Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Loewenstein v. City of Lafayette, California

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

021662 MAY 1 2 2093

~No.

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

,

Vv

PETER J. LOEWENSTEIN and

HELEN LOEWENSTEIN,

Petitioners,

W¥..

CITY OF LAFAYETTE, a Municipality,

Respondent.

2

7

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Court Of Appeal

Of The State Of California,

First Appellate District

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

&

Vv

DAVID J. BOWIE

Counsel of Record

BOWIE & BRUEGMANN, LLP

1700 N. Broadway, Suite 350

Walnut Creek, CA 94596

(925) 939-5300

Attorneys for Petitioners

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OP. CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether litigation regarding the erroneous

application of a land use regulation which resulted in

denial of a development project is simply a “normal” part

of the development process so that compensation for a

temporary taking was properly denied puisuant to First

English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale us.

County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987).

2. Whether a landowner is entitled to just compensa-

tion for a temporary taking of his land if a land use regu-

lation as generally applied might be viewed as a part of a

reasonable regulatory process, but if, as applied to a

specific development project, it actually failed to substan-

tially advance any legitimate government interest.

3. Whether a landowner is entitled to just compensa-

tion pursuant to Lucas vs. South Carolina Coastal Coun-

cil, 505 U.S. 1003 (1992), for the temporary deprivation of

all economically feasible use of his land due to the errone-

ous application of land use regulation which effectively

prevented access and which precluded utilities services.

il

LIST OF PARTIES

The Petitioners are Peter G. Loewenstein and his-

wife, Helen Loewenstein. Petitioners were Plaintiffs in the

proceedings at the trial court level before the Contra Costa

Superior Court; they were Respondents and Cross-

Appellants before the California Court of Appeal, First

District, Division One; they were unsuccessful Petitioners

for Review before the California Supreme Court.

The City of Lafayette, a Municipality, was the Defen-

dant in proceedings before the Contra Costa Superior

Court, the Appellant and Cross-Respondent on appeal

before the California Court of Appeal, First District,

Division One, and the Respondent before the California

Supreme Court.

Amici Curiae, City and County of San Francisco, and

the State of California filed Briefs in Support of the City of

Lafayette before the California Court of Appeal. More than

50 California Cities joined with the City and County of

San Francisco and its Brief filed in support of the City of

Lafayette.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED..000000.o.oeecoceccesececcececcs... i

ee os Satseveeyeie ssiceeokssnnindeaseeseecseccccace: ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS ...0.......cccccsccsseseseeseceecececesc... iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES 0.0.0.0... ccccccsccccecesececescs... Vv

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI................ ee

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW.......................... 2

to TES ee 4

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS _

soy si). hau ECE ROO en 5

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ooo... cccececcccccccececcc.. 7

A. STATEMENT OF FACTS ...000...cceccccccccsccecscs. 7

B. THE COURSE OF THE PROCEEDINGS

Se ih airbase ised nce ddenincedsorcincess.... 11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.............. 16

A. THE HOLDING OF THE CALIFORNIA

COURT OF APPEAL THAT LITIGATION

REGARDING THE ERRONEOUS APPLICA-

TION OF A LAND USE REGULATION

WHICH RESULTED IN DENIAL OF A DE-

VELOPMENT PROJECT IS SIMPLY A

“NORMAL” PART OF THE. DEVELOPMENT

PROCESS REQUIRING NO COMPENSA-

TION DIRECTLY CONFLICTS WITH THE

FIFTH AMENDMENT AND ITS REQUIRE-

MENT FOR PAYMENT OF JUST COMPEN-

SATION FOR A REGULATORY TAKING AS

SET FORTH IN FIRST ENGLISH................. 16

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

B. THE COURT OF APPEAL DECISION WHICH

HOLDS LITIGATION OVER WRONGFUL

REGULATORY ACTION TO BE BUT A NOR-

MAL PART OF THE REGULATORY PROC-

ESS CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS OF

THE WISCONSIN SUPREME COURT.....=..... 21

C. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF AP-

PEAL CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT'S

OPINIONS IN AGINS AND NOLLAN IN ITS

HOLDING THAT A PARTICULAR LAND USE

REGULATION WHICH IS A PART OF A

REASONABLE REGULATORY PROCESS

CANNOT BE DEEMED TO HAVE FAILED

TO SUBSTANTIALLY ADVANCE GOVERN-

MENT INTERESTS AS APPLIED................... 22

D. REGULATORY ACTION WHICH PREVENTS

ACCESS TO LAND OR RENDERS UTILI-

TIES UNAVAILABLE MUST BE DEEMED

TO HAVE DEPRIVED A LANDOWNER OF

ALL ECONOMICALLY FEASIBLE USE OF

HIS LAND SO THAT JUST COMPENSATION

MUST BE PAID AS SET FORTH IN LUCAS... 27

CE IEE sictnsstdsiinneptiinisinnvnieadeenntalienweaniies 29

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ie Page

CASES:

_ Agins us. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980).......... passim

Eberle vs. Dane County Bd., 595 N.W. 2d 730 (1999).2, 21, 28

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale

us. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 ( | passim

Landgate Inc. vs. California Coastal Commission,

2d Cal. 4th 1006 (2008) ...0....ccecssccoeseseeseeeesesses,..... passim

Loewenstein vs. City of Lafayette, 103 Cal. App. 4th

Fe PD iinicsinieiihbicsini cide ateiaa a sera 3, 20, 26, 29

Loretto vs. Teleprompter Manhatten CATV Corp.,

Fe a Sa i iviisicsisiecicnnniciiiadini oe 28

Lucas vs. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.

1003 ST -sserveonsnsinspacicitaiimigtausiptaliie: 1, 15, 28, 29, 30

Nollan vs. California Coastal Commission, 483 U.S.

Sa, ON or REN Hatta Passim

San Dieguito Partnership vs. City of San Diego,

7 Cal. App. 4th 748 ( EMRE eM etn 13

STATUTES:

California Code of Civil Procedure Section og fT 14

California Code of Civil Procedure Section 1094.5 ........... 11

Government Code Section SEAMED sstivvivrncnvscsecbacsas 6, 138, 19

United States Constitution, Amendment V.............. passim

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV................ 4,5

MISCELLANEOUS:

Supreme Court Rules, Rule Se siscicciciaiapaadelbdliapiiaibeascioal 2,5

tel

1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners respectfully petition for a Writ of Certio-

rari to review the Opinion of the California Court of

Appeal, First District, Division One, filed November 13,

2002. The California Supreme Court denied a Petition for

Review on February 11, 2003.

The California Court of Appeal tiated decided

this case on the strength of the State Supreme Court

holding in Landgate Inc. vs. California Coastal Commis-

sion, 17 Cal. 4th 1006 (1998). In Landgate, the California

Supreme Court held that a legally erroneous decision of a

government agency during the development approval

process which resulted in delay cannot constitute a tempo-

rary taking of property for the reason that litigation

challenging the validity of a land use restriction which

causes such delay is simply a “normal” part of the devel-

opment approval process. The wrongful regulatory action

taken by the City of Lafayette in denial of Petitioners’

development application was found to have been without

any support or justification and to have failed to substan-

tially advance any legitimate government interest. None-

theless, Petitioners’ required judicial challenge to

regulatery action was held to constitute mere “normal”

delay in the regulatory process consistent with the afore-

said Landgate holding. Petitioners submit that the Cali-

fornia Courts have eviscerated this Court’s holdings in

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale vs.

County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987) and Lucas vs.

South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003 (1992), all

in violation of the Fifth Amendment’s just compensation

requirements.

2

In 1999, the Wisconsin Supreme Court addressed this

issue of litigation required to correct wrongful regulatory

action and “normal” development delay in Eberle vs. Dane

County Bd. of Adjustment, 595 N.W. 2d 730 (1999). Invited

to dispose of this issue in the same fashion as has the

California Supreme Court in Landgate and the Court of

Appeal in the subject case, the Wisconsin Supreme Court

specifically rejected the California approach to temporary

takings damages. In footnote 25 of its decision, the Wis-

consin Supreme Court refused to characterize litigation to

correct erroneous regulatory action as simply a “normal”

part of the development process and, therefore, made

possible an award of just compensation for a temporary

taking.

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 10(b), the grant of

Certiorari in this case would enable this Court to resolve

the evident conflict between the California and Wisconsin

Supreme Courts. In addition, the grant of Certiorari would

enable this Court to clearly and unambiguously define the

standards (1) for determining what constitutes “normal”

delay in the context of temporary takings jurisprudence,

(2) for determining what constitutes a legitimate state

interest or what type of connection between regulatory

‘action and state interest satisfies the requirement that the

former substantially advance the latter, and (3) for deter-

mining what constitutes the deprivation of all economi-

cally feasible use of property.

*

Vv

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

The November 13, 2002, published Opinion of the

California Court of Appeal, First Appellate District

3

(Division One) is reported at 103 Cal. App. 4th 718 and is

reprinted in the Appendix at App. 1. The December 10,

2002 Order of the Court of Appeal in which the Petition for

Rehearing was denied is reprinted in the Appendix at App.

31.

The California Supreme Court denied a Petition for

Review on February 11, 2003. That Order is reprinted in

the Appendix at App. 32. Remittitur issued and the case

became final on February 18, 2003; the Remittitur is

reprinted in the Appendix at App. 33.

The Contra Costa Superior Court issued three Orders,

a Statement of Decision, and a Judgment, all of which

were unpublished but relevant to this Petition. The

Superior Court Order Granting Petition for Writ of Man-

date is reprinted in the Appendix at App. 59. The Decision

and Order Re Ripeness is reprinted in the Appendix at

App 66. The Order Re Tentative Ruling is reprinted in the

Appendix at App 68. The Trial Court Statement of Deci-

sion and Judgment are reprinted in the Appendix at App.

72 and 98.

Some reference to the administrative proceedings

before the City of Lafayette City Council is necessary and

relevant to this Petition as the City’s improper and erro-

neous regulatory action formed the basis for all of the

judicial proceedings which followed. The City Council of

Lafayette adopted Resolution No. 69-98 in which it denied

Petitioners’ original development application; that Resolu-

tion is reprinted in the Appendix at App. 41. Subsequently,

the City of Lafayette first refused to correct its erroneous

regulatory action in an initial return to a Contra Costa |

Superior Court Peremptory Writ of Mandate, which initial

return is relevant to this Petition and is reprinted in the

ae Hee ON Seem Oh eee a a

eee a reer rae ay ae a Lanes aane Seaton SESS

4 ;

Appendix at App. 64. Finally, the City Council reversed its

position, in effect conceding that its regulatory action was

legally erroneous and approving Petitioners’ development

project in an Amended Return to Peremptory Writ of

Mandate which has been reprinted in the Appendix at

App. 103.

ee

Vv

JURISDICTION

The Decision of the California Court of Appeal, First

Appellate District, Division One, for which this Petition for

Writ of Certiorari has been sought was filed by the Clerk

of that Court on November 13, 2002. A Petition for Rehear-

ing was denied December 10, 2002. The California Su-

preme Court denied a Petition for Review in an Order filed

February 11, 2003. On February 18, 2003, the Court of

Appeal issued a Remittitur and the Decision became final.

From its very inception, this case has presented

important questions of constitutional Iaw. The Fifth

Amendment to the United States Constitution expressly

prohibits the taking of private property without due

process of law and payment of just compensation. The

Fifth Amendment is made applicable to the States by and

under the terms of the Fourteenth Amendment. The

Complaint filed with the trial court specifically sought

declaretory relief and damages pursuant to the takings

clause of the Fifth Amendment. The Court of Appeal

reversed a trial court judgment for a regulatory taking

based essentially upon the California Supreme Court case,

Landgate Inc. vs. California Coastal Commission, 17

Cal. 4th 1006 (1998). Landgate, in turn, represented the

California Supreme Court’s implementation of this Court’s

5

decision in First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of

Glendale vs. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987)

(which held a landowner may recover just compensation

damages for the taking of his property for the period

before it is finally determined that the regulation in

question worked a temporary taking except in cases

involving “normal” delays in obtaining building permits,

changes in zoning ordinances, variances, and the like).

Thus, jurisdiction exists pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section

1257.

Because the Court of Appeal opinion made under the

authority of the California Supreme Court’s Landgate

decision directly conflicts with a decision of the Wisconsin

Supreme Court involving similar issues, and because that

opinion decides important questions of constitutional law

in a fashion which conflicts with decisions of this Court

and/or which should be settled once and for all by this

Court, jurisdiction also exists pursuant to Rule 10 of the

Supreme Court Rules.

,

—

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The United States Constitution, Amendment V, which

provides, in pertinent part, “No person shall be ... de-

prived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of

law; nor shall private property be taken for public use,

without just compensation.”

The United States Constitution, Amendment XIV,

which provides, in pertinent part, “... [No State shall]

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdic-

tion the equal protection of the laws.”

6

The genesis of the dispute which gave rise to this case

was Petitioners’ application for a lot line adjystment in

which they proposed to reconfigure the lot lines of three

separate adjoining pre-existing legal parcels. As deter-

mined by the trial court, the three subject parcels might

have been merged into a single parcel and then resubdi-

vided under the California Subdivision Map Act. A Subdi-

vision Map Act application would clearly have been denied

' by the City of Lafayette, however. The reconfiguration of

lot lines of adjoining parcels is permitted as an exemption

\ from the Subdivision Map Act and little discretion is

‘afforded the City of Lafayette with respect to the approval

or denial of such an application. The Petitioners’ develop-

ment permit application was for lot line adjustment of

adjoining parcels and the City’s denial of that development

application was found to have been legally erroneous. The

lot line adjustment statute is relevant to these proceedings

and is found in California Government Code Section

66412(d). That statute provides as follows:

[The Subdivision Map Act in its entirety is inapplica-

ble to:]

“(d) A lot line adjustment between four or fewer

existing adjoining parcels, where the land taken

from one parcel is added to an adjoining parcel,

and where a greater number of parcels than

originally existed is not thereby created, if the lot

line adjustment is approved by the local agency,

or advisory agency. A local agency or advisory

agency shall limit its review and approval to a

determination of whether or not the parcels re-

sulting from the lot line adjustment will conform

to the local General Plan, any applicable Coastal

Plan, and Zoning and Building Ordinances. An

advisory agency or local agency shall not impose

7

conditions or exactions on its approval of a lot

line adjustment except to conform to the local

General Plan, any applicable Coastal Plan and

Zoning and Building Ordinances, to require the

prepayment of real property taxes prior to the

approval of the lot line adjustment, or to facili-

tate the relocation of existing utilities, infra-

structure, or easements. No tentative map, -

parcel map, or final map shall be required as a

condition to the approval of a lot line adjustment.

The lot line adjustment shall be reflected in a

deed which shall be recorded. No record of survey

shall be required for a lot line adjustment unless

required by Section 8762 of the Business and

Professions Code.”

Resolution 69-98 of the Lafayette City Council, which

is reprinted in the Appendix at App. 41.

4

v

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Statement of Facts

The Petitioners Loewenstein are residents of the City

of Lafayette, California (City). The lot on which they built

their Lafayette home was created as a part of a 1977

subdivision. At the time that subdivision was approved,

the City imposed a condition, without explanation, which

precluded further subdivision “of the property”. App. 1-2.

Years later, the Loewensteins acquired a legal, but noncon-

forming and very small parcel of real property adjacent to

their residential lot (the Tank Lot). This Tank Lot had

been declared “surplus” by the East Bay Municipal Utility

District (District) as it had at one time housed a water

storage tank long since removed. As required by law, the

District offered the Tank Lot to the City as a pre-condition

8

to public sale. The District’s analysis of the Tank Lot

which accompanied its offer to the City noted that it

lacked both access and utilities, such that its independent

development was problematic, at best. The City declined to

purchase the Tank Lot and recommended instead that the

District sell it to an adjoining property owner who could

then merge the land or create a more useable lot through a

lot line adjustment. App. 57-58.

The entire purpose for the Loewensteins’ purchase of

the Tank Lot was to use the lot line adjustment procedure

to create a more useable lot with access and utilities upon

_ which they might construct a single-family residence. To

this end — and in accordance with City recommendations —

they proposed a lot line adjustment which would reconfig-

ure the Tank Lot into a conforming developable parcel

with utilities and road access which might be improved

with a single family residence of a type and size compati-

ble with other homes within the neighborhood. The City

denied the Loewenstein lot line adjustment despite the

fact that the Loewensteins proposed to do nothing other

than what the Citys recommendation to the District

anticipated. App. 3, 5.

The Tank Lot was adjacent, but not contiguous, to the

Loewenstein residential lot. The two lots only share a

common corner. Given this logistical circumstance, the

Tank Lot, by itself, could neither be merged into the

Loewenstein residential lot nor was it feasible to reconfig-

ure the Tank Lot through a lot line adjustment process

only involving the residential lot. The Tank Lot and the

residential lot were physically separated from sharing a

common boundary line (as opposed to a common corner) by

land which comprised yet a third lot — a lot owned by

adjoining neighbors, the Millers. By adding a triangular

portion of the Miller lot to the Tank Lot and Loewenstein

Tare

9

residential lot, sufficient common boundaries existed to

merge the lots, resubdivide them, and/or reconfigure them

using the lot line adjustment process. The Loewenstein

residential lot has public road access and available utili-

ties. Since the residential lot and the Tank Lot share only

a common corner with no common boundary line, however,

regulatory approval by the City of either a lot line adjust-

ment or a subdivision was required to extend roadway

access and utilities to the Tank Lot. App. 4.

The adjoining neighbors who owned the third lot

which was a part of the lot line adjustment refused to

participate in any fashion in a Subdivision Map Act

application. They were concerned over the impact of

potential exactions and conditions of approval which the

City might impose as a part of the Subdivision Map Act

process. App. 4. It was found by the trial court on the

preponderance of the evidence that the City would not

have approved a Subdivision Map Act application in any

case. App. 66. Despite this latter circumstance, the City

Council’s Resolution which denied the Loewenstein devel-

opment application took pains to stress that the denial

was as to the lot line adjustment process, but that the

Loewensteins might seek the same end result if they

would merely pursue a tentative subdivision map through .

the Subdivision Map Act process. App. 41.

The City was well aware of the statutory procedure for

lot line adjustments as it acknowledged that hundreds of

such applications had been routinely processed over a

period of at least 16 years without a single denial save

and except the subject Loewenstein application. App. 72,

78, 80. The City’s denial of the Loewenstein lot line

adjustment application and its urging that the Loewen-

steins might seek approval of the development project

through the Subdivision Map Act process was ingenuous.

10

Obviously, if the City was prepared to grant the end result

sought by the Loewensteins through the Subdivision Map

Act process, it might just as well have approved the lot

line adjustment. In fact, the trial judge found the City’s

regulatory action taken in denial of the lot line adjustment

application to have been erroneous and without substan-

tial or any evidence in the record to support it. App. 59.

The trial judge also found that there was no reasonable

probability that a subdivision application would have been

approved by the City. App. 66. In the absence of approval

of the lot line adjustment application, the Loewensteins

were found to have been denied all economically viable use

of their land. On the preponderance of the evidence pro-

duced at trial, the trial judge also found that the Loewen-

steins’ expectations regarding development of their Tank

Lot were reasonable investment-backed expectations

which were completely frustrated by the City’s regulatory

action. App. 72, 79. This was particularly egregious as

both the District and the City had anticipated that the

ultimate purchaser of the Tank Lot would use precisely

the lot line adjustment process selected by the Loewen-

steins to render the Tank Lot more useable and actually

developable given the lack of access or utilities at the time

of its purchase. App. 72.

Finally, and importantly, the trial court found that the

City had failed to offer any credible evidence of any sub-

stantial government purpose which was furthered by its

regulatory action of denial of the Loewenstein lot line

adjustment application. To the contrary, the trial court

found that approval of that development application would

have furthered any number of substantial government

purposes involved in converting a former legal but non-

conforming lot, into a legal and conforming lot, and ren-

dering that lot developable with a home of the size and

0 EE —

11

quality compatible with the surrounding neighborhood.

App. 72, 81.

The trial court initially held the City’s denial of the

Loewenstein development application to have been erro-

neous. It issued a peremptory writ of mandate command-

ing that said denial be-set aside and other action taken in

light of the Court’s decision. App. 59. In its return to the

Peremptory Writ, the City declined to reconsider its

decision and proposed to appeal the trial court determina-

tion. App. 64. After trial and a finding that Petitioners

were entitled to damages based on the taking of their

property through regulatory action with a correlative

award of just compensation damages, the City suddenly

abandoned its prior position and filed an Amended Return

to the Peremptory Writ of Mandate. App. 103. In the

Amended Return, the City reversed its position on the lot

line adjustment and approved it. This action on the City’s

part converted what had been a permanent taking of

Petitioners’ land into a temporary taking for which just

compensation damages might be awarded. It was this

issue of the temporary taking which was presented to the

Court of Appeal as the trial court was afforded no oppor-

tunity to decide either the issue of a temporary taking of

Petitioners’ land or the amount of damages which might be

properly assessed.

B. The Course of the Proceedings Below

After Petitioners fruitlessly exhausted all of their

administrative remedies, they sought judicial review of the

City’s denial of their lot line adjustment application

pursuant to California Code of Civil Procedure Section

1094.5. The first of three separate trial judges ruled

12

conclusively that “ ... whether the standard of review be

substantial evidence or arbitrariness, Respondent City of

Lafayette’s denial has no support in the Administrative

Record.” A Peremptory Writ of Mandate was issued;

however, the City refused to reconsider its prior permit

denial. The case then proceeded through several Motions

in Limine to trial on the issue as to whether the City’s

denial of the lot line adjustment application had effected a

regulatory taking. In ruling on a Motion in Limine, the

original trial judge found on the preponderance of the

evidence that “ ... it would be futile for Plaintiffs to

proceed with an application under the Subdivision Map

Act. Defendants own planning staff has made that clear

... and “... there is no reasonable possibility that Plain-

tiffs can develop their landlocked tank site independent of

their residential parcel”.

Prior to actual trial on the issue of a regulatory

taking, the City raised the California Supreme Court

Decision in Landgate Inc. vs. California Coastal Commis-

sion, 17 Cal. 4th 1006 (1998) as bar to any finding that a

regulatory taking might have occurred. The principal basis

of the Citys argument was its contention that the delay

attendant upon the need to seek judicial review of the

City’s erroieous regulatory action was but a part of

“normal delay” which might not give rise to “takings”

damages. That issue was heard by a second trial judge to

whom the case had been assigned and who rendered an

Interlocutory Order holding that, on the record presented

by the Motion, the City’s action was not objectively unrea-

sonable but that “ ... whether or not there has been a

taking cannot be determined on the existing record be-

cause there are disputed issues of fact.” The judge who

rendered the interlocutory Order then recused herself and

13

the case was assigned for trial on the issue of a takings

and the amount of just compensation due, if any.

After a full evidentiary court trial, the trial judge

ruled that a regulatory taking had occurred and that

Petitioners were entitled to just compensation. In so

_ Tuling, the trial judge specifically found (1) the Loewen-

steins purchased the Tank Lot with reasonable invest-

ment-backed expectations that it could be rendered a

buildable lot with proper access and available utilities

through the lot line adjustment process; (2) the economic

impact of the City’s regulatory action denied all economi-

cally viable use of the property; and (3) the City’s regula-

tory action failed to substantially advance any legitimate

state interest and involved the application of an arbitrary

standard in direct conflict with the plain language of

California Government Code Section 66412(d) and a prior

California Court of Appeal case which was held to be

directly on point — San Dieguito Partnership vs. City of

San Diego, 7 Cal. App. 4th 748 (1992). The trial court

rendered a Statement of Decision and a Judgment, which

Judgment was for the fair market value of the property as

a permanent taking.

After Judgment but prior to appeal, the City reversed

its position on the lot line adjustment and approved it as

presented. This action on the City’s part clearly changed

the nature of the regulatory taking so that the issue then

became whether a temporary taking had occurred for

which just compensation was due. Unfortunately, the trial

court had filed an Order to reopen the case to determine

whether the City’s withdrawal of its rejection of the lot

line adjustment affected the amount of damages when the

statutory time period in which the Court could have ruled

14

on a new trial motion had run. At that point, the case was

in the following procedural posture:

A. The City had belatedly filed an Amended Return

to the Peremptory Writ of Mandate which approved the

Loewenstein lot line adjustment in compliance with the

original trial court ruling on the administrative mandate

cause of action. This had the effect of restoring to the

Loewensteins their land, as the City then abandoned the

course of action which gave rise to just compensation

damages for a permanent regulatory taking.

B. The City pursued an appeal on the issue of a

temporary regulatory taking. The parties agreed that the

City’s abandonment of its legal position on which the

denial of the lot line adjustment was based rendered the

regulatory taking temporary. (First English Evangelical

Lutheran Church of Glendale vs. County of Los Angeles,

482 U.S. 304, 321 (1987) — after taking occurs, the gov-

ernment retains the option to withdraw an invalidated

regulation.) The trial court itself had no occasion to actu-

ally consider a ruling on the issue of a temporary taking as

the Order purporting to reopen the case to determine

whether the change of position had affected the amount of

damages was filed beyond the statutory time period in

which the court could have ruied on a new trial motion

and the motion was therefore denied by operation of law.

California Code of Civil Procedure Section 660.

C. The Court of Appeal reviewed the Evidentiary

Record amassed at trial and reached its own independent

conclusion after its independent review and reweighing of

the evidence, that no temporary regulatory taking had

occurred, thereby reversing a trial court judge who

awarded just compensation for a permanent regulatory

15

taking. The Court of Appeal gave no deference to the

factual findings of the trial court which were supported by

substantial evidence and which would have supported an

award of damages for a temporary taking under the

doctrine of First English.

The Opinion of the California Court of Appeal is

objectionable on numerous bases. In part, it is certainly

the case that the Court of Appeal chose to independently

review the record and make its own factual findings in

derogation of the well known rule which requires appellate

courts to defer to trial courts on factual issues so long as

such factual issues are supported by substantial evidence

in the trial court record. Nonetheless, the Petitioners have

not sought review in this Court simply to rectify a mani-

fest injustice based upon application of an improper

standard for appellate review of factual findings. Instead,

Petitioners seek this Court’s review because that decision

effectively eliminates temporary takings damages in

California by virtue of its conclusion that essentially any

erroneous regulatory action requiring judicial review and

challenge is simply non-compensable “normal” delay

encountered as part of the regulatory process. The Court

of Appeal Decision conflicts with this Court’s opinions in

First English and Lucas vs. South Carolina, 505 U.S. 1003

(1992), which makes available to an aggrieved landowner

just compensation damages for a temporary taking of his

land. Further, the Court of Appeal Decision cenflicts with

this Court’s holding in Agins vs. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S.

255 (1980) and Nollan vs. California Coastal Commission,

483 U.S. 825 (1987), in which it was expressly held that

the failure of regulatory action to substantially advance

legitimate government interests might, in and of itself,

cause a taking for which just compensation damages are

recoverable.

16

Finally, the Court of Appeal Decision is in direct

conflict with a recent opinion of the Wisconsin Supreme

Court in which the latter court simply declined to follow

California’s Landgate rule, as it specifically held that a

judicial challenge to administrative regulation is not a

“normal part” of the regulatory process.

&

vy

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. THE HOLDING OF THE CALIFORNIA COURT

_OF APPEAL THAT LITIGATION REGARDING

THE ERRONEOUS APPLICATION OF A LAND

USE REGULATION WHICH RESULTED IN

DENIAL OF A DEVELOPMENT PROJECT IS

SIMPLY A “NORMAL” PART OF THE DEVEL-

OPMENT PROCESS REQUIRING NO COM-

PENSATION DIRECTLY CONFLICTS WITH

THE FIFTH AMENDMENT AND ITS RE-

QUIREMENT FOR PAYMENT OF JUST COM-

PENSATION FOR A REGULATORY TAKING AS

SET FORTH IN FIRST ENGLISH

In Agins us. City of Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980)

(Agins), this Court acknowledged that the application of a

General Zoning law to particular property effects a taking

if the ordinance does not substantially advance legitimate

state interests or denies an owner the economically viable

use of his land. The California Supreme Court had previ-

ously determined that the landowner could not recover

damages for inverse condemnation even if zoning ordi-

nances as applied to the land had constituted a taking.

That court had held that only mandamus and declaratory

relief were remedies available to such a landowner. (Agins

ie it ica

17

us. City of Tiburon, 24 Cal. 3d 266 (1979)). In Agins, this

Court concluded that no taking had occurred and, there-

fore, “ ... we need not consider whether a state may limit

the remedies available to a person whose land has been

taken without just compensation.” Jd. @ 263.

In First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of

Glendale vs. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987)

(First English), this Court addressed the remedial ques-

tion which was left unanswered in Agins, due to concerns

over finality. This Court noted that the California Su-

preme Court may not have actually disavowed its general

rule in Agins, but it had truncated that rule by disallowing

damages that occurred prior to the ultimate invalidation of

a challenged regulation. Therefore, this Court held that

where government activities have already worked a taking

of all use of property, no subsequent action by the govern-

ment can relieve it of the duty to provide just compensa-

tion for the period during which the taking was effective.

The opinion in First English then added an important

disclaimer: The decision was limited to the facts presented

and did not deal with the quite different questions that

would arise in the case of “normal delays” in obtaining

building permits, changes in zoning ordinances, variances,

and the like. Jd. @ 321.

In Landgate Inc. vs. California Coastal Commission,

17 Cal. 4th 1006 (1998), (Landgate) the California Su-

preme Court gave lip service to First English and its

holding that a temporary taking of property due to invalid

regulation might be compensable. In fact, the California

Supreme Court acknowledged that its own decision in

Agins had been repudiated by First English. Nonetheless,

the majority of the Supreme Court in Landgate, concluded

18

that the mistaken assertion of jurisdiction over develop-

ment is part of the development approval process and

delays that result by reason of judicial review may be

imposed without a just compensation obligation. In effect,

Landgate represents a return by the California Supreme

Court to its Agins doctrine prior to issuance of this Court’s

First English opinion, as Landgate held that judicial

challenges to wrongful regulatory action were merely a

“normal” part of the regulatory process. Landgate did

acknowledge an extremely narrow exception to the forego-

ing rule in apparent deference to First English: If a regu-

latory position was so unreasonable from a legal

standpoint as to lead to the conclusion that it was taken

for no purpose other than to delay the development project

before it, a temporary taking might be deemed to have

occurred since such a delaying tactic would not advance

any valid government objective.

In his dissent in First English, Justice Stevens argued

unsuccessfully that “Litigation challenging the validity of

a land use restriction gives rise to a delay which is just as

‘normal’ as an administrative procedure seeking a vari-

ance or an approval of a controversial plan.” See First

English, 482 U.S. @ 334-335.

In dissent of the majoritys opinion in Landgate,

Justice Chin contended that “[wJhen a regulatory agency

prohibits all use of a particular property, and the property

owner is forced to sue the agency to get it to change its

position, its stonewalling is not fairly characterized as a

‘normal delay in the permit approval process.” See Land-

gate, 17 Cal. 4th at 1205. Justice Brown also dissented and

concluded that when wrongful assertions of jurisdiction

that leave property economically valueless “can be con-

verted into ‘the recognition that a judicial determination of

'

19

the validity of certain preconditions to development is a

normal part of the development process,’ then, in Califor-

nia, at least for now, Lucas is a dead letter.” See Landgate,

17 Cal. 4th at 1043.

The California Supreme Court majority opinion in

Landgate, and the Court of Appeal in this case, have used

the “normalcy” standard announced in First English to

reject the majority opinion of that case and to adopt the

position of Justice Stevens in dissent. It was Justice

Stevens who argued that wrongful regulatory action

requiring judicial intervention was but part of the regula-

tory process for which delay was “normal” and to be

expected. The Landgate majority did slightly modify the

Stevens dissent in a nod to this Court’s majority opinion

by holding that an agency's legal position might be so

transparently unreasonable that it must be deemed to

have been adopted solely for purposes of delay. As the

application of Landgate to this case indicates, however,

that exception is more imaginary than real. Landgate

actually represents a return to California law as it existed

prior to this Court’s Agins opinion, and both Landgate and

this case directly conflict with First English.

In this case, the City and the District which sold the

Loewensteins the subject Tank Lot both anticipated that

said lot might be rendered developable through reconfigu-

ration with adjoining lots pursuant to California’s lot line

adjustment statute (Government Code Section 66412(d)).

The Tank Lot was only offered to adjoining landowners in

recognition of this circumstance. It was concededly a legal,

pre-existing parcel so that subdivision was not involved in

any way, shape or form. Despite the straight-forward

language of Government Code Section 66412(d) and its

own prior expectations, the City took the position that the

lot line adjustment sought by the Loewensteins was

20

inappropriate and that a development application clearly

exempt from the Subdivision Map Act process should

somehow be reviewed as though it was a subdivision.

Two trial court judges found the City’s legal position to

be utterly unjustified, foreclosed by statute and case law.

Nonetheless, on this same record, the California Court of

Appeal characterized the assertion of wrongful regulatory

jurisdiction as nothing more than “an honest difference of

opinion” requiring litigation over threshold issues which

might not be “transform[ed] ... into a compensable tak-

ing.” Loewenstein vs. City of Lafayette, 103 Cal. App. 4th

718, 736 (2002). If the facts of this case are insufficient to

qualify it for the narrow exception to Landgate’s “nor-

malcy” rule then First English is a “dead letter” in Cali-

fornia as temporary takings damages simply may not be

recovered whenever delays are encountered due to wrong-

ful regulatory action.

The majority opinion in First English specifically

rejected the proposition that litigation over a wrongful

regulatory action was a normal part of the development

process in much the same fashion as building permits,

variances and zoning ordinances. As is evident in this

case, the California Courts have elected to misconstrue

and misapply the normalcy standard announced by Chief

Justice Rehnquist. As decided, this case directly conflicts

with the holding of First English, which would not excuse

wrongful regulatory decisions requiring judicial interven-

tion as merely “normal delay”.

The California Courts have been intransigent in their

refusal to follow First English and its requirement for

payment of just compensation in the event of a regulatory

taking. This case offers this Court the opportunity to not

merely resolve the conflict of California decisions with the

21

Court’s opinion in First English, but also to better define

those circumstances which might truly be regarded as

“normal delays” requiring no compensation.

The protection of property ownership is a fundamental

theme in American constitutional thought. This case

affords this Court the opportunity to clarify its prior

pronouncements regarding temporary takings jurispru-

dence and to correct an unconstitutional State Court

decision.

B. THE COURT OF APPEAL DECISION WHICH

HOLDS LITIGATION OVER WRONGFUL

REGULATORY ACTION TO BE BUT A NOR-

MAL PART OF THE REGULATORY PROCESS

CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS OF THE WIS-

CONSIN SUPREME COURT

The Wisconsin Supreme Court decided Eberle us.

Dane County Bd. of Adjustment, 595 N.W. 2d 730 (1999),

shortly after the California Supreme Court decision in

Landgate. The issue was whether or not the Eberles had

successfully stated a valid claim for a temporary regula-

tory taking under the Wisconsin and United States Consti-

tutions. The Eberles had unsuccessfully pursued an

application for a special exceptions permit so that they

might build a driveway access to their land. The denial of

that permit by the local agency had the effect of cutting off

all access. The Court held that a complete lack of legal

access to land constituted a deprivation of all economically

feasible use. As the Court observed, “The Eberles could

hardly be expected to parachute onto their property in

order to use it.” Id. @ 740. The Wisconsin Supreme Court

construed First English as requiring just compensation for

a temporary taking in the event judicial action is required

to overturn a wrongful regulatory decision which had the

22 .

effect of depriving a landowner the economically feasible

use of his land.

In Footnote 25 of its decision, the Wisconsin Supreme

Court noted that it had been urged to adopt the reasoning

of the majority opinion in Landgate. It declined to do so.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court pointed out that the argu-

ment of the majority in Landgate was clearly considered

and rejected by this Court in First English, since Justice

Stevens made the same argument as did the Landgate

majority in his dissenting opinion in First English. The

Wisconsin Supreme Court felt that the eventual receipt of

permit approval might not convert an actual taking into a

mere delay.

The Wisconsin and California Supreme Courts have

each construed and applied the First English normalcy

standard and temporary takings doctrine in conflicting

fashion. Only this Court can resolve that conflict and

clarify the constitutional question regarding the necessity

for just compensation when wrongful regulatory action

requires judicial intervention.

C. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEAL

CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT'S OPINIONS IN

AGINS AND NOLLAN IN ITS HOLDING THAT A

PARTICULAR LAND USE REGULATION WHICH

IS A PART OF A REASONABLE REGULATORY

PROCESS CANNOT BE DEEMED TO HAVE

FAILED TO SUBSTANTIALLY ADVANCE LE-

GITIMATE GOVERNMENT INTERESTS AS AP-

PLIED

In Agins, 447 U.S. @ 260, this Court stated that the

Fifth Amendment is violated when land-use regulation

“does not substantially advance legitimate state interests

23

or denies an owner economically viable use of his land.” In

Nollan vs. California Coastal Commission, 483 U.S. 825

(1987) (Nollan), this Court held that a use restriction may

constitute a taking if it is not reasonably necessary to

effect a substantial government purpose. This Court

further noted that its cases have not elaborated on the

standards for determining what constitutes a legitimate

state interest or what type of connection between the

regulation and the state interest satisfies the requirement

that the former substantially advance the latter. A legiti-

mate state interest which is substantially advanced by

regulatory action compels a finding that imposition of the

regulation does not require payment to the landowner of

just compensation so long as it does not deny use of the

property in such drastic fashion as to constitute a taking.

This “substantially advance” standard requires stricter

scrutiny than simply asking if the government rationally

decided the matter. This Court noted that it viewed the

Fifth Amendment property clause to be more than a

pleading requirement and compliance with it to be more

than an exercise in cleverness and imagination. The

condition for abridgement of property rights requires a

substantial advancement of legitimate state interests.

This essential nexus between legitimate state interest

and government regulation required by Nollan is utterly

missing in this case. The creative and speculative justifi-

cations advanced by the Court of Appeal in support of the

City’s regulatory action in denial of the Loewenstein Lot

Line Adjustment Application utterly conflict with Nollan

in that there were no objectively identifiable legitimate

government interests which were advanced by the City’s

wrongful regulatory action. A grant of Certiorari will

afford this Court the opportunity to elaborate on the

standards for determining what constitutes a legitimate

24

state interest and for correcting a decision which conflicts

directly with Agins and Nollan.

After a full evidentiary hearing in this case, the trial

court concluded that the City’s denial of the Loewenstein

Lot Line Adjustment Application failed to advance any

legitimate state interest. That decision was certainly

based in part upon the lack of credibility the trial court

attributed to the City’s principal witness and the fact that

the City routinely processed hundreds of lot line adjust-

ment applications while denying only the Loewenstein

application. On the other hand, the trial court noted that

many legitimate state interests, including, but not limited

to, the conversion of non-conforming lots into conforming

lots and rendering lots sufficient in size to accommodate

development compatible with the surrounding neighbor-

hood, would actually have been substantially advanced

had the City approved the Lot Line Adjustment Applica-

tion.

The Court of Appeal isolated the entire inquiry re-

garding the legitimate government interest which the City

~ allegedly sought to further by means of denial of the

Loewenstein lot line adjustment to the reasons given for

rejecting that application expressed in City Resolution 69-

98. As set forth therein, the Citys alleged legitimate

government interests were based on concerns that the

reduced area of the new parcel after lot line adjustment

would fail to conform to minimum lot size requirements

for hillside lots and that the application created a fifth lot

in a duly restricted subdivision with improvements and

utilities designed for four lots.

The Court of Appeal conceded that the City incorrectly

maintained that lot size requirements for subdivision

applied as well to existing hillside lots which were merely

25

to be reconfigured by lot line adjustment; however, the

monitoring of hillside slope density requirements for

subdivisions were still held to be matters of legitimate

government interest even if erroneously applied. The

Court of Appeal also held that the prohibition against

further subdivision imposed by the City in 1977 as a part

of subdivision map approval was a legitimate exercise of

government policy and regulatory authority.

The problem with the Court of Appeal decision and its

approval of so-called legitimate government interests

furthered by the City’s action in this case is that the

concerns for hillside lots and the prohibition against

further subdivision may have been reasonable or even

permitted as a matter of general zoning law; however,

those concerns as applied simply lacked any “essential

nexus” to the City’s regulatory action which denied the

Loewenstein Lot Line Adjustment Application.

The entire record of proceedings in this case makes

clear that all three of the lots involved in the Loewenstein

lot line adjustment fully conformed with all building and

zoning ordinances after reconfiguration through lot line

adjustment — but not before. If hillside property required

particular oversight (as suggested by the Court of Appeal)

then, objectively, the City should have approved — rather

than denied — the lot line adjustment. Both the Court of

Appeal and the City Resolution voiced concerns that the

reduced area of the reconfigured parcels would fail to

conform with requirements for hillside lots. The only

evidence in the record unequivocally demonstrates, how-

ever, that alleged legitimate government interests regard-

ing lot size requirements for hillside lots could only be

substantially advanced by approval of the Loewenstein lot

line adjustment — as opposed to its denial. This is because

the Tank Lot prior to lot line adjustment was only

26

approximately twenty percent of the land area required by

the City to conform with the zoning district and only five

percent of the required land area for a hillside lot subject

to slope density regulation. After lot line adjustment, the

Tank Lot was substantially larger than required by the

zoning district and sufficient in size to meet hillside slope

density requirements (which were not applicable in any

case).

Finally, the City’s Resolution and the Court of Appeal

both cited concerns that approval of the lot line adjust-

ment would create a fifth lot “in a duly restricted subdivi-

sion with improvements and utilities designed for four

lots.” Loewenstein vs. City of Lafayette, 103 Cal. App. 4th

718 @ 732 (2002). No evidence exists anywhere within the

entire record of proceedings to the effect that the 1977

subdivision improvements made to adjoining property

might somehow be overburdened by the requirements for

access and utilities for a fifth lot. Moreover the Tank Lot

was a valid legal lot which might be developed if the

absence of access and utilities was overcome. Therefore,

denial of the lot line adjustment had no objective bearing

on this supposed legitimate government interest in avoid-

ing the “creation” of a fifth lot in a restricted subdivision.

The Court of Appeal did not quarrel with the evidence

or trial court finding that approval of the Loewenstein lot

line adjustment would have actually furthered a number

of important and legitimate planning interests. That the

City’s expressed concerns might have been reasonable and

might have even involved legitimate government interests

in the abstract is of no avail if the essential nexus between

regulatory action and those so-called legitimate govern-

ment interests and concerns is lacking as applied. That

the Court of Appeal’s attempt to conform its decision to the

holding of Nollan might be applauded for its cleverness

27

and imagination is_no substitute for lack of an essential

nexus between City regulatory action and any legitimate

City purpose.

This case affords this Court the opportunity to elabo-

rate on the standards applicable for determining what

constitutes a legitimate state interest and the nature of

the relationship between the regulation and the state

interest. If allowed to stand, the Court of Appeal decision

would exonerate any regulatory action from being consid-

ered a regulatory taking so long as such action might be a

part of a reasonable legislative scheme even if, as applied,

no essential nexus between the regulatory action and a

legitimate government interest existed.

It is a teaching of Agins and Nollan that the govern-

ment’s regulatory action must substantially advance some

legitimate government purpose for there to be an abridg-

ment of property rights, absent compliance with the Fifth

- Amendment’s requirement for payment of just compensa-

tion. It makes no difference whether or not a landowner is

left with economically feasible use or value of his land

while subject to regulation if the regulation is imposed

witiiout furthering any legitimate government interest.

D. REGULATORY ACTION WHICH PREVENTS

ACCESS TO LAND OR RENDERS UTILITIES

UNAVAILABLE MUST BE DEEMED TO HAVE

DEPRIVED A LANDOWNER OF ALL ECO-

NOMICALLY FEASIBLE USE OF HIS LAND SO

THAT JUST COMPENSATION MUST BE PAID

AS SET FORTH IN LUCAS

This Court has described at least two discrete catego-

ries of regulatory action as compensable without case

specific inquiry into the public interest advanced- in

—

_

28

support of the restraint. The first encompasses regulations

that compel the property owner to suffer a physical “inva-

sion” of his property. In general, no matter how minute the

intrusion, and no matter how weighty the public purpose

behind it, compensation has been required. See Loretto vs.

Teleprompter Manhatten CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419 (1982).

The second situation in which this Court has found cate-

gorical treatment appropriate is where regulation denies

all economically beneficial or productive use of land.

In Lucas vs. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.

1003 (1992) (Lucas), this Court acknowledged that the

rhetorical force of the “deprivation of all economically

feasible use” rule is greater than its precision, since the

rule does not make clear the “property interest” against

which the loss of value is to be measured. The result has

been inconsistent pronouncements by the Court. In Lucas,

it was suggested that the answer to the difficult question

of “deprivation” might lie in how the owner’s reasonable

expectations had been shaped by the state’s law of prop-

erty — whether and to what extent the state’s law has

accorded legal recognition and protection to the particular

interest in land with respect to which the takings claimant

alleges a diminution in (or elimination of) value.

In Eberle vs. Dane County Bd. of Adjustment, 595

N.W. 2d 730 (1999), the Wisconsin Supreme Court

unequivocally held that a lack of access caused by

regulatory action must be deemed to ave denied the

landowner all economically feasible use of his property.

This Court has made no corollary pronouncement.

In this case, the Court of Appeal observed that “the

Loewensteins were not prevented fiom building a resi-

dence on the Tank Parcel if they could supply access and

29

were not prevented from supplying an access.” Loewen-

stein us. City of Lafayette, supra, 103 Cal. App. 4th @ 733.

The only evidence in the court record unequivocally

indicated that the Tank Lot was without any legal means

of access or utilities. These circumstances were described

in the analysis prepared by the District prior to sale of the

Tank Parcel and were incorporated into the City’s own

Resolution which denied the Lot Line Adjustment Applica-

tion. The only evidence in the record indicated that neither

access nor utilities might be afforded the Tank. Lot in the

absence of the lot line adjustment the City denied. The

Court of Appeal is correct that the City did not prevent the

Loewensteins from supplying an access; its decision simply

made that impossible. Similarly, the City’s regulation did

not prevent the Loewensteins from building a residence on

the Tank Lot if they could supply access and utilities -

which they, of course, could not.

The grant of Certiorari in this case would enable this

Court to add precision to its formulation of its “deprivation

standard” and would also enable this Court to reconcile

conflicting decisions between the Wisconsin Supreme

Court holding that the denial of access satisfied “depriva-

tion” requirements and the California Courts’ holding that

the practical effect of regulatory action might be ignored so

long as there is no express regulation which, by its terms,

causes “deprivation”.

4

ae

CONCLUSION

Determinations of liability in regulatory takings cases

are “essentially ad hoc, factual inquiries”. Lucas, 505 U.S.

@ 1015. In this case, those factual inquiries occurred at

trial from which factual findings were made and the

30

conclusion was reached that the City of Lafayette deprived

the Loewensteins of all economically feasible use of their

land through regulatory action to their damage for no

particular purpose without advancing any government

interest.

The Court of Appeal made no factual inquiries, but did

speculate regarding improbable development opportunities

for the land in question and plausibly legitimate general-

ized interests which might have sustained regulatory

action, but for the fact that the essential nexus between

these generalized interests and the subject regulatory

action was missing.

On the authority of Landgate, the Court of Appeal

held that the City’s wrongful and unjustifiable assertion of

regulatory jurisdiction was but a usual and ordinary part

of the “normal” regulatory process. If the Court of Appeal

decision is allowed to stand, then this Court’s holdings in

First English, Nollan, and Lucas, have academic interest

but no practical application in California.

It is respectfully submitted that this Petition for Writ

of Certiorari should be granted if the rhetorical force of

this Court’s opinions is to be given any practical effect.

Dated: May 12, 2003

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID J. BOWIE

Counsel of Record

BOWIE & BRUEGMANN, LLP

1700 N. Broadway, Suite 350

Walnut Creek, CA 94596

(925) 939-5300

Attorneys for Petitioners

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Published Decision of the California Court of

Appeal, First District, Division One [Filed

November 13, 2002, review denied]. 103 Cal

WI PE WI ieicacescskesnnnenitcecieisecesicccsce App. 1

Order in Re Denial of Petition for Rehearing

filed December 10, 2002..........c.cccceccccccceccececcees App. 31

Order in Re Denial of Petitio:, for Review,

California Supreme Court filed February 11,

NIT hinds sinsasialchadiniteedemscdisddaisecs ie) App. 32

Remittitur, Notice from the Clerk of the Court

of Appeal that the Decision of the cause is fi-

nal entered February 18, 2008 ...........e.c00........ App. 33

Notice of Entry of Judgment and Judgment

After Appeal, Contra Costa County Superior

Court filed April 8, 2003 oo......cecccccccccccecceccecees App. 35

City of Lafayette, City Council Resolution No.

69-98 Adopted August 10, 1998....................... App. 41

Order Granting Petition for Writ of Mandate

et i eg i eS aC Ne App. 59

Peremptory Writ of Mandate filed November

Wiis: SITET neseanenastibindiotiniabeseeneicidtenieiaiidaantaliadc sot App. 61

Return To Peremptory Writ of Mandate filed

I a i a App. 64

Decision and Order Re: Ripeness filed Janu-

a NERS OTN Oe Date T oe ee ee App. 66

Order Re Tentative Ruling filed April 24,

I ies atecbetetideinetiaeseinibeih tatiesabbiliciineigs es cat to App. 68

Notice of Recusal filed May 30, 2000............... App. 71

Statement of Decision filed July 3, 2000.......... App. 72

Minute Order filed August 4, 2000................... App.83 |

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

ii

INDEX TO APPENDIX — Continued

Notice of Entry of Judgment filed October 10,

IEEE taisiinininititepnicidinnpnicistinnthintaiaaniidlgindeieaintideueitic App. 98

Amended Return To Peremptory Writ of .

Mandate filed November 16, 2000................. App. 103

City of Lafayette, City Council Resolution No.

78-00 Adopted November 27, 2000................. App. 106

Order In Re Motion For New Trial filed

SII Bi, Be cncccinscsinccenienscnciccwreseyioninnies App. 109

Notice of Appeal filed December 27, 2000..... App. 111

App. 1

Filed 11/13/02

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

IN THE COURT OF APPEAL

OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

DIVISION ONE

PETER G. LOEWENSTEIN

et al., A093590

Plaintiffs and Appellants, | (Contra Costa County

7 Super. Ct. No. C98-03977)

CITY OF LAFAYETTE,

Defendant and Appellant.

The City of Lafayette (City) appeals from a judgment

ordering it to pay just compensation for the delay caused

by its erroneous denial of property owners’ lot line adjust-

ment application. Respondents, the Loewensteins, pur-

chased a small, landlocked parcel, intending to use it as

part of a division of an existing property without having to

resort to the Subdivision Map Act (SMA). (Gov. Code,

§ 66410 et seq.)' When the City refused to allow the

desired reconfiguration by a lot line adjustment, respon-

dents obtained a ruling that the City erred and they were

entitled to compensation. The central issue presented in

this appeal is whether a two-year delay precipitated by the

City’s erroneous action is an unlawful temporary taking of

private property for a public use. Our Supreme Court, in

Landgate, Inc. v. California Coastal Com. (1998) 17

' All statutory references are to the Government Code.

App. 2

Cal.4th 1006 (Landgate), resolved the same issue and

replied in the negative. Under the facts of this case, we are

bound to follow the rationale of that decision and reverse.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

In 1984 or 1985, attorney Peter Loewenstein and his

wife, Helen Loewenstein, built a 4400 square-foot home on

a lot of approximately three acres in the City. The lot was

created as part of a 1977 subdivision of four lots that

included a restriction on creating any additional lots and

was located in an area of lots with a greater than 15

percent slope, designated as hillside land. The area was

zoned R-20 which provided for a minimum lot size of

20,000 square feet, or approximately one-half acre. When

they bought the property, the Loewensteins understood

that it could not be subdivided without City approval.

Retween 1989 and 1992, the Loewensteins discussed

building a second home on their three-acre lot. Peter

Loewenstein engaged attorney Colette Stone to investigate

the prospect of dividing the lot to allow him to build a

second house. Loewenstein told Stone that with a property

as large as his, there must be a mechanism by which he

could divide it.

In reviewing the conditions of approval of the original

subdivision, Stone discovered that the number of lots in

the subdivision was restricted to the four existing lots.

Stone determined that compliance with the subdivision

procedure was an undesirable alternative. Stone spoke

with various city planners and learned the requirements

for obtaining a lot line revision. The lot line adjustment

exception to the SMA stated that the adjustment could not

create a greater number of parcels and that the affected

App. 3

parcels must conform to local zoning and building ordi-

nances. (Gov. Code, §§ 66410, 66412, subd. (d).) Unlike a

subdivision proposal, a lot line revision involved only a

ministerial decision by the City’s Planning Services

Manager, Michael Henn.

Stone understood the Loewensteins would need to

acquire additional property to develop a second building

site under the lot line revision procedure. If they did not

purchase a second parcel, the plan to divide their lot would

have been subject to the subdivision process, as the lot line

adjustment exemption does not apply if the adjustment

creates an additional lot. (§ 66412, subd. (d).) Stone’s plan

was to merge a smaller new lot into the existing lot, then

divide the merged property into two lots. Stone would

argue that the lot line adjustment only resulted in enlarg-

ing the newly acquired second parcel, which was outside

the subdivision, rather than splitting the existing lot into

two lots.

Stone learned that East Bay Municipal Utility District

(EBMUD) had declared as surplus a small, neighboring

parcel, formerly the site of a water tank. The parties refer

to that parcel as the “tank parcel.”* In early 1996, the

Loewensteins purchased the tank parcel for $13,500,

which was EBMUD’s computed fair market value of

* Through Stone’s inquiries, the Loewensteins learned that there

were two undeveloped adjacent properties available. One of the

undeveloped properties was 19 acres and the other was one-tenth of an

acre. Ultimately, the Loewensteins decided that acquisition of the

larger parcel was economically unfeasible and focused on the smaller

parcel.

App. 4

property in Lafayette at that time.’ The tank parcel shared

a common corner with the Loewensteins’ existing lot, but

did not share a boundary. They bought it “as is,” knowing

that it was only 4500 square feet and that it had no road

or utility access. In his lot line adjustment application to

the City, Peter Loewenstein stated that the tank site had

no value. However, he knew that it was a legal non-

conforming lot on which a single-family residence could be

built if the site had utility and road access.

Miller, the neighboring property owner, orally agreed

to give the Loewensteins a small triangular-shaped section

of his land so that the tank parcel would share a common

boundary and could be merged into their lot. Absent

acquisition of the triangular piece of Miller’s property, they

had no access to the tank parcel. The Loewensteins never

applied to the City for a lot line adjustment to adjust only

the boundary of the Miller property to establish access.‘

On September 11, 1997, the Loewensteins applied for

a three-way lot line adjustment. The proposed lot line

adjustment would have added the triangular portion of the

Miller lot to the Loewensteins’ lot, merged the tank parcel

into the Loewensteins’ lot, and divided that three-acre lot

into Parcel 1 and Parcel 2. Parcel 1, containing the

* In accordance with the applicable provisions of the Government

Code, EBMUD first offered the tank parcel to the City. The City

declined to purchase it and recommended that EBMUD sell the lot to

an adjoining property owner, who could merge the land, or create a

more useable lot through a lot line revision.

* Although Miller did not oppose Loewenstein’s plan to build a

second house, Loewenstein testified that Miller was “extremely adverse

to any type of subdivision.”

——

App. 5

Loewensteins’ home, would have been reduced to 1.07

acres and Parcel 2, the former back portion of the lot, now

including the tank parcel, would have been 2.12 acres.

Stone hand carried the application to Michael Henn

and waited for him to sign off on it. Instead, a series of

communications ensued explaining why the application

was not being processed. Henn deferred to City Attorney

Charles Williams, who was reviewing the application.

While Stone characterized the process as merely expand-

ing the smaller tank parcel into a larger conforming lot,

the City viewed the application as a splitting of the

Loewensteins’ existing lot within the subdivision. Stone

later testified that neither the planning commission nor

the city council gave her any advance assurances that a lot

line adjustment application would be approved.

Ultimately, the City denied the lot line adjustment

application, and the Loewensteins then appealed that

decision to the Lafayette City Planning Commission

(commission). The commission denied the appeal, stating

that the proposed action would place a fifth lot and house

in a subdivision that was restricted to four lots. The

commission also made a finding that the proposed adjust-

ment would not be consistent with local zoning because it

would reduce the lot area of the proposed new parcels to

1.07 and 2.12 acres which did not conform to the minimum

lot area requirements of the municipal code, based on the

average slope of lots defined as hillside land. In the com-

mission’s opinion, the lot line revision proposal was a

circumvention of the normal subdivision requirements.

The commission’s decision was appealed to the city

council. On May 11, 1998, that body issued a resolution

denying the adjustment. Additional hearings were held

App. 6

before the city council on June 22, 1998, July 27, 1998, and

August 10, 1998. Peter Loewenstein explored filing a

subdivision application after the city council issued its

May 11 resolution, but determined that he did not want to

risk a denial of such an application, in light of the time

‘and expense involved. Loewenstein asked the city council

to amend the former resolution to make the denial effec-

tive immediately so that a court challenge could be insti-

tuted. On August 10, 1998, the city council complied, and

issued a second denial in Resolution No. 69-98, that

superceded the original denial.

Resolution No. 69-98 recited the underlying facts of

the lot line adjustment application and determined that a

fifth lot could not be authorized in the subdivision without

compliance with the City’s subdivision regulations and the

SMA. The resolution stated that approving the Loewen-

steins’ application would have the effect of creating a new

lot, and of creating a fifth lot in the restricted subdivision.

It acknowledged the Loewensteins’ view that they were

not creating a fifth lot because they were adding approxi-

mately two acres of their lot to the tank parcel, which was

outside the subdivision. The resolution determined that

the building site for the proposed residence would be on

the split-off portion of the original lot, rather than on the

tank parcel, resulting in a fifth lot serviced by infrastruc-—

ture and improvements constructed for the original four-

lot subdivision. A specific building site was not a part of

the application. The resolution concluded that the Loewen- .

steins’ proposal deprived the City of its authority over

subdivisions and allowed the Loewensteins to avoid the

mandatory and discretionary requirements that are a part

of the subdivision process.

App. 7

On September 24, 1998, the Loewensteins filed a

complaint in superior court seeking administrative man-

damus, ordinary mandamus, declaratory relief and dam-

ages for inverse condemnation under the takings clause of

the Fifth Amendment of the United States Constitution.

The parties submitted the case to Superior Court

Judge Richard L. Patsey, based on the administrative

record, oral argument and documents evidencing the

legislative history of the lot line adjustment exception to

the SMA. (§ 66412, subd. (d).) On March 9, 1999, Judge

Patsey filed an order granting the petition for writ of

mandate, stating “granting the lot line adjustment would

not violate any zoning, building or slope density ordi-

nances or regulations of [rlespondent City of Lafayette.

Thus, whether the standard of review be substantial

evidence or arbitrariness, [rJespondent City of Lafayette’s

denial has no support in the administrative record.” Judge

Patsey rejected the Citys argument that the section

66412, subdivision (d) exception for lot line adjustments

was not applicable, stating that there was no restriction in

the Government Code against creating a greater number

of parcels within a subdivision, but only against creating a

greater number of parcels than previously existed.

The Loewensteins filed a memorandum of costs that

claimed attorney fees under section 800, providing for fees

when the “determination of the proceeding was the result of

arbitrary or capricious action or conduct by a public entity or

an officer thereof in his or her official capacity, ... ” The

court granted the City’s motion to tax costs, stating that

denial of the lot line adjustment application was not

arbitrary and capricious within the meaning of section

800.

: App. 8

At the April 1999 hearing on the motion to tax costs,

Judge Patsey characterized the case as “a very close and

... difficult case” and acknowledged that the legislative

history supported the City’s argument and that the City’s

contention that it should be able to control development

“made a good deal of sense.” The court continued: “This

was no minor lot line adjustment by any stretch of the

imagination in my view and, therefore, I had to wrestle

with the question whether or not the result of burdening a

subdivision with five homes by this lot line adjustment,

where it was originally designed to accommodate four

homes, was appropriate and lawful.” The court concluded:

“[Bly no stretch of the imagination can I say, given the

wrestling I did with this issue, that the City’s position was

arbitrary or capricious.” On November 3, 1999, the court

issued its writ of mandate ordering the City to set aside its

denial of the application and reconsider its action in light

of the court’s decision.

In August of 1999, the parties submitted issue confer-

ence statements on the takings issue. The Loewensteins

argued that denial of the lot line adjustment application

constituted a taking of their property without just compen-

sation. The City argued the legal issues of ripeness and

that its action was not a taking under Landgate, supra, 17

Cal.4th 1006.

On January 27, 2000, Judge Patsey issued an order

rejecting the City’s ripeness argument, stating that it

would be futile for the Loewensteins to proceed with an

application under the SMA and that there was no possibil-

ity that the landlocked tank parcel could be developed

independent of the residential parcel.

App. 9

On April 24, 2000, Judge Rivera, to whom the case

had been reassigned, issued an order regarding the City’s

argument that Landgate precluded a finding of inverse

condemnation as a matter of law. That order consisted of

two findings. The first finding was that: “[t]he court

cannot find on the record presented that the City’s action

was so objectively unreasonable that it was made for no

other reason than to delay the proposed project. To the

contrary the City’s decision, though erroneous, was ra-

tional and, as stated by Judge Patsy [sic], not arbitrary or

capricious. Nor can a delay of a little over two years for

processing the application, the administrative appeals and ~-

this litigation be considered an unreasonable delay that

results in a taking.” Despite the finding that the regula-

tory delay alone did not amount to a taking, the court

without elaboration found there were disputed issues of

fact and referred the issue for trial of what the order

_ characterized as “the remaining theory for taking” under

Penn Central Transp. Co. v. New York City (1978) 438 U.S.

104 (Penn Central) and Kavanau v. Santa Monica Rent

Control Bd. (1997) 16 Cal.4th 761 (Kavanau). Judge

Rivera subsequently recused herself and the matter was

assigned to Judge Kolin for trial.

The trial court bifurcated the issues of liability for a

taking and the appropriate amount of just compensation.

At the trial, the testimony focused on the nature of the

City’s objections to the application and the potential uses

of the tank parcel.

Planning Services Manager Michael Henn testified

that the conditions of approval of the Loewensteins’

subdivision restricted it to four lots. The restriction was

supposed to be formalized though the recordation of a scenic

easement deed. He did not believe the scenic easement deed

App. 10

had ever been recorded.” He stated if the tank site had

road and utility access, a two-story, 3150 square-foot

residence could be constructed on the site. In Henn’s

opinion, if a lot line application had been filed merely

seeking to transfer the triangular portion of the Miller

property to the Loewensteins and provide access to the

tank parcel, it would not be considered a subdivision and

would have been routinely granted.

On July 3, 2000, Judge Kolin issued a decision follow-

ing the trial. The court reviewed the case law on inverse

condemnation, noting that a-regulation that deprives a

property owner of all economically beneficial use of the

land effects a taking requiring just compensation. Al-

though the court noted Landgate, it stated that the case

was similar to San Dieguito Partnership v. City of San

Diego (1992) 7 Cal.App.4th 748 (San Dieguito), and deter-

mined that the City had used an improper standard in

evaluating the lot line adjustment application. Based on

Judge Patsey’s findings and the testimony and documents

presented at trial, the court determined that the impact of

the City’s action was to deny the Loewensteins “substan-

tially all economically viable use of their property.” The

court found, on the evidence presented: that the Loewen-

steins could not develop the landlocked tank parcel with-

out the Citys approval of the application; that the

property was without market value because it was pur-

chased only with a view towards the lot line adjustment;

* City planner Elizabeth Van Popering testified that in addition to

the restriction in the subdivision conditions, the conditions of a

variance that the Loewensteins had obtained when they built their

home included the four-lot limitation.

App. 11

that the City’s regulatory action was unrelated to any

substantial public purpose; and that Henn’s testimony

regarding the rejection of the Loewensteins’ application

was not credible in light of the evidence that in 16 years,

over 200 lot line adjustments had been approved.

The court listed three specific findings in its decision:

(1) the Loewensteins purchased the tank parcel with

reasonabie investment-backed expectations that it could

be rendered a buildable lot through the lot line adjustment

process; (2) the economic impact of the City’s regulation

denied all economicaily viable use of the property; and (3)

the City’s regulatory action failed to advance any legiti-

mate state interest and involved tke application of an

arbitrary standard in direct conflict with the plain lan-

guage of section 66412, subdivision (d) and San Dieguito.

The court awarded $611,666.66 in just compensation for

the loss of use of the proposed new parcel as merged with

the tank parcel. The court also awarded costs and attorney

fees to the Loewensteins.

A corrected judgment incorporating the issuance of

the writ of mandate and findings on liability and just

compensation was filed on October 2, 2000. The City

moved for a new trial, which was denied by operation of

law.® The City filed a notice of appeal from the judgment.

* The court filed an order purporting to reopen the case to deter-

mine whether the Citys withdrawal of its rejection of the lot line

adjustment application affected the amount of damages. The order was

filed beyond the statutory time period in which the court could have

ruled on the new trial motion and the motion was therefore denied by

operation of law. (Code Civ. Proc., § 660 [time for ruling on new trial

motion is 60 days after notice of entry of judgment].)

App. 12

The Loewensteins filed a cross-appeal from portions of

Judge Patsey’s order denying attorney fees under section

800.

On November 13 and 27, 2000, the City rescinded its

: denial of the request for a lot line adjustment and with-

ii : drew its legal position on which the denial was based,

thereby rendering the taking temporary. (First Lutheran

Church v. Los Angeles County (1987) 482 U.S. 304, 321

(First Lutheran) [after taking occurs government retains

option to withdraw invalidated regulation].) On May 1,

2001 the City granted the re-submitted lot line adjustment

application.’

a

DISCUSSION

: The Constitution prohibits the government from

taking private property for public use without just

compensation. (U.S. Const., 5th & 14th Amends; Cal.

Const., art. I, § 19.) But the prohibition has limits that

allow the government to fulfill its purpose without paying

for every exercise of the police power. As stated by Justice

Holmes in Penna. Coal Co. v. Mahon (1922) 260 U.S. 393,

“[glovernment hardly could go on if to some extent values

incident to property could not be diminished without

paying for every such change in the general law.” (260 U.S.

" The City’s unopposed request for judicial notice of its formal

withdrawal of the denial of the request for a lot line adjustment and its

May 1, 2001 letter granting the re-submitted lot line adjustment is

granted. (San Mateo County Coastal Landowners’ Assn. v. County of

San Mateo (1995) 38 Cal.App.4th 523, 552-553 [court took judicial

notice of legal opinion letter from county as official act of legislative

department of any state].) |

App. 13

at p. 413.) “The general rule at least is, that while prop-

erty may be regulated to a certain extent, if regulation

goes too far it will be recognized as a taking.” (260 U.S. at

p. 415.)

When government regulation denies an owner all

economically beneficial use of the land, a taking is estab-

lished and compensation is due. (Lucas v. South Carolina

Coastal Council (1992) 505 U.S. 1003, 1015.) When the

regulation deprives the owner of something short of all

economically beneficial use, courts consider the factors

identified in Penn Central, supra. Those factors include

“(t]he economic impact of the regulation on the claimant

and, particularly, the extent to which the regulation has

interfered with distinct investment-backed expectations

... [and] the character of the governmental action. A

‘taking’ may more readily be found when the interference

with property can be characterized as a physical invasion

by government, [citation], than when interference arises

from some public program adjusting the benefits and

burdens of economic life to promote the common good.”

(Penn Central, supra, 438 U.S. at p. 124.)

A recent case reconfirmed that the analysis described

in Penn Central, supra, 438 U.S. 104, is still the appropri-

ate method of determining whether a taking has occurred,

in the absence of the categorical takings represented by

actual occupation of the land or where regulation deprives

the landowner of all economically viable use of the land.

(Tahoe-Sierra P. Council v. Tahoe RPA (2002) 535 U.S.

302.)

In First Lutheran, supra, 482 U.S. 304, the United

States Supreme Court addressed the appropriate remedy

when government regulation in fact causes a temporary

ne

App. 14

deprivation of all economically viable use of private prop-

erty. Although the First Lutheran case determined that

compensation was appropriate for a temporary taking, it

did not address the issue of whether the regulatory activ-

ity in that case actually resulted in a taking. The court

stated that it was not addressing “the quite different

questions that would arise in the case of normal delays in

obtaining building permits, changes in zoning ordinances,

variances, and the like which are not before us.” (/d. at p.

321.)

Some of the most difficult questions in “taking”

jurisprudence arise from the issues implicated when a

temporary taking is caused by government regulation and

land use decision making. (See, e.g., Lycett, Landgate, Inc.

v. California Coastal Commission: Why Temporary Tak-

ings Law is “Screwed Up.” (2000) 7 Hastings W.-N.W.J.

Env. L. & Policy 55.) However, our Supreme Court has

directly addressed the subject of temporary taking caused

by delays in issuing land use permits. (Landgate, supra,

17 Cal.4th 1006.) The Landgate court unequivocally

rejected the argument that a temporary loss of all use of

property caused by the erroneous denial of a development

permit necessarily results in a compensable taking. But

the Landgate court also noted that a different case would

be presented if a delay in issuing a permit “was so unrea-

sonable from a legal standpoint” as to support the conclu-

sion that the government agency was only delaying the

development project. (Landgate, supra, 17 Cal.4th at p.

1024.)

In support of the trial court’s decision in this case, the

Loewensteins try to fit this case into the exception for

legally unreasonable acts mentioned in Landgate. They rely

primarily on two cases, San Dieguito, supra, 7 Cal.App.4th

-_—

App. 15

748 and Ali v. City of Los Angeles (1999) 77 Cal.App.4th

246 (Ali), to argue that the City’s legal position was

objectively unreasonable, which precludes reliance on

Landgate.

Alternatively, the Loewensteins contend that even if

the City’s actions did advance a legitimate interest, denial

of the application interfered with their reasonable invest-

ment-backed expectations, caused a direct economic

impact on them, and thus failed the Penn Central analy-

sis.’ We disagree with both contentions for the following

reasons.

The Case Is Governed By the Holding in Landgate

We agree with Judge Rivera’s ruling that the City’s

action was not objectively unreasonable because it was not

taken solely to delay the proposed project. As further

developed by the testimony at trial, even assuming the

City’s decision was erroneous, it was rational and not

arbitrary or capricious.’ In light of the facts developed in

this case, the delay of a little over two years to resolve the

* Because we find there was no taking as a matter of law, we do not

consider the amount of compensation due. However, we note that there

was no evidence that the City restricted the Loewensteins’ ability to sell

the tank parcel, to enter it or to exclude others from it. Peter Loewen-

stein candidly admitted that if there was road and utility access, it was

possible to develop the tank parcel independently. Furthermore,

Loewenstein testified that although he believed the best building site

was on the tank parcel itself, he never submitted an application for a

particular building site or access for the proposed new parcel, or talked

with anyone at the City about a specific building site.

* Because the Ci.y complied with the writ of mandate, the issue of

the correctness of the City’s action is not before us.

App. 16

threshold issue of the availability of the lot line adjust-

ment exception to the SMA was not an unreasonable

regulatory delay. Landgate mandates these conclusions as

we now explain.

The issue analyzed in Landgate was stated by Justice

Mosk as: “whether a delay in the issuance of a develop-

ment permit partly owing to the mistaken assertion of

jurisdiction by a government agency is a type of ‘tempo-

rary taking’ contemplated in First Lutheran, or if it is

more in the nature of a ‘normal delay’ that does not consti-

tute a taking.” (Landgate, supra, 17 Cal.4th at p. 1010.)

The plaintiff in Landgate bought a sloped lot in the Malibu

Hills, subject to the jurisdiction of the California Coastal

Commission (Coastal Commission) that along with a

second lot, had been reconfigured by the prior owners with

the consent of the county. (Jd. at p. 1010.)

When Landgate received county approval for grading

and building a large home on its property, the Coastal

Commission, based on staff recommendations and a

memorandum from the Attorney General, continued the

matter to consider the threshold issue of whether the

earlier lot line adjustment was legal. (Jd. at pp. 1011-

1013.) When the Commission ultimately denied the

application, Landgate filed a petition for writ of mandate

and a complaint alleging a taking without just compensa-

tion. (Id. at p. 1013.)

The trial court granted Landgate’s petition and set

aside the Commission’s denial, stating that the lot line

adjustment was not subject to the Commission’s jurisdic-

tion. The Court of Appeal upheld the trial court’s decision,

stating that the Commission’s position regarding the lot

line adjustment would render the property valueless. After

App. 17

the writ of mandate issued, a modified application was

approved with conditions. (Jd. at pp. 1014-1015.)

Landgate then moved for summary adjudication on its

takings claim, arguing that the erroneous assertion of

jurisdiction to determine the legality of the lot line ad-

justment prevented all economically viable use of the

property. Although the trial court granted Landgate’s

motion and the Court of Appeal affirmed, the Supreme

Court reversed. The Supreme Court summarized applica-

ble takings jurisprudence, culminating with the First

Lutheran case. The court noted that First Lutheran did not

address “normal delays in obtaining building permits,

changes in zoning ordinances, variances, and the like... . ”

(Id. at pp. 1015, 1017, 1032.) “Virtually every court that

has examined the issue has concluded ... that a regula-

tory mistake resulting in a delay does not, by itself,

amount to a taking of property. [Citations.]” (Landgate,

supra,-17 Cal.4th at pp. 1018-1019.) The Landgate court

agreed with the many other courts concluding that “an

error by a governmental agency in the development

approval process does not necessarily amount to a taking

even if the error in some way diminishes the value of the

subject property, ... ” (Id. at p. 1020.)

The court acknowledged that if the government’s error

is “of a particular constitutional type — the passage and

enforcement of a law or regulation that deprives property

of all value — then the teaching of First [Lutheran] is that

such an error is a compensable taking. But government

land use regulations and decisions . . . which, despite their

ultimately determined statutory defects, are part of a rea-

sonable regulatory process designed to advance legitimate

government interests, are not takings of property... .” (Id.

at p. 1021.)

App. 18

Applying the Landgate analysis to this case, there is

no substantial evidence to support the conclusion that the

City’s action was taken for any motive other than carrying

out a substantial government interest. At oral argument of

this appeal, the Loewensteins argued that the trial court

based its decision in part on its determination that Henn’s

testimony was not “persuasive or entirely credible” and

that 200 other lot line applications had been granted in

the past. According to respondents, we are bound by the

trial court’s findings of fact. The legitimacy of a city’s

interest in land use planning, as expressed in the applica-

ble resolution in this case, does not rest on the testimony

of Henn. Henn, who was only the planning services man-

ager, could not have testified as to the intent or legitimacy

of an action by the council.

The trial court’s finding regarding the credibility of

one individual, even if accepted, has little bearing on the

ultimate issue of the local government’s motive. Resolution

of that question is an objective determination, drawn not

from an inquiry into individual motives, but from an

analysis of the evidence supporting the government

agency’s official findings. “The proper inquiry is not into

the subjective motive of the government agency, but

whether there is, objectively, sufficient connection between

the land use regulation in question and a legitimate

governmental purpose so that the former may be said to

substantially advance the latter.” (Landgate, supra, 17

Cal.4th at p. 1022.)

Peter Loewenstein presented evidence of other lot line

adjustments that were approved by the City to the council.

He testified at the trial that he reviewed a number of

applications and selected the best four or five that he felt

would demonstrate why his application should be granted.

App. 19

When asked on cross-examination if any of the applica-

tions concerned a restriction on further subdivision,

Loewenstein answered that he thought, but was not

certain, that one of the applications may have involved

such a restriction. When confronted with the specific

application, he conceded that he had not stated there was

a similar restriction in his presentation to the City. He

also conceded that he had not checked on the particular

restrictions in that application.

Even if Loewenstein had presented evidence that the

City made exceptions to a similar subdivision restriction

in other applications, the existence of exceptions to a valid

policy regarding development would not negate the City’s

showing that the policy was legitimate in this case. Our

Supreme Court flatly rejected a similar argument in

Landgate, stating: “The fact that there may have been

exceptions to this policy, based on considerations particu-

lar to these specific projects, for reasons not present in the

current administrative record and about which we can

only speculate, does not negate the fact that the [Coastal]

Commission had a rational policy preference for concen-

trating development on the south side of De Butts Ter-

race.” (Landgate, supra, 17 Cal.4th at p. 1024.) The

evidence that other lot line applications were granted is

not substantial evidence in support of the trial court’s

finding that the City was not pursuing a legitimate gov-

ernmental interest.

The City’s reasons for rejecting the lot line revision

application, as expressed in the official resolution, were

based on concerns that the reduced area of the new parcels

would not conform to the minimum lot size requirements

for hillside lots, and that the application created a fifth lot

in a duly restricted subdivision with improvements and

App. 20

utilities designed for four lots. Even if the City incorrectly

maintained that lot size and subdivision restrictions

applied, the monitoring of density and hillside slope

requirements are legitimate governmental interests. (See,

e.g., Northwood Homes, Inc. v. Town of Moraga (1989) 216

Cal.App.3d 1197, 1202 [local ordinance placing stringent

restrictions on hillside development upheld as reasonably

related to the regional welfare]; Del Mar v. California

Coastal Com. (1984) 152 Cal.App.3d 49, 52 [slope and

density considerations supported commission’s decision to

deny permit].) Hillside properties require particular

oversight. The 1977 City-imposed land use restriction

prohibiting further subdivision was a legitimate exercise

of governmental policy and regulatory authority.

Unlike the summary lot line adjustment procedure,

the SMA provides opportunities for neighborhood input on

the effects of development and detailed study of all im-

pacts on the community. (See, e.g., Horn v. County of

Ventura (1979) 24 Cal.3d 605, 616 [neighbors entitled to

notice and opportunity to be heard before the approval

occurs]; Cohan v. City of Thousand Oaks (1994) 30

Cal.App.4th 547, 555 [SMA gives opportunity to other

property owners to be heard where subdivision plan

impacts topography, density, public health, access rights,

or community land use plans].) Protecting the rights of its

residents to be heard on community land use is also a

valid governmental purpose. Although the record does not

demonstrate any opposition of immediate neighbors to the

lot line adjustment proposal, a formal subdivision process

with notice to affected landowners affords broader com-

munity comment.

When Landgate applies, the Penn Central factors will,

of necessity, be absent. The normal delay in approving the

App. 21

application cannot be said to have “‘prohibited a beneficial

use to which [the property] had previously been devoted’

[citation], thus interfering with [the Loewensteins’] ‘pri-

mary expectation’ [citation].” (Kavanau, supra, 16 Cal.4th

at p. 780.) The delay here did not abrogate the total use of

the property, as did the government action in Penn Cen-

tral, supra, 438 U.S. at pp. 127-128.) There was no physi-

cal invasion, no extinguishing of a fundamental attribute

of ownership, or loss of all beneficial use of the tank

parcel. (Kavanau, supra, 16 Cal.4th at pp. 780-781.)

The Loewensteins were not prevented from building a

residence on the tank parcel if they could supply access

and were not prevented from supplying an access. Henn

testified that under existing setback and frontage re-

quirements, a 1575 square foot single story and a 3150

square foot two-story house could be constructed on the

tank lot. The only delay was in obtaining permission to

use a summary procedure to change the use of the ac-

quired parcel, to enlarge it and divide the existing parcel.

“(T]he submission that appellants may establish a ‘taking’

simply by showing that they have been denied the ability

to exploit a property interest that they heretofore had

believed was available for development is quite simply

untenable.” (Penn Central, 438 U.S. at p. 130 [rejecting

argument that taking of air space rights occurred].)

The delay in the Loewensteins’ development plans

caused by the need for resolution of this threshold issue,

and the court’s subsequent determination that the City

was mistaken, does not convert the pursuit of a reasonable

policy into an unconstitutional taking. (See also Littoral

Development Co. v. San Francisco Bay Conservation etc.

Com. (1995) 33 Cal.App.4th 211, 221 [no unconstitutional

regulatory taking where property was only subject to delay

—_

App. 22

caused by uncertainty as to regulatory jurisdiction].)

Landgate, Inc. similarly contended that from the time the

development plan was denied in February 1991 until the

time it was approved in February 1993 after the lot line

issue had been resolved by litigation, the development

process was at a standstill, effectively depriving the

property of all economic benefit. (Landgate, supra, 17

Cal.4th at pp. 1013, 1015.) But Landgate explains that a

judicial determination of the validity of certain precondi-

tions to development is a normal part of the development

process.” (Landgate, supra, at p. 1030.) Such a temporary

bottleneck in the process is not a taking of property.”

The Exception Noted in Landgate Does Not Apply

The Landgate court noted an exception to its holding

that normal delay in obtaining permits is not a taking,

even though the government’s position substantially

advances a legitimate state interest, if the “position was so

unreasonable from a legal standpoint as to lead to the

conclusion that it was taken for no purpose other than to

delay the development project before it.” In such a case,

the court stated that this kind of “delaying tactic” could

not be said to advance any valid government purpose.

(Landgate, supra, 17 Cal.4th at p. 1024.) |

** Numerous examples are set forth in Landgate, supra, 17 Cal.4th

at pp. 1030-1031. Cf. Comment, Horsley, The Abnormalcy of Normal

Delay (2001) 28 Pepperdine L.Rev. 414, 428-429. E

" For example, a-temporary delay in receiving the benefits of

property ownership, such as a delay in receiving increased rental

income due to an imposed rent increase limit, does not constitute a

taking of property. (Kavanau, supra, 16 Cal.4th at p. 780.)

App. 23

The Loewensteins contend that San Dieguito, supra, 7

Cal.App.4th 748 and Ali, supra, 77 Cal.App.4th 246

decided the precise question at issue here adversely to the

City and made the City’s insistence on blocking the lot line

adjustment objectively unreasonable and without legal

support. Both of the cited cases are transparently distin-

guishable and do not purport to decide the issue facing the

City in this case.

In San Dieguito, a developer applied for a lot line

adjustment to reconfigure nine existing parcels in a 189-

acre area. (San Dieguito, supra, 7 Cal.App.4th at p. 751.)

The application was rejected based on a city attorney’s

opinion that it created more than five new lots and was,

therefore, subject to the SMA. (Id., at pp. 753-754.) The

owner filed an action seeking to compel the city to process

a lot line adjustment under the exception in section 664 12,

subdivision (d). The trial court agreed with the city that

the lot line adjustment exception to the SMA was intended

to permit only minor changes in parcel lines and implied

that only two parcels could be the subject of an adjust-

ment. The Court of Appeal in San Dieguito rejected the

trial court’s reasoning, stating that the language of subdi-

vision (d) was clear, and it did not refer to minor changes

or limit the number of parcels.” (San Dieguito, supra, 7

Cal.App.4th at pp. 756-759.)

Ali, supra, 77 Cal.App.4th 246 does not address the

issue facing the City in this case. In Ali, the city’s action of

* In 2001, the Legislature changed the application of the SMA

exception to limit it to: “a lot line adjustment between four or fewer

existing adjoining parcels, ...”

App. 24

denying a demolition permit for a hotel that was substan-

tially destroyed in a fire based on a local ordinance prohib-

iting demolition of such housing violated the Ellis Act.

(§ 7060, subd. (a).) The court distinguished Landgate,

based on that court’s discussion of whether the actions of

the regulating government entity advance a legitimate

government purpose. The Ali court held that the city’s

action violating state law was arbitrary and unreasonable

in light of the earlier case of Javidzad v. City of Santa

Monica (1988) 204 Cal.App.3d 524, that held a city ordi-

nance governing rental property was preempted by the

Ellis Act. (Ali, supra, 77 Cal.App.4th at p. 255.)

The Loewensteins argue that like the cities in San

Dieguito and Ali, the City here has taken an objectively

unreasonable and legally unsupportable position that

leads to the conclusion that it was seeking only to delay

development. They contend that the City should have

known it could not reject the application on the ground it

violated municipal hillside ordinances cr created new

parcels in a restricted subdivision because San Dieguito

decided this precise issue. Without commenting on the

rationale of San Dieguito and Ali and because they are

distinguishable, we reject the notion that they apply here

for the following reasons.”

“Unlike the city in San Dieguito, the City here did not

deny the application because it was inferring limitations

c. the number of lots subject to the lot line exception or

* The reasoning of Ali has been criticized. (Alperin, The “Takings”

Clause: When Does Regulation “Go Too Far?” (2002) 31 Sw.U.L.Rev. 169,

221-225.)

App. 25

because it assumed that only minor changes could be

processed under the exception. It rejected the application

because it believed the adjustment would create an extra

lot in a restricted subdivision and because of concerns that it

would violate municipal ordinances regarding hillside

property. The exception in section 66412, subdivision (d)

expressly recognizes that a city may consider whether the

proposed lot line adjustment will violate local land use

ordinances. The exception states: “A local agency ... shall

limit its review and approval to a determination of whether

or not the parceis resulting from the lot line adjustment will

conform to the local zoning and building ordinances.” Unlike

the City of San Dieguito, the City of Lafayette attempted to

do no more than what the statute allows — ensure confor-

mance with local zoning and building restrictions.

Moreover, relying on the independent advice of the city

attorney, the City rejected the proposal for reasonable land

use purposes. City Resolution No. 69-98, in the record, sets

forth legitimate reasons that advance governmental inter-

ests for denying the lot line adjustment application.

The City’s view of the Loewensteins’ application is

rational and closely related to the planning goals of local

zoning and building ordinances. The result of the Loewen-

steins’ proposed lot line adjustment would have split the

three-acre parcel with the aim of building a fifth house on

the parcel in the restricted hillside subdivision. By pur-

chasing the small tank parcel, and folding it into this plan,

they could argue that they met the letter of the lot line

exception, in that tlcz’ owned two lots before, and two lots

after the adjustment. The Loewensteins’ proposal was a

creative concept, worthy of the City’s consideration. To

avoid the City’s concerns about building a fifth home, the

Loewensteins argued they were not inerging the tank parcel

App. 26

into the subdivision lot, but were pulling a section of the

original lot out of the subdivision and placing it into the tank

parcel. These fine distinctions, although accepted by the trial

court’s ruling that the City’s view was wrong, do not make

the Citys valid concerns either legally unreasonable or

logically deficient. Judge Patsey’s decision did not transform

an honest difference of opinion into a compensable taking.

Neither San Dieguito nor Ali supply the applicable

legal rule for the unusual lot line adjustment proposed by

the Loewensteins. The City here did not violate a state law

and did not claim to read limitations into the SMA, but

sought only to make certain that the application complied

with local land use regulations. This case fits like a hand

in a glove with the rule established by Landgate. Resolu-

tion of the threshold issue of the legality of the lot line

adjustment was a normal delay in the process of obtaining

a permit pertaining to land use. (Landgate, supra, 17

Cal.4tn at pp. 1017-1018.)

"he Penn Central Factors Are Negated By the Landgate

Analysis

The Loewensteins argue that even if the City was

pursuing a valid governmental interest, its delay in

processing the lot line adjustment application interfered

with their reasonable investment-backed expectations and

therefore failed the Penn Central analysis. (Kavanau,

supra, 16 Cal.4th at p. 775 [rent control regulation that

does not deprive owner of all economic use is evaluated by

Penn Central factors].) As noted above, the Penn Central

factors include consideration of the economic impact of the

regulation, the character of the government’s action and

the extent of interference with “distinct investment-backed

expectations.” (Penn Central, supra, 438 U.S. at p. 124.)

App. 27

However, the Penn Central factors are resolved by the

analysis in Landgate. Once a court determines that a

governmental entity engaged in decision-making whose

purpose is not delay for delay’s sake but legitimate over-

sight, the question of whether a landewner has a reason-

able investment-backed expectation that is impacted in a

manner requiring compensation is, of necessity, answered

in the negative. A landowner can have no reasonable

expectation that there will be no delays or bona fide

differences of opinion in the application process for devel-

opment permits. Sometimes the application process must

detour to the court process to resolve a genuine disagree-

ment. Because such delay comes within the Landgate

category of normal delays in the development approval

process, there is no taking even if the value of the subject

property is diminished in some way. (Landgate, supra, 17

Cal.4th at p. 1020.)

Similarly, a normal delay in the approval process does

not prohibit a use to which the property was previously

devoted, or result in acquisition of resources for a public

purpose, but is inherent in the legitimate exercise of a

city’s duty to monitor land use planning. (Kavanau, supra,

16 Cal.4th~ at pp. 780-782.) The temporary economic

impact on a landowner caused by a Landgate delay is

considered a normal incident of property ownership, and

as such, does not figure in the weighing process against

the government in a Penn Central analysis. In short, the

analysis stops when Landgate forecloses it.

The Cross-Appeal

The Loewensteins cross-appeal from Judge Patsey’s

order denying attorney fees for the mandamus portion of

—

App. 28

the case under section 800. This contention is based on the

argument that the Citys actions were arbitrary and

capricious. The trial court found otherwise and we agree.

Section 800 provides for attorney fees: “where it is

shown that the award, finding, or other determination of

the proceeding was the result of arbitrary or capricious

action or conduct by a public entity or an officer thereof in

his or her official capacity, ... ” Judge Patsey made ex-

plicit comments to the effect that the City’s position had

some support in the legislative history, and opined that the

Loewensteins’ application was not a routine lot line ad-

justment and that it presented “a very close and ...

difficult case.” We agree that the City’s position regarding

the application “made a good deal of sense.” The Loewen-

steins failed to show that this case involved arbitrary or

capricious agency action.

DISPOSITION

The judgment on the takings claim is reversed.“ The

case is remanded with directions to enter a new judgment

in favor of the City. The order regarding attorney fees is

_ affirmed. Appellant is entitled to costs.

Marchiano, P.J.

“ In light of our determination that Landgate is the linchpin in

this case, there is no need to decide appellant’s argument that Judge

Patsey erred in determining “ripeness.”

App. 29

We concur:

Swager, J.

Margulies, J.

CERTIFIED FOR PUBLICATION

Loewenstein et al. v. City of Lafayette, A093590

Trial Court: Contra Costa County Superior Court

Trial Judge: The Honorable Judge Patsey

The Honorable Judge Rivera, and

The Honorable Judge Kolin

Attorneys:

David J. Bowie

Bowie & Bruegmann, LLP

(Attorney for Appellants/Plaintiffs — Peter G. Loewenstein

et al.)

Charles J. Williams, City Attorney

E. Clement Shute, Jr.

William J. White

Osa L. Armi

Shute, Mihaley & Weinberger LLP

(Attorneys for Appellant/Defendant — City of Lafayette)

Dennis J. Herrera, City Attorney

Andrew J. Schwartz, Deputy City Attorney

(Attorneys for Amicus Curiae — City and County of San

Francisco)

Bill Lockyer, Attorney General

Richard M. Frank, Chief Assistant Attorney General

J. Matthew Rodriquez, Senior Assistant Attorney General

_ App. 30

Joseph Barbieri, Deputy Attorney General

Office of the Attorney General

(Attorneys for Amicus Curiae — State of California)

App. 31

COURT OF APPEAL, FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

350 MCALLISTER STREET

SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94102

DIVISION 1

PETER LOEWENSTEIN, et al.,

Plaintiffs and Appellants,

v.

CITY OF LAFAYETTE, ’

Defendant and Appellant.

A093590

Contra Costa County No. C9803977

(Filed Dec. 10, 2002)

' BY THE COURT:

The petition for rehearing is denied.

Date: DEC 10 2002 MARCHIANO, P.J. P.J.

App. 32

Court of Appeal, First Appellate District,

Division One — No. A093590

S112362

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

En Banc

PETER G. LOEWENSTEIN et al.,

Plaintiffs and Appellants,

¥.

CITY OF LAFAYETTE,

Defendant and Appellant.

(Filed Feb. 11, 2003)

Petition for review DENIED.

Chin, J., and Brown, J., are of the opinion the petition

should be granted.

GEORGE

Chief Justice

App. 33

COURT OF APPEAL, FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

350 MCALLISTER STREET

SAN FRANCISCO, CA 94102

DIVISION 1

David J. Bowie

Bowie & Bruegmann

1700 N. Broadway

Ste. 350

Walnut Creek, CA 94596

PETER LOEWENSTEIN, et al.,

Plaintiffs and Appellants,

v.

CITY OF LAFAYETTE,

Defendant and Appellant.

A093590

Contra Costa County No. C9803977

** REMITTITUR **

I, Ron D. Barrow, Clerk of the Court of Appeal of the

State of California, for the First Appellate District, do

hereby certify that the decision entered in the above-

entitled cause on November 13, 2002 has now become

final.

v_ Appellant ___ Respondent to recover costs

Each party to bear own costs

Costs are not awarded in this proceeding

(wae

Costs are not awarded in this proceeding

ee

Witness my hand and the Seal of the Court affixed at

my office this FEB 18 2003

App. 34

(SEAL)

Ron D. Barrow

Clerk of the Court

BETH ROBBINS

Deputy Clerk

App. 35

CHARLES J. WILLIAMS (State Bar No. 26659)

BEST BEST & KRIEGER LLP

Muir Parkway

1330 Arnold Drive, Suite 149

Martinez, CA 94553

Tel: (925) 228-3840

Fax: (925) 228-1703

E. CLEMENT SHUTE, JR. (State Bar No. 36542)

WILLIAM J. WHITE (State Bar No. 181441)

OSA L. ARMI (State Bar No. 193543)

SHUTE, MIHALY & WEINBERGER LLP

396 Hayes Street

San Francisco, CA 94102

Tel: (415) 552-7272

Fax: (415) 552-5816

Attorneys for Defendant

CITY OF LAFAYETTE -

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

COUNTY OF CONTRA COSTA

PETER G. LOEWENSTEIN ) Case No. C98-03977

and HELEN LOEWENSTEIN, ) NOTICE OF ENTRY

Plaintiffs, OF JUDGMENT

vs.

CITY OF LAFAYETTE,

a Municipal Corporation, and

DOES 1 through 50, inclusive,

Defendants.

Nee Nee ee ole ee

_NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN, that on April 8, 2003,

the attached Judgment After Appeal was entered in the

above-captioned action.

App. 36

Dated: April 16,2003 SHUTE, MIHALY &

WEINBERGER LLP

By: /s/ E. Clement Shute, Jr.

E. CLEMENT SHUTE, JR.

App. 37

CHARLES J. WILLIAMS (State Bar No. 26659)

BEST BEST & KRIEGER LLP

Muir Parkway

1330 Arnold Drive, Suite 149

Martinez, CA 94553

Tel: (925) 228-3840

Fax: (925) 228-1703

E. CLEMENT SHUTE, JR. (State Bar No. 36542)

WILLIAM J. WHITE (State Bar No. 181441)

OSA L. ARMI (State Bar No. 193543)

SHUTE, MIHALY & WEINBERGER LLP

396 Hayes Street

San Francisco, CA 94102

Tel: (415) 552-7272

Fax: (415) 552-5816

Attorneys for Defendant

CITY OF LAFAYETTE

_

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

COUNTY OF CONTRA COSTA

PETER G. LOEWENSTEIN ) Case No. C98-03977

and HELEN LOEWENSTEIN, ) tPROPOSED}

Plaintiffs, JUDGMENT AFTER

APPEAL :

vs. )

CITY OF LAFAYETTE ) (Filed Apr. 8, 2001)

a Municipal Corporation, and )

DOES 1 through 50, inclusive,

Defendants. )

This case arises out of the decision of the City of

Lafayette (“City”) to deny a lot line adjustment application

submitted to it by Helen and Peter G. Loewenstein

App. 38

(“Plaintiffs”). On September 24, 1998, Plaintiffs initiated

their legal challenge to the City’s decision by filing a

petition for writ of mandate and complaint for declaratory

relief and damages under a constitutional takings theory.

On March 9, 1999, Judge Patsey of this Court entered

an order granting Plaintiffs’ petition for writ of mandate,

directing the City to set aside its prior decision denying

the lot line adjustment application, and ordering the City

to reconsider that application. Pursuant to California

Government Code section 800, Judge Patsey also entered

an order denying Plaintiffs’ request for attorney fees for

litigation of their petition for writ of mandate (hereinafter

“order regarding attorney fees”). On November 16, 2000,

the City filed an amended return to the writ of mandate

indicating that the City would not pursue an appeal of the

writ of mandate. On January 22, 2001, the City notified

Plaintiffs by letter that it would grant a renewed request

for a lot line-adjustment, and inquired how respondents

intended to proceed. On May 1, 2001, the City granted the

lot line adjustment requested by Plaintiffs.

Judge Kolin of this Court held a trial on Plaintiffs’

takings claim on June 12-14, 2000, and awarded Plaintiffs

a total of $611,666.66 in damages (including interest) for

that claim in a judgment entered on September 25, 2000

(hereinafter “takings claim judgment”). The City made a

motion for a new trial, which motion was denied by opera-

tion of law.

On December 27, 2000, the City filed a notice of

appeal of the takings claim judgment and on January 16,

2001, Plaintiffs filed a notice of cross-appeal of the order

regarding attorney fees. On November 13, 2002, the

California Court of Appeal reversed this Court’s takings

App. 39

claim judgment against the City, affirmed this Court’s

order regarding attorney fees, and indicated that the City

is entitled to recover costs. The Court of Appeal also

remanded the case with directions to enter a new judg-

ment in favor of the City.

The Court of Appeal denied Plaintiffs’ petition for

rehearing on December 10, 2002. The California Supreme

Court denied Plaintiffs’ petition for review on February 11,

2003. The Court of Appeal issued the remittitur on Febru-

ary 18, 2003.

It is therefore ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DE-

CREED that:

1. This Court’s September 25, 2000 judgment for

Plaintiffs is vacated;

2. Judgment is entered for the City pursuant to the

Court of Appeal’s decision;

3. Plaintiffs shall not recover any damages or re-

ceive any declaratory relief;

4, Plaintiffs shall not recover any attorney fees or

costs; and

5. The City shall recover from Plaintiffs litigation

costs in the amount of $1920.05.

Dated: 3/21/, 2003 By: /s/ Terence L. Bruiniers

Judge of the Superior Court

HELD FOR 10 DAYS

App. 40

DECLARATION OF SERVICE

Peter G. Loewenstein and Helen Loewenstein v.

City of Lafayette Superior Court, County of

Contra Costa — Case No. C 98-03977

[, the undersigned, certify and declare that I am over

the age of 18 years, employed at 396 Hayes Street in the

City and County of San Francisco, State of California, and

not a party to the above-entitled case. On April 16, 2003, I

served the following document:

NOTICE OF ENTRY OF JUDGMENT

and by placing a true copy of said document in a sealed

envelope, with postage thereon fully prepaid, in the United

States Mail at San Francisco, California, addressed as

follows:

—

David J. Bowie Peter G. Loewenstein

Bowie & Bruegmann, LLP Peri Executive Centre

1700 North Broadway, 2033 North Main Street,

Suite 350 Suite 430

Walnut Creek, CA 94596 Walnut Creek, CA 94596

I do hereby certify that I am employed in the office

of a member of the Bar of this Court at whose direction

the service was made. I declare under penalty of perjury

that the foregoing is true and correct.

Executed on April 16, 2003, at San Francisco,

California.

/s/ Mike Lewis

Mike Lewis

: App. 41

BEFORE THE CiTy COUNCIL OF THE

CITY OF LAFAYETTE

In the Matter of:

Denying the appeal of Peter )

and Helen Loewenstein up- +)

holding the Planning Commis- )

sion LLR1-98 decision to deny ) Resolution No. 69-98 98

a request for a three parcel lot-)

line revision, Burton Vista Ct., )

R-20 Zone, APN 236-090-012, )

126-090-015, 239-100-002. )

RECITALS

A. On September 12, 1997, Peter and Helen Loewen-

stein (“Applicants”) filed an_application (LLR 1-98)

requesting a three-parcel lot-line revision. The pro-

posed site is located in the R-20 zoning district

(LMC section 6-781 through 6-793).

B. The Planning Commission reviewed the application

on March 19, 1998. After considering the informa-

tion received at the hearing, the Planning Commis-

sion denied the request: based on the following

findings:

1. The proposed action would place a fifth lot

and house within a City-approved subdivi-

sion that was restricted to four lots and

four houses.

2. The proposed action would not be consis-

tent with the city zoning because it would

reduce the lot area of one proposed parcel

to 1.07 acres, which does not comply with

the lot area requirement of LMC sections

6-3104 and 6-3105(b), and would reduce

the lot area of the other proposed parcel to

App. 42

2.12 acres, which does not comply with

LMC 6-3104.

3. The Commission expressed the opinion

that the LLR process proposal in this case

was a circumvention of the normal re-

quirements of the subdivision process.

On March 23, 1998, Applicants appealed the

Planning Commission’s decision to the City Coun-

cil.

The City Council held a public hearing on April 27,

1998. The City Council heard testimony and received

evidence from the City staff and from the Applicants,

and after consideration of the evidence submitted, di-

rected staff to prepare a Resolution for consideration

at the meeting of May 11, 1998. At the May 11th

meeting, the Applicants and the City Council agreed

to make the resolution effective upon expiration of a

period which would permit Applicants to explore a

suggestion by the Council that Applicants file a sub-

division application. The Council thereupon adopted

Resolution No. 43-98.

The Applicants did explore the filing of a subdivision

application. After conferring with City staff and its

own engineer, Applicants determined that they did

not want to risk a denial of a subdivision application

given the time and expense involved in such a pro-

ceeding and their belief that a lot line adjustment

was the proper method to accomplish their goal.

Applicants have asked the City Council to amend

Resolution No. 43-98 to make it effective upon adop-

tion so that they may initial legal proceedings chal-

lenging the City Council’s denial of the lot line

adjustment.

App. 43

G. In contemplation that a court will be called upon to

review these proceedings, the City Attorney has

drafted this revised resolution of denial to provide

complete findings upon which the City Council’s de-

cision is clearly disclosed and to take into account

some of the Applicant’s comments and objections to

the proposed adoption of the revised resolution.

H. The Council has considered the matter presented to

it by the Applicant and the City Staff.

NOW, THEREFORE, the City Council of the City of

Lafayette, California finds and determines as follows:

1. Applicants’ appeal regarding a three-parcel

lot-line revision is denied based upon the

following findings:

a. Government Code section 66412(d) author-

izes a lot line adjustment under conditions

when land taken from one parcel is added to

an adjacent parcel but a greater number of

parcels than originally existed is not created

thereby. In approving a lot line adjustment,

the City is limited in its review and approval

to a determination of whether the resulting

parcels will conform to City zoning and

building ordinances. The City may not im-

pose conditions or exactions on its approval

except to conform to City zoning and build-

ing ordinances. The City may not require a

tentative, parcel or final map.

b. Applicants are the owners and residents of a

3.04 acre parcel, located in a four-lot subdi-

vision that was approved in 1977 (MSL 7-

77). The 3.04 acre lot is improved with a

single family residence.

App. 44

Applicants wish to use the lot line adjust-

ment procedure to split off the rear portion

of its 3.04 acre lot and combine that portion

with a separate parcel, which Applicants

have acquired, to create a fifth building lot.

One of the conditions of approval of the sub-

division in which Applicants’ lot is located is

that there shall be no further subdivision of

any of the four lots. An owner of a lot subject

to this condition may seek to further subdi-

vide its lot, but to do so must seek approval -

of a change in this condition. If the City

changes the condition to permit the creation

of additional lot(s), the owner is required to

comply with the Subdivision Map Act (Gov't

Code §§66410, et seq.) and the City’s subdi-

vision regulations.

The separate parcel that Applicants ac-

quired is near, but not contiguous to, its

subdivision lot and is located outside the

subdivision. This separate parcel was origi-

nally part of a larger parcel owned by the

Moraga Company. It was acquired by the

East Bay Municipal Utility District (EB-

MUD) for use as a tank site in 1931. The

tank site is a parcel 75 by 60 feet in area

(4,500 sq. ft.). The documents from the files

of EBMUD relating to the acquisition of the

parcel by Applicants are attached to this

resolution as Exhibit A.

The lot line adjustment proposed by Appli-

cants requires that the boundaries of Appli-

cants’ lot and that of a neighboring lot

within the subdivision be adjusted so that

the tank site parcel becomes contiguous to

App. 45

Applicants’ lot. To accomplish this, a trian-

gular parcel would be taken from a

neighboring subdivision lot and added to

Applicants’ subdivision lot. This would make

the tank site parcel contiguous to Appli-

cants’ subdivision lot. Upon completing this,

the boundaries of the tank site parcel and

Applicants’ subdivision lot would be ad-

justed so that the original 3.04 acre lot

would be divided such that the existing resi-

dence and surrounding area would comprise

a 1.07 acre lot, rather than a 3.04 acre lot,

and the tank site parcel would be combined

with the remaining portion of the original

3.04 acre lot to comprise a 2.12 acre lot.

Approving this series of lot line adjustments

would-create two lots and result in a fifth

building site within the subdivision where

only four lots are approved for development.

Applicant states that a fifth lot is not being

created and that the subdivision will still

consist of four lots because a portion of its

subdivision lot is being removed and added

to the tank site parcel. However, the build-

ing site for the proposed residence is not on

the tank site parcel but is on the portion of

the 3.04 acre subdivision lot that would be

split off from it. This fifth lot would be

served by the infrastructure and subdivision

improvements constructed for the four lot

subdivision. It is questionable whether the

tank site parce] could be developed as an in-

dependent building site.

The regulation and control of the design and

improvement of subdivisions within its

boundaries is vested in the City (Gov't Code

App. 46

§§66414, 66418, 66419). The approval of Ap-

plicants’ lot line adjustment would deprive

the City of the authority vested in it by the

Subdivision Map Act. It would permit the

Applicants to avoid the mandatory and dis-

cretionary requirements that are a part of

the subdivision process though the use of the

non-discretionary lot line adjustment proc-

ess.

i. The City Council concludes that the Appli-

cants’ proposal would create an additional

lot and is, therefore, a division of land

within the meaning of Chapter 6-31 of the

Lafayette Municipal Code. Applicants’ 3.04

acre lot is “hillside land,” as that term is de-

fined in Lafayette Municipal Code (LMC)

section 6-3103. As such, if it is to be divided

into two parcels, it is subject to LMC section

6-3101 through 6-3108. These provisions

specify the minimum lot area required for a

building site on hillside land. In turn, the

require lot area for a hillside lot depends

upon the lot’s average slope. The lot line ad-

justment proposed would not conform to

City zoning because, based on their respec-

tive average slopes, the proposed 1.07 acre

lot would not comply with the lot area

requirement of LMC sections 6-3104 and 6-

3105(b), and the proposed 2.12 acre lot

would not comply with the lot area require-

ment of LMC section 6-3104.

2. This determination is a denial of the author-

ity to use the lot line adjustment process. It

is not a denial of the Applicants’ right to

apply for the creation of the lot proposed by

following the City’s subdivision regulations.

App. 47

3. This resolution supercedes and rescinds

Resolution No. 43-98, adopted on May 11,

1998. This resolution becomes effective

upon its adoption.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the City Council of the

City of Lafayette at a meeting held on August 10, 1998 by

the following vote:

AYES: Councilmembers Horn, Strauss, and Mayor Gro-

din

NOES: None

ABSENT: Councilmember Samson

ABSTAIN: Councilmember Tatzin

/s/ Anne Grodin

Mayor

ATTEST:

/s/ Susan M. Jusaitis

City Clerk

EXHIBIT A

(LOGO) EAST BAY

MUNICIPAL UTILITY DISTRICT

LYNELLE M. LEWIS

SECRETARY OF THE DISTRICT

July 13, 1998

Michael Henn, Planning Services Manager

City of Lafayette

P. O. Box 1968

Lafayette, California 94549-1968

App. 48

Dear Mr. Henn:

In response to your July 6, 1998 letter request re informa-

tion on the sale of property on Burton Vista Court to Mr.

and Mrs. Loewenstein, enclosed are the following docu-

ments from the District’s files:

1. Notice of Public Auction Option to Purchase

for August 22, 1996;

2. Surplus Property Value Estimate; and

3. Memoranda from Stephen J. Boeri to Rebecca

F. Lamoreaux, dated October 7, 1996, re: Sale

of Surplus District Property, CC 212, Lafayette.

Please contact Stephen J. Boeri, Manager of Real Estates

Services, at 287-1248, if you need further assistance.

Sincerely,

/s/ Lynelle M. Lewis

Lynelle M. Lewis

Secretary of the District

LML:mp

Enclosures

cc: Stephen J. Boeri

w:\ltr.hen

App. 49

(LOGO)

EBMUD

NOTICE OF

PUBLIC AUCTION

OPTION TO PURCHASE

(Sealed Bid)

DATE:

ij. TIME:

F PLACE:

OPTION PERIOD:

OPTION DEPOSIT

AMOUNT:

MINIMUM BID:

PROPERTY LOCATION:

FOR MORE INFO

CONTACT:

Wednesday [Thursday],

August 24 [22], 1996

4:06 [9:30] p.m.

East Bay Municipal Utility

District

Administration Building

375-11th Street, Oakland, CA

9th Floor Conference Room

60 Days After the Acceptance

and Approval of the Bid by the

District’s Board of Directors

$2,500

$13,500

Burton Vista and Carlyle

Terrace, Lafayette

(See map on reverse)

Gayle Thomas

East Bay Municipal Utility

District _

375 Eleventh Street

Oakland, CA 94607-4204

(510) 287-1247

M-F 7:30 a.m. — 5:00 p.m.

App. 50

PROPERTY INFORMATION

Size: Approximately 4500 Square feet

Assessor’s Parcel No.: 239-100-002

Zoning: R-20 Residential

Utilities: There is no record access to the site; and

there are no utilities to the site, but utilities are in the

nearby streets.

The property is being sold “as is” and is subject to all

title exceptions, restrictions, easements and reservations

whether or not of record.

IT IS THE BUYER'S RESPONSIBILITY TO DETER-

MINE THE ACCEPTABLE USES OF THIS PROPERTY.

[Title Report attached]

SEALED BID PROCESS

The minimum bid price is $13,500. Sealed bids will be

accepted in the Real Estate Services Section of the East

Bay Municipal Utility District, located on the 9th floor at

375-1lth Street Oakland, CA 94607, until 1:00 p.m. on

Wednesday, August 21, 1996, at which time they will be

opened.

The Option to Purchase Agreement must be executed and

returned with a CASHIER’S CHECK, CERTIFIED

CHECK, OR MONEY ORDER in the amount of $2,500.

Bid opening will commence at 9:30 AM +:00-p-m- on the

9th floor of EBMUD. The highest qualified bid will be

determined and accepted. Unaccepted bids will be re-

turned by mail as addressed therein. The successful

bidder’s deposit is non-refundable.

App. 51

BID ACCEPTANCE

Any acceptance of a bid by the person conducting the sale

shall be subject to the acceptance and approval of the

District.

BID REJECTIONS

The District reserves the right to reject any and all offers

and waive any informality or irregularity in any offer or to

accept any offer deemed in the best interests of the Dis-

trict, or to withdraw the property from the sale.

BIDDER DEFAULT

In the event that the high bidder fails to exercise his or

her option within the Option Period or defaults in comple-

tion of the sale, the District may, at its discretion, offer the

Option to the second highest bidder. If the second highest

-bidder accepts the offer, the deposit requirement and

terms of Option to purchase shall be the same as stated in

this notice of sale, except that the Option Period shall

commence upon acceptance and approval by the District.

CLOSING TRANSACTION

Successful bidder will have the Option Period of 60 days

after the District approves and accepts the bid to complete

the transaction under the TERMS OF OPTION TO PUR-

CHASE, attached hereto.

In the event any term or condition in the agreement

conflicts with or violates any statutory requirements in

the sale of public property, only that part or portion of this

App. 52

agreement so conflicting shall be amended to conform with

any applicable legal requirements at the time.

All District employees may bid to acquire surplus District

property, except employees who have direct access to

information not generally available to the public or who

influences the purchase or sale of right-of-way or other

real property.

THE INFORMATION CONTAINED HEREIN IS BE-

LIEVED RELIABLE, BUT IS NOT GUARANTEED.

OPTION TO PURCHASE AGREEMENT

(SILENT BID)

For the purchase of the real property located between

Burton Vista and Carlyle Terrace in Lafayette, California,

and described in Exhibit “A” attached hereto and made a

part hereof, the undersigned Optionee hereby agrees to

the terms and conditions of option hereinafter set forth

and further agrees to pay

DOLLARS ($ ) as full payment for the purchase of

said property. A deposit in the amount of $2,500.00 is paid

herewith and the balance in the sum of $

will be paid within the Option Period specified herein,

namely 60 days after acceptance of this Agreement by the

East Bay Municipal Utility District.

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

1. The Option Period shail commence on the first day

following the date of the approval and acceptance of

this Option by the District’s Board of Directors. The

App. 53

full purchase price shall be paid on or before expira-

tion of the Option Period.

There may be circumstances beyond the control of the

Optionee which prevent completion of the terms and

conditions within the Option Period. Under these cir-

cumstances, East Bay Municipal Utility District may, at

its discretion, provide for an extension of the Option Pe-

riod if it is deemed in the best interests of East Bay

Municipal Utility District. It is understood that the suc-

cessful bidder acquires no right, title, interest or equity

in or to said property until the deed is recorded.

The sale under this Option is subject to the approval

of East Bay Municipal Utility District. The successful

bidder may take possession when the deed from the

East Bay Municipal Utility District has been re-

corded.

East Bay Municipal Utility District reserves the right to

cancel the sale at any time prior to recording of the

deed. In the event of cancellation of sale, all monies de-

posited shall be refunded without payment of interest.

The right, title and interest in the property to be sold

pe shall not exceed that vested in East Bay Municipal

Utility District, and the property is being sold subject

to all title exceptions, restrictions, easements and

reservations, whether or not of record. The successful

purchaser may obtain a policy of title insurance at its

own expense. :

The Optionee shall pay all recording fees, documen-

tery transfer taxes, or other real estate transaction

iaxes, or fees by whatever name known, including es-

crow fees or broker’s commission, if any, and personal

property sales taxes where applicable.

East Bay Municipal Utility District does not guaran-

tee the condition of the property nor does it assume

App. 54

any responsibility for the conformance to codes or

permit regulations of the City and/or County in which

the property is located. It is the BUYER'S RESPON-

SIBILITY to determine and comply with all building,

planning and zoning regulations relative to the prop-

erty and the uses to which it can be put. THE PROP-

ERTY WILL BE SOLD ON AN “AS IS” BASIS.

Optionee hereby acknowledges reading and having read,

hereby agrees to all terms, rights and remedies as set

forth herein.

The property shall be conveyed by Grant Deed to:

(show full

name(s))

(show how title to be vested)

It is also agreed that all notices and services pertai ing to

matters arising in connection with this transactior, may be

made upon Optionee in person or by mail addressed to

bidder at:

(address)

(phone)

OPTIONEE EAST BAY MUNICIPAL

DISTRICT

Bid accepted and approved:

By:

Stephen J. Boeri

Manager of Real Estate Services

Date: Date:

App. 55

SURPLUS PROPERTY VALUE ESTIMATE

Property Name: Lafayette Tank Site (CC-212)

APN: 239-100-002

Former District Use: Tank Site

Property Address: Burton Vista & Carlyle Terrace, Lafayette

Zoning: R-20 General Plan: Residential

(20,000 SF minimum)

Best Use: Residential — Plottage to adjoining Landowner

Possible Hazardous Material (including underground tanks)

Yes ___ No _X

Property Rights Appraised: Fee

Date Inspected: 5/1/96

PROJ ECT DESCRIPTION:

Fee Sale of .10 acres to adjoining property owner.

PARCEL DESCRIPTION:

Parcel is .10 acres, landlocked, gently sloping to the east.

View of Burton Valley, several large oak trees. Nearest

utilities are in St. Mary’s and there is no easement serving

this parcel.

VALUE ANALYSIS:

This 60' x 75' parcel cannot be developed independently as

a single family residential lot as it has insufficient land

area to meet the minimum lot requirement and is below

the average normal standardized size and shape of other

privately owned properties in the immediate neighbor-

hood. There is no record access to the site and there are no

utilities to the site but utilities are nearby. The most

reasonable highest and best use is for asseinblage with one

App. 56

of the adjacent parcels as a pad area on a larger lot. This

parcel is at the high end of a knoll, which when combined

with adjacent property, would be well suited for a single

family residence.

I have used comparable market data to estimate the value

of buildable lots in the area. Assemblage parcels are

typically discounted somewhat as there is limited market

demand for such property. In this case, only the three

adjacent properties can utilize this parcel. However, this

property has excellent view potential and may be the most

logical site for a single family residence when combined

with adjoining property. For these reasons, the subject

4,500 s/f parcel has not been discounted but has been

valued the same as surrounding property. Buildable lots

sell for approximately $90,000 or $3.00-4.00/s.f. Therefore, _

the estimated value is $3.00-4.00/s.f. x 4;500 sf. or

$13,500-$18,000.

Recommended minimum bid: $13,500

/s/ Gayle Thomas

APPRAISER-REAL DATE

ESTATE REPRESENTATIVE

The undersigned has reviewed and approved this estimate.

MANAGER OF REAL ESTATE SERVICES

eens eS Tee: mee re

App. 57

October 7, 1996

MEMO TO: Rebecca F. Lamoreaux, Manager of Cus-

tomer and Community Services

FROM: Stephen J. Boeri, Manager of Real Estate

Services /s/

SUBJECT: Sale of Surplus District Property, CC 212,

Lafayette

RECOMMENDED ACTION

Approve the sale of surplus District property CC-212

located between Carlyle Terrace and Burton Vista Court

in Lafayette (see attached map), to an adjacent property

owner.

DISCUSSION

The District acquired this .10 acre site in 1931 from the

Moraga Company as a tank site to serve their small

subdivision (there is no evidence of monetary considera-

tion). In 1942, a new, larger tank was constructed on

property near this tank and this tank was removed from

‘service. This property has not been used for District

operations since then.

The District declared the property surplus in 1989. On ~

August 22, 1996, the property was offered for sale by

sealed bid to the three adjacent property owners. The

minimum bid was set at $13,500. The highest bid received

was $13,500 from Peter and Helen Loewenstein.

App. 58

—

EVALUATION

The City of Lafayette found the proposed property sale to

be in conformance with its general plan, strongly recom-

mending sale to an adjacent property owner due to its size.

The parcel does not have record access and, due to its size

(under 10,000 square feet), the District was not required to

offer the property for sale to other public agencies. A

Notice of Exemption was posted.

District staff valued the property in a range of $13,500 to

$18,000 and established a minimum bid of $13,500 for the

purposes of auction. Three adjacent property owners were

sent Notices of Public Auction by Sealed Bid and also

letters inviting their participation. One bid was received

from one party, with a high bid of $13,500. The successful

bidder has deposited $2,500 with the District and has 60

days (until October 22, 1996) to pay the balance. This sale

does not require Board approval. Per the signature author-

ity memo dated August 26, 1996, (copy attached) the

Manager of Customer and Community Services has

authority to dispose of fee title in values under $20,000.

SJB:GT:la

App. 59 ©

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF CONTRA COSTA

HON. RICHARD L. PATSEY, JUDGE

DEPARTMENT 13

PETER G. LOEWENSTEIN and

HELEN LOEWENSTEIN,

Plaintiffs and Petitioners,

vs. | Case No. C98-03977

CITY OF LAFAYETTE, etc., et al.,

Defendants and Respondents.

ORDER GRANTING PETITION

FOR WRIT OF MANDATE

(Filed Mar. 9, 1999)

Having considered the oral argument of counsel and

[having /s/ KLP] reviewed again the administrative record,

I am satisfied the tentative ruling denying the petition is

in error. Accordingly, I grant the petition, order Respon-

dent City of Lafayette to set aside its decision of August

10, 1998, and order Respondent to reconsider Petitioners’

lot line application. ~

I conclude, given this administrative record, that

granting the lot line adjustment would not violate any

zoning, building or slope density ordinances or regulations

of Respondent City of Lafayette. Thus, whether the stan-

dard of review be substantial evidence or arbitrariness,

Respondent City of Lafayette’s denial has no support in

the administrative record.

I disagree with Respondent’s view that the exemption

under Govt. Code Section 6641(d) is inapplicable here. By

the plain language of the section a“. . . greater number of

App. 60

parcels than originally existed is not. . . .” created by the

lot line adjustment. Respondent’s argument that I must

read into the statute a further restriction that a greater

number of parcels may not be created within an existing _

subdivision is not supported by the legislative history of

Section 6641(d), the plain meaning of the section of this

record. :

IT IS SO ORDERED THIS

9TH DAY OF MARCH, 1999.

/s/ Patsey

RICHARD L. PATSEY

JUDGE OF THE SUPERIOR

COURT

~

App. 61

Collette Stone, Esq. (SBN 129773)

BOORNAZIAN, JENSEN & GARTHE

1500 Newell Ave., 6th Floor

Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Telephone (510) 934-8400

David J. Bowie (SBN 50167)

William J. Bruegmann (SBN 94969)

_ BOWIE & GRUEGMANN, LLP

1331 N. California Blvd., Suite 780

Walnut Creek, Ca 94596 ~

Telephone (925) 939-5300

Telecopier (925) 939-5392

Attorneys for Plaintiffs Peter and Helen

LOEWENSTEIN 7

_-SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

COUNTY OF CONTRA COSTA

Case No.

C98-03977

Trial Date: TBA

Dept: Dept 13

PETER G. LOEWENSTEIN and__+?)

)

)

)

si PEREMPTORY

)

)

HELEN LOEWENSTEIN,

Petitioners and Plaintiffs,

CITY OF LAFAYETTE, et al.,

Respondents and Defendants.

THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

To: Respondent, THE CITY OF LAFAYETTE, a Munici-

pal Corporation.

On March 9, 1999, the Honorable Richard L. Patsey,

Judge of this Court, entered an Order Granting the

Petition for Writ of Mandate heretofor filed by PETER G.

LOEWENSTEIN and HELEN LOEWENSTEIN, Petitioners.

App. 62 -

Notice of Entry of said Order was filed and served on or

about March 15, 1999.

YOU ARE HEREBY COMMANDED upon receipt of

this Writ to set aside your decision of August 10, 1998,

in the administrative proceedings entitled “In the

Matter of: Denying the Appeal of PETER and HELEN

LOEWENSTEIN upholding the Planning Commission

LLR1-98 Decision to Deny a Request for a Three Parcel

Lot-Line Revision, Burton Vista Court, R-20 Zone, APN

236-090-012, 236-090-015, 239-100-002, which proceed-

ings are hereby remanded to you, to reconsider your

action in the light of this Court’s Order Granting Peti-

tion for Writ of Mandate, in which this Court made the

following determinations:

A. That granting the lot line revision requested by

Petitioners would not violate any zoning, build-

ing, or slope density ordinances or regulations

of Respondent, CITY OF LAFAYETTE, such

that the denial thereof was without support in

the Administrative Record; and

B. Government Code Section 66412(d) is inappli-

cable to these circumstances by virtue of the

plain language of that statute that a “

greater number of-parcels than originally ex-

isted is not .. .” created by Petitioner’s lot line

revision.

YOU ARE HEREBY COMMANDED to take any

further actions specifically enjoined on you by law; but

nothing in this Writ shall limit or control the discretion

legally vested in you.

————

App. 63

YOU ARE FURTHER COMMANDED to make and

file a return to this Writ on or before 60 days from date

hereof setting forth what you have done to comply.

SEAL

K. TORRE,

Clerk of the Superior Court

By D. DOW, Deputy Clerk

LET THE FOREGOING WRIT ISSUE,

DATED: 11/3/99

By /s/ Patsey

Honorable Richard J. Patsey

Judge of the Superior Court

APPROVED AS TO FORM

/s/ Charles J. Williams

CHARLES J. WILLIAMS,

City Attorney, City of Lafayette

App. 64

Charles J. Williams, SBN 026659

Charles J. Williams, APC

Muir Parkway

1330 Arnold Drive, Suite 149

Martinez, California 94553

Telephone: (925) 228-3840

Facsimile: (925) 228-1703

Attorney for Respondent and Defendant

CITY OF LAFAYETTE

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

COUNTY OF CONTRA COSTA

PETER G. LOEWENSTEIN and ) Case No.

HELEN LOEWENSTEIN, ) C98-03977

Petitioners and Plaintiffs, RETURN TO

. PEREMPTORY

; WRIT OF

CITY OF LAFAYETTE, et al., ) MANDATE

Respondents and Defendants. ) (Filed

) dan. 19, 2000)

To: THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALI-

FORNIA:

Respondent, CITY OF LAFAYETTE, makes the

following return to the Peremptory Writ of Mandate

issued in this action:

At its regular meeting held on January 10, 2000, the

City Council of the City of Lafayette directed the City

Attorney to file the City’s Notice of Appeal of the judgment

granting the peremptory wit of mandate upon entry of a

final judgment that disposes of all causes of action be-

tween the parties. (See Morehart vs. County of Santa

re ae en ee ee Ty

App. 65

Barbara (1994) 7 C4th 725, 29 CR2nd 804; Nerhan vs.

Stinso Beach County Water District (1994) 27 CA4th 536,

33 CR2nd 10.

Dated: January 14, 2000

/s/ Charles J. Williams

Charles J. Williams, APC

Charles J. Williams

Attorney for Respondents

and Defendants

CITY OF LAFAYETTE

App. 66

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE

OF CALIFORNIA IN AND FOR THE

COUNTY OF CONTRA COSTA

PETER G. LOEWENSTEIN NO. C98-03977

and HELEN LOEWENSTEIN, DECISION AND

Petitioners and Plaintiffs, ORDER -

vs. RE: RIPENESS

CITY OF LAFAYETTE, (Filed Jan. 27, 2000)

et al.,

Respondents and Defendants /

I have considered the briefs and arguments of the

parties concerning ripeness.

Defendant contends the question whether it has

taken Plaintiffs’ property is not ripe for adjudication

since Plaintiffs have not established that Defendant has

arrived at a final position regarding development of

Plaintiffs’ property. In particular, Defendant contends:

1) That Plaintiffs can proceed by application under the

Subdivision Map Act; 2) That Plaintiffs may be able to

develop the tank site independently of their residential

parcel. |

I reject Defendant’s arguments. The declaration of Ms.

Stone satisfies me that it would be futile for Plaintiffs to

proceed with an application under the Subdivision Map

Act. Defendant’s own planning staff has made that clear.

Further, as the Stone declaration also shows, there is no

reasonable possibility that Plaintiffs’ can develop their

landlocked tank site independent of their residential

parcel.

App. 67

I order this case set for a status conference before

Judge Rivera on February 28, 2000 at 8:30 a.m. at which

time a trial date can be set on the “taking” issue.

DATED: JAN 27 2000.

/s/ Richard L. Patsey

RICHARD L. PATSEY

JUDGE OF THE SUPERIOR

COURT

App. 68

Charles J. Williams, SBN 026659

Charles J. Williams, APC

Muir Parkway

1330 Arnold Drive, Suite 149

Martinez, California 94553

Telephone: (925) 228-3840

Facsimile: (925) 228-1703

Attorney for Respondent and Defendant

CITY OF LAFAYETTE

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

COUNTY OF CONTRA COSTA

PETER G. LOEWENSTEIN and ) Case No.

HELEN LOEWENSTEIN, ) C98-03977

Petitioners and Plaintiffs, ‘ ORDER RE

i ) TENTATIVE

j ee RULING

CITY OF LAFAYETTE, a Mumicipal, (Filed

Corporation, and DOES 1 through

50, inclusive, ) Apr. 24, 2000)

)

Respondents and Defendants. )

This matter came on for hearing on April 11, 2000,

before the Honorable Maria Rivera, Judge of the Superior

Court, Department 7, following the Court’s téntative

ruling on April 10, 2000 relating to the issue of whether or

not the City is liable to the Plaintiffs in inverse condemna-

tion.

Following the Court’s tentative ruling, Charles J.

Williams, Esq. requested argument; thereafter he ap-

peared on behalf of Defendant, CITY OF LAFAYETTE,

and David Bowie, Esq. appeared on behalf of Petitioners

App. 69 "

PETER G. LOEWENSTEIN and HELEN LOEWEN-

STEIN.

The Court, having considered the points and authori-

ties presented by Petitioners and Respondents, and having

considered the arguments of both Respondents and Peti-

tioners on the issue of inverse condemnation liability, it is

found, determined and ordered that the Court’s tentative

ruling stands as follows:

1. The Court cannot find on the record presented

that the City’s action was so objectively unrea-

sonable that it was made for no other reason than

to delay the proposed project. To the contrary the

City’s decision, though erroneous, was rational

and, as stated by Judge Patsy, not arbitrary or

capricious. Nor can a delay of a little over two

years for processing the application, the adminis-

trative appeals and this litigation be considered

an unreasonable delay that results in a taking. As

stated in Landgate, Inc. vs. California Coastal

Commission (1998) 17 C4th 1006, 73 CR2nd 841,

the “normal” permit process includes the period in

which the property owner must litigate over

threshold questions that must be resolved relat-

ing to the underlying project. No case cited holds

that a two year time delay for resolving this kind

of threshold issue constitutes an unreasonable de-

lay;

2. Regarding the remaining theory for taking,

described by the City as the ad hoc balancing test,

whether or not there has been a taking cannot be

determined on the existing record because there

are disputed issues of fact. Further, the determi-

nation of whether there has been a taking under

Penn Central Transportation Co. vs. City of New

York (1978) 438 US 104 and Kavanau vs. Santa

App. 70

Monica Rent Control Board (1997) 16 C4th 761,

66 CR2nd 681 requires additional evidence that

must is be inextricably intertwined with issues of

valuation. Accordingly, the remaining issues for

trial are:

(1) whether there has been a “regulatory

taking”, and if so

(2) the amount of “just compensation”

The issue of whether or not there has been a regula-

tory taking is set for an evidentiary hearing on June 12,

2000.

Dated: April 18, 2000

/s/ MARIA P. RIVERA

The Honorable Maria Rivera

Judge of the Superior Court

Approved as to Form:

/s/ David J. Bowie 4/12/00

David J. Bowie, Esq. Date

Attorney for Petitioners/Plaintiffs

PETER %. LOEWENSTEIN and

HELEN LOEWENSTEIN

App. 71

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF

CALIFORNIA IN AND FOR THE COUNTY

OF CONTRA COSTA

PETER G. LOEWENSTEIN and )

HELEN LOEWENSTEIN, )

Plaintiffs,

vs.

CITY OF LAFAYETTE,

Defendant.

No. C98-03977

NOTICE OF

RECUSAL

(Filed May 30, 2000)

i a

Upon due reflection and consideration, the Court has

decided it must recuse itself from further proceedings in

this matter. The case is assigned for all purposes to

Department 18. The trial date of June 12 is confirmed.

Dated: May 30, 2000

/s/ Maria P. Rivera

Judge of the Superior Court

App. 72

Colette Stone, Esq. (SBN 129773)

BOORNAZIAN, JENSEN & GARTHE

1500 Newell Ave., 6th Floor

Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Telephone (510) 934-8400

David J. Bowie (SBN 50167)

William J. Bruegmann (SBN 94969)

BOWIE & BRUEGMANN, LLP

1331 N. California Blvd., Suite 780

Walnut Creek, CA 94596

Telephone (925) 939-5300

Telecopier: (925) 939-5392

Attorneys for Plaintiffs Peter and Helen

Loewenstein

SUPERIOR COURT OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

COUNTY OF CONTRA COSTA

PETER G. LOEWENSTEIN and ) Case No. C98-03977

HELEN LOEWENSTEIN, ) epROPOSEDI

Petitioners and Plaintiffs, STATEMENT OF

) DECISION

) (Filed Jul. 3, 2000)

vs.

CITY OF LAFAYETTE, et al.,

Respondents and Defendants. )

I

INTRODUCTION

This subject action was filed on September 24, 1998.

In their pleadings, the Plaintiffs sought administrative

and ordinary mandamus as well as declaratory relief.

The filed complaint also sought to recover damages

App. 73

based upon the Takings Clause of the Fifth Amendment

as incorporated against the State by the Fourteenth

Amendment of the United States Constitution whereby

compensation to a land owner was required under those

circumstances wherein a regulatory ruling of state or

municipal agencies has denied the owner the economi-

cally viable use of his land.

On March 9, 1999, this Court, the Honorable Rich-

ard L. Patsey, Judge, presiding, issued an Order Grant-

ing Petition for Writ of Mandate. Based on the

Administrative Record offered into evidence, the Court

concluded that granting the lot line adjustment which

Plaintiffs had sought did not violate any zoning, build-

ing or slope density ordinances or regulations of the

Respondent City of Lafayette. Thus, whether the stan-

dard of review was substantial evidence or arbitrari-

ness, the Respondent City’s denial was without support

in the Administrative Record. The Court specifically

rejected the Respondent City’s argument that the plain

language of Government Code Section 66412(d) must be

expanded to include a restriction that a greater number

of parcels not be created within an existing subdivision

by a lot line adjustment pursuant to said statute. A

Peremptory Writ of Mandate was subsequently issued;

in its return to the Writ the Respondent City declined to

reconsider its decision and instead elected to appeal the

Court’s determination.

Subsequent to issuance of the aforesaid Peremptory

Writ of Mandate, the remaining issues posed by the

Plaintiffs’ Takings claim were contested by means of a

series of motions made by the Respondent, City of

Lafayette.

App. 74

On January 27, 2000, this Court, the Honorable

Richard L. Patsey, Judge, presiding issued a Decision

and Order re Ripeness. That decision and Order fol-

lowed a motion filed by the Respondent City of Lafayette

in which it contended that the Plaintiffs’ Takings claims

were not ripe for adjudication on the grounds of Plain-

tiffs’ alleged failure to establish that the Responden

City of Lafayette had arrived at a final position regard-

ing development of Plaintiffs’ property. In particular,

the Respondent City contended that Plaintiffs could

proceed by application under the Subdivision Map Act to

Act; in addition, the Court factually found that there -

was no reasonable possibility that Plaintiffs could

develop their landlocked real property parcel independ-

ent of the lot line adjustment they sought through the

City of Lafayette pursuant to Government Code Section

66412(d). The Decision and Order of Judge Patsey

assigned the subject case to the Honorable Maria

Rivera, Judge of this Court, for the setting of a trial date

on Plaintiffs’ Takings Issues.

On April 24, 2000, this Court, the Honorable Maria

Rivera, Judge presiding, issued an Order in which she

held that a delay of approximately two years in processing

Plaintiffs’ Lot Line Adjustment Application, the adminis-

trative appeals, and this litigation might not be considered

an unreasonable delay which, in and of itself, might result

iceman

App. 75

in a Taking pursuant to Landgate Inc. vs. California

Coastal Commission (1998) 17 C 4th 1006. In that same

Order, Judge Rivera set for evidentiary hearing and trial

the issues as to whether or not there had been a taking of

Plaintiffs’ property pursuant to Penn Central Transporta-

tion Company vs. City of New York (1978) 438 U.S. 104

and Kavanau vs. Santa Monica Rent Control Board (1997)

16 C 4th, 761 and, if so, the amount of “just compensation”

due Plaintiffs. The issues of a “taking” and the amount of

“just compensation” due were bifurcated for purposes of

trial by Order of this Court, the Honorable William M.

Kolin, Judge, presiding, with the stipulation of counsel for

the parties.

A Statement of Decision was requested by the parties

and has been prepared based upon the Court’s tentative

decision placed of record upon conclusion of the “Takings”

evidence and after oral argument on the “Takings Issue”

and then after submission of the case following of evidence

and argument as to the “just compensation” issue. The

parties, through their respective attorneys, waived a jury

as to the second bifurcated issue of “just compensation”. A

Statement of Decision is intended to set forth an explana-

tion of the factual and legal basis of the decision as to the

principal controverted issues. Code of Civil Procedure

Section 632; Rules of Court, Rule 232.

Trial of this subject case commenced June 12, 2000, in

Department 18 of this Court before the Honorable William

M. Kolin, Judge presiding. The Plaintiffs were represented

by and through their attorneys, David J. Bowie and

Colette Stone. The Respondent, City of Lafayette, was

represented by its attorney, Charles J. Williams. Trial was

concluded June 14, 2000.

App. 76

II

THE CITY’S LIABILITY FOR A “TAKING” OF

PLAINTIFF’S REAL PROPERTY

Since the 1970’s, the use of inverse condemnation to

challenge government regulation of property has been

explosive in California and elsewhere. A regulatory taking

is often referred to as an unreasonable exercise of a public

entity’s police power. The United States Supreme Court

has recognized that a regulation of property that “goes too

far” may effect a taking of that property, though its title

remains in private hands. Penn. Coal Co. vs. Mahon (1922)

260 US 393, 415.

To escape liability for its interference with private

property rights, a public entity's regulatory action must be

“necessary” for the general good of the public. Keystone

Bituminous Cole Assn vs. DeBenedictis (1987) 480 U.S.

470, 503. There is no set formula for determining when

justice and fairness require that economic injury caused by

regulatory action be compensated. As stated in Penn

Central Transportation Company vs. City of New York

(1978) 438 U.S. 104, 124, these cases are essentially “ad

hoc” inquiries.”

A takings claim based on a legal theory that a regula-

tion has a proper public purpose but imposes so severe a

burden on the individual property as to amount to a

taking of private property for public use without prior

compensation was allowed in Lucas vs. South Carolina

Coastal Council (1992) 505 US 1003. In First English

Evangelical Lutheran Church vs. Los Angeles County

(1987) 482 U.S. 304, an ordinance which prohibited the

reconstruction of buildings in an interim flood

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.