Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Brodsky, New York State Assembly Member v. Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

YT: .

0 O2 47 Saue 502008

GRIS@E OF THE CLERK

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

NEW YORK STATE ASSEMBLY MEMBER, RICHARD L. BRODSKY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

GOVERNOR GEORGE E. PATAKI, CHAIRMAN OF THE PUBLIC

SERVICE COMMISSION, MAUREEN O. HELMER,

COMMISSIONERS OF THE NEW YORK STATE PUBLIC SERVICE

COMMISSION, THOMAS J. DUNLEAVY, JAMES D. BENNETT,

LEONARD D. WEISS AND NEAL N. GALVIN, NEW YORK STATE

ASSEMBLY SPEAKER, SHELDON SILVER, CONSOLIDATED

EDISON COMPANY OF NEW YORK, INC.

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SECOND CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OF PETITIONER RICHARD L. BRODSKY

JOHN L. PARKER, ESQ.*

RICHARD L. BRODSKY, ESQ.

86" New York State Assembly District

5 West Main Street, Suite 205

Elmsford, NY 10523

(914) 345-0432

*Attorney of Record

PRINTINGHOUSE PRESS, LTD 10 EAST 39th STREET NEW YORK, NY 10016 (212) 719-0990

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Should the Supreme Court settle the conflict and

clarify the confusion among the Circuits with

regard to the proper legal test to be applied in bill

of attainder cases?

Should the Bill of Attainder provisions of the

Constitution be used to undercut the well-settled

and effective powers of States in the fields of

economic regulation and utility ratemaking?

Should Bill of Attainder Clause be extended, for

the first time, to other than natural persons,

specifically to regulated monopolies?

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION 8

I.

Il.

THE DECISION OF THE SECOND CIRCUIT IS IN DIRECT

CONFLICT WITH DECISION OF THE D.C. CIRCUIT, AND

CONFLICTS WITH THE LEGAL TEST USED BY THE FIFTH

AND SEVENTH CIRCUITS AND THIS COURT IN BILL OF

ATTAINDER CASES, AND IF UPHELD WILL UNDERMINE

THE ABILITY OF STATES TO RESTRAIN CORPORATE

WRONGDOING AND REGULATE MONOPOLIES. 8

A. The Second Circuit Conceded that Chapter 190 Does

Not Run Afoul of the Three Requirements of the Bill

of Attainder “Punishment” Prong. 11

B. The Second Circuit Creates An Additional Dispositive

Inquiry in the Bill of Attainder Analysis. 12

THE SECOND CIRCUIT ERRED IN USING THE BILL OF

ATTAINDER CLAUSE TO LIMIT STATE REGULATORY

AUTHORITY OVER UTILITIES BY CREATING A PROPERTY

RIGHT IN A PORTION OF AN OVERALL UTILITY RATE IN

CONTRAVENTION OF DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, AND

STRIKING DOWN A STATE REGULATORY STATUTE

OTHERWISE CONSTITUTIONAL, THEREBY PLACING IN

QUESTION THE RATEMAKING AUTHORITY OF STATE

LEGISLATURES. 15

A. The Regulation of Utilities is a State Legislative

Function. 15

i

}

?

:

|

ili

B. Utilities Have No Property Interest In A Portion of

Their Overall Rate. 17

C. Bill of Attainder Protections Are Not A Substitute

For Other Constitutional Protections. 17

TD. The Second Circuit Decision Raises Substantial

Separation of Power Questions. 18

III. THE UNWARRANTED EXTENSION OF BILL OF ATTAINDER

~ PROTECTIONS TO CORPORATIONS GENERALLY, AND

REGULATED MONOPOLIES SPECIFICALLY, IS A

SIGNIFICANT ERROR AND A QUESTION OF SIGNIFICANT

PUBLIC IMPORTANCE. 19

A. This Court Has Been Explicit in its Application

of Bill of Attainder Protections to the Weak. 22

B. The History and Purpose of the Bill of Attainder

Clause Are “Purely Personal,” and Therefore,

Should Not Be Applied To Corporations. 22

CONCLUSION 28

APPENDIX A: Opinion, Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit (June 5, 2002).

APPENDIX B: Memorandum and Order of the District

Court for the Northern District of New York (October 10,

2000).

APPENDIX C: Bill of Attainder Clause of Article I, Section

10 of the United States Constitution.

APPENDIX D: Chapter 190 of the Laws of 2000.

iV

APPENDIX E: N.Y. Transportation Corp. Law § 11

(McKinney 2000).

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Bellsouth Communications v. Federal Communications

Comm'n, 144 F.3d 58 (D.C. Cir. 1998) (“Bellsouth I’). 9,10

Bellsouth Communications v. Federal Communications

Comm'n, 162 F.3d 678 (D.C. Cir. 1998)(“ Bellsouth II”). 9, 10

Club Misty, Inc. v Laski, 208 F.3d 615 (7% Cir. 2000). 9,10

Con Edison v. Pataki, et. al., 117 F.Supp.2d 257

(N.D.N.Y. 2000). Lo

Con Edison v. Pataki, et. al., 292 F.3d 338

(274 Cir. 2002). 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13,

17, 18, 19, 21, 23, 25

Cummings v. Missouri, 71 U.S. 277 (1866). 22, 24

Duquesne Light Co. v. Barasch, 488 U.S. 299 (1989). 16,17, 18

Ex parte Garland, 71 U.S. 333 (1866). yt A x

First Nat'l Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765 (1978). 23, 24

Flemming v Nestor, 363 U.S. 603 (1960). 8

Knoxville v. Knoxville Water Co., 212 U.S. 1 (1909). 16

Landgraf v. USI Products et al., 511 U.S. 244 (1994). 23

Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc., 436 U.S. 307 (1978). 26

vi

Navegar, Inc. v. United States, 192 F.3d 1050

(D.C. Cir. 1999). 9

Nixon v. Administrator of Gen. Servs.,

433 U.S. 425 (1977). 6,8, 9, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 18, 24, 28, 29

Pierce et al. v. Carskadon. 83 U.S. 234 (16 Wall.) (1872). 22

Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211 (1995). 21

SBC Communications, Inc. v. FCC, 154 F.3d 226

(5t Cir. 1998). 9,10, 11

Selective Service System v. Minnesota Public Interest

Research Group et al., 468 U.S. 841 (1984). 7, 8,9, 12, 13, 15,

South Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. 301

(1966). 20, 21, 22, 28

United States v. Brown, 381 U.S. 437 (1965). 21, 22, 28

United States v. Lovett, 328 U.S. 303 (1946). 22, 24, 28

United States v. White, 322 U.S. 694 (1944). 23, 27

Wilson v. United States, 221 U.S. 361 (1911). 25

STATE CASES

Matter of Brooklyn Union Gas v. Maltbie, 245 A.D. 74 (1935). 17

People ex rel. Municipal Gas Co. v. Public Serv.

Comm'n, 224 N.Y. 156 (1998). 17

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS BELOW

Petitioner respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment below.

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit appears at Appendix A to the petition

and is reported at 292 F.3d 338 (N.D.N.Y. 2000). The

opinion of the District Court for the Northern District of

New York appears at Appendix B to the petition and is

reported at 117 F.Supp.2d 257 (24 Cir. 2002).

JURISDICTION

The date on which the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit decided the case was June 5, 2002. No

petition for rehearing was timely filed in this case.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1). This petition is timely filed within ninety days of

entry of the June 5, 2002 judgment of the Court of Appeals.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Bill of Attainder Clause of Article I, Section 10 of the United

States Constitution.

Chapter 190 of the Laws of 2000.

N.Y. Transportation Corp. Law § 11 (McKinney 2000).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case concerns the unprecedented striking down of a

state statute that set a utility rate on the grounds it is an

unconstitutional bill of attainder.

The petition seeks review of the Second Circuit Court of

Appeals’ decision affirming in part a District Court decision

that held that New York’s Chapter 190 of the Laws of 2000

(“Chapter 190”) was an unconstitutional bill of attainder.

See Appendix D.

Chapter 190 was passed by the Legislature and signed

by the Governor in response to the negligent operation of

the Indian Point II nuclear power facility by Consolidated

Edison (“Con Edison”), which caused a release of radiation

and shut down of the plant on February 15, 2000. Chapter

190 prohibited Con Edison from charging its customers the

estimated $250 million in additional costs required to

replace the power previously produced at Indian Point.

After an appropriate legislative investigation Chapter 190

was passed by both the New York State Assembly and the

New York State Senate and signed into law on August 8,

2000.

The facts which prompted the Legislature to enact

Chapter 190 date back at least to 1974. That year, Con

Edison put Indian Point II into service using Model 44 steam

generators. In 1981, Con Edison and eight other utilities

sued Westinghouse, the manufacturer of the Model 44

generators alleging them to be defective and subject to leaks,

which would progressively degrade over time. As a result

of the litigation, Con Edison and the other utilities received

replacement generators in 1988. Unlike every other utility,

Con Ed knowingly refused to replace the defective

generators, placing them into on-site storage.

Con Edison continued to operate the original Model 44

steam generators it knew and alleged to be defective

oS

a OE et eh tt et Sc an Soe lh Se

between 1988 and 2000, choosing to perform repairs on

leaking and cracked tubes on numerous occasions, rather

than replace the generators. On February 15, 2000, a tube

rupture did occur, causing a radiation release and an

emergency shutdown of Indian Point II. As a result of that

emergency shutdown, Con Edison purchased replacement

power to provide to their customers. The additional cost of

the replacement power was estimated at $600,000 per day,

for a total in excess of $250 million.

In 1997 the Public Service Commission (“PSC”) allowed

Con Edison to employ a rate recovery mechanism that

includes a monthly fuel adjustment clause (“FAC”). Con

Edison’s FAC included a specific provision limiting its share

of the cost of replacing Indian Point II power in the event of

an outage. Con Edison is the only utility in New York

operating a nuclear power plant that has the benefit-of a

FAC that specifically shields the utility from the costs of a

nuclear outage, and initially allows these additional

replacement power costs to be directly passed to ratepayers

‘without PSC review.

In its continuing exercise of its plenary authority to

regulate utilities and set rates, on November 10, 1999 the

Assembly conducted a Hearing on safety and economic

issues relating to Indian Point II and other facilities.

Following the February 15% outage, the Assembly

reconvened the Hearing on March 3, 2000. The Con Edison

Chief Operating Officer and other Con Edison employees

were invited to and did give sworn testimony with respect

to the outage, the use of the FAC, and other relevant

matters. Con Edison was asked to submit written responses

to questions that it failed to answer at the Hearing. Shortly

after the Hearing, three Members of the New York State

Assembly followed up by letter vith Con Edison, again

requesting Con Edison’s responses to the Assembly’s

_additional questions. Thirty-eight days later, Con Edison

submitted a written response.

4

The Legislature, in light of its investigative Hearings and

other information it obtained, found that Con Edison had

knowingly operated Indian Point in an improper manner,

causing the increase in costs to ratepayers. It further

determined that, in the context of an overall rate that was

just and reasonable, the costs of the outage should be borne

by the Company rather than innocent ratepayers, stating in

the Legislative Findings

The operator of a nuclear generating facility has a

high duty of care to protect the health, safety and

economic interests of its customers. Rate regulation of

nuclear operators should discourage the taking of risks

with regard to potential threats to public health and

safety.

By continuing to operate steam generators known to

be defective, and thereby increasing the risk of a

radioactive release and/or an expensive plant outage,

the Consolidated Edison Company failed to exercise

reasonable care on behalf of the health, safety and

economic interests of its customers. Therefore it would

not be in the public interest for the company to recover

from ratepayers any costs resulting from the February

15, 2000 outage at the Indian Point 2 Nuclear Facility.

The Governor, prior to signing the legislation that would

become Chapter 190, concluded that

based upon the evidence that has been adduced to date,

it is clear that Con Edison’s maintenance and inspection

practices at the Indian Point 2 facility were flawed and

that Con Edison continued to operate steam generators

at the facility well past the point when it was safe to do

so.... The factual record that has been developed to

date paints a compelling picture of questionable

management decisions and requires immediate

intervention to protect Con Edison’s ratepayers from

bearing the cost of these decisions.

Memorandum of Governor George E. Pataki (August 8,

2000).

abies ssh dso 3

|

:

5

it seen sa seb ether saad sei

~

cones

amen

Following passage of Chapter 190, Con Edison filed a

complaint in the U.S. District Court against Governor

George Pataki and certain PSC officials on August 14, 2000.

Petitioners, New York State Assembly Members later joined

the action as Intervenor-Defendants as authorized by Order

dated September 6, 2000.

In its complaint, Con Edison challenged the

constitutionality of Chapter 190 and sought a preliminary

and permanent injunction. Con Edison claimed that

Chapter 190 violated its right to equal protection under the

Fourteenth Amendment; constituted an unlawful bill of

attainder in violation of Article I, § 10 of the U.S.

Constitution; violated its Fourteenth Amendment right to

procedural due process; impaired its contractual rights

under Article 1, § 10 of the U.S. Constitution; was an unjust

taking under the Fourteenth Amendment; violated 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983; and violated the Supremacy Clause of the U.S.

Constitution (Article VI, Clause 2).

By Decision and Order dated October 10, 2000, the

District Court found that Chapter 190 was unconstitutional

because it violated the Equal Protection Clause and

constituted an unlawful bill of attainder. Con Ed v. Pataki,

117 F.Supp.2d 257 (N.D.N.Y. 2000).

A timely notice of appeal was filed to the Second Circuit

Court of Appeals seeking the reversal of the District Court

decision.

Oral arguments were held by the Second Circuit on May

21, 2001. By Decision dated June 5, 2002, the Second Circuit

Court of Appeals affirmed the judgment of the District

Court. Judge Walker noted in his decision that it was based

solely on Con Ed’s bill of attainder claim, and that the

Circuit Court was “skeptical, however, that the [Equal

Protection] Clause would require invalidation of Chapter

190.” Con Ed v. Pataki, et al., 292 F.3d 338, 346 n. 2 (2"4 Cir.

2002). The case was remanded to the District Court to

correct a scrivener’s error in judgment.

In its decision the Second Circuit made a threshold

determination that corporations enjoy the constitutional

protection of the Bill of Attainder Clause, stating that for

“several reasons, we think the protection afforded by the

Bill of Attainder Clauses is not a ‘purely personal guarantee’

and therefore, is one of the constitutional rights enjoyed by

corporations.” Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 347. The opinion states

that it is not a “purely personal guarantee” because “[w]hen

a corporation suffers an economic injury its shareholders

suffer the same economic injury.” Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 348.

Thus, the Second Circuit held that “corporations must be

considered ‘individuals,’ . . . that may not be singled out for

punishment under the Bill of Attainder Clause.” Citation

omitted. Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 349 citing Nixon, 433 U.S. at 468.

The Second Circuit then set forth and applied the three-

pronged test established by this Court to determine if a

statute is a bill of attainder, to wit: whether the act: (1)

“determines guilt and inflicts punishment”; (2) “upon an

identifiable individual”; and (3) is “without provision of the

protections of a judicial trial.” Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 346 citing

Nixon v. Administrator of Gen. Servs., 433 U.S. 425, 468 (1977).

“{T]Jhose factors are the evidence that is weighted together

in resolving a bill of attainder claim.” Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 350

citing Nixon, 433 U.S. at 473-78.

With respect to factors (2) and (3), the Second Circuit

concluded, per its threshold determination, that Con Ed is

an “individual,” and that “[i]n the present case, the lack of a

judicial trial is incontrovertible.” Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 346.

The Second Circuit then considered the remaining

prong, (1) “punishment,” which is itself subject to a three

part inquiry: (a) the historical test (whether the statute falls

within the “historical meaning of legislative punishment”);

(b) the functional test (whether the statute, “reasonably can

be said to further non-punitive legislative purposes”); and

(c) the motivational test (whether the legislative record

“evinces a congressional intent to punish”). Con Ed, 292 F.

3d at 350 citing Selective Service System v. Minnesota Public

Interest Research Group et al., 468 U.S. 841, 852 (1984).

Under (a), the historical test, the Second Circuit

recognized that Chapter 190 did not assess a fine or

disability and that this Court has held that an adverse

utility-rate decision is not “confiscatory.” The Second

Circuit conceded that Chapter 190 did not fall within the

historical meaning of legislative punishment, holding

however, “[a] statute need not fit within the historical

category of punishment to be considered such.” Con Ed, 292

F.3d at 351. 7

Under (b), the functional test, the Second Circuit found

numerous non-punitive legislative purposes. “By

preventing Con Ed from passing through the costs

associated with the IP2 outage that it would not have

incurred ordinarily, the legislature prevented Con Ed’s

ratepayers from being forced to bear the costs that the

legislature viewed as negligently incurred. ... This is not

necessarily a punitive purpose.” Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 352.

“Chapter 190 also functions to deter similar conduct by Con

Ed and other public utilities in the future.” On the other

hand, the Second Circuit found that even though Chapter

190 contained legitimate non-punitive reasons, “eliminating

harm to innocent third parties is a purpose consistent with

punishment,” and that “general and specific deterrence are

also traditional justifications for punishments.” Con Ed, 292

F.3d at 352-53. The Second Circuit concluded that it could

“discern no wholly non-punitive purpose to justify the

entire cost-allocation prohibition in Chapter 190.” Con Ed,

292 F.3d at 351, 352-54. The Second Circuit then set forth its

opinion that “[nJeither of the legitimate purposes set out

above — prevention of harm to ratepayers and deterrence of

inefficient, monopolistic conduct — can justify preventing

Con Ed from passing these costs along to ratepayers.” Con

Ed, 292 F.3d at 353-54.

Under (c), the motivational test, the Second Circuit

sought to determine if the legislative record evinces a

legislative intent to punish, indicating that “[o]nly the

clearest proof could suffice to establish the

unconstitutionality of a statute on [the] ground [of

legislative history.]” Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 354 citing Flemming

v. Nestor 363 U.S. 603, 617 (1960). The “[s]tatements by a

smattering of legislators ‘do not constitute [the required]

unmistakable evidence of punitive intent.’” Con Ed 292 F.3d

at 354 citing Selective Serv. Sys., 468 U.S. at 856, n. 15. The

Second Circuit referred to two statements made by Senators

in floor debate, and said, “the evidence of punitive intent in

the legislative record in this case is insufficient on its own to

justify a conclusion that Chapter 190 is punitive.” Emphasis

added. Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 354-55. “But the stated intent of at

least some legislators . . . to punish Con Ed reinforces our

independent conclusion that a substantial part of the

legislation cannot be justified by any legislative purpose but

punishment.” Emphasis added. Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 355.

Having made the above determinations the Second

Circuit, referring to some of the language in Nixon, made an

additional inquiry and determination, the “less burdensome

alternative” test. The Second Circuit stated that because

Chapter 190 disallowed certain costs that it believed should

be recovered by Con Edison, “there are plainly ‘less

burdensome alternatives by which [the] legislature . . . could

have achieved its legitimate nonpunitive objectives,’” and

used that determination to justify overturning Chapter 190

as a Bill of Attainder. Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 354.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I. THE DECISION OF THE SECOND CIRCUIT IS IN DIRECT

CONFLICT WITH DECISION OF THE D.C. CIRCUIT, AND

CONFLICTS WITH THE LEGAL TEST USED BY THE FIFTH

AND SEVENTH CIRCUITS AND THIS COURT IN BILL OF

ATTAINDER CASES, AND IF UPHELD WILL UNDERMINE

THE ABILITY OF STATES TO RESTRAIN CORPORATE

WRONGDOING AND REGULATE MONOPOLIES.

be ale tae

One significant reason for granting a certiorari petition is

the existence of a conflict among the Circuits with respect to -

the law applied to a particular case. There is, in this case,

such a conflict among the four Circuits which have decided

cases seeking application of Bill of Attainder Clause

protections to corporations. The Second Circuit took

language from this Court’s decision in Nixon suggesting that

the existence of a “less burdensome alternative” might be of

significance to the outcome of that particular case, and

applied it to the legislative remedy existing in Chapter 190,

thereby invalidating the statute. The D.C. Circuit, on the

other hand, explicitly refused to engage in any judicial

inquiry into the availability of alternative methods of

achieving the legislative goal. “In other words, it does not

matter that Congress arguably could have enacted different

legislation.” Emphasis added. Bellsouth Communications v.

Federal Communications Comm'n, 162 F.3d 678, 689 (D.C. Cir.

1998)(“ Bellsouth II’); Citing BellSouth v. FCC, 144 F.3d 58

(D.C. Cir. 1998)(“BellSouth I’). See also Navegar, Inc. v.

United States, 192 F.3d 1050, 1068 (D.C. Cir. 1999).

(“Therefore, since the prohibition effectuated by the act ...

exhibits a purely punitive purpose ... it does not constitute

an unconstitutional bill of attainder.”) This is a conflict

between the Circuits of a kind that this Court has resolved,

and in this case should resolve.

The Fifth and Seventh Circuits did not explicitly reject

the “less burdensome alternative” inquiry, but did not apply

it in reaching their decisions, and rejected Bill of Attainder

Clause claims made by the corporate plaintiffs before them.!

' Nixon, 433 U.S. at 468; SBC Communications,, 154-F.3d at 242;

Bellsouth II, 162 F.3d at 684; Selective Seruc. Sys., 468 U.S. at 852.

The Seventh Circuit ruled on other constitutional grounds, but

stated, “The requirement of punishment is most clearly satisfied

when a punitive purpose is conjoined with a characteristically

punitive sanction, such as a fine.” Club Misty, 208 F.3d at 617

Internal citations omitted.

10

The Second Circuit, unable to invalidate Chapter 190 as a

bill of attainder using the correct test, added a new and

dispositive “less burdensome alternative” requirement in its

punishment analysis as its grounds for finding Chapter 190

_ to be a bill of attainder.? This places the Second Circuit in

conflict with the other circuits as to the proper legal test to

be applied in Bill of Attainder Clause cases. This is the heart

of the conflict among the Circuits.

This conflict is compounded by a fundamental

uncertainty in each of the Circuits about whether or not

corporations are to be afforded bill of attainder protections,

and the unexamined “assumption” by several circuits that

they are. See SBC Communications, Inc. v. FCC, 154 F.3d 226,

234 (5% Cir. 1998); Bellsouth I, 144 F.3d at 63; Bellsouth II, 162

F.3d at 684; Club Misty v. Laski, 208 F.3d 615, 617 (7% Cir.

2000).

This conflict and confusion should be remedied by this

Court.

The conflict appears clearly in the respective opinions of

_the D.C., Fifth, and Second Circuits.

The D.C. Circuit’s language is explicit:

In addition, as we noted in BellSouth I, Congress may

read the evidence before it in a different way than might

this court or any other, so long as it remains clear that

Congress was pursuing a legitimate nonpunitive

purpose. In other words, it does not matter that Congress

arguably could have enacted different legislation in an effort

to open the long distance markets to competition.

Emphasis added. Bellsouth II, 162 F.3d at 689. Citing BellSouth

I, 144 F.3d 58. Internal citations omitted. The D.C. Circuit

clearly rejects the “less burdensome alternative” test that the

Second Circuit relies upon in this case.

2 The Second Circuit asserts “we look beyond simply a rational

relationship of the statute to a legitimate public purpose for ‘less

burdensome alternatives.’” Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 350 citing Nixon,

433 U.S. at 482.

i

i

4

4a

7

j

4

at

” capac. —

1]

The Fifth Circuit similarly did not apply a “less

burdensome” analysis in its Bill of Attainder Clause

analysis. The Fifth Circuit stated “In the light of the 400

years of case law and history that we have considered, we

believe that Nixon stands, ultimately and concisely, for the

following proposition: if legislation has a legitimately

nonpunitive function, purpose, and structure, it does not

constitute punishment for purposes of the Bill of Attainder

Clause, even where it imposes the historically punitive

sanction of barring designated individuals from engaging in

certain professions.” SBC Communications, 154 F.3d at 241.

The Fifth Circuit's failure to apply such a “less burdensome

alternative” test is different from the approach of the Second

Circuit.

A. The Second Circuit Conceded that Chapter 190 Does

Not Run Afoul of the Three Requirements of the Bill

of Attainder “Punishment” Prong.

First, the Second Circuit admitted that Chapter 190 has

many legitimate non-punitive purposes, including the one

most central to the Legislature’s investigation and findings.

“The legislature could legitimately conclude that, as

between Con Ed, the party that caused the outage, and the

ratepayers, parties having nothing whatsoever todo with ~

the outage, Con Ed should bear the costs attributable to its

negligence. The legislature could decide that it would be

unfair to force ratepayers to absorb the costs of Con Ed’s

error. If such a conclusion were reached by a court in a

negligence action, for instance, no one would reasonably

conclude that the court had “punished” Con Ed.”3 Con Ed,

292 F.3d at 352.

3 Despite finding a legitimate non-punitive purpose, the Second

Circuit reasoned that “by lumping all costs of the outage together

and forcing Con Ed to absorb them, the legislature piled on a

burden that was obviously disproportionate to the harm caused.”

Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 353. The Second Circuit concluded that

12

Second, the Second Circuit conceded that Chapter 190

does not meet the historical meaning of punishment, such as

a fine, confiscation of property, or denial of the right to

work. It recognized that this Court has held that an adverse

utility-rate decision is not “confiscatory.” However, without

any other historical analysis, it concluded that “[a] statute

need not fit within the historical category of punishment to

be considered such.” Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 351.

And third, the Second Circ1it conceded the absence of

evidence of the traditional indicia of punitive legislative

intent. “The evidence of punitive intent in the legislative

record in this case is insufficient on its own to justify a

conclusion that Chapter 190 is punitive. But the stated

intent of at least some legislators ... to punish Con Ed

reinforces our independent conclusion that a substantial part

_ of the legislation cannot be justified by any legislative

purpose but punishment.” Emphases added. Con Ed, 292 F.3d

at 354-55. The Second Circuit does not offer any other

evidence of punitive legislative intent for its “independent

conclusion.”

B. The Second Circuit Creates An Additional

Dispositive Inquiry in the Bill of Attainder

Analysis.

Having thus far failed to invalidate Chapter 190 by

applying the traditional test, the Second Circuit looked for

because Chapter 190 did not allow all of these undetermined costs

to Con Edison, and that some of these costs would have been

incurred even in the absence of Con Edison’s misconduct it found

no “wholly non-punitive purpose to justify the entire cost-allocation

prohibition.” Emphasis added. Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 351-54. It cited

no authority for such a restrictive test, which in fact directly

‘conflicts with this Court’s holding in Selective Sroc. Sys., which

characterized the relevant test as “whether the challenged state

can be reasonably said to further nonpunitive goals.” Emphasis

added. 468 U.S. at 853-54.

EERE VANS DLR ELC AE ODE CAEEOER ISLA GERARD OR

13

new grounds to invalidate that statute. It decided to “look

beyond simply a rational relationship of the statute to a

legitimate public purpose for ‘less burdensome alternatives

by which [the] legislature . . . could have achieved its

legitimate nonpunitive objectives.’” Citations in original.

Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 350, citing Nixon, 433 U.S. at 482. The

Second Circuit mistakenly created this additional line of

inquiry and made it dispositive of the question of

punishment. The Second Circuit ignored the warnings of

this Court about the language in Nixon. In Nixon, this Court

stated that

One final consideration should be mentioned in light of

the unique posture of this controversy. In determining

whether a legislature sought to inflict punishment on an

individual, it is often useful to inquire into the existence

of less burdensome alternatives by which that legislature

(here Congress) could have achieved its legitimate

nonpunitive objectives.

Nixon, 433 U.S. at 482. Thus, Nixon limited the “less

burdensome alternative” inquiry to the unique

circumstances of the Nixon case. Most importantly, it did so

as part of the overall determination, not as the Second

Circuit held, as an additional and dispositive element of the

existing three prong ‘punishment’ inquiry under Selective

Sroc. Sys., 468 U.S. at 852, and not as the sole basis for

overturning a statute as a bill of attainder.

The overreaching by the Second Circuit becomes clearer

upon a complete reading of the Nixon decision. In Nixon,

mindful of the “social and political realities of 1974” and the

“political turbulence unprecedented in our history,” this

Court stated that it

is not free to invalidate Acts of Congress based upon

inferences that we may be asked to draw from our

personalized reading of the contemporary scene or

recent history. In judging the constitutionality of the

Act, we may only look to its terms, to the intent

expressed by Members of Congress who voted its

14

passage, and to the existence or nonexistence of

legitimate explanations for its apparent effect.

Nixon, 433 U.S. at 484. This Court has made clear that the

“less burdensome” inquiry relied on by the Second Circuit

should not be used as subterfuge to strike down legislation

because it does not comport with a court’s social or

economic policy preferences.

The Second Circuit created a new, dispositive test for

finding punitive intent without any record evidence of such

intent; it admitted that restraining Con Edison from

charging ratepayers for the consequences of its own

misdeeds is a legitimate purpose; and it was unable to find

any historical precedent for defining a rate allocation system

as punishment. It then chose to substitute it own policy

preferences for the measured decision of the Legislature and

the Governor. This is unconstitutional, unwise and will

serve to endanger economic regulatory decisions made by

legislative bodies across the nation.

The sheer unworkability of the Second Circuit's “less

burdensome” test is a function of the difficulty, if not the

impossibility, of determining which of several potential

legislative remedies is less burdensome. This test would

have been difficult enough if the Second Circuit sought the

“least” burdensome alternative but it will always be possible

to argue to a Court that some other or new remedy is “less”

burdensome than that selected by the legislature. Courts are

particularly unprepared to make these relative policy

judgments.

The Second Circuit’s “less burdensome alternative”

analysis, if upheld, will place the federal courts in the

untenable and unconstitutional position of substituting their

judgments about the relative merits of competing economic

regulatory options, decisions which are functionally and

constitutionally best made by elected legislative bodies. In

the instant case, the fact that a “less burdensome

alternative” existed, in the opinion of the Second Circuit, is

the only evidence cited of the Legislature’s intent to punish.

15

The Second Circuit's belief that the Legislature might have

taken a different route with Chapter 190 is not reason for it

to be struck down as a bill of attainder when it otherwise

fails to meet the requirements of Nixon and Selective Sruc.

Sys., and does not violate other constitutional provisions. In

contrast to the correct legal test applied by the Fifth,

Seventh, and D.C. Circuits, the Second Circuit’s reliance on

this additional element, if upheld, will open a floodgate of

litigation challenging otherwise valid state economic

regulation, and will probably result in the re-litigation of the

issues in the cases decided by the other Circuits, and may

provoke the Federal Civil Rights statutes to challenge state

economic regulatory statutes.

This Court should use its supervisory power to clarify

this conflict and reaffirm that the Nixon case was in its own

words, “unique” and that the traditional three-pronged test,

unaltered, remains the correct standard.

This conflict among the Circuits as to the correct test to be

applied is compounded by the assumption by three Circuits

that corporations enjoy the protections of the bill of

attainder provision of the Constitution, as opposed to the

specific holding by the Second Circuit to the same effect.

Since the federal intrusion into state regulatory authority

over corporations is substantial, and the consequences of

this new uncertainty are significant, this Court should

decide for itself whether a new constitutional right will be

conferred, as discussed below in III.

II. THE SECOND CIRCUIT ERRED IN USING THE BILL OF

ATTAINDER CLAUSE TO LIMIT STATE REGULATORY

AUTHORITY OVER UTILITIES BY CREATING A PROPERTY

RIGHT IN A PORTION OF AN OVERALL UTILITY RATE IN

CONTRAVENTION OF DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, AND

STRIKING DOWN A STATE REGULATORY STATUTE

OTHERWISE CONSTITUTIONAL, THEREBY PLACING IN

QUESTION THE RATEMAKING AUTHORITY OF STATE

LEGISLATURES.

16

A. The Regulation of Utilities is a State Legislative

Function.

The regulation of corporate economic behavior,

especially of regulated monopolies, is a traditional and

important function of state government. This Court has

firmly and repeatedly held that utility ratemaking is a

legislative function, which can be exercised directly by the

legislature or delegated to a subsidiary body. The existence

of the subsidiary body does not diminish the authority of

the legislature to act directly. By inserting a bill of attainder

analysis the Second Circuit has created a new, unworkable,

federal judicial intrusion into the operations of state

legislatures and their ability to protect their citizens from

economic wrongdoing by regulated monopolies.

The Second Circuit plainly ignored this Court’s holding

in Duquesne Light Co. v. Barasch, 488 U.S. 299 (1989). “[I]t

cannot seriously be contended that the Constitution

prevents state legislatures from giving specific instructions

to their utility commissions. We have never doubted that

state legislatures are competent bodies to set utility rates.”

Duquesne, 488 U.S. at 313. This Court affirmed that

ratemaking remained a legislative function, even as states

across the nation chose to set aside the historical practice of

individual utility rates for individual utilities being set by

individual statutes, and began to establish regulatory

commissions. See Knoxville v. Knoxville Water Co., 212 U.S. 1

(1909). In Knoxville, this Court carefully eschewed an

opportunity for judicial intervention into the ratemaking

process, noting that “[t]he function of ratemaking is purely

legislative in its character, and this is true, whether it is

exercised directly by the legislature itself or by some

subordinate or administrative body.” Knoxville, 212 U.S. at

8.

New York Courts have similarly ruled on numerous

occasions that utility regulation remains essentially

17

legislative in nature. See People ex rel. Municipal Gas Co. v.

Public Serv. Comm'n, 224 N.Y. 156, 166-67 (1998) (“The

Legislation . . . intended to retain unto itself the power of

fixing rates . .. We cannot discern in such retention of

legislative power any violation of constitution provision.”);

Matter of Brooklyn Union Gas v. Maltbie, 245 A.D. 74, 75 (1935)

(“Ratemaking is a legislative function; the commission acts

by delegated authority. Legislative methods may be

followed in arriving at a decision and rate.”)* The Second

Circuit decision intrudes bill of attainder protections upon

this legislative power in ways that will cause uncertainty

and disruption of the regulatory process unless clarified by

this Court.

B. Utilities Have No Property Interest In A Portion of

Their Overall Rate.

The Second Circuit compounded its initial attack on the

legislative ratemaking function by declaring, again in

contravention of Duquesne and other decisions of this Court,

that a utility has a property right in a portion of an overall

utility rate which is otherwise just and reasonable. The

Second Circuit ruled that Con Edison was deprived of a

property interest by Chapter 190, which undisputedly deals

with only one portion of Con Edison’s overall rate structure,

the Fuel Adjustment Clause. “Chapter 190 clearly deprived

Con Edison of a property interest.” Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 351.

Con Ed has never asserted, indeed concedes, that their

overall rate is adequate and fair. In Duquesne, this Court

ruled that a utility does not have a property right in a

4 An additional consequence of the Second Circuit decision may

be that ratemaking, whether done by legislatures or by their

designees will be constrained to use judicial processes required by

the Second Circuit in this case in spite of well settled doctrine that

legislative methods may be used to set rates.

—_—_—__—~

18

component of its overall rate, stating that “[i]f the total effect

of the rate order cannot be said to be unreasonable, judicial

inquiry ...is atanend.” Duquesne, 488 U.S. at 310. The

creation of a property right in a portion of a rate will disrupt

the traditional, well-settled, and effective state regulatory

structures and policy, and invite burdensome litigation

when either legislatures or their designees change a portion

of an overall rate structure.

C. Bill of Attainder Protections Are Not A Substitute

For Other Constitutional Protections. —

This Court has specifically ruled that bill of attainder

protections are not to be a substitute for other constitutional

protections used to attack legislative exercise of the police

power. As Justice Brennan warned, “[h]owever expansive

the prohibition against bills of attainder, it surely was not

intended to serve as a variant of the equal protection

doctrine.” Nixon, 433 U.S. at 471. Con Edison initially

attacked the statute as constitutionally invalid on four

separate grounds, equal protection, due process, violation of

contract and bill of attainder. All these matters were

extensively briefed and argued in both the District and

Circuit courts. The District Court held for Con Ed on equal

protection and bill of attainder grounds. The Second Circuit

discounted the equal protection holding and relied solely on

bill of attainder to invalidate the statute. Con Ed, 292 F.3d at

345 n. 2.

Chapter 190 was carefully drawn to preserve all

constitutional protections, and yet protect citizens against

the economic consequences of wrongdoing and negligence

by a monopoly corporation. Having met the appropriate

constitutional thresholds for such economic regulation, the

Legislature should not be hamstrung by a new, additional,

and unworkable restriction on its regulatory authority. This

is especially true when the judicial intervention takes the

form of a new constitutional right, such as the bill of

ENE, BARR PRR RIE

Sd RRA BETA AR RO SET ses PEAS ES hs SER

19

attainder protections afforded to corporations. Only the

most thorough and dispositive declaration by this Court

should be the basis of the profound and wrenching

reconfiguration of the state-federal relationship on the

regulation of corporations created by state law, especially

regulated monopolies that have both public and private

attributes.

III. THE UNWARRANTED EXTENSION OF BILL OF ATTAINDER

PROTECTIONS TO CORPORATIONS GENERALLY, AND

REGULATED MONOPOLIES SPECIFICALLY, IS A

SIGNIFICANT ERROR AND A QUESTION OF SIGNIFICANT

PUBLIC IMPORTANCE.

The protections of the Bill of Attainder Clause have

previously been applied by this Court only to natural

persons or groups of natural persons who were oppressed

or disfavored by the government for their political or

personal activities. The essential purposes of the English

~and American restrictions on bills of attainder have been to

protect those without the power or resources to protect

themselves from the overwhelming power of legislative

oppression, as other sections of the Constitution protect

against executive oppression. The extension of bill of

attainder protections to private corporations is without

precedent, inconsistent with the purposes and history of

bills of attainder, and a dramatic federal intrusion into state

economic regulation. The Second Circuit apparently was

aware of the significance of its decision when it

acknowledged that it was “unable to unearth any case in

which a corporation has ultimately prevailed in challenging

legislation as a bill of attainder.” Emphasis added. Con Ed,

292 F.3d at 348. This is especially true when applied to

regulated monopolies, against whom state regulatory and

ratemaking powers are the sole and acknowledged

protection for people subject to the monopoly.

20

The decision of the Second Circuit will have a significant

impact on the legal, economic and practical structures of

everyday life because it may expose numerous laws

regulating economic activity to constitutional challenge -

even in highly regulated industries such as utilities where

legislatures have traditionally exercised broad powers.

Corporations may rely on the Second Circuit’s decision

to attempt to overturn legitimate corporate regulation of

individual or groups of corporations. And, because the

specificity requirement of the Bill of Attainder Clause is met

where the legislation singles out “an identifiable group,”

corporations could use the language and logic of the Second

Circuit to bring bill of attainder challenges to many

commonplace economic measures that limit the conduct of

or place regulatory burdens upon particular industries. The

consequences of such uncertainty will be felt by every court

and every legislative body in this country.

Corporations do have protections against unjust

regulatory initiatives in the Takings Clause, the Equal

Protection Clause and the Due Process Clause. The Bill of

Attainder Clause protections will be a burdensome and

unnecessary restriction of legislative activity.

The Second Circuit extension of Bill of Attainder Clause

protections to corporations is based on a misreading of the

test used by this Court when extending constitutional rights

to corporations and a misreading of this Court’s previous

decisions. The Second Circuit acknowledged that this Court

has not “directly” ruled on the question, citing South

Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. 301, 324 (1966). In Katzenbach

this Court rejected a claim by South Carolina that the Voting

Rights Act was a bill of attainder against the states of the

Union. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. 301. This Court held that the

Clause did not apply to states because “courts have

consistently regarded the Bill of Attainder Clause . . . only as

protection for individual persons and private groups, those

who are peculiarly vulnerable to non-judicial determination

21

of guilt.” Katzenbach, 383 U.S. at 324. There is no reason to

think this reference encompasses corporations.

The other decision of this Court relied upon by the

Second Circuit, Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211

(1995), has an even more tenuous connection to the issue

here, for it did not involve a bill of attainder claim. Rather,

Plaut was a challenge to a provision of the Securities and

Exchange Act of 1934 on the ground that it required federal

courts to reopen final judgments in violation of principles of

separation of powers and due process. The Second Circuit

cited dictum in Plaut, 514 U.S. at 239 n. 9 for the assertion

that “a bill of attainder may target a ‘single individual or

firm’” without discussion of the definition of the word.>

Emphasis in original. Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 347.

The Second Circuit, based upon these two cited cases

from this Court, concluded with circular logic that “[a]

corporation shares some of the characteristics of a ‘private

group,’ but we need not decide whether corporations are

included within the category of private groups because the. —

reference to private groups plainly contemplates protection

for some entities in addition to individual natural persons.”

Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 347.

In fact, this Court has applied Biil of Attainder Clause

protections only five times in its history, and only to natural

persons and groups of natural persons who are particularly

weak or powerless because of their vulnerability or

unpopularity. In United States v. Brown, 381 U.S. 437 (1965),

the act struck down made it a crime for present and former

—

Dictionary definitions of “firm” make it clear, however, that a

corporation, with its independent legal existence, is not a firm. A

firm is “a partnership of two or more persons that is not

recognized as a legal person distinct from the members composing

it.” Merriam-Webster’s Dictionary of Law, visited on August 18,

2002 (http://dictionary.lp.findlaw.com). A “business entity or

enterprise. Unincorporated business. Partnership of two or more

persons.” Blacks Law Dictionary, 6" Ed. (1990) at 634.

22

members of the Communist Party to serve as officers of a

labor union. In United States v. Lovett, 328 U.S. 303 (1946) the

act provided that no federal budget appropriation could be

used for salaries of three specifically named government

employees who had been named as subversives by the

House Committee on Un-American Activities unless

reappointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate.

In Ex parte Garland, 71 U.S. 333 (1866), the act conditioned

admission to the practice of law upon an oath that the

individual never bore arms against or supported enemies of

the United States. In Cummings v. Missouri, 71 U.S. 277

(1866), the act made it a crime to practice law or be a

clergyman without taking an oath that the individual had

not been disloyal to the United States. Finally, in Pierce et al.

v. Carskadon. 83 U.S. 234 (16 Wall.) (1872), a case very similar

to Ex parte Garland and Cummings, this Court protected

individuals denied the right to seek judicial redress because

they were ex-Confederates. In these successful bill of

attainder cases, the challenged statutory sanctions were

against natural persons, Communists or Confederates,

people perceived as subversives or traitors, and widely

considered politically disloyal to the United States

government.

The Second Circuit’s decision wrongly takes a

considerable leap from these precedents when it finds a

corporation analogous to one or more unpopular natural

persons.

A. This Court Has Limited Its Application of Bill of

Attainder Protections to the “Peculiarly

Vulnerable.”

“Courts have consistently regarded the Bill of Attainder

Clause of Article I,. . . only as protections for individual

persons and private groups, those who are ‘peculiarly

vulnerable to non-judicial determinations of guilt.”

Katzenbach, 383 U.S. at 324, citing Brown, 381 U.S. 437 and Ex

23

parte Garland, 4 Wall 332. See also Landgraf v. USI Products et

al., 511 U.S. 244, 253 (1994) (“The prohibitions on Bills of

Attainder in Art. I §§ 9-10, prohibit legislatures from

singling out disfavored persons.”).

The Second Circuit ignored this Court’s application of

Bill of Attainder protections only to “disfavored” or

“peculiarly vulnerable” natural persons because, in the case

of a multi-billion dollar monopoly, it cannot make such a

finding, any more than Con Edison itself has ever made

such a claim. The notion that it can be used as a defense for

state regulation of corporate or monopoly wrongdoing

: stands the constitution on its head and leaves individual

and groups of natural persons at the mercy of a state created

i legal fiction, a monopoly utility. The limitation of bill of

attainder protections to one or more natural persons is

| consistent with the history, purposes, and application by

this Court of the Bill of Attainder Clause.

B. The Nature, History and Purpose of the Bill of

Attainder Clause Are “Purely Personal,” and

Therefore, Should Not Be Applied To Corporations.

This Court has carefully considered the “nature, history,

and purpose” of constitutional protections sought by

corporations, and granted some and denied others. In this

case, the Second Circuit concluded “the protection afforded

by the Bill of Attainder Clauses is not a “’purely personal’

guarantee” and therefore is one of the constitutional rights

enjoyed by corporations.” Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 347.

“{C]ertain ‘purely personal’ guarantees . . . are unavailable

to corporations and other organizations because the ‘historic

function’ of the particular guarantees has been limited to the

protection of individuals.” First Nat'l Bank of Boston v.

Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 778-79 n. 14 (1978) (citing United States

v. White, 322 U.S. 694, 698-701 (1944)). The test of “whether

or not a particular guarantee is ‘purely personal’ or is

unavailable to corporations for some other reason depends

24

on the nature, history, and purpose of the particular

constitutional provision.” Bellotti, 435 U.S. at 778-79.

This Court undertook an extensive review of the history

of the Bill of Attainder Clause in Nixon. This Court stated

that “[iJn England a bill of attainder originally connoted a

parliamentary Act sentencing a named individual or i

identifiable members of a group to death” and also

proscribed “enactments originally characterized as bills of

pains and penalties, that is, legislative Acts inflicting

punishment other than executions.” Nixon, 433 U.S. at 473 -

474 (citing United States v. Lovett at 323-324 (Frankfurter, J.,

concurring); Cummings v. Missouri, 71 U.S. at 323 and Z.

Chafee, Jr., Three Human Rights in the Constitution of 1787,

at 97 (1956). As an example, this Court cited a specific bill of

attainder legislatively sentencing James, Duke of Monmouth

to death. Nixon, 433 U.S. at 474 (citing 1 Jac. 2, c.2 (1685).

This Court cited Blackstone for provisions that usually

accompanied such a bill, such as “forfeiture of the

condemned person’s property to the King and the

corruption of his blood, whereby his heirs were denied the

right to his estate,” practices dating back to the Norman

conquest of England. Nixon, 433 U.S. at 474 (citing 4 W.

Blackstone Commentaries 388.) This Court’s historical

analysis also discussed its expansion of the bill of attainder

protection to include legislative enactments “barring

designated individuals or groups from participation in

specified employments or vocations, a mode of punishment

commonly employed against those specifically branded as

disloyal.” Nixon, 433 U.S. at 474. Citations omitted.

The only historical reference to the history and purposes

of the Bill of Attainder Clause made by the Second Circuit is

its unexamined reference to ancient English law. “Con Ed

cites several English statutes that imposed disabilities on

English boroughs, hardly natural persons. See, e.g., 1 & 2

25

Geo. 4, c.47 (Eng. 1821).Ӣ Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 348. The

Second Circuit offers no other evidence or analysis of the

history of Bill of Attainder protections.” This Court has

spoken clearly about the limited value of such early English

precedents in Wilson, “[w]e have not overlooked the early

English decisions to which our attention has been called ...

but these cannot be deemed controlling. The corporate

duty, and the relation of the appellant as the officer of the

corporation to its discharge, are to be determined by our

“laws.” Wilson v. United States, 221 U.S. 361 at 385-86. The

Second Circuit's historical analysis, resting purely on these

English precedents as it does, is incompatible with the

instructions of this Court.

With respect to the nature and purpose of the Bill of

Attainder Clause, the Second Circuit failed to consider

factors that motivated the Founders to include bill of

attainder protections in the Constitution, and their

considerable resentment towards the nature and purpose of

English Bills of Attainder. The Founders saw a compelling

need to proscribe the legislative power misused against

individuals. James Madison, in Federalist 44, noted that

such Bills are “contrary to the first principles of the social

compact” and that Americans “have seen with regret and

indignation that sudden changes and legislative

interferences, in cases affecting personal rights, become jobs

in the hands of enterprising and influential speculators, and

snares to the more industrious and less informed part of the

community.” The Federalist Papers. Clinton Rossiter, ed.

Mentor Books, New York (1961) at 282. Alexander

Hamilton quoting Blackstone in Federalist 84, stated that

© It should be noted that in English law a borough is a

governmental entity, not a private corporation.

7 The Second Circuit, instead stated that the Clause’s history

has been “aptly described elsewhere . . . we see no need to

reiterate it here.” Con Ed, 292 F.3d at 346.

26

“To bereave a man of life “O says he” or by violence to

confiscate his estate, without accusation or trial, would be so

gross and notorious an act of despotism.” Id. at 511-2.

There is never the slightest hint that the Legislative effort in

Chapter 190 to protect the citizenry from the economic

misdeeds of its own legal creations could rise to the level of

a bill of attainder.

A comparison of decisions granting and denying

constitutional protections to corporations further illuminates

why bill of attainder protections should not be granted to

corporations.

In Marshall v. Barlow’s, Inc., this Court found that the

constitutional provision against unreasonable search and

seizure applied to corporations. 436 U.S. 307 (1978). This

Court held that “it is untenable that the ban on warrantless

searches was not intended to shield places of business as

well as of residence.” Marshall, 436 U.S. at 312. In reaching

this conclusion, this Court in looking to the American

colonial experience stated that “[t]he general warrant was a

recurring point of contention in the Colonies immediately

preceding the Revolution. The particular offensiveness it

engendered was acutely felt by the merchants and business

men whose premises and products were inspected for

compliance with the several parliamentary revenue

measures that most irritated the colonists.” Marshall, 436

USS. at 310. This Court also cited the Virginia Bill of Rights,

which predates the U.S. Bill of Rights, which specifically

“opposed ‘general warrants, whereby an officer or

messenger may be commanded to search suspected places

without evidence of a fact committed.” Id. (citing in footnote

H. Commager, Documents of American History 104 (8% ed.

1968). Thus, this Court’s review of the historical basis of the

Fourth Amendment’s Warrant Clause protections showed

both the history and purpose of the protection, and that it

was intended to apply to and protect the merchants and

other businessman of the day. There is no similar history

with respect to bill of attainder protections.

27

In White, this Court held that the right against self-

incrimination set forth in the Fourth and Fifth Amendments

of the Constitution did not apply to corporations because

their purpose was “directed primarily to the protection of

individual and personal rights.” White, 322 U.S. at 698. This

Court reasoned that the

constitutional privilege against self-incrimination is

essentially a personal one, applying only to natural

individuals. It grows out of the high sentiment and

regard of our jurisprudence for conducting criminal

trials and investigatory proceedings upon a plane of

dignity, humanity and impartiality. It is designed to

prevent the use of legal process to force from the lips of

the accused individual the necessary evidence to convict

him or to force him to produce and authenticate any

personal documents or effects that might incriminate

him. Physical torture and other less violent but equally

reprehensible modes of compelling the production of

incriminating evidence are thereby avoided.

White, 322 U.S. at 698..

The application of the Bill of Attainder Clause to

corporations thus has no grounding in history, law or

precedent, and is completely inconsistent with the

traditional and necessary power of states to protect their

citizens from corporate wrongdoing. As noted above, there

is no claim here that Chapter 190 fundamentally interferes

with Con Edison’s ability to conduct its business, nor that

Chapter 190 created an overall rate of return that is unfair or

unjust. There was a question about who should pay the

costs associated with the undisputed negligence of Con

Edison with respect to Indian Point. The Legislature, faced

with a specific set of actions by Con Edison and their

economic consequences apportioned the economic harm as

between innocent ratepayers and a culpable monopoly.

There is no basis in history or logic to use bill of attainder

protections to limit state authority over a monopoly utility.

28

If, arguendo, bill of attainder protections were to be

afforded to private corporations, their further application to

regulated monopolies would not be sound doctrine because

of the acknowledged, quasi-public nature of such utilities.

Con Edison is not a corporation as that term is commonly

understood and used, but instead is a unique creation of

New York State Law. Con Edison is a quasi-governmental

public utility publicly vested with public responsibilities

such as the right of condemnation. See N.Y. Transportation

Corp. Law § 11 (McKinney 2000). Thus, the line between

government and private corporation is significantly blurred

in this case. As this Court noted in Katzenbach, > State may

not maintain a bill of attainder claim. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. at

324. As such, the protections of the bill of attainder cannot

attach to Con Edison.

The limited use of this constitutional provision by this

Court to acts of unfairness against the politically unpopular,

rather than as a shield against appropriate economic

regulation of corporations was best summed up by Justice

Brennan who, when speaking for this Court in Nixon noted

any individual or group that is made the subject of

adverse legislation can complain that the lawmakers

could and should have defined the relevant affected

class at a greater level of generality. Furthermore, every

person or group made subject to legislation which he or

it finds burdensome may subjectively feel, and can

complain, that he or it is being subjected to unwarranted

punishment. United States v. Lovett. [citation omitted in

original.] However expansive the prohibition against

bills of attainder, it surely was not intended to serve as a

variant of the equal protection doctrine, invalidating

every Act of Congress or the States that legislatively

burdens some persons or groups but not all other

plausible individuals. In short, while the Bill of

Attainder Clause serves as an important “bulwark

against tyranny,” United States v. Brown, 381 U.S. at 443,

it does not do so by limiting Congress to the choice of

29

legislating for the universe, or legislating only benefits,

or not legislating at all.

433 U.S. 425, 471-72.

CONCLUSION

As this Court noted in Nixon, “ [forbidden legislative

punishment is not involved merely because the Act imposes

burdensome consequences.” 433 U.S. at 472. While Con

Edison may argue that Chapter 190 is burdensome, it does

not impose punishment within the meaning of the Bill of

Attainder precedents of this Court.

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

/) 4 —™

/ f oe

Dt PP ge i 7

ps sr Sf: o ae, Ty,

a

/

Jolin L. Parker, Esq.*

Counsel

Richard L. Brodsky, Esq.

86t New York State Assembly District

5 West Main Street, Suite 205

Elmsford, NY 10523

(914) 345-0432

(914) 345-0436 fax

*Attorney of Record

Date: September 3, 2002.

APPENDIX A

A-1

CONSOLIDATED EDISON COMPANY OF NEW YORK,

INC., Plaintiff-Appellee, v. GEORGE E. PATAKI, in his

official capacity as Governor of the State of New York,

MAUREEN O. HELMER, in her official capacity as

Chairman of the New York State Public Service

Commission, THOMAS J. DUNLEAVY, JAMES D.

BENNETT, LEONARD D. WEISS and NEAL N. GALVIN

in their official capacities as Commissioners of the New

York State Public Service Commission, Defendants-

Appellants, RICHARD L. BRODSKY, New York State

Assembly Member and SHELDON SILVER, New York

State Assembly Speaker, Intervenors-Defendants-Appellants.

Docket Nos. 00-9358(L), 00-9426(CON), 00-9442(CON)

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

292 F.3d 338; 2002 U.S. App. LEXIS 10762

May 21, 2001, Argued

June 5, 2002, Decided

PRIOR HISTORY: [**1] Defendant state officials appeal from

a judgment of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of New York (Lawrence E. Kahn, District

Judge) permanently enjoining enforcement of a state statute

against plaintiff Consolidated Edison Company of New

York, Inc. on the grounds that the statute violated the Equal

Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment and the

Bill of Attainder Clause of Article I, Section 10 of the United

States Constitution.

Consolidated Edison Co. of N.Y., Inc. v. Pataki, 117 F. Supp.

2d 257, 2000 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 14985 (N.D.N.Y. 2000)

A-2

DISPOSITION: Affirmed and remanded for correction of

judgment.

COUNSEL: LAURA ETLINGER, Assistant Solicitor General

of the State of New York (Eliot Spitzer, Attorney General of

the State of New York, Daniel Smirlock, Deputy Solicitor

General of the State of New York, Peter H. Schiff, Senior

Counsel, on the brief), Albany, NY, for Defendant-Appellant

Governor Pataki.

LAWRENCE G. MALONE, Public Service Commission of

the State of New York (Diane T. Dean, on the brief), Albany,

NY, for Defendants-Appellants Commissioners of the Public

Service Commission.

RICHARD L. BRODSKY, ESQ., New York State Assembly,

Counsel to the Majority (Rosemary Perez Jaquith, on the

brief), Albany, NY, for Intervenors-Defendants-Appellants.

GUY MILLER STRUVE, [**2] Davis, Polk & Wardwell

(James D. Liss, Florence A. Crisp, Zachary D. Stern, Davis,

Polk & Wardwell, Charles E. McTiernan, Jr., Richard J.

Giglio, Scott A. Levinson, Roxana Barsalona, Consolidated

Edison Company of New York, Inc., on the brief), New

York, NY, for Plaintiff-Appellee.

JOHN C. RICE, ESQ., Rice & Justice (Lawrence P. Justice,

Bradley F. Rice, on the brief), Albany, NY, for Amicus

Curiae Business Council of New York State, Inc.

MICHAEL F. MCBRIDE, LeBoeuf, Lamb, Greene & MacRae,

LLP (Bruce W. Neely, Martin G. Malsch, John W. Lawrence,

LeBoeuf, Lamb, Greene & MacRae, LLP, Edward H. Comer

and Henri Bartholmot, Edison Electric Institute, Robert W.

Bishop and Ellen C. Ginsberg Nuclear Energy Institute, on

~~

A-3

the brief) Washington, DC, for Amici Curiae Edison Electric

Institute and Nuclear Energy Institute.

JUDGES: Before: WALKER, Chief Judge, JACOBS, Circuit

Judge, LARIMER, Chief District Judge.”

OPINION BY:

JOHN M. WALKER, JR.

OPINION:

[*342] x

JOHN M. WALKER, JR., Chief Judge:

Defendant state officials appeal from a judgment of the

[**3] United States District Court for the Northern District of

New York (Lawrence E. Kahn, District Judge) permanently

enjoining enforcement of a New York state statute against

plaintiff Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.

(“Con Ed”) on the grounds that the statute violated the

Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment and

[*343] the Bill of Attainder Clause of Article I, Section 10 of

the United States Constitution. We affirm solely on the basis

of Art. I, § 10, but remand to the district court to correct a

scrivener’s error in the judgment.

BACKGROUND

Plaintiff Con Ed is a public utility that provides electrical

power to New York City. Among Con Ed’s power plants is

the Indian Point 2 Nuclear Generating Facility (“IP2”)

* The Honorable David G. Larimer of the United States District

Court for the Western District of New York, sitting by designation.

A-4

located in Westchester County, New York. The statute at the

heart of this appeal was enacted in response to a power

outage at IP2 caused by a defective generator.

Until recently, IP2 produced electricity with four “Model

44” steam generators that Con Ed had purchased from the

Westinghouse Corporation (“Westinghouse”) in 1972. In the

late 1970s, Westinghouse learned that the steam generator

tubes on both its Model 44 and 51 steam generators were

subject [**4] to corrosion and failure. By 1997, seven of the

eight nuclear power plants using the Model 44 had replaced

their generators. Although other power plants apparently

continued to use the similarly flawed Model 51 steam

generators, only IP2 continued to use the flawed Model 44

generators. Con Ed purchased replacement generators for

IP2 in 1985, but, prior to the incident at issue in this

litigation, had never installed them.

On February 15, 2000, a steam tube in one of IP2’s Model

44s developed a crack which released radioactive steam into

the surrounding nonradioactive water that is converted to

steam to turn IP2’s power-generating turbines. A

subsequent investigation by.the federal Nuclear Regulatory

Commission (“NRC”) and the New York State Public

Service Commission (“PSC” or “the Commission”) revealed

no evidence of elevated radiation levels offsite due to the

incident. The cracked tube was promptly discovered and

Con Ed took IP2 offline to replace the generator. By January

2001, it had finished replacing the damaged generator with

one purchased in 1985 and restarted IP2. To cover electricity

demand while IP2 was offline, Con Ed was forced to

purchase electricity from other sources. [**5]

Con Ed operates IP2 in a complex regulatory

environment. The public health and safety aspects of its

operations are regulated by the NRC under the Atomic

Energy Act of 1954, 42 U.S.C. § 2011 et seq. (1994). The rates

that Con Ed charges its customers are regulated by the PSC,

an independent state regulatory body created early in the

twentieth century.

pa healt dG

A-5

A 1997 settlement agreement resolved a number of

outstanding disputes between Con Ed and the PSC that

have no bearing on this appeal. The agreement amended

Con Ed’s rate and was adopted in the form of a rate order

by consent. Of relevance to this appeal, the agreement

includes a so-called “fuel adjustment clause” (“FAC”),

which allows Con Ed to pass certain costs along to its

ratepayers in the form of temporary rate increases. Con Ed’s

authority to pass costs through to ratepayers under the FAC

is subject to statutory review by the PSC to determine

whether those costs are prudently or “reasonably” incurred,

in order to ensure just and reasonable rates. N.Y. Pub. Serv.

Law §66(12)(k) (2001); see Long Island Lighting Co. v. Pub.

Serv. Comm’n, 134 A.D.2d 135, 523 N.Y.S.2d 615, 620 (N.Y.

App. Div. 1987). [**6] The PSC is empowered to bar Con Ed

from passing imprudently incurred costs along to

ratepayers and to force the utility to refund imprudently

incurred costs already recouped. N.Y. Pub. Serv. Law §

66(12)(k) (2001). [*344]

Pursuant to the FAC, Con Ed increased its rates to

incerporate the cost of purchasing replacement electricity

and the other costs associated with the outage. Soon after

the incident, the PSC staff began a prudence investigation of

the IP2 outage, and on March 30, 2000, the PSC itself

initiated a prudence review. It is our understanding that this

review is still incomplete as of the issuance of this opinion.

On February 18, 2000, three days after the outage, the

New York State Assembly issued a notice of a joint public

hearing of the Assembly Committees of Energy,

Environmental Conservation, and Corporations,

Authorities, and Commissions, to be held on a variety of

topics related to the outage and Con Ed’s operation of IP2.

The notice listed potential topics including: the

environmental effects of the incident, deterioration of

facilities at IP2, the need for greater regulatory oversight of

nuclear power in New York, and the potential sale of the IP2

A-6

plant. The hearing [**7] was held on March 3, 2000, and it

covered the range of topics listed in the notice. Con Ed’s

Chief Operating Officer, J. Michael Evans, and its Vice

President of Maintenance and Construction, Stephen Quinn,

testified. They later supplemented their testimony in a six-

page letter to several members of the committee.

On March 20, 2000, intervenors-defendants

Representatives Brodsky and Silver introduced the bill that

is the subject of the present lawsuit. See A. 10096, 2000

Assembly (N.Y. 2000). One week later, on March 27, the

Assembly and Senate passed the bill without amendment.

Governor Pataki signed it into law on August 8 as Chapter

190 of the Laws of 2000 (“Chapter 190”). See Act of Aug. 8,

2000, ch. 190, 2000 N.Y. Laws, (hereinafter, 2000 N.Y. Laws

190). Chapter 190 reads, in full, as follows:

§ 1. Declaration of legislative findings. The operator of a

nuclear generating facility has a high duty of care to

protect the health, safety and economic interests of its

customers. Rate regulation of nuclear operators should

discourage the taking of risks with regard to potential

threats to public health and safety.

By continuing to operate steam generators known to

[**8] be defective, and thereby increasing the risk of a

radioactive release and/or an expensive plant outage,

the Consolidated Edison Company failed to exercise

reasonable care on behalf of the health, safety and

economic interests of its customers. Therefore it would

not be in the public interest for the company to recover

from ratepayers any costs resulting from the February

15, 2000 outage at the Indian Point 2 Nuclear Facility.

§ 2. With respect to the February 15, 2000 outage at the

Indian Point 2 Nuclear Facility, the New York state

public service commission shall prohibit the

Consolidated Edison Company from recovering from its

A-7

ratepayers any costs associated with replacing the power

from such facility. Such prohibition shall apply to any

such costs incurred until the conclusion of such outage,

or incurred at any time until all defective steam

generation equipment at the facility has been replaced,

whichever occurs later. Such prohibition shall apply to

automatic adjustment mechanisms as well as base rates

or any other rate recovery mechanism. The commission

shall order the company to refund any such costs which

have been recovered from ratepayers.

§ 3. This act shall (**9] take effect immediately.

The PSC has estimated that Con Ed would have been able to

pass on to its customers approximately $ 250 million in

increased [*345] costs that Chapter 190 requires it to

internalize.

On August 14, 2000, Con Ed filed suit in the District

Court for the Northern District of New York, seeking a

declaratory judgment and permanent injunction barring

enforcement of the statute on various constitutional grounds

and on August 17 moved for a preliminary injunction. Con

Ed alleged that the statute violated the Equal Protection

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment, the Bill of Attainder

Clause of Article I, Section 10, the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment (alleging a violation of procedural

due process and an uncompensated taking), the Supremacy

Clause, and the Contracts Clause of Article I, Section 10. On

September 6, 2000, the district court granted a motion by

Representative Brodsky, a member of the Assembly, and

Representative Silver, the speaker of the Assembly, to

intervene in the suit.

In a memorandum order dated October 10, 2000, the

district court granted Con Ed’s request for a permanent

injunction and denied as moot Con Ed’s motion for a

preliminary [**10] injunction. Con Ed v. Pataki, 117 F. Supp.

A-8

2d 257 (N.D.N.Y. 2000). The district court agreed with Con

Ed that the statute violated the Equal Protection Clause,

finding that Chapter 190 was not rationally related to the

state’s legitimate interest in deterring negligence at nuclear

power plants. Id. at 262-65. The district cqurt also held that

Chapter 190 constituted an impermissible Bill of Attainder

because the statute named Con Ed and was the product of a

legislative intent to punish Con Ed. Id. at 265-71. The court

expressly refused to reach Con Ed’s other constitutional

claims. After judgment was entered on December 4, 2000,

the defendants appealed.

DISCUSSION

Because we conclude that Chapter 190 is an

unconstitutional bill of [**11] attainder, we affirm the district

court. We need not and do not address Con Ed’s other

constitutional theories.?

I. The Bill of Attainder Clause of Article I, Section 10

1 The judgment incorrectly, and incomprehensibly, stated that

“the case is DISMISSED in its ENTIRETY, in favor of the Plaintiff.”

We accordingly remand for correction of this obvious scrivener’s

error. See infra, Part I.

? We thus do not decide whether Chapter 190 violates the

Equal Protection Clause, which supplied one basis for the district

court’s injunction. We are skeptical, however, that the Clause

would require invalidation of Chapter 190: “[M]ere

underinclusiveness is not fatal to the validity of a law under...

equal protection[,] even if the law disadvantages an individual or

identifiable members of a group.” Nixon v. Adm’r of Gen. Servs.,

433 U.S. 425, 471 n.33, 53 L. Ed. 2d 867, 97 S. Ct. 2777 (1977)

(internal citations omitted). To be so invalidated, the classification

must have “no rational basis,” Village of Willowbrook v. Olech,

528 U.S. 562, 564, 145 L. Ed. 2d 1060, 120 S. Ct. 1073 (2000), and we

doubt that the present statute meets that standard.

A-9

The Constitution includes two clauses prohibiting [**12]

enactment of “bills of attainder”: Section 9 applies to

Congress, Section 10 to the states. See U.S. Const. art. I, §§ 9,

10. The history of bills of attainder and of pains and

penalties in England, which gave rise to the constitutional

[*346] prohibitions in § 9 and § 10, has been aptly described

elsewhere, and we see no need to reiterate it here. See In re

Extradition of McMullen, 989 F.2d 603, 604-06 (2d Cir. 1993)

(in banc). Briefly stated, a constitutionallyproscribed bill of

attainder is “a law that legislatively determines guilt and

inflicts punishment upon an identifiable individual without

provision of the protections of a judicial trial.” Nixon v.

Adm’ of Gen. Servs., 433 U.S. 425, 468, 53 L. Ed. 2d 867, 97

S. Ct. 2777 (1977); see also United States v. Lovett, 328 U.S.

303, 315, 90 L. Ed. 1252, 66 S. Ct. 1073, 106 Ct. Cl. 856 (1946)

(“[L]egislative acts, no matter what their form, that apply

either to named individuals or to easily ascertainable

members of a group in such a way as to inflict punishment

on them without a judicial trial are bills of attainder

prohibited by the Constitution.”). Put another way, the

Clause bars the imposition [**13} of punishment resulting

from “trial by legislature.” United States v. Brown, 381 U.S.

437, 442, 14 L. Ed. 2d 484, 85 S. Ct. 1707 (1965).

Under the definition quoted above from Nixon, a statute

can be a bill of attainder only if (1) it “determines guilt and

inflicts punishment,” (2) “upon an identifiable individual,”

and (3) “without provision of the protections of a judicial

3 In English practice, bills of attainder imposed the death

penalty. Other, less severe punishments were imposed by “bills of

pains and penalties.” The Supreme Court has held that the

constitutional prohibition reaches both. See United States v.

Brown, 381 U.S. 437, 447, 14 L. Ed. 2d 484, 85 S. Ct. 1707 (1965);

Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. (6 Cranch) 87, 138, 3 L. Ed. 162 (1810)

(Marshall, C.J.) (“A bill of attainder may affect the life of an

individual, or may confiscate his property, or may do both.”).

A-10

trial.” Nixon, 433 U.S. at 468. In the present case, the lack of

[**14] a judicial trial is incontrovertible. Chapter 190 was

enacted by the state legislature using purely legislative

processes, without any additional protections akin to those

present in a judicial trial. At issue, then, are only the

questions of whether (1) Con Ed, singled out as it was by

Chapter 190, is an “individual” that may invoke the

protection of the Clause, (2) Chapter 190 “determines guilt,

and (3) Chapter 190 “inflicts punishment.” We answer all

three questions in the affirmative.4

””

4 Our analysis is unaffected by separation of powers

principles, on which the district court relied heavily, 117 F. Supp.

2d at 268, citing Brown, 381 U.S. at 441, 443-45. Brown was

decided under the Clause applicable to Congress in Article I, § 9,

not that in § 10, which applies to the states. Brown’s statements

about separation of powers doctrine are inapplicable to the § 10

Bill of Attainder Clause for the simple reason that the federal

Constitution does not impose any particular separation of powers

requirement on state governments: “How power shall be

distributed by a state among its governmental organs is

commonly, if not always, a question for the state itself.” Highland

Farms Dairy, Inc. v. Agnew, 300 U.S. 608, 612, 81 L. Ed. 835, 57 S.

Ct. 549 (1937); see also Mayor of Phila. v. Educ. Equal. League, 415

U.S. 605, 615 n.13, 39 L. Ed. 2d 630, 94 S. Ct. 1323 (1974) (“The

Constitution does not impose on the States any particular plan for

the distribution of governmental powers.”) (citing Sweezy v. New

Hampshire, 354 U.S. 234, 256, 1 L. Ed. 2d 1311, 77 S. Ct. 1203 (1957)

(Frankfurter, J., concurring)); Dreyer v. Illinois, 187 U.S. 71, 84, 47

L. Ed. 79, 23 S. Ct. 28 (1902) (“Whether the legislative, executive

and judicial powers of a state shall be kept altogether distinct and

separate . . . is for the determination of the state.”). Indeed, where

§ 10 is involved, our concern for the independent operation of

each of the branches of government must be tempered by our

concern about preserving to the states the choice of government

structures. See 1 Laurence H. Tribe, American Constitutional Law

§ 2-4, at 132-33 (3d ed. 2000).

—=-- ss thn

Se ef .

[**15]

A. The Clause’s Applicability to Corporations

Chapter 190 unquestionably singles out Con Ed: the

utility is expressly named in the statute. The legislator

defendants argue, however, that the Bill of Attainder Clause

applies only to legislation that targets natural persons, not

corporations such as Con Ed. We disagree.

Although a corporation is “an artificial being, invisible,

intangible, and existing only in contemplation of law,”

Dartmouth Coll. v. Woodward, 17 U.S. (4 Wheat.) 518, 636, 4

L. Ed. 629 (1819), a [*347] wide variety of constitutional

rights may be asserted by corporations. See, e.g., Metro. Life

Ins. Co. v. Ward, 470 U.S. 869, 881 n.9, 84 L. Ed. 2d 751, 105

S. Ct. 1676 (1985) (equal protection); Marshall v. Barlow’s,

Inc., 436 U.S. 307, 56 L. Ed. 2d 305, 98 S. Ct. 1816 (1978)

(reasonable search and seizure); United States v. Martin

Linen Supply Co., 430 U.S. 564, 51 L. Ed. 2d 642, 97 S. Ct.

1349 (1977) (double jeopardy); Va. State Bd. of Pharmacy v.

Va. Citizens Consumer Council, Inc., 425 U.S. 748, 48 L. Ed.

2d 346, 96 S. Ct. 1817 (1976) (freedom of speech).

Nevertheless, [**16] not all constitutional protections apply

to corporations or apply as fully as they do to natural

persons. See, e.g., United States v. Morton Salt Co., 338 U.S.

632, 651-52, 94 L. Ed. 401, 70 S. Ct. 357, 46 F.T.C. 1436 (1950)

(privacy); Wilson v. United States, 221 U.S. 361, 382-86, 55 L.

Ed. 771, 31 S. Ct. 538 (1911) (Fifth Amendment privilege

against self-incrimination). The distinction between rights

that may be asserted by corporations and those that may not

is that “[c]ertain ‘purely personal’ guarantees . . . are

unavailable to corporations and other organizations because

the ‘historic function’ of the particular guarantee has been

limited to the protection of individuals.” First Nat'l Bank of

Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 778-79 n.14, 55 L. Ed. 2d 707,

A-12

98 S. Ct. 1407 (1978). Whether a right is purely personal

“depends on [its] nature, history, and purpose.” Id.

The applicability of the Bill of Attainder Clause to

corporations remains unsettled in every circuit. Without

‘ directly ruling on the question, the Supreme Court has

stated, without discussion, that the Clause provides

“protections for individual persons and private groups

[**17], those who are peculiarly vulnerable to nonjudicial

determinations of guilt,” South Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383

US. 301, 324, 15 L. Ed. 2d 769, 86 S. Ct. 803 (1966) (emphasis

added). A corporation shares some of the characteristics of a

“private group,” but we need not decide whether

corporations are included within the category of private

groups because the reference to private groups plainly

contemplates protection for some entities in addition to

individual natural persons. The Court has also indicated in

dictum that a bill of attainder may target a “single

individual or firm.” Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 U.S.

211, 239 n.9, 131 L. Ed. 2d 328, 115 S. Ct. 1447 (1995)

(emphasis added). No Court of Appeals has held as much,

though several have expressly assumed without deciding

that the Clause is applicable to corporations, finding the

Clause inapplicable in the particular cases for other reasons.

See Club Misty, Inc. v. Laski, 208 F.3d 615, 617 (7th Cir.

2000); Navegar, Inc. v. United States, 338 U.S. App. D.C. 213,

192 F.3d 1050, 1065 (D.C. Cir. 1999); SBC Communications

Inc. v. FCC, 154 F.3d 226, 234 & n.11 (5th Cir. 1998). [**18]

For several reasons, we think the protection afforded by the

Bill of Attainder Clauses is not a “purely personal’

guarantee[]” and therefore is one of the constitutional rights

enjoyed by corporations.

First, the “historical function” of the Clause has been to

ensure the procedural protections of the judicial process for

the attribution of guilt and imposition of punishment. See

Nixon, 433 U.S. at 468-69; Brown, 381 U.S. at 442, 445;

Lovett, 328 U.S. at 316-17; Cummings v. Missouri, 71 U.S. (4

Pe Set) ie eee Sw ae a ee ”

NL aad pn VE Raine Caelb le AB Pa A Met Mohs Rd

A-13

Wall.) 277, 323, 18 L. Ed. 356 (1866). That guarantee is

closely related to the right to procedural due process. See

Coniston Corp. v. Village of Hoffman Estates, 844 F.2d 461,

468-69 (7th Cir. 1988) (discussing the relationship between

procedural due process rights and the prohibition on bills of

attainder); see also Screws v. United States, 325 U.S. 91, 106,

89 L. Ed. 1495, 65 S. Ct. 1031 (1945) (stating that “it is plain

that basic to the concept of [*348] due process of law in a

criminal case is a trial —a trial in a court of law”.) The right

to procedural due process has been applied to corporations.

[**19] See, e.g., Helicopteros Nacionales de Colom., S.A. v.

Hall, 466 U.S. 408, 413-19, 80 L. Ed. 2d 404, 104 S. Ct. 1868

(1984).5

Second, the cases in which the Court has refused to

apply constitutional rights to corporations have uniformly

involved competing state interests in regulating corporate

conduct and investigating corporate wrongdoing, which

depend on a high degree of transparency. Wilson v. United

States, in which the Court held the Fifth Amendment

privilege against self-incrimination inapplicable to

corporations, rested its holding primarily on the “visitatorial

power” that remains vested in the state after it grants a

corporation its charter. See 221 U.S. at 382-84. Likewise, in

United States v. Morton [**20] Salt Co., the Court justified its

decision that corporations enjoy narrower rights to privacy

by the state’s interest in investigating corporate

wrongdoing: “law-enforcing agencies have a legitimate

right to satisfy themselves that corporate behavior is

consistent with the law and the public interest.” 338 U.S. at

652. Unlike visitatorial powers which do not directly affect

the bottom line, punishment necessarily affects shareholder

5 Although less closely analogous, the Sixth Amendment right

to trial by jury in criminal cases has also been applied to

corporations in this Circuit. See United States v. Twentieth

Century Fox Film Corp., 882 F.2d 656, 663 (2d Cir. 1989).

A-14

assets. Although New York unquestionably has an interest

in investigating, regulating, and prosecuting the

malfeasance of corporations within its borders, it has no

interest in inflicting punishment for such malfeasance on the

corporation’s shareholders through the legislative process.

Indeed, in the instant circumstances, a “law-enforcing

agency,” the PSC, has an existing administrative procedure

to vindicate the interest in exploring utilities’ wrongdoing:

the prudence review process. That process addresses the

state’s interest in investigating and punishing utilities’

misfeasance, and to the extent it does not do so adequately,

the legislature may enact generally applicable legislation

modifying that process.

Because punishment can frequently [**21] take the form

of economic injury, a comparison with the Takings Clause of

the Fifth Amendment is apt. The protection against targeted

economic injury in the Takings Clause is fully applicable to

corporations. See, e.g., United States v. 91.90 Acres of Land,

586 F.2d 79, 85-86 (8th Cir. 1978). For both the Takings

Clause and the Bill of Attainder Clauses, if the protections

did not extend to corporations, their protections would be

significantly undermined for individuals. When a

corporation suffers an economic injury, its shareholders

suffer the same economic injury. In order to protect

shareholders from the economic injuries prohibited by the

Takings Clause and the Bill of Attainder Clauses,

corporations must be allowed to raise the clauses directly.

We have been unable to unearth any case in which a

corporation has ultimately prevailed in challenging

legislation as a bill of attainder — cases finding a bill of

attainder targeting any party are extraordinarily rare.

Nevertheless, bills of attainder historically have targeted

corporations as well as natural persons. Con Ed cites several

English statutes that imposed disabilities on English

boroughs, hardly natural [**22] persons. See, e.g., 1 & 2 Geo.

4, c.47 (Eng. 1821). Moreover, one of the types of

A-15

punishment most frequently imposed by bills of pains and

penalties, punitive confiscation of private property, see

Selective [*349] Serv. Sys. v. Minn. Pub. Interest Research

Group, 468 U.S. 841, 852, 82 L. Ed. 2d 632, 104 S. Ct. 3348

(1984), is one that may injure a corporation in the same way

it injures an individual. Cf. Browning-Ferris Indus. of Vt.,

Inc. v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. 257, 284-85, 106 L. Ed.

2d 219, 109 S. Ct. 2909 (1989) (O’Connor, J., concurring in

part and dissenting in part) (arguing that Eighth

Amendment Excessive Fines Clause applies to corporations,

in part because a corporation, as an entity, may be subject to

such penalties). :

We therefore hold that corporations must be considered

“individuals,” Nixon, 433 U.S. at 468, that may not be

singled out for punishment under the Bill of Attainder

Clause in Article I, Section 10.

B. Retrospective Focus: Guilt

Another indispe sable element of a bill of attainder is its

retrospective focus: it defines past conduct as wrongdoing

and then imposes punishment [**23] on that past conduct.

See Nixon, 433 U.S. at 472-73; Cummings, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) at

325. Such a bill attributes guilt to the party or parties singled

out in the legislation. See Nixon, 433 U.S. at 468; De Veau v.

Braisted, 363 U.S. 144, 160, 4 L. Ed. 2d 1109, 80 S. Ct. 1146

(1960) (“The distinguishing feature of a bill of attainder is

the substitution of a legislative for a judicial determination

of guilt.”); Cummings, 71 U.S. (4 Wall.) at 323 (in enacting a

bill of attainder “the legislative body . .. assumes... . judicial

magistracy; it pronounces upon the guilt of the party,

without any of the forms or safeguards of trial”).

Although on its face Chapter 190 does not speak in

terms of guilt or innocence, we have no doubt that the

legislature considered Con Ed guilty of wrongdoing in

allowing the IP2 outage to occur. The primary evidence of

A-16

this is the statute’s focus on Con Ed’s conduct related to a

single, past incident, the IP2 outage, as the basis for the

sanction it imposes. Chapter 190 makes explicit findings

about the outage and concludes that “the Consolidated

Edison Company failed to exercise [**24] reasonable care on

behalf of the health, safety and economic interests of its

customers.” 2000 N.Y. Laws 190 § 1. The legislature’s

response is also limited to the IP2 incident, prohibiting Con

Ed from “recovering from its ratepayers any costs associated

with replacing the power from such facility.” 2000 N.Y.

Laws 190 § 2. The statute thus imposes liability “determined

by no previous law or fixed rule.” Lovett, 328 U.S. at 317 _

(internal quotation marks omitted). Although an established

procedure existed for determining whether Con Ed had

been “imprudent” in incurring the costs associated with the

outage, the legislature bypassed it and, in a single stroke,

found guilt on the facts of Con Ed’s case. The legislature, as

the source of the PSC’s authority, retains the power to

reclaim authority over rate-setting from the PSC. However,

the decision to bypass the PSC reinforces our conclusion

that the legislature’s decision was to find guilt and order

punishment directly.

The retrospective focus of Chapter 190 is essential to our

determination that the statute is a bill of attainder. The

power of legislatures to enact purely prospective changes to

utility rates, even [**25] to the rates of a single utility, is

considerably broader than their authority to act

retrospectively.

ll Punishment

To invalidate legislation as a bill of attainder, the Bill of

Attainder Clause “requires not merely ‘singling out’ but also

punishment.” Plaut, 514 U.S. at 239 n.9; accord Nixon, 433

USS. at 471-72 & n. 33 [*350] (holding that “the Act’s

specificity — the fact that it refers to appellant by name —

A-17

does not automatically offend the Bill of Attainder Clause”).

A legislature may legitimately create a “class of one ” for

many purposes, see, e.g., Nixon, 433 U.S. at 472-73, but not

for punishment. We therefore must ascertain whether

Chapter 190 punishes Con Ed.

Punishment of wrongdoing is, of course, a legitimate

state interest reflected in the penal laws of the fifty states.

Where a statute establishing a punishment declares and

imposes that punishment on an identifiable party, however,

the Bill of Attainder Clauses undermine the usual solicitude

we have for such purposes. In such cases, we look beyond

simply a rational relationship of the statute to a legitimate

public purpose for “less burdensome alternatives [**26] by

which [the] legislature . . . could have achieved its legitimate

nonpunitive objectives.” Nixon, 433 U.S. at 482.

Legislated punishment is not always easy to identify

outside the traditional punishments of death or

incarceration. Neither “the fact that harm is inflicted by

governmental authority,” Lovett, 328 U.S. at 324

(Frankfurter, J., concurring), nor “the severity of [the]

sanction is . . . determinative of its character as

‘punishment,’” Flemming v. Nestor, 363 U.S. 603, 616 n.9, 4

L. Ed. 2d 1435, 80 S. Ct. 1367 (1960). Indeed, as traditionally

conceived, punishment implicates a variety of values that, in

other contexts, bear no necessary relation to punishment.

For example, a judicial order of compensation in a

negligence action imposes “harm” on the defendant — he

must pay the damage award — but that harm is merely

compensatory for the plaintiff's injury, not punitive.

Compensation may be part of a punishment, on the other

hand, as where a criminal defendant is ordered to make

restitution to his victim. Similarly, deterrence may be a

legitimate, nonpunitive goal, such as deterrence of

unreasonable conduct produced [**27] by a damages award

for negligence — but it is also a core component of

punishment. See, e.g., Brown, 381 U.S. at 458: Retribution

A-18

may be one value that is limited to the arena of punishment,

but it is not a necessary part of “punishment.” See Selective

Serv. Sys., 468 U.S. at 851-52; Brown, 381 U.S. at 458 ( “It

would be archaic to limit the definition of ‘punishment’ to

‘retribution.””).

The Supreme Court articulated three factors to guide a

court’s determination of whether a statute directed at a

named or readily identifiable party is punitive: “(1) whether

the challenged statute falls within the historical meaning of

legislative punishment; (2) whether the statute, ‘viewed in

terms of the type and severity of burdens imposed,

reasonably can be said to further nonpunitive legislative

purposes’; and (3) whether the legislative record ‘evinces a

[legislative] intent to punish.’” Selective Serv. Sys., 468 U.S.

at 852 (quoting Nixon, 433 U.S. at 473, 475-76, 478). Nixon

makes it clear that a statute need not fit all three factors to be

considered a bill of attainder; rather, those factors [**28] are

the evidence that is weighed together in resolving a bill of

attainder claim. Nixon, 433 U.S. at 473-78. The party

challenging the statute has the burden of “establish[ing]

that the legislature’s action constituted punishment and not

merely the legitimate regulation of conduct.” Id. at 476 n.40.

Unfortunately, because the Supreme Court's bill of attainder

jurisprudence is limited, it provides us with little guidance

for determining whether a statute is impermissibly punitive.

[*351]

1. Traditional Punishments

We look first to the “infamous history of bills of

attainder” to determine whether Chapter 190 imposes the

sorts of “deprivations and disabilities so disproportionately

severe and so inappropriate to nonpunitive ends that they

unquestionably have been held to fall within the

proscription of [the Clause].” Id. at 473. Some types of

legislatively imposed harm, in other words, are considered

A-19

to be punitive per se. The classic example is death, but

others include “imprisonment, banishment, . . . the punitive

confiscation of property[, and prohibition of] designated

individuals or groups from participation in specified [**29]

employments or vocations.” Id. at 473-74; accord Selective

Serv. Sys., 468 U.S. at 852.

The only traditional punishment implicated here is

punitive confiscation of property. On the one hand, Chapter

190 clearly deprived Con Ed of a property interest by

prohibiting the ordinarily permitted pass-through of costs.

All told, Chapter 190 deprives Con Ed of approximately

$250 million that it would otherwise have been able to

obtain from its customers. On the other, we are not certain

thata “deprivation” is the same thing as a “confiscation,”

and indeed, the Supreme Court has held that an adverse

utility-rate decision is not “confiscatory” for the purposes of

the Takings Clause unless it produces an overall unfair rate

of return for the utility. See Duquesne Light Co. v. Barasch,

488 U.S. 299, 307, 310, 313-14, 102 L. Ed. 2d 646, 109 S. Ct.

609 (1989).

A statute need not fit within the historical category of

punishment to be considered such. Such a rule would

render the Clauses unable to respond to attempts by

contemporary legislatures to punish individuals in new and

heretofore unforeseen ways. See Nixon, 433 U.S. at 475.

[**30] We need not resolve this close question to conclude

that Chapter 190 is nonetheless a bill of attainder.

Accordingly, we do not decide whether Chapter 190

imposes a traditional attainder and turn instead to the next

component of the test.

2. The “Functional” Test: Nonpunitive Statutory Goals

The second component of the Supreme Court’s test is

“functional,” looking to

A-20

whether the law under challenge, viewed in terms of the

type and severity of burdens imposed, reasonably can

be said to further nonpunitive legislative purposes. . . .

Where such legitimate legislative purposes do not

appear, it is reasonable to conclude that punishment of

individuals disadvantaged by the enactment was the

purpose of the decisionmakers.

Id.; see also Flemming, 363 U.S. at 615 (describing

“inability to discern any alternative [nonpunitive] purpose

which the statute could be thought to serve” as a basis for

finding a statute to be punitive) (citing Trop v. Dulles, 356

U.S. 86, 97, 2 L. Ed. 2d 630, 78 S. Ct. 590 (1958) (plurality

opinion)); Brown, 381 U.S. at 476 (White, J., dissenting)

(“The imposition of a particularly harsh [**31] deprivation

without any discernible legitimate legislative purpose has ...

been characterized as penal.”). In doing so, we “inquire into

the existence of less burdensome alternatives by which [the]

legislature . . . could have achieved its legitimate

nonpunitive objectives.” Nixon, 433 U.S. at 482. Try as we

may, we can discern no wholly non-punitive purpose to

justify the entire cost-pass-through prohibition in Chapter

190.

To be sure, part of the statute’s cost-pass-through

prohibition has an arguably [*352] non-punitive purpose. By

preventing Con Ed from passing through the costs

associated with the IP2 outage that it would not have

incurred ordinarily, the legislature prevented Con Ed’s

ratepayers from being forced to bear costs that the

legislature viewed as negligently incurred. Con Ed would be

forced to compensate its ratepayers for costs passed through

prior to Chapter 190’s enactment and could not force

ratepayers to bear any further pass-throughs due to the IP2

outage. This is not necessarily a punitive purpose. The

legislature could legitimately conclude that, as between Con

Ed, the party that caused the outage, and the ratepayers,

parties having nothing whatsoever [**32] to do with the

A-21

outage, Con Ed should bear the costs attributable to its

negligence. The legislature could decide that it would be

unfair to force ratepayers to absorb the costs of Con Ed’s

error. If such a conclusion were reached by a court ina

negligence action, for instance, no one would reasonably

conclude that the court had “punished” Con Ed.° This is a

distributional fairness rationale that has nothing inherently

to do with punishment.

Nevertheless, eliminating harm to innocent third parties

is a purpose consistent with punishment. See Brown, 381

USS. at 458 (noting that “[a] number of English bills of

attainder were enacted for preventive purposes”). However,

because there is a clear non-punitive component to cost-

allocation, we think that, if that were all that Chapter 190

did, [**33] it would be insufficient to justify a conclusion

that the statute punishes Con Ed.

Chapter 190 also functions to deter similar conduct by

Con Ed and other public utilities in the future. By forcing

Con Ed to absorb the costs of the outage, the statute

encourages Con Ed and other utilities to be more diligent

thereafter in avoiding similar outages. In this respect,

Chapter 190 serves an economic-regulatory function. As a

regulated monopoly, Con Ed does not face the same

incentives to minimize costs as does an actor ina

competitive market. Indeed, that fact is the basic justification

of regulation of such monopolies: the state may act to

encourage the monopoly to minimize costs as if it were

faced with competition. See Paul A. Samuelson & William

D. Nordhaus, Economics 520-21 (12th ed. 1985). Chapter 190

can be viewed, in part, as accomplishing that regulatory

function, enhancing economic efficiency rather than

6 Indeed, in tort, a punitive damages award would be

inappropriate for a finding of mere negligence. See W. Page

Keeton et al., Prosser and Keeton on the Law of Torts § 2, at 9-10

(5th ed. 1984).

A-22

punishing Con Ed for wrongdoing. State regulation of

utilities to promote economic efficiency is a longstanding

and unquestionably legitimate goal of state legislation. See

New Orleans Pub. Serv., Inc. v. Council of New Orleans, 491

U.S. 350, 365, 105 L. Ed. 2d 298, 109 S. Ct. 2506 (1989) [**34]

(“[T]he regulation of utilities is one of the most important of

the functions traditionally associated with the police power

of the States.’”) (quoting Ark. Elec. Coop. Corp. v. Ark. Pub.

Serv. Comm'n, 461 U.S. 375, 377, 76 L. Ed. 2d 1, 103 S. Ct.

1905 (1983)) (alteration in original).

Chapter 190 might also deter negligent conduct with an

eye toward protecting public health; the legislative findings

in Chapter 190 focus to a considerable extent on the

“potential threats to public health and safety” from nuclear

power plant accidents. 2000 N.Y. Laws 190 § 1. All other

things being equal, this would be an ample justification for

the deterrent function of Chapter 190. However, the field of

public health and safety regulation [*353] of nuclear power

generation has been occupied by Congress through the

Atomic Energy Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2011 et seq., and therefore

any regulation in that area by the states is preempted. See

Pac. Gas & Elec. Co. v. State Energy Res. Conservation &

Dev. Comm’‘n, 461 U.S. 190, 206-07, 212, 75 L. Ed. 2d 752, 103

S. Ct. 1713 (1983); Suffolk County v. Long Island Lighting

Co., 728 F.2d 52, 59-60 (2d Cir. 1984). [**35] Consequently,

we cannot consider public health and safety as a valid, non-

punitive justification for Chapter 190.

General and specific deterrence are also traditional

justifications for punishment, however. See Selective Serv.

Sys., 468 U.S. at 851-52 ( “Punishment is not limited solely to

retribution for past events, but may involve deprivations

inflicted to deter future misconduct.”); 1 Wayne R. LaFave &

Austin W. Scott, Jr., Substantive Criminal Law, § 1.5(a)(1),

(4) (1986). If the entirety of the cost-pass-through prohibition

served the economic-regulatory function described above,

we might be willing to conclude that Chapter 190’s

A-23

deterrent function was non-punitive. Our view of the “type

and severity of burdens imposed,” Nixon, 433 U.S. at 475, by

Chapter 190, however, leads us to a different conclusion.

Our reading of the record and statements made by

counsel at oral argument indicate that some indefinite but

quite substantial proportion of the costs that Con Ed has

sought to pass through to its ratepayers that are denied by

Chapter 190 could have been passed through unchallenged

if Con Ed had installed the new generators in the ordinary

[**36] course of business at any time after they received

them in 1985. To install new generators, Con Ed must take

IP2 offline for an extended period of time. During this

period, Con Ed must purchase power on the open market to

cover the lost generating capacity at IP2. Further, Con Ed

would have to pay the cost of labor and parts necessary to

remove the old generators and install the new ones. These

costs would be incurred whenever the generators are

replaced, whether during scheduled maintenance prior to

the generators’ failure or, as here, after that failure had

occurred. Such costs are ordinary to the business and thus

may be orcinarily passed through.

Of course, there would be some differences in the costs

incurred during a scheduled outage and those incurred

during an accidental outage. The failure might cause

damage to other facility components, which would need

tobe repaired or replaced. There may be some differences in

the cost of labor between a scheduled and unscheduled

replacement: for instance, Con Ed might be required to pay

more overtime to workers in the event of an unplanned

outage. The cost of power would also likely differ between

the time at which a scheduled outage [**37] could have

occurred and the time at which the accidental outage

occurred. Indeed, if Con Ed had replaced the generators

during a planned outage, it presumably would have

intentionally timed the outage to coincide with a period of

reduced energy prices. The bulk of the labor and power-

A-24

replacement costs under either scenario, however, appear to

be the same.”

It is undisputed that Con Ed would have been allowed

to pass through to ratepayers the costs of covering power

demand while replacing the generators during a scheduled

outage. What, then, we must ask, other than punishment

can justify forcing Con Ed to absorb those same costs after

the accidental outage? Neither of the legitimate [*354]

purposes set out above — prevention of harm to ratepayers

and deterrence of inefficient, monopolistic conduct — can

justify preventing Con Ed from passing these costs along

[**38] to ratepayers. It does not protect ratepayers from, or

compensate them for, new unjustified costs, because those

costs would have been incurred even if Con Ed had acted as

a prudent, model corporate citizen. Nor does it deter Con

Ed or other utilities from incurring excess costs in the future:

if Con Ed were faced with precisely the same situation in the

future, it might be discouraged from delaying the

installation of replacement generators, but in acting more

quickly it would incur substantially the same costs that it

now is being precluded from passing through to its

ratepayers. There is no connection between these costs and

the sort of lax monopolistic conduct that utility regulation

would ordinarily seek to deter.

Moreover, there are plainly “less burdensome

alternatives by which [the] legislature ... could have

achieved its legitimate nonpunitive objectives.” Nixon, 433

U.S. at 482. The legislature easily could have tailored

Chapter 190 to exclude from the pass-through prohibition

those substantial costs that would have been incurred

absent misconduct on Con Ed’s part. For instance, it could

have limited the pass-through prohibition to the incremental

7 Although the district court found this to be the case, it did

not make findings about the exact amount of these costs. 117 F.

Supp. 2d at 270.

A-25

cost [**39] of energy beyond that prevailing when the

replacement generators were purchased and any costs

associated with the unplanned nature of the accidental

outage such as overtime pay and damage to other facility

components. Although we do not mean to hold that these

costs need to have been identified with surgical precision,

the legislature in this case made no attempt whatsoever to

ensure that the costs imposed on Con Ed were proportional

to the problems that the legislature could legitimately seek

to ameliorate. Rather, by lumping all costs of the outage

together and forcing Con Ed to absorb them, the legislature

piled on a burden that was obviously disproportionate to

the harm caused.

Whether a government action is punishment varies

depending on context. There may well be actions that would

be considered punitive if taken against an individual, but

not if taken against a corporation. Similarly, the government

may have more flexibility to take actions that affect public

utilities than it does when dealing with corporations in

competitive markets. We need not explore this issue further

to resolve this case, however, because Chapter 190

demonstrates a punitive intent even though it applies [**40]

to a public utility corporation.

3. Indicia of Punitive Legislative Intent

Finally, we look to see whether the legislative history

evinces a legislative intent to punish. See Selective Serv.

Sys., 468 U.S. at 852 (citing Nixon, 433 U.S. at 478); Brown,

381 U.S. at 476 (White, J., dissenting). The legislative record

by itself is insufficient evidence for classifying a statute as a

bill of attainder unless the record reflects overwhelmingly a

clear legislative intent to punish. See Flemming, 363 U.S. at

617 (“[O]nly the clearést proof could suffice to establish the

unconstitutionality of a statute on [the] ground [of

legislative history.]”); see also, e.g., Lovett, 328 U.S. at 308-12

A-26

(recounting extensive evidence of punitive intent in the

legislative record). Statements by a smattering of legislators

“do not constitute [the required] unmistakable evidence of

punitive intent.” Selective Serv. Sys., 468 U.S. at 856 n.15

(internal quotations omitted). Although the evidence of

[*355] punitive intent in the legislative record in this case is

insufficient on its own to [**41] justify a conclusion that

Chapter 190 is punitive, the legislative history does contain

some explicit evidence of punitive intent. That legislative

history bolsters our prior conclusion that a significant

portion of Chapter 190’s cost-pass-through prohibition is

plainly punitive.

Our reading of the legislative history indicates that

certain legislators unquestionably intended to punish Con

Ed: there are clear references by two senators to punishment

and penalties. A sponsor of the legislation, Senator Velella,

stated: “Con Edison has done a terrible thing here. . . . And

Velella’s law is going to stop them and punish them.” A.

10096, N.Y. Senate Debate Transcript, at 3906-07 (2000)

(statement of Sen. Velella); see also A. 10096, N.Y. Senate

Debate Transcript, at 3912 (2000) (statement of Sen.

Oppenheimer) (arguing that Con Ed “should certainly be

penalized”).

The statements of a few legislators are plainly not

overwhelming evidence of penal intent, and if that were the

only evidence that the statute is punitive, we would have no

trouble holding that the statute is not a bill of attainder. But

the stated intent of at least some legislators — most notably

one of the floor managers [**42] of the legislation — to

punish Con Ed reinforces our independent conclusion that a

substantial part of the legislation cannot be justified by any

legislative purpose but punishment.

D. Severability

A-27

Chapter 190 is not susceptible to severance of

constitutional provisions from unconstitutional provisions

because it contains only a single unitary provision. We are

disinclined to rewrite the legislation to fashion a rule that

the legislature never intended by attempting to identify and

sever those costs Con Ed may constitutionally be prevented

from passing through from the rest. In addition, because the

punitive intent of some portions of Chapter 190 is clear, we

conclude that all of Chapter 190 is a bill of attainder, absent

clear evidence that some severable section was passed

without punitive intent. Because no such evidence exists

and the statute is a unitary provision that resists severability

analysis, we invalidate Chapter 190 in its entirety.

In finding Chapter 190 to be a bill of attainder, we are

mindful of the infrequency with which this constitutional

provision has been used to strike down legislation. That

rarity is attributable to the extraordinary scarcity [**43] of

legislation of the type presented in Chapter 190. When faced

with a bill that is so exceptionally narrow in scope,

manifestly retrospective in focus, and unavoidably punitive

in operation, we cannot allow it to stand, notwithstanding

the heavy presumption of legitimacy that is ordinarily

accorded legislative decisions. In such circumstances we are

reminded of Alexander Hamilton’s reflection on the

function of judicial review in Federalist 78:

[A] limited constitution [is] one which contains certain

specified exceptions to the legislative authority; such, for

instance, as that it shall pass no bills of attainder, no ex

post facto laws, and the like. Limitations of this kind can

be preserved in practice no other way than through the

medium of the courts of justice, whose duty it must be to

declare all acts contrary to the manifest tenor of the

Constitution void. Without this, all the reservations of

particular rights or privileges would amount to nothing.

The Federalist No. 78, at 466 (Hamilton) (Clinton Rossiter,

ed., 1961) (italics removed).

A-28

II. Scrivener’s Error in the Judgment

Although we affirm, we must remand to the district

court with direction [**44] to correct [*356] the obvious

scrivener’s error on its judgment form, indicating that “the

case is DISMISSED in its ENTIRETY, in favor of the Plaintiff

and against the Defendants; and it is FURTHER ORDERED,

that the plaintiff’s motion for a permanent injunction is

GRANTED.” Cf. United States v. Latorre-Benavides, 241

F.3d 262, 264 (2d Cir.) (per curiam) (affirming but

remanding to correct typographical error in judgment), cert.

denied, 532 U.S. 1045 (2001).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the district

court is hereby affirmed. The case is remanded to the district

court to conform the judgment to the substance of the

district court’s disposition. The district court shall strike the

words “the case is DISMISSED in its ENTIRETY, in favor of

the Plaintiff...” and replace them with “JUDGMENT is

GRANTED, in favor of the Plaintiff .. .” Costs are awarded

to the Plaintiff-Appellee.

APPENDIX B

B-1

CONSOLIDATED EDISON COMPANY OF NEW YORK,

INC., Plaintiff, vs. GEORGE E. PATAKL, in his official

capacity as Governor of the State of New York; MAUREEN

O. HELMER, in her official capacity as Chairman of the

New York Public Service Commission; and THOMAS J.

DUNLEAVY, JAMES D. BENNETT, LEONARD WEISS and

NEAL N. GALVIN in their official capacities as

commissioners of the New York Public Service Commission,

Defendants. SHELDON SILVER, Speaker of the New York

State Assembly, and RICHARD L. BRODSKY, Member of

the New York State Assembly, Intervenor-Defendants.

00-CV-1230 (LEK)(RWS)

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

117 F. Supp. 2d 257; 2000 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 14985

October 10, 2000, Decided

October 10, 2000, Filed

DISPOSITION: [**1] Plaintiff’s motion for permanent

injunction GRANTED; Plaintiff’s motion for preliminary

injunction DENIED as moot.

COUNSEL: For CONSOLIDATED EDISON COMPANY OF

NEW YORK, INC., plaintiff: Charles E. McTiernan, Jr., phv,

Richard J. Giglio, Stephen Brewi, Scott Levinson,

Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc., New

York, NY.

For GEORGE E. PATAKI, defendant: Edward M. Scher,

AAG, Office of Attorney General, State of New York, Jeffrey

B-2

P. Mans, State of New York, Office of the Attorney General,

Litigation Bureau, Albany, NY.

For MAUREEN O. HELMER, THOMAS J. DUNLEAVY,

JAMES D. BENNETT, LEONARD A. WEISS, NEAL N.

GALVIN, defendants: Kevin M. Lang, New York State

Public Service Commission, Department of Public Service,

Albany, NY.

For RICHARD L. BRODSKY, SHELDON SILVER,

intervenors-defendants: William F. Collins, New York State

Assembly, Office of Counsel to the Majority, Albany, NY.

JUDGES: Hon. Lawrence E. Kahn, United States District

Judge.

OPINION BY: Lawrence E. Kahn

OPINION: [*260]

MEMORANDUM - DECISION AND ORDER

Presently before the Court is Plaintiff's motion for a

preliminary and permanent [*261] injunction enjoining

enforcement of Chapter 190 of the Laws of 2000.1 For the

1 In relevant part, the law states:

By continuing to operate steam generators known to be

defective, and thereby increasing the risk of a radioactive

release and/or an expensive plant outage, the Consolidated

Edison Company failed to exercise reasonable care ...

Therefore it would not be in the public interest for the

company to recover from ratepayers any costs resulting from

the February 15, 2000 outage at the Indian Point 2 Nuclear

Facility.... [T]he New York State public service commission

B-3

reasons set forth below, Plaintiff's motion for a permanent

injunction is GRANTED and its motion for a preliminary

injunction is DENIED as moot.

"21

I. Background

A. Indian Point Nuclear Power Plant

In 1972, Plaintiff purchased Model 44 steam generators

from Westinghouse and installed them in its Indian Point 2

Nuclear Plant. In the mid to late 1970’s, Westinghouse

discovered that the metal alloy used to make the steam

generator tubes in Model 44 and Model 51 steam generators

was susceptible to corrosion. Approximately 30 nuclear

plants in the United States were using these two types of

generators at the time of this discovery. By January 1, 1997,

13 plants had replaced the defective generators, 16 had not,

and one plant had ceased operation. Plaintiff did not replace

its generators because of its mistaken belief that they could

safely remain in operation for many more years.

On February 15, 2000, one of the tubes located in the

Model 44 generators in the Indian Point Plant suffered a 2-

inch tear that allowed radioactive fluid to leak through a

tube wall and mix with water and steam in one of the steam

generators. The Indian Point Plant was shut down pending

review of the incident by the Nuclear Regulatory

Commission. In the interim, Plaintiff has decided to replace

the existing model 44 generators with replacement [**3]

generators purchased in 1988. Until these replacement

shall prohibit the Consolidated Edison Company from

recovering from its ratepayers any costs associated with

replacing the power from such facility ... [S]uch prohibition

shall apply to the automatic adjustment mechanisms as well as

base rates or any other recovery mechanism.

B-4

generators are in place, Plaintiff will have to purchase

power from other utilities to replace the power lost due to

the Indian Point Plant's inability to operate. These

replacement costs will cost Plaintiff between $165 million

and $200 million.

B. New York Regulatory Framework

New York law allows the New York Public Service

Commission (“PSC”) to set energy rates that Plaintiff

charges to its retail customers. These rates are set pursuant

to the terms of a five-year Settlement Agreement approved

by the PSC in 1997. Under the Agreement’s terms, variations

in costs Plaintiff incurs each month as it generates or

purchases power can be passed onto its customers. The

mechanism allowing this to occur is known as a Fuel

Adjustment Clause (“FAC”) (now called a Monthly

Adjustment Charge).

PSC practice codified by state statute enables the PSC to

retroactively adjust monthly utility rates charged to

Plaintiff's customers (following a hearing) if the PSC

determines that a utility like Plaintiff collected unreasonable

charges under the FAC. When Plaintiff began reflecting the

costs of Indian Point replacement power purchases [**4] in

the FAC, the PSC commenced a proceeding to review the

reasonableness of those charges. Had this proceeding

determined that Plaintiff acted negligently in failing to

replace the generators at Indian Point, the PSC would have

ordered it to refund to its customers all costs associated with

purchasing Indian Point replacement power.

C. The Indian Point Law

The New York State Assembly drafted Chapter 190 of

the Laws of 2000 (“Indian Point Law” or “Chapter 190” or

the “Bill”) [*262] following the PSC’s determination not to

B-5

immediately suspend operation of Plaintiff’s use of the FAC.

The Law, approved by both the Assembly and the New

York State Senate and signed by Governor Pataki, nullified

the already commenced PSC review process by directly

ordering it to prohibit Plaintiff from recovering from its

ratepayers any costs associated with replacing power from

the February 15, 2000 outage at the Indian Point Plant. The

basis for this law is the legislative finding that “[b]y

continuing to operate steam generators known to be

defective ... the Consolidated Edison Company failed to

exercise reasonable care on behalf of the health, safety and

economic interests of its customers.”

Plaintiff [**5] has asked this Court for a preliminary and

permanent injunction enjoining enforcement of the Indian

Point Law. Furthermore, Plaintiff has asked this Court to

declare the Indian Point Law violative of (1) the Equal

Protection Clause of the 14th Amendment; (2) the

Procedural Due Process requirements of the 14th

Amendment; (3) the Supremacy Clause; (4) the Contracts

Clause contained in Article 1, § 10; and (5) the Prohibition

on Bill of Attainder also contained in Article 1, § 10.

II. Equal Protection

A. Standard

The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment provides that “no State shall . . . deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws.” U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § 15. The clause “is

essentially a direction that all persons similarly situated

should be treated alike.” City of Cleburne v. Cleburne

Living Center, 473 U.S. 432, 439, 87 L. Ed. 2d 313, 105 S. Ct.

3249 (1985) (citing Plyler v. Doe, 457 U.S. 202, 216, 72 L. Ed.

2d 786, 102 S. Ct. 2382 (1982)). Legislation that does not

restrict a fundamental right or employ a suspect

B-6

classification, like the social and economic legislation at

issue [**6] in this case, is presumed valid as long as it is

rationally related to a legitimate government interest. See

Cleburne Living Center, 473 U.S. at 440; Romer v. Evans, 517

U.S. 620, 631, 134 L. Ed. 2d 855, 116 S. Ct. 1620 (1996).

This presumption of validity is buttressed by the notion

that governments are entitled to wide deference when

enacting social and economic legislation government. See

Cleburne Living Center, 473 U.S. at 439. It is not the job of a

federal court to ascertain the wisdom of a challenged statute

or the utility of a questioned law. See id.; Minnesota v.

Clover Leaf Creamery Co., 449 U.S. 456, 469, 66 L. Ed. 2d

659, 101 S. Ct. 715 (1981). This does not mean that this Court

is stripped of its power to substantively review the

legitimacy of social and economic legislation. See, e.g., Dep't

of Agriculture v. Moreno, 413 U.S. 528, 532, 37-L. Ed. 2d 782,

93 S. Ct. 2821 (1973) (striking down a state statute which

limited receipt of food stamps to households of related

individuals while excluding households containing

unrelated individuals as not rationally related to the stated

purposes [**7] of the Food Stamp Act); see generally Zobel

v. Williams, 457 U.S. 55, 72 L. Ed. 2d 672, 102 S. Ct. 2309

(1982).

Rather, this Court must ascertain whether any set of facts

exist that may reasonably justify the challenged law. See

McGowan v. Maryland, 366 U.S. 420, 425-426, 6 L. Ed. 2d

393, 81 S. Ct. 1101 (1961). If this Court determines that a

reasonable justification for the law exists, it is required to

uphold it. See, e.g., Vacco v. Quill, 521 U.S. 793, 807, 138 L.

Ed. 2d 834, 117 S. Ct. 2293 (1997) (finding a reasonable

justification to warrant classifying terminally ill patients

who refuse medical treatment differently from patients who

wish to engage in physician assisted suicide). Conversely, if

this Court determines that the legislature acted arbitrarily or

classified Plaintiff upon some ground not having a fair and

substantial relation to the object of the act, such that

B-7

similarly situated persons are treated differently, it [*263]

must strike down the statute. See Reed v. Reed, 404 U.S. 71,

76, 30 L. Ed. 2d 225, 92 S. Ct. 251 (1971); see also, F.S. Royster

Guano Co. v. Virginia, 253 U.S. 412, 415, 64 L. Ed. 989, 40 S.

Ct. 560 (1920). [**8]

Defendants’ lawyers contend that the legislature’s

determination to create a statute directed at Plaintiff is

simply a response to its continued use of Westinghouse

Model 44 steam generators. According to them, because

Plaintiff is the only nuclear operator in New York using

such generators, it is impossible for any other utility to pass

similar costs to its ratepayers. Therefore, the legislature

rationally determined that Plaintiff is a legitimate class of

one.

Although this Court recognizes that after-the-fact

rationalizations of statutory classifications by lawyers and

judges may serve to uphold the validity of a challenged

statute, see McDonald v. Board of Election, 394 U.S. 802, 809,

89 S. Ct. 1404, 22 L. Ed. 2d 739 (1969), this rationalization

makes little sense when examined in light of the express

legislative findings accompanying the statute. According to

these findings, “the Con-Edison Company failed to exercise

reasonable care on behalf of the health, satety and economic

interests of its customers.” Therefore, the legislature

concluded, “it would not be in the public interest for the

company to recover from ratepayers any costs resulting

from the” Indian Point outage.

Hence, the Indian [**9] Point Law was not passed simply

as a response to Plaintiff's continued use of Model 44

generators. Instead, it was passed in response to Plaintiff's

failure to exercise reasonable care on behalf of the hea’'h,

safety, and economic interests of its customers. As such, this

Court must determine 1) whether any legitimate state

interest underlies this finding and 2) if the classification of

Plaintiff is rationally related to any such legitimate state

interest.

B-8

B. Legitimate State Interest

To determine the legitimacy of a state interest, this Court

should begin its inquiry by examining the statute itself and

its legislative history. See Johnson v. Robison, 415 U.S. 361,

376, 39 L. Ed. 2d 389, 94S. Ct. 1160 (1974). As long as the

purposes of the statute can be easily ascertained from these

sources, this Court should limit its inquiry to them. See id. If

these purposes do not offend specific constitutional

prohibitions, “when the legislature has spoken, the public

interest has been declared in terms well-nigh conclusive.”

Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff, 467 U.S. 229, 238, 81

L. Ed. 2d 186, 104 S. Ct. 2321 (1984) (quoting Berman v.

Parker, 348 U.S. 26, 32, 99 L. Ed. 27, 75 S. Ct. 98 (1984). [**10]

The stated purposes of the Indian Point Law are found

in Section 1 of the statute and the accompanying

memorandum in support of the law. According to Section 1

of the statute, it is not in the public interest for the company

to recover from ratepayers any costs resulting from

Plaintiff's failure to exercise reasonable care on behalf of its

customers. The memorandum in support of the law declares

that the purpose of the bill is to “protect ratepayers from

costs related to imprudence by Con-Edison Company (Con-

Edison) in relation to a recent radiation leak at the Indian

Point 2 Nuclear Facility.”

This Court does not dispute the legitimacy of the State’s

laudable desire to deter negligence at nuclear power plants,

protect rate payers, and regulate utility rates. See Duquesne

Light Co. v. Barasch, 488 U.S. 299, 102 L. Ed. 2d 646, 109 S.

Ct. 609 (1989). What this Court does view as problematic is

the completely irrational manner in which the statute

classifies Plaintiff in an effort to further these purposes.

C. Rational Relation of Legislature’s Classification

B-9

A classification is rationally related to a legitimate

government interest [*264] as long as it does not [**11] place

persons into “different classes on the basis of criteria wholly

unrelated to the objective of the state.” Reed, 404 U.S. at 76.

As long as the classification is “reasonable, not arbitrary,

and [rests] upon some ground of difference having a fair

and substantial relation to the object of the legislation, so

that all persons similarly circumstanced shall be treated

alike,” this Court will uphold it. Id. (quoting F.S. Royster

Guano Co., 253 U.S. at 415. However, as this Court has

stated, if the classification is “so under-inclusive” that it

bears no relation to the statute’s purpose, the Court will

strike it down. Long Island Lighting Co. v. Cuomo, 666 F.

Supp. 370, 423 (N.D.N.Y. 1987).

In the instant case, the Court notes that the Indian Point

Law singles out Plaintiff with unparalleled specificity and

forbids it from recovering any costs associated from the

Indian Point 2 shut-down. While it may be true that Plaintiff

should not recover costs associated from the Indian Point 2

shut down, the Court fails to see how Plaintiff's allegedly

negligent action here justifies the creation of a statutory class

aimed directly at it. [**12] In particular, the Court sees

absolutely no difference between the allegedly negligent

conduct at issue in this case and any other case of nuclear

power plant negligence normally brought before the PSC.

For example, had the New York State Electric and Gas

Corporation engaged in negligent operation of its Nine Mile

Point 2 nuclear power plant, it would have been entitled to

pass replacement costs onto its customers until the PSC

made a determination that the costs were incurred because

of imprudence. Further, such a determination would be

reviewable pursuant to Article 78 of the CPLR in the state

courts. Yet, according to Defendants, Plaintiff was denied

this same exact right because its negligence involved the use

of a specific model of generator. In essence, Defendants

want this Court to accept the premise that because only

B-10

Plaintiff could be negligent as to these specific model

generators it did not have to draft a statute that applied to

other similarly situated nuclear power plant operators.

This Court rejected this argument long ago. Writing in

Long Island Lighting Co., Chief Judge Munson stated:

The fact that the terms of a statute, if drafted in such a

way that [**13] it applied to all like-situated individuals,

would in the legislature’s estimation actually affect only

one of those individuals does not justify drafting the

statute in such a way that it applies only to that

individual and not to the others who are similarly .

situated. This is akin to a small community, believing

that one particular individual is prone to steal

automobiles, passing an ordinance prohibiting that

individual from stealing automobiles but not imposing a

similar prohibition on all others in the community.

Clearly, such an ordinance would offend the “element of

neutrality that must always characterize the

performance of the sovereign’s duty to govern

impartially.”

Id. at 424 (citations omitted). Consequently, this Court

concludes that the classification of Plaintiff based upon its

use of Model 44 generator is arbitrary, does not rest upon

some ground of difference fairly and substantially related to

the object of the statute, and treats similarly situated nuclear

power plant operators differently.

Moreover, this Court notes that there is some evidence

to indicate that the articulated purpose underlying this

arbitrary classification is a mere pretext (**14] for an

impermissible purpose offending other constitutional

provisions. In particular, this Court notes that the legislative

record is replete with references that the Indian Point Law

was passed to punish Plaintiff for its negligence and existing

B-11

high rates.? If this legislative classification was upheld on

the ground that punishing Plaintiff was rationally related to

the statute’s purposes, [*265] it would violate the most basic

tenet of the Equal Protection Clause.

As the Supreme Court has emphatically stated, “if the

constitutional conception of ‘equal protection of the laws’

means anything, it must at the very least mean that a bare

congressional desire to harm a politically unpopular group

cannot constitute a legitimate government interest.” United

States Department of Agriculture v. Moreno, 413 U.S. at 534.

New York State’s legislature is not free to “pick and choose

only a few to whom they will apply legislation and [**15]

thus [] escape the political retribution that might be visited

upon them if larger numbers were affected.” Laurence

Tribe, American Constitutional Law 998 (1978) (quoting

Railway Express Agency, Inc. v. New York, 336 U.S. 106,

116, 93 L. Ed. 533, 69 S. Ct. 463 (1949)). For these reasons, the

Indian Point Law violates the Equal Protection Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment of the Constitution.

This Court has no doubt that if the New York State

Legislature passes a law creating a higher standard of care

for operators of nuclear plants in comparison to other types

of energy plants that applies to all similarly situated nuclear

plant operators, it would pass constitutional muster.

Moreover, this Court has no doubt that if the PSC ultimately

determines that Plaintiff acted negligently in failing to

replace the generators at Indian Point 2 and orders Plaintiff

to refund all replacement costs to its customers, that too

would pass constitutional muster. Unfortunately, neither of

these two avenues were taken, leaving this Court no choice

but to strike down the Indian Point law as violative of the

Equal Protection Clause.

2 The punitive purpose of Chapter 190 is discussed below in

Part III. B.

B-12

III. Bill of Attainder

Plaintiff also argues [**16] that the Indian Point Law

violates the Constitutional Prohibition against passing any

bill of attainder. Article I, Section 10 of the Constitution

provides that “[n]o State shall ... pass any bill of attainder.”?

An unlawful bill of attainder is any law “that legislatively

determines guilt and inflicts punishment upon an

identifiable individual without provision of the protections

of a judicial trial.” Nixon v. Administrator of Gen. Servs.,

433 U.S. 425, 468, 53 L. Ed. 2d 867, 97 S. Ct. 2777 (1977).

Historically, the bill of attainder was a parliamentary

device used in sixteenth, seventeenth and eighteenth

century England to sentence to death one or more specified

persons for attempting or threatening to attempt to

overthrow the government. See United States v. Brown, 381

U.S. 437, 441, 14 L. Ed. 2d 484, 85 S. Ct. 1707 (1965). [**17]

However, the Supreme Court has held that:

the Bill of Attainder Clause was intended not as a

narrow, technical (and therefore soon to be outmoded)

prohibition, but rather as an implementation of the

separation of powers, a general safeguard against

legislative exercise of the judicial function, or more

simply — trial by legislature.

United States v. Brown, 381 U.S. at 442. The Brown Court

went on to hold that “[t]he Bill of Attainder Clause not only

was intended as one implementation of the general principle

of fractionalized power, but also reflected the Framers’

belief that the Legislative Branch is not so well suited as

politically independent judges and juries to the task of

ruling upon the blameworthiness of, and levying

3 Article I, Section 9, applicable to Congress, states that “[nJo

Bill of Attainder or ex post facto Law shall be passed.” Section 10

applies the same rule to the States.

B-13

appropriate punishment upon, specific persons.”4 Brown,

381 U.S. at 445; [*266] see also McMullen v. United States,

989 F.2d 603, 607 (2d Cir. 1993).

[**18]

The Court’s opinion and the Clause’s important purpose

are borne out in the writings of the Framers themselves.

James Madison wrote:

The accumulation of all powers, legislative, executive,

and judiciary, in the same hands, whether of one, a few,

or many, and whether hereditary, self-appointed, or

elective, may justly be pronounced the very definition of

tyranny.

The Federalist, No. 47, at 373-74 (Hamilton ed. 1880). The

Brown court also cited the writings of Madison and

Alexander Hamilton in finding that:

the authors of the Federalist Papers took the position

that although under some systems of government (most

notably the one from which the United States had just

broken), the Executive Department is the branch most

likely to forget the bounds of its authority, in a

representative republic where the legislative power is

exercised by an assembly which is sufficiently numerous

to feel all the passions which actuate a multitude; yet not

so numerous as to be incapable of pursuing the objects of

its passions, barriers had to be erected to ensure that the

legislature would not overstep the bounds of its

4 Although the Supreme Court has not explicitly held so, it has

stated in dicta that the Bill of Attainder Clause applies to

corporate entities as well as to individuals. Plaut v. Spendthrift

Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211, 239 n.9, 131 L. ed. 2d 328, 115 S. Ct. 1447

(1995). It is this Court’s opinion that such an interpretation,

although not explicitly adopted by the Supreme Court, is correct

given the broad intent of the Clause and it is, accordingly,

adopted.

B-14

authority and perform the functions of the other

departments. [**19]

Brown, 381 U.S. at 443-44, 14 L. Ed. 2d 484, 85 S. Ct. 1707

(quotations omitted) (citing generally The Federalist, Nos.

47 (Madison), 48 (Madison), 49 (Hamilton), 51 (Hamilton)

and 78 (Hamilton)). Madison also stated that “[b]ills of

attainder ... are contrary to the first principles of the social

compact and to every principle of sound legislation,” The

Federalist, No. 44, at 282, and, quoting Montesquieu, wrote

that “were the power of judging ioined with the legislative,

the life and liberty of the subject would be exposed to

arbitrary control, for the judge would then be the

legislature,” The Federalist, No. 47, at 303.

Additionally, the Brown Court observed that a

legislative body, which is by its very nature dependent upon

the people, is rendered “liable to be peculiarly susceptible to

popular clamor” and is “not properly constituted” to take

such actions. Brown, 381 U.S. at 445 (quoting 1 Cooley,

Constitutional Limitations, pp. 536-37 (8th ed. 1927)). With

this fear in mind, the Court held, the Framers banned bills of

attainder in order to limit legislatures “to the task of

rulemaking.” Id. at 446. Hence, the Supreme [**20] Court

has always recognized the Bill of Attainder Clause as an

important piece of the constitutional framework ensuring

the separation of powers, one of our nation’s most deeply

imbedded principles. See, e.g., Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S. 87,

138, 3 L. Ed. 162 (1810) (Chief Marshall holding that “[i]t is

the peculiar province of the legislature to prescribe general

rules for the government of society; the application of those

rules to individuals in society would seem to be the duty of

other departments”); Plaut, 514 U.S. at 242 (noting that “the

Constitution’s ‘separation-of-powers’ principles reflect, in

part, the Framers’ concern that a legislature should not be

able unilaterally to impose a substantial deprivation on one

person” and that this principle was expressed “both in

specific provisions, such as the Bill of Attainder Clause, and

B-15

in the Constitution’s general allocation of power”) (citations

omitted). It is with these principles in mind that the Court

will apply the Bill of Attainder Clause to the facts of this

case.

A. Standard

It is well established that, in order to determine whether

a legislative enactment is an unlawful bill [**21] of attainder,

the Court must determine whether the challenged law

inflicts punishment on specifically designated individuals or

entities without the benefit of judicial trial. See Brown, 381

US. at 448-49 (citing United States v. Lovett, 328 U.S. 303,

315-16, 90 L. Ed. 1252, 66 S. Ct. 1073 (1946)). In other words,

a law is a bill of attainder if it satisfies “a [*267] three-

pronged conjunctive test that considers whether the act: (1)

imposed punishment, (2) specified the persons, and (3)

lacked the protection of judicial process.” McMullen, 989

F.2d at 611 (citing Selective Serv. Sys. v. Minnesota Pub.

Interest Research Group, 468 U.S. 841, 847, 104 S. Ct. 3348,

82 L. Ed. 2d 632 (1984)).

Chapter 190 clearly satisfies the second and third prongs

of this test. The specificity prong is satisfied if “the

challenged act singles out a person or identifiable group

either by name or by describing those affected by the act ‘in

terms of conduct which, because it is past conduct, operates

only as a designation of particular persons.’” Long Island

Lighting Co., 666 F. Supp. at 403 (quoting Communist Party

of United States v. Subversive Activities Control Bd., 367

U.S. 1, 86, 6 L Ed. 2d 625, 81 S. Ct. 1357 (1961)). [**22]

Chapter 190 takes the extraordinary step of naming Plaintiff

as the solitary target of the legislation. Consequently, there

is no doubt that the Indian Point Law satisfies the specificity

prong of the bill of attainder test.

Likewise, it is clear that Plaintiff was not accorded

judicial process in this case. Quite the contrary, Chapter 190

B-16

was passed following the ordinary legislative process.

Plaintiff was given no judicial or quasi-judicial protections

to fight the legislature’s determination that it “failed to

exercise due care” in failing to replace the generators at

Indian Point 2.

B. Punishment

The harder question for the Court is whether the Indian

Point Law inflicts “punishment.” This is a fact-specific

inquiry, McMullen, 989 F.2d at 612, and each case must turn

““on its own highly particularized context,’” Selective

Service, 468 U.S. at 852 (quoting Flemming v. Nestor, 363

U.S. 603, 616, 4 L. Ed. 2d 1435, 80 S. Ct. 1367 (1960)). The

Supreme Court has developed a series of tests to be used in

determining whether the legislative enactment in question

inflicts “punishment.” Courts must consider: “(1) whether

the [**23] challenged statute falls within the historical

meaning of legislative punishment; (2) whether the statute,

‘viewed in terms of the type of the type and severity of

burdens imposed, reasonably can be said to further

nonpunitive legislative purposes’; and (3) whether the

legislative record ‘evinces a congressional intent to punish.’””

Selective Service, 468 U.S. at 852 (quoting Nixon, 433 U.S. at

475-76); see McMullen, 989 F.2d at 612. These tests are

referred to as the “historical,” “functional” and

“motivational” tests, respectively. See id. Although it need

not do so in order to be found violative of the Bill of

Attainder Clause, Chapter 190 satisfies all three of these

tests.

1. Historical Test

The “historical” test asks whether the enactment

imposes a punishment “traditionally judged to be

prohibited by the Bill of Attainder Clause.” Nixon, 433 U.S.

B-17

at 475. Among those forms of punishment traditionally

prohibited are imprisonment, banishment, execution,

punitive confiscation of property and bars against

participation in specified employments or vocations. See id.

In Long Island lighting Co., this [**24] Court observed

that the Bill of Attainder Clause:

has been applied only to legislation closely —e

the historical characteristics of common law bills of

attainder and bills of pains and penalties, the most

important of which is a design “to inflict(] its

deprivation upon the members of a political group

thought to present a threat to national security.”

Long Island Lighting Co., 666 F. Supp. at 403 (quoting

Brown, 381 U.S. at 453). In that case, the plaintiff, in

circumstances similar to those found here, claimed that acts

passed by the New York State Legislature “imposed

economic disabilities and deprivations” on it, constituting

“punitive confiscation” of its property [*268] interests. 666 F.

Supp. at 404. The Court rejected the plaintiff’s arguments

because the acts provided for just compensation for any

property lost and, “most importantly”, because the

challenged acts were “not ‘[g]enerally addressed to persons

considered disloyal to the Crown or State.’” Id. (quoting

Brown, 381 U.S. at 474).

In this case, defendant PSC has estimated the total costs

of the sanction imposed on Plaintiff at $ 162 million through

[**25] August 31, 2000. As new steam generators will not be

installed for at least a few more months, this number could

eventually be much larger. Plaintiff is not offered any

compensation under the terms of Chapter 190. Moreover, as

discussed below, the Court finds that these sanctions were

imposed for punitive purposes by the legislature.

Accordingly, Chapter 190 certainly imposes “punitive

confiscation of property” on Plaintiff.

Plaintiff, of course, cannot argue that it is a “political

group thought to present a threat to national security.”

B-18

Brown, 381 U.S. at 453. However, to suggest that, in order to

fall within the traditional prohibitions of the Bill of

Attainder Clause, an act must punish only members of such

a class is far too cramped a reading of the standards

established by the Supreme Court. Indeed, it has been noted

that “[t]he concept of punishment under the bill of attainder

clause has always been a fairly broad one.” Laurence Tribe,

American Constitutional Law § 10-4, at 642 n.9 (2d ed. 1988).

As discussed above, it is well established that the Bill of

Attainder Clause is not to be construed narrowly, but rather

as an important tool in assuring the separation [**26] of

powers. See Brown, 381 U.S. at 442. The Framers were

concerned with occasions on which the legislature could

take advantage of the existing political landscape to usurp

the functions of its fellow branches, notjust those in which

the subject of the legislation is considered a threat to the

State. Considering this goal, the Clause’s historical scope

properly includes actions against any person or persons

who are so unpopular politically that the legislature may

take unilateral action against them without fear of political

retribution. This is not to say that any legislation imposing

limitations or restrictions on individuals or entities is

suspect. Such a construction of the Bill of Attainder Clause

would paralyze legislative activity. Instead, the confiscation

in question must be punitive in nature, as is the case here.

Plaintiff, a powerful utility, although not the

prototypical powerless victim of constititional overreaching

by any stretch of the imagination, is clearly politically

unpopular. This is particularly so whenit is accused of

exposing the public to the risk of nuclear leaks and of

unjustly passing along millions of dollais in resultant costs

to the [**27] rate payers. Indeed, this was not lost on the

legislature, as one Senator proclaimed during debate of the

bill that it made for “great politics” but “horrible policy.”

Accordingly, it fits nicely into the class of persons

traditionally protected from bills of attander.

B-19

2. Functional Test

Even if Chapter 190 does not satisfy the “historical” test,

the Supreme Court has “’emphatically rejected the

argument that the [Bill of Attainder Clause] outlawed only a

certain class of legislatively imposed penalties.’” McMullen,

989 F.2d at 607 (quoting Brown, 381 U.S. at 447-48). In

Nixon, the Court held that it had not “precluded the

possibility that new burdens and deprivations might be

legislatively fashioned that are inconsistent with the bill of

attainder guarantee.” Nixon, 433 U.S. at 475. Accordingly,

the Court “often has looked beyond mere historical

experience and has applied a functional test of the existence

of punishment, analyzing whether the law under challenge,

viewed in terms of the type and severity of burdens

imposed, reasonably can be said to [*269] further

nonpunitive legislative purposes.” Id. at 475-76. [**28] Upon

review of the stated purpose of Chapter 190, the sanctions it

actually imposes, and the circumstances surrounding its

enactment, the Court finds that it cannot reasonably be said

to further nonpunitive goals. To the contrary, it is apparent

that the purpose of Chapter 190 is to punish Plaintiff for its

actions.

As discussed above, the statute’s stated purpose is to

“protect ratepayers from costs related to imprudence by”

Plaintiff in relation to the leak at Indian Point. Although, on

its face, such a purpose does not appear punitive, a number

of important factors indicate that the legislature was indeed

intent on punishing Plaintiff for its prior actions.

First and foremost, this Court’s conclusion that the

legislature’s “class of one” is not rationally related to the

stated purpose of the bill makes it suspect under the Bill of

Attainder Clause. Although not determinative of the issue,

the legislature’s explicit naming of one entity to suffer the

sanctions Chapter 190 inflicts, when that classification is not

B-20

rational, bespeaks an intent to punish the named entity. As

Justice Kennedy stated in his Nixon concurrence, “the very

specificity of the statute would mark it is [**29] punishment,

for there is rarely any valid reason for such narrow

legislation; and normally the Constitution requires

[legislatures] to proceed by general rulemaking rather than

deciding individual cases.” Nixon, 433 U.S. at 485-86.

In Nixon, the Supreme Court held that “[i]n determining

whether a legislature sought to inflict punishment on an

individual, it is often useful to inquire into the existence of

less burdensome alternatives by which that legislature ...

could have achieved its legitimate nonpunitive objectives.”

Id. at 482. In this case, the legislature had a readily available

alternative that would have achieved the same goal in a

considerably less burdensome fashion. The existing

regulatory framework would have prevented Plaintiff from

passing costs resulting from “imprudent” actions onto its

customers. Indeed, the PSC had already begun proceedings

to review the prudency of the charges surrounding the leak

at Indian Point.

Again, this reality was not lost on the legislature. One

senator argued during debate of the bill that the legislature

was making its determination without following “old fact

gathering procedures [it] generally” [**30] uses and that it

was performing those functions which it had “hired judges

to do.” Moreover, the Chairman of the PSC, defendant

Maureen Helmer, wrote to the sponsors of the bill making

clear that the PSC was in the process of performing a

prudency review. The letter also warned the legislators of

the constitutional infirmity of the proposed bill. In spite of

this, the legislature took upon itself the role of adjudicator

and eschewed the less burdensome alternative of a quasi-

judicial determination by the PSC followed by review in the

courts.

The language used by senators in debating Chapter 190

also strongly suggests a punitive intent in its passage. It is

B-21

clear from the record that the legislature made

particularized findings of fact that Plaintiff engaged in

blameworthy actions in the past and proceeded to institute

appropriate sanctions. The sponsors and other legislators

used language such as “punish” and “penalize” and “has

done a terrible thing here.”5

[**31]

[*270] Further, the Supreme Court has found that “[i]t

would be archaic to limit the definition of ‘punishment’ to

‘retribution.’ Punishment serves several purposes;

retributive, rehabilitative, deterrent — and preventive.”

Brown, 381 U.S. at 458. Here, Chapter 190 itself provides

that its effect will be to “discourage [nuclear operators from]

risking public health and safety.” That the legislature took

this action against a single entity to deter future similar

action is unmistakable evidence of punitive intent. As

discussed this legislative intent is commendable. A general

rule effecting such an intent by proscribing greater penalties

for such actions, as are alleged here, would almost certainly

pass constitutional muster. However, the legislature did not

do this. Instead it levied punishment against a single entity

and in the process subsurned the powers of all three

branches of government.

> For example, during Senate debates on Chapter 190 Senator

Velella declared:

Con Edison has done a terrible thing here. They have

negligently performed their function as a utility company.

They failed to install a generator that was given to them, to

replace a defective one. And they put lives at risk. Now,

nobody wants to come in and swear to the fact, yes we did

that. I doubt very seriously if anybody from Con Ed ever will

swear to the fact that they did it. But they did it. And Velella’s

law is going to stop them and punish them.

B-22

Finally, it is critical to note that counsel for defendant

PSC acknowledged at oral argument tnat, had Plaintiff

replaced the Westinghouse generators in 1988, the costs

would probably have been passed onto the ratepayers with

no interference from the PSC. Many of the same costs

resulting [**32] from the recent leak would have been

incurred if the generator had been replaced in 1988.

Moreover, purchased power costs during planned refueling

and maintenance outages, even when they coincide with

imprudently caused outages, are recoverable by the utility.

That Plaintiff is not allowed to recover these costs by

Chapter 190, makes it clear that the legislature is acting to

punish Plaintiff for what was deemed to be its blameworthy

conduct in continuing to operate with the Westinghouse

generators.

3. Motivational Test

Finally, under the “motivational” test, the Court must

ascertain “whether the legislative record evinces a

congressional intent to punish.” Nixon, 433 U.S. at 478. As

discussed above, the legislative record and all of the

circumstances surrounding Chapter 190’s enactment make it

clear that the New York State Legislature was acting with

the intent of punishing Con Edison.

In the final analysis, it is apparent to the Court that

Chapter 190 constitutes exactly the kind of legislative action

that the Bill of Attainder Clause was drafted to prevent.

Having determined that a politically unpopular entity may

have acted wrongfully, rather than setting [**33] “forth a

generally applicable rule ... and leave to the courts and

juries the job of deciding what [entities] have committed the

specified acts or possess the specified characteristics,” the

legislature took it upon itself to determine the entity’s guilt

and to impose the sanction it deemed appropriate. Brown,

381 U.S. 437, 14 L. Ed. 2d 484, 85 S. Ct. 1707. In short, the

B-23

legislature “was intent on encroaching on the judicial

function of punishing an individual for blameworthy

offenses.” Nixon, 433 U.S. at 479. Consequently, the Court

finds that the Indian Point Law violates the constitutional

prohibition against enacting a bill of attainder.* As the Court

has determined that it is violative of the Equal Protection

Clause and the Bill of Attainder Clause, Defendants are

enjoined from taking any action to implement or enforce

Chapter 190.

[**34]

IV. Conclusion

Accordingly, it is hereby

ORDERED that Plaintiff's motion for a permanent

injunction is GRANTED; it is further

ORDERED that Defendants are enjoined from taking any

action to implement or enforce Chapter 190 of the Laws of

2000; it is further

[*271] ORDERFD that Plaintiff’s motion for a

preliminary injunction is DENIED as moot; and it is further

ORDERED that the Clerk shall serve copies of this Order

by United States Mail upon the attorneys for the parties

appearing in this action.

6 Because this Court determined that the Indian Point Law is

unconstitutional on equal protection and bill of attainder grounds,

it will not address Plaintiff’s other constitutional claims.

Furthermore, because the Court has granted a permanent

injunction, Plaintiff’s motion for a preliminary injunction is denied

as moot.

B-24

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Hon. Lawrence E. Kahn

United States District Judge

Dated: October 10, 2000

Albany, New York

APPENDIX C

C-]

ARTICLE I, SECTION 10 OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE

UNITED STATES

Section 10. No State shall enter into any Treaty, Alliance, or

Confederation; grant Letters of Marque and Reprisal; coin

Money; emit Bills of Credit; make any Thing but gold and

silver Coin a Tender in Payment of Debts; pass any Bill of

Attainder, ex post facto Law, or Law impairing the

Obligation of Contracts, or grant any Title of Nobility.

No State shall, without the Consent of the Congress, lay any

Imposts or Duties on Imports or Exports, except what may

be absolutely necessary for executing its inspection Laws:

and the net Produce of all Duties and Imposts, laid by any

State on Imports or Exports, shall be for the Use of the

Treasury of the United States; and all such Laws shall be

subject to the Revision and Control of the Congress.

No State shall, without the Consent of Congress, lay any

Duty of Tonnage, keep Troops, or Ships of War in time of

Peace, enter into any Agreement or Compact with another

State, or with a foreign Power, or engage in War, unless

actually invaded, or in such imminent Danger as will not

admit of delay.

ee ere ant? Sct ciel etnies, «

APPENDIX D

D-1

CHAPTER 190 OF THE LAWS OF 2000

LAWS OF NEW YORK, 22382 LEGISLATIVE SESSION

VOLUME III, PAGES 2799-2800

[*2799] AN ACT prohibiting the recovery of costs in

connection with a radiation leak at the Indian Point 2

Nuclear Facility on February 15, 2000

Became a law August 8, 2000, with the approval of the

Governor.

Passed by a majority vote, three-fifths being present.

The People of the State of New York, represented in Senate

and Assembly, do enact as follows:

Section 1. Declaration of legislative findings. The

operator of a nuclear generating facility has a high duty of

care to protect the health, safety and economic interests of

its customers. Rate regulation of nuclear operators should

discourage the taking of risks with regard to potential

threats to public health and safety.

By continuing to operate steam generators known to be

defective, and thereby increasing the risk of a radioactive

release and/or an expensive plant outage, the Consolidated

Edison Company failed to exercise reasonable care on behalf

of the health, safety and economic interests of its customers.

Therefore it would not be in the public interest for the

company [*2800] to recover from ratepayers any costs

resulting from the February 15, 2000 outage at the Indian

Point 2 Nuclear Facility.

§ 2. With respect to

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Brodsky, New York State Assembly Member v. Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc. · 537 U.S. 1045 | Frix