Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Prescott v. County of El Dorado

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

{ FILED

02 68 60CT 25 2003

NO. 02-___amge OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 2002

STEVEN PRESCOTT; ROBERT F. BERRY; CHERYL JONES;

KAREN PIERCE; AND CHRISTINE M. TURNEY,

~ Petitioners,

V.

COUNTY OF EL DORADO; SHARON LIBICKI; AND EL DORADO

COUNTY EMPLOYEES ASSOCIATION, LOCAL NO. 1,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ZO

W. JAMES YOUNG*

c/o National Right to Work Legal

Defense Foundation, Inc.

8001 Braddock Road, Suite 600

Springfield, Virginia 22160

(703) 321-8510

ATTORNEY FOR PETITIONERS

*Counsel of Record

October 2002

\\A Vy

= =

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Do public employees Possess standing to challenge, as void

as against Federal constitutional law and public policy, the

legality of provisions of the collective bargaining

agreement governing their terms and conditions of

employment?

May a public employer agree to be indemnified by a labor

union for the public employer’s liability for violating its

nonunion employees’ constitutional rights when it seizes

compulsory union fees in violation of this Court’s decision

in Teachers Local No. 1 y. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292 (1986)?

wtks

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

There were no parties to the proceedings in the court whose

judgment is sought to be reviewed other than those named in the

caption:

- lii -

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SPU UMINOE DUIUITID ovis osc ces da cedccoveecsa.. i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW ................ ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ............. he eaNeins dscns vii

ee brels ih tew i fouuc’..c.. 2

| ee eS ee ee 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

sa ob nn oa oe ob vka wk ne 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .......................... 3

Or, SUNN oS ww A hs Ke wee pieee vias stews 4

II. Prior Proceedings and Proceedings Below ...... 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ................. 10

I. THE IMPORTANT QUESTION AS TO EMPLOYEES’

STANDING DIRECTLY ADDRESSES THE POWER OF

INDIVIDUALS TO PROTECT THEMSELVES AGAINST THE

_ “GOVERNMENT’S IMPOSITION OF UNLAWFUL TERMS

AND CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT .............. 10

-iV-

TABLE OF CONTENTS — CONTINUED

Page

A. The Conflict with Decisions on the Injury-in-Fact

Inflicted by Government Enforcement of an

AQUROY TROD TOD oo civ cece c ec ceccvesees 11

1. The Conflict with This Court............. 12

2. The Conflict Among the Circuits ......... 16

B. The Conflict with “Standing” Decisions ........ 17

1. The Conflict with This Court’s Decisions ... 17

2. The Conflict Among the Circuits

GE ke cecicnstiirads sateen, 20

II. THERE IS WIDESPREAD CONFLICT AMONG THE

CIRCUITS AS TO WHETHER UNIONS MAY INDEMNIFY

STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTS FOR THEIR

CONSTITUTIONAL TORTS WHEN ILLEGALLY

ENFORCING FORCED-UNIONISM AGREEMENTS ...... 23

A. The PR AS 2 ix Spe es eg ee ee a 23

B. The Importance of the Issue ................. 28

CIE inno n co cle TS ae Oa eo eee eh eek 30

-V-

-

TABLE OF CONTENTS -— CONTINUED

APPENDICES Page

A.

Decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit (1 August 2002), reported at

298 F.3d 844 (9th Cir. 2002) ................ la

Final Judgment in a Civil Case Entered by the

United States District Court for the Eastern

District of California (17 April 2001) ......... _6a

Order on Pending Summary Judgment Motions

Entered by the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of California (17 April 2001)... 7a

Decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit (12 May 1999), reported at 204

ee ee oe 19a

Decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit (12 May 1999), reported at 177

P36 1102 (Sth Cir. 1999) oo vnc cevcveccccs. 22a

Final Judgment in a Civil Case Entered by the

United States District Court for the Eastern

District of California (1 April 1998) ......... 47a

-Vi-

TABLE OF CONTENTS — CONTINUED

Page

. Opinion and Order Denying Defendants’ Motion

to Dissolve or Modify the Preliminary Injunction,

and Granting in Part and Denying in Part Plain-

tiffs’ Motion for Summary Judgment Entered by

the United States District Court for the Eastern

District of California (26 January 1998) ....... 48a

. United States Constitution, Article II] ........ 69a

United States Constitution,

yf. I re ee 70a

United States Constitution,

Fourteenth Amendment ................ Tla

. Civil Rights Act of 1871, 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983 (West Supp. 1999) .............. 72a

Meyers-Milias-Brown Act,

Cal. Gov’t Code § 3502.5(a) ....°........ 73a

- Vii -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Abood v. Detroit Board of Education,

on She CENTER Sal. Rdi a Bidar sé ove 12, 15, 23

Air Line Pilots Association v. Miller,

ee 13

Allen v. Wright,

ey SOE ik ink we oh chudud tenecdatsas 10

Andrews v. Education Association of Cheshire,

S49 F206 53S CE Cir. 1987) o.oo cccscccccccccces 17

Bowsher v. Synar,

SE POE 65s i nn neevddsknunech ues 15

Brewer v. Lewis,

989 F.2d 1021 (9th Cir. 1993) .................. 22

Carey v. Piphus,

eM NOD ih oN bk Walks ine elie oe 25

City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc.,

a UO Ek ocienin Sein vce k a nc ook 25

Clements v. Fashing,

cetittectees ice. FO eT 20

Clinton v. City of New York,

Pe Wes GET CNMI vc kc cndccccccvece 10, 15, 18, 19

- Vili -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — CONTINUED

Page

Cramer v. Matish,

924 F.2d 1057 (table), 1990 WL

RS OT ere eee 22, 26

District of Columbia v. Carter,

ere rr 24

Ellis v. Railway Clerks,

te errr 15, 24, 28, 29

Elrod v. Burns,

es ee 65 5 och be vbk aenseeesenen ees 12

Federal Election Commission v. Akins,

Se ae EP ous cikdwinvekesetessdenasere 10

Foster v. Madhesian,

268 F.3d 629 (Sth Cir. 2002) ...... cc ccccees passim

Friends of the Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw, :

ee Es. 0b ve ea Wieceaeasrcdedonecuens 7

Harik v. California Teachers Ass'n,

Fe Fe Oe A: BED voi vccncocccusees 11,24

Hohe v. Casey,

ie hog: le Bee eee passim

- ix -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — CONTINUED

Page

Hohe v. Casey,

740 F. Supp. 1092 (M.D. Pa. 1989), rev'd in

part, 956 F.2d 399 (3d Cir. 1992)................ 21

Hudson v. Teachers Local No. 1,

743 F.2d 1187 (7th Cir 1984),

ay Se UI wv kis od cccdce cdcccons 17

Knight v. Kenai Peninsula Borough School District,

131 F.3d 807 (9th Cir. 1997), cert. denied

sub nom. Anchorage Education Association v.

Patterson, 524 U.S. 904 (1998) ........... 12, 16, 20

Lawrence v. Chater,

POO Ae BU CIIOE oc ccécccccdidwin OF eT Cee 7

Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Association,

| AR Cr Pre Po eee 15

Los Angeles v. Lyons,

See bo odd aid ae base ve 10, 16, 17, 18

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife,

Pe ROO Sb iced Obed swbi sconces 10, 22

Ex parte McCardle,

FE FSV ei ver eb wei bdvhedéccees 23

-X-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — CONTINUED

Page

Mitchum v. Foster,

og te ef ee ee ee ee ee 24

Monroe v. Pape,

Cg eg POPUP TOL TET EL TERT Eee 24, 29

National Law Center on Homelessness & Poverty v. Kantor,

Pe ee 8 a ls BE ov oo we ha ee ed ewes’ 23

National Organization for Women v. Scheidler,

SS Re eer ee er ee re 22

Northeastern Florida Chapter of the Associated General

Contractors of America v. Jacksonville,

Pe a CEE 8 8x8 nets baevees ss Ciiee ies 19

O’Shea v. Littleton,

ge | ET eee ee ere ret eer 18

Patterson v. American Tobacco Co., .

Dae Wat CORE, BRP vi eek cece stern aes 18

Prescott v. County of El Dorado,

915 F. Supp. 1080 (E.D. Cal. 1996) .............. 5, 6

Regents of University of California v. Bakke,

ee Sis EP CUA 6 Fak nance eile sen i Adee 20

« Xie«

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — CONTINUED

Page

Sierra Club v. Morton,

ect ht LS PEPPePEe Terror reer 10

Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights Organization,

1 | erry rae Tar rare 10

Stamford Board of Education v. Stamford Education

Association,

697 F.2d 70 (2d Cir. 1982) ............ 18, 25, 26, 27

Steel Co. v. Citizens for a Better Environment,

gS NE ee ee 10, 23

Teachers Local No. 1 v. Hudson,

re ee Eh P90 eben bone Sees passim

Tierney v. City of Toledo,

B24 F268 1497 COM Ct. 1967) occ ce cseeccseds 17

Turner v. Fouche,

PO ee re re ee 19

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United for

Separation of Church & State,

ok ga oS re eee 10

Vermont Agency of Natural Resources v.

United States ex rel. Stevens,

re rae ere eee 10

- Xii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — CONTINUED

Page

Ex parte Virginia,

oe Reh er re se errr cr 24

Warth v. Seldin, ,

eg te Bl, rrr viene vakalemee 10

Weaver v. University of Cincinnati,

FPO F226 1529 COC, TGF) avec cv cnedvinys passim

Wessel v. City of Albuquerque, |

299 F.3d 1186 (10th Cir. 2002) ... 2. cc ecveee passim

Wilson v. Garcia,

O72 TS: BO COR) 6 8 NEENAH 24 29

Wyatt v. Cole,

TG Ui TSG 6 vk ve cc esved recess vayeseos 25

Constitutions, Statutes, and Rules

United States Constitution,

Se 6a Ces Airis Sere re eee 2,19

SI 0 5 6 06 5 or eRTA AAR passim

NE BET ki ik'basan bed k bee eeeee eee 6 ae

Line Item Veto Act,

yack fom fF fF Seererrrervee re ieee. 18-19

- Xili -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — CONTINUED

Page

ee rrr 2

Civil Rights Act of 1871,

42 U.S.C. § 1983 (West Supp. 1999) Stakes 0's passim

Civil Rights Attorney’s Fees Award Act, 1976,

42 U.S.C. § 1988 (West Supp. 1999) ........ 16 25, 26

SS San ae 2

Meyers-Milias-Brown Act,

eR 4

i 4

eg gS 2,4

Cae eee POGOe sree) ................... 28

Milton L. Chappell, Seeking a New Foundation:

Legislative and Practical Alternatives to the Current

Monopoly Bargaining Model That Will Enhance the

Viability of Independent Teacher Groups, 16 GOV’T

UNION REV. 1 (Summer 1995) .................. 28

1A MARTIN A. SCHWARTZ & JOHN E. KIRKLIN,

Section 1983 Litigation: Claims and Defenses § 1.3

SS Oe 24

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 2002

No. 02-

STEVEN PRESCOTT; ROBERT F. BERRY; CHERYL L. JONES;

KAREN PIERCE; AND CHRISTINE M. TURNEY,

Petitioners,

Vv.

COUNTY OF EL DORADO; KATHY LIBICKI; AND

EL DORADO COUNTY EMPLOYEES ASS’N, LOCAL NO. 1,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners Steven Prescott, Robert F. Berry, Cheryl L.

Jones, Karen Pierce, and Christine M. Turney respectfully pray

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit entered on 1 August 2002. :

se

OPINIONS BELOW

The panel opinion sought to be reviewed (Appendix

(“App.”) A at la) is reported at 298 F.3d 844. The judgment

(App. B at 6a), and opinion and order of the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of California on Petition-

ers’ and Respondents’ Cross-Motions for Summary Judgment

(App. C at 7a) are unreported. Also included are the panel

decision of the Ninth Circuit (App. D at 19a), on remand from

this Court, reported at 204 F.3d at 984, the original panel

decision of the Ninth Circuit (App. E at 22a), reported at 177

F.3d 1102, and the District Court’s unreported original

judgment (App. F at 47a) and opinion and order (App. G at

48a).

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered its judgment on 1 August

2002. This petition is timely under Supreme Court Rule 13.1.

This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

(West 1993).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves Article III, and the First and Fourteenth

Amendments, of the United States Constitution, Title I of the

Civil Rights Act of 1871, 42 U.S.C. § 1983, and § 3502.5(a) of

the California Government Code. Their pertinent text is set out

in Appendices H-L at 66a-70a.

xo

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Like this Court’s earlier consideration, Prescott v. County

of El Dorado, 528 U.S. 1111 (2000), this case involves: (1) the

standing of public employees to challenge provisions of the

agreement governing their terms and conditions of employment;

and (2) whether a public employer may contract away (to the

union benefitting from its actions) liabilities arising from its

enforcement of an agency shop scheme which fails to comply

with “the constitutional requirements for the Union’s collection

of agency fees.” Teachers Local No. 1 v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292,

310 (1986). ,

This civil rights action, brought under 42 U.S.C. § 1983,

sought and obtained declaratory, injunctive, and other relief to

prevent and redress violations of Petitioners’ constitutional

rights to be free from unlawful seizures of compulsory union

fees. See generally Hudson, 475 U.S. at 306-10. Included

within their Complaint, Petitioners Steven Prescott, et al. (“the

employees”), also challenged the “indemnification provision” of

the memorandum of understanding (“MOU”) between

Respondents County of El Dorado (“County”) and El Dorado

County Employees Association, Local No. 1 (“EDCEA”),

alleging that it is void as against public policy and

unenforceable (Record (“R.”) 1, Complaint, {J 14 and 31, and

Exhibit A, Article 4, § 3(J)). Applying Hudson, the lower courts

decided most of the employees’ claims and entered judgment

largely in their favor. However, the lower courts twice declined

to address the indemnification issue, declaring that the

employees lack standing to challenge this section of the MOU

governing their terms and conditions of employment. See App.

A at 3a-5a, 298 F.3d at 845-47; App. E at 41a-43a, 177 F.3d at

1111-12; App. G at 64a-66a.

I. The Facts.

The employees are employed by the County in a bargaining

unit represented by EDCEA. EDCEA is a “recognized

employee organization” and the County is a “public agency”

within the meaning of California’s Meyers-Milias-Brown Act

(“MMBA”), Cal. Gov’t Code § 3501(b) and (c). The employees

are not union members, and were not, when “agency fees” were

seized from their pay. App. A at 2a-3a.

Pursuant to the MMBA, Cal. Gov’t Code § 3502.5(a), the

EDCEA/County MOU imposed a forced-unionism obligation

(entitled “Fair Share”) by which the County agreed to deduct

fees from the wages of all bargaining unit employees who did

not join EDCEA, and to forward those fees to EDCEA. App. A

at 2a-3a. Included in this section of the MOU was an

indemnification provision, as follows:

Local 1 shall defend, indemnify and hold harmless,

release and save the County and its agents and

employees against any and all claims, demands, suits,

orders, judgements or other forms of liability that shall

arise out of or by reason of, action taken or not taken

by the County under this Agreement. This includes

but is not limited to the collection and procedures for

collection of fair share fees and reasonable cost of

County’s attorney fees and costs along with reasonable

cost of management preparations [sic] time as well.

Id. at 3a, 298 F.3d at 845.

In April 1995, EDCEA sent a notice to the employees,

purportedly in compliance with Hudson’s requirements. On 12

May 1995, the County seized initiation fees and agency fees

from each employee’s bi-weekly salary, forwarding the fees to

EDCEA’s affiliate, Public Employees Union, Local No. 1.

ee

Respondents failed to comply with all of the procedural

protections required by this Court’s decision in Hudson before

fees were seized. Prescott v. County of El Dorado, 915 F. Supp.

1080, 1091-92 (E.D. Cal. 1996). As adjudicated by the lower

courts, EDCEA’s notice and procedure violated Hudson’s three

requirements, 475 U.S. at 310, failing to provide: (1) “an

adequate explanation of the basis for the fee” by failing to

provide audited financial disclosure, App. E at 29a-34a, 177

F.3d at 1106-09; (2) “a reasonably prompt opportunity to

challenge the amount of the fee before an impartial

decisionmaker,” as EDCEA’s challenge procedure would not

occur until more than a year after the first fee seizure, 915

F. Supp. at 1091, and the union required specific objections

submitted “under penalty of perjury,” App. G at 63a-64a

(permanently enjoining EDCEA from imposing requirements);

and (3) “an escrow for the amounts reasonably in dispute while

such challenges are pending,” as EDCEA escrowed only 4% of

the fee seized, App. E at 37a-40a, 177 F.3d at 1110-11.

Respondents County and Kathy Libicki (the County’s

Director of Human Resources) took no steps to comply with

Hudson’s requirements, relying wholly upon EDCEA’s

representations that it had done so. The County and Libicki

initially claimed that they undertook no independent review to

confirm EDCEA’s representations that it had complied with

Hudson’s requirements before seizing agency fees from the

employees. R. 23, Exhibit 3, page 2, Admission No. 3; R. 92,

pages 24-25; see also R. 90, | 23 (failing even to ascertain

whether the notice was sent to all “potential objectors,”

Hudson, 475 U.S. at 306). However, later discovery revealed

that they had concluded that EDCEA’s financial disclosure

probably did not comply with Hudson’s requirements. R. 92,

pages 35-36 and Exhibit 6A; see also R. 90, { 22. Nevertheless,

the County enforced the forced-unionism agreement in the belief

ie

that the indemnification agreement protected it from all liability

to the employees.

II. Prior Proceedings and Proceedings Below.

The employees filed their Complaint in October 1995,

seeking declaratory and injunctive relief, and damages, on the

grounds that Respondents were enforcing their “agency shop”

scheme in violation of Hudson, and that the indemnification

provision of the MOU is void as against public policy.

After preliminarily enjoining all fee seizures, Prescott, 915

F. Supp. at 1092, the District Court, on 26 January 1998, entered

its order, App. G at 48a-68a, and its judgment, on 1 April 1998,

largely in favor of the employees, App. F at 47a. The District

Cou:t permanently enjoined EDCEA from utilizing portions of

its Hudson procedure. App. G at 63a-64a. District Court

rulings that EDCEA’s unaudited financial disclosure and escrow

were adequate under Hudson were reversed on appeal. App. E

at 29a-34a, 37a-40a, 177 F.3d at 1106-09, 1110-11, cert.

granted, vacated, remanded, 528 U.S. 1111 (2000), reinstated

in pertinent part, App. D at 20a-21a, 204 F.3d at 984.

As to the employees’ claim that the indemnification

provision of the MOU is void as against public policy and

unenforceable, the District Court sua sponte declared that the

employees lack standing to challenge this term of the MOU

governing their terms and conditions of employment. App. G

at 64a-66a. Specifically, the District Court found that the

employees had “not demonstrated any of the three prerequisites

to standing.” The court reasoned that the employees’ injury “is

the result of the Union’s [sic] conduct, and is traceable to the

hold harmless agreement in only the most indirect fashion.” Jd.

at 66a. The employees appealed, R. 54, attacking, inter alia, the

. -

District Court’s ruling that they lack standing to challenge the

indemnification provision. App. E at 41a, 177 F.3d at 1111.

Acknowledging “that [the employees] suffered some injury

when the fees were deducted from [their] paycheck(s],” the first

Court of Appeals panel nevertheless affirmed the District

Court’s standing ruling. Jd. at 42a, 177 F.3d at 1112

(identifying injury as failure to comply with Hudson's

standards; injury results from unioa’s conduct). Thus, both the

District Court and the original panel denied any nexus between

the indemnification provision and the County’s seizure of fees

from the employees. Id., 177 F.3d at 1112.

The original panel’s denial was rooted in its conclusion that

the employees were injured not by the County’s illegal fee

seizures, but because “fee deduction procedures were [not]

properly followed.” It then concluded that this miscast “injury”

was not “fairly traceable to the agreement,” and that it was

“speculative” to conclude that “striking of the agreement would

redress or prevent the injuries . . . suffered.” Jd., 177 F.3d at

1112.

The employees petitioned this Court for a writ of certiorari.

This Court apparently determined either “intervening

developments, or recent developments that [it] had reason to

believe the court below did not fully consider, reveal[ed] a

reasonable probability that the decision below rest[ed] on a

premise that the lower court would reject if given the

opportunity for further consideration.” Lawrence v. Chater, 516

U.S. 163, 167 (1996). This Court granted the petition, vacated

the decision below, and, on 18 January 2000, remanded the case

“for further consideration in light of Friends of the Earth, Inc.

v. Laidlaw,” 528 U.S. 167 (2000). 528 U.S. 1111 (2000).

dite

Further discovery on remand revealed the County knew,

prior to seizing the compulsory fees from the employees’ wages,

that EDCEA’s financial disclosure “may not meet [the] standard

of ‘legally audited’ financial disclosure.” R. 92, pages 35-36

and Exhibit 6A (original emphasis). Nevertheless, upon cross-

motions for summary judgment, the District Court again held

that the employees lack standing to.challenge the validity of the

indemnification clause, App. C at 15a-18a, and dismissed the

case, App. B at 6a. The employees again appealed. R. 99.

Retreating from the concession of its predecessor panel,

App. E at 42a, 177 F.3d at 1112; but see Hudson, 475 US. at

310, the second panel refused to acknowledge that employees

are injured by the illegal seizure of their property. Instead, the

second panel—like the District Court, App. C at 16a—identi-

fied the injury as a failure to comply with Hudson’s standards

and affirmed the District Court’s standing ruling. App. A at 4a-

Sa, 298 F.3d at 846-47.

Like the District Court, the panel recast the Complaint,

stating that “[t]he only cognizable injury the plaintiffs allege is

that the union did not give them adequate notice of the basis of

the fees.” Jd. at 2a, 298 F.3d at 845; see also id. at 3a-4a, 298

F.3d at 846 (“The only injury they alleged was that the union

failed to comply with the requirements of Hudson to provide

notice of the basis of the agency fees . . . and to maintain an

adequate portion of collected fees in escrow pending fee

arbitration.”). However, the Complaint five times identifies the

seizure of agency fees as the source of the employees’ injuries.

R. 1, #f 15, 19, 20, 21 & 24.'

' The panel likewise disregards prior proceedings herein, for in

addition to the failure to provide “adequate notice,” the District Court had

adjudicated four distinct procedural deficiencies. See page 5, supra.

vile

Based upon this misapprehension of the Record and prior

proceedings, and the flawed premise that inadequate notice—

and not the illegal seizure of property—causes injury, the panel

declared that the employees had not “met the redressability

requirement for standing,” because it was merely “speculative”

that the declaratory and injunctive remedy sought would not

“prevent future violations.” App. A at 4a, 298 F.3d at 846.

The panel also asserted that a public employer is not liable

when it seizes fees from employees absent compliance with “the

constitutional requirements for the . . . collection of agency

fees.” Hudson, 475 U.S. at 310. The panel concluded that a

public employer “has no responsibility for ensuring the

adequacy of the notice; that is the union’s responsibility.” App.

A at 4a, 298 F.3d at 846 (citing Foster v. Madhesian, 268 F.3d

689, 694 (9th Cir. 2001)).

2

« 86.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE IMPORTANT QUESTION AS TO EMPLOYEES’

STANDING DIRECTLY ADDRESSES THE POWER OF

INDIVIDUALS TO PROTECT THEMSELVES AGAINST THE

GOVERNMENT’S IMPOSITION OF UNLAWFUL TERMS AND

CONDITIONS OF EMPLOYMENT.

At first blush, this case appears to present a routine standing

issue, addressed frequently by this Court. See Vermont Agency

of Natural Resources v. United States ex rel. Stevens, 529 U.S.

763, 771-78 (2000); Clinton v. City of New York, 524 U.S. 417

(1998); Federal Election Comm’n v. Akins, 524 U.S. 11 (1998);

Steel Co. v. Citizens for a Better Env’t, 523 U.S. 83 (1998);

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555 (1992); Allen v.

* Wright, 468 U.S. 737 (1984); Los Angeles v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95

(1983); Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights Org., 426

U.S. 26 (1976); Warth v. Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975); Sierra

Club v. Morton, 405 U.S. 727 (1972). In these cases, among

many others, this Court has repeated the familiar tripartite

showing required to establish standing: “A plaintiff must allege

[1] personal injury [2] fairly traceable to the defendant’s

allegedly unlawful conduct and [3] likely to be redressed by the

requested relief.” Allen, 468 U.S. at 751 (citing Valley Forge

Christian College v. Americans United for Separation of

Church & State, 454 U.S. 464, 471-76 (1982)).

However, the lower court’s treatment of standing here is

not routine. Prescott v. County of El Dorado, 528 U.S. 1111

(2000). By misdefining the employees’ injury, the Ninth Circuit

writes out of civil rights law the government’s duty to refrain

from violating nonunion employees’ constitutional rights,

failing to apply this Court’s clearly-enunciated standards, see

Hudson, 475 U.S. at 307 n.20 ( “the government and union have

a responsibility to provide procedures that minimize th[e]

ott.

impingement [on First Amendment rights] and that facilitate a

nonunion employee’s ability to protect his rights”) as well as

those of virtually every other Circuit addressing this issue.

Consequently, the employees face the prospect of future

violations of their constitutional rights by both illegal agency fee

seizures absent compliance with the “constitutional

requirements for the . . . collection of agency fees,” id. at 310,

and by compelled subsidization of the public employer’s

defense against their successful lawsuit challenging past

violations of their constitutional rights.

A. The Conflict with Decisions on the Injury-in-Fact

Inflicted by Government Enforcement of an Agen-

cy Shop Scheme.

The panel’s decision conflicts with this Court’s standing

decisions, because it conflicts with this Court’s forced-unionism

jurisprudence. Although nonmembers are injured by the public

employer’s seizure of agency fees from their wages, the panel

radically abstracted their injury, attributing their “injury in fact”

to inadequate notice under Hudson. App. A at 2a, 298 F.3d at

845. Thus, the panel premised its decision on the implausible

proposition that the contents ofa union’s notice—rather than the

seizure of his or her property—injures an employee.

The Ninth Circuit has applied this analysis in a series of

cases, beginning with the first decision herein, App. E at 41a-

43a, 177 F.3d at 1111-12, and culminating in its decision on

remand from this Court. App. A at 4a; see also Foster v.

Madhesian, 268 F.3d 689, 694 (9th Cir. 2001); Harik v.

California Teachers Ass'n, 298 F.3d 863, 870 (9th Cir. 2002)

(reversing judgment against public officials for seizing fees

absent Hudson compliance).

ee

The panel’s conclusion defies this Court’s mandate that it

is the public employer’s responsibility, before it seizes fees from

“potential objectors,” to ensure that Hudson’s standards are

satisfied. Hudson, 475 U.S. at 306-07 & n.20; see also Knight

v. Kenai Peninsula Borough Sch. Dist., 131 F.3d 807, 817 (9th

Cir. 1997) (miscast by both the Foster and the Prescott panels).

1. The Conflict with This Court.

Hudson holds that an employer’s seizure of nonmembers’

fees is the constitutionally-injurious act, rejecting the argument

that only the union’s expenditure of nonmembers’ fees injures

them. Proceeding from the principle “that requiring employees

to support the collective-bargaining representative ‘has an

impact upon their First-Amendment interests’” (quoting Abood

v. Detroit Board of Education, 431 U.S. 209, 222 (1977)), this

Court identified a two-fold violation in any forced-unionism

scheme: that it “may well ‘interfere in some way with an

employee’s freedom: (1)] to associate for the advancement of

ideas, or [(2)] to refrain from doing so, as he sees fit.”” Hudson,

475 U.S. at 301. This Court reiterated that “the agency shop

itself impinges on the nonunion employees’ First-Amendment

interests,” noting that an “appropriately justified advance

reduction” of the fee is required. Jd. at 309. Recognition that it

is the taking which injures the constitutional rights of

nonmembers was cemented by this Court’s holding establishing

“the constitutional requirements for the . . . collection of agency

fees.” Id. at 310 (emphasis added); cf. Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S.

347, 373 (1976) (“loss of First Amendment freedoms, for even

minimal periods of time, unquestionably constitutes irreparable

injury”) (emphasis added).

sit.

While declining to consider the case “through the prism of

the procedural due process protections necessary for

deprivations of property,” this Court recognized that the

infringement is dual, because “the procedures required by the

First Amendment also provide the protections necessary for any

deprivation of property.” Hudson, 475 U.S. at 304 n.13. It

therefore rejected the union’s argument that “any valid

constitutional objection to [its] procedure,” was addressed by

escrow of all monies seized from nonmembers. Jd. at 309. This

principle was again recognized when this Court rejected the

argument that “[iJllegality depends on the spending of

compelled agency fees for ideological purposes . . . not simply

the initial collection of those fees.” Air Line Pilots Ass'n v.

Miller, 523 U.S. 866, 876 n.4 (1998) (original emphasis).

Furthermore, the panel’s novel conclusion disregards the

government’s duty to refrain from unconstitutional conduct, and

its culpability for its unconstitutional seizure of “agency fees”

from nonunion public employees for a union’s benefit. See also

Foster, 268 F.3d at 694. This Court unambiguously declared in

Hudson that “the government and union have a responsibility

to provide procedures that minimize th[e] impingement [on First

Amendment rights] and that facilitate a nonunion employee’s

ability to protect his rights” when they enforce a forced-

unionism provision, 475 U.S. at 307 n.20 (emphasis added).

Yet, another Ninth Circuit panel—relied upon by the panel

below, App. A at 4a—discarded that conclusive affirm-ance of

government responsibility in favor of a construction of § 1983

embracing the proposition that “the routine deduction of fees by

the [government] employer,” does not injure employees when

the necessary procedures have not been provided. Foster, 268

F.3d at 694.

-14-

Thus, the panel followed Foster’s decision elevating state

statutory policy ostensibly favoring seizure of agency fees, id.,

over the federal constitutional policy barring fee seizures absent

compliance with “the constitutional requirements for the . . .

collection of agency fees,” Hudson, 475 U.S. at 310.

Distribution of an inadequate Hudson notice does not cause

the injury necessary to establish standing. App. A at 4a, 298

F.3d at 846. Rather, nonmembers are injured by the seizure of

agency fees, an act committed solely by the public employer.

The panel’s iailure to acknowledge this point (the core of the

employees’ argument, see Plaintiffs-Appellants’ Reply Brief,

filed 1 December 2001, pages 4-22), underlies its standing

ruling: “The challenged indemnification clause upon which the

employer insisted caused neither the union to furnish, nor the

plaintiffs to receive, inadequate notice.” App. A at 4a, 298 F.3d

at 846. What the panel did not face was the fact that the

indemnification clause caused the County to agree to, and

enforce, the forced-unionism agreement, i.e., to seize agency

fees from the employees’ wages.

Having miscast the “injury” suffered by the employees from

whom forced union dues are seized, the panel consequently

ignores the palpable and direct effect of the indemnification

agreement in the seizure of agency fees. Moreover, the panel

ignores the real and imminent prospect of additional financial

injury (beyond the County’s past illegal seizures of agency fees),

insofar as the employees remain subject to the County/EDCEA

forced-unionism agreement.” Indeed, given the renewal of

? Petitioner Karen Pierce left her bargaining unit employment during

the pendency of this lawsuit, R. 68, Exhibit A, J 5, and therefore does not

face the prospect of compelled subsidization of EDCEA’s indemnification

expenditures. However, because the other employees possess standing on

(continued...)

o1$-

agency fee seizures after the District Court’s order of January

1998, App. G, they already have suffered that injury, when

EDCEA charged them for the costs of indemnifying the County

for its defense against their own meritorious lawsuit.

A union may not charge objecting nonmembers for

“expenses incident to [an illegal] strike,” because this Court

“can imagine no legitimate governmental interest that would be

served by compelling objecting employees to subsidize activity

that the State has chosen to disallow.” Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty

Ass'n, 500 U.S. 507, 531 (1991); accord id. at 562 (opinion of

Scalia, J.). Similarly, no legitimate governmental interest can

be served by compelling objecting employees to subsidize a

public employer’s costs of defending itself against those

employees’ successfully-adjudicated claims that it violated their

First and Fourteenth Amendment rights by seizing agency fees

in the absence of Hudson compliance.

This Court has consistently recognized the First Amend-

ment repercussions of forced-unionism schemes. Hudson, 475

USS. at 301 (quoting Abood, 431 U.S. at 222); see also Abood,

431 U.S. at 255 (Powell, J., concurring in the judgment);

Lehnert, 500 U.S. at 517-19; see also Ellis v. Railway Clerks,

466 U.S. 435, 447, 455-56 (1984) (“by allowing the union shop

at all, we have already countenanced a significant impingement

on First Amendment rights”; “[t]he First Amendment does limit

the uses to which the union can put funds obtained from

dissenting employees”). The coerced subsidization imposed by

indemnification provisions in cases such as this serves no

legitimate governmental interest, but seriously “impact[s]” the

2 (...continued)

this basis, this Court need not consider Pierce’s status. Clinton, 524 U.S. at

431 n.19 (citing Bowsher v. Synar, 478 U.S. 714, 721 (1986)).

-16-

employees’ First Amendment rights. Hudson, 475 U.S. at 301;

cf. 42 U.S.C. § 1988 (fee-shifting provisions).

When it adopted the “injury-because-Hudson-was-not-

followed” reasoning (App. A. at 2a-4a, 298 F.3d at 845-46), the

panel below—like its predecessor panel, App. E—ignored the

employees’ real economic injury in EDCEA’s indemnification

of the County and Libicki from the costs of their defense of this

lawsuit. The County/EDCEA MOU thus adds to the injury of

the County’s unlawful seizure of agency fees the insult of

requiring the employees to subsidize the County’s financial

liability for that injury. Certainly, that injury is sufficient to

confer upon the employees standing to challenge the legality of

the indemnification agreement. Lyons, 461 U.S. at 111.

2. The Conflict Among the Circuits.

The Ninth Circuit’s decision also conflicts with decisions

of four other Circuits that have held employers liable for seizing

agency fees absent compliance with Hudson’s requirements.’

There is no other precedent consistent with this panel’s decision.

A public employer’s duty to refrain from inflicting

constitutional harm by seizing fees is unanimously recognized

in the Third, Sixth, Seventh, and Tenth Circuits, the only other

Circuits to consider the question. Wessel v. City of

Albuquerque, 299 F.3d 1186, 1197-99 (10th Cir. 2002) (“That

a public employer has certain obligations within the fair share

deduction framework established by courts is beyond dispute”),

reh’g denied (1 Oct. 2002); Hohe v. Casey, 956 F.2d 399, 405-

06, 411 (3d Cir. 1992) (“the employer and the union must have

> There is good cause to believe that it defies existing Ninth Circuit

precedent, since this rule was previously recognized in Knight, 131 F.3d at

817, based upon Hudson, 475 U.S. at 307 n.20.

«tts

a constitutional procedure in place before deducting fees”);

Tierney v. City of Toledo, 824 F.2d 1497, 1504, 1507 (6th Cir.

1987) (“no union or employer may take any action to enforce a

non-union member’s duty to pay any dues, whether through a

deduction from wages or payment from wages already paid,”

absent Hudson compliance); Weaver v. University of Cincin-

nati, 970 F.2d 1523, 1538 (6th Cir. 1992) (“a public employer

ha[s] duties separate and apart from those of the union”);

Hudson v. Teachers Local No. 1, 743 F.2d 1187, 1191 (7th Cir.

1984) (public agency liable), aff'd, 475 U.S. 292 (1986); see

also Andrews v. Education Ass’n of Cheshire, 829 F.2d 335,

339 (2d Cir. 1987) (Hudson “mandated that the unions and

government use a narrowly drawn plan that protects the

nonmembers’ first amendment interests”).

The panel’s mischaracterization of the employees’

argument—that they argued that “the indemnification clause is

the legal cause of the inadequate Hudson notice,” App. A at 4a;

298 F.3d at 846; but see supra page 8—is contrary to both the

Record and the uniform rule of law recognized by this Court and

the other Circuits. —

This Court should grant certiorari to address the panel’s

deviation from this Court’s forced-unionism jurisprudence, and

that of the other Circuits, as to the injury-in-fact suffered by

nonunion employees subject to forced-unionism schemes.

B. The Conflict with “Standing” Decisions. —

1. The Conflict with This Court’s Decisions.

Insofar as the employees seek prospective declaratory and

injunctive relief that Respondents’ indemnification scheme is

void as against public policy, the panel failed to analyze

properly the employees’ standing under Lyons. Lyons holds that

litigants seeking such relief demonstrate standing when they

: 2

show a “real or immediate threat that [they] will be wronged

again—a ‘likelihood of substantial and immediate irreparable

injury.”” 461 U.S. at 111 (quoting O'Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S.

488, 502 (1974)). The four employees who remain employed by

the County, subject to successor County/EDCEA MOUs and

their forced-unionism provisions, satisfy these requirements.

Nevertheless, because “[t]he remedy the plaintiffs seek,

invalidation of the indemnification clause, does not compensate

plaintiffs for past violations of Hudson, nor does it prevent

future violations,” the panel below declared that the employees

failed to meet “the redressability requirement for standing.”

App. A at 4a, 299 F.3d at 846.

In Stamford Board of Education v. Stamford Education

Association, 697 F.2d 70, 74 (2d Cir. 1982), a similar

indemnification provision was struck down. The Second Circuit

cited the union’s payment of the public employer’s damages for

entering into an unlawful agreement and the derivation of that

payment from, “at least in part, funds collected as dues from the

plaintiffs themselves or from members of the plaintiff class.”

Id. (citing Patterson v. American Tobacco Co., 535 F.2d 257,

269 (4th Cir. 1976) (union may not bargain away minority

employees’ right to equal treatment)). Similarly, the employees

here face the very real prospect of subsidizing the opposition to

their own lawsuit, when EDCEA indemnifies Respondents

County and Libicki, and charges bargaining unit employees for

those costs.

That the employees will be forced to subsidize the County’s

defense exceeds the showing of “contingent liability” sufficient

to confer standing upon the City of New York in Clinton v. City

of New York, 524 U.S. 417, 429-30 (1998). Opposing a

constitutional challenge to the Line Item Veto Act, 2 U.S.C.

§ 691, et seqg., the United States government argued that there

- 19.

was no “actual injury [to the City] because the claims are too

speculative,” 524 U.S. at 430, citing the fact that its liabilities

were dependent upon the action of the State of New York.

Rejecting this argument, this Court compared the President's

exercise of his authority under the Act to an appellate court’s

setting aside of a defense verdict, with remand for a new trial of

a multibillion dollar damage claim. As the Court noted, “[e]ven

if the outcome of the second trial is speculative, the reversal,

like the President’s cancellation, causes a significant immediate

injury by depriving the defendant of the benefit of a favorable

final judgment.” Jd.

Similarly, the courts below were confronted with the self-

evident fact that indemnification lowers employer costs for

violating nonmember employee rights, thereby creating

disincentives to the public employer’s protection of the

employees’ constitutional rights. Moreover, it is uncontroverted

that the County, doing nothing to ensure that Hudson was

satisfied, seized agency fees notwithstanding its doubts about

the constitutional adequacy of EDCEA’s financial disclosure.

If “denial of a benefit in the bargaining process can itself create

an Article II injury, irrespective of the end result,” Clinton, 524

U.S. at 433 n.22 (citing Northeastern Florida Chapter of the

Associated Gen. Contractors of America v. Jacksonville, 508

U.S. 656, 666 (1993)), then certainly achievement of a term in

the bargaining process can likewise inflict an Article Ill injury.’

4 The employees need not demonstrate that the County would have

eschewed fee seizures absent the indemnification provision, see App. E at

42a-43a, 177 F.3d at 1112, to establish their standing. This Court has

repeatedly refused to impose such a requirement. Jacksonville, 508 US. at

664-65 (citing Turner v. Fouche, 396 U.S. 346, 361 (1970) (non-property

owning plaintiff need not show that he would have been appointed to school

(continued...)

- 20.

2. The Conflict Among the Circuits on Standing.

In addition to the Ninth Circuit in this case, three other

courts of appeals—the Tenth, Sixth, and Third,

respectively—have faced the indemnification issue in the

context of forced-unionism agreements. See Wessel, 299 F.3d

at 1197-99; Weaver, 970 F.2d at 1536-38; Hohe, 956 F.2d at

411-12. Indeed, an earlier panel of the Ninth Circuit faced a

similar challenge. Knight, 131 F.3d at 817 (addressing merits

challenge to indemnification provisions brought by similarly-

situated employees).° None has eluded the merits by adopting

the position of the panel in this case.

Most recently, in Wessel, the Tenth Circuit specifically

criticized and rejected the Ninth Circuit’s approach. There, the

* (...continued)

board but for requirement that members be property owners—only that he

would have been considered for the position)); Clements v. Fashing, 457

U.S. 957 (1982) (rejecting claim that dispute was “merely hypothetical”

because litigants could not show they actually would have been elected but

for “automatic resignation” provisions of Texas state constitution); Regents

of University of California v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 281 n.14 (1978)

(requisite injury shown by refusal of state to allow litigant to compete for

benefit sought). :

* Other than a perfunctory citation which fails to support the

proposition for which it is cited, the panel disregarded this circuit authority.

App. A at 4a, 298 F.3d at 846. In Knight, the district court “quickly

disposed of” the argument that employees “are not a proper party to sue on

a contract of indemnity.” Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, Anchorage Educ.

Ass'n v. Patterson, No. 97-1454, App. C at 47a. However, perhaps

recognizing Knight’s conclusion on the standing issue, the panel renders

Knight through the prism of Foster, which declared that the seizure of fees

is not an “adverse action” under Knight, 131 F.3d at 817. Foster, 268 F.3d

at 694.

-21-

court referred to the Ninth Circuit’s erroneous identification of

the injury, noting that:

[t]he alleged injury results from the indemnification

provision’s negation of any incentive for the City to

ensure that the Hudson requirements were followed.

The nonmembers’ entire argument presumes that, if

the City faced potential liability, it would have

prevented the fair share fees from being deducted

unconstitutionally from the nonmembers’ paychecks.

299 F.3d at 1199 n.3.

The Third Circuit addressed the challenge of similarly-

situated employees to an indemnification agreement in Hohe,

956 F.2d at 411-12. There, the district court rejected the

employees’ challenge to the indemnification provision,

simultaneously rejecting a challenge to a statute requiring the

public employer (the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania) to

withhold agency fees “even if the necessary procedural

safeguards have not been implemented.” Hohe v. Casey, 740 F.

Supp. 1092, 1098 (M.D. Pa. 1989), rev ‘'d in pertinent part, 956

F.2d 399, 412 (3d Cir. 1992). The district court held that even

if the union’s procedure were held to be constitutionally

defective, “[t]he fact that the Commonwealth might not have

earlier barred fee collection would not make the plaintiffs more

victorious,” and that “under the facts of this case it is

unnecessary to consider the plaintiffs’ challenge to [the

statute].” 740 F. Supp. at 1099. In a footnote, the district court

went on to state that, “[flor the same reasons we also reach that

conclusion with respect to the indemnification clause in the

collective bargaining agreement.” Jd. at n.5.

On appeal, the nonmembers argued that the indemnification

clause “is void as against public policy.” 956 F.2d at 411. The

22 -

Third Circuit explicitly held that employees subject to a

monopoly bargaining agreement possess standing to challenge

its terms: “We find ourselves in disagreement with the ruling of

the district court that it need not decide this issue. We say so

because we think the theory advanced by the plaintiffs’ attack

on the clause raises a cognizable legal issue.” Jd. at 411.

Later, the Sixth Circuit declared such clauses void as

against public policy. Weaver, 970 F.2d at 1536-38.° That

decision is devoid of any suggestion that employees lack

standing to challenge indemnification provisions. The court

found it sufficient that the clause “protect[s] the University from

any financial consequences of going along with procedures

selected by the union that fail to comply with the constitutional

standards enunciated in Hudson.” Id. at 1538 (other citations

omitted).

Any federal court’s merits judgment presupposes

determination that the parties possess the requisite standing.

National Org. for Women v. Scheidler, 510 U.S. 249, 255

(1994) (standing is open to review at all stages of the litigation);

cf. Brewer v. Lewis, 989 F.2d 1021, 1025 (9th Cir. 1993)

(standing is a jurisdictional question that must be addressed at

the threshold of any case). It is “an indispensable part of the

plaintiff's case.” Lujan, 504 U.S. at 5€t. Indeed, when the

party before the court lacks standing, there is no case or

controversy, and the court lacks jurisdiction. As this Court

recently has reaffirmed, “Jurisdiction is the power to declare

* The Sixth Circuit earlier issued an unpublished decision declaring

such clauses void as against public policy. Cramer v. Matish, 924 F.2d 1057

(table), 1990 WL 169640 (6th Cir. 1990). There, no question was raised that

employees possess standing to challenge one of their terms and conditions

of employment.

5.

the law, and when it ceases to exist, the only function remaining

to the court is that of announcing the fact and dismissing the

cause.” Steel Co., 523 U.S. at 94 (quoting Ex parte McCardle,

7 Wall. 506, 514 (1868)); see also National Law Center on

Homelessness & Poverty v. Kantor, 91 F.3d 178, | 80 (D.C. Cir.

1996). Thus, implicit in the Sixth Circuit's merits

determination is the conclusion that it possessed jurisdiction to

decide the issue presented to it.

This Court should grant certiorari to settle the conflict

among the circuits as to whether employees subject to a forced-

unionism provision agreement possess standing to challenge the

legality of an indemnification clause in that agreement.

Il. THERE IS WIDESPREAD CONFLICT AMONG THE

CIRCUITS AS TO WHETHER UNIONS MAY INDEMNIFY

STATE AND LOCAL GOVERNMENTS FOR THEIR

CONSTITUTIONAL TORTS WHEN ILLEGALLY ENFORCING

FORCED-UNIONISM AGREEMENTS.

A. The Conflict.

Like this case, Hudson was brought pursuant to § 1983.

475 US. at 298 n.3. There, this Court addressed “whether the

[agency shop] procedure used by [a union] and approved by [a

public employer] adequately protects the basic distinction drawn

in Abood,” between “devis[ing] a way of preventing compulsory

subsidization of ideological activity by employees who object

thereto without restricting the Union’s ability to require every

employee to contribute to the cost of collective-bargaining

activities.” 475 U.S. at 302 (quoting Abood, 431 U.S. at 237).

“{A]nalyz[ing] the problem from the perspective of the First

Amendment concerns,” 475 U.S. at 304 n.13, the Court

determined that there are three “constitutional requirements for

- 2.

the . . . collection of agency fees.” Jd. at 310. The Court

specifically stated that, in this context, both “the government

and union have a responsibility to provide procedures that

minimize that impingement [on First Amendment rights] and

that facilitate a nonunion employee’s ability to protect his

rights.” Jd. at 307 n.20 (citing Ellis, 466 U.S. at 455).

Under this articulation of government responsibility, a

public employer may not, without running afoul of

constitutional norms, seize agency fees from nonmember

employees on behalf of a union absent strict adherence to these

“constitutional requirements.” Hudson, 475 U.S. at 310. If it

does so, it injures the nonmembers. Nevertheless, the Ninth

Circuit has rejected this Court’s decisionmaking in three cases

that write government liability out of § 1983 law. App. A at 2a-

4a, 298 F.3d at 846; Foster, 268 F.3d at 694; Harik, 298 F.3d at

870.

Section 1 of the Civil Rights Act of 1871, 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983, created a remedy “against those who representing a

State in some capacity were unable or unwilling to enforce a

state law,” Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 176 (1961) (original

emphasis); see also District of Columbia v. Carter, 409 U.S.

418, 426 (1973). Its purpose is to “protect the people from

unconstitutional action under color of state law ‘whether that

action be executive, legislative, or judicial.’” Mitchum v. Foster,

407 U.S. 225, 242 (1972) (quoting Ex parte Virginia, 100 U.S.

339, 346 (1879)). The catalyst for this statutory enactment was

widespread violence against blacks and their supporters by the

Ku Klux Klan. Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 276 (1985); see

also 1A Martin A. Schwartz & John E. Kirklin, Section 1983

Litigation: Claims and Defenses § 1.3 (3d ed. 1997). Its passage

was rooted in grave distrust of state and local officials to enforce

federal constitutional rights against—and perhaps in league

ye

with—powerful local interests committed to violation of the

federal constitutional rights possessed by individuals.

Thus, State and local governments bear non-delegable

responsibility for their “constitutional torts.” 42 U.S.C.

§§ 1983, 1988. The purpose of § 1983 is “to deter state actors

from using the badge of their authority to deprive individuals of

their federally guaranteed rights.” Wyatt v. Cole, 504 U.S. 158,

161 (1992) (citing Carey v. Piphus, 435 U.S. 247, 254-57

(1978)); see also City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453

U.S. 247, 268 (1981) (deterrence of future abuses of power is an

important purpose of this section). Similar purpose can be

inferred from the fee-shifting provisions of § 1988.

Surprisingly, the courts of appeals are in deep conflict over

whether labor unions may agree to indemnify public employers

‘against any liability arising out of the unlawful enforcement of

compulsory-unionism provisions. The Ninth Circuit has twice

eluded this issue, but four other courts of appeals have faced it,

three in this specific context.

Shortly after the decision in this case, the Tenth Circuit

declared such agreements void as against public policy. Wessel,

299 F.3d at 1197-99 (2-1 decision). Another Circuit, the Sixth,

agrees. Weaver, 970 F.2d at 1536-38 (holding that “[a] clause

that relieves the employer of all consequences for its failure to

assume and conscientiously carry out its cuties, including even

the cost of defending legal actions, is against public policy”). A

third Circuit, the Second, agrees with the Sixth in a related

context. Stamford, 697 F.2d at 73-75. Only the Third Circuit

has found such agreements permissible and enforceable. Hohe,

956 F.2d at 411-12.

When the Third Circuit first addressed this controversial

issue, the Sixth Circuit already had addressed it in its

-26-"—

unpublished Cramer opinion. Citing Stamford, Cramer

reversed a district court judgment and remanded the case,

directing the lower court to “strike [this] . . . void provision[]

from the policy.” Cramer, 1990 WL 169640 at *4. The

provision was void as against public policy because, “[uJnder

Hudson, the public employer, not the union, has the primary

duty to ensure that the plan is constitutionally valid.” “[C]lauses

in collective bargaining agreements which purport to relieve

public employers from liability for violations of federal

constitutional and civil rights are void as against public policy.”

Id. (citing Stamford, 697 F.2d at 73-75). Cramer concluded that

“[w]ith-out such a role, public employe[r]s would have no

incentive to fulfill their constitutional duties.” 1990 WL

169640 at *4 (emphasis added). Cramer thus held that a

union’s indemnification of a public employer in this context is

void as against public policy.

The Third Circuit declined to follow Cramer. Hohe, 956

F.2d at 411 (citing Cramer (other citation omitted)). Noting the

immunity from damages enjoyed by the Commonwealth and its

officers sued in their official capacity, the court rejected the

argument that indemnification encourages public employers to

violate employees’ constitutional rights by allowing escape from

liability for costs and attorneys’ fees pursuant to § 1988. The

court reasoned that “the clause [does not] explicitly provide that

[the union] will indemnify the Commonwealth for the costs or

fees involved in defending any claim based upon its deduction

of fair share fees.” 956 F.2d at 411-12.’ Even if it did, because

the union has a significant incentive “to ensure that its

>

This distinguishes Hohe from the present case, where the

indemnification clause specifies that indemnification includes the

“reasonable cost of County’s attorney fees and costs.” App. A at 3a, 298

F.3d at 845.

~ 29s

procedures comply with the Constitution,” i.e., that “[flailure to

do so may result in its being unable to retain a portion of the fair

share fee,” the Third Circuit held that “invalidation of the

indemnification clause is not required by the First Amendment.”

Id. at 412.

Shortly after Hohe, the Sixth Circuit decided Weaver,

adopting virtually every argument rejected by the Third Circuit.

The Sixth Circuit, carefully analyzing Stamford as well as Hohe,

concluded that the former was more persuasive than the latter.

The Sixth Circuit declared that “the indemnification agreement

in the present case was repugnant to public policy, and

therefore, invalid,” for two reasons. First, the clause “protect[s]

the university from any financial consequences of going along

with procedures selected by the union that fail to comply with

the constitutional standards enunciated in Hudson.” Second, the

court recognized that “the university as a public employer had

duties separate and apart from those of the union.” Weaver, 970

F.2d at 1538 (citations omitted). The Sixth Circuit concluded

that a “clause that relieves the employer of all consequences for

its failure to assume and conscientiously carry out its duties,

including even the cost of defending legal actions, is against

public policy.” Id.

Most recently, the Tenth Circuit in Wessel addressed the

indemnification issue, agreeing with the Sixth Circuit. Wessel

rejected the district court’s argument that a public employer can

“do little, if anything, to deteci and prevent,”* Hudson

violations. 299 F.3d at 1197. The Tenth Circuit conscientiously

applied this Court’s Hudson mandate. It concluded that “if the

* That argument clearly is inapplicable here, where the County

determined before seizing fees that the union’s financial disclosure was

probably inadequate under Hudson.

«

Supreme Court had only been concerned with the union’s ability

to carry out the Hudson requirements, it would not have placed

the burden on both parties.” Wessel, 299 F.3d at 1198 (citing

475 U.S. at 307 n.20).

B. The Importance of the Issue.

This question manifestly is important, both in practice and

principle, as this Court previously recognized by granting

certiorari in cases such as Ellis and Hudson, and when it

granted certiorari and vacated and remanded the prior panel’s

opinion.

. It is important in practice because the Court’s resolution of

this question will affect employees subject to large numbers of

such agreements. Public-sector compulsory unionism

agreements are lawful in at least twenty (20) states and the

District of Columbia. Milton L. Chappell, Seeking a New

Foundation: Legislative and Practical Alternatives to_ the

Current Monopoly Bargaining Model That Will Enhance the

Viability of Independent Teacher Groups, 16 Gov’t Union Rev.

1, 23-28 (table) (Summer 1995). As the cases above illustrate,

public employee unions frequently assume the employer’s

liability in order to obtain and enforce forced-unionism

agreements. Indeed, California has recently amended the

MMBA to require that public employees indemnify local public

employers in the absence of a negotiated agreement. Cal. Gov’t

Code § 3502.5(b). There can be little doubt that the purpose is

to ensure that public employers seize fees even when they have

good cause to believe that a union has failed to comply with

Hudson’s requirements.

Whether public employers may be indemnified by labor

unions from “any and all claims, demands, suits, orders,

judgements or other forms of liability that shall arise out of or

Baar TU MRT Ta

yer Tee sre pene, Menu re TIRT ET, P —— , :

- 29 «

by reason of, action taken. or not taken” pursuant “to the

collection and procedures for collection of fair share fees,” App.

A at 3a, 298 F.3d at 845, is important in principle, too. A

requirement that public employees financially support their

monopoly bargaining representative implicates fundamental

constitutional rights. Because the impairment of the First

Amendment rights of public employees is implicit in any

forced-unionism agreement, Hudson, 475 U.S. at 301 n.3; see

also Ellis, 466 U.S. at 455, “the government and union have a

responsibility to provide procedures that minimize that

impingement and that facilitate a nonunion employee’s ability

to protect his rights.” 475 U.S. at 307 n.20. Questions as to

how that responsibility is to be enforced against State and local

complicity in the efforts of discrete, locally-powerful groups to

violate the constitutional rights of another discrete, less-

politically powerful group, see Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. at

276, necessarily are important. Indeed, they are at the core of

the fundamental congressional policy embodied in § 1983,

which is to create a remedy “against those who representing a -

State in some capacity [a]re unable or unwilling to enforce a

state law.” Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. at 175-76.

This Court’s intervention is necessary to establish

conclusively nationwide that public employers, surrendering

their employees’ unfettered right to choose whether to support

their monopoly bargaining representative, cannot avoid their

“responsibility to provide procedures that facilitate a nonunion

employee’s ability to protect his rights.” Hudson, 475 U.S. at

307 n.20. Further, it is necessary to guarantee. that public

employers cannot, without economic consequence and in league

with a labor union, “subject, or cause[] to be subjected, any

citizen of the United States . . . to the deprivation of any rights,

privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitution and laws,”

42 U.S.C. § 1983.

so

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, this petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted, and the case set for plenary ~

briefing and argument on the important questions presented

herein.

Respectfully submitted,

W. JAMES YOUNG*

c/o National Right to Work Legal

Defense Foundation, Inc.

8001 Braddock Road, Suite 600

Springfield, Virginia 22160

(703) 321-8510

ATTORNEY FOR PETITIONERS

*Counsel of Record

October 2002

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

NINTH CIRCUIT

1 August 2002

-la-

[298 F.3d 844]

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

Steven PRESCOTT; Robert F. Berry; Cheryl L. Jones;

Karen Pierce; Christine M.

Turney, Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vv.

COUNTY OF EL DORADO; Kathy Libicki; Local 1 El

Dorado County Employees

Association, Defendants-Appellees.

No. 01-15913.

Argued and Submitted April 9, 2002.

Filed Aug. 1, 2002.

[845] Before SCHROEDER, Chief Judge, B. FLETCHER

and KOZINSKI, Circuit Judges.

OPINION

SCHROEDER, Chief Judge.

This case was before us previously, when we held, inter alia,

that the plaintiffs lacked standing to challenge an

indemnification provision in a collective bargaining agreement.

Prescott v. County of El Dorado, 177 F.3d 1102, 1112 (9th

Cir.1999) (Prescott I). That provision requires the union to hold

the employer harmless from any liability arising out of the

collection of agency fees from non-union members of the

bargaining unit. Jd. Plaintiffs are non-union members of an

_

agency shop bargaining unit employed by defendant El Dorado

County, California.

The Supreme Court vacated our decision and remanded for

reconsideration of the standing issue in light of its decision in

Friends of the Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw Environmental Services

(TOC), Inc., 528 U.S. 167, 120 S.Ct. 693, 145 L.Ed.2d 610

(2000). Prescott v. County of El Dorado, 528 U.S. 1111, 120

S.Ct. 929, 145 L.Ed.2d 807 (2000). We remanded in turn to

the district court. Prescott v. County of El Dorado, 204 F.3d

984-85 (9th Cir.2000) (Prescott IT ) (reinstating the original

opinion except as to standing and remanding to the district

court).

We now review the district court’s decision, on remand,

that the plaintiffs lack standing to challenge the indemnification

clause. We affirm, because there is no causal relationship

between the indemnification agreement and the injury plaintiffs

have suffered. The indemnification clause requires the union to

defend and indemnify the employer against all claims arising out

of the employer’s collection of agency fees. The only cognizable

injury the plaintiffs allege is that the union did not give them

adequate notice of the basis of the fees. Chicago Teachers Union,

Local No. 1 v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292, 310, 106 S.Ct. 1066, 89

L.Ed.2d 232 (1986).

The facts and the background of the litigation are more

fully explained in our earlier opinion. Prescott I, 177 F.3d at

1104-05. Plaintiffs sued in federal court alleging that the process

by which the agency fees were deducted from their paychecks

violated the standards enunciated by the Supreme Court in

Hudson. They also challenged the validity, on public policy

-3a-

grounds, of the indemnification clause. Jd. Only the plaintiffs’

challenge to the indemnification clause remains at issue in this

appeal. The indemnification clause provides:

Local 1 shall defend, indemnify and hold harmless,

release and save the County and its agents and

employees against any and all claims, demands, suits,

orders, judgements or other forms of liability that shall

arise out of or by reason of, action taken or not taken

by the County under this Agreement. This includes

but is not limited to the collection and procedures for

collection of fair share fees and reasonable cost of

County’s attorney fees and costs along with reasonable

cost of management preparations [sic] time as well.

Plaintiffs asked the district court to hold that the clause is

contrary to public policy and therefore unenforceable. Plaintiffs

[846]did not show, however, that the clause itself has caused

them any injury. The only injury they alleged was that the union

failed to comply with the requirements of Hudson to provide

notice of the basis of agency fees that plaintiffs must pay as

members of an agency shop and to maintain an adequate

portion of collected fees in escrow pending fee arbitration. See

Prescott I, 177 F.3d at 1104-05.

In order to have standing, a plaintiff must establish an

injury in fact, causation, and redressability. Laidlaw, 528 U.S. at

180-81, 120 S.Ct. 693. Plaintiffs maintain that there is a causal

relationship between the Hudson injury and the indemnification

clause. They contend that because the Hudson notice

requirement is triggered by the collective bargaining agreement,

and because the employer has stipulated that it would not have

- 4a.

entered into the collective bargaining agreement unless it

contained the indemnification clause, the indemnification clause

is the legal cause of the inadequate Hudson notice.

The district court correctly ruled, however, that this causal

relationship is too remote. The injury must be “fairly traceable

to the challenged action of the defendant.” Laidlaw, 528 U.S. at

180, 120 S.Ct. 693. It cannot be the result of the “independent

action of some third party not before the court.” Lujan v.

Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 560, 112 S.Ct. 2130, 119

L.Ed.2d 351 (1992) (quoting Simon v. E. Ky. Welfare Rights

Org., 426 U.S. 26, 41-42, 96 S.Ct. 1917, 48 L.Ed.2d 450

(1976).) Plaintiffs’ injury was not caused by the employer’s

entry into the collective bargaining agreement; it was caused by

the union’s inadequate notice of expenditures on which the

agency fees were based. Indeed, in this circuit, the employer has

no responsibility for ensuring the adequacy of the notice; that

is the union’s responsibility. Foster v. Mahdestan, 268 F.3d 689,

694 (9th Cir.2001); Knight v. Kenai Peninsula Borough Sch.

Dist., 131 F.3d 807, 817 (9th Cir.1997). The challenged

indemnification clause upon which the employer insisted caused

neither the union to furnish, nor the plaintiffs to receive,

inadequate notice.

In addition, and as a corollary, the district court also

correctly held that the plaintiffs have not met the redressability

requirement for standing. Redressability requires that it be

“likely, as opposed to merely speculative, that the injury will be

redressed by a favorable decision.” Laidlaw, 528 U.S. at 181,

120 S.Ct. 693. The remedy the plaintiffs seek, invalidation of

the indemnification clause, does not compensate plaintiffs for

past violations of Hudson, nor does it prevent future violations.

- 5a-

Cf. Latdlaw, 528 U.S. at 185-86, 120 S.Ct. 693 (“a sanction that

effectively abates that conduct and prevents its recurrence

provides a form of redress”).

Plaintiffs also contend that the district court failed to

comply with our mandate to require the union to retain a larger

percentage of agency fees in escrow. See Prescott I, 177 F.3d at

1111. After our prior remand, the district court entered an

order requiring ten percent of collected fees to be held in

escrow. This complied with our directive. The plaintiffs

nevertheless complain that the order was not expressly

embodied in the district court’s order resolving the standing

issue, its final order in the case. That order, however, explains

that the court had already ordered the escrow, and that its order

remained in full effect. The final judgment entered thus

encompassed all the interlocutory rulings of the court, including

the escrow order. See, ¢.g., City of Los Angeles v. Santa Monica

Baykeeper, 254 F.3d 882, 889 n. 1 (9th Cir.2001) (interlocutory

orders merge into the final judgment and [847]may be

challenged in appeal from that judgment).

AFFIRMED.

APPENDIX B

FINAL JUDGMENT OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN

DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

17 April 2001

- 6a -

[Clerk’s stamp omitted in printing]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

STEVEN H. PRESCOTT, et al.

v. CASE NUMBER:

CIV S-95-1859 LKK JEM

COUNTY OF EL DORADO, et al.

XX- Decision by the Court. This action came to trial or

hearing before the Court. The issues have been tried

or heard and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

THAT JUDGMENT IS HEREBY ENTER-

ED IN FAVOR OF DEFENDANTS AND

AGAINST PLAINTIFFS IN ACCORDANCE

WITH THE COURT’S ORDER OF APRIL

17, 2001.

Jack L. Wagner

Clerk of the Court

ENTERED: April 17, 2001

by: /s/

A. Sourvannarath, Deputy Clerk

APPENDIX C

ORDER DENYING

PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT IN THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN

DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

17 April 2001

- Ja-

[Clerk’s stamp omitted in printing]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

STEVEN H. PRESCOTT, et al.,

Plaintiffs, NO. CIV. S-95-1859

LKK/JFM

ORDER

COUNTY OF EL DORADO, et al.,

Defendants.

/

The plaintiffs, non-union employees of El Dorado County

(the “County”), sued the El Dorado County Employees

Association (“EDCEA” or the “Union”), as a local affiliate of

the Professional Employees Union, Local #1 (“PEU”), for

failing to provide them proper notice and _ procedural

requirements with the collection of its agency fee in violation of

the First, Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United

States Constitution. This matter comes before the court on

cross-motions for summary judgment. I resolve the matter

based on the papers and pleadings filed herein and after oral

argument.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

On February 26, 1996, the court preliminarily enjoined the

Union from collecting a fair share agency fee until it provided

a challenge procedure which allowed for the dispute to be

resolved within 120 days from the date on which the fee was

seized from the nonmembers’ paychecks. See Prescott v. County

- 8a-

of El Dorado, 915 F. Supp. (E.D. Cal. 1996). The court also

ordered the Union not to impose upon nonmembers the “under

penalty of perjury” and specificity requirements for challenging

the fee. Id. The court, however, denied the balance of plaintiffs’

motion. First, the court found that the notice provided an

adequate basis for the fee because it identified PEU’s major

expense categories and provided nonmembers with sufficient

information to ascertain which of those categories the Union

deemed chargeable to nonmembers. The court reasoned that

under Chicago Teachers Union, Local No. 1, AFL-CIO v.

Hudson (“Hudson”), 475 U.S. 292, 306 n. 18 (1986), the

Union is only required to provide the nonmember with

sufficient information to decide whether to challenge the

legitimacy of the Union’s fee, and did not require that the

Union justify its expense in detail prior to the challenge.

Employing the “local union presumption,” the court also held

that PEU need not provide a breakdown of the expenditures for

each local affiliate because local affiliates generally spend less

money on political activity than state or national unions.

Recognizing the very limited record describing the

difference between various types of financial reviews, the court

also determined that, while adequate notice under Hudson must

include “verification by an independent auditor,” an

accountant’s “review” appeared to provide the verification

required by the Supreme Court. The court noted, however, that

the lack of a full record deprived it of an opportunity to

definitively resolve the issue. See Prescott, 915 F. Supp. At

1089, n. 13. Finally, the court held that plaintiffs did not

demonstrate a likelihood for success on their challenge to the

4% escrow figure because plaintiffs did not show that more than

4% was reasonably in dispute.

- 9a -

The parties then cross-moved for summary judgment.

Plaintiffs continued to maintain that the notice and procedures

violated the First, Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments because

they (1) did not contain audited financial disclosures of the

expenditures of EDCEA and affiliated labor organizations

receiving money from EDCEA, (2) utilized an unconstitutional

standard of chargeability, and (3) contained unduly burdensome

procedures for challenging the fee. Plaintiffs sought a

declaratory judgment stating that the defendants have violated

the constitutional requirements for collecting an agency fee, a

permanent injunction against all fee “seizures” from the

nonmembers, and restitution of all fees already “seized” from

nonmembers. Finally, plaintiffs requested a declaratory

judgment that the indemnification agreement between the

County and EDCEA was void as against public policy.

Defendants argued that the court should grant them

summary judgment primarily for the reasons discussed in the

court’s preliminary injunction order. With regard to the

“verification by an independent auditor” required by Hudson,

defendants argued that an accountant’s review sufficed because

it provided nonmembers with the information pertinent in

assessing the validity of the fee, and that an audit would burden

the Union with an unnecessary cost. Defendants also moved to

dissolve the preliminary injunction on the basis that the Union

has instituted a procedure which permits a nonmember to have

a hearing within sixty days from making a challenge to the fee,

and to obtain a final decision within thirty days from the

hearing.

In consideration of the motions for summary judgement,

the court held that defendants’ “accounting review” satisfied the

- 10a -

constitutional requirements set forth in Hudson. See Order filed

January 26, 1998 at 12. The court also reaffirmed its holding

that a 4% escrow amount was sufficient, see id. at 13, and held

that the local union presumption was valid under Hudson. See

id. at 16. The court then made permanent the preliminary

injunction issued on February 26, 1996. See id. at 17. Finally,

the court dismissed plaintiffs’ challenge to the indemnity clause

between the Union and the district because the plaintiffs had

failed to demonstrate standing to pursue such a claim. See id. at

19.

On appeal, the Ninth Circuit reversed in part and affirmed

in part this court’s order. In relevant part, the court affirmed

this court’s holding that the plaintiffs lacked standing to

challenge the indemnity agreement. See Prescott v. El Dorado,

177 F.3d 1102, 1111-1112 (9" Cir. 1999) (“Prescott IT”). The

court noted that plaintiffs could not show any connection

between the indemnity agreement and their injury and that they

could not demonstrate that a favorable decision would

ameliorate their injury or prevent future recurrence of the

violation. See id. at 1112. The Supreme Court granted

certiorari, vacated the Ninth Circuit’s judgment and remanded

the case for further consideration in light of Friends of the Earth

v. Laidlaw, 528 U.S. 167 (2000). The remaining issue in this

lawsuit is the plaintiffs’ challenge to the indemnity agreement.’

' The court disposed of the other issues remanded by the Circuit

in Prescott I. See Order filed November 17, 1999. Specifically, the

court held that the Union must hold 10% of the nonmembers’ fees in

escrow. Defendants complied with the other order issued by the

Ninth Circuit when it completed an independent audit of the PEU.

(continued...)

-lla-

II.

THE FACTS’

The “Union Rights” article of the Collective Bargaining

Agreement between the County and the EDCEA contains a

“hold harmless” section in which the EDCEA indemnifies and

holds the County harmless against any suit for actions taken

under the “Union Rights” article. In pertinent part, the article

provides:

Local 1 shall defend, indemnify and hold harmless,

release and save the County and its agents and

employees against any and all claims, demands, suits,

orders, judgments or other forms of liability that shall

arise out of or by reason of, action taken or not taken

by the County under.this Agreement. This includes

but not limited to the collection and procedure for

collection of fair share fees and reasonable cost of

County’s attorney fees and costs along with reasonable

cost of management preparations time as well.

Pursuant to the “Hold Harmless” section, the EDCEA

attorneys in this action have entered an appearance on behalf of,

' (...continued )

Contrary to plaintiffs’ suggestion, the court need not enter declaratory

or injunctive relief for the plaintiffs on those issues.

? The facts as stated herein are considered undisputed for the

purposes of summary judgment. Ifa fact objected to by an opposing

party is included in this section, then the court has overruled that

objection.

- 12a-

and are providing representation to defendants County of El

Dorado and Kathy Libicki (“the County Defendants”). The

entire compensation paid to counsel for the County Defendants

for the representation they are providing in this case has been

and is being paid for by the EDCEA. The County Defendants

required inclusion of the “Hold Harmless” section as part of the

“Union Rights” article of the Memorandum of Understanding.

Absent the hold harmless clause, the County Defendants would

not have entered into or enforced an agreement including a

provision requiring union membership, or in lieu of union

membership, payment of an agency fee.

III.

SUMMARY JUDGMENT STANDARDS

UNDER FED. R. CIV. P. 56

Summary judgment is appropriate when it is demonstrated

that there exists no genuine issue as to any material fact, and

that the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 56 (c); See also Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co.,

398 U.S. 144, 157 (1970); Secor Limited v. Cetus Corp., 51

F.3d 848, 853 (9" Cir 1995).

Under summary judgment practice, the moving party

[A]lways bears the initial responsibility of informing

the district court of the basis for its motion, and

identifying those portions of “the pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any,”

which it believes demonstrated the absence of a

genuine issue of material fact.

- 13a-

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 323 (1986). “[W]here

the nonmoving party will bear the burden of proof at trial on a

dispositive issue, a summary judgment motion may properly be

made in reliance solely on the ‘pleadings, depositions, answers

to interrogatories, and admissions on file.” Id. Indeed,

summary judgment should be entered, after adequate time for

discovery and upon motion, against a party who fails to make a

showing sufficient to establish the existence of an element

essential to that party’s case, and on which that party will bear

the burden of proof at trial. See id. at 322. “[A] complete

failure of proof concerning an essential element of the nonmov-

ing party’s case necessarily renders all other facts immaterial.”

Id. In such a circumstance, summary judgment should be

granted, “so long as whatever is before the district court

demonstrates that the standard for entry of summary judgment,

as set forth in Rule 56(c), is satisfied.” Id. at 323.

If the moving party meets its initial responsibility, the

burden then shifts to the opposing party to establish that a

genuine issue as to any material fact actually does exist. Matsu-

' _Co. v. Zeni io Corp., 475 U.S. 574,

586 (1986); See also First Natl Bank of Ariz. v. Cities Serv.

Co., 391 U.S. 253, 288-89 (1968); Secor Limited, 51 F.3d at

853.

In attempting to establish the existence of this factual

dispute, the opposing party may not rely upon the denials of its

pleadings, but is required to tender evidence of specific facts in

the form of affidavits, and/or admissible discovery material, in

support of its contention that the dispute exists. Fed. R. Civ. P.

56(e); Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 586 n.11; See also First Natl

- 14a-

Bank, 391 U.S. at 289; Rand v. Rowland, 154 F.3d 952, 954

(9" Cir. 1998). The opposing party must demonstrate that the

fact in contention is material, i.e., a fact that might affect the

outcome of the suit under the governing law, Anderson v.

Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986); Owens v.

Local No. 169, Assoc. of Western Pulp and Paper Workers, 971

F.2d 347, 355 (9" Cir. 1992) (quoting T.W. Elec. Serv., Inc.

v. Pacific Elec. Contractors Ass’n, 809 F.2d 626, 630 (9" Cir.

1987), and that the dispute is genuine, i.e., the evidence is such

that a reasonable jury could return a verdict for the nonmoving

party, Anderson, 477 U.S. 248-49; see also Cline v. Industrial

Maintenance Engineering & Contracting Co., 200 F.3d 1223,

1228 (9* Cir. 1999).

In the endeavor to establish the existence of a factual

dispute, the opposing party need not establish a material issue

of fact conclusively in its favor. It is sufficient that “the claimed

factual dispute be shown to require a jury or judge to resolve the

parties’ differing versions of the truth at trial.” First Natl Bank,

391 U.S. at 290; See also T.W. Elec. Serv., 809 F.2d at 631.

Thus, the “purpose of summary judgment is to ‘pierce the

pleadings and to assess the proof in order to see whether there

is a genuine need for trial.” Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 587

(quoting Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e) advisory committee’s note on

1963 amendments); see also International Union of Bricklayers

& Allied Craftsman Local Union No. 20 v. Martin Jaska, Inc.,

752 F.2d 1401, 1405 (9™ Cir. 1985).

In resolving the summary judgment motion, the court

examines the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories,

and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, ifany. Rule

56(c); See also In re Citric Acid Litigation, 191 F.3d 1090,

- 1Sa-

1093 (9" Cir. 1999). The evidence of the opposing party is to

be believed, see Anderson, 477 U.S. at 255, and all reasonable

inferences that may be drawn from the facts placed before the

court must be drawn in favor of the opposing party, see Matsu-

shita, 475 U.S. at 587 (citing United States v. Diebold, Inc.,

369 U.S. 654, 655 (1962) (per curiam)); See also Headwaters

Forest Defense v. County of Humboldt, 211 F.3d 1121, 1132

(9" Cir. 2000). Nevertheless, inferences are not drawn out of

the air, and it is the opposing party’s obligation to produce a

factual predicate from which the inference may be drawn. See

Richards v. Nielsen Freight Lines, 602 F. Supp. 1224, 1244-45

(E.D. Cal. 1985), afPd, 810 F.2d 898, 902 (9" Cir. 1987).

Finally, to demonstrate a genuine issue, the opposing party

“must do more than simply show that there is some

metaphysical doubt as to the material facts. .. . Where the

record taken as a whole could not lead a rational trier of fact to

find for the nonmoving party, there is no ‘genuine issue for

trial.” Matsushita, 475 U.S. at 587 (citation omitted).

IV.

STANDING

Plaintiffs seek an order declaring the Union’s indemnity

agreement with the County void as a matter of public policy.

Specifically, they maintain that the indemnity agreement

removes incentive for the County to ensure that the Union

abides by the requirements of Hudson. Before addressing the

merits of their argument, however, I must first determine

whether they have standing to challenge the agreement.

- l6a-

Standing requires a showing that plaintiff has “personally

suffered some actual or threatened injury as a result of the

putatively illegal conduct of the defendant.” Scott v. Rosenberg,

702 F.2d. 1263, 1267 (9 Cir. 1993). Plaintiff must also

demonstrate “that the injury can be fairly traced to the

challenged action, [and that it] is likely to be redressed by a

favorable decision.” Id. (quoting Simon v. Eastern Kentucky

Welfare Rights Org., 426 U.S. 26, 38 (1976)); see also

Preferred Communications, Inc. v. City of Los Angeles, 754

F.2d 1396, 1403, (9" Cir. 1985).

Plaintiffs have failed to demonstrate how the remedy they

seek will prevent any future violation of their rights under

Hudson. Although the plaintiffs may have suffered a violation

of the standards enunciated in Hudson, that injury resulted from

the Union’s conduct, and, notwithstanding the defendants’

stipulation, the hold harmless agreement is a cause of the injury

only in the most indirect fashion.’ In this motion, plaintiffs do

not seek to make themselves whole for this past violation.

Instead, the plaintiffs seek to strike the indemnity agreement in

order to prevent the Union from using their dues for political

and ideological causes with which they disagree, and which are

said to be unrelated to the Union’s duty as collective bargaining

agent. See Hudson, 475 U.S. at 298. Even if this court

ultimately struck the indemnity agreement it would not follow

that plaintiffs’ injury would be avoided. Rather, whether or not

the Union will violate plaintiffs’ right under Hudson will turn

> While plaintiffs stipulation makes no sense factually or legally,

the court accepts it for the purpose of this motion. Nonetheless, the

stipulation does not resolve the issue of whether the order sought will

provide relief.

- 17a-

on the Union’s conduct independent of the indemnity

agreement. Therefore, because plaintiffs cannot connect a

favorable judgment in this case with receiving relief from the

injury they have failed to demonstrate standing. See, e.g., Simon

v. Eastern Ken Welfare Rights Organization, 426 U.S. 26

(1976) (standing denied because it was speculative as to

whether the hospitals involved would change their polices to

provide for better treatment of the indigent if the plaintiffs

successfully invalidated the IRS code which only required the

hospitals to provide emergency care for the indigent); Warth v.

Seldin, 422 U.S. 490 (1975) (denying standing to challenge

zoning regulations because there was no showing that plaintiffs

would personally benefit by obtaining housing if the court

found the regulation unconsttutional); Linda R.S. v. Richard

D., 410 U.S. 614, 618 (1973) (“[Prevailing on the merits]

would result in jailing of the child’s father. The prospect that

prosecution will . . . result in payment of support [which would

remedy the alleged injury] can, at best, be termed only

speculative.”)

The Court’s holding in Friends of Earth Inc. v. Laidlaw,

does not affect this conclusion. There, the court held that

environmental groups had standing to seek relief under the

Clean Water Act when they could demonstrate that the alleged

violations of a polluter has caused their members to refrain from

activity they had previously and would have otherwise

undertaken in the affected area. 528 U.S. at 183. Although the

injury sutfered by the organization members in Friends of Earth

Inc. could have been redressed by a favorable decision, as

explained above, the same is not true in this case with respect to

plaintiffs’ challenge to a third-party indemnity agreement.

- 18a -

V.

ORDERS

Accordingly, defendants’ motion for summary judgment is

GRANTED and the Clerk is directed to CLOSE the case.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: April 12, 2001.

Ls/

LAWRENCE K. KARLTON

Senior Judge

United States District Court

APPENDIX D

DECISION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

NINTH CIRCUIT

2 March 2000

- 19a-

[204 F.3d 984]

Steven PRESCOTT; Robert F. Berry; Cheryl L. Jones;

Karen Pierce; Christine

M. Turney, Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

COUNTY OF EL DORADO; Kathy Libicki; Local 1 El

Dorado County Employees

Association, Defendants-Appellees.

No. 98-15579.

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

March 2, 2000.

W. James Young, National Right to Work Legal Defense

Foundation, Inc., Springfield, Virginia, for the plaintiff-

-appellant.

Fred J. MHiestand, Sacramento, California, for the

defendant-appellee.

On Remand from the United States Supreme Court

Before: FERNANDEZ and McCKEOWN, Circuit Judges, and

WEINER,’ District Judge.

! Honorable Charles R. Weiner, Senior United States District

Judge for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, sitting by designation.

- 20a -

Steven Prescott,” an employee of the County of El Dorado,

California, appealed the determination of the district court that

granted him limited relief on his claim that the assessment of

fair-share agency shop fees against him was not fair. We

affirmed the district court in part, reversed in part, and

remanded. See Prescott v. County of El Dorado, 177 F.3d 1102

(9th Cir.1999) (Prescott I ).

Prescott sought certiorari relief from the United States

Supreme Court and it, without further specification, granted

certiorari and then vacated and remanded our decision for

further consideration’ in light of its recent holding in Friends of

the Earth, Inc. v. Laidlaw Envtl. Servs. (TOC), Inc., 528 U.S.

167, 120 S.Ct. 693, 145 L.Ed.2d 610 (2000). Friends of the

Earth is a standing case, and the only portion of our decision

that dealt with standing was part E, which discussed the issue of

indemnification. See Prescott I, 177 F.3d at 1111-12. In that

portion, we affirmed the district court’s determination that

Prescott lacked standing to object to a contract provision

between the El Dorado County Employees Association, Local

No. 1 and the County, pursuant to which the former agreed to

indemnify the latter “from any liability which arises out of

deductions of fees from employee wages, and to provide a

defense against any claims.” Jd. at 1111.

? Robert F. Barry, Cheryl L. Jones, Karen Pierce and Christine

M. Turney also appeal. What we hold regarding Prescott applies

equally to them.

3 See Prescott v. El Dorado, _U.S.__, 120 S. Ct. 929, 145 L.

Ed.2d 807 (2000).

-2la-

Because the district court should address the standing issue

in the first instance, we now return the issue to that court for

any necessary further development of the facts and for its

consideration of Friends of the Earth in that respect under the

facts of this case.

We reinstate our opinion in Prescott I, with the exception of

part E. That part shall remain vacated. We also reinstate the

concurring opinion. Moreover, we vacate the district court’s

standing determination, which was discussed in part E, and

remand that issue for further consideration.

[985]Therefore, in light of Prescott I, as modified, we

ORDER that the district court’s decision is AFFIRMED in

part, REVERSED in part, VACATED in part, and

REMANDED.

APPENDIX E

DECISION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

NINTH CIRCUIT

12 May 1999

[177 F.3d 1102]

Steven PRESCOTT; Robert F. Berry; Cheryl L. Jones;

Karen Pierce; Christine M. Turney, Plaintiffs-Appellants,

- 22a -

Vv.

COUNTY OF EL DORADO; Kathy Libicki; Local 1 El

Dorado County Employees Association, Defendants-

Appellees.

No. 98-15579.

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

Argued and Submitted March 9, 1999.

Decided May 12, 1999.

* eH

[1103]Before: FERNANDEZ and McKEOWN, Circuit

Judges, and WEINER,’ District Judge.

Opinion by Judge FERNANDEZ; Concurrence by Judge

McKEOWN.

[1104]FERNANDEZ, Circuit Judge:

1 Honorable Charles R. Weiner, Senior United States District

Judge for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, sitting by designation.

- 23a -

Steven Prescott, an employee of the County of El Dorado,

California, appeals from a determination of the district court

that granted him limited relief on his claim that the assessment

of fair-share agency shop fees against him was not fair.?_ The

fees were for the purpose of supporting the El Dorado County

Employees Association, Local # 1 (EDCEA), the union which

represents him and the other employees of the County who are

in his bargaining unit. Prescott is not a member of the EDCEA.

He objects to the district court’s approval of the escrow

provisions, its failure to order full restitution of fees, its

remanding him to using the union’s arbitration procedures, and

its failure to strike down an indemnification provision under

which the EDCEA protects the County against losses. We

affirm in part, reverse in part, and remand.

BACKGROUND

Prescott, an employee of the County, is covered by a

collective bargaining agreement (CBA) between the County and

the EDCEA. The CBA establishes an agency shop arrangement.

Employees in the bargaining unit must either be members of the

union or pay a tair-share agency fee. Those who are not

members, but who must pay the fair-share fee, are sometimes

referred to as nonmembers or fee payers. EDCEA is an affiliate

of the Public Employees Union, Local # 1 (PEU), and all dues

for the EDCEA are paid to PEU. Members dues amount to 1

percent of gross salary, up to a maximum of $34, plus $1 per

pay period. It appears that fee payers are not charged the $1,

? Robert E. Barry, Cheryl L. Jones, Karen Pierce and Christine

M. Turney also appeal. What we hold regarding Prescott applies

equally to them.

- 24a -

which EDCEA receives and controls. EDCEA has 570 members

and 114 fee payers; PEU has more than 9100 members and 482

fee payers.

In April 1995, EDCEA gave notice to nonmembers that

the County would begin to deduct a fair-share fee from their

paychecks, which amounted to 98 percent of the full union

dues. That reflected PEU’s determination that 98 percent of its

expenditures were for chargeable activities, that is, activities

which did benefit nonmembers. It explained that the union uses

the fair-share fee to defray the costs incurred for both individual

and group representation in employment relations with the

County, and that the actual costs for nonchargeable

expenditures were less than 2 percent. Nonmembers were also

subject to a deduction equivalent to the union initiation fee

(variously said to be $35 or $45). PEU’s procedure was to

collect the entire agency fee from all nonmember employees, but

to place 2 percent of that fee into an interest bearing escrow

account. The notice provided that if a nonmember did not

agree with the computation “the Union will set aside 4% of the

fair-share fee in an interest-bearing trust for each fee payer who

registers his dissent, to be held in an escrow account...” It

further explained that “[o]nce the fee payer has objected to the

amount of the fees paid into escrow, he/she may demand that

the fees [2%] paid to escrow be paid to them and their monthly

agency fee reduced by that amount there-after.”

The notice included a schedule of PEU’s projected

expenditures for the 1995 fiscal year, based upon expenditures

for the 1994 fiscal year. Those were, it was said, reported “on

a [PEU] wide basis...” The fund resulting from the $1 per

member fee retained by the EDCEA, which Prescott estimates

- 25a -

at nearly $15,000 annually, was not separately mentioned in

this, or other, financial schedules.* The projection identified the

major categories of expenses and an asterisk was placed next to

those categories which the union identified as

“nonrepresentational expenditures,” including (1) ideological

expenditures, (2) social events, gifts and donations, (3)

contributions to political education fund, and (4) [1105]blood

bank. The notice explained that “[f]air-share fees do not include

any expenses incurred for political action, social activities or

organizing expenses. Organizing expenses are those incurred to

bring new bargaining units into representation by [PEU].” The

notice also included a statement of PEU’s revenues and expenses

for the 1994 fiscal year, which listed the major categories of

expenses and indicated whether they were paid from the general

operating fund or the political education fund. According to

the 1994 statement, only contribution expenses and bank

charges were paid by the political education fund.

Contributions for political education and social events, gifts,

etc., came from the general fund. The notice also included a

letter from a certified public accountant, which reported that the

1994 statement was reviewed in accordance with standards

established by the American Institute of Certified Public

Accountants, and that it conformed with generally accepted

accounting principles.

The district court agreed with Prescott to the extent that he

objected to certain procedures that PEU had created for the

purpose of challenging the fees. It, therefore, entered a

> The letter did specify that the fees would be “98% of the 1%

of the fee payers gross salary,” while dues are “1% of gross salary, plus

$1 per pay period.”

- 26a -

preliminary injunction prohibiting the collection of fees until the

procedures were corrected. See, Prescott v. County of El Dorado,

915 F. Supp. 1080, 1092 (E.D. Cal. 1996) (Prescott I). They

have been corrected, but the court, upon cross motions for

summary judgment, made the injunction permanent. Neither

the County nor EDCEA has appealed from that judgment. The

district court did not otherwise agree with Prescott, and granted

summary judgment against him on the other issues. Thus, he

has appealed.

JURISDICTION AND STANDARDS OF REVIEW

The district court had jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§§ 1331 & 1343. We have jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1291.

We review the district court’s grant of summary judgment

de novo. See Bagdadi v. Nazar, 84 F.3d 1194, 1197 (9th

Cir.1996). That, of course, means that we must determine for

ourselves whether “genuine issues of material fact exist and

whether the district court correctly applied the relevant

substantive law.” Id. Insofar as Prescott attacks the

indemnification provision between EDCEA and the County,

Standing is in question. We review standing questions de novo.

See San Diego County Gun Rights Comm. v. Reno, 98 F.3d 1121,

1124 (9th Cir.1996).

* The parties indicated to the district court that the case could be

decided on summary judgment. Although it was somewhat dubious,

the court took them up on that.

- 27a -

DISCUSSION

While the district court did grant partial relief to Prescott,

it deflected his attacks on the adequacy of the financial

statements regarding PEU’s and EDCEA’s income and

expenses, about the size of the required escrow account, about

the need for full restitution to Prescott, about the proper forum

to decide whether the fair-share fee was fair, and about the

propriety of the indemnification clause in favor of the County.

In short, Prescott won a skirmish and continues to hold that

piece of ground, but he lost the rest of the engagement. He asks

us to come to his rescue. We shall, in part. In order to do so,

we must survey the contours of the field adumbrated by the

Supreme Court.

From the very beginning, the Court has expressed the view

that, while it is appropriate to impinge upon objecting

employees’ freedom of choice in order to require those who

share in the benefits of union representation to help “defray the

expenses ... of collective agreements, [and] the expenses entailed

in the adjustment of grievances and disputes,” it is not

appropriate to take their money “to support candidates for

public office, and advance political programs” of the union.

International Ass’n of Machinists v. Street, 367 U.S. 740, 768, 81

S.Ct. 1784, 1800, 6 L.Ed.2d 1141 (1961). And it is the union,

[1106]not the employee, that bears the burden of

demonstrating just what proportion of union expenditures is

devoted to functions other than those which can properly be

charged to dissenting employees. See Brotherhood of Ry. and S.S.

Clerks v. Allen, 373 U.S. 113, 122, 83 S.Ct. 1158, 1163-64, 10

L.Ed.2d 235 (1963).

- 28a -

Those earlier cases involved the unique area of railroading,

but when it was called upon to consider the area of public

employee unions, the Supreme Court reached the same

conclusions. Again, it recognized the fact that agency shop

provisions do impinge upon an employee’s freedom of choice,

but emphasized the more potent fact that they counteracted the

incentive to become a free rider, who refuses to contribute to

the union while happily obtaining the benefits of union

representation. See Abood v. Detroit Bd. of Educ., 431 U.S. 209,

221- 22, 97 S.Ct. 1782, 1792-93, 52 L.Ed.2d 261 ( 1977).

Again, it declared that an objecting employee could not be

forced to pay dues or assessments to support or advance the

union’s political or ideological causes, which were “not germane

to its duties as collective-bargaining representative.” Id. at 235,

97 S.Ct. at 1800. Then, in Ellis v. Brotherhood of Ry. Airline &

S.S. Clerks, 466 U.S. 435, 448, 104 S.Ct. 1883, 1892, 80

L.Ed.2d 428 (1984). The court summed up as follows:

Hence, when employees such as petitioners object to being

burdened with particular union expenditures, the test must

be whether the challenged expenditures are necessarily or

reasonably incurred for the purpose of performing the

duties of an exclusive representative of the employees in

dealing with the employer on labor-management issues.

Under this standard, objecting employees may be

compelled to pay their fair share of not only the direct costs

of negotiating and administering a collective-bargaining

contract and of settling grievances and disputes, but also

the expenses of activities or undertakings normally or

reasonably employed to implement or effectuate the duties

of the union as exclusive representative of the employees in

the bargaining unit.

- 29a -

Id. at 448, 104 S.Ct. at 1892.

So much for the substance, but what about the procedure?

The Court addressed that question in Chicago Teachers Union,

Local No. 1 v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292, 106 S.Ct. 1066, 89

L.Ed.2d 232 (1986), where it concluded that “the

constitutional requirements for the Union’s collection of agency

fees include an adequate explanation of the basis for the fee, a

reasonably prompt opportunity to challenge the amount of the

fee before an impartial decisionmaker, and an escrow for the

amounts reasonably in dispute while such challenges are

pending.” Id. at 310, 106 S.Ct. at 1078.

It is with these general principles in mind that we turn to

the principal disputes in the agon between Prescott and the

EDCEA.

A. Explanation of the Basis of the Fee

There can be little doubt that PEU did give a rather

detailed notice and a goodly amount of explanation of the fee to

the nonmember fee payers. But quantity is not necessarily

quality, and Prescott claims that the notice fell short because the

financial schedules were not properly verified. That the

schedules were not audited can hardly be doubted, but EDCEA

asserts that they need not be. The district court agreed. See

Prescott I, 915 F.Supp. at 1089-90. We do not.

An accountant or auditor can provide three levels of

service: a compilation, a review, or an audit. A compilation

involves the preparation of a financial statement regarding

which the accountant expresses no assurance of accuracy,

eT ae

- 30a -

completeness, or conformity with generally accepted accounting

principles. Larry P. Bailey, Miller GAAS Guide 14.19-14.20

(1999). A review constitutes a higher level of service, resulting

in an expression of limited assurance. In a review, an

accountant relies on the representations of [1107]management

to issue a report “stating that he or she is not aware of any

material modifications that should be made to the financial

statement in order for it to be in conformity with” generally

accepted accounting principles. Id. at 14.25; see generally, id. at

14.25-14.28. In contrast, an audit consists of sufficient

independent examination to express an opinion on the fairness,

in all material respects, of the financial statement. Id. at 1.03,

11.05-11.06. An audit, unlike a review, generally requires the

accountant to assess the organization’s internal control

procedures, examine evidence supporting the amounts in the

financial statement using an appropriate sampling frequency,

observe inventories, and confirm accounts receivable. id. at

14.25-14.26, 11.05-11.06; see id. at 9.03-9.31 (sampling

techniques). Although audits may vary in procedures and

sampling rates, and therefore in level of audit risk, see id. at 9.05-

9.07, an audit, as opposed to a review, offers at least some

verification of the amounts disclosed in the financial statement.

The Supreme Court has emphasized that, “[ljeaving the

nonunion employees in the dark about the source of the figure

for the agency fee—and requiring them to object in order to

receive information—does not adequately protect” them.

Hudson, 475 U.S. at 306, 106 S.Ct. at 1076. In elaborating

what sufficient information might be, the court said that, “(t]he

Union need not provide nonmembers with an exhaustive and

detailed list of all its expenditures, but adequate disclosure surely

would include the major categories of expenses, as well as

-3la-

verification by an independent auditor.” Id. at 307 n. 18, 106

S.Ct. at 1076 n. 18. Later on, the Court returned to that theme

when it spoke of the weight of “a certified public accouniant’s

verified breakdown of expenditures....” Id. at 310, 106 S.Ct. at

1077. And yet again the Court spoke of a determination made

“on the basis of the independent audit,” and stated that an

escrow figure “must itself be independently verified.” Id. at 310

n. 23, 106 S.Ct. at 1078 n. 23.

Those statements would seem to make it clear enough that

what is required is a real independent verification of the

financial data in question to make sure that expenditures are

being made the way that the union says they are. For example,

was an amount supposedly directed to “x” for negotiation

expenses really dispersed to him, or did it go to “y”, who is a

union lobbyist? The district court did not believe that the

Supreme Court really meant what it seemed to have said, but we

have no doubt that the Court did understand its own use of

language. This is not the first time that a court has said that.

Indeed, we said as much in Knight v. Kenai Peninsula

Borough School Dist., 131 F.3d 807 (9th Cir.1997), cert. denied,

__US.__, 118 S.Ct. 2060, 141 L.Ed.2d138 (1998). There

we explained that “[t]he purpose of an audit is to have an

independent accountant determine whether the union has

actually spent the amounts of money it claimed to have spent on

the chargeable activities.” Jd. at 813. We went on to reject an

attempt by the union to rely on figures when “no independent

accountant has determined whether [the union] actually spent

the amounts it claimed to have spent on chargeable expenses in

the unaudited report.” Id. We held, therefore, that the union’s

notice did not satisfy Hudson. The holdings of other courts are

- 32a-

to the same effect. See Gwirtz v. Ohio Educ. Ass’n., 887 F.2d 678,

682 n. 3 (6th Cir.1989) (“[A]n auditor’s role is to verify the

expenditures made by the union so as to ensure that the

expenditures that the union claims it made for particular

expenses were actually made for those expenses.”); Andrews p.

Education Ass'n, 829 F.2d 335, 340 (2nd Cir.1987) (same). We

do not see how a mere review of the union’s records can offer

the “verification” that the Supreme Court and we have spoken

of. Audits are often required in the business and public arenas,

where others seek assurance that the reviewed books of an

organization really do reflect the concrete world transactions to

which they refer. It is just that kind of assurance that

[1108]nonmembers are entitled to, even though it may prove

somewhat costly to obtain it. As the Second Circuit has pointed

out, it is not a question of balancing the cost to the union

against the First Amendment rights of the fee payers.

“Excessive cost cannot form the basis for allowing the union or

the government to avoid Hudson’s requirement that the

procedures used by the union to allocate bargaining and

administrative costs be carefully tailored to minimize the

intrusion on the nonmembers’ rights.” Andrews, 829 F.2d at

339. In short, a true audit was required.5

A somewhat smaller, yet important, piece of the puzzle is

the district court’s reliance on what has been called the local

union presumption. See Prescott I, 915 F.Supp. at 1088-89.

That is based on the assumption that local union units have

spent their budgets in at least as favorable a way from a

a)

° We express no opinion on the exact type of audit required

under Hudson.

- 33a -

nonmember’s standpoint as the overall larger union unit with

which they are affiliated. That scheme gives no real information

about just how the more local units really did spend their funds,

but it does avoid the need of detailed information at least at the

notice level. See Price v. International Union, United Auto.,

Aerospace @ Agric. Implement Workers, 927 F.2d 88, 93-94 (2d

Cir.1991); see also Finerty v. NLRB, 113 F.3d 1288, 1289,

1291-92, (D.C. Cir.1997), cert. denied, .U.S.__, 118 S.Ct.

558, 139 L. Ed.2d 400 (1997). Besides the cost savings, it has

been said that there is some justification for the presumption

because an objector can challenge it, whereupon the burden of

persuasion on the question of the local unit’s expenditures will

fall upon the union. See Price, 927 F.2d at 94. With all due

respect, that seems to put the cart before the horse because the

notice is supposed to allow the nonmember to decide if there is

a problem in the first place.

The reason for the presumption seems to be that the larger

unit (here PEU) will certainly spend more on nonchargeable

expenses than the local union (here EDCEA). But we see no

reason to assume that is true. Rather, we agree with the Sixth

Circuit “that such a local union presumption is

unconstitutional” because “ ‘the use of the local union

presumption increases the risk that the reduced fee collection

from the objector would be in excess of what is appropriate.’ ”

Lowary v. Lexington Local Bd. of Educ., 903 F.2d 422, 431 (6th

Cir.1990) (citation omitted). As the Third Circuit has said, the

point of the notice is not simply to tell nonmembers how the

union went about its business. It is to provide “nonmembers

with information sufficient to gauge the propriety of the fee.”

Hohe v. Casey, 956 F.2d 399, 410 (3d Cir.1992). Without

conveying to nonmembers the information on EDCEA’s major

PE

- 34a -

categories of expenses but, rather, assuming that they were the

same as those of PEU, nonmembers were left “in the dark about

the portion of the fee attributable to chargeable expenses and

[were] placed ... in the position of having to object to obtain the

information needed to gauge the propriety of the fee.” Id. at

411.

Nor can it be said that the amounts will always be so

insignificant that Hudson’s demand for something less than —

absolute precision will always be satisfied. After all, in this case

the total set aside for dissenters’ challenges did not exceed 4

percent, and the amount involved in subventions to the local

units was over 2 percent. Moreover, we see little reason to

assume that the local units will use the same degree of care as

the larger unit when it comes to handling their finances.

We do not decide that each little unit in the PEU

firmament must necessarily be subjected to a separate verified

audit of its expenditures, but we do decide that some auditor

verifiable methodology which is more than a presumption is

required if PEU and EDCEA are to fulfill their notice

obligations. That methodology must be utilized with an eye on

the purpose of the notice in the first place, that is to allow

Prescott and others a reasonable opportu-[1109]nity to gauge

whether the money taken from them is being spent on

chargeable expenses.

Because the unaudited schedules attached to the notice

were insufficient, we must turn to consider what steps were then

required to protect Prescott.

- 35a-

B. Restitution

Prescott asserts that he must simply be given full restitution

of all amounts collected from him, even though it must of

necessity be true that some substantial portion of the fee was

used for properly chargeable purposes. With that extreme

position we do not agree.

As we see it, the court in Hudson did not insist on anything

quite so radical; it did not see complete restitution as apodictic.

Rather, it reflected on the fact that an escrow account would

help alleviate the danger of even temporary use of nonmember

fees for improper purposes. See Hudson, 475 U.S. at 309, 106

S.Ct. at 1077. It pointed out that the escrow solution alone

would not solve the whole problem, if the notice was

insufficient or if the challenge procedure fell short. But, even

then, it did not say that a 100 percent escrow was required, and

it did not hold that the proper remedy was full restitution of all

collected fees. Id. at 310, 106 S.Ct. at 1077-78. Prescott

suggests that we have already decided that the remedy #s

restitution. We have done no such thing.

Prescott seeks to support his position by pointing to our

decision in Dean v. Trans World Atrlines, Inc., 924 F.2d 805

(9th Cir.1991). There, an airline pilot was not satisfied with the

notice he was given, so he unilaterally reduced the fee demanded

by the union from $36 per month to $10 per month. Id. at

807. We agreed with him that the union had failed to institute

the proper procedures. Thus, we said, “the union has no right

to enforce an agency shop agreement to collect fees for use in

any union activity beyond collective bargaining” and its failure

to comply with Hudson “can serve as a justification for Dean’s

Hee A aE Ayer At em hates yan RAR AN RE EY Ys

- 36a -

unilateral reduction of fees.” Id. at 809. Nothing-in that |

determination suggests that a nonmember employee is entitled

to full restitution whenever the union stumbles in its efforts to

comply with Hudson.

Similarly, in Knight, upon which Prescott also relies, we

merely said that the union’s failure to comply with Hudson

meant that it “was not entitled to the fees that it collected.” 131

F.3d at 815. We did not say that meant that the union could

not receive any fees whatsoever, and we went on to say that the

employee was entitled to relief, but that we would “leave the

measure of damages and the suitability of other relief for the

district court to determine in the first instance.” Id. Had we

believed that the measure was simply complete restitution, we

could easily have said so, but we did not and we see no reason

for laying down so draconian a rule.

In our opinion, the Seventh Circuit got it just right when

i said that a demand for full restitution was punitive insofar as

it sought to deprive the union of fees to which it was,

doubtlessly, entitled. See Gilpin v. American Fed. of State,

County, and Mun. Employees, 875 F.2d 1310, 1315 (7th

Cir.1989). It continued:

[T]he union negotiated on behalf of these employees as it

was required by law to do, adjusted grievances for them as

it was required by law to do, and incurred expenses in

doing these things.... The plaintiffs do not propose to give

back the venefits that the union’s efforts bestowed on them.

These benefits were rendered with a reasonable expectation

of compensation founded on the collective bargaining

agreement and federal labor law....

- 37a-

Id. at 1316.

In fine, we agree with the district court that full restitution

would be inappropriate, even though PEU did fail to meet all

of its Hudson obligations. Any other rule would tend to suggest

that the full constitutionality of the procedures and results must

be established before fees are deducted. That would, as the

Third Circuit [1110]has suggested, “render the escrow

requirement,” contemplated by Hudson, “completely

unnecessary.” Hohe, 956 F.2d at 406. That, of course,

underscores an alternate source of protection for nonmember

employees—the interest bearing escrow account itself. r

C. The Escrow

The district court determined that the escrow cushion

created by PEU’s procedures was sufficient because it appeared

that nonchargeable expenses were only 2 percent and, upon

objection, the union would set aside 4 percent of which half

went directly back to the dissenting fee payer while the other 2

percent remained in escrow pending adjudication. See Prescott

I, 915 F.Supp. at 1091. Prescott asserts that the size of the

escrow is plainly insufficient, and we are inclined to agree with

him. We will explain, although we will not undertake to

determine the proper amount in the first instance.

As we have already held, the difficulty here is that the

procedure was flawed at its inception because of the failure to

use audited financial statements. That means that the union’s

sanguine assumption that nonchargeable expenses amount to a

mere 2 percent is unverified and provides insufficient notice to

those who wish to gauge the accuracy of the union’s

qos:

- 38a -

representations. Because the district court was satisfied with the

notice, its satisfaction with the size of the escrow account

followed.

Prescott was not able to point to much in the way of

specific errors in PEU’s calculations, but, then, if he was not left

entirely “in the dark,” see Hohe, 956 F.2d at 411, he was at least

presented with a fuliginous vista. EDCEA was required to give

him more illumination than it did. In many ways, “[i]t is

certainly in the union’s interest to disclose sufficient financial

data and other information about the agency fee prior to

objections by non-members. Specific substantiation of the

agency fee should reduce objections by non-members.

Ambiguity rarely will have this effect, however....” Tierney v.

City of Toledo (Tierney III), 917 F.2d 927, 938 n. 9 (6th

Cir.1990).

Due to its lack of proper verification, PEU’s schedules

failed in that respect. But that very failure meant, of necessity,

that Prescott was unable to fully carry his burden of going

forward with evidence of improper allocations. See Air Line

Pilots Ass’n. v. Miller, 523 U.S. 866, __, 118 S.Ct. 1761, 1768,

140 L.Ed.2d 1070 (1998). He did point to some anomalies,

for example, newsletter expenses and subventions to local units

like EDCEA. But who is to say what else lies buried beneath

the surface of the merely reviewed books?

If a nonmember fee payer has carried the burden of

pointing to questionable allocations, the burden of persuading

the court that an expenditure was on the correct side of the line

is with the union. It has the burden of persuasion because it is

seeking to mulct an unwilling person for fees and must show its

- 39a -

entitlement to them. See Lehnert v. Ferris Faculty Ass’n., 500

U.S. 507, 524, 111 S.Ct. 1950, 1962, 114 L. Ed.2d 572

(1991); Hudson, 475 U.S. at 306, 106 S.Ct. at 1075-76;

Lowary, 903 F.2d at 431; Price, 927 F.2d at 94.°

Because of the nature of the defect here, the amount in

dispute for the purpose of setting up an escrow account is rather

problematic. Of course, it is not satisfactory for a union to fail

to make disclosures, and then comfortably sit back while the

entire fee is escrowed and the nonmember employees are left to

strike out at their antagonist like andabatae. See Grunwald v.

San Bernardino City Unified Sch. Dist., 994 F.2d 1370, 1375

(9th Cir.1993). That, however, does not mean that an interest

bearing escrow procedure is [1111]improper, for there will be

times when it is needed (even up to 100 percent) while the

parties work out their differences. See id. at 1374; Crawford v.

Air Line Pilots Ass’n Int'l, 870 F.2d 155, 161 (4th Cir.1989),

adopted en banc, 992 F.2d 1295, 1302 (4" Cir.1993); Hohe v.

Casey, 868 F.2d 69, 72 (3d Cir.1989); Andrews, 829 F.2d at

338; see also Gibson v. Florida Bar, 906 F.2d 624, 631 (11th

Cir.1990).

In this case, the union has not acted with abandon or

insouciance; it has, instead, misunderstood the financial

statement requirements which we now make plain.

° No doubt the protesting employee may ultimately have a

separate burden of persuasion on the issue of whether he, himself,

actually overpaid. See Harmsen v. Smith, 693 F.2d 932, 945 (9% Cir.

1982). We suppose that in most instances resolution of that issue will

be parasitic on the determination regarding the union’s allocation, but

do not hold that is necessarily so.

sites cst, SENG HE 8 At ty ayn A ” .

pita

BB OA SATB Se fos,

Tah NG ROADS LOE BR GENEL R EIT SHOES EN LIE EDS ILD OCI RT PSEA aS one ne

: - 40a -

Nevertheless, it cannot be said that a mere 4 percent of the

union’s charges remains in reasonable dispute. We are dubious

about the suggestion that the amount in dispute should be

considered to be as high as 100 percent; surely PEU is using

some substantial amount of the fees charged for plainly proper

purposes. We say this with some trepidation, because it can

‘easily be argued that unverified financial statements are like no

information at all. Again, that does appear to overstate matters,

and we do not think it our place to attempt to determine

precisely how much should be set aside under the circumstances

of this case. That, like other determinations in this area, is more

properly for the district court in the first instance. See Hudson,

475 U.S. at 310, 106 S.Ct. at 1078.

Once it is recognized that further proceedings are necessary,

the next question is: in what forum should those proceedings

take place?

D. The Forum

The district court determined that the disputes between

EDCEA and Prescott over the allocation of expenses between

those which were chargeable and those which are not must be

handled through the arbitration procedure created by PEU

pursuant to Hudson. In that it erred.

As we have said previously, “nonmembers are not required

to exhaust union remedies to which they did not agree before

challenging the chargeability determinations in federal court.”

Knight, 131 F.3d at 816. Since then, the Supreme Court has

also so decreed. There is “no warrant for blocking dissenting

employees from bringing their claims in federal court in the first

-4la-

instance, if that is their preference.” Miller, 523 U.S. at___,

118 S.Ct. at 1768. Therefore, “unless they agree to the

procedure, agency-fee objectors may not be required to exhaust

an arbitration remedy before bringing their claims in federal

court.” Id.at__, 118 S.Ct. at 1769.

E. Indemnification

Prescott finally complains about the district court’s failure

to accord him standing to object to the provision which

required EDCEA to indemnify the County from any liability

which arises out of deductions of fees from employee wages,

and to provide a defense against any claims. We agree with the

district court.

We have alluded to this issue before. In Knight, 131 F.3d

at 817, we determined that a public entity did not even have a

duty to fee payers until the union sought to take some action

against them for failure to pay the fees. However, we declined

to entertain an attack upon an indemnification provision

because the issue had been waived by the failure to raise it in the

opening brief. Id.

Here, the issue has not been waived, but Prescott hurdled

that trench only to run into a standing revetment. In order to

meet constitutional standing requirements, a plaintiff must

establish three elements.

First, the plaintiff must have suffered an “injury in fact”—

an invasion of a legally protected interest which is (a)

concrete and particularized ... and (b) “actual or imminent,

not ‘conjectural’ or ‘hypothetical’....” Second, there must

BAe wei ta BOER

PE SRNR ey a3

3

*

&

DAIS UR 9 nF SONA Ae Cen

dor) A ee

- 42a -

be a causal connection between the injury and the conduct

complained of—the injury has to be “fairly ... trace[able] to

the challenged action of the defendant, and not ... th[e]

result [of] the independent ac-[1112]tion of some third

party not before the court.” ... Third, it must be “likely,”

as opposed to merely “speculative,” that the injury will be

“redressed by a favorable decision.”

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 560-561, 112 S.Ct.

2130, 2136, 119 L.Ed.2d 351 (1992) (citations omitted); see

also, Bennett v. Spear, 520 U.S. 154, 167-71, 117 S.Ct. 1154,

1163-65, 137 L.Ed.2d 281 (1997); Maricopa-Stanfield

Irrigation & Drainage Dist. v. United States, 158 F.3d 428, 433-

35 (9th Cir.1998), cert. denied, US. _,119S.Ct. 1802,

143. L.Ed.2d 1007 (1999) - lo. 98- -1115). Prescott cannot

meet these strictures.

While it can be assumed that Prescott suffered some injury

when the fees were deducted from his paycheck, that is all he

has shown. He certainly cannot show any connection between

the indemnification agreement and that injury. The agreement —

does no more than place the ultimate-cost of any impropriety in

the notice and the procedures where it belongs—on the union,

which seeks the fees. Just how any injury can be traced to the

indemnification provision itself is entirely unclear, but for

Prescott’s claim that the provision will somehow cause the

County to ignore its own duties. But that argument is no more

than rank speculation, and any breach of the County’s duty can

hardly be said to be traceable to the indemnification provision

itself.

- 43a -

Speaking of speculation, it can hardly be said that our

striking down of the provision would lead to some irenic world

wherein all fee deduction procedures were properly followed

because someone would finally have an incentive to assure that

they were. As EDCEA points out, someone—the union—

already has that incentive in a powerful form. A failure to

perform its duties properly “may result in its being unable to

retain a portion of the fair share fee.” Hohe, 956 F.2d at 412.’

A failure to comply may also involve the union in substantial

and expensive litigation, witness this case which has been in

progress for over three years and will not be over for some time

yet. Moreover, Prescott can suffer no ultimate damage to his

interests because nothing in the indemnification agreement will

prevent him from collecting any costs, expenses or losses

imposed upon him by reason of the defective procedure.

In short, it simply cannot be said that any injury suffered by

Prescott is fairly traceable to the agreement, nor is the claim that

our striking of the agreement would redress or prevent the

injuries that he has suffered anything but speculative.

CONCLUSION .

In cases like this, the desire of unions to assure that

everyone in the bargaining unit pays for the costs of the benefits

conferred upon him runs up against the desire of employees to

join and support what they like when they like. Thus, cases of

this type can generate high emotions and lend themselves to

a —

” It should be noted that in Hobe the court suggested that there

was standing, but did not decide the issue. Jd. at 411.

- 44a -

philippics—the nonmember employees are sometimes called

radicals or free riders and the unions are sometimes said to be

insincere hypocrites who simply seek more money to

manipulate. Here, however, no one claims that we face either

sansculottes on the one hand or pecksniffians on the other.

Rather, it is clear that we are dealing with individuals who have

an honest dispute over what the Constitution requires.

There is nothing new about the requirement that PEU and

EDCEA must send out a proper notice to all nonmember

employees, but we now make it clear that the financial

statements accompanying the notice must be audited (not

merely reviewed) in order to assure that “the union has actually

spent the amounts of money it claimed to have spent on the

chargeable activities.” Knight, 131 F.3d at 813.

In the meantime, all disputed fees, and absent an audited

statement that could be a very substantial portion of what the

union has charged, must be deposited into an interest bearing

escrow account. The district court must then determine just

what is chargeable and what is not. However, full restitution of

the fees is not required if, as we think will surely be the case, at

least some portion will be allocated to properly chargeable

expenses.

AFFIRMED in part, REVERSED in part, and

REMANDED. The parties shall bear their own costs on appeal.

McKEOWN, Circuit Judge, concurring:

Although I agree that the PEU’s notice does not satisfy the

requirements of Chicago Teachers Union, Local No. 1. v. Hudson,

- 45a -

475 U.S. 292, 306, 106 S.Ct. 1066, 89 L.Ed.2d 232 (1986),

and that remand is therefore necessary, I write separately

because I believe that the majority unnecessarily reaches the

issue of the constitutionality of the local union presumption.

We all agree that the PEU’s failure to provide audited

verification of its expenses violates Hudson. Because it is clear

that the local affiliate, EDCEA, cannot rely on the parent

union’s (PEU’s) constitutionally insufficient data, we need not

decide the issue of the constitutionality of the local union

presumption. While the majority properly interprets the.

Supreme Court’s decision in Hudson, it ignores the Supreme

Court’s strong warning against premature adjudication of

constitutional questions:

As we have explained: If there is one doctrine more deeply

rooted than any other in the process of constitutional

adjudication, it is that we ought not to pass on questions of

constitutionality ... unless such adjudication is

unavoidable.... It has long been the Court’s considered

practice not ... to decide any constitutional question in

advance of the necessity of its decision ... or to formulate a

rule of constitutional law broader than is required by the

precise facts to which it is to be applied.

Clinton v. Jones, 520 U.S. 681, 690 n. 12, 117 S.Ct. 1636, 137

L.Ed.2d 945 (internal quotation marks and citations omitted).

If the notice based on the parent union’s data is legally

deficient, then the derivative data is similarly tainted for notice

purposes. The “doctrine of avoidance,” id. at 690, requires that

we not reach out to decide whether the local union presumption

- 46a -

passes constitutional muster as a general matter when, on the

facts presented here, the EDCEA’s reliance on the PEU’s data

is itself constitutionally deficient. In light of our reversal, at this

point, the majority is only speculating as to what local union

data the EDCEA and the PEU might bring before the district

court on remand.

In addition, I have no doubt about the good faith of the

parties in presenting this case, and do not join in the majority's

gratuitous (and, by its own recognition, inapt) commentary

regarding the conduct of other litigants in “cases of this type.”

APPENDIX F

FINAL JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL

CASE ENTERED BY THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

1 April 1998

- 47a -

[Clerk’s stamp omitted in printing]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

STEVEN H PRESCOTT

v. CASE NUMBER: CIV S-95-1859 LKK JFM

COUNTY OF EL DORADO, et al

XX - - Decision by the Court. This action came to trial or

hearing before the Court. The issues have been tried or heard

and a decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

THAT JUDGMENT IS HEREBY ENTERED IN

ACCORDANCE WITH THE COURT’S

ORDER OF 1/26/98.

Jack L. Wagner,

Clerk of the Court

ENTERED: April 1, 1998 by: /s/

K Carlos, Deputy Clerk

APPENDIX G

OPINION AND ORDER OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

26 January 1998

- 48a -

[Clerk’s stamp omitted in printing]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

STEVEN H. PRESCOTT, et al.,

NO. CIV. S-95-1859 LKK/JFM

Plaintiffs,

v. ORDER

COUNTY OF EL DORADO, et al.,

Defendants.

/

The Plaintiffs, non-union employees of E] Dorado County

(the “County”), challenge the right of the El Dorado County

Employees Assoctation (“EDCEA” or the “Union”), as a local

affiliate of the Professional Employees Union, Local #1

(“PEU”), to collect fees pursuant to the agency shop provisions

of the collective bargaining agreement entered into betwecn the

Union and plaintiffs’ employer.

In its previous order the court preliminarily enjoined the

Union from collecting a fair share agency fee until it provided

a challenge procedure which allowed for the dispute to be

resolved within 120 days from the date on which the fee was

seized from the nonmembers’ paychecks. See Prescott v. County

of El Dorado, 915 F. Supp. 1080 (E.D. Cal. 1996). The court

also ordered the Union not to impose upon nonmembers the

“under penalty of perjury” and specificity requirements for

challenging the fee. Id. The court, however, denied the balance

of plaintiffs’ motion. First, the court found that the notice

provided an adequate basis for the fee because it identified

- 49a -

PEU’s major expense categories and provided nonmembers with

sufficient information to ascertain which of those categories the

Union deemed chargeable to nonmembers. The court reasoned

that under Chicago Teachers Union, Local No. 1, AFL-CIO v.

Hudson (“Hudson”), 475 U.S. 292, 306, n.18 (1986), the

Union is only required to provide the nonmember with

sufficient information to decide whether to challenge the

legitimacy of the Union’s fee, and did not require that the

Union justify its expense in detail prior to the challenge.

Employing the “local union presumption,” the court also held

that PEU need not provide a breakdown of the expenditures for

each local affiliate, since local affiliates generally spend less

money on political activity than state or national unions.

Recognizing the very limited record describing the

difference between various types of financial reviews, the court

also determined that, while adequate notice under Hudson must

include “verification by an independent auditor,” an

accountants “review” appeared to provide the verification

required by the Supreme Court. The court noted, however, that

the lack of a full record deprived it of an opportunity to

definitively resolve the issue. See Prescott, 915 F. Supp at 1089,

n. 13. Finally, the court held that plaintiffs did not demonstrate

a likelihood for success on their challenge to the 4% escrow

figure because plaintiffs did not show that more than 4% was

reasonably in dispute.

‘The parties now cross move for summary judgment.

Plaintiffs continue to maintain that the notice and procedures

violate the First, Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments because

they (1) do not contain audited financial disclosures of the

expenditures of EDCEA and affiliated labor organizations

- 50a -

receiving money from EDCEA, (2) utilize an unconstitutional

standard of chargeability, and (3) contain unduly burdensome

procedures for challenging the fee. Plaintiffs seek a declaratory

judgment stating that the defendants have violated the

constitutional requirements for collecting an agency fee, a

permanent injunction against all fee “seizures” from the

nonmembers, and restitution of all fees already “seized” from

nonmembers. Finally, plaintiffs request a declaratory judgment

that the indemnification agreement between the County and

EDCEA is void as against public policy.

Defendants argue that the court should grant them

summary judgment primarily for the reasons discussed in the

court’s preliminary injunction order. With regard to the

“verification by an independent auditor” required by Hudson,

defendants argue that an accountant’s review suffices because it

provides nonmembers with the information pertinent in

assessing the validity of the fee, and that an audit would burden

the Union with an unnecessary cost. Defendants also move to

dissolve the preliminary injunction on the basis that the Union

has instituted a procedure which permits a nonmember to have

a hearing within sixty days from making a challenge to the fee,

and to obtain a final decision within thirty days from the

hearing. I turn first to a brief description of the overall

problem, and then address the particular claimed deficiencies.’

The standards for resolution of a matter on summary

judgment are well-known and need not be repeated here. See, ¢.g.,

Clark v. County of Placer, 923 F. Supp. 1278, 1281-82, (E.D. Cal.

1996).

-5la-

The High court has held that there are “constitutional

requirements for the Union’s collection of agency fees [which]

include an adequate explanation of the basis for the fee, a

reasonably prompt opportunity to challenge the amount of the

fee before an impartial decisionmaker, and an escrow for the

amounts reasonably in dispute while such challenges are

pending.” Hudson, 475 U.S. at 310. The purpose of the

prerequisites is to insure that nonunion employees have “a fair

opportunity to identify the impact of the governmental action

on his interests and to assert a meritorious First Amendment

claim.” Hudson, 475 U.S. at 303. In sum, the procedures seek

to insure that the nonmember has sufficient information to

make an intelligent choice to either accept or challenge the fee.

Id; see also, ¢.g., Damiano v. Matish, 830 F.2d 1363, 1370 (6

Cir. 1987) (disclosure must provide nonunion employees with

sufficient information so as to enable them to make an

intelligent choice), and Laramie v. County of Santa Clara, 784 F.

Supp. 1492, 1497 (N.D. Cal. 1992) (union must “provide

enough information to nonmembers so that they may

understand the charges and then reasonably challenge the basis

of the fair share”).

I.

THE ROLE OF THE INDEPENDENT AUDITOR

The Court explained in Hudson that “practical reasons”

preclude “[a]bsolute precision’ in the calculation of the charge

to nonmembers” and thus “cannot be ‘expected or required.”

Hudson 475 U.S. at 307, n.18. Moreover, the Court held that

“[t]he Union need not provide nonmembers with an exhaustive

and detailed list of all its expenditures.” Id. Nonetheless, the

Court decreed that “adequate disclosure surely would include

- 52a -

the major categories of expenses, as well as verification by an

independent auditor.” Id.

Clearly the Courts footnote recognizing “practical

considerations,” abjuring “absolute precision,” but requiring the

“verification by an independent auditor” raises more questions

than it answers. Thus, unanswered are the level of verification

short of absolute precision required, whether the verification,

although it must be performed by an independent auditor, must

be in the form of an audit, and whether what must be verified

is the breakdown between chargeable versus nonchargeable

expenses.

A. VERIFICATION OF ALLOCATIONS

In its prior order this court rejected plaintiffs’ contention

that the independent auditor must verify the allocation between

chargeable and nonchargeable expenditures within each major

expense category. See Prescott, 915 F. Supp. at 1087. At oral

argument on this motion, counsel for plaintiffs’ counsel asserted

that the auditor’s function is to provide a verification of the

expenditures such that the Union, and the nonmembers, can

confirm that those expenditures which the Union claims are

nonchargeable are actually spent on those matters which the

Union characterizes as nonchargeable. Accordingly, the court

affirms its prior order that the auditor need not verify the

allocation between the chargeable and nonchargeable

expenditures within each major expense category. Below in

addressing the question of what level of “verification” is

required under Hudson the court will further consider the

auditor’s role in the process.

- 53a-

B. THE MEANING OF “VERIFICATION”

The parties agree that the Union’s accountant performed a

“review” of PEU’s books rather than an “audit.” The dispute

is whether such a review satisfies the requirement for

“verification by an independent auditor.” To resolve the

dispute, the court applies its understanding of Hudson to the

evidence adduced by the parties in connection with this

motion.’

Defendants acknowledge that their accountant’s review of

PEU’s financial statements did not constitute a “verification by

an independent auditor. . . [w]Jithin the meaning of the

accounting profession. . . .” Charles A. Luther Depo. At 81.°

Plaintiffs argue that by using the term “auditor” the Supreme

Court mandated that the person performing the “verification”

must perform an audit as that term is defined by the accounting

profession.

? At oral argument, both counsel assured the court that the case

could be resolved on summary judgment based upon the record now

before me. While the court believes that a full trial would be helpful,

particularly in relation to the duties of accountants, the parties’

position weighs heavily against the court’s insisting on trial.

* Luther, the Union’s accountant testified that the phrase

“verification by an independent auditor” within the accounting

profession “deals with the preperation of some form of sudised

statement.” Luther Depo. at 81. Plaintiffs’ expert puts it that “[o]ne

such level of service [provided by an accountant] includes functioning

as an ‘independent auditor.” See Decl. of Irving B. Ross at # 12.

- 54a -

Plaintiffs’ argument confuses the question of who must

perform, “an independent auditor,” with what must be

performed, disclosure and verification of “the major categories

of expenses.” Both parties agree that an “auditor can be an

accountant,” and that an accountant can perform both reviews

and audits. Put simply then, an independent auditor could be

either an accountant performing a review, or an accountant

performing an audit. Thus, the High Court’s use of the term

“independent auditor” does not command an audit.

Yet a second reason suggests that the professions’

understanding of the phrase is not dispositive. Nothing in

Hudson suggests either that the Supreme Court was aware of the

meaning attributed to the phrase by the accounting profession,

or that it intended to apply that meaning.* Rather, reading the

phrase in the context employed by the High Court suggests

something quite different than the elaborate procedures

contemplated by the profession.* Concluding that the phrase

* Indeed, the language employed by the Court suggests that it

was not speaking in the language of accountants. As one declaration

puts it, “[p]rofessional reporting standards utilized by accountants do

not use the term ‘verification.’ CPAs provide compilation, review,

audit, or attestation services and, as a result of the services, provide

reports or opinions.” Decl. of John D. Moyle, at # 8.

* Plaintiffs’ leap from who to what is shared by most reported

cases. Nonetheless, even requiring an audit does not resolve the

question of the scope of the task, given the variety of audit types

existing within the accounting profession. See Gwirtz v. Ohio Educ.

As-'n., 887 F.2d 678, 681 (6" Cir. 1989) (Auditing Standard No. 29

proper reporting mechanism and constitutes independent audit

(continued...)

Cait

- 55a -

employed by the court is not self-defining, I turn to the Court’s

explanation the purpose of verification.

The Supreme Court explained that the purpose of

verification is to permit the nonmember an opportunity to make

an informed choice of whether to challenge the basis for the fee.

Accordingly, the Court merely required that unions provide an

explanation of the major categories and that those categories be

verified.° As this court understands the evidence before it, a

> (...continued)

because it subjects financial statements to detailed testing); Hohe v.

Casey, 727 F. Supp. 163, 167 (M.D. Pa. 1989) (auditor must perform

evaluation of client’s internal controls sufficient to form an opinion);

Mitchell v. Los Angeles Unified School Dist., 744 F. Supp. 938, 941, n.4

(C.D. Cal.) (modified SAS 29 audit verifying expenditures claimed

actually made suffices if performed in accordance with generally

accepted accounting principles) rev’d on other grounds by 963 F.2d 258

(9" Cir. 1992); but see Laramie, 784 F. Supp. at 1497 (“review”

suffices).

There are also higher levels of verifications than an audit (e.g.,

attestation) and different levels of assurances within the auditing

function. See Ross Decl. at 1 12 (an “attestation” is an “extension of

the generally accepted auditing standards.”); see also Luther Depo. at

72 (noting that the American Institute of Certified Accountants has set

forth 66 different auditing standards).

° This court has no doubt that dicta in its previous opinion has

added to the confusion. There, in rejecting plaintiffs’ contention that

the auditor must verify that the allocation of expenditures between

chargeable and nonchargeable categories, I opined that the role of the

auditor is to “ensure that the expenditures which the union claims it

made for certain expenses were actually made for those expenses.”

Prescott, 915 F. Supp. at 1087 (quoting Laramie, 784 F. Supp. at

(continued...)

- 56a -

review satisfies the “categorical” verification and an audit (at

whatever level) while providing greater assurance concerning

the expenditures reported, does not provide additional

information regarding the classification of expenses in the

financial statements.

Plaintiffs’ expert explains that an accountant performs an

audit to express a “conclusion about the reliability of a written

assertion that is made by another party[.]” See Ross Decl. at 1

12. An audit “is concerned with whether the recorded

information properly reflects the economic events that occurred

during the accounting period.” Id. at 11 12, 14, 16.’ In

contrast, an accounting review is “the process of recording,

classifying and summarizing economic events in a logical

manner for the purpose of providing financial information.” Id.

at 1 14.° Defendants’ expert, John D. Moyle, agrees that an

® (...continued )

1497). This court’s previous opinion, while citing to various Circuit

Court opinions, failed to address the more modest purpose articulated

in Hudson itself. To the extent the previous dicta conflicts with this

opinion, the court must disavow it.

” The techniques employed during an audit “include a study and

evaluation of the client’s internal accounting controls, tests of

accounting records, and the obtaining of corroborating evidential

matter through inspection, observation and confirmation.” See Ross

Decl. at 9 12.

8 These descriptions are corroborated by plaintiffs’ experts’

citation to various accounting texts which describe auditing as a

function which provides a verification of financial data by testing the

validity of the data, as opposed to the acceptability of its presentation.

(continued...)

- 57a -

audit tests evidentiary matter to provide a reasonable assurance

that records are accurate, while a review assesses whether the

material is presented according to accepted classifications. See,

supra, 0.6.”

PEU’s accountant’s explanation of the auditing and review

functions confirms the distinctions highlighted above. Luther

testified that the difference between a review and an audit is that

an audit would normally include the observation of physical

inventory and analysis of documents, see Luther Depo. at 12-13,

while a review would involve discussions with personnel and

analysis of documents to insure that the expenditures were

® (...continued)

See Suppl. Ross Decl. at 1 8 (citing Alvin A. Arens, et. al., Auditing,

An Integrated Approach (5" ed.); Kell, Boynton, & Ziegler, Modern

Auditing (3™ ed.), Chapter 2, p. 46).

” Moyle further explains that an “auditor performs tests of the

accounting systems and records to obtain sufficient competent

evidential matter to afford a reasonable basis for an opinion regarding

whether the financial statements, are, in all material respects, fairly

presented in accordance with GAAP.” See Moyle Decl. at 112. In the

next paragraph of his declaration, Moyle states that the purpose of an

auditor’s opinion is to provide “reasonable assurance”. Id. at 1 13.

This purpose indicates that the focus of the audit is on testing the

reliability of the records. In contrast, Moyle explains that the review

is limited to “negative assurances” that nothing came to the CPA’s

attention that would indicate that the management's assertions are not

presented in accordance with the established criteria. Id. at 1 16.

Since a review is based on “negative assurances,” it will approve of the

financial statements so long as they are presented according to

accepted classifications; there will be no independent verification that

the presentation is an accurate reflection of reality.

- 58a -

properly classified. Id. at 24-26.'° Although Luther asserts that

PEU’s final review statement reflected changes made to the

information as provided by the client, id. at 63, his description

of those changes demonstrates that they revolved around

classification of statements."

Defendants contend that a review is sufficient under Hudson

given that under accounting standards the fair presentation of

financial statements is the responsibility of the entities’

management. Moyle Decl. at 1 10. Once again, it is unclear to

the court why accounting standards should govern.

Nevertheless, the contention is consistent with Hudson’s

requirement \that the Union provide the categories of

expenditure with the independent auditor verifying them.”

© Luther testified that he received expenditures information,

receipts, and specific coding to asset or liability categories from PEU.

See Luther Depo. at 55. He then produced a ledger which contained

a separate account for each category of assets, liabilities, and equity.

Id. at 37-38. Luther explains that the categories he created do not

necessarily reflect the internal accounting system of the union, but are

similar to it. Id. at 41. Luther’s working documents were based on

information and documentation provided by the client, and sometimes

information specifically requested by the accountant. Id..at 11 46, 48.

"For example, Luther testified that if he came across a check

during a review which appeared to be submitted by the client in the

wrong category, he would normally recommend that it be reclassified

into the proper category. See Luther Depo. at 50. Luther then

testified that if the client refused to reclassify, and if the-failure was

material, he might not issue the review. Id. at 50-51.

12 As this court understands the evidence, a review verifies the

(continued...)

- 59a -

Moreover, a conclusion that a review satisfies Hudson is

consistent with its emphasis on practicalities. See Hudson, 475

U.S. at 307, n.18. In his deposition, PEU’s accountant

estimates that he billed PEU between $2,500 and $3,000 for

the reviewed financial statement for the 1994 year. See Luther

Depo. at 20. Based on his personal experience, Luther testified

that an audit coverisy the same scope as the review would costs

between $12,000 and $15,000. Id. at 22 & 74. He also

testified that it would cost as much as $45,000 to do an audit of

all units. Id.

While to say the least the matter is not free from doubt, the

court concludes on the basis of the above considerations that a

review satisfies the Hudson purpose. Accordingly, no higher

verification is required, although it may be desirabie.”*

12 (...continued) |

classifications made by the union. The ordinary meaning of

“classification” is “the act or a method of distributing into groups,

classes, or families: an assigning to a proper class.” The ordinary

meaning of “classify” is “to group or segregate in classes that have

systematic relations usu. founded on common properties or characters:

sort.” See Webster's Dictionary, at 417, col. 1. Thus, the act of

classifying, the process being verified by a review, appears to be what

the High Court required the union to provide verification of through

an independent auditor.

‘8 It must be kept in mind that what is being considered is

constitutional minima, and not what might be the most efficacious

process. Although aspects of Hudson may suggest otherwise, neither

this court, nor the Supreme Court for that matter, is in the business of

legislating.

- 60a -

Accordingly, summary judgment will be entered on behalf of

defendants as to this claim.

II.

SUFFICIENCY OF THE ESCROW

The court in its previous order explained why it believed

that plaintiffs’ challenge to the escrow amount does not lie.

Plaintiff challenges that explanation on the basis that the court

has failed to apply rigorous First Amendment standards. As I

explained there, however, the language of the First Amendment

hardly commands any of the procedures developed in Hudson.

Rather, the procedures mandated by the Supreme Court must

be viewed as providing a prophylactic border surrounding First

Amendment values. As such, however, they must be balanced

against the competing interests of fairness and labor peace

embodied in the agency shop. Abood v. Detroit Bd. of Education,

431 U.S. 209, 218 (1977). In resolving these competing values

the High Court requires unions to escrow “the amounts

reasonably in dispute while such challenges are pending.”

Hudson, 475 U.S. at 310. In the matter at bar, this court

continues to find that plaintiffs have not demonstrated that an

amount greater than 4% is in dispute. Accordingly, injunctive

relief will not be granted, and defendants’ motion for summary

judgment will be granted."*

‘4 The court wishes to emphasize that it is not finding that 4%

in fact represents the amount of nonchargeable expenditures. Indeed,

defendants’ counsel’s acknowledgment during oral argument that the

union did not keep records of the labor and expenditures involved for

many of its political activities raises substantial questions as to the

(continued...)

- 6la-

III.

LOCAL UNION PRESUMPTION

In its preliminary injunction order the court relied on the

local union presumption. Plaintiffs claim that the decisions

cited by the court to support the local union presumption have

been superseded. See Lowary v. Lexington Local Bd. of Educ.

(“Lowary IT’), 903 F.2d 422, 430 (6 Cir. 1990), superseding

Gillespie v. Willard City Board of Education, 700 F. Supp. 898,

903 (N.D. Ohio 1987); Hohe v. Casey, 956 F.2d at 399, 409-11

(3™ Cir. 1992), superseding Hohe v. Casey, 695 F. Supp. 814,

819 (M.D. Pa. 1988), afPd, 868 F.2d 69 (3™ Cir. 1989), cert.

denied, 493 U.S. 848 (1989). Plaintiffs also contend that

Tierney v. City of Toledo, 917 F.2d 927, 937 (6 Cir. 1990)

rejects the local union presumption. They then contend that

this court should follow suit. For the reasons explained below,

the court declines to do so.

The Tierney decision is inapposite. There, the Sixth Circuit

addressed the failure of a local union to explain how the dues

paid to the international union were spent. Here, plaintiffs

challenge the Union’s alleged failure to account for the expendi-

tures of its local affiliates. Thus, the reluctance to invoke a

presumption in Tierney makes sense for the same reason that the

efficiency of invoking it here also makes sense: the local union

is presumed to spend less on nonrepresentational activities.

Moreover, since Hudson specifically required local unions to

4 (...continued)

manner of determining the escrow figure. The issue, however, is what

is in contention, and in that regard the evidence does not demonstrate

that more than 4% is in contention.

- 62a -

account for their payments to state and national labor

organizations, see Hudson, 475 U.S. at 307, n.18, the Sixth

Circuit had no choice but to invalidate the notice.

Lowary IT is also inapposite. As this court observed in the

preliminary injunction opinion, Lowary II rejected the

presumption in the context of an arbitration hearing. Since in

an arbitration, “the nonmember’s burden is simply to make his

objection known,” see Lowary II, 903 F.2d at 431, it was

impermissible to place an additional burden on the nonmember,

during arbitration, to rebut a presumption that the union spent

its money properly. Jd. Unlike an arbitration, the presumption

here does not affect the nonmembers’ ability to prevail at arbi-

tration, nor would it appear to affect his or her ability to make

a decision as to whether to challenge the fee.

Plaintiff is correct about the Third Circuit’s rejection of the

local union presumption. See Hohe v. Casey, 956 F.2d at 409-

11. Even if Hohe were binding, however, it would not be

dispositive under the facts at bar. Hohe did not categorically

reject the local union presumption; rather, it held that the union

could not assume that local expenditures mirrored state

expenditures when the notice itself offered no reason or

explanation of why such an assumption was justified. Id. at

410. The Hohe court specifically noted that while nonmembers

of the local received only information about the parent union’s

expenditures, they were not informed of the percentage of their

local dues which went to the parent union.

In contrast to Hohe, the nonmembers here are told (rightly

or wrongly) that all their dues go to PEU. Moreover, the

figures presented in the budget provide a good explanation of

- 63a -

why the presumption is justified. The notice indicates that

$56,544.00 of PEU’s $2,626,954 budget goes to “Unit Funds.”

This amounts to 2.15% of the budget. Since there are 40 local

units, EDCEA receives $1,413.60 (0.05% of PEU’s budget).

As a practical matter, there does not seem to be a high

likelihood that EDCEA (or any other local affiliate) would

spend a higher percentage of $1,413.60 on political activities

than PEU would spend of its $2.5 million. Thus, unlike Hohe,

the Union offers some reason why nonmembers in the local

union can rely on PEU’s books for a breakdown of their dues.

For the reasons discussed in the preliminary injunction

order, the court still concludes that the local union presumption

is appropriate and permissible under Hudson. See Lucid v. City

and County of San Francisco, 774 F. Supp. 1234, 1237 (N.D.

Cal. 1991) (“No authority requires such a breakdown [of

expenses incurred on a bargaining unit basis] and we decline to

extend existing law to create one. Requiring such a breakdown

may be extremely impracticable, if not impossible, as well as

unduly burdensome.”); see also Andrews v. Education Association

of Chesire, 653 F. Supp. 1373, 1377-78 (D.Conn. 1987)

(without presumption, unions would be put to “the potentially

prohibitive cost” of proving the individual percentages of a very

large number of affiliates), aff'd as modified on other grounds, 829

F.2d 335, 338-339 & n.1 (2d Cir. 1987). Accordingly,

summary judgment will be entered on behalf of defendants on

this claim.

WATS Bay BLINN

i WON

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.