Opposition Brief — Brodsky, New York State Assembly Member v. Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.
Supreme Court brief2002
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
——
( o Supreme Court, U.S
Nos, 02-358 and 02-475(7 OILED
j
IN THE OCT 28 2002 |
Supreme Court of the Anited Stereos: a vrx
OCTOBER TERM, 2002 a
GEORGE E. PATAKI, Governor of the State of New York, ef ai.,
Petitioners,
V.
CONSOLIDATED EDISON COMPANY OF NEW YORK, INC., e¢ ai.,
Respondents.
RICHARD L. BRODSKY, New York State Assembly Member,
Petitioner,
V.
CONSOLIDATED EDISON COMPANY OF NEW YORK, INC., e¢ al.,
Respondents.
ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
CHARLES E. MCTIERNAN, JR. GUY MILLER STRUVE
4 Irving Place, Room 1810-S Counsel of Record
New York, New York 10003 JAMES D. LIss
(2 12) 460-2432 DAVIS POLK & WARDWELL
450 Lexington Avenue
New York, New York 10017
(212) 450-4192
Counsel for Respondent
Consolidated Edison Company
of New York, Inc.
i
Counter-Statement of Questions Presented
1. Does the Bill of Attainder Clause apply to corporations, as
every court that has considered the issue has held or assumed?
2. Did the courts below correctly find that the Indian Point
Law (Chapter 190 of the New York Laws of 2000) imposed
punishment, where (among other things) the deprivation man-
dated by the law was more than double the total amount of
additional costs caused by the alleged imprudence, and the
Senate sponsor of the law proclaimed that “[my] Law is going
to stop them and punish them’?
3. Independently of the Bill of Attainder Clause, was the
Indian Point Law also invalid as (a) a denial of equal protection,
(b) a denial of procedural due process, (c) an attempt to regulate
nuclear health and safety that was preempted by the Atomic
Energy Act, and (d) a violation of the Contract Clause?
ii
Statement Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6
Respondent Consolidated Edison Company of New York,
Inc. is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Consolidated Edison, Inc.,
a publicly held company. There is no other publicly held
company that owns 10% or more of respondent’s stock.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Counter-Statement of Questions Presented ........
Statement Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6 ....
se ig uk} i ap «ele dwn 8
Counter-Statement of the Case ................
A.
The Rates Set by the New York State Public
Service Commission (“PSC”) Which Authorized
Con Edison to Recover Replacement Power Costs
Unless the PSC Found Imprudence After a Hear-
er res hele is ae eked se
The Indian Point 2 Nuclear Plant and the February
EE Sh a RD eee eee EER
The PSC’s Investigation of the Outage and Its
Holding That There Was as Yet No Record Basis
for a Finding of Imprudence................
The Assembly’s Condemnation of Con Edison and
Its Passage of the Indian Point Law .........
The PSC’s Warning That There Was No Factual
Basis for the Indian Point Law and That It Was
Probably Unconstitutional ................
The Senate’s Passage of the Indian Point Law and
the Senate Sponsor’s Avowal of His Intent to
eee Teer reer
The Critical Differences Between the Indian Point
Law and the Substantive and Procedural Standards
of Imprudence Applied in All Other Cases .....
10
1]
12
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT .........
I.
II.
This Case Presents No Issue Calling for Review by
WI 55 950s Onde Beek ko ee
A.
There Is No Conflict Among Courts Concern-
ing the Applicability of the Bill of Attainder
Clause to Corporations ................
The Court of Appeals Correctly Applied the
Standards Articulated by This Court Under
the Bill of Attainder Clause, and Petitioners’
Argument to the Contrary Disregards the
Facts Found Below ....................
The Decision Below Will Not Result in the
Ruinous Consequences Predicted by Petition-
ers, Because the Indian Point Law Is — for
Good Reason - Literally Unique in the Annals
of American Jurisprudence .............
The Issues Raised by Petitioners Are Not Determi-
native of This Case, Because the Indian Point Law
Is Invalid for Additional Reasons Which Were Not
Reached by the Court Below ...............
A.
B.
C.
D.
PD os dee a ope ks kana oe
Procedural Due Process ...............
Atomic Energy Act Preemption..........
Prey rr
Ns a ooo sa wbens oh ek bee ine ees
13
17
20
22
22
24
25
27
29
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
Allied Structural Steel Co. v. Spannaus, 438 U.S. 234
PS ccs ecu ce ee 15, 27, 28
BellSouth Corp. v. FCC, 162 F.3d 678 (D.C. Cir.
WORE i ork neti ee 13, 20
BellSouth Corp. v. FCC, 144 F.3d 58 (D.C. Cir. 1998),
cert. denied, 526 U.S. 1086 (1999) ............ Ie
Capital Tel. Co. v. New York Tel. Co., 750 F.2d 1154 (2d
Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1101 (1985) ... 2
Carmell v. Texas, 529 U.S. 513 (2000) ........... 15, 21
Chicago & Alton R.R. v. Tranbarger, 238 U.S. 67
RUPEE nw dhiadas Cuetec een sea Bean 15
Cleveland Bd. of Educ. v. Loudermill, 470 U.S. 532
CROUEEE cc4 os Soscd MASE Ae ee a eee 24
Club Misty, Inc. v. Laski, 208 F.3d 615 (7th Cir.), cert.
Gente, 531 U3. WL CAOOG) no. cen seses 13
Consolidated Edison Co., 34 N.Y.P.S.C. 663 (1994) . 4
Consolidated Edison Co., 22 N.Y.P.S.C. 98 (1982) .. 4
Consolidated Edison Co. v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp.,
594 F. Supp. 698 (S.D.N.Y. 1984) ............. 6
Consolidated Edison Co. v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp.,
567 F. Supp. 358 (S.D.N.Y. 1983) ............. 5
Cummings v. Missouri, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 277 (1866) . 15, 16
Duquesne Light Co. v. Barasch, 488 U.S. 299 (1989) . . 21
Energy Reserves Group, Inc. v. Kansas Power & Light
Co., 459 U.S. 400 (1983) ............6... 15, 27, 28
English v. General Elec. Co., 496 U.S. 72 (1990) ... 25
First Nat’l Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765
CPD oss bese) hap ee tee ee aes n
Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch) 87 (1810) .....
Gade v. National Solid Wastes Mgt. Ass'n, 505 U.S.
WOE. oss eae eee
General Motors Corp. v. Romein, 503 U.S. 181
CRUE 6 o:x0son he sd dak eae ee Ae
Kentucky Union Co. v. Kentucky, 219 U.S. 140
tt | Sn Init cts Ryan ts
Long Island Lighting Co. v. Imo Indus. Inc., 6 F.3d 876
es SOE ois dew e ks ost eke
Long Island Lighting Co. v. PSC, 134 A.D.2d 135, 523
N.Y.S.2d 615 (3d Dep’t 1987) .........0.0000.
Lujan v. G & G Fire Sprinklers, Inc., 532 U.S. 189
OM... eae eee
McFarland v. American Sugar Refining Co., 241 U.S.
TRO... os ee
Navegar, Inc. v. United States, 192 F.3d 1050 (D.C.
Cir. 1999), cert. denied, 531 U.S. 816(2000) ....
Niagara Mohawk Power Corp., 31 N.Y.P.S.C. 1745
4} Ee ete, RCE Pe etry Sek ae
Niagara Mohawk Power Corp., 24 N.Y.P.S.C. 6205
CE seks Voaa Eh Cee eee Cones
Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. v. PSC, 69 N.Y.2d 365,
507 N.E.2d 287, 514 N.Y.S.2d 694 (1987) ......
Nixon v. Administrator of General Services, 433 U.S.
REO RTOTTE bisa UA a eee
Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. State Energy Resources
Conservation & Dev. Comm’n, 461 U.S. 190
COGS i k0s05s0ss 00k) baby ee eaees eee
24
13
17-20
Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 637 (1971) ..........
26
Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211 (1995) . 14, 21,
Railway Express Agency, Inc. v. New York, 336 U.S.
rT Pee terre wine aye
Rowe v. Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co., 46 N.Y.2d
62, 385 N.E.2d 566, 412 N.Y.S.2d 827 (1978) ...
RR Village Ass’n, Inc. v. Denver Sewer Corp., 826 F.2d
foggy ik Dy ee eee pre ee
SBC Communications, Inc. v. FCC, 154 F.3d 226 (Sth
Cir. 1998), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1113 (1999)...
Selective Service System v. Minnesota Public Interest
Research Group, 468 U.S. 841 (1984) ..........
South Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. 301 (1966) .
Texas Eastern Transmission Corp. v. FPC, 306 F.2d
345 (Sth Cir. 1962), cert. denied, 375 U.S. 941
ere Ait Ate oe Pte. eee
Trustees of Village of Saratoga Springs v. Saratoga
Gas, Elec. Light & Power Co., 191 N.Y. 123, 83
See IEE, Sno S80 bon 0 $04 0 bas Oo ree oes
United States v. Brown, 381 U.S. 437 (1965) .......
United States v. Florida East Coast Ry., 410 U.S. 224
| Sem ee erry rar ere neta Sore
United States Trust Co. of New York v. New Jersey,
re ee SE GS eau cha eevekiewautaens
Village of Willowbrook v. Olech, 528 U.S. 562
NUD Wa pk ga PRN ed A CaS CHER E VERO Ss
Washington v. Confederated Bands & Tribes of
Yakima Indian Nation, 439 U.S. 463 (1979) .....
Waters-Pierce Oil Co. v. Texas, 212 U.S. 86 (1909) . .
23
24
27
24
13-14
17, 18
22
15
Vili
PAGE
Constitutional Provisions,
Statutes, and Rules
oe he Re a Pee eee 15, 16, 27
ee ee er reer 3, 13
N.Y. Public Service Law §§ 64-77 ............... 2
N.Y. Public Service Law § 66(12)(k) ............. 3
N.Y, Pupme Serwece Law S 72 2... ccc eee 3
Se Fh Pere re er ee eT ee 3
Other Authorities
The Federalist No. 44 (C. Rossiter ed. 1961) (J.
PEE 0k Ss ca RAW EE ees OR Cae eee 15
The Federalist No. 84 (C. Rossiter ed. 1961) (A.
SE is Gaba nals eae Kap ee aK hanes 15
eps SS | 16
ee Oi Oa Oe ERs ob os X00 6 0 Na wees 16
if 38 & 25. Ferre ee 16
Memorandum for the Governor From Attorney General
Robert Abrams, June 23, 1981, in Governor’s Bill
PE Es, Se OOO soba Gwe vscweenicees 3-4
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 2002
GEORGE E. PATAKI, Governor of the
State of New York, ef ai.,
Petitioners,
v.
CONSOLIDATED EDISON COMPANY
OF NEW YORK, INC., et ai.,
Respondents.
RICHARD L. BRODSKY, New York State
Assembly Member,
Petitioner,
v.
CONSOLIDATED EDISON COMPANY
OF NEW YORK, INC., et ai.,
Respondents.
ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
Before the Court are two petitions for a writ of certiorari to
review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for
rience tell
i ue
2
the Second Circuit, filed by Governor George E. Pataki, ef al.
(“Pataki Pet.”) and New York State Assembly Member Richard
L. Brodsky (“Brodsky Pet.”). The petitions should be denied.
Contrary to petitioners’ arguments, the decision below is not in
conflict with any decision of this or any other court. Rather, the
court of appeals carefully applied the standards articulated by
this Court under the Bill of Attainder Clause to the facts in the
record, most of which are omitted from the petitions.
Counter-Statement of the Case
A. The Rates Set by the New York State Public
Service Commission (“PSC”) Which Authorized
Con Edison to Recover Replacement Power Costs
Unless the PSC Found Imprudence After a Hear-
ing
The New York State Public Service Commission (“PSC”)
regulates intrastate electric utility service in New York pursuant
to the New York State Public Service Law. See N.Y. Public
Service Law §§ 64-77. The Public Service Law is a compre-
hensive regulatory scheme which “encompasses virtually all
aspects of the [utility] business.” Capital Tel. Co. v. New York
Tel. Co., 750 F.2d 1154, 1160 (2d Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 471
U.S. 1101 (1985). The New York courts have repeatedly
emphasized the breadth of the Legislature’s delegation of power
to the PSC. See, e.g., Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. v. PSC,
69 N.Y.2d 365, 369, 507 N.E.2d 287, 289, 514 N.Y.S.2d 694,
696 (1987).'
In setting rates, the PSC has the power to disallow recovery
! The enactment of the Public Service Law followed the New York
State Legislature’s recognition that it was impracticable for it to set rates
individually for all of the various localities and types of utilities in the state.
See Trustees of Village of Saratoga Springs v. Saratoga Gas, Elec. Light &
Power Co., 191 N.Y. 123, 143-44, 83 N_E. 693, 699 (1908).
3
of utility expenditures caused by imprudence, but this power is
subject to both substantive and procedural safeguards. As a
substantive matter, a finding of imprudence cannot be based on
20/20 hindsight, but can only be made if the utility acted
unreasonably based on the circumstances as they existed at the
time it acted. Long Island Lighting Co. v. PSC, 134 A.D.2d
135, 143-44, 523 N.Y.S.2d 615, 620 (3d Dep’t 1987). Proce-
durally, it is necessary “to demonstrate a tenable basis for
raising the specter of imprudence before the utility can be called
upon to defend its conduct,” id. at 144, 523 N.Y.S.2d at 620,
and the utility has a right to an evidentiary hearing on the issue
of imprudence, followed by a reasoned determination by the
PSC which is subject to judicial review under Article 78 of
New York’s Civil Practice Law and Rules (“CPLR”). See,
e.g., N.Y. Public Service Law § 72. As the PSC acknowledged
in this case (A1379),” the issue of imprudence is an adju-
dicatory issue, akin to the issue of fault in an ordinary civil case.
See, e.g., Long Island Lighting Co. v. Imo Indus. Inc., 6 F.3d
876, 885-86 (2d Cir. 1993).
Fuel adjustment clauses (“FACs”) are used to adjust rates
automatically for changes in the costs of fuel and purchased
power and other expenses whose level is subject to fluctuation
(A128-A129). The PSC has approved the use of FACs in utility
tariffs since 1917. Niagara Mohawk Power Corp. v. PSC, supra,
69 N.Y.2d at 370, 507 N.E.2d at 290, 514 N.Y.S.2d at 697. A
1981 statute confirmed the PSC’s power to review for impru-
dence the charges that had been passed on pursuant to FACs.
L. 1981, c. 304, adding N.Y. Public Service Law § 66(12)(k).
This statute recognized and “in no way change[d] the important
safeguards of due process for the utilities already set forth in the
Public Service Law.” Memorandum for the Governor From
Attorney General Robert Abrams, June 23, 1981, at 3, in
? “A” citations are to the joint appendix in the court of appeals.
4
Governor’s Bill Jacket for L. 1981, c. 304.
In a number of proceedings over the years, the PSC has
considered the prudence of replacement power costs associated
with nuclear plant outages. These proceedings have established
several important principles. First, the standard of imprudence
in cases dealing with nuclear plant outages is the same standard
that applies in imprudence proceedings generally — reasonable-
ness under the circumstances as they existed at the time the
utility acted. See, e.g., Niagara Mohawk Power Corp., 24
N.Y.P.S.C. 6205, 6211 & n.1, 6226 (1984); Consolidated
Edison Co., 22 N.Y.P.S.C. 98, 105-08 (1982). Second, even
where imprudence is found, no disallowance will be made for
those portions of outages that would have been necessary in any
event for maintenance, refueling, or installation of new equip-
ment. See, e.g., Niagara Mohawk Power Corp., 31 N.Y.P.S.C.
1745, 1765-68 (1991); Consolidated Edison Co., 34N.Y.P.S.C.
663, 678 (1994). Finally, the PSC’s consideration of this issue
has included all of the procedural safeguards which apply in
imprudence proceedings generally. See, e.g., Niagara Mohawk
Power Corp., supra, 24 N.Y.P.S.C. at 6209.
During the relevant period, the electric rates of respondent
Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc. (“Con
Edison”) were fixed by an agreement entered into by Con
Edison, the PSC staff, the New York State Department of Law,
and many other parties (A427-A546), which was approved by
the PSC in 1997 (A417-A425, A553-A669). This agreement
provided for rate reductions of more than $1.1 billion (A441-
A443), as well as the divestiture of Con Edison’s fossil fuel
generating plants (A477-A479). As part of the overall agree-
ment between the parties, the agreement provided that Con
Edison would recover through the FAC the cost of purchasing
energy in the volatile and now unregulated wholesale market
(A158-A166, A467-A468, A1359). The FAC expressly pro-
vided that cost increases or savings relating to the operation of
5
Con Edison’s Indian Point 2 nuclear plant would be charged or
credited to customers through the FAC, except that Con Edison
would retain or bear 30% of such cost changes up to a maxi-
mum of $10 million per year (A130-A131, A163).
B. The Indian Point 2 Nuclear Plant and the Febru-
ary 2000 Outage
Beginning in 1974, Con Edison operated the Indian Point 2
nuclear power plant (“Indian Point 2”) in Westchester County,
New York (A30). Indian Point 2 is a pressurized water reactor
plant, in which hot, pressurized, radioactive primary water from
the nuclear reactor vessel is pumped through tubes in four
steam generators, where it is used to vaporize nonradioactive
secondary water into steam which is used to generate electricity
(A40-A41, A267-A268).
Westinghouse manufactured two models of steam generators
(Models 44 and 51) that had tubes made of the same metal
alloy, Inconel 600 (A41, A726-A727). Westinghouse delivered
these models to approximately 30 nuclear plants in the United
States (A42). In the 1970s, it was discovered that Inconel 600
was susceptible to corrosion in certain environments (A41,
A727). Asa result, Con Edison and many other utilities sued
Westinghouse. See, e.g., Consolidated Edison Co. v. Westing-
house Elec. Corp., 567 F. Supp. 358, 360 (S.D.N.Y. 1983).
Because petitioner Brodsky wrongly claims that it is “undis-
puted” that Con Edison was negligent in not replacing the steam
generators sooner than it did (Brodsky Pet. 27), it is important
to note that Con Edison carefully considered whether this
would be in the best interests of its customers. Premature
installation would have cost customers over $100 million in
> The Brodsky petition asserts that Con Edison was the only New
York utility with a fuel adjustment clause covering nuclear plant outages
(Brodsky Pet. 3), but this is inaccurate (A673, A1359).
6
construction costs, plus the cost of purchasing replacement
power during the installation (A43). Con Edison, like many
other nuclear plant operators, was successful in combating
corrosion in the steam generators by making changes in water
chemistry and other aspects of plant operation (A42).* Indeed,
Con Edison’s success in stopping the corrosion was used
against it by Westinghouse in defending against Con Edison’s
warranty claim. See Consolidated Edison Co. v. Westinghouse
Elec. Corp., 594 F. Supp. 698, 699 (S.D.N.Y. 1984) (“[t]he
corrosion of the steam generators at Indian Point Unit 2 is
essentially arrested” and “if the current condition of the steam
generator continues, the steam generator should serve the life of
the plant”).
Con Edison’s operation of the Indian Point 2 plant, including
its steam generators, was subject to extensive regulation by the
Nuclear Regulatory Commission (“NRC”) (see A46-A54). As
required by the NRC, the steam generator tubes were inspected
by highly trained specialists every two years, and the inspec-
tions were reported in detail to the NRC (see A43-A44, A1229-
A1282).
On February 15, 2000, one of the 13,000 steam generator
tubes at Indian Point 2 experienced a two-inch crack, allowing
a small quantity of radioactive primary water to leak through
the tube wall (A40, A44, A56). The leak was immediately
detected, and the plant was manually shut down by the opera-
tors (A44, A56-A58). It is undisputed that the incident did not
affect the health or safety of any member of the public (A59-
* As of January 1997, approximately 16 of the 30 plants built with
Westinghouse Model 44 and $1 steam generators in the United States were
still using their original steam generators (A42). Petitioners’ statement that
Con Edison was the only utility that did not replace the Model 44 steam
generators (Pataki Pet. 3; Brodsky Pet. 2) is misleading because it ignores the
15 plants still using Model 51 steam generators, which used the identical
Inconel 600 alloy (see A1359).
iii
7
A61, A72). Indeed, the releases represented a small fraction of
the normal amount of background radiation (A59-A60).
Shortly after the incident, Con Edison found the leak and
plugged the affected tube (A44). During the period from
February through June 2000 (a substantial portion of which
coincided with a pre-planned refueling and maintenance
outage), Con Edison inspected all of the steam generator tubes
at Indian Point 2, and reported its findings to the NRC (A44-
A45, A1360, A1375). In August 2000, Con Edison decided to
install new steam generators before restarting the plant (A37).
Following installation of the new steam generators, the plant
resumed operations in January 2001.
Because the cost of generating electricity at the Indian Point
2 plant was substantially less than the price of replacement
power,’ the unavailability of the plant during the outage resulted
in increased energy costs of about $250 million. It is undis-
puted in the record that more than half of this amount was
attributable to the time required for refueling, maintenance, and
installation of the new steam generators, all of which would
have been required even if the new steam generators had been
installed earlier, as the petitioners argue they should have been
(A1360, Al1375). Under the legal standards applied by the PSC,
the time required for these purposes would not be included in
any disallowance (see p. 4 supra).
C. The PSC’s Investigation of the Outage and Its
Holding That There Was as Yet No Record Basis
for a Finding of Imprudence
Immediately after the February 15, 2000 outage, the PSC
staff began to investigate the outage (A55-A69, A213). On
* It is estimated that Con Edison’s operation of the Indian Point 2
plant saved customers more than $3 billion in electricity costs since it
commenced service in 1974 (A124-A125, A223).
8
March 30, 2000, the PSC commenced a formal proceeding to
investigate the prudence of the outage (A71-A76). The PSC
emphasized that the standard of prudence to be applied in the
proceeding would be the standard that it had previously applied
in such cases, namely, “how reasonable people would have
performed the tasks that confronted the company” (A75).
Westchester County petitioned the PSC to suspend the
operation of Con Edison’s FAC, arguing that Con Edison was
imprudent because it was the only utility that had not replaced
its Westinghouse Model 44 steam generators (A347-A353) —
exactly the argument accepted by the Legislature in the Indian
Point Law. The PSC rejected the Westchester County petition
(A167-A173). The PSC held that “there is, as yet, no record
basis on which one could conclude that there is a substantiai
likelihood that Con Edison acted imprudently” (A172). The
PSC emphasized that Westchester County’s argument failed to
take account of the established legal standard of imprudence:
“The unanswered allegations in the Westchester
Petition do not address the circumstances existing at
the time the decisions were made, nor do they mea-
sure those decisions against the ‘reasonableness’
standard.” (Jd.)°
D. TheAssembly’s Condemnation of Con Edison and
Its Passage of the Indian Point Law
On March 3, 2000, three committees of the New York State
Assembly held a joint hearing, which was chaired by petitioner
Brodsky (A783-A979). Although the Brodsky petition implies
that this hearing gave the Legislature a factual basis for the
® Petitioners incorrectly state that the PSC proceeding has been
informally stayed during the pendency of this case (Pataki Pet. 5 n.2). In
fact, the parties are involved in extensive discovery proceedings, and the
filing of testimony is scheduled for February 14, 2003.
9
Indian Point Law (Brodsky Pet. 3-4), the notice of the hearing
did not include any issue relating to imprudence (see A215-
A217), and at the hearing petitioner Brodsky referred to the
subject of imprudence only as an “assumption” that he had “no
reason” to think was true:
“Assume for a second — and I’m putting it out as an
assumption — I have no reason to think it’s true — but
assume that Con Ed itself would have acted negli-
gently in some way with respect to the cause or
control of the incident, would that change your legal
ability to collect from ratepayers the fuel adjustment
charge?” (A919-A920.)
Although petitioner Brodsky had no reason to think Con
Edison was imprudent on March 3, 2000, he had changed his
mind by March 20, 2000, when he co-sponsored a bill, together
with 56 other Assembly members, which declared that “the
Consolidated Edison Company failed to exercise reasonable
care on behalf of the health, safety and economic interests of its
customers” (A77). The accompanying sponsors’ memorandum
explained that this finding of imprudence was based on Con
Edison’s failure to replace its Model 44 steam generators when
other nuclear plant operators had replaced theirs (A79) — the
exact same rationale which the PSC rejected as incompatible
with the established legal standard of imprudence (see p. 8
supra).
On March 27, 2000, only one week after the bill was intro-
duced, it passed the New York State Assembly by a lopsided
vote of 137 to 10 (A1045). Assembly members voting for the
bill condemned Con Edison’s conduct (e.g., “ConEdison has
not kept the safety of the people in the surrounding areas and
beyond upper most in their mind” (A89)); stressed safety issues
that are within the exclusive jurisdiction of the NRC under the
Atomic Energy Act (e.g., “the implications when a plant is not
10
running safely has great implications for the rest of the State”
(A88)); and expressed a lack of confidence in the PSC and the
NRC (e.g., “And I would just like to say that the systems that
we have in place, be they the PSC, the NRC, ConEdison, they
really have not been working for us” (id.)).
E. The PSC’s Warning That There Was No Factual
Basis for the Indian Point Law and That It Was
Probably Unconstitutional
At this point, the PSC issued an extraordinary and unprece-
dented warning to the Legislature about the bill which had
already passed the Assembly.
In a letter to members of the Legislature (A81-A82), the PSC
stated that there was no factual basis for the bill’s finding of
imprudence on the part of Con Edison:
“A. 10096, a bill introduced by Speaker Silver and
passed by the Assembly, would prohibit Consolidated
Edison from recovering any costs of replacement
power. This prohibition is based on a proposed
legislative finding that failure to replace IP 2 genera-
tors caused increased risk of radioactive leakage or
plant outages. Until the investigations and proceed-
ings are completed, there is no basis for such a
finding. We, therefore, request that the Assembly
recall the bill from the Senate and reconsider its
passage pending the Commission’s prudence investi-
gation.” (A81.)
The PSC further explained that the bill was not needed to
fulfill its stated purpose, because the PSC already had the power
to disallow imprudent fuel adjustment expenses (A81). Finally,
the PSC issued a thinly veiled warning that the bill was
probably unconstitutional because of the manner in which it
targeted a single incident involving Con Edison (A82).
11
F. The Senate’s Passage of the Indian Point Law and
the Senate Sponsor’s Avowal of His Intent to
Punish Con Edison
The PSC’s warning did not deter the New York State Senate
from approving the bill by a margin even more lopsided than
the Assembly’s. On May 24, 2000, the Senate voted 57 to 1 in
favor of the bill (A1045-A1046).
Members of the Senate who voted for the bill roundly
condemned Con Edison’s conduct (e.g., “they choose to do it
any way they want” (A96)), and declared that Con Edison
should be punished (e.g., “they should certainly be penalized for
taking our health and toying with it” (A109)).’ Especially
telling were the statements of the Senate sponsor of the bill,
Senator Velella. Senator Velella declared that “Con Edison has
done a terrible thing here” and that “they put lives at risk”
(A103). What is more, he proclaimed that “Velella’s Law is
going to stop them and punish them” (A104). It would be hard
to imagine a more forthright or emphatic declaration of con-
demnation and punitive intent.
Governor Pataki approved the bill on August 8, 2000 (A414-
A415). In approving the bill, the Governor made clear that he
would not normally approve “legislation that usurps the PSC’s
authority in this area,” but he said that he would do so in this
“exceptional case” (A415).
On August 9, 2000, the day after the Governor’s approval of
the Indian Point Law, the PSC issued an order imp!ementing
the law (A116-A1l22). The PSC held that, because the law
mandated the disallowance of all Indian Point replacement
power charges, it could not reduce the disallowance to take
7 In fact, both the state and the NRC investigations concluded that
there was no offsite release of radioactivity and no risk to the public health
(Pataki Pet. 3a).
12
account of refueling or repair outages (A120), as it normally
does (see p. 4 supra). This alone more than doubled the
magnitude of the deprivation (see p. 7 supra).
G The Critical Differences Between the Indian Point
Law and the Substantive and Procedural Stan-
dards of Imprudence Applied in All Other Cases
There are crucial differences between the Indian Point Law
and-the substantive and procedural standards applied by the
PSC in other cases.
Among the substantive differences between the Indian Point
Law and the legal standards applicable in all other cases are the
following:
¢ The legal standard of prudence applied by the PSC is a
standard of reasonableness based upon the circumstances as
they existed at the time the utility acted (see pp. 3, 4 supra).
The Indian Point Law did not apply this standard, but instead
was based upon post hoc reasoning of a kind which the PSC
held did not even establish a substantial likelihood of
imprudence in this case (see pp. 8, 9 supra).
* The PSC has held that no disallowance will be made for
outages that would have been necessary in any event for
refueling, maintenance, and installation of new equipment
(see p. 4 supra). The Indian Point Law mandated the
inclusion of such outages in the disallowance (see pp. 11-12
supra). As noted above, this alone more than doubled the
magnitude of the deprivation (see pp. 7, 12 supra).
The procedural differences between the Indian Point Law and
the legal standards governing the PSC in other cases are equally
striking. Among the procedural rights which were denied here
are the following:
* The right to notice of the asserted grounds for a finding of
13
imprudence (see pp. 3, 9 supra);
¢ The nght to an evidentiary hearing at which the utility is able
to present and cross-examine evidence on all issues of
imprudence (see pp. 3, 9 supra); and
¢ The right to a reasoned decision by the PSC and to judicial
review of any disallowance pursuant to Article 78 of the
CPLR (see pp. 3, 11-12 supra).
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
I. This Case Presents No Issue Calling for Review by
This Court
A. There Is No Conflict Among Courts Concern-
ing the Applicability of the Bill of Attainder
Clause to Corporations
Petitioners argue that this Court should grant certiorari to
settle the issue of the applicability of the Bill of Attainder
Clause to corporations (Pataki Pet. 8-17; Brodsky Pet. 19-29).
But there is no conflict on this issue for this Court to resolve.
Every court that has considered the issue has held or assumed
that the Bill of Attainder Clause applies to corporations — an
assumption which has typically been shared by all of the parties
before them, despite the fact that they disagreed sharply on the
other issues raised.* No court has ever suggested that the Bill
® See, e.g., Club Misty, Inc. v. Laski, 208 F.3d 615, 617 (7th Cir.)
(assuming, without deciding, that corporations as well as individuals are
protected by the Bill of Attainder Clause), cert. denied, 531 U.S. 1011
(2000); Navegar, Inc. v. United States, 192 F.3d 1050, 1065 (D.C. Cir.
1999) (stating that a bill of attainder is a law that “specifically singles out
individuals (or businesses) and imposes punishment on them”), cert. denied,
531 U.S. 816 (2000); BellSouth Corp. v. FCC, 162 F.3d 678, 684 (D.C. Cir.
1998) (parties assumed “that the Bill of Attainder Clause protects corpora-
tions as well as individuals”); SBC Communications, Inc. v. FCC, 154 F.3d
14
of Attainder Clause does not apply to corporations.
In light of this broad consensus on the issue, there is simply
no conflict calling for resolution by this Court.’ It will be time
enough for this Court to intervene if any court should ever hold
that the Bill of Attainder Clause does not apply to corporations.
As the court of appeals noted (Pataki Pet. 12a), this Court has
twice indicated that the Bill of Attainder Clause protects
corporations and other entities as well as individuals. See Plaut
v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211, 239 n.9 (1995) (“Even
laws that impose a duty or liability upon a single individual or
firm are not on that account invalid — or else we would not have
the extensive jurisprudence that we do concerning the Bill of
Attainder Clause. . . .”); South Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383
U.S. 301, 324 (1966) (Bill of Attainder Clause protects
“{ndividual persons and private groups, those who are pecu-
liarly vulnerable to nonjudicial determinations of guilt”).
As this Court explained in First Nat’! Bank of Boston v.
Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 779 n.14 (1978), the only constitutional
provisions that do not extend to corporations are those “‘purely
personal’ guarantees” whose “‘historic function’ has been
limited to the protection of individuals,” such as the privilege
against self-incrimination. The Bill of Attainder Clause is not
226, 234 & n.11 (Sth Cir. 1998) (assuming “that the Bill of Attainder Clause
applies to corporations” and citing six similar constitutional provisions which
have been applied to corporations), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1113 (1999);
BellSouth Corp. v. FCC, 144 F.3d 58, 63 (D.C. Cir. 1998) (“We assume, as
do the parties, that the Bill of Attainder Clause protects corporations as well
as individuals”), cert. denied, 526 U.S. 1086 (1999).
® The strength of the consensus that exists on this issue is indicated by
the fact that the petitioners’ argument that the Bill of Attainder Clause does
not apply to corporations represents an afterthought on their part. None of
the petitioners made this argument in the district court (see Pataki Pet. 43a
n.4), and petitioner Brodsky was the only petitioner who advanced the
argument in the court of appeals (see Pataki Pet. 8-9 n.4).
15
such a “purely personal guarantee.”
“To prohibit legislative Acts ‘contrary to the first principles
of the social compact and to every principle of sound legisla-
tion,’ the Framers included provisions they considered to be
‘perhaps greater securities to liberty and republicanism than any
[the Constitution] contains.’” Carmell v. Texas, 529 U.S. 513,
521 (2000) (quoting The Federalist No. 44, at 282 (C. Rossiter
ed. 1961) (J. Madison) and id. No. 84, at 511 (A. Hamilton)).
These provisions, all embodied in Article I, § 10 of the Consti-
tution, are the Bill of Attainder Clause, the Ex Post Facto
Clause, and the Contract Clause. Carmell v. Texas, supra, 529
U.S. at 521; see also, e.g., Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch)
87, 137-38 (1810). The Bill of Attainder Clause, like “its
textual and conceptual neighbor” the Ex Post Facto Clause,
“aims to ensure that legislatures do not meddle with the judi-
ciary’s task of adjudicating guilt and innocence in individual
cases.” Carmell v. Texas, supra, 529 U.S. at 566 (Ginsburg, J.,
dissenting); see also, e.g., Cummings v. Missouri, 71 U.S. (4
Wall.) 277, 323-25 (1866.
Thus the Bill of Attainder Clause, like the Ex Post Facto
Clause and the Contract Clause, is a limitation on legislative
power, not a purely personal right. For this reason, this Court
has repeatedly entertained claims by corporations under the Ex
Post Facto Clause’ and under the Contract Clause." By the
same token, corporations are entitled to invoke the protections
of the Bill of Attainder Clause.
© See, e.g., Chicago & Alton R.R. v. Tranbarger, 238 U.S. 67, 73-74
(1915); Kentucky Union Co. v. Kentucky, 219 U.S. 140, 152-53 (1911);
Waters-Pierce Oil Co. v. Texas, 212 U.S. 86, 107-08 (1909).
" See, e.g., General Motors Corp. v. Romein, 503 U.S. 181, 186-91
(1992); Energy Reserves Group, Inc. v. Kansas Power & Light Co., 459 U.S.
400, 410-19 (1983); Allied Structural Steel Co. v. Spannaus, 438 U.S. 234,
250-51 (1978).
———————
16
That the Bill of Attainder Clause is not merely a personal
right is also clear from the text of the Constitution itself. The
Constitution does not say merely that individuals have a right
not to be victimized by bills of attainder. Instead, it says,
categorically and without exception, that “[n]o State shall. . .
pass any Bill of Attainder... .” U.S. Const., Art. I, § 10
(emphasis supplied). It follows that any victim of a bill of
attainder — whether a natural or a juridical person — may invoke
the constitutional prohibition.
The teaching of history is to the same effect. Historically,
bills of attainder have been directed not only against individu-
als, but also against groups and against corporate entities such
as boroughs.’ And this Court has struck down bills of attainder
directed against groups, as well as against named individuals.
See, e.g., United States v. Brown, 381 U.S. 437, 461 (1965)
(striking down bill of attainder directed against the Communist
Party); Cummings v. Missouri, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 277, 323-35
(1866) (striking down bill of attainder directed against ex-
Confederates).’* There is no reason why the constitutional
protection against being singled out for punishment without the
safeguards of a judicial trial should not apply to all.
For all these reasons, there is no need for this Court to take
up the issue of the applicability of the Bill of Attainder Clause
2 See, e.g., Cummings v. Missouri, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) 277, 323 (1866);
see also, e.g., 1 & 2 Geo. 4, c. 47 (1821) (stripping a borough of its seats in
Parliament on a finding of bribery and corruption); 22 Geo. 3, c. 31, § 1
(1781) (changing the qualifications for voting in a borough on a finding of
bribery and corruption); 11 Geo. 3, c. 55, §2 (1771) (same).
'3 Petitioners argue that the Bill of Attainder Clause was intended to
protect “disfavored” persons (Pataki Pet. 16; Brodsky Pet. 21-23). As the
district court observed (with considerable understatement), Con Edison,
“although not the prototypical powerless victim of constitutional overreach-
ing by any stretch of the imagination, is clearly politically unpopular” (Pataki
Pet. 49a).
17
to corporations — an issue on which there is no conflict among
courts, and on which not a single judge of any court has
espoused petitioners’ position.
B. The Court of Appeals Correctly Applied the
Standards Articulated by This Court Under
the Bill of Attainder Clause, and Petitioners’
Argument to the Contrary Disregards the
Facts Found Below
Petitioners argue that review by this Court is necessary
because the court of appeals supposedly departed from the
standards articulated by this Court under the Bill of Attainder
Clause, and allegedly created a new test focusing on “less
burdensome alternatives” (Pataki Pet. 17-25; Brodsky Pet. 8-
15).
Nothing could be further from the truth. Petitioners’ argu-
ment is based on a palpable misreading of the decision of the
court of appeals. Far from creating a new legal standard, the
court of appeals correctly applied the Bill of Attainder Clause
standards set forth by this Court in Selective Service System v.
Minnesota Public Interest Research Group, 468 U.S. 841
(1984), and Nixon v. Administrator of General Services, 433
U.S. 425 (1977), to the facts it found based on the uncontra-
dicted record in this case.
The three essential elements of a bill of attainder, as defined
by this Court, are “specification of the affected persons,
punishment, and lack of a judicial trial.” Selective Service
System v. Minnesota Public Interest Research Group, supra,
468 U.S. at 847.
Petitioners do not dispute (see Pataki Pet. 7; Brodsky Pet. 6)
that the first and third elements of a bill of attainder — “specifi-
cation of the affected persons” and “lack of a judicial trial” —
are present in this case, as both courts below found (Pataki Pet.
18
10a, 16a-17a, 46a). The sole element disputed by petitioners is
whether the Indian Point Law imposed “punishment,” as both
courts below also found (Pataki Pet. 17a-28a, 47a-54a).
This Court has formulated a tripartite inquiry for use in
assessing whether a statute imposes punishment within the
meaning of the Bill of Attainder Clause:
“(1) whether the challenged statute falls within the
historical meaning of legislative punishment; (2)
whether the statute, ‘viewed in terms of the type and
severity of burdens imposed, reasonably can be said
to further nonpunitive legislative purposes’; and (3)
whether the legislative record ‘evinces a congressio-
nal intent to punish.” Selective Service System v.
Minnesota Public Interest Research Group, supra,
468 U.S. at 852 (quoting Nixon v. Administrator of
General Services, supra, 433 U.S. at 473, 475-76,
478).
These factors are to be weighed together in determining
whether a statute imposes punishment, and it is not essential
that all three factors be satisfied. See Nixon v. Administrator of
General Services, supra, 433 U.S. at 475-76.
The court of appeals carefully weighed each of the three
factors identified by this Court (Pataki Pet. 19a-28a). Petition-
ers assert that the court found that the first and third factors
were not satisfied (Pataki Pet. 18; Brodsky Pet. 7, 12), but this
is not so. Rather, the court held that it did not need to decide
whether the historical test was met because the functional test
was Clearly satisfied (Pataki Pet. 20a). And, while the court
stated that it did not rely on the evidence of legislative intent
alone, it found that some legislators (including the Senate
sponsor of the law) “unquestionably intended to punish Con
Ed,” and that this reinforced its independent conclusion based
on the functional test (Pataki Pet. 28a).
19
Addressing the functional test, the court of appeals stressed
— as had the district court (Pataki Pet. 53a) — that the record
showed that a “quite substantial proportion” of the costs that the
Legislature disallowed by the Indian Point Law would have
been incurred even if the steam generators had been replaced
earlier, and that their disallowance therefore could not be said
to serve a compensatory function (Pataki Pet. 24a-27a).'*
Petitioners argue that the court of appeals thereby required “a
precise fit” between the statute and its supposedly compensa-
tory goals (Pataki Pet. 20; emphasis in original).
This argument is flatly contrary to the record facts. The
record established that 60% of the total period of the outage —
that is, $150 million of the total deprivation of $250 million
mandated by the law — was accounted for by a pre-planned
refueling and maintenance outage and by the installation of the
new steam generators, both of which would have taken place
even if the steam generators had been installed earlier (A1360,
A1375). The petitioners did not contest this crucial fact,
indeed, they waived an evidentiary hearing in the district court
(Pataki Pet. 6). Thus, far from requiring a “precise fit” between
the law and the quantum of compensatory damages, the court
below simply made the obvious finding, based on the uncontra-
dicted record, that a deprivation that exceeded compensatory
damages by roughly $150 million imposed punishment (Pataki
Pet. 25a-26a).
In so finding, the court of appeals followed the teaching of
this Court in Nixon v. Administrator of General Services, supra,
433 U.S. at 482, that “[i]n determining whether a legislature
sought to inflict punishment on an individual, it is often useful
to inquire into the existence of less burdensome alternatives.”
4 These are precisely the costs that would not have been disallowed
by the PSC even if it had made a finding of imprudence (see p. 4 supra), but
whose disallowance was mandated by the Legislature (see pp. 11-12 supra).
20
While the petitioners try to argue that this statement applied
only to the purpose test (Pataki Pet. 22-23; Brodsky Pet. 13),
this Court made clear in Nixon that the same principle applies
to the functional test. See Nixon, supra, 433 U.S. at 475-76 (in
applying the functional test, the law under challenge must be
“viewed in terms of the type and severity of burdens imposed”
(emphasis supplied)). Thus the court of appeals did not create
a new “less burdensome alternatives” test, but simply applied
the teaching of this Court that a law that imposes a deprivation
of property going far beyond compensation must be viewed as
imposing punishment.
Thus petitioners’ argument that the court of appeals applied
a new “less burdensome alternatives” test is founded on a
misreading of the decision below and of this Court’s decision
in Nixon, and is contrary to the uncontradicted facts established
by the record in this case.'*
C. The Decision Below Will Not Result in the
Ruinous Consequences Predicted by Petition-
ers, Because the Indian Point Law Is — for
Good Reason -— Literally Unique in the An-
nals of American Jurisprudence
Petitioners vie with each other to predict disastrous conse-
quences if the decision below is not reversed, saying, for
example, that it will “expose numerous laws regulating busi-
nesses to constitutional challenge” (Pataki Pet. 12), and that it
will “endanger economic regulatory decisions made by legisla-
'S Petitioners try to manufacture a conflict between the holding of the
court below and the statement of the District of Columbia Circuit in
BellSouth Corp. v. FCC, 162 F.3d 678, 689 (D.C. Cir. 1998), that “it does
not matter that Congress arguably could have enacted different legislation”
(Pataki Pet. 24; Brodsky Pet. 9, 10), but there is no such conflict, because the
BellSouth court was not confronted with a statute that imposed a deprivation
of property that was concededly far in excess of compensatory damages.
21
tive bodies across the nation” (Brodsky Pet. 14). There is no
basis for these hyperbolic claims.
The fact is that the Indian Point Law is literally unique in the
annals of American jurisprudence. Petitioners have cited — and
we have found — no other case since the ratification of the
Constitution in which a legislative body has (1) tned and
determined the issue whether a specific person was at fault in
connection with a specific past occurrence, (2) imposed a
deprivation far exceeding the amount of compensation, and, to
make matters worse, (3) retrospectively applied different
substantive standards than those applicable to all other persons
and occurrences.’* Only a law that does all of these things — or
at least the first two of them — has anything to fear from the
decision below. The court of appeals nightly stressed “the
extraordinary scarcity of legislation of [this] type” which is not
only “so exceptionally narrow in scope,” but also “manifestly
retrospective in focus, and unavoidably punitive in operation”
(Pataki Pet. 29a).
In particular, contrary to petitioners’ argument (Pataki Pet.
25-26; Brodsky Pet. 16-18), the decision below does not
threaten the legislative power to set utility rates which this
Court reaffirmed in Duquesne Light Co. v. Barasch, 488 U.S.
299, 313 (1989). As the court of appeals correctly emphasized
(Pataki Pet. 17a), the Indian Point Law was not a prospective
measure setting utility rates for the future, but rather was a
retrospective adjudication of Con Edison’s supposed impru-
dence in the context of the electric rates which had already been
set by the PSC for Con Edison back in 1997 (see pp. 2-3, 4-5
'6 Before the adoption of the Constitution, as this Court explained in
Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211, 219-22 (1995), such instances
of legislative overreaching were not uncommon, but it was one of the
fundamental goals of the Framers of the Constitution to end such abuses. See
id. at 222-25; see also, e.g., Carmell v. Texas, 529 U.S. 513, 521 (2000).
22
supra)."’ When these facts are combined with the punitive
nature of the deprivation imposed by the law, it becomes
obvious that the decision below poses no threat to any legisla-
ture that wishes to return to the 19th-century practice of setting
utility rates itself. The decision below simply reminds us that,
whatever power it purports to exercise, the Bill of Attainder
Clause requires a legislature to avoid punitive deprivations
based on retrospective adjudications of guilt in individual cases.
II. The Issues Raised by Petitioners Are Not Determina-
tive of This Case, Because the Indian Point Law Is
Invalid for Additional Reasons Which Were Not
Reached by the Court Below
In addition to the Bill of Attainder Clause, which was the
ground on which both courts below invalidated the Indian Point
Law, Con Edison also contended below that the law is invalid
as (a) a denial of equal protection, (b) a denial of procedural due
process, (c) an attempt to regulate nuclear health and safety that
is preempted by the Atomic Energy Act, and (d) a violation of
the Contract Clause (A22-A27). Although the court of appeals
found it unnecessary to reach these additional grounds, their
presence makes it even more clear that the issues sought to be
raised by petitioners are not determinative of the result in this
case."*
A. Equal Protection
In addition to finding that the Indian Point Law violated the
'7 Tt was conceded below that the Legislature’s action here was an
adjudication (A1379). :
'8 Tt is well established that a respondent in this Court may “defend its
judgment on any ground properly raised below whether or not that ground
was relied upon, rejected, or even considered by the District Court or the
Court of Appeals.” Washington v. Confederated Bands & Tribes of Yakima
Indian Nation, 439 U.S. 463, 476 n.20 (1979).
23
Bill of Attainder Clause, the district court also found that it
violated the Equal Protection Clause (Pataki Pet. 35a-42a). The
Court of Appeals did not reach this question, although it
expressed doubt that the law denied equal protection (Pataki
Pet. 8a-9a n.2).
The Indian Point Law singles out a single utility - Con
Edison — and a single past incident — the February 2000 outage
at Indian Point. This alone does not necessarily mean that the
law denies equal protection, because “[e}ven laws that impose
a duty or liability upon a single individual or firm are not on
that account invalid... .” Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514
U.S. 211, 239 n.9 (1995). However, a law that defines a “class
of one” is not automatically valid either. The question here, as
in most equal protection cases, is whether there is a rational
basis for having one set of substantive and procedural rules
applicable only to Con Edison, and a different set applicable to
all other utilities in the state. See, e.g., Village of Willowbrook
v. Olech, 528 U.S. 562, 564 (2000).
The law created two classes of utilities. One class (all other
utilities) has substantive and procedural rights with respect to
the issue of imprudence (see pp. 12-13 supra). The other class
(Con Edison) has none of these rights (see id.).'!° The petition-
ers argued below that the use of different rules for Con Edison
was rational because it was the only utility in the state that still
used Westinghouse Model 44 steam generators (Pataki Pet.
39a-40a). But, as the district court pointed out (id.), there is no
reason why the legal standards governing imprudence should be
changed for a single outage merely because the outage involved
one type of equipment rather than another.
1° The critical importance of these differences is demonstrated by the
fact that the very factors which the PSC had held were insufficient to give
rise to a substantial likelihood of imprudence formed the basis for the
Legislature’s finding of imprudence (see pp. 8, 9 supra).
24
This case exemplifies the wisdom of Justice Jackson’s now-
classic observation in his concurring opinion in Railway
Express Agency, Inc. v. New York, 336 U.S. 106, 113 (1949),
that “[cJourts can take no better measure to assure that laws will
be just than to require that laws be equal in operation.” See
also, e.g., McFarland v. American Sugar Refining Co., 241
U.S. 79, 86-87 (1916) (Holmes, J.) (if the legislature were to
declare a single company presumptively guilty of monopoliza-
tion, “we suppose that no one would contend that the [com-
pany] was given the equal protection of the laws”).
B. Procedural Due Process
Procedural due process analysis proceeds in two steps: “we
inquire whether the State has deprived the claimant of a
protected property interest, and whether the State’s procedures
comport with due process.” Lujan v. G & G Fire Sprinklers,
Inc., 532 U.S. 189, 195 (2001) (citation omitted).
As the court of appeals found (Pataki Pet. 20a), the Indian
Point Law clearly deprived Con Edison of a property interest,
because the FAC in Con Edison’s tariff approved by the PSC in
1997 entitled Con Edison to recover a specified portion of the
increased energy costs caused by an outage, unless the PSC
made a finding of imprudence after a hearing (see pp. 2-5
supra). “A state-created entitlement that cannot properly be
eliminated except for cause is a property nght of which the
holder may not be deprived without procedural due process.”
RR Village Ass'n, Inc. v. Denver Sewer Corp., 826 F.2d 1197,
1201 (2d Cir. 1987) (citing, inter alia, Cleveland Bd. of Educ.
v. Loudermill, 470 U.S. 532, 538-39 (1985)). Indeed, a utility’s
due process right to a hearing on the issue of imprudence has
been expressly recognized by the New York State Attommey
General (see pp. 3-4 supra).
In United States v. Florida East Coast Ry., 410 U.S. 224, 245
25
(1973), this Court, after reviewing its prior decisions, formu-
lated the following general standard differentiating the policy-
type proceedings in which no hearing is required by due process
from the quasi-adjudicatory proceedings in which a hearing is
required:
“[T]hese decisions represent a recognized distinction
in administrative law between proceedings for the
purpose of promulgating policy-type rules or stan-
dards, on the one hand, and proceedings designed to
adjudicate disputed facts in particular cases on the
other.”
The issue of imprudence raised in this case is quintessentially
a quasi-adjudicatory issue on which a hearing is required,
because it is a “proceeding[] designed to adjudicate disputed
facts in [a] particular case[].” As the PSC admitted below,
“(t]his was an adjudicatory act” (A1379). New York law
explicitly recognizes the utility’s right to an evidentiary hearing
on this issue (see pp. 3-4 supra).
The procedures followed by the State Legislature in enacting
the Indian Point Law clearly did not comport with due process,
as both courts below found (Pataki Pet. 10a, 46a). The law thus
violated Con Edison’s due process rights.
C. Atomic Energy Act Preemption
As the court of appeals noted (Pataki Pet. 23a-24a), “the
Federal Government has occupied the entire field of nuclear
safety concerns, except the limited powers expressly ceded to
the States.” Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. v. State Energy Resources
Conservation & Dev. Comm’n, 461 U.S. 190, 212 (1983).
Therefore, state regulation of nuclear power plant safety is
preempted if either the purpose or the effect of the state
regulation is to regulate nuclear power plant safety. See, e.g.,
English v. General Elec. Co., 496 U.S. 72, 84 (1990). The
26
Indian Point Law is preempted under both of these tests.
First, the Indian Point Law proclaimed on its face its purpose
to regulate nuclear power plant safety, saying, for example, that
“[{rjate regulation of nuclear operators should discourage the
taking of risks with regard to potential threats to public health
and safety” (Pataki Pet. 2; emphasis supplied). Both the
Assembly and the Senate debates contained repeated accusa-
tions that Con Edison had endangered the public health and
safety, despite the undisputed fact that the February 2000 leak
did not result in any such danger (see pp. 6-7 supra). See, e.g.,
A89 (“ConEdison has not kept the safety of the people in the
surrounding areas and beyond upper most in their mind”); A109
(“they should certainly be penalized for taking our health and
toying with it”). Thus the Indian Point Law clearly had the
forbidden purpose to regulate nuclear power plant safety.”°
Second, any state statute that “seek[s] to regulate the con-
struction or operation of a nuclear powerplant” is preempted
because, “even if enacted out of non-safety concerns, [it] would
nevertheless directly conflict with the NRC’s exclusive
authority over plant construction and operation.” Pacific Gas
& Elec. Co. v. State Energy Resources Conservation & Dev.
Comm'n, supra, 461 U.S. at 212. Inthe present case, the Indian
Point Law effectively mandated the replacement of the existing
steam generators, whether or not their use was consistent with
the NRC’s regulations and directives, by the simple but
effective device of disallowing all replacement power costs
“until the conclusion of such outage, or incurred at any time
until all defective steam generation equipment at the facility has
© The petitioners argued below that the law would be valid if it had an
economic purpose as well as a safety purpose, but comparable questions have
been addressed by this Court under other federal statutory schemes, and have
been answered in the negative. See, e.g., Gade v. National Solid Wastes Mgt.
Ass'n, 505 U.S. 88, 104-08 (1992); Perez v. Campbell, 402 U.S. 637, 651-52
(1971).
27
been replaced, whichever occurs later” (Pataki Pet. 2; emphasis
supplied). Thus the Indian Point Law is preempted for this
reason as well.
D. Contract Clause
The Contract Clause of the Constitution — which, like the Bill
of Attainder Clause, is found in Article I, § 10 (see p. 15 supra)
— provides that “[n]o State shall. . . pass any . .. Law impairing
the Obligation of Contracts... .”
Whether a state law violates the Contract Clause is deter-
mined by a three-step analysis, which asks in turn: (1) whether
the law is a substantial impairment of a contract; (2) whether it
serves a significant and legitimate public purpose, such as
remedying a general social or economic problem; and, if such
a public purpose is established, (3) whether the means chosen
to accomplish the purpose are reasonable and appropriate. See,
e.g., Energy Reserves Group, Inc. v. Kansas Power & Light
Co., 459 U.S. 400, 411-13 (1983); Allied Structural Steel Co.
v. Spannaus, 438 U.S. 234, 242-44 (1978).
The substantial impairment inquiry has three subparts: (1)
whether there is a contract; (2) whether the law impairs the
contract; and (3) whether the impairment is substantial. See,
e.g., General Motors Corp. v. Romein, 503 U.S. 181, 186
(1992). The agreement approved by the PSC in 1997, which
fixed the rates for Con Edison during the relevant period after
reflecting rate reductions of more than $1.1 billion (see pp. 4-5
supra), plainly fits within the definition of a contract as “a
bargained-for exchange between the parties,” Rowe v. Great
Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co., 46 N.Y.2d 62, 67, 385 N.E.2d 566,
569, 412 N.Y.S.2d 827, 830 (1978), because it was the product
of lengthy negotiations in which Con Edison made very signifi-
cant concessions in return for, among other things, an FAC to
protect against the vicissitudes of the newly volatile energy
28
market (see pp. 4-5 supra).”' Clearly, the Indian Point Law
substantially impaired Con Edison’s rights under the agreement,
because it swept away $250 million in replacement power costs
to which Con Edison was entitled under the agreement.
If a substantial impairment of contract is to be upheld despite
the Contract Clause, there must be “a significant and legitimate
public purpose behind the regulation, such as the remedying of
a broad and general social or economic problem.” Energy
Reserves Group, Inc. v. Kansas Power & Light Co., supra, 459
U.S. at 411-12 (citation omitted). In applying this requirement,
this Court has distinguished between generally applicable
legislation and legislation singling out a narrow category of
persons for distinct treatment. See, e.g., Allied Structural Steel
Co. v. Spannaus, supra, 438 U.S. at 248-49. The Indian Point
Law bears no resemblance to the statutes that have been held to
serve a broad societal interest. On the contrary, it is narrowly
focused upon a single occurrence and a single utility. As the
PSC told the Legislature, it “prohibits Con Edison, but no other
utility, from recovering power replacement costs — even if they
are found prudent’ (A82; emphasis supplied). Therefore, the
law does not serve a substantial public purpose within the
meaning of the Contract Clause.
Even if legislation has a significant public purpose — which
was not the case here — courts must still determine whether the
means chosen to achieve the goal were reasonable in light of,
among other things, less drastic alternatives. See, e.g., United
States Trust Co. of New York v. New Jersey, 431 U.S. 1, 31
(1977). Here, the Legislature clearly had a less drastic alterna-
21 A long line of federal cases has held that settlement agreements
between utilities and their regulatory commissions are binding contracts.
See, e.g., Texas Eastern Transmission Corp. v. FPC, 306 F.2d 345, 347 (Sth
Cir. 1962), cert. denied, 375 U.S. 941 (1963). The PSC argued below that
this is not true of settlement agreements approved by it, but no New York
case so holds.
29
tive: to rely upon the PSC to perform its historic role of
adjudicating a claim of imprudence. Since a generally applica-
ble means for protecting the public interest without impairing
contract rights was available, the Indian Point Law was unnec-
essary to advance a legitimate public purpose, and therefore
violated the Contract Clause.
CONCLUSION
For the reasons set forth above, the petitions for a writ of
certiorari should be denied.
Dated: New York, New York
October 22, 2002
Respectfully submitted,
GUY MILLER STRUVE
Counsel of Record
JAMES D. LIss
DAVIS POLK & WARDWELL
450 Lexington Avenue
New York, New York 10017
(212) 450-4192
CHARLES E. MCTIERNAN, JR.
4 Irving Place, Room 1810-S
New York, New York 10003
(212) 460-2432
Counsel for Respondent
Consolidated Edison Company
of New York, Inc.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.