Opposition Brief — Ma v. Kajima Corp.

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Nos. 02-1773, 02-1778 | arin 4

IN THE ——_-

EC OF THE C| R

Supreme Court of the United State ce

Do GEUN OH, ET AL.,

Petitioners.

VS.

MITSUI & Co., LTD., ET AL.,

Respondents.

ZHENHUAN MA, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

VS.

KAJIMA CORPORATION, ET AL..,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENTS’

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Margaret K. Pfeiffer Arne D. Wagner

Joseph J. Reilly Counsel of Record

SULLIVAN & CROMWELL LLP Kathieen V. Fisher

1701 Pennsylvania Ave., NW John A. Kelley

Washington, DC 20006 MORRISON & FOERSTER LLP

(202) 956-7500 425 Market Street

Counsel for Respondents San Francisco, CA 94105

Nippon Steel U.S.A., Inc. (415) 268-7000

and Nippon Steel Corp. Counsel for Respondents

Mitsubishi Corp. and

Mitsubishi International Corp.

August 4, 2003

(Additional counsel listed within)

Barbara L. Croutch

PILLSBURY WINTHROP, LLP

725 S. Figueroa St., Suite 2800

Los Angeles, CA 90017

(213) 488-7100

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries

America, Inc. and Mitsubishi

Heavy Industries, Ltd.

Sara D. Schotland

CLEARY, GOTTLIEB, STEEN &

HAMILTON

2000 Pennsylvania Ave., NW

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 974-1500

Counsel for Respondent

Showa Denko America, Inc.

Bruce E. H. Johnson

DAVIS WRIGHT TREMAINE LLP

1501 Fourth Avenue

2600 Century Square

Seattle, WA 98101

(206) 662-3150

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries,

Lid. and Mitsubishi Heavy

Industries America, Inc. (in

Choe)

A. Victor Antola

Daniel L. Martens

LATHAM & WATKINS

633 West Fifth Street

Suite 400

Los Angeles, CA 90071-2007

(213) 485-1234

Counsel for Respondents

Kajima USA, Inc., Kajima

International, Inc., Kajima

Engineering & Construction,

Inc., Kajima Development

Corp., and Kajima

Construction Services, Inc.

John H. Beisner

John F. Niblock

Pammela Quinn

O’MELVENY & MYERS LLP

1625 Eye Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006-4001

(202) 383-5300

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsubishi Materials Corp. and

Mitsubishi Materials U.S.A.

Corp.

Arthur W. Harrigan

Garth Wojtanowicz

DANIELSON, HARRIGAN &

TOLLEFSON, LLP

999 Third Avenue, Suite 4400

Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 623-1700

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries,

Lid. and Mitsubishi Heavy

Industries America, Inc. (in

Choe)

|

:

{

;

|

;

Nathan Lane III

Joseph A. Meckes

SQUIRE, SANDERS.& DEMPSEY,

LLP

One Maritime Plaza, Suite 300

San Francisco, CA 94111

(415) 954-0200

Counsel for Respondents

Paceco Corp. and Mitsui

Engineering & Shipbuilding

Co., Lid

Thomas D. Yannucci, P.C.

Christopher Landau

Brant W. Bishop

KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP

655 Fifteenth Street, N.W.

Suite 1200

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 879-5000

Counsel for Respondents

Sumitomo Heavy Industries

(U.S.A.) and Sumitomo Heavy

Industries, Ltd.

Lloyd W. Aubry, Jr.

Kathryn M. Davis

MORRISON & FOERSTER LLP

425 Market Street

San Francisco, CA 94105

(415) 268-7000

Counsel for Respondents

Ishikawajima-Harima Heavy

Industries Co., Ltd. and IHI,

Inc.

Stephen V. Bomse

Neil A.F. Popovic

HELLER EHRMAN WHITE &

MCAULIFFE LLP

333 Bush Street

San Francisco, CA 94104-2878

(415) 772-6000

Counsel for Respondent

Showa Denko America, Inc.

David M. Balabanian

Christopher B. Hockett

Thomas S. Hixson

BINGHAM MCCUTCHEN LLP

3 Embarcadero Center

18th Floor

San Francisco, CA 94111

(415) 393-2000

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsui & Co., Ltd. and Mitsui &

Co. (U.S.A.), Inc.

Matthew E. Digby

Heidi A. Leider

BINGHAM MCCUTCHEN LLP

355 S. Grand Avenue

Suite 4400

Los Angeles, CA 90071

(213) 680-6400

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsui Mining Co., Ltd. and

Mitsui Mining U.S.A., Inc.

Question Presented

Whether the Ninth Circuit correctly held that a 1999

California statute purporting to create a private nght of

action on behalf of “Second World War forced labor

victim[s]” is preempted under the foreign affairs doctrine as

recently explicated by this Court’s decision in American

Insurance Association v. Garamendi, where the United

States’ foreign policy— exemplified in its drafting,

negotiation and ratification of the multilateral Treaty of

Peace with Japan, Sept. 8, 1951, 3 U.S.T. 3169 — has already

resolved the war and all war-related claims as a matter of

United States law, including consigning such claims by

Korean and Chinese nationals to diplomatic resolution.

5 Mie

Rule 29.6 Corporate Disclosure Statement

Ishikawajima-Harima Heavy Industries Co., Ltd. is a

Japanese public company and is listed on the Tokyo Stock

Exchange. Ishikawajima-Harima Heavy Industries Co., Ltd.

has no parent company, and no publicly held company owns

10% or more of its stock. IHI, Inc. is a wholly owned

subsidiary of Ishikawajima-Harima Heavy Industries Co.,

Ltd.

Kajima Construction Services, Inc. is a wholly owned

subsidiary of Kajima International, Inc., which is a wholly

owned subsidiary of Kajima USA, Inc., which is a wholly

owned subsidiary of Kajima Corporation, a Japanese

corporation. Kajima Corporation has no parent company,

and no publicly held company owns 10% or more of its

stock.

Kajima Development Corporation is a wholly owned

subsidiary of Kajima Real Estate Development, Inc., which

is a wholly owned subsidiary of Kajima USA, Inc., which is

a wholly owned subsidiary of Kajima Corporation.

Kajima Engineering and Construction, Inc. is a wholly

owned subsidiary of Kajima Corporation.

Kajima International, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of

Kajima USA, Inc., which is a wholly owned subsidiary of

Kajima Corporation.

Kajima USA, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of

Kajima Corporation.

Mitsubishi Corporation is a public company listed on the

Tokyo Stock Exchange. No publicly held company owns

10% or more of the outstanding stock of Mitsubishi

Corporation. Mitsubishi International Corporation is a

wholly owned subsidiary of Mitsubishi Corporation.

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Ltd. is a Japanese public

company and is listed on the Tokyo Stock Exchange. No

El

- ill -

publicly held company owns 10% or more of its stock.

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries America, Inc. is a wholly

owned subsidiary of Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, Ltd.

Mitsubishi Materials Corporation has no parent

corporation, and no publicly held company owns 10% or

more of its stock.

Mitsubishi Materials U.S.A. Corporation’s parent

corporation is Mitsubishi Materials Corporation, and no

other publicly held company owns 10% or more of

Mitsubishi Material U.S.A. Corporation’s stock.

Mitsui & Co., Ltd. is a public company listed on the

Tokyo Stock Exchange. No publicly held company owns

10% or more of the outstanding stock of Mitsui & Co.,

Ltd. Mitsui & Co. (U.S.A.), Inc. is a wholly owned

subsidiary of Mitsui & Co., Ltd.

Mitsui Engineering & Shipbuilding Co., Ltd. has no

parent corporation, and no publicly traded company owns

10% or more of its stock.

Mitsui Mining Co., Ltd. is a Japanese public company and

is listed on the Tokyo Stock Exchange. No publicly held

company owns 10% or more of its stock. Mitsui Mining

U.S.A., Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of Mitsui Mining

Co., Ltd.

Nippon Steel Corporation is a Japanese public company,

listed on the Tokyo Stock Exchange. No publicly held

company owns 10% or more of its stock. Nippon Steel

U.S.A., Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of Nippon Steel

Corporation.

Paceco Corp.’s parent corporation is Mitsui Engineering

& Shipbuilding Co., Ltd., and Mitsui & Co., Ltd. owns over

10% of its stock.

Showa Denko America, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary

of Showa Denko K.K. Showa Denko K.K. is a Japanese

public company, listed on the Tokyo Stock Exchange. No

-iv-

publicly held company owns more than 10% or more of

Showa Denko K.K.’s stock.

Sumitomo Heavy Industries, Ltd. is a Japanese public

company and is listed on the Tokyo Stock Exchange. No

publicly held company owns 10% or more of its stock.

Sumitomo Heavy Industries (U.S.A.), Inc. is a wholly owned

subsidiary of Sumitomo Heavy Industries, Ltd.

-V-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

I Be acia nai tctactaneeinncnncisaetenleiaiiseScosh el cebsigsiunosiscdavetens 3

Pertinent Constitutional Provisions, Treaties

ee scceuisnadaaiaashcon 3

gL EI PID SECIS EOL ne OR LIT ORES 5

A. IIIT sean sincas ehcianecplencrnadcncemnecesnominiied 6

B. Petitioners’ Allegations...........c....sssccssesesseseee 9

ed Proceedings in the District Court................ 10

D. The Court of Appeals Decision.................... 1]

PIE sieinschobiins Saatiasadsacvandnnateassaotiancreenimanetiainissnenststbins 13

I. Because the Ninth Circuit’s Decision Accords

with Garamendi, the Petitions Should Be

IERIE AR So OR oe ae a OR 13

A. As Applied to Respondents, Section

354.6 Is Preempted Under the “Field” _

Theory Described in Garamendi................. 14

1. This Case Presents Precisely

the Circumstances that Make

Field Preemption “the

[A‘ppropriate [D]}octrine”

URGer GPCR ......0250.00000.sesesscee00 14

2. Field Preemption Is

Particularly Appropriate

Where, as Here, the Federal

Government Has Exercised Its

ST I oarectacicccsvesissrtescetnncins 16

B. Particularly As Applied to

Respondents, Section 354.6 Is Equally

Preempted Under the “Conflict”

Theory Described in Garamendi................. 17

a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

(continued)

Page

l. The State’s Interest Is

IIT saisalsilssennincsirensecsnvebiensienbansiies 18

_ The Conflict with the Allied

PET Wintiuiciinsinedveniinierdbateimennsonees 18

a The Overwhelming Federal

Foreign Policy Interest.................... 22

C. Garamendi Expressly Rejected Many

of Petitioners’ Specific Attacks on the

III scicccsc sid cchistaliccinaniiaceniiscldnsisaboninsion 23

II. Alternative Grounds for Dismissal Make

Grant of Certiorari Inappropriate .................. eee 25

A. Applying California Law Would

Ae Si i I dchtcsetcsdecsnmitransnstenconece 26

i. Due Process Requires ~-

Significant Contacts Between

California and the Conduct It

IE scntiierecescsimetepillipnaincmrinnnrses 26

2. The Presence Today of Some

Petitioners and Respondents in

California Does Not Satisfy

Se i ikthiicethaitindeiesntssnibiiiinies 27

3. Calling the Statute

“Procedural” Does Not Cure

the Due Process Violation............... 28

B. Petitioners’ Claims Are Precluded by

Japan’s Treaties with Korea and China.......30

tel Petitioners’ Claims Are Nonjusticiable....... 30

Conclusion ....

RTE AA i le OTP ECTS

-Vii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Allstate Ins. Co. v. Hague,

hs ee ei ieteoninrecsocsancdpalinniniidsesaiaemnteai 26, 27

Am. Ins. Ass’n v. Garamendi,

ar a eek A Pe ED seit tna rerciictncemnviinliadaiiaenicen passim

Baker v. Carr,

es Be a i iia anise cenctinceicigaiiesatascilaatnabadeusuaiad 30

Boyle v. United Techs. Corp.,

OE Re ED iteieiistnaitannetacnsiaicninntiancinientinians 22, 23

Burger-Fischer v. Degussa AG,

65 F. Sapp. 2d 245 C.N.5.. 1999) .ccsscssesvoccesnscessecresseveees 31

Crosby v. Nat'l Foreign Trade Council,

FIO se FE CI iicikesenineinbicninn

Deutsch v. Turner Corp.,

No. CV 00-4405 SVW (AJ WX),

2000 WL 33957691,

eae ee. |)

English v. Gen. Elec. Co.,

Be GAA FE Cer re iviciirsnnistnenrineinnnneien

Franchise Tax Bd. v. Hyatt,

vie ety: ree

Gerling Global Reins. Corp. v. Low,

240 F.3d 739 (9th Cir. 2001).............024

et eto 14n.13

Laaiinaiets fas ae

ee

- Vili -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Page

Gerling Global Reins. Corp. v. Nelson,

123 F. Supp. 2d 1298

(N.D. Fla. 2000), aff'd, 267 F.3d

Se BO Be Ric teinsicscioineninccbsieactincislicenamiaaniiaanes 28 n.19

Helfand v. Gerson,

PS Fe Be Ae. TO Mitincnsstinsisanisannitenmnmecsaalintin 28

Joo v. Japan,

Sak C, OR Te UB imine 20

Landgraf v. USI Film Prods.,

F8t Gah CO inition 29

Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts,

Ee ls. FPF CUP ccinntsincaininisineiecnicaaion 18, 26-27, 28

Stewart v. Kahn,

Fe is OR PE civiviecinerctenctitsinriinniaaanes 15

Stogner v. California, .

eo i, Ok Pe CE einihisncicindeinnaseinnvinenaieaaasaaainen 29

Sumitomo Shoji Am., Inc. v. Avagliano,

hE Ee, : | en N Te 19 n.16

Taiheiyo Cement Co. v. Superior Court (Jeong), 2

Fe Cia Cee BNE sictsicininseinencienmeaonemeals 29 n.20

Ware v. Hylton,

FF Fk Fe OG Fi virtisiskncdiaeninertiaeneneineaas 15,19

- 1X

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES.

(continued)

Page

Zschernig v. Miller,

Se a aciiticecnncssennseosessvecerasccocees 12, 13, 16

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes, and Rules

U.S. Const. art. I,

EEE SR 4

EL LIE 4,17

U.S. Const. art II,

Ne ne es cstncetienenrvcersecevecccceceses 3,17

Cal. Civ. Proc. Code

et iicrtdenerntensscesrecescccececee passim

EET 23, 24

ee ptenscrinctencecrnsecetorvoccccccssetececee 29

Cal. Ins. Code §§ 13800-13807 .................scssssssssseesseee passim

TEE ESE 29 n.20

Treaties

Agreement on the Settlement of

Problems Concerning Property and

Claims and on Economic

Cooperation, Japan-Republic of

Korea, June 22, 1965,

Ee 4,6, 9,21

Joint Communiqué of the Government

of Japan and the Government of the

People’s Republic of China,

a eae ivinnerrwerencecess 4, 6, 9, 21, 22

- x -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

(continued)

Page

Treaty of Peace and Friendship

Between Japan and the People’s

Republic of China, Aug. 18, 1978 ............... 5, 6, 9.21, a2

Treaty of Peace Between China and

Japan, Apr. 28, 1952, 38 U.N.T.S.

RR LINC NL TSIEN ORONO See 4,6, 9,21, 22

Treaty of Peace with Japan

(Allied Treaty),

OE: Bi, Beg FGA 8s PRM vcccccsenstcsnissinincenvseasciseved passim

Other Authorities

The Federalist No. 3 (John Jay) ..............ssccccccccsssssssees 16n.15

A OED

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

Do GUEN OH, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

MITSUI & Co., LTD., ET AL.,

Respondents.

ZHENHUAN MA, ET AL.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

KAJIMA CORPORATION, ET AL.,

Respondents.

RESPONDENTS’

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

This Court should deny the Oh and Ma petitions for a

writ of certiorari.' The judgment of the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit correctly holds that a

California statute creating a cause of action for conduct of

Japanese nationals in Asia during World War II is preempted

1

Two certiorari petitions were filed by petitioners in seven cases.

Petition 02-1773 (Oh) includes Kim v. Ishikawajima Harima Heavy

Indus., Ltd., et al. (01-17197); Sin v. Mitsui & Co., Ltd, et al. (01-

17203); Choe v. Nippon Steel Corp., et al. (01-17211); and Oh, et al., v.

Mitsui & Co. Ltd. et al. (01-17251). Petition 02-1778 (Ma) includes

Ma v. Kajima Corp., et al. (01-17201); Sung v. Mitsubishi Corp., et al.

(01-17207); and Su, et al., v. Mitsubishi Corp., et al. (01-17243).

ys

by the core federal power to make and resolve war, which

the United States “already exercised” when it “resolve[d] the

war, including claims arising out of it,” in the multilateral

Treaty of Peace with Japan, Sept. 8, 1951, 3 U.S.T. 3169

(“Allied Treaty” or “Treaty”). See Appendix to Petition for

Certiorari of the Oh petitioners (“Oh Pet. App.”) at 24a, 27a.

The Ninth Circuit’s ruling is supported by the amicus curiae

position of the United States below.”

The Oh and Ma petitions rely on a decision of a different

Ninth Circuit panel, which this Court reversed in American

Insurance Ass'n v. Garamendi, 123 S. Ct. 2374 (2003) just

three weeks after the petitions were filed. Garamendi held

another World War II-related California statute to be

preempted under the foreign affairs doctrine by virtue of

Executive agreements aimed at resolving claims arising out

of World War II in Europe.

Here the federal interest — the exercise of the war powers

through a peace treaty — is even stronger than in Garamendi,

and is in direct conflict with the state statute, whose only

purpose is “to redress wrongs committed in the course of the

Second World War.” Oh Pet. App. at 23a. As the Ninth

Circuit recognized in distinguishing its own earlier decision,

which was subsequently reversed in Garamendi, these

factors make this a clear case for foreign affairs preemption.

No conflict exists among the U.S. Courts of Appeal or state

courts of last resort with respect to the foreign affairs

preemption issue raised by the petitions.

The statute, section 354.6 of the California Code of Civil

Procedure, is also invalid for other reasons not reached by

the Ninth Circuit. Among these are California’s lack of

legislative jurisdiction to create a cause of action for events

* The Brief for Amicus Curiae the United States of America, filed

with the Ninth Circuit on June 6, 2002, appears at respondents’

Appendix F.

Sa

that occurred beyond its borders, on behalf of persons such

as petitioners who, at the time of the events, were all foreign

nationals having no ties to California or the United States.

Petitioners had no right to sue in U.S. courts a half century

ago and they have none now. The petitions should be

denied.

Opinions Below

The pertinent opinion of the Court of Appeals is that

reported at 324 F.3d 692 (9th Cir. 2003) and not, as the Oh

petition asserts, the amended and superseded opinion

reported at 317 F.3d 1005 (9th Cir. 2003). Oh Pet. at 1. The

version of the opinion attached to the Oh petition is,

however, the correct one.

Pertinent Constitutional Provisions,

Treaties and Statutes

Constitution of the United States

The President shall be Commander in Chief

of the Army and Navy of the United States,

and of the Militia of the several States, when

called into the actual Service of the United

States ....

He shall have Power, by and with the Advice

and Consent of the Senate, to make Treaties,

provided two thirds of the Senators present

concur;....

U.S. Const. art. II, § 2, cls. 1, 2.

The Congress shall have Power To...

provide for the common Defense . . .;

To define and punish Piracies and Felonies

committed on the high Seas, and Offenses

against the Law of Nations;

id

ein

To declare War, grant Letters of Marque and

Reprisal, and make Rules concerning

Captures on Land and Water;

To raise and support Armies .. .;

To provide and maintain a Navy;

To make Rules for the Government and

Regulation of the land and naval Forces... .

U.S. Const. art. I, § 8, cls. 1, 10-14.

No State shall enter into any Treaty, Alliance,

or Confederation; [or] grant Letters of

Marque and Reprisal... .

No State shall, without the Consent of

Congress, lay any Duty of Tonnage, keep

Troops, or Ships of War in time of Peace,

enter into any Agreement or Compact with

... a foreign Power, or engage in War, unless

actually invaded, or in such imminent Danger

as will not admit of delay.

U.S. Const. art. I, § 10, cls. 1, 3.

Treaties

The Allied Treaty appears at respondents’ Appendix A.

The Agreement on the Settlement of Problems

Concerning Property and Claims and on Economic

Cooperation, Japan-Republic of Korea, June 22, 1965,

583 U.N.T.S. 258 (“Japan-Korea Treaty”), appears at

respondents’ Appendix B.

The Treaty of Peace Between China and Japan, Apr. 28,

1952, 38 U.N.T.S. 1858 (“Japan-ROC Treaty”), appears at

respondents’ Appendix C.

The Joint Communiqué of the Government of Japan and

the Government of the People’s Republic of China, Sept. 29,

Peete

pews Sheba

«2

1972 (“Joint Communiqué”), appears at respondents’

Appendix D.

The Treaty of Peace and Friendship Between Japan and

the People’s Republic of China, Aug. 18, 1978 (“Japan-PRC

Treaty”), appears at respondents’ Appendix E.

Statutes

Section 354.6 of the California Code of Civil Procedure is

set forth in full in the Ninth Circuit’s opinion. See Oh Pet.

App. at 10a-12a.

Statement of the Case

Petitioners and the classes they claim to represent’ were

all foreign nationals and nonresidents of the United States at

all relevant times.* All rely on section 354.6 of the

California Code of Civil Procedure, enacted in 1999, which

creates a cause of action for persons allegedly forced to labor

during World War II by, or in areas occupied by, “the Nazi

> No class has been certified; putative class members allegedly

number in the “thousands” or “hundreds of thousands.” ER 7 (Kim

Complaint); ER 39 (Choe Complaint); ER 94; (Sin Complaint); ER 120

(Oh Complaint); ER 75 (Sung Complaint); ER 151 (Su Complaint);

ER 245 (Ma Complaint).

“ER” refers to the Excerpts of Record filed jointly in the U.S.

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit by the Oh and Ma groups of

petitioners. “SER” refers to the Supplemental Excerpts of Record filed

jointly in the Ninth Circuit in the Oh and Ma cases by respondents.

* Although the Oh petitioners generally are referred to as “Koreans”

in this brief, they actually were subjects of Japan at all relevant times;

Japan annexed Korea in 1910, and Korea became independent only after

World WarlII. ER11 (Kim Complaint); ER 43 (Choe Complaint);

ER 123 (Oh Complaint). The Ma petitioners were Chinese nationals at

all relevant times. ER 68-69 (Sung Complaint); ER 143-45 (Su

Complaint); ER 237-39 (Ma Complaint).

oe

regime or its allies,” which, petitioners allege, include

Japar..”

A. Background

Because petitioners’ claims are bound up in the

prosecution and conclusion of World War II in Asia, it is

essential (as the courts below recognized) to understand the

foreign policy that the United States formulated,

incorporated into the Treaty and persuaded 47 other Allied

Nations to adopt. Of special importance are the Treaty’s

requirements that claims of Korean nationals be resolved, not

by litigation, but through “special arrangements” between

the governments of Japan and Korea, art. 4(a) (which

eventuated in the Japan-Korea treaty), and that Japan

conclude treaties with Korea and China on “substantially the

same terms” as the Allied Treaty, including the latter’s

resolution of war-related claims, art. 26 (which eventuated,

in the case of China, in the Japan-ROC Treaty, the Joint

Communiqué and the Japan-PRC Treaty). See App. A at 3a,

19a-20a.

The United States viewed a “free, prosperous and

democratic Japan” as “an important stabilizing influence in

the Far East” in the face of “mount[ing] international

tensions” in that region. SER 545-46 (S. Exec. Rep.

No. 82-2). Convinced that peace would be jeopardized “if

the treaty validated, or kept contingently alive, monetary

reparation claims against Japan,” the United States

convinced its Allies that “it is our duty not to dwell on the

past, but to turn our eyes toward the future.” SER 304, 309

(Record of Proceedings of the Conference for the Conclusion

5

Respondents are Japanese companies and certain of their

contemporary U.S. subsidiaries. The latter are sued not for their own

acts, but for the alleged acts of their Japanese parents — in most cases for

acts of purported predecessors of their parents. See, e.g., ER 36 (Choe

Complaint); ER 118 (Oh Complaint); ER 71 (Sung Complaint); ER 147-

48 (Su Complaint); ER 239-40 (Ma Complaint).

Re ee ne ee ‘+

xP

and Signature of the Treaty of Peace with Japan (1951)

(“Proceedings’”)).

The Treaty’s reparations provisions were premised on the

recognition that it “would have been a short sighted policy

and would certainly have laid the foundation of a lasting

resentment” to leave Japan and its nationals open to future

war-related claims. SER 311 (Proceedings). Consistent with

the well-settled principle that “reparations for war losses is a

... matter to be settled between governments” and “‘it is the

. responsibility of each government to provide such

compensation for persons under its protection as that

government deems fair and equitable ... out of reparations

that may be received from Japan or from other sources,”

SER 556 (S. Exec. Rep. No. 82-2), the United States

negotiated and crafted a Treaty that conclusively provided

for resolution of all war-related claims.°

Allied signatories of the Treaty were accorded specified

reparations and waived all further claims of their own and

their nationals against Japan and its nationals (and vice

versa). App. A at 10a-17a (arts. 14-19); see generally Brief

of Respondents in Opposition to the petitions for a writ of

certiorari filed in Tenney, et al., v. Mitsui & Co., Ltd, et al.

(02-1776) and Saldajeno, et al., v. Ishihara Sangyo Kaisha

Ltd., et al. (02-1784) (“Signatory Brief’). The funds to pay

these reparations came principally from assets of Japanese

businesses and individuals located in Allied and neutral

nations. App. A at 10a-15a (arts. 14(a), 16); see generally

Signatory Brief.

Although Korea could not sign the Treaty “because [it]

was never at war with Japan,” the Treaty “in many ways,

treat[ed] Korea like an Allied Power,” “obtain[ing] for Korea

Japan’s formal recognition of Korea’s independence, and

6

Emphasis in quotations is added throughout this brief, unless

otherwise specified.

ai

Japan’s consent to the vesting in the Republic of Korea, of

the very considerable Japanese property in Korea,” and

placing Korea “on a parity with the Allied powers as

regards... commercial arrangements.” SER 305

(Proceedings).

Because of disagreement among the Allies as to which

“China” should sign the Treaty — Nationalist or Communist —

neither did. SER 305 (Proceedings). Nevertheless, “[t]he

Treaty preserve[d], in full, the rights of China as one of the

Allied Victors,” by, inter alia, awarding China all Japanese

property in Chinese territory. Jd. at SER 306. At the same

time, the United States insisted that China’s nonparticipation

not defeat the policy of achieving final resolution of all war

claims; “it would ... be wrong, cruel and stupid to penalize

Japan because there is civil war in China and international

disagreement regarding China.” Jd. at SER 305.

While acknowledging that nonsignatory nations,

particularly Korea and China, had suffered enormously from

“Japanese aggression,” SER 304,305 (Proceedings), the

United States concluded .that requiring reparations from

Japan “in any proportion commensurate with the claims of

the injured countries and their nationals” would be “contrary

to the basic purposes and policy of the free nations, the

Allied Powers, and the United States in particular.”

SER 555 (S. Exec. Rep. No. 82-2). Peace “would be

impossible if the Treaty kept alive the right[s] of the [injured

countries] to demand monetary reparations payments.”

SER 424 (Memo, Sec’y of State to President, Aug. 7, 1951).

Accordingly, article 26 of the Treaty obligated Japan to

conclude separate treaties with Korea and China “on the

same or substantially the same terms” as the Allied Treaty,

SER 289-90, including the latter’s reparations provisions.

See App. A at 10a-13a (art. 14); see generally Signatory

Brief. Article 4(a) also directed that “claims. .. of [Korea]

and [its] residents against Japan and its nationals, shall be the

subject of special arrangements between Japan and

O.

[Korea],” App.A at 3a, thus mandating that Korean

nationals’ claims “be resolved through inter-governmental

agreements rather than litigation.” App. F at 54a.

Faithful to the Allied Treaty, Japan negotiated the Korea-

Japan Treaty and, consistent with U.S. foreign policy, three

agreements with China: one with the Republic of China (the

Japan-ROC Treaty) and, later, two with the People’s

Republic of China (the Joint Communiqué and the Japan-

PRC Treaty). As discussed in sections I.B.2. and II.B. infra,

these treaties also address reparations and independently

preclude adjudication of petitioners’ claims.

B. Petitioners’ Allegations

Petitioners admittedly have never had any contact with

California, except for a handful who emigrated after World

War II. None of the conduct underlying their claims

occurred in California, or even in the United States.

Petitioners allege that their forced labor was in furtherance of

the Japanese war effort.’ Several of the complaints’ details

attest to the Japanese Government’s deep involvement in the

forced labor regime, e.g., through laws and government

directives requiring companies to use forced labor to achieve

Japan’s war aims, and through the use of police and other

government agencies to dragoon forced laborers.” Some

” See, e.g., ER34 (“To assist in the war effort the Japanese

government directed that Korean Nationals be forcibly deported and put

to work by Japanese industry.”); see also ER 36 4 10, 52 4 60; ER 2, 4;

ER 67; ER 93; ER 123; ER 142; ER 235-36.

* See, e.g., ER 43-44 (“National General Mobilization Law directed ;

. authorities to ‘draft Imperial subjects and make them serve the

purposes of general mobilization.’”); ER 12 (“[T]he Japanese Cabinet . . .

prescribed ... numbers of Koreans ... deported for forced and slave

labor and detailed allocations [of laborers] to particular industries.”).

° See, e.g., ER 98 (“[Plaintiff] was raided by a policeman and an

officer of the [regional] office while asleep in [his] home,...

handcuffed [,] . . . taken to a gathering place . . . , and was transported to

Japan forcibly.”); ER 12 (“Japanese Welfare Ministry issued a directive

(continued ...)

x.

complaints allege that respondents’ predecessors “turned

over” petitioners’ wages to the Japanese Government, which

never remitted the money to petitioners. '°

C. Proceedings in the District Court

The Judicial Panel on Multidistrict Litigation consolidated

petitioners’ cases in the U.S. District Court for the Northern

District of California, along with 21 others based on section

354.6. SER 16-23, 265-67, 578. That court dismissed all 28

cases, holding section 354.6 unconstitutional “because it

infringes on the exclusive foreign affairs power of the United

States.”'' Oh Pet. App. at 52a, 73a.

The District Court had the benefit of a Statement of

Interest of the United States, explaining the Treaty’s

negotiating and legislative history, U.S. foreign policy

underlying it, and the Treaty’s status as the cornerstone of

U.S. Far Eastern policy over the last half century. The court

was also provided with a Note Verbale from the Government

of Japan to the United States. Both governments explained

that section 354.6 would frustrate the operation of the

Treaty — which contemplated resolution of all war claims by

“state-to-state negotiations’— and would “jeopardize

relations between the United States and Japan and Japan and

its Asian neighbors.” SER 517, 520 (U.S. Statement of

Interest); see SER 525 (Note Verbale).

(... continued)

that confirmed that the forcible deportation of Koreans was systematic

and calculated.”).

1 See ER 10; ER 42; ER 97.

'! The District Court also ruled that petitioners’ other claims were

all time-barred. Oh Pet. App. at 82a, 84a. That ruling, affirmed by the

Ninth Circuit, id. at 32a-35a, is not challenged in the certiorari petitions.

F

poe

‘ pi

|

D. The Court of Appeals Decision

The Ninth Circuit affirmed the District Court’s judgments

in all 28 consolidated cases.'!? Like the District Court, the

Ninth Circuit had the bénefit of the views of the United

States, which supplemented its Statement of Interest with an

amicus curiae brief and presented oral argument on the

Treaty and U.S. foreign policy issues.

In its analysis, the panel expressly distinguished an earlier

decision of a different panel — later reversed by this Court in

Garamendi— in Gerling Global Reins. Corp. v. Low,

240 F.3d 739 (9th Cir. 2001). Low involved another World

War II statute enacted by California, the Holocaust Victim

Insurance Relief Act, Cal. Ins. Code §§ 13800-13807

(“HVIRA”). HVIRA, unlike Section 354.6, did not create a

private right of action; rather, it required insurers doing

business in California to provide disclosure about policies

sold to persons in Europe, which were in effect between

1920 and 1945. The panel deciding the present cases

recognized that the basis for preemption is much stronger for

section 354.6 than for HVIRA. While section 354.6 has no

purpose except “to provide a monetary remedy for decades-

old wartime wrongs,” Oh Pet. App. at 31a, HVIRA was a

“forward-looking regulatory statute” that “merely” required

disclosure and at least purported to safeguard contemporary

consumer interests. Jd.

In assessing where the line between federal and state

power is to be drawn in the context of a law to remedy war-

related injuries, the Ninth Circuit considered that, of the

eleven clauses of the Constitution dealing with the foreign

affairs powers of the President and Congress, seven

* In addition, the Ninth Circuit affirmed dismissal of Deutsch v.

Turner Corp., No. CV 00-4405 SVW (AJWX), 2000 WL 33957691

(C.D. Cal. Aug. 25, 2000), which alleged World War II wrongs by

German, not Japanese corporations. No certiorari petition was filed in

Deutsch.

o $2.

enumerate war powers, including “settling war.” Oh Pet.

App. at 2la. Conversely, “[mJost of the Constitution’s

express limitations on States’ foreign affairs powers also

concern war.” Jd. The court found that the power “to

resolve war, including the power to establish the procedure

for resolving war claims” is “part of the inner core” of the

“foreign relations power that is denied to the states.” Oh Pet.

App. at 20a-21la. It also noted that the state statute struck

down by this Court in Zschernig v. Miller, 389 U.S. 429

(1968), although not by its terms war-related, “was seen by a

Court operating at the height of the Cold War as a potential

provocation to foreign powers.” Oh Pet. App. at 21a-22a.

The Ninth Circuit went on to note that the federal

government had “already exercised its own exclusive

authority to resolve” World War II, “including claims arising

out of it,” by the ratification of the Allied Treaty. Oh Pet.

App. at 24a, 27a. As the parties agreed, that resolution

neither created “a private right of action against Japan or its

nationals” nor authorized “states of the United States to

create such a right.” Oh Pet. App. at 27a. Because section

354.6 would “modify” that resolution, the court held that the

statute was preempted. Oh Pet. App. at 27a-28a & n.14.

This holding did not depend on the nationality of any

particular plaintiff who might invoke section 354.6 in a U.S.

court; accordingly, it was “immaterial” that petitioners were

citizens of nations that did not sign the Treaty. Oh Pet. App.

at 28a n.14.

Petitioners requested rehearing and rehearing en banc,

which were unanimously denied on March 6, 2003. No

active judge requested a vote on rehearing en banc, although

two of the Low panel members are active judges. Oh Pet.

App. at 41a. Nevertheless, the Ninth Circuit held issuance of

its mandate pending this Court’s decision in Garamendi.

After this Court decided Garamendi on June 23, 2003, the

Ma petitioners asked the Ninth Circuit to reconsider its

—

. .

decision. The Ninth Circuit denied the request for

reconsideration and issued its mandate on July 30, 2003.

Argument

I. Because the Ninth Circuit’s Decision Accords with

Garamendi, the Petitions Should Be Denied

The Ninth Circuit’s decision is fully consistent with

Garamendi — indeed, had the Ninth Circuit not invalidated

section 354.6, Garamendi would require __ reversal.

Preemption is required under either, or both, preemption

theories discussed in Garamendi-— the “field” theory

Garamendi identified as the basis of the majority opinion in

Zschernig and the “conflict” theory of Justice Harlan’s

Zschernig concurrence. Garamendi, 123 S. Ct. at 2388-89.

As Garamendi explained, under the “field” approach, all

“state action with more than incidental effect on foreign

affairs is preempted, even absent any affirmative federal

activity in the subject area of the law, and hence without any

showing of conflict.” Id. at 2388 (citing Zschernig, 389 U.S.

at 441; Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 63 (1941); United

States v. Belmont, 301 U.S. 324, 331 (1937); and United

States v. Curtiss-Wright Export Corp., 299 U.S. 304, 316-19

(1936)). “Conflict” preemption requires an actual conflict

between state law and a federal foreign policy interest.

Garamendi, 123 S. Ct. at 2389.

Garamendi found it unnecessary to make a “categorical

choice” between the two theories; there was a “sufficiently

clear conflict” between the federal policy and state law in

that case to result in preemption. Jd. at 2389-90. The Court

further observed that no such choice may be nece in

other cases, or, indeed ever, for the two theories “can be seen

as complementary.” /d at 2389 nll. Thus, “field

preemption might be the appropriate doctrine” where a state

“take[s] a position on a matter of foreign policy with no

serious claim to be addressing a traditional/ state

responsibility,” while “it might make good sense to r¢quire a

/

/

«Sts

conflict” where “a state has acted within” its “traditional

competence,’ but in a way that affects foreign relations.”

Id. (quoting Zschernig, 389 U.S. at 459 (Harlan, J.,

concurring)).

The Ninth Circuit also did not explicitly choose one

preemption theory, nor did it need to.'° As shown below,

either theory could apply here and, under either analysis,

section 354.6 is invalid.

A. As Applied to Respondents, Section 354.6 Is

Preempted Under the “Field” Theory Described in

Garamendi

1. This Case Presents Precisely the Circumstances

That Make Field Preemption “the [A]ppropriate

[D]octrine” Under Garamendi

Garamendi teaches that field preemption may be “the

appropriate doctrine” where astate acts in the area “of

foreign policy with no serious claim to be addressing a

traditional state responsibility.” 123 S.Ct. at 2389 n.11.

Here California has fashioned its own war reparations cause

of action and can make no “serious claim” that it is

addressing a “traditional state responsibility” — not even one

with the “tangential relation to present-day” regulatory

objectives asserted (albeit unsuccessfully) to justify the

statute struck down in Garamendi. Id. at 2394."

'? This Court has previously held that the “categories of preemption

are not ‘rigidly distinct.” Crosby v. Nat'l Foreign Trade Council,

530 U.S. 363, 373 n.6 (2000) (quoting English v. Gen. Elec. Co., 496

U.S. 72, 79 n.5 (1990)). “Indeed, field pre-emption may be understood

as a species of conflict pre-emption: A state law that falls within a pre-

empted field conflicts with Congress’ intent (either express or plainly

implied) to exclude state regulation.” English, 496 U.S. at 79 n.5.

'4 In seeking rehearing of Garamendi, even California has stressed

that “HVIRA is simply a disclosure statute that does not force the

payment of any claim” and that the conduct that prompted it is the

“present refusal of companies to disclose,” Am. Ins. Ass'n v. Garamendi,

: (continued ...)

St.

As the Ninth Circuit correctly recognized, section 354.6

permits suit “only” by “‘Second Werld War slave labor

victims’” and “‘Second World War forced labor victims.’”

Oh Pet. App. at 23a (quoting § 354.6(b)). The “wrong-doers

under the statute”’-— “‘the Nazi regime, its allies and

sympathizers, or enterprises transacting business in any of

the areas occupied by or under control of the Nazi regime or

its allies or sympathizers’” — were, “by definition, wartime

enemies of the United States,” or at least “were operating in

enemy territory . . . with the consent and for the benefit of

our wartime enemy.” Jd. (quoting § 354.6(a)(1), (2)). By

enacting section 354.6, California plainly sought “to create

its Own resolution to a major issue arising out of the war —a

remedy for wartime acts that California’s legislature believed

had never been fairly resolved.” Jd.

Since this country’s founding, the law has been clear:

resolution of war claims is for the federal government ta

address through treaties or other state-to-state agreements.

Warev. Hylton, 3U.S. (Dall.) 199, 229-30 (1796)

(compensation for losses sustained “during [a] war . . . [may]

only be provided for by the treaty of peace” because “‘a treaty

of peace abolishes the subject of the war..., [and alll

violences, injuries or damages sustained by the government

or people of either [belligerent] during the war, are buried in

oblivion ... by the very treaty of peace”); see also Stewart

v. Kahn, 78 U.S. 493, 506-07 (1870) (states cannot interfere

with federal war- and peace-making powers, which include

the power to “remedy the evils which have arisen from

[war’s] rise and progress”). This principle is grounded, as

the Ninth Circuit recognized, in the Constitution’s textual

(... continued)

No. 02-722, Pet. Reh. at 7— wholly unlike section 354.6. See also

Garamendi, 123 S. Ct. at 2397 (Ginsberg, J., dissenting) (noting that

“statutory provisions enabling the litigation of Holocaust era insurance

claims” were “not at issue” there).

» 16.

commitment of war powers to the federal government, while

withholding them from the states.!

The Ninth Circuit’s conclusion that the “power to

establish the procedure for resolving war claims” is “part of

the inner core” of the “foreign relations power that is denied

to the states,” Oh Pet. App. at 20a-21a, seems to anticipate

Garamendi’s observation that “[v]indicating victims injured

by acts and omissions of enemy corporations in wartime

is... within the traditional subject matter of foreign policy

in which the national, not state, interests are overriding.”

Garamendi, 123 S. Ct. at 2390. Thus California’s attempt to

provide its own war reparations law is surely subject to

preemption under Garamendi.

2. Field Preemption Is Particularly Appropriate

Where, as Here, the Federal Government Has

Exercised Its Treaty Powers

Under the field preemption theory of the Zschernig

majority opinion, state action may be preempted “even

absent any affirmative federal activity’ in the field.

Garamendi, 123 S. Ct. at 2388; see also Zschernig, 389 U.S.

at 441 (preemption found in the “absence of a treaty,” statute

or executive agreement). Here, unlike Zschernig, there has

been intense federal activity in the very area of foreign

affairs in which the California statute purports to operate. As

the Ninth Circuit recognized, “the United States has already

exercised its own exclusive authority to resolve the war,

including claims arising out of it.” Oh Pet. App. at 24a, 27a.

The fact that the United States’ exercise of its foreign

affairs authority culminated in the Treaty — as opposed to

some other “affirmative federal activity’— provides

additional support for finding preemption here. Whatever

'S See also The Federalist No. 3 (“[NJot only fewer just causes of

war will be given by the national government, but it will also be more in

their power to accommodate and settle them amicably.”).

ee

may be said regarding executive agreements or other

exercises of foreign affairs powers, the federal treaty power

“enjoy[s] . . . textual detail” in the Constitution. Garamendi,

123 S. Ct. at 2386; see U.S. Const. art. II, § 2, cl. 2. Indeed,

the power to make treaties is expressly denied to the states.

Id. art. I, § 10, cl. 1. Furthermore, federal law embodied in a

treaty reflects the consensus of Congress and the Executive

regarding foreign policy. Cf Crosby, 530 U.S. at 375

(noting that ““[w]hen the President acts [in foreign affairs]

pursuant to an . . . authorization from Congress, his authority

is at its maximum’”’) (quoting Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co.

v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579, 635 (1952)); Garamendi, 123 S. Ct.

at 2400n.4 (Ginsburg, J., dissenting) (criticizing the

majority’s reliance on Crosby because “Crosby was a

statutory preemption case”). Here, both the Executive and

Congress have acted to occupy the field of war reparations

against Japan, through a longstanding policy embodied in the

Treaty, leaving California no possible ambit to enact section

354.6.

B. Particularly As Applied to Respondents, Section

354.6 Is Equally Preempted Under the “Conflict”

Theory Described in Garamendi

Even if section 354.6 could somehow be viewed as

addressing issues “within areas of . . . traditional state

responsibility,” so as to warrant application of the “conflict”

preemption standard articulated in Garamendi, the California

statute would still be preempted if applied to

respondents. As articulated in Garamendi, the “clarity or

substantiality” of a conflict “var[ies] with the strength or the

traditional importance of the state concern asserted,” id. at

2389 n.11, and, as appropriate, “the strength of the federal

foreign policy interest.” Jd. Here, California’s interest is

extraordinarily weak, the conflict is acute, and the federal

interest is overwhelming.

-18-

1. The State’s Interest Is Nonexistent

California’s interest in enacting section 354.6 is

considerably weaker than it was even with respect to

HVIRA, because here the statute possesses neither a state

regulatory purpose nor any colorable claim to having been

authorized by federal legislation. Cf Garamendi, 123 S. Ct.

at 2393 (discussing California’s argument that Congress

authorized laws like HVIRA in the McCarran-Ferguson Act

and the U.S. Holocaust Assets Commission Act); see also

supra n.14. Moreover, section 354.6 shares with HVIRA the

fatal flaw that the conduct California seeks to govern —

namely, conduct by Japan and Japanese nationals towards

Korean and Chinese nationals in Asia during World War II —

is wholly divorced from California. Garamendi, 123 S. Ct.

at 2393 (citing Phillips Petroleum Co.v. Shutts,

472 U.S. 797 (1985) and Allstate Ins. Co. v. Hague, 449 U.S.

302 (1981)); see infra section II.A.

Even more attenuated than its interest in enacting section

354.6 is California’s interest in having the statute applied in

these cases. At best, California might have an interest in the

welfare of Korean and Chinese nationals who moved to the

state after World War II, but Garamendi explicitly held that

this factor should be accorded “little or no significance.’”

Id. (quoting Shutts, 472 U.S. at 820). Furthermore, as a

matter of fact, only a few of the hundreds of thousands of

putative class members in these cases have claimed

California residency. ER 3 (Kim Complaint); ER 68 (Sung

Complaint). Thus no cognizable state interest is at stake in

these cases.

2. The Conflict with the Allied Treaty

Given the lack of state interest, only a minimal conflict is

required for “conflict” preemption to exist under Garamendi.

Id. at 2389 (strength of state interest determines “how

serious a con‘lict must be shown before declaring the state

oat.

law preempted”). In this case, though, the conflict is clear

and direct.

“The Treaty reflects the United States government’s

foreign policy determination that all war-related claims

against Japan and its nationals — including private claims and

including the claims of those whose governments were not

party to the Treaty — should be resolved by government-to-

government agreement rather than litigation.” App.F at

42a-43a, 49a, 54a.'® This approach is in harmony with well-

settled international and U.S. legal principles. See, e.g.,

Ware, 3 U.S. at 229 (Chase, J.).

With respect to Korea, U.S. law and policy is codified in

article 4(a) of the Treaty, which commits the Korean

petitioners’ claims to resolution through “special

arrangements” between Japan and Korea and leaves no room

for any other U.S. law remedy. App. A at 3a. Article 26 of

the Treaty obligated Japan to conclude separate treaties with

China as well as Korea “on the same or substantially the

same terms” as the Allied Treaty, including the latter’s

claims resolution provisions. App. A at 19a-20a. Private

lawsuits in U.S. courts under California (or even federal) law

are, of course, the antithesis of the diplomatic resolution

mandated by the Treaty. See App. F at 53a-55a (“The Treaty

of Peace . . . provides that the claims of Korea and China,

and those of their nationals, will be resolved through inter-

governmental agreements rather than through litigation.”).

Japan shares this view. SER525 (Japan’s Note Verbale)

(“[T]hese issues should not be adjudicated in the courts in

the United States.”). Allowing claims to proceed in U.S.

courts would therefore “undermine[] the intended purpose

and ‘natural effect’” of the Treaty. See Crosby, 530 U.S. at

'© “(T]he meaning attributed to treaty provisions by the Government

agencies charged with their negotiation and enforcernent is entitled to

great weight.” Sumitomo Shoji Am., Inc. v. Avagliano, 457 U.S. 176,

184-85 (1982).

-20 -

373 (finding conflict preemption); App. F at 49a-50a (noting

the “conflict[]” between section 354.6 and the Treaty), 55a

(stating that Korean and Chinese plaintiffs “may not,

consistent with the United States’ policy adopted in the

Treaty, pursue their claims in the courts of the United

States.”).

Very recently, a unanimous panel of the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit found that the

Treaty foreclosed war-related claims by Korean and Chinese

nationals in U.S. courts. In Joo v. Japan, 332 F.3d 679 (D.C.

Cir. 2003), the court considered whether the commercial

exception to the Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act could be

applied retroactively to World War II events; the court

concluded that it could not, in part because “the [Allied]

Treaty manifests the parties’ intent to resolve matters arising

from World War II without involving the courts of the United

States (or of any signatory nation).” Jd. at 684-85. The court

found that the Treaty “expressed a clear [U.S.] policy of

resolving the claims of Korean and Chinese nationals

through government-to-government negotiation.” Jd. at

685.!’ Indeed, as evidence of such subsequent negotiations,

the Joo court cited the Japan-Korea Treaty and the Japan-

ROC Treaty. Jd.; see also App. B and App. C.

The certiorari petitions never mention the Treaty

provisions directed to resolution of war claims among Japan,

Korea and China, confining their treatment of the Treaty to

stating that Korea and China were not signatories. The issue,

however, is not whether Korea or China were signatories; it

is that the Treaty “establish[es] the law of the United States

'7 The court pointed to article 14 of the Treaty, which reciprocally

waived all claims of Allied and Japanese nationals, and noted that “it

would be odd indeed for the United States, on the one hand, to waive all

claims of its nationals against Japan and, on the other hand, to allow non-

[signatory] nationals to proceed against Japan in its courts.” Joo,

332 F.3d at 685.

a

with respect to the war-related claims of Korean and Chinese

nationals.” App. F at 54a. That law — mandating resolution

through diplomacy — binds U.S. courts, including state courts

and state legislatures; no other or additional remedy can be

' supplied under United States law.

One result of the diplomacy mandated by the Treaty was

the Japan-Korea Treaty, which is “part and parcel of the

framework created by the United States in 1951.” SER 512

(U.S. Statement of Interest). That treaty independently

precludes adjudication of petitioners’ claims, for through it

Japan paid Korea a half billion dollars in grants and loans,

App. B at 21a-22a (art. I), and the parties “settled completely

and finally” the “problem concerning property, rights and

interests of the two Contracting Parties and their nationals”

as well as “claims between the Contracting Parties and their _

nationals” (including juridical persons), App.B at 23a

(art. II, § 1). The claims resolved “include[d]” — but are not

restricted to — “those provided for in” article 4 of the Allied

Treaty -— i.e, reparations— and “claims that... Korean

natural persons have against... Japanese nationals such

as... claims by Koreans’ against Japanese...

corporations.” SER 370 (Agreed Minutes § 2(g)); SER 320-

22 (Republic of Korea, White Paper on Korea-Japan Talks

(1965)); SER 346-47 (Outline of the “Eight Items” — Claims

Made by Korea Against Japan).

Other products of the Treaty are the Japan-ROC and

Japan-PRC treaties and the Joint Communiqué, which,

separately and together, reciprocally settled all war claims of

Japanese and Chinese nationals. In negotiating and signing

these treaties, Japan complied not only with its obligations

under the Allied Treaty, but with the admonition of the

United States that Japan “pursue foreign policies in Asia

which were generally compatible with those of the United

States, particularly in relation to China.” SER 376-77. The

Japan-ROC Treaty literally incorporated by reference the

“relevant provisions” of the Allied Treaty as the rule by

7.

which “any problem” between the signatories resulting from

“the existence of a state of war” “shall be settled” (unless the

Japan-ROC Treaty, or its supplementary documents,

provided otherwise). App.C at 29a (art. XI). Having

concluded a treaty with the only government of China

recognized by the United States— the ROC- Japan

reasonably took the position that its treaty with the ROC

resolved all war claims involving China. Nevertheless, in

1972, Japan responded to the United States’ recognition of

the PRC by opening negotiations to “normalize” its own

relations with the PRC, SER 409-410, an “opening to China”

that led to the Joint Communiqué in which Japan and the

PRC agreed to language, carefully drafted as a political

compromise to preserve the dignity of both sides, whereby

the PRC declared “that in the interest of the friendship

between the Chinese and the Japanese peoples,” the PRC

“renounces its demand for war reparation from Japan.”

App. D at 33a (art. 5). The Japan-PRC Treaty, App. E,

incorporated and reaffirmed the terms of the Joint

Communiqué. Thus the fruit of the Allied Treaty’s

resolution of petitioners’ claims via diplomacy resulted in

other, nonjudicial resolutions of those claims under the laws

of petitioners’ own countries."

3. The Overwhelming Federal Foreign Policy

Interest

The resolution of World War II-era reparations claims

against Japanese companies is an “area of uniquely federal

interest” for all of the reasons discussed above with respect

to the appropriateness of a “field” preemption analysis.

Garamendi, 123 S. Ct. at 2389 n.11; Boyle v. United Techs.

'8 As noted above, however, petitioners would be unable to proceed

in U.S. courts even if the agreements between Japan and Korea and Japan

and China permitted lawsuits. U.S. courts are bound by “the law of the

United States,” which mandates a nonjudicial resolution of “the war-

related claims of Korean and Chinese nationals.” App. F. at 54a.

a.

Corp., 487 U.S. 500, 507-08 (1987). The Ninth Circuit

carefully and correctly assessed this overwhelming federal

interest, which provides a further reason that the balance of

factors leads inexorably to preemption in these cases, even

under a “conflict” theory analysis.

C. Garamendi Expressly Rejected Many of

Petitioners’ Specific Attacks on the Decision Below

In addition to validating the Ninth Circuit’s foreign affairs

preemption analysis, Garamendi addressed and rejected

several of petitioners’ arguments based on their (incorrect)

assumption that Low was decided correctly. Both petitions

insist that foreign affairs preemption does not apply to suits

against “private” parties. Oh Pet. at 2, 16, 18, 20; Ma Pet. at

18 and 21. Garamendi, however, flatly rejected any

“distinction” between companies and governments of

“formerly belligerent states.” 123 S. Ct. at 2387. Observing

that “untangling government policy from private initiative

during war time is often so hard that diplomatic action

settling claims against private parties may well be just as

essential in the aftermath of hostilities as diplomacy to settle

claims against foreign governments,” this Court found that

the attempted distinction simply “does not matter”. Id.

What was true in Garamendi is doubly so here, where

petitioners have alleged that the Japanese government

ordered their forced labor. See, e.g., ER34 (Choe

complaint); ER 97, 98-99 (Sin complaint); ER 123-24 (Oh

complaint). Indeed, as the Ninth Circuit recognized, the only

suits permitted by section 354.6 are against ““enterprises’”

that, “if not themselves our wartime enemies, were operating

in enemy territory and presumably — no party disputes this —

with the consent and for the benefit of our wartime enemy.”

Oh Pet. App. at 23a (quoting § 354.6(a)(1), (2)).

The Qh petitioners also make the odd argument that

section 354.6 is not subject to preemption because it does

“not focus on any single country.” Oh Pet. at 17. Not only

7 -

is their premise wrong-— the statute focuses solely on

conduct of the “Nazi regime, its allies and sympathizers,”

while ignoring forced labor practices of other countries or

eras, § 354.6(a)(1), (2) — but also the reach of HVIRA was —

even broader. As the Oh petitioners concede, HVIRA did

not “target any particular country,” Oh Pet. at 14-15, yet its

wider scope posed no obstacle to the application of foreign

affairs preemption in Garamendi.

Petitioners also incorrectly characterize section 354.6 as

purely a statute of limitations, implying that it cannot

therefore interfere with foreign affairs. Oh Pet. at 2, 6-7; Ma

Pet. at 22-25. Once again, the premise is wrong. As the

Ninth Circuit found, and as discussed in section II.A.3. infra,

section 354.6 is not merely a limitations statute. But, even if

it were, petitioners cite no authority differentiating between

limitations and substantive statutes in a foreign affairs

analysis, and, as the Ninth Circuit recognized, neither logic

nor policy permits such a distinction. See Oh Pet. App. at

14a (“Whether substantive or procedural,” section 354.6

creates a “new rule [that] profoundly alters the likelihood

that” Second World War reparations “actions will

succeed.”).

Just as misguided is petitioners’ argument that section

354.6 does not “implicate current foreign policy.” Oh Pet. at

16, 21; Ma Pet. at 21. The Allied Treaty, although signed

some 50 years ago, is current law in the United States and

Japan. As the United States advised the lower courts, it

remains the cornerstone of U.S. foreign policy in the Far

East and is as much an expression of U.S. and Japanese

foreign policy today as it was in 1951. SER505 (US.

Statement of Interest). Section 354.6 therefore does affect

ongoing foreign relations— indeed, the United States and

Japan agree that the iaw threatens to “jeopardiz[e] relations

between the United States and Japan and Japan and its Asian

neighbors.” SER520 (U.S. Statement of Interest); see

SER 525 (Note Verbale).

. o

Petitioners’ contention that the Ninth Circuit applied a

“rigid rule” so broad that it would preclude numerous suits

that other courts have allowed to go forward, Oh Pet. at 22-

28; Ma Pet. at 19-22, misrepresents both ihe Ninth Circuit’s

decision and the suits that other courts have entertained.

Contrary to petitioners’ assertions that the Ninth Circuit’s

holding precludes any state cause of action “somehow

relate[d] to war,” Oh Pet. at i, see clso Oh Pet. at 25-27, that

arose “before or during a time of war” see, e. g., Ma Pet. at i,

see also Ma Pet. at 12, 14, 18-19 and 21, the decision

contains neither words nor reasoning that remotely could

yield such a result.

The Ninth Circuit’s holding, in fact, is narrow: “section

354.6 is impermissible because it intrudes on the federal

government’s exclusive power to make and resolve war,

including the procedure for resolving war claims.” Oh Pet.

App. at 23a. This holding is further limited by the court’s

explicit reliance on the fact that the federal government “has

already exercised” its authority to resolve the war it waged.

Oh Pet. App. at 24a. Of the cases that petitioners allege are

in conflict with the Ninth Circuit’s opinion, none involves

the core federal power to resolve, through a treaty or

otherwise, a war waged by the United States or a state-

created cause of action devoted to war reparations. Thus

there is no contradiction between the Ninth Circuit’s holding

and the cases petitioners cite. Oh Pet. at 25-27; Ma Pet. at

20-21.

II. Alternative Grounds for Dismissal Make Grant of

Certiorari Inappropriate

Preemption is only one of many grounds for dismissing

petitioners’ claims. Respondents briefly bring a few of these

to the Court’s attention both to inform the decision on the

petitions and to request that, should review on the issue of

foreign affairs preemption be granted, these grounds also be

considered as a basis for affirmance.

=

A. Applying California Law Would Violate Due Process

One of the issues on which certiorari was granted in

Garamendi was whether HVIRA exceeded California’s

“legislative jurisdiction” under the Due Process Clause,

given the tenuous connection between California and the

issuance of insurance policies in Europe decades ago.

“Garamendi, 123 S. Ct. at 2385 n.7. While the Court did not

reach the issue in Garamendi, id., in this case there can be no

doubt that the Due Process Clause forbids California to apply

its law to the conduct of Japan and Japanese nationals toward

Koreans and Chinese in Asia during World War II. —

1. Due Process Requires Significant Contacts

Between California and the Conduct It Regulates

As Garamendi explained, “the general standards for

evaluating a State’s claim to apply its forum law to a

particular controversy or transaction” may be found in this

Court’s opinions in Shutts and Allstate. 123 S. Ct. at 2393.

Those standards make it unconstitutional to apply the law of

a “State [that] has only an insignificant contact with the

parties and the occurrence or transaction.” Allstate,

449 U.S. at 310-11 (plurality); id. at 333 (Powell, J.,

dissenting); see also Shutts, 472 U.S. at 822 (state “may not

abrogate the rights of parties beyond its borders having no

relation to anything done or to be done within them”). In

Shutts, for example, this Court held that Kansas law could

not constitutionally govern claims of non-Kansas petitioners

against a non-Kansas respondent regarding non-Kansas

leases, even though respondent “own[ed] property and

conduct[ed] substantial business in the State” and “hundreds

of Kansas plaintiffs were [also] affected” by the challenged

conduct. Jd., 472 U.S. at 818-22.

A state may apply its law only if it has “‘a significant

contact or significant aggregation of contacts, creating state

interests, such that choice of its law is neither arbitrary nor

fundamentally unfair.” Shutts, 472 U.S. at 818 (quoting

a.

Allstate, 449 U.S. at 312-13); accord Franchise Tax Bad. v.

Hyatt, 123 S. Ct. 1683, 1687 (2003). In determining whether

“application of [forum law is] sufficiently arbitrary and

unfair as to exceed constitutional limits,” the “expectation of

the parties [is] an important element.” Shutts, 472 U.S.

at 822.

Here, the conduct at issue is wholly unconnected to

California. None of the petitioners had any relationship with

California at the time of the alleged conduct, and almost

none does even now. Neither petitioners nor respondents, at

the time of the events, couid “reasonably have anticipated

that their actions would later be judged” by California law.

Allstate, 449 U.S. at 327 (Stevens, J., concurring). Thus

section 354.6, as applied, exceeds California’s legislative

jurisdiction.

2. The Presence Today of Some Petitioners and

Respondents in California Does Not Satisfy Due

Process

Nor is the absence of any “significant contact” between

California and these cases cured because a few petitioners

may have become California residents in the sixty years

since their claims arose. “‘Even if a plaintiff evidences his

desire for forum law by moving to the forum,’” this Court

has “‘generally accorded such a move little or no

significance.”” Garamendi, 123S.Ct. at 2393 (quoting

Shutts, 472 U.S. 820); see also Allstate, 449 U.S. at 319

(plurality) (“[A] postoccurrence change of residence to the

forum State [is] insufficient” in and of itself to confer power

on the forum State to choose its law.) cited in Garamendi,

123 S. Ct. at 2393.

No more pertinent is the amenability of some respondents

to personal jurisdiction in California.'? “[W]hile a State

'? Petitioners assert claims under section 354.6 against US.

subsidiaries that came into being long after World War II, and therefore

(continued ...)

=

may... assume jurisdiction over the claims of [parties]

whose principal contacts are with other States, it may not use

this assumption of jurisdiction as an added weight in the

scale when considering the permissible constitutional limits

on choice of substantive law.” Shutts, 472 U.S. at 819, 821.

3. Calling the Statute “Procedural” Does Not Cure

the Due Process Violation

Both petitioners and the California Attorney General

admitted in the District Court that section 354.6 is not just a

statute of limitations that extends the time within which

claims under existing law can be filed, but creates a new

cause of action — which petitioners in fact sued upon — and

without which, they also admit by their arguments in this

Court, they would have no claim at all. Plaintiffs’

Supplemental Brief Regarding the Constitutionality of Code

of Civil Procedure Section 354.6, filed Mar. 1, 2001, at 2, 3;

Amicus Curiae Brief of the Attorney General of the State of

California, filed Aug. 8, 2000, at4. Now, however, these

parties, hoping to evade the rule of Shutts, have altered their

position, contending that the statute is only a “procedural”

statute of limitations. See, e.g., Oh Pet. at 2, 6-7; Ma Pet. at

22-25.

Even if these parties were free to change position — and

‘they were not, see, e.g., Helfand v. Gerson, 105 F.3d 530,

535-36 (9th Cir. 1996)— their revised argument is both

wrong and irrelevant. It is wrong because, as the Ninth

Circuit observed, the statute “explicitly creates a cause of

action by providing that certain individuals ‘may bring an

(... continued)

had no involvement whatsoever in any of the alleged forced labor. The

further due process violation that would result from applying the statute

to such entities provides yet another basis for affirming the court of

appeals. See Gerling Global Reins. Corp. v. Nelson, 123 F. Supp. 2d

1298, 1302 (N.D. Fla. 2000), aff'd, Gerling Global Reins. Corp. of Am.

v. Gallagher, 267 F.3d 1228 (11" Cir. 2001). \

«90.

action’ for certain wrongs.” Oh Pet. App. at 12a (quoting

§ 354.6(b) and citing Verizon Md, Inc. v. Public Serv.

Comm'n of Md., 535 U.S. 635, 644 (2002) (statute providing

party “may bring an action” “reads like the conferral of a

private right of action”)). Further, the limitations period of

section 354.6(c) applies only to “action[s] brought under this

section,” i.e., actions maintained under section 354.6 itself 2°

Thus it cannot be just a statute of limitations, for it would not

have any claim to limit. Petitioners’ assertion of claims

directly based on section 354.6 also confirms its substantive

nature. ER 24 (Kim); ER 56 (Choe); ER 80 (Sung); ER 103

(Sin); ER 126 (Oh); ER 153 (Su); ER 254 (Ma).

The argument is irrelevant because, even if section 354.6

were merely a statute of limitations that revived other

California claims, subjecting respondents to liability for

those claims would itself violate due process, for the reasons

discussed in part, II.A.1. supra. It would also run afoul of

the constitutional prohibition on retroactive legislation. See

Landgraf v. USI Film Prods., 511 U.S. 244, 266 (1994); cf

Stogner v. California, 123 S. Ct. 2446 (2003) (a law enacted

after expiration of a previously applicable limitations period

violates the Ex Post Facto Clause when applied to revive a

previously time-barred criminal prosecution). The Ninth

Circuit, although not deciding the retroactivity issue,

recognized that “[s]uch a revival of liability— even civil

*° The Ma petition alludes to a supposed conflict between the Ninth

Circuit’s decision and the California Court of Appeal decision in

Taihetyo Cement Co. v. Superior Court (Jeong) on the issue of whether

section 354.6 creates a cause of action. See Ma Pet. at 1, 15-16 (arguing

that the “embarrassing conflict” between Taiheiyo and Deutsch adds

“some urgency to the need for this Court’s review”). As petitioners

acknowledge, however (id. at 1), the decision in Taiheiyo has been

superseded by the California Supreme Court’s grant of review. See

Taiheiyo Cement Co. v. Superior Court (Jeong), 66 P.3d 1231 (Cal.

2003), and Cal. Rule of Court 976(c).

.

liability-— is troubling and raises serious due process

questions.” Oh Pet. App. at 14a.

B. Petitioners’ Claims Are Precluded by Japan’s

Treaties with Korea and China

As discussed briefly supra pp. 21-22, the bilateral treaties

Japan entered into with Korea and China, in obedience to the

Allied Treaty and consistent with U.S. foreign policy, all

contain provisions effectively settling and barring ail

war-related claims of Korean and Chinese nationals. The

Japan-Korea Treaty’s waiver of claims provision has also

been implemented through domestic legislation in both

countries. SER 30, 45-71 (Declaration of Akira Kotera,

Professor of International Law at the University of Tokyo);

SER 76-77 (Declaration of Yuji Iwasawa, Professor of

International Law at the University of Tokyo).

C. Petitioners’ Claims Are Nonjusticiable

As discussed briefly above, the negotiations culminating ~

in the Allied Treaty accommodated diverse policies and

interests of both signatory and nonsignatory states, including

Korea and China. Petitioners ask this Court to set aside

these policies and political compromises, the fruits of which

remain the cornerstone of U.S. foreign policy in Asia, and to

put the courts of California in the business of deciding war

claims — an inherently political, nonjudicial realm. This

course is foreclosed by the political question doctrine.

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 210-11 (1962) identified six

indicia of nonjusticiable, political questions; if even one is

present, a case must be dismissed. 369 U.S. at 217. All six

Baker indicia are present here. Matters of war and peace,

including resolution of war claims, are foreign affairs issues

“constitutionally committed” to the political branches, and

the actions of those branches in negotiating and adopting the

Treaty framework required § numerous “policy

determination[s]” that are entitled to “respect” and

ee

“unquestioning adherence.” See id. Not only would it create

a “potentiality of embarrassment from multifarious

pronouncements” for a court to revisit these long-resolved

political issues — as the United States urged below — courts

simply lack the ability to perform the type of political

calculus involved in resolving war claims. See id. The

Treaty framework consists of “reparations agreements which

the United States and other World War II combatants (whose

blood and treasure brought the war of conquest... to an

end) forged in the crucible of a devastated post-war [world]

and in the crucible of the Cold War” — agreements “which

the court does not have the judicial power” to refashion, even

had they the necessary wisdom. Burger-Fischer v. Degussa

AG, 65 F. Supp. 2d 248, 282 (D.N.J. 1999).

Conclusion

The Court should deny the petitions outright. The foreign

affairs analysis of the decision below accords with, and the

judgment is compelled by, Garamendi. Should this Court

nevertheless choose to consider the foreign affairs doctrine

issues raised by petitioners, it should also certify for review

respondents’ alternative grounds for dismissal of the

complaints. :

Respectfully submitted,

Margaret K. Pfeiffer Ame D. Wagner

Joseph J. Reilly Counsel of Record

SULLIVAN & CROMWELL LLP

1701 Pennsylvania Ave., NW

Washington, DC 20006

(202) 956-7500

Counsel for Respondents

Nippon Steel U.S.A., Inc. -

and Nippon Steel Corp.

Kathleen V. Fisher

John A. Kelley

MORRISON & FOERSTER LLP

425 Market Street -

San Francisco, CA 94105

(415) 268-7000

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsubishi Corp. and

Mitsubishi International Corp.

Barbara L. Croutch

PILLSBURY WINTHROP LLP

725 S. Figueroa St., Suite 2800

Los Angeles, CA 90017

(213) 488-7100

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries

America, Inc. and Mitsubishi

Heavy Industries, Ltd.

Sara D. Schotland

CLEARY, GOTTLIEB, STEEN &

HAMILTON

2000 Pennsylvania Ave., NW

Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 974-1500

Counsel for Respondent

Showa Denko America, Inc.

A. Victor Antola

Daniel L. Martens

LATHAM & WATKINS

633 West Fifth Street

Suite 400

Los Angeies, CA 99071-2007

(213) 485-1234

Counsel for Respondents

Kajima USA, Inc., Kajima

International, Inc., Kajima

Engineering & Construction,

Inc., Kajima Development

Corp., and Kajima

Construction Services, Inc.

John H. Beisner

John F. Niblock

Pammela Quinn

O’MELVENY & MYERS LLP

1625 Eye Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20006-4001

(202) 383-5300

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsubishi Materials Corp.

and Mitsubishi Materials

U.S.A. Corp.

Bruce E. H. Johnson

DAVIS WRIGHT TREMAINE LLP

1501 Fourth Avenue

2600 Century Square

Seattle, WA 98101

(206) 662-3150

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries,

Ltd. and Mitsubishi Heavy

Industries America, Inc. (in

Choe)

Nathan Lane III

Joseph A. Meckes

SQUIRE, SANDERS &

DEMPSEY, LLP

One Maritime Plaza, Suite 300

San Francisco, CA 94111

(415) 954-0200

Counsel for Respondents

Paceco Corp. and Mitsui

Engineering & Shipbuilding

Co., Ltd

Arthur W. Harrigan

Garth Wojtanowicz

DANIELSON, HARRIGAN &

TOLLEFSON, LLP

999 Third Avenue, Suite 4400

Seattle, WA 98104

(206) 623-1700

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsubishi Heavy Industries,

Ltd. and Mitsubishi Heavy

Industries America, Inc. (in

Choe)

Stephen V. Bomse

Neil A.F. Popovic

HELLER EHRMAN WHITE &

MCAULIFFE LLP

333 Bush Street

San Francisco, CA 94104-

2878

(415)-772-6000

Counsel for Respondent

Showa Denko America, Inc.

Thomas D. Yannucci, P.C.

Christopher Landau

Brant W. Bishop

KIRKLAND & ELLIS LLP

655 Fifteenth Sireet, N.W.

Suite 1200

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 879-5000

Counsel for Respondents

Sumitomo Heavy Industries

(U.S.A.) and Sumitomo Heavy

Industries, Ltd.

Lloyd W. Aubry, Jr.

Kathryn M. Davis

MORRISON & FOERSTER LLP

425 Market Street

San Francisco, CA 94105

(415) 268-7000

Counsel for Respondents

Ishikawajima-Harima Heavy

Industries Co., Ltd. and IHI,

Inc.

Dated: August 4, 2003

David M. Balabanian

Christopher B. Hockett

Thomas S. Hixson

BINGHAM MCCUTCHEN LLP

3 Embarcadero Center

18th Floor

San Francisco, CA 94111

(415) 393-2000

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsui & Co., Ltd. and Mitsui

& Co. (U.S.A.), Inc.

Matthew E. Digby

Heidi A. Leider

BINGHAM MCCUTCHEN LLP

355 S. Grand Avenue

Suite 4400

Los Angeles, CA 90071

(213) 680-6400

Counsel for Respondents

Mitsui Mining Co., Ltd. and

Mitsui Mining U.S.A., Inc.

APPENDICES

la

Appendix A

TREATY OF PEACE WITH JAPAN

Sept. 8, 1951

San Francisco, California

Whereas the Allied Powers and Japan are resolved that

henceforth their relations shall be those of nations which, as

sovereign equals, cooperate in friendly association to promote

their common welfare and to maintain international peace and

security, and are therefore desirous of concluding a Treaty of

Peace which will settle questions still outstanding as a result of

the existence of a state of war between them;

Whereas Japan for its part declares its intention to apply for

membership in the United Nations and in all circumstances to

conform to the principles of the Charter of the United Nations;

to strive to realize the objectives of the Universal Declaration of

Human Rights; to seek to create within Japan conditions of

stability and well-being as defined in Articles 55 and 56 of the

Charter of the United Nations and already initiated by post-

surrender Japanese legislation; and in public and private trade

and commerce to conform to internationally accepted fair

practices;

Whereas the Allied Powers welcome the intentions of Japan set

out in the foregoing paragraph;

The Allied Powers and Japan have therefore determined to

conclude the present Treaty of Peace, and have accordingly

appointed the undersigned Plenipotentiaries, who, after

presentation of their full powers, found in good and due form,

have agreed on the following provisions:

2a

Appendix A

CHAPTER I

PEACE

Article 1

(a) The state of war between Japan and each of the Allied

Powers is terminated as from the date on which the present

Treaty comes into force between Japan and the Allied Power

concerned as provided for in Article 23.

(b) The Allied Powers recognize the full sovereignty of the

Japanese people over Japan and its territorial waters.

CHAPTER II

TERRITORY

Article 2

(a) Japan recognizing the independence of Korea, renounces all

right, title and claim to Korea, including the islands of Quelpart,

Port Hamilton and Dagelet.

(b) Japan renounces all right, title and claim to Formosa and the

Pescadores.

(c) Japan renounces all right, title and claim to the Kurile

Islands, and to that portion of Sakhalin and the islands adjacent

to it over which Japan acquired sovereignty as a consequence of

the Treaty of Portsmouth of September 5, 1905.

(d) Japan renounces all right, title and claim in connection with

the League of Nations Mandate System, and accepts the action

of the-United Nations Security Council of April 2, 1947,

extending the trusteeship system to the Pacific Islands formerly

under mandate to Japan.

3a

Appendix A

(e) Japan renounces all claim to any right or title to or interest in

connection with any part of the Antarctic area, whether deriving

from the activities of Japanese nationals or otherwise.

(f) Japan renounces all right, title and claim to the Spratly

Islands and to the Paracel Islands.

Article 3

Japan will concur in any proposal of the United States to the

United Nations to place under its trusteeship system, with the

United States as the sole administering authority, Nansei Shoto

south of 29° north latitude (including the Ryukyu Islands and

the Daito Islands), Nanpo Shoto south of Sofu Gan (including

the Bonin Islands, Rosario Island and the Volcano Islands) and

Parece Vela and Marcus Island. Pending the making of such a

proposal and affirmative action thereon, the United States will

have the right to exercise all and any powers of administration,

legislation and jurisdiction over the territory and inhabitants of

these islands, including their territorial waters.

Article 4

(a) Subject to the provisions of paragraph (b) of this Article, the

disposition of property of Japan and of its nationals in the areas

referred to in Article 2, and their claims, including debts,

against the authorities presently administering such areas and

the residents (including juridical persons) thereof, and the

disposition in Japan of property of such authorities and

residents, and of claims, including debts, of such authorities and

residents against Japan and its nationals, shall be the subject of

special arrangements between Japan and such authorities. The

property of any of the Allied Powers or its nationals in the areas

referred to in Article 2 shall, insofar as this has not already been

done, be returned by the administering authority in the

condition in which it now exists. (The term nationals whenever

used in the present Treaty includes juridical persons. )

4a

Appendix A

(b) Japan recognizes the validity of dispositions of property of

Japan and Japanese nationals made by or pursuant to directives

of the United States Military Government in any of the areas

referred to in Articles 2 and 3.

(c) Japanese owned submarine cables connecting Japan with

territory removed from Japanese control pursuant to the present

Treaty shall be equally divided, Japan retaining the Japanese

terminal and adjoining half of the cable, and the detached

territory the remainder of the cable and connecting terminal

facilities.

CHAPTER III

SECURITY

Article 5

(a) Japan accepts the obligations set forth in Article 2 of the

Charter of the United Nations, and in particular the obligations

(i) to settle its international disputes by peaceful means in such

a manner that international peace and security, and justice, are

not endangered;

(ii) to refrain in its international relations from the threat or use

of force against the territorial integrity or political independence

of any State or in any other manner inconsistent with the

Purposes of the United Nations;

(iii) to give the United Nations every assistance in any action it

takes in accordance with the Charter and to refrain from giving

assistance to any State against which the United Nations may

take preventive or enforcement action.

(b) The Allied Powers confirm that they will be guided by the

principles of Article 2 of the Charter of the United Nations in

their relations with Japan.

Sa

Appendix A

(c) The Allied Powers for their part recognize that Japan as a

sovereign nation possesses the inherent right of individual or

collective self-defense referred to in Article 51 of the Charter of

the United Nations and that Japan may voluntarily enter into

collective security arrangements.

Article 6

(a) All occupation forces of the Allied Powers shall be

withdrawn from Japan as soon as possible after the coming into

force of the present Treaty, and in any case not later than 90

days thereafter. Nothing in this provision shall, however,

prevent the stationing or retention of foreign armed forces in

Japanese territory under or in consequence of any bilateral or

multilateral agreements which have been or may be made

between one or more of the Allied Powers, on the one hand, and

Japan on the other.

(b) The provisions of Article 9 of the Potsdam Proclamation of

26 July 1945, dealing with the return of Japanese military forces

to their homes, to the extent not already completed, will be

carried out.

(c) All Japanese property for which compensation has not

already been paid, which was supplied for the use of the

occupation forces and which remains in the possession of those

forces at the time of the coming into force of the present Treaty,

shall be returned to the Japanese Government within the same

90 days unless other arrangements are made by mutual

4 agreement.

CHAPTER IV

POLITICAL AND ECONOMIC CLAUSES

Article 7

(a) Each of the Allied Powers, within one year after the present

Treaty has come into force between it and Japan, will notify

6a

Appendix A

Japan which of its prewar bilateral treaties or conventions with

Japan it wishes to continue in force or revive, and any treaties or

conventions so notified shall continue in force or by revived

subject only to such amendments as may be necessary to ensure

conformity with the present Treaty. The treaties and

conventions so notified shall be considered as having been

continued in force or revived three months after the date of

notification and shall be registered with the Secretariat of the

United Nations. All such treaties and conventions as to which

Japan is not so notified shall be regarded as abrogated.

(b) Any notification made under paragraph (a) of this Article

may except from the operation or-revival of a treaty or

convention any territory for the international relations of which

the notifying Power is responsible, until three months after the

date on which notice is given to Japan that such exception shall

cease to apply.

Article 8

(a) Japan will recognize the full force of all treaties now or

hereafter concluded by the Allied Powers for terminating the ©

state of war initiated on September 1, 1939, as well as any other

arrangements by the Allied Powers for or in connection with the

restoration of peace. Japan also accepts the arrangements made

for terminating the former League of Nations and Permanent

Court of International Justice.

(b) Japan renounces all such rights and interests as it may derive

from being a signatory power of the Conventions of

St. Germain-en-Laye of September 10, 1919, and the Straits

Agreement of Montreux of July 20, 1936, and from Article 16

of the Treaty of Peace with Turkey signed at Lausanne on

July 24, 1923.

(c) Japan renounces all rights, title and interests acquired under,

and is discharged from all obligations resulting from, the

Agreement between Germany and the Creditor Powers of

7a

Appendix A

January 20, 1930 and its Annexes, including the Trust

Agreement, dated 17 May 1930, the Convention of January 20,

1930, respecting the Bank for International Settlements; and the

Statutes of the Bank for International Settlements. Japan will

notify to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in Paris within six

months of the first coming into force of the present Treaty its

renunciation of the rights, title and interests referred to in this

paragraph.

Article 9

Japan will enter promptly into negotiations with the Allied

Powers so desiring for the conclusion of bilateral and

multilateral agreements providing for the regulation or

limitation of fishing and the conservation and development of

fisheries on the high seas.

Article 10

Japan renounces all special rights and interests in China,

including all benefits and privileges resulting from the

provisions of the final Protocol signed at Peking on

September 7, 1901, and all annexes, notes and documents

Supplementary thereto, and agrees to the abrogation in respect

to Japan of the said protocol, annexes, notes and documents.

Article 1]

Japan accepts the judgments of the International Military

Tribunal for the Far East and of other Allied War Crimes Courts

both within and outside Japan, and will Carry out the sentences

imposed thereby upon Japanese nationals imprisoned in Japan.

The power to grant clemency, to reduce sentences and to parole

with respect to such prisoners may not be exercised except on

the decision of the Government or Governments which imposed

the sentence in each instance, and on recommendation of Japan.

In the case of persons sentenced by the International Military

Tribunal for the Far East, such power may not be exercised

8a

Appendix A

except on the decision of a majority of the weer:

represented on the Tribunal, and on the recommendation

Japan.

Article 12

(a) Japan declares its readiness promptly to enter into

negotiations for the conclusion with each of the Allied Powers

of treaties or agreements to place their trading, maritime and

other commercial relations on a stable and friendly basis.

(b) Pending the conclusion of the relevant treaty or agreement,

Japan will, during a period of four years from the first coming

into force of the present Treaty

(1) accord to each of the Allied Powers, its nationals, products

and vessels

(i) most-favored-nation treatment with respect to customs duties,

charges, restrictions and other regulations on or in connection

with the importation and exportation of goods;

(ii) national treatment with respect to shipping, navigation and

imported goods, and with respect to natural and juridical

persons and their interests - such treatment to include all matters

pertaining to the levying and collection of taxes, access to the

courts, the making and performance of contracts, rights to

property (tangible and intangible), participating in juridical

entities constituted under Japanese law, and generally the

conduct of all kinds of business and professional activities;

(2) ensure that external purchases and sales of Japanese state

trading enterprises shall be based solely on commercial

considerations.

(c) In respect to any matter, however, Japan shall be obliged to

accord to an Allied Power national treatment, or most-favored-

nation treatment, only to the extent that the Allied Power

concerned accords Japan national treatment or most-favored-

2 9a

Appendix A

nation treatment, as the case may be, in respect of the same

matter. The reciprocity envisaged in the foregoing sentence

shall be determined, in the case of products, vessels and

juridical entities of, and persons domiciled in, any non-

metropolitan territory of an Allied Power, and in the case of

juridical entities of, and persons domiciled in, any state or

province of an Allied Power having a federal government, by

reference to the treatment accorded to Japan in such territory,

State or province.

(d) In the application of this Article, a discriminatory measure

shall not be considered to derogate from the grant of national or

most-favored-nation treatment, as the case may be, if such

measure is based on an exception customarily provided for in

the commercial treaties of the party applying it, or on the need

to safeguard that party's external financial position or balance of

payments (except in respect to shipping and navigation), or on

the need to maintain its essential security interests, and provided

Such measure is proportionate to the circumstances and not

applied in an arbitrary or unreasonable manner.

(e) Japan's obligations under this Article shall not be affected by

the exercise of any Allied rights under Article 14 of the present

Treaty; nor shall the provisions of this Article be understood as

limiting the undertakings assumed by Japan by virtue of Article

15 of the Treaty.

Article 13

(a) Japan will enter into negotiations with any of the Allied

Powers, promptly upon the request of such Power or Powers,

for the conclusion of bilateral or multilateral agreements

relating to international civil air transport.

(b) Pending the conclusion of such agreement or agreements,

Japan will, during a period of four years from the first coming

into force of the present Treaty, extend to such Power treatment

not less favorable with respect to air-traffic rights and privileges

10a

Appendix A

than those exercised by any such Powers at the date of such

coming into force, and will accord complete equality of

opportunity in respect to the operation and development of air

services.

(c) Pending its becoming a party to the Convention on

International Civil Aviation in accordance with Article 93

thereof, Japan will give effect to the provisions of that

Convention applicable to the international navigation of aircraft,

and will give effect to the standards, practices and procedures

adopted as annexes to the Convention in accordance with the

terms of the Convention.

CHAPTER V

CLAIMS AND PROPERTY

Article 14

(a) It is recognized that Japan should pay reparations to the

Allied Powers for the damage and suffering caused by it during

the war. Nevertheless it is also recognized that the resources of

Japan are not presently sufficient, if it is to maintain a viable

economy, to make complete reparation for all such damage and

suffering and at the same time meet its other obligations.

Therefore,

1. Japan will promptly enter into negotiations with Allied

Powers so desiring, whose present territories were occupied by

Japanese forces and damaged by Japan, with a view to assisting

to compensate those countries for the cost of repairing the

damage done, by making available the services of the Japanese

people in production, salvaging and other work for the Allied

Powers in question. Such arrangements shall avoid the

imposition of additional liabilities on other Allied Powers, and,

where the manufacturing of raw materials is called for, they

lla

Appendix A

shall be supplied by the Allied Powers in question, so as not to

throw any foreign exchange burden upon Japan.

2. (I) Subject to the provisions of subparagraph (II) below, each

of the Allied Powers shall have the right to seize, retain,

liquidate or otherwise dispose of all property, rights and

interests of

(a) Japan and Japanese nationals,

(b) persons acting for or on behalf of Japan or Japanese

nationals, and

(c) entities owned or controlled by Japan or Japanese nationals,

which on the first coming into force of the present Treaty were

subject to its jurisdiction. The property, rights and interests

specified in this subparagraph shall include those now blocked,

vested or in the possession or under the control of enemy

property authorities of Allied Powers, which belong to, or were

held or managed on behalf of, any of the persons or entities

mentioned in (a), (b) or (c) above at the time such assets came

under the cor-‘rols of such authorities.

(II) The following shall be excepted from the right specified in

subparagraph (I) above:

(i) property of Japanese natural persons who during the war

resided with the permission of the Government concerned in the

territory of one of the Allied Powers, other than territory

occupied by Japan, except property subjected to restrictions

during the war and not released from such restrictions as of the

date of the first coming into force of the present Treaty;

(ii) all real property, furniture and fixtures owned by the

Government of Japan and used for diplomatic or consular

purposes, and all personal furniture and furnishings and other

private property not of an investment nature which was

normally necessary for the carrying out of diplomatic and

12a

Appendix A

consular functions, owned by Japanese diplomatic and consular

personnel;

(iii) property belonging to religious bodies or private charitable

institutions and used exclusively for religious or charitable

purposes;

(iv) property, rights and interests which have come within its

jurisdiction in consequence of the resumption of trade and

financial relations subsequent to September 2, 1945, between

the country concerned and Japan, except such as have resulted

from transactions contrary to the laws of the Allied Power

concerned; —

(v) obligations of Japan or Japanese nationals, any right, title or

interest in tangible property located in Japan, interests in

enterprises organized under the laws of Japan, or any paper

evidence thereof; provided that this exception shall only apply

to obligations of Japan and its nationals expressed in Japanese

currency.

(III) Property referred to in exceptions (i) through (v) above

shall be returned subject to reasonable expenses for its

preservation and administration. If any such property has been

liquidated the proceeds shall be returned instead.

(IV) The right to seize, retain, liquidate or otherwise dispose of

property as provided in subparagraph (I) above shall be

exercised in accordance with the laws of the Allied Power

concerned, and the owner shall have only such rights as may be

given him by those laws.

(V) The Allied Powers agree to deal with Japanese trademarks

and literary and artistic property rights on a basis as favorable to

Japan as circumstances ruling in each country will permit.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in the present Treaty, the

Allied Powers waive all reparations claims of the Allied Powers,

l3a

Appendix A

other claims of the Allied Powers and their nationals arising out

of any actions taken by Japan and its nationals in the course of

the prosecution of the war, and claims of the Allied Powers for

direct military costs of occupation.

Article 15

(a) Upon application made within nine months of the coming

into force of the present Treaty between Japan and the Allied

Power concerned, Japan will, within six months of the date of

such application, return the property, tangible and intangible,

and all rights or interests of any kind in Japan of each Allied

Power and its nationals which was within Japan at any time

between December 7, 1941 and September 2, 1945, unless the

owner has freely disposed thereof without duress or fraud. Such

property shall be returned free of all encumbrances and charges

to which it may have become subject because of the war, and

without any charges for its return. Property whose return is not

applied for by or on behalf of the owner or by his Government

within the prescribed period may be disposed of by the Japanese

Government as it may determine. In cases where such property

was within Japan on December 7, 1941, and cannot be returned

or has suffered injury or damage as a result of the war,

compensation will be made on terms not less favorable than the

terms provided in the draft Allied Powers Property

Compensation Law approved by the Japanese Cabinet on

July 13, 1951.

(b) With respect to industrial property rights impaired during

the war, Japan will continue to accord to the Allied Powers and

their nationals benefits no less than those heretofore accorded

by Cabinet Orders No. 309 effective September 1, 1949, No. 12

effective January 28, 1950, and No. 9 effective February 1,

1950, all as now amended, provided such nationals have applied

for such benefits within the time limits prescribed therein.

(c) (i) Japan acknowledges that the literary and artistic property

rights which existed in Japan on December 7, 1941, in respect

TS ET STL aT eee oe oe

l4a

Appendix A

to the published and unpublished works of the Allied Powers

and their nationals have continued in force since that date, and

recognizes those rights which have arisen, or but for the war

would have arisen, in Japan since that date, by the operation of

any conventions and agreements to which Japan was a party on

that date, irrespective of whether or not such conventions or

agreements were abrogated or suspended upon or since the

outbreak of war by the domestic law of Japan or of the Allied

Power concerned.

(ii) Without the need for application by the proprietor of the

right and without the payment of any fee or compliance with

any other formality, the period from December 7, 1941, until

the coming into force of the present Treaty between Japan and

the Allied Power concerned shall be excluded from the running

of the normal term of such rights; and such period, with an

additional period of six months, shall be excluded from the time

within which a literary work must be translated into Japanese in

order to obtain translating rights in Japan.

Article 16

As an expression of its desire to indemnify those members of

the armed forces of the Allied Powers who suffered undue

hardships while prisoners of war of Japan, Japan will transfer its

assets and those of its nationals in countries which were neutral

during the war, or which were at war with any of the Allied

Powers, or, at its option, the equivalent of such assets, to the

International Committee of the Red Cross which shall liquidate

such assets and distribute the resultant fund to appropriate

national agencies, for the benefit of former prisoners of war and

their families on such basis as it may determine to be equitable.

The categories of assets described in Article 14(a)2(II)(ii)

through (v) of the present Treaty shall be excepted from transfer,

as well as assets of Japanese natural persons not residents of

Japan on the first coming into force of the Treaty. It is equally

understood that the transfer provision of this Article has no

15a

Appendix A

application to the 19,770 shares in the Bank for International

Settlements presently owned by Japanese financial institutions.

Article 17

(a) Upon the request of any of the Allied Powers, the Japanese

Government shall review and revise in conformity with

international law any decision or order of the Japanese Prize

Courts in cases involving ownership rights of nationals of that

Allied Power and shall supply copies of all documents

comprising the records of these cases, including the decisions

taken and orders issued. In any case in which such review or

revision shows that restoration is due, the provisions of Article

15 shall apply to the property concerned.

(b) The Japanese Government shall take the necessary measures

to enable nationals of any of the Allied Powers at any time

within one year from the coming into force of the present Treaty

between Japan and the Allied Power concerned to submit to the

appropriate Japanese authorities for review any judgment given

by a Japanese court between 7 December 1941 and such coming

into force, in any proceedings in which any such national was

unable to make adequate presentation of his case either as

plaintiff or defendant. The Japanese Government shall provide

that, where the national has suffered injury by reason of any

such judgment, he shall be restored in the position in which he

was before the judgment was given or shall be afforded such

relief as may be just and equitable in the circumstances.

Article 18

(a) It is recognized that the intervention of the state of war has

not affected the obligation to pay pecuniary debts arising out of

obligatior’ and contracts (including those in respect of bonds)

which existed and rights which were acquired before the

existence of a state of war, and which are due by the

Government or nationals of Japan to the Government or

nationals of one of the Allied Powers, or are due by the

l6a

Appendix A

Government or nationals of one of the Allied Powers to the

Government or nationals of Japan. The intervention of a state of

war shall equally not be regarded as affecting the obligation to

consider on their merits claims for loss or damage to property or

for personal injury or death which arose before the existence of

a state of war, and which may be presented or re-presented by

the Government of one of the Allied Powers to the Government

of Japan, or by the Government of Japan to any of the

Governments of the Allied Powers. The provisions of this

paragraph are without prejudice to the rights conferred by

Article 14.

(b) Japan affirms its liability for the prewar external debt of the

Japanese State and for debts of corporate bodies subsequently

declared to be liabilities of the Japanese State, and expresses its

intention to enter into negotiations at an early date with its

creditors with respect to the resumption of payments on those

debts; to encourage negotiations in respect to other prewar

claims and obligations; and to facilitate the transfer of sums

accordingly.

Article 19

(a) Japan waives all claims of Japan and its nationals against the

Allied Powers and their nationals arising out of the war or out

of actions taken because of the existence of.a state of war, and

waives all claims arising from the presence, operations or

actions of forces or authorities of any of the Allied Powers in

Japanese territory prior to the coming into force of the present

Treaty.

(b) The foregoing waiver includes any claims arising out of

actions taken by any of the Allied Powers with respect to

Japanese ships between September 1, 1939, and the coming into

force of the present Treaty, as well as any claims and debts

arising in respect to Japanese prisoners of war and civilian

internees in the hands of the Allied Powers, but does not include

17a

Appendix A

Japanese claims specifically recognized in the laws of any

Allied Power enacted since September 2, 1945.

(c) Subject to reciprocal renunciation, the Japanese Government

also renounces all claims (including debts) against Germany

and German nationals on behalf of the Japanese Government

and Japanese nationals, including intergovernmental claims and

claims for loss or damage sustained during the war, but

excepting (a) claims in respect of contracts entered into and

rights acquired before September 1, 1939, and (b) claims arising

out of trade and financial relations between Japan and Germany

after September 2, 1945. Such renunciation shall not prejudice

actions taken in accordance with Articles 16 and 20 of the

present Treaty.

(d) Japan recognizes the validity of all acts and omissions done

during the period of occupation under or in consequence of

directives of the occupation authorities or authorized by

Japanese law at that time, and will take no action subjecting

Allied nationals to civil or criminal liability arising out of such

acts Or omissions.

Article 20

Japan will take all necessary measures to ensure such

disposition of German assets in Japan as has been or may be

determined by those powers entitled under the Protocol of the

proceedings of the Berlin Conference of 1945 to dispose of

those assets, and pending the final disposition of such assets

will be responsible for the conservation and administration

thereof.

Article 21

Notwithstanding the provisions of Article 25 of the present

Treaty, China shall be entitled to the benefits of Articles 10 and

14(a)2; and Korea to the benefits of Articles 2, 4, 9 and 12 of

the present Treaty.

18a

Appendix A

CHAPTER VI

SETTLEMENT OF DISPUTES

Article 22

If in the opinion of any Party to the present Treaty there has

arisen a dispute concerning the interpretation or execution of the

Treaty, which is not settled by reference to a special claims

tribunal or by other agreed means, the dispute shall, at the

request of any party thereto, be referred for decision to the

International Court of Justice. Japan and those Allied Powers

which are not already parties to the Statute of the International

Court of Justice will deposit with the Registrar of the Court, at

the time of their respective ratifications of the present Treaty,

and in conformity with the resolution of the United Nations

Security Council, dated October 15, 1946, a general declaration

accepting the jurisdiction, without special agreement, of the

Court generally in respect to all disputes of the character

referred to in this Article.

CHAPTER VII

FINAL CLAUSES

Article 23

(a) The present Treaty shall be ratified by the States which sign

it, including Japan, and will come into force for all the States

which have then ratified it, when instruments of ratification

have been deposited by Japan and by a majority, including the

United States of America as the principal occupying Power, of

the following States, namely Australia, Canada, Ceylon, France,

Indonesia, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, New Zealand,

Pakistan, the Republic of the Philippines, the United Kingdom

of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the United States of

America. The present Treaty shall come into force of each State

19a

Appendix A

which subsequently ratifies it, on the date of the deposit of its

instrument of ratification.

(b) If the Treaty has not come into force within nine months

after the date of the deposit of Japan's ratification, any State

which has ratified it may bring the Treaty into force between

itself and Japan by a notification to that effect given to the

Governments of Japan and the United States of America not

later than three years after the date of deposit of Japan's

ratification.

Article 24

All instruments of ratification shall be deposited with the

Government of the United States of America which will notify

all the signatory States of each such deposit, of the date of the

coming into force of the Treaty under paragraph (a) of Article

23, and of any notifications made under paragraph (b) of Article

23.

Article 25

For the purposes of the present Treaty the Allied Powers shall

be the States at war with Japan, or any State which previously

formed a part of the territory of a State named in Article 23,

provided that in each case the State concerned has signed and

ratified the Treaty. Subject to the provisions of Article 21, the

present Treaty shall not confer any rights, titles or benefits on

any State which is not an Allied Power as herein defined; nor

shall any right, title or interest of Japan be deemed to be

diminished or prejudiced by any provision of the Treaty in favor

of a State which is not an Allied Power as so defined.

Article 26

Japan will be prepared to conclude with any State which signed

or adhered to the United Nations Declaration of J anuary 1, 1942,

and which is at war with Japan, or with any State which

20a

Appendix A

previously formed a part of the territory of a State named in

Article 23, which is not a signatory of the present Treaty, a

bilateral Treaty of Peace on the same or substantially the same

terms as are provided for in the present Treaty, but this

obligation on the part of Japan will expire three years after the

first coming into force of the present Treaty. Should Japan

make a peace settlement or war claims settlement with any State

granting that State greater advantages than those provided by

the present Treaty, those same advantages shall be extended to

the parties to the present Treaty.

Article 27

The present Treaty shall be deposited in the archives of the

Government of the United States of America which shall

furnish each signatory State with a certified copy thereof.

2la

Appendix B

AGREEMENT ON THE SETTLEMENT OF PROBLEMS

CONCERNING PROPERTY AND CLAIMS AND ON

THE ECONOMIC CO-OPERATION BETWEEN JAPAN

AND THE REPUBLIC OF KOREA

June 22, 1965

Tokyo, Japan

Japan and the Republic of Korea,

Desiring to settle [the] problem concerning property of the two

countries and their nationals and claims between the two

countries and their nationals; and

Desiring to promote the economic co-operation between the two

countries;

Have agreed as follows:

Article I

1. To the Republic of Korea Japan shall:

(a) Supply the products of Japan and the services of the

Japanese people, the total value of which will be so much in yen

as shall be equivalent to three hundred million United States

dollars ($300,000,000) at present Computed at one hundred and

eight billion yen (¥108,000,000,000), in grants [on a non-

repayable basis] within the period of ten years from the date of

the entry into force of the present Agreement. The supply of

such products and services in each year shall be limited to [shall

be such] such amount in yen as shall be equivalent to thirty

million United States dollars ($30,000,000) at present computed

at ten billion eight hundred million yen (¥10,800,000,000); in

case the supply of any one year falls short of the set amount, the

remainder shall be added to the amounts of the supplies for the

next and subsequent years. However, the ceiling on the amount

22a

Appendix B

of the supply for any one year can be raised [increased] by

agreement between the Governments of the Contracting Parties.

(b) Extend long-term and low-interest loans up to such

amount in yen as shall be equivalent to two hundred million

United States dollars ($200,000,000) at present computed at

seventy-two billion yen (¥72,000,000,000), which _ the

Government of the Republic of Korea may request and which-

shall be used for the procurement by the Republic of Korea of

the products of Japan and the services of the Japanese people

necessary in implementing the projects to be determined in

accordance with arrangements to be concluded under the

provisions of paragraph 3 of the present Article, within the

period of ten years from the date of the entry into force of the

present Agreement. Such loans shall be extended by the

Overseas Economic Co-operation Fund of Japan, and the

Government of Japan shall take necessary measures in order

that the said Fund will be able to secure the necessary funds for

implementing the loans evenly each year.

The above-mentioned supply and loans should be such that will

be conducive to the economic development of the Republic of

Korea.

2. The Governments of the Contracting Parties shall establish,

as an organ of consultation between the two Governments with

powers to recommend on matters concerning the

implementation of the provisions of the present Article, a Joint

Committee composed of representatives of the two

Governments.

3. The Governments of the Contracting Parties shall conclude

necessary arrangements for the implementation of the

provisions of the present Article.

23a

Appendix B

Article II

1. The Contracting Parties confirm that [the] problem

concerning property, rights and interests of the two Contracting

Parties and their nationals (including juridical persons) and

concerning claims between the Contracting Parties and their

nationals, including those provided for in Article IV, paragraph

(a) of the Treaty of Peace with Japan signed at the city of San

Francisco on September 8, 1951, is settled completely and

finally.

2. The provisions of the present Article shall not affect the

following (excluding those subject to the special measures

which the respective Contracting Parties have taken by the date

of the signing of the present Agreement):

(a) Property, rights and interests of those nationals of either

Contracting Party who have ever resided in the other country in

the period between August 15, 1947, and the date of the signing

of the present Agreement;

(b) Property, rights and interests of either Contracting Party

and its nationals, which have been acquired or have come

within the jurisdiction of the other Contracting Party in the

course of normal contacts on or after August 15, 1945.

3. Subject to the provisions of paragraph 2, no contention shall

be made with respect to the measures on property, rights and

interests of either Contracting Party and its nationals which are

within the jurisdiction of other Contracting Party on the date of

the signing of the present Agreement, or with respect to any

claims of either Contracting Party and its nationals against the

other Contracting Party and its nationals arising from the causes

which occurred on or before the said date.

24a

Appendix B

Article III

1. Any dispute between the Contracting Parties concerning the

interpretation and implementation of the present Agreement

shall be settled, first of all, through diplomatic channels.

2. Any dispute which fails to be settled under the provision of

paragraph 1 shall be referred for decision to an arbitration

board composed of three arbitrators, one to be appointed by the

Government of each Contracting Party within a period of thirty

days from the date of receipt by the Government of either

Contracting Party from the Government of the other of a note

requesting arbitration of the dispute, and the third to be agreed

upon by the two arbitrators so chosen within a further period of

thirty days or the third arbitrator to be appointed by the

government of a third country agreed upon within such further

period by the two arbitrators, provided that the third arbitrator

shall not be a national of either Contracting Party. ©

3. If, within the periods respectively referred to, the

Government of either Contracting Party fails to appoint an

arbitrator, or the third arbitrator or a third country is not agreed

upon, the arbitration board shall be composed of the two

arbitrators to be designated by each of the governments of the

twe countries respectively chosen by the Governments of the

Contracting Parties within a period of thirty days and the third

arbitrator to be designated by the government of a third country

to be determined upon consultation between the governments so

chosen.

4. The Governments of the Contracting Parties shall abide by

any award made by the arbitration board under the provisions of

the present Article.

Article IV

The present Agreement shall be ratified. The instruments of

ratification shall be exchanged at Seoul as soon as possible. The

25a

Appendix B

present Agreement shall enter into force on the date of the

exchange of the instruments of ratification.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, being duly

authorized thereto by their respective Governments, have signed

the present Agreement.

DONE in duplicate at Tokyo, in the Japanese and Korean

languages, both being equally authentic, this twenty-second day

of June of the year one thousand nine hundred and sixty-five.

For Japan: For the Republic of Korea:

Etsusaburo Shiina Tong Won Lee

Shinichi Takasugi Dong Jo Kim

26a

Appendix C

TREATY OF PEACE BETWEEN THE

REPUBLIC OF CHINA AND JAPAN

April 28, 1952

Taipei, Taiwan

The Republic of China and Japan,

Considering their mutual desire for good neighborliness in

view of their historical and cultural ties and geographical

proximity;

Realizing the importance of their close cooperation to the

promotion of their common welfare and to the maintenance of

international peace and security;

Recognizing the need of a settlement of problems that have

arisen as a result of the existence of a state of war between them;

Have resolved to conclude a Treaty of Peace and have

accordingly appointed as their Plenipotentiaries,

His Excellency the President of the Republic of China:

Mr. Yeh Kung Chao;

_ The Government of Japan: Mr. Isao Kawada;

Who, having communicated to each other their full powers

found to be in good and due form, have agreed upon the

following articles:

27a

Appendix C

Article I

The state of war between the Republic of China and Japan is

terminated as frorn the date on which the present Treaty enters

into force.

Article IT

It is recognized that under Article 2 of the Treaty of Peace

with Japan signed at the city of San Francisco in the United

States of America on September 8, 1951 (hereinafter referred to

as the San Francisco Treaty), Japan has renounced all right, title

and claim to Taiwan (Formosa) and Penghu (the Pescadores) as

well as the Spratly Islands and the Paracel Islands.

\ Article IIT

The disposition of property of Japan and its nationals in

Taiwan (Formosa) and Penghu (the Pescadores), and their

claims, including debts, against the authorities of the Republic

of China in Taiwan (Formosa) and Penghu (the Pescadores) and

the residents thereof, and the disposition in Japan of property of

such authorities and residents and their claims, including debts,

against Japan and its nationals, shall be the subject of special

arrangements between the Government of the Republic of

China and the Government of Japan. The terms nationals and

residents whenever used in the present Treaty include juridical

persons.

Article IV

It is recognized that all treaties, conventions and agreements

concluded before December 9, 1941, between China and Japan

have become null and void as a consequence of the war.

Article V

It is recognized that under the provisions of Article 10 of the

San Francisco Treaty, Japan has renounced all special rights and

28a

Appendix C

its interests in China, including all benefits and privileges

resulting from the provisions of the final Protocol signed at

Peking on September 7, 1901, and all annexes, notes and

documents supplementary thereto, and has agreed to the

abrogation in respect to Japan of the said protocol, annexes,

notes and documents.

Article VI

(a) The Republic of China and Japan will be guided by the

principles of Article 2 of the Charter of the United Nations in

their mutual relations.

(b) The Republic of China and Japan will cooperate in

accordance with the principles of the Charter of the United

Nations and, in particular, will promote their common welfare

through friendly cooperation in the economic field.

Article VII

The Republic of China and Japan will endeavor to conclude,

as soon as possible, a treaty or agreement to place their trading,

maritime and other commercial relations, on a stable and

friendly basis.

Article VIII

The Republic of China and Japan will endeavor to conclude,

as soon as possible, an agreement relating to civil air transport.

Article IX

The Republic of China and Japan will endeavor to conclude,

as soon as possible, an agreement providing for the regulation

or limitation of fishing and the conservation and development

of fisheries on the high seas.

29a

Appendix C

Article X

For the purposes of the present Treaty, nationals of the

Republic of China shall be deemed to include all the inhabitants

and former inhabitants of Taiwan (Formosa) and Penghu (the

Pescadores) and their descendents who are of the Chinese

nationality in accordance with the laws and regulations which

have been or may hereafter be enforced by the Republic of

China in Taiwan (Formosa) and Penghu (the Pescadores); and

juridical persons of the Republic of China shall be deemed to

include all those registered under the laws and regulations

which have been or may hereafter be enforced by the Republic

of China in Taiwan (Formosa) and Penghu (the Pescadores).

Article XI

Unless otherwise provided for in the present Treaty and the

documents supplementary thereto, any problem arising between

the Republic of China and Japan as a result of the existence of a

state of war shall be settled in accordance with the relevant

provisions of the San Francisco Treaty.

Article XII

Any dispute that may arise out of the interpretation or

application of the present Treaty shall be settled by negotiation

or other pacific means.

Article XIII

The present Treaty shall be ratified and the instruments of

ratification shall be exchanged at Taipei as soon as possible.

The present Treaty shall enter into force as from the date on

which such instruments of ratification are exchanged.

30a

Appendix C

Article XIV

The present Treaty shall be in the Chinese, Japanese, and

English languages. In case of any divergence of interpretation,

the English text shall prevail.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the respective Plenipotentiaries

have signed the present Treaty and have affixed thereto their

seals.

DONE in duplicate at Taipei, this Twenty Eighth day of the

Fourth month of the Forty First year of the Republic of China,

corresponding to the Twenty Eighth day of the Fourth month of

the Twenty Seventh year of Showa of Japan and to the Twenty

Eighth day of April in the year One Thousand Nine Hundred

and Fifty Two.

For the Republic of China: For Japan:

Yeh Kung Chao Isao Kawada

rrr oe ee Pe ae Tene miter ge}

3la

Appendix D

JOINT COMMUNIQUE OF THE GOVERNMENT

OF JAPAN AND THE GOVERNMENT OF

THE PEOPLE’S REPUBLIC OF CHINA

September 29, 1972

Peking, People’s Republic of China

Prime Minister Kakuei Tanaka of Japan visited the

People’s Republic of China at the invitation of Premier of the

State Council Chou En-lai of the People’s Republic of China

from September 25 to September 30, 1972. Accompanying

Prime Minister Tanaka were Minister for Foreign Affairs

Masayoshi Ohira, Chief Cabinet Secretary Susumu Nikaido and

other government officials.

Chairman Mao Tse-tung met Prime Minister Kakuei Tanaka on

September 27. They had an earnest and friendly conversation.

Prime Minister Tanaka and Minister for Foreign Affairs Ohira

had an earnest and frank exchange of views with Premier Chou

En-lai and Minister for Foreign Affairs Chi Peng-fei in a

friendly atmosphere throughout on the question of the

normalization of relations between Japan and China and other

problems between the two countries as well as on other matters

of interest to both sides, and agreed to issue the following Joint

Communiqué of the two Governments:

Japan and China are neighboring countries, separated only by a

strip of water with a long history of traditional friendship. The

peoples of the two countries earnestly desire to put an end to the

abnormal state of affairs that has hitherto existed between the

two countries. The realization of the aspiration of the two

peoples for the termination of the state of war and the

normalization of relations between Japan and China will add a

new page to the annals of relations between the two countries.

The Japanese side is keenly conscious of the responsibility for

the serious damage that Japan caused in the past to the Chinese

32a

Appendix D

people through war, and deeply reproaches itself. Further, the

Japanese side reaffirms its position that it intends to realize the

normalization of relations between the two countries from the

stand of fully understanding “the three principles for the

restoration of relations” put forward by the Government of the

People’s Republic of China. The Chinese side expresses its

welcome for this.

In spite of the differences in their social systems existing

between the two countries, the two countries should, and can,

establish relations of peace and friendship. The normalization of

relations and development of good-neighborly and friendly

relations between the two countries are in the interests of the

two peoples and will contribute to the relaxation of tension in

Asia and peace in the world.

1. The abnormal state of affairs that has hitherto

existed between Japan and the People’s Republic of China is

terminated on the date on which this Joint Communiqué is

issued.

2. The Government of Japan recognizes that

Government of the People’s Republic of China as the sole legal

Government of China.

3. The Government of the People’s Republic of China

reiterates that Taiwan is an inalienable part of the territory of

the People’s Republic of China. The Government of Japan fully

understands and respects this stand of the Government of the

People’s Republic of China, and it firmly maintains its stand

under Article 8 of the Potsdam Proclamation.

4. The Government of Japan and the Government of

People’s Republic of China have decided to establish

diplomatic relations as from September 29, 1972. The two

Governments have decided to take all necessary measures for

the establishment and the performance of the functions of each

other’s embassy in their respective capitals in accordance with

33a

Appendix D

international law and practice, and to exchange ambassadors as

speedily as possible.

5. The Government of the People’s Republic of China

declares that in the interest of the friendship between the

Chinese and the Japanese peoples, it renounces its demand for

war reparation from Japan.

6. The Government of Japan and the Government of

the People’s Republic of China agree to establish relations of

perpetual peace and friendship between the two countries on the

basis of the principles of mutual respect for sovereignty and

territorial integrity, mutual non-aggression, non-interference in

each other’s internal affairs, equality and mutual benefit and

peaceful co-existence.

The two Governments confirm that, in conformity with

the foregoing principles and the principles of the Charter of the

United Nations, Japan and China shall in their mutual relations

settle all disputes by peaceful means and shall refrain from the

use or threat of force.

7. The normalization of relations between Japan and

China is not directed against any third country. Neither of the

two countries should seek hegemony in the Asia-Pacific region

and each is opposed to efforts by any other country or group of

countries to establish such hegemony.

8. The Government of Japan and the Government of

the People’s Republic of China have agreed that, with a view to

solidifying and developing the relations of peace and friendship

between the two countries, the two Governments will enter into

negotiations for the purpose of concluding a treaty of peace and

friendship.

9. The Government of Japan and the Government of

the People’s Republic of China have agreed that, with a view to

further promoting relations between the two countries and to

34a

Appendix D

expanding interchanges of people, the two Governments will, as

necessary and taking account of the existing non-governmental

arrangements, enter into negotiations for the purpose of

concluding agreements concerning such matters as trade,

shipping, aviation, and fisheries.

Done at Peking, September 29, 1972

Prime Minister of Japan

Minister for Foreign Affairs of Japan

Premier of the State Council of the People’s Republic of China

Minister for Foreign Affairs of the People’s Republic of China

~ 35a

Appendix E

TREATY OF PEACE AND FRIENDSHIP BETWEEN

THE PEOPLE’S REPUBLIC OF CHINA AND JAPAN

August 12, 1978

_ Peking, People’s Republic of China

The People’s Republic of China and Japan,

Recalling with satisfaction that since the Government of

the People’s Republic of China and the Government of Japan

issued a Joint Statement in Peking on September 29, 1972, the

friendly relations between the two Governments and the peoples

of the two countries have developed greatly on a new basis,

Confirming that the above-mentioned Joint Statement

constitutes the basis of the relations of peace and friendship

between the two countries and that the principles enunciated in

the Joint Statement should be strictly observed,

Confirming that the principles of the Charter of the

United Nations should be fully respected,

Hoping to contribute to peace and stability in Asia and

in the world,

For the purpose of solidifying and developing the

relations of peace and friendship between the two countries,

Have resolved to conclude a Treaty of Peace and

Friendship and for that purpose have appointed as their

Plenipotentiaries:

The People’s Republic of China:

Huang Hua, Minister for Foreign Affairs

Japan:

Sunao Sonoda, Minister for F oreign Affairs

36a

Appendix E

Who, having communicated to each other their full

powers, found to be in good and due form, have agreed as

follows:

Article I

1. The Contracting Parties shall develop durable relations of

peace and friendship between the two countries on the basis of

the principles of mutual respect for sovereignty and territorial

integrity, mutual non-aggression, non-interference in each

other’s internal affairs, equality and mutual benefit and peaceful

coexistence.

2. In keeping with the foregoing principles and the principles

of the United Nations Charter, the Contracting Parties affirm

that in their mutual relations, all disputes shall be settled by

peaceful means without resorting to the use or threat of force.

Article II

The Contracting Parties declare that neither of them should

seek hegemony in the Asia-Pacific region or in any other region

and that each is opposed to efforts by any other country or

group of countries to establish such hegemony.

Article III

The Contracting Parties shall, in a good-neighbourly and

friendly spirit and in conformity with the principles of equality

_ and mutual benefit and non-interference in each other’s internal

affairs, endeavour to further develop economic and cultural

relations between the two countries and to promote exchanges

between the peoples of the two countries.

Article IV

The present Treaty shall not affect the position of either

Contracting Party regarding its relations with third countries.

Most y 5

a ae

» > we ee Atnth A Soh A De Y8 hog ea TL lr AME ate SIs are ete

hh A nb ARN a TPR tabs Me oeg i PULA GRETA Roahe peat a els RE GORE

Ae ee PY

37a

Appendix E

Article V

1. The present Treaty shall be ratified and shall enter into force

on the date of the exchange of instruments of ratification which

shall take place at Tokyo. The present Treaty shall remain in

force for ten years and thereafter shall continue to be in force

until terminated in accordance with the provisions of

paragraph 2 of this Article.

2. Either Contracting Party may, by giving one year’s written

notice to the other Contracting Party, terminate the present

Treaty at the end of the initial ten-year period or at any time

thereafter.

li: witness whereof the respective Plenipotentiaries have

signed the present Treaty and have affixed thereto their seals.

Done in duplicate in the Chinese and Japanese

languages, both texts being equally authentic, at Peking, this

twelfth day of August 1978.

For the People’s Republic of China: For Japan:

Huang Hua Sunao Sonoda

38a

Appendix F

Nos. 01-17197, 01-17201, 01-17203, 01-17207

01-17211, 01-17243, and 01-17251

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE NINTH CIRCUIT

SUK YOON KIM, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V.

ISHKAWAJIMA HIRIMA HEAVY INDUS. CO., LTD., et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

BRIEF FOR AMICUS CURIAE THE UNITED STATES

OF AMERICA CONCERNING GROUP 4

IN SUPPORT OF AFFIRMANCE

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF

CALIFORNIA, THE HONORABLE VAUGHN R. WALKER

Of Counsel: ROBERT D. McCALLUM, JR.

Assistant Attorney General

JAMES G. HERGEN

LARA A. BALLARD DAVID W. SHAPIRO

United States Dept. of State United States Attorney

Office of the Legal Advisor

Washington, D.C. 20037

39a

Appendix F

MARK B. STERN

DOUGLAS HALLWARD-DRIEMEIER

Attorneys, Appellate Staff

Civil Division, Room 9113

Department of Justice

Washington, DC 20530-0001

Tel: (202) 514-5735

Fax: (202) 514-9405

Attorneys for the United States

40a

Appendix F

Table of Contents

I eivnsnincesetevincncianniniontdsinnieisininemieacnaennenianbalmaneets 42a

I siscrseisssssicsccpniniscsaicsinsiinsccslipibapiniissiaidaaalaniainiasiaibimilimainni 42a

ER re Sy OE I iiss 42a

2. California’s World War II Forced Labor

ID recsnrsnrvonsntsuinvoinsapisannsiendanittanianmcaitenntibucteciondinin 47a

3. Proceedings in the District Court .......... ee 48a

Ce Ra TI He 49a

PUTT circ ciectsitcintientanieiarnadhdbeenteabiiaiabptudmtianeaemaeate 50a

I. THE CONSTITUTION PRECLUDES

CALIFORNIA FROM INTERFERING IN THE

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT'S

DETERMINATION THAT PLAINTIFFS’

CLAIMS SHOULD BE RESOLVED THROUGH

GOVERNMENT-TO-GOVERNMENT

PTE scenic nantiulmninnniantinanamiminniinnaitih 50a

A. The Constitution Vests Full and Exclusive

Responsibility For Foreign Relations In The

ee « ibianedhniaiaunicaliiiasiaileen 50a

B. Federal Law Preempts California’s Forced

Labor Statute, Which Stands As An

Obstacle To Achieving The United States’

Foreign Policy Established In The 1951

I asiicievicaiacheenicetncesittacteenteinsigsenguitaieanenpiciie 53a

4la

Appendix F

C. Even if Not Affirmatively Preempted, the

California Forced Labor Statute Is an

Unconstitutional Intrusion Into the Conduct

| _____EREIte nn HTieTRa 56a

ll. THE CALIFORNIA WORLD WAR II FORCED

LABOR STATUTE IS EXTRATERRITORIAL

LEGISLATION THAT IS BEYOND THE

AUTHORITY OF THE STATE TO ENACT.........ccccecceceees 62a

a eI acts copie seescssiasesrebselilecnia scant habbia tela 67a

42a

Appendix F

INTRODUCTION

The Constitution assigns to the Federal Government

exclusive responsibility for conducting the nation’s foreign

policy. At the conclusion of World War II, the President and

Senate determined that the United States’ interests in security

and stability in Asia would be best served by rebuilding Japan

into a strong, democratic ally. They recognized that this would

not be possible as long as Japan and its industrial base were

subject to ongoing compensation claims arising out of the war.

At the same time, the United States insisted that Japan pay some

compensation for the untold injury it had caused during the war.

Balancing these interests, the Treaty of Peace between the

United States, other Allied nations, and Japan, provided for

resolution, on a government-to-government basis, of all war

related claims and, in return, required Japan to relinquish

billions of dollars in foreign assets to those who had suffered at

the hands of the Japanese.

Now, half a century after the war’s end, the California

legislature has adopted a statute that encourages litigation of ~

precisely those claims that the Treaty provided should be

resolved by inter-governmental arrangement. California’s

World War Il forced labor statute goes far beyond the State’s

legitimate domestic interests and interferes in a direct and

significant way in matters of foreign relations, undermining in

the process long-established federal policy.

BACKGROUND

1. The 1951 Treaty of Peace.

The Treaty of Peace signed on September 8, 1951 between

the United States, 47 other Allied powers, and Japan formally

concluded World War II with respect to the Pacific Theater.

See 3 U.S.T. 3169. The Treaty reflects the United States

43a

Appendix F

government’s foreign policy determination that all war-related

claims against Japan and its nationals — including private

claims and including the claims of those whose governments

were not party to the Treaty— should be resolved by

government-to government agreement rather than litigation.’

John Foster Dulles, the United States’ principal negotiator,

believed that continued demands for war claims compensation

would prevent Japan’s economic recovery and its development

into a reliable democratic ally against communism. The Korean

War had begun; communist forces had taken control of the

Chinese mainland; and Soviet expansionism was a world-wide

threat. Japan was at the center of these geopolitical forces. The

United States viewed an economically stable, anti-communist

Japan as essential to the United States’ interests in the Pacific

region. Japan could not play that role if it were subject to

continuing war-related claims that might stifle its economy. See

generally August 2000 Statement, 3-7 [Signatory SER 340-44].

Nor did the United States and the Allies want to repeat the

experience of the Versailles Treaty after World War I, which

many consider to be one of the root causes of World War II.

See generally id. at 4-6 [Signatory SER 341-43]. Finally, the

United States government, having assumed sole responsibility

for Japan’s recovery during the occupation of Japan following

the war, concluded that any substantial payment of war-related

claims ultimately would come out of the pockets of the

American taxpayers. See ibid. For these reasons, the President,

and the Senate in its advise-and-consent role, determined that

' The history of the 1951 Treaty is discussed in much greater detail, with

extensive citations to the historical record, in the August 9, 2000, and

December 6, 2000, Statements of Interest filed by the United States with

the district court. See Supplemental Excerpts of Record Concerning

Groups 1, 2, & 3 [Signatory SER], 328 (“August 2000 Statement”);

Supplemental Excerpts of Record filed in Kim et al [Non-Signatory SER],

498 (“December 2000 Statement”).

44a

Appendix F

all claims against Japan and its nationals should be waived in

exchange for the forfeiture by Japan and its nationals of their

foreign assets.

The Allied nations that are parties to the Treaty, including

the United States, expressly waived all claims that they or their

nationals might have against Japan and its nationals arising out

of the war. Article 14 of the Treaty authorized Allied

governments “to seize * * * all property, rights and interests of

* * * Japan and Japanese Nationals” located in the Allies’

respective jurisdictions in exchange for a commitment by Japan

to help rebuild the territory it had occupied and a waiver of

claims by Allied governments and their nationals against Japan

and Japanese nationals. Art. 14. The waiver provision states:

Except as otherwise provided in the present Treaty, the

Allied Powers waive all reparations claims of the Allied

Powers, other claims of the Allied Powers and their

nationals arising out of any actions taken by Japan and its

nationals in the course of the prosecution of the war, and

claims of the Allied Powers for direct military costs of

occupation.

Art. 14(b).

In addition to finally resolving the Allies’ own war claims

and those of their nationals, the Treaty also provided that the

war claims of non-signatory countries and their nationals were

to be resolved by government-to-government negotiations.

These claims, especially those of China and Korea, were

extremely large. Japan’s infamous conduct in Nanking and its

use of Asian slave labor was well documented by the time of

the Treaty’s negotiation. See December 2000 Statement, 4-6

[Non-Signatory SER 507-09]. If left unresolved, these

potentially enormous liabilities would likely have prevented

Japan’s economic recovery. Permitting assertion of these

claims would thus have been flatly at odds with one of the chief

reasons for the Allies’ agreement to waive their own claims and

45a

Appendix F

those of their nationals. See ibid See also Memorandum of

Conversation, by the Officer in Charge of Korean Affairs

(Emmons), Washington, Jan. 17, 1951 (Ex. 8 to the December

2000 Statement) (“any reparations which might be paid to the

Koreans by the Japanese would in fact come from the United

States taxpayers”). The Allies thus determined that the Treaty

should also provide for the resolution of these nonsignatory

claims.

Implementing this policy posed significant difficulties. No

consensus existed among the Allies as to whether the People’s

Republic of China (“PRC”) or the Republic of ‘China

(“Taiwan”) legally represented China. Neither could Korea be

a party to the Treaty because Korea, as part of the Japanese

empire, had fought against the Allies during the Pacific War.

As a result of these complications, no Chinese or Korean

political entities signed the 1951 Treaty, and Article 14(b)’s

waiver provision does not, by its own terms, cover the PRC,

Taiwan, or North or South Korea. See generally December

2000 Statement 4-6 [Non-Signatory SER 507-09].

To achieve their foreign policy goals, the Allies inserted into

the Treaty several other provisions intended to ensure that

Chinese and Korean war claims against Japan were also

resolved through government-to-government arrangements.

Although China and Korea were not signatories, the Treaty

provided that China and Korea would receive from Japan the

same compensation that the Allies had obtained for themselves

in return for waiving their claims. In turn, the Treaty obligated

Japan to enter into bilateral agreements with Chinese and

Korean representatives on terms similar to those provided in the

Treaty.

Article 21 of the Treaty gave China the benefits of Articles

10, in which Japan renounced all iights and interests in China,

and 14(a)2, which authorized China to seize and liquidate all

assets of Japan and Japanese nationals located in Chinese

territory. These provisions were extremely significant to China;

46a

Appendix F

almost half of all Japanese-owned foreign assets were located in

China. See December 2000 Statement at 4 [Non-Signatory SER

507]. In return, Article 26 provided that Japan was expected to

enter into a separate treaty settling the war with a Chinese

political entity “on the same or substantially the same terms as

are provided for in the present Treaty.” Art. 26 (emphasis

added). As contemplated by Article 26, a subsequent treaty

between Japan and the Republic of China (“Taiwan”) states that

“property of such authorities and residents [of Taiwan] and their

claims against Japan and its nationals, shall be the subject of

special arrangements between the Government of the Republic

of China and the Government of Japan.” See Treaty of Peace

Between the Republic of China and Japan, April 28, 1952, 1858

U.N.T.S. 38 [Non-Signatory SER .

The Treaty of Peace dealt with Korean war claims against

Japan in a similar fashion. Article 21 stated that Kofea was

entitled to the benefits of Articles 2, 4, 9, and 12 of the Treaty.

Article 2 required Japan to recognize Korea’s independence and

renounce all claims to Korea. Article 4(b), as construed by the

United States, gave Korea the same benefits the Allies had

obtained for themselves. It authorized the seizure by Korean

authorities of all Japanese-owned assets in Korea — assets worth

billions of dollars. See December 2000 Statement, 8 [Non-

Signatory SER 511]. In turn, Article 4(a) provided that the

“claims * * * of [Korean] authorities and residents against

Japan and its nationals, shall be the subject of special

arrangements between Japan and [Korean] authorities.”

As contemplated in Article 4(a), Japan and the Republic of

Korea (“South Korea”) entered into an agreement in 1965,

following years of protracted negotiations in which the United

States was heavily involved. 8473 U.N.T.S. 258 [Non-

Signatory SER, 352]. The terms of this agreement were greatly

influenced by the fact that Korea had already received

substantial compensation under Article 4(b) of the 1951 Treaty.

Article II.1 of the Japan-ROK treaty specifically provides that

47a

Appendix F

the “problem * * * concerning claims between the Contracting

Parties and their nationals, including those provided for in

Article IV, paragraph (a) of the [1951] Treaty of Peace * * * is

settled completely and finally.” Non-Signatory SER, 354. A

similar agreement between Japan and North Korea is currently

under negotiation.

2. California’s World War II Forced Labor Statute.

In 1999, California enacted a statute that permits World War

II slave and forced laborers to sue the companies that benefited

from their labor. See Cal. Code of Civ. Pro. § 354.6. The

author of the provision, State Senator Tom Hayden, stated at the

time of its enactment that the law was intended to “send[] a

very powerful message from California to the U.S. government

and the German government, who are in the midst of rather

closed negotiations about a settlement” of World War II-era

claims. See Henry Weinstein, Bill Signed Bolstering

Holocaust-Era Claims, Los Angeles Times, July 29, 1999, at

A3 (1999 WL 2181642) (emphasis added). The “message,”

according to Hayden, was that “[i]f the international negotiators

want to avoid very expensive litigation by survivors * * *, they

ought to settle. Otherwise, this law allows us to go ahead and

take them to court.” Jbid.

The California statute creates a cause of action for victims of

Slave labor practices of the “Nazi regime, its allies and

sympathizers” with uniquely favorable substantive and

procedural rules. See Cal. Civ. Pro. § 354.6. The statute

permits any “prisoner-of-war,” “concentration camp” prisoner,

or “member of the civilian population conquered by the Nazi

regime, its allies or sympathizers,” who was forced “to perform

labor without pay for any period of time between 1929 and

1945, by the Nazi regime, its allies and sympathizers,” or

companies within their jurisdictions, to bring suit to recover the

“market value” of the labor they performed. Jbid California

has defined the cause of action so as to remove any defense

48a

Appendix F

based on the law of the place where the conduct occurred, id.

§ 354.6(b), affixed damages in a manner to eliminate the effect

of post-war inflation, id. § 354.6(a)(3), made corporations doing

business in California liable for the debts of their Asian and

European affiliates, without regard to traditional principles of

corporate identity, id § 354.6(b), and set aside generally-

applicable statutes of limitations in favor of a limitations period

that extends to 2010, id. § 354.6(c).

3. Proceedings in the District Court

Plaintiffs are nationals of China and Kcerea who allege that,

during World War II, they were forced by the Japanese

government to perform labor for Japanese companies in support

of Japan’s war effort. See, e.g., Non-Signatory ER 11-25,

43-57, 98-99. Plaintiffs, purporting to represent all similarly

situated Korean and Chinese nationals, filed class action suits

against the companies for which they were forced to work as

well as their American affiliates. Plaintiffs allege claims under

California’s Section 354.6 as well as common law causes of

action. Defendants moved to dismiss, arguing, among other

grounds, that plaintiffs’ claims present no1-justiciable political

questions, that the suits are barred by the 1951 Treaty of Peace,

and that California’s forced labor statute is unconstitutional.

The United States, appearing as amicus curiae, filed a

Statement of Interest supporting dismissa. The United States

explained that California’s forced labor statute frustrates the

foreign policy of the United States, established in the 1951

Treaty of Peace, that claims such as plaintiffs’ are to be

resolved through government-to-government arrangements

rather than through litigation.

On September 17, 2001, the distnct court dismissed

plaintiffs’ claims. See In re World War II Era Japanese Forced

Labor Litigation, 164 F. Supp. 2d 11€0 (N.D. Cal. 2001).

Although the district court found that the Treaty of Peace did

49a

Appendix F

not directly bar plaintiffs’ claims, because neither Korea nor

China had signed the Treaty, id. at 1165-66, the court held that

the California” legislature had impermissibly attempted to

intrude into the conduct of foreign policy when it attempted to

create a cause of action for wrongs committed by Japan and its

nationals during World War II, id. at 1166-78. With respect to

plaintiffs’ Alien Tort Statute and remaining state-law claims,

the court held that, even under the longest statute of limitations

that might arguably apply, plaintiffs’ claims were time-barred.

Id. at 1178-83.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

1. The Constitution grants to the Federal Government

exclusive authority to conduct the nation’s foreign relations, an

area that the Framers determined should “be left entirely free

from local interference.” Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 63

(1941). The Supreme Court has enforced the constitutional

design by striking down state laws that would frustrate the

objectives of established federal foreign policy and, even in the

absence of federal action, setting aside state regulations that

have more than an indirect effect on the nation’s foreign

relations. Under these precedents, California’s policy of

promoting litigation of World War II forced labor claims must

give way. The State’s foreign policy conflicts with the

considered judgment of the President and Senate, reflected in

the 1951 Treaty of Peace, that such claims against Japanese

nationals should be resolved by government-to-government

agreement, rather than individual litigation.

2. Section 354.6 also violates additional constitutional limits

on the jurisdictional reach of state law. It is an inherent

constraint of our federal system of government, reflected in

both the Commerce Clause and Due Process Clause of the

United States Constitution, that each State may legislate only

with respect to matters that take place within its borders. A

50a

Appendix F

contrary view would permit the proliferation of conflicting legal

obligations.

California’s forced labor statute is a clear example of

extraterritorial legislation. The conduct that California seeks to

regulate took place exclusively in foreign lands, with no

perceptible connection to California. The fact that certain

named plaintiffs have subsequently moved to California does

not give California the authority to apply its substantive law to

events that took place entirely outside the State’s boundaries.

The legislation cannot be saved by casting it as a mere

“statute of limitations.” The structure and language of Section

354.6 betray the State’s attempt to define the substantive as well

as procedural rules under which the defendants’ liability is to be

determined.

ARGUMENT

I. THE CONSTITUTION PRECLUDES CALIFORNIA

FROM INTERFERING IN THE FEDERAL

GOVERNMENT’S DETERMINATION THAT

PLAINTIFFS’ CLAIMS SHOULD BE RESOLVED

THROUGH GOVERNMENT-TO-GOVERNMENT

ARRANGEMENTS.

A. The Constitution Vests Full and Exclusive Responsibility

For Foreign Relations In The Federal Government.

From the earliest days of the Republic, the Supreme Court

has recognized that the Constitution’s specific commitment of

foreign affairs powers to the national government” and the

* The Constitution grants to Congress the authority “[t]o regulate Commerce

with foreign Nations,” U.S. Const. Art. I, § 8, cl. 3, and “[t]o define and

punish Piracies and Felonies committed on the high Seas, and Offences

against the Law of Nations,” id., cl. 10. The Constitution also designates

the President as the “Commander in Chief of the Army and Navy of the

Sla

Appendix F

express prohibitions on the States’ activities in that sphere?

reflect a general rule of exclusive federal authority over

international relations. “Power over external affairs is not

shared by the States; it is vested in the national government

exclusively.” United States v. Pink, 315 U.S. 203, 233 (1942).

See also Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52, 63 (1941) (the

Federal Government is entrusted “with full and exclusive

responsibility for the conduct of affairs with foreign

sovereignties”); United States v. Arjona, 120 U.S. 479, 487

(1887) (power to define and punish violations of the Law of

Nations is “conferred by the constitution on the government of

the United States exclusively”).

In light of the “imperative[] * * * that federal power in the

field affecting foreign relations be left entirely free from local

interference,” Hines, 312 U.S. at 63, the Supreme Court has

held that state “regulations must give way if they impair the

effective exercise of the Nation’s foreign policy,” Zschernig v.

Miller, 389 U.S. 429, 440 (1968).

United States,” id., Art. II, § 2, cl. 1, and gives him the authority to “make

Treaties” and “appoint Ambassadors” with the “Advice and Consent of

the Senate,” id, cl. 2, and to “receive Ambassadors and other public

Ministers,” id., § 3.

The Constitution also confers upon Congress the authority “[t]o lay and

collect * * * Duties, Imposts and Excises,” and “provide for the common

Defence,” U.S. Const. Art. I, § 8, cl. 1, “[t]o establish a uniform Rule of

Naturalization,” id., cl. 4, “[t]o declare War, grant Letters of Marque and

Reprisal, and make Rules concerning Captures on Land and Water,” id, cl.

11, “[t]o raise and support Armies,” id. cl. 12, “[t]o provide and maintain

a Navy,” id. cl. 13, and to regulate “the land and naval forces,” id. cl. 14.

> The Constitution provides that “[nJo State shall enter into any Treaty,

Alliance, or Confederation; grant Letters of Marque and Reprisal” or,

without the consent of Congress, “lay any Imposts or Duties on Imports or

Exports,” “keep Troops or Ships of War in time of Peace,” “enter into any

Agreement or Compact * * * with a foreign Power,” or “engage in War,

unless actually invaded.” U.S. Const. Art. 1, § 10.

52a

Appendix F

Because the conduct of foreign policy is committed to the

Federal Government, and because of the unique concerns raised

by state action in that arena, federal preemption of a state law

concerning foreign affairs may be more readily inferred than in

the domestic context where federal and state governments share

regulatory authority. When the States act in an area in which

federal interests predominate, “[t]he conflict with federal policy

need not be as sharp as that which must exist for ordinary pre-

emption when Congress legislates in a field which the states

have traditionally occupied.” Boyle v. United Technologies

Corp., 487 U.S. 500, 507 (1988) (quotation omitted).

“Preemption of a whole field * * * will be inferred where the

field is one in which ‘the federal interest is so dominant that the

federal system will be assumed to preclude enforcement of state

laws on the same subject.” Hillsborough County v. Automated

Medical Laboratories, Inc., 471 U.S. 707, 713 (1985) (quoting

Rice v. Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230 (1947)).

Thus, when a State legislates in an area affecting foreign affairs,

the courts are “more ready to conclude that a federal Act * * *

supersede[s] state regulation.” Allen-Bradley Local No. 1111 v.

Wisconsin Employment Relations Bd, 315 U.S. 740, 749

(1942).

Just as the Supreme Court is more willing to infer

affirmative preemption when a state statute intrudes into the

foreign policy arena, the Court has also made clear that a state

law that directly implicates the conduct of foreign policy will be

set aside even if there is no affirmative preemption. In

Zschernig v. Miller, the Supreme Court made clear that a state

policy that disturbs foreign relations must give way “even in

[the] absence of a treaty” or federal statute. 389 U.S. at 441.

See also Laurence H. Tribe, American Constitutional Law,

§ 4-5 at 656 (3d ed. 2000) (“all state action, whether or not

consistent with current foreign policy, that distorts the

allocation of responsibility to the national government for the

conduct of American diplomacy is void as an unconstitutional

53a

Appendix F

infringement on an_ exclusively federal sphere of

responsibility”).

The California forced Tabor statute has far more than an

“incidental or indirect effect in foreign countries.” Zschernig,

389 U.S. at 434-35. Rather, the State has deliberately

undertaken the formulation of foreign policy in an area subject

to international treaty obligations, adopting a strategy that

directly impairs the accomplishment of federal policy and

prevents the nation from speaking with one voice on a matter of

international concern.

Because the policy reflected in California’s forced labor

Statute is in direct tension with the nation’s foreign policy

expressed in the 1951 Treaty of Peace, the state statute “stands

as an obstacle to the accomplishment and execution of the full

purposes and objectives” of federal policy and is, thus,

affirmatively preempted. Hines, 312 U.S. at 67: Crosby v.

Nationa! Foreign Trade Council, 530 U.S. 363, 373 (2000).

However, even if the Court were to conclude that the forced

labor statute has not been affirmatively preempted, it is plain

that the statute in design and effect impermissibly intrudes into

the conduct of foreign affairs and is therefore beyond the

authority of the State to enact.

B. Federal Law Preempts California’s Forced Labor Statute,

Which Stands As An Obstacle To Achieving The United

States’ Foreign Policy Established In The 1951 Treaty Of

Peace.

The 1951 Treaty of Peace reflects the President and Senate’s

considered judgment that all claims arising out of Japan and

Japanese nationals’ conduct in the course of World War Il,

including claims between private individuals, should be

resolved through inter-governmental negotiations. The Allied

parties to the Treaty, including the United States, expressly

“waive all * * * claims of the Allied Powers and their nationals

arising out of any actions taken by Japan and its nationals in the

—

es

54a

Appendix F

course of the prosecution of the war.” Art. 14(a) (emphasis

added). The Treaty of Peace likewise provides that the claims

of Korea and China, and those of their nztionals, will be

resolved through inter-governmentai agreements rather than

litigation. While the Treaty may not be directly binding on

Korea and China, who were not parties to the Treaty, the Treaty

does establish the law of the United States with respect to the

war-related claims of Korean and Chinese nationals. Indeed, it

would be ironic to think that the United States foreclosed the

war-related claims of its own nationals while leaving its courts

open to litigating the claims of foreign nationals.

As noted above, the Treaty of Peace both ensured for Korea

and China the same benefit as the Allied parties had obtained

for themselves and directed that war-related claims of Koreans

and Chinese, like those of Allied nationals, would be settled on

a government-to-govermment basis. Japan was required to

renounce its interests in Korea and Chir ., and the Korean and

Chinese authorities were allowed to seize and liquidate all

Japanese assets within their territories — assets worth billions

of dollars. See Art. 4(b) (Korea); Art. 10, 14(a)(2), 21 (China).

In return,

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Ma v. Kajima Corp. · 540 U.S. 820 | Frix