Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Slaughter v. Mississippi

Supreme Court brief2003

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreni Court, US

FILED

02 6 1 4 AUG 2 3 2002

OPPIGE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

Jodon Antonio Slaughter

Petitioner

V.

The State of Mississippi

Respondent

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

To The Mississippi Supreme Court

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Michael W. Crosby

Attorney at Law |

Counsel of Record

2111 25th Ave.

Gulfport, MS 39501

228-822-2727

Ms. Bar No. 07888

, scaliaaiaiianaisiiaiee we tenes ictalisimenoninnniae

—---- ++i eta nce icine iccinaetpicsanae —<tcnontetnsb

Questions Presented

1. ~ Whether the State Trial Court violated Petitioner

Slaughter’s Sixth and Fourteenth Amendment rights to

fully confront witnesses against him by denying him an

opportunity to fully cross-examine prosecution

witnesses regarding immunity agreements they

received and their motives for testifying before a

Federal Grand Jury in Atlanta Georgia when it was the

Federal Grand Jury testimony which lead to the

Mississippi State indictment of Jodon Slaughter for the

murder of Kelvin Reynolds.

y Whether -the State Court's refusal to grant an

instruction to examine and weigh testimony of

prosecution witnesses who initially provided evidence

against the defendant in exchange for immunity from

the Federal government with greater care and caution

than the testimony of ordinary witnesses violated

defendant's right to a fair trial as guaranteed him by the

Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution.

Parties Below

The parties before this court are Petitioner Jodon

Antonio Slaughter, a Mississippi inmate currently

confined for life pursuant to a murder conviction and

Respondent, the State of Mississippi.

li

Table of Contents

Questions Presented

Parties Below ii

Table of Contents iii

Table of Authorities . iv

Opinion Below and Jurisdiction om |

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions... 2

Statement of the Case cceedd

Reasons for Granting the Writ 17

Appendix 1-4

ili

Table of Authorities

Federal Cases

Alford v. United States, 282 U.S. 687 (1981) ........s..sess0 20

Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973)........... 18, 19

Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967) .......c..s.ssesse00e: 21

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308(1974) ........ 17, 18, 19, 20, 24

Delaware v. Fensterer, 474 U.S. 15 (1985) .......ccccssssseeoee. 24

Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673 (1986) ....19, 21, 27

Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415 en 18, 24

Dutton v. Evans, 400 U.S. 74 (1970).......:ccccscssssscsesesseseeee 19

Grannis v. Ordean, 234 U.S. 385 (1914) .....c.cceccssessseseeeee 18

in ve Oliver, 333 US. 257 (19GB .scecccsiesssevacserecesssevens 18-19

Olden v. Kentucky, 488 U.S. 227 (1988) ..........ceccssessseeees 17

Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965) .......ceccccececesseceseceee 17

Rose v. Clark, 478 U.S. 570 (1986) .......c.ccccccecsssssesesseseseees 28

Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984) .............. 18

Sullivan v. Louisiana, 508 U.S. 275 (1993)... .27

United States v. Bradfield, 103 F.2d 1207

Fe a iaies senstinlishclicnsisiausiedehuacectieledtenicciiiicaiied: 27

United States v. D’Antignzc, 628 F.2d 428

(Sth Cir. 1980) cert. den. 450 U.S. 967 (1981)............ 27

United States v. Twomey, 806 F.2d 1136

I D vtetnnsnasntancsatadeiioucs iptvincatinineniiaciimmisianen 25

Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. 14 (1967).......:.cessscsssseeees 18

Wilkerson v. United States, 591 F.2d 1221

PP A i iccienniestehsie cia ca eee aa oe 27

Mississippi State C

Knight v. State, 57 So.2d 161 (Miss. 1952) .......sssssesee- 28

McNeal v. State, 551 So.2d 151 (Miss. 989).....ssssssssss000 27

Sherrel v. State, 662 S0.2d 1233 (Miss. 1993) .....sescsseese 27

OPINION BELOW AND JURISDICTION

1. Review is sought of the opinion of the

Mississippi Supreme Court affirming the rulings of

the trial court which excluded testimony and refused

jury instructions. The opinion is reported as Slaughter

v. Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT, Feb. 14, 2000; reh

denied 5/23/2000(Miss 2002) (Appendix 1)

2. The Mississippi Supreme Court denied the

Motion for Rehearing on May 23, 2002. Slaughter v.

Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT, Feb. 14, 2000; reh

denied 5/23/2000(Miss 2002) (Appendix 2)

3. This petition for certiorari is authorized to be

filed on or before August 21, 2002 pursuant to 28

United States Code § 1257 and Rule 13, Supreme

Court Rules.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

U.S. Const. Amend VI provides:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall

enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial, by

an impartial jury of the State and district

wherein the crime shall have been committed;

which district shall have been previously

ascertained by law, and to be informed of the

nature and cause of the accusation; to be

confronted with the witnesses against him; to

have compulsory process for obtaining

witnesses in his favor, and to have the

assistance of counsel for his defense.

U.S. Const. Amend XIV (1) provides:

All persons born or naturalized in the United

States and subject to the jurisdiction thereof,

are citizens of the United States and of the State

wherein the reside. No State shall make or

enforce any law which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of the

United States; nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law, nor deny to any person within

its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On April 29, 1998 Kevin Reynolds was shot to

death while sitting in his Ford Explorer in the parking

lot of River 10 Apartments, Gulfport, Mississippi. On

May 13, 1999 Petitioner, Jodon Slaughter was indicted

for murder and three others, Regina Richardson, Ken

Ogletree, and Tracy Stepney, were indicted for

“accessory after the fact” to the same murder (CP 8; T

386) The indictment against Regina Richardson was

dismissed in exchange for her testimony against

Slaughter. (Tr. 382-385) Neither Ken Ogletree or

Tracy Stepney testified at Slaughter’s trial.

Jodon Slaughter was found guilty of the murder in

the Circuit Court of Harrison County, First Judicial

District and received a mandatory sentence of life in

prison. Slaughter’s conviction was affirmed on

appeal. Slaughter v. Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT,

Feb. 14, 2002; reh denied 5/23/2002(Miss 2002)

At issue is the trial court’s failure to allow

Slaughter to cross-examine State witnesses about

immunity agreements they received and their

motives for testifying as they did before a Federal

Grand Jury in Atlanta, Georgia and subsequently in

the Trial Court. The grand jury testimony ultimately

led to the indictment and conviction of Jodon

Slaughter in the Mississippi State Court. Also at issue

is the Trial Court's refusal to instruct the jury to

consider the testimony of Regina Richardson or any

witness who provided testimony in exchange for,

immunity from punishment with great care, caution

and suspicion. (Tr. 667-670; CP 630, 632)

Jodon Slaughter was a resident of Atlanta, Georgia

where he worked for a car dealership. Kelvin

Reynolds (the victim) had moved from Atlanta,

Georgia to Mississippi a few weeks prior to his death

3

and was staying with a friend at River 10 Apartments.

Slaughter v. Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT,§7 (Feb.

14, 2002). Reynolds and Slaughter had known each

other for a number of years.

On Wednesday April 29, 1998 Petitioner Jodon

Slaughter, Ken Ogletree and Tracy Stepney came to

Gulfport to gamble at the Grand Casino. Upon

arrival they were met for lunch by Darryl Screven a

casino host who knew Slaughter and Reynolds. That

evening Slaughter and Reynolds both paged Screven

several times. Slaughter asked Screven to return to

the casino. According to Screven, Slaughter told him

that Reynolds was bringing his vehicle to Slaughter

for Slaughter to use and that Reynolds would need a

ride back to Valerie Seldon’s apartment. When

Screven returned to the Casino Slaughter was not

there. Screven learned later that night that Reynolds

had been killed. Slaughter v. Mississippi,

2000-KA-01533-SCT, 48-9, 11-12 (Feb. 14, 2002).

At the time of the shooting Slaughter, Reynolds

and others were under investigation by the FBI and

Secret Service in Atlanta, Georgia. The federal

investigation concerned fraud, possessing and

uttering counterfeit checks, alteration of vehicle

identification numbers and money laundering. (CP

24) After Reynolds’ death the Federal Grand Jury in-

Atlanta began an investigation concerning the

possibility that Slaughter may have shot Reynolds to

prevent Reynolds from cooperating with the federal

authorities. Lemuel Murray (CP 24-25), Kelly Seldon

(CP 195-196), Linda Dugan (CP 350-351), and Regina

Richardson (CP 429-430) received use immunity from

the Federal authorities in exchange for their

testimony against Slaughter.

4

The information obtained by the U.S. Attorney's

office concerning Jodon Slaughter and the death of

Kelvin Reynolds was provided to the Harrison

County District Attorney’s office and ultimately

murder and accessory indictments were obtained.

Regina Richardson was indicted by the State of

Mississippi as an accessory after the fact to Reynolds’

murder. The charge against her was dismissed in

exchange for her testimony at Slaughter’s murder

trial.

Rulings on the Testimony

The State of Mississippi obtained an order in

limine preventing Slaughter from making any

reference to the criminal investigation by the Federal

agencies or any reference to the criminal character of

the victim, Reynolds. (Appendix 2; T. 115-125)

Slaughter objected and argued that the federal

investigation was material to the defense because the

murder indictment stemmed directly from. the

Federal Grand Jury investigation and it showed that

someone other than Slaughter had a motive to kill

Reynolds. (Appendix 2; Tr. 119). Slaughter also

argued that the jury should be able to hear about the

immunity and deals given to the various witnesses

and how they came to testify before the Federal

Grand Jury so that the jury could determine their

motives for testifying and credibility. (Appendix 2;

Tr. 115-125) The motion in limine was sustained as far

as comments in opening statement. (Appendix 2; Tr.

120) Defense counsel moved for a mistrial after the

ruling in limine arguing that the ruling prevented him

from making an effective opening statement.

(Appendix 2; Tr. 122-123, 125)

fe)

Counsel for Slaughter repeatedly attempted to

persuade the trial judge that it was imperative to his

defense that the jury be allowed to hear testimony

concerning the immunity given to the witnesses

before the Federal Grand Jury but each time, the trial

court refused to allow the evidence. (Appendix 2; T.

146-155, 313-314, 342-372, 519-521, 534-536) Prior to

making his opening statement counsel for Slaughter

argued again to the court that Slaughter’s defense is

based on “the fact that there was a Federal Grand Jury

investigation, that there was criminal activity which

was taking place unrelated to a murder, most of

which was taking place in Atlanta.” (Tr. 147)

The Witnesses, Agreements, and Proffers

“ Lf

Lemuel Murray was Slaughter’s co-worker in

Atlanta. Murray’s grand jury testimony reflects that

he was given immunity and was told that the target

of the grand jury was Jodon Slaughter. (CP 24-25)

In the State Court Trial Murray testified that about

two weeks prior to Reynolds’ death, Slaughter told

Murray that Reynolds “was a F--- rat, and he had

people coming up from Miami bringing him a

silencer and he was gong to blow Kelvin Reynolds's

f--- head off.” The next time Murray spoke with

Slaughter was on April 30, 1998, the day after the

murder of Reynolds. Slaughter called Murray and

told him he was back from Mississippi and asked if he

had heard what had happened to Reynolds.

Slaughter told him that the “word was on the street

that [I] killed Kelvin Reynolds.” Slaughter v.

Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT,929-30 (Feb. 14, 2002).

6

Prior to Murray’s testimony, Slaughter argued

that the statements could only be explained by

discussing the other criminal activity that was taking

place. (Tr. 147) When Lemuel Murray was called by

the State, defense counsel again attempted to raise the

issue of cross examination regarding the federal

investigation. (Tr. 519-521) A proffer of Murray's

testimony was made. (Tr. 526-534) During a State

Trial proffer Murray repeatedly invoked his fifth

amendment rights but did admit that he knew from

the beginning that “they” wanted Jodon Slaughter.

(Tr. 530) The trial judge excluded from the jury

information that Murray had received immunity from

the Federal authorities stating that the federal

immunity given Murray had nothing to do with the

prosecution of Slaughter in the murder case. The

Court again ruled that “the matter of the investigation

in Atlanta, Georgia, the Grand Jury testimony, all of

that is going to be excluded, and I stand by ruling on

that.” (Tr. 535)

Kelly Seldon

Kelly Seldon, Regina Richardson’s sister, had

become involved with Jodon Slaughter and as the

investigation in Georgia continued Kelly was coming

under pressure from the FBI to tell the authorities

“everything that she knew” about Slaughter. Kelly

was afraid she would be arrested. (Proffer of Regina

Richardson, Tr. 348-349) Richardson secretly listened

over the telephone as the authorities pressured Kelly

Seldon to testify against Jodon Slaughter. (Proffer of

Regina Richardson, T. 347) Seldon had a use

immunity agreement with the federal government.

(CP 195-196)

7

Kelly Seldon testified at the State trial. According

to her on the night of the murder Richardson called

and told her about the murder. Seldon did not know

Reynolds but had met Slaughter. Slaughter showed

up at Kelly’s house a day or two after Reynolds was

killed. Richardson was at Seldon’s house at the time

and Richardson left with Slaughter. Later Kelly

Seldon became personally acquainted with Slaughter

and involved with him. Slaughter v. Mississippi,

2000-KA-01533-SCT,932 (Feb. 14, 2002).

Linda Dugan

Linda Dugan was Slaughter’s former spouse. She

was invited to go to Mississippi with Slaughter but

did not go. Slaughter called her on the night of April

29-30 and stated he was in Mississippi. Slaughter v.

Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT,§31 (Feb. 14, 2002).

Dugan had a cooperation agreement with the Federal

authorities. (CP 350-351)

Linda Dugan who had testified against Jodon

Slaughter in the Federal Grand Jury was convicted of

federal charges which Slaughter argued would

certainly go to her motive and reason for making

statements against Slaughter. It was Slaughter’s

position that the defense should be allowed to bring

out “any motive or bias that the witnesses’ had

against Slaughter.” (Tr. 148) In order to defend the

charge against Slaughter the motives of the witnesses

would have to be explored and disclosed. (Tr. 148)

Regina Richard

Regina Richardson was a dealer at Grand Casino

and knew Slaughter through his visits to the Grand.

8

A proffer was made of her testimony concerning the

federal investigation and her testimony before the

Federal Grand Jury. (Tr. 342-354) Richardson was

concerned that her sister, Kelly Seldon, was going to

be arrested. As Richardson testified in her proffer, “I

was at no point going to allow my sister go to jail for

anything that had to do with Jodon Slaughter. . .” (T.

349) To prevent that she contacted the federal

authorities and “gave” them Jodon Slaughter as the

murderer of Kelvin Reynolds. (Tr. 345) Richardson

testified that she asked the federal authorities what

she could do to make the problem (the fact that her

sister was going to go to jail) go away. The told her to

come talk to them and she described the solution, “to

put the man [Jodon Slaughter] in jail that was, quote,

unquote, threatening her life.” (Tr. 352)

Richardson had been interviewed by State

authorities and had had “numerous opportunities”

after the shooting to tell them of Slaughter’s alleged

culpability but until the Federal Grand Jury testimony

her version of the events exculpated Slaughter and

herself. (T. 401) After Richardson testified before the

Federal Grand Jury she gave a statement to

Mississippi law enforcement authorities and was

subsequently indicted for accessory to murder, after

the fact. The indictment against Richardson was

dropped with prejudice in exchange for her

agreement to testify truthfully in Slaughter’s

prosecution. Slaughter v. Mississippi,

-2000-KA-01533-SCT,J26 (Feb. 14, 2002). Although

Richardson had an agreement with the Federal

Authorities she was not being investigated by the

federal government and was not facing federal

charges.

Richardson testified before the State Court jury

that she had been indicted as an accessory to murder

and that the charge was dropped in exchange for

statements and cooperation in the investigation of

Slaughter. Slaughter v. Mississippi,

2000-KA-01533-SCT, 939 (Feb. 14, 2002).

As noted by the Mississippi Supreme Court,

Richardson was the key witness for the State.

Slaughter v. Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT,943 (Feb.

14, 2002). In the trial court’s view her agreement with

the State was all the jury was entitled to know.

As to Regina Richardson defense counsel argued

that they only way to defend against the testimony of

Regina Richardson was if they were allowed to tell

the “whole story”. (Tr. 149) The Court was asked to

revisit the order in limine concerning the Federal

Grand Jury investigation and it declined. (Tr. 154)

The Court stated that the character and credibility of

the witnesses would be subject to cross-examination.

(Tr. 154-155) Slaughter’s counsel noted that the

Federal Grand Jury information was import to

“explain why, number one, the witnesses that were

identified by the State would make such a statement;

secondly, how they could misunderstand such a

statement; and three, what -- the res gestae of what

was going on. (Tr. 155) The Court ordered that

Slaughter’s counsel could not “go into that.” (Tr. 155)

Prior to the direct examination of Regina

Richardson Slaughter’s counsel asked to make a

proffer of her testimony. The purpose of the proffer

of Regina Richardson was to give a full picture of her

motive and reasoning behind her testimony and that

he needed her testimony concerning the federal

investigation. (Tr. 313) The Court postponed the

proffer until after the direct examination. (Tr. 314)

10

Following the proffer of Mrs. Richardson's

testimony (Tr. 342-381) counsel for Slaughter argued

that clearly her testimony before the Federal Grand

Jury involved only testimony concerning the murder

and the things she was saying against Jodon

Slaughter. (Tr. 355) Richardson was being hounded

by the Gulfport Police and her sister was about to be

arrested so she called the U.S. Government and

entered into an agreement that what she said could

not be used against her. Then the State of Mississippi

indicted her. This gave the State an opportunity to

squeeze out of Richardson the same fabricated

testimony in exchange for dismissing the charges

against her. (Tr. 356-357) As defense counsel noted,

“It goes to her motive. It goes to her--anything that

touches on the motive of a witness, especially when it

was spelled out in black and white should be

relevant.” (Tr. 357) This testimony Defense counsel

argued was relevant because it shows the motive,

reason and opportunity for concocting the story

against Jodon Slaughter. (Tr. 360-361) The Court felt

that the fact that the jury knew that the indictment

against Richardson was dismissed with prejudice was

sufficient. (Tr. 362)

Richardson, Murray, Seldon and Dugan all

provided information to the Federal Grand Jury

regarding Slaughter’s alleged involvement in the

murder of Reynolds. This information was used to

build a murder case against Slaughter by the State of

Mississippi.

The State alleged that Richardson drove Slaughter

and Ogletree to and from the shooting in her car, and

Ogletree, Stepney, and Richardson helped conceal the

evidence of the shooting after the fact. (T. 135, 140)

Regina Richardson was the State’s key witness. She

11

was the only alleged eye witness to testify that

identified Slaughter as the shooter. Three residents of

River 10 Apartments testified to hearing the gunshot

and described the assailant as a man but were unable

to identify him. Slaughter v. Mississippi,

2000-KA-01533-SCT,9[2-4 (Feb. 14, 2002).

Police officers investigated the shooting and

collected the physical evidence. Based on information

from Regina Richardson after her testimony before

the Federal Grand Jury, a gun was recovered from a

storm drain on August 25, 1998. State Crime Lab

personnel testified that the gun was a possible source

of the bullet fragments and projectiles found at the

scene, but could not be positively included or

excluded as having been discharged. Slaughter v.

Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT,]5, 27 (Feb. 14, 2002).

At the trial Regina Richardson testified that on

April 29th she made plans to go out with Slaughter

and two other people when she got off work at 7:00

p-m. on April 29, 1998. By about 9:00 she had met

Slaughter, Ken Ogletree and Tracy Stepney in one on

the hotel rooms where they made plans to go out.

Richardson testified that she drove Slaughter and

Ogletree to River 10 Apartments to pick up a truck.

Slaughter spoke two or three times to Reynolds while

they were en route, telling him that he was still at the

casino and that Reynolds should bring his vehicle to

the casino. He told Reynolds to leave the keys with

the valet and that Screvens would give him a ride

home. Slaughter imparted the same information to

Screvens. Slaughter v. Mississippi,

2000-KA-01533-SCT, 13-14, 16-17 (Feb. 14, 2002).

Richardson testified that she drove around the

apartment complex until Slaughter and Ogletree

located the vehicle. She was told to park and turn off

12

her lights. Slaughter got out of the car and

disappeared from her view. As she turned to speak

to Ogletree she heard gunshots. She saw Slaughter at

Reynold’s car with a gun in his hand, a gun she had

also seen at the hotel. According to Richardson

Slaughter got back in the car and told them that he

had killed Reynolds. Slaughter gave the gun to

Ogletree and tried not to make a mess with the blood

on his _ clothes. Slaughter v. Mississippi,

2000-KA-01533-SCT,19-20 (Feb. 14, 2002).

According to Richardson they stopped at a

railroad crossing on the way back to the Casino where

Slaughter and Ogletree got out of the car, broke the

gun into pieces and dropped them into a drain pipe.

Back at the Casino Ogletree got out of the car and

Slaughter instructed Richardson to drive him to her

house. It was about 10:00 p.m. Slaughter put his

bloody clothes into a trash bag, took a shower and

put on a set of her workout clothes. Richardson

called Stepney and gave her directions to the house.

Stepney drove Ogletree to Richardson’s house and

brought Slaughter new clothes. Ogletree talked with

Slaughter and took the trash bag with him when he

left. Slaughter v. Mississippi,

2000-KA-01533-SCT,}20-23 (Feb. 14, 2002).

Richardson claimed that Slaughter told her what

he wanted her to tell the police about where they had

been and what they had been doing that night.

Before Slaughter left, Richardson called her sister,

Kelly Seldon, in Atlanta and told her what had really

happened. About 1:00 am., Richardson drove

Slaughter to a motel in the Moss Point/Pascagoula

area where Ogletree and Stepney were waiting for

him. The next morning the police questioned

Richardson and she told them the story that Slaughter

13

had fabricated. Two days after the murder,

Richardson went to Atlanta and met with Slaughter.

Slaughter v. Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT,924-25

(Feb. 14, 2002).

Richardson was the only eye-witness to the

murder to testify however, she never provided any

information to law enforcement inculpating Petitioner

Slaughter until she learned that the federal authorities

were about to arrest her sister. (Tr. 345-346) At that

point she called the federal authorities to make a deal

to “give” them Jodon Slaughter so they would leave

her sister alone. (Tr. 348,-349) Richardson's

testimony was bolstered by the trial testimony of

Kelly Seldon, Lemuel Murray, and Linda Dugan all

who received favors in exchange for information to

support a conviction of Jodon Slaughter.

The Trial Court’s ruling overlooked this fact and

also overlooked that the Federal Grand Jury

transcripts, all of which were submitted for the

Court’s review, did not merely touch upon the

allegations that were the subject of the federal

investigation but focused upon the murder case in

Mississippi. Murray, Seldon and Dugan were never

indicted in Mississippi, but they provided testimony

with regard to the Mississippi murder under

immunity granted to them by the Federal

government.

The exclusion of the testimony of these witness

was raised by defense counsel in his motion for a new

trial and was assigned on appeal as his first

assignment of error. It was raised again in the motion

for rehearing before the Mississippi Supreme Court.

14

Jury Instructions

The Court refused to allow Slaughter’s requested

jury instruction D-5 and D-unnumbered pertaining to

a great care and caution instruction.

The instruction D-5 read:

The testimony of an alleged accomplice is to

be considered and weighed with great care

and caution and suspicion. You may give it

such weight and credit as you deem it is

entitled.

(CP 632)

Jury instruction D-unnumbered reads:

The testimony of one who provides evidence

against the defendant for immunity from

punishment must always be examined and

weighed by the jury with greater care and

caution than the testimony of ordinary

witnesses. You the jury should consider and

weigh such testimony with great care and

caution and suspicion. You may give it such

weight and credit as you deem it is entitled.

(CP 630)

Both instructions were refused. (RE 126-129; 28,

29, T 667-670; CP 630, 32) Slaughter’s position is that

Richardson was in effect charged as an accomplice to

the murder. In addition the care and caution

instruction should also apply to Murray, Seldon and

Dugan.

15

The Trial Court refused D-5 based on the fact that

Richardson was indicted as an accessory after the fact

and not as an accomplice. (Tr. 667-670) Instructing

the jury regarding Richardson’s testimony should not

rest solely on her classification as a co-defendant or

accomplice but on whether she received Some “favor

or benefit” for her testimony. She did and the jury

should have been instructed regarding her testimony.

The other instruction was refused based on the

Trial Court’s refusal to allow evidence of the

" immunity agreements and the Federal Grand Jury to

- be heard by the jury.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Limitation on Cross-Examination

The rulings of the trial court and the Mississippi

Supreme Court are in conflict with the U.S. Supreme

Court cases dealing with the constitutional guarantee

of a meaningful opportunity to present a complete

defense.

The Mississippi Supreme Court held:

As to the federal immunity agreements for

the witnesses, no promise was made not to

prosecute the witnesses in regard to the

murder or Reynolds. The federal case did

not focus on Reynold’s murder, but on other

alleged federal crimes. Richardson, the key

witness of the State of Mississippi in the

Reynolds murder trial was offered complete

immunity by the prosecution in exchange for

truthful testimony. The immunity agreement

between the State and Richardson was before

16

the jury. Therefore, the issue is without

merit.

Slaughter v. Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT,

743 Feb. 14, 2000; reh denied 5/23/2000(Miss

2002)

It was critical to the Petitioner’s defense that he be

allowed to cross-examine Richardson regarding a

possible motive to lie, whether out of “fear or favor”.

When the trial court denied his right to fully

cross-examine her it deprived him of his Sixth

Amendment right to confront witnesses against him.

See Olden v. Kentucky, 488 U.S. 227, 231 (1988)

The Sixth Amendment right “to be confronted

with the witnesses against him” is incorporated in the

Fourteenth Amendment and available in_ state

proceedings, Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400 (1965), and

includes the right to conduct reasonable

cross-examination. Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308,

315-316 (1974). Confrontation means more than being

allowed to confront the witness physically. "Our cases

construing the [confrontation] clause hold that a

primary interest secured by it is the right of

cross-examination." Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415,

418 (1965). Professor Wigmore stated:

The main and _ essential purpose of

confrontation is to secure for the opponent

the opportunity of cross-examination. The

opponent demands confrontation, not for the

idle purpose of gazing upon the witness, or

of being gazed upon by him, but for the

purpose of cross-examination, which cannot

be had except by the direct and personal

17

putting of questions and _ obtaining

immediate answers." 5 J. Wigmore, Evidence

1395, p.123 (3d ed. 1940).

Whether rooted directly in the Due Process clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment, Chambers v.

Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973), or in the Compulsory

Process or Confrontation clauses of the Sixth

Amendment, Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. 14, 23

(1967); Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308 (1974), the

Constitution guarantees criminal defendants “a

meaningful opportunity to present a complete

defense.” Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668,

684-685 (1984) (“The Constitution guarantees a fair

trial through the Due Process Clauses, but it defines

the basis elements of a fair trial largely through the

several provisions of the Sixth Amendment”. An

essential component of procedural fairness is an

opportunity to be heard. In re Oliver, 333 U.S. 257, 273

(1948); Grannis v. Ordean, 234 U.S. 385, 394 (1914).

In Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973) this

Court noted:

The right of an accused in a criminal trial to

due process is, in essence, the right to a fair

opportunity to defend against the State's

accusations. The right to confront and

cross-examine witnesses and to call witnesses

in one’s own behalf have long been

recognized as essential to due process. Mr.

Justice Black, writing for the Court in In re

Oliver, 333 U.S. 257, 273 (1948), identified

these rights as among the minimum

essentials of a fair trial:

18

A person's right to reasonable notice

of a charge against him, and an

opportunity to be heard in his defense

- a right to his day in court - are basic

in our system of jurisprudence; and

those rights include, as a minimum, a

right to examine the witnesses against

him, to offer testimony, and to be

represented by counsel.

410 US. 284, 295

These rights include the right of cross examination

_which is “implicit in the constitutional right of

confrontation, and helps assure the “accuracy of the

truth-determining process.” Dutton v. Evans, 400 US.

74, 89 (1970). Id. Jodon Slaughter was deprived of his

right to a full cross examination of the witnesses

against him. As this Court in Chambers noted:

While the right is not absolute and may have

to bow to other legitimate interests in the

criminal trial process, any serious limitation

on that right calls into question the ultimate

integrity of the fact-finding process and

requires that the competing interest be

closely examined. Berger v. California, 393

US. 314, 315 (1969)

410 US. 284, 295-296

“(T]he exposure of a witness’ motivation in

testifying is a proper and important function of the

constitutionally protected right of cross-examination.”

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308, 316-317 (1974); see also

19

Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673, 678 (1986). Here

the jury was not told that the testimony of Murray,

Dugan, and Seldon with regard to Slaughter arose out

of their appearances before a Federal Grand Jury.

They were questioned about the Mississippi shooting

by the Federal government under a promise of use

immunity. They all knew that the “target” was Jodon

Slaughter and they did whatever they could to help

the government (State or Federal) get him instead of

them. Regina Richardson told her “trial” version of

the facts for the first time only after she became

concerned that her sister would be arrested by federal

authorities because of her association with Jodon

Slaughter. (Tr. 348) Whether this jury would have

been influenced by knowing these things requires

some speculation. But regardless the jury was

entitled to have the benefit of a full cross-examination

of Regina Richardson as to her possible motivation to

lie. And they were entitled to know that the

testimony of Dugan, Murray and Seldon was first

obtained under a grant of use immunity in front of a

grand jury. See Davis, 415 U.S. at 317; Alford v. United

States, 282 U.S. 687, 691 (1931) (holding that where

witness was in prosecutor’s custody due to pending

charges, petitioner was “entitled to show by

cross-examination that his testimony was affected by

fear or favor’)

In Davis v. Alaska 415 U.S. 308 (1974); the court

observed that subject to “the broad discretion of a

trial judge to preclude repetitive and unduly

harassing interrogation. . ., the cross-examiner has

traditionally been allowed to impeach, i.e., discredit,

the witness.” Id., at 316. In Davis the court pointed

out that “the exposure of a witness’ motivation in

testifying is a proper and important function of the

20

constitutionally protected right of cross-examination.”

Id., at 316-317. Richardson’s proffer makes it clear

that she was motivated to offer up Slaughter to the

Federal Grand Jury by fear for her sister. The jury

was entitled to this information and was also entitled

to know that Seldon, Murray and Dugan initially

provided testimony against Slaughter in exchange for

“favors” from the Federal authorities.

THIS WAS NOT HARMLESS ERROR

In Delaware v. Van Arsdall 475 U.S. 673 (1986) this

Court held that the denial of a defendant's

opportunity to impeach a witness for bias, like other

Confrontation clause errors, is subject to the Chapman

v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967) harmless-error

analysis. The constitutional dimension of the right to

full cross-examination increases in sensitivity in direct

proportion to witness’s importance to state’s case.

The harmless error analysis applies to confrontation

clause cases. See Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. at 680, 684.

The correct inquiry is whether, assuming that

the damaging potential of _ the

cross-examination were fully realized, a

reviewing court might nonetheless say that

the error was harmless beyond a reasonable

doubt. Whether such an error is harmless in

a particular case depends upon a host of

factors, all readily accessible to reviewing

courts. These factors include the importance

of the witness’ testimony in the prosecution’s

case, whether the testimony was cumulative,

the presence or absence of evidence

corroborating or contradicting the testimony

21

of the witness on material points, the extent

of cross-examination otherwise permitted,

and, of course, the overall strength of the

prosecution’s case.

Chapman v. California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967)

HARMLESS ERROR FACTORS

11) The j oe ,

ntl ape

Regina Richardson was the key witness for the

State of Mississippi. She was the only eyewitness to

testify that Slaughter shot Reynolds. This factor

supports Petitioner’s position that the Court's refusal

to allow him to explore the motives of the Richardson

and the other witnesses was not harmless error.

Richardson’s version of the events of April 29 prior to

her contact with the Federal authorities had not

incriminated Jodon Slaughter. It was not until her

sister was threatened with arrest in the federal

investigation did Richardson incriminate Slaughter.

This motive, to save her sister from federal charges,

should have been placed before the jury so that they

might fairly judge her credibility.

Richardson’s testimony was not cumulative, it was

the crux of the prosecution’s case. Murray, Dugan

and Seldon was not as important to the prosecution

but their testimony was not cumulative either, each

told of statements allegedly made by Slaughter,

statements that might have been explained except for

Regina Richardson’s testimony. This factor supports

Petitioner’s position that the Court's refusal to allow

22

him to explore the witnesses motives and thereby

their credibility was not harmless error.

(3) The presence or absence of evidence

Se : st a

There were no corroborating witnesses to the

shooting at River 10 Apartments. The gun recovered

by the State could not be positively identified as the

weapon used to kill Reynolds. The absence of

corroborating evidence supports petitioner's position

- that the trial court committed reversible error by

refusing to allow him to cross-examine Richardson

and the other with regard to their motives for

testifying as they did. This factor supports Petitioner’s

position that the Court’s refusal to allow him to

present to the jury the immunity agreements of the

witnesses and thereby their motives was not harmless

error.

Cross-examination as allowed was not extensive

enough to counter the failure of the trial court to

allow cross-examination regarding the fact that these

witnesses were called before a Federal Grand Jury,

were given immunity and had motives to “give up”

Jodon Slaughter all of which could affect their

credibility before the jury.

,

The State’s case rose and fell with Regina

Richardson, propped up with the testimony of

Murray, Dugan and Seldon. This factor supports

Petitioner’s position that the Court’s refusal to allow

23

him to explore the witnesses’ motives credibility was

not harmless error.

It is well established that “the confrontation

Clause guarantees an opportunity for effective

cross-examination, not cross-examination that is

effective in whatever way, and to whatever extent,

the defense might wish.” Delaware v. Fensterer, 474

U.S. 15, 20 (1985). The Confrontation Clause is

generally satisfied “when the defense is given full and

fair opportunity to probe and expose these infirmities

through cross-examination, thereby calling to the

attention of the fact finder the reasons for giving scant

weight to the witness’ testimony.” Id. at 22.

Slaughter was not allowed to do this.

Cross-examination is the principal means by

which the believability of a witness and the truth of

‘his testimony are tested. Cross-examination may

reveal possible biases, prejudices, or ulterior motives

of the witness as they may relate directly to issues or

personalities in the case at hand. The partiality of a

witness is subject to exploration at trial, and is

"always relevant as discrediting the witness and

affecting the weight of his testimony." 3A J.

Wigmore, Evidence 940, p. 775 (Chadbourn rev.

1970). :

The Supreme Court has recognized that the

exposure of a witness' motivation in testifying is a

proper and important function of the constitutionally

protected right of cross-examination. Davis v. Alaska,

415 U.S. 308, 317 (1974) The jurors were entitled to

have the benefit of the defense theory before them so

that they could make an informed judgment as to the

weight to place on Richardson, Murray, Seldon and

Dugan’s testimony which provided "a crucial link in

24

DORE ANG BAPE: StI IRB ILRI ELIE TOLER OT

i sR MERGE TIL teat

Sd

3

S

et

é

i

b

3

%

x

DORON BAT. BPN AI MOE DOSE TONNE ET LO Te NTT PORE

the proof . . . of petitioner's act." Douglas v. Alabama,

380 U.S., at 419.

The accuracy and truthfulness of Richardson’s

testimony were key elements in the State's case

against petitioner. The claim of bias which the defense

sought to develop was admissible to afford a basis for

an inference of undue pressure because of

Richardson’s concern about her sister. While the jury

was allowed to know that Richardson had made a

deal with the State authorities in exchange for her

testimony, they were not allowed to know that the

trial version of her testimony was first placed before

the Federal Grand Jury in an effort to save her sister.

On these facts it seems clear that defense counsel

should have been permitted to expose to the jury the

facts from which jurors, as the sole triers of fact and

credibility, could appropriately draw inferences

relating to the reliability of the witness. Petitioner

Slaughter was thus denied the right of effective

cross-examination.

"An abuse of discretion has occurred if the jury is

left without 'sufficient information concerning

formative events to make a "discriminating appraisal"

of a witness's motives and bias." United States v.

Twomey , 806 F.2d 1136, 1140 (1st Cir. 1986) (quoting

United States v. Campbell , 426 F.2d 547, 550 (2d Cir.

1970)).

JURY INSTRUCTIONS

The Court refused to allow Slaughter’s requested

jury instruction D-5 and D-unnumbered, his care and

caution instructions.

The instruction D-5 read:

The testimony of an alleged accomplice is to 4

be considered and weighed with great care f

and caution and suspicion. You may give it

such weight and credit as you deem it is H

entitled. | -

(CP 632)

Jury instruction D-unnumbered reads:

The testimony of one who provides evidence

against the defendant for immunity from

punishment must always be examined and

weighed by the jury with greater care and

caution than the testimony of ordinary

witnesses. You the jury should consider and

weigh such testimony with great care and

caution and suspicion. You may give it such

weight and credit as you deem it is entitled.

(CP 630)

Both instructions were refused. (RE 126-129; 28,

29, T 667-670; CP 630,32) _

Slaughter’s position is that care and caution

instructions should have been given with regard to

Richardson, Murray, Seldon and Dugan. Since the

trial court excluded testimony regarding the

immunity agreements it did not allow the instructions

with regard to Murray, Seldon and Dugan. The Trial

Court refused D-5 based on the fact that Richardson

was indicted as an accessory after the fact and not as

an accomplice. Instructing the jury regarding

26 -

NEE ee aie Fa act oedasiseh ech Coun Gl Suite a hate

ee OE!

Kg EROS ARAN DOE ARLE APOIO RE TT RR EE REE RA PN

Richardson’s testimony should not rest solely on her

classification as a co-defendant or accomplice but on

whether she received some “favor or benefit” for her

testimony. She did and the jury should have been

instructed regarding her testimony.

Four witnesses, Murray, Seldon, Dugan, and

Richardson gave their direct testimony against

Slaughter’s alleged involvement with the shooting in

exchange for valuable considerations - immunity,

freedom from jail, and vicarious freedom for one’s

sister. Cautionary instructions have been approved

by many state and federal courts, See i.e. United States

v. D’Antignac, 628 F.2d 428 (5th Cir. 1980) cert denied,

450 U.S. 967 (1981); Wilkerson v. United States, 591

Fed.2d 1221 (5th Cir. 1979). It has been held to be

plain error to fail to give such instructions in a

compensated witness case. United States v. Bradfield,

103 F.3d 1207, 1216-1217 (5th Cir. 1997) Mississippi

case law also recognizes cautionary instructions

should be give. McNeal v. State, 551 So.2d 151 (Miss.

1989) and Sherrel v. State, 622 So.2d 1233 (Miss. 1993)

under the right circumstances. Here the trial court as

well as the appellate court denied the defendants

requested instructions.

As part of the Sixth Amendment the accused in a

criminal prosecution shall enjoy the right to a speedy

and public trial by an impartial jury.” Sullivan v.

Louisiana, 508 U.S. 275, 278 (1993) It is an integral part

of a fair trial that the jury be fully and correctly

instructed.. The Chapman harmless error standard

recognizes that “certain constitutional errors, no less

than other errors, may have been “harmless” in terms

of their effect on the fact-finding process at trial.

Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 475 U.S. 673, 681 (1986). The

question is “whether the guilty verdict actually

27

rendered in this trial was surely unatrributable to the

error.” 508 U.S. 275, 279. In the absence of proper

instructions, the court can only speculate what a

reasonable jury would have done. And when it does

that, “the wrong entity judge[s] the defendant guilty.”

Rose v. Clark, 478 U.S. 570, 578 (1986).

Considering the fact that Richardson gave

contradictory statements, and allegedly came forward

only on the eve of her sister’s arrest, a cautionary

instruction should have been given. The State of

Mississippi in its brief before the Mississippi Supreme

Court conceded that the refusal to give the cautionary

instruction as to Richardson was error, but denied

that it was reversible error since the defendant was

not prejudiced thereby. (Relying on Knight v. State, 57

So.2d 161 (Miss. 1952) On appeal the State argued

that this was because her testimony was corroborated

in pertinent respects by other witnesses and she was

subject to cross-examination. The truth is Richardson

was the only eyewitness who could purportedly

identify Slaughter as the shooter. Richardson’s first

statements to the police exculpated Slaughter. The

corroborating witnesses were the ones who received

immunity agreements which were not disclosed to

the jury. The failure to grant cautionary instructions

as to all of the witnesses who had previously testified

regarding the events of April 29, 1998 was reversible

error. The failure to give the instructions effectively

deprived Jodon Slaughter of a fair trial by an

impartial jury under correct instructions of law.

CONCLUSION

The rulings set out in this Petition clearly show the

Trial Court and Mississippi Supreme Court erred in

their rulings regarding the proffered testimony and

28

TAF ae Rieceaer noe pt gmap: Ay MOORE TIS TT — —_

FA RS APC a A

the jury instructions. These ruling were in direct

contradiction of the holdings of the United States

Supreme Court and the in derogation of the rights

provided to Jodon Slaughter through the Sixth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution. This Petition should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

jut

Michael Crosby

Attorney At Law

2111 25th Ave.

Gulfport, MS 39501

228-822-2727

MS Bar No. 07888

APPENDIX

1. Slaughter v. Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT,{5

(Feb. 14, 2002).

2. Trial Court rulings on admission of testimony.

3. Slaughter v. Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT,{5

(Feb. 14, 2002). Order denying

rehearing (May 23, 2002)

4. Trial Court ruling on jury instructions.

|

:

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term 2001

Jodon Antonio Slaughter

Petitioner

v.

The State of Mississippi

Respondent

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

To The Mississippi Supreme Court

APPENDIX TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

Michael W. Crosby

Attorney at Law

Counsel of Record

2111 25th Ave.

Gulfport, MS 39501

228-822-2727

1.

APPENDIX

Slaughter v. Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT,45

(Feb. 14, 2002).

08

PPLE ISA IR IONE

4

PS

;

VY PATNA shia sahty ett RRNA AE OLE BEERS SLE I

b,

7

|

2

;

i

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF MISSISSIPPI

NO. 2000-KA-01533-SCT

JODON ANTONIO SLAUGHTER

v.

STATE OF MISSISSIPPI

DATE OF JUDGMENT: 2/11/2000

TRIAL JUDGE: HON. JERRY O. TERRY, SR.

APPEALED FROM: HARRISON COUNTY CIRCUIT COURT

ATTORNEY FOR APPELLANT:MICHAEL W. CROSBY

ATTORNEY FOR APPELLEE: OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY

GENERAL BY: DEWITT T. ALLRED

DISTRICT ATTORNEY: CONO A. CARANNA, II

NATURE OF THE CASE: CRIMINAL - FELONY DISPOSITION:

AFFIRMED - 02/14/2002 MOTION FOR REHEARING

FILED:3/25/2002; denied 5/23/2002

MANDATE ISSUED:5/30/2002

Before PITTMAN, C.J., EASLEY and GRAVES, JJ.

EASLEY, JUSTICE, FOR THE COURT:

1. Jodon Antonio Slaughter (Slaughter) was

found guilty of the murder of Kelvin Reynolds

(Reynolds) by a jury in the Circuit Court of Harrison

County, First Judicial District. A mandatory sentence of

life in prison was imposed on Slaughter. The trial court

denied Slaughter's motion for judgment

notwithstanding the verdict or alternatively, motion for

a new trial. Slaughter now appeals to this Court.

FACTS

42. At trial, a number of residents at the River 10

apartment complex in Gulfport, Mississippi, testified

about what they observed on April 29, 1998. Sharon

Patton (Patton), a resident of Apartment 70, was in the

living room of her upstairs apartment when she heard

an argument and a noise outside that "sounded like a

firecracker." When she looked outside, directly below

her balcony, she saw two men at a Ford Explorer. One

of the men was sitting inside it, "hunched over" on the

passenger side, and "the other man was reaching in

with a gun." She stated that she saw "something shiny"

that it looked like a "gun," and ran back inside. She

then heard two or three more shots. She did not see the

two men clearly enough to describe them.

43. Ronald Lawrence (Lawrence), a resident of

Apartment 69, was on his balcony at about 9:30 p.m.,

when he became aware of an apparent argument or

fight between two men. He saw a gun that was

described as "nickel-plated,” and he saw a_ "silvery

flash." He heard a bang and ran inside. He testified that

he may have heard a few more shots. Lawrence

recognized the victim, who had been there at the

apartment complex for a few weeks, but he was unable

to see the other man_ clearly enough to provide a

description.

94. Alicia Mitchell (Mitchell), a resident of

Apartment 53, was returning home from a shopping

trip at about 9:30 p.m. that night. She heard a sound like

a gunshot as she backed into a parking space

approximately "five or more car lengths" from the

Explorer. She saw what appeared to be "a person

leaning over someone else, leaning into a vehicle."

There was another couple of shots, and then "they"

raced up, got into another parked car, and sped out in

front of her car as they left the complex. She described

the car that passed directly in front of her as "a teal blue

colored car, a Mustang style." She went to the Explorer,

A nO HE hae sch RATE NTR eee Te ETT

Se re oe teens retrace ot

where she confirmed her assumption that someone has

been shot.

5. A number of Gulfport police personnel

participated in the case. Officer Adam Cooper (Officer

Cooper) responded to a "shots fired" call and found the

deceased in the Ford Explorer. Officer Charles Horne

(Officer Horne) collected shell-casings from an

automatic weapon that night at the scene of the

shooting. Subsequently, he recovered a projectile which

a resident of the apartments had found. Officer Horne

also identified fragments of metal and fragments of lead

projectiles recovered during the autopsy of the victim

and some cell phones and_ beepers recovered at the

scene of the shooting. Detective Kevin Raymond

(Detective Raymond) collected evidence from the

interior of Reynolds's van, including three beepers, two

of which were found on the center console and one of

which was found in the front passenger door

compartment. Detective Gregory Herman (Detective

Herman) found the gun in the storm drain on August

25, 1998. Detective Rosario Ing (Detective Ing)

reviewed a videotape of the Grand Casino's valet

parking area taken at 9:08 p.m. on the night of the

murder and identified Slaughter.

16. Valerie Seldon (Valerie) was an employee at

the Grand Casino in Gulfport and a resident of

Apartment 72. At the time prior to the shooting,

Reynolds had been staying with her for two or three

weeks while in the process of moving to the coast from

Atlanta, Georgia, to start a pager and cellular phone

repair business. Valerie and Reynolds became

acquainted at the casino. She also met Slaughter at the

same time as Reynolds.

47. During the day of April 29th, Reynolds was

at the apartment, where Valerie observed him

"constantly on the phone," "antsy" and "nervous." To

her personal knowledge, he spoke with Slaughter

several times during the day, and, to her personal

knowledge, Reynolds knew that Slaughter was coming

to Gulfport. Slaughter also wanted to use Reynolds's

truck. She last saw Reynolds between 6:30 p.m. and

8:00 p.m., when she fell asleep. Valerie first learned of

Reynolds's death when the police came to her

apartment later that night.

48. Darryl Screven (Screven), a casino host at the

Grand Casino, became acquainted with Slaughter

sometime during 1996 or 1997, in connection with his

casino employment. He met Reynolds during a trip to

Atlanta to meet with Slaughter.

49. In April of 1998, Slaughter called Screven and —

informed him that he would be coming to Gulfport

with Ken Ogletree (Ogleree) to patronize the Grand

Casino. Screven met Slaughter, Ogletree and Tracy

Stepney (Stepney) at the casino and had lunch with

them on Wednesday, the day of the murder.

410. At about 7:00 that evening, Screven received

a phone call from Reynolds, who said that Slaughter

wanted to go to a shopping mall. However, only

Screvens and Stepney went to the mall and returned to

the casino at about 8:45 p.m.

4/11. Screven left to go home. On the way, he

received a "succession of beeps" from Slaughter and

Reynolds. He stopped and called Slaughter, who asked

him to come back to the casino. An arrangement had

been made for Reynolds to bring his vehicle to the

casino so that Slaughter could use it to go to New

Orleans. Reynolds would then need a ride from the

casino back to Valerie's apartment. Screven called

Reynolds, who told him "basically the same thing."

Screven returned to the casino, but Slaughter had

departed. He called Valerie's apartment to find out if

Reynolds was coming to the casino. When Screven

spoke with Valerie, she told him "nothing concrete." He

waited at the casino about ten minutes and then went

home.

4412. Screven learned later that night that

Reynolds had been killed. Subsequently Screven was

questioned by the police. The next morning, Slaughter

called him to talk about checking out of the casino's

hotel. Screven told Slaughter about Reynolds's

"demise" and "that the police were looking for

Slaughter."

13. Caroline Patton (Patton), a valet at Grand

. Casino, was working on the night of April 29, 1998. She

knew Regina Richardson (Richardson) and was familiar

with her car, a green Mustang. At about 9:00 p.m. or

9:15 p.m., that night, she saw Richardson at the casino

with two men and a woman. Screven called, and Patton

gave the phone to one of the men with Richardson, who

spoke briefly with Screven. The car was brought

around, and Patton saw the man who had talked on the

phone to Screven get into Richardson's green Mustang

and drive away. She could not say whether or not all

three of the people got into Richardson's car. Screven

called again, and she told him that they had just left.

14. Richardson, a dealer at the Grand Casino,

become acquainted with Slaughter through her

employment. She did not know Reynolds. She saw

Slaughter at the casino early in the afternoon of April

29th, and they made plans at that time to go to New

Orleans that night with two other people when she got

off work. When she got off work at 7:00 p.m., she went

home and changed clothes, got her green Mustang, and

returned to the casino, where Slaughter and Ogletree

were still gambling. By about 9:00 p.m., she met

Slaughter, Ogletree and Stepney in one of the hotel

rooms, and they made plans to go out for the evening.

Richardson had to take Slaughter to pick up this truck

before going out for the evening. Since Richardson

worked early the next day, they agreed that the four of

them would go out somewhere locally afterwards

instead of going to New Orleans.

15. During the evening, both in the casino and

in the hotel room, Richardson was present when

Slaughter talked on the phone numerous time with

Reynolds. In the hotel room, Richardson saw Slaughter

with a gun and put the holstered gun on his belt by his

hip. It was Richardson's understanding from her

conversations with Slaughter that he needed to pick up

his friend's truck. Stepney asked Richardson whether

she knew where Valerie lived. Richardson knew the

apartment complex but she found Valerie's exact

address by calling information.

16. Downstairs, Stepney changed her mind

about going with them and went back into the hotel.

Richardson drove Slaughter and Ogletree to the River

10 Apartments in her car.

17. En route, Slaughter, who was in the front

passenger seat, spoke on the telephone two or three

times with Reynolds. At the entrance to the apartment

complex, Slaughter told Reynolds on the telephone that

he was still at the casino. Slaughter told Reynolds to

bring his vehicle to the casino and leave the keys with

the valet. Slaughter told Reynolds that Screvens would

give Reynolds a ride home. Slaughter also had spoken

on the phone with Screvens and also had "led

[Screvens] to believe that he was still at the casino" and

that Reynolds would be delivering the vehicle to the

casino.

]18. Richardson drove around the apartment

complex until Slaughter and Ogletree located the

vehicle. She drove past the vehicle, a Ford Explorer, to

the end of the parking area and was told to turn off her

lights. She turned her car around and parked about one

car past the Ford Explorer. Before she was completely

stopped, Slaughter, without saying anything, got out of

the car. Richardson did not know Reynolds, but she

Saw a man standing outside a ground-floor apartment.

419. Slaughter disappeared from Richardson's

view. She parked the car, sat there for a couple of

seconds, and turned to speak to Ogletree in the back

seat. As she did so, she heard gunshots. She looked out

and saw Slaughter at Reynolds's Explorer with the

same "silver, big, shiny gun" in his hand that she had

seen at the hotel.

20. She put the car in reverse, intending to flee,

but Ogletree's presence indicated to her that she "could

not leave," that she "had 'trouble' in [her] back seat." So

she stopped, and Slaughter got back into the car.

Richardson testified that "there was conversation that

went sort of like - - and I'm paraphrasing: 'I killed him.

I shot the m-----f-----." Slaughter gave the gun to

Ogletree and tried not to made a mess with the blood

on his clothes.

421. While driving back to the Grand Casino,

they were stopped at a railroad crossing. Slaughter and

Ogletree got out of the car. Slaughter then broke the

gun into pieces and dropped the pieces into a drain

pipe.

422. Back at the Grand Casino, Ogletree got out

of the car, and Slaughter instructed Richardson to drive

him to her house. They got to her house about 10:00

p.m. Slaughter put his bloodied clothes into a trash bag,

took a shower, and put on a set of Richardson's

workout clothes.

423. Richardson gave Stepney directions to the

house on the telephone, and Stepney drove Ogletree

over to Richardson's house. Ogletree brought Slaughter

some new clothes, talked with Slaughter and then took

the trash bag with him when he left.

24. Slaughter indicated that Ogletree was

"supposed to go and discard the garments." He also

told Richardson the story he wanted her tell the police

about where they had been and what they had been

doing that night. While Slaughter was still at the house,

Richardson called her sister, Kelly Seldon (Seldon), in

Atlanta and told her what had really happened. At

about 1:00 a.m., Richardson drove Slaughter to a motel

in the Moss Point/ Pascagoula area where Ogletree and

Stepney were waiting for him. Slaughter got out of the

car and told Richardson to "keep it together," and

Richardson drove home.

25. At work the next day, Richardson was

picked up by the police and questioned. Thereafter, she

had a telephone conversation with Slaughter. When

she was questioned by the police, Richardson told them

the story that Slaughter had fabricated. About two days

after the murder, Richardson went to Atlanta and met

with Slaughter.

26. Richardson was indicted for accessory to

murder, after the fact, and she subsequently told the

police what actually had happened that night and told

them the location of the gun in the drain. The

indictment was dropped with prejudice in exchange for

her agreement to testify eeaaiieias as in the prosecution of

Slaughter.

727. Crime Lab Technician Steve Byrd (Byrd), a

forensic firearms examiner, test-fired the gun

submitted to him for purposes of comparison with the

bullets and shell-casings. He described the gui has

having a "stainless steel finish." In Byrd's opinion, the

gun's class characteristics were consistent with its

having been the gun that fired the projectiles. He

considered the gun as a possible source for discharging

the components; however, the particular components

could not be positively included or excluded as having

been discharged. Byrd could not state that the gun was

the only source to discharge the components. Byrd

testified that the gun's rusted condition could have had

"an adverse effect on known test standards."

928. Richardson's roommate, Rhonda Reyna

(Reyna), testified that she, her boyfriend, and

Richardson's daughter came back to the apartment at

about 10:00 p.m. after seeing a movie. Richardson and

Slaughter were at the apartment. Later, another man

came to the apartment. Richardson asked Reyna to

hand her a trash bag that was in the living room. The

second man left the apartment soon afterwards, but she

did not see him leave.

429. Lemuel Murray (Murray) and Slaughter

both worked for a car dealership in Atlanta. About ten

days to two weeks prior to April 29, 1998, Murray and

Slaughter spoke on the telephone and, at Slaughter's

request, Murray went to Slaughter's home to talk with

him. Slaughter told Murray that Reynolds "was a f------

rat, and he had people coming up from Miami bringing

him a silencer, and he was going to blow Kelvin

Reynolds's f----— head off."

430. The next time Murray spoke with Slaughter

was on April 30, 1998, the day after the murder of

Reynolds. Slaughter called Murray to tell him that he

had just gotten back from Mississippi and that he was

going to come by the car dealership to talk with

Murray. When Slaughter came over there later, he

asked Murray if he had heard what had happened to

Reynolds last night. Murray replied that he had not.

Slaughter told him that "the word was on the street that

[I] had killed Kelvin Reynolds." Slaughter then talked

on the phone with Ogletree, and, as he was leaving the

dealership he said to Murray, "Do you think they got

the message?"

431. Linda Dugan (Dugan), a resident of Georgia

and Slaughter's former spouse, knew Reynolds for less

than a year. Prior to his departure from Georgia on or

about April 29th, Slaughter invited Dugan to go to

Gulfport with him, but she did not go with him. On the

night of April 29-30, 1998, Slaughter called Dugan and

stated he was in Mississippi. She asked him if he was

"taking care of business", and he said, "Yes, you'll read

about it [in the paper]." She did not know at the time

what his "business" in Mississippi was, except that he

was going there to gamble. Later on the morning of the

30th, at about 10:00 a.m., Slaughter called her again and

asked her if she had heard what had happened to

Reynolds.

432. Richardson's sister, Seldon, stated that on

the night of the murder, Richardson called and told her

about the murder. Seldon did not know Reynolds. She

had met Slaughter on an occasion when they both were

gambling at the Grand Casino in Gulfport, but the first

time she "actually met him eye to eye" was when he

showed up at her house a day or two after Reynolds

was killed. Richardson was at Seldon's house at the

time, and Richardson left Seldon's house with

Slaughter. Thereafter, Seldon became personally

acquainted with Slaughter and he stated that Reynolds

was “his best friend and he hated what he had to do to

him."

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES

I. Whether the trial court erred by refusing to.

allow disclosure to the jury of evidence of federal

prosecution immunity agreements.

Il. Whether the prosecutor's opening and closing

arguments were prejudicial.

III. Whether the trial court erred by refusing to

allow a "great care and caution" jury instruction.

DISCUSSION

I. Immunity Agreements

433. Slaughter first complains that the trial court

erred by refusing to allow him to disclose federal

immunity agreements to the jury for material witnesses.

The specific witnesses in question are Murray, Seldon,

Dugan and Richardson. The State of Mississippi also

had an immunity agreement with Richardson in regard

to the murder of Reynolds.

434. This Court has held that "reversible error

results when evidence of an immunity agreement

between the State and its key witness is removed from

the jury's consideration." Morgan v. State, 703 So.2d 832,

840 (Miss.1997)(citing King v. State, 363 So.2d 269, 274

(Miss.1978); Suan v. State, 511 So.2d 144, 146-48

(Miss.1987); Foster v. State, 508 So.2d 1111, 1112-15

(Miss.1987); Malone v. State, 486 So.2d 367, 367-69

(Miss.1986); Fuselier v. State, 468 So.2d 45, 51-52

(Miss.1985)).

35. Slaughter claims that witnesses, Murray,

Seldon, Dugan and Richardson, testified to having

immunity agreements and their testimony should have

been disclosed to the jury. (FN1)

36. Murray testified at trial. In a proffer before

the judge and outside the presence of the jury, Murray

testified that he received use immunity from the

federal government concerning alleged crimes

involving Slaughter and Reynolds. The trial judge

excluded this information stating that the federal

immunity given Murray had nothing to do with the

prosecution of Slaughter in the murder case. The trial

judge stood by this ruling and excluded the testimony

as to the immunity pursuant to M.R.E. 403.

137. At trial, defense counsel maintained that

Seldon had a use immunity agreement with the federal

government as indicated in federal grand jury

testimony. Further, Slaughter cites federal jury

testimony that indicates Seldon had a cooperation /use

immunity agreement.

38. The State stipulated, based on federal grand

jury testimony, that Dugan had entered into an

immunity agreement with the federal government. The

type of immunity, use or transactional, was unknown

to the State. The federal grand jury testimony, is also

unclear as to the type of immunity granted to Dugan.

"[A]Jn_ appellant is responsible for bringing to our

attention and presenting to this court a record of trial

proceedings sufficient to undergird his assignments of

error." Winters v. State, 473 So.2d 452, 457 (Miss. 1985).

39. Richardson testified in a proffer of evidence

by Slaughter and outside the presence of the jury. On

cross-examination by the State, she stated that her

immunity from the federal government had nothing to

do with this trial. Furthermore, the federal government

was not investigating her nor was she facing federal

charges. Subsequently, Richardson testified before the

jury that she was indicted for accessory to murder by

the State of Mississippi. In addition, she stated that in

exchange for statements and cooperating in the

investigation, the indictment against her was dropped

with prejudice.

440. The trial judge did not allow any proffer or

testimony from the federal case to go before the jury.

Further, he stated that the immunity agreement for the

accessory after the fact indictment was already before

the jury.

q41. Murray, Seldon and Dugan were never

indicted in Mississippi in connection with the murder

of Reynolds. Their immunity was solely with the

federal government concerning other alleged crimes

separate and distinct from the murder of Reynolds.

From the record, it appears that they received use

immunity agreements. While these witnesses may have

known of some alleged involvement of Slaughter in the

murder of Reynolds, there is no indication that the

federal government offered any immunity from

prosecution concerning the Reynolds murder.

142. Richardson also, apparently, had immunity

from the federal government. However, she was also

indicted by the State of Mississippi as an accessory after

the fact for the murder of Reynolds. There was an

immunity agreement between Richardson and the State

of Mississippi. In exchange for truthful testimony and

cooperation with the State of Mississippi in the

prosecution of Slaughter for the murder of Reynolds,

the State dropped the indictment with prejudice against

Richardson. This was complete immunity from State

prosecution. The immunity agreement between

Richardson and the State of Mississippi was disclosed to

the jury at trial.

143. As to the federal immunity agreements for

the witnesses, no promise was made not to prosecute

the witnesses in regard to the murder of Reynolds. The

federal case did not focus on Reynolds's murder, but on

other alleged federal crimes. Richardson, the key

witness of the State of Mississippi in the Reynolds

murder trial was offered complete immunity by the

prosecution in exchange for truthful testimony. The

immunity agreement between the State and Richardson

was before the jury. Therefore, the issue is without

merit.

II. Opening and closing statements

144. Slaughter next complains of prosecutorial

misconduct in opening and closing statements.

Standard of Review

1/45. The standard of review that appellate courts

must apply to lawyer misconduct during opening

statements or closing arguments is whether the natural

and probable effect of the improper argument is to

create unjust prejudice against the accused so as to

result in a decision influenced by the prejudice so

created. Sheppard v. State, 777 So.2d 659, 660 (Miss.

2000)(citing Ormond v. State, 599 So.2d 951, 961

(Miss.1992)).

A. Opening Statements

446. Slaughter claims that during opening

statements the prosecution stated alleged facts that

could not reasonably be expected to offer into evidence.

The prosecutor stated the following in his opening

statement:

Remember, this happened April 29 of

1998. In August, I think the 25th, almost

four months to the day, she told the police

the rest of the story. And they went out on

Railroad Street in the City of Gulfport and

started checking storm drains. And guess

what they found: A silver 9 millimeter

pistol down in the storm drain with the

handle busted off of it. Guess what else

they found when they cleaned the rust off

of it and got the solvents and cleaned it

engraved on the barrel: "Walt Stepney, Jr."

It's Tracy Stepney's daddy's gun she had

given to Jodon to fix. It's still got "Stepney"

written on it. (emphasis added).

Slaughter claims that there was no expectation that

Tracy Stepney's father gave her the gun, nor that she

had given the gun to Slaughter to "fix." Further, he

argues that at the first opportunity an objection was

made and he moved for a mistrial.

47. A careful review of the record reveals that

Slaughter made no contemporaneous objection during

the prosecutor's opening statement. The first time

Slaughter brought this issue to the trial court's attention

was after the prosecution completed its opening

statement and prior to the defense's opening statement.

This Court held that "[i]f no contemporaneous objection

is made, the error, if any, is waived." Walker v. State, 671

So.2d 581, 597 (Miss. 1995) (citing Foster v. State, 639

So.2d 1263, 1270 (Miss. 1994)). Hill v. State, 432 So.2d

427, 439 (Miss. 1983). An appellate court is under no

obligation to review an assignment of error when an

objection was not made or when an objection was

untimely. Carr v. State, 655 So.2d 824, 832 (Miss. 1995).

The contemporaneous objection rule is in place to

enable the court to correct an error with proper

instructions to the jury whenever possible. Gray v. State,

487 So.2d 1304, 1312 (Miss. 1986) (citing Baker v. State,

327 So.2d 288, 292-93 (Miss. 1976)).

48. The trial court addressed a number of issues

at this time, including the prosecutor's opening

statements. Slaughter simply requested a mistrial based

on the prosecutor's comments. The trial court

overruled the motion for mistrial. Clearly, Slaughter is

procedurally barred for lack. of a contemporaneous

objection.

49. As to Slaughter's motion for mistrial, the

standard of review for a denial of a motion for mistrial

is abuse of discretion. Spann v. State, 771 So.2d 883, 889

(Miss. 2000). Witherspoon v. State, 441 So.2d 1363 (Miss. —

1983). However, an objection is usually made before a

motion for mistrial. The objection provides the trial

court an opportunity to sustain an objection, and if

requested admonish the jury to disregard the remark.

450. This Court has held that trial judge is in the

best a position to determine if an alleged objectionable

remark has a prejudicial effect. Roundtree v. State, 568

So.2d 1173, 1177 (Miss. 1990). "The judge is provided

considerable discretion to determine whether the

remark is so prejudicial that a mistrial should be

declared." Id. at 1778. If serious and irreparable damage

has not occurred, then the trial judge should direct the

jury to disregard the remark. Id. at 1778.

951. In the case sub judice, Slaughter failed to

contemporaneously object at trial to the statements

made by the prosecution. As such, any error is waived.

Walker v. State, 671 So.2d at 597.

452. Procedural bar aside, the opening statement

by the prosecution was not unduly prejudicial. The trial

court warned the jury prior to opening statements,

stating "Opening statements are intended to assist you

in understanding how the evidence will unfold from

the witness stand itself. You must keep in mind that

these opening statements are not in evidence. You are

not to consider it as evidence. It's sort of an outline that

you can follow." This Court has held that "[t]he

purpose of an opening statement is to inform the jury

what a party to the litigation expects the proof to show.

Sometimes the proof does not follow the expectations

of the party's attorney in opening statement and, if so,

that failure usually militates against the party."

Crenshaw v. State, 513 So.2d 898, 900 (Miss. 1987).

4/53. The jury was properly instructed by the trial

judge that opening statements are not evidence. As to

the motion for mistrial, Slaughter failed to make a

contemporaneous objection on which the judge could

make a ruling. There was no error and no abuse of

discretion by the trial judge in allowing the

prosecution's opening statement to be heard by the jury

and in overruling the motion for mistrial. B. Closing

Statements

54. Slaughter also claims that the prosecutor

again referred to matters not in evidence in closing

argument. Slaughter cites the following excerpts from

the prosecutor's closing argument:

We also talked about the various rules of

court; that it was not a function of you as

jurors to rule on the various objections

that would come form the attorneys.

There is obviously -- even more than I

think either Mr. Crosby or I could have

anticipated -~but there is a wealth of

information that's been developed over

the last two years about this case. As is

obvious to you now, a lot of it was not

able to be given to you under these rules

of court from either side.

Mr. Crosby: Objection, Your

Honor.

The Court: Don't comment on

what was not given.

Mr. Crosby: And move for a

mistrial with respect to his improper

comment.

The Court: Overruled. The jury will

disregard the argument that there was

something that you did not hear.

Proceed.

Slaughter also cites the following closing excerpt:

I mean, what a coincidence. What a

strange little turn of events. And I've got

to tell you, as a prosecutor who needs

some luck now and then, when you get

this gun back there, you're going to have

to turn the paper so you can see it.

Manipulate it around right here. Right

engraved on that barrel there: "Walt

Stepney, Jr." What a little piece of

coincidence that the girl, who at the time

the defendant was beating this on the

ground and stuffing it in the drainage

pipe over on 42nd Avenue, the girl, whose

father owns this gun, is at the Grand

Casino packing everything in a duffel bag

fixing to get the hell out of Gulfport and

back to Atlanta. What a little funny turn of

a coincidence they would have you

believe. Consistent with Regina's story,_

what she told the police four months later.

755. This Court has held that attorneys are

allowed wide latitude in closing arguments. Holly v.

State, 716 So.2d 979, 988 (Miss. 1998); Wilcher v. State,

697 So.2d 1087, 1010 (Miss. 1997). In addition, the "court

should also be very careful in limiting free play of

ideas, imagery, and personalities of counsel in their

argument to [a] jury." Ahmad v. State, 603 So.2d 843, 846

(Miss. 1992). Any alleged improper comment must be

viewed in context, taking the circumstances of the case

into consideration. Id. The trial judge is in the best a

position to determine if an alleged objectionable

remark has a prejudicial effect. Roundtree, 568 So.2d at

1177.

9756. If sustaining the objection alone is

considered to be inadequate to remove the alleged

prejudicial effect of the objected matter from the minds

of the jury, then the court must be requested to instruct

the jury to disregard the matter. Anderson v. Jaeger, 317

So.2d 902, 906 (Miss. 1975). The jury is presumed to

understand that the court disapproves of any testimony

when an objection is sustained. Estes v. State, 533 So.2d

437, 439 (Miss. 1988).

757. In the closing argument a prosecutor is

allowed to argue evidence that has been admitted.

Brooks v. State, 763 So.2d 859, 864 (Miss. 2000). However,

“arguing statements of fact that are not in evidence or

necessarily inferable from it which are prejudicial to the

defendant is error." Id. Dancer v. State, 721 So.2d 583

(Miss. 1998); Banks v. State, 725 So.2d 711 (Miss. 1997).

This Court does not condone the prosecution stating

matters not in evidence and potentially causing the

jury to disfavor the defendant. Brooks, 763 So.2d at 864;

Banks, 725 So.2d at 711.

q58. "The test for determining if improper

argument by the prosecutor to the jury requires

reversal is 'whether the natural and probable effect of

the improper argument of the prosecuting attorney is

to create an unjust prejudice against the accused as to

result in a decision influenced by the prejudice so

created." Brooks, 763 So.2d at 864 (quoting Davis v. State,

660 So.2d 1228, 1248 (Miss. 1995)).

459. Slaughter claims that the reference to the

gun by the prosecution, in the opening and closing

statements, is the only link to show how he allegedly

acquired the gun that was used in the shooting. In the

case sub judice, the statements made by the

prosecution do not warrant reversal. The fact that the

prosecution commented on the ownership of the gun

does not rise to the level of unjust prejudice in this case.

460. The gun was admitted into evidence during

the testimony of Officer Herman. In addition,

Richardson testified that Stepney was with Slaughter,

Ogletree and her at the hotel on the night of the

murder. Since the gun is in evidence, any writings on

the gun would be proper for comment.

{61. Moreover, the testimony of numerous

witnesses at the apartment complex described a gun

that was shiny, silvery, or nickel-plated. Richardson

stated that she saw Slaughter place a "silver, big, shiny

gun" in a holster on his hip. Richardson also testified

that she heard shots being fired at the scene. Slaughter

had the same silver, shiny gun in his hand that he had

in the hotel. Furthermore, according to Richardson,

Slaughter returned to the car bloodied and stated

something along the line of "I killed him." The gun

allegedly was disposed of in a drain near a railroad

crossing by Slaughter and Ogletree. Information

provided by Richardson enabled the police to recover a

gun by the railroad crossing. The crime lab technician

testified that the recovered gun's characteristics were

consistent with it being the gun that fired the projectiles

and a possible source for discharging the components.

There is substantial testimony in the record pertaining

to the gun, separate and apart from the comments

made by the prosecution, to provide the jury with

enough information to link the recovered gun to

Slaughter. Accordingly, the facts of this case do not

warrant reversal. To the extent that any prejudice may

have arisen by the prosecutor's comments, the error is

harmless. This issue is without merit.

III. Great Care and Caution Jury Instruction

62. Slaughter contends that the trial court erred

in refusing jury instruction D-5 and D-unnumbered

pertaining to a great care and caution instruction.

Slaughter claims that Richardson was an accomplice to

the murder. In addition, Slaughter maintains that

should this Court agree with his immunity argument,

then the great care and caution instruction should also

apply to Murray, Seldon and Dugan. We find that there

was no error in excluding the proffered testimony as to

Murray, Seldon and Dugan's federal immunity and,

therefore, no such instruction should apply to them.

463. Jury Instruction D-5 read as follows:

The testimony of an alleged accomplice is

to be considered and weighed with great

care and caution and suspicion. You may

give it such weight and credit as you

deem it is entitled.

Jury instruction D-unnumbered reads as follows:

The testimony of one who provides

evidence against the defendant for

immunity from punishment must always

be examined and weighed by the jury

with greater care and caution than the

testimony of ordinary witnesses. You the

jury should consider and weigh such

testimony with great care and caution and

suspicion. You may give it such weight

and credit as you deem it is entitled.

Both instructions were refused by the trial court.

While Slaughter maintains that Richardson was an

accomplice, she was actually indicted by the State of

Mississippi as an accessory after the fact, not an

accomplice. Standard of review

464. It is within the discretion of the trial court to

grant a cautionary — instruction pertaining to the

testimony of an accomplice witness. Burke v. State, 576

S0.2d1239, 1242 (Miss. 1991). The discretion is not

absolute and may be abused. Id.

765. This Court, in Wheeler v. State, 560 So.2d 171

(Miss. 1990), held the following:

In Van Buren v. State, 498 So.2d 1224, 1229

(Miss.1986), this Court said, "the granting

of a cautionary instruction regarding the

testimony of an _ accomplice is

discretionary with the trial judge."

(Citations omitted). However, _ that

discretion is not absolute; it may be

abused. 522 So.2d at 754. (FN2)

The Derden case stated that two of the

aspects in determining whether a trial

judge has abused his _ discretion

concerning a "caution and suspicion"

instruction are: (1) was the witness an

accomplice; and, (2) was his testimony

without corroboration. In Green v. State,

456 So.2d 757, 758 (Miss.1984), this Court

said that a judge's discretion is subject to

abuse when the State's evidence rests

solely upon the testimony of an

accomplice and there is some question as

to the reasonableness and consistency of

the testimony, or the defendant's guilt is

not clearly proven.

See also Williams v. State, 729 So.2d 1181, 1188

(Miss. 1998); Holmes v. State, 481 So.2d 319, 323 (Miss.

1985).

466. This Court has defined an accomplice in

prior case law. "An accomplice is a person who is

implicated in the commission of a crime." Brewer v.

State, 725 So.2d 106, 124 (Miss. 1998). An accomplice

has also been defined by this Court as "a person who is

implicated in the commission of the crime. That is to

-say, that if the evidence admits a reasonable inference

that the witness may have been a co-perpetrator or the

sole perpetrator the cautionary instruction should be

given." Williams v. State, 729 So.2d 1181, 1188 (Miss.

1998)(citing Dedeaux v. State, 125 Miss. 326, 87 So.664

(1921)); Burke v. State, 576 So.2d at 1242.

467. An accessory after the fact has been defined

by this Court as "a person assisting one who has

completed the commission of a felony to avoid being

apprehended, arrested, convicted, etc." Chase v. State,

645 So.2d 829, 851 (Miss. 1994).

468. The Court of Appeals in Smothers v. State,

756 So.2d 779, 787 (Miss. Ct. App. 1999), had a similar

situation as the case at hand, in which the court held

the following:

The disputed jury instruction

characterized Carney as either a

co-defendant or an accomplice of

Smothers, even though Carey was only

charged as an accessory after the fact

which was later dismissed. A cautionary

instruction about accomplice testimony is

not required unless there is an accomplice.

Since Carney was neither an accomplice

nor a co-defendant and Smothers failed to

present any evidence to the contrary, the

cautionary instruction requested was

correctly denied, and this assignment of

error is without merit.

Likewise, Richardson was not an accomplice. She

was indicted for accessory after the fact. Further, her

testimony was corroborated by other witnesses. Since

the facts of the case sub judice fail to meet the Derden

test for giving cautionary instructions, the trial court

was within its discretion and correctly refused the

instruction. Accordingly, this issue is without merit.

CONCLUSION

69. For these reasons, the judgment of the

Circuit Court of Harrison County is affirmed.

470. CONVICTION OF MURDER AND

SENTENCE OF LIFE IMPRISONMENT IN THE

CUSTODY OF MISSISSIPPI DEPARTMENT OF

CORRECTIONS, AFFIRMED.

PITTMAN, CJ., McRAE AND SMITH, P_JJ.,

WALLER, COBB, DIAZ, CARLSON AND GRAVES,

JJ.. CONCUR.

(FN 1) Apparently, the F.B.I. and Secret Service had

been investigating a number of crimes in

Atlanta. These alleged crimes did not include the

murder of Reynolds although some of the

testimony concerned the murder.

(FN 2) Derden v. State, 522 So.2d 752, 759 (Miss. 1988).

APPENDIX

2. Trial Court rulings on admission of testimony.

Motion (Jury Out) [Transcript 115]

MR. SIMPSON: Your Honor, since we’re on the

record now, I would like to go ahead and -- this is based

on the objection that I made during the voir dire. I

would like to go ahead and move in limine to prohibit

the defense during opening statements from making

any reference to criminal conduct or conspiracy or any

criminal investigation by the FBI or Secret Service or the

Justice Department, or any other reference to the

criminal character of the victim, Kelvin Reynolds, until

some evidence is introduced to the same.

MR. CROSBY: We expect the testimony will be

that the items that the State just identified are all

material to the defense and will be brought out in both

the State’s case and the defense case. We expect that the

whole -- our whole theory of this defense is that the

reasons for the witnesses coming forward is because of

the federal investigation and the reasons for the whole

case is because of the federal [116] investigation; and

that without talking about character evidence of the

decease, we still -- the fact remains that he was involved

in extensive criminal activity with the defendant; and

that the State is going to - From my understanding,

unless I’m going to be completely surprised, the State is

contending that the motive behind this case is that the

defendant believed that the deceased was testifying

against him at a Federal Grand Jury, and that’s what all

the witnesses are going to -- for the State are

supposedly going to say, is that the defendant was

arguing with the deceased over his testimony against

him; and therefore, he murdered him. That's their

whole -- that their case. And I can’t believe that they

would even - I mean, when we expect that’s what the

testimony is going to be, I can’t imagine not being

allowed to summarize that in the opening statement.

MR. SIMPSON: Your Honor, the State doesn’t

have to prove motive, and we don’t have any intention

of attempting to fashion a motive for this crime. The

testimony may be elicited that there was an argument

about whether or not the deceased was a government

informant. But the state has no [117] intention of

developing direct testimony about a federal

investigation in Atlanta and the substance of that. The

defendant has prior convictions that are, in my opinion,

admissible under 404, and we may get into that. They

are for fraud and other crimen falsi type crimes. But

we're not putting on any federal agents in our case in

chief or anyone else who's going to testify that, you

know, these people, the defendant as well as the

deceased, were subjects of a federal investigation.

MR. CROSBY: Well, --

MR. SIMPSON: And I really don’t know how

that can be brought out other than through hearsay.

The only witness -- There was reference made in the

voir dire regarding all the deals that the State made, but

the only witness who has been given anything -- and it

wasn’t so much in exchange for testimony. Regina

Richardson was indicted in a separate indictment for

accessory after the fact, and that case has been

dismissed against her and she is expected to testify.

Some months ago that was done. But she is local, she’s

not from Georgia, and she has no knowledge -- has no

knowledge and will not be giving any direct testimony

as to any federal investigation.

[118] THE COURT: Well, how can the character

of the victim be introduced into evidence to begin with?

MR. CROSBY: I’m not going to talk about his

character. I’m going o talk about his criminal

involvement with the defendant, his testimony at the

Federal Grand Jury Level. I mean, just by the State

telling me this, it may modify the way I want to defend

the case. But I do think that if we expect in my defense

that this testimony is going to come out, we reasonably

believe it will come out, that we should be entitled to do

sO.

THE COURT: Well, I think maybe that you

might be correct if that evidence does come out. But

until such time as it does come out, it would be

improper -- If the State opens the door for you, then -

but up until that time, you can’t do it. And it would be

improper to make that in your opening statement, that

you expect that proof to be, the State saying it’s not

going to be, and that would be just in anticipation.

Now, if they open a door concerning this, then

certainly the ruling could be different. But at this point

in time, of course, the State is saying that it’s [119]

obvious they do not have to prove any motive for a

murder or a killing. It’s the fact that one occurred is all

that they've got to prove.

MR. CROSBY: Well, that may be all that they

have to prove, but out defense is going to be based on

that. And if they don’t bring it out, I submit that once

they start the case, they’ve opened the door for us to

prove our -- to bring out our defense, and our defense is

that this case was based on -- and is stemming directly

from the Federal Grand Jury investigation.

THE COURT: Is that a defense for a murder?

MR. CROSBY: It’s a defense that someone else

other than this defendant did it.

MR. SIMPSON: Well, that may. be, and we'll -

you know, if his client wants to take the stand and say,

you know, he has some information that that’s why the

deceased was killed, then we can address that on cross.

But, you know, certainly there are going to be some

things brought out, but not to the extent that I believe

the deceased -- you can in opening statement allege the

deceased was part of a criminal conspiracy. I don't

think that [120] can be established by the evidence. To

my knowledge, there’s no evidence that he testified

with the Federal Grand Jury. Certainly it’s not going to

come out in any direct evidence that he ever testified.

THE COURT: Well, all right. I sustain the

motion in limine as far as any comments in opening

statement concerning any criminal activity on the part

of the victim in this case. At some time in the testimony

if a door is opened concerning that, then the ruling will

be different.

MR. CROSBY: Well, I need to establish some

very clear rules because I don’t want to cause a mistrial.

But if I understand your ruling, I cannot tell the jury

that my client was talking to the deceased about --

asking the deceased whether or not he was cooperating

or giving information to the Federal authorities that

was conducting an investigation against many people;

and I cannot, apparently, tell the jury in my opening

statement that the defendant is expected to testify that

he was trying to get the deceased to bring his vehicle to

the Grand Casino to -- or to come to the Grand Casino

for the purpose of having a discussion with someone

above them in his criminal activity that they were [121]

doing for the -- to talk about and deny that he was

giving the information to the Federal authorities.

THE COURT: No, sir, you can’t do that because

that’s presupposing that at the appropriate time you're

going to put the defendant on the witness stand to

testify to this, because I take it that there were no other

-- Were there any eyewitnesses to this shooting?

MR. SIMPSON: Yes, sir; there are.

THE COURT: Anyone else heard those

statement made?

MR. SIMPSON: No, sir.

THE COURT: Then how is it going to be shown?

_ MR. CROSBY: He’s got at least three witnesses

that are going to testify that they overheard the

defendant or -- talk to the deceased; that the defendant

was trying to get the deceased to come to the Grand

Casino.

MR.-‘SIMPSON: To borrow his vehicle, correct.

MR. CROSBY: And they would talk about the

fact he was going to borrow the vehicle. But it's also

expected and integral to the defendant, a key part of the

defense, that the defendant, who is [122] expected tot

testify, that the reason why - that’s not the only reason

why he was supposed to come there. That they weren't

discussing all the details of why he was coming there on

the telephone; that they already met in person and

discussed it the night before, which is in the statement

of some of the other potential -- or other -- other

witnesses that the State has provided in discovery.

I’m submitting you right now that -- and I’m - I

am -- I mean, we’re doing this in limine, so I don’t guess

I’d have to re-raise it. I don’t -- I’m making a -- I'm not

asking you if — I mean, I’m not asking you the law, but

I'm stating this on the record that if we're not allowed

to lay out what we expect the evidence to show, that

we're being denied our right to make an opening

statement.

Opening statement is an important part of the

trial, and I’m moving for — I would move for a mistrial

right now rather than have to raise it again at the time

when I’m denied that right because your ruling right

now that I can’t do it, that I cannot make that part of my

opening statement of what I fairly believe the evidence

and testimony to show.

[123] The remedy to the State is to come back in

closing argument and say: “well, the defendant made

statements in -- made factual statements and he didn’t

prove it, and you can hold that against him.” The

remedy would not be for a judge to prohibit me from

making an opening statement as to what I fairly believe

the evidence will show. And I do. But he’s limiting me

and preventing me from being able to defend my case.

He’s telling me: “Well, I’m not going to talk about the

Federal Grand Jury.”

COURT REPORTER: Slow down, Mike.

MR. CROSBY: The prosecutor is saying --

THE COURT: All right. You’ve made your

point. Your request for a mistrial based upon my ruling

is overruled. The matter of reserving your opening

statement, you have a right to do that, and you can

reserve your opening statement; and then, of course, at

the time that you present your opening statement, you

can make such statements if the State has opened that

door and that avenue to raise that particular defense.

MR. CROSBY: I'll submit that we - that it’s

important in my belief --

[124; RE 47] THE COURT: Well, it’s important to

the -- it’s important, I realize, as far as what you’re

saying is important to your defense. But it’s also

important to justice in this case that no broad

statements be made in opening that may not be

presented during the course of the trial and put the

burden on the other party to then, in closing, say they

didn’t prove it. I’ve seen that done in many occasions,

and I -- and justice requires that you be held to that. So

that’s my ruling.

MR. CROSBY: I understand your ruling, and I

want to make sure that I follow your ruling.

THE COURT: I’m sure you will.

MR. CROSBY: Whether we agree or don’t agree,

you know, that irrelevant. | want to follow that ruling.

And I think what you told me right now is that you said

I could reserve it until a later time. But, of course, I

don’t want to reserve it. I want to hit it at the very

beginning before the jury hears any of the testimony,

which is the right of both the defendant and the

prosecutor to do that before they hear any testimony.

And I submit it is impairing my defense if I must wait

until after the State has its way, and then at [125; E 48]

that point I have to then -- you know, because I’m going

to make some kind of opening statement at the

beginning, and I don’t think that -- in all likelihood,

you're not going to let me make a second opening

statement before —

THE COURT: Oh, I certainly won't let you make

a second opening statement because the rules do not

allow it.

MR. CROSBY: So I’m not -- So in my judgment t

of how I should defend this case, I must make an

opening statement in order to properly defend it. And

by doing so and not being able to give what I -- what I

fairly expect the evidence to be, I’m being denied -- my

client is being denied his right to that which would be

entitled by making a opening statement.

THE COURT: You have your record. You're

overruled on your motion.

Ready?

Opening Statements 146

(ALL COUNSEL APPROACHED THE BENCH,

AND THE FOLLOWING PROCEEDINGS WERE HAD

OUTSIDE THE HEARING OF THE JURY:) r

MR. CROSBY: Before I make my opening

statement and deciding whether I’m going to make it,

you want to have this hearing outside the presence of

the jury.

(BENCH CONFERENCE CONCLUDED, AND

THE FOLLOWING PROCEEDINGS WERE HAD IN

THE PRESENCE OF THE JURY:)

[147; RE53] THE COURT: Okay. The jury will

go with the bailiff, please.

(JURY OUT AT 2:25 P.M., AND THE

FOLLOWING PROCEEDINGS WERE HAD:)

MR. CROSBY: Your Honor, this is -- before we

make a decision as to whether to proceed with out

opening statement, I have to clarify a few issues in light

of your ruling. You previously ruled that I cannot

mention anything concerning the federal investigation,

even though it was my - our position that our defense

is based on he fact that there was a Federal Grand Jury

investigation, that there was criminal activity which

was taking place unrelated to a murder, most of which

was taking place in Atlanta.

Now, the prosecutor has made reference to Buck

Murray and to Linda Dugan -- Linda Dugan is the

ex-wife of my client -- and statements that my client

allegedly made to those people. It is our position that

the statements that Buck Murray is expected to come in

here and testify to can be explained only by discussing

the other criminal activity that was taking place. The

conversation between my client and Buck Murray took

place concerning stolen Jeeps that Buck Murray [148; RE

54] was involved with with the deceased, Kelvin, and

that he -- that Buck Murray allegedly - or claims hat

my client allegedly made a statement that there was

going to be people from Miami come over and kill the

decease.

It is our - It is integral to our defense that we be

allowed to put into evidence that Darryl Brown, who

was mentioned throughout all the Grand Jury — Federal

Grand Jury transcripts by all the witnesses, was a

higher up person who we believe was the person who

was responsible for this, and he was, in fact, from

Miami.

Additionally, Linda Dugan testified against my

client in the Federal Grand Jury, and she was convicted

for federal charges. And that would certainly go to her

motive and reasons for testifying -- or making

statements against my client, and I submit that we

should be allowed to bring that out, any motive or bias

that the witnesses would have against us, and also our

theory of the defense in our opening statement. And

the prosecutor has opened a door in that these are

people who were involved in that federal investigation

and their motives would have to e explored and

disclosed in all fairness to defend the [149; RE 55]case,

and we certainly expect that this would come out.

Additionally, Regina Richardson did, in fact,

testify in front of the Grand Jury, and a lot of the -- a lot

of the things that she heard and, we're going to submit,

misunderstood can be explained only if we are allowed

to tell the whole story by way of the criminal activity of

Kelvin and the suspected belief this Kelvin was a

federal informant. And actually, the State is going to

say that it was - in reality it was Buck Murray who

was the federal informant as opposed to Kelvin

Reynolds, but that that was misunderstood. That is

their position that they actually have advised me.

And then finally, with respect to Tracy Stepney,

the prosecutor in opining statement made two

statements that Tracy Stepney is allegedly going to

testify to, one of which is that she did not want to go --

she said -- the prosecutor said Tracy Stepney did not

want to go with Regina and Jodon; she wanted to stay

at the hotel.

Another statement was that Tracy Stepney gave

Jodon a relative’s gun, which is the one they submit was

used in the killing, to clean. Now, Tracy Stepney is a

[150; RE 56] defendant in this case. The prosecutor is

only allowed, as I am, only allowed to give in opening

statement a rendition of what we reasonably expect

what we will be able to prove by testimony.

As late as yesterday, it is my understanding that

Tracy Stepney is not going to be a witness in his case

and has not been offered any deal to testify in his case.

And after conferring with her attorney, it’s my

understanding that they -- if we call her, that they

would invoke their right to the Fifth Amendment

protections. So the prosecutor has injected these two

statements in the opening statement from a witness

who we are on notice is not going to be able to be called

by either party. And so that’s sort of a separate issue.

But Judge, I would move for a mistrial on the

basis of him improperly injecting onto evidence and

into opening statement things which he knows cannot

be proven and will not be proven or reasonably expect

to be proven during this trial.

So I’m asking you to, in light of how he has

phrased and boxed us into this, in light of the way he

has couched his opening [151; RE 57] statement, in light

of what I reasonable expect to submit, at this point, I

move that I should be allowed to, number one, talk

about our defense, that is, how it’s involved with the

Federal Grand Jury; and secondly, that we should be

entitled to a mistrial on the basis of the alleged

statements and information that could come only from

Tracy Stepney.

MR. SIMPSON: Let me start with the latter, if I

may. With regard to Stepney, the transcript will reflect

exactly what I said. I believe my statement was that

Regina Richardson will testify that Tracy Stepney

decided not to go with them at the time they were in the

valet area about to leave allegedly to go gambling and

partying; that she decided not to go and stayed at the

casino. Regina Richardson is going to say exactly that.

She is also going to say -- I think it’s Regina

Richardson is also going to say of her personal

knowledge that Tracy Stepney told her -- she had

personal knowledge that the gun that was used

belonged to Tracy Stepney’s dad because Stepney was

irritated the gun -- that her dad’s gun had been used

and disposed of. So That's Richardson's testimony. We

have [152; RE 58]no deal and they’re not calling

Stepney. That's testimony that can be elicited from

Regina Richardson and that’s all in the discovery.

That’s Regina Richardson's statement.

MR. CROSBY: Your Honor, as he said, the

transcript will bear out what the prosecutor said in his

opening statement. I remember it differently, but

reasonable people can remember things differently. I

think I’m correct on what I’m saying.

Nevertheless, a hearsay statement of Tracy

Stepney, I would submit, would not be allowed into

evidence, and I believe the prosecutor should know

this; and therefore, the statement was nonetheless

made. And for that reason, we should be entitled to a

mistrial.

MR. SIMPSON: I think I also said, Your Honor,

she saw the gun. Regina Richardson saw him put the

gun in his holster that night.

MR. CROSBY: Well, my objection is this

evidence that Tracy -- that the gun belonged -- that the

testimony is going to show what the prosecutor has told

the jury is that this was Tracy Stepney’s relative’s gun,

and that she gave it to Jodon Slaughter to be cleaned;

and she was upset [153; RE 59] about the fact he used

her gun — her relative’s gun in this killing.

I would like for him to tell us how that testimony

would be admissible without Tracy Stepney to testify to

those facts. And I submit you can’t do so; that Regina

cannot -- that even though Regina can say he had a gun

and the gun was put in the grate, or the police

recovered the gun and that engraved on it was the

name of Stepney, that’s one issue that could come in if

that’s what Regina wants to say.

But what I would submit would not come in was

that Tracy Stepney gave the gun to Jodon for the

purpose of having it cleaned, and that that was her

relative’s gun and that she was upset about Jodon using

that gun in an alleged killing.

Now, --

MR. SIMPSON: Your Honor, that’s not before

the jury. I didn’t say that in opening statements. I just

told you that in argument about the cleaning. That's

not before the jury. This is just a rabbit trail.

THE COURT: What's before -- What do you

have before the Court at this time, a motion for mistrial

based upon the statements of the prosecutor; is that

[154; RE 60] correct?

MR. CROSBY: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: That's overruled.

Now, what else do you have?

MR. CROSBY: I also have a motion to —

THE COURT: To reconsider the order in limine

concerning the Federal Grand Jury investigation and /or

the involvement of the victim in some criminal activity;

is that correct?

MR. CROSBY: That's part. And there’s also the

involvement of the other witnesses in criminal activity

in conjunction with my client and the deceased, and the

context --

THE COURT: Okay. As far as any criminal

activity on the part of the victim himself, I decline to

revisit that matter. You will not be able to go into that.

That is not admissible in evidence. The character or the

-- any crimes that the defendant may have been -- not

the defendant -- the victim may have been involved in

some fashion, that’s not admissible in our courts.

As far as the character or the credibility of the

witnesses that -- as they testify, you will be entitled to

[155; RE 61] cross-examine them. Certainly, you can go

into any matters that might be -- might reflect upon the

character of the witness, because witnesses are always

subject to cross-examination concerning their character.

But any involvement involving this victim in all of this

is absolutely inadmissible, period, because it doesn’t

mater what kind of character that person might have

been. It does not raise a defense as to his killing, period.

MR. CROSBY: It’s not to raise a defense as to

why Jodon would allegedly kill Kelvin. It’s only to

explain why, number one, the witnesses that were

identified by the State would make such a statement;

secondly, how they could misunderstand such a

statement; and three, what -- the res gestae of what was

going on.

THE COURT: Well, you can’t convince me that

the left hand is the right hand at this time, and I'll stand

by my ruling. You cannot go into that.

Now, do you want to make your opening now,

or do you want to reserve? It’s up to you. I’ve already

told the jury that you have that right to reserve.

(Jury Out) 313; RE 62

THE COURT: While we're waiting here, Mr.

Crosby, do you want to do your proffer? Does it

concern this witness here?

MR. CROSBY: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Okay.

THE COURT: Would it be best if she’s not in the

courtroom with the proffer, or what?

MR. CROSBY: No, sir. I need her to testify

concerning the proffer.

THE COURT: Well, now, wait a minute. That

would be inappropriate. That’s inappropriate. She

hasn’t been tendered for cross-examination, and that

would be in the nature of a cross-examination, as I

would perceive it.

MR. CROSBY: My proffer is to go to her motive

and such and reasons behind her testimony. I need to

give a full picture of what it is, and it goes to your

earlier ruling about the federal investigation. I need her

testimony concerning that.

THE COURT: Well, I don’t -- I don’t know what

any arrangements have been made as far as the State of

Mississippi is concerned, nor any agreements that have

been struck. That may very well come out on -- it

probably will come out on direct [314; RE 63]

examination. Do you anticipate it on direct

examination?

MR. SIMPSON: Yes, sir; we do.

THE COURT: Well, I'll have to wait and see

what comes out at that point in time. And then, if

necessary, I'll take a recess and let you make a proffer if

you feel that it’s getting close to the area that I’ve

already instructed you on. |

MR. CROSBY: Yes, sir, that’s what I -- what I felt

like. Without getting into it, she had a cooperation

agreement with the federal government, immunity

agreement. And I wanted to -- I felt like in light of your

ruling, that I would be going past that, and that’s why I

wanted her to explain that.

THE COURT: We'll get to that when we get to it.

MR. CROSBY: Can we ask for the witness to be

admonished not to talk with anyone?

THE COURT: I’m going to.

All right. We’re going to take the noon recess

now for ourselves.

Ms. Richardson, during the noon break, you’re at

liberty to move around as you see fit, but do not discuss

your testimony with anyone during the break. . .

519; RE 110

MR. SIMPSON: Your Honor, we’ll cll another

witness. Buck Murray.

THE COURT: Allright. Bring him in.

(PAUSE IN PROCEEDINGS)

(THE OATH WAS ADMINISTERED>)

LEMUEL “BUCK” MURRAY,

was thereupon called as a witness for and on behalf of

the State, and, having been duly sworn, testified as

follows:

MR. CROSBY: Your Honor, before his

testimony, we had a matter of that motion that we were

-- we discussed bringing up [520; RE 111] concerning

the exclusion of this testimony, which I would say it

would be —

THE COURT: His testimony?

MR. CROSBY: Yes, sir. This is Buck Murray,

correct?

MR. SIMPSON: That’s who it is.

(PAUSE IN PROCEEDINGS>)

MR. SIMPSON: May we approach?

THE COURT: Yeah.

(ALL COUNSEL APPROACHED THE BENCH,

AND THE FOLLOWING PROCEEDINGS WERE HAD

OUTSIDE THE HEARING OF THE JURY:)

THE COURT: On what basis?

MR. SIMPSON: I think this is just about the

federal investigation stuff.

MR. CROSBY; Uh-huh (affirmative). And it’s

more detailed on it. And also -

THE COURT: Have you got a formal motion on

this so I can know what the motion is about?

MR. CROSBY; No.

THE COURT: Well, then I’m overruling it and

you won't o into any of it, because I’m tired of this.

MR. CROSBY: And I won’t be allowed to make a

proffer?

THE COURT: What?

MR. Crosby: I won't be allowed to make a

proffer?

[521; RE 112] THE COURT: You can do it after

his testimony.

(BENCH CONFERENCE CONCLUDED, AND

THE FOLLOWING PROCEEDINGS WERE HAD IN

THE PRESENCE OF THE JURY)

THE COURT: Proceed.

DIRECT EXAMINATION BY MR. SIMPSON:

Q. Would you state your name, please?

A. Lemuel Murray.

Q. Are you also known as “Buck”?

COURT REPORTER: Your first name again,

please?

THE WITNESS: Lemuel, LEMUEL.

BY MR. SIMPSON:

Q. Mr. Murray, let me get you to keep your

voice up loud so everyone can hear you, please, and

speak slowly enough that the court reporter can write

down everything you say, all right?

A. Okay.

Q. Where do you reside, Mr. Murray?

A. Atlanta, Georgia.

Q. How long have you lived in Georgia?

A. All my life.

Q. What business are you in?

A. Automobile industry.

Q. Do you know the defendant, Jodon

Slaughter?

A. Yes, sir.

Q. How long have you known him?

A. Since around 19839, ‘90.

Lemuel “Buck” Murray - Cross (Proffer/Jury out) 534;

RE 118

BY MR. CROSBY:

Q. And you said that in response to the question

by Investigator Barnes, who said: “who did he say he

had coming up to blow his head off?” And your

reasons was: “He just said he had some boys coming

up from Miami, “ correct?

A. No, that’s not correct.

_

THE COURT: All right. Mr. Crosby,

you ve shifted gears now, and you've gone into a

matter of a statement that apparently this witness made

to Officer Barnes from Gulfport; is that right?

MR. CROSBY: Yes, sir. That's --

THE COURT: I don’t have an problems

with your using that in cross-examining this witness, so

we re wasting time for you to go through all of this and

try to cross-examine him at this time.

MR. CROSBY: The only reason that I

would do this now is because in talking about Miami, --

THE COURT: Well, we're wasting time

right now. What he told the officer from Gulfport, you

can cross-examine him as to that. But the matter of the

investigation in Atlanta, Georgia, the Grand Jury

testimony, all of that is going to be excluded, and I

stand by my ruling on that.

Now, you may feel that it has some relevance,

but I don’t think that it has any relevance. And under

403, although relevant evidence -- relevant evidence

may be excluded if its probative value is substantially

outweighed by the danger of unfair prejudice,

confusion of the issues, or misleading the jury, or by

consideration or undo delay, waste of time and needless

presentation of cumulative evidence.

Now, the thrust of your position in this case

seems to be that the victim in this case was someone

who was assisting the government in investigating your

client. That falls completely in line with the exclusion of

character evidence of the victim, and I cite you to the

comments under the rule of -- under 404. It says: “The

victim’s character is irrelevant. The fact that a bad man

rather than a good man was murdered or beaten is

inconsequential,” citing the cases. The only time that it

would be admissible would be to show that there was a

-- that the victim was the [536: RE 120] first aggressor.

That's it.

MR. CROSBY: Well, obviously, I haven't stated

it correctly, then, if that’s -

THE COURT: Well, if you haven't stated it

correctly, that is exactly my interpretation of it, so let’s

move on, okay?

MR. CROSBY: I would -—

THE COURT: You still have not asked this man

the question which I really need to know: Has he been

convicted of a crime which falls within the matter of

character assassination, I'll call it.

BY MR. CROSBY:

Q. Have you been convicted of a crime?

A. Ever convicted of a crime:

Q. Yes, sir.

A. Yes, sir.

Q. What would those crimes be?

A. [had two DUI’s, things of that nature.

Q. Anything involving bad checks, fraud,

stealing, grand larceny?

A. Never.

Q. Now, when you said that they were ratting

him out, what did you mean by that, or said that Kelvin

Reynolds --

A. Fifth Amendment, sir.

APPENDIX

3. Slaughter v. Mississippi, 2000-KA-01533-SCT,95

(Feb. 14, 2002). Order denying

rehearing (May 23, 2002)

Supreme Court of Mississippi

Court of Appeals of the State of Mississippi

Office of the Clerk

Betty W. Sephton (Street Address)

Post Office Box 249 450 High Street

Jackson, Mississippi 39205-0249 Jackson, Mississippi 39201

Telephone: (601) 359-3694

Facsimile: (601) 359-2407 e-mail:sctclerk@mssc.state.ms.us

May 23, 2002

This is to advise you

that the Mississippi Supreme Court rendered the

following decision on the 23rd day of May, 2002.

Supreme Court Case # 2000-KA-01533-SCT

Trial Court Case # 99-331

Jodon Antonio Slaughter v. State of Mississippi

Motion for rehearing filed by appellant is denied.

*NOTICE TO CHANCERY/CIRCUIT/COUNTY

COURT CLERKS*

If an original of any exhibit other than photos was sent

to the Supreme Court Clerk and should now be

returned to you, please advise this office in ——

immediately.

APPENDIX

4. Trial Court ruling on jury instructions.

Charge Conference (Jury Out) 667

Judge, when I went into this trial, there was a distinct

possibility that we would have some of the other

co-defendants or other indicted defendants testify. And

we didn’t know right up until - in fact, them attorneys

have been here and sat in the courtroom and gave every

indication they were desperate to try and work out a

deal where their clients would testify, and that’s why I

used the vague word of “alleged accomplice.” I kept it

vague because I didn’t know who all was going to

testify. But I would need to modify this, because there

was only one alleged accomplice in this, and — namely,

Regina Richardson.

THE COURT: Well, you want to redo this to

make it read that the testimony of Regina -- whatever

her name is -- Well, reword it however you want to

word it to make it specific for her.

MR. CROSBY: I would submit: “The testimony

of Regina Richardson, an alleged accomplice, is to be

considered,” et cetera. The rest of it would remain the

same.

MR. SIMPSON: To which we would object.

THE COURT: On what basis?

[668: RE 127] MR. SIMPSON: Two bases: One,

she’s not an accomplice. She’s not indicted for murder.

She’s indicted for accessory after the fact, which is not a

lesser included offense. You can’t be found guilty of

accessory after the fact as a lesser included to murder.

It’s a separate stand-alone crime in and of itself, and an

accomplice has to be one - someone who is willingly

there, present and participates in some overt act

towards the furtherance of the crime. There's no such

evidence of that at all. The only testimony is that she

did not know in fact that that crime was fixing to take

place. 3

~ My second objection is that it singles out the

testimony of a single witness, which is impermissible.

MR. CROSBY: Well, we have to - I'm sorry.

THE COURT: I’ve not thought about it in the

nature of the charge that she was charged with,

accessory after the fact. But those instructions that have

been given in this nature do relate to those who

participated in the crime itself.

MR. SIMPSON: Willingly participated.

THE COURT: Do you have some authority on

that? This give me a problem [669: RE 128] here

because it - because technically, she was not 4 -- there’s

no evidence that she was a participant in this crime

other than driving out there. You never were able to

get anything out of her that she knew in advance of

what was going to happen; that she willingly went out

there for that purpose. And the only thing that has

come out is, is that she was indicted as an accessory

after the fact, and that that was dismissed.

MR. CROSBY: Here’s what she did say, and it

was contradictory, but it was said at one point or the

other, either brought out in her prior statements or in

her testimony, that she was expecting there to be some

kind of —

THE COURT: Argument, fight maybe.

MR. CROSBY: -- an argument and possibly even

as much as a pistol whipping, although, not a killing.

When she participated in this, she turned her lights off

on her car, she drove around, she helped get to this

location, and then she -- her conduct subsequent to that

without any threats being made to her, she continued to

help and -- allegedly help in the concealment of

evidence and such, which would all be -- could have

been used [670; RE 129] against her as someone who

was a principal being -- I mean, if you go in to roba

bank or steal a car or take a car away from someone, the

violence, rob a Quick Stop, you could — I mean that’s

felony murder.

MR. SIMPSON: If you have that intent prior to

the overt act in furtherance of the crime. There’s no

evidence that she had any knowledge, intent or did

anything in furtherance of committing any assault upon

the gentleman.

And in fact, You Honor, S — I mean, all he wants

to do is attack the credibility of Regina Richardson. He

has instruction D-3 regarding prior inconsistent

statements. That instruction is there for the jury to

attack her credibility. To try to include her as an

accomplice, someone who is engaged in the furtherance

of the crime, there are no facts to support that.

THE COURT: Of course, I guess what her

answers were, were — that could perhaps be considered

to be self-serving, her saying that she did not anticipate

there being any problems, that at one point in time, she

testified as I recall, that she — when the — she saw the

defendant take a gun from the bag and stick it in his

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.