive agency” under an entirely different federal statu-

tory scheme, the Labor Management Act. 18a. Ignoring not

only the Plain Statement Rule, but also this Court’s

explanation of the state nature of the Guard and its personnel

in Perpich, the Fifth Circuit thereafter found the Labor

CC

22

Management Act to trump Petitioners’ Eleventh Amendment

rights. 14a-15an.7. Petitioners therefore respectfully submit

that certiorari should be granted to address the intersection of

the Technicians Act, Perpich and South Carolina State Ports

Authority, as these new, difficult and important federalism

issues were incorrectly decided by the Fifth Circuit in a

manner that will harm our federal system.

Il. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION THAT

PETITIONERS’ PUTATIVE FEDERAL

AGENCY STATUS TRUMPS THEIR TENTH

AMENDMENT IMMUNITY IS CONTRARY TO

PRINTZ.

The Fifth Circuit gave short shrift to the Petitioners’ Tenth

Amendment rights. Relegating Petitioners’ important con-

stitutional rights to a mere footnote, the Fifth Circuit found

that those rights do. not attach as “[t]he conclusion that the

AG is a federal agency, subject to the [Labor Management

Act] in its federal capacity, renders Printz inapposite.” 14a-

15an.7. This conclusion is mistaken, because as discussed in

detail above, neither the Mississippi Guard nor the Adju-

tant General are “[a]n Executive Agency” under 5 U.S.C.

§ 7103(a)(3). 52a. In any event, and quite importantly to the

instant appeal, even if either or both of them were a statutory

federal “agent” with respect to Military Technicians under

32 U.S.C. § 709, such would not change the constitutional

inquiry. 67a.

In Printz v. United States, 521 U.S. 898, 935 (1997), a

federal statute, 18 U.S.C. § 922, specifically designated state

law enforcement officers to administer part of the Brady Act.

Printz, 521 U.S. at 903. 61a. That explicit federal statutory

designation arguably made them statutory federal “agents.”

Despite this fact, it did not in any way vitiate those state

officials’ Tenth Amendment immunities, and this Court had

no hesitation in holding that:

—_———— ee eee ae

23

Congress cannot compel the States to enact or enforce a

federal regulatory program. [Further,] Congress cannot

circumvent that prohibition by conscripting the States’

officers directly. The Federal Government may [not]

command the States’ officers ...to administer or enforce

a federal regulatory program.

Printz, 521 U.S. at 935.

Here, Respondents are doing exactly what this Court

prohibited in Printz. By coercively dragooning the Missis-

sippi Guard and its Adjutant General to enforce a federal

regulatory program - the Labor Management Act - they are

violating the Tenth Amendment. 50a, 104a, 108a.

Simply put, the Fifth Circuit’s reasoning that 5 U.S.C.

§ 7103(a)(3) of the Labor Management Act trumps Peti-

tioners’ Tenth Amendment rights is contrary to Printz. It is

circuitous to argue that since involuntary statutory con-

scription of a state actor through the Labor Management Act

would render him a federal agent, the resulting agency status

constitutionally immunizes the underlying conscription. This

very reasoning was rejected in Printz, a case which - unlike

here - had an explicit federal Statutory conscription of a

state official.

Here, the Respondents, at the behest of Association of

Civilian Technicians, a private party, are seeking to conscript

the Petitioners into administering and participating in a

federal regulatory scheme, the Labor Management Act.

104a-108a. However, under Printz, such a commandeering is

unconstitutional. Petitioners respectfully submit that this

Court should grant certiorari to clarify the rule in Printz—that

Congress may not obviate the constitutional prohibition on

involuntary conscription of state officers by means of a

federal statutory mandate.

|

}

|

|

24

IV. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION HAS

CREATED SPLITS BETWEEN THE CIRCUITS.

Not only is the Fifth Circuit’s decision contrary to this

Court’s decisions in Perpich, 496 U.S. at 345-46, Gregory,

501 U.S. at 460, Kimel, 528 U.S. at 78, Printz, 521 U.S. at

935 and South Carolina, 535 U.S. at 760, it further has

created splits between the Circuits on a number of issues.

First, in Clark v. U.S., 322 F.3d 1358 (Fed. Cir. 2003), the

Federal Circuit analyzed one of the key issues also in the

instant case - the relationship between a state Guard and the

separate and distinct federal entity the National Guard of the

United States. Clark found:

Although the National Guard of the United States is a

reserve component, the Alabama National Guard, . . . is

not a reserve component of a uniformed service. It

becomes clear, when we consider Supreme Court

precedent and the statutory scheme .. . , that the

National Guard and the National Guard of, the United

States are separate and distinct entities.

Case law thus establishes that when National Guard

members are not activated into federal service, they are

not treated as federal employees.

In short, National Guard members are only serving in the

federal military when they are called into formal military

service.

Clark, 322 F.3d at 1365, 1366 & 1368.

Contrary to Clark, the Fifth Circuit decision in this case

adopted the district court’s finding that the Mississippi Guard

is a subpart of the National Guard of the United States, 15a-

16a n.8, not an entity which is “separate and distinct” as

found by the Federal Circuit in Clark. Further, and also

25

contrary to Clark, the Fifth Circuit decision effectively treats

the Adjutant General as a federal employee, even when he is

“not activated into federal service... .” Clark, 322 F.3d

at 1368. 18a.

Clark is not the only Circuit decision in conflict with the

instant case. By finding that Petitioners were federal agencies

or activities, 16a, the Fifth Circuit found Petitioners to have

no Eleventh Amendment immunity. However, First, Second,

Third, Fourth, Seventh and Tenth Circuit decisions - contrary

to the result here - all have recognized the Eleventh

Amendment immunity of a state Guard. See Day v.

Massachusetts Air Nat’! Guard, 167 F.3d 678, 686 (1st Cir.

1999); Jones v. New York State Div. of Military Affairs, 166

F. 3d 45, 49 (2d Cir. 1999); Knutson v. Wisconsin Air Nat'l

Guard, 995 F.2d 765, 769 n.3 (7th Cir. 1993), cert. denied,

510 U.S. 933 (1993)(citing Meadows v. State of Ind. 854 F.2d

1068, 1069 (7th Cir. 1988)); Hefley v. Textron, Inc., 713 F.2d

1487, 1493 (10th Cir. 1983); Hefrich v. Pennsylvania Dept. of

Military Affairs, 660 F.2d 88, 90 (3rd Cir. 1981); Henry v.

Textron, Inc., 577 F.2d 1163, 1164 (4th Cir, 1978), cert.

denied, 439 U.S. 1047 (1978).

The Fifth Circuit’s opinion is further is in conflict with

Singleton v. Merit Systems Protection Board, 244 F.3d 1331,

1333 (Fed. Cir. 2001), in which the Federal Circuit found the

Merit Systems Protection Board lacked authority to issue

orders to the Ohio Adjutant General, even though the statute

at issue - 5 U.S.C. § 1204(a)(2) - is even narrower in scope of

enforcement power than 5 U.S.C. § 7118(a)(7) of the Labor

Management Act. Here, the Fifth Circuit ignored the plain

language of the Labor Management Act statutes at issue, and,

employing common law agency rules, found the FLRA to

have the authority to issue compulsory orders against a state

Adjutant General, a result contrary to Singleton. 12a, 18a.

Additionally, the Fifth Circuit’s finding that the Adjutant

General can act in a federal Capacity though in a state

{

Te

26

command status, 13a, is contrary to Sixth and Ninth Circuit

decisions. For example, in Gilbert v. United States, 165 F.3d

470, 473 (6th Cir. 1999) (quoting B. Rich, The National

Guard and Posse Comitatus” 1994 Army Law 16, 19) the

Sixth Circuit held that “‘[t]he issue of status depends on

command and control and not on whether: state or federal

benefits apply; state or federal funds are being used; the

authority for the duty lies in state or federal law; or any

combination thereof.’” Further, in United States v. Hutch-

ings, 127 F.3d 1255, 1258-59 (10th Cir. 1997) (emphasis

added), the Tenth Circuit found that in the context of the

Guard, whether one is in a state or federal status “[dJepends

solely on whether command of the Guardsman has been taken

away from a state’s governor by one authorized to do so by

Congress.” These Circuit splits additionally counsel for the

grant of certiorari.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue

to review the judgment of the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Respectfully submitted,

E,. BARNEY ROBINSON III *

JEFFREY A. WALKER

BUTLER, SNOW, O’MARA, STEVENS

& CANNADA, PLLC

Post Office Box 22567

Jackson, Mississippi 39225-2567

(601) 948-5711

PAUL ROGER GOOGE, JR.

Special Assistant Attorney General

MISSISSIPPI ATTORNEY GENERAL’S OFFICE

P.O. Box 220

Jackson, Mississippi 39205

(601) 359-3824

Counsel for Petitioners

November 19, 2003 * Counsel of Record

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.