Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Elbery v. Massachusetts

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

I Se NP AP NTF I

4

No. O08 296 AUG 21 2003

ee

In the

Supreme Court of the Anited States

MICHAEL ELBERY,

Petitioner

Vv.

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS,

Respondent

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the Massachusetts Court of Appeals

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Michael Elbery, pro se

168 Fairfield St.

Needham, Mass. 02492

781-444-7324

| aia

Questions Presented for Review

1. Where the U.S. Constitution guarantees the

defendant effective assistance of appellate counsel

were the Massachusetts courts in conflict with the

Due Process Clause of the 14th Amendment of the

U.S. Constitution and the Supreme Court of the

United States by waiving the defendant's "motion for

new trial" claims based on the state procedural "Mass.

issue waiver rule"”’

2. Whether the state courts may arbitrarily apply

Massachusetts law in order to evade Constitutional

issues raised by the defendant and escape a

miscarriage of justice?

3. Where the Commonwealth admits the evidence the

prosecution used at trial to convict the defendant was

perjury, but claims it was permissible to allow the jury

to sort out that perjury, were the state courts in

conflict with the 14th Amendment Due Process Clause

of the U.S. Constitution and the Supreme Court of the

United States by not deciding the prosecution had a

duty to correct the perjury they knowingly used at

trial?

Bk Bh ek el i a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHc.» .TIES IV

TABLE OF ABBREVIATIONS v1

OPINION BELOW ]

JURISDICTION ]

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS 2

STATEMENT OF CASE 4

A. Undisputed Background Facts 4

B. The prosecution admits the evidence of the extent

and cause of the alleged victim's eye injury, which was

the evidence used to convict the defendant of "assault

with intent to maim" and "assault and battery", was

perjury. 7

C. The defendant raised claims the prosecution

fabricated three events in order to justify the alleged

victim's, King's, "citizen's arrest". 13

D. The Mass. Appeals Court's arbitrary decision on

Mass. "citizen's arrest" law in order to evade

Constitutional issues raised by the defendant. 14

=a Ss (Se es tae 2s eS Oe oe Se

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION 18

I. The "Mass. issue waiver rule" is in conflict with the

Supreme Court, Evitts, and th: Due Process Clause of

the F ourteenth Amendment. 18

II. The state courts violated their own laws in order to

evade the defendant's claims that his Constitutional

Rights under the Due Process Clause of the 14th

Amendment of the U.S. Constitution had been

violated. 22

Ill. There has been a gross miscarriage of justice.

26

CONCLUSION 27

APPENDIX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:

Federal

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963)............... 10, 26

Barr v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 146 (1964)......... 23

Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722, (1991)........... 25

Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. 387 (1985)...7, 18, 19, 20, 21

Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150 (1972)......11, i4,

17, 26

Gray v. Greer, 800 F2d 644, (1985).......................88 19

Howlett v. Rose, 496 U.S. 356 (1990)....................... 25

In Memphis Natural Gas Co. v. Beeler, 315 U.S. 649,

Papert dinnictierseicniail’ nalnassduttadae padaenaanbieniieasaanaiaaieed aa 25

Lawrence v. State Tax Commission, 286 U.S. 276,

SE bikincrhictccnneeduniiinccmmaimiducabiialeduniiieianiauiineaoeiia 25

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1041 (1983)...........000..... 24

Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684 (1975).................. 11

Murch v. Mottram, 409 U.S. 41 (1972).................... 18

Napue v. Illinois, 360 U.S. 264, (1959)..................... 17

Staub v. City of Baxley, 355 U.S. 313, (1958)........... 25

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984)....... 10,

20, 25

Thompson v. City of Louisville, 362 U.S. 199 (1960).26

U.S. v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97 (1976)................. 10, 21, 26

U.S. v. Bagiey, 473 U.S. G67 (19BS)........cecccescosssesess 19

Ward v. Board Cty. Commrs. of Love County, 253 U.S.

Ea inks icestatainiatesaenissbishindatadeneciamiataeainales 25

Mass:

Broussard v. Great A&P Teas Co., 324 Mass. 323, 86

FE EE Ri cncedisuntenecsadilinapreniusimsansaianboneuman 17

Commonwealth v. Adamides, 37 Mass. App. Ct. 339,

Se Fe RO Be i erik sa st sesndiccetteetiniernsserel 21,23

Commonwealth v. Baldwin, 24 Mass. App. Ct. 200,

ee ee ie, Bi irxdisaccsacinscabavaiwcdausacusinsatanaisanentatie’ 8

Commonwealth v. Chase, 433 Mass. 293, 741 NE2d

re SRE EE hc nisavncdcnnsnnnsssacionsisninenensiiatenakamimhaien 7,18

OA LENO OE ate Sk Ra aa Ts narra

Ce ee

Commonwealth v. Clairborne, 423 Mass. 275, (1996)

savnasssiucvibthineweneninetedeieeanalan abel ncennta ssn 14,15, 16

Commonwealth v. Elbery, 9462-JC-3067...............0... 6

Commonwealth v. Elbery 02-P-318 (2002)............. 1,6

Commonwealth v. Elbery 38 Mass. App. Ct. 912, 645

SE Bg Be ei enikcnacanesinccecudeeoscseastelteipaeaancmal 1,6

Commonwealth v. Ennis, 2 Mass. App. Ct. 864, 314

PR Fe EE insxjatancianacitenteanenataneenane 8

Commonwealth v. Harris, 11 Mass. App. Ct. 165, 415

PORE ee OF I Eine nck cennsdacindcbantisncteysaarsic 15, 24

Commonwealth v. Hoppin, 387 Mass. 25, 438 N.E.2d

SE 08 ep istissicsencecciscceiapasess apna 10

Commonwealth v. Kerr, 409 Mass. 284, 565 NE2d

BED We WE iichcnisicisctieresanedvsiginedibbaeaiaaiedeaane 16

Commonwealth v. Juvenile, 409 Mass. 49, 564 N.E.2d

SES USE eiicccchuinicaseulaniapescideatenesoedsaaiaananeies 16

Commonwealth v. LeBlanc, 407 Mass. 70, 551 NE2d

| Ne ena ner NEE 6: 26

Commonwealth v. McLaughlin, 364 Mass. 211, 303

FORE SUP CRUE Dis ccnrinekanicimebbndcdsnisesehusaasauiaesimenmedicl 21

Commonwealth v. Moreira, 388 Mass. 596, 447 NE2d

Re Ce ie heessinssacicnntenennicentonaisnietinciale cane cee 16

Commonwealth v. Stokes, 374 Mass. 583, 374 NE2d

Be CR WET dncirsissisansxasecnsscssscnecgasaheastuncnonaecuaaaan 11

Commonwealth v. Tucceri, 412 Mass. 401, 589 NE2d

Rape UF iiscksincdicvecsptbrieugeniendianaaadanneice 10, 23

Gibney v. Comm. 375 Mass. 146, 375 NE2 714 (1978)

neupennnaasnendednuneheewehestereahethabiaessasaebeaeelaanaanmel 22

White v. White, 40 Mass. App. Ct. 132, 662 NE2 230

[Fira ai scocnsissssnsketimuaundsieseaeseunsbebiadumesuaeeniammamaubeane 22

CONSTITUTION AND FEDERAL STATUTES:

Fourteenth Amendment of the United States

Constitution....... 2, 4, 11, 12, 14, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21,

25

Sixth Amendment of the United States Constitution.2,

20

iD Witiide OST ticsscedelietaietinee ee 2

vi

STATE PROCEDURAL RULES:

Rule 8 of Mass. Rules of Appellate Procedure........... 22

Rule 28c of Mass. Rules of Criminal Procedure........ 19

Rule 30b of Mass. Rules of Criminal Procedure..12, 22

STATE STATUTES:

eis ite A Wik: De iiaaacsssedcasdncuavescuesesenanieuinuen 3,5

Eatin: on Gee ik. “D tbkiankndaniscasenchataunsneronaiqaaensena 3,4

is Gs: See Ok Ribinaikcissinsckenbeciabeneaneasloaeanendeal 2,9

ean: Ke Se ay BAD bbkasniccsencchesaconsaneasiiialenenne 3,5

Eels Sie TREE Oh Bei ecabctinccascotsearonisietiestebatieinions 3,4

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Wright, Miller, Cooper, Federal Practice and

Procedure, BG. 2d, VOl. IGE, TGGG....cccsccccsseccesesecsses 23

TABLE OF ABBREVIATIONS

A.D.A. Assistant District Attorney

App. Appendix

Arg. Argument

CBr. Commonwealth's Appeal Brief (02-P-3 18)

DBr. Defendant's Appeal Brief (02-P-318)

DRb. Defendant's Reply Brief (02-P-318)

D.A. District Attorney/Commonwealth on appeal

PC Probable Cause Hearing Transcript

PD Police Dept.

RA Record Appendix (motion for new trial)

T&G Telegram and Gazette

TR Trial Transcript

WPD Worcester Police Dept.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Michael Elbery, petitioner

v.

Commonwealth of Massachusetts

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE MASSACHUSETTS APPEALS COURT

The Petitioner, Michael Elbery, (hereinafter

defendant) respectfully petitions for a writ of certiorari

to review the judgment of the Massachusetts Appeals

Court in the case Commonwealth v. Elbery 02-P-318.

OPINION BELOW

The judgment of the Mass. Appeals Court, App.

C, on the appeal of the denial of the defendant's

motion for new trial was not reported. The decision of

the Mass. Superior Court motion judge, App. E, on the

defendant's motion for new trial was not reported. The

decision of the Mass. Appeals Court on _ the

defendant's direct appeal is reported in 38 Mass. App.

Ct. 912, rev. denied, 419 Mass. 1107 (1995).

JURISDICTION

The decision of affirmation by the Mass.

Appeals Court on the defendant's appeal of the denial

of his motion for new trial was entered on March 10,

2003, App. C. The defendant on 3-31-03 filed a timely

Application for Further Appellate Review to the Mass.

Nm

SJC. The Mass. SJC exercised their discretion not to

review the defendant's appeal, application was denied

on June 5, 2003. App. A. The defendant waived his

optional Petition for Rehearing before the Mass.

Appeals Court. App. B.

The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of the United

States is invoked under 28 U.S.C. s. 1257a.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

Fourteenth Amendment - Due Process;

The Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment provides in relevant part: "No state shall

make or enforce any law which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of the United

States; nor any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law." U.S.

Constitution Amendment XIV Section 1.

Sixth Amendment - Right to Counsel;

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy

the right....... , and to have the Assistance of Counsel

for his defence. U.S. Constitution Amendment VI.

M.G.L. C. 265 s. 15. Assault; intent to murder or

maim;

Whoever assaults another with intent to commit

murder, or to maim or disfigure his person in any way

described in the preceding section, shall be punished

by imprisonment in the state prison for not more than

ten years or by a fine of not more than one thousand

dollars and imprisonment in jail for not more than two

and one half years.

M.G.L. C. 265 s. 14. Mayhem;

Whoever, with malicious intent to maim or disfigure,

cuts out or maims the tongue, puts out or destroys an

eye, cuts or tears off an ear, cuts slits or mutilates the

nose or lip, or cuts off or disables a limb or member,

of another person, and whoever, with intent to maim

or disfigure, assaults another person with a dangerous

weapon, substance or chemical, and by such assault

disfigures, cripples or inflicts serious or permanent

physical injury upon such person, and whoever is

privy to such intent, or is present and aids in the

commission of such crime, shall be punished by not

more than 20 years in state prison, or by a fine of not

more than one thousand dollars and imprisonment in

jail for not more than two and half years.

M.G.L. C.265 s.15Bb. Assault with dangerous weapon;

Whoever, by means of a dangerous weapon, commits

an assault upon another shall be punished by

imprisonment in the state prison for not more than

five years or by a fine of not more than one thousand

dollars or imprisonment in jail for not more than two

and one-half years.

M.G.L. C. 265 s. 13A. Assault and Battery;

Whoever commits an assault or an assault and battery

upon another shall be punished by imprisonment for

not more than two and one half years in a house of

correction or by a fine of not more than five hundred

dollars.

M.G.L C. 272 s. 53. Penalty for Certain Offenses -

"Disorderly Person";

vevand idle and disorderly persons, disturbers of the

peace....may be punished by imprisonment in a jail or

house of correction for not more than six months, or

by a fine of not more than two hundred dollars or

both.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case is about how the Massachusetts

Courts used the unconstitutional "Mass. issue waiver

rule" to avoid the defendant's "motion for new trial"

claims that proved to a medically documented

certainty that the evidence used to convict the

defendant was perjury. In so doing, the Mass. Courts

violated the defendant's right under the 14th

Amendment to Due Process of Law.

A. Undisputed Background Facts

1. The citizen's arrest-initial criminal charges. The

defendant entered a bar in Worcester on 9-29-92 at

1:30am at last call and was served, and never asked

to leave. TR 1081-12. A verbal argument between the

bartender and the defendant ensued, shortly after.

App. 23a. An off-duty out of jurisdiction Westboro

police officer, Tom King, took the side of his friend the

bartender. App. 23a. It is undisputed that King and

his friends pursued the defendant down the street

after the defendant fled the bar. App. 24a. Although

the trial testimonies of all witnesses were substantially

different, as to how and what happened when King

actually reached the defendant, King testified and

documented, RA 139 (Westboro PD report-last 4 ), he

made a citizen's arrest. App. 3la. King testified and

documented he prevented the defendant from

escaping, RA 39. It was undisputed at trial that no

contact occurred between King and the defendant

until after King pursued the defendant 100 yards

down the street. DBr. 25 & App. 24a.

The Worcester Police arrived and charged the

defendant with "disorderly conduct" (M.G.L. C. 272 s.

53) at about 1:47a.m. on 9-29-92 while the defendant

was laying face down in the street outside the

Winner's Circle Bar under the weight of three men, RA

129 (WPD incident report) and PC 162-23, PC 159-7.

By 8:00am the charges were increased to include

"mayhem" (M.G.L. C. 265 s.14) (taking out King’ s

Ga, Ca ae ey

eye), "assault dangerous weapon" (M.G.L. C. 265 s.

15Bb) (broken beer bottle), "assault and battery"

(M.G.L. C. 265 s. 13A)(a punch). RA 134. The

prosecution would claim the defendant committed

these crimes after King's citizen's arrest. App. l4a &

24a.

2. No Probable Cause Found by Worcester District

Judge. A probable cause hearing was held regarding

those charges in Worcester District Court before

Judge Milton Raphelson on 1-20-93. The prosecutor

reduced the charge of "mayhem" to "assault with

intent to maim" (hereinafter -"attempted mayhem"

(M.G.L. C. 265 s. 15) (attempting to take out King's

eye) before the start of that probable cause hearing,

RA 159 (docket 93-0135), PC 3. After five hours of

testimony from five witnesses and none by the

defendant, Judge Raphelson found there was no

probable cause to arrest the defendant for the four

charges before him. Raphelson explained that the off-

duty Westboro police officer and alleged victim, Tom

King, had no right under Mass. law to pursue and

stop the defendant because the defendant had

committed no felony in the bar or prior to King's

alleged "citizen's arrest" of the defendant 100 yards

from the Winner's Circle Bar. RA 135 (Worcester T&G

1-21-93) & PC 265-266. See App. 40a.

3. Indictment. In March of 1993 the Worcester D.A.'s

Office rid themselves of all witnesses and exculpatory

evidence produced at the probable cause hearing and

indicted the defendant with the sole testimony of the

alleged-victim and off-duty, out of jurisdiction

Westborough police officer, Tom King. King's

testimony before the Grand Jury was substantially the

same as at trial, infra. RA 65. The defendant raised an

issue in his motion for new trial that the Worcester

DA's Office impaired the grand jury process. RA 65

(motion claim VIII).

4. Trial & Conviction. After a five-day trial, starting on

6-28-93, the jury convicted the defendant of the three

charges before them after the deliberating for less

than an hour. The charge of assault dangerous

weapon was directed not guilty by the trial judge. RA

159 (docket 93-0135).

5. 10 (TEN)Year Prison Sentence & "Stay of Sentence”.

On 7-15-93 the defendant was sentenced to 10 (TEN)

years in state prison on the assault with intent to

maim charge ("attempted mayhem") and 1 year

probation, on and after, on the two misdemeanor

charges. RA 160 (docket entry 13). The defendant

was then allowed to walk out the front door of the

courthouse on a "stay of sentence pending appeal". RA

160 (docket entry 13). The stay was revoked 13

months later due to a false arrest that resulted in a

disposition of not guilty on all charges at a trial. See

Com. v. Elbery 9462-JC-3067 Worcester District

Court.

6. Post Conviction. There was a direct appeal filed by

the defendant's appellate attorney in July 1994. See

Com. v. Elbery 38 Mass. App. Ct. 912. The defendant

raised a claim in his "motion for new trial", RA 114,

and its appeal, that his appellate attorney was

ineffective in his assistance of counsel. On July 6,

1999 the defendant filed his Pro-se "motion for new

trial" in Worcester Superior Court. The Worcester

D.A.'s Office filed no response. That motion was

denied by the motion judge, without evidentiary

hearing, on 12-26-01, 2 1/2 years later. App. 39a. The

defendant timely filed an appeal brief, docket 02-P-

318, and reply brief with the Mass. Appeals Court

regarding that denial. The trial judge had recused

himself from the case.

The defendant was released from prison April 2002.

7. "Waiver" of motion claims. Both the motion judge,

App. 25a, and the Mass. Appeals Court, App. 3a-4a,

waived the defendant's claims of prosecutorial

misconduct and ineffectiveness of trial attorney due to

a violation of a state procedural rule called the "Mass.

issue waiver rule" also referred to as the "waiver

doctrine”. The "Mass. issue waiver rule" (hereinafter -

"Mass. waiver rule") requires that those constitutional

claims be raised on direct appeal or forever lost. Com.

v. Chase, 433 Mass. 293, 297-299 (2001). See App.

26a & App. 5a-6a. Both did however, review the

_ defendants claims of ineffective assistance of appellate

counsel only to the extent the defendant claimed that

the appellate counsel failed to raise ineffectiveness of

trial counsel. App. 4a, & App. 27a, respectively.

The defendant alerted both the motion judge RA

114 and the Appeals Court, App. 41a, that none of his

motion claims were waived because the defendant had

a right to effective assistance of appellate counsel via

the 14th Amendment. Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. 387,

395-398 ('85).

B. The Prosecution admits the evidence of the

extent and cause of the alleged victim's eye injury,

which was the evidence used to convict the

defendant of "assault with intent to maim" and

"assault and battery", was perjury. DBr.- Arg. II &

DRb. - Reply #3-#4-#5-#6 - RA 1-30.

The alleged victim and prosecution's witness-in-

chief, Tom King, testified at trial as to the cause and

extent of his eye injury. This evidence caused the

defendant convictions for "attempted mayhem"

(attempting to take out King's eye) and "assault and

battery” and a 10 (TEN)-year prison sentence.

Tom King, alleged victim, testified he suffered

these serious injuries to his eye. RA 2 (p. 2 of motion).

1. a cut eyeball, TR 204-1, 468-9.

2. a lacerated eyeball, TR 203-24, 385-12

440-15, 479-3.

3. bleeding from his eyeball, blood coming

out of his eye, TR 202-24, 203-1, 468-14.

4. vitreous fluid was leaking out of his eye,

TR 202-24, 203-1, 468-14, 486-14.

5. King claimed permanent eye damage,

TR 204-3, 204-10.

6. Repeated testimony by King that he

almost lost his eye, TR 203-9,

469-17, 468-24, 405-15.

7. Eye blind, TR 203-3, 426-9, 468-11,

381-5, 202-2, 383-23, 437-10.

Five trial witnesses, all friends of King's,

confirmed and enlarged this testimony by King about

King's eye injury. RA 142-146, See App. 60a-66a.

As per RA 4, King claimed that these serious

eye injuries were caused by repeated thumb gougings

by the defendant, King testified,

TR 201-17 - TR 202-14 "He (Elbery) took his

thumb and jammed it into my eye. On the

outside of my eye he jammed it in almost

behind the eye and kept pushing the thumb

in real hard. He (second thumbing) jammed

that thumb back into my eye on the inside of

my eye and kept pushing the thumb into my

eye, TR 431-22, harder and harder and

harder with his thumb nail, TR 432-5.

It is undisputed that King went to the hospital

10 minutes after the incident. RA 120 & App. 67a.

King's treating physician, Dr. Arinella, authored an

unreadable medical record, App. 67a, that

undisputedly shows that the evidence produced at

trial about the cause and extent of King's eye injury

was a fabrication, 1.e., perjury. That illegible and

unintelligible medical record, App. 67a, was an exhibit

at trial. Illegible medical records are inadmissible,

Com. v. Baldwin, 24 Mass. App. 200, 203 ('87) and so

are records containing unintelligible medical jargon.

Com. v. Ennis, 2 Mass. App. 864, 865 ('74).

Senen tn eS

A year after trial, the defendant's appellate

attorney had King's medical record, App. 67a,

deciphered by Dr. Arinella's office through an

investigator, RA 123 & App. 68a, and, in 1996,

interpreted by a physician, Dr. Hull, RA 126-128 &

App. 69a-7la. That appellate attorney would never

present the resulting evidence he discovered, see

below, either on direct appeal or the motion for new

trial he was paid for in advance.

Upon review of the deciphering, App. 68a, of

King's medical report, App. 67a, medical expert, Dr.

Hull, disclosed that King sustained a_ superficial

abrasion to his eyelid and a small conjunctiva

(outmost mucous membrane covering the eye)

laceration causing a "red eye" or inflammation. See

App. 69a-71la. Dr. Hull discloses per affidavit, App.

69a-7 la, that King's medical record reveals King’s eye

was not bleeding, not leaking vitreous fluid, and that

King's eyeball was not cut or lacerated. Hull states,

App. 69a-7la, that King's superficial injury was

consistent with being poked in the eye, not repeated

thumb gougings. But the jury never knew this was

true extent of King's "injury". RA 1-30.

Per the readable deciphering of King’s medical

record, App. 68a, Dr. Arinella documented that King

claimed that his "eye injury" was caused by "catching

a finger in the eye". See interview sections of App. 67a

and its deciphering, App. 68a. But the jury was never

alerted that King had told his physician that was the

real cause of injury. RA 1-30.

The defendant's trial attorney never challenged

the perjury as to the cause and extent of King’s eye

injury nor did he present the true content of King's

medical record to the jury. RA 1-30. No medical expert

was at trial. RA 1-30. The defendant's trial attorney

did make some comments in his closing argument, TR

1224, TR 1225, that showed he knew the real content

of King's medical record without presenting that

evidence to the jury. See App. 30a & 10a. Closing

10

argument is not evidence at trial. Com. v. Hoppin, 387

Mass. 25, 30, (1982).

The jury never knew that King only had a "red

eye" from, as he admitted to his doctor, "catching a

finger in the eye". RA 1-30. The defendant's trial

attorney was ineffective, Strickland v. Washington,

466 U.S. 668 '84.

The prosecutor is responsible for all evidence at

trial that he knew or should have known to be perjury.

Brady v. Maryland, 473 U.S. 83, 86 ('63). It is

presumed the prosecutor knew the perjury was

presented at trial because he had possession of King's

medical record. U.S. v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97, 103-110.

"A new trial is required if there is any

reasonable likelihood that the prosecution's

knowing use of false evidence could have

affected the judgment of the jury". Com. v.

Tucceri, 412 Mass. 401, 405, ftnt. 3. RA 16-20.

1. Prosecution admits the evidence was perjury but

claims the jury could sort it out from the truth.

The D.A., per Commonwealth's brief, does not

deny that the eye injury evidence at trial was perjury.

App. Sa-20a. The D.A. never addressed the 4 pages of

perjury by prosecution witnesses, App. 60a-66a. The

D.A. agrees, CBr.-41(lines 1-9)/App. 18a, with Dr.

Hull's affidavit showing that King only had a 'red eye",

caused from, as King told Dr. Arinella, "catching a

finger in the eye". The D.A. agrees that Dr. Hull's

affidavit accurately reflects the ‘content of King's

medical record and King's "injury" as produced by Dr.

Arinella. CBr. 41 (1-9)/App. 18a. The D.A. never

denies that Dr. Hull's affidavit reflects the true content

of King's medical record. The D.A. instead claims that

Dr. Hull's affidavit is cumulative evidence of King's

medical record, CBr. 40 (18-23)/App. 18a & CBr.

41/App. 19a, because the jury had the medical record

—" _—-

Aaa

1]

and the D.A. claims it was legible. CBr. 40/App. 18a.

In effect, the D.A. agrees King's eye evidence at trial

was perjury, since Hull's affidavit and the medical

record are the opposite of the prosecution's evidence

at trial. The D.A. claims, CBr. 27-28 (line 13-21) /App.

9a-10a & CBr. 40-41/App. 18a-19a, that the jury

should be "left to its fact finding function" to sort out

"any discrepancy in the evidence as to the extent of

King's eye injury” at trial because they had King's

medical record. Thus admitting that King’s medical

record and the trial evidence were in opposite.

Because the jury could not read or understand

King's medical record, App. 67a, although it, App.

67a, was an exhibit at trial, Dr. Hull's affidavit, App.

69a-7 la, cannot be cumulative evidence.

2. Prosecutor admits he knew the content of medical

record

Outrageously, the Commonwealth insists that

the prosecutor, and defense counsel could read and

understand King's medical records, CBr p.39-40/App.

17a-18a. The question is, how? This is another

admission by the prosecution that they knowingly

presented perjury to the jury, as King’s medical report

and the testimony at trial, App. 60a-66a, are opposite.

The prosecution had a duty to correct the perjury.

The Due Process Clause of the 14th

Amendment mandates the prosecutor had a duty to

correct the perjury at trial, App. 60a-66a, regarding

King's injury, regardless of the readability of King's

medical record. Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150,

153 ('72). DBr-Arg. fi p.19 & DRb p.16.

The prosecution has a duty to prove beyond a

reasonable doubt every fact necessary to constitute

the crime charged and facts that would otherwise

mitigate criminal culpability. Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421

U.S. 684, 697-98 ('75), Com. v. Stokes, 374 Mass.

583, 590 ('87). RA 8 & 14. The prosecution used this

false evidence to prove excessive force, specific intent,

12

~

and deadly force by the defendant and falsely defeat

the defendant's claim of self-defense. Again, the

prosecution violated the defendant's 14th Amendment

Right to Due Process.

Where federal question was raised & passed _ state

courts.

As above indexed; the defendant raised this

claim of knowing use of perjury by the prosecution

and related ineffective assistance of trial counsel in

his motion claim I, II, III at Worcester Superior Court,

RA 1-30. The motion court waived those claims, via

the "Mass. waiver rule,” ruling they should have been

raised in the direct appeal. See App. 25a-27a.

The defendant appealed to the Mass. Appeals

Court and first raised a claim, Argument I of his

appeal brief, App. 4la, that he had a Constitutional

Right under the Due Process Clause of the 14th

Amendment to effective assistance of appellate

counsel and that if this claim, or any claim, was

missed by his appellate counsel then he, the

defendant, had a right to raise all issues missed by

the appellate counsel on a motion for new trial under

Rule 30b of M.R.C.P.; in that same appeal argument

the defendant reminded the court that factual issues

not of the trial record could not be raised on direct

appeal. In that appeal argument-I, App. 4la-43a, the

defendant reminded the Appeals Court the evidence,

App. 68a-71la, discovered by his appellate attorney a

year after trial, proving that the evidence of King's

injury, that convicted him, was perjury could not be

raised on direct appeal because those facts did not

appear on the trial record.

The defené»nt raised the claim that the

prosecution knowingly used perjured evidence at trial

as to the cause and extent of King's eye injury and

that his trial attorney was ineffective, regarding the

same evidence, in Argument II of his appellant's brief

and in Arguments III, IV, V, VI of his reply brief. The

Tbe SN). OWS at Bee G88 “

13

Appeals Court held that all claims of prosecutorial

misconduct and ineffectiveness of trial counsel were

waived, due to the "Mass. waiver rule", and should

have been raised on direct appeal. App. 3a-4a.

C. The defendant raised claims the prosecution

fabricated three events in order to justify the

alleged victim's, King's, "citizen's arrest’.

1. Prosecution witnesses change their testimonies. The

defendant raised a motion claim X, RA 73-89, that the

prosecution knowingly allowed their witnesses to

change their probable cause hearing testimonies to

inculpate the defendant at trial. At the PC hearing

various witnesses testified the defendant was minding

his business not bothering anyone, that it was the

bartender that started the argument in the bar. The

bartender apologized to the defendant on the witness

stand for starting the argument. PC 111-3. These

same witnesses testified it was the prosecution's

alleged victim, King, who picked the fight with the

defendant inside the bar and that it was King that had

to be restrained while the defendant remained seated.

However, at trial these same witnesses testified

the opposite (perjury). On appeal this claim was raised

in DBr.-Arg. VI, see App. 50a-53a.

2. The bottle assault. In order to justify King's citizen's

arrest, the prosecutor knowingly presented false

evidence to the jury that the defendant used a bottle

as a weapon inside the bar, motion claim VI-RA 46-58,

& DBr. Arg. IV, see App. 45a-50a. The prosecution

witnesses admitted at the probable cause hearing that

the defendant did not use a bottle as a weapon. DBr.

35-36, See App. 45a-46a.

3. A "girl" was injured. The prosecution claimed the

plaintiff injured a "girl," causing her to be stitched in

the face after being cut by glass from a broken beer

bottle. There was never a criminal charge for this. The

ae Tn

14

defendant raised a motion claim IV-RA 30-39, DRb. )

Reply #1, that this was another fabrication. See App. ;

93a-59a.

4. Prosecutor lead witnesses. The defendant claimed

that the prosecutor lead his witnesses, without

objection, in order to produce testimonies causing i

these various fabrications of evidence at trial. RA 21- ;

24, RA 142-158. 5

Knowing use by the prosecution to obtain a ,

conviction is a violation of the 14th Amendment's Due

Process Clause. The prosecutor had a duty under the

Due Process Clause of the 14th Amendment to correct

that perjury at trial. Giglio, 405 U.S. 150, 153.

Both the motion judge, App. 26a-27a, and

Appeals Court, App. 3a, decided that these claims of

knowing use of perjury by the prosecution were

waived due to the "Mass. waiver rule".

D. The Mass. Appeals Court's arbitrary decision on

Mass. "citizen's arrest" law in order to evade

Constitutional issues raised by the defendant.

1. Trial. At trial it was undisputed by the prosecutor,

judge, and defense attorney that King acted as a

citizen while pursing and stopping the defendant with

no powers or jurisdiction of a police officer. DBr. p.28.

It was also undisputed at trial that King never f

identified himself as a police officer. DRb. p.8 & App. 9

12a. 5

2. Motion New Trial. The defendant raised an issue in

his motion for new trial, RA 39-46,motion claim V,

that King had no right pursuing and stopping the

defendant; that King's citizen's arrest was illegal. It is - wa

undisputed the defendant did not commit a felony

prior to King's arrest of the defendant. App. 3la. In

order to justify a citizen's arrest the citizen must point

to a felony committed by the arrestee prior to the

citizen's arrest. Com. v. Clairborne, 423 Mass. 275,

15

280 ('96). Further, Mass. law requires that the "in fact

test" be passed to have a valid citizen's arrest. Com. v.

Harris, 11 Mass. App. 165, 170 ('81). The "in fact test"

requires that the felony allegedly justifying the

citizen's arrest results in a felony conviction in a court

of law. id. The defendant further argued that King's

undisputed pursuit and stop of the defendant was a

crime, not a citizen's arrest, and that the defendant

was the victim. id.

The defendant raised constitutional issues in

that claim V of his motion for new trial that both his

trial and appellate counsels were ineffective for not

raising this issue and that the prosecution deceived

the jury to believe King's pursuit, stop, and assault of

the defendant was perfectly legal instead of telling the

jury King had no right under Mass. law doing so.

There was no citizen's arrest instruction at trial.

App. 13a.

The motion judge decided that any claim of

prosecutorial misconduct was waived, due to the

"Mass. waiver rule," and s0uld have been raised on

the defendant's direct appeal, App. 25a-26a. The

motion judge relieved the defense attorneys of

ineffectiveness by deciding King did act legally as a

citizen without giving any further explanation. App

Sla.

3. Appeal. The defendant appealed this issue, DBr.-

Argument III, raising the same undisputed facts and

the same law while also claiming that both his defense

counsels were ineffective and the prosecution deceived

the jury that King's citizen's arrest was legal.

Reversing their position at trial, the

Commonwealth, via appellee brief, App. 13a-16a,

argued that King was a police officer while he was

drinking in the bar and during the underlying incident

not a citizen. The prosecution argued that as an out of

jurisdiction police officer King was entitled to the

"relaxed standard" of the "in fact test” under Mass.

law. Clairborne, 423 Mass. 275, 280. The "relaxed

eR ee nnn nnn en ene

ALA SAAMI... SATE aS AOE TAIT B TE ONE EES RETEST INSPITE EMD Mehmet nn enrages |

16

standard” requires an out of jurisdiction police officer

only have probable cause of a felony to make an

arrest. id.

The Commonwealth argued that probable cause

existed for King's "arrest" due to a "girl's" injury and

an alleged bottle assault by the defendant inside the

bar. App. 16a.

The defendant argued in reply, per Reply #2 -

DRb. 7-8, that King could not be considered a police

officer as a matter of Mass. law because it was

undisputed he did not identify himself as an officer.

App. 12a. Com. v. Moreira, 388 Mass. 596, 601, '83;

that an out-of-jurisdiction, off-duty police officer is

only a citizen with no police powers. Com. v. Kerr, 409

Mass. 284, 287, '91. And that because King was

drinking in a bar, and concealed his identify as a

police officer, he did not comply with the "responsible

action of legitimate law enforcement” required for the

"relaxed standard". Clairborne, 423 Mass. at 280.

That the "relaxed standard” in Clairborne applies only

to out of jurisdiction police while on duty. id.

The defendant, DRb. 9-11, further argued that

even if you consider King a police officer, although he

did not identify himself as such and was off-duty and

out of jurisdiction, there was found to be No Probable

Cause, PC 265-266 & App. 40a, of a felony for any of

the conduct by the defendant before King's citizen's

arrest. A probabie cause finding is not appealable.

Com. v. Juvenile, 409 Mass. 49, 51('91).

The D.A. documented in an 11-30-92 letter

there was no probable cause of felony - "....reason for

King’s pursuit was defendant's alleged disorderly

conduct in bar". DRb. p. 2 & RA 133.

It is undisputed that there were never any

criminal charges brought regarding a girl being

injured in the bar. King admitted at the probable

cause hearing he did not know a girl was injured. PC

53-6, DRb. 10. The prosecutor admitted no probable

cause of a felony, TR 133 -A.D.A. Ball-"there isn't a

crime for that, not a felony for girl's cutting". DRb. 11.

eV ghee >.

A 6 SY ea aa N Ss CE MLS gy

= =

17

The defendant replied, DRb. p. 10, that the

indictment for "assault dangerous weapon" yielded no

probable cause because King testified at trial that the

defendant did not assault anyone with a bottle, App.

46a, and then told the grand jury the opposite. App.

47a. Thus the prosecution gained that indictment by

fraud. Broussard v. Great A&P Teas Co., 324 Mass.

323, '49.

Federal Issues. As in his motion claim V, the

defendant also claimed, DBr. 31, that the prosecutor

violated the defendant's Due Process Rights under the

Fourteenth Amendment because he deceived the jury

to believe that King acted legally by pursuing and

stopping the defendant; that the prosecutor had a

duty to alert the jury that under Mass. law King had

no right pursuing and "arresting" the defendant. "A lie

is a lie and if it is in any way relevant to the case, the

district attorney has the responsibility and duty to

correct what he knows to be false and elicit the truth”.

Napue v. Illinois, 360 U.S. 264, 270 ('59). Deliberately

deceiving a jury by presentation of known false

evidence is incompatible with the rudimentary

demands of justice. Giglio, 405 U.S. at 153. The

defendant's defense at trial was self-dense.

First, the Mass. Appeals Court ruled that all

claims of prosecutorial misconduct were waived, due

to the "Mass. waiver rule," and should have been

raised on direct appeal. App. 3a. This would include

the prosecutor's misconduct relating to citizen's

arrest.

The Mass. Appeals Court, App. 4a, addressed

the citizen's arrest issue only to the extent of

addressing ineffectiveness of the defendant's appellate

attorney. The Mass. Appeals Court, App. 4a, simply

agreed with the motion judge's decision on citizen's

arrest, App. 3la, when they agreed with the motion

judge's determination that the appellate attorney, to

the extent of raising claims of trial attorney's

effectiveness, was not ineffective. App. 37a. However,

the motion judge found that King acted only as a

private citizen and made a legal citizen's arrest. App.

3la. The motion judge did not address. the

requirement under Mass. law that a citizen's arrest

pass the "in fact test". As above, the D.A. argued that

King acted as a police officer not a citizen, App. 13a-

l6a, the opposite of the motion judge. See II-B-

"decision citizen's arrest", infra.

REASONS FOR GRANTING PETITION

I. The "Mass. issue waiver rule" is in direct conflict

with the Supreme Court, Evitts, and the Due

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment.

The decisions of the Mass. Courts, supra, to

waive, via the "Mass. issue waiver rule,” the

defendant's "motion for new trial" claims and their

appeal are in direct conflict with the decisions of the

Supreme Court of the United States, and the Due

Process Clause of the 14th Amendment of the U.S.

Constitution which holds the defendant has a right to

effective assistance of appellate counsel. Evitts v.

Lucey, 469 U.S. 387, 396-98, ('85).

The state courts decided, App. 3a-4a & App.

25a-27a, that most of the defendant's claims and all of

the defendant's claims of prosecutorial misconduct

and ineffective assistance of trial counsel claims, as

raised on the defendant's "motion for new trial" and its

appeal, were waived and forever lost, due to a state

procedural law called the "Mass. issue waiver rule",

and should have been raised by the defendant's

appellate attorney in the defendant's direct appeal.

Com. v. Chase, 433 Mass. 293, 297-299 (2001) (citing

Murch v. Mottram, 409 U.S. 41, 45, '72, to support

the "Mass. waiver rule"). However, the Supreme Court

of the United States held there is a Constitutional

right under the 14th Amendment Due Process Clause

RIDA ist tas in Vtg tank!

ePrints kt lt siete SARL tery

——___________

19

to effective assistance of appellate counsel. Evitts, 469

U.S. at 396. Failure to comply with state appellate

procedures causes an appellate attorney to be

ineffective in his assistance of counsel. Evitts, 469

U.S. at 392.

This waiver decision by the state courts

resulted in no review of over a dozen motion claims

the defendant raised on his motion for new trial that

the state courts have decided should have been raised

by the defendant's appellate attorney on direct appeal.

All those dozen motion claims raised violations of the

defendant's rights under the U.S. Constitution. Six of

those waived motion claims that raised an issue that

the prosecutor knowingly used perjury at trial to gain

the conviction were also presented in the defendant's

appeal of the denial of his motion for new trial. See

Statement of Case, supra, for those six claims of

prosecutorial misconduct also raised on _ the

defendant's appeal of the denial of his motion for new

trial.

An appellate attorney is ineffective when he

fails to raise issues that would have resulted in a

reversal of the criminal conviction. Gray v. Greer, 800

F2d 644, '85. Each of those waived motion claims

would have resulted in a new trial, due to their

meritorious showing that the defendant's

Constitutional Rights to Due Process of Law were

violated, and more specifically that the prosecutor

knowingly~ used perjury at trial to obtain the

conviction of the defendant. The best example of merit

is that the prosecution knowingly used perjury as to

the cause and extent of the victim's eye injury, see

Statement of Case-B. A conviction must be set aside if

there is any reasonable likelihood that perjury

knowingly used by the prosecutor could have affected

the jury verdict. U.S. v. Bagley, 473 U.S. 667, 678,

(85).

In Mass. there is a guaranteed right to a direct

appeal of a criminal conviction. Rule 28c-MRCP. A

direct appeal as of right must comport with the Due

20

Process Clause of the 14th Amendment. Evitts, 469

U.S. 393. The defendant had a Due Process right

under the 14th Amendment to effective appellate

counsel regarding his direct appeal. Evitts, 469 U.S.

396. If, as the state courts claim, his appellate

attorney, on direct appeal, should have raised many

the defendant's motion claims, then the defendant's

appellate attorney was ineffective. The only place for

the defendant to raise those claims missed by the

appellate attorney, and raise a claim that the

defendant's appellate attorney was ineffective in his

assistance of counsel, is on a motion for new trial.

The defendant claimed his appellate attorney

was ineffective in motion claim XVIII, RA 114. The

defendant raised a claim that his appellate attorney

was ineffective with each appeal argument that should

or could have been raised on direct appeal. The state

courts were reminded by the defendant, per motion

claim XVIII, RA 114, and appeal argument-I, App. 41a,

that there was no waiver of his motion claims due to

Evitts.

By waiving the prosecutorial misconduct and

ineffective assistance of trial counsel claims the state

courts never addressed the defendant's most potent

claim; that King's eye injury evidence at trial was

knowing prosecutorial perjury. And that defendant's

trial counsel was ineffective regarding that same eye

evidence in violation of the Sixth Amendment.

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 ('84). The

state courts reviewed the performance of the

defendant's appellate counsel to the extent that the

defendant's trial attorney was ineffective, but the

defendant never raised a claim that his appellate

attorney was ineffective regarding King’s eye injury

evidence. The appellate attorney could not be heid

responsibie for that claim on direct appeal because

the evidence, App. 68a-71a, through his investigation

came more than a year after the trial. Factual claims

not appearing on the trial record must be raised on a

RPL I EET REN FI LEE MAGUS ORI

motion for new trial. Com. v. Adamides, 37 Mass. App.

Ct. 339, 344 ('94).

The state's decision to waive the defendant's

motion claims based on Mass. procedural law, the

"Mass. issue waiver rule,” is in conflict with Evitts and

the defendant's Constitutional Rights to Due Process

per the 14th Amendment that guarantees the

defendant effective assistance of appellate counsel.

Evitts, at 396. Per Evitts, none of the defendant's 18

motion claims, which were all constitutionally

grounded, should have been waived. RA 1-115 & App.

4la. Because the Mass. "waiver rule" is

unconstitutional those waived motion claims should

be reviewed resulting in a reversal of the jury's verdict

and a new trial because of ineffective assistance of

trial counsel and prosecutorial misconduct.

The "Mass. waiver rule" causes a defendant to

lose, forever, constitutionally grounded claims that the

appellate counsel fails to raise on direct appeal. As per

App. 25a-27a & App. 5a-6a, the "Mass. waiver rule"

has been used for decades in Massachusetts causing

an injustice to criminal defendants , whereby, their

right under the 14th Amendment's Due Process

Clause to effective assistance of appellate counsel is

ignored. See Com. v. McLaughlin, 364 Mass. 211, 229

(1973)(citing cases back to the 1920's that used the

"Mass. waiver rule" or "waiver doctrine"). See also App.

6a, the Commonwealth citing U.S. v. Agurs, 427 U.S.

97, as legal support for the "Mass. waiver rule."

22

Il. The state courts violated their own laws in

order to evade the defendant's claims that his

Constitutional Rights under the Due Process

Clause of the 14th Amendment U.S. Constitution

had been violated.

A. Factual claims not on the trial record not treated

"even handedly."

The state courts violated their own procedural

law by waiving, via the "Mass. waiver rule," the

defendant's motion claims. App. 3a-4a. Some of those

motion claims waived by the state courts presented

factual claims of prosecutorial misconduct and

ineffectiveness of trial attorney that were grounded on

facts not appearing on the trial record making it

impossible to raise those claims on direct appeal.

Those claims include motion claims I], II, Ii], RA 1-30,

argument II on appeal, see Statement of Case - B,

supra, showing that the prosecution knowingly

presented perjury at trial regarding the victim's cause

and extent of eye injury and that the defendant's trial

attorney was ineffective regarding this same eye injury

evidence.

1. Raising Factual claims not on trial record. In Mass.,

a direct appeal of a criminal conviction may only raise

factual issues that appear on the trial record. White v.

White, 662 NE2 230, 232, 40 Mass. App. Ct. 132, 133

('96) & MRAP-Rule 8 (record of lower court is record

for appeal). "Constitutional arguments raised by the

petitioner that are based on factual questions are best

left for resolution in the first instance by a trial judge

on a motion for new trial". Gibney v. Comm., 375

Mass. 146, 148, 375 NE2 714 ('78). This

Massachusetts law is not surprising since an appeals

court is a court of review. DBr. Arg. I. See App. 42a-

43a.

iS

2

3

rd

=

o

ee ee RT eS eR NE te a al a ee

23

2. Knowing use of Perjury by Prosecutor. Mass. law

further requires that factual claims, specifically

relating to non-disclosure type prosecutorial

misconduct claims, should be raised on a motion for

new trial via Rule 30b of the MRCP. There is no reason

why claims of prosecutorial misconduct (non-

disclosure type claim) could not be advanced by a

motion for new trial to which the regular principles of

MRCP 30b apply. "Even if an undisclosed evidence is

not "newly discovered", the failure of a prosecutor to

furnish exculpatory evidence in his possession is a

proper basis for a new trial motion based on common

law or constitutional grounds". Tucceri 412 Mass.

408-409. DBr. Arg. I. See App. 42a.

3. Ineffective Assistance of Counsel. "When the trial

record provides an insufficient factual basis for

appellate review, the claim of ineffective assistance of

trial counsel is best left for resolution in the first

instance by the trial judge in a motion for new trial."

Com. v. Adamides, 37 Mass. App. Ct. 339, 344 ('94).

See App. 43a.

Regardless of its unconstitutionality, the "Mass.

issue waiver rule" has never been used by the Mass.

courts to exclude "factual claims” that did not appear

on the trial record from being reviewed on a motion for

new trial.

State procedural requirements, which are not

strictly or regularly followed, cannot deprive the

Supreme Court of the right to review. Barr v. City of

Columbia, 378 U.S. 146, 149 (1964). State procedural

requirements not applied evenly do not constitute an

adequate state ground barring Supreme Court review

of the federal issue. id.

The state courts cannot violate their own law in

order to evade the defendant's Constitutional Rights

and deny Due Process of Law. "Due Process includes

enforcement of state rights, as well as, federal rights-

state procedure can never be independent of the

requirements of Due Process". Wright, Miller, Cooper,

ee | oe nee

ESAS: Cee RRR ee

24

Federal Practice and Procedure, Vol. 16B, 2d Ed.

1996, 16B p. 375.

The defendant's factual claims that could not

be raised until a motion for new trial should be

reviewed. This would include all motion claims

appealed by the defendant with the exception of

"citizen's arrest" which was a strictly legal issue.

B. Decision - "Citizen's Arrest"

The decision of the Appeals Court on citizen's

arrest, App. 4a, was arbitrary and ambiguous and

provided no adequate and independent state-law

ground for its decision on the defendant's claim that

King did not act legally via his arrest. Although

lacking much discussion, per App. 4a, it appears that

the Appeals Court agrees with the motion judge's

finding that King acted only as a citizen and that

King's citizen's arrest was legal. App. 3la. That finding

by the motion judge is in conflict with the D.A. who

claims King acted as a police officer and was entitled

under Mass. law to be treated as such. App. 15a-16a.

Regardless, the Appeals Court, App. 4a, found

against the defendant's citizen's arrest argument,

which also claimed that King acted only as a citizen as

a matter of Mass. law, see Statement of Case - D.

Since the Appeals Court is agreeing with the

defendant that King acted as a citizen, and it is

undisputed King failed the "in fact" test required by

Mass. law, that makes King's arrest and the conviction

of the defendant illegal. Com. v. Harris, 11 Mass. App.

170. Ambiguous or obscure adjudications by state

courts do not stand as barriers to a determination by

the Supreme Court of the validity under the federal

constitution of state action. Michigan v. Long, 463

U.S. 1032, 1041, '83.

By denying the defendant's citizen's arrest

claim the Appeals Court has changed the law of

citizen's arrest for the purpose of the defendant's

appeal via that unpublished decision. Mass. citizen

arrest law remains as it was, per published opinions,

for decisions of future cases. That makes it an

arbitrary decision of state law that resulted in evading

the defendant's federal claim that the prosecutor had

deceived the jury that King's arrest of the plaintiff was

perfectly legal rather than an assault on the

defendant, and that the defendant's attorneys were

ineffective regarding citizen's arrest. The Appeals

Court decision on citizen's arrest lacks fair or

substantial support via precedent state law or reason

causing it to be inadequate resulting in a violation of

Due Process, Ward v. Board Cty. Commrs. of Love Cty,

253 U.S. 17, 22-23, 1920; and in effect an evasion of

federal law. In Memphis Nat. Gas Co. v. Beeler, 315

U.S. 649, 653-654, 1942.

The requirement of adequacy applies. to

substantive as well as procedural state law. Coleman

v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722, 729 ('91). The adequacy

of the state-law ground to support a judgment

precluding litigation of the federal claim is itself a

federal question which the Supreme Court may review

de novo. Howlett v. Rose, 496 U.S. 356, 366 ('90). The

state ground, to be adequate, must also be a tenable

one. In other words Supreme Court review cannot be

evaded by reliance on a state ground "so certainly

unfounded that it properly may be regarded as

essentially arbitrary, or a mere device to prevent a

review of the decision upon the federal question".

Lawrence v. State Tax Commission, 286 U.S. 276, 282

(1932). The Mass. Appeals Court's arbitrary and

irregular application of citizen's arrest law cannot

prevent review by the Supreme Court of the

underlying federal issue that the prosecutor deceived

the jury that King’s pursuit and stop (arrest) of the

defendant was perfectly legal. Staub v. City of Baxley,

355 U.S. 313, 318-319 ('58). (Supreme Court will

review nonfederal ground, which defeats’ the

enforcement of federal rights).

The defendant's claim that King's citizen's

arrest was actually a false arrest and assault and

battery on the defendant and the _ related

”~

a eaeaanstentateaitmsamtacesiesssimamsanacitesienacvutisn ta isssatinenanionpioniudlincmmsarisinse iii

26

constitutional issues, see Statement of Case - D

should be reviewed resulting in a new trial. Since King

had committed a false arrest the alleged evidence of

assault by the defendant should have _ been

suppressed. Com. v. LeBlanc 407 Mass. 70, 75 (1990).

The suppression would result in no evidence of a

crime; this causing the conviction to be a violation of

the 14th Amendment's Due Process’ Clause.

Thompson v. City of Louisville, 362 U.S. 199, 200

(1960).

Ill. There has been a gross miscarriage of justice.

The Mass. Appeals Court referred to page 20-43

of the Commonwealth's brief, in making their decision.

See App. 3a-4a.

As per Statement of Case-B, supra, the

Commonwealth, per appeal brief, agreed that the

evidence of King’s injury, used to convict the

defendant was medically documented perjury, and the

prosecutor knew it. The perjury regarding King's

injury was huge not slight. The Commonwealth, per

that appeal brief-App. 10a, claim it was permissible to

leave the perjury (D.A. calls perjury a discrepancy)

presented at trial to the jury's fact-finding function

and have the jury sort out the perjury.

The jury was never presented any evidence or

testimony at trial that allowed them to know the

content of King’s medical record. They were only

presented the prosecution's perjury. RA 1-30.

Had the jury not been deceived about Mass.

citizen's arrest law they would have learned that the

defendant was the victim. Supporting the defendant's

defense of self-defense.

The Mass. Appeals Court was alerted to this

miscarriage of justice.

27

That decision by the Mass. Appeals Court

violates Brady and progeny that holds that knowing

use of perjury by the prosecution at trial is a violation

of the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment. U.S. v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97, 103. The

prosecutor is responsible for all evidence at trial that

he knew or should have known to be perjury. id. The

prosecutor has a duty to correct all perjury known to

them at trial. Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. at 153.

Conclusion: The writ of certiorari should be granted.

There has been a miscarriage of justice - the

conviction of Michael Elbery should never have

happened in a U.S. courtroom. The Massachusetts

courts arbitrarily used state law to evade the

defendant's post-conviction constitutional issues. The

Massachusetts courts for decades have used the state

procedural "Mass. issue waiver rule" to eliminate

criminal appellant's Due Process Right to effective

assistance of appellate counsel, in direct conflict with

Supreme Court law, resulting- in years of mass

injustice. In Massachusetts, due to the use of the

"Mass. issue waiver rule," the criminal appeal

procedure continues to be a meaningless ritual not

protected by Due Process of Law.

In view of the conflict of the decision below with past

decisions of this Court, the Court may wish to

consider a summary reversal.

Respectfully submitted,

Michael Elbery, pro se

168 Fairfield St.

Needham, Mass. 02492

781-444-7324

August 1, '03

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

APPENDIX A

Notice of Denial of F.A.R.~ -

Massachusetts Supreme Judicial

Court, dated June 5, 2003

APPENDIX B

Notice of Withdrawal Petition for

Rehearing -- Massachusetts

Appeals Court, dated May 1, 2003

Memorandum and Order Pursuant to

Rule 1:28- Massachusetts

Appeals Court, dated March 10,

Commonwealth's Appellee Brief - pages

20-44, dated October 2002

APPENDIX E

Memorandum and Decision on Motion

for New Trial - Superior Court

Motion Judge, dated December

21, 2001

APPENDIX F

Probable Cause Hearing Decision of

January 20, 1993 - Worcester

District Judge Milton Raphaelson ... 40a

APPENDIX G

Defendant's Appeal Arguments I, IV, VI,

IGE FT Wh itensessnncencvnspeccnsduesipienssecceseess 4la

APPENDIX H

Exhibit J of defendant's motion for new

trial - Trial transcript cites of

evidence presented to trial jury

regarding Tom King's eye injury.............. 60a

APPENDIX I

Dr. Arinella's Medical Report - Tom King ... 67a

Deciphering of Dr. Arinella's Medical

Report - AIDS Investigation..................... 68a

Dr. Hull's Affidavit - Interpretation of Dr.

PRI ee SI Reda csnetccncnctoventunavednenndeasenie 69a

la

APPENDIX A

Supreme Judicial Court for the Commonwealth of

Massachusetts

1412 Courthouse, Boston, Massachusetts 02108

(617) 557-1020

Michael G. Elbery

168 Fairfield Street

Needham, MA 02492

RE: Docket No. FAR-13357

COMMONWEALTH

vs.

MICHAEL G. ELBERY

Worcester Superior Court No. WOCR1993-00 135

A.C. No. 2002-P-0318

NOTICE OF DENIAL OF F.A.R. APPLICATION

Please take note that on 06/05/03, the above-

captioned Application for Further Appellate Review

was denied.

Susan Mellen, Clerk

Dated: June 5, 2003

To: Harry D. Quick, III, A.D.A.

Michael G. Elbery

APPENDIX B

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETT'S

APPEALS COURT

CLERK'S OFFICE

1500 NEW COURT HOUSE

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS 02108

(617) 725-8106

May 1, 2003

Michael G. Elbery

168 Fairfield Street

Needham, MA 02492

RE: No. 2002-P-0318

COMMONWEALTH

vs.

MICHAEL G. ELBERY

NOTICE OF DOCKET ENTRY

Please take note that, with respect to the Notice of

withdrawal of petition for rehearing, filed by Michael

G. Elbery. (Paper #31),

on May 1, 2003, the following order was entered on

the docket of the above-referenced case:

RE#31 Noted. As the petition has been withdrawn, no

further action will be taken on the petition. (Laurence,

Gelinas, Mills, JJ.) Notice.

Very truly yours,

The Clerk's Office

Dated: May 1, 2003

To: Harry D. Quick, III, A.D.A.

Michael G. Elbery

3a

APPENDIX C

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

APPEALS COURT

02-P-318

COMMONWEALTH

vs.

MICHAEL G. ELBERRY.!

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER PURSUANT

TO RULE 1:28

We affirm the motion judge's denial of Elberry's

motion for a new trial and request for an evidentiary

hearing. The facts in this case are set forth in

succinct manner in our decision affirming the

defendant's conviction on direct appeal.

Commonwealth v. Elberry, 38 Mass. App. Ct. 912

(1995). The motion judge determined that certain of

the defendant's claims, (claims of judicial misconduct,

prosecutorial misconduct, inadequate jury

instructions, errors in the admission of evidence,

errors in sentencing, and claim that the verdicts were

against the weight of the evidence), were waived, as

they had not been raised in his direct appeal. For the

reasons and upon the authorities set forth in the

motion judge's memorandum of decision, and in the

Commonwealth's brief, especially at pages twenty

through twenty-three, we agree that the defendant's

claims were waived by his failing to raise them in his

direct appeal.

In his motion, Elberry also claimed ineffective

assistance of both his trial and appellate counsel.

' Although the defendant, in his pro se brief, spells his name

"Elbery," we follow our editorial convention of adhering to the

spelling in the indictment.

eee

ge geen See SSS SS ee eran ree

4a

The motion judge found that he had waived any claim

to ineffective assistance of trial counsel, again,

because that claim was not raised in his direct appeal.

We agree. See Commonwealth v. Chase, 433 Mass.

293, 298-299 (2001).

With regard to the defendant's claim of ineffective

assistance of appellate counsel, the motion judge

appropriately reviewed the trial record to determine

whether trial counsel was in fact ineffective and thus

appellate counsel would have been ineffective if he

failed to raise trial counsels ineffectiveness on appeal.

Our review of the trial record leads us the same

conclusion as that reached by the motion judge: that

trial counsel was not ineffective, and therefore

appellate counsel had no reason to raise the issue on

direct appeal.

For the reasons and upon the authorities set forth

in the motion judge's memorandum of decision, and

for those set forth in the Commonwealth's brief,

especially at pages twenty-three through forty-three,

we affirm the motion judge's denial of the defendant's

motion in this regard. We further conclude that there

was no abuse of discretion in the motion judge's

refusal to grant an evidentiary hearing, as the

defendant raised no substantial issue. See

Mass.R.Crim.P. 30(c)(3), 378 Mass. 901 (1979).

Order denying motion for new

trial affirmed.

By the Court (Laurence, Gelinas &

Mills, JJ.),

Clerk

Entered: March 10, 2003.

ee

Sa

APPENDIX D

Argument.

The Motion Judge Properly Denied Defendant's

Motion for New Trial Without a Hearing, Where

Defendant Did Not Raise a Substantial Issue With

an Adequate Factual Basis to Show that a

Substantial Risk of a Miscarriage of Justice

Occurred.

Proceeding pro se, defendant moved for a new trial

under Mass. R. Crim. P. 30(b). In his motion

defendant asserted, inter alia, that the trial

prosecutor engaged in misconduct, that the jury

charge was inadequate, and his trial and appellate

counsel were ineffective. (R.A. 1-115). The motion

judge denied this motion, ruling that defendant's

claims of prosecutorial misconduct and inadequate

jury instructions were waived and that defendant did

not present adequate evidence entitling him to a

hearing on his ineffective assistance of counsel

claims. (Def. Addendum 1- 18). On appeal, defendant

claims that the motion judge erroneously denied his

motion without a hearing because his claims were not

waived and they evinced a substantial risk of a

miscarriage of justice. Because defendant's claims

could have been raised in his direct appeal, the

motion judge correctly determined that they were

waived. Because defendant provided no factual basis

to show that a substantial risk of a miscarriage of

justice occurred, [20] the motion judge properly

denied defendant's motion without a hearing.

“A motion for new trial may not be used as a

vehicle to compel . . . review and [consideration of]

questions of law,’ on which a defendant has had his

day in an appellate court, or [on which he has]

foregone that opportunity." Commonwealth v.

Gagliardi, 418 Mass. 562, 565 (1994), cert. denied __

U.S. _, 115 S.Ct. 753 (1995) (quoting

6a

Commonwealth v. Watson, 409 Mass. 110, 114

(1991)). This rule of waiver "applies equally to

constitutional claims which could have been raised

but were not raised on direct appeal . ."

Commonwealth v. Amirault, 424 Mass. 618, 641

(1997) (citations omitted). Where, as here, "there has

been appellate review of a conviction.. a judge

considering a motion for new trial should first exercise

discretion to deal with the substance of any issue

presented." Commonwealth v. Curtis, 417 Mass. 619,

634 n.14 (1994). "The trial judge's discretionary

power to give relief. . . should be exercised only in

those extraordinary cases where, upon sober

reflection, it appears that a miscarriage of justice

might otherwise result." Id. at 626. Defendant has

advanced no [21] reasons to circumvent the waiver

rule. ,

First, the motion judge properly determined that

defendant's claim of prosecutorial misconduct was

waived. Defendant's assertions that the prosecutor

withheld information and allowed perjury rest on

defendant's comparison of the trial testimony with the

probable cause and grand jury testimony and the

medical records submitted into evidence. (D.Br. 15-

49). Because this evidence was clearly available to

defendant and the law in this regard had been clearly

established, see United Stated v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97

(1976) and its progeny, this claim should have been

raised on direct appeal. See Amirault, 424 Mass. at

642. Failure to do so constitutes waiver and, as

discussed below, see part A. infra, defendant has not

demonstrated a miscarriage of justice, which would

justify relief from the waiver doctrine.

Second, defendant asserts errors in the trial judge's

instructions on consciousness of guilt and assault

with intent to maim. (D.Br.. 32). Defendant raised the

adequacy of these instructions in his direct appeal

and this Court correctly determined that these

unobjected-to instructions were not erroneous and

did not create a substantial risk of a miscarriage [22]

Ta

of justice. Commonwealth v. Elberry, 38 Mass. App.

Ct. 912, 912 (1995) Thus, the motion judge correctly

exercised his discretion to decline to consider these

claims. See Gagliardi, 418 Mass. 562, 565-67 (1994).

Third, in his motion for new trial, defendant

asserted that his appellate counsel was ineffective for

failure to raise certain claims of ineffective assistance

of trial counsel. The motion judge did not deem these

claims waived and assessed whether appellate

counsels decisions not to make certain arguments

amounted to ineffective assistance of counsel. (Def.

Addendum 6-18). Regardless of whether these

ineffective assistance claims are waived, the same

standard effectively applies, "because, if an omission

of counsel does not present a substantial risk of a

miscarriage of justice . . . there is no basis for an

ineffective assistance of counsel claim under either

the Federal or the State Constitution."

Commonwealth v. Young, 56 Mass. App. Ct. 60, 62

(2002) (quoting Curtis, 417 Mass. at 624 n.4

Based on [23] these standards, the motion judge

* To prevail on a motion for a new trial which alleges ineffective

assistance of counsel, a defendant bears the burden of

demonstrating that his trial attorneys conduct fell "measurably

below that which might be expected from an ordinary fallible

lawyer--and, if that is found, [that] it has deprived [him] of an...

otherwise available, substantial defence." Commonwealth v.

Saferian, 366 Mass. 89, 96 /1974). Such proof requires the

defendant to show that "better work might have accomplished

something material for the defense." Commonwealth v. Satterfield,

373 Mass. 109, 115 (1977). "Where the defendant challenges

counsels tactical or strategic decisions, he must establish that

such decisions are not merely unreasonable, but manifestly

unreasonable.'" Commonwealth v. Adams, 374 Mass. 722, 728

(1978) (citation omitted). The 'defendant bears a heavy burden in

establishing ineffective assistance of such magnitude as to entitle

him to a new trial," Commonwealth v. Brookins, 33 Mass. App. Ct.

626, 631 (1992), rev'd on other grounds, 416 Mass. 97 (1993), and

will not be permitted to "characterize as unreasonable a defense

that was merely unsuccessful.” Commonwealth v. Montanez, 410

Mass. 290, 295 (1991). See also Commonwealth v. White, 409

Mass. 266, 272 (1991).

8a

properly denied defendant's new trial motion without

a hearing because defendant did not show that.a

substantial risk of a miscarriage of justice occurred.

"Whether to hold a hearing on a motion for post-

conviction relief or to consider it solely on the basis of

affidavits and other supporting material is a decision

which rests in the sound discretion of the judge,

based on a determination whether the motion and

affidavits raise a substantial issue." Commonwealth v.

McGann, 20 Mass. App. Ct. 59, 62, rev, denied, 395

Mass. 1102 (1985) 'In determining whether a

‘substantial issue’ meriting an evidentiary hearing...

[24] has been raised, [appellate courts] look not only

to the seriousness of the issue asserted, but also to

the adequacy of the defendant's showing on the issue

raised." Commonwealth v. Devincent, 421 Mass. 64,

68 (1995). The motion judge exercised proper

discretion when he declined defendant's request for a

hearing because defendant did not meet his burden of

establishing an adequate factual basis to support his

allegations.

A. The motion judge properly denied

defendant's motion for new trial without a

hearing, where defendant did not present

any evidence to show that the prosecutor

deliberately deceived the jury in any manner

or that trial counsel was ineffective.

Citing to discrepancies between the trial

testimony of the victim and the other witnesses, as

well as to the victim's and witnesses’ trial testimony

as compared to their probable cause and grand jury

testimonies and statements in medical records,

defendant asserts that the prosecutor knowingly and

deliberately allowed the introduction of false

testimony at trial, thereby violating defendant's

9a

constitutional right to due process of the law.5 [25]

(D.Br. 15-25, 35-49). He further asserts that his trial

counsel was ineffective for failure to address these

issues at trial. (Id.). Because defendant provided no

evidence to demonstrate that the prosecutor

deliberately withheld evidence and knowingly allowed

perjured testimony/ the motion judge properly denied

defendant's motion for new trial without a hearing on

this matter.

It is true that where the prosecutor intentionally

introduces false testimony or remains silent when he

or she should have known of the perjured testimony

that a defendant's constitutional rights to due process

are violated. Agurs, 427 U.S. [26] at 103; Napue v.

Illinois, 360 U.S. 264 (1959); Commonwealth v.

Collins, 386 Mass. 1, (1982). Nevertheless, that

discrepancies exist between the witnesses’

testimonies, without more, does not demonstrate

such prosecutorial misconduct. Commonwealth v.

Sullivan, 410 Mass. 521, 532 (1991). Particularly,

where as here, the alleged discrepancies were placed

before the jury by both the prosecutor and defense

5 Defendant's claims are numerous in this, regard: by

comparing the victim's trial testimony to that of the other

witnesses and the medical records, which were admitted into

evidence by the prosecutor, defendant asserts that the prosecutor

allowed the victim to falsely testify regarding the extent of his eye

injury (D.Br. 15-25); by comparing the victim's trial testimony and

probable cause testimony, defendant argues that the prosecutor

knowingly allowed the victim to falsely testify that defendant had

waved the jagged bottle at the bartender and the rest of the

patrons (D.Br. 35-40); by taking the prosecutor's statement out of

context, defendant states that the prosecutor knew King was

drinking on duty and allowed King to testify to the contrary (D.Br.

4 1-43); by comparing various witnesses' testimony at the

probablethe prosecutor knowingly allowed perjury (D.Br. 44-49);

and defendant asserts that knowing that King's purported citizen's

arrest of defendant was unlawful, the prosecutor improperly

introduced evidence that there was a valid citizen's arrest (D.Br.

25-35).

10a

counsel, defendant did not meet his burden to show

that there was any deception on the part of the

prosecutor. See Sullivan, 410 Mass. at 521 ("simply

because awitness alters some portion of his

testimony at the time of trial is not sufficient reason

to conclude that the new testimony was false, or that

the Commonwealth knew or had reason to know that

it was false."') (quoting Commonwealth v. McLeod, 394

Mass. 727, 743, cert. denied, 474 U.S. 919 (1985)).

First, there is no evidence that the prosecutor acted

improperly. With respect to King's eye injury, King

testified at trial that he felt blood and vitreous fluid

coming from his left eye after defendant had twice

jammed his thumbnail into King's eye. (TR.II 201-03).

King testified that as a result he received a laceration

or cut on his eyeball. [27] (Tr.II 203-04). The

prosecutor introduced into evidence King's medical

records, which show that King did suffer a laceration.

(R.A. 120). Thus, the records validate King's

testimony.

Second, at trial, defendant's counsel argues that

that the medical records indicated that King suffered

from a "superficial abrasion," (Tr.V 1224-25), and that

if defendant had gouged at King's eye in the way he

claimed, then King would not have an eye. (Id.). Thus,

any discrepancy in the evidence as to the extent of

King's eye injury was before the jury; the prosecutor

did not deceive them, and trial counsel did not sit by

passively. Rather, the jury was left to its fact-finding

function to determine whether defendant did commit

assault with intent to maim by trying to gouge out Mr.

King's eye. See Sullivan, 410 Mass. at 532 ("a

prosecutor may marshal the evidence for or against

the credibility of the witness, and allow the jury to

determine whether the witness is telling the truth.").

There is no evidence that the prosecutor acted

improperly in this regard.

Similarly, the prosecutor did not improperly elicit

false testimony that defendant assaulted King and the

other bar patrons with the jagged edge of a [28] bottle,

lla

and counsel was not ineffective for failure to bring

this matter to the jury's attention. At trial, Mr. King

testified that after smashing the bottle, defendant

waved the jagged edge of it at the bartender and the

other patrons. (Tr.I 192). Any discrepancies between

this and other testimony were highlighted by both the

prosecutor and defense counsel. (See e.g. Tr.I 301-03,

308-10). Defendant presented no evidence to show

that the prosecutor knew King's trial testimony was

false and the prosecutor was not required to

independently assess King's credibility on that score.

Sullivan, 410 Mass. at 532; Commonwealth v.

Zuluaga, 43 Mass. App. Ct. 629, 646 (1997) ("[tlhat a

prosecution witness contradicted herself is

insufficient to show that the Commonwealth

knowingly used perjured testimony."). Furthermore,

defense counsel also elicited testimony from King that

he was not placed in fear by defendant's display of the

bottle because defendant could not have reached him.

(Tr.1I 310). Counsel's examination was so successful

that the trial judge directed a verdict of not guilty on

the assault with a dangerous weapon charge. (Tr.IV

850). There being no prosecutorial misconduct or [29]

ineffective assistance in this regard, defendant's

claims fail.

Likewise, defendant's comparison of every

miniscule discrepancy between the various witnesses,

trial and probable cause testimony (D.Br. 15-25, 35-

49), does not show that the prosecutor elicited false

trial testimony from them or deliberately presented an

incorrect theory of the case. Sullivan, 410 Mass. at

932; Zuluaga, supra.

Next, by taking a passage of the trial transcript out

of context, defendant asserts that the prosecutor

deliberately deceived the jury by allowing Thomas

King to testify that he was not drinking on duty.

(D.Br. 41-43). He further asserts that his trial

counsel was ineffective as he sat by passively during

this conduct. (Id.). Because defendant's version of |

events simply did not occur, his claim fails.

he RSET ee en A ee

ELLE LLL TT LTE INLET LET PERNT EA: LE: LT ITE EE

12a

The prosecutor did not state that he believed

Thomas King was drinking on duty. Rather he stated,

in essence, that defense counsel was making this

allegation and he wanted to rebut it. Through cross-

examination, trial counsel attempted to imply that the

reason King had not identified himself as a police

officer that night was because he was inebriated and

[30] drinking on duty. (Tr.II 235-237, 285-86, 395,

406-09). To rebut this claim, the prosecutor sought to

introduce King's statement contained in the medical

records to hospital personnel that he was a police

officer. (Tr.II 448-452). Trial counsel opposed this and

the following transpired at side bar:

The Court: I don't understand how the

identification of himself as a police

officer is corroboration or that the

memorial hospital [record] is pertinent to

this at all.

[The Prosecutor]: Because of the

allegation that was made by -

The Court: He didn't identify himself at

the scene.

[The prosecutor): Reason he didn't do

that is because he was drinking on duty.

The Court: He already said that he told

them at the hospital that he was [a

police officer].

(Tr.II 452). As is evident from the transcript, the judge

interrupted the prosecutor midstatement; after this

interruption, the prosecutor continued his assertion

that he wanted in evidence King's statement to

hospital personnel that he was a police officer in order

to rebut trial counsel's implication that King did not

13a

identify himself as such because he was drinking on

duty. [31]

Furthermore, trial counsel vigorously pursued the

idea that Mr. King was drinking on duty and

inebriated. Counsel cross-examined Mr. King at

length on this point, (Tr.II 234-38, 386, 406-09), and

called John Hayes who testified that Mr. King was

intoxicated when he entered the car to go to the

hospital. (Tr.IV 917). Trial counsel also argued in

summation that King was drinking on duty and that

he did not reveal his position because he was

inebriated. (Tr.V 1208-12 11). Thus, contrary to

defendant's arguments, the prosecutor never stated

that Mr. King was on duty when he was drinking at

the bar, and trial counsel did pursue this point.

In sum, defendant did not raise a substantial issue

with an adequate factual basis to show that the

prosecutor engaged in deliberate deception or that

trial counsel was ineffective for allowing this

deception. Accordingly, the motion judge properly

denied defendant's motion without an evidentiary

hearing.

B. Counsel rendered effective assistance

when he opposed giving of a citizen's arrest

Instruction to the jury, where the evidence

did not warrant such an Instruction. [32]

Defendant next argues that his counsel was

ineffective for failure to request a so-called "citizen's

arrest” instruction, on the theory that Mr. King, an

off-duty police officer out of his jurisdiction, used

force to effectuate an arrest of defendant. (D.Br. 25-

35).© As the trial judge and defense counsel

6 The prosecutor did pursue this theory at trial on the basis

that King could have effectuated a valid citizen's arrest of

defendant because King witnessed an assault and battery with a

dangerous weapon on Ms. Mann, and defendant assaulted Mr.

King and the other people in the bar with a dangerous weapon.

The trial judge directed a verdict on the assault with a dangerous

eee

—___

l4a

determined, the instruction was not warranted,

therefore, counsel was not ineffective for failure to

request the instruction.

A prerequisite to an instruction on citizen's arrest

is that the "citizen" use force to effectuate the arrest.

See Model Jury Instructions for Use in Superior

Court, §3.16.2 (1999) (citing Commonwealth v. Klein,

372 Mass. 823, 830-31 (1977)). No view of the

evidence-established that King used force to effectuate

an arrest. [33]

The Commonwealth's evidence showed that

defendant threw at least one punch at King and then

King wrestled with defendant. (Tr.II 200-01). Knowing

that he was out of his jurisdiction, King never

intended to physically touch, arrest, or restrain

defendant but instead followed him in order to inform

the police of defendant's whereabouts. (Tr.II 213, 386-

93). King simply told defendant that he was not going

anywhere until the Worcester Police arrived because

defendant had hurt a woman in a bar. (Tr.II 199, 219).

~~ King used no force on defendant. (Tr.II 200-01, 213,

393). At this point, defendant threw several punches

at King, one of which connected. (Tr.II 200). King

then put his arms around defendant in an effort to

stop defendant from continuing his assault. (Tr.II

201). Defendant jammed his thumb into King's eye.

(Id.). Mr. King eventually pulled the thumb out and

tackled defendant to the ground in an effort to stop

the assault. (Tr.II 20 1-02). Defendant then stuck his

thumb back into Mr. King's eye. (Tr.II 202). Mr. King

pulled defendant's thumb out and rolled away from

defendant. (Tr.II 202) Because King did not use force

on defendant to [34] effectuate an arrest, the

instruction on citizen's arrest was not warranted.

weapon charge. (Tr.IV 850). Defendant was not indicted for

assault and battery with a dangerous weapon as Ms. Mann's

identity and whereabouts were unknown until one month before

the trial of this matter. (Tr.I 248-254).

lSa

By contrast, defendant testified that King decided

he was going to give defendant "a whooping" when he

saw defendant yell at Jeff Schlener. (Tr.IV 1035).

King, with two individuals "flanking" him, then

approached defendant. (Tr.IV 1036-37). One of the

individuals then started wrestling with defendant,

who accidentally broke a beer bottle in the affray.

(Tr.IV 1039-40). Defendant then ran out of the bar

with a "gang” pursuing him. (Tr.IV 1044-45). King and

another then tackled defendant and a tussle ensued.

(Tr.IV 1048). When defendant was subdued and on

the ground, King went over to defendant and gouged

him in the eye. (Tr.IV 1056). Thus, defendant's

version of events does not establish that King was

trying to make a citizen's arrest, but, if believed,

simply established King as the initiator of combat.

Accordingly, the trial judge correctly labeled this 2

"classic self-defense" case. (Tr.II 216). A citizen's

arrest instruction not being warranted, counsel was

not ineffective for failure to ask for one. See

Commonwealth v. McCormick, 48 Mass. App. Ct. 106,

109-10 (1999) (counsel not ineffective for [35] failure

to request limiting instruction, where instruction

would have been inappropriate or the request for one

denieaj, rev. denied, 430 Mass. 1113 (2000).

Even if the evidence supported a citizen's arrest

instruction, defendant's cause would not have been

aided if the judge had given it. Defendant asserts that

as a matter of law, King's citizen's arrest was unlawful

because defendant had not in fact been convicted of a

felony. (D.Br. 25-35). Defendant is incorrect.

"A private citizen may lawfully arrest someone who

has in fact committed a felony. (Generally the ‘in fact

committed’ element must be satisfied by a

conviction.)" Commonwealth v. Claiborne, 423 Mass.

275, 280 (1996) (parenthetical in original). This

requirement, however, is relaxed in the case of a

police officer acting out of his jurisdiction. Id. at 280-

81. In that case, only probable cause is required to

arrest. Id. The evidence clearly established that Mr

l6a

King, a Westboro Detective, had probable cause to

arrest defendant for the commission of a felony, either

assault and battery with a dangerous weapon or

assault with a dangerous weapon. See Model Jury

[36] Instructions for Use in Superior Court, (1999),

2.20, 2.22.2 (outlining the elements of these offenses).

Mr. King witnessed defendant smash a beer bottle

up against a pole or on the bar with patrons in the

vicinity. Pieces of flying glass cut Ms. Mann above

and below her eye, causing her to bleed and receive

butterfly stitches in that area. After shattering the

base of the bottle, defendant held the bottle in a

jabbing manner toward the bartender and, other

patrons. This evidence "was 'sufficient to warrant a

person of reasonable caution in believing that the

defendant had committed .. . a crime.'"” Claiborne,

423 Mass. at 281 (quoting Commonwealth v. Gullick,

386 Mass. 278, 283 (1982)). Because the evidence

established that probable cause existed for Mr. King

to arrest defendant, the omission of the citizen's

arrest instruction had-a minimal effect, if any, upon

the jury, and counsel was not ineffective for failing to

seek the instruction. [37]

Defendant also claims that his counsel was

ineffective for failure to move to suppress all the

evidence gained as a result of the purported unlawful

citizen's arrest. Because a citizen's arrest did not

occur and, in any event, Mr. King had probable cause

to arrest defendant, such a motion would not have

been, successful. See Commonwealth v. Harris, 11

Mass. App. Ct. 165, 172 rev denied, 383 Mass. 890

(1981). Accordingly, counsel was not ineffective for

failure to file such a motion. Commonwealth v. Pike,

52 Mass. App. Ct. 650, 656 (2001).

7 The jury's verdict makes clear that they rejected defendant's

version of events that he did not commit any crime in the bar and

was attacked by Mr. King and his alleged cohorts. See

Commonwealth v. Sirois, 437 Mass. 845, - - - n.13 (2002) (verdict

showed that jury rejected defendants version of events).

E fd

17a

C. Counsel rendered effective assistance

when he permitted the introduction of the

victim's medical records in lieu of eliciting

expert opinion Interpreting the records and

attempted to use the records to show that

the victim exaggerated his injuries.

In one breath defendant claims that his counsel was

ineffective for failure to call a medical expert to

decipher the purportedly illegible medical records

because they assisted his claim that the victim

exaggerated his eye injury to the jury. (D.Br. 21). In

the next breath, defendant claims that his counsel

was ineffective for failure to oppose the admissibility

of these medical records. (D.Br. 16-20). Because

there is no evidence that the medical [38] records

were illegible and no indication that there were

inadmissible, and counsel's decision to agree to their

admission was strategically sound, defendant has not

shown that counsels assistance was ineffective.

First, the victim's medical records were admissible.

While it is true that illegible portions of medical

records (either due to abbreviations and technical

jargon or indecipherability) should be redacted,

"{ijllegibility is a relative matter and there must be

broad discretion in the trial judge to determine in a

particular case whether writing in a hospital record

can be read and decoded." Commonweaith v. Baldwin,

24 Mass. App. Ct. 200, 203, rev. denied, 400 Mass.

1102 (1987). The judge did not abuse his discretion

when he admitted the records into evidence, because

Lney were legible.

During the victim's testimony the _ prosecutor

sought to introduce the victim's medical records. (Tr. II

446-53). During the lengthy sidebar on this matter, it

is clear that the prosecutor, trial counsel, and the

judge had no problems deciphering the records. (Id.).

Counsel succeeded in convincing the judge to redact

certain portions of the records, including the victim's

report that he had vitreous [39] fluid coming from his

}

18a

eye. (Tr.II 450, 452). While looking at the records, the

judge also redacted other portions that were hearsay

not falling within any exception that would render

them admissible. (Tr.II 450-52). Implicit in this

discussion about the content of the records is the

judge's opinion that the records were legible. As the

motion judge found, defendant forwarded no evidence

in his motion for new trial that they were otherwise.

(Def. Addendum 11). Accordingly, the trial judge did

not abuse his discretion when he admitted the

medical records into evidence and trial counsel was

not ineffective for failure to object to their

admissibility. See Commonwealth v. McLeod, 39

Mass. App. Ct. 461, 463-64 (1995) (counsel not

ineffective for failure to object to admission of

evidence that was not "clearly objectionable"), rev.

denied, 422 Mass. 1101 (1996).

Similarly, counsel was not ineffective for failure to

call an expert witness to interpret the medical

records, as any information to which he would have

testified was cumulative of that before the jury, and

his testimony would not have been dispositive of

whether defendant had the intent to gouge out Mr.

King's eye. [40]

In his motion for new trial, defendant provided the

affidavit of Dr. Joseph Hull. (R.A. 126-27). Dr. Hull

averred that King's medical records revealed that King

suffered from a superficial abrasion to the lids anda

small laceration to the conjunctiva and that there was

no bleeding and the injuries were consistent with

being poked in the eye. (R A. 126-27). The laceration

and abrasion information, however, was contained in

the medical records' before the jury. Trial counsel

also presented John Hayes, who, unlike Dr. Hull, saw

Mr. King right after the incident, and testified that he

did not see any blood or fluid coming from King's eye

and that his injury did not look serious. (Tr.IV 916-

18). He further testified that Mr. King stated that he

must have gotten "poked in the eye.” (Tr.IV 918).

Based on this information trial counsel argued that

19a

King greatly exaggerated his eye injury. (Tr.V 1224-

25). Because the additional testimony would have

been cumulative of the evidence counsel had already

presented at trial and not as convincing given the Dr.

Hull did not see King after the incident, defendant has

not shown how his counsels performance was

deficient or deprived him of a substantial ground of

defense. See [41] Commonwealth v. Sarmanian, 426

Mass. 405, 407 (1998) (counsel not ineffective for

failure to present additional witnesses that would

have been cumulative of evidence already presented

at trial). Accordingly, defendant's assertion that his

counsel was ineffective for failure to object to the

admission of the medical records or call an expert to

interpret the records for the jury, fails.

D. The prosecutor properly commented on

the evidence in his summation.

Lastly, defendant asserts that the motion judge

erroneously denied his motion for new trial because

the prosecutor's opening statement and closing

argument were purportedly rife with every type of

prosecutorial error. (D.Br. 49-50). Defendant's claim

is frivolous.

First, defendant attempts to incorporate into his

brief those portions of his motion for new trial alleging

prosecutorial error in this regard. (D.Br. 49-50).

Those issues not directly addressed in his brief are

waived and should not be addressed by this Court.

Mass. R. App. P. 16(a)(4).

Second, in his brief, defendant addresses one

claim, namely, that the prosecutor referred to facts

not in evidence when he stated in his closing

argument that defendant admitted/testified that he

gouged Mr. King in the eye. (D.Br. 50). Viewing the

closing argument in its entirety, Commonwealth v.

Degro, 432 Mass. 319, 325-26 (2000), the prosecutor

did not misstate the evidence.

mip i a

20a

The prosecutor stated as follows:

And then [defendant] takes the stand

and he tells you this story. Remember

when he said he gouged King's eye?

Did that make sense to anybody? I'm

sorry, he said, King gouged his eye.

Does that make sense to anybody? That

King came over to him while he was on

the ground and gouged his eye. Those

were his words, 'He gouged my eye.’

(Tr.V 1234 (emphasis added)). As is demonstrated

above, the prosecutor immediately recognized his

misstatement, apologized for it and corrected it. This

correction, in conjunction with the judge's repeated

instructions that closing arguments and statements of

counsel are not evidence, ensured that the

prosecutor's argument did not create a substantial

risk of a miscarriage of justice. Commonwealth v.

Maynard, 436 Mass. 558, 570-7 1 (2002). Accordingly,

the motion judge correctly rejected this claim. [43]

Conclusion.

For the reasons set forth above, the denial of

defendant's motion for new trial should be affirmed.

Respectfully Submitted,

JOHN J. CONTE,

District Attorney

For the Middle District,

ANNE S. KENNEDY,

Assistant District Attorney

BBO #635653

Courthouse, Room 220,

Two Main Street,

Worcester, MA 01608

(S08) 757-2786

OCTOBER 2002 [44]

2la

APPENDIX E

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS

WORCESTER, ss. SUPERIOR COURT

CRIMINAL ACTION

NO. 93-0135

COMMONWEALTH

vs.

MICHAEL ELBERY

MEMORANDUM OF DECISION AND ORDER ON

DEFENDANT'S MOTION FOR A NEW TRIAL AND

REQUEST FOR AN EVIDENTIARY HEARING

On July 2, 1993, after a five-day jury trial, the

defendant, Michael Elbery, was convicted of assault

and battery (G.L. c. 265, §13A), assault with intent to

maim (G.L. c. 265, §15), and being a disorderly person

(G.L. c. 272, §53).! A fourth count of assault with a

dangerous weapon (G.L. c. 265, §15B(b)) was

dismissed at trial. The defendant's convictions were

affirmed on appeal. 38 Mass. App. Ct. 912.

Representing himself pro Se, the defendant now moves

for a new trial pursuant to Mass. R. Crm. P. 30(b)?.

1 The defendant was sentenced to ten (10) years' imprisonment

at M.C.I., Concord, on the maiming charge. At the sentencing the

judge, Toomey, J., expressed his intention that the defendant

serve one (1) year. The defendant was also sentenced to

concurring one (1) year's probation for the other two convictions to

be served after the maiming sentence.

2 Despite a 60-page limit ordered by Judge Toomey, the

defendant submitted a 115-page memorandum of fact and law

and an eight-page amendment to the original memorandum in

support of his motion for new trial. Specifically, Judge Toomey's

February, 28, 1997 order stated that, "Defendant's memorandum

shall not exceed 60 pages including items of appendix, addendum

LT TT TT ATTRA TT

22a

In addition, the defendant seeks an evidentiary

hearing and further discovery as allowed by Mass. R.

Crim. P. 30 regarding the injuries he allegedly

sustained by Thomas King. Following are the grounds

upon which the defendant primarily relies: ineffective

assistance of trial counsel? and appellate counsel‘,

judicial misconduct, prosecutorial misconduct®, that

the verdict was against the weight of the evidence

(insufficient evidence)’, inadequate jury instructions§,

inadmissible evidence admitted during trial?, and

duplicative sentencing!°. For the following reasons, it

is hereby ORDERED that the defendant's motion for a

new trial and request for an evidentiary hearing are

DENIED.

‘

and copies of documents as to which Defendant makes reference

in the memo."

The defendant filed a petition for relief to the Supreme Judicial

Court from the Superior Court order limiting his memorandum in

support of his motion for new trial to 60 pages. In a decision

dated July 13, 2000, a single justice of the Supreme Judicial

Court denied the petition, and the defendant appealed. The

Supreme Judicial Court held that the defendant had another

available remedy and, thus, was not entitled to extraordinary

relief. Elbery v. Commonwealth, 432 Mass. 1007, 1007-1008

(2000).

3 See Counts I - XV, excluding III.

4 See Counts XVIII.

5 See Counts IX and Count I of the amended motion.

6 See Counts II, IV, VI, VIII, X, XII, and XVI.

7 See Counts VI and VIII.

8 See Count XVII.

9 See Count III.

10 See Count XIV.

23a

BACKGROUND

The trial transcript indicates that the jury could

have reasonably found the following facts:

At the time of the incident at issue, Michael Elbery

was 42 years old. He had previously owned a bar in

the city of Worcester. On the evening of September 28,

1992, he stopped by the Winner's Circle bar located

on Shrewsbury Street in Worcester. Elbery was

acquainted with the bartender of that evening, Jeff

Schlener. He did not know any of the other 10-15

patrons in the bar at the time. The Winner's Circle is a

small establishment and all of the patrons were

seated at the semi-circle shaped bar. Elbery was

served two beers that evening, finishing approximately

one of them before the incident occurred. He was not

intoxicated. Among the other patrons in [21] the bar

were two off-duty doormen employed by the bar, two

young women who had stopped by after working a

waitressing shift at the Ground Round, and Thomas

King, an off-duty detective for the Westborough Police

Department. King had consumed approximately two

cocktails, but was not intoxicated.

An argument ensued between Elbery and Schlener.

Schlener was poking fun at the fact that Elbery had

lost his bar establishment and was drinking cheap

beer. King, a friend of Schlener, came to the

bartender's defense and told Elbery to back off.

Although voices rose, there was_ no physical

confrontation at this point and everyone returned to

their seats. Approximately one half of an hour passed

and again an argument ensued. While it is not

entirely clear from the record, the jury could have

reasonably found at this point that Elbery became

quite upset and smashed a beer bottle on the bar or a

nearby pole. The bottle shattered and Elbery was left

holding the barrel of the bottle. A shard of glass flew

and struck Christina Mann, one of the waitresses,

under her eye causing her to bleed. Mann was

|

24a

assisted by another patron who happened to be a

chiropractor, and was later taken by a friend toa

nearby hospital.

Within about a minute of the bottle breaking,

Elbery left the bar. King yelled at him to stop and

wait for the Worcester Police to arrive as someone had

been injured inside. Elbery testified that he intended

to get into his car and leave. However, King testified

that he did not see keys in Elbery's hands and did not

see Elbery reach for his pocket. Once outside the bar,

King pursued Elbery down the street. In addition to

King, the two off-duty doormen and between one and

three other patrons of the bar also followed Elbery. It

appears that King was in the front of the group since

he testified that he did not realize others had followed

him out of the bar. Although it is unclear exactly

what happened at this point, the jury reasonably

could have found that King caught up to Elbery and

an altercation ensued. King testified that Elbery

threw [3] multiple punches at him and then, in

response, King tackled him. As both of them were on

the ground, Elbery stuck his finger in King's eye doing

serious damage. The group assisted the injured King

by holding Elbery on the ground thereby allowing

King to free himself from the altercation. Prior to the

police arriving, King was brought to a nearby hospital

by two men in a passing car. The Worcester Police

arrived shortly thereafter and arrested Elbery.

Following his July 2,1993 jury trial, the defendant

received a sentence of one (1) year's imprisonment on

the maiming charge and concurrent sentences of one

(1) year's probation for the other two convictions to be

served after the maiming sentence. The defendant's

sentence was stayed on July 15, 1993, pending an

appeal of his convictions. With new counsel Robert C.

Sheketoff, Esq. representing him, the defendant

appealed his convictions based on a prejudicial

statement made by the prosecutor during closing

arguments and on improper and incomplete jury

25a

instruction.!! On January 26, 1995, the Appeals

Court affirmed the convictions in a written decision. !2

Commonwealth v. Elberry (sic), 38 Mass. App. Ct. 912

(1995), rev, denied, 419 Mass. 1107 (1995).

DISCUSSION

I. Motion for a New Trial Standard

"The trial judge upon motion in writing may grant a

new trial at any time if it appears that justice may not

have been done." Mass. R. Crim. P. 30(b). The

standard is purposely broad as the disposition of a

"motion for new trial is addressed to the sound

discretion of the judge." Commonwealth v. Moore, 408

Mass. 117, 125 (1990). "[O]nce the regular

procedures have run their course the presumption

tilts heavily toward finality." Commonwealth v.

Amirault, 424 [4] Mass. 618, 637 (1997). "New trials

should not be granted except for substantial reasons."

Id, quoting Commonwealth v. Tucceri, 412 Mass.

401, 406 (1992). "The mere fact that, if the process

were redone, there might be a different outcome, or

that some lingering doubt about the first outcome

may remain, cannot be a sufficient reason to reopen

what society has a right to consider closed." Id.

II. Waiver of Claims

As mentioned previously, this motion for a new trial

comes after the conviction has already been affirmed

on direct appeal. Consequently, "[t]he concern for

11 The defendant was represented by Louis P. Aloise, Esq. at

trial.

12 The Appeals Court found that the prosecutor's statement

was prejudicial but the corrective instruction used by the trial

judge was adequate. The Appeals Court also determined that the

trial judge's instructions concerning the elements of the crimes

were sufficient.

26a

finality demands that a defendant present every claim

and argument he might fairly have had available to

him the first time around.” Amirault, 424 Mass. at

639. Therefore, "absent extraordinary circumstances

the defendant who had a fair opportunity to raise

[an issue] may not belatedly invoke that right to

reopen a proceeding that has already run its course."

Id. (citations omitted). Furthermore, "if [the

defendant] had an opportunity to invoke the right and

failed to avail himself of it, the claim is waived and

may not be raised for the first time on collateral

attack." Id. "The test for waiver is whether the 'theory

on which his argument is premised has been

sufficiently developed to put him on notice that the

issue is a live issue." Id. (citations omitted). In

addition, the doctrine of waiver "applies equally to

constitutional claims which could have been raised,

but were not raised’ on direct appeal or in a prior

motion for a new trial." Commonwealth v. Watson,

409 Mass. 110, 112 (1991), quoting Commonwealth v.

Deeran, 397 Mass. 136, 139 (1986).

The "motion judge's discretion under Rule 30(c)(2)

to grant relief from such a waiver is limited if the

conviction has already received appellate review."

Commonwealth v. LeFave, 430 Mass. 169, 174 n.5

(1999). If the issue has been waived, the judge may

not consider it, unless in the exercise of discretion the

judge determines there is a substantial risk of a

miscarriage of [5] justice. See id. at 173-174. The

judge's discretion in granting relief from waiver should

not be exercised lightly, and should only be exercised

if "upon sober reflection, it appears that a miscarriage

of justice might otherwise result." Commonwealth v.

Gagliardi, 418 Mass. 562, 565 (1994), cert. denied,

513 U.S. 1091 (1995). Here, the defendant's claims of

judicial misconduct, prosecutorial misconduct, that

the verdict was against the weight of the evidence

(insufficient evidence), inadequate jury instructions,

inadmissible evidence admitted during trial, and

duplicative sentencing were all areas of the law that

;

a

4

AI

B

‘

27a

were sufficiently developed at the time of his appeal to

put the defendant on notice that these issues were

live issues. Consequently, all of the above claims

could have been raised on direct appeal but were not.

Therefore, the above issues are waived.

If. Ineffective Assistance of Appellate Counsel

The defendant's ineffective assistance of counsel

claims are also subject to the waiver rule. See Lefave,

430 Mass. at 17 1-173; see also Commonwealth v.

Evardo, 426 Mass. 48, 45,50 (1997). In situations

where the defendant has been represented by the

same attorney at trial and on direct appeal, that

defendant may seek review of the trial counsel's

performance, even though no ineffective assistance of

counsel claim was asserted on direct appeal. See

Egardo, 426 Mass. at 49. The reasoning behind this

exception to the waiver rule is "that it would be

‘unrealistic to expect [the defendant's] first attorney to

have raised a claim calling his own competence into

question.” Id., quoting Commonwealth v. Lanoue, 409

Mass. 1, 3-4 (1990). In situations where the

defendant has had new appellate counsel, the

defendant's "first opportunity" to raise the issue of

trial counsel's ineffectiveness would be on direct

appeal. See Egardyu, 426 Mass. at 49-50 ("[b]ecause

trial and appellate counsel were associates in the

practice of criminal law, the second attorney thus

furnished the defendant his ‘first opportunity’ to raise

the issue of [6] trial counsel's effectiveness"); see also

Breese v. Commonwealth, 415 Mass. 249, 250 n. 1

(1993).

In this case, the defendant's first opportunity to

raise an ineffective assistance of trial counsel was on

direct appeal since the defendant had different

representation at that time. Therefore, the

defendant's ineffective assistance of trial counsel

claim is waived. However, the defendant also claims

that his appellate counsel was ineffective because he

) | |

28a

failed to argue on appeal that his trial counsel

rendered ineffective assistance. This is the

defendant's first opportunity to raise an ineffective

assistance of appellate counsel. Therefore, the

question of whether the defendant's appellate counsel

was ineffective necessarily depends on whether he

actually received ineffective assistance at his trial.

See Breese, 415 Mass. at 252; Commonwealth v. Van

Zant, 1999 WL 823745 n.6 (Super. Ct. 1999) (Neel,

J.). Consequently, this Court has reviewed the trial

transcript to determine whether the defendant

received ineffective assistance of coun:el at trial

which, in turn, would also answer whether or not the

defendant's appellate counsel was ineffective by

failing to bring an ineffective assistance of trial

counsel claim on direct appeal.

The defendant bears a heavy burden in

establishing ineffective assistance of counsel such

that a new trial is required. See Commonwealth v.

Brookins, 33 Mass. App. Ct. 626, 631 (1992), rev'd on

other grounds, 416 Mass. 97 (1993). In order to

support a claim of ineffective assistance of counsel,

the defendant must show serious incompetency,

inefficiency, or inattention of counsel falling

"measurably below that which might be expected from

an ordinary fallible lawyer" and that such

inadequacies "likely deprived [the defendant] of an

otherwise available, substantial ground of defense."

Commonwealth v. Clark, 44 Mass. App. Ct. 502, 512

(1998), quoting Commonwealth v. Saferian, 366 Mass.

89, 96 (1974). To succeed on a claim of [7] ineffective

assistance of counsel, the defendant must show that

better work by trial counsel might have accomplished

something material for the defense. See

Commonwealth v. Satterfield, 373 Mass. 109, 115

(1977). Counsel's tactical judgments must be

"manifestly unreasonable" to constitute ineffective

assistance. See Commonwealth v. White, 409 Mass.

266, 273 (1991). "Judicial scrutiny of counsel's

performance must be highly deferential, 'indulg[ing] a

— ee ee

ee ert sae) Fee RHA SRS IONS ea sat i ata

29a

strong presumption that counsel's conduct falls

within the wide range of reasonable professional

assistance." Commonwealth v. Florentino, 396 Mass.

689, 690 (1986) (citation omitted).

At bar, there is no evidence that trial counsel's

performance was ineffective nor that it deprived the

defendant of an otherwise available substantial

ground of defense. The trial counsel's performance

fell well within the realm of what may be expected

from an ordinary fallible attorney. In his 115-page

memorandum of fact and law in support of his motion

for new trial, Elbery claims multiple instances of

ineffective assistance of counsel on the part of his

attorney at trial, Louis P. Aloise. The defendant

makes a series of allegations which either are not

grounded in the record or do not amount to ineffective

assistance of counsel. Generally, Elbery claims that

Aloise conspired with the prosecution to withhold the

truth about the evidence upon which he was

convicted. However, there is no evidence of any

conspiracy. Most of Elbery's contentions arise from

strategic decisions on the part of his trial counsel that

did not impact the strong case the Commonwealth

had against him. Commonwealth v. Rondeau, 378

Mass. 408, 413 (1979) (strategic trial decisions do not

constitute ineffective assistance of counsel unless

they are "manifestly unreasonable"). See also

Commonwealth v. Finstein, 426 Mass. 200, 203

(1997); Commonwealth v. Roberts, 423 Mass. 17, 20

(1996). The following issues are being raised solely

for the purpose of determining whether a new trial is

warranted based upon [8] ineffective assistance of

trial counsel.

A. Failure to Introduce Evidence

There is no evidence that Aloise conspired to

withhold pertinent information from the jury. Elbery

alleges that Aloise conspired with the prosecution to

withhold from the jury the true cause of King's eye

30a -

injuries. There is no evidence that this occurred.

Aloise described King's eye injury in a manner

advantageous to Elbery by noting that the injury was

a "superficial abrasion" (Tr. Vol. V/ 122513) and that if

the facts occurred as King described them, "Mr. King

would not have his eye in the head today." Tr. Vol.

V/ 1224. Elbery also alleges that his trial counsel

failed to highlight to the jury the fact that there was

no police investigation, and that he was attacked by a

"gang of six." Contrary to this contention, in his

opening statement, Aloise questioned whether an

adequate investigation had been conducted because it

essentially consisted of a dispatch. Tr. Vol. 1/127. In

addition, in his closing statement, Aloise stated that

Elbery was being chased by six or seven individuals.

Tr. Vol. V/1218.

Elbery also claims that Aloise was ineffective

because he failed to call certain witnesses which

would have assisted his case. However, there is no

merit to this contention. There is no evidence that

calling Dr. Stephen Sawyer as a witness would have

provided Elbery with a substantial ground of defense

because he would not lie on the stand and thus upset

the alleged conspiracy between Aloise and the

prosecution. There is also no evidence that calling

Alice Arsenault (a friend of Mann), Don Wynne, or

Assistant District Attorney Michael Salloum as

witnesses would have provided a material defense for

Elbery. See Commonwealth v. Epsom, 422 Mass.

1002, 1003 (1996) (at hearing on motion for new trial

based on ineffective assistance of counsel where

lawyer failed to call witness providing evidence of self-

defense, court required [9] defendant to show: (1)

witness was available at time of trial; (2) the testimony

would have been sufficient to raise the issue of self-

defense; and (3) that testimony would likely have

made a material difference in the trial).

13 citations to the Trial Transcript references are indicated as

"Tr. vol," followed by the volume and page number.

3la

Elbery alleges that King testified at the probable

cause hearing at the Worcester District Court on

January 20, 1993, that there was no assault with a

beer bottle and that Aloise failed to introduce this

evidence to the jury. However, King did in fact testify

during the proceedings that there was an assault with

a beer bottle. In response to Assistant District

Attorney Todd Mathieson's direct examination of King,

King stated that "Mr. Elbery was holding the neck of

the bottle in a threatening gesture, yelling."!4

Moreover, Aloise did raise doubt during the trial as to

whether there was a breaking of a beer bottle at all

("Mr. Taraskiewicz didn't see the bottle break. Nobody

saw the bottle break" (Tr. Vol. V/ 1217); "Mr. Schlener

said that he didn't see the bottle break, he heard it...

he said he lied to the police in that he was assaulted

with that beer bottle” (Tr. Vol. V/12 19)).

Elbery claims that Aloise was also ineffective

because he failed to admit Elbery's medical records

regarding his injuries and evidence regarding the

clothing he wore during the incident. However, Aloise

did admit Elbery's medical records from Hahnemann

Hospital as Exhibit 23. Tr. Vol. V/1196. Further,

Aloise introduced photographs B, C, D, and E for

identification which pictured Elbery's alleged injuries

on the event in question. Tr. Vol. IV/812-816. Elbery

also claims Aloise was ineffective because there was

an illegal citizen's arrest by King which Aloise failed to

make clear to the jury. However, there was not an

illegal citizen's arrest. Aloise did, in his cross-

examination of King, elucidate the fact that King was

off-duty and acting in the capacity of a private citizen

that night.!5 For these reasons, it was also [10]

unnecessary for Aloise to file a motion to suppress

14 Worcester District Court Proceedings, January 20, 1993,

page 9.

1S Worcester District Court Proceedings, January 20, 1993,

page 39.

iii

32a

evidence from the alleged illegal citizen's arrest of

Elbery.

Elbery claims that Aloise failed to subpoena Mann's

medical records which Elbery believes would show the

true nature of her injuries. However, the extent of

Mann's injuries were not at issue in this case since

Elbery's convictions related to the injuries inflicted on

King. Elbery alleges that Aloise also failed to

subpoena evidence from the Westborough Police

Department regarding King's demotion and drinking

on duty which he believes created a motive for King to

lie. There is no evidence that this created a motive to

lie nor that it deprived Elbery of a substantial ground

of defense. Compare Commonwealth v. Juzba, 46

Mass. App. Ct. 319, 322-323 (1999) (although

counsel's failure to obtain police chemist's report

and/or police chemist's testimony regarding the

absence of sperm or seminal fluid in a rape case did

fall below what was expected from an ordinary fallible

lawyer, it did not deprive the defendant of a

substantial, available defense where it corroborated

the defendant's testimony).

B. Failure to Object

Elbery alleges that Aloise failed to object to certain

evidence which was prejudicial. However, there is no

evidence that Aloise's alleged failures to object

deprived Elbery of a material ground of defense.

Elbery contends that Aloise failed to object to the

admission of King's medical report which he asserts

was inadmissible due to its references to liability as

well as illegible and hyper-technical content. See G.L.

c. 233, §79. However, there is no evidence that the

medical report suffered from this condition. Any

references to liability in the medical report do not

necessitate retrial because they do not add anything

to the testimonies at trial. See Commonwealth v.

Brattman, 10 Mass. App. Ct. 579, 586 (1980).

mesos

suis phe TSA gS ta eee: He STAN LSE a EON RN ie BE i a al

33a

Elbery claims that Aloise failed to object to

Assistant District Attorney Ball expressing [1 1] his

own opinion and misstating facts and testimony in his

opening and closing arguments. There is no evidence

that Assistant District Attorney Ball's opening and

closing arguments contained such errors. The

prosecutor may comment on evidence developed at

trial and draw inferences from such evidence. See

Commonwealth v. Bradshaw, 385 Mass. 244, 275

(1982); Commonwealth v. Chavis, 415 Mass. 703, 713

(1993). The prosecutor may also make a fair response

to an attack on the credibility of a government

witness. Chavis, 415 Mass. at 713, citing

Commonwealth v. Simmons, 20 Mass. App. Ct. 366,

371 (1985); see Commonwealth v. Smith, 404 Mass.

1, 7 (1989). The judge also provided curative

instructions in stating that "[t]he opening statements

and the closing statements that we just heard from

counsel are not a substitute for evidence. They are

only intended to assist you in understanding the

evidence and the contentions of the parties." Tr. Vol.

V/ 1257-58.

Elbery also states that Aloise failed to object to

various inappropriate instructions or to the fact that

certain instructions were absent. Again, there is no

evidence that the instructions were improper or

deficient. Among other things, the trial judge

instructed the jurors on their role as fact-finders and

the importance of focusing solely on the evidence, the

difference between direct and circumstantial evidence,

inferences, the Commonwealth's burden of proof

beyond a reasonable doubt, consciousness of guilt,

disorderly conduct, assault and battery, assault with

intent to maim, intoxication, and self-defense. (Tr.

Vol. V/ 1251-1294). There was nothing improper

about the instructions to the jury. See

Commonwealth v. Melton, 47 Mass. App. Ct. 904, 905

(1999) (counsel's failure to request a more forceful

curative instruction concerning opinion testimony did

not amount to error). Since there was no reason to

34a

object, Aloise's failure to object was justified.

Compare Commonwealth v. Nunes, 430 Mass. 1, 7

(1999) (failure to object to three infractions by the

Commonwealth on cross of defendant, although

improper, [12] would not have affected jury verdict

and, therefore, there was no ineffective assistance of

counsel).

C. Conflicts of Interest

Although Elbery alleges that there are various

conflicts of interest which deprived him of a fair trial,

there is no substantiation on the record for his

allegations. For instance, he alleges that Aloise's

secretary is "best friends" with bartender Schlener 's

wife and that Aloise was ineffective because he failed

to stop Aloise 's secretary from passing along

confidential information to her friend's husband,

Schlener. However, there is no evidence on the record

that any such conflict of interest existed nor that any

such acts occurred. Elbery also alleges that because

Aloise asked Elbery to take a lie detector test it shows

that Aloise had a conflict of interest because he was

repeatedly reinforcing the prosecution's arguments.

Again, there is no such evidence. Aloise represented

Elbery effectively and countered the prosecution's

version of the facts in terms of describing the events

as a mere "barroom fight" (Tr. Vol. V/ 1229),

downplaying King's injuries as a "superficial abrasion"

(Tr. Vol. V/ 1225), and arguing that Elbery was acting

in self-defense (Tr. Vol. V/ 1221-22). There is also no

conflict of interest merely because the prosecuting

Assistant District Attorney Ball may have been a

former police officer.

D. Misleading Use of Terms

Elbery contends that Aloise used certain incorrect

terms and failed to object to certain terms that

allegedly confused the jury. Elbery claims that Aloise

b

————————————

35a

adopted the prosecution's facts and theory of the case

by using terms such as "right, "am I right,” and other

expressions during cross-examination of the

Commonwealth's witnesses which misrepresented

Elbery and made the jury put Elbery in a bad light.

These allegations are not valid since phrases such as

"right" and [13] "am I rights," especially with leading

questions during cross-examination, are typical trial

practice techniques.

Elbery also claims that the judge's use of the

phrase "moral certainty" in his jury instructions

obscured for the jurors the defendant's standard for

i proving his case beyond areasonable doubt.

However, case law has determined that use of the

phrase does not render the instructions improper. In

: Victor v. Nebraska, 511 U.S. 1, 14 (1994), cert.

4 denied, Calderon v. Sandoval, 122 S.Ct. 322 (2001),

: the Supreme Court decided that although "moral

certainty,’ standing alone, might not be recognized by

modern jurors as a synonym for ‘proof beyond a

3 reasonable doubt'.. .it does not necessarily follow that

the...instruction is unconstitutional." Id. The Supreme

Court reasoned that the "moral certainty language

[could] not be sequestered from its surroundings." Id.

at 16. Thus, Aloise was not ineffective for failing to

object to the judge's use of the term "moral certainty.”

He was also not ineffective for failing to object to the

judge's use of the phrases "whether or not" and "basic

fact" in the jury instructions, because those terms are

2 also proper.

E. Miscellaneous

Elbery also alleges various other instances of

ineffective assistance of counsel which are

unfounded. For instance, Elbery claims that Aloise

failed to impeach witnesses with perjurious prior

inconsistent statements and aided the prosecution

with false testimony. However, Aloise did point to

discrepancies in the testimonies of the

SAC RES eae ental ER EE ee ee i id

36a

Commonwealth's witnesses and repeatedly called the

Commonwealth's rendition of the facts of the case

"patently absurd.” (Tr. Vol. V/ 122 1-24). [14]

In addition, Elbery alleges that Aloise failed to

argue double jeopardy with Elbery's convictions of

assault and battery and assault with intent to maim.

Elbery believes that assault and assault and battery

are the lesser included offenses of assault with intent

to maim. There is no double jeopardy with regard to

Elbery's convictions. Double jeopardy refers to the

Fifth Amendment prohibition against a "being

prosecuted twice for substantially the same offense.

Black's Law Dictionary 506 (7th ed. 1999); see Breed

v. Jones, 421 U.S. 519. In the instant case, Elbery

was convicted of three distinct charges with distinct

elements: assault and battery (G.L. c. 265, §13A)!6,

assault with intent to maim (G.L. c. 265, §15)!7, and

being a disorderly person (G.L. c. 272, §53) 18.

16 G.L. c. 265, §13A states:

Whoever commits an assault or an assault and battery

upon another shall be punished by imprisonment for not

more than two and one half years in a house of correction

or by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars.

17 G.L. c. 265, §15 states:

Whoever assaults another with intent to commit murder, or

to maim or disfigure his person in any way described in the

preceding section, shall be punished by imprisonment in

the state prison for not more than ten years or by a fine of

not more than one thousand dollars and imprisonment in

jail for not more than two and one half years.

18 G.L. c. 272, §53 states:

Common night walkers, common street walkers, both male

and female, common railers and brawlers, persons who with

offensive and disorderly acts or language accost or annoy

persons of the opposite sex, lewd, wanton and lascivious

persons in speech or behavior, idle and disorderly persons,

disturbers of the peace, keepers of noisy and disorderly

}

}

;

}

:

‘

o

| en ne

LEE SES EAE De PIE EERE AE RETNA tas ast

37a

Contrary to Elbery's allegations, assault and assault

and battery are not the lesser included offenses of

assault with intent to maim. Elbery also claims that

he was sentenced [15] to one year for being a

disorderly person when the maximum sentence is

only six months. However, Elbery was sentenced to

serve one year for the assault with intent to maim

charge and one year probation for the assault and

battery and disorderly conduct convictions which

were to run concurrently. His probation was to begin

after his release from jail. Thus, Elbery was not

sentenced for longer than his convictions mandated.

Also, contrary to Elbery's contentions, there is no

evidence that Aloise sponsored Assistant District

Attorney Ball to lie about the bottle assault, nor that

Perma (a fellow cop), De Pasquale (an acquaintance of

King) or Mann lied on the stand as witnesses. There

is also no evidence that the pictures admitted at trial

were falsified or duplicative. Nor did Aloise have the

responsibility, nor the capacity, to file criminal

charges against King for the injuries he allegedly

caused Elbery. There is also no evidence that Aloise

abandoned his client.

For the aforementioned reasons, the defendant has

failed to show that trial counsel's representation was

seriously deficient and that he was deprived of an

otherwise available material ground of defense. Since

there was competent representation by the trial

attorney, appellate counsel was not ineffective for

failing to argue on appeal that the defendant's trial

counsel rendered ineffective assistance. See Breese,

415 Mass. at 252.

houses, and persons guilty of indecent exposure may be

punished by imprisonment in jail or house of correction for

not more than six months, or by a fine of not more than two

hundred dollars, or by both such fine and imprisonment.

38a

IV. Evidentiary Hearing Not Warranted

In addition to his request for a new trial, the

defendant requests an evidentiary hearing and further

discovery. A judge has broad discretion to deny a

motion for new trial upon review of the motion and

affidavits without conducting an evidentiary hearing.

Commonwealth v. Rice, 427 Mass. 203, 207 (1998);

see also Commonwealth v. Lopez, 426 Mass. 657, 663

(1998). [16] "[T]he judge may decide a rule 30(b)

motion based solely on affidavits; may discredit

untrustworthy affidavits; and need only proceed to

evidentiary hearing 'where a substantial issue is

raised [by the motion or affidavits] and is supported

by a substantial evidentiary showing." Lopez, 426

Mass. at 663, citing Commonwealth v. Stewart, 383

Mass. 253, 260 (1981); Mass. R. Crim. P. 30(c)(3)

("[the judge may rule on the issue or issues presented

by such motion on the basis of the facts alleged in the

affidavits without further hearing if no substantial

issue is raised by the motion or affidavits"). The court

need only hold an evidentiary hearing if a substantial

issue is raised by the motion and affidavits and is

supported by a substantial evidentiary showing. Id.

In determining whether the defendant has raised a

‘substantial issue' meriting an evidentiary hearing

under Rule 30, the court looks at the seriousness of

the issue asserted and to the adequacy of the

defendant's showing on the issue raised.

Commonwealth v. DeVincent, 421 Mass. 64, 67

(1995). Further, the defendant must show that an

evidentiary hearing is necessary to provide the judge

with additional information not already contained in

affidavits. See id. at 68. Here, the defendant has not

demonstrated that substantial issue exists which

would require additional information not already

contained in the defendant's submission or the

record. Consequently, the defendant's request for an

evidentiary hearing is denied. [17]

39a

ORDER

For the foregoing reasons, it is hereby ORDERED

=| that the Defendant's Motion for a New Trial and

ui Request for an Evidentiary Hearing are DENIED.

/s/

Timothy S. Hillman

Justice of the Superior Court

DATED: December 21, 2001

: FILED

ay

° aa

53

‘?3

Ee

£

ri

#4

a

Es

§

q

ts

4

‘

AS

Vid

¥

DEC 26 2001

ATTEST: /s/ CLERK [18]

4

31

40a

APPENDIX F

[264]... THE COURT: Okay. All right. I find no

[265] probable cause for the assault with intent to

maim, that's for sure. I find probable cause on a

disorderly person. Assault and battery with a

dangerous weapon, a beer bottle, I find no probable

cause.

Assault and battery is a troubling issue, and

troubling in the following manner: J believe that in

fact Mr. King went to stop a person who he had no

right to stop.

The disorderly person I find not outside but inside,

because when the officer came along and four or five

people were standing there, I don't see how he can be

disorderly.

The assault and battery on Thomas King, I suggest

that Thomas King raced after him to stop him from

going, and he had no right to stop him, so I find no

probable cause on that.

Probable cause on disorderly person only.

I tried to explain earlier that I - I'm concerned there

was no assault with the beer bottle. It was reckless

misconduct when he hit the bottle on the post. Ifa

death ensued, that would be involuntarily

manslaughter. However, it's [266] malicious

destruction of property. It's not a felony, and the

police officer was a police officer in Westboro, not

Worcester. Everyone knew who he was, and they

could have called the police after.

Okay. That's it.

(Whereupon, at 4:30 p.m., the

hearing was concluded.)

»

b

»

sale SR eNARITMSR hopin heh Rt eon

|

5A EMER IN, SET ENA EM IRIE IEE LEIS YO TEER RIAA

4la

APPENDIX G

Argument I-None of the defendant's motion claims are

waived because they are either "Brady Violations", or

factual issues not appearing on the trial record, or

claims that should have been raised by the

defendant's appellate counsel,or claims of miscarriage

of justice.

The court per memo has found that all the

defendant's motion claims are waived for review under

Rule 30b, except for the trial attorney's ineffective

assistance claims not raised by appellate counsel, see

p. 7 of memo. The defendant agrees that claims of

ineffective assistance of trial counsel that could have

been raised by the defendant's appellate counsel are a

"waiver exception" and properly included in a motion

for new trial. Com. v. Miranda, 490 NE2 1195, 1200,

22 Mass. App. 10, 17-18 ('86), Com. v. Sowell, 609

NE2 492, 494 ('93), 34 Mass. App. Ct. 229, 231.

Contrary to the court's memo p. 7, (court claims

the defendant raised his claim of ineffective assistance

of appellate counsel only to the extent of failure to

raise on direct appeal ineffective assistance of trial

defense counsel), the defendant raises a claim of

ineffective assistance of appellate counsel, claim

XVii-RA 114, to the extent that motion claims should

have been raised on direct appeal. There is a

constitutional right to effective assistance of appellate

counsel. Evitts v. Lucey, 469 U.S. 387,396-97 105

S.Ct. 830, 837 ('85), Gray v. Greer, 800 F2 644, 646

(7th Cir. '85). Constitutional law does not limit the

right to appellate counsel to only claims of ineffective

assistance of trial counsel. Evitts id.

None of the defendant's motion claims are waived

for review, via Rule 30b, because all the defendant's

motion claims fit into one of 4 categories that, per

Mass. law, can only be raised in the first instance on

a motion for new trial, or are a recognized "issue

waiver exception". Rule 30b is properly used for move

42a

than "newly discovered evidence" and "issue waiver

exceptions", as a matter of law.

1. The first category of claims raised by the

defendant are the numerous "Brady" violations that

must only be raised in the first instance via a motion

for new trial under 30b. All the "Brady" violations in

the defendant's motion are of the first category

mentioned in United States v. Agurs, 427 U.S. 97,103

96 S.Ct. 2392, 2397 ('76), "knowing use by the

prosecution of perjured/false evidence". Com. v.

Tucceri, 412 Mass. 401, 405, 589 NE2 1216, 1219

('92)-ftnt. 3. These type of claims, obviously, raise

factual evidence not of the trial record. The appellate

counsel is only able to raise issues on direct appeal

that appear on the trial record. White v. White, 662

NE2 230, 232, 40 Mass. App. Ct. 132, 133 ('96) &

“MRAP-Rule 8 (record of lower court is record for

appeal).

Per Tucceri 412 Mass. 408-409, "there is

no reason why a non-disclosure issue

could not be advanced by a motion for

new trial to which the regular principles

of MRCP 30b, 378 Mass. 900 ('79) apply.

Even if an undisclosed evidence is not

"newly discovered", the failure ofa

prosecutor tofurnish exculpatory

evidence in his possession is a proper

basis for a new trial motion based on

| common law or constitutional grounds".

q 2. The defendant also raised other motion claims

that, like "Brady" claims, are based on factual issues

not appearing on the trial record. This category that

can only be raised on a motion for new trial, under

| § Rule 30b, includes ineffective assistance of trial

counsel claims based on facts not appearing on the

a trial record.

ii ccsimeninsonineeiiiietdactila datas,

43a

Per the Mass. SJC in Gibney v. Comm..,

375 Mass. 146, 148 375 NE2 714 ('78),

“constitutional arguments raised by the

petitioner that are based on factual

questions are best left for resolution in

the first instance by a trial judge on a

motion for new trial".

"Moving for a new trial is the customary

practice in situations involving

ineffective assistance of counsel". Com.

v. Frisino, 488 NE2 51, 55, 21 Mass.

App. Ct. 551, 556 ('86). "A claim of

ineffective assistance of counsel may be

resolved on direct appeal of the

defendant's conviction when the factual

basis of the claim appears undisputedly

on the trial record. But when the trial

record provides an insufficient factual

basis for appellate review, the claim of

ineffective assistance of trial counsel is

best left for resolution in the first

instance by the trial judge on a motion

for new trial." Com. v. Adamides, 37

Mass. App. Ct. 339, 344 639 NE2 1092,

1076 ('94), Com. v. Cross, 4 Mass. App.

Ct. 54,57, 340 NE2 923 ('76).

3. The third category of claims in the defendant's

motion that avoid waiver, via presentation in a motion

for new trial, are issues that should have been raised

by the appellate attorney on direct appeal or

ineffectiveness of appellate counsel. As above, the

court agrees, per p. 7 of memo, on this point.

A recognized exception to the issue waiver rule is

when both the trial and direct appeal counsel are

a Mn ee ee

44a

ineffective. Miranda!, 22 Mass. App. Ct. at 17, Sowell?

34 Mass. App. Ct. at 231. A claim of ineffectiveness of

appellate counsel must be raised in the first motion

for new trial. Com. v. LeFave, 430 Mass. 169, 172

(99), 714 NE2 805, 808 (recognizing right to raise

ineffective assistance of appellate counsel on first

motion for new trial). See above for constitutional law

to right to appellate attorney.

4. Another recognized exception to the waiver rule

is a claim of "miscarriage of justice" under the

"Freeman standard". Miranda, 22 Mass. App. Ct. at

16. The federal standard of ineffective assistance of

counsel and "miscarriage of justice" are the same.

Com. v. Curtis, 417 Mass. 619, 625, 632 NE2 821,

826 ftnt. 4 ('94). The claims raised in the defendant's

motion, whether individually or collectively, rise to a

level of a miscarriage of justice. RA 115, motion

conclusion.

As a result of the above, the court's memo, p.5 (II

Waiver of Claims), concluding the defendant's motion

claims are waived is an error of law. Particularly

disturbing is the court's reliance on Rule 30c2 which

pertains only to second and successive new trial

motion filings; this is undisputedly the defendant's

first motion for new trial.

| the Mass. SJC in Miranda recognized an exception to the "waiver

rule” where the trial defense attorney fails to object at trial and the

appellate attorney fails to raise the issue on direct appeal amounts

to ineffective assistance of counsel.

2 Sowell also recognizes that failure of the appellate counsel to

argue errors of the trial counsel is an exception to the "waiver

‘rule’. Per footnote #4 of Sowell there should be a showing that

these errors create a substantial risk of a miscarriage of justice.

45a

Argument IV - The prosecution Knowingly allowed

their witness-in-chief, Tom King, to falsely testify that

the defendant used a broken beer bottle to assault the

entire bar and the defense attorneys knowin

allowed it. Count VI of motion - RA 46-58.

The trial was further infected with constitutional

"Brady" violations because the prosecution knowingly

allowed witness-in-chief, King, to testify falsely that,

TR 192 (11-23), TR 194-21, TR 195-3,

Elbery held off the entire bar for 30

seconds with a broken jagged beer

bottle not only making jabbing

threatening gestures at Schlener but

the rest of us patrons in the bar. See

RA 52 & RA 151 (Ex. L-ftnt.4-botfle

assault).

This evidence was used to support the

prosecution's "assault by a dangerous weapon charge"

(beer bottle). Also, the prosecution used this false

evidence at trial to justify King's fabricated citizen's

arrest before the assault dangerous weapon charge

was directed not guilty. See RA 160 (Ex. M-docket

entry 5.0) & RA 41.

The bartender, Schlener, first fabricated to the

responding WPD officer-Perma that the defendant

used a broken bottle in a "threatening menacing

gesture" at him and the other patrons in the bar. See

RA 129 (Ex.D-WPD incident report) & RA 49-50.

Schlener, the bartender, who originally fabricated the

beer bottle assault story to justify his friends beating

the defendant in the street, admitted under oath at

the probable cause hearing that the defendant did not

assault anybody with a beer bottle.

PC 112-3, It was a random breaking of

the bottle, it was pointed at nobody.

i

i

;

46a

PC 112-(9-14) Elbery went right out the

door after he looked at everybody.(see RA

47-50).

King, reluctantly, testified at the probable cause

hearing that the defendant never assaulted anyone

with a broken beer bottle. That the defendant threw

the bottle down immediately and left the bar after the

bottle broke,

PC 21-16 Q. Sir, were you placed in fear

by the beer bottle that Mr. Elbery had in

his hand?

A.(King)The distance between us, NO. He

had thrown it down.

PC 53-11 Q. Now after Mr. Elbery either

broke the bottle on the side of the bar or

on the pole he stood up from his seat,

his stool and left via the front door?

A. (King) yes, sir.

PC 54-1 Q. Well he already was up

from his seat after smashing the

bottle and he immediately went out

the door didn't he?

A. (King) Yes. (See RA 48-49).

As above, the prosecution was put on alert that the

beer bottle assault was a fabrication; it never

happened.

The original prosecutor, Salloum, who was

scheduled to handle the probable cause hearing,

knew the truth. He documented, per RA 133 (Ex. E of

the motion), that the beer bottle assault charge was

being dropped and no longer considered. See RA 47

& 48.

That didn't stop the Worcester D.A.'s Office from

impairing the grand jury by allowing and sponsoring

King to testify to a brand new fabricated story. RA 50

47a

GJ 6-4 Elbery made jabbing motions at

Jeff and then me and the other patrons

with the broken beer bottle.

And as above, the prosecution /Worcester D.A.'s

Office further encouraged and sponsored King to lie to

the trial jury about the defendant and the fabricated

charge of assault with the broken beer bottle. See TR

192-(11-23), TR 194-21, TR 195-(3-ll). The jury was

left, due to King's perjury, with an image of the

defendant as a mad man who would try to stab a

group of people he had no controversy with. RA 53 &

~Y

This fabricated bottle assault evidence is another

count of "knowing use of perjury by the prosecution",

requiring a new trial. Tucceri 412 Mass 405; U.S. v.

Agurs, 427 U.S. 103. See RA 53.

Prosecutor Used False Bottle Assault to Bolster Case

The prosecutor compounded the effect on the jury

of this bottle assault perjury by using it as the

justification, felony committed, for King's alleged

"citizen's arrest" of the defendant. (See RA 41 -

motion claim V). The prosecutor also lead (used

leading questions) his own witnesses and DePasquale

at trial, soliciting them to testify that the defendant

used a jagged broken bottle to assault all the patrons

in the bar. (See RA 150-157, Ex.L *items of motion).

The prosecutor used this false /perjured evidence in

his opening statement,

TR. 111-20 (Ball) They saw the

defendant standing there with this

broken beer bottle and he is waiving this

broken beer bottle now, he is waving this

beer bottle at all the people in the bar.

TR 115-17 (Ball) He did swing the

broken beer bottle, not only at the girl,

48a

King is named as a victim where it was

- swung at him.

Where the prosecutor compounds falsifications

at trial, as above, by blatantly misrepresenting

evidence to the jury, the Mass. SJC held a new trial is

required. Collins, 386 Mass. at 14. This is also a

violation of the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment, and causes a trial that was unfair.

Berger v. United States, 295 U.S. 78, 84-89 ('35),

Giglio 405 U.S. 153,RA 111 &53.

Ineffective Assistance of Counsel RA 52-58

Trial defense attorney, Aloise, also represented the

defendant at the probable cause hearing. See PC

transcript. As above, Aloise knew from the probable

cause’ testimonies of King and Schlener, and

communications with ADA Salloum prior to the

probable cause hearing, that the defendant did not

assault anyone with a broken beer bottle. RA 47-48 &

53-58.

As per RA 54, defense attorney Aloise, refused to

present to the jury the above testimonies that

proved the bottle assault charge (Assault dangerous

weapon) was a knowing fraud by the prosecution.

These testimonies at the probable cause hearing

would have been used as substantive evidence, not

just for credibility. Forte, 33 Mass. App. Ct. at 185.

Additionally, Aloise refused to have that assault-

dangerous weapon indictment dismissed. The

defendant demanded Aloise motion to dismiss the

charge because, as above, the prosecution witnesses

already admitted the bottle assault never happened.

See RA 51 and motion claim VIII, RA 65-70.

Instead, Aloise allowed, unchallenged, the

prosecution's alleged victim and witness-in-chief to

testify,

49a

TR 192 (11-23), TR 194-21, TR 195-3,

Elbery held off the entire bar for 30

seconds with a broken jagged beer bottle

not only making jabbing threatening

gestures at Schlener and me but at all

the other patrons in the bar. See RA 52

& RA 151 (Ex. L-p.2.).

Further, Aloise allowed the prosecution to use this

fabricated bottle assault as the alleged felony

justifying King's "citizen's arrest", and to make the

defendant look like the initiator and aggressor during

the incident; this helping the prosecution trick the

jury. This deficiency made the defendant falsely look

like a violent out-of-control maniac causing the jury

to more easily believe he attempted to dig King's

eye out of his head. TR 936-21. RA 57-58.

Regardless that the bottle assault-dangerous

weapon charge was directed not guilty by the trial

judge, the jury was left with King's false testimony

that the defendant was a raging maniac with a

broken beer bottle assaulting everyone in the bar.

The alleged curative instruction by the trial judge,

TR 1274-5 don't draw any inferences

from the fact the indictment is no longer

in front of you.

had no curative effect on that highly prejudicial

evidence. Even the Mass. Appeals Court was

convinced, per their decision on the direct appeal of

this case, that the defendant used a bottle to menace

the other people in the bar for half a minute. Com. v.

Elbery, 38 Mass. App. Ct. 912, 645 NE2 41, 42 ('95).

RA 58.

Aloise by knowingly allowing this false evidence of a

bottle assault changed the entire evidentiary picture

of the trial and caused a breakdown of the adversarial

process at trial making him ineffective in his

assistance of counsel. Strickland 466 U.S. 696. The

50a

defendant's appellate attorney, Bobby Scheketoff,

failed to raise this claim on direct appeal making him

ineffective, again. id.

Argument VI- The prosecutor knowingly allowed trial

witnesses to change their prior probable cause

hearing testimony, perjury, and the defense counsels

allowed it. Count X of motion - RA 73-89.

In addition to the conflict and discrepancies

between trial and probable cause hearing testimonies,

(which is perjury), allowed by the prosecution

surrounding the bottle assault charge and Mann's

injuries, (see motion claims IV, VI-RA 30 & RA 46),

there were many more prior inconsistent statements

not brought to the attention of the jury resulting from

probable cause hearing testimonies of various trial

witnesses. All the changes in probable cause hearing

testimonies given at trial were to the prejudice of the

defendant, or falsely inculpatory.

Note, DePasquale and Perma (arresting officer)

were, allegedly, defense witnesses, but DePasquale

testified during the prosecution's case, and like

Officer Perma, was a friend of King's.TR-242- 18. This

had the effect of the prosecutor cross-examining his

own witnesses; at a minimum DePaspuale and Perma

were hostile witnesses.

These changes in trial witnesses probable cause

testimonies (perjury) are highlighted and summarized

as follows: (see RA 74-89)

1. Schlener, the bartender, at the probable cause

hearing, admitted he was at fault for insulting and

starting the exchange of "negative statements"

between the defendant and he. Schlener apologized

on the witness stand in open court to the defendant.

See RA 74-75. At trial he said the opposite, RA 75-76.

2. At the probable cause hearing, Schlener and

DePasquale both said King came around the

horseshoe bar after the defendant, who remained

seated while King was restrained by many people in

|

“3 .

Sla

the bar. They both testified King stuck his nose in the

conversation ("barbs") between the defendant and

Schlener that was none of King's business. They both

; testified that they told King to mind his own business

4 and go back to his seat. They both testified that the

‘ defendant was minding his own business and not

bothering with any other customers in the bar. See

RA 74-75 & RA 83-84.

However, at trial they said just the opposite,

testifying the defendant was the initiator and

aggressor, a "steaming big madman" that was also

first arguing with other patrons in the bar. See RA 75-

76 & RA 84.

3. Prosecution witness, Schlener, and DePasquale

admitted under oath at the probable cause hearing

that most of the bar emptied out after the

defendant, who immediately left the bar after the

bottle broke, (minimum of 5 men). PC 113, PC 114-19

through PC 118, PC 199-(6-9), PC 234-23. See also

RA 67-item 5.

Yet, at trial the prosecution's witnesses tried to

convince the jury that King acted alone pursuing the

defendant to make his "arrest". TR 371-19, TR 402-

5,6, TR 199-1.

4. All witnesses testified, including King, at the

probable cause hearing they had no idea how the

bottle broke. See RA 67-item 4.

However, at trial several prosecution witnesses,

including King and Schlener, testified the defendant

smashed the bottle. TR 19 1-4, TR 300-23.

5. Schlener testified at the probable cause hearing

that somebody yelled, "call the police", PC 113-8.

However, at trial Schlener gave King the credit,

testifying, TR 588-14 Tom King yelled, "call the

police”. At the probable cause hearing, PC 1 13-(1-24),

Schlener admitted no police were called before King

exited the bar to chase the defendant. RA 67-item 6.

52a

=

Prosecution witness-in-chief, Tom King. alleged victim

nt sn hms rete

Presented are conflicting changes in testimony by

King not appearing in other claims of the motion. See

RA 84-88.

6. King at the probable cause hearing testified he

only presumed the police had been called, PC 55-15.

However, at trial King testified, TR 195-18, I yelled

to somebody to call the police. RA 86-item 3.

7. Street v. sidewalk incident

See RA 86 item 4, where at the probable cause

hearing King truthfully testifies the entire pursuit,

arrest and struggle with the defendant occurred in the

street. All witnesses at the probable cause hearing

testified the incident with King and the defendant

took place only in the street. See RA 67-item 7.

However, after King was told to change his

testimony because no one would believe the

defendant would come to a sudden stop in the middle

of the street, King testified the entire incident was on

the sidewalk, TR 198-(5-7), TR 380-12. See RA 87-

item 4.

These changes in testimonies, as per claim X of the

motion, RA 73-89, are all perjury that helped the

prosecution falsely convict the defendant. 70 C.J.S.,

Perjury S. 40 p. 287, ('87). (Contradictory statements

under oath about same point is perjury). The above

conflicting changes in testimony, perjury, distorted

the evidentiary picture of the beginning stages, (bar

arguinent & confrontation, exit from bar and flight by

the defendant, and chase by King & his gang down

the street 100 yards), of the short alleged criminal

incident, to the defendant's prejudice. The prosecutor

had a duty to correct that periury and not "knowingly

use the above perjury” to convict the defendant. New

trial required. Giglio, 405 U.S. 153.

53a

Ineffective Assistance of Counsel

Aloise, who also represented the defendant at the

probable cause hearing, failed to alert the jury to this

exculpatory evidence, via trial witnesses’ probable

cause hearing testimonies. This was not just

credibility evidence but substantive evidence that

could have been used for its full probative value at

trial. Forte, 33 Mass. App. Ct. 185-186.

In failing to alert the jury to these changes in

testimony Aloise missed an opportunity to impeach

the credibility of the above prosecution witnesses, and

caused the defendant to look like the initiator and

aggressor at the underlying barroom incident, instead

of, as at the probable cause hearing, the victim.

These changes in testimonies that Aloise failed to

present to the jury changed the entire evidentiary

picture of the trial to the prejudice of the defendant

making Aloise constitutionally ineffective in his

assistance of Counsel. Strickland. 466 U.S. at 696. As

was Sheketoff who failed to raise this claim on direct

appeal. id.

Reply #1 -Contrary to the Appellee, trial evidence of

"Christiana Mann's Cut Face" was perjury. - RA 30-39

Reply CBr.- Arg. B & CBr. - p. 37

The Appellee uses the falsified evidence of Mann's

cut face and facial stitching to justify King's illegal

pursuit, false arrest and assault of the defendant

during the underlying incident on 9-29-92 and to

support many of the Appellee's arguments. See CBr. -

Arg. B, p.37.

The prosecution knowingly presented false

evidence at trial that an 18-year-old girl, Christiana

Mann, incurred faciai lacerations from glass of a

broken beer bottle that the prosecution claimed the

defendant broke. Mann testified, initially, at trial that,

54a

she was standing 3 seats away from the

defendant, TR 166-24, when the bottle

broke and a little bit of glass flew and

cut her, TR 144-6. Mann testified she

went to U. Mass. Hospital and a

physician put stitches above and

below her eye due to cuts from the

flying glass. TR 147-16 thru TR 148-2.

RA 30.

However, Mann slipped during trial examination and

contradicted her prior testimony of injury,

TR 144-13 I thought I saw a little bit of

blood. But another guy came over and

said you know you are fine and

everything.

TR 174-18 I said I was at the hospital. I

don't know if I said U. Mass. I just called

to let you know I was all right and no

glass is in my eye or whatever. See RA

31 (motion p. 31-item 10).

The defendant's trial counsel failed to pursue,

explore or highlight this evidence he tripped on during

cross-examination. The jury was left believing the

prosecution's "best light fabricated evidence" of

Mann's face being cut by the defendant requiring two

sets of stitches on her face. RA 37-39.

The original prosecutor on the case, A.D.A. Michael

Salloum, knew the truth. Salloum documents, per

RA 133, that the reason for King pursuing the

defendant was the defendant's alleged disorderly

conduct (a minor misdemeanor if true) in the bar.

Salloum says nothing on this document about a

“girl” being cut/Injured or a bottle assault or even a

"felony", (No felony P.C.-see p.11), being committed by

the defendant prior to King's pursuit of the defendant

55a

100 yards down the street, in order to justify King's

citizen's arrest. !

As per RA 30831 (p. 30 & 31 of motion), the

prosecutor was put on alert by other evidence that

Mann's cut face was a fabrication as follows:

1. There were no criminal charges

brought against the defendant for

Mann's alleged injury. Com. v. Hawkins,

157 Mass. 551, 553 (1883)(defendant

would be responsible for alleged battery

due to reckless acts).

2. There was no scarring to Mann's face

that should have resulted from glass

cuts requiring stitches. RA 179-Aff#3. =

3. The prosecutor never pointed to or

highlighted as inculpatory evidence any

scars on Mann's face, although he was

enthusiastic about fabricating all the

other evidence at trial. The defense

attorney never pointed to any absence of

scarring. See TR all. The trial was only 9

months after the alleged facial cutting

and stitching.

' Evidently, Salloum's investigation yielded the same evidence as

the W.P.D., per their incident report, RA 129-130, regarding the

bartender's fabricated claim to the responding police that a “girl”

was cut. See RA 129-130. The W.P.D. incident report states,

"the Worcester police searched "all area hospitals" and that no

girl went to the area hospitals for treatment for a glass cut".

It's undisputed that U. Mass. Hospital is about 1 mile from the

Winner's circle Bar. The prosecutor has a duty to learn of any

favorable evidence known to others acting on the government's

case including the police, regardless of good or bad faith. Kyles v.

Whitley, 514 U.S. 419, 438 '95. Imputed to the police is evidence

they knew or should have known. Com. v. Lam Hue To 461

NE2776, 779 ('84).

Se Se

Pal a OT ne —

56a

4. There was no medical/ hospital

records produced at trial or discovery to

corroborate Mann's alleged injuries.

(Can't cite a negative-See TR all).

5. After being alerted falsely by the

bartender, Schlener, that "glass from the

bottle struck a girl in the eye - cutting

victim", the W.P.D. document, RA 130,

(p. 2 of incident report - Ex. D of

motion), "we were unable to locate

female victim who left scene prior to

arrival and did not go to area hospitals

for treatment". See RA 68 (motion p. 68

"Perma-Investigating Worcester Police

Officer” - item 1), & PC 154-(4-17) thru

PC 155-1.

6. Responding and investigating W.P.D.

officer - Perma asked Schlener and his

friends at the bar to come forward with

information as to who this girl was and

nobody did, PC 154-(5-16). RA 68-item

#1.

King claimed the prosecution found the

"girl", Mann, January '93, 6 months

before trial TR 246-7.See the PC hearing

transcript, no girl testified.

7. Schlener, the bartender, admitted

under oath atthe probable cause

hearing that the girl was not hurt or

injured by glass, PC 114-2 Q. And

during that time is when you determined

that the young lady who was injured

actually did not have glass in her eye?

A.Right.

As per motion RA 33, this fabrication about a girl

being cut in the face was like the fabricated bottle

57a

assault; both were originated by the bartender,

Schlener, to cover for his friends beating the

defendant on the street causing the defendant to be

hospitalized, see RA 169 (Ex. Q - p. 3 of motion

(defendant brought to hospital by police at 2:25 am on

9-29-92)).

The various prosecution witnesses, and defense

witnesses-DePasquale and Perma (both friends of

King's) were allowed by the prosecution to use this

fabricated Mann injury in the most prejudicial

manner possible at trial, see RA 147-149 (motion Ex.

K). This included King's and Schlener's perjury at

trial,

TR 194-7 (King) Blood coming around

her hand, out her hands, through her

fingers down her face.

TR 588-7 (Schlener) One of the girl's

yelled, "my eye it's cut", she had a cut

She was bleeding from the eye. (compare

this testimony to Schlener's probable

cause testimony above, PC 1 14-(2-4).

King testified at the P.C. hearing the opposite,

PC 52-1 (Aloise)Q. Isn't it fair to say you

don't know and didn't know at the time,

certainly, how badly the female was

hurt, whether or not it was just a cut on

the face that bled or something

more serious, Correct?

A. (King) Correct.

PC 53-6 Q. Now when Officer Perma's

report indicates that Mr. Elbery struck a

girl in the eye you don't know that to be

true, do you, from your observations?

A. (King) Right.

There is good reason why there was a void, as

above, of real evidence of Mann's cutting, but only

2 Sa AS NI NERO ee

58a

say-so and finger pointing at trial. The evidence is

Mann's facial cutting and stitching was more

fabrication to cover for and help King get out of

trouble, and the prosecution knew and should have

known it was false.

Prejudice to the defendant

This facial cutting and stitching to Mann was

falsely used as an excuse, like the fabricated bottle

assault, for King's illegal citizen's arrest of the

defendant. Like the fabricated bottle assault, this false

evidence that the defendant cut a girl in the face

caused the defendant to, once again, be falsely put in

the worst status possible before the jury. Making it all

the more likely they would convict the defendant on

the other false evidence at trial. The prosecutor is

responsible for all evidence at trial that he knew or

should have known to be perjury. U.S. v. Agurs, 427

U.s. 97, 103

New trial is required due to this knowing use by the :

prosecution of perjury. Giglio v. U.S.,405 U.S. 150,

154, Com. v. Tucceri, 412 Mass. 405. See RA 34-36.

A.D.A. Mike Ball Bolsters his case with Mann

Perjury

The prosecutor then compounded this knowing

faise evidence by using it at trial to justify King's

citizen's arrest, tricking the jury. See RA 35 and RA

41-42. Per RA 35, the prosecutor also used this

fabricated "Mann injury" in his opening statement, TR

115-16, TR 111i-(8-22)(see also RA 109-p. 109 of

motion-claim XVI), and closing argument, TR 1237 -

21, (see RA-149 - Ex. K of motion). Per the Mass.

S.J.C. this blatant misrepresentation of evidence to

the jury and abuse requires a new trial. Com. v.

Collins, 386 Mass. 1, 13. RA 35. This also violates the

Due Process Clause -14th Amendment - U.S.

59a

~-

Constitution causing a trial that was not fair. Berger

v. U.S. 295 U.S. 78, 84-89 '35.

Ineffective Assistance of Counsel - RA 37-39

Defense Attorney, Louise P. Aloise, refused to

challenge Mann's claim of facial cutting and stitching.

The above evidence, that Mann was never

injured/stitched, was available to Aloise at trial but

he refused to alert the jury. Instead, Aloise

confirmed/stipulated, in his opening statement, the

prosecution's fabricated evidence of Mann and her

facial cutting, TR 129-3,RA 38. Further, Aloise

refused the defendant's demands that Aloise

subpoena Mann's hospital records, RA 37. This is

another count of ineffective assistance of counsel by

Aloise that causes need for a new trial because there

was no adversarial process at the trial, and that

caused the defendant a 10-year prison sentence.

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 690 '84.

60a

APPENDIX H

EXHIBIT J

Footnote 1 - Tom King's Injuries

Tom King's trial testimony

Direct Exam-Ball

TR 20 1-17 He took his thumb and jammed it into my

eye (indicating).

TR 20 1-20 On the outside of my eye he jammed it in

almost behind the eye and kept pushing the thumb in

real hard

TR 202-12 He... jammed that hand, that thumb back

into my eye on the inside of my eye and kept pushing

the thumb into my eye.

TR 202-24

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Elbery v. Massachusetts · 540 U.S. 949 | Frix