Petition for Writ of Certiorari — American Renovation & Construction Co. v. Favel

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\ ee SS S:0-:ne Ouurt, US,

(1 FiLes

No, 0212 6 2 FEB 2 4 2003

——_— ene, OF HE OP

Jn The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

¢

AMERICAN RENOVATION AND

CONSTRUCTION COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

BILL FAVEL, JOHN PITZER, JOE LaMERE,

TOBY LaMERE, and ALVIN BELGARDE,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Montana Supreme Court

+

vw

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

@

v

MARCIA DAVENPORT

Counsel of Record

CROWLEY, HAUGHEY, HANSON,

TOOLE & DIETRICH P.L.L.P.

100 North Park Avenue, Suite 300

P.O. Box 797

Helena, Montana 59624-0797

(406) 449-4165

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

May laborers on a federal construction project who

complain they were not paid prevailing wages under the

Davis-Bacon Act circumvent the exclusive remedies

provided by Congress and privately enforce the Act by

bringing a state common law claim in state district court

against the contractor for alleged violation of the Act, the

result of which will be that state court judges and juries

will make the complex wage determinations that Congress

has declared must be decided by the Department of Labor?

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW AND

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

All parties to the proceeding below are listed in the

caption. Petitioner American Renovation and Construction

Company does not have a parent corporation nor does any

publicly held company own 10% or more of its stock.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED... cc ccccceccscccccccceceeees i-

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW AND

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT.................cccccccccccoscccosse. il

TABLE OF CONTENTS ............ccccccscccsssssssssscscosese iii

TABLE RPO AUP BOUPIEE TBODY wnscccessvcnsesvesssseccsesdavevcevece Vv

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI ............. 1

Ge NEE WUE MI OT vcs ecsscssenssscceseesersssvensevesencosversoocse 1

ga ccs vhebypnvnsanentneesesacecosecace 1

oy ty: 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................cccccssseseeeeeeees 4

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND.....0...........cccccccceee 4°

Il. PROCEDURAL HISTORY AND PRESEN-

TATION AND PRESERVATION OF FEDERAL

ai iis ads Nak bubaso ed vavswvianecees cos 5

A. The Companion Case in Federal District

Sh EEE SAR On a 5

B. The Proceedings in State District Court.. 7

C. The Proceedings in the Montana Su-

siti cceh cc iahienaketehsicisnriaxcevarevene 8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT................. Y

I. THE MONTANA SUPREME COURT HAS

DECIDED AN IMPORTANT FEDERAL

QUESTION IN A WAY THAT CONFLICTS

WITH DECISIONS OF AT LEAST FOUR

CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS AND AT

LEAST ONE STATE COURT OF LAST

irate nits aleaconkinnens kavsxssdenentinansseaxves 10

|

;

?

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— Continued

Page

A. The Montana Supreme Court’s decision

conflicts with decisions of the Second,

Third, Fifth, and Ninth Circuits.............. 10

B. The Montana Supreme Court’s decision

conflicts with a decision by the Arkansas

ND Gs sicccenesnceninsscovicsssctercsseensete 13

II. THE MONTANA SUPREME COURT DECIDED

AN IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL

LAW IN A WAY THAT CONFLICTS WITH THE

GUIDANCE PROVIDED BY THIS COURT

IN UNIVERSITIES RESEARCH ASS'N uv.

IE OEe sicacirnierncencactiniquidaneestidebiniuamabeciatenis 14

SEGRE bisssctntnnnsssnisnciasnntieiiniaveaseieenasinna 17

A BSN WA Ai silt nk fm

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Cannon v. University of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677

Sa O aD sheitsdan taialsscnenahintelbneatsiaiganesaunnidelaamunaianmaiaad sa 12, 16

Chan v. City of New York, 1 F.3d 96 (2d Cir. 1993) ........... 11

Coord ae, Beale, GD TE: Oo Ca ecisvinicien kes nvnicenstictatsisttieateccsec 7

Davis v. Hardaway Contracting Co., 386 S.W.2d

707 (Ark. 1965)............ denusapsavalcumesiecdbmernniancenaMaiiad ai 13

Davis v. United Air Lines, Inc., 575 F.Supp. 677

CER AEs Ba See siicenniceieteiuiincetennnnketnesnsninieiaaiies are a 11

Favel v. American Renovation & Construction Co.,

2002 MT 266, 312 Mont. 285, 59 P.3d 412 (2002)........... 1

Favel v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., No. CV-99-

60-RFC-GF, 2001 WL 92149 (D. Mont. Feb. 1,

Grochowski v. Phoenix Construction, __ F.3d __,

No. 01-7569, 2003 WL 115712 (2d Cir. Jan. 14,

ED skgvensecuvivicauiapecigessttdeeineielamiaiatatann a 10

McDaniel v. University of Chicago, 548 F.2d 689

CFU CINE FD vincicnecsssideussnentbadiinaseiaibisicanienciiciaai na une 12

Operating Eng’rs Health & Welfare Trust Fund v.

JWJ Contracting Co., 135 F.3d 671 (9th Cir.

SED covienctcenctechiiehigpuiiiaaanveliciaanaamaamas 12

Simpson v. Reynolds Metal Co., 629 F.2d 1226 (7th

CAOy FIDO kivetBisnsisccicesnnetpininitiatonedinbinstashemmndsiadiaaaca ceauas ess 12

United States v. Capeletti Bros., Inc., 621 F.2d 1309

GEE Ge OED wincidensennsiddeinecnsathieaiauaaiinaa smear 12

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Universities Research Ass’n, Inc. v. Coutu, 450 U.S.

Fe Ce inviscid 10, 14, 15, 16, 17

Weber v. Heat Control Co., 728 F.2d 599 (3d Cir. |

SEIU iiniisicoiensscnupiniachuasonekastianeianncehonainteniieabsiaammaamaiaianal 12 |

STATUTES |

BO UA. © Bt eitshcteeeicmnriniecianiiaaion 2

QO EG iks F eC eit vvnisnnncnebsnntieetninsinttlintsiintn 4

vats (cee 3,4

OB EEG a. BE A einstein 2,3

OB i 8 IE Oituttineninnieunnincanaaneia 3,4

a ks eee iisosniesaliciccnss nn etahabitcataicemanieiieieeintaees 3 )

40 U.S.C.A. § 2760-2(b).asssssccoccssccsssssssssssssocensccsessesnssenenees 3 |

1

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

American Renovation and Construction Company

(“ARC”) respectfully requests this Court issue a writ of

certiorari to review the opinion and judgment of the

‘Montana Supreme Court issued November 26, 2002.

¢

OPINIONS BELOW

The Montana Supreme Court is the court of last resort

in Montana. The Court filed its Opinion on November 26,

2002, reported at Favel v. American Renovation & Con-

struction Co., 2002 MT 266, 312 Mont. 285, 59 P.3d 412

(2002). (App. 1-45). The Montana Eighth Judicial District

Court, Cascade County, filed its unreported order granting

ARC’s Motion to Dismiss on June 12, 2001. (App. 46-51).

In a companion case brought by the same Plaintiffs in

federal court, the United States District Court for the

District of Montana, Great Falls Division, filed its unre-

ported order denying ARC’s Motion to Dismiss and staying _

the action pending a Davis-Bacon determination by the

Department of Labor on February 1, 2001, reported at

Favel v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., No. CV-99-60-

RFC-GF, 2001 WL 92149 (D. Mont. Feb. 1, 2001). (App. 52-

58).

¢

JURISDICTION

The Montana Supreme Court issued its Opinion on

November 26, 2002. ARC was not required to, and did not,

file a Motion for Rehearing. Accordingly, the Petition for

Writ of Certiorari is due no later than February 24, 2003.

2

ARC invokes this Court’s jurisdiction pursuant to 28

U.S.C.A. § 1257.

+

RELEVANT STATUTES

The complete text of the relevant statutes is set out

verbatim in the Appendix. (App. 70-77). Section 1 of the

Davis-Bacon Act provides that the advertised specifica-

tions for every contract in excess of $2000 to which the

United States is a party for the construction, alteration

and/or repair of public buildings:

[SJhall contain a provision stating the minimum

wages to be paid various classes of laborers and

mechanics which shall be based upon the wages

that will be determined by the Secretary of Labor

to be prevailing for the corresponding classes of

laborers and mechanics employed on projects of a

character similar to the contract work in the city,

town, village, or other civil subdivision of the

State in which the work is to be performed. ...

40 U.S.C.A. § 276a(a). Section 1 also requires that each

federal contract “shall contain a stipulation that the

contractor or his subcontractor shall pay all mechanics

and laborers employed ... the full amounts . . . computed

at wage rates not less than stated in the advertised

specifications.” Jd.

The Davis-Bacon Act sets forth a detailed administra-

tive enforcement scheme. Section 1 provides that:

[T]here may be withheld from the contractor so

much of accrued payments as may be considered

necessary by the contracting officer to pay to la-

borers and mechanics employed by the contractor

3

or any subcontractor on the work the difference

between the rates of wages required by the con-

tract to be paid laborers and mechanics on the

work and the rates of wages received by such la-

borers and mechanics. .. .

40 U.S.C.A. § 276a(a).

Section 3 of the Davis-Bacon Act authorizes the

Comptroller General of the United States to “pay directly

to laborers and mechanics from any accrued payments

withheld under the terms of the contract any wages found

to be due laborers and mechanics pursuant to sections

276a to 276a-5 of this title.... ” 40 U.S.C.A. § 276a-2(a).

Section 3 further provides that:

If the accrued payments withheld under the

terms of the contract ... are insufficient to reim-

burse all of the laborers and mechanics, with re-

spect to whom there has been a failure to pay the

wages required pursuant to sections 276a to

276a-5 of this title, such laborers and mechanics

shall have the right of action and/or intervention

against the contractor and his sureties conferred

by law upon persons furnishing labor and mate-

rials. ...

40 U.S.C.A. § 276a-2(b).

The rights of persons furnishing labor or material to

pursue bond claims are defined in 40 U.S.C.A. § 270b,

known as the Miller Act:

Every person who has furnished labor or mate-

rial in the prosecution of the work provided for in

such contract, in respect of which a payment

bond is furnished under sections 270a to 270d of

this title and who has not been paid in full there-

for before the expiration of a period of ninety

4

days after the day on which the last of the labor

was done or performed by him or material was

furnished or supplied by him for which such

claim is made, shall have the right to sue on such

payment bond for the amount, or the balance

thereof, unpaid at the time of institution of such

oust... ..

40 U.S.C.A. § 270b.

Section 270a of the Miller Act requires that:

[BJefore any contract for the construction, altera-

tion, or repair of any public building or public

work of the United States is awarded to any per-

son, such person shall furnish to the United

States ... a payment bond with a surety or sure-

ties satisfactory to such officer for the protection

of all persons supplying labor and materials in

the prosecution of the work provided for in said

contract for the use of each such person.

40 U.S.C.A. § 270a(a)(2).

The Secretary of Labor has issued detailed regulations

designed to implement the Davis-Bacon Act. The regula-

tions pertinent to this case are set out verbatim in the

Appendix. (App. 78-96).

¢

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND.

At the heart of this case is a contract entered into in

March of 1998 by the United States Air Force (“United

States”) and ARC for construction of military family

housing at Malmstrom Air Force Base located in Great

iG LE PMS aa st Lise in BRR sda OLIN Be

abn sbass

Falls, Montana. The contract contains a provision requir-

ing ARC to pay its laborers prevailing wages under the

Davis-Bacon Act. ARC entered into subcontracts with Baer

Construction and Four Winds Construction. The subcon-

tracts also contained provisions requiring the subcontrac-

tors to pay their employees prevailing wages. Plaintiffs

(“workers”) contend they were not paid prevailing wages

under the Davis-Bacon Act as required by the contract

between ARC and the United States and by the contracts

between ARC and its subcontractors.

II. PROCEDURAL HISTORY AND PRESENTA-

TION AND PRESERVATION OF FEDERAL

QUESTION.

A. The Companion Case in Federal District

Court.

On June 21, 1999, the workers filed suit in Montana

federal district court against ARC and St. Paul Fire &

Marine Insurance Company (“St. Paul”), ARC’s surety. The

workers invoked the Miller Act as the basis for federal

jurisdiction. The workers alleged that: (1) they were the

intended beneficiaries of the contract between ARC and

the United States and that ARC breached the contract

because they were misclassified and not paid appropriate

Davis-Bacon wages; and (2) they were wrongfully dis-

charged for complaining they were not being paid Davis-

Bacon wages.

ARC moved to dismiss the workers’ complaint for lack

of subject matter jurisdiction. ARC argued that although

the workers alleged their action was premised upon the

Miller Act, the workers’ claims were based only upon

alleged violations of the Davis-Bacon Act. ARC contended

6

that the workers’ federal court action was premature

because they had not first brought the wage dispute before

the Department of Labor as required by the federal regu-

lations implementing the Davis-Bacon Act. Relying upon

federal case law, ARC argued the workers could not

sustain their action because section 1 of the Davis-Bacon

Act does not provide for a private cause of action.

In an order dated February 1, 2001, the Honorable

Richard F. Cebull agreed with ARC that all of the workers’

claims were premised on alleged violations of the Davis-

Bacon Act. (App. 54). Judge Cebull held that “the import of

this is that the Davis-Bacon Act does not provide for a

private right of action under the circumstances provided

here — at least not at this time.” (App. 54). Judge Cebull

then found that the workers were entitled to bring a claim

against ARC and St. Paul under the Miller Act. (App. 55-

56). However, Judge Cebull noted that the workers had

not pursued their administrative remedies, which are a

condition precedent to filing a claim in federal district

court under the Miller Act. (App. 56). Judge Cebull stayed

the action to allow the workers to pursue their

administrative remedies by obtaining Department of

Labor determinations regarding whether Davis-Bacon Act

violations occurred, the extent of such violations, and

whether the payments to ARC withheld by the United

States were sufficient to compensate the workers. (App.

58).

After Judge Cebull issued his order, the workers

voluntarily dismissed their action in federal district court.

B. The Proceedings in State District Court.

On October 16, 1999, the workers filed an action in

Montana state district court, naming ARC as the only

Defendant. Unlike the federal case, the workers did not

sue the surety. The workers’ allegations are nearly identi-

cal to their allegations in the federal district court action

except the workers additionally allege that ARC was

negligent in failing to pay them Davis-Bacon wages and

that ARC acted with malice by not paying them Davis-

Bacon wages. (App. 59-69). Their complaint also contains a

private attorney general/common fund claim.

ARC moved to dismiss the workers’ state court action

for lack of subject matter jurisdiction. ARC again argued

that the workers’ claims are based only upon alleged

violation of the Davis-Bacon Act and that the action was

premature because the workers had not first brought the

dispute before the Department of Labor as required by the

federal regulations. Relying upon federal case law, ARC

also contended that the state court did not have jurisdic-

tion over the workers’ claims because they were premised

on the Davis-Bacon Act, which did not confer a private

right of action on aggrieved employees. Finally, ARC

argued that the workers’ remedy lay in a Miller Act claim

against ARC’s surety and that the workers had failed to

pursue such a claim by first initiating their administrative

remedies before the Department of Labor and then, if

necessary, pursuing a Miller Act claim in federal district

court.

On June 12, 2001, Judge Julie Macek granted ARC’s

motion to dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

(App. 51). Judge Macek applied the four-part test for a

private right of action delineated by this Court in Cort uv.

re _

8

Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 78 (1975), and concluded that the Davis-

Bacon Act does not provide for such a claim. (App. 49-50).

Judge Macek also recognized that the workers had a

potential Miller Act claim against St. Paul, and accord-

ingly dismissed the workers’ complaint without prejudice

to allow the workers to obtain Department of Labor

determinations and to name St. Paul as a defendant if

they felt a Miller Act claim existed. (App. 50-51).

C. The Proceedings in the Montana Supreme

Court. .

The workers timely appealed the state district court’s

order of dismissal to the Montana Supreme Court. On

appeal, ARC argued that despite the fact the workers

styled their wage claims as state “common law” claims, the

claims are based only upon alleged violations of the Davis-

Bacon Act. ARC asserted the workers’ action is one to

privately enforce the Davis-Bacon Act and that a private

right of action does not exist under the Act. ARC also

contended the workers’ argument that the Davis-Bacon

Act does not preempt state common law claims is mis-

placed because there is no conflicting or competing state

law which would trigger a preemption analysis.

The Montana Supreme Court reversed the district

court’s order dismissing the workers’ action. (App. 31). The

court stated that it “declined to consider” whether the

workers have a private right of action under the Davis-

Bacon Act. (App. 29). Instead, even though the state

court’s order does not address the issue of preemption, the

Montana Supreme Court held that the state court has

subject matter jurisdiction over the workers’ action be-

cause the Davis-Bacon Act does not preempt the workers’

state common law claims. (App. 27-28). The Montana

Supreme Court remanded the case to the state district

court and allowed the workers to proceed with their

common law breach of contract claim against ARC. (App.

31). 9

¢

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The impact of the Montana Supreme Court’s decision

is significant. The decision allows federal laborers to

completely side-step the administrative process set forth

in the Davis-Bacon Act and the federal regulations imple-

menting the Act. The decision allows laborers to circum-

vent the remedies crafted by Congress and contained in

the Davis-Bacon Act, the Miller Act, and the regulations

implementing the Acts. Under the decision, laborers need

not obtain Department of Labor determinations that

Davis-Bacon violations have occurred or that the funds

withheld by the contracting officer are insufficient to

reimburse the laborers for back wages. Instead, laborers

may proceed directly to state court and file state common

law claims against the contractor, and state district court

judges and juries will decide the complex wage determina-

tions that Congress has declared are within the exclusive

jurisdiction of the Department of Labor. Additionally,

laborers may name the contractor as the only defendant,

leaving the contractor without the protection of the pay-

ment bond it was required by federal law to procure to

cover the payment of back wages in the event of a wage

dispute.

The Montana Supreme Court’s decision on an impor-

tant federal question conflicts with the decisions of at least

10

four circuit courts of appeals and at least one state court of

last resort. The Montana Supreme Court also decided an

important question of federal law which this Court ex-

pressly declined to settle in Universities Research Ass’n,

Inc. v. Coutu, 450 U.S. 754 (1981). Further, the court

decided the question in a way that is inconsistent with the

guidance provided by this Court in Coutu.

I. THE MONTANA SUPREME COURT HAS

DECIDED AN IMPORTANT FEDERAL QUES-

TION IN A WAY THAT CONFLICTS WITH DE-

CISIONS OF AT LEAST FOUR CIRCUIT

COURTS OF APPEALS AND AT LEAST ONE

STATE COURT OF LAST RESORT.

A. The Montana Supreme Court’s decision

conflicts with decisions of the Second,

Third, Fifth, and Ninth Circuits.

The result of the Montana Supreme Court’s decision,

that laborers may bring state common law claims to

remedy alleged violations of the Davis-Bacon Act, is in

direct conflict with decisions of the Second, Third, Fifth,

and Ninth Circuits. Well-reasoned and persuasive deci-

sions from each of these circuits affirmatively hold that

the Davis-Bacon Act does not provide a private right of

action.

The Second Circuit addressed a factual situation

nearly identical to that presented to the Montana Su-

preme Court in Grochowski v. Phoenix Construction, ___

F.3d ___, No. 01-7569, 2003 WL 115712 (2d Cir. Jan. 14,

2003). The plaintiffs were bricklayers and roofers who

worked on three public works construction projects gov-

erned by contracts which contained provisions for Davis-

Bacon wages. The plaintiffs brought suit against the

11

contractors and their sureties to recover back wages under

New York State common law. The plaintiffs alleged that

they were third party beneficiaries of the federal contract

and that the contractor breached the contract by failing to

pay them prevailing wages. They also asserted a quantum

meruit claim. The district court dismissed the plaintiffs’

state common law claims on the basis that state common

law remedies were not available to recover prevailing

wages under federally funded contracts. Grochowski, 2003

WL 115712, at * 2.

The Second Circuit affirmed the district court’s

decision. Id., 2003 WL 115712, at * 4. The court noted that

its decision in Chan v. City of New York, 1 F.3d 96 (2d Cir.

1993), indicates that no private right of action exists under

the Davis-Bacon Act. Id., 2003 WL 115712, at * 3. The

Second Circuit thus decided:

[T]he plaintiffs’ state-law claims are indirect at-

tempts at privately enforcing the prevailing wage

schedules contained in the DBA [Davis-Bacon

Act]. To allow a third-party private contract ac-

tion aimed at enforcing those wage schedules

would be “inconsistent with the underlying pur-

pose of the legislative scheme and would inter-

fere with the implementation of that scheme to

the same extent as would a cause of action di-

rectly under the statute.”

Id., 2003 WL 115712, at *4 (quoting Davis v. United Air

Lines, Inc., 575 F.Supp. 677, 680 (E.D.N.Y. 1983)). The

court concluded that the plaintiffs’ efforts to bring their

claims for back wages under the Davis-Bacon Act as state

common law claims were “clearly an impermissible ‘end

run’ around the DBA.” Jd.

12

The other circuit courts which have addressed the

question, with the exception of the Seventh Circuit, have

similarly held that the Davis-Bacon Act does not confer on

laborers a private right of action for alleged unpaid or

underpaid prevailing wages. The Ninth Circuit in Operat-

ing Eng’rs Health & Welfare Trust Fund v. JWJ Contract-

ing Co., 1385 F.3d 671, 676 (9th Cir. 1998) affirmed a

district court’s order granting summary judgment to a

surety in an action brought for prevailing Davis-Bacon

wages because no private right of action exists under the

Act. The Third Circuit in Weber v. Heat Control Co., 728

F.2d 599, 600 (3d Cir. 1984), held that a district court did

not err by granting summary judgment to a defendant

contractor on plaintiff’s action for back wages on the basis

plaintiff was not possessed of a private right of action

under the Davis-Bacon Act. Similarly the Fifth Circuit in

United States v. Capeletti Bros., Inc., 621 F.2d 1309, 1317

(5th Cir. 1980) decided that no implied private right of

action exists under the Davis-Bacon Act and therefore the

district court properly dismissed plaintiffs’ claims that

they had been misclassified by their employers and as a

result had not been paid prevailing wages. The Seventh

Circuit in McDaniel v. University of Chicago, 548 F.2d 689,

695 (7th Cir. 1977), is the only court of appeals that has

held an implied private right of action does exist. In a later

opinion, however, the Seventh Circuit, in Simpson uv.

Reynolds Metal Co., 629 F.2d 1226 (7th Cir. 1980), cast ©

doubt upon its holding in McDaniel by noting it decided

that case without the guidance of this Court’s decision in

Cannon v. University of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677 (1979).

Simpson, 629 F.2d at 1240 n.27.

The Montana Supreme Court’s decision conflicts with

decisions from the Second, Third, Fifth and Ninth Circuits.

13

The Montana Supreme Court’s decision also illustrates a

dispute between the decisions of these four circuits and

that of the Seventh Circuit. The Court should grant ARC’s

petition for writ of certiorari to address this conflict over

an important question of federal law.

B. The Montana Supreme Court’s decision

conflicts with a decision by the Arkansas

Supreme Court.

The Montana Supreme Court’s conclusion that the

state district court has subject matter jurisdiction over the

workers’ state common law claim based on alleged viola-

tions of the Davis-Bacon Act also conflicts with a decision

of the Arkansas Supreme Court, Davis v. Hardaway

Contracting Co., 386 S.W.2d 707 (Ark. 1965). In Davis, the

plaintiffs performed labor and services for subcontractors

on a federal project under a contract which provided for

Davis-Bacon wages. The plaintiffs brought an action in

state court, alleging the subcontractors misclassified them

and thus failed to pay them appropriate Davis-Bacon

wages. The district court dismissed the plaintiffs’ action

for lack of jurisdiction on the basis that the classification

of laborers is an issue to be determined by the Department

of Labor. Davis, 286 S.W.2d at 708.

The Arkansas Supreme Court affirmed. Jd., at 710.

The court noted that under the relevant federal regula-

tions, disputes regarding classifications of workers are to

be resolved by the Secretary of Labor. Jd., at 708. The

court also recognized that under the regulations, the

federal contracting agency is required to investigate and

insure compliance with labor standard stipulations, and

that the regulations provided for contractor penalties for

14

not complying with such stipulations. Jd., at 709. The

court concluded:

It is apparent that these regulations are compre-

hensive, and are designed to afford relief to ag-

grieved laborers. The Davis-Bacon Act itself

(Sections 276a to 276a-5 of Title 40 U.S.C.A.) also

sets out remedies for laborers who have been

paid less wages than the rate (of wages) required

to be paid under a contract. We are persuaded

that this act, together with the rules and regula-

tions promulgated, and heretofore set out (Title

29, Subtitle A, Part 5), provides full and complete

relief, and state courts are without jurisdiction to

entertain the type of litigation here under dis-

cussion.

Id.

The Montana Supreme Court reached the opposite

result of the Arkansas Supreme Court by concluding that

the state district court had jurisdiction over the workers’

state common law breach of contract claim based solely on

alleged violations of the federal Davis-Bacon Act. This

Court should grant this petition in order to resolve the

conflict between the two state courts of last resort regard-

ing this important issue of federal law.

II. THE MONTANA SUPREME COURT DECIDED

AN IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL

LAW IN A WAY THAT CONFLICTS WITH THE

GUIDANCE PROVIDED BY THIS COURT IN

UNIVERSITIES RESEARCH ASS’N v. COUTU.

In Universities Research Ass’n, Inc. v. Coutu, 450 U.S.

754 (1981), this Court expressly declined to do what the

Montana Supreme Court’s decision has done. In Coutu, an

15

employee of a federal contractor brought suit in federal

court claiming the contractor violated the Davis-Bacon Act

by failing to pay prevailing wages for work performed

under a federal contract. The federal contract in question

did not contain a stipulation requiring the contractor to

pay Davis-Bacon wages and the contract was administra-

tively determined not to call for Davis-Bacon work. On

appeal to this Court, the contractor argued that Congress

did not intend that the Davis-Bacon Act be enforced

through private action.

This Court held that the Davis-Bacon Act does not

confer a private right of action for back wages under a

contract that is administratively determined not to call for

Davis-Bacon work. Coutu, 450 U.S. at 767-768. Although

the Court found it unnecessary to reach the “broader”

issue of whether the Act creates an implied private right of

action to enforce a contract that does contain Davis-Bacon

Act stipulations,’ it affirmatively recognized that “some of

our reasoning arguably applies to the question whether

the Act creates any implied right of action.” Jd., at 769

n.19.

This Court turned first to the language of the Davis-

Bacon Act. It explained that although its previous opinions

recognize that the Act was designed for the benefit of

construction workers, the question remains whether the

' In declining to decide the issue of whether an implied private

right of action exists under a contract containing Davis-Bacon stipula-

tions, this Court also noted that it is questionable whether the issue

was properly before it in light of counsel's comments at oral argument

that they had not directly raised the issue in the Seventh Circuit.

Coutu, 450 U.S. at 769 n.19.

16

language of the statute indicates Congress intended it to

be enforced through private litigation. Jd., at 771. The

Court noted that section 1 of the Act requires that certain

stipulations be placed in federal contracts for the benefit of

laborers but does not conier rights directly on those

individuals. Jd., at 772. The Court found since section 1 of

the Act is “simply ‘phrased as a directive to federal agen-

cies engaged in the disbursement of federal funds,’” its

language provides no support for the implication of a

private remedy. Id., at 772-773 (quoting Cannon v. Univer-

sity of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677, 693 (1979)).

The Court then considered the import of section 3 of

the Act, conferring on laborers the same “right of action

and/or intervention” conferred by the Miller Act if the

wages withheld by the contracting agency under section 1

were insufficient to reimburse the laborers. Coutu, 450

U.S. at 773. The Court states in a footnote:

The Court has observed that when legislation

expressly provides a particular remedy or reme-

dies, courts should not expand the coverage of

the statute to subsume other remedies. (citation

omitted). There is some evidence that Congress

intended the suit on the contractor’s bond to be

the sole method of enforcing the obligations im-

posed by the Act.

Id. at 773 n.24.

Finally, the Court considered the legislative history of

the Act. It explained that the Act does not contain any

provision for predetermination of prevailing wages by the

Secretary or any enforcement provision until 1935. Id., at

774-775. The Court stated that in adopting the two provi-

sions, the intent of Congress was to make it easier for

contractors to know in advance what their labor costs

17

would be before submitting a bid, and to give laborers and

mechanics only the same right of action against a contrac-

tor and its sureties in court which was then allowed by the

Heard Act, the precursor to the Miller Act. Jd., at 776-777

n.27. The Court noted that “[t]o imply a private right of

action here would be to defeat each of these congressional

objectives.” Jd., at 777.

The Montana Supreme Court’s decision improperly

resolves the federal question left open by this Court in

Coutu. Although this Court declined to rule on the ques-

tion, the reasoning applied by the Court indicates that a

private right of action does not exist under section 1 of the

Davis-Bacon Act even if the federal contract contains

Davis-Bacon stipulations. The Montana Supreme Court’s

decision leads to an opposite result. This Court should

remedy the inconsistency between its decision in Coutu

and the Montana Supreme Court’s decision by granting

this petition for a writ of certiorari.

¢

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, ARC respectfully re-

quests this Court grant this petition for a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

MARCiA DAVENPORT

CROWLEY, HAUGHEY, HANSON,

TOOLE & DIETRICH, P.L.L.P.

100 North Park Avenue, Suite 300

P.O. Box 797

Helena, MT 59624-0797

(406) 449-4165

Counsel for Petitioner

|

App. 1

No. 01-514

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF MONTANA

2002 MT 266

BILL FAVEL, JOHN PITZER,

JOE LaMERE, TOBY LaMERE

and ALVIN BELGARDE,

Plaintiffs/Appellants,

STATE OF MONTANA

¥.

AMERICAN RENOVATION

AND CONSTRUCTION CO.,

a California corporation;

JOHN DOES I and II,

Defendants/Respondents.

(Filed Nov. 26, 2002)

APPEAL FROM: District Court of the Eighth Judicial

District,

In and for the County of Cascade,

The Honorable Julie Macek,

Judge presiding.

COUNSEL OF RECORD:

For Appellants:

Lawrence A. Anderson (argued),

Great Falls, Montana

For Respondents:

Marcia Davenport (argued), Crowley,

Haughey, Hanson, Toole & Dietrich,

Helena, Montana; Neil Westesen,

Crowley, Haughey, Hanson, Toole &

Dietrich, Bozeman, Montana

App. 2

Heard: March 12, 2002

Submitted: March 19, 2002

Decided: November 26, 2002

Filed:

/s/ Ed Smith

Clerk

Justice Patricia O. Cotter delivered the Opinion of the

Court.

4 1 This case was brought by a group of construction

workers (Workers) who performed labor under a federal

contract (Contract) between the American Renovation and

Construction Company (ARC) and the United States Air

Force (USAF or Air Force) to construct military housing at

Malmstrom Air Force Base (Malmstrom AFB) in Great

Falls, Cascade County, Montana. The Workers sued for

breach of contract, alleging that they were not paid pre-

vailing wages under the federal Davis-Bacon Act as

required by the Contract. The Eighth Judicial District

Court of Cascade County dismissed the suit on June 12,

2001, ruling that the Davis-Bacon Act did not provide the

Workers with a private right of action; therefore, it lacked

jurisdiction to hear the Workers’ claims. We reverse.

ISSUES

4 2 Arestatement of the issue presented by the parties is

whether the Montana District Court has subject matter

jurisdiction to hear and determine Workers’ common law

claims for breach of a Contract under which they were

| |

App. 3

guaranteed wages based upon wage standards established

by the federal Davis-Bacon Act.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

73 In March 1998, the USAF and ARC entered into a

Contract under which ARC would construct military

housing at Malmstrom Air Force Base in Great Falls,

Cascade County, Montana. While the Contract was not

provided for this Court’s review, it is undisputed that the

Contract required ARC to pay its laborers federal Davis-

Bacon Act wages (hereinafter wages). Subsequently, ARC

entered into subcontracts with Baer Construction and

Four Winds Construction. Under ARC’s Contract with the

Air Force, ARC was required to include in any subcon-

tracts the provision that all subcontractors working on the

project would pay their laborers in accordance with the

Davis-Bacon Act. The contracts between ARC and its

subcontractors were not provided for our review, but it is

undisputed that these contracts included the required

Davis-Bacon wage provision.

{4 Workers are former employees of Baer Construction

(Baer) and/or Four Winds Construction (Four Winds) ' who

worked on the Malmstrom AFB project as iron workers,

carpenters, cement masons and other “skilled trades.”

Workers claim they were improperly paid unskilled

laborer wages. Additionally, Workers maintain that when

they complained tc Baer that they were not being paid in

' Baer and Four Winds are referenced in the caption of this case as

John Does I and II because Workers claim that these companies are not

legal entities authorized to do business in Montana.

App. 4

accordance with the contract between Baer and ARC, Baer

fired them. They then began working for Four Winds and

claim that Four Winds likewise failed to pay them the

skilled wages required under Four Winds’ contract with

ARC. (We note, however, that no precise allegations were

made against Four Winds nor were any administrative

decisions made pertaining to Four Winds.) In November

:1998, the Workers complained to ARC that ARC’s subcon-

tractors were not paying them in accordance with the

‘wage provisions of their contracts with ARC. Prior to this

November meeting between Workers and ARC, and

subsequent +, it, ARC consistently represented to the

USAF that it and its subcontractors were paying all

laborers appropriate Davis-Bacon wages.

45 Workers complained to the USAF Contracting Officer

(Contracting Officer) who agreed that the Workers should

have been paid “skilled laborer” wages. The Contracting

Officer notified ARC that it was ARC’s responsibility to

insure that subcontractors’ employees were accurately

paid in accordance with the contractually-prescribed

Davis-Bacon job classifications and wage rates. There is no

evidence in the record that the Contracting Officer notified

the DOL of the complaint or consulted with the DOL

regarding Workers’ claims. ARC forwarded a copy of the

Contracting Officer’s letter to Baer and instructed Baer to

resolve the matter as directed by the USAF. Baer refused

to do so despite multiple requests by ARC. Subsequently,

ARC withheld funds that it would have paid to Baer and

dispersed these funds to the underpaid Workers. The total

amount paid by ARC, however, was significantly less than

the amounts the USAF and the Workers claimed were

owed. The above facts provide a short factual summary

App. 5

but additional facts will be discussed as necessary in our

analysis.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

16 Workers filed a law suit in June 1999, in the United

States District Court, Great Falls Division, against ARC,

ARC’s surety, St. Paul Fire and Marine Insurance Com-

pany, and ARC’s subcontractors. Workers sought damages

directly from ARC and its subcontractors under the Davis-

Bacon Act and from ARC’s surety under the Miller Act.

The federal district court judge characterized Workers’

claim as a claim for back wages under the Davis-Bacon

Act. The court concluded that 40 U.S.C. § 276a of the

Davis-Bacon Act did not give Workers a private right of

action but that 40 U.S.C. § 276a-2(b) did, vis-a-vis a Miller

Act claim. The federal court, therefore, stayed the Miller

Act proceeding, holding that a yet-to-be-obtained DOL

wage determination was a condition precedent to such a

proceeding. Workers, having presented extensive USAF

documentation of underpayment to the federal court to no

avail, then dismissed their federal action without preju-

dice and sought relief in state court. The Workers thereaf-

ter pursued their state remedies and did not reinstitute

their federal proceeding before the statute of limitations

expired. ”

* Voluntary dismissal of a federal action without prejudice does not

toll the statute of limitations. Brown v. Hartshorne Public School Dist.

No. 1 (10th Cir. 1991), 926 F.2d 959 (“It is hornbook law that, as a

general rule, a voluntary dismissal without prejudice leaves the parties

as though the action had never been brought.” (citation omitted)).

App. 6

9 7 Workers sued ARC and its subcontractors in the

District Court of the Eighth Judicial District, Cascade

County. They sought recovery on various common law

grounds including, but not limited to, breach of contract,

negligence, and wrongful discharge. ARC moved to dismiss

the complaint on the grounds that it failed to state a claim

for which relief may be granted. The state court dismissed

the complaint without prejudice for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction holding that the Davis-Bacon Act did not grant

Workers a private right of action. The state court agreed

with the federal court that Workers had failed to exhaust

their administrative remedies. Workers filed a timely

appeal.

STANDARD OF REVIEW

48 The State District Court dismissed this case for lack

of subject matter jurisdiction. “Motions to dismiss should

not be granted unless it appears beyond doubt that the

plaintiff can prove no set of facts in support of his claim

which would entitle him to relief.” Winslow v. Montana

Rail Link, Inc., 2000 MT 292, 4 13, 302 Mont. 289, ¥ 13,

16 P.3d 992, 7 13 (citing Hilands Golf Club v. Ashmore

(1996), 277 Mont. 324, 328, 922 P2d 469, 471-72). “In

considering such motions, the complaint is construed in

the light most favorable to the plaintiff and all allegations

of fact contained therein are taken as true. The District

Court’s determination that it did not have jurisdiction over

this case is a conclusion of law.” Winslow, { 13 (citing Pike

v. Burlington N.R.R. Co. (1995), 273 Mont. 390, 392-93,

903 P.2d 1352, 1353). “We review a district court’s conclu-

sions of law to determine whether the court’s interpreta-

tion of the law is correct.” Winslow, { 13 (citing Hilands

Golf Club, 277 Mont. at 328, 922 P.2d at 472).

App. 7

DISCUSSION

49 The primary question before this Court is whether

the Montana District Court has subject matter jurisdiction

to hear and determine Workers’ common law claims for

breach of a contract under which they were guaranteed

wages based upon wage standards established by the

federal Davis-Bacon Act.

{| 10 ARC argues that because all of Workers’ claims are

based on failure to pay wages established by the Davis-

Bacon Act, Workers are limited to Davis-Bacon-prescribed

remedies. It maintains that the state district court cor-

rectly held that it did not have jurisdiction over Workers’

claims because there is no “private right of action” under

the Davis-Bacon Act. In other words, Workers may not sue

a contractor or subcontractor in state or federal court,

under the Davis-Bacon Act, for a violation of the Davis-

Bacon Act. Rather, ARC maintained and the state court

agreed, Workers must first obtain a DOL determination

that a violation occurred, that Workers are owed money,

and how much money each individual Worker is due. Upon

an administrative determination that Workers had been

underpaid, Workers would be paid from any funds that

had been withheld in accordance with the regulations. If

such withheld funds were insufficient to pay the full

amount due, Workers could then sue ARC’s surety under

the Miller Act’.

* The Miller Act requires that before a contractor may be awarded

a federal construction contract, the contractor must post a payment

bond for the protection of persons providing labor and material to the

construction project. 40 U.S.C. § 270a(a)(2).

App. 8

49 11 Workers, on the other hand, claim that this is not a

“private right of action” case but rather a “preemption”

case. Workers seek to enforce a labor contract that incor-

porated the Davis-Bacon Act and included wages estab-

lished under the Act. Therefore, they are seeking a state

common law remedy for breach of contract. Thus, the

question is not whether they have the right to bring a

private action under the Davis-Bacon Act, but rather, is

whether the Davis-Bacon Act expressly or impliedly

preempts alternative or supplemental state remedies.

4 12 Additionally, Workers argue that, in this case, an

administrative remedy is non-existent, or, at best, inade-

quate. Workers claim that numerous relevant administra-

tive decisions were made in their favor and that ARC and

Baer accepted these decisions without challenge or a

request for DOL review. Therefore, Workers argue, ARC

and Baer are estopped from now claiming that additional

unexhausted administrative remedies exist. The District

Court did not address these issues.

The Davis-Bacon Act

4 13 The Davis-Bacon Act, 40 U.S.C. § 276(a), et seg., was

passed in 1931 during the Depression to protect workers

on federal construction projects. Under the Act, the Secre-

tary of Labor sets minimum wages for various job classifi-

cations that reflect “prevailing wages” in the area of the

project. The Act mandates that no contractor may pay less

than these prevailing wages to their employees working on

any construction project over $2,000 to which the United

States is a party. This prevents companies from competing

for federal contracts using bids based on importing labor-

ers from distant areas who would work for lower wages

App. 9

than local laborers. See 40 U.S.C. § 276a(a). See also,

Vulcan Arbor Hill Corp. v. Reich (D.C. Cir. 1996), 81 F.3d

1110, 1111 (citation omitted). Numerous courts have held

that the Act was designed specifically to protect the

interests of laborers. See, U.S. v. Binghamton Construction

Co. (1954), 347 U.S. 171, 177 and 178, 74 S.Ct. 438, 441

and 442, 98 L.Ed. 594, 599 and 600; Thompkins v. Fuller

(1983), 205 Mont. -168, 667 P.2d 944: Building and Const.

Trades Dept., AFL-CIO v. Reich (D.C. Cir. 1994), 40 F.3d

1275.

{14 After the Davis-Bacon Act was passed into law, the

Department of Labor promulgated detailed regulations for

its implementation. 29 C.F.R. §§ 5, 6, and 7. In addition to

the regulations defining how the Secretary of Labor will

establish prevailing wage rates, the regulations also

dictate specific contract provisions that must be included

in federal construction contracts, provide debarment

procedures for contractors who violate the Davis-Bacon

Act, and identify those entities who may initiate a pro-

ceeding in the event of a wage dispute. 29 C.F.R. §§ 5.5,

5.12 and 5.11 respectively.

{15 The state court held that Workers cannot sue ARC

and Baer in state court but rather they must avail them-

selves of the administrative remedies set out in the DOL’s

regulations. The court stated that Workers must obtain a

DOL determination that wages are due, then seek recov-

ery under the Miller Act. Workers claim they have utilized

the administrative procedure extensively, without remedy.

The facts set forth below support the Workers’ claim.

{16 Baer and ARC entered into their contract in March

1998. At some time between March 1998 and November

App. 10

1998, Workers complained to Baer that they were perform-

| ing skilled labor, as defined by the DOL job classifications

applicable to the construction project, but were being paid

unskilled laborer wages. Baer fired them. In November

1998, Workers met with representatives of ARC, the

Montana Labor Management Alliance (MLMA) and Baer.

They complained that Baer was breaching its contract

with ARC by not paying contractually-agreed upon wages

to its skilled laborers and that Baer had fired them for

complaining about it. The MLMA representative suggested

that ARC submit a request to DOL for “new” job classifica-

tion and wages rates for jobs performed by the Workers.

He said he would inform the meeting attendees of the

DOL’s determination and they could accept it or appeal it

at that time. ARC submitted the classification/wage

request to DOL in December 1998. No USAF or DOL

response to this request was provided to this Court.

47 17 By early April 1999, the USAF Contracting Officer

had received notice of the complaints. She responded by

sending a letter dated April 9, 1999, to ARC in which she

notified ARC that, as general contractor, it was ARC’s

responsibility to insure that its subcontractors complied

with the Davis-Bacon Act. She noted that ARC was re-

sponsible for reviewing the payrolls for discrepancies and

having those discrepancies corrected prior to submitting

them to the USAF. The Contracting Officer noted that,

“La]lecording to the Department of Labor,” the work being

performed by the complaining Baer laborers fell within

specific job classifications with prescribed wages. She

determined that Workers and other laborers had been

underpaid by Baer. She included in her letter to ARC a list

of Baer employees, which included Workers, who had h’cx

underpaid. She classified them within the correct DOL job

App. 11

classification and calculated the amount of unpaid wages

each of these employees was owed by Baer.

7118 Also on April 9, 1999, ARC sent a letter to Baer

informing Baer that it had received a determination from

the MLMA that Baer had underpaid the complaining

laborers. ARC notified Baer that failure to pay wages in

accordance with the Davis-Bacon Act was a direct breach

of their contract. It instructed Baer to fully compensate

the underpaid employees in accordance with the MLMA’s

directive.

719 In May and June 1999, ARC submitted several

other requests for “new” job classifications to the DOL. On

the DOL request form, ARC recommended hourly wage

rates for these “new” job classifications. The Contracting

Officer, after conferring with DOL, notified ARC that each

of its requests was denied because job classifications for

the job descriptions included in the requests were not

“new” but already existed and were part of the project

Contract. The “new” job classifications ARC sought were

for work performed by the Workers, as well as other

laborers. The hourly wage rate recommended by ARC in

its requests was lower than the hourly wage rates as-

signed under the Davis-Bacon Act to the existing job

classifications. ARC did not challenge or seek further DOL

review of the USAF and DOL’s denial of its job classifica-

tion and wage rate requests.

{ 20 Immediately thereafter, on July 9, 1999, ARC sent a

letter to Baer attaching the Contracting Officer’s April 9,

1999 letter and instructing Baer to pay the listed employ-

ees in accordance with the USAF letter. Baer refused to do

so. Also in July 1999, ARC notified the Contracting Officer

that it was processing “an equitable amount” to be paid to

App. 12

the “parties concerned” and that a settlement was being

negotiated. Subsequently, ARC withheld some funds due to

Baer and paid these funds to Workers. These funds,

however, were insufficient to pay Workers the amount of

money owed to them according to the Contracting Officer.

No settlement was ever reached.

DOL Regulations

4¥ 21 The DOL regulations implementing the Davis-

Bacon Act contain specific provisions and grant broad

authority to federal contracting officers. The regulations

dictate precise language that must be included in each

federal construction project contract. 29 C.F.R. §5.5.

Section 5.5(a)(1)(iiMA) authorizes the contracting officer

for the federal agency to approve or disapprove any new

job classifications, wage rates and fringe benefits applica-

ble to the project. If the contractor or the laborers to be

employed in the classification disagree with the contract-

ing officer’s determination, the contracting officer is

required to notify the DOL and seek a DOL determination.

29 C.F.R. § 5.5(a)(1)(ii(C). In the case at bar, the Contract-

ing Officer conferred with the DOL before making the final

decision to deny the requests. ARC did not challenge or

seek further review of the Contracting Officer’s and DOL’s

denial. We conclude that these decisions became final

agency determinations.

4 22 The regulations also address enforcement of the

Davis-Bacon Act. The regulations impose upon the federal

contracting agency the responsibility to ensure that the

contract provisions in 29 C.F.R. § 5.5 are included in each

appropriate contract. In other words, the contracting

App. 13

officer has the authority to determine when the Davis-

Bacon Act applies to a federal project. 29 C.F. R. § 5.6(a)(1).

{23 The regulations require that the federal contracting

agency, in this case the USAF, “shall cause such investiga-

tions to be made as may be necessary to assure compliance

with the labor standards clauses required by §5.5....

Complaints of alleged violations shall be given priority.”

Additionally, contracting officers are instructed that

“particular care shall be taken to determine the correct-

ness of classifications.” 29 C.F.R. § 5.6(a)(3). This plain

language indicates that when the federal contracting

agency is aware of allegations of Davis-Bacon wage viola-

tions, the contracting agency undertakes an administra-

tive investigation to determine if violations have occurred

and, if so, what monies are owed to which persons. The

DOL provides to contracting agencies investigatory mate-

rial to utilize during these authorized contractor examina-

tions, including material with which to compute back

wages and liquidated damages based upon their investiga-

tions. 29 C.F.R. § 5.6(a)(4). While the regulatory language

appears to contemplate, if not impose, a mandatory duty of

investigation, the record in this case does not reveal to

what extent a USAF investigation occurred. Nonetheless,

the Contracting Officer reached the decision that the Act

had been violated and determined what monies were owed

to which persons. Under the plain language of the regula-

tions, she had the authority to make this determination.

Again, ARC and Baer did not challenge her authorization

or determination of violation.

{24 Moreover, while the regulations provide that the

USAF “shall” withhold sufficient funds to pay the laborers

in accordance with the contract, should the contractor fail

to do so or fail to submit payroll records (29 C.FR.

App. 14

§§ 5.5(a)(2), 5.5(a)(3)(iii) and 5.9), the statute makes such

withholding on the part of the federal contracting agency

discretionary. 40 U.S.C. § 276a(a). Whether discretionary

or mandatory, the USAF Contracting Officer had the

unilateral authority to make such a decision, but there is

no evidence that such funds were withheld in this case.

When the Air Force notified ARC that ARC was responsi-

ble for paying the Workers if Baer failed to do so, there is

no mention in the letter that the USAF Contracting

Officer was withholding or would withhold payments to

ARC with which to pay Workers if ARC did not. ARC

accepted the USAF’s determination of its responsibility

and did not seek a DOL review or investigation.

4 25 Furthermore, the regulations authorize the federal

contracting agency to terminate the contract in the event

the contractor or subcontractor breach the contract by

failing to comply with any of its terms. 29 C.F-R. § 5.9. See

also, 29 C.F.R. § 5.5(a)(7). Typically, once matters have

reached this point, the contracting officer withholds

accrued funds due to the contractor and administratively

diverts those funds to the underpaid laborers. However,

and despite the USAF Contracting Officer’s determination

that the subcontractor breached the contract, the USAF

did not fire ARC. Rather, it issued a determination of

violation, defined the remedy and instructed its implemen-

tation. Had the USAF withheld funds with which to pay

Workers, upon its recognition that ARC failed to pay them

the amount owed based on the USAF’s determination, it

would have been obligated to then take the actions neces-

sary to provide payment to the Workers. The USAF, which

supported the Workers’ claims from the onset, did not

indicate the availability of such funds. This supports

App. 15

Workers’ speculation that no funds were withheld by the

USAF with which to pay Workers.

726 In addition, 29 C.F.R. § 5.11 sets forth the procedure

for resolving disputes of fact or law concerning payment of

prevailing wage rates. Significantly, these dispute proce-

dures may be initiated by the DOL Administrator, the

federal contracting agency, or upon request by the contrac-

tor or subcontractor. Unlike § 5.5(a)(1)(ii(C) (which gives

laborers dispute rights over job classifications in the

contract), § 5.11 does not list aggrieved laborers among

those who may initiate wage dispute proceedings.

{27 This omission led the Second Circuit Court of

Appeals in Chan v. City of New York (1993), 1 F.3d 96, 106,

to determine that laborers who were to be paid Davis-

Bacon wages under § 5310 of the Housing and Community

Development Act of 1974, 42 U.S.C. § 5310 (HCDA), could

invoke a remedy under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 because “[t]he

laborers who are beneficiaries of § 5310 were not and are

not allowed to initiate administrative dispute-resolution

proceedings [under 29 C.F.R. §5.11]. Nor is there any

provision for a laborer to obtain judicial review of any

administrative decision.” The Second Circuit, therefore,

concluded that the regulatory scheme under the HCDA

and the Davis-Bacon Act was not so comprehensive as to

preclude other remedies.

{28 By contrast, in Reidell v. U.S. (1999), 43 Fed. Cl.

770, plaintiff Reidell, a laborer for a subcontractor, con-

tacted the DOL directly and requested the agency to

determine whether the federal contract under which he

was working was subject to the Davis-Bacon Act. The

contracting officer for the project had concluded that the

Davis-Bacon Act did not apply. The DOL reviewed the

App. 16

project and determined that the Act did apply and that

laborers on the project should be paid Davis-Bacon wages

retroactive to the commencement of the project. An impor-

tant distinction between Reidell and the case at bar is that

Reidell was seeking a ruling as to whether the Davis-

Bacon Act applied to a specific contract. The applicability

of the Davis-Bacon Act is clearly a decision within the

DOL’s expertise and purview. The Reidell court did not cite

the regulatory provisions relied upon by Reidell to initiate

the DOL’s review. However, under 29 C.F.R. § 5.5(a)(1)

(ii(C), laborers have the express right to challenge a

contracting officer’s pre-contract decisions regarding job

classifications and wages rates, and 29 C.FR. § 1.6(f) gives

the DOL the express authority to amend an existing

contract to provide for erroneously-excluded Davis-Bacon

wages and make those wages retroactive. Reidell, there-

fore, is inapposite to the case at bar because there is no

question that the Davis-Bacon Act applied to this Contract

nor were there any other pre-contract issues to be re-

solved. Workers are seeking to be paid wages that all

parties agreed to pay in the Contract and that the federal

contracting agency has determined are due.

4 29 Under the plain language of the regulations, labor-

ers may dispute pre-contract issues but do not have the

express right to initiate proceedings concerning factual or

legal disputes over the payment of prevailing wages. The

USAF, ARC and Baer all had the express right to initiate

the formal DOL dispute resolution process. However, none

of them did.

4 30 Lastly, 29 C.F.R. § 5.13 requires that “[a]ll questions

relating to the application and interpretation of wage

determinations ... shall be referred to the Administrator

for appropriate ruling or interpretation.” This provision is

App. 17

inapplicable to Workers because they had no questions

relating to the application or interpretation of wage

determinations. If ARC or Baer had such questions, they

should have sought a ruling or interpretation from the

Administrator.

{31 The Workers took all the proper steps in their

attempt to resolve this matter. The first step, complaining

to Baer, got them fired. The second step, complaining to

ARC, appeared to fall on deaf ears for several months.

Finally, the third step, USAF involvement, resulted in a

determination by the Contracting Officer authorized to

make such a determination, that Baer and ARC were in

violation of the Davis-Bacon provisions of their contracts

and were both equally responsible for paying the Workers

the amounts determined by the Contracting Officer.

Neither company, though both were adversely affected by

the USAF’s decision, challenged it.

{32 Every decision made by the USAF supported the

Workers’ claims. From the Workers’ perspective, there was

no dispute of fact or law as to the proper classification and

wage rate due the Workers. The Air Force calculated that

and set it forth in a letter for ARC. Under these circum-

stances, there was no reason for the Workers to initiate a

DOL investigation, nor under the plain language of 29

C.F.R. § 5.11 were they expressly authorized to do so. On

the other hand, each USAF/DOL ruling was adverse to

ARC and Baer but neither ARC nor Baer challenged any of

the adverse decisions. Rather, ARC accepted them and

demanded that Baer honor the USAF rulings. Baer re-

fused but did not initiate a DOL determination as it was

authorized to do under 29 C.FR. § 5.11. Had ARC or Baer

held information that rebutted the USAF’s decision in the

App. 18

matter, presumably they would have submitted it to the

Contracting Officer.

4733 In sum, neither ARC nor Baer have demonstrated

that any further administrative review was either neces-

sary or available to the complaining Workers under the

clear-language of 29 C.F.R. § 5.11. Moreover, they have

failed to even argue that such further administrative

review would or should have resulted in a different conclu-

sion than that drawn by the USAF Contracting Officer. On

these facts, we therefore conclude that ARC and Baer are

estopped from arguing that Workers failed to seek admin-

istrative review of the dispute.

4 34 It is axiomatic that it is the contracting parties who

are adversely affected by a federal contracting officer’s or

DOL’s ruling who appeal the adverse ruling. The party

benefitted by the ruling has no reason to do so. Surely,

neither law nor reason requires the “winning party” to

initiate an appeal in order to recover the proceeds of the

victory. More to the point, when the adversely affected

parties fail to exercise their statutory right of review, they

will not be heard to blame the Workers for failing to

appeal from a favorable ruling on their claim.

7 35 While 29 C.F.R. § 5.11 does not give laborers the

express right to initiate DOL dispute resolution proceed-

ings, this does not mean that the laborers have no obliga-

tion to pursue the remedies that are available to them.

Because § 5.11 expressly authorizes the federal contract-

ing officer, contractors and subcontractors to initiate

dispute resolutions, it is implicit that, if laborers have a

“dispute” about wages or job classifications, they must

bring their complaints to the attention of these entities so

that resolution of the dispute may either be accomplished

App. 19

informally or through the formal DOL dispute resolution

process. It is only when this process fails to result in full

payment to the affected workers, as it did in this case, that

our holding here will provide such workers relief.

{386 Under the circumstances presented here, we hold

that the Workers exhausted the processes available to

them. They traveled the “administrative path” only to be

thwarted and frustrated for over two years. Unfortunately

this “administrative path” did not result in a formal DOL

determination, without which the state district court

concluded Workers were precluded from seeking recovery

under the Miller Act. While we disagree with the District

Court’s conclusion, based upon our determination here

that the authorized federal contracting party’s administra-

tive decision became final when the parties adversely

affected by it failed to pursue review of it, the question

remains whether Workers have an alternate remedy or

whether they must bear the loss for the other parties’

breaches of contract and violations of the law. We therefore

must determine whether Workers’ claim for relief in

the State District Court, once they have demonstrated

exhaustion of the Davis-Bacon regulatory requirements, is

preempted by the Davis-Bacon Act.

Preemption

7 37 ARC maintains that Workers may not seek relief in

state court but, upon exhaustion of their administrative

remedies, are limited to bringing a Miller Act claim in

federal court. Workers assert that unless the Davis-Bacon

Act preempts a state action, they are not so limited and

may seek contract enforcement before the state court.

App. 20

47 38 Workers claim they are not seeking to enforce the

Davis-Bacon Act labor standards but are seeking to

enforce a contract that includes specific Davis-Bacon wage

provisions. This distinction is subtle but important.

Workers are not challenging the job classifications estab-

lished by the DOL for the construction project, nor are

they challenging the wages or benefits assigned by the

DOL to these job classifications. Workers are seeking to

enforce a contract requiring that they be paid pre-

determined wages for well-defined job duties. The USAF

Contracting Officer determined, based upon their job

descriptions, to which classification they belonged and the

proper wage rate for that classification. She determined

the number of hours the Workers performed the tasks for

each job classification and the total wages each Worker

was underpaid. Neither ARC nor Baer, both of whom were

authorized to dispute the USAF’s findings in this regard,

disputed or challenged these findings with DOL. There-

fore, there are no disputed facts that require the special-

ized expertise of DOL. This is a simple breach of contract

action. We must now decide, however, whether the Davis-

Bacon Act preempts state law and forecloses the opportu-

nity to use state remedies as an alternative or supplement

to federal or administrative remedies.

47 39 Both the United States Supreme Court and this

Court have plainly held that preemption is not easily

favored. “Because the States are independent sovereigns

in our federal system, we have long presumed that Con-

gress does not cavalierly pre-empt state-law causes of

action. In all pre-emption cases, ... we start with the

assumption that the historic police powers of the States

were not to be superseded by the Federal Act unless that

was the clear and manifest purpose of Congress.” Sleath v.

REVO pot Fi Datei ee ete aes

App. 21

West Mont Home Health Services, 2000 MT 381, 7 23, 304

Mont. 1, J 23, 16 P.3d 1042, 4 23 (citing Medtronic, Inc. v.

Lohr (1996), 518 U.S. 470, 485, 116 S.Ct. 2240, 2250, 135

L.Ed.2d 700, 715 and Cipollone uv. Liggett Group, Inc.

(1992), 505 U.S. 504, 516, 112 S.Ct. 2608, 2617, 120

L.Ed.2d 407, 422). This presumption against preemption

“can only be overcome by evidence of a ‘clear and manifest’

intent of Congress to preempt state law.” Sleath, 161

(citing Wisconsin Public Intervenor v. Mortier (1991), 501

U.S. 597, 610, 111 S.Ct. 2476, 2484, 115 L.Ed.2d 532, 546).

740 In determining whether a federal law preempts a

state law, including a common law cause of action, we

must determine whether Congress intended the federal

law to preempt state law. There are three ways in which

state law may be superseded by federal law. First, the

legislature may expressly include in the federal statute a

preemption clause, making it clear that state law will not

apply in the area governed by the federal statute. Second,

congressional intent to preempt state law in a particular

area may be implied where the regulation of the area is so

comprehensive that it is reasonable to conclude that

Congress intended to “occupy the field” and to leave no

room for supplementary state regulation. Lastly, federal

law may supersede state law when the state law actually

conflicts with the federal law. This type of conflict mani-

fests itself as an inability to comply with both the federal

and state law, or because “the state law stands as an

obstacle to the accomplishment and execution of the full

purposes and objectives of Congress.” Hillsborough County

v. Automated Medical Labs. (1985), 471 U.S. 707, 713, 105

S.Ct. 2371, 2375, 85 L.Ed.2d 714, 721; see also, Siuslaw

Concrete Const. v. Wash., Dept. Of Transp. (9th Cir. 1986),

784 F.2d 952, 955.

EES LNT TTT

App. 22

4 41 We first consider express preemption. The Davis-

Bacon Act itself does not contain an express state law

preemption clause; therefore, we will not presume that

Congress intends the Davis-Bacon statute to preempt

state law. When Congress intends a statute to supersede

state laws, it knows how to say so and does so expressly.

See, e.g., Employee Retirement Income Security Program,

29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) (2001) (“Except as provided in subsec- ~

tion (b) of this section, the provisions of this subchapter

and subchapter III of this chapter shall supersede any and

all State laws insofar as they may now or hereafter relate

to any employee benefit plan described in section 1003(a)

of this title and not exempt under section 1003(b) of this

title.”). See also, Federal Election Campaign Act, 2 U.S.C.

§ 453 (2001); Uniform Time Act of 1966, 15 U.S.C. § 260(b)

(2001); Armored Car Industry Reciprocity Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 5903 (2001).

4 42 We next consider whether the DOL regulations

purport to preempt state law. While the U.S. Supreme

Court has stated on several occasions that an agency’s

preemption regulations have no less preemptive effect

than statutes, Fidelity Federal Sav. Loan Assn. v. de la

Cuesta (1982), 458 U.S. 141, 153, 102 S.Ct. 3014, 3022,

73 L.Ed.2d 664, 675, the fact is there is no express pre-

emption provision in the Davis-Bacon DOL regulations.

Therefore, we continue our analysis to determine if the

regulations imply preemption or if conflict preemption

exists.

4 43 ARC argues that the DOL’s regulations “imply” that

Congress intended to occupy the entire field relating to

Davis-Bacon wages and left no room for state enforcement

of any dispute relating to the Davis-Bacon Act. While it is

well established that federal regulations may preempt

App. 23

_ other laws or remedies, the U.S. Supreme Court has

issued this caution:

We are even more reluctant to infer pre-emption

from the comprehensiveness of regulations than

from the comprehensiveness of statutes. As a re-

sult of their specialized functions, agencies nor-

mally deal with problems in far more detail than

does Congress. To infer pre-emption whenever an

agency deals with a problem comprehensively is

virtually tantamount to saying that whenever a ©

federal agency decides to step into a field, its

regulations will be exclusive. Such a rule, of

course, would be inconsistent with the federal-

state balance embodied in our Supremacy Clause

jurisprudence (citation omitted).

Moreover, because agencies normally address

problems in a detailed manner and can speak

through a variety of means, including regula-

tions, preambles, interpretive statements, and

responses to comments, we can expect that they

will make their intentions clear if they intend for

their regulations to be exclusive. Thus, if an

agency does not speak to the question of pre-

emption, we will pause before saying that the

mere volume and complexity of its regulations

indicate that the agency did in fact intend to pre-

empt.

Hillsborough, 471 U.S. at 717-18, 105 S.Ct. at 2377, 85

L.Ed.2d at 724; Siuslaw, 784 F.2d at 957.

144 The Court reiterated these concerns in Geier uv,

American Honda Motor Co. (2000) 529 U.S. 861, 908-09,

120 S.Ct. 1918, 1940, 146 L.Ed.2d 914, 949, when it

stated:

App. 24

While the presumption [against preemption] is

important in assessing the pre-emptive reach of

federal statutes, it becomes crucial when the pre-

emptive effect of an administrative regulation is

at issue. Unlike Congress, administrative agen-

cies are clearly not designed to represent the

interests of States, yet with relative ease they

can promulgate comprehensive and detailed

regulations that have broad pre-emption ramifi-

cations for state law. We have addressed the

heightened federalism and nondelegation con-

cerns that agency pre-emption raises by using

the presumption to build a procedural bridge

across the political accountability gap between

States and administrative agencies. Thus, even

in cases where implied regulatory pre-emption is

at issue, we generally “expect an administrative

regulation to declare any intention to pre-empt

state law with some specificity” (citation omit-

ted).

See also, Fidelity Fed. Sav. & Loan Assn., 458 U.S. at 154;

102 S.Ct. 3014; R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co. v. Durham

County (1986), 479 U.S. 130, 149, 107 S.Ct. 499, 511, 93

L.Ed.2d 449, 467.

4 45 The DOL regulations are detailed and complex —

they define relevant terms, they address contract provi-

sions, they instruct contractors on payroll reporting and

permitted apprentice and trainee programs, they dictate

overtime requirements, they set forth debarment proceed-

ings, and they describe how to initiate a dispute concern-

ing payment of wages. They do not speak to the question of

preemption, however. It is reasonable to presume, there-

fore, with all the other detailed mandates of the regula-

tions, that had DOL intended the regulations to preempt

2A LS eR COE

App. 25

other laws and remedies, such an express provision would

have been inserted.

7146 Moreover, the regulatory section regarding disputes

over the payment of wages does not even give an aggrieved

laborer the express right to initiate a proceeding. Pre-

sumably, if 29 C.F.R. §5.11 had meant for an “employee”

or “laborer” to have such a right, the regulation would

have expressly provided so. Instead, the regulations

expressly authorize the laborer only to complain to the

contracting officer if the laborer disagrees with the estab-

lishment of job classifications and wage rates to which he

or she would be affected. 29 C.F.R. § 5.5(a)(1)(ii(C). Absent

the availability of an express regulatory remedy for

laborers seeking payment of established wages, we are

loathe to imply preemption of other remedies.

147 We conclude, as did the USS. Supreme Court in

Geier, 529 U.S. 861 at 908-09, that regulatory preemption

will not be implied absent some declaration of an intent to

preempt. Such a declaration being absent here, we find no

implied preemption in the Davis-Bacon regulations.

748 Finally, we analyze whether state law remedies

would actually conflict with the Federal Act. There are two

types of conflict preemption: (1) “where it is impossible to

comply with both state and federal requirements”; and (2)

“where state law stands as an obstacle to the accomplish-

ment and execution of the full purposes and objectives of

Congress.” Williamson v. General Dynamics Corp. (9th Cir.

2000), 208 F.3d 1144, 1152 (citing Industrial Truck Ass’n,

Inc. v. Henry (9th Cir. 1997), 125 F.3d 1305, 1309). “In

determining whether a state law conflicts with federal

statutes or regulations, the federal-state conflict must be

actual and unavoidable, not merely possible.” Siegel v.

App. 26

American Sav. & Loan Assn. (1989), 210 Cal.App.3d 953,

965, 258 Cal. Rptr. 746, 752 (citation omitted). Additionally,

courts must “determine whether, under the circumstances

of [a] particular case, [that State’s] law stands as an

obstacle to the accomplishment and execution of the full

purposes and objectives of Congress.” Jones v. Rath Pack-

ing Co. (1977), 430 U.S. 519, 526, 97 S.Ct. 1305, 1310, 51

L.Ed.2d 604, 614 (citations omitted). ARC argues that

allowing a state cause of action to enforce wage provisions

in an employment contract based upon the Davis-Bacon

Act results in an irreconcilable conflict between the federal

law and the state action. In this case, we disagree for three

reasons.

4749 First, DOL’s dispute regulations prescribe how

factual and legal disputes concerning payment of wages

are to be resolved through administrative proceedings. 29

C.F.R. §5.11. Here, the amount of wages and the job

classifications have already been established and agreed

upon by the contractors and subcontractors. However,

even if ARC’s and Baer’s failure to pay contractuaily-

agreed upon wages qualifies as a dispute described by

§ 5.11, the fact remains that the regulation does not give

the Workers the express right to initiate the administra-

tive proceedings. Therefore, granting a remedy to an

aggrieved laborer who has no express administrative

remedy does not frustrate the regulations.

{50 Second, the purpose of the Act is to guarantee that

workers on federal construction projects are paid a speci-

fied minimum wage. Allowing the Workers here the right

to enforce the wage provisions in the Contract in state

court will not impose a hardship on the contractors.

Because contract enforcement occurs long after contract

bidding and acceptance, the contractors are still able to

whe ee ee |

App. 27

submit bids which include “known” labor costs in accor-

dance with the Davis-Bacon Act. Additionally, in a state

contract enforcement action, laborers are simply seeking

to recover the amount of wages contemplated in the

contract. Therefore, granting laborers an aiternative

remedy in certain limited circumstances does not frustrate

or undermine the purpose of the Davis-Bacon Act, nor does

it impose greater or unexpected labor costs on the contrac-

tors.

751 Lastly, the contractor discipline provisions in the

regulations are not frustrated by our conclusion. There are

three primary means of disciplining violating contractors:

contract termination, 29 C.FR. § 5.5(a)(7); withholding or

suspension of funds, 29 C.F.R. § 5.9; and debarment, 29

C.F.R. § 5.12. The USAF Contracting Officer unilaterally

had the authority to terminate the Contract with ARC

upon her determination that ARC had breached its Con-

tract with the Air Force. She also had the unilateral

authority to withhold funds from ARC or suspend pay-

ments to ARC upon a finding of breach. While she did not

have the authority to pursue debarment of ARC and Baer,

there was nothing to preclude her from notifying the DOL

that the USAF had rendered a determination of violation

and a calculation of wages due that has not been appealed

by the adversely affected parties. Such notice to DOL by

the federal contracting agency would allow the DOL to

take any of the regulatorily-authorized steps it considered

appropriate toward the violating contractor. Quite simply,

contractors who violate the law remain subject to regula-

tory discipline, whether or not the instant action goes

forward in state court.

752 Under the circumstances presented here, we hold

that a state remedy does not stand as an obstacle to the

App. 28

accomplishment and execution of the Davis-Bacon Act.

The Workers have complied with the federal requirements

to the extent they were allowed and this additional rem-

edy, in no way, will render it impossible for the other

contracting parties to comply with federal requirements.

We therefore conclude that the Davis-Bacon Act does not

preempt Workers’ right to a state enforcement action

under these facts.

Private Right of Action

453 ARC urges us to resolve this case under a “private

right of action” analysis. There are cases in several juris-

dictions holding that laborers do not have the right to

bring a private action against a contractor under the

Davis-Bacon Act, but may only bring a Davis-Bacon wage

action vis-a-vis a Miller Act claim. See, United States, etc.

v. Capeletti Bros., Inc. (5th Cir. 1980), 621 F.2d 1309; Oper.

Eng. Health & Welfare v. JWJ Contracting Co. (9th Cir.

1998), 1385 F.3d 671; Weber v. Heat Control Co. (3d Cir.

1984), 728 F.2d 599. However, the Seventh Circuit held

that an implied private right of action exists under the

Davis-Bacon Act when, as in this case, the express reme-

dies provided by the Act are not available. McDaniel v.

University of Chicago (7th Cir. 1977), 548 F.2d 689, cert.

denied (1978), 434 U.S. 1033, 98 S.Ct. 765, 54 L.Ed.2d 780

(McDaniel II). The Seventh Circuit’s first decision, reached

in McDaniel v. University of Chicago (1975), 512 F.2d 583,

was vacated by the U.S. Supreme Court, and the matter

was remanded back to the Seventh Circuit to be reviewed

in light of the Supreme Court’s decision in Cort v. Ash

(1975), 422 U.S. 66, 95 S.Ct. 2080, 45 L.Ed.2d 26. Univer-

sity Of Chicago v. McDaniel (1975), 423 U.S. 810, 96 S.Ct.

20, 46 L.Ed.2d 30. The Seventh Circuit analyzed the

App. 29

McDaniel case under the Cort test in McDaniel II and

reached its original decision for a second time. The U.S.

Supreme Court subsequently denied cert. See also, Norling —

v. Valley Contracting and Pre-Mix (D.N_D. 1991), 773

F.Supp. 186 and Stampco Constr. Co., Inc. v. Guffey (Ind.

1991), 572 N.E.2d 510.

754 It is significant that the U.S. Supreme Court has

considered many Davis-Bacon cases but has specifically

declined to resolve the “private right of action” issue.

Universities Research Assn. v. Coutu (1981), 450 U.S. 754,

769, 101 S.Ct. 1451, 1460, 67 L.Ed.2d 662, 674 (“Similarly,

we do not decide whether the Act creates an implied

private right of action to enforce a contract that contains

specific Davis-Bacon Act stipulations.”). We likewise

decline to reach this issue. Rather, because we find pre-

emption inapplicable here, and, in keeping with Montana’s

longstanding policy and constitutional guarantee in Article

II, Section 16 granting citizens access to our courts when

they are aggrieved, we hold that under the specific facts of

this case, Workers, as third party beneficiaries to the

Contracts between the USAF, ARC and Baer, may bring

and pursue a state claim to enforce the terms of the

Contract.

7155 This decision is limited to the named Petition-

ers/Appellants. There is no proof of class certification and

we render no ruling as to other potential claimants.

Moreover, inasmuch as Workers’ claims for either negli-

gence or for penalties under § 39-3-206, MCA, were not

decided by the state court nor raised on appeal, we will not

consider those claims here.

App. 30

Summary of Analysis

456 We agree that the Davis-Bacon Act and the accom-

panying DOL regulations theoretically provide an admin-

istrative remedy under which aggrieved parties to a

contract incorporating the Act may seek relief. We further

agree that the administrative procedure, when available

and not otherwise exhausted, must be routinely pursued

to its intended conclusion. However, when an administra-

tive remedy is not available or has been exhausted, and

the underlying statute and regulations do not preempt

state law, the Montana Constitution gives citizens the

right to bring grievances to our courts. The Workers have

that right in this case.

457 We hold that the Workers satisfactorily exhausted

their available administrative remedies by obtaining

unchallenged, unappealed USAF/DOL rulings, and that

the Davis-Bacon Act does not expressly or impliedly

preempt this state common law cause of action under

these circumstances. We further conclude that the Work-

ers, as third party beneficiaries of the Contract, have the

right to sue to enforce that Contract.

458 Lastly, we do not disagree with the conclusions

reached in Justice Rice’s Concurrence. However, having

concluded that the Workers had a right to seek a contrac-

tual remedy in state court and recognizing that the Work-

ers did not reinstitute their federal action before the Miller

Act statute of limitations had expired, we saw no reason to

address the rights which might otherwise be available

under the Miller Act.

App. 31

CONCLUSION

159 We hold that the State District Court incorrectly

concluded that it lacked subject matter jurisdiction.

Therefore, we reverse and remand to allow the Workers to

proceed with their breach of contract action against the

defendants.

/s/ Patricia Cotter

Justice

We Concur:

/s/ Karla M. Gray

Chief Justice

/s/ James C. Nelson

/s/ W. William Leaphart

/s/ James Regnier

Justices

Justice Jim Rice specially concurring.

760 I concur with the holding of the Court, but do so

under a somewhat different rationale.I agree that the

District Court has subject matter jurisdiction to adjudicate

Workers’ state law claims for breach of contract. However,

in reaching that conclusion, I believe it necessary to

analyze the Miller Act. The Davis-Bacon Act specifically

prescribes an available judicial right of action under the

Miller Act for the wages at issue here and, therefore, as a

Davis-Bacon prescribed remedy, the Miller Act must be

App. 32

considered in properly assessing the rights of Workers

herein.

4% 61 In addition to the conclusion reached by the major-

ity, I would also conclude that the Miller Act, allowing

Workers to sue the contractor and its surety on the bond,

as provided for in 40 U.S.C. § 276a-2(b) of the Davis-Bacon

Act, is not an exclusive federal remedy and, as such, does

not preempt or exclude Workers’ breach of contract action

under Montana state law.

4 62 Initially, I note that ARC was correct when it

argued that Workers cannot sue in state or federal court

under the Davis-Bacon Act for violations of the Davis-

Bacon Act. Neither the statutes nor regulations prescribe

any such remedy. The regulations implementing the

Davis-Bacon Act require proactive conduct on the part of

the Federal agency (USAF) and the Department of Labor

to protect laborers and mechanics working under federal

contracts with Davis-Bacon clauses. See 29 C.FR.

§ 5.6(aX3) and (b) (requiring the Federal agency and

Department of Labor to initiate investigations to assure

compliance with Davis-Bacon contract clauses, inspect

payroll data, and to determine the correctness of classifi-

cations, giving priority to complaints of alleged violations).

In the event of failure or refusal to pay, 29 C.F.R. § 5.9

authorizes the Federal agency to cause the suspension and

withholding of funds sufficient to compensate employees

for the wages to which they are entitled. If insufficient

funds are subsequently withheld to compensate employees

their unpaid wages, there is no remedy to sue under the

Davis-Bacon Act.

4 63 Rather, 40 U.S.C. § 276a-2(b) of the Davis-Bacon Act

provides that “[i]f the accrued payments withheld under

App. 33

the terms of the contract ... are insufficient to reimburse

all the laborers and mechanics with respect to whom there

has been a failure to pay the wages required pursuant to

this Act, such laborers and mechanics shall have a right of

action and/or of intervention against the contractor and

his sureties conferred by law upon persons furnishing

labor or materials. ... ” This does not refer to a “private

action” under the Davis-Bacon Act, but a right of action by

the laborer or mechanic on the contractor’s payment bond

pursuant to the Miller Act. See Ybanez v. Anchor Construc-

tors, Inc. (Tex.Civ.App.1972), 489 S.W.2d 730, 739. See also

Universities Research Ass’n Inc., v. Coutu (1981), 450 U.S.

754, 776-77 & n.28, 101 S.Ct. 1451, 1465 & n.28, 67

L.Ed.2d 662, 679 & n.28.

764 Workers were thus correct in arguing that this is

not a “private right of action” case, but rather a “preemp-

tion” case. As the only “right of action” provided to Work-

ers is a right of action under the Miller Act, the relevant

inquiry is whether the federal Miller Act remedy is the

exclusive remedy available to Workers when the actions of

the Federal agency and Department of Labor under the

Davis-Bacon Act fail to provide Workers with sufficient

funds to compensate their unpaid wages.

765 Creating confusion in this Scenario is the question

surrounding the exhaustion of administrative dispute

resolution procedures and exhaustion of administrative

remedies under the Davis-Bacon Act. The “administrative

remedy” provided for laborers and mechanics under the

Davis-Bacon Act is the withholding of sufficient funds by

the Federal agency/Contracting Officer to reimburse

laborers and mechanics their unpaid wages. The laborers

and mechanics can initiate such “withholding action” by

App. 34

giving notice of any alleged violations via complaints to

the Federal agency. 29 C.F-R. § 5.6(a)(3).

466 Upon a Federal agency finding of an actual violation

of the Davis-Bacon clauses by the contractor or subcon-

tractor, the Federal agency has authority to cause the

suspension of sufficient funds to compensate the laborers

and mechanics their unpaid wages. 29 C.F.R. § 5.9. If the

Federal agency fails to withhold sufficient funds, the only

remaining remedy under the Davis-Bacon Act is a Miller

Act action pursuant to 40 U.S.C. § 276a-2(b).

4 67 The administrative procedural prerequisite for an

actionable Miller Act claim is that Workers must give

notice of the alleged contract clause violations to the

Federal agency — the USAF. 29 C.F.R. § 5.6(a)(3). The

Davis-Bacon regulations provide no further administrative

procedures to be completed on behalf of Workers beyond

notification to the Federal agency of the alleged violations.

4768 For an actionable Miller Act claim, the Davis-Bacon

regulations also require no further administrative deter-

mination beyond the Federal agency’s determination that

the contractor or subcontractor is in violation of the Davis-

Bacon clauses. In fact, regarding any post-contract viola-

tions by the contractor or subcontractor, the regulations

provide no option for the laborers and mechanics other

than to complain of the alleged violations to the Federal

agency, as the regulations contain no provision for the

laborers and mechanics to appeal to the Department

of Labor. Neither do the regulations require the Depart-

ment of Labor to make a post-contract determination of

App. 35

prevailing wages and employment classifications subse-

quent to the Federal agency’s proper exercise of post-

contract authority in making such determinations.'

7169 Following Workers’ complaint of the alleged viola-

tions, the only subsequent administrative determinations

essential to an actionable Miller Act claim are a determi-

nation of prevailing wages and a determination of the

correct classifications for Workers. See 40 U.S.C. §§ 276a

through 276a-2(b). These determinations cannot be made

judicially, as the judiciary has no authority or jurisdiction

to determine the correctness of prevailing wages or the

correctness of employee wage classifications under the

Davis-Bacon Act. See United States v. Binghamton Constr.

Co. (1954), 347 U.S. 171, 177, 74 S.Ct. 438, 441, 98 L.Ed.

594, 599 (“[t]he correctness of the [Department of Labor’s]

determination is not open to attack on judicial review”).

{70 Applied to the present situation, the Department of

Labor initially exercised its authority, pursuant to 40

' The “contract provisions” in 29 C.FR. § 5.5, dealing with pre-

contract determinations have been interpreted to require further post-

contract administrative determinations by the Department of Labor if

workers file a complaint alleging underpayment of wages due. See, e.g.,

Davis v. Hardaway Contracting Co. (Ark. 1965), 386 S.W2d 707.

However, such interpretation is incorrect and contrary to a plain

reading of the regulations. The contract provisions in 29 C.F.R. § 5.5,

requiring classification disputes to be referred to the Department of

Labor, refer only to disputes regarding predetermination of prevailing

wages and classification of workers, occurring prior to letting of the

contract. See Universities Research Ass’n Inc., v. Coutu (1981), 450 U.S.

754, n.9, 101 S.Ct. 1451, n.9, 67 L.Ed.2d 662, n.9 (“(t]here is currently

no administrative procedure [under the Davis-Bacon Act] that expressly

provides review of a coverage determination after the contract has been

let”).

App. 36

U.S.C. § 276a, and determined the prevailing wages and

job classifications prior to execution of the contract. The

Department of Labor was thus correct when it denied the

request by ARC for “new” job classifications, as the De-

partment of Labor had already exercised its “final” author-

ity by its pre-contract determination of prevailing wages,

correct job classifications and correct job descriptions. No

party to this action disputes these findings and there were

thus no disputes of fact or of law to be resolved by the

Department of Labor pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 5.11.

4 71 Secondly, the Federal agency/Contracting Officer,

pursuant to 29 C.F.R. § 5.6(a)(3), determined that Workers

were correctly classified, and were, therefore, underpaid.

As noted, this determination is within the explicit author-

ity of the Federal agency. In other words, although the

Department of Labor is ultimately the final authority

regarding determinations of prevailing wages and worker

classifications, the Davis-Bacon regulations afford the

Federal agency authority to determine proper classifica-

tion of workers prior to entering into the contract, see 29

C.F.R. § 5.5(a)(1)(ii)(A) and (B), and authority to determine

the correctness of worker classifications subsequent to

contract formation, see 29 C.FR. § 5.6(a)(3).’ The latter

* Some case law from other jurisdictions hold otherwise, that

generally all disputes must be resolved by the Department of Labor.

Such case law is based upon misapplication of precedent. See, e.g.,

United States ex. rel Windsor v. DynCorp, Inc. (E.D. Va. 1995), 895

F.Supp. 844. Relying on Coutu and failing to distinguish between pre-

and post-contract determination by the Department of Labor, the

DynCorp court concluded that classification disputes must be referred

to the Department of Labor. As noted above in footnote 1, however, the

Coutu court explicitly distinguished between pre- and post-contract

determinations and specifically noted that the regulations contain no

(Continued on following page)

App. 37

authority can be exercised by the Federal agency upon its

own initiative or after complaints of alleged violations filed

by laborers and mechanics.

{72 The above two administrative determinations by the

Department of Labor and the Federal agency, as correctly

noted by the majority, fully exhausted all administrative

procedures and the administrative dispute resolution

process. The result — that Workers were not fully reim-

bursed for unpaid wages — was not a failure of the admin-

istrative dispute resolution process as the Court here

finds. To the contrary, there were no disputes to be admin-

istratively resolved and the process worked as intended.°

{73 With the successful completion of the administra-

tive process, it having been properly determined that the

accrued payments withheld were insufficient to reimburse

Workers for unpaid wages according to their correct

classifications, Workers were free to exercise the final

federal remedy provided by 40 U.S.C. § 276a-2(b) of the

Davis-Bacon Act: a judicial right of action by Workers

administrative procedure that expressly provides review of a coverage

determination after the contract has been let.

*. Pursuant to 29 C.FR. § 5.7(a)(2), it is the sole responsibility of

the Federal agency to report any violations by the contractor or

subcontractor to the Department of Labor. However, a failure of the

Federal agency to do so has no repercussions on the rights of the

complaining laborers and mechanics to receive unpaid wages or to

pursue their right of action under the Miller Act, nor does the failure of

the Federal agency to submit its mandatory report, as apparently

occurred in the present situation, imply that the laborers or mechanics

must somehow supplement such inaction by notifying the Department

of Labor of the Federal agency’s findings.

App. 38

against the contractor and its surety on the bond pursuant

to the Miller Act.

4 74 Anecessary question before this Court, therefore, is

whether the federal Miller Act remedy is intended to be

the exclusive remedy available to Workers or whether

Workers may, in the alternative, avail themselves to

available Montana state law remedies.

{75 The United States Courts of Appeals for the Second,

Fifth, Ninth and Tenth Circuits have considered the issue

of whether the federal Miller Act provides an exclusive

remedy to laborers and mechanics, and these Courts of

Appeals have concluded that it does not. See United States

v. Reid & Gary Strickland Co. (5th Cir. 1999), 161 F.3d

915, 919; Wright v. United States Postal Service (9th Cir.

1994) 29 F.3d 1426, 1431; K-W Industries v. National

Surety Corp. (9th Cir. 1988), 855 F.2d 640, 643; Active Fire

Sprinkler Corp. v. United States Postal Service (2nd Cir.

1987), 811 F.2d 747, 754; United States v. Ins. Co. of North

America (10th Cir. 1982), 695 F.2d 455, 458.

{76 The Supreme Courts of Nevada and Wisconsin have

likewise held. See Hoffmeister Cabinets of Nevada, Inc. v.

Bivins (Nev. 1971), 486 P.2d 57, 58; Voelz v. Milgram

Contracting Co. (Wis. 1956), 75 N.W.2d 305, 306 (holding

that the Miller Act is the exclusive remedy only to an

action brought “on the bond” and not to some other suit

not based on the bond directly).

7 77 Similarly, the United States District Courts in

California, Texas and Massachusetts are in agreement.

See United States v. Wausau Insurance Cos. (E.D. Cal.

1991), 755 F.Supp. 906, 909; Alvarez v. Insurance Co. of

North America (N.D. Cal. 1987), 667 F.Supp. 689, 693-95;

United States v. Robert E. McKee, Inc. (N.D. Tex. 1988),

nasa Aa lll att egg mmmamancamaemmmammae

App. 39

702 F.Supp. 1298, 1302; United States v. Sovereign Constr.

Co. (D. Mass.), 311 F.Supp. 371, 372.

7178 Finally, in another important ruling, the Eighth

Circuit Court of Appeals has held that the Davis-Bacon

and Miller Acts have different and independent aims, and

do not, either explicitly or implicitly, limit one another. See

United States v. W.H. Cates Constr. Co. Inc. (8th Cir. 1992),

972 F.2d 987, 992.

{79 I would likewise conclude that the Miller Act is not

the exclusive remedy to Workers in the present situation,

subject to any actual frustration by state law remedies of

the purposes or goals of either the Miller Act or the Davis-

Bacon Act. A breach of contract remedy under Montana

state law, however, does not frustrate or impede the goal of

the Miller Act to create a substitute lien via right of bond

action against a surety. In both a Miller Act action or

breach of contract action, Workers are provided with a

remedy to receive unpaid wages which are due. Based on

the foregoing, I conclude that workers are free to pursue

their state law claims for breach of contract.

{80 For the above reasons, I concur with the result

reached by the majority and also conclude that the Miller

Act remedy, provided in 40 U.S.C. § 276a-2(b) of the Davis-

Bacon Act, is not the exclusive remedy to Workers in this

case, but that Workers are free to pursue their breach of

contract action under Montana state law.

/s/ Jim Rice

Justice

App. 40

Justice Terry N. Trieweiler concurring and dissenting.

4 81 Iconcur with the result of the majority Opinion and

with much of what is said in that Opinion. However, I also

conclude that the majority has unnecessarily and, contrary

to our prior decisional law, limited the effect of its Opinion,

thereby depriving other aggrieved workers of its benefit.

From those limitations placed on this Opinion, I dissent.

4 82 I agree with what is said in Justice Rice’s concur-

ring Opinion except for his conclusion that an employee

cannot sue directly to enforce his rights provided by the

Davis-Bacon Act. However, I would resolve the issue in

this case more directly and without the inference that

there was an effective administrative remedy available to

| the Plaintiffs pursuant to the Davis-Bacon Act.

4 83 As noted by the majority, the contract between

American Renovation and Construction Company and the

United States Air Force required not only that ARC pay its

laborers’ prevailing wages pursuant to the Davis-Bacon

Act, but also required that ARC require its subcontractors

to pay those wages. Assuming the Plaintiffs’ allegations to

be correct, it did not do so.

4 84 The question in this case was not, as decided by the

District Court, whether the Davis-Bacon Act provides a

direct cause of action pursuant to the Supreme Court’s

analysis in Cort v. Ash (1975), 422 U.S. 66, 95 S.Ct. 2080,

45 L.Ed.2d 26. (Although I would hold as in McDaniel v.

University of Chicago (7th Cir. 1977), 548 F.2d 689, cert.

den’d., 434 U.S. 1033, 98 S.Ct. 765, 54 L.Ed.2d 780, (1978),

that it does.) The question is whether the Davis-Bacon Act

preempts the Plaintiffs’ state remedies such as their

claims for breach of contract and negligence. I agree with

the majority’s analysis of the preemption issue with the

it enen: 7-2 “arma TRIS PRO aan meme

OK AP I aa ae eS. BCI dee

.

SDS GRR ote tear ecacene Maptagt

App. 41

exception that I would not under any circumstance infer

preemption by federal administrative regulations. The

question is whether Congress intended preemption of state

law. I do not believe comprehensive administrative regula-

tion could ever shed any light on that issue.

{ 85 I agree with the result of the majority's preemption

analysis. However, I would not limit the conclusion that a

common law breach of contract action presents no conflict

with the statutory and regulatory scheme of the Davis-

Bacon Act to the facts of this case as the majority has done

in { 48 of its Opinion. I would conclude that a breach of

contract action to enforce those protections provided to

workers through the Davis-Bacon Act can never conflict

with the Act which the majority concedes was enacted to

protect workers on federal construction projects. How

could allowing workers to enforce their right to prevailing

wages conflict with federal law requiring that they be paid

prevailing wages? It seems to me the majority’s analysis in

that regard is unnecessarily complicated and the major-

ity’s conclusion is unnecessarily limited.

7 86 Nor do I join in the majority’s conclusion at 4 33

that Baer and ARC are estopped from arguing that the

Plaintiffs failed to exhaust their administrative remedies.

I would simply conclude that there were no effective

administrative remedies available to the Plaintiffs nor,

other than the practical limitations pointed out by Justice

Rice (regarding DOL determination of the proper job

classification and prevailing wage), is there any require-

ment in our prior case law that people protected by a

federal statutory scheme exhaust that statutory remedy

before pursuing an independent state remedy. For the

same reason, I disagree with the majority’s conclusion in

{ 35 that the Plaintiffs in this case had an obligation to

App. 42

make their complaints to the contractor, subcontractor,

contracting agency or Department of Labor before bringing

a state law action for breach of contract or negligence.

While common sense and practicality suggest that those

efforts first be made, there is nothing in the law that

requires it.

7 87 Finally, I strongly disagree with the majority’s

conclusions in ] 56 of the majority Opinion that the Davis-

Bacon Act and DOL regulations provide workers an

effective remedy for contract violations or that the admin-

istrative remedy musi be pursued to its intended conclu-

sion. The first conclusion is completely inconsistent with

the majority’s observations in 7 26 and 29 of its Opinion

that only the DOL, contracting agency or private contrac-

tor can initiate dispute resolution proceedings regarding

the payment of prevailing wages. A regulatory scheme

which leaves the rights of workers totally up to federal

agencies and their private contractors is no remedy what-

soever to a worker who has been denied his or her prevail-

ing wage.

4 88 Finally, once the Court has considered whether the

Davis-Bacon Act preempts state law claims, I would

conclude it is only necessary to look to our prior case law

to determine whether Plaintiffs’ claims in this case were

properly dismissed. We have already decided this identical

issue in State ex rel. Farm Credit Bank of Spokane v. Dist.

Court of Third Jud. Dist. (1994), 267 Mont. 1, 881 P.2d

594. However, the Farm Credit decision is not even men-

tioned in either the majority Opinion or Justice Rice’s

concurring Opinion.

4 89 In Farm Credit, the Plaintiffs filed a state law claim

for damages from Farm Credit Bank of Spokane. Among

App. 43

their claims, Plaintiffs alleged that the Bank breached its

contract with them by not complying with the Agricultural

Credit Act of 1987, the terms of which were incorporated

into the contract between the parties. The District Court

dismissed the Plaintiffs’ breach of contract claim based on

preemption by the Agricultural Credit Act. On appeal, the

Bank contended, as does the Defendant in this case, that

the District Court should be affirmed because, based on

federal authority, there is no direct cause of action avail-

able to a borrower for enforcement of the terms of the

Agricultural Credit Act. Plaintiffs, on the other hand,

pointed out that they were not relying on the creation of a

private cause of action to enforce the Agricultural Credit

Act. They simply sought to enforce those provisions of the

Act which had been incorporated in the terms of their

contract with the Bank.

7190 In Farm Credit, we first held, as the majority does

in this case, that it is not necessary to analyze whether

Congress intended to permit a private right of action to

enforce the Act. We held that:

By including reference to the Act as a controlling

contract term, the FCB is bound by the terms of

the Act under the contract, and the Graveleys

have the same right to enforce the provisions of

the Act as the parties have to enforce any other

provision in the contract.

Farm Credit, 267 Mont. at 17, 881 P.2d at 603.

191 We pointed out that “while the existence of a private

cause of action is correctly analyzed under Cort v, Ash,

federal preemption is analyzed differently.” Farm Credit,

267 Mont. at 17, 881 P2dq at 603. Based on the same

analytical process employed by the majority in this case,

App. 44

we concluded that not only was there no conflict between

the private cause of action and the Act, but that the

private cause of action furthered the purpose of the federal

legislation. In relevant language, we stated:

There is no basis for concluding that simply be-

cause Congress provided for a minimum proce-

dure for reviewing a loan officer’s decision that it

meant to foreclose any other method of enforcing

the right to restructure provided for by statute.

Farm Credit, 267 Mont. at 20, 881 P.2d at 605.

9 92 We concluded that because the terms of the Act

were incorporated by the parties as a term of their con-

tract, those terms were as enforceable in a court of law as

any other contract term. Farm Credit, 267 Mont. at 20-21,

881 P.2d at 606.

493 If a minimum procedure for reviewing a loan offi-

cer’s decision does not foreclose other methods of enforcing

rights provided for by contract, certainly the administra-

tive process alluded to by the majority would not foreclose

the Plaintiffs’ claim in this case. In this case, Plaintiffs did

not even have a right to initiate a fact finding process by

which to resolve their claim that they were denied the

prevailing wage for their job classification.

4 94 For these reasons, and based on our prior decision

in Farm Credit, I would reverse the judgment of the

District Court and I concur in the majority’s decision to do

so. However, I dissent from the majority’s unnecessary and

legally incorrect limitations on the application of its

Opinion. I believe that the majority’ limiting language

will lead to confusion by future litigants and leave the door

REA A RE NS RRR So NA ht: bh Si rlige Seton sehr aR

;

:

5

:

i

App. 45

open for future avoidance of what should have been a

simple and unequivocal conclusion in this case.

/s/ Terry Trieweiler

Justice

App. 46

MONTANA EIGHTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT,

CASCADE COUNTY

2K 2 26 2k 9 2k 2 9K 2 2 2 2 2 2k 2k 2 2k 2k Kk

BILL FAVEL JOHN )

PITZER, JOE LAMERE,

TOBY LAMERE, and CAUSE NO.

ALVIN BELGARDE, BDV-99-657

Plaintiffs, ORDER

Vs.

)

)

)

)

)

)

AMERICAN RENOVATION )

AND CONSTRUCTION )

COMPANY, a California )

corporation and JOHN DOES )

i & Il, )

)

)

Defendants.

26 OK 26 2 kk kk OK OK OK OK KK KK

This matter was before the Court on May 22, 2001, on

the Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss. The Plaintiffs were

represented by Lawrence Anderson. The Defendants were

represented by Marcia Davenport. This decision is based

on the briefs and oral arguments of the parties.

The Plaintiffs have brought suit against the Defen-

dants alleging six causes of action; breach of contract,

negligence, wrongful discharge, class action, malice, and

private attorney/common fund. All of the causes of action

are based on the Davis-Bacon Act. The Davis-Bacon Act if

[sic] a federal act which specifies what wages are to be

paid for what job classifications on federal construction

projects. In the instant case the Plaintiffs allege that the

Defendants failed to properly classify and pay them for

Ee cern

App. 47

work they did on the construction of military housing at

Malmstrom AFB.

The Plaintiffs have filed a similar suit in the United

States District Court for the District of Montana, Great

Falls Division. The Plaintiffs’ federal suit alleges many of

the same claims as the instant case. The main difference

between the two cases is that in the federal action the

Plaintiffs have named an additional defendant, St. Paul

Fire and Marine Insurance Co. St. Paul was the surety for

American Renovation and Construction on the military

housing project.

On February 1, 2001, Judge Richard F. Cebull issued

an order staying the federal proceedings pending a deter-

mination by the Department of Labor as to the validity of

the Plaintiffs’ Davis-Bacon Act claims. In making his

ruling, Judge Cebull noted that the Plaintiffs did not have

a private right of action under § 1 of the Davis-Bacon Act.

However, he also noted that a private right of action is

available under § 3 of the Davis-Bacon Act, which allows

private rights of action against a surety once the proper

procedures of § 1 have been followed and a determination

has been made that a violation of the Davis-Bacon Act has

occurred. Because St. Paul, the surety, was named in the

federal action, Judge Cebull stayed the proceedings

pending a determination by the department of Labor as to

whether a violation of the Davis-Bacon Act had occurred in

regards to the Plaintiffs.

The Defendants have filed their Motion to Dismiss on

the basis of this Court’s lack of subject matter jurisdiction

over the Plaintiffs’ claims. The basis of the Defendants’

motion is that there is no private right of action under § 1

of the Davis-Bacon Act — that the only private right of

App. 48

action exists under § 3 of the Davis-Bacon Act, and that

§ 3 only applies to sureties. As noted by the Defendants,

the surety has not been made a party to this action. The

Defendants have referred the Court to Judge Cebulls’

February 1, 2001, Order as further support of their argu-

ment. This Court agrees with Judge Cebull’s ruling and

finds it persuasive in this case.

The Davis-Bacon Act sets forth a procedure to be

followed when any alleged violations of the Act occur. The

first step for an aggrieved party is to file the appropriate

complaint with the Department of Labor. The Department

of Labor conducts an investigation and determines

whether or not a violation of the Act occurred. There is a

fund created under the Act in which funds are set aside by

the government from monies owed to the contractors by

the government. The purpose of the fund is to have monies

available to settle claims if it is determined by the De-

partment of Labor that a violation of the Davis-Bacon Act

has occurred. If it is then determined that the payments

withheld in the fund are insufficient to compensate any

aggrieved parties, the aggrieved parties can initiate a

private action against a contractor’s surety to recover any

sums still owing. The action filed against a surety is under

§ 3 of the Davis-Bacon Act and is termed a Miller Act

claim.

The Plaintiffs have attempted to make a distinction

between the general jurisdiction of Montana state courts

and a federal private right of action. The Montana Su-

preme Court has previously addressed this issue and has

found a similar distinction to be without merit. In State

Medical Oxygen & Supply, Inc. v. American Medical

Oxygen Co., 230 Mont. 456, 750 P.2d 1085 (1988), the

plaintiff sued to recover damages from an ex-employee and

App. 49

the directors of the defendant for the alleged breach of an

employment contract based upon a purported violation of a

provision of the Social Security Act. The trial court

granted summary judgment in favor of the defendant on

the basis that a Federal Securities Act violation does not

give rise to a private civil cause of action. The Montana

Supreme Court affirmed the trial court stating:

[A]ppellant claims that it is not asserting a fed-

eral claim but a claim under § 27-1-202, MCA,

and that a breach of federal statute comes within

the context of the Montana statute. We cannot

agree with this argument. [A] private right of ac-

tion is not available to appellate through an al-

leged violation of a federal statute unless certain

criteria are met.

First, is the plaintiff “one of a class for whose es-

pecial benefit the statute was enacted,” ... that

is, does the statute create a federal right in favor

of the Plaintiff? Second, is there any indication of

legislative intent, explicit or implicit, either to

create such a remedy or to deny one? . . . Third, is

it consistent with the underlying purposes of the

legislative scheme to imply such a remedy for the

plaintiff? ... And finally, is the cause of action

one traditionally relegated to state law, in and

[sic] area basically the concern of the States, so

that it would be inappropriate to infer a cause of

action based solely on federal law? State Medical

Oxygen, supra, 230 Mont. at 460, 750 P.2d at

1087, citing Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66 at 78, 95

S.Ct. 2080 at 2088, 45 L.Ed.2d 26 at 36 (1975).

The Montana Supreme Court considered the first

factor of the four-part test and stated:

App. 50

We conclude that the plaintiff is not of the class

for whom this act was enacted and therefore

hold, that as to the issue of a violation of the So-

cial Security Act giving rise to a private cause of

action pursuant to § 27-1-202, MCA, summary

judgment was properly granted in favor of re-

spondents. Jd., 230 Mont. at 460, 750 P.2d at

1087-1088.

This Court has applied the first prong of the above

four-prong test to the facts of this case to determine

whether the Davis-Bacon Act confers a private right of

action to employees for alleged violations of the Act. In

applying said test, the Court finds that no private right of

action is created under § 1 of the Davis-Bacon Act. “The

Davis-Bacon Act was intended as a ‘general prohibition or

command to a federal agency’ to require minimum wage

stipulations for federal government work contracts; it does

not generally grant a private cause of action directly to

employees.” Operating Engineers v. JWJ Contracting

Company, 135 F.3d 671 at 676 (9th Cir. 1998). !

Since the Court finds that the first prong of the four-

prong test has not been met and that, therefore, a private

right of action is not available in state court for an alleged

violation of § 1 of the Davis-Bacon Act, the Defendants’

Motion to Dismiss is granted. However, the Court also

recognizes that the Plaintiffs potentially have a private

right of action under § 3 of the Davis-Bacon Act. There-

fore, the Court is dismissing this matter without prejudice

so that the Plaintiffs, pending a determination of their

claims by the Department of Labor, may reinstatute [sic]

this action and name St. Paul, American Renovation and

Construction’s surety, as a party if they feel that a Miller

Act claim exists.

App. 51

There were other motions of the parties pending

before the Court. Because the Court has found the Defen-

dants’ Motion to Dismiss dispositive of the case, those

motions will not be addressed.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that:

1. The Defendants Motion to Dismiss is GRANTED.

2. The matter is dismissed without prejudice as

noted above.

3. The June 19, 2001, and June 20, 2001, hearings

scheduled in this matter are VACATED due to the Court’s

above ruling.

DATED this 12th day of June, 2001.

/s/ Julie Macek

JULIE MACEK

DISTRICT COURT JUDGE

cc: Lawrence Anderson

Marcia Davenport

App. 52

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MONTANA

GREAT FALLS DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, )

for the use of BILL FAVEL,

JOHN PITZER, JOE LAMERE,

TOBY LAMERE, and ALVIN CV-00-60-RFC-GF

BELGARDE,

Plaintiffs, nari

. (Filed

Feb. 2, 2001)

ST. PAUL FIRE AND MARINE

INSURANCE CO., a Minnesota

corporation; AMERICAN

RENOVATION AND

CONSTRUCTION Co., a

California corporation; and

JOHN DOES I and II,

Defendants.

Nee eee eee eee eee ee “Se”

This is a case involving a contract between the United

States and American Renovation and Construction (ARC)

for construction of family housing at Malmstrom. Defen-

dant ARC was the primary contractor, defendant Baer a

subcontractor’, and St. Paul is ARC’s surety who provided

a bond for the project in accordance with the Miller Act, 40

U.S.C. § 270. Plaintiffs here are individuals who were at

‘ Baer did not actually brief the issue, but joined in ARC/St. Paul’s

motion to dismiss and brief in support.

App. 53

one time employed by defendant Baer Construction, which

has its own Miller Act claim against St. Paul/ARC.’

Plaintiffs claim jurisdiction pursuant to the Miller

Act, 40 U.S.C. § 270, and defendants filed a motion to

dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, pursuant to

Rule 12(b\(1). The defendants requested and received,

without opposition from plaintiffs, a stay in discovery

given the potential dispositive nature of their motion.

Defendants further filed a motion to dismiss Count III,

which alleges the complaint as a class action. The motions

were briefed and oral argument was heard on J anuary 29,

2001. For the reasons given more fully below, the motion

to dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction is denied,

the motion to dismiss Count III is granted, and the case is

stayed pending further proceedings before the Department

of Labor (DOL).

Defendants first contend that while the Complaint

contains a jurisdictional statement that this action is

brought pursuant to the Miller Act, the claims are in

essence alleged violations of the Davis-Bacon Act, for

which no private right of action exists. Second, the defen-

dants argue that even if the Court were to construe the

complaint as a claim under the Miller Act, plaintiffs’

failure to observe procedural requirements for filing a

Miller Act claim merit dismissal.

Although the defendants have brought the motion, the

burden of establishing subject matter jurisdiction is borne

by plaintiff. Since federal Courts are courts of limited

* Baer Construction v. ARC/St. Paul, CV-00-12-GF-RFC

App. 54

jurisdiction, the Court must presume lack of jurisdiction

until plaintiffs prove otherwise, since it is plaintiffs who

are invoking federal jurisdiction. Kokkonen v. Guardian

Life Ins. Co. of America, 511 U.S. 375, 377 (1994). I find

that the plaintiffs have met that burden, in that a Miller

Act action exists within the structure of the Davis-Bacon

Act.

Paragraph 1 of the Complaint is a jurisdictional

statement asserting the existence of a federal question (28

U.S.C. § 1331) and relying on the Miller Act, 40 U.S.C.

§ 270(b). There is no dispute that this Court has jurisdic-

tion over Miller Act claims, which provides that “every

person who has furnished labor or material in the prosecu-

tion of work ... shall have the right to sue on such pay-

ment bond for the amount, or the balance thereof, unpaid

at the time of suit.” Id.

The gravamen of the Complaint is contained in Count

I, wherein plaintiffs allege breach of contract. The thrust

of the allegations in Count I is defendants’ failure to

properly classify plaintiffs by their skilled trades and pay

them in accordance with the requirements of the Davis-

Bacon Act — essentially, a claim for back wages. Count II is

a pendent claim (wrongful discharge), and Count III

realleges all paragraphs as a class action, relying on Rule

23. A fair reading of the Complaint supports defendants’

view that the claims are premised on alleged violations of

the Davis-Bacon Act. The import of this is that the Davis-

Bacon Act does not provide for a private right of action

under the circumstances provided here — at least not at

this time. The Act provides that the United States Comp-

troller may withhold payments from contractors and

directly pay workers “any wages found to be due.” 40

U.S.C. § 276a-2.

App. 55

The majority of courts interpreting the Davis Bacon

Act, including the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, have

found that no private right of action is created by Section 1

of the Act. “The Davis-Bacon Act was intended as a ‘gen-

eral prohibition or command to a federal agency’ to require

minimum wage stipulations for federal government work

contracts; it does not generally grant a private cause of

action directly to employees.” Operating Engineers v. JWJ

Contracting Co., 135 F.3d 671, 676 (9th Cir. 1998) (internal

cites omitted). This holding was in agreement with “the

majority of circuit courts that have reached the issue”

following the reasoning in Universities Research Associa-

tion v. Coutu, 450 U.S. 754 (1980), in which the Supreme

Court stopped just short of reaching the broad issue of

whether any private right of action exists under the Davis-

Bacon Act. Coutu, at 769.

Plaintiffs rely primarily on a decision from the Sev-

enth Circuit and other district court cases relying on that

case to support their contention that the Davis-Bacon Act

does contain a private right of action. McDaniel v. Univer-

sity of Chicago, 548 F.2d 689 (7th Cir. 1976). The case pre-

dates Coutu, is at odds with the Ninth Circuit holding in

Operating Engineers, and does not control the issue

presented here.

However, defendants’ position that no private right of

action exists under the Davis-Bacon Act is not well-

reasoned. Should workers find that insufficient funds were

withheld by the United States to satisfy Davis-Bacon Act

claims, a remedy nonetheless must exist for those workers

in order to achieve Congressional intent that workers on

federal projects be paid prevailing wages. I find that

plaintiffs have a private right of action that is contained

within Section 3 of the Davis Bacon Act, codified at 40

App. 56

U.S.C. § 276a-2(b).’ Section 3 allows what appears to be a

Miller Act action against a contractor and his surety “if the

accrued payments withheld under the terms of the con-

tract ... are insufficient to reimburse” the workers found

to have been underpaid. See Peatross v. Global Associates,

849 F.Supp. 746 (D.Hawaii, 1994).

Plaintiffs’ difficulty is that this condition precedent

has yet to be satisfied. Beyond the contracting officer for

the Air Force informing ARC that it had found mis-

classifications and under payments to twelve employees

who are plaintiffs in this action, no other administrative

determination was ever made. Disputes over classifica-

tions and payment “shall be resolved in accordance with

the procedures of the Department of Labor.” 29 C.F.R.

§ 5.5. All questions regarding classification and disputes

over rates of pay “shall be referred to the Administrator

for appropriate ruling or interpretation.” 29 C.F.R. § 5.13.

In the plaintiffs’ Memorandum (docket # 57, p. 19),

they request that if this Court concludes that the Depart-

ment of Labor must first make its determination on the

Davis-Bacon Act claims, then the Court stay this action

pending such determination rather than dismiss the

claim. This course is legally correct, and is effectively

supported by defendants in their reply brief (docket # 60,

p. 5) wherein they list the practical difficulties for jury

understanding at trial absent a DOL determination, and

in their further reply to the motion to dismiss Count III

* Cases cited to by the parties on the issue of whether a private

right of action exists under Davis-Bacon focused on Section 1 of the Act.

App. 57

(docket # 80, p. 5) wherein they state “without a determi-

nation by the Department of Labor that there has been a

Davis-Bacon Act violation, plaintiffs have no Miller Act

claim.”

Finally, as previously mentioned, defendants argue in

the alternative that the action should be dismissed for

plaintiffs’ failure to follow the procedural requirements of

a Miller Act claim. Whether the notice requirements were

met before filing this action presents mixed questions of

law and fact better made as a motion for summary judg-

ment. They do not fit within the confines of a motion to

dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, and are not

alternative grounds for dismissal under Rule 12(b)(1).

In conclusion, a determination must first be made by

the Department of Labor as to whether Davis-Bacon Act

violations occurred, and to what extent. If violations were

present, and if payments to the contractor withheld by the

United States are insufficient to compensate the plaintiffs,

the Davis-Bacon Act allows this action for recovery from

the surety.

As for Count III, defendants seek to have the class

action count dismissed, arguing that Rule 23 does not

govern Davis-Bacon Act claims. Defendants argue that the

action is governed by the “opt-out” procedures of the Portal

to Portal Act, 29 U.S.C. § 255. This claim is a hybrid of

sorts — a Miller Act claim authorized by Section 3 of the

Davis-Bacon Act. Plaintiffs argue that the court is under a

duty to certify a class, but that is not a correct statement

of law. Moreover, plaintiffs reliance on Hoffman-LaRoche

v. Sperling, 493 U.S. 165 (1989) is unavailing. Rather than

create such a duty as plaintiffs suggest, the Court in

LaRoche simply held that courts have discretion to

App. 58

facilitate notice to potential plaintiffs in a claim brought

under the Age Discrimination in Employment Act.

As a practical matter, the class could not be so numer-

ous that simple joinder pursuant to Rule 20 would not

ensure that all potential plaintiffs here are given the

opportunity to join the suit. Indeed, since a determination

must be made by DOL before this action can further

proceed, the employment records will establish the set of

workers who may be potential plaintiffs.

Accordingly, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that:

1) defendants’ 12(b)(1) motion to dismiss for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction (docket # 53) is DENIED;

2) defendants’ motion to dismiss Count III (docket #

70) is GRANTED, subject to plaintiffs being allowed to

amend the complaint to join other parties pursuant to

Rule 20 following the DOL inquiry;

3) this action is STAYED pending a Davis-Bacon

determination by the DOL;

4) the parties shall provide a joint status report by

May 1, 2001 and every 3 months thereafter during the

stay in the case;

5) the final pretrial conference set for April 12, 2001

and the trial set to begin April 23, 2001 are VACATED.

DATED this Ist day of February, 2001.

/s/ Richard F. Cebull

Richard F. Cebull

United States

Magistrate Judge

App. 59

Lawrence A. Anderson

Attorney at Law

18 Sixth Street North

P.O. Box 2608

Great Falls, MT 59405

Telephone (406) 727-8466

Attorney for Plaintiff

EIGHTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT,

CASCADE COUNTY

BILL FAVEL, JOHN ) Cause No. BDV-99-657

PITZER, JOE LaMERE, ) AMENDED

TOBY LaMERE, and ) LAINT AND

ALVIN BELGARDE —

: JURY DEMAND

Plaintiffs,

vs.

AMERICAN RENOVATION

AND CONSTRUCTION

CO., a California

corporation; JOHN DOES I

and II

Nee NN eee ewe we GS

Defendants.

COMES NOW the Plaintiffs, and for their cause of

action against the Defendants, allege and state as

follows:

GENERAL ALLEGATIONS

1. The Plaintiffs are residents of the State of

Montana.

App. 60

2. Defendant American Renovation and Construc-

tion Co. is a California corporation which does business

in the state of Montana.

3. Defendant American Renovation and Construc-

tion Co. has a contract with the United States of Amer-

ica and/or its agencies to design/build military family

housing at Malmstrom AFB in Cascade County, Mon-

tana, and has performed construction work under this

contract since March 1998 in Cascade County, Montana.

4. John Doe I does business as Baer Construction.

However, Baer Construction is not a legal entity author-

ized to do business in the state of Montana, and therefore

its legal name is unknown at this time, but will become

known in the course of this litigation.

5. John Doe I is a sub-contractor of American Reno-

vation and Construction Company in its construction of

new family housing at Malmstrom AFB in Cascade

County, Montana.

6. John Doe II does business as Four Winds Con-

struction. However, Four Winds Construction is not a legal

entity authorized to do business in the state of Montana,

and therefore its legal name is unknown at this time, but

will become known in the course of this litigation.

7. John Doe II is a sub-contractor of American

Renovation and Construction Company in its construction

of new family housing at Malmstrom AFB in Cascade

County, Montana.

App. 61

COUNT NO. 1

BREACH OF CONTRACT

8. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate by reference

paragraphs 1 through 7 above as if fully set forth herein.

9. The Plaintiffs were employees of Defendants John

Does I and II under the contract of Defendant American

Renovation and Construction Company with the United

States of America to construct military family housing at

Malmstrom AFB in Cascade County, Montana, under the

construction contract starting March 16, 1998.

10. The Plaintiffs are intended beneficiaries of the

contract by and between American Renovation and Con-

struction and the United States of America.

11. American Renovation and Construction Com-

pany’s contract with the government obligated American

Renovation to pay laborers working on the project in

accordance with the Davis-Bacon Act, including the Act’s

prevailing wage rate requirements.

12. The sub-contracts of Defendants John Does I and

II with Defendant American Renovation Co. also required

said sub-contracts to pay laborers working on the project

in accordance with the Davis-Bacon Act, including the

provisions of the Act requiring that persons employed on

federally-funded construction projects be compensated at

the rate prevailing for comparable work in the area (40

U.S.C. § 276, etc.).

13. Plaintiffs were working under wage classifica-

tions for iron workers, carpenters and cement masons, and

other skilled tradesmen; yet, contrary to the provisions of

the Davis-Bacon Act and the American Renovation and

Se ee

App. 62

Construction Co. contract with the government, Plaintiffs

were only being paid as unskilled laborers.

14. The Defendants have failed to properly classify

the Plaintiffs; and as a result, have failed to pay wages

and have failed to pay wages when due in violation of

provisions of § 39-3-206 M.C.A.; and, as a result, the

Plaintiffs are entitled to recover unpaid wages and penal-

ties in the amount of 110% of the wages due and unpaid.

15. As a result of the Defendants’ failure to pay

wages when due, the Plaintiffs have been required to

retain counsel to maintain this suit for the collection of

wages; and as a result, Plaintiff’s are entitled to recover

their attorney's fees and costs incurred herein under the

provisions of § 39-3-214, M.C.A.

WHEREFORE, the Plaintiffs pray ‘or relief as more

fully set forth in the Prayer for Relief.

COUNT NO. 2

NEGLIGENCE

16. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate by reference

paragraphs 1 through 15 above as is fully set forth herein.

17. Under the Davis-Bacon Act and the U.S. De-

partment of Labor regulations, Defendant American

Renovation and Construction Company had a duty to it’s

[sic] own employees and to the employees of it’s [sic]

subcontractors to pay prevailing wages and to monitor

subcontractors to assure that prevailing wages were paid.

18. Defendant American Renovation and Construc-

tion Company failed to use reasonaHe care to pay its

App. 63

employees and employees of its subcontractors prevailing

wages and benefits.

19. As a result of Defendant American Renovation

and Construction Companies failure to use reasonable

care, the Plaintiffs have not been paid the prevailing

wages, including fringe benefits as prescribed by federal

law.

20. As a result, the Defendant American Renovation

and Construction Companies failure to use reasonable

care the Plaintiff’s have suffered damages including

unpaid wages, fringe benefits, and legal penalties.

WHEREFORE, the Plaintiff’s pray for relief is more

fully set forth in the Prayer for Relief.

COUNT NO. 3

WRONGFUL DISCHARGE

21. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate by reference

paragraphs 1 through 20 above as is fully set forth herein.

22. The Plaintiffs were successfully employed by

Defendant Baer Construction Co.

23. The Plaintiffs reported to Defendant Baer

Construction Co. and Defendant American Renovation and

Construction their objections to the improper wage rates

they were being paid in violation of the prevailing wage

provisions of the Davis-Bacon Act.

24. Defendants Baer Construction, in retaliation for

Plaintiffs’ complaints, terminated their employment.

25. Defendant American Renovation and Construc-

tion Co. had a duty to its own workers and to the workers

seen apie

App. 64

of subcontractors to pay prevailing wages under the Davis-

Bacon Act.

26. Defendant American Renovation and Construc-

tion Co. knew or should have known that Plaintiffs were

being terminated in retaliation for their complaints to

John Doe I and to American Renovation and Construction

Co. in regard the violations of the Davis-Bacon Act.

27. Defendant American Renovation and Construc-

tion Co. had the power and the duty to prevent Defendants

John Doe I’s violations of the Davis-Bacon Act, and to

prevent the Plaintiffs’ termination by Defendant John Doe

I; and American Renovation Construction Co. neglected

and/or refused to prevent Defendant John Doe I’s wrongful

conduct.

28. Defendants John Doe I and American Renova-

tion and Construction Co., jointly and severally, knew that

their conduct would injure and did injure the Plaintiffs,

and proceeded to act in spite of their knowledge that their

wrongful conduct would cause injury to the Plaintiffs.

29. As a result of the Defendants’ wrongful conduct

herein, the Plaintiffs have suffered damages in an amount

to be proved at trial.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs pray for relief as more fully

set forth in the Prayer for Relief.

COUNT NO. 4

CLASS ALLEGATIONS

30. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate by reference

paragraphs 1 through 29 above as if fully set forth herein.

App. 65

31. Plaintiffs bring this action pursuant to the

provisions of Rules 23(a) and 23(b)\(3) of the Montana

Rules of Civil Procedure as a class action for themselves

and as representatives of and on behalf of all other per-

sons similarly situated, to wit: all employees of American

Renovation and Construction Co. and the employees of the

subcontractors of American Renovation and Construction

Co.’s contract with the government of the United States of

America to build military housing at Malmstrom AFB in

Cascade County, Montana, who are subject to the prevail-

ing wage provisions of the Davis-Bacon Act, who have not

been paid proper wages in violation of the Davis-Bacon

Act.

32. This class action satisfies the prerequisites set

forth in Rule 23(a) for maintaining a class action:

(a) the class is so numerous that joinder of all

members is impracticable;

(b) There are questions of law and fact common

to the class, to wit, whether American Reno-

vation and Construction Co. and its subcon-

tractors down-classified skilled tradespersons

to common labor rates in violation of the

Davis-Bacon Act; and whether American

Renovation and Construction Company,

failed to use reasonable care in the payment

.of wages and fringe benefits to it’s [sic] em-

ployees and subcontractors employees.

(c) The Plaintiffs’ claims in Count No. 1 herein

are typical of the class, to wit: Plaintiffs are

employees of subcontractors of American

Renovation and Construction Co., and said

employees have been paid common labor

rates for skilled trades work, in violation of

the Davis-Bacon Act.

App. 66

(d) The Plaintiffs will fairly and adequately pro-

tect the interests of the class.

33. In addition, Defendant American Renovation and

Construction Co. has acted or refused to act on grounds

generally applicable to the class.

34. Further, the questions of law or fact common to

the members of the class predominate over any questions

effecting [sic] individual members, and a class action is

superior to other available methods for the fair and effi-

cient adjudication of the controversy.

WHEREFORE, the Plaintiffs pray for relief as more

fully set forth in the Prayer for Relief.

COUNT NO. 5

MALICE

35. Plaintiff’s [sic] reallege and incorporate by

reference paragraphs 1 through 34 above as if fully set

forth herein.

36. Defendant American Renovation and Construc-

tion Company had knowledge that it and subcontractors

were not paying wages and fringe benefits as prescribed by

law.

37. Defendant American Renovation and Construc-

tion Company had knowledge that its employees and the

employees of subcontractors would be injured by its and

its subcontractors failure to pay prevailing wages and

fringe benefits as required by law.

38. Defendant American Renovation and Construc-

tion Company deliberately proceeded to act in conscience

or in intentional disregard or deliberately proceeded to act

App. 67

with indifference to the high probability of injury to the

Plaintiffs and all other similarly situated as a result of its

failure to pay prevailing wages and fringe benefits as

required by law.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs pray for relief is more fully

set forth in the Prayer for Relief.

COUNT NO. 6

PRIVATE ATTORNEY

GENERAL/COMMON FUND

39. Plaintiffs reallege and corporate by reference

paragraphs 1 through 38 as if fully set forth herein.

40. Defendant American Renovation and Construc-

tion Company has failed to pay its employees and its

subcontractors employees or has failed to use reasonable

care to see that its employees and subcontractors employ-

ees are paid the prevailing rates of wages and benefits as

prescribed by law.

41. The United States of America has declined or

failed to enforce the provisions of the Davis-Bacon Act to

ensure that all employees of American Renovation and its

subcontractors are paid the prevailing rates of wages to

which they are entitled.

42. Plaintiffs [sic] bring this action on behalf of

themselves and all employees of Defendant American

Renovation and Construction Company and the employees

and all employees of subcontractors for the purpose of

creating a common fund for which all such employees

similarly situated are paid the wages, fringe benefits and

penalties to which they are entitled.

App. 68

WHEREFORE, the Plaintiffs pray for relief as more

fully set forth in the Prayer for Relief.

PRAYER FOR RELIEF

WHEREFORE, Plaintiffs pray for relief as follows:

1. For past-due wages;

2. For penalties as provided by law;

3. For attorney’s fees and costs as provided by law;

4

For damages in an amount sufficient to fully

compensate the Plaintiffs for their wrongful dis-

charge;

o

For exemplary damages;

6. For certification of this matter as a class action as

prescribed by Montana law;

7. For such other and further relief as to [sic] the

Court seems just.

JURY DEMAND

Plaintiffs request a trial by jury of all issues triable by

jury in this cause.

DATED this 16 day of October, 1999.

Lawrence A. Anderson

Attorney at Law

#18 Sixth Street North

P.O. Box 2608

Great Falls, MT 59403

/s/ Lawrence A. Anderson

Attorney for Plaintiffs

App. 69

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that the foregoing was duly served

upon the following by mail, hand delivery, Federal

Express, or facsimile transmission, as indicated:

Marcia Davenport

CROWLEY, HAUGHEY, HANSON, TOOLE &

DIETRICH, P.L.L.P.

P.O. Box 797

Helena, MT 59624

Neil G. Westesen

CROWLEY, HAUGHEY, HANSON, TOOLE &

DIETRICH, P.L.L.P.

P.O. Box 10969

Bozeman, MT 59719-0969

[“~] U.S. Mail

[ ] Federal Express

[ ] Hand Delivery

[ ] Facsimile transmission

DATED this 16 day of October, 2000

/s/ Laura A. Jarvis

Secretary to Lawrence A.

Anderson

App. 70

40 USC Sec. 276a

Sec. 276a. Rate of wages for laborers and mechanics

(a) The advertised specifications for every contract in

excess of $2,000, to which the United States or the District

of Columbia is a party, for construction, alteration, and/or

repair, including painting and decorating, of public build-

ings or public works of the United States or the District of

Columbia within the geographical limits of the States of

the Union or the District of Columbia, and which requires

or involves the employment of mechanics and/or laborers-

shall contain a provision stating the minimum wages to be

paid various classes of laborers and mechanics which shall

be based upon the wages that will be determined by the

Secretary of Labor to be prevailing for the corresponding

classes of laborers and mechanics employed on projects of

a character similar to the contract work in the city, town,

village, or other civil subdivision of the State in which the

work is to be performed, or in the District of Columbia if

the work is to be performed there; and every contract

based upon these specifications shall contain a stipulation

that the contractor or his subcontractor shall pay all

mechanics and laborers employed directly upon the site of

the work, unconditionally and not less often than once a

week, and without subsequent deduction or rebate on any

account, the full amounts accrued at time of payment,

computed at wage rates not less than those stated in the

advertised specifications, regardless of any contractual

relationship which may be alleged to exist between the

contractor or subcontractor and such laborers and me-

chanics, and that the scale of wages to be paid shall be

posted by the contractor in a prominent and easily acces-

sible place at the site of the work; and the further stipula-

tion that there may be withheld from the contractor so

App. 71

much of accrued payments as may be considered necessary

by the contracting officer to pay to laborers and mechanics

employed by the contractor or any subcontractor on the

work the difference between the rates of wages required by

the contract to be paid laborers and mechanics on the

work and the rates of wages received by such laborers and

mechanics and not refunded to the contractor, subcontrac-

tors, or their agents.

(b) As used in sections 276a to 276a-5 of this title the

term “wages”, “scale of wages”, “wage rates”, “minimum

wages”, and “prevailing wages” shall include —-

(1) the basic hourly rate of pay; and

(2) the amount of —

(A) the rate of contribution irrevocably

made by a contractor or subcontractor to a

trustee or to a third person pursuant to a

fund, plan, or program; and

(B) the rate of costs to the contractor

or subcontractor which may be reasonably

anticipated in providing benefits to laborers

and mechanics pursuant to an enforcible

[sic] commitment to carry out a financially

respensible plan or program which was com-

municated in writing to the laborers and

mechanics affected,

for medical or hospital care, pensions on retirement or

death, compensation for injuries or illness resulting

from occupational activity, or insurance to provide

any of the foregoing, for unemployment benefits, life

insurance, disability and sickness insurance, or acci-

dent insurance, for vacation and holiday pay, for de-

fraying costs of apprenticeship or other similar

programs, or for other bona fide fringe benefits, but

App. 72

only where the contractor or subcontractor is not re-

quired by other Federal, State, or local law to provide

any of such benefits:

Provided, That the obligation of a contractor or subcon-

tractor to make payment in accordance with the prevailing

wage determinations of the Secretary of Labor, insofar as

sections 276a to 276a-5 of this title and other Acts incorpo-

rating sections 276a to 276a-5 of this title by reference are

concerned may be discharged by the making of payments

in cash, by the making of contributions of a type referred

to in paragraph (2)(A), or by the assumption of an en-

forcible [sic] commitment to bear the costs of a plan or

program of a type referred to in paragraph (2)(B), or any

combination thereof, where the aggregate of any such

payments, contributions, and costs is not less than the

rate of pay described in paragraph (1) plus the amount

referred to in paragraph (2).

In determining the overtime pay to which the laborer

or mechanic is entitled under any federal law, his regular

or basic hourly rate of pay (or other alternative rate upon

which premium rate of overtime compensation is com-

puted) shall be deemed to be the rate computed under

paragraph (1), except that where the amount of payments,

contributions, or costs incurred with respect to him ex-

ceeds the prevailing wage applicable to him under sections

276a to 276a-5 of this title, such regular or basic hourly

rate of pay (or such other alternative rate) shall be arrived

at by deducting from the amount of payments, contribu-

tions, or costs actually incurred with respect toe him, the

amount of contributions or costs of the types described in

paragraph (2) actually incurred with respect to him, or the

App. 73

amount determined under paragraph (2) but not actually

paid, whichever amount is the greater.

40 USC Sec. 276a-2

Sec. 276a-2. Payment of wages by Comptroller General

from withheld payments; listing contractors violat-

ing contracts

(a) The Comptroller General of the United States is

authorized and directed to pay directly to laborers and

mechanics from any accrued payments withheld under the

terms of the contract any wages found to be due laborers

and mechanics pursuant to sections 276a to 276a-5 of this

title; and the Comptroller General of the United States is .

further authorized and is directed to distribute a lift to all

departments of the Government giving the names of

persons or firms whom he has found to have disregarded

their obligations to employees and subcontractors. No

contract shall be awarded to the persons or firms appear-

ing on this list or to any firm, corporation, partnership, or

association in which such persons or firms have an inter-

est until three years have elapsed from the date of publi-

cation of the list containing the names of such persons or

firms.

(b) If the accrued payments withheld under the

terms of the contract, as aforesaid, are insufficient to

reimburse all the laborers and mechanics with respect to

whom there has been a failure to pay the wages required

pursuant to sections 276a to 276a-5 of this title, such

laborers and mechanics shall have the right of action

and/or of intervention against the contractor and his

sureties conferred by law upon persons furnishing labor or

App. 74

materials, and in such proceedings it shall be no defense

that such laborers and mechanics accepted or agreed to

accept less than the required rate of wages or voluntarily

made refunds.

40 USC Sec. 2706

Sec. 270b. Rights of persons furnishing labor or material

(a) Right to sue on payment bond

Every person who has furnished labor or material in

the prosecution of the work provided for in such contract,

in respect of which a payment bond is furnished under

sections 270a to 270d-1 of this title and who has not been

paid in full therefor before the expiration of a period of

ninety days after the day on which the last of the labor

was done or performed by him or material was furnished

or supplied by him for which such claim is made, shall

have the right to sue on such payment bond for the

amount, or the balance thereof, unpaid at the time of

institution of such suit and to prosecute said action to final

execution and judgment for the sum or sums justly due

him: Provided, however, That any person having direct

contractual relationship with a subcontractor but no

contractual relationship express or implied with the

contractor furnishing said payment bond shall have a

right of action upon the said payment bond upon giving

written notice to said contractor within ninety days from

the date on which such person did or performed the last of

the labor or furnished or supplied the last of the material

for which such claim is made, stating with substantial

accuracy the amount claimed and the name of the party to

whom the material was furnished or supplied or for whom

App. 75

the labor was done or performed. Such notice shall be

served by any means which provides written, third-party

verification of delivery. (FOOTNOTE 1) to the contractor

at any place he maintains an office or conducts his busi-

ness, or his residence, or in any manner in which the

United States marshal of the district in which the public

improvement is situated is authorized by law to serve

summons.

(FOOTNOTE 1) So in original. The period probably

should not appear.

(b) Civil action; jurisdiction; statute of limitations; costs

and expenses

Every suit instituted under this section shall be

brought in the name of the United States for the use of the

person suing, in the United States District Court for any

district in which the contract was to be performed and

executed and not elsewhere, irrespective of the amount in

controversy in such suit, but no such suit shall be com-

menced after the expiration of one year after the day on

which the last of the labor was performed or material was

supplied by him. The United States shall not be liable for

the payment of any costs or expenses of any such suit.

(c) Nonwaiver of rights

Any waiver of the right to sue on the payment bond

required by sections 270a to 270d-1 of this title shall be

void unless it is in writing, signed by the person whose

right is waived, and executed after such person has first

furnished labor or material for use in the performance of

the contract.

App. 76

40 USC Sec. 270a

Sec. 270a. Bonds of contractors of public buildings or

works

(a) Type of bonds required

Before any contract for the construction, alteration, or

repair of any public building or public work of the United

States is awarded to any person, such person shall furnish

to the United States the following bonds, which shall

become binding upon the award of the contract to such

person, who is hereinafter designated as “contractor”:

(1) A performance bond with a surety or

sureties satisfactory to the officer awarding such

contract, and in such amount as he shall deem

adequate, for the protection of the United States.

(2) A payment bond with a surety or sure-

ties satisfactory to such officer for the protection

of all persons supplying labor and material in the

prosecution of the work provided for in said con-

tract for the use of such person. The amount of

the payment bond shall be equal to the total

amount payable by the terms of the contract

unless the contracting officer awarding the con-

tract makes a written determination supported

by specific findings that a payment bond in that

amount is impractical, in which case the amount

of the payment bond shail be set by the contract-

ing officer. In no case shall the amount of the

payment bond be less than the amount of the

performance bond.

(b) Waiver of bonds for contracts performed in foreign

countries

The contracting officer in respect of any contract is

authorized to waive the requirement of a performance

App. 77

bond and payment bond for so much of the work under

such contract as is to be performed in a foreign country if

he finds that it is impracticable for the contractor to

furnish such bonds.

(c) Authority to require additional bonds

Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the

authority of any contracting officer to require a perform-

ance bond or other security in addition to those, or in cases

other than the cases specified in subsection (a) of this

section.

(d) Coverage for taxes in performance bond

Every performance bond required under this section

shall specifically provide coverage for taxes imposed by the

United States which are collected, deducted, or withheld

from wages paid by the contractor in carrying out the

contract with respect to which such bond is furnished.

However, the United States shall give the surety or

sureties on such bond written notice, with respect to any

such unpaid taxes attributable to any period, within

ninety days after the date when such contractor files a

return for such period, except that no such notice shall be

given more than one hundred and eighty days from the

date when a return for the period was required to be filed

- under title 26. No suit on such bond for such taxes shall be

commenced by the United States unless notice is given as

provided in the preceding sentence, and no such suit shal]

be commenced after the expiration of one year after the

day on which such notice is given.

App. 78

29 C.F.R. § 5.5

Sec. 5.5 Contract provisions and related matters.

(a) The Agency head shall cause or require the

contracting officer to insert in full in any contract in excess

of $2,000 which is entered into for the actual construction,

alteration and/or repair, including painting and decorat-

ing, of a public building or public work, or building or work

financed in whole or in part from Federal funds or in

accordance with guarantees of a Federal agency or fi-

nanced from funds obtained by pledge of any contract of a

Federal agency to make a loan, grant or annual contribu-

tion (except where a different meaning is expressly indi-

cated), and which is subject to the labor standards

provisions of any of the acts listed in Sec. 5.1, the following

clauses (or any modifications thereof to meet the particu-

lar needs of the agency, Provided, That such modifications

are first approved by the Department of Labor):

(1) Minimum wages. (i) All laborers and mechanics

employed or working upon the site of the work (or under

the United States Housing Act of 1937 or under the

Housing Act of 1949 in the construction or development of

the project), will be paid unconditionally and not less often

than once a week, and without subsequent deduction or

rebate on any account (except such payroll deductions as

are permitted by regulations issued by the Secretary of

Labor under the Copeland Act (20 CFR part 3)), the full

amount of wages and bona fide fringe benefits (or cash

equivalents thereof) due at time of payment computed at

rates not less than those contained in the wage determina-

tion of the Secretary of Labor which is attached hereto and

made a part hereof, regardless of any contractual relation-

ship which may be alleged to exist between the contractor

and such laborers and mechanics.

App. 79

Contributions made or costs reasonably anticipated for

bona fide fringe benefits under section 1(b)(2) of the Davis-

Bacon Act on behalf of laborers or mechanics are consid-

ered wages paid to such laborers or mechanics, subject to

the provisions of paragraph (a)(1)(iv) of this section; also,

regular contributions made or costs incurred for more than

a weekly period (but not less often than quarterly) under

plans, funds, or programs which cover the particular

weekly period, are deemed to be constructively made or

incurred during such weekly period. Such laborers and

mechanics shall be paid the appropriate wage rate and

fringe benefits on the wage determination for the classifi-

cation of work actually performed, without regard to skill,

except as provided in Sec. 5.5(a)(4). Laborers or mechanics

performing work in more than one classification may be

compensated at the rate specified for each classification for

the time actually worked therein: Provided, That the

employer’s payroll records accurately set forth the time

spent in each classification in which work is performed.

The wage determination (including any additional classifi-

cation and wage rates conformed under paragraph

(a)(1)(ii) of this section) and the Davis-Bacon poster (WH-

1321) shall be posted at all times by the contractor and its

subcontractors at the site of the work in a prominent and

accessible place where it can be easily seen by the work-

ers.

(ii(A) The contracting officer shall require that any

class of laborers or mechanics, including helpers, which is

not listed in the wage determination and which is to be

employed under the contract shall be classified in confor-

mance with the wage determination. The contracting

officer shall approve an additional classification and wage

App. 80

rate and fringe benefits therefore only when the following

criteria have been met:

(1) The work to be performed by the classification

requested is not performed by a classification in the wage

determination; and

(2) The classification is utilized in the area by the

construction industry; and

(3) The proposed wage rate, including any bona fide

fringe benefits, bears a reasonable relationship to the

wage rates contained in the wage determination.

(B) If the contractor and the laborers and mechanics

to be employed in the classification (if known), or their

representatives, and the contracting officer agree on the

classification and wage rate (including the amount desig-

nated for fringe benefits where appropriate), a report of

the action taken shall be sent by the contracting officer to

the Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division, Em-

ployment Standards Administration, U.S. Department of

Labor, Washington, DC 20210. The Administrator, or an

authorized representative, will approve, modify, or disap-

prove every additional classification action within 30 days

of receipt and so advise the contracting officer or will

notify the contracting officer within the 30-day period that

additional time is necessary.

(C) In the event the contractor, the laborers or

mechanics to be employed in the classification or their

representatives, and the contracting officer do not agree on

the proposed classification and wage rate (including the

amount designated for fringe benefits, where appropriate),

the contracting officer shall refer the questions, including

the views of all interested parties and the recommendation

App. 81

of the contracting officer, to the Administrator for deter-

mination. The Administrator, or an authorized representa-

tive, will issue a determination within 30 days of receipt

and so advise the contracting officer or will notify the

contracting officer within the 30-day period that additional

time is necessary.

(D) The wage rate (including fr

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.