Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Schism v. United States

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED |

0212.26 Jan 24

oo @rrse OF THE @.ERK

(H)

No.

2003

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

WILLIAM O. SCHISM and ROBERT L. REINLIE,

Petitioners,

V.

UNITED STATES,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

GEORGE E. DAY *

TIMOTHY I. MEADE

HENRY MARK HOLZER

DAY & MEADE, P.A.

32 Beal Parkway, SW

Ft. Walton Beach, Florida 32548

* Counsel of Record (850) 243-1234

WILSON-EPES PRINTING Co., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Federal Circuit—having characterized as

“pay” Petitioners’ receipt of contractually-based, govern-

ment-provided, post-retirement, free lifetime medical care—

correctly held that this Court’s decision in Bell v. United

States, 366 U.S. 393 (1961) created a “military benefits”

exception to the 28 U.S.C. 1346(a)(2) (Little Tucker Act)

creation of a cause of action against the government for

breach of an implied contract.

2. Whether, if there is no such exception, 5 U.S.C. 301—

“The head of an Executive department or military department

may prescribe regulations for the government of his

department, the conduct of its employees, the distribution and

performance of it business . . . ."—authorized World War II

and Korean War Executive Branch military departments,

through recruiters and their superiors, to offer post-retirement

free lifetime medical care to military personnel who served at

least twenty years.

3. Whether the Commanders-in-Chief possessed the power

to authorize World War II and Korean War military depart-

ments, through recruiters and their superiors, to promise post-

retirement free lifetime medical care to military personnel

who served at least twenty years, and, if they did, whether the

Anti-Deficiency Act can be applied retroactively to abrogate

the contracts made and performed as a result of those offers.

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.........:scsssssssssesereenenensseneess i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..........:cssceseesreeseseeseensensenes iv

OPINIONS BELOW...........:csccsssessseseeeseteseesensesseenneneees I

JURISDICTION .........:scssscessesssssseseeesnenseeersssssenseeeenseenees 2

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED..........:::0+++ 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE..........:ccsccsseesseeeereeeeeeenees 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION........... 7

CONCLUSION .........cccccssssssssssvsssesecersensenssssnsnsssensensesnes 13

APPENDICES

A. Court of Appeals en banc Opinion ..........-.+s++0++ la

B. Court of Appeals en banc Order ...........:seeeeee 9la

C. Court of Appeals panel Opinion ............-:e0e 93a

D. District court opinion on motion for summary

JUAQMENt ...........ccccecesseesenteseerenssssntensneenentenennensens 112a

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Barker v. Kansas, 503 U.S. 594 (1992).......scceesees 8

Bell v. United States, 366 US. 393

ERDBD) senercisncsersconsnerriqvennncsesiptbabiaepinastats i, 4, 5, 7, 8, 13

Chrysler Corp. v. Brown, 441 U.S. 281 (1979)..... 10, 11

Georgia v. United States, 411 U.S. at 526

CBWE sccsesnccsisorsnnnsntineiagiinsaseenesienabamennninesinisliatinntatt 11,12

King v. St. Vincent’s Hospital, 502 U.S. 215

CRIB Y ) csnnsccisinscsicscnsnibianeisiiiiiteripsiakannsanennamnnsnicontiies 8

Schism and Reinlie v. United States, et ano., 972

F.Supp. 1398 (N.D., Fla, 1997) (Opinion on

SenRR eae BP GRIT ooscscsvsccenccecvcarcencnsescesenseonseccsene i, 1,4

Schism and Reinlie v. United States, et ano., 19

F.Supp. 2d 1287 (N.D., Fla., 1998) (Opinion

on motion for summary judgment..............0++ i, 1,4,5

Schism and Reinlie v. United States, 239 F.3d

1280 (C.A. Fed. (Fla.), 2001) (Panel opinion)... 2, 4, 5

Schism and Reinlie v. United States, 252 F.3d.

1354 (C.A. Fed. (Fla.), 2001) (En banc

Schism and Reinlie v. United States, __ F.3d _ ,

2002 WL 31549178 (C.A. Fed. (Fla.), 2002)

(En banc opinion) ............. 2, 4, 5,6,7,8,9,10, 11, 12, 13

Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343

as SF 0 Be acsaiicetincsrensalacicecaocincesbalpeaptunsdelions 12

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

5 EEA. Se tarctictencncens i, 2, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13

FE Be Fe whee ncsesticreseriiiiieinicninraentinine 2

FE UES Bene TE CN cn ecenntnincesincnnisantonntinconens 2

28 U.S.C. Sec. 1346(a)(2).............0000 2343.66 3

31 U.S.C. Section 1341(a)(1)(B) ............ccccceeeeseeees 3, 6, 13

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No.

WILLIAM O. SCHISM and ROBERT L. REINLIE,

Petitioners,

V.

UNITED STATES,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the District Court (App. “D”, infra, 1i2a-

128a), granting surimary judgment for the United States, is

reported at 19 F.Supp. 2d 1287 (N.D. Fla., 1998). '

' Prior to the District Court granting summary judgment for the United

States, its motion to dismiss the complaint was granted in part and denied

in part. (See, App. “E,” infra, 129a-146a). The court’s opinion is reported

at 972 F.Supp. 1398 (N.D., Fla, 1997).

2

The panel decision of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit (App. “C”, infra, 93a-1 11a) is reported

at 239 F.3d 1280 (C.A. Fed. (Fla.), 2001).

The en banc opinion of the Court of Appeals (App. “A”,

infra, 1a-90a) is reported at F.3d __, 2002 WL 31549178

(C.A., Fed. (Fla.), 2002).

JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals Order/Opinion was entered on

November 18, 2002.

The jurisdiction of the District Court was invoked under 28

U.S.C. 1346(a)(2) [Little Tucker Act].

The jurisdiction of the Court of Appeals was invoked under

28 U.S.C. 1295(a)(2).

The jurisdiction of this Court was invoked under 28 U.S.C.

Section 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

5 U.S.C. 301

The head of an Executive department or military depart-

ment may prescribe regulations for the government of

his department, the conduct of its employees, the

distribution and performance of its business, and the

custody, use, and preservation of its records, papers, and

property. This section does not authorize withholding

information from the public or limiting the availability

of records to the public.

? The government’s application for en banc review was granted, and

the panel decision was withdrawn. See, App. “B,” infra, 91a-92-a, and

252 F.3d. 1354 (C.A. Fed. (Fla.), 2001). ;

3

28 U.S.C. Section 1346(a)(2) [Little Tucker Act])

United States as defendant

(a) The district courts shall have original jurisdiction,

concurrent with the United States Court of Federal

Claims, of:

(2) Any other civil action or claim against the United

States, not exceeding $10,000 in amount, founded

either upon . . . any express or implied contract with

the United States ....

31 U.S.C. 1341(a)(1)(B)

An officer or employee of the United States Government or

of the District of Columbia government may not involve

either government in a contract or obligation for the payment

of money before an appropriation is made unless authorized

by law.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

[T]o induce people to join the armed services during

the World War II and Korean War era and make it a

career, military recruiters, under the direction of

superiors, orally promised recruits that if they served on

active duty for at least 20 years, upon retirement they

would receive free lifetime medical care for themselves

and their dependents. The government concedes such

promises were made in good faith and relied upon.

[Petitioners] allege that they were fulfilled until 1995

when, [Petitioners] assert, the government breached

these implied-in-fact contracts by effectively denying

them free care so they had to purchase Medicare Part B

insurance in order to be treated by civilian doctors or

obtain medications without paying fees because space

was no longer available in military facilities where care

4

and medications were free. We must decide whether the

government is bound by those promises. ’

This case raises two important related questions affecting

perhaps as many as a million-and-a-half elderly World War II

and Korean War veterans. It involves the meaning of one

of this Court’s decisions, the construction of two federal

statutes, and the retroactive effect of another.

The Court of Appeals (after characterizing as “pay” Peti-

tioners’ receipt of contractually-based, government-provided,

post-retirement, free lifetime medical care) interpreted this

Court’s decision in Bell v. United States* as carving a “mili-

tary benefits” exception into the Little Tucker Act’s creation

of a cause of action against the government for its breach of

an implied contract—in this case, the contract for that

medical care.

The Court of Appeals also held, in the alternative, that even

if there was no such Bell-basead “military benefits” exception,

5 U.S.C. Section 301 did not authorize offers’ by military

recruiters of free lifetime medical care for personnel serving

at least twenty years.

* |a-2a. Emphasis added. It should be noted that Petitioners’ claim has

always been that they were deprived of free lifetime medical care not

“because space was no longer available in military facilities where cave

and medications were free,” but because under the 1995 TRICARE

program once becoming 65 years old they would not be treated at such

facilities even if space was available. See Schism and Reinlie v. United

States, 972 F.Supp. 1398, 1400 (1997).

* E.g., Ila.

> 366 U.S. 393 (1961).

° Although the District Court and both the Court of Appeals panel and

en banc opinions referred to the recruiters’ offers as “promises,” Peti-

tioners shall use the terms “ offer” and “offers” because they are more apt

in the context of the Little Tucker Act contract issues presented here.

5

Among those who had accepted the government’s offers

were World War II veterans Schism and Reinlie, Petitioners

here, each of whom served their country for at least the

requisite 20 years. For its part, the government lived up to its

bargain, providing post-retirement free medical care for

Schism and Reinlie and their dependents.

Until 1995. Then, the government forced all veteran-

offerees over 65 years of age to join the Medicare pro-

gram—which, with its deductibles, co-pays and premiums, is

not free.

Aggrieved, Petitioners sued under the Little Tucker Act.

Their theory was that the recruiters’ offers of post-retirement

free lifetime medical care had been accepted by the veterans’

performance, that an implied contract was thus formed, that

the contract was breached when the government ceased to

provide free medical care, and that the Little Tucker Act gave

them a statutory cause of action against the government for

breach of that contract.

The District Court granted summary judgment for the

government. Petitioners appealed to the Court of Appeals,

where initially a three-judge panel ruled unanimously in their

favor.’ The government sought and was granted en banc

review, and the panel decision was withdrawn. ®

A 9-4 decision of the en banc Court of Appeals then

affirmed the District Court. °

Even though the en banc majority recognized that the

recruiters’ offers had actually been made, that those offers

were made at the behest of superiors, that the offers were

made in good faith, that the offers were relied on through

enlistment (or reenlistment), and that the offerees performed

by serving in the military for at least 20 years, still, the Court

” See, App. “C,” infra, 93a-! 11a.

* See, App. “B,” infra, 91a-92a. It is from the en banc decision of the

Federal Circuit that this Petition for a Writ of Certiorari is sought.

* See, App “A”, infra, la-90a.

SL ER IN SIT

6

of Appeals affirmed the District Court.'° It did so by hold-

ing that:

(1) This Court’s Bell decision had carved a “military

benefits” exception into the Little Tucker Act,

(2) There was no statutory authority under 5 U.S.C.

Section 301 for the recruiters’or their superiors’ offers

under 5 U.S.C. Section 301, and

(3) Even if the Commanders-in-Chief possessed the

power to authorize World War II and Korean War

military departments, through recruiters and_ their

superiors, to offer post-retirement free lifetime medi-

cal care to military personnel who served at least

twenty years, the Anti-Deficiency Act!’ could be applied

retroactively to abrogate the contracts made and

performed as a result of those offers.

However, notwithstanding its decision, the en banc

majority concluded its opinion with these words:

We cannot more readily imagine more sympathetic

plaintiffs than the retired officers of the World War II

and Korean War era involved in this case. They served

their country for at least 20 years with the understanding

that when they retired they and their dependents would

receive full free health care for life. The promise of such

health care was made in good faith and relied upon.

'° A colloquy during the panel oral argument captures the govern- i

ment’s and the en banc majority’s position: |

Judge Pauline Newman: “You’re not telling us that these promises |

were not made [you’re] just saying they don’t have to be kept?”

E. Roy Hawkens, Esq.: “That’s correct, your honor.” |

Mr. Hawkens represented the United States of America, on behalf

of the Department of Justice. See, page 5 of [unofficial] transcript

of March 7, 2006 oral argument.

''31 U.S.C. Section 1341(a)(1)(B): “An officer or employee of the

United States Government or of the District of Columbia government may

not involve either government in a contract or obligation for the payment

of money before an appropriation is made unless authorizec by law.”

7

* * * Perhaps Congress will consider using its legal

power to address the moral claims raised by [Petitioners]

Schism and Reinlie on their own behalf, and indirectly

for other affected retirees. '?

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Review by this Court of the Court of Appeals en banc

decision is compelling and important not only because it has

affected perhaps as many as a million-and-a-half World War

II and Korean War veterans,’? not only because that decision

has saved the government billions of dollars,'* and not only

because, as the Court of Appeals noted, “The Supreme Court

has not explicitly applied the [Bell] principles to compre-

hensive medical benefit entitlements for military retirees or

(as in this case) to an asserted implied-in-fact contract

grounded on the conceded promises of full free lifetime medi-

'? 69a-70a. This was not the first place the Court of Appeals’s en banc

majority opinion expressed discomfit with its own decision. Early in its

opinion the court stated that “[a]cccordingly, we must affirm the district

court’s judgment and can do no more than hope Congress will make good

on the promises recruiters made in good faith to plaintiffs and others of

the World War II and Korean War era... .” 4a.

The dissent—which rejected the majority’s Bell-based “military bene-

fits” exception to the Little Tucker Act, and found adequate authority in 5

U.S.C. Section 301 for the recruiters’ offers—likened Petitioners Schism

and Reinlie to Rudyard Kipling’s discarded soldier, once the need for his

service has passed. 70a-7 la.

A separate dissent, noted that “[w]Jhen an individual, at the behest of

the government acting through its authorized representatives, devotes

essentially his or her productive lifetime to the defense of the rest of us,

undertakes training that itself is inherently more dangerous than the

typical civilian occupation, and stands ready to go in harm’s way so

that others need not, it ill behooves us—either the Executive or the

Judiciary—to display the kind of public ingratitude that this case does.”

89a.

° Cf Lynch v. United States, 292 U.S. 571 (1934).

'* See, Respondent’s Combined Petition for Panel Rehearing and

Rehearing En Banc, at 1. ;

8

cal care.”'” Review is compelling and important because of

the Court of Appeal’s amendment of the Little Tucker Act, by

carving a supposed Bell-based “military benefits” exception

out of that statute when neither its text nor any decision of

this Court has ever done so.

Moreover, since the Court of Appeals is the sole appellate

forum for all Little Tucker Act cases, the Bell-based “military

benefits” exception to every implied contract case against the

government will henceforth govern those litigations, and no

pay, pension, deferred compensation, or similar claim brought

by a member of the uniformed services will any longer sur-

vive a motion to dismiss or a motion for summary judg-

ment.'® With one decision, the Federal Circuit has eliminated

all Little Tucker Act implied contract cases brought by every

active and retired member of the United States military

having to do with all forms of military benefits—unless suit is

brought under a specific federal statute.'’

'S 20a. Cf, Barker v. Kansas, 503 U.S. 594 (1992).

'© This is especially unfortunate in view of “the canon that provisions

for benefits to members of the Armed Services are to be construed in the

beneficiaries’ favor. Fishgold v. Sullivan Drydock and Repair Corp., 328

U.S. 275, 285 . . . .” (King v. St. Vincent’s Hospital, 502 U.S. 215, 221,

n.9 (1991)).

'7 One could say that the Little Tucker Act is such a statute, but the

Federal Circuit rejected that idea in favor of requiring a specific federal

statute as in Bell, where the plaintiffs sued under both the 1814 “Act for

the better organizing, paying, and supplying the army of the United

States” and the later Missing Persons Act.

It is not a little ironic that in its decision the Federal Circuit has held

that a member of the United States military cannot sue the government

under the Little Tucker Act for breach of an implied contract for military

benefits, but can sue if he or she can find another statute—even one which

has nothing to do with contract, implied or otherwise—if such a statute

does have to do with military benefits.

9

As noted above, after its lengthy elaboration of why “mili-

tary health care benefits as a form of compensation have long

been exclusively a creature of statute, not contract,” and thus

why “[ojn this basis alone, we could dispose of this appeal,”

the majority apparently believed it necessary to rule in the

alternative that “[e]ven assuming a contract law analysis were

proper, plaintiffs still do not have a valid contract because the

recruiters lacked actual authority to negotiate entitlements for

full, free lifetime health care benefits.” '®

This ruling was the en banc majority’s 5 U.S.C. 301 point.

That section provides:

The head of an Executive department or military depart-

ment may prescribe regulations for the government of

his department, the conduct of its employees, the

distribution and performance of its business, and

the custody, use, and preservation of its records, papers,

and property. (“Sentence One”] This section does not

authorize withholding information from the public or

limiting the availability of records to the public.

[“Sentence Two”](5 U.S.C. 301; emphasis added).

Petitioners had argued in the Court of Appeals that

Sentence One of this statute provided adequate authority for

the heads of the military departments to delegate, down

through the chain of command to military recruiters, the

power to offer free lifetime medical care.!°

The government disagreed, and the Court of Appeals held

that this Court has “made clear that the sole statute relied

on by the [Petitioners], 5 U.S.C. 301, authorizes only

‘housekeeping’ matters like internal policies and procedures;

8 26a.

? It is noteworthy that the Court of Appeals expressly recognized that

“[t]he government admits that 5 U.S.C. Section 301 and ‘its precursors

authorized appropriate military officials to prescribe rules that allowed

retirees and their dependents to receive free medical care in existing mili-

tary facilities on a space available basis.” Emphasis in original. 35a.

19

it thus cannot authorize the creation of a benefit entitlement

via contracts.”””

The case in this Court to which the Court of Appeals

referred, and upon which the en banc majority rested its

conclusion, is Chrysler Corp. v. Brown.”"

However, in the Chrysler case, this Court did not have

before it 5 U.S.C. 301’s Sentence One, but rather Sentence

Two. In other words, Chrysler did not address, let alone

decide, anything concerning the substantive reach of 5 U.S.C.

301. This Court, neither in Chrysler nor in any other case,

has ever expressly decided what the two core statutory

terms—‘“‘government” and “performance”—mean in Sentence

One of 5 U.S.C. 301.

Chrysler involved a “reverse FOIA” suit. As a government

contractor, the company had to submit considerable data

about its business to the Department of Defense. Regulations

of the Secretary of Labor provided that much of that data

could be reached by third parties under FOIA. Third parties

tried, and in the course of resolving that dispute, this Court

had occasion to address 5 U.S.C. 301. In doing so, while this

Court referred to Section 301 as a “housekeeping statute” it

held only that in the context of the FOIA issue presented in

Chrysler, “[g]iven this long and relatively uncontroversial

history [of Section 301] of the statute itself, it seems to be

simply a grant of authority to the agency to regulate its own

affairs. What is clear from the legislative history of the 1958

[Sentence Two”] amendment to Section 301 is that this

2 97a.

2! 441 U.S. 281 (1979).

2 This nickname apparently derived from a passing reference in a

single House Report. See, 441 U.S. at 308, fn. 39.

> “This section does not authorize withholding information from the

public or limiting the availability of records to the public.”

11

section was not intended to provide authority for limiting the

scope of Section 1905.””4

Thus, Chrysler—the lynchpin of the en banc majority’s

rejection of Section 301 as statutory authority for the

recruiters’ offers—only involved Sentence One, and never

interpreted the statute’s two core (Sentence One) terms,

“government” and “performance.”

The only modern interpretation of Section 301’s Sentence

One—which stands ‘n stark contrast to the interpretation

given it by the en banc majority—is this Court’s decision in

Georgia v. United States.” There, the Attorney General of

the United States “[b]y way of implementing the performance

of his obligation to pass on state submissions under [Section 5

of the Voting Rights Act] . . . promulgated .. . certain

administrative regulations . . . .7°

Georgia had claimed that the Attorney General’s regu-

lations were without federal legislative authorization. In

answer to that argument, this Court—while not expressly

interpreting Section 301’s Sentence One terms “government”

and “performance” — held that Section 301 was adequate to

authorize the Attorney General’s regulations:

It is true . . . that Section 5 [of the Voting Rights Act]

does not authorize the Attorney General to promulgate

any regulations. But Section 5 is also silent as to the

procedures the Attorney General is to employ in

deciding whether or not to object to state submissions, as

to the standards governing the contents of those sub-

missions, and as to the meaning of the 60-day time

period in which the Attorney General is to object, if at

all. Rather than reading the statute to grant him ur-

fettered discretion as to procedures, standards, and

** Chrysler Corp. v. Brown, 441 U.S. at 309. Emphasis added.

5 411 U.S. 526 (1973).

*° Georgia v. United States, 411 U.S. at 536. Emphasis added.

12

administration in this sensitive area, the Attorney Gen-

eral has chosen instead to formulate and publish objec-

tive ground rules. If these regulations are reasonable and

do not conflict with the Voting Rights Act itself, then 5

U.S.C. Section 301, which gives to “[t]he head of and

Executive Department” the power to “prescribe regu-

lations for the government of his department, . . . [and]

the distribution and performance of its business. . .,”’ is

surely ample legislative authority for the regulations.”’

Given the truly uncountable regulations issued by federal

administrative and other agencies, given that the Court of

Appeals’s erroneous reliance on Chrysler has clouded every

Little Tucker Act implied contract case that will ever be

brought (not just those involving military benefits), and given

that this Court’s decision in Georgia v. United States did not

expressly interpret Section 301’s Sentence One core term

“government” and only implicitly interpreted its other core

term, “performance,” it is compellingly important that this

petition for a writ of certiorari be granted.

Petitioners also argued below that as Commanders-in-

Chief, the American presidents of the time had the power,

down through the chain of command, to authorize their

military recruiters to make the free lifetime medical care

offers. Petitioners’ argument was rooted in the Youngstown ”*®

analysis found in Justice Jackson’s concurrence, by now a

staple of this Court’s Article II jurisprudence. Essentially,

they contended that since Congress had never curtailed the

Commanders-in-Chiefs’ power to spend funds appropriated

for the military on recruitment offers, and on the later medical

care those accepted offers required, under the Youngstown

analysis the Commanders-in-Chief acted at the height of their

powers in authorizing their recruiters to make the free

lifetime medical care offers.

2” Georgia v. United States, 411 U.S. at 536. Emphasis added.

8 Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer, 343 U.S. 579 (1952).

13

The Court of Appeals rejected this argument, ruling that

the Commanders-in-Chief lacked the power because their

expenditure of funds for that medical care would violate the

Anti-Deficiency Act. That Act, however, was passed long

after the contracts for free lifetime medical care were made

and performed,” yet the Court of Appeals failed to provide

any authority for the proposition that, even if the Act did

restrict a Commander-in-Chief’s power, it could be applied

retroactively.

Accordingly, because the related questions of whether the

Commanders-in-Chief possessed the power to authorize the

Little Tucker Act contracts at issue here, and whether those

contracts could retroactively be abrogated by the Anti-

Deficiency Act, are compellingly important to the many

private parties to those agreements, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

CONCLUSION

Because of this case’s compelling importance to countless

American veterans, to the national treasury, to the

interpretation of this Court’s decision in Bell v. United States,

to the scope of 5 U.S.C. 301 and 28 U.S.C. 1346(a)(2), to the

scope of Commander-in-Chief power, and to the retroactivity

of the Anti-Deficiency Act, the petition for a writ of certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

GEORGE E. DAY *

TIMOTHY I. MEADE

HiNRY MARK HOLZER

DAY & MEADE, P.A.

32 Beal Parkway, SW

Ft. Walton Beach, Florida 32548

* Counsel of Record (850) 243-1234

”” See, Pub. L. 97-258, Sept. 17, 1982, 96 Stat. 923.

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

99-1402

WILLIAM O. SCHISM and ROBERT L. REINLIE,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appellee.

November 18, 2002, Decided

OPINION

Before MAYER, Chief Judge, NEWMAN and MICHEL,

Circuit Judges, PLAGER, Senior Circuit Judge, LOURIE,

CLEVENGER, RADER, SCHALL, BRYSON, GAJARSA,

LINN, DYK, and PROST, Circuit Judges.

MICHEL, Circuit Judge.

To induce people to join the armed services during the

World War II and Korean War era and make it a career,

military recruiters, under the direction of superiors, orally

promised recruits that if they served on active duty for at least

20 years, they would receive free lifetime medical care for

themselves and their dependents. The government concedes

such promises were made in good faith and relied upon.

Plaintiffs allege that they were fulfilled until 1995 when,

plaintiffs assert, the government breached these implied-in-

2a

fact contracts by effectively denying them free care so they

had to purchase Medicare Part B insurance in order to be

treated by civilian doctors or obtain medications without

paying fees because space was no longer available in military

facilities where care and medications were free. We must

decide whether the government is bound by those promises.

Plaintiffs Schism and Reinlie appeal from a summary

judgment by the United States District Court for the Northern

District of Florida holding that because the promises were not

authorized they are not enforceable. Schism v. United States,

19 F. Supp. 2d 1287, 1295 (N.D. Fla. 1998). The district court

concluded that because no statute authorized these promises,

no valid contract was formed between the government and

plaintiffs (or other similarly-situated military retirees, i.e.,

those who entered service prior to 1956 and by 1995 were 65

or more years of age). See id.

Plaintiffs allege they were “promised full post retirement

medical care for themselves and their dependents in military

hospitals,” First Amended Complaint at 2, and that because

for decades Congress funded such free care this promise gave

rise to an _ implied-in-fact contract. They claim the

government breached these promises of lifetime free medical

care in 1995 by promulgating regulations to implement

Tricare (a program that offered government-funded health

care by civilian doctors to retirees under age 65), codified at

32 C.F.R. § 199.17.' See Reply Brief at 2. Indeed, plaintiffs

state that “the government forced [them] to go to Medicare

and pay for their own medical care.” /d. Nothing in the

' We note at the outset that neither Tricare in 1995 nor CHAMPUS

before it provided for any health care insurance coverage paid for by the

government for retirees who were “Medicare eligible,” i.e., over 65.

See 32 C.F.R. § 199.4(eX3)(vi) (1995) (CHAMPUS), 32 C.F.R.

§ 199.17(c\3\i) (1995) (Tricare). Thus, it would seem the breach, if any,

first occurred in 1956 as well as 1966 and 1986 when Congress enacted

programs that failed to include retirees who were 65 or older.

3a

Tricare implementing regulation, however, requires retirees

65 or older to elect Medicare Part B coverage; rather

plaintiffs here freely elected to do so, despite the fact that

they were still entitled to receive free medical care at military

facilities on a space-available basis. See 32 C.F.R.

§ 199.17(f)(1). Plaintiffs presumably purchased additional

medical coverage under Medicare Part B because while they

remained entitled to space-available treatment in military

facilities, as a practical matter, such space was less often

available than before.” As a result, plaintiffs complain that,

whereas in the past they nearly always received complete free

care, they now had to pay Medicare Part B premiums in order

to receive less care without paying fees.” Accordingly, the

plaintiffs’ claim implies that either Congress was obligated to

maintain military medicine sufficient for their treatment, or in

the alternative, to make them eligible for free health insurance

coverage (such as Tricare) enjoyed by retirees under 65. And

the damages they seek represent the monthly Medicare fees

plaintiffs have paid since 1995. They sued under the Little

Tucker Act. See 28 U.S.C § 1346(a)(2) (2000).

The principal question before us is whether the promises

made to the plaintiffs, older Air Force retirees, were within

the authority of the Air Force Secretary under 5 U.S.C. § 301

in view of annual congressional appropriations for military

medicine, as the plaintiffs assert. Because 5 U.S.C. § 301 at

most authorizes space-available treatment, and not free health

? This was due to the combined effect of Congress downsizing military

medical facilities and the 1995 regulations which continued to place

retirees 65 or older at the bottom of the preference list of all groups

entitled to military medical care. See 32 C.F.R. § 199.17(d)(1).

> Medicare Part B provides for medical insurance (as opposed to

hospitalization insurance) and helps pay for doctors’ services, outpatient

care, and various other medical services that Medicare Part A (hospital

insurance) does not cover. However, while Part A is free, under Part B

beneficiaries must pay premiums, co-pays, and deductibles.

.: Acacia iii i

4a

insurance for life, we hold that the Air Force Secretary lacked

the authority in the 1950s when plaintiffs joined to promise

free and full medical care.

Further, under long-standing Supreme Court precedent,

“common-law rules governing private contracts have no place

in the area of military pay,” Bell v. United States, 366 U.S.

393, 401, 6 L. Ed. 2d 365, 81 S. Ct. 1230 (1961), or pensions

and hospital privileges, see Lynch v. United States, 292 U.S.

571, 577, 78 L. Ed. 1434, 54 S. Ct. 840 (1934) (citing United

States v. Teller, 107 U.S. 64, 68, 27 L. Ed. 352, 2 S. Ct. 39

(1883) for the proposition that the grant of pensions and such

privileges creates no vested right in the recipient and can be

withdrawn or redistributed by Congress at any time). Thus

military retiree compensation, including free military medical

care and government-provided insurance, is controlled

exclusively by statute, and so an action for breach of an

implied-in-fact contract cannot lie. See id.

Accordingly, we must affirm the district court’s judgment

and can do no more than hope Congress will make good on

the promises recruiters made in good faith to plaintiffs and

others of the World War II and Korean War era—from 1941

to 1956, when Congress enacted its first health care insurance

act for military members, excluding older retirees. Although

these retirees were made eligible for free insurance effective

in 2002, such relief was prospective only, leaving them

uncompensated for insurance expenses incurred from 1995-

2001, the subject of the relief they request here.

Background

The essential facts in this case are undisputed. For an

extensive treatment of all the facts, see the opinion of the

district court. Schism, 19 F. Supp. 2d at 1288-89. The present

opinion will treat only the facts relevant to our analysis.

Schism and Reinlie each accumulated 20 years of active

duty in the Armed Services. Schism enlisted in the United

5a

States Navy in April 1943, and was honorably discharged in

February 1946. In 1951, he received an indefinite

appointment in the Air Force. In 1956, he began active

service, which continued until his retirement in 1979. Thus,

his Air Force service alone entitled him to retirement benefits.

Reinlie enlisted in the United States Army in 1942 and

served on active duty until October 1945. He entered the Air

Force in 1951 and, in 1953, he received an indefinite term

appointment. Reinlie served continuously until he retired

from the Air Force in 1967. While the precise dates of

Reinlie’s service are not in the record before us, he apparently

had sufficient retirement credits between his World War II

service and his subsequent Air Force service to total 20 years.

The government has indicated that the relevant start of

service dates for plaintiffs are 1951 for Schism and 1953 for

Reinlie, the dates of their indefinite appointments. The

retirees do not dispute this fact, so we deem these to be the

relevant dates. Therefore, the only promises that matter are

those of the Air Force recruiters in 1951 and 1953.

At the time the retirees joined the Air Force, recruiters

allegedly promised free lifetime medical care for them and

their dependents in exchange for serving 20 years. Plaintiffs

contend that their acceptance of this offer and the

government’s subsequent practice of providing free medical

care formed an implied-in-fact contract. In 1995, however,

the government implemented TRICARE, a program that

essentially modeled the availability of health care benefits for

retirees along the lines of a health maintenance organization

(“HMO”). See 32 C.F.R. § 199.17. Retired service members

who qualify for Medicare under the Social Security Act,

however, are not eligible for TRICARE benefits. But

TRICARE does allow military retirees over age 65 to

maintain the military health coverage that they had previously

received for free by paying a monthly Medicare fee, which is

— _

6a

deducted from their social security benefit payments.’ On

December 11, 1996, plaintiffs brought a Little Tucker Act

action” alleging that the government had breached its

implied-in-fact contracts by requiring them to pay for

Medicare coverage.°

Before the district court, the retirees sought “an order

requiring the United States to cease deducting payments from

their retired pay and to provide [them] and their dependents

the unlimited free medical care for which they allegedly

contracted.” Schism, 19 F. Supp. 2d at 1289. The retirees

argued that the recruiters’ authority to make promises of full

free lifetime medical care had multiple sources, the clearest

being the broad language of 5 U.S.C. § 301 (1958). Under

that and other statutes, the military departments promulgated

for decades regulations that governed the eligibility of retirees

* Medicare Part B is the specific plan that these retirees elected so as to

also receive certain physicians’ services, home health service, laboratory

services, and other services. See 42 U.S.C. § 1395k (2000) (explaining

Medicare Part B services). It appears the monthly fee paid by the retirees

in 1995 was about $ 45 per person. :

> The Little Tucker Act states:

Any other civil action or claim against the United States, not

exceeding $ 10,000 in amount, founded either upon the

Constitution, or any Act of Congress, or any regulation of an

executive department, or upon any express or implied contract with

the United States, or for liquidated or unliquidated damages in cases

not sounding in tort, except that the district courts shall not have

jurisdiction of any civil action or claim against the United States

founded upon any express or implied contract with the United States

or for liquidated or unliquidated damages in cases not sounding in

tort which are subject to sections 8(g\(1) and 10(a)(1) of the

Contract Disputes Act of 1978.

28 U.S.C. § 1346(a)(2) (2000).

° The plaintiffs also brought a motion for class certification that was

denied by the district court as moot in view of its grant of summary

judgment in favor of the government.

ee ee ee ee ee Pe NG

Ta

for health care, including Army Regulation AR 40-505

P2(b)(2) (1934) (allowing use of Army hospitals to Army

retirees “provided sufficient accommodations are available

for their treatment”), Army Regulation AR 40-590 P6(b)(1)

(1935) (limiting availability of care from Army hospitals to

“retired personnel on inactive status” who will benefit “by

hospitalization for a reasonable time,” not those who

“merely” require “domiciliary care by reason of age or

chronic invalidism”), and Air Force Regulation AFR 160-73

P14(h) (1951) (limiting hospitalization of retired Air Force

personnel to those “who will be benefited by hospitalization

for a reasonable length of time”). In addition, the 1943 edition

of the Navy’s Manual of the Medical Department

(““MEDi!AN”) also states: “Retired officers and enlisted

men, inactive, are not entitled to civilian medical and hospital

treatment at government expense. They are entitled to

treatment in naval hospitals by naval medical officers when

available upon application... .” 1943 MEDMAN § 3168.

Plaintiffs cite and rely on all these sources.

In further support for their position, the retirees pointed to

a 1945 letter written by James Forrestal, then-Secretary of the

Navy, to “Naval Reserve and Temporary USN Officers.” The

letter encourages reserve officers to transfer to the Regular

service. Attached to this letter was a recruitment brochure

indicating that retired Navy personnel would receive free

medical care. The retirees asserted that this letter explicitly

authorized the recruiters’ oral promises of free lifetime health

care. In a similar vein, they contended that because Congress

later expressly authorized certain plans for some retired

service members and their dependents, e.g., “CHAMPUS”

(Civilian Health and Medical Program of the United States),

10 U.S.C. § 1036 (1966), it also necessarily authorized

recruiters’ earlier oral promises of free lifetime medical care.

Citing the repeated appropriations of funds then used to pay

for military medical care, including the care given to retirees,

8a

Schism alternatively argued that Congress later ratified the

recruiters’ promises.

The government responded that none of the military

services’ regulations in place before 1956 promised free

unconditional lifetime medical care for retirees and,

moreover, that 5 U.S.C. § 301 did not authorize promises of

such care even if the regulations did conditionally authorize

care under certain circumstances. Further, the government

argued, Congress did not ratify the recruiters’ oral promises

because it never explicitly appropriated funds for an

entitlement to free lifetime medical care for retirees.

On August 31, 1998, the district court rejected the retirees’

claim, hoiding that as a matter of law neither the relevant

statutes nor the regulations authorized the recruiters’

promises of full free lifetime medical care. See Schism, 19 F.

Supp. 2d at 1295. In reaching this conclusion, the court

explained that while “recruiters made promises to potential

recruits that they could obtain lifetime medical care for

themselves and their dependents by joining the armed forces

” An authorization act is passed every year by both chambers of

Congress. In this act, the Congress enumerates, or “authorizes,” the

activities that may be carried-out by each department. (Other activities

may be authorized by permanent legislation.) An appropriations bill, on

the other hand, explicitly provides the amount of funding each such

activity will receive for that Fiscal Year. In the present case, the retirees

cite to authorization and appropriations statutes that provide (among

other things):

Army Authorizations:

“. . . for medical care and treatment of patients when entitled

thereto by law, regulation, or contract . . . except when elective

treatment has been obtained in civilian hospitals . . . .” 58 Stat. 583

(1944).

‘*... medical and dental care of personnel entitled thereto by law

or regulation, and other measures necessary to protect the health of

the Army ... .” 83 Stat. 472 (1969).

[a7 MP oe ee ee See) ae eee ee ee

9a

and fulfilling certain service obligations,” those promises

conflicted with the regulations then in place. Id. Accordingly,

the court concluded, because the recruiters lacked the

requisite authority to make promises binding on the

government, no valid contracts between the retirees and the

relevant service branches were formed. Jd. Summary

judgment was therefore granted in favor of the government.

On February 8, 2001, a panel of this court reversed, stating

“there is nothing in the regulations or law prior to 1956 that

would have prohibited recruiters from making [the promises

of full free lifetime medical care]; indeed those regulations

appear to authorize them. At the least, there is no

inconsistency between them.” Schism v. United States, 239

F.3d 1280, 1288 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (vacated). The full court

then granted the government’s petition for a rehearing en

banc, and, by order dated June 13, 2001, asked the parties to

rebrief the appeal, addressing (among other things) the

following issues: (1) whether promises of free medical care

for life are enforceable in general and in particular under 5

U.S.C. § 301; (2) whether congressional appropriations had

ratified those promises; and (3) the relevance, if any, of the

new TRICARE for Life Bill, enacted in December 2000, Pub.

L. No. 106-398, § 712 (2000), the conference report of which

States that it “provides permanent lifetime TRICARE

eligibility for Medicare-eligible military retirees and their

families beginning in fiscal year 2002,” 146 Cong. Rec.

H9642 (daily ed. Oct. 11, 2000). Schism v. United States,

252 F.3d 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2001).

On appeal, the retirees contend “the government forced

[them] to go on Medicare and pay for their own medical

care.” Citing the “unavailability of care under Medicare,” the

retirees explained that they had to pay for Medicare Part B

and supplemental insurance. Asserting that paying these fees

viclated their contract with the government, the retirees are

seeking damages. While the nature and extent of these

10a

damages are not explained in detail in the briefs, the logical

conclusion is that the retirees seek the costs they allegediy

have been “forced” to pay “to get less medical care than they

were receiving at no cost before [the alleged breach).”’

Indeed, these are the only damages that the retirees discuss in

any detail.

Schism also appeals the district court’s order granting the

government’s motion for a protective order that denied

additional discovery until after the court had ruled on the

government’s summary judgment motion. Adopting the

government’s assertion that the requested discovery was not

necessary to respond to this motion, the. district court

concluded “the burden and expense of the subject discovery

outweighs its likely benefit at this stage of the proceedings.”

Schism v. United States, No. 3:96cv349/RV, Order at 1 (N.D.

Fla. Sept. 19, 1997). The district court did indicate, however,

that if the government’s motion for summary judgment was

denied, the government would need to timely respond to the

unfulfilled discovery requests. /d. at 1-2.

As noted earlier, the plaintiffs’ contract claim was brought

under the Little Tucker Act, which provides concurrent

jurisdiction in the United States district courts and the United

States Court of Federal Claims for money claims against the

United States founded on (among other sources of law) “any

express or implied contract with the United States” that does

not exceed $ 10,000. 28 U.S.C. § 1346(a)(2).

Plaintiffs filed a timely notice of appeal. We have

exclusive subject matter jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1295(a)(2) and now affirm.

"ee

lla

Discussion

We review a district court’s grant of summary judgment de

novo. See T & M Distribs., Inc. v. United States, 185 F.3d

1279, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Summary judgment is proper

only if the record “shows that there is no genuine issue as to

any material fact and that the moving party is entitled to a

judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). For the

purposes of this appeal, the government concedes that

recruiters made the good faith representation to potential

recruits that, upon retirement, they and their dependents

would receive free, lifetime medical care.

I. Retirement Benefits for Military Personnel, as for

Civilian Federal Employees, Are Governed

Exclusively by Statute and Therefore May Not Be

Granted by Contract

Benefits for retired military personnel—and for civilian

retired federal employees, for that matter—depend upon an

exercise of legislative grace, not upon principles of contract,

property, or “takings” law. See Zucker v. United States, 758

F.2d 637, 640 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (explaining that federal

workers’ “entitlement to retirement benefits must be

determined by reference to the statutes and regulations

governing these benefits, rather than to ordinary contract

principles”); see also Bell v. United States, 366 U.S. 393, 401,

6 L. Ed. 2d 365, 81 S. Ct. 1230 (1961) (“A soldier’s

entitlement to pay is dependent upon statutory right.”); Kania

v. United States, 227 Ct. Cl. 458, 650 F.2d 264, 267-68 (Ct.

Cl. 1981) (“Thus it has long been held that the rights of

civilian and military public employees against the

government do not turn on contract doctrines but are matters

of legal status even where compacts are made.”); Shaw v.

United States, 226 Ct. Cl. 240, 640 F.2d 1254, 1260 (Ct. Cl.

1981) (stating “the law is well settled that, ‘public

employment does not, * * * give rise to a contractual

relationship in the conventional sense’) (citations omitted).

12a

In other words, Congress—and only Congress—can authorize

the benefits that a retired federal employee, whether civilian

or military, is entitled to receive. See Frisbie v. United

States, 157 U.S. 160, 166, 39 L. Ed. 657, 15 S. Ct. 586 (1895)

(“Pensions are the bounties of the government, which

Congress has the right to give, withhold, distribute, or recall

at its discretion. Congress, being at liberty to give or

withhold pensions, may prescribe who shall receive, and

determine all the circumstances and conditions under which

any application therefore shall be prosecuted. No man has a

legal right to a pension . . .. The whole control of that matter

is within the domain of congressional power.” (citations

omitted)).

A Congress Has Exercised Its Plenary Authority Over the

Military in the Realm of Health Care for Present and Former

Military Members and Their Dependents Since 1884 and Has

Never Authorized the Secretaries of the Military Departments

to Contract With Recruits for Benefits Not Provided for By

Statute

In a similar vein, Congress has since 1884 repeatedly

exercised its authority by enacting statutes that defined

the breadth of health care authorized for members of the

military and their dependents. See 23 Stat. 112 (1884)

(authorizing spending for medical care for the dependents

of active duty Army personnel when “practicable”). In

1929, for example, Congress authorized medical care for

Navy retirees at non-naval hospitals. See 45 Stat. 1090

(“The Secretary of the Navy may provide for the care and

treatment of naval patients on the active or retired list ...

entitled to treatment in naval hospitals in other

government hospitals when appropriate naval hospital

facilities are not available and the government agencies

having control of such other hospitals consent thereto.”’).

In addition, in 1943, Congress acted so as to limit the

hospitalization of dependents of active duty Navy

13a

members. See 57 Stat. 80, 81 (1943) (authorizing

hospitalization for dependents of Navy and Marine Corps

personnel “only for acute medical and surgical conditions,

exclusive of nervous, mental, or contagious diseases or

those requiring domiciliary care”).

In 1956, Congress began a series of legislative acts that

have formed the basis for modern-day retired military

medical care. The three-fold purpose of the medical care

program for retirees is best explained by the Department

of Defense:

To provide incentives for armed forces personnel to

undertake military service and remain in that service for a full

career; to help ensure the availability of physically acceptable

and experienced personnel in time of national emergency; and

to provide military physicians and dentists exposure to the

total spectrum of demographicall diverse morbidity necessary

to support professional training programs and ensure

professional satisfaction for a medical service career.

Office of the Secretary of Defense. United States

Department of Defense, Military Compensation Background

Papers: Compensation Elements and Related Manpower Cost

Items. Their Purposes and Legislative Backgrounds at 609

(Sth ed. 1996). The Dependents’ Medical Care Act of 1956,

70 Stat. 250, 253 (1956), (“the 1956 Act”) was intended in

part “to provide a uniform and improved program of medical

care for the dependents of members of the uniformed

services.” H.R. Rep. No. 84-1805 at 1 (1956). This Act

expressly included conditional health care for retirees:

“a member or former member of a uniformed service who is

entitled to retired . . . pay may, upon request, be given

medical and dental care in any facility of any uniformed

service subject to the availability of space and facilities and

the capabilities of the medical and dental staff.” 10 U.S.C.

§ 1074(b) (1956) (emphases added). Thus, military retirees

and their dependents were given “a contingent right to care in

l4a

military medical facilities .... 10 U.S.C. § 1074(b) (retirees)

and § 1076(b) (dependents or survivors of retired members).”

Military Compensation Background Papers at 609 (emphasis

added).

A mere ten years later, in 1966, Congress revisited the

issue of retiree medical care when it amended the provisions

of Title 10 dealing with health care for (among others)

retirees and their dependents. In so doing, Congress granted

the authority to the Department of Defense to contract for the

provision of civilian health care for these groups (resulting in

the Civilian Health and Medical Program for the Uniformed

Services—CHAMPUS). /d. Indeed, in recommending this

amendment, the Secretary of Defense explained the need for

the legislation in view of there being insufficient space

available care for retirees in military facilities:

The purpose of the proposed legislation is to provide a

program of health benefits equally available to all retired

members of the uniformed services and their dependents.

Such a program is required to provide equitable benefits

to our rapidly increasing retired population. In future

years, these benefits must increasingly be provided by

civilian institutions due to the declining coverage of

space-available care in military facilities.

H.R. Rep. No. 89-1407, at 27 (emphasis added). The

House Committee on Armed Services echoed this concern,

emphasizing the “moral obligation of the government to

provide care in retirement to the military man and his

family.” Jd. at 23. Indeed, as recognition of this moral

obligation, the Committee substantially agreed with the

conclusion of a study commissioned by the Department of

Defense that while “the Government has no absolute legal

obligation to provide [health care in military facilities,] . . .

stated and implied promises of medical care following

retirement, both written and oral, . . . were for many years 2

standard part of personnel recruitment and retention efforts.”

lSa

Military Hospital Construction and Utilization Policies.

Report of the Special Subcommittee on Construction of

Military Hospital Facilities of the House Committee on

Armed Services at 10362 (Sept. 30, 1964) (emphasis added).

Thus, Congress was concerned with keeping the promise to

provide medical care for retirees and felt that it did so by

authorizing a program such as CHAMPUS, which would

bring retirees under an insurance program while retaining the

concept of space-available care in military facilities for

retirees.

CHAMPUS guaranteed retirees who were not yet entitled

to Medicare benefits access to authorized health services from

civilian sources as an alternative to care from military

facilities. Military Compensation Background Papers, at 609-

10. Of significance is that CHAMPUS was not a “free”

program:

By law, CHAMPUS is a cost-sharing program with the

retiree responsible, in the case of outpatient services, for a

deductible [which increases over time] . . . together with

[a percentage] of all allowed charges for “inpatient care.” The

Government pays the balance of the allowed charges for

authorized care, i.e., 75 percent of the allowed charges,

provided that a retiree or a retiree’s family group of two or

more persons may not be required to pay a total of [an

amount which increases over time] for health care received

under CHAMPUS during any fiscal year. 10 U.S.C.

§ 1086(b)(4).

Id. (footnote omitted). Thus, because the very program

Congress enacted in part for the retirees’ benefit was never

“free,” it is clear that Congress never intended health care for

retired career personnel to be without cost to the retirees.

Following yet another examination of health care for

retirees, in 1986, Congress enacted 10 U.S.C. §§ 1097, 1099

to further improve the health care system for service

l6a

members. This legislation provided the authority for the

military’s eventual implementation of TRICARE in the early

1990s, which offered CHAMPUS-eligible beneficiaries

(retirees under 65 years of age) a choice among a health

maintenance organization-type program, a preferred provider

network program, and CHAMPUS benefits. See 10 U.S.C.

§§ 1097, 1099 (1986). In order to stimulate enrollment in

TRICARE Prime, Congress amended section 1097 in 1996, to

provide that “the Secretary shall, as an incentive for

enrollment, establish reasonable preferences for services in

facilities of the uniformed services for covered beneficiaries

enrolled in any program established under, or operating in

connection with, any contract under this section.” 10 U.S.C.

§ 1097(c) (Supp. II 1996). Because TRICARE Prime was

limited to CHAMPUS-eligible beneficiaries, the priority

access requirement had the effect of reducing space-available

care for Medicare-eligible (65 years and over) retirees and

their dependents. Congress then took steps to ameliorate this

effect. For example, in 1997, it enacted the “Medicare

subvention demonstration project for military retirees,” which

provided for Medicare funding of a Department of Defense-

sponsored program similar to TRICARE Prime. See 42

U.S.C. § 1395ggg (Supp. III 1994). Then, in 1998, Congress

| acted again, adopting demonstration projects for Medicare-

eligible Department of Defense beneficiaries. See National

Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 1999, Pub. L. No.

105-261, §§ 721-723. These projects were the Federal

Employees Health Benefits Program Demonstration Project;

TRICARE as a Supplement to Medicare; and the Pharmacy

Redesign Implementation. Most recently, of course, Congress

exercised its authority over health care for retired military

members by introducing TRICARE For Life, which provides

a pharmacy services program for Medicare-eligible

beneficiaries and authorizes Medicare-eligible beneficiaries

who enroll in Medicare Part B to participate in CHAMPUS.

See Pub. L. No. 106-398, § 712 (2000).

LED S LL REM Te

17a

While Congress has legislated extensively in the realm of

military health care, as the history above indicates, not once

has it statutorily authorized the secretaries of the military

departments to contract with recruits for health benefit

entitlements. Compare, e.g., California v. United States, 271

F.3d 1377 (Fed. Cir. 2001) (wherein Congress granted the

Secretary of the Interior the express authority to contract with

the State of California regarding certain water projects);

48 C.F.R. § 1.601 (vesting the “agency head” with express

“authority and responsibility to contract for authorized

supplies and services” and mandating that only contracting

officers may enter into contracts on behalf of the

government). Of course, had Congress legislated that the

military secretaries could contract with recruits for specific

health care benefits, the situation would be different.

However, because Congress (1) has enacted statutes for over

100 years that govern the level and availability of health care

benefits for active and retired members of the armed services

and their dependents; and (2) has never provided furids for

contracts made by the secretary with recruits to grant health

care, the inescapable conclusion is that Congress simply did

not intend to delegate its authority over health care benefits

for military members. Rather, it intended to occupy the entire

field. In that context, one cannot reasonably infer that by

empowering service secretaries to run_ their respective

departments, Congress was silently authorizing them to grant

health care benefits via oral promises to recruits by the

service’s recruiters.

B The Supreme Court Has Ruled that Military Pay and

Benefit Entitlements are Controlled by Statute, Not Contract,

as Has Our Court, and These Rulings are Based in Sound and

Consistent Logic

The Supreme Court has recognized the irrelevance of

contract law for members of the military many times, Stating,

for example, that “common-law rules governing private

18a

contracts have no place in the area of military pay.” Bell v.

United States, 366 U.S. 393, 401, 6 L. Ed. 2d 365, 81 S. Ct.

1230 (1961). This is true even though recruiter and recruit

may each sign an enlistment contract agreeing to its contents;

the recruit’s entitlement to basic pay is simply not governed

by this contract, but by statute. See id. Accordingly, in Bell,

the Supreme Court determined that even though an enlisted

soldier captured in the war had espoused communism, called

the President a “traitor,” aided his captors as a prisoner of war

and thereby allegedly “breached” his enlistment contract, he

was still entitled to his basic pay for as long as he was a

member of the military. /d. at 401-02. In short, the Court

reasoned, the pre-existing statute—not the enlistment

contract—governed the soldier’s right to basic pay. /d. at

402. And so even though a solider “may violate his contract

obligations, his status as a soldier is unchanged”;

consequently, as a “soldier,” he was entitled to all the benefits

prescribed by statute, including his statutorily-mandated basic

pay. /d.; see also United States v. Larionoff; 431 U.S. 864,

869, 53 L. Ed. 2d 48, 97 S. Ct. 2150 (1977) (stating in a

bonus pay case that, “the rights of the affected service

members must be determined by reference to the [relevant

statutes and regulations] rather than to ordinary contract

principles”).

The doctrine that statutes are the exclusive source of law

governing the compensation rights of members of the military

for pensions as well as pay appears in Court opinions as early

as 1856. In Walton v. Cotton, 60 U.S. 355, 357, 15 L. Ed. 658

(1856), the Court explained that to determine who qualifies as

beneficiaries of a deceased revolutionary war captain’s

pension “the case turns upon the construction of [the!

statutes” pertaining to the pensions and not upon any other

source of law. This understanding also prevails in subsequent

cases, with the Court quoting Walton as the source for the

rule that only congressional acts determine compensation of

soldiers. United States v. Teller, 107 U.S. 64, 68, 27 L. Ed.

ee a ee a ee Se ee ee ee ee ee

em Pe ee ee

ee REE TS SA, SOR |

er ee er nr ae

19a

352, 2 S. Ct. 39 (1883) (“military pensions are the bounties of

the government, which Congress has the right to give,

withhold, distribute, or recall at its discretion”).® See also

Frisbie v. United States, 157 U.S. 160, 166, 39 L. Ed. 657, 15

S. Ct. 586 (1895) (quoting the same rule as the basis for its

analysis that statute, not contract law, governs the entire

administration of military pensions, and further holding that

statute supercedes even where third party agents have

contracted independently with pension beneficiaries). While

the post-Walton cases do not offer any independent

justification for the doctrine, they are explicit about the

statutory source for their decisions and the rejection of other

legal bases in their analysis.

As mentioned above, this principle that compensation is

controlled by statute has been applied specifically to pensions

and hospitalization benefits for soldiers, thus, illustrating not

only the exclusive role of statutes in determining military

personnel’s compensation rights, but also touching on rights

akin to those claimed by the plaintiffs in this case. In Lynch vy.

United States, 292 U.S. 571, 577, 78 L. Ed. 1434, 54 S. Ct.

840 (1934), the Supreme Court explained that “pensions,

compensation allowances, and privileges are gratuities. They

involve no agreement of parties; and the grant of them creates

no vested right. The benefits conferred by gratuities may be

redistributed or withdrawn at any time in the discretion of

Congress.” Jd. In so doing, the Court opined that while war-

risk insurance resembled pensions, hospitalization and other

privileges statutorily afforded to former members of the

military, the war-risk insurance differed in that its policies

* The case held that a pensioner was deemed not to be entitled to a

| general statutory pension in addition to an earlier-created pension (solely

for the particular pensioner’s benefit by a special act of Congress) because

| the second, more general statute would supercede the first statute; no

vested rights could be retained from the first statute if the second statute

applied).

20a

arose not from statutes, but from written contracts. The

authority for the program was set forth in congressional

action separate from the government’s role as_ the

commanding power of the armed forces (“war risk insurance

was devised in the hope that it would, in large measure, avoid

the necessity of granting pensions”). /d. at 576 n.2. It was

only because of this difference that the war-risk insurance

contracts created vested rights, whereas pensions and hospital

privileges were mere statutory gratuities, not vested contract

rights, so Congress could revoke or expand them at any time.

See id. at 577; United States v. Teller, 107 U.S. 64, 68, 27 L.

Ed. 352, 2 S. Ct. 39 (1883) (“No pensioner has a vested legal

right to his pension’). Another way to understand why the

government’s position with respect to obligations incurred by

enlistment contracts differs from the contracts at issue in

Lynch is that, as the Court in Bell explains, “enlistment is a

contract; but it is one of those contracts which changes in

status; * * * [and a soldier’s] relations to the State and the

public are changed.” 366 U.S. at 402. In Bell the soldiers’

potential breach was at issue but the rule that the enlistment

contract gives rise to a relationship not governed by contract

or that the contract somehow merges with the applicable

statutes is stated generally and fits with the Lynch concept

that compensation of soldiers is different from other contracts

in which a soldier and the government happen to be

contracting parties, but their roles as contracting parties are

not relevant to the enlistment or military service context.

Bell, 366 U.S. at 402

The Supreme Court has not explicitly applied these

principles to comprehensive medical benefit entitlements for

military retirees or (as in this case) to an asserted implied-in-

fact contract grounded on the conceded promises of full free

lifetime medical care. In our view, however, full free lifetime

medical care is merely a form of pension, a benefit received

as deferred compensation upon retirement in lieu of

additional cash. See Black’s Law Dictionary 1134 (6th ed.)

2la

(defining “pension” as a “retirement benefit paid regularly

(normally monthly), with the amount of such based generally

on length of employment and amount of wages or salary of

pensioner. Deferred compensation for services rendered.”).

We see no meaningful difference between the retirement

benefits that the Supreme Court has identified as beyond the

reach of contracts and the full free medical care at issue in

this case and, as a result, will apply the doctrine that was the

basis for the earlier Supreme Court cases. The plaintiffs are

implicitly claiming not only that the recruiters promised them

lifetime, free medical care, and that everyone involved

assumed that there would be enough military hospitals and

clinics to serve the servicemen at any age, retired or not, but

also that there was a contingent promise that if there would

ever be an insufficient number of medical facilities, the

government would buy civilian health insurance for the

servicemen to make up for the deficiency. In other words, the

plaintiffs claim a right to comprehensive benefits. Moreover,

even if one were to consider the asserted medical benefit

entitlement more as bargained-for, direct compensation for

services rendered rather than gratuities, because the plaintiffs

are military personnel, the vesting of any rights would be

governed by statute, rather than by contract as the plaintiffs

argue. See Larionoff, 431 U.S. at 869 n.7 (referring to the

limitation that the soldiers’ rights to reenlistment bonuses

only vested because the statute in question made the soldiers

eligible for the statutory bonuses and caused the rights to

vest, not because of contract principles. Contract principles

would have engendered a right to a specific amount of

money, whereas a statutory bonus is calculated according to a

Statute and may be more flexible and dependent on multiple

variables). The case law shows that where Congress has

legislated military pay or benefits, a service secretary cannot

contract (even if it may be true that in the absence of

congressional action, and with congressional authority, a

secretary could have contracted with respect to the pay or

22a

benefits). So we must conclude that there were no valid

contracts in this case.

This conclusion also accords with our own prior decisions

and thus preserves stability. Our case law has reiterated the

Supreme Court’s language that Congress “may prospectively

reduce the pay of members of the Armed Forces, even if that

reduction deprived members of benefits they had expected to

be able to earn.” Wyatt v. United States, 2 F.3d 398, 401 (Fed.

Cir. 1993) (citations omitted); cf. Andrews v. United States,

175 Ct. Cl. 561, 563 (1966) (recognizing the “strong authority

for the counter-proposition that officers have no vested or

contractual right to any particular amount of retired pay’)

(citing Bell, 366 U.S. at 401). Indeed, we have stated that

[federal employees’] entitlement to retirement benefits must

be determined by reference to the statute and regulations

governing these benefits, rather than to ordinary contract

principles. [And] applying this doctrine . . . courts have

consistently refused to give effect to government-fostered

expectations that, had they arisen in the private sector, might

well have formed the basis for a contract or an estoppel.

Zucker v. United States, 758 F.2d 637, 640 (Fed. Cir.

1985). Our court again followed this line of precedent in

Sebastain v. United States, 185 F.3d 1368 (Fed. Cir. 1999). 4

There, elderly military retirees, comparable to plaintiffs here,

sought just compensation under the Fifth Amendment’s

Takings Clause for the government’s failure to provide

promised free lifetime medical care. See Sebastain, 185 F.3d

at 1370. Adopting the settled principle that the right to

military pay “must be determined by reference to the

[governing] statutes and regulations . . . rather than to

” While the theory of recovery in this case differs from the theory of

recovery advanced in Sebastain, we emphasize that the panel’s analysis

concerning the inapplicability of contract law was the same and, we think,

correct.

23a

Ordinary contract principles,” and applying it to retirement

benefits, including medical care, our analysis “looked to the

governing statutes and regulations to ascertain whether the

Retirees have an unconditional right to lifetime free medical

care.” Sebastain, 185 F.3d at 137] (citations omitted)

(emphasis added); see also Goodley v. United States, 194 Ct.

Cl. 829, 441 F.2d 1175, 1178 (Ct. Cl. 1971) (explaining that

for a Navy reservist “there is no vested or contractual right to

retired pay, which is dependent upon Statutory right rather

than upon common law rules governing private contracts’’):

Pate v. United States, 78 Ct. Cl. 395, 400 (1933)

(“Retirement pay and compensation for injuries received in

line of duty, like pensions are bounties of the Government,

which Congress has the right to give, withhold, distribute, or

recall, at its discretion.”) (citations and internal quotation

marks omitted).

In addition, Congress could hardly have intended a contract

regime for military health benefits because that would have

been inconsistent with the entire system for compensating all

federal employees. [HN7] Federal employees, both military

and civilian, serve by appointment, not contract, and their

rights to compensation are a matter of “legal status” even

where recruitment agreements are made. See Zucker, 758

F.2d at 640; see also Chu v. United States, 773 F.2d 1226,

1227-28 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (discussing the plight of Reserve

Officers in the Commissioned Corps of the Public Health

Service who alleged a breach of contract by the government

of its agreement to provide residency training at its expense

and stating “{it is a] well-established Principle that, absent

specific legislation, federal employees derive the benefits and

emoluments of their positions from appointment rather than

from any contractual or quasi-contractual relationship with

the government”). “In other words, [federal employees’ ]

24a

758 F.2d at 640. This logically follows from the well-

established principle that “public employment does not, * * *

give rise to a contractual relationship in the conventional

sense.” Therefore, plaintiff may not base his theory of

recovery on contract law since he was a federal employee.

Federal officials who by act or word generate expectations in

the persons they employ, and then disappoint them, do not

ipso facto create a contract liability running from the Federal

Government to the employee, as they might if the employer

were not the government.

Shaw v. United States, 226 Ct. Cl. 240, 640 F.2d 1254,

1260 (Ct. Cl. 1981) (citations omitted).

Adhering to our own long-standing precedent and clear

guidance from Supreme Court decisions, then, the plaintiffs’

claim for breach of an implied-in-fact contract for retirement

health benefits is defeated by the principle that statutes

govern entitlement to these benefits, not any contracts

between the recruit and the government.”

C Cases Finding an Enforceable Contract Between the

Service and a Recruit, e.g., a Promise for Specific Military

Training, Are Inapplicable to Retirement Health Care

Entitlements

While the Supreme Court has made clear that “common-

law rules governing private contracts have no place in the

area of military pay,” Bell, 366 U.S at 401, our predecessor

court enforced contract claims based on_ enlistment

agreements specifying non-pay benefits promised in writing

to recruits. See, e.g., Grulke v. United States, 228 Ct. Cl. 720

(1981); DeCrane v. United States, 231 Ct. Cl. 951 (1982).

In these cases, the recruits alleged that the government

breached the written and signed enlistment agreements which

'° The principle of the Bell line of Supreme Court cases may also be

one of the principles reflected in 5 U.S.C. § 70. See note 12, infra.

25a

promised them specific training or duty assignment. In

contrast to Bell, these cases do not involve military pay or

retirement benefits. Thus, Grulke and DeCrane are not in

conflict with established Supreme Court case law that

military pay and pay-related benefits cannot ever be a matter

of contract, but must be governed exclusively by statutes and

regulations.

In Grulke, the plaintiff-nurse enlisted in the Army pursuant

to regulations that allowed her to select the nature and

duration of the specialized medical training she wanted

following her basic military training. She chose training as an

operating room specialist. Subsequently, however, Grulke

exercised her option to receive a voluniary discharge after

becoming pregnant, thus prematurely concluding her military

service. She later sued, alleging that the six weeks of training

she received as an operating room specialist was short of the

18 weeks of training promised to her in her enlistment

agreement that was based on and _ authorized by the

regulations. Grulke, 228 Ct. Cl. at 721-22. Finding that

Grulke’s enlistment contract was enforceable, the Court of

Claims took pains to distinguish her case from those in which

the plaintiff claimed a “right to payment for military services

rendered which would be governed by statute or regulation.”

Id. at 722. The court explained that rather than seeking pay

afforded by statute but withheld, Grulke was actually

claiming a right “for ‘actual, compensatory, special and

punitive damage,’ for breach of contract.” /d.

In DeCrane, our predecessor court again found that

contract law could govern in the context of executed

enlistment agreements when former servicemen sought

damages based on the government’s failure to give them the

training they had been promised upon enlistment. 231 Ct. Cl.

at 952. The court’s terse, two-page opinion largely adopted

the analysis of Grulke. See id. (“In at least three prior cases

we have rejected the government’s argument that we have no

26a

jurisdiction over a suit claiming that the government breached

an enlistment contract because it failed to provide the training

it allegedly promised the serviceman he would receive. We

discussed the issue fully in Grulke.”) (citations omitted).

Accordingly, Congress’ authority and the various courts’

(i.e., the Supreme Court, our court, and our predecessor court)

consistent interpretation thereof demonstrate that military

health care benefits as a form of compensation have long

been exclusively a creature of statute, not contract.

Consequently, the discussions with recruiters could not have

formed binding contracts with the government at the time

Schism and Reinlie joined the Air Force. Their claim for

breach of an implied-in-fact contract that would give them

both an entitlement to lifetime free medical care at military

facilities and an entitlement to civilian health insurance for

any insufficiency in those military facilities must fail as a

matter of law.

On this basis alone, we could dispose of this appeal. To

respond to the plaintiffs’ contract-based arguments, however,

we address below why their claim must fail even assuming

that contracts could govern the asserted entitlement to

medical benefits for military retirees and their dependents.

II]. Even Assuming a Contract Law Analysis Were

Proper, Plaintiffs Still Do Not Have a Valid Contract

Because the Recruiters Lacked Actual Authority to

Negotiate Entitlernents for Full, Free Lifetime Health

Care Benefits

As explained above, the retirees’ claim is foreclosed by the

principle, well established by Supreme Court precedent, that

federal retirement benefits such as health care are creatures

strictly of legislative grace and thus cannot be granted by

contract. Even assuming that a contract analysis were

appropriate, however, the retirees’ claim still cannot

withstand summary judgment because the Supreme Court has

OO ee Oe ea ee

27a

likewise made clear that the sole statute relied on by the

plaintiffs, 5 U.S.C. § 301, authorizes only “housekeeping”

matters like internal policies and procedures: it thus cannot

authorize the creation of a benefit entitlement via contracts.

As stated earlier, plaintiffs seek to recover solely upon a

theory alleging breach of an implied-in-fact contract,

asserting that the necessity they pay Medicare and premiums,

along with those for supplemental insurance in order to have

full health care coverage, breached the promise of full and

free lifetime healthcare. ''

Despite the thorough briefing in this case, plaintiffs never

specify exactly what was included within the broad promise

to them. Both sides agree that the retirees were promised

“free lifetime medical care.” See, e.g., Complaint at 2 (“That

all of the World War II and Korean class veterans were

promised full post retirement medical care for themselves and

their dependents in military hospitals.) (emphasis added);

Appellants’ Brief at 1 (“The recruiters promised them free

lifetime medical care if they served at least twenty years.”’);

Appellee’s Brief at 2 (“Plaintiffs . . . filed an action

contending that the government induced them to serve in the

military with the promise that, upon retirement, they and their

dependents would be entitled to free, lifetime medical care.”);

Appellants’ Reply Brief at 2 (“By instituting Tri-Care, the

government breached its implied contract to provide Schism

and Reinlie with free medical care for life.”). What that

promise encompasses, however, the retirees never explicitly

articulate. Several times the retirees have referred to seeking

” Specifically, the plaintiffs allege that the United States breached its

contract with the plaintiffs “by revoking or limiting access to military

hospitals, in-patient and out-patient care, and medicines to plaintiffs and

those elderly retired veterans to the point that Plaintiffs have no care, or

are denied the care and free medications they were promised,” First

Amended Complaint at 3, and they did not surrender this position in their

briefs to this court or at oral argument. —

LT

28a

care only in military facilities. See, e.g., First Amended

Complaint at 2. If this was the extent of the promise, we fail

to see how it was breached at all. Indeed, retired military

members, regardless of age, were still entitled to free medical

treatment at military facilities on a space-available basis after

the implementation of Tricare in 1995. See 32 C.F.R.

§ 199.17(f)(1) (1995) (“Military Treatment Facility (MTF)

care. All nonenrollees (including beneficiaries not eligible to

enroll) continue to be eligible to receive care in military

treatment facilities on a space available basis.”) Military

Compensation Background Papers at 613 (“Even after they

become eligible for Social Security hospital insurance

benefits, retirees, their dependents, and survivors may receive

treatment at military medical facilities on a space-available

basis.””); Tricare Demonstrations Manual 1992 (“These dual-

eligible beneficiaries [eligible for both Medicare and Military

Health Services] do not have a Civilian Health and Medical

Program of the Uniformed Services (CHAMPUS)

entitlement, but are eligible for care in a [Military Treatment

Facility] on a space-available basis.”). Retirees were not

required to purchase Medicare Part B in order to continue to

receive medical treatment from military facilities on a space-

available basis. Because medical care remains available at

military facilities on a space available basis, the only logical

conclusion is that the promised “full,” free lifetime medical

care meant that if space was no longer available at base

hospitals, as alleged, then Congress was bound by the

contracts to pay for health insurance coverage for care by

civilian doctors. That is, “free care” meant the retirees, even

when over 65 years of age and entitled only to hospitalization

insurance coverage under Medicare Part A (unpaid), would

not have to spend their own money to pay for care from

civilian doctors. Similarly, as to medications, once they were

no longer provided free at base hospitals and clinics, then

Congress was bound to pay for insurance coverage so that

™ Se ee eee Se ee oe eS ee eS a ee

29a

when ordered at civilian pharmacies, the medications would

be free.

A binding implied-in-fact contract arises between a private

party and the government upon proof by the person of: (1)

mutuality of intent to contract; (2) consideration; (3) an

unambiguous offer and acceptance, and (4) “actual authority”

on the part of the government’s representative to bind the

government.

City of Cincinnati v. United States, 153 F.3d 1375, 1377

(Fed. Cir. 1998). As to “actual authority,” the Supreme Court

has recognized that any private party entering into a contract

with the government assumes the risk of having accurately

ascertained that he who purports to act for the government

does in fact act within the bounds of his authority. Fed. Crop

Ins. Corp. v. Merrill, 332 U.S. 380, 384, 92 L. Ed. 10, 68 S.

Ct. 1 (1947); accord CACTI, Inc. v. Stone, 990 F.2d 1233, 1236

(Fed. Cir. 1993) (“A contractor who enters into an

arrangement with an agent of the government bears the risk

that the agent is acting outside the bounds of his authority,

even when the agent himself was unaware of the limitations

on his authority.”). In this case, the thrust of the parties’

arguments is that under § 301 the Air Force recruiters had

actual authority to bind the government with their oral

promises. See, e.g., Fed. Crop Ins. Corp., 332 U.S. at 384

(explaining that a government representative’s authority can

be “explicitly defined by Congress or be limited by delegated

legislation, properly exercised through the rule-making

power.”). We hold they did not.

A Plaintiffs’ Written Enlistment Contracts Preclude

Implied-in-Fact Contracts Based on Oral Promises

We note at the outset that the retirees’ implied-in-fact

contract argument fails to take into account their written

enlistment agreements. It is well settled that the existence of

an express contract precludes the existence of an implied-in-

30a

fact contract dealing with the same subject matter, unless the

implied contract is entirely unrelated to the express contract.

E.g., Atlas Corp. v. United States, 895 F.2d 745, 754-55 (Fed.

Cir. 1990). Along those same lines, no citation is necessary to

support the vitality of the parol evidence rule: barring certain

limited exceptions (e.g., fraud), a party to a written contract

cannot supplement or interpret that agreement with oral or

parol statements that conflict with, supplant, or controvert the

language of the written agreement itself.

As discussed above, Reinlie and Schism agreed in an

express, written contract to be bound by military regulations

and statutes. Those regulations and statutes expressly address

health care for military retirees, and provide expressly that

retirees and their dependents were not entitled to full free

lifetime medical care. Accordingly, the retirees’ contract

claim is foreclosed because an “implied-in-fact contract

cannot exist if an express contract already covers the same

subject matter.” Trauma Servs. Group v. United States, 104

F.3d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 1997).

B 5 U.S.C. § 301 Did Not Authorize the Secretary to Grant

an Entitlement to Full Free Lifetime Medical Care for

Retirees

Even assuming that retirement benefits for veterans did not

depend on legislative grace, Schism’s argument that 5 U.S.C.

§ 301 supplied the requisite authority for these health care

entitlements still cannot avoid summary judgment. Plaintiffs

argue that the broad language of 5 U.S.C. § 301 conferred

authority on the secretaries of the military departments to

control recruitment in their departments, which included

directing recruiters to promise free lifetime medical care. The

government responds that 5 U.S.C. § 301 is merely a

“housekeeping” statute that does not authorize the creation of

a substantive right such as an “entitlement to free lifetime

medical care.” Accordingly, the issue turns on whether

5 U.S.C. § 301 impliedly authorized military recruiters to

3la

promise free lifetime health care at the time. We agree with

the government’s interpretation of the statute and hold that it

does not.

5 U.S.C. § 301 states in relevant part:

Departmental regulations

The head of an Executive department or military department

may prescribe regulations for the government of his

department, the conduct of its employees, the distribution and

performance of its business, and the custody, use, and

preservation of its records, papers, and property.

This statute is discussed in greatest detail in Chrysler Corp.

v. Brown, 441 U.S. 281, 309, 60 L. Ed. 2d 208, 99 S. Ct. 1705

(1979), where the Supreme Court described it as a

“housekeeping _ statute.” The key point about _ this

understanding of § 301 is that it predates the recruitment

period of the early 1950s. The Court recognized that the

“antecedents of § 301 go back to the beginning of the

Republic, when statutes were enacted to give heads of early

Government departments authority to govern internal

departmental affairs. Those laws were consolidated into one

Statute in 1874, even though the current version of the statute

was enacted in 1958.” /d. at 309. And so, said the Court,

“given this long and relatively uncontroversial history, and

the terms of the statute itself, [5 U.S.C. § 301] seems to be

simply a grant of authority to the agency to regulate its own

affairs. * * * [t is indeed a ‘housekeeping statute,’ authorizing

what the APA terms ‘rules of agency organization procedure

or practice’ as opposed to ‘substantive rules.“ /d. at 309-10

(emphases added). See also Sebastain v. United States, 185

F.3d 1368, 1371 (Fed. Cir. 1999) (noting the Supreme

Court’s view of 5 U.S.C. § 301 as merely a “housekeeping

statute” and concluding that the statute did not authorize the

government to promise and provide free lifetime medical care

for retired veterans); United States v. McDonnell Douglas

32a

. Corp., (noting that Congress had looked carefully at § 301 in

1958 and the subcommittee had “‘unanimously agreed that [

§ 301] originally was adopted in 1789 to provide for the day-

to-day office housekeeping in the Government departments,’

and that attempts to construe it as something more was

‘misuse’ that ‘twisted’ the statute”) (quoting H.R. Rep. No.

85-1461, at 7 (1958); United States v. Am. Prod. Indus., Inc.,

58 F.3d 404, 407 (9th Cir. 1995) (“ 5 U.S.C. § 301, has been

deemed by the Supreme Court to be a ‘housekeeping

statute’); Smith v. Cromer, 159 F.3d 875, 878 (4th Cir. 1998)

(same); United States v. Henson, 123 F.3d 1226, 1237 (9th

Cir. 1997) (same); Houston Bus. Journal, Inc. v. Office of the

Comptroller of Currency, United States Dep’t of Treasury,

318 U.S. App. D.C. 214, 86 F.3d 1208, 1210 (D.C. Cir. 1996)

(same); General Motors Corp. v. Marshall, 654 F.2d 294, 295

(4th Cir. 1981) (same); Parkridge Hosp., Inc. v. Califano, 625

F.2d 719, 721 (6th Cir. 1980) (same); In re Bankers Trust

Co., 61 F.3d 465, 470 (6th Cir. 1995) (same); Davis Enters. v.

United States Envt’l Prot. Agency, 877 F.2d 1181, 1184 (3d

Cir. 1989) (“The EPA’s authority to govern its internal affairs

is derived from 5 U.S.C. § 301... .”); Chasse v. Chasen, 595

F.2d 591, 593 (Ist Cir. 1979) (opining that three statutes,

including 5 U.S.C. § 301, did not provide “statutory authority

to issue a policy pronouncement . . . which would create a

right enforceable in federal court”); H.R. Rep. No. 85-1416,

at 1 (1958) (“The law has been called an office

‘housekeeping’ statute, enacted to help General Washington

get his administration underway by spelling out the authority

for executive officials to set up offices and file government

documents”); United States v. George, 228 U.S. 14, 20, 57 L.

Ed. 712, 33 S. Ct. 412 (1913) (concluding that a group of

statutes, including a predecessor to 5 U.S.C. § 301, “confer

administrative power only”).

Therefore, not only does § 301 merely authorize

“housekeeping,” but also there is no way that it could have

been reasonably believed at that time that it did more than

i

|

ai

¥.

*

33a

that. A reasonable lawyer advising the Secretar y of Defense

or any of the service secretaries at the time could not have

claimed that § 301 created the right to make promises of

lifetime health care (beyond space available care) because

there were other statutes controlling retiree care at the time.

See 23 Stat. 112 (1884) (authorizing spending for medical

care for the dependents of active duty Army personnel when

“practicable”); 45 Stat. 1090 (1929) (authorizing medical care

for Navy retirees at non-naval hospitals when naval hospital

facilities are not available and the relevant government

agencies consent); 57 Stat. 80, 81 (1943) (authorizing

hospitalization for dependents of Navy and Marine Corps

personnel “only for acute medical and surgical conditions,

exclusive of nervous, mental, or contagious diseases or those

requiring domiciliary care’).

Of course, the language explaining § 301 merely begs the

question: what does a “housekeeping” statute authorize?

Whatever else it may allow, the Supreme Court made clear in

Chrysler that § 301 does not alone provide for the creation of

rights, consistent with the principles discussed above that

only statutes may determine a federal employee’s pay and

benefits. Chrysler involved a “reverse” Freedom of

Information Act (“FOIA”) claim where a private party sought

to enjoin agency disclosure of confidential records on the

ground that it conflicted with the FOIA and the Trade Secrets

Act. Chrysler,441 U.S. at 285. Section 301 was relevant to

the case because in order for employees of a government

agency to avoid criminal sanctions for disclosing certain

classes of information submitted to a government agency,

including trade secrets and confidential statistical data, the

disclosure must be “authorized by law.” 18 U.S.C. § 1905.

The agency argued in Chrysler that § 301 was the requisite

authorization by law that permitted them to disclose what

would otherwise have fallen under the Trade Secrets Act.

Chrysler, 441 U.S. at 308-09. The Supreme Court directly

contradicted the argument and said § 301 provided no such

34a

authority because § 301 authorized no_ substantive

rulemaking. /d. at 310. While the decision focused on the

second sentence of § 301 (“This section does not authorize

withholding information from the public or limiting the

availability of records to the public.”’), the Court did not limit

its analysis to that sentence only. To the contrary, the Court

consistently referred to the statute as a whole in its analysis.

See id. at 281.

It seems clear to us that § 301 merely empowers an agency,

in this case a military department, to regulate its day-to-day

internal operations. But a housekeeping statute that authorizes

rules of agency organization, procedure or practice and not

substantive rules cannot confer a right to, or otherwise

authorize the promise of a right or entitlement to, free lifetime

medical care. Indeed, the Court stated in Chrysler that

“substantive” rules referred to rules “affecting individual

rights and obligations.” /d. at 302. So, saying that § 301 could

by itself vest service secretaries and their recruiters with the

authority to make binding promises of lifetime free medical

care would in effect mean that, contrary to the Supreme

Court’s interpretation, § 301 could alone serve as the basis,

for the creation of such substantive rights. As more fully

explained below, we simply cannot read § 301 as conferring

that authority.

1 Despite § 301’s Role In Earlier Health Care for Retirees,

It Cannot Authorize Service Secretaries to Grant Full Free

Lifetime Medical Care

Plaintiffs assert that because the government has conceded

that § 301 is the statute that authorized early health care plans

for military retirees, those which require space availability in

order for a retiree to receive health care, it logically follows

that § 301 also authorizes a guarantee of full free lifetime

medical care as an inducement to recruits. According to the

retirees, there is no basis for a distinction between the

35a

authority necessary for the two types of medical care

programs.

The government admits that 5 U.S.C. § 301 and “its

precursors authorized appropriate military officials to

prescribe rules that allowed retirees and their dependents to

receive free medical care in existing military facilities on a

space available basis.” (emphases added). See AR 40-505

P2(b)(2) (1934) (allowing use of Army hospitals to Army

retirees “provided sufficient accommodations are available

for their treatment”); AR 40-590 P6(b)(1) (1935) (limiting

availability of care from Army hospitals to “retired personnel

on inactive status” who will benefit “by hospitalization for a

reasonable time,” not those who “merely” require

“domiciliary care by reason of age or chronic invalidism”);

Air Force Regulation AFR 160-73 P14(h) (1951) (limiting

hospitalization of retired Air Force personnel to those “who

will be benefited by hospitalization for a reasonable length of

time”); 1943 MEDMAN § 3168 (stating “Retired officers and

enlisted men, inactive, are not entitled to civilian medical and

hospital treatment at Government expense. They are entitled

to treatment in naval hospitals by naval medical officers when

available upon application . . . .”). But we agree with the

government that a crucial difference exists between the

conditional care that § 301 and derivative regulations actually

provided for and the entitlement that the retirees assert.

Simply put, the earlier health care programs for retirees

provided free health care only on a space-available basis. By

contrast, the asserted absolute promise of free lifetime

medical care would create an entitlement to health care.

[HN15] While § 301 authorizes a military department to

prescribe administrative “regulations for the government of

[its] departments . . . and the custody [and] use... of . . . [its]

property,” 5 U.S.C. § 301, that language plainly does not

encompass the power to grant an_ entitlement—an

unconditioned, non-discretionary legal right to money. See

Black’s Law Dictionary 532 (6th ed. 1990) (defining

36a

“entitlement” as a “[right] to benefits, income or property

which may not be abridged without due process”).

We consider sympathetically the veterans’ position that,

because § 301 authorizes one type of health care, it

necessarily authorizes another. But that position ultimately

fails because of the important distinction between what each

health care plan guarantees a retired veteran, as well as the

additional statutory authority explicitly providing for

conditional medical care. First, we agree with the government

that 5 U.S.C. § 301 did not independently authorize

CHAMPUS-type benefits for retirees. Rather, 10 U.S.C.

§ 1086, enacted in 1966, provided the Department of Defense

with broad, explicit, and exclusive authority for providing

these benefits to retirees. See 10 U.S.C. § 1086 (establishing

the authority for the Department of Defense to contract for

health insurance for retirees under the same basis established

ten years earlier for active duty dependents by 10 U.S.C.

§ 1079 and further providing that a person who was entitled

to Medicare insurance would not be eligible for the insurance

program established for retirees, except for those benefits

established under the Department of Defense programs that

were not covered by Medicare). Thus, the government’s

argument continues, § 30i’s function is to provide

supplemental authority in recognition of the agency’s

decision to implement CHAMPUS through the Code of

Federal Regulations, rather than solely through the statutory

authority to contract for health care services. Indeed, such

reliance on 5 U.S.C. § 301 is not obscure, as it is often cited

in the Code of Federal Regulations, frequently in conjunction

with other statutes, as authority for regulations appearing in

the C.F.R. See, e.g., 19 C.F.R. § 351 (identifying 5 U.S.C.

§ 301 (among other statutes) as the source of the regulation’s

authority). This position is also consistent with the Supreme

Court’s interpretation of § 301 as discussed above.

37a

Even if we accepted the position that 5 U.S.C. § 301 alone

provided statutory authority for health care insurance for

retirees on a space-available basis, we still would reach the

same conclusion: 5 U.S.C. § 301 does not authorize full free

lifetime health care for retirees. First, § 301 never mentions

health care benefits at all. Second, § 301 only deals with an

agency’s internal governance. Permitting retirees to seek

health care from a pre-existing facility with available and

otherwise unengaged staff is simply managing an agency’s

existing resources. On the other hand, granting a lifetime

entitlement to health care obligates en agency to call in

additional staff or to create additional space whenever a

retiree seeks care, or to pay for civilian care. In other words,

it goes beyond mere internal or housekeeping matters and

creates substantive entitlements giving rise to judicially

enforceable rights. Thus, with the earlier health care plans

and regulations, the government guaranteed nothing as a

matter of right; a retiree only received care on a space-

available basis and, even then only if the commander of the

hospital approved it. Under the promises made by the

recruiters, however, the retirees claim a right to free treatment

regardless of the availability of money, space, or medical

personnel. The two scenarios are distinct:

one is contingent and the other is absolute. An entitlement

is an unconditional grant; it is a permanent, non-discretionary

right. The differences between the two types of health care

programs are clear, and they are dispositive.

A further indicator that 5 U.S.C. § 301 did not authorize

full free medical care for military retirees is Congress’

treatment of the subject. If § 301 contained the requisite

authority for health care for military retirees, no further

legislation would have been necessary. As explained above,

however, Congress has repeatedly legislated—including in

1956, 1966, and 1986—to provide health care insurance

coverage for retired military members. Even more important

38a

to the present case, every time that Congress dealt with the

retirees (starting in 1960), it enacted legislation that

authorized only conditional health care coverage for

retirees—that is, care provided only on a space-available

basis. See, e.g., 10 U.S.C. § 1086 (1966). Given that Congress

repeatedly legislated for conditional health care, it would be

illogical to conclude that § 301 would cover full health care

absent further congressional action.

Similarly, interpreting § 301 to authorize the recruiters’

promises of full free lifetime medical care would be

unreasonable when viewed in light of other statutes. For

example, 5 U.S.C. § 70’? and the Anti-Deficiency Act!?

placed preconditions on obligating or spending appropriated

funds. In effect, these two statutes limited both what the

recruiter could promise and what the military member could

receive. The recruiter, an officer or employee of the United

States government, arguably could not obligate the

government to spend monies that had not yet been

'2'5 U.S.C. § 70 (1946) (now codified as amended at 5 U.S.C. § 5536

(2000), § 70 at the time relevant to this case) concerns the receipt of any

pay, extra allowance, or other compensation by a federal employee in

exchange for any service in addition to his fixed salary, pay, or

emoluments:

§ 70. Extra Allowances

'? Later known as the Anti-Deficiency Act, the Act of Sept. 6, 1950,

Pub. L. No. 81-759, ch. 896 § 1211, 64 Stat. 595, 765 (amending R.S.

§ 3679 (1878)) (now codified as amended as the Anti-Deficiency Act, 31

U.S.C. § 1341 (2000)), provided, inter alia, at the time of the alleged

promises in this case that:

(a) No officer or employee of the United States shall make or

authorize an expenditure from or create or authorize an obligation

under any appropriation or fund in excess of the amount available

therein; nor shall any such officer or employee involve the

Government in any contract or other obligation, for the payment of

money for any purpose, in advance of appropriations made for such

purpose, unless such contract or obligation is authorized by law... .

39a

appropriated unless such contract or obligation was

authorized by law. And retired military members, because

their salary, pay or emoluments were fixed by statute or

regulation, could not receive any additional pay or other

additional compensation unless it was both authorized by law

and the appropriation therefore explicitly states that it is for

such additional pay, extra allowance, or compensation. To

decide this appeal, we need not define the exact contours of

5 U.S.C. § 301. What is clear is that its scope is not broad

enough to have provided authority to contract with recruits to

the military for free lifetime medical care so as to bind both

the Department of Defense and the Congress. And while we

do not independently base our decision in this case on 5

U.S.C. § 70 or the Anti-Deficiency Act, we note plaintiffs’

interpretation of § 301 as broad enough to have authorized the

recruiters to create a binding contract is in considerable

tension, if not conflict, with the language of 5 U.S.C. § 70

and the Anti-Deficiency Act. So although we need not and do

not decide the independent applicability of 5 U.S.C. § 70 or

the Anti-Deficiency Act, we do decide that, in light of those

two statutes, § 301 cannot be construed as broadly as the

plaintiffs argue.

No officer in any branch of the public service, or any other

person whose salary, pay or emoluments are fixed by law or

regulations, shall receive any additional pay, extra allowance,

or compensation, in any form whatever, for the disbursement

of public money, or for any other service or duty whatever,

unless the same is authorized by law, and the appropriation

therefore explicitly states that it is for such additional pay,

extra allowance, or compensation.

5 U.S.C. § 70 (1946) (emphases added). It should be noted

that we do not purport to decide whether § 70 would provide

independent grounds for our holding in this case although it

appears that § 70 may do so. We confine our decision to

relying on § 301 because our interpretation of § 301 compels

40a

our holding and the applicability of § 70 was neither relied on

by the district court, nor briefed to us by either party.

§ 1211, 64 Stat. at 765 (emphases added).

Finally, the plaintiffs have submitted evidence showing |

that the promises of free lifetime health care were made by

recruiters and that the recruiters were, in fact, encouraged by

superiors to tell potential recruits of this benefit.

See, e.g., Pentecost Aff. at | (Oct. 21, 1997). The plaintiffs

also provided excerpts from the Bluejackets Manual and the

Soldier’s Guide handbooks given to the members of the

United States Navy and Army, for example, as well as

various recruitment brochures from the military departments,

including one attached to the earlier-mentioned letter from

Secretary Forrestal. This evidence, plaintiffs argue, implies

that retired members with 20 or more years’ active duty did

have and do have the unconditional right to receive free

lifetime health care.

In our view, the evidence showing that recruiters had made

these promises in good faith to retirees like Schism would

likely be sufficient to avoid summary judgment—if the

Congress had granted the authority to make these promises in

the first place. Unfortunately for plaintiffs, however,

Congress has never authorized these promises.'* While we

are sympathetic to the plaintiffs’ position and acknowledge

the likelihood that plaintiffs believed these promises and

relied on them, the government is not legally bound to abide

by them. The recruiters lacked actual authority, meaning the

parties never formed a valid, binding contract.

14

In Sebastain, our court likewise examined 5 U.S.C.

§ 301 and determined that because it “stated nothing about health care,”

185 F.3d 1368, 1371, it could not provide authorization for the recruiters’

promises of free lifetime medical care.

4la

Cf. Office of Pers. Mgmt. v. Richmond, 496 U.S. 414, 416-

17, 110 L. Ed. 2d 387, 110 S. Ct. 2465 (1990) (holding that

erroneous advice given to a federal employee by OPM

personnel did not create an estoppel when finding to the

contrary would violate the principle “that payments of money

from the Federal Treasury are limited to those authorized by

statute.”’).

2 Air Force and Other Military Regulations Promulgated

Under § 301 Did Not Create an Entitlement to Free Lifetime

Medical Care; On the Contrary, They Clearly Call for Only

Space-Available Military Medical Care for Retirees and

Made No Provision for Insurance

The plaintiffs also argue that the regulations in force at the

time they joined the Air Force authorized the recruiters’

promises of free lifetime medical care. The implication of this

argument seems to be that the regulations themselves

provided for the grant of an entitlement to free lifetime

medical care. We disagree.

First and foremost, a regulation promulgated under the

auspices of 5 U.S.C. § 301 cannot convey or authorize an

entitlement unless that statute clearly so provided, for

example, by delegating power to the secretary of the military

departments to contract any type of health care for retirees.

Simply put, an agency cannot do by regulation what the

applicable statute itself does not authorize. See, e.g.,

Larionoff, 431 U.S. at 873 (stating that “in order to be valid|,]

[regulations] must be consistent with the Statute under which

they are promulgated” and holding that even though the

agency’s interpretation of the relevant regulations governing

military bonuses was reasonable, because the regulations

were contrary to the purposes of Congress in enacting the

bonus statute itself, the regulations were invalid).

Putting aside for the moment that 5 U.S.C. § 301 did not

authorize these promises, directly or by delegation, and also

42a

whether they could be extended solely by force of regulation,

we address the specific regulations promulgated by the

Secretary of the Air Force that dealt with health care for

retired members. It is clear from the language of these

regulations that they are consistent only with the conclusion

that plaintiffs were never granted an entitlement. Indeed, the

regulations themselves expressly provided for medical care

for military retirees only as space was available.

Plaintiffs in this case served in more than one branch of the

Armed Forces, but both Schism’s and Reinlie’s last and

dispositive service was in the Air Force. It is the plaintiffs’

indefinite appointments to the Air Force that led to their

service in the military for more than 20 years. Accordingly, as

the government argues (and the plaintiffs do not dispute), the

date of each retiree’s indefinite appointment is the critical

date for determining what was promised. Thus, the

regulations pertinent to these veterans are the 1951 Air Force

regulations for Schism and the 1953 Air Force regulations for

Reinlie. Because whatever promises they were made relevant

to this recruitment resulted in their continued service until

they performed at least 20 years’ active duty, any promise,

regulation or material after this time is irrelevant.'°

In his affidavit, Schism described what he was told

regarding free lifetime medical care in the Air Force:

I learned that the USAF [United States Air Force]

made the same promises as the Navy [that he was

'S This, obviously, includes the 1945 one-page letter signed by the

Secretary of the Navy that was addressed to “Reserve and Temporary

USN Officers.” This letter was not only drafted too early to apply to the

veterans in this case, but it also applied to a class of people which did not

include the plaintiffs: the plaintiffs were never temporary or reserve Naval

officers. Further, none of the various other military publications submitted

by the retirees, such as the Navy’s Blue Jacket Manual; the Army’s

Soldier’s Guide; and general recruiting brochures, state that an Air Force

retiree was to receive full, free, lifetime health care in 1951 and 1953.

43a

entitled to] lifetime free medical [care] after retirement.

I received official briefing in the Air Force from my

commanders or superiors on lifetime medical care, and

learned that free lifetime care was common knowledge

and ‘gospel’ in the Air Force.

(Schism Aff. PP 2, 5.) He also explained that he decided on

a career in the Air Force because “it was the best offer around

. . » » And free medical care then and in the future had a

Significant value to me just as it does now.” (/d. at P 6.)

Reinlie recalls similar briefings and reliance thereon from that

time period as well:

1 heard recruiting promises of 20 year retirement and

lifetime free medical care from . . . the U.S. Air Force after

1948. . . . During the transition from the active reserve to

active duty status I was briefed on the conditions of my being

recalled and of the benefits of making the U.S. Air Force a

career. Stress was placed equally of [sic] my promotional

prospects and the retirement program with its free medical

benefits. . . . [About one year later] | was briefed [again] on

the advantages of making the service a career . . . [and again]

my promotional advantages plus the 20 years or more

retirement and the free medical treatment available to me and

my dependents [were stressed equally]. Already, I had two

children and could clearly visualize the advantages of making

the Air Force a career. My civilian employer had neither a

retirement or medical program. Inasmuch as | enjoyed my

work, making the decision to stay was quite easy.

(Reinlie Aff. 1-2.) As explained earlier, the government

conceded for the purposes of the present summary judgment

motion that the asserted promises were made by plaintiffs’

recruiters, made in good faith, and relied upon. But even if

the Secretary of the Air Force himself had said to the

recruiters that they could and should promise free lifetime

medical care to aid in recruitment, those promises would be a

nullity because, as shown below, the pertinent regulation

44a

provided to the contrary: the retirees claim they were

promised an “entitlement,” but the regulations provided for

space-available care only. See AFR _ 160-73; see also

Hercules, Inc. v. United States, 516 U.S. 417, 429-30, 134 L.

Ed. 2d 47, 116 S. Ct. 981 (1996) (explaining that if there

existed an implied agreement that the government would

indemnify the suppliers of Agent Orange, that agreement

would render unnecessary the entire class of statutes and

regulations that set forth the conditions in which a

government contracting officer could enter into an indemnity

agreement; the Court would “not interpret [the contract] so as

to render those statutes and regulations superfluous”).

Air Force regulation AFR 160-73 was in effect from 1951

when Schism received his indefinite appointment until after

Reinlie received his appointment in 1953. The language of

this regulation makes clear that medical care for Air Force

retirees was contingent, just as the government argues: “the

hospitalization of retired inactive Armed Forces personnel . . .

will be limited to cases in which in the judgment of the

hospital commander will be benefited by hospitalization for a

reasonable time. . . . Those requiring merely domiciliary care

by reason of age or chronic invalidism will not be admitted.”

AFR 160-73 P6(h) (emphasis added). The care is subject to

two express conditions. Free medical care for retirees

therefore cannot be an absolute entitlement under this

regulation. Thus, even viewing the pertinent regulation in

isolation, the recruiters’ promises of free lifetime medical

care were inconsistent with the regulation. As such, the

government is not bound by those promises. See Federal

Crop Ins. Corp. v. Merrill, 332 U.S. at 384 (explaining that

the government cannot be bound by statements made by its

representative if those statements are outside the bounds of

the authority that the Congress conferred).

Likewise, even if regulations from other service branches

were relevant, which they are not, no regulations in place

45a

when the plaintiffs joined the Air Force provided for an

entitlement to free lifetime medical care; the regulations

provide only for contingent care, principally based on

availability. Moreover, the manuals and brochures did not

describe an entitlement, either. For example, the 1942 and

1943 editions of the Navy’s MEDMAN, relied on by

plaintiffs, state “Retired officers and enlisted men, inactive,

are not entitled to civilian medical and hospital treatment at

Government expense. They are entitled to treatment in naval

hospitals by naval medical officers when available upon

application. . . .” 1943 MEDMAN § 3168 (emphases

added).'® This language clearly does not recognize a true

entitlement; on the contrary, it acknowledges that retired

Navy personnel may receive free military medical care only if

space is available.

The Army and Air Force regulations in effect before 1951

similarity contained conditional language. For example,

former Army Regulation 40-505 P2(b)(2) stated “The Army

will, usually through its own facilities, provide medical

attendance to . . . persons who are on the retired list of the

Regular Army and who report in person at any Army

dispensary or hospital, provided sufficient accommodations

are available for their treatment. AR 40-505 P2(b)(2)

(emphasis added). And Army Regulation 40-590 P6(b)(1)

limited “the admission of retired personnel on inactive status

. . . to cases in which in the judgment of the commanding

officer of the hospital will be benefited by hospitalization for

'° The 1945 and 1947 editions of the MEDMAN contain broader

language, including that a naval retiree “may be admitted to any naval

hospital upon application,” 1945 MEDMAN § 4132, and that naval

retirees “shall, if in need of hospital care, be admitted,” 1947 MEDMAN

§ 4132. In this case, however, neither of the plaintiffs-appellants joined

the Navy on active duty during this time frame. But even if they had, the

conclusion that 5 U.S.C. § 301 does not authorize the promise of free

lifetime medical care would still control.

46a

a reasonable time. Those requiring merely domiciliary care

by reason of age or chronic invalidism will not be admitted

....” AR 40-590 P6(b)(1) (emphasis added).

Plaintiffs have directed us to no regulation that describes

an entitlement to free lifetime medical care. In fact, the

regulations the retirees point to are inconsistent with such an

entitlement. As a result, even assuming that the health care

statutes granted the agency discretion, the recruiters’

promises still cannot bind the government. See Broadcasting

Sys., Inc. v. United States, 316 U.S. 407, 422, 86 L. Ed. 1563,

62 S. Ct. 1194 (1942) (explaining that an agency’s

regulations are binding on it).

Despite the momentary setting aside of 5 U.S.C. § 30] for

purposes of this discussion, done solely for the purpose of

responding to plaintiffs’ brief, it is important to remember

that regulations cannot be promulgated in a vacuum. The

regulations “must be consistent with the statute under which

they are promulgated.” See Larionoff, 431 U.S. at 873. The

statutes applicable do not authorize entitlement to medical

care.'’

Sebastain, 185 F.3d at 1372.

'’ Our court has previously examined the relevant regulations to see if

they authorized recruiters to promise free lifetime medical care, and

concluded they did not:

Nothing in these regulations [including AR 40-590, P 6(b)1, AFR 160-

73 P 14, and MEDMAN § 3168] provided for unconditional lifetime free

medical care or authorized recruiters to promise such care as an

inducement to joining or continuing in the armed forces . . . . In any event,

in view of the general pattern of the military regulations that provides

medical care to retirees only when facilities and personnel were available,

we decline to read into the [Navy] Manual the creation of such an

enduring and broad right to unconditional free lifetime medical care.

ERR REA IRIE TORN LT IRR sce: cence tN Ur eater amRNRNCN ae ce anabnainRe atte cin ont ean reine

47a

C Neither the Commander-In-Chief’s Inherent Authority

Nor Any Statute Directed Towards the Functions of the

Service Secretaries Is Sufficient to Authorize Promises of

Free Lifetime Medical Care for Retirees

The plaintiffs also assert that the Commander-in-Chief’s

inherent power in combination with 10 U.S.C. §§ 3013, 5013,

and 8013—which authorize the positions and enumerate the

duties of the Secretaries of the Army, Navy, and Air Force

respectively—authorized the recruiters’ promises. The

government counters that the plaintiffs had not raised this

argument before appeal, implying that they had therefore

waived the argument. We need not address waiver, however,

because on the merits we find that neither the Commander-in-

Chief’s inherent authority nor the statutes directed toward the

functions of the service secretaries is sufficient to authorize

the promises of free lifetime medical care for retirees.

As Commander-in-Chief, the President does not have the

constitutional authority to make promises about entitlements

for life to military personnel that bind the government

because such powers would encroach on Congress’

constitutional prerogative to appropriate funding. Under

Article I, § 8, only Congress has the power of the purse. To

say that the Executive Branch could promise future funds for

activities that Congress itself had not authorized would also

violate both the Anti-Deficiency Act, 31 U.S.C.

§ 1341(a)(1)(B) (stating that a federal employee “may

not ... involve [the government] in a contract or obligation

for the payment of money before an appropriation is made

unless authorized by law”), and the Separation of Powers

doctrine, for it would allow the Executive Branch to

commandeer the power of the Legislative Branch. Again,

under the Anti-Deficiency Act, no government official,

including the Commander-in-Chief, can expend or obligate

funds in a fiscal year that Congress has not appropriated: “the

Act prohibits government officials and employees from

48a

making expenditures or incurring obligations in excess of

available appropriations or in advance of appropriations.”

Cessna Aircraft Co. v. Dalton, 126 F.3d 1442, 1449 (Fed. Cir.

1997). Nor may he obligate funds for future years for an

activity unless it has been authorized by law. Thus, to the

extent that military recruiters, in the absence of statutory

authority, make promises that impose an obligation on the

federal Treasury, they exceed their constitutional authority

and abrogate Congress’ authority under the Appropriations

Clause, U.S. Const., art. I, § 9, cl. 7. See Cessna, 126 F.3d at

1449 (“As far as government contracts are concerned, the Act

‘bars a federal employee or agency from entering into a

contract for future payment of money in advance of, or in

excess of, existing appropriation .. . . By its terms, the Anti-

Deficiency Act restricts the ability of the government to enter

into multi-year contracts [such as the life-long contracts in the

present case] because funds generally cannot be obligated

beyond the current fiscal year.”’) (internal citations omitted).

The plaintiffs’ argument that 10 U.S.C. § 8013 (the only

statute relevant to the retirees) provides the requisite statutory

authority for the recruiters’ promises of full free lifetime

health care fails. This statute and its predecessors simply list

functions that the Secretary of the Air Force is authorized to

perform. True, today 10 U.S.C. § 8013 authorizes the

Secretary of the Air Force to conduct “recruiting.” 10 U.S.C.

§ 8013(b)(1) (Supp. [IV 1994). However, the statutes relevant

to the retirees here are those in effect in 1951 for Schism and

1953 for Reinlie: 10 U.S.C. § 8012(b)(1) (1942 Supp. IV)

and 5 U.S.C. § 626-2(a) (1952 Supp. I), respectively. Neither

statute included “recruiting” in the enumerated powers. In

any event, the Secretary’s authority to conduct recruiting does

not carry with it the broad authority to make promises that

bind future Congresses to appropriate funding for free

lifetime care.

ATS NA SENSOR eA at OR

WE EY

49a

D Congress Did Not Subsequently Ratify Full Free Lifetime

Medical Care for Retirees By Enacting Annual

Appropriations for the Armed Services

Because we hold neither 5 U.S.C. § 301, nor any other

asserted authority, authorizes the recruiters’ promises of free

lifetime medical care, the retirees can prevail only if the

promises were later ratified by Congress. We hold that

Congress did not ratify them.

Ratification is “the affirmance by a person of a prior act

which did not bind him but which was done or professedly

done on his account, whereby the act, as to some or all

persons, is given effect as if originally authorized by him.”

Restatement (Second) of Agency § 82 (1958). The parties do

not dispute that Congress may ratify agency conduct “giving

the force of law to official action unauthorized when taken.”

Swayne & Hoyt v. U.S., 300 U.S. 297, 302, 81 L. Ed. 659, 57

S. Ct. 478 (1937). Nor do they dispute the well-settled

proposition that Congress will have ratified an agency action

only if it had knowledge of that otherwise unauthorized

activity in the first place. See United States v. Beebe, 180 U.S.

343, 345, 45 L. Ed. 563, 21 S. Ct. 371 (1901) (holding that

“without that knowledge [of the act] there can be no

ratification”); Brooks v. Dewar, 313 U.S. 354, 360-61, 85 L.

Ed. 1399, 61 S. Ct. 979 (1941) (ratification deemed to have

occurred when, among other things, “the information in the

possession of Congress [about agency action] was plentiful

and from various sources,” including agency annual reports).

And, in addressing Congress’ knowledge of the agency

activity at issue, e.g., an agency’s construction of a statute

or regulation, the Supreme Court has cautioned

“a contemporaneous administrative construction of an

agency’s own enabling legislation ‘is only one input in the

interpretational equation. Its impact carries most wei ght when

the administrators participated in drafting and directly made

known their views to Congress in Committee hearings.’” SEC

50a

v. Sloan, 436 U.S. 103, 120, 56 L. Ed. 2d 148, 98 S. Ct. 1702

(1978) (quoting Zuber v. Allen, 396 U.S. 168, 24 L. Ed. 2d

345, 90 S. Ct. 314 (1969)).

Broadly stated, Congress may ratify an agency action

through appropriation acts. See Ex parte Endo, 323 U.S. 283,

303 n.24, 89 L. Ed. 243, 65 S. Ct. 208 (1944); Isbrandtsen-

Moller Co. v. United States, 300 U.S. 139, 147-48, 81 L. Ed.

562, 57 S. Ct. 407 (1937). But simply appropriating funds for

some general purpose is insufficient: “The appropriation must

plainly show a purpose to bestow the precise authority which

is claimed.” Endo, 323 U.S. at 303 n.24 (concluding that no

purpose to bestow the precise authority existed when “a lump

appropriation was made for the overall program of the [War

Relocation] Authority and no sums were earmarked for the

single phase of the total program which is here involved.

Congress may support the effort to take care of these

evacuees without ratifying every phase of the program.”).

(emphasis added). In other words, ratification ordinarily

cannot occur in the appropriations context unless _ the

appropriations bill itself expressly allocates funds for a

specific agency or activity. See id.; see also Greene v.

McElroy, 360 U.S. 474, 505 n.30, 3 L. Ed. 2d 1377, 79 S. Ct.

1400 (1959) (“Appropriations of specific amounts for the

Munitions Board or its successors, agencies with multifold

objectives, without any mention of the uses to which the

funds could be put, cannot be considered as a ratification of

the use of the specified hearing procedures.”); cf. Fleming v.

Mohawk Wrecking & Lumber Co., 331 U.S. 111, 116, 91 L.

Ed. 1375, 67 S. Ct. 1129 (1947) (concluding that when

Section 1 of the First War Powers Act did not provide for the

creation of a new agency that consolidates the functions

previously exercised by one or more other agencies, “the

appropriation by Congress of funds for the use of such

agencies stands as confirmation and ratification of the action

of the Chief Executive”); Holden v. Joy, 84 U.S. 211, 247-48,

21 L. Ed. 523 (1872) (holding that a treaty had been ratified

Sla

through Congress’ appropriation of funds “for the amount

stipulated to be paid for the lands ceded by the Cherokees in

the first article of the treaty . . . and [funds] to fulfil [sic] and

execute the stipulations, covenants, and agreements contained

in the fourth, eleventh, seventeenth, and eighteenth articles of

the treaty”); Ivanhoe Irrigation Dist. v. McCracken, 357 U.S.

275, 293-94, 2 L. Ed. 2d 1313, 78 S. Ct. 1174 (1958)

(deciding that ratification of an administrative interpretation

of a statute took place when Congress was explicitly and

repeatedly informed that the contracts at issue adopted the

administrative interpretation and still appropriated funds

expressly for the projects), overruled in part on other grounds,

California v. United States, 438 U.S. 645, 57 L. Ed. 2d 1018,

98 S. Ct. 2985 (1978). In this case, then, the plaintiffs must

show that Congress’ military appropriations bills following

their recruitment expressed a purpose to bestow authority on

the military to make binding promises of free lifetime

medical care to retirees.

The retirees argue that because Congress appropriated

funds each year that were expended by the armed services for

not only care for active duty personnel but also free medical

care for retirees, it thereby ratified the recruiters’ promises.

This position, however, is at odds with the plaintiffs’

acceptance of Endo’s requirement that in order for ratification

to occur the appropriation act itself must show a purpose to

bestow the precise authority claimed and previously lacking.

See Appellants’ Br. at 45 (stating that “simply appropriating

funds that are used for some general purpose is likely

insufficient. ‘The appropriation must plainly show a purpose

to bestow the precise authority which is claimed.’”) (citation

omitted).

Endo is particularly instructive in that it squarely addresses

the situation involving (as here) the alleged congressional

ratification of an agency action through a general lump sum

appropriation. In Endo, a case arising out of the World War II

52a

internment of Japanese-Americans, a detained citizen sought

a writ of habeas corpus from a “relocation center” following

her removal from her home in Sacramento, California. The

government “evacuated” Endo under the authority of two

executive orders: the first order authorized military

commanders to exclude certain persons from certain .

geographical areas in the interest of national defense; the

second order established the War Relocation Authority

(“Authority”), an agency with the power to develop and

implement a program to remove designated persons. The

second order also charged the Authority with a duty to ensure

“relocation, maintenance, and supervision” of “evacuees.”

323 US. at 285-87.

Congress enacted legislation confirming the first executive

order restricting Japanese-Americans’ access to certain

locales in the interest of national security. A military

commander subsequently issued a proclamation that not only

excluded Japanese-Americans from certain geographic areas,

but also prohibited evacuees from leaving relocation centers

without express permission from the commander. Jd. at 289.

The commander then gave control to the Authority over

“ingress and egress of evacuees,” including Endo, from the

relocation centers. The Authority refused to release Endo,

notwithstanding the fact that she had been given leave

clearance, and the Authority conceded that she was not a

suspected spy or saboteur. Jd. at 294-95. Nonetheless, the

Authority alleged “that detention for an additional period

after leave clearance has been granted is an essential step in

the evacuation program” and that these leave regulations were

encompassed in general grants of power through executive

order conferring the power to regulate as necessary to prevent

espionage and sabotage. Jd. at 294, 297. In considering this

alleged power to detain a loyal citizen under the leave

regulations, the Court cautioned against inferring broad

congressional acquiescence from a general appropriation:

53a

It is argued, to be sure, that there has been Congressional

ratification of the detention of loyal evacuees under the

leave regulations of the Authority through the

appropriation of sums for the expenses of the Authority.

It is pointed out that the regulations and procedures of

the Authority were disclosed in reports to the Congress

and in Congressional hearings. And it is shown that the

leave program of the Authority was mentioned both in

the House and Senate committee hearing on the 1944

Appropriation Act and on the floor of the House prior to

passage of the 1944 Act. Congress may of course do by

ratification what it might have authorized . . . . But the

appropriation must plainly show a purpose to bestow the

precise authority which is claimed. We can hardly

deduce such a purpose here where a lump appropriation

was made for the overall program of the Authority and

no sums were earmarked for the single phase of the total

program which is here involved [i.e., leave restrictions

on detainees deemed loyal citizens]. Congress may

support the effort to take care of these evacuees without

ratifying every phase of the program.

Id. at 304 n.24 (citations omitted) (emphasis added). Thus, in

Endo an appropriations act that did not contain specific

provisions for the action allegedly ratified by that act did not

Support congressional ratification. In fact, the Court indicated

that even though the regulations and procedures were

mentioned in committee hearings and reports, this alone was

not sufficient to demonstrate ratification; rather the

appropriation itself had to “plainly show a purpose to bestow

the precise authority which is claimed.” /d.

The remaining ratification precedents cited by the plaintiffs

only support our analysis, as those cases each involved

situations in which Congress had specifically mentioned and

appropriated funds for the conduct in question. In Ivanhoe

Irrigation District, for example, the Court concluded that

54a

Congress had ratified agency construction of an authorizing

statute as applied to various water projects, as shown by,

among other things, (1) a record of the agency’s construction

in the annual report that the agency submitted to Congress;

(2) “vigorous debate” in Congress about whether it should

change this agency construction; (3) Congress’ rejection of

such a change in proposed legislation; and (4) congressional

appropriations for projects employing the agency’s statutory

construction. 357 U.S. at 292-93; see also Brooks v. Dewar,

313 U.S. at 360-61. In fact, the appropriations acts that

Congress had passed specifically referenced the projects at

issue and specifically permitted their renewal. See /vanhoe,

357 US. at 286-87.

Plaintiffs cannot reasonably rely on Ivanhoe Irrigation

District for support because, unlike the circumstances in that

case, nothing in the military appropriations acts plainly

showed a “purpose to bestow the precise authority,” Endo,

323 U.S. at 303 n.24, to make binding promises for free

lifetime medical care for retirees. In fact, the relevant

appropriations statutes here are very broad and make no

mention of health care for retirees at all, much less that such

care be, free and provided for life.

Nor does Fleming compel a different result. Fleming

involved the authority derived from the First War Powers

Act. See 331 U.S. at 116. In 1946, the President issued an

executive order that effectively consolidated the Office of

Price Administration and three other agencies into a new

agency, the Office of Temporary Controls. See id. at 114.

Section | of the First War Powers Act, however, did not

explicitly authorize the creation of this new agency.

Nevertheless, in reviewing whether Congress had ratified the

creation of this agency, the Supreme Court determined that

“any doubts on this score would . . . be removed by the

recognition by Congress in a recent appropriation of the

status of the Temporary Controls Administrator. That

5Sa

recognition was an acceptance or ratification by Congress of

the President’s action in [the] Executive Order . . .” /d. at 116.

The appropriations bill there had expressly earmarked funds

for “Office of Temporary Controls. Salaries and expenses:

For an additional amount, fiscal year 1947, for the Office of

Price Administration transferred by Executive Order 9809 of

December 12, 1946 to the Office of Temporary Controls:

$ 7,051,752.” Id. at 119 n.10. Accordingly, as the language in

the appropriations statute at issue in Fleming specified that

funds were to go to the very agency created by the executive

order, the Court concluded that Congress had ratified that

agency’s creation. /d. at 116.

In this case, by contrast, the plaintiffs have not pointed to

any statements in any military appropriations act that

specifically authorized payment for military retirees’ non-

contingent free lifetime care. Accordingly, they cannot

compare their situation to Fleming. Indeed, the appropriations

and authorization acts that the plaintiffs draw to our attention

are noteworthy only for their generality and complete silence

about health care for retirees. For example, the Navy

authorization and appropriations acts cited by the plaintiffs

refer only to funds to operate and maintain naval hospitals

and to treat “patients”: “Commencing with the fiscal year

1944, annual appropriations in such amounts as may be

necessary are authorized from the general fund of the

Treasury for the maintenance, operation, and improvement of

naval hospitals,” 24 U.S.C. § 14a (1940, Supp. 3, 1943);

“care, maintenance, and treatment of patients in naval

hospitals as provided by regulation,” 60 Stat. 489 (1946);

“and other necessary expenses, including care, maintenance,

and treatment of patients in naval and other hospitals;

$ 137,000,000,” 58 Stat. 310 (1944). The word “retired”

appears nowhere. So too with the Army authorization bills

offered for our review: “for medical care and treatment

of patients when entitled thereto by law, regulation, or

contract . . . except when elective treatment has been obtained

ee ee

56a

in civilian hospitals,” 58 Stat. 583 (1944), and “medical and

dental care of personnel entitled thereto by law or regulation,

and other measures necessary to protect the health of the

Army,” 83 Stat. 472 (1969). In fact, only one of the statutes

cited to us is actually an appropriations act—setting out a

specific amount allocated—as opposed to an authorization

act. As shown above, the language in that appropriation is

very broad; indeed it is antithetical to the requirement of

Endo for ratification to have taken place here.

Neither are we dissuaded from our conclusion by

Isbrandtsen-Moller Co., Inc. v. United States, 300 U.S. 139,

81 L. Ed. 562, 57 S. Ct. 407 (1937), also cited by the

plaintiffs. The relevant issue there was whether an

appropriations act authorized (or ratified) the abolition of the

Shipping Board and the transfer of its functions to the

Department of Commerce by Executive Order. To the extent

Isbrandtsen-Moller is relevant at all, it undercuts rather than

supports the plaintiffs’ argument. Importantly, — the

appropriations in Isbrandtsen-Moller were especially

“earmarked” for the Department of Commerce to carry out

the Executive Order. Although the Supreme Court found it

unnecessary to reach the ratification issue (since the 1936

Merchant Marine Act vested the functions of the former

Shipping Board in the Department of Commerce under the

same Executive Order, see id. at 147-48), its view on the

matter was clear:

Whatever doubt may be entertained as to the intent of

Congress that. the Shipping Board should be subject to

transfer by the President ... Congress appears to have

recognized the validity of the transfer and ratified the

President’s action by the appropriation Acts of April 7,

1934, March 22, 1935, and May 15, 1936, all of which

make appropriations to the Department of Commerce for

salaries and expenses to carry out the provisions of the

S7a

Shipping Act as amended and refer to the executive

order. -

Id. at 147 (emphasis added) (footnotes omitted).

Although Isbrandtsen-Moller pre-dated Endo, _ this

Statement comports with the Supreme Court’s later

pronouncement that to demonstrate congressional ratification

though appropriation statutes, the statute “must plainly show

a purpose to bestow the precise authority which is claimed.”

Endo, 323 U.S. at 304 n.24. As the text of the specific

appropriations statutes illustrates, this did not happen here.

We must conclude, therefore, that in enacting military

appropriations Congress did not ratify the promises of free

lifetime health care.

The plaintiffs also argue that individual congressmen were

aware of the promises made by the recruiters and that the

military had kept the promises for many years. The logical

conclusion from this statement is that because congressmen

knew that free healthcare was still being provided, the fact

that they did not intervene amounts to an implied ratification

of the practice of providing free health care. While this

arguinent appears to be one for congressional acquiescence

(which we discuss below), full congressional knowledge or

awareness of the conduct being ratified is necessary for

ratification. See United States v. Beebe, 180 U.S. at 345;

Brooks v. Dewar, 313 U.S. at 360-61; Harold G. Reuschlein

& William A. Gregory, The Law of Agency and Partnership,

§ 30, at 74 (West 2d ed. 1990) (stating “At the time of

ratification, the purported principal must have knowledge of

all material facts concerning the transaction.”). Simply

offering the statements of several congressmen is insufficient

to demonstrate Congress’ knowledge. Indeed, as the Supreme

Court has explained, “floor debates reflect at best the

understanding of individual Congressmen.

58a

“Zuber v. Allen, 396 U.S. 168, 186, 24 L. Ed. 2d 345, 90 S.

Ct. 314 (1969). And even “language in a Committee Report

without additional indication of more widespread

congressional awareness” cannot invoke a presumption of

general congressional awareness. SEC v. Sloan, 436 US.

103, 121, 56 L. Ed. 2d 148, 98 S. Ct. 1702 (1978). Rather,

this knowledge requirement is demonstrated when Congress

appropriates funds specifically addressing and enabling the

conduct in question. This is so because, by definition,

Congress as a whole has knowledge of an activity when it

specifically approves the appropriation of funds for that

activity.

Because the plaintiffs cannot show that Congress

knowingly ratified the promises of free lifetime medical care,

or that there was actual authority for such care, Schism’s

breach-of-contract claim is not saved.

E Congress Did Not Subsequently Provide Authority for an

Entitlement to Lifetime Free Medical Care for Retirees

Through Acquiescence

While not briefed by the parties, acquiescence was raised

by the court during oral argument. The relevant question is

whether Congress acquiesced in the military departments’

interpretation of the statutes and regulations so as to provide

the requisite “actual authority” to contract for an entitlement

to free lifetime medical care for retired personnel. The query

arises because the government indisputably provided

conditional free medical care for many retirees until

TRICARE’s introduction. Thus, the argument is_ that

Congress tacitly approved of and thereby acquiesced in an

interpretation of the statutes and regulations that they

implicitly authorized free lifetime medical care for military

retirees. As we explain below, Congress did not acquiesce;

and, in fact, Congress’ enactment of CHAMPUS and other

59a

legislation, such as TRICARE, unequivocally illustrates the

contrary.

The doctrine of acquiescence is premised upon Congress’

failure to act in response to an action it might view as

previously unauthorized, unlike the ratification context where

Congress affirmatively acted to demonstrate its approval of

an agency action. See, e.g., Reuschlein & Gregory, § 33 at

76-77 (describing acquiescence as “implied ratification”);

United States v. Midwest Oil Co., 236 U.S. 459, 470-73, 59 L.

Ed. 673, 35 S. Ct. 309 (1915) (discussing that although no

explicit authority existed for the President to withdraw any

land from the public interest, the long-continued practice of

withdrawing public lands from private acquisition, done with

the knowledge and acquiescence of Congress, would raise a

presumption that the withdrawals had been made with its

consent or in recognition of an administrative power of the

Executive in the management of the public lands); United

States v. Rutherford, 442 U.S. 544, 554 n.10, 61 L. Ed. 2d 68,

99 S. Ct. 2470 (1979) (explaining that deference to an

agency’s interpretation of a statute is particularly appropriate

when “an agency’s statutory construction has been ‘fully

brought to the attention of the public and the Congress,’ and

the latter has not sought to alter that interpretation although it

has amended the statute in other respects, then presumably

the legislative intent has been correctly discerned”); Bob

Jones Univ. v. United States, 461 U.S. 574, 600-01, 76 L. Ed.

2d 157, 103 S. Ct. 2017 (1983) (holding Congress acquiesced

to the IRS’s interpretation of § 503(c)(3) through its repeated

failure to act on bills to overturn the agency’s rulings); United

States v. Riverside Bayview Homes, Inc., 474 U.S. 121, 137,

88 L. Ed. 2d 419, 106 S. Ct. 455 (1985)

(“[A] refusal by congress to overrule an agency’s

construction of legislation is at least some evidence of the

reasonableness of that construction, particularly where the

administrative construction has been brought to Congress’

60a

attention through legislation specifically designed to supplant

it.”); see also Restatement (Second) of Agency § 43(1)

(““Acquiescence by the principal in conduct of an agent whose

previously conferred authorization reasonably might include

it, indicates that the conduct was authorized; if clearly not

included in the authorization, acquiescence in it indicates

affirmance.”); 3 Am. Jur. 2d Agency § 197 (1986)

(explaining that, as with ratification, no acquiescence takes

place “unless the principal has full and complete knowledge

of all the material facts attending the unauthorized

transaction”) (footnote omitted).

Nevertheless, the Supreme Court has repeatedly cautioned

against using congressional silence alone to infer approval of

an administrative interpretation. See Rutherford, 442 U.S. at

554 n.10 (“To be sure, it may not always be realistic to infer

approval of a judicial or administrative interpretation from

congressional silence alone.”); Riverside Bayview Homes,

474 U.S. at 137 (“We are chary to attributing significance to

Congress’ failure to act . . .”); Bob Jones Univ., 461 U.S. 574,

600, 76 L. Ed. 2d 157, 103 S. Ct. 2017 (“Non-action by

Congress is not often a useful guide . . .”); Solid Waste

Agency of Northern Cook County v. United States Army

Corps of Eng’rs, 531 U.S. 159, 169, 148 L. Ed. 2d 576, 121

S. Ct. 675 (2001) (“Although we have recognized

congressional acquiescence to administrative interpretations

of a statute in some situations, we have done so with extreme

care.”); see also First Nat'l City Bank v. United States, 214

Ct. Cl. 585, 557 F.2d 1379, 1384 (Ct. Cl. 1977) (recognizing

“that the doctrine of legislative acquiescence is at best only an

auxiliary tool for use in interpreting ambiguous statutory

provisions” but concluding that “Congress, if it had

considered the [IRS’s] interpretation erroneous, would have

amended the section when it reenacted the statute; its failure

to do so implies that the administrative pronouncement was

not inconsistent with the intent of the statute” and, therefore,

6la

Congress “legislatively concurred” in the agency’s

interpretation).

Indeed, two recent Supreme Court cases that find

congressional acquiescence, Bob Jones University and

Riverside Bayview Homes, are careful to explain the

importance of Congress’ extensive awareness of the

interpretation to which it had allegedly acquiesced. See also

Dames & Moore v. Regan, 453 U.S. 654, 686, 69 L. Ed. 2d

918, 101 S. Ct. 2972 (1981) (“Past practice does not, by itself,

create power, but ‘long-continued practice, known to

and acquiesced in by Congress, would raise a presumption

that the [action] had been [taken] in pursuance of its

consent . . . .””) (quoting Midwest Oil, 236 U.S. at 474)

(emphasis added).

In Bob Jones University, parochial colleges challenged

denial of tax-exempt status based on the Internal Revenue

Service’s determination that these schools operated under

racially discriminatory policies. The IRS had issued rulings in

1970 and 1971 deeming schools with such policies not

“charitable” as contemplated by the Internal Revenue Code.

See Bob Jones Univ., 461 U.S. at 598. The Court concluded

that:

Failure of Congress to modify the IRS rulings of 1970

and 1971, of which Congress was, by its own studies

and by public discourse, constantly reminded; and

Congress’ awareness of the denial of tax-exempt status

for racially discriminatory schools when enacting other

and related legislation make out an unusually strong case

of legislative acquiescence in and ratification by

implication of the 1970 and 1971 rulings.

Id. at 599. The Bob Jones University Court determined that

there was clear congressional acquiescence in the IRS’s

action based on the abundance of knowledge that Congress

had on the issue of tax-exemption and discriminatory

62a

practices. This was no “ordinary claim of legislative

acquiescence” in that shortly after the IRS issued its ruling

Congress held “exhaustive hearings” on the issue of

discrimination and tax-exemption:

Non-action by Congress is not often a useful guide, but the

non-action here is significant. During the past 12 years there

have been no fewer than 13 bills introduced to overturn the

IRS interpretation of § 501(c)(3) [the tax-exempt provision

for charitable organizations]. Not one of these bills has

emerged from any committee, although Congress has enacted

numerous other amendments to § 501 during this same

period, including an amendment to § 501(c)(3) itself. It is

hardly conceivable that Congress—and in this setting, any

Member of Congress—was not abundantly aware of what

was going on. In view of its prolonged and acute awareness

of so important an issue, Congress’ failure to act on the bills

proposed on this subject provides added: support for

concluding that Congress acquiesced in the IRS rulings of

1970 and 1971.

Id. at 600-01 (citations omitted). Thus, Congress’ knowledge

of the interpretation allegedly acquiesced to was crucial to the

Court’s finding.

A similar situation occurred in Riverside Bayview Homes.

That case involved the Army Corps of Engineers’ interpreta-

tion of the Corps’ regulation defining the “waters of the

United States.” 474 U.S. at 126. In 1975, the Corps issued

interim final regulations that construed “waters of the United

States” to include all “freshwater wetlands” that were

adjacent to other covered waters. /d. at 123-24. In 1977, this

construction was met with congressional opposition: a bill

from the House of Representatives reported out of committee

proposed a redefinition which limited the Corps’ authority,

and a bill reported by the Senate did not include a

redefinition, but did focus on the potential problem of over-

regulation by the Corps. /d. at 136. The debate in both cham-

63a

bers of Congress was lengthy, culminating in legislation that

“retained [the Corps’] comprehensive jurisdiction over the

Nation’s waters.” /d. at 137. The Court found Congress’

treatment of the Corps’ jurisdiction significant in that the

Corps’ construction of its own jurisdiction was specifically

brought to Congress’ attention, and Congress rejected

attempts to alter it. Jd. In determining that Congress had

acquiesced to the Corps’ interpretation, the Court stated

Although we are chary of attributing significance to

Congress’ failure to act, a refusal by Congress to overrule an

agency’s construction of legislation is at least some evidence

of the reasonableness of that construction, particularly

where the administrative construction has been brought to

Congress’ attention through legislation specifically designed

to supplant it.

Id. (emphasis added). Thus, the Supreme Court has

repeatedly made clear that an important foundation of

acquiescence is that Congress as a whole was made aware of

the administrative construction or interpretation and did not

act on contrary legislation despite having this knowledge.

Turning to the facts of our case, the plaintiffs have offered

virtually no legislative evidence that Congress as a whole was

aware of the fact that the recruiters had promised, and the

military branches had to an extent provided, free lifetime

medical care for military retirees.'* In fact, a statement made

by Representative Kilday refers to a right of the retirees

'’ The plaintiffs point to only four references where congressmen

spoke on the House or Senate floor regarding free lifetime medical care.

Of these offered statements, only one, that of Senator Johnson, 146 Cong.

Rec. $10383 (Oct. 12, 2000), states that military retirees had been

promised lifetime health care for themselves and their dependents. And

the statements of several congressmen on the floor cannot sufficiently put

all of Congress on notice of a specific agency interpretation. See Zuber v.

Allen, 396 U.S. 168, 186,24 L. Ed. 2d 345, 90 S. Ct. 314 (1969) (“Floor

debates reflect at best the understanding of individual Congressmen.”).

64a

“which has existed on a space-and-facilities-available basis

over a long time.” 84 Cong. Rec. 3849 (1956); see 146 Cong.

Rec. $1806 (Mar. 28, 2000) (statement from Senator Leahy

explaining that military retirees relied on base hospitals for

space-available free medical care). In addition, plaintiffs

offered the statement of Representative Boyd that “although

used by the services for decades as an effective recruitment

and retention tool, this promise [of lifetime free medical care]

has no basis in law.” 146 Cong. Rec. E792. Thus, it seems

clear that from the beginning Members of Congress

understood that the retirees in fact were entitled to only

conditional health care and that the recruiters’ broader

promises were unenforceable.

Further, and perhaps most damaging to any argument for

acquiescence, when the issue of medical care for retirees was

clearly before Congress, the result was the Dependents

Medical Care Act of 1956, CHAMPUS, and in 1986,

TRICARE—programs which did not_ provide for

unconditional free lifetime medical care for veterans. See,

e.g., H.R. Rep. No. 84-1805, at 4 (explaining that Title | of

the proposed legislation, which became the 1956 Act, would

authorize entitlement to medical care on a space available

basis in facilities under the jurisdiction of the uniformed

services for wives and children, dependent parents and

parents-in-law, retired personnel and their dependents and

wives and children of deceased personnel who died while in

active duty).

The 1956 Act provided for conditional health care for

retirees: “a member or former member of a uniformed service

who is entitled to retired . . . pay may, upon request, be given

medical and dental care in any facility of any uniformed

service, subject to the availability of space and facilities and

the capabilities of the medical and dental staff.” 10 U.S.C.

§ 1074(b) (emphases added). The conditionality of this

provision was clarified further during the debates regarding

65a

the proposed act. For example, a Member of Congress asked

the following: “Would it be possible, under this legislation,

for a young man to enlist in one of the armed services at the

age of 17, retire at the age of 37, and obtain, not only during

his 20 years of service, but the remainder of his life, full

medical care for his wife, children, adopted children,

stepchildren, and his father and mother, and mother-in-law

and father-in-law as well?” 102 Cong. Rec. 3849 (1956). In

response, Congressman Kilday, the floor manager of the bill

stated “The gentleman’s question is all inclusive. This bill

would not create any right to any portion of any of the things

the gentleman has mentioned. It would continue a right which

has existed on a space-and-facilities-available basis over a

long period of time, under which one retired for length of

Service or disability would be entitled to hospitalization for

himself and for his dependents.” /d. (emphasis added). Thus,

it is evident that from the beginning, Congress intended

health care for retirees to be conditional.'®

As detailed above, in 1966, Congress again visited the

issue of health care for retired service members and their

dependents. The 1966 Act permitted the Department of

Defense to contract for health insurance for retirees under the

same provisions established for active duty dependents in the

1956 Act. More relevant to this case, § 1074 was amended

but still contained the language that provided for medical care

in military hospitals for retirees only on a space-available

basis. Thus, despite modifying the precise section that

included limiting health care for retirees to space availability,

Congress retained this condition. Accordingly, the 1966 Act

further reflected Congress’ intention that retirees receive free

The 1956 Act is recognized largely for its procurement of insurance

to pay for civilian medical care for dependents of members on active duty.

However, for reasons largely involving the cost of such a program,

retirees and their dependents were not included as groups who could

receive civilian care at the government’s expense.

66a

health care only on a conditional (i.e., a space-available)

basis.

Similarly, full free lifetime health care did not stem from

TRICARE; otherwise the veterans would not have brought

this suit. In fact, under TRICARE, health care was provided

to younger retired veterans upon payment of a monthly

premium, coupled with deductibles and other associated fees.

Indeed, following over 100 years of legislation, the status

of medical care for retired members and their dependents was

as follows in 1996:

The primary form of health care authorized for military

retirees and their dependents and survivors before they

become eligible for hospital insurance benefits under the

Social Security Act, as amended, is TRICARE, which

integrates the entitlement to CHAMPUS with the

services available to retirees, their desendents, and

survivors in military medical facilities depending on

“availability of space and facilities and tie capabilities

of the medical and dental staff.” 10 U.SC. § 1074(b)

(re

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.