Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Dawkins v. Witt

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

O |

In The FICE OF 'HE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

+

HOWARD G. DAWKINS, JR., M.D.;

ANNETTE DAWKINS,

Petitioners,

JAMES LEE WITT, Director

of the Federal Emergency Management Agency,

Respondent.

+

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

+

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

7

A. Charles Ellis

Counsel of Record

WARD and SMITH, P.A.

120 West Fire Tower Road

Post Office Box 8088

Greenville, NC 27835-8088

(252) 215-4000

Counsel for Petitioners

aw

THE LEX GROUP ¢ 1108 East Main Street # Suite 1400 ¢ Richmond, Virginia 23219

(804) 644-4419 @ (800) 856-4419 @ Fax: (804) 644-3660 ¢ www.thelexgroup.com 0

sisdesises ionicity RRM NS

sig haerestO Deg Pottbe NL A Nan a ON MENS RRR M EEE :

in ote e Lye npn

A Sa Ra a

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether actions by agents and representatives of the

National Flood Insurance Program, including but not

limited to: (a) telling the insureds that the NFIP does

not enforce the 60-day proof of loss requirement in

major disasters, such as hurricanes; (b) telling the

insureds that claims for flood damage may be

reopened by the NFIP if additional flood damage is

discovered; (c) inspecting only the first floor of a

three-story home, and refusing to inspect the second

and third floors, following a __ hurricane;

(d) continuing negotiations with the insureds and

causing them to incur substantial time and money in

submitting additional documentation to the NFIP

and hiring structural engineers to inspect the insured

premises; (e) accepting the first proof of loss after the

60-day period and paying on the loss, but not

accepting a second claim for additionally discovered

damage, constitute affirmative misconduct for the

application of estoppel against the Government?

Whether through the misrepresentations of the NFIP

agents and its acceptance of the first proof of loss

after expiration of the 60-day deadline, the NFIP

waived the 60-day proof of loss requirement?

Whether the requirements for filing a proof of loss in

the Flood Policy are ambiguous and, therefore,

should be construed in favor of Petitioners?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .........:s:sssssseesesseesees i

TABLE OF CITED AUTHOR ITIEG..........:sessseesessessseseeeesenens iv

OPINIONS BELOW. ..........:cscssssssseesesseenesesenseaseneseseneanensenseneensens 1

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION ........:secsseessesesssnseseeseeseenennennenee raees 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ........:.ssssssssesesesenenenes 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.........ccccssesessesseeeseeseeeneeneeneneenennens 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT........:.seceseseseesesesenees 11

A. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT

CERTIORARI TO PROVIDE AN

EXAMPLE OF THE TYPE OF

GOVERNMENTAL AFFIRMATIVE

MISCONDUCT TO WHICH

ESTOPPEL MAY APPLY. .......:sesssessssessessesees 11

1. Estoppel.......sccscscsesesesesersssssssrseseseseeees 11

y WYO ....seccvvsesneerserencvccvernevernncersnaconenee 19

B. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT

CERTIORARI BECAUSE THE

REQUIREMENTS FOR FILING A

PROOF OF LOSS ARE AMBIGUOUS

AND SHOULD BE CONSTRUED IN

FAVOR OF PETITIONERS;

THEREFORE, THE DECISION BY

THE FOURTH CIRCUIT SHOULD BE

REVERSED..........scsssssssssssseorsersocscssrseessesenessenees 21

Ce AF ieisccassenstiniaecsniamnintiemncninnibantinenamniictenntieninpane ite

APPENDIX

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases:

Chesapeake Ship Propeller Co. v. Stickney,

S20 F. Seay. FIG (ELA. VR. TIS) oveensescnssvnsssnevnniviinsestnn 21

Dawkins v. Witt,

SFR ek GG FO CE, I) evevvevessensntsnesvenneninvnninchabenbinie 1

Dempsey v. Director,

349 F. Supp. 1334 (E.D. Ark. 1962).........r0ccsvesessere 12, 20

Heckler v. Community Health Servs. of

Crawford County, Inc.,

467 U.S. 51, 104 S. Ct. 2218,

1 1. heh. a eC sisi cession sessnibanenenetnnnen 11,12

Humphrey v. Nat'l Flood Ins. Program,

SES FE. Sangee, EID CD. WG: TPG wseesessisicasvornsavicsanvsssnovvns 14

McCrary v. Fed. Emergency Management Agency,

642 F. Supp. 544 (E.D.N.C. 1986).............r-sesseesseessseees 12

Meister Bros., Inc. v. Macy,

674 F.2d 1174 (7th Cir. 1982)............000 12, 16, 17, 18, 19

Montana v. Kennedy,

366 U.S. 308, 815. Ct. 1336,

© Ui. Fa, ek A a a icsehcesineisnereiciinilnhianhantnanibosiitic 15

Office of Personnel Management v. Richmond,

496 U.S. 414, 110 S. Ct. 2465,

SO Las FR Re CPE wivieretsenincaicictcninsnovenisickanbeenibenten 14

Riverside Bldg. Supply, Inc. v.

Fed. Emergency Management Agency,

Fed En Ae A, FD) cvecctnsninsninssenssnoineniensvanasonne 22

iv

Schweiker v. Hansen,

450 U.S. 785, 101 S. Ct. 1468,

OF Sy Hees IE I RN srvisesepnnitcsinemcanitersaennoninin 15, 16, 18

United States v. Slaughter,

PO Fie Ae CE NE. BI cose cecnvassrsssiseiunsscitinmnntionns 19

Statutes

BF Baer Fete vinsaresecissvienintetesisemeicindip asniaamaaiaaadaaaan 2

Be ein Se FB tisctnsiivncnitiaistrsninbenisucianeidbanahmensanaiae siete 2

ER. BE Bc insnincinnnccienphndeaea eaten 43

CS UBL... GR GIRL, BO icrisscnssisnestienicnicsnanaabans 3

iv

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

HOWARD G. DAWKINS, JR., M.D.;

ANNETTE DAWKINS,

Petitioners,

Vv.

JAMES LEE WITT, Director of the

Federal Emergency Management Agency,

Respondent

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Petitioners pray that a writ of certiorari issue to

review the decision and judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit, dated and entered

February 3, 2003.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of North Carolina (App. 12) is not

reported. The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit (App. 1) is reported in 318 F.3d 606.

1

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

_

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered

on February 3, 2003. The jurisdiction of the Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Statutory Provisions

National Flood Insurance Act of 1968

42 U.S.C. § 4072 - Adjustment and payment of claims;

judicial review; limitations; jurisdiction

in the event the program is carried out as

provided in section 1340 [42 U.S.C. § 4071],

the Director shall be authorized to adjust and

make payment of any claims for proved and

approved losses covered by flood insurance,

and upon the disallowance by the Director of

any such claim, or upon the refusal of the

claimant to accept the amount allowed upon

any such claim, the claimant, within one year

after the date of mailing of notice of

disallowance or partial disallowance by the

Director, may institute an action against the

Director on such claim in the United States

district court for the district in which the

insured property or the major part thereof

shall have been situated, and original

exclusive jurisdiction is hereby conferred

upon such court to hear and determine such

action without regard to the amount in

controversy.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners, as Plaintiffs, brought the action against

Respondent, Defendant James Lee Witt, Director of the

Federal Emergency Management Agency, seeking to recover

property damages sustained as a result of Hurricane Fran

under the terms of a flood insu ance policy ("Policy") issued

to Petitioners pursuant to the provisions of the National

Flood Insurance Act of 1968, 42 U.S.C. §§ 4001, et_seq.

Pursuant to the authority provided by 42 U.S.C. § 4072,

Petitioners brought their suit in the United States District

Court for the district in which the insured property was

situated.

In 1989, Petitioners purchased a home located at 219

Beach Road North on Figure Eight Island in Wilmington,

North Carolina (the "Insured Property"). Figure Eight

Island is a private island with restricted access through a

guarded gate. Access is limited to owners, their family,

guests, and authorized construction and service personnel.

At or about the same time of the purchase of the home,

Petitioners also purchased flood insurance through the

National Flood Insurance Program ("NFIP") for which they

paid annual premiums. In addition, Petitioners purchased a

homeowners' policy with Lloyd's of London, which

provided coverage, among other things, for wind damage to

the Insured Property.

On or about September 5, 1996, the Insured Property

was severely damaged by Hurricane Fran. Immediately

thereafter (on or about September 6, 1996), Dr. Dawkins

contacted the office of Fickling & Clement Insurance

("Fickling & Clement"), the insurance agent through whom

he purchased the NFIP Policy, so that Fickling & Clement

could notify the NFIP and Lloyd's of London that the

Insured Property had been damaged by the Hurricane. The

office of Fickling & Clement in turn promptly notified the

NFIP and Lloyd's of London.

On September 7, 1996, following the Hurricane,

Figure Eight Island was opened to homeowners, but no

motor vehicles were allowed due to the condition of the

streets which were completely covered with sand. The only

means of transportation was by foot or bicycle. Petitioners

arrived as soon as they could that morning to examine the

damage to the Insured Property. Upon arriving on the

island, they at once observed the force of the Hurricane - the

dunes in front of the beachfront cottages on the southern

90% of the island were completely destroyed; the sand in

three lots in front of the Insured Property, including the

dunes, was washed away; air conditioning units, beach

walks, and landscape timbers from other homes were

washed into Petitioners’ backyard.

Dr. Dawkins realized that the first thing that he

would have to do, after cleaning up all of the debris, would

be to hire a contractor and an architect to assess the damage

so that he could have an accurate idea as to the cause of the

damage and the amount that the repairs and/or

replacements would cost. He contacted Nick Garrett, a

licensed contractor, to inquire whether he would assess the

damage and handle the repairs to the Insured Property. In

order to comply with the Homeowners Associations' Rules

and Regulations for Figure Eight Island, Dr. Dawkins also

contacted Michael Kerstin, an architect, to assist with this

process.

On September 13, 1996, Dr. Dawkins had his first

direct encounter with the NFIP. On this day, he met with an

NFIP adjuster, Bob Hughes. During this meeting, Mr.

Hughes would not acknowledge that the Hurricane was

accompanied by waves and, surprisingly, he inspected only

the first level and declined to inspect any other portion of

the Insured Property. Subsequently, Mr. Hughes and

Petitioners agreed upon the amounts to be claimed based

upon damage due to flood that was readily ascertainable. It

was in this context that Dr. Dawkins first saw a proof of loss

form. The proof of loss is only a one-page form, but it

requires very detailed information including the full cost of

repair or replacement to the building and/or contents that

have been damaged. Mr. Hughes sent Petitioners an initial

proof of loss, the net amount of which Petitioners did not

feel was reasonable, so they did not execute it, but returned

it to Mr. Hughes. Mr. Hughes then sent a second proof of

loss with a net amount of $6,965.20, which Petitioners

executed on December 12, 1996, and swore under oath that

the amounts set forth therein were accurate. [App. 30]. This

proof of loss was paid by the NFIP in January, 1997. [App.

34]. The proof of loss did not state that Petitioners were

swearing under oath that this was the only damage that was

done to the Insured Property or, that by signing it, they

would be precluded from claiming any additionally

discovered losses.

Based upon the manner in which this claim was

handled, Petitioners reasonably understood that once they

and the NFIP had agreed upon what would be covered in

the proof of loss (that is, what the NFIP would pay), the

proof of loss would be prepared by the NFIP, and

Petitioners then would execute it. At no time did Mr.

Hughes tell Petitioners that a proof of loss could be made in

any other manner than the form document, and at no time

did he ever raise the issue of the timeliness of the December

proof of loss. To the contrary, Mr. Hughes told Dr. Dawkins

that he only could claim items as losses that had been

verified on the proof of loss form. In addition, he said that

in major disasters, the 60-day time period was of no concern

to the NFIP and that if more damage was discovered which

was verifiable as flood damage, the NFIP would reopen the

claim. Hurricane Fran indisputably was a major disaster,

and Mr. Hughes' comments made perfectly good sense to

Petitioners.

Meanwhile, Dr. Dawkins still was attempting to

secure the services of Mr. Garrett to repair the Insured

Property. This was no easy task, as the damage suffered to

the homes on Figure Eight Island, as well as along the entire

North Carolina coast, was massive. Mr. Garrett was not the

original builder of the Insured Property, and he felt

obligated first to repair the houses that he had built on the

island. Petitioners also were under other restraints in

getting Mr. Garrett to begin to assess the damage and work

on their home, as the restrictive covenants for Figure Eight

Island required that the Homeowners Association, through

its Architectural Review Committee, provide prior approval

for any repairs, construction, and even painting. Petitioners

did not receive the necessary approval for repairs until

December 2, 1996, and shortly thereafter, Mr. Garrett began

working on the Insured Property. The house was under

repair from December, 1996 until September, 1997.

In addition to Mr. Hughes, the NFIP adjuster,

Lloyd's of London also sent an adjuster, C.P. Warren (who

also happened to be a certified flood adjuster), to inspect the

Insured Property. Unlike Mr. Hughes, Mr. Warren spent a

substantial amount of time inspecting the Insured Property

and, in July, 1997, Mr. Warren determined that the majority

of the damage to the Insured Property was caused by flood.

[App. 36]. This was the very first indication Petitioners ever

had of any additional damage to the Insured Property

because of flood. When Dr. Dawkins received Mr. Warren's

evaluation, which included a list of damage above the first

level of the home, the office of Fickling & Clement

immediately sent it to the NFIP. [App. 42]. Approximately

one month later, Petitioners received a response from the

NFIP, in which it refused to reopen their claim on the basis

that the Policy, pursuant to Article 6, did not provide

coverage for items on the lower level or items located

outside the perimeter of the building. [App. 44]. The NFIP

did not raise the issue of a proof of loss in this letter. Upon

receipt of the response, both Petitioners and Fickling &

Clement realized that the NFIP had not read the contents of

their claim, which was made for damage to the second and

third levels, not the first level, of the Insured Property.

The office of Fickling & Clement made numerous

telephone calls to the NFIP from September, 1996 well into

1998, many of which were requests that the NFIP send

someone else to inspect the Insured Property. During these

numerous telephone calls, the parties at times spoke at

length; however, the NFIP did not send an adjuster to

inspect the Insured Property. At no time did anyone raise

the issue of a 60-day time period being a bar to the

Petitioners' claim. Based upon Mr. Hughes' representations

to Dr. Dawkins that the claim could be reopened if any

additional flood damage was discovered, Dr. Dawkins

believed that there would be no problem with reopening the

claim when the additional flood damage first was

discovered in July, 1997.

The negotiations between the NFIP and Fickling &

Clement continued for months after July, 1997. On October

8, 1997, Sherry Edwards of Fickling & Clement spoke to

Freda Copeland, a "direct" representative of the NFIP, to

discuss the claim. Ms. Copeland asked that Petitioners

submit a statement from the contractor detailing the

damages, an itemized bill for window replacement, and

photographs both prior to and after the Hurricane. In

compliance with this request, Petitioners and Fickling &

Clement compiled the voluminous requested information

and sent it to the NFIP on December 4, 1997. At no time

during Ms. Edwards' conversation did Ms. Copeland raise

any issue regarding the proof of loss.

On December 19, 1997, Petitioners received yet

another letter denying coverage for items on the lower

enclosed level of the house, damage that Petitioners had

never claimed. In response, Fickling & Clement, on January

8, 1998, sent another letter to the NFIP, again explaining that

the claim was for damage above the lower enclosed level

and that no damage on the lower enclosed level was part of

Petitioners' claim. [App. 46]. On January 20, 1998, Frances

Norman, another "direct" representative of the NFIP, called

Ms. Edwards, and Ms. Edwards explained to Ms. Norman

the nature of the damage that was being claimed. During

this conversation, Ms. Norman indicated that the NFIP

needed proof that the damage claimed was caused by flood,

and requested that Petitioners hire a structural engineer, at

their expense, to inspect the damage and prepare a report as

to the cause and extent of the damage. Ms. Edwards

requested that Ms. Norman send a letter directly to

Petitioners, specifically identifying the information that the

NFIP needed to process their claim.

On or about January 21, 1998, the NFIP sent

Petitioners a letter advising them that if they "wish[ed] to

pursue their claim," they should secure the services of a

structural engineer, at their own expense, to examine the

Insured Property and to submit a report stating "how the

action of the flood waters caused the damage and exactly ~

when this occurred." [App. 49]. In this letter, the NFIP

indicated that it did not believe that flood was the cause of

the damage to the Insured Property. However, the NFIP

did not raise the issue of a 60-day time period to file a proof

of loss.

In compliance with this letter, Dr. Dawkins hired

Thomas W. Harwell, a structural engineer. In addition, Mr.

Harwell also is a former naval officer with expertise

regarding storms and waves. Mr. Harwell drove to Figure

Eight Island with Dr. Dawkins on or about March 3, 1998,

and inspected the Insured Property and the Island. In

September, 1996, immediately after Hurricane Fran, Mr.

Harwell had inspected property damage on the neighboring

North Topsail Island. Mr. Harwell concluded that the

second and third levels of the Insured Property had been

damaged by the flood, as the home had been twisted by the

water surge during the Hurricane. This twisting

substantially damaged the structure of the second and third

levels. According to Mr. Harwell, it is not at all unusual for

this type of damage to take weeks or even months to

manifest itself. On April 8, 1998, Mr. Harwell prepared a

report setting forth his conclusions [App. 51], and Fickling &

Clement forwarded it to the NFIP on April 21, 1998.

In May, 1998, Marlin Barnett, the Senior General —

Adjuster, NFIP Bureau and Statistical Agent, and another

"direct" representative of the NFIP, met with Dr. Dawkins,

Kurt Fickling of Fickling & Clement, Mr. Harwell, and Mr.

Warren at the Insured Property to discuss and potentially

resolve Petitioners' claim. Prior to this meeting, Dr.

Dawkins had provided the NFIP with detailed information,

including correspondence with Lloyd's of London, and the

detailed construction estimates and expenses which the

NFIP had requested. It soon became apparent to everyone

present at the meeting, however, that Mr. Barnett had not

reviewed any of the written information that had been

prepared and provided to the NFIP at its request. Even

more disturbing at that time was Mr. Barnett's behavior - he

was very rude to everyone present, and displayed an

attitude of disdain in response to the information that was

being presented to him at the meeting.

Subsequently, on May 20, 1998, Mr. Barnett

requested additional information from Fickling & Clement

regarding Petitioners' claim. As with the prior requests, this

information immediately was sent to the NFIP. [App. 53].

On June 18, 1998, however, Petitioners received yet

another and final denial letter from the NFIP, this time

stating that the NFIP's right to investigate had been

impaired because the property had been repaired and, thus,

it would not entertain any additional payments on -the

claim. Incredibly, the NFIP took this position in spite of

the fact that Petitioners repeatedly had requested that the

NFIP send an inspector to the Insured Property, to no avail.

The NFIP further notified Petitioners that they had until

August 26, 1998 to file a lawsuit against the agency. No

issue about the proof of loss ever was raised.

On August 24, 1998, Petitioners brought suit

against Respondent, seeking damages for the property

damage to the Insured Property caused by flood. In

Respondent's Answer to the Complaint, filed almost 1 ¥2

years after Petitioners first discovered additional flood

damage and began dealing with the NFIP on a regular basis

regarding their claim, Respondent first raised the issue that

Petitioners had not timely filed a proof of loss. Although

Petitioners argued that they did not discover the flood

damage until July, 1997 (10 months after Hurricane Fran),

and thus could not comply with the 60-day time period

established by the Policy and that the NFIP should be

precluded from raising the issue of the proof of loss

requirement based on the principles of estoppel and waiver,

the United States District Court for the Eastern District of

North Carolina granted Respondent's Motion for Summary

Judgment [App. 12], which was affirmed on appeal by the

Fourth Circuit. [App. 1].

10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. . THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI TO

PROVIDE AN EXAMPLE OF THE TYPE OF

GOVERNMENTAL AFFIRMATIVE MISCONDUCT

TO WHICH ESTOPPEL MAY APPLY.

Ls Estoppel

In light of the undisputed facts in this case,

Respondent should be estopped from raising the defense of

Petitioners’ failure to file a proof of loss for the additional

flood damage discovered to the Insured Property. This

Court has stated that "[e]stoppel is an equitable doctrine

invoked to avoid injustice in particular cases." Heckler v.

Community Health Servs. of Crawford County, Inc., 467

USS. 51, 59, 104 S. Ct. 2218, 2222, 81 L. Ed. 2d 42, 51 (1984).

Petitioners acknowledge the well-established rule of law,

however, that "the Government may not be estopped on the

same terms as any other litigant" and that when the

government is involved, a party claiming estoppel bears a

heavier burden. Notably, this Court in Heckler expressly

declined, upon the government's request, to go even further

to establish a flat rule of law that "estoppel may not in any

circumstances run against the Government." Id. at 60, 104 S.

Ct. at 2224, 81 L. Ed 2d at 52. There, this Court stated:

Though the arguments the Government

advances for the rule are substantial, we are

hesitant, when it is unnecessary to decide this

_case, to say that there are no cases in which

the public interest in ensuring that the

Government can enforce the law free from

estoppel might be outweighed by the

countervailing interest of citizens in some

minimum standard of decency, honor, and

reliability in their dealings with their

Government.

11

Id. at 60-61, 104 S. Ct. at 2224, 81 L. Ed 2d at 52 (emphasis in

original). This is precisely the case presented to this Court.

See, e.g., Meister Bros., Inc. v. Macy, 674 F.2d 1174 (7th Cir.

1982); Dempsey v. Director, 549 F. Supp. 1334 (E.D. Ark.

1982) (both courts holding that the conduct of the Federal

Emergency Management Agency and its agents was

sufficient to estop the Government from asserting the

untimely filing of a proof of loss as a defense).

According to this Court in Heckler, supra, a party

asserting estoppel against the government must in the first

instance demonstrate that the traditional elements of

estoppel are present. The traditional elements of estoppel

are as follows: (1) the party to be estopped knew the true

facts; (2) the party to be estopped intended for his conduct

to be acted upon or acted in such a way that the party

asserting estoppel had a right to believe that it was

intended; (3) the party claiming estoppel was ignorant of

the true facts; and (4) the misconduct was relied upon to the

detriment of the parties seeking estoppel. McCrary v. Fed.

Emergency Management Agency, 642 F. Supp. 544, 547

(E.D.N.C. 1986).

All of the elements of estoppel are present in the

instant case. As to the first element, it is indisputable that

the NFIP knew the true facts - that is, that a proof of loss

was strictly required to be filed within 60 days after the date

of loss. Secondly, Petitioners have established that through

its course of conduct with Petitioners and their contractor,

insurance agent, and structural engineer, the NFIP, through

its agents, intended for its conduct to be acted upon or acted

in such a way that Petitioners had a right to believe that it

was intended to be acted upon. In this regard, the evidence

reveals that Mr. Hughes, NFIP's agent, made several gross

misrepresentations, including telling Dr. Dawkins that in

major disasters, the 60-day time period was of no concern to

the NFIP, and, telling Dr. Dawkins that as additional flood

12

PR Aor

AOS Sa et i wee

damage was discovered, the claim could be reopened. In

addition, the NFIP accepted Petitioners' December, 1996

+ proof of loss, which was untimely under the terms of the

Policy. Also, "direct" representatives of the NFIP, not just

the NFIP's independent adjuster, engaged in protracted

negotiations with Petitioners regarding the additional flood

damage discovered to the Insured Property, causing

Petitioners to spend substantial and additional time, effort,

and money. At the NFIP's request, and long after the 60-day

deadline, Dr. Dawkins retained a structural engineer to

inspect the Insured Property and prepare a report for

submission to the NFIP.

Thirdly, there is plenary evidence in the record that

Petitioners were ignorant of the true facts. Petitioners were

never told, either orally or in writing, that they could obtain

a proof of loss form directly from the NFIP upon request.

Instead, the letter from the NFIP only stated that "[y]our

adjuster can provide this form to you and help you

complete it." This, along with the fact that a form had been

provided by the NFIP adjuster in December, reasonably led

Petitioners to believe that this was the manner in which such

a form was received.

Petitioners acknowledge that they had a copy of the

Flood Policy and that they may be charged with legal notice

of the Code of Federal Regulations. Knewledge of these

items, however, still did not inform Petitioners of the

alleged "true facts" - that failure to file a proof of loss within

60 days after the date of loss would result in a denial of their

claim. It should be noted that immediately after the Policy

details the requirements for filing a proof of loss, it states

that this requirement can be waived. In Section J.7. of

Article 9, the NFIP states that:

13

We may, at our option, waive the

requirement for the completion and filing of a

proof of loss in certain cases, in which you

will be required to sign and, at our option,

swear to an adjuster's report of the loss and

the damages sustained, which is needed by

us in order to adjust your claim.

[App. 27]. In light of this express provision, and the manner

in which the NFIP had handled Petitioners' December proof

of loss, including the representations that the NFIP's

adjuster made to Dr. Dawkins - that if additional flood

damage was found, the NFIP would reopen the claim - it

cannot be said as a matter of law that Petitioners were not

ignorant of the "true facts.". To the contrary, the evidence

viewed in the light most favorable to Petitioners fully

supports their contention.

Finally, as to the fourth element of estoppel, there is

no doubt that Petitioners have relied upon Respondent's

actions and misrepresentations to their detriment.

Accordingly, they have met their burden of proving all of

the elements of traditional estoppel.

This Court has held that the private litigant also

must show that the government agent who allegedly made

the misrepresentation had the authority to make such a

misrepresentation, and must show affirmative misconduct

by the government official. Office of Personnel

Management v. Richmond, 496 U.S. 414, 421, 110 S. Ct. 2465,

2470, 110 L. Ed. 2d 387, 397 (1990); Humphrey v. Nat'l Flood

Ins. Program, 885 F. Supp. 133, 137 (D. Md. 1995). Because

the Fourth Circuit erroneously held that the allegations and

facts of this case demonstrate that Respondent did not

engage in any affirmative misconduct, its decision should be

reversed.

14

Several cases are instructive on this issue. For

example, in Montana v. Kennedy, 366 U.S. 308, 81 S. Ct.

1336, 6 L. Ed. 2d 313 (1961), the petitioner brought a

declaratory judgment action seeking to establish American

citizenship. The petitioner claimed that a consular official

gave his mother erroneous advice that she could not return

to the United States while pregnant. Because of that advice,

the petitioner was not born in the United States and, thus,

was deprived of United States citizenship. This Court

determined that "what may have been only the consular

official's well-meant advice - 'I am sorry, Mrs., you cannot

[return to the United States] in that condition’ - falls far

short of misconduct such as might prevent the United States

from relying on petitioner's foreign birth." Id. at 314-15, 81

S. Ct. at 1340-41, 6 L. Ed. 2d at 317.

In another case, Schweiker v. Hansen, 450 U.S. 785,

101 S. Ct. 1468, 67 L. Ed. 2d 685 (1981), the petitioner, the

Department of Health and Human Services, sought review

of a judgment that estopped it from denying the respondent

"mother's insurance benefits" under the Social Security Act.

A field representative of the Social Security Administration

met with the respondent and, during a 15-minute

conversation, told the respondent that she was ineligible for

such benefits and disregarded provisions of the

Department's Claims Manual by failing to recommend that

she file a written application. The respondent eventually —

filed a written application after learning 11 months later that

in fact she was eligible. Pursuant to the Act, she also

received retroactive benefits for the 12 months preceding

her application, which was the maximum retroactive

benefits allowed by the Act. The respondent contended,

however, that she should receive retroactive benefits for the

12 months preceding her interview with the field

representative. The United States Supreme Court held that

the conduct of the field representative did not rise to the

level of “affirmative misconduct." "But at worst, [his]

15

conduct did not cause respondent to take action . . . or fail to

take action . . . that respondent could not correct at any

time." Id. at 789, 101 S. Ct. at 1471, 67 L. Ed. 2d at 690

(citations omitted). Thus, because the field representative's

errors "[fell] far short of conduct which would raise a

serious question whether petitioner is estopped from

insisting upon compliance with the valid regulation," this

Court declined to apply equitable estoppel against the

Government.

Meister Bros., Inc. v. Macy, 674 F.2d 1174 (7th Cir.

1982), is an example of a situation where the court found

enough evidence on which to apply estoppel against the

Government. In Meister Bros., the plaintiff's property was

damaged by flood on July 8, 1978. The General Adjustment

Bureau investigated and assessed the loss for the NFIP.

From July to September, and thereafter until December 22,

1978, the adjuster made several visits to the site to

investigate the loss, to arrange a salvage sale, and to

negotiate the amount of the loss to be submitted for

reimbursement. At no time during this period did the

adjuster ever tender to the plaintiff a proof of loss form to

indicate that anything other than the Notice of Loss had to

be filed by the plaintiff within the 60 days. On December 22,

1978, over three months after the deadline for filing, the

adjuster prepared and submitted to the plaintiff a proof of

_loss form. The plaintiff subsequently was reimbursed

$50,000 for damage to the contents of the building, and an

additional sum of approximately $2000 from the salvage

sale. The adjuster, however, continued to investigate and

negotiate with the plaintiff for the remaining costs of

damage to the building and debris removal. No settlement

was reached, so the plaintiff filed suit. For the first time, the

defendant argued that the plaintiff failed to file a sworn

proof of loss within 60 days from the alleged loss, as

required by the insurance contract. The Seventh Circuit

reversed the entry of summary judgment on behalf of the

16

defendant agency and stated "on the quite unique facts of

this case . . . a government agency will not be permitted

belatedly to assert a technical defense to a law suit which

admittedly, if it had been in a state court against a private

insurance carrier, would not have prevailed. ... The actions

of paying a part of the claim under a policy which the

insurer had treated as being fully applicable to the entire

claim, over many months of time, does not permit a

withdrawal thereafter from the position clearly and

unambiguously taken." Id. at 1177.

The instant case provides a proper basis of applying

estoppel against Respondent due to the improper conduct

by the NFIP and its "direct" representatives and adjuster:

° Mr. Hughes, the adjuster for the NFIP, failed

to inspect any part of the Insured Property,

other than the first floor.

° Mr. Hughes made _ several gross

misstatements to Dr. Dawkins regarding the

proof of loss requirement and the process for

reopening a claim, including telling Dr.

Dawkins that in major disasters, the 60-day

time period was of no concern to the NFIP,

and that as additional flood damage was

discovered, the claim could be reopened.

° Mr. Hughes was clothed with authority of the

NFIP to investigate, negotiate, and aid in the

processing of claims.

° Respondent accepted Petitioners' initial proof

of loss well after the 60-day deadline and

paid this initial claim.

17

—— ——

Respondent continued to address Petitioners'

claims after the 60-day deadline.

At the specific request of "direct"

representatives of the NFIP, Petitioners spent

substantial time and incurred additional

expenses in providing the NFIP with the

information requested to process their claim.

Petitioners spent time and money in

preparing and copying _ substantial

documentation, retaining a __ structural

engineer to examine the insured property

and to prepare a report on the cause and the

extent of the damage, and _ attending

meetings.

In May 1998, the NFIP sent its adjuster to

inspect the Insured Property, but then he

made no good faith effort to evaluate the

claim. (Mr. Fickling, an insurance industry

veteran of 28 years and someone who has

qualified at trials as an expert in such

matters, testified by Affidavit that this is "one

of the most disturbing cases of bad faith

adjusting" that he has ever seen.) [App. 60]

As all of this evidence demonstrates, Respondent engaged

in serious affirmative misconduct during its handling of

Petitioners' claims. Unlike the respondent in Schweiker v.

Hansen, supra, the affirmative misconduct by Respondent,

in the instant case caused Petitioners to fail to take action

that Petitioners could not corect at any time - that is, they

failed to timely submit a proof of loss form and failed to

require Mr. Hughes thoroughly to inspect the Insured

Property. As noted by the Seventh Circuit in Meister Bros,

Inc., supra, "[a]lthough it is axiomatic that 'men must turn

square corners when they deal with the Government,’ the

18

‘public has an interest in seeing its government deal

carefully, honestly and fairly with its citizens." Id. at 1177

(quoting Rock Island, Arkansas & Louisiana R.R. Co. v.

United States, 254 U.S. 141, 143, 41 S. Ct. 55, 56, 65 L. Ed. 2d

188 (1920), and United States v. Wharton, 514 F.2d 406, 412-

13 (9th Cir. 1975)). The Government here did not deal

"carefully, honestly and fairly" when it dealt with

Petitioners, and the import of the Fourth Circuit's decision is

that the Government does not have to.

For all of the reasons stated above, this Court should

grant Petitioners’ Petition for Certiorari.

2. Waiver

By its conduct the Government also waived the 60-

day proof of loss requirement. A waiver occurs when a

party voluntarily and intentionally relinquishes a known

claim or right. United States v. Slaughter, 366 F.2d 833, 840

(4th Cir. 1966). Section J.7. of Article 9 of the Flood Policy

states in pertinent part:

We may, at our option, waive the

requirement for the completion and filing of a

proof of loss in certain cases, in which event

you will be required to sign and, at our

option, swear to an adjuster's report of the

loss which includes information about your

loss and the damages sustained, which is

needed by us in order to adjust your claim.

[App. 27].

The inclusion of a subsequent more specific

provision dealing with waiver in regard to the proof of loss

requirement indicates that the NFIP may waive this

requirement without going to the trouble of getting written

19

approval from the Federal Insurance Administrator in this

limited situation. Mr. Hughes specifically told Dr. Dawkins

that the 60-day time period was of no concern to the NFIP

during a major disaster and that if additional flood damage

was discovered, the claim could be reopened at a later date.

Also, the NFIP accepted the first proof of loss claiming the

flood damage known at that time, after the 60-day period.

Applying the commonly used definition of waiver, Mr.

Hughes in fact did waive the requirement of filing a proof of

loss. If, as the NFIP suggests, the doctrine of waiver can

never be raised, regardless of the facts and circumstances of

a particular case, this will lead to results that are unfair and

in some cases absurd. If it is the law, an NFIP "direct" agent,

"direct" representative, or "independent adjuster" can make

oral and written misrepresentations concerning the

necessity of filing a proof of loss, thereby luring a

policyholder to rely on the misrepresentations, and once a

policyholder has done so, the NFIP will be able to deny his

or her claim.

This is inherently contrary to the congressional

purpose for establishing the National Flood Insurance

Program, which has been articulated as being:

[T]o alleviate the personal hardship and

economic distress created by flood damage

by making flood insurance coverage available

on "reasonable terms and conditions" to those

persons needing such protection which

private insurers alone could not economically

make available.

Dempsey v. Director, 549 F. Supp. 1334, 1340 (E.D. Ark.

1982) (citing 42 U.S.C. § 4001(a), (b)) (emphasis added).

20

This position also seems contrary to commonly held

notions of the American public that they do not need to be

as suspicious of the government when dealing with it on a

claim as compared with dealing with a private insurance

adjuster. It is completely normal and understandable for an

insured, when dealing with the Federal Government, to

assume that he or she will be treated fairly and not be

misled. If, as in this case, an adjuster for the Government

says that the 60-day requirement for filing a proof of loss

will not apply in major disasters, the insured should be able

to rely on such statement. If these misrepresentations were

made by an adjuster for an insurance carrier, they would

constitute bad faith and give rise to a claim for unfair and

deceptive trade practices and punitive damages in many

states.

The courts should not draw a line in the sand

regarding the issue of waiver. as it applies to the

Government. Instead, each case needs to be evaluated in

light of the facts and circumstances of that particular case.

Because of the undisputed facts and circumstances in this

case, this Court should grant Petitioner's Petition for

Certiorari to hold that the 60-day proof of loss requirement

has been waived.

B. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT CERTIORARI

BECAUSE THE REQUIREMENTS FOR FILING A

PROOF OF LOSS ARE AMBIGUOUS AND

SHOULD BE CONSTRUED IN FAVOR OF

PETITIONERS; THEREFORE, THE DECISION BY

THE FOURTH CIRCUIT SHOULD BE REVERSED.

Federal common law controls the interpretation of

insurance policies issued pursuant to the NFIP. Chesapeake

Ship Propeller Co. v. Stickney, 820 F. Supp. 995, 997 (E.D.

Va. 1993). Nonetheless, courts applying federal common

law to flood insurance policies have recognized that

21

"Congress did not intend to abrogate standard insurance

law principles" by enacting the NFIP. Id. at 997 (citations

omitted). Along those same lines, the Fourth Circuit in

Riverside Bldg. Supply, Inc. v. Fed. Emergency

Management Agency, 723 F.2d 1159, 1161 (4th Cir. 1983),

stated the well-established rule of law that an ambiguity in

an insurance policy should be interpreted in the insured's

favor. Because there are several conflicting and confusing

terms in the Flood Policy at issue here, it should be

construed in favor of Petitioners.

For instance, under Section J of Article 9, entitled

"Requirements in Case of Loss," the Policy states that an

insured must: "(1) Notify us in writing as soon as

practicable; (2) As soon as reasonably possible, separate the

damaged and undamaged property, putting it in the best

possible order so that we may examine it; and (3) Within 60

days after the loss send us a proof of loss." [App. 25]. In the

letter from the NFIP to Petitioners, the NFIP "asks" that

Petitioners "submit [their] claim as soon as possible" and

then goes on to say that the Policy requires them to submit a

proof of loss within 60 days of the date of loss. [App. 25]. A

reasonable policyholder is left with the following question

after reading this language - "If it is not possible to submit

the proof of loss within 60 days, then is it okay to submit it

as soon as possible?" The Policy continues that at its option,

the NFIP can waive this requirement and require the

insured to swear to an adjuster's report of the loss ard the

damages sustained. [App. 27]. Interestingly enough, the

Policy does not plainly state that the failure to file a proof of

loss will result in the denial of a claim. Thus, it is apparent

that the Policy is not clear on the issue of the filing of a proof

of loss. Given this ambiguity and the conduct and

representations of the NFIP in handling Petitioners' claim,

Petitioners should be allowed to pursue their claim.

CONCLUSION

This Court should grant the Petition for three

reasons: (1) the misrepresentations and affirmative

misconduct by the agents of the NFIP provide an

opportunity for this Court to apply the doctrine of estoppel

against the Government; (2) through the misrepresentations

of the NFIP agents and its acceptance of the first proof of

loss after expiration of the 60-day deadline, the NFIP

waived the 60-day proof of loss requirement; and (3) the

requirements for filing a proof of loss in the Flood Policy are

ambiguous and, therefore, should be construed in favor of

Petitioners.

Respectfully submitted:

A. Charles Ellis

Counsel of Record

Ward and Smith, P.A.

120 West Fire Tower Road

Post Office Box 8088

Greenville, NC 27835-8088

(252) 215-4000

(252) 215-4077 (fax)

Counsel for Petitioners

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Appendix to Petition

Appendix Page

Opinion of

The United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

entered February 3, 2003.........:csssssecsseererererereeseerssssenees 1

Order of

The Honorable James C. Fox

The United States District Court

for the Eastern District of North Carolina

Re: Granting Defendant's Motion for

Summary Judgment

entered February 26, 1999.........cssscsssseeeseneeessesesseees 12

Excerpts from National Flood Insurance Policy

dated December 21, 1995 ..........ssssssssrssssesseeeeseessesesees 21

Letter from

NFIP Claims Department to

Petitioners

Re: Notice of Claim

dated September 10, 1996 .........:sesessssseseseseseesseseeeneees 28

Proof of Loss

EN i AT TT 30

Flood Claim Payment for

Building Loss for $6,965.20

dated January 14, 1997 .........sssecscscesereseererssssessnssess 34

App. i

Letter from

C.P. Warren Adjusters to

Howard Dawkins, Jr.

Re: Claim #3655

EE PE Ty TOG eritisrcieesssictasionnssineninininaianinsiniyinninesiiaons 36

Letter from

Rhonda J. Edwards to

Freda Copeland, NFIP

Re: Flood Claim

IRE Be, FOE rccssenisnicsionisiiviiomran inaresnpeiisaieaneinsiinesicies 42

Letter from

F.M. Copeland, NFIP, to

Petitioners

Re: Policy Coverage

CDE FR TO, TOF iiss cineinisitnesamntaneiiidudnianepenein 44

Letter from

Sherry B. Edwards to

F.M. Copeland, NFIP

Re: Request to review claim of additional damage

eae Waianae GTI snssiiinininicaniasccvtanincainniinnoenapinies 46

Letter from

NFIP to Petitioners

Re: Dispute about flood damage

a TE By. BI avin sne ers sscsewiniemicsricveitintiniiciiss 49

Letter from

Thomas W. Harwell, Carolina Benchmark, to

Petitioners

Re: Inspection of House

TE TRE Ty Te ei isestitesiniensisicesntseimnsinerbchoensiominiigtenibeciiann 51

App. il

Letter from

Sherry B. Edwards to

Marlin W. Barnett, NFIP

Re: Additional flood damage

IE FE Bay FI sisnisicinnisriscnsenivintitianabaniactaonauall 53

Letter from

Marlin Barnett, NFIP, to

Lynn Welch

Re: Reinspection on May 16, 1998

CORO: TERY BE, EIU sisininsccmeinrariineminnasnictionn nese

Affidavit of W. Kurt Fickling

SUPOUDA CRA FORNEY By TIFF sss ins rnarnnitscnsiivnncabcvcoamsinones 60

App. iii

PUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

HOWARD G. DAWKINS, JR., M.D.;

ANNETTE DAWKINS,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V. - No. 99-1422

JAMES LEE WITT, Director of the

Federal Emergency Management Agency,

Defendant-A ppellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of North Carolina, at Greenville.

James C. Fox, Senior District Judge.

(CA-98-124-F3-4)

Argued: March 1, 2000

Decided: February 3, 2003

[Entered: February 3, 2003]

Before WILKINSON, Chief Judge,

and WIDENER and TRAXLER, Circuit Judges.

Affirmed by published opinion. Judge Widener wrote the

opinion, in which Chief Judge Wilkinson and Judge Traxler

concurred.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Albert Charles Ellis; WARD & SMITH, P.A.,

Winterville, North Carolina, for Appeilants. Jerri Ulrica

Dunston, Assistant United States Attorney, Raleigh, North

Carolina, for Appellee. ON BRIEF: Teresa DeLoatch Bryant,

WARD & SMITH, P.A., Winterville, North Carolina, for

Appellants. Jariice McKenzie Cole, United States Attorney,

Anne M. Hayes, Assistant United States Attorney, Raleigh,

North Carolina, for Appellee.

App. 1

OPINION

WIDENER, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiffs, Howard G. Dawkins, Jr., and Annette

Dawkins, appeal the district court’s order granting

summary judgment in favor of defendant James Lee Witt,

the director of the Federal Emergency Management Agency

(FEMA). Dawkins v. Witt, No. 4:98-CV-124-F3 (E.D.N.C. Feb.

26, 1999). The plaintiffs own property insured under the

National Flood Insurance Program that was damaged by

Hurricane Fran. The plaintiffs contested FEMA’s refusal to

reopen their claim after FEMA made an initial payment for

flood damage to the property. The district court granted the

defendant summary judgment after determining that the

plaintiffs could not recover. Because they failed to file a

proof of loss within 60 days of the occurrence of the

damage, as required by their insurance policy, we affirm.

I.

Because this case is before us on a motion for

summary judgment, we view the facts in the light most

favorable to the non-moving party, the plaintiffs. Shaw v.

Stroud, 13 F.3d 791, 798 (4th Cir. 1994). Plaintiffs own a two-

story home elevated above ground by posts on Figure Eight

Island near Wilmington, North Carolina. On September 5,

1996, the plaintiffs‘ insured property was damaged as a

result of Hurricane Fran. At the time of the hurricane, the

plaintiffs’ property was insured against flood damage

through the National Flood Insurance program with a

policy they had purchased through a local agent, Fickling

and Clement Insurance Company (Fickling and Clement).

FEMA oversees and implements the National Flood

Insurance Program. See West Augusta Dev. Corp. v. Giuffrida,

717 F.2d 139, 140 n.1 (4th Cir. 1983) (quoting Meister Bros.,

Inc. v. Macy, 674 F.2d 1174, 1175 n.1 (7th Cir. 1982)). The

plaintiffs' policy contained several clauses relevant in this

App. 2

appeal. First, Article 9, Paragraph J(3) of the policy required

that the plaintiffs file a proof of loss for any claim within 60

days of the flood daxage or loss.2 A proof of loss is a

document that provides FEMA with a statement of the

amount of the claim and specific details concerning the loss,

its cause, and ownership of the damaged property. FEMA

has the option to waive the 60 day requirement under

Article 9, Paragraph J(7), and if it does, the claimant must

sign an adjuster's report.3 The policy, pursuant to the federal

regulations governing the National Flood Insurance

Program, also contained a provision in Article 9, Paragraph

D stating that none of the provisions of the policy could be

waived absent express writtea consent by the Federal

Insurance Administrator.‘ See 44 C.F.R. § 61.13(d). The

plaintiffs had also insured their property against wind

damage with a policy issued by Lloyds of London.

. FEMA advises that the policy issued to the plaintiffs was that

which was in effect at the time of purchase in 1995. See 44 C.F.R., Pt. 61,

App. A(1) (Oct. 1995). The standard flood insurance policy that is

presently in effect pursuant to the current C.F.R. contains terms that may

have been changed, but none of which are material here.

2 "Should a flood loss occur to your insured property, you must:

... [w]ithin 60 days after the loss, send us a proof of loss, which is your

statement as to the amount you are claiming under the policy signed and

sworn to by you... ." -

3 "We may, at our option, waive the requirement for the

completion and filing of a proof of loss in certain cases, in which event

you will be required to sign, and, at our option, swear to an adjuster's

report of the loss which includes information about your loss and the

damages sustained, which is needed by us in order to adjust your claim."

‘ "This policy cannot be amended nor can any of its provisions be

waived without the express written consent of the Federal Insurance

Administrator. No action we take under the terms of this policy can

constitute a waiver of any of our rights."

App. 3

The plaintiffs contacted Fickling and Clement: on

September 6, 1996 to inform them of the damage from the

hurricane. Fickling and Clement then notified FEMA, who

responded with a letter on September 10, 1996 indicating

that it had received the notice of claim and had assigned it

to Bellmon Adjusters, Inc. The letter also advised the

plaintiffs that "[yJour policy requires you to submit a proof

of loss to the Flood Center within sixty (60) days of the loss."

An adjuster from Bellmon Adjusters, Bob Hughes,

met with the plaintiffs on their property on September 13,

1996. The parties do not dispute that at that time, Hughes

would not acknowledge that the hurricane was

accompanied by waves and, therefore, only inspected the

first level of the home for damage. While Hughes informed

the plaintiffs that they could only make claims for losses

that were verified by a proof of loss, he also told them that

with major disasters, FEMA was not concerned with the 60

day deadline required by the policy and that it would

reopen the claim if the plaintiffs found any further verifiable

flood damage after that time.

Hughes sent an initial proof of loss to the plaintiffs,

which they rejected because they did not believe it was

reasonable. Hughes then sent a second proof of loss to the

plaintiffs, which they signed and returned to FEMA in

December 1996. The 60 day period for filing a proof of loss

had expired November 4, 1996. The plaintiffs acknowledged

that they sent in the proof of loss well past the 60 day

deadline required by their policy. Despite the late

filing, FEMA paid the claim amount indicated on the

second proof of loss of $6965.28 in January 1997.5

5 So that there may be no mistake, the proof of loss, which was

paid in full by FEMA, claimed for damages by "FLOOD." The argument

here is about the extent of the flood loss. That is to say, the failure to file a

claim for the damage now sought within the time required by the policy

with the concurring refusal of FEMA to re-open the claim to claim

additional damage claimed for storm surge.

App. 4

—

The plaintiffs also had an adjuster, C.P. Warren, assess the

home for wind damage pursuant to their policy with Lloyds

of London.

The plaintiffs then hired a contractor who proceeded

to repair the property beginning in December 1996. The

repairs continued until September 1997. During the repair

process on July 16, 1997, the adjuster from Lloyds of London

issued a report explaining that during his examination of

the property, he determined that damage to the window

frames in the upper floors of the home had occurred as a

result of the flood waters twisting and uplifting the home

and its decks. Thus, Lloyds of London would not pay the

plaintiffs for those losses because its policy only covered

wind damage.

After learning of this additional loss, Fickling and

Clement contacted FEMA on July 24, 1997 asking it to

reopen the plaintiffs' claim. FEMA initially refused to

reopen the claim on the basis that the areas the plaintiffs

claimed were flood damaged were not covered by their

policy. After this response, the plaintiffs and Fickling and

Clement repeatedly contacted FEMA in an attempt to have

the claim reopened. Finally, on January 21, 1998, FEMA sent

a letter to the plaintiffs indicating that it did not believe that

the damage the plaintiffs complained of was due to direct

physical loss by flood, but advising the plaintiffs that if they

wished to pursue the claim, they should secure a report

from a structural engineer, at their own expense, stating

how the flood waters caused the damage for review by

FEMA. Accordingly, the plaintiffs hired Thomas Harwell, a

structural engineer, to assess the damage to the home from

the hurricane-induced flood. Harwell examined the

property on March 3, 1998 and determined that, in his

opinion, the flood had indeed caused structural damage to

the home.

App. 5

On May 16, 1988 a representative from FEMA,

Marlin Barnett, met with the plaintiffs, Harwell, Warren,

and an agent from Fickling and Clement. In a May 28, 1998

letter, Barnett stated his finding that he could not assess any

damages to the house because it had already been fixed and

that he could not understand how Harwell could confirm

any damage due to flooding for the same reason. Therefore,

Barnett stated that he could not justify any payments for

damages repaired before inspection. On June 18, 1998,

FEMA sent the plaintiffs a final letter denying their claim

because the repairs to the property had compromised its

ability to investigate.

On August 24, 1998, the plaintiffs filed a complaint

in the Eastern District of North Carolina claiming that the

defendant breached their contract of insurance resulting in

damages in excess of $10,000 to the plaintiffs. After filing an

answer, the defendant made a motion to dismiss or, in the

alternative, for summary judgment based on the fact that the

plaintiffs had not filed a proof of loss within the required 60

day period, precluding them from any recovery from the

defendant as a matter of law. At no time prior to the

commencement of this suit did the defendant assert that the

plaintiffs were not entitled to coveraga because they failed

to file their proof of loss within the 60 day period required

under the policy.

The district court granted the defendant's motion on

February 1, 1999. The court found without merit the

plaintiffs' arguments that the defendant could not use the 60

day period as a defense under the doctrines of waiver and

equitable estoppel. The plaintiffs appeal, claiming the

district court erred because it should have precluded FEMA

from raising the 60 day limitation as a defense under the

doctrines of waiver and equitable estoppel, because it was

impossible for them to comply with the 60 day requirement,

and because the proof of loss requirements in the policy

were ambiguous.

App. 6 /

Se

RL PRE Oe Sr ae a Poe ve < ee ee ow

7. + oe

a eR tN TE

Il.

We review a decision granting summary judgment

de novo. Shaw, 13 F.3d at 798. A party is entitled to

summary judgment only if we find no genuine issues

of material fact and we determine that the moving party

is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Shaw, 13 F.3d at

798.

Ill.

The plaintiffs' primary argument is that FEMA could

not raise as a defense the plaintiffs' failure to file their proof

of loss within 60 days under the doctrines of waiver and

equitable estoppel. We are of opinion that both of these

arguments are without merit.

A.

It is undisputed that FEMA accepted the plaintiffs’

first proof of loss after the 60 day period expired, that

Hughes stated that the 60 day requirement would not be

enforced, that FEMA continued to address the claim well

after the 60 day period expired, and that the Federal

Insurance Administrator did not provide an express

written waiver of the 60 day requirement. Absent an

express written waiver, the plaintiffs relied on FEMA's

conduct as set forth above as a waiver of the 60 day

requirement. However, the plaintiffs' insurance policy

specifically provides in Article 9, Paragraph D that "[n]Jo

action we take under the terms of this policy can constitute

a waiver of any of our rights."

The policy did provide two means for FEMA to

waive the 60 day requirement: the general waiver

provision requiring express written consent of the Federal

Insurance Administrator of Article 9, Paragraph D and the

specific waiver provision for the 60 day proof of loss

requirement in Article 9, Paragraph J(7). However, the

App. 7

plaintiffs have produced no express written wavier

from the Federal Insurance Administrator nor _any

indication that FEMA exercised its option to waive

specifically the 60 day requirement, either through

documentation or an adjuster's report. Absent such

evidence, we are left with the express terms of the

policy, and pursuant to those terms, the above conduct

does not constitute either a general wavier or an exercise of

FEMA's option to exercise the specific waiver of the 60

day requirement. See Gowland v. Aetna, 143 F.3d 951, 954

(5th Cir. 1998); Phelps v. Federal Emergency Management

Agency, 785 F.2d 13, 19 (Ist Cir. 1986); McCrary v. Federal

Emergency Management Agency, 642 F. Supp. 544, 546

(E.D.N.C. 1986).

B.

The plaintiffs argue that FEMA is equitably estopped

from raising the defense that the plaintiffs failed to provide

a proof of loss within the requisite time period. The

Supreme Court has consistently denied efforts by litigants to

estop the government from raising defenses based on

claimants' failures to comply with governmental procedures

due to misinformation from government agents. See Office of

Personnel Management v. Richmond, 496 U.S. 414, 434 (1990).

("As far as monetary claims, it is enough to say that this

Court has never upheld an assertion of estoppel against the

Government by a claimant seeking public funds.") (holding

that plaintiff who was misinformed about his qualification

to collect disability benefits could not estop government

from collecting overpayments caused by the erroneous

advice of a government employee); Schweiker v. Hansen, 450

U.S. 785, 786 (1981) (holding that government agent's advice

that misinformed plaintiff that she was not eligible for social

security benefits did not rise to level of affirmative

misconduct that might reach a serious question as to

whether the government might be estopped from insisting

on compliance with a valid regulation required to receive

App. 8

benefits); Federal Crop Ins. Corp. v. Merrill, 332 U.S. 380, 384-

85 (1947) (finding that farmer could not recover under crop

insurance on a lost crop even though the government

agency misinformed the farmer that his re-seeded wheat

crop was covered by government-provided insurance when,

in fact, a statute forbade such coverage). It is true that the

Court has left for another day a decision that the

government may never be estopped. Richmond, 496 U.S. at

423. However, the Court's decisions indicate that estoppel

may only be justified, if ever, in the presence of affirmative

misconduct by government agents. See INS v. Hibi, 414 US.

9, 8 (1973) (citing Montana v. Kennedy, 366 U.S. 308, 314-15

(1961)); Schweiker, 450 U.S. at 788-89. Thus, in order to show

they even may be entitled to equitably estop FEMA, the

plaintiffs must not only satisfy the traditional requirements

for equitable estoppel,® but also they must show affirmative

misconduct by FEMA that exceeds conduct the Court has

already deemed acceptable.

The behavior the plaintiffs must rely on in this case

to demonstrate affirmative misconduct consists of the

following: Hughes representing to the plaintiffs that FEMA

was not concerned about the 60 day requirement with major

disasters, FEMA accepting the plaintiffs' initial proof of loss

well after the 60 day deadline, and FEMA proceeding to

continue to address their claim after the 60 day deadline. We

agree with the district court that while the plaintiffs may

have shown "unprofessional and misleading conduct by

. For purposes of this opinion, we have assumed that the plaintiffs

established the four traditional requirements for estoppel as follows: "(1)

the party to be estopped knew the true facts; (2) the party to be estopped

intended for his conduct to be acted upon or acted in such a way that the

party asserting estoppel had a right to believe that it was intended; (3) the

party claiming estoppel was ignorant of the true facts; and (4) the

misconduct was relied upon to the detriment of the parties seeking

estoppel." McCrary, 642 F. Supp. at 547 (citing United States v. 18.16 Acres

of Land, 598 F. Supp. 282, 286 (E.D.N.C. 1984)).

App. 9

|

Hughes," this conduct is no worse than that the Supreme

Court has determined does not rise to a level to justify

estoppel against the government.”

IV.

The plaintiffs also argue that due to the devastation

and circumstances surrounding Hurricane Fran it was

impossible for them to comply with the 60 day proof of loss

requirement, and therefore, the district court should not

have granted the defendant summary judgment. While we

may agree that the circumstances surrounding a major

natural disaster may make it extremely difficult for insured

parties to comply with the 60 day time limit, we agree with

the district court that this argument fails. The insurance

policy specifically requires a claimant to file a proof of loss

within 60 days to receive coverage regardless of the

circumstances Of the claim. As explained above, FEMA did

not waive this requirement. While compiling the required

information in 60 days under stressful circumstances may be

difficult, it is exactly what the policy requires.

V.

Finally, the plaintiffs argue that the provisions in

their insurance policy regarding the proof of loss

requirement are ambiguous and that if we construe the

ambiguity in the insured's favor, the defendant is not

entitled to summary judgment. The plaintiffs contend that

the language of the policy is ambiguous because in addition

to the 60 day requirement of Article 9, Paragraph J(3),

Article 9 in Paragraph J(1) asks claimants to notify FEMA of

the loss in writing "as soon as practicable" and in Paragraph

7 We decline to follow the two cases cited by the plaintiffs in

which courts have estopped the government from asserting the defense

that claimants failed to file a proof of loss in the 60 day period. See Meister

Bros., 674 F.2d at 1177; Dempsey v. Director, 549 F. Supp. 1334, 1340-41

(E.D. Ark. 1982). We find that the Supreme Court's decisions in this area

determine the outcome of this case.

App. 10

J(2) requests that claimants separate damaged and

undamaged property "[a]s soon as reasonably possible."

Additionally, plaintiffs' first letter from FEMA, in addition

to notifying them that they must file a proof of loss within

60 days, asked the plaintiffs to submit their claim "as soon as

possible." We are of opinion that the language in the policy

and in the FEMA letter is not ambiguous. While the policy

and letter request that claimants act as soon as possible, they

also place a 60 day limit on the time claimants have

available to make their claims, absent a waiver.

The order of the district court dismissing the case is

accordingly

AFFIRMED.

App. 11 -

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NORTH CAROLINA

EASTERN DIVISION

NO. 4:98-CV-124-F3

HOWARD G. DAWKINS, JR., M.D.,

and ANNETTE DAWKINS,

Plaintiffs,

Vv. ORDER

JAMES LEE WITT, Director of the

Federal Emergency Management Agency,

Defendant.

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

[Entered: February 26, 1999]

This matter is before the court on the defendant's

Motion for Summary Judgment. In light of the court’s

allowing the Defendant’s Motion for Leave to File Revised

Reply Memorandum, the plaintiffs’ Motion tc Strike

Defendant's Reply Memorandum is DENIED.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

The facts material to the disposition of the pending

motion are undisputed. The plaintiffs, Dr. Howard

Dawkins, Jr., and Annette Dawkins allegedly suffered

damages to their beach home located in the private island

community of Figure Eight Island near Wilmington, North

Carolina, as a result of Hurricane Fran on or about

September 5, 1996. At all pertinent times, the home was

insured against flood damage by a Standard Flood

Insurance Policy (“SFIP”) issued pursuant to the National

Flood Insurance program (“NFIP”’), and against wind

damage by Lloyd’s of London. The plaintiffs immediately

notified Fickling & Clement, the insurance agency through

which plaintiffs had obtained the NFIP flood policy, and the

App. 12

agency, in turn, notified NFIP. By letter dated September

10, 1996, the Federal Emergency Management Agency

(“FEMA”)! notified the plaintiffs that their claim had been

assigned to Bellmon Adjusters, Inc., for investigation. See 44

C.F.R. Pt. 61, App. A(1), Art. 9, J J(6) (upon receipt of proper

notice of claim, an independent insurance adjuster is

retained to investigate the claim). The letter “ask[ed] that

you submit your claim as soon as possible,” and, referencing

Article VIII - - General Conditions and Provisions,

Paragraph 1.4, - - “Requirements in Case of Loss” of the

plaintiffs’ SFIP policy, and Article VII - - General Conditions

and Provisions, Paragraph P of the General Policy, the

September 10, 1996, letter alerted the plaintiffs that, “Your

policy requires you to submit a proof of loss to the Flood

Center within sixty days of the loss.” See Exhibit 3 to

defendant's Memorandum in Support of Summary

Judgment; 44 C.F.R. Pt. 61, App. A(1), 7 J(3), (6).

On September 13, 1996, Bob Hughes, an independent

adjuster employed by Bellmon Adjusters, Inc., met with the

plaintiffs at their beach property. According to the plaintiffs

(and not disputed by the defendant), Hughes refused to

even acknowledge that Hurricane Fran was accompanied by

waves, and adamantly refused to inspect any portion of the

house above the first level. Hughes was told by the

plaintiffs that they only could claim items as losses that had

been verified on the proof of loss form. However, Hughes

assured them that in major disasters, the sixty-day time

period was of no concern to the NFIP, and that if more

verifiable flood damage was discovered, the NFIP would

reopen the claim. The plaintiffs believed and relied on

Hughes’s alleged statements.

The plaintiffs did not agree with Hughes’s initial

“proof of loss” statement because they did not feel the net

amount offered was reasonable. Hughes’s second proof of

1 FEMA administers the NFIP.

App. 13

loss statement offered a net amount of $6,965.20. The

plaintiffs executed this second proof of loss statement on

December 12, 1996,2 and acknowledged the accuracy of the

amount under oath. On December 19, 1996, the plaintiffs

received and later negotiated a FEMA check in the amount

of $6,965.20 for “flood claim payment for building loss”

under the NFIP policy.

The wind damage policy adjuster who inspected the

property for Lloyd’s of London also happened to be a

certified flood adjuster. During his examination of the

property for wind damage, he made observations leading

him to believe that the home had sustained additional flood

damage above the ground level by virtue of the action of the

storm surge flowing under and around the home, twisting

the foundations and causing structural damage which

required the replacement of windows. Plaintiffs and their

insurance agent repeatedly contacted FEMA in an attempt

to have the claim reopened to consider this additional

alleged storm surge damage.

In January 1998, F.B. Norman, Claims Examiner and

NFIP Servicing Agent, wrote plaintiffs and invited them to

retain the services of a structural engineer - - at their own

expense - - to prepare and to submit a report substantiating

their additional claim if they wished to pursue it. The

plaintiffs did so and, in May, 1998, their insurance agent

arranged a meeting among himself, Marlin Barnett from

NFIP, plaintiffs’ structural engineer, and the Lloyd's

adjuster who first noticed the alleged storm surge damage.

According to affidavits supplied in support of plaintiffs’

position, Barnett was very rude and displayed an attitude of

disdain in response to the information provided to him at

the meeting.

2 It is undisputed that this date is beyond the sixty-day deadline

for submitting the proof of loss.

App. 14

In June, 1998, the NFIP again denied the plaintiffs’

request to reopen the claim, stating that its right to

investigate had been compromised by the plaintiffs having

repaired the subject structure. The letter notified the

plaintiffs of their right to file suit before August 26, 1998.

Although the plaintiffs did not file their only proof

of loss within the required sixty-day period from the date of

the loss, the NFIP accepted it and paid the net amount

requested. The basis for this lawsuit is NFIP’s refusal to re-

open the claim to consider the additional flood damages

allegedly caused by the storm surge. The plaintiffs never

have submitted any supplemental proof of loss for

additional sums allegedly due under the policy for flood

camage.

Plaintifis filed this action on August 24, 1998,

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 4072, alleging that the defendant

breached its contract of insurance with them. Not until he

filed his Answer on November 9, 1998, did the defendant

first raise the affirmative defense that the plaintiffs had not

filed their proof of loss in a timely fashion.

ANALYSIS

In support of his Motion for Summary Judgment, the

defendant relies primarily on the weight of authority

holding that an insured seeking to recover on a claim

against an SFIP must comply strictly with the terms,

conditions and requirements of the policy. See, e.g., Heckler

v. Community Health Services, 467 U.S.-51, 63 (1984)

(“Protection of the public fisc requires that those who seek

public funds act with scrupulous regard for the

requirements of law; respondent could expect no less than

to be held to the most demanding standards in its quest for

public funds.”); Federal Crop Ins. Corp. v. Merrill, 332 US.

380, 385 (1947) (insurance policies issued pursuant to federal

programs must be strictly construed). The proof of loss

requirement is an integral part of the SFIP, which is

App. 15

promulgated through the regulations implementing ‘the

NFIP. See 42 U.S.C. § 4013; 44 C.F.R. Pt. 61, App. A(1), Art.

9, 1 J(3), (6). The SFIP provides that the insured may not

sue on the policy unless all the requirements of the policy

have been met. See id. at {R. The defendant explains that,

because the plaintiffs did not meet the requirement that the

proof of loss be filed within sixty days of the loss, they have

failed to satisfy express conditions precedent to filing this

action, as well as to payment on their claim, according to the

terms of the SFIP. See Nabhan v. National Con-Serv, Inc., 2 F.

Supp. 91 (D. Mass 1998) (allowing summary judgment for

defendant which paid pursuant to untimely SFIP proof of

loss, but refused to pay additional sums for repairs to

pilings of home where no proof of loss ever submitted to

support additional amounts).

As sovereign, the United States is immune from suit

except as it consents to be sued. See Lehman v. Nakshian, 453

U.S. 156, 160 (1981). Absent waiver, sovereign immunity

protects the government from suit; in that manner,

therefore, sovereign. immunity is jurisdictional in nature.

See Federal Deposit Insurance Comm’n v. Meyer, 510 U.S. 471,

475 (1994); Wagner v. Federal Emergency Management Agency,

847 F.2d 515, 518 (9 Cir. 1988) (procedural requirements in

the SFIP “constitute conditions precedent to a waiver by the

federal government of its sovereign immunity” and “define

[a court’s] jurisdiction”). Accordingly, the defendant

contends this court is without subject matter jurisdiction to

hear this action because failure of the condition precedent

results in the federal government's non-waiver of its

sovereign immunity to allow the suit.

Plaintiffs argue at length the unfairness of holding

them to the “impossible” task of assembling, verifying and

submitting accurate proof of their entire flood-related loss

within sixty days of undergoing a major natural disaster.

However, that is precisely what the terms of their flood

policy requires.

App. 16

The plaintiffs further explain that they relied on the

representations of Mr. Hughes, who was the insurance

adjuster dispatched by the NFIP, and assumed based on

their conversations with him that they could supplement

their loss claim at some later date. They contend that the

defendant should not be allowed to raise the untimeliness of

the proof of loss as a defense on the equitable doctrines of

estoppel and waiver. This argument has oft been raised and

nearly always rejected on facts virtually identical to these.

The doctrine of equitable estoppel is not available

against the Government here. Even if this court were to find

that the plaintiffs had demonstrated they could present

competent evidence of each element of traditional estoppel,3

in order to fall into the “rather narrow possible range of

circumstances” in which estoppel may be had against the

Government, the plaintiffs also would have to prove that a

government agent engaged in serious “affirmative

misconduct.” See Immigration & Naturalization Service v. Hibi,

414 US. 5, 8-9 (1973) (dictum); Gagliardi, 952 F. Supp. 163 at

217; Diamond v. Federal Emergency Management Agency, 689 F.

Supp., 169 (E.D.N.Y. 1988). The court has been unable to

3 These elements are: “(1) the party to be estopped knew the true

facts; (2) the party to be estopped intended for his conduct to be acted

upon or acted in such a way that the party asserting estoppel had a right

to believe that it was intended; (3) the party claiming estoppel was

ignorant of the true facts; and (4) the misconduct was relied upon to the

detriment of the parties seeking estoppel.” McCrary v. Federal Emergency

Management Agency, 642 F. Supp. 544 (E.D.N.C. 1986) (quoting United

States v. 18.16 acres of land, 598 F. Supp 282, 286 (E.D.N.C. 1984)). The

undersigned found in McCrary that the plaintiffs could not meet the third

element on facts essentially the same as these because the plaintiffs were

not ignorant of the true facts; the McCrary plaintiffs’ insurance policy

contained a notice of the sixty-day proof of loss requirement, and they

were deemed to have knowledge of the same provision contained in the

Code of Federal Regulations. Additionally, in McCrary, as here, the

NFIP’s letter to the plaintiffs and their insurance agent reiterated the

sixty-day requirement. Id. at 548. See also Gagliardi v. Omaha Property and

Ins. Co., 952 F. Supp. 212, 217 (D.N.J. 1997).

App. 17

locate any defensible reported case* in which the NFIP has

been estopped to assert a defense to flood insurance

coverage based on representations by a government agent,

much less by an independent insurance adjuster. In fact, as

noted by the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals,

The Supreme Court has never explicitly held

that the federal government may be equitably

estopped ... and it is doubtful that the Court

would recognize an estoppel where

affirmative misconduct by the government

was not even alleged ... With one narrow

exception not applicable here ..., this court

has repeatedly declined to find equitable

estoppel against the federal government

absent a showing of affirmative misconduct.

Maryland Dept. of Human Resources v. Department of

Agriculture, 976 F.2d 1462, 1484, n.24 (4% Cir. 1992) (citations

omitted); see also West Augusta Development Corp. v. Giuffrida,

717 F.2d 139, 141 (4% Cir. 1983) (government agency is not

estopped merely because its actions, if taken by a private

party, would have worked an estoppel). In the instant case,

although the plaintiffs have alleged unprofessional and

misleading conduct by Hughes, they not only have not

alleged “serious affirmative misconduct,” but also have

alleged neither that Hughes was or should be deemed to be

an agent of the Government, nor any facts which would

support such a legal conclusion. Furthermore, the court is

satisfied that an amendment to the pleadings could not cure

this deficiency, as the law appears to be settled that estoppel

cannot be had against the government on these facts.

4 The cases relied upon by the plaintiffs in support of their

estoppel argument are not persuasive. For the reasons cogently set forth

in the defendant's Reply Memorandum at § II (A)(2)(d), the court declines

to follow the rationale of either Meister Bros., Inc. v. Macy, 674 F.2d 1174

(7% Cir. 1982), or Dempsey v. Director, FEMA, 549 F. Supp. 1334 (E.D. Ark.

1982) . See also Phelps, 785 F.2d at 17.

App. 18

Likewise, the plaintiffs’ waiver argument must fail.

Their SFIP policy reiterates the requirement that the “policy

cannot be amended nor can any of its provisions be waived

without express written consent of the Federal Insurance

Administrator. No action we take under the terms of this

policy can constitute a waiver of any of our rights” Exhibit

to Complaint, SFIP, Art. 9, § D; see also Phelps, 785 F.2d at 19;

Diamond, 689 F. Supp. at 169; McCrary, 642 F. Supp. at 546.

SUMMARY

The result dictated by the applicable law is harsh

and its effect on unwary insured property owners is

unfortunate indeed. However,

justification for this refusal [to apply

equitable estoppel doctrine against the

Government] rests primarily upon

considerations of sovereign immunity and

constitutional grounds - the potential for

interference with the separation of

governmental powers between the legislative

and executive ... There is also a vital concern

for public policy. In a complex government

with thousands of agencies and departments,

and innumerable employees, there is a very

real need to protect the Government against

binding commitments by improper conduct

of its agents, which might promote fraud or

collusion. “Fear of uncontrollable liability

and crippling losses to the public treasury

have also played a role in sustaining the

rule.”

App. 19

Phelps, 785 F. Supp. at 17 (citations omitted); accord

McCreary, 642 F. Supp. at 548-49. Fifty years ago, the

Supreme Court cautioned:

Whatever the form in which the Government

functions, anyone’ entering into an

arrangement with the Government takes the

risk of having accurately ascertained that he

who purports to act for the Government stays

within the bounds of his authority. The scope

of this authority may be explicitly defined by

Congress or be limited by delegated

legislation, properly exercised through the

rule-making power ... The oft-quoted

observation ... that “Men must turn square

corners when they’ deal with the

Government,” does not reflect a callous

outlook. It merely expresses the duty of all

courts to observe the conditions defined by

Congress for charging the public treasury.

Merrill, 332 U.S. at 34 (citation omitted).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, therefore, the defendant's

Motion for Summary Judgment is ALLOWED and this

action is DISMISSED.

SO ORDERED.

This the 26 day of February, 1999.

/s/James C. Fox

JAMES C. FOX

United States District Judge

App. 20

FEDERAL EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT AGENCY

FEDERAL INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION

DWELLING

~ POLICY

NATIONAL FLOOD

INSURANCE PROGRAM

STANDARD FLOOD INSURANCE POLICY

[Issued Pursuant to the National Flood Insurance Act of

1968, or Any Acts Amendatory Thereof (Hereinafter Called

the Act), and Applicable Federal Regulations in Title 44 of

the Code of Federal Regulations, Subchapter B]

App. 21

NOTICE: This policy provides only LIMITED COVERAGE

in basements and for the enclosed areas below elevated

Post-FIRM building, as set forth below. (See Article 6,

Paragraph F.)

SCOPE OF BASEMENT AND ELEVATED BUILDING

ENCLOSURE COVERAGE

BUILDING AND CONTENTS ELEMENTS COVERED:

FOUNDATION ELEMENTS

REQUIRED UTILITY CONNECTIONS

SUMP PUMPS

WELL WATER TANKS AND PUMPS

OIL TANKS AND THE OIL IN THEM

CISTERNS AND THE WATER IN THEM

NATURAL GAS TANKS AND THE GAS IN THEM

PUMPS AND/OR TANKS USED IN

CONJUNCTION WITH SOLAR ENERGY

FURNACES

HOT WATER HEATERS

CLOTHES WASHERS AND DRYERS

FOOD FREEZERS AND THE FOOD IN THEM

AIR CONDITIONERS

HEAT PUMPS

ELECTRICAL JUNCTION AND CIRCUIT

BREAKER BOXES

° CLEAN-UP

° ELEVATORS, DUMBWAITERS, AND EQUIPMENT,

EXCEPT FOR SUCH EQUIPMENT LOCATED

BELOW THE BASE FLOOD LEVEL, IF SUCH

EQUIPMENT WAS INSTALLED ON OR AFTER

OCTOBER 1, 1987

App. 22

ELEMENTS COVERED IN BASEMENTS ONLY:

° UNPAINTED DRYWALLS AND SHEETROCK

WALLS, INCLUDING FIBERGLASS INSULATION,

AND CEILINGS (REPLACE, AND IN

SUBSTITUTION FOR FINISHED WALLS)

ELEMENTS NOT COVERED IN BASEMENTS AND

ELEVATED BUILDING ENCLOSURES (SEE NOTE):

. CONTENTS

. IMPROVEMENTS SUCH AS FINISHED WALLS,

FLOORS, AND CEILINGS

. BUILDING EQUIPMENT AND FIXTURES NOT

SPECIFICALLY COVERED

NOTE: IN THE CASE OF ELEVATED BUILDINGS,

COVERAGE LIMITATION APPLIES ONLY TO POSTFIRM

ELEVATED BUILDINGS IN SPECIAL HAZARD AREAS

DESIGNATED AS ZONES A1-30 (AE), AH AND V1-30

(VE).

FEDERAL EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT AGENCY

FEDERAL INSURANCE ADMINISTRATION

STANDARD FLOOD INSURANCE POLICY

+ + +

ARTICLE 2 - DEFINITIONS

AS USED IN THIS POLICY - -

+ + +

"Flood" means:

A. A general and temporary condition of partial

or complete inundation of normally dry land area from:

1. The overflow of inland or tidal waters.

rs The unusual and rapid accumulation or

runoff of surface waters from any source

+ + +

ARTICLE 9 - GENERAL CONDITIONS AND

PROVISIONS

D. Amendments, Waivers, Assignment: This policy cannot

be amended nor can any of its provisions be waived without

the express written consent of the Federal Insurance

Administrator. No action we take under the terms of this

policy can constitute a waiver of any of our rights. Except in

the case of 1. a contents only policy, and 2. a policy issued to

cover a building in the course of construction, assignment of

this policy, in writing, is allowed upon transfer of title.

k*e*

App. 24

I. Alterations and Repairs: You may, at any time and at

your own expense, make alterations, additions and repairs

to the insured property, and complete structures in the

course of construction.

J. Requirements in Case of Loss: Should a flood loss occur

to your insured property, you must:

:. Notify us in writing as soon as practicable;

4. As soon as reasonably possible, separate the

damaged and undamaged property, putting

it in the best possible order so that we may

examine it; and

3. Within 60 days after the loss, send us a proof

of loss, which is your statement as to the

amount you are claiming under the policy

signed and sworn to by you and furnishing

us with the following information:

a.

b.

The date and time of the loss;

A brief explanation of how the loss

happened;

Your interest in_ the property

damaged (for example, "owner") and

the interest, if any, of others in the

damaged property;

The actual cash value or replacement

cost, whichever is appropriate, of each

damaged item of insured property

and the amount of damages

sustained;

Names of mortgagees or anyone else

having a lien, charge or claim against

the insured property;

App. 25

f. Details as to any other contracts of

insurance covering the property,

whether valid or not;

g. Details of any changes in ownership,

use, occupancy, location or possession

of the insured property since the

policy was issued;

h. Details as to who occupied any

insured building at the time of loss

and for what purpose; and

i. The amount you claim is due under

this policy to cover the loss, including

statements concerning:

(1) The limits of coverage stated

in the policy; and

(2) The cost to repair or replace

the damaged property

(whichever costs less).

Cooperate with our adjuster or representative

in the investigation of the claim;

Document the loss with all bills, receipts, and

related documents for the amount being

claimed;

The insurance adjuster whom we hire to

investigate your claim may furnish you with

a proof of loss form, and she or he may help

you to complete it. However, this is a matter

of courtesy only, and you must still send us a

proof of loss within 60 days after the loss

even if the adjuster does not furnish the form

or help you complete it.

App. 26

In completing the proof of loss, you must use

your own judgment concerning the amount

of loss and the justification for that amount.

The adjuster is not authorized to approve or

disapprove claims or tell you whether your

claim will be approved by us.

7. We may, at our option, waive the

requirement for the completion and filing of

a proof of loss in certain cases, in which

event you will be required to sign and, at

our option, swear to an adjuster's report of

the loss which includes information about

your loss and the damages sustained, which

is needed by us in order to adjust your

claim.

8. Any false statements made in the course of

presenting a claim under this policy may be

punishable by fine or imprisonment under

the applicable Federal Laws.

+ *

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, we have signed this policy below

and hereby enter into this Insurance Agreement.

\s\Elaine C. McReynolds

Elaine C. McReynolds

Administrator

Federal Insurance

Administration

NATIONAL FLOOD INSURANCE PROGRAM

Servicing Agent

9/10/96

RE: | POLICY NUMBER: 2031530807

DATE OF LOSS: 9/05/96 -

HOWARD G & ANNETTE DAWKINS JR

307 ORTON DR

GREENVILLE, NC 27858-3734

INS & CONSULTING OF GREENVILLE

DBA FICKLING & CLEMENT INS

PO BOX 1626

GREENVILLE, NC 27834

Dear Policyholder:

We received your notice of claim for:

219 BEACH RDN

WILMINGTON, NC 28405

Your loss has been assigned to:

BELLMON ADJUSTERS, INC.

If you do not find a local telephone listing for this adjuster,

contact your agent or the Flood Insurance Processing

Center.

An adjuster from this firm will investigate your loss to

determine if it is covered by your policy, and may help you

present your claim. We ask that you submit your claim as

soon as possible. Your policy requires you to submit a proof

App. 28

of loss to the Flood Center within sixty (60) days of the loss.

Please refer to Article VIII-General Conditions and

Provisions, Paragraph I.4- “Requirements in Case of Loss”

of the dwelling policy or Article VII- General Conditions

and Provisions, Paragraph P - of the General Property

Policy. Your adjuster can provide this form to you and help

you complete it.

Please do not discard any damaged property prior to the

adjuster’s inspection unless it poses a health or safety

hazard. It is especially important that you do not dispose of

the major contents items, before the adjuster’s first visit.

Our records show the following mortgagee(s) on your

property:

WACHOVIA BK & TRUST CO NA

If eligible, the check we issue for your building claim will be

payable to you and to the above. If this information is

incorrect, please provide the adjuster with the correct

information. You may be requested to furnish supporting

documents in this regard.

If you have not heard from the adjuster, or have any other

problem or questions regarding your claim, please call us at

the above number.

Sincerely,

Flood Insurance Processing Center-Claims Department

PROOF

OF

LOSS

FICKLING & CLEMENT

INSURANCE :

P.O. BOX 1626

GREENVILLE, NC 27835

POLICY NO. FL2-0315-3080-7

12/25/95 TO 12/25/96

POLICY TERM

250000.00 eh

AMT OF BLDG COY AT TIME OF LOSS

100000.00

AMT OF CNTS COV AT TIME OF LOSS

TO THE NFIP OF At the time of loss, by the above

indicated policy of insurance, you insured the interest of

HOWARD DAWKINS, JR

219 BEACH RD, FIG 8 ISLD, WILMINGTON, NC 28405

against loss by FLOOD to the property described according

to the terms and conditions of said policy and of all forms,

endorsements, transfers and assignments thereto.

App. 30

TIME AND ORIGIN

A FLOOD loss occurred about the hour of __ o'clock on

the 5 day of 9 1996, the cause of said loss was:

FLOOD

OCCUPANCY

The premises described, or containing the property

described, was occupied at the time of the loss as

follows, and for no_ other purpose whatever:

DWELLING/SEASONAL

INTEREST:

No other person or persons had any interest therein or

incumbrance thereon, except: WACHOVIA BANK

CHANGES:

Since the said policy was issued, there has been no changes

in the property described, except: NONE KNOWN

e FULL AMOUNT OF INSURANCE

applicable to the property for which claim

Fe I aiicesicnininststunapuiisenenniceninaiadinidacpebecives $350000.00

e ACTUAL CASH VALUE of building

PTOI hn ssenscnninseiciieciinintescintionnnvinsamnrenaremsvns $273636.34

e ADD ACTUAL CASH VALUE OF

CONTENTS or personal property insured.......$102000.00

e ACTUAL CASH VALUE OF ALL

SRC a Rees ae Res $375636.34

e FULL COST OF REPAIR OR

REPLACEMENT (Building and Content).....,.......$9172.57

e LESS APPLICABLE DEPRECIATION ......sssssssse-« $1384.92

e ACTUAL CASH VALUE LOSS is ...sscscccsccsssssssseen $7787.65

App. 31

e LESS DEDUCTIBLES Bldg Deductible &

amt of contents less than deductible ....................... $822.45

e NET AMOUNT CLAIMED under above

RIOR TN 10 ccsececnvisnsinnscsrmsasevnsensnvenaatenmneonons $6965.20

The said loss did not originate by any act, design or

procurement on the part of your insured, nothing has been

done by or with the privity or consent of your insured to

violate the conditions of the policy, or render it void; no

articles are mentioned herein or in annexed schedules but

such as were destroyed or damaged at the time of said loss

no property saved has in any manner been concealed, and

no attempt to deceive the said insurer as to the extent of said

loss, has in any manner been made. Any other information

that may be required will be furnished and considered a

part of this proof.

Subrogation - To the extent of the payment made or

advanced under this policy; the insured hereby assigns,

transfers and sets over to the insurer all rights, claims or

interest that he has against any person, firm or corporation

liable for the loss or damage to the property for which

payment is made or advanced. He also hereby authorizes

the insurer to sue any such third party in his name.

The insured hereby warrants that no release has

been given or will be given or settlement or compromise

made or agreed upon with any third party who may be

liable in damages to the insured with respect to the claim

being made herein.

The furnishing of this blank or the preparation of

proofs by a representative of the above insurer is not a

waiver of any of its rights.

App. 32

State of North Carolina

County of Pitt

\s\ Howard Garrett Dawkins, |r.

\s\ Alice Annette Williams Dawkins

Insured

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 12 day of

December, 1996.

Adjuster: BOB HUGHES

\s\

Notary Public Adjuster

My Comm. Expires 11-29-99 Greenville, NC

App. 33

THIS CHECK COVERS ITEMS INDICATED BELOW

NATIONAL FLOOD INSURANCE PROGRAM

CHECK NO. FL 029494

DATE PAID 01/14/97 FL 029494

POLICY NUMBER 2031530807

DATE OF LOSS 9/05/96

CLAIM NUMBER 2031530807960905

REFERENCE. TYPEOF PAYMENT AMOUNT

2031530807. FLOODCLAIM PAYMENT. $6,965.20

FOR BUILDING LOSS

ICO# 592 AMOUNT PAID

| $6,965.20

1ST MORTGAGE LOAN NUMBER 216430004048572

INSURED’S NAME

HOWARD G & ANNETTE DAWKINS JR

PROPERTY ADDRESS

219 BEACH RDN

WILMINGTON, NC _ 28405

PAYEE | :

HOWARD G & ANNETTE DAWKINS, JR

307 ORTON DR

GREENVILLE, NC 27858-3734

App. 34

$%s%% FEDERAL EMERGENCY

hey, MANAGEMENT AGENCY

w2Le NATIONAL FLOOD

—

INSURANCE PROGRAM

ROCKVILLE, MD 20649-6468

CHECK NO: FL029494

DATE AMOUNT

01/14/97 | $6,965.20

SIX THOUSAND NINE HUNDRED SIXTY FIVE AND

20/100 Dollars

Pay

TO THE ORDER OF

HOWARD G & ANNETTE DAWKINS, JR

307 ORTON DRIVE

GREENVILLE NC 27858-3437

AND

WACHOVIA BK & TRUST CO, NA

&/OR THEIR ASSIGNS ATIMA

PO BOX 1767

GREENVILLE, NC 27835-176

VOID AFTER 180 DAYS

Ref FLOOD CLAIM NO. 2031530807960905

HIGHLAND COMMUNITY BANK

CHICAGO, IL 60620

C.P. Warren Adjusters, LLC

P.O. Box 150

Point Harbor, NC 27964

Phone/Fax (919) 491-2332

Howard Dawkins, Jr. 7/16/97

307 Orion Drive

Greenville, NC 27834

Policy # 2388/95

Claim #: 3655

Date of Loss: 9/6/96

Dear Dr. Dawkins:

We have received a request from your agent, Fickling and

Clement Insurance, to respond to your fax to them dated

5/29/97. In your fax, you state the damage to your cottage

was in excess of $150,000.00, but the estimate submitted by

our Adjuster Ken Bitner was approximately half that

amount. A complete review of the damages to your cottage

from both the Bertha and Fran storms indicates there were

damages from both wind and flood. Mr. Bitner’s estimate

was for wind damage as a result of Hurricane Fran only. I

have taken your list and addressed each item, 31 through 45,

with regard to wind or flood.

App. 36

Item 31 - Roof Wind damage

Amount requested by Insured - $5700.00

$5700.00 plus 20% O&P for a total of $6840. submitted by

Adjuster Ken Bitner in Fran Estimate.

Item 32 - Sewage System - Flood Damage

Amount requested by Insured - $2350.00.

No coverage.

Item 33 - Garage Door - Flood Damage

Amount requested by Insured - $536.00.

Not covered by wind policy.

Item 34 - Dumbwaiter - Flood Damage

Amount requested by Insured - $3483.00.

Not covered by wind policy.

Item 35 - Heat.& A/C - Flood Damage

Amount requested by Insured - $6035.00.

Not covered by wind policy.

Item 36 - Invisible Fence - Flood Damage

Amount requested by Insured - $600.00.

No coverage.

Item 37 - Temporary Roof Repairs - Wind Damage

Amount requested by Insured - $75.00.

Amount submitted by GAB Adjuster/ Bertha claim - $720.00

Item 38 - Electrical Panel - Flood Damage

Amount requested by Insured - $1250.00.

Not covered by wind policy.

Item 39 - Yard Cleanup/Landscape - Flood Damage

Amount requested by Insured - $3495.00.

No coverage.

App. 37

Item 40 - Chimney Cap Repair - Wind Damage

Amount requested by Insured - $997.00

Amount submitted by GAB Adjuster/ Bertha claim $594.00

Amount submitted by Adjuster Ken Bitner/Fran claim -

$594.00.

Item 41 - Windows and Doors - See Contractor’s Estimate

that follows.

Item 42 - Sheetrock Walls - Wind damage 24 Floor only,

Flood 1s Floor

See Contractor’s Estimate that follows.

Item 43 - Interior Repairs - See Contractor’s Estimate that

follows.

Item 44 - Attic Insulation - Wind Damage

Not included on any estimate.

Item 45 - Gas Logs - Not included on any estimate.

With regard to your Contractor’s estimate which is not

itemized and is not separated as to wind or flood, I note the

following:

Item 1 - Tear out and debris removal - Amount requested

by Insured - $8500 - $10,000.

Included flood damage and removal not covered by your

wind policy. $1550.00. submitted by Adjuster Ken

Bitner/ Fran wind claim.

Item 2 - Repair of the roof, chimney and attic fan - Wind

damage

Amount requested by Insured - $6825.00

Amount submitted by Adjuster Ken Bitner/Fran claim

$6394.94. Amount submitted by GAB Adjuster/Bertha

claim. $600.00

App. 38

Item 3 - Wallboard and Paint - Requested by Insured $1800-

$2500.

Amount submitted by Adjuster Ken Bitner/Fran Claim

$5711.78 plus 20% O&P for total of 6854.13.

Item 4 - Rugs and Floors - Amount requested by Insured -

$3202.50

Amount submitted by GAB Adjuster/ Bertha claim $6251.20

for floors

Amount submitted by Adjuster Ken Bitner/Fran claim

$2657.79 for floors. This appears to be for damages already

paid under the Bertha claim.

Amount submitted by Adjuster Ken Bitner/Fran claim for

carpet $5324.28

Total for rugs and floors $14,397.27.

Item 5 - Kitchen Cabinets

Amount requested by Insured - $8038.40.

I inspected this loss with you in September of 1996 and there

was no evidence of damage to kitchen cabinets. Ken Bitner

and Larry Smith re-inspected this loss in December of 1996

with you and your contractor and found no damage to the

kitchen cabinets.

Item 6 - Windows and Doors - Amount requested by

Insured - $21,594.20

This total contains flood damage to doors. When I inspected

this loss with you in September of 1996, I advised there was

no coverage to windows unless there was direct damage to

the windows from wind. Ken Bitner advises he again

discussed with you in December of 1996, the lack of

coverage for windows unless physically damaged by wind.

Any bending or twisting of windows or door frames as a

result of the cottage being uplifted or twisted from flood

waters under the cottage would be considered flood damage

and therefore not covered by your wind policy.

App. 39

Item 7 - Decks

Amount requested by Insured - $43,575.00

You have indicated the decks were uplifted and no longer

drained away from the cottage. This again is a result of

flood waters washed through the first floor level of your

cottage and moved the pilings of the decks.

Item 8 - Electrical Repair - Amount requested by Insured -

$800.00

Amount submitted by Adjuster Ken Bitner/Fran claim -

$583.20

Amount submitted by the Flood Adjuster/ Fran $1250.00

After your letter of 11/18/96, I requested Adjusters Ken

Bitner and Larry Smith meet with you and your contractor

for a thorough re-inspection of all damages. Mr. Bitner

states during the inspection he advised that much of your

damages were flood (ie; dumbwaiter, sewage system, etc.)

and therefore not covered by the wind policy. As I recall,

this was also discussed at our initial meeting in September

of 1996.

In conclusion, it is our opinion that wind did not bend the

window and door frames, nor uplift the decks on the

cottage. The wind did not cause damage to the cottage that

would require replacement of all windows and doors, all

siding and all decks on the cottage. It appears that the

additional monies you seek are flood related and we feel our

estimate for repairs as a result of wind from Hurricane Fran

is more than fair.

Respectfully,

/s/ C.P. Warren

C.P. Warren, Adjuster

App. 40

CC: Beam, Cooper Gainey / NXS/Elois Weinhold

Fickling & Clement Insurance

Kenneth Bitner, Adjuster

July 24, 1997

keke kkk KEK

RKKKKKKEKREK

Agency:

Fickling & Clement Insurance

P. O. Box 1626

Greenville, NC 27835

Insurance Company:

National Flood

ATTN: FREDA COPELAND

CLAIMS

Insured:

Howard Dawkins, Jr.

Annette Dawkins

307 Orton Drive

Greenville, NC 27834

Policy Number: 2031530807

Policy Term: From: 12/25/95 To: 12/25/96

Policy Desc: FLOOD- BEACH HOUSE

DATE OF LOSS: 9-5-96

PLEASE FIND COPY OF A LETTER FROM C.P. WARREN

ADJUSTERS REGARDING WIND DAMAGE _ TO

INSURED’S BEACH HOME.

A CLAIM FOR FLOOD DAMAGE WAS SUBMITTED TO

NATIONAL FLOOD BACK IN SEPTEMBER, 1996. THE

FLOOD COMPANY PAID $6965 FOR DAMAGE BY

FLOOD. IN READING MR. WARREN'S LETTER, YOU

WILL = SEE ADDITIONAL FLOOD DAMAGE

App. 42

DISCOVERED BY MR. WARREN. THE DAMAGE IS TO

THE WINDOWS AND DECKS DUE TO THE HOUSE

BEING UPLIFTED AND/OR TWISTED FROM FLOOD

WATERS UNDER THE HOUSE.

WE ARE REQUESTING THE FLOOD CLAIM BEING RE-

OPENED AND REVIEWED. MR. WARREN ADVISED HE

IS A CERTIFIED FLOOD ADJUSTER. FEEL FREE TO GIVE

HIM A CALL TO DISCUSS THE ADDITIONAL FLOOD

DAMAGE DISCOVERED.

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR IF WE CAN BE OF

ANY ASSISTANCE, PLEASE DO NOT HESITATE TO GIVE

US A CALL.

SINCERELY,

/s/ Rhonda J. Edwards

RHONDA J. EDWARDS

CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT

NATIONAL FLOOD INSURANCE PROGRAM

Servicing Agent

August 26, 1997

Howard & Annette Dawkins Jr

307 Orton Dr

Greenville, NC 27858-3734

RE: — Policy Number: 2031530807

Date Of Loss: 9/5/96

Dear Policyholder:

We are in receipt of your agent’s correspondence regarding

the above captioned claim.

Please be advised that the Standard Flood Insurance Policy

does not cover any finished items or contents in the

enclosures lower than the elevated floors of an elevated

building. Therefore your request for consideration of the

windows and finishes would not be covered as there should

be no walls, enclosures, etc. in that lower level. Also note

that the flood policy does not cover decks, walks, patios, etc

or anything else located outside the perimeter walls of the

building. The above exclusions can be found in Article 6 of

the policy.

Therefore the original claim was handled accordingly and

the file remains closed with no further action warranted.

App. 44

For any items we have denied, you have one year from the

date of this denial to file suit in the US District Court for the

district in which the insured property was located at the

time of the loss.

Waiving none, but reserving all rights and defenses under

the policy, we remain,

Sincerely,

/s/ F.M. Copeland

F.M. Copeland

Technical Support Specialist

NFIP Servicing Agent

/s/ K.L. Christian, AIC

K.L. Christian, AIC

Claims Supervisor

NFIP Servicing Agent

cc: Fickling & Clement Insurance

PO Box 1626

Greenville, NC 27835

FICKLING

& CLEMENT

INSURANCE

January $8, 1998

F.M. Copeland

National Flood Insurance Program

PO Box 6468

Rockville, MD 20849-6468

RE: Howard Dawkins

203 15308097 - date of loss - 9-5-96

Dear Ms. Copeland:

I am in receipt of your letter once [a]gain denying coverage

for the lower enclosed areas.

Once again, I want to advise you that we are not disagreeing

with the denial of coverage in the lower enclosed areas

where no coverage exists. The reopening of this claim was

solely for you to review the damage to the windows caused

by the twisting of the house.

On July 24, 1997, we wrote to you asking you to review the

claim due to additional flood damage discovered by the

contractor and C. P. Warren, the wind adjuster.

I specifically told you the additional damages we were

referring to is damage to the windows and decks being

uplifted by flood water causing the house to twist. |

understand that the decks are not covered.

On August 26, 1997, we received a letter from you stating that

the policy does not cover finished items or contents in

enclosures lower than the first finished elevated floor.

App. 46

After many attempts to reach you by phone, we did finally

talk in early October, 1997. I explained to you then that we

are not asking for payment to any areas other than the

windows that were damaged. The window panes were not

broken. The windows were leaking rainwater all round the

casings where they were no longer properly seated in their

proper place. All the windows - not the window panes -

not the glass - but the whole window - had to be replaced.

Not the windows on the lower level, but the windows on

the first finished elevated floor and the 2nd floor had to be

replaced. According to the contractor and wind adjuster,

C.P. Warren, the damage was caused by water and wave

action causing the house to twist/move and thereby causing

the windows to shift/ pop loose/ break their seal/ come

unseated - whatever terminology you would like to use.

There was damage to these windows during this storm.

They were leaking all around the casings - not from flood

water - from rainwater. However, according to Mr. Warren,

the reason they were leaking rainwater was due to the flood

waters causing the house to twist/ move as stated before.

In your letter to us dated December 19, 1997, you also

mention the bike and plants on the decks. These items were

not left on the deck during the hurricane. These items were

placed on the deck after the storm. Surely you do not believe

these items would still be on the deck after the 130+ mph

winds swept through this area.

I do not know what Dr. Dawkins is to do. There is no

question that there was damage to the windows from this

storm. The wind adjuster says it was due to the flood not

the wind. The Flood Insurance Program will not even

acknowledge there was a problem. I have advised Dr.

Dawkins that he has until 8-26-98 to file suit in US District

Court and have given him a copy of your letters to this

agency along with a copy of our letters and documentation

of the phone conversations.

App. 47

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions regarding

the damage or if you are unsure of exactly what we are

asking you to review. Please keep in mind that this does

not have anything at all to do with the enclosed area

below the first finished floor.

Sincerely,

Sherry B. Edwards, AAI CPIW CISR

Senior Vice President

cc: K.L. Christian, AIC

Claims Supervisor

Dr. Howard Dawkins

307 Orton Drive

Greenville, NC 27834

Troy Smith, (Attorney at Law)

[Ward & Smith]

PO Box 8088

Greenville, NC 27834

C. P. Warren, Adjuster

PO Box 150

Point Harbor, NC 27964

W. Kurt Fickling, President

Fickling & Clement Insurance

App. 48

NATIONAL FLOOD INSURANCE PROGRAM

Servicing Agent

1/21/98

HOWARD G & ANNETTE DAWKINS JR

307 ORTON DR

GREENVILLE, NC 27858-3734

Policy: 2031530807

D/Loss: 9/5/96

Dear Policyholder:

We received a letter from your agent explaining your

dilemma. The wind adjuster says the damage to the

window casing was due to the flood not the wind and the

Flood Insurance Program will not acknowledge there was a

problem.

Although, the wind adjuster says any bending or twisting of

windows or door frames as a result of the cottage being

lifted or twisted from flood waters under the cottage would

be considered flood damage, the flood adjuster is not in

agreement that the cottage was uplifted by the flood waters.

The only significant damage noted were those to the lower

level enclosure, which cannot be covered by the flood

policy. We only insure you against all direct physical loss

by or from flood to the insured property. The flood waters

did not reach the windows and doors in question.

App. 49

However, if you wish to pursue your claim for damage to

the window casings being the direct result of the flood you

may at your own expense secure the service of a structural

engineer and submit the report for our review. The report

should state how the action of the flood waters caused the

damage and exactly when this occurred.

Waiving none, but reserving all rights and defenses under

the policy, we remain,

Sincerely,

/s/ F.B. Norman

F.B. Norman

Claims Examiner

NFIP Servicing Agent

/s/ K. Christian, AIC

K. Christian, AIC

Claims Supervisor

NFIP Servicing Agent

ce: Fickling & Clement Ins.

App. 50

CAROLINA BENCHMARK

CAROLINA BENCHMARK

INCORPORATED

April 8, 1998

Dr. Howard G. Dawkins, Jr.

2577 Stantonsburg Road

Greenville, North Carolina 27858

SubJ; Inspection of House at 219 Beach Road, Figure Eight

Island

On Saturday March 3, 1998, I went with you to the subject

site and viewed the house and the island. Previously I had

inspected facilities on North Topsail Island within three

days after both Hurricanes Bertha (July 12, 1996) and Fran

(September 5, 1996). North Topsail Island is approximately

22 miles Northeast of Figure Eight Island. I personally

observed the devastation of both Hurricanes and in

particular, Hurricane Fran on September 7, 1996 and the

effect of the high water and surge damage.

The structure is a three story wood frame residence,

however, the first floor is constructed, as observed, for

garage and storage as allowed. Dr. Dawkins’ house is

orientated Due North and South with the front of the house

facing due South. Houses on each side of this house face

Southeast. The lot to seaward (looking directly due south

from the front of Dr. Dawkins’ house) of Dr. Dawkins’ is

vacant. This vacancy allowed storm waters to come directly

towards his house with no effective impediment. To the

North west and North of Dr. Dawkins’ house is marsh and

sound with no impediment to high water and surge. I

observed, in a picture of a wall, water marks made by the

surge. It is clear to me that water surrounded the house on

App. 51

all sides up to about the five foot level and above the floor

slab. This water was being pushed in a southerly direction

by the hurricane. When the back surge occurred the water

they came from a northerly direction flowing out of the

sound towards the Atlantic Ocean as the Hurricane passed.

Observations of the structure indicate to me and it is my

professional opinioi. that this wood frame structure had

been twisted by the water surge, and had experienced

structural damage therefrom. From my experience at North

Topsail Island in observing Hurricane Fran damage first

hand and my views of the photographs taken on Figure

Eight Island shortly after Hurricane Fran, severe damage

was done to the subject structure by the hurricane storm

surge and high water. I observed probable upwelling of the

concrete slab in the garage as evidenced by cracks in the

concrete. Cracks in the structure ceiling remain and were

observed on March 3, 1998.

/s/ THOMAS W. HARWELL, PE

THOMAS W. HARWELL, PE

CAROLINA BENCHMARK e 102 OAKMONT DRIVE

GREENVILLE, N.C. 27858 e TELEPHONE (919) 758-8440

App. 52

FICKLING

& CLEMENT

INSURANCE

May 20, 1998

Marlin W. Barnett, Senior General Adjuster

National Flood Insurance Program

10115 Senate Drive

Lanham, Maryland 20706

Dear Mr. Barnett:

RE: Dr. Howard Dawkins

Enclosed is a copy of the original flood estimate that

you requested from Mr. Fickling. Please note that this was

during the very early stages of the repairs. In July 1997, the

insured became aware that there was additional flood

damage to this house. In a letter from C.P. Warren, whereby

he was denying wind coverage, he indicated that much of

the damage to his house was caused by the flood. As soon

as we became aware of this, On July 24, 1997, we sent a

letter to Freda Copeland at NFIP requesting that this claim

be reopened and the damage inspected. On September 2,

1997 we received a cc of a letter to Dr. Dawkins from NFIP

dated August 26, 1997, refusing to reopen the claim and

advising the insured he has one year from this date to file

suite in the US District Court. On or about September 5,

1997, I called NFIP to advise them to re-read the claim that

was submitted and asked them once again to at least contact

CP Warren to discuss. I expected a call back from the claims

supervisor. On or about 10-9-97, I talked w/ Freda Copeland

at NFIP and she requested a statement from the contractor

and itemized bills. These were sent to her on 12-4-97. The

App. 53

itemized bills also included actual invoices for the purchases

made. This is a very large package of information. You

should be able to obtain this from NFIP.

On December 30, 1997, we received another letter from

NFIP, Freda Copeland, dated 12-18-97, once again denying

the claim and once again telling us the insured has until 8-

26-98 to file suit. On January 8, 1998, I once again

responded to NFIP asking them to reopen the claim. On

January 30, 1998, we received another denial letter from

NFIP but this time, they required that Dr. Dawkins, at his

own expense, secure the service of a structural engineer and

submit the report for their review. This was done and the

report was sent registered/certified mail on April 21, 1998.

Thus the reason for your recent involvement in this loss.

Feel free to contact me with any questions you have.

Sincerely,

Sherry B. Edwards, AAI CPIW CISR

cc: Dan Martin

Ward & Smith, Attorneys

127 Racine Drive

Wilmington, NC 28403

Dr. Howard Dawkins

307 Orton Drive

Greenville, NC 27834

App. 54

NATIONAL FLOOD INSURANCE PROGRAM

Bureau and Statistical Agent

May 28, 1998

National Con-Serv Inc.

451 Hungerford Drive

Suite #408

Rockville, Md. 20850

Att: Ms. Lynn Welch

Claims Manager

Re: losured: Howard Dawkins

Policy: 2-0315-3080-7

D/L: September 5, 1996

Dear Lynn:

We received this file from your office requesting a

reinspection of the above captioned claim. There is a

discrepancy of additional damages between your office and

the Insured and the Insurance Agent Fickling & Clement.

We contacted both the Insured and the Agent and made an

appointment to inspect this claim on Saturday, May 16,

1998.

Historical Data:

The insured building is a two story post firm elevated

building with partial enclosure below the lowest elevated

floor and was built in 1989. This building is a wood

structure with a composition roof located at 219 Beach Road

App. 99

North (Figure Eight Island) Wilmington, North Carolina

28405. The building is located in a A-11 flood zone. The

construction of this building is of good construction. The

buildings in the area of the insured building are of above

average. The entrance to this area (Figure Eight Island) is

through a security gate and bridge to the Island. This

building is a seasonal building owned by the Insured whose

permanent residence shows to be at 302 Orton Drive in

Greenville, North Carolina 27858.

The flood policy shows the policy number of 2-0315-3080-7,

with the policy period being from December 25, 1995 to

December 25, 1996. The policy insures the building in the

amount of $250,000.00 and $100,000.00 on the contents

(limits of coverage on both building and contents). There is

a $500.00 deductible for both building and contents

separately. There is a Mortgagee in the favor of Wachovia

Bank and Trust.

The Insured building has coverage for other perils under a

policy from Lloyd’s of London under certificate number 23

88-95 that insures the building for $300,000.00 and contents

in the amount of $65,000.00 and there is a 1% deductible.

There is also flood coverage, however this coverage begins

when the regular flood policy is exhausted.

On September 5, 1996 a Hurricane (Fran) hit the area near

Wilmington, North Carolina area with wind speeds of

around 115 mph, but was slowly diminishing due to effects

of the proximity of the storm to the mainland and several

other climatological factors according to several weather

experts. The experts also stated that at the time the

Hurricane hit this area it coincided with a low astronomic

tide levels, and may have prevented the coastal areas from

experiencing another two to four feet of seawater elevation.

This storm caused considerable damage from South

Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia and Maryland.

App. 56

The insured building received both flood and wind damage.

The insured reported both damages to his agent, who

reported claims to the proper companies. The flood claim

was assigned to Bellmon Adjusters and the wind claim was

assigned to C.P. Warren Adjusters, LTD. The original flood

adjuster inspected the flood loss with the Insured and found

that there was a water line on the enclosed lower level on

both the garage and siding of about 64 inches on the exterior

and 59 inches of flooding on the interior. The adjuster states

that the Insured was informed of the restricted coverage of

the enclosure beneath the lowest elevated floor. The

adjuster proceeded with the completion of the damage

estimate of $8,676.50 less depreciation of $1,211.30 for an

actual cash value of $7,465.20 less the deductible of $500.00

for a net payment of $6,965.20. The loss to the contents was

less than the deductible. The adjuster submitted proof of

Loss to the Insured and apparently was agreed by signing

the proof and returning it to the adjuster. The proof of loss

was then sent to your office and payment was issued and

sent to the Insured. The wind adjuster states that the wind

damage to the insured building they have made payment to

the insured in the amount of $20,506.96.

Summary:

We met with the Insured, Agent (Kurt Fickling), Thomas

Harwell, (Engineer), and C.P. Warren (wind adjuster) on

Saturday, May 16, 1998 at the insured building. The Insured

and agent both state that they have requested additional

payment for flood damage from your office. The Insured

states that he obtained the services of a Contractor Nick

Garrett, Inc. and that all repairs to the insured building has

been completed. The Insured and Agent both state that all

of the windows, exterior siding, interior sheetrock,

insulation, and exterior doors have been replaced. The

insured has replaced all of the decks, and landscaping. We

advised both parties that the decks and landscaping was not

covered by the policy.

App. 97

tore nase Nn bette tem Bi

We also advised the Insured and Agent that since your

company did not have the opportunity to inspect damage

before repairs are made, that it has been our experience that

these would not be paid, however this request would have

to be answered by your company. The Insured also states

that during the repairs, that they made several changes,

such as replacing windows with double-hung windows,

replacing the cabinets in the kitchen and dining area. They

also changed the lower enclosure by finishing this space and

changing the stairway to the upper floor (lowest elevated

Floor). The Insured also obtained the services of an

Engineer Carolina Benchmark (Thomas Harwell) who

inspected this building after all repairs have been made and

states that the wood frame structure had been twisted by the

water surge and had experienced structural damage.

We inspected this insured building and feel that we can not

determine the amount of damage nor the extent of needed

repairs for these damages, without actually inspecting the

damages. We do not understand how the Engineer can state

that the building was twisted on the foundatior since his

inspection was after the repairs were made ani obviously

did not inspect building after the storm. The Insured has

stated that he has spent about $400, 000.00 for repairs to the

insured building. We feel that most of this money was for

changes. The attached photos show changes to the exterior

such as siding, windows decks and the lower enclosure area

and these changes would be rather significant part of the

Insured’s expenditures. The Insured has supplied a copy of

a video that he made when they first arrived at the insured

building after the storm. The Insured-states on the video,

that there was damage to the front Doors (double doors)

because the were opened when they arrived. We can not

tell if they were damaged by flood or wind. We also have

discussed claim with the wind adjuster and he states that

they have paid the Insured for damages from what they

believe was from wind and they believe that the siding,

App. 58

decks windows and doors should be paid by the flood

policy. Since all repairs have been made, we can not justify

any repairs for damages that were repaired before damage

was inspected. :

Conclusion:

We are with this report submitting our findings for your

decision. We suggest that you submit your letter to the

Insured along with your decision.

Since there is nothing further for our office to do, in

connection with this matter, we are retiring our file with this

report.

Sincerely,

/s/ Marlin Barnett

Marlin Barnett

Senior General Adjuster

NFIP Bureau and Statistical Agent

Cc: Ms. Greta Richardson

Encl; Photos

Video

App. 59

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF

NORTH CAROLINA .

EASTERN DIVISION

CIVIL ACTION FILE NO.: 4:98-CV-124 F(3)

HOWARD G. DAWKINS, JR.,

M.D. and ANNETTE DAWKINS,

Plaintiffs ts

Vv.

JAMES LEE WITT, DIRECTOR

OF THE FEDERAL EMERGENCY

MANAGEMENT AGENCY,

Defendant.

AFFIDAVIT OF W. KURT FICKLING

I, W. Kurt Fickling, being first duly sworn, deposes

and says:

1. I am the Chief Executive Officer of Fickling &

Clement Insurance, located in Greenville,

North Carolina.

y I have been in the _ property/casualty

insurance business for over 28 years. I have

been an Independent Insurance Agent since

1975 and an instructor for numerous

insurance institutes, training programs, and

university classes.

App. 60

I currently serve on the North Carolina

Insurance Commissioners’ insurance

advisory board and have qualified on

numerous occasions as an expert witness for

insurance lawsuits, testifying regarding

coverage terms. I have sat on insurance

_ industry boards and commissions and helped

to author policy language currently in use

today in the property/casualty insurance

business.

As the Chief Executive Officer for Fickling &

Clement, my job requires that I put into place

different procedures for the company

regarding handling of claims and claim

reporting.

In 1996, Dr. Dawkins purchased two policies

of insurance on his Beach Front North home

on Figure Eight Island through my company,

one with the National Flood Insurance

Program (“NFIP”) and the other with Lloyd's

of London.

After Hurricane Fran occurred in September

~ of 1996, Dr. Dawkins immediately notified us

that this property had been damaged. Our

office in turn, immediately contacted the

NFIP to notify them of this damage.

While members of my staff have been

involved with Dr. Dawkins’ NFIP claim from

the beginning, my personal involvement in

the matter involving this claim came when it

was first discovered in July of 1997 that the

majority of the damage to Dr. Dawkins’

property was caused by flood rather than

App. 61

10.

11.

12.

13.

wind as initially thought. This discovery was

made by C.P. Warren, the adjuster for

Lloyd’s of London, who is also a certified

flood adjuster.

Sherry Edwards, a Senior Vice President with

our company, reported the previously

undiscovered flood damage immediately to

the NFIP and was informed that coverage

was being denied because the terms of the

policy did not provide coverage below the

first floor. Significantly, however, there was

never a request by Dr. Dawkins for

reimbursement of damage below the first

floor.

After several unsuccessful attempts to make

the NFIP claims department understand that

the damage claimed was not below the first

floor, Dr. Dawkins provided us with a very

detailed description of the loss, the necessary

repairs, and photographs of the same.

Sherry Edwards made copies of all of these

materials and mailed them to the NFIP.

After reviewing these materials, the NFIP

requested that Dr. Dawkins hire a structural

engineer, at his own expense to demonstrate

that there was flood damage.

At no time, however, did the NFIP raise the

issue of filing a proof of loss.

After discussing the request with Dr.

Dawkins, he hired Thomas Harwell, a

structural engineer, to assess the cause of the

damage to his property.

App. 62

14. After inspecting the property, Harwell

prepared a report in which he concluded that

the damage to the property was indeed

caused by the flood waters during Hurricane

Fran. ;

15. I then instructed Sherry Edwards to send a

copy of the report to the NFIP which she did.

At the same time, I contacted Warren, and

asked if he would meet with the NFIP

adjuster, Dr. Dawkins, Harwell, and myself

on Figure Eight Island. Mr. Warren agreed to

doso. —

16. Sherry Edwards then called for the NFIP

adjuster, Marlin Barnett, to meet all of us on

Saturday May 16, 1998 at Dr. Dawkins’ home

on Figure Eight Island.

17. Barnett agreed to make the trip to Figure

Eight Island to inspect the property and at no

time during this meeting was the issue of the

proof of loss raised.

18. To my surprise, at numerous times during

the meeting, Barnett stated that he did not

have an opportunity to view the damage

because Dr. Dawkins had already made the

necessary repairs. To the contrary, however,

Barnett and anyone else with the NFIP for

_that matter were given more than ample

opportunity to come and inspect the damage.

They chose not to do so however until May of

1998.

19. Furthermore, although the property had been

repaired, Dr. Dawkins was very diligent in

documenting the extent and the cost of the

App. 63

20.

ras

repairs that had to be made as a result of the

hurricane. He had also hired a structural

engineer to prepare a detailed report

regarding the same. All of this information

was provided to the NFIP prior to the date of

the meeting.

Throughout all of my years in the insurance

industry, I have never seen an adjuster

display such an attitude of disdain as Barnett

did during this meeting. On _ several

occasions, he even asked us how was he

supposed to know that there had been a flood

there because he had not seen the flood.

This is undoubtedly the most asinine

statement that I have ever heard an adjuster

make in any scenario I have seen and it is

also one of the most disturbing cases of bad

faith adjusting that I have seen.

I am not aware of any mention of the filing of

a proof of loss during the approximate two

years that the NFIP continued to string Dr.

Dawkins along and required him to incur

added expenses in pursuing his claim when

he had already suffered such a great loss

during Hurricane Fran.

This the 22 cay of January, 1999.

\s\ W. Kurt Fickling

W. Kurt Fickling

Sworn to and subscribed before me,

This 22"4 day of January, 1999.

Notary Public

My Commission Expires: March 4, 2002

App. 64

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Dawkins v. Witt · 539 U.S. 960 | Frix