Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Chadwick v. Chadwick

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Cour, U.S.

FILED 1)

QS. 13 46 FEB 1 3 2003

HCHO CHER

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

H. BEATTY CHADWICK,

Petitioner,

BARBARA JEAN CROWTHER CHADWICK,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Third Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

H. BEATTY CHADWICK

P.O. Box 23

Thornton, PA 19373

610-595-2740, ext. 317

SEL ORT LI LY I ME

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether clearly established federal law as deter-

mined by this Court renders it reasonable to conclude that

the due process clause places no limitation upon the

length of time a person may be incarcerated for civil

contempt? _

2. Whether clearly established federal law as deter-

mined by this Court renders it reasonable to conclude that

procedural due process does not demand a Sixth Amend-

ment jury trial at which the state bears an unshifting

burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt before a person

may be incarcerated for five or more years for contempt,

regardless of whether the contempt be labeled criminal or

civil?

3. Whether a habeas corpus reviewing court should

make a de novo review of the Record where it rests its

decision on state court fact finding challenged under 28

U.S.c. § 2254(d)(2) and the District Court did not hold an

evidentiary hearing?

4. Whether and under what circumstances the

standard of review set forth in 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1)

applies where the state court denies relief without expla-

nation or opinion?

5. Whether a private party has Article III-standing

to appeal the grant of a writ of habeas corpus where no

state respondent has appealed?

il

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

IN THE COURT BELOW

H. Beatty Chadwick,

Appellee Below

James Janecka, Warden, Delaware County Prison’

District Attorney of the County of Delaware

(Pennsylvania)

The Attorney General of the State of Pennsylvania’

Barbara Jean Crowther Chadwick,

Appellant Below.

is ahng mS et ati NS Se sierra

* Respondent in District Court, but did not file notice of appeal to

Court of Appeals and was not a party before that Court.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

OPINIONS BELOW. ..............csscsccsecescrecesccnscesceseeseees 1

ETT TION co veescrssnscsevevecevsessevcvsovovesenessossessseenes 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND STAT-

UTES INVOLVED. ..........cccccsccsccccccscccrsvcrsceesesseseeee 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. ...........::eceeeeeeeeneeeeeeees 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT................. 9

1. Certiorari Should Be Granted To Settle

Whether The Standard Of Review Set Forth

In 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1) Can Or Should Be

Applied Where The State Court Decision At

Issue Denies Relief Without Explanation Or

OPpinion..............ssccececeeessssereceeeesssneeeeenenneeeeees 9

2. Certiorari Should Be Granted To Settle

Whether And To What Extent In Identifying

“Clearly Established Federal Law” For The

Purpose Of 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1) A Habeas

Corpus Court May Look To Generalized

Statements In This Court’s Case Law As

Well As More Specific Rules...............::cesseeeees 14

3. Certiorari Should Be Granted To Settle

Whether And Under What Circumstances A

Habeas Corpus Court Is Required Under 28

U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1) To Reject A State Court's

Unreasonable Failure To Extend A Settled

Constitutional Principle To A New Setting

Where It Ought To Apply ...........:::eeeeeeeeeee reece

a Oi aii ia

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

4. Certiorari Should Be Granted To Settle

Whether A Habeas Corpus Reviewing Court Is

Obliged To Perform A De Novo Review Of The

Record When It Rests Its Decision On State

Court Factfinding Challenged Under 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(d)(2) And The District Court Did Not

Hold An Evidentiary Hearing........................000 24

5. Certiorari Should Be Granted To Settle

Whether A Private Party Has Article III

Standing To Appeal In A Habeas Corpus Pro-

ceeding Under 28 U.S.C. § 2254 Where No

State Respondent Has Appealed.................... 26

PC AMEE trininiainsecsonstcevsninnbbicntnngininabiaienactions 30

ene Wee Seer Se Seek eee

ee ee eee a nae ee © ae Dee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737 (1984).........:sccceesssseeereesseeeens 28

American Airlines, Inc. v. Allied Pilots Association,

228 F.3d 574 (5th Cir. 2000)..........ccccceceeseeeeeseeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 21

Appel v. Horn, 250 F.3d 203 (3rd' Cir. 2001).......sssssssseeeee 12

Bell v. Jarvis, 236 F.3d (149 4th Cir. 2000).............2+ 10, 13

Chadwick v. Andrews, 522 U.S. 864 (1997)........::::seeeeeeeees 6

Diamond v. Charles, 476 U.S. 54 (1986) .........seeeeeees 26, 27

DiBenedetto v. Hall, 272 F.3d 1 (1st Cir. 2001)................. 13

Early v. Packer, ___ U.S. __, 123 S. Ct. 362 (BOGE). ccceses: 12

Evans v. Williams, 206 F.3d 1292 (D.C. Cir. 2000)............ 21

Everett v. Beard, 290 F.3d 500 (3rd Cir. 2002) ..............+++ 12

Foucha v. Louisiana, 504 U.S. 71 (1992)..........ceeeeeeseeeeeees 23

Friends of Earth v. Laidlaw Environmental Ser-

vices, 528 U.S. 167 (2000) ..........eseeeeseeeeeeeeeerereeeeesenes 27, 28

Gompers v. Bucks Stove & Range Co., 221 U.S. 418

CRIED Ys. cncxcccdssrsntsdncnsacensovnnrnceansismncengpenininanentaiamennee 15, 18

Greene v. Lambert, 228 F.3d 1081 (9th Cir. 2002)............. 13

Hameen v. Delaware, 212 F.3d 226 (3rd Cir. 2000)........... 12

Harris v. City of Philadelphia, 47 F.3d 1311 (8rd

Che, 1G) oeccnvecserconccesevcessovsssesacovecoccessuncncetaibasnepsunsvonnenns 21

Harris v. Stovall, 212 F.3d 940 (6th Cir. 2000)..............+++. 13

Hough v. Anderson, 272 F.3d 878 (7th Cir. 2001).............. 13

In Re Cantazaro, 663 F. Supp. 1 (D.D.C. 1985)..........00+ 17

— || _ll

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

In Re E.I. DuPont — Benlate Litigation, 99 F.3d 363

CREE STR Seve vnvtinencusccstisanaenensniceiniddansenmeiaiaauibaciadianael 21

In Re Epstein, 206 F. 568 (E.D. Pa. 1913) aff’d, sub

nom. Epstein v. Steinfeld, 210 F. 236 (C.CA. 3rd

RGN ssnacikvscscaea saebakishessdsceinsaanauandereaseaeniaaaeetuaniiomateeainnsial 16

In Re Grand Jury Investigation, 600 F.2d 420 (3rd

CFA RPO ssancsnsincsaassqsiuenscunuidasateaieabeagtamanncaudseaiuieibaeats 17

Jackson v. Indiana, 406 U.S. 715 (1972) ...........ccccceeceeeeeeee D2

James v. Bowersox, 187 F.3d 866 (8th Cir. 1999) .............. 13

Kansas v. Hendricks, 521 U.S. 346 (1997)..........ccccceceeeee eee 23

Kennaugh v. Miller, 289 F.3d 36 (2nd Cir. 2002)......... 19, 24

Lambert v. Montana, 545 F.2d 87 (9th Cir. 1976) ............. 17

Linda R.S. v. Richard D., 410 U.S. 614 (1973)............ 27, 28

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555 (1992)....27, 28

Maggio v. Zeitz, 333 U.S. 56 (1948)........... 15, 16, 17, 18, 22

Martin-Trigona v. Shiff, 702 F.2d 380 (2nd Cir.

FP ccnsscivisintscientincninmniaeaadaaaamaal 29

McNeil v. Director Patuxent Institution, 407 U.S.

BS CRD 00s cisnsnesa\cnccucuanedeasneanaliiad ainda 23

Muniz v. Hoffman, 422 U.S. 454 (1975) ....... ee eeeeeeeeeeeeees 21

Neil v. Puckett, 239 F.3d 683 (5th Cir. 2001)...............0000.. 13

New York State N.O.W. v. Terry, 159 F.3d 86 (2nd

RAO, BEDI oessssctsnsoninnesinnsinsissetnciiaaicanlbaiuiecmenieanannadaimaacanaleaniias 21

Norde v. Keene, 294 F.3d 401 (2nd Cir. 2002)..........00000000.. 12

O’Brien v. DuBois, 145 F.3d 16 (1st Cir. 1998)...............04 18

Oriel v. Russell, 278 U.S. 358 (1929) .......... eee 15, 16, 18

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES -— Continued

Page

Ramdass v. Angelone, 530 U.S. 156 (2000) ........-.:sseeeees 24

Rudenko v. Costello, 286 F.3d 51 (2nd Cir. 2002).............. 12

Sellan v. Kuhlman, 261 F.3d 303 (2nd Cir. 2001) ............. 12

Sigety v. Abrams, 632 F.2d 969 (2nd Cir. 1980).............+++ 16

Soobzokov v. CBS, Inc., 642 F.2d 28 (2nd Cir. 1981)......... 16

Taylor v. Withrow, 288 F.3d 846 (6th Cir. 2002)....19, 24, 26

United Mine Workers v. Bagwell, 512 U.S. 821

(19O4)....0ccccccrcresvescrrscasscorcveroveneesssccevenoones 15, 18, 20, 21, 22

United States v. Lippitt, 180 F.3d 873 (7th Cir.

1999) ......ccccccccccccossscccssssscsessccccvcnsccssesssssssesoosnsssosensssesnsoees 16

VanTran v. Lindsey, 212 F.3d 1143 (9th Cir. 2000) ........... 18

Washington v. Schriver, 255 F.3d 45 (2nd Cir. 2001) ........ 11

Weeks v. Angelone, 528 U.S. 225 (2000)..........sseeseseeees 9,10

Weeks v. Angelone, 176 F.3d 249 (4th Cir. 2000)............+++. 10

Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362 (2000) .... 11, 18, 19, 23, 24

Wright v. Department of Corrections, 278 F.3d 1245

(11th Cir, 2002)..........:csssessseseessresseeesensesereeserseeneneesnasenes 13

Young v. U.S. ex rel. Vuitton et fils, S.A., 481 U.S.

TET (1987). ......ccccccessscssscccssscsecesssseeeeensseesssssnsssesscenseessnes 27

Zadvydas v. Davis, 533 U.S. 678 (2001)... eeerereeeereees 23

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:

United States Constitution, Amendment Fourteen....2, 6, 7

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

STATUTES:

ey IID cicincintcatcinntapnenainasinenniadanet ieee ert, 7

SEE EERE MITT cricconetinchchindadelaitebaistinlebiaadionuaentisinesnell passim

1

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

H. Beatty Chadwick, the Petitioner, respectfully prays

that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the judgment of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit,

entered in the above-entitled case on August 20, 2002, a

petition for rehearing having been denied on December 4,

2002.

+

OPINIONS BELOW

The December 4, 2002 opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, whose judgment is

herein sought to be reviewed, is reported at 312 F.3d 597

and is attached as Appendix A. The prior opinion of the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania entered January 4, 2002 is unreported and

is attached as Appendix B.

¢

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction is conferred upon this Court by 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

*

v

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

AND STATUTES INVOLVED

This case involves the following provisions of the

United States Constitution:

Amendment Six:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall

enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by an

a i ee

—_-_-_--_ + ae

2

impartial jury of the State and district wherein

the crime shall have been committed, which dis-

trict shall have been previously ascertained by

law, and to be informed of the nature and cause of

the accusation; to be confronted with the wit-

nesses against him; to have compulsory process

for obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have

the Assistance of Counsel for his defense.

Amendment Fourteen, Section 1:

All persons born or naturalized in the United

States, and subject to the jurisdiction of the

United States, are citizens of the United States

and of the State wherein they reside. No State

shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of

the United States; nor shall any State deprive

any person of life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law; nor deny to any person within

its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

Also involved are the provisions of 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d):

(d) An application for a writ of habeas corpus

on behalf of a person in custody pursuant to the

judgment of a State court shall not be granted

with respect to any claim that was adjudicated

on the merits in State court proceedings unless

the adjudication of the claim —

(1) resulted in a decision that was contrary

to, or involved an unreasonable applica-

tion of clearly established Federal law, as

determined by the Supreme Court of the

United States; or

(2) resulted in a decision that was based on

an unreasonable determination of the

3

facts in light of the evidence presented in

the State court proceeding.

*

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner H. Beatty Chadwick has been imprisoned

since April 5, 1995 for “civil” contempt of an order that he

deposit $2.5 million in an account controlled by the Dela-

ware County (Pennsylvania) Court of Common Pleas, for

eventual equitable distribution in a divorce action.

On January 3, 2002 the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania issued a Writ of

Habeas Corpus and ordered Mr. Chadwick released from

<onfinement. The District Court stayed its Order for 30

days to allow any party respondent to appeal. Barbara

Chadwick, Mr. Chadwick’s former wife and an Intervenor

in the District Court, filed an appeal on January 15, 2002.

No notice was filed on behalf of any of the three original

respondents — the Warden, the District Attorney (who had

been dismissed as a party respondent at his request on

April 23, 2001) or the state Attorney General. The United

States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit granted a

stay pending appeal at Mrs. Chadwick’s request. On

August 20, 2002 the Court of Appeals reversed the judg-

ment of the District Court which had granted the Writ. Mr.

Chadwick’s request for rehearing was denied on December

4, 2002 (Chief Judge Becker would have granted rehear-

ing). The Court of Appeals did, however, file an amended

opinion, which is attached as Appendix A.

Mr. Chadwick’s imprisonment arises from an order of

the Court of Common Pleas of Delaware County, Pennsyl-

vania in a divorce action commenced on November 23,

1992. On July 22, 1994, at Mrs. Chadwick’s request, the

4

state trial court (Joseph Labrum, J.) directed Mr.

Chadwick to pay $2,500,000 in cash in.v a bank account

under the control of the state court, presumably so the

money would be available for distribution in the divorce

proceeding, although no distribution proceeding had been

had as of that or the present date.’ This sum was the

major part of a $2,502,000 investment made by Mr.

Chadwick nearly eighteen months before the state court

order under the terms of a joint venture agreement be-

tween “Ar. Chadwick and Maison Blanche, Limited, a

Gibraltar corporation, entered into in August, 1990. Mr.

Chadwick maintains that he possesses the investment

interest, but was then and still is unable to reclaim the

cash.

On August 29, 1994, based upon Mrs. Chadwick’s

petition, the trial court adjudicated Mr. Chadwick in

contempt. No sanction was imposed. On October 18, 1994,

the trial court, on it own motion, notified Mr. Chadwick

that a hearing on a “petition for contempt” would be held

on October 31, 1994. No such petition was filed however,

and no additional information was given as to the purpose

of the proposed hearing. On October 31, 1994, following a

proceeding in court at which Mr. Chadwick was not

present, the trial court again adjudicated Mr. Chadwick in

contempt of its July 22, 1994 order. By order dated No-

vember 2, 1994, the court directed that Mr. Chadwick be

arrested and imprisoned indefinitely, “until a further

hearing is held.” No condition was stated upon the per-

formance of which Mr. Chadwick would be released. It is

under this order that Mr. Chadwick remains incarcerated.

+ The parties were granted a bifurcated divorce on November 14,

2001, but property distribution issues remain to be determined.

5

No trial was held and no trial by jury was offered. The

record is devoid of evidence that Mr. Chadwick then had

the cash resources, or any resources readily convertible

into cash, that could satisfy the trial court’s payment

order. No findings of fact or conclusions of law were filed.

Mr. Chadwick appealed both the order of July 22, 1994

and the order of November 2, 1994 which directed his

imprisonment, but the state Superior Court, at the request

of Mrs. Chadwick, quashed these appeals as the orders

were deemed interlocutory.

On March 24, 1995 Mr. Chadwick filed a petition to

vacate the sanction of imprisonment in the November 2,

1994 order. A hearing on this petition was held on April 20,

1995. In the meantime, on April 5, 1995, Mr. Chadwick

was arrested and imprisoned. Mr. Chadwick was not

permitted to be present at the April 20, 1995 hearing, and

the petition to vacate was denied.

| Thereafter, on June 21, 1995 Mr. Chadwick filed the

first of seven habeas corpus petitions with the state trial

court. Mrs. Chadwick was permitted, over objection, to

participate in these proceedings. Each of these (except the

last) was heard by Judge Battle rather than Judge La-

brum, and each was denied. No evidence was presented as

to Mr. Chadwick’s financial resources or his ability to

make the payment that the court demanded, apart from

Mr. Chadwick’s statement of inability to do so. However, in

connection with appeals of certain of those rulings Judge

Battle wrote opinions summarizing as “facts” the un-

proven allegations by Mrs. Chadwick that Mr. Chadwick

continued to control the cash paid to Maison Blanche,

Limited, including allegations that monies had been

deposited by or for Mr. Chadwick in bank accounts in the

United States, Switzerland and Panama. Not only had

Judge Battle heard no evidence on any of these “facts,”

6

there was no substantive support for them in the eviden-

tiary record.

When the state trial court denied habeas corpus relief

on October 5, 1995, after Mr. Chadwick had been impris-

oned for six months, he filed an appeal with the state

Superior Court, arguing that his imprisonment was

unlawful on various state law grounds and that his Four-

teenth Amendment rights to due process and equal protec-

tion had been infringed. The Superior Court did not

discuss the federal Constitutional grounds but affirmed

the trial court’s orders on August 22, 1996, applying a

standard of review that accepted Judge Battle’s conclu-

sions, including the unsupported “facts” as to Mr.

Chadwick's ability to comply, in the absence of proof of

“bias, prejudice or ill will.” Mr. Chadwick petitioned the

state Supreme Court for allowance of appeal based upon

errors in the burden of proof and other state law grounds

and based upon the failure of the Superior Court to ad-

dress the federal Constitutional issues raised there. The

state Supreme Court denied discretionary review on April

8, 1997. This Court denied certiorari. Chadwick v. An-

drews, 522 U.S. 864 (1997).

While this appeal was pending, Mr. Chadwick filed a

new petition for writ of habeas corpus, his sixth, with the

state trial court. No additional evidence as to Mr.

Chadwick’s ability to comply apart from his own dis-

claimer was presented. The trial court denied the petition

in June, 1996. This denial was appealed to the state

Superior Court which again affirmed the trial court’s

denial on April 23, 1997, declining to recognize a due

process rule that lengthy “civil” contempt could become

“criminal” in the Constitutional sense because the state

Supreme Court had never ruled on the permissible length

of imprisonment for a civil contempt. The Superior Court

RA eee ee aes |

Cab ehe i tat SPAS ASRS Gea AN

Sila Ri eta ties fade cusses

Sei a he a at

also deferred as before to the trial court’s conclusions as to

ability to comply and the continuing coercive effect of the

imprisonment. Mr. Chadwick did not file a petition for

allowance of appeal with the state Supreme Court inas-

much as that court had denied a petition on similar

grounds only fifteen days previously.

Mr. Chadwick then sought habeas corpus relief in the

U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsy]l-

vania. On April 30, 1998 that court denied Mr. Chadwick's

petition for lack of exhaustion of state remedies. Under the

circumstances, the District Court suggested that the

federal Constitutional claims again be presented to the

state Supreme Court and indicated several means by

which that could be accomplished, including a petition for

writ of habeas corpus under the state Supreme Court’s

original jurisdiction provided by statute. Mr. Chadwick

filed such a petition on September 27, 1999, setting forth

nine violations of due process rights safeguarded by the

Fourteenth Amendment. He also filed an application for

permission to file the petition as required by the state

Rules of Appellate Procedure. Mrs. Chadwick sought to

intervene and filed a proffered Answer. On February 8,

2000 the state Supreme Court granted Mr. Chadwick’s

application for permission to file the petition and granted

Mrs. Chadwick’s motion to intervene and to file an An-

swer. The state Supreme Court then denied the habeas

corpus petition without explanation or opinion.

Mr. Chadwick filed the Petition for Writ of Habeas

Corpus at issue in this case under the provisions of 28

U.S.C. § 2254(a) on March 2, 2000, asserting the same

nine federal Constitutional claims presented in the peti-

tion which had just been denied by the state Supreme

Court, that he had been denied due process of law: (i) by

imprisonment for noncompliance with an order with which

8

he was unable to comply; (ii) since he was not afforded a

jury trial and other procedural rights; (iii) by the summary

nature of the proceedings which adjudicated his impris-

onment; (iv) by imposing imprisonment which has become

punitive; (v) by imprisonment for the nonpayment of

money; (vi) by indefinite imprisonment in a civil proceed-

ing; (vii) since the order of imprisonment fails to contain a

condition for his release; (viii) by imprisonment for the

alleged violation of an order the Court lacked jurisdiction

to issue; and (ix) because he was not afforded a prompt

appeal of the state contempt and imprisonment order. The

District Attorney of Delaware County filed a response

which included the admission that Mr. Chadwick’s incar-

ceration “now borders on the extreme.” Mrs. Chadwick

was permitted to intervene and filed a motion to dismiss

based upon an alleged failure to exhaust state remedies.

No evidentiary hearing was held. On December 11, 2000, a

Magistrate Judge issued a report and recommendation

which found that exhaustion of state remedies had oc-

curred, but recommended dismissal of the petition on the

merits, and Mr. Chadwick filed exceptions.

After oral argument the District Court on January 3,

2002 sustained Mr. Chadwick’s exceptions to the report of

the Magistrate Judge and granted the petition for writ of

habeas corpus on the ground that his imprisonment had

become impermissibly punitive and thus a violation of his

due process rights. Mrs. Chadwick appealed to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit; none of the

Respondents did so. Thereafter, the Attorney General of

Pennsylvania filed an amicus brief, although he had not

participated in the proceedings before the District Court

and could have, but did not, file a notice of appeal. The

Court of Appeals on August 20, 2002 reversed the judg-

ment of the District Court because, after applying the

standards set forth in 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1), it concluded

2

that this Court had never held that the due process clause

limits the length of time a person may be confined for civil

contempt, and therefore the refusal of the state court to

release Mr. Chadwick notwithstanding his lengthy impris-

onment would not be unreasonable.

¢

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit should be reviewed by this Court

because the Court of Appeals has decided certain issues in

this case which implicate important questions of federal

law in respect to the application and interpretation of 28

U.S.C. § 2254(d) which have not been but should be settled

by this Court.

1. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO SET-

TLE WHETHER THE STANDARD OF REVIEW

SET FORTH IN 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1) CAN OR

SHOULD BE APPLIED WHERE THE STATE

COURT DECISION AT ISSUE DENIES RELIEF

WITHOUT EXPLANATION OR OPINION.

In this case the decision of the Pennsylvania Supreme

Court at issue (Appendix C) denied Mr. Chadwick’s claims

for relief without any reasons or explanation or any

indication that it had addressed the federal issues, al-

though nine separate grounds, had been urged before that

court. The Court of Appeals held (Appendix A, p.12) that

the § 2254(d)(1) standard of review applied to Mr.

Chadwick’s habeas corpus petition.

The Court of Appeals concluded (Appendix A, pp.14-

15) that its holding was required by the decision of this

Court in Weeks v. Angelone, 528 U.S. 225 (2000). The issue

10

of the proper standard of review, however, was not impli-

cated in Weeks. This Court’s entire pertinent discussion in

Weeks, after analyzing extensively what it considered to be

the correct disposition of the petitioner’s claims, was in

one conclusory paragraph ending “for the reasons stated

above, it follows a fortiori that the adjudication of the

Supreme Court of Virginia affirming Petitioner’s convic-

tion and sentence neither was ‘contrary to’ nor involved an

‘unreasonable application of’ any of our decisions.” Id. at

237. In other words, having already concluded that the

state court’s rejection of the petitioner’s claims was correct,

it necessarily followed that the Petitioner could not pre-

vail. In the instant case, the Court of Appeals was per-

suaded (Appendix A, p.14) that the Fourth Circuit in

Weeks had stated in its opinion that § 2254(d)(1) applied

even though the state court had not given reasons for the

decision, Weeks v. Angelone, 176 F.3d 249, 259 (4th Cir.

2000)’, and that this Court had affirmed the Fourth

Circuit. It reads too much into this Court’s opinion in

Weeks, however, to conclude that this Court in that deci-

sion interpreted § 2254(d)(1) as to apply to a state court

decision which was only a bare dismissal, without expla-

_.nation. Even the Fourth Circuit, from which Weeks arose,

concluded in a subsequent decision that this Court had not

reached in Weeks the issue of the application of

§ 2254(d)(1) to summary state court dispositions. Bell v.

Jarvis, 236 F.3d 149, 161 n.8 (4th Cir. 2000).

* The standard of review was not at issue in the lower court either,

as the parties in Weeks agreed that § 2254(d)(1) was applicable. Jd. at

257. Moreover, although the state Supreme Court did not give reasons

for its decision it did issue an opinion stating that it had considered all

of the arguments presented and concluded that none had any merit. Jd.

at 259.

11

The statute itself is ambiguous and substantial

arguments favor the view that § 2254(d)(1) cannot effec-

tively be applied where the state court decision at issue

denied relief, without explanation. By its terms

§ 2254(d)(1) applies only where the state court has “adju-

dicated” the federal claims “on the merits,” so that, at the

very least, the habeas corpus court muse be able to ascer-

tain from the state court decision that these conditions

have been fulfilled. Moreover, the subsequent analysis ~

required by the Section would be very difficult if not

impossible to perform without an indication of the relevant

federal precedents considered by the state court. In order

for the federal habeas corpus court to determine whether a

given state court decision was “contrary to” or an “unrea-

sonable application of” federal law, it would be necessary

to “guess” the federal law which formed the basis of the

state court decision unless that court provided the prece-

dents it considered. Indeed, the three opinions in Williams

v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362 (2000), where this Court first

considered the standards to be applied by a habeas corpus

court in compliance with § 2254(d)(1), each extensively

analyzed the reasoning employed by the state court and

did so in ways that would have been impossible if the state

court had not identified the federal precedents under

which it acted. Id. at 394, 395, 397-98 (opinion of Stevens,

J.); Id. at 414-16 (opinion of O’Connor, J.) and Id. at 417-

19 (opinion of Rehnquist, C.J.). See discussion in Washing-

ton v. Schriver, 255 F.3d 45, 53-54, 64 (2nd Cir. 2001). If

Williams v. Taylor is to be used as a paradigm, at least

some explication of the basis for the state court’s decision

would appear to be a condition for the application of the

§ 2254(d\(1) standard of review. In a recent per curiam

decision the Court held that application of the “contrary

to” clause of § 2254(d)(1) should not depend upon the

citation of federal law by the state court (the state court

12

had in that case issued an opinion) “so long as neither the

reasoning nor the result of the state court decision contra-

dicts them,” thus suggesting that some reasoning by the

state court is necessary. Early v. Packer, ___ U.S. ___, 123

S.C. 362, 365 (2002).

The various Circuits have reflected a variety of

approaches to the question. The Third Circuit had decided

that the § 2254(d)(1) standard of review did not apply

where the state court opinion failed to demonstrate that

the federal claims had been considered. Everett v. Beard,

290 F.3d 500, 507-08 (3rd Cir. 2002); Appel v. Horn, 250

F.3d 203, 209-12 (3rd Cir. 2001); and Hameen v. Delaware,

212 F.3d 226, 248 (3rd Cir. 2000). The opinion in the

instant case distinguished those decisions because in the

instant case the state Supreme Court did not render an

opinion at all. (Appendix A, p.15). This appears to be a

distinction without logical support, since if a federal

habeas corpus court cannot conclude that a federal issue

has been addressed where the state court renders an

opinion but does not mention the federal issue, it should

be at least equally difficult to reach such a conclusion in

the absence of any opinion whatsoever.

The Second Circuit has held that § 2254(d)(1) applies

to summary state court decisions provided that the state

court made an adjudication of the federal issues on the

merits. Sellan v. Kuhlman, 261 F.3d 303, 312 (2nd Cir.

2001). Subsequent decisions by that Circuit, however, have

held that § 2254(d)(1) did not apply where the habeas

corpus court could not tell from the state court decision

that it was on the merits. Rudenko v. Costello, 286 F.3d 51,

69 (2nd Cir. 2002) or if the federal issue was not men-

tioned by the state court. Norde v. Keene, 294 F.3d 401,

410 (2nd Cir. 2002).

13

The Fourth, Sixth and Ninth Circuits have applied

§ 2254(d)(1) to cases where there was a summary state

court decision, but in such cases have required the habeas

corpus court to make an independent review of the state

court record and the applicable law. Bell v. Jarvis, 236

F.3d 149, 158 (4th Cir. 2000); Harris v. Stovall, 212 F.3d

940, 943 (6th Cir. 2000); Greene v. Lambert, 288 F.3d 1081,

1089 (9th Cir. 2002). The First, Fifth, Seventh and Elev-

enth Circuits have adopted the view that the habeas

corpus court should focus on the conclusions of the state

court and that while the state court’s reasoning would be

helpful, it was not essential to the application of

§ 2254(d)(1). The habeas corpus court must be convinced,

however that the state court had addressed the federal

issues. DiBenedetto v. Hall, 272 F.3d 1, 6 (1st Cir. 2001);

Neil v. Puckett, 239 F.3d 683, 696 (5th Cir. 2001); Hough v.

Anderson, 272 F.3d 878, 897 (7th Cir. 2001); Wright v.

Department of Corrections, 278 F.3d 1245, 1254 (11th Cir.

2002). The Eighth Circuit has applied § 2254(d)(1) to cases

where the state court made a summary disposition. James

v. Bowersox, 187 F.3d 866, 869 (8th Cir. 1999).

This diversity of analytical approach suggests the

desirability of guidance from this Court. It is particularly

troubling that a habeas corpus court would be placed in

the position of “guessing” the reasoning of a state court or

even whether a federal issue had been addressed at all.

Such a method would cause the applicability of

§ 2254(d1) and any subsequent analysis under that

section if it were deemed applicable, to be subject to the

caprice of an individual judge. It may be that in some

cases the federal issue is readily apparent from the state

court record and it would have been impossible for the

state court to decide the case without having addressed it.

In the instant case, however, with multiple grounds

14

having been presented to the state court, a state court

dismissal, without more, makes it impossible to know if all

of the federal issues had been addressed or adjudicated

within the meaning of § 2254(d)(1).

2. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

SETTLE WHETHER AND TO WHAT EXTENT IN

IDENTIFYING “CLEARLY ESTABLISHED FED-

ERAL LAW” FOR THE PURPOSE OF 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(d)(1) A HABEAS CORPUS COURT MAY

LOOK TO GENERALIZED STATEMENTS IN

THIS COURT’S CASE LAW AS WELL AS MORE

SPECIFIC RULES.

If § 2254(d)(1) applies, a habeas corpus court must

determine whether a given state court decision is “con-

trary to” or an “unreasonable application of” “clearly

established federal law” as determined by this Court.

The Court of Appeals held that “the Supreme Court

has never endorsed the proposition that confinement for

civil contempt must cease when there is no ‘substantial

likelihood of compliance.’” (Appendix A, p.25). Conse-

quently, the Court of Appeals reversed the District Court

judgment which was based upon a broader view of this

Court’s case law. The District Court concluded that such a

proposition was indeed consistent with this Court’s juris-

prudence. It therefore determined that the continuation of

Mr. Chadwick’s civil contempt confinement after seven

years (or five years, as it was at the date of the state court

decision) could no longer be coercive and thus was a

violation of the due process clause, and it was unreason-

able for the state court to conclude otherwise. (Appendix

B).

15

The District Court relied upon this Court’s early

leading case dealing with contempt imprisonment, Gompers

v. Bucks Stove & Range Co., 221 U.S. 418, 442-53 (1911)

where a 12-month sentence imposed in a civil contempt

proceeding for violation of a labor injunction was held to

have no coercive force and therefore, was punitive and could

not be imposed without affording criminal due process

rights. More recently, in United Mine Workers v. Bagwell,

512 U.S. 821 (1994) the Court reaffirmed that punitive

sanctions are impermissible in civil contempt proceedings.

From these cases, the District Court concluded that civil

confinement fails to comport with the due process clause

when that confinement ceases to be coercive.

The District Court then looked to Maggio v. Zeitz, 333

U.S. 56 (1948) for the proposition that civil contempt

ceases to be coercive and becomes punitive after a reason-

able period. In Maggio, where a bankrupt was jailed for

contempt because of noncompliance with a turnover order,

the opinion by Justice Jackson for eight Justices recog-

nized that a time limitation must be applicable to civil

confinement for contempt:

“It is everywhere admitted that even if he is

committed he will not be held in jail indefinitely

if he does not comply. His denial of possession is

given credit after demonstration that a period in

prison does not produce the goods.” Id. at 76.

Justice Frankfurter, while dissenting from the res judicata

holding, nevertheless agreed that “the District Court has

power to discharge a contemnor when confinement has

become futile, or release may be had through the use of

habeas corpus ... .” Jd. at 90. In discussing in Maggio the

procedural and substantive issues which arose in cases

like this, Justice Jackson relied principally upon the

unanimous opinion written by Chief Justice Taft in Oriel

ne

16

v. Russell, 278 U.S. 358 (1929) where the Court expressly

analogized the bankruptcy turnover cases to “contempt

cases where, under a decree for alimony, it is necessary to

resort to coercive measures to secure compliance, and the

issue of fact arises as to the ability of the contemnor to pay

what is owing.” Id. at 364-65. Maggio, 333 U.S. at 72,

repeated with express approval the following passage from

the Court’s opinion in Oriel:

“In the pending case, or in any other, the

court may believe the .. . assertion that he is not

now in possession or control of the money... ,

and in that event the civil inquiry is at an end;

but it is also true that the assertion may not be

believed, and the bankrupt may therefore be...

restrained of his liberty. ... I have known a brief

confinement to produce the money promptly, thus

justifying the court’s incredulity, and I have also

known it to fail. Where it has failed, and where a

reasonable interval of time has supplied the pre-

vious defect in the evidence, and has made suffi-

ciently certain what was doubtful before, namely

the bankrupt’s inability to obey the order, he has

always been released, and I need hardly say that

he would always have the right to be released

.... (Emphasis added).

Oriel, 278 U.S. at 365, quoting In Re Epstein, 206 F. 568,

569-70 (E.D. Pa. 1913), aff’d, sub nom. Epstein v. Stein-

feld, 210 F. 236 (CCA 3d 1914)._

This principle that a civil contemnor must be released

after a reasonabie period of confinement does not produce

compliance has long been recognized by the lower federal

courts as a fundamental due process principle with solid

roots in decisions of this Court: United States v. Lippitt,

180 F.3d 873, 876-79 (7th Cir. 1999); Soobzokov v. CBS,

Inc., 642 F.2d 28, 31 (2nd Cir. 1981); Sigety v. Abrams, 632

17

F2d 969, 975, n.6 (2nd Cir. 1980); In Re Grand Jury

Investigation, 600 F.2d 420, 424-25 (3rd Cir. 1979); Lam-

bert v. Montana, 545 F.2d 87, 89-91 (9th Cir. 1976); In Re

Cantazaro, 663 F. Supp. 1 (D.D.C. 1985).

The Court of Appeals recognized that Maggio requires

some reasonable limitation upon civil confinement, but

concluded that the reasonable limitation would not apply

in the instant case where it is presumed that the contem-

nor has the ability to comply’ (Appendix A, p.23). That

distinction, however, is a misstatement of Maggio. The

prohibition against unlimited civil confinement for con-

tempt discussed in that decision is not dependent on an

ability to comply, but exists notwithstanding such ability.

Prior to imposing imprisonment for civil contempt Maggio

requires that the fact finding judge address a twofold

question: “Whether or not there is actually a present

ability to comply and whether failure to do so constitutes a

deliberate defiance which a jail term will break.” Id. 333

U.S. at 76. After some period of confinement due process

requires that those questions be reconsidered. Contempt

‘may not be adjudged in the first place unless the court is

convinced that the contemnor has the ability to comply

with the order as to which contempt is sought. Maggio, Id.

After a reasonable period of fruitless coercive confinement

the law ceases trying in the civil context to distinguish

inability to comply from adamant refusal and presumes an

inability to comply. This doctrine thus recognizes that

after the passage of time there is a greater risk that the

court has mistaken true inability for mere willfulness and

* Mr. Chadwick strongly contests the correctness of and record

support for that presumption, which arises from the state court fact

finding he challenged in his Petition. See-Reason 4 below.

18

thus the greater risk of wrongful and/or excessive impris- .

onment.

The Court of Appeals concluded that there was “no

federal constitutional bar to Mr. Chadwick’s indefinite

confinement” (Appendix A, p.26) by the state court because

it found no decision of this Court which specifically estab-

lished a temporal limitation on civil contempt confine-

ment. By narrowing its search for “clearly established

federal law as determined by the Supreme Court” to rules

which covered the specific case at hand, the Court of

Appeals effectively held that the due process clause places

no limitation on the length of time a person may be con-

fined for civil contempt. In view of the principles enunci-

ated in Oriel, Gompers, Maggio and Bagwell, such a result

is unsupportable. The Court of Appeals’ search for specific-

ity and its rejection of this Court’s boarder jurisprudence

in an effort to satisfy § 2254(d)(1) led it into the error that

this Court warned against in Williams: that a “state

court’s incorrect legal determination has [never] been

allowed to stand because it was reasonable.” 529 U.S. at

411.

Several Circuits have begun to struggle with the

question of how to identify the “clearly established federal

law” for the purpose of § 2254(d)(1). The First Circuit has

recognized that “frequently Supreme Court holdings are

general in that they erect a framework specifically in-

tended for application to variant factual situations.”

O’Brien v. DuBois, 145 F.3d 16, 25 (1st Cir. 1998). Simi-

larly, the Ninth Circuit concluded that the Supreme Court

need not have addressed the identical factual circum-

stances. VanTran v. Lindsey, 212 F.3d 1143, 1154 (9th Cir.

2000). Indeed to insist that it should, would deprive the

“unreasonable application” clause of significance, a result

19

which Williams proscribed. 529 U.S. at 404. The Second

Circuit was required in a case concerning the admissibility

of identification evidence to consider the application of

both general due process precedents and a “bright line”

Rule. It concluded that both constituted clearly estab-

lished federal law for the purpose of § 2254(d)(1). Ken-

naugh v. Miller, 289 F.3d 36, 42-43 (2nd Cir. 2002). The

Sixth Circuit, faced with a case concerning the denial of a

jury instruction on self defense, was unable to identify a

Supreme Court case which enunciated the circumstances

-under which such an instruction should be given. It

concluded, nevertheless, that under this Court’s general

due process case law the instruction at issue was required,

declaring that clearly established federal law “also clearly

includes legal principles and standards enunciated in the

[Supreme] Court’s decisions.” Taylor v. Withrow, 268 F.3d

846, 850-51 (6th Cir. 2002). Judge Boggs, however, dis-

agreed and in his concurring opinion expressed the view

that the Supreme Court must have expressly stated a rule

in order for a habeas corpus court to apply it under

§ 2254(d)(1). Id. at 854. |

The Court of Appeals in the instant case appears to

have adopted the view of Judge Boggs in Taylor. Justice

O’Connor, in her concurring opinion in Williams reminded

that “We have always held that federal courts, even on

habeas, have an independent obligation to say what the

law is.” 529 U.S. at 411. Although § 2254(d)(1) limits the

source of law to this Court’s jurisprudence, a too narrow

focus in identify'ng that law will cause habeas corpus

courts to make an erroneous statement of the law and

thereby, as in the instant case, reach the incorrect result.

20

3. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

SETTLE WHETHER AND UNDER WHAT CIR-

CUMSTANCES A HABEAS CORPUS COURT IS

REQUIRED UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1) TO

REJECT A STATE COURT’S UNREASONABLE

FAILURE TO EXTEND A SETTLED CONSTI-

TUTIONAL PRINCIPLE TO A NEW SETTING

WHERE IT OUGHT TO APPLY.

Mr. Chadwick urged the courts below to find that the

state court unreasonably failed to extend the holding of

this Court in United Mine Workers ». Bagwell, 512 U.S.

821 (1994) to his case. In Bagwell, where the state court

imposed what it characterized as a civil contempt fine of

$52 millior for violation of a labor injunciion, this Court

held that the contemnor was entitled to a jury trial and

the other rights of a criminal accused berause of the

seriousness of the sanction which caused that penalty to

be punitive in nature. The Court reasoned that the possi-

bility that a serious sanction could be imposed and the

need to decide a material fact issue required an impartial

fact finder — a jury as opposed to the offended trial judge —

and criminal law protections. The Court was concerned

that “civil contempt proceedings leave the offended judge

solely responsible for identifying, prosecuting, adjudicat-

ing and sanctioning the contemptuous conduct.” Jd. at 881,

and as Justice Scalia pointed out in his concurring opin-

ion, “That one and the same person should be able to make

the rule, to adjudicate its violation and to assess its

penalty is out of accord with our usual notions of separa-

tion of powers.” Id. at 840. Mr. Chadwick argued that the

Bagwell holding should have been extended to the serious

imprisonment sanction involved in the instant case and

that he shouid have been afforded a jury trial and atten-

dant criminal law protections on the critical issue of his

ability to comply with the state court order.

21

Although Bagwell itself involved a serious fine, the

opinion strongly suggests that the holding would apply

equally where the sanction imposed is a serious impris-

onment. In fact, as part of the discussion as to what

constitutes a serious sanction, the opinion noted, Jd. 512

U.S. at 837, n.5, the decision in Muniz v. Hoffman, 422

U.S. 454 (1975) for the proposition that an offense is

“petty” if it involves imprisonment of not more than six

months or a fine of $5,000 or less. The rationale for the

heightened due process requirements in Bagwell also

would apply with equal force regardless of whether the

contempt is labeled civil or criminal. The “elusive distinc-

tion” (Id. 512 U.S. at 830) between criminal and civil

contempt which Bagwell tried to erase where a serious

sanction was involved frequently continues to be the basis

on which lower courts determine what process is due.* As

one court stated, “It is not surprising that District Courts

around the country, reluctant to surrender part of their

power to coerce obedience to their decrees, have resisted

the logic of Bagwell.” Evans v. Williams, 206 F.3d 1292,

1297 (D.C. Cir. 2000). Thus, an additional reason to grant

certiorari in this case is to settle that Bagwell did not

intend to distinguish between civil and criminal contempt

where a serious sanction was at issue.

‘ See Harris v. City of Philadelphia, 47 F.3d 1311, 1329 (3rd Cir.

1995) (criminal rights would apply in- civil contempt only if sanction

was unconditional); In Re E.I. DuPont, Benlate Litigation, 99 F.3d 363,

368-69 (11th Cir. 1996) (criminal rights applied only because purpose of

sanction was deemed non-coercive); New York State N.O.W. v. Terry, 159

F.3d 86, 93-94 (2nd Cir. 1998) (criminal rights attached only because no

condition was stated); American Airlines Inc. v. Allied Pilots Assn., 228

F.3d 574, 583 (5th Cir. 2000) (criminal rights would not apply in civil

contempt).

22

The Court of Appeals “assumed the validity of the

principle of unreasonable failure to extend” (Appendix A,

p.15-16, n.8) but did not discuss Mr. Chadwick’s argument

that the Bagwell holding should have been extended to his

case. Instead, its opinion relied upon Bagwell for a propo-

sition the Bagwell opinion does not support — that this

Court in Bagwell endorsed an unlimited right to confine a

contemnor for civil contempt. (Appendix A, p.17). In

support of this argument, the Court of Appeals cites a

sentence in the Bagwell opinion, 512 U.S. at 528, which

states: “The paradigmatic coercive, civil contempt sanc-

tion, as set forth in Gompers, involves confining a contem-

nor indefinitely until he complies with an affirmative

command....” This sentence appears in the introduction

to the opinion where the Court was simply describing the

historic differences between civil and criminal contempt.

Nothing in Bagwell suggests that use of the term “indefi-

nitely” means “permanently” and without other recourse.

Nor is there any suggestion that Bagwell intended to

overrule the principle which limited confinement for civil

contempt that already was well established when it was

reaffirmed in Maggio. The extent of confinement which

lawfully could be imposed as a sanction for contempt was

not even implicated in Bagwell. The issues that the Court

considered in Bagwell and which were reflected in its

holding concerned the process that was due to contemnors

in jeopardy of serious sanctions — process that the Court of

Appeals declined to extend to Mr. Chadwick.

Bagwell is part of a large body of due process cases

decided by this Court in the last thirty years on which Mr.

Chadwick relied for the proposition that he had an enti-

tlement to due process protections not afforded. A number

of these cases concerned the protections which should

apply to the civil confinement of the mentally ill, a circum-

stance closely analogous to civil contempt. In Jackson v.

23

Indiana, 406 U.S. 715, 738 (1972) the Court held that due

process requires a reasonable relation between the nature

and duration of the commitment and the purpose of the

commitment. McNeil v. Director, Patuxent Institution, 407

U.S. 245, 250-51 (1972) found that an indefinite confine-

ment following the expiration of a criminal sentence on

mental health grounds would be a due process violation.

In Foucha v. Louisiana, 504 U.S. 71, 80 (1972) the Court

required proof of dangerousness before a mentally ill

person could be civilly confined. Subsequently, Kansas uv.

Hendricks, 521 U.S. 346, 356 (1997) noted limitations

which must be imposed on civil confinement under a state

sexual predator statute.

In another realm related to civil confinement the

Court recently construed a statute governing the deporta-

tion of aliens to limit a post-removal order of civil deten-

tion to a period reasonably necessary to bring about the

alien’s removal, generally no more than six months.

Zadvydas v. Davis, 533 U.S. 678, 701 (2001). In reaching

that decision the Court asserted that “government deten-

tion violates that [due process] Clause unless the deten-

tion is ordered in ... certain special and narrow non-

punitive circumstances . . . where a special justification ...

outweighs the individual’s constitutionally protected

interest in avoiding physical restraint.” Id., at 690 (inter-

nal citations and quotations omitted). Although urged to

do so, the Court of Appeals did not extend. this solid line of

precedent to the circumstances of this case.

Justice O’Connor’s opinion for the Court in Williams

requires a habeas corpus court to conduct an analysis

under both the “contrary to” and “unreasonable applica-

tion” clauses of § 2254(d)(1). Id. 529 U.S. at 407. Although

that opinion defined the unreasonable application clause

to include an unreasonable failure to extend a legal

24

principle to a new context where it ought to apply, the

Court did not elaborate how such extension principle

should be applied. Jd. at 408-9. In Ramdass v. Angelone,

530 U.S. 156, 166 (2000) the Court in a plurality opinion

restated the principle but again did not provide guidance

as to its implementation. There is, of course, a close

connection between the unreasonable failure to extend and

the identification of clearly established federal law for the

purpose of § 2254(d)(1). If the search for federal law is

limited to specific Supreme Court precedent, as the Court

of Appeals in the instant case maintained, it is difficult to

envision that the extension principle could be applied at

all. Thus, it is not surprising that the Court of Appeals did

not apply the principle in this case. On the other hand,

where a habeas corpus court sought federal law in this

Court’s general jurisprudence, it recognized that that law

could be derived through application of the extension

principle. Kennaugh, 289 F.3d at 45; Taylor, 288 F.3d at

851. The instant case affords an opportunity for the Court

to address this issue.

4. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO SET-

TLE WHETHER A HABEAS CORPUS REVIEW-

ING COURT IS OBLIGED TO PERFORM A DE

NOVO REVIEW OF THE RECORD WHEN IT

RESTS ITS DECISION ON STATE COURT

FACTFINDING CHALLENGED UNDER 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(d)(2) AND THE DISTRICT COURT DID

NOT HOLD AN EVIDENTIARY HEARING.

The decision of the Court of Appeals is based upon the

assumption, derived solely from the state fact finding, that

Mr. Chadwick has the ability to comply with the order as

to which he was held in contempt. Mr. Chadwick’s petition

25

challenged that fact finding under 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(2)

as unreasonable in light of the record evidence.

The District Court did not hold an evidentiary hear-

ing, but concluded that Mr. Chadwick had the ability to

comply based solely on the state court fact finding. The

District Court did not examine the state court fact finding

in any depth, however, granting relief on other grounds.

The appeal, filed by Mrs. Chadwick, did not raise this

issue, nor was it briefed or argued. Since Mr. Chadwick

was not aggrieved by the District Court order he could not

raise the issue on appeal. Mr. Chadwick thus faces a

decision by the Court of Appeals which is premised upon

the very fact finding he challenged in his Petition, but

which was not litigated.

The Court of Appeals reviewed the District Court's

legal conclusions de novo and noted that “If a District

Court has a proper occasion to make findings of fact, they

are reviewed for clear error.” (Appendix A, p.12, n.6).

Although the Court of Appeals noted (Jd. p.3) that the

District Court accepted the state courts’ findings as to Mr.

Chadwick’s ability to comply, these findings were not

further reviewed. The Court of Appeals noted, in fact, that

“no § 2254(d)(2) inquiry is necessary here.” Id., p.15, n.7.

Whether the state court record properly supported

that finding, the issue presented in the petition for habeas

corpus, was a mixed question of fact and law. Had the

District Court based its decision on this issue, it doubtless

would have been reviewed de novo. As a result of the Court

of Appeals decision, however, this question which the

Court of Appeals found significant but the District Court

did not, received no review at all. The effect was to elimi-

nate any right Mr. Chadwick had to habeas corpus relief

under § 2254(d)(2).

26

Such a result does not give proper effect to the statu-

tory provision. The Sixth Circuit has attempted to resolve

this problem by conducting an independent examination of

the record to make its own determination as to contested

facts in cases where the District Court did not hold an

evidentiary hearing. Taylor, 288 F.3d at 850. It is submit-

ted that such a procedure, or remand to the District Court

for an evidentiary hearing, should be followed in cases like

the instant one to avoid foreclosing § 2254(d)(2) claims.

5. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO SET-

TLE WHETHER A PRIVATE PARTY HAS ARTI-

CLE III STANDING TO APPEAL IN A HABEAS

CORPUS PROCEEDING UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 2254

WHERE NO STATE RESPONDENT HAS AP-

PEALED.

The Court of Appeals found that Mr. Chadwick’s

former wife had standing to appeal the grant of habeas

corpus, notwithstanding that none of the state respon-

dents filed a notice of appeal. This question has not previ-

ously been addressed by this Court and there are sound

legal and policy reasons not to permit this result.

In Diamond v. Charles, 476 U.S. 54 (1986) this Court

dismissed an appeal by a physician who sought to chal-

lenge the constitutionality of a state abortion control law

after the state had abandoned its interest in the case. In

the absence of the state as a party, the Court held that

there was no case for him to join. He would have to estab-

lish Article III standing on his own, which he was unable

to do because he had no direct stake, merely an interest in

the abortion process.

The Court of Appeals concluded in the instant case

that Mrs. Chadwick could establish standing in her own

re ee ees

27

right because she met the requisite tests: an injury in fact

which is concrete, not conjectural or hypothetical; a fairly

traceable connection between the alleged injury and the

other party; and that it was likely, as opposed to specula-

tive, that the injury will be addressed by a decision favor-

able to the appellant. (Appendix A, p.7-8). See Lujan v.

Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 560-63 (1992).

The alleged injury, however, must be legally cogniza-

ble. Diamond, 476 U.S. at 64. As that decision held, “a

private citizen lacks a judicially cognizable interest in the

prosecution or non-prosecution of another.” /d., citing

Linda R.S. v. Richard D., 410 U.S. 614, 619 (1973). By the

same reasoning, a private citizen lacks a judicially cogni-

zable interest in the imprisonment of another. Just as the

Court pointed out in Diamond, 476 U.S. at 65, “the state

alone is entitled to create a legal code,” only the state is

empowered to impose the sanction of imprisonment. Thus,

while Mrs. Chadwick may have a strong interest in keep-

ing her ex-husband in jail, that is not an interest that the

law permits a private individual to pursue. A contrary

result would allow crime victims to oppose habeas corpus

relief sought by their alleged perpetrators. This is not a

result that our system of justice ever has recognized.

Indeed, this Court has refused to permit an interested

private party to prosecute a criminal contempt, requiring

the appointment of a disinterested prosecutor. Young v.

U.S. ex rel. Vuitton et fils, S.A., 481 U.S. 787 (1987). In a

recent decision, this Court did permit a private environ-

mental group to seek injunctive relief and civil penalties

against an alleged violator of the Clean Water Act, even

though the penalties would be paid to the government.

Friends of Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw Environmental Services,

Inc., 528 U.S. 167, 184-88 (2000). There, however, the Act

specifically authorized private enforcement. There is no

suggestion that the Court would seek to extend that rule

28

to create standing to enforce a criminal penalty like

imprisonment, and the opinion distinguished Linda R.S.

partly on that basis. 528 U.S. at 188, n.4.

Even in the event it should be determined that Mrs.

Chadwick’s interest is legally cognizable, it still fails to

meet the test of a real, non-speculative injury. The Court

of Appeals reasoned that the potential reduction in Mrs.

Chadwick’s distribution of marital property, if Mr.

Chadwick were not under the pressure of imprisonment to

pay the money at issue, was sufficient to conclude that

Mrs. Chadwick had demonstrated a palpable injury which

was addressable by the Court (Appendix A, p.8). However,

the money at issue is not payable to Mrs. Chadwick; she

has not received any award of marital property or money,

so that any injury that she might claim would be hypo-

thetical and contingent, not real and actual. Mrs.

Chadwick has the burden of proving her injury in order to

establish standing, Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 560-63,

and failed to prove that she will sustain any loss if Mr.

Chadwick is released from confinement that she would not

suffer in any event. Moreover, if Mrs. Chadwick’s injury is

not hypothetical then her injury is simply as an unpaid

creditor, removing all doubt that Mr. Chadwick’s impris-

onment is for the purpose of coercing the payment of

money, notwithstanding that imprisonment for debt is

everywhere abolished.

Furthermore, Mrs. Chadwick’s alleged injury, as

framed by the Court of Appeals, lacks a nexus with the

issue — lawfulness of confinement — in a habeas corpus

case. The injury must be fairly traceable to the challenged

conduct for standing to be shown. Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S.

737, 754 (1984). If Mrs. Chadwick has suffered an injury, it

is because she has not proven that Mr. Chadwick has

possession of the cash she seeks, despite having conducted

29

extensive discovery. No injury is caused simply by the

release of Mr. Chadwick from confinement. In addition, if

Mrs. Chadwick has sustained an injury as alleged, a

habeas corpus court cannot address it. Such a court is

concerned only with the lawfulness or not of confinement.

The Court cannot give her the money or property she

seeks.

Whether a private party has standing to appeal the

grant of habeas corpus relief may be a matter of first

impression. The Court of Appeals cited only one case

where the issue was litigated, Martin-Trigona v. Shiff, 702

F 2d 380 (2nd Cir. 1983), where a bankrupt debtor sought

habeas corpus relief to question the power of a bankruptcy

court to order him imprisoned for contempt for refusal to

submit to examination by the trustees in bankruptcy. This

case was unique in that because the bankrupt named the

judge as the respondent the court ordered the trustees to

respond. The trustees, however, were not ordinary private

parties but were officers appointed by and responsible to

the court. It does not appear that the court considered the

issue of a legally cognizable interest in the imprisonment

of the bankrupt. The contempt at issue, however, related

directly to the duties the trustees were appointed to

perform and thus it was relatively easy to conclude that

the trustees had a direct and real interest.

These unique considerations aside, the notion that a

private party may control habeas corpus litigation raises

troubling issues. The opportunity, as has been demon-

strated in the instant case, to use the power of the state to

deprive another of his freedom for personal retribution

and to achieve leverage in a private lawsuit, is one that

the law should not abet or encourage.

a

v

30

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons the Petitioner respectfully

prays that his Petition for a Writ of Certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

H. BEATTY CHADWICK

P.O. Box 23

Thornton, PA 19373

(610) 595-2740, ext. 317

APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit, December 4, 2002............. App. 1

Opinion of the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, January

Be Eb ulciiasinuédintnaidaahonmsabntneciasediienairametnies App. 27

Order of Supreme Court of Pennsylvania,

NE TEL, CIID cavescnncsisnésspckinstersissnenrnprenionveens App. 47

Order of United States Court of Appeals for

the Third Circuit Sur Petition for Rehearing,

ee Se SE ia renteerencknienneninsiinesasenssedereases App. 48

Judgment of United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit, August 20, 2002............. App. 50

Order of Court of Common Pleas of Delaware

County, Pennsylvania, July 22, 1994............... App. 52

Order of Court of Common Pleas of Delaware

County, Pennsylvania, November 2, 1994........ App. 54

Extract from Petition for Writ of Habeas

Corpus showing grounds for relief, filed in

United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Pennsyivania, March 2, 2000.......... App. 57

a

App. 1

APPENDIX A

PRECEDENTIAL

Filed December 4, 2002

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 02-1173

H. BEATTY CHADWICK

Vv.

JAMES JANECKA, WARDEN, DELAWARE COUNTY

PRISON; THE DISTRICT ATTORNEY OF COUNTY OF

DELAWARE; THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF THE STATE

OF PENNSYLVANIA

Vv.

BARBARA JEAN CROWTHER CHADWICK,

(Intervenor in District Court)

BARBARA JEAN CROWTHER CHADWICK,

Appellant

ON APPEAL FROM THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

District Court Judge: Honorable Norma L. Shapiro

(D.C. No. 00-cv-01130)

Argued: May 24, 2002

Before: ALITO, MCKEE, and WALLACE,* Circuit Judges.

(Opinion Filed: December 4, 2002)

*The Honorable J. Clifford Wallace, Senior Judge of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, sitting by designation.

App. 2

ALBERT MOMUJIAN

NANCY WINKELMAN (Argued)

KEVIN C. McCULLOUGH

STEPHEN A. FOGDALL

Schnader Harrison Segal &

Lewis, L.L.P.

1735 Market Street, Suite 3800

Philadelphia, PA 19103

Counsel for Appellants

THOMAS S. NEUBERGER (Argued)

Thomas S. Neuberger, P.A.

2 East Seventh Street, Suite 302

Wilmington, DE 19801

ANNA M. DURBIN

PETER GOLDBERGER

50 Rittenhouse Place

Ardmore, PA 19003

Co-Counsel for Appellee

D. MICHAEL FISHER

WILLIAM H. RYAN, JR.

ROBERT A. GRACI

AMY ZAPP

Office of Attorney General

16th Floor, Strawberry Square

Harrisburg, PA 1712

Counsel for Amicus Curiae

Pennsylvania Office of Attorney

General

OPINION OF THE COURT

ALITO, Circuit Judge:

This appeal was taken from an order granting a petition

for a writ of habeas corpus filed by Mr. H. Beatty Chadwick

under 28 U.S.C. §2254. The petitioner has applied eight

times to the courts of Pennsylvania and six times to the

federal district court for release from incarceration for civil

App. 3

contempt for refusing to comply with an order in a

matrimonial proceeding directing him to pay over $2.5

million into an escrow account. In the present case, the

District Court concluded that the petitioner had exhausted

state remedies even though he had not applied to the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court for review of the adverse

decision of the Superior Court. In the view of the District

Court, it was sufficient that the petitioner subsequently

submitted a habeas petition to the Pennsylvania Supreme

Court in its original jurisdiction pursuant to 42 Pa. Cons.

Stat. §721. With respect to the merits of the present

proceeding, the District Court accepted the state courts’

repeated findings that the petitioner is able to comply with

the order directing him to pay the funds into escrow, but

the District Court nevertheless held that the length of

petitioner's confinement — then almost seven years —

meant that the contempt order had lost its coercive effect

and that confinement for civil contempt was no longer

constitutional. On appeal, the petitioner defends that

decision of the District Court but does not contest the state

courts’ findings that he is able to comply with the

underlying order but simply refuses to do so. We reverse.

I

In November 1992, Mrs. Barbara Chadwick filed for

divorce in the Delaware County (Pennsylvania) Court of

Common Pleas. During an equitable distribution conference

in February 1993, Mr. Chadwick informed the state court

and Mrs. Chadwick that he had unilaterally transferred

$2,,502,000.00 of the marital estate to satisfy an alleged

debt to Maison Blanche, Ltd., a Gibraltar partnership.

It was later discovered that (1) one of the principals of

Maison Blanche had returned $869,106.00 from Gibraltar

to an American bank account in Mr. Chadwick’s name and

that these funds had then been used to purchase three

insurance annuity contracts; (2) $995,726.41 had been

transferred to a Union Bank account in Switzerland in Mr.

Blanche had never been received. The state court then

App. 4

entered a freeze order on the marital assets on April 29,

1994.

In May 1994, Mr. Chadwick redeemed the annuity

contracts and deposited the funds in a Panamanian bank.

After a hearing on July 22, 1994, the court determined that

Mr. Chadwick’s transfer of the money was an attempt to

defraud Mrs. Chadwick and the court. At that time, the

court ordered petitioner to return the $2,502,000.00 to an

account under the jurisdiction of the court, to pay

$75,000.00 for Mrs. Chadwick’s attorney’s fees and costs,

to surrender his passport, and to remain within the

jurisdiction. Mr. Chadwick refused to comply, and Mrs.

Chadwick thereafter filed a petition to have him held in civil

contempt. Mr. Chadwick failed to appear at any of the three

contempt hearings, but his attorney was present. The court

found Mr. Chadwick in contempt of the July 22, 1994,

order and issued a bench warrant for his arrest.

After learning of the bench warrant, Mr. Chadwick fled

the jurisdiction but was arrested and detained on April 5,

1995. The state court determined that Mr. Chadwick had

the present ability to comply with the terms of the July 22,

1994, order and set bail at $3,000,000. Mr. Chadwick

could have been released from custody either by posting

bail or by complying with the July 22, 1994, order. To date,

he has done neither.

Since his confinement, Mr. Chadwick has applied eight

times to the state courts’ and six times to the federal court?

1. The state petitions include: (1) an emergency petition for release,

which was denied by the Court of Common Pleas and affirmed by the

Superior Court; (2) six state habeas petitions, all of which were denied;

and (3) a petition for release from imprisonment or, in the alternative,

house arrest, which was denied. See Appellant's Br. at 8-12.

2. The federal petitions include: (1) an emergency motion for injunctive

relief pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, which was denied because

abstention was appropriate under the doctrine of Younger v. Harris, 401

U.S. 37 (1971); (2) an emergency motion pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983,

which was denied, or, in the alternative, habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C.

§ 2241, which was dismissed for failure to exhaust state remedies; (3) a

third federal habeas petition, which was denied for failure to exhaust

state remedies; (4) a petition for reconsideration of the dismissal of the

App. 5

to gain release from incarceration. After the trial court

denied his sixth state habeas petition, the Superior Court

affirmed the decision on April 23, 1997, stating:

Instantly, appellant cites to the fact that he has been

incarcerated since April 5, 1995. He claims the length

of his incarceration, his age, poor health, inability to

pursue his career and repeated hearings where he has

refused compliance suggests that there is no possibility

that he will comply with the order. Appellant admits

that no court in this jurisdiction has adopted this test

and we will not do so here. While it seems reasonable

that at some point a temporal benchmark should be

adopted to determine when contempt incarceration

becomes impermissibly punitive we think that it is for

our high court to make such a determination.

Chadwick v. Janecka, No. 00-CV-1130, 2000 U.S. Dist.

LEXIS 21732, at *14-15 (E.D.Pa. Dec. 11, 2000) (internal

citation omitted). Despite the Superior Court’s invitation

that the petitioner ask the Pennsylvania Supreme Court to

decide the point at which incarceration for contempt

becomes punitive, the petitioner did not file an allocatur

petition in the state supreme court.

Later, on July 18, 1997, petitioner filed another petition

for federal habeas relief, which was dismissed for failure to

exhaust state court remedies. The District Court wrote:

Although Mr. Chadwick has forfeited his right to seek

Supreme Court review of the Superior Court’s April 23,

1997 denial of his sixth state habeas petition, see

Pa.R.App.P. 1113(a) (petition for allowance of appeal

must be filed within 30 days of order), he would not be

barred from filing a seventh state habeas petition

based on his present confinement of approximately

thirty-seven months. Under Pennsylvania law, Mr.

third federai habeas petition, which was also denied for failure to

exhaust state remedies; (5) a fourth federal habeas petition, which was

also denied for failure to exhaust state remedies; and (6) a fifth federal

habeas petition, which is the basis of this appeal. See Appellant's Br. at

12-13.

App. 6

Chadwick can file a seventh state habeas petition in

the Court of Common Pleas and exhaust his appellate

remedies, see 42 Pa.Cons.Stat.Ann. §931, or petition

directly in the Supreme Court, which has original

jurisdiction over habeas corpus proceedings. See 42

Pa.Cons.Stat.Ann. §721(1). But unless the issues

presented in the federal habeas petition have all been

first presented to the Supreme Court, the district court

may not exercise jurisdiction. See Lambert, 134 F.3d at

515 (requiring “complete exhaustion”); Swanger, 750

F.2d at 295 {raising claim before Supreme Court in

petition for allowance of appeal satisfies exhaustion

requirement).

Chadwick v. Andrews, No. 97-4680, 1998 WL 218026, at *5

(E.D.Pa. April 30, 1998) (emphasis added). Because Mr.

Chadwick had not sought review in the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court on the issue presented in his federal

petition, that petition was dismissed.

In September 1999, Mr. Chadwick filed a pro se

Application for Leave to File Original Process (his seventh

state habeas action) with the Pennsylvania Supreme Court.

Mrs. Chadwick sought permission to intervene, and

opposed the application and the state habeas petition. In a

per curiam order dated February 8, 2000, the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court granted the request to file original process

and the request to file an answer, but the court denied the

petition for habeas corpus.

On March 2, 2000, Mr. Chadwick filed the instant

petition for federal habeas relief. The District Court granted

that petition on January 3, 2002, but stayed its order for

30 days to “allow appeal and application for further stay of

this court’s order to the appellate court.” Chadwick uv.

Janecka, No. 00-1130, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 10, at *27

(E.D.Pa. Jan.3, 2002). Mrs. Chadwick took this timely

appeal. By order dated January 31, 2002, we granted Mrs.

Chadwick’s motion for a stay pending appeal. The United

States Supreme Court thereafter denied Mr. Chadwick's

Application for Enlargement and to Vacate Stay.

Il.

The first issue we must address is whether Mrs.

Chadwick has standing to proceed on appeal. Mr. Chadwick

App. 7

argues that because Mrs. Chadwick was an intervenor in

the District Court, she lacks Article "I standing. He further

argues that, because the respondents — the warden, the

Delaware County District Attorney, and the Attorney

General of the Commonwealth — did not appeal, we do not

have jurisdiction to entertain this appeal.

The United States Supreme Court has stated that “an

intervenor's right to continue a suit in the absence of the

party on whose side the intervention was permitted is

contingent upon a showing by the intervenor that he fulfills

the requirements of Artficle] III.” Diamond v. Charles, 476

U.S. 54, 68 (1986). Under Article III of the United States

Constitution, the judicial power extends only to “Cases” and

“Controversies.” As noted in Vermont Agency of Natural

Resources v. United States ex rel. Stevens, 529 U.S. 765,

771 (2000):

a plaintiff must meet three requirements in order to

establish Article III standing. See, e.g., Friends of Earth,

Inc. v. Laidlaw Environmental Services (TOC), Inc., 528

U.S. 167, 180-181, 120 S. Ct. 693, 145 L. Ed. 2d 610

(2000). First, he must demonstrate “injury in fact” — a

harm that is both “concrete” and “actual or imminent,

not conjectural or hypothetical.” Whitmore v. Arkansas,

495 U.S. 149, 155, 109 L. Ed. 2d 135, 110 S. Ct. 1717

(1990) (internal quotation marks and citation omitted).

Second, he must establish causation — a “fairly...

traceable” connection between the alleged injury in fact

and the alleged conduct of the defendant. Simon v.

Eastern Ky. Welfare Rights Organization, 426 U.S. 26,

41, 48 L. Ed. 2d 450, 96 S. Ct. 1917 (1976). And third,

he must demonstrate redressability — a “substantial

likelihood” that the requested relief will remedy the

alleged injury in fact. Id.

See also, e.g., Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans

United For Separation of Church & State, 454 U.S. 464, 472

(1982); In re Grand Jury, 111 F.3d 1066, 1071 (3d Cir.

1997).

We have little difficulty concluding that Mrs. Chadwick

meets all of these requirements here. First, Mrs. Chadwick

clearly has suffered and continues to suffer an injury in

App. 8

fact that is both “concrete” and “actual,” “not conjectural or

hypothetical.” Mr. Chadwick has placed a substantial sum

of money beyond the reach of the state court before whom

the matrimonial case is pending. If the decision of the

District Court is affirmed, Mr. Chadwick will be released

from jail and will be relieved of the pressure to return this

money for equitable distribution. Second, Mrs. Chadwick's

injury is unquestionably traceable to Mr. Chadwick's

refusal to comply with the state court order under which he

is being held. The District Court’s order would erase the

effect of the state court order requiring the return of the

funds and would significantly reduce Mrs. Chadwick's

share of the marital estate. Third, Mrs. Chadwick's injury

may be redressed by a favorable decision here. A reversal of

the District Court's order granting Mr. Chadwick's petition

would require him to remain in prison until he returns the

$2.5 million to the state court for later distribution.

In arguing that Mrs. Chadwick lacks standing, the

petitioner relies principally on Diamond v. Charles, 476 U.S.

54 (1986), but that case is easily distinguishable. The

Diamond case involved a constitutional attack on an Illinois

statute restricting abortions. Id. at 56. Diamond, a

pediatrician, successfully moved to intervene in the District

Court, based on his conscientious objection to abortion and

his status as a pediatrician and the father of a minor

daughter. Id. at 66. When the District Court permanently

enjoined provisions of the statute and the Court of Appeals

affirmed, the State of Illinois did not appeal to the Supreme

Court, but Diamond did. Id. at 62-63. The Court held that

Diamond could not maintain the appeal as the sole

appellant because he lacked Article III standing. Id. at 64-

71. Noting that Illinois, by not appealing, had accepted the

decision that its statute was unconstitutional, the Court

observed that even if it upheld the siatute, Diamond, a

private citizen, could not compel the state to enforce it. Id.

at 64-65. In addition, the Court explained, Diamond could

not establish that he had or would suffer injury in fact. Id.

at 65-71. Diamond argued that if the statute were upheld,

there would be fewer abertions and greater demand for his

services as a pediatrician, but the Court dismissed this

argument as speculative. Id. at 66. The Court likewise

rejected Diamond's contention that he had standing

App. 9

because of his interest in the standards of medical practice

relating to abortion. Id. at 66-67. The Court stated that

Diamond's abstract interest in the issue of abortion could

not substitute for the concrete injury demanded by Article

III. Id. In response to Diamond's claim of standing as the

father of a minor daughter, the Court noted that the

validity of the parental notification provision of the statute

was not at issue in the appeal and Diamond had not

provided factual support to show that the provisions that

were at issue threatened him with any concrete injury. Id.

at 67. Finally, the Court held that Diamond could not

assert any constitutional rights of unborn fetuses and that

the award of fees against him in the District Court could

not “fairly be traced to the Illinois Abortion Law.” Id. at 70.

Other than the fact that Diamond and Mrs. Chadwick are

both intervenors, the two cases have little in common. Mrs.

Chadwick, as noted, has a direct financial interest: she

wants Mr. Chadwick to produce a very substantial sum of

money in which she claims a share. By contrast, Diamond's

claim that upholding the Illinois law would result in more

live births and thus increase his income as a pediatrician

was highly speculative and an obvious makeweight.

Diamond was a classic case of an attempt to litigate an

abstract legal issue; the present case involves a concrete

monetary interest.

Mr. Chadwick argues, however, that Mrs. Chadwick has

no concrete injury at stake because ‘even if she were

somehow to secure a reversal of the district court's order,

the respondents would still be required to release Mr.

Chadwick, because they did not appeal.” Appellee’s Br. at

21. We reject this highly technical argument and find

Martin-Trigona v. Shiff, 702 F.2d 380 (2d Cir. 1983),

instructive on the question whether someone other than the

legal custodian of a prisoner may appeal an adverse

decision in a habeas proceeding. In Martin-Trigona, a

bankruptcy judge ordered a debtor imprisoned for civil

contempt when he refused to submit to’ examination by the

trustees. Id: at 381. The debtor filed a petition for a writ of

habeas corpus, the District Court granted the motion, and

the trustees appealed. Id. The Second Circuit held that the

trustees were the real parties in interest because “[tlhey

App. 10

ha[d] a legitimate interest in seeing to it that Martin-

Trigona testifie[d] to the location of certain assets, books,

and records that are necessary to the administration of the

estates.” Id. at 386. Because the trustees’ interests were

sufficiently affected by the District Court’s order, the

Second Circuit held that the trustees had standing to

appeal even though they were not the custodian of the

ys Pome Id.; Cf. United States ex rel. Thom v. Jenkins, 760

F.2d 736 (7th Cir. 1985) (private party who prosecuted

contempt proceedings against judgment debtor was

respondent and appellee on appeal of debtor's habeas

petition following jailing for contempt). Martin-Trigona is

analogous to the case at bar because Mrs. Chadwick — like

the trustees — is the party who has “a legitimate interest in

seeing to it,” 702 F.2d at 386, that Mr. Chadwick returns

a substantial portion of the marital estate to the court. We

find the decision in Martin-Trigona to be persuasive.

The only case cited by Mr. Chadwick in support of his

position is far afield. In Carter v. Rafferty, 826 F.2d 1299,

1303-04 (3d Cir. 1987), the District Court granted habeas

petitions filed by two prisoners who had been tried and

convicted together in state court. The habeas respondents

appealed, but their notice of appeal “specifically limited

itself to the order releasing [one of the prisoners].” Id. at

1303. Noting that what was then Rule 3(c) of the Federal

Rules of Appellate Procedure*® required that a notice of

appeal “designate the judgment, order, or part thereof

appealed from,” the Court held that it lacked jurisdiction to

consider the portion of the District Court’s judgment

relating to the other prisoner because the appellants had

failed to specify that they were appealing that part of the

judgment. Id. at 1304. Thus, Carter does not stand for the

proposition that only the person with the keys to the jail

has standing to appeal an order granting a writ of habeas

corpus. Rather, Carter holds that only the portions of an

order specified in a notice of appeal may be challenged in

the appeal. We accordingly hold that Mrs. Chadwick has

Article III standing to pursue the present appeal. We have

considered all of Mr. Chadwick's standing arguments, and

we find them to be devoid of merit.

3. See current Fed. R. App. Proc. 3(c)(1)(B).

App. 11

III.

Mrs. Chadwick argues that Mr. Chadwick did not

exhaust all available state court remedies before presenting

his claims to the federal court in his habeas petition. See

28 U.S.C. §2254(b)(1). Mrs. Chadwick makes two

exhaustion arguments. First, she argues that Mr. Chadwick

did not fairly present to the Pennsylvania Supreme Court

the same claims that he raised in his federal habeas

petition. See Picard v. Connor, 404 U.S. 270, 275-76 (1971).

Specifically, Mrs. Chadwick urges reversal because the

period of confinement listed in Mr. Chadwick's application

for leave to file original process before the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court — “over 50 months” (i.e., four years and

two months) — and the period of confinement for which the

District Court granted habeas — “nearly seven years” — are

not the same. Second, Mrs. Chadwick argues that Mr.

Chadwick's application for leave to file original process did

not fairly present the claims to the Pennsylvania Supreme

Court where, although it has original jurisdiction in habeas

matters,‘ the Pennsylvania Supreme Court will ordinarily

refer habeas petitions to the appropriate lower court, unless

there exists “imperative necessity or apparent reason why

expedition is desirable or required.” See Commonwealth ex

rel. Paylor v. Claudy, 366 Pa. 282, 287 (1951).

Although Mrs. Chadwick would have us decide the

question of exhaustion, we decline to do so here because,

under the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of

1996 (“AEDPA”), Pub. L. 104-132, 110 Stat. 1214 (enacted

April 24, 1996), we may deny a habeas petition on the

merits even though state remedies may not have been

exhausted. See 28 U.S.C. §2254(b)(2); see also

Pennsylvania ex rel. Craig v. Maroney, 348 F.2d 22, 33 (3d

Cir. 1965); In re Emst, 294 F.2d 556, 561-62 (3d Cir.

1961).

4. Pennsylvania statutes state that “[t]he Supreme Court shall have

original but not exclusive jurisdiction of all cases of . . . Habeas corpus.”

42 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 721.

Turning to the merits,° we must first address the proper

scope of review in this case. The parties dispute whether

the standard of review set out in 28 U.S.C. §2254(d)

applies here.®

Relying on Everett v. Beard, 290 F.3d 500, 507-08 (3d

Cir. 2002); Appel v. Horn, 250 F.3d 203, 209-12 (3d Cir.

2001); and Hameen v. Delaware, 212 F.3d 226, 248 (3d

Cir. 2000), Mr. Chadwick argues that 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d) is

inapplicable in this case because the “state supreme court,

after accepting Mr. Chadwick’s original habeas corpus

petition for adjudication on its merits, denied relief without

any statement of reasons at all.” Appellee’s Br. at 33.

According to Mr. Chadwick, under these circumstances, 28

U.S.C. § 2254(d) “simply does not apply.” Appellee’s Br. at

33. We reject this argument, which is contrary to Supreme

Court precedent and misinterprets our court’s prior

decisions.

Under 28 U.S.C. §2254(d)(1)(emphasis added), if a state

prisoner’s habeas claim “was adjudicated on the merits in

State court proceedings,” our standard of review is narrow:

we may not reverse “unless the adjudication of the claim

. . resulted in a decision that was contrary to, or involved

5. After our decision reversing the decision of the District Court was

filed, Mr. Chadwick filed a petition for rehearing that substantially

elaborated on certain points raised in his original brief, and the panel

received an answer to the petition. pursuant to our Internal Operating

Procedure 9.5.2. Both panel rehearing and rehearing en banc have been

denied, but the panel believes that it is appropriate to respond to certain

points addressed in the petition for rehearing. Rather than issuing a

separate opinion sur denial of panel rehearing, this opinion has been

amended in order to integrate that discussion into the related discussion

in the original opinion.

6. We review de novo the District Court’s legal conclusions, including its

application of the standards of review imposed by AEDPA. See Banks v.

Horn, 271 F.3d 527, 531 (3d Cir. 2001). If a District Court has a proper

occasion to make findings of fact, they are reviewed for clear error. See

Love v. Morton, 112 F.3d 131, 133 (3d Cir. 1997).

a

App. 13

an unreasonable application of, clearly established Federal

Law... .” In Hameen, we held that the petitioner had

properly exhausted the claim that his Eighth Amendment

rights had been violated because two of the aggravating

circumstances found to support the death penalty were

duplicative. 212 F.3d at 246-47. We concluded, however,

that the Delaware Supreme Court “did not pass on [the

petitioner's] Eighth Amendment constitutional duplicative

aggravating circumstances argument, even though it had

the opportunity to do so.” Id. at 248. Accordingly, the

Hameen panel held that this claim had not been

“adjudicated on the merits in State court proceedings” and

that the restrictive standard of review in 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(d)(1) did not apply. 212 F.3d at 248.

Appel followed Hameen, stating that “when, although

properly preserved by the defendant, the state court has

not reached the merits of a claim thereafter presented to a

federal habeas court, the deferential standards provided by

AEDPA .. . do not apply.” 250 F.3d at 210. The Appel panel

held that the petitioner had properly presented in the state

courts a claim of the constructive denial of counsel but that

the state courts had misconstrued the claim as one of the

ineffective assistance of counsel. Id. at 210-12. Observing

that “(t]he two claims, of course, are different,” id. at 210,

the panel held that the constructive denial claim had not

been decided by the state courts and that the restrictive

standards of § 2254(d) did not apply. Id. at 211.

Finally, the Everett court, relying on Hameen, 290 F.3d at

508, held that the §2254(d) standards did not apply

because the state courts had not adjudicated the

petitioner's properly exhausted claim that his Sixth

Amendment right to the effective assistance of counsel had

been violated but instead had decided only that his rights

under state law had not been abridged. See id. at 516.

Hameen, Appel, and Everett stand for the proposition

that, if an examination of the opinions of the state courts

shows that they misunderstood the nature of a properly

exhausted claim and thus failed to adjudicate that claim on

the merits, the deferential standards of review in AEDPA do

not apply. Hameen, Appel, and Everett did not deal with

App. 14

summary dispositions — but Weeks v. Angelone, 528 U.S.

225 (2000), did.

In Weeks, the petitioner “presented 47 assignments of

error in his direct appeal to the Virginia Supreme Court.”

528 U.S. at 231. The state supreme court rejected number

44 without explanation. Reviewing this claim, the Fourth

Circuit recognized that the AEDPA standards do not apply

when a state court has not adjudicated a claim on the

merits, Weeks v. Angelone, 176 F.3d 249, 258 (4th Cir.

1999), but the Fourth Circuit held that “[wlhere, as here,

the state supreme court has adjudicated a claim on the

merits but has given no indication of how it reached its

decision, a federal habeas court must still apply the AEDPA

standards of review.” Id. at 259. Applying those standards,

the Fourth Circuit denied the application for a certificate

and dismissed the habeas petition.

The United States Supreme Court reviewed the claim set

out in assignment of error 44 and affirmed. See 528 U.S. at

231. After explaining why there had been no constitutional

violation, the Court wrote:

Because petitioner seeks a federal writ of habeas

corpus from a state sentence, we must determine

whether 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d) precludes such relief. The

Court of Appeals below held that it did. 176 F.3d, at

261. We agree. Section 2254(d) prohibits federal

habeas relief on any claim “adjudicated on the merits

in State court proceedings,” unless that adjudication

resulted in a decision that was “contrary to, or involved

an unreasonable application of, clearly established

Federal law, as determined by the Supreme Court of

the United States.” 28 U.S.C. §§ 2254(d) and (1) (1994

ed., Supp. III). For the reasons stated above, it follows

a fortiori that the adjudication of the Supreme Court of

Virginia affirming petitioner's conviction and sentence

neither was “contrary to,” nor did it involve an

“unreasonable application of,” any of our decisions.

528 U.S. at 237. Thus, the Supreme Court clearly held that

the § 2254(d) standards apply when a state supreme court

rejects a claim without giving any “indication of how it

reached its decision.” 176 F.3d at 259.

App. 15

Needless to say, if Hameen, Appel, and Everett conflict

with Weeks, the former must give way, but we see no such

conflict. Hameen, Appel, and Everett govern when the

opinion of a state court reveals that it did not adjudicate a

claim; Weeks applies when a claim is rejected without

explanation. In the present case, the Pennsylvania Supreme

Court rejected Chadwick’s claim on the merits -without

explanation. Weeks is therefore the governing precedent,

and § 2254(d) must be applied.

B.

Under 28 U.S.C. §2254(d), a federal court may grant

habeas relief only if the state court’s decision was “contrary

to, or involved an unreasonable application of, clearly

established Federal law, as determined by the Supreme

Court of the United States,” id. § 2254(d)(1), or was “based

on an unreasonable determination of the facts in light of

the evidence presented in the State court proceeding,” id.

§ 2254(d)(2).’? Moreover, a state court's factual findings are

“presumed to be correct,” and the habeas petitioner carries

the “burden of rebutting the presumption of correctness by

clear and convincing evidence.” 28 U.S.C. § 2254fe)( 1).

In Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 405-06 (2000),

Justice O’Connor wrote in her controlling opinion that a

state court ruling is “contrary to” clearly established

Supreme Court precedent for the purposes of § 2254(d)(1)

“if the state court applies a rule that contradicts the

governing law set forth in [the Supreme Court's] cases,” or

“if the state court confronts a set of facts that are materially

indistinguishable from a decision of [the Supreme Court]

and nevertheless arrives at a result different from [its]

precedent.” A state court decision is an “unreasonable

application” of Supreme Court precedent if it “identifies the

7. The District Court agreed with all of the factuat findings of the state

courts, stating that “[t}]he record below clearly demonsirates that the

state court findings were not erroneous. This court is convinced that Mr.

Chadwick has the present ability to comply with the July 22, 1994

order.” Chadwick v. Janecka, No. 00-1130, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 10, at

*19 (E.D.Pa. Jan. 3, 2002). Therefore, no §2254(d)(2) inquiry is

necessary here.

8. It has been argued that a state court may unreasonably apply clearly

established Supreme Court precedent by unreasonably refusing to

App. 16

correct governing legal rule from [the Supreme] Court's

cases, but unreasonably applies it to the facts of the

particular state prisoner’s case.” Williams v. Taylor, 529

U.S. 362, 407 (2000) (O'Connor, J., concurring) (controlling

opinion). When making the “unreasonable application”

inquiry, the federal habeas court should ask “whether the

state court's application of clearly established federal law

was objectively unreasonable.” Id. at 409 (emphasis added);

see also Matteo v. Superintendent, SCI Albion, 171 F.3d

877, 891 (3d Cir. 1999) (en banc) (stating the test to be

“whether the state court decision, evaluated objectively and

on the merits, resulted in an outcome that cannot

reasonably be justified [under existing Supreme Court

precedent]”) (emphasis added).

In urging this Court to affirm the District Court’s

decision, Mr. Chadwick argues that the state courts failed

to recognize that his confinement has ceased to be coercive

and that, as a consequence, he cannot be held in custody

any longer unless he is convicted and sentenced for

criminal contempt. We disagree and hold that the state

courts’ decision — denying habeas relief because Mr.

Chadwick has the present ability to comply with the court

order — was neither contrary to nor an unreasonable

application of “clearly established Federal Law, as

determined by the Supreme Court of the United States.” 28

U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1).

i

To determine whether a contempt order is civil or

criminal, Supreme. Court jurisprudence requires an

examination of the “character and purpose” of the sanction

imposed. See International Union v. Bagwell, 512 U.S. 821,

extend a legal principle to a new context. Ramdass v. Angelone, 530 U.S.

156, 165 (2000); Williams v. Taylor, 529 U.S. 362, 408 (2000); Marshall

v. Hendricks, 307 F.3d 36, 51 n.2 (3d Cir. 2002). For present purposes,

we assume the validity of this subset of the concept of unreasonable

application. In discussing the concept of unreasonable applications in

this opinion, we intend our remarks to refer to all types of unreasonable

application, including the unreasonable failure to extend.

|

App. 17

827 (1994); Gompers v. Buck’s Stove & Range Co., 221 U.S.

418, 441 (1911). Civil confinement “is remedial, and for the

benefit of the complainant,” Gompers, 221 U.S. at 441,

whereas criminal confinement “is punitive, to vindicate the

authority of the court.” Id. The Bagwell Court identified the

“paradigmatic coercive, civil contempt sanction” as

involviing] [the] confinfement] [of} a contemnor

indefinitely until he complies with an affirmative

command such as an order “to pay alimony, or to

surrender property ordered to be turned over to a

receiver, or to make a conveyance.” 221 U.S. at 442

. .. . In these circumstances, the contemnor is able to

purge the contempt and obtain his release by

committing an affirmative act, and thus “ ‘carries the

keys of his prison in his own pocket.’” Gompers, 221

U.S. at 442.

512 U.S. at 828 (emphasis added) (citations omitted).

Conversely, the Bagwell Court observed, “a fixed sentence

of imprisonment is punitive and criminal if it is imposed

retrospectively for a ‘completed act of disobedience,’ such

that the contemnor cannot avoid or abbreviate the

confinement through later compliance.” Id. at 828-29

(citations omitted). Thus, Bagwell seems to permit a

contemnor who has the ability to comply with the

underlying court order to be confined until he or she

complies, and if this reading is correct, Bagwell directly

contradicts the decision of the District Court in the present

case.

Mr. Chadwick, however, urges us not to take Bagwell at

face value. He contends that the phrase “indefinitely until

he complies” in Bagwell does not mean “permanently and

without other recourse.” Pet. for Rehearing at 4. Instead, he

maintains that “[t]he word ‘indefinitely’ is apparently used

in its most precise sense, to mean ‘with no pre-determined

ending date’... .” Pet. for Rehearing at 4 n.4. We have no

quarrel with this definition, but this understanding of the

term “indefinitely” does not explain away the critical

statement in Bagwell that a civil contemnor may be

confined “indefinitely until he complies.” 512 U.S. at 828

(emphasis added).

App. 18

The meaning of the statement in Bagwell that a

contemnor may be held “indefinitely until he complies” is

perfectly clear. The phrase “until he complies” sets the |

point in time when confinement must cease. The term

“indefinitely” describes the length of confinement up to that

point, namely, a period “having no exact limits,” Wesster’s

THIRD NEw INTERNATIONAL DictTionaRY 1147 (1971), because the

end point (the time of compliance) cannot be foretold. Mr.

Chadwick’s contrary interpretation — that “indefinitely

until he complies” means “indefinitely until he complies or

it becomes apparent that he is never going to comply” — is

insupportable. And even if that were a_ reasonable

interpretation, the petition would still lack merit because in

order to win it is not enough for Mr. Chadwick to show that

his reading is reasonable; he must show that his reading is

“clearly established” in Supreme Court precedent. 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(d)(1).

In an effort to show that his position is “clearly

established” in Supreme Court case law, Mr. Chadwick

turns to Maggio v. Zeitz, 333 U.S. 56 (1948), which he

interprets to mean that a civil contemnor who is able to

comply with the underlying court order but simply will not

do so must eventually be released. In making this

argument, Mr. Chadwick relies almost entirely on two

sentences in the Maggio opinion, but when that opinion is

read in its entirety and with the context of the case in

mind, it is apparent that the opinion does not support Mr.

Chadwick's position. As we will explain, Maggio focuses on

the question of ability to comply, not willingness to comply

— and Mr. Chadwick's ability to comply has not been

challenged in the present proceeding and is not at issue.

Maggio is a procedurally complicated case,® but for

9. Maggio was the principal of a bankrupt camera shop. 333 U.S. at 58.

The bankruptcy trustee asked the referee to order Maggio to turn over

cameras and camera equipment that he had allegedly taken from the

business. Id.; In_re Luna Camera Services, 157 F.2d 951, 953 (2d Cir.

1946). To obtain such an order, the trustee was supposed to prove by

clear and convincing evidence that Maggio had wrongfully taken the

property and still possessed it. In re Luna Camera Services, 157 F.2d at

953. However, under Second Circuit precedent, once a wrongful taking

App. 19

present purposes, it is enough to note that Maggio was the

principal of a bankrupt company; that he was jailed for civil

contempt for failing to comply with a “turnover order”

directing him to return property that he had wrongfully

taken from the debtor; and that the Second Circuit affirmed

the order of contempt — even though there was no evidence

in the record that Maggio still possessed the property and

was thus able to return it and even though the Second

Circuit panel expressed the view that Maggio clearly did not

have the property and could not comply. Central to the

Second Circuit's holding was its interpretation of certain

statements in Oriel v. Russell, 278 U.S. 358 (1929), to mean

that Maggio’s continued possession of the property had to

be viewed as established as a matter of law irrespective of

whether he actually still had the property. See 333 U.S. at

71.

was shown, continued possession at the time when the turnover order

was sought was presumed unless the subject of the requested order

proved the contrary. Id. In Maggio’s case, the trustee offered no evidence

of Maggio's continued possession, but the referee found that Maggio still

possessed the property based solely on the presumption. The trustee

thus ordered Maggio to turn over the property, and both the District

Court and the Second Circuit affirmed. See 333 U.S. at 59. When Maggio

failed to comply with this order, the referee found him in contempt, and

the District Court affirmed and ordered him jailed until he complied. Id.

On appeal, the Second Circuit panel disagreed with Second Circuit

precedent under which continued possession was presumed unless

disproved. See 157 F.2d at 953. The panel expressed the view that the

presumption was contrary to common sense in some instances and that

Maggio no longer possessed the cameras and equipment. Id. at 953.

The panel, however, felt bound by circuit precedent to accept the

presumption. The panel noted that the finding in the litigation regarding

the turnover order that Maggio still possessed the property at the time

of that order (in 1943) was res judicata. 157 F.2d at 954. Furthermore,

the panel interpreted the Supreme Court’s decision in Oriel v. Russell,

278 U.S. 358 (1929), to mean that it was also necessary to accept the

fact that Maggio still possessed the property at the time of the order of

contempt (in 1945). See 157 F.2d at 954. The panel thus affirmed the

order of contempt, but it explicitly invited the Supreme Court to grant

certiorari and wipe out the objectionable circuit precedent regarding the

presumption of continued possession. See id. at 955. The Supreme

Court obliged.

App. 20

The Supreme Court reversed the Second Circuit and

remanded the case to the District Court for the purpose of

receiving evidence and making a finding on the question

whether Maggio was able to comply with the turnover order.

The entire focus of the opinion was on the issue of ability

to comply. In part I of its opinion, the Court held that a

turnover order should not be issued unless the person in

question has the present ability to comply. 333 U.S. at 61-

64.?° In part II, the Court discussed the ways in which a

bankruptcy trustee may prove continued possession and

present ability to comply. Id. at 64-67. The Court agreed

that present possession may sometimes be inferred from

past possession, but the Court counseled that close

attention should be paid to the particular circumstances of

the case. Id.

After discussing other aspects of civil contempt law in

part III of its opinion,”’ the Court explained in part IV that

a bankrupt may not be jailed for refusal to perform “an

impossibility.” 333 U.S. at 69. The Court disagreed with the

Second Circuit that Oriel compelled the courts to proceed

on the assumption that Maggio continued to possess the

property at the time of the order of contempt. The Maggio

Court noted that Oriel had quoted the following statement

from a lower court opinion:

“Where [confinement for civil contempt] has failed [to

produce compliance], and where a reasonable interval

of time has supplied the previous defect in the

evidence, and has made sufficiently certain what was

doubtful before, namely, the bankrupt’s inability to

obey the order, he has always been released, and I

need hardly say that he would always have the right to

be released, as soon as the fact becomes clear that he

can not obey.’”

10. Court stated: “The nature and derivation of the remedy make clear

that it is appropriate only when the evidence satisfactorily establishes

the existence of the property or its proceeds, and possession thereof by

the defendant at the time of the proceeding.” 333 U.S. at 63-64.

11.The Court reaffirmed that a person held in civil contempt cannot

attack the validity of the underlying order with which the person has not

complied. 333 U.S. at 67-69.

App. 21

333 U.S. at 72 (emphasis added) (quoting Oriel, 278 U.S. at

366 (quoting In re Epstein, 206 F. 568, 570 (E.D. Pa.

1913)). The Court continued that “the authorities relied

upon” in Oriel made it clear that the “decision did not

contemplate that a coercive contempt order should issue

when it appears that there is at that time no willful

disobedience but only an incapacity to comply.” Id. at 72-73.”

Addressing Maggio’s situation, the Court concluded that

Maggio’s possession of the property at the time of the

turnover order created a prima facie case of his ability to

-comply at the time of the civil contempt, and the Court

stated that he could “successfully meet” this prima facie

case “only with a showing of present inability to comply.”

Id. at 75. The Court continued:

Of course, if he offers no evidence as to his inability to

comply with the turnover order, or stands mute, he

does not meet the issue. Nor does he do so by evidence

or by his own denials which the court finds incredible

in context.

Id. at 76-77. Then, in the passage on which Mr. Chadwick

relies, the Court added:

[T]he bankrupt may be permitted to deny his present

possession and to give any evidence of present

conditions or intervening events which corroborate

him. The credibility of his denial is to be weighed in the

light of his present circumstances. It is everywhere

admitted that even if he is committed, he will not be

held in jail forever if he does not comply. His denial of

12.In two lengthy footnotes, the Maggio Court surveyed the relevant

lower court authorities. Id. at 73-74 nn. 6 & 7. In footnote six, the Court

examined cases involving turnover orders in bankruptcy and stated that

“[t]he cumulative effect of these authorities seems clearly to be that,

while a bankrupt’s denial of present possession, standing alone, may not

be sufficient to establish his inability to produce the property or its

proceeds, if the court is satisfied, from all the evidence properly before

it, that the bankrupt has not the present ability to comply, the

commitment order should not issue.” 333 U.S. at 73 n. 6 (emphasis

added). In footnote seven, the Court considered “cases involving

contempt orders for failure to pay alimony” and found that these also

turned on the same ability-to-comply principle. Id. at 74 n. 7.

App. 22

possession is given credit after demonstration that a

period in prison does not produce the goods. The fact

that he has been under the shadow of prison gates

may be enough, coupled with his denial and the type

of evidence mentioned above, to convince the court

that his is not a wilful disobedience which will yield to

coercion.

The trial court is obliged to weigh not merely the two

facts, that a turnover order has issued and that it has

not been obeyed, but all the evidence properly before it

in the contempt proceeding in determining whether or

not there is actually a present ability to comply and

whether failure so to do constitutes deliberate defiance

which a jail term will break.

333 U.S. at 76 (emphasis added).

Mr. Chadwick's reading of Maggio is based principally on

the two highlighted sentences in the block quote above. See

Pet. for Rehearing at 5. Mr. Chadwick interprets these

sentences to mean that “[t]he law eventually ceases trying

in the civil context to distinguish inability to comply with

adamant refusal.” Pet. for Rehearing at 5. This reading,

however, takes these two sentences out of context. When

the statements are read in context, it is apparent that they

refer to the inference of an inability to pay that arises after

long confinement.

This interpretation is strongly supported by the Maggio

Court's discussion of Oriel, to which we have previously

referred. The first of the two sentences in Maggio on which

Mr. Chadwick relies begins with the words “It is every

where admitted .. . .” The sentence is thus restating settled

law, not forging new ground, and the settled law is that

recounted in Oriel, i.e., that a contempt order should not be

issued unless there is a present inability to comply. See

333 U.S. at 72-74 and nn. 6, 7.

That the sentences in Maggio on which Mr. Chadwick

relies refer to the inability to comply is also strongly

supported by other parts of the opinion to which we have

already referred. One example is the Court’s statement that

a person in Maggio’s position could meet the prima facie

case of continued possession “only” by showing a present

App. 23

inability to comply. 333 U.S. at 75. Another example is

supplied by the very next sentence after those on which the

petition relies. That sentence states that long confinement

(“the shadow of prison gates”), together with a denial of

possession and corroborating evidence “may be enough” to

convince a court that the contemnor is not being “willfully

disobedient” but simply cannot comply. Id. at 76 (emphasis

added).

When the two sentences from Maggio on which Mr.

Chadwick relies are read in context, it is apparent that they

refer to the inference that may be drawn under most

circumstances when a _ contemnor, despite long

confinement, fails to comply with an order such as a

bankruptcy turnover order.” After all, the vast majority of

people would not remain in jail “forever” rather than obey

a court order requiring that the property of a bankrupt

estate be turned over. Thus, in most cases, after a certain

period, the inference that the contemnor is unable to

comply becomes overwhelming. The present case, however,

is not the ordinary case. On the contrary, it concerns an

individual whom we must assume is fully capable of

complying with the state court order but simply will not do

so. Neither Maggio nor any other Supreme Court case

clearly establishes that such a person must be released.

13. We note that the Third Circuit opinion on which Mr. Chadwick relies

most heavily — In re Grand Jury Investigation (Appeal of Braun), 600

F.2d 420 (3d Cir. 1979)("Braun”) — interpreted Maggio in this way. In

Braun, a panel of our court accepted the very proposition of law

advanced by Mr. Chadwick and accepted by the District Court — that a

civil contemnor who is simply unwilling to comply with the court order

must be released after the passage of a certain period of time — but the

panel did not suggest that Maggio required or even supported this

holding. Instead, the Braun court wrote:

Since it is impossible to succeed in coercing that which is beyond a

person's power to perform, continued incarceration for civil

contempt “depends upon the ability of the contemnor to comply with

the court's order. Maggio v. Zeitz, 333 U.S. 56, 76, 68 S.Ct. 401,

411, 92 L.Ed. 476 (1948).”

600 F.2d at 423 (quoting Shillitani v. United States, 384 U.S. 364, 371

(1966)). This understanding of Maggio, which contrasts sharply with Mr.

Chadwick's, is correct.

App. 24

2.

In this case, the District Court properly proceeded on the

assumption that Mr. Chadwick has the present ability to

comply with the July 1994 state court order. The state

courts have repeatedly so found. Under 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254(e)(1), the District Court was bound by these state

court factual determinations, absent rebuttal of the

presumption of correctness by clear and convincing

evidence. The District Court acknowledged that the record

demonstrates that the state court findings were not

erroneous, and the District Court stated that it was

“convinced that [Mr.] Chadwick has the present ability to

comply with the July 22, 1994 order.” Chadwick v.

Janecka, No. 00-1130, 2002 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 10, at *19

(E.D.Pa. Jan. 3, 2002).

Presuming these state court factual findings to be

correct, the District Court nevertheless concluded that Mr.

Chadwick's confinement had become punitive and that

therefore the state court decision was an unreasonable

application of federal iaw. Although the District Court

alluded to the Supreme Court's decisions in Bagwell and

Gompers, the District Court relied chiefly on this Court's

decision ir In re Grand Jury Investigation (Appeal of Braun),

600 F.2d 420 (3d Cir. 1979)("Braun”), in concluding that

the passage of time may alter the nature of a contemnor’s

confinement, transforming it from coercive to punitive and

requiring observance of the procedural rights associated

with criminal contempt. With this principle in mind, the

District Court concluded that because Mr. Chadwick had

defied the court's order for so long, there was “no

substantial likelihood” that he would comply in the future

and that therefore the order had lost its coercive effect.

In Braun, we upheld a contemnor’s confinement for

refusing to testify before a federal grand jury. Id. at 428.

The contemnor argued that his confinement was not

coercive but punitive, because “there was no substantial

likelihood that he would testify before the grand jury.” Id. at

422. Recognizing that some courts had applied the “no

substantial likelihood of compliance” standard, we noted

that the contemnor had been confined under a federal

statute that limited confinement to 18 months for refusing

App. 25

to testify before a grand jury. Id. at 423-24. We held that,

absent unusual circumstances, 18 months was not an

unreasonable length for confinement in this context, and

declined to inquire whether, in fact, there was no

substantial likelihood that the contemnor would comply

with the order to testify. Id. at 427.

Under 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d), the District Court’s holding —

that Mr. Chadwick can no longer be held in custody for civil

contempt because there is “no substantial likelihood” that

he will comply with the order — is erroneous. The District

Court incorrectly relied on dicta in one of our opinions, but

AEDPA is clear that the appropriate law to apply is

Supreme Court precedent. See 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)(1)

(referring to “clearly established Federal law, as determined

by the Supreme Court of the United States”); see also

Williams, 529 U.S. at 412 (“§ 2254(d)(1) restricts the source

of clearly established law to [the Supreme] Court’s

jurisprudence”).

It is true that “federal habeas courts are [not] precluded

from considering the decisions of the inferior federal courts

when evaluating whether the state court’s application of the

law was reasonable.” Matteo, 171 F.3d at 890. But this

Court has clearly stated that decisions by lower federal

courts may be considered only “as helpful amplifications of

Supreme Court precedent.” Id. It is revealing to us that in

Braun this Court characterized the “no substantial

likelihood” test as an “additional constraint upon the civil

contempt power” beyond that recognized in decisions by the

United States Supreme Court. Braun, 600 F.2d at 423

(emphasis added). As we noted in Matteo, 171 F.3d at 890,

however, “federal courts may not grant habeas corpus relief

based on the state court's failure to adhere to the precedent

of a lower federal court on an issue that the Supreme Court

has not addressed.”

The Supreme Court has never endorsed the proposition

that confinement for civil contempt must cease when there

is “no substantial likelihood of compliance.” On the

contrary, in words that might as well have been written to

describe the case now before us, the Bagwell Court stated

that “[t]he paradigmatic coercive, civil contempt sanction

. . involves confining a contemnor indefinitely until he

App. 26

complies with an affirmative command such as an order ‘to

pay alimony, or to surrender property ordered to be turned

over to a receiver... .” Bagwell, 512 U.S. at 828

(emphasis added) (citation omitted). We have no need here

to decide whether In re Grand Jury Investigation remains

good law in light of Bagwell. It is enough for present

purposes that the state court decisions cannot be disturbed

under the restricted standard of review applicable in this

habeas case.

V.

Because the state courts have repeatedly found that Mr.

Chadwick has the present ability to comply with the July

1994 state court order, we cannot disturb the state courts’

decision that there is no federal constitutional bar to Mr.

Chadwick's indefinite confinement for civil contempt so long

as he retains the ability to comply with the order requiring

him to pay over the money at issue. Accordingly, the

District Court erred in holding that the state courts’

decisions were an unreasonable application of Supreme

Court precedent. We, therefore, reverse the order of the

District Court granting Mr. Chadwick's petition.

Our decision does not preclude Mr. Chadwick from filing

a new federal habeas petition if he claims that he is unable

for some reason to comply with the state court’s order. And,

needless to say, our decision imposes no restrictions on the

state courts’ ability to grant relief.’*

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the UnitedStates Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit

14.We do not agree with Mr. Chadwick's argument that despite our

reversal of the District Court's order, the respondents in the District

Court must still release Mr. Chadwick because they did not appeal.

Because of our judgment, the District Court's order granting the writ no

longer has any operative effect and thus cannot command his release.

App. 27

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

H. BEATTY CHADWICK : CIVIL ACTION

We

JAMES JANECKA - NO. 00-1130

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Norma L. Shapiro, S.J. January 3, 2002

Petitioner H. Beatty Chadwick, Esq.’ (“Chadwick”),

filing a petition for writ of habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254, challenges his continued incarceration for civil

contempt. In his petition, Chadwick argues that his

imprisonment is impermissibly punitive and he has been

denied due process because: (1) he was and is unable to

comply with a state court order of which he has been

adjudged contemptuous; (2) he was denied a jury trial and

other procedural rights; (3) he was imprisoned after a

summary proceeding; (4) his imprisonment has become

punitive; (5) he was imprisoned for failure to pay money;

(6) his civil imprisonment is indefinite; (7) the imprison-

ment order is facially unlawful; (8) the state court ordering

the incarceration lacked jurisdiction; and (9) he was

denied a prompt appeal.

United States Magistrate Judge Arnold C. Rapoport

issued a Report and Recommendation (“R & R”) to deny

and dismiss the petition without an evidentiary hearing and

find no probable cause to issue a certificate of appealability.

* Chadwick is an inactive member of the Pennsylvania Bar.

App. 28

Petitioner filed objections and Barbara Jean Crowther

Chadwick (“Ms. Chadwick”), petitioner’s estranged wife

and the Intervenor in this action, filed a motion to dismiss

Chadwick’s petition. For the reasons stated herein, the

motion to dismiss will be denied and after de novo consid-

eration of Chadwick’s petition, the petition for writ of

habeas corpus will be granted.

BACKGROUND

Ms. Chadwick filed a divorce action in the Delaware

County Court of Common Pleas in November, 1992.

During an equitable distribution conference in February,

1993, Chadwick informed the state court and Ms.

Chadwick he had transferred $2,502,000 of the marital

estate to satisfy an alleged debt to Maison Blanche, Ltd.

(“Maison Blanche”), a Gibraltar partnership. See

Chadwick v. Chadwick, No. 1555 Philadelphia 1995 at 2

(Pa. Super. Ct. Aug. 22, 1996) (“Chadwick I”). Ms.

Chadwick had no knowledge of any debt owed by

Chadwick to Maison Blanche.

After hiring a private investigator and further discov-

ery, Ms. Chadwick determined: (1) one of the principals of

Maison Blanche returned $869,106.00 from Gibraltar to

an American bank account in Chadwick’s name, and the

funds were used to purchase three annuity contracts; (2)

$995,726.41 had been transferred to a Union Bank ac-

count in Switzerland in Chadwick’s name; and (3)

$550,000.00 in stock certificates Chadwick claimed he had

transferred to an unknown barrister in England to for-

ward to Maison Blanche were never received. Id. at 3;

Chadwick v. Hill, No. 2192 Philadelphia 1996 at 2 n.1 (Pa.

Super. Ct. Apr. 23, 1997) (“Chadwick II’). The state court

App. 29

entered a freeze order on the marital assets on April 29,

1994.

In May, 1994, Chadwick redeemed the annuity con-

tracts and deposited the funds in a Panamanian bank. See

Chadwick II, at 2 n.1. On July 22, 1994, the state court

held a hearing at which Chadwick and his counsel were

present. After hearing testimony regarding disposition of

the $2,502,000.00 sent to Gibraltar, the court determined

Chadwick’s transfer of the money was an attempt to

defraud Ms. Chadwick and the court. On the day of the

hearing, the court ordered Chadwick to return the

$2,502,000.00 to an account under the jurisdiction of the

court, pay $75,000.00 for Ms. Chadwick’s attorney’s fees

and costs, surrender his passport and remain within the

jurisdiction. See id. at 3.

Chadwick refused to comply with the July 22, 1994

order; Ms. Chadwick filed a petition for contempt. The

state court held contempt hearings on August 29, 1994,

October 18, 1994, and October 31, 1994. Chadwick failed

to appear at any of the hearings, but his attorney was

present. See id. The state court found Chadwick in con-

tempt of the July 22, 1994 order and issued a bench

warrant for his arrest.

Chadwick, learning a bench warrant had been issued,

fled the jurisdiction but was arrested and detained on

April 5, 1995. The state court then determined Chadwick

had the present ability to comply with the terms of the

July 22, 1994 order and set bail at $3,000,000.00. See

Chadwick I, at 4. Chadwick could have been released from

custody at any time either by posting bail or purging his

contempt by compliance with the July 22, 1994 order to

App. 30

deposit $2,502,000.00 in the court’s account; to date, he

has done neither.

On April 7, 1995, Chadwick filed in federal court an

emergency motion to quash the state court bench warrant

and release him from Delaware County Prison because the

contempt finding was improper under state law. This court

declined to intervene in a pending state court proceeding

under Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971) and progeny.

See Chadwick v. Delaware County Court of Common Pleas,

No. 95-0103, 1995 WL 232500, at *2 (E.D. Pa. Apr. 19,

1995).

Chadwick has filed six state petitions for habeas

relief; the trial court denied them all. He appealed one

denial and his latest denial was subject to appeal, but

before the appeals were decided, Chadwick filed a second

federal habeas petition; this court dismissed the second

federal habeas petition for failure to exhaust available

state remedies because the issues had not yet been pre-

sented to the Pennsylvania Supreme Court. See Chadwick

v. Hill, No. 95-0103, 1995 WL 541794, at *1 (E.D. Pa. Sept.

8, 1995).

Several appeals of state trial court denials of his

habeas petitions and a motion to vacate state court orders

were consolidated on appeal. The Pennsylvania Superior

Court, affirming the lower court decisions in August, 1996,

found that he was able to comply with the July, 1994

Order. See Chadwick I. The Superior Court held that: (1)

the trial court had jurisdiction to find Chadwick in con-

tempt; (2) the procedure used by the trial court in the

contempt proceedings was not improper; (3) the trial court

did not err in adjudicating Chadwick in contempt; (4) state

statutory provisions governing criminal contempt were

App. 31

inapplicable; (5) Chadwick was not illegally incarcerated;

and (6) Chadwick’s incarceration had not ceased to be

coercive in nature. Id. Chadwick’s petition for allowance of

appeal to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania was denied

on April 8, 1997.

Chadwick’s sixth petition for state habeas relief

argued that his continued confinement deprived him of

due process because it had become punitive rather than

coercive; it was denied by the trial court on June 21, 1996.

While appealing that determination, Chadwick filed a

third federal habeas petition on September 23, 1996. By

Memorandum and Order dated January 16, 1997, this

court dismissed Chadwick’s third federal habeas petition

for failure to exhaust available state remedies and ab-

stained because of the pending appeal to the Superior

Court. See Chadwick v. Hill, No. 96-6426, 1997 WL 22406,

at *2 (E.D. Pa. Jan. 16, 1997).

The Pennsylvania Superior Court affirmed the trial

court’s denial of Chadwick’s sixth state habeas petition by

Opinion dated April 23, 1997. See Chadwick II. The court

encouraged the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania to review

its decision to clarify the point at which a coercive penalty

for civil contempt becomes a criminal sanction requiring

due process under federal and state law. See id. at 6 (it “is

for our high court to make such a determination.”). -

Chadwick did not seek review by the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court, but instead sought reconsideration of this

court’s January 16, 1997 decision dismissing his federal

habeas petition for non-exhaustion of state remedies. This

court, finding the Superior Court specifically “invited” the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court to review its decision and

that Chadwick had not yet presented his due process

App. 32

claims to the Supreme Court for review, denied Chadwick’s

motion for reconsideration on May 23, 1997. The court

held that “the question of when civil contempt becomes

punitive is one which a federal court should abstain from

considering before the state supreme court has had the

opportunity.” May 23, 1997 Order at { 10.

Chadwick declined to seek Supreme Court review of

the Superior Court’s April 23, 1997 decision. Instead,

Chadwick filed his fourth federal habeas petition on July

18, 1997. He argued his continued detention in the Dela-

ware County Prison served only a punitive purpose so that

he was no longer imprisoned for civil contempt and must

be afforded the protections and procedures obligatory for

criminal sanctions. That petition was dismissed for failure

to exhaust available state remedies on April 30, 1998. See

Chadwick v. Andrews, No. 97-4680, 1998 WL 218026 (E.D.

Pa. Apr. 30, 1998).

In September, 1999, Chadwick, filing a pro se Applica-

tion for Leave to File Original Process (his seventh state

habeas petition) with the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania,

asserted, inter alia, that he had been denied due process of

law and his continued incarceration had ceased to be

coercive but was punitive. This request was granted on

February 8, 2000; the petition for habeas corpus was

summarily denied on the same date. Chadwick had also

filed a petition for release in the Delaware Court of Com-

mon Pleas on the ground that he was suffering from

“major psychological depression,” and unable to partici-

pate in his divorce proceedings. After a hearing, on Sep-

tember 22, 1999, the state court trial judge was “convinced

that Mr. Chadwick is feigning mental illness in an effort to

be released from prison without returning the $2,500,000

which he transferred out of this country.” Chadwick v.

i ee ee

“App. 33

Chadwick, No. 92-19535, slip op. at 4 (Ct. Com. PIl., Del.

Cty., Pa. Sept. 22, 1999).

On March 2, 2000, Chadwick filed this, his fifth

federal habeas petition. On December 8, 2000, Judge

Rapoport issued an R & R to which Chadwick filed timely

objections.

On April 4, 2001, Chadwick filed his eighth state court

habeas petition. A hearing on the petition was held on

April 11, 2001, at the conclusion of which the petition was

dismissed. Because Chadwick may now appeal that

dismissal, on April 18, 2000, Ms. Chadwick filed a motion

to dismiss Chadwick’s fifth federal habeas petition for

failure to exhaust state court remedies.

A hearing was held on April 20, 2001, at which both

Chadwick and Ms. Chadwick were heard on Chadwick’s

fifth federal habeas petition and Ms. Chadwick’s motion to

dismiss. For the reasons set forth herein, the Intervenor’s

motion to dismiss will be denied and the petition for

habeas corpus will be granted.

DISCUSSION

I. Motion to Dismiss

“An application for a writ of habeas corpus on behalf

of a person in custody pursuant to the judgment of a State

court shall not be granted unless it appears that the

applicant has exhausted the remedies available in the

courts of the State....” 28 U.S.C.A. § 2254(b)(1)(A) (West

1994 & Supp. 2001). See also Duckworth v. Serrano, 454

U.S. 1, 3 (1981); Roberts v.- LaVallee, 389 U.S. 40, 42

(1967); Codispoti v. Howard, 589 F.2d 135, 140 (3d Cir.

1978). The exhaustion requirement is not met if the

App. 34

petitioner “has the right under the law of the State to

raise, by any available procedure, the question presented.”

28 U.S.C.A. § 2254(c) (West 1994 & Supp. 2001). The

exhaustion requirement has been met when the petitioner

has presented his claims to the highest state court; there

is no requirement that the state courts consider or discuss

the claims. See Swanger v. Zimmerman, 750 F.2d 291, 295

(3d Cir. 1984).

A petitioner need only seek state court review of a

federal claim once, either on direct review or in a state

habeas proceeding; repeated review is not necessary to

satisfy the exhaustion requirement. See Duckworth v.

Serrano, 454 U.S. 1, 4n.1 (1981) (“repetitious applications

to state courts” not required); Codispoti v. Howard, 589

F.2d 135, 142 (3d Cir. 1978) (same).

Chadwick’s seventh state habeas petition, a direct

appeal to the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, presented

the following issues: (1) Chadwick’s imprisonment for

failure to comply with a court order was contrary to due

process because he was unable to comply with the order;

(2) Chadwick was incarcerated without a jury trial or the

presumption of innocence, contrary to due process; (3) the

summary nature of the contempt proceedings deprived

Chadwick of due process; (4) the order of imprisonment

was facially invalid because it failed to specify a condition

upon the fulfillment of which Chadwick’s imprisonment

would terminate; (5) the denial of Chadwick’s right to

appeal the adjudication of contempt and sanction of

imprisonment violated his due process rights; (6) impris-

onment for the nonpayment of money was a deprivation of

due process; (7) civil confinement in excess of 50 months is

a deprivation of due process; (8) imprisonment for viola-

tion of a court order issued without jurisdiction was a

App. 35

deprivation of due process; and (9) Chadwick’s imprison-

ment was and still is punitive rather than coercive. These

are the same issues raised in the petition presently before

this court. Because the issues have now been presented to

the highest state court, they have been exhausted. See

Swanger, 750 F.2d at 295 (“[t]he exhaustion requirement

has been judicially interpreted to mean that claims

must have been presented to the state courts; they need

not have been considered or discussed by those courts.”).

Intervenor’s motion to dismiss for failure to exhaust

available state remedies will be denied.

II. Chadwick’s Habeas Corpus Petition

A. Standard of Review

The Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of

1996 (“AEDPA”), 28 U.S.C. § 2254, requires a federal court

considering a habeas petition to afford state court deter-

minations great deference. Habeas petitions filed since the

enactment of AEDPA require a two-step analysis. Matteo v.

Superintendent, SCI Albion, 171 F.3d 877, 891 (3d Cir.

1999) (en banc), cert. denied, Matteo v. Brennan, 528 U.S.

824 (1999). First, the federal court must determine

whether the state court’s decision was contrary to Su-

preme Court precedent. Jd. Second, if the state court’s

decision was not contrary to Supreme Court precedent, the

court must determine whether the state court decision

represents an unreasonable application of Supreme Court

precedent. Id.

App. 36

B. Chadwick’s Continued Imprisonment Repre-

sents an Unreasonable Application of Su-

preme Court Precedent: It Has Lost Its

Coercive Effect and Is Now Impermissibly

Punitive

Magistrate Judge Rapoport was of the opinion that

Chadwick’s imprisonment (now eighty months in duration)

is still not impermissibly punitive. R & R at 31. Chadwick,

objecting, argues that Judge Rapoport should have relied

on In re Grand Jury Investigation, 600 F.2d 420 (3d Cir.

1979) (civil contempt is only permissible as long as it has -

coercive effect).

1. Civil vs. Criminal Contempt

Imprisonment until the incarcerated party performs a

required act he or she has refused to perform is civil in

nature; imprisonment for a definite term as punishment

for doing a forbidden act is criminal in nature. Gompers v.

Buck’s Stove & Range Co., 221 U.S. 418, 443 (1911) (re-

versing contempt sanctions of incarceration ranging from

six to twelve months for violating an injunction; criminal

sanctions could not be imposed in a civil proceeding). See

also International Union, United Mine Workers v. Bagwell,

512 U.S. 821, 826-27 (1984).

Civil confinement

is ordered where the defendant has refused to do

an affirmative act required by the provisions of

an order which, in either form or substance, was

mandatory in its character. Imprisonment in

such cases is not inflicted as a punishment, but is

intended to be remedial by coercing the defen-

dant to do what he refused to do. The decree in

such cases is that the defendant stand committed

App. 37

unless or until he performs his affirmative act

required by the court’s order.

Gompers, 221 U.S. at 442. See also Bagwell, 512 U.S. at

827. Civil contempt sanctions can become punitive over

time, if the coercive force has been lost. See In re Grand

Jury Investigation, 600 F.2d at 423.

Chadwick’s argument is that the length of his

imprisonment has transformed the Delaware County

Court’s contempt sanction from coercive to punitive; the

six and a half years he has spent in prison belie the

assertion that continued incarceration will coerce him to

comply with the court’s order. The state courts, presented

with this argument, have disagreed.

Judge Rapoport, relying on dicta in Bagwell, also

disagreed. In Bagwell, contempt fines totaling over $64

million were levied against a mine workers’ union for

violation of an injunction. The Court determined this

sanction was criminal in nature because the fines were

meant to be punitive and vindicate the court’s authority.

Bagwell, 512 U.S. at 828, 838.

To illustrate the punitive nature of the sanction

imposed on the union, the Bagwell Court contrasted it

with the “paradigmatic” civil contempt sanction: incar-

ceration of a contemnor indefinitely until affirmative

compliance with a court order to pay alimony or surrender

property. Jd. at 828. The contempt sanction imposed on

Chadwick is such a “paradigmatic” sanction for civil

contempt. Chadwick’s incarceration was imposed to coerce

his compliance with a court order to deposit marital funds

with the court. The duration of his confinement has been

entirely in Chadwick’s hands; complying with the court

App. 38

order is the key to the jailhouse door. See Gompers, 221

U.S. ai 442; Bagwell, 512 U.S. at 844.

Chadwick argues that even if his incarceration were

initially civil in nature, it has since become punitive. He

relies on In re Grand Jury Investigation, where a prisoner,

brought before a grand jury, refused to testify. For this

refusal, he was held in civil contempt. The presiding judge

ordered him confined until he agreed to testify; the dura-

tion of his imprisonment was not to exceed the term of the

grand jury or eighteen months. The sentence under which

he had been incarcerated was suspended during that

period. The contemnor, seeking release from civil confine-

ment after only three months, argued there was no sub-

stantial likelihood he would ever testify before the grand

jury; his request for an evidentiary hearing to prove this

was denied.

On appeal, the court explained that “[s]ince it is

impossible to succeed in coercing that which is beyond a

person’s power to perform, continued incarceration for civil

contempt ‘depends upon the ability of the contemnor to

comply with the court’s order.’” In re Grand Jury Investi-

gation, 600 F.2d at 423 (quoting Maggio v. Zeitz, 333 U.S.

56, 76 (1948)). Confinement for coercive purposes becomes

punitive once the coercive force is lost. Jd.

The court held that the defiant witness’ history of

silence was insufficient to show that the sanction had lost

its coercive force; there was still a chance he would change

his mind and decide to testify before the grand jury. Id. at

428. “(T]he civil contempt power would be completely

eviscerated were a defiant witness able to secure his

release merely by boldly asserting that he will never

comply with the court’s order.” Jd. at 425. His three

App. 39

months of confinement had not lost its coercive force and

become punitive in nature. The court did not terminate his

confinement.

The maximum amount of time the defiant witness in

In re Grand Jury Investigation would have had to spend

incarcerated for his civil contempt was only eighteen

months; there was a certain end to the sanction imposed.

Chadwick’s incarceration is indefinite in duration. The

difficulty lies in the determination when coercive impris-

onment actually ceases to be coercive and becomes puni-

tive; no clear line exists. The Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania has declined to rule on this issue and the

United States Supreme Court has not pronounced an exact

measure.

The duration of Chadwick’s incarceration has always

been up to him; compliance with the state court order

would guarantee his release. Chadwick disagrees; he

argues: (1) he does not have the present ability to comply,

so his incarceration is indefinite; and (2) even if he did

have the ability to comply, the six years and four months

he has spent in prison for his failure to comply strongly

suggests that further incarceration will have no coercive

effect. Chadwick contends the line between coercive and

punitive imprisonment has been crossed.

State courts have repeatedly found that Chadwick has

the present ability to comply with the order to remit

marital assets to a court escrow account for equitable

distribution.” Under AEDPA, this court is bound by those

* Judge Joseph Battle had found on at least three occasions that

Chadwick had the present ability to comply. See Chadwick v. Chadwick,

(Continued on following page)

App. 40

determinations absent rebuttal of the presumption of

correctness of state court findings by clear and convincing

evidence. See 28 U.S.C.A. § 2254(e)(1) (West 1994 & Supp.

2001).° The record below clearly demonstrates that the

state court findings were not erroneous.‘ This court is

No. 92-19535, slip op. at 4, 5 (Ct. Com. Pl., Del. Cty., Pa. Sept. 22, 1999)

(Chadwick feigning mental illness in effort to be released without

remitting the marital funds; his refusal to sign authorizations to allow

third parties to trace the funds establishes he still has control over

them); Chadwick v. Hill, No. 96-6154, slip op. at 3 (Ct. Com. Pl., Del.

Cty., Pa. June 21, 1996) (“As stated in two previous opinions ... , this

court has found [Chadwick’s] testimony, that he did not have control of

the disputed funds or knowledge of the whereabouts of the disputed

funds, to be incredible;” he could comply and may still comply);

Chadwick v. Hill, No. 95-80202, slip op. at 8 (Ct. Com. Pl., Del. Cty.,

Pa., Sept. 20, 1995) (“It is abundantly clear that [Chadwick] still has

control over the disputed marital funds and certainly has the ability to

comply with [the] July 22, 1994 order.”).

The Superior Court has also found that Chadwick has the ability to

comply. See Chadwick v. Hill, No. 96-19535, slip op. at 6 (Pa. Super. Ct.

Apr. 23, 1997) (“After careful review, we would agree that the record

supports the trial court’s conclusion that [Chadwick] not only has the

present ability to comply but also that there is a realistic possibility

that he will comply with the order.”); Chadwick v. Chadwick, Nos. 95-

1555, 95-3612, 95-3773, 96-963, slip op. at 12 (Pa. Super. Ct. Aug. 22,

1996) (“Because [Chadwick] clearly holds the keys to the jailhouse door,

we find that the sanctions imposed on him have not lost their coercive

effect.”).

* This subsection of the AEDPA states: “In a proceeding instituted

by a writ of habeas corpus by a person in custody pursuant to the

judgment of a State court, a determination of a factual issue made by a

State court shall be presumed to be correct. The applicant shall have

the burden of rebutting the presumption of correctness by clear and

convincing evidence.” 28 U.S.C.A. § 2254(e\1).

* As recently as April 11, 2001, Judge Kenneth A. Clouse suggested

a compromise: former President Judge Francis J. Catania would be

appointed as Chadwick’s guardian to trace the assets at issue.

Chadwick would cooperate with former Judge Catania by providing him

with all information and materials necessary to effectuate the search.

(Continued on following page)

App. 41

convinced that Chadwick has the present ability to comply

with the July 22, 1994 order.

After what is now nearly seven years’ incarceration for

failure to comply, there is a serious question whether

confinement is still serving a coercive purpose. After this

significant period of time, there exists more than

Chadwick’s mere assertion that further confinement will

not coerce compliance. See In re Grand Jury Investigation,

600 F.2d at 425. The state courts have repeatedly deter-

mined that Chadwick’s incarceration has not lost its

coercive force.” This court must determine whether that

Once former Judge Catania certified that Chadwick had cooperated and

he had all the information necessary to conclude the investigation,

Chadwick would be released. Chadwick refused this compromise; he

would not agree unless his release were contingent only upon his

delivering the requested documents to former Judge Catania. See

Chadwick v. Chadwick, No. 92-19535, April 11, 2001 Hearing, Tr. at 4,

8.

Twice in August, 1995, Chadwick declined to provide authorization

to allow third parties to investigate his assets or to allow the IRS to

release his 1993 tax return. See Chadwick v. Hill, No. 95-80160, August

17, 1995 Hearing, Tr. at 74; Chadwick v. Hill, No. 95-80160, August 8,

1995 Hearing, Tr. at 22-23.

Chadwick’s refusals to allow investigation of the funds without his

release from custody suggests that he is concerned the assets will be

found; if he is released upon signing authorizations, he could locate and

secrete the assets, prevent them from being found and remitted to the

court. He prefers to remain incarcerated rather than allow his former

wife to receive an equitable allotment of the marital assets. This

suggests that Chadwick will continue to do all in his power to keep that

money hidden and beyond the jurisdiction of the Delaware County

Court.

* After Chadwick had been incarcerated for five months, Judge

Joseph Battle held that the contempt sanction imposed was civil in

nature; Chadwick was jailed for failure to pay a debt. See Chadwick v.

Hill, No. 95-80202, slip op. At 9 (Ct. Com. Pl., Del. Cty., Pa. Sept. 20,

(Continued on following page)

App. 42

conclusion is contrary to Supreme Court precedent, and if

not, whether it is an unreasonable application of Supreme

Court precedent.

If, as Chadwick contends, the confinement has lost its

coercive force, it has become punitive. See In re Grand

Jury Investigation, 600 F.2d at 423-24. The burden is on

Chadwick to show that there is no “substantial likelihood”

that compliance will be the result of continued incarcera-

tion. Id. at 425. His obstinacy during more than six and

half years of imprisonment is persuasive that Chadwick

will never voluntarily deposit the disputed funds with the

court; it seems clear he is willing to remain incarcerated

for life rather than allow his ex-wife access to a share of

the funds.

The state court conclusions on this issue on at least

five occasions, from five months after his confinement

until the Pennsylvania Supreme Court’s summary denial

1995). Nine months later, Judge Battle held that “the coercive sanctions

imposed may yet cause [Chadwick] to ultimately comply with [the] July

22, 1994 order and therefore, [Chadwick’s] contempt is not punitive in

nature. ... ” Chadwick v. Hill, No. 96-6154, slip op. At 5 (Ct. Com. PI.,

Del. Cty., Pa. June 21, 1996). Two months after that, the Superior Court

found that “the sanctions imposed on [Chadwick] have not lost their

coercive effect.” Chadwick v. Chadwick, Nos. 95-1555, 95-3612, 95-3773,

96-963, slip op. At 12 (Pa. Super. Ct. Aug. 22, 1996). After Chadwick

had been incarcerated for over two years, the Superior Court still found

the contempt was coercive in nature, holding that “there is a realistic

possibility that [Chadwick] will comply with the order.” Chadwick v.

Hill, No. 96-19535, slip op. at 6 (Pa. Super. Ct. Apr. 23, 1997). The

Pennsylvania Supreme Court’s summary denial of Chadwick’s petition

for writ of habeas corpus after Chadwick had been incarcerated for

almost five years implies that it, too, considered the imprisonment still

coercive in nature. See Chadwick v. Goldberg, No. 99-223, Order (Pa.

Feb. 9, 2000).

App. 43

after he had been imprisoned for almost five years, were

not contrary to Supreme Court precedent; no bright line

rule exists for making such a determination. The Pennsyl-

vania Supreme Court’s summary denial in February, 2000,

implies its conclusion that the confinement had not then

crossed the line from coercive to punitive, but without an

explanation of the denial, this court does not know why.

Now, after nearly seven years, it is no longer reason-

able to conclude Chadwick’s continued confinement might

still result in compliance with the July 22, 1994 order.

Chadwick’s continued incarceration cannot be rationalized

under Gompers or Bagwell in light of Chadwick’s clear and

convincing proof there is no “substantial likelihood” that

his remaining in custody will result in his compliance; his

confinement, no longer coercive, is an unreasonable

application of Supreme Court precedent.

2. Due Process

The protracted duration of his incarceration could not

have been foreseen by the state court when civil confine-

ment was imposed. The state contempt proceedings were

adequate for the imposition of a civil sanction to coerce

compliance. However, after such an extensive time period,

Chadwick cannot remain incarcerated without the due

process attendant to imposition of criminal sanctions.° As

the Supreme Court recently held,

* The full panoply of procedural protections attendant to an

allegation of criminal conduct apply. An alleged criminal contemnor is

entitled to counsel and proof of contempt beyond a reasonable doubt; if

the sanction involves more than six months’ incarceration, the alleged

(Continued on following page)

App. 44

The Fifth Amendment’s Due Process Clause for-

bids the Government to ‘deprive’ any ‘person ...

of ... liberty ... without due process of law.’

Freedom from imprisonment — from government

custody, detention, or other forms of physical re-

straint — lies at the heart of the liberty that

Clause protects. And ... government detention

violates that Clause unless the detention is or-

dered in a criminal proceeding with adequate

procedural protections, or, in certain special and

narrow non-punitive circumstances, where a spe-

cial justification, such as harm-threatening mental

illness, outweighs the individual’s constitutionally

protected interest in avoiding physical restraint.

See Zadvydas v. Davis, 121 S.Ct. 2491, 2498-99 (2001)

(holding an alien may be held pending deportation by the

Immigration and Naturalization Service under 8 U.S.C.

§ 1231 for up to six months, but not indefinitely, without

the due process of law afforded in a criminal proceeding)

(internal citations omitted). There is no such special

justification in this case. Nothing excuses Chadwick’s

continued defiance of a court order, but his incarceration

has crossed the line from coercive to punitive and Consti-

tutional requirements of due process compel his release.

Although Chadwick may not remain incarcerated

without due process, his intractability should not be

permitted to thwart the authority of a valid court order.

The Delaware County Court is not without the power to

contemnor has the right to trial by jury. See Bagwell, 512 U.S. at 826-

27, 834.

App. 45

institute criminal proceedings against Chadwick (such as

a perjury or criminal contempt prosecution). See In re

Grand Jury Investigation, 600 F.2d at 425.

II. Remaining Grounds For Habeas Relief

The court agrees with the remainder of the R & R that

Chadwick was not denied due process for any of the

reasons alleged and that the state law-based claims are

not subject to federal habeas review; he is not entitled to

habeas relief on any of the other grounds asserted in his

petition.

CONCLUSION

Intervenor’s motion to dismiss for failure to exhaust

available state remedies is denied. Chadwick has previ-

ously presented his current claims to the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania; the fact that he can now appeal the state

court's most recent April 11, 2001 denial of his eighth state

habeas petition is not an impediment to federal habeas

review.

For eighty months, Chadwick has refused to comply

with a valid state court order to deposit $2,500,000.00 in

marital assets with the court; this renders unreasonable

the belief that continued incarceration will have a coercive

effect. Chadwick has the present ability to comply, but the

duration of his imprisonment has crossed the line from

coercive to punitive, and requires his release. Chadwick

App. 46

should be afforded due process in any proceeding to

impose additional criminal sanctions.

An appropriate Order follows.’

" The government does not need a certificate under 28 U.S.C.

§ 2253(cX1) to appeal this decision. United States ex rel. Tillery v.

Cavell, 294 F.2d 12, 15 (3d Cir. 1961) (“The requirement that a certifi-

cate issue before an appeal could be taken was plainly a device to

reduce appeals from decisions in favor of states or their officers not

their appeals from decisions against them.”) The rationale of Tillery

applies equally to Ms. Chadwick as Intervencr: since petitioner

prevails, the court need not issue a § 2253(c)(1) certificate before Ms.

Chadwick may take an appeal.

App. 47

APPENDIX C

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

MIDDLE DISTRICT

H. BEATTY CHADWICK, : No. 223

Petiti : M.D. Misc. Dkt. 1999

etitioner ;

V.

IRWIN GOLDBERG,

WARDEN,

Respondent

ORDER

PER CURIAM:

AND NOW, this 8th day of February, 2000, the

request for leave to file original process and the request to

file an answer are granted and the Petition for Writ of

Habeas Corpus is denied.

App. 48

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

02-1173

H. BEATTY CHADWICK

v.

JAMES JANECKA, WARDEN, DELAWARE

COUNTY PRISON; THE DISTRICT ATTORNEY

OF COUNTY OF DELAWARE; THE ATTORNEY

GENERAL OF THE STATE OF PENNSYLVANIA

Vv.

BARBARA JEAN CROWTHER CHADWICK,

(Intervenor in District Court)

BARBARA JEAN CROWTHER CHADWICK,

Appellant

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

Present: BECKER, Chief Judge, SLOVITER,

SCIRICA, NYGAARD, ALITO, ROTH, McKEE,

BARRY, AMBRO, and FUENTES, Circuit Judges,

and WALLACE, Senior Circuit Judge’

The petition for rehearing filed by appellants in the

above entitled case having been submitted to the judges

who participated in the decision of this court and to all the

* As to panel rehearing only.

e“OOw

App. 49

other available circuit judges of the circuit in regular

active service, and no judge who concurred in the decision

having asked for rehearing, and a majority of the circuit

judges of the circuit in regular active service not having

voted for rehearing by the court en banc, the petition for

rehearing is denied. Chief Judge Becker would have

granted rehearing.

By the Court,

/s/ Samuel Alito

Circuit Judge

DATED: DEC 4 2002

App. 50

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 02-1173

H. BEATTY CHADWICK

v.

JAMES JANECKA, WARDEN, DELAWARE

COUNTY PRISON; THE DISTRICT ATTORNEY

OF COUNTY OF DELAWARE; THE ATTORNEY

GENERAL OF THE STATE OF PENNSYLVANIA

V.

BARBARA JEAN CROWTHER CHADWICK,

(Intervenor in District Court)

BARBARA JEAN CROWTHER CHADWICK,

Appellant

ON APPEAL FROM THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

District Court Judge: Honorable Norma L. Shapiro

(D.C. No. 00-cv-01130)

App. 51

Argued: May 24, 2002

Before: ALITO, MCKEE, WALLACE, Circuit Judges’

JUDGMENT

This cause came on to be heard on the record from the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Pennsylvania and was argued on May 24, 2002. On con-

sideration whereof, it is now here ORDERED and AD-

JUDGED by this court that the Judgment of the District

Court entered on January 4, 2002, be and the same is

hereby, REVERSED. Costs taxed against appellee. All of

the above in accordance with the opinion of this Court.

ATTEST:

/s/

Acting Clerk

Dated: August 20, 2002

* The Honorable J. Clifford Wallace, Senior Judge of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, sitting by designation.

App. 52

APPENDIX F

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF

DELAWARE COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

CIvIL ACTION — LAW

BARBARA CROWTHER _)

CHADWICK, ) No. 92-19535

Plaintiff, ) In Divorce

- )

° ) Attorneys Nos.

H. BEATTY CHADWICK, ) 04774/35386/63126

Defendant. )

ORDER

AND NOW, this 22nd day of July 1994, upon consid-

eration of Wife’s Emergency Omnibus Petition For Special

Relief, it is hereby ORDERED and DECREED that:

1. Within twenty-four (24) hours of the entry of this

Order, H. Beatty Chadwick is directed to return the $2.5

million that he transferred out of the United States in

February, 1993, to an account under the jurisdiction of this

court, to be held in escrow by counsel for Barbara Jean

Crowther Chadwick and counsel for H. Beatty Chadwick

pending further Order of the Court.

2. Husband is enjoined from further assigning,

concealing, secreting or dissipating marital assets;

3. The marital home located at 280 Roberts Road,

Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, shall immediately be listed for

sale by a court-appointed third party;

App. 53

4. Husband is directed to pay, forthwith on account

of Wife’s counsel fees and costs the amount of $75,000.00;

5. Husband is directed to surrender his passport. to

this Court pending further Order of the Court;

6. Husband is enjoined from leaving the jurisdiction

of this Commonwealth until further Order of Court.

7. This matter including a transcript of the testi-

mony shall be referred to the Delaware County District

Attorney’s Office and to the U.S. Attorney for a considera-

tion of possible or of criminal charges.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Joseph Labrum

J.

App. 54

APPENDIX G

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF

DELAWARE COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

CIvIL ACTION — LAW

BARBARA CROWTHER )

CHADWICK, )

Plaintiff, )

‘ ) No. 92-19585

:

H. BEATTY CHADWICK, ) !™ Divorce

Defendant. )

ORDER

Counsel for the parties were advised by this Court

that a hearing would be held on Barbara Jean Crowther

Chadwick’s Petition for Contempt and for Writ of Ne Exeat

or Writ of Capias Ad Satisfaciendum on Monday, October

31, 1994 at 10:00 A.M. Defendant, H. Beatty Chadwick

was personally served with a subpoena directing his

appearance at that hearing and his attorney was served

with a Notice to Attend and to Produce directing H. Beatty

Chadwick’s appearance at that hearing. Defendant, H.

Beatty Chadwick, was represented by David Auerbach at

that hearing on October 31, 1994. Defendant, H. Beatty

Chadwick, did not appear at the hearing on October 31,

1994.

Upon consideration of the Petition for Contempt and

for Writ of Ne Exeat or Writ of Capias Ad Satisfaciendum,

and after hearing thereon, it is hereby ORDERED and

DECREED as follows:

App. 55

1. H. Beatty Chadwick is held in Contempt of Court

for willful violations of the Order of July 22, 1994. He is to

be apprehended and incarcerated until a further hearing

is held.

2. Because of defendant H. Beatty Chadwick’s

failure to appear at the scheduled October 31, 1994 hear-

ing, notwithstanding valid service of a subpoena directing

his appearance, this Court has issued a bench warrant for

H. Beatty Chadwick’s arrest. Said bench warrant shall not

be rescinded without the approval of the undersigned

judge. When apprehended, defendant, H. Beatty

Chadwick, shall be incarcerated until a further hearing is

held.

3. Defendant, H. Beatty Chadwick, is hereby en-

joined from selling or in any way profiting from the re-

lease, publication, writing or other dissemination of the

facts which are the subject of this litigation and any such

rights or benefits are assigned-to plaintiff, Barbara Jean

Crowther Chadwick.

4. This matter is again referred to the Delaware

County District Attorney’s office and the United States

Attorney's Office for possible prosecution of criminal

charges against defendant, H. Beatty Chadwick.

5. Defendant, H. Beatty Chadwick, is again ordered

to surrender his United States passport to this Court until

further order. The State Department shall be notified of

this Order and of the July 22, 1994 Order so that appro-

priate action may be taken, including the placing of a hold

on H. Beatty Chadwick’s United States passport. This

Court has previously ordered that H. Beatty Chadwick

shall not leave the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, and

shall not leave the United States.

App. 56

6. This matter is referred to the Disciplinary Board

of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania for investigation of

the ethical violations by H. Beatty Chadwick. This Court

recommends to the Disciplinary Board that H. Beatty

Chadwick’s license to practice law be suspended as soon

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Chadwick v. Chadwick · 538 U.S. 1000 | Frix