Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Yetiv v. City of Houston

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

“Prise e

no. (\) ,

Q2 496 SEP 24 200%

IN THE OFFICE OF THE CLERK

is Court of the Gnited States

JACK YETIV AND ASPENWOOD APT. CORP.,

Petitioners,

v.

CITY OF HOUSTON,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE TEXAS SUPREME COURT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JACK YETIV

350 Allen Read

Woodside, California 94062

Ph: (650) 851-2425

Fax: (650) 851-9895

In Pro Se, and

MARVIN ISGUR

TEXAS BAR No. 10433100

700 Louisiana, Suite 4600

Houston, Texas 77002

Ph: (713) 222-1480

Fax: (713) 222-1475

Attorney for Aspenwood Apt. Corp.

Date: September 24, 2002

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC. BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

OO pe

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

QUESTION ONE:

QUES’ ION TWO:

Is it correct—as Justices Stevens,

Breyer, Souter, and Ginsburg have

Suggested in their Bryan County

dissents—that 42 U.S.C. § 1983 is

consistent with respondeat superior

liability against cities?

Should a city be held liable under 42

U.S.C. § 1983 where:

1. Petitioners complained -about City

agents’ unconstitutional conduct

directly to City Council, and the

unconstitutional conduct continued

thereafter?

And where

2. A City policymaker—who actually

made policy, had 200 employees

under her command, and was

responsible for an $11 million annual

budget—was the individual that

personally took and also directed

unconstitutional actions against _

Petitioners?

And where

3. The City illegally implemented

policies it had to search, to withhold

repair permits from, and to demolish

low-income property?

ll

CERTIFICATE OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

BELOW AND CORPORATE DISCLOSURE

The parties to the proceedings in the First Court of

Appeals, Houston, Texas, and subsequently in the Texas

Supreme Court, include:

1.

Petitioners and Appellees, Jack Yetiv. and

Aspenwood Apt. Corp.

Respondent and Appellant, City of Houston.

Councilmember Helen Huey and Beatrice Link (a

city official) were individual defendants in the trial

court, but were granted summary judgment.

Petitioners appealed the grant of summary judgment

to these individual defendants, and the appeals court

reversed summary judgment and remanded that part

of the case for re-trial, a decision that neither Link

nor Huey challenged. Therefore, neither of these

individual defendants are parties to this appeal.

Aspenwood Apt. Corp. has no parent company and

no subsidiaries.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ...................... 1

Certificate of Parties to the Proceeding Below and

REINO MIND TPNBOMOGUEG ....5..susnscesecesssessesvsovsesvessnecesscoseeeses 11

MI sisi vancsaipsnitnccavonvannssasseveiasnoteesesassssesececces. ili

BI We PINNING so.nsscsscsscecesincsssesveresesseseaveseceeveeceegesees.... vi

cecal ccc edh ccc ncueondiniicusidica, Vii

Statement of Jurisdiction ...........cccccccccscccsecscsecceceecsececesccee. Vli

RED eae aera Vli

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ......ecccccccccscssesececceceecececeecce 5. ]

A. Facts Material to Consideration of the Questions

EE Lae SES Eaneee een l

B. Federal Question Sought to Be Reviewed Was First

Raised in the Trial Court...............00sescesecscesssesseesoesceeeesee... 3

Riss PUOOMGMITIL FTIGOOEY ..nc.cccccececsecvesaveseosscecessesseorsceesecesssss 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION................ 4

QUESTION ONE:

Is it correct—as Justices Stevens, Breyer, Souter, and

Ginsburg have suggested in their Bryan County dissents—

that 42 U.S.C. § 1983 is consistent with respondeat

superior liability against Cities? ..........ccecccescscssessesseseeecees +

A. The legal prerequisites are present for reexamina-

tion of Monell’s conclusion that 42 U.S.C. § 1983 does

not allow respondeat superior liability ............c.c.ccccse000e. 5

1V

B. Monell was wrongly decided on the basis of

statutory interpretation and legislative history. ............... 6

C. Monell has spawned an incredibly complex body

of law that is confusing and unpredictable, resulting

in inconsistent and unfair OUtCOMES. ..............:cccseeeeeeeseees 6

D. Given the ubiquity of indemnification provisions

and practices, Monell fails to limit municipal

liability, and in this case, might substantially

Sree GAR CART 6 TIIIID scsecscitccsesesesnevesisainanetcnswnarnnes 7

E. The alternative to Monell will decrease municipal

defense costs, enhance judicial consistency and

fairness, and increase judicial economy. ............::ceseeeeeee 8

F. Openly recognizing respondeat superior liability

will act as a better deterrent to governmental

AT TTT 10

IB ED scnnenacusensinnvssnteosainiiiicnaninnsenesuiiinninsibinctionn

A. Should a city be held liable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983

where Petitioners complained about City agents’

unconstitutional conduct directly to City Council,

and the unconstitutional conduct continued

ERA ASL aC PTL DOES. CUNEO SPE MON 13

B. Should a city be held liable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983

where a City policymaker--who actually made policy,

had 200 employees under her command, and was

responsible for an $11 million annual budget--was the

individual that personally took and directed

unconstitutional actions against Petitioners?................. 20

C. Should a city be held liable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983

where the City illegally implemented policies it had to

ll

Vv

search, to withhold repair permits from, and to demolish

low-income property? :;..........c.c.scoccssssssssseseseesessesesoeeesess 24

AAG acs nlesiidiniccsasinacasiapicuataoniei dana 28

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Supreme Court Cases

Board of the County Commissioners of Bryan County v.

BPO, TIE ide FET LEFT ecinmmnanienn 5, 6, 7, 10

City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc.,

SSS Uae OT CLE divtvinecrsvinesinennidtslaneiaaeuianibed 9, 16, 19

City of Oklahoma City v. Tuttle, 471 U.S. 808 (1985)....... 4,6

City of St. Louis v. Praprotnik, 485 U.S. 112 (1988)........... 24

McMillian v. Monroe County, 520 U.S. 781 (1997).............. 7

Monell v. Department of Social Servs.,

SO Ts Ce Gr itecintasstksenidinssribiincavcinmiscnaarnintlacibaniiin 4

Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167 (1961) ...........sesccccccsssssccesseees 4

Owen vy. City of Independence, 445 U.S. 622

fF wsiscsnesasesnanconssinsadnanieniisiniadiaaananiaines 10, 15, 17, 18

Pembaur v. City of Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469 (1986). 6, 15, 21

Other Federal Cases

Bennett v. City of Slidell, 728 F.2d 762 (5" Cir. 1984)....... 26

Hamilton v. Rodgers, 791 F.2d 439 (5™ Cir. 1986)... 27

Webster v. City of Houston, 735 F.2d 838 (5 Cir. 1984). ..24

Federal Statutes

Be Gil eke COT Vittistinncinincnininnviomaamaeaal Vil

G2 UBER BER inncwinissinstarsniicnamiiainliaaaaaia Vil

Nene eee ee eee eee

ssaasiemsheneneseeminmmeetaemnaneaceneecesieniameeimeieaenemnemmntenemnemmmeimenmiimemmnneneemesennenienmmn=inmmenmtmnememnttnmnsieammeemmmane

Vii

OPINIONS BELOW

The unpublished clerk’s letter from the Texas Supreme

Court denying review is reproduced in the separately bound

Appendix (“App.”) included with this petition at la. The

unpublished opinion of Texas’ First Court of Appeals can be

found at 1999 WL 681939 (Aug. 27, 1999), and is

reproduced at App. 2a. A subsequent unpublished opinion of

the same court can be found at 2002 WL 89650 (January 24,

2002) and can be found at App. 66a. The trial court’s

unreported Modified Final Judgment dated Oct. 20, 1997 is

reproduced at App. 79a. :

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Texas Supreme Court denied, on June 27, 2002,

Petitioners’ request to review the appeals court’s opinion.

This appeal concerns the interpretation of a federal statute,

42 U.S.C. § 1983. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under

28 U.S.C. § 1257.

STATUTES INVOLVED

Title 42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides in relevant part:

Every person who, under color of any statute,

ordinance, regulation, custom or usage, of any State

or Territory or the District of Columbia, subjects, or

causes to be subjected, any citizen of the United

States or other person within the jurisdiction thereof

to the deprivation of any rights, privileges or

immunities secured by the Constitution and laws,

shall be liable to the party injured in an action at law,

suit in equity, or other proper proceeding for redress.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Facts Material to Consideration of the Questions

Presented

In April, 1994, Aspenwood Apt. Corp. (“Aspenwood”)

purchased a_ half-vacant apartment complex called

Aspenwood Apartments, intending to renovate and lease the

vacant units. Despite more than a dozen written and verbal

attempts by Aspenwood’s representative, Jack Yetiv

(“Yetiv”), to get repair permits for the property, the City

refused to issue the permits. In September, 1994, Yetiv

learned that the City of Houston had recently revoked the

permits of another apartment complex in the neighborhood

(owned by the Leaths), and then demolished that complex.

Yetiv also learned that the City had attempted to settle, in

secret, the Leaths’ resulting lawsuit for $210,000.

Seeing a pattern, Yetiv hand-delivered a complaint letter

to all City of Houston councilmembers on October 5, and

appeared on the local evening news a few days later. On the

Evening News show, Yetiv alleged that Beatrice Link (a

high-level City official), and Councitmember Helen Huey

(the councilmember responsible for the district where both

the Aspenwood and Leath properties were located), were

violating his property rights by refusing to issue him building

repair permits because Councilmember Huey, for her own

political purposes, had promised the homeowners in the area

that the Aspenwood Apartments would be demolished. The

day after making his comments on the Evening News, Yetiv

appeared before Houston’s City Council (following his

written complaint to the councilmembers the week before),

and advised council (in a videotaped appearance later seen

by the jury) that city employees had illegally searched

Aspenwood and withheld its building permits.

Council took no action in response to Yetiv’s complaints.

After Yetiv’s October 10-11 TV and Council

appearances, the City escalated its unconstitutional conduct.

2

In addition to refusing to issue building permits, the City

violated Petitioners’ Fourth Amendment rights on several

occasions. For example, on October 27, 1994,

approximately 30 City inspectors and demolition contractors,

accompanied by several armed police officers, conducted an

illegal “raid” of the Aspenwood apartment complex. The

raid was made pursuant to a defective search warrant—

defective for multiple reasons, including the fact that it was

based on a false sworn affidavit. City inspectors had

testified in the affidavit that they saw, from the street, repairs

being made to buildings that cannot be seen from the street.

During the raid, City inspectors issued Yetiv 23 criminal

citations, all of which were later dismissed when none of the

four inspectors who had written the citations appeared in

court.

Several weeks after Yetiv complained to Houston’s City

Council, that Council—instead of investigating Yetiv’s

complaints of illegal permit-withholding and Fourth

Amendment violations—voted to sue Yetiv and Aspenwood.

The City never pursued its frivolous lawsuit, but Petitioners

counterclaimed under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 against the City, and

against Councilmember Huey and Beatrice Link in their

individual capacities. On January 24, 1995, pursuant to

Petitioners’ counterclaim, the court ordered the City to issue

the building permits. In November, 1995, the City again

withheld Aspenwood’s repair permits—in direct violation of

the January 24, 1995 court order. After further court action

by Yetiv, the City resumed issuing permits to Aspenwood.

After receiving the permits, Yetiv moved to Aspenwood to

supervise the repairs. Aspenwood diligently renovated all 14

apartment buildings on the property, and the work was

completed in 1999. A videotape showing the progress of the

renovation was played to the jury near the end of the trial. |

Following a jury trial, judgment was entered in favor of

Petitioners in the amount of $337,500, to compensate )

Aspenwood for lost income resulting from the permit-

withholding, plus $3,000 for violating Aspenwood’s Fourth

3

Amendment rights, plus attorneys’ fees, interest and costs.

Prior to trial, the judge had entered three progressively

more stringent injunctions against the City to prevent

repeated Fourth Amendment violations. When the City

violated the first injunction, the trial judge expanded it, and

when the City violated the second injunction, the trial judge

held the City in contempt, levied monetary sanctions against

the City—and entered a third, even broader injunction. That

injunction was made permanent in the final judgment, as

were the sanctions levied by the trial judge for the City’s

violation of his injunctions.

B. Federal Question Sought to Be Reviewed Was

-First Raised in the Trial Court

The federal question was first raised in the trial court,

where Plaintiffs filed this 42 U.S.C. § 1983 counterclaim.

Section 1983 was, in large part, the basis for the City’s

appeal to the Texas First Court of Appeals, and

subsequently, Petitioners’ Petition for Review to the Texas

Supreme Court. Section 1983 is extensively dealt with in the

two appeals court opinions (App. 2a and 66a).

i. Procedural History

At the conclusion of the trial, the judge entered a final

judgment which: (1) granted Petitioners substantial monetary

damages for the City’s violation of Petitioners’ F ourth, Fifth

and Fourteenth Amendment rights, (2) declared

unconstitutional certain portions of a City of Houston

ordinance, and (3) entered a permanent injunction forbidding

the City from conducting inspections of Yetiv’s three

apartment complexes, based on a finding by the trial judge

(as well as the jury) that the City had repeatedly conducted

such inspections in violation of Petitioners’ Fourth

Amendment rights. The trial judge also granted summary

judgment to the individual defendants.

4

The City appealed the above judgment, while Yetiv and

Aspenwood appealed the grant of summary judgment to

Link and Huey. On August 27, 1999, the Texas First Court

of Appeals issued an unpublished opinion which reversed the

judgment and rendered in favor of the City. The panel also

reversed Link and Huey’s summary judgment, remanding

that portion of the case to the trial court. Huey and Link did

not challenge the appeal court’s reversal of their summary

judgment, rendering that part of the appeal final. Petitioners

requested en banc consideration, which was denied, but a

Supplemental Opinion was issued on January 24, 2002.

Petitioners petitioned for review by the Texas Supreme

Court, which petition was denied on June 27, 2002.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

QUESTION ONE

Is it correct—as Justices Stevens, Breyer, Souter, and

Ginsburg have suggested in their Bryan County

dissents—that 42 U.S.C. § 1983 is consistent with

respondeat superior liability against cities?

In 1978, this Court overruled Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S.

167 (1961), and held that municipalities are “persons,” and

therefore can be sued under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. Monell v.

Department of Social Servs., 436 U.S. 658 (1978). This

Court also concluded in Monell that municipalities could not

be sued under a respondeat superior theory.

Over the past two decades, at least four Justices of this

Court have called for a reconsideration of Monell. Justice

Stevens has argued on several occasions that Monell was

wrongly decided, and that municipalities should be liable for

the conduct of their agents under a respondeat superior

theory. City of Oklahoma City v. Tuttle, 471 U.S. 808, 842

(1985) (Stevens, J., dissenting, stating that “in my opinion,

the Court in Monell should simply have held that

,

iia

5

municipalities are liable for the unconstitutional activities of

their agents that are performed in the course of their official

duties.”) In 1997, Justices Souter, Breyer and Ginsburg, in

two separate dissents, joined Justice Stevens in calling for a

reexamination of Monell. Board of the County

Commissioners of Bryan County v. Brown, 520 U.S. 397

(1997).

The case sub judice presents an ideal vehicle to answer

the call of Justices Stevens, Breyer, Souter and Ginsburg to

reexamine Monell because it compellingly demonstrates the

shortcomings of Monell that were discussed in the Bryan

County dissents. Monell should be reexamined for the

following reasons:

A. The legal prerequisites are present for

reexamination of Monell’s conclusion that 42 U.S.C. §

1983 does not allow respondeat superior liability.

Justice Breyer’s succinct argument on this topic best

states Petitioners’ case:

I believe that the legal prerequisites for

reexamination of an interpretation of an important

statute are present here. The soundness of the

original principle is doubtful. The original principle

has generated a body of interpretive law that is so

complex that the law has become difficult to apply.

Factual and legal changes have divorced the law from

the distinction’s apparent original purposes. And

there may be only a handful of individuals or groups

that have significantly relied upon perpetuation of the

original distinction. If all this is so, later law has

made the original distinction not simply wrong but

obsolete and a potential source of confusion.

(citations omitted).

Bryan County, 520 U.S. at 431.

\

YX

6

B. Monell was wrongly decided on the basis of

statutory interpretation and legislative history.

Justice Stevens has explained why § 1983 is consistent

with respondeat superior liability. Tuttle, 471 U.S. at 836, n.

8, (Stevens, J., dissenting); Pembaur v. City of Cincinnati,

475 U.S. 469, 489-490 (1986) (Stevens, J., concurring in part

and concurring in judgment). Justice Stevens’ reasoning on

this issue has been cited with approval by Justices Breyer,

Stevens and Ginsburg in their Bryan County dissent. Bryan

County, 520 U.S. at 431-432. As noted by these three

Justices, “it is difficult to find Section 1983’s words ‘[e]very

person’ inconsistent with respondeat superior liability.” Id.

at 432. Since Section 1983 requires that the wrongdoer

either “subject” or “cause” another person “to be subjected”

to a “deprivation” of a right, and since municipalities can

only commit wrongs via the action of human beings, the law

of agency suggests that municipalities should be liable for

acts their employees take within the scope of their

employment. Jd. In several circumstances, Justice Breyer

noted, federal courts have interpreted the word “person” or

equivalent in other statutes as authorizing vicarious liability.

Id. at 432-433 (citing AT&T. v. Winback .and Conserve

Program, Inc., 42 F.3d 1421 (3d Cir. 1994), cert. denied,

514 U.S. 1103 (1995) (Lanham Act); American Soc. of

Mechanical Eng’rs, Inc. v. Hydrolevel Corp., 456 U.S. 556

(1982) (Sherman Act); United States v. A & P Trucking Co.,

358 U.S. 121, 124-125 (1958) (criminal statute). See also

Tuttle, 471 U.S. at 835 (Stevens, J., dissenting).

... Monell has spawned an incredibly complex body

of law that is confusing and unpredictable, resulting in

inconsistent and unfair outcomes.

To avoid respondeat superior liability, this Court and

others have had to “spin ever finer distinctions as we try to

apply Monell’s basic distinction between liability that rests

upon policy and liability that is vicarious.” Bryan County,

7

520 U.S. at 430 (Breyer, J., dissenting). This “has produced

a body of law that is neither readily understandable nor easy

to apply,” Jd. at 433 (Breyer, J., dissenting), with legal

outcomes that have often been inconsistent. For example, in

Bryan County, the county sheriff was a final policymaker,

but in another decision issued by this Court that year, the

county sheriff was held not to be a county policymaker.

McMillian v. Monroe County, 520 U.S. 781 (1997).

Justice Breyer has noted that “a basic legal principle that

requires so many such distinctions to maintain its legal life

may not deserve such longevity.” Bryan County, 520 USS. at

435 (Breyer, J., dissenting). Specific examples of these

confusing distinctions appear below, in the discussion of the

appeal court’s misinterpretation of this Court’s § 1983

decisions.

D. Given the ubiquity of indemnification provisions

and practices, Monell fails to limit municipal liability,

and in this case, might substantially increase the City’s

liability.

In Bryan County, Justices Breyer, Stevens and Ginsburg

noted that many entities indemnify their employees, and

called for briefing (in the proper case) on how

indemnification might impact respondeat superior liability

under § 1983. Bryan County, 520 U.S. at 436-37 (Breyer, J.,

dissenting). This case is an ideal vehicle for briefing the

indemnification issue because (1) the Houston City Code

contains a detailed indemnification provision (App. 88a)!

that covers both of the individual defendants in this case, and

(2) the appeals court remanded to the trial court Petitioners’

' This document was not part of the trial record because indemnification

was not relevant at trial. Petitioners respectfully request that this

Honorable Court take judicial notice of this document. The authenticity

of this certified excerpt of the City of Houston Code is obviously not in

dispute, and it is relevant to the argument being made by Petitioners

herein. Thus it is appropriate for this Court to take judicial notice of this

document for the purposes of this appeal.

8

claims against the individual defendants. Therefore,

Petitioners will re-try against the individual defendants

essentially the same case they already won against the City.

If Petitioners win against the individuals, the City of

Houston will pay the verdict because both individuals are

indemnified under the City Code, and thus, the City of

Houston’s success in having the first verdict reversed may be

worse than a pyrrhic victory. At retrial, the court could

award not only the same actual damages but also impose

punitive damages against the individuals. This is not simply

a theoretical concern; while the jury was deliberating in the

first trial, they submitted a question to the trial judge as to

whether punitive damages could be assessed against the

City.” In addition, even the appeals court opined that the

conduct that was alleged against the individual defendants—

and which the jury obviously found persuasive—was such

that no reasonable city official could have thought it

acceptable behavior (App. 45a and 62a). That holding, and

the jury’s question about the availability of punitive

- damages, raises the very real specter that the City’s exposure

at the second trial could be substantially greater than it was

at the first trial.

E. The alternative to Monell will decrease municipal

defense costs, enhance judicial consistency and fairness,

and increase judicial economy.

The “no respondeat superior liability” conclusion also

results in duplication of legal fees. For example, in addition

to its own legal fees, the City paid two outside law firms to

represent the individual defendants in this case. This ;

additional—and substantial—cost to cities would largely be |

eliminated if respondeat superior liability were available.

Under that circumstance, most plaintiffs would simply sue

? The answer, of course, was “no,” pursuant to City of Newport v. Fact

Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247 (1981).

|

9

the municipality, as would be the normal practice if one were

suing a private-sector defendant. This would (1) simplify the

lawsuit greatly, enhancing judicial economy, (2) enhance

fairness by making outcomes more consistent, (3) lower

legal fees significantly for both sides, which fees a city will

likely pay if it loses, (4) shorten the time from filing of a

lawsuit to its resolution, and (5) decrease pre- and post-

judgment interest costs to municipalities.

These cost savings would largely compensate for any

additional exposure resulting from the availability of

respondeat superior liability. That is because, as noted

above, respondeat superior liability is effectively available

right now against municipalities via indemnification.°

However, the circuitous route (via indemnification) by which

cities now respond in damages markedly increases

municipalities’ transactional costs, and it often delays (and

sometimes prevents) compensation to victims of

unconstitutional government conduct. In essence, money

that could go to compensate victims of governmental

misconduct is wasted on transactional costs that benefit no

one.

Municipalities may argue that recognizing respondeat

superior liability will increase their liability, which would

deplete public coffers. That concern is minimized by the

existence of indemnification and by the cost savings

discussed above. Moreover, that concern is minimized by

three major advantages that governmental defendants would

continue to have even if respondeat superior liability were

recognized. The first advantage is that governments are not

subject to punitive damages under § 1983. City of Newport

v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247 (1981). The second

advantage is that individual defendants would continue to

retain their good-faith immunity even if respondeat superior

> In addition, there is already respondeat superior liability if the

municipal wrongdoer is a policymaker under Section 1983.

10

liability were available. In other words, a municipality

would only be liable on a respondeat superior theory if—as

is the case today—a plaintiff could overcome the individual

defendant’s good-faith-immunity defense.

The third advantage which significantly limits municipal

liability is that cities are not liable for negligent—or even

grossly negligent—conduct. A municipality is liable under §

1983 only if the plaintiff shows that the policymaker and/or

municipality exhibited “deliberate indifference,” which has

been understood to mean “intent”:

Deliberate indifference is thus treated, as it is

elsewhere in the law, as tantamount to intent, so that

inaction by a policymaker deliberately indifferent to a

suvstantial risk of harm is equivalent to the

intentional action that setting policy presupposes.

Compare Pembaur, supra at 483, 106 S.Ct. at 1300

(plurality opinion of BRENNAN, J.)(“deliberate

choice” by policymaker) and Oklahoma City vy.

Tuttle, 471 U.S. 808, 823, 105 S.Ct. 2427, 2436, 85

L.Ed.2d 791 (1985) (plurality § opinion of

REHNQUIST, J.) (‘’policy’ generally implies a

course of action consciously chosen’) with Canton,

supra, at 389, 109 S.Ct. at 1205 (“Only where a

municipality’s failure to train its employees.

.evidences a ‘deliberate indifference’ to the rights of

its inhabitants can . . . a shortcoming be ... city

‘policy or custom’ ... actionable under §1983”’).

Bryan County, 520 U.S. at 419-420 (Souter, J., dissenting).

These three advantages collectively represent a much

more meaningful-limitation on Section 1983 liability than the

“absence” of respondeat superior—which, as noted above, is

not really “absent” much of the time.

F. Openly recognizing respondeat superior liability —

will act as a better deterrent to governmental

unconstitutional conduct.

FE UNTO AERTS cA ie MOLISE FAAS a te ee

11

In Owen v. City of Independence, this Court stated that §

1983 “was intended not only to provide compensation to the

victims of past abuses, but to serve as a deterrent against

future constitutional deprivations, as well.” 445 U.S. 622,

651-52 (1980). Our jurisprudence has traditionally

recognized respondeat superior liability largely because of

the belief that by holding the employer liable, we increase

the likelihood that the employer will “fix the problem.” This

should apply no less to municipal corporations than it does to

business corporations, but municipalities that are held “not

liable”—as was the City of Houston in this case because of

the fiction of “no respondeat superior liability”—are sent the

wrong signal. That wrong signal, of course, is that some

“rogue employees” violated the constitution, but that the city

itself is “fault-free.” io

In many cases, that conclusion itself is also a fiction. As

is compellingly demonstrated by this case, constitutional

misconduct is often not misconduct of “rogue employees,”

but rather, is a systemic problem. In this case, the systemic

nature of the constitutional misconduct was shown by the

following: (1) the “rogue employees” were a councilmember

and a city policymaker’ responsible for 200 employees and

an $11 million budget, (2) the City withheld permits in direct

violation of a court order, (3) the City violated Petitioners’

Fourth Amendment rights on several occasions, including

using a perjured affidavit to obtain a search warrant, the

scope of which was far exceeded on the day of the search,

(4) multiple City agents violated two progressively more

stringent injunctions, which led the trial judge to hold the

City in contempt and levy monetary sanctions against the

City, (5) Petitioners complained to the City of Houston’s

Council on three occasions, the only result of which was that

* Whether Bea Link was a policymaker is disputed by the parties. The

appeals court concluded she was not. On p. 20-24 of this Petition,

Petitioners explain why Bea Link was a policymaker.

12

the Council voted to sue Petitioners, and (6) just before

Yetiv’ last appearance in front of Houston’s City Council,

that same council had voted to pay $210,000 to settle the

Leath lawsuit.

One can hardly deem the above series of acts by dozens

of City employees, lasting for several years, to be

misconduct of “rogue employees.” Furthermore, it was

misconduct the Houston City Council was fully aware of—

misconduct for which that Council had just voted to pay

substantial monies to settle similar claims. Despite that,

Council ignored Petitioners’ repeated written and oral

complaints and thus encouraged the same conduct to recur.

Yet, despite all of these facts, the appeals court, basing its

opinion largely on the “no respondeat superior” holding of

Monell, held that there was no evidence that the City itself

was liable. That conclusion sent the wrong message to a

City that was obviously responsible for the constitutional

misconduct that Petitioners suffered here. And that wrong

message removed any incentive for the City to fix the

systemic problem.°

QUESTION TWO

Should a city be held liable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983

where:

A. Petitioners complained about City agents’

unconstitutional conduct directly to City Council, and the

unconstitutional conduct continued thereafter?

And where

B. A City policymaker—who actually made policy, had

200 employees under her command, and was responsible

* Indeed, since the Texas Supreme Court denied review of this case, City

agents have again begun harassing Petitioners, conducting illegal

searches, threatening Yetiv’s apartment staff with incarceration, and

writing additional meritless criminal citations. Petitioners are now in the

process of preparing yet another lawsuit against the City of Houston, a

police officer and two of its building inspectors.

13

for an $11 million annual budget—was the individual

that personally took and also directed unconstitutional

actions against Petitioners?

And where

C. The City illegally implemented policies it had to

search, to withhold repair permits from, and to demolish

low-income property?

Even if Monell is not to be revisited, several issues

regarding § 1983 pathways to municipal liability need to be

clarified in order to render this body of law more intelligible,

and hence, more predictable and fairer.

Monell and its progeny have held that there are

essentially three pathways to attach liability to cities under §

1983, termed herein the City Council, the Policymaker, and

the Custom/Practice pathways. This case is an ideal one to

address the confusion arising from Monell and its progeny

because here, all three pathways for attaching liability were

proved at trial®. Despite that, the appeals court reversed

based on its confusion as to what § 1983 requires a plaintiff

to prove. The ensuing discussion demonstrates the need for

this Court to clarify the pathways by which § 1983 liability

may attach to municipalities.

A. Should a city be held liable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983

where Petitioners complained about City agents’

unconstitutional conduct directly to City Council, and the

unconstitutional conduct continued thereafter?

Petitioners initially complained to City Council by hand-

delivering a complaint to all councilmembers on October 5,

1994. A few days later, Yetiv appeared on the local Evening

News and alleged that Link and Huey were conducting

° The question of whether Link was a Policymaker was decided by the

trial judge as a mixed question of law and fact. The trial judge,

considering all evidence in the case, including any inferences drawn from

the jury verdict, held that Beatrice Link was a policymaker.

14

illegal searches and withholding repair permits. The next

day, Yetiv appeared in person before Houston’s City

Council, and answered several councilmembers’ questions

about his complaints. Two weeks later, the Houston

Chronicle reported that the City of Houston had attempted to

settle in secret the Leaths’ lawsuit, which claimed that the

City had illegally revoked their permits and demolished their

apartments. After the story broke, the City Legal

Department decided to follow procedure’ and submit the

proposed $210,000 settlement payment to Houston’s City

Council, which payment Council voted to approve.

Even without Yetiv’s complaints and without the Leath

settlement payment, Helen Huey’s demolition drive in her

district was well known to any councilmember who was

awake. Huey was not shy about it. Indeed, she made it the

centerpiece of a campaign photo, where she is shown leaning

on a big sledgehammer. An article largely focusing on

Huey’s efforts to demolish many low-income apartment

complexes in her district was entitled “Hammerin’ Helen.”

In violation of the City Charter, which allows

councilmembers to exercise only legislative power, Huey

improperly controlled the City’s permit-issuance machinery.

For example, a print-out from the City’s permit-issuance

computer stated “No permits without CMHH or JHC

appreval.” CMHH was an acronym for CouncilMember

Helen Huey. Many internal Huey office memos had entries,

some in Huey’s own handwriting, pertainirig to the

revocation of valid permits of various apartment complexes

in Huey’s district, and of the “problem” which existed when

apartments which were targeted by Huey for demolition—

like the Leaths’ apartments and Aspenwood—had valid

permits. In the Leath situation, the City “solved” that

“problem” by revoking the permits and then demolishing the

apartment complex.

’ Traditionally, all legal settlements exceeding $5,000 must be approved

by City Council.

15

It is unfathomable that City councilmembers were

unaware of the extensive print and television publicity which

surrounded Huey’s efforts to “clean up” her district.

Despite this evidence, the appeals court held that

Petitioners had not proven the City Council pathway

because that pathway is available only if “City Council (a)

passed an ordinance or resolution that City employees

followed in improperly withholding permits from Yetiv and

AAC® and illegally searching the AAC apartments or (b)

expressly ratified these employees’ improper actions.” App.

lla.

The appeals court is confused regarding the City

Council pathway. This Court has held repeatedly that a

decision—not a facially unconstitutional decision—by a

City’s legislative body attaches liability to a City:

With this understanding, it is plain that municipal

liability may be imposed for a single decision by

municipal policymakers under _ appropriate

circumstances. No one has ever doubted, for

instance, that a municipality may be liable under §

1983 for a single decision by its properly constituted

legislative body—whether or not that body had taken

similar action in the past or intended to do so in the

future—because even a single decision by such a

body unquestionably constitutes an act of

government policy.

Pembaur, supra, 475 U.S. at 480 (1986) (emphasis added),

citing Owen v. City of Independence, 445 U.S. 622 (1980)

and City of Newport v. Fact Concerts, Inc., 453 U.S. 247

(1981).

The appeals court further stated that the City was not

liable because “Council voted to sue AAC for repairing

without a permit; it did not vote to withhold permits or to

* AAC is an acronym for Aspenwood Apt. Corp., the owner of the

Aspenwood Apartments.

16

demolish or search AAC’s or anyone’s buildings. Moreover,

not investigating Yetiv’s claims is not an express ratification

of anything.” (App. 14a)

This statement constitutes error in three ways:

First, by concluding that “Council voted to sue AAC for

repairing without a permit,” the panel is accepting the City’s

version of the facts—a version that the jury did not believe.

Giving deference to the verdict, the panel should have

inferred that Council voted to sue Petitioners in order to

‘protect one of their own,” and please a_ fellow

councilmember whose unconstitutional conduct was a means

to further her own political agenda. That the City never

pursued its lawsuit, and that the trial judge—as a result of

Petitioners’ counterclaim—ordered the City to provide

permits to Petitioners, might explain why the jury did not

believe the version of the facts relied on by the appeals court.

Second, and more importantly to this appeal, by stating

that “Council did not vote to withhold permits or to demolish

or search AAC’s or anyone’s buildings,” the appeals court

appears to have concluded that under § 1983, a City

Council’s action must be facially unconstitutional in order to

attach liability. That the appeals court is confused can best

be seen from Owen’ and Fact Concerts'® themselves. For

* Owen, the police chief in Independence, MO, was suspected of stealing

City property, diverting narcotics and money held by the police,

manipulating traffic tickets, and causing the “unusual release of felons.”

Owen, 445 U.S. at 628. A councilmember reviewed “voluminous

reports” describing the investigation of these charges and reported to

council. There was no evidence that any councilmember nor other city

_ Official bore any ill will toward the police chief. Council voted to request

that the City manager “immediately take direct and appropriate action,

permitted under the Code, against such persons as are shown by the

investigation to have been involved.”. Jd. at 629. The City manager

fired the police chief the next day.

'° Fact Concerts, Inc., obtained a permit from the City of Newport to

present concerts. Shortly before one concert, the group “Blood, Sweat

and Tears” was hired by Fact Concerts as a replacement for a previously

eet a ae ee

17

example, this is how this Court explained why the City of

Newport Council voted to cancel Fact Concerts, Inc.’s

license to perform:

Council then voted to cancel the contract because

respondent had not “lived up to all phases of the

agreement. ”

Id., at 252.

There was nothing facially unconstitutional about the

City of Newport’s Council vote to cancel a contract, yet this

Court held that the Council’s vote was sufficient to attach

liability to the City.

Owen is yet another case from this Court that shows that

a Council’s action need not be facially unconstitutional in

order to attach liability to a city:

At the close of his statement, [Councilmember]

Roberts moved that the investigative reports be

released to the news media and turned over to the

prosecutor for presentation to the grand jury, and that

the City manager “take all direct and appropriate

action” against those persons “involved in illegal,

wrongful, or gross inefficient activities brought out in

the investigative reports.” After some discussion, the

City council passed Roberts’ motion with no dissents

and one abstention.

Owen, 445 U.S. at 628-29 (emphasis added).

As in Fact Concerts, Council’s vote in Owen was

facially constitutional—Council simply voted to advise the

city manager to take “direct and appropriate” action. Council

engaged performer. Fact Concerts, 453 U.S. at 252. The City was

concerned because it had experienced crowd disturbances at previous

rock concerts, and the City canceled Fact Concerts’ license to perform.

Fact Concerts obtained a court order enjoining the City from interfering

with the performance of the concerts, which were then held as planned,

without incident. Fact Concerts later obtained a §1983 jury verdict that

its constitutional rights had been violated.

18

didn’t even vote to fire Owen (which itself could have been

facially constitutional). When the jury later decided that

Owen’s discharge was unconstitutional (on lack of due

process grounds), the Council’s vote to take “direct and

appropriate” action simply attached liability for the City

manager’s subsequent unconstitutional action.

The appeals court’s standard of refusing to attach

liability based on council inaction is untenable. The appeals

court held that for liability to attach via the City Council

pathway either council’s action must be facially

unconstitutional or it must ratify employees’ previous

facially unconstitutional behavior. This holding is

inconsistent with this Court’s precedent, and furthermore, it

is untenable because most conduct becomes “facially

unconstitutional” only after the facts are resolved by a fact-

finder. For example, in Fact Concerts, the City Council

canceled the contract because it contended that Fact

Concerts, Inc., had not “lived up to all phases of the

agreement.” In other words, the Council canceled a contract

because it believed that the other party to the contract had

breached it. There is certainly nothing facially

unconstitutional about canceling a contract that has been

breached by the other party. But when the jury concluded

that the cancellation was actually based on impermissible

First Amendment grounds, the City council’s facially

innocent action attached liability to that city.

Similarly, in Owen, there was nothing facially

unconstitutional about the city council’s vote requesting that

the City manager “immediately take direct and appropriate

action, permitted under the Code, against such persons as are

shown by the investigation to have been involved.” Owen,

445 U.S. at 629. Indeed, such a vote—at least on its face—

shows civic responsibility by the councilmembers. Yet when

the jury concluded that Owen’s right to due process had been

violated, Council’s vote—even though it was not facially

unconstitutional—attached liability to the City.

The same applies here. If anything, the facts here argue

Se ae SP ere? seen

19

for even clearer liability against the City of Houston, for

these reasons:

e In Owen, Chief Owen was accused of very serious

felonies, whereas here, Petitioners won, indicating that the

jury found that Aspenwood and Yetiv had done nothing

wrong. No such inferences existed in favor of Owen, yet he

won his §1983 argument.

e In Owen, Council’s vote did not direct the manager to

take any adverse action against Owen—but rather, to take

action against “persons involved in illegal, wrongful

“activities.” Here, Council’s vote to sue Petitioners implies

that council concluded that City agents had done nothing

wrong—and that Yetiv and Aspenwood had. This is much

more of an endorsement of City agents’ subsequent

unconstitutional conduct than is “taking appropriate action”

or “canceling a contract.” Indeed, the appeals court should

have concluded that Houston City Council’s decision to sue

Petitioners not only ratified previous unconstitutional

conduct but also encouraged subsequent unconstitutional

conduct by City agents.

e In neither Owen nor Facts Concerts is there any

Suggestion that a similar situation had previously occurred.

‘Here, prior to voting to sue Yetiv and Aspenwood,

Houston’s City Council had just voted to pay the Leaths

$210,000 to settle nearly identical claims.

Third, the appeals court is mistaken in its assertion that

Council’s “not investigating Yetiv’s claims is not an express

ratification of anything.” (App. 14a). This statement is

incorrect, as explained by this Court in Fact Concerts :

Without attempting to investigate the nature of the

group’s music or the representations made by

respondent [Fact Concerts], the Council voted to

~ cancel the license for both days unless “Blood, Sweat

and Tears” were removed from the program.

Fact Concerts, 453 U.S. at 251 (emphasis added).

; 20

Thus, this Court held that “failure to investigate” is

important in the analysis of whether § 1983 liability should

attach via the City Council pathway. This is logical because

if a council is going to be the citizen’s last resort, as it is in

most cities, that avenue of relief would be meaningless if a

city’s council could be told of multiple constitutional

violations and then simply ignore them—with impunity.

Indeed, if a city council’s inaction cannot attach liability to a

city, then the incentive will always be for a city’s council to

do nothing, because according to the appeals court, if a city’s

council does nothing, that fully insulates it from liability."

B. Should a city be held liable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983

where a City policymaker—who actually made policy,

had 200 employees under her command, and was

responsible for an $11 million annual budget—was_ the

individual that personally took and also directed

unconstitutional actions against Petitioners?

Although liability most clearly attaches to cities via

action (or inaction) of their legislative body, misconduct by a

Policymaker can also attach liability to a municipality. This

Court has recognized that cities delegate most municipal

“policymaking”:

Like other governmental entities, municipalities often

spread policymaking authority among various

officers and official bodies. As a result, particular

officers may have authority to establish binding

county policy respecting particular matters and to

adjust that policy for the county in changing

circumstances. To hold a municipality liable for

'' It should be emphasized that unless a council’s action is itself

unconstitutional (which, realistically, it almost never is), a council’s vote

(or inaction) only attaches liability to a city—it does not create the

liability. The plaintiff must still prove the underlying unconstitutional

conduct in order to prevail. What council’s awareness provides is a

means to overcome the § 1983 “no respondeat superior liability”

limitation.

ee

Ee OO Oe ee ee ON Te ee See Le ee

21

actions ordered by such officers exercising their

policymaking authority is no more an application of

the theory of respondeat superior than was holding

the municipalities liable for the decisions of the City

councils in Owen and Newport.

Pembaur, 475 U.S. at 483.'”

The appeals court cites Pembaur for the proposition that

one must make final policy in order to be a policymaker

(App. 15a), but the facts in Pembaur suggest that one need

not make policy at all to be a policymaker under §1983:

In ordering the Deputy Sheriffs to enter petitioner's

clinic the County Prosecutor was acting as the final

decisionmaker for the county, and the county may

therefore be held liable under § 1983.

Pembaur, 475 U.S. at 484-85 (emphasis added).

It is notable that although this quote refers to the “County

Prosecutor,” it was actually Assistant Prosecutor Whalen that

was held to be a policymaker—even though as Assistant

Prosecutor, he could not make any policy under Ohio law.

Link testified not only that she was a final

decisionmaker, which was sufficient under the facts of

Pembaur, but also that she established operating procedures

and actually made policy. No such testimony can be found in

the above cases.

Substantial summary judgment and trial evidence

showed that Link was a policymaker:

First, in her summary judgment affidavit, Link testified

that she derived her authority from the Comprehensive

? In Pembaur, the assistant county prosecutor recommended that police

forcibly enter a doctor’s clinic to serve capiases on two witnesses they

believed were there. Jd. at 483. This Court held the assistant prosecutor

to be a policymaker even though the County argued that “the prosecutor

lacked authority to establish municipal policy respecting law

enforcement practices.” Jd. at 484.

22

Urban Rehabilitation and Building Standards (“CURB”)

ordinance, and that she had overseen enforcement of CURB

since the day it was passed on Dec. 8, 1993. Link further

testified that she managed an $11 million annual budget and

supervised over 200 employees, and that during her 20 years

of employment with the City,

I have studied and reviewed City Ordinances and

State laws extensively. I have also studied

ordinances regulating substandard and dangerous

buildings of other Cities, recommended changes to

the City and Local Government and provided expert

testimony before State legislative hearings and

proposed changes to State Laws.

To meet the division’s responsibilities, the Assistant

Director [Link] is required to establish operating

procedures for enforcing City Codes. For example,

the Assistant Director has the authority to establish

procedures for inspection and abatement work

performed by the City. The exercise of judgment and

discretion with respect to these policies and

procedures could have significant impact on the

health and safety of the public.

(emphasis added). In summary, Link testified under oath

that she used her discretion and judgment to establish

“policies and procedures” in the very areas of the City’s

business that were challenged in this lawsuit. One could

scarcely imagine a more compelling statement of

policymaking.

Second, at trial, Link testified that she has been delegated

power by the Building Official to “determine what type of

action should be taken to enforce City Codes.” Link further

testified that she exercised this power in Aspenwood’s case

by determining (1) whether she would grant extensions to

Aspenwood, (2) whether she would require that Aspenwood

post a $2200 bond, (3) whether she would enter an

agreement with Aspenwood regarding repairs, and (4)

whether she would give—or withhold—permits from

23

Aspenwood. It is undisputed that Link withheld

Aspenwood’s permits.

Third, the following trial testimony also shows that Link

made policy:

QUESTION: [asking Link about paragraph 5 in her

affidavit] You said to meet the division’s responsibilities,

assistant director [Link] is required to establish operating

procedures for enforcing City Codes. Have you, in fact,

established some of those operating procedures?

LINK’S ANSWER: Fes, I have.

QUESTION: Have you done that independently or is it

done within a committee environment or how does it work?

ANSWER: It’s done with the consultation of the

managers within the division.

QUESTION: But it’s your call in the final analysis?

ANSWER: Yes.

The following also shows that Link made policy:

QUESTION: Ma’am, would you flip to the third page

and look at point [affidavit paragraph] No. 6? You have

stated here inspection personnel, not the assistant director,

are responsible for determining whether a violation exists.

Issuing notice by certified mail to owners. Is that one of the

procedures you have established that whenever violations

are found, a notice is sent to the owner by certified mail?

LINK’S ANSWER: Fes.

QUESTION: And you have trained your staff to do it

that way?

ANSWER: Yes.

Link’s own sworn affidavit and her trial testimony (both

of which the trial judge considered in ruling on the

policymaker issue), show that Link had power under CURB

to be both a policymaker and a final decisionmaker, and that,

in fact, she made policies and also made the decision to

withhold permits and unconstitutionally search Aspenwood.

Finally, a post-Pembaur decision of this Court explained

24

that a “policymaker” is someone not subject to effective

review procedures. City of St. Louis v. Praprotnik, 485 U.S.

112, 145 (1988) (Brennan, J., concurring in the judgment).

As Link herself stated in a letter to Yetiv, there was no

effective means within the City of Houston to review her

decisions. In her Aug. 22, 1994, letter to Yetiv, in response

to Yetiv’s question on how her decisions could be appealed,

Link stated:

- If there is a disagreement regarding a default in the

future or progress of the job, the disagreement will be

resolved by City inspectors. The mechanism to

appeal the City’s [Link’s] decisions regarding the

progress of the job is District Court. ~

Although Link failed to disclose that her decisions could

be appealed to City Council—or anywhere else, other than

District Court—Petitioners appealed to City Council on three

occasions, but all that resulted from that was that Petitioners

got sued by the City.

Obviously, Link was correct when she said that the only

way to appeal her decision was by going to court.

C. Should a city be held liable under 42 U.S.C. § 1983

where the City illegally implemented policies it had to

search, to withhold repair permits iain and to demolish

low-income property?

Whether there is a § 1983 custom or practice is a jury

question. Webster v. City of Houston, 735 F.2d 838, 842 (5"

Cir. 1984), Bennett v. City of Slidell, 728 F.2d 762, 767-68

(5™ Cir. 1984). Despite that, the appeals court disregarded

substantial evidence in the record showing a custom and

practice of withholding permits, favoring demolition and

conducting improper searches. The appeals court also

concluded that repeated unconstitutional actions taken

against Petitioners by dozens of City agents over several

years cannot be used to show custom and practice. In other

words, the appeals court erroneously concluded that only

sii. iti

25

actions against others (but not actions taken against the

plaintiffs in a specific case) can be used to prove policy and

custom. This Court has never suggested that a city gets a

“free pass” for repeated unconstitutional actions it takes

against the plaintiffs in a certain case, nor would this

requirement make any sense. The extensive, repeated, and -

long-lasting constitutional misconduct aimed at Petitioners in

this case should certainly be considered in determining

whether a policy or custom existed. Some of the evidence

that supports the jury’s conclusion in the instant case that

there was a custom or practice to withhold permits, demolish

and to conduct illegal searches includes:

e The fact that the only way that Petitioners were able

to get the building permits was by suing the City and

obtaining a court order to force the City to issue permits.

e Withholding permits a second time, even in violation

of a court order compelling the City to issue them.

e Lying by City inspectors in a sworn affidavit in order

to get a faulty search warrant, the scope of which was far

exceeded when 30 City inspectors, demolition contractors

and armed police officers executed it.

e The multiple improper inspections made, leading to

three progressively more stringent injunctions and a finding

of contempt and assessment of sanctions against the City.

e The statement by one of the City’s own inspectors

(Inspector Watson) that the City’s tactics against Petitioners

constituted “‘Gestapo tactics.”

e The 25 citations written to Yetiv by four different

City inspectors, all of which were dismissed when none of

the inspectors showed up to the three different court dates.

e Link’s invention of a complaint that Aspenwood was

dumping asbestos-containing materials in the public street,

an allegation that was proven false by the City’s own

asbestos inspector.

26

e The vote by City council to sue Petitioners—instead

of making sure that Petitioners got the building permits they

had been trying to get for six months.

e The fact that City council itself voted to pay the

Leaths $210,000 to settle their § 1983 lawsuit on nearly

identical facts.

In addition to the above, Petitioners offered into evidence

a Feb. 17, 1993, memorandum prepared by the Director of

the City of Houston Planning and Development Department.

This memo was addressed to the Mayor and “All City

Councilmembers” and described a survey of 587 square

miles which identified 11,710 buildings which were

allegedly “hazardous.” The concluding paragraph stated:

“We notified the Legal Department in December of this

effort and will now move forward aggressively to identify

owners and push for demolition.”'°

Despite the above, the appeals court concluded “the only

evidence of any custom or usage of demolishing or searching

low-income housing or withholding permits involves the

Aspenwood Apartments and-the Leaths’s buildings.” (App.

24a). The panel acknowledged that the City withheld permits

from the Leaths and from Petitioners and that both the Leath

and Yetiv/Aspenwood evidence of custom and practice were

known to council (/d.). Even if the Leath/Yetiv/Aspenwood

evidence were the only evidence proving these customs and

practices—which it was not—it should have been enough

because of the repeated nature and egregiousness of the

'? Although Petitioners offered this document, the trial judge did not

admit it. Petitioners preserved error at trial via a bill of exceptions, but

did not raise this issue in their appeal (dealing with the Huey/Link

summary judgment) because they were satisfied with the jury verdict.

Once the appeals court reversed, Petitioners asked the court to consider

the evidence in their bill of exceptions, but the court refused to do so.

Petitioners raise this not as a separate appeal issue, but so that if this

Petition is granted, this Court will consider the evidence in their bill of

exceptions.

27

violations. Bennett v. City of Slidell, 728 F.2d 762, 767-68

(5" Cir. 1984):

Where the violations are flagrant or severe, the fact

finder will likely require a shorter pattern of the

conduct, to be satisfied that diligent governing body

members would necessarily have learned of the

objectionable practice and acceded to its

continuation. Knowledge of a continuing practice of

city employees may be attributed to the governing

body in one of two ways. Actual knowledge may be

shown by such means as discussions at council

meetings or receipt of written information.

(emphasis added). Therefore, if the practice or

custom is “flagrant or severe” or if council has actual

knowledge of the conduct, custom and practice is

established. The instant case is easy since the

conduct (including numerous intentional violations of

court orders by multiple city agents) was flagrant and

City Council had actual knowledge of both the Leath

and Aspenwood matters. What happened to the

Leaths was egregious, so much so that the City tried

to settle that case in secret. And by the time Yetiv

complained to Houston’s Council, Council already

had actual knowledge of the wrongful revocation of

permits and demolition of the Leath apartments.

The appeals court cites a single case in support of its “no

policy/custom” conclusion, and describes the holding of that

case as follows: “no well-settled, widespread custom existed

when about 12 racial-harassment incidents occurred over two

and one-half years and high-ranking officials learned of

occasional incidents.” (App. 24a). Hamilton v. Rodgers, 791

F.2d 439, 443 (5" Cir. 1986).

The Hamilton case is entirely distinguishable. First, the

appeals court’s citation of the holding is inaccurate. The

Fifth Circuit actually said this:

Perhaps a dozen incidents arose within the two and a half

28

years preceding Hamilton’s suspension; no continual

pattern therefore arose that would warrant the imputation

of constructive knowledge to high ranking officers of the

Fire Department.

(emphasis added). Thus, in Hamilton, the Fifth Circuit was

concerned that there were not enough racial incidents for the

municipality (the defendant in Hamilton was again the City

of Houston) to have become aware of the problem.

Obviously, that is entirely distinguishable from the instant

case where the City of Houston Council had voted to pay

$210,000 to settle the Leath lawsuit and was informed by

Yetiv of the unconstitutional conduct against him and

Aspenwood. Thus, Council had actual knowledge of

repeated constitutional misconduct, and there was no issue of

“imputing constructive knowledge.”

Secondly, the Hamilton court—unlike the appeals court

in the instant case—did not have a problem with the fact that

all the racial incidents were directed at the plaintiff in that

case. The Hamilton court did not require there to be other

“victims” of the City of Houston’s_ constitutional

misconduct.

Finally, the Fifth Circuit noted that when supervisors

became aware of the racial abuse directed at Hamilton, “they

promptly acted to discourage them, reprimanding those

responsible and noting the incidents in the offenders’ files.”

Id. In contrast, when Yetiv advised Council of the

constitutional misconduct here, Council sued him.

In summary, Petitioners here adduced more than

enough evidence to sustain the finding that the City of

Houston had a policy of conducting illegal searches, of

withholding or revoking permits, and of improperly

demolishing apartments.

CONCLUSION

In this case, the jury found that the City of Houston

29

violated Petitioners’ Fourth, Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendment rights by withholding building repair permits

and illegally searching Aspenwood’s property. Petitioners

did everything a reasonable property owner could possibly

do to get permits, but it was only by suing the City that

Petitioners were finally able to get those permits. Instead of

issuing the permits, the City marshalled the full force of its

police power and retaliated with a massive raid more fitting

of a drug bust of a narcotic kingpin rather of a city’s dealing

with a law-abiding businessman trying to rejuvenate low-

income apartments.

The court of appeals indulged multiple inferences against

the jury verdict, misinterpreted this Court’s decisions and

erred in concluding the City of Houston was not liable, thus

vitiating §1983. The appeals court concluded that the City is

not liable for the unconstitutional conduct found by the jury

even though Yetiv complained three times to City council

about the permit-withholding and illegal searches. Contrary

to Owen and Fact Concerts, the appeals court concluded that

the fact that Houston City Council ignored Yetiv’s

complaints was not sufficient to attach liability to the City.

The appeals court has provided a recipe to cities on how

to avoid § 1983 liability. First, a City must pass an

ordinance stating that the conduct of every city employee is

subject to appeal to City Council. That means, according to

the appeals court, that no City agent could be a policymaker

since there is theoretical review of every city employee.

According to the appeals court, one need not worry if the

oversight is real or imagined—as it was in this case. Second,

City Council must not take any action regardless of the

nature of the complaints that are brought to it because

inaction is not actionable under § 1983.

This is not the state of § 1983 law. Council’s ignoring

Yetiv’s complaints about unconstitutional conduct—which

complaints the jury found to be valid—made the City liable

for subsequent similar unconstitutional conduct. In this case,

Council had actual knowledge of this conduct and instead of

30

putting a stop to it, Council “shot the messenger.” In

addition, Link was clearly a policymaker whose misconduct

attached liability to the City. Finally, Petitioners proved that

city agents illegally implemented against Petitioners City

policies to search and withhold building repair permits.

This case was an egregious display of the abuse of

governmental power, and is precisely the sort of case that §

1983 was meant to redress. Petitioners respectfully request

that this Honorable Court grant their Petition, and then

reinstate the jury’s verdict in favor of Petitioners.

September 24, 2002.

Respectfully submitted,

JACK YETIV

350 Allen Rd.

Woodside, CA 94062

Ph: (650) 851-2425

Fax: (650) 851-9895

In Pro Se

MARVIN ISGUR

700 Louisiana, Suite 4600

Houston, Texas 77002

Ph: (713) 222-1480

Fax: (713) 222-1475

Counsel of Record

Aspenwood Apt. Corp.

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

APPENDIX A

Letter from Texas Supreme Court denying

Petitioners’ Petition for Review ..................... la

APPENDIX B

Opinion from the First Court of Appeals,

Houston, TX, dated Aug. 27, 1999 ............... 2a

APPENDIX C

Opinion from the First Court of Appeals,

Houston, TX, dated Jan. 24, 2002 ............. 66a

APPENDIX D

- Modified Final Judgment, 215th District Court,

Harris County, TX, dated Oct. 20, 1997 ..... 79a

APPENDIX E

Ee 87a

APPENDIX F

Indemnification provision contained in City of

Houston Code of Ordinances (City

ei iebssasscscrcesscvsecssscescesesess 88a

emer gs OES GARR oe .

ue mee RMR

Rie Ay

APPENDIX A

THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

Post Office Box 12248

Austin, Texas 78711

é (512) 463-1312

June 27, 2002

Mr. W. Briscoe Swan

1900 N. Loop West, Suite 500

Houston, TX 77018-8120

Mr. Jeff D. Lefkowitz

Winsted, Sechrest & Minick, PC

910 Travis St., Suite 2400

Houston, TX 77002

RE: Case Number: 02-0229

Court of Appeals Number: 01-97-01378-CV

Trial Court Number: 94-59707

Style: ASPENWOOD APT. CORP. AND JACK YETIV

V.

CITY OF HOUSTON

Dear Counsel:

Today, the Supreme Court of Texas denied both

petitions for review in the above numbered and styled

case.

Sincerely,

John T. Adams, Clerk

by Blanca E. Morin

Blanca E. Morin, Deputy

ce: Ms. Margie Thompson, Clerk

Mr. Charles Bacarisse

Mr. Jack Yetiv

2a

APPENDIX B

Court of Appeals of Texas, Houston (1st Dist.).

The CITY OF HOUSTON, Appellant,

v.

ASPENWOOD APARTMENT CORPORATION and

Jack Yetiv, M.D., PH.D., Appellees.

ASPENWOOD APARTMENT CORPORATION and

Jack Yetiv, M.D., PH.D., Appellants,

v.

Beatrice LINK and Helen Huey, Appellees.

No. 01-97-01378-CV.

Aug. 27, 1999.

On Appeal from the 215th District Court, Harris

County, Texas, Trial Court Cause No. 9459707.

Panel consists of Justices COHEN, HEDGES, and

NUCHIA.

OPINION

MURRY B. COHEN, Justice.

*1 The City of Houston appeals from a judgment

against it for $340,000 actual damages for section

1983! violations and a judgment declaring parts of the

City’s Comprehensive Urban Rehabilitation and

Building Minimum Standards (CURB) ordinance

unconstitutionally vague. Dr. Yetiv and Aspenwood

Apartment Corporation (AAC) appeal from summary

judgment on their claims against Beatrice Link,

Assistant Director of Neighborhood Protection, and

1 42 USC. § 1983 (1999) (relevant portion not

substantively changed by 1996 amendment).

3a

former Houston City Council member Helen Huey in

their individual capacities. We reverse the section

1983 judgment against the City, render judgment that

Yetiv and AAC take nothing on those claims, and

dissolve a related injunction. We also reverse the

judgment declaring various CURB provisions

unconstitutional and dissolve a related injunction.

Finally, we reverse the summary judgments in favor of

Link and Huey and remand for determination of the

claims against them.

BACKGROUND

Yetiv is the sole shareholder and officer of AAC.

Sometime before April 1994, AAC was considering

purchasing a low-income apartment complex (the AAC

apartments) in Huey’s council district. Yetiv knew that

buildings C, D, E, G, J, K, L, M, and N of these

apartments were under a Houston Building and

Standards Commission’s (BSC) dangerous building

order (DBO) of November 3, 1993. The DBO ordered

the property owner to obtain building permits within

30 days, begin repairs on the nine buildings within 90

days, and complete repairs within 210 days from the

DBO’s date. The DBO provided that, if the owner did

not comply, the City could remedy, alleviate, or

remove any substandard building.

Before purchasing the apartments, Yetiv decided to

meet with Link to discuss the DBO. They met on April

9, 1994. At that meeting, Yetiv asked whether the

DBO’s timelines could be extended for six months

beyond their scheduled expiration date of June 3,

1994. Link testified that she told Yetiv that, to get an

extension, he would need to submit a “cure plan” (list

of repairs) for all condemned buildings and to

complete an extension request form, which required

the owner (1) to post a bond if the DBO’s timelines

had expired; (2) to attach a cure plan; and (3) if he had

4a

not obtained permits to repair or demolish the

building, to get an occupancy inspection to determine

the repairs to be made. In contrast, Yetiv testified Link

told him that only a cure plan for some of the

condemned buildings and the completed extension

request form were required for an extension. Yetiv

submitted a cure plan for only four of the buildings,

testifying that Link told him to limit the cure plans

only to the buildings that he could realistically

complete within the extension period.

Link said she told Yetiv in May 1994 that AAC’s

application was deficient because it needed cure plans

for all nine buildings. Yetiv denied Link required cure

plans for all nine buildings. On May 20, Yetiv

submitted a revised cure plan, which Link again

rejected. For disputed reasons, the extension was

never approved, and the DBO’s timelines expired on

June 3, 1994.

*2 After the DBO’s timelines expired, the Building

Inspection Division placed a “hold” on the AAC

apartments, preventing issuance of repair or building

permits. The parties dispute whether AAC needed an

occupancy inspection before executing a _ bond

agreement to have the hold lifted. Again for disputed

reasons, AAC never received an occupancy inspection

or submitted another amended cure plan, although it

posted a bond. During this time, AAC did some work

on some of the condemned buildings without permits.

Yetiv contended this was work for which permits were

not required or was cleaning; the City, Link, and Huey

disagreed.

Yetiv and AAC’s relationship with Link and Huey

continued to deteriorate. Yetiv and AAC contended

that Link would not respond to many of Yetiv’s

communications, denied him permits without reason,

and improperly placed holds on the AAC apartments.

sk Seale bile Bill

ee ey ee we,

5a

Yetiv and AAC also contended Link and Huey had the

apartments watched or inspected frequently, they

ordered meritless inspections, Huey pushed for the

AAC apartments’ demolition to gentrify her district,

Huey would not return many of Yetiv’s

communications, and Link and Huey misinformed

City Council about AAC’s case. Link and Huey

disputed these claims.

On October 11, 1994, Yetiv appeared before City

Council to complain about Link and CURB, after

having complained similarly on television the night

before. Shortly thereafter, on October 27, 1994, the

Building Inspection Division conducted a mass

inspection of the AAC apartments under a search

warrant. The City, Link, and Huey contended the

inspection was to determine if AAC was doing repairs

without permits, and they denied the inspectors lied to

obtain the search warrant or had illegally entered

AAC’s property to collect information for that warrant.

Yetiv and AAC claimed the inspectors illegally entered

their property after Yetiv’s City Council presentation,

issued meritless citations to harass and retaliate

against him, and lied in the warrant’s supporting

affidavit.

In December 1994, the City sued Yetiv and AAC to

enjoin them from repairing the AAC apartments

without permits. Shortly afterwards, AAC submitted

revised cure plans, which were approved, for buildings

C, D, and F. Yetiv then sought a temporary injunction

to compel the permits’ issuance. At the hearing, the

parties signed an agreed order, acknowledging that

AAC had submitted sufficient information for permits

to issue on buildings C, D, and F, and stating that the

City would approve information submitted on the

remaining buildings if the building official determined

the information for them was substantially similar to

that submitted for buildings C, D, and F. The City and

6a

AAC had fewer problems until October 1995, when

Link placed another hold on the AAC apartments.

Link claimed AAC had allowed certain permits to

expire, but Yetiv and AAC claimed the City violated the

agreed order. In March 1996, AAC submitted a cure

plan that met the City’s approval. Yetiv sought

another injunction in April 1996 to compel the

permits’ issuance, and, a few days later, the permits

were issued. AAC has had no further problems

obtaining permits since April 1996. In December

1996, an inspector came to another of Yetiv’s

properties in Huey’s district. Yetiv then obtained a

temporary injunction preventing inspections at any of

his apartment properties without his or the judge’s

permission. The ancillary judge eventually held the

City in contempt because it violated the agreed order

by continuing inspections.

*3 Yetiv and AAC counterclaimed against the City,

joining Huey and Link as counterdefendants,? alleging

malicious prosecution and abuse of process;’ tortious

interference with contracts between AAC and its

tenants and employees; and section 1983 claims for

unconstitutional “taking” of their property, retaliation

for asserting First Amendment rights, illegal searches,

and due process violations. They also sought a

declaratory judgment for “takings” and due course of

law violations under the Texas Constitution caused by

improperly withholding permits. Yetivand/ ~ “ght

actual and punitive damages, attorney’s , an

injunction requiring the City to issue building permits

to AAC, and a declaration that CURB was

2 Huey and Link were sued in their individual and official

capacities.

3 AAC’s counterclaim was dropped before summary

judgment was granted, and Yetiv and AAC admit this on

appeal.

7a

unconstitutional because it discriminated against

minorities.

In June 1997, the trial judge granted summary

judgment for Huey on all claims asserted against her

individually and for Link on all state-law claims

against her individually. In July 1997, Yetiv and AAC

nonsuited their federal-law (section 1983) claims

against Link. In August 1997, the trial judge granted

partial summary judgment: for Yetiv and AAC,

declaring CURB sections 10- 361(a)(3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10)

and 10-361(b)(1, 2) unconstitutionally vague and

enjoining their enforcement.

Yetiv and AAC proceeded to trial against the City

only. The jury was charged only on Yetiv’s section

1983 claim against the City for First Amendment

retaliation and on AAC’s section 1983 claim against

the City for illegal searches and permit withholding.

After finding that the City did not retaliate against

Yetiv for asserting his First Amendment rights, the

jury found that the City (1) searched the AAC

apartments without a search warrant or beyond any

warrant’s scope and (2) arbitrarily or capriciously

denied or withheld permits for work on the AAC

apartments. The jury found AAC’s actual damages to

be $3,000 for the unlawful searches and $337,500 for

withheld permits. The trial judge rendered final

judgment (1) incorporating the jury verdict; (2)

awarding AAC $340,500 actual damages against the

City; (3) incorporating the partial summary judgment

declaring the challenged CURB sections

unconstitutional for vagueness and enjoining the City

from the provisions’ enforcement; (4) awarding

$70,000 attorney’s fees for Yetiv’s CURB challenge and

$99,450 attorney’s fees for AAC’s section 1983 claims

(plus up to $120,000 attorney’s fees contingent on

appeal), pre- and post-judgment interest, and costs

8a

against the City; (5) incorporating the summary

judgments in favor of Link and Huey, individually, and

dismissing without prejudice Yetiv and AAC’s section

1983 claims against Link; and (6) issuing a permanent

injunction ordering the City

to desist and refrain from conducting ANY

inspection, other than those related to construction

and/or renovation of buildings of the [AAC

apartments], UNLESS the inspections are authorized

by a Court or by Dr. Yetiv, in writing. Nothing in this

Order restricts the City of Houston Fire Department

or Police Department or another City department or

agency from responding to any emergency assistance

requests from the aforementioned properties.

*4 The City appeals from the portion of the judgment

declaring parts of CURB unconstitutional and

assessing damages against it on AAC’s section 1983

claims, and Yetiv and AAC appeal from the summary

judgments in favor of Huey and Link.

THE CITY’S APPEAL

A. Section 1983

In issues one through three, the City argues (1) the

evidence was legally and factually insufficient to

establish its liability to AAC under section 1983, (2)

the trial judge erred as a matter of law in ruling Link

was a “final policymaker,” and (3) the trial judge erred

in submitting the following jury questions because

they impermissibly allowed the jury to find the City

liable solely on Link’s decisions or on respondeat

superior:

Jury Question No. 2: Do you find that the City of

Houston undertook one or more searches of [AAC]’s

property without a search warrant which was based

on a truthful affidavit and/or that such searches

were beyond the scope of the warrant through

decisions of Beatrice Link, the Houston City Council

9a

and/or through a pattern, practice, policy or custom

in the City?

Jury Question No. 3: Do you find that the City of

Houston arbitrarily and/or capriciously denied or

withheld permits for authorization to work on its

buildings to [AAC], through decisions of Beatrice

Link, the Houston City Council and/or through a

pattern, practice, policy or custom in the City?

The charge contained the following instruction, as

well:

A City is liable for an unconstitutional governmental

policy, custom, ordinance, regulation, or decision.

Therefore, if you find that Dr. Yetiv and/or [AAC]

was injured as the proximate result of [the City’s]

policy, custom, ordinance, regulation, or decision,

whether made by its lawmakers or by those whose

edicts or acts may fairly be said to represent official

policy, then the City itself will be liable. In

particular, [the City] is legally responsible for any

policy, custom, ordinance, regulation, or decision

endorsed by City Council. If you find that City

Council action or inaction violated Dr. Yetiv’s and/or

[AAC’s] constitutional rights, [the City] is liable for

such violations.

Even if you determine that the particular policy was

established for a single occasion, you may still find

that it represented an official policy of the City,

provided that a deliberate choice to follow a course of

action was made from among various alternatives by

the official or officials responsible for establishing

final policy with respect to the subject matter in

question. [The City] is responsible for policies or

practices of its employees if City Council knew or

should have known about an unlawful “pattern” of

conduct by City employees. .

We follow the usual standard of review for factual

sufficiency of the evidence and for legal sufficiency of

the evidence supporting issues on which the City did

10a

not have the burden of proof. See Transport Ins. Co. v.

Faircloth, 898 S.W.2d 269, 275-76 (Tex.1995) (legal

sufficiency); Cain _v. Bain, 709 S.W.2d_ 175, 176

(Tex. 1986) (factual sufficiency).

*5 The trial judge ruled as a matter of law, over the

City’s objection, that Link was a final policymaker for

purposes of the City’s liability under section 1983. The

charge then allowed the jury to find the City had

violated AAC’s rights if (1) a City Council decision did

so, (2) Link did so, or (3) the City Council actually or

constructively knew of a pattern or custom of City

employees doing so.

i. Municipal Liability under Section 1983

A city may not be held liable under section 1983 on a

respondeat superior theory. Monell v. Department of

Soc. Servs. of the City of New York, 436 U.S. 658, 692,

98 S.Ct. 2018, 2036, 56 L.Ed.2d 611 (1978). Rather, a

city may be held liable only when an injury was

inflicted pursuant to governmental policy or custom.

City of St. Louis v. Praprotnik, 485 U.S. 112, 121-22,

108 S.Ct. 915, 923, 99 L.Ed.2d 107 (1988) (plurality).

If an unconstitutional action implements or executes

even a single policy statement, ordinance, regulation,

or decision of

a. the city’s legislative body or

b. a city official responsible for establishing final

policy with respect to the subject matter in question

(a “final policymaker’),

the action is the city’s “policy.” Monell, 436 U.S. at

690-91, 98 S.Ct. at 2035-36; Pembaur v. City of

Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469, 482-83, 106 S.Ct. 1292,

1299-1300, 89 L.Ed.2d 452 (1986); see Praprotnik,

485 U.S. at 123, 127, 108 S.Ct. at 924, 926 (single

final policymaker decision suffices). Similarly, if the

city legislative body or final policymaker expressly

ratifies a subordinate’s decision and the basis for it,

lla

the subordinate’s decision will become city policy.

Praprotnik, 485 U.S. at 127, 128, 108 S.Ct. at 926,

927.

Finally, if an unconstitutional custom or usage of city

employees is persistent, widespread, permanent, and

well-settled, it is the city’s “custom” even when it is

not approved by or based on a decision of the city’s

legislative body or final policymaker. Monell, 436 U.S.

at_ 690-91, 98 S.Ct. at 2036; Praprotnik, 485 U.S. at

122, 108 S.Ct. at 923; Pembaur, 475 U.S. at 483, 106

S.Ct. at 300; Bennett v. City of Slidell, 728 F.2d 762,

768 (5th Cir. 1984).

In summary, the City can have section 1983 liability

here only if

i. City Council (a) passed an ordinance or resolution

that city employees followed in improperly

withholding permits from Yetiv and AAC and illegally

searching the AAC apartments or (b) expressly

ratified these employees’ improper actions;

ii. Link was a final policymaker who (a) made a

decision or policy statement that city employees

followed in improperly withholding permits from AAC

and Yetiv and illegally searching the AAC

apartments or (b) expressly ratified these employees’

improper actions; or

*6 ii. There was a persistent, widespread,

permanent, and well-settled custom or usage of city

employees’ improperly withholding permits from and

illegally searching low-income housing.

2. Did City Council Expressly Adopt an

Unconstitutional Policy or Expressly Ratify

Subordinates’ Unconstitutional Actions?

The City first claims there was no evidence of

improper conduct by the City Council. We agree.

12a

Yetiv and AAC cite the following alleged City policies

as evidence of unconstitutional policy or ratification of

subordinates’ unconstitutional actions: (1) a policy to

demolish low-income housing, (2) a policy wrongfully

to withhold building and repair permits, and (3) a

policy for inspectors illegally to search Houston

residents’ housing. We look for evidence of these three

policies.*

Yetiv and AAC point to the following evidence they

claim shows that Houston City Council promulgated

or adopted these three policies:5

. Council’s approval of a 1994 secret settlement with

the Leaths, other apartment owners in Huey’s

district, whose apartments were demolished;

. An October Houston Chronicle article discussing the

above settlement’s sealing;

. Huey’s campaign photograph, showing her leaning

upon a sledgehammer and stating, “From putting a

sledgehammer to dangerous buildings to diplomatic

negotiations ... Helen’s two years at City Hall have

been busy and productive....”;

4 Yetiv and AAC did not submit a jury question on

demolition. However, we construe Yetiv and AAC’s

argument to be that evidence that the City wanted low-

income housing demolished would also be indirect evidence

that the City wrongfully withheld building permits for low-

income housing, i.e., if permits were withheld, repairs could

not be done, and buildings could be demolished. Therefore,

we review the evidence supporting a “demolition” policy.

5 The remaining “evidence,” omitted from our discussion,

on which Yetiv and AAC rely was either attached to a

pleading, a summary judgment response, or included in a

bill of exceptions and was not, therefore, before the jury.

Yetiv and AAC do not complain on appeal of the exclusion of

any evidence in their bill. In a sufficiency review, we cannot

consider any of the items not before the jury.

nde tenets # Tallies penta

fab dh 4 Bicmeah

b |

”

rs]

af

l3a

- A Huey staff member’s notation: “I spoke to [a

constituent] about [the AAC apartments]. Told her

that you were on staff and your only focus is on

dangerous buildings and apartment complexes. She

was pleased to know that you were working to get

these dumps gone from District A”;

. An August 1993 filenote from an unidentified

person who accompanied an inspector to the AAC

apartments, stating in part, “The largest problem

that will be faced by the City when they present their

case [at a BSC hearing] on all the additional

buildings is that they all have repair permits out on

them. The City will be asking for a ‘repair or

demolish’ order, and the fact that repair permits are

in existence will work almost like an absolute

defense ...”;

. A neighbor’s deposition, stating that he and other

neighbors tried to have the AAC apartments

demolished;

. Videotape and text of, and a handout from, Yetiv’s

October 11, 1994 presentation to City Council,

discussing Link’s alleged harassment of him, noting

an incident when inspectors entered his property

without permission, suggesting CURB amendments

that would preserve low-income housing, and

claiming CURB as_ written and_— enforced

disproportionately targeted poor minorities and

discouraged the purchase of low-income properties.

. Videotape of a local news interview with Yetiv, in

which Yetiv discussed Link’s alleged harassment of

him and stated that CURB discouraged the purchase

of low-income housing.

Only the first of these seven acts is conduct by the

City, and it is not evidence of a City Council “policy

statement, ordinance, regulation, or decision”

regarding the AAC apartments. See Monell, 436 U.S. at

690, 98 S.Ct. at 2036. It does not show Council’s

“deliberate choice to follow a course of action ... from

l4a

among various alternatives,” ie., an express decision

by Council. See Pembaur, 475 U.S. at 483, 106 S.Ct.

at 1300. Furthermore, Huey’s actions are not those of -

the City Council. See City of Houston Charter, art. VII,

§ 3 (Act of 1905; added by amend. Aug. 15, 1942;

amend. Aug. 11, 1979; amend. Aug. 14, 1982)

(Council acts only by ordinance, resolution, or motion,

passed by majority vote). To hold otherwise would be

to hold the City responsible under the doctrine of

respondeat superior. The law prohibits that. Monell,

436 U.S. at 692, 98 S.Ct. at 2036.

*7 Yetiv and AAC next contend that Council ratified

subordinates’ actions by (1) voting to sue AAC and (2)

not investigating Yetiv’s claims. Council voted to sue

AAC for repairing without a permit; it did not vote to

withhold permits or to demolish or search AAC’s or

anyone’s buildings. Moreover, not investigating Yetiv’s

claims is not an express ratification of anything.

We distinguish Owen v. Independencé and Newport

v. Fact Concerts, Inc.,7 on which Yetiv and AAC rely. In

Owen, in which the Court considered whether

qualified immunity applies to a city under section

1983, the city council passed a motion for the city

manager to take “appropriate action” against the

police chief, which resulted in his firing, and to release

reports concerning the matter; the constitutional

injury arose directly out of this vote. Owen, 445 U.S.

at 628-29, 100 S.Ct. at 1404. In Fact Concerts, in

which the Court considered whether section 1983

allows punitive damages, the city council voted to

cancel Fact Concerts’s license; again, the

constitutional injury arose directly out of that vote.

Fact Concerts, 453 U.S. at 250-51, 101 S.Ct. at 2751.

Here, the constitutional injury the jury found did not

6 445 U.S. 622, 100 S.Ct. 1398, 63 L.Ed.2d 673 (1980).

7 453 U.S. 247, 101 S.Ct. 2748, 69 L.Ed.2d 616 (1981).

15a

arise out of Council’s vote to sue AAC for repairing

without a permit, and Yetiv and AAC point to no

evidence that Council voted, as the city councils did in

Owen and Fact Concerts, to withhold permits or

demolish or search anyone’s housing.

We hold the evidence on which Yetiv and AAC rely is

no evidence that Houston City Council executed a

policy statement, ordinance, regulation, or decision to

demolish or illegally search low-income housing or

withhold permits. Therefore, we also hold the trial

judge erred in submitting that portion of jury

questions two and three allowing a finding of City

liability based on City Council’s actions.

3. Was Link a Final Policymaker Who Could

Adopt an Unconstitutional Policy or Ratify

Subordinates’ Unconstitutional Actions?

The City next argues it cannot be liable for Link’s

actions because she was not a final policymaker.

For the City to be liable for any unconstitutional

actions by Link, Link had to have the authority to

make final policy in that particular area of the City’s

business. E.g., Praprotnik, 485 U.S. at 127, 108 S.Ct.

at 926. This is a preliminary legal question the judge

makes by reviewing relevant state and local law and

custom or usage having the force of law. Jett v. Dallas

Indep. Sch. Dist., 491 U.S. 701, 738, 109 S.Ct. 2702,

2724, 105 L.Ed.2d 598 (1989): Praprotnik, 485 U-S. at

124, 108 S.Ct. at 924. Final policymaking authority

may be granted directly by legislative enactment or

may be delegated. Pembaur, 475 U.S. at 483, 106

S.Ct. at 1300 (Brennan, J., joined by White, Marshall,

and Blackmun, JJ.). Yetiv and AAC contend both

happened here.

l6a

*8 Under the applicable statutes and ordinances,

Link was not a final policymaker either for permit

issuance or demolition decisions. State law gives

municipalities authority to adopt ordinances--a city

council action-- requiring, among other things,

securing, repairing, removing, or demolishing

substandard, hazardous, or dilapidated buildings.

Tex. Local Gov’t Code Ann. § 214.COl(a) (Vernon

Supp.1999). The Houston City Charter vests power to

enact and enforce ordinances protecting life, health,

and property and removing and abating nuisances in

the City Council, and the power to enforce laws and

ordinances in the mayor. City of Houston Charter, art.

II, § 2(a) (Act of 1905; amend. Oct. 15, 1913); art. VI,

§ 7a(1) (Added by amend. Jul. 26, 1947; amend. Jan.

27, 1968).

Link was the assistant director of the Neighborhood

Protection Division, an executive position with

discretionary authority under the Director of Public

Works. As assistant director, Link testified she

oversaw enforcement of the City’s health and safety

codes, which responsibility included establishing

enforcement procedures. Link admitted she was a

“building official,” whose authority § included

interpreting the Uniform Building Code (UBC) and

overseeing its enforcement and the issuance of

building and repair permits. UBC § § 202(a) (“The

building official is hereby authorized and directed to

enforce all provisions of this code [and] ... shall have

the power to render interpretation of this code and to

adopt and enforce rules and supplemental regulations

in order to clarify the application of its provisions.

Such interpretations, rules and regulations shall be in

8 Yetiv and AAC do not argue that, or brief whether, Link

was a final policymaker for purposes of authorizing

searches of the AAC apartments. Neither do they indicate

on what materials the trial judge could have relied for such

a determination.

17a

conformance with the intent and purpose of this

code.”), 303(a) (permit issuance) (Ord. No. 93-554, 5-

12-93); CURB § 10-321 (Ord. No. 94-674, § 15, 7-6-

94). Upon discovering a CURB violation, a building

official, such as Link, can issue a municipal court

citation, enforceable in municipal court, or request a

hearing before a hearing official or the BSC. CURB §

10-346, 10-347 (Ord. No. 94-674, § 15, 7-6-94). Both

the hearing official’s and BSC’s decisions are final

unless the property owner seeks rehearing or appeals

to district court. CURB § § 10-371, 10-394 (Ord. No.

93- 1570, § 1, 12-8-93); Procedural Rules of the

Building and Standards Commission of the City of

Houston, § 3.07, 2-23-94; see Tex. Loc. Gov't Code

Ann. § 94.039 (Vernon Supp.1999). State law

provides that “the governing body of the municipality”-

-here, City Council--may establish a BSC. Tex. Loc.

Gov't Code Ann. § 54.033 (Vernon Supp.1999). If the

owner fails to comply with the hearing officer’s or

BSC’s order, the building official must enforce the

order. CURB § 10-370 (Ord. No. 93-1570, § 1, 12-8-

93; Ord. No. 94-674, § 15, 7-6-94).

Link testified her decisions were subject to the review

of the Director of Public Works, whose decisions, in

turn, were subject to the mayor’s review. Moreover, a

building official’s decisions--including, the City claims

and Yetiv and AAC do not deny, denying repair

permits--are subject to review of the City’s General

Board of Appeals (GBA), whose duties include

interpreting the UBC, reporting to the mayor and City

Council on its actions, and recommending UBC

amendments. UBC § § 204(b) (Ord. No. 93-554, 5-12-

93). Finally, the GBA’s decisions are not final; they

can be appealed to City Council. UBC § 204(c) (Ord.

No. 93-554, 5-12-93).

*9 The above ordinances and statutes contemplate at

least City Council as the final policymaker in these

18a

two areas, but not building official Link, who only

carried out those policies. The fact that a

policymaking official has discretion in exercising her

functions does not, without more, make her a final

policymaking official. Pembaur, 475 U.S. at 481-83,

106 _ S Ct. at 1299-1300 (holding that the County

Prosecutor, te., the District Attorney, was the final

policymaker for law-enforcement matters under

following test: “The fact that a particular official--even

a policymaking official--has discretion in the exercise

of particular functions does not, without more, give

rise to municipal liability based on an exercise of that

discretion. The official must also be responsible for

establishing final governmental policy respecting such

activity before the municipality can be held liable.”).

Link did not have policymaking power similar to the

County Prosecutor or the County Sheriff in Pembaur.

Link clearly exercised discretion, but, because her

decisions were constrained by her superiors’ policies,

those policies, rather than Link’s discretion in

performing them, were the City’s acts. See Praprotnik,

485 U.S. at 127, 108 S.Ct. at 926 (rejecting argument

that plaintiffs supervisors, who fired him, were final

policymakers simply because the commission

reviewing their decision had only limited review; also

holding, “When an official’s discretionary decisions are

constrained by policies not of that official’s making,

those policies, rather than the _ subordinate’s

departures from them, are the act of the

municipality.”).

Yetiv claims that CURB section 10-370, entitled

“Action by city authorized,” demonstrates Link is a

final policymaker because it requires the building

official to enforce the hearing officer’s or BSC’s orderif

the party does not comply. CURB § 10-370 (Ord. No.

93-1570, § 1, 12-8-93; Ord. No. 94-674, § 15, 7-6-

94). In fact, the section gives a building official like

Link no discretion, much less policymaking authority,

ee

19a

to refuse to enforce a DBO. Jd. (“[T]he building official

shall cause the building to be vacated, repaired,

secured, and/or demolished pursuant to the order.”)

(emphasis added). Furthermore, the term “building

official” is used widely through CURB and the UBC to

refer to a number of people performing a host of

functions that do not involve the making of policy,

such as obtaining warrants for and conducting

inspections, issuing stop-work notices for code

violations, making valuations for fee assessments,

refunding erroneously collected fees, posting notice of

certain hearings and orders, assisting residents

vacating buildings, and the like. See, e.g., UBC § §

202(c), 202(d), 304(c), 304(f}, 305(a) (Ord. No. 93- 5954,

May 12, 1993); CURB § § 10-321, 10-322, 10-335,

10-349 (Ord. No. 93-1570, § 1, 12-8-93; Ord. No. 94-

674,§§ 11, 12, 14, 17, 7-6-94). If the term “building

official” always signified a final policymaker’s actions,

the City could be liable for actions clearly not

involving policymaking at all.

*10 Similarly, because Link’s decisions in the

complained-of area were subject to the review of the

City’s authorized policymakers, Link could not be a

final policymaker in that area. See Praprotnik, 485

U.S. at 127, 108 S.Ct. at 926 (“[W]hen a subordinate’s

decision is subject to review by the municipality’s

authorized policymakers, they have retained the

authority to measure the official’s conduct for

performance with their policies.”) (emphasis in

original). In response, Yetiv and AAC rely on the

following documents to show there was no effective

review of Link’s actions:

. Link’s August 22, 1994 letter telling Yetiv that

appeal of “the City’s” decisions regarding AAC’s

Progress or default in repairing its apartments under

the DBO was to “district court,” but also explaining

the timelines for the DBO’s “appeal” to the BSC had

Yetiv done so timely;

20a

. Yetiv’s September 6, 1994 letter to Huey, stating

that (1) the best course of action against Link was to

seek another BSC hearing; (2) he had left one

message with a BSC representative,? who did not

return his call; (3) Link had told Yetiv he could not

have a BSC hearing, which contradicted what other

city employees told him; and (4) Yetiv was

considering requesting a BSC rehearing;

. Yetiv received no reply to this letter or another to

Huey, in which he asked how to get a BSC hearing;

. The text of Yetiv’s October 11, 1994 presentation to

City Council, described above.

First, if Link misstated the appellate process, that

does not change the fact that the above ordinances

provide for BSC rehearing or appeal to the GBA.!°

Second, whether Huey or Link responded to Yetiv’s

queries on BSC procedure, or whether Yetiv sought a

BSC rehearing more than by his leaving a sole phone

message, does not affect whether Link was a final

9 Yetiv and AAC’s brief states that Yetiv later learned the

BSC representative, Kathy Morgan, worked for Link, but the

document cited in support does not say this. Later in their

brief, Yetiv and AAC repeat this claim and also say Link

“precluded Yetiv from getting a BSC hearing”; however, the

record cited in support does not say this.

10 Moreover, even if Link were delegated the final

decision in permit issuance, inspection, or demolition

matters, that would not necessarily transform her into a

policymaker (much less a final policymaker) in those

matters. See Jett v. Dallas Indep. Sch. Dist., 7 F.3d_ 1241,

1246 (5th Cir.1993) (opinion on remand from Supreme

Court, supra) (holding that official was not final

policymaker under statute’s terms, despite his having final

decision in the particular area). That is, the fact that one’s

decisions im an area are reviewable by policymakers

necessarily means one is not a final policymaker in that

area, but the fact that one’s decisions are final does not

necessarily make one a final policymaker.

2la

policymaker, which is determined by reviewing law

and custom amounting to law.!! See Jett, 491 U.S. at

738, 109 S.Ct. at 2724: Praprotnik, 485 US. at 124,

108 S.Ct. at 924. Finally, City Council’s not

investigating Link’s discretionary decisions after

Yetiv’s presentation was not a delegation to Link of

policymaking authority. See Praprotnik, 485 U.S. at

130, 108 S.Ct. at 927-28 (“Simply going along with

discretionary decisions made by one’s subordinates,

however, is not a delegation to them of the authority

to make policy.”).

We distinguish Houston v. De Trapani}? on which

Yetiv and AAC rely. The De Trapani court took a less

restrictive view of who a final policymaker could be

because a “takings” claim was asserted:

The preponderance of § 1983 problems arise in

contexts other than the takings arena.... Indeed, the

specter of respondeat superior from which the

judiciary has recoiled is purely a tort law concept,

traditionally confined to disputes between private

parties. Governmental takings are, of course, entirely

different by definition. This conclusion is bolstered

by the [U.S. Supreme] Court’s comment in Daniels

that the parameters of § 1983 may depend on the

right implicated.... Accordingly, we are disinclined to

give § 1983 the restrictive reading which the city

advocates on the basis of cases outside the arena of

takings.

'! Moreover, Yetiv admitted he (1) knew a BSC rehearing

was a way to challenge a DBO and (2) only once left a

message about a BSC rehearing for the BSC secretary,

although he saw the BSC secretary after that and never

asked her for a BSC rehearing or requested one in writing.

Although he sent BSC queries to Link, Yetiv knew Link was

not a BSC panel member.

12 771 S.W.2d 703 (Tex.App.--Houston [14th Dist.] 1989,

writ denied).

22a

*11 Id. at 707 (emphasis in original). Rather, we find

the following cases persuasive: City of Lubbock v.

Corbin,'3 City of Houston v. Leach,'!* Bennett v. City of

Slidell,!5 and Carr v. Town of Dewey Beach.'¢

We hold the evidence on which Yetiv and AAC rely is

no evidence Link was a final policymaker on

demolition or permit decisions for whose actions the

City could be liable. Therefore, we hold the trial judge

erred in determining that, as a matter of law, Link was

a final policymaker and in submitting those portions

of jury questions two and three allowing a finding of

City liability based on Link’s actions.

13 942 S.W.2d 14, 20-21 (Tex.App.--Amarillo 1996, writ

denied) (holding supervisor/inspector of building code

department not final policymaker for decisions relating to

home’s construction because his decisions appealable to

building board of appeals).

14 819 S$.W.2d 185, 199-200 (Tex.App.--Houston [14th

Dist.]|_ 1991, no writ) (holding director of solid waste

management not final policymaker for laying off

whistleblower, despite director’s ability to choose which job

classification to lay off, when city department reviewed

decision; employee had right to appeal to city commission,

even though commission had deferential review only; and

city charter and code vested employment authority in those

other than director).

1S 728 F.2d 762, 769-70 (Sth Cir. 1984) (holding building

inspector not final policymaker for refusing to issue

compliance certificate, despite having discretion, when he

executed policy established by code, had authority from

city’s chief administrative officer, and his decisions were

appealable).

16 730 F.Supp. 591, 605-08 (D.Del.1990) (building

inspector).

23a

4. Did Yetiv and AAC Show an Unconstitutional

Pattern or Custom of City Employees for Which

the City Can be Liable?

The City next argues there was no or insufficient

evidence of a persistent, widespread, permanent, and

well-settled pattern or custom of denying permits or

demolishing or illegally searching low-income housing

for which the City could be liable.

In response, Yetiv and AAC claim there were

widespread customs of permit withholding, low-

income-housing demolition, and illegal searches of

Houston residents’ buildings. They rely on the same

evidence on which they relied to show a City Council

policy decision (section A, 2 above). However, this is

evidence at most of a sealed settlement, Huey’s

interest in dangerous buildings, neighbors’ (not city

employees) wish to demolish the AAC apartments,

and Yetiv’s complaints to Council of Link’s

harassment of him and AAC. Moreover, the only other

evidence Yetiv and AAC discuss on appeal does not

show a widespread and well-settled pattern of denying

permits or demolishing or illegally searching low-

income housing:

. The Leaths, whose settlement with the City was

sealed, testified their property had a DBO and was in

disrepair; they wished to convert the property to a

seniors assisted-living complex (ie., not necessarily

low-income housing _like AAC’s); Huey increased

inspections; the Leaths understood their work

permits were revoked at Huey’s insistence, but they

did not know why; Huey told them she did not want

their apartments renovated: and the building was

demolished, but after the Leaths consented.

. Perry Kay testified he demolished his rental house

after the City ordered him to demolish, repair, or

secure it within 30 days and he could not obtain

funding for repairs in time. Kay admitted the

24a

property needed some repairs, but he had not been

able to get funding for repairs for five years or to

have the building renovated for 10 years. Kay did not

submit any written cure plans (though he told the

hearing officer he wanted to build a daycare center),

seek a BSC rehearing, apply for building permits, or

detail the repairs he intended to do before or after

the BSC hearing. Kay did not testify that this was

low- income rental property.

*12 . Tony Frapps testified he owns between 500

and 600 _ single-family, low-to-moderate-income

rental homes. Frapps stated only that DBOs have

been issued on some of his houses and he has “had

some contacts” and “problems” with Neighborhood

Protection Division, but he did not specify what or

why. He has had no problems getting permits.

Kay did not testify that his property was low-income,

that he was denied permits, or that anyone illegally

searched his property. Frapps’s testimony of some

“contacts” and “problems” with the Neighborhood

Protection Division does not show any of the alleged

customs, and Frapps testified he had no problems

getting permits.

Therefore, the only evidence of any custom or usage

of demolishing or searching low-income housing or

withholding permits involves the AAC apartments and

the Leaths’s buildings. These limited incidents

involving only two parties, although known to Council,

do not make a persistent, widespread, permanent, and

well-settled custom for which the City can be liable.

See Hamilton _v. Rodgers, 791 F.2d 439, 443 (Sth

Cir.1986) (holding no well-settled, widespread custom

existed when about 12 racial-harassment incidents

occurred over two and one-half years and high-

ranking officials learned of occasional incidents).

Compare Webster v. City of Houston, 689 F.2d 1220,

1227 (5th Cir.1982) (holding custom for which city

25a

could be liable existed when 75 to 80 percent of police

officers carried “throw-down” weapons and police

department covered up use of throw-down weapon in

the shooting of the plaintiffs’ family member), vacated

on other grounds, 735 F.2d 838, 842 (5th Cir.1984) (en

banc), affd in part on pertinent grounds and rev’d in

part on other grounds, 739 F.2d 993, 994 (Sth

Cir. 1984) (en banc rehearing).

We hold the evidence on which Yetiv and AAC rely is

no evidence of a persistent, widespread, permanent,

and well-settled custom or usage to demolish or

illegally search low-income housing or withhold

building permits from Houston residents. Therefore,

we hold the trial judge erred in submitting that

portion of jury questions two and three allowing a

finding of City liability based on custom or usage.

5. Conclusion

We sustain the City’s issues one through three.

Having found no evidence supporting the City’s

liability for any employee’s actions, we do not reach

the City’s issues four and five (whether the due

process claims were ripe or correct). Having found no

evidence supporting jury findings two and three, we

render judgment that AAC take nothing on its section

1983 claims against the City. Therefore, we need not

reach the City’s issues six and seven, dealing with the

measure of and evidence supporting actual damages.

We further hold the trial judge erred in enjoining the

City’s inspections of the AAC apartments based upon

the jury’s finding of section 1983 liability, and we

render judgment dissolving the injunction.

26a

B. Constitutionality of Various CURB

Provisions

e Procedural Background

*13 In May 1997, Yetiv and AAC moved for partial

summary judgment, seeking, among other things, a

declaration that CURB sections 10-361(a)(3, 5, 6, 7, 8,

10) and 10-361(b)(1, 2) were unconstitutionally vague

on their face and as applied to them and an injunction

preventing their enforcement.!’ The trial judge granted

the motion, ruled the following CURB provisions were

unconstitutionally vague, and enjoined the City from

enforcing them:

Sec. 10-361. Dangerous buildings defined.

(a) All buildings, structures, dwellings, dwelling

units, and accessory buildings, regardless of the

date of their construction, that have any or all of the

following defects are deemed to be dilapidated,

substandard or unfit for human habitation and a

danger to the public health, safety and welfare, and

are further declared to be dangerous buildings:

kkk

(3) Roofs or walls_that are not weathertight and

waterproof; ...

(5) Parts that are not properly attached so that they

may fall or injure members of the public or property;

(6) Light, air or sanitation facilities that are

inadequate to protect the life, safety or the general

health and welfare of the structure’s occupants or

inhabitants of the city;

17 Although the motion for partial summary judgment

was styled as Yetiv’s, we find he brought it for himself, in

his individual capacity, and for AAC, in his representative

capacity, for the reasons stated in Section A of the portion

of this opinion treating Yetiv and AAC’s appeal, below.

27a

(7) Unsafe or defective electrical wiring, devices or

equipment, or unsafe or defective gas piping or

appliances that are liable to cause or promote fires;

(8) Damage by fire, explosion, wind, vandalism, the

elements of nature or otherwise so as to be

dangerous to the life, safety or the general health

and welfare of the structure’s occupants or

inhabitants of the city; ...

(10) Conditions that vivlate any provision of this

Code, the Building Code or the city fire Code to such

an extent as to be a danger to the public health,

safety, and welfare; ...

(b) A building that is boarded up, fenced or

otherwise secured in any manner is nevertheless

declared~ to be a dangerous building under the

foregoing criteria if:

(1) The building constitutes a danger to the public

even though secured from entry;

(2) The building’s roof, walls or floor contains holes

that would allow insects, ectoparasites, rodents or

other pests to gain access to the building for

harborage to the extent constituting a present

hazard to health or safety,....

CURB § 10-361(a)(3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10), (b)(1, 2) (Ord.

No. 93-1570, § 1, 12-8- 93) (emphasis indicates terms

Yetiv and AAC claimed were vague).

2. Do Yetiv and AAC Have Standing to Make an

As-Applied Vagueness Challenge to these CURB

Provisions?

In issue eight, the City argues for the first time on

appeal that Yetiv and AAC do not have standing to

assert that the CURB provisions were

unconstitutionally vague as applied to them because

their DBO and municipal court citations were issued

under CURB’s predecessor, not under CURB.

28a

Yetiv and AAC initially respond that the City did not

preserve its challenge to their standing, but standing

is a component of subject-matter jurisdiction and may

be raised for the first time on appeal. Texas Ass’n of

Bus. v. Texas Air Control Bd., 852 S.W.2d 440, 445-46

(Tex.1993). Yetiv and AAC also claim that we may

consider only summary judgment evidence, but we

may review the whole record. Id. at 446.

*14 It was Yetiv and AAC’s burden to show the

complained-of CURB ‘ provisions were

unconstitutionally applied to them. See Vuong v. State,

830 S.W.2d 929, 941 (Tex.Crim.App.1992) (before

court addresses unconstitutionality issues on appeal,

appellant must first show vague law

unconstitutionally applied to him).

Yetiv and AAC first point to the sole DBO issued for

the AAC apartments as_ evidence CURB was

unconstitutionally applied to them. However, this

DBO was not issued under CURB. It was issued under

former ordinance 10-326(e)(1)-(5), (7)- (10). CURB was

not adopted until December 12, 1993, after the DBO

was issued on November 3, 1993. The DBO states the

buildings were “deteriorated, open, vacant and

accessible,” in violation of former City Code sections

10-326(e)(1)-(5), (7)-(10); “dilapidated, substandard or

unfit for human habitation”; “constitute [d] a hazard

to the health, safety or welfare of the occupant and/or

the citizens”; and “dangerous buildings within the

terms of [former] Section 10-326 of the City of

Houston’s Code of Ordinances.” However, the DBO

does not state the buildings were found to be

“dangerous buildings” for the reasons provided in the

challenged section of the present ordinance. !8

18 For example, the DBO does not state the buildings

were dangerous because of walls that were not

“weathertight” or “weatherproof,” for “parts” that were not

“properly attached,” for “unsafe or defective” wiring, for

29a

Yetiv and AAC next rely on the following facts

occurring in 1994, after CURB’s effective date: (1) city

inspectors issued 23 citations to Yetiv at once, but

these were not for violations of the challenged CURB

provisions above; instead, they were for building

without permits and for not timely carrying out the

“expired” DBO’s requirements of getting permits and

making repairs; (2) the inspectors never showed up for

the hearing on these 23 citations; (3) city inspectors

issued Yetiv a violation notice for having a shopping

cart on his property; and (4) three city inspectors

could not define some of the complained-of CURB

terms in the abstract. These facts are not relevant to

whether the challenged CURB provisions were

unconstitutionally applied to AAC or Yetiv, ie., the

indicated evidence does not show the citations were

levied for violations of the complained-of provisions or

upon application of the complained-of terms. We have

reviewed Yetiv’s entire trial testimony, and he did not

testify that he was cited or received another DBO for

violations of the complained-of CURB provisions or

upon application of the complained-of CURB terms.

Neither did he testify that anyone told him that he

would be issued CURB citations or DBOs in the

future. At most, Yetiv in general terms testified he

disagreed with the “expired” DBO’s determination that

some of his buildings were dangerous.

However, our own review of the record reveals an

August 10, 1994 letter (post- CURB’s effective date of

December 12, 1993) from Link to Yetiv, recounting five

violations at the AAC apartments (“unsecured

buildings; evidence of rodent infestation; roach

infestation; uncapped sewer; exposed electrical

wiring”) and stating citations would issue if the

“holes” through which rodents could enter, or for any other

defects defined as they were in the challenged CURB

provisions.

30a

violations were not fixed.!9 The alleged violations must

have been violations of CURB, as they were discovered

after CURB’s effective date. Of these five violations, the

four that concern the challenged CURB terms were

“exposed electrical wiring” (§ 10-361(a)(7)), “evidence

of rodent infestation” and “roach infestation” (§ 10-

361(b)(2)), and “uncapped sewer” (§ 10-361(a)(6)).

*15 Yetiv and AAC did not show they were penalized

under any of the complained-of CURB provisions

except the four relevant ones mentioned in Link’s

August 10, 1994 letter. Therefore, we hold they had no

standing to challenge any but those four terms for as-

applied vagueness. See Johnson v. State, 853 S.W.2d

027, 534 (Tex.Crim.App.1992) (holding defendant

couid not challenge for vagueness language contained

in statute that was inapplicable to him); cf Oil Well

Drilling Co. v. Associated Indem. Corp., 153 Tex. 153,

264 S.W.2d 697, 699-700 (Tex.1954) (holding party

could not complain that statute was

unconstitutionally discriminatory for allowing insurer

discretion not to issue policy under certain plan when

party was issued policy under that plan).

3. The Merits of Yetiv and AAC’s As-Applied

Vagueness Challenge

We next examine whether the four challenged CURB

provisions that Link’s August 10, 1994 letter alleged

Yetiv and AAC violated were unconstitutionally vague

as applied. The void-for-vagueness doctrine requires

that a penal statute?° define the offense with sufficient

19 The letter was attached to Yetiv and AAC’s response to

Huey’s and Link’s summary judgment motions.

20 The City conceded that CURB is penal because it

provides misdemeanor penalties for violations. See CURB §

10-320 (Ord. No. 93-1570, § 1, 12-8-93; Ord. No. 95-228, §

5, 3-1-95).

3la

definiteness that an ordinary person can understand

what conduct is prohibited and so that the statute will

not be enforced arbitrarily and discriminatorily.

Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352. 357-58, 103 S.Ct.

1855, 1858, 75 L.Ed.2d 903 (1983). If a law clearly

applies to an individual’s conduct under any

construction of that law, then that law cannot be

unconstitutionally vague as applied to his conduct.

See Vuong, 830 S.W.2d at 941.

No one disputes that, when the DBO was issued on

November 3, 1993, some of the condemned AAC

apartment buildings had caved-in roofs that exposed

the interior to the elements and contained fallen

structural materials. Additionally, the four relevant

CURB violations mentioned in Link’s August 10, 1994

letter would clearly have fallen under the challenged

terms. For example, “exposed electrical wiring” (the

alleged violation) is obviously “unsafe or defective

electrical wiring” (the relevant term of section 10-

36 1(a)(7)). An “uncapped sewer” (the alleged violation)

easily constitutes an inadequate “sanitation facilit[y]”

(the relevant term of section 10-36 1(a)(6)). Finally,

caved-in roofs would have been sufficiently-sized

“holes that would allow insects” to gain access (the

relevant part of section 10-361(b)(2)) and to leave

“evidence of rodent infestation” and “roach

infestation”(the alleged violations).

Accordingly, Yetiv and AAC’s as-applied vagueness

challenge fails because, under any construction of the

CURB ordinance, these buildings and violations would

have fallen within its terms. See Cain v. State, 855

S.W.2d_ 714, 718 (Tex.Crim.App.1993) (holding as-

applied vagueness’ challenge failed because

defendant’s conduct clearly violated nepotism statute);

Vuong, 830 S.W.2d at 941. Therefore, summary

judgment was improper on this ground.

32a

4. The Merits of Yetiv and AAC’s Facial

Vagueness Challenge

*16 Yetiv and AAC’s partial summary judgment

motion alternatively argued that the challenged CURB

provisions were unconstitutionally vague on their face.

We will uphold Yetiv and AAC’s facial vagueness

challenge only if the challenged CURB provisions are

impermissibly vague in all their applications. £.g.,

Village of Hoffman_Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman

Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489, 494-95, 102 S.Ct. 1186,

1191, 71 L.Ed.2d 362 (1982). That is, Yetiv and AAC

must establish that the challenged CURB provisions

always operate unconstitutionally. Barshop v. Medina

County Underground Water Conservation Dist., 925

S.W.2d 618, 627 (Tex.1996).2)} Yetiv and AAC’s facial

vagueness challenge fails if they “engage[d] in some

conduct that is clearly proscribed.” Flipside, 455 U.S.

at 495 and n. 7; 102 S.Ct. at 1191 and n. 7

(considering facial vagueness challenge and reasoning,

“ ‘One to whose conduct a statute clearly applies may

not successfully challenge it for vagueness.’ The

rationale is evident: to sustain such a challenge, the

complainant must prove that the enactment is vague

‘not in the sense that it requires a person to conform

his conduct to an imprecise but comprehensible

normative standard, but rather in the sense that no

standard of conduct is specified at all.’ “) (citations

omitted).

The same evidence discussed above for the as-applied

vagueness challenge defeats the facial one, as some of

the AAC apartment buildings clearly fell within the

21 Therefore, Yetiv and AAC’s evidence showing that

some city inspectors could not define some of the

complained-of CURB terms in the abstract could not,

without more, carry their burden of showing that the terms

were unconstitutionally vague on their face.

33a

challenged CURB terms.?2 See id., 455 U.S. at 501-03,

102 S.Ct. at 1195-96 (overruling challenge that terms

“designed for ... use” and “marketed for use” were

facially vague, when some but not all of plaintiff's

products clearly fell within those terms). Therefore,

summary judgment was improper on this ground.

5. Conclusion

We hold Yetiv and AAC did not have standing to

challenge the constitutionality of CURB sections 10-

361(a)(3, 5, 8, 10) and 10-361(b)(1) for as-applied

vagueness. We further hold that Yetiv and AAC’s as-

applied vagueness challenge to the remaining CURB

sections, and their facial vagueness challenge to all of

the CURB sections, failed as a matter of law.

22 For example, a caved-in roof is clearly not

“weathertight and waterproof,” which CURB defines as

“made or assembled so that water cannot enter or escape”

and “able to withstand exposure to weather without

damage.” CURB § 10-317 (Ord. No. 93-1570, § 1, 12-8-93;

Ord. No. 94-674, § 10, 7-6-94). The dangling boards and

caved-in roofing materials were “parts ... not properly

attached ... so that they may fall or injure ...” under any

definition of the terms. If a building is caved in and open to

the elements, its “light, air, and sanitation facilities ... are

inadequate to protect ... life, safety or ... health and

welfare....” Exposed wiring is obviously “unsafe or defective

electrical wiring ... devices or equipment ... liable to cause

or promote fires.” A water-damaged roof that has collapsed

is “damage[d] ... by the elements of nature ... so as to be

dangerous....” Moreover, “danger” is generally understood

as exposure or liability to injury, pain, or loss, a definition

that some of the dilapidated AAC apartment buildings

clearly fit. See WEBSTER’S NEW COLLEGIATE

DICTIONARY 285 (8th ed.1981). Finally, there had to be

sufficiently sized “holes that would allow insects [or]

rodents” to gain access for there to be “evidence of rodent

infestation” and “roach infestation,” and a building with a

caved-in roof obviously has sufficiently large “holes.”

34a

Therefore, we hold the trial judge erred in granting

summary judgment for Yetiv and AAC, declaring those

CURB provisions unconstitutional for vagueness, and

enjoining the City’s enforcement of those provisions.

We sustain issue eight.

C. Attorney’s Fees

In issue 10, the City challenges the award of

attorney’s fees on various grounds.

The jury found against Yetiv on his section 1983

claim against the City, and we have held AAC’s section

1983 claims against the City for illegal searches and

denial of permits fail. Because AAC and Yetiv did not

prevail on any of their section 1983 claims against the

City, they may not recover attorney’s fees on those

claims. 42 U.S.C. § 1988 (1999) (relevant portion not

substantively changed by 1996 amendment).

Therefore, we reverse that portion of the judgment

awarding AAC attorney’s fees against the City on its

section 1983 claims.

*1'77 However, the award of attorney’s fees in

declaratory judgment actions, such as that used here

to challenge CURB, is discretionary and is not

dependant on whether a party prevailed. ANR Prod.

Co. v. American Guar. & Liab. Ins. Co., 981 S.W.2d

889, 892 (Tex.App.--Houston [lst Dist.] 1998, no pet.);

see also Barshop v. Medina County Underground Water

Conservation Dist... 925 S.W.2d 618, 637-38

(Tex.1996). Therefore, we must reverse the attorney’s

fees awarded under the declaratory judgment statute

and remand for the trial judge to consider and

exercise his discretion on the amount of attorney’s

fees, if any, to be awarded under that statute. Id.

Because we must remand on this issue, we do not

consider the City’s issue 10. Because we have reversed

the judgment against the City and remanded on other

35a

issues, we also reverse the assessment of costs in the

court below against the City and remand for further

consideration of that issue.

YETIV AND AAC’S APPEAL

In a separate appeal, Yetiv and AAC complain of the

166a(c) summary judgments rendered for Huey and

Link. We follow the usual standard of review. Science

Spectrum, Inc. _v. Martinez, 941 S.W.2d 910, 911

(Tex.1997).

A. AAC’s Appellate Challenge

We must first address Huey’s contention that,

because AAC did not respond to her summary

judgment below, AAC is limited on appeal to arguing

only that her summary judgment grounds were legally

insufficient. See Houston v. Clear Creek Basin Auth..,

989 S.W.2d 671, 678 (Tex.1979).

The procedural history is important. On October 2,

1996, the trial judge dismissed AAC’s counterclaim

because AAC was not in good corporate standing. On

October 17, 1996, Yetiv filed an amended

counterclaim, naming AAC as a co- plaintiff and

Stating, “AAC’s ... causes of action are hereby pursued

by its sole shareholder, Jack Yetiv.” Huey and Link

moved for summary judgment against “Yetiv” on May

16, 1997, while AAC was incapacitated. Yetiv filed a

summary judgment response on May 30, 1997. On

June 17, 1997, AAC filed its first amended

counterclaim, claiming good standing as of June 10,

1997. Huey and Link did not amend their summary

judgment motions to include AAC. On June 20, 1997,

the trial judge granted partial summary judgments in

Huey and Link’s favor against both AAC and Yetiv.

36a

AAC has never attacked the summary judgments on

the ground Huey and Link did not move for summary

judgment against it.23 Rather, relying on El T. Mexican

Restaurants, Inc. v. Bacon,?* AAC argues that Yetiv

was acting on its behalf when he filed the summary

judgment answer. We agree.

The October 17th first amended petition (1) named

Yetiv and AAC as plaintiffs, (2) recited that Yetiv was

“pursuing” AAC’s causes of action, and (3) asserted

some claims belonging to Yetiv individually and others

belonging only to AAC. This is tantamount to Yetiv’s

bringing AAC’s claims in a representative capacity, not

an individual one. When AAC forfeited its privilege to

sue, it retained legal title to its claims,but beneficial

title vested in Yetiv as its sole shareholder; therefore,

he could sue as AAC’s representative. Bacon, 921

S.W.2d at 251.

*18 Because Yetiv sued both individually and

representatively for AAC, he necessarily answered the

summary judgments in both capacities.25 Therefore, it

is as if AAC answered. AAC may thus raise any

challenge preserved in Yetiv’s summary judgment

response.

We overrule Huey’s first argument.

23 See Chessher v. Southwestern Bell Tel. Co., 658 S.W.2d

963, 564 (Tex.1983) (summary judgment may not be

rendered on claim not attacked in motion); Toonen v. United

Servs. Auto. Ass’n, 935 S.W.2d 937, 942 (Tex.App.--

Texarkana 1996, no writ) (error in granting too broad a

summary judgment is waived if not attacked on appeal).

24 921 S.W.2d 247 (Tex.App.--Houston [lst Dist.] 1995,

writ denied).

25 Accordingly, we refer herein to the summary judgment

motions as being against both Yetiv and AAC.

37a

B. Summary Judgment For Huey

Huey moved for a 166a(c) summary judgment?6

against Yetiv and AAC’s section 1983 claims and

claims for tortious interference with contract and

state-constitutional violations on the grounds that (1)

she enjoyed official and qualified immunity; (2) she

enjoyed an absolute privilege while carrying out her

Council duties; (3) she did not violate their rights; (4)

Yetiv and AAC produced no evidence that she kept

them from contracting, that she acted maliciously, or

that she was not privileged or justified; and (5) the

City Charter gave her the right to respond to citizen

complaints.2”7 The trial judge rendered summary

judgment for Huey on “all issues and all parties.”

1. Official Immunity

Huey moved for summary judgment on Yetiv and

AAC’s state-law claims on the ground that she enjoyed

official immunity. Huey is entitled to official immunity

from suit for state-law claims arising out of her

performance of (1) discretionary duties (2) in good

faith and (3) within the scope of her authority.

26 Huey’s motion phrased many of her summary

judgment grounds in terms of Yetiv’s producing “no

evidence” to support his claims, but it was not a no-

evidence motion (civil procedure rule 166a(i)) because it was

filed before the civil procedure rules allowed no-evidence

motions, Huey relied on her own summary judgment

evidence below, and she analyzes the motion as a rule-

166a(c) motion on appeal.

27 Huey’s summary judgment motion also attacked Yetiv

and AAC’s malicious prosecution and abuse of process

claims and their prayer for mental anguish damages.

However, by the time summary judgment was granted, Yetiv

and AAC no longer sought these damages, AAC’s

counterclaim had dropped these claims, and Yetiv admits

that he had abandoned those same claims.

38a

Wadewitz _v. Montgomery, 951 S.W.2d 464, 466

(Tex.1997). It was Huey’s burden to show these three

elements conclusively. Id.

Yetiv and AAC have never disputed that Huey’s acts

were discretionary. Rather, they argue they were not

in Huey’s scope of authority or done in good faith. We

examine Huey’s good faith first.

We agree that fact issues exist whether Huey acted in

good faith. An official acts in good faith if a reasonably

prudent official could have believed her conduct was

lawful in light of clearly established law and the

information known at the time. Thomas v. Collins, 960

S.W.2d 106, 113 (Tex.App.-- Houston [1st Dist.] 1997,

pet. denied). Only if Huey carried her burden did Yetiv

and AAC then have to show no person in Huey’s

position could reasonably have believed the facts

justified her acts. Id.

Huey relied on her own affidavit and that of former

Council member Alfred J. Calloway. The statements in

paragraphs five, nine, 11, 12, and 16 of Huey’s

affidavit and most paragraphs in Calloway’s affidavit--

which stated that Huey acted in good faith, without

malice or intent to harass, and reasonably--are

conclusory or do not set out the detailed, factual

analysis the Supreme Court requires to show objective

good faith. See Wadewitz, 951 S.W.2d at 466-47

(holding expert’s conclusory statement that reasonable

officer could have taken some action did not establish

good faith, when it did not address what reasonable

officer could have believed and did not contain factual

assessment of need for action versus the action’s risk);

see also Rizkallah_ v. Conner, 952 S.W.2d 580, 587

(Tex.App.--Houston [lst Dist.] 1997, no pet.) (holding

summary judgment evidence incompetent if

conclusory and without underlying facts in support).

Compare Bates v. Texas State Technical College, 983

39a

S.W.2d 821, 832-33 (Tex.App.--Waco 1998. pet.

denied) (affidavits, detailing precise bases for decisions

and including specific and readily controvertible facts,

carried movants’ “good faith” burden).

*19 Moreover, Yetiv and AAC’s summary judgment

proof,28 which we must take as true, contradicted

Huey’s version of virtually every nonconclusory fact

asserted in her summary judgment evidence:

8 Some of the proof that Yetiv and AAC’s brief cites was

attached to their petition and not made part, by reference or

by attachment, of their summary judgment proof. Therefore,

we do not consider it here. See, eq., Boeker v. Syptak, 916

S.W.2d 59, 61-62 (Tex.App.--Houston _lst Dist.] 1996, no

writ) (affidavits attached to pleadings, but not to summary

judgment motion, are generally not summary judgment

evidence).

Huey’s Version

1. Huey did not

authorize anyone to

survey or videotape the

AAC apartments.

2. The neighbors denied

that Huey instricted

[sic] them to videotape

the AAC apartments.

1. Huey never directed

Link or those in Link’s

department.

2. Huey never told Yetiv

that she controlled

Link’s actions, because

this was untrue, and

such control would

violiate [sic] the law.

40a

Yetiv and AAC’s Version

Two neighbors told

Yetiv that Huey had

them videotape the AAC

apartments repeatedly,

including after Yetiv

had complained to City

Council and on

television.

1. Huey and her

assistant assured Yetiv

that Link would not

shut down the AAC

apartments because

Link did what Huey

wanted. Link then

withheld permits from

AAC.

2. Link’s department’s

own records regarding

another property (not

Yetiv’s) in Huey’s

district contained the

notation, “JHC OR

CMHH APPROVAL

REQUIRED FOR

PERMITS” and “NO

PMTS WO CMHH OR

JHC APPROVAL,”

which Yetiv interprets

as no permits issued

without Council

member Helen Huey’s

approval.

3. Huey never

instructed anyone not

to issue permits to

AAC.

4. Two of Link’s

employees denied

receiving direct

instructions from Huey,

one denied being order

to write tickets, and

another denied

discussing AAC’s case

with Huey. Link denied

getting orders from

Huey.

1. Huey never

participated in

inspections of Yetiv’s

properties.

2. Huey never directed

anyone to issue

citations concerning

Yetiv’s properties.

4la

3. Two neighbors told

Yetiv Huey had

promised them the AAC

apartments would be

demolished.

4 ~

1. Shortly after Yetiv’s

presentation to Council

and television

appearance, while a

police officer was

investigating a

complaint at the AAC

apartments, the officer

asked twice whether

Yetiv “had a beef with

some Council woman

named ‘Huey’.”

2. Huey’s ofi se made a

“general CURB

ordinance complaint”

(i.e., one to look for any

CURB violations, not

one based on specific

complaints) to Link’s

office on December 4,

3. The complaint that

Huey sent to Link’s

office on December 4,

1996 was one received

from a constituent, not

one invented by Huey’s

office.

1. Huey based her City

Council statement on

Link’s status report,

with which she found

nothing wrong.

42a

1996 for another of

Yetiv’s properties. The

responding investigator

could not recall having

ever before received a

private citizen’s

complaint that was so

general, and he had not

noticed any such

problems during four

inspections in the last

two months. Yetiv and

AAC infer the complaint

was invented, not

genuine.

1. Huey’s Council

statement said “No

action was taken by Mr.

Yetiv to comply with the

[DBO]” and that he did

not submit a cure plan

or request an extension

before the DBO

“expired”; however, he

requested an extension

and submitted a curse

plan to Link—as Link’s

own chronology

attached to Huey’s

2. Huey made the

Statement merely to

respond to Yetiv’s

public accusations.

43a

Council statement

confirmed--and he so

informed Huey.

2. Huey stated that,

“Mr. Yetiv has refused

to complete an

application for an

inspection or to apply

for repair permits.”

However, Yetiv had told

Huey in three letters

that (i) Link could not

decide whether an

inspection should

precede or follow his

posting a cash bond, (ii)

he had contacted an

inspector, but the

inspector could not

proceed because of a

“hold” that Link did not

lift despite earlier

having promised Huey

and Yetiv she would do

so, and (iii) he had tried

to get permits. Yetiv

also informed Huey by

letter that Link’s claim

that he had not

submitted a cure plan

was untrue.

3. Huey stated that

Yetiv’s cash bond was

received on August 23,

1994, but Yetiv had

already informed Huey

that the bond had been

received a day earlier.

1. Huey simply

forwarded any

complaints she received

concerning the AAC

apartments to Link’s

department pursuant

to Huey’s custom.

2. Any Council member

may refer priority

citizen complaints to

Link’s office, and others

did it as often as Huey

did.

Huey did not harass

Yetiv.

After promising two

constituents that AAC

would be demolished,

and after Yetiv’s

criticism in Council and

on television, Huey’s

office called in an

unusually “general”

CURB complaint (i.e.,

one to look for any

CURB violations, not

one based on specific

complaints), she had

neighbors videotape the

AAC apartments, and

an officer sent to

investigate the AAC

apartments asked Yetiv

whether he had a “beef”

with Huey.

(See above evidence

Yetiv and AAC

submitted).

45a

Therefore, a material dispute exists whether the facts

on which Huey relied to show good faith were

accurate, and summary judgment was improper. See

City of Dallas _v. Aguirre, 977 S.W.2d 862, 864

(Tex.App.--Dallas 1998, no pet.).29 Moreover, taking

Yetiv and AAC’s proof as true, no reasonable City

Council member could have believed that (1)

knowingly reading inaccurate Statements to City

Council and (2) controlling Link’s department’s actions

were justified or in good faith.

We sustain Yetiv and AAC’s challenge and hold that

summary judgment could not have been granted on

their state-law claims against Huey on the ground

that she enjoyed official immunity.

2. “Absolute Privilege” While Performing Council

Duties

Huey moved for summary judgment against all Yetiv

and AAC’s claims on the ground that she enjoyed an

absolute privilege while acting within the scope of her

Council responsibilities. However, viewed in the

required light, Yetiv’s evidence indicated Huey

knowingly misstated the facts of AAC’s case to Council

and controlled Link’s actions, the second of which

Huey’s own affidavit admitted would be illegal.

Assuming without deciding that such an absolute

privilege could exist for actions in the scope of Council

29 Accord Dalrymple v. University of Texas Sys., 949

S.W.2d_ 395, 402 (Tex.App.--Austin 1997) (holding

nonmovant seeking to defeat good- faith summary judgment

must show no reasonable official in same position could

have thought the nonmovant’s version of facts justified the

action), rev’d in part on other grounds, 42 Tex. Sup.Ct. J.

815 (Tex. June 24, 1999): City of San Antonio v. Garcia, 974

S.W.2d 756, 758-59 (Tex.App.--San Antonio 1998, no pet.);

Martinez v. Mikel, 960 S.W.2d 158, 160-61 (Tex.App.--San

Antonio 1997, no pet.).

46a

duties, we hold that a fact issue exists whether Huey

acted within that scope. Accordingly, we sustain Yetiv

and AAC’s challenge and hold that summary judgment

could not have been granted for Huey based on this

alleged privilege.

3. Claims for Violations of the State Constitution

Because the defenses of official immunity and

“absolute Council privilege,” which we have held are

not meritorious, were Huey’s only summary judgment

grounds attacking Yetiv and AAC’s state constitutional

claims, we sustain the challenge to the summary

judgment rendered on those claims against Huey.

4. Tortious Interference with Prospective

Contracts

Yetiv and AAC claimed Huey caused repair and

building permits to be withheld, resulting in a delay in

renting the AAC apartments and a corresponding loss

in income. The elements of a cause of action for

tortious interference with a prospective contract are:

(1) there was a reasonable probability the plaintiff

would have entered into a contractual relationship; (2)

the defendant’s malicious and intentional act

prevented the relationship from occurring, doing harm

to the plaintiff; (3) the defendant lacked privilege or

justification; and (4) as a result, the plaintiff suffered

actual damage or loss. Winston v. American Med. Int'l,

Inc., 930 S.W.2d 945, 953 (Tex.App.--Houston [1st

Dist.] 1996, writ denied). Huey moved for summary

judgment against Yetiv and AAC’s claim for tortious

interference with prospective contracts on the grounds

that (1) she was justified because the City Charter

gave her the right to respond to citizen complaints and

47a

(2) Yetiv and AAC produced no evidence that she kept

them from contracting or that she acted maliciously.30

*20 A reasonable inference from Yetiv and AAC’s

Summary judgment proof is that Huey twice ordered

questionable investigations of Yetiv’s property, rather

than simply passing along citizen complaints, after

Yetiv criticized her publicly. Therefore, Yetiv and AAC

raised a fact issue on whether Huey’s actions were

justified. Additionally, we have already held that Yetiv

and AAC raised fact issues on almost all Huey’s

evidence of her actions, including those actions that

we must infer delayed permit issuance or were taken

to do so. We may not consider Huey’s and Calloway’s

conclusory statements that Huey acted without

malice, in good faith, or reasonably. Finally, Huey’s

motion did not dispute, and she presented no

summary judgment evidence refuting, Yetiv and AAC’s

allegation that AAC lost rental income because of the

delay in permit issuance.

We sustain Yetiv and AAC’s challenge to the summary

judgment rendered on their claim against Huey for

tortious interference with prospective contracts.

S. Qualified Immunity

Yetiv and AAC alleged Huey was liable under section

1983 for violations of their rights under the First

(retaliation for public criticism), Fourth (unreasonable

search), Fifth (takings by causing permit withholding),

and Fourteenth (due process) Amendments. U.S.

Const. amend. I, IV, V, XIV. Huey’s summary

30 Huey’s argument that Yetiv and AAC produced no

evidence of these elements is misplaced, as it was Huey’s

burden, not Yetiv’s, conclusively to negate these elements.

See Science Spectrum, Inc., 941 S.W.2d at 911. Nonetheless,

we review her summary judgment evidence to see if she

conclusively negated these elements.

48a

judgment motion argued only that (1) Yetiv and AAC

produced no evidence she did any of the allegedly

unconstitutional acts and (2) she was entitled to

qualified immunity. Huey was entitled to qualified

immunity insofar as her conduct did not violate

clearly established rights of which a reasonable person

would have known. Behrens v. Pelletier, 516 U.S. 299,

305, 116 S.Ct. 834, 838, 133 L.Ed.2d 773 (1996).

i. Alleged First Amendment Violations

Yetiv alleged Huey violated the First Amendment by

retaliating against him (1) for criticizing her, Link, and

CURB’s allegedly discriminatory enforcement on

television or to Council; (2) for criticizing a secret

settlement involving the Leaths’s apartments in Huey’s

district; (3) for revealing Huey’s alleged perjury in the

Leaths’s case to the City attorney’s office and another

Council member; and (4) for contributing to a

newspaper article on that settlement. A state, state

agency, or political subdivision cannot retaliate

against a citizen who exercises his right of free speech

on a matter of public concern. A claimant must show

at least that a substantial and motivating factor for

the complained-of action resulted from his exercise of

free speech. Levine v. Maverick County Water Control &

Improvement _ Dist. No. 1, 884 S.W.2d 790, 795

(Tex.App.--San Antonio 1994, writ denied).

Yetiv and AAC’s evidence, viewed in the appropriate

light, showed that, after Yetiv made these statements,

(1) Huey sent two complaints--one “general” and one

for unauthorized repair work--about Yetiv’s property

to Link’s office under circumstances that could imply

Huey made them directly or that they were unusual or

unwarranted and (2) two neighbors, to whom Huey

had promised AAC would be demolished, told Yetiv

that Huey had them videotape AAC for her. Yetiv and

AAC’s evidence was also that, at the time of one

49a

inspection, they were not performing the unauthorized

repairs of which they were accused. Therefore, Yetiv

and AAC’s evidence raised a fact issue on whether

Huey retaliated against them for Yetiv’s statements.

For the same reason, Huey was not entitled to

Summary judgment on the ground of qualified

immunity.

ti. Alleged Fourth Amendment Violations

*21 Yetiv and AAC also alleged Huey’s actions were

unreasonable searches and invasions of his privacy

interest in violation of the Fourth Amendment. Huey’s

summary judgment motion argued only that (1) there

was no evidence that she caused any inspections or

surveillance of Yetiv’s property and (2) she was

entitled to qualified immunity.

We hold the same evidence discussed immediately

above raises a fact issue on each of Huey’s summary

judgment grounds, including immunity.

iii. Alleged Fifth and Fourteenth Amendment

Violations

Yetiv and AAC also alleged that Huey violated due

process, which resulted in an unconstitutional taking,

by causing an arbitrary delay in the issuance of

permits to AAC and a consequential loss of rental

income. Huey’s Summary judgment motion argued

only that (1) her actions could not deny due process or

cause unconstitutional takings because she acted in

the scope of her Council duties; (2) Yetiv and AAC did

not produce evidence that she violated their due

process rights or that, if she did, her acts caused the

lost rental income; and (3) she was entitled to qualified

immunity.

re

50a

Viewed in the proper light, Yetiv and AAC’s evidence

was that Huey admitted she could control Link, which

Huey also admitted would be illegal, ie., outside her

Council duties; Link placed holds on the issuance of

permits to AAC, even though Link had promised to lift

at least one of those holds; Link’s records contained

notations that might indicate Huey controlled permit

issuance for at least one other low-income apartment

owner’s complex in her district; Huey may have

knowingly made incorrect statements to Council about

Yetiv’s case; and Huey promised two constituents that

the AAC apartments would be demolished, not

rehabilitated.

Substantive due process bars arbitrary governmental

actions. Levine, 884 S.W.2d at 795. The denial of

permits would be arbitrary if influenced by Huey for

the retaliatory or political reasons alleged, rather than

on the applications’ merits. Therefore, Yetiv and AAC’s

evidence raised a fact issue on each of Huey’s

summary judgment grounds concerning Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendment violations, including

immunity.

We sustain Yetiv and AAC’s challenge to the summary

judgment rendered on their section 1983 claims

against Huey.

5. Conclusion

We hold summary judgment was improperly rendered

against each of Yetiv and AAC’s claims against Huey.

C. Summary Judgment for Link

Link moved for a 166a(c) summary judgment against

Yetiv and AAC’s section 1983 claims and claims for

tortious interference with contract and violations of

the state constitution on the grounds that (1) the

CTL PTET

5la

Statute of limitations barred all claims; (2) she enjoyed

official and qualified immunity; (2) she did not violate

their rights; and (3) Yetiv admitted there were no

damages or contracts with which she could interfere.

The trial judge denied summary judgment against the

section 1983 claims and on the limitations defense,

but granted summary judgment for Link on all state-

law claims. We address neither the denial of summary

judgment on the section 1983 claims, as these were

nonsuited before trial, nor on limitations, as Link does

not challenge this ruling on appeal. Valores

Corporativos, S.A. v. McClane Co., 945 S.W.2d 160.

161 n. 3 (Tex.App.--San Antonio 1997, writ denied)

(declining to address limitations ground from

Summary judgment motion, on which trial judge

expressly declined to rule, when no one challenged on

appeal the judge’s refusal to rule on limitations).

1. Section 101.106

*22 Link initially argues we must affirm the summary

judgment in her favor because Yetiv and AAC obtained

a final judgment against the City.

The Texas Tort Claims Act (TTCA) provides that a

‘Judgment in an action ... under this chapter [the

TTCA] bars any action involving the same subject

matter by the claimant against the employee of the

governmental unit whose act or omission gave rise to

the claim. Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem.Code Ann. § 101.106

(Vernon 1997). This was not a ground for summary

judgment; therefore, we cannot affirm on it. Kassen v.

Hatley, 887 S.W.2d 4, 13 (Tex.1994).

We overrule Link’s first challenge.

52a

2. Official Immunity

Link moved for summary judgment on all Yetiv and

AAC’s state-law claims on the ground that she enjoyed

official immunity. We follow the test set forth in City of

Lancaster v. Chambers to determine whether Link

carried her burden. See 883 S.W.2d at 653.

Yetiv and AAC have never disputed that Link’s acts

were discretionary. Rather, they argue they were not

in Link’s scope of authority or done in good faith. We

examine Link’s good faith first.

We hold that fact issues exist whether Link acted in

good faith, as shown in the comparison of Link’s

evidence with that of Yetiv and AAC:

Link’s Version

At the April 5, 1994

meeting with Yetiv,

Link told him he

needed to post a cash

bond, sign a cash-bond

agreement, submit cure

plans for all nine

condemned buildings,

get an occupancy

inspection report, and

do work per City

requirements before the

DBO could be

extended.

1. Yetiv then completed

an extension

application, which Link

approved subject to

Yetiv’s submitting a

repair timeline for all

nine buildings and his

executing a cash-bond

agreement.

2. Yetiv posted the cash

bond, but refused to

sign the cash-bond

agreement.

53a

Yetiv and ACC’s Version

At this meeting, Link

told Yetiv that an

extension application

and cure plan for four

of the buildings were

the sole requirements

for the DBO’s

extension.

1. Yetiv timely

submitted both the

extension request and

the cure plan on the

four buildings and

requested a meeting to

discuss the cure plan.

He advised Link he

would soon seek

permits.

2. On May 18, 1994,

Link instructed Yetiv to

submit revised cure

plans on the four

buildings, agreeing

permits would issue on

the revised plans’

receipt.

3. Yetiv never

submitted detailed cure

plans or timelines.

4. Therefore, Link

postponed extending

the DBO.

3. Yetiv submitted the

revised cure plans two

days later. Link did not

respond to yetiv’s two

requests to meet before

the DBO expired until

June 8, 1994, two days

after it expired.

4. At that meeting, Link

said Yetiv’s extension

request and revised

cure plans were in

order, but she added a

new requirement that

Yetiv get an occupancy

inspection.

5. Yetiv finally reached

the occupancy

inspector, Inspector

Balay, on June 14,

1994. Inspector Balay

could not inspect until

Link authorized a DBO

extension, but Link

would not authorize the

extension until Balay

did the inspection. Link

did not respond to

Yetiv’s requests about

how to proceed.

6. Link sent Inspector

London to the AAC

apartments on June

22, 1994. Yetiv thought

this was the required

occupancy inspection

and wrote Link to

advise her.

7. Link responded on

July 5, 1994, adding

new requirements of (i)

posting a $2,200 bond

and (li) signing a bond

agreement.

8. The bond agreement

contained an

affirmation that an

occupancy inspection

had already been

completed, so Yetiv

could not sign it until

he had an occupancy

inspection, which Link

would not authorize.

Yetiv wrote Link, asking

again for approval of an

occupancy inspection,

and advising that he

would sign the bond

agreement once the

inspection was done.

9. Link then granted

only one 210-day

extension during which

all nine buildings had

to be completed,

although Yetiv had

previously told Link it

was impossible to

complete all nine in

that time.

10. Link, Yetiv, and

Huey agreed on August

22, 1994 that Link

would remove the hold

so that the AAC

apartments could get

an occupancy

inspection. Yetiv

requested an inspection

from Inspector Balay,

but Link had not

removed the hold, and

the inspector could not

comply. In Yetiv’s

presence, Inspector

Balay left two messages

for Link that Yetiv was

seeking an inspection.

11. On October 4,

1994, Link claimed that

Inspector Balay had

said Yetiv had not

scheduled an

occupancy inspection,

but Yetiv had, and Link

had received two

messages from Balay to

that effect.

12. After the City sued

Yetiv and AAC for

repairing without

permits, the City’s plan

checker, Don

Tomlinson, approved

Yetiv’s permit

application. When

Link’s department

refused to issue the

permits, Yetiv and AAC

went to court. The

parties entered into an

agreed order compelling

issuance of permits on

four buildings and on

future buildings for

which Yetiv submitted

substantially similar

applications.

13. Nine months later,

Link’s department

again placed a hold on

the AAC apartments,

and permits stopped

issuing. Link wanted

another DBO extension

request and cure plan.

14. Yetiv then applied

for permits on four

different AAC

apartment buildings,

which plan checker

Tomlinson approved,

but which could not be

issued because of the

hold. Yetiv submitted

the requested cure

plans, but no permits

were issued until he

went to court over a

month later.

Link afforded Yetiv the

same opportunities as

other citizens who have

requested a DBO

extension or delay of

DBO enforcement

actions.

1. Link did not return

many of Yetiv’s calls,

faxes, or letters.

2. Link alleged

Inspector London found

five CURB violations,

but the alleged

violations did not exist,

and Link never followed

through with a

threatened

reinspection. Yetiv

infers that the five

alleged violations were

created to discriminate

against him.

3. Link told Huey

several untruths,

including that (i) Yetiv

_ had not submitted a

cure plan; (ii) Link had

no power to granta

DBO extension,

contrary to what she

had always told Yetiv;

(iu) Yetiv was unwilling

to pay the cash bond,

when Link’s office had ~

received it the day

before; and (iv) Link

had agreed to allow

Yetiv to sign the cash-

~ = .

SEE

The AAC apartment

buildings were being

reconstructed without

permits or City

approved construction

plans.

1. Compliance officers

conducted the mass

inspection of the AAC

apartments on October

27, 1994 pursuant toa

search warrant.

bond agreement after

the occupancy

inspection, which

contradicted what she

had told Yetiv.

1. Yetiv was only

shoring and cleaning

up the AAC apartment

buildings, not repairing

or building without

permits.

2. Yetiv advised Link

three times that he was

only temporarily

repairing roof leaks, to

which Link never

objected.

1. Fifteen days after

criticizing Link on

television and to City

Council, and one day

after criticizing Link at

a public meeting,

inspectors from Link’s

department appeared at

the AAC apartments to

videotape it, although

Yetiv had earlier

refused Link access to

inspect. The same day,

an asbestos inspector

came to investigate a

complaint by Link that

the apartments were

60a

being gutted without

required notification

and asbestos-

containing material was

being dumped in the

street. However, the

asbestos inspector

determined that the

e complaint was

os unfounded.

2 Link neither 2. The next day,

requested the search employees from Link’s

warrant nor interfered departments conducted

with the inspectors’ a mass inspection of

duties. the AAC apartments.

The search warrant

affidavit asserted that

all nine buildings were

being repaired without

permits; however,

nothing was being done

on six buildings, and

only cleaning was being

done on the remaining

three. Moreover, the

inspectors searched

‘buildings not covered

by the warrant.

Although the inspectors

issued 23 citations, the

inspectors never

showed for the court

hearing, and the

citations were

_ dismissed. Yetiv infers

Link ordered the

inspections in

retaliation for his

3. Link did not request,

initiate, or procure the

issuance of citations on

AAC at that time.

4. Inspection personnel,

not assistant director

Link, are responsible

for determining

whether a violation

exists and related

matters. The inspectors

issue any citations.

All actions Link took

concerning AAC were

done because Yetiv did

not comply with the

DBO and extension

requirements.

repeated public

criticism of her.

3. The report that Link

prepared for Huey to

read in response to

Yetiv’s statement to

Council contained the

alleged inaccuracies

discussed above with

regard to the summary

judgment for Huey.

(See above evidence

submitted by Yetiv and

AAC.)

62a

Furthermore, we cannot consider Link’s statements

that her actions regarding the AAC apartments were

done in accordance with her duties and in the scope of

her employment, in good faith, with honesty, without

malice or fraudulent intent, and with lawful purpose

because they are conclusory or do not set out the

detailed, factual analysis the Supreme Court requires

to show objective good faith. See Wadewitz, 951

S.W.2d at 466-47. We hold Yetiv and AAC raised a

material dispute whether the facts on which Link

relied to show good faith were accurate. See Aquirre,

977 S.W.2d at 864. Moreover, taking Yetiv and AAC’s

proof as true and drawing all inferences in their favor,

no reasonable official in Link’s position could have

believed that (1) knowingly preparing inaccurate

reports for City Council and (2) causing baseless

inspections or ordering ones for retaliatory reasons

was justified or in good faith.

We hold summary judgment was improperly rendered

for Link on official immunity grounds.

3. Claims for Violations of the State Constitution

Yetiv and AAC sought a declaratory judgment for

takings and due course of law violations under the

Texas Constitution caused by improperly withholding

permits. See Tex. Const. art. I, § § 17, 19. Link’s

summary judgment motion asserted, “All of Link’s

actions or involvement with Yetiv were done within the

scope of her employment. All her actions toward Yetiv

were lawful and were in good faith.... Yetiv has no

material issue of fact that Link violated any of his

federal

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.