Opposition Brief — Willingham v. Loughnan

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 02-1694

O° =a

| JUN 1 7 2003

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

,

v

BETTY WILLINGHAM,

Petitioner,

V.

JAMES LOUGHNAN AND BRIAN BUECLER,

Respondents.

ee

vy

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eleventh Circuit

+

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

,

Vv

GEORGE P. ROBERTS, JR., ESQ.

Counsel of Record

ROBERTS & REYNOLDS P.A.

470 Columbia Drive, Ste. 101C

West Palm Beach, FL 33409

561-688-6560

Counsel for Respondents

James Loughnan & Brian Buecler

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831 ;

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether reliance by the Court of Appeals upon prece-

dential authority of this Court, its own decisions and

that of the state supreme court to determine clearly

established constitutional rights or law conflicts with

a persuasive, contrary consensus of the other Courts

of Appeals to defeat the officers’ entitlement to quali-

fied immunity?

Whether an interlocutory appeal affirming a denial of

a state official’s claim to qualified immunity because

of a dispute of material facts constitutes the “law-of-

the-case” that precludes further consideration of their

claim at trial or vpon subsequent appeal post-trial?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented for Review ...........:cssssseecereeeeeees i

Tallole of Gam... occsccisecsnsscvesenssceossnsiesvecnucansicsessisase ii

Table of Amthoritaes .....cccessssessessvecnsscescsseesonsoozceszneness ili

Statement Of the CaVKS ...ccccsrsseocccssessevssvancoecevesnerensnes 1

Reasons for Denying the WYit.............:cccseeesseeeeeeeeees 4

Din, .:te:icsnisesssceinesiiunicccisamsestaseuniaimaianngiumancanacate 4

I. The questions presented were not properly

Preserved for TEVICW .............cssccrccerecseresesssecees 5

-II. The decision of the Court of Appeals after

remand does not conflict with this Court’s de-

cisions, its own precedent, nor a consensus of

persuasive authority of the Courts of Appeals

ts Tale FI a icciccsnsinnisineaseisnciiniicnaiainitienniaienincndamentaaaiinion 6

III]. The law-of-the-case doctrine has not been

rejected by the Court of Appeals in qualified

immunity cases, nor are the other circuits’

views to the contrary; it simply was not appli-

cable to the decision below ......... .....ssssseeeseeeeeees 22

Cm asic ccvcisnhcinbciiamcieneaamaamaaadh 29

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Amaechi v. West, 237 F.3d 356 (4th Cir. 2001) .................. 19

Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635 SEE Rees 10

Atkinson v. Taylor, 316 F.3d 257 (3d Cir. 2003)..............6.. 16

Barts v. Joyner, 865 F.2d 1187 (11th Cir.), cert.

denied, 493 U.S. 831, 110 S.Ct. 101, 107 L.Ed.2d

Nao dicicias laid Sapansbionenpubbdsianesiawnbeaissennienvesensines 17

Behrens v. Pelletier, 516 U.S. 299 (1996)...........cecceeeeeeeeees 29

California v. Taylor, 353 U.S. 553, 77 S.Ct. 1037, 1

I isdn catcinedtsinbieentacioniinnniiiericiseneness 6

Capoeman v. Reed, 754 F.2d 1512 (9th Cir. 1985)............. 18

City of Springfield, Mass. v. Kibbe, 480 U.S. 257,

107 S.Ct. 1114, 94 L.Ed.2d 293 (1987)................cssceeseeeee 5

Clark v. Beville, 730 F.2d 739 (11th Cir. 1984)...............64. 11

Clem v. Corbeau, 284 F.3d 543 (4th Cir. 2002).................. 14

County of Sacramento v. Lewis, 523 U.S. 833, 118

S.Ct. 1708, 140 L.Ed.2d 1043 (1998) .................ceee00 ae

Donovan v. City of Milwaukee, 17 F.3d 944 (7th Cir.

a a ia ola anesadisinndsladebeninenaphnetneensaierome 17

Elliot v. Leavitt, 99 F.3d 640 (4th Cir. 1996), peti-

tion for reh’g en banc denied, 105 F.3d 174 (1997)........ 21

Forrett v. Richardson, 112 F.3d 416 (9th Cir. 1997).......... 21

Franklin v. County of Riverside, 971 F.Supp. 1332

ts snccadunhhaanbiavarewbinmnstibobubsbanivocsuvencene 12

Fundiller v. City of Cooper City, 777 F.2d 1436

I i chad banmanoniiineduhnimbaieniabhaoentes 11

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Garcia by Garcia v. Miera, 817 F.2d 650 (10th Cir.

BOTY vicexicseisevecsevtesceteteeaiarisermnsiindptaeasananirnynnint 18

Gates v. Collier, 501 F.2d 1291 (5th Cir. 1974)............see0 6

Gilmere v. City of Atlanta, 774 F.2d 1495 (11th Cir.

TI ov esivnnnitesornienienesovsacpevovestensnerepueiannieeenrcnnnumesatenriseusvets 11

Graham v. Connor, 109 S.Ct. 1865 (1989).........cssseeserees 23

Haddaway v. Ellerbusch, 996 F.2d 1211, 1993 WL

238997 (4th Cir. June 30, 1998)............cccccesceereeeeseeeeeeees 14

Hamilton v. Lyons, 74 F.3d 99 (5th Cir. 1996)..........see 12

Harrell v. Decatur County, Ga., 41 F.3d 1494 (11th

Cir. 1995), vacating and adopting dissent in 22

F.3d 1570 (11th Cir. 1994)...........sccccccccccrrecssssccsceesoees 21

Heck v. Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477, 114 S.Ct. 2364,

129 L.Ed. 2d 383 (1994) .........cccccccccccrccrscsccssscerseseeeees 12

Hegarty v. Somerset County, 53 F.3d 1367 (1st. Cir.

1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 1029, 1165 S.Ct.

675, 183 L.Ed.2d 524 (1995) .........sccsesseesseesreereeereeeeeeees 21

Helling v. McKinney, 509 U.S. 25, 113 S.Ct. 2475,

126 L.Ed. 2d 22 (19DS) .cc.rccsoriccscrcrccsccsvvesvcrecccnessescscensneeee 16

Hope v. Pelzer, 536 U.S. 730, 122 S.Ct. 2508

I cctv A srinncicsitiinpcinnnnanneitenpniieintapivian 3, 6, 7, 22, 29

Hudson v. Hughes, 98 F.3d 868 (5th Cir. 1996).............+++ 12

In re City of Philadelphia, 158 F.3d 711 (3d Cir.

RO so iavctacsnicnctnintncsdhitpiniuenacstmmanainen 26, 28, 29

Johnson v. Jones, 515 U.S. 304, 115 S.Ct. 2151, 132

1 Wid. Bek SOG CABO oi viceresisnsiivccevesccecrncsctsyecancnssecnvsncceyes 24, 27

Kelly v. Curtis, 21 F.3d 1544 (11th Cir. 1994)............s0000+ 26

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Killian v. City of Riverview, 98 F.3d 1342 (6th Cir.

SIO. ssissintiiaibncceeishsninarstsinisca snasitechiadincasniaacilieaapababiastactein 12

Kimberlin v. Quinlan, 199 F.3d 496 (D.C. Cir. 2000)........ 28

Lassiter v. Alabama A&M University, 28 F.3d 1146

CET EO SD siissciinsnsins ciccienssonesntanciiccsoctsssssnnannsonsisial 10

Marsh v. Butler County, Ala., 268 F.3d 1014 (11th

Cie, BOG 1) Gale GRE) vvisiiscisicissniavinvesincioneceteven etait 8,9

McClendon v. City-of Columbia, 305 F.3d 314 (5th

Cir. 2002), cert. denied, 123 S.Ct. 1355 (2008) ........ 16, 17

~ McCloud v. Testa, 97 F.3d 1536 (6th Cir. 1996).....27, 28, 29

McKinney v. DeKalb County, 997 F.2d 1440 (11th

Cie BOD) wis viicivcsncttnessccsécsntnnienticceecenteiettcabennaancdnies 11

Menuel v. City of Atlanta, 25 F.3d 990 (11th Cir.

iss nivnicnscsndeiciccvechibinvulinnctecicnahetiadsamnamiimmnaessmail 22

Montoute v. Carr, 114 F.3d 181 (11th Cir. 1997) ............... 21

Nelson v. County of Wright, 162 F.3d 986 (8th Cir.

SO isch chess sncitarinsyninitinniniaacetnionciniaiianiineiaanmeanmnliaies 21

Ohio Civil Serv. Employees Ass’n v. Seiter, 858 F.2d

yee fee) Sr ener 17

Oladiende v. City of Birmingham, 230 F.3d 1275

CUR Gia Cae BI sickness cinta eiintiisenns 25, 26

Ort v. White, 813 F.2d 318 (11th Cir. 1987) ..............ccseeeeee 7

Plakas v. Drinski, 19 F.3d 1143 (7th Cir. 1994)..............0 22

Poe v. Leonard, 282 F.3d 123 (2nd Cir. 2002)............0+0+ 15

Priester v. City of Riviera Beach, 208 F.3d 919 (11th

Ce I veccineiccsacecscsinnssonennnenicrbvaktieeninnihiahammaeminansatintee 10

Riley v. Camp, 130 F.3d 958 (11th Cir. 1997).............s0000 25

Ne ey

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Roy v. Inhabitants of Lewiston, 42 F.3d 691 (1st Cir.

1994)......cccccccosscsesccsssccssccsscsssecesssssscsonsscecensessensnossees 7, 8, 21

Samples v. City of Atlanta, 846 F.2d 1328 (11th Cir.

1988)........+. ~ a 11

Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194, 121 S.Ct. 2151, 150

__L.Ed.2d 272 (DOO1) ..csoceecocsssesssnssonssosesnavesneesennres 5, 7, 8, 10

Sims v. Metropolitan Dade County, 972 F.2d 1230

(L1th Cir, 1992)..........ssccccesesseseeessssessenensenssnerseressensncnens 27

Skurstenis v. Jones, 236 F.3d 678 (11th Cir. |: ne 18

St. Hilaire v. City of Laconia, 71 F.3d 20 (1st Cir.

1995)... icccccssccccsssccsorssssossescssssccsssnssersccossosssssasssescsnsensensonses 21

Tennesse v. Garner, 471 U.S. 1 (1985) .....s.-sesseseeeeees 11, 15

Thomas v. Roberts, 323 F.3d 950 (11th Cir. 2009)....... 13, 14

Tinetti v. Wittke, 479 F.Supp. 486 (E.D. Wis. | eee 18

Tribble v. Gardner, 860 F.2d 321 (9th Cir. a iiicisecicssnies 18

Trulock v. Freeh, 275 F.3d 391 (4th Cir. 2001), cert.

denied, 123 S.Ct. 621 (2002) .........escereserereeereeresenesrersens 19

U.S. v. Lanier, 520 U.S. 259, 117 S.Ct. 1219 (1997)......8, 10

Varrone v. Billoti, 123 F.3d 75 (2nd Cir. DEE sssiasntenesconins 15

Vaughan v. Cox, 264 F.3d 1027 (11th Cir. 2001).............++ 14

Vaughan v. Cox, 316 F.3d 1210 (11th Cir.-2003).......... 14, 15

Vazquez v. Metropolitan Dade County, 968 F.2d

1101 (11th Cir. 1992).........csssseseesreseeeereereessssesersesesnees 11

Villano v. City of Boynton Beach, 254 F.3d 1302

(L1th Cir, 2001)..........cssescssssssesssssereeserensnnenssssrseceesnsncenees 24

Ward v. San Diego County, 791 F.2d 1329 (9th Cir.

1986)......ccccccccccorssssssssccsscserscceerenscorescnsserenseacscesonsensenseees 18

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Weber v. Dell, 804 F.2d 796 (2nd Cir. 1986)..........:seeeesees 15

Webster v. City of Houston, 689 F.2d 1220 (5th Cir.

VOBD).......o+svecrovsireccossseccsresensenssvocosonersvonsseosvonaseonsonesseees 12,13

Wheeler v. City of Pleasant Grove, 746 F.2d 1437

(11th Cir. 1984)................ccccesssrserees caiman 26

Willingham v. Loughnan, 261 F.3d 1178 (11th Cir.

QOO1)....0.ccrreresccccosesevssescsessseccsoncovensesssssssenssononsessoonsesensenes 23

Willingham v. Loughnan, 321 F.3d 1299 (11th Cir.

| ee - sinsabadecsecensdliSbeniedwiaabetienunnsaasbonmmennsoehte 11

Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S. 603, 119 S.Ct. 1692

(1999).......cscccccsssrccccsscssssecsesseeseesssecessssseseesnaseesenenees passim

Wright v. Smith, 21 F.3d 496 (2nd Cir. 1994).......ssssssse0 15

Wood v. Strickland, 420 U.S. 308, 95 S.Ct. 992

(1975) ....ecesccscsscerccssscssesecssccssveesseeserenssesscssonenccenssensenssore® 14

CONSTITUTIONS

U.S. Const. amend. I.............cssssssereseeessesenreeeeeseeeessenseeonnees 28

US. Const. amen. IV ...........c.csccseeseeeeesesssnnneneeeeeeeeeeees 21, 29

U.S. Const. amend. VIII .............ccccceeeeeeeeeeeseeeneeeeeneees 6, 7, 16

US. Const. amend. XIV............:ccseccceessssesessenereeeeeeeseneenaess 16

1

RESPONDENTS LOUGHNAN & BUECLER’S BRIEF

IN OPPOSITION TO PETITIONER WILLINGHAM’S

SECOND PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On October 7, 1987, just before midnight, Petitioner

Betty Willingham, was simultaneously shot by Boynton

Beach, Palm Beach County, Florida police Officers James

Loughnan and Brian Buecler after having committed a

battery on Officer Loughnan and within a split-second of

having attempted to murder Officer Ron Panucci, who was

attempting to arrest her brother, Arnold Sims.

According to the officers, who testified at her criminal

and civil trial, she had a long blade kitchen knife in her

hand and was attempting to stab Panucci in the back at

the time she was shot. An independent witness testified at

both trials that she was on the step outside her house with

an object in her hand at the time she was shot. Willingham

claimed that she was standing in the doorway, pulling her

hair at the time she was shot. Her version of the events was

rejected when she was convicted in June 1989 of both crimes

by the Palm Beach County criminal court jury, a conviction

that was neither appealed nor vatated.

In 1990, Willingham sued the City of Boynton Beach,

its police chief Edward Hillery and Officers James Lough-

~ nan and Brian Buecler. After the officers moved for sum-

mary judgment on the sole state law claims against them

in 1992, Plaintiff amended her complaint to bring federal

2

civil rights claims against them. The officer’s summary

judgment on the state law claims was denied in 1993."

The officers moved for summary judgment on the federal

claim of excessive force in 1995, asserting qualified immu-

nity. In 1996, the District Court denied the motion finding

that there was a factual dispute not specified in the order

and upon the misapprehension that there had been a previ-

ous denial of the motion. The officers took an interlocutory

appeal to the Eleventh Circuit. Petitioner’s motion to dismiss

the appeal as frivolous was denied and a stay order denied

by the District Court was granted by the Court of Appeals.

In September 1997, the Court of Appeals, in an

unpublished opinion, affirmed the denial of the motion for

summary judgment due to the claimed factual dispute of

whether Plaintiff was doing nothing at the time she was

shot or was attempting to murder an officer. In the panel’s

view, the issue preclusion argument on Petitioner’s crimi-

nal convictions was not properly presented for review.

After the District Court again denied the officers

motions for judgment on qualified immunity at trial and

post-trial, a timely appeal was lodged in the Court of

Appeals of the 5.5 million dollar verdict rendered against

the officers by a jury in Miami-Dade County.’ Upon review

of the entire record, including the criminal trial transcript

and proceedings (as had the District Court when it decided

* These claims were eventually dropped by Plaintiff at the com-

mencement of trial.

* The judgment against the City of Boynton Beach for five million

dollars was set aside by the District Court and affirmed on appeal.

Petitioner did not seek review of that decision in her first petition for

writ of certiorari.

3

the officers’ post-trial motion for judgment) the Court of

Appeals properly found that the criminal conviction at a

minimum established that Plaintiff was shot within a “split-

second” of having attempted to murder one police officer and

battering another and was not restrained and potentially in

a position to continue her assaults on the police.

Finding that it was not clearly established in 1987

that the use of force by these officers under the circum-

stances presented to them was unlawful, and that there

existed a number of decisions both before and subsequent

to the incident, under materially similar circumstances,

holding that such conduct was lawful, the court deter-

mined that qualified immunity was applicable to bar the

Petitioner’s Fourth Amendment claim against the officers.

Petitioner’s suggestion for rehearing en banc was

denied as a motion for rehearing by the panel. No request

was made by a judge of the court to poll the judges on the

suggestion of rehearing en banc.

A petition for writ of certiorari was timely filed with

this court to hold the case pending this Court’s decision in

Hope v. Pelzer.* A brief in opposition was filed. Without

further briefing, after a decision was rendered in Hope,

this Court entered an order granting certiorari, vacating

the decision of the Court of Appeals and remanding for

reconsideration in light of Hope.

The Court of Appeals requested supplemental briefs

from the parties on the issue of reconsideration of the

decision in light of Hope. The parties timely filed briefs.

The Court of Appeals rendered its reconsidered opinion

* 536 U.S. 730, 122 S.Ct. 2508 (2002).

4

finding that the officers were still entitled to qualified

immunity. [Pet. App. A]. 3

Without moving for a rehearing en banc in the Court

of Appeals, Petitioner timely filed her second i omnes for

writ of certiorari with this Court.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

PREFACE

The first question presented, whether the Court of

Appeal’s reliance upon only the Constitution, prior decisional

law of this Court, the Court of Appeals and the state su-

preme court, a position allegedly contrary to the other Courts

of Appeals, is raised for the first time in this petition.*

The second question presented, whether the law-of-

the-case doctrine in deciding succeeding appeals on quali-

fied immunity, has been rejected by the Court of Appeals,

contrary to the view of the other Courts of Appeals, is also

first raised in this petition. The contention that the Court

of Appeals failed to follow its own precedent on the issue

was first previously raised in the first petition for writ of

certiorari. This latter issue was not specified as an issue

for reconsideration upon remand.

\

‘ The first “question presented for review” initially [Pet. at i]

differs from the questions described in the table of contents [Pet. at iii]

and the headings in “reasons for granting the writ.” [Pet. at 7]. The

latter description of the questions presented will be addressed herein.

5

I. The questions presented were not properly

preserved for review.

Neither question or issue was timely pressed or

considered by the courts below. In the Court of Appeals,

Petitioner’s response brief to the initial appeal, made no

argument, nor cited any case in support of the proposition

that there was precedent prior to 1987 that gave fair and

clear warning to a reasonable officer that his conduct

under these circumstances presented to him would violate

constitutional law.

Petitioner’s focus, in her initial response, was that

there was no qualified immunity in an excessive force

claim. However, that contention was rejected by this Court

in Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194, 121 S.Ct. 2151, 2156, 150

L.Ed.2d 272 (2001).

Upon remand from this Court for reconsideration, in her

supplemental brief, Petitioner did not cite to any consensus

of persuasive authority from the other Courts of Appeals that

should have been considered to have given fair warning to

the officers that their conduct in October 1987 violated

clearly established law. [Resp. App. A].

Contrary to the invitation for supplemental briefing,

Petitioner did raise the law-of-the-case argument in her

supplemental brief. However, no argument was made that

the position of the Court of Appeals was different from the

other Courts of Appeals or that there was a consensus of

persuasive authority that should have been followed.

Thus, certiorari should not be granted because the

issues presented for review were neither timely presented

nor considered in the Court of Appeals or the District

Court. City of Springfield, Mass. v. Kibbe, 480 U.S. 257,

259, 107 S.Ct. 1114, 1115, 94 L.Ed.2d 293 (1987) (“We

6

ordinarily will not decide questions not raised or litigated in

the lower courts. See California v. Taylor, 353 U.S. 553, 556,

n. 2, 77 S.Ct. 1037, 1039, n. 2, 1 L.Ed.2d 1034 (1957)”).

Il. The decision of the Court of Appeals after

remand does not conflict with this Court’s de-

cisions, its own precedent, nor a consensus of

persuasive authority of the Courts of Appeals

on the issue.

A. No conflict with Hope.

Initially, it is instructive to note that in Hope v. Pelzer,

530 U.S. 730, 122 S.Ct. 2508 (2002), qualified immunity

was denied because this Court found that there was

preexisting precedent in the Court of Appeals that gave clear

and fair warning that the officers’ conduct, as shown by the

facts alleged, violated the Eighth Amendment proscription

against cruel and unusual punishment. This Court con-

cluded that Gates v. Collier, 501 F2d 1291 (5th Cir. 197 4)

was controlling precedential authority since there was not a

significant difference between handcuffing prisoners to a

fence and handcuffing them to a post. As this Court noted:

Cases decided by the Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit before 1981 are binding precedent

in the Eleventh Circuit today. See Bonner v.

Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206 (C.A.11 1981). In one of

those cases, decided in 1974, the Court of Ap-

peals reviewed a District Court decision finding a

number of constitutional violations in the ad-

ministration of Mississippis prisons. Gates v.

Collier, 501 F.2d 1291.

Hope, 530 U.S. at 742, 122 S.Ct at 2516. This Court

specifically noted that “[i]n light of Gates, the unlawful-

ness of the alleged conduct should have been apparent to

the respondents.” Id. at 743.

7

This Court then added that “[t]he reasoning, though

not the holding, in a case decided by the Eleventh Circuit

in 1987 sent the same message to reasonable officers in

that Circuit.” Id. In Ort v. White, 813 F.2d 318 (11th Cir.

1987), this Court felt that the basic premise of depriving

prisoners of necessities, such as drinking water, as punish-

ment was established as violative of the Eighth Amendment.

This Court even held that a number of contrary

“unreported” Alabama District Court decisions should

have been disregarded, because they were “distinguishable

on their own terms ... [and] no match for the Circuit

precedents.” Hope at 747.

This Court did not look to “a consensus of persuasive

authority” of the Courts of Appeals to determine whether

fair warning was provided to the officers in the circuit. The

focus was clearly limited to binding precedent in the Elev-

enth Circuit. Petitioner must have reached this same under-

standing because she did not argue to the contrary in her

supplemental brief upon reconsideration. [Resp. App. A.].

The holding of the Court of Appeals below is not

contrary to the decisions of this Court. In Saucier v. Katz,

533 U.S. 194, 202, 121 S.Ct. 2151, 2156, 150 L.Ed.2d 272

(2001), this Court observed that the general rule that

officers may not use unreasonable force when making an

arrest can only provide concrete guidance when it is made

specific in particular cases. Additionally it was re-

emphasized that “lelxcessive force claims, like most other

Fourth Amendment issues, are evaluated for objective

reasonableness based upon the information the officers

had when the conduct occurred.” Id., 533 U.S. at 207.

In Saucier, citation was made to Roy v. Inhabitants of

Lewiston, 42 F.3d 691, 695 (1st Cir. 1994). Therein, the

District Court properly granted summary judgment for the

8

defendant police officer who shot an armed, intoxicated,

belligerently behaving arrestee. Ray stated:

The Supreme Court intends to surround the po-

lice who make these on-the-spot choices in dan-

gerous situations with a fairly wide zone of

protection in close cases. Decisions from this cir-

cuit and other circuits are consistent with that

view. And in close cases, a jury does not auto-

matically get to second-guess these life and death

decisions, even though the plaintiff has an expert

and a plausible claim that the situation could

better have been handled differently. 42 F.3d, at

695 (footnote omitted).

Saucier, 533 U.S., at 216, fn. 6, Ginsburg, J. concurring.

Moreover, The Court of Appeals has not ignored U.S.

v. Lanier, 520 U.S. 259, 117 S.Ct. 1219 (1997). In Marsh v.

Butler County, Ala., 268 F.3d 1014, 1032-1033, (11th Cir.

2001) (en banc), the court addressed issues raised by

Lanier. In note 9, the court noted:

We acknowledge that preexisting case law, tied to

the precise facts, is not in every situation essen-

tial to establish clearly the law applying to the

circumstances facing a public official so that a

reasonable official would be put on fair and clear

notice that specific conduct would be unlawful in

the faced, specific circumstances. See United

States v. Lanier, 520 U.S. 259, 117 S.Ct. 1219,

1227, 187 L.Ed.2d 482 (1997) (“[A] general con-

stitutional rule already identified in the deci-

sional law may apply with obvious clarity to the

specific conduct in question.”) (discussing 18

U.S.C. § 242); Lassiter, 28 F.3d at 1150 n. 4 (leav-

ing open possibility that “occasionally the words

of a federal statute or federal constitutional pro-

vision will be specific enough to establish the law

applicable to particular circumstances clearly

9

and to overcome qualified immunity even in the

absence of case law”);

Some general statements of law are capable of

giving fair and clear warning in some circum-

stances: the occasional “obvious clarity” cases per

Lanier. But in other cases, as Lanier says, “a

very high degree of prior factual particularity

may be necessary.” 117 S.Ct. at 1227. Especially

where the applicable legal standard is a highly

general one, such as “to act reasonably” or “to act

with probable cause,” preexisting case law, that

has applied the general law to specific circum-

stances, will almost always be necessary to draw

the bright line that is capable of honestly giving

fair and clear notice that an official’s conduct will

violate federal law. See Anderson, 107 S.Ct. at 3040

(noting that pertinent qualified immunity question

in probable-cause case is “fact-specific” question of

whether a reasonable official could have believed,

in light of clearly established law, that official’s be-

havior was lawful under circumstances).

See also Saucier v. Katz, 533 U.S. 194, 121 S.Ct.

2151, 2156, 150 L.Ed.2d 272 (2001) (“This in-

quiry [whether a legal right was already clearly

established], it is vital to note, must be under-

taken in light of the specific context of the case,

not as a broad general proposition”); Wilson v.

Layne, 526 U.S. 603, 119 S.Ct. 1692, 1699-1700,

143 L.Ed.2d 818 (1999) (saying “the right alleg-

edly violated must be defined at the appropriate

level of specificity. . . . ”).

Marsh, 268 F.3d at 1032-1033.

Clearly, the Court of Appeals has found that

“‘olecasionally the words of a federal statute or federal

10

constitutional provision will be specific enough to establish

law applicable to particular circumstances clearly and to |

overcome qualified immunity even in the absence of case

law.” Lassiter v. Alabama A&M University, 28 F.3d 1146,

1150 n. 4 (11th Cir. 1994). As recognized in Marsh, the

Court of Appeals has held that an official may stray Aso

far beyond the hazy border between constitutional and

unconstitutional conduct” that the official “had to know he

was violating the Constitution even without case law on

point.” Priester v. City of Riviera Beach, 208 F.3d 919, 926

(11th Cir. 2000) (quoting Smith v. Mattox, 127 F.3d 1416,

1419 (11th Cir. 1997)). Id., 268 F.3d at 1032.

This view of the Court of Appeals was noted in Saucier

v. Katz, supra, “Qualified immunity operates in this case,

then, just as it does in others, to protect officers from the

sometimes ‘hazy border between excessive and acceptable

force,’ Priester v. Riviera Beach, 208 F.3d 919, 926-927

(C.A.11 2000), and to ensure that before they are subjected

to suit, officers are on notice their conduct is unlawful.”

Saucier, 533 U.S. at 206.

Moreover, in Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S. 603, 119 S.Ct.

1692 (1999), decided two years after Lanier, this Court

found the principles of Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S.

635, 639-640 (1987), still controlling:

In Anderson, we explained that what “clearly es-

tablished” means in this context depends largely

“upon the level of generality at which the rele-

vant ‘legal rule’ is to be identified.” 483 U.S. at

639, 107 S.Ct. 3034. “[C]learly established” for

purposes of qualified immunity means that “[t]he

contours of the right must be sufficiently clear

that a reasonable official would understand that

what he is doing violates that right. This is not to

11

say that an official action is protected by quali-

fied immunity unless the very action in question

has previously been held unlawful, but it is to

say that in the light of pre-existing law- the

unlawfulness must be apparent.” Jd., at 640, 107

S.Ct. 3034 (citations omitted); see also United

States v. Lanier, 520 U.S. 259, 270, 117 S.Ct.

~ 1219, 1387 L.Ed.2d 432 (1997).

Wilson, 526 U.S. at 614-615.

B. No conflict with circuit precedent.

In the Court of Appeals, on remand, Petitioner as-

serted that “fair warning” of violation of a clearly estab-

lished coastitutional right was provided by Tennessee v.

Garner, 471 U.S. 1 (1985); McKinney v. DeKalb County,

997 F.2d 1440 (llth Cir. 1993); Vazquez v. Metropoiitan

Dade County, 968 F.2d 1101 (11th Cir. 1992); Samples v.

City of Atlanta, 846 F.2d 1328 (11th Cir. 1988); Fundiller v.

City of Cooper City, 777 F.2d 1436 (11th Cir. 1985); Gil-

mere v. City of Atlanta, 774 F.2d 1495 (11th Cir. 1985); and

Clark v. Beville, 730 F.2d 739 (11th Cir. 1984). Clearly,

McKinney decided in 1993, Vazquez decided in 1992 and

Samples decided in 1988, could not have given fair warn-

ing of clearly established law in 1987.

However, no analysis was provided below, nor in the

petition herein, as to how these decisions would have

given fair warning of clearly established law as applicable

to the circumstances presented in this case. Thus, Peti-

tioner has not provided any argument or analysis from

which one could conclude that the determination by the

Court of Appeals that “[nJone of these cases were close to

this one in time or fact” is incorrect. Willingham v. Lough-

nan, 321 F.3d 1299, 1304 (11th Cir. 2003).

12

Petitioner’s underlying focus is that this Court should

revisit the underlying facts and reach the opposite result.

Essentially, Petitioner wants this Court to “correct the

result” rather than decide a conflict of the Courts of

Appeals. Petitioner argues that “the second panel of the

Court of Appeals ignored much of the evidence considered

by the civil jury which did not conflict with the findings of

the criminal jury.” [Pet. at 9]. Petitioner ignores any

discussion of the undisputed and judicially noticed fact

that she was convicted of battery on one police officer and

attempted murder of another for her conduct occurring

within a “split second” of the use of force against her.

Petitioner’s argument that the Court of Appeals was

ignorant of “Respondents’ own conduct of lies, planted

evidence and a cover-up.” [Pet. at 11] is simply not rele-

vant to the qualified immunity analysis, as these are

arguments, allegedly supporting claims that were never

alleged against the officers, and which cculd have only

been alleged against the City and even then, would have

been barred by the Petitioner’s conviction under Heck v.

Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477, 483-485, 114 S.Ct. 2364, 2372-

2373, 129 L.Ed.2d 383 (1994). See Hudson v. Hughes, 98

F.3d 868, 872 (5th Cir. 1996) (falsified police report, state

witnesses committing perjury, ineffective counsel); Killian

v. City of Riverview, 98 F.3d 1342 (6th Cir. 1996); Hamilton

v Lyons, 74 F.3d 99, 103 (5th Cir. 1996) (altering, destroy-

ing and suppressing evidence); Franklin v. County of

Riverside, 971 F.Supp. 1332 (C.D. Cal. 1997) (perjury of

police officer and false police report)

This argument’s lack of relevance is corroborated by

citation to Webster v. City of Houston, 689 F.2d 1220 (5th Cir.

1982). Not only was this initial panel decision vacated en

banc, the decision related solely to the trial court judgment

13

finding municipal liability against the City of Houston. See

Webster v. City of Houston,735 F.2d 838 (5th Cir. 1984). The

City of Boynton Beach is no longer a party to these proceed-

ings since the trial court’s judgment notwithstanding the

verdict was affirmed by the Court of Appeals and the City

was not made a party to the first petition for certiorari.

C. No conflict with any consensus of persua-

sive authority from other circuits.

Petitioner claims, in her second quest for certiorari

jurisdiction of this Court, that there is a conflict of the

Court of Appeals with the views of all of the other Courts

of Appeals with respect to the source of decisional law

utilized in determining whether a constitutional right is

“clearly established.” Although the lengthy survey of the

other circuits’ approach is instructional, it does not reveal

that there is any consensus.

More importantly, the decisiums reviewed do not

establish that there was a consensus of persuasive author-

ity, in 1987, that would have given fair warning to reason-

able officers that their conduct, under the facts presented

to them by this case, in seconds before they reacted, would

violate clearly established law.

In Thomas v. Roberts, 323 F.3d 950 (11th Cir. 2003),

the Court of Appeals noted:

in Marsh v. Butler County, 268 F.3d 1014 (11th

Cir. 2001) (en banc), we implicitly reaffirmed

that postion when we stated that we do not

understand Wilson to have held that a consensus

of cases of persuasive authority would be able to

establish law clearly. “Each jurisdiction has its

own body of law, and splits between jurisdictions

on matters of law are not uncommon. We do not

<

14

expect public officials to sort out the law of every

jurisdiction in the country.” Jd. at 1032 n. 10.

Thomas, 323 F.3d at 955. Petitioner’s contrary contention

would require police officer’s to predict the course of a

future decision of constitutional law. Wood v. Strickland,

420 U.S. 308, 322, 95 S.Ct. 992, 1001 (1975) (“That is not

to say that school board members are ‘charged with

predicting the future course of constit: itional law.’ Pierson

v. Ray, 386 U.S. at 557, 87 S.Ct. at 1219”).

Contrary to Petitioner’s argument, in Clem v. Cor-

beau, 284 F.3d 548 (4th Cir. 2002) (a decision announced

15 years post incident) there is no discussion of decisional

law of other circuits as clearly establishing the law in the

Fourth Circuit.’ The Fourth Circuit did note that, “[wlell

before 1998 it was clearly established that a police officer

could not lawfully shoot a citizen perceived to be unarmed

and non-dangerous, neither suspected of any crime nor

ficeing a crime scene.” 284 F.3d at 554. However, that

principle of Garner, has never been disputed. This decision

is simply not apposite to the facts in this case.

Another argument of Petitioner is based upon the

dissents of Judge Noonan of the Ninth Circuit in Vaughan

v. Cox, 316 F.3d 1210 (11th Cir. 2003) and Vaughan v. Cox,

264 F3d 1027 (11th Cir. 2001). Although Vaughan did

involve the use of deadly force, this argument has little

application to the questions presented because the opin-

ions are contained in dissents, from cases decided in 2001

and 2003, are factually distinguishable, and based upon

* Indeed, citation to Haddaway v. Ellerbusch, 996 F.2d 1211, 1993

WL 238997 (4th Cir. June 30, 1993) is only in passing, since it was an

unpublished decision.

15

the view that an officer, who failed to fire a warning shot,

- should not be entitled to qualified immunity because“...

as a reasonable police officer [he] is presumed to be famil-

iar with Tennessee v. Garner, 471 U.S. 1, 105 S.Ct. 1694,

85 L.Ed.2d 1 (1985).” 316 F.3d at 1216.

In Tennessee v. Garner, 105 S.Ct. 1694, 1701 (1985),

decided only two years before this incident, it was held

that the use of deadly force was lawful when limited to

where the officer “has probable cause to believe the suspect

poses a threat of serious physical harm, either to the officers

or others.” Jd. Thus, even the dissents in Vaughan do not

conflict with the Court of Appeals source of decisional law,

nor establish a consensus of other persuasive authority.

Petitioner fails to show that there is a persuasive

consensus of the other circuits’ approach on the source of

clearly established rights or law. Petitioner concedes that

the Second Circuit view is unclear. Varrone v. Billoti, 123

F.3d 75 (2nd Cir 1997), relying upon Weber v. Dell, 804

F.2d 796 (2nd Cir. 1986) was appropriately challenged, in

Poe v. Leonard, 282 F.3d 123, 141 (2nd Cir. 2002). In Weber

the issue of the source of precedent for clearly established

law for the circuit was not discussed. On the other hand,

in Wright v. Smith, 21 F.3d 496 (2nd Cir. 1994) the view

was reiterated that “[wJe have held that in determining

whether a right was clearly established at the time the

defendants acted, a court should consider: ... (2) whether

the decisional law of the Supreme Court and the applicable

circuit court supports the existence of the right in question;

...” (citations omitted) (emphasis supplied). 21 F.3d at

500.

In Atkinson v. Taylor, 316 F.3d 257 (3d Cir. 2003), the

Third Circuit, does rely upon cases of other circuits that

had construed this Court’s decision in Helling v. McKin-

ney, 509 U.S. 25, 36, 113 S.Ct. 2475, 125 L.Ed.2d 22 (1994)

to find a violation of the Eighth Amendment clearly

established where prison officials failed to provide for the

medical needs of prisoners exposed to ETS. However, as

the dissent ably explains, “the majority calls this conclu-

sion ‘clearly established’ federal law, meaning that a reason-

able prison official should have known that we would decide

the case this way, even though the circuit courts have

reached numerous differing results on this issue and there is

no controlling precedent.” Id., 316 F.3d at 271. This view

appears more consistent with Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S. 603,

618, 119 S.Ct. 1692 (if judges disagree on a constitutional

question, it is unfair to subject officials to money damages for

picking the losing side of the controversy).

In McClendon v. City of Columbia, 305 F.3d 314 (5th

Cir. 2002), cert. denied, 123 S.Ct. 1355 (2003) the en banc

decision of the Fifth Circuit did resolve a conflict of circuit

panels on the source of decisional law in favor of reviewing

other circuit decisions for determination of whether a right

under the Fourteenth Amendment “state-created danger

theory” had been clearly established. However, the diffi-

culty of this approach, in qualified immunity, is empha-

sized by the number of concurring and dissenting opinions.

After reviewing other circuit decisions the Fifth Circuit

correctly observed:

Thus, while a number of our sister circuits had

accepted some version of the state-created dan-

ger theory as of July of 1993, given the inconsis-

tencies and uncertainties within this alleged

consensus of authorities, an officer acting within

the jurisdiction of this court could not possibly

17

have assessed whether his or her conduct vio-

lated this right in the absence of explicit guid-

ance from this court or the Supreme Court.

Id., 305 F.3d at 321. This decision corroborates that

decisional constitutional rights will only provide clear

warning, if established by the applicable circuit or this

Court.

In the Sixth Circuit, it has been established that to

determine whether a constitutional right is clearly estab-

lished reference can be made, as a last resort, to decisions

of other circuits. However, such a search is only a possibil-

ity to be made in the extraordinary case and where “these

decisions must both point unmistakably to the unconstitu-

tionality of the conduct complained of and be so clearly

foreshadowed by applicable direct authority as to leave no

doubt in the mind of a reasonable officer that his conduct,

if challenged on constitutional grounds, would be found

wanting.” Ohio Civil Serv. Employees Ass’n v. Seiter, 858

F.2d 1171, 1177 (6th Cir. 1988).

The Seventh Circuit has looked to other circuits for

analogous cases to determine whether the law is clearly

established, in the absence of precedent. See Donovan v.

City of Milwaukee, 17 F.3d 944, 953 (7th Cir. 1994). But

even then, the court recognized that this is a “heavy

burden” and that where there are differing circuit deci-

sions, the relevant case law is still developing, and thus, is

not clearly settled, citing to Barts v. Joyner, 865 F.2d 1187,

1194 (11th Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 831, 110 S.Ct. 101,

107 L.Ed.2d 65 (1989). Id., 17 F.3d at 953."

* The issue in Donovan, the extent of constitutional rights involv-

ing high speed police chases was ultimately decided by this Court in

(Continued on following page)

18

The Tenth Circuit approach is somewhat different in

that, in the absence of binding precedent of this Court or

the Tenth Circuit, it can look to the other circuits to

determine whether a “clear weight of authority” has been

established. Garcia by Garcia v. Miera, 817 F.2d 650 (10th

Cir. 1987).

The Eighth Circuit does appear to have followed the lead

of the Ninth Circuit in adopting a wide-ranging approach that

allows it to search for clearly established law, in the absence of

binding precedent, from any source, including District Court

decisions. See Ward v. San Diego County, 791 F.2d 1329 (9th

Cir. 1986). Additionally, this doctrine considers that law may

be clearly established if it is likely “that the Supreme Court or

this circuit would have reached the same result as courts

which had previously considered the issue.” Tribble v. Gard-

ner, 860 F.2d 321, 324 (9th Cir. 1988). See Capoeman v. Reed,

754 F2d 1512, 1515 (9th Cir. 1985). These circuits hold that

“(gjovernment officials are charged with knowledge of consti-

tutional developments, including all available decisional law.

Gutierrez v. Municipal Court, 838 F.2d 1031, 1048 (9th Cir.

1988).” Tribble, 860 F.2d at 324. Although the circuits suppos-

edly do not impose a requirement that officers be law profes-

sors or academicians, it certainly requires them to be able to

comprehend and apply the legal analysis employed to factu-

ally different circumstances. See Capoeman v. Reed, 754 F.2d

County of Sacramento v. Lewis, 523 U.S. 833, 846, 118 S.Ct. 1708, 140

L.Ed.2d 1043 (1998).

’ In Ward the Ninth Circuit relied upon the prior decision of Tinetti

v. Wittke, 479 F.Supp. 486 (E.D. Wis. 1979), adopted on appeal by the

Seventh Circuit, 620 F.2d 160 (7th Cir. 1980). The decision’s vitality

was questioned by the Eleventh Circuit in Skurstenis v. Jones, 236 F.3d

678 (11th Cir. 2000).

19

1512, 1514 (9th Cir. 1985). State officials are then called upon

to stake their financial resources on their prognostication of

how the Court of Appeals would later decide, a wager that

would unlikely be made by any law professor or academician.

Petitioner mistakenly relies upon the dicta of the

dissent in Trulock v. Freeh, 275 F.3d 391, 407 (4th Cir. 2001),

cert. denied, 123 S.Ct. 621 (2002) as establishing the view of

the Fourth Circuit. In this Bivins action against FBI agents,

the majority held, based on a review of its decisions, that

although prior precedent held that a search of a locked

footlocker was unlawful, it did not follow that a search of

password protected computer files was so analogous to defeat

the officers’ qualified immunity. Id., 275 F.3d at 404.

In Amaechi v. West, 237 F.3d 356 (4th Cir. 2001),

although it is stated that the Court of Appeals viewed

Wilson as permitting review of a “consensus of persuasive

authority” for clearly established law on an issue, the

decision was based upon a finding that “[flirmly rooted

Supreme Court and Fourth Circuit precedent involving

strip searches and body cavity searches should have made

it apparent to West, as a reasonable officer, that his search

of Amaechi was unlawful under the Fourth Amendment.”

Id., 237 F.3d at 364.°

As recent as 1998, the Fourth Circuit agreed with the

Eleventh and Sixth Circuits as to the source of decisional -

law. In Wilson v. Layne, 141 F.3d 111 (4th Cir. 1998), en

banc, it was noted,

* In this decision, and a number of others cited by Petitioner, the

“clearly established right” involved either a strip or cavity search, not

the use of deadly force.

20

The law is clearly established such that an offi-

cer’s conduct transgresses a bright line when the

law has “been authoritatively decided by the Su-

preme Court, the appropriate United States

Court of Appeals, or the highest court of the

state.” Wallace v. King, 626 F.2d 1157, 1161 (4th

Cir. 1980); see Cullinan v. Abramson, 128 F.3d 301,

311 (6th Cir. 1997) (explaining that “[o]rdinarily, at

least, in determining whether a right is ‘clearly

established’ this court will not look beyond Su-

preme Court and Sixth Circuit precedent”), cert.

denied, 523 U.S. 1094, 118 S.Ct. 1560, 140

L.Ed.2d 792 (1998); Jenkins ex rel. Hall v. Talla-

dega City Bd. of Educ., 115 F.3d 821, 826 n. 4

(11th Cir.1997) (en banc) (explaining that “the

law can be ‘clearly established’ for qualified im-

munity purposes only by decisions of the U.S.

Supreme Court, [the] Eleventh Circuit Court of

Appeals, or the highest court of the state where

the case arose”), cert. denied, 522 U.S. 966, 118

S.Ct. 412, 139 L.Ed.2d 315 (1997).

141 F.3d at 114.

Upon certiorari review by this Court, it was observed,

in Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S. 603, 617, 119 S.Ct. 1692

(1999) that:

Petitioners have not brought to our attention any

cases of controlling authority in their jurisdiction

at the time of the incident which clearly estab-

lished the rule on which they seek to rely, nor have

they identified a consensus of cases of persuasive

authority such that a reasonable officer could not

have believed that his actions were lawful.

Id., 526 U.S. at 617. This Court also held that the officers

in this case cannot have been “expected to predict the

future course of constitutional law. Procunier v. Navarette,

434 U.S. 555, 562, 98 S.Ct. 855, 55 L.Ed.2d 24 (1978). See

21

also Wood v. Strickland, 420 U.S. 308, 321, 95 S.Ct. 992,

43 L.Ed.2d 214 (1975); Pierson v. Ray, 386 U.S. 547, 557,

87 S.Ct. 1213, 18 L.Ed.2d 288 (1967).” Id. 526 U.S. at 618.

Finally, this Court observed that where the Courts of

Appeals have differed on a constitutional question, “it is

unfair to subject police to money damages for picking the

losing side of the controversy.” Id., at 617-618.

In fine, it is fair to say that without specific guidance

on the subject from prior precedent from this Court, that

differing views have developed on the source of “clearly

established” law. However, it is not a fair conclusion that one

approach is necessarily derived into a persuasive consensus,

nor that the Court of Appeals is wrong in its view.

But most importantly to these officers, there simply is no

substantive application of this argument to the issues in this

case. Petitioner simply has not provided proof of a “consensus

of persuasive authority” that clearly established that they

were fairly warned that their conduct, in 1987, was unlawful.

To the contrary, as argued below, the persuasive weight of

authority, as evidenced by analogous decisions of the Courts of

Appeals, is that their conduct, under the circumstances facing

them, was consistent with the Fourth Amendment and

Garner. See Nelson v. County of Wright, 162 F.3d 986, 991 (8th

Cir. 1998); Montoute v. Carr, 114 F.3d 181, 184 (11th Cir.

1997); Forrett v. Richardson, 112 F.3d 416, 420 (9th Cir. 1997);

Elliot v. Leavitt, 99 F.3d 640, 643 (4th Cir. 1996), petition for

reh’g en banc denied, 105 F.3d 174 (1997); St. Hilaire v. City of

Laconia, 71 F.3d 20, 28 (1st Cir. 1995); Hegarty v. Somerset

County, 53 F.3d 1367 (1st Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 516 U.S.

1029, 1165 S.Ct. 675, 183 L.Ed.2d 524 (1995); Roy v. Inhabi-

tants of City of Lewiston, 42 F.3d 691, 697 (1st Cir. 1994);

Harrell v. Decatur County, Ga., 41 F.3d 1494 (11th Cir. 1995),

vacating and adopting dissent in 22 F.3d 1570 (11th Cir.

22

1994); Menuel v. City of Atlanta, 25 F.3d 990, 996 (11th Cir.

1994); Plakas v. Drinski, 19 F.3d 1143, 1148-50 (7th Cir. 1994).

Ill. The law-of-the-case doctrine has not been re-

jected by the Court of Appeals in qualified immu-

nity cases, nor are the other circuits’ views to the

contrary; it simply was not applicable to the deci-

sion below.

A. The Court of Appeals decision does not con-

. flict with its own precedent.

Petitioner again raises the argument that the Court of

Appeal’s first unpublished decision on qualified immunity,

that was addressed by both the District Court and the

circuit court opinions is binding law of the case that

precludes further review of the issue.

As it was not addressed previously, it is presumed

that this-Court found the issue, then premised upon a

dissent to denial of a petition for rehearing en banc, to be

without merit. Petitioner has now discarded the initial

premise in favor of alternative arguments that the Court

of Appeals either did not follow its own precedent or that

the decision of the Court of Appeals is contrary to the

other Courts of Appeals.

As the remand from this Court was to re-consider the -

decision in light of Hope v. Pelzer, the Court of Appeals did not

solicit supplemental briefing, nor address this argument in

rendering its decision. Thus, this claim is at best, moot, and

for practical purposes barred from further reconsideration.

The initial panel decision, on appeal of the denial of

the officers’ motion for summary judgment, was based

upon a finding that there were material issues in dispute.

Such a basis has not been found to have preclusive effect

on further reconsideration of the defense at trial. There

23

was no determination of clearly established law that

would deny qualified immunity to the officers, in the

unpublished decision. [See Pet. App. F).

In this case, the seminal issue was timing. Prior to

trial it was not established as to whether Willingham was

shot after everything was over or whether the use of force

was an integral part of the event. Indeed, as noted several

times in the opinion of the Court of Appeals post trial,

Willingham testified at trial that she was shot within a

“split second” of throwing a knife at Panucci and raising

her hands into the air. Moreover, it was established at trial

that the entire event occurred with 90 seconds, clearly

calling for the sort of “split-second” judgments of the

officers envisioned by Graham v. Connor, 109 S.Ct 1865,

1872 (1989). See Willingham v. Loughnan, 261 F.3d 1178

(11th Cir. 2001).

Moreover, the criminal court transcript had not been

presented nor reviewed by either the District or Circuit Court

to determine the parameters of the preclusive effect of the

criminal convictions. After its presentation at trial, it was given

some weight by the District Court. However, the full legal import

was only correctly recognized by the Court of Appeals. ;

In the first unpublished decision, the Court of Appeals

did not make a judicial finding of fact. The District Court,

in denying summary judgment found that “there remain

in dispute genuine issue of material fact regarding the

circumstances involved in the incident in question — and

thus the applicability of qualified immunity to the case.”

[Pet. App. G, p. 79a]. The Court of Appeals, in affirming

this finding, stated that since it declined to address the

preclusive effect of the criminal conviction without having

the criminal court transcript to review, if Plaintiff’s

version of the facts were accepted and “/i/f the officer fired

on plaintiff even though she was posing no threat to

24

anyone, they would have violated clearly established law.”

[Pet. App. F, p. 78al. (emphasis supplied).

This does not establish that the officers were not

entitled to qualified immunity under the facts of the case —

it was nothing more than a supposition that IF those facts

which Plaintiff claims are in dispute are the ultimate facts

and that the criminal trial transcript and conviction are

not considered, then there would be no entitlement to

qualified immunity. However, as the Court of Appeals

addressed in detail, the facts at trial and the review of the

criminal trial transcript and judgment show that there

was clear entitlement to qualified immunity. Id. See

Johnson v. Jones, 515 U.S. 304, 311, 319-20, 115 S.Ct.

2151, 132 L.Ed.2d 238 (1995) (where genuine issues of

material fact exist, the officer is entitled to appeal the

District Court’s denial of his qualified immunity defense at

the conclusion of trial). Petitioner has not argued that the

facts were the same at the motion for summary judgment

stage asattrial. ~-

In her supplemental brief on reconsideration, Peti-

tioner did not suggest that the Court of Appeals position

was contrary to the other circuits. Indeed, Petitioner relied

upon previous Eleventh Circuit authority for the proposi-

tion that “[ilt is firmly established rule of this Circuit that

each succeeding panel is bound by the holding of the first

panel to address an issue of law, unless and until that

holding is overruled en banc, or by the supreme court.”

Villano v. City of Boynton Beach, 254 F.3d 1302, 1313 (11th

Cir. 2001). [Resp. App. A, p. 15a].

When considering the motion for summary judgement,

the District Court did not address clearly established law

in its denial of summary judgment, nor did the Court of

Appeals. As the District Court found in its order on

25

post-trial motions for judgment, « _.. the officers properly

and timely request that the Court revisit this factual

issue, the Court still finds that the qualified immunity ‘

defense turns on issues of fact that were properly resolved

by the jury.” [Pet. App. D, p. 4la, n. 4]. The Court of

Appeals found this to be error.

Moreover, Plaintiff’s claim that the Court of Appeals

rejects the application of the law-of-the-case doctrine is

meritless. Having now discarded the argument (although

it is still cited as authority — [Pet. at 26]) that Judge

Tjoflat’s dissent to the denial of a request for hearing en

banc in Riley v. Camp, 130°F.3d 958 (11th Cir. 1997) is

authority for the proposition, Petitioner now claims that

- Oladiende v. City of Birmingham, 230 F.3d 1275 (11th Cir.

2000) supports that contention.

However, Oladiende did not reject the application of the

law-of-the-case doctrine to qualified immunity cases. The

Court of Appeals, simply, after thoughtful, cogent discussion,

found it not applicable to the case. Id. 230 F.3d at 1290.

Similar to the proceedings below in this case, the prior

- unpublished decision did not delineate established facts

and find that there was no entitlement to qualified immu-

nity — it simply found that facts were in dispute. [Pet. App.

F, p. 78]. As the analysis of the issue of Oladiende con-

cluded: | :

Where a previous panel has given no explanation

for its decision, a subsequent appellate court

panel is “not bound by any Jaw of the case’

unless a determination by us concerning the pro-

priety of [the district court’s order] is necessarily

inconsistent with every possible correct basis for

the earlier rulings of this court.” Key v. Wise, 629

F.2d 1049, 1054-55 (5th Cir. 1980). One correct

basis for this court’s earlier ruling is that there

26

remained genuine issues of material fact in dis-

pute requiring a trial as to the police depart-

ment’s interests and the individual defendants’

motives in transferring the plaintiffs. Such a rul-

ing would present no binding conclusion of law as

to the defendants’ qualified immunity, but would

simply allow the case to proceed to the jury. A

conclusion now, after the facts have been devel-

oped at trial, that the defendants are entitled to

qualified immunity would not be inconsistent

with this possibly correct basis for the earlier rul-

ing of this court.

Oladiende, 230 F.3d at 1289-1290.

As far back as 1984, the Court of Appeals, in Wheeler

v. City of Pleasant Grove, 746 F.2d 1437 (11th Cir. 1984),

delineated the general contours of law-of-the-case doctrine

as above, and noted that there were certain exceptions,

including when (1) a subsequent trial produces substan-

tially different evidence, (2) controlling authority has since

made a contrary decision of law applicable to the issue, or

(3) the prior decision was clearly erroneous and would

work manifest injustice. These principles are markedly

similar to those of the Third Circuit in In re City of Phila-

~ delphia, supra.

Most central to the consideration of this doctrine in

this case is that in those cases where a motion for sum-

mary judgment based on qualified immunity is denied,

because the facts are not fully developed, the District

Court should be free to revisit the qualified immunity

question during and post trial to determine whether the

facts, as developed at trial, differ from those taken in the

light most favorable to the plaintiffs at the summary

judgment stage. See Kelly v. Curtis, 21 F.3d 1544, 1546

(11th Cir. 1994) (defendants may raise qualified immunity

27

anew at trial in motions for judgment as a matter of law

because, “‘rulings on summary judgment motions’ are ‘the

facts for present purposes,’ but they ‘may not be the actual

facts.’”); see also Sims v. Metropolitan Dade County, 972

F.2d 1230, 1233 (11th Cir. 1992).

If the facts presented by plaintiff at the summary

judgment stage become, without notable exception, the

“sctual facts” as developed at trial, then the qualified

immunity determination, if made by a prior appellate

panel, should not be revisited. If however, as here, there

truly was no qualified immunity determination made and

there was a notable difference as to the facts and devel-

opment of evidence (e.g., criminal trial transcript intro-

duced; plaintiff admitting she was shot within a split second

of throwing a knife) then the defendant's right to raise

qualified immunity should be, as it was, preserved. See

Johnson v. Jones, 515 U.S. 304, 311, 319-20, 115 S.Ct. 2151,

132 L.Ed.2d 238 (1995) (where genuine issues of material

fact exist, the officer is entitled to appeal the District Court’s

denial of his qualified immunity defense at the conclusion of

trial, once the factual issues have been resolved).

B. The Court of Appeals’ decision is not con-

trary to the other Courts of Appeals.

Petitioner now suggests that the Court of Appeals

position was contrary to the other circuits. In McCloud v.

Testa, 97 F.3d 1536 (6th Cir. 1996), the Sixth Circuit

recognized and concurred with the Court of Appeals

analysis of the first panel decision below. The Sixth Circuit

specifically found that: :

Uncertainty about the actual duties of these

positions, when their inherent nature is not ap-

parent (no parties to this suit have cited any

28

helpful state or county law defining the duties of

the posiiions), precludes us from reversing the

district court’s determination. We emphasize that

qualified immunity may become available to

Testa with respect to any of these positions as

the facts are crystallized or the relevant

state/county law is developed before the district

court at any time up to or including the conclu-

sion of trial. Our current disposition of this case

does not prevent the district court from granting

qualified immunity to Testa with respect to any

of these positions.

Id., 97 F.3d at 1561, 1562. This hardly supports Peti-

tioner’s contention of conflict.

In Kimberlin v. Quinlan, 199 F.3d 496 (D.C. Cir. 2000)

the individual defendants moved for summary judgment

on qualified immunity which was denied by the District

Court, finding that the law was clearly established that

prison officials could not interfere with prisoner’s First

Amendment right to access to the press. This issue was

not appealed, but other issues were. When remanded back

to the District Court, it refused to revisit the issue on a

renewed motion for summary judgment, relying on its

previous decision as being the law of the case, since that

issue had not been appealed. The Court of Appeals af-

firmed, on the same grounds. Id., 199 F.3d at 498, 499.

In In re City of Philadelphia, 158 F.3d 711 (3d Cir.

1998) a prior appeal on summary judgment, which found

that city officials were entitled to qualified immunity, had

determined that the conduct of city officials constituted a

29

seizure of plaintiff by the City within the meaning of the.

Fourth Amendment. Since, as the Third Circuit empha-

sized, “ ... that because the evidence was at least as

strong at trial on the issue of seizure as it was at the

summary judgment stage, our prior ruling that a seizure

occurred controls our resolution of this appeal.” Id. 158

F.3d at 722. No such finding was made below that the

summary judgment evidence was the same as it was at

trial. Indeed, the Court of Appeals pointed out the lack of

certain evidence caused it not to consider the legal issues.

Thus, the Court of Appeals’ analysis does not differ

from that of the other circuits. See McCloud, 97 F.3d at

1561, 1562 (qualified immunity may become available as

the facts are crystallized or the relevant law is developed

before the District Court at any time up to or including the

conclusion of trial); In re City of Philadelphia, 158 F.3d

711, 718 (doctrine does not preclude reconsideration

where: (1) new evidence is available, (2) a supervening

new law has been announced, or (3) the earlier decision

was clearly erroneous and would create manifest injus-

tice).

Nor is it contrary to this Court’s decisions. In Behrens

v. Pelletier, 516 U.S. 299 (1996), the Court found that

qualified immunity could be the subject of two pre-trial

appeals, because the first may be on allegations and the

second on actual facts found in discovery.

CONCLUSION

In her second petition to this Court, Petitioner raises

new issues not timely pressed in the District Court or the

Court of Appeals.

The Court of Appeals was directed to reconsider its

prior decision in light of Hope v. Pelzer. Petitioner did not

30

provide any relevant authority to the Court of Appeals

showing that the officers had fair warning of clearly

established law mandating that their conduct, under the

circumstances presented in the case, was unlawful. Nor

has Petitioner provided such analysis to this Court.

Petitioner has not provided any consensus of persua-

sive authority from the other Courts of Appeals on the

issues in this case that conflicts with precedent of the

Court of Appeals.

The law-of-the-case doctrine has not been rejected by

the Court of Appeals generally nor specifically in this case.

It is simply not applicable under the facts.

What Petitioner suggests is that despite the law of

this Court and The Courts of Appeals consistently holding

that their conduct was lawful, Officers Loughnan and

Buecler should have been prescient enough, in the split

second they had to decide, to predict a future course of

constitutional law that remains undisclosed. The looming

reward for this choice is financial ruin. The Court of

Appeals correctly found they had immunity from this

action.

The petition should be denied.

- Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE P. ROBERTS, JR., Esq.

Counsel of Record

ROBERTS, REYNOLDS & BEDARD PA.

470 Columbia Drive, Ste. 101C

West Palm Beach, FL 33409

561-688-6560

Counsel for Respondents

James Loughnan & Brian Buecler

App. 1

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

CASE NO. 99-4005

D.C. DOCKET NO. 90-8156-CIV-UUB

BETTY WILLINGHAM,

Plaintiff/Appellee/Cross-Appellant,

: Vv.

JAMES LOUGHNAN and BRIAN BEUCLER,

Defendants/Appellants/Cross-Appellees.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

APPEAL ON REMAND FROM THE

UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

APPELLEE’S SUPPLEMENTAL BRIEF

BARBARA A. HEYER, ESQ.

FLORIDA BAR NO: 346691.

HEYER & ASSOCIATES, P.A.

Attorneys for Appellee

1311 SE 4th Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33316

(954) 522-4922/(561) 833-1068

FAX NO: (954) 522-4955

* * *

App. 2

D. ARGUMENT

I. THE IMPACT OF HOPE V. PELZER

The United States Supreme Court in Hope, specifi-

cally disappproved this Court’s method of requiring facts

of previous cases be “materially similar” in order for a

plaintiff to overcome the qualified immunity defense. Id.

at 2516. Based upon Hope, this Court, in its August 15,

2001 opinion, incorrectly granted qualified immunity,

stating that:

“Cajlmost always, to establish the law clearly in

the context of the Fourth Amendment, a materi-

ally similar case must have already decided that

what the police officer was doing was unlaw-

ful.... ({NJo bright line exists for identifying

when force is excessive; we have therefore con-

cluded that unless a controlling and materially

similar case declares the official’s conduct uncon-

stitutional, a defendant is usually entitled to

qualified immunity.”). . . . Our own survey of the

case law indicates that in 1987 it was not clearly

established that it constituted excessive force to

shoot a person under the circumstances pre-

sented in this case.” (Emphasis added). Willing-

ham, supra at 1187.

The Appellants have argued that “[oJnly where there

is a pre-existing, ‘factually defined’ case which is precisely

on point can a litigant survive the defense of qualified

immunity before the court of Appeals for the Eleventh

Circuit.” (Respondents’ Brief, p. 5). While this is a correct

statement of this Court’s previous position with respect to

qualified immunity, the Supreme Court opinion in Hope

has determined that it was an incorrect position.

App. 3

“This rigid gloss on the qualified immunity stan-

dard, though supported by Circuit precedent, is

not consistent with our cases. ... Our opinion in

Lanier thus makes clear that officials can still be

on notice that their conduct violates established

law even in novel factual circumstances. Indeed,

in Lanier, we expressly rejected a requirement

that previous cases be fundamentally similar. Al-

though earlier cases involving fundamentally

similar facts can provide especially strong sup-

port for a conclusion that the law is clearly estab-

lished, they are not necessary to such a finding.

The same is true of cases with materially similar

facts. Accordingly, pursuant to Lanier, the sali-

ent question that the Court of Appeals ought to

have asked is whether the state of the law in

[1987] gave respondents fair warning that their

alleged treatment of [Willingham] was unconsti-

tutional.”

Id. at p. 2511. Clear “fair warning” had been provided to

Appellants both through case law, their training and

common sense. Would any court in this land justify and

condone a shooting by one of its citizens, let alone a

supposedly highly trained police officer, under like circum-

stances? As best stated by this Court in its September 2,

1997 ruling: “According to plaintiff, she was shot when she

was merely standing in the doorway of her house, scream-

ing and pulling her hair and posing no threat to anyone. If

the officers fired on plaintiff even though she was posing no

threat to anyone, they would have violated clearly-

established law.” (emph. added). (Appendix 2, p. 38a).

Such a determination by this Court came as a result of

evaluating several cases from this Court and the Supreme

Court which clearly dictate that excessive force used in

similar circumstances has been determined to be not

App. 4

entitled to qualified immunity. Tennessee v. Garner, 471

U.S. 1 (1985); Clark v. Beville, 730 F.2d 739 (11th Cir.

1984); Fundiller v. City of Cooper City, 777 F.2d 1436

(11th Cir. 1985); Gilmere v. City of Atlanta, 774 F.2d 1495

(11th Cir. 1985); Samples v. City of Atlanta, 846 F.2d 1328

(11th Cir. 1988); Vasquez, supra; McKinney by McKinney

v. DeKalb County, GA., 997 F.2d 1440 (11th Circuit 1993).

McKinney is of particular interest, as this Court deter-

mined that the officer in question was not entitled to

qualified immunity, despite evidence that at the time of

the shooting plaintiff “allegedly had a butcher knife in one

hand and a twelve-inch stick in the other.” Jd. at 1442.

According to this Court:

“The law was clearly established before Nelsen’s

actions in March 1990 that police use of exces-

sive force is a constitutional violation. Gilmere v.

City of Atlanta, 774 F.2d 1495, 1500-02 (11th Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1115, 106 S.Ct.

1970, 90 L.Ed.2d 654 (1986). The district court

correctly held that the facts are in dispute as to

what happened that led Officer Nelsen to fire his

gun. As alleged by the plaintiffs, however, Abdul

had previously put down his knife and was

merely shifting position, not threatening the

safety of any persons, when Officer Nelsen shot

him.”

Id. at 1443.

Additionally, the Appellants own conduct supports a

finding that they knew that their conduct of shooting an

unarmed woman when she was a threat to no one was

unconstitutional. The planting of a second knife by the

Appellants and the fabricated cocaine evidence was solely

for the purpose of covering up conduct which they knew to

be unlawful.

P — a —— — ee te eae at ins - nae en tae Snthtes

App. 5

“Tt is the firmly established rule of this Circuit that

each succeeding panel is bound by the holding of the first

panel to address an issue of law, unless and until that

holding is overruled en banc, or by the Supreme Court.’”

(emph. added) Villano v. City of Boynton Beach, 254 F.3d

1302, 1313 (11th Cir. 2001).

The laws-of-the-case doctrine generally protects

judicial findings of fact and law from subsequent review by

the same court. “Under this doctrine, a court should not

reopen issues decided in earlier stages of the same litiga-

tion.” Aguilar v. Agostini, 521 U.S. 203, 236 (1997) (citing

Messenger v. Anderson, 225 U.S. 436 (1912). The doctrine

does not apply if the court is “convinced that [its prior

decision] is clearly erroneous and would work a manifest

injustice,” Arizona v. California, 460 U.S. 605, n.8 (1983),

“although as a rule courts should be loathe to do so in the

absence of extraordinary circumstances. . .” Christianson

v. Colt Industries Operating Corp., 486 U.S. 800, 817

(1988). See generally 18B, C. Wright, A. Miller & E.

Cooper, Federal Practice & Procedure § 4478 (2002) (“The

standards announced for departing from the law of the

case commonly demand strong justification.”).

Given the accepted evidence in the instant case, taken

in the light most favorable to Appellee, “no factually-

particularized, preexisting case law was necessary for it to

be very obvious to every objectively reasonable officer

facing [Appellants’] situation that [Appellants’] conduct

... violated [Willingham’s] constitutional right to be free

of the excessive use of force.” Vinyard v. Wilson, 2002 WL

31521208 (11th Cir. 2002). “The peculiar facts of this case

are ‘so far beyond the hazy border between excessive and

acceptable force that [every objectively reasonable officer]

had to know he was violating the Constitution even

without caselaw on point.” Id.

The criminal conviction of BETTY WILLINGHAM

cannot justify gunning her down when she was a threat to_

no one. “The fact that the act to which the police re-

sponded was a criminal act does not foreclose the possibil-

ity that the officers’ response was also illegal.... To

conclude otherwise would give law enforcement authori-

ties carte blanche to respond as they please to criminal

activity.” Vasquez, supra at 1108-9.

“When “the defendants” conduct is so patently

violative of the constitutional right that reason-

able officials would know without guidance from

the courts’ that the action as unconstitutional,

closely analogous pre-existing case law is not re-

quired to show that the law is clearly estab-

lished.’ To hold otherwise would allow an officer

who understood the unlawfulness of his actions

to escape liability simply because the instant

- case could be distinguished on some immaterial

fact, or worse, because the illegality of the action

was so clear that it had seldom befcre been liti-

gated.” Clem v. Corbeau, 284 F.3d 543, 553 (4th

Cir. 2002). we

Il. THE LAW PROVIDED ‘FAIR _WARN-

ING,” PRECLUDING ENTITLEMENT TO

QUALIFIED IMMUNITY _

The Supreme Court has held that where an excessive

force claim arises in the context of an arrest or investiga-

tory stop of a free citizen, it is most properly characterized

as a claim invoking the protections of the Fourth Amend-

ment. Graham v. Connor, 109 S.Ct. 1865, 1871 (1989). The

Supreme Court stated:

App. 7

“Today, we make explicit what was implicit in

Garner’s analysis, and hold that all claims that

law enforcement officers have used excessive

force — deadly or not — in the course of an arrest,

investigatory stop, or other ‘seizure’ of a free citi-

zen should be analyzed under the Fourth

Amendment and its ‘reasonableness’ standard

rather than under a ‘substantive due process’

approach.” Id.

The conduct of Appellants when they unreasonably

seized the Appellee as she stood, threatening nobody, in

the doorway of her home, by shooting her eight times

while standing less than 6 feet away from her violated

“clearly established law.” This is particularly true, where,

as in the instant case, the only thing in Ms. WILLING-

HAM’s hands was hair.

“An officer will be entitled to qualified immunity if his

actions were objectively reasonable, that is if an objec-

tively reasonable officer in the same situation could have

believed that the force used was not excessive. .. . protect-

ing from suit all but the plainly incompetent or one who is

knowingly violating federal law.” (Citations omitted).

(Emphasis added). Vinyard, supra at p. 4.

“The threshold inquiry a court must undertake in a

qualified immunity analysis is whether the plaintiff’ s

allegations, if true, establish a constitutional violation. ...

‘the next sequential step is to ask whether the right was

clearly established.’” (citations omitted). Id. at p. 4. “‘The

Fourth Amendment’s freedom from unreasonable searches

and seizures encompasses the plain right to be free from

the use of excessive force in the course of an arrest.’”

(emph. added). (citations omitted). Id. at p. 4. The Su-

preme Court has stated that the qualified immunity

App. 8

inquiry focuses on whether the plaintiff can identify

“controlling authority in [its] jurisdiction at the time of the

incident which clearly established the rule on which [it]

seeks] to rely,” or “a consensus of cases of persuasive

authority such that a reasonable officer could not have

believed that his actions were lawful.” Wilson v. Layne,

526 U.S. 603, 617 (1999); Hope, supra. “Fair warning” can

be demonstrated in various ways, and “. . . in the absence

of fact-specific case law, the plaintiff may overcome the

qualified immunity defense when the preexisting general

constitutional rule applies ‘with obvious clarity to the

specific conduct in question,’ and it must have been ‘obvi-

ous’ to a reasonable police Officer that the pertinent

conduct given the circumstances must have been unconsti-

tutional at the time.” (Citations omitted). Vinyard, supra.

at p. 8. “{GJeneral statements of the law are not inher-

ently incapable of giving fair and clear warning, and in

other instances a general constitutional rule already

identified in the decisional law may apply with obvious

clarity to the specific conduct in question, even though “the

very action in question has [not] previously been held

unlawful”’” Id. at p. 8, citing to Hope, supra at 2516;

United States v. Lanier, 520 U.S. 259, 271 (1997); Ander-

son v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 640 (1987).

The law providing “fair warning” to Appellants at the

time is as follows:

“Whenever an officer restrains the freedom of a person

to walk away, he has seized that person.” Tennessee v.

Garner, 471 U.S. 1, 105 S.Ct. 1694 (1985). A seizure is not

unconstitutional unless it is unreasonable. What is unrea-

sonable or reasonable is determined by “ . . . balance{ing]

the nature and quality of the intrusion on the individual’s

Fourth Amendment interests against the importance of

3

ve

' ae

"4

A

Ba

er

ag

be

re.

§

«%

is

CT ACR IN oP aS ey

PLES PSN Pak Te RT Fema any me?

SRO DIE aN eM Oe EMT A Ee

App. 9

the governmental interests alleged to justify the intru-

sion.” Id. at 1699 (Quoting U.S. v. Place, 462 U.S. 696,

703, 103 S.Ct. 2637, 2642 (1983)). “In conducting this

balancing test, we are to consider ‘the scope of the particu-

lar intrusion, and the manner in which it is conducted, the

justification for initiating it, and the place in which. itjg.—,

conducted.’” Gilmere, supra at 1502 (11th Cir. :1985)

(Quoting Bell v. Wolfish, 441 U.S. 520, 559, 99 S.Ct. 1861,

1884 (1979). See also: Clark, supra; Fundiller, supra;

Samples, supra; Vazquez, supra; McKinney, supra. -

The Court in Graham held that “the ‘reasonableness’

of a particular force must be judged from the perspective

of a reasonable officer on the scene, rather than [that of an

officer] with the 20/20 vision of hindsight. The test of

reasonableness is an objective one, without regard to the

underlying intent or motivation of the officer. The proper

question to be asked is whether the officer’s actions were

objectively reasonable under the facts and circumstances

confronting him.” Graham, supra at 1872. Whether the

force used was excessive must be objectively determined

and is a jury question. Barlow v. Ground, 943 F.2d 1132

(9th Cir. 1991); Posr v. Doherty, 944 F.2d 91 (2d Cir. 1991);

Dixon v. Richer, 922 F.2d 1456 (10th Cir. 1991); Ortega v.

Schramm, 922 F.2d 684 (11th Cir. 1991).

In Graham, the Court held that it was reversible error

for the trial court to apply the four-part test of Johnson v.

Glick, 481 F.2d 1028 (2nd Cir. 1973) cert. denied 414 US.

1033 (1973) in a Fourth Amendment excessive force case.

The Court noted that the Johnson v. Glick test which had

previously been used to analyze excessive force claims was

incompatible with a proper Fourth Amendment analysis.

The Johnson v. Glick test required consideration of

whether the individual officer acted in “good faith” or

App. 10

“maliciously and sadistically for the very purpose of

causing harm”. The Supreme Court held that the consid-

eration of these factors put in issue the subjective motiva-

tions of the individual officers, which has no bearing on

whether a particular seizure is unreasonable under the

Fourth Amendment. Id.

Addressing the use of deadly force, the United States

Supreme Court stated: |

“The use of deadly force to prevent the escape of

all felony suspects, whatever the circumstances,

is constitutionally unreasonable. It is not better

that all felony suspects die than that they es-

cape. Where the suspect poses no immediate

threat to the officer and no threat to others, the

harm resulting from failing to apprehend him

does not justify the use of deadly force to do

so.... Where the officer has probable cause to

believe that the suspect poses a threat of serious

physical harm either to the officer or to others, it

is not constitutionally unreasonable to prevent

escape by using deadly force. Thus, if the suspect

threatens the officer with a weapon or there is

probable cause to believe that he has committed

a crime involving the infliction or threatened in-

fliction of serious physical harm, deadly force

may be used if necessary to prevent escape, and

if, where feasible, some warning has been given.”

(Emphasis added). Garner, supra at 1701.

Garner is not restricted to force intended to cause

death. Pruitt v. City of Montgomery, 771 F.2d 1475 (11th

Cir. 1985). It extends to “force capable of causing serious

personal injury.” Id. at 1479-1480, n.10. Under section

776.01 of Florida Statutes, deadly force “means force

which is likely to cause death or great bodily harm....”

=~

App. 11

In Kidd v. O’Neil, 774 F.2d 1252 (4th Cir. 1985), the Court

noted that while Garner deals “specifically only with the

extreme example of deadly force, nevertheless [it] makes

clear that the use of any significant degree of excessive

force in effecting otherwise constitutionally valid arrests

may constitute an unreasonable seizure of the person in

violation of fourth amendment rights.” Jd. at 1254. No

bones need to be broken for a use of force to be “grossly

disproportionate to the need ... ” Shillingford v. Holmes,

634 F.2d 263, 265 (5th Cir. 1981). (Police officer striking

the plaintiffs camera with his nightsticx, thereby causing

the camera to strike and lacerate the plaintiff's forehead

established a deprivation of his constitutional rights).

Even if the Appellants BEUCLER and LOUGHNAN

had been attempting to effectuate a valid search, the force

utilized was grossly disproportionate to what was required

and would satisfy any balancing test. Redley v. Leavitt,

631 F.2d 358 (4th Cir. 1980); Smith v. Hearod, 498 F.2d

663 (5th Cir. 1974);-Green v. Cauthen, 379 F.Supp. 361

(D.S.C. 1974); Austin v. Hamilton, 945 F.2d 1155 (10th

Cir. 1991); Turner v. County of Washoe, 759 F.Supp. (630

(D.Nev. 1991); Vasquez, supra.

Given the claimed extensive training that officers

received in the use of force, it may be questioned whether

the assumption that police are frequently required to

make “split-second” decisions is always an appropriate

criterion for determining the reasonableness of the force.

See: Helseth v. Burch, 258 F.3d 867, 876 (8th Cir. 2001). In

the instant case, Appellants provided evidence to the

district Court and the jury of their training with respect to

“split-second” decision making abilities regarding the use

of deadly force. What the evidence showed is that this

training was ignored by the Appellant Officers. What the

App. 12

evidence also demonstrated was that, at the time of the

shooting, BETTY WILLINGHAM was obviously unarmed

and a threat to no one, thereby precluding the defense of

qualified immunity. Clem, supra at 552.

For this Court to award the Appellants with qualified

immunity is only possible if this Court accepts the lies of

the Appellants. Lies which were not accepted by the jury

inthis matter or the District Court. Appellants can only be

entitled to qualified immunity only if this court deter-

mines, in contradiction to the jury, the District Court, and

the original panel of this Court, that at the time of the

shooting, Appellee “raised the second knife to her head

and lunged, with the knife, towards Panucci” (Appellants’

Initial Brief, p. 5; Appellants’ Reply Brief, p. 1; Respon-

dents’ Brief, p. 1). In its August 15, 2001 opinion overturn-

ing the verdict and the District Court’s ruling, this Court

stated: “. . . she was not subdued; an” 3) she was stand-

ing in the door to the kitchen where she had, just moments

before, obtained-weapons with which she had tried to kill

one officer and assaulted another.” Willingham, supra at

p. 1187. At no time prior to this court’s factual conclusion

had the Appellants or anyone else alleged in any court the

possibility of the Appellee rearming herself or, as previ-

ously stated, had there been 4 determination in the

criminal proceedings that she “intended” to kill Panucci.

“Credibility determinations, the weighing of the evidence,

and the drawing of legitimate inferences from the facts are

jury functions, not those of a judge.” Anderson v. Liberty

Lobby, 477 U.S. 242, 255 (1986). See also: Eastman Kodak

v. Image Technical Services, 504 U.S. 451, 456 (1992).

In its August 15, 2001 opinion, this Court stated “Both

Loughnan and Beucler fired two ‘double-taps’ at Plain-

tiff.... No argument was made at trial or on appeal that

App. 13

the practice of shooting a ‘double-tap’ itself constitutes

excessive force.” Willingham, supra at p. 1182. Such a

statement demonstrates that, unlike the jury and the

District Court, this Court did not fully evaluate the ac-

cepted evidence in the light most favorable to the Appellee.

If the Appellee was doing what the Appellants have

alleged to the jury, the district court, this Court and the

United States Supreme Court, it would be irrelevant how

many bullets were fired at Ms. WILLINGHAM. What she

proved to the District Court and the jury was what any

reasonable officer under the same circumstances would

know: You cannot shoot an unarmed woman once, let

alone eight times, when she poses a threat to no one. —

BETTY WILLINGHAM proved this through her testi-

mony, the testimony of Stanley Williams, the proven

inconsistencies and lies by Appellants and members of the

City of Boynton Beach Police Department, the testimony

of both Appellee’s and Appellants’ police experts, both

former police chiefs, and most importantly, the physical

evidence.

App. 14

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Appellee respectfully

submits that this Court’s August 15, 2001 decision should

be reversed and that the District Court’s judgment entered

in her favor should be affirmed as to Appellants BEU-

CLER and LOUGHNAN in every respect. :

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Barbara A. Heyer

BARBARA A. HEYER

FLORIDA BAR NO: 346691

HEYER & ASSOCIATES, P.A.

1311 S.E. 4th Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33316

(954) 522-4922/(561) 833-1068

FAX NO: (954) 522-4955

Counsel for Appellee

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.