Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Biddle Street Bistro, Inc. v. TLJ Co.

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

he Suprewress (Claaw, Cus, :

i\ \ FILER

021791 JUN 6 - 2003

No.

In THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

BIDDLE STREET BIstTRO, INC. ,

Petitioner

Vs.

TLJ Company, L.L.C. AND

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Respondents

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States

Court Of Appeals For The Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Gary P. PAUL

Counsel of Record

BRINKER & Doyen, L.L.P.

120 SoutH CENTRAL AVENUE,

SulTEe 700

CLayTON, Missouri 63105

(314)-863-6311

eo

St. Louis Law Printing, Inc. 14239 Manchester Rd. Manchester, MO 63011 314-231-4477

(1)

(2)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure

require that a notice of appeal be signed for a

United States Court of Appeals to have jurisdic-

tion.

Whether the filing of a timely Notice of Appeal

signed only by pro se shareholders on behalf of

their corporation is a fatal error that requires the

corporation’s appeal to be dismissed.

a yo

PARTIES IN THE COURT BELOW

Petitioner, Biddle Street Bistro, Inc., was a Defen-

dant below. Biddle Street Bistro, Inc. has no

parent companies or subsidiaries not wholly owned

by the corporation. No publicly held company owns

ten percent or more of the corporation’s stock. The

corporation was wholly owned by shareholders

Jeffery Eilers and Janet Y. Tennant. :

Respondent, TLJ Company, L.L.C., was a Defen-

dant below. TLJ Company, L.L.C. has no parent

companies or subsidiaries not wholly owned by the

corporation. No publicly held company owns ten

percent or more of the TLJ Company, L.L.C.

Respondent, Bremen Bank and Trust Company,

was a Defendant below. The parent company of

Bremen Bank and Trust Company is Bremen

Bancorp, Inc. Bremen Bank and Trust Company

has no subsidiaries not wholly owned by it and no

publicly held company owns ten percent or more of

it.

No review is sought here as to the Plaintiff below,

Allstate Insurance Company.

— il—

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented For Review .................00000.

Parties in the Court Below ................c.ccccccssssscess

Reference to Official and Unofficial Report of

AES N ES OR a

Jurisdictional Statement .................ccccccceeceeceeese

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and

Regulations Involved .................cccccccssesesseees

ROR MNIINS OE GINO CORIO... :0scscccsccscnvevecesvncosccsvosecess

The United States Court of Appeals for

the Eighth Circuit erred in dismissing

Biddle Street Bistro’s notice of appeal

for lack of jurisdiction for failure to file a

valid notice of appeal because the notice

of appeal met the requirements of Fed-

eral Rule of Appellate Procedure 3(a) in

that it specified the parties taking the

appeal, designated the judgment being

appealed, and named the Court to which

the appeal was taken; Federal Rule of

Appellate Procedure 3(a) contains no

jurisdictional mandate that a notice of

appeal contain any signature to be valid

II.

—_ pew

The United States Court of Appeals for

the Eighth Circuit erred in denying

Biddle Street Bistro’s motion to submit

corrected notice of appeal and adopt

pleadings previously filed pro se because

Biddle Street Bistro promptly sought to

correct the omission of a signature of

counsel after the Clerk called to the

attention of Biddle Street Bistro the

alleged defect in the notice of appeal in

that Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

11(a) provides that an unsigned paper

shall be stricken unless the omission of

the signature is corrected after being

called to the attention of the attorney or

— V-—

Appendix

Plaintiff Allstate Insurance Company’s

Complaint for Interpleader Pursuant to

RENEE DF enevsnniiosnniiesiibedtiandna ican tcmne tara A-1

United States District Court, Eastern District

of Missouri, Eastern Division’s Order

Granting Bremen’s and TLJ’s Motions for

Summary Judgment ...............ccsccccesseeessseeees A-5

Biddle Street Bistro’s Notice of Appeal to a

Court of Appeals from a Judgment or

Order of a District Court ..............ccccscsscssoree A-8

November 18, 2002 letter from the Clerk of the

Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals to Jeffery

Eilers and Janet Y. Tennant...................... A-10

Appellant Biddle Street Bistro’s Motion for

Leave to File Pleadings and Briefs

Previously Filed Pro Se .............cccccsssessseeees A-12

Appellant Biddle Street Bistro’s Motion to

Submit Corrected Notice of Appeal and

Adopt Pleadings Previously Filed Pro Se... A-15

Memorandum in Support of Appellant Biddle

Street Bistro’s Motion to Submit Corrected

Notice of Appeal and Adopt Pleadings

Previously Filed Pro Se ...............ccccssessseeeees A-77

TLJ Company L.L.C. and Bremen Bank and

Trust Company’s Memorandum in

Opposition to Biddle Street Bistro, Inc.’s

NS SE RAID su nnkskaiicncsncusenisdcaleciininn A-85

Biddle Street Bistro, Inc.’s Reply to TLJ and

Bremen’s Memorandum in Opposition to

BSB’s Motion for Leave .............ccccccccceseeesees A-91

ame YY} ame

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit’s Judgment dated February 12,

PEE Kécdtiencesnceetareesiieecaaeemaaia A-95

Petition for Rehearing by Panel......................04. A-96

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit’s Denial of Petition for Rehearing

by Panel dated March 12, 2008 .................. A-110

— vii—

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

AAA Venetian Blind Sales. Inc. v. Beaufieu of

America. Inc., 124 F.3d 196 (6% Cir. 1997). 13

Anunicaion v. West Capital Financial Services,

97 F.3d 1458 (9™ Cir. 1996)..............ccccecceees 13

Becker v. Montgomery, 532 U.S. 757, 121 S.Ct.

EE SED snensndessiecbislenintvenniiiinnbbacendsentes 10, 11

Bigelow v. A & A Reality Limited, 170 F.3d

BAGS (GER Cir. 190B)....c..cnrereescorcescccsscoves 12, 13

Instituto De Educacion Universal Corp. v.

United States Department of Education,

Oe FG 1G (1% Cir, BCD) nciccoroccocesocevesevecsses 13

K.M.A., Inc. v. General Motors Acceptance Corp.,

652 F.2d 398 (5 Cir. 1981)..............ccc..00008 13

Lewis v. Lenc-Smith Manufacturing Co., 784

Fe ee CE GA TI) vcnnesventitenvevsenensononenanen 13

Smith v. Barry, 502 U.S. 244, 112 S.Ct. 678

GE cosivivssiiciesiniichclidiekunlesiniedeclarbatiane leona 10

Statutes

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure; Rule 3

(idiiiiiaaaidtaainitiaindhehaldaiaiadaaiiinasteaibiaaaaiie 1,2, 10, 11

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure; Rule 11

siantetnenenesiaieaaeaeaeadiniseaaeidanaaammeenamnaaiandadais 2-5, 10, 11, 12

REFERENCE TO OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL

REPORT OF OPINIONS

There is no official report of the opinions or orders

entered in this case. The order of the Eighth Circuit

Court of Appeals denying rehearing is set forth in the

appendix at page A-110. The judgment of the Eighth

Circuit Court of Appeals denying appellants motion for

leave to submit a corrected notice of appeal and to adopt

pleadings previously filed pro se, and dismissing ap-

peal for lack of jurisdiction for failure to file a valid

notice of appeal is set forth in the appendix at page

A-95.

JURISDICTION

The Petitioner filed its Petition for Rehearing by

Panel on February 25, 2003. The Eighth Cir¢uit denied

Petitioner’s Petition for Rehearing on March 12, 2003.

This petition is being filed within 90 days of the Eighth

Circuit’s order denying the petition for rehearing by

panel pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 13.

Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28

U.S.C. Section 1254.

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 3(c)

provides.

(1) The notice of appeal must:

(A) specify the party or parties taking the

appeal by naming each one in the caption

or body of the notice, but an attorney

representing more than one party may

describe those parties with such terms as

“all plaintiffs,” “the defendants,” “the plain-

—

tiffs A, B, et al.,” or “all defendants except

bt

(B) designate the judgment, order, or part

thereof being appealed; and

(C) name the court to which the appeal is

taken.

(2) Apro se notice of appeal is considered filed on

behalf of the signer and the signer’s spouse

and minor children (if they are parties), unless

the notice clearly indicates otherwise.

(3) In aclass action whether or not the class has

been certified, the notice of appeal is sufficient

if it names one person qualified to bring the

appeal as representative of the class.

(4) An appeal must not be dismissed for informal-

ity of form or title of the notice of appeal, or for

failure to name a party whose intent to appeal

is otherwise clear from the notice.

(5) Form 1 in the Appendix of Forms is a sug-

gested form of a notice of appeal.

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 11 provides:

(a) Signature. Every pleading, written motion

and other paper shall be signed by at least one

attorney of record in the attorney’s individual name,

or, if the party is not represented by an attorney,

shall be signed by the party. Each paper shall state

the signer’s address and telephone number, if any.

Except when otherwise specifically provided by

rule or statute, pleadings need not be verified or

accompanied by affidavit. An unsigned paper shall

be stricken unless omission of the signature is

—_

corrected promptly after being called to the atten-

tion of the attorney or party.

(b) Representations to the Court. By present-

ing to the court (whether by signing, filing, submit-

ting, or later advocating) a pleading, written mo-

tion, or other paper, an attorney or unrepresented.

party is certifying that to the best of that person’s

knowledge, information, and belief, formed after

an inquiry reasonable under the circumstances,

(1) it is not being presented for any improper

purpose, such as to harass or to cause unnec-

essary delay or needless increase in the cost of

litigation;

(2) the claims, defenses, and other legal con-

tentions therein are warranted by the existing

law or by a nonfrivolous argument for the

extension, modification, or reversal of existing

law or the establishment of new law;

(3) the allegations and other factual conten-

tions have evidentiary support or, if specifi-

cally so identified, are likely to have eviden-

tiary support after a reasonable opportunity

for further investigation or discovery; and

(4) the denials of factual contentions are war-

ranted on the evidence or, if specifically so

identified, are reasonably based on a lack of

information or belief.

(c) Sanctions. If, after notice and a reasonable

opportunity to respond, the court determines that

subdivision (b) has been violated, the court may,

subject to the conditions stated below, impose an

appropriate sanction upon the attorneys, law firms,

—_ oo

or parties that have violated subdivision (b) or are

responsible for the violation.

(1)

How Initiated

(A) By Motion. A motion for sanctions

under this rule shall be made separately

from other motions or requests and shall

describe the specific conduct alleged to

violate subdivision (b). It shall be served

as provided in Rule 5, but shall not be filed

with or presented to the court unless,

within 21 days after service of the motion

(or such other period as the court may

prescribe), the challenged paper, claim,

defense, contention, allegation, or denial

is not withdrawn or appropriately cor-

rected. If warranted, the court may award

to the party prevailing on the motion the

reasonable expenses and attorney’s fees

incurred in presenting or opposing the

motion. Absent exceptional circumstances,

a law firm shall be held jointly responsible

for violations committed by its partners,

associates, and employees.

(B) On Court’s Initiative. On its own ini-

tiative, the court may enter an order de-

scribing the specific conduct that appears

to violate subdivision (b) and directing an

attorney, law firm, or party to show cause

why it has not violated subdivision (b)

with respect thereto.

(2) Nature of Sanction; Limitations. A sanc-

tion imposed for violation of this rule shall be

limited to what is sufficient to deter repetition

of such conduct or comparable conduct by

=

: others similarly situated. Subject to the limi-

tations in subparagraphs (A) and (B), the sanc-

tion may consist of, or include, directives of a

nonmonetary nature, an order to pay a penalty

into court, or, if imposed on motion and war-

ranted for effective deterrence, an order di-

recting payment to the movant of some or all of

the reasonable attorneys’ fees and other ex-

penses incurred as a direct result of the viola-

tion.

(A) Monetary sanctions may not be

awarded against a represented party fora

violation of subdivision (b)(2).

(B) Monetary sanctions may not be

awarded on the court’s initiation unless

the court issues its order to show cause

before a voluntary dismissal or settle-

ment of the claims made by or against the

party which is, or whose attorneys are, to

be sanctioned.

(3) Order. When imposing sanctions, the court

shall describe the conduct determined to con-

stitute a violation of this rule and explain the

basis for the sanction imposed.

(d) Inapplicability to Discovery. Subdivisions

(a) through (c) of this rule do not apply to disclo-

sures and discovery requests, responses, objec-

tions, and motions that are subject to the provi-

sions of Rules 26 through 37.

_—

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Biddle Street Bistro: (hereafter BSB) was a corpora-

tion created by its sole shareholders Janet Y. Tennant

and Jeffrey Eilers to run a restaurant located at 220

Biddle Street in the City of St. Louis. BSB operating

under the name J. Tennant Construction owned the

property on which the restaurant was located. In 1997,

due to financial difficulties, BSB entered into an agree-

ment with TLJ Company, L.L.C. (hereafter TLJ)

wherein BSB transferred the deed to the property to

TLJ in exchange for a commercial lease with an option

to re-purchase the property. A condition of this lease

was that BSB had to provide premises liability insur-

ance to protect the real estate, and list TLJ and TLJ’s

mortgagee Bremen Bank and Trust Company (hereaf-

ter Bremen) as loss payees. BSB purchased the re-

quired coverage from Allstate Insurance Company.

The premises liability insurance policy provided

$100,000.00 in coverage for personal property damage,

and $500,000.00 in coverage for building damage.

A dispute arose between TLJ and BSB, and TLJ

refused to grant an extension to BSB’s lease. After TLJ

refused to recognize its contract with BSB, BSB con-

tacted its insurance agent and asked for TLJ and Bremen

to be removed as named payees. BSB then filed suit in

the Circuit Court for the City of St. Louis to enforce its

contractual right for an extension of the lease. Unknown

to BSB, representatives of TLJ contacted BSB’s insur-

ance agent and requested to be put back on BSB’s policy

as named payees. The insurance agent complied with

TLJ’s request without notifying BSB.

While BSB’s suit to enforce its lease with TLJ was

pending the property was destroyed by fire. Allstate

Insurance Company filed an interpleader suit in the

oe, poe

United States District Court, Eastern District of Mis-

souri, Eastern Division. BSB was represented by coun-

sel licensed to practice before the Eastern District.

BSB’s counsel filed an answer and motion for partial

summary judgment for the $100,000.00 personal prop-

erty coverage. The district court awarded the entire

$100,000.00 of the personal property coverage to BSB.

After it was awarded $100,000.00 for the personal

property policy limits, despite repeated and diligent

efforts, BSB’s shareholders were unable to contact

their counsel of record. The district court then granted

TLJ’s and Bremen’s motions for summary judgment,

and awarded the entire amount of the $500,000.00

policy for building damage to TLJ and Bremen. Be-

cause of the unresponsiveness of its attorney of record,

BSB’s shareholders were unaware of TLJ’s and Bremen’s

motions for summary judgment and the district court’s

order granting them until August 20, 2002, the day

before that court’s order became final.

BSB filed its Rule 60(b) motion and notice of appeal

to the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit within the time required by FRAP 4(a)(1)(A).

The docket fees required by FRAP 3(e) were also paid in

a timely fashion. At the time BSB filed its notice of

appeal, BSB was still represented by counsel autho-

rized to practice before the Eastern District and Eighth

Circuit. However, due to his unavailability, Eilers and

Tennant filed the notice of appeal on behalf of BSB on

August 21, 2002 as pro se shareholders.

Eilers and Tenant on behalf of BSB subsequently

filed a corporate disclosure statement and a designa-

tion of record in a timely fashion. The Eighth Circuit

Clerk then provided a scheduling order. BSB met all of

the filing deadlines with pleadings that conformed to

—

es

all Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and Eighth

Circuit Local Rules regarding form and content. BSB

then filed an Appellant’s Brief within the required

time.

Appellees TLJ and Bremen then filed a brief. Appellees

did not contest the Eighth Circuit’s jurisdiction and

responded to BSB’s Brief on its merits. This matter was

then sent to screening for oral argument. BSB’s counsel

of record was then granted leave to withdraw as BSB’s

counsel. Within the time allowed to respond to Appellees’

Brief, Eilers and Tennant filed a Reply Brief on behalf

of BSB as pro se shareholders.

In correspondence received from the Eighth Circuit

Clerk dated November 18, 2002 (A-10), the clerk ac-

knowledged receipt of BSB’s Reply Brief, but indicated

that a corporation cannot proceed pro se by its share-

holders or officers, and that as a result BSB’s notice of

appeal was subject to being stricken, and its appeal was

subject to dismissal. The clerk apologized for not noting

this earlier, but stated that the validity of a notice of

appeal was a jurisdictional issue that the court could

examine at any time. The clerk indicated that as a

courtesy he would hold the appeal in abeyance for thirty

days to permit Eilers and Tennant to retain legal

counsel and validate their prior filings.

Counsel entered an appearance for BSB, and within

thirty days filed a Motion for Leave to File Pleadings

and Briefs Previously Filed Pro Se and a Motion to

Submit Corrected Notice of Appeal and Adopt Plead-

ings Previously Filed Pro Se. With the motions, all

pleadings and briefs previously filed pro se were re-

filed bearing BSB’s new counsel’s signature. The Eighth

Circuit denied BSB’s motions on February 12, 2002 and

dismissed its appeal for lack of jurisdiction for failure to

—_ vn

file a valid notice of appeal. (A-95). Within the required

time BSB filed a petition for panel rehearing. On March

12, 2003 the Eighth Circuit entered its Order denying

BSB’s petition for rehearing. (A-110).

Jeffrey Eilers and Janet Tennant assert that their

civil liberties have been infringed upon in that they

were unable to represent their closely held corporation

because the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals refused to

recognize their notice of appeal, and dismissed BSB’s

appeal without the opportunity for a hearing on the

merits. Without reference to federal rules or statutes,

the Eighth Circuit added an additional jurisdiction

requirement for the hearing of an appeal as of right. In

so doing the Eighth Circuit denied the right of Jeffrey

Eilers and Janet Tennant to be heard.

ARGUMENT

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT ERRED IN DIS-

MISSING BIDDLE STREET BISTRO’S NO-

TICE OF APPEAL FOR LACK OF JURISDIC-

TION FOR FAILURE TO FILE A VALID NO-

TICE OF APPEAL BECAUSE THE NOTICE

OF APPEAL MET THE REQUIREMENTS OF

FEDERAL RULE OF APPELLATE PROCE.- -

DURE 3(A) IN THAT IT SPECIFIED THE

PARTIES TAKING THE APPEAL, DESIG-

NATED THE JUDGMENT BEING AP-

PEALED, AND NAMED THE COURT TO

WHICH THE APPEAL WAS TAKEN; FED-

ERAL RULE OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE

3(A) CONTAINS NO JURISDICTIONAL MAN-

— vee

DATE THAT A NOTICE OF APPEAL CON-

TAIN ANY SIGNATURE TO BE VALID.

The Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure do not

require that notices of appeal be signed for an appellate

court to have jurisdiction. This Court has held that the

requirement that a notice of appeal be signed is not

jurisdictional.

Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 3(a) provides,

in pertinent part, that “[aln appeal permitted by

law as of right from a district court to a court of

appeals shall be taken by filing a notice of appeal

with the clerk of the district court within the time

allowed by Rule 4.” Rule 3(c) governs the content of

notices of appeal: Notices “shall specify the party or

parties taking the appeal; shall designate the judg-

ment, order or part thereof appealed from; and

shall name the court to which the appeal is taken.”

Courts will liberally construe the requirements of

Rule 3. Smith v. Barry, 502 U.S. 244, 247, 112S.Ct.

678, 680 (1992).

This Court in Becker v. Montgomery, 532 U.S. 757,

121 S.Ct. 1801 (2001) also held that Federal Rule of

Appellate Procedure 3(c)(2) does not dislodge the signa-

ture requirement from its Civil Rule 11(a) moorings

and make it an Appellate Rule 3 jurisdictional specifi-

cation. Id. at 5382 U.S. 757, 759, 121 S.Ct. 1801, 1803

(2001). In Becker, this Court reasoned that the require-

ment that a notice of appeal be signed when filed in the

district court only comes from Federal Rule of Proce-

dure 11(a) which provides that every paper filed with

the district court shall be signed. Id. at 532 U.S. 757,

758, 121S.Ct.1801, 1805 (2001). Accordingly, this Court

found that a failure to sign a notice of appeal as required

by Civil Rule of Procedure 11(a) could not require

a ea

dismissal of an appeal because Rule 11(a) itself states

that the omission of a signature may be corrected

promptly after being called to the attention of the

attorney or party. This Court also noted that this

conclusion was in harmony with Federal Rule of Appel-

late Procedure 3(c)(4) which provides: “An appeal must

not be dismissed for informality of form or title of the

notice of appeal, or for failure to name a party whose

intent to appeal is otherwise clear from the notice.” Jd.

at 532 U.S. 757, 759, 121 S.Ct. 1801, 1807-1808 (2001

citing Smith v. Barry (supra) at 502 U.S. 244, 245, 248-

249, 112 S.Ct. 678, 116 L.Ed.2d 678. ~

Without citing any authority in its Order, the Eighth

Circuit has added is own jurisdictional requirement.

Not only is this action contrary to prior decisions by this

Court on this matter, it is also in violation of the spirit

of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure. It is a

hallmark of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure

that an appeal not be dismissed for informality of form.

BSB’s notice of appeal complied with the requirements

of Federal Appellate Rule 3(c) to the letter. Its notice of

appeal specified the party taking appeal, designated

the order appealed, and identified the court to which

the appeal was taken. In fact, it was sufficient to allow

Appellees’ counsel to craft the appropriate responsive

pleadings and a brief which argued the merits of BSB’s

appeal.

The Eighth’s Circuit’s dismissal also is in contradic-

tion to the streng public policy argument that appeals

should be heard and decided on their merits. At the

time the Eighth Circuit dismissed BSB’s appeal,

Appellees had already filed their brief that responded

tothe merits of BSB’s appeal. No party would have been

prejudiced, and justice encourages all disputes to be

heard.

— . a

II

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT ERRED IN DE-

NYING BIDDLE STREET BISTRO’S MOTION

FOR LEAVE TO FILE PLEADINGS AND

BRIEFS PRIVIOUSLY FILED PRO SE AND

MOTION TO SUBMIT CORRECTED NOTICE

OF APPEAL BECAUSE BIDDLE STREET

BISTRO PROMPTLY SOUGHT TO CORRECT

THE OMISSION OF SIGNATURE OF COUN-

SEL AFTER THE CLERK CALLED TO THE

ATTENTION OF BIDDLE STREET BISTRO

THE ALLEGED DEFECT IN THE NOTICE OF

APPEAL IN THAT FEDERAL RULE OF CIVIL

PROCEDURE 11(A) PROVIDES THAT AN

UNSIGNED PAPER SHALL BE STRICKEN

UNLESS OMISSION OF THE SIGNATURE IS

CORRECTED AFTER BEING CALLED TO

THE ATTENTION OF THE ATTORNEY.OR

PARTY.

The majority of Circuit Courts that have considered

the effect of a notice of appeal filed on behalf of corpo-

ration by a corporate officer who is not authorized to

practice law have ruled that a pro se signature is not

fatal to the corporation’s appeal. In Bigelow v. A&A

Reality Limited, 170 F.3d 1164 (9* Cir. 1999), the Ninth

Circuit noted that there is nothing in the Federal Rules

of Appellate Procedure which requires dismissal of an

appeal when a corporate officer who is not licensed to

practice law signs a notice of appeal for a corporation.

Id. at page 1165. “A notice of appeal is just that — a

notice.” Id. The Ninth Circuit in Bigelow failed to see

any compelling reason to refuse to recognize a

corporation’s notice of appeal, so long as a lawyer

promptly thereafter enters a formal appearance on

an, aaa

behalf of the corporation and undertakes the represen-

tation. Id.

The same conclusion was reached by the First Circuit

in Instituto De Educacion Universal Corp. v. United

States Department of Education, 209 F.3d 181 (1* Cir.

2000). The First Circuit recognized that a non-lawyer

could not represent a corporation in ongoing proceed-

ings; however, the court found there was a valid distinc-

tion between ongoing legal representation and the

“essentially ministerial action involved in the filing of

a notice of appeal.” Jd. at page 22. The First Circuit then

held that a corporate officer may sign and file a notice

of appeal on behalf of a corporation, as long as the

corporation then promptly retained counsel. Jd.

Many other Circuits have held that where a

corporation’s notice of appeal is signed by a corporate

officer who is not an attorney, the court may allow the

appeal to proceed as Jong as an attorney admitted to

practice before the appellate court has filed an appear-

ance.!

The Eighth Circuit’s refusal to allow BSB’s notice of

appeal and pleadings to be adopted by counsel was also

inherently contradictory. When the Eighth Circuit first

noticed that BSB’s notice of appeal was signed by non-

attorney shareholders, its clerk held the appeal in

abeyance to allow BSB to get licensed counsel. Within

the time allowed by the clerk, BSB retained licensed

counsel who attempted to cure the signature defect in

BSB’s notice of appeal and adopt the previously filed

1 See e.g., AAA Venetian Blind Sales, Inc. v. Beaufieu of America,

Inc., 124 F.3d 196 (6 Cir. 1997); Anunication v. West Capital

Financial Services, 97 F.3d 1458 (9% Cir. 1996); Lewis v. Lenc-

Smith Manufacuring Company, 784 F.2d 829 (7% Cir. 1986);

K.M.A., Inc v. General Motors Acceptance Corp., 652 F.2d 398 (5"

Cir. 1981).

="

pleadings. No argument was presented to the court

that this action would result in prejudice to any party

because responsive pleadings and briefs had already

been filed. Nevertheless, the Eighth Circuit denied

BSB’s motion and dismissed its appeal without an

opinion.

It should also be noted that BSB is a closely held

corporation. BSB’s notice of appeal was signed by its

only two shareholders. Janet Y. Tennant’s and J effrey

Eilers’ personal interests were directly effected by the

district court’s actions. By signing the notice of appeal

for BSB they were essentially not representing any

interests other then their own.

Due process requires that the court system be acces-

sible to those who are aggrieved. The ridged distinction

between a corporation and its owners should be disre-

garded when that corporation is operated as a de facto

sole proprietorship. To allow BSB’s sole shareholders to

represent their closely held corporation would cause no

more disruptions in the court system than courts cur-

rently permit to allow individuals to appear pro se. In

addition, Tennant and Eilers are not engaged in the

unauthorized practice of law in attempting to represent

their own «orporation because they are neither selling

legal services nor holding themselves out as lawyers.

—

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petitioner respect-

fully requests that the decision of the Eighth Circuit be

reversed.

Respectfully Submitted,

Gary P. Paul

BRINKER & DOYEN, LLP

1208S. Central Avenue, Suite 700

Clayton, Missouri 63105

(314) 863-6311

Attorney for Petitioner

APPENDIX

+:

—_ .

Appendix A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURL

EASTERN DIVISION

FILED

SEP, 20 2001

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MO

ST. LOUIS

4:01CVO1513SNL

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

VS.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.,

TLJ COMPANY L.L.C. and,

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants.

PLAINTIFF ALLSTATE INSURANCE

COMPANY’S COMPLAINT FOR INTER-

PLEADER PURSUANT TO RULE 22

Comes now plaintiff, Allstate Insurance Company,

and Pursuant to Rule 22, and 28 USC 1332, states as

follows:

—_ =e

Plaintiff Allstate Insurance Company (“Allstate”)

is an Illinois Corporation with its principle place of

business in Ilinois, and for the purposes of juris-

diction is a resident and citizen of the State of

Illinois.

Defendant Biddle Street Bistro, Inc., (“Biddle

Street”) is a Missouri Corporation with its prin-

ciple place of business located in St. Louis, Mis-

souri, and for the purposes of jurisdiction is a

resident and citizen of the State of Missouri.

TLJ Company L.L.C. (“TLJ”) is a Missouri Corpo-

ration with its principle place of business .in the

State of Missouri and for the purposes of jurisdic-

tion, is a resident and citizen of the State of Mis-

souri

Bremen B&nk and Trust Company (“Bremen”) is a

Missouri Corporation with its principle place of

business in the State of Missouri and for the pur-

poses of jurisdiction, is a resident and citizen of the

State of Missouri.

Diversity of citizenship exists and that the amount

in controversy is in excess of Seventy-Five Thou-

sand Dollars ($75,000.00), exclusive of interest

and costs, and jurisdiction is proper pursuant to 28

USC 1332.

Allstate issued to Biddle Street a policy of insur-

ance, effective November 10, 2000, through No-

vember 10, 2001, policy number 50 343927, which

insured Biddle Street for building damage up to a

limit of $500,000.00 and insured Biddle Street for

personal property damage up to a limit of

$100,000.00. A copy of the policy is attached hereto

and marked exhibit no. 1.

=" ee

7. On November 14, 2000, Biddle Street claims a loss

covered under the policy occurred and is making a

claim against Allstate for proceeds under the policy

of insurance.

8. Defendant TLJ, Inc. is identified as a loss payee

under the policy of insurance issued by Allstate.

9. Defendant Bremen is identified as the mortgagee

in the policy of insurance issued by Allstate. Plain-

tiff Allstate has deposited into the registry of this

court a sum equal to $600,000.00.

11. Biddle Street, TLJ and Bremen have each made

claims for proceeds under the policy of insurance

- issued by Allstate.

12. Biddle’ Street’s, TLJ’s and Bremen’s claims are in

excess of the limits available under the policy of

insurance exposing this plaintiff to double liabil-

ity.

12. Allstate seeks the court’s determination of the

allocation of the sums owed to defendants Biddle

Street, TLJ and/or Bremen.

WHEREFORE, Allstate prays this court to require

defendant to interplead their claims in this court, find

and adjudge that plaintiff is a disinterested party in

regard to the dispute between defendants, bar all claims

against this plaintiff by defendants, apportion the fund

between defendants and award plaintiff its attorneys

fees and costs related to the filing of this Interpleader

action from the funds deposited herein as well as any

further relief the court deems just and proper.

— =

Michael B. Maguire, #3728

David W. Laws, #81708

BROWN & JAMES, P.C.

Attorneys for Plaintiff

705 Olive Street, 11" Floor

St. Louis, Missouri 63101

314-421-3400

DWL/7239794

—_ <a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION

JUL 22 2002

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MO

Case No. 4:01CV1513

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

VS.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.,

TLJ COMPANY L.L.C. and,

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants.

ORDER

This matter is before the Court on Bremen Bank and

Trust Company’s motion for summary judgment and

TLJ Company, L.L.C.’s motion for summary judgment

(#30) filed May 13, 2002. On June 26, 2002, the Court

granted the parties’ motion to file an incomplete motion

package because Biddle Street Bistro, Inc., had not

responded to the motion.

a On

Allstate Insurance Company filed this interpleader

action on September 20, 2001. It deposited into the

Court’s registry $500,000 for building coverage and

$100,000 for the contents coverage. Allstate was subse-

quently dismissed from the action. On October 18,

2001, defendant TLJ and defendant Bremen Bank each

filed a eross-claim against Biddle Street Bistro. Biddle

Street never filed a cross-claim, nor did it file an answer

to the cross-claims against it. Biddle Street Bistro was

paid $100,000 from the Court’s registry which repre-

sented the proceeds from the personal property compo-

nent of the policy because neither TLJ, nor Bremen

Bank claimed any interest in the contents coverage.

TLJ and Bremen Bank have both filed motions for

summary judgment. TLJ states it is entitled to $100,000

of the building damage proceeds, and Bremen Bank

and Trust claims it is entitled te $400,000 of the

building damage proceeds. Biddle Street did not file a

response, and has not objected to these assertions. The

Court has reviewed the summary judgment motions

and finds they are with merit.

Accordingly,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Bremen Bank and

Trust Company’s motion for summary judgment and

TLJ Company L.L.C’s motion for summary judgment

(#30) are GRANTED.

_ IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that judgment is

entered in favor of Bremen Bank and Trust Company

and TLJ Company, L.L.C., and against Biddle Street

Bistro, Inc.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of the

Court pay $400,000 of the interpleader funds to Bremen.

Bank and Trust Company.

— =,

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of the

Court pay $100,000 of the interpleader funds to TLJ

Company, L.L.C.

IT IS FINALLY ORDERED that this cause of

action is dismissed with prejudice.

Dated this 22nd day of July, 2002.

s/

SENIOR UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

— = nen

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION

FILED

AUG 21 2002

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT 0F MO

File No. 4-01CV1513

NOTICE OF APPEAL

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPMANY,

Plaintiff,

VS.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC., TLJ COMPANY

and BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants.

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO A COURT OF

APPEALS FROM A JUDGMENT OR ORDER OF

A DISTRICT COURT

Notice is hereby given that Biddle Street Bistro, Inc.,

defendants in the above-named case, hereby appeal to

the United States of Court Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit from an Order granting defendant Bremen

Bank and Trust Company’s motion for summary judg-

ment and defendant TLJ Company, LLC’s motion for —

—_ s we

summary judgment; Order that judgment is entered in

favor of Bremen Bank and Trust Company and TLJ

Company, LLC; Order that the Court of the Court pay

$400,000.00 (Four Hundred Thousand Dollars) of the

interplead funds to Bremen Bank and Trust Company;

Order that the Court of the Court by $100,000.00 (One

Hundred Thousand Dollars) of the interplead funds to °

TLJ Company, LLC, and the Order dismissing this

cause of action with prejudice all of which were entered

in this action on the 22nd day of July, 2002. A copy of

the Court Order is attached.

“s/ Janet Tennant” “s/ Jeff Eilers”

Janet Tennant Jeff Eilers

400 North 4th Street 5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63102 St. Louis, Missouri 63116

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that a true and

correct copy of the foregoing was mailed, via first-class

United States mail, postage pre-paid, this 21" day of

August 2002, to:

Michael B. Maguire

720 Olive Street, Suite 1100

St. Louis, Missouri 63 101

Michael Hunter

10 S. Broadway, Suite 1600

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

s/ Janet Tennant

— A-10 —

APPENDIX D

United States Court of Appeals

For the Eighth Circuit

Thomas F. Eagleton U.S. Courthouse

111 South 10th Street, Room 24.329

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

Michael E, Gans

Clerk of Court

VOICE (314) 244-2400

FAX (314) 244-2780

www.ca8.uscourts.gov

November 18,2002

Ms. Janet Tennant

400 North 4th Street

#2801

St. Louis, MO

Mr. Jeff Eilers

5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, MO 63116

Re: No. 02-3141 Biddle Street Bistro. Inc. v. TJL

Company L.L.C., et al

Dear Ms. Tennant and Mr. Eilers:

This will acknowledge receipt of your “Reply Brief” in

this matter. When we received the Reply Brief, we

reviewed the file and noted your attorney, Mr. Dickhaus,

was granted leave to withdraw on October 4, 2002. This

prompted a review of all of the filings in your appeal,

and it appears that you have made all of the filings

without benefit of counsel.

— A-11—

While an individual may proceed pro se, a corpora-

tion cannot proceed pro se by its shareholders or offic-

ers, U.S. v. Van Shelton 988 F.2d 70 (8th Cir. 1993) and

Cart Enters.inc. v United Staten 698 F.2d 952 (8th Cir.

1985). As a result, your notice of appeal, as well as all

of your subsequent pleadings, are subject to being

stricken and your appeal is subject to being dismissed.

While I apologize for the fact that this was not noted

earlier, the validity of your notice of appeal is ajurisdic-

tional issue which the court may examine at any time.

As a courtesy to you, I will hold the appeal in abey-

ance for 30 days to permit you to consult and retain

legal counsel and for your attorney to determine whether

there is any motion or other legal pleading which could

be filed to validate your prior filings.

At the end of this period of time, I will refer the case

to the court for a determination as to whether the

appeal must be dismissed or should be permitted to

proceed.

Sincereiy,

“s/ Michael E. Gans”

Michael E. Gans

Clerk of Court

MEG/jpp

cc: Mr. Michael B. Hunter

— A-12 —

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Appeal No. 02-3141

Appeal from the United States District Court

Eastern District of Missouri

Eastern Division

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Interpleader Plaintiff,

VS.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.,

Defendant/Appellant

TLJ COMPANY, L.L.C.

and BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants/Appelleees.

APPELLANT BIDDLE STREET BISTRO’S

MOTION FOR LEAVE TO FILE PLEADINGS

AND BRIEFS PREVIOUSLY FILED PRO SE

COMES NOW, Biddle Street Bistro, by and through

its attorney of record, and for its motion for leave to file

pleadings and briefs previously filed pro se states to the

Court as follows:

1. BSB incorporates by reference its motion to submit

corrected notice of appeal and adopt pleadings previ-

ously filed pro se and its supporting memorandum.

— A-13 —

2. Appellant prays for leave to file an Entry of Ap-

pearance, Appellant’s Form A, Corporate Disclosure

Statement, Appellant’s Designation of Record, Notice

of Method of Preparing the Record on Appeal and

Statement of Issues, Appellant’s Brief, Appendix and

Reply Brief.

3. These pleadings and briefs are identical in form

- and content to those previously filed on behalf of BSB

pro se, with the exception that they are signed by

counsel.

4. Appellees will not be prejudiced, and justice re-

quires that Appellant’s appeal be decided on its merits.

WHEREFORE, Biddle Street Bistro, prays this Court

to allow it to file the above mention pleadings and

briefs.

Respectfully Submitted,

BRINKER & DOYEN, L.L.P.

By: s/ Gary P. Paul

Gary P. Paul, #14579

120 South Central Avenue, Suite 700

Clayton, Missouri 63105

(314)-863-6311

(314)-863-8197

ATTORNEY FOR APPELLANT

BIDDLE STREET Bistro, INc.

— A-14—

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

A copy of the foregoing was mailed this 17th day of

December, 2002, to Michael B. Hunter, Attorney for

Appellees TLJ Company, L.L.C. and Bremen Bank and

Trust Company, 10 South Broadway, Suite 1600, St.

Louis, Missouri 63102.

s/n

— A-15 —

Appendix F

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Interpleader Plaintiff,

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.,

Defendant / Appellant

TLJ COMPANY, L.L.C. and

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants / Appelleees.

Appeal No. 02-3141

Appeal from the United States District Court

Eastern District of Missouri

Eastern Division

APPELLANT BIDDLE STREET BISTRO’S

MOTION TO SUBMIT CORRECTED NOTICE

OF APPEAL AND ADOPT PLEADINGS

PREVIOUSLY FILED PRO SE

COMES NOW, Biddle Street Bistro, by and through

its attorney of record, and for its motion to submit a

3 corrected notice of appeal and adopt the pleadings

j previously filed in this matter states as follows:

— A-16 —

1. On August 21, 2002 Jeff Hilers and Janet Tennant

filed a Notice of Appeal with the U.S. District Court for

the Eastern District of Missouri as pro se shareholders

of their corporation Biddle Street Bistro. This notice

was within thirty days of the district court judge’s order

they wished to appeal. (See Notice of Appeal attached

hereto as Exhibit A).

2. At the time of filing, a docket fee of $105.00 was also

paid. (See Minutes from the U.S. District Court at-

tached hereto as Exhibit B). Also, at the time of filing,

Biddle Street Bistro Inc.’s attorney of record, Karl W.

Dickhaus, had not withdrawn his appearance.

3. On August 28, 2002, Ms. Tennant was notified by

the Eighth Circuit Clerk that Biddle Street Bistro’s

Notice of Appeal was received from the Clerk of the

United States District Court together with notification

of payment of the docket fee. A briefing schedule was

attached to this notification. (See Correspondence dated

August 28, 2002 attached hereto as Exhibit C).

4. Biddle Street Bistro subsequently filed in a timely

fashion the appropriate Entry of Appearance Form and

Appeal Information Form. Biddle Street Bistro also

filed its Corporate Disclosure Statement, Designation

of Record, Notice of Method of Preparing the Record on

Appeal and Statement of Issues, and Appellant’s Brief

in accordance with the filing dates set forth on August

28, 2002. (See BSB’s Corporate Disclosure Statement,

Designation of Record, Statement of Issues, and

Appellant’s Brief attached herto as Exhibits D, E, F,

and G)

5. Appellees did not contest this Court’s jurisdiction,

and filed a brief which responded to the merits of

Appellant’s Brief.

— A-17 —

6. On November 18, 2002 the Eighth Circuit Clerk

notified Eilers and Tennant that their Reply Brief had

been received, but that it was noticed for the first time

that they were representing their corporation pro se.

The Clerk indicated that a corporation’s officers could

not represent their corporation, and that since Biddle

Street Bistro’s Notice of Appeal was not signed by an

attorney, this Court may not have jurisdiction.-(See

Eighth Circuit Court Clerk’s Correspondence dated

November 18, 2002 attached hereto as Exhibit H).

7. Neighboring Circuits and the United States Su-

preme Court have ruled that the signature of a notice of

appeal is not a jurisdictional matter.

8. Biddle Street Bistro complied with all jurisdic-

tional requirements for a notice of appeal as set forth by

the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure.

9. The undersigned counsel has reviewed all of the

pleadings filed on behalf of Biddle Street Bistro, and

has found that they meet with all applicable Federal

Rules of Appellate Procedure and Local Rules, and

wishes to adopt them and their arguments without

amendment.

10. Justice requires that Biddle Street Bistro be

allowed to substitute counsel and that this Court enter

a ruling on the merits of its appeal.

11. Biddle Street Bistro Inc. incorporates by refer-

ence its memorandum in support of motion to submit

corrected notice of appeal and adopt pleadings previ-

ously filed pro se.

WHEREFORE, Biddle Street Bistro, prays this Court

to allow it to amend its notice of appeal to be signed by

the undersigned counsel, and allow the undersigned

— A-18 —

counsel to adopt the pleadings previously submitted

pro se by Mr. Eilers and Ms. Tennant.

Respectfully Submitted,

BRINKER & DOYEN, L.L.P.

By: s/

Gary P. Paul, #14579

120 South Central Avenue, Suite 700

Clayton, Missouri 63105

(314)-863-6311

(314)-863-8197

Attorney for Appellant Biddle Street

Bistro, Inc.

— s'

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

A copy of the foregoing was mailed this 17th day of

December, 2002, to Michael B. Hunter, Attorney for

Appellees TLJ Company, L.L.C. and Bremen Bank and

Trust Company, 10 South Broadway, Suite 1600, St.

Louis, Missouri 63102.

s/

— A-20 —

Appendix F

Exhibit A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION

FILED

AUG 21 2002

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT MO

File No. 4-01CV1513

NOTICE OF APPEAL

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

VS.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.,

TLJ COMPANY and

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants.

NOTICE OF APPEAL TO A COURT OF APPEALS

FROM A JUDGMENT OR ORDER OF

A DISTRICT COURT

— A-21 —

Notice is hereby given that Biddle Street Bistro, Inc.,

defendants in the above-named case, hereby appeal to

the United States of Court Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit from an Order granting defendant Bremen

Bank and Trust Company’s motion for summary judg-

ment and defendant TLJ Company, LLC’s motion for

summary judgment; Order that judgment is entered in

favor of Bremen Bank and Trust Company and TLJ

Company, LLC; Order that the Court of the Court pay

$400,000.00 (Four Hundred Thousand Dollars) of the

interplead funds to Bremen Bank and Trust Company;

Order that the Court of the Court by $100,000.00 (One

Hundred Thousand Dollars) of the interplead funds to

TLJ Company, LLC, and the Order dismissing this

cause of action with prejudice all of which were entered

in this action on the 22w’ day of July, 2002. Acopy of the

Court Order is attached.

s/

Janet Tennant

400 North 4th Street

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

s/

Jeff Eilers

5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63116

— A-22 —

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that a true and

correct copy of the foregoing was mailed, via first-class

United States mail, postage pre-paid, this 21st day of

August 2002, to:

Michael B. Maguire

720 Olive Street, Suite 1100

St. Louis, Missouri 63101

Michael Hunter

10 S. Broadway, Suite 1600

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

s/

— A-23 —

Appendix F

Exhibit B

U.S. District Court

Eastern District of Missouri (Eastern)

CIVIL DOCKET FOR CASE #: 01-CV-1513

Allstate Insurance v. Biddle Street Bistro, et al .

Filed: 09/20/01

Assigned to: Honorable Stephen N. Limbaugh

Demand: $75,000

Nature of Suit: 110

Lead Docket: None

Jurisdiction: Diversity

Dkt# in other court: None

Cause: 28:1332 Diversity-Insurance Contract

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY

plaintiff

[term 02/27/02}

Michael B. Maguire

_ [term 02/27/02

314-421-3128 fax

[COR LD NTC]

BROWN AND JAMES, P.C.

1010 Market Street

20th Floor

St. Louis, MO 63101

314-421-3400

FTS 421-3128

— A-24 —

David W. Laws

[term 02/27/021

314-726-2360 fax

[COR LD NTC]

BOGGS AND BOGGS, LLC

7912 Bonhomme Avenue

Suite 400

Clayton, MO 63105

‘ 314-726-2310

FTS 726-2360

Vv.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.

defendant

Karl W. Dickhaus

314-962-5083 fax

(COR LD NTCI

1750 S. Brentwood Boulevard

Suite 201

St. Louis, MO 63144

314-962-9000

FTS 962-5083

TLJ COMPANY L.L.C.

defendant

Michael B. Hunter

314-345-5055 fax

[COR LD NTC]

WILLIAMS AND VENKER

Ten South Broadway

Suite 1600

St. Louis, MO 63102-2740

314-345-5000

FTS 345-5055

— A-25 —

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY

defendant

Michael B. Hunter

(See above)

[COR LD NTC]

TLJ COMPANY L.L.C.

cross-claimant

Michael B. Hunter

314-345-5055 fax

{COR LD NTC]

WILLIAMS AND VENKER

Ten South Broadway

Suite 1600

St. Louis, MO 63102-2740

314-345-5000

FTS 345-5055

V.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.

cross-defendant

Karl W. Dickhaus

314-962-5083 fax

[COR LD NTC]

1750 S. Brentwood Boulevard

Suite 201

St. Louis, NO 63144

314-962-9000

FTS 962-5083

— A-26 —

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY

cross-claimant

314-345-5055 fax

[COR LD NTCJ

WILLIAMS AND VENKER

Ten South Broadway

Suite 1600

St. Louis, MO 63102-2740

314-345-5000

F’'TS 345-5055

V.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.

cross-defendant

314-962-5083 fax

[COR LD NTC}

1750 S. Brentwood Boulevard

Suite 201

St. Louis, MO 63144

314-962-9000

FTS 962-5083

DATE

6/24/02

6/26/02

7/22/02

—_—s a

DOCKET PROCEEDINGS

# DOCKET ENTRY

32 MOTION by defendant TLJ Company

L.L.C., defendant Bremen Bank &

Trust for leave to file incomplete

motion package |

(kxs) [Entry date 06/25/02]

33 RULED DOCUMENT by Honorable

Stephen N. Limbaugh granting

motion for leave to file incomplete

motion package [32-1]

LEAVE GRANTED (ce: all counsel)

(kxs) [Entry date 06/26/02]

34 ORDER by Honorable Stephen N.

_ Limbaugh IT IS HEREBY ORDERED

that Bremen Bank and Trust

Company’s motion for summary

judgment and TLJ Company L.L.C’s

motion for summary judgment are

GRANTED. IT IS FURTHER

ORDERED that judgment is entered

in favor of Bremen Bank and Trust

Company and TLJ Company, L.L.D.,

and against Biddle Street Bistro, Ic.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the

Clerk of the Court pay $400,000 of the

interpleader funds to Bremen Bank

and Trust Company [30-1] [30-1], IT

IS FURTHER ORDERED that the

Clerk of the Court pay $100,00 of the

interpleader funds to TLJ Company,

L.L.C. IT IS FINALLY ORDERED

that this cause of action is dismissed

with prejudice. [30-1] [30-1]

— A-28 —

dismissing case (cc: all counsel) (arl)

[Entry date 07/22/02] ,

MOTION by defendant Biddle Street

Bistro to set aside judgment and relief

from judgment or order w/memo in

support. (lah)

[Entry date 08/21/02]

NOTICE OF APPEAL filed by

defendant Biddle Street Bistro re: the

District Court decision ; [34-2] fee:

$105.00 (lah)

[Entry date 08/21/02]

RECEIPT # S2002-009299 in the

amount of $105.00 for appeal (lah)

[Entry date 08/21/02]

— A-29 —

Appendix F

Exhibit C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

THOMAS F. EAGLETON COURT HOUSE

ROOM 24.329

1118S. 10TH STREET

ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI 83102

MICHAEL E. GANS

Clerk of Court

VOICE (314) 244-2400

FAX (314) 244-2780

www.ca8.uscourts.gov

August 28, 2002

Ms. Janet Tennant

400 N. Fourth Street

St. Louis, MD 63102

Re: 023141 Riddle Street Bistro vs. TLJ Company

Dear Counsel:

We have received certified copies of the notice of

appeal and docket entries from the Clerk of the United

States District Court, together with notification of

payment of the docket fee. In accordance with the

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and the Eighth

Circuit Rules, this appeal has today been assigned the

docket number indicated.

The clerk’s office provides a number of practice aids

and materials to assist you in preparing the record and

briefs. You can download the materials from our website

— A-30 —

at www.ca8.uscourts.gov/newcoa/coaFranie.htrn! The

material is provided to assist counsel in the preparation

and filing of :he record and briefs. Counsel for both sides

must familiarize themselves with the material and

iamediately confer regarding the briefing schedule and -

record requirements (Eighth Circuit Rule 30A). Within

ten days of the date of this letter appellant must file

with this office (1) verification that the transcript ar-

rangements have been satisfactorily completed and (2)

notification of the method of preparation of the appen-

dix jointly selected by counsel. Appeals in which the

appendix and opening brief are not timely filed axe

subject to dismissal pursuant to Eighth Circuit Rule

3C; cases in which appellees do not timely file a brief

axe governed by FRAP Rule 31(c).

Multiple appellants or appellees who axe jointly

represented by a single attorney shall file one brief.

Multiple appellants or apellees who are separately

represented may file separate briefs ox a joint brief. A

party responding to multiple briefs from separately-

represented parties shall file a single responsive or

reply brief. (5052-010199)

Sincerely,

Is

Michael E. Gans

Clerk of Court

11b Enclosure(s)

cc: Jeff Eilers

Karl. W. Dickhaus

Michael B. Hunter

James 0. Woodward, Clerk

District Court/Agency Case Number(s): 4:01-cv-

1513 (SNL)

— A-31 —

August 28, 2002

Case Number: 02341

District Court/Agency Case Number(s):

4:01..cv-1513 (SL)

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY

Plaintiff

V.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.:

Defendant - Appellant

TLJ COMPANY, LL .C.:

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY

Defendants - Appellees

(5072-010199)

ape ES Seay oad BN Fis GAP AIA RS OO PTO OOD ID oR RT STDS NT ROM Ra

— A-32 —

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

APPEAL BRIEFING SCHEDULE

Appeal No. 02-3141

Biddle Street Bistro v TLJ Company

Date: August 28, 2002

This schedule has been established in conformity

with 8th Cir. R. 28A & 30A, which is a modification of

the procedure suggested in FRAP. Because this court

has directed that the practice of routinely granting

extensions of time be discontinued counsel and court

personnel must carefully note the dates indicated and

arrange their schedule to insure compliance with this

order.

APPEAL REQUIREMENTS

Complete and file immediately:

a. Appeal Information Form. 8th Cit. R. 3B

b. Corporate Disclosure Statement. 8th Cir. R. 26.1

c. The enclosed Entry of Appearance Form,

NOTE: These dates may be advanced or extended

by court order or a party’s early or late filing of

a brief. Please refer to FRA 31(a).

— A-33 —

FILING DATES:

Method of Appendix Preparation

iii cassie endvsaenivonsene 9/9/02

Designation. of record & Statement of

SUPINE 6 oscccnsosccssssevsescesersvnseees 919/02

Designation of Record-Appellee .................. 9/11/02

ee ated cicckchenederseancarceuisdseesavess N/A

Appendix (3 copies) ................:ccccccsccscecssceeees 10/7/02

Brief-Appellant with Addendum

EER 11/6/02

POLY EHCIGT (ODTIONAD) ..........00.00000s0ssseeesees000ss 11/20/02

ALL BRIEFS AND APPENDICES SHOULD BE FILED

WITH THE ST. LOUIS OFFICE

(5107-010199)

— A-34 —

Appendix F

Exhibit D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

VS.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, [NC..

Defendant /Appellant

TLJ COMPANY, L.L.C.

and BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants / Appellees.

Case No.: 02-3141

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

COMES NOW Appellant, Biddle Street Bistro, Inc.,

and pursuant to Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure

26.1 and Eighth Circuit Rule of Appellate Procedure

26.1 A states as follows:

1. Theparent companies ofthe corporation: None.

2. Subsidiaries not wholly owned by the corpora-

tion: none.

— f-36 ~~

3. Any publicly held company that owns ten

percent or more of the corporation’s stock:

none.

/s

Janet Tennant

400 North 4th Street, 42801

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

314-780-0953

Pro Se Shareholder

/s

Jeff Eilers

5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63116

314-580-6729

Pro Se Shareholder

—_e

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that a true and cor-

rec: copy of the foregoing was mailed, via first-class

Urited States mail, postage pre-paid, this day of

September 2002, to:

Michael Hunter

10 S. Broadway, Suite 1600

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

/s

— A-37 —

Appendix F

Exhibit E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

VS.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.,

Defendant/ Appellant

TLJ COMPANY, L.L.C.

and BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants / Appellees.

Case No.: 02-3141

APPELLANT’S DESIGNATION OF RECORD

COMES NOW Appellant, Biddle Street Bistro, Inc.

and pursuant to FRAP 30(b)(1) designates that the

following parts of the record will be included in its

appendix.

1. Complaint;

2. Order by Judge Donald J. Stohr entered on Sep-

tember 24, 2001;

13.

14.

— A-38 —

Answer by defendant Biddle Street Bistro, Inc. to

[1-1] plaintiffs complaint;

Answer by defendant TLJ Company L.L.C. to [1-1];

Answer by defendant Bremen Bank and Trust to

[1-1];

Crossclaim by defendant TLJ Company, L.L.C.

against defendant Biddle Street Bistro for De-

claratory Judgment;

Crossclaim by defendant Bremen Bank and Trust

against defendant Biddle Street Bistro for De-

claratory Judgment;

Order and Judgment by Judge Stephen N.

Limbaugh entered February 27, 2002;

Order and Judgment by Judge Stephen Limbaugh

entered on April 22, 2002;

. Order and Judgment by Judge Stephen N.

Limbaugh entered April 29, 200

. Order by Judge Stephen N. Limbaugh entered on

May 7, 2002;

. Motion by defendant Bremen Bank and Trust for

summary judgment with memo in support, state-

ment of facts, and exhibits A through L attached;

Motion by defendant TLJ Company L.L.C. for

summary judgment with memo in support, state-

ment of facts, and exhibits A through L attached;

Motion by defendant TLJ Company L.L.C. defen-

dant Bremen Bank and Trust for leave to file

incomplete motion package;

15.

16.

17.

18.

—

Ruled Document by Judge Stephen N. Limbaugh

granting motion for leave to file incomplete motion

package;

Order by Judge Stephen N. Limbaugh entered on

July 22, 2002;

Motion by defendant Biddle Street Bistro to set

aside judgment and relief from judgment or order

with memo in support;

Notice of Appeal filed by defendant Biddle Street

Bistro regarding the District Court decision.

Janet Tennant

400 North 4th Street, #2801

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

314-780-0953

Pro Se Shareholder

Jeff Eilers

5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63116

314-580-6729

Pro Se Shareholder

— A-40 —

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that a true and

correct copy of the foregoing was mailed, via first-class

United States mail, postage pre-paid, this day of

September 2002, to:

Michael Hunter

10 S. Broadway, Suite 1600

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

s/

ers MRL LANIER Sa i a a a

— A-41 —

Appendix F

Exhibit F

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

VS.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.,

Defendant/ Appellant

TLJ COMPANY, L.L.C.

and BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants / Appellees.

Case No.: 02-3141

NOTICE OF METHOD OF PREPARING THE

RECORD ON APPEAL AND STATEMENT OF

ISSUES

COMES NOW Appellant, Biddle Street Bistro, Inc.,

and pursuant to Eighth Circuit Rule of Appellate Pro-

cedure 30 A(b) notifies the Court and opposing parties

of its method of preparing record on appeal:

1. Appellants wiil dispense with the process of pre-

paring a joint appendix as set forth in Federal Rule

of Appellate Procedure 30(a) and (b) and submit a

separate appendix with the opening brief.

2. Thereisnotranscript. -

— A-42 —

3. The Issues presented to this Court are whether the

District Court erred in granting TLJ Company,

L.L.C.’s motion for summary judgment and Bremen

Bank and Trust Company’s motion for summary

judgment. -

s/

Janet Tennant

400 North 4th Street, p2801

St. Louis, Missouri 63 102

314-780-0953 |

Pro Se Shareholder

s/

Jeff Eilers

5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63116

314-580-6729

Pro Se Shareholder

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that a true and

correct copy of the foregoing was mailed, via first-class

United States mail, postage pre-paid, this ___ day of

September 2002, to:

Michael Hunter

10 S. Broadway, Suite 1600

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

s/

— A-43 —

Appendix F

Exhibit G

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Appeal No. 02-3141

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Interpleader Plaintiff

V.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.

Defendant / Appellant

TLJ COMPANY, L.L.C. and

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants / Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

Eastern District of Missouri

Eastern Division

The Honorable Stephen N. Limbaugh,

Senior United States District Judge

— A-44 —

BRIEF OF APPELLANT

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO INC.

Janet Tennant

400 North 4th Street, #2801

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

314/780-0953:

Fax: 314/241-2330

Pro Se Shareholder for Appellant

Jeff Eilers

5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63116

314/580-6729

Pro Se Shareholder for Appellant

SUMMARY OF THE CASE AND REQUEST FOR

ORAL ARGUMENT

Allstate Insurance Company (hereafter Allstate) in-

terpleaded the funds of a premises liability insurance

policy. (App 1-3)’. The named insured, owner of the

property, and mortgagee were named as co-defendants.

Biddle Street Bistro (hereafter BSB) occupied the de-

stroyed premises and was the named insured of the

policy. (App. 67). TLJ Company, Inc. (hereafter TLJ)

was the owner of the property, and Bremen Bank and

Trust Company, L.L.C. (hereafter Bremen) was the

mortgagee of the property. BSB, TLJ and Bremen each

made a claim to the insurance proceeds. (App. 12-15,

16-18, 19-21).

The district court granted BSB’s motion for partial

summary judgment and awarded it the entire policy

limits for the personal property coverage. (App. 6-8).

1 Appellant’s separate appendix will be referred to as “App.”

Toe I, eee A oy, ee i Se ee ee ee ee ee

4

.

a

:

;

Be

‘4

A

4

3

&

4

Se”

ia

a

ee

Fe

ss,

ix

Be

eS

&

te

a

&

4

4

a

ae

eS

ba

ED

&

>

S,

“

— A-45 —

The district court then granted TLJ’s and Bremen’s

motions for summary judgment concerning the policy

limits for the building damage. (App. 9-11).

BSB was unable to communicate with their attorney

of record, and was not aware of TLJ’s or Bremen’s

motions and the district court’s order granting their

motions until August 20, 2002. (App. 391-394). BSB

then timely filed its notice of appeal. (App. 399-402).

Appellant requests 15 minutes of oral argument.

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Biddle Street Bistro, Inc. has no parent companies or

subsidiaries not wholly owned by the corporation. No

publicly held company owns ten percent or more of the

corporation’s stock.

— A-46 —

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Item Page

Summary Of CaG0 .vicinccnrescoontenmniecanmemnianeinmsass 1

Corporate Disclosure Statement...............0::00 2

Table of Content .2.200:sercsecssssssipsinnrstnnsasssvonioninains 3

Table of Authorities ...ccccscccsssssssessnnensnsonansanenencenne 4

Jurisdictional Statement....................csssescsseses 6

Statement of the Issues ..............-:sssssssssssessesseess 7

Statement of the Case ...<cc-csorscrorsensenssesrassasssnense 8

Statement Of Facts .....<coccscersccvessncnversssessnnneevven pias 9

Summary Of the Argament ....-cccversscsassvesenssresese 12

ATBUMCAE ...000-0cssrererrerevessvereceniversevsenasvqssenseetoneniss 14

COR CBORD ..<cesnersncenesscentevinnvrnaisiaiemahaaaemmanabets 21

AAACN 000 consirssseiesrntensenincenniirnmemeaecmaninntues 22

Certificate of Compliance ...........ccosesssvsccssoosesseess 29

Certificate of Service .......00-scsrssccecsrosssesesssosessees 30

— A-47 —

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases (alphabetically arranged) Page

Buller v. Buechler, 706 F.2d 844, 846

SIS BOD oicssccssevavvsasewnerensacnvesvorexavenseee 15

G.M. Battery & Boat Co. v L.K.N. Corp.,

747 S.W.2d 624 (Mo. banc 1988).......... (me © Yi

Get Away Club. Inc. v. Coleman, 969 F.2d 664,

I MM BID sc cnusiccnswassctiexessoseeevseuvenss 14

Graves v. Stanton, 621 S.W.2d 524

et sacvssadpuhbenbvenxeiodesseansevanevece 16

M.F.A. Mut. Ins. Co. v. Gulf Ins. Co., :

445 S.W.2d 829 (Mo. 1969)...0... eee eeceeeeeeee 16

Puritan Insurance Company v Yarber,

723 S.W.2d 98 (Mo.App. 1987)............. 7, 13, 19

R.M. Taylor Inc. v General Motors Corp., R

187 F.3d 809, 812 (8th Cir. 1999) .0000.000...... 15

Robert Johnson Grain Co. v Chem. Interchange

Co., 541 F.2d 207, 210 (8th Cir. 1983)........ 15

United Tel Co. V Johnson Publishing Co.,

855 F. 2d 604 (8th Cir. 1988) oo... 7,14

Wilmurth v National Liberty Ins Co. of

America et al., 206 S.W.2d 730

|: 5 En 7, 13, 18

Wrausmann v. Kansas City Fire and Marine

Ins. Co., 477 S.W.2d 741, 743

INS BOTT oescvccesencvscesnnsvesnsrecenssesssssossonns 17

— A-48 —

Statutes

BER TINS. MADR sinrenesiinvacsteesictnieversesnsee

BB UTE AG.. REID seccinccsssntannsensiesvevuiereivn

DOT BSA. 9D ceiacecitisnvnassasesiavensisnensoves

Other Authorities

eeoeeeeeeeeseeesese

eeeeseeseseeseeeee

Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure #4............

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure #56

eeeeseeeseereeseee

15

— A-49 —

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

On or about September 20, 2001 Allstate filed an

interpleader action in the United States District Court,

Eastern District of Missouri. Allstate invoked the dis-

trict court’s jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1332.

(App. 1-3).

The district court ordered Allstate to deposit into its

registry payment of $500,000 for the building coverage

and $100,000 for the contents coverage, the limit of

liability under Allstate’s policy of insurance. (App. 4).

On or about April 29, 2002 the district court entered

judgment in favor of BSB in the amount of $100,000 on

its partial motion for summary judgment for policy

limits of the Allstate policy’s contents coverage.

(App. 6-8).

On or about July 22, 2002 the district court granted

Bremen’s motion for summary judgment and TLJ’s

motion for summary judgment for the $500,000 of

building coverage. The district court also entered judg-

ment in favor of Bremen and TLJ, and against BSB.

The district court then ordered that the cause of action

be dismissed with prejudice. (App. 9-11).

Notice of Appeal was timely filed on August, 21, 2002.

FRAP 4. The Court has jurisdiction as the district

court’s ruling on TLJ’s and Bremen’s motions for sum-

mary judgment is a final order that disposes of all

parties’ claims. 28 U.S.C. 1291. The United States

District Court, Eastern District of Missouri is within

the territory of the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals. 20

_ US.C. 41.

— A-50 —

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES

THE DISTRICT COURT ERRED IN GRANTING

TLJ’S AND BREMEN’S MOTIONS FOR SUM-

MARY JUDGMENT BECAUSE TLJ AND BREMEN

WERE NOT ENTITLED TO JUDGMENT AS A

MATTER OF LAW BECAUSE THERE WERE

GENUINE AND MATERIAL ISSUES OF FACT

WHICH PRECLUDED SUMMARY JUDGMENT

IN THAT:

A.

THE RECORD BEFORE THE DISTRICT COURT

CONTAINED SUFFICIENT FACTS TO

DEMONSTATE THAT BSB HAD AN INSURABLE

INTEREST IN THE BUILDING ON 220 BIDDLE

STREET, AND

B.

THE RECORD BEFORE THE DISTRICT COURT

CONTAINED SUFFICIENT FACTS TO DEMON-

STRATE THAT TLJ AND BREMEN HAD NO

CLAIM TO THE ALLSTATE INSURANCE POLICY

BECAUSE IT WAS NOT THE INTENT OF THE

PARTIES TO THAT POLICY TO INSURE TLJ’S

AND BREMEN’S INTERESTS IN THE BUILDING

ON 220 BIDDLE STREET.

Wilmurth v. National Liberty Ins Co. of America-et al.,

206 S.W.2d 730 (Mo.App. 1947)

Puritan Insurance Company v Yarber, 723 S.W.2d 98

(Mo.App. 1987) ;

G.M. Buttery & Boat Co. v L.K.N Corp., 747 S.W.2d 624

(Mo banc 1988)

United Tel Co. V Johnson Publishing Co., 855 F. 2d 604

(8th Cir. 1988)

# s

;

bi

.

:

j

3

sr

‘

Sao DGD GRE EDR NAAR RGU TITIES N

Rew eeasS

ss fe Lh FSIS REE IY

— A-51 —

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The case out of which the present appeal arises was

an interpleader action brought by Allstate. (App. 1-3).

Allstate issued a policy of fire insurance to BSB which

listed BSB as the only named insured, and carried

coverage up to a limit of $500,000 for building damage,

and up to $100,000 for personal property damage. (App.

2). Unknown to BSB, TLJ and Bremen were listed as

loss payees on its policy ofinsurance. (App. 68 and 129).

The district court awarded the entire $100,000 for

personal property damage to BSB. (App. 6-8). The

district court then granted TLJ’s and Bremen’s motions

for summary judgment, and awarded the entire amount

of the $500,000 policy for building damage to TLJ and

Bremen. (App. 9-11). BSB was unaware of TLJ’s and

Bremen’s motions for summary judgment and the dis-

trict court’s order granting them until August 20, 2002.

BSB then filed its Rule 60(b) motion and notice of

appeal in a timely fashion. (App. 389-398, and 399-402).

STATEMENT OF FACTS

BSB, operating under the name J. Tennant Con-

struction, once owned property located at 220 Biddle

Street, St. Louis, Missouri, and was running a bistro

called “J’s on the Landing.” (App. 304-305). In 1997 due

to financial difficulties it entered into an agreement

with T.L.J. (App. 305). BSB transferred the deed on 220

Biddle Street to TLJ in exchange for a commercial lease

with an option to re-purchase the property within two

years. (App. 305 and 315-329).

BSB exercised the purchase option on January 29,

1999 by a Notice of Exercise to Option to Purchase Real

Estate. (App. 305 and 330). BSB was ready to close on

the option date of May 29, 1999 at the purchase price

— A-52 —

called for in the 1997 option. (App. 305). TLJ contacted

BSB prior to said closing and offered to renew the

financing on the property subject to the terms and

conditions of a Sales Contract dated June 18, 1999.

(App. 305). As a condition precedent to the execution of

the Sales Contract, BSB requested that TLJ’s offer to

extend the terms of the contract if closing could not be

accomplished in six months be included. (App. 306).

The specific language of that provision being: “In the

event Buyer is unable to close on or before October 28,

1999, Seller agrees to enter into another Sales Contract

along terms similar to this one except the sale price and

other monetary amounts will be agreed upon by the

parties at the time the new contract is executed.” (App.

306 and 333).

BSB was unable to close by October 28, 1999, and TLJ

refused to exercise another sales contract. (App. 306-

307). BSB then sued TLJ in the Circuit Court for the

City of St. Louis to enforce TLJ’s promise of an exten-

sion of the October 29, 1999 agreement. (App. 304-311).

TLJ was granted leave to file a counter claim for

ejectment. (App. 257). BSB’s suit was pending on No-

vember 14, 2000 when the property at 220 Biddle Street

was destroyed by fire. Since the property was lost, the

state court judge entered judgment in favor of TLJ’s

ejectment claim as a matter of law. (App. 234).

The property loss was covered by a premises liability

insurance policy written by Allstate, policy number 50

343927. (App. 2). That policy was purchased by BSB,

and BSB was the sole named insured. (App. 67). Pursu-

ant toits lease agreement, BSB initially named Bremen

and TLJ as loss payees. (App. 344). When TLJ refused

to honor its agreement to grant an extension, BSB

contacted its insurance broker to request that TLJ and

Bremen be removed from their policy as loss payees.

}

i

:

§

s.

&

‘

ra

&

&

2

PNG OREM Sate

—<: o

(App. 368). BSB’s request was honored by Allstate.

(App. 380). When TLJ found out that it was no longer a

loss payee on BSB’s policy, it called BSB’s agent and

demanded to be put back on. (App. 141). The agent

complied. (App. 156).

BSB, TLJ and Bremen all made claims for the insur-

ance proceeds. Allstate Insurance Company filed an

interpleader action in the United States District Court,

Eastern District of Missouri. (App. 1-3). The district

court granted BSB’s motion for partial summary judg-

ment and awarded it the entire policy limits for the

personal property coverage. (App. 6-8). After it’s motion

for partial summary judgment was granted, BSB was

unable to contact its attorney. (App. 392-395). Un-

known to BSB, TLJ and Bremen had filed motions for

summary judgment on the policy coverage for the

building. (App. 392-395). The district court granted

TLJ’s and Bremen’s motions for summary judgment

concerning the policy limits for the building damage.

(App. 9-11). :

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The district court erred by granting TLJ’s and

Bremen’s motions for summary judgment because they

were not entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Material facts were before the district court which

showed that BSB had an insurable interest in the

building, and material facts were before the district

court which showed that TLJ’s and Bremen’s interests

were not intended to be insured by the Allstate policy in

question.

Facts were present in the district court’s record

sufficient to have allowed BSB to show the pecuniary

interest needed to assert an insurable interest. The

definition of an insurable interest was summarized in

— > a

G.M. Battery & Boat Co. v L.K.N Corp., 747 S.W.2d 624,

627 (Mo banc 1988):

In general, a person has an insurable interest in

the subject matter insured where he has such a

relation or concern in such subject matter that he

will derive pecuniary benefit or advantage from its

preservation, or will suffer pecuniary loss or dam- -

age from its destruction, termination, or injury by

the happening of the event insured against.

TLJ and Bremen base their claim to the building

damage proceeds of BSB’s insurance policy on the fact

that they were listed as named payees or mortgagees on

the policy. (App. 43-45 and 409-411). The district court’s

record clearly indicates that BSB, the named insured,

did not intend to insure their interests. (App. 42, 141,

368 and 380). TLJ was the owner of the building and

Bremen was mortgagee; however, a property insurance

contract does not run with the property unless ex-

pressly stipulated. Puritan Insurance Company v

Yarber, 723 S.W.2d 98, 102 (Mo.App. 1987). An insur-

ance policy is a personal contract between the insurer

and the insured. Wilmurth v National Liberty Ins Co. of

America et al., 206 S.W.2d 730, 733 (Mo.App. 1947).

Accordingly, there must be proof that the terms of the

policy allowed TLJ and Bremen to request to be named

payees without the consent or knowledge of the named

insured, and no such showing was made.

— A-55 —

ARGUMENT

THE DISTRICT COURT ERRED IN GRANTING

TLJ’S AND BREMEN’S MOTIONS FOR SUM.

MARY JUDGMENT BECAUSETLJ AND BREMEN

WERE NOT ENTITILED TO JUDGMENT AS A

MATTER OF LAW BECAUSE THERE WERE

GENUINE AND MATERIAL ISSUES OF FACT

WHICH PRECLUDED SUMMARY JUDGMENT

IN THAT: |

A.

THE RECORD BEFORE THE DISTRICT COURT

CONTAINED SUFFICIENT FACTS TO DEMON.

STRATE THAT BSB HAD AN INSURABLE IN.

TEREST IN THE BUILDING ON 220 BIDDLE

STREET, AND

B.

THE RECORD BEFORE THE DISTRICT COURT

CONTAINED SUFFICIENT FACTS TO DEMON.

STRATE THAT TLJ AND BREMEN HAD NO

CLAIM TO THE ALLSTATE INSURANCE POLICY

BECAUSE IT WAS NOT THE INTENT OF THE

PARTIES TO THAT POLICY TO INSURE TLJ’S

AND BREMEN’S INTEREST IN THE BUILDING

ON 220 BIDDLE STREET.

A. Standard of Review

The Court reviews de novo a district court’s order

granting summary judgment, using the same stan-

dards as the district court. Get Away Club Ince. v.

Coleman 969 F.2d 664, 666 (8th Cir. 1992). On appel-

late review of a decision to grant summary judgment,

the court applies the same standard applied by the

district court. United Tel Co. v. Johnson Publishing Co.,

— A-56 —

855 F.2d 604, 607 (8th Cir. 1988). Summary judgment

is to be granted only ifthere is no genuine issue as to any

material fact, and the moving party is entitled to a

judgment as a matter of law. Id. In passing on a motion

for summary judgment, the court must review the facts

in a light most favorable to the party opposing the

motion and give that party the benefit of any inferences

that logically can be drawn from those facts. Buller v.

Buechler, 706 F.2d 844, 846 (8th Cir. 1983). The court

is required to resolve all conflicts of evidence in favor of

the nonmoving party. Robert Johnson Grain Co. v.

Chem. Interchange Co., 541 F.2d 207, 210 (8th Cir.

1983). According to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

56(e) BSB was not required to file a response to TLJ’s

and Bremen’s motions for summary judgment to pre-

serve their right to appeal. Rule 56(e) states if the

opposing party fails to respond to a motion for summary

judgment, the court shall only enter judgment against

him “if appropriate.”

B. Applicable Law

This matter was before the district court by exercise

of diversity jurisdiction. Accordingly, this Court should

apply the substantive law of the State of Missouri. R.M.

Taylor Inc. v General Motors Corp., 187 F.3d 809, 812

(8th Cir. 1999).

C. Discussion

i. Material facts exist which show

Biddle Street Bistro’s insurable interest

Material facts in the record below indicate that BSB

had an insurable interest in the property damage

portion of the Allstate policy. In TLJ’s and Bremen’s

memorandum in support of their motions for summary

judgment, they assert that summary judgment is ap-

— A-57 —

propriate because BSB had no insurable interests.

(App. 41-47 and 411-413). They state that BSB admit-

ted that it had no insurable interest, and that it never

intended to make a claim on the building damage

portion of the Allstate policy. (App. 43 and 409). They

further assert that BSB had no insurable interest

because it had no ownership interest in the destroyed

property. (App. 45-46 and 411-413).

A thorough review of the record reveals that BSB

asserted a building damage claim. In its Answer to

Allstate’s Complaint, BSB admits that it made a claim

on the policy benefits for both personal property and

damage to the building. (App. 13). Similarly, in their

Answers, both TLJ and Bremen admit that all three co-

defendants made claims on all applicable insurance

policies. (App. 16-21). Further, in its answer to TLJ ’s

requests for admissions, BSB specifically denied that it

had no insurable interest in the destroyed building.

(App. 386).

It would be an error if the district court relied upon

the fact that Biddle Street Bistro could point to no

ownership interest in the destroyed property for the

conclusion that it could have no insurable interest.

Missouri law consistently refuses to link ownership

with an insurable interest.? Missouri courts make ev-

ery effort to find insurable interest, and to sustain

coverage, when there is any substantial possibility that

the insured will suffer loss from the destruction of the

property. G.M. Battery & Boat Co. v LKN Corp.,

* See e.g., M.F.A. Mut. Ins Co. v Gulf Ins Co., 445 S.W.2d 829 (Mo.

1969) (a building contractor has an insurable interest in an

uncompleted house he was required to complete); Graves v Stanton,

621 S.W.2d 524 (Mo.App. 1981) (a lessee of a trailer who had no

option to purchase had an insurable interest in the liability

insurance policy it took out).

— A-58 —

747 S.W.2d 624, 627 (Mo banc 1988). The Missouri

Supreme Court in that case went on to state that the

controlling rule in Missouri is as follows:

In general, a person has an insurable interest in

the subject matter insured where he has such a

relation or concern in such subject matter that he

will derive pecuniary benefit or advantage from its

preservation, or will suffer pecuniary loss or dam-

age from its destruction, termination, or injury by

happening of the event insured against. Id. at 626

quoting Wrausmann v Kansas City Fire and Ma-

rine Ins Co., 477 S.W.2d 741, 743 (Mo.App. 1972).

The Missouri Supreme Court went on to hold that the

fact that a lessee had not exercised its option to pur-

chase at the time of the loss had no bearing on whether

that lessee had an insurable interest. Id. at 627.

There were many facts at the district court’s disposal

that indicate Biddle Street Bistro had a pecuniary

interest in the destroyed property. At the time of the

loss and when it entered into the insurance contract, it

was in the possession of the destroyed property. (App.

140 and 309). In the year preceding the loss, it was

engaged in litigation to protect and define its interest.

(App. 304-311). At the time of the loss, BSB was at-

tempting to require specific performance of a contract

which would allow it to buy back the destroyed property

which it had previously owned so it could continue

operation of its business. (App. 304-311).

The record below also showed that BSB would have

derived pecuniary benefit from the building’s preserva-

tion. Since 1997 BSB ran a bistro on the premises and~

expended significant sums of money and labor in devel-

oping good will in that location. (App. 304-311). BSB

also made many material improvements to the de- |

— A-59 —

stroyed building from which it was deprived. (App. 304-

311).

ii. Materia! facts exist which question

TLJ and Bremen’s right to benefits

under the Allstate policy

There is no indication in the record below that any

entity other than BSB ever paid to insure the building

at 220 Biddle Street. It is also uncontested that BSB

requested that TLJ.and Bremen be removed as payees,

and that the policy was amended to reflect their wish.

(App. 42, 141, 368 and 380). Upon notification of the

policy change, neither TLJ nor Bremen requested BSB

to replace them as loss payees or mortgagees. There is

nothing in the record which indicates that either defen-

dant attempted to protect their interests by taking out

another property insurance policy. Instead, a represen-

tative of TLJ went behind Biddle Street Bistro’s back

and requested BSB’s insurance agent to put TLJ and

Bremen back on BSB’s policy. (App. 141).

An insurance policy is a personal contract between

the insurer and insured. Wilmurth v National Liberty

Ins Co. of America et al, 206 S.W.2d 730, 733 (Mo.App.

1947). A property insurance contract does not run with

the property unless expressly stipulated. Puritan In-

surance Co vu Yarber,, 723 S.W.2d 98, 102 (Mo.App.

1987). One who is not named as an insured cannot have

the benefit of insurance, unless there is language in the

policy to show that it intended to cover said interest. Id.

TL’s and Bremen’s sole claim to the property damage

proceeds of BSB’s insurance policy is that their request

to be put back on BSB’s policy was granted. The district

court erred by granting their claims to the policy pro-

ceeds based upon this fact alone. It was never suggested

that BSB had a contractual obligation to include them

— ie

on its policy as named insureds. TLJ and Bremen do not

suggest that they attempted to pay for the policy. They

simply assert that they requested BSB’s agent to put

them on BSB’s policy, and the agent did so. They do not

even suggest that BSB was aware that they were put

back on its policy. There are no provisions in BSB’s

insurance contract with Allstate which would autho-

rize any entity other than the named insured to desig-

nate named payees or mortgagees. The only indication

of thé named insured’s intent in the district court’s

record is that it specifically did not want TLJ’s and

Bremen’s interests protected by its policy. (App. 368,

370 and 380).

Without a showing that the Allstate policy permitted

amendments to its terms by an entity other than BSB

or Allstate, itis impossible to argue that an amendment

to the policy made at the request of an entity other than

Allstate or BSB reflects the intent of the policy, in

addition, awarding TLJ and Bremen the benefits of a

policy of insurance for which they did not pay would be

an unjust enrichment.

so

CONCLUSION

BSB respectfully requests this Court to reverse the

district court’s order granting TLJ’s and Bermen’s

motions for summary judgment and remand the case

for further proceedings.

s/

Janet Tennant

400 North 4th Street, #2801

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

314/780-0953

Fax: 314/241-2330

Pro Se Shareholder for Appellant

s/

Jeff Eilers

5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63116

314/580-6729

Pro Se Shareholder for Appellant

— A-62 —

ADDENDUM

— A638 —

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY ;

Plaintiff,

VS.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.,

TLJ COMPANY L.L.C. and,

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY ‘

Defendants.

Case No. 4:01CV1513

FILED

JUL 22 2002

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MO

ORDER

This matter is before the Court on Bremen Bank and

Trust Company’s motion for summary judgment and

TLJ Company, L.L.C.’s motion for summary judgment

(#30) filed May 13, 2002. On June 26, 2002, the Court

granted the parties’ motion to file an incomplete motion

package because Biddle Street Bistro, Inc., had not

responded to the motion.

Allstate Insurance Company filed this interpleader

action on September 20, 2001. It deposited into the

Court’s registry $500,000 for building coverage and

$100,000 for the contents coverage. Allstate was subse-

— A-64 —

quently dismissed from the action. On October 18,

2001, defendant TLJ and defendant Bremen Bank each

filed a cross-claim against Biddle Street Bistro. Biddle

Street never filed a cross-claim, nor did it file an answer

to the cross-claims against it. Biddle Street Bistro was

paid $100,000 from the Court’s registry which repre-

sented the proceeds from the personal property compo-

nent of the policy because neither TLJ, nor Bremen

Bank claimed any interest in the contents coverage.

TLJ and Bremen Bank have both filed motions for

summary judgment. TLJ states it is entitled to $100,000

of the building damage proceeds, and Bremen Bank

and Trust claims it is entitled to $400,000 of the

building damage proceeds. Biddle Street did not file a

response, and has not objected to these assertions. The

Court has reviewed the summary judgment motions

and finds they are with merit.

Accordingly,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that Bremen Bank and

Trust Company’s motion for summary judgment and

TLJ Company L.L.C’s motion for summary judgment

(#30) are GRANTED.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that judgment is en-

tered in favor of Bremen Bank and Trust Company and

TLJ Company, L.L.C., and against Biddle Street Bis-

tro, Inc.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of the

Court pay $400,000 of the interpleader funds to Bremen.

Bank and Trust Company.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Clerk of the

Court pay $100,000 of the interpleader funds to TLJ

Company, L.L.C.

— A-65 —

IT IS FINALLY ORDERED that this cause of action

is dismissed with prejudice.

Dated this 22nd day of July, 2002.

s/

SENIOR UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

— A-66 —

AN ORDER, JUDGMENT OR ENDORSEMENT WAS

SCANNED, FAXED AND/OR MAILED TO THE FOL-

LOWING INDIVIDUALS ON 07/22/02 by aluisett

4:01cv1513 Allstate Insurance vs Biddle Street Bistro

28:1332 Diversity-Insurance Contract

Karl Dickhaus- 80043 Fax: 314-962-5083

Michael Hunter- 70351 Fax: 314-345-5055

SCANNED & FAXED BY:

JULY 22 2002

— A-67 —

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION ~-

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY

Plaintiff

VS.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, IN C.,

TLJ COMPANY, L.L.C. and

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY

Defendants.

FILED

APR 29 2002

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MO

Case No.4:01CV01513 SNL

ORDER AND JUDGMENT

Before the Court appears counsel for defendants and

advise the Court that they have stipulated to the

following facts:

1. This matter is before the Court on plaintiff Allstate

Insurance Company’s petition for interpleader re-

garding the proceeds under a policy of insurance

numbered 50 343927. The policy at issue provided

for coverage in the amount of $ 100,000 for personal

property and $500,000 for real property loss.

2. Allstate Insurance Company has been released as

a plaintiff under this Court’s order and judgment

dated February 27, 2002.

— A-68 —

3. Defendant Biddle Street Bistro, Inc. is the only

party claiming any interest in the proceeds of the

personal property component of the insurance, and

there are no disputes regarding the same.

4. Biddle Street Bistro, Inc. has withdrawn any claim

to interest on the $100,000 component represent-

ing the personal property recovery under the policy.

This disclaimer of interest does not apply to any

interest accrued after payment by Allstate into the

control of the Court. It is expressly acknowledged

that any interest earned on the monies held by the

Court will be paid exclusively to Biddle Street

Bistro.

Having been advised of the above, judgment is hereby

entered finding that Biddle Street Bistro, Inc. is en-

titled to disbursement of the interplead funds in the

amount of $100,000, which amount represents the

proceeds from the personal property component of the

policy. The clerk of the court is hereby ordered and

directed to disburse the same, payable to Biddle Street

- Bistro, Inc. and Dickhaus and Associates, LC jointly.

s/ -

Karl W. Dickhaus, 2.D. #80043

Attorneys for Biddle Street Bistro, Inc.

1750 S. Brentwood, Ste. 300

St. Louis, Missouri 63144

Telephone (314) 962-9000

Facsimile (314) 962-5083

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.

By: s/

Jeffery R: Eilers President

— A-69 —

SO ORDERED,

s/

Judge Stephen N. Limbaugh

DATED: 4/29/02

—

AN ORDER, JUDGMENT OR ENDORSEMENT WAS

SCANNED, FAXED AND/OR MAILED TO THE FOL-

LOWING INDIVIDUALS ON 04/29/02 by aluisett

4:01cev1513 Allstate Insurance vs Biddle Street Bistro

28:1332 Diversity-Insurance Contract

Kar] Dickhaus- 80043 Fax: 314-962-5083

Michael Hunter- 70351 Fax: 314-345-5055

SCANNED & FAXED BY

APR 29 2002

C.D.D.

— A-71 —

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

We, Pro Se Shareholders for Appellant, certify that

the number of words in the brief of Appellant is 3,320,

as directed by F.R.A.P. 32(a)(7), which is based on a

word count of the word processing system. The name

and version of the word processing software used to.

prepare the brief is Microsoft Word 2000.

s/.

Janet Tennant

400 North 4th Street, #2801

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

314/780-0953

Fax: 314/241-2330

Pro Se Shareholder for Appellant

s/

Jeff Eilers

5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63116

314/580-6729

Pro Se Shareholder for Appellant

— A-72 —

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Comes now and after being duly sworn

and upon his/her oath states that on the day of

, 2002, two copies of the brief of

Appellant Biddle Street Bistro, Inc., were mailed to:

Michael B. Hunter, Attorney for Appellees TLJ Com-

pany, L.L.C. and Bremen Bank and Trust Company, 10

South Broadway, Suite 1600, St. Louis, Missouri 63102.

s/

Janet Tennant

400 North 0' Street, #2801

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

314/780-0953

Fax: 314/241-2330

Pro Se Shareholder for Appellant

s/

Jeff Eilers

5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63116

314/580-6729

Pro Se Shareholder for Appellant

Subscribed and sworntobeforemethis___ day of, 2002.

s/

Notary Public

My commission expires:

— A-73 —

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

ALLSTATE INSURANCE

COMPANY,

Interpleader Plaintiff,

¥.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.

Defendant / Appellant,

TLJ COMPANY, L.L.C. and

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants / Appellees.

Appeal No. 02-3141

MEMORANDUM OF FILING

COMPUTER DISKETTE

COMES NOW Appellant and files a computer dis-

kette containing the full text of Appellant’s brief. The

diskette has been scanned for viruses, and it is virus

free.

s/

Janet Tennant

400 North 4th Street, #2801

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

314/780-0953

Fax: 314/241-2330

Pro Se Shareholder for Appellant

—

s/___

Jeff Eilers

5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63116

314/580-6729

Pro Se Shareholder for Appellant

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

A copy of the foregoing was mailed this___ day of

October, 2002, to Michael B. Hunter, Attorney for

Appellees TLJ Company, L.L.C. and Bremen Bank and

Trust Company, 10 South Broadway, Suite 1600, St.

Louis, Missouri 63102.

s/

— A-75 —

Appendix F

Exhibit H

United States Court of Appeals

For the Eighth Circuit

Thomas F. Eagleton U.S. Courthouse

111 South 10th Street, Room 24.329

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

Michael E. Gans

Clerk of Court

VOICE 014) 244-4400

FAX (314) 244-2780

November 18, 2002

Ms. Janet Tennant

400 North 4th Street

#2801

St. Louis, MO

Mr. Jeff Eilers

5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, MO 63116

Re: No. 02-3141 Biddle Street Bistro. Inc. v TLJ

Company, L.L.C. et al,

Dear Ms. Tennant and Mr. Eilers:

This will acknowledge receipt of your “Reply Brief” in

this matter. When we received the Reply Brief, we

reviewed the file and noted your attorney, Mr. Dickhaus,

was granted leave to withdraw on October 4, 2002. This

—

prompted a review of all of the filings in your appeal,

and it appears that you have made all of the filings

without benefit of counsel.

While an individual may proceed pro se, a corpora-

tion cannot proceed pro se by its shareholders or offic-

ers. U.S. v Van Stelton, 988 F.2d 70 (8th Cir. 1993) and

Carr Enters. Inc. v. United States, 698 F.2d 952 (8th Cr.

1985). As a result, your notice of appeal, as well as all

of your subsequent pleadings, are subject to being

stricken and your appeal is subject to being dismissed.

While I apologize for the fact that this was not noted

earlier, the validity of your notice of appeal is a jurisdic-

tional issue which the court may examine at any time.

As a courtesy to you, I will hold the appeal in abey-

ance for 30 days to permit you to consult and retain

legal counsel and for your attorney to determine whether

there is any motion or other legal pleading which could

be filed to validate your prior filings.

At the end of this period of time, I will refer the case

to the court for a determination as to whether the

appeal must be dismissed or should be permitted to

proceed.

Sincerely,

s/

Michael E. Gans

Clerk of Court

MEG/jpp

co: Mr. Michael B. Hunter

a ee a

— *; a

Appendix G

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Interpleader Plaintiff,

VS.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.,

Defendant / Appellant

TLJ COMPANY, L.L.C. and

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants /Appelleees.

Appeal No. 02-3141

Appeal from the United States District Court

Eastern District of Missouri

Eastern Division

MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT OF

APPELLANT BIDDLE STREET BISTRO’S

MOTION TO SUBMIT CORRECTED NOTICE

OF APPEAL AND ADOPT PLEADINGS

PREVIOUSLY FILED PRO SE

INTRODUCTION

Jeffery Eilers and Janet Tennant are the sole share-

holders of Biddle Street Bistro (hereafter BSB) which is

a corporate entity. BSB was named asa defendantin an

interpleader suit filed in the United States District

— A-78 —

Court, Eastern District, along with TLJ Company, Inc.

(hereafter TLJ)and Bremen Bank and Trust Company,

L.L.C. (hereafter Bremen). BSB was represented by

counsel. At issue was the allocation of insurance pro-

ceeds from an insurance policy Eilers and Tennant

purchased to protect BSB’s interests in property lo-

cated at 220 Biddle Street, St. Louis, Missouri.

BSB was running a restaurant called “J’s on the

Landing” at that location. While they were in posses-

sion of the premises, the building and its contents were

destroyed by fire. At that time, Bremen held a mortgage

on the property, and TLJ held the deed on the property.

The district court granted BSB’s motion for partial

summary judgment and awarded it the entire policy

limits for the personal property coverage. The district

court then granted TLJ’s and Bremen’s motions for

summary judgment concerning the policy limits for the

damage to the building, and ordered that the insurance

proceeds for building damage be paid to them. Eilers

and Tennant were not aware of TLJ’s or Bremen’s

motions for summary judgments or the district court’s

order granting them until August 20, 2002.

(App. 392-395). ;

BSB wished to appeal the district court’s order grant-

ing TLJ’s and Bremen’s motions for summary judg-

ment. BSB filed a notice of appeal with the district court

clerk within the time required by FRAP 4(a)( 1 )(A).

(App. 399-402). They also paid the docket fees required

by FRAP3(e) in a timely fashion. The notice of appeal

was only signed by Eilers and Tennant as pro se

shareholders of BSB. (App. 399-402).

Eilers and Tennant on behalf of BSB subsequently

filed a corporate disclosure statement and a designa-

tion of record in a timely fashion. The Eighth Circuit

— A-79 —

Clerk then provided a scheduling order. BSB met all of

the filing deadlines with pleadings that conformed to

all Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and Eighth

Circuit Local Rules regarding form and content. BSB

therr filed an Appellant’s Brief within the required

time. That brief conformed with all Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure and Local Rules regarding form

and content as well.

Appellees then filed a brief. Appellees did not contest

this Court’s jurisdiction and responded to Appellant’s

Brief on its merits. This matter was then sent to

screening for oral argument. Within the time allowed to

respond to Appellees’ Brief, Eilers and Tennant filed a

Reply Brief on behalf ofBSB. In correspondence re-

ceived from the Eighth Circuit Clerk dated November

18, 2002, the Clerk acknowledged receipt of BSB’s

Reply Brief, but indicated that a corporation cannot

proceed pro se by its shareholders or officers, and that

as a result BSB’s notice of appeal was subject to being

stricken, and its appeal was subject to dismissal. The

Clerk apologized for not noting this earlier, but stated

that the validity of a notice of appeal was a jurisdic-

tional issue that the Court could examine at any time.

The Clerk indicated that as a courtesy he would hold

the appeal in abeyance for 30 days to permit Eilers and

‘Tennant to retain legal counsel and validate their prior

filings. Counsel has entered an appearance for BSB.

ARGUMENT

The Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure do not

require that BSB’s pleadings be stricken or its appeal

dismissed because its notice of appeal was not signed by

an attorney. On the contrary, the principles guiding the

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, as well decisions

interpreting this issue from the United States Supreme

Court and neighboring Circuits, clearly indicate that

— A-80 —

this Court has the authority to allow BSB to amend its

notice of appeal so that it is signed by an attorney and

decide BSB’s appeal on its merits.

The United States Supreme Court has held that the

requirement that a netice of appeal be signed is not

jurisdictional.

Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 3(a) provides,

in pertinent part, that “[aJn appeal permitted by

law as of right from a district court to a court of

appeals shall be taken by filing a notice of appeal

with the clerk of the district court within the time

allowed by Rule 4.” Rule 3(c) governs the content of

notices of appeal: Notices “shall specify the party or

parties taking the appeal; shall designate the judg-

ment, order or part thereof appealed from; and

shall name the court to which the appeal is taken.

Courts will liberally construe the requirements of

Rule 3. Smith v Barry 502 U.S. 244, 247, 112 S.Ct.

678, 680 (1992).

The United States Supreme Court in Becker v Mont-

gomery also held that Federal Rule of Appellate Proce-

dure 3(c)(2) does not dislodge the signature require-

ment from its Civil Rule 11(a) moorings and make it an

Appellate Rule 3 jurisdictional specification. , at 532

U.s. 757, 759, 121 S.Ct.1801, 1803 (2001).

In Thiem v Hertz Corporation, 732 F.2d 1559 (11th

: Cir. 1984), the Eleventh Circuit was faced with a

situation where a notice of appeal which met the re-

| quirements of Rule 3 was unsigned by an attorney. The

Eleventh Circuit noted that the only provisions for the

content of the notice of appeal are found in Federal

Appellate Rule 3(c) which states that the notice of

appeal shall specify the party or parties taking the

appeal; shall designate the judgment, order or part

— A-81 —

thereof appealed from; and shall name the court to

which the appeal is taken. j4. at 732 F.2d 1559, 1562.

The Eleventh Circuit refused to dismiss the appeal

simply because the notice was unsigned by an attorney

reasoning that the Federal Rules of Appellate Proce-

dure have no provisions for signing pleadings, as is

found in Rule 11, Fed.R.Civ.P, and doubted Rule 11

applied to notices of appeal at all. 14 at 732 F.2d

1559,1563. The Court concluded: “[iJn any event, it

appears clear that the rules do not require a decision

that this Court is without jurisdiction to hear this

appeal.” . The Fifth Circuit has also held that an

unsigned notice of appeal, even if it does not meet the

demands of Fed. R. Civ. P. 11, meets the jurisdictional

requirements for appeal. McNeil v Blackburn, 802 F.2d

830, 832 5th Cir. 1986).

BSB’s notice of appeal complied with the require-

ments of Federal Appellate Rule 3(c) to the letter. Their

notice of appeal specified the party taking appeal,

designated the order appealed, and identified the court

to which the appeal was taken. In fact, it was sufficient

to allow Appellees’s counsel to craft the appropriate

responsive pleadings and a Brief which argued the

merits of its appeal.

Imperfections in noticing an appeal should not be

fatal where no genuine doubt exists about who is

appealing, from what judgment, to which appellate

court. Becker, supra, 532 U.S. at 759, 121 S.Ct. at 1803,

citing Smith v. Barry 502 U.S. 244, 245, 248-249,112

S.Ct. 678, 116 L.Ed.2d 678. It is contrary to the spirit of

the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure for decisions

on the merits to be avoided on the basis of technical

failing in the pleadings. The intent of the 1993 Rule 3

amendments, as explained in the 1993 advisory com-

mittee notes, is to liberalized the pleading require-

— A-82 —

ments for a notice of appeal.” Ford v Elsbury 32 F.3d

931, 933-934 (5th Cir. 1994). The advisory committee

note to the 1993 amendment in relevant part states:

Finally, the rule makes it clear that dismissal of an

appeal should not occur when it is otherwise clear

from the notice that the party intended to appeal.

If a court determines it is objectively clear that a

party intended to appeal, there are neither admin-

istrative concerns nor fairness concerns that should

prevent the appeal from going forward. 14. 32 F.3d

931 at footnote #2..

The Eighth Circuit traditionally construes notices of

appeal liberally, but the intent to appeal the judgment

in question must be apparent and there must be no

prejudice to the adverse party. Burgess v Suzuki Motor

Co. Ltd, 71 F.3 d 304,307 (8th Cir 1995) citing Klandt v

United States Dep’t of Interior, 990 F.2d 409, 411 (8th

Cir. 1993) and Berdella v Delo 972 F.2d 204, 207 (8th

Cir. 1992). Biddle Street Bistro is only asking to amend

its notice of appeal by allowing it to be signed by an

attorney licensed to practice before this Court. It is not

asking for leave to amend the issues before this Court,

the portions of the record below that it relied upon, or

the arguments it presented in its Briefs. The under-

signed counsel has reviewed all of the pleadings filed on

behalfofBSB and wishes to adopt them without amend-

ment. Counsel has submitted and filed with the Court

new copies of these pleadings with counsel’s signature.

The adverse parties have already responded to these

pleadings. Accordingly, there can be no prejudice to any

party by allowing Appellant to save its appeal and for

the Court to render a decision on the merits.

— A-83 —

CONCLUSION

The essence of Rule 3, both in its language and in the

construction given to it by the courts, is liberality.

Public policy encourages that appeals be heard on the

merits. The undersigned counsel has reviewed the

pleadings filed on behalf of BSB and the legal basis for.

the arguments contained in BSB’s brief. The under-

signed has found that the pleadings meet with this

Court’s jurisdictional requirements, that BSB’s legal

arguments are sound, and wishes to adopt them with-

out amendment. Appellees have already filed their

brief on the merits of Appellant’s arguments, so there

could be no resulting prejudice.

WHEREFORE Appellant Biddle Street Bistro re-

spectfully requests this court to allow it to amend its

notice of appeal by having it signed by the undersigned

counsel, and to allow the undersigned counsel to adopt

the pleadings filed pro se by Eilers and Tennant on

Biddle Street Bistro’s behalf.

Respectfully Submitted,

BRINKER & DOYEN, L.L.P.

_ By:s/

Gary P. Paul, #14579

120 South Central Avenue, Suite 700

Clayton, Missouri 63105

(314)-863-6311

(314)-863-8197

Attorney for Appellant Biddle Street

Bistro, Inc.

— A-84 —

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

A copy of the foregoing was mailed this day of

December, 2002, to Michael B. Hunter, Attorney for

Appellees TLJ Company, L.L.C. and Bremen Bank and

Trust Company, 10 South Broadway, Suite 1600, St.

Louis, Missouri 63102.

s/

— A-85 —

Appendix H

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.,

Defendant / Appellant,

TLJ COMPANY L.L.C. and,

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants / Appellees.

No. 02-3141

TLJ COMPANY L.L.C AND

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY’S

MEMORANDUM IN OPPOSITION TO

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO INC.’S

MOTION FOR LEAVE

Biddle Street Bistro, Inc. (hereinafter “BSB”) admits

that it filed a pro se Notice of Appeal! on the last day

permissible under FRAP Rule 4. BSB admits that all

pleadings filed thereafter prior to the current Decem-

ber 17, 2002 Motion for Leave were filed pro se. BSB

argues that this is not a jurisdictional defect and that

TLJ Company L.L.C. (hereinafter “TLJ”) and Bremen

Bank and Trust Company (hereinafter Bremen”) are

not prejudiced. An improper pro se Notice of Appeal is

— A-86 —

invalid and, as such, it was never properly or timely

filed. BSB failed to properly invoke the jurisdiction of

this court.

BSB argues that Smith v. Barry holds that failure to

sign a Notice of Appeal is not a jurisdictional defect.

However, this is an inaccurate reading of Smith v.

Barry. Rather, the issue in Smith v. Barry was whether

a pro se informal brief filed within the time restraints

of Rule 4 for Notices of Appeal served as the functional

equivalent of a Notice of Appeal. Smith v. Barry, 502

US. 244, 248, 112S.Ct. 678, 682 (1992). The Court held

that it could so serve. Jd at 245. Further, the appellant

in Smith v. Barry was an individual who is entitled to

represent himself pro se. Here, BSB must be repre-

sented by an attorney in federal court. In the instant

action Appellees concede that BSB attempted to file a

document in the proper format. However, the Notice

should be treated as having never been filed as it was

not filed by an attorney representing BSB.

One cannot say that FRAP Rule 3 has been followed

when a corporation, specifically precluded from ap-

pearing pro se before a federal court, files the Notice of

Appeal. “Rule 3’s dictates are jurisdictional in nature,

and their satisfaction is a prerequisite to appellate

review. (citation omitted). Although courts should con-

strue Rule 3 liberally when determining whether it has

been complied with, noncompliance is fatal to an ap-

peal.” Id at 248. BSB did not comply with Rule 3.

Becker v. Montgomery is likewise inapplicable to the

issue before this Court. There, a pro se appellant failed ©

to sign a Notice of Appeal although his typed name ~

appeared on the form. He attempted to fix the problem.

The Court held that the signature requirement is based

on FRCP Rule 11(a) which provides that one can correct

— A-87 —

the failure to sign a pleading and, that since the signa-

ture requirement was not in FRAP Rule 3, it was not

jurisdictional. Becker v. Montgomery, 532 U.S. 757,

758, 121 S.Ct. 1801, 1803 (2001). Becker merely failed

to sign the notice. His right to proceed pro se on appeal

was not at issue.

Similarly, Theim v. Hertz Corporation fails to ad-

dress the pertinent issue. In Theim a represented

individual plaintiff filed a Notice of Appeal through his

attorney that was proper but for the attorney’s failure

to sign where his name was already typed on the notice.

Theim v. Hertz Corporation, 732 F.2d 1559, 1562 (11th

Cir. 1984). The issue was not the capacity of the party

to file the Notice but whether the Notice was properly

filed in that it was not signed. The court found it

maintained jurisdiction over the appeal though the

appellant failed to sign the otherwise proper Notice. Id

at 1562-63.

McNeil v. Blackburn fails to assist BSB. It, like the

other cited cases, focuses on a technical defect in the

Notice, not in the capacity of the party to file the Notice.

However, it provides a general statement of jurisdic-

tion that Appellees submit is of assistance in analyzing

the current dispute. The court states, “[a]lthough nei-

ther party has questioned the jurisdiction of this court

to hear this appeal, this is a court of limited jurisdiction

and this court must, on its own motion, determine if

jurisdiction is present.” McNeil v. Blackburn, 802 F.2d

830, 831-32 (5th Cir. 1986)(citation omitted). Thus, this

Court must determine whetherit hasjurisdiction though

TLJ and Bremen did not raise the issue.

BSB also cites Ford v. Elsbury, 32 F.3d 391 (5th Cir.

1994), stating that the purpose of the 1993 amendment

to FRAP 3 was to liberalize the pleading requirements

— A-88 —

for a Notice of Appeal. It is not the content of BSB’s

Notice that is the problem. Rather, it is that it was filed

by an entity that is not allowed to proceed before this

court.

BSB concludes its argument by reference to prior

decisions of this Court. Again, all of the cited cases deal

with the sufficiency of the content of the Notice of

Appeal, not whether it was properly filed to begin with.

Further, this Court struck portions of the appeal for

failure to comply with FRAP Rule 3 in Klandt and

Berdella, two of the three cited cases. TLJ and Bremen

agree that striking an appeal is appropriate when an

appellant fails to comply with Rule 3.

As to the issue raised by Hon. Michael Ganz in his

November 18, 2002 letter to BSB, the law is clear that

a corporation may only appear before a federal court

through licensed counsel. Rowland v. California Men’s

Colony, 506 U.S. 194, 202, 113 S.Ct. 716, 721 (1993).

The Eighth Circuit has consistently refused to recog-

nize pleadings of a corporation without counsel. In

refusing to consider the appeal of one prose corporation

this Court stated, “[wle conclude that {pro se corporate

appellant] Mystery Boy is not a proper party to the

appeal because it is not represented by counsel, and a

corporation cannot appear pro se. Mystery Boy Incorpo-

rated v. Postal Service, 27 F.3d, 572, 1994 WL 312818,

**1 (8th Cir. (lowa)). See also First Horizon Corpora-

tion v. Singleton et al., 129 F.3d 121, 1997 WL 636616,

**1 (8th Cir.(Mo.)) (pro se corporation would not have

been a proper party to the appeal had it joined the

individual appellant’s Rule 60(b) motion); United States

v. Lylalele, Inc., 221 F. 3d 1345, 2000 WL 688237, **1

(proper for district court to have stricken pleadings

filed by pro se representative of corporation as it could

— A-89 —

not proceed without counsel); United States v. Van

Stelton, 988 F.2d 70 (8th Cir. 1993) (pro se corporation

found not a party to the appeal because not represented

by counsel); Ackra Direct Marketing Corp. v. Fingerhut

Corp., 86 F.3d 852, 857 (8th Cir. 1996) (corporate party

was noted to be technically in default when its counsel

was allowed to withdraw as it could not proceed pro se).

The appellant is required to file a Notice of Appeal

under FRAP 3 to invoke the jurisdiction of this court.

The form of Rule 3 as existed at the time BSB attempted

to file its Notice of Appeal, includes various provisions

stating, in essence, that technical defects on the face of

the Notice will not result in dismissal. However, BSB’s

Notice was defective not in form but was invalid in its

entirety.

BSB is prohibited from appearing before this court

without counsel. Any action taken by BSB before this

Court without counsel is invalid. The Notice of Appeal

filed was filed by BSB without counsel on the last day

permissible under FRAP Rule 4. The decisions of this

Court cited by appellees herein demonstrate that the

notice filed by BSB is invalid. Accordingly, BSB’s mo-

tion for leave should be denied and the appeal dis-

missed.

Wherefore Appellees, TLJ Company L.L.C. and

Bremen Bank and Trust Company, by and through

undersigned counsel, pray the Court deny appellant’s

Motion for Leave and for such other and further relief

as this Court deems just and proper under the circum-

stances.

hi—

WILLIAMS VENKER & SANDERS, L.L.C.

By: s/

Michael B. Hunter,#70351

Equitable Building

10 South Broadway, Suite 1600

St. Louis, MO 63102

(314) 345-5000

(314) 345-5055 FAX

ATTORNEYS FOR TLJ COMPANY, L.L.C. and

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

The undersigned hereby certifies that a true and

accurate copy of the above and foregoing was mailed,

postage prepaid, this 26 day of December, 2002, to:

Gary Paul

Brinker .& Doyen LLP

120 S. Central

St. Louis, MO 63105

Attorneys for Plaintiff-

Janet Tennant

400 North 0 Street

St. Louis, Missouri 63102

Jeff Eilers

5506 Grace Avenue

St. Louis, Missouri 63116.

s/

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Interpleader Plaintiff,

V.S

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.,

Defendant /Appellant

TLJ COMPANY, L.L.C. and

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants /Appelleees.

Appeal No. 02-3141

Appeal from the United States District Court

Eastern District of Missouri

Eastern Division

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO INC.’S

REPLY TO TLJ AND BREMEN’S

MEMORANDUM IN OPPOSITION TO BSB’S

— A-91 —

Appendix I

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

MOTION FOR LEAVE

TLJ Company L.L.C. (hereinafter “TLJ) and Bremen

Bank and Trust Company (hereinafter “Bremen”) ar-

gue that Biddle Street Bistro Inc.’s (hereinafter “BSB”)

appeal should be dismissed because its notice failed to

comply with Federal Rule of Appellant Procedure 3.

However, they fail to cite which Rule 3 requirement

—e

Appellant’s Notice of Appeal violates. In fact, TLJ and

Bremen concede that BSB filed its Notice in the proper

format, and that the content of BSB’s Notice was not a

problem. (Appellees’ Memorandum in Opposition at

pages 2 and 3). TLJ and Bremen’s also fail to cite any

authority which suggests that BSB’s filing its notice of

appeal pro se requires this Court to dismiss its appeal.

The issue before the Court is not whether BSB can be

represented pro se by its shareholders. At the time BSB

filed its Notice of Appeal, BSB was represented by _

Attorney Karl Dickhaus who is an attorney authorized

to practice before this Court. BSB filed its Notice of

Appeal on August 21, 2002. (App. Page 399 and 400).

Attorney Dickhaus was not granted leave to withdraw

as counsel for BSB by this Court until October 4, 2002.

The issue is whether BSB should be given the opportu-

nity to have its appeal decided upon its merits by

allowing it to amend its Notice of Appeal to contain the

signature of counsel authorized to practice before this

Court. On this issue, the United States Supreme Court

and the authors of the Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure provide a clear and unambiguous answer.

This Court has jurisdiction if BSB filed a timely Notice

of Appeal that met the requirements of Rule 3. TLJ and

Bremen do not contest that BSB’s Notice of Appeal

followed Rule 3’s requirements to the letter. They argue

that BSB’s Notice of Appeal was a nullity simply be-

cause it was not signed by an attorney authorized to

practice before this Court. The United States Supreme

Court clearly disagrees with TLJ and Bremen’s conclu-

sion. The Supreme Court has held that Rule 3 does not

include a signature as a jurisdictional requirement.

“[A] signature requirement is not among Rule 3(c)(1)’s

specifications, for Civil Rule 11(a) alone calls for and

controls that requirement and renders it

nonjurisdictional.” Becker v Montgomery. 532 U.S. 757,

LS

— A-93 —

766, 121 S.Ct. 1801, 1807 (2001). In Becker the Su-

preme Court then held that the appropriate remedy for

an unsigned notice of appeal was to allow appellant to

remedy the lapse by filing a duplicate notice of appeal

with a signature. Id.

~

TLJ and Bremen cite several cases in which this

Court held that corporations cannot be represented pro

se by their shareholders or officers. However, none of

the cases cited by TLJ and Bremen addressed the

sufficiency of the appellants’ notices of appeals. A

review of these cases reveals the true spirit of Rule 3,

and public policy that encourages appeals to be decided

on their merits. In each of cases cited by TLJ and

Bremen, this Court decided the appeal based upon its

merits. In Mystery Boy Incorporated v Postal Service 27

F.3d 572, 1994 WL 312818 (8th Cir.(lowa)), for ex-

ample, this Court went on to consider the merits of

appellants’ appeal even after it concluded that Mystery

Boy was not a proper party, and that the pro se litigant

failed to provide a transcript in accordance with Rule

10(b).

In addition, TLJ and Bremen do not even suggest

they would be prejudiced if the Court grants BSB’s

motion. Prejudice would be impossible because TLJ

and Bremen have already filed responsive pleadings

and a brief which argue the merits of BSB’s appeal.

Granting this Motion would be consistent with the

Supreme Court’s decisions concerning the appropriate

remedy, and allow justice to be served by allowing

BSB’s appeal to be decided upon its merits.

— A-94 —

Respectfully Submitted,

BRINKER & DOYEN, L.L.P.

By: s/

Gary P. Paul, #14579

120 South Central Avenue, Suite 700

Clayton, Missouri 63105

(314)-863-6311

(314)-863-8197

Attorney for Appellant Biddle Street

Bistro, Inc.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

A copy of the foregoing was mailed this __day of

December, 2002, to Michael B. Hunter, Attorney for

Appellees TLJ Company, L.L.C. and Bremen Bank and

Trust Company, 10 South Broadway, Suite 1600, St.

Louis, Missouri 63102.

— A-95 —

Appendix J

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 02-3141

Biddle Street Bistro, Inc.,

Appellant,

VS.

TLJ Company, L.L.C.;

Bremen Bank and Trust Company,

Appellees. -

Appeal from the United States

District Court for the

Eastern District of Missouri

JUDGMENT

Having considered apellarit’s motion for leave to

submit a corrected notice of appeal and to adopt plead-

ings previously filed pro se, we deny the motion and

dismiss the appeal for lack of jurisdiction for failure to

file a valid notice of appeal. (5361-010199)

February 12, 2003

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court

s/

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

— A-96 —

Appendix K

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Appeal No. 02-3141

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Interpleader Plaintiff

V. _

BIDDLE STREET BISTRO, INC.

Defendant / Appellant

TLJ COMPANY, L.L.C. and

BREMEN BANK AND TRUST COMPANY,

Defendants / Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

Eastern District of Missouri

Eastern Division

The Honorable Stephen N. Limbaugh,

Senior United States District Judge

PETITION FOR REHEARING BY PANEL

BRINKER & DOYEN, L.L.P.

Gary P. Paul, #14579

120 South Central Avenue, Suite 700

Clayton, Missouri 63105

(314)-863-6311

(314)-863-8197

Attorney for Appellant Biddle Street

Bistro, Inc.

ee a ee ene

—~

SUMMARY OF THE CASE

Allstate Insurance Company interplead the funds of

a premises liability insurance policy. (App 1-3)! The

named insured, owner of the property, and mortgagee

were named as co-defendants. Biddle Street Bistro

(hereafter BSB) Occupied the destroyed premises and

was the named insured of the policy. TLJ Company,

Inc. (hereafter TLJ) was the owner of the property, and

Bremen’s Bank and Trust Company, L.L.C. was the

mortgagee of the property. BSB, TLJ and Bremen each

made a claim to the insurance proceeds. (App. 89 and

92).

The district court granted BSB’s motion for partial

summary judgment and awarded it the entire policy

limits for the personal property coverage. (App. 5-7).

The district court then granted TLJ’s and Bremen’s

motions for summary judgment concerning the policy

limits for the building damage. (App. 8-10).

BSB was unable to communicate with its attorney of

record, and was not aware of TLJ’s or Bremen’s motions

and the district court’s order granting their motions

until August 20, 2002, the day before that court’s order

was to become final. (App. 59 and 61) BSB then filed its

notice of appeal. (App. 66-69).

BSB’s notice of appeal was filed pro se by its only two

shareholders, Jeffrey Eilers and Janet Y. Tennant.

(App. 399-402). Eilers and Tennant on behalf of BSB

subsequently met all of the filing deadlines with plead-

ings that conformed to all Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure and Eighth Circuit Local Rules regarding

form and content. BSB then filed an Appellant’s Brief

within the required time.

1 Appellant’s separate appendix will be referred to as “App.”

— A-98 —

Appellees then filed a brief. Appellees did not contest

this Court’s jurisdiction and responded to Appellant’s

Brief on its merits. Within the time allowed to respond

to Appellees’ Brief, Eilers and Tennant filed a Reply

Brief on behalf ofBSB. In correspondence received from

the Eighth Circuit Clerk dated November 18, 2002, the

Clerk acknowledged receipt of BSB’s Reply Brief, but

indicated that a corporation could not proceed pro se by

its shareholders or officers, and that as a result BSB’s

notice of appeal was subject to being stricken, and its

appeal was subject to dismissal. Clerk Gans then di-

rected Eilers and Tennant to obtain counsel within 30

days.

Ellers and Tennant immediately obtained counsel.

The undersigned counsel within 30 days filed a Motion

to Submit Corrected Notice of Appeal and Adopt Plead-

ings Previously Filed Pro Se. On February 12, 2003 the

Court denied BSB’s motion and dismissed its appeal for

lack of jurisdiction for failure to file a valid notice of

appeal. .

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Biddle Street Bistro, Inc. has no parent companies or

subsidiaries not wholly owned by the corporation. No

publicly held company owns ten percent or more of the

corporation’s stock.

— A-99 —

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Document Page

SUMMARY OF THE CASE ..............ccccccesseseees 1

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT ... 3

py Pe ey Ee 4

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ....................cccc0000 5

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES. ............00..000000.. 6

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..............0.0c0c0000 7

PAN SI 10

ee 14

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE ................... 16

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE...............ceesceeees 17

— A-100 —

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

AAA Venetian Blind Sales Inc. v Beaufieu of

America Inc. 124 F.3d 196 (6th Cir. 1997) . 13

Anunicaion v West Capital Financial Services,

97 F.3d 1458 (9th Cir. 1996) ..............cccsseoes 13

Becker v. Montgomery, 532 U.S. 757, 121 S.Ct.

BI Ce victietntecicenennenvadnan 10,11

Bigelow v A & A Reality Limited 170 F.3d 1164

CE Gat He iiisiacdtadesvetenann 11,12

Instituto De Educacion Universal Corp.

v United States Department of Education,

200 FSG 16 (lst Cir. FOOD) ..c<nsescvesvcnvssvcnsvees 12

K.M.A. Inc. v General Motors Acceptance Corp.,

652 F.2.d 398 (5th Cir. 1981) .................0060 13

Lewis v Lenc-Smith Manufacturing Co.

784 F.2d 829 (7th Ci 1986)....................0000 13

Smith v. Barry, 502 U.S. 244, 112 S.Ct. 678

CIEE covsiscusiidesisanethcsneaiivienieednnemaniaaaomemmeoniae 10,11

Statutes

BD UE: SI BI ae sisicsiciohse hastnisscttinennien 13

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure; Rule 8 .. 10

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure; Rule 11 ........ 10,11

— A-101 —

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES

The Court overlooked or misapprehended the follow-

ing points of law or facts as shown by its Judgment.

A. Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure do not

require that a notice of appeal be signed for

this Court to have jurisdiction.

B. The filing ofa notice of appeal prose by BSB’s

sole shareholders, Eilers and Tennant, did

not require that BSB’s appeal be dismissed,

and licensed counsel should be permitted to

continue the appeal on BSB’s behalf.

C. The Court failed to take into consideration

that Eilers and Tennant as the sole share-

holders of BSB were real parties in interest,

and that as an S-Type Corporation BSB was -

merely an alter ego of Eilers and Tennant.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The case out of which the present appeal arises was

an interpleader action brought by Allstate Insurance

Company (hereafter Allstate). (App. 1-3). Allstate is-

sued a policy of fire insurance to BSB which listed BSB

as the only named insured, and carried coverage up to

a limit of $500,000 for building damage, and up to

$100,000 for personal property damage. (App. 2). Jeffery

Eilers and Janet Tennant are the sole share holders of

BSB. Unknown to BSB, TLJ and Bremen were listed as

loss payees on its policy of insurance. (App. 2 and 52).

The district court awarded the entire $100,000 for

personal property damage to BSB. (App. 5-7). The

district court then granted TLJ’s and Bremen’s motions

for summary judgment, and awarded the entire amount

of the $500,000 policy for building damage to TLJ and

—- A-102 —

Bremen. (App. 8-10). Because of the unresponsiveness

of its counsel, BSB was unaware of TLJ’s and Bremen’s

motions for summary judgment and the district court’s

order granting them until August 20, 2002, the day

before that court’s order became final.(App. 59 and 61).

Eilers and Tennant as pro se shareholders of BSB

then filed its Rule 60(b) motion and notice of appeal

within the time required by FRAP 4(a)(1)(A). They also

paid the docket fees required by FRAP 3(e) in a timely

fashion. At the time BSB filed its Notice of Appeal, BSB

was represented by Attorney Karl Dickhaus who is an

attorney authorized to practice before this Court. How-

ever, Eilers and

Tennant filed a Notice of Appeal on behalf of BSB on

August 21, 2002 as pro se shareholders. (App. Pages

399 and 400).

Eilers and Tennant on behalf of BSB subsequently

filed a corporate disclosure statement and a designa-

tion of record in a timely fashion. The Eighth Circuit

Clerk then provided a scheduling order. BSB met all of

the filing deadlines with pleadings that. conformed to

_ all Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure and Eighth

Circuit Local Rules regarding form and content. BSB

then filed an Appellant’s Brief within the required

time. That brief conformed with all Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure and Local Rules regarding form

and content as well.

Appellees then filed a brief. Appellees did not contest

this Court’s jurisdiction and responded to Appellant’s

Brief on its merits. This matter was then sent to

screening for oral argument. Within the time allowed to

respond to Appellees’ Brief, Eilers and Tennant filed a

Reply Brief on behalf of BSB. In correspondence re-

ceived from the Eighth Circuit Clerk dated November.

— A-103 —

18, 2002, the Clerk acknowledged receipt of BSB’s

Reply Brief, but indicated that a corporation cannot

proceed pro se by its shareholders or officers, and that

as a result BSB’s notice of appeal was subject to being

stricken, and its appeal was subject to dismissal. The

Clerk apologized for not noting this earlier, but stated

that the validity of a notice of appeal was a jurisdic-

tional issue that the Court could examine at any time.

The Clerk indicated that as a courtesy he would hold

the appeal in abeyance for 30 days to permit Eilers and

Tennant to retain legal counsel and validate their prior

filings. Counsel entered an appearance for BSB, and

within 30 days filed a Motion to Submit Corrected

Notice of Appeal and Adopt Pleadings Previously Filed

Pro Se. With the motion, all pleadings and briefs previ-

ously filed prose were re-filed bearing the undersigned’s

signature. The Court denied BSB’s motion on February

12, 2002 and dismissed its appeal for lack ofjurisdiction

for failure to file a valid notice of appeal.

— A-104 —

ARGUMENT

A. Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure do not

require that a notice of appeal be signed for

this Court to have jurisdiction

The Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure do not

require that notices of appeal be signed for this Court to

have jurisdiction. The United States Supreme Court

has held that the requirement that a notice of appeal be

signed is not jurisdictional.

Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 3(a) provides,

in pertinent part, that “[a]n appeal permitted by

law as of right from a district court to a court of

appeals shall be taken by filing a notice of appeal

with the clerk of the district court within the time

allowed by Rule 4.” Rule 3(c) governs the content of

notices of appeal: Notices “shall specify the party or

parties taking the appeal; shall designate the judg-

ment, order or part thereof appealed from; and

shall name the court to which the appeal is taken.”

Courts will liberally construe the requirements of

Rule 3. Smith v Barry, 502 U.S. 244, 247, 112S.Ct.

678, 680 (1992).

The United States Supreme Court in Becker v Mont-

gomery also held that Federal Rule of Appellate Proce-

dure 3(c)(2) does not dislodge the signature require-

ment from its Civil Rule 11(a) moorings and make it an

Appellate Rule 3 jurisdictional specification. Jd. at 532

U.S. 757, 759, 121S.Ct. 1801, 1803 (2001). In Becker the

Supreme Court reasoned that the requirement that a

notice of appeal be signed when filed in the district

court only comes from Federal Rule of Procedure 11(a)

which provides that every paper filed with the district

court shall be signed. Jd. at 532 U.S. 757, 758, 121S.Ct.

1801, 1805 (2001). The Supreme Court then reasoned

— A-105 —

that failure to sign a notice of appeal as required by

Civil Rule of Procedure 11(a) could not require dis-

missal of the appeal because Rule 11(a) itself states

that the omission of a signature may be corrected

promptly after being called to the attention of the

attorney or party. The Supreme Court also noted that

this conclusion was in harmony with Federal Rule of

Appellate Procedure Rule 3(c)(4) which provides: “An

appeal must not be dismissed for informality of form or

title of the notice of appeal, or for failure to name a party

whose intent to appeal is otherwise clear from the

notice.” Id. 532 U.s. 757, 759, 121S.Ct. 1801, 1807-1808

(2001) citing Smith » Barry (supra at 502 U.S. 244, 245,

248-249, 112 S.Ct. 678, 116 L.Ed.2d 678.

B. The filing of a notice of appeal pro se by BSB’s

sole shareholders Eilers and Tennant did not

require BSB’s appeal be dismissed and li-

censed counsel should be permitted to con-

tinue the appeal on BSB’s behalf

The majority of Circuit Courts that have considered

the effect of a notice of appeal filed on behalf of a

corporation by a corporate officer who is not authorized

to practice law have ruled that a pro se signature is not

fatal to the corporations appeal. In Bigelow vA & A

Reality Limited 170 F.3d 1164 (9th Cir. 1999), the

Ninth Circuit noted that there is nothing in the Federal

Rules of Appellate Procedure which requires dismissal

of an appeal when a corporate officer who is not licensed

to practice law signs a notice of appeal for a corporation.

Id. at page 1165. “A notice of appeal is just that -a

notice.” Id. The Court failed to see any compelling

reason to refuse to recognize a corporation’s notice of

appeal, so long as a lawyer promptly thereafter enters

a formal appearance on behalf of the corporation and

undertakes the representation. Id.

— A-106 —

The same conclusion was reached by the First Circuit

in Instituto De Educacion Universal Corp. v United

States Department of Education 209 F.3d 181 (1st Cir.

2000). The First Circuit recognized that a non-lawyer

could not represent a corporation in ongoing proceed-

ings. However, the Court found there was a valid

distinction between ongoing legal representation and

the “essentially ministerial action involved in the filing

of a notice of appeal.” Jd. at page 22. The Court then held

that a corporate officer may sign and file a notice of

appeal on behalf of a corporation, as long as the corpo-

ration then promptly retains counsel. Id.

Many other neighboring Circuit Courts have held

that where a corporation’s notice of appeal is signed by

corporate officer who is not an attorney, the court may

allow the appeal to proceed as along as an attorney

admitted to practice before the appellate court has filed

an appearance.'

C. The Court failed to take into consideration

the Eilers and Tennant as the sole sharehold-

ers of BSB were real parties in interest and

that as an S-Type Corporation BSB was merely

an alter ego of Eliers and Tennant

Wnder 28 U.S.C. Section 1654, parties may plead and

conduct their own cases personally. BSB is an S-Type

corporation whose only two shareholders are Eilers and

Tennant. Eilers and Tennant are personally and exclu-

sively responsible for all of BSB’s debts and taxes. BSB

1 See e.g., AAA Venetian Blind Sales Inc. v Beaufieu of America

Inc. 124 F.3d 196 (6th Cir.1997) Anunication v West Capital

Financial Services 97 F.3d 1458 (9th Cir.1996); Lewis uv Lenc-

Smith Manufacturing Company, 784 F.2d 829 (7fl Cir. 1986);

K.M.A. Inc. v General Motors Acceptance Corp. 652 F.2d 398 (5th

Cir. 1981).

— A-107 —

is essentially their alter ego, and Eilers and Tennant

are de facto real parties in interest. BSB has not

engaged in any business since November 14, 2000 (the

date of the fire loss). Ail debts and payables have been

directed to Eilers and Tennant personally. BSB is

currently indebted to Eilers and Tennant for over one

million in United States currency. As such, no interests

other than their own were affected when they filed the

notice of appeal.

CONCLUSION

The essence of Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 3,

both in its language and in the construction given to it

by the courts, is liberality. Rule 3 does not contain a

signature as one of the jurisdictional requirements for

a notice of appeal. If there is no jurisdictional require-

ment that a notice of appeal contain any signature, then

it hardly can be argued that a notice of appeal contain-

ing a signature is a jurisdictional impediment. Neigh-

boring Circuits have found the best remedy for notices

of appeal signed by pro se shareholders is to allow

licensed counsel to adopt the corporation’s appeal.

This Court traditionally construes notices of appeal

liberally so long as the intent to appeal the judgment in

question is apparent and there is not-prejudice to the

adverse party. Appellees cannot be prejudiced by allow-

ing BSB’s appeal to be considered on its merits because

they have already filed their brief, and all of BSB’s

pleadings were filed in a timely manner. Appellant,

BSB, respectfully requests this Court to reconsider its

Motion to Submit Corrected Notice of Appeal and Adopt

Pleadings Previously Filed Pro Se, and allow BSB’s

appeal to be decided upon its merits.

— A-108 —

s/__

Gary i. Paul, 14579

Brinker & Doyen, LLP

120 South Central Ave., Suite 700

Clayton, Missouri 63105-1705

(314) 863-6311 (Telephone)

(314) 863-8197 (Facsimile)

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE

I, the undersigned, attorney for Biddle Street Bistro,

Inc., certify that the number of words in Petition for

Rehearing By Panel of Appellant Biddle Street Bistro,

is 2,279 , which is based on a word count of the word

processing system. The name and version of the word

processing software used te prepare the petition is

Microsoft Word 2000. :

Gary 1. Paul, # 14579

Brinker & Doyen, LLP

120 South Central Ave., Suite 700

Clayton, Missouri 63105-1705

(314) 863-6311 (Telephone)

(314) 863-8197 (Facsimile)

Attorney for Appellant

— A-109 —

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

COMES NOW,

Gary P. Paul, and after duly being

sworn and upon his oath states that a copy of the

Petition for Rehearing By Panel was mailed this 25th

day of February, 2003, to: Michael B. Hunter, Attorney

for Appellees TLJ Company, L.L.C., and Bremen Bank

and Trust Company, 10 South Broadway, Suite 1600,

St. Louis, Missouri 63102.

s/

Gary P.Paul,#14579

Brinker & Doyen, LLP

120 South Central Ave., Suite 700

Clayton, Missouri 63105-1705

(314) 863-6311 (Telephone)

(314) 863-8197 (Facsimile)

Attorney for Appellant

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 25th day of

February, 2003.

My commission expires: Be “4

s/

Teresa Schaefer Belangee

Notary Public

-O

OF ow

MITT la

— A-110 —

Appendix L

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 02-3141

Biddle Street Bistro, Inc.,

Appellant,

vs.

TLJ Company, L.L.C., et al.,

Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Missouri

The petition for rehearing by the panel filed by

appellant has been considered by the court and is

denied.

(5193-010199)

March 12, 2003

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:

s/

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.