Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Reggie B. v. Bush

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

OILED (")

Q3 351 SEP 2 2003,

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

>Pr<¢

REGGIE AND REBECCA B., TAMMY G.,

ELAINE R. and RACHEL C.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

JEB BUSH, as the Governor of the State of Florida, ef 2/.,

Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ of Certiorari

To The United States Court of Appeals

For The Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

: Karen Gievers Marcia Robinson Lowry

GIEVERS, P.A. Counsel of Record

524 East College Avenue, Suite 2 Eric E. Thompson

Tallahassee, Florida 32301 Douglas C. Gray

850-222-1961 CHILDREN’S RIGHTS, INC.

, 404 Park Avenue South

Eleventh Floor

New York, New York 10016

212-683-2210

(Additional Counsel On the Reverse)

William H. Fraser

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF

PALM BEACH COUNTY, INC.

423 Fern Street, Suite 200

West Palm Beach, Florida 33401

561-655-8944

Bernard P. Ferlmutter

Carolyn Salisbury

UNIVERSITY. OF MIAMI

SCHOOL OF LAW _

5915 Ponce de Leon

Boulevard #28

Coral Gables, Florida 33146

305-284-3123

|

Christina A. Zawisza

CHILD ADVOCACY CLINIC

THE UNIVERSITY OF MEMPHIS

SCHOOL OF LAW

109 North Main Street, 2nd Floor

Memphis, Tennessee 38103

901-523-8822

ROY WASSON

210 South Dixie Highway

Suite 450

Gables One Tower

Miami, Florida 33146

305-666-5053

Deborah A. Schroth

FLORIDA LEGAL SERVICES

126 West Adams Street, #502

Jacksonville, Florida 32202

904-355-5200

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

Petitioners are foster children in the custody of the State

of Florida seeking to compel executive branch officials of the

state to treat them in accordance with the United States

Constitution. ~- The district court determined that Younger

abstention was required due to petitioners’ periodic review

proceedings in state juvenile court and the Eleventh Circuit

affirmed. The question presented for review is:

Whether the court of appeals’ Younger abstention ruling

was improper where the prospective injunctive and declaratory

relief sought by petitioners is directed solely at executive

branch officials and will not enjoin or otherwise result in

federal court control over periodic state juvenile court review

proceedings in which petitioners are otherwise unable to

vindicate their constitutional rights?

li

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioners Reggie and Rebecca B., Tammy G., Elaine

R. and Rachel C. (plaintiffs-appellants below) — all foster

children who have been adjudicated dependent and placed in

_ the custody of the State of Florida’s Department of Children

and Family Services (the “Department”) — are the five of

twenty-two original named plaintiff foster children who have

not settled all of their claims or exited the foster care system

since the filing of the amended complaint in August 2000.

Petitioners, on behalf of themselves and a putative class of

Florida foster children, allege widespread constitutional

deficiencies in the state’s provision of foster care services and

seek prospective declaratory and injunctive relief to remedy

these systemic deficiencies and protect them from ongoing

harm.

Respondents (defendants-appellees below) — the Florida

executive branch officials who operate the state’s foster care

system — are sued in their official capacities only. They are

Governor Jeb Bush; Commissioner of the Department, Jerry

Regier (formerly Kathleen Kearney); and thirteen of the

Department’s fourteen sitting District Administrators: Charles

Bates, Robert Williams, Ester Tibbs, Nancy Dreicer, Lynn

Richard, Jr., David Dennis, Mike Murphy, Ted Simpkins,

Charles Hood, III, Ron Zychowski, Beth Englander, Cynthia

Schuler, and Vern Melvin.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

REET RR PERE PERRI om a ener i

Parties to the Proceeding ......... | I auaaaibemdasacstininns iad aeibateanaisitced il

a iceenecebsssinehnnbesanaunubaneneunintaason Vv

POUROR TOF GR Wit OF CORIOLANT .......cescssececsoccesscevesvensvsssenseees l

Opinions Below. ......... ORES EO ae LOO De l

IESE EEL See eo en ae er a l

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved............... 2

a cca chasis snsnnnpngnasnennctnnenwnvaiionsiakebans 2

A. Introduction ..................00 aa aa 2

B. The State’s Foster Care System...................0s0000 4

C. Petitioners’ Federal Claims and Relief Sought ....9

BP, PRIS TI on sss nscesesccesvecsssesccscescessocesees 11

Reasons for Granting the Petition ................::cccesseeeesseeeeees 14

iV

1. The Writ Should Be Granted To Correct

The Eleventh Circuit’s Extension Of Younger

Abstention Beyond This Court’s Prior

EIN isicasiancnsasatosichimesitbadiaiitianitapsemiedtuiiiuibiadebenas 15

2. The Writ Should Be Granted To Resoive

Splits Among The Circuit Courrts.................... 23

Rep UITIIIDAisisnslcsctsictniiescletcelaaedebpecselibaianaliaianiaicnakdadaeaduaataeliiban 29

Appendix A (court of appeals opinion).................::cce8 la

Appendix B (district court opinion) ...............::.cseeeeeee 45a

Appendix C (rehearing denial) ...................cc:cccssseeeseeeeees 95a

Appendix D (excerpt from amended complaint)............. 97a

Appendix E (provisions involved) ...............::cssseeeseeees 10la

Peet bent, OR ak et ne ee ee ee a |

——<—

CASES:

Boyle v. Landry, 401 U.S 77 (1971)..........ccccccsscsssescsseceeees 18

Crawley v. Hamilton County Com'’rs,

FOR Fe 2 Ce, Fa ivccisnscscsrstncaitiereeanian 24

Cohens v. Virginia, 19 U.S. 264 (1821) ....cecceeeeeeeeseeeeeee 15

Colorado River Water Conservation Dist. v. United States,

SOG UD. FO CES wisccsvicunesitnisestiieieatamlgaanaaaaae 16

Dep't Health and Rehab. Servs. v. B. J. M,,

CSG Te. BE FRG OR, TO wiciaiccernaciccasnvneamanan 8,9

Dep't of Children & Family Servs. v. I. C.,

742 So. 2d 401 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1999)... 9,10

Dep't of Children and Families v. J. H.,

831 So. 2d 782 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 2002)... cece 10

Doran v. Salem Inn, Inc., 422 U.S 922 (1975)...... 17, 18, 22

Green v. City of Tuscon,

255 F.3d 1086 (9th Cir. 2001) (en banc)........cccccccesseseeseess 24

vi

Henry & Rilla White Found., Inc. v. Migdall,

720 So. 2d 568 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1998)..........ccseseeeeeeeees 9

Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332 (1975) .........cccssessseeeeeeees 18

Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd., 420 U.S. 592 (1975).........0+. 16, 18

InreR. V.,

626 So. 2d 1009 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1993)... ceeeeeeeees 9

J. B. ex rel. Hart v. Valdez,

106 F.3ek 12BO CEG Cae, FBP scceccscvenssctissvccsseestermenntn 24-27

Joseph A. ex rel. Wolfe v. Ingram,

27S F.3G L253 CEO Cae. BITE) ovinssecsersensnsonsssnnsonssenents 25-27

Judice v. Vail, 430 U.S. 327 (1977) ..........cccccsscssssreeeee 17,19

Kaisner v. Kolb, 543 So. 2d 732 (Fla. 1998)..........cceceeseeee 9

Klein v. Berk Constr. Co, 260 U.S. 226 (1922)................. 15

Kugler v. Helfant, 421 U.S. 117 (1975) .....cccccessseesseeseeees 18

L. H. v. Jamieson, 643 F.2d 1351 (9th Cir. 1981)....... 27, 28

Leatherman v. Tarrant County Narcotics Intelligence

and Coordination Unit, 507 U.S. 163 (1993) ........ eens 2

Vil

Lee v.Dep’t Health and Rehab. Servs.,

ee , eR NT 8,9

Marks v. Stinson, 19 F.3d 873 (3d Cir. 1994) ......... eee 24

Middlesex County Essex Comm. v. Garden State Bar Ass'n,

SEPT Ra Ge 0 IED siicehitebinininintiasinpiisapectinabenadaniednians 13, 16, 19

Missouri Child Care Ass’n v. Cross.,

ye Re: 21

Moore v. Sims, 442 U.S. 415 (1979) .o...ccccecesssesteeeeeees 19

New Orleans Pub. Serv., Inc, v. Council of City of

New Orleans, 491 U.S. 350 (1989) .........ccceecsseeeeeeees passim

Ohio Civil Rights Comm’n v. Dayton Christian Schs. Inc.,

Ee Se Cr taccenkstcnnessniisiapaiieninbntstinamninabianiaiiiis 19

O'Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488 (1974)............. 18, 20, 21

P. O. v. Dep't of Children and Families,

840 So. 2d 360 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 2003)... eee 6

Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco, Inc., 481 U.S. 1 (1987)........ 17, 19

Perez v. Ledesma, 401 U.S. 82 (1971) ...........cccseseeessereeees 18

Pompey v. Broward County,

Fe Bic ee EOE Or Oe Gs CR etintiincteianatinenmnaenncians 2

Vili

Samuels v. Mackell, 401 U.S. 66 (1971) ...........eeee 16, 18

Trainor v. Hernandez,431 U.S. 434 (1977) ................ 17, 18

Youngberg v. Romeo, 457 U.S. 307 (1982)..........ccccceeeeeeee 22

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971)..............c008 3, 16, 18

Will v. Michigan Dep't of State Police,

Pe Ses SP SD neintiinnssininnnvannniniieiaiiiiabatieniininn 21

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

Pele CAME, FIER. © sccccnvescecensemeinsccrontensenmisnentiinsainiaaien 2

es MEIN a: GEMINI Cilia inosiidsd:tecincas nin tainanabeeineieaieinisaaiiasieetnaae 2

n,n er nar an ne 2

Be ss BRD GREED iicenticcrnicenctsaisimimiinnnuanioaie 2

eT a ne 8

Te Chins & SUE GED cicsttnsstvnrshincceniunoinensinnnmabianansenee 2, 11

Pe Be pe Irs acetates vitsiecnnicensassicianeanbimecaiienianiiinte 7

Fe Fee Ce ccerccetnntenenicinsnianmninsiinioniaaiiaa 6

:

«

:

¥

ix

Fla. Stat. § 39.402(1)(a) (2003) ......ssccssccsccccccsssccssessesssseseses 7

Fla. Stat. § 39.507 (2003) ...cccccccssssssssssssssssssesesscssssssssssssseees 7

Fla. Stat. § 39.521(3)(d) (2003).....cccccscsssssssssssssessssseeseeeeee 7

Fla. Stat. § 39.601 (2003) ..cccccccccssssssssssssssssussssssssssesseeeeeeee 8

Fla. Stat. § 39.601(1)(C) (2003) ...ccccssssssssssssssssssessseseseeesees 6

Fla. Stat. § 39.603(2) (2003) ..cccccccsssssssvecssssssssssssssssssssssssse 8

Fla. Stat. § 39.701 (2003) ...ccccccccsscccccssssssssssssescessesevsssssseees 8

Fla. Stat. § 39.701(1)(b) (2003)....scsscccsscscsssseseccssssssvsssssseees 8

Fla. Stat. § 39.703 (2003) ......scccssscssscsccscsssssssseseeleeeensssssssees 8

Fla. Stat. § 39.81 1(8) (2003) ..ccccsssscccscccsssssssesessesssssnsesssnsees 7

Fla. Stat. § 39.802 (2003) ...cccccccscscsssssssssesssssssessssessesesesseees 7

Fla. Stat. § 402.72 (2003) ..scccsccccssccssssssssssssssssesessssssnssssssnees 6

Fla. Stat. § 402.731(1)-(2) (2003) ..ccccccsssssssssssesecssssseseseeee 6

Fla. Stat. § 409.145 (2003) .....cccscccccssssssssssssssseessevesssesees 5, 6

Pe EB a Sad GOD eocicncecnssencnnsesernennneenensntiopiounens 6

Pim, DOME. 6 SOG. ETS CRO) arse essvenisscsisvsnnsnnsvcnrsesensesienssssonnies 6

Fla. Admin. Code §§ 65C-13.009-11 (2003) ......... cece 6

]

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners, on behalf of themselves and a putative class

of Florida foster children, respectfully petition for a writ of

certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh

Circuit, to review that court’s judgment and opinion affirming

the decision of the District Court for the Southern District of

Florida to abstain from adjudicating petitioners’ constitutional

claims.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Eleventh Circuit affirming the

district court’s decision to abstain (App. 1a-44a) is reported at

329 F.3d 1255. The per curiam order of the court of appeals

denying the petition for rehearing (App. 95a-96a) is unreported.

The order and opinion of the district court (App. 45a-94a) is

reported at 180 F. Supp. 2d 1321, and the underlying report and

recommendation of the magistrate judge that the district court

not abstain from hearing petitioners’ claims is unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

May 8, 2003. Rehearing was denied on June 13, 2003. The

jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Reprinted in the appendix to this petition are the First,

Ninth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution; 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and 28 U.S.C. § 1343(b); and

pertinent provisions of the Florida Constitution and Florida

Statutes-(App. 101a-123a).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A, Introduction.

Petitioners are foster children who have been removed

from their homes and placed into the custody of the state and

who are, as a result, wholly dependent on the government for all

aspects of their health and well-being. Petitioners allege that

respondents, their legal custodians, have failed to satisfy their

constitutional obligations to protect petitioners from harm while

in state custody and to meet their basic needs for food, clothing,

shelter, medical, educational and other necessary services.' As

alleged by petitioners, respondents operate a deficient foster

care system that gravely harms the very children it is supposed

to protect. Specifically:

e Respondents have failed to recruit and develop

sufficient foster and adoptive placements, resulting in

overcrowding and inherently dangerous living

' For purposes of this petition, the facts asserted in petitioners’ amended

complaint are to be deemed true. See Leatherman v. Tarrant County

Narcotics Intelligence and Coordination Unit, 507 U.S. 163, 165 (1993);

Pompey v. Broward County, 95 F.3d 1543, 1548 n.6 (1 1th Cir. 1996).

3

environments for children (see Am. Compl. 4 142-44,

151-53);

e Respondents have failed to hire and properly train

sufficient caseworkers, the result being that foster

children are inadequately supervised and are kept in

crowded and unsafe homes and institutions (id. J§ 146-

148);

e Respondents unnecessarily move foster children from

placement to placement and separate them from their

siblings who are also in foster care custody, resulting in

emotional and psychological deterioration to the

children (id. J] 157-60); and

e Respondents deny basic services to foster children in

their custody, even after determinations of need made

by the Department itself (id. J] 164-67).

The result is a statewide system that, rather than protecting

damaged children, inflicts further harm on them. Petitioners

seek prospective injunctive and declaratory relief requiring

respondents to remedy these and other systemic failures. To

date, however, petitioners have been barred from pursuing their

federal claims in their chosen federal court forum by virtue of

the district court’s and the Eleventh Circuit’s unprecedented

expansion of the abstention doctrine of Younger v. Harris, 401

U.S. 37 (1971).

The lower court, affirmed by the Eleventh Circuit,

granted respondents’ motion to dismiss based on Younger

abstention, holding that the prospective equitable relief sought

4

by petitioners against the solely executive branch respondents

would “interfere” with the Florida juvenile court’s periodic

reviews of petitioners’ status while in foster care. This Court,

however, has always strictly limited application of Younger

abstention to cases in which the requested relief, if granted,

would enjoin or otherwise limit the state proceedings

themselves — circumstances not at all present in this case. The

mere fact that there may be some overlap between the subject

matters encompassed by the federal and state proceedings is

not, as has seemingly been determined here by the Eleventh

Circuit, the standard by which a federal court should decline

jurisdiction lawfully conferred upon it by Congress. The ruling

of the Eleventh Circuit conflicts, at least in principle, with this

Court’s prior abstention rulings and heralds a pronounced

expansion of Younger that categorically bars foster children —

who have periodic state judicial review proceedings by virtue of

their custodial status — from pursuing their federal claims

against executive branch officials in federal court.

Respectfully, a grant of certiorari is warranted to review and

correct the Eleventh Circuit’s ill-advised extension of Younger

abstention.

As an independent ground warranting review, the court

of appeals’ decision is in conflict with other circuit court

determinations concerning the Younger “interference” standard,

and there is, moreover, a direct conflict in the circuit courts on

the application of Younger abstention to foster care reform

litigation of the type at issue here.

B. The State’s Foster Care System.

The executive branch officials in the Department, on the

one hand, and the juvenile courts, on the other, both play

phage ik elie

TS ME TRAINS RGAE TA OTM cE ABNER SPAIN ie A RE ni SA RR cE RES RE cial dpe at

bites rn

fee, *. er mo

5 -

important, though fundamentally distinct, roles in the protection

of Florida’s abandoned, abused and neglected children. It is

only the practices and inactions of the Department, not the

procedures or determinations of the juvenile courts, that are

challenged in this action.

The Department’s central obligations with respect to the

children in its care are set forth in Chapter 409 of the Florida

Statutes,” which provides that

The [D]epartment shall conduct, supervise, and

administer a program for dependent children and

their families. The services of the [D]epartment

are to be directed toward the following goals:

(a) The prevention of separation of children from

families. (b) The reunification of families who

have had children placed in foster homes or

institutions. (c) The permanent placement of

children who cannot be reunited with their

families or when reunification would not be in the

best interest of the child. (d) The protection of

dependent children or children alleged to be

dependent, including provision of emergency and

long-term alternate living arrangements.

Fla. Stat. § 409.145 (2003). The Department is exclusively

> Foster care is provided through a system of Cooperative federalism, in

which the federal government grants substantial funds to states to provide

out-of-home foster care and related services that comport with federal

standards and requirements. The state, however, creates the foster care

system’s structure, including the obligations of and limitations on the powers

and duties of the Department and of the juvenile court.

6

empowered to recruit, select, set standards for, and monitor

homes and facilities providing care to foster children in their

charge. See Fla. Stat. § 409.175 (2003); Fla. Admin. Code

§§ 65C-13.009-11 (2003). The Department manages the

services provided to foster children by private contractors

through performance standards and penalties for non-

compliance. Fla. Stat. § 402.72 (2003). And the Department

alone is responsible for ensuring that the workforce it employs

is appropriate to the task of caring for foster children, including

through its certification that the Department’s workers meet all

appropriate education, experience and training requiremenis.

Fla. Stat. § 402.731(1)-(2) (2003).? In sum, the Department

constructs and operates the foster care system.

The juvenile court exercises its own judicial

responsibilities over children in state custody. The powers and

limitations of this state court vis-a-vis foster children are set out

in Chapter 39 of the Florida Statutes. Though the juvenile court

is to “cooperate” with the Department in carrying out the

purposes of Chapter 409 (Fla. Stat. § 409.145(3) (2003)), no

statute or other authority gives the Florida courts jurisdiction to

directly regulate the Department’s operation of the foster care

system.

The juvenile court’s role begins when the child is taken

into governmental custody by the Department or by law

enforcement. Fla. Stat. § 39.402, § 409.145 (2003). Once the

> The Department is also charged with regularly monitoring every foster

child’s placement, including through face-to-face visits with the child. See

Fla. Stat. § 39.601(1)(c) (2003); P.O. v. Dep’t of Children and Families, 840

So. 2d 360, 362 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 2003) (failure to provide for face-to-face

contacts in child's case plan was in derogation of “statutorily mandated

duties”).

AIEEE ie Dill NEAL SDI fe iy SAY

Raia

7

Department files a petition against parents or other legal

guardians alleging a child to be dependent, i.e., abandoned,

abused or neglected (see Fla. Stat. § 39.402(1)(a) (2003)), the

juvenile court’s jurisdiction is to conduct the necessary

proceedings and to either adjudicate the child as dependent or to

dismiss the case and return the child to the parents. Fla. Stat.

§ 39.507 (2003). Ifthe court adjudicates the child dependent

and determines that the child cannot be safely placed with the

child’s parents or the home of a relative or other suitable

“nonlicensed” placement, then the chiid is committed to the

“temporary legal custody” of the Department, a commitment

that “invests in the [D]epartment all rights and responsibilities

of a legal custodian.” Fla. Stat. § 39.521(3)(d) (2003).

The custodial adjudications made in these initial

proceedings are not in any respect the subject of petitioners’

federal claims, nor are petitioners’ parents (or other legal

guardians prior to removal) parties to this case.* Petitioners do

not contend for instance that they were improperly removed

from their parents and placed into state custody, nor do they

allege that their parents were improperly denied pre-custodial

services that might have prevented their entry into state custody.

Petitioners challenge instead the deficient conditions of

custody they are subjected to by the Department’s policies and

practices after these custody adjudications have been made by

the juvenile court.’

* Petitioners’ interests in this lawsuit are represented by adult “next friends.”

See Fed. R. Civ. P. 17(c). >

* The juvenile court may eventually be called upon to conduct a termination

of parental rights proceeding in connection with a child’s case, but only if

the Department (or other party) files a petition seeking such relief. Fla. Stat.

§§ 39.701, 39.703, 39.802 (2003). As with the juvenile court’s custody

decisions, petitioners Go not seek to challenge any decisions of the juvenile

8

From the time a child enters state custody until the child

is returned home without supervision, adopted or reaches 18

years of age, the juvenile court is charged with periodically

reviewing the child’s status, usually not more than once every

six months. Fla. Stat. §§ 39.701(1)(b), 39.81 1(8) (2003).° Prior

to all juvenile court review proceedings, the Department

develops and submits to the court a case plan which details,

among other things, information about the child’s placement;

the behavioral changes the child’s parents must make to regain

custody of the child; the frequency of parent-caseworker

contacts; the “permanency” goal for the placement; and the

services to be provided to the child and the child’s family to

achieve the goal. Fla. Stat. § 39.601 (2003). The plan serves as

the principal vehicle through which the juvenile court performs

its reviews of the child’s status and the efforts being made on

his or her behalf by, among others, the Department.

The court must approve this case plan but does not have

the authority to change the document. :f the court disapproves

of the plan, it can only order the parties to make modifications

and resubmit the plan for approval. Fla. Stat. § 39.603(2)

(2003). Though the juvenile court may in certain limited

circumstance hold the Department in contempt for failing to

comply with the case plan, it cannot oversee discretionary

executive functions of the Department, including (i) specific

placement decisions, Dep’t Health & Rehab. Servs. v. B.J.M.,

656 So. 2d 906, 913 (Fla. 1995); (ii) decisions regarding staff

cas dads and staffing patterns, Lee v. Dep’t Health & Rehab.

Servs., 698 So. 2d 1194, 1196 (Fla. 1997); (iii) the

courts relating to termination of parental rights.

° The state is also required to assure at least yearly court or administrative

reviews as a condition of federal funding. See 42 U.S.C. § 675(5)(2003).

9

Department’s maintenance of adequate foster care service

arrays to meet the needs of children, id.; and (iv) general

conditions at facilities housing children, Dep't of Children &

Family Servs. v. I.C., 742 So. 2d 401, 405 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App.

1999); Henry & Rilla White Found., Inc. v. Migdal, 720 So. 2d

568, 573 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1998). Even in cases where the

safety of a child is at issue, the juvenile courts have the

authority to enter only specific and limited types of relief’ and

cannot direct child welfare authorities in their systemic

policymaking, planning, and prioritization decisions. See I.C.,

742 So. 2d at 404.8

.. Petitioners’ Federal Claims and Relief Sought.

Petitioners assert that respondents are violating their

substantive due process rights by instituting and engaging in a

pattern and practice of failing to provide them with safe foster

care, placements, and necessary services and by failing to meet

” In juvenile court proceedings, the Department’s assertion of inadequate

state appropriations is a defense to any contempt order the court may seek to

levy against the Department for non-compliance with a case plan. See Dep't

of Children & Families v. J.H., 831 So. 2d 782, 783 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App.

2002) (reversing juvenile court order requiring the Department to fund

treatment of a child because the order “ignores [the Department’s] funding

issues”); Jn re R.V., 626 So. 2d 1009, 1009 (Fla. Dist. Ct. App. 1993) (“the

state judiciary lacks subject matter jurisdiction to review discretionary acts

of the executive branch affecting the use of state resources”).

* Florida’s notably robust separation of powers doctrine places off-limits to

judicial oversight, including that of the juvenile courts, discretionary

executive functions involving decision-making on fundamental questions of

policy or planning. Kaisner v. Kolb, 543 So. 2d 732, 736-37 (Fla. 1998)

(interpreting related doctrine of executive sovereign immunity from tort

liability); /.C., 742 So. 2d at 404 (precluding juvenile courts from ordering

or regulating discretionary function of executive authority).

10

their basic needs, all of which has significantly harmed

petitioners (Am. Compl. 139-90). Petitioners further claim

violations of their procedural due process rights by respondents’

failure to establish processes for an administrative hearing or

professional review of decisions that deny petitioners benefits

to which they are entitled (id. §4 191-201). Finally, petitioners

seek redress for respondents’ violation of petitioners’ First and

Ninth Amendment rights to familial association by

unnecessarily separating them from, and denying visitation

with, their siblings in state custody (id. 4] 202- 04).?

Petitioners seek, on behalf of themselves and the

putative class of children in state foster care custody: (1) a

declaration that respondents’ failures are constitutional

violations; (2) an injunction permanently enjoining respondents

from subjecting petitioners and the putative class members to

foster care practices that violate their constitutional rights;

(3) an order of appropriate remedial relief to ensure

respondents’ future compliance with the Constitution of the

United States and their provision of legally mandated services,

protection and procedures to petitioners and the putative class

members; (4) the appointment of an expert panel to “develop

and oversee the implementation of a plan for reform, which will

ensure that [respondents] protect the federal constitutional . .

rights of [petitioners] and the members of the class they seek to

represent”; and (5) the appointment of a permanent ombudsman

° The only claims germane to this appeal are petitioners’ constitutional

claims. Petitioners’ statutory claims under the Adoption Assistance and

Child Welfare Act, as amended by the Adoption and Safe Families Act; the

Early, Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment provisions of the

Medicaid Title of the Social Security Act (the “EPSDT claims”); and Title

VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act were dismissed or settled on grounds not

relevant to this petition.

‘

NET a, Wee ee ag a

11

or children’s advocate to present the interests of petitioners and

the putative class members to respondents (App. 98a-100a).'°

D. Proceedings Below.

Petitioners brought suit pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983 in

the United States District Court for the Southern District of

Florida in June 2000, filed their amended class action complaint

in August 2000, and moved in September 2000 to certify the

statewide class of all alleged or adjudicated dependent children

who were or would in the future be in the Department’s custody

and a subclass of all alleged or adjudicated dependent black

children.'’ Respondents filed various motions to dismiss the

amenaed complaint, a number of which were referred to a

magistrate judge, along with petitioners’ class certification

motion. The magistrate judge entered his report and

recommendation that the motions to dismiss be denied (except

with regard to four of the named plaintiffs who did not have

standing to assert claims under the Adoption and Safe Families

Act (the “ASFA claims”) because their parental rights had been

terminated). The magistrate judge additionally entered a report

and recommendation that a class should be certified, consisting

'° For the convenience of the Court, the “Prayer for Relief” from petitioners’

amended complaint is excerpted in Appendix D (App. 98a-100a).

'' Before responding to either the amended complaint or class certification

motion, respondents moved in the district court to require counsel to produce

documentation establishing their authority to represent petitioners and to stay

the case. The district court denied the motion in an order appointing a

guardian ad litem to report on whether prosecution of this action was in

petitioners’ best interests. On December 15, 2000, the guardian ad litem

issued a report concluding that the failures in Florida’s foster care system

had caused petitioners “real harm” and the prosecution of the lawsuit to a

final resolution was in the best interests of petitioners and the class they

sought to represent.

12

of all Florida foster children except those in Broward County

who were parties to a separate federal class action lawsuit.

Following respondents’ objections to the reports and

recommendations, on December 14, 2001, the district court

entered an order dismissing with prejudice the constitutional

claims of the plaintiffs who were less than 18 years of age (and

therefore had pending juvenile court proceedings) based on the

Younger abstention doctrine (App. 45a-94a). 2 The district

court did not rule on the class certification motion that the

magistrate judge had recommended be granted.

Petitioners filed their notice of appeal to the Eleventh

Circuit on December 31, 2001. The Eleventh Circuit affirmed

the district court’s rulings by Opinion and Order dated May 8,

2003 (App. la-44a).'° Applying an abuse of discretion

standard, the court affirmed the district court’s decision not to

exercise jurisdiction and to abstain from adjudicating

petitioners’ constitutional claims based on Younger abstention.

'2 The court also (i) dismissed with prejudice plaintiffs’ ASFA claims as

barred by the Eleventh Amendment, and (ii) dismissed with leave to replead

the EPSDT and Title VI claims which respondents and the pertinent

petitioners settled in February 2002.

13 The Eleventh Circuit first considered a number of justiciability concerns

raised by respondents and concluded that, although the claims of two of the

eleven petitioners seeking review were moot by virtue of these children

having been adopted (and thus having left state custody), the other nine

petitioners had standing to pursue their claims. The Eleventh Circuit did not

reach the application of the Eleventh Amendment to these proceedings,

dismissing petitioners’ ASFA claims instead on the grounds that the statutory

provisions upon which the claims were predicated did not provide a basis for

private enforcement (App. 6a-28a).

13

In reaching its abstention ruling, the court of appeals

applied the three-part test set forth by this Court in Middlesex

County Ethics Comm. v. Garden State Bar Ass'n, 457 U.S. 423,

432 (1982). Without explanation or citation to the record, the

Court erroneously determined that the first Middlesex prong,

_ which the court acknowledged requires not just an ongoing state

proceeding but “interference” with such proceeding, was met

because the relief sought by plaintiffs would “plac[e] decisions

that are now in the hands of the state courts under the direction

of the federal district court” (App. 37a). The court found

further that the “federal and state courts could well differ,

issuing conflicting orders about what is best for a particular

plaintiff...” (App. 37a). The court of appeals also cited as

grounds for abstention the potential for federal court relief that

“might effectively require an amendment to a child’s case plan

that the state court would not have approved . . .” (App. 37a).

Finally, the court appeared to rely in part on a misreading of the

amended complaint in reaching its abstention ruling, finding

that the mission of a group of experts that petitioners sought to

have the district court empanel to guide and advise respondents

in a reform effort (see App. 99a) was instead sought to “revamp

and reform dependency proceedings in Florida” (App. 37a-38a).

The Eleventh Circuit also found that the third prong of

the Middlesex test — the ability to raise constitutional claims in

the ongoing state proceeding — was satisfied, determining that

petitioners had not presented “unambiguous authority

establishing that the procedures available in state court

proceedings do not provide an adequate opportunity for

[petitioners] to raise their constitutional claims” (App. 41a-

42a), a determination petitioners intend to challenge should this

petition be granted, but which is not directly relevant to the

14

Court’s consideration of the need for review.“

By petition dated May 28, 2003, petitioners sought panel

rehearing of the Eleventh Circuit’s abstention ruling, principally

based on the court’s misstatement of the nature of the relief

petitioners sought. By summary per curiam order dated June

13, 2003, the panel denied the petition for rehearing (App. 95a-

96a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision represents a dramatic

and unsound expansion of Younger abstention that raises

important issues about the interaction of the nation’s dual

system of federal and state courts. The decision turns a

narrowly-drawn exception to a federal court’s “virtually

unflagging” duty to exercise its jurisdiction into a categorical

bar to foster children in state custody seeking to enjoin

prospective violations of their constitutional rights by the

executive officials responsible for their care. The decision

conflicts in principle with three decades of this Court’s

teachings on the type of federal court interference with state

court proceedings that calls for application of Younger

abstention. The decision also conflicts directly with decisions

of other circuit courts applying the Younger abstention

“interference” standard, including those concerning application

of Younger to factually similar child welfare reform litigation.

Respectfully, certiorari should be granted to correct the

Eleventh Circuit’s expansion of the Younger doctrine far

beyond the federalism principles that justify it and to resolve the

'4 As noted by the court, the second Middlesex prong — the implication of

important state interests by the action — is not in dispute.

15

circuit conflicts on the important jurisdictional issues raised in

this case.

1. The Writ Should Be Granted to Correct the

Eleventh Circuit’s Extension of Younger Abstention

Beyond This Court’s Prior Limitations.

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision deviates far from all

prior precedents of this Court and the sound reasoning

embodied in them, distorting the threshold Younger abstention

requirement of “interference” with ongoing state court

proceedings into an empty formalism. Correction of the

judicial “under-reaching” implicit in the Eleventh Circuit’s

decision is warranted to preserve the federalism and comity

principles served by Younger abstention and to confine the

doctrine to appropriate bounds.

Within constitutional limits, Congress has the exclusive

authority to define the jurisdiction of the federal judiciary and

"federal courts lack the authority to abstain from the exercise of

jurisdiction that has been conferred.” New Orleans Pub. Serv.,

Inc. v. Council of the City of New Orleans, 491 U.S. 350, 359

(1989)(“NOPST’); Kline v. Burke Constr. Co., 260 U.S. 226,

234 (1922); Cohens v. Virginia, 19 U.S._264, 404 (1821)

(Marshall, C.J.) (“[T]o decline the exercise of jurisdiction [or]

usurp that which is not given. . . . would be treason to the

constitution”). While a federal court’s obligation to exercise its

jurisdiction does not “eliminate [its] discretion in determining

whether to grant certain types of relief’ insofar as such

discretion “was part of the common-law background against

which the statutes conferring jurisdiction were enacted,”

NOPSI, 491 U.S. at 359 (citing David L. Shapiro, Jurisdiction

and Discretion, 60 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 543, 570-77 (1985)), this

16

Court has repeatedly cautioned that the areas in which

abstention is permissible are “carefully defined,” id, and

abstention is an “‘extraordinary and narrow exception to the

duty of a District Court to adjudicate a controversy properly

before it.” Colorado River Water Conservation Dist. v. United

States, 424 U.S. 800, 813 (1976) (quoting County of Allegheny

vy. Frank Mashuda Co., 360 U.S. 185, 188-89 (1959)).

Younger abstention governs one such “carefully

defined” class of cases in which authorized equitable relief may

be withheld: those in which a grant of the requested federal

injunctive or declaratory relief would interfere with ongoing

state court proceedings, implicating important state interests,

and in which the federal plaintiffs would have an adequate

opportunity to vindicate their federal claims. See NOPSI, 491

U.S. at 372-373; Middlesex, 457 U.S. at 432. In Younger v.

Harris itself, the Court, citing equitable restraint and comity

concerns, rejected an order from a federal court that restrained a

state prosecutor from proceeding with an ongoing state criminal

prosecution of the federal court plaintiff. 401 U.S. 37, 53-54

(1971). On the same day as it determined Younger, the Court

determined that a federal court may withhold declaratory relief

under the same reasoning as that set forth in Younger where the

declaratory relief at issue would have the same “practical

effect” as enjoining a pending state criminal prosecution.

Samuels v. Mackell, 401 U.S. 66, 73 (1971). In the years since

Younger and Samuels were decided, the Court has clarified that,

in addition to criminal prosecutions, Younger abstention may be

appropriate where the federal relief sought interferes with civil

enforcement proceedings “akin to a criminal prosecution,”

Huffman vy. Pursue, Ltd., 420 U.S. 592, 604 (1975) (civil

17

nuisance proceedings),'> and even to “civil proceedings

involving ceriain orders that are uniquely in furtherance of the

state courts’ ability to perform their judicial functions,” NOPSI,

491 U.S. at 368, such as orders relating to the enforcement of

judgments and contempt proceedings.'® This Court has always

maintained, however that there be unequivocal interference

with state court proceedings for Younger abstention to apply.

Importantly, Younger abstention does not permit federal

courts to decline to exercise lawfully conferred jurisdiction over

cases merely because parallel federal and state court

proceedings address overlapping, or even the same, subject

matters. See Doran v. Salem Inn, Inc., 422 U.S. 922, 928

(1975) (“the interest of avoiding conflicting outcomes in the

litigation of similar issues, while entitled to substantial

deference in a unitary systerm, must of necessity be subordinated

to the claims of federalism”). It is not enough that a federal

court’s disposition of a case “may well affect, or for practical

purposes, pre-empt, a future . . . [or] even pending [] state court

action. . . . there is no doctrine that the availability or even the

pendency of state judicial proceedings excludes the federal

courts.” NOPSI, 491 U.S. at 372.

Rather, what is required to trigger the Younger

exception is a request for injunctive or declaratory relief that

would result in the federal court exercising control over a state

judicial proceeding or over the state courts themselves. Thus,

'S See also Trainor y. Hernandez, 431 U.S. 434 (1977) (civil proceedings

seeking attachment and return of funds allegedly obtained by welfare fraud).

'© See Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco, Inc., 481 U.S. 1 (1987) (civil judgment

enforcement proceedings); Judice v. Vail, 430 U.S. 327 (1977) (contempt

proceedings relating to post-judgment enforcement subpoenas).

18

every case in which this Court has applied Younger has

involved remedies that would have the effect of putting a halt to

state court proceedings. The means by which this federal

control over the state court action is exercised has varied. In the

most common scenario — present in eleven of this Court’s

fifteen affirmative Younger abstention cases — the federal

plaintiff seeks to directly enjoin (and in almost all of these

cases, does in fact obtain an injunction of) state court judges,

prosecutors, law enforcement officers and even court clerks

from continuing with the prosecution of state court proceedings

they are charged with conducting, often at the same time

launching a facial attack on the constitutionality of the statute

underlying the proceedings. ’” In the remaining four cases, the

offending relief targets administrative bodies, executive agency

officials, and even private litigants, but in each instance the

federal plaintiff seeks to enjoin the state proceedings

” Trainor, 431 U.S. at 438 (enjoining clerks and sheriffs from issuing or

serving attachments); Judice, 430 U.S. at 328 (enjoining state court judges

from enforcement of contempt proceedings); Doran, 422 U.S. at 924

(granting injunction of town attorney and other law enforcement officials);

Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332, 340 (1975) (enjoining district attorneys and

law enforcement personnel and declaring the unconstitutionality of obscenity

statute in criminal proceeding); Kugler v. Helfant, 421 U.S. 117, 119 (1975)

(enjoining attorney general from proceeding with criminal prosecution);

Huffman, 420 U.S. at 599 (enjoining sheriff and prosecuting attorney and

execution of judgment); O'Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488 (1974) (seeking to

enjoin state court judges and law enforcement officials from taking certain

actions in future criminal prosecutions); Perez v. Ledesma, 401 U.S. 82

(1971) (entering suppression order requiring return by law enforcement

officials of materials); Boyle v. Landry, 401 U.S. 77, 78 (1971) (enjoining

state court judges and state’s attorney from prosecution of intimidation

statutes); Samuels, 401 U.S. at 73 (1971) (seeking to enjoin district attorney

from proceeding with criminal case and to declare statue underlying

prosecution unconstitutional); Younger, 401 U.S. at 53-54 (enjoining district

attorney from proceeding with criminal case).

19

themselves or to enjoin a litigant from instituting or continuing

with such proceedings. ®

Petitioners here seek no relief even remotely akin to that

which has justified Younger abstention in prior decisions of this

Court. To the contrary, this is a generic civil rights action

brought to compel an adrainistrative agency to comply with

federal law in its institutional exercise of control over

petitioners and the putative class they seek to represent. The

prayer for relief in petitioners’ amended complaint calls for

general declaratory and injunctive relief directed solely at the

Department, not Florida’s juvenile courts, juvenile court judges

or juvenile court personnel (App. 97a-100a). Petitioners do not

seek to enjoin, or to have the federal court in any respect

exercise control over, their ongoing state juvenile court

proceedings, which will continue without interference

regardless of the outcome of this suit. Nor do petitioners seek

to challenge the constitutionality of any state statute, contest

any juvenile court custodial or parental rights determination, or

compel or restrain the Department from instituting or

maintaining proceedings in juvenile court on behalf of, or

against, any party. Compare with Moore v. Sims, 442 U.S. 415,

417 (1979) (state court proceedings enjoined by district court

pursuant to “broad facial attack” in federal court on

constitutionality of Texas Family Code brought by parents and

minor children challenging children’s removal from parents’

'® See Pennzoil, 481 U.S. at 8 (enjoining attempts to enforce state court

judgment or obtain lien under state law); Ohio Civil Rights Comm'n v.

Dayton Christian Schs. Inc., 477 U.S. 619, 625 (1986) (enjoining civil rights

commission from exercising jurisdiction over sex discrimination claim);

Middlesex, 457 U.S. at 426 (seeking to enjoin state attorney disciplinary

proceeding); Moore v. Sims, 442 U.S. 415, 422 (1979) (enjoining juvenile

court neglect and abuse proceedings).

20

home into state custody).

Notwithstanding the plain language of the amended

complaint limiting the relief sought to executive conduct, the

Eleventh Circuit erroneously determined that petitioners seek

federal. court control over petitioners’ juvenile court

proceedings and even the juvenile courts themselves. Most

dramatically, the court found that plaintiffs seek

implementation of a “systemwide plan to revamp and reform

dependency proceedings in Florida, as well as the appointment

of a permanent children’s advocate to oversee that plan,” a clear

factual error (see p. 13, supra). In addition, however, the

Eleventh Circuit found “interference” in (i) its conclusory

statement that the relief sought by petitioners would place

decisions “now in the hands of the state courts under the

direction of the federal district court”; and (ii) the unarticulated

potential for “conflicting orders about what is best for a

particular plaintiff,” resulting in “amendment{[s] to a child’s

case plan that the state court would not have approved.” (App.

37a). These concerns are misplaced and the Eleventh Circuit’s

reliance on them is flatly inconsistent with this Court’s prior

teachings.

The Eleventh Circuit cites in support this Court’s

decision in O’Shea v. Littleton for the proposition that “[t]he

relief sought need not directly interfere with an ongoing

proceeding or terminate an ongoing proceeding in order for

Younger abstention to be required.” (App. 32a.) But O'Shea

establishes only that the targets of ongoing state enforcement

hearings cannot evade the Younger bar by simply framing their

claim as one for prospective relief. Younger bars not only

remedies that cause the federal courts to usurp present state

court hearings but also prospective relief that would inevitably

21

lead to a similar result. Notably, Michael O’ Shea and his co-

petitioner were state court judges, and the injunction at issue

contemplated “interruption of state proceedings to adjudicate

assertions of noncompliance by petitioners” which to the Court

constituted “nothing less than an ongoing federal audit of state

criminal proceedings.” O’Shea, 414 U.S. 488, 500 (1974).

Such relief, which directly targeted judicial officers and the

criminal proceedings they oversee, even if only prospectively, is

a far cry from the exclusively executive branch-focused

remedial relief sought in this case.

Rather than relief targeting judicial decisions about what

is best for an individual child before the juvenile court or

amendments to a particular child’s custodial disposition or case

plan, petitioners — representing a putative class of nearly all

Florida’s foster children — seek such systemic changes as the

employment of more and better trained caseworkers, the

recruitment of more and a wider availability of appropriate and

safe foster placements, and better state oversight and control

over the agencies with which the state contracts to provide

foster care services. This is precisely the relief that the Florida

separation of powers doctrine and other procedural, substantive

and practical barriers preclude Florida’s foster children from

obtaining in juvenile court (see pp. 8-9, supra).'? As a result,

'? Unlike the juvenile court, federal district courts are not constrained from

granting relief that might require additional state expenditures. Will v.

Michigan Dep't of State Police et al., 491 U.S. 58, 90 (1989) (equitable

relief “may be awarded to ensure future compliance by a State with a

substantive federal question determination” even if such compliance requires

expending state funds); Missouri Child Care Ass’nv. Cross, 294 F.3d 1034,

1042 (8th Cir. 2002) (citing Milliken v. Bradley, 433 U.S. 267, 289 (1977);

Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651, 667-68 (1974); Wyatt v. Aderholt, 503

F.2d 1305, 1315 (Sth Cir. 1974); Anticran v. Odom, 290 F.3d 178, 186 (4th

Cir. 2002)).

22

there is no likelihood of even indirect interference with, or

intrusion into, the state court’s proceedings, which will continue

regardless of petitioners’ ability to pursue federal judicial

relief.”°

Moreover, petitioners seek only injunctive and

declaratory relief addressed to the actions and inactions of the

Department as an executive authority — specifically, the

Department’s implementation and operation of a child welfare

system that comports with reasonable professional standards.

See Youngberg v. Romeo, 457 U.S. 3u7, 324 (1982). Such

conduct is separate and distinct from any individualized judicial

review of executive action in the context of an individual foster

child’s dependency review proceedings. As this Court noted in

NOPSI, where Younger abstention ‘was held not to foreclose a

federal court challenge to a state legislative body’s rate-setting

determination subject to parallel state court review:

[I]t has never been suggested that Younger

requires abstention in deference to a state

judicial proceeding reviewing legislative or

executive action. Such a broad abstention

requirement would make a mockery of the rule

that only exceptional circumstances justify a

federal court’s refusal to decide a case in

deference to the States.

20 Not only is the prospect of inconsistent orders chimerical given the nature

of the systemic relief sought by petitioners, the mere fact that there is a

potential for disagreement in the outcomes of the federal and state judicial

proceedings is not by itself a proper basis, under this Court’s decisional law,

for application of the Younger bar. See NOPSI, 491 U.S. at 372; Doran, 422

U.S. at 928.

23

NOPSI, 491 U.S. at 368 (citations omitted). Thus, by virtue of

both (i) tiie wholly divergent relief sought and available in the

parallel federal and state proceedings at issue and (ii) the

executive nature of the conduct challenged, this case is — like

the federal challenge to the council’s rate-making determination

in NOPSI — simply beyond the purview of the Younger

abstention doctrine.

The Eleventh Circuit has adopted such a broad

abstention doctrine that the danger identified in NOPS] — the

exception that would swallow the rule that Younger abstention

be only a limited exception to a federal court exercising its

lawfully-conferred jurisdiction — has come to pass. Some of the

nation’s most vulnerable citizens, abused and neglected

children in state foster care custody, have been prohibited from

challenging in federal court the unconstitutional conditions of

their confinement by government custodians and from obtaining

appropriate relief. Respectfully, the Court should grant review

to correct this harmful expansion of what federalism dictates

must remain a doctrine only sparingly applied.

» The Writ Should Be Granted to Resolve Splits

Among the Circuit Courts.

The Court’s voice is needed to resolve conflicts between

the circuits on the type of “interference” with state court

proceedings justifying application of Younger, including direct

conflicts on Younger abstention in the context of foster care

reform litigation.

a. Though petitioners believe the corpus of

24

Supreme Court Younger abstention case law is consistent in

requiring “interference” with ongoing state court proceeding

that results in the injunction or other non-collateral limitation of

those proceedings, the circuits abound with conflicts on this

issue. The decisions reflect three strains:

i. Direct interference with state court proceedings

required — The en banc Ninth Circuit in Green v. City of

Tuscon, determined emphatically that federal relief qualifying

for Younger must “directly interfere” with the ongoing state

court proceedings and the doctrine is not satisfied merely by the

possibility of inconsistent outcomes in parallel proceedings.

255 F.3d 1086, 1097 (9th Cir. 2001) (en banc). Rather, the

interference of Younger is that which seeks to “enjoin, declare

invalid, or otherwise involve the federal courts in terminating or

truncating the state court proceedings.” Jd. at 1098. See also

Marks v. Stinson, 19 F.3d 873, 885 (3d Cir. 1994) (“since

parallel proceedings always involve a likelihood that a final

merits judgment in one will effectively terminate the other, it

necessarily follows that the mere fact that a judgment in the

federal suit might have collateral effects in the state proceeding

is not interference for Younger purposes”); Crawley v.

Hamilton County Com’rs, 744 F.2d 28, 30 (6th Cir. 1984)

(declining to abstain where “the federal plaintiffs ... are not

attempting to use the federal courts to shield them from state

court enforcement efforts”).

ii. At least indirect interference with state court

proceedings required — \n J.B. ex rel. Hartv. Valdez, 186 F.3d

1280 (10th Cir. 1999), a suit brought on behalf of a putative

class of developmentally disabled children in the custody of

New Mexico, the district court denied class certification and

thereafter dismissed the individual named plaintiffs’ lawsuits on

25

abstention grounds. Jd. at 1283. The Tenth Circuit affirmed the

denial of class certification (id.), dismissed a number of the

individual named plaintiffs’ claims as moot (id. at 1290), and

upheld the district court’s decision to abstain as to the three

individual plaintiff children remaining in the case (id. at 1293).

The court determined that federal court consideration of three

children’s individual claims was likely to interfere with the

children’s ongoing proceedings because the only remaining

claims required specific changes in the plaintiffs’ case plans (id.

at 1295) which would “place[] the federal court in the role of

making dispositional decisions such as whether to return the

child to his parents in conjunction with state assistance or

whether to modify a treatment plan.” /d. at 1291-92.

Further along the spectrum is the Tenth Circuit’s

decision in Joseph A. ex rel. Wolfe v. Ingram, 275 F.3d 1253

(10th Cir. 2002), and the extension of the Younger doctrine

contemplated in it. The plaintiffs in Joseph A., a class of foster

children, sued the New Mexico Department of Human Services

for failure to provide meaningful access to foster care and

adoption services. The case was settled with the parties entering

into a federal court consent decree. /d. at 1256. In the context

of a contempt proceeding brought by plaintiffs based on

defendants’ failure to comply with the terms of a court-ordered

“exit plan” from the original decree, the Tenth Circuit

articulated a novel expansion of the Younger doctrine under

which abstention may be warranted if a federal decree or

injunction “requires interference with the operations of [state

court proceedings] in an insidious way in that the [decree]

expressly prevents the Department’s employees from

recommending [to the state court] a range of planning options

for children who are in [] custody.” /d. at 1268. The court did

not find that any provision of the decree required abstention,

26

instead remanding that question to the district court, which it

conceded was more familiar with the “complexities” of the

case. Id. at 1273. On remand, only a sirigle provision of the

remedial scheme at issue was found by the district court to

interfere with the plaintiffs’ [state court proceedings], even

pursuant to the Tenth Circuit's “insidious _ interference”

expansion of Younger. See Joseph A. v. New Mexico Dept. of

Human Servs., No. CIV 80-623 JC/DJS (D.N.M. Jan. 16,

2003).

iii. No interference with state court proceedings

required — Sitting outside even the Tenth Circuit’s recent

extensions of Younger abstention is the Eleventh Circuit’s

decision, which petitioners submit requires no actual

interference with the state court proceedings at issue, direct or

indirect, but merely the adjudication of potentially overlapping

issues by the federal and state proceedings. The court of

appeals ruling extends beyond J.B., because unlike in J.B.,

petitioners here do not seek to challenge any custodial or other

individual “dispositional” determinations of the juvenile courts.

And it extends Younger beyond Joseph A., because the district

court here granted abstention on a motion to dismiss, essentially

ruling that the court could grant no possible relief that would

not create abstention problems. In Joseph A., by contrast,

specific relief, in a written settlement decree, had already been

formulated, and the Tenth Circuit acknowledged that at least

some relief would not conflict with the abstention doctrine.

That ruling ultimately permitted the district court’s line-by-line

abstention review that resulted in that case surviving the

Younger bar.

b. With respect to systemic foster care litigation of

the general type at issue, the Eleventh Circuit’s ruling in this

27

case, and the Tenth Circuit’s determinations in Joseph A. and

J.B. that the court of appeals expressly relies upon and expands,

are directly at odds with the Ninth Circuit’s ruling in L.H. v.

Jamieson, 643 F.2d 1351 (9th Cir. 1981). All four cases

consider the application of Younger abstention to child welfare

reform litigation filed in federal court against executive branch

defendants »y foster children seeking prospective injunctive. In

each case, the “interference” the executive defendants claim

justify Younger abstention arises from the federal court action’s

supposed effect on periodic juvenile court reviews of the same

generic type as the review proceedings at issue here.

Though the cases differ factually, on the relevant legal

point the conflict is clear-cut. As discussed, the Eleventh

Circuit here, and the Tenth Circuit in J.B. and Joseph A.,

determined that the relief sought by petitioners violated the

“interference” threshold to the first prong of Middlesex. In L.H.

v. Jamieson, a case seeking additional funding for a group of

private agencies that cared for a plaintiff class of Arizona foster

children, the Ninth Circuit reached a contrary result,

determining that there was no “interference” of the type barred

by Younger in that:

.... the juveniles are not seeking to enjoin any

state proceeding, nor are they seeking to enjoin

state officials from enforcing any state law.

They are instead requesting an order that would

require Arizona to spend more money to fund

dispositional alternatives for juveniles in state

custody. This relief may enrich the variety of

dispositional alternatives available to a juvenile

_ court judge, and, to this extent, affect pending

and ongoing state juvenile proceedings. It does

28

not, however, have the wholly disruptive

consequences associated with enjoining a state

judicial proceeding or enjoining further

enforcement of a state statute.

643 F.2d at 1354.

Respectfully, the Court should grant review to resolve

these general and specific conflicts on important issues of

federal court jurisdiction.

BN Ne A a a waxes :

29

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, the petition for certiorari

should be granted.

Date: September 2, 2003

Karen Gievers

GIEVERS, P.A. ;

524 E. College Avenue,

Suite 2

Tallahassee, FL 32301

850-222-1961

William H. Fraser

LEGAL AID SOCIETY OF

PALM BEACH COUNTY,

INC.

423 Fern Street, Suite 200

West Palm Beach, FL

33401

561-655-8944

Bernard P. Perlmutter

Carolyn Salisbury

UNIV. OF MIAMI SCHOOL OF

LAW

5915 Ponce de Leon Blvd. #28

Coral Gables, FL 33146

305-284-3123

Respectfully submitted,

Marcia Robinson Lowry

Counsel of Record

Eric E. Thompson

Douglas C. Gray

CHILDREN’S RIGHTS, INC.

404 Park Ave. So., 11th Fl.

New York, NY 10016

212-683-2210

Christina A. Zawisza

CHILD ADVOCACY CLINIC

THE UNIV. OF MEMPHIS

SCHOOL OF LAW

109 N. Main St., 2nd Floor

Memphis, TN 38103

901-523-8822

ROY WASSON

1320 South Dixie Hwy.

Suite 450

Gables One Tower

Miami, FL 33146

305-666-5053

30

Deborah A. Schroth

FLORIDA LEGAL SERVICES

126 W. Adams St., #502

Jacksonville, FL 32202

904-355-5200

APPENDIX

App. la

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 02-10180

31 FOSTER CHILDREN, on behalf of themselves and all

other Children in Florida Foster Care,

Plaintiffs-Appellants

v.

JEB BUSH, as Governor of the State of Florida,

KATHLEEN KEARNEY, as Secretary of the Florida

Department of Children and Families,

CHUCK BATES, District Administrator,

ROBERT WILLIAMS, District Administrator,

ESTER TIBBS, District Administrator, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees

On Appeal from the United States District Court

For the Southern District of Florida

(D.C. Docket No. 00-02116-CV-FAM)

May 8, 2003

App. 2a

Before ANDERSON and CARNES, Circuit Judges, and

HAND’, District Judge.

CARNES, Circuit Judge.

This case involves a proposed class action brought on

behalf of all children in Florida’s foster care system against

the Governor of Florida, the Secretary of Florida’s

Department of Children and Families (“the Department”),

and the administrators of fourteen of the Department’s fifteen

districts, all of whom collectively administer Florida’s foster

care system. The individual plaintiffs’ amended complaint

alleges widespread deficiencies in the state’s foster care

system, in violation of the United States Constitution and

federal statutory law. The plaintiffs appeal the district court’s

order insofar as it grants the defendants’ motions to dismiss

parts of the amended complaint on grounds of Younger V.

Harris abstention and Eleventh Amendment immunity.

In Part I of this opinion, we set out the allegations

contained in the multi-count complaint and the procedural

history of the case. In Part II, we address the justiciability

concerns raised by the defendants and conclude that although

the claims of two of the plaintiffs are moot, the other

plaintiffs have standing to pursue their claims. In Part III, we

review the plaintiffs’ federal statutory claims and affirm the

district court’s order dismissing those claims, because the

statutes at issue do not give rise to enforceable rights. In Part

IV, we discuss the Younger abstention doctrine and conclude

that the district court did not abuse its discretion in abstaining

from deciding the plaintiffs’ claims. Part V contains our

conclusions and instructions for the district court on remand.

* Honorable William B. Hand, United States District Judge for the

Southern District of Alabama, sitting by designation.

8 OIE CRG ELON EIS MO OOS Me NT NRT Pe RRR RT Ne TO Ey

App. 3a

I. THE COMPLAINT AND PROCEDURAL HISTORY

In June of 2000, the plaintiffs filed suit on behalf of

themselves and a statewide class of children in custody of the

defendants. The amended complaint contains six counts,

alleging that the defendants’ practices deny and threaten the

plaintiffs’’ claimed rights to: (1) safe care that meets their

basic needs, prompt placements with permanent families, and

services extended after their eighteenth birthdays, as

guaranteed by substantive due process (Count I); (2)

procedural due process in determining the services they will

receive (Count II); (3) family association with siblings as

guaranteed by the First, Ninth, and Fourteenth Amendments

(Count III); (4) prompt placement with permanent families

and to have their medical and educational backgrounds

provided to their care givers, as guaranteed by 42 U.S.C. §§

675(5)(D) and (E), which are provisions of the Adoption

Assistance and Child Welfare Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-

272, 94 Stat. 500, 516 (June 17, 1980) (codified as amended

at 42 U.S.C. §§ 620-628 and §§ 670-679a) (‘the Adoption

Act”) (Count IV); (5S) health screening and followup under

schedules established pursuant to the Medicaid Act, 42

U.S.C. §§ 1396a(a)(43)(B), 1396(a)(43)(C), and 1396d(r)

(Count V); and (6) in the case of the black plaintiff foster

children, freedom from racial discrimination in the provision

of care and services, as guaranteed by Title VI of the 1964

Civil Rights Act (Count VI).

The plaintiffs brought their lawsuit under 42 U.S.C. §

1983, seeking declaratory and injunctive relief relating to the

' The plaintiffs who filed the amended complaint are: Bonnie L., Reggie

B., Rebecca B., Laurie S., Lillie S., Leslie F., Sandra M., Tanya M.,

Candice D., Jay D., Matthew I., Hugh S., Leanne G.., Tammy G., Elaine

R., Paul B., Rachel C., Cathy W., Larissa C., John J., Melinda, and

Karina.

App. 4a

operation of Florida’s foster care system. Specifically, they

requested that the court:

(1) declare unconstitutional and unlawful the

following alleged practices: (a) the failure to provide for the

plaintiffs’ basic needs, safety, freedom from harm, freedom

from unreasonable restraints on their liberty, care and

treatment, freedom from being placed into unnecessary state-

created danger, and freedom from arbitrary and capricious

actions and decisions that deprive them of benefits to which

they are entitled; (b) deprivation of state-created entitlements

without an adequate and fair procedure; (c) unnecessary

separation of siblings and denial of visitation among them;

(d) failure to comply with the Adoption Act and the Medicaid

Act; and (e) discrimination on the basis of race;

(2) enjoin the Department and the defendants

from violating the plaintiffs’ constitutional rights, including

those described in (1) above;

(3) order appropriate remedial relief to ensure

compliance with the Constitution and laws of the United

States;

(4) appoint an expert panel to develop and

oversee the implementation of a plan for reform;

(5) appoint a permanent ombudsman or children’s

advocate to present the plaintiffs’ interests to the defendants,

and require the defendants to meet regularly and frequently

with that ombudsman; and

(6) grant other equitable relief as the court sees

fit.

PERL at AE AP GLEE PR TO OR ‘

“ .

App. 5a

After amending the complaint, the plaintiffs moved to

certify the statewide class of all children who are or would be

in foster care in Florida, along with a subclass of black

children.” Upon motion of the defendants, the court

appointed a guardian ad litem, who concluded after

investigation that “a class action lawsuit is an appropriate

mechanism to secure a remedy for all the children in State

custody . . . [and] that the prosecution of this lawsuit to a

final resolution . . . will be in the best interests of the Plaintiff

children and the class they represent.”

The district court dismissed all of the plaintiffs’

claims on the pleadings. It ruled that Count IV, which

involves the Adoption Act claims, is barred by the Eleventh

Amendment and dismissed those claims with prejudice. The

court also dismissed with prejudice the constitutional claims

— Counts I, II, and III] — as to all plaintiffs who are not in

extended foster care (which exists only for persons age 18 or

older); it did so based upon the abstention doctrine of

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 91 S. Ct. 746 (1971). The

court dismissed with prejudice the portion of Count VI that

alleges disparate impact discrimination under Title VI of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964. Concluding that the amended

complaint was not a “short and plain statement” of claims,

the court dismissed all the other claims (including the Title

VI claims for intentional discrimination} in the amended

complaint without prejudice, granting the plaintiffs leave to

replead those claims that had not been dismissed on some

other basis.

Thereafter, eleven of the twenty-two named plaintiffs

who had filed the amended complaint settled all of their

* The class description was later modified to exclude children who were

plaintiffs in a separate class action involving only children in foster care

in Broward County.

App. 6a

claims, executed a release, and are no longer part of the

lawsuit. Some of the eleven plaintiffs who remain in the

lawsuit also settled some of their claims. More specifically,

all the intentional racial discrimination claims and all the

Medicaid Act claims have been settled and dismissed.’ The

settlement left no unadjudicated claims pending in the district

court.

The plaintiffs who appealed to this Court are the

remaining eleven named plaintiffs still in foster care in -

Florida for persons under the age of eighteen." The issues

they raise in this appeal concern only Counts I through IV,

which involve some of the claims that were dismissed with

prejudice.”

Il. JUSTICIABILITY

Initially, we are faced with some threshold questions

about whether the plaintiffs’ claims present a justiciable case

or controversy. Specifically, we must decide whether the

claims of two of the plaintiffs are moot and whether the other

plaintiffs have standing to challenge the practices at issue.

A. MOOTNESS

The exercise of jurisdiction by the federal courts

“depends upon the existence of a case or controversy.”

3 Because of that settlement, none of the plaintiffs filed an amendment to

the complaint repleading those claims, even though the district court’s

dismissal of them had been without prejudice.

‘ They are: Reggie B., Rebecca B., Laurie S., Lillie S., Tanya M., Leanne

G., Tammy G., Elaine R., Rachel C., Larissa C., and John J.

* Although the disparate impact portion of the black children’s Title VI

claims in Count VI was also dismissed with prejudice, the plaintiffs do

not contest that ruling.

App. 7a

North Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S. 244, 246, 92 S. Ct. 402, 404

(1971) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted). “[A]

case is moot when the issues presented are no longer ‘live’ or

the parties lack a legally cognizable interest in the outcome.”

Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486,496, 89 S. Ct. 1944,

1951 (1969). “Put another way, [a] case is moot when it no

longer presents a live controversy with respect to which the

court can give meaningful relief.” Fla. Ass’n of Rehab.

Facilities. Inc. v. Fla. Dep’t of Health & Rehabilitative

Servs., 225 F.3d 1208, 1217 (11th Cir. 2000) (citations and

internal quotation marks omitted). We consider questions of

mootness under a plenary standard of review. United States

v. Fla. Azalea Specialists, 19 F.3d 620, 621 (11th Cir. 1994).

The defendants contend that Larissa C.’s and Leanne

G.’s claims are moot, and we agree. Because Larissa C. and

Leanne G. have been adopted, they are no longer in the

defendants’ legal or physical custody and therefore cannot be

further harmed by the defendants’ alleged illegal practices.

Because the plaintiffs’ amended complaint seeks only

prospective injunctive relief against the defendants to prevent

future harm, no live controversy exists between them and

these two plaintiffs. Larissa C. and Leanne G. have no legally

cognizable interest in the outcome of this lawsuit. All of their

claims are moot.

B. STANDING

The three prerequisites for standing are that: (1) the

plaintiff have suffered an “injury in fact” — an invasion of a

judicially cognizable interest, which is (a) concrete and

particularized, and (b) actual or imminent, not conjectural or

hypothetical; (2) there be a causal connection between that

injury and the conduct complained of — the injury must be

fairly traceable to the challenged action of the defendant, and

App. 8a

not the result of the independent action of some third party

not before the court; and (3) it be likely, not merely

speculative, that the injury will be redressed by a favorable

decision. Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154, 162, 117 S. Ct.

1154, 1161 (1997). These three elements “constitute[] the

core of Article III’s case-or-controversy requirement.” Steel

Co. v. Citizens for a Better Env’t, 523 U.S. 83, 103-04, 118

S. Ct. 1003, 1017 (1998).

The plaintiffs bear the burden of establishing each of

the three standing elements. Bennett, 520 U.S. at 167-68, 117

S. Ct. at 1163-64. How much evidence is necessary to satisfy

that burden depends on the stage of litigation at which the

standing challenge is made. Id. At the pleading stage,

“general factual allegations of injury resulting from the

defendant’s conduct may suffice, for on a motion to dismiss

we presume that general allegations embrace those specific

facts that are necessary to support the claim.” Lujan v.

Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 561, 112 S. Ct. 2130,

2137 (1992) (citations and internal marks omitted).

Because Larissa C.’s and Leanne G.’s claims are

moot, we have nine remaining plaintiffs who appealed to this

Court and for whom the standing question maiters: Reggie

B., Rebecca B., Laurie S., Lillie S., Tanya M., Tammy G.,

Elaine R., Rachel C., and John J. Taking the allegations of

the complaint as true for present purposes, as we must,

Pompey v. Broward County, 95 F.3d 1543, 1548 n.6 ( Ith

Cir. 1996), we will proceed count-by-count as to all the

injury claimed by the plaintiffs who have appealed to this

Court.

In Count I, the plaintiffs claim that the defendants

have violated their substantive due process rights by

engaging in a pattern and practice of failing to meet their

See =>

: . . . ania poner - . PHS ae sy at % are ee BES ee aa, fe rs

RS eine hese i bo PAA i aA li

App. 9a

obligations in the following ways: failing to satisfy the

plaintiffs’ basic needs for food, clothing, and shelter, as well

as for medical, educational and other services; failing to

provide safe care and placements that protect the plaintiffs

from harm and services that prevent or ameliorate harm; and

failing to provide the plaintiffs with care consistent with the

purposes for which the defendants assumed custody of them.

As additional claimed violations of their substantive

due process rights in Count I, eight of the nine remaining

plaintiffs — Tanya M., Laurie S., Lillie S., Elaine R., Rachel

C., Reggie B., John J., and Tammy G. — assert that the

defendants knowingly placed and retained them in foster care.

placements that were dangerous, abusive, neglectful,

overcrowded, or wholly inappropriate for meeting the

children’s needs. The plaintiffs further claim that the

defendants ignore or inappropriately respond to complaints

or other information identifying certain placements as

dangerous, abusive, neglectful, overcrowded, or wholly

inappropriate for meeting the children’s needs, and have

done so in the placements of Tanya M., Laurie S., Lillie S..,

Tammy G., and John J. Further, the defendants are alleged to

have engaged in a pattern and practice of placing some

children, including Rachel C. and Tammy G., in temporary

shelters or group homes on a long-term basis because of the

unavailability of foster homes to accommodate them. They

are alleged to have retained children, including Laurie S..,

Lillie S., Reggie B., and Rebecca B., in foster care longer

than necessary and to have subjected children to multiple,

unwarranted placements. The position of the plaintiffs is that

the defendants have a pattern and practice of engaging in the

conduct alleged in Count I, which has caused and continues

to cause the plaintiffs injury.

In Count II, the plaintiffs assert viviations of .

procedural due process. They allege that the defendants have

App. 10a

failed to establish a process for an administrative hearing or

professional review of decisions that deny the plaintiffs

benefits to which they are entitled, including caseworker

supervision of children in foster care and shelter care,

medical care, foster care after reaching the age of majority,

and participation in a subsidized Independent Living

Program. Specifically, it is alleged that Reggie B. has been

and continues to be injured by this pattern and practice,

because he has been denied treatment necessary to repair a

cleft palate and for other medical needs.

In Count III, eight of the remaining plaintiffs —

Tanya M., Tammy G., Laurie S., Lillie S., John J., Elaine R..,

Reggie B., and Rebecca B. — claim that the defendants have

violated their First, Ninth, and Fourteenth Amendment rights

by unnecessarily separating them from their siblings and

depriving them of regular and frequent visitation with their

separated siblings. They allege that the defendants have a

pattern and practice of doing so, and that it has harmed them.

In Count IV, the plaintiffs allege that the defendants

have violated rights granted them under the Adoption Act.

Specifically, Laurie S., Lillie S., Reggie B., and Rebecca B.

claim that the defendants routinely fail to initiate proceedings

for termination of parental rights to children in their custody

for 15 of the most recent 22 months as required under 42

U.S.C. § 675(5)(E), and that they have been harmed by this

practice. Reggie B. also alleges specifically that his health

and education records were not provided to foster parents or

foster care providers immediately upon his placement in a

home or facility, as required under 42 U.S.C. § 675(5)(D),

and the other eight remaining plaintiffs allege generally that

the defendants routinely fail to obtain the required

information, update it, or provide a record of the information

to each foster home or facility.

SsckaisaPiip des Shao uci gh msi A ks ok nina bs as dba ais

EP Ae NR EARP Og Sra

SNES EIA ES

App. lla

The defendants contend that none of the plaintiffs has

Standing to bring claims under Count II (procedural due

process) or Count IV (Adoption Act). With regard to Count I

(substantive due process), the defendants contend that only

four plaintiffs — Laurie S., Lillie S., Reggie B., and Rebecca

B. — have standing to claim that they have been in foster

care longer than reasonably necessary. They contend that

only three plaintiffs — Tammy G., Laurie S., and Lillie S$. —

have standing to bring a claim under Count III (sibling

association) for failure to be placed in a foster home with

their siblings. Finally, they contend that only two plaintiffs

— Elaine R. and Tammy G. — have standing to raise a claim

under Count III for failure to allow visitation with siblings.

The defendants’ basis for claiming that most plaintiffs lack

standing for these claims is that most of them fail to allege

either a palpable injury or the imminent risk of harm.®

Instead, according to the defendants, most of the plaintiffs

complain about past harms and seek relief for aspects of the

Florida foster care system that have not caused them injury.

In order to satisfy the “injury in fact” requirement of

standing, a plaintiff need not wait for an injury to occur. An

° In addition to injury in fact, plaintiffs must also allege that their injuries

are “fairly traceable to the challenged action of the defendant, and not the

result of the independent action of some third party not before the court,”

and that it is likely the injury will be redressed if the court rules in their

favor. Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154, 167, 117 S. Ct. 1154, 1163 (1997).

These aspects of standing are not disputed in this case. According to the

amended complaint, the defendants’ failures caused the plaintiffs’ injuries

and their continued failures are likely to cause further injuries. The

plaintiffs do allege that their injuries are related to the challenged conduct

of the defendants. Therefore, the alleged injuries suffered by the plaintiffs

are fairly traceable to the conduct of the defendants. In addition, the

plaintiffs seek a declaratory judgment and prospective injunctive relief

that will prevent the defendants from violating their constitutional and

federal statutory rights. The relief the plaintiffs seek would clearly

remedy their claimed injuries.

App. 12a

allegation of future injury satisfies this prong of standing so

long as the alleged injury is “imminent” or “real and

immediate” and not merely “conjectural” or “hypothetical.”

Lujan, 504 U.S. at 560, 112 S. Ct. at 2136; City of Los

Angeles _v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95, 101-02, 103 S. Ct. 1660,

1665 (1983). An injury is imminent if it is likely to occur,

and likely to do so immediately. Lujan, 504 U.S. at 560, 112

S. Ct. at 2136.

When a plaintiff cannot show that an injury is likely

to occur immediately, the plaintiff does not have standing to

seek prospective relief even if he has suffered a past injury.

For example, in Lyons, the plaintiff sought to enjoin the use

of “chokeholds” by police officers. 461 U.S. at 98, 103 S. Ct.

at 1663. The Court stated that the plaintiffs standing to seek

that relief hinged on “whether he was likely to suffer future

injury from the use of the chokeholds by police officers.” Id.

at 105, 103 S. Ct. at 1667. The Court held that the plaintiff

lacked standing, because the probability of future injury was

too speculative, id. at 106-07, 103 S. Ct. at 1667-68,

explaining:

In order to establish an actual controversy in this case,

[the plaintiff] would have had not only to allege that

he would have another encounter with the police but

also to make the incredible assertion either (1) that all

police officers in Los Angeles always choke any

citizen with whom they happen to have an encounter

_.. or (2) that the City ordered or authorized police

officers to act in such manner.

Id. at 105-06, 103 S. Ct at 1667. As Lyons illustrates, future

injury that depends on either the random or unauthorized acts

of a third party is too speculative to satisfy standing

requirements. However, when the threatened acts that will

e + ieee Se eae area et

oe " ‘ ; na oe hee BY eae 3 somes s Pa OMe pt Le ago

wae) ite Pe x IEEE ESE PERRIS ls LN OO a I a de Si i tink eal = Sika .

EDN LEAT INO en eee Ore

4

aay.

br te

*

aby

*

eit

¥

¢

Sy

"

;

App. 13a

cause injury are authorized or part of a policy, it is

significantly more likely that the injury will occur again. See

id. at 106, 103 S. Ct. at 1667 (plaintiff may have had

Standing if he had alleged “that the City ordered or

authorized police officers to [perform illegal chokeholds]”).

This case is more like Church v. City of Huntsville.

30 F.3d 1332 (11th Cir. 1994), than Lyons. In Church. the

plaintiffs were homeless persons who sought an injunction

against the City of Huntsville to prevent the City and its

employees from harassing, intimidating, detaining, and

arresting them solely because they were homeless, as part of

a concerted effort to drive them out of the city. Id. at 1335.

We held that the plaintiffs had standing, because they were

far more likely than the Lyons plaintiff to have future

encounters with the police, were homeless involuntarily, and

could not “‘avoid future exposure to the challenged course of

conduct” in which the City engaged. Id. at 1338 (quoting

O’Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488, 497, 94 S. Ct. 669, 677

(1974)). Importantly, the Church plaintiffs alleged that

municipal policy authorized the constitutional deprivations

they claimed and that the City had a “custom, practice and

policy” of engaging in the challenged conduct. Id. at 1339.

For the reasons that the Church plaintiffs had

standing, the plaintiffs in this case who are in the defendants’

physical custody have standing to pursue their substantive

due process claims (Count I). The plaintiffs who are in the

defendants’ physical custody and have siblings in the

defendants’ custody — Tammy G., Laurie S., Lillie S., John

J., Reggie B., and Rebecca B. — have standing to pursue

their sibling association claims (Count III). These plaintiffs

are in much the same legal position as the Church plaintiffs.

They are in the custody of the defendants involuntarily and

will be until they are returned to their parents, are adopted, or

reach the age of majority. They cannot avoid exposure to the

App. 14a

defendants’ challenged conduct. The alleged systemic

deficiencies in the Florida foster care system are similar to an

injurious policy, and different from the random act at issue in

Lyons. The alleged pattern and practice in this case presents

a substantial likelihood that the alleged injury will occur. See

Church, 30 F.3d at 1339.

Moreover, the plaintiffs’ allegations under Counts |

and III support the conclusion that future injury will proceed

with a high degree of immediacy. The Supreme Court

addressed this aspect of the injury in fact requirement in

Lujan, holding that because the plaintiffs failed to

demonstrate their injury would “proceed with a high degree

of immediacy, so as to reduce the possibility of deciding a

case in which no injury would have occurred at all,” they

lacked standing to pursue their claim. 504 US. at 559, 564

n.2, 112 S. Ct. at 2135-36, 2138 n.2. Thus, under Lujan, one

cannot merely allege that an injury will be suffered at “some

time” in the future. However, a plaintiff need not

demonstrate that the injury will occur within days or even

weeks to have standing. See, e.g., Adarand Constructors, Inc.

v. Pena, 515 U.S. 200, 211-12, 115 S. Ct. 2097, 2105 (1995)

(plaintiff who was likely to suffer injury within one year

period had standing to sue). The court must make a

qualitative inquiry into this question. See Wilderness Soc’y

y. Alcock, 83 F.3d 386, 390 (llth Cir. 1996) (when

determining standing, court focuses on qualitative sufficiency

of the injury). In this case, for those plaintiffs who are in the

physical custody of the defendants, the degree of immediacy

is sufficiently high that there is little likelihood the district

court will be deciding a case “in which no injury would have

occurred at all.” Lujan, 504 U.S. at 564 n.2, 112 S. Ct. at

2138 n.2.

However, the two plaintiffs who are not in the

defendants’ physical custody lack standing to pursue the

eee ee. ee ee ae FOE LE LE AE ET OO SO PO ji ie

1 a aed LL RGA INS RY PGI IEEE INE IE NDT AG IGE LAN ET eg Be ORR PE SEE AOSD Se OCT te . ib thei ris eget

ed Pete Te ECG ESA GRRE To PRE BS hakiead bail itt age nat et Rdaats gs ote able ce teal ee ae Sie : -

App. 15a

constitutional claims under Counts I and III. The amended

complaint states that Tanya M. has run away, and at oral

argument the plaintiffs’ counsel referred to Elaine R. as one

of the “hundreds of missing children.” Plaintiffs who are not

in the defendants’ physical custody cannot demonstrate that

their constitutional injuries are imminent. They may return to

the defendants’ physical custody, but they may not. If they do

not return to the defendants’ physical custody, then they will

never be harmed by the alleged practices of the defendants. It

follows that they cannot demonstrate any injury that would

“proceed with a high degree of immediacy.” Id.

Only Reggie B. has standing to pursue the procedural

due process claims set out in Count II, because he is the only

plaintiff who has demonstrated injury in fact as to that claim.

He claims that he has been denied medical care to repair a

cleft palate (and other unspecified medical care) and that the

defendants have not provided a process for review of that

denial. If his cleft palate has not been repaired, he has been

denied an alleged entitlement, and he is asking for procedural

protections he claims have not been provided. His is a

concrete injury that is real and immediate. Id. at 560, 112 S.

Ct. at 2136. The other plaintiffs, however, have not alleged

that they have been denied any entitlement. Without such an

allegation, the other plaintiffs are essentially asserting that

they will be denied a benefit in the future, and that when that

happens, the defendants will provide them with no process

for reviewing the denial. The plaintiffs’ procedural due

process claims are different from their substantive due

process claims because the procedural injury requires two

steps: the defendants must deny the plaintiffs a benefit and

then deny them process. Such an injury may never occur. See

id. at 564 n.2, 112 S. Ct. at 2138 n.2.

As to the Adoption Act claims in Count IV, all of the

plaintiffs whose parents’ parental rights have not been

App. 16a

terminated within the period set out in the statute have

standing to pursue a claim under 42 U.S.C. § 675(5)(E).

Their claimed injury is concrete. In the amended complaint,

Laurie S., Lillie S., Reggie B., and Rebecca B. present such

claims. Other plaintiffs, the ones who have not been in the

defendants’ custody for the statutory period, do not have

standing to bring a claim under § 675(5)(E), because they

may not be injured at all; they may return to their parents’

custody.

All of the remaining plaintiffs in the defendants’

physical custody have claims under 42 U.S.C. § 675(5)(D)

for the defendants’ failure to provide updated health and

education records to the plaintiffs’ foster caregivers for the

same reasons that they have standing to pursue their

substantive due process claims. Because it is alleged that the

defendants routinely fail to obtain the required information,

update the records, and provide the information to the foster

caregivers, all children who are within the defendants’

physical custody are at risk of immediate harm from that

pattern and practice.

In sum, Larissa C.’s and Leanne G.’s claims are moot

because they have been adopted. Reggie B., Rebecca B.,

Laurie S., Lillie S., Tammy G., Rachel C., and John J. have

standing to pursue their Count I claims. Reggie B. has

standing to pursue his Count II claims. Tammy G., Laurie S.,

Lillie S., John J., Reggie B., and Rebecca B. have standing to

pursue their Count III claims. Laurie S., Lillie S., Reggie B.,

and Rebecca B. have standing to pursue their Count IV

claims for failure to terminate parental rights in the statutory

period. Reggie B., Rebecca B., Laurie S., Lillie S., Tammy

G., Rachel C., and John J. have standing to pursue their

Count IV claims for failure to provide updated health and

education records to foster caregivers.

App. 17a

III. THE PLAINTIFFS’ CLAIMS UNDER § 1983 FOR

VIOLATIONS OF §§ 675(5)(D) AND (E) OF THE

ADOPTION ACT

Because some of the plaintiffs have standing to

pursue their Adoption Act claims, we must now decide

whether 42 U.S.C. § 675(5)(D) and (E) provide rights

enforceable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.’ It provides a federal

remedy for violations not only of the Constitution but federal

statutes as well. Maine v. Thiboutot 448 U.S. 1, 100 S. Ct.

2502 (1980). In order to have a viable cause of action under §

1983 based on the violation of a federal statute, however, a

plaintiff must establish that the statute allegedly violated

gives the plaintiff enforceable rights. Gonzaga Univ. v. Doe,

536 U.S. 273, 283, 122 S. Ct. 2268, 2275 (2002) (rejecting

the notion that case law permits “anything short of an

unambiguously conferred right to support a cause of action

brought under § 1983”).

We emphasize, as did the Court in Gonzaga, that in

cases brought to enforce legislation enacted pursuant to

Congress’ spending power, such as the Adoption Act,

Congress must “speak with a clear voice” and manifest an

“unambiguous” intent to confer individual rights before

federal funding provisions will be read to provide a basis for

private enforcement. Id. at 280, 122 S. Ct. at 2273 (citing

Pennhurst State Sch. & Hosp. v. Halderman, 451 U.S. ey A

28 & n.21, 101 S. Ct. 1531, 1540, 1545 & n.21) (1981)). “In

” The district court did not decide this question, instead dismissing the

plaintiffs’ Adoption Act claims as barred by the Eleventh Amendment

under Seminole Tribe of Florida v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44, 116 S. Ct. 1114

(1996). In view of our conclusion that the Adoption Act claims are due to

be dismissed on other grounds, we need not address the Eleventh

Amendment issue. McClendon v. Ga. Dep’t of Cmty. Health, 261 F.3d

1252, 1258-59 (11th Cir. 2002).

App. 18a

legislation enacted pursuant to the spending power, the

typical remedy for state noncompliance with federally

imposed conditions is not a private cause of action for

noncompliance but rather action by the Federal Government

to terminate funds to the State.” Pennhurst, 451 USS. at 28,

101 S. Ct. at 1545. Only twice since Pennhurst has the

Supreme Court held that spending legislation gave rise to

rights enforceable via § 1983. See Wilder _v. Va. Hosp.

Ass’n, 496 U.S. 498, 110 S. Ct. 2510 (1990) (holding that

health care providers could, pursuant to § 1983, enforce the

Boren Amendment to the Medicaid Act); Wright v. Roanoke

Redevelopment & Hous. Auth., 479 U.S. 418, 107 S. Ct. 766

(1987) (holding that the Brooke Amendment to the Housing

Act provided a cause of action under § 1983).

The Supreme Court has set forth three requirements

that must be met before a federal statute will be read to

confer a right enforceable under § 1983: (1) Congress must

have intended that the provisions in question benefit the

plaintiff; (2) the plaintiff must demonstrate that the right

assertedly protected by the statute is not so vague and

amorphous that its enforcement would strain judicial

resources; and (3) the provision giving rise to the asserted

right must be couched in mandatory, rather than precatory,

terms. Blessing v. Freestone, 520 U.S. 329, 340-41, 117 S.

Ct. 1353, 1359 (1997). The Supreme Court in Gonzaga

clarified the first of the Blessing requirements, making it

plain that only unambiguously conferred rights, as

distinguished from mere benefits or interests, may be

enforced under § 1983. 536 U.S. at 283, 122 S. Ct. at 2275

(rejecting the notion private plaintiffs have enforceable

federal rights merely because they are the intended

beneficiaries of a statute or fall within its zone of interest).

The Court held in Gonzaga that a private plaintiff

could not bring an action under § 1983 to enforce provisions

App. 19a

of the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974

(FERPA), 20 U.S.C. § 1232g. In FERPA Congress directed

the Secretary of Education to deny federal funding to any

state with a policy or practice of permitting the unauthorized

release of education records or personal information.

Congress was explicit about it, saying: “No funds shall be

made available... to any [school] which has a policy or

practice of permitting the release of education records . . . of

students without the written consent of their parents ...” 20

U.S.C. § 1232g(b)(1).

5 A thee L OEE SLES MAREE EO SO or

In holding that FERPA does not create a right

enforceable under § 1983, the Supreme Court explained that

the act lacks “rights-creating” language critical to showing

congressional intent to create new rights. Instead, the act

speaks only to the Secretary of Education, directing him to

withhold funds if the prohibited practice exists. Gonzaga, 536

U.S. at 287, 122 S. Ct. at 2277. The Court contrasted

FERPA’s language that “[n]o funds shall be made available,”

with the individually focused language of Titles VI and IX,

which mandate that “[n]Jo person . . . shall . . . be subjected to

discrimination,” statutes that do create enforceable rights, see

Cannon vy. Univ. of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677, 99 S. Ct. 1946

(1979). The Court concluded in Gonzaga that the focus of

FERPA is “two steps removed from the interests of

individual students and parents.” 536 U.S. 287, 122 S. Ct. at

2277. Instead of creating an enforceable duty on the part of

the school, the act only imposed a duty on the part of the

federal government — the duty to withhold funds.

A second reason the Supreme Court gave in Gonzaga

for concluding that FERPA does not create enforceable rights

is that its nondisclosure provisions speak only in terms of

institutional policy and practice, not about “individual

instances of disclosure.” Id. at 288, 122 S. Ct. at 2278. The

provisions therefore have an aggregate focus, instead of a

App. 20a

concern for “whether the needs of any particular person have

been satisfied.” Id. (citation omitted). Also thought

significant is the fact that institutions can avoid funding

termination under FERPA by substantial compliance with the

act’s requirements; compliance in every case is not necessary

to avoid loss of funding. Id.

Finally, the Supreme Court considered in Gonzaga

the mechanism that Congress chose to provide for enforcing

the provisions of FERPA. The act expressly authorizes the

Secretary of Education to “deal with violations” of it and to

establish a review board for investigating and adjudicating

such violations. 20 U.S.C. § 1232g(f). The Secretary’s

regulations create an office to act as a review board, and

students can file individual written complaints with that

office. This review mechanism, the Court concluded,

evidences a congressional intent to avoid the multiple

interpretations of FERPA that might arise if the act created

enforceable individual rights. Gonzaga, 536 at 289-90, 122 S.

Ct. at 2278-79.

We take from Gonzaga the lesson that we are to look

at the text and structure of a statute in order to determine if it

unambiguously provides enforceable rights. If the text and

structure “provide no indication that Congress intends to

create new individual rights, there is no basis for a private

suit.” Id. at 286, 122 S. Ct. at 2277. If they provide some

indication that Congress may have intended to create

individual rights, and some indication it may not have, that

means Congress has not spoken with the requisite “clear

voice.” Ambiguity precludes enforceable rights. Id. at 280,

122 S. Ct. at 2273. The first Blessing requirement, which is

what Gonzaga addressed, is that Congress must have

intended that the provision in question benefit the plaintiff.

Factors to consider in determining if it did include whether

the statute: (1) contains “rights-creating” language that is

App. 2la

individually focused; (2) addresses the needs of individual

persons being satisfied instead of having a systemwide or

aggregate focus; and (3) lacks an enforcement mechanism

through which an aggrieved individual can obtain review.

Turning to the specific legislation at hand, the

Adoption Act comprises Parts B and E of Title IV of the

Social Security Act and is a federal funding statute that

establishes a program of payments to states for foster care

and adoption assistance. 42 U.S.C. § 620-628, 670-679a.

Sections 675(5)(D) and (E) are found in Part E. For a state to

receive funds under Part E, it must satisfy certain

requirements. The state must submit for approval by the

Secretary of Health and Human Services a plan for foster

care and adoption assistance. 42 U.S.C. § 671(a). If a state

follows its approved plan, it receives federal funds. 42 U.S.C.

§ 670; 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-2a.

If the state does not follow its approved plan, it may

lose all or some of the federal funds it otherwise would

receive. Section 1320a-2a requires the Secretary to

promulgate regulations for use in reviewing state programs in

order to determine whether the programs are in substantial

conformity with the state plan. 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-2a(a)(3).

Under the statute, the regulations must require the Secretary

to withhold federal funds if a state has failed to substantially

conform to its approved plan, id. § 1320a-2a(b)(3), and the

regulations do exactly that, 45 C.F.R. §§ 1355.35(c)(4),

1355.36(b).

The plaintiffs in this case brought suit under § 675, a

section that provides definitions for both Parts B and E,

including a definition for the term “case review system.” 42

U.S.C. § 675(5). The plaintiffs’ position is that those

provisions relating to a case review system give them an

App. 22a

enforceable right under the statute. Section 675(5) provides,

in relevant part:

The term “case review system” means a procedure for

assuring that —

(D) a child’s health and education record (as

described in paragraph (1)(A)) is reviewed and

updated, and supplied to the foster parent or foster

care provider with whom the child is placed, at the

time of each placement of the child in foster care;

(E) in the case of a child who has been in foster care

under the responsibility of the State for 15 of the most

recent 22 months, or, if a court of competent

jurisdiction has determined a child to be an

abandoned infant (as defined under State law) or has

made a determination that the parent has committed

murder of another child of the parent, committed

voluntary manslaughter of another child of the parent,

aided or abetted, attempted, conspired, or solicited to

commit such a murder or such a_ voluntary

manslaughter, or committed a felony assault that has

resulted in serious bodily injury to the child or to

another child of the parent, the State shall file a

petition to terminate the parental rights of the child’s

parents (or, if such a petition has been filed by

another party, seek to be joined as a party to the

petition). 42 U.S.C. § 675(5).

Because §§ 675(5)(D) and (E) are definitional in

nature, they alone cannot and do not supply a basis for

conferring rights enforceable under § 1983. See Gonzaga,

536 U.S. at 280, 122 S. Ct. at 2273; see_also Charlie H. v.

Whitman, 83 F. Supp. 2d 476, 490 (D.N.J. 2000) (§ 675(5),

standing alone, does not confer a right enforceable under §

1983); B.H. v. Johnson, 715 F. Supp. 1387, 1401 (N.D. Ill.

pa tar a pelea Ie BLN REA A PREIS NE USS ig SASS

bs

, App. 23a

1989) (“It would be strange for Congress to create

enforceable rights in the definitional section of a statute.”).

Other than the definition, the only provision in Part E

of Title IV that uses the term “case review system” is 42

U.S.C. § 671(a)(16). That section conditions receipt of federal

funds on the existence of a state plan that, among other

things, provides for “a case review system which meets the

requirements described in section 675(5)(B) .. . with respect

to each such child.” Section 671(a)(16) does not go beyond

that and explicitly require a plan to meet the requirements

described in §§ 675(5)(D) and (E).

The plaintiffs contend otherwise. They argue that we

should not interpret § 671(a)(16) to require compliance only

with § 675(5)(B) in order for states to receive federal funds,

but we think that is the most logical interpretation. The

statute plainly directs that the state must have a plan that

provides for a case review system “which meets the

requirements described in section 675(5)(B) of this title.” 42

U.S.C. § 671(a)(16). It does not say that a plan’s case review

system must meet the requirements of §§ 675(5)(D) and (E).

Moreover, in other provisions of the Adoption Act,

provisions that are codified in Part B of Title IV, Congress

has required compliance with all of § 675(5) in order for a

state to receive funds. The conclusion we reach is that

* Part B creates a joint federal-state program that provides federal funds

for child welfare services. In order to be eligible for these funds, 42

U.S.C. § 622(b)(10)(B){ii) requires that each state have a plan for child

welfare services that “provide[s] assurances that the State — is operating,

to the satisfaction of the Secretary — a case review system (as defined in

section 675(5) of this title) for each child receiving foster care under the

supervision of the State.” Another provision, 42 U.S.C. § 626(b)(3),

requires that, in order for states to receive funds for projects for the

development of alternate care arrangement for infants who do not need to

ee er ee

App. 24a

Congress knew how to require compliance with all aspects of

a case review system, as described in § 675(5), when it

wanted to do so. It did not choose to do so in § 671(a)(16).

Additionally, §§ 675(5)(D) and (E) do not have the

kind of focused-on-the-individual, rights-creating language

required by Gonzaga. Instead, the language of those

provisions gives them an aggregate or system wide focus

‘nstead of one that indicates concern with whether the needs

of any particular child are met. Gonzaga, 536 U.S. 288, 122

S. Ct. at 2277-78. Although the text of the provisions speaks

to “a child’s health and education record” provided at “each

placement of the child” and to termination of the parental

rights of “the child’s parents,” the case review system as a

whole is defined as “a procedure for assuring” that the

desired steps are taken. 42 U.S.C. § 675(5). The references to

individual children and their placements are made in the

context of describing what the procedure is supposed to

ensure, and such provisions “cannot make out the requisite

congressional intent to confer individual rights enforceable

by § 1983.” Gonzaga, 536 U.S. at 289, 122 S. Ct. at 2278.

be in hospital settings, the state develop “a case review system of the type

described in § 675(5) of this title” for each infant.

The plaintiffs have not sued under either 42 U.S.C. § 622(b)(10)(B)(ii)

or § 626(b)(3), which are in Part B, and instead have repeatedly said that

their claims arise under Part E. Section 671(a)(16) is the only section in

Part E that refers to a “case review system.” So, we have confined our

consideration to it. However, other courts have found that §

622(b)(10)(B)(ii), at least, does not confer an enforceable right. See

Charlie H. v. Whitman, 83 F. Supp. 2d 476, 485-89 (D.N.J. 2000) (§

622(b)(10)(B)(ii) is not so unambiguous as to confer a right enforceable

under § 1983); Eric L. v. Bird, 848 F. Supp. 303, 312 (D.N.H. 1994)

(plaintiffs have no enforceable right to compel state’s implementation of

programs under predecessor to § 622(b)(10)(B)(ii)).

———— tS ;

App. 25a

Further, Congress has required the Secretary of

Health and Human Services to promulgate regulations for the

review of the child welfare and adoption assistance programs

set out in Parts B and E in order “to determine whether such

programs are in substantial conformity with — State plan

requirements under such parts B and E.” 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-

2a(a)(1) (emphasis added). The substantial conformity

requirement is similar to FERPA’s, which the Court in

Gonzaya concluded showed an aggregate instead of an

individual focus. 536 U.S. at 288, 122 S. Ct. at 2278; see also

Blessing, 520 U.S. at 335, 343, 117 S. Ct. at 1357, 1361

(holding that Title IV-D of the Social Security Act did not

Support a right enforceable pursuant to § 1983, in part

because the statute mandated “substantial compliance” with

federal regulations).

As for enforcement of §§ 675(5)(D) and (BE), it is true

that the statutes do not contain “a remedial scheme

sufficiently comprehensive to demonstrate congressional

intent to preclude the remedy of suits under § 1983.”

Blessing, 520 U.S. at 346, 117 S. Ct. at 1362 (internal marks

omitted). In fact, the Adoption Act contains no mechanism

by which aggrieved individuals can enforce its provisions.

Instead, the Secretary enforces the Adoption Act by requiring

the implementation of corrective action or withholding

federal funds if the states fail to comply with an approved

plan. See 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-2a. Federal regulations require

that the Secretary audit states to determine whether they are

in compliance. 45 C.F.R. §§ 1355.32-33; 1355.36. This

enforcement scheme is not like those that have been held by

the Supreme Court to preclude suits under § 1983. See

Gonzaga, 536 U.S. at 289-90, 122 S. Ct. at 2278-79 (creation

of centralized review board for individual complaints and

enforcement of FERPA precluded private suits); Smith v.

Robinson, 468 U.S. 992, 1010-12, 104 S. Ct. 3457, 3467-68

(1984), superseded in part by 20 U.S.C. § 1415 (review

App. 26a

scheme in Education of the Handicapped Act permitting

aggrieved individuals to invoke “carefully tailored” local

administrative procedures followed by federal judicial review

precluded § 1983 suits because such suits would “render

superfluous most of the detailed procedural protections

outlined in the statute’); Middlesex County Sewerage Auth.

vy. Nat’ Sea Clammers Ass’n, 453 U.S. 1, 13, 20, 101 S. Ct.

2615, 2623, 2626-27 (1981) (“unusually elaborate

enforcement provisions” of the Federal Water Pollution

Control Act, which provided many enforcement options,

including noncompliance orders, civil suits, and criminal

penalties and authorized private persons to initiate

enforcement actions, foreclosed § 1983 suit). Nonetheless, in

this case, the lack of an enforcement mechanism by which an

aggrieved individual can obtain review is but one of the

factors we consider. The others point in the other direction

and prevent us from saying that Congress spoke with a clear

voice to unambiguously manifest its intent to create

enforceable rights.

One other, more specific argument of the plaintiffs

needs to be discussed. They contend that § 103(c) of the

Adoption and Safe Families Act of 1997 (ASFA), Pub. L.

No. 105-89, 111 Stat. 2115,2119, shows that Congress

intended that the right to have parental rights termination

proceedings initiated within the statutory period be an

enforceable right for children in foster care. Section 103(c)

provides:

(1) NEW FOSTER CHILDREN.— In the case of a

child who enters foster care... under the responsibility

of a State after the date of the enactment of this Act—

(A) if the State comes into compliance with

the amendments made by [section 103(a), which

amended the Adoption Act] before the child has been

Bhs cs Seca sls aig loco ct 9a SOE

Be

SEIS vty 9 om RRIF a A

Pus uaa arena te

Sata IAAI iat aa aia ney Ay atts Ate MER RS RRR UR AN HID wher h EO

App. 27a

in such foster care for 15 of the most recent 22

months, the State shall comply with [42 U.S.C. §

675(5)(E)] with respect to the child when the child

has been in such foster care for 15 of the most recent

22 months; and

(B) if the State comes into such compliance

after the child has been in such foster care for 15 of

the most recent 22 months, the State shall comply

with [42 U.S.C. § 675(5)(E)] with respect to the child

not later than 3 months after the end of the first

regular session of the State legislature that begins

after such date of enactment.

(2) CURRENT FOSTER CHILDREN.— In the case

of children in foster care under the responsibility of

the State on the date of the enactment of this Act, the

State shall—

* &

(C) not later than 18 months after the end of

such first regular [legislative] session, comply with

[42 U.S.C. § 675(5)(E)] with respect to all of such

children.

ASFA § 103(c). Section 103(c) does mandate that a state

must comply with 42 U.S.C. § 675(5)(E) with respect to all

children in foster care.

However, when examined in light of the structure of

both that section of the ASFA and the Adoption Act as a

whole, § 103(c) is ambiguous. Section 103(c)(4) provides

that the requirements of § 103(c) “shall be treated as State

plan requirements imposed by [42 U.S.C. § 671(a)].”

Treating § 103(c) as a plan requirement means that the

Secretary is to review compliance with the requirements of

§ 103(c) only for substantial compliance, not for compliance

in every individual case. See 42 U.S.C. § 1320a-2a(a)(1)

App. 28a

(requiring Secretary to “promulgate regulations for the

review of such programs [under Parts B and E of Title IV] to

determine whether such programs are in substantial

conformity with — State plan requirements under such parts

B and E.”) (emphasis added). The substantial conformity

standard applicable to § 103(c) of the ASFA puts that

provision on the same footing as 42 U.S.C. §§ 675(5)(D) and

(E), and it prevents us from finding that the statute manifests

an unambiguous congressional intent to create a right

enforceable under § 1983.

Taken as a whole, §§ 675(5)(D) and (E) do not

contain rights-creating language; they have an aggregate, not

individual, focus. Those provisions do not give plaintiffs an

“unambiguously conferred right to support a cause of action

brought under § 1983.” Gonzaga, 536 U.S. at 283, 122 S. Ct.

at 2275. Congress has not spoken with a clear voice

manifesting an unambiguous intent for those provisions of

the Adoption Act to provide a basis for private enforcement.

Id. at 280, 122 S. Ct. at 2273; Pennhurst, 451 U.S. at 17,28 &

n.21, 101 S. Ct. at 1540, 1545 & n.21. Count IV of the

complaint, therefore, does not state a claim upon which relief

can be granted.

IV. YOUNGER ABSTENTION

Because some of the plaintiffs have standing to

pursue the constitutional claims, we turn to the issue arising

from the district court’s dismissal of Counts I through III

under the abstention doctrine of Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S.

37, 91 S. Ct. 746 (1971). We review an abstention decision

only for an abuse of discretion. Boyes v. Shell Oil Prods.

Co., 199 F.3d 1260, 1265 (11th Cir. 2000).

App. 29a

The Supreme Court has said that federal courts have a

“virtually unflagging obligation. . . to exercise the

jurisdiction given them.” Col. River Water Conservation

Dist. v. United States, 424 U.S. 800, 817, 96 S. Ct. 1236,

1246 (1976). But “virtually” is not “absolutely,” and in

exceptional cases federal courts may and should withhold

equitable relief to avoid interference with state proceedings.

New Orleans Pub. Serv., Inc. v. Council of New Orleans, 491

U.S. 350, 359, 109 S. Ct. 2506, 2513 (1989). While non-

abstention remains the rule, the Younger exception is an

important one. It derives from ‘the vital consideration of

comity between the state and national governments,” Luckey

v. Miller, 976 F.2d 673, 676 (11th Cir. 1992) (“Luckey”),’

which Younger itself characterized as a “sensitivity to the

legitimate interests of both State and National Governments,”

401 US. at 44, 91 S. Ct. at 750.

Although Younger concerned state criminal

proceedings, its principles are “fully applicable to

noncriminal judicial proceedings when important state

interests are involved.” Middlesex County Ethics Comm. v.

Garden State Bar Ass’n, 457 U.S. 423, 432, 102 S. Ct. 2515,

2521 (1982). “Proceedings necessary for the vindication of

important state policies or for the functioning of the state

judicial system. . . evidence the state’s substantial interest in

the litigation.” Id. “Where vital state interests are involved, a

federal court should abstain unless state law clearly bars the

interposition of the constitutional claims.” Id. (citation

omitted). As the Middlesex Court framed the issue, “The

question. . . is threefold: first, do [the proceedings] constitute

° The genealogy of the Luckey case is: Luckey v. Harris, 860 F.2d 1012

(1ith Cir. 1988) (“Luckey I’); Luckey v. Harris, 896 F.2d 479 (11th Cir.

1989) (“Luckey II”); Harris v. Luckey, 918 F.2d 888 (11th Cir. 1990)

(“Luckey III’); Luckey v. Miller, 929 F.2d 618 (1 1th Cir. 1991) (“Luckey

IV”) and Luckey v. Miller, 976 F.2d 673 (11th Cir. 1992) (“Luckey V”).

App. 30a

an ongoing state judicial proceeding; second, do the

proceedings implicate important state interests; and third, is

there an adequate opportunity in the state proceedings to

raise constitutional challenges.” Id. (emphasis omitted); see

also Old Republic Union Ins. Co. v. Tillis Trucking Co., 124

F.3d 1258, 1261 (11th Cir. 1997).

The parties agree, and so do we, that the continuing

state dependency proceedings involving each of the plaintiffs

are ongoing state proceedings for the purposes of Middlesex

analysis, see J.B. ex rel. Hart v. Valdez, 186 F.3d 1280, 1291

(10th Cir. 1999) (holding that continuing jurisdiction of

juvenile court and six month periodic review hearings

constituted an ongoing state judicial proceeding), although

they dispute whether this federal proceeding, if allowed to go

forward, would interfere with those state proceedings. The

parties also agree, and so do we, that important state interests

are involved. The parties disagree about whether the state

court dependency proceedings provide the plaintiffs with an

opportunity to raise and vindicate the federal constitutional

claims, if those claims are valid. We will start by addressing

whether the first Middlesex factor is properly read as

requiring federal court interference with state proceedings

and whether a federal court proceeding in this case would

interfere with the dependency proceedings. Then we will

address whether the plaintiffs have an adequate state remedy.

A. THE FIRST MIDDLESEX FACTOR

Both the plaintiffs and the defendants have presumed

the first Middlesex factor, in addition to requiring an ongoing

state proceeding, also requires that the federal relief the

plaintiffs seek would interfere with those proceedings, and

that if it would not interfere with the state proceedings, then

the federal court has no basis for abstaining under Younger.

App. 3la

See generally, Middlesex, 457 U.S. at 431, 102 S. Ct. at 2521

(“Younger v. Harris. . . and its progeny espouse a strong

federal policy against federal-court interference with pending

state judicial proceedings absent extraordinary

circumstances.”). Decisions from some other circuits support

that view. See. e.g., Green v. City of Tucson, 255 F.3d 1086,

1097 (9th Cir. 2001) (en banc) (“[T]he three part test we

derived from Middlesex is a suitable guide for analysis only

when the threshold condition for Younger abstention is

present — that is, when the relief sought in federal court

would in some manner directly ‘interfere’ with ongoing state

judicial proceedings.”); J.B., 186 F.3d at 1291 (stating first

Middlesex factor as requiring abstention under Younger

“when federal proceedings would. . . interfere with an

ongoing state judicial proceeding”); FOCUS v. Allegheny

County Court of Common Pleas, 75 F.3d 834, 843 (3d Cir.

1996) (stating first Middlesex factor as “there must be an

ongoing state judicial proceeding to which the federal

plaintiff is a party and with which the federal proceeding will

interfere”).

We have not yet expressly held that the first

Middlesex factor requires that the federal proceeding

interfere with the state proceeding, but implicitly we seem to

have assumed as much. For example, in Old Republic, the

plaintiff filed a declaratory judgment action in federal court

to avoid paying a state court judgment and to have its

obligations under certain insurance policies determined by a

federal court instead of a state court. 124 F.3d at 1259. In

applying the Middlesex factors, we concluded that the first

factor was met, not simply because there was an ongoing

State proceeding, but because that proceeding would have

been effectively enjoined by a declaratory judgment issued

by the federal court. Id. at 1261-62; see also For Your Eyes

Alone. Inc. v. City of Columbus, 281 F.3d 1209, 1216 n.13

(llth Cir. 2002) (“[T]he Supreme Court has held that

App. 32a :

Younger abstention is sometimes applicable to restrain

federal court interference with certain noncriminal state

proceedings that implicate important state interests.”).

Indeed, the Supreme Court in Middlesex held that “[because

respondent.. . had an opportunity to raise and have timely

decided by a competent state tribunal the federal issues

involved, federal courts should abstain from interfering with

the ongoing proceedings.” 457 U.S. at 437, 102 S. Ct. at

2524 (emphasis added) (citation and internal quotation marks

omitted). Therefore, we join our sister circuits in explicitly

stating that an essential part of the first Middlesex factor in

Younger abstention analysis is whether the federal

proceeding will interfere with an ongoing state court

proceeding. If there is no interference, then abstention is not

required.

In order to decide whether the federal proceeding

would interfere with the state proceeding, we look to the

relief requested and the effect it would have on the state

proceedings. See O’Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488,499-502,

94 S. Ct. 669, 677-79 (1974); Luckey V, 976 F.2d at 679

(Younger and O’Shea require “focus on the likely result of an

attempt to enforce an order of the nature sought here”). The

relief sought need not directly interfere with an ongoing

proceeding or terminate an ongoing proceeding in order for

Younger abstention to be required. In O’Shea, the Supreme

Court held that abstention was required where an injunction

would have “indirectly accomplish[ed] the kind of

interference that Younger v. Harris. . . and related cases

sought to prevent.” Id. at 500, 94 S. Ct. at 678 (emphasis

added). The plaintiffs in O’Shea did not seek to enjoin

directly any pending prosecutions but apparently did seek a

federal court injunction aimed at controlling or preventing

the occurrence of specific events that might take place in the

course of future state criminal trials. The requested injunction

contemplated interruption of the state proceedings in order

App. 33a

for the federal court to adjudicate compliance by the

defendants with the injunction, through what the Supreme

Court called “an ongoing federal audit of state criminal

proceedings.” Id. at 500, 94 S. Ct. at 678. The Court found

that the injunction “would disrupt the normal course of

proceedings in the state courts via resort to the federal suit

for determination of the claim ab initio.” Id. at 501, 94S. Ct.

at 679.

We applied the reasoning of O’Shea in Luckey V.

976 F.2d at 678-79. In that case, the plaintiffs had asserted a

class action on behalf of “all individuals who are or will in

the future be adversely affected by the unconstitutional

practices of the indigent defense system within Georgia.” Id.

at 676. They sought injunctive relief to reform the indigent

defense system, including orders that the system provide

speedy appointment of counsel and ensure that there would

be counsel at all probable cause determinations, and would

have required monitoring the implementation of the

injunction. Id. Adopting in full the explanation in the district

court’s abstention order. we concluded that the decree

requested by the plaintiffs inevitably would interfere with

State criminal proceedings. Id. at 677.

Luckey V did not involve a direct termination of

ongoing state proceedings, and the plaintiffs did not directly

contest any single criminal conviction or seek to restrain any

individual prosecution. Nevertheless, as we observed, the

injunctive relief the plaintiffs sought would have had the

effect of restraining every indigent prosecution until the

systemic improvements they wanted were in place. Id. We

focused on the effect of the requested relief on the state

proceedings. See id.; see also Joseph A. ex rel. Wolfe v.

Ingram, 275 F.3d 1253, 1272 (10th Cir. 2002) (“Younger

governs whenever the requested relief would interfere with

the state court’s ability to conduct proceedings, regardless of

App. 34a

whether the relief targets the conduct of a proceeding

directly.”) (citing News-Journal Corp. v. Foxman, 939 F.2d

1499, 1511 (11th Cir. 1991) (affirming district court’s

decision to ubstain under Younger from hearing newspaper's

challenge to state court’s pre-trial order because an injunction

would restrict the ability of the state court to impanel an

impartial jury)).

Whether the effect of the federal court injunctive

relief the plaintiffs seek in this lawsuit will interfere with

ongoing state dependency proceedings depends in part upon

the nature and extent of those proceedings. The state trial

level courts of Florida play a critically important role in

dependency hearings from the outset of a child’s case. After

the Department files a petition for dependency, the court

holds an adjudicatory hearing as soon as practicable. Fla.

Stat. § 39.507. If the facts alleged in the dependency petition

are proven in the adjudicatory hearing and the child is

determined to be dependent, the state court conducts a

disposition hearing. Id. §§ 39.507(7); 39.52 4(1). The

Department must prepare a written case plan and a

predisposition study and file these items with the court no

later than 72 hours before the disposition hearing. Id. § 39.52

1(1)(a).

The case plan is a document that “follows the child

from the provision of voluntary services through any

dependency, foster care, or termination of parental rights

proceeding or related activity or process.” Id. § 39.0 1(11). It

must include, among other items, a description of the

permanency goal for the child, a description of the type of

home or institution in which the child is to be placed, a

discussion of the safety and appropriateness of the child’s

placement, the services that the child needs and will receive,

a description of the visitation rights of the parents, and a

App. 35a

description of the efforts to be undertaken to maintain the

stability of the child’s education. Id., § 39.601(3)(a)-(i).

The case plan must be approved by the court. Id. §§

39.601(2), (3); 39.603. It may be amended if all the parties

agree and the court approves, or after a hearing it may be

amended by the court on its own motion or that of a party,

based on competent evidence that demonstrates the need for

an amendment. Id. § 39.601(9)(f). If at the hearing on the

case plan, which occurs in conjunction with the disposition

hearing, the court determines that any of the elements

required in the plan are not present, it can order the

Department to amend the plan to include what is necessary.

Id. § 39.603(2).

The state court has continuing jurisdiction over a

dependency case and reviews the child’s status at least every

six months. Id. § 39.701(1)(a). Prior to the review hearing, the

Department must furnish to the court a written report that

includes, among other items, a description of the placement

of the child, its appropriateness, the safety of the child, the

number of placements, documentation of the efforts of all

parties to comply with the case plan, the number of times the

child’s educational placement has been changed, and copies

of all medical and psychological records that support the

terms of the case plan. Id. § 39.701(6)(a). At the review

hearing, the court considers the child’s Situation, including

whether there has been compliance with the case plan, the

appropriateness of the child’s current placement, and whether

the child is in a setting that is family-like and consistent with

the child’s best interests and special needs. Id.

39.701(7)(d), (g). No later than 12 months after the date that

the child is placed in shelter care, the court must conduct a

judicial review to plan for the child’s permanent placement.

Id. § 39.701(8)(f). If the child is not returned to his parents,

the case plan must document steps the Department is taking

App. 36a

to find an adoptive parent or other permanent living

arrangement for the child. Id.

If the Department has not complied with the case

plan, the court may find it in contempt. Id. § 39.701(8)(c).

The court can also issue protective orders. Id. § 39.701(8)(g).

A protective order can require a person or agency to make

periodic reports to the court containing such information as

the court prescribes. Id. The court can issue a protective order

in support of, or as a condition to, any other order it may

make. Id.

The Tenth Circuit has addressed two cases similar to

this one and held that abstention was required because the

plaintiffs’ federal proceeding would interfere with the state

court proceedings by “fundamentally changing the

dispositions and oversight of the children.” J.B., 186 F.3d at

1291-92; see also Joseph A., 275 F.3d 1253. In J.B., the

plaintiffs, mentally or developmentally disabled children in

the custody of New Mexico, alleged violations of the

Constitution and federal statutes and brought suit against

several state officers in their official capacities, seeking

declaratory and injunctive relief. The Tenth Circuit

concluded that the relief requested would give the federal

district court an oversight role over the entire state program

for children with disabilities and would give it control over

decisions then in the hands of the New Mexico Children’s

Court, such as whether to return a child to his parents or

whether to modify a treatment plan. J.B., 186 F.3d at 1292.

In the other similar case decided by the Tenth Circuit,

Joseph A.., the plaintiffs, who were children in New Mexico’s

custody because of abuse or neglect, and the New Mexico

Department of Human Services had entered into a federal

court consent decree. 275 F.3d at 1259. When the plaintiff

App. 37a

children moved the court to hold the Department in contempt

for allegedly violating the consent decree, the Department

moved for dismissal based on Younger abstention. The Tenth

Circuit held that federal court enforcement of certain

provisions of the decree would interfere with the ongoing

juvenile proceedings in the state court.!° Id. at 1272. It

concluded that “federal court Oversight of state court

operations, even if not framed as direct review of state court

judgments, may nevertheless be problematic for Younger

purposes,” citing O’Shea and Luckey V. at 1271.

In this case, the plaintiffs are seeking relief that would

interfere with the ongoing state dependency proceedings by

placing decisions that are now in the hands of the state courts

under the direction of the federal district court. The

declaratory judgment and injunction that they request would

interfere with the state proceedings in numerous ways. The

federal and state courts could well differ, issuing conflicting

orders about what is best for a particular plaintiff, such as

whether a particular placement is safe or appropriate or

whether sufficient efforts are being made to find an adoptive

family. The federal court relief might effectively require an

amendment to a child’s case plan that the state court would

not have approved, and state law gives its courts the

responsibility for deciding upon such an amendment. See

Fla. Stat. § 39.601(9)(f). Even though any remedial order

would run against the Department, state law makes it a duty

of state courts to decide whether to approve a case plan, and

to monitor the plan to ensure it is followed. Id. § 39.701(1),

(7)-(8). The plaintiffs seek to have the district court appoint a

'° Some of the provisions that the Tenth Circuit cited as “(particularly

problematic” under Younger included provisions governing assessment

and treatment planning conferences for children entering the Department

of Human Services’ custody and periodic review of the Department’s

plans for those children. Joseph A., 275 F.3d at 1267-68.

App. 38a

panel and give it authority to implement a systemwide plan

to revamp and reform dependency proceedings in Florida, as

well as the appointment of a permanent children’s advocate

to oversee that plan. To say the least, taking the responsibility

for a state’s child dependency proceedings away from state

courts and putting it under federal court control constitutes

“federal court oversight of state court operations, even if not

framed as direct review of state court judgments” that is

problematic, calling for Younger abstention. Joseph A., 275

F.3d at 1271. The relief that the plaintiffs seek would

interfere extensively with the ongoing state proceedings for

each plaintiff." The first Middlesex factor is satisfied.

B. THE THIRD MIDDLESEX FACTOR

As for the other Middlesex factor that is disputed, the

third one, the plaintiffs have the burden of establishing that

the state proceedings do not provide an adequate remedy for

their federal claims. Butler v. Ala. Judicial Inquiry Comm’n,

261 F.3d 1154, 1159 (11th Cir. 2001). “Minimal respect for

'! The plaintiffs argue that the requested relief would not interfere

because it is directed solely at the Department of Children and Families

and not the state courts. We previously rejected essentially that same

argument in Luckey V, and we reject it again here. In that case, the

plaintiffs sued the Governor of Georgia and all state court judges who

presided over prosecutions of indigent defendants. 976 F.3d 673, 678.

The plaintiffs contended that the relief they requested against the

Governor of Georgia would not interfere with state court proceedings

because the onus to comply would be on the state executive and not the

judiciary. Id. We observed that “a case cannot be decided in a vacuum,

and the potential enforcement difficulties of any order reforming such an

integral aspect of a state criminal justice process as the indigent defense

system would be significant.” Id. at 679. This case raises the same

concerns that Luckey V did, and the federal court relief the plaintiffs seek

would interfere with the ongoing state dependency hearings, even if it

were directed against the Department and state officers, instead of state

courts and judges.

a Se

App. 39a

the state processes, of course, precludes any presumption that

the state courts will not Safeguard federal constitutional

rights.” Middlesex, 457 U.S. at 431, 102 S. Ct. at 2521. A

federal court “should assume that state procedures will afford

an adequate remedy, in the absence of unambiguous

authority to the contrary.” Pennzoil Co. v. Texaco. Inc., 481

U.S. 1, 15, 107 S. Ct. 1519, 1528 (1987). Plaintiffs, having

failed to use their federal Claims in the ongoing state

Proceedings involving them, must overcome this initial

presumption by demonstrating that the state remedies are

inadequate. Butler, 261 F.3d at 1159.

In determining whether the State remedies are

adequate, as the district court correctly observed, “Tt}he

relevant question is not whether the state courts can do all

that Plaintiffs wish they could, but whether the available

remedies are sufficient to meet Pennzoil’s requirement that

the remedy be adequate.” The district court found that “the

juvenile court can act to protect children within its

jurisdiction,” citing Dep’t of Children & Family Servs. v.

LC., 742 So. 2d 401, 404 (Fla. 4th DCA 1999), and declined

to hold that the remedies available are inadequate. We agree

with its conclusion.

A Florida state court can remedy in a dependency

proceeding the harms that a child in the defendants’ custody

and in that court’s jurisdiction might suffer. Although the

Department has discretion regarding the identification of a

specific placement for a child, State v. Brooke, 573 So. 2d

363, 368 (Fla. Ist DCA 1991), the court can order that

siblings be placed together in foster care, one of the very

things that some of these plaintiffs seek. See Div. of Family

Servs. v. S.R., 328 So. 2d 270, 271 (Fla. Ist DCA 1976);

F.B. v. State, 319 So. 2d 77, 79 (Fla. Ist DCA 1975). The

court can order that a child be placed in a therapeutic setting,

In the Interest of L.W., 615 So. 2d 834, 839 (Fla. 4th DCA

App. 40a

1993), and that a child be treated by a licensed health care

professional or receive mental health treatment. Fla. Stat. §

39.407(4). While the state court cannot compel the

Department to place children where space is not available,

Dep’t of Children & Family Servs. v. M.H., 830 So. 2d 849,

850 (Fla. 2d DCA 2002), it can hold the Department in

contempt for failing to comply with a child’s case plan and

can order the Department to submit proposals for

compliance. Fla. Stat. § 39.701(8)(c); L.W., 615 So. 2d at

837-38. Even though the court cannot prevent the

Department from using unsafe or inappropriate facilities for

all children, as to those children within its division, the court

can take protective measures. It can determine whether a

facility in which a child is located is safe, either by

appointing a child’s representative to make an inquiry or

itself investigating conditions at the facility. Fla. Stat.

§ 39.701(8)(g); LC., 742 So. 2d at 405. If the investigation

reveals that a child within the jurisdiction of the court

(meaning within its division) is in a dangerous facility, the

court can take action, including finding the Department in

contempt for failing to comply with the child’s case plan. See

generally, Fla. Stat. §§ 39.601(3)(e); 39.701(8)(c); LC., 742

So.2d at 404-06. Case plans always call for an appropriate

placement, and an unsafe facility is not an appropriate one.

Fla. Stat. § 39.601(3)(e) (“placement is intended to be safe,

the least restrictive and most family-like setting available

consistent with the best interest and special needs of the

child, and in as close proximity as possible to the child’s

home”).

Again, the Tenth Circuit’s decisions in similar cases

are helpful. In J.B., that Court affirmed the district court’s

decision to abstain, because the plaintiffs had failed to show

clearly that they could not have raised their claims in their

periodic review hearings in the New Mexico Children’s

Court. 186 F.3d at 1292. The Court concluded that New

App. 4la

Mexico law “seemingly grants the Children’s Court wide

power to determine the needs and claims of children during

the periodic review proceeding.” Id. Additionally, because

the Children’s Court was a court of general jurisdiction and

had full constitutional powers under New Mexico law, the

plaintiffs had not provided the “unambiguous authority” that

Pennzoil requires to prove that the state courts could not

afford an adequate remedy. Id. at 1292-93.

In Joseph A., the Tenth Circuit held that a certified

class of plaintiffs had not shown that the New Mexico

Children’s Court offered inadequate opportunities to raise

federal constitutional and statutory claims. 275 F.3d at 1274.

The plaintiffs in that case argued that the systemwide,

structural relief they sought was not available in the

Children’s Court and cited a New Mexico decision, In re

T.B., 913 P.2d 272 (N.M. App. 1996), for that proposition.

The Tenth Circuit was not convinced the T.B. decision

established the Children’s Court was precluded from granting

systemic relief. 275 F.3d at 1274 n.6. Although in T.B. the

Children’s Court had dismissed a motion brought under §

1983 to require the Department of Human Services “to

submit an action plan for a system for the proper licensure

and regulation of therapeutic foster care,” the New Mexico

Court of Appeals had addressed the dismissal only in dicta,

noting that the guardian ad litem who had filed the motion

had failed to identify which federal laws secured the rights

the plaintiffs sought to enforce. Id. The Court held that the

plaintiffs had not provided unambiguous authority that the

relief they sought was unavailable. Id. at 1274.

In the present case, each of these plaintiffs is

represented by counsel. There are no procedural constraints

preventing them from presenting the claims in this case to the

state courts in their dependency review hearings. They have

not provided unambiguous authority establishing that the

App. 42a

procedures available in state court dependency proceedings

’ do not provide an adequate opportunity for them to raise their

constitutional claims. At dependency review proceedings for

each plaintiff in this case, the state court will consider

whether the parties have complied with the child’s case plan,

the appropriateness of that child’s current facility placement,

educational placement, and any special needs the child has.

Fla. Stat. §§ 39.701(7)(d), (g)- If the Department is not

complying with the case plan for the child, the court can hold

it in contempt. Id. §§ 39.701(8)(c), (g). If the plaintiff claims

that he is in an unsafe and inappropriate placement, as we

have already noted, the court can order the Department to

comply with the case plan by putting him in a safe and

appropriate place. Id. §§ 39.601(3)(e); 39.701(8)(c). If the

plaintiff claims that he has been in foster care longer than

reasonably necessary, the court can require the Department to

document the steps that it is taking toward permanent

placement. Id. §§ 39.701(f). If the plaintiff has not been

placed with his siblings, the court can order them be placed

together or it can require visitation between them. See Div. of

Family Servs. v. S.R., 328 So. 2d 270, 271 (Fla. 1st DCA

1976).

The availability of these forms of relief and the

existence of the state courts’ protective order and contempt

powers mean that the plaintiffs have not carried their burden

of establishing that the ongoing state court proceedings do

not provide an adequate opportunity to raise and vindicate

each plaintiff child’s individual claims.'* Therefore, the third

” In LaShawn A. ex rel, Moore v. Kelly, 990 F.2d 1319, 1323-24

(D.C. Cir. 1993), the Court held that the District of Columbia’s juvenile

review proceedings did not provide the plaintiffs an adequate opportunity

to raise their constitutional challenges. The plaintiffs in that case brought

a class action on behalf of children who were in foster care under the

supervision of the District of Columbia Department of Human Services,

alleging widespread federal constitutional and statutory violations. The

App. 43a

and final Middlesex factor is satisfied. The district court did

not abuse its discretion in abstaining under the Younger

doctrine.

D.C. Circuit affirmed the district court’s decision that Younger abstention

was not warranted after noting that the state court had “explicitly rejected

the use of review hearings to adjudge claims requesting broad-based

injunctive relief based on federal law” in In re Brim, No. 489-80 (D.C.

Super. Ct. July 20, 1984). In the Brim case the family court had denied a

motion by two children for injunctive relief against the Department for its

alleged mishandling of Social Security disability payments it had

collected on the children’s behalf and noted that the appropriate forum for

such issues is federal court. LaShawn A., 990 F.2d at 1323. The D.C.

Circuit therefore rejected Younger abstention because “there was no

pending judicial proceeding in the District of Columbia which could have

served as an adequate forum for the class of children in this case to

present its multifaceted request for broad-based injunctive relief based on

the Constitution and on federal and local statutory law.” Id.

In contrast to the D.C. Circuit, however, in this circuit’s Younger

decisions, we have not determined whether the broad relief the plaintiffs

would prefer is available but instead whether the forum itself is adequate

for addressing the claims and providing a sufficient remedy to the

individual plaintiffs. In the Luckey case, the plaintiffs sought broad-based

injunctive relief to reform Georgia’s indigent defense system. Luckey V,

976 F.2d at 676. Although we did not expressly address the third

Middlesex factor in our opinion in that case, we did affirm the district

court’s decision to abstain under Younger. Id. at 679. The decision turned

on the fact that the Luckey plaintiffs could have brought their challenges

in their individual criminal trials, even though it is obvious that the broad-

sweeping remedy they sought was unavailable there. “Equity need not

intervene immediately in plaintiffs’ state trials. Plaintiffs have an

adequate remedy at law for any ineffective assistance of counsel they

may actually receive Most important, they can present objections to sixth

amendment violations at their state trials and in their state appeals.”

Luckey v. Harris, 896 F.2d 479, 482 (11th Cir. 1989) (“Luckey _IT’’)

(Edmondson, J., dissenting).

App. 44a

V. CONCLUSION

Insofar as it relates to Larissa C. and Leanne G., the

district court’s judgment is VACATED and the case is

REMANDED with instructions to dismiss that part of the

amended complaint as moot. Insofar as it relates to Tanya M.

and Elaine R., the district court’s judgment is VACATED

and the case is REMANDED with instructions to dismiss that

part of the amended complaint for lack of standing. The

district court’s judgment is also VACATED as to those

portions of the complaint for which the each of the seven

remaining plaintiffs do not have standing, as discussed in

Part II, and the case is REMANDED with instructions to

dismiss those portions of the amended complaint for lack of

standing. In all other respects, the district court’s judgment is

AFFIRMED.

App. 45a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Miami Division

Case Number: 00-2116-CIV-MORENO

FOSTER CHILDREN BONNIE L., by and through her

next friend Donald Hadsock, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

JEB BUSH, as Governor of the State of F lorida, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER GRANTING IN PART DEFENDANTS’

MOTIONS TO DISMISS

Plaintiffs filed this action for declaratory and

injunctive relief relating to the operation of Florida’s foster

care system. The 116 page, 226 paragraph, six count

Amended Complaint seeks relief pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 and is brought on behalf of Florida’s 15,000 foster

children. The suit challenges Defendants’ pattern and

practice of failing to fulfill their constitutional and statutory

obligations toward the safety, stability, and health of the

children, and deliberate indifference toward the alleged

pattern and practice.

App. 46a

The Amended Complaint alleges violations of

(1) substantive due process; (2) procedural due process;

(3) the First, Ninth and Fourteenth Amendment rights to

familial association; (4) violation of the federal Adoption and

Safe Family Act; (5) violation of the Early Periodic

Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) provision of

Medicaid; and (6) violation of rights under the Title VI

financial assistance program. As of the time of the Amended

Complaint, the Plaintiffs and putative class representatives

included Bonnie L., age 17, Reggie and Rebecca B,, ages 13,

Laurie and Lillie S., ages 10 and 8, Leslie F., age 17, Sandra

M., age 16, Tanya M., age 14, Jay and Candice D., age 9 and

10, Matthew I., age 2, Hugh S., age 16, Leanne and Tammy

G., ages 2 and 9, Elaine R., age 11, Paul B., age 16, Rachel

C., age 13, Cathy W., age 12, Larissa C., age 2, John J., age

12, and Melinda and Karina, ages 18 and 17. The Amended

Complaint gives an extensive account of each Plaintiff's

experience in the foster care system, an account of each

youth is more fully described in Magistrate Judge Dubé’s

Report and Recommendation of April 20, 2001. Defendants

are Governor Jeb Bush, Judge Kathleen Kearney, Secretary

of Department of Children and Family Services (the

“Department” or “DCF”), and District Administrators Chuck

Bates, John Awad, Ester Tibbs, Lee Johnson, Lynn Richard,

Don Dixon, Robert Morin, Fran Gibbons, Paul Brown,

Charles Auslander, Christine Davenport, Patrick Howard,

Sue Gray, and Vern Martin.

All Defendants except Governor Bush filed a

collective motion to dismiss (D.E. No. 93) asserting various

grounds discussed more fully below. Governor Bush’s

motion to dismiss (D.E. No. 94) asserts the additional

grounds that as alleged there is no basis for equitable relief

against the Governor and there is no basis for liability under

§ 1983. All Defendants have supplemented arguments raised

in their initial motion to dismiss by filing additional motions

App. 47a

to dismiss. These additional motions to dismiss seek to

dismiss certain claims for lack of standing (D.E. No. 335), to

dismiss certain named plaintiffs for mootness (D.E. No. 336),

and to dismiss the action based on abstention and Eleventh

Amendment grounds (D.E. No. 408).

Analysis

A. Eleventh Amendment Immunity

Defendants claim that this action should be barred on

Eleventh Amendment Grounds. The Eleventh Amendment

states, “The judicial powers of the United States shall not be

construed to extend to any suit in law or equity, commenced

or prosecuted against one of the United States by Citizens of

another State, or by Citizens or Subjects of any Foreign

State.” U.S. Const. amend. XI. The Amendment applies

equally to suits against a state initiated by that state’s own

citizens. Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651, 663, 94 S.Ct.

1347, 1356 (1974); Summit Medical Assoc., P.C. y. Pryor,

180 F.3d 1326, 1336 (11th Cir. 1999). There is a long

recognized exception to this rule for suits against state

officers seeking prospective equitable relief to end ongoing

and continuous violations of federal law. See Ex parte Young,

209 U.S. 123, 28 S.Ct. 441 (1908); Idaho v. Coeur d’Alene

Tribe, 521 U.S. 261, 269, 117 S.Ct. 2028, 2034 (1997).

Generally, the Eleventh Amendment does not bar the

exercise of the judicial power where a plaintiff seeks to

compel a state to comply with federal law. Summit, 180 F.3d

at 1336.

A suit seeking prospective rather than retrospective

relief is not barred so long as the prospective relief sought is

not the functional equivalent of money damages. Edelman.

415 US. at 669, 94 S.Ct. at 1358. “In other words, a plaintiff

App. 48a

may not use the doctrine to adjudicate the legality of past

conduct” Summit, 180 F.3d at 1337 (citing Papasan v. Allian,

478 U.S. 265, 277-78, 106 S.Ct. 2932, 2940(1986)). As

stated in the Magistrate’s Report and Recommendation, “In

the present case, the Amended Complaint seeks a declaration

that certain acts by the Defendants are unconstitutional and

unlawful and asks the Court to enjoin such practices and take

remedial action to ensure that the Defendants comply with all

such laws in the future.” Foster Children v. Jeb Bush, No.00-

2116, slip op. at 20 (S.D. Fla. April 20,2001)(Magistrate

Report & Recommendation). “An allegation of an ongoing

violation of federal law where the requested relief is

prospective is ordinarily sufficient to invoke the Young

fiction.” Coeur d’Alene Tribe, 521 U.S. 261, 281, 117 S.Ct.

2028, 2040.

The inquiry does not end there, however, as

Defendants rely on Coeur d’Alene in support of its position

that the Eleventh Amendment bars this Court from hearing

this suit. Defendants contention is that state dependency

courts are already addres’ ag many of the issues raised in this

suit, however, they faii to specify which aspects are being

addressed. Defendants note that in Coeur d'Alene Justice

Kennedy remarked, “A doctrine based on the inherent

inadequacy of state forums would run counter to basic

principles of federalism.” Jd. at-275, 117 S.Ct at 2037 (non-

majority opinion). This portion of Justice Kennedy’s opinion,

found in part II. B., however, did not receive the support of

five Justices and, therefore, is not part of the Supreme

Court’s holding. Nevertheless, there are two doctrines that

merit examination and their relationship to the individual

causes of action asserted in the instant suit, one from Idaho v.

Coeur d’Alene Tribe, 521 U.S. 261, 117 S.Ct. 2028 (1997),

the “special sovereign interests doctrine,” and one from

Seminole Tribe of Fla. v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44, 116 S.Ct.

App. 49a

1114 (1996), involving the existence of a detailed remedial

scheme.

1. Coeur d’Alene’s Special Sovereign Interests

The Coeur d'Alene Court limited the Ex parte Young

doctrine when the equitable relief sought “implicates special

sovereign interests.” Coeur d ‘Alene Court, 521 US. 261,

281, 117 S.Ct. 2028, 2040. In that suit an Indian tribe sought

declaratory and injunctive relief to resolve the tribe’s right to

quiet enjoyment over certain state lands. In finding that the

Eleventh Amendment barred the action despite the fact that

the suit sought only Prospective injunctive relief, the Court

held, “that if the Tribe were to prevail, Idaho’s ‘sovereign

interest in its lands and waters would be affected in a degree

fully as intrusive as almost any conceivable retroactive levy

upor funds in its Treasury.” Jd. at 287, 117 S.Ct. at 2043.

Although no reported Eleventh Circuit case has

analyzed in detail Coeur d’Alene’s “special sovereign

interests” requirement in a suit for prospective relief from the

ongoing violation of federal laws and for reform of a state’s

system,'? Doe v. Chiles, 136 F.3d 709 (11th Cir. 1998),

decided after Cveur d'Alene, dealt with Eleventh

Amendment immunity in a_ suit seeking prospective

injunctive relief to enjoin violations of the Medicaid Act, 42

U.S.C. § 1396(a)(8). Id at 711. The Doe -court relied on

Tallahassee Mem. Reg. Med Ctr. v. Cook, 109 F.3d 693 (11th

Cir. 1997), a suit about the organizational and funding

deficiencies in the state’s medical assistance program, and

neld that “the instant lawsuit fits neatly within the Ex parte

Young exception. Like the hospitals in Cook, the appellees in

this case seek prospective injunctive relief to enjoin state

. Summit Med. Assoc., P.A. v. Pryor, 180 F.3d 1326 (11th Cir.

1999), was a suit challenging Alabama’s partial-birth abortion act.

App. 50a

officials from continuing to violate federal law, that is, the

Medicaid Act.” Thus, the Eleventh Amendment did not bar

the federal court from hearing that controversy.

The Tenth Circuit, meanwhile, has considered Coeur

d’Alene’s impact in two suits closely analogous to the instant

suit. In both cases the Tenth Circuit determined that

administering a welfare program is not a “special sovereign

interest,” and looked to Doe v. Chiles from the Eleventh

Circuit.

In J.B. ex rel. Hart v. Valdez, 186 F.3 d 1280 (10th

Cir. 1999), plaintiffs sought prospective injunctive relief to

reform the way the state was administering a welfare

program in a putative class action involving mentally or

developmentally disabled children in the custody of the state

of New Mexico. After a thorough examination of Supreme

Court precedent and Coeur d’Alene, the Valdez court held,

“A state’s interest in administering a welfare program at least

partially funded by the federal government is not such a core

sovereign interest as to preclude the application of Ex parte

Young.” Valdez, 186 F.3d at 1287 (citing Doe v. Chiles, 136

F.3d 709, 720 (11th Cir. 1998)).

The court in Joseph A. v. Ingram, 262 F.3d 1113

(10th Cir. 2001), used Valdez to reach an identical result in a

suit seeking prospective injunctive relief for the Adoption

and Safe Families Act of 1997 (“ASFA”), 42 U.S.C. § §

673b, 679b & 678, and the Adoption Assistance and Child

Welfare Act of 1980, 42 U.S.C. §§ 670 et seq. After noting

that Valdez was squarely on point with its case, the Joseph A.

court held, “Although we recognize that a state’s

administration of federally-funded welfare programs for

children in its custody involves important state interests,

those interests do not implicate the ‘essential attribute[s] of

App. 5la

sovereignty’ with which Coeur d'Alene was concerned.

Therefore, we hold that Coeur d’Alene does not remove this

action from the scope of the Ex parte Young doctrine.”

Joseph A., 262 F.3d at 1120 (internal citations omitted).

Coeur d’Alene does not serve as a bar to Plaintiffs’

EPSDT Medicaid Act count, see Doe v. Chiles, 136 F.3d

709, 720 (11th Cir. 1998), Plaintiffs’ ASFA count, see

Joseph A. v. Ingram, 262 F.3d 1113 (10th Cir. 2001), or the

Title VI claims. See Sandoval vy. Hagan, 197 F.3d 484 qai*

Cir. 1999) rev'd on other grounds sub nom. Alexander vy.

Sandoval, 531 U.S. 1049, 121 S.Ct. 1511 (2001) (holding

State waived sovereign immunity by receiving federal funds

and that prospective injunctive relief is still available against

director in his official capacity for continuing violations).

2. Detailed Remedial Scheme - Seminole Tribe

In Seminole Tribe of Fla. v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44,116

S.Ct. 1114 (1996), the Supreme Court established that the

Eleventh Amendment bar, lifted by Ex parte Young for suits

seeking prospective injunctive relief, should not be raised

where Congress has created a detailed remedial scheme for

the enforcement of a statutorily created right against a state.

Id. at 74, 116 S.Ct. at 1132. The Court held:

[T]he question is not whether a remedy should be

created, but instead is whether the Eleventh

Amendment bar should be lifted, as it was in Ex parte

Young, in order to allow a suit against a state officer.

Nevertheless, we think that the same general principle

applies: Therefore, where Congress has prescribed a

detailed remedial scheme for the enforcement against

a State of a statutorily created right, a court should

hesitate before casting aside those limitations and

permitting an action against a state officer based upon

Ex parte Young.

———

App. 52a

Id. A key factor that a court must consider in applying

Seminole Tribe is whether “Congress chose to impose upon

the State a liability that is significantly more limited than

would be the liability imposed upon the state officer under Ex

parte Young.” Id. at 76-77, 116 S.Ct. at 1133. Where such

liability is limited by the remedial scheme created by

Congress, it is a strong indication that Congress had no wish

to allow for the application of Ex parte Young. Id. The

Seminole Tribe Court ultimately determined that “Ex parte

Young is inapplicable to petitioner’s suit against the

Governor of Florida, and therefore that suit is barred by the

Eleventh Amendment and must be dismissed for a lack of

jurisdiction.” Jd.

Defendants claim that the administrative remedy

provided by EPSDT is a sufficient enforcement scheme to

invoke Seminole Tribe. Defendants’ contention is that

Piaintiffs “must compel HHS - which can and must be sued

in federal court - to find Florida out of compliance with

federal law and to seek to withhold Florida’s federal share of

Medicaid payments.” Def. Mot. to Dis. at 20-21.

In Seminole Tribe, the Court was confronted with the

Indian Gaming Regulatory Act, 25 U.S.C. §2710(d). The

Court concluded after examining the statutory scheme that

Congress intended the provisions of § 2710(d)(3)"* to be

enforced in an action brought under § 2710(d)(7). Section

2710(d)(7) confers jurisdiction on federal district courts to

hear a controversy between the Indian tribe and the State

with whom the negotiations on the compact are required

under § 2710(d)(3), and serves to limit the relief that can be

administered. Section 2710(d)(7) allows the Indian tribe itself

'4 Section 2710(d)(3) “imposes upon the States a duty to negotiate in good

faith with an Indian tribe toward the formation of a compact” concerning

gaming activities. Seminole Tribe, 517 U.S. at 1119, 116 S.Ct. at 47.

rr

App. 53a

to initiate the suit and take advantage of the statutory

remedial scheme that the Court determined prevented the

application of Ex parte Young. See 25 U.S.C. § 2710(d)(7)

(“An Indian tribe may initiate a cause of action described in

° 42 C.F.R. § 430.38 deals wi

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.