Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Martinez v. United States

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

1) Supreme Court U.S.

1 / | a} ‘

; . + &. & 3

No.__Q924473 4/2 3 2003

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

2

dl

VINCENT MARTINEZ,

Petitioner,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

Sd

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

2

Vv

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

,

v

BRIAN K. GALLIK

Counsel of Record

GOETZ, GALLIK, BALDWIN &

DOLAN, P.C.

Attorneys at Law

35 North Grand Avenue

Bozeman, MT 59715

(406) 587-0618

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

—

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether the District Court's Denial of Petitioner’s

Motion to Sever Denied Petitioner of His Right to Due

Process of Law and His Right to Confront Witnesses

Against Him?

Whether the District Court's Order Denying Peti-

tioner’s Motion to Dismiss for the Loss/Destruction of

Critical Evidence Violated Petitioner’s Right to Due

Process of Law and Brady v. Maryland?

<< Ue

ii

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

United States of America;

Mariano Pimentel-Tafolla, aka Mariano Pimentel;

Randy James;

Donald Frank Printz, aka Griz;

Carlos Salazar Lopez, aka Carlos Salazar;

William Lanter, aka Wild Bill; and

Joshua Springfield.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented.............:ssssessseeeseseteeetettnneeeeeeess i

List of Parties to the Proceedings Below .................. il

Table of Contents. ............ccscsscccrsercccescccvcsccsosscossccosers ili

Table uf Authorities ..............ccssccccsscssccecsscssccsscsceeeees iv

Citations of Reports of Opinions and Orders En-

Ec cicasercvevanssncosvenpsarsvessseventssesassnsases 1

Be PHRRRE DN CIB ORE non ccssssesoscccesvnscccccecsessccvencesencossee 1

B. US. District Court for the District of Mon-

tana, Billings Division ................:ssssesseeeeeeeeees 1

Basis Of JULISGICtION ..............c.ceccsececsecececsecsseseeseeees 1

Constitutional Provisions and Rules Involved in the

Statement of the Case ............ccscessccsccsccescsscssescsoeseees 3

A. Basis for Federal Jurisdiction in the Court of

I NE iccasacissseenseneassouesenvesnsesservecss

B. Statement of the Case................ccceccessersceeeeee

ALBUMEN ..........cseeeeeceeccecceeceeeeeecseceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesn ses

A. The District Court’s Exclusion of Exculpatory

Evidence and Refusal to Sever Martinez De-

nied Him the Right to Present a Defense and

To Fully Cross-Examine Witnesses Against

B. The Destruction of Brady Material Denied

Martinez the Right to Present a Defense and

His Right to Due Process of Law................+++ 11

I . ccauhnsusessdsbensensxiberssnnsasceesvevsuetonssays 16

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Arizona v. Youngblood, 488 U.S. 51 (1988)... 13, 15

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 CR icinescsnicinnrecsensens 7,12

Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123 (1968)..........++ 7,9

California v. Trombetta, 467 U.S. 479 (1984).......cccccccreees 13

Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973) ........-..sseee 10

Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150 (1972) .........ccccrrreeee 12

Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S. 441 (1972)..........0esee00 7

United States v. Blum, 62 F.3d 63 (2nd Cie, FERED cvsevecsers 10

United States v. Carrasco, 537 F.2d 372 (9th Cir.

197G).....cccceccccsccssossccsssssscessssscccnsssossssenscssnssenssnssensooeresses 14

United States v. Hill, 976 F.2d 132 (9th Cir. 1992) ........... 12

United States v. Marsh, 144 F.3d 1229 (9th Cir.

1QBB).......cccsccccsccsscrerssssssosssesersnssensesosesossenesenssoenencsonscenes 10

United States v. Mayfield, 189 F.3d 895 (9th Cir.

1999) .....csescsecceesscsescessrsenseoosesssenseseresevonsesssconssnesrosossaserees 9

United States v. Pollack, 417 F.Supp. 1332 (D.

Mas. 1976) ........0.sssescsecccceeeesccessssssessseseccseessnsaeoneneees 14, 15

Zafiro v. United States, 506 U.S. 534 (1993)...........06 7,8,9

CONSTITUTION

Amend. V........cccccecccsssccscsssscsssccccscceresssevsosscsenscssssesoonsoscees 1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

STATUTES AND RULES

SD UE, Be iciicrienniccsincncceniciendiimanianan

RULE. bikini

Fi DEC. SC scesinnesncenesinmeran

SO TAG. 5 TA Kioricncnnmncitomnainainne

, Gib Cam |: Tne enneenner enn. cree shinsddgademcnasieumiin

Rules of Criminal Procedure

DO TE, conndsininimnacannsdaaheaa

DN Wi vinssssestcisaninmicccimmmaaviiinamnnnmiia

1

CITATIONS OF REPORTS OF OPINIONS

AND ORDERS ENTERED IN CASE

A. Ninth Circuit.

1. The Opinion of the United States Court of Ap-

peals is an unpublished opinion with a docket

number of No. 99-30330, located at 2003 WL

42274 (9th Cir. (Mont.)).

B. U.S. District Court for the District of Montana,

Billings Division.

1. The District Court Orders were also unpub-

lished, and are set forth in. No. CR-97-00037-

JDS.

¢

BASIS OF JURISDICTION

1. The date of the Ninth Circuit Memorandum sought to

be reviewed is January 6, 2003.

2. The statutory provision believed to confer on this

Court jurisdiction to review on a writ of certiorari the

judgment in question is 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

&

v

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

RULES INVOLVED IN THE CASE

1. Amendment V to the United States Consti-

tution.

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or other-

wise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indict-

ment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land

or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service in

time of War or public danger; nor shall any person be

subject for the same offense to be twice put in jeopardy of

life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any criminal case to

be a witness against himself, nor be deprived of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor shall

private property be taken for public use, without just

compensation.

2. Amendment VI to the United States Consti-

tution.

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the

right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of

the State and district wherein the crime shall have been

committed, which district shall have been previously

ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature and

cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the

withesses against him; to have compulsory process for

obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have the Assis-

tance of Counsel for his defence.

3. Rule 14 of the Federal Rules of Criminal

Procedure.

If it appears that a defendant or the government is preju-

diced by a joinder of offenses or of defendants in an in-

dictment or information or by such joinder for trial

together, the court may order an election or separate trials

of counts, grant a severance of defendants or provide

whatever other relief justice requires. In ruling on a

motion by a defendant for severance the court may order

the attorney for the government to deliver to the court for

inspection in camera any statements or confessions made

3

by the defendants which the government intends to

introduce in evidence at trial.

4. Rule 16(a)(1)(A) & (C) -f the Federal Rules

of Criminal Procedure.

Due to its length, the pertinent text is set forth in the

appendix.

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Basis for Federal Jurisdiction in the Court of

First Instance.

The district court had jurisdiction over this matter

pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 3231. The Ninth Circuit had

jurisdiction over appeals from final judgments of the

district court under 18 U.S.C. § 3742 and 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

B. Statement of the Case.

The United States charged the Petitioner, Vincent

Martinez, with conspiracy, three counts of possession with

intent to distribute methamphetamine, and three counts

of use of a firearm in relation to a drug crime. Martinez

pled not guilty.

In Count I of the Indictment, the government alleged,

and the jury found, that Martinez and six other defen-

dants participated in a single overarching drug conspiracy

that began before May, 1995, and ended on April 17, 1997,

when government agents executed a search warrant on

the home of Sherry Bishop. Although the conspiracy, as

alleged, spanned over two years, the evidence with respect

nheoncnaabiiiestitamciia: hous tes, te,

to Martinez concerned only the seven-month period

between May, 1995 and January, 1996.

On December 30, 1995, Martinez was arrested on

unrelated state court charges. He remained incarcerated

for the majority of the remaining fourteen months of the

alleged conspiracy. The government acknowledged that

there was no evidence that Mr. Martinez had any further

contact, let alone involvement, with any of the other

alleged co-conspirators after late January, 1996.

In April, 1996, while Martinez was in state custody, he

contacted the joint federal-state drug task force, head-

quartered in the Billings, Montana office of the federal

Drug Enforcement Agency. App. 9. On April 26, 1996, Task

Force Officers Lueck and Cummins went to the Detention

Center and, with the permission of Martinez’s state court

lawyer, debriefed Martinez. Martinez made a statement

implicating various people, including co-conspirators

Sherry Bishop, William Lanter, Carlos Salazar and unin-

dicted co-conspirators Eddie Donnes, Doug Brandon and

Michael Holliday, as being involved in methamphetamine.

App. 47-49.

Martinez testified by affidavit in the district court

that Agents Lueck and Cummins promised that the

information he provided the agents would not be used

against him by the government. App. 42-46. The govern-

ment agents disputed this claim. However, the AUSA

asked DEA Agent Williams to investigate. Agent Lueck

advised Agent Williams that he “[cJould not recall what

motivated Martinez to discuss the dope other than Marti-

nez wanted to make a clean break.” App. 10.

During the debriefing, agents Lueck and Cummins

took notes of Martinez’ statement and returned to their

office. Several months later, Agent Lueck prepared a DEA

5

6, “Report of Investigation,” concerning this debriefing.

App. 47-49. Lueck testified that the DEA provided him the

DEA 6 form and instructed him on how to comylete it.

After he completed the report, he submitted it to a DEA

supervisor for review and approval. It then became part of

the DEA drug trafficking database and was cross-

referenced to several existing files. The agents’ contempo-

raneous notes of the Martinez debriefing (and other

subsequent Rule 16(a)(1)(A) statements of Mr. Martinez),

however, disappeared and were never produced in the case

below. App. 15.

Agent Lueck testified that he did not know what

happened to the notes and letters from Martinez, although

he was sure he did not destroy or throw them away. He

then testified: “You know, to my knowledge, I turned

everything over to Special Agent Williams. It was his case,

and I gave him the information that was given to me.”

Although Agent Williams acknowledged seeing at least one

letter from Martinez after the 1997 raid on Sherry

Bishop’s home, the government argued it was not respon-

sible for the lost statements because Agents Lueck and

Cummins “were not cross-deputized.”

The information Martinez provided to the DEA played

a pivotal role in the ultimate demise of the alleged con-

spiracy. On April 16, 1997, nearly one year after the

Martinez debriefing, Agent Cwalinski, working under the

direction of DEA Agent Williams, prepared an Application

for a warrant to search the home of Sherry Bishop for

methamphetamine and related items. App. 50-51. His

statement of probable cause relied primarily upon three

“sources of information.” One of the sources, and the only

source identified by name, was Martinez. App. 51.

Cwalinski testified that he found Martinez’ statement to

be reliable, pertinent and that it “corroborated some of the

6

information in the majority of the warrant.” For those

reasons, he used Martinez’ statement to obtain a warrant,

advising the judge:

On April 29, 1996, Billings ... Detective Rick

Lueck, who is assigned to the City/County Spe-

cial Investigations Unit, interviewed Vincent

Martinez. Martinez provided the names of sev-

eral subjects in Billings, MT that were involved

in methamphetamine sales and distribution.

Sherry Bishop was a person identified by Marti-

nez who sells methamphetamine.

App. 51.

Based upon Martinez’s statement and corroborating

information, the state court issued the search warrant and

the police, working under the direction of the DEA, found

drugs, guns and other items. Williams admitted that all of

the evidence later used to prosecute the defendants,

_including Martinez, was the direct or indirect result of the

search of Bishop’s home and that all of the defendants in

the courtroom, including Martinez, were present as a

direct or indirect result of the search of the Bishop home.

Williams thus admitted that the search warrant, issued in

part upon information provided by Martinez, was very

important to his investigation.

Following the April 17 search, the agents worked

backwards in their investigation that led to the indict-

ments of ten people, including, eventually, Martinez. Prior

to trial, Martinez filed several motions, including a motion

to dismiss five of the seven counts against him, on the

grounds that he withdrew, as a matter of law from the

conspiracy when he provided law enforcement with the

information about meth distributors, that was later used

by law enforcement to obtain a search warrant that in

7

turn led to the discovery of drugs and the indictment in

this case. App. 53-78.

He further moved to dismiss all counts on the basis

that Agents Cummins and Lueck granted Martinez infor-

mal immunity when they debriefed him while in state

custody. Kastigar v. United States, 406 U.S. 441 (1972).

When the notes of the debriefing and other statements

made by him to government agents were not produced

as required by Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure

16(a)(1)(A), although the government admitted their

existence, Martinez moved to dismiss for loss of eritical-

evidence. Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963).

Finally, Martinez moved to sever his trial from the

others, pursuant to Rule 14, because he intended to use

the DEA 6, which formed the basis for the search warrant,

as evidence of withdrawal from the alleged conspiracy.

App. 53-78. Because the DEA 6 incriminated co-

defendants at trial, and Martinez had a right against self-

incrimination, Martinez’s use of the DEA 6 for his own

defense would violate Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S.

123 (1968) and absent a severance, Martinez would be

denied his right to present a defense and to fully cross-

examine witnesses against him. Zafiro v. United States,

506 U.S. 534 (1993). Id.

The district court denied these motions and then, to

prevent a severance, excluded all evidence of (1) Martinez’

statement about meth dealers, including the fact that he

identified several co-defendants as meth dealers; and (2)

the government’s use of the Martinez statement to crack

the conspiracy. The jury convicted Martinez of conspiracy

and two 924(c) counts, and Martinez was sentenced to 593

months in federal prison. App. 28. On appeal, the Ninth

Circuit affirmed.

RT CL aa a ae

8

On rehearing, the Ninth Circuit reversed Martinez’

conviction under Count VI of the Indictment, a violation of

21 U.S.C. § 924(c)(1), which concerned possession of a

firearm (under a Pinkerton theory) that came into the

alleged conspiracy over one (1) year after Mr. Martinez

was in state custody and over one (1) year after he pro-

vided law enforcement the statement about meth dealers

that was later used by law enforcement to obtain the

search warrant of Sherry Bishop’s home that in turn also

led to his own Indictment.

The Ninth Circuit found that the exclusion of Marti-

nez’s statements to the DEA and the government’s use of

his statement was evidence of withdrawal from the alleged

conspiracy and more likely than not affected the verdict on

Count VI and thus reversed that count of conviction. App.

14. In light of the reversal of Count VI, the Ninth Circuit

concluded that Martinez’s severance argument was

“moot.” App. 15. It further concluded that Martinez failed

to show that the loss of the evidence of immunity was due

to the government’s bad faith. Jd. With respect to the

Confrontation Clause issue, the Ninth Circuit concluded

that the jury had sufficient information to gauge witness

credibility. App. 14.

¢

ARGUMENT

A. The District Court’s Exclusion of Exculpatory

Evidence and Refusal to Sever Martinez Denied

Him the Right to Present a Defense and To Fully

Cross-Examine Witnesses Against Him.

In Zafiro v. United States, 506 U.S. 534 (1993), this

Court made it clear that severance should be granted “[ilf

there is a serious risk that a joint trial would compromise

9

a specific trial right of one of the defendants, or prevent

the jury from making a reliable judgment about guilt or

innocence.” 506 U.S. at 539. The Court identified two

situations involving such a serious risk of prejudice.

The first is when the evidence the jury should not

consider against the defendant, and that would not be

admissible if a defendant were tried alone, is admitted

against a co-defendant. This includes situations such as

the admission of the co-defendant’s prior acts or of a co-

defendant’s statement inculpating the defendant. The

second example is when a defendant might suffer preju-

dice if exculpatory evidence that would be available to a

defendant tried alone is unavailable in a joint trial. 506

U.S. at 539.

In this case, Martinez’ co-defendants, Lanter and

Salazar, enjoyed a constitutional right of confrontation.

Bruton v. United States, 391 U.S. 123 (1968) holds that a

defendant’s Sixth Amendment right to confrontation is

violated when the confession of a non-testifying co-

defendant implicates the defendant as a participant in a

crime and that statement is admitted in a joint trial. 391

U.S. 135.

Martinez, on the other hand, enjoyed the fundamental ~

right to defend himself against the charges against him,

including presenting evidence of withdrawal, immunity

and confronting other witnesses with the evidence. “Con-

frontation Clause violations can require a court to sever

trials.” United States v. Mayfield, 189 F.3d 895, 901 (9th

Cir. 1999).

The district court, as the Ninth Circuit observed,

“faced two equally undesirable choices — admit Martinez’s

statements to law enforcement and risk a possible mistrial

on Bruton grounds, or order Martinez’ case severed on the

Sei are

10

eve of trial. But however unsavory the choice, it had to be

made. Because the exclusion ruling was clearly erroneous,

and because this error more likely than not affected the

verdict against Martinez on Count VI, we reverse as to

that count.” App. 12. Thus, the Ninth Circuit admitted,

implicitly, that the district court’s order excluding evidence

of Martinez’s statement and refusing to sever “compro-

mised a specific trial right,” the right to present a defense

and to cross-examine witnesses. App. 13-14. The Ninth

Circuit further held that the district court erred by deny-

ing the motion to sever, but because it reversed on Court

VI, found the severance issue “moot.” App. 15. This does

not comport with Martinez’s right to present a defense and

fully cross-examine witnesses against him.

“Whether rooted in the Due Process Clause of the

Fifth Amendment or in the Compulsory Process Clause of

the Sixth Amendment, the constitution guarantees crimi-

nal defendants the right to present a defense.” United

States v. Blum, 62 F.3d 63, 66 (2nd Cir. 1995). See also

Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284, 302 (1973) (“Few

rights are more fundamental than that of an accused to

present witnesses in his own defense.”). “The right to

cross-examine one’s accusers is fundamental in our system

of justice. Cross-examination is the principal means by

which the believability of a witness and the truth of his

testimony are tested.” United States v. Marsh, 144 F.3d

1229, 1240 (9th Cir. 1988). The exclusion of exculpatory

evidence and refusal to sever Martinez denied him his

right to present a defense and to fully cross-examine

witnesses against him, thus tainting all counts of convic-

tion.

Sherry Bishop was the principal adverse witness

against Martinez. The evidence established that Bishop

provided the DEA with multiple statements following her

SA go Sec SARE NEES Ss SP PERI I LE PBS a eto piesa waht vi

11

arrest in 1997. Before she was indicted, she advised agents

that Martinez did not distribute meth, although she stated

he “supervised” Salazar. After her indictment, and the

receipt of discovery, her statements about Martinez

changed significantly. She then made statements about

distributions of meth and the discharge of firearms to

collect drug debts — serious allegations — and the basis for

which the jury later convicted Martinez. Although Marti-

nez was able to impeach Bishop about the absence of such

statements in earlier debriefings, he was unable to dem-

onstrate to the jury the motive she had to fabricate her

testimony — the fact that Martinez told law enforcement

that she was a meth dealer, and that Martinez’s statement

to law enforcement was used in the search warrant appli-

cation that led to the search of her home, her indictment,

the loss of her children and her incarceration. This, in

turn, has a prejudicial effect on the two (2) counts of

conviction because it deprived the jury of key evidence

necessary to fairly evaluate Mr. Martinez’s guilt or inno-

cence with respect to distribution of meth and the use of

firearms.

Martinez respectfully submits, as the Ninth Circuit

found, that the exclusion of evidence and refusal to sever

denied Martinez certain trial rights: the right to present a

defense and to fully cross-examine witnesses against him.

The reversal on Count VI did not remove the admitted

taint on the remaining counts of conviction. |

B. The Destruction of Brady Material Denied

Martinez the Right to Present a Defense and

His Right to Due Process of Law.

The government destroyed or lost relevant documents

in its possession critical to the issue of the immunity that

12

Martinez testified he was offered in support of the state-

ments that he provided to the government that were later

used by the government to prosecute and advance this

conspiracy. When the defendant is precluded from admit-

ting such obvious exculpatory information because the

government has lost or destroyed that information, the

defendant is prejudiced and denied his right to present a

defense.

A defendant’s right of access to evidence obtained by

the government is protected by a variety of statutory and

constitutional safeguards. In Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S.

83, the Court held that the government must volunteer

“evidence favorable to an accused upon request ... where

the evidence is material either to guilt or to punishment,

irrespective of the good faith or bad faith of the prosecu-

tion.” 373 U.S. at 87.

In Giglio v. United States, 405 U.S. 150 (1972), the

Court expanded the rule to include evidence that may be

used to impeach an important government witness. As a

result, the prosecution must disclose materials “that go to

the heart of the defendant’s guilt or innocence and materi-

als that might affect the [trier’s] judgment of the credibil-

ity of-a crucial prosecution witness.” United States v. Hill,

976 F.2d 132, 134-35 (9th Cir. 1992) (citing Giglio, 405

U.S. at 154).

In short, there is a long-established duty on the part

of the government to preserve all evidence subject to

discovery that is gathered during the course of an investi-

gation; in particular, witness statements. The DEA Special

Agents’ Manual recognizes this duty and that sanctions

will be imposed for the loss of agent notes:

13

6211.6 PRESERVATION OF INVESTIGATIVE

NOTES.

A. Rough notes taken by an Agent while inter-

viewing a potential government witness, an

informant, a suspect, or a subject of an in-

vestigation are subject to discovery. Failure

to produce these notes, even due to good

faith loss or destruction, could result in dis-

missal of the case. Agents will therefore pre-

serve any such notes even though their

contents have been subsequently reported

on a DEA Form 6.

B. The term “notes” includes handwritten

notes, original tapes, or other work papers

made during the interview of potential

government witnesses.

Excerpt of DEA Special Agent’s Manual, Exh. M, Tran-

script of Hearing, dated 5/27/99 at 33-36.

The government in this case “lost,” or was unable to

find, and had no explanation for its loss of, Mr. Martinez’s

statements that were used to form the basis of a search

warrant that led, in turn, to his own indictment. The

result of the loss of this evidence was devastating to Mr.

Martinez’ testimony that he was advised that the evidence

he provided would not be used against him, as it was in

this case. The government agents in this case merely had

to say the notes were given to another agent, who, in turn,

said he didn’t know what happened, to avoid any possible

finding of “bad faith.” In light of this testimony, the Ninth

Circuit found no evidence of bad faith destruction, a

finding that will rarely, if ever, result for a defendant like

Martinez. Arizona v. Youngblood, 488 U.S. 51 (1988);

California v. Trombetta, 467 U.S. 479, 487 (1984).

14

As a matter of due process of law, the loss or destruc-

tion of exculpatory evidence, where admitted by the

government, as in this case, and even if the result of

negligence, require the imposition of sanctions against the

government. This protection is necessary because of the

inherent danger that an agent may tailor a final report

from preliminary memoranda to fit the needs of the

prosecution, United States v. Carrasco, 537 F.2d 372 (9th

Cir. 1976), and/or because of the jurys inherent bias in

favor of law enforcement testimony and against that of a

person charged with a crime.

In United States v. Pollack, 417 F.Supp. 1332 (D.

Mass. 1976), the district court dismissed an indictment

because of the loss of a deputy sheriff’s notes which

formed the basis of a report. The facts of that case are

similar to those presented here. There, the defendant

claimed he agreed to work as an undercover agent for the

government and that his work would result in “considera-

tion for favorable disposition of any charges which might

have been forthcoming from his arrest.” Notes of the

meeting were prepared and later used, in part, for a

subsequent report. The notes were then destroyed. The

government agent disagreed any favors had been granted

to defendant. The district court then stated:

In view of these conflicting versions of cru-

cial events given by [the defendant] and the gov-

ernment agents ... the importance of the

contemporaneous notes ... of that conversation

looms large. Defendant and this court, therefore,

have been deprived of relevant, and perhaps

highly exculpatory, evidence important to the

resolution of the critical factual and legal ques-

tions on which this prosecution rests.

%

4

2

3

4

«

z

4

§

5

by

-

15

* *

In short, the missing notes represented a poten-

tially important piece of substantive evidence as

well as a means for impeaching the testimony of

one of the agents of the DEA Task Force.

Id. at 1342-43.

In this case, the only evidence lost concerned Martinez

and his cooperation (and offer to cooperate) with the

government. The notes of the two government agents went

to a critical issue — the facts surrounding the debriefing of

Martinez and the offer of immunity from prosecution.

Martinez’s testimony before the district court makes clear

that he understood the information he provided to the

agents would not be used against him. App. 42-46. Instead,

it was used as the basis for the search warrant which in

turn led to his own indictment.

The agents’ notes, taken contemporaneously with the

debriefing, were even more critical because the DEA 6 of

the Martinez debriefing was not prepared until six months

after the debriefing. The loss of notes thus prevented

Martinez from examining the agents about (1) discrepan-

cies between the agents’ testimony and the DEA 6; (2)

discrepancies between the agents’ notes; and (3) most

importantly, establishing the existence of an agreement

that the government would not use the information

against Martinez, as it was in this case. This is critical

evidence — all relevant and highly exculpatory, that Marti-

nez was deprived of as a result of the government’s mis-

conduct. In such a situation, the requirement of a showing

of bad faith on the part of the: government under

Youngblood, does not comport with fundamental notions of

fairness and due process of law. A person charged with a

crime, and facing significant incarceration, should not be

16

held to such an unattainable standard. Instead, it is the

government that should be held accountable for the loss of

evidence, even if the loss is the result of negligence. Such a

result encourages accurate government investigations and

ensures that the criminal defendant is not deprived of his

right to due process of law.

In sum, the requirement that a criminal defendant

show bad faith on the part of the government agency,

when it loses exculpatory evidence, or evidence of a defen-

dant’s statements to law enforcement should be revisited

by this Court. Martinez understood he would be granted

immunity for the statements he gave to the agents —

statements that led to his indictment. Where, as here, the

government admittedly loses critical evidence, resulting in

a swearing contest between a criminal defendant and law

enforcement, it is the government that properly bears the

consequences of its own misconduct.

+

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Mr. Martinez requests that

this Court grant the Petition.

Respectfully submitted,

BRIAN K. GALLIK

GOETZ, GALLIK, BALDWIN &

DOLAN, P.C.

Attorneys at Law

35 North Grand Avenue

Bozeman, MT 59715

(406) 587-0618

Attorneys for Petitioner

April, 2003

pe Py tl ge

App. 1

2003 WL 42274

United States Court of Appeals, Ninth Circuit.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

Mariano PIMENTEL-TAFOLLA, aka Mariano Pimentel,

Defendant-Appellant. ns

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

Randy JAMES, Defendant-Appellant.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

Donald Frank PRINTZ, aka Griz, Defendant-Appellant.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

Vincent MARTINEZ, Defendant-Appellant.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

Carlos Salazar LOPEZ, aka Carlos Salazar,

Defendant-Appellant.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

William LANTER, aka Wild Bill, Defendant-Appellant.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

Joshua SPRINGFIELD, Defendant-Appellant.

Nos. 99-30330, 99-30335, 99-30336, 99-30337, 99-30357,

$9-30358, 99-30369.

D.C. No. CR-$7-00037-JDS.

Argued and Submitted Jan. 10, 2001.

Decided Jan. 6, 2003.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

District of Montana, Jack D. Shanstrom, District Judge,

Presiding.

Before MCKEOWN, W.- FLETCHER, and

RAWLINSON, Circuit Judges.

App. 2

ORDER

This Court’s memorandum disposition, filed October

17, 2002, is hereby withdrawn and replaced with the

attached disposition.

With the filing of this new disposition, Appellant

Springfield’s petition for rehearing, filed October 31, 2002,

is DENIED.

MEMORANDUM

The seven defendants in these consolidated cases

(Mariano Pimentel-Tafolla, Randy James, Donald Frank

Printz, Vincent Martinez, Carlos Salazar-Lopez, William

Lanter, and Joshua Springfield) were involved, to varying

degrees, in a methamphetamine trafficking conspiracy in

Billings, Montana. All were convicted of conspiracy to

possess methamphetamine with intent to distribute, under

21 U.S.C. §§ 841(a)(1), 846, and 18 U.S.C. §2. Each

defendant was also convicted of some combination of

various counts of possessing with intent to distribute

methamphetamine, under 21 U.S.C. § 841(a)(1) and 18

U.S.C. § 2, and using a firearm in a drug trafficking crime,

under 18 U.S.C. § 924(c)(1) and 18 U.S.C. § 2. The facts of

the case and the specific convictions are well known to all

parties, so we will not repeat them here except as neces-

sary to explain our holding.

* This disposition is not appropriate for publication and may not be

cited to or by the courts of this circuit except as may be provided by

Ninth Circuit Rule 36-3.

WL SHER amt

App. 3

We address Appellants’ contentions on appeal in turn.

1. Pimentel-Tafolla’s Motion for a Mistrial

Pimentel-Tafolla argues on appeal that the district

court should have granted his motion for a mistrial based

on the prosecutor’s statements during his closing argu-

ment. The prosecutor stated in his closing argument that

the defendants failed to testify, but he explicitly stated

that they had a constitutional right to do so and he did not

dwell on the point. While a prosecutor may violate the

Fifth Amendment if he comments on a defendant’s failure

to testify at trial, Griffin v. United States, 380 U.S. 609,

611-12, 85 S.Ct. 1229, 14 L.Ed.2d 106 (1965), such a

comment is impermissible only “if it is manifestly intended

to call attention to the defendant's failure to testify or is of

such a character that the jury would naturally and neces-

sarily take it to be a comment on the failure to testify.”

United States v. Tarazon, 989 F.2d 1045, 1051-52 (9th

Cir.1993) (citations omitted). Rather than calling attention

to the defendants’ failure to testify, the prosecutor called

attention to their failure to call other witnesses.

Pimentel-Tafolla also claims that the prosecutor

should not have commented on his (and the other defen-

dants’) failure to call witnesses. We have held that a

prosecutor’s comment on a defendant’s failure to call

witnesses is proper as long as it “is not phrased as to call

attention to defendant’s own failure to testify.” United

States v. Passaro, 624 F.2d 938, 944 (9th Cir.1980). The

prosecutor’s comments here were focused on the “unfair-

ness” of defense counsel’s comments about other witnesses,

given their failure to call witnesses of their own to refute

App. 4

the testimony of the government’s witnesses, and did not

focus on the defendants’ failure to testify.

The district court therefore did not abuse its discre-

tion in denying Pimentel-Tafolla’s motion for a mistrial.

2. Reduction in James’s Base Offense Level for Accep-

tance of Responsibility

James contends on appeal that his base offense level

should have been decreased because of his acceptance of

responsibility. However, James did not plead guilty;

instead, he went to trial on all seven counts. He claims on

appeal that he chose that course because his attorney

recommended it on the ground that a guilty plea would

have required him to plead to the entire weight of the

drugs involved in the conspiracy, and that his pre-trial

conversations with law enforcement officials should count

as acceptance of responsibility.

Section 3E1.1(a) of the Federal Sentencing Guidelines

(“U.S.S.G.”), pertaining to acceptance of responsibility,

provides that “[i]Jf the defendant clearly demonstrates

acceptance of responsibility for his offense,” the base

offense level is to be decreased by two levels. In a case in

which the defendant “presented an elaborate and complex

defense, challenging both the legal validity of the govern-

ment’s theory of the case and his factual guilt,” we held

that the district court had not clearly erred in denying the

downward adjustment. United States v. Hicks, 217 F.3d

1038, 1050 (9th Cir.2000).

Because James forced the government to prove his

guilt beyond a reasonable doubt at trial, and because he

did not clearly accept responsibility during his pre-trial

abies ipa ail ici

App. 5

conversations with law enforcement officials, his actions

do not fall within the rule for acceptance of responsibility

as construed by this court.

3. Rule 29 Motion and Sufficient Evidence for Convic-

tion of Conspiracy and Possession

Printz, Martinez, Salazar-Lopez, Lanter, and Spring-

field argue on appeal that the district court erred by

denying their Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 29

motions for judgments of acquittal. They contend that

multiple conspiracies, not a single conspiracy, were proven

at trial. Printz and Lanter further claim that the evidence

presented at trial was insufficient to convict them either of

conspiracy or of possession of methamphetamine with

intent to distribute.

A. Rule 29 Motion for Judgment of Acquittal

Viewing the evidence in this case in the light most

favorable to the prosecution, as we must, it appears that

there was ample evidence for a reasonable jury to conclude

beyond a reasonable doubt that there was a single con-

spiracy. Salazar acquired drugs from suppliers in Turlock,

California. Although he first sold the drugs in Billings

through a distributor named Lira, Lanter soon became

involved in the distribution. Lanter purported to have

Mafia and law enforcement connections, and Salazar was

informed he would have to pay off Lanter if he wanted to

do business in Billings. Lanter housed Salazar at one

point; sold his house to help Salazar pay off drug debts;

accompanied Salazar in kidnapping and beating Lira, who

had not paid for some drugs; and finally accompanied

Salazar back to California to buy more methamphetamine.

App. 6

Martinez also accompanied Lanter and Salazar back to

Billings. The three sold the drugs acquired on that trip

from adjoining hotel rooms in Billings. Later shipments of

drugs, which were driven by Pimentel-Tafolla from Tur-

lock to Billings, were distributed by Salazar, Printz,

James, Springfield, and others not party to this action.

While some people involved in distributing earlier

shipments were not involved in distributing later ship-

ments, a reasonable jury could have found that there was

one conspiracy, the point of which was to bring drugs from

Turlock to Billings and to distribute them there at a profit.

Each member played essentially the same role throughout

his association with the conspiracy, although the method

of transporting the drugs from California to Montana

changed because the conspiracy was successful and there-

fore needed to bring in larger quantities of drugs for

distribution. As we have previously stated, “[e]ach appel-

lant benefit[tJed from the other appellants’ participation in

the illegal enterprise. The appellants depended on a

functioning distribution network that could sell their

[drugs] whenever they had a supply.” U/nited States v.

Arbelaez, 719 F.2d 1453, 1459 (9th Cir.1983).

Therefore, the district court did not err in denying

Appellants’ Rule 29 motions.

B. Sufficiency of the Evidence

Conspiracy

Printz and Lanter claim that the evidence was insuffi-

cient to connect them to the conspiracy. In order to connect

a defendant to a conspiracy, “‘[t]he government need not

show direct contact or explicit agreement between the

defendants. It is sufficient to show that each defendant

Py ae eer Sate cea ae

SUP eer eae, ices arn elo iat > Mess el LD

i ia a a La i ee Ee ee

App. 7

knew or had reason to know of the scope of the conspiracy

and that each defendant had reason to believe that [his]

own benefits were dependent upon the success of the

entire venture.’” Jd. at 1458-59 (citations omitted). Fur-

thermore, “[e]vidence is sufficient to connect a defendant

to a conspiracy if it shows that the defendant had knowl-

edge of and participated in the conspiracy.” United States

v. Duran, 189 F.3d 1071, 1078 (9th Cir.1999).

Printz was aware of the significant amount of drugs

involved in the conspiracy: he helped transport one of the

methamphetamine “eggs” from the storage locker to

Bishop’s house; he was present at the house when the

drugs were being broken up and weighed; and he helped

sell the drugs. Given his familiarity with Bishop’s house,

from which much of the drugs were sold, a jury could

reasonably have found that he at least should have known

the scope of the conspiracy. A jury likewise reasonably

could have found that he also should have known that he

was dependent on others in the conspiracy — for example,

those who originally purchased the drugs and those who

transported the drugs from California to Montana.

Lanter was also clearly a part of the conspiracy. He

purchased methamphetamine in California, helped Sala-

zar sell that amount and more in Montana, and assisted

Salazar when the latter needed money and a place to stay.

These latter actions assured that he would have a way of

getting drugs from California to Montana.

Possession

Printz and Lanter also claim on appeal that the

evidence was insufficient to convict them of conspiracy to

distribute and possession of methamphetamine with

ee

App. 8

intent to distribute. Viewing the evidence in the light most

favorable to the government, the evidence was sufficient

for a reasonable jury to find the elements of the crime

beyond a reasonable doubt.

While there is evidence that Printz helped pick up and

sell some of the drugs, such direct evidence of possession

by Printz and Lanter is not required for their conviction

for possession with intent to distribute. “[A] co-conspirator

is vicariously liable for reasonably foreseeable substantive

crimes committed by a co-conspirator in furtherance of the

conspiracy.” United States v. Fonseca-Caro, 114 F.3d 906,

907 (9th Cir.1997) (citing Pinkerton v. United States, 328

U.S. 640, 647-48, 66 S.Ct. 1180, 90 L.Ed. 1489 (1946)). “To

establish Pinkerton liability, the prosecution must demon-

strate 1) the substantive offense was committed in

furtherance of the conspiracy; (2) the offense fell within

the scope of the unlawful project; and (3) the offense could

reasonably have been foreseen as a necessary or natural

consequence of the unlawful agreement.’” Fonseca-Caro,

114 F.3d at 908 (citation omitted). The prosecution estab-

lished all three elements; there was therefore sufficient

evidence to convict Printz and Lanter of possession with

intent to distribute.

4. Exclusion of Evidence and Severance Challenged by

Martinez

A. Withdrawal

Martinez argues that his Count VI conviction, which

was based on a Pinkerton theory of liability, see Pinkerton

v. United States, 328 U.S. 640, 647-48, 66 S.Ct. 1180, 90

L.Ed. 1489 (U.S.1946), must be reversed because the

district court abused its discretion when it excluded

Lavi ALA kee ala aA

App. 9

evidence of Martinez’s alleged withdrawal from the con-

spiracy in April of 1996. We agree.

Martinez was convicted of Count I (conspiracy), 21

U.S.C. §§ 841(a)(1), 846, and 18 U.S.C. § 2, and Counts II

and VI (use or possession of firearms in the course of a

drug trafficking scheme), 18 U.S.C. §924(c)(1) and 18

U.S.C. § 2. The Count II conviction “dealt with possession

of a 9 millimeter handgun or a short-barreled shotgun

with a pistol grip between May and July of 1995.” Tr. at

p.1904 (Government’s closing argument). The Count VI

conviction, by contrast, dealt with a .44 magnum revolver

and a .25 caliber handgun “more directly related to the

end of the conspiracy and the conduct in April of 1997.” Id.

The Count VI conviction, because it was a “second or

subsequent” conviction under § 924(c), resulted in the

imposition of a twenty-year sentence. See 18 U.S.C.

§ 924(c)(1)(C)(G) (1994).

The Excluded Evidence of Withdrawal

The excluded evidence at issue includes statements

Martinez made on his own initiative to law enforcement in

April of 1996 implicating two of his co-defendants and

other unindicted co-conspirators in a methamphetamine

trafficking scheme in Billings, Montana — statements

which were later used to support a search warrant for

unindicted co-conspirator Sherry Bishop’s home, the

execution of which produced enough evidence to bring this

case to trial. Martinez has shown that Agent Lueck (the

law enforcement agent who took Martinez’s statement)’

* Martinez was in state prison at the time.

App. 10

was available to testify that Martinez expected no favors

in return for his information and that Martinez told him,

among other things, that he wanted “to make a clean

break.”

District Court Proceedings

Before trial, Martinez moved to dismiss several of the

charges against him on the ground that, as a matter of

law, he had withdrawn from the conspiracy. In opposing

the motion, the government stated:

The defendant’s motion and brief on this issue

[withdrawal] seem to be a preview of defense

counsel’s closing argument at trial in the event

he is successful in persuading this court to give

an instruction on withdrawal. ...

The factual assertions that defendant makes in

his motion and brief are and will be in dispute at

trial and that dispute will be most appropriately

resolved by a jury after his trial. The defendant’s

motion for dismissal should therefore be denied.

The motion was denied, and the jury did receive an

instruction on withdrawal: “You may consider any definite,

positive step that shows that the conspirator is no longer a

member of the conspiracy to be evidence of withdrawal.”

Martinez next requested a severance, on the ground

that the admission of his statements to law enforcement

that tended to indicate withdrawal would present a

Bruton problem for his co-defendants. Bruton v. United

States, 391 U.S. 123, 88 S.Ct. 1620, 20 L.Ed.2d 476 (1968)

(admitting non-testifying defendant’s confession that

incriminates co-defendant violates co-defendant’s confron-

tation rights and is prejudicial error). The court recognized

:

>

x

4

i

:

!

2

3

App. 11

the existence of the problem, suggesting partial severance.

Martinez indicated that he felt additional counts were

affected and should also be severed. The government then

stated that it would be reluctant to agree to severance,

and asked for an overnight recess to research the issue.

The next day the government argued (1) that the

evidence should be excluded because irrelevant to the

issue of withdrawal (based on the fact that Martinez

apparently did not implicate himself and did not refer in

his statement to a “conspiracy”), and (2) in the event the

court found the evidence relevant (and therefore did not

exclude it), that redaction of the co-defendants’ names

rather than severance was the appropriate solution.

Martinez had objected to the redaction approach the day

before, arguing that to redact the names of his co-

defendants would weaken the impact of the evidence.

Just before the judge took a recess to decide the issue,

he remarked: “[Nlobody has mentioned the other partial

solution of dismissing three counts that he’s talking about,

and that would have happened after the withdrawal,

assuming there was a withdrawal. Then the statement

wouldn't be relevant at all.” The government responded by

reiterating its relevance argument, and Martinez informed

the court that “there may be two gun counts that may also

be subject to the same withdrawal motion.” The judge then

recessed, and returned with the following ruling:

This motion is kind of coming in through the

back door. Actually, it shouldn’t really be Marti-

nez’s motion to make, but I’m going to treat it

now 2s a motion in limine, and I am going to rule

that the statement is inadmissible. I’m going to

exclude the statement on the grounds of irrele-

vance, confusing, and does not satisfy the

App. 12

elements of the claim of withdrawal. So you’re

not going to be able to use the statement.

Discussion

A trial court’s decision to exclude evidence is reviewed

for an abuse of discretion. United States v. Williams, 291

F.3d 1180, 1189 (9th Cir.2002). Under this standard of

review, an appellate court should reverse if “it has a

definite and firm conviction that the court below commit-

ted a clear error of judgment in the conclusion it reached,”

SEC v. Coldicutt, 258 F.3d 939, 941 (9th Cir.2001), and the

error more likely than not affected the verdict, see United

States v. Edwards, 235 F.3d 1173, 1178 (9th Cir.2000).

Because we find the district court’s decision to exclude

Martinez’s evidence of withdrawal constituted a clear

error of judgment, and because this error more likely than

not affected the verdict on Count VI, we reverse.

The standard of relevance in the federal courts is

quite liberal: “‘Relevant evidence’ means evidence having

any tendency to make the existence of any fact that is of

consequence to the determination of the action more

probable or less probable than it would be without the

evidence.” Fed.R.Evid. 401. The question of whether

Martinez had withdrawn from the conspiracy in April of

1996 was clearly an issue of consequence to the determi-

nation of the action — if he had, he could not be held liable

for his co-conspirators’ firearms violations in April of 1997.

See United States v. Lothian, 976 F.2d 1257, 1262 (9th

Cir.1992) (“a defendant cannot be held liable for substan-

tive offenses committed before joining or after withdraw-

ing from a conspiracy”). The specific evidence that was

excluded, moreover, had a substantial tendency to make

the fact of withdrawal more probable than it would be

App. 13

without it. “A conspirator can withdraw from a conspiracy

by: (1) disavowing the unlawful goal of the conspiracy; (2)

affirmatively acting to defeat the purpose of the conspir-

acy; or (3) taking definite, decisive, and positive steps to

disassociate himself from the conspiracy.” United States v.

Fox, 189 F.3d 1115, 1118 (9th Cir.1999) (internal quotation

marks omitted). Martinez’s statements to law enforcement

were later used to support a search warrant that led to the

dismantling of the conspiracy. His motivation, according to

law enforcement, was to “make a clean break.” This

evidence, at the very least, had a tendency to make it more

probable than otherwise would be the case that Martinez

“affirmatively [acted] to defeat the purpose of the conspir-

acy.” Id. The district judge’s decision to exclude this

evidence on relevancy grounds, therefore, was clearly

erroneous.

So, too, was the decision to exclude the evidence on

the alternative ground of “confusion.” Given the straight-

forward nature of the evidence, and its importance to

Martinez’s defense, to find its “probative value substan-

tially outweighed by the danger of ... confusion of the

issues” constitutes clear error. Fed.R.Evid. 403.”

We recognize that the district judge faced two equally

undesirable choices — admit Martinez’s statements to law

enforcement and risk a possible mistrial on Bruton

grounds, or order Martinez’s case severed on the eve of

trial. But however unsavory the choice, it had to be made.

? The district judge’s third ground — that the evidence “does not

satisfy the elements of the claim of withdrawal” — is not a permissible

basis for exclusion. See Fed.R.Evid. 401.

. App. 14

Because the exclusion ruling was clearly erroneous, and

because this error more likely than not affected the verdict

against Martinez on Count VI, we reverse the conviction

as to that count. This reversal requires resentencing on

remand.

B. Confrontation Rights

Martinez also argues that the exclusion of evidence

relating to his statements to law enforcement violated his

confrontation rights under the Sixth Amendment of the

United States Constitution, tainting the convictions on

Counts I and II. Although his counsel cross-examined

Sherry Bishop (one of the persons Martinez implicated in

his April 1996 statement), Martinez claims that his

inability to question her about her knowledge of his

statements to law enforcement prevented him from ade-

quately challenging her credibility.

In determining whevher a district court, in excluding

evidence, violated a defendant’s Sixth Amendment right to

confrontation, this court considers three factors: (1)

“whether the excluded evidence is relevant”; (2) “[ilf the

evidence is relevant, ... whether there were other legiti-

mate interests outweighing a party’s interest in presenting

the evidence”; and (3) “whether the trial court’s exclusion

of evidence left the jury with sufficient information upon

which to assess the credibility of witnesses.” United States

v. James, 139 F.3d 709, 713 (9th Cir.1998) (citation and

internal quotation marks omitted). “When the trial court

excludes evidence tending to impeach a witness, it has not

abused its discretion as long as the jury has in its posses-

sion sufficient information to appraise the biases and

App. 15

motivations of the witness.” United States v. Kennedy, 714

F.2d 968, 973 (9th Cir. 1983).

Because the jury already had sufficient information

upon which to assess Bishop’s credibility (including

Bishop’s drug habits, her prior relationship with Martinez,

and her inconsistent statements to police), we hold that

Martinez did not suffer a Sixth Amendment violation by

the exclusion of his statements to law enforcement.

C. Severance

Martinez’s claim regarding severance is moot.

5. Exclusion of Evidence of Martinez’s Statements to

Law Enforcement Officials

Martinez claims that the government’s failure to

produce the letter he wrote to narcotics agents and the

notes those agents took during or after the interview with

him violates his right to confrontation. He also claims that

the district court erred in denying his motion to dismiss on

these grounds. The government’s loss or destruction of the

notes cannot be a violation of the Confrontation Clause,

because it does not involve witnesses testifying against

Martinez. To the extent that Martinez’s claim has a

constitutional basis, it is the Due Process Clause.

This court has set out a two-pronged test under the

Due Process Clause for “cases of constitutionally guaran-

teed access to evidence, whereim the Government loses

potentially exculpatory evidence.” United States v. Dring,

930 F.2d 687, 693 (9th Cir.1991). Under this test, the

burden is on the defendant to “make an initial showing

that the Government acted in bad faith and that this

App. 16

conduct resulted in prejudice to the defendant’s case.” Jd.

Martinez has satisfied neither of these prongs. There is no

evidence in the record showing that the notes and letter

were lost or destroyed due to the government’s bad faith.

There is also no evidence in the record tending to show

that the notes or letter were facially exculpatory.

6. Martinez’s Sentence of Twenty Years for his Second

Count of Conviction Under 18 U.S.C. § 924(c)

Because we reverse Martinez’s conviction on Count

VI, see supra, we need not address Martinez’s argument

that the sentence imposed for that conviction violates his

due process rights under United States v. Castaneda, 9

F.3d 761 (9th Cir.1993), or that it constitutes cruel and

unusual punishment.

7. Salazar-Lopez’s Evidentiary Challenges

Salazar-Lopez challenges several evidentiary rulings

on appeal.

A. Hearsay Statements

First, Salazar-Lopez asserts that his confrontation

rights were violated by the admission of hearsay state-

ments of unindicted co-conspirator Carlos Marquez, as

well as by what he claims to be Bruton testimony. Under

Federal Rule of Evidence (“FRE”) 801(d)(2)(E), hearsay

statements may be admitted when they are “offered

against a party” and are made by “a coconspirator of a

party during the course and in furtherance of the conspir-

”

acy.

App. 17

Marquez’s statements were recounted by David Gil.

Both Marquez and Gil appear to have been co-

conspirators, as both were sources from whom Salazar-

Lopez purchased methamphetamine in Turlock. It is of no

consequence that they were not indicted, see United States

v. Everett, 692 F.2d 596, 601 (9th Cir.1982), because the

statements were clearly made during the course of the

conspiracy. One of the statements, regarding Salazar-

Lopez wiring money to Marquez through Western Union,

was in furtherance of the conspiracy. The other statement,

regarding Salazar-Lopez taking half of a certain amount of

drugs to Billings so that Gil could take the other half, is

less clearly in furtherance of the conspiracy. However,

“[e]vidence erroneously admitted in violation of the Con-

frontation Clause must be shown harmless beyond a

reasonable doubt, with courts considering the importance

of the evidence, whether the evidence was cumulative, the

presence of corroborating evidence, and the overall

strength of the prosecution’s case.” United States v. Bow-

man, 215 F.3d 951, 961 (9th Cir.2000) (citation omitted).

Given the amount of evidence against Salazar-Lopez and

the corroboration of the first statement, the admission of

this statement, even if erroneous, did not constitute

reversible error.

Salazar-Lopez also claims that statements made by

Martinez and Lanter should be excluded under Bruton v.

United States, 391 U.S. 123, 88 S.Ct. 1620, 20 L.Ed.2d 476

(1968). We have stated that in Bruton, “the Supreme Court

held that admission at a joint trial of a co-defendant’s

confession implicating the defendant violated the defen-

dant’s sixth amendment right to confrontation. The incul-

patory statements which form the basis of [appellant’s]

Bruton claim were not statements made in a confession,

App. 18

but were statements made by [a co-conspirator], in fur-

therance of a conspiracy.” United States v. McCown, 711

F.2d 1441, 1448 (9th Cir.1983). Under our holding in

McCown, Salazar-Lopez’s Bruton claim fails.

B. Federal Rule of Evidence 404(b) Evidence

Salazar-Lopez objects to the admission of testimony

regarding an instance in which Martinez threatened and

hit a man.* This evidence is not, however, Federal Rule of

Evidence (“FRE”) 404(b) evidence, as Salazar-Lopez

alleges. That rule makes evidence of “other crimes” admis-

sible for purposes such as “proof of motive, opportunity,

intent, preparation, [or] plan.” FRE 404(b) does not apply

when the “evidence concerning the other act and the

evidence concerning the crime charged are ‘inextricably

intertwined.’” United States v. Ripinsky, 109 F.3d 1436,

1442 (9th Cir.1997) (citation omitted), overruled on other

grounds by United States v. Sablan, 114 F.3d 914 (9th

Cir.1997). The evidence regarding Martinez’s mode of

collecting on drug debts is “inextricably intertwined” with

evidence regarding other parts of the conspiracy. Therefore

it is admissible for all purposes.

Salazar-Lopez also claims that the district court erred

by failing to grant his motion for a mistrial due to the

* Salazar-Lopez claims on appeal that the district court erred by

admitting evidence in violation of Federal Rules of Evidence (“FRE”)

401, 402, 403, and 404(b). However, he elaborates only on the violation

of FRE 404(b) and does not mention the other rules again. The rele-

vance of FRE 401, 402, and 403 to Salazar-Lopez’s argument is not

immediately apparent, and we will not address the possible applicabil-

ity of these rules.

App. 19

failure of the government to give all Appellants notice of

its intention to use FRE 404(b) evidence obtained from a

search, executed pursuant to a warrant, of Salazar-Lopez’s

house in Turlock. The evidence on which Salazar-Lopez

focuses is pieces of paper recovered at the house. These

papers alone are not evidence of bad acts; therefore they

do not fall within the scope of FRE 404(b). Consequently,

even if notice was not properly given and the evidence was

improperly admitted, it was not reversible error under

FRE 404(b).

8. Enhancement of Salazar-Lopez’s Base Offense Level

for his Alleged Role as a Supervisor of the Conspiracy

The district court increased Salazar-Lopez’s base

offense level by four levels due to his role as an organizer

or leader, under U.S.S.G. § 3B1.1. In order to be subjected

to this offense level enhancement, a defendant “need only

[have] exercise[d] authority over one and not all of the

other participants in order to merit the adjustment.”

United States v. Camper, 66 F.3d 229, 231 (9th Cir.1995).

The district court did not err in enhancing Salazar-

Lopez’s base offense level under U.S.S.G. § 3B1.1, because

evidence in the record establishes that Salazar-Lopez

wielded a high degree of authority in the conspiracy. For

example, he discussed with Lira the viability of setting up

a drug operation in Billings; he set the terms of a deal

with Lira; and he introduced Lanter to his connection.

App. 20

9. Denial of Downward Departure for Salazar-Lopez on

Grounds of Alien Status, and his Request for a Rec-

ommendation to the Bureau of Prisons that he be In-

carcerated in Mexico

This court may not review a district court’s discretion-

ary denial of a downward departure. United States v.

Wetchie, 207 F.3d 632, 636 (9th Cir.2000). The district

court did not indicate that it lacked discretion to depart;

only if it had so indicated would this decision be review-

able. United States v. Davoudi, 172 F.3d 1130, 1133 (9th

Cir.1999).

Appellant Salazar-Lopez requested that the district

court recommend to the Bureau of Prisons that he serve

his sentence in Mexico. The district court does not have

jurisdiction to decide the location of a defendant’s incar-

ceration; authority over that decision is held by the execu-

tive branch. United States v. Dragna, 746 F.2d 457, 458

(9th Cir.1984). Therefore the district court’s denial of the

request to recommend was not error.

10. Lanter’s Consecutive, Rather than Concurrent, Sen-

tences

The district court has discretion to impose concurrent

or consecutive sentences. United States v. Otis, 127 F.3d

829, 834 (9th Cir.1997); see also 18 U.S.C. § 3584(a);

U.S.S.G. § 5G1.3(c).

The current version of U.S.S.G. § 5G1.3(c), which was

in effect at the time of Lanter’s sentencing, and its appli-

cation notes leave to the district court’s discretion the

choice between concurrent and consecutive sentences.

Under 18 U.S.C. § 3584, the district court must consider

the factors set out in 18 U.S.C. § 3553(a) when deciding

App. 21

between consecutive and concurrent sentences. Section

3553(a) states that

[t]he court shall impose a sentence sufficient, but

not greater than necessary, to comply with the

purposes set forth in paragraph (2) of this sub-

section. The court, in determining the particular

sentence to be imposed, shall consider —

(1) the nature and circumstances of the offense

and the history and characteristics of the defen-

dant;

(2) the need for the sentence imposed-

(A) to reflect the seriousness of the offense, to

promote respect for the law, and to provide just

punishment for the offense;

(B) to afford adequate deterrence to criminal

conduct;

(C) to protect the public from further crimes of

the defendant; and

(D) to provide the defendant with needed edu-

cational or vocational training, medical care, or

other correctional treatment in the most effective

manner;

(3) the kinds of sentences available;

(4) the kinds of sentence and the sentencing

range established for-

(A) the applicable category of offense committed

by the applicable category of defendant as set

forth in the guidelines issued by the Sentencing

Commission pursuant to section 994(a)(1) of title

28, United States Code, and that are in effect on

the date the defendant is sentenced; or

App. 22

(B) in the case of a violation of probation or su-

pervised release, the applicable guidelines or pol-

icy statements issued by the Sentencing

Commission pursuant to section 994(a)(3) of title

28, United States Code;

(5) any pertinent policy statement issued by the

Sentencing Commission pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

994(a)(2) that is in effect on the date the defen-

dant is sentenced;

(6) the need to avoid unwarranted sentence

disparities among defendants with similar re-

cords who have been found guilty of similar con-

duct; and

(7) the need to provide restitution to any vic-

tims of the offense.

18 U.S.C. § 3553(a). Lanter is serving consecutive

sentences of 318 months and 660 months, which, given his

age, is the practical equivalent of a life sentence. Ordering

these sentences to be served consecutively may be “greater

than necessary ... to comply with the purposes” of 18

U.S.C. § 3553(a)(2).

The district court’s decision is reversible only if we

find an abuse of discretion. However, the district court

must have stated its reasons for imposing the sentences

consecutively. It is not clear from the record whether the

district court considered the factors listed in 18 U.S.C.

§ 3553(a). See United States v. Luna-Madellaga, 133 F.3d

1293, 1294 (9th Cir.1998) (stating that a sentencing court,

in determining whether to give concurrent, partially

concurrent, or consecutive sentences, “is to consider” the

factors set out in 18 U.S.C. § 3553(a) as well as those listed

in U.S.S.G. §5G1.3, application note 3). Because the

district court failed to show that it considered these

App. 23

factors, and because the aggregate sentence may be

greater than necessary to comply with the purposes of

§ 3553(a)(2), we reverse and remand for resentencing.

11. Apprendi Errors

The Appellants all filed supplemental briefs arguing

that the district court erred at sentencing in attributing to

them drug quantities that were not found by the jury

beyond a reasonable doubt, in violation of the rule set

forth in Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 490, 120

S.Ct. 2348, 147 L.Ed.2d 435 (2000) (“[o]ther than the fact

of a prior conviction, any fact that increases the penalty

for a crime beyond the prescribed statutory maximum

must be submitted to a jury, and proved beyond a reason-

able doubt”). Apprendi was decided after the Appellants

were sentenced by the district court, and Appellants did

not raise these objections to their sentences below. We

therefore review for plain error. See Fed.R.Crim.P. 52(b).

To secure reversal under this standard, Appellants must

prove that: (1) there was “error”; (2) the error was “plain”;

and (3) that the error affected “substantial rights.” United

States v. Olano, 507 U.S. 725, 732, 113 S.Ct. 1770, 123

L.Ed.2d 508 (1993). If these conditions are met, we may

exercise our discretion to “notice a forfeited error” only if

the error (4) “seriously affect[s] the fairness, integrity, or

public reputation of judicial proceedings.” Jd. (internal

quotation marks omitted).

Because the jury found beyond a reasonable doubt

only that Appellants had conspired to possess and pos-

sessed with intent to distribute a “measurable amount” of

methamphetamine, the statutory maximum is 20 years

(240 months). 21 U.S.C. § 841(b)(1)(C). Appellants James,

App. 24

~ Pimentel-Tafolla, and Springfield were each sentenced to

less than 240 months, and thus there was no Apprendi

error in their sentencing. However, Appellants Salazar-

Lopez, Printz, Lanter and Martinez each received sen-

tences of greater than 240 months, and the district court

therefore erred in sentencing these four Appellants. In

light of Apprendi, that error is now plain. See Johnson v.

United States, 520 U.S. 461, 468, 117 S.Ct. 1544, 137

L.Ed.2d 718 (1997) (“[W]here the law at the time of trial

was settled and clearly contrary to the law at the time of

appeall,] it is enough that an error be ‘plain’ at the time of

appellate consideration”).

Nonetheless, under the fourth step in the plain error

analysis, we decline to notice the forfeited error, for “[e]ven

assuming [these four Appellants’] substantial rights were

affected, the error did not seriously affect the fairness,

integrity, or public reputation of judicial proceedings.”

United States v. Cotton, 535 U.S. 625, 122 S.Ct. 1781,

1786, 152 L.Ed.2d 860 (2002). In Johnson v. United States,

520 U.S. 461, 470, 117 S.Ct. 1544, 187 L.Ed.2d 718 (1997),

the Supreme Court held, under the fourth step, that a

failure to submit an element of the crime to the jury for

decision did not require reversal because the evidence of

that element introduced at trial was “overwhelming” and

“essentially uncontroverted.” In Cotton, the Supreme

Court applied the Johnson analysis to an error under

Apprendi in which neither the grand nor petit jury had

determined the actual quantity of drugs. The precise

question answered in Cotton was whether the grand jury,

rather than the petit jury, should have been asked to

determine whether the quantity of drugs exceeded 50

grams. But it is clear that Cotton applies to a failure to

submit the quantity of drugs to the petit jury as well as to

App. 25

the grand jury, for Johnson, the foundation case for Cot-

ton, involved a failure to submit an element of the crime to

the petit jury.

In this case, the evidence that the conspiracy involved

large quantities of drugs “was overwhelming and essen-

tially uncontroverted.” Cotton, 122 S.Ct. at 1786 (internal

quotation marks omitted). All of the evidence implicating

Appellants in the drug conspiracy revealed that several

pounds of methamphetamine were involved. The very

nature of the conspiracy was to transport multiple pounds

of the drug and then to break down and weigh the pieces.

“Surely the [petit] jury, having found that the conspiracy

existed, would have also found that the conspiracy in-

volved at least [ten] grams of [methamphetamine].” Id. See

also 21 U.S.C. § 841(b)(1)(B)(viii). Under Cotton, because

the government introduced overwhelming proof of the fact

that supported the enhanced sentences, the Apprendi

error here does not require reversal. Id.

12. Calculation of Drug Weights to be Attributed to Appel-

lants Springfield, James, and Printz

Appellants Springfield, James, and Printz also argue

that the district court erred in calculating the drug weights

attributable to them for purposes of sentencing. We review a

district court’s factual determination as to the drug quantity

attributable to a defendant for clear error. See United States

v. Palafox-Mazon, 198 F.3d 1182 (9th Cir.2000).

Appellants may properly be held accountable for all

quantities of drugs with which they were directly involved,

and all reasonably foreseeable quantities that were within

the scope of the criminal conspiracy. See U.S.S.G. § 1B1.3

(relevant conduct). Moreover, “a jury’s verdict of acquittal

App. 26

does not prevent the sentencing court from considering

conduct underlying the acquitted charge.” See United

States v. Watts, 519 U.S. 148, 157, 117 S.Ct. 633, 136

L.Ed.2d 554 (1997). Generally, the court must only find

that the defendant engaged in the criminal conduct by a

preponderance of the evidence; where, however, “a sen-

tencing factor has an extremely disproportionate effect on

the sentence relative to the offense of conviction,” a clear

and convincing standard may be required. See United

States v. Valensia, 222 F.3d 1173, 1178-79 (9th Cir.2000).

The district court found, by clear and convincing

evidence, that Springfield and James were accountable for

nine pounds of methamphetamine, and that Printz was

accountable for ten pounds of methamphetamine. The

district court’s findings are not clearly erroneous.

The evidence showed that the Appellants were di-

rectly involved with the March 1997 shipment of metham-

phetamine. Bishop testified that Printz knowingly assisted

in the transportation of the March shipment, and that

Springfield and James thereafter assisted in breaking the

drugs down for distribution. The DEA forensic chemist

testified that any evaporation would have occurred after

the drugs were exposed to air during breakdown. Because

each of the three Appellants dealt with the drugs before or

at the time they were broken down, each was properly

held accountable for the full, pre-evaporation, quantity.

Bishop’s testimony also reveals that Printz, Spring-

field, and James remained involved in the drug conspiracy

during April 1997, and that — given their knowledge of the

large quantity of drugs at play in the conspiracy — they

could have reasonably foreseen the methazaphetamine

referenced in Counts IV and V. We reject the Appellants’

App. 27

invitation to second guess the district court’s determina-

tion of Bishop’s credibility.

AFFIRMED in part, REVERSED and REMANDED in

part.

App. 28

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

District of Montana, Billings Division

UNITED STATES JUDGMENT INA

OF AMERICA CRIMINAL CASE

(For Offenses Committed On

¥. or After November 1, 1987)

VINCENT aa (Filed Oct. 20, 1999)

CASE NUMBER:

CR 97-37-BLG-JDS-10

Brian Gallik

Defendant’s Attorney

THE DEFENDANT:

{[ ] pleaded guilty to count(s)

[ ] pleaded nolo contendere to count(s)

which was accepted by the court.

[x] was found guilty on count(s) _1, 2, 6 of 3rd SI

after a plea of not guilty.

Date

Title & Nature of Offense Count

Section Offense Concluded Number(s)

21:841(a)(1); Conspiracy 4-17-97 1

846 to possess metham-

phetamine with

intent to distribute

18:924(c) Use of a firearm 7-20-96 2

during a drug

trafficking crime

18:924(c) 2 "4-17-97 6

App. 29

The defendant is sentenced as provided in pages 2

through _ 7 __ of this judgment. The sentence is imposed

pursuant to the Sentencing Reform Act of 1984.

[x] The defendant has been found not guilty on

count(s)__3, 4, 5, and 7 of 3rd SI

[x] Count(s) of underlying indictments (is)(are)

dismissed on the motion of the United States.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the defendant shall

notify the United States Attorney for this district within

30 days of any change of name, residence, or mailing

address until all fines, restitution, costs, and special

assessments imposed by this judgment are fully paid.

Defendant’s Soc. Sec. No.: 10-13-99

535-72-0361 Date of Imposition of

Defendant’s Date of Birth: Judgment

3-27-61 /s/_ Jack D. Shanstrom

Defendant’s USM No-.: Signature of Judicial Officer

05981-046 Jack D. Shanstrom

a: ; Chief Judge

Detenmnnt 8 Residence Name and Title of Judicial

Address:

Officer

3455 Old Hardin Road 10-20-99

No. 33

Date

Billings, MT 59101

Defendant’s Mailing

Address:

App. 30

IMPRISONMENT

The defendant is hereby committed to the custody of

the United States Bureau of Prisons to be imprisoned for a

term of __ 593 months

e

[x]

[ J

[ ]

293 months on Count 1, 60 months on Count 2, and

240 months on Count 6, all to run consecutive to one

another.

The court makes the following recommendations to

the Bureau of Prisons:

The defendant is remanded to the custody of the

United States Marshal.

The defendant shall surrender to the United States

Marshal for this district:

{ ] at a.m./p.m. on

{[ ] as notified by the United States Marshal.

The defendant shall surrender for service of sentence

at the institution designated by the Bureau of Pris-

ons:

{ ] before 2 p.m. on

[ ] as notified by the United States Marshal.

{ ] as notified by the Probation or Pretrial Services

Office.

RETURN

I have executed this judgment as follows:

App. 31

Defendant delivered on to

at , with a certified copy of this judgment.

UNITED STATES MARSHAL

By

Deputy U.S. Marshal

SUPERVISED RELEASE

Upon release from imprisonment, the defendant shall be

on supervised release for a term of _5 years

5 years on Count 1, 3 years on each of Counts 2 and 6,

to run concurrent with one another.

The defendant shall report to the probation office in

the district to which the defendant is released within 72

hours of release from the custody of the Bureau of Prisons.

The defendant shall not commit another federal, state, or

local crime.

The defendant shall not illegally possess a controlled

substance.

For offenses committed on or after September 13, 1994:

The defendant shall refrain from any unlawful use of

a controlled substance. The defendant shall submit to one

drug test within 15 days of release from imprisonment and

at least two periodic drug tests thereafter, as directed by

the probation officer.

[ ] The above drug testing condition is suspended

based on the court’s determination that the de-

fendant poses a low risk of future substance

abuse. (Check, if applicable.)

App. 32

[x] The defendant shall not possess a firearm as defined

in 18 U.S.C. § 921. (Check, if applicable.)

If this judgment imposes a fine or a restitution

obligation, it shall be a condition of supervised re-

lease that the defendant pay any such fine or restitu-

tion that remains unpaid at the commencement of

the term of supervised release in accordance with the

Schedule of Payments set forth in the Criminal

Monetary Penalties sheet of this judgment.

The defendant shall comply with the standard condi-

tions that have been adopted by this court (set forth

below). The defendant shall also comply with the addi-

tional conditional on the attached page.

STANDARD CONDITIONS OF SUPERVISION

1) the defendant shall not leave the judicial district

without the permission of the court or probation offi-

cer;

2) the defendant shall report to the probation officer

and shall submit a truthful and complete written re-

port within the first five days of each month;

3) the defendant shall answer truthfully all inquiries by

the probation officer and follow the instructions of

the probation officer;

4) the defendant shall support his or her dependents

and meet other family responsibilities;

5) the defendant shall work regularly at a lawful

occupation unless excused by the probation officer for

schooling, training, or other acceptable reasons;

6) the defendant shall notify the probation officer ten

days prior to any change in residence or employment;

App. 33

7) the defendant shall refrain from excessive use of

alcohol;

8) the defendant shall not frequent places where con-

trolled substances are illegally sold, used, distrib-

uted, or administered;

9) the defendant shall not associate with any persons

engaged in criminal activity, and shall not associate

with any person convicted of a felony unless granted

permission to do so by the probation officer;

10) the defendant shall permit a probation officer to visit

him or her at any time at home or elsewhere and

shall permit confiscation of any contraband observed

in plain view by the probation officer;

11) the defendant shall notify the probation officer

within seventy-two hours of being arrested or ques-

tioned by a law enforcement officer;

12) the defendant shall not enter into any agreement to

act as an informer or a special agent of a law en-

forcement agency without the permission of the

court;

13) as directed by the probation officer, the defendant

shall notify third parties of risks that may be occa-

sioned by the defendant’s criminal record or personal

history or characteristics, and shall permit the pro-

bation officer to make such notifications and to

confirm the defendant’s compliance with such notifi-

cation requirement.

App. 34

ADDITIONAL STANDARD

CONDITIONS OF SUPERVISION

Defendant shall participate in a program of substance

abuse treatment, as approved by the U.S. Probation

Officer, until such time as defendant is released from the

program by the probation officer. This program shali

include urinalysis monitoring and breathalyser testing to

determine if defendant has reverted to the use of drugs or

alcohol.

Defendant shall abstain from the consumption of alcohol

and shall not frequent establishments where alcohol is the

primary item of sale.

- Defendant shall submit his person, residence, office, or

vehicle to a search, conducted by a U.S. Probation Officer,

at a reaonable time and in a reasonable manner, based on

reasonable suspicion of contraband or evidence in violation

of a condition of release. Failure to submit to a search may

be grounds for revocation. Defendant shall warn any other

resident that the premises may be subject to searches

pursuant to this condition.

Defendant shall notify the U.S. Probation Office at least

ten (10) days prior to any change of address.

CRIMINAL MONETARY PENALTIES

The defendant shall pay the following total criminal

monetary penalties in accordance with the schedule of

payments set forth on Sheet 5, Part B.

Assessment Fine Restitution

Totals: $ 300.00 $ $

App. 35

[ ] If applicable, restitution amount

ordered pursuant to plea agreement... .$

FINE

The above fine includes costs of incarceration and/or

supervision inthe amount of $

The defendant shall pay interest on any fine of more

than $2,500, unless the fine is paid in full before the

fifteenth day after the date of judgment, pursuant to 18

U.S.C. § 3612(f). All of the payment options on Sheet 5,

Part B may be subject to penalties for default and delin-

quency pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 3612(g).

[ ] The court has determined that the defendant does

not have the ability to pay interest and it is ordered

that:

[ ] The interest requirement is waived.

[ ] The interest requirement is modified as follows:

RESTITUTION

[ ] The determination of restitution is deferred until

. An Amended Judgment in a

Criminal Case will be entered after such a determi-

nation.

{ ] The defendant shall make restitution to the following

payees in the amounts listed below.

If the defendant makes a partial payment, each payee

shall receive an approximately proportional payment

unless specified otherwise in the priority order or percent-

age payment column below.

App. 36

Priority

*Total Amount of Order or

Name of Amount’ Restitution Percentage

Payee of Loss Ordered of Payment

Totals: $ $

* Findings for the total amount of losses are required

under Chapters 109A, 110, 110A, and 113A of Title 18 for

offenses committed on or after September 13, 1994 but

before April 23, 1996.

SCHEDULE OF PAYMENTS

Payments shall be applied in the following order: (1)

assessment; (2) restitution; (3) fine principal; (4) cost of

prosecution; (5) interest; (6) penalties.

Payment of the total fine and other criminal monetary

penalties shall be due as follows:

A [x] in full immediately; or

B{)§ immediately, balance due

(in accordance with C, D, or E); or

C [1] not later than - or

D [] ininstallments to commence day(s)

after the date of this judgment. If the event the

entire amount of criminal monetary penalties im-

posed is not paid prior to the commencement of

supervision, the U.S. probation officer shall pur-

sue collection of the amount due, and shall re-

quest the court to establish a payment schedule if

appropriate; or

App. 37

E [] in (e.g. equal, weekly, monthly,

quarterly) installments of $ over

a period of year(s) to commence

day(s) after the date of this

judgment.

The defendant will receive credit for all payments previ-

ously made toward any criminal monetary penalties

imposed.

Special instructions regarding the payment of criminal

monetary penalties:

If necessary to ensure payment of the special assess-

{ ment imposed, defendant all participate in the Bureau of

Prisons Inmate Financial Responsibility Program.

[ ] Joint and Several.

[ ] The defendant shall pay the cost of prosecution.

[ ] The defendant shall pay the following court

cost(s):

! [] The defendant shall forfeit the defendant’s

interest in the following property to the United

States:

Unless the court has expressly ordered other-

wise in the special instructions above, if this judg-

ment imposes a period of imprisonment payment of

criminal monetary penalties shall be due during the

period of imprisonment. All criminal monetary

penalty payments, except those payments made

through the Bureau of Prisons’ Inmate Financial

Responsibility Program are to be made as directed

by the court, the probation officer, or the United

States attorney.

App. 38

STATEMENT OF REASONS

[ ] The court adopts the factual findings and guideline

application in the presentence report.

OR

[x] The court adopts the factual finding and guideline

application in the presentence report except (see at-

tachment, if necessary): The Court attributes 1,927.8

kg to the defendant, which reduces his base offense

level by 4 levels under 2D1.1(c)(4). Defendant’s

criminal history is reduced 3 points resulting in a

criminal history category of V.

Guideline Range Determined by the Court:

Total Offense Level: 35

Criminal History Category: V

Imprisonment Range: 235-293 months

Supervised Release Range: 3-5 years

Fine Range: $25,000 to$ $4,000,000

[x] Fine waived or below the guideline range be-

cause of inability to pay.

Total Amount of Restitution: $

[ ] Restitution is not ordered because the complica-

tion and prolongation of the sentencing process

resulting from the fashioning of a restitution or-

der outweighs the need to provide restitution to

any victims, pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 3663(d).

[ ] For offenses committed on or after September 13,

1994 but before April 23, 1996 that require the

total amount of loss to be stated, pursuant to

Chapters 109A, 110, 110A, and 113A of Title 18,

restitution is not ordered because the economic

[ ]

[ J

[x]

[ ]

App. 39

circumstances of the defendant do not allow for

the payment of any amount of a restitution or-

der, and do not allow for the payment of any or

some portion of a restitution order in the forsee-

able future under any reasonable schedule of

payments.

Partial restitution is ordered for the following rea-

son(s):

The sentence is within the guideline range, that

range does not exceed 24 months, and the court finds

no reason to depart from the sentence called for by

application of the guidelines.

OR

The sentence is within the guideline range, that

range exceeds 24 months, and the sentence is im-

posed for the following reason(s): The sentence im-

posed is substantial and, in light of the defendant’s

background and the facts of this case, meets the

statutory purposes of sentencing, namely punish-

ment, deterrence, community protection, and reha-

bilitation.

OR

The sentence departs from the guideline range:

[ ] upon motion of the government, as a result of

defendant’s substantial assistance.

[ ] for the following specific reason(s):

App. 40

Rules of Criminal Procedure

Rule 16. Discovery and Inspection

(a) Governmental Disclosure of Evidence.

(1) Information Subject to Disclosure.

(A) Statement of Defendant. Upon re-

quest of a defendant the government must dis-

close to the defendant and make available for

inspection, copying, or photographing; any rele-

vant written or recorded statements made by the

defendant, or copies thereof, within the posses-

sion, custody, or control of the government, the

existence of which is known, or by the exercise of

due diligence may become known, to the attorney

for the government; that portion of any written

record containing the substance of any relevant

oral statement made by the defendant whether

before or after arrest in respozse to interrogation

by any person then known to the defendant to be

a government agent; and recorded testimony of

the defendant before a grand jury which relates

to the offense charged. The government must

also disclose to the defendant the substance of

any other relevant oral statement made by the

defendant whether before or after arrest in re-

sponse to interrogation by any person then

known by the defendant to be a government

agent if the government intends to use that

statement at trial. Upon request of a defendant

which is an organization such as a corporation,

partnership, association or labor union, the gov-

ernment must disclose to the defendant any of

the foregoing statements made by a person who

the government contends (1) was, at the time of

making the statement, so situated as a director,

officer, employee, or agent as to have been able

BN tn ti a De nea Sib tL te 5 the ons OP ie A Bmw TH te Ok BO Om

App. 41

legally to bind the defendant in respect to the

subject of the statement, or (2) was, at the time

of the offense, personally involved in the alleged

conduct constituting the offense and so situated

as a director, officer, employee, or agent as to

have been able legally to bind the defendant in

respect to that alleged conduct in which the per-

son was involved.

(B) Defendant’s Prior Record. Upon re-

quest of the defendant, the government shall

furnish to the defendant such copy of the defen-

dant’s prior criminal record, if any, as is within

the possession, custody, or control of the govern-

ment, the existence of which is known, or by the

exercise of due diligence may become known, to

the attorney for the government.

(C) Decuments and Tangible Objects.

Upon request, of the defendant the government

shall permit the defendant to inspect and copy or

photograph books, papers, documents, photo-

graphs, tangible objects, uildings or places, or

copies or portions thereof, which are within the

possession, custody or control of the government,

and which are material to the preparation of the

defendant’s defense or are intended for use by

the government as evidence in chief at the trial,

or were cbtained from or belong to the defendant.

App. 42

Brian K. Gallik

GOETZ, GALLIK, BALDWIN & DOLAN, P.C.

35 North Grand

P.O. Box 428

Bozeman, Montana 59771-0428

(406) 587-0618

ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANT,

Vincent Martinez

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MONTANA

7 —- RANDY JAMES

8 - JOSHUA SPRINGFIELD

9 —- WILLIAM LANTER aka

“WILD BILL”

10 —- VINCENT MARTINEZ,

Defendants.

BILLINGS DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF ) —"

AMERICA, CR-97.37.

Plaintiff, BLG-JDS-10

bie ) AFFIDAVIT OF

3 — CARLOS SALAZAR-LOPEZ ? VINCENT

4 — MARIANO PIMENTEL- ) MARTINEZ

TAFOLLA )

6 - DONALD FRANK “GRIZ”?

PRINTZ

)

)

)

)

)

)

STATE OF MONTANA _)

: ss

County of Cascade )

Vincent Martinez, being sworn upon his oath, deposes

and states as follows:

FO as

|

App. 43

1. I am a defendant in the above-captioned matter. I

am submitting this affidavit in support of my motion to

dismiss the indictment against me because I believe that

information I provided to the Untied States Government,

with the understanding that such information would not

be used against me, was in fact used by the government

and led to my indictment.

2. By way of background, I was arrested on state

felony charges in late December, 1995. While I was in jail,

awaiting my initial trial date, I contacted the Narcotics

Bureau of the State of Montana and advised them that I

had information concerning drugs and drug trafficking in

the Billings, Montana area, that would be of assistance to

them. The reason I contacted them is because I wanted

i help, if possible, with my state court case.

3. A short time after I contacted the Narcotics

Division, agents arrived at the Yellowstone County Deten-

tion Center and met with me. It is my understanding,

through prior conversations or correspondence with my

attorney at the time, Sandy Selvy, that Mr. Selvy ar-

ranged for the agents to meet with me. I was instructed by

my attorney not to discuss the state court case in any way.

; It was also my understanding that the agents were not to

discuss, in any way, my state court case.

alah stent tied te aha A Se Se teil sot AP i

4. Two agents arrived at the detention center and we

were in a room together. I was not advised of my Miranda

rights. I told them that I wanted help with my state court

case and they indicated that they would see what they

could do with respect to the information I provided to

them. In exchange for the information I provided to them,

the agents told me that they would try to help me out

by advising the prosecuting attorney of the fact of my

App. 44

assistance. I was told, and it was also my understanding,

that the information I provided to the agents would not be

used against me, or lead to my prosecution.

5. In reliance upon these representations, I gave the

agents a statement with respect to narcotics and narcotics

dealers in Billings, Montana. I identified a number of

individuals, including Sherry Bishop, as individuals,

involved in the sale of drugs in Billings. In addition, I

answered questions about various individuals named by

the agents.

6. The meeting with the agents lasted approximately

45 minutes. During that time, both agents took notes. At

the end, the agents advised me that they would be back in

a couple of days with paperwork for me to sign. I under-

stood this to mean that the paperwork would consist of a

formalization of the agreement that we reached in the jail,

including the representation that the information I pro-

vided to them would not be used against me. The agents

also advised me that they were going to talk to the prose-

cuting attorney and then return with the paperwork. The

agents did not come back. At the end of the meeting we

shook hands and they left.

7. On another occasion, following my conviction and

sentencing on the state court charge, I was again sitting in

the Yellowstone County Detention Center. At this time, I

was waiting to be transported to Deer Lodge. Two agents

came into the jail, unannounced, and took me to the small

courtroom in the detention center and introduced them-

selves as federal agents. One of the agents starting [sic]

talking to me about a case involving me and the State of

Washington. Again, I was not read my rights. I asked

to have my lawyers present and they said it was not

App. 45 he

necessary. I then advised the agents that the case in

Washington had been dismissed against me. One of the

agents indicated to me that they had information about

me and that if I provided them with information that they

might be able to help me out with my state court case. It

was also our understanding that any information I pro-

vided to them would not be used against me with respect

to future charges.

8. I advised the officers that I had already provided

statements to agents regarding narcotics. The agents then

started asking me questions about Carlos Salazar and how

much drugs and money he was involved with and I ad-

vised the agents that I knew Mr. Salazar, that I was

driving in a vehicle with him when I was arrested in

Washington state, but that I did not know about quanti-

ties. They also asked questions about Sherry Bishop, guns,

drugs, Bill Lanter, Mr. Lanter’s daughters and Moses

Lake. The officers were present for about 30 minutes and

said they would come back in a couple days after talking to

the prosecuting attorney. The agents advised me that they

would talk to the prosecuting attorney to help me out. I

remember thinking to myself “sure” because I had heard

that from the government agents in the past and the

agents did not return. One of the agents, as I recall,

questioned my truthfulness because, I believe, I could not

give him information about quantities.

9. Following the meeting with these agents in the

small courtroom of the detention center, I advised my

attorney, Bill D’Alton, I believe by phone, of the offer of

assistance with my state court case made by the federal

agents. Mr. D’Alton advised me to be very careful and I

advised him that I had not provided the agents with any

information that I had not previously provided to them.

aR ER A ANSE

App. 46

10. There was another time, prior to the incident I

just described, when a heavy-set male and woman, whom I

also understood to be government agents, interviewed me.

Again, I provided them with information with the under-

standing that the information would not be used against

me in the future. I also thought that the information

would be used to help me with my state court case. As in

the other occasions described in this affidavit, the agents

did not come back.

11. I also gave a statement to, I believe, ATF agents

concerning Jon Hardesty, whom I believe is also a witness

against me. That statement has not been produced by the

United States.

FURTHER AFFIANT SAYETH NOT.

DATED this 25 day of March, 1999.

/s/ Vincent Martinez

VINCENT MARTINEZ

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me this 25th

day of March, 1999, by VINCENT MARTINEZ.

[Illegible]

Notary Public for the State of

Montana Residing at Great Falls, MT

My Commission expires:

11-18-2000

(SEAL)

LI eT to AMS ts oe ee Sem

GO. Lt oe Jet. ae. DD

8.

9.

App. 47

Page 1 of 2

REPORT OF INVESTIGATION

Program Code

Cross File Related Files

[X] RM-96-0002

[ ]

{ ]

{ ]

[ J

File No. RM-94-6664 96-0003

G-DEP Identifier WCA2B

TFO RICK LUECK

AT: BILLINGS, MONTANA P.O.

File Title LANTER, WILLIAM

[ ] Closed { ] Requested Action Completed

[ ] Action Requested By:

Date Prepared 08-14-96

Other Officers:

10. Report RE: INTERVIEW OF VINCENT PEREZ

MARTINEZ

SYNOPSIS

On 4-29-96, TFO WILLIAM CUMMINS and TFO

RICK LUECK, Billings DER RO, met with VIN-

CENT MARTINEZ, and completed a debriefing

with the permission OF MARTINEZ’S attorney,

SANDY SELVEY. The debriefing was initiated

by VINCENT MARTINEZ.

App. 48

DETAILS:

1. MARTINEZ advised that he had traveled to Billings,

Montana from Modesto, California, with a CARLOS

RAYES (RM-54-0003).

2. MARTINEZ indicated that CARLOS RAYES is an

associate of a WILLIAM LANTER, (SEE RM-94-0003).

3. MARTINEZ edvised that a WILLIAM LANTER is

involved in drug trafficking and is involved in explosives,

such as hand grenades, explosive devices, and dynamite,

and does have a large cache of explosives in Lewiston,

Montana.

4. MARTINEZ advised that ALBERTO COMMACHO

and EMILLANO SERRANO still has two pounds of black

tar heroin stashed, along with a large amounts of cash,

somewhere in Billings, Mt.

5. MARTINEZ indicated that the organizer of the

COMICKO/SERRINO Group, was an older Mexican male

subject, who was now in Billings, Mt. This subject was

apparently still trafficking in Drugs. MARTINEZ indi-

cated that this older Mexican male was armed and ex-

tremely dangerous.

6. MARTINEZ gave other names of subjects in the

Billings, Montana area that are trafficking in metham-

phetamine.

DONNES, EDDIE

BRYON, DEBBIE, AKA “FEATHER”

NAVA, VICTOR

NAVA, SAMMY

“TALL TIM”

BISHOP, SHERRY

SCHUMAKER, DANA

BRANDON, DOUGLAS

ee

7.

App. 49 ©

. Distribution:

Division SARI

District SFD

Other

. Signature (Agent)

TFO RICK LUECK

. Date [Illegible]

Approved (Name and Title)

/s/ (Ilegible]

RAC ANGELO SALADINO

Date (Illegible] -

MOLIEDAY, MICHAEL

JOHNSON, PAMELA

“JUAN”, Travels from Mexico

MARTINEZ advised that he had been staying at the

address of 3455 Old Hardin Road, trailer #33, Billings, Mt,

having the phone #606-259-0462.

8.

MARTINEZ advised that he was now in the Yellow-

stone County Detention Facility, Billings, Mt. waiting for

a sentence on a kidnapping charge and other related

offenses.

App. 50

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE ws

THIRTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

OF THE STATE OF MONTANA IN AND

FOR THE COUNTY OF YELLOWSTONE

THE STATE OF MONTANA, )

Plaintiff, BO

a ) APPLICATION FOR

SEARCH WARRANT

SHERRY BISHOP

Defendant(s) )

_~

* Ke eK KK K KK K KK K K

STEVE CWALINSKI, a duly appointed and Acting

Agent for the Montana Department of Justice, Narcotics

Investigation Bureau, being first duly sworn upon his

oath, deposes and says:

That he has probable cause to believe that the of-

fenses of CRIMINAL POSSESSION OF DANGEROUS

DRUGS WITH THE INTENT TO SELL, FELONY, in

violation of Section 45-9-103, Montana Code Annotated.

Has been committed:

That he has probable cause reason to believe

and does believe that in and upon the premises,

curtilage, outbuildings and vehicles located at:

3412 FIFTH AVENUE SOUTH BILLINGS,

YELLOWSTONE COUNTY MONTANA,

FURTHER DESCRIBED AS A TWO

STORY WITH BASEMENT, WOOD

FRAMED, STUCCO SIDED, SINGLE FAM-

ILY DWELLING. 3412 FIFTH AVENUE

SOUTH IS LIGHT BROWN IN COLOR

App. 51

WITH A SHINGLED ROOF. THIS ADDRESS

HAS THE NUMBERS “3412” WHICH ARE

CLEARLY VISIBLE ON THE FRONT,

NORTH SIDE OF THE RESIDENCE NEXT

TO THE FRONT DOOR. THIS RESIDENCE

IS DEPICTED IN THE PHOTOGRAPHS AT-

TACHED TO EXHIBIT B.

* * *

wall as well as a .25 caliber semi automatic handgun on a

foot rest. During this incident the informant again ob-

served the previously described cash in the safe. The

informant stated, while observing Bishop’s activities over

the past week, that bishop maintained a log where bishop

tracked the amount of methamphetamine that was being

given/sold to various people. The informant stated that

Bishop was very methodical about documenting all trans-

actions.

The informant had noted other items of interest to law

enforcement, namely, the presence of a Tech 9 9mm

handgun in the living room, syringes concealed beneath

the carpet in the distribution room, and night vision

equipment used to look for people sneaking up on the

residents.

On April 29, 1998 Billings Police Department Detec-

tive Rick Lueck, who is assigned to the City/County

Special Investigations Unit, interviewed Vincent Marti-

nez. Martinez provided the names of several subjects in

Billings, MT that were involved in methamphetamine

sales and distribution. Sherry Bishop was a person identi-

fied by Martinez who sells methamphetamine.

App. 52

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MONTANA

BILLINGS DIVISION

UNITED STATES CR No. 97-37-BLG-JDS

OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff, Volume I

V.

CARLOS SALAZAR-

LOPEZ, et al.,

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Defendants.

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

The above-entitled matter came on for hearing/trial

before the HONORABLE JACK D. SHANSTROM, Chief

United States District Judge, and a jury on June 2,

1999.

[4] P-R-O-C-E-E-D-I-N-G-S

(Open court.)

(Defendants not present.)

(Prospective jury not present.)

THE COURT: Good morning. You may be

seated. a

Ed, I think I’ll have you read the indictment, at least

the pertinent part of the indictment to the jury, so we can

advise the jury of what the case is about prior to voir dire.

EEL SLES LTT

App. 53

Also, I think it’s important that we have a list of the

witnesses that you intend to call so we can see if any of the

jurors are familiar with any of the witnesses.

MR. LAWS: That’s quite a long list, but I will.

THE COURT: Now, the matter that has been

brought to my attention is a potential Bruton issue by

Brian Gallik for Vincent Martinez.

MR. GALLIK: Yes, Your Honor. Would you like

to hear that right now, Your Honor?

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. GALLIK: May it please the court, for the

record my name is Brian Gallik. I represent Vincent

Martinez. Over the weekend while preparing for this trial,

Your Honor, I discovered that we have a Bruton problem,

) and I alerted the United States as well as counsel for Mr.

Lanter and counsel for Mr. Salazar. Specifically, as my

brief makes clear, and [5] as the court knows, having sat

through a couple of hearings on the matter. Mr. Martinez

provided law enforcement with a statement in April of

1996, and in that statement, which was taken by Agent

Lucek and Cummins, he identifies the defendants Mr.

Lanter, Mr. Salazar, Mr. Lanter as a drug dealer, danger-

ous persons involved with weapons. Mr. Salazar is associ-

ated with Mr. Latner. On the basis of that statement, I, of

course, moved for dismissal as well as a dismissal of

various counts on the basis of withdrawal.

eS ere a ee Dk ee the Me ee te ee eee

AN ee

PT VO PP SOS BF ABI BEL ANN IE AS BEEN as I ON TS

And the problem emerges, Your Honor, under Bruton,

as the court is aware, because Mr. Martinez will not be

taking the stand in this case, the co-defendants have not

had an opportunity to cross-examine Mr. Martinez regard-

ing that particular statement.

App. 54

Now, if that statement doesn’t come in, then I am

denied the opportunity to fully get into to [sic] my defense,

which is if the government proves a conspiracy and if Mr.

Martinez was part of that, that Mr. Martinez withdrew

from that conspiracy on the basis of incarceration and

advising law enforcement of that particular problem.

And I have submitted to the court a brief on that

particular issue, and I don’t intend to go over it unless the

court would like further argument. But for that reason I

have moved for Mr. Martinez to sever his particular case

- from this because of that problem. And as I said, there’s a

couple [6] recent Supreme Court decisions, Zafiro, makes

clear that there is — if there is a serious risk that a joint

trial would compromise a specific trial right of one of the

defendants, then the court must grant a severance in that

particular case.

And in this case Mr. Martinez’s statement inculpates

the co-defendants and leads to exonerate him. So we’ve got

a classic conflict here, one of two situations that the U.S.

Supreme Court indicated would be grounds for severance.

THE COURT: And you claim that redaction

would not solve the problem?

MR. GALLIK: No, Your Honor, because I think

that the strength of the withdrawal in part is dependent

on what it is that he tells law enforcement, and if he

identifies people that the United States have alleged are

co-conspirators, that goes to the very heart of the with-

drawal defense.

THE COURT: I will hear from the government.

MR. LAWS: Your Honor, I just got, although

Brian told me about this yesterday, I just got the brief and

A A

Ni rac citi errant coven i nosy

~ App. 55

haven’t had an opportunity to read it yet, but I can inform

the court that particular statement that we are talking

about is the one that came up during the hearings from

Agent Lucek. It was an oral statement that was made to

Agent Lucek, and he wrote a report on it.

He would be the person who would testify about [7]

that. We do not intend to ask him to testify about that. So

the government will not bring that statement in in its case

in chief.

The statement can’t be brought in through Agent

Lucek any other way that I’m aware of, and it looks to me

like the solution for the defendant is to take the stand

himself and tell what he told about the other defendants

in the case while he’s on the stand, if that’s the way he

wants to raise his claim.

But otherwise, the government’s aware this is a

Bruton problem, and has just decided not to present the

evidence at all in the case.

So it’s up to the defendant how he wants to proceed to

prove his withdrawal from the conspiracy, and the best

way for him to do that may be to call his own client to the

stand.

MR. GALLIK: Your Honor, first of all, I don’t

think Mr. Laws disputes this, the existence of [sic] Bruton

problem is not dependent on the government raising this

issue with respect to Agent Lucek. And it’s not necessary

for Mr. Martinez to take the witness stand with respect to

his withdrawal defense in this particular statement. It’s a

statement where several exceptions to the hearsay rule

apply; 801, it’s a statement against interest; it is 803; and

Bs Ss a i i

App. 56

also under 804 are multiple bases or exception to the

hearsay ruc [8] for that statement to come into evidence.

And so Mr. Martinez does not need to waive his right

of self-incrimination in order to withdraw or present a

defense on withdrawal from this particular alleged con-

spiracy. He couldn’t be forced, in any event, to make that

waiver. It’s a statement that is admissible under a number

of exceptions to the hearsay rule, and we've got a classic

Bruton problem here.

THE COURT: I am going to order the PSI, who

have gone through, and I think there is some information

that should be turned over to the various defendants, and

we will order the PSIs to be turned over.

Sentencing recommendations will not be turned over.

MR. HOOVESTAL: Your Honor, that’s on the

Stifler issue, and the court will order that the sentencing

recommendations —

THE COURT: No, not the sentencing recom-

mendations. That’s from the probation officer is all.

MR. HOOVESTAL: What is it exactly. I didn’t

understand?

THE COURT: Have you received the entire PSI

so far?

MR. HOOVESTAL: No, I have not. I have not

received anything under my Stifler request.

[9] THE COURT: You'll receive the PSIs.

MR. HOOVESTAL: Thank you.

App. 57

THE COURT: There is the continuing motion

that has been made here that all statements by co-

conspirators are hearsay until the U.S. shows the conspir-

acy exists, and Mr. Laws, what is your prima facie proof of

your conspiracy?

MR. LAWS: Your Honor, there will be a number

of witnesses who will testify, and those witnesses, their

testimony, can be used to lay the foundation as well, and

basically the witnesses will testify as to dealings with and

among the various defendants here starting back as far as

1994 and coming up to 1997.

The proof of the conspiracy involving various of the

defendants comes in at various stages, since they didn’t all

walk into the conspiracy at the same time, but came in

over a period of time. And as they come in, a foundation

will be laid ahead of time showing how they came into the

conspiracy through those witnesses. Of course, the gov-

ernment will sum up with proof involving records that

basically back up the testimony of the several witnesses

who were co-conspirators in the case, many of them.

THE COURT: How about an alleged prior bad

act on kidnapping Jason Gillespie, are you going to go into

that?

MR. LAWS: The kidnapping of Jason Gillespie

takes place in the middle of this dealing, and is the reason

* * *

[170] MR. GALLIK: May it please the court, as the

court knows, we are at the stage where the United States

has given its opening statement, and I’m at the point now

where I have the opportunity to provide an opening

statement on behalf of Mr. Martinez.

~

semen eeeniaiiaiiiailinanaimiinaimmmiaas

App. 58

I would respectfully renew my motion to sever Mr.

Martinez’s case from this case, Your Honor, for the rea-

sons I have previously set forth.

And I advise the court that I would alert the court to

situations where I’m going to, or I would like to get into

the issue of Mr. Martinez’s statement to law enforcement.

And Mr. Martinez’s statement to law enforcement, is a

critical part of my theory in this case, and if I am not

allowed to get into that, we’ve got some real problems. And

we are at that stage in opening argument where I’m there,

and I wanted to alert the court to it, and, again, I would

renew my motion to sever.

THE COURT: The motion to sever is denied.

You can go into your opening statement.

MR. GALLIK: I can go into the statement? My

concern is, Your Honor, I don’t want to cause a mistrial

here, because Mr. Martinez is not going to take the wit-

ness stand in this case, and Mr. Errebo, who represents

Mr. Lanter, and Mr. Hoovestal, who represents Mr.

Salazar, will not be able to cross-examine my client, and

that’s why I alerted the court to [171] this. I think that’s

the Bruton problem, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Mr. Laws. I will allow you to

respond to that.

MR. LAWS: Your Honor, I frankly don’t — have

never had this kind of a thing come up, and I don’t know

the answer of whether Bruton is simply a restriction on

the government or whether it would apply to a co-

defendant in a case.

App. 59

As I have informed the court, the government has no

intention of bringing out this statement in any way, shape,

or form.

This would be, I would assume, Your Honor, some-

thing that would come out as a part of the defense case,

and it would appear to me that maybe one solution [sic]

might be thought about would be that the agent be put on

and the statement extracted from him after all the other

defendants have closed in this case, and Martinez be the

last one left.

But, frankly, Judge, I have never researched this

area, and I don’t know exactly what the answer is. But the

government is not going — the government is not going to

raise this, and if Bruton is only the government’s problem,

then it’s not going to be a problem.

MR. GALLAGHER: May I respond, Your Honor?

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. GALLIK: Your Honor, I did look at this

over [172] the weekend, and I did submit a brief, and my

understanding of the Bruton problem is this: I don’t think

it matters, I think it is irrelevant if the government

attempts to bring it into evidence or if a co-defendant

attempts to raise it. What Bruton protects are those

individuals’ clients right to confront witnesses. Whether

that takes the form of the United States putting on the

evidence, or whether it takes the form of a co-defendant

putting on the witness, if that co-defendant has a Fifth

Amendment privilege, as Mr. Martinez does, not to testify,

he is not available for cross-examination, and these people

have been denied their right of confrontation.

i ey

App. 60

Now, with respect to whether or not this is going to

come up in the case in chief of the United States, the

answer to that — well, first of all, I would like to raise it in

my opening statement.

Second of all, Sherry Bishop is a witness that the

United States intends to call, and some of these other

agents, I think Agent Cwalloski will also be on the witness

stand talking about the search that they did, the basis for .

the search. As the court knows, having sat through two

hearings, Mr. Martinez’s statement formed the basis of the

government’s application for a search warrant, which is

what got this whole thing started.

So it’s — I think it’s relevant when Ms. Bishop hits the

stand and also when some of these agents hit the [173]

stand.

MR. LAWS: If I may, Your Honor, let me make

one more suggestion. If this — two suggestions.

I don’t believe that the defendant can hide behind his

right not to take the stand and pose a defense that puts

him diacritically opposed to that. There are other areas of

the law, and I have run into this problem, Your Honor,

and basically the courts have said you make your choice

about what your defense is, and if it means that you have

to take the stand, then you’re going to have to take the

stand.

And I believe that was in the situation, Your Honor,

where if a defendant took the stand he was going to be

impeached with prior offenses, and he was trying to

suppress impeachment by the prior offense if he had to

take the stand, and the court said, you know, that’s fair

. —

App. 61

impeachment, and you have to make that decision if you’re

going to do it or not.

So maybe that’s one way to look at this.

The other thing is, as I understand what the defense

is here, is that when this man came forward and talked to

law enforcement in, I believe, April of 96, what he will

claim is that at that point in time he withdrew from the

conspiracy.

Now, he names people other than Lanter and Salazar,

who are in the conspiracy. I see that it would be possible

for him to take the stand and say that he named - or [174]

that the agent would say that he mentioned people who

were involved in the conspiracy other than the named

defendants, Sherry Bishop being one of them.

THE COURT: And selecting the names of the —

MR. LAW: And selecting the names of those

people who are on trial here. It seems to me that the

defense could make the same claimed withdrawal of the

conspiracy that way, too, which I don’t think he did, but in

any event, they can make a claim.

MR. GALLIK: May I be heard on the new issue,

Your Honor?

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. GALLIK: First, with respect to Mr. Laws’

argument that Mr. Martinez has to choose between consti-

tutional rights, I just think that’s not true. He has a Fifth

Amendment right against self-incrimination, he can

| exercise that right. The statement that he gave to law

enforcement that was used by the government to get this

App. 62

ball rolling is admissible under 804. Under 804 it talks

about grounds of unavailability. There are five separate

grounds. One is a claim of privilege. That’s what we have

here.

And the claim of privilege, it says where the claim —

I’m citing — I’m reading out of Goode, G-o-o-d-e, and

Wellborne, Federal Evidence, Courtroom Handbook on

Federal evidence. It says, where the privilege that would

be invoked [175] is self-incrimination and the circum-

stances clearly indicate that such a claim would [sic]

exercised, an actual invocation is not often — is often not

required. So they recognize that case, and that’s the

United States versus Williams, 927 F.2d, 95.

That claim — that case, I haven’t read it, I’m reading

out of this handbook, recognizes that the claim against

self-incrimination exists, it applies under 804, and Mr.

Martinez doesn’t have to get on the stand to invoke that.

I have advised the court of that, and that is sufficient.

Now, with respect to Mr. Laws’ suggestion that we can put

the agent on the stand and elicit the names of these

various people that Mr. Martinez talked about, that

certainly can be done. I point out to the court, however,

you heard Mr. Laws say, I don’t think that’s withdrawal.

This goes not only to the issue of withdrawal, but also to

Mr. Martinez’s participation, knowing and willing partici-

pation, in the conspiracy in the first place. It also goes to

the issue of withdrawal.

If this matter goes to the jury on the counts after April

26, or even on the other two counts, the trier of fact, the

jury here, is going to have to make a determination of the

facts. We’ve already heard Mr. Laws indicate I don’t think

that was withdrawal. He named names. Well, a lot of

rr

App. 63

those people, yes, are in this courtroom and will be in this

[176] courtroom.

But if the jury is going to be deprived of two other

names, critical names, then that goes to the very heart of

this defense. That’s what Bruton says, you can redact

those names and the statement can go in.

MR. GALLIK: Well, I don’t know if that’s the

precise ruling. Redaction is a remedy that is available in

certain circumstances, and I respectfully submit, Your

Honor, in this case redaction is not an appropriate remedy

because of the very problem that I talked about. I am

deprived of putting on evidence for the jury’s consideration

on, one, the existence of Mr. Martinez’s knowing participa-

tion in a criminal conspiracy. And even if they were to

find, yes, he was part of that for a period of time, on April

26, when he was incarcerated, when he gave a statement

to law enforcement identifying these various people, who it

is he identified is critical. And if the government is going

to say, well, we don’t think that’s withdrawal, but on the

other hand I can’t argue, well, there’s two other people out

here whose names I can’t talk to you about but they are in

the courtroom today, then we’ve got, again, a very serious

problem for Mr. Martinez.

THE COURT: The counts that you were asking

to be dismissed are what?

MR. GALLIK: Initially, Your Honor, counts —

[177] well, the three substantive possession counts, Mr.

Martinez, as I recall, there would have been in 1997, when

he was incarcerated for the most part I believe at the

Yellowstone County Detention Center.

App. 64

Since that time I also at the same time filed a motion

for a bill of particulars. Now, I believe there are two gun

counts that also may fall within the motion to dismiss

because they involved activity that occurred after that

particular statement, and I’m aware of one count, the

government may enlighten me on the other counts, but I’m

positive there are two counts conspiracy and the first gun

count that involve matters that occurred before April 26th.

The other five, I know four of those counts, I believe,

occurred after April 26. I believe the events will show that,

and there’s one that I’m not quite sure on, and I’m not

sure what the evidence will show there.

THE COURT: What, I severed counts 3, 4, 5, 6,

and 7, but left Count 17.

MR. GALLIK: Again, maybe I didn’t make it

clear, Part of my argument, Mr. Laws referred to the jury

as this conspiracy as being a society of secrecy or society of

secrecy. Some of the over acts, or one of the purposes of the

conspiracy as alleged by the government in the indictment

is to hide the details of the conspiracy from law enforce-

ment. My argument will be that if Mr. Martinez is a

knowing [178] participant in this criminal conspiracy, one

of the objects of which was to hide the objects of that

conspiracy, why is he then turning in Sherry Bishop, Bill

Lanter, Carlos Salazar, if he was a knowing and willing

participant in this conspiracy as alleged by the govern-

ment?

So that’s where the problem comes in, too. There is

some spillage there. That’s my — that’s why the issue with

respect to his statements is still relevant with respect to

the other counts.

App. 65

MR. LAWS: Your Honor, I certainly am reluc-

tant to agree to severance. I would ask if the court, al-

though I realize it would burn up [sic] half hour of jury

time here, I wonder if the court would grant us overnight

to take a look at this and see if the issue has been well

framed at this point, see if there is an answer short of

throwing out three-quarters of the government’s case

against this man.

THE COURT: Is there anybody else going to

make an opening statement at this time?

MR. GALLIK: No, Your Honor, I was the last

one, Your Honor.

THE COURT: I think what we will do is I will

adjourn for the evening then and you can get your brief to

me, Ed, or anything that you have at 8 and we will have a

hearing at 8:30.

If you have any supplement, can you make it then.

[179] MR. GALLIK: Thank you, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Bring the jury back in.

MR. JENT: Your Honor, all counsel to appear

then?

THE COURT: Yes, I think I will have you all

here.

(Defendants present.)

(Jury present.)

THE COURT: Ladies and gentlemen of the jury,

a legal issue has come up that the court must determine

App. 66

before we can proceed in this matter. We are going to need

some time to brief it and research it. So what I’m going to

do is adjourn for the evening with the jury. I will dismiss

the jury at this time, and we will reconvene at 9 a.m.

I do want to admonish the jury, again, not to discuss

this case with anyone until you’ve heard all of the testi-

mony and evidence. As of this time, the only thing you’ve

heard is opening statements. You’ve not heard any evi-

dence.

But, again, if anyone should attempt to discuss this

case with you, inform them that you’re a juror and not at

liberty to discuss it. And report back directly to the jury

room at 9 a.m. and we will get started with the case

promptly at that time.

(4:25 p.m. court adjourned.)

* * *

[185] PROCEEDINGS

(Open court.)

(Jury not present.)

(Defendants not present)

THE COURT: We were going to hear arguments

on the Bruton issue as it pertains to Martinez and the

statement that he gave. You may proceed.

MR. TOSCAS: Good morning, Your Honor,

George Toscas on behalf of the United States.

I initially wanted to apologize. We had prepared a

document last night to file this morning, and after coming

App. 67

in a little bit early this morning and looking it over, I don’t

feel comfortable filing it, and I have advised your clerk of

that, and requested to just proceed orally. And I hope

that’s sufficient.

Initially, Your Honor, we were prepared to come in

and argue that this statement could be admitted not for

the truth of the matter asserted, and, therefore, not be in

violation of Bruton. We have since reconsidered that, and

initially I would like to say that the statement that was

given by defendant Martinez to Officer Lucek, we agree is

not hearsay.

That it would not be offered for the truth of the matter

asserted. That it in fact would be res gestae, and there’s a

case, U.S. Karr, K-a-r-r, 742 Fed.2d 493, Ninth [186]

Circuit case, 1984, that is pretty much similar to this in

saying that such statement would not be considered to be

hearsay.

We would argue, Your Honor, that this court should

exclude the statement and should not allow the defendant

to elicit this information from Officer Lucek on the

grounds that the statement is not relevant and that the

statement is potentially confusing.

Initially, we would argue that the statement is not

relevant to a defense of withdrawal because the defendant

within the statement does not say that he was involved in

drug trafficking. The statement does not say that the

defendant was involved in a conspiracy. The statement

does not say in fact that anybody was involved in a con-

spiracy to sell drugs. If anything, this statement was a

misleading statement given to the police, possibly to

deflect attention from the defendant onto others. As a

App. 68

result, we believe because it does not implicate the defen-

dant at all and does not speak of any conspiracy. Because

of its misleading nature towards the police, it is both

irrelevant and it would be confusing to this jury in the

same way that it was confusing to the police. It was

intended to confuse the police.

The standard for withdrawal as outlined in US.

versus Lothian, Ninth Circuit case is 1992 976 Fed.2d

1257, to withdraw from a conspiracy a defendant must

either disavow the [187] unlawful goal of the conspiracy,

affirmatively act to defeat the purpose of the conspiracy, or

take definite decisive and positive steps to show that his

disassociation from the conspiracy is sufficient.

While not arguing that this statement is not a with-

drawal, I would argue that looking at the standard for

withdrawal as outlined in Lothian, that this statement

does not support in any way a claim that the defendant

withdrew. That is not relevant to support a claim that the

defendant withdrew at that time, and we would ask

initially that the court rule that it would be both irrele-

vant and confusing, and, therefore, excluded on those

grounds.

As an alternative, we would offer that given the fact

that this issue has been raised at this point at this late a

date, and that it is, given the initial argument that I’ve

made, potentially irrelevant and confusing, if the court is

looking for a compromise, and if the court is unwilling to

exclude it on relevance and confusion grounds, the best

compromise may be to allow the defendant to elicit from

Officer Lucek the fact that at the time he gave this state-

ment he mentioned that Sherry Bishop, who was a

App. 69

co-conspirator in this case, was involved in metham-

phetamine trafficking, and in fact we would concede that

two other people on this list that the defendant gave, if I

may, a list of 11 names were given, Your Honor, and three

of those individuals we would concede [188] are co-

conspirators in this case, unindicted co-conspirators, Eddie

Donnes, Carlos Reyes, and Douglas Brandon. We believe

that if the court is unwilling to exclude the statement of

relevance grounds, that the court could sanitize the

statement to exclude any exception of Mr. Lanter, and in

this statement Carlos Reyes, who the defendant will claim

is Carlos Salazar, and whatever benefit the defendant

would gain from arguing this is a statement of withdrawal

would be just the same if only the name Sherry Bishop,

Eddie Donnes, and Douglas Brandon are used as the

benefit he would receive if he mentioned Bill Lanter and

Carlos Salazar. In that way I believe this is the best, if the

court is unwilling to exclude it in its entirety, this would

be the best compromise.

The defendant would get the benefit of arguing that

he mentioned other co-conspirators at this time for what-

ever purpose he believes he can tie that up into a with-

drawal defense, and the two other defendants are not

prejudiced by bringing their names in and telling the jury

that this defendant claimed that they were involved in

drug trafficking.

I would go on to say, Your Honor, that Carlos Salazar,

there is no mention in here that he was involved in drug

trafficking. So we may be able to exclude him entirely on

that ground, because all it says is Martinez indicated that

Carlos Reyes is an associate of William Lanter. That’s a

far [189] cry from saying he is a drug dealer, a co-

conspirator, a leader of a conspiracy.

App. 70

We believe that if the court is unwilling to exclude the

statement in its entirety. it’s possible to sanitize it in the

way that I have mentioned just using the three names of

Bishop, Eddie Donnes, and Douglas Brandon, and we

would also ask if that compromise is chosen, that the jury

be told, or that we be limited to discussing the fact that

these are three co-conspirators that he mentioned; that no

mention be made of any defendants that are on trial here;

and in addition, that a limiting instruction be given to the

jury in addition to that stating that it’s not offered for the

truth of the matter but only in support of the defendant’s

claim that he makes a withdrawal and that the jury

should not consider it as to any other defendant.

MR. GALLIK: Good morning, Your Honor. For

the record, Brian Gallik, on behalf of Vince Martinez.

I will take the arguments of the United States in the

order they were presented. The first is wi’ 4 respect to

relevance, and quite frankly, Your Honor it’s not a very

convincing argument.

The statement is very relevant, and I think that’s

been demonstrated by the fact Agent Cwalinski found the

statement to be of sufficient reliability that he included it

in his application for a search warrant to the district court

[190] judge to get an [sic] search warrant to search Ms.

Bishop’s home.

They thought it was relevant for purposes of getting a

search warrant, for purposes of raiding Sherry Bishop’s

home, and in fact led to the discovery of drugs and here we

are today. It is clearly a relevant statement. It is clearly

relevant to the issue of withdrawal to indicate the step,

assuming there is a conspiracy, of withdrawing from that

conspiracy. The government has alleged these people are

—_— —_—_- —— _

App. 71

co-conspirators. Mr. Bishop — I’m sorry, Ms. Bishop, Mr.

Martinez, Mr. Lanter, these people are involved in

methamphetamine dealing, and he identifies Sherry

Bishop as a methamphetamine dealer. He identifies Mr.

Lanter as a drug dealer. It’s clearly relevant to the issue of

withdrawal, clearly relevant.

The other problem with respect to Mr. Toscas’ argu-

ment it doesn’t implicate the defendant. Well, I think it

does, Your Honor. First of all, part of the government’s

proof here is that they have to associate Mr. Martinez with

these various individuals, and I think that statement does

that. It’s a statement that cuts both ways. I can use it for

purposes of withdrawal. But, also, it cuts against Mr.

Martinez from the standpoint, a, [sic] here’s a statement

that he gave indicating he came to California, or Montana,

with Mr. Carlos Reyes; he knows these people, apparently

associated with them; and so that argument doesn’t hold

water either.

[191] So it’s clearly relevant, Your Honor, and I think

it is highly relevant to Mr. Martinez’ withdrawal defense.

And in fact, the government. I moved some time ago to

dismiss three courts on the basis of withdrawal citing this

very statement, and I did not hear at that point in time

the government arguing that it was not relevant. Instead,

pointing out, well, this is closing argument information. So

I think it’s a little late in the day to be raising that issue.

With respect to the issue being raised at this late

date, frankly, I take responsibility for that. It was an

oversight on my part while preparing for trial. Frankly, I

didn’t think about it until we got lear [sic] and as soon as

it became an issue I took steps to alert the court and

counsel for the United States, and I wanted to do it before

App. 72

trial to make sure we don’t find ourselves in the middle of

the trial with a mistrial, which would affect everybody.

With respect to the compromise, my review of the

discovery in this case, Your Honor, the government is

willing to stipulate that certain people are co-conspirators

in this case. Well, the conspiracy here is the government’s

legal theory. They have the ability to determine who is in

the conspiracy, who is not in the conspiracy. That’s just a

simple legal theory. My review of the discovery in this case

indicates that Mr. Martinez’s statement, that there are

other [192] people that he identified that are mentioned all

over in this discovery- Mike Holliday, for example. He’s

dealing methamphetamine. He’s dealing with Sherry

Bishop, Carlos Salazar, Bill Lanter, and that’s just one

example. I think there are one or two other people. One of

the persons is named in Sherry Bishop’s drug ledger.

So compromise, I’m not sure it is quite workable, and

if we can’t get into Mr. Lanter, again, where does that put

us? That’s relevant evidence, I think, with respect to the

quality or the affirmative argument with respect to with-

drawal.

The government has determined that these people are

co-conspirators of Mr. Martinez. Mr. Martinez tells law

enforcement, these guys are drug dealers. All right. We

don’t know for sure what happened in that interview room.

Mr. Lucek was there, debriefed him. We don’t have the

notes. That’s another problem. A report wasn’t prepared

for another four months after the debriefing. We don’t

know what Mr. Lucek asked. Did he ask Mr. Martinez,

were you a part of this conspiracy? That’s the problem

with this conspiracy argument.

App. 73

That’s the government’s theory. And I don’t think Mr.

Lucek was in there trying to make an argument about

conspiracy. I don’t think he was thinking that at all. And

so I don’t think that argument is particularly persuasive

[193] either.

So with that, Your Honor, I have nothing further

unless the court has any questions.

MR. TOSCAS: Initially, Your Honor, the state-

ment can have varying degrees of relevance on a variety of

different issues. As to a search warrant, a search of Sherry

Bishop’s house, this statement may have a certain level of

relevance. That doesn’t matter here. The relevance I’m

talking about is the relevance of this statement to a

defense of withdrawal, to a claim of withdrawal. So where

Mr. Gallik says this statement was relevant enough to put

in a search warrant application, that very well may be

true, but that does not mean that the statement rises to

the level of being relevant to a withdrawal claim.

And that is what I’m asking the court to look at the

statement, and I know you’ve seen it many times, it has

been the subject of many different hearings, but this

statement simply does not implicate the defendant at all.

He does not make mention of himself, his drug dealing. He

does not make mention of the fact that these other people

are acting in concert in their drug dealing activities.

The defendant merely gives a list of names, and I

believe the court has already heard in a previous hearing

Officer Lucek tell this court that the notes that he had, to

the best of his recollection, were a list of names, and he

[194] used those notes, which was simply a list of names,

to reproduce that list on these DEA 6s.

App. 74

There is no reason to believe that there is anything

more than what’s on this statement, and what’s on this

statement is simply irrelevant to a claim of withdrawal

because it does not satisfy any of the elements of with-

drawal as laid out by the Lothian case.

With regard to the compromise that I have offered,

Your Honor, and I don’t want to abandon my initial

argument, or have the court believe that I believe that

argument is a weak one. I believe this statement is abso-

lutely irrelevant with regard to meeting or satisfying a

claim of withdrawal. And I would ask the court to so rule.

But I offer this because I understand that at this late

a date and on the morning that the defendant is going to

give his opening statement, that we may have to reach a

compromise here, and the court may be unwilling to

exclude it in its entirety.

The discussion that Mr. Gallik has about the conspir-

acy and the way it’s been charged and the problems with

conspiracy, Your Honor, if he is going to claim withdrawal,

it is implicit in that argument that he was a member of

the conspiracy. You can’t have it both ways. If you are

going to say you withdraw at some point, if that’s his

defense, then implicit in that defense is that, yes, I was a

member, and, [195] therefore, I withdrew.

So what I’m saying is that if the court is so inclined

that there is a compromise here, that the defendant did

mention other co-conspirators other than Carlos Salazar

and William Lanter, and, again, the mention of Salazar is

only tangential in relation to drug activity, there are, and

in sitting down here, I noticed another name on here,

defense counsel is right, Michael Holliday. We would be

willing to stipulate, if the court so desires to go with this

App. 75

compromise solution, that Eddie Donnes, Sherry Bishop,

Douglas Brandon, and Michael Holliday are unindicted co-

conspirators in this case, and for whatever purpose the

defendant would like to make use of this statement to say

that his mentioning of other people who were involved in

this conspiracy, without talking about the conspiracy, is

evidence of — or tends to show one of the elements of

withdrawal, then I believe that that is just as good as

making an argument that he also gave the name of Bill

Lanter or also gave the name of Carlos Salazar.

Whatever benefit the defendant seeks to gain by

mentioning those two names is also gained by mentioning

other co-conspirators’ names. And in that way that would

be a compromise solution, because the defendant can go

ahead and make his claim of withdrawal, that he men-

tioned co-conspirators’ names to Officer Lucek, without

mentioning the conspiracy, and at the same time not

violate Mr. Lanter’s [196] or Mr. Salazar’s rights. That is

the reason why — I’m do doing my best as well, Your

Honor, to come up with an answer to a very hard question.

But I believe this court can exclude the statement in

its entirety on the grounds that it is irrelevant to support

a claim of withdrawal. If the court does not agree, I believe

the compromise solution is the best we an do and still

provides the defendant with all the benefits that he sought

to gain by its introduction. Thank you.

THE COURT: Nobody has — and I’m taking this

under advisement and I will get a ruling out in [sic] it

before we start, but nobody has mentioned the other

partial solution of dismissing three counts that he’s

talking about, and that would have happened after the

App. 76

withdrawal, assuming there was a withdrawal. Then the

statement wouldn’t be relevant at all.

MR. TOSCAS: My argument would be the same,

Your Honor, the court should not dismiss those counts

because of the fact that this statement is not relevant to

show that any of the elements of withdrawal were satis-

fied.

MR. GALLIK: With respect to the court’s sug-

gestion, I believe, Your Honor, there may be two gun

counts that may also be subject to the same withdrawal

motion. I know one of the gun counts clearly falls within

the withdrawal argument because it occurred after Mr.

Martinez gave his statement and was in fact incarcerated.

~So that’s a potential [197] problem that I see with that,

Your Honor.

THE COURT: I will take a ten-minute recess

here and then we will come back.

(Recess.)

(Open court.)

(Jury not present.)

(Defendants not present.)

THE COURT: You may be seated. The court is

prepared to rule on this motion at this time. This motion is

kind of coming in through the back door. Actually, it

shouldn’t really be Martinez’s motion to make, but I’m

going to treat it now as a motion in limine, and I am going

to rule that the statement is inadmissible. I’m going to

exclude that statement on the grounds of irrelevance,

confusing, and does not satisfy the elements of the claim of

App. 77

withdrawal. So you're not going to be able to use the

statement.

That is the motion really that should have been

brought by Salazar and Lanter. But where it’s brought to

the court’s attention, I’m going to exclude the statement in

its entirety.

MR. GALLIK: Your Honor, may I make [sic] ask

for a clarification on that, because there is one issue...

As you know, Your Honor, and I have argued this

before, the statement also finds its way into the applica-

tion for search warrant.

[198] THE COURT: I understand that, and I

think the statements take on relevancy for different

issues, just as in a preliminary hearing or revocation

hearing statements are admissible that are not admissible

at trial, and I think this is that situation.

MR. GALLIK: So as I understand the court’s

ruling, just so that I don’t step into this, the statement

that he made to the agent and subsequent use of that is

deemed by the court to be irrelevant and —

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. GALLIK: - and not a basis for withdrawal;

is that correct?

THE COURT: That is correct.

MR. GALLIK: I understand.

THE COURT: When we come, you can make

your opening statement and then we will get started into

the —

App. 78

MR. GALLIK: I will be waiving my opening

statement, Your Honor, in light of that.

THE COURT: He’s waiving his opening state-

ment.

MR. GALLIK: I’m sorry, reserving.

THE COURT: Reserving. So you can call your

first witness when we get started.

(Recess. ) ~

(Open court.)

(Defendants present.)

* * *

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.