Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Judicial Watch, Inc. v. Rossotti

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(\ ) Supreme Ceurt, U.S.

FILED

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October 2002 Term

JUDICIAL WATCH, INC.

Petitioner,

Vv.

CHARLES O. ROSSOTTI, et al.,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Wnit of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Larry Klayman*

Paul J. Orfanedes

JUDICIAL WATCH, INC.

501 School Street, S.W., Suite 500

Washington, DC 20024

(202) 646-5172

Counsel for Petitioner

——Ol—=—~=—====E=IiIICll]ll]l]]ll™I e__—_—_—_—_—_—

* Denotes Counsel of Record

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a writ of certiorari should issue because the

Appellate Court’s ruling conflicts with relevant decisions of

this Court on an important question of federal law, namely,

whether a Bivens action is available to remedy a politically-

inspired, retaliatory tax audit?

2. Whether a writ of certiorari should issue to resolve this

important question of federal law that has not been, but

should be, settled by this Court?

3. Whether a writ of certiorari should issue to resolve a

conflict among the United States courts of appeals about this

important question of federal law?

il

LIST OF PARTIES

The following is a list of parties and each corporate

party’s respective parent corporation and subsidiaries, if any.

Petitioner:

1. Judicial Watch, Inc.

Respondents:

1. Charles O. Rossotti

2. Donna Dorsey

3. Peter Breslan

4. Wayne Hampel

3

Steven T. Miller

United States of America

a eens

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

: Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ....................... i

oe re ee li

pe es ili

TABLE OF CITATIONS ..... 0... ......ccccccecee.. Vv

I os i Lbs. eo ook ce. 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ................. ]

STATUTE AND CONSTITUTIONAL

- PROVISION INVOLVED ... 2.0.0.0... ccc cccc ee. 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..................... 2

es PUPOMMIEME BUMOUOEY So. o.oo ce loc ec cns cnn 2

B. Statement of Facts ..... are code 3

I.

iv

Page

A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD ISSUE

BECAUSE THE APPELLATE COURT’S RULING

CONFLICTS WITH RELEVANT DECISIONS OF

THIS COURT ON AN IMPORTANT QUESTION

OF FEDERAL LAW, NAMELY, WHETHER A

BIVENS ACTION IS AVAILABLE TO REMEDY A

POLITICALLY-INSPIRED, RETALIATORY TAX

RETE ok vcs 6 ceweeacbatncstendax eben sntess <i3

A WRIT CF CERTIORARI SHOULD ISSUE TO

RESOLVE THIS IMPORTANT QUESTION OF

FEDERAL LAW THAT HAS NOT BEEN, BUT

SHOULD BE, SETTLED BY THIS COURT ...... 27

. A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD ISSUE TO

RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE UNITED

STATES COURTS OF APPEALS ABOUT THIS

IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW ..27

es eb): ere prerrr rss errr re Er. 28

Vv

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Page

Alexander v. FBI, 193 F.R.D. 1 (D.D.C. WE ss ee as 8

Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of the Fed.

Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388 ( of Se ree 1

‘Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367 (1983) .......... 16, 17, 18

Crawford-E. v. Britton, 523 U.S. 574 (1998) ......... 15

Hurt v. United States, 889 F. Supp. 248

A Pe eee ere 25

Kaufman v. United States, 876 F. Supp. 1044

CRE WH PON on sick te eta 26

National Commodity & Barter Ass’n y. Archer,

31 F.3d 1521 (10th Cir. 1985) .............. 20, 22, 23

National Commodity & Barter Ass'n v. Gibbs,

886 F.2d 1240 (10th Cir. 1989) ............. 20, 21, 22

Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412 (1988) .... 16, 17, 18

Western Center for Journalism v. Cederquist,

235 F.3d 1153 (9th Cir. 2000) ................ . 19, 20

| White v. Boyle, 538 F.2d 1077 (4th Cir. 1976) ..... 1. 26

vi

Statues, Rules and Regulations

I Amendment, U.S. Constitution .........ccscccceees 2

BO UB. GORE 5k nnke cc cust heeen vase vesees 21

26 USK. GOO oh icc cin ceban sree ee lraeeaes 21

26 UBER, GOS osc hevdeins chvsseasiereiees 21

BO UDA. § TZIGEED 00 occcvtunedeuandabunseueeeess 1

S \uthoriti

Ronald Steel, “Schultz’s Way,” The New York Times,

Semaaty Uh, SFSF nest he eee 15

l

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the U.S. District Court for the District of

Maryland (hereinafter “District Court”) is reported at 217 F.

Supp. 2d 618. See Appendix C at App. 31-50. The decision

of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

(hereinafter “Appellate Court”) is reported at 317 F.3d 401.

See Appendix A at App. 1-28. The Appellate Court’s denial

of Petitioner’s petition for rehearing en banc is unreported.

See Appendix B at App. 29-30.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The District Court dismissed Petitioner’s claims against

Respondents, brought under Bivens v. Six Unknown Named

Agents of the Fed. Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388, 396-97

(1971), on March 27, 2002. Petitioner appealed to the

Appellate Court, which affirmed the District Court’s

dismissal on January 24, 2003. The Appellate Court denied

Petitioner’s timely petition for rehearing en banc on March

24, 2003.

This petition for writ of certiorari is timely, as it is being

filed within ninety (90) days of the March 24, 2003 denial of

the petition for rehearing en banc, or by June 23, 2003.

If this petition for writ of certiorari is granted, the U.S.

Supreme Court will have jurisdiction over this matter

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

2

STATUTE AND CONSTITUTIONAL

PROVISION INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment I:

Congress shall make no law respecting an

establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free

exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech,

or of the press; or the right of the people peacefully to

assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress

of grievances.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Procedural History

Judicial Watch, Inc. initiated this action on September 6,

2001. Count I alleges that Judicial Watch, Inc. was subjected

to a retaliatory, politically-motivated tax audit in violation of

Judicial Watch, Inc.’s First Amendment rights. Count I

alleges a violation of Judicial Watch, Inc.’s Fifth Amendment

rights by reason of the audit, and Count II alleges a claim for

selective prosecution. Count IV and V concern requests by

Judicial Watch, Inc. under the Freedom of Information Act

(“FOIA”) for documents about the audit.

On March 27, 2002, the District Court dismissed Counts

I, 0 and Il. In so ruling, the District Court found that, while

a Bivens remedy was available to Judicial Watch, Inc., the

federal officials alleged to have violated Judicial Watch,

Inc.’s constitutional rights were entitled to immunity for their

actions. After the parties consented to entry of a final

3

judgment on Counts I, II and Ill, Judicial Watch, Inc.

appealed. On January 24, 2003, the Appellate Court affirmed

the dismissal of Judicial Watch, Inc.’s claims, albeit for a

different reascn. Contrary to the District Court and at least

one other court of appeals, the Appellate Court found that a

Bivens action was not available to remedy the alleged

violation of Judicial Watch, Inc.’s constitutional rights.

Judicial Watch, Inc. filed a timely petition for rehearing

en banc on March 10, 2003. However, the petition was

denied on March 23, 2003.

B. Statement of Facts

Judicial Watch, Inc. is a non-partisan, non-profit, tax-

exempt Section 501(c)(3) educational foundation organized

in 1994 to restore ethics, morality and respect for law to our

nation’s public life: (JA 205, 207, 419).' Judicial Watch, Inc.

relies FOIA, the civil discovery process and the litigation,

among other tools, to educate the American people about

corruption in government and abuses of power, and to hold

the responsible parties accountable. (JA 205). Judicial

Watch, Inc. also utilizes the civil litigation process as a means

of exercising its First Amendment rights.

In accordance with its mission, Judicial Watch, Inc. has

pursued corruption and abuses of power by Democrats,

Republicans, and other political and governmental parties and

interests. (JA207-08, 419). Judicial Watch, Inc. has also

pursued matters that do not relate to government, but

' “3A” refers to the Joint Appendix submitted to the

Appellate Court by the parties.

ee

: 4

nonetheless implicate other important public interest concerns

over ethics and the rule of law. (JA208).

As part of its public interest activities, in 1998, Judicial

Watch, Inc. uncovered a pattern of abuses of power by

officials of the Internal Revenue Service (“IRS”) to retaliate

against perceived adversaries and critics of the IRS and of the

Clinton Administration, including several of Judicial Watch,

Inc.’s clients, donors and others sympathetic to its mission.

(JA208). Judicial Watch, Inc. documented theses abuses in

its “Interim Report: Crimes and Other Offenses Committed by

2 The list of conservative organizations that had been

critical of the Clinton Administration and were subjected to

tax audits is staggering. It includes, but is not limited to the

following: The National Rifle Association; The Heritage

Foundation; The National Review; The American Spectator;

Freedom Alliance; the Western Journalism Center; National

Center of Public Policy Research; American Policy Center;

American Cause; Citizens Against Government Waste;

Citizens for Honest Government; Progress and Freedom

Foundation; Concerned Women for America; and the San

Diego Chapter of Christian Coalition. The following

conservative organizations had been critical of the Clinton

Administration and received warnings or other indications

that they would be audited: Free Congress Foundation;

Fortress America; Christian Film and Television

Commission; and Center for Bioethical Reform. The |

following clients of Judicial Watch, Inc. were audited during

the Clinton Administration: Juanita Broaddrick; the Western

Journalism Center; Gennifer Flowers; Paula Jones, former

White House Travel Office Director Billy Dale and Clinton

protestor Katherine Prudehomme.

5

President Bill Clinton Warranting His Impeachment and

Removal from Elected Office” (“Interim Report”). (JA208).

The Interim Report was submitted to members of the U.S.

House of Representatives Committee on the Judiciary on

September 28, 1998 and was accepted into the Congressional

Record and made an official part of Congress’ impeachment

proceedings on October 5, 1998. (JA208).

On or about October 9, 1998, only four days after its

Interim Report was made an official part of Congress’

impeachment proceedings, Judicial Watch, Inc. received a

| letter (the “Audit Letter”), signed by Donna Dorsey, stating

that Judicial Watch had been selected for an audit. (JA209,

232-34). Accompanying the Audit Letter was an IRS Form

4564 Information Document Request, which made the

extraordinary demand that Judicial Watch, Inc. “[p]rovide the

. .. relationship to any political party or political groups” of

its directors. (JA209, 232-34). Ironically, just a few weeks

after receiving the Audit Letter, Judicial Watch, Inc. received

notice from the IRS confirming its tax-exempt status.

(JA209, 236). Itis extraordinarily unusual for an organization

to be selected for an audit at the same time as its tax exempt

Status is being confirmed by the IRS. (JA209). The audit

Letter was likely sent at the express or implied request of the

Executive Office of the President in retaliation for Judicial

Watch, Inc.’s public interest legal advocacy accusing the

President, Mrs. Clinton and the Clinton Administration of

multiple acts of misconduct, culminating in its impeachment

report. (JA209).

At the time Judicial Watch, Inc. received the Audit Letter,

the Commissioner of the IRS was Charles O. Rossotti, a

Clinton appointee. (JA209). Before becoming Commissioner,

6

Rossotti had been head of American Management Systems,

Inc. (“AMS”), one of the largest information and technology

consulting firms in the United States and a major, multi-

million dollar contractor for the IRS. (JA209-10). Rossotti

and his family also reportedly held between $8 and $40

million in shares of AMS. (JA210). Rossotti’s AMS

holdings posed a significant conflict of interest. (JA210).

The Clinton Administration did not require Rossotti to sell his

AMS holdings when he became Commissioner of the IRS,

and, on or about December 11, 2000, the Clinton

Administration granted a formal “waiver” of Rossotti’s

conflict of interest. (JA210). Rossotti thus was beholden to

the Clinton Administration, not only for his appointment, but

also for the financial benefits that he and his family would

and did receive as shareholders of AMS. (JA210).

On or about November 23, 1998, Dorsey, who had sent

the original Audit Letter to Judicial Watch, Inc., admitted in

a discussion with representatives of Judicial Watch, Inc. that

the audit was a “hot potato” and that she had received

telephone calls from “higher-ups” in the IRS about it.

(JA211). Later, on January 12, 1999, representatives of

Judicial Watch, Inc. met with Dorsey, Peter Breslan and

Wayne Hampel, among other representatives of the IRS’s

Baltimore District Office responsible for overseeing tax

exempt organizations. (JA211). During the course of this

meeting, Breslan stated, in the context of discussing the

propriety of the audit, “What do you expect when you sue the

President?,” effectively acknowledging a retaliatory, political

motive for the audit. (JA211). Breslan repeated this

sentiment several times in the presence of several people,

saying that if Judicial Watch, Inc. scrutinizes the government

and asks questions, the government will scrutinize and ask

7

questions of Judicial Watch, Inc. (JA211). No one from the

IRS objected to or dissented from any of the statements made

by Breslan. (JA211).

On or about May 4, 1999, ata meeting between Judicial

Watch, Inc. and various IRS officials, including Dorsey,

Breslan, and Hampel, the IRS’s Baltimore District Director

Paul Harrington made the statement that the political

affiliation of Judicial Watch, Inc.’s board members was part

of the raw data that would be used in evaluating Judicial

Watch, Inc.’s operations and rendering a decision in the audit

process. (JA211). Dorsey, Breslan and Hampel did not

object or dissent from that statement and implicitly

acquiesced in it. (JA211).

On May 14, 1999, one of Judicial Watch, Inc.’s counsel

was told that Judicial Watch, Inc.’s “concerns” about the

proposed audit being retaliatory and politically-inspired had

been forwarded to the Treasury Inspector General for Tax

Administration (“TIGTA”). (JA212). On June 17, 1999,

Judicial Watch, Inc. met with Acting Director Steven T.

Miller and other officials at the IRS’s national headquarters

in Washington, D.C. (JA212). At this meeting, Judicial

Watch, Inc. set forth its substantial concerns about the

illegitimate, political motivation for the proposed audit, and

the IRS’s failure to respond to a FOIA request by Judicial

Watch, Inc. seeking information from the IRS related to

Judicial Watch, Inc. and its founder and Chairman, Larry

Klayman. (JA212). Miller conceded that the IRS’s conduct

had created at least the appearance of a “problem,” but

claimed he was powerless to stop the audit. (JA212).

Nonetheless, on July 13, 1999, Hampel, manager of the IRS’s

Exempt Organizations Branch Office of the Baltimore

aii 0 ai hh hl a

8

District, informed Judicial Watch, Inc.’s counsel that the IRS

was withdrawing the proposed audit at least until the FOIA

requests made by Judicial Watch, Inc. were responded to and

the TIGTA investigation was concluded. (JA213).

In mid-February 2000, Sheryl Hall, then a White House

employee, revealed in a court proceeding filed by Judicial

Watch, Inc. that The White House knowingly failed to 4

produce incriminating e-mail evidence in response to 7

legitimate document requests and subpoenas from the Court,

Congress and the Office of the Independent Counsel (“OIC”),

and that independent contractors responsible for overseeing

The White House e-mail system had been threatened with jail

if they revealed The White House’s failure to produce this

evidence. (JA213). Ms. Hall’s statements led to a barrage of

very negative press and legal ramifications for President and

Mrs. Clinton and The White House. (JA213). Immediately

following this development, Hampel of the Baltimore District

Office contacted one of Judicial Watch, Inc.’s counsel and

“reminded” him that Judicial Watch, Inc. was still on the

IRS’s “radar screen” for an audit. (JA 213). Hampel did not

state at this or any other time that TIGTA had completed its

investigation. (JA213).

usec Soi ° 7

On or about March 29, 2000, Judicial Watch, Inc.

obtained an unprecedented court ruling that President Clinton

had “the requisite intent for committing a criminal violation

of the Privacy Act” when he released White House records

protected by the Privacy Act in order to try to discredit

Kathleen Willey, a woman who had accused him of sexually

harassing her. (JA213-14). See Alexander v. FBI, 193 F.R.D.

1, 8-9 (D.C. Cir. 2000). The ruling in Alexander resulted in

9

further negative media coverage and legal ramifications for

the President and The White House. (JA214).

One week later, on April 5, 2000, Hampel again contacted

one of Judicial Watch, Inc.’s counsel to “remind” him that

Judicial Watch, Inc. was on the IRS “radar screen.” (JA214).

On April 14, 2000, Judicial Watch, Inc. alerted Miller, by

letter, that it viewed Hampel’s “reminder” as arenewed threat

to Judicial Watch, Inc. and a warning to “back off’ of its

public interest legal advocacy. (JA214). On April 19, 2000,

Judicial Watch, Inc. received a renewed notice of the planned

audit. (JA214, 266-75). It contained a voluminous document

request seeking virtually every document ever created by

Judicial Watch, Inc. (JA214).

On June 1, 2000, Judicial Watch, Inc. sent a letter to

Miller pointing out the recent IRS misconduct with respect to

Judicial Watch, Inc., its clients, and other conservative

organizations. (JA214, 277-88). In its letter, Judicial Watch,

Inc. requested that the IRS withdraw its renewed audit plans

and not consider initiating another audit until after a new

president took office on January 20, 2001. (JA215-15, 277-

88). The letter, again, put the IRS on notice that Judicial

Watch, Inc. viewed the IRS’s audit and other misconduct as

“political retaliation by the IRS on behalf of its

administration.” (JA281). Miller agreed to delay consideration

of the audit at least until after January 20, 2001, in exchange

for Judicial Watch, Inc.’s waiver of any statute of limitations

defense it might otherwise be entitled to assert. (JA21 5). See

26 U.S.C. § 6501(a) (2002).

On January 8, 2001, in contravention of the promise made

by Miller and with less than two weeks of the Clinton

10

Administration remaining, Judicial Watch, Inc. received yet

another notice of the proposed audit from the IRS (“Third

Notice”). (JA215, 290-99). Included with the Third Notice

was the same highly unusual, highly burdensome list of thirty-

eight requests for documents that was submitted with the

audit notice dated April 19, 2000. (JA215, 290-99)/

On June 6, 2001, Judicial Watch, Inc. filed additional

FOIA requests, this time seeking various documents

conceming the conflict of interest waiver granted to Rossotti

by the Clinton administration (the “Rossotti FOIA

Requests”). (JA216). The Rossotti FOIA Requests coincided

with an investigation commenced by Judicial Watch, Inc., in

the public interest, to explore the circumstances surrounding

the granting to Rossotti of the conflici of interest waiver.

(JA216). On or about July 24, 2001, only a few weeks after

responses were due to these FOIA requests, one of Judicial

Watch, Inc.’s counsel received a telephone call from a

representative of the IRS, Daniel Rose, who indicated that the

IRS intended to pursue the audit of Judicial Watch, Inc.

vigorously and that he and two other agents had been assigned

to examine Judicial Watch, Inc.’s records and business.

(JA216).

In late July 2001, Judicial Watch, Inc. filed a public

interest lawsuit against Rossotti and the Department of the

Treasury in which it sought to compel the disclosure, under

FOIA, of documents relating to the conflict of interest waiver

Rossotti obtained with respect to his affiliation with and

shareholdings in AMS. (JA217). On August 16, 2001,

approximately three weeks after Judicial Watch, Inc. filed suit

relating to Rossotti’s conflict of interest, the IRS served

Judicial Watch, Inc. with a new demand, this time seeking ©

11

twenty-three different categories of documents, and yet

another threat that “[flailure to comply with our request for

information could result in the loss of your tax-exempt

status.” (JA217).

Each time the IRS contacted Judicial Watch, Inc. about

the audit, the contact occurred shortly after Judicial Watch,

Inc. uncovered damaging information, made a disclosure,

obtained a favorable court ruling, or undertook some legal

action in furtherance of its public interest activities

concerning high-ranking government officials. (JA217). This

unmistakable pattern of retaliatory conduct on behalf of the

IRS further confirms that the audit is in direct retaliation for

Judicial Watch, Inc.’s public interest activities, which monitor

the legality and ethics of actions by public officials. (JA217).

As a result of the IRS’s consistent and prolonged

harassment, Judicial Watch, Inc. was compelled to file the

underlying legal action on September 6, 2001. (JA218).

Judicial Watch, Inc. specifically alleged that it was bringing

the lawsuit “for deprivation of constitutional rights guaranteed

by the First and Fifth Amendments to the United States

Constitution.” (JA9, 204-05). Indeed, Judicial Watch, Inc.

averred, inter alia, that

[in] pursuing [the] unlawful, retaliatory, politically-

inspired tax Audit, . . . Rossotti, Dorsey, Breslan,

Hampel, and Acting Director Miller violated Judicial

Watch’s, Inc.’s First Amendment rights . . . [and]...

knew the proposed Audit . . . was unlawful, but acted

willingly, and knowingly, and with specific intent to

deprive Judicial Watch, Inc. of its constitutional

12

rights, or with deliberate indifference to Judicial

Watch, Inc.’s constitutional nghts.

(JA21, 221). Judicial Watch, Inc. also alleged that “[e]ach

audit notice served on Judicial Watch, Inc. constitutes a

violation of the due process rights afforded by the Fifth

Amendment of the United States Constitution,” and that

Rossotti, Dorsey, Breslan, Hampel and Miller, “in violation

of Judicial Watch, Inc.’s First Amendment and Fifth

Amendment rights, commenced, or refused to exercise their

authority to halt, the unlawful, retaliatory, politically-inspired

tax Audit of Judicial Watch, Inc. to punish it for its public

interest legal advocacy.” (JA23-24, 222-24).

However, filing suit only hardened the IRS officials’

resolve to harm Judicial Watch, Inc. (JA218). Until then, the

various IRS audit notices had been directed only to tax years

1996 and 1997. (JA232-34, 266-75, 290-99, 317-20). In yet

another blatant act of retaliation, on December 10, 2001, the

IRS sent Judicial Watch, Inc. a new audit notice informing

Judicial Watch, Inc. that it was expanding the scope of the

audit to include 1998, 1999 and 2000 and including an

expansive request for information and documents (the “Dec.

10 Request”). (JA218-19, 323-26). The Dec. 10 Request

sought the production of twenty-five categories of documents,

much of it including the years 1994 and 1995, and thus

encompassing the entire seven-year period that Judicial

Watch, Inc. had been in existence. (JA218-19, 323-26). The

Dec. 10 Request was clearly onerous, tremendously over-

broad and unduly burdensome. For example, it sought “all

JW outgoing and incoming correspondence files for calendar

years 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999 and 2000” without

regard to subject matter (JA218-19, 323-26), and

ie

13

“documentation listing each donor, the date, and the amount,

who donated to Jw , directly or indirectly, money, securities,

or other property worth $3,000 or more during any single tax

period ending during 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999 or

2000.” (JA218-19, 323-26). The Dec. 10 Request demanded

the production of the documents by January 10, 2002, only

thirty days from the date of the request. (JA218, 323).

On December 18, 2001 , Judicial Watch, Inc. sent the IRS

additional requests for documents pursuant to FOIA,

reiterating earlier FOLIA requests to which the IRS had not

fully responded. (JA219). The IRS still has not provided

responses to these December 18, 2001 FOIA requests.

(JA219).

On January 18, 2002, despite this pending litigation

challenging the constitutionality of the IRS’s audit and

seeking injunctive relief, the IRS served an administrative

summons on Judicial Watch, Inc. in further pursuit of its

retaliatory and politically-motivated audit. (JA453-58). The

administrative summons demanded the production of virtually

every document ever created by Judicial Watch, Inc.,

including the names of all of J udicial Watch, Inc.’s donors for

the seven-year period from 1994 to the present, and demanded

that the documents, which would comprise nearly all of

Judicial Watch, Inc.’s office files, be delivered to the IRS’s

Offices just eight business days from the date the summons

was served. (JA436-47, 453-58). The burdensomeness and

breadth of the summons -- calling for the production of seven

years of records in just eight days -- was unprecedented and

remarkable. (JA437). The summons was signed and issued

by Hampel, “Group Manager” of the IRS, who previously had

implicitly threatened an audit to try to scare Judicial Watch,

14

Inc. away from pursuing its public interest advocacy.

(JA437).

Anticipating that the IRS would attempt to enforce its

overreaching and retaliatory summons through a summons

enforcement action in federal court, on January 30, 2002,

Judicial Watch, Inc. filed a motion to stay in the District

Court. (JA404-82). In its motion, Judicial Watch, Inc. asked

the District Court to stay or enjoin any attempt to enforce the

summons, or issue any other IRS summons to Judicial Watch,

Inc. until such time as Judicial Watch, Inc. had obtained a

final determination on the merits of its constitutional and

FOIA claims in the underlying lawsuit. (JA404-82). The

District Court denied that motion on March 27, 2002, on the

basis that it lacked subject matter jurisdiction to issue the stay

and injunctive relief Judicial Watch, Inc. requested. (JA665-

86).

On March 28, 2002, just one day after the District Court

denied Judicial Watch, Inc.’s motion, the United States of

America filed a petition to enforce the administrative

summons in the United States District Court for the District

of Columbia, Case No. 02-ms-144(ESH). On December 11,

2002, the District of Columbia court ordered, after a summary

proceeding, that the summons be enforced without substantial

alteration. That ruling is now on appeal to the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit.

15

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD ISSUE

BECAUSE THE APPELLATE COURT’S

RULING CONFLICTS WITH RELEVANT

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT ON AN

IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LaW,

NAMELY, WHETHER A BIVENS ACTION IS

AVAILABLE TO REMEDY A POLITICALLY-

INSPIRED, RETALIATORY TAX AUDIT

Imagine a democratic society in which the government’s

power to conduct tax audits is used to retaliate against and

penalize its critics. The abuse of the government’s substantial

power in this manner has, unfortunately, been all too

common. See, e.g., Ronald Steel, “Schultz’s Way,” The New

York Times, January 11, 1987 (quoting President Nixon

saying, in reference to then Treasury Secretary George P.

Schultz’s refusal to authorize tax audits of Nix«i’s critics,

“What does that candy ass think I sent him over there for?”).

Politically-inspired tax audits used to punish or retaliate

against citizens for exercising their First Amendment right to

criticize the government are unquestionably unconstitutional

and illegal. Crawford-El v. Britton, 523 U.S. 574, 592 (1998)

(“[tJhe general rule has long been clearly established” that

“the First Amendment bars retaliation for protected speech .

...”). However, waiting until a tax liability is assessed as a

result of the unconstitutional audit (if in fact a tax liability

ever is assessed), then allowing the taxpayer to sue for a

refund and/or any damages that arise from the collection of

the assessed taxes, does nothing to remedy cases where a

punitive, retaliatory tax audit is undertaken in violation of the

16

First Amendment, causing tremendous financial damage and

personal suffering, but no tax liability is assessed.’ Unless a

Bivens remedy is allowed, the victims of these

unconstitutional tax audits are left without any damages

remedy simply because, at the end of the day, no tax liability

is found.* That is precisely the situation in which Judicial

Watch, Inc. finds itself.

Nonetheless, the Appellate Court refused to allow Judicial

Watch, Inc. a Bivens remedy, citing this Court’s rulings in

Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367 (1983) and Schweiker v.

Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412 (1988). The Appellate Court

specifically found that remedies allowed under the Internal

Revenue Code, in the unlikely event that a tax liability is

assessed as a result of a punitive, retaliatory tax audit,

preclude any Bivens remedy:

We conclude, therefore, that in this case “it would be

inappropriate to supplement [the] regulatory scheme

with a new judicial remedy” for alleged retaliatory tax

> In the District Court, Respondents conceded that the only

statutory remedies available to Judicial Watch, Inc. through

the Internal Revenue Code consisted of a suit for a refund, if

taxes are ultimately assessed, and a suit for declaratory relief,

if Judicial Watch, Inc. is stripped of its tax-exempt status.

App. 43, n.12.

* — It is logical to conclude that no tax liability would result

in the majority of cases of punitive, retaliatory,

unconstitutional tax audits, because such audits are, by

definition, commenced in bad faith and without a proper basis

in fact or law.

17

audits. Bush, 462 U.S. at 368. As in Chilicky,

although “the creation of a Bivens remedy would

obviously offer the prospect of relief for injuries that

must now go unredressed,” the fact that Congress “has

not failed to provide meaningful safeguards or

remedies for the rights of persons” similarly situated

counsels against any judicial extension of Bivens

liability. Chilicky, 487 U.S. at 425.

App. 27.

Judicial Watch, Inc. respectfully submits that the

Appellate Court’s ruling conflicts with this Court’s rulings in

Bush and Chilicky because the Appellate Court’s ruling read

those cases too broadly. In Chilicky, which concerned the

denial of Social Security Disability Insurance benefits, after

surveying the extensive remedial provisions of the Social

Security Act, this Court determined that “Congress ... has

not failed to provide meaningful safeguards or remedies for

the rights or persons situated as [the plaintiffs] were.”

Chilicky, 487 U.S. at 425. While this Court agreed that the

restoration of back benefits afforded by the statute would not

provide a complete remedy to the plaintiffs, it held that the

relief provided by the statute afforded a sufficient remedy,

and, therefore, declined to authorize a supplemental form of

relief. Chilicky, 487 U.S. at 428-29.

This Court reached a similar conclusion in Bush. In that

case, the plaintiff, a federal employee, alleged that he was

demoted for exercising his First Amendment rights by making

statements to the press that were critical of the government.

Bush, 462 U.S. at 369-70. He exercised his statutory right to

challenge the demotion before the Civil Service Commission,

18

was reinstated to his previous position, and received an award

of back pay. Bush, 462 U.S: at 370-71. He also sought

damages in state court for violation of his First Amendment

rights. Bush, 462 U.S. at 371. On appeal from this state court

action, this Court explained: g

the question is not what remedy the court should

provide for a wrong that would otherwise go

unredressed. It is whether an elaborate remedial

system that had been constructed step by step, with

careful attention to conflicting policy considerations,

should be augmented by the creation of a new judicial

remedy for the constitutional violation at isswe

Bush, 462 U.S. at 388. Answering this question in the

negative, the Court declined to augment the remedy available

to the plaintiff. Bush, 462 U:S. at 390.

In this case, Judicial Watch, Inc. argued that, unlike in

Chilicky and Bush, no meaningful relief at all was available

to remedy the violation of its core First Amendment rights to

criticize the government, and -therefore the serious

constitutional wrong alleged by Judicial Watch, Inc. would go

unredressed in the absence of a Bivens remedy. By contrast,

in Schweiker, the plaintiffs could still recover the denied

social security benefits. Schweiker, 487 U.S. at 428. In Bush,

the plaintiff could still be reinstated and receive an award of

back pay. Bush, 462 U.S. at 370-71. Schweiker and Bush

hold that, when Congress affords a remedy for a particular

harm, a court may not judicially create an additional remedy,

even if the congressionally-created remedy does not afford

complete relief. Those cases do not, however, stand for the

proposition that, when Congress has created no remedy at all

for 2 constitutional violation, a Bivens remedy may not be

19

afforded to those whose constitutional ri ghts have been

violated simply because Congress affords other remedies for

unrelated violations that occur in the course of administering

the government program or activity at issue.

Indeed, this was exactly the conclusion reached in a

concurring opinion by Judge Stephen Reinhardt of the U.S.

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit (“Ninth Circuit”) in

Western Center jor Journalism v. Cederquist, 235 F.3d 1153,

1158-59 (9th Cir. 2000), a substantially similar case

concerning a punitive, retaliatory tax audit that concluded

with a finding of no tax liability, and, hence, none of the

Statutory remedies allowed by the Internal Revenue Code

were available to the plaintiff. Judge Reinhardt determined:

... unlike [cases] in which the Internal Revenue Code

(Code) provides a mechanism for the taxpayer to be

compensated for the wrongful collection of taxes and

the wrongful determination of the amount of taxes

owed, in this case, the Code does not authorize any

relief (other than a declaratory judgment, see 26

U.S.C. § 7428(a)); nor does that Code preclude relief

for the type of injury alleged here -- harassment by

means of a retaliatory audit on account of the

expression of one’s political views.

If the IRS actually conducts audits of organizations to

retaliate against them for exercising their First

Amendment right to criticize government officials,

courts certainly have the authority to intervene. The

Bivens remedy is a powerful tool against such

governmental abuse, and must be available in

appropriate cases.

20

Cederquist, 235 F.3d at 1159.

Judge Reinhardt reached this compelling conclusion by

citing to an equally compelling decision by the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the Tenth Circuit (“Tenth Circuit”) in National

Commodity & Barter Ass'n v. Archer, 31 F.3d 1521 (10th Cir.

1985), in which that Court also determined that a Bivens

remedy was available to a taxpayer subject to a punitive,

retaliatory, unconstitutional tax audit for which the Internal

Revenue Code provided no remedy:

The Tenth Circuit has explained that, in cases in

which the Code does not provide any mechanism for

compensation, IRS officers are not shielded from

liability simply because the Code contains remedies

for other, unrelated violations. National Commodity

& Barter Ass’n, 31 F.3d at 1530 (Bivens remedy

against IRS officials proper to redress injury to First

Amendment rights caused by seizure of organization's

membership lists); cf. id. at 1532 (no Bivens remedy

to redress harm caused by jeopardy assessment,

because the Code provides a mechanism to remedy

wrongful collection of taxes). I agree with the Tenth

Circuit that a Bivens remedy is available in First

Amendment cases involving the type of IRS

harassment alleged here.

Cederquist, 235 F.3d at 1159.

In both National Commodity & Barter Ass'n v. Gibbs, 886

F.2d 1240 (10th Cir. 1989) (NCBA J) and National

Commodity & Barter Ass'n v. Archer, 31 F.3d 1521 (10th Cir.

1994) (NCBA II), the Tenth Circuit allowed a Bivens claim to

21

proceed against IRS officials based upon allegations that the

Officials harassed and retaliated against the plaintiffs for

advocating the abolition of the IRS, but would not allow a

Bivens claim to proceed based upon allegations of unlawful

tax collection practices. Specifically, the plaintiffs in NCBA

I and NCBA II alleged that IRS officials engaged in a pattern

of improper conduct to “demoralize, paralyze, and ultimately

destroy a non-commercial, voluntary, political/educational

association of individuals advocating dissident view as to the

- tax, monetary and fiscal laws and policies of the government”

in violation of their First and Fourth Amendment rights.

NCBA I, 886 F.2d at 1244. The plaintiffs also alleged that

they were improperly subjected to tax penalties known as

jeopardy assessments in violation of their Fifth Amendment

rights.” NCBA I, 886 F.2d at 1248. The Tenth Circuit

expressly declared that the plaintiffs could bring a Bivens

action to remedy violations of their First and Fourth

Amendment rights:

In Pleasant v. Lowell, without directly considering the

issue, this court permitted individuals to proceed in

first and fourth amendment Bivens claims against

agents of the Internal Revenue Service for certain

activities also described in the complaint at issue in

this case. Implicit in our holding in Pleasant is the

recognition that, while the comprehensive scheme of

* Jeopardy assessments allow the IRS to seize assets where

it believes its future ability to collect a tax deficiency will be

harmed by any delay. Jeopardy assessments are specifically

authorized by statute, and Congress has enacted well-defined

procedures for challenging them. 26 U.S.C. §§ 6861, 6862

and 6863.

22

the Internal Revenue Service should not be

indiscriminately disrupted by the creation of new

remedies, certain values, such as those protected by

the first and fourth amendments, may be superior to

the need to protect the integrity of the internal revenue

system. We therefore recognized thatthe NCBA may

bring a Bivens action for violations of the first and

fourth amendments.

NCBA I, 886 F.2d at 1248 (citations omitted); NCBA II, 31

F.3d at 1527-32.

At the same time, the Tenth Circuit in NCBA Jand NCBA

IT would not allow the plaintiffs to maintain claims against

IRS officials under Bivens for the allegedly unlawful jeopardy

assessments:

In further support of their constitutional claims,

plaintiffs allege that wrongful jeopardy assessments

were made against NCBA. .. . In NCBA I, we held

that the NCBA did not state a Bivens claim under the

Fifth Amendment or the Internal Revenue Code for

the wrongful assessments. We reasoned that “the

NCBA has all sorts of rights against overzealous

officialdom, including, most fundamentally, the right

to sue the government for a refund if forced to

overpay taxes, and it would make the collection of

taxes chaotic if a taxpayer could bypass the remedies

provided by Congress simply by bringing a damage

action against [government employees. ]”

This reasoning is equally applicable to the claim

grounded on the allegations of wrongful jeopardy

23

assessments here under the First and Fourth

Amendments. In light of the remedies afforded

elsewhere, we decline to recognize a First or Fourth

Amendment Bivens remedy based on the allegations

of wrongful jeopardy assessments made by the instant

complaint.

NCBA II, 31 F.3d at 1532 (emphasis added) (citations

omitted).

These holdings are entirely consistent with any fair

reading of Chilicky and Bush. Where Congress has created an

alternative remedy, such as for unlawful tax collection

practices, those remedies render Bivens claims unnecessary.

Where there is no such alternative rémedy, such as in

Cederquist, NCBA I, NCBA II, and in this case, a Bivens

action is the only remedy available to vindicate the important

constitutional rights secured by the First Amendment.

In fact, the District Court also drew this same distinction

and found a Bivens remedy exists where IRS officials retaliate

against citizens for expressing their First Amendment right to

criticize the government, citing Cederquist, NCBA I and

NCBA II, among other authority:

... the United States Supreme Court has restricted the

availability of Bivens actions, by expanding on the

language in Bivens indicating that such relief is

permissible only when there are “no special factors

counseling hesitation in the absence of affirmative

action by Congress.” 403 U.S. at 396. The Court has

found that affirmative action by Congress to create a

Statutory or regulatory remedial scheme, even if the

24

scheme lacks complete remedies for constitutional

violations, is sufficient to bar a Bivens action. See,

e.g., Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412, 101 L. Ed.

2d 370, 108 S. Ct. 2460 (1988) (remedial scheme in

context of social security system); Chappell v.

Wallace, 462 U.S. 296, 304, 76 L. Ed. 2d 586, 103 S.

Ct. 2362 (1983) (remedial scheme in context of

military justice system); Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367,

368, 76 L. Ed. 2d 648, 103 S. Ct. 2404 (1983)

(remedial scheme in context of civil service system).

Summing up its approach to these cases, the Court

stated, “when the design of a Government program

suggests that Congress has provided what it considers

adequate remedial mechanisms for constitutional

violations that may occur in the course of its

administration, we have not created additional Bivens

remedies.” Schweiker at 423. —

Circuit courts have applied this reasoning to deny

Bivens claims in lawsuits against I.R.S. employees

where the plaintiffs would have another avenue of

relief through the provisions of the Internal Revenue

Code. See, e.g., Shreiber v. Mastrogiovanni, 214 F.3d

148 (3rd Cir. 2000); Fishburn v. Brown, 125 F.3d

979, 982-83 (6th Cir. 1997); Vennes v. Unknown

Number of Unidentified Agents, 26 F.3d 1448, 1453-

53 (8th Cir. 1994). Im these cases, however, the

harm caused by the alleged constitutional

violations amounted to the illegal assessment or

collection of taxes, which could be cured, at least

for the most part, by refund suits and other similar

statutory remedies. In contrast, where the

constitutional violation is a harm in itself, such as

25

the suppression of political speech or the violation

of Fourth Amendment rights, courts have

recognized the propriety of a Bivens remedy. See,

Nat'l Commodity and Barter Assoc. v. Gibbs, 886

F.2d 1240, 1248 (10th Cir. 1989) (permitting Bivens

action for violations of the First and Fourth

Amendments because “certain values... may be

superior to the need to protect the integrity of the

intemal revenue system”); Western Center for

Journalism v. Cederquist, 235 F.3d 1153, (9th Cir.

2000) (Reinhardt, J., concurring) (observing thata -

' Bivens remedy is appropriate for retaliatory audits

' because Congress has fashioned no remedy for I.R.S.

conduct that punishes political speech); Hurt v. United

States, 889 F. Supp. 248 (S.D. W. Va. 1995) (finding

grounds for a Bivens remedy where plaintiffs sued

LR.S. agents for allegedly retaliatory and harassing >

auditing practices). -

Accordingly, this Court is persuaded that a Bivens

action should be available where, as here, the statutory

remedies provided in the Internal Revenue Code (i.e.,

a refund suit and action for declaratory relief) would

not address the alleged constitutional wrongs of the

.R.S. defendants.

App. 41-43 (emphasis added).

Other courts have allowed Bivens actions to proceed in

order to remedy punitive, retaliatory tax audits. In Hurt v.

United States, 889 F. Supp. 248 (S.D. W.Va. 1996), the

plaintiffs alleged that IRS officials violated their Fourth and

Fifth Amendment rights by harassing them in reialiation for

Mr. Hurt’s legal representation of clients in civil actions filed

26

against the IRS several years earlier. Hurt, 889 F. Supp. at

249. The alleged harassment specifically included retaliatory

tax audits, among other improper conduct. Hurt, 889 F.

Supp. at 249. The Court expressly held that the plaintiffs

could maintain a Bivens action against the IRS officials:

Plaintiffs allege a pattern of retaliatory and harassing

auditing and crediting practices used by the IRS

against them. This is sufficient to withstand a motion

to dismiss the-Bivens claim.

Hurt, 889 F. Supp. at 252.

Courts also have allowed Eivens actions to proceed

against IRS agents in other, non-tax collection contexts. For

example, in Kaufman v. United States, 876 F. Supp. 1044

(E.D. Wis. 1995) the Court sustained a Bivens action against

IRS agents who obtained a warrant to search the plaintiff's

business by making knowingly false or reckless

misrepresentations in an affidavit.

The Appellate Court itself suggested that a Bivens action

should be allowed-to proceed in order to remedy a punitive,

retaliatory tax audit in White v. Boyle, 538 F.2d 1077 (4th Cir.

1976), although Judicial Watch, Inc. recognizes that White

was decided before Bush and Chilicky.

Under a proper reading of Bush and Chilicky, the same

conclusion reached by the Courts in Cederquist, NCBA I, and

NCBA II, as well as the conclusion reached by the Appellate

Court itself in White and the district courts in Hurt and

Kaufman, should have been reached in this action. A writ of

certiorari should issue to resolve the conflict between this

27

Court’s rulings in Bush and Chilicky and the Appellate

Court’s January 24, 2003 ruling in this important matter.

II. A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD ISSUE TO

RESOLVE THIS IMPORTANT QUESTION OF

FEDERAL LAW THAT HAS NOT BEEN, BUT

SHOULD BE, SETTLED BY THIS COURT

This Court has never ruled on the important question of

federal law raised by Judicial Watch, Inc.’s lawsuit, namely,

whether a Bivens action is available to remedy politically-

inspired and/or retaliatory tax audits. The interests at stake in

this lawsuit -- the right to criticize the government without

punishment or retaliation - lie at the core of the freedoms

protected by the First Amendment. A democratic society

governed by the rule of law demands that a Bivens remedy be

made available to protect this vital interest, and a writ of

certiorari should issue to address this important concern.

Ill. A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD ISSUE

TO RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE

UNITED STATES COURTS OF APPEALS

ABOUT THIS IMPORTANT QUESTION OF

FEDERAL LAW

As demonstrated in Section I, above, the Appellate

Court’s January 24, 2003 decision conflicts with the rulings

of at least one other United States court of appeals, namely,

the Tenth Circuit’s decisions in NCBA J and NCBA II. It also

conflicts with the Ninth Circuit concurrence of Judge

Reinhardt in Cederquist. A writ of certiorari should issue to

28

resolve the conflict among the United States courts of appeals

about this important question of federal law.

CONCLUSION

The misuse of the IRS for punitive, retaliatory purposes

has haunted the history of our nation. The Court should take

this opportunity to confirm that a Bivens remedy is available

to victims of politically-inspired, retaliatory tax audits, not

only because the Appellate Court’s decision conflicts with

prior related decisions of this Court concerning when Bivens

claims should be allowed, but also because the Court has not

addressed this particular, obviously important issue and the

_courts of appeals that have addressed the issue are divided.

For these and the other compelling reasons set forth above,

Judicial Watch, Inc. respectfully requests that its petition for

writ of certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Larry Klayman*

Paul J. Orfanedes

JUDICIAL WATCH, INC.

501 School Street, S.W.

Suite 500

Washington, DC 20024

(202) 646-5172

Counsel for Petitioner

* Denotes Counsel of Record

one ae 4 3

oe

“Pas

App..1

APPENDIX A - JANUARY 24, 2003

APPELLATE COURT OPINION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

JUDICIAL WATCH, INC.

Appellant,

No. 02-1413, No. 02-1462

V.

CHARLES O. ROSSOTTI

et al.,

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Appellees. )

)

Appeals from the United States District Court for

the District of Maryland at Baltimore. William M.

Nickerson, Senior District Judge.

(CA-01-2672-WMN).

317 F.3d 401; 2003 U.S. App. LEXIS 1090;

2003-1 U.S. Tax Cas. (CCH) P50,202;

91 A.F.T.R.2d (RIA) 763

December 3, 2002, Argued

January 24, 2003, Decided

DISPOSITION:

Affirmed.

COUNSEL:

ARGUED: David Barmak, MINTZ, LEVIN, . COHN,

FERRIS, GLOVSKY & POPEO, P.C., Reston, Virginia, for

Appellant. ;

Gretchen M. Wolfinger, Tax Division, UNITED STATES

DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE, Washington, D.C., for

Appellees.

ON BRIEF: Erica Brown, MINTZ, LEVIN, COHN, FERRIS,

GLOVSKY & POPEO, P.C., Washington, D.C., for

Appellant.

Eileen J. O'Connor, Assistant Attorney General, Jonathan S.

Cohen, Thomas M. DiBiagio, United States Attorney, Tax

Division, UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE,

Washington, D.C., for Appellees.

JUDGES:

Before NIEMEYER, LUTTIG, and MOTZ, Circuit Judges.

Judge Motz wrote the opinion, in which Judge Niemeyer and

Judge Luttig joined.

OPINION BY:

DIANA GRIBBON MOTZ

App. 3

OPINION:

DIANA GRIBBON MOTZ, Circuit Judge:.

I.

Founded in 1994, Judicial Watch describes itself as a

"non-partisan legal ‘watchdog’ organization that relies on the

Freedom of Information Act ("FOIA"), the civil discovery

_ attempting, to influence legislation ... or intervening in

(including the publishing or distributing of Statements), any

political campaign on behalf of (or in opposition to) any

candidate for public office"); see also 26 U.S.C.A. § 504

(West 2002) (addressing status of organization that fails to

App. 4

qualify for 501(c)(3) exemption because of substantial

lobbying or political activities); Regan v. Taxation with

Representation for Washington, 461 U.S. 540, 551, 76 L.Ed.

2d 129, 103 S.Ct. 1997 (1983) (affirming § 501(c)(3) ban on

lobbying).

During the late 1990s, Judicial Watch filed a number of

lawsuits against President and Mrs. Clinton. On September

28, 1998, in the midst of the impeachment proceedings

against President Clinton, Judicial Watch submitted a report

entitled "Interim Report: Crimes and Other Offenses

Committed by President Bill Clinton Warranting His

Impeachment and Removal from Elected Office" ("Interim

Report") to members of the House Judiciary Committee. The

Interim Report claimed, inter alia, "that the Clinton

Administration had operated a campaign of retribution and

retaliation against its perceived enemies, using politically

inspired retaliatory tax audits as a major weapon in that

campaign." The Interim Report was subsequently accepted

into the Congressional Record and made an official part of the

impeachment proceedings in Congress.

Several days later, Judicial Watch received a letter from

the IRS, signed by Agent Donna Dorsey, stating that it had

been selected for an audit. The letter was accompanied by an

IRS Form 4564 Information Document Request, which

requested information pertaining to the political affiliations of

Judicial Watch directors. After receiving the audit letter,

Judicial Watch resisted IRS efforts to proceed with the audit

by filing FOIA requests, meeting with IRS officials, refusing

IRS document requests, and asserting throughout that the

audit constituted politically motivated retaliation.

"App. 5

In July 1999, the IRS informed Judicial Watch that the

Service was withdrawing the audit Pending an investigation

by the Treasury Inspector General for Tax Administration, the

independent internal monitor of IRS activities. The IRS

contends, and Judicial Watch does not dispute, that the

Inspector General then conducted two investigations into the

asserted illegitimacy of the audit and found no evidence of

impropriety by the IRS or any of the IRS employees involved

in the decision to audit Judicial Watch. -

January 2002, Judicial Watch filed an amended complaint,

withdrawing its claims against the United States, but adding

the Department of the Treasury and the Internal Revenue

Service as defendants.

The amended complaint alleges that the audit is

"retaliatory, politically-motivated, and unconstitutional,"

violating Judicial Watch's First Amendment free speech

rights, Fifth Amendment due process rights, and Fifth

Amendment right to be free of selective prosecution. The

amended complaint seeks an injunction against all defendants

from proceeding with the audit and compensatory and

individual agents. It also includes claims for relief in

connection with Judicial Watch's FOIA requests.

In support of its constitutional claims, Judicial Watch

alleges that the timing of the audit letter (four days after the

App. 6

Interim Report was made an official part of Congress's

impeachment proceedings), the timing of several subsequent

IRS document requests pursuant to the audit, and the fact that

it received final notice of its exempt status at roughly the

same time that it received the audit letter, create a strong

inference of retaliatory motive. Similarly, Judicial Watch

| cites the "extraordinary demand” contained in the IRS Form

4564 Information Document Request that Judicial Watch

| provide information on the political affiliations ofits directors

and the alleged refusal of the IRS to respond to Judicial

Watch's various FOIA requests as evidence of bad faith and

improper motive.

Finally, Judicial Watch refers to comments by various IRS

agents that, in its view, suggest a retaliatory motive. These

comments include the statement by Agent Dorsey on

November 23, 1998 to counsel for Judicial Watch that the

audit was a "hot potato"; the query by Agent Breslan to

representatives from Judicial Watch at a meeting on January

12, 1999: "What do you expect when you sue the President?";

the asserted concession by Agent Miller that the audit and

IRS's failure to respond to Judicial Watch's FOIA requests

"had created at least the appearance of a problem"; and

| statements made during March and April 2000 by Agent

Hampel that Judicial Watch was still on the IRS "radar

screen."

On January 18, 2002, more than three years after sending

the initial audit letter, the IRS served Judicial Watch with an

administrative summons pursuant to the audit demanding

production of documents within eight business days. judicial

Watch refused to comply with the summons, but instead filed

another action in the district court seeking to stay or enjoin

aaa

OS MH RI NU SREP da te UR aap Fai gTR OE LOMB ree TOT

App. 7

any attempt to enforce the summons. The court subsequently

consolidated the new action with the Original action.

After full briefing, the district court denied Judicial

Watch's motion to stay or enjoin the administrative summons

and eranted the defendants' motion to dismiss all claims.

Because the court did not resolve the FOIA claims, Judicial

Watch moved for certification of the case for immediate

appeal. The district court entered the requested certification

order and we, in turn, granted Judicial Watch's petition for

interlocutory review. See 28 US.C.A. § 1292(a)(1) (West

1993).!

Il.

The districi court denied Judicial Watch's request for

injunctive relief on the ground that the Anti-Injunction Act

(sometimes herein, "the Act"), 26 U.S.C.A. § 7421 (West

Subsequent to the issuance of the district court's opinion,

the Government filed a summons enforcement action in the

District Court for the District of Columbia. On December 1 l,

2002, after extensive briefing and in camera review of "all

documents relating to [IRS's] motivation and purpose for its

proposed audit of Judicial Watch," affidavits from IRS

officials and employees involved in the audit, and the reports

of two investigations of the audit by the Treasury Inspector

General for Tax Administration, the court resolved the action

in favor of the United States, concluding that there was "no

evidence of political vindictiveness or retaliatory motive." See

United States v. Judicial Watch, Inc., 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

25197, Misc. Action No. 02-144 (ESH) (D.D.C. Dec. 11,

2002) slip op. at 3, 9-10. Judicial Watch indicates that it

intends to appeal this Tuling.

App. 8

2002), deprived it of jurisdiction to grant such relief. We

review that decision de novo. Estate of Michael v. M.J. Lullo,

173 F.3d 503, 506 (4th Cir. 1999).

The Anti-Injunction Act provides in relevant part that:

no suit for the purpose of restraining the assessment or

collection of any tax shall be maintained in any court

by any person, whether or not such person is the

_ person against whom such tax was assessed.

26 U.S.C.A. § 7421(a) (West 2002).

As the Supreme Court has emphasized, the language of

the Act "could scarcely be more explicit," reflecting its

overarching objective of protecting "the Government's need

to assess and collect taxes as expeditiously as possible with a

minimum of pre-enforcement judicial interference." Bob

Jones University v. Simon, 416 U.S. 725, 736, 40 L.Ed. 2d

496, 94 S.Ct. 2038 (1974); see also Sigmon Coal Co. v. Apfel,

226 F.3d 291, 299 (4th Cir. 2000) ("The Act has two primary

objectives: ‘efficient and expeditious collection of taxes with

a minimum of preenforcement judicial interference, and

protection of the collector from litigation pending a refund

suit'." (quoting United States v. American Friends Serv.

Comm., 419 U.S. 7, 12, 42 L.Ed. 2d 7, 95 S.Ct. 13 (1974) (per

curiam))), aff'd sub nom. Barnhart v. Sigmon Coal Co., 534

U.S. 438, 151 L.Ed. 2d 908, 122 S.Ct. 941 (2002). The effect

of the Act is simple and obvious: courts lack jurisdiction to

issue injunciive relief in suits seeking to restrain the

assessment or collection of taxes. See, eg., Estate of

Michael, 173 F.3d at 506 ("The Anti-Injunction Act

withdraws all courts' jurisdiction over suits filed ‘for the

App. 9

purpose of restraining the assessment or collection of any

tax'.").

Judicial Watch maintains that the Act does not apply to its

motion to enjoin the audit (and stay or enjoin enforcement of

the administrative summons issued pursuant to the audit)

because an audit conducted for unlawful purposes does not

constitute "assessment or collection" of a tax. Alternatively,

it argues that even if the Act does apply to its request for

injunctive relief, the present action falls within the judicially

crafted exceptions to the Act. Both arguments fail.

A.

First, it is clear that the Anti-Injunction Act extends

beyond the mere assessment and collection of taxes to

embrace other activities, such as an audit to determine tax

liability, that may culminate in the assessment or collection of

taxes.

In Bob Jones, for example, the Supreme Court refused to

enjoin the IRS from revoking the plaintiff's § 501(c)(3)

Status. 416 U.S. at 748-49. Other courts, including this one,

have also held that the Act applies broadly to include

activities that are intended to or may culminate in the

assessment or collection of taxes. See, e.g., Lowrie v. United

States, 824 F.2d 827, 830 (10th Cir. 1987) ("The statute

applies not only to the actual assessment or collection of a

tax, but is equally applicable to activities leading up to, and

culminating in, such assessment and collection."); Dickens v.

United States, 671 F.2d 969, 971 (6th Cir. 1982) (stating that

the Act "is equally applicable to activities which are intended

to or may culminate in the assessment or collection of taxes"

App. 10

(internal quotations marks and citations omitted)); White v.

Boyle, 538 F.2d 1077, 1080 (4th Cir. 1976) (affirming

dismissal of request for injunctive reliefregardless of whether

the taxpayer "sought to restrain the collection of taxes. . . or

to restrain an investigation of his tax liability" (citations

omitted)). Clearly, an audit to determine tax liability fits

squarely within the category of activities that may culminate

in the assessment or collection of taxes.

Judicial Watch attempts to distinguish these cases on the

ground that in them the IRS acted on the basis of good faith

tax enforcement purposes, while the audit at issue here was,

according to Judicial Watch, a product of bad faith non-tax

related motives. Judicial Watch further maintains that

because these bad faith motives assertedly drove the decision

to initiate the audit, enjoining the audit (and any judicial

enforcement of the administrative summons) would not

constitute an interference with the assessment or collection of

taxes.

The initial difficulty with this argument is that, although

the amended complaint contains general allegations of

retaliatory conduct by IRS agents based on the factual

chronology outlined above, the complaint does not allege that

the individual IRS agents even knew that Judicial Watch had

filed various lawsuits, much less its Interim Report, explicitly

targeting the Clinton administration. Nor does Judicial Watch

dispute that the Inspector General conducted two

investigations and twice exonerated the individual IRS

employees involved in the audit decision.

Moreover, the sworn declaration of Agent Dorsey, which

the district court made part of the record after issuance of its

REGAN DEOL EEOC GEES LPN EMER

App. 11

decision in this case at the request of Judicial Watch and

which Judicial Watch urges us to consider, severely

undermines Judicial Watch's general allegations of retaliation.

In her declaration, Dorsey, who signed the initial audit letter,

States that the decision to audit Judicial Watch was made in

December 1997 (more than nine months before the

impeachment proceedings); that when first assigned the

Judicial Watch audit in July 1998 she had never heard of the

organization; that, except for an initial instruction to

coordinate her work on the audit with IRS District Counsel in

Baltimore, she never received any "instructions, directions,

indications, or suggestions from anyone to treat Judicial

Watch, Inc. differently than any other taxpayers" during the

course of her work on the case; that she never had any contact

with then Commissioner Rossotti or his office or with the

President or the Vice President, or their offices; and that she

did not follow and was not aware of any role that Judicial

Watch played in the impeachment of President Clinton.”

The district court also permitted Judicial Watch to

supplement the record with numerous complaints by citizens

to various elected officials regarding Judicial Watch's political

activities, and referral of those complaints to the IRS. The

citizens assert that based on fundraising materials received

from Judicial Watch, they believe that the organization

engaged in partisan political activity not permitted of a §

501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization. These materials do not

Support Judicial Watch's contentions that the IRS or its agents

acted improperly. They simply evidence constituent service,

which our political system accepts and even applauds.

Judicial Watch places particular emphasis on "an August 14,

1998 e-mail" complaint of this sort "from a purported Clinton

supporter to President Clinton" and documents indicating that

App. 12

Judicial Watch does not dispute any of these assertions.

We also can take judicial notice that in its recent decision

granting the IRS's summons enforcement request, the district

court in the District of Columbia concluded, on the basis of a

"voluminous record," that there was "no evidence of political

vindictiveness or a retaliatory motive." United States v.

Judicial Watch, Inc., 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 25197 at *4,

Misc. Action No. 02-144 (ESH) (D.D.C. Dec. 11, 2002), slip

op. at 2-3. Thus, Judicial Watch's argument that the IRS acted

with bad faith motives unrelated to enforcement of the tax law

finds little support in the record.

More importantly, Judicial Watch misunderstands the

impact of allegations that the IRS acted with bad faith, non-

tax related motives. Such allegations do not render the Anti-

Injunction Act inapplicable. In Bob Jones itself, the taxpayer

contended, when seeking to enjoin the IRS, that "the Service's

threatened action was outside its lawful authority and would

| violate petitioner's rights to the free exercise of religion, to

| free association, and to due process and equal protection of

the laws." Bob Jones, 416 U.S. at 736. The Supreme Court

recognized this "attribution of non-tax-related motives to the

the Office of the President forwarded this e-mail to then IRS-

Commissioner Rossotti's office. Supp. Brief of Appellant at

3-4. However, as noted in text above, regardless of the

lawfulness of this communication by the President or his

office (and Judicial Watch maintains that it violates 26

U.S.C.A. § 7217 (West 2002)) nothing in the record indicates

it had any effect on the IRS's decision to audit Judicial Watch.

Indeed, according to Agent Dorsey's undisputed sworm

statement, the IRS decided to audit Judicial Watch in

December 1997 -- eight months before the date of the e-mail.

a ;

App. 13

Service," but concluded that the attribution "ignored the fact

that the [taxpayer] had not shown that the Service's action was

without an independent basis in the requirements of the

Code." Id. at 740 (emphasis added). The Court explained that

if the IRS action represents "a good-faith effort to enforce the

technical requirements of the tax laws," other additional

motives for its actions do not eliminate the prohibition in the

Anti-Injunction Act. Id. Thus, despite the petitioner’s efforts

to circumvent the restrictions of the Anti-Injunction Act by

attributing a non-tax-related purpose to the IRS's actions, the

Bob Jones Court concluded that the Act did apply and

proceeded to determine if the request for injunctive relief

qualified for an exception to the Act. Jd. at 748-49,

Accordingly, unless Judicial Watch qualifies for one of

two exceptions to the Anti-Injunction Act, the district court

properly concluded that the Act stripped it of jurisdiction

necessary to issue the requested injunctive relief.

B.

The Supreme Court established the first exception to the

Act in Enochs v. Williams Packing & Navigation Co., 370

USS. 1, 8 L.Ed. 2d 292, 82 S.Ct. 1125 (1962), "the capstone

to judicial construction of the Act." Bob Jones, 416 U.S. at

742. In Williams Packing, the taxpayer requested an

injunction to prevent the IRS from collecting past due social

security and unemployment taxes. Although the Supreme

Court reversed a lower court's grant of injunctive relief, the

Court held that such actions could proceed, despite the Anti-

Injunction Act, if, but only if, the plaintiff could show that (1)

"under no circumstances could the Government ultimately

prevail," and (2) "equity jurisdiction otherwise exists."

App. 14

Williams Packing, 370 U.S. at 7. Moreover, the Court

directed that in analyzing the initial factor, a court must

determine, "on the basis of the information available to [the

Government] at the time of the suit," whether, "under the

most liberal view of the law and the facts, the United States

cannot establish its claim." Jd.; see also Estate of Michael,

173 F.3d at 506.

Judicial Watch simply cannot establish that "under no

circumstances could the Government ultimately prevail."

Williams Packing, 370 U.S. at 7. Section 501(c)(3) provides

an explicit basis for the IRS to investigate Judicial Watch's

tax-exempt status and determine if its "political" activities

merit a change in its status. As the district court concluded,

taking the most liberal view of the law and the facts, it is quite

possible (even "plausible") that the IRS initiated and has

continued to pursue the audit because it was "legitimately

suspicious" that Judicial Watch's “earnest efforts to assis? in

the impeachment of President Clinton" constituted the sort of

"prohibited political activity” not permitted any organization

afforded § 501(c)(3) status. As in Bob Jones, therefore,

regardless of any additional, improper non-tax related

purpose, Judicial Watch has not and cannot demonstrate that

the IRS action does not reflect, at least in part, "a good faith

effort to enforce the technical requirements of the tax laws."

Bob Jones, 416 U.S. at 740. Thus, without deciding the

merits of Judicial Watch's claims, we must conclude that its

contentions "are sufficiently debatable to foreclose any notion

that under no circumstances could the Government ultimately

prevail." Jd. at 749.

Nor can Judicial Watch find refuge in the other exception

to the Anti-Injunction Act, that created in South Carolina v.

App. 15

Regan, 465 U.S. 367, 375, 79 L.Ed. 2d 372, 104 S.Ct. 1107

(1984). There, South Carolina sought an injunction against a

tax on the ground that a provision of the Code regarding state-

issued bonds violated the Constitution. The Supreme Court

held that if the Anti-Injunction Act applied, South Carolina

would have had to depend on third parties to raise the State's

constitutional challenge in their tax refund suits. Jd. at 379-

80. The Court reasoned that the Act could not stand as a

barrier to injunctive relief in situations "where ... Congress

has not provided the plaintiff with an alternative legal way to

challenge the validity of the tax." Jd. at 373.3

Of course, the basis of the Regan exception isnot whether

a plaintiff has access to a legal remedy for the precise harm

that it has allegedly suffered, but whether the plaintiff has any

access at all to judicial review. As the Regan Court

* Because of the strong policy animating the Anti-

Injunction Act, and the sympathetic, almost unique, facts in

Regan, courts have construed the Regan exception very

narrowly, undermining Judicial Watch's efforts to fit its own

claims within the confines of this exception. See, e.g.,

American Bicycle Ass'n v. United States (In re American

Bicycle Ass'n), 895 F.2d 1277, 1281 (9th Cir. 1990)

("Promoting the purpose behind the Act requires a strict

construction of any possible exceptions."); Leves v. IRS, 796

F.2d 1433, 1434 (11th Cir. 1986) (refusing to extend the

exception because Regan "involved the rights of third parties

to litigate the tax liability of persons against whom the tax

was assessed"); American Society of Ass'n Executives v.

Bentsen, 848 F. Supp. 245, 250(D.D.C. 1 994) (noting that the

exception announced in Regan "is a narrow one tailored to the

unique factual pattern in that case").

App. 16

explained, "the indicia of congressional intent -- the [Anti-

Injunction] Act's purposes and the circumstances of its

enactment -- demonstrate that Congress did not intend the Act

to apply where an aggrieved party would be required to

depend on the mere possibility of persuading a third party to

assert his claims." 465 U.S. at 381. The Act does apply,

however, whenever Congress has provided "an alternative

avenue for an aggrieved party to litigate its claims on its own

behalf." Jd.

This case differs markedly from Regan. Judicial Watch

does not challenge the validity of any provision of the Code,

but only seeks to avoid an audit to determine its tax liability.

Judicial Watch need not depend on third parties to pursue this

claim, a fact reflected in its efforts to resist the audit in the

summons enforcement proceedings in the District of

Columbia. See supra n.1. Moreover, the Code also provides

that organizations whose exempt status under 501(c)(3) has

been denied or revoked can seek declaratory relief. See 26

U.S.C.A. § 7428 (West 2002). Although Judicial Watch may

not like the avenues Congress has provided for challenging an

audit, it simply cannot maintain that it has no avenue for

doing so.

In sum, the claims for injunctive relief asserted by Judicial

Watch do not fall within the narrow exceptions carved out in

Williams Packing or Regan. Strong policy reasons support

this result. Extending the recognized exceptions to the Anti-

Injunction Act to include requests for injunctive relief like

that of Judicial Watch would threaten a flood of lawsuits

brought against the IRS by those seeking to enjoin an audit

they believed to be wrongful, creating precisely the kind of

App. 17

judicial interference with the assessment and collection of

taxes that the Act was designed to prevent.

Il.

Judicial Watch also contends that the district court erred

in dismissing its Bivens action for money damages against the

individual defendants. See Bivens v. Six Unknown Named

Agents of the Fed. Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388, 396-

97, 29 L.Ed. 2d 619, 91 S.Ct. 1999 (1971).*

In Bivens, the Supreme Court found that the Fourth

Amendment contained an implied private cause of action for

damages against federal Narcotics agents who allegedly

conducted an illegal search and seizure. See Bivens, 403 U.S.

at 397. The Court concluded that it could recognize this new

constitutional tort because, although Congress had never

provided for such a private right of action, "no explicit

congressional declaration" prohibited it, and "no special

factors counseled hesitation [by the Court] in the absence of

affirmative action by Congress." Jd. at 396-97.

in the more than thirty years since Bivens, the Court has

been very hesitant to imply other private actions for money

damages. Indeed, the Court has only recognized two other

such actions -- one under the Due Process Clause of the Fifth

Amendment, Davis y. Passman, 442 U.S. 228, 245-49, 60

L.Ed. 2d 846, 99 S.Ct. 2264 (1979) (finding Bivens remedy

* The district court concluded that the individual defendants

were entitled to qualified immunity on the alleged Bivens

claims. Because we find no Bivens action lies in this case, we

do not reach the question of qualified immunity.

App. 18

for alleged violation of due process rights because of gender

discrimination by United States Congressman in terminating

petitioner's employment), and one under the Cruel and

Unusual Punishment Clause of the Eighth Amendment,

Carlson v. Green, 446 U.S. 14, 18-23, 64 L.Ed. 2d 15, 100

S.Ct. 1468 (1980) (finding Bivens remedy for federal prisoner

who was allegedly deprived of potentially life-saving

' treatment in violation of his Eighth Amendment rights).

Instead, the Court has directed its attention to cabining the

Bivens doctrine. See Correctional Services Corp. v. Malesko,

534 U.S. 61, 122 S.Ct. 515, 520, 151 L.Ed. 2d 456 (2001)

("Since Carlson we have consistently refused to extend

Bivens liability to any new context or new category of

defendants.").

The Court's refusal to extend Bivens has been especially

apparent in cases involving complex statutory schemes in

which Congress has considered and created meaningful

avenues for redress. Thus, in Bush v. Lucas, 462 U.S. 367, 76

L.Ed. 2d 648, 103 S.Ct. 2404 (1983), the Court refused to

find an implied Bivens remedy for federal employees alleging

that their supervisors violated their First Amendment rights.

Because these claims arose out of a "relationship ... governed

by comprehensive procedural and substantive provisions

giving meaningful remedies against the United States," the

Court concluded that "it would be inappropriate ... to

supplement that regulatory scheme with a new judicial

remedy.” Jd. at 368. |

Similarly, in Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412, 101

L.Ed. 2d 370, 108 S.Ct. 2460 (1988), the Court declined to

find anew Bivens remedy for claimants whose Social Security

disability benefits had been improperly terminated. Given the

App. 19

"elaborate remedial scheme devised by Congress" to deal with

the improper denial or termination of disability benefits, the

Court saw no reason to tread on congressional prerogatives by

creating a new judicial remedy for the particular harm

suffered by the claimants. Jd. at 414. In reviewing the

development of Bivens jurisprudence, the Court concluded:

the concept of "special factors counseling hesitation in

the absence of affirmative action by Congress” has

proved to include an appropriate judicial deference to

indications that congressional inaction has not been

inadvertent. When the design of a Government

program suggests that Congress has provided what it

considers adequate remedial mechanisms for

constitutional violations that may occur in the course

of its administration, we have not created additional

Bivens remedies.

Id. at 423. Thus, in Chilicky, even though "Congress had

failed to provide for ‘complete relief" for the disability

claimants, the Court refused to create a Bivens remedy

because Congress had provided some "meaningful safeguards

or remedies." Jd. at 425 (emphasis added).

Following these precedents, we too have refused to extend

Bivens. See, e.g., Hall v. Clinton, 235 F.3d 202, 204 (4th Cir.

2000) (declining to create a Fifth Amendment Bivens remedy

for White House employee because Congress had already

established an exclusive Statutory remedy); Zimbelman v.

Savage, 228 F.3d 367, 371 (4th Cir. 2000) (finding that

special factor of federal employment counseled against

creating a Bivens remedy for Air Force personnel alleging

unfair termination of employment based on false accusations).

App. 20

In adjudicating claims requesting the creation of new Bivens

remedies, we have gleaned from the above Supreme Court

precedent a threepart test:

in order for a Bivens remedy to be available, a court

must determine that (1) Congress has not already

| provided an exclusive statutory remedy; (2) there are

no "special factors counseling hesitation in the

absence of affirmative action by Congress"; and (3)

there is no “explicit congressional declaration" that

money damages not be awarded.

Hall, 235 F.3d at 204 (citations omitted). Moreover, we have

noted that "the ‘special factors concept’ includes an

appropriate judicial deference to indications that

congressional inaction has not been inadvertent'." Jd.

(citations omitted). Accordingly, we apply these factors to

this case to determine whether Congress has sufficiently

attended to the rights and remedies available to taxpayers in

the context of the Internal Revenue Code to foreclose judicial

creation of additional remedies.

It would be difficult to conceive of a more comprehensive

statutory scheme, or one that has received more intense

scrutiny from Congress, than the Internal Revenue Code. In

constructing this vast and exceedingly complex statutory

apparatus, moreover, "Congress has given taxpayers all sorts

of rights against an overzealous officialdom." Cameron v.

Internal Revenue Service, 773 F.2d 126, 129 (7th Cir. 1985);

see also McMillen v. United States, 960 F.2d 187, 190 (1st

Cir. 1991). Thus, the Code provides Judicial Watch with a

number of ways to challenge actions of the IRS as well as

those of individual agents.

a

App. 21

As noted above, in response to an audit or other activities

involved in the investigation of its tax liability, Judicial

Watch could simply resist the audit, force the IRS to initiate

a summons enforcement proceeding, and then challenge the

validity of the audit in that forum. See 26 U.S.C.A. § 7604(a)

(West 2002). (Indeed, Judicial Watch has done precisely this

in the District of Columbia.) In the event that_an audit led to

revocation of Judicial Watch's 50] (c)(3) status, the

organization could seek declaratory relief. See 26 U.S.C.A.

§ 7428. Furthermore, to the extent that the audit culminated

in the determination and assessment of a tax deficiency,

Judicial Watch could pursue an internal appeal with the

Service pursuant to 26 C.F.R. § 601.106 (2002); pay the tax

in full and sue for a refund in a federal district court pursuant

to 26 U.S.C.A. § 7422 (West 2002); or contest the deficiency

in Tax Court pursuant to 26 U.S.C.A. § 6213(a) (West 2002).

Finally, Judicial Watch could also contest IRS actions during

the collection process by requesting a hearing before the IRS

Office of Appeals and seeking subsequent judicial review of

any adverse determination pursuant to 26 U.S.C.A. § 6330(b)

(West 2002).

With respect to alleged misconduct by individual IRS

employees, Congress has also provided for a variety of

"safeguards and remedies." Chilicky, 487 U.S. at 425.

Specifically, Congress created the Treasury Inspector General

for Tax Administration, an entity separate and distinct from

the IRS, with responsibility for investigating allegations of

misconduct by IRS employees. See 5 U.S.C.A. App. 3 § 2

(West 1996 and West Supp. 2002). In this case, the Inspector

General conducted not one, but two, investigations -- both of

which found no support for Judicial Watch's allegations that

the IRS initiated the audit for purposes of political retaliation.

App. 22

See United States v. Judicial Watch, Inc., 2002 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 25197 at *22, Misc. Action No. 02-144 (ESH)

(D.D.C. Dec. 11, 2002) slip op. at 22.

Moreover, Congress has also provided a civil damages

action for misconduct by IRS employees in connection with

the collection of taxes. See 26 U.S.C.A. § 7433 (West 2002).

Originally enacted in 1988 as part of the "Taxpayer Bill of

Rights" (the name itself speaks volumes about Congress's

explicit consideration of the remedies available to taxpayers),

§ 7433 states in pertinent part:

If, in connection with any collection of Federal tax

with respect to a taxpayer, any officer or employee of

the Internal Revenue Service recklessly or

intentionally, or by reason of negligence disregards

any provision of this title, or any regulation

promulgated under this title, such taxpayer may bring

a civil action for damages against the United States in

a district court of the United States. Except as

provided in section 7432, such civil action shall be the

exclusive remedy for recovering damages resulting

from such actions.

26 U.S.C.A. § 7433 (West 2002).

To be sure, § 7433 provides for a "civil action" only for

damages arising from the "collection" of taxes, not for

damages arising from the investigation and determination of

tax liability. That Congress chose not to create certain

remedies as part of the complex statutory scheme regulating

the relationship between taxpayers and the IRS lends Judicial

App. 23

Watch little support, however. As the Supreme Court put the

matter,

the question is not what remedy the court should

provide for a wrong that would otherwise go

unredressed. It is whether an elaborate remedial

system that has been constructed step by step, with

careful attention to conflicting policy considerations,

should be augmented by the creation of a new judicial

remedy for the constitutional violation at issue. That

question obviously cannot be answered simply by

noting that existing remedies do not provide complete

relief for the plaintiff.

Bush, 462 U.S. at 388.

The legislative history of § 7433 further suggests that

Congress did not act inadvertently in failing to create an

action for damages allegedly arising from the investigation or

determination of tax liability. As originally introduced into

the Senate, the draft provision that ultimately became § 7433

contained broader language permitting civil damages actions

"in connection with any determination or collection of Federal

tax" and in violation of "any provision of Federal law." S.

2223, 100th Cong., 2d Sess. § 123 (1988). The Conference

Report regarding § 7433 explained that the final version was

limited to reckless or intentional disregard in

connection with the collection of tax. An action under

this provision may not be based on alleged reckless or

intentional disregard in connection with the

determination of a tax. ... The provision is limited to

reckless or intentional disregard of the Internal

App. 24

Revenue Code and the regulations thereunder. An

action may not be brought under this provision based

on an alleged violation of a Federal law other than the

Internal Revenue Code or a regulation promulgated

thereunder.

H. R. Conf. Rep. No. 100-1104, at 229 (1988), reprinted in

1988-3 C.B. 473, 719. Thus, it appears that Congress has

indeed considered, and rejected, a broader damages remedy

that would have covered wrongful actions by IRS agents in

the course of an audit.

Taken together, therefore, Congress's considerable

attention to the rights and remedies available to taxpayers and

the Supreme Court's hesitancy in creating Bivens remedies in

such circumstances provide strong support for the conclusion

that no Bivens remedy lies in this case. This conclusion

comports with the view of a number of our sister circuits.

See, e.g., Shreiber v. Mastrogiovanni, 214 F.3d 148, 152-53

(3d Cir. 2000) (declining to extend a Bivens remedy to

taxpayer who allegedly suffered violation of constitutional

rights in connection with assessment of tax liabilitv); Dahn v.

United States, 127 F.3d 1249, 1254 (10th Cir. 1997) (stating

that "in light of the comprehensive administrative scheme

created by Congress to resolve tax related disputes, individual

agents of the IRS are also not subject to Bivens actions");

Fishburn vy. Brown, 125 F.3d 979, 982-83 (6th Cir. 1997)

(declining to create Bivens action against IRS agents for

alleged due process violations during property seizure);

Vennes v. An Unknown Number of Unidentified Agents of the

United States, 26 F.3d 1448, 1454 (8th Cir. 1994) (declining

to create Bivens action against IRS agents for alleged

|

|

i

|

|

i

App. 25

violation of due process rights during seizure of business and

jeopardy assessment).

Judicial Watch, however, correctly notes that none of

these 'cases address whether a Bivens action is available for

damages arising from an allegedly retaliatory audit, and

contends that such an audit presents a far stronger claim to

Bivens relief. In support of this contention, Judicial Watch

cites our decision in White v. Boyle, 538 F.2d 1077 (4th Cir.

1976). There, we suggested in dicta that a Bivens remedy

should be available to a taxpayer alleging a retaliatory

investigation of his tax liability. Jd. at 1079 ("Clearly, if [the

taxpayer] can demonstrate an injury consequent upon the

violation by federal agents of his constitutionally protected

rights, absent official immunity, he is entitled to recovery.").

But we decided White more than a decade before Chilicky,

and did not attempt to analyze whether the factors explicated

in Bivens and Chilicky counseled recognition of a Bivens

action for damages assertedly arising from a retaliatory audit.

Indeed, no appellate court has ever reached that question.

Recently, the Ninth Circuit specifically declined to do so

because limitations barred the claim in any event. See

Western Center for Journalism v. Cederquist, 235 F.3d 1153

(9th Cir. 2000). In that case, Judge Reinhardt issued a

concurring opinion explaining that he believed a Bivens

action did lie for damages resulting from a retaliatory audit.

Id. at 1159 (distinguishing Chilicky and Bush because in those

cases Congress afforded some, even if not complete, relief for

constitutional violations, while in the case of an assertedly

discriminatory audit, "Congress has created no remedy at

all"). This view finds some support in National Commodity

& Barter Ass'n v. Archer, 31 F.3d 1521 (10th Cir. 1994),

App. 26

which allowed a Bivens action on claims that harassment by

IRS agents violated the plaintiffs’ First and Fourth

Amendment rights. Employing reasoning similar to that of

Judge Reinhardt, the Tenth Circuit concluded that in

situations where the Code does not provide any mechanism

for compensation, IRS agents are not shielded from liability

simply because the Code contains remedies for other,

unrelated violations. Jd. at 1530-32.

But neither Cedarquist nor Archer contains any discussion

of § 7433, much less its legislative history evidencing

Congress's considered decision to forego creating a damages

remedy for misconduct by IRS employees in connection with

the determination of taxes. Moreover, circuit precedent

forecloses adoption of the Cedarquist Archer view here. We

have recently held that even though a federal statutory scheme

(the Civil Service Reform Act) provided the plaintiffs with no

remedy (because of a statutory exemption), its

"comprehensiveness" precluded any Bivens claim. See

Zimbelman, 228 F.3d at 370-71.

Our view seems consistent with Supreme Court teaching

in this field. We note that the Court has never required that

the remedies available in the context of a larger statutory

scheme be perfect; just that they be "meaningful." See

Chilicky, 487 U.S. at 428 (recognizing that although

"suffering months of delay in receiving the income on which

one has depended for the very necessities of life cannot be

fully remedied by the belated restoration of back benefits" the

fact that Congress had made compromises involved in

administering a vast and complex government program meant

that there was no basis for judicial intervention (internal

quotation marks omitted)). Even if "Congress has provided

App. 27

a less than complete remedy for the wrong," any decision to

create a new judiciai remedy must be "exercised in the light

of relevant policy determinations made by the Congress."

Bush, 462 U.S. at 373; see also Malesko, 122 S.Ct. at 520

("So long as the plaintiff had an avenue for some redress,

bedrock principles of separation of powers foreclosed judicial

imposition of a new substantive liability." (citations omitted)).

That Judicial Watch considers its existing remedies

insufficient is simply irrelevant. See Zimbelman, 228 F.3d at

371 (“It is not relevant that plaintiffs believe the procedures

governing their employment relationship were insufficient.”).

We conclude, therefore, that in this case "it would be

inappropriate to supplement [the] regulatory scheme with a

new judicial remedy” for alleged retaliatory tax audits. Bush,

462 U.S. at 368. As in Chilicky, although "the creation of a

Bivens remedy would obviously offer the prospect of relief for

injuries that must now go unredressed,” the fact that Congress

“has not failed to provide meaningful safeguards or remedies

for the rights of persons” similarly situated counsels against

any judicial extension of Bivens liability. Chilicky, 487 U.S.

at 425. Indeed, the fact that Congress explicitly considered

allowing damages claims under § 7433 for misconduct in

connection with the determination of taxes but decided to

restrict those actions to the collection of taxes strongly

Suggests "that congressional inaction has not been

inadvertent." Jd. at 423. We thus decline "to create a new

substantive legal liability ... because we are convinced that

Congress is in a better position to decide whether or not the

public interest would be served by creating it." Jd. at 426-27

(quoting Bush, 462 U.S. at 390).

IV.

App. 28

For the reasons set forth within, the judgment of the

district court is AFFIRMED

App. 29

APPENDIX B - MARCH 24, 2003

APPELLATE COURT’S ORDER DENYING

PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

JUDICIAL WATCH, INC.

Appellant,

No. 02-1413, No. 02-1462

V.

CHARLES O. ROSSOTTI

et al.,

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Appellees. )

)

Filed March 24, 2003

On Petition for Rehearing En Banc

The appellant’s petition for rehearing en banc was

submitted to this Court. As no member of this Court

requested a poll on the petition for rehearing en banc,

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing en banc

is denied

App. 30

For the Court,

/s/ Patricia S. Connor

Clerk

App. 31

APPENDIX C - MARCH 27, 2002

DISTRICT COURT MEMORANDUM

OPINION AND ORDER

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE DISTRICT OF MARYLAND

JUDICIAL WATCH, INC.

Plaintiff,

No. WMN-01-2672

V.

CHARLES O. ROSSOTTI

et al.,

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendants. )

)

217 F. Supp. 2d 618, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 16193

March 27, 2002 , Decided

COUNSEL:

For JUDICIAL WATCH, INC., plaintiff: David Barmak,

Joanne B Jarquin, Mintz Levin Cohn Ferris Glovsky and

Popeo PC, Reston, VA USA.

For DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY, THE

INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE, defendants: Stuart D

App. 32

Gibson, United States Department of Justice, Washington,

DC USA.

JUDGES: William M. Nickerson, United States District

Judge.

OPINION BY: William M. Nickerson

OPINION:

MEMORANDUM

Before the Court are Plaintiff's Motion to Stay or Enjoin

Enforcement of Administrative Summons (Paper No. 11) and

a Motion to Dismiss filed by Defendants Rossotti, Dorsey,

Breslan, Hampel, and Miller ("Individual Defendants” or

"Defendants") (Paper No. 13). The motions have been

exhaustively briefed and are ripe for decision. Upon review

of the pleadings and applicable case law, the Court

determines that no hearing is necessary (Local Rule 105.6),

and that Plaintiff's motion will be denied and Defendants’

motion will be granted.

I. BACKGROUND

This is a highly unusual case that, at its heart, is about an

organization seeking to stop the Internal Revenue Service

from auditing it. The claims set forth in Plaintiff's Amended

Complaint’ are in the form of a detailed chronology of events,

' Plaintiff's Amended Complaint, filed on January 9, 2002,

contains factual allegations about events that occurred since

Plaintiff filed its initial Complaint in September, 2001.

App. 33

much of which is recited here in order to provide context for

this dispute.

Plaintiff describes itself as a "non-partisan legal

‘watchdog’ organization that relies on the Freedom of

Information Act ("FOIA"), the civil discovery process, and

court litigation, among other tools, to protect the American

people from, and educate them about, corruption in

government and abuses of power, and to enforce the principle

that 'no one is above the law". Amended Complaint at P 2.

Judicial Watch was founded in 1994, and in 1995 obtained a

ruling from the IR.S. that it met the requirements for tax

exemption as an organization described in 26 U.S.C. §

501(c)(3).’ See, Amended Complaint at Exh. B.

Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(d), parties wishing to

supplement their pleadings in such a fashion must file a

motion, and the court must grant leave to file the amended

pleading. Although Plaintiff failed to file a motion for leave

to file, the Court finds that Defendants suffer no prejudice by

the Court's acceptance of the Amended Complaint.

* The 501(c)(3) exemption applies, in pertinent part, to:

corporations, and any community chest, fund, or

foundation, organized and operated exclusively for

religious, charitable, scientific, testing for public

safety, literary, or educational purposes ..., no part of

the net earnings of which inures to the benefit of any

private shareholder or individual, no substantial part

of the activities of which is carrying on propaganda,

or otherwise attempting, to influence legislation ...,

App. 34

In the amended complaint, Plaintiff describes some of its

activities, stating that "Judicial Watch has filed over eighty

public interest lawsuits concerning the President, Mrs.

Clinton, and/ or the Clinton Administration, and other high

government officials of all political parties." Amended

Complaint at P 13. Plaintiff further states that its activities

"are not limited to the Clinton Administration." Jd. at P 14.

The complaint describes an alleged "pattern of abuses of

power" by the Clinton Administration, which Judicial Watch

says it uncovered, including the administration's manipulation

of I.R.S. officials to retaliate against its political enemies by

auditing them. Jd. at PP 15, 16. These alleged abuses were

documented by Judicial Watch in a September, 1998, report

entitled "Crimes and Other Offenses Committed by President

Bill Clinton Warranting His Impeachment and Removal from

Elected Office." Jd. at P 17. Judicial Watch submitted the

report to members of the U.S. House of Representatives

Committee on the Judiciary, during impeachment proceedings

against President Clinton in October, 1998. Jd.

Just a few days later, Judicial Watch received a letter,

signed by Defendant Dorsey, an L.R.S. agent, informing

Plaintiff that it had been selected for an audit. Jd. at P 20.

The letter explains that the purpose of the audit is, inter alia,

"to determine that the organization is operating in the manner

stated and for the purpose set forth in its application for

recognition of exemption." Jd. at Exh. A (October 5, 1998

and which does not participate in, or intervene in

(including the publishing or distributing of

statements), any political campaign on behalf of (or in

opposition to) any candidate for public office.

App. 35

Letter). Plaintiff claims that the document reques¢

accompanying the letter asking Judicial Watch to reveal the

names, addresses, and political affiliations of its directors,

was an “extraordinary demand" evidencing the retaliatory

nature of the audit. Jd. at P21. Plaintiff alleges that the audit

letter was sent at the request of President Clinton's Executive

Office, in retaliation for Judicial Watch's accusations. Jd. at

P 23.

Since the receipt of the audit letter, Plaintiff has resisted

the I.R.S.'s efforts to conduct the audit. On October 14, 1998,

Plaintiff sent comprehensive FOIA requests to the L.R.S.,

seeking access to all documents that "refer or relate" to

Judicial Watch or its founder "in any way." Id. at P 25.

According to Plaintiff, the ILR.S. has not fully responded to

these requests. Jd. Plaintiff also met with various LR.S.

officials, including some of the Defendants, in late 1998 and

early 1999, to discuss the audit. At a November, 1998,

meeting, Plaintiff alleges that Defendant Dorsey said the audit

was "a hot potato" and that she had received phone calls from

.R.S. "higher ups" about it. Jd. at P 26. Plaintiff also claims

that at a January, 1999 meeting, Defendant Breslan, another

LR.S. agent, told Judicial Watch representatives, "What do

you expect when you sue the President?" and commented that

if Judicial Watch scrutinizes the government, the government

will scrutinize Judicial Watch. Jd. at PP 27, 28.

In May, 1999, the LR.S. refused Judicial Watch's request

to meet with then-Commissioner Rossotti. Jd. at P 33.

Plaintiff was also informed that its concerns about the audit

being retaliatory had been forwarded to the Treasury Inspector

General for Tax Administration (TIGTA), the internal

monitor of I.R.S. activities. Jd. At a later meeting with the

App. 36

Acting Director for Exempt Organizations, Defendant Steven

Miller, Plaintiff claims that Mr. Miller "conceded that the

I.R.S.'s conduct had created at least the appearance of a

‘problem'." Jd. at P 35. Approximately one month later, in

July of 1999, Plaintiff was informed by Defendant Agent

Hampel that the audit was being withdrawn pending the

TIGTA investigation.’

The next sequence of events set forth in the Amended

Complaint describes a proceeding in litigation filed by

Judicial Watch, in which a White House employee testified

about the White House's failure to provide incriminating

email evidence in response to subpoenas. Jd. at P 37. Plaintiff

describes the result of this testimony as "a barrage of very

negative press and legal ramifications for President and Mrs.

Clinton and the White House." Jd. at P 39. According to

Plaintiff, Defendant Hampel then "immediately" contacted

Judicial Watch's outside counsel to "remind" him that

Plaintiff was still on the "radar screen" for an audit. Jd. at P

40. Defendant Hampel allegedly issued another reminder a

few months later, shortly after a court in the above-mentioned

proceedings issued a ruling that was adverse to the Clinton

administration. Jd. at P 43.

> According to the Individual Defendants, TIGTA

completed two investigations into the propriety of the Judicial

Watch audit, and exonerated all of the LR.S. employees

involved. See, Defs.' Mot. to Dismiss at 7. Plaintiff does not

dispute this statement.

App. 37

Following more correspondence‘ between Plaintiff and

the LR.S. during 2000, Defendant Miller agreed to further

delay consideration of the audit until President Clinton left

office on January 20, 2001. Jd. at PP 45-48. On January 8,

2001, however, the LR.S. sent Judicial Watch a letter stating

that the audit was continuing, and asking that documents be

submitted to the LR.S. by January 30, 2001. Jd. at Exh. I

(January 8, 2001, Letter). Judicial Watch did not comply with

this request, and proceeded to submit third, fourth, and fifth

FOIA requests to the LR.S., essentially requesting any and all

documents related to Judicial Watch. Id. at PP 51, 52, and 54.

Then, according to Plaintiff, the LR.S. sent another document

request to Judicial Watch in August, 2001, approximately

three weeks after the organization filed suit against then-

Commissioner Rossotti in a Separate action. Jd. at P 56.

In September, 2001, Plaintiff filed the instant action

against then-Commissioner Rossotti, four individual LR.S.

agents (Donna Dorsey, M. Peter Breslan, Wayne Hampel, and

Steven T. Miller), and the LR.S. itself.> The crux of Plaintiffs

claims is that the LR.S. audit is "retaliatory, politically-

motivated, and unconstitutional." Amended Complaint at P

1. Count 1 alleges that the audit violates Plaintiffs freedom

of speech and association guaranteed by the First Amendment

of the United States Constitution, by punishing Plaintiff for its

* On April 14, 2000, Judicial Watch sent a second FOIA

request to the LR.S., and on April 19, 2000, Judicial Watch

received a renewed notice of the planned audit with a

“voluminous document request." Jd. at PP 45, 46.

* The complaint originally also named the United States as

a defendant, but the Amended Complaint does not.

App. 38

political speech. Count 2 asserts a violation of Plaintiff's

Fifth Amendment rights to due process, and Count 3 brings a

selective prosecution claim. These three counts name each of

the Individual Defendants, and in them Plaintiff seeks

monetary and injunctive relief.* More specifically, Plaintiff

requests that "Defendants be preliminarily and permanently

enjoined from pursuing the proposed retaliatory, politically-

motivated audit and their other retaliatory actions." Amended

Complaint, P. 23-24. Plaintiff identifies its damages as

including the loss of staff hours and resources in responding

to the proposed audit. /d.

On January 18, 2002, Judicial Watch was served by the

LR.S. with an administrative summons demanding production

of documents within eight business days. Plaintiff did not

comply with the summons, and has filed the instant motion to

stay or enjoin any attempt by the LR.S. to initiate

administrative enforcement proceedings against Judicial

Watch. A few days later, the Individual Defendants filed the

instant motion to dismiss all claims against them.

II. LEGAL STANDARD FOR MOTION TO DISMISS

When reviewing a motion to dismiss, the court must

assume all of the allegations to be true, must resolve all

doubts and inferences in favor of the plaintiff, and must view

the allegations in a light most favorable to the plaintiff.

Edwards v. City of Goldsboro, 178 F.3d 231, 243-44 (4th Cir.

1999). The complaint should not be dismissed unless it

® Counts 4 and 5 are brought against Defendant LR.S.

pursuant to FOIA, and are not before the Court on the instant

motions.

App. 39

appears beyond doubt that the plaintiff can prove no set of

facts in support of his claim which would entitle him to relief.

Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41, 45-46, 2 L. Ed. 2d 80, 78 S.

Ct. 99 (1957). Finally, in tuling on the motion, the Court

should consider only the allegations contained in the

complaint, the exhibits to the complaint, matters of public

record, and other similar materials that are subject to judicial

notice. Anheuser-Busch, Inc. v. Schmoke, 63 F.3d 1305, 1312

(4th Cir. 1995), vac. on other grounds, 517 U.S. 1206 (1996).

Ill. DISCUSSION

A. Injunctive Relief

The Individual Defendants argue that the Internal

Revenue Code's Anti-Injunction Act ("the Act"), 26 U.S.C.

§7421(a), precludes this Court from exercising subject matter

jurisdiction over Plaintiff's claims for injunctive relief. The

Act provides that "no suit for the purposes of restraining the

assessment or collection of any tax shall be maintained in any

court by any person, whether or not such person is the person

against whom such tax was assessed." 26 U.S.C. § 7421(a).’

The Supreme Court has noted that although the Act has no

recorded legislative history, "its language could scarcely be

more explicit." Bob Jones University v. Simon, 416 U.S. 725,

736, 40 L. Ed. 2d 496, 94 S.Ct. 2038 (1974). The Court has

observed that the primary purpose of the Act is "the

protection of the Government's need to assess and collect

taxes as expeditiously as possible with a minimum of pre-

’ The Act contains several Statutory exceptions, none of

which is applicable to this case.

App. 40

enforcement judicial interference, 'and to require that the legal

right to the disputed sums be determined in a suit for refund”.

Id. (quoting Enochs v. Williams Packing & Navigation Co.,

370 US. 1, 7, 8 L.Ed. 2d 292, 82 S.Ct. 1125 (1962)).

Plaintiff first argues that this is not a suit "for the purposes

of restraining the assessment or collection of any tax" and

therefore the Act does not apply. Rather, Plaintiff contends

that the purpose of its suit is to block an allegedly

unconstitutional audit. Any taxes that may be assessed as a

result of the audit, Plaintiff claims, are immaterial to the

constitutional issues at hand. The Supreme Court already

considered a similar claim in Bob Jones University, however,

in which it held that the Act barred the plaintiff's

constitutional claims to enjoin the I.R.S. from withdrawing

plaintiff's 501(c)(3) status. 416 U.S. at 748-49. It seems only

logical that if courts cannot enjoin the I.R.S. from revoking an

organization's tax-exempt status, courts similarly cannot

enjoin the LR.S. from conducting an audit to determine

whether or not such a revocation is merited. See, Dickens v.

United States, 671 F.2d 969, 971 (6th Cir. 1982) (observing

that the Act "is equally applicable to activities which are

intended to or may culminate in the assessment or collection

of taxes") (internal citations omitted). Notably, Plaintiff has

not cited a single case in which a federal court enjoined an

LR.S. audit.

In the alternative, Plaintiff argues that its claims fall

within one or both of the two judicially-created exceptions to

the Act. First, under the test announced in Enochs v. Williams

Packing, an action for injunctive relief may proceed,

notwithstanding the Act, if the plaintiff can show: (1) that

"under no circumstances could the Government ultimately

App. 41

prevail," and (2) that "equity jurisdiction otherwise exists."

370 U.S. at 7. Here, Plaintiff cannot Satisfy the first prong of

the test. In considering thi prong, the court must liberally

interpret the law and the ‘acts in favor of Defendants. Jd.

Even without this proviso, however, a plausible reading of the

Amended Complaint is that the LR.S., upon discovery of

Plaintiffs earnest efforts to assist in the impeachment of

President Clinton, became legitimately suspicious as to

whether Judicial Watch was operating within the confines of

§501(c)(3) as it relates to prohibited political activity. See

supra note 2. Plaintiff's chronology of events, while intended

to show a pattern of retaliation, also reveals that from 1998 to

the present, Judicial Watch frequently criticized or sued

members of the Clinton administration, and the LR.S.

continued to pursue the audit by various means.

The second recognized exception to the Act was

announced by the Supreme Court in South Carolina v. Regan,

465 U.S. 367, 79 L. Ed. 2d 372, 104 S.Ct. 1107 (1984). In

that case, the state of South Carolina challenged the

constitutionality, under the Tenth Amendment, ofa provision

in the tax code that set certain requirements for state-issued

bonds. Jd. The Court noted that if the Act were to bar the

State's pre-enforcement lawsuit, South Carolina would itself

incur no tax liability and thus would have to depend on third

parties to pursue post-enforcement refund suits. Jd. at 373.

The Court, in determining that South Carolina's suit could go

forward, held that Congress had intended the Act to bar suits

only when Congress had provided the aggrieved party with

"an alternative legal avenue by which to contest the legality of

a particular tax." Jd.

App. 42

If this language is given the broadest interpretation

possible, Plaintiff's claims for injunctive relief could come

under the South Carolina v. Regan exception. Defendants

concede that the tax code provides no avenue of relief

specifically for targets of allegedly unconstitutional audits.*

Courts construing the exception, however, have strictly

limited its applicability. See, e.g., Spencer v. Brady, 700 F.

Supp. 601, 604 (D.D.C. 1988) (finding that "in Regan, the

Court carved an extremely narrow second exception to the

Anti-Injunction Act"); American Society of Assoc. Executives

v. Bentsen, 848 F. Supp. 245, 250 (D.D.C. 1994) (noting that

the exception "is a narrow one tailored to the unique factual

pattern in that case"); Leves v. Internal Revenue Service, 796

F.2d 1433, 1434 (11th Cir. 1986) (finding the exception

inapplicable because Regan "involved the rights of third

parties to litigate the tax liability of persons against whom the

tax was assessed").

The present case bears virtually no factual resemblance to

South Carolina v. Regan, and Plaintiff has not cited any cases

where the exception was stretched to permit the injunction of

an audit. The burden is on Plaintiff to establish subject matter

jurisdiction. See, Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(1); Adams v. Bain,

697 F.2d 1213, 1219 (4th Cir. 1982). Plaintiff has not

persuaded this Court to break new ground in extending the

recognized exceptions to the Anti-Injunction Act. If this

Court were to do so, the door would swing wide open for

audit targets to haul the LR.S. into court anytime they

* Plaintiff's statutory remedies are limited to a suit for a

refund, if taxes are ultimately assessed, and a suit for

declaratory relief if Judicial Watch is stripped of its tax-

exempt status. See, 26 U.S.C. §§ 7422, 7428.

App. 43

believed the audit to be wrongful.? Such a result seems to

constitute precisely the kind of judicial interference with the

assessment and collection of taxes that the Act was designed

to prevent.

Having found that this Court does not have jurisdiction to

reach Plaintiffs claims for injunctive relief contained in

Counts 1-3 of the Amended Complaint, those claims will be

dismissed.'° For the same reasons, Plaintiff's Motion to Stay

or Enjoin Enforcement of Administrative Summons will also

be dismissed."'

” Indeed, it is the rare audited taxpayer who does not

believe that their audit is undeserved.

'° The Court, having found that the Anti-Injunction Act

requires the dismissal of these claims, need not address

Defendants’ argument that the claims are also barred by the

doctrine of sovereign immunity, which disallows claims to

enjoin government actors from performing their statutory

duties. See, Larson v. Domestic and Foreign Commerce

Corp., 337 U.S. 682, 688, 93 L.Ed. 1628, 69 S.Ct. 1457

(1949).

'' If the LR.S. brings an action to enforce the summoas,

Plaintiff will have an opportunity, in a limited evidentiary

hearing in federal district court, to challenge the propriety of

the audit and offer evidence of wrongful conduct. See, Alphin

v. United States, 809 F.2d 236 (4th Cir. 1987).

App. 44

B. Monetary Relief

Under some circumstances, a plaintiff may bring suit for

money damages against individual federal employees for

alleged constitutional torts. Bivens v. Six Unknown Named

Agents of the Federal Bureau of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388, 29

L.Ed. 2d 619, 91 S.Ct. 1999 (1971). Here, Plaintiff has

asserted claims for monetary relief against each of the

Individual Defendants for their allegedly unconstitutional

conduct. Defendants argue that a Bivens remedy is not

available in a suit against I.R.S..employees for conducting an

allegedly unconstitutional audit.

The Fourth Circuit's position on this matter is somewhat

in question. In a 1976 decision, the Fourth Circuit affirmed

a district court's ruling that, although a Bivens action was

available to a taxpayer who sued LR.S. agents for harassing

him and singling him out for investigation and audit, the

claims failed on summary judgment for lack of evidence.

White v. Boyle, 538 F.2d 1077, 1079 (4th Cir. 1976). In so

deciding, the court stated that, "clearly, if White can

demonstrate an injury consequent upon the violation by

federal agents of his constitutionally protected rights, absent

official immunity, he is entitled to recovery.” Jd.

Since White, however, the United States Supreme Court

has restricted the availability of Bivens actions, by expanding

on language in Bivens indicating that such relief is

permissible only when there are "no special factors counseling

hesitation in the absence of affirmative action by Congress."

403 U.S. at 396. The Court has found that affirmative action

by Congress to create a statutory or regulatory remedial

scheme, even if the scheme lacks complete remedies for

App. 45

constitutional violations, is sufficient to bar a Bivens action.

See, e.g., Schweiker v. Chilicky, 487 U.S. 412, 101 L.Ed. 2d

370, 108 S.Ct. 2460 (1988) (remedial scheme in context of

social security system); Chappell v. Wallace, 462 U.S. 296,

304, 76 L.Ed. 2d 586, 103 S.Ct. 2362 (1983) (remedial

scheme in context of military justice system); Bush v. Lucas,

462 U.S. 367, 368, 76 L.Ed. 2d 648, 103 S.Ct. 2404 (1983)

(remedial scheme in context of civil service system).

Summing up its approach to these cases, the Court stated,

"when the design of a Government program suggests that

Congress has provided what it considers adequate remedial

mechanisms for constitutional violations that may occur in the

course of its administration, we have not created additional

Bivens remedies." Schweiker at 423.

Circuit courts have applied this reasoning to deny Bivens

claims in lawsuits against LR.S. employees where the

plaintiffs would have another avenue of relief through the

provisions of the Internal Revenue Code. See, e.g., Shreiber

v. Mastrogiovanni, 214 F.3d 148 (3rd Cir. 2000); Fishburn v.

Brown, 125 F.3d 979, 982-83 (6th Cir. 1997); Vennes v.

Unknown Number of Unidentified Agents, 26 F.3d 1448,

1453-53 (8th Cir. 1994). In these cases, however, the harm

caused by the alleged constitutional violations amounted to

the illegal assessment or collection of taxes, which could be

cured, at least for the most part, by refund suits and other

similar statutory remedies. In contrast, where the

constitutional violation is a harm in itself, such as the

suppression of political speech or the violation of Fourth

Amendment rights, courts have recognized the propriety of a

Bivens remedy. See, Nat'l Commodity and Barter Assoc. v.

Gibbs, 886 F.2d 1240, 1248 (10th Cir. 1989) (permitting

Bivens action for violations of the First and Fourth

App. 46

Amendments because "certain values ... may be superior to

the need to protect the integrity of the internal revenue

system"); Western Center for Journalism v. Cederquist, 235

F.3d 1153, (9th Cir. 2000) (Reinhardt, J., concurring)

(observing that a Bivens remedy is appropriate for retaliatory

audits because Congress has fashioned no remedy for LR.S.

conduct that punishes political speech); Hurt v. United States,

889 F. Supp. 248 (S.D. W.Va. 1995) (finding grounds for a

Bivens remedy where plaintiffs sued LR.S. agents for

allegedly retaliatory and harassing auditing practices).

Accordingly, this Court is persuaded that a Bivens action

should be available where, as here, the statutory remedies

provided in the Internal Revenue Code (i.e., a refund suit and

action for declaratory relief) would not address the alleged

constitutional wrongs of the L.R.S. defendants.'? This does

not end the inquiry, however, because the Individual

Defendants argue that they are entitled to qualified immunity

for their actions relating to the Judicial Watch audit.

Government officials performing discretionary functions

are entitled to qualified immunity to the extent that “their

conduct does not violate clearly established statutory or

constitutional rights of which a reasonable person would have

known." Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818, 73 L.Ed.

2d 396, 102 S.Ct. 2727 (1982). Qualified immunity is "an

'2 Defendants concede that the only statutory remedies

available to Plaintiffs through the Internal Revenue Code

consist of a suit for a refund, if taxes are ultimately assessed,

and a suit for declaratory relief if Judicial Watch is stripped

of its tax-exempt status. See, 26 U.S.C. §§ 7422, 7428.

App. 47

immunity from suit rather than a mere defense to liability."

Mitchell v. Forsyth, 472 U.S. 511, 526, 86 L.Ed. 2d 41 1, 105

S.Ct. 2806 (1985). Accordingly, courts should resolve a

question of qualified immunity at the earliest possible stage

of the litigation. See, Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194, 121 S.Ct.

2151, 2155-56, 150 L.Ed. 2d 272 (2001).

The threshold question in a qualified immunity inquiry is,

"taken in the light most favorable to the party asserting the

injury, do the facts alleged show the officer's conduct violated

a constitutional right?" Saucier, 121 S.Ct. at 2156. Ifa

violation could be found on a favorable view of the plaintiff's

facts, the court then considers "whether it would be clear to a

reasonable officer that his conduct“was unlawful in the

situation he confronted." Jd. In this case, Plaintiff alleges

that the audit violates Judicial Watch's First Amendment

rights by punishing the organization's political speech and

freedom of association, and that it violates Plaintiff's Fifth

Amendment due process rights by harassing Judicial Watch

and singling it out for audit without basis in law. Although

the facts alleged in the Amended Complaint, when viewed in

the light most favorable to Plaintiff, might make out these

constitutional violations, they fail to show that reasonable

LR.S. agents in the situation faced by Defendants would have

known they were committing these constitutional violations.

The overriding, insurmountable problem for Plaintiff's

claims is that the political speech for which it claims to be

“punished” and "singled out" is exactly the type of activity

that may legitimately cause it to lose tax-exempt status under

§ 501(c)(3), which requires that organizations "not participate

in, or intervene in (including the publishing or distributing of

statements), any political campaign on behalf of (or in

App. 48

opposition to) any candidate for public office," and that "no

substantial part of [its] activities is carrying on propaganda, or

otherwise attempting, to influence legislation." 26 U.S.C. §

501(c)(3).

As to Defendants Rossotti, Dorsey, and Miller, Plaintiff

contends that they violated Plaintiffs rights by making the

decision to conduct an audit, sending Plaintiff audit notices

and summons, and/ or failing to stop the audit at Plaintiff's

request. These allegations could just as easily be interpreted,

however, as evidence of Defendants’ efforts to enforce I.R.S.

statutes and regulations. In its attempt to show a causal

connection between its actions and the behavior of these

Defendants, Plaintiff presents a chronology of events that

reveals Judicial Watch's persistence in resisting the audit and

the LR.S.'s persistence in pursuing it. On the facts presented

by Plaintiff, therefore, these Defendants are entitled to

qualified immunity.

This Court is confronted with a more difficult decision

regarding Defendants Breslan and Hampel. Taking Plaintiff's

allegations as true, Defendant Breslan's comments at the

November, 1998 meeting, and Defendant Hampel's warnings

that Plaintiff was still on the LR.S. "radar screen," could

constitute evidence of bad faith or retaliation by those agents.

It is equally plausible, however, that their comments reflect

the agents’ reasonable suspicions that Judicial Watch was

operating outside the confines of § 501(c)(3). This Court,

while not condoning the alleged comments, cannot conclude

that Defendants Breslan and Hampel should have known that

their conduct violated Plaintiffs constitutional rights.

Therefore, qualified immunity is appropriate here as well.

App. 49

Certainly, the I.R.S. and its agents are bound by the tenets

of the Constitution in the enforcement of the agency's rules

and regulations. To deny qualified immunity under these

facts, however, would grossly impede the agency's ability to

investigate suspected violations of § 501(c)(3)'s prohibitions

on certain political activity. Any tax exempt organization

engaging in possibly prohibited conduct, which was

subsequently audited or investigated by the LR.S., could

maintain a suit for harassment and suppression of political

speech simply by pointing to the timing of the audit. Agents,

fearing civil liability for their discretionary decision to

conduct an audit, would be hampered in their official duties.

On the facts presented in the Amended Complaint, therefore,

this Court concludes that Defendants Rossotti, Dorsey,

Breslan, Hampel, and Miller are entitled to qualified

immunity on the claims against them for monetary relief.

IV. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Court will deny Plaintiff's

Motion to Stay or Enjoin Enforcement of Administrative

Summons, and will grant Defendants' Motion to Dismiss all

claims against them. A separate order consistent with this

memorandum will issue.

William M. Nickerson

United States District Judge

Dated: March 27, 2002

App. 50

ORDER

Pursuant to the foregoing Memorandum, and for the

reasons stated therein, IT IS this 27th day of March, 2002, by

the United States District Court for the District of Maryland,

ORDERED:

1. That Plaintiffs Motion to Stay or Enjoin Enforcement

of Administrative Summons (Paper No. 11) is hereby

DENIED;

2. That the Motion to Dismiss filed by Defendants

Rossotti, Dorsey, Breslan, Hampel, and Miller (Paper No. 13)

is hereby GRANTED;

3. That the Clerk of the Court shall mail or transmit

copies of this Memorandum and Order to all counsel of

record.

William M. Nickerson

United States District Judge

OES Wea amc eee

AERO aot HA OR ee)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Judicial Watch, Inc. v. Rossotti · 540 U.S. 825 | Frix