Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Simon v. Schwartz

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

te

fA .

& 021229 FEB 14 2009

No. ee

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

r

v

STEVE SIMON, ALAN J. SPITZ,

and DANIEL J. KELLEY,

Petitioners,

VS.

ELLIOT SCHWARTZ, NICOLE C. GIAMPAULO,

WILLIE JO JIMMERSON, DANIEL RYAN, and

MARY ANN WILLIAMS, individually and on

behalf of all others similarly situated,

Respondents,

vs.

STRANGE & CARPENTER; MONTS & WARE, L.L.P;

NIX, PATTERSON & ROACH, L.L.P.; CROWLEY,

DOUGLAS & NORMAN, L.L.P.; LAW OFFICES OF

BARRY L. KRAMER, Plaintiffs’ Class Counsel,

Real Parties-in-Interest.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United State; Court Of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

&

Vv

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

v

LAWRENCE W. SCHONBRUN

LAW OFFICES OF

LAWRENCE W. SCHONBRUN

86 Eucalyptus Road

Berkeley, CA 94705

Tel: (510) 547-8070

Counsel of Record for Petitioners

Steve C. Simon, Alan J. Spitz,

and Daniel J. Kelley

* COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

1. AERA E REY Sw tenets - - . —— PH a A Re A ENN MERE LS IIE EL IO MONET IN aa 6

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether a district court, in awarding reasonable

attorneys’ fees in a statutory fee-shifting case, can cir-

cumvent this Court’s prohibition against contingent risk

enhancement (see City of Burlington v. Dague, 505 USS.

557 (1992)) by awarding fees under common fund princi-

ples when the fee is paid by the defendant separately, not

from the class’s recovery.

2. If the answer to the above question is yes, Peti-

tioners ask this Court to resolve the disagreement among

the circuits as to whether this Court’s decision in Dague

prohibiting contingent risk enhancement in statutory fee-

shifting cases applies when a court awards reasonable

at“orneys’ fees under common fund principles. The Ninth

Circuit, in In re Washington Public Power Supply Sys. Sec.

Litig. (WPPSS), 19 F.3d 1291 (9th Cir. 1994), has ruled

that Dague does not apply in such circumstances.

————————————

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioners: Steven C. Simon, Alan J. Spitz and Daniel

J. Kelley, individual plaintiff class members/objectors.

Respondents: Elliot Schwartz, Nicole Giampaulo,

Willie Jo Jimmerson, Daniel Ryan, and Mary Ann Wil-

liams, individually and on behalf of all other similarly

situated class members.

Real Parties-in-Interest: Plaintiffs’ Class Counsel

Strange & Carpenter, Monts & Ware, L.L.P., Nix, Patter-

son & Roach, L.L.P., Crowley, Douglas & Norman, L.L.P,

and Law Offices of Barry L. Kramer.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. ...........::0:ceseseeseeeereestees i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ............s::eseeeeeee ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS ...........c::ecceseeeeesseeseneseeeeeeees iii

INDEX TO APPENDICES .............cccceseeeeneeeeeeeeeeeneees iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...........:::cseessseeeeeeerereeeess Vv

OPINIONS BELOW ...........:cccseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeneneseenne ess 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ...........:::::2eeeeeeeees 1

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED ..............-.+++++ 2

INTRODUCTION .........0ssccsssccssccccessscesscccesscssceceeeneees 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE............::ccesseeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 7

STATEMENT OF FACT. .........:::seecesseeeeeneeeeeeereeeneees 8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............-++ 12

I. THE DISTRICT COURT’S AWARD OF FEES

UNDER COMMON FUND PRINCIPLES AS

A PERCENTAGE OF THE CLASS’S RE-

COVERY IS DIRECTLY CONTRADICTORY

TO THIS COURT’S RECENT DECISION IN

GISBRECHT v. BARNHART, 535 U.S. 789

(2002), AND UNDERMINES THIS COURT'S

DECISIONS IN CITY OF BURLINGTON v.

DAGUE, 505 U.S. 557 (1992), AND EVANS v.

JEFF D., 475 U.S. 717 (1986) ........eeseeeeeeeeees 12

A. The district court’s award constituted a

failure to follow this Court’s prescribed

legal principles for judicial awards of

reasonable attorneys’ feeS...............s:eeeee 12

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

II. THE NINTH CIRCUITS ALLOWANCE OF

CONTINGENT RISK ENHANCEMENT IN

AWARDING REASONABLE ATTORNEYS’

FEES UNDER COMMON FUND PRINCI-

PLES REFLECTS A DISAGREEMENT

AMONG THE CIRCUITS REGARDING THE

APPLICABILITY OF THIS COURT'S DECI-

SION IN CITY OF BURLINGTON uv. DA-

CF, SEB GB. GEC III enccecesisovesasecinsenseness 20

A. This Court should resolve the dispute

which has ensued as a result of its deci-

sion. in Dague, prohibiting consideration

of contingency risk to enhance the lode-

star when calculating a court-awarded

reasonable attorneys’ fee under a fee-

Se Be ikcxdacceusinstisnmannstiesensarabenees 20

CRF U AIT Anan istanininninwmicnedinensanionssmsinmesbensadunition 30

v

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Memorandum Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit (affirming the

judgment of the district court), filed October 10,

2002

Order of the United States District Court for the

Central District of California (granting class

counsel’s motion for attorneys’ fees and costs),

filed December 13, 2000..0.......cccccccscssseseeseoseescs.... App. 10

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit (denying the petition for panel

rehearing and for rehearing by the court en

banc), filed November fy Rs Pale! wennek App. 34

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Amchem Prod., Inc. v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591 (1997)........ 28

Blum v. Stenson, 465 U.S. 886 (1984) ..............cccccceseeeeeeees 14

Boeing Co. v. Van Gemert, 444 U.S. 472 (1980)................. 13

Bowen v. South Trust, 760 F. Supp. 889 (M.D. Ala.

ROPE). xtncsiesssencnsdviscesneoaiecteanaa aan 27

Brewer v. Southern Union Co., 607 F. Supp. 1511

CED. Cae. BEE ins isincsctnqecvessoenotansanibebuaneieamsainadanbeaneaieaad 26

Brytus v. Spang & Co., 203 F.3d 238 (3d Cir.

BOOED ixistxcivseeendtuntoncentoenmadeaianaaaa 12, 20, 27, 28

Charles v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 976

Br RN SIS CEP els ROE Pv ciascisoserintsinantentnsamnenoniin 29

City of Burlington v. Dague, 505 U.S. 557 (1992) ..... passim

City of Burlington v. Dague, 1992 WL 687821.................. 14

Evans v. City of Evanston, 941 F.2d 473 (7th Cir.

DED A) i ccniatusssesicsertneinuiiatnneisianenaadamaanadae 25

Evans v. Jeff D., 475 U.S. 717 (1986) .......... eee passim

Florin v. NationsBank of Georgia, 34 F.3d 560 (7th

CFU SIGE icvcessectctinsestnnceinsvinsecicedaaenesiamaaeienaanal 20, 24

Gisbrecht v. Barnhart, 535 U.S. 789, 122 S.Ct.

1817, 152 L.Ed.2d 996 (2002) .......... eens 3, 6, 13, 14

Gottlieb v. Wiles, 150 F.R.D. 174 (D. Colo. 1993)............... 21

In re Asbestos Litig., 90 F.3d 963 (5th Cir. 1996) .............. 16

In re Bolar Pharmaceutical Co. Sec. Litig., 800

F.C, SG CEE Os RD <iciecaivreredensittentiseeimennes 21

In re Cendant Corp. Sec. Litig., 109 F. Supp. 2d 285

CE ead. SPO sixcevssnuiccssnininsnencvensnetbandsealagassaannaneeaaealdl 25

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

In re General Motors Corp. Engine Interchange

Ebdlige, , GG FG TAGS CaF Fe i wcecvesecsvsvsoseesssvesccenevecteososonens 18

In re General Motors Corp. Pick-Up Truck Fuel

Tank Prod. Liab. Litig., 55 F.3d 768 (3d Cir.

EE scsskentpicieinléhiibcaiaiiascessbiiepnamnshiaauiiniitdsiaatandaiiansauate 16, 21, 26

In re NASDAQ Market-Makers Antitrust Litig., 187

Pe GE CRG se COP nttececesnecasnescevcuremnynenencinvenonssnes 25

In re Nineteen Appeals Arising Out of San Juan

Dupont Plaza Hotel Fire Litig., 982 F.2d 603 (1st

Ce Baa iieseiliasdecliscatdiccestidicineecacesemstnisdiazuatpianianmsnnes 21

In re Prudential Ins. Co., 962 F. Supp. 572 (D.N.J.

SPITE i nibibaicavecosnieciatneatdesstdainaadinianenchasdiathiaipenebeietdalannsects 22

In re Rhone-Poulenc Rorer, Inc., 51 F.3d 1293 (7th

GG iisirasiencdslacicantsiatotiagsindienansesntansiuiedbianmnacinaneed 29, 30

In re Washington Public Power Supply Sys. Sec.

Litig. (WPPSS), 19 F.3d 1291 (9th Cir. 1994)........ passim

Kayes v. Pacific Lumber Co., 51 F.3d 1449 (9th Cir.

Malchman v. Davis, 761 F.2d 893 (1985) .............cceecee eens

McLendon v. Continental Group, Inc., 872 F. Supp.

A es BD sncnenihiniecincacietatetabdeaeimanunapintnnticaantionee

Nensel v. People’s Heritage Financial Group, 815

Bh, hemes, BG. BR Be Pann evciericciceivcctvesonesnscnessnevssonvenes

Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council

for Clean Air, 483 U.S. 711 (1987) .........:ccccessserseeeeeesees

Reynolds v. Beneficial Nat'l Bank, 288 F.3d 277 (7th

SSL TTIITIE caciniteiicasceitaciescehiliatinsslseeiibtcennciaitamnannindighansneniidtuhetir

Szabo v. Bridgeport Machines, Inc., 249 F.3d 672

a I SITE Livin cikssscceectata idee patiecaepiansegigendedeaiabauimasiiaanianate

Viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Trief v. Dunn & Bradstreet Corp., 840 F. Supp. 277

aes iis See ree csesisiicitesisianscscniceapistscqahadaneninseilelabecieaiaideaniasichiiia 22

Trustees v. Greenough, 105 U.S. 527 (1881)..................008 13

Vizcaino v. Microsoft Corp., 209 F.3d 1043 (9th Cir.

TT kcsivnccsonaceinaninshicagsanstubesuiskabinnaansannbepeannadudiaiamisainaainted 25

Weinberger v. Great Northern Nekoosa Corp., 801

7. UD. BOE GD. BRO. RGD) .ncecicccscsocoscvcessocessccesconecse 21, 22

Wells v. Dartmouth Bankcorp, Inc., 813 F. Supp.

Se es IEE witcapsindensneeidinineinintnediniiiiommaneddinaaieitn 15

Wing v. Asarco, Inc., 114 F.3d 986 (9th Cir. 1997)......... 7, il

RULES

SPINE Ai MEL TT TI casiiisintinsinesenenansinieiobuiamdaiiialaneducadiualiiie 2, 6, 26

RA SERIE) SUNANY wisinishccinanennnsicausinaddaitaitaceicensbaiininsaiuaalanlooibedl 1

STATUTES

12 C.F.R. § 226.2(a)(11), Regulation Z..............ccccccccsseseeeees 9

15 U.S.C. § 1601, Truth-in-Lending Act (TILA)....4, 7, 8, 12

ae Sie OF IIE sitsnncciecscececcieninsinidueindencdaniabidiaiiintbaniamness 8

ee se I ncerisiieenabadiiantaiddeniinaaiatanainpsinsinias 2

15 U.S.C. § 1666(c), Fair Credit Reporting Act.................. 8

oor Oe Oe

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Budiensky, Stephen, How Lawyers Abuse the Law,

U.S. News & WORLD REPORT, Jan. 30, 1995.................4 5

Class Action System Survey, U.S. Chamber of

Commerce, Institute for Legal Reform, www.

litigationfairness.org. Poll conducted on May 11-12,

IIIT snscddctenteccsssseshausappesdeaandathacsersnnesenbesenieentenetanstenettenteenes 6

Cass ACTION WATCH, Analysis: Class Action

Litigation, A Federalist Society Survey (The Fed-

eralist Society for Law & Public Policy Studies,

Wash., D.C.), Vol. 1, No. 1 (1999)................ccrcccccccsscesees 6

Coffee, John C., The Unfaithful Champion: The

Plaintiff as Monitor in Shareholder Litigation,

Law & Contemp. Probl., 48 DUKE L. J. 3 (Sum-

INE I oo snsacenndsheiuadeaebaninbnednennnneneveoneese 6

Koniak, Susan P. and George M. Cohen, Jn Hell

There Will Be Lawyers without Clients or Law, 30

HOPFSTRA L. REV. 120, 155 (2001)........cccccccccccrrcccceccsceccees 2

MANUAL FOR COMPLEX LITIGATION (Fed. Jud. Center

SID isi cananiacuhcdebeidasagensnvabsatoseabaneuniansededenioedasteibeneniess 18

NEWBERG ON CLASS ACTIONS (3d ed.), Ch. 15,

Relationship Between Class Representative or

Counsel and Absent Class Members .............scccccessseeeeees 27

Priest, George L., Economics of Class Actions, 9

Kan. J. L. & Pus. PoL’y 481, 482 (No. 3, Spring

SUID ss ts daepenaunanslnbsneabeeinniesedediuniideeiennaeeueaiiepneneenecconte 30

Public Perceptions of Lawyers; Consumer Research

Findings, ABA Sec. of Litigation (April 2002)................ 5

Third Circuit Task Force Report, Court-Awarded

Attorneys’ Fees, 108 F.R.D. 237 (1985)........:.cceceeeeeeeeees 13

eA At a Aa tee HOE

1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners Steven C. Simon, Alan J. Spitz and Daniel

J. Kelley respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari issue to

review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit’s opinion (per Thompson and Rawlinson, C.J.J.;

Schwarzer (N.Cal.), D.J.), affirming the decision of the

District Court for the Central District of California, in an

unpublished Memorandum entered October 10, 2002, is

reproduced at App. 1.

The United States District Court for the Central

District of California, Order Granting Class Counsel’s

Motion for Attorneys’ Fees and Costs (Lourdes G. Baird,

J.), entered December 14, 2002, is reproduced at App. 10.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The United States Supreme Court has jurisdiction to

review this case on petition for writ of certiorari pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). The United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit entered its opinion on October 10,

2003 (App. 1), approving the decision of the United States

District Court for the Central District of California (App.

10). That decision was the subject of a petition for panel

rehearing with a petition for rehearing by the court en

banc. Said petition for rehearing and petition for rehearing

en banc was denied by the Ninth Circuit on November 18,

2002 (App. 34). This Petition for Writ of Certiorari is filed

within 90 days of the decision of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, and is therefore timely

under Rule 13.3 of this Court.

2

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

15 U.S.C. § 1640(a)(3), provides:

[A] creditor who fails to comply with the Truth-

in-Lending Act is liable “in the case of any suc-

cessful action” for “the costs of the action together

with a reasonable attorneys’ fee as determined by

the court.” (Emphasis added).

Rule 23, Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

INTRODUCTION

It is in the interest of all the participants in the

class action — save the absent members of the

class — to settle class actions by collusively trans-

ferring money from the class to class counsel. As

long as plaintiffs’ lawyers are willing to act in a

self-interested way, they will be rewarded by de-

fendants with extraordinary fees funded at the

expense of the class. Courts will not effectively

monitor the abuse because of their interest in

seeing cases settled. ...

Our experience and the available evidence of

class action practice [combined with] our under-

standing of the incentives built into the present

system sustains our conviction that collusion and

inadequate representation are everyday features

of the class action world — a scandalous state of

affairs.

Susan P. Koniak and George M. Cohen, Jn Hell There Will

Be Lawyers without Clients or Law, 30 HOFSTRA L. REV.

120, 155 (2001). (Emphasis added).

This appeal seeks to correct an abuse of Rule 23

wherein class action ple ntiffs’ attorneys, in consort with

the defendants, evade this Court’s decision in City of

Burlington v. Dague, 505 U.S. 557 (1992) (hereinafter

3

Dague), in order to obtain excessive attorneys’ fees at the

expense of class members’ recovery.

The subterfuge here in question was approved by the

district court and condoned by the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeals because the district court held that the distinction

between reasonable attorneys’ fees awarded under com-

mon fund principles and reasonable attorneys’ fees

awarded under statutory fee-shifting principles was not

relevant to the court’s fee adjudicating process, and that

“it exalts form over substance [to argue] that [this settle-

ment] is not a true common fund case.” (App. 16).

The district court proceeded to calculate reasonable

attorneys’ fees paid separately by the defendant under a

fee-shifting statute, using common fund principles. This

had the effect of awarding class counsel a fee which

included a contingent risk multiplier because, as a result

of the Ninth Circuit decision in In re Washington Public

Power Supply Sys. Sec. Litig. (WPPSS), 19 F.3d 1291 (9th

Cir. 1994), risk multipliers are permissible when common

fund rather than fee-shifting principles guide the court’s

fee award analysis.

The bar against risk multipliers in statutory fee

cases does not apply to common fund cases.

WPPSS, 19 F.3d at 1299-1300. (Emphasis added).

In permitting class counsel to engage in the separate

attorneys’ fee payment/common fund ruse, the Ninth

Circuit Court of Appeals disregarded this Court’s decisions

in Gisbrecht v. Barnhart:

[W]e again emphasize [that] the lodestar method

was designed to govern imposition of fees on the

losing party,

535 U.S. 789 (2002), 122 S.Ct. 1817, 1827, 152 L.Ed.2d 996

(2002) (emphasis added), and

Dague:

Enhancement for contingency is not permitted

under... fee shifting statutes. ...

Dague, 505 U.S. at 567. (Emphasis added).

The Ninth Circuit held that a reasonable attorneys’

fee paid separately by the defendant under a fee-shifting

statute can be calculated using either common fund or fee-

shifting’ methodologies.

We reject the arguments of the appellants ...

Simon et al. challenging the method used by the

district to calculate class counsel’s fees. ... Even

assuming that the settlement did not create a

“common fund” as a result of the agreement that

class counsel’s fees would be paid independently

by Citibank and Universal, the district court was

not required to apply the lodestar method to cal-

culate class counsel’s fees.

(App. 8; emphasis added).

The scheme devised by class counsel and defendant

works as follows: Plaintiffs’ counsel file a class action

lawsuit under a statute which provides for fee shifting — in

the instant case the Truth-in-Lending Act (hereinafter

TILA). Class counsel subsequently settle the case and the

settlement agreement provides for the creation of a fund

for class members but also provides that the attorneys’ fee

is not paid from the fund created for the class but through

a separate payment by the defendants to the class’s

attorneys. Class counsel nonetheless ask the court to

approve their fee request under common fund principles.

Under the Ninth Circuit’s WPPSS decision, Dague does

not apply when fees are awarded from a common fund.

The circuits however are divided on the issue of whether

* The Ninth Circuit refused to address the Dague issue.

5

this Court’s Dague prohibition against risk enhancement

is confined to statutory fee-shifting principles or is appli-

cable in common fund fee calculations as well.

For acceding to this separate attorneys’ fee pay-

ment /common fund contrivance, defendant is rewarded in

the event that the court reduces class counsel’s fee re-

quest. In the instant case, as a result of the fairness

hearing in which several objectors, including petitioners,

argued that the $9 million fee was excessive, the court

reduced the fee to $7.2 million. However, the $1.8 million

fee reduction was returned to the defendants, in spite of

the fact that under common fund principles the reduction

should have gone to the class. As a result of this self-

dealing by the negotiating parties, the class lost $1.8

million, class counsel got an excessive fee award by evad-

ing Dague, and the defendants received a windfall.

A decision by this Court at this time is particularly

important. Public confidence in the legal profession is

exceedingly low — at or near the bottom in most surveys,

not least because too many lawyers are perceived as

greedy and as acting in their own self-interest at the

expense of their clients.’ This state of affairs is confirmed

by class action case law which notes that courts routinely

* In a recent survey of public confidence ... the category of “legal

profession/lawyers” placed second lowest, with only 19% indicating that

they were “extremely” or “very confident in” the profession. Public

Perceptions of Lawyers; Consumer Research Findings, ABA Sec. of

Litigation, April 2002, at 6. In that same survey, 57% indicated that

“lawyers are more concerned with their own self-promotion than their

client’s best interests.” Jd. at 7. “(T]he greatest number of complaints

arise around lawyers’ fees. ... Consumers say that lawyers charge too

much. ...” Jd. at 14. A U.S. News & World Report poll found that “56

percent say lawyers use the system to ... enrich themselves.” Stephen

Budiensky, How Lawyers Abuse the Law, U.S. NEWS & WORLD REPORT,

Jan. 30, 1995, at 50-51.

6

approve fee requests which overcompensate class action

lawyers.’ Not surprisingly, class action filings have in-

creased substantially in recent years.‘

Class action attorneys, manipulating Rule 23 to

enhance their fee awards, are eroding public respect for

the legal system.* It is important that this Court ensure

that its decisions in Dague and Gisbrecht, supra, and

Evans v. Jeff D., 475 U.S. 717 (1986) (hereinafter Jeff D.)

(see pages 14-15, infra), are respected in letter and spirit.

Federal courts should refuse to allow “the wool [to be]

pulled over their eyes” when awarding multimillion-dollar

attorneys’ fee awards under common fund principles when

no common fund has been created. There is simply no

justification for the notion that the decades-old distinction

* For example, Reynolds v. Beneficial Nat'l Bank, 288 F.3d 277, 287

(7th Cir. 2002) (“[I]nflated attorneys’ fees are an endemic problem in

class action litigation. ... ”).

* A survey done by the Federalist Society found that between 1988

and 1998, class action filings increased by 338% in federal courts and

more than 1000% in state courts. See CLASS ACTION WATCH, Analysis:

Class Action Litigation, A Federalist Society Survey (The Federalist

Society for Law & Public Policy Studies, Wash., D.C.), Vol. 1, No. 1

(1999), at 3.

* Class Action System Survey, U.S. Chamber of Commerce,

Institute for Legal Reform, www.litigationfairness.org. Poll conducted

on May 11-12, 2002. In response to the question, who benefits most

from the current class action lawsuit system, 45% answered the

lawyers who represent the alleged victims, 28% the lawyers who

represent the companies being sued, and only 5% answered the people

who are part of the class action lawsuits. Jd. at 4.

* “Yet, to some extent, the wool can be pulled over the court’s eyes

if the parties negotiate an agreement under which legal fees will be

paid separately by the defendant.” John C. Coffee, The Unfaithful

Champion: The Plaintiff as Monitor in Shareholder Litigation, Law &

Contemp. Probl., 48 DUKE L. J. 3 (Summer 1985), at 71 n.102.

7

between common fund and fee-shifting methodologies

“exalts form over substance.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is an appeal from a district court judgment

awarding reasonable attorneys’ fees to class action lawyers

under common fund principles when the fee was paid

separately by the defendants pursuant to a fee-shifting

statute. The settlement arose out of lawsuits filed in Texas

by one group of class action lawyers and in California by

another group of class action lawyers. The lawsuits were

filed under TILA and alleged that the defendant banks,

Citibank (South Dakota), N.A., Universal Bank, and

Universal Financial Corporation, failed to credit custom-

ers’ credit card payments on the date of receipt, when such

payments were received after a 10:00 a.m. cutoff time. The

lawsuits sought damages for the imposition of excess

finance charges and late fees. After discovery, a settlement

was reached in which the cutoff time was extended three

hours from 10:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., and a cash fund of $18

million and other nonpecuniary benefits were established

for the class. Class counsel negotiated a separate payment

by the defendants of $9 million for attorneys’ fees. The

court anproved the settlement and awarded class counsel

a “reduced” fee of $7.2 million in fees under common fund

principles, in spite of the fact that the fees were paid

separately by the defendant and were not part of the class’s

fund. The $1.8 million fee reduction was not paid to the

class but reverted to the defendants. The Ninth Circuit

approved the procedure, relying on Wing v. Asarco, 114

F.3d 986 (9th Cir. 1997) (App. 8), for the proposition that:

There is no bright line rule requiring the applica-

tion of a particular method of calculating a fee

award in a case where class counsel’s fees are to

be paid independently rather than out of the set-

tlement fund.

8

STATEMENT OF FACTS

1. On October 1, 1999, three Texas class action law

firms filed a class action against defendant Citibank in the

federal court in Marshall, Texas, on behalf of plaintiff

Willie Jimmerson. (App. 10). 7

2. On December 22, 1999, two California class action

law firms filed a class action against defendant Citibank

in the Superior Court of California on behalf of plaintiff

Elliot Schwartz. (App. 11). Citibank removed this case to

the federal District Court for the Central District of

California. (App. 11).

3. The initial complaints alleged misconduct violat-

ing the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15 U.S.C.

~§ 1666(c), and the related 15 U.S.C. § 1640(a) arising

under the Truth-in-Lending Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1601. (App.

12, 19 nn.2 & 3).

4. The named plaintiffs alleged that they “believed”

that the credit card payments would be credited to their

account on the date that the payment was to be received

by the bank.

5. The plaintiffs furthermore alleged that they were

deceived by the payment procedure and that the late fees,

finance charges, and other penalties assessed against

them for payments received after the cutoff time were

improper. The plaintiffs claimed that the alleged miscon-

duct violated the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act, 15

U.S.C. § 1666(c), and the related 15 U.S.C. § 1640(a)

arising under the Truth-in-Lending Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1601.

" It was acknowledged that “in small print on the back” of their

account statement, customers were advised that there was a 10:00 a.m.

cutoff time and that payments after that time would be credited to their

account as of the following business day.

9

6. The defendants agreed that the lawsuits could be

settled as a class action and stipulated to conditional

certification of a class consisting of “all consumers who

have or at any time have had one or more VISA or

MasterCard credit accounts marketed under the Citibank

brand,” as that term is defined under Regulation Z, 12

C.F.R. § 226.2(a)(11).

7. The terms of the settlement included provisions

which provided that: (i) “the parties agree that reasonable

attorneys’ fees and costs from the class shall be paid

separately by the defendants in an amount to be awarded

by the court”; and (ii) defendants agree not to oppose an

application for an award of attorneys’ fees of up to $9

million ... and no award greater than [that amount] shall

be requested or made.... ” (Appellee Citibank’s Ninth

Circuit Excerpts of Record at 18 (Settlement Agreement

and Release, { 22); emphasis added).

8. Plaintiff class member/objectors and appellants

herein filed a timely objection to the settlement’s $9

million attorneys’ fee provision.

9. The district court conducted a fairness hearing

with respect to the proposed settlement and award of

attorneys’ fees. At that hearing, numerous plaintiff class

member/objectors, including petitioners herein, argued

that the fee was excessive and that the court should

perform a lodestar cross-check. (Appellant Simon, et al.’s

Ninth Circuit Excerpts of Record at 49 (Dkt. 148, Hr’g Tr.

9/25/00, filed 12/12/00)).

10. The courts “crude lodestar cross-check” (App. 30)

disclosed:

(a) Both dockets [the Texas litigation and the Cali-

fornia litigation] reveal relatively little law and motion

practice. (App. 29).

10

(b) Class counsel allege “hundreds of hours” spent

investigating the facts and researching the issues of the

case. (App. 30).

(c) Class counsel allege “over 700 hours” spent

responding to class member inquiries concerning the

settlement. (App. 30).

(d) The court (quite generously)’ assumed a hypo-

thetical 5,000 hours spent on the case, and awarded a fee

which translated into an hourly rate of $1,440 per hour.”

11. Objectors raised the following additional argu-

ments (Appellant Simon, et al.’s Ninth Circuit Excerpts of

Record at 47 (Dkt. 123, Response to Class Counsel’s

Supplemental Memoranda on Attorneys’ Fees, filed

10/25/00)).

(a) No common fund was created from which to pay

class counsel a reasonable fee under common fund princi-

ples.

(b) The fee was paid separately from the class’s

recovery under statutory fee-shifting procedures and no

risk multiplier was permissible under Dague.

12. On December 14, 2001, the district court entered

an award of reasonable attorneys’ fees to class counsel in

the amount of $7.2 million. (App. 33). In the order, the

court noted the following:

It exalts form over substance to suggest that be-

cause the attorneys’ fees are not directly de-

ducted from the settlement fund, and are instead

* See No. 10(a), (b), and (c) above.

* Five thousand hours and a $9 million fee award translates into

an hourly rate of $1,800. (App. 30). (Five thousand hours and a $7.2

million fee award translates into $1,440 per hour).

11

paid pursuant to an independent agreement with

Defendants, that this is not a true common fund

case.

(App. 16; emphasis added).

Appellants argued before the Ninth Circuit that the

fee award was improper because the fee included a risk

multiplier not permissible when attorneys’ fees are paid

separately by the defendant under a fee-shifting statute.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, relying on Wing v.

Asarco, supra,” affirmed the district court’s award. The

panel held that:

We reject the arguments of the appellants ...

Simon et al. challenging the method used by the

district to calculate class counsel’s fees. ... Even

assuming that the settlement did not create a

“common fund” as a result of the agreement that

class counsel’s fees would be paid independently

by Citibank and Universal, the district court was

not required to apply the lodestar method to cal-

culate class counsel’s fees.

(App. 8; emphasis added).

However, this rcliance on Wing sidestepped the issue of the

relevance of Dague to the court’s award:

Although the district court did engage in a Dague debate

with counsel, we find it unnecessary to decide whether Da-

gue extends to the case at hand, since, as discussed below,

the fee is justifiable on other grounds.

Wing v. Asarco, Inc., 114 F.3d at 989. (Emphasis added).

12

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE DISTRICT COURT’S AWARD OF FEES

UNDER COMMON FUND PRINCIPLES AS A

PERCENTAGE OF THE CLASS’S RECOVERY

IS DIRECTLY CONTRADICTORY TO THIS

COURT'S RECENT DECISION IN GISBRECHT v.

BARNHART, 535 U.S. 789 (2002), AND UN-

DERMINES THIS COURT’S DECISIONS IN

CITY OF BURLINGTON v. DAGUE, 505 U.S.

557 (1992), AND EVANS v. JEFF D., 475 U.S.

717 (1986).

A. The district court’s award constituted a

failure to follow this Court’s prescribed

legal principles for judicial awards of

reasonable attorneys’ fees.

The district court’s award of reasonable attorneys’ fees

under TILA to class counsel under common fund princi-

ples, when the fee was paid separately by the defendants

_ and when the residue resulting from a fee award lower

than the one requested reverted to the defendants, not the

plaintiff class, violates the prevailing legal standards for

the judicial determination of reasonable attorneys’ fees.

The court’s conclusion that the distinction between com-

mon fund principles and fee-shifting principles “exalts

form over substance” is incorrect as a matter of law.

The distinction between the fee in these two

types of cases, statutory fee and common fund

fee, has practical relevance... . [I]t affects how

the fee is calculated, as the “lodestar” method

applied to set a reasonable attorney’s fee under a

statutory fee provision ... is not necessarily ap-

plied under the common fund doctrine.

Brytus v. Spang & Co., 203 F.3d 238, 242 (3rd Cir. 2000).

(Citation omitted; emphasis added).

13

1. Common fund principles only apply when the

attorneys’ fee is paid out of the class’s recovery.

A lawyer . .. who recovers a common fund for the

benefit of persons other than himself or his client

is entitled to a reasonable attorneys’ fee from the

fund as a whole.

Boeing Co. v. Van Gemert, 444 U.S. 472 (1980).

The common fund doctrine is an equitable fee sharing

mechanism recognized by this Court in Trustees v.

Greenough, 105 U.S. 527, 532-33 (1881) to prevent unjust

enrichment by those who would benefit from the efforts of

a lawyer or litigant but who have no contractual obligation

to pay the costs of the litigation from which they benefit.

(The common fund doctrine exists to] avoid the

unjust enrichment of those who ... would be

benefited by the fund without sharing in the ex-

penses....

Third Circuit Task Force Report, Court-Awarded Attor-

neys’ Fees, 108 F.R.D. 237, 250 (1985).

2. When reasonable attorneys’ fees are awarded in

connection with a case brought under a fee-shifting statute

and fees are paid separately by the defendants, fee-

shifting principles are invoked.

(a) The lodestar approach applies.

The lodestar method today holds sway in federal

court adjudications of disputes over the amount —

of fees properly shifted to the loser in the litiga-

tion. ...

Gisbrecht v. Barnhart, supra, 122 S.Ct. at 1818. (Emphasis

added).

(b) Contingent risk lodestar multipliers are forbid-

den in the calculation of a reasonable attorneys’ fee.

Enhancement for contingency is not permitted

under . . . fee shifting statutes. . . .

Dague, 505 U.S. at 567. (Emphasis added).

14

In this settlement, class counsel negotiated for a

separate payment of $9 million in attorneys’ fees from the

settling defendants, not a payment of attorneys’ fees from

the class’s recovery. (See Statement of Facts, No. 7, supra).

The district court failed to apply the correct fee jurispru-

dence” when it used the percentage-of-the-recovery ap-

proach under common fund principles to award class

counsel a fee which was paid separately by the defendants.

[W]e again emphasize that the lodestar method

was designed to govern imposition of fees on the

losing party.

Gisbrecht v. Barnhart, supra, 122 S.Ct. at 1827.

Seeking fees under the common fund doctrine allows

class action attorneys to avoid the restrictions of Dague,

505 U.S. 557, and allows them to argue in favor of the

percentage approach because of the association between

common fund recoveries and the _ percentage-of-the-

recovery approach.

[The fee under common fund principles] is calcu-

lated by awarding a reasonable percentage of the

fund bestowed upon the class.

Blum v. Stenson, 465 U.S. 886, 900 n.16 (1984).

3. An impermissible conflict of interest exists when

class counsel structure settlement negotiations to obtain a

payment of attorneys’ fees separate from the class’s recov-

ery. In doing so, class counsel violated the rationale for

this Court’s decision in Jeff D., supra.

” The rationale applicable to the situation in which the fee is

paid out of the recovery obtained by plaintiff is simply inap-

plicable where there is no such fund, and the award is paid

directly by the defendant.

Tr. of Oral Argument, City of Burlington v. Dague, 1992 WL 687821 at

*19-*20, *24-*26.

15

Jeff D. allowed simultaneous negotiation of attorneys’

fees and the class’s recovery in one lump sum settlement

payment from the settling party. This Court noted that a

lump payment enabled the settling party to determine its

total liability and encouraged the settling party to put up

a full settlement value without uncertainty about a subse-

quent large attorneys’ fee payment.

Many a defendant would be unwilling to make a

binding settlement offer on terms that left it ex-

posed to liability for attorneys’ fees in whatever

amount the court might fix... .

Jeff D., 475 U.S. at 733.

The district court’s utilization of common fund princi-

ples where the fee was paid separately by the defendants

creates the very problem that this Court sought to avoid in

Jeff D. The settling defendants can no longer place on the

table the maximum amount of money available to settle

the litigation because attorneys’ fees do not come out of the

total payment. Rather, the defendants, who have no

interest in how the settlement funds are allocated between

class counsel and the class:

Defendants, having made their contribution to

the settlement, are uninterested in the distribu-

tion so they have no interest in opposing how the

fee is allocated.

Wells v. Dartmouth Bankcorp, Inc., 813 F. Supp. 126, 128

(D.N.H. 1993) (emphasis added), are put in the position of

being concerned about the impending fee demand by class

counsel and must hold back cash in anticipation thereof.

Money not provided to the class is available for class

counsel’s fee.

(a) Class counsel’s competition with their own clients

for a share of what defendants will offer in settlement

inhibits the class’s ability to maximize its recovery. It is in

class counsel’s financial self-interest not to press for the

16

limit of what the defendants will pay in order that defen-

dants have sufficient funds to satisfy class counsel’s—

separate fee demand.

[E]ven an attorney who would refuse ... an out-

right bribe might be tempted to make concessions

during the class negotiations, hoping to develop

good will that will pay dividends when negotiat-

ing over [lawyers’ fees].

In re Asbestos Litig., 90 F.3d 963, 1011 (5th Cir. 1996)

(Dissenting opinion of Jerry E. Smith, J.). (Emphasis

added).

The class was denied the benefit of a zealous advocate _

negotiating- to maximize the class’s recovery. To the con-

trary, class counsel, in derogation of their professional and

fiduciary obligations, placed their pecuniary self-interest

ahead of the class’s.

The separate negotiation of the fee ... only en-

hances this sense that counsel may have pursued

a deal with the defendant separate from, and

perhaps competing for the defendant’s resources

with, the deal negotiated on behalf of the class.

In re General Motors Corp. Pick-Up Truck Fuel Tank Prod.

Liab. Litig., 55 F.3d 768, 803 (3d Cir. 1995) (hereinafter

GM Pick-Up). (Emphasis added).

At a time when class counsel were supposed to be

vigorously negotiating on the class’s behalf, they had to be

concerned about ensuring that defendant retained suffi-

cient cash to satisfy their ensuing request for fees.

Defendants’ attorneys knew that class counsel

had an interest in assuring that there was suffi-

cient money available to pay their fee after the

class’s recovery was negotiated, and they un-

doubtedly converted this knowledge into negoti-

ating leverage.

In re Asbestos Litig., 90 F.3d at 1009. (Emphasis added).

17

(b) The class’s right to its attorneys’ fee award is

bargained away by class counsel for their own benefit.

When plaintiffs sue under a statute which provides for

fee shifting, defendants’ payment of attorneys’ fees is not

the attorneys’ recovery, it belongs to the client.

Congress bestowed on the prevailing party a

statutory eligibility for a discretionary award of

attorneys’ fees.

Jeff D., 475 U.S. at 730. (Emphasis added).

Class counsel negotiated a $9 million attorneys’ fee

payment from the defendants but the class was denied its

legiti.1ate right to the $1.8 million residual.

(c, Defendants receive a windfall at the expense of

the class.

The defendants received an undeserved windfall of

$1.8 million when the court reduced class counsel’s $9

million fee request. In essence, class counsel and the

defendants agreed that as long as $9 million went to class

counsel, defendants had no objection to paying it. How-

ever, if the money did not go to class counsel, then it

reverted to the defendants. Since the defendants had

already agreed to pay $9 million and are indifferent to how

the settlement money is allocated between class counsel

and the class,

[DJefendants are happy to pay generous attor-

neys’ fees since all they care about is the bottom

line — the sum of the settlement and the attor-

neys’ fees — and not the allocation of money be-

tween the two categories of expense.

Reynolds v. Beneficial Nat'l Bank, 288 F.3d 277, 282 (7th

Cir. 2002) (emphasis added), there is no legitimate reason

why, in the event of the court’s reduction of the fee, the

money should not go to the class.

18

(d) The separate payment of attorneys’ fees and the

application of common fund principles reduces the incen-

tive of the court to scrutinize and the class to monitor the

amount of class counsel’s fee request.

(i) It disincentivizes class members because, even if

the court reduces class counsel’s fee (as it did in the

instant case), no financial benefit is realized by the class.

(ii) It disincentivizes the trial court because, unlike a

legitimate common fund, the court is no longer able to

increase the class’s recovery when it reduces the amount of

fee. Settlements structured in this manner contradict the

recommendation of the MANUAL FOR COMPLEX LITIGATION

(Fed. Jud. Center 1977):

The Manual [for Complex Litigation] condemns

settlement agreements which provide that the

fees and sometimes expenses of plaintiffs’ counsel

are to be paid separately by the defendant(s) over

and above the settlement. ... Such arrangements

should not be permitted. All amounts to be paid

by the defendant(s) are properly part of the set-

tlement funds.... The effect of such an ar-

rangement is to neutralize the court’s power and

responsibility to pass upon the reasonableness of

the amounts to be paid to plaintiffs’ counsel,

since any reduction by the court in the amount

counsel agree upon after the class settlement has

been approved will simply go to reduce the ag-

gregate amount defendant(s) will pay and will

not increase the amount to be paid to the plain-

tiffs. As a result, there is little incentive for the

judge to reduce the agreed upon fees.

In re General Motors Corp. Engine Interchange Litig., 594

F.2d 1106, 1130-31 (1979). (Emphasis added).

It should be noted that class counsel further weak-

ened the adversarial process as a result of the “clear

sailing” provision whereby defendants agree not to oppose

19

a fee request of $9 million. (See Statement of Facts, supra,

No. 7).

A “clear sailing” clause has two adverse effects

that cast substantial doubt on the legitimacy of

its use. First, it deprives the trial court and a re-

viewing court of the certainty of having the pro-

priety of the fee tested in the adversary process.

[Second, the clause creates the likelihood that

plaintiffs’ counsel, in obtaining defendants’

agreement not to challenge a fee request within a

stated ceiling, will bargain away something of

value to the plaintiffs’ class.] It is unlikely that a

defendant will gratuitously accede to the plain-

tiffs’ request for a “clear sailing” clause without

obtaining something in return.” That something

will normally be at the expense of the plaintiff

class.

Malchman v. Davis, 761 F.2d 893, 907-08 (1985). (Empha-

sis added).

* Apparently taking judicial notice of the principle “you don’t get

something for nothing.”

20

Il. THE NINTH CIRCUIT'S ALLOWANCE OF

CONTINGENT RISK ENHANCEMENT IN

AWARDING REASONABLE ATTORNEYS’ FEES

UNDER COMMON FUND PRINCIPLES RE-

FLECTS A DISAGREEMENT AMONG THE

CIRCUITS REGARDING THE APPLICABILITY

OF THIS COURT’S DECISION IN CITY OF

BURLINGTON v. DAGUE, 505 U.S. 557 (1992).

A. This Court should resolve the dispute

which has ensued as a result of its deci-

sion in Dague, prohibiting consideration

of contingency risk to enhance the lode-

star when calculating a court-awarded

reasonable attorneys’ fee under a fee-

shifting statute.

The reason class action attorneys are encouraged to

adopt the contrivance at issue in this appeal is because

there presently exists a disagreement among the circuit

courts of appeals and district courts regarding whether the

Dague prohibition against enhancing the lodestar for

contingency risk under fee-shifting statutes also applies

when courts award reasonable attorneys’ fees from com-

mon fund recoveries.

The Supreme Court has not yet decided whether

its decision in Dague precluding the use of a mul-

tiplier in consideration of risk taken when calcu-

lating fees under the lodestar method applies in

common fund cases. ...

Brytus v. Spang & Co., 203 F.3d at 243. (Citations omitted;

emphasis added).

Compare WPPSS, 19 F.3d at 1299 (“Dague’s rationale

for barring risk multipliers in statutory fee cases does not

operate to bar risk multipliers in common fund cases”),

and Florin v. NationsBank of Georgia (hereinafter Florin),

34 F.3d 560, 564 (7th Cir. 1994) (“we conclude that the

21

holding in Dague should not extend to this case... ;

Common fund principles properly control a case which is

initiated under a statute with a fee-shifting provision, but

is settled with the creation of a common fund”),

with In re General Motors Corp. Pick-Up Truck Fuel

Tank Prod. Liab. Litig. (hereinafter GM Pick-Up), 55 F.3d

768, 822 (3d Cir. 1995) (“to the extent that the district

court relied on the lodestar method, it erred by applying a

multiplier ... [t]he Supreme Court ... has rejected the

use of multipliers to enhance the lodestar’s hourly rate

amount”) (applied to de facto common fund); and In re

Nineteen Appeals Arising Out of San Juan Dupont Plaza

Hotel Fire Litig., 982 F.2d 603, 619 (1st Cir. 1992) (J. Lay,

concurring) (“I can discern no logical distinction between

an equitable fund case and a fee-shifting case that would

cause these [Dague’s] reasons to be worthwhile in [fee-

shifting but not in] an equitable fund case.”).

Numerous federal district courts have weighed in on

this dispute. See, e.g., Nensel v. People’s Heritage Financial

Group, 815 F. Supp. 26, 30 (D. Me. 1993) (Dague’s pro-

scription of the use of risk multipliers applies to common

fund cases); Weinberger v. Great Northern Nekoosa Corp.,

801 F. Supp. 804, 825n.59 (D. Me. 1992) (same); In re

Bolar Pharmaceutical Co. Sec. Litig., 800 F. Supp. 1091,

1095 (E.D.N.Y. 1992) (“ban on fee enhancement for contin-

gency in statutory fee-shifting cases extends to equitable

fund cases”). But see Gottlieb v. Wiles, 150 F.R.D. 174, 184

n.6 (D. Colo. 1993), for contrary analysis.

Petitioners believe that the Ninth Circuit interpretation

of Dague is incorrect, as explained in the cases noted below.

Nensel v. People’s Heritage Group, 815 F. Supp. at 28:

Having once again carefully studied the reasons

put forth in the Dague opinion as to why a mul-

tiplier-based enhancement is not warranted, the

Court can see little, if any, basis to distinguish in

22

the application of the holding in Dague between

fee-shifting and common-fund cases.

Enhancement for contingency in common-fund

cases will also have the effect of compensating

(on the basis of averages) counsel for services in

cases where they have not prevailed and will en-

courage the bringing of weak and unfounded

class action suits. (Emphasis added).

Trief v. Dunn & Bradstreet Corp., 840 F. Supp. 277, 284-85

(S.D.N.Y. 1993):

The language of the [Dague] opinion, however,

strongly suggests that the court’s holding is ap-

plicable to common fund cases. ... Moreover, the

. City of Burlington court’s reasoning is directly

applicable to class action suits brought pursuant

to Rule 23. Each consideration enunciated by the

City of Burlington court declining to permit en-

hancement of the lodestar is equally relevant to

the question of whether the lodestar should be

enhanced in this case.... [I]ts applicability is

not limited to the context of federal fee-shifting

statutes. (Citation omitted; emphasis added).

In re Prudential Ins. Co., 962 F.Supp. 572, 581 n.24

(D.N.J. 1997):

The Supreme Court, however, held [in Dague]

that risk enhancements were inappropriate in

fee-shifting cases. While the Court did not ad-

dress whether risk enhancements survive in

common fund cases, the Court’s reasoning for ex-

cluding risk enhancements in fee-shifting cases

applies equally to common fund cases. (Emphasis

added).

Weinberger v. Great Northern Nekoosa Corp., 801 F. Supp.

at 825 n.59:

Nonetheless, the Dague court’s policy rationales

in denying a contingency-based multiplier seems

to be equally applicable here. (Emphasis added).

23

Dague proscribed contingent risk enhancement for the

following reasons:

(1) Enhancement for contingency risk “would likely

duplicate ... factors already subsumed in the lodestar.”

Dague, 505 U.S. at 562.

(2) Enhancement for contingency risk “would en-

courage meritorious claims to be brought, but only at the

social cost of indiscriminately encouraging nonmeritorious

claims to be brought as well. We think that an unlikely

objective of the ‘reasonable fees’ provisions.” Dague, 505

U.S. at 563.

(3) Enhancement for contingency risk to attempt “to

mimic the intricacies of the fee-paying market in every

respect [is neither necessary nor even possible].” Dague,

505 U.S. at 566-67.

(4) Enhancement for contingency risk, under the

conditions set forth in Delaware Valley II, 483 U.S. 711

[Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council for

Clean Air, 483 U.S. 711 (1987)], cannot “be intelligibly

applied.” Dague, 505 U.S. at 563.

(5) Enhancement for contingency risk requires that a

defendant “would in effect pay for the attorney’s time (or

anticipated time) in cases where his client does not pre-

vail.” Dague, 505 U.S. at 565.

(6) Enhancement for contingency risk “would make

the setting of fees more complex and arbitrary, hence more

unpredictable... .” Dague, 505 U.S. at 566.

All of bi concerns which this Court expressed in

Dague as reasons to prohibit contingency risk enhance-

ment in fee-shifting cases, apply as well to fee calculations

in common fund cases — and several apply to common

funds with even greater relevance! Moreover, the courts

which have held that Dague does not apply to common

fund fee calculations focus only on the unfairness of

24

requiring a defendant to pay a higher fee based on the

riskiness of the case.

The concerns that drove the Court to reject con-

tingency enhancements in the statutory fee con-

text apply with much less force in common fund

cases. Unlike statutory fee-shifting cases where

the winner’s attorneys’ fees are paid by the losing

party, attorneys’ fees in common fund cases are

not paid by the losing defendant, but by members

of the plaintiff class.

WPPSS, 19 F.3d at 1300. (Emphasis added). Accord,

Florin, 34 F.3d at 564 (“Unlike in fee-shifting cases, the fee

award in a common fund case is ultimately charged

against the plaintiffs’ fund, rather than directly against

the defendant.”).”*

Although in fee-shifting cases the defendant pays a

reasonable fee and in common fund cases the plaintiff

class pays a reasonable fee, there is no logical distinction

between these types of public interest litigation which

would make Dague’s prohibition of risk enhancement

inapplicable in common fund cases.

Furthermore, allowing two radically different fee

outcomes based upon whether class counsel seek attor-

neys’ fees from the defendant as opposed to the fund has

numerous additional deleterious effects.

1. It frustrates the intent of eer in establishing

fee-shifting statutes.

In creating fee-shifting statutes, Congress intended to

encourage lawyers to undertake specific types of litigation

* It should be pointed out that neither WPPSS nor Florin, supra,

even mention Dague’s concern with incentivizing attorneys to file

marginally meritorious lawsuits by awarding larger fees to riskier

cases.

25

deemed to be in the public interest. However, current Ninth

Circuit fee jurisprudence pays lawyers significantly higher

fees — for identical work — when “reasonable” attorneys’

fees are paid out of a common fund recovery as opposed to

when “reasonable” attorneys’ fees are paid by a defendant

under a fee-shifting provision. This incentivizes lawyers to

do exactly the opposite of what Congress intended. It

encourages attorneys to bring cases under statutes with-

out fee-shifting provisions as well as to limit their selec-

tion of cases only to those which offer the potential of large

common fund recoveries.

This focus on damages would contradict Con-

gress’s purpose in providing for fee-shifting in

these cases, which was “to encourage successful

civil rights litigation, not to create a special in-

centive to prove damages and shortchange efforts

to seek effective injunctive and declaratory re-

lief.” Indeed, since fees paid out of a common

fund are only available in multi-plaintiff actions,

the widespread use of common-fund recoveries as a

source of fees for lawyers ... would not only skew

the incentives of plaintiffs’ lawyers toward dam-

ages rather than equitable remedies, but also to-

ward class actions rather than suits by individuals.

Evans v. City of Evanston, 941 F.2d 473, 479 (7th Cir.

1991). (Citation omitted; emphasis added).

It simply makes no sense for courts to pay lawyers

significantly lower “reasonable” attorneys’ fees for pursu-

ing cases which Congress sought to encourage and deemed

to be of particular social benefit, and to pay higher “rea-

sonable” attorneys’ fees to lawyers who bring cases which

Multipliers of 4 are all too common in class action fee awards,

e.g., Vizcaino v. Microsoft Corp., 209 F.3d 1043 (9th Cir. 2002); In re

Cendant Corp. Sec. Litig., 109 F. Supp. 2d (D.N.J. 2000); In re NASDAQ

Market-Makers Antitrust Litig., 187 F.R.D. 465 (S.D.N.Y. 1998).

26

Congress did not feel of sufficient public benefit to warrant

the guarantee of a reasonable attorneys’ fee.

Because these cases are not presumed to serve

the public interest (as evidenced by the lack of a

fee statute), there is no social policy reason that

demands an adequate fee.

GM Pick-Up, 55 F.3d at 821.

Congress’s purpose can only be achieved if a uniform

fee methodology is established without reference to

whether the litigation creates a common fund. Both Rule

23 and fee-shifting provisions were instituted by Congress

to encourage public interest litigation. When a court is

asked to determine a reasonable fee, there is no justifica-

tion for having a radically different fee-enriching experi-

ence for lawyers in one type of public interest litigation

and not the other when both serve the public good.”

[W]e are of the view that where the court is

called upon to set a fair and reasonable fee the

same general method should be used regardless

of the type of case involved.

Brewer v. Southern Union Co., 607 F. Supp. 1511, 1521 (D.

Colo. 1984).

2. Failure to extend the Dague prohibition against

risk multipliers to common fund recoveries creates a

serious financial conflict of interest for plaintiffs’ class

counsel. It compromises the lawyers’ fiduciary responsibil-

ity to maximize the class’s recovery and incentivizes

counsel to place their own financial interests ahead of the

interests of the class.

Class counsel have a fiduciary responsibility to class

members in class actions. (“Attorneys ... seeking to

represent the class assume fiduciary responsibilities to the

“ To paraphrase Gertrude Stein, a reasonable fee is a reasonable

fee is a reasonable fee.

27

class.... ” NEWBERG ON CLASS ACTIONS (3d ed.), Ch. 15,

§ 1503, Relationship Between Class Representative or

Counsel and Absent Class Members]. This responsibility

prevents even the appearance of impropriety.

The responsibility of class counsel to absent class

members whose control over their attorneys is

limited does not permit even the appearance of

divided loyalties of counsel.

Kayes v. Pacific Lumber Co., 51 F.3d 1449, 1465 (9th Cir.

1995). (Emphasis added).

In light of Dague, the conflict of interest issue in

litigation commenced under fee-shifting statutes and

settled with the creation of a common fund is clear:

In the usual common fund case, the question of

whether the fund was created through a judg-

ment or a settlement is irrelevant to the method

by which the amount of compensation is deter-

mined. In a case such as this one, however, had

plaintiffs prevailed at trial, it is entirely possible

that defendants, rather than the common fund,

would have been liable for attorney’s fees under

ERISA, 29 U.S.C.A. § 1132(g)(1). For the court to

award plaintiffs’ counsel a percentage of the set-

tlement when he might only have been entitled

to an hourly — and therefore possibly lower — fee

had he obtained a favorable judgment, would

raise the specter of a significant conflict of inter-

est between counsel and the absent class members

in the negotiation of such a settlement.

Bowen v. South Trust, 760 F. Supp. 889, 896 (M.D. Ala.

1991). (Footnote omitted; emphasis added).

Brytus v. Spang & Co., supra, recognized the problem

of the disparity of different methods of calculating reason-

able attorneys’ fees for class counsel.

Of course, there remains the possibility that in

some cases counsel for a class of plaintiffs may

receive a higher fee award upon settlement than

28

they would have received had the case proceeded

to judgment.

Brytus v. Spang & Co., 203 F.3d at 247.

This Court, in Amchem Prod., Inc. v. Windsor, 521

U.S. 591, 621 (1997), acknowledged the client loyalty

problem when class counsel were “confined to settlement

negotiations [and] could not use the threat of litigation to

press for a better settlement.” In such circumstances, this

Court held that class counsel were compromised in their

ability to represent the class’s interest. Similarly, as noted

in Brytus, attorneys are also compromised as long as

Dague does not extend to common fund recoveries because

class counsel risk a lower court-awarded attorneys’ fee by

pressing the class’s claim to trial, even in the event of an

inadequate settlement offer.

On this point, Yale Law Professor (and Special Mas-

ter) George L. Priest found Dague’s prohibition against

risk multipliers applicable to common fund recoveries. As

noted in McLendon v. Continental Group, Inc., 872

F. Supp. 142 (D.N.J. 1994):

The Master concludes that the Dague restriction

must apply to any common fund case that started

as a fee-shifting case. He reasons that since Da-

gue clearly prohibits any risk enhancement of

lodestar amounts in statutory fee cases, then al-

lowing such enhancement in such cases that set-

tle for a lump sum would improperly encourage

plaintiff attorneys to settle for lump sums in hopes

of obtaining a risk enhancement that would not

otherwise be available. Thus, the Master predicts

that the Supreme Court would prohibit risk en-

hancement of the lodestar amount even if the

award came from a common fund derived from a

fee-shifting case. ... In essence, the Master con-

tends that if different rules apply to attorneys’

fees once a fee-shifting case settles, then a con-

flict of interest inevitably would arise between

plaintiffs and their attorneys as to the course of

the litigation.

:

%

i;

29

McLendon, 872 F.Supp. at 154. (Footnote and citation

omitted; emphasis added). (Highlighting the controversy

over these issues, Judge Sarokin overruled the Special

Master’s finding).

Class counsel should never be placed in the position of

being able to engineer higher compensation for themselves

by settling cases on terms which optimize their own

recovery at the expense of maximizing the class’s recovery.

Allowing lawyers’ self-interest to intrude upon their

obligation to maximize their clients’ recovery will only

further weaken public confidence in the legal profession.

The class action suit is designed to serve the pub-

lic good, and the benefit to lawyers cannot be al-

lowed to predominate.

Charles v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 976 F. Supp. 321,

325 n.3 (D.N.J. 1997).

3. The risk of encouraging unmeritorious litigation is

far greater in the class action context than in traditional

litigation. Class actions, by their very nature, have a

significantly greater potential to result in settlements

irrespective of the merits of the case than any other form

of litigation.

First, the class certification turns a $200,000

dispute ... into a $200 million dispute. Such a

claim puts a bet-your-company decision to Bridge-

port’s managers and may induce a substantial set-

tlement, even if the customers’ position is weak.

Szabo v. Bridgeport Machines, Inc., 249 F.3d 672, 675 (7th

Cir. 2001), (Emphasis added).

As noted by Judge Richard Posner in In re Rhone-

Poulenc Rorer, Inc., 51 F.3d 1293, 1299 (7th Cir. 1995),

class actions lend themselves to what has been described

as “blackmail” settlements, i.c., settlements which rational

business judgment requires that defendants settle, “even if

they have no legal liability.”

Judge Friendly, who was not given to hyperbole,

called settlements induced by a small probability

30

of an immense judgment in a class action “black-

mail settlements.”

Id. at 1298. One of the unfortunate consequences of the

class action mechanism is that it requires defendants to

settle lawsuits of questionable merit.

But, where damages are a substantial issue, the

combination of the expansion of liability, the un-

certainty of the process, and the way our class

action procedures are devised, almost always

leads to automatic settlement or guaranteed set-

tlement once a class action is certified.

George L. Priest, Economics of Class Actions, 9 KAN. J. L. &

PUB. PoL’y 481, 482 (No. 3, Spring 2000). (Emphasis added).

CONCLUSION

Petitioners believe that the district court’s assertion that

the distinction between common fund principles and fee-

shifting principles “exalts form over substance” is wrong as a

matter of law. The separate attorneys’ fee payment /common

fund subterfuge unfairly and improperly benefits plaintiffs

and defendants at the expense of the class.

Should this Court find that common fund principles

apply in the context of a separate payment of attorneys’ fees

in fee-shifting litigation, then this Court should resolve the

dispute among the circuits as to whether its Dague ruling

applies when reasonable attorneys’ fees are paid from a

common fund. Hundreds of millions of dollars in class action

recoveries are being diverted into the pockets of attorneys as

long as this question remains unresolved.

Respectfully submitted,

LAWRENCE W. SCHONBRUN '

LAW OFFICES OF LAWRENCE W. SCHONBRUN

86 Eucalyptus Road

Berkeley, CA 94705

(510) 547-8070

Attorney for Petitioners

App. 1

APPENDIX

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ELLIOTT SCHWARTZ, an No. 00-56958

individual on behalf of himself and D.C. No.

all others similarly situated; CV-00-00075-LGB

NICOLE C. GIAMPAULO; ‘

WILLIE JO JIMMERSON, indi- | MEMORANDUM

vidually and on behalf of all others (Filed

similarly situated; DANIEL

RYAN, individually and on behalf

of all others similarly situated;

MARY ANN WILLIAMS,

individually and on behalf of all

others similarly situated;,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

CHARLES C. YEOMANS,

Intervenor-Appellant,

and

JOHN G. DAVISSON; JAMES W.

EAST; CARMEN SCHILTZ;

MITCHELL A. GUZIK; DEBRA

RAMCHANDANT; DAVID G.

Oct. 10, 2002)

" This disposition is not appropriate for publication and may not be

cited to or by the courts of this circuit except as provided by Ninth

Circuit Rule 36-3.

oe ..—s—isis(g

App. 2

BEHENNA; FRANKLIN GRADY;

MARGARET WINKLER;

HANNAH FELDMAN; STEVEN

SIMON; ALAN J. SPITZ; J.

GARRETT KENDRICK,

Intervenors,

V.

CITIBANK (SOUTH DAKOTA),

N.A.; UNIVERSAL BANK;

UNIVERSAL FINANCIAL

CORPORATION,

Defendants-Appellees.

ELLIOTT SCHWARTZ, an

individual on behalf of himself and

all others similarly situated;

NICOLE C. GIAMPAULO;

WILLIE JO JIMMERSON,

individually and on behalf of all

others similarly situated; DANIEL

RYAN, individually and on behalf

of all others similarly situated;

MARY ANN WILLIAMS,

individually and on behalf of all

others similarly situated;,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

DAVID G. BEHENNA,

Intervenor-Appellant,

and

No. 00-57037

D.C. No.

CV-00-00075-LGB

App. 3

JOHN G. DAVISSON; JAMES W.

EAST; CARMEN SCHILTZ;

MITCHELL A. GUZIK; DEBRA

RAMCHANDANIT; CHARLES C.

YEOMANS; FRANKLIN GRADY;

MARGARET WINKLER;

HANNAH FELDMAN; STEVEN

SIMON; ALAN J. SPITZ; J.

GARRETT KENDRICK,

Intervenors,

V.

CITIBANK (SOUTH DAKOTA),

N.A.; UNIVERSAL BANK;

UNIVERSAL FINANCIAL

CORPORATION,

Defendants-Appellees.

ELLIOTT SCHWARTZ, an

individual on behalf of himself and

all others similarly situated;

NICOLE C. GIAMPAULO;

WILLIE JO JIMMERSON,

individually and on behalf of all

others similarly situated; DANIEL

RYAN, individually and on behalf

of all others similarly situated;

MARY ANN WILLIAMS,

individually and on behalf of all

others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

and

No. 01-55177

D.C. No.

CV-00-00075-LGB

App. 4

JOHN G. DAVISSON; JAMES W.

EAST,

Intervenors,

v.

UNIVERSAL BANK; UNIVERSAL

FINANCIAL CORPORATION;,

Defendants-Appellees,

STEVEN C. SIMON; ALAN J.

SPITZ; DANIEL J. KELLEY,

Real Parties in Interest-

Appellants.

ELLIOTT SCHWARTZ, an

individual on behalf of himself and

all others similarly situated;

NICOLE C. GIAMPAULO;

WILLIE JO JIMMERSON,

individually and on behalf of all

others similarly situated; DANIEL

RYAN, individually and on behalf

of all others similarly situated;

MARY ANN WILLIAMS,

individually and on behalf of all

others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

CITIBANK [SOUTH DAKOTA],

N.A.; UNIVERSAL BANK;

No. 01-55179

D.C. No.

CV-00-00075-LGB

App. 5

UNIVERSAL FINANCIAL

CORPORATION;,

Defendants-Appellees,

DAVID G. BEHENNA,

Real-party-in-interest-

Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Central District of California

Lourdes G. Baird, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted September 10, 2002

Pasadena, California

Before: THOMPSON and RAWLINSON, Circuit Judges

and SCHWARZER, District Judge.”

The appellants in these cases, Charles C. Yeomans,

David G. Behenna, and Steven C. Simon et al., raise

several objections relating to the district court’s condi-

tional certification of a class for settlement purposes,

approval of the settlement, and award of attorney fees. We

have jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

As an initial matter, the appellants Behenna and

Yeomans, unnamed class members who failed to intervene

before the district court, have standing to appeal the

district court’s judgment approving the settlement. See

Devlin v. Scardelletti, __ U.S. __, 122 S. Ct. 2005, 2013

“ The Honorable William W. Schwarzer, Senior United States

District Judge for the Northern District of California, sitting by

designation.

App. 6

(2002). We reject, however, these appellants’ contentions

that conditional class certification was improper, that

notice was insufficient, and that the district court failed to

properly evaluate the fairness of the settlement.

Although the district court failed to make explicit

findings regarding the appropriateness of class certifica-

tion, we need not remand to allow the entry of self-evident

findings. Hanlon v. Chrysler Corp., 150 F.3d 1011, 1023

(9th Cir. 1998). The class, as defined by the district court,

was sufficiently cohesive to satisfy the requirements of

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23(b)(3). See Amchem

Products, Inc. v. Windsor, 521 U.S. 591, 623 (1997). Re-

gardless of the potential differences in damages suffered

by class members, all of their claims stem from Citibank

and Universal’s failure to credit payments to consumers’

accounts as of the date on which they were received,

unless the payments were received before 10:00 AM that

day. Thus, the class members’ claims are “sufficiently

cohesive to warrant adjudication by representation.” Id.

(citation omitted). In addition, the named class represen-

tatives adequately and fairly represent the interests of the

class as required by Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

23(aX(4). There is no inherent conflict of interest between

the named plaintiffs, all of whom actually suffered late

fees or finance charges as a result of defendants’ polices

[sic], and those class members who suffered no similar

injury. Hanlon, 150 F.3d at 1020. The overarching goal of

this litigation was to reimburse cardholders for finance

charges and late fees actually incurred as a result of the

defendants’ early cut-off policy, and to change that policy.

Each of the class plaintiffs, regardless of whether a mone-

tary loss was suffered, had a similar interest in obtaining

relief from the defendants’ policy. See In re Mego Fin. Corp.

App. 7

Sec. Litig., 213 F.3d 454, 462 (9th Cir. 2000). We conclude

that class certification was appropriate.

The claims asserted on appeal challenging the timeli-

ness and sufficiency of notice have been waived because

they were not raised in the district court. Arizona uv.

Components, Inc., 66 F.3d 213, 217 (9th Cir. 1995).

We also conclude that the settlement approved by the

district court, including the provision for the independent

payment of attorney fees, was “fundamentally fair, ade-

quate, and reasonable.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(e); In re Mego,

213 F.3d at 458. A cash settlement fund in the amount of

$18 million was established to reimburse class members

for finance charges and late fees incurred as a result of

Citibank and Universal’s early payment cut-off policy and

to provide statutory damages. Citibank and Universal also

agreed to substantial other relief, estimated by class

counsel’s expert to be worth at least another $18 million.

Finally, Citibank and Universal agreed to independently

pay class counsel’s fees, in an amount to be determined by

the district court, and agreed not to oppose an application

seeking fees of up to $9 million.

Although the district court made no explicit findings,

appellants have not shown approval of the settlement to

have been an abuse of discretion. Hanlon, 150 F.3d at

1026-27. Nor have they shown anything inherently im-

proper about the parties’ negotiation of an agreement

providing for the independent payment of class counsel’s

fees, and Citibank and Universal’s agreement not to

oppose a fee application which sought up to $9 million. See

Evans v. Jeff D., 475 U.S. 717, 738-40 (1986); Zucker v.

Occidental Petroleum Corp., 192 F.3d 1323, 1325-26 (9th

Cir. 1999).

App. 8

We reject the arguments of the appellants Behenna

and Simon et al. challenging the method used by the

district court to calculate class counsel’s fees and the

ultimate amount of fees awarded. Even assuming that the

settlement did not create a “common fund” as a result of

the agreement that class counsel’s fees would be paid

independently by Citibank and Universal, the district

court was not required to apply the lodestar method to

calculate class counsel’s fees. See Wing v. Asarco, Inc., 114

F.3d 986, 990 (9th Cir. 1997) (declining to establish bright

line rule requiring the application of a particular method

for calculating a fee award in a case such as this where

class counsel’s fees are to be paid independently, rather

than out of the settlement fund). The district court articu-

lated adequate reasons why the percentage of recovery

method was preferable to the lodestar method of calculat-

ing class counsel’s fees, and the court did not abuse its

discretion in applying the former method rather than the

latter.

The amount of the fees awarded to class counsel

pursuant to the percent of recovery method was $7.2

million. That amount represented 20% of the $36 million

total value of the settlement. Given the factors articulated

by the district court, the court did not abuse its discretion

in awarding fees of $7.2 million. See Vizcaino v. Microsoft

Corp., 290 F.3d 1043, 1048 (9th Cir. 2002).

Finally, as stated above, it was not improper for the

settlement agreement to provide for the independent

payment of attorney fees by Citibank and Universal.

Under the settlement agreement, Citibank and Universal

did not agree to pay $9 million in attorney fees. They

agreed to pay fees in an amount to be determined by the

App. 9

court, up to a maximum of $9 million. The court deter-

mined the amount of fees to be paid was $7.2 million.

Citibank and Universal have no obligation to pay an

additional $1.8 million to the class.

AFFIRMED.

App. 10

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

ELLIOT SCHWARTZ, ) CV 00-00075 LGB (JWJX)

NICOLE GIAMPAULO, ) ORDER GRANTING

WILLIE JIMMERSON, ) ‘

CLASS COUNSEL’S

DANIEL RYAN, and MARY )

ANN WILLIAMS ) MOTION FOR ATTOR-

individually and on behalf ) NBIS FESS AND COSTS

of all others similarly ) (Filed Dec. 13, 2000)

situated )

Plaintiffs,

v.

CITIBANK (SOUTH

DAKOTA), N:S..,

UNIVERSAL BANK, N.A.,

and UNIVERSAL

FINANCIAL CORP.

Defendants.

ee ee a a ee

I. INTRODUCTION

Class Counsel bring a motion for an award of attor-

neys’ fees and costs. Counsel request attorneys’ fees in

the amount of $9 million and costs in the amount of

$250,000.

II. PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On October 1, 1999, Plaintiff Willie Jimmerson filed a

class action against defendant Citibank in the Eastern

District of Texas (the “Texas lawsuit”), which was subse-

quently amended to add Plaintiffs Daniel Ryan and Mary

Williams as plaintiff. See Proposed Settlement Agreement

App. 11

at 1 (the proposed settlement is set forth in full in the

Declaration of Brian Strange in Support of Motion for

Preliminary Approval of Settlement, Ex. A-1.) On Decem-

ber 22, 1999 Plaintiff Schwartz filed a class action against

Citibank in the Superior Court of California (the “Califor-

nia lawsuit”). Citibank removed the aforementioned action

to the District Court on January 4, 2000. Defendants

Universal Bank and Universal Financial Corp. were added

to the action on April 7, 2000. See id. on April 24, 2000,

plaintiffs Jimmerson, Ryan and Williams were added to

the California lawsuit. See id.

On April 27, 2000, the Court held a hearing on Plain-

tiffs’ motion for preliminary approval of a settlement

between Plaintiffs’ class and the Defendants in this action.

The Court granted preliminary approval on May 5, 2000.

In conjunction with preliminary approval of the settle-

ment, the Court also preliminarily certified a class for

settlement purposes.

Plaintiffs filed a motion for final approval of settle-

ment on August 25, 2000. On August 29, 2000, Plaintiffs’

Counsel filed the instant motion for an award of attorneys’

fees and costs. Neither of these motions are opposed by

Defendants. At the final fairness hearing of September 25,

2000, the court permitted Class Counsel to submit addi-

tional briefing on the issue of attorneys’ fees, and permit-

ted objectors to file oppositions thereto.

Ill, FACTUAL BACKGROUND

The underlying action arose out of the policy of defen-

dants Citibank, Universal Bank, and Universal Financial

Corp. (collectively “Defendants”) of failing to credit cus-

tomers’ credit card payments on the date of receipt, when

App. 12

such payments were received after the “cutoff” time of

10:00 a.m. Plaintiffs brought this class action on behalf of

similarly situated credit card holders, alleging that Defen-

dants’ policies resulted in imposition of excess finance

charges and late fees on payments received on the speci-

fied “due date” but after the specified cutoff time. Plain-

tiffs alleged that the policy violates the Truth in Lending

Act, and constitutes a breach of the credit card agreements

Defendants entered into with class member credit card

holders.

Pursuant to the proposed settlement agreement which

was preliminarily approved by this Court, the parties

agreed that Defendants would pay Class Counsel’s attor-

neys’ fees and expenses from a source independent of the

settlement fund. See Proposed Settlement Agreement at

q{ 22. In other words, the fees and expenses would not be

deducted from the amount set aside for settlement. Defen-

dants further agreed not to oppose a motion by Class

Counsel for attorneys’ fees of up to $9 million and ex-

penses of up to $250,000. See id. In conformance with the

agreement, Class Counsel have applied to this Court for

fees and expenses in the above amounts.

IV. LEGAL STANDARD

Rule 23 provides that “[a] class action shall not be

dismissed or compromised without the approval of the

court.” Fed. R. Civ. Pro. 23(e). Judicial scrutiny of settle-

ments under Rule 23 extends to motions for attorneys’

fees. See Strong v. Bellsouth Telecomm, Inc., 137 F.3d

844, 849 (5th Cir. 1998); Waters v. Intl Precious Metals

Corp., 190 F. 3d 1291, 1293 (11th Cir. 1999).

App. 13

Agreements whereby the Defendant pays attorneys’

fees from sources independent of the settlement fund are

subject to judicial scrutiny, notwithstanding the fact that

the fees are not directly deducted from the settlement

fund. See Weinberger v. Great Northern Nekoosa Corp.,

925 F. 2d 518, 522 (1st Cir. 1991) (“when a fee application

is submitted ancillary to, or as part of, the termination of a

class action, the district court should ordinarily determine

the reasonableness of the fees, notwithstanding that the

source of payment does not directly impair the class

recovery.”); Strong v. Bellsouth Telecomm, Inc., 137 F. 3d

at 849 (recognizing “economic reality that a settling

defendant is concerned only with its total liability.”)

Scrutiny is required because of the potential for conflicts of

interest between Class Counsel and the members of the

class. See In re General Motors Corp. Pick-up Truck Fuel

Tank Products Liab. Litig., 55 F.3d 768, 804 (3rd Cir.

1995); Weinberger, 925 F. 2d at 524 (recognizing risk that

“the lawyers might urge a class settlement at a low figure

or on a less-than-optimal basis in exchange for red-carpet

treatment on fees.”)

Furthermore, the fact that a Defendant has agreed

not to oppose an application for attorneys’ fees up to a

specified amount, often known as a “clear sailing agree-

ment,” does not absolve the Court of the duty to scrutinize

the fee request. See Duhaime v. John Hancock Mutual Life

Insurance Co., 989 F. Supp. 375, 376 (D. Mass. 1997) (“a

‘clear sailing’ fee agreement like the one negotiated here

must receive close judicial scrutiny.”)

Several methods are available for calculating attor-

neys’ fees. The two most common are the percentage-of-

recovery method (“POR” method) and the lodestar method.

Under the former method, attorneys’ fees are determined

a i a a a

App. 14

as a specific percentage of the settlement fund. Under the

latter method, the Court calculates the “lodestar” by

multiplying the reasonable hours expended by a reason-

able hourly rate, and then enhances the lodestar by a

“multiplier” when appropriate. See Van Vranken uv. Atlan-

tic Richfield Co., 901 F. Supp. 294, 298 (N.D. Cal. 1995).

The central inquiry under both methods is whether the

fees requested are reasonable. See id. at 296. The burden

rests with counsel to establish a factual basis to support

the requested attorneys’ fees award. See Hensley v. Ecker-

hart, 461 U.S. 424, 437, 103 S.Ct. 1933, 1941, 76 L.Ed.2d

40 (1983)

V. ANALYSIS

Class Counsel request Court approval of attorneys’

fees of $9 million and expenses of $250,000.

A. ATTORNEYS’ FEES

Counsel argue for application of the percentage-of-

recovery approach, and arrive at the $9 million figure by

applying a percentage “benchmark” of 25% to a total

settlement which Counsel value at $36 million. Counsel’s

motion presents the Court with three issues: (1) whether

the POR method is appropriate in this instance; (2)

whether $36 million is the appropriate total settlement

value to be used in the fees calculation; and (3) whether

25% is the appropriate “benchmark”.

App. 15

1. SELECTION OF APPROPRIATE FEE

CALCULATION METHOD

The percentage-of-recovery method and _ lodestar

method are typically used in distinct types of cases. As

explained in In re Prudential Company of America Sales

Practices Litig., 148 F. 3d 283, 333 (3rd Cir. 1998):

The percentage-of-recovery method is generally

favored in cases involving a common fund’, and is

designed to allow courts to award fees from the

fund “in a manner that rewards counsel for suc-

cess and penalizes it for failure.” [Citation]. The

lodestar method is more commonly applied in

statutory fee-shifting cases, and is designed to

reward counsel for undertaking socially benefi-

cial litigation in cases where the expected relief

has a small enough monetary value that a per-

centage-of-recovery method would provide inade-

quate compensation.

See also Blum v. Stenson, 465 U.S. 886, 900 n. 16 (1984)

(“Lodestar is the most appropriate means of calculating

attorney's fees in statutory fee cases because it allows

“counsel [to] spend as much time and [to] be as diligent in

litigating a case that benefits a small class of people, or,

indeed, in protecting the . . . rights of a single individual.”)

However, Courts retain discretion as to which method to

* “Common fund” cases involve class actions that generate a

settlement fund. Attorneys’ fees are deducted directly from the fund as

compensation by the class to class counsel for their efforts in creating

the fund. In contrast to statutory fee-shifting provisions, the common

fund doctrine is a product of case law, and derives from the district

courts’ equitable power to prevent unjust enrichment of the class

members at the expense of class counsel. See Boeing v. Van Gemert, 444

U.S. 472, 478 (1980).

App. 16

apply in assessing the reasonableness of an attorneys’ fees

award in a class action. See In re Washington Pub. Power

Supply System Sec. Litig., 19 F. 3d 1291, 1294 n. 2 (9th

Cir. 1994); Six Mexican Workers v. Arizona Citrus Grow-

ers, 904 F. 2d 1301, 1311 (9th Cir. 1990).

(a) Common Fund Doctrine vs. Statutory

Fee-Shifting

The first issue presented to the Court is whether the

instant action can be characterized as a common fund

case. Class Counsel argue for such a characterization,

thereby justifying the use of POR in calculating attorneys’

fees. Various objectors argue that, because Defendants will

pay attorneys’ fees from a source independent of the class

settlement fund, the arrangement is properly character-

ized as a fee-shifting case and the lodestar method should

be used. See e.g. Response of Objector David Behenna to

Plaintiffs’ Supplemental Briefing at 2-3; Response of

Objectors Kelly, Simon and Spitz at 3. In essence, objec-

tors contend that because the attorneys’ fees will not be

directly deducted from the settlement fund, this is not a

true common fund case.

The purpose of the common fund doctrine is to reward

attorneys for generating a benefit to the class, by deduct-

ing attorneys’ fees from the settlement fund. See Graulty,

886 F.2d at 271. It exalts form over substance to suggest

that because the attorneys’ fees are not directly deducted

from the settlement fund, and are instead paid pursuant

to an independent agreement with Defendants, that this is

not a true common fund case. The reason for this was well-

stated in Johnston v. Comerica Mortgage Corp., 83 F. 3d

241, 246 (8th Cir. 1996):

App. 17

The award to the class and the agreement on at-

torney fees represent a package deal. Even if the

fees are paid directly to the attorneys, those fees

are still best viewed as an aspect of the class’ re-

covery. [Citation.] Accordingly, the direct pay-

ment of attorney fees by defendants should not

be a barrier to the use of the percentage of the

benefit analysis in the cases.

See also In re General Motors, 55 F.3d at 821 (“The ration-

ale behind the percentage of recovery method also applies

in situations where, although the parties claim that the

fee and settlement are independent, they actually come

from the same source.”); In re Prudential, 148 F. 3d at 333-

334. As such, the Court concludes that the parties’ agree-

ment to pay attorneys’ fees from a source other than the

settlement fund does not preclude this case from being

characterized as a common fund case.

(b) Effect of the TILA Claim

The Complaint in this action alleged Truth in Lending

Act violations, state law deceptive trade practices, breach

of contract, and fraudulent or negligent misrepresentation.

See Plaintiff's Second Amended Complaint. The state law

claims are clear candidates for use of the POR approach

because a common settlement fund was recovered on those

claims, and no statutory fee-shifting provision is applica-

ble. The TILA cause of action, on the other hand, presents

the Court with a more difficult issue because the statute

expressly provides for shifting of attorneys’ fees when a

plaintiff succeeds on the claim. See 15 U.S.C. 1640(a)(3).

As stated earlier, the lodestar method is more frequently

used in statutory fee-shifting cases. The Court must

therefore decide whether it can nevertheless use the POR

App. 18

method on the portion of the settlement fund attributable

to the TILA claim.

Class Counsel argue that the Court may use POR

because the TILA’s fee-shifting provision is not triggered

at all. See California Counsel’s Supplemental Application

for Attorneys’ Fees at 6-7 (“Supplemental Application at 6-

7”). Because this case resulted in the creation of a class

settlement fund, rather than an individual judgment on

the merits, Class Counsel argue that common fund princi-

ples apply instead of statutory fee-shifting principles. See

id. The precise issue presented by Counsel’s argument is

whether the creation of a common fund in settling a TILA

class action “converts” the action from a statutory fee-

shifting case to common law common fund case. If the

action is removed from the confines of TILA’s fee-shifting

provision, then the Court may properly apply the POR

method to that portion of the settlement fund attributable

to the TILA claim.

The Court’s examination of case law reveals no cases

either authorizing or prohibiting use of common fund

principles when a settlement fund is created in TILA

cases. However, cases involving other fee-shifting statutes

hold that “fee-shifting statutes should net circumscribe the

operation of the common fund doctrine unless that opera-

tion conflicts with an intended purpose of the statute.” In

re Unisys Corp. Retiree Medical Benefits ERISA Litig., 886

F. Supp. 445, 456 (1995) (holding ERISA’s fee-shifting

provision inapplicable to case resolved by creation of a

common settlement fund); Florin v. Nationsbank of Geor-

gia, 34 F. 3d 560, 564 (7th Cir. 1994) (same); Skelton v.

General Motors Corp., 860 F.2d 250 (7th Cir. 1988). In

Skelton, the Seventh Circuit concluded that the

Magnuson-Moss Act’s fee-shifting provision did not apply

App. 19

to cases settled by establishment of a common fund. In

arriving at its conclusion, the court found that neither the

language of the statute nor its legislative history pur-

ported to apply the fee-shifting provision to cases creating

a common fund. See id. at 255. Absent such a mandate in

the statute, the court felt free to adopt common fund

principles in its attorneys’ fees determination. See id. at

255 (“when a settlement fund is created in exchange for

release of the defendant’s liability both for damages and

for statutory attorneys’ fees, equitable fund principles

must govern the court’s award of the attorneys’ fees.”). See

also In re Fine Paper Antitrust Litig., 751 F. 2d 562, 583-

584 (8rd Cir. 1984) (Clayton Act settlement releasing

defendant from liability for damages and statutory attor-

neys’ fees is governed by common fund principles).

Here, the language of section 1640 does not by its

terms apply to cases settled by the creation of a common

fund.’ Nor does the statute’s legislative history provide

any evidence of Congress’ intent to apply TILA’s fee-

shifting provision to common settlement fund cases. As

such, there is no statutory mandate requiring application

of the fee-shifting provision, and its associated lodestar

method, to the instant case. Furthermore, case law im-

poses no limitation on the Court’s ability to apply common

fund principles to the TILA settlement.’ For these reasons,

? Section 1640(a)(3) of the Truth in Lending Act provides that any

creditor who fails to comply with any requirement imposed under, inter

alia part D [which contains section 1666c] is liable “in the case of any

successful action” for “the costs of the action, together with a reasonable

attorneys’ fee as determined by the Court.”

* Where a suit does not involve a class action settlement fund, the

Ninth Circuit applies TILA’s fee-shifting provision, and therefore

(Continued on following page)

App. 20

the Court concludes that TILA’s statutory fee-shifting

provision does not foreclose application of common fund

principles, including use of the POR method, to the TILA

portion of the settlement.‘

mandates use of the lodestar method. See Semar v. Platte Valley

Federal Savings & Loan Assocn., 791 F. 2d 699, 706 (9th Cir. 1986);

Hayer v. National Bank of Alaska, 663 P. 2d 547 (Alaska, 1983). The

preference for the lodestar over the POR method in such cases is

premised on the fact that individual damages in a TILA case are capped

at $1,000. See 15 U.S.C. § 1640(a)(2)(AXii). Were the POR method

permitted in non-class action suits involving few plaintiffs, it would

usually result in under-compensation of the attorney for his or her

efforts. Under such circumstances, use of the POR method would

undermine the fee-shifting provision’s goal of encouraging “private

attorney general” enforcement of TILA. See Hayer, 663 P. 2d at 549

fn. 7 (POR method “would be inconsistent with the policy of encourag-

ing private enforcement of the Act.”). Where, as here, a class action

settlement results in the creation of a substantial common fund, a fee

determination under the POR method would not under-compensate

plaintiffs’ attorneys in the same way. As such, the concerns expressed

in the above cases about stimulating private enforcement of TILA are

addressed even under the POR method when the attorneys stand to

recover a percentage of a common settlement fund. The Ninth Circuit

cases do not therefore directly address the situation presented here.

* The Court further notes that a contrary conclusion would pose

significant practical problems. If the Court were to apply the lodestar

approach to the TILA portion of the settlement, and POR to the

remaining non-TILA portion, any attempt to allocate hours spent by |

Class Counsel on the TILA claim would be arbitrary at best. See Paul,

Johnson, Alston & Hunt v. Graulty, 886 F. 2d 268, 272 (9th Cir. 1989)

(using POR instead of lodestar because “it would be impractical, if not

impossible, for the district court to determine the number of hours

expended by [counsel]” in creating 70% of the settlement fund.) The

Court finds no evidence that Congress contemplated such an arbitrary

division of labor in common fund cases involving multiple causes of

action.

App. 21

(c) Lodestar vs. Percentage of Recovery

The import of the Court’s foregoing discussion is that

the entirety of the settlement (TILA and non-TILA claims)

is a common fund and, as such, can be analyzed under

common fund principles, thereby permitting use of the

POR method. The next issue presented is, even though the

use of the POR method is permissible in the instant case,

is it necessarily desirable? Such an inquiry is properly

before the Court because selection of an appropriate

method is committed to the discretion of the district court.

See Graulty, 886 F. 2d at 271; Florida v. Dunne, 915 F. 2d

542, 544 (9th Cir. 1990); In re Coordinated Pretrial Pro-

ceedings in Petroleum Prods. Antitrust Litig., 109 F. 3d

602, 607 (9th Cir. 1997) (“The district court has discretion

to use the lodestar method or the percentage of the fund

method in common fund cases.”)

The Court concludes that the POR method is more

desirable for several reasons. First, the POR method more

closely aligns the interest of the class with those of class

counsel, and does not create a disincentive for the early

settlement of cases. See Duhaime v. John Hancock Mutual

Life Insurance Co., 908 F. Supp. 375, 377 (D. Mass. 1997).

Second, given that five law firms are involved in this

action, use of the lodestar method would be needlessly

time-consuming and inefficient. See In re Oracle Secs.

Litigation, 131 F.R.D. 688, 689 (C.D. Cal. 1990) (criticizing

lodestar approach in class action litigation); In re Activi-

sion Secs. Litigation, 723 F. Supp. 1373 (C.D. Cal. 1989);

In re Prudential, 148 F. 3d at 333-334; “Court Awarded

Attorney Fees”, Report of the Third Circuit Task Force 108

F.R.D. 237, 246-249 (1985). Third, the POR approach

reduces the necessity of retrospectively second-guessing

strategic decisions made by class counsel in the course of

App. 22

litigating the action. See Kirchoff v. Flynn, 786 F. 2d 320,

325 (7th Cir. 1986). Finally, the concern that the POR

method will provide inadequate compensation to counsel is

not applicable in a class action, where the settlement

value can potentially reach substantial sums.

The Court is cognizant of some of the disadvantages of

the POR method. This method can create the incentive for

class counsel to enter settlements too willingly, in order to

guarantee fees for themselves. Furthermore, POR fee

awards run the risk of being excessive when not aligned to

the work actually performed by counsel. See Objector

Behenna’s September 26 Reply at 13-14. The Court finds,

however, that these shortcomings are outweighed by the

substantial savings in time, and the greater uniformity in

fee awards, engendered by the POR method. Furthermore,

objector Behenna’s concern about creating a fee award

disproportionate to Class Counsel’s efforts are addressed

in the Court’s selection of the appropriate percentage

benchmark, discussed below. Behenna’s objection, while

useful in determining the appropriate amount of fees

under the POR method, is not a basis for rejecting the

POR method itself.

Having selected the percentage-of-recovery method,

the Court must now make two determinations: (1) whether

$36 million is the appropriate total settlement value to be

used in the fees calculation; and (2) whether 25% is the

appropriate “benchmark”.

II [sic] VALUATION OF THE SETTLEMENT

Courts must make a “reasonable estimate” of the total

value of a class settlement. See In re Prudential, 148 F. 3d

App. 23

at 333-334. The settlement in the instant case is com-

prised of a cash fund of $18 million and of certain proce-

dural commitments by Defendants to change their

crediting practices. Among other things, Defendants

promise that for a period of two years they will implement

a one-day grace period for imposition of finance charges

and late fees, and will change their payment cutoff time

from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. See Settlement Agreement at { 4.

Class Counsel assert that the non-cash value of the set-

tlement, in the form of Defendants’ procedural commit-

ments, is conservatively estimated at $18 million. As such,

Class Counsel argue that the total settlement value upon

which the Court should base the attorneys’ fees award is

at least $36 million. See Class Counsel’s Original Motion

at 6; Strange Decl. at ¥ 9.

Class Counsel are clearly entitled to a percentage of

the $18 million cash settlement secured for the class. The

* Various objectors argue that the Court must deduct $2.5 million

of the cash value in calculating the percentage, because Defendants

could potentially recoup this amount. See Settlement Agreement

(providing that if any portion of the $2.5 million set aside for Finance

Charge Refunds remains unclaimed, Defendants may apply such excess

portions to recoupment of costs incurred in sending out class action

notices); Hannah Feldman’s August 31 Objections at 6; Dehenna’s

August 31 Objections at 22; Klein’s Supplemental Objections at 2.

Objectors’ argument has been considered, and rejected, by other courts

addressing the issue. See Waters v. Int'l. Precious Metals Corp., 190 F.

3d 1291, 1297 (11th Cir. 1999) (“class counsel are entitled to a reason-

able fee based on the funds potentially available to be claimed, regard-

less of the amount actually claimed.”) (quoting Newberg on Class

Actions § 14.03 at 14 (8rd ed. 1992)). See also Williams v. MGM-Pathe

Communications Co., 129 F.3d 1026, 1027 (9th Cir. 1997) (“attorneys

for a successful class may recover a fee based on the entire common

fund created for the class, even if some class members make no claims

(Continued on following page)

App. 24

more contested issue in this case is whether Class Counsel

are entitled to a percentage of the non-cash value.

(a) Using POR When Settlement Con-

tains Injunctive Relief

Various objectors argue that the POR method is

inappropriate when the settlement consists of “intangible”

injunctive relief. See e.g. Objector Behenna’s September 26

Reply at 13-14. Objector Behenna cites Hanlon v. Chrysler

Corp., 150 F.3d 1011, 1029 (9th Cir. 1998) for the proposi-

tion that “in the Ninth Circuit, injunctive relief benefits do

not qualify for common fund treatment because injunctive

relief is considered to be of speculative value.” Behenna’s

October 13 Objections at 4.

Objector misreads Hanlon. That case simply noted in

dicta that courts prefer the lodestar method when valua-

tions are difficult, but went on to acknowledge that the

attorneys’ fees in that case “represents roughly 4.5% of

this [non-cash] ‘common fund.’” Hanlon, 150 F.3d at 1029.

Furthermore, objectors point to no cases, and the Court

has found none, prohibiting use of the POR method when

the settlement involves both cash and non-cash compo-

nents. See e.g. In re General Motors, 55 F. 3d at 820-822

(holding that POR method was more appropriate in a class

action settlement, even though settlement involved “hard

to value” non-cash relief in the form of redeemable cou-

pons to purchase new pick up trucks). Finally, the Court

against the fund so that money remains in it that otherwise would be

returned to the defendants.”)

App. 25

finds that the policy behind rewarding counsel for provid-

ing the class with injunctive relief is sound. Non-pecuniary

settlements, in the form of commitments to change the

practices challenged in a class action, are often instrumen-

tal in vindicating class members’ rights, and can be the

primary source of value to class members. See Stewart v.

County of Sonoma, 634 F.Supp. 773, 777 (N.D. Cal. 1986)

(“The monetary value of the recovery is not the sole

measure of success where plaintiff has received structural

or other injunctive relief vindicating civil rights.”) Class

counsel who secure such non-pecuniary value for class

members should be rewarded in order to encourage coun-

sel to pursue such remedies when they are appropriate.

(b) Valuation of the Injunctive Relief

Class counsel provide valuations of the injunctive

relief using declarations of Defendants’ employees and the

testimony of their economic expert, Dr. Laura Robinson.

As stated earlier, the injunctive relief in this settlement

consists of three principal components: (1) a two-year

obligation to implement a one-day grace period before

imposing late fees; (2) a two-year obligation to change

their payment cutoff time from 10 a.m. to 1 p.m.; and (3) a

two-year obligation to make various disclosures to card-

holders concerning Defendants’ payment crediting prac-

tices. See Settlement Agreement at ¥ 4.

Class Counsel’s evidence provides the following

estimates: a one-day grace period causes Defendants to

forgo late fees in the amount of approximately $80 million

App. 26

for payments received after 1 p.m.° See Robinson Decl.

q 10. Furthermore, the change in cutoff time from 10 a.m.

to 1 p.m. results in 23% more customer payments being

deemed timely. See Robinson Decl., Ex. 2. This causes

Defendants to forgo an additional $46 million in late fees

for payments received between 10 a.m. and 1 p.m.’ See

Robinson Decl. ¥ 8. The change in cutoff time also causes

Citibank and Universal to forgo approximately $8.3

million and $2.3 million in finance charges respectively

over the two-year period’ See Robinson Decl., Ex. 3.

Based on the foregoing evidence, Dr. Robinson values the

* This figure is calculated using the following information: (1)

Defendants generate approximately $100 million in late fees per year

(declaration of Defendants’ employee Roger Kent { 2); (2) based on mail

receipt data from Defendants’ New Jersey processing facility, Defen-

dants receive approximately 40% of payments after 1 p.m. (Robinson

Decl. ¢ 10 and Ex. 2). As such, over the two-year period, Defendants

will forgo $80 million [100 million * 40% * 2) in late fees for payments

received after 1 p.m.

” Multiplying the estimated $100 million in annual late fees

presently received (Kent Decl. 92) by the 23% increase in timely

payments under the new cutoff time (Robinson Decl., Ex. 2) results in

$23 million of forgone late fees per year. Over the two-year procedural

commitment, Defendants will therefore forgo approximately $46 million

in late fees because of the change in cutoff time.

* These figures were calculated using actual finance charge data

compiled by Citibank and Universal employees for the year of 1999.

(O’Hare Decl. at 3; Bush Decl. at 3). Dr. Robinson multiplied the total

annual finance charges received in 1999 by the percentage of payments

received between 10 a.m. and 1 p.m. to arrive at an estimate of the total

finance charges each Defendant will forego because of the change in

cutoff time. See Robinson Decl., Ex. 3.

App. 27

settlement’s injunctive relief at approximately $137

million. See Robinson Decl. at J 12.°

In their motions, Class Counsel do not premise their

fee award on Dr. Robinson’s $137 million estimate.

Rather, Counsel rely on Dr. Robinson’s methodology and

conclusions but substantially discount her estimates to

arrive at a “conservative” value of $18 million for the

injunctive relief. See Motion at 6; Kramer Decl. in Support

of Motion 4 4. Counsel value the elimination of an extra

day of finance charges (as a result of the new cutoff time)

at approximately $10 million. See Named Plaintiffs’

Response to Objections at 7 11. This figure is close to the

approximate $11 million value, discussed above, assigned

by Dr. Robinson in her calculation. Based on the employee

declarations and expert calculations provided by Class

Counsel, the Court concludes that $10 million is a “rea-

sonable estimate” of the value provided to the class in

terms of reduced finance charges. See In re Prudential

Insurance Co. of America Sales Practices Litig., 148 F. 3d

at 333-334 (court must make a reasonable estimate of

settlement value); In re General Motors, 55 F.3d at 822.

Counsel value the elimination of an extra day of late

fees (as a result of the one-day grace period and the new

cutoff time) at $8 million. See Named Plaintiffs’ Response

to Objections at 7 12. This figure is substantially less than

the $126 million value ($80 million from the grace period

and $46 million from the change in cutoff time) estimated

* Because of the speculative nature of the benefit, neither Class

Counsel or Dr. Robinson assigned any monetary value to Defendants’

disclosure obligations.

App. 28

by Dr. Robinson based on Defendants’ records and em-

ployee declarations. Counsel explain that, while they could

have valued the benefit at the full $126 million, they

discounted it to $8 million “because the precise economic

value of this benefit is not easily stated.” Named Plaintiffs’

Response to Objections at 7 12. See also Robinson Decl. { 3

(concluding that Counsel’s $18 million valuation of the

injunctive relief is conservative). Having examined the

financial data offered by Class Counsel, the Court con-

cludes that $8 million is a “reasonable estimate” of the

value provided to the class in terms of reduced late fees.

Counsel correctly discounts the financial estimates pro-

vided by Defendants’ employees and Dr. Robinson to

account for the uncertainty inherent in valuing injunctive

relief of this nature. For this reason, the Court concludes

that Class Counsel have provided adequate evidentiary

support for an $18 million valuation of the injunctive relief

in this case.

Some objectors contend that the one-day grace period

provides merely an illusory benefit to the class, because

Defendants already had an informal grace period in place

before the initiation of this action. See Klein’s Supplemen-

tal Objection at 4; Behenna’s September 26 Objections at

14, fn. 10. Objectors’ argument ignores the crucial fact

that the settlement agreement now obligates Defendants

to maintain this grace period for two years, an obligation

which did not exist prior to the settlement. As such, it is

proper for the Court to consider this provision of the

settlement when determining the total settlement value.

App. 29

3. SELECTION OF APPROPRIATE BENCH-

MARK eect

The Ninth Circuit has established a “benchmark” of

25% for attorneys’ fees awards in common fund cases. See

Six Mexican Workers v. Arizona Citrus Growers, 904 F. 3d

1301, 1311 (9th Cir. 1990). The benchmark should be

adjusted “when the specific circumstances indicate that

the percentage recovery would be either too small or too

large in light of the hours devoted to the case or other

relevant factors.” Id.

Objector Behenna argues that Class Counsel have

expended insufficient time and effort on the case to justify

a $9 million fee award. See Behenna’s September 25, 2000

Reply at 10. Having examined the dockets of the Califor-

nia and Texas litigation and Class Counsel’s declarations,

the Court concludes that an adjustment of the benchmark

is in order.

The case dockets reveal that the Texas litigation

commenced only 14 months ago, on October 1, 1999, while

the California litigation commenced in Los Angeles Supe-

rior Court less than one year ago, on December 22, 1999.

See Plaintiffs’ Response to Objections, Ex. C (Texas

Docket). Furthermore, both dockets reveal relatively little

law and motions practice.” Declarations filed in support of

” The Texas litigation has seen Defendants’ motion to dismiss;

Defendants’ motion to change venue; Plaintiffs’ motion to compel

responses to interrogatories; Defendants’ motion to abate discovery;

Defendants’ motion for judgment on the pleadings; and Defendants’

motion for entry of a confidentiality order. See Plaintiffs’ Response to

Objections, Ex. C. The California litigation has seen no substantive

motions prior to the motion for preliminary approval of the settlement,

filed on April 26, 2000.

App. 30

the attorneys’ fee motion attest that Class Counsel have

spent “hundreds of hours” investigating the facts and

researching the novel legal issues involved in the case. See

Monts Decl. in Support of Motion at { 3. Counsel further

allege that they have spent “over 700 hours” responding to

class member inquiries concerning the settlement. See

Kramer Decl. in Support of Motion at 4 15. Even if the

Court were to hypothetically assume that Counsel collec-

tively spent 5,000 hours litigating and settling the case, a

$9 million fee award translates into an hourly rate of

$1,800. Even this crude cross-check using the lodestar

method reveals that Counsel’s requested fee award is

disproportionate to the amount of time expended on the

case.”

Class Counsel argue that under the POR method “the

amount of time may not be considered at all.” Class

Counsel’s reply to Certain Objectors’ Responses at 12

(quoting Shaw v. Toshiba America Information Sys. Inc.,

91 F. Supp. 2d 942 (E.D. Tex. 2000)). The Court is aware

that one of the purposes of the POR method is to reward

counsel for the benefits created, not for the hours spent.

However, the Ninth Circuit’s admonition to district courts

to consider “specific circumstances” making the POR

" The Court declines to follow various objectors’ suggestion that

the Court employ a detailed lodestar analysis to cross-check the POR

fee award. See Hannah Feldman’s October 10 Response at 3; Response

of Objectors’ Kelley, Simon and Spitz at 7-8. Any increased accuracy in

the final fee award achieved by an extensive lodestar cross-check is far

outweighed by the loss in efficiency and consistency that are the

hallmarks of the POR method. Furthermore, the Court’s rudimentary

lodestar cross-check, above, provides a sufficient check on excessive fee

awards that resort to a more detailed lodestar calculation is unneces-

sary.

App. 31

recovery too small or too large, including “the hours

devoted to the case,” directly contradicts Class Counsel’s

contention. See Six Mexican Workers, 904 F. 3d at 1311.

Selecting an appropriate benchmark is an inherently

imprecise exercise which district courts have continued to

struggle with in determining appropriate fee awards.

However, in light of the Court’s conclusion that Class

Counsel has devoted relatively few hours to the case, the

Court concludes that downward adjustment of the bench-

mark to 20% is reasonable. A 20% benchmark achieves the

appropriate balance between compensating Class Counsel

within the “normal range of 20% to 30%” of the common

fund, and adjusting for the amount of effort expended by

Class Counsel in this action. See Mashburn v. Nat'l,

Healthcare, Inc., 684 F.Supp. 679, 696 (M.D. Al. 1988)

(cited with approval in Graulty, 886 F.2d at 272); In re

Union Carbide Corp. Consumer Prods. Business Sec.

Litig., 724 F. Supp. 160, 167 (S.D.N.Y. 1989). The Court

awards Class Counsel attorneys’ fees using a benchmark

of 20% on a total settlement value of $36 million” — $18

million cash plus $18 million in injunctive relief. Class

* Class Counsel, in the alternative, urge the Court to value the

cash portion of the settlement at $27 million. This figure is comprised of

the $18 million cash fund and the $9 million attorneys’ fees Defendants

obligated themselves to pay to Counsel. See California Counsels

Supplemental Application at 21. The Court does not consider the $9

million fee agreement to be part of the common fund because this

money is not recoverable by class members under the terms of the fee

agreement. If the Court awards a fee of less than $9 million, the excess

does not become part of the common fund distributed to the class. As

such, the common fund doctrine’s purpose of rewarding counsel for

benefits secured for the class is not furthered by including the $9

million in the total settlement value.

iii itil

App. 32

Counsel are therefore entitled to attorneys’ fees of $7.2

million. :

B. EXPENSES

Class Counsel also request $250,000 as reimburse-

ment for expenses. See Motion at 6. To be entitled to an

expense reimbursement, class counsel must provide the

Court with adequate documentation of the expenses

incurred during litigation and settlement. See Van

Vranken, 901 F. Supp. at 298 (reimbursement granted

where “request was supported by a detailed accounting

and by declarations from independent counsel ... ”); In re

“Agent Orange” Products Liab. Litig., 611 F. Supp. 1296,

1314 (E.D.N.Y. 1985). Class Counsel must further estab-

lish that such costs are “reasonable and necessary” to the

prosecution of the class action. See Waters v. Int’l. Precious

Metals Corp., 190 F. 3d 1291, 1298 (11th Cir. 1999) (“there

is a requirement ... on the part of class counsel to estab-

lish that the costs are reasonable and necessary ... to the

prosecution of the case.”)

Here, Class Counsel provide documentation of ex-

penses that total $157,541.47. See Strange Decl. in Sup-

port of Supplemental Application for Attorneys’ Fees at

q 6 (Strange & Hoey firm has incurred $61,972.64 in costs,

including travel expenses, research, filing fees, messen-

gers shipping, and telephone charges); Kramer Decl. {| 9

(Law Offices of Larry Kramer — $15,808.06 in costs);

Angelovich Decl. 43 (Nix, Patterson & Roach firm —-

$33,724.49 in costs); Norman Decl. ¥ 3 (Crowley & Doug-

las firm — $25,606.04 in costs); and Monts Decl. at 4:3-6

(Monts & Ware firm — $20,430.24 in costs).

App. 33

However, Counsel have failed to provide any docu-

mentation supporting the balance of the $250,000 in

expenses sought via the instant motion. Instead, Counsel

rely on conclusory assertions contained in their declara-

tions to the effect that Counsel anticipate these remaining

expenses to be incurred if the final settlement is appealed.

See e.g. Norman Decl. at 7 4 (Counsel’s statement that

“based on my experience in similar class action litigation,

a minimum of $10,000.00 in additional reasonable and

necessary expenses will be incurred by Counsel for the

class in the reference cases if the Proposed Settlement is

given final approval but later appealed.”); Angelovich Decl.

at 74 (same). Class Counsel’s vague assertions do not

provide the Court with a basis to determine whether these

future expenses are reasonable and necessary. As such,

the Court concludes that Counsel are entitled to only

$157,541.47 as reimbursement for the expenses incurred

thus far.

VI. CONCLUSION

The Court AWARDS Class Counsel $7,200,000 in

attorneys’ fees and $157,541.47 as reimbursement for

expenses.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: December 12,.2000

/s/ Lourdes G. Baird

LOURDES G. BAIRD

United States

District Judge

App. 34

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ELLIOTT SCHWARTZ, an

individual on behalf of himself

and all others similarly situated,

et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

CHARLES C. YEOMANS,

Intervenor-Appellant,

and

JOHN G. DAVISSON, et al.,

Intervenors,

Vv.

CITIBANK (SOUTH DAKOTA),

N.A., et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

ELLIOTT SCHWARTZ, an

individual on behalf of himself

and all others similarly situated,

et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

DAVID G. BEHENNA,

Intervenor-Appellant,

and

JOHN G. DAVISSON, et al.,

Intervenors,

Nos. 00-56958

D.C. No. CV-00-

00075-LGB Central

District of California,

Los Angeles

(Filed Nov. 18, 2002)

No. 00-57037

D.C. No. CV-00-

00075-LGB Central

District of California,

Los Angeles

App. 35

CITIBANK (SOUTH DAKOTA),

N.A., et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

ELLIOTT SCHWARTZ, an

individual on behalf of himself

and all others similarly situated,

et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

and

JOHN G. DAVISSON, et al.,

Intervenors,

v.

UNIVERSAL BANK, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees,

STEVEN C. SIMON, et al.,

Real Parties in

Interest-Appellants.

ert MOO

ELLIOTT SCHWARTZ, an

individual on behalf of himself

and all others similarly situated,

et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

v.

CITIBANK (SOUTH DAKOTA),

N.A., et al.,

Defendants-Appellees,

No. 01-55177

D.C. No. CV-00-

00075-LGB Central

District of California,

Los Angeles

No. 01-55179

D.C. No. CV-00-

00075-LGB Central

District of California,

Los Angeles

ORDER

App. 36

DAVID G. BEHENNA,

Real-party-in-

interest-Appellant.

Before: THOMPSON and RAWLINSON, Circuit Judges

and SCHWARZER, District Judge.”

The panel, as constituted above, has unanimously

voted to deny appellant Yeomans’ petition for rehearing.

Judge Rawlinson has also voted to deny his petition for

rehearing by the court en banc, and Judges Thompson and

Schwarzer have recommended that that petition be

denied.

The full court has been advised of the petition for

court rehearing en banc, and no judge of the court has

requested en banc rehearing. See Fed. R. App. P. 35(b).

The petitions for panel rehearing and for rehearing by

the court en banc are DENIED.

“The Honorable William W. Schwarzer, Senior United States

District Judge for the Northern District of California, sitting by

designation.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.