Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Robinson v. United States, (2003) (No. 511)

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(1) ‘wuprome Gourt, U.S.

FILE®

03 511. 0CT -35 2003

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

TECHNICAL SERGEANT WINCHESTER ROBINSON, JR.,

Petitioner

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Apreals for the Armed Forces

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

BEVERLY B. KNOTT ANDREW S. WILLIAMS

COLONEL, U.S. AIR FORCE MaAjJor, U.S. AIR FORCE

Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioner

TERRY L. MCELYEA

Major, U.S. AIR FORCE

Counsel for Petitioner

APPELLATE DEFENSE DIVISION

AIR FORCE LEGAL SERVICES AGENCY

112 LUKE AVENUE, SUITE 343

BOLLING AFB, DC 20032-8000

(202) 767-1562

October 2003

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether the good-faith exception to the Fourth

Amendment exclusionary rule should extend to a police

officer’s own faulty conclusion based on a mistake of law

that he had probable cause to make a traffic stop.

II. Whether an automobile’s sudden turn in an urban area

with public housing and high crime is enough to create a

reasonable suspicion that criminal activity is afoot to justify

an investigative stop.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

RE FEF EINE EIED ssscissvavesesinnsenseenvsnsscvosenscnssesenenses Vv

IT is rissean dhakenstesnensihinidnednsssnessonsedscnveteesies l

IT LS laiccassaslercninndsnnsctnnnachnniskathabesdtnsnvesshivonse: 02 l

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED.................. l

ee SY BW EOES CPU cas cssesesssnsenescsssnssonrsiNiinsosussonnes l

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.............0.ccccceee 5

aici ichascdirehendssevabaidalvtenseeniawsiensienienys 9

APPENDIX A

(Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces. 58 M.J. 429 (2003)) ....c.c.ccccsccccesesseees la

APPENDIX B

(Opinion of the United States Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals. 56 M.J. 541 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App.

I Aik ia sede pesnieinsinnacinndebasiorssniinssneniannsens 38a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Constitutional Provisions

CF... Coca, Ca, FY casesickccacecsrassensesosessscepnsivsonsnicesnens Lae

Decisions of the Supreme Court of the United States

Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89 (1964) ........scccscsccsessrreesrssseseeeseenes 6

Brinegar v. United States, 338 U.S. 160 (1949) .......ceceeee 8

Illinois v. Krull, 480 U.S. 340 (1987) .....:ccccccssecseeeeneeeeees 5,8

Ornelas v. United States, 517 U.S. 690 (1996)...........cceeeeeeees 8

Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968) .......cesesesrcsresreseessenseeeeens 6

United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897 (1984).........ccceceseeeeeeeees 6

Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996) .......cccceeceeeeeeees 6

Military Cases

United States v. Robinson, 58 M.J. 429 (.\() 1,4, 5,6

'nited States v. Robinson, 56 M.J. 541 (A.F. Ct. Crim.

App. 2001) ......00rcrrcccerososvovsessedsereesesensarssssorsssonessossncoses 1,4

Federal Statutes

10 U.S.C. § 867(a)(3)........ sian eile diniaauiantaiesiiesaian I

ZB U.S.C. § 1ZSDB) nccccrecacscecsesssercesccoecsesosonesevenncssoonesennssenonsns l

vi

Other Federal Circuits

United States v. Lopez- Valdez, 178 F.3d 282 (Sth Cir.

POFEPE D wvscusviiennicsncanaessenineddhaatatinibsceiabinnmsdatneddimiateiaiin 7

United States v. Mariscal, 285 F.3d 1127 (9th Cir.

DOE D tsscssinviiansbnkineinaoaeemaiaiennaaielaeliaias 7

United States v. Ramirez-Lujan, 976 F.2d 930 (Sth Cir.

SPONSE) cescvicnsnnstnenioencsenevnsnssiiieeaiiniadineieltaelanaenadaasbaebiaabaianie 7

State Statutes

POM, RGR, GU, DH Ee Cee csewrsviscesasiasniacscnsevsteonsevsncenieniincion 3

State Cases

State v. Riley, 638 So. 2d 507 (Fla. 1994)... ceeesssseeeeeees 3

Other Authority

Jean Johnson, Americans’ View on Crime and Law

Enforcement: Survey Findings, National Institute of

POS TORRE E59 CGE. TOIT) scccnnisievecsvcieresaveninatseseenes 8

The petitioner, Technical Sergeant Winchester Robinson,

Jr., respectfully prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review

the order and judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Armed Forces entered in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The order and judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces, United States v. Robinson, 58

M.J. 429 (2003), is located at Appendix A, la-37a. The

opinion of the United States Air Force Court of Criminal

Appeals, United States v. Robinson, 56 M.J. 541 (A.F. Ct.

Crim. App. 2001), is located at Appendix B, 38a-59a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces was entered on July 8, 2003.' The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §

1259(3) and 10 U.S.C. § 867(a)(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in relevant part:

The right of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects, against

unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not

be violated. . . .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On October 8, 1999, the petitioner was tried and

convicted by a general court-martial for assault, using and

possessing cocaine, and failure to obey military orders. At a

' Appendix A, p. la.

2

preliminary session, the petitioner moved to suppress

evidence of his use and possession of cocaine, discovered as

a result of a traffic stop and ensuing searches of the

petitioner and his vehicle. After the trial judge denied the

motion, the petitioner conditionally pled guilty to using and

possessing cocaine, thereby preserving for appellate review

the correctness of the trial judge’s ruling.

During the preliminary session, Officer Mark Jennewein

of the Melbourne, Florida, police department testified that,

on February 27, 1999, he was on patrol in a fully marked

“police car in the city of Melbourne in a public housing area

known for its high crime. While patrolling at about 1:00

a.m., he noticed a maroon four-door Oldsmobile parked “at”

the residence of a known drug dealer.* The Oldsmobile had

a military decal on the windshield. The officer checked the

car’s registration and discovered it was registered to a person

who lived at Patrick Air Force Base, Florida, six miles south

of Melbourne. The officer waited several minutes but left

when he did not see anyone come out to the car from the

house.

About thirty minutes later, Officer Jennewein parked at a

vacant liquor store in a nearby area of town with a high

crime rate. He saw the same Oldsmobile drive by that he

had seen earlier that morning. The officer immediately

pulled out and drove behind the Oldsmobile. Within two to

three seconds, the Oldsmobile braked and turned suddenly

into an alley without using a turn signal. Officer Jennewein

? Officer Jennewein was not clear about where the car was

actually parked in relation to the residence. He testified at

various times that the car was “in front of,” “at Steele [St.]

and Mathers,” “at [IL]’s,” “over at [IL]’s,” “at a house,” and

“right next to his house in his dirt driveway or dirt lot.” The

trial judge found simply that the car was parked “outside” a

known drug dealer’s house.

- ~ _ - —_—-— i aec«s¢«na«,:a:_77_/-,,,72re

3

conducted a traffic stop. He_testified that he made the stop

solely because of the failure to use a turn signal. (R. 76).

After making the stop, the officer had a drug dog sniff

around the car. The dog alerted at the driver’s door. Based

on this alert, Officer Jennewein searched the Oldsmobile and

found a small white rock-like object and other paraphernalia,

which ‘ield-tested positive for cocaine. He placed the

petitioner under arrest.

In his motion to suppress, the petitioner relied upon State

v. Riley, 638 So. 2d 507, 508 (Fla. 1994), a decision of the

Florida Supreme Court holding that the failure to use a turn

signal is not an offense under Florida law when the turn does

not affect other vehicles.”

Officer Jennewein testified that the Oldsmobile’s turn did

not cause him to brake, veer, or otherwise affect his or any

other vehicle. The officer testified, however, that a study

showed that drivers of vehicles that fail to signal when

turning are impaired about 40 percent of the tirae. The

officer testified that he did not see any other indicia of

impairment prior to the stop. He did not state that he made

the stop because he believed the petitioner was impaired.

In denying the motion to suppress, the trial judge

concluded that Officer Jennewein had both probable cause to

believe a traffic violation had occurred and reasonable

suspicion to believe that the petitioner was impaired. The

> Fla. Stat. ch. 316.155(1) (1999) states: “No person may

turn a vehicle from a direct course upon a highway unless

and until such movement can be made with reasonable

safety, and then only after giving an appropriate signal in the

manner hereinafter provided, in the event any other vehicle

may be affected by the movement.” (emphasis added).

4

trial judge did not make any conclusions about whether the

officer otherwise reasonably suspected criminal activity and

the prosecutor did not advance any such theory in opposing

the motion.

On appeal, a divided Air Force Court of Criminal

Appeals disagreed with the trial judge’s conclusion that the

police officer had probable cause to make a stop for the

traffic infraction but upheld the stop because “‘a reasonable

officer aware of these facts would have a lawful basis for a

brief investigative stop.” Appendix B, p. 51a. When the

petitioner appealed further, the United States Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces affirmed the decision of the

Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals in a 2-1-2 decision.

Two judges—Judges Gierke and Effron—held that Officer

Jennewein had reasonable suspicion to make the stop

because an objective review of the record supported a

finding that the sudden turn was “(1) evasive, (2) an

indicator of impaired driving, and (3) unusual because it was

a sudden turn onto an unpaved alley that was not a

customary roadway.” Appendix A, p. 10a. Chief Judge

Crawford in a concurring opinion admitted that it was “a

close question” whether Officer Jennewein had reasonable

grounds to justify the stop but stated she would affirm

because Officer Jennewein “had a good faith belief that he

had a legally justifiable reasonable suspicion to stop [the

petitioner’s] motor vehicle.” Appendix A, p. 12a (emphasis

added).

Two judges dissented. Judge Baker dissented because the

record did not support the factual conclusions that the

petitioner had parked “at” the drug dealer’s home or that he

* In oral argument, the prosecutor disputed the defense’ s

assertion that the police officer would have made the stop

without observing the traffic infraction and he argued that

the other indicia of suspicion arose after the stop. (R. 157).

5

had driven in an impaired manner or that an objective review

of the record could support a finding of reasonable suspicion

to justify the stop. Appendix A, pp. 19a, 21la-22a. Judge

Erdmann dissented also because he did not agree that an

appellate court could supply the justification for an

investigative stop on grounds of reasonable suspicion when

the officer’s articulated reason for the stop was a mistaken

belief that the petitioner had violated a traffic law. Appendix

A, p. 31a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents two questions about the Fourth

Amendment’s reach over the largest area of discretionary

police power and poteritial abuse: the investigative stop.

Because these questions are of fundamental importance to

the administration of criminal justice, they should be

examined by the Court. In submitting the questions, the

petitioner does not challenge the duration of the stop or the

events after the stop that led to the cocaine’s seizure.

The first question concerns whether the good-faith

exception to the exclusionary rule applies to a police

officer’s reliance on his own mistaken understanding of the

law. The question arises because Chief Judge Crawford’s

concurring opinion—an opinion essential to the decision of

the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces—did apply

such an exception to this case. This Court, however, has

previously declined the invitation to recognize a good-faith

exception for an officer who erroneously believes he is

acting within the scope of a statute. J//linois v. Krull, 480

U.S. 340, 360 n. 17 (1987) (otherwise recognizing a good-

faith exception when the officer reasonably relies on a statute

and acts within the scope of the statute, though the statute is

later held to be unconstitutional). Because Chief Judge

Crawford’s concurring opinion extended the good-faith

exception to evidence obtained by an officer who acted

6

outside the law, the Court is presented with its first real

occasion to examine the policies of the exclusionary rule as

they relate to such evidence.”

This Court should also examine this question because the

basic rationale of Chief Judge Crawford’s concurring

opinion challenges this Courts Fourth Amendment

jurisprudence from Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968), to

Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996). In Terry, this

Court declared that the reasonableness of a particular search

and seizure must be objectively evaluated in light of the facts

available to the officer at the moment of the search and

seizure. Terry, 392 at 21-22. This Court expressly rejected

“simple good faith on the part of the arresting officer” as not

enough, because “[i]f subjective good faith alone were the

test, the protections of the Fourth Amendment would

evaporate, and the people would be ‘secure in their persons,

houses, papers, and effects,’ only in the discretion of the

police.” Jd. at 22 (quoting Beck v. Ohio, 379 U.S. 89, 97

(1964)). Similarly, this Court in Whren stated that its recent

case law foreclosed “any argument that the constitutional

reasonableness of traffic stops depends on the actual

motivations of the individual officers involved.” Whren, 517

U.S. at 813. Chief Judge Crawford’s view, however, is that

a police officer’s subjective intent could make otherwise

illegal conduct \egal or constitutional. Because her view

> Chief Judge Crawford relied on United States v. Leon, 468

U.S. 897 (1984), in her concurring opinion. Appendix A, pp.

15a-16a. In Leon, this Court recognized a good-faith

exception to the exclusionary rule for evidence seized by a

police officer in good faith reliance on a warrant that was

subsequently held to be defective. The Court stated that the

exclusionary rule was intended to deter poiice lawlessness,

not the errors of judges and magistrates. Leon, 468 U.S. at

916. The present case, however, concerns the judgment of a

law enforcement officer acting on his own and not that of a

magistrate.

7

goes contrary to this Court’s declared principles, this Court

should grant review of the first question to resolve the

inconsistency.

Finally, this Court should examine the first question in

order to resolve the conflict among three courts of appeal.

Two circuit courts of appeal have taken a position contrary

to that of Chief Judge Crawford’s. The Fifth Circuit in

United States v. Lopez-Valdez, 178 F.3d 282 (5" Cir. 1999),

refused to apply a good-faith exception to the exclusionary

rule for drugs seized after a stop was made merely because

an officer honestly believed that a traffic infraction had been

committed. But see United States v. Ramirez-Lujan, 976

F.2d 930 (5™ Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 507 U.S. 987 (1993)

(upholding the admission of evidence because the border

patrol agent had a good faith belief that the defendant was

attempting to avoid a checkpoint). Similarly, the Ninth

Circuit in United States v. Mariscal, 285 F.3d 1127 (9 Cir.

2002), held that an officer’s mistaken view of the law in

making a stop cannot be made reasonable when the objective

facts do not support a finding that a traffic violation had

occurred. This Court should grant review of the first

question to resolve the conflict between the courts of appeal

and to settle whether a police officer’s subjective belief can

cure an otherwise illegal stop.

The second question asks whether an automobile’s quick

turn in a high crime area can constitute reasonable suspicion

to justify an investigative stop. The question addresses the

police’s unfettered freedom to infringe on the rights of

citizens who live in and traverse areas with high crime rates.

Officer Jennewein’s conduct in this case—a willingness to

act on nothing more substantial than a hunch—is precisely

the type of indiscriminate harassment and police lawlessness

8

that many Americans frequently complain of.° As Justice

Jackson succinctly stated in Brinegar v. United States: “I am

convinced that there are, many unlawful searches of homes

and automobiles of innocent people which turn up nothing

incriminating, in which no arrest is made, about which courts

do nothing, and about which we never hear. Courts can

protect the innocent against such invasions only indirectly

and through the medium of excluding evidence obtained

against those who frequently sre guilty.” 338 U.S. 160, 181

(1949) (dissenting opinion) (emphasis supplied). Without

the protection of the Fourth Amendment exclusionary rule,

“the liberty of every man [will be] in the hands of every

petty officer.” J/linois v. Krull, 480 U.S. at 363 (O’Connor,

J., dissenting) (quoting James Otis’s argument to the royal

Superior Court in Boston in 1761 against the ancient Act of

Parliament authorizing indiscriminate general searches by

writs of assistance). Few issues are more important to

American society than the amount of power it permits its

police to use without effective control by law. This Court

should grant review of the second question to clarify the

scope of the Fourth Amendment’s proscription against

arbitrary investigative stops by police officers and to

“usefully add to the body of law on the subject.” Ornelas v.

United States, 517 U.S. 690 (1996).

° This is especially true of African-Americans. See Jean

Johnson, Americans’ Views on Crime and Law Enforcement:

Survey Findings, National Institute of Justice Journal 233

(Sept. 1997) (reporting a study by the Joint Center for

Political and Economic Studies in April 1996, which found

that 43% of African-Americans consider “police brutality

and harassment of African-Americans a serious problem” in

their own community).

9 ~

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petitioner respectfully

requests that this Court grant his petition for a Writ of

Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

BEVERLY B. KNOTT

Colonel, U.S. Air Force

Counsel of Record

ANDREW S. WILLIAMS

Major, U.S. Air Force

Counsel for Petitioner

‘ TERRY L. McELYEA

Major, U.S. Air Force

Counsel for Petitioner

Appellate Defense Division

oo Air Force Legal Services Agency

112 Luke Avenue, Suite 343

Bolling AFB, DC 20032-8000

(202) 767-1562

October 2003

la

Appendix A

UNITED STATES, Appellee

V.

Winchester ROBINSON, JR., Technical Sergeant

U.S. Air Force, Appellant

No. 02-0148

Crim. App: No. 33925

United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces

Argued November 13, 2002

Decided July 8, 2003

GIERKE, J., delivered the judgment of the Court, in which

EFFRON, J., joined. CRAWFORD, C.J., filed a separate

opinion concurring in the result. BAKER and ERDMANN,

JJ., each filed a separate dissenting opinion.

Counsel

For Appellant: Major Jefferson B. Brown (argued);

Lieutenant Colonel Beverly B. Knott and Major Jeffrey A.

Vires (on brief); Lieutenant Colonel Timothy W. Murphy and

Major Terry L. McElyea. ~

For Appellee: Captain Matthew J. Mulbarger (argued);

Colonel Anthony P. Dattilo, Lieutenant Colonel Lance B.

Sigmon, and Captain Christa S. Cothrel (on brief);

Lieutenant Colonel LeEllen Coacher.

Military Judge: Barbara G. Brand

2a

Judge GIERKE delivered the judgment of the Court.

A general court-martial convicted the Appellant,

pursuant to his pleas, of failure to obey a lawful order,

possessing cocaine, using cocaine, and assault, in violation

of Articles 92, 112a, and 128, Uniform Code of Military

Justice [hereinafter UCMJ], 10 U.S.C. §§ 892, 912a, and

928, respectively. Appellant's pleas of guilty to possession

and use of cocaine were conditional pleas, entered in

accordance with Rule for Courts-Martial 910(a)(2). The

adjudged sentence, imposed by a panel of officer and

enlisted members, provides for a bad-conduct discharge,

confinement for six months, and reduction to pay grade E-4.

The convening authority approved the sentence but waived

automatic forfeitures. The Court of Criminal Appeals

affirmed the findings and sentence. United States v.

Robinson, 56 M.J. 541 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 2001).

This Court granted review of the following issue:'

WHETHER THE MILITARY JUDGE ERRED

IN FAILING TO SUPPRESS ALL EVIDENCE

OBTAINED AS THE RESULT OF AN

UNLAWFUL STOP AND SUBSEQUENT

SEARCH OF APPELLANT'S AUTOMOBILE.

For the reasons set out below, we affirm the decision of the

Court of Criminal Appeals.

' We heard oral argument in this case at the Washington &

Lee University School of Law, Lexington, Virginia, on

November 13, 2002, as part of "Project Outreach." See

United States v. Mahoney, 58 M.J. 346 n.1 (2003).

3a

Background

At the time of the offenses, the Appellant was assigned to

the 45th Communications Squadron at Patrick Air Force

Base (AFB), Florida. He was a Technical Sergeant (E-6)

with approximately 19 years of active duty.

On the evening of February 27, !999, Officer Mark

Jennewein, a member of the Melbourne, Florida Police

Department, was working the night shift on routine patrol.

Before joining the Melbourne Police Department, Officer

Jannewein had been an Air Force security policeman for

over five years. His last military assignment was at Patrick

AFB. Melbourne is about six miles from Patrick AFB.

Officer Jennewein was patrolling a high-crime area,

known for its drug and prostitution activity, in a marked

police cruiser. He was engaged in "a prostitution and drug

interdiction." At about 1:00 a.m., he noticed a maroon four-

door Oldsmobile parked "right next to [a well-known drug

dealer's] house in his dirt driveway or dirt lot." His computer

check of the license plate number revealed that the registered

owner lived at 95-B Virginia. Officer Jennewein saw a

sticker on the vehicle that identified the registered owner as a

noncommissioned officer assigned to Patrick AFB. Officer

Jennewein observed the car for another 10 or 15 minutes and

then was called away for other duties.

Officer Jennewein continued his patrol and later parked

his car behind a vacant liquor store in another high drug and

prostitution area. Shortly thereafter, he saw the same maroon

Oldsmobile traveling on the roadway. As soon as Officer

Jennewein's marked police cruiser pulled out behind the

Appellant's vehicle, the Appellant quickly made a right turn,

without signaling, into an unpaved alley next to an apartment

complex. The sudden turn did not cause Officer Jennewein

to brake suddenly or swerve. Officer Jennewein testified that

failure to signal a turn is an indicator of impaired driving. He

decided to stop Appellant's vehicle when it made the sudden

ta

turn without signaling. He activated his red and blue lights

and made a traffic stop at approximately 1:30 a.m.

Officer Jennewein approached the Oldsmobile and asked

the Appellant to produce his driver's license, vehicle

registration, and proof of insurance. Appellant fumbled with

his wallet and was able to present his driver's license, but he

was not able to find his registration. and proof of insurance.

Officer Jennewein told him to keep looking for the other

documents. .

There was a passenger in the Appellant's car, who was

"rough" looking, with tattered clothing, and somewhat

emaciated, “like a street person.” The passenger had no

identification, but said he lived in the neighborhood and that

his name was Floyd Simmons. Mr. Simmons said he knew

the Appellant because they had worked together for the last

six months as concrete block masons. Officer Jennewein

checked for outstanding warrants against Mr. Simmons,

determined that there were none, and allowed him to leave.

Officer Jennewein asked the Appellant how he knew Mr.

Simmons, and Appellant indicated they had just met.

After about 10 minutes, the Appellant found his

registration and proof of insurance. Meanwhile, Officer

Duffy arrived in her patrol car as a backup, having heard

Officer Jennewein report the traffic stop on the police radio.

Officer Jennewein noticed that the address on the Appellant's

registration did not match the address on his driver's license.

Officer Jennewein requested a computer check for

outstanding warrants against the Appellant. He was told to

wait because of another request ahead of him. While waiting

for a response, he began writing a ticket for failing to update

the address on the driver's license. He gave Appellant a

“verbal” warning for failing to signal his turn.

Officer Jennewein asked Appellant if he had any drugs or

weapons in his car, and Appellant said he did not. Officer

Jennewein then asked him to consent to a search of his

Sa

vehicle. When Appellant declined, Officer Jennewein

requested that a canine unit be sent to the scene.

Officer Jennewein asked Appellant about the military

sticker on his vehicle, and Appellant responded that he was

in the military. Officer Duffy asked Appellant for his

military identification, and Appellant complied. Officer

Jennewein then noticed that the date of birth on Appellant's

military identification card was different from the date of

birth on his driver's license. Appellant said that the

Department of Motor Vehicles had made a mistake and

would not allow him to correct it.

While conversing with Appellant, Officer Jennewein

noticed an odor of alcohol coming from Appellant's person.

Appellant's speech seemed somewhat "mumbled" and his

eyes were watery and bloodshot.

Officer Jennewein was still writing the citation for the

out-of-date address on the driver's license and still waiting

for the computer check on Appellant when the canine unit

arrived at approximately 1:48 a.m. Officer Jennewein asked

Officer Gary Markowski, the canine officer, t walk the

canine around the car. When Officer Markowski asked

Appellant to move back to avoid interfering with the canine,

he noticed that Appellant "seemed to be a bit slow in his

actions,” and "seemed to be sluggish with his speech and his

movements[.]"

Officer Jennewein advised Appellant that he suspected

him of driving under the influence of alcohol, and he asked

him to submit to a field sobriety exercise. Appellant refused.

Meanwhile, the canine alerted on Appellant's vehicle. Officer

Jennewein advised Appellant that he was being detained

upon probable cause that he had a narcotic substance in his

car. Appellant was handcuffed and placed in the patrol car.

Officers Jennewein and Markowski searched Appellant's

vehicle and found rock cocaine and drug paraphernalia.

Officer Jennewein then informed Appellant he was under

6a

arrest for possession of cocaine as well as driving under the

influence of alcohol. Officer Jennewein testified that he

would have arrested Appellant and searched his car even if

the canine had not alerted.

At trial, Appellant moved to suppress "any and all

evidence, including but not limited to cocaine, urine and

blood tests and results, observations of the police officers,

and military [identification] card obtained as the result of the

unlawful seizure of the accused and resulting search of his

vehicle[.]" The defense argued that there was no probable

cause and "no justifiable or legal reasons for the stop" of

Appellant's vehicle, because the turn without signaling did

not violate Florida law. The defense further argued that the

stop was "unreasonably extended" to conduct a canine search

of the vehicle.

Officer Jennewein did not specifically mention Florida

law in his testimony. He referred to the failure to signal as an

indicator of impaired driving and as a “traffic infraction."

The only references to Florida law were in the defense's

written motion to suppress and in oral argument on the

motion.

The military judge made extensive findings of fact that

comported with the uncontested testimony of Officers

Jennewein and Markowski. Among these findings of fact,

the military judge found, "Officer Jennewein initiated a

traffic stop based upon the failure to properly signal." The

military judge ruled that Officer Jennewein had probable

cause to stop Appellant for a traffic violation when Appellant

braked suddenly and turned without signaling; that, after

making the traffic stop and observing Appellant, Officer

Jennewein had a reasonable suspicion that Appellant was

impaired; that the alert by the canine provided probable

cause to search the vehicle; and that the cocaine and

paraphernalia would have been inevitably discovered even if

the dog had not alerted, because it would have been

discovered during a search incident to arrest.

7a

The military judge also ruled that the duration of the stop

(approximately 21 minutes) was reasonable, based on the

need to run two separate computer checks on Appellant and

his passenger, the delay in receiving the second computer

check because of heavy police activity, the inability of

Appellant to promptly produce his registration and proof of

insurance, and the prompt arrival of the canine unit while

Officer Jennewein was still waiting for the computer check

and stil! writing the citation for the out-of-date address.

The military judge concluded that the Fourth Amendment

was not violated; accordingly, she denied the motion to

suppress.

The Court of Criminal Appeals did not disturb the

military judge's findings of fact or make additional findings

of fact. However, the court held that Officer Jennewein did

not have probable cause to stop Appellant for a traffic

violation, because Florida law requires a turn signal only

when another vehicle is "affected" by the turn,’ and

? The statute provides:

No person may turn a vehicle from a direct sourse

upon a highway uniess and until such movement

can be made with reasonable safety, and then only

after giving an appropriate signal in the manner

hereinafter provided, in the event any other vehicle

may be affected by the movement.

Fla. Stat. ch. 316.155 (2002) (emphasis added).

The *lorida Supreme Court has held that § 316.155 is not

violated by a failure to signal a turn if the turn did not affect

any other vehicle. State v. Riley, 638 So. 2d 507, 508 (Fla.

1994). The Florida Supreme Court's interpretation of state

law is entitled to full faith and credit, “absent some

8a

Appellant's sudden turn without signaling did not affect

Officer Jennewein by causing him to brake or swerve.

However, the court concluded that the facts as found by the

military judge were sufficient to establish reasonable

suspicion sufficient to justify stopping Appellant's vehicle.

Finally, the lower court concluded, as did the military judge,

that the duration of the stop was reascnable.

Discussion

Appellant now asserts that Officer Jennewein stopped his

vehicle under the erroneous belief that he had committed a

traffic violation. He also asserts that the facts were

insufficient to justify an investigative stop, because there was

not enough evidence to establish reasonable suspicion that he

was involved in ongoing criminal activity. Appellant has not

challenged the duration of the stop.

The Government has not challenged the lower court's

holding regarding Florida law. Instead, the Government

argues that the totality of the circumstances were sufficient

to establish reasonable suspicion that Appellant was engaged

in illegal activity. Since the Government does not assert that

there was probable cause for a traffic stop of the Appellant's

vehicle, we limit our discussion to the question whether

Officer Jennewein had reasonable suspicion that Appellant

was engaged in criminal activity.

We review issues involving reasonable suspicion de

novo. Ornelas v. United States, 517 U.S. 690, 699 (1996).

An investigative stop of an individual is permissible under

the Fourth Amendment “where a police officer observes

unusual conduct which leads him reasonably to conclude in

light of his experience that criminal activity may be afoot."

Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 30 (1968). Similarly, an

investigative stop of a motor vehicle is constitutionally

permissible where there is reasonable suspicion that the

prevailing federal interest properly proven." United States v.

Allen, 27 M.J. 234, 239 (C.M.A. 1988).

9a

occupants are engaged in wrongdoing. United States v.

Cortez, 449 U.S. 411, 418 (1981). Based on the totality of

the circumstances, "The detaining officers must have a

particularized and objective basis for suspecting the

particular person stopped of criminal activity." Jd.

The concept of particularized suspicion has two

elements. The first element is that "the assessment must be

based upon all the circumstances." As the Supreme Court

explained:

The analysis proceeds with various objective

observations, information from police reports, if

such are available, and consideration of the

modes or patterns of operation of certain kinds

of lawbreakers. From these data, a trained

officer draws inferences and makes deductions -

inferences and deductions that might well elude

an untrained person.

Id. This process of inferences and deductions "does not deal

with hard certainties, but with probabilities." Jd.

The second element of the particularized suspicion

required is "that the process just described must raise a

suspicion that the particular individual being stopped is

engaged in wrongdoing." /d. The factual basis for reasonable

suspicion must be more than a mere “hunch.” Terry, 392

U.S. at 27. However, it need not rise to the level of probable

cause, and it falls considerably short of a preponderance of

the evidence. United States v. Sokolow, 490 U.S. 1, 7 (1989).

In considering the totality of the circumstances, the

detaining officer may consider a series of acts which are

innocent in themselves, but which, taken together, warrant

further investigation. United States v. Arvizu, 534 U.S. 266,

274-75 (2002). While mere presence in a high-crime area,

standing alone, is insufficient for reasonable suspicion, it is a

“relevant contextual consideration." //linois v. Wardlow, 528

10a

U.S. 119, 124 (2000) (citing Adams v. Williams, 407 U.S.

143, 144, 147-48 (1972)). Unprovoked flight "is not

necessarily indicative of wrongdoing, but it is certainly

suggestive of such." Jd. Evasive behavior is a relevant

consideration. United States v. Brignoni-Ponce, 422 U.S.

873, 885 (1975); United States v. Larios-Montes, 500 F.2d

941, 944 (9th Cir. 1974) (passengers in vehicle appeared to

be trying to hide). The fact that a vehicle appears out of place

is relevant. United States v. Gonzalez, 190 F.3d 668, 672 (Sth

Cir. 1999) (Border Patrol agents who were familiar with

local traffic on isolated road did not recognize vehicle and

noted it had out-of-state license plates). Finally, the time of

day is relevant. /d.; United States v. Lender, 985 F.2d 151,

154 (4th Cir. 1993) (presence in known drug area at 1:00

a.m.); United States v. Knox, 950 F.2d 516, 519 (8th Cir.

1991) (presence in high-crime area late at night).

In this case, Appellant was twice seen by Officer

Jennewein in high crime areas at an unusual time. The first

time Appellant's vehicle was parked in "right next to" a well-

known drug dealer's house. Appellant's vehicle, owned by an

Air Force noncommissioned officer who lived on Patrick

AFB, was out of place. Appellant's presence was sufficiently

unusual that Officer Jennewein kept his vehicle under

surveillance until he was called away by his dispatcher. A

short time later, Officer Jennewein saw Appellant's vehicle a

second time, cruising in a nearby high-crime neighborhood.

As soon as Officer Jennewein pulled out behind Appellant's

vehicle, Appellant made a sudden turn into an unpaved alley.

Even if the turn was not illegal under Florida law, it was (1)

evasive, (2) an indicator of impaired driving, and (3) unusual

because it was a sudden turn onto an unpaved alley that was

not a customary roadway. Considering the totality of the

circumstances, we hold that Officer Jennewein had

reasonable suspicion sufficient to justify an investigative

stop of the Appellant's vehicle.

lla

When we review a military judge's ruling to admit or

suppress evidence, we review the military judge's factfinding

under the clearly-erroneous standard and conclusions of law

de novo. United States v. Sullivan, 42 M.J. 360, 363 (1995).

There was no dispute regarding the predicate facts in this

case. The only litigated issues at trial were Officer

Jennewein's legal authority to stop the Appellant's car and

the duration of the stop.

In this case, the military judge erroneously concluded

that Officer Jennewein had probable cause to stop the

Appellant for a traffic violation. However, the military

judge's error was harmless, because the military judge

reached the correct result, albeit for the wrong reason. We

= agree with the Court of Criminal Appeals that the facts found

by the military judge were sufficient to establish reasonable

suspicion for an investigative stop.

After making the investigative stop, Officer Jennewein

quickly discovered evidence that Appellant had failed to

update the address on his license and that he was driving

while impaired. While Officer Jennewein was writing the

citation for the driver's license violaticn, the canine alerted,

giving him probable cause to search the vehicle. See United

States v. Alexander, 34 M.J. 121, 125 (C.M.A. 1992)

(canine's alert provided probable cause for search). Even

before the dog alerted, Officer Jennewein had already

decided that he had probable cause to arrest Appellant for

driving while impaired. We hold that the military judge did

not err by denying the motion to suppress the evidence

obtained as a result of the investigative stop.’

* Tn light of our holding that Officer Jennewein had

reasonable suspicion to stop Appellant's vehicle, and that the

canine's alert provided probable cause to search the vehicle,

we need not decide whether the military judge correctly

concluded that the evidence would have been inevitably

discovered.

Na ea err

12a

Decision

The decision of the United States Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals is affirmed.

CRAWFORD, Chief Judge (concurring in the result):

The issue of whether the police officer had a reasonable

suspicion that justified making an investigative stop of

Appellant's motor vehicle is admittedly a close question in

this case. Nevertheless, what is clear from the factors

discussed and the analysis set forth by the majority is that the

officer acted with a good faith belief that he had a legally

justifiable reasonable suspicion to stop Appellant's motor

vehicle. Therefore, I would apply the good faith exception to

the exclusionary rule in this case and affirm Appellant's

conviction.

This case presents the issue of whether the exclusionary

rule should apply to evidence seized as a result of an

investigative stop which the officer reasonably, but

mistakenly, believed was a violation of Florida traffic law.

The question of whether to invoke the good faith exception

to a police officer's warrantless stop has divided state and

federal courts. See, e.g., United States v. Ramirez-Lujan, 976

F.2d 930 (Sth Cir. 1992); United States v. Williams, 622 F.2d

830, 840 (Sth Cir. 1980); State v. Greer, 683 N.E.2d 82

(Ohio Ct. App. 1996); but see State v. Deherrera, 965 P.2d

501 (Utah Ct. App. 1998). The Military Rules of Evidence

permit the admission of evidence derived from searches and

seizures that otherwise satisfy the United States Constitution.

See, e.g., Military Rules of Evidence 314(k), 316(f).

The Fourth Amendment provides:

The right of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects, against

unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be

~ [3a

violated; and no Warrants shall issue, but upon

probable cause, supported by Oath or

affirmation, and particularly describing the place

to be searched and the persons or things to be

seized.

The amendment has two clauses -- the reasonableness clause

and the warrant clause. It has no express provision for a

remedy when evidence is obtained as a result of an illegal

search or seizure. For more than 100 years after the

American Revolution, the remedy for an illegal search or

seizure was a trespass action for damages. In an early

English decision, well known in this country, Entick v.

Carrington, 19 Howell's State Trials 1029 (1765), the police

ransacked Entick's home for four hours to obtain pamphlets

that were highly critical of the king. Lord Camden, Lord

Chief Justice of the Common Pleas, struck down the search

warrant and awarded Entick 300 pounds in damages. He

declared:

This power so assumed by the secretary of

state is an execution upon all the party's papers,

in the first instance. His house is rifled; his most

valuable secrets are taken out of his possession,

before the paper for which he is charged is

found to be criminal by any competent

jurisdiction, and before he is convicted either of

writing, publishing, or being concerned in the

paper.

Id. at 1064.

The same Lord Camden invalidated the general warrants

employed against John Wilkes, per the publication of Issue

No. 45, The North Britons. Wilkes v. Wood, 98 Eng. Rep.

484 (K.B. 1763). Even the early courts in this country

recognized that damages were the appropriate remedy.

If the search warrant were illegal, or if the

officer serving the warrant exceeded his

authority, the party on whose complaint the

warrant issued, or the officer, would be

responsible for the wrong done; but this is no

good reason for excluding the papers seized as

evidence, if they were pertinent to the issue.

Commonwealth v. Dana, 43 Mass. (2 Met.) 329, 337 (1841).

The first move away from the remedy of damages was

signaled in Boyd v. United States, 116 U.S. 616 (1886), in

which the Court excluded documents obtained from Boyd's

house because a "seizure of a man's private books and papers

to be used in evidence against him is [not] substantially

different from compelling him to be a witness” against

himself." Jd. at 633. Justice Bradley derived his conclusion

in part from the following passage in Entick:

It is very certain that the law obligeth no man to

accuse himself; because the necessary means of

compelling self-accusation, falling upon the

innocent as well as the guilty, would be both

cruel and unjust; and it should seem, that search

for evidence is disallowed upon the same

principle. There too the innocent would be

confounded with the guilty.

19 Howell's State Trials at 629.

The remedy the courts eventually formulated, the

exclusionary rule for Fourth Amendment violations, was first

enunciated in Weeks v. United States, 232 U.S. 383 (1914).

Even after Weeks, the state courts resisted the exclusionary

rule. Justice Cardozo questioned whether the "criminal is to

go free because the constable has blundered." People v.

Defore, 150 N.E 585, 587 (N.Y. 1926). He commented that

although a number of states have applied Weeks, more have

15a

rejected it. "With authority thus divided, it is only some

overmastering consideration of principle or of policy that

should move us to change. The balance is not swayed until

something more persuasive than uncertainty is added to the

scales." Id. at 588.

Nevertheless, in Mapp v. Ohio, 367 U.S. 643 (1961), the

Court applied the exclusionary rule to the states. In Mapp,

the Court justified the exclusionary rule by placing emphasis

on "the imperative of judicial integrity." Jd. at 659 (quoting

Elkins v. United States, 364 U.S. 206, 222 (1960)). The

Court reasoned that the government had to play fair and

could not be allowed to profit from illegal acts. Justice Black

believed that the self-incrimination clause of the Fifth

Amendment coupled with the Fourth Amendment justified

the rule. /d. at 661-62 (Black, J., concurring).

The Court identified a second reason for the rule: to curb

police misconduct effectively. As the Court stated, "the

purpose of the exclusionary rule ‘is to deter -- to compel

respect for the constitutional guaranty in the only effectively

available way -- by removing the incentive to disregard it.""

Mapp, 367 U.S. at 656 (quoting Elkins v. United States, 364

U.S. 206, 217 (1960)). The Court emphasized this purpose

again in United States v. Calandra, 414 U.S. 338, 347

(1974), by stating that the exclusionary "rule's prime purpose

is to deter future unlawful police misconduct and thereby

effectuate the guarantee of the Fourth Amendment against

unreasonable searches and seizures[.]"

In United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897 (1984), the Court

applied the good faith exception to the exclusionary rule.

Leon, a drug trafficker, was searched pursuant to a "facially

valid" search warrant obtained by the state police. At trial,

the evidence seized by the police was suppressed. The Court

held that the good faith search or seizure by the police

pursuant to a warrant does not require exclusion, even

though probable cause was lacking. The Court commented

that to the extent to which the exclusionary rule has no effect

l6a

on the behavior of magistrates as to the right to privacy, it is

misplaced. "The marginal or nonexistent benefits produced

by suppressing evidence obtained in objectively reasonable

reliance on a subsequently invalidated search warrant cannot

justify the substantial cost of exclusion." Jd. at 922. While

exclusion is certainly warranted where there is a flagrant

violation or a reckless disregard of the facts in a case, the

deterrence rationale does not work when the officer is acting

in good faith, as in this case.

In 1992, this Court adopted Leon in United States v.

Lopez, 35 M.J. 35 (C.M.A. 1992). The Court recognized that

the rationale in Leon "extends with equal force to search or

seizure authorizations issued by commanders who are neutral

and detached[.]" Jd. at 39. In the past, the Courts of Military

Review had been split on applying the good faith exception,

id. at 40, and this Court had not clearly addressed the issue.

We recognized that the good faith exception would not apply

where there is intentional or reckless misconduct by the

police, or where the basis for the action was totally lacking,

and thus was unreasonable. Jd. at 41-42. In this instance,

there was not a flagrant disregard of the stop rule or

unreasonable conduct.

With this background, I now turn to the question of

whether and under what circumstances the good-faith

exception to the exclusionary rule can and should apply to a

warrantless investigative stop by a police officer.

The defendant in Greer was seen by the police officer

turning left into a cross-over area without using the left-turn

lane provided and then went in the other direction. The

officer stopped him for what appeared to be an illegal U-

turn, but the Court, interpreting the state's statute, stated the

officer's conclusion that it was an illegal U-turn may have

been mistaken, yet the Court held that the stop was not

unreasonable and applied the good-faith exception to a stop

"based upon conduct observed by the officer that the officer

mistakenly, but reasonably, believes to constitute a violation

17a

of law." 683 N.E.2d at 83. The stop in Greer was a "minor

transgression," and not an intentional or flagrant illegality.

Id. at 86.

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals has applied the good-

faith exception to an investigatory stop in Ramirez-Lujon.

Ramirez-Lujon was seen by a border patrol agent some 35

miles from the border, 25 miles east of El Paso, Texas,

traveling on what was considered "a road to nowhere." 976

F.2d at 931. Drug smugglers were knowi to use this road to

proceed to a known drug distribution center. A border patrol

agent with three years' experience knew the locals who lived

down that road. When he saw Ramirez-Lujon's pick-up

truck, he did not recognize it as a vehicle belonging to one of

the ranchers who lived on the road and decided to

investigate. After tullowing the vehicle for some four miles,

he decided to make a stop.

The court upheld the stop, based either on "the

constitutional test of reasonableness or the good-faith

exception." Jd. at 933. The court held that “under all the

circumstances, [the border patrol agent] acted with an

objectively reasonable good faith belief that he had a

reasonable articulable suspicion that legally justified

stopping Ramirez[-Lujan]." /d. at 934. The court decided not

to address the constitutionality of the stop because it "was

sufficiently justified under the good-faith exception." Jd. at

934 n.4.

The rationale in Greer and Ramirez-Lujon applies to this

case. The majority holds that there was reasonable suspicion

to stop Appellant.

Appellant was twice seen by Officer Jennewein

in high crime areas at an unusual time. The first

time Appellant's vehicle was parked in "right

next to" a well-known drug dealer's house.

Appellant's vehicle, owned by an Air Force

noncommissioned officer who lived on Patrick

18a

AFB, was out of place. Appellant's presence was

sufficiently unusual that Officer Jennewein kept

his vehicle under surveillance until he was

called away bv his dispatcher. A short time later,

Officer Jennewein saw Appellant's vehicle a

second time, cruising in a nearby high-crime

neighborhood. As soon as Officer Jennewein

pulled out behind Appellant's vehicle, Appellant

made a sudden turn into an unpaved alley. Even

if the turn was not illegal under Florida law, it

was (1) evasive, (2) an indicator of impaired

driving, and (3) unusual because it was a sudden

turn onto an unpaved alley that was not a

customary roadway. Considering the totality of

the circumstances, we hold that Officer

Jennewein had reasonable suspicion sufficient to

justify an investigative stop of the Appellant's

vehicle.

_. M.J. (11-12). Considering all the facts set forth by the

majority, it is clear that Officer Jennewein had an objectively

reasonable suspicion that Appellant was engaged in criminal

activity. Certainly, there was more than one basis for the

stop--the fact that one theory was precluded by the Florida

statute does not preclude the application of the criminal

misconduct theory under these facts.

Rejecting the exclusionary rule in this case would neither

denigrate Fourth Amendment values nor complicate the right

to privacy because this is not a question of police

lawlessness. Certainly, deterrence of police misconduct is

not necessary in a borderline case like this, where the officer

has acted reasonably and in good faith. The courts have

applied a reasonableness standard as to apparent authority,

see Illinois v. Rodriguez, 497 U.S. 177 (1990) (third-party

consent); Winters v. Adams, 254 F.3d 758 (8th Cir. 2001)

(reasonable to detaim agitated occupant of parked car who

police suspected may be overdosing); Gallegos v. Colorado

19a

Springs, 114 F.3d 1024 (10th Cir. 1997) (reasonable to stop

and check distraught person walking in the middle of the

street), and many other exceptions to the Fourth Amendment

such that it would be incongruous not to apply it here.

California v. Acevedo, 500 U.S. 565, 580 (1991) (many

reasonableness exceptions to the Fourth Amendment).

Whether the exclusionary rule is based on judicial

integrity, see, e.g., Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438,

470, 484 (1928) (Holmes and Brandeis, JJ., dissenting), or

the deterrence of police misconduct, Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S.

1, 13 (1968), neither justification would require suppression

in this case.

A "police officer will not be deterred from an illegal

search if he does not know that it is illegal." Charles Alan

Wright, Must the Criminal Go Free if the Constable

Blunders?, 50 Tex.L.Rev. 736, 740 (1972). Because the

officer's action in this case was reasonable, I would not apply

the exclusionary rule and would affirm Appellant's

conviction.

BAKER, Judge (dissenting):

I agree with the majority that an officer would have

reasonable suspicion to justify an investigative stop of a

vehicle where the totality of circumstances indicated that a

vehicle had been parked briefly in the early nyorning hours in

the driveway of a house known to be used for drug dealing,

and that it was thereafter driven in a manner indicative of

impaired driving. However, because I do not believe the

facts articulated on the record in this case support such a

conclusion, I respectfully dissent. In light of the factual

deficiencies in this case, I need not address Judge Erdinann's

fair concern regarding whether an appellate court coul/

justify an investigatory stop on grounds of reasonable

suspicion where the officer's articulated reason for the stop

was a mistaken belief that Appellant had violated the law.

20a

| My analysis begins with United States v. Sokolow, 490

U.S. 1, 7 (1989), in which the Supreme Court expanded on

Terry stating:

In Terry v. Ohio, we held that the police can

stop and briefly detain a person for investigative

purposes if the officer has a _ reasonable

suspicion supported by articulable facts that

criminal activity "may be afoot," even if the

officer lacks probable cause.

The officer, of course, must be able to

articulate something more than an "inchoate and

unparticularized suspicion or ‘hunch. The

Fourth Amendment requires “some minimal

level of objective justification" for making the

stop.

Id. at 7 (citations omitted). Thus, reasonable suspicion

includes both subjective and oojective components -- an

officer's reasonable suspicion based on articulable facts

objectively reviewed.”

* This case is different from Whren v. United States, 517

U.S. 806 (1996). In Whren, the issue was whether a court

should look beyond an officer's articulated reasons for

making an investigatory stop in determining whether

reasonable suspicion existed for the stop. Whren did not

address the question posed here: whether an investigative

stop can be upheld under the Fourth Amendment if an

ovjective review of the record supported a finding of

reasonable suspicion, despite the fact that the officer did

not articulate those reasons as the basis for the stop and

the articulated basis for the stop was unreasonable.

The Court of Criminal Appeals applied a purely

objective standard of reasonableness in determining that

Officer Jennewein had reasonable suspicion to stop

2la

In my view, the Fourth Amendment analysis in this case

hinges on Officer Jennewein's articulation of two factual

questions: where was Appellant's car parked and did

Appellant drive his car in an impaired manner?

First, in what manner was Appellant's car "at" the house

of a known drug dealer, IL? Was it parked in the driveway,

on the street specifically in a manner associated with IL's

house or on the street as any other car might have been?

Officer Jennewein's testimony is not clear on this point.

Appellant's car is characterized at various points in the

record as "in front of," "at Steele [St.] and Mathers," “at

[IL]'s," “over at [IL]'s," "at a house," and "right next to his

house in his dirt driveway or dirt lot." In an urban

environment the factual distinction between parking on the

street or in a driveway can reflect the difference between

particularized suspicion and inchoate suspicion. In the

abstract, there is a significant difference between being

parked in a "bad crime" driveway, and being parked in a

"bad crime" neighborhood, which the Supreme Court has

Appellant, based on language in Whren indicating that

“subjective intentions play no role in ordinary, probable

cause Fourth Amendment analysis." United States v.

Robinson, 56 M.J. 541, 545 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 2001)

(citing Whren, 517 U.S. at 813). The court looked at all

the facts available to Officer Jennewein and concluded

that "a reasonable officer aware of these facts would have

a lawful basis for a brief investigative stop." Jd. at 548.

However, this approach mischaracterizes the holding of

Whren. Whren did not alter the fundamental requirement

that officers c. ducting investigative stops must

articulate facts that support reasonable suspicion. If

officers were not required to articulate some basis for the

stop, courts would be left to "speculate about the

hypothetical reaction of a hypothetical constable,” an

approach rejected by the Supreme Court in Whren as

unworkable. Whren, 517 U.S. at 815.

22a

held, does not in itself provide reasonable suspicion to justify

an investigative stop. Jllinois v. Wardlow, 528 U.S. 119, 124

(2000); Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47, 52 (1979). Nor did the

Government move this testimony from the abstract to the

specific by either reconciling the different testimonial

statements regarding the location of Appellant's car or by

showing with a map or photograph where Appellant's car

was parked, thereby indicating how parking on the street

necessarily connected Appellant's car with IL's house. The

Government also did not clarify this discrepancy at oral

argument, despite persistent questioning from the judges.

Moreover, the record does not provide a sufficient factual

basis to otherwise infer suspicion from street parking alone.

Second, did Appellant demonstrate indicia of impaired

driving and did Officer Jennewein articulate suspected

impairment as a basis for stopping Appellant? Here too, the

record is amorphous. This may reflect the fact that the

Fourth Amendment search was argued at trial under the

probable cause rubric based on Appellant's (lawful) failure to

signal. On appeal, the Government now finds itself arguing

an alternative, less developed, theory of reasonable

suspicion.

On the one hand, impairment is certainly in the air at the

appellate level. Officer Jennewein testified about his training

in identifying impaired drivers. Officer Jennewein testified

that the failure to signal a turn and other kinds of conduct

such as “accelerating, decelerating, swerving in another lane

of traffic, wide turn, failure to signal, reckless driving,

driving without headlights, [and] erratic braking[,]" are

factors suggestive of impaired driving. Officer Jennewein

also testified that he would not have followed Appellant's

vehicle if he had not previously seen the vehicle parked in

some manner adjacent to IL's house.

On the other hand, Officer Jennewein, never fully

delivers the punch line by expressly stating that he stopped

Appellant's car on account of his suspicion that the driver

23a

was impaired. Moreover, on three separate occasions he

testified that the sole reason he stopped the vehicle was

failure to properly use the turn signal. Such language does

not preclude the possibility that Officer Jennewein was

motivated by a concern over impaired driving--the failure to

signal being merely the final indicator of impairment--but

neither is it a clear articulation of reasonable suspicion of

impairment as the predicate for Appellant's stop.

Significantly, the military judge found that the officer

"initiated" his stop of the car because Appellant failed to

signal -properly. The military judge, having heard the

testimony of the officer regarding his training, could have

found suspected impairment as part of the officer's reasons

for stopping Appellant's vehicle, but she chose not to make

such a finding. For sure, the military judge may have omitted

such a finding because she found it unnecessary given her

conclusions that probable cause existed for violation of the

statute. However, determining whether the military judge

rejected the finding of impairment or simply found it

unnecessary to reach would be appellate speculation.

In the absence of probable cause for failure to signal, the

Government was left on appeal to stand on two factual legs

of a reasonable suspicion ladder: the presence of Appellant's

vehicle adjacent to a known drug dealer's house and indicia

of impaired driving. Neither leg was clearly articulated in the

record of trial. In my view, when the uncertainties in both

legs are considered together, the record does not move from

an inchoate to a particularized showing of suspicion required

by the Terry/Sokolow line of cases. Something more

particularized than the presence on a street with a house used

for drug dealing and bad, but lawful driving, must be

articulated to warrant an investigative stop. The Government

might have articulated additional relevant facts at trial if it

had known its ultimate appellate posture, but that is rot the

record we have on appeal.

24a

ERDMANN, Judge (dissenting):

I agree with the majority's initial finding that Officer

Jennewein lacked probable cause to initiate a traffic stop of

Appellant's car, based on his mistaken belief that a traffic

violation had occurred. In affirming the Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals, however, the majority goes on to find that

the detaining officer had reasonable suspicion to justify an

investigatory stop of Appellant's vehicle, i.e., "reasonable

suspicion" that the occupants were engaged in wrongdoing. I

dissent from both the analysis utilized by the majority and

from the finding that the facts known to the officer at the -

time of the stop rose to the level of reasonable suspicion. I

would reverse the Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals.

The initial traffic stop in this case was made by Officer

Jennewein solely because Appellant failed to signal when he

turned his car into an alley. After the stop a canine unit

called by Officer Jennewein alerted on the car and following

a consensual search, cocaine was discovered. Appellant was

subsequently charged with possession and use of cocaine,

amongst other charges. At a proceeding pursuant to Article

39, Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 U.S.C. § 839

(2000), Appellant contested the admission of the seized

evidence, arguing that the initial stop was in violation of the

Fourth Amendment. The military judge found no Fourth

Amendment violation, ruling that Officer Jennewein had

probable cause to stop Appellant for a traffic violation.

Appellant subsequently entered a conditional plea of guilty

to the possession and use of cocaine specifications.

The Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals found that

under Florida law there was no probable cause to believe that

a traffic violation had occurred, which rendered the stop in

violation of the Fourth Amendment. The lower court

rejected, however, Appellant's argument that the evidence

derived from the stop must be suppressed. Seeking an

alternative basis to uphold the initial stop under the Fourth

Amendment, the Air Force court went on to "determine

25a

whether there is some other basis in the law for the stop and

the resulting searches that led to the evidence of the use and

possession of cocaine." United States v. Robinson, 56 M.J.

541, 544 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 2001). A divided Air Force

Court found that, despite the initial illegal stop based on the

traffic violation, the stop was reasonable under the

circumstances and the evidence was admissible.

Because Officer Jennewein testified that he made the

stop based only on the suspected traffic violation, the Air

Force Court adopted an analysis that allowed them to move

beyond the officer's stated reason for the stop and determine

whether a "reasonable officer" would have had "reasonable

suspicion" for the stop. The lower court relied on Whren v.

United States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996), for the proposition that

the subjective intentions of the detaining officer are

irrelevant to a Fourth Amendment analysis. In my view,

Whren is inapposite and provides no basis for seeking an

alternate finding of reasonableness after an invalid or

unlawful traffic stop. The majority opinion suffers this same

delict: there is no transitional analysis supporting an

appellate court's authority to search for some other basis to

uphold the stop after determining that the only articulated,

record basis for the stop was unlawful.

As a general matter, the decision to stop an automobile is

reasonable where the police have probable cause to believe

that a traffic violation has occurred.' Whren, 517 U.S. at

810. It is important to note that the Court in Whren was

dealing with a case where the legality of the initial stop was

not in question and in fact was not even challenged on

appeal. In Whren District of Columbia police became

' The cases in this area reference both the "probable cause"

standard and "reasonable suspicion" standard. In this context

the "probable cause" standard is applied when the officer has

reason to believe that an offense has occurred while the

"reasonable suspicion" standard is generally applied when

the officer believes that criminal activity "may be afoot."

26a

suspicious of the defendant's car due to its temporary license

plates, youthful occupants and the fact that the driver

remained stopped at an intersection for what seemed to be an

unusually long time while looking down into the lap of the

passenger.” The police then observed the car turn suddenly

without signaling and drive off at an "unreasonable" speed,

activity that constituted valid traffic violations. The police

executed a stop based on the traffic violations and observed

two large plastic sacks of crack cocaine in Whren's hands.

The defendants argued that the police did not have

probable cause or even reasonable suspicion to believe that

they were engaged in an illegal drug activity and that the

officer's asserted ground for the stop - to give the driver a

warning concerning the traffic violations - was pretextual.”

The Supreme Court found that the subjective intent of the

officers does not play a role in an ordinary probable cause

Fourth Amendment analysis. The Sixth Circuit later

described Whren as holding that "an officer may stop a

vehicle for a traffic violation when his true motivation is to

search for contraband, as long as the officer had probable

cause to initially stop the vehicle." United States v. Hil’, 195

* It is difficult to conclude that these facts, standing alone,

would rise to the level of "reasonable suspicion" that

criminal activity is afoot.

> On appeal the defendants did not dispute that the traffic

violations constituted probable cause to support the stop.

Rather, they argued that, "in the unique context of civil

traffic regulations," probable cause was not enough. United

States v. Whren, 517 U.S. 806, 810, 135 L. Ed. 2d 89, 116 S.

Ct. 1769 (1996). Specifically they argued that a higher

standard was required to deter the pretextual use of traffic

stops as a means of investigating other violations of the law

as to which no probable cause or even articulable suspicion

exists. Id.

27a

F.3d 258, 264 (6th Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 1176

(2000). .

The Supreme Court in Whren quoted Scott v. United

States, 436 U.S. 128 (1978), for the principle that "subjective

intent alone . . . does not make otherwise lawful conduct

illegal or unconstitutional." 517 U.S. at 813 (emphasis

added). Whren simply stands for the principle that an officer

may legally stop a vehicle after observing suspicious

behavior that does not rise to the level of "reasonable

suspicion," as long as there is probable cause to believe there

has been a traffic violation.

If failing to signal a turn under the circumstances

presented in this case had in fact been a valid traffic violation

in Florida,’ then the fact that the officer's real motivation for

the stop may have been suspicion of drug activity would not

have invalidated the seizure or subsequent search as the

officer would have had probable cause to make the traffic

stop. Those, however, are not the facts of this case. There is

no dispute that Florida law does not prohibit a turn without

Signaling under the circumstances found here and that

Officer Jennewein made the stop based on a mistake of law.

In United States v. Miller, 146 F.3d 274 (Sth Cir. 1998),

police stopped the defendant after he drove his motor home

through an intersection with his turn signal on, without

changing lanes or turning. The police found marijuana in the

motor home as the result of a subsequent consensual search,

but it was later determined that flashing a turn signal without

turning or changing lanes was not a violation of Texas law.

In finding that the evidence was not admissible, the Fifth

Circuit stated:

* There is no evidence in this case that Officer Jennewein

made the stop based upon a suspicion of illegal drug activity.

He testified conclusively that the only reason for the stop

was the traffic violation.

28a

The rule articulated by the Supreme Court in

Whren provides law enforcement officers broad

leeway to conduct searches and _ seizures

regardless of whether their subjective intent

corresponds to the legal justifications for their

actions. But the flip side of that leeway is that

the legal justification must be objectively

grounded. See Whren, 116 S. Ct. at 1774; see

also Goodwin v. Johnson, 132 F.3d 162, 173

(Sth Cir. 1998) ("So long as a traffic law

infraction that would have objectively justified

the stop had taken place, the fact that the police

officer may have made the stop for a reason

other than the occurrence of the traffic infraction

is irrelevant for purposes of the Fourth

Amendment." (emphasis added)). Here, given

that having a turn signal on is not a violation of

Texas law, no objective basis for probable cause

justified the stop of Miller.

146 F.3d at 279 (footnote omitted).

In United States v. Lopez-Valdez, 178 F.3d 282 (Sth Cir.

1999), the Fifth Circuit again addressed this area where an

officer mistakenly stopped a car for an improper taillight.

Although the officer thought in good faith that the broken

taillight constituted a traffic infraction the court held that

there was no probable cause for the stop. The government

argued that the drugs seized as a result of the stop should be

admitted under the good-faith exception to the exclusionary

rule, but the Court disagreed:

Under the general rule established in Whren, a

traffic infraction can justify a stop even where

the police officer made the stop for a reason

other than the occurrence of the traffic

infraction. See Goodwin v. Johnson, 132 F.3d

162, 173 (Sth Cir. 1998). But if officers are

29a

allowed to stop vehicles based upon their

subjective belief that traffic laws have been

violated even where no such violation has, in

fact, occurred, the potential for abuse of traffic

infractions as pretext for effecting stops seems

boundless and the costs to privacy rights

excessive. Accordingly, we hold that [the

officer's] actions do not pass muster under the

good-faith exception to the exclusionary rule.

178 F.3d at 289.

In United States v. Mariscal, 285 F.3d 1127 (9th Cir.

2002), a case remarkably similar to the underlying facts of

this case, police were conducting an undercover surveillance

of a residence and a vehicle parked at the residence. They

observed the car pull away from the house and make a right

turn without using mechanical or hand signals. A traffic stop

was made based on the failure to signal a turn. A subsequent

search of the car revealed a concealed weapon and one of the

occupants admitted that the gun was his and that he was in

the country illegally. Relying on a long line of Ninth Circuit

authority, the court stated:

If an officer simply does not know the law, and

makes a stop based upon objective facts that

cannot constitute a violation, his suspicions

cannot be reasonable. The chimera created by

his imaginings cannot be used against the driver.

So, when an officer thought that a Baja

California vehicle registration statement had to

be visible from the rear, whereas the Baja

California law required that it be on the upper

right corner of the windshield, the officer's

mistaken belief could not "justify the stop under

the Fourth Amendment." United States v. Lopez-

Soto, 205 F.3d 1101, 1106. Similarly, when an

officer thought that Michigan required cars to

30a

have two license plates, but it indeed only

required one, a stop based on the two-plate

theory was not based on reasonable suspicion.

United States v. Twilley, 222 F.3d 1092, 1096.

Simply put:

A suspicion based on such a mistaken view

of the law cannot be the reasonable suspicion

required for the Fourth Amendment, because

"the legal justification [for a traffic stop] must

be objectively grounded." In other words, if an

officer makes a traffic stop based on a mistake

of law, the stop violates the Fourth Amendment.

_ Id. (citations omitted); see also United States

v. King, 244 F.3d 736, 741-42 (9th Cir. 2001) (a

mistaken belief that a driver's conduct violated

the law could not support a reasonable suspicion

that a crime had been committed, even if the

officer otherwise behaved reasonably).

285 F.3d at 1130.

While it is clear under Whren that evidence seized as the

result of a pretextual, although otherwise legal, traffic stop is

admissible, the issue here is whether Whren provides

authority for an appellate court to uphold admitting evidence

s-ized subsequent to an illegal traffic stop on the basis that

the stop was a lawful investigative stop based on reasonable

suspicion. Clearly it does not. The general rule is that if an

initial stop violates the Fourth Amendment, the evidence

seized as a result of the stop is subject to suppression. United

States v. Childs, 256 F.3d 559 (7th Cir. 2001).

Although the majority opinion does not provide the legal

basis for their analytical transition from the initial illegal stop

to the “reasonable suspicion" review, the danger in both its

approach and that of the Air Force Court is that an officer

can use an illegal traffic stop with impunity as long as an

alternative theory for admissibility of the evidence can later

3la

be developed. As noted in Lopez-Valdez, 178 F.3d at 289, if

a subjective but mistaken belief that a traffic violation has

occurred is all that is required, "the potential for abuse of

traffic infractions as pretext for effecting stops seems

boundless and the costs to privacy rights excessive." Further,

once the illegal traffic stop is made there is a natural

tendency to utilize the events and evidence discovered after

the stop to justify the initial stop, as evidenced by the extent

to which those facts are exhaustively discussed the decisions

of both Court of Criminal Appeals and the majority opinion.

There is something troubling about a concept where the

initial police action violates the Fourth Amendment but an

appellate court later develops a theory which allows the

admission of the evidence. In upholding the admission of

evidence seized subsequent to an illegal traffic stop on the

basis that the stop was a lawful investigative stop based on

reasonable suspicion, the majority extends that concept

further than any reported court decision. I would hold that

under the Fourth Amendment the admission of the evidence

is not allowable and would reverse the court below on that

basis. ;

However, even if the traditional analysis were applicable

to this situation, I would find a lack of "reasonable

suspicion." Absent a warrant or probable cause to believe

that an occupant has committed or is committing a crime,

including a traffic violation, a law enforcement officer may

lawfully stop a vehicle when the officer has a reasonable,

articulable suspicion that criminal activity is afoot involving

the vehicle. An "officer must be able to articulate more than

an inchoate and unparticularized suspicion or hunch of

criminal activity." [/linois v. Wardlow, 528 U.S. 119, 123-24,

145 L. Ed. 2d 570, 120 S. Ct. 673 (2000) (quoting Terry v.

Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 27 (1968) (internal quotation marks

omitted)).

The majority sets forth three grounds in support of their

finding of "reasonable suspicion:"

32a

Appellant was twice seen by Officer Jennewein

in high crime areas at an unusual time.

Actually, Appellant was not seen twice by Officer

Jennewein. The officer initially noticed a parked maroon

four-door Oldsmobile that was registered to the Appellant.

However, he did not see the Appellant or anyone else in the

car and he had no idea who was driving the car. The record

is unclear as to where the car was parked, other than the fact

that it was parked in the vicinity of a "known crack-house."

At the Article 39(a) hearing, Officer Jennewein testified

inconsistently as to exactly where the car was parked - and

this is a critical element for the Government to establish in

the "reasonable suspicion" analysis. If the car was legally

parked on a public street, then it would be less suspicious

than if it were parked "next to" or "in the driveway" of a

known crack house. On two occasions Officer Jennewein

testified that the car was parked "in front" of the house and

three times he simply stated the vehicle was "at" the house.

On a single occasion he testified that the car was parked

"right next" to the house in the "dirt driveway or dirt lot."

There is no reason to believe that Officer Jennewein's single

assertion that the car was parked next to the house is any

more believable than his multiple assertions that it was

parked in front of or at the house. The Air Force court found

only that the car was "parked outside the home.” Robinson,

56 M.J. at 547. The parties stipulated later as part of the

conditional plea that Appellant's car was "parked on Steele

Street."

The second time Officer Jennewein observed the car,

Appellant was driving down the public street in a legal

manner. The officer had not seen Appellant in the "known

crack house" nor had he seen him with any known criminals

or drug dealers.

33a

Appellant's vehicle, owned by an Air Force

noncommissioned officer who lived on Patrick

AFB, was out of place.

The fact that a vehicle or individual is located in a high

crime area is not, in itself, evidence of illegal conduct.”

Further, the fact that the vehicle was registered to an Air

Force noncommissioned officer adds little to a "reasonable

suspicion" analysis. Officer Jennewein's testimony that "it's

not a kosher place for a [military] member or a family

member to be" leads to the conclusion that it may be a

kosher place for an individual who is not a member of the

military. Military members come from all socio-economic

backgrounds and may well have valid reasons to visit family -

and friends in what are characterized as "high crime areas."

It is completely inappropriate to categorize military members

as a "class" deserving higher attention or suspicion from the

police.

As soon as Officer Jennewein pulled out behind

the Appellant's vehicle, the Appellant made a

sudden turn into an unpaved alley. Even if the

turn was not illegal under Florida law, it was

(1) evasive, (2) an indicator of impaired driving,

and (3) unusual because it was a sudden turn

onto an unpaved alley that was not a customary

roadway.

Officer Jennewein testified that once he saw the four-

door maroon Oldsmobile drive by he "pulled out and as soon

as [he] pulled out, [he] got right behind it and the individual

pulled into an alley which is between Guava and Avocado

> Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47, 52 (1979); United States v.

Basey, 816 F.2d 980, 989 (Sth Cir. 1987); United States v.

Davis, 94 F.3d 1465, 1470 (10th Cir. 1996); United States v.

Sprinkle, 106 F.3d 613, 618 (4th Cir. 1997); United States v.

Green, 111 F.3d 515, 520 (7th Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 522

U.S. 973 (1997).

34a

[Streets] and he failed to signal." Officer Jennewein clarified,

however, that the distance between his vehicle and

Appellant's was 150 feet. While Officer Jennewein initially

stated that the Appellant "slammed on" his brakes when he

pulled his police cruiser into the street, he corrected himself

and testified that the Appellant "decelerated and stepped on

the brake pedal and abruptly turned right into the alleyway."

The Air Force court determined only that “within two or

three seconds that Appellant quickly turned off the roadway,

without signaling." Robinson, 56 M.J. at 548. While certain

conduct that constitutes flight or avoidance of police is

suggestive of wrongdoing,° individuals driving in a normal,

lawful manner have not been considered to be evasive.’ At

no time did Officer Jennewein testify that Appellant tried to

evade him, speed away, or do anything other than turn

suddenly into an alley and then stop after the officer turned

his emergency lights on.

Impaired driving is simply not a reasonable conclusion to

be drawn from these facts. Absent an underlying traffic

offense, the mere failure to use a turn signal is not indicative

of criminal activity being afoot, including impaired driving.

Where the law does not mandate.the use of the turn signal in

the first place, the wholly lawful act of turning without using

the signal bears no reasonable relaticnship to a lapse of

judgment indicative of impaired driving. The record makes

clear that Officer Jennewein did not perceive impairment as

a basis for his actions at the time this stop was actually made

© United States v. Raibley, 243 F.3d 1069 (7th Cir. 2001);

United States v. Elkins, 70 F.3d 81 (10th Cir. 1995);

Commonwealth v. Grandison, 741 N.E.2d 25 (Mass. 2001);

State v. Vadnais, 677 A.2d 155 (N.H. 1996).

’ Sprinkle, 106 F.3d at 617-18; State v. Haviland, 532

N.W.2d 767 (Iowa 1995).

35a

and it was not found as a basis for the stop by the military

judge or the Court of Criminal Appeals.

The majority engages in speculation when it states that

the alley into which Appellant turned was not "customarily"

used as a roadway. This alley was not a short dead-end; it

was a through alley connecting two streets in the area of an

apartment building. According to Officer Jennewein, the

alley "was used by all the residents." A reasonable, if not the

sole, purpose of this alley is vehicular traffic.®

"Reasonable Suspicion"

"Reasonable suspicion" is "a particularized and objective

basis" for suspecting the person stopped of criminal activity.

Ornelas-Ledesma v. United States, 517 U.S. 690, 696

(1996). "Reasonable suspicion" is formed by specific,

articulable facts which, together with objective and

reasonable inferences, form the basis for suspecting that the

particular person detained is engaged in criminal activity.

United States v. Twilley 222 F.3d 1092, 1096 (9th Cir. 2000).

The pre-stop specific, articulable facts in this case simply

do not constitute "reasonable suspicion." Although

recognizing that a Fourth Amendment analysis of reasonable

suspicion is objective and viewed through the eyes of the

reasonable officer, the Supreme Court has also held that

reviewing courts should look to the specialized training and

experience of the detaining officer to make inferences that

might elude an untrained person.” This analysis cuts both

ways, and here it is important to note that none of the reasons

* Interestingly, after the stop Officer Jennewein discovered

that the passenger in Appellant's car lived "right there on

Avacado [Street]." To an experienced officer familiar with

the area, a turn at this point to drop off a passenger or visit a

resident of the apartment building would de usual and

"customary."

® United States v. Arvizu, 534 U.S. 266, 273 (2002).

36a

cited by the majority rose to a level that Officer Jennewein,

with his specialized training and experience, considered

sufficient to rely upon as a basis for a "reasonable suspicion"

stop. Rather, Officer Jennewein testified repeatedly that the

only basis for the stop was his belief that a traffic violation

had occurred. The majority is then left with the difficult task

of constructing a basis for "reasonable suspicion" where the

detaining officer articulated the grounds relied upon by the

majority and found them lacking.

The weight of evidence in the record indicates that

Appellant's car was legally parked on a public street in a high

crime area. Appellant was not seen in the area of the crack

- house, nor was he seen going into or out of the house. The

presence of his car in this location does not create a nexus

between him and criminal drug activity. While Appellant's

military status seemed to have struck a chord with Officer

Jennewein, from an objective standpoint it does not create or

increase the level of suspicion. Assuming that it was unusual

for a car to be parked in that area, then it should be no more

unusual if the car is owned by a military member or by a

civilian.

The fact that Officer Jennewein later saw the car driving

down the street does not add any additional cause for

suspicion. The car had been earlier seen parked in the area

and it is logical that at some point it would be driven to

another location. Under these circumstances the legal

movement of a vehicle on a public street does not provide

any additional basis for "reasonable suspicion." Finally,

Appellant made a legal turn into an alley. While Officer

Jennewein and the majority characterize the turn as

"sudden," Appellant didn't slam on his brakes, drive in an

erratic fashion or do anything else that would bring attention

to him - other than failing to turn on his turn signal. In fact,

in a matter of three to four seconds, Officer Jennewein

covered the 150 foot distance between his vehicle and

37a

Appellant's, and followed Appellant through the turn before

effecting the stop.

Under the rationale adopted by the majority the

following facts would constitute "reasonable suspicion" that

the car was involved in illegal drug activity or that the driver

was impaired: a car owned by military member was seen

parked in a high crime area late at night in the vicinity of a

known crack house; the car was later seen driving down a

public street and turning into an alley in a sudden but legal

manner.

Conclusion

The initial stop for a traffic offense was invalid and

violated the Fourth Amendment. I would hold the evidence

should have been suppressed and reverse the Air Force Court

of Criminal Appeals on that basis. Even if I engaged in a

traditional reasonable suspicion analysis, unembellished by

what transpired after the illegal stop, these facts do not rise

to the level of "reasonable suspicion" and the evidence

should have been suppressed.

38a

Appendix B

UNITED STATES AIR FORCE COURT OF CRIMINAL

APPEALS

UNITED STATES

V.

Technical Sergeant WINCHESTER ROBINSON, United

States Air Force

ACM 33925

29 October 2001

Sentence adjudged 8 October 1999 by GCM convened at

Patrick Air Force Base, Florida. Military Judge: Barbara G.

Brand.

Approved sentence: Bad-conduct discharge, confinement for

6 months, and reduction to E-4.

Appellate Counsel for Appellant: Lieutenant Colonel

Timothy W. Murphy and Major Stephen P. Kelly.

Appellate Counsel for the United States: Colonel Anthony P.

Dattilo, Major Lance B. Sigmon, and Major Leslea T. Pickle.

Before

SCHLEGEL, ROBERTS, and BRESLIN

Appellate Military Judges

OPINION OF THE COURT

BRESLIN, Judge:

39a

At a preliminary session of this general court-martial, the

appellant moved to suppress evidence of the appellant's use

and possession of cocaine, discovered as a result of a traffic

stop and ensuing searches of the appellant and his vehicle.

After hearing evidence and argument, the military judge

denied the motion.

Thereafter, the appellant was convicted, in accordance

with his pleas, of the wrongful use and possession of

cocaine, simple assault upon his spouse, and two

specifications of disobeying lawful orders, in violation of

Articles 112a, 128 and 92, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. §§ 912a, 928,

892. Pursuant to (R.C.M.) Rule for Courts-Martial 910(a)(2),

the convening authority and the military judge accepted the

appellant's conditional guilty plea to the drug offenses,

thereby preserving for appellate review the correctness of the

military judge's ruling. The sentence adjudged and approved

included a bad-conduct discharge, confinement for 6 months,

and reduction to E-4.

The appellant now renews his argument that the traffic

stop was unlawful and that the military judge should have

suppressed the results of the searches. He also maintains he

is entitled to a new post-trial action because the convening

authority failed to include in the formal action a reference to

the approved waiver of involuntary forfeitures under Article

58b, UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 858b.

Motion to Suppress

Mark Jennewein is an officer in the police department of

Melbourne, Florida. Previously, he had been an Air Force

security policeman for over five years, most recently at

Patrick Air Force Base (AFB), Florida. On 27 February

1999, he was working the midnight shift in Melbourne. He

was on routine patrol in a marked police cruiser in a high-

crime area known for its drug and prostitution activity. At

about 0100 hours, he noticed a maroon, four-door

Oldsmobile parked in the dirt driveway of a house belonging

to a drug dealer well known to him. Officer Jennewein

40a

checked the license plate number through his computer,

which revealed that the car's owner lived on Patrick AFB.

He examined the stickers on the car, noting that it bore a

yellow sticker meaning the registered owner was a non-

commissioned officer assigned to Patrick AFB. Officer

Jennewein waited across the street at the Community

Policing Unit field office to see if anyone approached the

vehicle. He radioed another patrolman, Officer Duffy, who

was also a reservist assigned to Patrick AFB, who informed

him the address was next door to a former supervisor's house

on the installation. After 10 or 15 minutes, Officer

Jennewein was called away for other duties.

A short time later, Officer Jennewein parked his patrol

car behind a vacant store on US Route 1, a location known to

be frequented by prostitutes. Shortly after arriving, Officer

Jennewein saw the same maroon Oldsmobile traveling on the

roadway. He pulled out and got right behind the vehicle.

Within two or three seconds, the Oldsmobile turned off the

roadway into an alley without giving a turn signal. Officer

Jennewein indicated that he was directly behind the vehicle

when it turned, but that the other driver's failure to use his

turn signal did not cause the officer to brake suddenly, or

swerve to void the vehicle. Officer Jennewein activated his

red and blue lights and made a traffic stop.

Officer Jennewein approached the Oldsmobile and asked

the driver (the appellant) to produce his driver's license,

registration, and proof of insurance. The appellant fumbled

with his wallet, and was able to present his driver's license

but not the other requested items. Officer Jennewein told him

to keep looking for the other documents. Officer Jennewein

then inquired how the appellant knew the passenger, and the

appellant indicated they had just met.

Officer Jennewein then spoke to the passenger, Floyd

Simmons. Mr. Simmons was "rough" looking, with tattered

clothing, and somewhat emaciated, "like a street person." He

4la

had no identification, but said he lived in the neighborhood.

Mr. Simmons said he knew the appellant because they were

block masons, and worked together for the last six months at

thé Daily Labor. Officer Jennewein called in Mr. Simmon's

information on his police radio to check for outstanding

warrants. Finding none, he allowed Mr. Simmons to leave.

Officer Jennewein returned to the appellant, who had

found his registration. Officer Duffy arrived in her patrol car

as a back-up. Officer Jennewein noticed that the appellant's

address on his license did not match the address on his

registration. The officer then radioed in the appellant's

personal information to check for outstanding warrants.

Officer Jennewein asked the appellant if he had any

drugs or weapons in his car, and the appellant said he did

not. Officer Jennewein asked for consent to search the

vehicle, but the appellant declined. Officer Jennewein

radioed for a canine unit. During this time, Officer

Jennewein was still waiting for a response to his radioed

inquiry concerning the appellant. During the conversation

with the appellant, Officer Jennewein noticed an odor of

alcohol coming from the appellant's person. The appellant's

speech seemed somewhat "mumbled," and his eyes were

watery and bloodshot.

Officer Jennewein began writing a citation for failing to

change the address on his registration. While he was writing

the citation, the canine unit arrived. Officer Jennewein asked

the officer to walk the drug-detecting dog, Rexx, around the

appellant's car. Officer Jennewein advised the appellant that

he suspected him of driving under the influence of alcohol.

Officer Jennewein asked if he would submit to a field

sobriety exercise. The appellant declined. At that time, the

drug-detecting dog alerted on the appellant's vehicle,

indicating the dog detected the odor of narcotics. Officer

Jennewein advised the appellant he was being detained upon

probable cause that he had a narcotic substance in his car,

handcuffed him, and placed him in the patrol car.

42a

Officers Jennewein and Markowski searched the

appellant's vehicle, and found cocaine in rock form and a

metal rod, curved on one end, which they recognized as drug

abuse paraphernalia. A field test at the scene was positive for

cocaine. Officer Jennewein then informed the appellant he

was under arrest for possession of cocaine as well as driving

under the influence of alcohol.

The defense moved to suppress all the fruits of the search

of the appellant's car and his person. Defense counsel cited

State v. Riley, 638 So. 2d 507 (Fla. 1994), a decision of the

Florida Supreme Court holding that failure to use a turn

signal is not an offense under Florida law where the turn did

not affect other vehicles. The defense counsel argued that

since the failure to use a turn signal was not an offense, the

officer had no probable cause to stop the appellant's vehicle,

and the evidence obtained from the unlawful stop must be

considered fruit of the poisonous tree. Defense counsel also

maintained that the stop took too long, essentially becoming

an unlawful detention. The trial counsel cited Terry v. Ohio,

392 U.S. 1 (1968), and argued that all that was required to

conduct a brief investigative stop on a vehicle was a

reasonable, articulable suspicion of criminal activity. Trial

counsel argued that considering all the facts known to the

officer that night, there was a legally sufficient basis for the

stop. The military judge denied the motion, finding that

Officer Jennewein had probable cause to believe the

appellant had violated Florida state law requiring the use of a

turn signal because Officer's Jennewein's vehicle "may have

been affected" by the appellant's turn. The military judge

found that the stop was not unreasonably long under the

circumstances. She also found that the alert by the drug-

detecting dog provided probable cause to search the

appellant's vehicle.

The appellant argues to this Court that the military judge

erred in denying the motion to suppress. The appellant

maintains that it is not unlawful in Florida to turn without

43a

signaling if no other vehicle is affected by the turn. Riley,

638 So.2d at 507. The appellant contends Officer Jennewein

did not have probable cause to believe that a traffic violation

had occurred, therefore the stop was unlawful and the fruits

of the unlawful seizure must be suppressed. The government

responds that there was evidence on the record from which

we could determine that there was traffic on the roadway that

may have been affected by the turn. The government also

argues that the failure to signal created a reasonable

suspicion that the driver was intoxicated, which was

sufficient to justify an investigative stop.

We review a military judge's decision to deny a motion

to suppress evidence for an abuse of discretion. United

States v. Beckett, 49 M.J. 354, 356-57 (1998). Findings of

fact are reviewed using a clearly erroneous standard, and

conclusions of law are reviewed de novo. United States v.

Ayala, 43 M.J. 296, 298 (1995).

In ruling on the motion, the military judge made

extensive: findings of fact and conclusions of law. The

military judge's findings of fact are supported by the

evidence presented during the hearing and are not clearly

erroneous. The military judge also concluded as a matter of

law that Officer Jennewein had probable cause to believe

that a traffic violation had occurred when he saw the

appellant's car, which was right in front of his, brake

suddenly and turn right without signaling. The military judge

ruled this was a violation of the Florida statute requiring turn

signals when any other vehicle "may" be affected by the

movement. We review this conclusion de novo.

Florida Statute § 316.155 (1999) provides,

(1) No person may turn a vehicle from a direct

course upon a highway unless and until such

movement can be made with reasonable safety,

and then only after giving an appropriate signal

in the manner hereinafter provided, in the event

44a

any other vehicle may be affected by the

movement.

In Riley, 638 So. 2d 507, the Florida Supreme Court held

that this statute required proof that another vehicle was

actually affected by the turn. It is arguable that the Court in

Riley did not specifically rule on this construction, but

instead focused their analysis on whether subsections (1) and

(2) of the statute must be construed separately or in pari

materia. However, later decisions of the Court held that the

statute requires that another vehicle actually be affected. See

State v. Daniel, 665 So.2d 1040 (1995), overruled on other

grounds, Holland v. State, 696 So.2d 757 (1997). The

Florida Supreme Court is the ultimate authority on the scope

and construction of state statutes. United States v. Allen, 27

M.J. 234, 238 (C.M.A. 1988). Although the construction in

Riley seems to strain the language of the statute, it is binding.

For this reason, we must conclude that the military judge

erred in applying the Florida law, and that Officer Jennewein

did not have probable cause to believe the appellant had

committed a crime based upon the appellant's failure to

provide a turn signal.

The appellant contends that the lack of probable cause for

arrest requires that all the evidence derived from the arrest be

suppressed. Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471, 488

(1963). Contrary to the appellant's contention, however, this

does not end our inquiry. We must determine whether there

is some other basis in the law for the stop and the resulting

searches that led to the evidence of the use and possession of

cocaine.

A. Objective Review

The first issue is whether this Court, in reviewing the

basis for the stop, is limited to considering the reasons

subjectively relied upon by Officer Jennewein. Although

there is little military case law on this matter, the Supreme

45a

Court has made it clear that we are not bound by the officer's

subjective basis for the stop. In United States v. Robinson,

414 U.S. 218 (1973), the Court considered the lawfulness of

a search incident to apprehension, when the arresting officer

testified that he had no fear of the respondent and did not

suspect the respondent was armed. The Court made clear that

the officer's subjective beliefs were not controlling, rather the

fact of the lawful arrest established the legal authority to

search the subject. /d. at 235.

In Scott v. United States, 436 U.S. 128, 138 (1978), the

Supreme Court considered a case involving a wiretap under

18 U.S.C. §§ 2510-2520 (1976) which required law

enforcement officers to minimize the interception of

communications not otherwise subject to interception. The

law enforcement agent testified that no real effort had been

made to minimize the interceptions. The government argued

nonetheless that the interceptions were reasonable under the

circumstances. The District Court ordered the results of the

wiretap suppressed based upon the officer's testimony.

Ultimately, the Court of Appeals reversed the District Court,

ruling that "the presence or absence of a good faith attempt

tO minimize on the part of the agents is undoubtedly one

factor to be considered in assessing whether the

minimization requirement has been satisfied," but went on to

hold that "the decision on the suppression motion must

ultimately be based on the reasonableness of the actual

interceptions and not on whether the agents subjectively

intended to minimize their interceptions." Scott, 436 U.S. at

134 (quoting United States v. Scott, 516 F.2d 751, 756 (D.C.

App. 1975)). The Supreme Court adopted the analysis of the

Court of Appeals, holding that the officer's subjective intent

alone does not make otherwise lawful conduct illegal or

unconstitutional.

The Supreme Court in Scott prescribed a two-step

approach to the required analysis. First, a Court must

determine whether there has been a_ statutory or

46a

constitutional violation. This is not based upon the officer's

subjective purpose, but rather based upon an objective

review of the facts known to him at that time. The Supreme

Court held that the officer's subjective state of mind does not

invalidate the action taken as long as the circumstances,

viewed objectively, justify that action. If a reviewing court

finds a violation, then it proceeds to the second part of the

analysis--what remedy is appropriate. In this second part of

the analysis, "official motives may play some part in

determining whether application of the exclusionary rule is

appropriate." Scott, 436 U.S. at 135-36.

In Whren v. United States, 517 U.S. 806 (1996),

plainclothes vice-squad members patrolling a "high-drug

area" in Washington D.C. became suspicious when they

observed a vehicle stopped at an iniersection for an

unusually long time--more than 20 seconds--with youthful

occupants and a driver looking into the passenger's lap.

When the unmarked patrol car turned around and headed

back to the vehicle, the suspect vehicle turned suddenly,

without signaling, and drove off at an unreasonable speed.

The police followed, overtook the suspect vehicle at a traffic

light, and stopped the suspect vehicle. The officers saw two

bags of what appeared to be crack cocaine in the passenger's

lap, and arrested the subjects. At a pretrial suppression

hearing, the defense argued that the officer's asserted reason

for the traffic stop--to give the driver a warning about traffic

violations--was pretextual. The District Court denied the

motion to suppress. The Court of Appeals affirmed, holding

that, "regardless of whether a police officer subjectively

believes that the occupants of an automobile may be

engaging in some other illegal behavior, a traffic stop is

permissible as long as a reasonable officer in the same

circumstances could have stopped the car for the suspected

traffic violation." United States v. Whren, 53 F.3d 371, 374-

75 (C.A.D.C. 1995). The Supreme Court affirmed, holding

47a

that subjective intentions play no role in ordinary, probable

cause Fourth Amendment analysis. 517 U.S. at 813.

_ The Supreme Court reaffirmed its position in Whren in

Arkansas v. Sullivan, 532 U.S. 769 (2001). There, the

Arkansas Supreme Court declined to follow Whren, and

upheld the suppression of evidence based upon the trial

court's findings concerning the police officer's ulterior

motives. The Supreme Court reversed, noting again the

Court's “unwillingness to entertain Fourth Amendment

challenges based on the actual motivations of individual

officers .. . ." Arkansas v. Sullivan, 121 S.Ct. at 1878. The

Court also made it clear that the Arkansas Supreme Court

"may not impose such greater restrictions as a matter of

federal constitutional law when this Court specifically

refrains from imposing them." /d. (quoting Oregon v. Hass,

420 U.S. 714, 719 (1975)) (emphasis in original). See also

Ohio v. Robinette, 519 U.S. 33 (1996).

The Supreme Court's holding is, of course, binding upon

this Court. "This test . . . is purely objective and thus there is

no requirement that an actual suspicion by the officer be

shown." 4 Wayne R. LaFave. Search and Seizure, A Treatise

on the Fourth Amendment, § 9.4(a), p. 139 (3d ed. 1996).

The Court in United States v. McKie, 951 F.2d 399, 402

(D.C. Cir. 1991) phrased it succinctly: "The Terry v. Ohio,

392 U.S. 1 (1968) standard being one of objective

reasonabieness, we are not limited to what the stopping

officer says or to evidence of his subjective rationale; rather,

we look to the record as a whole to determine what facts

were known to the officer and then consider—whether a

reasonable officer in those circumstances would have been

suspicious." See also United States v. Villamonte-Marquez,

462 U.S. 579 (1983) (customs officers were entitled to board

vessel in navigable waters to review documents under

federal statute, and the fact that they were following an

informant's tip of drug activity and were accompanied by a

Louisiana state policeman does not undermine that

48a

authority); State v. Hawley, 540 N.W.2d 390 (N.D. 1995)

(even though officer admitted he did not form any suspicion

of criminal behavior, the automobile stop was lawful because

the "reasonable-and-articulable-suspicion standard" is

objective, and it does not hinge upon the subjective beliefs of

the arresting officer). Indeed, even if the officer is unaware

of a violation of state law at the time of the stop, the fact of

such a violation may be considered by a reviewing court in

determining the objective reasonableness of the stop. State

v. Vento, 604 N.W.2d 468 (S.D. 1999).

Thus we conclude that we are not limited to the belief

subjectively relied upon by Officer Jennewein as the basis

for the stop. Instead, we must consider objectively all the

facts known to him at that time in determining the basis for

the stop.

B. Basis for the Stop

As discussed above, Officer Jennewein did not have

probable cause to believe a traffic violation had occurred,

and therefore he had no probable cause to arrest the appellant

on that basis. However, the Fourth Amendment allows a

properly limited "search" or "seizure" on facts that do not

constitute probable cause to arrest or to search for

contraband or evidence of a crime. The Supreme Court has

made it clear that "[a] brief stop of a suspicious individual, in

order to determine his identity or to maintain the status quo

momentarily while obtaining more information" may be

reasonable "seizure" under the Fourth Amendment. Adams v.

Williams, 407 U.S. 143, 145-46 (1972). See also Terry v.

Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968).

These brief investigative stops may be used for persons

in a moving vehicle. United States v. Brignoni-Ponce, 422

U.S. 873, 881 (1975) ("when an officer's observations lead

him reasonably to suspect that a particular vehicle may

contain aliens who are illegally in the country, he may stop

the car briefly and investigate the circumstances that provoke

49a

suspicion"). One's expectation of privacy in an automobile

and freedom in its operation are significantly different from

the traditional expectation of privacy and freedom in a

personal residence. United States v. Martinez-Fuerte, 428

U.S. 543 (1976); United States v. Ortiz, 422 U.S. 891, 896

n.2 (1975). Nonetheless, a random stop of a vehicle for no

reason, however brief, constitutes an unlawful seizure under

the Fourth Amendment. Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648

(1979). “Officers on roving patrol may stop vehicles only if

they are aware of specific articulable facts, together with

rational inferences from those facts, that reasonably warrant

suspicion that the vehicles contain aliens who may be

illegally in the country." Brignoni-Ponce, 422 U.S. at 884.

Courts have used a variety of terms to capture

the elusive concept of what cause is sufficient to

authorize police to stop a person. Terms like

"articulable reasons" and "founded suspicion"

are not self-defining; they fall short of providing

clear guidance dispositive of the myriad factual

situations that arise. But the essence of all that

has been written is that the totality of the

circumstances--the whole picture--must be taken

into account. Based upon that whole picture the

detaining officers must have a particularized and

objective basis for suspecting the particular

person stopped of criminal activity. See, e.g.

Brown v. Texas, 443 U.S. 47, 51 [(1979)];

United States v. Brignoni-Ponce, 422 U.S. 873,

884 [(1975)].

United States v. Cortez, 449 U.S. 411, 417-18 (1981). See

United States v. Sokolow, 490 U.S. 1 (1989) (reasonable

suspicion requires evaluating the totality of the

circumstances); United States v. Cummins, 920 F.2d 498,

501 (8th Cir. 1990) (standard is objective reasonableness);

United States v. Wright, 476 F.2d 1027 (Sth Cir. 1973);

7 50a

United States v. Bugarin-Casas, 484 F.2d 853 (9th Cir.

1973) ("founded suspicion").

Courts consider a wide variety of factors in determining

whether there are articulable-reasons or founded suspicion

for a stop.

Any number of factors may be taken into

account in deciding whether there is reasonable

suspicion to stop a car in the border area.

Officers may consider the characteristics of the

area in which they encounter a vehicle. Its

proximity to the border, the usual patterns of

traffic on the particular road, and previous

experience with alien traffic are all relevant. See

Carroll v. United States, 267 U.S. 132, 159-161

(1925); United States v. Jaime-Barrios, 494 F.2d

455 (CA9), cert. denied, 417 U.S. 972 [ ] (1974).

They also may consider information about

recent illegal border crossings in the area. The

driver's behavior may be relevant, as erratic

driving or obvious attempts to evade officers can

support a reasonable suspicion. See United

States v. Larios-Montes, 500 F.2d 941 (CA9

1974); Duprez v. United States, 435 F.2d 1276

(CA9 1970). Aspects of the vehicle itself may

justify suspicion.

Brignoni-Ponce, 422 U.S. at 884-85.

There is a substantial body of case law discussing the

kinds of facts and circumstances giving rise to a reasonable

suspicion sufficient to justify a Terry stop. See generally 4

LaFave, supra, at § 9.4(f). One frequently cited factor is the

subject's reaction to the presence of the police, including

running away (United States v. Wilson, 2 F.3d 226 (7th Cir.

1993)); changing direction to avoid the police (United States

v. Sharpe, 470 U.S. 675, 84 L. Ed. 2d 605, 105 S. Ct. 1568

Sla

(1985)); or trying to conceal objects or themselves (United

States v. Paleo, 967 F.2d 7 (1st Cir. 1992); Brown v. United

States, 546 A.2d 390 (D.C. 1988); United States v. Tate, 648

F.2d 939 (4th Cir. 1981)). Another factor commonly

considered is whether the individual "fits" the area in which

he is found. "If the individual is of a race or economic status

not ordinarily to be found in that area," it may be considered

in assessing the degree of suspicion that exists. 4 LaFave,

supra, § 9.4(f), p.183. See also People v. Bower, 24 Cal. 3d

638, 156 Cal. Rptr. 856, 597 P.2d 115 (1979); Racine v.

State, 286 So. 2d 890 (Ala. Crim. App. 1973). Time of day is

also a common factor, with the lateness of the hour often

generating grounds for suspicion, depending upon the

location and the activity in question. United States v. Lender,

985 F.2d 151 (4th Cir. 1993). The nature of the area in which

the suspect is found is often considered, especially in areas

where illegal activity is known to occur. United States v.

Perrin, 45 F.3d 869 (4th Cir. 1995).

In this case, Officer Jennewein observed the appellant's

automobile parked outside the home of a well-known

narcotics dealer at about 0100 hours. Upon inspecting the

parked car he saw Patrick AFB registration stickers. As a

former Air Force security policeman he knew that the

stickers meant the owner was a noncommissioned officer

assigned to Patrick AFB. He subsequently learned that the

owner lived on Patrick AFB. Thus, the vehicle was "out of

place." Later, at about 0130 hours, while parked in his patrol

car in an area of town known for drug and prostitution

activity, Officer Jennewein saw the appellant driving the

vehicle. Officer Jennewein pulled his marked patrol car into

traffic right behind the appellant, and within two or three

seconds the appellant quickly turned off the roadway,

without signaling. Considering all these factors, we conclude

that a reasonable officer aware of these facts would have a

lawful basis for a brief investigative stop.

52a

‘To be reasonable under the Fourth Amendment, an

investigative stop must be brief. United States v. Place, 462

U.S. 696, 709-10 (1983). There is no bright-line rule

concerning the length of a "reasonable" stop--all the

circumstances must be considered. United States v. Sharpe,

470 U.S. 675, 685-86 (1985). The detaining officer may take

the time to review the driver's license, registration certificate

and proof of insurance, and run a computer check on the car

and driver. United States v. Soto, 988 F.2d 1548, 1554 (10th

Cir. 1993); United States v. Rodriguez, 44 M.J. 766, 772

(N.M. Ct. Crim. App. 1996), set aside on other grounds, 50

M.J. 38 (1998). In this case, after the initial stop, the

appellant's apparent intoxication provided Officer Jennewein

a reasonable basis to detain the appellant further. Once the

appellant produced his registration that did not match his

driver's license, Officer Jennewein had probable cause to

believe the appellant had committed a traffic offense. When

the drug-detecting dog alerted on the vehicle, the officer had

probable cause to arrest the appellant for possession of

narcotics. Florida v. Royer, 460 U.S. 491 (1983).

We conclude that Officer Jennewein's stop of the

appellant's vehicle was reasonable under the circumstances.

The evidence derived from the subsequent searches of the

appellant and his vehicle was properly seized and admitted

into evidence.

Failure to Note the Waiver in the Action

After trial, the appellant asked the convening authority to

defer the automatic forfeitures under Article 57(a), UCMJ,

10 U.S.C. § 857(a), until the date of action, and to waive the

automatic forfeitures under Article 58b, UCMJ, in the

maximum amount for six months. The convening authority

denied the request for deferment, but granted the waiver for a

period of six months beginning 14 days after the date of the

sentence. The waiver of forfeitures was for the purpose of an

involuntary allotment in support of the appellant's family,

and was ordered to be paid to the appellant's spouse directly.

53a

On 12 December 1999, the convening authority took action

approving the findings and sentence. The formal action did

not note the approved waiver of forfeitures. There is no

evidence the appellant's spouse did not receive the monies

ordered paid through the involuntary allotment.

The appellant argues that the failure to include mention

of the approved waiver of forfeitures requires a new action.

We disagree.

Article 58b, UCMJ, requires automatic forfeitures during

periods of confinement for qualifying sentences. Subsection

(b) of that provision authorizes the convening authority to

waive "any and all of the forfeitures of pay and allowances . .

. for a period not to exceed six months." The statute does not

place a time limit on the convening authority's decision, or

require that it be included in the formal action approving the

findings or sentence. Air Force Instruction (AFI) 51-201,

Administration of Military Justice, P 9.7.3 (3 October 1997),

in effect at the time of this trial, provided that the convening

authority. may waive automatic forfeitures any time prior to

acting on the sentence. AFI 51-201, § 9.8.4 provided that

approval of a waiver "should be" memorialized in the

convening authority's action. This language is permissive

rather than mandatory. We conclude that the action of the

convening authority is not the instrument that effects an

approved waiver of automatic forfeitures, rather it is a means

of memorializing the event. The failure to note the approved

waiver of automatic forfeitures in the action does not

invalidate an otherwise proper action.

Conclusion

The findings are correct in law and fact, and no error

prejudicial to the substantial rights of the appellant occurred.

Accordingly, the findings and sentence are

AFFIRMED.

SCHLEGEL, Senior Judge (dissenting in part):

54a

I would hold that the judge erred in failing to suppress

the evidence obtained from the stop and search of the

appellant and his car. As a result, I would set aside the

findings of guilty and dismiss Charge I and its specifications.

This case turns on the Florida Supreme Court's decision in

State v. Riley, 638 So. 2d 507 (Fla. 1994), Officer

Jennewein's trial testimony about why he stopped the

appellant, and federal case law concerning traffic stops.

The defendant in Riley was the passenger in a car that

was stopped for failing to use a turn signal pursuant to Fla.

Stat. § 316.155 (1999), which provides that:

(1) No person may turn a vehicle from a direct

course upon a highway unless and until such

movement can be made with reasonable safety,

and then only after giving an appropriate signal

in the manner hereinafter provided, in the event

any other vehicle may be affected by the

movement.

During the stop, the police discovered the defendant had

some marijuana. The trial court, in suppressing the

marijuana, found that the police officers, who were engaged

in drug enforcement operations, had no basis to stop the car

because no other cars were affected by the driver's failure to

signal before turning. The Florida Supreme Court, in

affirming the lower court, held,

If no other vehicle is affected by a turn from the

highway, then a signal is not required by the

statute. If a signal is not required, then a traffic

stop predicated on failure to use a turn signal is

illegal and any evidence obtained as a result of

that stop must be suppressed.

Id. at 508. While I disagree with the Florida Supreme

Court's interpretation of the plain meaning of that paragraph

55a

of the statute, they are the ultimate authority on the scope

and construction of their own state statutes. United States v.

Allen, 27 M.J. 234, 238 (C.M.A. 1988).

In the case sub judice, Officer Jennewein testified that

his probable cause for the stop was the appellant's turn

without signaling. Officer Jennewein said there was

moderate traffic on the street that night, including men

cruising through the area in their cars looking for prostitutes. -

However, he could not say that any other vehicle was

affected by the appellant's turn, including his own.

"The Fourth Amendment requires that searches and

seizures be reasonable. A search or seizure is ordinarily

unreasonable in the absence of individualized suspicion of

wrongdoing." City of Indianapolis v. Edmond, 531 U.S. 32,

37 (2000) (citing Chandler v. Miller, 520 U.S. 305, 308

(1997)); United States v. McCarthy, 38 M.J. 398, 402

(C.M.A. 1993) (citing United States v. Thatcher, 28 M.J. 20,

22 (C.M.A. 1989) and United States v. Middleton, 10 M.J.

123, 127 (C.M.A. 1981)). The decision to stop a motorist is

reasonable when a law enforcement officer has probable

cause to believe that a traffic violation has occurred.

Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648, 659 (1979); Pennsylvania

v. Mimms, 434 U.S. 106, 109 (1977) (per curiam). The actual

motivation of a law enforcement officer who detains a

motorist based on probable cause is irrelevant. Whren v.

United States, 517 U.S. 806, 810-13 (1996).

The rule articulated by the Supreme Court in

Whren provides law enforcement officers broad

leeway to conduct searches and _ seizures

regardless of whether their subjective intent

corresponds to the legal justifications for their

actions. But the flip side of that leeway is that

the legal justification must be objectively

grounded.

56a

United States v. Miller, 146 F.3d 274, 279 (Sth Cir. 1998).

See also United States v. Lopez-Soto, 205 F.3d 1101 (9th Cir.

2000); United States v. Lopez-Valdez, 178 F.3d 282 (Sth Cir.

1999).

In Miller, the accused drove his motor home through an

intersection with his left turn signal on, without turning or

changing lanes. A deputy sheriff stopped him for the purpose

of issuing a warning citation for improper use of the turn

signal pursuant to Tex. Transp. Code § 547.305(c) (Vernon

Supp. 1997). During the stop, the accused consented to the

warrantless search of his vehicle and the police found

marijuana. The District Court denied defendant's motion to

suppress the evidence, and he was convicted of possession of

marijuana with intent to distribute. The Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit held that the lower court erred in admitting

the marijuana into evidence because it found that flashing a

turn signal without turning or changing lanes was not a

violation of Texas law. As a result, there was no probable

cause for the stop.

In Lopez-Soto, the accused was stopped by a San Diego

police officer while driving a car that displayed license plates

from Baja California, Mexico. The police officer conducted

the stop because he mistakenly believed that Baja California

required motorists to affix a visible registration sticker on the

rear of the car. During the stop, the officer discovered 400

kilograms of marijuana in the car. The District Court denied

defendant's motion to suppress the evidence and the accused

entered a conditional plea of guilty to possession of the

marijuana with the intent to distribute. In reversing the

accused's conviction, the Court of Appeals for the 9th Circuit

found that even though the defendant's vehicle had no valid

registration sticker, the officer's mistaken understanding of

the law did not provide an objectively reasonable basis for

the stop.

In Lopez-Valdez, the accused was driving on a public

highway in Texas near the Mexican border. Traveling in the

S7a

opposite direction, a Texas state trooper and a border patrol

agent noticed her car had numerous passengers. They

suspected that she was smuggling aliens. When the trooper

looked in his rearview mirror, he saw the accused's brake

lights come on and noticed a hole in the right taillight. The

trooper decided to stop the accused because he believed that

a broken taillight constituted a traffic infraction. After the

stop, the trooper and agent discovered that most of the

passengers were illegal aliens. The accused unsuccessfully

sought to suppress this evidence and was convicted of

willfully transporting illegal aliens. On appeal she argued

that the trooper and agent lacked reasonable suspicion and

probable cause for the stop. The Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit agreed with her and found that the presence of

people in the car alone did not raise a reasonable suspicion of

wrongdoing and that under Texas law a broken taillight did

not justify a traffic stop. The court held that the stop of the

accused's car also did not pass muster under the good faith

exception to the exclusionary rule.

Like the other police officers in the cited cases, Officer

Jennewein was mistaken about the law. As a result, the stop

of the appellant was not objectively grounded in the law. The

majority holds that despite this disconnect, the stop was still

permissible based upon reasonable suspicion. I agree that a

traffic stop may be based on reasonable suspicion. However,

a stop under this theory must be based upon observations

that the person stopped has committed, is committing, or is

about to commit a crime. See Lopez-Soto, 205 F.3d at 1104

(citing Berkemer v. McCarty, 468 U.S. 420, 439 (1984)).

Officer Jennewein testified that shortly after midnight, he

was on routine patrol for suspicious persons in a high crime

area of Melbourne, Florida. He spotted the appellant's car

parked in a dirt lot next to the home of a "convicted felon,

crack user and small, middle dealer. He sells a lot of cocaine

to the prostitutes." Officer Jennewein ran the license plate

number and discovered the car was registered to an address

58a

on Patrick Air Force Base (AFB), Florida. He examined the

car and found Patrick AFB stickers indicating the owner was

a noncommissioned officer. Officer Jennewein testified he

parked across the street to see if anybody came to the car "so

I could check, you know, it could have been a military

spouse, their children, something like that, down here in the

drug area. And it's not a kosher place for a member or a

family member to be." (Before becoming a police officer for

the city of Melbourne, Officer Jennewein had been an Air

Force security policeman, stationed at Patrick AFB.) After

waiting for 10 or 15 minutes for someone to return to the car,

Officer Jennewein was called away to another area. Later,

while sitting in his patrol car in a parking lot, some distance

from where he originally noticed the appellant's car,

watching people and cars, he saw the car drive by. Officer

Jennewein pulled onto the street approximately 150 feet

behind the appellant's vehicle. Almost simultaneously, the

appellant made a right turn into an alley. Officer Jennewein

initiated a traffic stop of the appellant because he failed to

signal for the turn.

In my opinion, these facts are insufficient to justify a stop

based upon reasonable suspicion that criminal activity was

afoot. Initially, there was nothing distinctive about the car

except that it was parked near public housing in a high crime

area of the city. It was close to the home of a convicted felon

who sold cocaine to prostitutes. Officer Jennewein learned

that the car was registered to a noncommissioned officer

stationed at Patrick AFB. However, he never saw anyone

from the car enter or exit the felon's home. No individual

was seen using or possessing cocaine or drinking alcohol

before operating the car. In fact, but for Officer Jennewein's

misunderstanding about traffic laws in the state of Florida,

he never observed the car being operated in an unlawful

manner.

59a

Under the majority's theory, Officer Jennewein would

have been justified stopping any car parked near the felon's

house or operating in that high crime area early in the

morning. I would hold that Officer Jennewein violated the

Fourth Amendment when he stopped the appellant and that

the evidence obtained as a result of the stop should have

been suppressed by the judge. See Wong Sun v. United

States, 371 U.S. at 484-85. Since all of the evidence

concerning the drug offenses was obtained or derived from

the stop, I would set aside and dismiss Charge I and its

specifications.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.