Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Campbell v. United States

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

') 02 894 apr 252004

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

RODERICK ALAN CAMPBELL

Petitioner

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

Roderick A. Campbell, Pro Se

F.C.I. Fort Dix

P.O. Box 2000

Fort Dix, New Jersey 08640

I.

IT.

III.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

WHETHER, CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

RESOLVE A QUESTION- OF THE EVALUATION OF

WHETHER SCIENTIFIC EVIDENCE IS EXCULPATORY

UNDER THE STANDARD OF BRADY V. MARYLAND FOR

THE DEPTH OF UNDERSTANDING CHARGEABLE TO

THE DEFENSE, THE TRUTHFULNESS OF THE

GOVERNMENT DESCRIPTION OF THE DATA, AND THE

MINIMUM COMPETENCE REQUIRED OF THE REVIEW-

ING COURT?

WHETHER, CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

DECIDE WHETHER THE UNITED STATES SENTENCING

GUIDELINES ARE STATUTORY LAW IN FACT AND

LAW WHICH MUST BE CHARGED AND PROVEN AS

AGGRAVATED OFFENSES RATHER THAN

CHARACTERISTICS OF THE OFFENSE?

WHETHER, CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

DECIDE WHETHER THE PETITIONER’S SCIENTIFIC

EVALUATION OF NEWLY DISCOVERED ANALYTICAL

DATA NOT PRODUCED FOR TRIAL DEMONSTRATED A

COLORABLE PROOF OF ACTUAL INNOCENCE, SUCH

THAT ALL PROCEDURAL DEFECTS SHOULD BE

WAIVED AND THE CASE HEARD ON THE MERITS?

PARTIES

The parties of interest are all named on the cover of the Petition.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TRAVEL BELOW

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

BACKGROUND FACTS

ARGUMENT:

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

RESOLVE THE EVALUATION OF SCIENTIFIC

EXCULPATORY EVIDENCE UNDER BRADY

V. MARYLAND:

II. © CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

ESTABLISH THE STATUS OF THE UNITED

STATES SENTENCING GUIDELINES AS

STATING ELEMENTS OF A DRUG OFFENSE:

III. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

DECIDE WHETHER THIS PETITIONER’S

SCIENTIFIC EVIDENCE CONSTITUTES A

COLORABLE PROOF OF ACTUAL

INNOCENCE WARRANTING A FULL

EVIDENTIARY HEARING:

CONCLUSION

APPENDICES: A through N

iil

ill

ili

iV

Vill

23

29

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES °

Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466 (2000) ..... 15, 16, 19, 22

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963) .............-.. 10, 30

Leko v. Portuondo, 257 F.3d 89 (2"4 Cir. 2001) ............. 11

Daubert v. Merrill Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 509 U.S. 579

8 Pe ee Cy eer re re ee ee nye Pre Tere 6, 10

Cae Bs PR, He SP EOP EROEND vids ki scencnvassonseawh 14

Harris v. Nelson, 394 U.S. 286 (1969) ...............-.00. 24

Herrera v. Collins, 506 U.S. 390 (1993) .................. 24

In re Grand Jury Application, 617 F.Supp. 199

SAAD: RUE Sha bi eee Cee chek old ueceoraviar pecans ns 5

Jones v. United States, 526 U.S. 227 (1999) ................ 15

Kinder v. United States, 119 L.Ed.2d 214 (1992) ........... 16

Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803) .................. 23

McClesky v. Zant, 499 U.S. 467 (1991) ................. 23, 29

McMillan v. Pennsylvania, 477 U.S. 79 (1986) .......... 16, 19

Miller v. Florida, 482 U.S. 423 (1987) ..................... 21

Miller v. United States, 564 F.2d 13 (1st Cir. 1977) ........... 13

Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684 (1975) .................. 20

Murray v. Carrier, 477 U.S. 478 (1986) ............. 24, 25, 26

Passos-Paternina v. United States, 12 F.Supp.2d

121 (D.P.R. 1998), aff'd, 201 F.3d 428 (1st Cir. 1998) ......... 10

Phoenix v. Matesanz, 189 F.3d 20 (Ist Cir. 1999) ........... 11

R.L.C. v. United States, 503 U.S. 297 (1992) ............ 21, 22

Sanders v. United States, 373 U.S. 1 (1963) ................ 29

Saville v. United States, 451 F.2d 649

Re BEE bap bS en sae cen db Rado t a ch esows kabus ewan 29

Sawyer v. Whitley, 505 U.S. 333 (1991) ................ 24, 25

iV

Schlup v. Delo, 513 U.S. 298 (1995) ................ 24, 28, 29

Siciliano v. Voes, 834 F.2d 29 (1st Cir. 1987) ............... 13

United States v. Acosta, 963 F.2d 551 (2"4 Cir.1992) ........ i7

United States v. Beler, 20 F.3d 1428 (7% Cir. 1994) .......... 19

United States v. Boylan, 5 F.Supp.2d 274

ee Ter eo ee ie it en me 20

United States v. Butt, 731 F.2d 75 (1st Cir. 1984) ............ 13

United States v. Campbell, 61 F.3d 976

GP EU So b a'vne cen ee wens hak soe cea ae a 1, 33

United States v. Coleman, 188 F.3d 354

a Ee Eee ee eee PR pe 23

United States v. Cotton, 261 F.3d 397 (4t Cir.

2001), cert. granted, 122 S.Ct. 803 (2001) .................. 21

United States v. Edwards, 154 F.3d 915

yt SU 0 43:53 wha dee ea oa ee 11

United States v. Fields, 466 F.2d 119

(2 Cy. TIVE) GE PE DOO Cee) obs bois ce ecckks Goons 11

United States v. Garza-Juarez, 992 F.2d 896

eS ere Prey rr tre Fy Neen Pea ee We yy 13

United States v. Gonzalez, 259 F.3d 355

Go as SD sno ooh. k vceenans Mee oeener ee eeee ea 21

United States v. Jenning, 945 F.2d 129

Ga BOWED 0h b Nk bk tue eas ee werseeeeeaa eats 17

United States v. Johnson, 999 F.2d 1192

Phe SUED bi cakeaeneeuecelcadi ese oeee ae eee 17

United States v. Levay, 76 F.3d 671 (5th Cir. 1996) .......... 17

United States v. Nash, 64 F.3d 504 (9% Cir. 1996) ........... 29

United States v. Navarro, 145 F.3d 580 (34 Cir. 1998) ....... 29

United States v. Ramirez, 242 F.3d 348 (6 Cir. 2001) ....... 16

United States v. Richards, 67 F.3d 1531

ge 2 Tr eye ry rere ree 17

United States v. Robbins, 967 F.2d 1387

ae | EP rere r er Teer ee rT eae. 17

United States v. Rodriguez, 975 F.2d 999

rR: ROMER :0 ce sus pone 20 eves ee nek as Wek b eee ce anes 17

United States v. Roland-Gabriele, 938 F.2d 1231

LS gag Se See Pp beeen de eae ea ey eer Cey Fee 17

United States v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739 (1987) .............. 18

United States v. Sanquist, 125 F.3d 573

Ejeet Gs BT ep ry erp apse ee nid Bo ey apy tig 2 py 11

United States v. Sciverner, 167 F.3d 525

FoR: ROPE 0440s coh sb eebaceun eateries Vieira 29

United States v. Thomas, 204 F.3d 381 (24 Cir. 2000),

rev'd in part, United States v. Thomas, 274 F.3d

og ee yee Fee re Sere ere rare yey we 20

United States v. Tran, 234 F.3d 798 (2"4 Cir. 2000) .......... 20

United States v. Underwood, 577 F.2d 157

ee Sy PEE Te res ee ee red ery eI eye ES PE ee 13

Williams v. United States, 503 U.S. 193 (1992) ............. 20

vi

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIRARI

Petitioner, Roderick A. Campbell, Pro Se, respectfully

prays for the grant of a writ of certiorari to review the denial of

his request for a certificate of appealability in the United States

Court of Appeals for the First Circuit, entered as a final

judgment on November 26, 2001.

TRAVEL BELOW

The underlying criminal case has been reported as United

States v. Campbell, 61 F.3d 976 (1st Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 517 U.S.

1161 (1996). The matter for which the Petitioner sought a

certificate of appealability in the First Circuit Court of Appeals

was his Motion To Vacate, Set Aside, Or Correct Sentence,

Campbell v. United States, 97-CV-0274 (D.R.I.). The denial of

that Motion is reproduced in Appendix A.

The certificate of appealability requested in the Court of

Appeals was denied on September 6, 2001. See Appendix B.

The Appellate Court construed a timely Motion For

Withdrawal Of Decision as a motion for reconsideration, and

denied the same on November 26. See Appendix C.

This Court has granted an enlargement of time up to and

including September 10, 2002, for filing of this Petition.

JURISDICTION

The District Court held jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §

2255; the First Circuit Court of Appeals reviewed the District

Court denial pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 2253 and 1291. This

Court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The complexity of the background to this case cannot be

adequately expressed here. The following description touches

the highest points; a full factual account, provided to the First

Circuit Court of Appeals for bail, is reproduced at

http:/ /hometown.aol.com/ drrodcampbell/.

In 1983, Campbell was the director of synthetic research for

Olin-Hunt Chemical Corporation, supervising ten synthetic

organic chemists and their technicians. He was divesting

himself of his private consulting business to be conflict-free in

order to run the Olin Specialty Chemical plant in Rensselaer,

New York. In the process he had a serious lapse in judgment

that resulted in him delivering a one ounce PCP mixture to a

consulting customer. He was arrested and prosecuted.

At his state trial, the prosecutor portrayed Campbell as the

supplier of a conspiracy, unaware or uncaring of the real

supplier compared to the stature of the arrested suspect. When

it developed that there was virtually no other evidence against

Campbell, despite sixty days of wire intercepts over seven

telephones, the state offered the codefendant a deal for his far

more numerous and serious charges if he would testify that

Campbell was his supplier. He did and Campbell was

sentenced to twenty years.

In prison, Campbell litigated over the dirty tricks that he

alleged in his case and on behalf of fellow prisoners. Six years

later, the Rhode Island Attorney General called Campbell the

most vicious writ-writer his office had ever dealt with.‘

Campbell was paroled after six and one-half years. After

floundering for six months in an effort to restore destroyed

family, Campbell got back into chemistry and let his legal

interests lapse. He became Director of Chemical Research at

Spectra Science Corporation, a Cambridge think-tank company

developing laser and infrared dyes mostly for defensive

military applications.5 On a trip to locate equipment for the

company, Campbell tried to learn what had happened to the

* For example, the State had been required to post a $6,000,000 supersedeas

bond over Campbell’s dirty tricks suit. Campbell v. State of Rhode Island, 89-

CV-0185 (D.R.1.).

5 In his five month tenure, Campbell personally made a dye, vanadyl-

naphthalocyanine, that was written up (unnamed) in the June, 1993, Popular

Science as the camouflage dye against infrared detection of infantrymen.

Monsieur Pasaquay, the research director of Bolle Optical, France, called

Campbell's industrial quantity Lambda 2 dye, for fighier-pilot laser-blinding

protection, “the superb ruby.”

former buyer of his consulting business, Woodman, who had

been the real drug supplier in 1983. Trial trans. V, 60-61.

Re-contact with Woodman soon went past the social with

Woodman wanting to sell Spectra Science infrared-absorbing

dyes to Monsanto Safe-flex Glass in Springfield, Massachusetts,

where his brother-in-law was vice-president. V, 64. This

overture was a ruse, however, for Woodman to persuade

Campbell to make P2P, which he claimed was legal by

producing the 1992 West Criminal Code and Rules for the list

of controlled substances.

Campbell smelled the rat in Woodman and, when simple

“no's” quenched none of the ardor, Campbell researched

Woodman at Rhode Island Federal District Court. An

apoplectic clerk eventually gave Campbell a docket sheet

stamped “SEALED.”

So when Woodman asked for a quid pro quo of a small

sample of P2P for picking up some glassware, Campbell

obliged him with a small sample of chloroacetone teargas. V,

67, 69-70. And when Woodman later switched to wanting a

quaalude raw material, Campbell obliged him with a small

sample of AAOT, a sneezing powder. V, 82. When Campbell

suddenly got fired at Spectra Science with no opportunity to

explain his past, he imagined the hands of enemies in that

termination and resolved to exploit and discredit them.

The game of cat and mouse eventually got out of hand.

Campbell was unable to start the legitimate Grignard Reagent .-

business he wanted before becoming broke. So the ruse

continued with Campbell supplying a non-P2P that simply

smelled like P2P. He designed all the chemical bubbling as

‘show for Woodman’s chemist-trained eye; especially the

solvent choice of (THF, tetrahydrofuran), but then the other

reaction conditions were all meant for the P2P chemistry to fail

and make principally benzylacetate.

Campbell was arrested after nine months of this and

charged with manufacture and distribution and conspiracies to

make both P2P and quaalude. He was persuaded to put on a

wholly apologetic defense, and the D.E.A. chromatogram

analyses appeared to indicate a fraction of a percent P2P

present. So the jury convicted on the P2P counts on instruction

that only a detectable quantity of P2P was necessary for guilt.

The jury acquitted on the methaqualone (quaalude) conspiracy,

but convicted for the “any detectable” instruction. Campbell

was sentenced to 288 months.

After trial, Campbell filed a Rhode Island F.O.I. request

with the Rhode Island Department of Health (R.1.D.O.H.)

Laboratory for its analyses of his samples. D.O.H. had told the

defense that the lab’s analyses had showed P2P; but Campbell

didn’t believe he had messed up and he wanted to understand

how he had. The lab sent the data to Defense Attorney West.

The Health Lab had used exactly the same instrument

setup as the D.E.A. lab in New York. But it had taken more care

in running the samples and had produced better separations of

the chemicals than New York. In the spot where the P2P peak

belonged, there was emptiness; instead, the lab had clearly mis-

identified another chemical, 4-methylacetophenone, as P2P.

Campbell had already submitted the D.E.A. data to Morris

Forensics for evaluation of reliability. Appendix I. Morris

criticized the analyses for their lack of runs of authentic P2P

standards, the lack of duplicate analytical runs per sample to

rule out contamination or mistake, and the low reliability of the

computer matches of mass spectra and infrared spectra actually

obtained when compared with the library spectra. Campbell's

money had run out before the D.O.H. data became available,

however.

So Campbell sought support from industrial chemists. And

he asked his congressional delegation to investigate the fraud

that appeared evident from the two data sets. Union Carbide,

Pfizer, and 3M chemists sympathized, but stayed out of it. The

congressional delegation sent banal letters and hung up on

Campbell.

Campbell sent a sworn criminal complaint to the United

States Inspector General. When he failed to hear anything in

three months he called and was told to file a F.O.I. request. So

he sent a complaint addressed to “Foreman, Currently Sitting

Special Grand Jury For The Southern District Of New York,”

pursuant to 18 U.S.C. §3332. It was returned by the United

States Attorney. He mailed again to Mary Joe White, United

States Attorney, citing In re Grand Jury Application, 617 F.Supp.

199 (S.D.N.Y. 1985). His mailing was returned. Finally, he

mailed to the Honorable John Sprizzo, again pursuant to §

3332, who wrote back saying that he was unable to become

involved.

At the same time Campbell supplied the data to the Court-

appointed expert to his case, Dr. William Suggs of Brown

University. Dr. Suggs had been ill. Nonetheless, he provided an

affidavit that corrected scientific mistakes in his testimony and

the misuse of his testimony at sentencing, and then addressed

D.E.A. Sample 17. First, he agreed with what Campbell had

earlier testified, that the D.E.A. analyses did not show the

solvent components to the mixtures. Solvents were about 90%.

Dr. Suggs reduced his estimate of the highest P2P-containing-

sample possibility from 8% to 0.8%. He alluded to the mixture

no longer being “usable” at 0.8% concentration at all. He also

discussed the fact that the chemistry, which Campbell had

chosen, was more likely than not designed to intentionally fail

to make P2P. But, even more importantly, he examined the

analysis to D.O.H. 1, the first positive testing sample, and

stated that, to his professional judgment, it showed no P2P

down to the detection limits of the analytical method, which

was parts per million. Appendix G.

Campbell filed his § 2255 Application at this stage because

of the A.E.D.P.A. deadline. The Government attempted to

discredit the interpretation of the D.O.H. data, saying it did not

match the D.E.A. samples. Campbell responded by Traverse

and Affidavit, which the District Court refused to file and the

Court returned the Affidavit and exhibits. Appendix F.

Later on, Campbell satisfied the District Court’s concern

that the D.O.H. analyses corresponded to the D.E.A. analyses

by retaining the services of National Medical Services

° To counter continuing Government claims of drug greed as the Defendant's

motive, Campbell swore the fact of getting Woodman’s docket from the R.1.

District Court. Only later did he even realize the legal significance for Court

and US. Attorney personnel being material witnesses to the case. E.g., United

States v. Edwards, 154 F.3d 915 (9% Cir. 1998).

5

Laboratory. Appendix H. Regardless, the Court denied

Reconsideration without further opinion and the Court of

Appeals has adopted the entire decision of the District Court,

twice. Appendices B and C.

. D.E.A. director Asa Hutchinson refers a Campbell letter to

the board of forensic chemists (Appendix M) without ever

obtaining the R.I.D.O.H. evidence. The board recently said

everything is fine.

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO ESTABLISH

DAUBERT v. MERRILL DOW STANDARDS FOR SCIENTIFIC

EVIDENCE IN CRIMINAL ADJUDICATIONS:

Truly scientific controversies are a wholly different creature

capable of higher truth resolution than ordinary cases,

provided the science is understood. In this case, it

convincingly appears that the scientific truth was not judicially

understood and the Courts should have used different

standards to address the meaning of scientific facts both

procedurally and substantively. Due process standards for the

acceptance and evaluation of scientific evidence are plainly

required across the Circuits and certiorari should be granted.

The Petitioner took trial because he was innocent. The

defense was that any P2P “detected” was legally chimeral for

never being more than “trace” and purely accidental if present;

the identifications were done without running known P2P

controls and the analyses were inconsistent between the mass

spectral and infrared spectral laboratories. But the technical

defense was highly disadvantaged by the legal treatment given

scientific issues.

The Defense had made a specific discovery motion for “all

data” in the possession or control of the Government. The

Magistrate enforced the motion at a hearing. Yet, the D.E.A.

only supplied data for the positive-testing P2P samples and the

raw material chemicals that had been seized.” Defense counsel,

* The prosecution knew of the D.O.H. testing because its motion to dismiss

certain counts specifically cited the “screening test” as reason for seeking

dismissal. See Appendix E.

Mr. West, contacted the Rhode Island Department of Health

_ laboratory on his own, but he was verbally told there was P2P

in Campbell's samples. Appendix D. He did not conceive of

the D.O.H. lab making a mistake; and he did not want more

incriminating data.

When the D.E.A. data did come, the copies were largely

unusable. They were skewed and chopped-off in copying;

large portions were unreadable blackness. A great deal of time

was wasted just figuring out what the data was, as late as

cross-examination of the Government chemist, Mr. Fasanello.

The two jurors who might have understood what it meant

for the P2P indications to be “artifacts” of the D.E.A. analytical

method were peremptorily dismissed by the Government.

Eliciting the layman meaning of the data fell to defense

counsel.

“Strictly on these technical issues, I don't

have the capacity to phantom (sic, “fathom”) or

(sic,"all”) the implications of the data that he's

[my client's] attempting to elicit. He thinks he

could do it in a more timely fashion and justice

would be served. I'm really handicapped. I

really don't know what he-[Mr. Fasanello was

being examined] is talking about and [cut off].”

West, IV, 3-4. And any possible backup salvation was

precluded by the exclusion of the defense expert, Dr. Suggs,

from hearing the Government's technical testimony. Campbell

lost trial.

By the time of collateral attack, this advantage of surprise

had been largely overcome. Morris Forensics had seriously

criticized the Government methodology and conclusions for

making marginal identifications from single-run analyses only

showing “trace” amount of P2P. Appendix J. But this type of

evidence was now all but worthless under the changed

standard for relief. Dr. Suggs did an eleventh hour assessment

> Mr. Campbell's notes report that Mr. West quoted D.O.H. chemist Gino

Rabuzzini as saying, “There's rather quite a lot in there.” This statement

conforms to the D.O.H. mistakenly identifying 4-methylacetophenone as P2P.

Vide infra.

of his testimony for oversights and misuses of his statements

just in time for filing of the 2255 Application. Appendix G.

But the piece de resistance was the raw R.I.D.O.H. analysis

data for each and every sample up to Campbell's arrest. When

Campbell saw the data, as a person who had personally run

over 1000 gas chromatogram/mass spectrum (GC/MS)

analyses himself, he immediately knew the Government had a

serious integrity problem with Sample 17. D.E.A. Sample 17

was represented at trial for being Campbell's first positive-

testing sample. Despite the alternate labeling at D.O.H.,

Sample 1? was clearly D.E.A. 17 because that lab was doing

contemporaneous screenings to assist the agents. The visual

difference in appearance is obvious, even to a layman.

Sample “1” D.E.A.

TIC of CH91000!1X17.¢d

A5299; Run at 08:57 AM EST on Wed Maz 17, 1993

6000000

$000000

4000000 DIDENZYLKETONE

0000 PHENYLACETIC

7 AcID

. J :

1000000 cat urine

ingredient

° are

“4 ¥ ss a7 7 ‘ rT T T ¥ + T T ¥ ¥ T T T r ¥ T

4 6 § 10 12

Time (min.)

Sample “1” R.1I.D.O.H.

“3¢ nat ~ <90 i. oge dL. $00 L 1000 =

rsa 1@,61

300000

4 c6ees @.9¢

a)ee

200000 4 3

100000 4 on

i ay ee |

A J ¥ , ¥ ¥ La Ls uJ wae

4 ee 14 16 18 20 22

Beginning at 5.33 minutes, the peaks in the D.O.H. analysis have been

identified as 4-chlorobutane-1-acetate, 2- or 3- methylacetophenone (6.20), 4-

methylacetophenone~- (6.50), benzylacetate (6.85), unknowns (toluic

derivatives suspect), and bibenzyl (10.81). There may also be brominated

substances. Scan 207, 4-methylacetophenone, was wrongly identified as P2P

in this analysis. j

But more importantly, the chromatogram peak that D.O.H.

was presenting in all its data as the putative selection for P2P

was in fact the peak corresponding to 4-methylacetophenone

(4-MA) in all the D.E.A. identifications. There was no peak in

the D.O.H. analyses where P2P should be, i.e., in front of the 2-

methylacetophenone (2-MA) peak.

(Using Sample 23A for illustration, see Appendix N). There

was more significant still where all the D.O.H. chromatograms

were better separated than the D.E.A. chromatograms. Where

D.E.A. 23A was getting a shoulder on the left of the 2-MA

peak, D.O.H. 7A should have been getting a separate peak for

P2P entirely. But it was not even getting the shoulder! And, it

did not even get the shoulder taking a new digital spectrum

every % second. So the peak was not there. (Gee Appendix N,

graphs for Sample 23A D.E.A. and Sample 7A D.O. H.).

Instead of becoming a legal epiphany, the Government and

the Courts have both belittled the meaning of this evidence for

six years without ever addressing the science.

A. The Decisions Below:

The §2255 Petition to this case should have been granted.

Instead, the District Court Memorandum And Order denied

the §2255 Application for procedural default by

mischaracterizing the nature of the post-trial discovery, where

it was not the “existence of analytical data at the D.O.H.,” but

rather “that D.O.H. had lied to defense counsel that the data

was positive for P2P, when it was in fact negative.” And on the

merits, it mischaracterized the number of D.O.H. non-P2P

samples as “some” when it was “all,” and, finally, on its own

authority it misinterpreted the D.O.H. data to say it still

showed the presence of P2P, while discounting Dr. Suggs'

expert Affidavit without any evidentiary hearing. Appendix

A.

The District Court's findings and rulings have simply been

perpetuated by the Court of Appeals. Appendices B and C.

All three mistakes display a technical comprehension that

fails the fundamental due process required for the evaluation

of the meaning of this scientific evidence.

B. The Proposed Standard And Its Application:

This Court has redefined the standard for expert opinion

testimony being offered as scientific evidence in civil cases.

Daubert v. Merrill Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 509 U.S. 579, 113

S.Ct. 2786, 125 L.Ed.2d 469 (1993). It has directed the district

courts to serve as “gatekeepers” of the scientific legitimacy of

evidence being alleged. The threshold for admissibility is not

meant to be insurmountable, and should not be so for collateral

review.

“Vigorous cross-examination, presentation

of contrary evidence, and careful instruction on

the burden of proof are the traditional and

appropriate means of attacking shaky but

admissible evidence.

509 U.S. at 596. All the past rule-making has occurred in civil

litigations, but it is more needed in the criminal context. Here,

a district court has discounted absolutely objective scientific

evidence of innocence over procedural technicalities, even

when the evidence met the Government's own standards of

reliability for convicting this Petitioner in the first place!

Where the evidence produced would have made the conviction

nearly impossible, Passos-Paternina v. United States, 12

F.Supp.2d 231, 236 n. 4 (D.P.R. 1998), aff'd, 201 F.3d 428 (1st Cir.

1998) (per curiam) (unpublished), it had to be evaluated for its

objective truth to_scientific standards. There were no

standards.

Therefore, first, an objective standard of review itself is

now required. Some form of positive Brady v. Maryland

exculpatory disclosure requirement should be enforced by

mandatory post-trial hearing once a prima facie showing of

omission is made. Second, the subject matter in controversy

here must be credited as a different creature, “science” as

distinguished from “human experience.” If a court cannot

articulate its reasons for decision in scientific terminology

appropriate to the question, it fails to show that it had the basic

comprehension necessary to preside over the issues in dispute.

Such an answer is always possible because it is science. A

denial must be explained or fail the substantive due process

owed the aggrieved party.

“What suffices for a statement of reasons is

not subject to rigid definition, but encompasses

10

more than a mere recitation of [the law]

followed by nothing more than a conclusory

statement that the applicable factors have (or

have not) been met.”

United States v. Sanquist, 125 F.3d 573, 575 (7 Cir. 1997); United

States v. Fields, 466 F.2d 119, 121 (24 Cir. 1972) (reason must be

stated with particularity), 62 F.R.D. 254 (1972).

1. Over-generalization Of Default:

In order for the District Court to allow itself to address the

merits of Mr. Campbell's evidence claims only as some after-

thought courtesy, it conflated what fact had really been

discovered (the mistaken interpretation of peak identity

reported as a lie to the defense) with the fact that the R.I.D.O.H.

had performed some screening service for the Government.

No one had informed the defense that there was reviewable

data as opposed to notebooks scribblings of observations at the

R.I.D.O.H. Mr. West had personally only heard what the oral

testimony of a D.O.H. chemist would be. To assign the

Defendant- with the responsibility of seeing through these

shortcomings is to invite the Government to create plausible

deniability situations to insulate all adjudications from the

truth.

The Second Circuit has recognized the potential abuse to

such a scheme of jurisprudence. Leko v. Portuondo, 257 F.3d 89

(2-4 Cir. 2001). The First Circuit has expressed similar views,

but utterly ignored them in this case. Phoenix v. Matesanz, 189

F.3d 20, 27 (1st Cir. 1999) (blood and fingerprint evidence). It is

an open invitation for the Government to be less than wholly

candid in the knowledge that it will be held immune for

whatever it gets away with. That is why certiorari is needed

that, if all scientific data is not turned over, there can never be

procedural default.

2. Ineffective Assistance:

The vast majority of defense counsel are non-technical

people. Quotation of Mr. West, supra. A district court

presiding over a technical case should be required to declare

whether the case is “technically complex” and_ locate

1]

technically competent counsel. But after the fact of trial with

less than technically trained counsel, a lower standard needs to

be applied for the showing of cause. An era of increasing

technical complexity is being forced upon the Courts. The

Government practice of dumbing down the jury in this case is

symptomatic of the advantages it seeks when the subject

matter is arcane. The course of this case is a study in the

constitutional deficiencies possible.

Even before the D.O.H. data, the defense had a case that

Campbell's synthesis was designed to fail (Suggs), that the

D.E.A. 17 M/S analysis was incompatible with its own FTIR

analysis (Bramson Affidavit, Appendix I), and that all the

“detectable” P2P was so small as to only be residues in the

D.E.A. instrument (Morris Forensics).? But none of these points

for the defense came out at trial in any meaningful way.

9 Mr Fasanello made much ado about the low absolute amounts of sample in

his chromatograph. Ill, 101. In the D.E.A. lab, one gram of Campbell

product, or so, was diluted into 99 milliliters of methanol (wood alcohol).

(This step is employed to cause salts, if present, to come out of solution.

Otherwise, salts will deposit in the high temperature (265°C.) area of the gas

chromatograph injector, where they will eventually block gas flow and

catalyze chemical reactions right in the machine.) A one-millionth of a liter

“aliquot” of this methanol solution is injected by syringe into the

chromatograph. Where methanol has a density of about 0.8 gram per

milliliter, the sample weighs 0.0008 gram. Of that 0.0008 gram, 0.000008

gram is Campbell-product-mixture.

The mass spectrometer detector is so sensitive that, of this 0.000008 gram,

98% of it must be discarded by the GC “splitter.” Only 0.00000016 gram of

product mixture goes into the mass spectrometer. Now the components of

the mixture separate into smaller fractions of weight on the chromatography

column according to the composition of Campbell's mixtures. Benzylacetate,

for example, was always 40 to 60% of the mixture, or between 0.000000064

and 0.000000096 gram in absolute weight being analyzed. Per Dr. Suggs’

affidavit correction of his 8% estimate to 0.8%, the absolute amount of P2P

being analyzed in the highest concentration Campbell-sample was

0.00000000128 gram (1.28 x 10° gram), or colloquially “a billionth of a gram.”

These are the quantities of mixtures being analyzed, and which must be

assessed for possible contamination in analysis, not the bulk deliveries. The

single analysis of that bulk quantity is being established by what 2 ten

millionths of a gram of it does in a gas chromatograph. As Mr. Morris tried

to explain, if the methanol “flood” in comparison flushes some P2P trapped

in a pipe thread (such as from a previous run of a standard), one billionth of a

gram of flushed contamination will be reported as 1% P2P in the sample.

—ENivaeioi

Instead, the Court of Appeals used Campbell's cynically

pronounced “all set” to erroneously credit Campbell with

satisfaction. United States v. Campbell, 61 F.3d 976, 981 (1st Cir.

1995); United States v. Garza-Juarez, 992 F.2d 896 (9% Cir. 1993)

(describing the “fallacy of the vicious abstraction’).

Mr. West took Mr. Rabuzzini's oral confirmation of the

presence of P2P at face value. He had no reason not to. Had he

seen the data personally himself, no discrepancies would have

registered. The Courts today have ignored the most obvious

discrepancies imaginable: the two Sample 17 analyses and the

absence of actual P2P peaks in the D.O.H. chromatograms.

Now both of these discrepancies have fortunately been

reviewed by scientists to demonstrate that the layman judicial

assessment was wrong. Mr. Campbell's arguments should

have received a more exacting standard for showing of cause

and certiorari should be granted to establish such a standard.

3. The Merits:

It has certainly been a mistake of constitutional dimension to

equate impartiality of the review process to the reviewers being

wholly non-technical. It is morally equivalent to throwing out

the diagnosis of a brain surgeon for that of a phrenologist.

These judicial findings are overruling expert opinions of

chemists whose business it is to know the scientific truth. To

the First Circuit's own long-standing standards, it had to know

that more evaluation was required:

“Material questions of fact may not be

resolved against the Petitioner solely by relying

on ex parte sworn or unsworn statements of the

Government.”

United States v. Butt, 731 F.2d 75, 77-78 (1st Cir. 1984); Miller v.

United States, 564 F.2d 103, 106 (1st Cir. 1977); United States v.

Underwood, 577 F.2d 157, 159 (1st Cir. 1978). But the District

Court uncritically accepted the Government's version and

refused to let the Petitioner file a Traverse. Mr. Campbell's

petition for relief was no naked allegation of error that could

ever be judicially declared insufficient without an evidentiary

hearing. Siciliani v. Voes, 834 F.2d 29, 31 (1st Cir. 1987).

13

The integrity problem of Sample 17 speaks for itself even to

laymen. The lack of understanding why the negative results of

the D.O.H. for the presence of P2P are so damning is being

allowed to be “lost” upon the reviewers. But it is every bit as

damning as the Sample 17 data.!°

“Judges are not scientists.” G.E. v. Joiner, 522 U.S. 136, 148,

118 S.Ct. 512, 139 L.Ed.2d 508 (1997) (Breyer, J., dissenting).

This case needed help from scientists; when law and science

intersect, the duties which attach must be exercised with

special care. Ibid. This was not an ordinary case by any

meaning of that term. It has not received constitutional due

process in the adjudication of scientific evidence of the most

probative and fundamental kind for this type of case.

Certiorari must be granted to remove cases like this from the

standardless environment in which they are being litigated.

II. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO DECIDE

WHETHER SUBSTANTIVE SENTENCING GUIDELINE

FACTORS LABELED AS CHARACTERISTICS OR RELEVANT

CONDUCT ARE LEGALLY ELEMENTS OF DIFFERENT OR

AGGRAVATED OFFENSES TO THE OFFENSE OF

CONVICTION:

What is constitutionally in question under this issue is the

degree of sentencing prejudice necessary to implicate the Fifth

Amendment concern for protection by indictment and proof

beyond a reasonable doubt and Sixth Amendment concern that

10 The sensitivity of detection of mass spectrometers is very high. The D.E.A.

and D.O.H. used standard, not enhanced, sensitivity like what is discussed

here, i.e., “multiplier voltage 1800”.

Even when the absolute weight of P2P in a GC injection is 1.28 billionth of

a gram, that weight represents 5.75 trillion molecules or particles. At the set

sensitivity in this case, the instruments would detect fewer than 500 particles

faithfully. From the result reported in Sample 23A, the D.E.A. mass

spectrometer was reacting to 6 trillion molecuies. The D.O.H. mass

spectrometer was taking a spectrum every 3/4's of a second for the duration

of the chromatogram (462 spectra in 10.82 minutes for Sample 17). It is not

realistic that this machine, with this sensitivity and better time resolution

than the D.E.A. separations, failed to detect the P2P “shoulder” or a separate

P2P peak entirely.

14

the determination be made by the trial jury and not by a judge.

Ultimately, the issue is not one of statutory/non-statutory

labels assigned to facts, but of their real import to the

defendant.

“The relevant inquiry is not one of form, but

of effect - does the required finding expose the

defendant to a _ greater punishment than

authorized by the jury's guilty verdict.” .

Apprendi v. New Jersey, 530 U.S. 466, 120 S.Ct. 2348, 2365, 147

L.Ed.2d 435 [2000]. Preceding Apprendi, Campbell argued on

both direct appeal and then on his §2255 Application that his

substantive enhancements had been found only to

preponderance standards, when the Guidelines themselves

required a finding beyond a reasonable doubt. U.S.S.G. § 1B1.2,

Application Note 5. Apprendi now decides his claims and

certiorari should be granted.

Today all Circuits accept that Apprendi expressly decided the

more narrow question of distinguishing the proof required for

two separate statutory punishment maxima and held that, in a

trial case as here, the standard was proof to a jury beyond a

reasonable doubt. Id. at 490. But a separate Apprendi holding

places a more general limit on the power of Congress itself to

structure statutes to remove sentencing facts from the

establishment of sentencing ranges. ~

“With the exception [for prior convictions],

we endorse the statement of the rule set forth in

the concurring opinions in [Jones v. United States,

526 U.S. 227 (1999)]: ‘It is unconstitutional for a

legislature to remove from the jury the

assessment of facts that increase the prescribed

range of penalties to which a criminal defendant

is exposed. It is equally clear that such facts

must be established by proof beyond a

reasonable doubt.' 526 U.S. at 252-253, 119 S.Ct.

1215 (opinion of Stevens, J.); see also id. at 253,

119 S.Ct. 1215 (opinion of Scalia, J.).”

15

Apprendi, 120 S.Ct. at 2363; e.g., United States v. Ramirez, 242

F.3d 348, 350 (6 Cir. 2001) (interpreting basic holding of

Apprendi to include this second sentence).

Left for the courts to resolve in the wake of Apprendi is

whether certain U.S. Sentencing Guideline directives are “too

coarse” in their end result to satisfy the due process and trial

protection required by the Constitution because these narrow

ranges are still to span a lifetime.

A. Description Of The Problem:

Using controlled substance law as the context, the

Guidelines contain two categories of penalty considerations:

(1) Characteristics of the actual offense of conviction.

McMillan v. Pennsylvania, 477 U.S. 79, 88 [1986] (coining the

expression sentencing “tail which wags the dog”). The “factor”

being adjudged in McMillan was a feature of the crime (visible

possession of a firearm), which was not required for conviction,

but nonetheless obliged the sentencing court to begin the

sentencing range at a higher initial level.

(2)(a) Other offenses that are further and potential offenses

to the actual offense of conviction or (2)(b) other offenses

entirely separate from the offense of conviction. Kinder v.

United States, 119 L.Ed.2d 214 (1992) (White, J., dissenting from

denial of certiorari that “relevant conduct” raised serious

constitutional questions for punishing unconvicted crimes).

Type (2)(a) looks to drugs not yet made and deals not done;

type (2)(b) looks to trafficking done, but not charged. Both

constitute an aggravation of the underlying conviction.

Mr. Campbell was convicted for “any detectable amount” of

P2P per the District Court's jury instruction. No matter how

the P2P arrived in the samples produced for trial, in toto they

contained a total of less than three quarters of a gram. On this

foundation, the Petitioner was subjected to two factors of the

first type and three factors of the second type. (The increase in

Criminal History category amounts to a type (2)(b) factor).

And the judge selected a sentence twenty-six months above the

minimum for the offense level range.

The first legal fiction was to treat the mixtures as though

they were pure P2P. On the direct appeal of this criminal case,

16

rs

the Petitioner argued that his mixtures could only make a

trivial amount of methamphetamine, if any at all. He argued

that the then recent U.S.S.G. Amendment 484 required the

Court to discount the “unusable” portion of the mixtures. The

First Circuit ruled that for purposes of sentence, “use” equated

with being able to sell the mixtures to the agents. It therefore

affirmed the District Court's use of 5,700 grams of mixtures as

“pure P2P,” including 5007 grams “with no P2P.""

The next enhancement turned on judicial prediction of the

purpose to which the substance would be put or the

defendant's intentions for it. The Court had equated “sale”

with “use” in order to include the weight of the 99% of

chemically “unusable” materials for the Guideline quantity. It

now conflated “sale” back to “use” in order to find that

Campbell intended his customers to be able to make

methamphetamine. This was necessary in order to utilize the

Guideline-supplied 416 multiplier for marijuana equivalent to

gram of P2P instead of the 75 multiplier in calculating the base

offense level. This determination placed the Petitioner's

starting offense level at 32 instead of 12, the Guideline

mandatory minimum for a schedule II substance. U.S.S.G. §

2D1.1, Drug Equivalency Table.

In controlled substance offenses, the present scheme places

all further enhancements on top of the base offense level

determined by just the conviction and interpretation above.

This practice in a stroke makes a characteristic factor equal in

effect to what could only be accomplished by, here, another

16.8 kilograms of P2P (a move from Offense Level 32 to 34) in

the underlying offense. No stretch of the offense itself could

reach this point.

1! The Second, Third, Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, Ninth, Tenth and Eleventh

Circuits have ruled differently than the general approach of the First Circuit

and limit “use” to “consumable” by a person or “employable” in

manufacture. United States v. Acosta, 963 F.2d 551, 554, (24 Cir. 1992); United

States v. Rodriguez, 975 F.2d 999, 1009 (3° Cir. 1992); United States v. Levay, 76

F.3d 671 (5% Cir. 1996); United States v. Jennings, 945 F.2d 129 (6 Cir. 1991);

United States v. Johnson, 999 F.2d 1192 (7% Cir. 1991); United States v. Robbins,

967 F.2d 1387 (9% Cir. 1992); United States v. Richards, 67 F.3d 1531, 1536 (10%

Cir. 1995); United States v. Roland-Gabriele, 938 F.2d 1231 (11% Cir. 1991).

17

It also makes the penalties for “characteristics” entirely

variable in accordance to the offense level before the

enhancement is applied. For example, having a special skill

can count for four or more years in a base offense level 34 case

while representing only six months in a level 20 case. Of

course, the skill may or may not have any contribution to the

drug crime at all. In Campbell's case, it did not. If it did, it is

hard to see how the defendant hadn't already been blamed

enough through the final drug result; if it doesn't, it is hard to

understand how the skill was culpable to the offense. Campbell

was blamed for building a class A laboratory that made

“terrible” P2P.

The next enhancement involved the administration of

justice. This is an enhancement which is categorically different

in tort from the underlying offense conduct. Its penalty

assessment should be independent. But the Guideline point

system equates its inherent criminality to drug criminality for

sentencing purposes. The determination of this guilt or

innocence is equivalent in import to underlying guilt or

innocence. The Court blamed Campbell for claiming he

wanted to only make terrible P2P or no P2P at all. The increase

to Offense Level 36 could only otherwise be accomplished by

49.96 more kilograms of P2P. Offense Level 36 is the same as a

crime of 70,500 grams of P2P, which is quite removed from the

three quarters of a gram present in the worst case of reality.

Petitioner does not know if he is serving 47 months for his

special skill and 59 months for his perjury, the reverse, or a

unitary sentence for a mega-crime. There is certainly a material

question whether this “drug crime” was 106 months more

serious a crime against society for these “characteristics,”

whose severity intuitively suggests the need for jury finding.

The Court separately departed one Criminal History level

for Campbell's propensity to recidivate. This moved Campbell

laterally from a range of 235-293 to a range of 262-327, a change

of 27-34 months. This was an incredible mens rea prediction for

an already 235 month future. It decidedly ran counter to the

constitutional position on preemptive incarceration. United

States v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739, 755-767 (Marshall, J., dissenting).

18

‘

Once in that range, the Court went 26 months above the

minimum to 288.

B. Analysis:

In pure magnitude terms, the imposition of additional

sentence time based on one or two enhancements usually fails

to qualify as a “tail that wags the sentencing dog.” McMillan,

supra. This category of adjustment, therefore, will not often

offend the formalistic- Apprendi concerns currently being

addressed in case law. Several due process concerns do lie

elsewhere, including American fair play, irrationality, and

double jeopardy. Sometimes, however, collateral enhancements

placed in pyramid fashion inflate the resulting sentence to an

obscene degree, eclipsing that justifiable for the underlying

offense. For the absolute amount of P2P in this case, were it

genuinely present, the Offense Level is 12, for a sentence of 15-

21 months at Criminal History III. This means that at least 267

months of this sentence are enhancements not found by a jury.

Most defendants experience the second type of

enhancement based on dealings they are alleged to have

transacted, but which were never charged. These are alleged

completed crimes, but legally they are not any different than

crimes left only potential. The intuitive dissatisfaction over

large sentences either way derives from legitimate ethical

criticism of the practice: The conviction for one crime is de facto

being used to produce the punitive result for conduct that the

Government was never sure enough to charge on its own:

“The relevant conduct rules invite the

prosecutor to charge for less serious offenses

that are easy to prove and then expand them in

the probation office.”

United States v. Beler, 20 F.3d 1428, 1431 (7 Cir. 1994). It is now

long accepted that a limited conviction that nonetheless has a

twenty year penalty range can be filled with this other conduct:

“{T]he nature of the charged conduct [is] a

subset of information which is likely to be

narrower than ‘relevant conduct’ as defined in

U.S.S.G. § 1B1.3.”

19

United States v. Boylan, 5 F.Supp.2d 274, 276 (D.N.J. 1995). The

question is now whether the Guidelines can be legitimately

claimed to have authorized such license.

It is not just separate, uncharged but identical, crimes like

multiple drug deals that have become “relevant conduct” when

the Court instructs the jury to return a minimal verdict. Here

the Court asked the jury to convict for “any detectable amount

of P2P,” when it knew it intended, if Campbell were found

guilty, to sentence for the non-P2P weight and for the P2P

being intended to manufacture methamphetamine. An

American Jury is not to be so excluded from the assessment of

penalty, as has developed under the determinate Sentencing

Guidelines.

“The criminal law is not only concerned

with guilt or innocence, but also with the degree

of criminal culpability.”

Mullaney v. Wilbur, 421 U.S. 684, 697-98 & n.23 (1975).

The denial of direct appeal of this original sentencing

derived from a presumed legitimacy to the United States

Sentencing Guidelines for only “positioning” the sentence to an

allowed discretionary range within the superior statutory

range authorized by conviction. That premise is wrong as a

matter of law because the Guidelines themselves are fully

statutory law. Williams v. United States, 503 U.S. 193, 200-01

(1992) (“The Guidelines have the binding force of a legislative

enactment”). The only discretion remaining to the judge is

within the final range. Upon the showing which follows, the

Guidelines are shown to have become a purely reflexive,

semantic justification for unconstitutionally imposed

punishment for different and separate crimes and

characteristics never identified by indictment to the juries.

This Court is currently reviewing the scope of district court

jurisdiction pursuant to the express indictment to the case. The

various Circuits are treating the legality of a sentencing

expanded beyond the express indictment differently upon

review. E.g., United States v. Thomas, 204 F.3d 381 (2.4 Cir. 2000)

and United States v. Tran, 234 F.3d 798 (2°4 Cir. 2000), both

reversed in part by United States v. Thomas, 274 F.3d 655 (274

20

Cir. 2002); United States v. Gonzalez, 259 F.3d 355 (5t Cir. 2001);

United States v. Cotton, 261 F.3d 397 (4 Cir. 2001), cert. granted,

122 S.Ct. 803 (2001) (limiting jurisdiction of district court to

scope of offense defined in the indictment). The question,

however, can be separately addressed and still equally

fundamentally.

C. The Guidelines are Statutes:

This Court has ruled that the United States Sentencing

Guidelines are statutory law in every respect:

“The answer to any suggestion that the

statutory character of a _ specific penalty

provision gives it primacy over administrative

sentencing guidelines is that the mandate to

apply the Guidelines is itself statutory. 18

U.S.C. § 3553(b).”

R.L.C. v. United States, 503 U.S. 291, 117 L.Ed.2d 559, 567 [1992];

also see 503 U.S. at 305 n. 5 (“[A] statute is a statute, whatever

its label.”) and Miller v. Florida, 482 U.S. 423, 107 S.Ct. 2446, 96

L.Ed.2d 351 (1987) (unanimous decision) (conferring

unqualified ex post facto status on Florida State Guidelines and

Guideline amendments; guidelines do not allow sufficient

judicial discretion to be considered just “ guideposts”).

And in the same case the Supreme Court also addressed the

question whether a less severe Guideline-determined sentence

bars a sentencing court from imposi allowed by some separate

penalty mechanism.ng a greater sentence that is

- “The question...[was] whether Congress

intended the Courts to treat the upper limit

[under the congressionally enacted statute] of

such a penalty as 'authorized' even when proper

application of a_ statutorily mandated

Guideline...would bar imposition up to the

limit.”

Ibid., and resolving the question by statutory interpretation:

“[A]uthorized' ... refer[s] to the result of

applying all statutes with a required bearing on

the sentencing decision, including not only those

21

een inate —

.

that empower the court to sentence but those

that limit the legitimacy of its exercise of that

power[.]”12

R.L.C., 503 U.S. at 298.

Given the legal indistinguishability of statute and

guideline, when either affects substantial rights, Apprendi does

not permit a Court to any longer substitute for a jury:

“TW]hen the term “sentencing

enhancement” is used to describe an increase

beyond the maximum authorized statutory

sentence, it is the functional equivalent of an

element of a greater offense than the one

covered by the jury's guilty verdict. Indeed, it

fits squarely within the usual definition of an

‘element’ of the offense.”

Apprendi, 530 U.S. at 486. The “statutory sentence” must be

recognized to be the “Guideline sentence.”

What Apprendi now requires everyone to recognize is that all

the additional drug quantity or evil purpose sprung as a

surprise on the defendant after conviction for a_ lesser

indictment is unconstitutional There was never any

aboveboard reason for prosecutors to treat American Juries,

both Grand and Petit, as Judas Goats leading defendants to a

sentencing slaughter for what jurors believe are only much

lesser crimes of conviction. If the Guidelines are statutory and

controlling of ultimate sentence, they clearly fall within the

ambit of protection re-invigorated by Apprendi.

The Writ should issue in order to address the effect of the

constitutional limitations of charging and fact-finding that

delimit the application of substantive Sentencing Guidelines to

the juries, both grand and petit.

12 Sentence “'authorized’ ... refer[s] to the maximum period of imprisonment

that may be imposed consistently with 18 U.S.C. § 3553(b). That statute

provides that 'the court shall impose a sentence within the range’ established

for the category of offense as set forth in the Guidelines, ‘unless the court

finds that there exists an aggravating or mitigating circumstance of a kind, or

to a degree, not adequately taken into consideration by the Sentencing

Commission in formulating the guidelines that should result in a sentence

different from that described.’ § 3553(b).” R.L.C., 503 U.S. at 304.

22

III. A WRIT OF CERTIORARI SHOULD ISSUE TO DECIDE

WHETHER THE PETITIONER MADE A COLORABLE

SHOWING OF ACTUAL INNOCENCE:

The Government's version of this case is that it put a

seasoned drug manufacturer away for the rest of his life. The

Defendant's version is that he is a victim of “parole-bashing,”

i.e., the targeting of prior offenders with high pressure

inducements that has come to be typical of American law

enforcement. United States v. Coleman, 188 F.3d 354 (6t Cir.

1999). Campbell reacted in a manner too sophisticated for his

own good. Irrespective of the legal arguments for whether Due

Process has been honestly served in the original trial, the

ultimate issue is which of these versions is morally and

factually correct. Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. 137 (1803)

(purpose of law is to convert moral imperatives into

enforceable legal imperatives). The Defendant maintains that

his evidence ultimately satisfied any procedural requirements

in order for him to be given the opportunity in open Court to

prove his actual innocence.

The Courts below have taken the implicit position that Mr.

Campbell's evidence was not newly discovered and not

ineffectively overlooked; therefore, it was procedurally barred.

Decision, Appendices A-C. Notwithstanding any procedural

default, however, when the proffered evidence indicates a

claim of actual innocence, it falls “within the narrow class of

cases. . . implicating a fundamental miscarriage of justice.”

McClesky v. Zant, 499 U.S. 467, 493-94, 111 S.Ct. 1454, 113

L.Ed.2d 517 [1991]. The reason for this exception is plain.

“There is no higher duty of a court, under our

constitutional system, than the careful

proceeding and adjudication of petitions for

writs of habeas corpus, for it is in such

proceeding that a person in custody charges that

error, neglect, or evil purpose has resulted in his

unlawful confinement and that he is deprived of

his freedom contrary to law.”

Harris v. Nelson, 394 U.S. 286, 292, 89 S.Ct. 1082, 22 L.Ed. 2d 281

[1969] (emphasis added). The “no higher duty” imperative to

be discharged in this case is to learn if Campbell is innocent

and whether evil purpose has resulted in Mr. Campbell's

unlawful confinement.

This Court has returned to the standard defined in Murray v.

Carrier for evaluating the strength of evidence necessary to

invoke the procedural exception, although the Petitioner

believes that his scientific evidence easily met the “clear and

convincing” proof of innocence test of Sawyer v. Whitley to the

scrutiny of any discerning evaluator. Schlup v. Delo, 513 U.S.

298, 115 S.Ct. 851, 865, 130 L.Ed.2d 808 [1995], addressing

Murray v. Carrier, 477 U.S. 478, 106 S.Ct. 2639, 91 L.Ed.2d 397

[1986] and Sawyer v. Whitley, 505 U.S. 333, 112 S.Ct. 2514, 2517,

120 L.Ed.2d 269 [1991].

“To satisfy the Carrier “gateway” standard, it is

necessary for a petitioner to show that it is more

likely than not that no reasonable juror would

have found [the] petitioner guilty beyond a

reasonable doubt.”

Schlup, 115 S.Ct. at 867.

The new evidence in hand has absolute value and would

have had immense collateral probative value, had it been

timely possessed for trial. Mr. Campbell submits that it

demonstrates that there was never any P2P in his products and

demonstrates that the D.E.A. laboratory conformed the

analyses to what Mr. Campbell was supposed to be doing, to

the point of making a real Sample 17 into a totally different

sample just to fit the dialogue. The evidence must be evaluated

for its evidentiary meaning in each way, (1) “as a freestanding

claim of actual innocence,” Herrera v. Collins, 506 U.S. 390, 476

(1993), and (2) for so undermining the Government evidence

that “no reasonable juror would have found [Campbell] guilty

beyond a reasonable doubt,” Carrier, supra. Lastly, the District

Court owed a duty under its supervisory power to evaluate the

collateral evidence for whether the Government scientific

evidence was mistake or fraud.

24

In an erroneous interpretation of the law, Mr. Campbell, as

Petitioner, has today been required to absolutely prove a

negative, i.e., the absence of any P2P from all his mixtures.

Although he believes that the R.I.D.O.H. data does perform

that function to a scientific certainty under the Sawyer analysis,

the Murray question is what weight the contemporaneous jury

would have given this evidence. The issue is addressed in both

ways here.

It is indisputable that the R.I.D.O.H. took its samples from

the bulk deliveries before the D.E.A. Laboratory got its hands

on Campbell's products. The D.O.H. lab then ran a computer

GC/MS screening test on each sample, free of human hands,

for the presence or absence of P2P. Everyone agrees that these

machines routinely detect down to parts per million and less

for P2P.

A. .. where we'll have a gas chromatograph

coupled with . . a mass spectrometer and as

these blips or components come out of the

gas chromatograph column, they go right

into another instrument which will identify

these components and usually one of these

procedures would be utilized to confirm the

presence or absence of P2P.

A. Specifically, I don’t know of any instance

that we have these colluding peaks that

can’t be separated, especially on our

capillary column.

Q. And if there are parts per billion of it [P2P]

in there, it will tell you?

A. Yeah, but...okay.

Fasanello testimony, Day III, p. 49, 131, 152. Yet the D.O.H.

machine passed by the region of authentic P2P in the

chromatogram and reported the much later appearing 4-

methylacetophenone as a false candidate instead. It did this

seven-times-over on separate samples. See Bramson affidavit,

Appendix I.

25

As a matter of science, a computer GC/MS directed to

report all components of a mixture resembling P2P to within an

80% match of the mass spectrum peaks to those of an authentic

spectrum (the definition of performing a “screening” test) over-

reports the possible candidates; it does not omit any candidates

unless they are definitively identified by the computer library

to be another compound. The failure to report a P2P peak or

shoulder in these samples in a screening run is absolute

scientific proof there was no P2P. Appendix I. This is a higher

standard than “beyond a reasonable doubt.”

In the trial setting, per Murray v. Carrier, it would have been

the Government's burden and embarrassment to explain this

discordant data to the jury. The Government would have had

to explain why the D.O.H. lab did not have a “cat-urine

chemistry” sample. D.E.A. Sample 17. And if Government had

to claim that the D.O.H. lab never got that sample, then it had

to answer how the D.O.H. lab could still have seven positive

testing samples! Upon §2255, though, the District Court used

the wrong standard and improperly imposed all the explaining

upon the Petitioner.

Although Campbell had Dr. Blum match all the samples

between the two laboratories, so that he was in effect proving

absolute innocence, Campbell did not owe this burden under

the proper standard for the District Court to have been

evaluating his §2255 petition.

Under the proper Carrier standard, the virtual absence of

any reported authentic P2P in the D.O.H. samples would have

had to cause any reasonable juror pause in the path to

conviction. The existence of a D.E.A. Sample 17 analysis

contrary to the apparent D.O.H. analysis of the same sample,

and also contrary to what chemistry Campbell was on tape

saying he had done, would have to cause suspicion of the

integrity of the Government's handling and analytical

processes. No jury could convict in conscience under these

circumstances beyond a reasonable doubt.

Actually of more import to a defendant on trial, any prima

facie showing of tampering would have opened a Pandora's

box allowing Mr. Campbell to show that the discrepancies

26

were not the result of mistake or seven-fold negligence, but of

evil purpose. This jury never heard the Defendant's claim that

he had previously been pursued as a trophy; his indiscretion in

1983 to solve a nuisance had been exploited by authorities for

its symbolic publicity and prestige as a conviction of a scientist.

But Campbell had unraveled the details in the intervening

years and sued the State in this same Rhode Island Federal

District Court, alleging that one Detective Prendergast had

used Lawrence Bates to try to plant drugs in Campbell's home

for a search. Campbell v. State of Rhode Island, 89-CV-0185

(D.R.L.) Larry, having been seen getting out of Prendergast's

car, swallowed the baggie instead. And when it leaked, he

kidnapped and raped Donna Barribeault under the influence of

those drugs that night. He shouted the story into Channel 12

TV cameras at his arraignment; but the TV station erased the

tape for the State Police. Was this related to the present? This

is the Gerald Prendergast to whom the arrested Campbell, in

this case, was presented with the words, “See what we've got

for you, Jerry?”

In Campbell's State case, the drug compound underwent a

bread and fishes miracle in the evidence room growing from 25

grams to 133 grams. Since that time, the same evidence room

officer, Leon Blanchette, had been caught red-handed giving a

briefcase back to an arresting officer so that he could get the

locks repaired for a suppression hearing. Blanchette was

refused permission to continue with the State Police after 20

years by Governor Sandlun, who had received multiple

complaints similar to Campbell's. Campbell was on record as

complaining about illegal treatment of evidence and had sued

over this matter, too, in this same United States District Court.

The jury would also have learned that the Resident Agent-

in-Charge of the Providence D.E.A. Office, Vincent Furtado,

had just been removed from his post when the text of an

anonymous threatening letter to Mayor Vincent Cianci was

discovered on his personal office typewriter ribbon. See story,

Appendix K. Campbell would have been entitled to argue that

dirty tricks had been sanctioned at the Providence D.E.A.

office.

27

And, finally, when Campbell personally recognized

Fasanello at trial, he realized that this was the chemist whom

Campbell had publicly ridiculed in 1976 for having

recommended a completely incompetent chemist to MacKenzie

Chemical Corporation. Now Campbell had teargassed and

sneezing-powdered him and the agents. The inference that

Fasanello had “spiked” these samples to make them positive

for P2P was not just a possible inference, but strongly

suggested from the totality of this background.

Thus, if Campbell had had this advantage at trial, the

proceeding would have become a roast of the Government for

both its motives and its integrity. No juror could conceivably

believe that the Government had left Campbell's samples

alone, and believe instead that a person with twenty years

formal education and six years of criminal legal writ-writing

experience, on parole and in a facility open to the public and

warrantless search, was manufacturing P2P instead of a farce.

Campbell let the affair get out of hand after he got fired; but his

idiocy was not transformed into knowingly making P2P for his

enemies. Today, Campbell is very lucky for the happenstance

of oversight that has placed this final damming evidence in his

hands.

In assessing the adequacy of Mr. Campbell's instant

showing, therefore, this Court is not bound by those formal

rules of post-conviction admissibility that the District Court

used to block further evaluation of the evidence. Schlup v. Delo,

115 S.Ct. at 867.

If a petitioner such as [Campbell] presents

evidence of innocence so strong that a Court

cannot have confidence in the outcome of the

trial unless the Court is also free of non-

harmless constitutional error, the Petitioner

should be allowed to pass through the gateway

and argue the merits of his underlying claims.

Schlup, 115 S.Ct. at 861. Campbell's D.O.H. evidence evokes

serious due process questions about the integrity of the

investigation. This evidence is of the reliable, exculpatory

scientific nature named by the Schlup Court. Id. at 865. It is not

28

constitutionally permissible for the Government to convict

with a seminal lie underlying its substantive case. E.g., United

States v. Nash, 64 F.3d 504, 508 n.4 (9th Cir. 1999) (conspiracy

conviction cannot be sustained if jury may have relied on

discredited substantive offense). And _ this jury acquitted

Campbell for the other conspiracy alleged over methaqualone;

it is clear it felt obliged to act differently purely over the trace

amounts of P2P.

Where there has been no evidentiary hearing, this Court is

bound to consider the arguments raised here “independently,

and not be influenced by the previous decisions refusing

discharge.” Schlup, 513 U.S. at 317; quoting McClesky v. Zant,

499 U.S. 467, 479 [1991]; Sanders v. United States, 373 US. 1, 8-9

[1963] (res judicata does not apply to habeas petitions). There is

virtually no way that the Petitioner's newly raised claim could

have been conclusively refuted by the files and records of the

case. Saville v. United States, 451 F.2d 649, 650 (1st Cir. 1971).

And issues resolved on even direct appeal (i.e., here a request

for a certificate of appealability) of denial of habeas corpus are

not binding law of the case on subsequent panels who rehear

the issue on habeas. United States v. Sciverner, 167 F.3d 525, 530

(9 Cir. 1999).

Therefore, as the least consideration, the writ of certiorari

should be granted, the decision of the lower court vacated, and

the cause remanded directly for further proceeding in the

District Court consistent with the principles of equitable due

process discussed earlier in this petition.

CONCLUSION

All scientists to have reviewed the analytical data of the

D.E.A. laboratory and the R.I. Department of Health laboratory

have expressed strong reservation on the legitimacy of the data

used to convict Mr. Campbell. Administrative review of this

problem continues to linger where other scientists were able to

reach their conclusion in less than a week. This petition

Coniaiits the sworn declaration of two scientists, Dr. Suggs and

Mr. Bramson, who both conclude in writing there was never

any P2P in these samples before they went to the D.E.A.

laboratory in New York. ;

29

The justice required by this situation is plain. If the legal

treatment this case has received is different than the treatment

of scientists then the legal standard has to be changed. Legal

fiction can not be allowed to trump scientific fact.

Wherefore, certiorari should be granted to resolve the

fundamental Brady issue, guideline issue and actual innocence

issue that were placed into issue by the original § 2255 motion.

Respectfully submitted,

Roderick A. Campbell

FCI Fort Dix

P.O. Box 2000

Fort Dix, New Jersey 08640

30

APPENDICES

District Court Decision Denying § 2255 Application

First Court Of Appeals Denial of Certificate Of

Appealability

Second Court Of Appeals Denial Of Certificate Of

Appealability

West Affidavit Re R.I.D.O.H. Contact

Government Motion To Dismiss Courts

Webb Letter Rejecting Traverse And Supporting

Affidavit

Suggs Affidavit

Blum Affidavit

Bramson Affidavit

Morris Forensics Affidavit

Furtado Article, June 26, 2993, “Providence Journal”

Sworn Criminal Complaint

Asa Hutchinson Letter

R.I.D.O.H. Sample 1? (D.E.A. 17) Full Analysis

a re

RPS

pees

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF RHODE ISLAND

RODERICK A. CAMPBELL

v. C.A. No. 97-274T

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MEMORNADUM AND ORDER

Earnest C. Torres, Chief Judge.

Roderick A. Campbell, (sic) has moved, pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 2255, to vacate, set aside or correct sentence. In

addition, Campbell has filed a motion for partial summary

judgment on his § 2255 motion. For the reasons set forth

below, both motions are denied.

Background

In 1994, Campbell was convicted by a jury of six counts

relating to the manufacture and distribution of phenylacetone

(P2P).!. Campbell was sentenced to concurrent terms of

imprisonment ranging from 240 months to 288 months and

concurrent terms of supervised release ranging from 3 years to

6 years. Campbell also was fined $100.00 and directed to paya

$300.00 special assessment plus the costs of supervision in

monthly installments during the period of supervised release.

' The charges on which petitioner was adjudged guilty were: conspiracy to

manufacture, distribute and possess with intent to distribute P2P, in violation

of 21 U.S.C. §§ 841(a)(1) and 846; knowingly and intentionally manufacturing

P2P, in violation of 21 U.S.C. §§ 841(a)(1), (b)(1)(C) and 18 U.S.C. § 2;

maintaining a place for the purpose of manufacturing P2P, in violation of 21

U.S.C. § 856; and knowingly and intentionally distributing P2P on three dates

in February, March and April 1993, in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 841 (a)(1),

(b)(1)(C) and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

A

Campbell's conviction and sentence was (sic) affirmed on

appeal, United States v. Campbell, 61 F.3d 976 (1st Cir. 1995), and

his petition for certiorari was denied. Campbell v. United States,

517 U.S. 1161 (1996). j

Facts

The facts underlying Campbell's conviction are recited in the

First Circuit's decision. They may be summarized as follows.

In 1993, an undercover Drub Enforcement Agency (DEA) agent

who claimed to be seeking a steady source of P2P for use in

manufacturing methamphetamine approached Campbell and

Campbell agreed to set up a laboratory that would produce

P2P.

Campbell, later, delivered a sample of a substance that he

said was P2P but that testing revealed was not P2P. Campbell

told the agent that the negative test results were due to his use

of an alternative manufacturing method which was designed to

avoid the distinctive odor associated with P2P. Campbell

subsequently delivered another sample, that was

manufactured in the traditional manner, and that tested

positive for P2P.

In March 1993, Campbell and his associate, Harold Farrell,

began making deliveries to the agent. Farrell indicated that

they would supply 100 gallons of P2P. During March and

April, Campbell and Farrell made six deliveries of mixtures

containing P2P and seven deliveries of substances that

subsequently were determined not to contain any P2P.

At Campbell's trial, a DEA chemist, who had viewed

Campbell's laboratory when Campbell was arrested, testified

that he had observed chemical reactions consistent with the

manufacture of P2P and that the lab contained all of the

chemicals necessary to produce P2P. Campbell's defense was

that he never intended to manufacture P2P and that he was

attempting to deceive his buyer. He claimed that the presence

of P2P in some of the deliveries was inadvertent.

The Section 2255 Motion

Campbell presents nine reasons why his § 2255 motion

should be granted: (1) the government withheld exculpatory

test results; (2) certain samples which allegedly tested positive

for the presence of P2P had been contaminated, either

intentionally, or inadvertently, and the testimony concerning

the analysis of those samples was perjured; (3) defense counsel

was ineffective at trial in failing to expose the alleged perjury

and in failing to conduct an adequate examination on scientific

topics; (4) defense counsel's representation was otherwise

deficient in that counsel did not oppose the court's imposition

of increased penalties by reason of prior criminal convictions

despite the government's failure to file an information as

required by 21 USC. § 851; (5) 21 USC. § 8512 is

unconstitutional on its face and as applied to petitioner; (6) the

government failed to prove that Campbell acted with the intent

necessary for a conviction pursuant to 21 U.S.C. § 841; (7)

Campbell was erroneously sentenced as having intended the

P2P for use in the manufacture of methamphetamine; (8) the

offense level enhancements that he received for obstruction of

justice and abuse of his special skill as a chemist, and the

court's upward departure from the otherwise applicable

sentencing guideline range in order to reflect Campbell's past

criminal conduct and that he was likely to commit other crimes

in the future, should all be reevaluated in view of the new

evidence; and (9) the court lack authority to impose the costs of

supervision.3 :

? As set forth a n.7, infra, the penalty provision to which petitioner apparently

refers is 21 U.S.C. § 841 (sic).

3 The petitioner's claim that the district court lacked authority to impose the

costs of supervision was not set forth in the initial § 2255 motion. Instead,

Campbell raised this ground in a separately filed document captioned

"Motion To Correct Illegal Sentence". (sic) More appropriately, the claim is

treated as part of petitioner's § 2255 motion. See United States v. Zuleta-

Molina, 840 F.2d 157 (1st Cir. 1988).

Discussion

I. The § 2255 Standard

28 U.S.C. § 2255 provides in pertinent part:

A prisoner in custody under sentence of a court

established by Act of Congress claiming the right

to be released upon the ground that the sentence

was imposed in violation of the Constitution or

laws of the United States, or that the court was

without jurisdiction to impose such sentence, or

that the sentence was in excess of the maximum

authorized by law, or is otherwise subject to

collateral attack, may move the court which

imposed the sentence to vacate, set aside or

correct the sentence.

In order to be cognizable under § 2255, claims based on

other than constitutional jurisdictional grounds must present

exceptional circumstances that justify permitting a collateral

attack. Sated another way, the alleged error must amount to "a

fundamental defect which inherently results in a complete

miscarriage of justice" or "an omission inconsistent with the

rudimentary demands of fair procedure." Hill v. United States,

368 U.S. 424, 428 (1962). Section 2255 is not a substitute for

direct appeal. United States v. Frady, 456 U.S. 152, 165 (1982).

Accordingly, errors warranting a reversal on direct appeal will

not necessarily support a collateral attack. Knight v. United

States, 37 F.3d 769, 772 (Ist Cir. 1994). See United States v.

Addonizio, 442 U.S. 178, 184 (1979).

II. The Claims

A § 2255 movant is procedurally precluded from obtaining

review of issues not presented on direct appeal absent a

showing of both "cause" for the default and "prejudice" or,

alternatively, that he is "actually innocent." E.g., Brache

v. United States, 165 F.3d 99, 102 (1st Cir. 1999). Although many

of Campbell's claims were not raised at trial or on appeal, he

has failed to make either of the required showings with respect

to these claims.* Moreover, his claims lack merit.

A. The Exculpatory Evidence Claim

Campbell asserts that the government violated the

requirements of Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963), by

allegedly failing to disclose that some of the samples claimed

by the DEA to contain P2P, (sic) previously had been found by

the Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) not to

contain P2P.

Presumably, Campbell relies on the alleged nondisclosure as

“cause” for his failure to raise this issue sooner, but he has not

established that this evidence was otherwise unknown or

unavailable to him. See United States v. Pandozzi, 878 F.2d 1526,

1530 (1st Cir. 1989) (quoting Jarell v. Balcom, 735 F.2d 1242, 1258

(11th Cir. 1984)); Lugo v. Munoz, 682 F.2d 7, 9-10 (1st Cir. 1982).

Moreover, Campbell has presented no evidence that any of

the samples determined by the DEA to contain P2P tested

negative. Campbell points out what he claims is a negative

RIDOH report with respect to DEA Sample 17 but he has failed

to establish that the substance in the report is the substance in

Sample 17. Furthermore, contrary to Campbell's assertion, the

RIDOH report indicates that the substance did contain P2P.

* Additionally, Campbell has not demonstrated "actual innocence." "'Actual

innocence’ means factual innocence, not mere legal insufficiency." Bousley v.

United States, 523 U.S. 614, ___, 118 S.Ct. 1604, 1612 (1998) (citing Sawyer v.

Whitley, 505 U.S. 333, 339 (1992)). In order to establish "actual innocence," a

defendant must "demonstrate that, in light of all the evidence it is more likely

than not that no reasonable juror would have convicted him." Id. (internal

quotations omitted). The evidence adduced at trial clearly evinces

Campbell's guilt of the charges for which he was convicted.

B. Evidence Tampering and Perjury Claims

Campbell alleges that any P2P contained in the samples

tested by the DEA was the product of intentional or

inadvertent contamination by DEA agents or that trial

testimony regarding the test results was perjured. However,

Campbell has failed to demonstrate "cause" for failing to raise

this issue sooner.

In addition, Campbell has failed to present any credible

evidence in support of his claims. Campbell's allegations are

based, largely, on the affidavits of two chemists, Wayne A.

Morris and John William Scuggs (sic). For the most part, these

affidavits consist of nothing more than a recitation of post-trial

representations made by Campbell to Scuggs (sic) concerning

the manufacturing process that Campbell employed and

unsubstantiated assertion by Morris that the government's

testing methods were unreliable.

C. The Ineffective Assistance Claims

Campbell claims that his counsel was ineffective for not

exposing the aforementioned perjury; in failing to adequately

examine expert witnesses; and, (sic) in failing to challenge the

enhancement of his sentence pursuant to 21 U.S.C. § 841 on the

ground that the government did not file an information

regarding Campbell's prior state court convictions as required

by 21 U.S.C. 851.

In order to establish that he was deprived of his Sixth

Amendment right to effective assistance of counsel, Campbell

must demonstrate that counsel's performance fell below an

objective standard of reasonableness and that he was

prejudiced by the deficiency. Strickland’v. Washington, 466 U.S.

668, 687-88 (1984).

An attorney's performance is deficient when it is "so inferior

as to be objectively unreasonable." United States v. McGill, 11 -

F.3d 223, 226 (Ist Cir. 1993). In employing this rather

deferential standard, counsel's performance must be evaluated

without "the distorting effects of hindsight" and in light of the

circumstances as they existed at the time. Strickland, 466 U.S. at

689. |

Campbell has fallen far short of satisfying even the first

prong of the Strickland test. He has failed to identify, and the

Court is unable to discern any way in which counsel's

performance at trial was deficient. The fact that counsel was

not, also, a research chemist, that does not set him apart from

the vast majority of defense attorneys. (Sic). Counsel had

demonstrated sufficient familiarity with the subject; and, more

importantly, the facts of the case, to do a very creditable job of

conducting the best defense possible in light of the

overwhelming evidence against Campbell. Moreover,

Campbell was afforded ample opportunity to "educate"

counsel before trial and confer with counsel during the trial

regarding the technical aspects of each witness’ testimony.

Campbell also had the opportunity to present any technical

evidence that he desired when he testified.

Campbell's claim that counsel was deficient in not

challenging the sentence enhancement under 21 U.S.C. § 841

(sic) also lacks merit. Although the docket sheet does not

reflect it, a review of the file reveals that the required

information identifying Campbell's prior felony conviction>

was filed by the government before empanelment.®

5 21 U.S.C. § 851(a)(1) provides in pertinent part: No person who stands

convicted of an offense under this part shall be sentenced to increased

punishment by reason of one or more prior convictions, unless before trial, or

before entry of a plea of guilty, the United States attorney files an information

with the court (and serves a copy of such information on the person or

counsel for the person) stating in writing the previous convictions to be relied

upon. xk

6 A jury was empanelled on January 27, 1994. As used in 851(a)(1), "before

trial" means prior to jury selection. See United States v. Cartagena-

Carrasquillo, 70 F.3d 706, 715 (ist Cir. 1995) (citing Kelly v. United States, 29

F.3d 1107, 1110 (7th Cir. 1994)).

D. The Constitutionality of 21 U.S.C. § 851

- Campbell contends that 21 U.S.C. § 8517 is unconstitutional on

its face because it provides for increased penalties based upon

prior state court felony drug convictions, thereby violating the

prohibitions against ex post facto laws, bills of attainder and

double jeopardy, and because it violates the Ninth and Tenth

Amendments. Campbell also asserts that the court's application

of this provision violated his right to due process and was in

excess of the court's jurisdiction under Article III.

Since Campbell has not demonstrated "cause" for failing to

raise these claims on appeal, he is procedurally precluded from

litigating them now.

Moreover, even if Campbell could raise these issues, his

arguments rest on the erroneous premise that the consideration ©

of his prior convictions constituted either a redetermination of

his guilt or an additional punishment for the state law

violations. The Supreme Court has "repeatedly upheld

recidivism statutes ‘against contentions that they violate

constitutional strictures dealing with double jeopardy, ex post

facto laws, cruel and unusual punishment, due process, equal

protection and privileges and immunities." Parke v. Raley, 506

U.S. 20, 27 (1992) (quoting Spencer v. Texas, 385 U.S. 554, 560

(1967) (internal quotations omitted)). It has also held

that"[e]nhancement statutes * * * do not change the penalty

imposed for the earlier conviction." Nichols v. United States, 511

U.S. 738, 747 (1994). Sentencing enhancement provisions are

not bills of attainder. See Nixon v. Administrator of General

Services, 433 U.S. 425, 468 (1977) (key features of a bill of

attainder include a legislative determination of guilt and

imposition of punishment upon an identifiable individual with

(sic) provision of the protections a judicial trial).

7 21 U.S.C. § 851 simply sets forth the procedures to be employed in applying

the increased penalties delineated elsewhere in Title (sic) 21. To the extent

that Campbell seeks to challenge the substantive provision, the appropriate

reference is to 21 U.S.C. § 841(b)(1)(C).

Pa tr oe me Se. Te ee eee

a ee ey aS eee

E. Knowledge and Intent

Campbell argues that, because P2P is only a precursor to—

methamphetamine, the government was required to prove that

he knew that the P2P could be used to manufacture

methamphetamine. This argument, too, is procedurally barred.

Even if Campbell could raise the issue, Campbell is incorrect

in asserting that the government was required to prove that he

knew that P2P could be used to manufacture

methamphetamine. Section 841(a)(1) makes it unlawful to

"knowingly or intentionally * * * manufacture * * * a controlled

substance." 21 U.S.C. § 802(6) defines "controlled substance" as

"a drug or other substance, or immediate precursor, included in

schedule I, II, Ill, IV, or V of part B of this subchapter." Since

P2P has been designated as a schedule II "immediate

precursor", (sic) 21 C.F.R. § 1308.12(g)(1)(i), it is a "controlled

substance" within the meaning of § 841 and the government

was required to prove only that Campbell knowingly or

intentionally manufactured P2P. :

In any event, the evidence is overwhelming that, in fact,

Campbell did know that P2P was a precursor to

methamphetamine. The evidence also undercuts Campbell's

argument that his guideline sentencing range was calculated

on the erroneous premise that he possessed P2P "for the

purpose of manufacturing

methamphetamine", (sic) thereby triggering a conversion

equivalent of 416 grams of marijuana per gram of P2P rather

than 75 grams of marijuana per gram of P2P. See Drug

Equivalency Tables, U.S.S.G. § 2D1.1 comment. (sic) (n.10).

More importantly, Campbell's challenge to use of the 416

multiplier was considered and rejected by the First Circuit on

direct appeal. United States . Campbell, 61 F.3d at 985-86.

Although Campbell now attempts to recharacterize and to

provide additional legal theories in support of his argument,

the gravamen of his claim remains the same as the one rejected

on appeal and will not be revisited. E.g., Singleton v. United

States, 370 F.2d 862, 864 (1st Cir. 1967). .

F. The Sentencing Enhancement

Campbell argues that the offense level enhancements for

obstruction of justice and abuse of his special skill as a chemist,

and the upward departure based on his past criminal conduct

and the likelihood that he would commit other crimes in the

future were erroneous. Once again, this is simply a rehash of

arguments made and rejected on direct appeal. Consequently

they cannot be raised in Campbell's § 2255 motion.

Campbell attempts to circumvent that prohibition by

asserting that the matter should be reevaluated in view of "new

evidence." However, the "new evidence" consists of nothing

more tharrthe previously rejected claims of evidence tampering

- and perjury. Thus, Campbell's arguments lack any factual

foundation.

G. Imposition of the Costs of Supervision

Finally, Campbell argues that this Court had no authority to

impose the costs of supervised release because Campbell was

indigent. Since Campbell had failed to present any "cause" for

not raising this issue on appeal, he is procedurally barred from

raising it now.

In addition, Campbell ignores the fact that the Court

deferred payment of the costs of supervision until Campbell

was released from prison and could begin using his

considerable talents to earn the money to pay those costs.

Conclusion

For the above reasons, Campbell's § 2255 motion is denied.

Because Campbell is not entitled to relief on any of his claims,

his motion for partial summary judgment is also denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

[s/

Ernest C. Torres

Chief Judge

May 16, 2000

Ts

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For The First Circuit

No. 00-2399

RODERICK A. CAMPBELL,

Petitioner, Appellant,

v.

UNITED STATES,

Respondent, Appellee.

Before

Boudin, Chief Judge,

Selya and Lipez, Circuit Judges

JUDGMENT

Entered: September 6, 2001

Roderick Campbell ("Campbell") has appealed from the

denial of his motion for post-conviction relief pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 2255,and we treat his notice of appeal as a request fora

certificate to file a memorandum in support of a request for a

certificate of appealability, though, and the time for doing so

has passed. "If no sufficient memorandum has been filed by the

ee eee

time set by the clerk, the certificate may be denied without

further consideration. The effect of a denial is to terminate the

appeal.” 1st Cir. Loc. R. 22.1(b). We have reviewed Campbell's

submissions below, and we see no reason to make an exception

here and allow Campbell to proceed, despite his failure to

comply with Local Rule 22.1(b). |

Many of his arguments restate those already rejected by this

court in Campbell's direct appeal, and his new arguments lack |

merit. His new arguments regarding allegedly exculpatory

evidence would not succeed, because he has failed to show :

cause for failing to raise them earlier; the arguments do not

establish his actual innocence of the charges as a whole; he has

failed to show the evidence was unavailable to him, see United

States v. Rodriguez, 162 F.3d 135, 147 (1st Cir. 1998), and even if

the government should have turned over the results in

question, any error is harmless.

His ineffective assistance of counsel arguments fail as well.

Campbell is not entitled to a perfect defense, only to a

reasonably effective one, Singleton v. United States, 26 F.3d 233,

238 (1st Cir. 1994); and especially since Campbell himself was

readily available and qualified to assist counsel with the more

technical aspects of the evidence, we see no reason to allow

Campbell to pursue this charge further. Moreover, the court's

file clearly reflects that the required information pursuant to 21

U.S.C. § 851(a) was filed several days before the jury was

empanelled, so no timeliness argument could have been

pursued by counsel.

Finally, no Apprendi problem is presented here, because

Campbell's ultimate sentence -- 24 years -- was within the

default maximum sentence applicable to the offense. See 21

U.S.C. § 841(b)(1)(C) (maximum sentence for Schedule II

controlled substance is 30 years, where defendant has prior

conviction for drug felony); see also Apprendi v. New Jersey, 120

S.Ct. 2348 (2000), 120 S.Ct. at 2362 (fact of prior conviction need

not be determined by jury beyond reasonable doubt); United

States v. Baltas, 236 F.3d 27, 41 (1st Cir.) (no Apprendi error

when sentence is within default statutory maximum,

regardless that drug quantity not determined beyond a

reasonable doubt); cert. denied, 121 S.Ct. 1982 (2001).

The request for a certificate of appealability is denied and

the appeal is terminated. The motion to proceed in forma

pauperis is denied as moot.

By the Court:

Acting Clerk.

cc: Roderick A. Campbell

Kenneth P. Madden, Esq.

Certified copies to: Honorable Ernest C. Torres and Mr. David -

DiMarzio, U.S.D.C. Clerk.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For The First Circuit

No. 00-2399

RODERICK A. CAMPBELL,

Petitioner, Appellant,

Vv.

UNITED STATES,

Respondent, Appellee.

Before

Boudin, Chief Judge,

Selya and Lipez, Circuit Judges

ORDER OF COURT

Entered: November 26, 2001

The court is in receipt of petitioner Roderick Campbell's

("Campbell's") "Motion To Withdraw Decision" and "Petition

for Certificate of Appealability" and supporting memorandum.

The court previously had ordered Campbell to file a

memorandum in support of a request for a certificate of

appealability by May 2, 2001; see order dated 4/11/2001. We

presume Campbell received this order, order dated 4/11/2001.

We presume Campbell received this order, since Campbell

already had advised the court of his correct mailing address at

the time the order issued, and since he apparently was aware

of other language in that order which reinstated the appeal.

Nevertheless, we have reviewed and considered fully the

substantive arguments presented in Campbell's recent

submissions. We treat the instant motion as one for rehearing

and the memorandum as one in support of the motion for

rehearing. For the reasons given in our judgment dated

September 6, 2001, we deny the petition for rehearing.

By the Court:

Janice O'Neil, Acting Clerk

By: __Julie Gregg

Appeals Attorney

cc: Roderick A. Campbell

Kenneth P. Madden, Esq.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF RHODE ISLAND

RODERICK A. CAMPBELL

v. | 93-CR-0049-T -

97-CV-0274-T

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

AFFIDAVIT

I, Albert B. West, Esq., being duly sworn, hereby make affidavit

and state that:

1. That in preparation for trial in the captioned proceedings,

I spoke with representatives of the Rhode Island Department of

Health Laboratory.

2. That I was advised by Mr. Gino Rebussini that, in fact,

detectable amounts of P2P were found in the samples that were

analyzed by that office.

3. That as a consequence of receiving this information, I

cautioned and recommended that witnesses from the State Lab

not be called, since in my view their testimony would be

supportive of the government's position and contrary to

positions being advanced by the Defendant.

Ls/

Albert B. West, Esq.

Subscribed and sworn to before me at Cumberland, Rhode

Island, this.10th day of July, 2000.

D

/s/ Amy J. Manning _

Notary Public

Comm. Expires: __10-30-01

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF RHODE ISLAND

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Vs. Cr. No. 93-049T

RODERICK CAMPBELL

HAROLD FARRELL

ee ere NN

GOVERNMENT'S MEMORAN DUM IN SUPPORT

OF ITS MOTION TO DISMISS COUNTS

The Government has moved to dismiss Courts XI, XII, XIII,

XIV, XV, XVI, XVII of the instant indictment.

Counts XI, XII and XIII charge defendant Harold Farrell

with distribution of the controlled substance phenylacetone.

Subsequent analyses by a chemist of the Drug Enforcement

Administration regarding those substances reflected in Counts

XI, XII and XIII are negative for the presence of any controlled

substance.

Count XVII charges defendants Roderick Campbell and

Harold Farrell with possession with intent to distribute

phenylacetone. The subsequent analysis by a chemist of the

Drug Enforcement Administration regarding the substance

reflected in Count XVII is negative for the presence of any

controlled substance.

Count XIV charges defendant Roderick Campbell with the

attempted distribution of phenylacetone. Counts XV and XVI

charge Defendant Harold Farrell with attempted distribution of

phenylacetone. The substance reflected in each of those counts

were known to the government not to contain controlled

substances based upon the results from preliminary field tests.

However, the substances were represented by the defendants

to be phenylacetone. In light of the negative analyses for

Counts XI, XIl, XIII, and VIL the government does not

presently believe that it can sustain its burden of proof with

regard to the attempt crimes charged in Counts XIV, XV and

XVI.

Wherefore, the government moves this Court to dismiss

Counts XI, XII, XIII, XIV, XV, XVI, and XVII of the indictment.

Respectfully submitted,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

By its attorneys,

Edwin J. Gayle

United States Attorney

[s/

KENNETH P. MADDEN

Assistant U.S. Attorney

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

District of Rhode Island

January 25, 1999

Roderick Campbell

F.C.I. Schuylkill

03869-0706

P.O. Box 759

Minersville, Pa 17954-0759

Dear Mr. Campbell,

I am returning the enclosed affidavit which you apparently

forward (sic) to us with your objection to the Government

motion to consolidate.

I am returning the document to you for your necessary

action.

Sincerely,

James E. Webb

Deputy Clerk

One Exchange Terrace, 119 Federal Building & Courthouse,

Providence, R.I.

F

IN THE UNITED STATE DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF RHODE ISLAND

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

v. ; 93-CR-0049

RODERICK A. CAMPBELL

AFFIDAVIT

I, John William Suggs, do depose and swear the following

under oath:

1. Iam the John William Suggs who has been an expert

witness for the defense in the above captioned case and I have

personal knowledge of the facts presented herein.

2. My time to interview with Mr. Campbell was necessarily

limited due to my professional responsibilities at Brown

University and the security arrangements at the Intake Service

Center. | met with Mr. Campbell two times for a total of no

more than 90 minutes. The rest of the preparation was with

counsel, Attorney Albert West. While Mr. Campbell was very

knowledgeable about organic chemistry, Mr. West was not,

although he tried hard to understand what Mr. Campbell and

myself had to say about organic chemistry.

3. Mr. Campbell has explained to me the use made of my

estimate that the samples contained a maximum of eight

percent P2P and a confusion amounting to a mistake made for

the unqualified use of that statement.

4. By the eight percent figure, which I tried to indicate-was an

approximation, I was referring to the components in the

G

chromatograms. These are compounds of a similar volatility. ,

In organic chemistry, we would refer to them as the higher

boilers, or compounds with higher boiling points. As Mr.

Campbell pointed out to me, in all the chromatograms, the first

two minutes of the sample run is not analyzed, because that

region contains the low boiling solvent portion of the sample.

This is on the order of 90 percent of the sample; so the amount

of P2P in the total sample (if the P2P identification is valid) is

on the order of less than 1 percent of the total, low boilers and

high boilers together.

5. The estimate of 90 percent low boiling material comes from

sample 18. The percentage is a weight percent.

6. Mr. Campbell argues that the peak identified in the

chromatograms as P2P is sometimes the compound 4-

methylacetophenone-and sometimes the closely related

compound 2-methylacetophenone. To clarify the argument, a

drawing of the structures of the compounds in question is

shown below:

A

or Oe Lo

CH; H3C

P2P 2-methylacetophenone 4=methylacetophenone

boiling point 216 _ boiling point 218 boiling point 226

These are what is called isomers, compounds with the same

number and types of atoms, but connected in different ways.

The analysis columns used to separate the mixture into

different components did its job on the basis of boiling point of

each component. The boiling points of these three isomers are

very similar, and one would expect them to appear close to one

another on a GC-MS or GC-FTIR analysis.

7. The synthesis, as described in detail to me by Mr. Campbell,

involved addition of chlorine to toluene in water to make the

a a ae

compound benzyl chloride. This was then reacted after some

purification with magnesium metal to make the compound

benzyl magnesium chloride. The presence of 2-

methylacetophenone and 4-methylacetophenone are consistent

with Mr. Campbell's description, since these compounds

would arise from the reaction of chlorine with toluene, giving

several chemical compounds at the same time. To clarify with

diagrams:

H3 HCl H3 H2 CHs

+ Cl, —s + > +

a Cc

Cl

Above is shown the reaction of chlorine with toluene. Four

products are expected. Traces of iron will favor formation of

the last three. As we shall explain, only the first of these

products goes on to P2P. The last product shown is formed in

the smallest amounts. Once the chlorine reaction is over,

reaction with magnesium (Mg) will give four main products:

H3 H3

i a. [on

) ¢ CIMg

; CH; Hg

P! ex Mg — CL ‘

2) cl MgCl

eG -CH2CH2

OM «OG

Ci H»MgCl

4) Ey" + Mg ——» ie

Only reaction 4 will go on to give P2P. Reactions 1 and 2 will

give 4-methylacetophenone and 2-methylacetophenone,

respectively. Reaction 3 gives bibenzyl, which does not react

further. This bibenzyl compound is identified as a major

component of the analyzed mixtures. Also consistent with Mr.

Campbell's description of his synthetic route is the presence of

benzyl alcohol and benzyl acetate in the mixture. They arise

from benzyl chloride as summarized below:

a H2OH ococ

ES. + — ee = acetate ia "

8. It is a well-established fact that attempts to form benzyl

magnesium chloride (by reaction 4) are inefficient and usually

the reaction shown in reaction 3 is the major and often the only

pathway. Thus, one would expect a very low, and possible

zero, yield of P2P by the route Mr. Campbell used. His route

needed reaction 4 to work in order to get any P2P. There is

scientific basis, from the array of products in the analyzed

samples, for Mr. Campbell's contention that he chose a route to

P2P he expected to fail and produce no P2P because of the

problems with reaction 4.

9. While I have not had a chance to personally study the

R.I.D.O.H. chromatograms, due to my schedule, I have seen the

reduced, photocopied version of one chromatogram, of sample

17. | agree with Mr. Campbell's analysis that the resolution is

better than the DEA chromatograms. Further, I agree that, if

P2P is poorly resolved from the methylacetophenone isomers

in the DEA analyzed samples, it should be better resolved in

the R.I.D.0.H. chromatograms, leading to two separate peaks

or at lest (sic) peak broadening. If the data on the rest of the

R.1.D.O.H. chromatograms are the same as on the one sample |

have seen, I would be convinced that there was no P2P in these

samples, down to the limits of detection of the analytical

method. Instead, i would conclude that the peak identified as

P2P is most likely a methylacetophenone isomer.

10. Had I been appraised and examined on the above topics

during my testimony, I would have testified then exactly as I

have presented these facts now.

Further your Deponent Sayeth Not,

Ls/

John William Suggs

July 15, 1997

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND

COUNTY OF PROVIDENCE

Subscribed and sworn to before me at Providence, RI, this 15th

day of July, 1997.

—

Ls/

Notary Public

Comm. Expires: 6/24/01

NATIONAL MEDICAL SERVICES, INC.

Toxicology Specialists Worldwide Since 1970

March 5, 2001

Albert West, Esq.

Manning & West

3460 Mendon Road

Cumberland, RI 02864

Re: Roderick A. Campbell

Your File # L10113

NMS Expert Services No. N00194

Dear Mr. West:

You and your firm have retained National Medical Services,

Inc., represented by Lee Blum, Ph.D., as consultants in

Toxicology in the above captioned case. You have been

furnished a description of National Medical Services, Inc., as

well as a copy of my Curriculum vitae. You have requested

that I review pertinent documents and records and form

conclusions and opinions regarding the analysis of D.E.A. item

17 indicated to have been obtained from Roderick A. Campbell.

In order to comply with this request, you have supplied me

with the following relevant documents and records:

1. A copy of a sworn declaration of Roderick A. Campbell.

2. Acopy of an affidavit of John Suggs dated July 15, 1997.

3. Copies of analytical data from the ~ Rhode Island

Department of Health.

4. Copies of analytical data from the U.S. Department of

Justice, Drug Enforcement Administration.

H

-

5. A copy of a letter to David Uliss, Ph.D., from Roderick

Campbell dated May 24, 2000.

6. A copy of a letter to Kenneth P. Madden, Esq., from

Roderick Campbell dated June 22, 2000.

7. A copy of an affidavit from Roderick Campbell dated

November 8, 1998.

8. A copy of a document entitled: The government violated

the Defendant's due process right by not disclosing to the

defense the exculpatory Rhode Island Department of

Health analysis.

9. A copy of a page of what appears to be transcripts from

testimony with attachments.

10. A copy with an affidavit from John W. Suggs dated July 11,

1997.

11. A copy of an affidavit from Wayne A. Morris dated June 12,

1997.

12. A copy of a letter to Albert West from J. William Suggs re:

R. Campbell dated February 2, 1994.

In addition to the above documents and records, I have been

asked to assume the following:

1. D.E.A. Samples 17, 18, 19, 20, 22, 23A, and 24 correspond to

D.O.H. Samples 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7A, and 8 respectively;

2. Both the D.E.A. and D.O.H. laboratories performed their

respective analyses on Hewlett-Packard 5800 gas

chromatographs with factory manufactured HP-1 columns;

and

3. The only pre-analytical treatment of the samples was

dilution with methanol and possible filtration of any

precipitated solids.

It should be noted that I have made these assumptions with no

substantial documents or records. I did not receive any

specimen chains of custody, sample preparation procedures,

analytical procedures, concurrent instrument conditions and

parameters, or analytical data from standard or quality control

samples, among others.

Based on the submitted documents and records, the

assumptions given, as well as my knowledge, education or

experience, it is my opinion, with a reasonable degree of

scientific certainty that the total ion chromatograph (TIC) from

the gas chromatograph/mass spectrometry (GC/MS)

analytical data identified as D.E.A. item 17 appears different

from the total ion chromatograph (TIC) of the GC/MS data

identified as D.O.H. item 1?.

The following support the above opinion and conclusions:

1. The three peaks identified from the data submitted for

D.E.A. item 17 indicate 1-phenyl-2-propanone (P2P) at

retention time 4.99 minutes; and 1,3-dipheny]-2-propanone

at retention time 8.19 minutes.

2. The TIC obtained from the analysis of D.O.H. item 1?

recognized at least 9 chromatographic peaks with more

recorded in the chromatogram, but not indicated in the

data report. :

3. If all things are equal between the D.E.A. and the D.O.H.

laboratories including the amount analyzed, the

preparation of the sample, the analytical column 30%

(identified as 1,3-diphenyl-2-propanone at 8.19 minutes),

respectively, of the total. The peak identified as P2P in

D.O.H. sample 1? at retention time 6.50 minutes comprises

13.3% of the total. In addition, the peak identified as P2P in

the D.E.A. item 17 at retention time 3.74 minutes is the

base (or highest) peak, whereas in the D.O.H. analysis, the

P2P peak at 6.50 minutes is 50% of the base peak which

occurs at 10.81 minutes. Likewise, using the peak identified

as P2P at 3.74 minutes on D.E.A. item 17 at retention time

3.74 minutes as the base peak, the peaks at 4.99 and 8.19

minutes have peak heights of 35% and 58.3%, respectively.

A comparison of peak heights on the D.O.H. item 1? GC

TIC does not identify peaks whose heights are

approximately 89,000 counts (35% of 255702, the peak

height corresponding to the chromatographic peak at

retention 6.50 minutes) or approximately 149,000 (58.3% of

255702) at retention times later than the 6.50 minutes peak.

In addition to D.O.H. 1?, the D.E.A. item 17 chromatogram,

which contained three chromatographic peaks, did not

appear to match the chromatographic profiles of D.O.H.

samples 2, 3, 4, 6, 7A, 7B, or 8. Sample 2 demonstrated at

least six chromatographic peaks; sample 3 exhibited at least

four peaks; sample 7B showed at least 7 peaks; and sample

8 recognized five chromatographic peaks. Furthermore the

relative size of the peaks in D.E.A. item 17, did not

correspond to the listed D.O.H. samples when compared

one to the other within each sample.

With the assumption of the identical sample preparation,

the amount analyzed, and the gas chromatographic

conditions (including the analytical columns, temperature

programs, etc.), the chromatographic profiles of D.E.A. item

17 from the GC/MS and the GC/FTIR analyses should be-

similar. Examination of the GC/MS chromatographic

profile exhibits three chromatographic peaks at 3.74, 4.99,

and 8.19 minutes. The GC/FTIR chromatogram shows

numerous small peaks from approximately .5 through

approximately 1.5 minutes, a large single peak at

approximately 3 minutes, and at least one (if not more)

small peak(s) just prior to 5.00 minutes.

If additional information or documents become available that

may affect the above opinion and conclusions, please forward

them to me for further evaluation.

Respectfully,

Lee M. Blum, PhD., DABFT

Forensic Toxicologist

In the County of Mercer, Sc.

AFFIDAVIT

I, Martin Bramson, do’ swear under oath the following

statements and conclusions as true and accurate to be best of

my knowledge and belief:

1. lama degreed chemist and pharmacist with the attached

educational background. I have studied all of the data in the

case United States v. Campbell, 93-CR-0049, and in the habeas

corpus application, 97-CV-0274. This includes all data

generated by both the Drug Enforcement Administration

Northeast Regional Laboratory (D.E.A.) and the Rhode Island

Department of Health (D.O.H.). I have also evaluated the

reports of Dr. William Suggs, of Morris Forensics, and of

National Medical Services Laboratory. I have also reviewed

the trial record for factual background.

2. Based on my review of all the information available and

using my technical background and experience, I have been

asked to take this data and these reports to their ultimate

conclusions, where I conclude that other reviewers have not

been complete.

3. It is-my first conclusion to a scientific certainty that the

R.I.D.O.H. has misidentified the chemical 4-methylacetopheone

(abbreviated 4-MA) as the chemical phenyl-2-propanone (P2P)

in each and all of the analyses appearing to show the presence

of "P2P." They are in fact showing the presence of "4-~MA."

4. It is my second conclusion to a scientific certainty that the

standard screening, as I know these screening tests to be done,

performed by the R.I.D.O.H. would have located P2P in these

samples down to concentrations of parts per million. I conclude

from study of the data, including the absence of a visual peak

or shoulder in D.O.H. chromatograms in the region of expected

P2P appearance, that there is no P2P in these samples down to

parts per million concentration.

5. It is my third conclusion to a scientific certainty that the

D.E.A. mass spec/chromatogram of Sample 17 is anomalous to

all the other data available on that sample. I state that the most

likely explanation for this anomaly is that the mass spectral

sample has been falsified. I state this conclusion based on the

lack of reporting of the major chemicals to the Sample 17

mixture by the D.E.A.'s own infrared lab being irreconcilable

scientifically. I further state this conclusion based on the fact

that Dr. Blum's exhaustive cross-referencing forces a reviewer

to conclude that D.E.A. 17 is D.O.H. 1?. I state this finally

based on the factual background in the trial testimony and the

transcripts of surveillance-taped conversations that Mr.

Campbell disclaimed ever running a "traditional" synthesis and

his statement is supported by all the data except the D.E.A.

mass spectrum/chromatogram.

6. It is my conclusion based on my study and the

appearance of the mixture chromatograms that D.E.A. Sample

17 corresponds to D.O.H. Sample "1?" to a scientific certainty.

7. Finally it is my conclusion to a scientific certainty that these

mixtures are an order of magnitude more dilute in high boiling

components (e.g., 4-MA) than was represented at the trial of

this case. I agree with Dr. Suggs' appreciation that the D.E.A.

chromatograms failed to show the solvents. It is my conclusion

that no amphetamine products could be made from these

mixtures, even if they legitimately contained the P2P shown in

the D.E.A. chromatograms, due to their extreme dilution and

low purity.

Subscribed under penalty of perjury,

LS/

Martin Bramson

AFFIDAVIT

STATE OF FLORIDA

COUNTY OF ORANGE

BEFORE ME, the undersigned authority, personally

appeared WAYNE A MORRIS, who after being sworn deposes

and says as follows:

1. That he is over 21 years of age and that the facts, opinions,

or conclusions set forth in this Affidavit are of his own personal

knowledge.

2. That he is a chemist holding a Master's Degree in Physical

Chemistry (thesis area in infrared spectroscopy), and he is in

private practice as co-owner/president of Morris-Kopec

Forensics, Inc., P.O. Box 1065, Goldenrod, Florida 32733-1065,

telephone number 407-678-5508.

3. That he has been in private practice since March, 1986, and

previously was employed as a crime laboratory analyst by the

Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) from March,

1976 to March 1986.

4. That he has been qualified as an expert in the area of drug

analysis in State Courts of Florida, and Federal Courts-in Texas

and Florida.

5. That he has attached hereto a true and correct copy of his

experience and qualifications.

6. That the Drug Enforcement Administration has registered

Morris-Kopec Forensics, Inc. as an analytical laboratory

covering all schedules of controlled substances.

7. That he has developed and manufactured field test kits for

controlled substances, including Cocaine, and as part of his

routine business, and that he is co-author of a patent for a field

test kit for Methaqualone and Mecloqualone.

8. That he has testified as an expert in Courts of Florida and

Federal Court as to the results of his analyses in over one

thousand cases.

9. That he has routinely used infrared spectroscopy, gas

chromatography and gas chromatography-mass spectroscopy

for the identification of controlled substances.

10. That he has been qualified as an expert in Courts of Florida

and Federal Courts in the use of gas chromatography and gas-

chromatography-mass spectroscopy for the identification of

controlled substances.

11. That in mass spectroscopy, the quality of the comparison of

the mass spectrum of the unknown to that of a known

(standard) is of utmost importance. The generally accepted

standard for library matches with an unknown compound

have numerical values above 98%. In this matter, the library

search for the results of the mass spectral analyses gave

numerical values of 94 and below. These levels of matching are

far below the generally accepted standard and indicate a low ~

level of reliability for the identifications made in this case.

12. That in mass spectroscopy, the initially acquired spectral

data may be altered by the addition and/or subtraction of

other spectral data arising from background spectra or co-

eluting compounds. Such manipulation of data must be done

carefully in order to prevent the loss of spectral information

arising from the unknown compound or the addition of

spectral information arising from other compounds. The loss

or addition of such data can result in-erroneous identification.

In this matter, the initial mass spectral data have been altered

by addition, subtraction, and normalization techniques

resulting in identifications of the unknown compounds as P2P

with low levels of confidence.

13. That in this case, the mass spectra do not reliably identify

the unknown compounds as P2P since the small amounts of

P2P alleged to have been identified by the library searches are

obtained by the substraction (sic) and addition of spectral data

arising from overlapping compounds having very similar mass

spectra. The absence of the fragment at m/e 119 in the P2P

spectrum differentiates P2P from these other compounds but

the absence of the m/e 119 peak could have been caused by the

manipulation of the spectral data.

14. That in gas chromatography, the repeatability (precision) of

the retention times for peaks representing the same

compound in different samples analyzed under the same

chromatographic conditions is mandatory. In this matter, the ~

agreement of retention times is not as high as should be

expected. Similar chromatographic conditions are reported on

the data but the retention times for the peaks alleged to be P2P

do not show good precision.

15. That, in the case of compounds having closely similar or

identical retention times under the same _ set of

chromatographic conditions, the agreement of retention times

arising from an unknown compound with a retention time for

a known standard, only indicates the possible presence of one,

any, or all of the co-eluting compounds. In this matter, the

chromatographic data only indicates-the possible presence of

P2P and/or other compounds arising from the chemical

syntheses used in the production of these samples.

16. That, the spectra identified as P2P in this case are missing a

prominent shoulder about 1900 cm! and several weak bands at

approximately 1300 cm and between 2850 and 2650 cm"

which are clearly present in the P2P infrared spectra used as a

standard. Although data obtained from gas chromatography-

Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy (GC-FTIR) are

expected to show slight differences from conventional infrared

spectra, the observed differences in this case are significant.

17. That, according to the testimony of the Government's

expert, the P2P standard was at least 98 percent pure. Infrared

analyses of samples having 98 percent purity or better result in

infrared spectra of essentially the pure compound.

18. That, the band in an infrared spectrum are produced by

structural characteristics of the molecule. Very strong, strong,

medium, weak and very weak bands in an infrared spectrum

are explained by the selection rules of infrared spectroscopy

which are based upon the structure and symmetry of the

molecule and NOT upon the concentration of the compound in

the sample analyzed. If strong bands and weak bands are

present in the standard spectrum of a compound, they would

also be present in a spectrum obtained from an unknown

sample of the same compound, regardless of concentration.

19. That, the weak bands observed in the standard spectrum

are not present in the spectra obtained from the samples in this

case. For the identification of an infrared spectrum to be made

by comparison with a standard spectrum, _ it is important that

all the bands in the unknown spectrum have a relative height

relationships (sic) which is similar to the relative height

relationships in the standard spectrum. This is not occurring in

this case.

20. That, mixtures of compounds co-eluting from the gas

chromatograph's column will produce a spectrum which is an

additive result of the individual spectra of each component. ,

21. If an infrared spectrum is produced by co-eluting

compounds, the observed spectrum may be misidentified as a

compound not contained in the sample. Weak bands and

shoulders may not be seen due to peak broadening and

changes in peak height which, upon normalization, may reduce

a band below the noise level of the baseline. Medium and

strong bands may arise from only one of the co-eluting

compounds.

22. That, considering the poor quality of the library matches

between the known and unknown mass spectral data, the

missing peaks and shoulders in the infrared spectra, and the

poor agreement of the gas chromatographic retention times

available in this matter, there is a serious question as to the

scientific reliability of the identifications of P2P in any of the

samples analyzed, including those reported by the Drug

Enforcement Administration's Laboratory and by the Rhode

Island Department of Health Laboratory.

FURTHER AFFIANT SAYETH NOT.

/s/

WAYNE A MORRIS

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on this day, before me, an officer

authorized to administer oaths and take acknowledgments,

personally appeared Wayne A. Morris, known to me to be the

person described in and who executed the foregoing

instrument, who acknowledged before me that he executed

same, that I relied upon the following from (sic) of the above

named person:

and that an oath (was) taken.

Witness my hand and official seal in the County and State

last aforesaid this 24th day of June, 1997.

/s/

Notary Public

JACQUELINE F. BEAMS

Printed Name Of Notary

My Comm. Expires: 2/29 /2000

Comm. # CC 527031 (Seal)

Bonded Through

Atlantic Bonding Co., Inc.

JUNE 26, 1993

DEA SUSPENDS HEAD OF ITS OFFICE IN PROVIDENCE

The move by the federal Drug Enforcement Administration

comes after Mayor Cianci received a phony letter saying he

was the target of an investigation.

By DAN BARRY

and LAURA MEADE KIRK

Journal-Bulletin Staff Writers

PROVIDENCE - The federal Drug Enforcement

Administration's local agent in charge has been placed on paid

leave, after an investigation into a phony letter warning Mayor

Vincent A. Cianci, Jr. that he was the target of a drug

investigation. :

Vincent F. Furtado, a longtime DEA agent who has headed

the Providence office for the last two years, was relieved of his

duties - and his gun - last week, an agency spokesman said

yesterday.

The spokesman confirmed that there is "an issue of a letter."

But he said that Furtado's departure was primarily based on

questions regarding the local DEA office's relationship with

state and local departments.

Sources, however, Say the decision to remove Furtado was

prompted by a bogus letter that Cianci received in March - and

which has been traced to Furtado's office.

The one-paragraph letter, purporting to be from a

Providence police officer, warned Cianci that he was the target

of a drug investigation.

The writer said that the head of the drug unit, Inspector

Urbano Prignano, and Henry Roy, #4 officer on loan to the

DEA, "have been overheard talking about your (Cianci's) use of

drugs," and that "there is talk of a meeting with the US.

attorney about this and the ability of the PD (police

department) to catch you."

The letter also said that "there seems to be an informant that

has the information needed to set you up" - presumably for the

purpose of arresting Cianci.

Providence Police Chief Bernard Gannon emphasized

yesterday that his department has not received any accusations

of Cianci being involved with drugs. "To my knowledge, we

have never had any investigations into the mayor concerning

any criminal activities whatsoever," Gannon said.

Cianci confirmed yesterday that he had received the

unsigned letter. "It said something about beware of two

policemen who would try to set you up, and it mentioned two

police officers," Cianci said.

The mayor noted that the letter turned out to be "totally

false" and he described Prignano and Roy as "two of the finest

police officers that we have."

There is no conclusive evidence liking Furtado to the letter.

However, sources say that Furtado has been squabbling with

Providence police over the handling of drug investigations,

and the letter was interpreted by city officials as an attempt to

discredit Prignano and Roy.

Cianci forgot about the letter - until three weeks ago, when

he was visited by two agents from the DEA's professional

services unit in Washington. He said they told him they had

reason to believe the letter originated at the DEA's Providence

office.

Sources say that DEA investigators found the text of the

letter in the carbon cartridge of a typewriter in the DEA's local

headquarters. But the office is used by several DEA agents and

other law-enforcement officers.

DEA spokesman Jack Kelly declined to discuss the letter.

Instead, he emphasized that the action against Furtado was

prompted by concerns about the operation of the Providence

office.

"The primary issue is administrative in nature," Kelly said.

"It's the DEA's relationship with state and local authorities that

is being reviewed."

Prignano declined comment, as did acting U.S. Attorney

Edwin Gale. Furtado could not be reached for comment.

BEFORE THE GRAND JURY

SITTING FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

‘In re: Sworn Criminal Complaint of

Roderick A. Campbell

SWORN COMPLAINT

I, Roderick A. Campbell, duly swearing to present only

truthful information under penalty to the Grand Jury for the

Southern District of New York, do depose and swear the

following statements of fact and belief as true and accurate to

the best of my knowledge and belief:

3

I am a thoroughly qualified industrial organic

chemist with more than twenty-five (25) years

postgraduate school experience in industry.

I was convicted in February of 1994 in the District of

Rhode island of manufacturing chemical mixtures

said to contain small amounts of P2P and sentenced

in may to serve twenty-four years in prison. |

always contested the presence of any P2P in any of

my mixtures and this was the reason I took trial. At

trial it appeared that 696 grams of mixtures were

contaminated with about 750 parts per million of

P2P while about five kilograms of additional

material was admitted to be negative testing for P2P

to the limits of the scientific methods used, which

was about 1 part per million.

- D.E.A. Chemist Jack Fasanello of the Northeast

Regional D.E.A. Laboratory in Manhattan testified

that he detected P2P in six of the fourteen samples.

He testified that he was the person who received all

of these samples when they arrived at the

laboratory and that he repackaged leaking samples

when required. He also removed the samples from

the custodial vault and performed the testing.

Mr. Fasanello further testified when examined that

all of the positive, and none of the negative, testing

samples arrived at the Northeast Regional’

Laboratory in leading or broken condition.

Mr. Fasanello testified that the first positive testing

sample in the series was established by his analysis

to have been made by a reaction of phenylacetic

acid and acetic anhydride/sodium acetate. I

testified that I had lied to the investigating agent to

say that I would make such a P2P product in that

way, but I also testified that I had admitted to him

that I had lied after he had told me that the sample

had been approved. I never ran the reaction

erroneously reported to Mr. Fasanello, to which his

analysis conforms and this fact is confirmed by the

contemporaneous tape recordings of conversations

made in the investigation.

Long after I was convicted, I learned that the Rhode

Island Laboratory had analyzed all of these same

samples by the same method that had been used by

Mr. Fasanello. This service had been provided

informally to local agents because of the backlog of

work at the D.E.A. Laboratory. I requested copies

of all the work done in Rhode Island pursuantto the

Rhode Island Freedom of Information Act satute.

As a normal precaution, I had all this orginal

information sent to Mr. Albert West, Esq., Manning

and West, Attorneys, 1500 Hospital Trust Tower,

Providence, Rhode Island 02903. Mr. West has

furnished myself and the other parties mentioned in

this Complaint with attested copies of this

information wherever it has been reviewed.

The most glaring discovery from this data for a

layman is the proof that the first positive-testing

sample, which I lied about the method used and the

D.E.A. Laboratory still produced an analysis to

match the unused method, is completely different in

appearance, matching what I say was really done

and exposing Mr. Fasanello's sample and analysis to

be tampered and a lie. The other analyses

performed by the R.I. Dept. of Health Laboratory

consistently show no P2P for all fourteen samples;

there is no chromatogram "peak" at the location

where P2P would appear in any of these analyses.

I have submitted this data, first the naked D.E.A.

data when that was all that I had, and then

supplemented it with the RI. data, to Morris

Forensics, i.e., Mr. Wayne Morris. Mr. Morris wrote

an Affidavit on the quality of the D.E.A. analysis

without knowing of the discrepancy with the

R.L data. I submitted this data to Dr. William Suggs,

a biochemistry research associate professor at

Brown University, who was the retained defense

expert at my trial, who has submitted an Affidavit. |

have also submitted this data through a chemist

who took an interest in my case to the research

departments of Union Carbide Central Research,

B.F. Goodrich Specialty Chemicals, and a division of

Pfizer, Inc. Through the respective research

directors of these research groups I am informed

that the data from the two sources is "irreconcilable"

and that the complete consensus of all the scientists

is that I was framed.

Based on this information I sent a Sworn Criminal

Complaint to the Office of United States Inspector

10.

11.

General in June of this past year. When Dr. Suggs'

Affidavit became available to me in July, I called the

Office Of Inspector General to learn where it should

be sent. I was told that 1 would have to submit a

freedom of information act request for that infor-

mation. That suggestion seemed bizarre, but they

also said I could just send it. So I did. However, in

December, having heard nothing about the

Complaint, I asked Attorney West to check with Dr.

David Uliss, the Director Of Forensic Chemistry of

the R.I. Dept. of Health Laboratory. It was reported

back to me through Mr. West that no one has

-contacted Dr. Uliss or anyone at his laboratory

about my case.

I have just recently read an article from the August 8

issue of "the Nation" that says that the Attorney

General issued an unpublished memorandum order

to the Inspector General in 1994 prohibiting his

office from investigating the D.E.A. and the F.B.I.

Based on this discovery and the fact that the statute

of limitations is nearing closure, I have researched

the subject of a general grand jury investigation and

find that you should investigate this presentation

pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 3332.

I accuse D.E.A. Chemist Jack Fasanello of

manufacturing controlled mixtures containing P2P

from mixtures that originally contained none. |

accuse Chemist Jack Fasanello of distributing these

controlled substance mixtures to the State of Rhode

Island for my trial. I accuse him of falsifying

evidence, both the samples and the evidence

presented as documentary proof of the analyses;

and I accuse him of perjury in his testimony at my

trial.

12. 1 further swear to any factual statements made in

any of the supporting documents which are

appended to this Complaint as if they were set forth

at length in this Affidavit. | subscribe all the

foregoing once again under penalty of perjury.

Further Your Deponent Sayeth Not,

/s/ 2/4/98

Roderick A. Campbell 03869-070

P.O. Box 759

Minersville, Pennsylvania 17954

- '

|

‘ - .

,

* +

, , M vey

»

x >

~ . P .

- . i af Ad be ¥

, +

” j

; ; 4

? . q ay

, $ ae ?

¥ ’ é A ’

. 2

~

: 4

; -

-: ¢

» , j

n i

= -

- * : ’ 7

Ds oe ee ¥ ~

= hd -

‘

1 ( .

* /

-

t -_

. » , ‘

- 7 rr Yt "

iv _ ~ os

x ‘ 4¢ : 5 § d

~ 4 *

’ Wks

« 5 4

ny

J 4 q 4 4 pe 4

t s Yn f

; e+ 7 '

b

? i we s g i |

, , 4 a ¢

7 a P ) ae a *

> 4 4 5 LJ ae

tad me

‘ '

oe ,*, . Y ; ; : “| , ; ! a. :

es ¢

i. ed

-. os , g.73ea . )

7 i j j

‘ . 4

- of bh » ae? — > ' : ¥

“ ‘ a ; ; " : .

> 4 od,

; ’ . ‘Bes nf 2

eo 8 <a 2¢y “ n s :

y " ‘ai o tay . an a4 Ae ie PS -

+ * « 4

¥ ‘ “~ d 4

. ; ae: 4 .

= ae : ‘ : Si 5 he Ts ,

9s : Sti eon A ; ii? é <i ‘

= <i:c¢ _ ‘ ‘ & v

. é ‘ « 7s “ef a * Me Dia te De © ww Ld an 7 i

Gray: ve Tees

; : eee: c - 7 oy.

“i 7 Kos > ?

ag pot: te wv es ay a _

$ si = nal iki < adh: .

U.S. Department of Justice

Drug Enforcement Administration

Washington, D.C. 20537

October 9, 2002

Mr. Roderick A. Campbell

F.C.I. Fort Dix

#03869-070

Fort Dix, New Jersey 08640

Dear Mr. Campbell,

This is in response to your letter dated August 31, 2001,

regarding alleged tampering evidence at the Drug Enforcement

Administration-(DEA) Northeast Regional Laboratory by

Forensic Chemist Jack A. Fasanello.

Your letter was forwarded to DEA's Office of Professional

Responsibility (OPR). OPR is responsible for the investigation

of all allegations or complaints of either administrative

misconduct or criminal activity concerning DEA employees

and sworn Task Force Officers. On October 3, 2001, this matter

was forwarded to the DEA's Office of Forensic Science for

investigation.

DEA is committed to ensuring the integrity and

professionalism of its employees and is determined to

thoroughly investigate all credible allegations of employee

misconduct.

I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to my

attention.

Sincerely,

Asa Hutchinson

Administrator

M

17

3C7MS Top Level. Sel

4SH

MS date file header f

Mise \&

Sys. @: MS mode

Method file: RACX

Source temp. N/A

Chromatogrephic

Chromatographic

Chrometogrephic

"MGR : INT

»jIC019 1 70

30.91 400.0 TIC

Ups lope: .2000 Ares

Onsiope: 0.0000 Resul

Peak w. Fs first

SJ min scen

ta 19

° 193

<. ¢.¥95 211

> Per 249

6 7.92 276

7 Rm 94 342

6 *.08 352

° 19.82 448

ect a softkey... *KSHEL Keys <891130.1303>

rom : >JC019::01

Operetor: RACI REG. GRP. 4/21793 13:25

BIL@ 3

1: 70 SW/HW rev.: LF AS @: 3 Equip 10: TOXx-1

Tuning file: MT6701 a of extra records: 2

Analyzer temp.: N/A Transfer line temp. : 0

temperetures : 60. 100. 2860. 0. 0.

times, min. 1.5 § 10.0 0.0 0.0

rete, deaq/min: 10.0 15.0 0.0 -5 Cc:

Reject: 5.00 % Mex Peaks: 9? Bunch: 1 Valley »>190 %

ts File VYDIR76 Sorted by Time/Ares INT

max last peek rew corr corr. x of

scan scen height ares ares % max. total

3535 149 7a@76? 4667386 454440 £3.42 >. aR

185 193 47273 478324 474723 ip oR 4 head

203 211 255702 1792214 1740096¢* 59.42 1S. 354

224 227 262458 1723116 1711217 49.78 13.134

256 259 169724 611323 606214 17.63 4.053

288 291 348665 2765249 2756166 60.17 21.155

349 3$2 270784 1261510 1246415* 36.26 %.96? _.

357 359 227708 615222 601722 17.50 4.618

461 462 333890 3459979 3437736 100.006 26.384

Sum of corrected ereas: 13026730.

re

ope, gee |

}

|

_

'

se

iWsyoui

Ha >J 1 70 s 3

bat *ad [8d3es. H “8e".FR"|

«7 '

H

108000; Hi 106

secce ee

6e00e 91 ®

4

«9000; ., 68 4e

~ 63

2000 \ 51 7 ne 1@3 186 119 1Mee

fe a ;

e oly +1. . al - Z * 1 2 Z . 9 . a

«0 so ae ibe abe

File >vcei9 1 >. Scan 203

Box Ob 1806 SUB ROO NRM OVC 6.68 ain.

;

180;

{

ee:

° 91

° 3° 65

63

2e{ ~~ = +> 86 1e3 104 119

. N j ?? F

e A coe athehy fe ote 7 — —> —

40 6e se | 160 ibe

2C7MS Too Cevet. SeTect se softkey... *KSRET <691130.1303>»

>BMN

2-Prcpeanone, 1l-phenyl- . 134 C9H100

2-Propanone. 1-phenyl- 134 C9H100

Nee

Semple file: +*jC019 Spectrum @#: ‘203

Seerch speed: 2 Tilting option: S No. of 10M ranges searched: a=.

Prob. CAS @ CON ¢ ROOT kK OK @FLG TILT % CON C_I R_Iv

930 103797 31502 “BIGOB 80 5 1 2 88 2 68 80

4 36° 103797 315046 “B1IGDB 60 36 2 1 52 S$ 60 38

MGR

Sample “1” D.E.A.,

|

TIC of CH910001X17. 4

A5299; Run at 08:57 AM EST on Wed Mar 17, 1993

Abundance vp

DIBENZYLKETONE

PHENYLACETIC

3000000 ACID

2000000 =

1000000 <

. . - . = T tT T T T v T T T T . we 7 py

o 6 2

as 7

ae epee wee”

Beginning at 5.33 minutes, the peaks in the D.O.H. analysis

have been identified as 4-chlorobutane-I-acetate, 2- or 3-

methylacetophenone (6.20), 4- methylacetophenone (6.50),

benzylacetate (6.85), unknowns (toluic derivatives suspect),

and bibenzyl (10.81). There may also be brominated

substances. Scan 207, 4-methylacetophenone, was wrongly

identified as P2P in this analysis.

9

CORRESPONDING SAMPLES PFR RAIAIM APFIDAVIT

SAMPLE

23A D.B.A.

ABVEZT I, re _. ae eee Op 21, 1933

)

$.000+07

4800-07

3.900-07

2.900007

1280-87

0200 +09 —Bampnthet Smet AF Beppe ea Sn oun Sen Somme ome oon oe ce ae oe ee

4 ‘ 4 18 12 4

Tene (min.)

a SAMPLE 7A D.O.H.

eee aad eee i 69e wr ope i 19008 a

1900004

= .4a°*

— 1 18.40

600cee

49006,

2000e

Newey - omen

ae ee 3 18 12 14 16 18 20 22

Sample 23A is the most representative sample with complete

data.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.