Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Gaines v. White River Environmental Partnership

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(\) Suprarae Court, US.

03 578 OCT 112003

OFPICE OF THE CLERK

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

LOUIS F. GAINES,

Plaintiff - Petitioner -

Vv.

WHITE RIVER ENVIRONMENTAL

PARTNERSHIP, Et Al.,

Defendants - Respondents

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Louis F. Gaines, Pro Se

5337 North College Avenue

Indianapolis, IN 46220 - 3141

317 -- 283 - 4821

//§ fl

| cecil po aR ne reer erence mene siren meen , = ~ . TOTS RENEE SRST ONAL oo sa at a Pee ep ROE tate meee oe mee

QUESTIONS FOR REVIEW

1. If the "Lower Courts" have used a system of

"Double-Standards" to grant summary judgments

to the Defendants, which deny Pro Se Plaintiff

due process and equal protection of the law - then

what relief is the Plaintiff due? See "Material

Facts," PP. 4-16, for example.

2. On January 3U, 1994, Indianapolis, IN., hired

the Defendants to manage and operate their two

wastewater treatment plants: Belmont and South-

port, which constantly affect commerce. For the

purpose of Title 42 U. S. C., § 1983 - did the

"Lower Courts" error in claiming that the Defen-

dants are not "State Actors?” See PP. 16-17.

3. If, on the one hand, the Defendants have

engaged in employment practices against the

Plaintiff that provoke litigation; and, if, on the

other hand, the "Lower Courts" will not defend

the Plaintiff's rights against the Defendants - then

should the $3,600.00 in sanctions against the

Plaintiff be allowed to stand? The Plaintiff has

been trying to defend himself against the De-

fendants in the form of Pro Se. See PP. 17-19.

4. Should EEOC "For 5" be revised, or

declared "Unconstitutional," because it is bias in

favor of employers? By design, only one or two

"Respondents" can be listed on the form, which

can affect the outcome, if there are three or more

"Respondents" that are being charged with un-

lawful discrimination in employment. The above

flaw can affect millions of "Citizens." See P. 19.

5. Given the limitation of EEOC "Form 5," if

the Plaintiff properly named the parties in the

"Complaint," then does the latter take priority

over the former. In other words, did the "Lower

Courts" dismiss any party in error, simply because

it was not listed on the above form? Ibid.

6. On June 2, 1999, the Defendants caused Pro

Se Plaintiff to su.°*> an on-the-job, "Irreparable

Injury,” during discovery; in Gaines v. White

River Environmental Partnership, et al., IP 98-C-

741-M/S. If the Seventh Court can collect

$3,600.00 in sanctions against the Plaintiff, if the

Defendants have provoked all litigation in the fist

place; then when will the Plaintiff get paid for the

above injury? See PP. 4-7.

7. If the Defendants used deceit or mis-

representation to get the District Court, in.. .,

1524, te dismiiss EEOC Charge #240-A20-1240,

and if the District Court, in... , 0595 took

jurisdiction of the foregoing charge in error, and

also determined the merits in error; and, if these

errors were affirmed upon appeal - then what

relief is the Plaintiff due? Ibid.

8. Can the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

Rule 9b, be used as an authority to seek relief

from "Fraud?" See PP. 13-15. The Lower

Courts denied relief under Title 42, U. S. C., §

1983 on the claimed that the Defendants are not

"State Actors," but failed to address the appli-

cation of Rule 9b. If this procedure denied Pro

Se Plaintiff due process and/or equal protection of

the law, then what relief is due?

9. What other relief is Pro Se Plaintiff due?

ii.

LIST OF PARTIES

. LOUIS F. GAINES, Petitioner

5337 North College Avenue

Indianapolis, IN 46220 - 3141

. WHITE RIVER ENVIRONMENTAL PART-

NERSHIP, Et. Al., Respondent

2700 South Belmont Avenue

Indianapolis, IN 46221

3. IWC RESOURCES CORPORATION,

Managing Partner, and Responde:.

1220 Waterway Boulevard

Indianapolis, IN 46206

. SUEZ, Partner, and Respondent

16 Rue De La Ville Leveque

75383 Paris Cedix 08

France

. UNITED WATER SERVICES, Inc.

-Partner, and Respondent

200 Old Hook Road

Harrington Park, NJ 07640

iii.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SUBJECT PAGE

QUESTIONS FOR REVIEW i,

LIST OF PARTIES iii.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES v.

CITATION OF OPINIONS & REPORTS 1.

CONSTITUTION & OTHER AUTHORITY 2.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2.

Jurisdiction Of The Lower Courts 2.

Material Facts To Consider - 4.

ARGUMENT 20.

Summary 20.

Conclusion 29.

APPENDIX 30.

iv.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASE PAGE

ANDERSON v. LIBERTY LOBBY

INC., 106 S. Ct. 2505; 1986

BRENTWOOD ACADEMY v. TENNES-

SEE SECONDARY SCHOOL ATHLETIC

ASSOCIATION, Et Al., 148 L Ed 2d

807; 2001

CURTIS 1000, INC., v. SUESS,

24 F.3d 941 (7th Cir. 1994)

GILBERT v. HOMAR, 138 L Ed 2d

120, 121; 1997

HARRIS v. FORKLIFT SYSTEMS, INC.,

126 L Ed 2d 295; 1993

KOLSTAD v. AMERICAN DENTAL

ASS'N, 119 S. Ct. 2118; 1999

McCORMICK v. CITY OF CHICAGO,

390 F. 3d 319 (7th Cir. 2000)

REEVES v. SANDERSON PLUMBING

PRODUCTS, INC., 147 L Ed 2d 105;

2001

SHIRLEY v. STATE NATIONAL BANK

OF CONNECTICUT, 493 F.2d 739;-1974

21.

23.

25.

22.

21.

25.

24.

23.

23.

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION:

First Amendment: P. 3.

Fifth Amendment: PP. 2, 3 & 20.

Eighth Amendment: PP. 2, 3 & 20.

Thirteenth Amendment: PP. 2 & 3.

TITLE 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254: P. 1.

TITLE 29 U.S.C.

§ 623(a): PP. 2 & 20.

§$ 623(d): PP. 2 & 20.

TITLE 42 U.S.C.

§ 1391: P. 3.

§ 1981: PP. 2,3 & 20.

$ 1981(c): P. 2.

vi.

-

§ 1983: PP. 2, 3,17 & 23.

§ 2000e-2(a): PP. 2 & 20.

§ 2000e-2(k)(c)(2): PP. 2 & 20.

§ 2000e-2(m): PP. 2 & 20.

§ 2000e-3(a): 2 & 20.

§ 2000e-5: P. 3.

FEDERAL RULES OF:

Appellate Procedure, Rule 35: PP. 2 & 20.

Appellate Procedure, Rule 38: PP. 2,18 &

20.

Civil Procedure, Rule 56: PP. 2 & 20.

Evidence, Rule 406: 2, 3, 20 & 23.

Vii.

CITATION OF OPINIONS OR REPORTS

LOUIS F. GAINES v. WHITE RIVER

ENVIRONMENTAL PARTNERSHIP, Et Al .:

530 U.S. 1230; 120 S. Ct. 2661; 147 L. Ed. 2d

275; June 12, 2000.

534 U.S. 952; 122 S.Ct. 349; 151 L. Ed. 2d

263; October 9, 2001.

202 F. 3d 272; January 3, 2000.

248 F. 3d 1157; March 23, 2001.

No. 02-4289 & 03-1967, July 24, 2003; see Ap-

pendix A., PP. 1-8.

No. 1: 02 cv 1524 - DFH, November 27,

2002; Ibid... B., PP. 9 - 13.

No. IP 02-0595-T/K, March 14, 26, 27, &

31, 2003; Ibid., C., PP. 14-61.

IP 98-1741-C-M/S, August 19, 1999, and October

25, 1999; 00-2802, March 23, 2001, and May 17,

2001; Ibid., D. PP. 62 - 72.

SUPREME COURT 's JURISDICTION

One, the "Order" of the Seventh Court was

entered on July 24, 2003. See Appendix A., P. 1.

Two, Rule 11 does not apply. Three, 2 Petition

for a Rehearing was not allowed. Four, this

matter comes to the Supreme Court on the

authority of Tile 28, U.S.C., § 1254.

AS SAH

CONSTITUTION & OTHER AUTHORITY

—

United States Constitution: the Fifth, Eighth, and

Thirteenth Amendments. See Appendix E. , P. 74.

Title 29, U.S.C., §§ 623(a) & 623 (d). Ibid.

Title 42 U.S.C. , 88 1981; 1981(c); 1983;

2000e-2(a); 2000e-2(k)(c)(2); 2000e-2(m), -and

2000e-3(a). Ibid.. PP. 75 - 76.

Federal Rules OF:

Appellate Procedure, Rule 35. Ibid., E.,

PP. 76 - 77.

Appellate Procedure, Rule 38, Ibid., P. 78.

Civil Procedure, Rule 56, Ibid., P. 78.

Evidence, Rule 406, Ibid., P. 79.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Jurisdiction Of The Lower Courts:

1. Gaines v. WREP, Et Al., IP-02-0595-C-

T/K, represents a continuing case involving un-

lawful discrimination in employment. On April

19, 2K02, a complaint was filed with the United

Sates District Court, Southern District of Indiana,

at Indianapolis; and, it was brought on the

following authority: (1) Title 28, U.S.C., §§ 1330,

1331, 1332 & 1343; (2) Title 29, U.S.C., § 626;

2.

(3) Title 42, U.S.C., §§ 1391, 1981, 1983 &

2000e-5; (4) the First, Fifth, Eighth & Thirteenth

Amendments of the U.S. Constitution; (5) the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 9, and the

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 406. On March

27, 2K03, however, the Plaintiff's Summary

Judgment Motion was denied, and the Defendants’

were granted. The Plaintiff timely appealed to

the Seventh Court.

2. On October 4, 2K02, another suit

involving unlawful discrimination in employment

had to be brought against the same defendants,

and under Gaines v. WREP, Et Al., 1:02-CV-

1524-DFH. The jurisdiction was the same, or

essentially the same, as expressed in fl 1., above.

Through the use of deceit or trickery - the

Defendants were able to get this suit dismissed

November 27, 2K02. Pro Se Plaintiff timely

appealed to the Seventh Court.

3. The Seventh Court received the above

appeals on the authority of Title 28, U.S.C., §

1291. On its initiative or motion, the Seventh

Court combined the above cases, and on July 24,

2K02 did the following: (1) affirmed the summary

judgments for the Defendants; (2) at the en-

couragement of the Defendants - the Seventh

Court fined Pro Se Plaintiff $2,500.00 for alleged-

ly bringing "frivolous" appeals; (3) proposed

other sanctions against the Plaintiff. In response

to the foregoing sanctions, Pro Se Plaintiff timely

paid the fine, and timely filed papers against it;

however, such payment and fillings do not appear

on the Seventh Court's docket sheet for either

case: 02-4289 or 03-1967! This appeal to the

Supreme Court, however, timely follows.

*

Material Facts To Consider:

Motions to amend, and summary judgments:

1. In Gaines v. White River Environ-

mental Partnership, et al., IP-98-1741-C-M/S; the

Defendants caused Pro Se Plaintiff to suffer an

on-the-job, "Irreparable Injury" on June 2, 1999,

which took place during "Discovery." These

events, however, followed: One, on June 10,

1999, Pro Se Plaintiff filed a motion to amend;

see Appendix D., P. 65. Two, the District Court

denied the motion, because EEOC had not issued

a right to sue; Ibid., P. 64-5. Three, on July 9,

1999, the Defendants filed a summary judgment

motion; Ibid., P. 67. Four, on or about July 10,

1999, EEOC's right to sue letter was received by

the Plaintiff, and on July 12, 1999 - a copy was

filed with the District Cour; Ibid., P. 66. Five, the

District Court continued to deny motions to

amend - because the Defendants had filed a

summary judgment motion on July 9, 1999; Ibid..

P. 67.

2. The above procedure in 7 1 was

affirmed upon appeal, on March 23, 2K01, and

May 17, 2K01, in... , 00-3802. Ibid., PP. 69 -

72. Here, the Seventh Court fined Pro Se

Plaintiff $1,000.00 for allegedly bringing a frivo-

lous appeal. Ibid.. P. 72. Also see 1 1, above.

3. In Gaines v. White River Environ-

mental Et Al., IP 02-0595-T/K, these events took

place: One, on March 4, 2K02, EEOC Charge

#240-A20-1240 was filed, and "Retaliation" was

claimed; Ibid.. Appendix C., P. 41. Two, on

April 19, 2K02, the "Complaint" was filed, which

only included rights-to-sue for EEOC Charges

240A12-467 and 240A200085; Ibid. P. 39.

Three, on May 29, 2K02, the Plaintiff's Summary

Judgment Motion was filed; Ibid.. P. 43. Four,

after filing his Summary Judgment Motion in

May, 2K02; in July, 2K02, EEOC issued its right-

to-sue for EEOC Charge 240A201240; Ibid. Five,

after filing the above Summary Judgment Motion,

Pro Se Plaintiff made no attempt to amend his

"Complaint" to include EEOC Charge #240-A20-

1240; Ibid.. P. 44. Six, given the above - no

evidence was presented in support of EEOC

Charge #240-A20-1240; and, Pro Se Plaintiff

objected to the Defendants' attempt to address the

issues that the foregoing charge presented. See

Appellant's Reply Brief for J2-4289, PP. 9-10;

Appellant's Response Brief for 02-4289, PP. 6-7;

and, Appellant's Reply Brief for 03-1967, PP. 4-5.

4. On October 4, 2K02, another suit was

filed against the Defendants, under .. . , 1:02-CV-

1524-DFH, which was based entirely on EEOC

Charge #240-A20-1240, and a right-to-sue letter,

dated July 30, 2K02. See Appendix A., P. 4.

5. Based on the Defendants’ deceit or

trickery, the District Court, in ..., 1524, wrote the

following on November 27, 2K02, as the reasons

for dismissing EEOC Charge #240-A20-1240.

Ibid., B., PP. 10-11:

ENTRY

"As part of its general power to ad-

minister its docket, a district court

ieee.

may stay or dismiss a suit that is du-

plicative of another federal court

suit." Curtis v. Citibank, N.A..,

226 F.3d 133, 138 (2d Cir. 2000).

The claims asserted in this action are

or could be asserted in Gaines v.

White River Environmental Part-

nership, et al., No. IP 02-595-C-T/K.

Accordingly, the defendants' motion

to dismiss is granted insofar as based

on the argument that this duplicative

action should not be permitted to

proceed. The court does not reach

any of the other arguments presented

by the defendants in their motion to

dismiss.

Judgment dismissing this action

without prejudice shall now issue.

eee Te ee m

So ordered

S/DAVID F. HAMILTON, Judge |

United States District Court |

Date: 11/27/02.

6. After the summary judgment for the

Defendants in . . . , 1524 was appealed to the

Seventh Court, under... , 02-4289; the District

Court in 0595 allegedly determined the merits of

EEOC Charge #240-A20-1240, and denied all

relief. Ibid., C., PP. 41-44, and PP. 49-56, for

6.

|

-

example. Also see fl 3., above, PP. 4-5.

7. The above procedure was affirmed by

the Seventh Court, which included the following

conclusion or determination. Ibid., A., P. 6:

..., A district court's denial of a

motion to amend, even if erroneous,

does not justify the filing of the pro-

posed amendment as a new lawsuit.

Time enlargements & summary judgments:

1. In its "Entry" for June 14, 2K02, the

District Court wrote the following, ir. IP-02-595.

See Appellant's Reply Brief for ..., 02-4289,

Appendix, P. 22:

ENTRY DIRECTING...

The defendants shall have

through July 10, 2002, in which

to respond to the plaintiff's mo-

tion for summary judgment and

in which to file a cross-motion

for summary judgment or any

other appropriate dispositive

action.

IT IS SO ORDERED

S/ JOHN D. TINDER, Judge

United States District Cout

Date: 6/13/2002

eS

2. After July 10, 2K02, the Defendants

filed a series of motions for time enlargements, to

respond to the Plaintiff's Summary Judgment

Motion, which was filed on May 29, 2K02. See

Appellant's Brief for ..., 03-1967, Appendix,

"Docket Sheets," Items #23, 25, 27, 28, 32, 33,

37 & 68, for example; PP. 38-41.

3. In every case - each time enlargement

was granted to the Defendants. Ibid.

4. On _ September 3, 2K02,_ the

Defendants' Summary Judgment Motion was filed.

Ibid., P. 39., Items #38-43.

5. On September 10, 2K02, the Plain-

tiff's Motion For A Favorable Summary Judgment

As A Matter Of Law, Or Grant Other Appropriate

& Fair Relief was filed. Here, the Plaintiff asked

for the following relief. Ibid., P. 80:

a. Grant the Plaintiff a favorable

‘Summary Judgment Ruling,' as a

matter of law.

b. If the Court rejects the above re-

lief, as request (sic) in Paragraph

1.a., then grant the Plaintiff a fif-

teen-month time enlargement to ap-

propriately and timely respond to the

Defendants' Motion For Summary

Judgment, and other related filings -

which were "Untimely" filed on Sep-

tember 3, 2K02. ...

6. The District Court in ..., 0595: (1)

would not assign any type of deadline for the

Plaintiff to meet; and, (2) would not grant any

type of time enlargement to Pro Se Plaintiff, to

respond to the Defendants’ Summary Judgment

Motion! Ibid.. PP. 39-41.

7. In its "Order" for July 24, 2K03, the

Seventh Court affirmed the above procedure. See

Appendix A., PP. 2-9.

8. In Gaines v. White River Environ-

mental Partnership, et al., IP-98-1741-C-M/S,

for example; the District Court gave Pro Se

Plaintiff through June 16, 2K, to fully respond to

the Defendants' Summary Judgment Motion that

was filed on July 9, 1999. Reference Appellant's

Response Brief for 02-4289, Appendix, P. 11.

This 11-month time enlargement was granted

when no other lawsuit was before any Court.

This procedure was approved on appeal in...,

00-3802, on March 23, 2K01. See Appellant's

Reply Brief for 03-1967; Appendix, PP. 7-9.

Affidavits & summary judgments

1. In its "Entry" for March 14, 2K03,

the District Court in... , IP 02-595-TK struck all

five of the Plaintiff's "Answer Affidavits" to the

Defendants’ Summary Judgment Motion. See

Appendix C., PP. 15-18.

2. The District Court claimed that Pro

Se Plaintiff's "Affidavits" were: (1) untimely

filed, and (2) were not based on Plaintiff's

personal knowledge. Ibid., PP. 16-7.

9.

3. On March 27, 2K03, Pro Se Plaintiff

filed a motion to vacate the District Court's

"Entry" of March 14, 2K03. See Appellant's

Brief for 03-1967, Appendix, P. 41, Item #77.

4. In its "Entry" for March 31, 2K03,

the District Court wrote in part the following.

See Appendix C., PP. 59-60:

The basis for each of these filings is

that the plaintiff believes the court

unfairly granted the defendants time

to file their response to the plaintiff's

motion for summary judgment while

at the same time the court struck

from the record several of the plain-

tiff's filing which were filed after his

initial response to the defendants'

motion for summary judgment. Any

relief sought by the plaintiff's March

27, 2003 filing is denied. ... More-

over, the defendants filed a single re-

sponse to the plaintiff's motion. The

plaintiff, on the other hand, never

sought additional time to file any

supplemental responses to the de-

fendants' motion. Rather, he filed

a series of responses, weeks or

months apart, without leave of the

court. This is not the proper manner

in which to brief a pending disposi-

tive motion. There was no error in

the rulings issued on March 14, 2003.

5. See P. 8. 15.

10.

6. As part of its "Order" affirming the

summary judgment for the Defendants, the

Seventh Court partially wrote the following.

Ibid., A., PP. 5-6:

... Gaines offers no explanation

why he thinks the district court erred

in granting extensions or striking his

affidavits or how he might have been

prejudiced as a result. We have

warned Gaines that unsupported

arguments will get him nowhere on

appeal.

Disputed material facts

1. Having: (1) refused to grant Pro Se

Plaintiff any type of time enlargement to respond

to the Defendants' Summary Judgment Motion, or

having failed to establish any type of deadline for

him to meet; and, (2) stricken all the Plaintiff's

"Answer Affidavits" - the District Court listed an

assortment of "Undisputed" facts, as alleged.

Ibid., PP. 28-38. Review these examples:

2. For "Fact 31," the District Court

wrote the following to deny relief to the Plaintiff.

Ibid., P. 34:

Under the current work schedule,

each individual shift supervisor is

responsible for making sure that the

Operations Specialist complete the

cleaning duties as assigned or as

11.

needed. Christie Hedges (sic) was

Gaines’ supervisor, and she did not

supervise Operations Specialists

Pate, Wood, or Lawson.

3. The Defendants shift schedule contra-

dicts the District Court's claim in 12. Ms. Hedge

supervised Mr. Lawson two days per week, and

the Plaintiff five days per week - during the same

time period. See Appellant's Reply Brief for 03-

1967, Appendix, "Plaintiff's Exhibits #342 &

345;" PP. 20 & 23.

4. For "Undisputed Fact #44," the Dis-

trict Court denied the Plaintiff relief on the fol-

lowing. P. 36:

Operation Specialists Karen Uhlen-

hake, a white female, and Operations

Specialists, James Lawson, a white

male, worked schedules comprised

largely of 7 p.m. - 7 a.m. and 11 p.m.

-7a.m. Uhlenhake and Lawson had

to visit the personnel office on their

own time if they had business that re-

quired an in-person visit.

5. When Pro Se Plaintiff attempted to

review personnel records on his own time, the

Defendants defeated the attempt. See Ap-

pellant's Reply Brief, Appendix, "Plaintiff's Ex-

hibit #343; P. 21. The Plaintiff worked the same

hours as Ms. Uhlenhake, and Mr. Lawson. Ibid..

PP. 20 & 23.

12.

6. For “Undisputed Fact #58," the

District Court wrote the following to deny the

Plaintiff relief. See Appendix C., P. 38:

WREP sets its wage level for all em-

ployees based on corporate guide-

lines that make no reference to race

or sex.

7. The Defendants contradict the above

statement, by maintaining a "Confidential File" on

the Plaintiff, where pay is based on "Race" and

"Sex." See Appellant's Reply Brief for 03-1967;

Appendix, "Plaintiff's Exhibit #334," P. 19.

8. In affirming the summary judgment

for the Defendants, the Seventh Court ignored all

the above. See Appendix A., PP. 1-8.

Conspiracy and fraud:

1. On May 1, 1967, one of the

Defendants Managers, Mr. R. Farnham, en-

couraged Pro Se Plaintiff, for example, to seek

input into changing shift schedules, by writing the

following. See Appellant's Reply Brief, Appen-

dix; "Plaintiff's Exhibit #140," P. 18:

Louis, thanks for your comments. I

know that some employees do not

care for the current shift arrange-

ments. My desire is to allow as

much employee input as possible

13.

into the decision-making. My only

criteria is that any shift arrangement

must be equitable to all affected em-

ployees, must meet the company's

needs for cross-training, and remain

within budget. Aside from this cri-

teria, the shifts could be rotating/

nenrotating, 12 hour/10 hour/8 hour,

5 shifts/4 shifts, and start on almost

any hour of the day.

2. After May 1, 1997, Mr. Farnham then

stood back and allowed “Managers” that he

supervised to give the Plaintiff letters of repri-

mand, on July 11, 1997, and January 11, 2K01; for

trying to get "Input" into changing shift

schedules. Ibid., PP. 8-11.

3. On or about January 10, 2K01, several

of the Defendants "Managers" agreed to give the

Plaintiff a letter of reprimand. The Plaintiff was

opposing a racially motivated work schedule at

the time. See Appendix C., PP. 31-2.

4. After receiving the second letter of

reprimand on January 11, 2K01, Pro Se Plaintiff

finally realized that the "Input" into changing

shift schedules, which Mr. Farnham previously

encouraged, was really for "Whites" only. The

Plaintiff is "Black." Ibid,

5. Having given the Plaintiff the above

letter of reprimand on January 11, 2K01; on

January 18, 2K01, the Defendants then blocked

the Plaintiff's attempt to timely use their internal

14.

grievance procedure to appeal the letter of repri-

mand. See Appellant's Reply Brief for 03-

1967, P. 9.

6. In the Summer of 2K02, a "White

Female," Ms. B. Miller, Operation Specialist,

was allowed to change her work schedule -

without receiving a letter of reprimand - unlike

the Plaintiff, "Black," who was given a letter of

reprimand on January 11, 2K01, for trying to get

"Input" into a racially motivated work schedule.

See Appendix C., P. 34., and Appellant's Reply

Brief for 03-1967; Appendix, "Plaintiff's Exhibits

#342 & 345," PP. 20 & 23.

7. Pro Se Plaintiff, for example, sought

relief on authority of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, Rule 9.; and, Title 42 U.S.C., §§

1981 & 1983. See Complaint for . . ., 02-0595;

PP. 1 and 3.

8. The District Court denied relief on

the claimed that Pro Se Plaintiff failed to stated a

federal authority in which relief can be granted.

See Appendix C., PP. 52-3.

9. The Seventh Court affirmed, saying:

(1) Pro Se Plaintiff failed to produce any evi-

dence of "Fraud," and (2) the Defendants are not

"State Actors;" therefore, Title 42 U.S. C., §

1983 does not apply. Ibid., C., PP. 5.

Other relevant evidence:

1. On P. 4 of its "Order" of July 24,

2K03, the Seventh Court listed ten different acts

15.

sega ml,

against the Plaintiff that denied him work place

equality.

2. The above acts deal with: (1) the

Defendants' use of "Race" and "Sex" to determine

the Plaintiff's pay; (2) different certification

standards for "Whites," and "Blacks;" (3) shun-

ning Pro Se Plaintiff; (4) unequal work loads

against the Plaintiff; (5) pretextual access to

personnel records; (6) racially motivated work

schedules, to include "Input;" (7) working the

Plaintiff without pay, "Involuntary Servitude;" (8)

retaliatory restrictions on use of E-mail; (9) the

denial of the Defendants’ internal complaint

procedure to Pro Se Plaintiff; and, (10) the

Defendants‘ expressed intent to work the Plaintiff

when he is sick. Ibid. Pe

3. The Seventh Court maintained that

none of the above acts are adverse to the Plaintiff.

Ibid., P. 6., for example.

Defendants as "State Actors:"

1. On January 30, 1994, the City of

Indianapolis, Indiana decided to privatize its two

wastewater treatment plants: Belmont and South-

port; and, the Defendants were awarded the

contract. See Appeliant's Reply Brief, Appendix

"Defendants' Statement Of Material Facts Not In

Dispute;" P. 30. Also see Appendix C., P. 25.

2. AS a contractor, and like the

Indianapolis Department of Public Works, the

Defendants continued such duties as: (1) meeting

discharge limits; (2) filed discharge reports with

16.

Indianapolis, and the State of Indiana; (3)

bargained with AFSCME Local #725; (4), main-

tained the City's "No-Smoking Policy," for

example. Ibid.

3. The Defendants do not own the

wastewater treatment plants: Belmont and

Southport; they have not leased the related

building, equipment, and land; the Defendants

simply operate and manage Belmont and South-

port - like the Indianapolis Department of Public

Works prviously did. Ibid.

4. In its "Order" for July 24, 2K03, the

Seventh Court affirmed the District Court's

determination that the Defendants are not "State

Actors," and denied Plaintiff's claims under Title

42,U.S.C., § 1983. Ibid., A., P. 5.

Seventh Court's sanctions:

1. On July 24, 2K03, the Seventh Court

ignored all the above, and declared that the

Plaintiff's appeals are "frivolous." Ibid., P. 5.

2. The Seventh Court, at the request of

the Defendants, sanctioned Pro Se Plaintiff

$2,500.00, and proposed additional sanctions,

which include preventing the Plaintiff from filing

any papers with the Seventh Court for a two-year

period. Ibid., P. 7-8. Also see Appellees' Brief

for 03-1967, PP. 14-15 & 41.

3. The Seventh Court also wrote the

following: Ibid... P. 8:

Bf.

Pursuant to the notice and opportuni-

ty requirement set forth in Fed. R.

App. P. 38 and Cir. R. 38, Gaines

has fourteen (14) days from the filing

date of this order to file with the

court his written reasons opposing

the above proposed order. Failure to

- respond shall result in automatic in-

position of the proposed sanction.

4. Using Certified Mail, 7002-2410-

0007-8918-1291, Pro Se Plaintiff timely mailed

the following on August 6, 2K03, at 10:38 a.m.,

to the Seventh Court: (1) an introductory letter;

(2) Money Order #002-814-469 for $2,500.00;

and, (3) 30 copies of Appellant's Petition For En

Banc Hearing On Rule 38 Sanctions.

5. The Plaintiff's "Return Receipt” shows

that the Office of Clerk for the Seventh Court

received the above package on August 11, 2K03.

6. Since the time of August 11, 2K03,

the Docket Sheets for... 02-4289 & 03-1967 do

not reflect the above filing and/or the $2,500.00

payment, which were timely mailed. See 1% 4.,

above.

7. The Docket Sheets, by comparison,

reflect all the Defendants’ filings for cases 02-

4289 & 03-1967. See referenced Docket Sheets.

8. All the litigation that have come

before the federal court, under Gaines v. White

River Environmental Partnership, et al., have

been provoked by the Defendants. See P. 1.

18.

Administrative procedure:

1. EEOC currently uses "Form 5," for the

charging party to state a complaint. See

Appellant Brief for 03-1967, Appendix; P. 44, for

example, which features EEOC Charge #240-A12-

457, dated August 6, 2K01..

2. In the "Name" block or space for

identifying a "Respondent," the EEOC repre-

sentative wrote "White River Environmental,"

and nothing more, because there was not enough

remaining space to write the names of the re-

aining "Respondents." Note that the word,

"Partnership" was even omitted, for spacial

reasons. Ibid.

3. The District Court rejected the above

reasoning in 12. See Appendix C., PP. 41-2.

4. When each suit was filed in a district

court, the names of the "Respondents," to include

"Managers" were listed. See Appellant's Brief

for 03-1967, PP. 1-2, for example.

5. In its "Order" for July 24, 2K03, the

Seventh Court denied relief by writing the fol-

lowing. See Appendix A., P. 5:

As to Gaines' remaining discrimina-

tion claims, the court dismissed

them as to all defendants except

White River because only White

River was named as the respondent

in any of Gaines' EEOC charges.

19.

ARGUMENT

Summary: On the one hand, the Defendants

have consistently provoked litigation in the area

of "Equal Employment Opportunity." On the

other hand, the Defendants have been able to: (1)

escape all punishment; and, (2) used the Lower

Courts to sanction Pro Se Plaintiff for trying to

defend himself against the Defendants. Through

the use of "Double-Standards" or "Inconsisten-

cies," the Lower Courts have denied the Plaintiff-

due process, and equal protection of the law. The

Plaintiff's Summary Judgment Motion has been

denied in error; he has been severely sanctioned

in error, - and the review of the Supreme Court is

needed, so that: (1) the above errors will not be.

allowed to stand against the Plaintiff; (2) the

Lower Courts will be more able to enter decisions

that are more "Consistent" with those of the

Supreme Court, and the intent of Congress.

I. The Lower Courts Have Use A System Of

"Double-Standards" To Deny Pro Se Plaintiff

Due Process & Equal Protection Of The Law

A. Legal standards

1. United States Constitution, the Fifth and

Eighth Amendments; Title 29, U.S.C., 623(a) &

623(d); Title 42, U.S.C., 88 1981, 2000e-2(a),

2000e-2(k)(c)(2), 2000e-2(m), and 2000e-3(a);

the Federal Rules of: (1) Appellant Procedure,

Rules 35 & 38; (2) Civil Procedure, Rule 56; and,

—— Rule 406. See Appendix E., PP.

-79,

20.

2. Court cases:

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

106 S. Ct. 2505; 1986:

2. Federal Civil Procedure

Substantive law will identify which

facts are material for purpose of sum-

mary judgment, as only disputes over

facts that might affect the outcome of

suit under the governing law will prop-

erly preclude the entry of summary

judgment; factual disputes that are ir-

relevant or unnecessary will not be

counted. Federal Rules Civ. Proc.

Rule 56(c), 28 U.S.C. A.

Harris v. Forklift Systems, Inc.,

126L Ed 2d 295; 1993:

Civil Rights § 7.6, 7.7

_ ...3 Title VII comes into play, however,

before the harassing conduct leads to a

nervous breakdown, and (2) ..., the

very fact that the discriminatory con-

duct was so severe or pervasive that it

created a work environment abusive to

employees because of their race, gen-

der, religion or national origin offends

Title VII's broad rule of workplace

equality.

Gilbert v. Homar,

138 L Ed 2d 120, 121; 1997:

Constitutional Law

4. Due process is not a technical con-

ception with a fixed content unrelated

to time, place, and circumstances;

rather, it is flexible and calls for such

procedural protection as the particular

situation demands.

B. Argument: examples of judicial double-

standards that wrongfully favor the Defendants,

and wrongfully affected the outcome: (1) see

"Motions to amend and summary judgments, PP.

4-7; (2) see "Time enlargements & summary

judgments, PP. 7-9; (3) see "Affidavits & sum-

mary judgments, PP. 9-11; (4) see "Disputed

material facts," PP. 11-13; (5) see "Conspiracy

and fraud," PP. 13-15; (6) see "Other relevant

evidence," PP. 15-16. On the one hand, the

Plaintiff has been, and continues to be, denied

"Work Place Equality." On the other hand, the

Plaintiff has been denied the constitutional right

to a "Fair Judicial Procedure," which serves the

interest of the Defendants. These injustices

cannot be allowed to stand.

II. When Indianapolis Hired The Defendants

To Manage & Operate Its Wastewater

Treatment Plants - The Defendants

Became "State Actors"

22.

A. Legal standards

1. Title 42, U.S.C., § 1983, and the Federal

Rules of Evidence, Rule 406. See Appendix E.,

PP. 75 & 79.

2. Court cases:

Shirley v. State National Bank Of Con-

necticut, 493 F.2d 739, 740; 1974:

2. Civil Rights

Within meaning of civil rights statue a

private person may act under color of

law. 42 U.S.C.A., § 1983.

Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing Products,

Inc., 147 L Ed 2d 105, 110; 2001:

Civil Rights § 7.5 - employment

12. The ultimate question in every em-

ployment discrimination case involving

a claim of disparate treatment is

whether the plaintiff was the victim of

intentional discrimination.

Brentwood Academy v. Tennessee

Secondary School Athletic Association, et al.,

148 L Ed 2d 807, 807, 810-11; 2001:

Decision: Tennessee state association

23.

incorporated to regulate athletic com-

petition among state's public and private

secondary schools held to be state actor

for purpose of Federal Constitution's

Fourteenth Amendment. P. 807.

Civil Rights § 26...,

5a, 5b. If a derendant's conduct satis-

fies the state-action requirement of the

Federal Constitution's Fourteenth

Amendment, then the conduct also con-

stitutes action under color of state law

for purpose of 42 USCS § 1983.

P. 810.

Constitutional Law § 520...

11. Government coercion or en-

couragement may, under some circum-

stances, justify characterizing an ob-

tensibly private action as public in-

stead, for purpose of the Federal Con-

Stitution's Fourteenth Amendment.

Ibid., P. 811.

McCormick v. City of Chicago,

30 F.3d 319 (7th Cir. 2000)

5. Federal Civil Procedure

Pro se complaints are to be liberally

construed and not held to the stringent

standards expected of pleadings drafted

by lawyers.

24.

Curtis 1000, Inc., v. Suess,

24 F.3d 941 (7th Cir. 1994)

3. Torts

Tort of intentional interference with

advantageous business relations no

longer requires that relation interferred

with be one emboided in formal con-

tract. -

Kolstad v. American Dental Ass'n,

119 S. Ct. 2118, 2119; 1999:

6. Damages

Egregious or outrageous acts may serve

as evidence supporting inference of

evil motive required to impose punitive

damages.

B. Agrument: One, a fair review of the

evidence showns that the Defendants are "State

Actors," which includes their ability to affect

commerce. See "Defendants as 'State Actors,"

PP. 16-7. Two, the Defendants have: (1)

conspired and committed fraud against the

Plaintiff; (2) willfully provoked litigation in the

federal courts; (3) caused Pro Se Plaintiff to

suffer an "Irreparable Injury;" and, (4) sought

and received severe sanctions against the

Plaintiff. Three, having willfully engaged in the

foregoing acts - the Defendants now hope to

escape all financial responsibility to the Plaintiff,

by claiming that they are not "State Actors." or

25.

such a claim is being made, in their behalf, by the

"Lower Courts." Ibid. Also see PP. 1-19.

III. The Seventh Court Has Sanctioned

Pro Se Plaintiff In "Bad Faith"

A. Legal standards

1. See "Legal standards," P. 20.

2. See these previously cited court cases:

Gilbert v. Homar, P. 22; Reeves v. Sanderson

Plumbing Products, Inc., P. 23; and, McCormick

v. City of Chicago, P. 24.

B. Argument: One, the "Lower Courts” look

to the Defendants for legal guidance, instead of

looking to the Supreme Court for the same, or

following the intent of Congress - as it applies to

this case. See PP. 17-20, for example. Also

see "Entry" on PP. 5-6. Two, the Seventh

Court's sanction represents another "Double-

Standard” against the Plaintiff, which cannot be

allowed to stand.

IV. EEOC "Form 5" Should Be Revised Or

Declared "Unconstitutional," And All The

Defendants Named In The Complaint Should

Be Retained, To Include "Managers"

A. Legal standards.

1. See relevant legal authority, P. 20.

26.

2. See Anderson y. Liberty Lobby, Inc., P.

21, and Gilbert v. Homar., P. 22; and, Mc-

Cormick v. City of Chicago, PP. 24-5.

B. Argument: One, in its present form,

EEOC "Form 5" is unlawfully bias towards em-

ployers, because the space for identifying the

"Name" of an employer is so small that it

discourages or prevents the naming of more than

one or two "Respondents." Two, even though the

Seventh Court has said that "Pro Se complaints

are to be liberally construed," this standard was

contradicted by the Lower Courts - when they

dismissed the names of "Defendants" that did not

appear in the "Name" box on EEOC "Form 5."

Three, the "Lower Courts" have acted in bad faith,

or in error; or, EEOC "Form 5" is in error. See

Administrative Procedure, P. 19.

V. Since The Defendants Have Provoked All

Ligitation, And Since The Seventh Court Has

Sanctioned Pro Se Plaintiff $3,600.00 In

"Bad Faith;" The Plaintiff Is All The More

Entitled To Be Paid For An "Irreparable

Injury" That The Defendants Willfully Caused

A. Legal standards:

1. See relevant "Legal Standards" on P. 1.

2. See relevant courts cases; PP. 21-26.

B. Argument: One, the Plaintiff is entitled

27.

to "Equal Employment Opportunity." Two, based

on the Plaintiff's opposition to the Defendants’

unlawful employment practices - the Defendants

caused the Plaintiff to suffer an on-the-job,

"Irreparable Injury," on June 2, 1999, while he

was actively engaged in "Discovery." Three, the

Plaintiff is entitled to be paid, too! See PP. 4-20.

VI. The Defendants Have Engaged In

Conspiracy, And Fraud Against

Pro Se Plaintiff

A. Legal standards

1. See Title 42 U.S.C § 623(d); Title 42 U. S.-

C., $8 1981, 1981(c), 1983, 2000e-2(a); and,

20003-3(a); the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

Rule 9b; and, the Federal Rules of Evidence, Ruie

406. See Appendix E., PP. 74-80.

2. Also see these court cases: (1) Anderson v.

Liberty Lobby, Inc., P. 21; Reeves v. Sanderson

Plumbing Products, Ind., P. 23; McCormick v.

City of Chicago, P. 24; Curtis 1000, Inc., v.

Suess, P. 25; and, Kolstad vy. American Dental .

Ass'n, P. 25.

B. Argument: One, see PP. 13-15; PP. 16-

17; and, PP. 17-19. Two, the Defendants'

"Conspiracy & Fraud" against Pro Se Plaintiff

have denied him equal employment opportunity,

and subjected him severe sanctions before the

Seventh Court. These injustices against the

Plaintiff cannot be allowed to stand!

28.

Conclusion

The "Material Facts" in this case fairly and

sufficiently show that: (1) Pro Se Plaintiff has

been denied "Equal Employment Opportunity;”

(2) the right to a "Fair Judicial Procedure;" and,

(3) the review of the Supreme Court is needed, in

order to prevent the foregoing injustices from

Standing against Pro Se Plaintiff. Therefore, and

on the foregoing authority, as stated on PP. 20-

28; grant the following relief: (1) reverse the

summary judgment fir the Defendants; (2)

declare the Defendants to be "State Actors;" (3)

direct the Seventh Court to return $3,600.00 to the

Plaintiff, which were wrongfully paid as fines; (4)

award the requested monetary damages against

each Defendant and "Manager" that are named in

the suit; (5) declare EEOC "Form 5" to be uncon-

stitutional, or direct EEOC to revise it, so that all

the names of the "Respondents" can be readily

listed; and, (6) award the Plaintiff fair monetary

damages for an "Irreparable Injury" that the

Defendants have previously and willfully caused

him to needlessly suffer!

Sincerely,

ame aa

IS F. GAI ; October 13, 2K03

Pro Se

29.

APPENDIX

30.

TABLE OF APPENDIX

APPENDIX:

A:

Seventh Court

District Court (... 1524)

District Court (... 0595)

Other Relevant Rulings

Legal Authority

PAGE

14,

62.

73.

APPENDIX A: Seventh Court's Order

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For The Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

Submitted June 24, 2003

Decided July 24, 2003

Before

Hon. W. J. BAUER, Circuit Judge

Hon. J. L. COFFEY, Circuit Judge

Hon. D. A. MANION, Circuit Judge

Appeal from the

United States Dis-

tricb>Court for the

Southern District

of Indiana, India-

LOUIS F. GAINES,

J

)

WHITE RIVER ENVIRON- napolis Division.

]

]

]

Plaintiff-Appellant,

No. 02-4289 v.

MENTAL PARTNER-

SHIP,

Defendant- Appellee.

No. 02 C 1524

David F. Hamil-

ton, Judge

ishsieiblieeaaamaaadamene nate ]

LOUIS F. GAINES, ] Appeal from the

Plaintiff-Appellant, ] United States Dis-

] trict Court for the

No. 03-1967 v. _ ] Southern District

] of Indiana, India-

WHITE RIVER ENVIRON- | napolis Division.

MENTAL PARTNERSHIP,

IWC RESOURCES COR- ij No. 02 C 595

PORATION, SUEZ, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees. ] John D. Tinder,

Judge.

ORDER

The following are before the court:

1. DEFENDANTS-APPELLEES' MOTION TO

DISMISS PLAINTIFF-APPELLANTS' APPEAL

AS MOOT, filed on May 5, 2003, in No. 02-4289

by counsel.

Nos. 02-4289, 03-1967 Page 2

2. APPELLANT S RESPONSE BRIEF, filed on

June 5, 2003, in No. 02-4289 by appellant Louis F.

Gaines, proceeding pro se.

Louis Gaines, an African American male in

his 50s has a history of suing his employer,

appellee White River Environmental Partnership

("White River"), for employment discrimination

and retaliation, and then filing frivolous appeals

from the district court's order in those cases. See

Gaines v. White River Envtl. P'ship, et al., No.

02-3849, 2003 WL 1827209 (7th Cir. 2003) (re-

viewing Gaines’ litigation history). We have

admonished Gaines repeatedly to stop filing

frivolous appeals and sanctioned him twice for

failing to heed our warnings. Id. at *3.

These appeals are more of the same; they

arise from Gaines' third and fourth lawsuits

against White River. In his third lawsuit Gaines

8

alleged that White River and three other de-

fendants discriminated and retaliated against him

in violation of various amendments to the

Constitution, 42 U.S.C. §§ 1981 and 1983, Title

VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §

2000e, and the Age Discrimination in Employment

Act, 29 U.S.C. § 621. He also asserted claims

for "conspiracy" and "fraud." Gaines' com-plaint

in the third suit is based on three charges he filed

with the Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission ("EEOC"). In his EEOC charges

Gaines alleged that White River (1) determined

its employees’ pay based on their race and sex, (2)

required Gaines but not Caucasian employees to

substantiate that he was certified to perform his

job, (3) ordered supervisors to avoid written

communication with Gaines due to his pending

legal action against White River, (4) assigned him

"cleaning duty" more often than Caucasian

employees, (5) required him to use personal time

to visit the personnel office, (6) refused his

requests to change his work schedule while

granting Caucasian employees' requests, (7)

refused to pay him for "confined space training,"

(8) restricted his e-mail privileges without

adequate explanation, (9) denied his internal

EEOC complaints, and (10) expressed willing-

ness to require him to work when he is sick. In

the fourth lawsuit, Gaines filed a complaint

virtually identical to the one in his third lawsuit,

except that it is based on only one of the three

charges from that third lawsuit.

The district court dismissed the fourth

lawsuit as duplicative and granted summary

judgment in favor of the appellees in the third

lawsuit. The court concluded that Gaines' claims

4.

in one of his EEOC charges were barred by res

judicata because they were disposed of in Gaines

v. White River Envtl. P'ship, et al., IP 01-1158-

H/K (S.D. Ind. Sept. 30, 2002), aff'd, No. 02-

3849, 2003 WL 1827209 (7th Cir. 2003). As to

Gaines' remaining discrimination and retaliation

claims, the court dismissed them as to all

defendants except White River because only

White River was named as the respondent in any

of Gaines' EEOC charges. As to White River, the

court concluded that Gaines failed to establish his

prima facie case and presented no evidence of

pretext. The court rejected Gaines' conspiracy and

fraud claims because he failed to produce a "shred

of evidence" that the appellees either agreed

Nos. 02-4289, 03-1967 Page 3

to engage in any illegal activity or made any

misrepresentations on which Gaines relied.

Finally, the court rejected Gaines' § 1983 claims

because none of the appellees are state actors.

Gaines appealed in both cases, and we con-

solidated the appeals for disposition on our own

motion. 3

Gaines' appeals are frivolous. As to Gaines'

appeal from the third suit, his brief merely

recounts his past litigation against White River,

reasserts his claims, and contains a conclusory

assertion that the district court unfairly ad-

vantaged White River by (1) granting White River

extensions of time to respond to Gaines' summary

judgment motion while denying Gaines any exten-

sions; and (2) allowing White River to file

affidavits while striking those Gaines submitted.

Gaines offers no explanation why he thinks the

&

district court -erred in granting extensions or

striking his affidavits or how he might have been

prejudiced as a result. We have warned Gaines

that unsupported arguments will get him nowhere

on appeal. See Gaines, No. 00-3802, 2001 WL

298592 at *1. Additionally, Gaines fails to

identify any error in (or even mention) the district

court's order granting summary judgment, which

is not surprising given that we have already

specifically explained to him why much of the

conduct he complaints of is not actionable. See id.

(allegations relating "to e-mail abuses and to

decisions about shift rotations and _ training

sessions" do not constitute adverse employment

actions); Gaines, No. 02-3849, 2003 WL 1827209

at *3 (explaining that Gaines has no § 1983 claim

against White River because White River is not a

state actor).

As to Gaines’ appeal in the fourth lawsuit, he

does not dispute that his complaint was du-

plicative. Instead, he argues that he had to file it

because the district court refused to allow him to

amend his complaint in the third lawsuit when the

EEOC issued a right-to-sue notice on one of the

charges in that complaint. This contention is

devoid of merit. A district court's denial of a

motion to amend, even if erroneous, does not

justify the filing of the proposed amendment as a

new lawsuit. And we note that the record shows

that the district court denied Gaines leave to

amend because he requested it before the EEOC

issued the right-to-sue notice and without

identifying any new claims to be added. After the

EEOC issued the notice, Gaines never renewed his

request to amend.

In short, Gaines has completely. disregarded

our prior sanctions and repeated warnings in

pursing this appeals, which serve only to rehash

his failed claims and waste this court's valuable

resources. Accordingly, the district court's orders

are AFFIRMED, and Gaines is sanctioned for

filing frivolous appeals in the amount of $2,500.00

payable to the clerk of this court within 14 days of

this order. Additionally, because our prior

warnings and sanctions have been ineffective to

deter Gaines from frivolous filings, we propose to

the following order:

Nos. 02-4289, 03-1967 Page 4

Louis Gaines, individually, with others, or

through a representative, is prohibited from filing

any papers in this court, excluding criminal and

habeas corpus proceedings; until the following

requirements are met: Gaines must file a "Motion

Pursuant to Court Order Seeking Leave to File"

and attach

(a) a copy of the proposed paper to be filed:

(b) a copy of this order:

(c) proof of payment of the $2,500.00 sanc-

tion imposed by this court in case Nos. 02-4289

and 03-1967 in the form of a copy of a certified

check or money order, a Signed receipt for the

check or money order by the proper recipient, and

a sworn affidavit by Gaines that full payment has

been made;

(d) and a sworn affidavit by Louis Gaines

certifying that the matters raised in the proposed

ts

filing are not frivolous and have not been raised

by him in prior suits.

Gaines is authorized to submit to this court, no

earlier than two years from the date of this order, a

motion to modify or rescind the order. If Gaines

disregards the order we enter today, he will be

subject to contempt charges.

Pursuant to the notice and opportunity

requirement set forth in Fed. R. App. P. 38 and

Cir. R. 38, Gaines has fourteen (14) days from the

filing date of this order to file with the court his

written reasons opposing the above proposed

order. Failure to respond shall result in automatic

imposition of the proposed sanction. See Ver-

done v. Circuit Court of Taylor County, 73 F.3d

669, 674-75 (7th Cir. 1995) (imposing

substantially identical sanctions on appellant for

repeatedly filing of frivolous appeals); see also

Perry v. Pogemiller; 16 F.3d 138, 140 (7th Cir.

1993) ("[FJederal courts possess the inherent

power and constitutional obligation to prevent

abuse of the judicial process by a litigant who

engages in a pattern of frivolous litigation.").

Finally, White River advises us that Gaines

filed yet another lawsuit against it on May 16,

2003, case No. 03 CV 723. White River is

DIRECTED to provide a copy of this order to the

district court in that case. White River's motion to

dismiss in case No. 02-4289 is DENIED as moot.

APPENDIX B: District Court (... 1524)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

LOUIS F. GAINES,

Plaintiff,

Vv. 1:02-cv-1524-DFH

WHITE RIVER EN-

VIRONMENTAL PART-

NERSHIP, et al. ,

Defendants.

ENTRY

"As part of its general power to administer

its docket, a district court may stay or dismiss a

suit that is duplicative of another federal court

suit." Curtis v. Citibank, N.A., 226 F.3d 133,

138 (2d Cir. 2000). The claims asserted in this

action are or could be asserted in Gaines v. White

River Environmental Partnership, et al., No. IP

02-595-C-T/K. Accordingly, the defendants’ mo-

tion to disviiss is granted insofar as based on the

argument that this duplicative action should not

be permitted to proceed. The court does not

reach any of the other arguments presented by the

defendants in their motion to dismiss.

Judgment dismissing this action without prejudice

shall now issue.

So ordered.

S/ DAVID F. HAMILTON, Judge

United States District Court

Date: 11/27/02 -

11.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

LOUIS F. GAINES,

Plaintiff,

WHITE RIVER EN-

VIRONMENTAL PART-

)

)

v. ) 1:02-cv-1524-DFH

)

NERSHIP, et al. , )

JUDGMENT

This court, having this day made its Entry,

IT IS NOW ADJUDGED that this cause of action

is dismissed without prejudice.

S/ DAVID F. HAMILTON, Judge

United States District Court

Date: 11/27/02

Copies to:

Louis F. Gaines

5337 N. College Avenue

Indianapolis, IN 46220

Alan McLaughlin

Eric Papier

Baker & Daniels

300 N. Meridian St., Suite 2700 -

Indianapolis, IN 46204

13.

iat _—

APPENDIX C: District Court (... 0595)

14.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

LOUIS F. GAINES, - )

Plaintiff

v. IP 02-595-T/K

WHITE RIVER ENVI- )

RONMENTAL PART- )

NERSHIP, et al., )

)

)

Defendants

ENTRY DISCUSSING SELECTED

PENDING MOTIONS

I.

The defendants' motion to extend deadline,

Filed on August 30, 2002, is granted. This means

that the defendants' filing of September 3, 2002, is

deemed to be a timely response to the plaintiff's

motion for summary judgment.

IT.

A.

The court has considered the following

motions to strike, filed by the defendants.

Motion to strike answer affidavit to

defendants' motion for summary judgment, filed

December 24, 2002.

Motion to strike plaintiff's response

affidavit to the affidavits of C. Hedge and G.

Suever, filed January 3, 2003.

Motion to strike plaintiff's response

affidavit to the affidavit of Pam Wolsiefer-Leak,

filed January 17, 2003.

Motion to strike plaintiff's response

affidavit to the affidavit of George Russell, filed

February 19, 2003.

Motion to strike plaintiff's response

affidavit of Rick Farnham, filed March 10, 2003.

B.

The motions to strike itemized in part II. A.

of this Entry are granted. The reasons for this

ruling are these.

First, the affidavits to which the above ~

motions are directed were not timely submitted in

relation to the briefing of the cross-motion for

Summary judgment, yet as noted in Spears v.

City of Indianapolis, 74 F.3d 153, 157 (7th Cir.

1996): "We live in a world of deadlines ... A good

judge sets deadlines, and the judge has a right to

assume that the deadlines were honored. The flow

of cases through a busy district court is aided, not

hindered, by adherence to deadlines." Materials

submitted after the expiration of a deadline need

16.

Ee ee

not be considered. Gonzalez v. Ingersoll Mill-

ing Machine Company, 133 F.3d 1025, 1030 (7th

Cir. 1998); Lac Du Fambeau Band of Lake Su-

perior Chippewa Indians y. Stop Treaty Abuse -

Wisconsin, Inc., 991 F.2d 1249, 1257 (7th Cir.

1993) ("[A] decision to disregard all materials

submitted after a reasonable filing deadline is

certainly not an abuse of discretion because it

allows the district court to preserve the moving

party's right to respond to the resisting party's

argument and to decide the Summary judgment

motion in a timely fashion.") (citation omitted).

Second, those affidavits are insufficient

under Rule 56(e) insofar as they rest on

Speculation, insofar as they present matters

outside the issues in this action, insofar as they

are not based on Mr. Gaines’ personal knowledge,

and insofar as they present legal conclusion,

rather than facts. Cusson-Cobb y. O'Lessker,

953 F.2d 1079, 1081 (7th Cir. 1992); Pfeil y.

Rogers, 757 F.2d 850, 862 (7th Cir. 1985), cert.

denied, 475 U.S. 1107 (1986).

C.

The defendants' motion to Strike filed on

December 3, 2002, directed to the plaintiff's

response to the defendants' motion for s

judgment, is denied with respect to the issue of

the timing of that response and is granted to the

extent that the court will not consider material in

that response which do not satisfy the re-

quirements of Rule 56(e).

17.

ITT.

The defendants' motion to strike filed on

September 25, 2002, is granted to the extent that

plaintiff's affidavit of September 10, 2002, to

which the motion to strike filed on September 25,

2002, is directed, is insufficient under Rule 56(e)

because it rests on speculation, it presents matters

outside the issues in this action, and it presents

legal conclusions, rather than facts. The

defendants' request to strike the affidavit of

September 10, 2002, in its entirety based on its

assertedly scandalous content is denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

S / JOHN D. TINDER, Judge

United States District Court

Date: 3/14/2003

Copies to:

Louis F. Gaines

5337 N. College Avenue

Indianapolis, IN 46220

Alan McLaughlin

Eric Papier

Baker & Daniels

300 N. Meridian St., Suite 2700

Indianapolis, IN 46204

18.

ee ee

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

LOUIS F. GAINES,

Plaintiff,

vs. IP 02-595-T/K

WHITE RIVER ENVI-

RONMENTAL PART-

NERSHIP, et al.,

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

‘

Defendants. )

ENTRY DISCUSSING ADDITIONAL

SELECTED PENDING MOTIONS

Plaintiff Gaines' motion for a favorable

summary judgment, or for appropriate summary

judgment relief against the defendants and a

Supporting affidavit, both filed on July 29, 2002,

recites that he was asked to work Overtime on

June 27, 2002, and on July 10, 2002. Gaines .

contends that these requests to have him work

Overtime were a pretext to endanger him by

having him work a 16-hour day.

On August 16, 2002, the defendants filed a

motion to strike Gaines filing of July 29, 2002, on

the basis that Gaines objection to overtime fails to

state a claim, that through his objection he

attempts to improperly add a claim without

obtaining leave to amend his complaint, and that

such an additional claim would in any event be

legally insufficient because, to the extent based

on Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 or the

Age Discrimination in Employment Act, Gaines

failed to exhaust his administrative remedies. The

court finds that each basis for the defendants’

motion to strike has merit. Accordingly, the

plaintiff's motion for a favorable summary

judgment, or for appropriate summary judgment

relief against the defendants, filed on July 29,

2002, is denied, the defendants’ motion to strike

filed on August 16, 2002, is granted, and no claim

relating to Gaines assigned or asked to work

overtime in July or July 2002 shall be considered

part of this action.

II.

On August 8, 2002, Gaines filed a motion

for appropriate summary judgment relief, and an

affidavit in support. Through this motion and

affidavit, Gaines seeks to add claims of alleged

acts of evasiveness and retaliation. These

allegations are the following: in January 2002, he

want not required to attend weekly meetings that

only white managers attended; he was forced to

work sixteen hours days on July 28, 2002, and

August 5, 2002; on August 5, 2002, he came to

work eight hours earlier than normal thinking he

was supposed to work a sixteen hour day, not

20.

knowing that the work schedule had been

changed, forcing him to go home and return to

work eight hours later; he did not receive a

prompt response to his inquiry whether the

bereavement leave policy applied to daughter-In-

laws or son-in-laws, so that he did not know that

such leave would in fact be granted until after he

took the leave; and in August 2002 he was

required to show proof of his wastewater

treatment plant operator certification, when such a

requirement was not enforced against white

operators.

On August 28, 2002, defendants filed a

motion to strike the August 8, 2002, motion and

affidavit. The defendants argue that Gaines

improperly attempting to expand the claims in this

action, contrary to the court's Statement in the

Entry of July 9, 2002, that "the parties are free to

seek summary judgment as to the claims or

defenses which are presented by the pleadings,

but are not free to use the summary judgment

Process as a substitute for actual pleadings in

order to modify the claims or defenses in the

case." Defendants argue that the Claims that

Gaines has been required to provide proof of his

certification was asserted in Gaines v. White

River Environmental Partnership, et al., IP01-

1158-H/K (S.D. Ind. September 30, 2002), and

again in this action. Defendants also argue that

Gaines has filed to exhaust his administrative

remedies with respect to the remaining claims

asserted in Gaines' August 8, 2002, motion.

With the exception of the certification claim,

none of the allegations asserted in Gaines' August

8, 2002, motion were included with an EEOC

21.

charge of discrimination or retaliation before this

action was filed. This circumstance precludes the

court from considering such claims. Cheek v.

_ Western and Southern Life Ins. Co., 31 F.3d 497,

500 (7th Cir. 1994) ("a Title VII plaintiff cannot

bring claims in a lawsuit that were not included in

her EEOC charge") (citing Alexander v. Gard-

ner-Denver Co., 415 U. S. 36, 47 (1974)). Even

if Gaines had timely filed an EEOC charge

concerning these allegations, the court finds that

none of these alleged acts subjected Gaines to an

adverse employment action, which is a required

element of a retaliation claim. Stone v. City of

Indianapolis Public Utilities Div., 281 F.3d

640, 644 (7th Cir. 2002). In addition, the

certification claim is duplicative of that brought

in another lawsuit and will not be relitigated here.

The plaintiff's motion for appropriate summary

judgment relief, filed on August 8, 2002, is

denied, and the defendants’ motion to strike

plaintiff's motion for appropriate summary

judgment relief and plaintiff's affidavit in support,

filed on August 28, 2002, is granted.

III.

The plaintiff's motion for a favorable

summary judgment as a matter of law, or grant

other appropriate and fair relief, filed on

September 10, 2002, seeks relief based, in part, on

his contention that the defendants' motion for

summary judgment, filed on September 3, 2002,

was not timely filed. In light of the court's ruling

in Part I of the Entry Discussing Selected Pending

Motions issued on March 14, 2003, finding that

"the defendants’ filing on September 3, 2002, is

22.

_- —e-, OO ee eee rea

deemed to be a timely response to the plaintiff's

motion for summary judgment," and because the

court finds that no other relief sought by the

plaintiff through his September 10, 2002, motion,

is warranted, that motion is denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

S/JOHN D. TINDER, Judge

United States District Court

Date: 3/26/2003

Copies to:

Louis F. Gaines

5337 N. College Avenue

Indianapolis, IN 46220

Alan McLaughlin

Eric Papier

Baker & Daniels

300 N. Meridian St., Suite 2700

Indianapolis, IN 46204

23.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

LOUIS F. GAINES,

Plaintiff

2"

WHITE RIVER ENVIRON-

MENTAL PARTNERSHIP,

et al.,

)

)

)

vs. ) IP 02-595-T/K

)

)

)

Defendants

ENTRY DISCUSSING CROSS MOTIONS

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT AND DI-

RECTING ENTRY OF FINAL JUDGMENT

For the reasons explained in this Entry, the

plaintiff's many claims in this action for

employment discrimination do not survive the

_defendants' motion for summary judgment, which

must be granted, and the plaintiff's own motion

for summary judgment must be denied.

I. Background

A. Parties

The plaintiff in this action is Louis Gaines,

ee

who has been employed for many years by the

White River Environment Partnership ("WREP"),

who operates water treatment facilities in Marion

County Indiana.

The defendants are WREP and its individual

partners, those being IWC Resources, United

Water Services and Lyonnaise American Holding,

a wholly-owned U.S. subsidiary of Suez Ly-

onnaise Des Eaux.

B. Claims

Gaines' complaint, filed on April 19, 2002,

asserts claims pursuant to various provision of the

United States Constitution, those being the First,

Fifth, Eighth, and Thirteenth Amendments. He

also alleges a claim for "conspiracy" and "fraud."

His statutory claims are brought pursuant to the

(1) the Age Discrimination in Employment Act

("ADEA"), (2) Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964 ("Title VII"), (3) 42 U.S.C § 1981, and §

1983.

Gaines seeks 2 million dollars in punitive

damages from each of the four defendants, and 10

thousand dollars from each of four individuals

who are described as "managers," but who are not

named as defendants.

C. Procedural Posture

After Gaines' complaint was filed, the

defendants appeared and filed their answer. Some

effort was made to expand the claims in the case,

but the effort was never formalized and hence was

not effective. Various non-disposive motions

25.

have been resolved through separate rulings.

All parties have now moved for summary

judgment, and those motions are ripe for ruling.

See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 447 U.S.

242, 255 (1986). The purpose of Rule 56 is to

"enable a party who believes there is no genuine

dispute as to a specific fact essential to the other

side's case to demand at least one sworn averment

of that fact before the lengthy process of litigation

continues." Lujan v. National Wildlife Federa-

tion, 497 U.S. 871, 888 (1990). Pursuant to Rule

56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, a

motion for summary judgment shall be granted "if

the pleadings, depositions, answers to _ inter-

rogatories, and admissions on file, together with

the affidavits, if any, show that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and that the

moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter

of law." A "material fact" is one that "might

affect the outcome of the suit." Anderson Vv.

Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986).

"Factual disputes are ‘genuine’ only ‘if the evi-

dence is such that a reasonable jury could return a

verdict for the [nonmovant]." Oest v. Illinois

Dep't of Corrections, 240 F.3d 605, 610 (7th Cir.

2001) (quoting Anderson, 477 U.S. at 248)*

* Through the process described above,

"summary judgment serves as the ultimate screen

to weed out truly insubstantial lawsuits prior to

that." Crawford - El v. Britton, 523 U.S. 574,

600 (1998). Although the moving party must

initially identify the basis for its contention that

no genuine issue of material facts exists, the

26.

nonmoving party cannot rest on his pleadings, but

must produce his own evidence. Hughes vy.

Joilet Correctional Ctr., 931 F.2d 425, 428 (7th

Cir. 1991). The burden is therefore on the non-

movant to set forth "specific facts showing that

there is a genuine issue for trial." Eiland v.

Trinity Hosp., 150 F.3d 747, 750 (7th Cir. 1998)

(quoting Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e)).

Because the defendants seek the entry of

Summary judgment, and because Gaines is

proceeding wihout counsel, the notice required by

Lewis v. Faulkner, 689 F.2d 100 (7th Cir. 1982),

and by Local Rule 56.1, was issued. Through this

notice, Gaines was notified of the nature of the

motion for summary judgment, the proper manner

in which to respond, and the consequences of

failing to respond. This information assures that

Gaines' claims receive the fair and meaningful

consideration to which they are entitled, within

the scope of applicable rules of procedure and, of

course, the substantive law. Gaines has responded

to the defendants’ motion with a discusion of his

claims and with a submission of numerous

documents.

The court notes that a substantial portion of

material presented by Gaines in Support of his

motion for summary judgment relates to

background information and to claims asserted in

two prior lawsuits brought against WREP. Even

if some of these matters could be thought to be

disputed, such a dispute over irrelevant or

unnecessary facts does not preclude s

judgment. See Hardin v. S.C Johnson & Son,

Inc., 167 F.3d 340, 344 (7th Cir. 1999). Facts are

taken from the evidentiary record here only

insofar as they are "material" as determined by

the substantive law. See McGinn vy, Burlington

27.

Northern R.R., 102 F.3d 295, 299 (7th Cir. 1996).

D. Material Facts

On the basis of the pleadings and the

expanded record, and specifically on the portions

of that record which comply with the

requirements of Rule 56(e) for admissible

evidence, the following facts are undisputed for

the purposes of the cross-motions for summary

judgment.

1. In 1994, WREP began operating

Indianapolis' Advanced Wastewater Treatment

System (the "Plant"). The Plant has two facilities:

Belmont and Southport.

2. Gaines has been employed by WREP as an

Operation Specialist in the Operation Department

since January 30, 1994.

The New 2001 Shift Schedule

3. WREP management maintains final

authority, at all times, to direct the work of the

Operation Specialists and set their work

schedules.

4. In December, 2000, Operation Manager

George Russell ("Russell") had to devise a method

to rank all Operations Specialists to determine the

bidding order on the new shift that would go into

effect in January, 2001. Russell's task was

28.

————————E—eo

complicated by the fact that many of the current

Operations Specialists’ job descriptions did not

become effective until December, 1995.

3. The method Russell developed in Decem-

ber, 2000, to determine shift bidding order for the

Operations Specialists' new schedule involved

first ranking all Operations Specialist based upon

their time in the position since late 1995.

6. In the event that Operation Specialist had

the same amount of time in their position since

late 1995, Russell used their Original date of hire,

either with WREP or the City of Indianapolis, as a

tie-breaker.

7. On December 22, 2000, Russell

announced in an e-mail message to all Operations

Specialists that, based on his ranking method,

Everette Pate ("Pate") would receive first pick for

a schedule, Mike Wood ("Wood") was second and

Gaines was third out of ten Operation Specialists.

8. On January 1 and 2, 2001, Gaines sent e-

mail messages to multiple individuals asking that

WREP review Russell's methods for determining

the shift-selection order for violations of the

Company's Equal Employment Opportunity

Policy.

9. On January 4, 2001, in response to Gaines’

complaint, as well as complaints received from

other Operations Specialists, Russell put the new

shift schedule for Operation Specialist on hold

29.

EE

while he re-evaluated the methods he used for

determining seniority.

10. Also on January 4, 2001, Project

Manager Pam Wolsiefer-Leak ("Wolsiefer-Leak’)

sent an e-mail message to Gaines in which she

told Gaines that Russell was looking at his request

and that there was "no need for anyone else to get

involved."

11. On January 5, 2001, Gaines sent an e-

mail message to Human Resources Manager

Ginny Suever ("Suever"), Wolsiefer-Leak and

Supervising Operations and Maintenance En-

gineer David WHackworth ("Hackworth") re-

questing that Human Resources Department re-

view Russell's methods for determining seniority

to "prevent a conflict of interest." Because

Gaines disagreed with the rankings, he refused to

~ select a shift schedule and Russell assigned him

one.

R II’ 1 Shift Rotation Directi

12. On January 5, 2001, Russell sent an e-

mail message to all Operations Specialists

informing them that, effective January 8, 2001,

the rotation for all Operations Specialists between

the Belmont and Southport facilities would be

every two weeks.

13. In January 5, 2001 e-mail message

regarding the rotation between the Belmont and

Southport plants, Russell stated that failure to

follow his directive would be considered a Com-

pany policy violation for failing to follow a direct

order and insubordination.

30.

PA a el Ja ie Sy ae La rk east ea > i oie

14. Russell implemented the new rotation

policy to ensure that all Operations Specialists

gained sufficient experience working at both

facilities, which would make the Operations

Specialists staff as a whole more versatile and

create greater scheduling flexibility.

15. On January 9, 2001, Gaines sent an e-

mail message to Russell, Wolsiefer-Leak, Suever

and Hackworth questioning the wisdom of

Russell's decision to place all Operations

Specialists on a two-week rotation between the

Belmont and Southport facilities.

ines' 1 Disciplinary Action R

16. On January 10, 2001, in response to

Gaines' January 9 e-mail message, Russell sent an

e-mail message to Gaines informing him that the

rotation schedule provides an equal rotation for

all Operation Specialists and that Gaines' con-

tinued questioning of Company directives con-

stituted insubordination.

17. Sometime on or about January 10, 2001,

after Russell had determined that Gaines' e-mail

messages of January 5 and January 9, 2001

constituded acts of insubordination, he discussed

the the appropriate disciplinary response with

Hackworth, Wolsiefer-Leak and Suever.

4

18. Hackworth, Wolsiefer-Leak and Suer

ver agreed with Russell that Gaines’ conduct

Ji.

constituted insubordination and agreed a Discipli-

nary Action Report was an appropriate response.

19. On January 11, 2001, Russell issued

Gaines a Disciplinary Action Report for

insubordination.

20. The January 11, 2001 Disciplinary

Action Report was issued because (1) Gaines

continued to make requests for a review of

Russell's seniority determinations after Wolsiefer-

Leak informed Gaines that Russell was reviewing

the matter; and (2) Gaines questioned Russell's

decision concerning the rotation schedule between

the Belmont and Southport facilities.

21. Russell stated in the January 11, 2001,

Disciplinary Action Report that Gaines' e-mail of

January 5, 2001 was an "incident of in-

subordination and behavior deemed offensive or

contrary to the best interest of the Company"

because Gaines "was aware that further review

was being done [on the method used to determine

shift-selection order], yet he failed to comply with

[Wolsiefer-Leak's January 4] directive and

star[ed] making unreasonable demands on others."

22. Russell also stated that Gaines' January

9, 2001, e-mail message was a "challenge" to his

own January 5 e-mail message concerning the

rotation directive and constituted a second in-

cident of insubordination.

ines' Complaint A i

23. Under the new shift schedule that was

ultimately implemented in January, 2001, all

32.

Operation Specialists were required to work four

days a week.

24. The four-day work week was comprised

of two 12-hour shifts and two eight-hour shifts.

25. Under that schedule, all Operations

Specialists were expected to handle department

cleaning duties once every two weeks, and

perform four hours of cleaning working during

one of the days in which they worked a 12-hour

shift.

26. On such days, Operations Specialists

would work four hours Cleaning, then work an

eight-hour shift at the computer console. ©

27. Under the four-day week schedule, the

shift supervisors were charged with the task of

making sure that the Operations Specialists per-

formed the cleaning work.

28. The shift supervisors used their

discretion. when determining how the cleaning

work was to be performed and completed.

29. The four-day work week schedule imple-

mented in early 2001 was changed in late 2001 or

early 2002.

30. Currently, Operations Specialists work

_ eight hours a day, five days a week. Under the

Current work schedule, there is no set cleaning

schedule.

33.

31. Under the current work schedule, each

individual shift supervisor is responsible for

making sure that the Operations Specialists

complete the cleaning duties as assigned or as

needed. Christie Hedges (sic) was Gaines' su-

pervisor, and she did not supervise Operations

Specialists Pate, Wood, or Lawson.

32. The job description for Operations

Specialists includes general housekeeping duties.

Russell Changes Miller's and Wood's Work

Schedules

33. Some in the summer of 2001, Operations

Specialist Barbara Miller ("Miller") asked Russell

if it was possible for him to change her work

schedule.

34. At the time of her request, Miller was

working Sundays from 7:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m.,

Mondays from 3:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m., Tuesdays

from 3:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. and Saturdays from

7:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m.

35. Miller told Russell that she was having

some health problems and found it physically

draining to work 12 hours on Sunday and then,

just eight hours later, work another eight-hour

shift on Monday.

36. After considering her situation and

reviewing the schedule, Russell determined that

he would accommodate Miller's request by

moving her 3:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. shift from

Mondays to Wednesdays without disrupting the

schedule of other Operations Specialists.

34.

37. Russell modified Wood's work schedule

several times in 2001 so that Wood could assist

with employee training.

38. The modifications to Wood's schedule

were made at Russell's request.

39. When Russell changed the schedules of

Miller and Wood, he did not issue either of them a

Disciplinary Action Report because he did not

consider their conduct to be insubordinate.

ines' Complaints A ing "Per: nal Time"

Visi H R ffi

40. All employees working shifts at the Bel-

mont and Southport facilities during hours when

the Human Resources office is closed must visit

the Human Resources office on their own, unpaid

time if they have business that requires them to

make an in-person visit.

41. After January, 2001, shift schedule was

implemented, Gaines worked Tuesdays from 7:00

p.m. to 7:00 a.m., Wednesdays from 11:00 p.m. to

7:00 a.m., Thursdays from 7:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m.

and Friday from 11:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m.

6.

42. WREP's Human Resources office is

typically open from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.,

Monday through Friday.

43. Because of Staffing and budgeting

limitations, WREP is unable to open the Human

35.

Resources office before 8:00 a.m. or keep it open

much later than 5:00 p.m., Monday through

Friday.

44. Operation Specialists Karen Uhlenhake,

a white female, and Operations Specialists, James

Lawson, a white male, worked schedules com-

prised largely of 7 p.m. - 7 a.m. and 11 p.m. - 7

a.m. shifts. Uhlenhake and Lawson had to visit

the personnel office on their own time if they had

business that required an in-person visit.

ines' mplaints A Being "F " ToE-

il More Than Five E.

45. Sometime in January, 2002, Russell

directed all Operations Specialists to prepare a

summary of maintenance problems experienced

on their respective shifts and e-mail the summary

to various department employees.

46. Sometime in January, 2002, Gaines

questioned whether Russell's directive on the

summary report applied to him because sending

the summary would require him to violate an e-

mail restriction that had been imposed on Gaines

in July, 1997.

47. In response to Gaines' concerns that he

was being forced to violate the rule restricting his

use of the e-mail system, Russell told Gaines

sending the summary of maintenance problems

was an exception to that rule and that he was

allowed to send the summary by e-mail to the

necessary employees.

48. Russell reasoned that the e-mail

36.

Oa

So Tools DRE IC Rah EWES SEAN POSE

ig D5 AX aie Hats SEE

restriction did not apply to e-mailing the s

report because such an e-mail was Strictly work-

related and would not result in numerous

uninterested individuals receiving e-mails from

Gaines.

49. Sometime later, Gaines sent an e-mail

message to Wolsiefer-Leak asking for ciarifica-

tion on Russell's interpretation of the €xception to

the e-mail restriction.

50. In response to Gaines’ e-mail to

Wolsiefer-Leak, Russell told Gaines the Company

€-mail system was not the proper format to

discuss his concerns about the restriction.

51. Russell told Gaines if he had questions

about the restriction, he should schedule a

meeting so that they could discuss the matter in

person. Russell believed an in-person meeting

would work best with Gaines because of his

history of abusing e-mail privileges.

52. Wolsiefer-Leak did -not respond to one

of Gaines' e-mail messages seeking clarification

on the restriction because she thought Russell was

handling the matter.

dines! Complaints boss Tenteten P

53. Under WREP policy, all Operations

Department employees are entitled to pay for time

spent in mandatory training sessions like 'con-

fined space training.”

37.

54. To receive training pay, all employees

must mark the date and time of the training at

issue on their timecard. The training pay would

then be included in the next paycheck.

55. Gaines was not paid for the December

13, 2001 "confined space training" session

because he hever submitted a timecard requesting

pay.

56. Some months after the session, when

Gaines brought the issue to Russell's attention,

Russell told Gaines that he would be paid for the

training once he submitted the time on his

timecard and notified his supervisor of the

situation.

WREP's Policies C ae ie tl

and Salary Levels

57. Gaines' salary and raise levels were set

according to WREP's corporate policy.

58. WREP sets its wage levels for all

employee based on corporate guidelines that

make no reference to race or sex.

II. Administrative Filing and Prior Litigation

Some of the medley of Gaines' claims are

based on charges filed with the Equal Em-

ployment Opportunity Commission ("EEOC").

Those charges are identified as numbers 240-

A12467, 240A20085, and 240A201230 on page 3

of the complaint.

38.

In EEOC Charge No. 240A12467, dated

August 6, 2001, Gaines alleges that he was

discriminated against on the basis of race, sex,

and age, and in retaliation for filing a previous

charge. He alleges that WREP maintains a

confidential file where sex and race are used to

determine pay rate, that he has been allowed to

obtain continuing education credits only at the

Belmont plant while a white employee holding the

same type of job was allowed to obtain credit

while assigned at both Belmont and the Southport

plants, and that he has been required to provide

proof of certification status while white

employees fail to meet certification requirements.

He further alleges that one or more supervisors

have been informed that Gaines has legal action

pending against WREP and that they are to avoid

putting statement in writing. The EEOC issued a

right to sue notice on Charge No. 240A12467 on

January 25, 2002. The court takes judicial notice

that this claim was presented and disposed of in

Gaines vy. White River Environmental Partner-

ship, et al., IP 01-1158-H/K (S. D. Ind. Sep-

tember 30, 2002)

EEOC Charge No. 240A20085, dated

October 15, 2001, consists of Gaines' allegations

that he was discriminated against by WREP on the

basis of race and sex, and in retaliation for having

protested a violation of his civil rights. Gaines

alleges that in January 2001, the Operation

Department of WREP began a new work schedule

where assignments was, in part, based on race,

which Gaines opposed. After Gaines tried to

obtain input into his schedule, Operation Manager

George Russell accused Gaines of being

insubordinate and issued a letter of reprimand on

39.

January 11, 2001. He further alleges that in

August 2001, Ms. B. Miller, a white Operations

Specialists, the same job title as held by Gaines,

requested a change in her work schedule and the

request was granted, and no letter of reprimand

was issued. Another white Operations Specialist,

Mr. M. Wood, was also granted a different

schedule, and no letter of reprimand was issued to

him. Gaines alleges that after he opposed the new

work schedule in January 2001, WREP imposed

the following adverse treatment:

a) WREP required Gaines clean, four

hours at a time, on a bi-weekly basis before

starting his normal eight hour shift, such cleaning

duties having previously been performed by

Union personnel;

b) Two white male Operation

Specialists, M. Wood and J. Lawson, have been

exempted from the four hour cleaning duty "more

so than Gaines."

c) Assigned Gaines to working hours

which require the full use of personal time, (sic)

"Company time," to attend to matters that require

a personal visit to the Office of Human Resources,

such as reviewing his personnel file;

d) Other Operation Specialists, M.

Wood, Ms. Miller, Mr. Pate, Mr. Wallace, Mr.

Rodriquez, and Ms. Derringer, were assigned

work schedules would allow each of them to

review personnel files, for example, on "Company

time.”

40.

The EEOC issued a right to sue notice in Charge

No. 240A20085 on January 25, 2002.

EEOC Change No. 240A201240, dated

March 4, 2002, alleges that further acts of

retaliation occurred after Gaines filed the two

EEOC charges described above in August 2001

and October 2001. The examples cited by Gaines

in this charge are that he was denied 1.5 hours of

pay when he attended training on December 13,

2001; he, and only he, has been directed not to e-

mail more than five employees at once but than on

January 18, 2002, Mr. Russell, manager, forced

Gaines e-mail more than five employees at once:

Wolsiefer-Leak failed to respond to his questions

about the e-mail restriction; Gaines was directed

not to use e-mail to clarify policy; he was

discouraged from using the internal complaint

procedure; having denied Gaines pay on

December 13, 2001, as of February 7, 2002,

management expressed its intent to work Gaines

during times of sickness; and EEOC complaints

are ignored or always result in findings of "no

policy violations," with no Statement as to

whether that means the conduct complies with

company policy. The EEOC had not issued a right

to sue notice for Charge No. 240A201240 as of

the date Gaines filed his complaint or his motion

for summary judgment.

The name of the employer listed on each

EEOC complaint is WREP. Gaines did not file

EEOC charges against any of the other three

defendants in this case, nor did he name as a

respondent any individual or entity not named as a

defendant.

The scope of Gaines' Title VII and ADEA

claims available for resolution in this action is

limited by various circumstances.

As a general rule, in a Title VII or

ADEA lawsuit, a plaintiff may not sue a party not

named as a respondent in an EEOC change. 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-5; 29 U.S.C. § 626(e) ("A civil

action may be brought ... against the respondent

named in the charge"); Olsen v. Marshall &

IIsley Corp., 267 F.3d 597, 604 (7th Cir., 2001);

Perkins v. Silverstein, 939 F.2d 463, 471 (7th

Cir. 1991). The only entity Gaines named as a

respondent in his EEOC charge was WREP.

Gaines has not argued that any exception to the

general rule applies, rather he contends that he did

not name the other three defendants because the

space on the EEOC form was too small. This

explanation is meritless. By not naming the other

three defendants, Gaines did not afford them

notice of the charges and the opportunity to

participate in any administrative proceedings.

Accordingly, for purposes of any Title VII and

ADEA claims, because IWC Resources, United

Water Services and Suez Lyonnaise were not

named as respondents, these three defendants

must be dismissed.

In addition, Gaines has filed to state a

claim upon which relief can be granted against

any individual manager of WREP, because they

are not Gaines' "employer." See 42 U.S.C. §

2000e(b) (employer" is defined as "a person

engaged in an industry affecting commerce who

has fifteen or more employees for each working

day in each of twenty or more calendar weeks in

the current or preceeding year, and any agent of

42.

such a person ...."); Williams y. Banning, 72

F.3d 552 (7th Cir. 1995) (individual supervisors

cannot held individually liable under Title VII);

Stults v. Conoco., Inc., 76 F. 3d 651, 655 (5th Cir.

1996) (ADEA, like Title VII, does not authorize

Claims against employees as individuals).

The court takes judicial notice that

allegations asserted in EEOC Charge No.

240A12467 were resolved in Gaines v. White

River Environmental Partnership, et al., IP ()1-

1158-H/K. "Under the federal common law of res

judicata, a subsequent suit is barred if the claim

on which it is based arises from the same incident,

events, transaction, circumstances, or other

factual nebula as a prior suit that had gone to final

judgment.” Okoro y. Bohman, 164 F.3d 1059,

1062 (7th Cir. 1999) (citations omitted. The

doctrine of res judicata applies where the fol-

lowing elements are present: (1) a final judgment

on the merits in an earlier action, (2) an identity

of the cause of action in both the earlier and later

suits, and (3) an identity of parties or their privies

in the two suits. Tice vy. American Airlines, 162

date Gaines filed his complaint and after Gaines

filed his motion for summary judgment. On May

13, 2002, the court denied Gaines' motion to

amend his complaint seeking leave to amend his

complaint once the right to sue notice was issued,

because his motion was filed before the right to

43.

sue notice was issued. Gaines did not seek leave

to amend his complaint after receiving the right to

sue

10

notice for Charge No. 240A201240; rather, he

filed another lawsuit, Gaines v. White River

Environmental Partnership, et al., 1:02-cv-1524-

DFH. WREP has addressed Gaines' claims from

Charge No. 240A201240 in its motion for

summary judgment and has presented a copy of

two right to sue notices through an affidavit of

Ginny Suever. Moreover, the court notes that

Gaines v. White River Environmental Partner-

ship, et al., 1:02-cv-1524-DFH was dismissed on

the docket on November 29, 2002, because the

"claims asserted in this action are or could be

asserted in Gaines v. White River Environmental

Partnership, et al., No. IP 02-595-C-T/K." To

dismiss the claims now in this action would

prevent Gaines from asserting these claims in

either action, and a new action would doubtless be

untimely under the 90-day rule. 42 U.S.C. §

2000e-5(f)(1); Threadgill v. More U.S.A., Inc.,

269 F.3d 848, 849-50 (7th Cir. 2001).

Accordingly, Gaines' previous failure to exhaust

administrative remedies has been cured and such

claims will be addressed on the merits in this

action. See Perkins, 939 F.2d at 471 (while

plaintiff's Title VII claims 'may have been subject

to dismissal at any time prior to Perkins' receipt

of a right-to-sue letter, the receipt of that letter

after the complaint had been filed; but before it

had been dismissed, effectively cured the

deficiency in the original complaint.")

44.

Accordingly, this leaves for consideration Gaines'

race and sex discrimination and retaliation claims

which are encompassed in EEOC Charges No.

240A20085 and No. 240A201240.

III. Discussion

A. Title VII Claims of Discrimination

Gaines may prove his discrimination claims

(race and sex under Title VII) either by presenting

direct evidence or by relying on the indirect,

‘burden-shifting" method of proof outlined in

McDonnel Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 US.

792 (1973), Texas Dept. of Community Affairs

v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248 (1981), and St. Mary's

Honor Center v. Hicks, 509 USS. 502 (1993).

To avert Summary judgment in an employment

discrimination case, a plaintiff must present either

evidence of discriminatory motivation or establish

a prima facie case of discrimination under the

McDonnell Douglas formula. Sheehan v. Daily

Racing Forms, Inc., 104 F.3d 940 (7th Cir.), cert.

denied, 521 U.S. 1004 (1997),

Direct evidence is evidence which, if

believed by the trier of fact, will prove the

particular fact in question without reliance upon

presumption of inference. Plair y. FE. J. Brach

& Sons, Inc., 105 F.3d 343,347 (7th Cir. 1997).

The direct evidence must show that the defendant

said or did something indicating discriminatory

animus with regard to the specific employment

decision in question. Id.

Gaines has not offered evidence of direct

45,

discrimination.

11

Under the alternative method, in McDonnell

Douglas, the Supreme Court "established an

allocation of the burden of production and an

order for the presentation of proof in Title VII

discriminatory treatment cases." First, the

plaintiff must establish a prima facie case of

discrimination. Second, once the prima facie case

is established, the defendant must state a

legitimate, non-discriminatory reason for the

adverse employment action. Finally, if a legi-

timate, non-discriminatory reason is offered, the

plaintiff must come forward to. show that the

stated reason is not the true one, but only a pretext

for discrimination. See McDonnell Douglas, 411

U.S. at 802-04; DeLoach v. Infinity Broadcasting,

164 F.3d 398, 401 (7th Cir. 1999) (citation

omitted).

A prima facie case of discrimination on the

basis of race or gender requires Gaines to prove

that: 1) he is a member of a protected class; 2) his

job performance met his employer's legitimate

expectations; 3) he suffered an adverse employ-

ment action; and 4) similarly situated employees

outside his protected class were treated more

favorably. Brummett v. Lee Enterprises, Inc.,

284 F.3d 742, 744 (7th Cir. 2002); Hoffman-

Dombrowski v. Arlington Int'l Racecourse, Inc.,

254 F.3d 644, 650 (7th Cir. 2001)).

The third required element of Gaines' claims

of discrimination is that he suffered an adverse

46.

ee

employment action. "[Nlot everything that

makes and employee unhappy is an actionable

adverse action." Bel] y. Environmental Pro-

tection Agency, 232 F.3d 946, 555 (7th Cir.

2000). "(A] significant change in employment

Status" is necessary for an employment action to

be considered adverse. Id. An adverse change

must be material, and "might be indicated by a

termination of employment, a demotion evidenced

decrease in wage or Salary, a less distinguished

title, a material loss of benefits, Significantly

diminished material responsibilities, or other

indices that might be unique to a particular

Situation." Robinovitz vy. Pena, 89 F.3d 482, 488

(7th Cir. 1996) (quoting Crady vy. Liberty Nat'l

ose Trust Co., 993 F.2d 132, 136 (7th Cir.

1993)).

Gaines alleges in EEOC Charge No. 240-

A20085 that a work Schedule put in place was

based on race, that he was written up for opposing

the new schedule, that he was required to perform

other white male Operations Specialists, and that

his work schedule required him to review his

personnel file or tend to other human resource

Ellerth, 524 U.S., 742, 761 (1998): Stutler vy. III.

Dep't of Corr., 263 F.3d 698, 703 (7th Cir. 2000);

Krause v. City of La Crosse, 246 F.3d 995, 1000

)7th Cir. 2001) (letter of reprimand alone is not

an adverse employment action), In addition, the

47.

nr |

undisputed facts show that the new work schedule

was not based on race. Rather, it was based on

seniority. The four hours of cleaning duty was

imposed on all Operation Specialists, and each

supervisor used their discretion in determining

how the work was to be performed. Other aspects

of a prima facie case are not established. For

example, the other Operation Specialists to whom

Gaines compares himself with regards to cleaning

duties were not supervised by the same super-

visor, and so are not similarly situated employees.

Radue v. Kimberly-Clark Corp., 219 F.3d 512,

617-18 (7th Cir. 2000) (similarly situated

employees must have substantial similarity in

performance,

12.

qualification, and conduct, showing that the two

employees had the same supervisor, were subject

to the same standards, and engaged in similar

alleged misconduct).

"Without a prima facie case, the plaintiff

cannot withstand summary judgment." Hong v.

Children's Memorial Hosp., 993 F.2d 1257, 1261

(7th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, 551 U.S. 1005

(1994), Gaines' failure to present a prima facie

case of discrimination under Title VII in Change

No. 240A20085 compels the court to grant

WREP's motion for summary judgment as to such

claims.

B. Title VII Claims of Retaliation

Gaines alleges claims of retaliation in EEOC

48.

ooo

Charge No. 240A201240. Specifically, Gaines

alleges in that charge that he was denied 1.5 hours

of training pay for "confined Space training" on

December 13, 2001: he and only he has been

restricted to sending e-mail to no more than five

employees but he was forced to e-mail more than

five employees on January 18, 2002; Wolsiefer-

Leak failed to respond to his questions about the

e-mail restriction; Gaines was directed not to use

e-mail to clarify policy; he was discouraged from

using internal complaint procedure; and his EEOC

complaints always result in findings of "no vio-

lation."

Under Title VII, an employer may not take an

adverse employment action or discriminate

against an employee because he has Opposed an

unlawful employment practice or has made a

charge under the statue. See 42 U.S.C. §$ 2000e-

3(a).

In Stone v. City of Indianapolis Public

Utilities Div., 281 F.3d 640 (7th Cir.), cert.

denied, 123 S. Ct. 79 (2002), the Court of

Appeals clarified the proper standard for s

judgment when a plaintiff Claims that he was

retaliated against for complaining about employ-

ment discrimination. The direct evidence method

consists of presenting

direct evidence (evidence that estab-

lishes without resort to inferences

from circumstantial evidence) that he

engaged in protected activity (filing a

charge of discrimination) and as a re-

sult suffered the adverse employment

action of which he complaints. If the

49,

ee

evidence is uncontradicted, the plain-

tiff is entitled to summary judgment.

If it is contradicted, the case must be

tried unless the defendants presents

unrebutted evidence that he would

have taken the adverse employment ac-

tion against the plaintiff even if he had

had (sic) no retaliatory motive; in that

event the defendant is entitled to sum-

mary judgment because he has shown

that the plaintiff wasn't harmed by re-

taliation.

Id. at 644.

The second route to summary judgment, the

adaptation of McDonnell Douglas to _ the

retaliation context, requires the plaintiff to show

that after filing the charge only he, and not any

similarly situated employee who did not file a

charge, was subjected to an adverse employment

action even though he was performing his job in a

satisfactory manner. If the defendants presents no

53.

evidence in response, the plaintiff is entitled to

summary judgment. If the defendants presents

unrebutted evidence of a noninvidious reason for

the adverse action, he is entitled to summary

judgment.

Id.

Gaines' claims of retaliation cannot survive

WREP's motion for summary judgment under

50.

either of the above tests:

First, Gaines has produced no direct

evidence of discrimination based on his filing of

the EEOC charges in August and October 1991

(sic) WREP does not dispute that Gaines

engaged in protected activity, but argues that none

of the conduct alleged constitutes an actionable

adverse employment action, "a significant change

in employment." Bell, 232 F.3d at 555. The

court agrees. The WREP management directives

concerning e-mail after finding that Gaines

abused the e-mail System in the past, and the

failure to pay Gaines for 1.5 hours of pay until he

submitted the request in proper form are not

‘adverse" actions.

The second means of Surviving

WREP's motion for summary judgment, which

requires Gaines establish a prima facie case of

retaliation under Title VII, fails for the same rea-

son as under the direct evidence method. Gaines

cannot establish any actionable adverse employ-

ment action on the part of WREP. Even if he had,

WREP has offered a legitimate, nondiscriminatory

reason for each action. WREP allowed Gaines to

e-mail more than five employees as an exception

to the earlier restriction because the e-mail

requested from Gaines was Strictly job-related and

would not result in numerous uninterested

individuals receiving e-mail messages from

Gaines. Wolsiefer-Leak did not respond to

Gaines' e-mail seeking clarification because she

believed Russell was handling the matter. Gaines

has not been prevented from using the internal

company complaint procedure. Rather, he has

disagreed with the response that he has received.

31.

Gaines was not paid for a particular 1.5 hour

training because he did not submit a timecard

requesting pay for that session. Gaines failed to

meet his ultimate burden of establishing that these

reasons were merely pretextual. Paluck v. Good-

ing — Co., 221 F.3d 1003, 1009 (7th Cir.

2000).

To the extent Gaines alleges in EEOC

Charge No. 240A20085 that he was retaliated

against for having filed a previous charge, the

discussion of_Gaines' disparate treatment claims

alleged in that charge also disposes of any

retaliation claim and further discussion here of

such a claim is not warranted.

Based on the foregoing, therefore, Gaines has

neither made a showing of direct evidence of

retaliation, nor has he set forth a prima facie case

of rétaliation. WREP's motion for summary

judgment must be granted as to Caines' claims of

retaliation.

i4

C. State Law Claims Of Conspiracy

and Fraud

Gaines alleges in his complaint that

"conspiracy" and "fraud" "will be claimed." The

affidavit in support of Gaines' motion to include a

pleading of conspiracy and/or fraud in summary

judgment brief, filed on June 25, 2002, contains

allegation that certain managers of WREP

"perfected fraud against the plaintiff." Gaines

does not base his claims on any federal cause of

52.

action for conspiracy or fraud, and so the court

will treat them as though asserted under Indiana

law.

Gaines alleges the foliowing acts of "fraud"

Or "conspiracy:" 1) after Manager Farnham

assured Gaines in May 1997 that Gaines could

have input into decisions, when Gaines objected

to a changed in shift schedules, he was given a

letter of reprimand in July 1997; 2) after being

assured by Manager Russell that the rule against

sending e-mail to more than five people at a time

could be suspended under certain circumstances

based on common sense, Gaines sent an e-mail to

more than five people and received a letter of

reprimand; 3) in January 2001, Manager Russell

changed the plant rotation schedule from every

three months to every two weeks, and Gaines’

attempt to have "input" into that Schedule by

objecting to it, resulted in another letter of

reprimand; 4) Gaines' attempt to appeal the

January 2001 letter of reprimand was prevented

by Manager Wolsiefer-Leak when she responded

to his complaint that "I expéct this to end here."

Gaines' claim that individual manager of

WREP conspired or perfected fraud against

Gaines is dismissed for several reasons. First,

Gaines challenged the July 1997 letter of

reprimand in his first lawsuit against WREP,

Gaines v. White River En vironmental Part-

nership, et al, IP 98-1741-C-M/S, and that claim

will not be reconsidered here. .

Second, even if these were all "new" claims,

Gaines has failed to state a Claim upon which

relief can be granted because there is not a shred

a3.

of evidence that the defendants had agreed to

engage in any unlawful activity. Huntington

Mortg. Co. v. DeBrota, 703 N.E. 2d 160, 168

(Ind. Ct App. 1998) ("Civil conspiracy is

defined as a combination of two or more persons,

by concerted action, to accomplish an unlawful

purpose or to accomplish some purpose, not in

itself unlawful, by unlawful means.") Moreover,

any conspiracy claim is barred by the

intracorporate conspiracy doctrine. See Jamerson

v. Anderson Newspapers, Inc., 469 N.E. 2d 1243,

1251, (Ind. Ct. App. 1984); Payton v. Rush-

Presbyterean-St. Luke's Med. Ctr., 184 F.3d

623, 632 (7th Cir. 1999) (a "conspiracy cannot

exist solely between members of the same

entity").

Third, Gaines has also failed to state a claim

of fraud under Indiana law. The elements of a

claim of fraud under Indiana law are:

1) a material misrepresentation of a

past or existing fact which 2) was un-

true, 3) was made with knowledge of

or in reckless ignorance of its falsity,

4) was made with the intent to de-

ceive, 5) was rightfully relied upon

by the complaining party, and 6)

which proximately cause the injury or

damage complained of.

Lawyers Tile Ins. Corp. v. Pokraka, 595 N.E.

2d 244, 249 (Ind. 1992).

15

54.

Although Gaines may perceive that certain

managers misled him with statements made about

input into decisions or e-mail rules or the

disciplinary process, he has not identified any

misrepresentations that were made with

knowledge that they were false and made with an

intent to deceive. Nor has Gaines shown any

reasonable reliance on any misrepresentations.

Gaines' personal beliefs or Speculations fail to

establish the required elements of his claim.

Moreover, because there were no misrepre-

sentations, there is no causation of injury. The

only "injury" arguable alleged is the receipt of

written reprimands but Gaines presented no

evidence of any change in or loss of job, benefits,

Pay or responsibilities. The defendants are

entitled to Summary judgment as to Gaines’ claims

of conspiracy and/or fraud.

D. Remaining Statutory Claims

The remaining Statutory claims do not

support relief and require little discussion.

Although 42 U.S.C. § 1981 applies

only to alleged discrimination on the basis of race

or alienage, Bratton y. Roadway Package Sys-

WREP is not a state actor, as required

55.

to support a claim of 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Moore

v. Marketplace Restaurant, 754 F.2d 1336, 1352

(7th Cir. 1985) (Section 1983 plaintiff must

"demonstrate that state officials and the private

party somehow reached an understanding to deny

the plaintiff their constitutional rights."

Therefore, Gaines' claims based on various

amendments to the Constitution fail to state a

‘claim upon which relief can be granted.

IV. Conclusion

"Employers may act for many reasons, good

and bad; they may err in evaluating employees'

strengths; unless they act for a forbidden reason,

these errors (more properly differences in assess-

ments) do not matter." Kuhn v. Ball State Univ.,

78 F.3d 330, 332 (7th Cir. 1996). Gaines has

failed to establish a genuine issue of material fact

or that he is entitled to judgment as a matter of

law as to any of his claims. Accordingly, Gaines’

motion for summary judgment must be denied

and the defendants’ motion for summary judgment

must be granted.

Judgment consistent with this Entry shall

now issue.

IT IS SO ORDERED

S/ JOHN D. TINDER, Judge

United States District Court

Date: 3/27/2003

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

LOUIS F. GAINES, )

Plaintiff,

VS. ‘ IP 02-595-T/K

WHITE RIVER ENVIRON-

oe igi PARTNERSHIP,

Defendants.

JUDGMENT

The court, having this day made its Entry,

IT IS THEREFORE ADJUDGED that judg-

ment is entered for the defendants and against the

plaintiff as to the claims in this action.

The costs of this action are assessed against

the plaintiff.

S/ JOHN D. TINDER, Judge

United States District Court

Date: 3/27/2003

Copies to:

Louis F. Gaines

5337 N Coilege Avenue

Indianapolis, IN 46220

Alan McLaughlin

Eirc Papier

Baker & Daniels

300 N Meridian St., Suite 2700

Indianapolis, IN 46204

58.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

LOUIS F. GAINES,

Plaintiff,

vs. IP 02-595-T/K

WHITE RIVER ENVIRON-

MENTAL- PARTNER SHIP,

et al.,

Defendants

Ne Nee eee Nee ee ee wee I OS SL

ENTRY DISCUSSING PLAINTIFF'S

MARCH 27, 2003, FILINGS

The court has considered the plaintiff's

motion to vacate Entry of March 14, 2002, his

affidavit in support, and his motion to Strike, each

filed on March 27, 2003.

The basis for each of these filings is that the

plaintiff believes the court unfairly granted the

defendants time to file their response to the

plaintiff's motion for Summary judgment while at

the same time the court struck from the record

several of the plaintiff's filing which were filed

after ~he filed his initial response to the

defendants' motion for Summary judgment. Any

relief sought by the plaintiff's March 27, 2003,

filings is denied. The reason for this disposition

is that there is no basis to strike the defendants'

response to the plaintiff's motion for summary

judgment or their cross-motion for summary

judgment, filed on September 3, 2002. The

defendants, unlike the plaintiff, had filed a motion

for enlargement of tirme on August 30, 2002,

which the court grantec, »akiag their September

3, 2002, filing timely. Moreover, the defendants

filed a single response to the plaintiff's motion.

The plaintiff, on the other hand, never sought

additional time to file any supplemental responses

to the defendants' motion. Rather, he filed a

series of responses, weeks and months apart,

without leave of court. This is not the proper

manner in which to brief a pending dispositive

motion. There was no error in the rulings issued

on March 14, 2003.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

S/ JOHN D. TINDER, Judge

United States District Court

-~

Date: 3/31/2003

60.

Copies to:

Louis F. Gaines

5337 N College Avenue

Indianapolis, IN 46220

Alan McLaughlin

Eric Paper -

Baker & Daniels

300 N Meridian St., Suite 2700

Indianapolis, IN 46204

61.

APPENDIX D: Other Relevant Rulings

62.

_—_$<C rs

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

INDIANAPOLIS DIVISION

LOUIS F. GAINES, IP 98-1741-C-M/S

Plaintiff,

V.

WHITE RIVER ENVIRON-

MENTAL PARTNERSHIP,

et al.,

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendants. )

ENTRY DISCUSSING SECOND MOTION TO

AMEND COMPLAINT AND SETTING

DISCOVERY CONFERENCE

I. Second Motion to Amend Complaint

On June 1, 1999, the plaintiff filed his "second

motion to amend complaint. The essence of this

motion is that the plaintiff seeks to expand on his

Claims in this action by asserting the same claim

which has been submitted to the EEOC in the form

of a charge of discrimination, *No. 240-99-1616.

The charge of discrimination in No. 240-99-

1616 was filed on May 4, 1999, and alleges

retaliation and age discrimination from January

10, 1998 through April 20, 1999, and is included

as an exhibit tc the motion. Although the plaintiff

has requested a right to sue letter from the EEOC,

no right to sue notice had been issued with respect

to No. 240-99-1616 as of the filing of the

plaintiff's motion on June 1, 1999.

* A subsidiary portion of the second motion to

amend amounts to the plaintiff's effort to bolster

his claims with additional details he believes to be

supportive of his claims. It is unnecessary and

unhelpful to replead a claim with increasing

detail. The details of the plaintiff's claims are

precisely what discovery and various pretrial

disclosures are designed to unveil.

Rs

No cognizable claim under Title VII could be

stated in relation to events after January 10, 1998,

until a right to sue notice has been issued.

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36, 47

(1974). No amendment to a pleading should be

permitted if the amendment would be futile, and

an amendment would be futile if it could not

withstand a motion to dismiss under Rule

12(b)(6). In re Burlington Coat Factory Sec.

Litig., 114 F.3d 1410, 1434 (3d Cir. 1997).

Because the additional claim of discrimination

which the plaintiff proposes to assert relating to

the charge of discrimination in No. 240-99-1616

was filed on May 4, 1999, could not be maintained

at this point (because no right to sue letter has

been issued), the proposed amendment would be

futile. The plaintiff's second motion to amend

64.

is therefore denied.

The plaintiff's "proposed motion to amend

complaint, filed on June 10, 1999, is duplicative of

the second motion to amend complaint and is

denied as such.

II. Discovery Conference

_%

IT IS SO ORDERED

s/ LARRY J. McKINNEY, Judge

United States District Court

Date: August 19 1999

Copies to:

Louis F. Gaines, 5337 N. College Avenue, Indi-

anapolis, IN 46220

Hudnall Pfeiffer, Carolyn Coleman, Baker &

Daniels, 300 N. Meridian St., Suite 2700, Indiana-

polis, IN 46204

Glen Cunningham, Court Reporter

Pro Se Administrator

65.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT -

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

INDIANAPOLIS DIVISION

LOUIS F. GAINES,

Plaintiff

v. IP-98-1741-C-M/C

WHITE RIVER ENVIRON-

MENTAL PARTNERSHIP,

et al.,

ee ee ee ee

Defendants

ENTRY CONCERNING SELECTED MATTERS

The court, having considered the above action

and the matters which are pending, now makes the

following rulings:

3. In the court's Entry of August 19, 1999, in

which it denied the plaintiff's second motion to

amend complaint, the court based its decision on

its understanding that the plaintiff had not

received a right to sue notice from the EEOC with

respect to charge No. 240991616 as the filing of

the plaintiff's motion on June 1, 1999. Through

inadvertence, the court did not acknowledge in its

Entry of August 19, 1999, that on July 12, 1999,

the plaintiff filed a copy of the right to sue notice

just described. In order to correct and clarify the

record, the court now reconsiders the portion of its

ruling of August 19, 1999, which denied the

plaintiff's second motion to amend complaint.

a. The charge of discrimination in No.

240991616 was filed with the EEOC on May 7,

1999, and alleged retaliation and age dis-

crimination occurring from January 5, 1999,

through April 20, 1999, which was after the

complaint in this action was filed. The right to

sue notice relating to charge NO. 240991616 was

issued on July 9, 1999.

<2.

b. The procedure posture of this action is as

follows: the action was filed on December 18,

1998, the defendants filed a motion for s

judgment on July 9, 1999, and discovery is

seemingly tumultuous. In Sanders v. Venture

Stores, Inc., 56 F.3d 771, 774-75 (7th Cir. 1995),

the Seventh Circuit cited a number of its published

decisions which had affirmed the denial of a

motion to amend after the filing, briefing or

decision of a motion for Summary judgment. The

principal basis of the court's decisions in these

cases was the unwarranted delay and burden an

amended complaint would bring to the litigation.

c. The court finds that the present litigation

also has progressed too far to permit the addition

of entirely new claims, based on events unrelated

to the events which supported the filing of the

original complaint. A motion for s

judgment has been filed and the parties are

embroiled in discovery concerns relating to the

67.

i ——™

claims in the amended complaint. Under these

circumstances, the plaintiff's second motion to

amend complaint, filed on June 1, 1999, remains

denied. The ruling in Part I of the Entry issued on

August 19, 1999, remains in effect, though

modified by the additional factual matters noted in

this Entry. For the same reasons, the plaintiff's

third motion to arend complaint, filed on August

23, 1999, is also denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

s/ LARRY J. McKINNEY, Judge

United States District Court

Date: October 25, 1999

Copies to:

Louis F. Gaines, 5337 N. College Avenue,

Indianapolis, IN 46220

Hudnall Pfeiffer, Carolyn Coleman, Baker &

Daniels, 300 N. Meridian St., Suite 2700, Indiana-

polis, IN 46204.

68.

UNPUBLISHED ORDER

Not to be cited per Circuit Rule 53

UNITED STATES COURT Of APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

Submitted March 5, 2001

Decided March 23, 2001

Before

Hon. F. H. EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge

Hon. D. A. MANION, Circuit Judge

Hon. D. P. WOOD, Circuit Judge

No. 00-3802 Appeal from the

United States Dis-

LOUIS F. GAINES, _ trict Court for the

Plaintiff-Appellant ‘ Southern District of

Indiana, Indiana-

v. polis Division

WHITE RIVER ENVIRON- No. 98-1741-C-M/S

MENTAL PARTNERSHIP,

et al., Larry J. McKinney,

Defendants- Appellees Chief Judge

ORDER

Louis Gaines, an African-American employed

as an Operation Specialist for the defendant White

River Environmental Partnership (WREP), filed

this employment discrimination suit in December

1998 under Title VII, 42 U.S.C. 2000e et seq., the

Age Discrimination in Employment Act, 29 U.S.C.

88 621-634, and 42 U.S.C. § 1981. The district

court granted summary judgment ffor the

defendants, holding that Gaines had _ not

established a prima facie case of discrimination.

Gaines appeals and we affirm.

No. 00-3802 Page 3

For the foregoing reasons, we Affirm the grant

of summary judgment to WREP. All pending

motions in this case are Denied.”

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seven Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

May 17, 2001

Before

Hon. F.H. EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge

Hon. D. A. MANION, Circuit Judge

Hon. D. P. WOOD, Circuit Judge

No. 00-3802

LOUIS F. GAINES, Appeal from the

Plaintiff-Appellant United States Dis-

trict Court for the

Vv. Southern District of

Indiana, Indiana-

WHITE RIVER ENVIRON- polis Division

MENTAL PARTNERSHIP,

et al., No. 98-1741-C-M/S

Defendant-Appellee

Larry J. McKinney,

Chief Judge

ORDER

Our order of March 23, 2001 affirmed the dis-

trict court's grant of Summary judgment to the de-

fendants in Gaines's employment discrimination

suit. Because Gaines' claims were frivolous and

his litigation strategy was marked by the filing of

numerous motions and appeals’ containing

spurious allegations of impropriety of Judge Mc-

Kinney and defense counsel, we directed Gaines

show cause why sanctions should not be imposed

under Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 38.

Gaines has filed his response, and the matter is

ready for decision.

Rather than present a reason not to sanction

him, Gaines's response demonstrates that he

wishes to continue to his frivolous litigation

strategy. In his response, Gaines reiterates his

belief that the defendants have violated his rights,

asserts that all of his filings were necessary to

defend his rights, and suggests that we should

sanction the defendants rather than _ him.

Furthermore, three days after he filed his response

Gaines filed a petition for rehearing of his appeal,

once again raising the same frivolous claims of

discrimination.

No. 00-3802 Page 2

Gaines is hereby sanctioned $1,000 for filing a

frivolous appeal. Gaines shall tender a check

payable to the Clerk, United States Court of

Appeals, in the amount of $1,000 by May 30,

2001. Furthermore, we DENY his petition for

rehearing.

APPENDIX E: Legal Authority

LAN

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION:

Fifth Amendment: ..., nor deprived of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law.

Eighth Amendment: ..., nor excessive fines

imposed; nor cruel and unusual punishment

inflicted.

Thirteenth Amendment, Section I: Neither

slavery nor involuntary servitude, ..., shall exist

within the United States, or any place subject to

their jurisdiction.

TITLE 29, U.S.C. §8:

623(a): It shall be unlawful for an employer -

(1) ... or otherwise discriminate against any indi-

vidual with respect to his compensations, terms,

conditions or privileges of employment, because

of such individual's age; (2) to limit, segregate, or

classify his employees in any way which would

deprive or tend to deprive any individual of

employment opportunities or otherwise adversely

affect his status as an employee, because of such

individual's age; (3) to reduce the wage rate of any

employee in order to comply with this chapter.

623(d): It shall be unlawful for an employer to

discriminate against any of his employees ...,

because such individuals ... have made a charge,

testified, assisted, or participated in any manner in

an investigation, proceeding, or litigation under

this chapter.

TITLE 42 U.S.C., §§:

1981: All persons within the jurisdiction of

the United States shall have the same right in

every State and Territory to make and enforce

contracts, to sue, be parties, give evidence, and to

the full and equal benefit of all laws and

proceedings for the security of persons and

property as is enjoyed by white citizens, and shall

be subject to like punishment, pains, penalties,

taxes, licenses, and exactions of every kind, and to

no other.

1981(c): The rights protected by this section

are protected against impairment by non govern-

mental discrimination and impairment under color

of State law.

1983: Every person who, under color of any

Statue, ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of

any State ..., subjects, or causes to be subjected,

any citizen of the United States -. to the

deprivation of any rights, privileges, or immuni-

ties secured by the Constitution and laws, shall be

liable to the party injured in an action of law, suit

in equity, or other proper proceeding for redress.

2000e-2(a): It shall be an unlawful employ-

ment practice for an employer - (1) ..., to

discriminate against individual with respect to his

compensation, terms, conditions or privileges of

employment, because of such individual's race,

color, religion, sex, or national Origin; or (2) to

limit, segregate, or Classify his employees ... in

any way which would deprive or tend to deprive

any individual of employment opportunities or

otherwise adversely affect his status as an

75.

employee, because of such individual's race, color,

religion, sex, or national origin.

2000e-2(k)(c)(2): A demonstration that an em-

ployment practice is required by business neces-

sity may not be used as a defense against a claim

of intentional discrimination under this sub-

chapter.

2000e-2(m): Except as otherwise provided in

this subchapter, an unlawful employment practice

is established when the complaining party demon-

strates that race, color, religion, sex, or national

origin was a motivating factor for any employment

practice, even though other factors also motivated

the practice.

2000e-3(a): It shall be an_ unlawful

employment practice for an employer. to

discriminate against any of his employees ....,

because he has opposed any practice made an

unlawful employment practice by this subchapter,

or because he has made a charge, testified, as-

sisted, or participated in any manner in an in-

vestigation, proceeding, or hearing under this

subchapter.

FEDERAL RULES OF:

Appellate Procedure, Rule 35

(a) When Hearing Or Rehearing En banc

May Be Ordered. A majority of the current judges

who are in regular active service may order that an

appeal or other proceeding be heard or reheard by

the court of appeals en banc. An en banc hearing

76.

or rehearing is not favored and Ordinarily will not

be ordered unless:

(1) en banc consideration is necessary

to secure or maintain uniformity of the courts

decisions; or

(2) the proceeding involves a question

of exceptional importance.

(b) Petition for Hearing or Rehearing En

Banc. A party may petition for a hearing or

rehearing en banc:

(1) the petition must begin with a

Statement that either:

consideration by the full court is therefore

necessary to secure and maintain uniformity of the

court's decision

(B) the Proceeding involves one or

more questions of exceptional importance, each of

which must be concisely stated: for example, a

petition may assert that a proceeding presents a

question of exceptional importance if it involves

an issue on which the panel decision conflicts with

the authoritative decisions of other United States

Courts of Appeals that have addressed the issue.

Appellate Procedure, Rule 38

If a court of appeals determines that an

appeal is frivolous, it may, after a separately filed

motion or notice from the court and reasonable

opportunity to respond, award just damages and

single or double costs to the appellee.

Civil Procedure, Rule 9:

(b) Fraud, Mistake, Condition of the Mind.

In all averments of fraud or mistake, the cir-

cumstances constituting fraud or mistake shall be

Stated with particularity. Malice, intent, know-

ledge, and other condition of mand of a person

may be averred generally.

Civil Procedure, Rule 56:

(c) Motion and Proceedings Thereon: ...

The judgment sought shall be rendered forthwith

if the pleadings, depositions, answers to inter-

rogatories, and admissions on file, together with

the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine

issué as to any material fact and that the moving

party is entitle to a judgment as a matter of law.

A summary judgment, interlocutory in character,

may be rendered on the issue of liability along

although there is a genuine issue as to amount of

damages.

(e) Form of Affidavits; Further Testimony;

Defenses Required: ... The court may permit

affidavits to be supplemented or opposed by

deposition, answers to interrogatories, or further

78.

affidavits. When a motion for summary judgment

is made and Supported as provided in this rule, and

adverse party may not rest upon the mere allega-

tions or denials of the adverse party pleadings, but

the adverse party's response, by affidavits or as

otherwise provided in this rule, must set forth

Specific facts Showing that there is a genuine issue

Evidence, Rule 406:

Habit; Routine Practice. Evidence of the

habit of a person or of the routine practice of an

organization, whether corroborated or not and

regardless of the presence of eyewitnesses, is

relevant to prove that the conduct of the person, or

Organization on a particular Occasion was in con-

formity with the habit or routine practice.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.