Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Texas Digital Systems, Inc. v. Telegenix, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S. fy)

FILED cae

021486 17° 1 2003

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

EDWARD ALAMEIDA, et al., Petitioners,

vV.

EARL WYATT, Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

BILL LOCKYER

Attorney General of the

State of California

ROBERT R. ANDERSON

Chief Assistant Attorney General

ALLEN R. CROWN

Acting Senior Assistant Attorney General

PAUL A. BERNARDINO

Deputy Attorney General

MICHAEL J. WILLIAMS

Deputy Attorney General

Counsel of Record

1300 I Street 4. of

P.O. Box 944255 ia

Sacramento, CA 94244-2550

Telephone: (916) 323-7163

Facsimile: (916) 324-5205

Counsel for Petitioners

se Ri OEE i MaRS tt te eas NW Da a

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Prison Litigation Reform Act's

administrative remedies exhaustion requirement is a condition

precedent to a prisoner's conditions of confinement lawsuit or

an affirmative defense that must be pleaded and proven by the

defense.

2. Whether the Ninth Circuit's heightened notice

requirement for defense motions based on a prisoner's failure

to satisfy the Prison Litigation Reform Act's administrative

remedies exhaustion mandate and in summary judgment

generally is an impermissible amendment of the Federal Rules

by judicial interpretation.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioners

Petitioners in this official capacity action are Director

Edward Alameida of the California Department of Corrections

and Warden Michael Knowles of Mule Creek State Prison.

Petitioners are the official capacity successors in office to the

defendants before the district court and appellees in the Ninth

Circuit Court of Appeals.

Respondent

The respondent is Earl Wyatt (California Department of

Corrections No. C-90121). Respondent was the plaintiff in

the district court and appellant in the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeals.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

RU I nk ewe eee envccee i

Parties to the Proceeding .................... li

re iii

Table of Cited Authorities ...-............... Vv

I os ee a bd gel a kw 6k bb aw 1

puneemmaeat OF Jariadiction .... we es 1

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved .... 2

Statement of the Case ...... Les Pie oe

Reasons for Granting the Writ ................ 6

I. THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

RESOLVE A SIGNIFICANT SPLIT IN

CIRCUIT APPROACHES TO ENFORCING

THE PRISON LITIGATION REFORM ACT'S

EXHAUSTION MANDATE .......... 6

Il. THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED

BECAUSE THE WYATT II] HEIGHTENED

NOTICE REQUIREMENTS CONFLICT

WITH THE RULES EMPLOYED BY ALL

OTHER CIRCUITS AND THE FEDERAL

RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE ....... 9

ie ses ba 8 oe a eae at 14

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS-Continued

Appendix

Appendix A

Second Amended Court of Appeals Opinion,

eS ¢ & ere ee eee eS ee App. 1

Appendix B

District Court Findings and Recommendations

Granting Petitioner's Motion to Dismiss, Order and

ee re ee ee ee App. 23

Appendix C

District Court Findings and Recommendations

Granting Petitioner's Motion for Summary Judgment,

Onder amd FaGgmeemt ww ewes App. 55

Appendix D

Court of Appeals Order Denying First Petition

el SE in oS CR hee eee eee App. 69

Appendix E

Court of Appeals Order Denying Second Petition for

rrr eer re a App. 71

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

Amzura Enterprises, Inc. v. Ratcher, 18 Fed.Appx. 95,

ne ee ey ) ae 12

Baxter v. Rose, 305 F.3d 486 (6th Cir. re 7

Bennett v. King, 205 F.3d 1188 (9th Cir. 2000) ...... 8

Booth v, Churner, 206 F.3d 289 (3rd Cir. 2000) .... 8,9

Booth v. Churner, 532 U.S. 731 (2001) .......... 4,6

Brown v. Shinbaum, 828 F.2d 707, 708 (11th Cir. 1987) 11

Foulk v. Charrier, 262 F.3d 687 (8th Cir. 2001) ..... 7

Freeman v. Francis, 196 F.3d 641 (6th Cir. 1999) . ee

Graham v. Lewinski, 848 F.2d 342, 344 (2d Cir. 1988) 11

Griffith v. Wainwright, 772 F.2d 822 (11th Cir. 1985) 12

Higginbottom v. Carter, 223 F.3d 1259 (11th Cir. 2000) 9

Hummer v. Dalton, 657 F.2d 621 (4th Cir. 1981) .... 12

Jackson v. District of Columbia, 254 F.3d 262

Se Se 8s + os or ew een 8

Jenkins v. Haubert, 179 F.3d 19 (2d Cir. 1999) .... 7,8

Lewis v. Faulkner, 689 F.2d 100, 102 (7th Cir. 1982) 11

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-Continued

Page

Martin v. Harrison County Jail, 975 F.2d 192

Cae SOE. ha Vk eee Cha aera 11

Massey v. Helman, 196 F.3d 727 (7th Cir. 1999) .... 7,8

Massey v. Wheeler, 221 F.3d 1030 (7th Cir. 2000) .. 8,9

McAlphin v. Morgan, 216 F.3d 680 (8th Cir. 2000) ... 8

McNeil v. United States, 508 U.S. 106 (1993) ....... 9

Mitchell v. Inman, 682 F.2d 886 (11th Cir. 1982) ... 12

INOGE V. R@Uy, FOS FAO ISD nw cece eesens 11

Perez v. Wisconsin Department of Corr. , 182 F.3d 532

eo Lo Ae | er ree ry A ae . 8

Porter v. Nussle, 534 U.S. 516 (2002) ........... 6,9

Rand v. Rowland, 154 F.3d 952 (9th Cir. 1998) .... 4,5

Ray v. Kertes, 285 F.3d 287 (3d Cir. 2002) ........ 8

Roseboro v. Garrison, 528 F.2d 309 (4th Cir. 1975) .. 11,12

Ruotolo v. IRS, 28 F.3d 6 (2d Cir. 1994) ........2.05. 12

_ Smith v. Zachary, 255 F.3d 446 (7th Cir. 2001) ........ 8,9

Swierkiewicz v. Sorema, N.A., 534 U.S. 506 (2002) . 6,7,8

Timms v. Frank, 953 F.2d 281 (7th Cir. 1992) ......... 11

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES-Continued

Page

Underwood v. Wilson, 151 F.3d 292 (Sth Cir. 1998) ..... 9

Williams v. Bowman, 981 F.2d 901 (6th Cir. 1992) ..... 10

Wyatt v. Terhune, 280 F.3d 1238 (9th Cir. 2002) ........ 1

Wyatt v. Terhune, 305 F.3d 1033 fk es 1

Wyatt v. Terhune, 315 F.3d 1108

oo Bee eee eee 1,5,8,10,12,13

STATUTES:

SE EE Sin y les eee keira eceu cane eeeat 3,9

28 U.S.C. § 2071(a) see e cece tee e ec ee cee eeese tens 2g

ae aus haa wk kas oe ee Meo ens 10

ED, ctw hobo esa enind vs ceaccen en kh 3,9

ee Ee een vai eax ache rh eu xs cueaees 2

Be as PD 6 nov es an vb cc cceecectacvinss 7

Be PRED ioc diewesuceede sucedseeenes 7

I 6 a5 Sp 6c bide adiek saver awe ces es 2

PU Ee MPEEED 6 bs 6s Kucnscdncconsusvsae’ 7,10

Pe We og vac va bv cccanveconscncces 11

Fed. R. Civ. P. 83(a)(1) ......0. cece eee. Skee 10

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners Director Edward Alameida of the California

Department of Corrections and Warden Michael Knowles of

Mule Creek State Prison respectfully petition for a Writ of

Certiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Ninth Circuit's second amended opinion (App. A) is

reported at Wyatt v. Terhune, 315 F.3d 1108 (9th Cir. 2003)

(Wyatt ITI). Superceded published opinion in this action are

reported at Wyatt v. Terhune, 280 F.3d 1238 (9th Cir. 2002)

(Wyatt I) and Wyatt v. Terhune, 305 F.3d 1033 (9th Cir. 2002)

(Wyatt IJ). The Ninth Circuit's published denials of petitioners'

petitions for rehearing are published at Wyatt v. Terhune, 305

F.3d 1033 (9th Cir. 2002) (App. D) and Wyatt v. Terhune, 315

F.3d 1108 (9th Cir. 2002) (App. E). The unpublished District

Court opinion granting petitioners' motion to dismiss is Wyatt

v. Terhune, CIV S 99-0503 LKK JFM P (E.D. Cal. 1999).

(App. B). The unpublished District Court opinion granting

petitioners' motion for summary judgment is Wyatt v. Terhune,

CIV S 99-0503 LKK JFM P (E.D. Cal. 1999). (App. C).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit, as reported in the second amended opinion,

was entered on January 2, 2003. (App. A). The court denied

petitioners’ petition for rehearing en banc from the first

a ee een

PARE LA ALLL LEO AR SES

amended opinion on December 31, 2002. (App. D). Petitioners

invoke this Court's jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

A. The Prison Litigation Reform Act of 1996 states in

relevant portion:

Tee ae ee eee ee

No action shall be brought with respect to

prison conditions under section 1983 of

this title, or any other Federal law, by a :

prisoner confined in any jail, prison, or

other correctional facility until such

administrative remedies as are available are

exhausted.

42 U.S.C. § 1997e(a).

B. The Rules Enabling Act provides in pertinent part:

The Supreme Court and all courts

established by Act of Congress may from

time to time prescribe rules for the conduct

of their business. Such rules shall be

consistent with Acts of Congress and rules

of practice and procedure prescribed under

section 2072 of this title.

ee eT ee ee ee ee

28 U.S.C. § 2071(a).

The Supreme Court shall have the power to

prescribe general rules of practice and

procedure and rules of evidence for cases

in the United States district courts

(including proceedings before magistrate

judges thereof) and courts of appeals.

28 U.S.C. § 2072(a).

C. The Federal Courts Study Act provides in pertinent

part:

The Conference shall also carry on a

continuous study of the operation and

effect of the general rules of practice and

procedure now or hereafter in use as,

prescribed by the Supreme Court for the

other courts of the United States pursuant

to law.

28 U.S.C. § 331.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent's civil complaint alleges that the California

Department of Corrections' grooming regulations violate his

constitutional and statutory rights to the free exercise of religion

and equal protection of the laws. Petitioners moved to dismiss

based upon respondent's failure to exhaust available

administrative remedies prior to bringing suit as required under

the Prison Litigation Reform Act of 1996 (PLRA). The district

court dismissed respondent's equal protection claim, but

eo

4

preserved the free exercise claim on the basis that exhaustion of

that claim would be futile.’

Petitioners subsequently followed the district court's

direction to move for summary judgment on the remaining free

exercise claim. The magistrate judge's order referenced the

factual findings of an analogous prior action and referred

respondent to a prior order stating certain "heightened notice"

requirements for opposing Rule 56 summary judgment motions

as required by the Ninth Circuit. See Rand v. Rowland, 154

F.3d 952 (9" Cir. 1998). Petitioners then filed a properly

noticed summary judgment motion, reiterated the Rand

heightened notice, and relied extensively upon the Magistrate

Judge's prior analysis. The district court then granted summary

judgment.

Respondent appealed both the court's dismissal of his

equal protection claim and the summary judgment terminating

his free exercise claim. Respondent challenged the dismissal by

arguing that a futility exception existed for the PLRA

exhaustion mandate. The Ninth Circuit did not address this

issue, and instead held, sua sponte and without briefing by the

parties, that petitioners' motion to dismiss should have been

denied because it relied on evidence extrinsic to the complaint,

and that the district court failed to convert the motion to one for

summary judgment. The court further sua sponte reversed the

district court by holding that PLRA exhaustion constituted an

affirmative defense for which petitioners bore the burden of

proof, and that petitioners had failed to meet that burden.

1. Petitioners note that the district court ruled without the benefit of this

Court's subsequent PLRA decision in Booth v. Churner, 532 U.S. 731 (2001), which

instructed that courts should “not read futility or other exceptions into statutory

exhaustion requirements where Congress has provided otherwise.” Jd. at 741 n. 6.

5

Respondent's appeal from summary judgment argued that

the magistrate judge took judicial notice of a prior action's

factual determinations in violation of Rule 201 of the Federal

Rules of Evidence. The Ninth Circuit explicitly declined to rule

on this issue and instead reversed, again sua sponte and without

party briefing, on the basis that respondent failed to receive fair

notice of the requirements for opposing summary judgment

under the Rand heightened notice doctrine.

Petitioners then petitioned for rehearing with a suggestion

for rehearing en banc on the basis that PLRA exhaustion was a

condition precedent to suit for which respondent bore the

pleading burden, and that a motion to dismiss provided a proper

procedural mechanism for this threshold challenge. The Wyatt

Panel then ordered supplemental briefing. Without granting

rehearing, the Wyatt Panel ruled that PLRA exhaustion must be

challenged under the "unenumerated" section of Rule 12(b) of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, that it remained an

affirmative defense for which petitioners bore the burden of

proof, and that the proof tendered was insufficient to affirm the

district court below. The Wyatt Panel also sua sponte extended

Rand heightened notice requirements from Rule 56 summary

judgment motions to Rule 12 motions to dismiss. The Ninth

Circuit also rejected the suggestion for a rehearing en banc.

Petitioners then petitioned for an en banc rehearing from

the first amended opinion. This petition challenged the Wyatt

Panel's ruling that Federal Rules notice and the two heightened

notices stating the requirements for opposing summary

judgment failed to provide respondent with sufficient notice.

The petition further challenged the Wyatt Panel's decision to

extend Rand heightened notice requirements to motions to

dismiss. Without further briefing or rehearing, the Wyatt Panel

filed a second amended opinion limiting the Rand extension to

motions to dismiss challenging administrative exhaustion, and

maintaining its prior Rand extension in the summary judgment

—

6

context. The Ninth Circuit also rejected petitioner's petition for

rehearing en banc. Petitioners then petitioned this Court for a

writ of certiorari.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THE PETITION SHOULD BE

GRANTED TO RESOLVE A

SIGNIFICANT SPLIT IN CIRCUIT

APPROACHES TO ENFORCING THE

PRISON LITIGATION REFORM

ACT'S EXHAUSTION MANDATE

This Court has recognized the importance of PLRA exhaustion

arguments in the federal courts by recently publishing two

unanimous opinions reversing appellate court attempts to limit

the exhaustion mandate. Porter v. Nussle, 534 U.S. 516 (2002);

Booth v. Churner, 532 U.S. 731 (2001). Federal caseload

profiles report that prisoner actions comprise approximately

one-fifth of all federal cases, numbering more than the federal -

courts' entire criminal docket.” However, this Court has not yet

addressed the pleading requirements for Congress' PLRA-

enacted defenses, nor that statute's heightened pleading

requirement through the rule announced in Swierkiewicz v.

Sorema, N.A., 534 U.S. 506 (2002). Accordingly, this

important and timely issue remains unresolved.

Two circuits have attempted to reconcile the PLRA

exhaustion mandate with the Swierkiewicz opinion's model for

2. The federal judiciary’s most recent and historical caseload profiles can

be electronically accessed at http:/Awww.uscourts.gov.

enacting pleading requirements, and reached diametrically

opposed results. In Baxter v. Rose, 305 F.3d 486 (6 Cir.

2002), the Sixth Circuit held that the PLRA created a formal

and statutory requirement that prisoner-plaintiffs plead and

establish exhaustion as a condition precedent to suit. Id. 489-

90. Baxter based this holding on its own precedent and the

integrated nature of the PLRA statutory mechanism. Under the

PLRA, the courts, rather than defendants, bear the primary

burden of screening complaints where no relief may be granted.

Id. at 4901; see 28 U.S.C. § 1915A(b)(1); 42 U.S.C. §

1997e(c\(1); 28 U.S.C. § 1915(e)(2)(B) (sections mandating

initial case screening and supplemental sua sponte dismissal

authority).

In Wyatt III, the Ninth Circuit reached a contrary result.

The Wyatt IIT Panel found that Congress did not use sufficiently

explicit language to create a pleading requirement under

Swierkiewicz. (App. A at 11-13) Wyatt III explicitly disagreed

with the Sixth Circuit's approach to PLRA exhaustion. (App.

A at 13 n. 12.) Accordingly, Wyatt II] creates an inter-circuit

conflict applying this Court's Swierkiewicz decision to PLRA

exhaustion.

The remaining circuit authority is badly fractured with

regard to the procedures governing PLRA exhaustion

challenges, and silent on the application of Swierkiewicz.

Courts holding that PLRA exhaustion is an affirmative defense,

including those referenced by Wyatt IIT, derive their view from

dicta in Jenkins v. Haubert, 179 F.3d 19, 28-29 (2d Cir. 1999),

noted as the court was dismissing on other grounds. See App.

A at 1la; Massey v. Helman, 196 F.3d 727, 734-35 (7th Cir.

1999) (relying on Jenkins); Foulk v. Charrier, 262 F.3d 687,

697 (8th Cir. 2001) (relying on Massey). The Second Circuit

statenient, in its entirety, reads as follows: "Because, under the

PLRA, aprisoner must exhaust administrative remedies before

filing a § 1983 suit and, in the case of suits seeking damages for

__LOO OEE

mental or emotional injuries, make a prior showing of physical

injury, a defendant in a prisoner § 1983 suit may also assert as

an affirmative defense the plaintiff's failure to comply with the

PLRA's requirements." Jenkins, 179 F.3d 19, 28-29.’

The circuits addressing this issue are also internally

divided. The Seventh Circuit's Massey v. Helman decision is

contradicted by Massey v. Wheeler, 221 F.3d 1030, 1034 (7th

Cir. 2000), which stated that "dismissal on the pleadings is

proper for failure to plead the exhaustion of all administrative

~ remedies." Other Seventh Circuit cases also state that

exhaustion is a "precondition" to suit. See Smith v. Zachary,

255 F.3d 446, 451-52 (7th Cir. 2001); Perez v. Wisconsin

Dep't of Corr., 182 F.3d 532, 534-36 (7th Cir. 1999). The

Eighth Circuit is similarly self-contradicting as it has held that

prisoner-plaintiffs must allege exhaustion in their complaints

and attach proof if it is available. McAlphin v. Morgan, 216

F.3d 680, 682 (8th Cir. 2000).

Similarly, the Third Circuit's Ray v. Kertes, 285 F.3d 287,

295 (3d Cir. 2002), adopted Wyatt, but is inconsistent with the

facts underlying its prior decision in Booth v. Churner, 206 F.3d

289, 292-93 (3™ Cir. 2000) (sua sponte dismissal based on

prisoner's failure to plead exhaustion), aff'd, 532 U.S. 731

(2001). This division within the Third Circuit mirrors that of

the Ninth. Prior to Wyatt III, the Ninth Circuit had itself

recognized without comment a district court's sua sponte

dismissal of a prisoner's action based on his failing to plead

exhaustion. Bennett v. King, 205 F.3d 1188, 1189 (9th Cir.

2000).

3. Wyatt Il also relies on Jackson v. District of Columbia, 254 F.3d 262

(D.C. Cir. 2001), to argue PLRA exhaustion is an affirmative defense. Jackson did

not decide this issue, however, and instead simply ruled that the defendants’ attempt

to assert exhaustion as an affirmative defense was untimely. Jd. at 267.

The Fifth Circuit follows a condition-precedent approach

similar to that of the Sixth Circuit requiring that the prisoner

plead exhaustion with "sufficient specificity" to prevent sua

sponte dismissal. Underwood v. Wilson, 151 F.3d 292, 294 (Sth

Cir. 1998). Additionally, in resolving Porter v. Nussle, 534

U.S. 516 (2002), this Court favorably referenced four circuit

court opinions each of which follows a "condition precedent" or

"precondition" approach. Smith v. Zachary, 255 F.3d 446, 451-

52 (7th Cir. 2001) ("precondition"), Higginbottom v. Carter,

223 F.3d 1259, 1261 (11th Cir. 2000) (same); Booth v.

Churner, 206 F.3d 289, 292-93 (3™ Cir. 2000) (sua sponte

dismissal based on prisoner's failure to plead exhaustion), aff'd,

532 U.S. 731 (2001); Freeman v. Francis, 196 F.3d 641, 643-

44 (6th Cir. 1999).

II.

THE PETITION SHOULD BE

GRANTED BECAUSE THE WYATT IIT

HEIGHTENED NOTICE

REQUIREMENTS CONFLICT WITH

THE RULES EMPLOYED BY ALL

OTHER CIRCUITS AND THE

FEDERAL RULES OF CIVIL

PROCEDURE

This Court has recognized that "experience teaches that

strict adherence to the procedural requirements specified by the

legislature is the best guarantee of evenhanded administration

of the law." McNeil v. United States, 508 U.S. 106, 112-13

(1993). Congress has also delegated rules-making authority

through legislation such as the Rules Enabling Act and Federal

Courts Study Act. 28 U.S.C. §§ 331, 2071(a), 2072(a). This

Court is accordingly authorized to prescribe such rules "for the

other courts of the United States pursuant to law." 28 U.S.C. §

331. Lower federal courts also possess authority, so long as

10

they comport with 28 U.S.C. § 2072, to give public notice and

then promulgate rules governing their own operations. Fed. R.

App. P. 47(a)(1); Fed. R. Civ. P. 83(a)(1). This Court's

Swierkiewicz opinion reiterated that rules modification "must be

obtained by the process of amending the Federal Rules, and not

by judicial interpretation." Swierkiewicz, 534 U.S. at 515.

In Wyatt II, the Ninth Circuit declined to follow this

approach, and instead extended a judicially-crafted, heightened

notice doctrine that requires district courts or defendants to

affirmatively advise a prisoner-plaintiff how to defeat the

defendants' summary judgment motion. Prior to Wyatt II, the

Ninth Circuit limited this doctrine to the summary judgment

context, reasoning that the complexity and terminal result of

summary judgment rendered Federal Rules notice requirements

inadequate. The Ninth Circuit then published Wyatt JI,

extending the heightened notice doctrine both to Rule 12

motions to dismiss and to other situations where summary

judgment might be unusually complex in the reviewing court's

opinion. (App. A at 5 n. 6.) The Wyatt IIT Panel sua sponte

reversed the district court on this ground and expressly declined

to rule on the issue respondent raised on appeal. (App. A at

11.) The Wyatt IIT Panel then found the district court's initial

heightened notice and subsequent reminder of that notice

inadequate, as well as petitioner's own heightened notice

warning. The Ninth Circuit further rejected petitioners request

for an en banc rehearing to address this sua sponte ruling.

Diametrically opposed to the Ninth Circuit's Wyatt

approach, the Sixth Circuit requires only the notice specified by

the Federal Rules for motions practice. Williams v. Browman,

981 F.2d 901, 903-04 (6th Cir. 1992). The First, Third, Eighth,

and Tenth Circuits have filed no opinions creating a heightened

notice requirement, indicating that the notice requirements

formally promulgated in the Federal Rules appear to govern in

these jurisdictions as well.

11

The Fifth Circuit concurs, and has held that "particularized

additional notice of the potential consequences of a summary

judgment motion and the right to submit opposing affidavits

need not be afforded a pro se litigant." Martin v. Harrison

County Jail, 975 F.2d 192, 193 (Sth Cir. 1992). Martin

recognized that "the notice afforded by the Rules of Civil

Procedure and the local rules" sufficiently notices a pro se party

of the need to oppose a summary judgment motion. Martin,

975 F.2d at 193. In rejecting a heightened notice rule, the

Martin court distinguished itself from other jurisdictions that

have adopted the rule in various forms. Jd. at 193 n.2 (citing

Neal v. Kelly, 963 F.2d 453, 456 (D.C. Cir. 1992); Graham v.

Lewinski, 848 F.2d 342, 344 (2d Cir. 1988); Brown v.

Shinbaum, 828 F.2d 707, 708 (ilth Cir. 1987);

Lewis v. Faulkner, 689 F.2d 100, 102 (7th Cir. 1982); and

Roseboro v. Garrison, 528 F.2d 309, 310 (4th Cir. 1975)).*

Of the heightened notice rules rejected by Martin, the D.C.

Circuit and Seventh Circuit version arose from the Federal

Rules' requirement that converting a Rule 12(b)(6) motion to

dismiss for failing to state a claim carries with it the

requirement that a plaintiff receive a "reasonable opportunity to

present all material made pertinent to such a motion by Rule

56" summary judgment proceedings. Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b).

This conversion occurs exclusively in the Rule 12(b)(6) context,

and only where a district court relies on materials extrinsic to

the pleading. Jd. Both the D.C. Circuit and Seventh Circuit

have held that such conversioris require that the district court

notify a prisoner-plaintiff of the need to respond and the time in

which a response will be accepted. Neal v. Kelly, 963 F.2d at

456. The Seventh Circuit subsequently extended this rule to a

notice requirement for all pro se litigants. Timms v. Frank, 953

4. Petitioners note that these courts largely lacked the rules-promulgating

guidance of the Rules Enabling Act and Federal Courts Study Act as both were

enacted in 1998.

12

F.2d 281, 285 (7th Cir. 1992). However, both circuits' rules rest

squarely on interpreting the Rule 12(b) conversion requirement.

The Fourth Circuit requires that a pro se "plaintiff be

advised of his right to file counter-affidavits or other responsive

material and alerted to the fact that his failure to so respond

might result in the entry of summary judgment against him."

Roseboro v. Garrison, 528 F.2d 309, 310 (4th Cir. 1975) (per

curiam). The court's opinion uses terms broadly encompassing

all pro se litigants, but was factually arising from a prisoner-

plaintiff action. The Fourth Circuit, in application, applies this

rule exclusively to prisoner-plaintiffs. Amzura Enterprises, Inc.

v. Ratcher, 18 Fed.Appx. 95, 105 n. 11 (4th Cir. 2001). The

Fourth Circuit also applies what amounts to a unique "harmless

error" rule where a prisoner-litigant is knowledgeable of the

rules governing summary judgment independent of receiving

heightened notice. Hummer v. Dalton, 657 F.2d 621, 624-25

- (4th Cir. 1981).

The Second Circuit follows a more expansive rule that

"(t]he failure of a district court to apprise pro se litigants of the

consequences of failing to respond to a motion for summary

judgment is ordinarily grounds for reversal." Ruotolo v. IRS,

28 F.3d 6, 8 (2d Cir. 1994). The Eleventh Circuit applies its

similar rule to all litigants, requiring "that an adverse party must

be given express, ten-day notice of the summary judgment

rules, of his right to file affidavits or other material in

opposition to the motion, and of the consequences of default."

Griffith v. Wainwright, 772 F.2d 822, 825 (11th Cir. 1985).

The Eleventh Circuit also once applied this rule to motions to

dismiss, though no published opinion has applied this rule

subsequently. Mitchell v. Inman, 682 F.2d 886, 887 (11th Cir.

1982) (per curiam). Accordingly, these courts most closely

approximate the Wyatt I/T rule, though even they do not require

multiple heightened notices within a single action or to address

a single summary judgment motion.

13

Accordingly, the Fifth and Sixth Circuits explicitly require

only the notice required by the Federal Rules. The First, Third,

Eighth, and Tenth Circuits have also never created a judicial

extension to these notice provisions. In contrast, the Fourth and

D.C. Circuits have judicially mandated a prisoners-only

heightened notice requirement in the summary judgment

context, while the Second and Seventh Circuits apply an

analogous heightened notice rule to all pro se litigants. Only

the Ninth and Eleventh Circuits have applied it to a Rule 12

motion not converted to summary judgment, though the

Eleventh has not repeated this application in nearly 20 years.

Only the Ninth Circuit has required heightened notice multiple

times during the course of a single summary judgment motion,

and only Wyatt IIT has recently applied this doctrine to motions

to dismiss.

14

CONCLUSION

Petitioners respectfully request that this Court grant their

petition for a writ of certiorari in order to resolve these

important and divisive issues.

Respectfully submitted,

BILL LOCKYER, Attorney General

’ of the State of California

ROBERT R. ANDERSON

—— Chief Assistant Attorney General

ALLEN R. CROWN

Acting Senior Assistant

Attorney General

PAUL A. BERNARDINO

Deputy Attorney General

MICHAEL J. WILLIAMS

Deputy Attorney General

Counsel of Record :

P.O. Box 944255

Sacramento, CA 94244-2550

(916) 323-7163 _

App. 1

APPENDIX A

Opinion, 305 F.3d 1033, withdrawn and superseded

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

Earl Wayne WYATT, Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

Cal A. TERHUNE; Suzan Hubbard, Warden, Defendants-

Appellees.

No. 00-16568.

Argued and Submitted Dec. 4, 2001.

Filed Jan. 2, 2003.

Inmate brought § 1983 action against California

Department of Corrections, alleging that prison hair-length

regulations violated his constitutional and statutory rights to

free exercise of religion and equal protection of the laws. The

United States District Court for the Eastern District of

California, Lawrence K. Karlton, J., granted summary judgment

for Department on First Amendment claim and dismissed

religious discrimination and equal protection claims. Inmate

appealed. After denying rehearing en banc, the Court of

Appeals, Fisher, Circuit Judge, held that: (1) trial court did not

comply with fair notice doctrine in granting summary judgment

on First Amendment claim; (2) Prison Litigation Reform Act's

(PLRA) administrative exhaustion requirement creates defense

to be raised and proved by defendants; and (3) alleged failure to

exhaust administrative remedies under PLRA did not support

dismissal of equal protection claim.

Reversed and remanded.

App. 2

Opinion, 305 F.3d 1033, withdrawn and superseded.

Grace K. Won, Farella Braun & Martel LLP, San

Francisco, California, for the plaintiff-appellant.

Bill Lockyer, Attorney General, Robert R. Anderson,

Chief Assistant Attorney General, Paul D. Gifford, Senior

Assistant Attorney General, Michael J. Williams, Paul A.

Bernardino, Deputy Attorneys General, Sacramento, California,

for the defendants-appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of California; Lawrence K. Karlton, Chief

Judge, Presiding. D.C. No. CV-99- 00503-LKK.

Before BRIGHT, [FN*] B. FLETCHER and FISHER,

Circuit Judges.

FN* The Honorable Myron H. Bright, Senior Circuit

Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit, sitting by designation.

FISHER, Circuit Judge.

Appellant Earl Wayne Wyatt, a Rastafarian inmate, filed

this

§ 1983 action challenging the California Department of

Corrections’ hair length regulations as a violation of his

constitutional and statutory rights to free exercise of religion

and equal protection of the laws. This appeal concerns three

procedural issues rather than the merits of Wyatt's claims.

In addressing Wyatt's First Amendment claim, the

magistrate judge assigned to the case served on the parties a

copy of his findings of fact from a different case challenging the

grooming regulations and directed defendants to file a summary

App. 3

judgment motion. He did not explain to Wyatt, a pro se

prisoner, the significance of the findings, that he intended to

take judicial notice of the findings in Wyatt's case or whether or

how Wyatt could dispute the findings in the summary judgment

process. Once defendants filed their summary judgment

motion, the magistrate judge indeed took extensive judicial

notice of his prior findings and recommended thai the district

court grant defendants summary judgment; the district court

adopted the findings and recommendation of the magistrate

judge in full. On appeal, Wyatt challenges the magistrate

judge's novel procedure as an improper use of judicial notice.

We do not decide whether use of the prior findings--at least in

some fashion--was improper use of judicial notice. Rather, we

conclude the procedure adopted here was flawed because it did

not meet the requirements of our fair notice doctrine, under

which the district court bears the responsibility of assuring that

a pro se prisoner litigant receives meaningful notice of summary

judgment procedures and requirements. We therefore reverse

the summary judgment on that ground.

The district court also dismissed Wyatt's religious

discrimination claim under a provision of the Religious

Freedom Restoration Act (RFRA) that had been declared

unconstitutional. While appeal of that dismissal *1112 was

pending, Congress enacted the Religious Land Use and

Institutionalized Persons Act (RLUIPA), which replaces the

void provisions of RFRA. We have discretion to remand a case

to the district court for further consideration when new laws

likely to influence a decision have become effective during the

pendency of an appeal. On remand, the district court should

grant Wyatt leave to amend his complaint to include a claim

under RLUIPA.

The district court also granted defendants’ motion to

dismiss Wyatt's equal protection claim under Rule 12(b) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, ruling that Wyatt had failed

App. 4

to demonstrate exhaustion of the inmate appeals process before

filing suit, as required by the Prison Litigation Reform Act

(PLRA). Whether the PLRA exhaustion requirement is a

defense or a pleading requirement is an issue of first impression

in this Circuit. We adopt the rule of the majority of circuits and

hold that it is a defense that must be raised and proved by the

defendant. The burden of establishing nonexhaustion therefore

falls on defendants. Because defendants did not meet this

burden, we also reverse the dismissal of Wyatt's equal

protection claim.

Facts and Procedural Background

Wyatt is an inmate incarcerated at Mule Creek State

Prison in Ione, California, serving a 17-year sentence for

voluntary manslaughter. As a tenet of his Rastafarian

religion, Wyatt wears his hair in dreadlocks. Defendants do

not dispute that Wyatt's religious beliefs are sincerely held or

that dreadlocks are a means of practicing the Rastafarian

religion. Seeking temporary and permanent injunctive relief,

Wyatt filed this § 1983 action in pro per against Cal Terhune

and Susan Hubbard ("defendants"), wardens of the prison,

challenging state prison grooming regulations, Cal.Code

Regs. tit. 15. § 3062(e), that require him to cut his hair.

[FN1] Female inmates are not subject to the same

regulations. [FN2] Wyatt has beer disciplined by prison

officials for refusing to comply with the regulations. Wyatt x

alleged that the regulations violate his First Amendment right :

to free exercise of religion, his Fourteenth Amendment right

to equal protection of the laws and his statutory free exercise

right under the Religious Freedom Restoration Act (RFRA),

42 U.S.C. § 2000bb et seg. The district court adopted the

findings and recommendations of the magistrate judge and

dismissed Wyatt's RFRA claim because RFRA has been

declared unconstitutional as applied to states, and dismissed

Wyatt's equal protection claim for failure to exhaust

App. 5

administrative remedies as required by the PLRA, 42 U.S.C.

§ 1997e(a). Adopting the findings and recommendation of

the magistrate judge, who in turn had taken judicial notice of

findings of fact from a similar case, the court then granted

summary judgment on Wyatt's remaining First Amendment

claim, ruling that the grooming regulations were rationally

related to legitimate penological interests.

FNL. The regulations provide in part: "A male

inmate's hair shall not be longer than three inches and

shall not extend over the eyebrows or below the top of

the shirt collar while standing upright. Hair shall be

cut around the ears, and sideburns shall be neatly

trimmed, and shall not extend below the mid-point of

the ear. The width of the sideburns shall not exceed

one and one-half inches and shall not include flared

ends." Cal.Code Regs. tit. 15. § 3062(e). The

grooming regulations were promulgated by the

California Department of Corrections as an

emergency regulation on October 16, 1997.

FN2. A "female inmate's hair may be any length"; if

"hair is long, it shall be worn up in a neat, plain style,

which does not draw undue attention to the inmate."

Id. § 3062(f).

#1113 We have jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291 and we

reverse.

I. First Amendment Claim

[1] By way of an order dated February 4, 2000, the

magistrate judge served a copy of his findings and

recommendations in Toyebo v. Terhune, No. S-98- 0292

(E.D.Cal. Aug. 28, 1990), on the parties and directed defendants

to file a motion for summary judgment with respect to Wyatt's

First Amendment claim. [FN3] Toyebo, which the magistrate

App. 6

judge previously had decided, involved an unsuccessful

challenge to the grooming regulations by a group of Native

American inmates. The magistrate judge's order did not say

anything about taking judicial notice of the Toyebo findings or

how they might otherwise be relevant to a summary judgment

motion. The February 4 order did, however, refer the parties to

a June 14, 1999, order of the magistrate judge that included an

explanation of how Wyatt, a pro se prisoner, could oppose

summary judgment and stated that facts that were not disputed

would be accepted as true.

FN3. The February 4, 2000 order states in relevant part:

In another action filed in this court, Toyebo v. Terhune,

No. CIV S-98- 0292 GEB JFM P, this court found that

the plaintiffs in that action were unlikely to succeed on

the merits of their First Amendment challenge to the

[California Corrections Department] grooming

regulations. A copy of the findings and

recommendations filed in the Toyebo case, and a copy

of the order of the district court adopting those findings

and recommendations is appended to this order. A

In light of the findings in Toyebo, defendants will be

directed to file a motion for summary judgment. Said

motion shall be briefed in accordance with the

provisions of Local Rule 78-230(m) and this court's

_ order filed June 14, 1999.

Defendants filed the invited motion for summary

judgment. They attached a copy of the Toyebo findings as an

exhibit, but did not explain in their motion whether or how the

findings were being proffered as evidence. At that time, Wyatt

did not object to defendants' attachment of the Toyebo findings

as an exhibit, nor did he submit evidence refuting them.

In a written report to the district court judge

recommending summary judgment, the magistrate judge took

App. 7

extensive judicial notice of the Toyebo findings. Relying on the

Toyebo findings, the magistrate judge adopted as undisputed

facts: (1) the list of defendants' justifications for the grooming

regulations; (2) defendants' testimony regarding the adverse

impact of accommodating religion by providing an exception to

the regulations; and (3) the finding that the increase in size of

the prison population had escalated the number of searches that

must be conducted._[FN4] Based almost entirely on these

judicially noticed findings, the magistrate judge applied the

four- factor analysis for alleged violations of prisoners’

constitutional rights under Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 89-91,

107 S.Ct. 2254, 96 L.Ed.2d 64 (1987), deemed Wyatt's case

controlled

by Friedman _y. Arizona, 912 F.2d 328 (9th Cir.1990)

(upholding prison grooming regulations prohibiting facial hair),

and recommended that the district court enter summary

judgment in favor of defendants. The district court adopted the

magistrate judge's recommendation.

FN4. The magistrate judge took judicial notice of

several other facts from Toyebo as well, including the

penalties imposed on an inmate who fails to comply

with the grooming regulations and that no religious

exception exists for the grooming regulations. These

facts, however, were independently supported by other

evidence in the record of this. case, including the

regulations themselves.

Although Wyatt néver formally objected to judicial

notice of the Toyebo findings; he *1114 did state in his

objections to the magistrate judge's report:

App. 8

The Magistrate furthermore relies upon the ruling in

[Toyebo]. Plaintiff's objections are based upon the fact

the court has failed to take into consideration plaintiff's

action on a case by case basis for which differs from

that of Friedman and Toyebo, surrounding essential

issues and arguments that differ in this action before the |

court.

[2] Represented by counsel in this appeal, Wyatt

contends that the magistrate judge's use of the Toyebo findings

constituted an improper procedural shortcut and that judicial

notice was improper under Rule 201 of the Federal Rules of

Evidence. Although we appreciate that the magistrate judge

was attempting to utilize an expeditious procedure, we have

held that taking judicial notice of findings of fact from another

case exceeds the limits of Rule 201. See M/V Am. Queen v. San

Diego Marine Constr. Corp., 708 F.2d 1483, 1491 (9th

Cir.1983) (stating general rule that "a court may not take

judicial notice of proceedings or records in another cause so as

to supply, without formal introduction of evidence, facts

essential to support a contention in a cause then before it").

[FNS] We need not resolve this appeal on that basis, however,

because we conclude that the novel summary judgment

procedure the magistrate judge adopted, without clear

instructions to Wyatt on how to navigate the procedure, runs

afoul of our decision in Rand v. Rowland, 154 F.3d 952 (9th

Cir.1998) (en banc), and requires reversal.

FNS. Factual findings in one case ordinarily are not

admissible for their truth in another case through

judicial notice. See 21 Charles Alan Wright & Kenneth

A. Graham, Jr., Federal Practice & Procedure § 5106

(Supp.2001) (stating "courts should distinguish between |

taking judicial notice of the truth of some extrajudicial

fact recited in a court record and the use of those facts

for some purpose that does not depend on the truth of

App. 9

the facts recited"). In agreement with M/V Am. Queen

other circuits have held that a court may not take

judicial notice of findings of fact from a different case

for their truth. Taylor v. Charter Med. Corp., 162 F.3d

827, 830 (Sth Cir.1998); Int'l Star Class Yacht Racing

Ass'n v. Tommy Hilfiger U.S.A., Inc., 146 F.3d 66, 70

(2d Cir.1998); Gen. Elec. Capital Corp. v. Lease

Resolution Corp., 128 F.3d 1074, 1082- 83 & n. 6 (7th

Cir.1997); Orix Credit Alliance, Inc. y. Delta Res., Inc.

(In_re Delta Res., Inc.), 54 F.3d 722, 726 (11th

Cir.1995); United States v. Jones, 29 F.3d 1549, 1553

(11th Cir.1994); Holloway v. Lockhart, 813 F.2d 874,

878-79 (8th Cir.1987).

[3][4] Under our precedents, the district court bears the

responsibility of assuring that a pro se prisoner litigant receives

fair notice of summary judgment requirements. Rand, 154 F.3d

at 960. Because of "the complexity of the summary judgment

rule combined with the lack of legal sophistication of the pro se

prisoner," the prisoner must obtain notice "phrased in ordinary,

understandable language calculated to apprise an

unsophisticated prisoner of his or her rights and obligations

under Rule 56." Jd.; see Klingele v. Eikenberry, 849 F.2d 409,

411-12 (9th Cir.1988) (holding that district courts are obligated

to advise prisoner pro per litigants of Federal Rule of Civil

Procedure 56 requirements). [FN6]

FN6. Rand requires that the prisoner be "informed of his

or her right to file counter-affidavits or other responsive

evidentiary materials and be alerted to the fact that

failure to do so might result in the entry of summary

judgment against the prisoner." 154 F.3d at 960. The

pro se prisoner must be "informed of the effect of losing

on summary judgment." Jd. The notice also should state

that if the pro se prisoner fails to controvert the moving

App. 10

party with opposing counter-affidavits or other

evidence, the moving party's evidence might be takenas -

the truth, and final judgment may be entered against the

prisoner without a trial. Jd. at 960-61.

*1115 Assuming that the magistrate judge's June 14, 1999 order

provided Wyatt with fair notice pursuant to Rand, the

magistrate judge's February 4, 2000 order undermined that

earlier notice. The latter order does not explain what purpose

the Toyebo findings would serve, whether or how Wyatt could

refute them or how they were to be reconciled with the June 14

Rand notice. Nor could Wyatt turn to the June 14 order for

answers to these questions. That order makes no reference to

any procedure to be followed when the court serves on the pro

se prisoner judicial findings of fact from another case.

Although the order explains the procedure Wyatt could follow

to "contradict defendant's evidence with counteraffidavits or

other admissible evidence" (emphasis added), it offers no clear

guidance on whether Wyatt could refute the Toyebo findings

and, if so, how.

[5] A Rand notice is ineffective when a subsequent

order injects renewed uncertainty and complexity into the

summary judgment procedure, creating the potential for those

harms that our fair notice rule strives to avoid. When the

magistrate judge issued his order of February 4, he was

obligated by the principles we affirmed in Rand to provide

Wyatt with fair notice of the significance of his act of serving

, the Toyebo findings on the parties, Wyatt's right to refute them,

how to refute them and the consequences of his failure to do so.

Under the right circumstances and with a proper regard

for the fairness of the proceedings, a district court is not barred

from utilizing fair and proper procedures that may economize

judicial resources. Pro se prison litigants, however, should not

be saddled with findings from prior cases where they had no say

App. 11

in the development of the record or in the strategic decisions

from which that record sprang. Because the magistrate judge

did not take the steps required by Rand, we hold that the

summary judgment procedure was in error and reversal is

required. [FN7]

FN7. For similar reasons, we express concern with the

magistrate judge's refusal to grant Wyatt's informal

request, contained

in his opposition to defendants’ motion for summary

judgment, for a stay pending discovery. The magistrate

judge dismissed Wyatt's request for a stay on the ground

that Wyatt had not complied with Rule 56(f). The

court's June 14, 1999 order suggests that a request for a

stay, whether or not in conformity with Rule 56/(f),

would be considered by the court, stating, "[i]f there is

some good reason why such facts are not available to

plaintiff when required to oppose such a motion, the

court will consider a request to postpone considering

defendant's motion." Wyatt's request "to stay

defendants['] motion until plaintiff has been [served]

with the requested discovery [responses by] defendants"

appears to have complied with the June 14 order.

II. RLUIPA Claim

In his complaint, Wyatt alleged a violation of the

Religious Freedom Restoration Act (RFRA), 42 U.S.C. §

2000bb-1. The district court dismissed the claim because City

of Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507, 117 S.Ct. 2157, 138 L.Ed.2d

624 (1997), had declared RFRA unconstitutional as applied to

the states. Subsequently, Congress enacted the Religious Land

Use and Institutionalized Persons Act (RLUIPA), 42 U.S.C. §

2000cc-1, which provides rights similar to those delineated in

RFRA. Wyatt contends that his RFRA claim should be

construed as a RLUIPA claim and reinstated. Defendants argue

App. 12

that RLUIPA was not pled or argued below and, therefore, is

not before this court.

[6] Although we construe a pro se prisoner's pleadings

liberally, Resnick v. Hayes, 213 F.3d 443, 447 (9th Cir.2000),

we decline to construe Wyatt's RFRA claim as a RLUIPA claim

or to consider the merits of Wyatt's RLUIPA claim for *1116

the first time on appeal. Nonetheless, the district court on

remand should grant Wyatt leave to amend his complaint to

plead a claim under RLUIPA. "This court may remand a case

to the district court for further consideration when new cases or

laws that are likely to influence the decision have become

effective after the initial consideration." White Mountain

Apache Tribe v. Arizona, 649 F.2d 1274, 1285-86 (9th

Cir.1981).

III. Equal Protection Claim

In his § 1983 complaint, Wyatt alleged that the prison

grooming regulations violate the Equal Protection Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment because they apply to men but

not to women. The district court dismissed this claim for

failure to satisfy the exhaustion requirement of the Prison

Litigation Reform Act (PLRA), which states:

No action shall be brought with respect to prison

conditions under section 1983 of this title, or any

other Federal law, by a prisoner confined in any jail,

prison, or other correctional facility until such

administrative remedies as are available are

exhausted.

42 U.S.C. § 1997e(a).

App. 13

A. Procedural History

Defendants raised nonexhaustion in a Rule 12 motion to

dismiss, as well as pleading it as an affirmative defense. The

motion argued for dismissal for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction under Rule 12(b)(1) and also argued that

"regardless" of whether nonexhaustion deprived the court of

jurisdiction, Wyatt's compizint should be dismissed for failure

to exhaust available prison remedies. Defendants now urge us

to construe this motion not only as a 12(b)(1) motion to dismiss

for want of subject matter jurisdiction but also as a

nonenumerated Rule 12 motion to dismiss for failure to exhaust

administrative remedies.

Defendants' arguments to the district court in support of

dismissal reflected uncertainty over how PLRA exhaustion

should be characterized. First, defendants argued as if PLRA

exhaustion imposes a heightened pleading requirement on

prisoners, asserting that Wyatt's equal protection claim should

be dismissed because his complaint "has only provided

evidence of appeal througli the second level. No Director's

Level appeal decision has been attached to the complaint."

Alternatively, defendants appear to have perceived exhaustion

as a defense that must be raised and proved by defendants. To

that end, they produced two documents for the purpose of

establishing that Wyatt did not exhaust administrative remedies.

One is an affidavit from a prison official explaining the inmate

appeals process in California. [FN8] It describes a three-level

procedure, the third and final step in which is the Director's

Level appeal. The affidavit, however, does not contain any

information about whether Wyatt took advantage of any or all

of these steps. Notably, it does not deny that Wyatt filed a

Director's Level appeal. Defendants produced a second

document, which they refer to as Wyatt's "Appeal Record."

According to defendants, the Appeal Record shows that Wyait

has filed only one Director's Level appeal since January 1, 1994,

App. 14

and that the one appeal "was for an issue other than the

grooming standard and [was] submitted in January 1998." The

document, however, is ambiguous on its face. It does not state

that it is a complete accounting of inmate appeals filed by

Wyatt, or indicate *1117 the subject of the one appeal listed.

Because the affidavit also fails to explain the significance of the

Appeal Record (or even to authenticate it), nothing in the record

establishes that the document is what defendants say it is or that

it shows what defendants contend it shows.

FN8. For a description of California's three-tiered

inmate appeal process, see Alexandroai v. Cal. Dep't o

Corr., 985 F.Supp. 968, 969- 70 (S.D.Cal.1997), and

Cal.Code Regs. tit. 15, § § 3084.1(a) and 3084.5.

On this record, the district court--adopting the

magistrate judge's findings and recommendations--dismissed

Wyatt's-equal protection claim for nonexhaustion. The court

did not make clear, however, under what provision of the

federal rules it was ordering dis.nissal, or explain its reason for

finding nonexhaustion.

[7] To determine whether the district court's dismissal

of Wyatt's equal protection claim was in error, we must address

two issues: first, whether exhaustion under the PLRA imposes

a pleading requirement on the plaintiff or creates a defense that

must be raised and proved by the defendant; and, second, the

appropriate procedural mechanism. for adjudicating the

existence or absence of exhaustion. Our review is, for the most

part, de novo. See Big Bear Lodging Ass'n v. Snow Summit,

Inc., 182 F.3d 1096, 1101 ir.1999) (motion to dismiss);

Alexander _v. Glickman, 139 F.3d 733, 735 (9th Cir.1998)

(questions of statutory interpretation). As explained below, we

review the district court's factual determinations fcr clear error.

App. 15

B. Pleading Requirement or Defense?

[8] The first question is whether the PLRA's exhaustion

requirement imposes a pleading requirement on the prisoner or

creates a defense that must be raised and proved by the

' defendant. [FN9] Those circuits to have considered this

question have reached different answers. The Sixth Circuit

imposes the burden on the prisoner. Brown v. Toombs, 139

F.3d_ 1102, 1104 (6th Cir.1998) (p r curiam). To satisfy §

1997e(a) in the Sixth Circuit, the prisoner must allege that he

exhausted all available administrative remedies and should

attach to his complaint the administrative decision, if it is

available, showing the disposition of the administrative claim.

Id. Five other circuits--the Second, Third, Seventh, Eighth and

D.C.--have described exhaustion as an affirmative defense that

must be raised and proved by the defendant. See Ray v. Kertes,

285 F.3d 287, 295 (3d Cir.2002); Foulk v. Charrier, 262 F.3d

687, 697 (8th Cir.2001); Jackson v. District of Columbia, 254

F.3d 262, 267 (D.C.Cir.2001); Massey v. Helman, 196 F.3d

727,735 (7th Cir.1999); Jenkins v. Haubert, 179 F.3d 19, 28-

29 (2d Cir.1999).

FN9. We recognize a third possibility. A statutory

exhaustion requirement may be jurisdictional. See, e.g.,

B.K.B. v. Maui Police Dep't, 276 F.3d 1091, 1099-1100

(9th Cir.2002) (treating the exhaustion requirement

under Title VII as jurisdictional). As we have held

previously, however, the PLRA exhaustion requirement

does not affect our subject matter jurisdiction. See

Rumbles v. Hill, 182 F.3d 1064, 1068 (9th Cir.1999).

Accordingly, our Title VII jurisprudence does not affect

the analysis here.

[9] Like these five circuits, we do not believe the PLRA

imposes a pleading requirement. In reaching a contrary

conclusion, the Sixth Circuit emphasized the strong language of

App. 16

§ 1997e(a), which begins "[n]o action shall be brought."

Toombs, 139 F.3d at 1104. Such language, however, is

inconclusive. As one court has observed, "[t]he language of

statutes of limitations tend[s] to be equally imperative," Jackson

v. District of Columbia, 89 F.Supp.2d 48, 56 (D.D.C.2000),

vacated and remanded on other grounds by 254 F.3d 262

(D.C.Cir.2001), yet it is well-settled that statutes of limitations

are affirmative defenses, not pleading requirements. E.g.,

Fed.R.Civ.P. 8(c); see also Perez v. Wisconsin Dep't of Corr.,

182 F.3d 532, 536 (7th Cir.1999) (likening exhaustion *1118

under the PLRA to a statute of limitations).

Indeed, as the Supreme Court recently affirmed, we will

not impose heightened pleading requirements where Congress

has not expressly instructed us to do so. See Swierkiewicz v.

Sorema, 534 U.S. 506, 122 S.Ct. 992, 152 L.Ed.2d 1 (2002

(holding that a complaint in an employment discrimination

lawsuit need not contain specific facts establishing a prima facie

case of discrimination under the McDonnell Douglas standard).

Writing for a unanimous Court, Justice Thomas explained that

"Rule 8(a)'s simplified pleading standard applies to all civil

actions, with limited exceptions." Jd at 998. [FN10] In

rejecting the lower court's imposition of a heightened pleading

requirement, the Court observed that Rule 8(a)'s simplified

pleading standard must be read in conjunction with Rule

8(e)(1), which states that "[n]o technical forms of pleading or

motions are required." Jd. The "limited exceptions" are those

that are explicit, such as Rule 9(b), which expressly "provides

for greater particularity in all averments of fraud or mistake."

Id. [FN11] Thus, "[a] requirement of greater specificity for

particular claims is a result that 'must be obtained by the process

of amending the Federal Rules, and not by judicial

interpretation.'" Jd. at 999 (quoting Leatherman vy. Tarrant

County Narcotics Intelligence and Coordination Unit, 507 U.S.

163, 168, 113 S.Ct. 1160, 122 L.Ed.2d 517 (1993)).

App. 17

FN10. Rule 8(a) provides that a complaint must include

only "a short and plain statement of the claim showing

that the pleader is entitled to relief."

FN11. Rule 9(b) states: "In all averments of fraud or

mistake, the circumstances constituting fraud or mistake

shall be stated with particularity."

We do not discern in § 1997e(a) the kind of express

congressional command referred to in Swierkiewicz and

exemplified by Rule 9(b). [FN12] Legislatures know how to

indicate that exhaustion is a pleading requirement when they

want to. See, e.g., Walton v. Nalco Chem. Co., 272 F.3d 13, 20-

21 (1st Cir.2001) ("Section 4622 [of the Maine Human Rights

Act], by its plain language, precludes any characterization of the

[administrative] exhaustion issue as a mere affirmative defense,

since it explicitly states that the plaintiff, rather than the

defendant, must 'plead[ ]' the requisite [administrative] filing.")

(footnotes omitted). The PLRA, of course, contains no such

command. See Ray, 285 F.3d at 297 *1119 (holding that the

PLRA does not impose a heightened pleading requirement and

stating that "courts should narrowly interpret statutory language

to avoid heightened

pleading standards").

FN12. In Toombs, 139 F.3d at 1104, the Sixth Circuit

characterized PLRA exhaustion as a "condition

precedent" to suit within the meaning of the special

pleading requirement of Rule 9(c). See Fed.R.Civ.P.

9(c) ( "In pleading the performance or occurrence of

conditions precedent, it is sufficient to aver generally

that all conditions precedent have been performed or

have occurred. A denial of performance or occurrence

shall be made specifically and with particularity."). We

do not think that Rule 9(c) has any application here,

however. See, e.g., EEOC v. Guar. Sav. & Loan Ass'n

App. 18

369 F.Supp. 36, 37 (D.Ala.1973) (holding that Rule 9(c)

applies to conditions precedent to liability but not to

matters that affect jurisdiction); Snyder v. Le Roy Dyal

Co., 1 F.R.D. 362, 362 (S.D.N.Y.1940) (holding that

Rule 9(c) applies to conditions going to create liability

or those which construct a legal capacity to sue but does

not require any allegation that procedural requirements

have been fulfilled); 5 Charles Alan Wright & Arthur

R. Miller, Federal Practice & Procedure § 1303 (stating

that Rule 9(c) "applies only to conditions ‘precedent,'

not to performance of procedural requirements for filing

the claim"). Even if PLRA exhaustion were a condition

precedent within the meaning of Rule 9(c), we would

not be compelled to agree with the Sixth Circuit. As we

have said previously, "Rule 9(c) does not expressly

require that performance of conditions be pled, it merely

sets forth the manner in which such pleadings should be

made." Kiernan y. Zurich Cos., 150 F.3d 1120, 1124

(9th Cir.1998).

Moreover, imposing a technical pleading requirement

without express congressional authorization would be contrary

to the liberal approach we take to pleadings by pro se prisoners.

See, e.g., United States v. Ten Thousand Dollars ($10,000.00)

in U.S. Currency, 860 F.2d 1511, 1513 (9th Cir.1988) ("We

have consistently held in this circuit that courts should liberally

construe the pleadings and efforts of pro se litigants,

particularly ‘where highly technical requirements are involved.’

") (quoting Garaux _v. Pulley, 739 F.2d 437, 439 (9th

Cir.1984)). In addition, prison officials are likely to have

greater legal expertise and, as important, superior access to

prison administrative records in comparison to prisoners, :

especially, as is often the case, when prisoners have moved

from one facility to another. We agree with the Third Circuit,

which has observed that "it is considerably easier for a prison

MRO NRT Ae PRT ae OR

App. 19

administrator to show a failure to exhaust than it is for a

prisoner to demonstrate exhaustion." Ray, 285 F.3d at 295.

[10] We therefore agree with five other circuits that

nonexhaustion under § 1997e(a) of the PLRA does not impose

a pleading requirement. We hold that § -1997e(a) creates a

defense--defendants have the burden of raising and proving the

absence of exhaustion. [FN13]

FN13. Defendants contend that characterizing PLRA

exhaustion as a defense is irreconcilable with Booth v.

Churner, 532 U.S. 731, 121 S.Ct. 1819, 149 L.Ed.2d

958 (2001), and McNeil v. United States, 508 U.S. 106,

113 S.Ct. 1980, 124 L.Ed.2d 21 (1993). We disagree.

Booth held that administrative remedies must be

exhausted even where the plaintiff seeks only monetary

relief and the inmate grievance procedure offers no such

relief. 532 U.S. at 733-34, 121 S.Ct. 1819. The opinion

did not address the procedural posture of the case or

comment on whether PLRA exhaustion is a pleading

requirement or defense. McNeil held that the district

court properly dismissed a claim under the Federal Tort

Claims Act (FTCA) where the suit was filed before

} completion of the administrative review process but

where the process was completed before the motion to

dismiss was filed. 508 U.S. at 110, 113 S.Ct. 1980.

Again, the Court did not address whether the FTCA's

exhaustion requirement was a defense or a pleading

requirement. Moreover, the case involved an

exhaustion requirement that the lower court determined

was jurisdictional in nature, whereas PLRA exhaustion

is not a jurisdictional requirement.

App. 20

_

C. The Proper Pretrial Motion for Establishing

Nonexhaustion

[11][12}[13][14][15] We next address the form of

pretrial motion to be used to resolve the State's contention that

the prisoner has failed to exhaust his administrative remedies.

In this Circuit, we have held that the failure to exhaust

nonjudicial remedies that are not jurisdictional should be treated

as a matter in abatement, which is subject to an unenumerated

Rule 12(b) motion rather than a motion for summary judgment.

See Ritza v. Int'l Longshoremen's & Warehousemen's Union,

837 F.2d 365. 368 (9th Cir.1988) (per curiam); see also

Inlandboatmens Union of the Pac. v. Dutra Group, 279 F.3d

1075, 1078 n. 1, 1083-84 (9th Cir.2002); Stauffer Chem. Co. v.

FDA, 670 F.2d 106, 108 (9th Cir.1982); Studio Elec.

Technicians Local 728 v. Int'l Photographers of the Motion

Picture Indus. Local 659, 598 F.2d 551,552 n. 2 (9th Cir. 1979).

These decisions are based on the general principle that

"[s]ummary judgment is on the merits," Stauffer Chem., 670

F.2d at 108, whereas "dismissal of an action on the ground of

failure to exhaust administrative remedies is not on the merits."

Heath v. Cleary, 708 F.2d 1376, 1380 n. 4 (9th Cir.1983). In

deciding a motion to dismiss for a failure to exhaust *1120

nonjudicial remedies, the court may look beyond the pleadings

and decide disputed issues of fact. See Ritza, 837 F.2d at 369.

[FN14] Ifthe district court concludes that the prisoner has not

exhausted nonjudicial remedies, the proper remedy is dismissal

of the claim without prejudice. See id. at 368 & n. 3.

FN14. For the reasons discussed in Section I of this

opinion, if the district court looks beyond the pleadings

‘ to a factual record in deciding the motion to dismiss for

failure to exhaust--a procedure closely analogous to

summary judgment--then the court must assure that

Wyatt has fair notice of his opportunity to develop a

record.

ee Mid ie 0 dn eee Rage ERT EROS eR oa)

App. 21

D. Application to the Facts Here

[16] It is not clear that the district court dismissed

Wyatt's equal protection claim employing the proper legal

standard or reached a factual finding that was not clearly

erroneous. Defendants argued in the district court, consistent

with the Sixth Circuit's position, that the burden of establishing

exhaustion fell on Wyatt and that Wyatt failed to attach

documents establishing exhaustion to his complaint. We have

rejected treating PLRA exhaustion as a pleading requirement or

requiring exhaustion to be established by the complaint.

Accordingly, if the district court dismissed Wyatt's claim on this

ground, we must reverse.

[17] Assuming in the alternative that the district court

relied on the documentary evidence produced by defendants, the

court's factual finding that Wyatt failed to exhaust nonjudicial

remedies was clearly erroneous. See Ritza, 837 F.2d at 369

(holding that we will review the district court's factual

determinations for clear error and its application of substantive

law de novo). The documents produced by defendants are

inadequate to establish that Wyatt failed to exhaust California's

administrative review process. The affidavit, although

describing the inmate appeals process, does not state whether or

not Wyatt has exhausted his appeals. There is no evidence in

the record establishing that the "Appeal Record" is what

defendants say it is. We cannot tell from the record whether

that document is a complete record of Wyatt's Director's Level

appeals. Nor does the record establish that the one appeal

shown on the document relates to a subject other than the prison

grooming regulations challenged here. Defendants have failed

to meet their burden of establishing that Wyatt did not exhaust

administrative remedies. [FN15]

FN15. The documents produced by defendants are

inadequate. Further factual development of the record

App. 22

is required. We note that both parties will be able to

offer additional evidence on remand. Wyatt's

~ supplemental brief to this Court states that he has a

letter from the Director of Prisons that confirms he has

exhausted his remedies to the third and final level. This

and any other evidence should be evaluated by the

district court.

[18] A third possibility is that the district court inferred

from Wyatt's making a futility argument that he conceded

nonexhaustion. A prisoner's concession to nonexhaustion is a

valid ground for dismissal, so long as no exception to

exhaustion applies. The record is not clear, however, that

Wyatt has conceded that he did not exhaust administrative

remedies.

We therefore vacate the order dismissing Wyatt's equal

protection claim and remand for further proceedings.

Conclusion

We reverse the summary judgment on Wyatt's First

Amendment claim and the Rule 12 dismissal of Wyatt's equal

protection claim as unexhausted and remand for further

proceedings. On remand, the district court also should grant

Wyatt leave to *1121 amend his complaint to include a claim

~ under RLUIPA.

REVERSED and REMANDED.

315 F.3d 1108, 54 Fed.R.Serv.3d 694, 3 Cal. Daily Op. Serv.

42, 2003 Daily Journal D.A.R. 106

be

é

4

F

4

%

=

%)

:

2

ee

5

&

Ss

App. 23

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

EARL WAYNE WYATT, No. CIV S-99-0503 LKK JFM P

Plaintiff, ORDER ‘

vs.

(Filed December 1, 1999)

CAL TERHUNE, et al.,

Defendants.

/

Plaintiff, a state prisoner proceeding pro se, has filed

this civil rights action seeking relief under 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

The matter was referred to a United States Magistrate Judge

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(B) and Local General Order

No. 262.

On October 18, 1999, the magistrate judge filed findings

and recommendations herein which were served on all parties

and which contained notice to all parties that any objections to

the findings and recommendations were to be filed within

twenty days. Plaintiff has filed objections to the findings and

recommendations.

In accordance with the provisions of 28 U.S.C. §

636(b)(1)(C) and Local Rule 72-304, this court has conducted

a de novo review of this case. Having carefully reviewed the

entire file, the court finds the findings and recommendations to

be supported by the record and by proper analysis.

App. 24

Accordingly, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that:

1. The findings and recommendations filed

October 18, 1999, are adopted in full;

2. Defendants' August 11, 1999 motion to

dismiss is denied as to plaintiff's First Amendment claim and

granted as to all other claims;

3. Defendants shall file an answer to plaintiff's

First Amendment claim within ten days from the date of this

order; and

4. Plaintiffs March 15, 1999 motion for

preliminary injunction is denied.

DATED: Nov 30, 1999.

/s/ Lawrence K. Karlton

UNITED STATES

MAGISTRATEJUDGE _

United States District Court

for the

Eastern District of California

December 1, 1999

Ric

App. 25

* * CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE * *

2:99-cv-00503

Wyatt

V.

Terhune

I, the undersigned, hereby certify that I am an employee in the

Office of the Clerk, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of

California.

That on December 1, 1999, I SERVED a true and correct

copy(ies) of the attached, by placing said copy(ies) in a

postage paid envelope addressed to the person(s) hereinafter

listed, by depositing said envelope in the U.S. Mail, or by

placing said copy(ies) into an inter-office delivery receptacle

located in the Clerk's office.

Earl Wayne Wyatt SJ/LKK

C-80121

Mule Creek State Prison CF/JFM

PO Box 409000

Ione, CA 95640

Kathleen Elizabeth Gnekow

Attorney General's Office of the State of California

PO Box 944255

1300 I Street, Suite 125

Sacramento, CA 94244-2550

Jack L. Wagner, Clerk

/s/ [Illegible]

By: Deputy Clerk

App. 26

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

EARL WAYNE WYATT, No. CIV S-99-0503

LKK JFM P

Plaintiff,

FINDINGS &

VS. RECOMMENDATIONS

CAL TERHUNE, et al., (Filed Oct. 18, 1999)

Defendants.

/

Plaintiff is a state prisoner proceeding pro se with a civil

rights action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Plaintiff claims that

his First Amendment right to religious freedom and his

Fourteenth Amendment right to equal protection of the laws are

being violated by grooming regulations promulgated and

implemented by defendants, the Director of the California

Department of Corrections (CDC) and the Warden of Mule

Creek State Prison (Mule Creek). Specifically, plaintiff claims

that the regulations unconstitutionally burden the requirements

of his Rastafarian faith, which include the wearing of long hair,

_and that the regulations impcse greater restrictions on males

than females and therefore are discriminatory in violation of the

equal protection clause. Plaintiff also claims that defendants

have also violated his right to the protection of the Fifth

Amendment's Double Jeopardy clause by reimposing on

plaintiff a previously withdrawn punishment for failing to

comply with the grooming regulations. Finally, plaintiff

contends that the punishment imposed for failing to comply

with the

App. 27

ee

grooming regulations will extend his release date by two years.°

Plaintiff has moved for injunctive relief, and defendants have

moved to dismiss the action for failure to exhaust

administrative remedies.

I. Defendants' Motion to Dismiss

Defendants have moved to dismiss pursuant to Fed. R.

Civ. P. 12(b)(1), contending that the court lacks subject matter

jurisdiction because plaintiff has failed to exhaust

administrative remedies as required by 42 U.S.C. § 1997e(a).

Plaintiff contends that administrative exhaustion would be

futile.

Section 1997e(a) of Title 42 of the United States Code

provides:

No action shall be brought with respect to prison

conditions under section 1983 of this title, or

any other Federal law, by a prisoner confined in

any jail, prison, or other correctional facility

until such administrative remedies as are

available are exhausted.

42 US.C. § 1997e(a). The exhaustion requirement of §

1997e(a) is not jurisdictional. Rumbles v. Hill, 182 F.3d 1064,

1067 (9" Cir. 1999). It is, however, mandatory. Id. at 1066.

Plaintiff has not exhausted administrative remedies. He

argues, however, that findings by this court in another action,

5. Plaintiff also includes a claim under the Religious Freedom and

Restoration Act (RFRA). However, the United States Supreme Court has held that

RFRA is unconstitutional as applied to the states. See City of Boerne v. Flores, 521

U.S. 507 (1997) (discussed in Sutton v. Providence St. Joseph Medical Center, 1999

WL 7184666 (9 Cir., Sent. 16, 1999)).

App. 28

Toyebo_ v. Terhune, No. CIV S-98-0292 GEB JFM P,

demonstrate that administrative exhaustion would be futile. In

Toyebo, this court found after an evidentiary hearing that no

CDC official is empowered to grant a religious exemption from

the grooming regulations at issue and, therefore that

administrative exhaustion of a First Amendment claim would

be futile. (Toyebo v. Terhune, Findings and Recommendations

filed August 20, 1998, at 3-4 & n.3.) A copy of the Toyebo

findings and recommendations is appended to these findings

and recommendations.® For the reasons set forth therein,

plaintiff should not be required to administratively exhaust his

First Amendment claim before proceeding with that claim in

this action.

Neither the record in Toyebo nor the record in this

action, however, permit a similar finding with respect to

plaintiff's other claims. Plaintiff has not demonstrated that

administrative remedies are unavailable for either his equal

protection clause claim or his claims arising out of the

punishment imposed for his non-compliance with the

regulations.’

For the foregoing reasons, defendants' motion to dismiss

should be granted as to all claims except plaintiff's First

Amendment claim and denied with respect to that claim.

6. A copy of the district court's-September 28, 1998 order adopting the

findings and recommendations in Toyebo is also appended.

7. The allegations of plaintiff's complaint suggest that defendants once

corrected punishment imposed on plaintiff for non-compliance with the grooming

regulations. See Complaint, at 4. |

SD AM etna Ila OED Nile oes ERATE RET NG ~ Ce a

App. 29

II. Plaintiff's Motion for Injunctive Relief

Plaintiff seeks injunctive relief in the form of an order

requiring defendants to cease all adverse action against him and

to restore to plaintiff all privileges and programs he was

afforded prior to his non-compliance with the grooming

regulations.

The legal principles applicable to a request for

injunctive relief are well established. To prevail, the moving

. party must show either a likelihood of success on the merits and

the possibility of irreparable injury, or that serious questions are

raised and the balance of hardships tips sharply in the movant's

favor. See Coalition for Economic Equity v. Wilson, 122 F.3d

692, 700 (9" Cir. 1997); Oakland Tribune, Inc. v. Chronicle

Publ'g Co., 762 F.2d 1374, 1376 (9 Cir. 1985). The two

formulations represent two points on a sliding scale with the

focal point being the degree of irreparable injury shown.

Oakland Tribune, 762 F.2d at 1376. "Under any formulation of

the test, plaintiff must demonstrate that there exists a significant

threat of irreparable injury." Id. In the absence of a significant

showing of possible irreparable harm, the court need not reach

the issue of likelihood of success on the merits. Id.

For the reasons set forth in this court's findings and

recommendations in Toyebo, the law of this circuit requires the

court to find that it is highly unlikely that plaintiff will succeed

on his First Amendment claim. See Toyebo, Findings and

Recommendations at 11-15, citing Friedman v. State of

Arizona, 912 F.2d 328, 331 (9" Cir. 1990), cert. denied sub

nom., Naftel v. Arizona, 498 U.S. 1100 (1991). For this reason,

a preliminary injunction cannot be issued on plaintiff's First

Amendment claim.®

8. Injunctive relief is not proper on plaintiff's other claims because they

must be dismissed for the reasons set forth in Section I.

App. 30

In accordance with the above, IT IS HEREBY

RECOMMENDED that:

1. Defendants’ August 11, 1999 motion to dismiss be

denied as to plaintiff's First Amendment claim and granted as

to all other clainis;

2. Defendants be directed to file an answer to plaintiff's

First Amendment claim within ten days from the date of any

order by the district court adopting these findings and

recommendations;

3. Plaintiff's March 15, 1999 motion for preliminary

injunction be denied.

These findings and recommendations are submitted to

the United States District Judge assigned to the case, pursuant

to the provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1). Within twenty days

after being served with these findings and recommendations,

any party may file written objections with the court and serve a

copy on all parties. Such a document should be captioned

"Objections to Magistrate Judge's Findings and

Recommendations." Any reply to the objections shall be served

and filed within ten days after service of the objections. The

parties are advised that failure to file objections with the

specified time may waive the right to appeal the District Court's

order. Martinez v. Ylst, 951 F.2d 1153 (9" Cir. 1991).

DATED: October 13, 1999.

/s/_ John F. Moulds

UNITED STATES

MAGISTRATE JUDGE

App. 31

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

DAMIAN TOYEBO, et al., No. CIV S-98-0292 GEB JFM P

Plaintiffs, FINDINGS &

RECOMMENDATIONS

VS.

(Filed August 20, 1998)

C. A.TERHUNE, etal.,

Defendants.

/

Plaintiffs are three Native American state prisoners

proceeding through counsel with a civil rights action pursuant

to 42 U.S.C. § 1983. The complaint was filed on February 13,

1998. Plaintiffs are challenging the California Department of

Corrections' (CDC or Department) new grooming policy

claiming it violates their religious beliefs by requiring them to

cut their hair. Defendants are the Director of the CDC and the

wardens of the prisons in which plaintiffs are incarcerated. By

orders filed March 24, 1998, and May 7, 1998, the district court

issued temporary restraining orders prohibiting defendants from

enforcing the grooming policy against the plaintiffs in this

action. This matter is before the court on defendants' motion to

dismiss and plaintiffs' motion for preliminary injunction.

BACKGROUND

On October 16, 1997, the CDC promulgated what it

styled an emergency regulation setting forth new grooming

standards for inmates housed at all CDC institutions. The

regulation, codified at California Code of Regulations, title 15,

section 3062(e), provides, inter alia, that hair be cut to no longer

App. 32

than three inches in length. Under the new emergency

grooming regulation, if a prisoner fails to comply, he faces

punitive sanctions, including progressively harsher disciplinary

actions, such as housing and program _ reassignments,

suspension of privileges, limitation of family visitation,

disciplinary detention or confinement, loss of good time earning

status, and forfeiture of earned good time credit.’ There are no

religious exemptions to the regulation.

Ke

DEFENDANTS' MOTION TO DISMISS

On April 15, 1998, defendants filed a motion to dismiss

this action on two separate grounds. First, they contend that the

court lacks subject matter jurisdiction because plaintiffs have

not exhausted their administrative remedies as required by

section 1997e of Title 42 of the United States. Second, they

contend that the court should abstain from exercising

jurisdiction and either dismiss the state law claims or exercise

its discretion to dismiss the entire case. The motion came on

regularly for hearing on May 22, 1998. Jay Peterson and Donya

Fernandez appeared as counsel for plaintiffs. Jane Lamborn,

Deputy Attorney General, appeared as counsel on behalf of

defendants.

5S AEP LY DR AMLE SABIAN AE ANGE EIEN TONE BR AALS ARE OPIIE SEEDS DALAL HOO EAK LIM 1 OE

I. Motion to Dismiss for Failure to Exhaust Administrative

Remedies

Section 1997e(a) of Title 42 of the United States Code

provides:

[n]o action shall be brought with respect to

prison conditions under section 1983 of this

title, or any other federal law, by a prisoner

1. Cal. Code Regs., tit. 15 § 3062(e) (amended\"Grooming Standards");

§ 3062(m) (amended), § 3014(e) (amended) (f(D) (amended).

App. 33

confined in any jail, prison, or other corrections

facility until such administrative remedies as are

available are exhausted.

- 42 U.S.C. § 1997e(a). Defendants contend that plaintiffs have

not exhausted available administrative remedies and that this

court therefore lacks jurisdiction over this action.

The jurisdictional aspect of the exhaustion argument is

readily dealt with. While there is no binding authority on point

from this circuit, a number of courts have already held that the

language of § 1997e is not of the sort to deprive a district court

of jurisdiction. See e.g., Wright v. Morris, 111 F.3d 414 (6

Cir. 1997), cert. denied, _ U.S.__, 118 S.Ct. 263 (1997);

Palomino v. Stanton, No. C 96-2984, 1997 WL 350099 (N.D.

Cal. 1997); Lacey v. C.S.P. Solano Medical Staff. et al., 990

F.Supp. 1199 (E.D. Cal. 1997).

Defendants contend that the action should be dismissed

because plaintiffs have not exhausted the internal grievance

procedure of the CDC, title 15 California Code of Regulations

§§ 3084 et seq., before bringing this action. Before bringing

this action, in accordance with California Government Code

section 11340.6 which provides, inter alia, that any interested

person may petition a state agency to request the amendment or

repeal of a regulation, plaintiff Toyebo petitioned the CDC and

requested a religious exemption to the grooming regulation on

behalf of all American Indian prisoners. The CDC rejected

plaintiff Toyebo's petition on December 15, 1997 and its

decision was published in the California Regulatory Law

Bulletin ("CRLB"). See 97-52 CRLB 763 (Barclays 1997).

Plaintiff Toyebo then requested the CDC to reconsider its

decision under section 1 1340.7(e) of the California Government

Code. On January 21, 1998 the CDC denied his request and its

decision was published in the CRLB. See 989-6 CRLB 90

(Barclays 1998). The regulations were adopted without

ai App. 34

providing for any religious exemption. It is undisputed that no

CDC official has an authority to grant a religious exemption

from the grooming regulation for any inmate.’

Upon consideration of the record herein, the court finds

that by requesting creation of a religious exemption and

reconsideration of the denial of that request; plaintiffs have

exhausted all administrative remedies available to them. There

is no offi8cial in the prison grievance system with authority to

grant an individual prisoner a religious exemption and no

further administrative remedy available for the claims at bar.’

For these reasons, defendants' motion to dismiss for failure to

exhaust administrative remedies should be denied.

II. The Motion to Dismiss on Abstention Grounds

Defendants contend that this court should abstain from

deciding this case pursuant to abstention doctrines set forth in

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971), Railroad Comm'd v.

Pullman Co., 312 U.S. 496 (1941) and Colorado River Water

Conservation Dist. v. U.S., 424 U.S. 800 (1976). Defendants'

contentions are without merit.

2. David Tristan, Deputy Director for Institutions Division and all three

wardens of the institutions where plaintiffs are incarcerated testified that they are not

empowered to grant religious exemptions under the regulation as promulgated.

(Warden Ratelle Deposition at 156, lines 21-25; Tristan Deposition Vol. II at 93,

lines 16-19, Tristan Deposition Vol. II at 94, lines 1-4; Warden Clarke Deposition

at 52, lines 22-24; Warden Hubbard Deposition at 76, lines 1-7; Tristan Testimony

on Direct, April 9, 1998 Evidentiary Hearing at 85; lines 20-23; at 86, lines 21-24).

3. For the same reason, exhaustion of individual grievances through the

prison grievance system would be futile; it is plaine that all such grievances would

be rejected.

PSO PN AR Ne MRIS ME FR ANU PGI TBE RR Nay a RON A RUAN CEN HR NRO AR NI IC

App. 35

"[F]ederal courts have a ‘virtually unflagging obligation’

: exercise jurisdiction where it exists." Martinez v. Newport

each City, 125 F.3d 777, 780 (9" Cir. 1997) (quoting Miofsky

aE sor Court of the State of California, 703 F.3d 332, 338

(9" Cir. 1983)). That obligation is "particularly weighty"

where, as here, the plaintiffs present claims under the Civil

Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Miofsky, 703 F.2d at 338

(quoted in Martinez, 125 F.3d at 781-82. "Abstention from the

exercise of federal jurisdiction is the exception, no the rule." -

Colorado River, 424 U.S.C. at 813. The question raised by

defendants’ motion is whether this case nonetheless presents

one of the exceptional circumstances that require abstention

from the exercise of that jurisdiction.

"Younger abstention is proper where: (1) there are

ongoing state judicial proceedings; (2) that implicate important

state interests; and (3) there is an adequate opportunity in the

state proceedings to raise federal questions." Martinez, 125

F.3d at 781. "Younger's scope is closely circumscribed to

parties actually involved in state litigation; even the presence of

co-plaintiffs representing identical interests in state proceedings

does not extend Younger to parties not actually involved in the

proceedings." Benavidez v. Eu, 34 F.3d 825, 832 (9" Cir.

1994). Plaintiffs in this action are not parties to any state

action.* Younger abstention is therefore not proper in this case.

"Pullman abstention is an equitable doctrine that allows

federal courts to refrain from deciding sensitive federal

constitutional questions. Abstention is appropriate when: (1)

the federal plaintiffs complaint requires resolution of a

Sensitive question of federal constitutional law; (2) the

constitutional question could be mooted or narrowed by a

4. Defendants argue that plaintiffs can intervene in any of a number of

pending state actions, but they offer no authority for the proposition that the doctrine

of Younger abstention requires that they do so.

App. 36

definitive ruling on the state law issues; and (3) the possibly

determinative issue of state law is unclear." The San Remo

Hotel v. City and County of San Francisco, 145 F.3d 1095,

1104 (9" Cir. 1998). Pullman abstention is generally limited to

cases in which the questions of state law are intertwined with

the question of federal law. See San Remo Hotel, 145 F.3d at

1100. The state law claims raised herein are separate from the

federal constitutional claims. Pullman abstention is not

required.

Colorado River abstention "is to be applied on an even

more limited basis than the traditional abstention doctrines" and

only in "exceptional circumstances." Martinez 125 F.3d at 784

(quoting Colorado River, 424 U.S. at 813). Factors which

support abstention under this doctrine include "the desirability

of avoiding piecemeal litigation, the inconvenience of the

federal forum, . . . the order in which jurisdiction was obtained

by the concurrent forums, . . . whether the source of the

governing law is state or federal, and . .. whether the state court

proceedings could adequately protect the federal plaintiff's

rights." Martinez, 125 F.3d at 784. Although the plaintiff's

claims could be raised in state court proceedings, none of the

other factors weigh in favor of abstention, and this case does

not present the type of exceptional circumstances that would

warrant abstention under Colorado River.

For all of the foregoing reasons, defendants’ motion to

dismiss should be denied.

PLAINTIFFS MOTION FOR PRELIMINARY

INJUNCTION

An evidentiary hearing on plaintiffs' motion for a

preliminary injunction was held on April 1, and April 2, 1998.

Donya Fernandez, John Arai Mitchel, and Jay Peterson

appeared as counsel on behalf of plaintiffs. Jane Lamborn,

PR eC Reo DB er

rape RI pene NIN

RP Wr ce RD .

App. 37

Deputy Attorney General, appeared on behalf of defendants.

All three plaintiffs testified as did two expert witnesses called

by plaintiff and two expert witnesses called by defendants. On

April 20, 1998, plaintiffs filed their post hearing brief. On May

8, 1998, defendants filed their responsive post hearing brief.

On May 19, 1998, plaintiffs filed their reply.

Plaintiffs seek a preliminary injunction prohibiting

defendants from enforcing the hair length provisions of the new

grooming regulation against them. Plaintiffs raise four federal

constitutional claims in their first amended complaint: first,

that the regulation deprives them of the right to free exercise of

their religion in violation of the First and Fourteenth

Amendments; second, that the regulation deprives them of their

due process rights in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment by

revoking any good time credit earned by plaintiffs and

reassignment plaintiffs to non-credit earning status because of

their religious beliefs and practices; third, that the regulation

deprives them of their substantive due process rights in

violation of the Fourteenth Amendment by subjecting them to

the coerced cutting of their hair and thereby infringing upon

their fundamental rights to privacy and bodily integrity; and

fourth, that the regulation deprives them of their equal

protection rights in violation of the Fourteenth Amendment

because the grooming standards prohibit male prisoners from

wearing their hair long, while female prisoners retain the option

of doing so. Plaintiffs also raise several state law claims.

Plaintiffs seek injunctive relief on the basis of their first and

third claims for relief, both of which are predicated on the

federal constitution, and on their sixth and eighth claims for

relief, which are based on provisions of the California

constitution.’

5. Plaintiffs do nct rely on either their federal procedural due process

claim or their federal equal protection claim to support their motion for injunctive

relief. The court will not, therefore, address those claims at this time.

App. 38

I. Preliminary Injunction Standards

The legal principles applicable to a request for

‘injunctive relief are well established. To prevail, the moving

party must show either "(1) a likelihood of success on the merits

and the possibility of irreparable injury, or (2) the existence of

serious questions going to the merits and the balance of

hardships tipping in [the moving party's] favor." Oakland

Tribune, Inc. v. Chronicle Publishing Co., 762 F.2d 521, 523

(9" Cir. 1985) (quoting Apple Computer Inc. v. Formula Int'l,

725 F.2d 521, 523 (9" Cir. 1984)); see also Hartikka v. United

States, 754 F.2d 1516, 1518 (9" Cir. 1985). The two

formulations represent two points on a sliding scale with the

focal point being the degree of irreparable injury shown.

Oakland Tribune, 762 F.2d at 1376. "Under either formulation

of the test, plaintiff must demonstrate that there exists a

significant threat of irreparable harm, the court need not reach

the issue of likelihood of success on the merits. Id.

II. Plaintiffs' Legal Claims

A. Plaintiffs' First Amendment Claim

1. Legal Standards

"Among the rights prisoners possess is the right to the

free exercise of religion, subject to limitations justified by the

considerations underlying or penal system." Malik v. Brown,

16 F.3d 330, 332 (citing O'Lone v. Estate of Shabazz, 482 U.S.

342, 348 (1987)). First Amendment protection is afforded to

_claims based on sincerely held religious beliefs. Malik, 16 F.3d

_———__ at 333. To warrant protection, the belief or practice at issue

must be central to religious faith. See Graham v. C.LR., 822

F.2d 844, 850-51 (9 Cir. 1987), aff'd 490 U.S. 680 (1989).

However, constitutional protection is limited by the deference

afforded to prison administrators; "when a prison regulation

App. 39

impinges on inmates’ constitutional rights, the regulation is

valid if it is reasonably related to legitimate penological

interests." Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987).

Four factors are assessed to determine whether a prison

regulation is reasonably related to legitimate penological

interests:

(1) whether the regulation has a logical

connection to the legitimate government

interests invoked to justify it;

(2) whether alternative means of exercising the

_ right on which the regulation impinges remain

open to prison inmates;

(3) the impact that accommodation of the

asserted right will have on guards, other

inmates, and prison resources; and

(4) the absence of ready alternatives that fully

accommodate the prisoner's rights at de

minimus cost to valid penological interests.

Friedman v. State of Arizon, 912 F.2d 328, 331 (9" Cir. 1990)

(quoting Harper v. Wallingford, 877 F.2d 728, 732 (9% Cir.

1989)), cert. denied sub nom., Naftel v. Arizona, 498 U.S. 1100

(1991).

2. Application

a. Sincerity of Plaintiffs' Belief

At the evidentiary hearing, plaintiffs, who have hair

longer than allowed by the new regulations, testified that they

are Native Americans who have a sincere religious belief that

App. 40

their hair is sacred and that they are unable to comply with the

hair cutting provisions of the regulations because of their

religious belief. (See April 1, 1998 Transcript of Evidentiary

Hearing (hereafter "R.T."), at 9-102)

Defendants presented no evidence to rebut plaintiffs’

showing that they are sincere in their religious beliefs. This

court finds that plaintiffs' religious beliefs are sincereiy held.

b. Centrality of Long Hair to Native

American Religion

Plaintiffs have also shown that wearing long hair is a

central tenet of their religion. In addition to their own

testimony, plaintiffs submitted the sworn affidavit of Deward

Walker, a professor of ethnic studies and anthropology at the

University of Colorado, in which Dr. Walker explained:

For most traditional American Indians, hair is

closely connected to one's innermost being and

has important social and religious significance.

Hair is a central aspect of one's person,

constitutes part of one's identity as an Indian

person, and can be a major requirement for

participation in religious life. It is widely

believed among American Indians that hair has

a sacred religious significance. Hair is an

external manifestation of inner spirituality. A

threat to a practitioner's hair is a threat to his

spiritual and social identity and general well

being.

Among traditional American Indians, hair is

often worn in a religiously prescribed manner.

App. 41

One's hair is usually cut only as a sign of

mourning for deceased relatives or as a personal

sacrifice made as part of a sacred vow. Hair is

rarely, if ever, cut for other reasons and should

be allowed to grow according to tribal traditions

and sacred prescriptions.

(Declaration of Deward E. Walker, Jr., Ph.D., at 90-91; see also

April i, 1998, R.T. at 155.)° Ronald J. Wermuth, an expert on

Native American culture presented by defendants, confirmed

that, though not required, long hair is central to the spiritual

practice of Native American religion. (Transcript of

Proceedings, April 2, 1998, at 160-61, 169-70.) There is no

serious dispute that having long hair is a central tenet of

plaintiffs’ religious faith.

Based on careful consideration of the evidence in the

record, this court finds that the CDC grooming policy interferes

with a practice central to plaintiffs’ sincere religious faith, and

hence with plaintiffs' First Amendment rights. The court must

now, therefore, examine whether the regulation is nonetheless

valid under the standards set forth in Turner v. Safley, supra.

c. Reasonableness of the Grooming

Policy

i. Logical Connection to

Legitimate Penological

Interests

The Depa.iment advances the following penological

interests as justification for the grooming policy:

6. The fact that long hair aiso has a social significance does not diminish

its sacred nature of Native American Religion.

App. 42

Legitimate penological interests support

uniform grooming standards which assist in the

identification of particular inmates who are

outside of their approved area; by aiding in the

identification of prisoners who are responsible’

for creating disturbances; and to assist in the

apprehension and identification of escapees.

Prison restrictions on hair length assist

correctional officers in searches of inmates for

concealment of contraband including dangerous

materials, reduce ihe difficulty and time needed

to conduct searches, and aid in the promotion of

hygienic and healthy living conditions inside the

prisons.

Reasons supporting grooming standards are: (1)

discipline and respect for authority requires that ~

individual members of the institutional sub-

society accede to the needs for quick

identification of persons and gender; (2) health

and safety require hygienic conditions and the

ability to make effective use of safety devices

e.g. eye shields, headgear, and face masks; (3)

instead of animosity among members displaying

their individual loyalties or preferences requires

a more uniform appearance [sic]; and (4)

security requires the ability to efficiently

search/detect weapons and other contraband. Z

if

(Exhibit A to Plaintiffs' Memorandum of Points and Authorities

in Support of Motion for Preliminary Injunction, filed February

25, 1998.) - David Tristan, the Deputy Director for the

Institutions Division of the CDC, testified at the evidentiary

App. 43

hearing concerning these justifications and the support for them.

(April 2, 1998, RT, passim.)

Plaintiffs offered the testimony of a correctional expert,

George Earl Sullivan, who has forty-three years of experience

in the corrections field. Mr. Sullivan testified that neither the

Federal Bureau of Prisons nor forty of the fifty states have

restrictive grooming policies. (April 1, 1998, R.T. at 182-185.)

He testified, based on his experience, that the grooming policy

was not necessary to advance penological interests asserted as

justification therefor. (Id., passim. He specifically testified that

"there is no prison security or penological justification for

requiring short hair on the basis of prisoner identification, or to

preclude or assist in the apprehension of an escape. These are

not, again, cause/effect relationships. There, are, are illusionary

justifications for a new policy that simply have [sic] no basis in

operational fact as far as

prison management is concerned, in my opinion." Id. at 201.)

He offered similar testimony about other proffered

justifications. (Id. at 192-93 (cleanliness and hygiene); 195-200

(contraband).)

Courts are required to give deference to security

concerns expressed by prison officials. Harper v. Wallingford,

877 F.2d at 733 (citing cases). Moreover, in Friedman, the

court of appeals held that prison officials are not required to

justify regulations by reference to "concrete evidence;"

reference to "anticipated security problems" is sufficient.

Friedman, 912 F.2d at 332. Specifically, the Friedman court

noted that Turner v. Safley "requires that courts allow prison

officials 'to anticipate security problems and to adopt innovative

solutions to the intractable problems of prison administration."

Id. at 332-33 (quoting Turner, 482 U.S. at 89.

App. 44

In Friedman, the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit held that a grooming policy regulating the length

of beards served legitimate penological interests where the state

of Arizona offered testimony that the policy aided in the rapid

and accurate identification of inmates, thereby fostering "(1)

orderly conduct of day-to-day activities; (2) identification of

prisoners responsible for disturbances; (3) apprehension of

escapees." Friedman, 912 F.2d at 331-32. Defendants have

offered substantially identical justifications here. In light of

Friedman, this court is compelled to find that defendants have

established a logical connection between their grooming policy

and legitimate penological justifications.

ii. Alternatives for Free Exercise

of Native American Religion

The second prong of Tumer requires the court to

examine whether plaintiffs retain alternative means of

practicing their religious faith. Under Friedman, this test "is not

the weighing of what religious practices take the place of

[wearing long hair.]" Id. at 332. Rather the inquiry is whether

plaintiffs retain their ability to participate in other Native

American religious practices, or, instead, whether they have

been "denied ‘all means of expression’ of their religion." Id.

All three plaintiffs testified that there is no substitute for

long hair in their religious practice and no evidence was

presented to the contrary. That, however, is not the inquiry as

set forth in Friedman. Rather, the inquiry is whether cutting

their hair denies them all means of expressing their religious

faith. Plaintiffs each testified that they participate in

purification and pipe ceremonies. (April 1, 1998, R.T. at 17-18

(Alto), 44 (Toyebo), 84 (Stoneroad).) Plaintiff Alto testified

that long hair is not required for participation in those

ceremonies. (Id. at 31.) Given the test described in Friedman,

in the absence of evidence that cutting the plaintiffs' hair denied

App. 45

them all means of expressing their Native American religious

faith, the court must find that the second Turner factor does not

weight against the regulation at issue.

iii. act of Accommodation

The third Turner factor requires assessment of the

impact that accommodation of plaintiffs' First Amendment right

will have on guards, other inmates, and prison resources. David

Tristan testified that CDC officials considered religious

exemption but came to the conclusion that it would be

extremely difficult to administer such an exemption; in

particular, he testified that they determined it would be very

difficult to establish whether long hair was a fundamental tenet

of specific religions, and whether a particular inmate had a

sincerely held religious belief that required an exemption.

(April 2, 1998, R.T. at 86.) He also testified, however, that the

CDC has mechanisms for identifying inmate membership in

particular religious faiths, particularly when they are received

into the CDC, and that they try to accommodate religious

practices consistent with institutional security. (Id. at 87-88.)

Defendants also argue that accommodating these

plaintiffs will have a "ripple effect" and cause other inmates to

seek accommodation. This effect is not weighted heavily,

however, because it "is always present when special

accommodation are made for religious beliefs." Ashelman v.

Wawzzaszek, 111 F.3d 674, 677 (9" Cir. 1997). Defendants

have not presented persuasive evidence that accommodation of

plaintiffs' First Amendment rights would have a harmful effect

on prison security or resources. Cf. Friedman, 912 F.2d at 332

(testimony that accommodation will "flood prison officials"

with claims to the religious faith and/or practice being

accommodated and that guards will have more difficulty

identifying prisoners is sufficient to favor the reasonableness of

a grooming regulation.)

App. 46

iv. Availability of Ready

Alternatives

The final Turner factor requires the court to assess

whether there are "ready alternatives that fully accommodate the

prisoner's rights at de minimus cost to valid penological

interests." "'The absence of ready alternative is evidence of the

reasonableness of a prison regulation,' [citation omitted], while

the existence of alternatives may be ‘evidence that the [policy]

is not reasonable but is an ‘exaggerated response’ to prison

concerns." Ward v. Walsh, 1 F.3d 873, 879 (9 Cir. 1993)

(quoting Turner, 482 U.S. at 90-91), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1192

(1994).

Plaintiffs contend that the following alternatives exist:

maintaining current identification photographs, taking

photographs of long-haired inmates with their hair pulled back,

conducting routine hair searches, and restricting facial hair only.

(Plaintiffs' Post-Hearing Brief, filed April 20, 1998, at 20.)

Defendants argue that none of these alternatives can be

accomplished at de minimus cost to the security, health and

safety issues proffered to justify the grooming policy.

This court is persuaded that some of the alternatives

suggested by plaintiffs would be easy and obvious. The law,

however, is otherwise. In Friedman, the court of appeals

rejected a contention that photographing inmates with and

without a beard could be accomplished at de minimus cost to

security interests, because an inmate could always change his

appearance after the photograph was taken. That reasoning

preclud3es this court from finding that photograph alternatives

are easy, obvious alternatives to the grooming policy.

Moreover, defendants presented testimony that the increase in

size of the inmate population has increased dramatically the

number of searches that must be conducted; this evidence

App. 47

precludes the court from finding that additional searches could

be accomplished at de minimus.

3. Conclusion

The court finds that plaintiffs are sincere in their

religious beliefs, that long hair is central to their spiritual

practice, and that defendants' grooming policy impinges on the

free exercise of their religion. In this court's view, however, the

decision in Friedman, which is authority that binds this court,

precludes this court from finding that defendants’ grooming

policy is unreasonable. Absent the decision in Friedman, this

court would readily find from this record that the majority of

reasons tendered to support the regulation are post hoc

rationalizations and that defendants' grooming policy is

exaggerated response to the proffered concerns. Nonetheless,

the law of this circuit as set forth in Friedman requires this court

to conclude that defendants' grooming policy is reasonably

related to legitimate penological interests and, therefore, that

plaintiffs are unlikely to succeed on the merits of their claim

that the grooming policy impermissibly infringes on their

federal constitutional right to free exercise of religion.

B. Substantive Due Process

Plaintiffs also claim that the grooming regulation

violates their right to bodily integrity protected by the due

process clause of the federal constitution. Assuming arguendo

that substantive due process rights are implicated by involuntary

hair cutting, the plaintiffs have not demonstrated a likelihood

that they will prevail on this claim.

"The Ninth Circuit has set forth factors to consider in

determining whether substantive due process has been violated:

App. 48

‘In determining whether substantive due process

rights have been violated, we will look to such

factors as the need for the governmental action

in question, the relationship between the need

and the action, the extent of harm inflicted, and

whether the action was taken in good faith or for

the purpose of causing harm."

Sinaloa Lake Owners Ass'n v. City of Simi Valley, 882 F.2d

1398, 1409 (9" Cir. 1989) (citations omitted), cert. denied, 494

U.S. 1016 (1990). In view of the findings in section I, infra,

and the fact that there is no evidence that the grooming

regulation was enacted for the purpose of causing harm, there

is little chance that plaintiffs will succeed on their substantive

due process claim.

C. Threat of Irreparable Harm/Balance of Hardships

It is plain to this court that enforcement of the grooming

regulations will substantially injure the plaintiffs' right to free

exercise of their religious beliefs, and that the balance of

hardships tips in favor of the plaintiffs. However, for the

reasons set forth above, it is highly unlikely that plaintiffs will

succeed on the merits of either their First Amendment or their

substantive due process claim. Under the circumstances, a

preliminary injunction cannot be issued.

D. State Law Claims

Plaintiffs also support their motion for injunctive relief

with two claims predicated on the California Constitution.

However, this court cannot issue an injunction against state

officials solely on the basis of alleged violations of state law.

See Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halderman, 45 U.S.

89 (1984). 7

~ App. 49

Accordingly, IT IS HEREBY RECOMMENDED

THAT:

1. Defendants' April 13, 1998 motion to dismiss

be denied; and

2. Plaintiffs' February 25, 1998 motion for

preliminary injunction be denied.

These findings and recommendations are submitted to

the United States District Judge assigned to the case, pursuant

to the provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1). Within ten days

after being served with these findings and recommendations,

any party may file written objections with the court and serve a

copy on all parties. Such document should be captioned

"Objections to Magistrate Judge's Findings and

Recommendations." Any reply to the objections shall be served .

within ten days after service of the objections. The parties are

advised that failure to file objections within the specified time

may waive the right to appeal the District Court's order.

Martinez v. Ylst, 951 F.2d 1153 (9" Cir. 1991). The parties are

cautioned that no extensions of time to file objections to these

findings and recommendations will be granted.

DATED: August 19, 1998.

/s/ John F. Moulds

UNITED STATES

MAGISTRATE JUDGE

App. 50

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

DAMIAN TOYEBO, et al., No. CIV S-98-0292

GEB JFM P

Plaintiffs, RDER

VS.

(Filed September 28, 1998)

C. A.TERHUNE, et al.,

Defendants.

/

Plaintiffs are three state prisoners proceeding through

counsel with this civil rights action seeking relief under 42

U.S.C. § 1983. The matter was referred to a United States

Magistrate Judge pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(B) and

Local General Order No. 262.

On August 20, 1998, the magistrate judge filed findings

and recommendations herein which were served on all parties

and which contained notice to all parties that any objections to

the findings and recommendations were to be filed within ten

days. Plaintiffs and defendants have filed objections to the

findings and recommendations, and the parties have each filed

a reply to the other's objections.’

In accordance with the provisions of 28 U.S.C. §

636(b)(1)(C) and Local Rule 72-304, this court has conducted

1. On September 22, 1998, defendants filed a request for an extension of

time until September 25, 1998 to file their reply. The request was granted.

Defendants submitted a reply on September 25, 1998.

App. 51

a de novo review of this case. Having carefully reviewed the

entire file, the court finds the findings and recommendations to

be supported by the record and by proper analysis.

Accordingly, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that:

1. The findings and recommendations filed

August 20, 1998 are adopted in full;

2. Defendants' April 13, 1998 motion to dismiss

is denied; and

3. Plaintiffs' February 25, 1998 motion for

preliminary injunction is denied.

DATED: September 28, 1998.

/s/ John F. Moulds

UNITED STATES

MAGISTRATE JUDGE

United States District Court

for the

Eastern District of California

September 28, 1998

App. 52

* * CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE * *

2:98-cv-00292

I, the undersigned, hereby certify that I am an employee in the

Office of the Clerk, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of

California.

That on September 28, 1998, I SERVED a true and correct

copy(ies) of the attached, by placing said copy(ies) in a

postage paid envelope addressed to the person(s) hereinafter

listed, by depositing said envelope in the U.S. Mail, or by

placing said copy(ies) into an inter-office delivery receptacle

located in the Clerk's office.

Jay Bixby Petersen SF/GEB

California Indian Legal Services -

510 16" Street CF/JFM

Suite 301

Oakland, CA 94612-1500

App. 53

Jane L. Lamborn

Attorney General's Office of the State of California

PO Box 944255

1300 I Street

Suite 125

Sacramento, CA 94244-2550

Jack L. Wagner, Clerk

/s/ [Illegible]

By: Deputy Clerk

App. 54

United States District Court

for the

Eastern District of California

October 14, 1999

* * CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE * *

2:99-cv-00503

Wyatt

V.

Terhune

I, the undersigned, hereby certify that I am an employee in the

Office of the Clerk, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of

California.

That on October 14, 1999, ISERVED a true and correct

copy(ies) of the attached, by placing said copy(ies) in a

postage paid envelope addressed to the person(s) hereinafter

listed, by depositing said envelope in the U.S. Mail, or by

placing said copy(ies) into an inter-office delivery receptacle

located in the Clerk's office.

Earl Wayne Wyatt CF/JFM

C-80121

Mule Creek State Prison SJ/LKK

PO Box 409000

Ione, CA 95640

App. 55

Kathleen Elizabeth Gnekow

Attorney General's Office of the State of California

PO Box 944255

1300 I Street

Suite 125

Sacramento, CA 94244-2550

Jack L. Wagner, Clerk

/s/_ K. Carlos

By: Deputy Clerk

App. 56

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

EARL WAYNE WYATT, No. CIV S-99-0503

LKK JFM P

Plaintiff, FINDIN

RECOMMENDATIONS

VS.

(Filed May 11, 2000)

CAL TERHUNE, et al.,

Defendants.

/

Plaintiff is a state prisoner proceeding pro se with a civil

rights action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Plaintiffclaims that

his First Amendment right to religious freedom is being

violated by grooming regulations promulgated and implemented

by defendants, the Director of the Caiifornia Department of

Corrections (CDC) and the former Warden of Mule Creek State

Prison (Mule Creek).' Specifically, plaintiff claims that the

regulations unconstitutionally burden the requirements of his

Rastafarian faith, which include the wearing of dreadlocks.

1. Plaintiff's other challenges to the grooming regulations were dismissed

for failure to exhaust administrative remedies. (See Order filed December 1, 1999,

at 2.)

App. 57

This matter is before the court on defendants' motion for

summary judgment.’

SUMMARY JUDGMENT STANDARDS UNDER

RULE 56

Summary judgment is appropriate when “it is

demonstrated that there éxists "no genuine issue as to any

material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment

as a matter of law." Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c).

Under summary judgment practice, the moving

party always bears the initial responsibility of

informing the district court of the basis for its

motion, and identifying those portions of "the

pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories, and admissions on file, together

with the affidavits, if any," which it believes

demonstrate the absence of a genuine issue of

material fact.

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323 (1986) (quoting

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c)). "[W]here the nonmoving party will bear

the burden of proof at trial on a dispositive issue, a summary

judgment motion may properly be made in reliance solely on

the ‘pleadings, depositions, answers tc interrogatories, and

admissions on file."" Id. Indeed, summary judgment should be

entered, after adequate time for discovery and upon motion,

2. Plaintiff has included in his opposition to defendants’ motion an

assertion that defendants have failed to provide him with "additional discovery" that

are "key elements" to his claim. Plaintiff asks that the court deny defendants’

summary judgment motion or stay disposition thereof until plaintiff has been served

with the requested discovery. Plaintiff has failed to comply with the requirements

of Rule 56(f) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. His request for a stay of this

motion will therefore be denied.

App. 58

against a party who fails to make a showing sufficient to

establish the existence of an element essential to the party's

case, and on which that party will bear the burden of proof at

trial. See id. at 322. "[A] complete failure of proof concerning

an essential element of the nonmoving party's case necessarily

renders all other facts immaterial." Id. In such a circumstance,

summary judgment should be granted, "so long as whatever is

before the district court demonstrates that the standard for entry

of summary judgment, as forth in Rule 56(c), is satisfied." Id.

at 323.

If the moving party meets its initial responsibility, the

burden then shifts to the opposing party to establish that a

genuine issue as to any material fact actually does exist. See

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S.

574, 586 (1986). In attempting to establish the existence of this

factual dispute, the opposing party may not rely upon the

allegations or denials of its pleadings but is required to tender

evidence of specific facts in the form of affidavits, and/or

admissible discovery material, in support of its contention that

the dispute exists. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e); Matsushita, 475

U.S. at 586 n.11. The opposing party must demonstrate that the

fact in contention is material, i.e., a fact that might affect the

outcome of the suit under the governing law, see Anderson v.

Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986); T.W. Elec.

Serv., Inc. v. Pacific Elec. Contractors Ass'n, 809 F.2d 626, 630

(9" Cir. 1987); and that the dispute is genuine, i.e., the evidence

is such that a reasonable jury could return a verdict for the

nonmoving party, see Wool v. Tandem Computers, Inc., 818

F.2d 1433, 1436 (9" Cir. 1987).

In the endeavor to establish the existence of a factual

dispute, the opposing party need not establish a material issue

of fact conclusively in its favor. It is sufficient that "the

claimed factual dispute be shown to require a jury or judge to

resolve the parties’ differing versions of the truth at trial." T.W.

App. 59

Elec. Serv., 809 F.2d at 631. Thus, the "purpose of summary

judgment is to ‘pierce the pleadings and to assess the proof in

order to see whether there is a genuine need for trial."

Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 587 (quoting Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e)

advisory committee's note on 1963 amendments).

In resolving the summary judgment motion, the court

examines the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories,

and admissions on file, together with affidavits, if any. Fed. R.

Civ. P. 56(c). The evidence of the opposing party is to be

believed. See Anderson, 477 U.S. at 255. All reasonable

infer4ences that may be drawn from the facts placed before the

court must be drawn in favor of the opposing party. See

Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 587. Nevertheless, inferences are not

drawn out of the air, and it is the opposing party's obligation to

produce a factual predicate from which the inference may be

drawn. See Richards v. Nielsen Freight Lines, 602 F.Supp.

1224, 1244-45 (E.D. Cal. 1985), aff'd, 810 F.2d 898, 902 (9"

Cir. 1987). Finally, to demonstrate a genuine issue, the

opposing party "must do more than simply show that there is

some metaphysical doubt as to the material facts .... Where

the record taken as a whole could not lead a reational trier of

fact to find the for the nonmoving party, there is no ‘genuine

issue for trial." Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 587 (citation omitted).

On June 14, 1999, the court advised plaintiff of the

requirements for opposing a motion pursuant to Rule 56 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. See Rand v. Rowland, 154

F.3d 952, 957 (9™ Cir. 1998) (en banc), cert. denied, _ US.

__,119-S. Ct. 2392 (1999); Klingele v. Eikenberry, 849 F.2d

40%, 411-12 (9" Cir. 1988).

App. 60

ANALYSIS

I. Undisputed Facts

The grooming regulation at issue was promulgated by

the CDC on October 16, 1997, as an emergency regulation. It

provides, inter alia, that the hair of male prisoners be cut to no

longer than three inches in length. Cal. Code Regs., tit. 15 §

3062(e). Under the new emergency grooming regulation, if a

prisoner fails to comply, he faces punitive sanctions, including

progressively harsher disciplinary actions, such as housing and

program reassignments, suspension of privileges, limitation of

family visitation, disciplinary detention for confinement, loss of

good time earning status, and forfeiture of earned good time

credit. Id. at § 3062(m), (n); Toyebo v. Terhune, No. CIV S-98-

0292 GEB JFM P, Findings and recommendations, filed August

20, 1998, at 2. There is no religious exemption to the

regulation. Cal. Code Regs., tit. 15 § 3062(h)(2); Toyebo

Findings and Recommendations, at 2, 4.

Plaintiff asserts that he is a sincere member of the

Rastafarian faith, and that a tenet of that faith forbids the cutting

of his hair. Plaintiff has been found guilty of two

administrative violations and one serious rules violation for

refusing to cut his hair. On January 26, 1999, he was assigned

to "C" status based on the latter serious rules violation. "C"

status inmates are generally confined to their cells with the

exception of time for yard release, dayroom activities, and

meals. Their access to institutional programs is limited to

weekdays from 10:00: a.m. to 12:00 p.m., and they are

3. A court may take judicial notice of court records. See MGIC Indem.

Co. v. Weisman, 803 F.2d 500, 505 (9* Cir. 1986); United States vy. Wilson, 631

F.2d 118, 119 (9* Cir. 1980). On February 4, 2000, the parties to this action were

served with a copy of this court's findings and recommendations filed in the Toyebo _

case.

App. 61

limited to their cells on weekends and holidays except for

breakfast and dinner.

II. Legal Standards

"Among the rights prisoners possess is the right to the

free exercise of religion, subject to limitations justified by the

considerations underlying our penal system." Malik v. Brown,

16 F.3d 330, 332 (citing O'Lone v. Estate of Shabazz, 482 U.S.

342, 348 (1987)). First Amendment protection is afforded to

claims based on sincerely held religious beliefs. Malik, 16 F.3d

at 333. To warrant protection, the belief or practice at issue

must bé central to religious faith. See Graham v. C.LR., 822

F.2d 844, 850-51 (9" Cir. 1987), aff'd 490 U.S. 78 (1987).

Four factors are assessed to determine whether a prison

regulation is reasonably related to legitimate penological

interests:

(1) whether the regulation has a logical

connection to the legitimate government

interests invoked to justify it;

(2) whether alternative means of exercising the

right on which the regulation impinges remain

open to prison inmates;

(3) the impact that accommodation of the

asserted right will have on guards, other

inmates, and prison resources; and

(4) the absence of ready alternatives that fully

accommodate the prisoner's rights at de minimis

cost to valid penological interests.

Friedman v. State of Arizona, 912 F.2d 328, 331 (9" Cir. 1990)

App. 62

(quoting Harper v. Wallingford, 877 F.2d 728, 732 (9" Cir.

1989)), cert. denied sub nom., Naftel v. Arizona, 498 U.S. 1100

(1991).

For purposes of this summary judgment motion, it

appears undisputed that plaintiff is sincere in his Rastafarian

religious faith and that among the central tenets of the

Rastafarian faith is a prohibition on cutting hair. The question

before the court is whether the grooming policy, which plainly

impinges on that tenet, is nonetheless valid.

1. Logical Connection to Valid Penological

Interests

The CDC has advanced several justifications for the

grooming regulations:

Legitimate penological interests support

uniform grooming standards which assist in the

identification of particular inmates who are

outside of their approved area, by aiding in the

identification of prisoners who are responsible

for creating disturbances; and to assist in the

apprehension and identification of escapees.

Prison restrictions on hair length assist

correction officers in searches of inmates for

concealment of contraband including dangerous

materials, reduce the difficulty and time needed

to conduct searches, and aid in the promotion of

hygienic and healthy living conditions inside the

prisons.

App. 63

Reasons supporting grooming standards are: (1)

discipline and respect for authority require that

individual members of the institutional sub-

society accede tot he needs for quick

identification of persons and gender; (2) health

and safety require hygienic conditions and the

ability to make effective use of safety devices

e.g. eye shields, headgear, and face masks; (3)

instead of animosity among members displaying

their individual loyalties or preferences requires

a more uniform appearance [sic]; and (4)

security requires the ability to efficiently

search/detect weapons and other contraband.

Toyebo Findings and Recommendations, at 10 (citation

omitted).*

Courts are required to give deference to security

concerns expressed by prison officials. Harper v. Wallingford,

877 F.2d at 733 (citing cases). Moreover, in Friedman, the

court of appeals held that prison officials are not required to

justify regulations by reference to "concrete evidence;"

reference to "anticipated security problems" is sufficient.

Friedman, 912 F.2d at 332. Specifically, the Friedman court

noted that Turner v. Safley "requires that courts allow prison

officials 'to anticipate security problems and to adopt innovative

solutions to the intractable problems of prison administration."

Id. at 332-33 (quoting Turner, 482 U.S. at 89).

4. This court conducted an evidentiary hearing in the Toyebo case on a

motion for preliminary injunction. At the hearing, David Tristan, the Deputy

Director for the Institutions Division of the CDC, testified concerning these

justifications and the support for them. (Toyebo v. Terhune, Reporter's Transcript

(RT), April 2, 1998, passim.)

App. 64

In Friedman, the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit held that a grooming policy regulating the length

of beards served legitimate penological interests where the state

of Arizona offered testimony that the policy aided 1 the rapid

and accurate identification of inmates, thereby fostering "(1)

orderly conduct of day-to-day activities; (2) identification of

prisoners responsible for disturbances; (3) apprehension of

escapees." Friedman, 912 F.2d at 331-32. The CDC has

offered substantially identical justifications here. In light of

Friedman, this court is compelled to find that defendant has

established a logical connection between their grooming policy

and legitimate penological justifications.

2. Alternatives for Free Exercise of Rastaiarian

Religions

The second prong of Tumer requires the court to

examine whether plaintiff retains alternative means of

practicing his religious faith. Under Friedman, this test "is not

the weighing of what religious practices take the place of

[wearing long hair.]" Id. at 332. Rather, the inquiry is whether

plaintiff retains his ability to participate in other Rastafarian

religious practices, or, instead, whether he has beer "denied ‘all

means of expression’ of their religion." Id. |

Plaintiff has presented no evidence that he has been

denied all means of expressing his religious faith Given the

test described in Friedman, in the absence of evidence that

requiring plaintiff his hair denied him all means of expressing

his Rastafarian religious faith, the court must fnd that the

second Turner factor does not weigh against the regulation at

issue.

App. 65

3. Impact of Accommodation

The third Turner factor requires assessment of the

impact that accommodation of plaintiffs’ First Amendment right

will have on guards, other inmates, and prison resources. At the

evidentiary hearing in Toyebo,

David Tristan testified that CDC officials

considered a religious exemption but came tot

he conclusion that it would be extremely

difficult to administer such an exemption; in

particular, he testified that they determined it

would be very difficult to establish whether long

hair was a fundamental tenet of specific

religions, and whether a particular inmate had a

sincerely held religious belief that required an

exemption. (April 2, 1998, RT at 86.) He also

testified, however, that the CDC has

mechanisms for identifying inmate membership

in particular religious faiths, particularly when

they are received into the CDC, and that they try

to accommodate religious practices consistent

with institutional security. (Id. at 87-88.)

Toyebo, Findings and Recommendations at 12. Defendant has

presented no new evidence from that presented in the Toyebo

case. This court was not persuaded then and is not persuaded

now that accommodation of plaintiff's First Amendment rights

would have a harmful effect on prison security or resources. Cf.

Friedman, 912 F.2d at 332 (testimony that accommodation will

"flood prison officials" with claims to the religious faith and/or

practice being accommodated and that guards will have more

difficulty identifying prisoners is sufficient to favor the

reasonableness of a grooming regulation.)

App. 66

4. Availability of Ready Alternatives

The final Turner factor requires the court to assess

whether there are "ready alternatives that fully accommodate the

prisoner's rights at de minimis cost to valid penological

interests." "The absence of ready alternatives is evidence of the

reasonableness of a prison regulation,' [citation omitted], while

the existence of alternatives may be ‘evidence that the [policy]

is not reasonable but is an ‘exaggerated response’ to prison

concerns.” Ward v. Walsh 1 F.3d 873, 879 (9" Cir. 1993)

(quoting Turner, 482 U.S. at 90-91), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1192

(1994).

Plaintiff contends that he can and will wear his long hair

tied back, and that he has agreed to shave his face even though

his faith also requires that he wear a beard. (Plaintiff's

Opposition to Defendents [sic] Motion for Summary Judgment,

filed March 16, 2000, at 11.) Defendants, however, contend

that if male inmates are allowed to wear long hair tied back the

"would still be able to quickly and easily manipulate their

appearance and contraband could still be maintained within the

long hair." (Defendants' Motion for ii Judgment, filed

February 18, 2000, at 11.)

As it was in Toyebo, this court is persuaded that the

alternative suggested by plaintiff, as well as others, would be

easy and obvious. The law, however, is otherwise. In

Friedman, the court of appeals rejected a contention that

photographing inmates with and without a beard could be

accomplished at de minimis cost to security interests, because

an inmate could always change his -appearance after the

photograph was taken. That reasoning precludes this court from

finding that tying hair back is an easy, obvious alternative to the

grooming policy. Moreover, in Toyebo, this court is an easy,

obvious alternative to the grooming policy. Moreover, in

Toyebo defendants presented testimony that the increase in size

App. 67

of the inmate population has increased dramatically the number

of searches that must be conducted; this evidence precludes the

court from finding that additional searches could be

accomplished at de minimus cost.

5. Conclusion

For purposed of this summary judgment motion, there

is no dispute that plaintiff is sincere in his religious beliefs, that

wearing dreadlocks is central to his spiritual practice, and that

defendants’ grooming policy impinges on the free exercise of

his religion. In this court's view, however, the decision in

Friedman, which is authority that binds this court, precludes this

court from finding that defendants' grooming policy is

unreasonable. As the court noted in Toyebo,

Absent the decision in Friedman, this court

would readily find from this record tha the

majority of reasons tendered to support the

regulation are post hoc rationalizations and that

defendants' grooming policy is an exaggerated

response to the proffered concerns.

Nonetheless, the law of this circuit as set forth

in Friedman requires this court to conclude that

defendants' grooming policy is reasonably

related to legitimate penological interests and,

therefore, that plaintiffs are unlikely to succeed

on the merits of their claim that grooming policy

impermissibly infringes on their federal

constitutional right to free exercise of religion.

-

App. 68

(Toyebo, Findings and Recommendations, at 14.) For this

reason, the court must recommend that defendants' motion for

summary judgment be granted.°

In accordance with the above IT IS HEREBY

RECOMMENDED THAT: Z

1. Plaintiff's March 16, 2000 request for denial or a stay

of defendants' motion for summary judgment be denied;

2. Defendants' February 18, 2000 motion for summary

judgment be granted; and

3. This action be dismissed.

These findings and recommendations are submitted to

the United States District Judge assigned to the case, pursuant

to the provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1). Within twenty days

after being served with these findings and recommendations,

any party may file written objections with the court and serve a

copy on all parties. Such a document should be captioned

"Objections to Magistrate Judge's Findings and

Recommendations." Any reply to the objections shall be served

and filed within ten days after service of the objections. The

5. Defendants also contend that they are entitled to qualified immunity

from liability for damages on plaintiff's First Amendment claim. Because they are

entitled to judgment on the merits of this claim, the court has not reached the

question of qualified immunity.

In addition, in his opposition to defendants' summary judgment motion,

plaintiff contends that the regulations have also unlawfully extended the length of his

incarceration because when he was placed on "C" Status he lost the opportunity to

earn time credits. Claims relating to the length of duration of an inmate's confinement

must be raised by petition for writ of habeas corpus. See Preiser v. Rodriguez,

411U.S. 475 (1973).

App. 69

parties are advised thai faiiure to file objections within the

specified time may waive the right to appeal the District Court's

order. Martinez v. Yist, 951 F.2d 1153 (9 Cir. 1991).

DATED: May 10, 2000.

/s/

UNITED STATES

MAGISTRATE JUDGE

305 F.3d 1033

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

Earl Wayne WYATT, Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv

Cal A. TERHUNE; Suzan Hubbard, Warden, Defendants-

Appellees.

No. 00-16568.

Sept. 23, 2002.

Earl Wayne Wyatt, Ione, CA, pro se.

Grace Won, Farella, Braun and Martel, San Francisco, CA, for

Plaintiff- Appellant.

Kathleen E. Gnekow, Paul A. Bernardino, Sacramento, CA, for

Defendants- Appellees.

Before: BRIGHT, [FN*] B. FLETCHER and FISHER, Circuit

Judges.

FN* The Honorable Myron H. Bright, Senior Circuit

Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit, sitting by designation.

ORDER

The panel has voted to deny appellee's petition for rehearing

and reject the suggestion for rehearing en banc, filed February

26, 2002.

App. 71

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for rehearing

en banc and no judge of the court has requested a vote on

whether to rehear the matter en banc. Fed. R.App. P.35.

The petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc,

filed February 26, 2002, is DENIED.

The opinion filed on February 12, 2002, and published at 280

F.3d 1238 (9th Cir.2002), is WITHDRAWN.

App. 72

APPENDIX E

315 F.3d 1108

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

Earl Wayne WYATT, Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

Cal A. TERHUNE; Suzan Hubbard, Warden, Defendants-

Appellees.

No. 00-16568.

Dec. 31, 2002.

Earl Wayne Wyatt, Ione, CA, Grace Won, Esq., Farella,

Braun and Martel, San Francisco, CA, for Plaintiff-Appellant.

Kathleen E. Gnekow, Esq., Paul A. Bernardino, Esq.,

Sacramento, CA, for Defendant-Appellee.

Before BRIGHT, [FN*] B. FLETCHER and FISHER,

Circuit Judges.

FN* The Honorable Myron H. Bright, Senior Circuit

Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit, sitting by designation.

ORDER

The panel has voted to deny appellee's petition for

rehearing en banc, received October 8, 2002 and filed

November 27, 2002.

App. 73

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for

rehearing en banc and no judge of the court has requested a vote

on whether to rehear the matter en banc. Fed. R.App. P. 35.

The petition for rehearing en banc, received October 8, 2002

and filed November 27, 2002, is DENIED.

The opinion filed September 23, 2002, and published at

305 F.3d 1033 (9th Cir.2002), is WITHDRAWN.

315 F.3d 1108, 3 Cal. Daily Op. Serv. 24.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.