Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Machipongo Land & Coal Co. v. Pennsylvania

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(1) were

~

O02 321 aus 27 2002

No. 02- OFFICE OF THE CLR

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

MACHIPONGO LAND AND COAL CO., INC., VICTOR E.

ERICKSON TRUST and JOSEPH NAUGHTON,

Petitioners,

V.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA, DEPARTMENT OF

ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES, THE ENVIRONMENTAL

QUALITY BOARD and ARTHUR A. DAVIS,

Secretary of Environmental Resources,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JoeL R. Burcat CarLA. BELIN, JR.

CHRISTINE STEIB STICKLER Counsel of Record

SAUL Ewinc LLP BELIN & KUBISTA

Two North Second Street P.O. Box 1

7" Floor 15 North Front Street

Harrisburg, PA 17101 Clearfield, PA 16830

(717) 257-7506 (814) 765-8972

Counsel for Petitioners

175310 ce)

COUNSEL PRESS \

(800) 274-3321 * (800) 359-6859

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

In this regulatory takings case, the trial court found a taking

of the Petitioners’ coal estates in an area in Clearfield County,

Pennsylvania. The Pennsylvania Supreme Court reversed and

determined that, for purposes of the takings analysis,

Pennsylvania property law providing for the unique status of

the coal estate was abolished by this Court in Keystone

Bituminous Coal Ass'n v. DeBenedictis. The Pennsylvania

Supreme Court also refused to find that the regulated parcel

was the proper denominator in the takings fraction in a manner

contrary to Penn Central Transportation Co. v. City of New

York, Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n v. DeBenedictis and the

trial court’s findings. Furthermore, it decided that the

Respondents could present the defense of a nuisance even though

the record established the state had permitted mining throughout

the area both before and after the promulgation of the regulation,

and even though Respondents admitted they did not present

any evidence at trial that Petitioners would not receive a mining

permit. Finally, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court refused to

review a clearly erroneous factual determination made

by the Commonwealth Court in dismissing one of the takings

claims, even though there was no intermediate appellate court.

The questions presented for review are:

1. Is the proper denominator in the takings fraction from a

vertical perspective the coal estate where the regulation prohibits

all mining of coal in a 555 acre tract and the state’s property

law recognizes the coal estate as a separate and unique interest

in land?

2. Is the proper denominator in the takings fraction from a

horizontal perspective the coal estate in the regulated parcel

where it has independent economic viability as it can be mined

profitably as a separate and independent unit?

il

3. May a state avoid the payment of just compensation for

a regulatory taking resulting from the adoption of a regulation

that prohibits the mining of coal, based upon purported

background principles of its nuisance law, where the state has

permitted others to mine coal in the same area both before and

after the adoption of the regulation?

4. Where there was no intermediate appellate court, should

the lower court have used the standard of review set forth in

Easley v. Cromartie to evaluate the trial court’s factual findings

in its dismissal of one of the regulatory takings claims under

the Fifth Amendment?

iii

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

Petitioner Machipongo Land and Coal Co., Inc. states that

it has no corporate parents and that it has no publicly-traded

stock.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

8 ee

Staterrent Pursuant to Rule 29.6 ...............

THRO OE BOGIES nooo gk ivwckc he cenvcsenees

Petition for Writ of Certiorari ..................

Opinions Below ............... aed ei dea a he

Statement of Jurisdiction .....................

A.

B.

Factual Background ............ceee00:

Judicial Proceedings ce ecb k ee acre ae ee

Reasons for Granting the Writ .................

I.

The Proper Denominator In The Takings

Fraction From A Vertical Perspective Is The

Coal Estate Where A Regulation Prohibits All

Mining Of Coal In A555 Acre Tract And The

State’s Property Law Recognizes The Coal

Estate As A Separate And Unique Interest In

SAE: «-bccecncee cen akesegenanaveeeaee

10

Contents

A. The Issue And The are 12

B. The Appropriateness Of Resolving The

Issue Here ....----eeeceererrreeees 19

Il. The Proper Denominator In The Takings

Fraction From A Horizontal Perspective Is

The Coal Estate In The Regulated Parcel

Where It Has Independent Economic Viability

As It Can Be Mined Profitably As A Separate

And Independent Unit. ...------sser00'? 19

Ill. A State May Not Avoid The Payrnent Of Just

Compensation For A Regulatory Taking

Resulting From The Adoption Of A

Regulation That Prohibits The Mining Of

Coal, Based Upon Purported Background

Principles Of Its Nuisance Law, Where The

State Has Permitted Others To Mine Coal In

The Same Area Both Before And After The

Adoption Of The Regulation ......-----: 25

IV. Where There Was No Intermediate Appellate

Court, The Lower Court Should Have Used

The Standard Of Review Set Forth In Easley

y. Cromartie To Evaluate The Trial Court’s

Factual Findings In Its Dismissal OfA

Regulatory Takings Claim Under The Fifth

Amendment ......---sseceresrerreee 27

COmeIROR ..n cc ce cccsccussoeuvsessereserees 30

vi

Page

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Andrus v. Allard, 444 U.S. 51, 100 S. Ct. 318,

G2 En. Wes EOP LEO TED ia Ve cenancieehaeeeus 18

Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40, 80 S. Ct.

13565, 4 ©. BG. BB oer Cee vcs hkeh caceees 20

ASARCO Inc. v. Kadish, 490 U.S. 605, 109 S. Ct.

2037, 104 L. BG. 26 GIG CIGGF) 2. cc ccessvess 7

Board of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth, 408 U.S.

564, 92 S. Ct. 2701, 33 L. Ed. 2d 548 (1972) ... 12

Bush v. Gore, 531 U.S. 98, 121 S. Ct. 525, 148

L, BG. 26 SOS LOOSE! cv iccnkccctcusuneeveses 16

Cox Broad. Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 95 S. Ct.

1029, 43 L. BG. DE Fae Geer ee «6 cscdecsarneen 6

District Intown Properties Ltd. P ship v. District of

Columbia, 198 F.3d 874 (D.C. Cir. 1999) ...... 8

Easely v. Cromartie, 532 U.S. 234, 121 S. Ct. 1452,

149 L. Ed. 2d 430, rehearing denied, 532 U.S.

1076, 121 S. Ct. 2239, 150 L. Ed. 2d 228 (2001)

re ee ee ce ii, 9, 27, 28, 29, 30

Florida Rock Indus., Inc. v. United States, 791 F.2d

893 (Fed. Cir. 1986) cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1053,

107 S. Ct. 926, 93 L. Ed. 2d 978 (1997) ....... 8

vii

Cited Authorities

Page

Johnson v. Muelberger, 340 U.S. 581, 71S. Ct. 474,

95 L. Ed. 552 (1951) ..---eeeerrrrrr 6

Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n. v. DeBenedictis,

480 U.S. 470, 107 S. Ct. 1232, 94 L. Ed. 2d 472

PN cen xed vans coevns ees sr eres ey)? passim

Loveladies Harbor, Inc. Vv. United States, 28 F.3d

1171 (Fed. Cir. IDOE) .nccccccvcccesevcccces 8

Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 USS.

1003, 112 S. Ct. 2886, 120 L. Ed. 2d 798

OMEN, pricsnacebactaueresaee teeNets yeh passim

Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 533 U.S. 606, 121 S. Ct.

2448, 150 L. Ed. 2d 592 (2001) ...- 10, 11, 20, 24, 26

Penn Central Transp. Co. v. City of New York, 438

U.S. 104, 98 S. Ct. 2646, 57 L. Ed. 2d 631

SOUND Sis a eeinn ch aees verese eects passim

Pennsylvania Coal Co. V. Mahon, ‘260 U.S. 393,

43 S. Ct. 158, 67 L. Ed. 322 (1922) ....---- 11, 14, 17

Plymouth Coal Co. ¥. Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania, 232 U.S. 531, 34 S. Ce. 359,

58 L. Ed 713 (1914) .----ee errr 11, 14, 15

Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986, 104

S. Ct. 2862, 81 L. Ed. 2d 815 (1984) ....---+-> 12, 16

Tahoe-Sierra Pres. Council, Inc. v. Tahoe Reg'l

Planning Agency, 122 S. Ct. 1465, 152 L. Ed. 2d

SUF CEES ca nx sc cneercevceesoessenseo® 10, 11, 20

Vili

Cited Authorities

Page

Webb's Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith, 449

U.S. 155, 101 S. Ct. 446, 66 L. Ed. 2d 358

SEED sas 0c Wh a Ss s waren we les eae ew oe 12, 16,17

Whitney Benefits, Inc. v. United States, 926 F.2d 1169

(Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 952, 112 S. Ct.

406, 116 L. Ed. 2d 354(1991) ..... 12, 15, 16, 19, 26

STATE CASES

Bannard v. New York State Natural Gas Corp.,

448 Pa. 239, 293 A.2d 41 (1972) ............. 17

Chartiers Block Coal Co. v. Mellon, 152 Pa. 286,

BP re EO bh cdSbne uc hediatcweunereee 17

Commonwealth ex. rel. Keator v. Clearview Coal

Co., 256 Pa. 328, 100 A. 820 (1917) .......... 17

Delaware & Hudson Canal Co. v. Hughes, 183 Pa.

Ss Oe A PP EE 85 ove nkkodusas eeneee ee 17

Machipongo Land & Coal Co. v. Commonwealth,

FOR ee FOE Gs 0k 0 ccadbkseoreunnes passim

Machipongo Land & Coal Co. v. Commonwealth,

719 A.2d 19 (Pa. Cmwith. 1998) ........ 1, 22, 28, 29

Machipongo Land & Coal Co. v. Commonwealth,

544 Pa. 271, 676 A.2d 199 (1996) ............ 6-7

McClimans v. Board of Supervisors of Shanango

Township, 107 Pa. Cmwlth. 542, 529 A.2d 562

GROPTS 65 ses 00dkeenen esandeesscdasaeuneeces 18

ix

Cited Authorities

Page

Miller & Son Paving, Inc. v. Plumstead Township,

552 Pa. 652, 717 A.2d 483 (1998) ...-.e seers 17-18

Smith v. Glen Alden Coal Co., 347 Pa. 290, 32 A.2d

227 (1943) oc cccvcnccdovcscressseseroreres 17

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

U.S. Const. Amend. V ...-----ssssrrrrrr passim

U.S. Const. Amend. XIV, | Greer 2

FEDERAL STATUTE

SOUS IGG cases dzcsesstocesrorsrersss 1,6

STATE STATUTE

$2 PS. § 1396 ....ccerccccccrererrrrrrrrr ne’ 5

STATE REGULATION

25 Pa. Code § 86.130(b)(14) ..--- eee reer 3,5

Cited Authorities

Page

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Richard A. Epstein, Jakings: Descent and

Resurrection, 1987 Sup.Ct. Rev. 1 (1987) ..... 24

John E. Fee, Unearthing the Demoninator in

Regulatory Takings Claims, 61 U. Chi. L.Rev.

Soo ae re errr es err ee 22, 24

Frank I. Michelman, Property, Utility and Fairness:

Comments on the Ethical Foundations of ‘Just

Compensation” Law, 80 Harv. L. Rev. 1165

bo re rere er mr re erie 16, 21-22, 24

xi

TABLE OFAPPENDICES

Appendix A — Opinion Of The Supreme Court Of

Pennsylvania, Middle District, Decided May 39,

OO. ccc cs unndey pene eeea eee eo oe

Appendix B — Notice Of The Commonwealth Court

Of Pennsylvania Dated October 19, 2000 ....--

Appendix C — Order Of The Commonwealth Court

Of Pennsylvania Dated September 25, 2000 ....

Appendix D — Adjudication And Decree Nisi

And Order Of The Commonwealth Court Of

Pennsylvania Dated August 21, / <n e

Appendix E — Order Of The Commonwealth Court

Of Pennsylvania Denying Motion In Limine Dated

Tecember 28, 1999 .---0<--eeere rrr

Appendix F — Memorandum Opinion And Order

Of The Commonwealth Court Of Pennsylvania

Dated And Filed October 28, 1999 --------°°:

Appendix G — Opinion And Order And Dissenting

Opinion Of The Commonwealth Court Of

Pennsylvania Dated And Filed September 30,

OR ee ees nat ac cael

Page

la

52a

53a

55a

98a

99a

1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Machipongo Land and Coal Co., Inc., Victor E. Erickson

Trust and Joseph Naughton respectfully petition for a wnt of

certiorari to review the judgment of the Supreme Court of

Pennsylvania.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania is

reported at 799 A.2d 751 (Pa. 2002); it appears at Appendix A

to the petition. Petitioners’ Appendix (Pet. App.) la— 51a. Except

as noted below, the opinions and rulings of the

trial court (Pennsylvania Commonwealth Court) were not

published. The entry of judgment in the Commonwealth Court,

appears at Appendix B. Pet. App. 52a. A revision

to the Commonwealth Court’s Adjudication and Decree

Nisi, appears at Appendix C. Pet. App. 53a — 54a.

The Commonwealth Court’s Adjudication and Decree Nisi,

is at Appendix D. Pet. App. 55a — 97a. The Commonwealth

Court’s order denying a motion in limine is at Appendix E.

Pet. App. 98a. The Commonwealth Court’s memorandum

opinion regarding nuisance is at Appendix F. Pet. App. 99a —

108a. Commonwealth Court’s opinion and order regarding

summary judgment is reported at 719 A.2d 19 (Pa. Cmwith.

1998) and appears at Appendix G Pet. App. 109a — 14 1a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court was

entered on May 30, 2002. Pet. App. 51a. This Court has

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in pertinent part: “nor shall private property be

taken for public use, without just compensation.” U.S. Const.

Amend. V.

Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides in pertinent part: “nor shall any State

2

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction

the equal protection of the laws.” U.S. Const. Amend. XIV, § 1.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Since as early as 1915, Petitioners Machipongo Land and

Coal Co., Inc., the Victor E. Erickson Trust and Joseph Naughton

(collectively, Petitioners or the Coal Owners) have owned land

in Clearfield County, Pennsylvania, for the express purpose of

mining their coal estates. In 1992, the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania, Department of Environmental Resources

(Commonwealth of Pennsylvania or DER), Environmental

Quality Board (EQB), and Arthur A. Davis, Secretary of

Environmental Resources (Secretary Davis) purportedly to

protect a small stream, promulgated a regulation that declared

all land within a 555 acre area as “unsuitable for mining.” Under

the regulation, the Coal Owners cannot surface mine any of

their coal within the regulated area, nor can they deep mine the

coal as it is not accessible except from within the regulated

area. The effect of the regulation is to completely deprive the

Petitioners of the value of their coal estates in the 555 acre area.

The Coal Owners filed this regulatory takings action against

the Commonwealth, the EQB and Secretary Davis in the

Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania alleging that the

Respondents’ actions effected a compensable taking of their

property for public use within the meaning of the Fifth

Amendment to the United States Constitution. A trial was held

to determine the effect of this regulation on Petitioners’ coal

estates. After trial, the Pennsylvania Commonwealth Court

determined that the regulation effected a taking of Petitioners’

coal estates and overturned the regulation because it violated

the Fifth Amendment to the Constitution. Following an appeal,

the Pennsylvania Supreme Court reversed and remanded.

The Petitioners now seek relief from this Court for the federal

constitutional errors committed by the court below.

A. Factual Background

On May 23, 1992, Respondent the EQB, in coordination

“vith Respondents DER and Secretary Davis, promulgated a

regulation, 25 Pa. Code § 86.130(b)(14) (the Regulation).

Pet. App. 142a— 143a. The Regulation designated 555 acres of

the Goss Run watershed, located in Woodward Township,

Clearfield County, Pennsylvania, as “Unsuitable for Mining”

(UFM). Excepted from the Regulation’s designation were two

pre-existing surface coal mines located within the Goss Run

watershed (the regulated area is referred to as the Goss Run

UFM Area). Jd. Goss Run is a narrow stream, 0.9 miles in length

and barely a foot or two wide in places. R. 260a. Goss Run

discharges into the Brisbin Dam, a 2.5 acre man-made

impoundment located at the southern border of the Goss Run

UFM Area. Jd. At least ten abandoned deep mine entries are

located within the Goss Run UFM Area and, in fact, a significant

portion of the water in Goss Run begins as mine discharges

from many of these abandoned mines. R. 260a-261a. The Goss

Run UFM Area is surrounded on three sides — west, north

and east — by existing surface mines. See Map, Pet. App. 144a.

Two of those surface mines, the Cowfer and Bonita mines, are

actually located within the Goss Run Watershed. The effect of

the Regulation was to prohibit the removal of any coal within

the area delineated by the Regulation. .

Petitioner Machipongo owns approximately 373 acres of

coal estate, as well as the surface estate, within in the UFM

Area. R. 260a. Outside the UFM Area, Machipongo also owns

200 acres in fee simple (i.e. the surface estate and the coal estate)

and over 1000 acres of coal estate in tracts thoughout Clearfield

County. R. 260a, 405a, 413a. Erickson/Naughton own

approximately 52 acres of coal estate within the UFM Area.

R. 260a, 265a. Outside the UFM Area, Erickson/N aughton also

own approximately 1150 acres in fee simple (i.e. the surface

estate and coal estate) and 250 acres of the coal estate in

Clearfield County. R. 260a, 405a, 413a. There was no evidence

in the record that these lands comprised single parcels.

[the Coal Owners’) title Subject to obtaining a permit from the

Department [of Environmental Resources].” R. 259.

Machipongo acquired its Property as early as 1915.

R. 1037a. In 1999, the Commonwealth Respondents also

Coal was taken by virtue of the Regulation:

Reserves Tons of Coal Record Reference

Machipongo Surface 355,800 tons = R. 665a

Machipongo

Underground 1,287,300 tons R. 1007a

Erickson/Naughton

Surface 359,100 tons R. 663a

B. Judicial Proceedings

On April 3, 1989, the Brisbin Recreational Board and the

Locust Grove Sportsmen Club filed a petition with DER

seeking to have a certain area of Woodward and Decatur

Townships, Clearfield County, declared UFM under the authority

of Section 4.5(b) of the Surface Mining Conservation

and Reclamation Act (“PaSMCRA”), Act of May 31, 1945,

P.L. 1198, as amended, 52 P.S. § 1396.4e(b). R. 257a. After

DER conducted its study, DER recommended to the EQB that

the Goss Run Watershed be designated as UFM. This was a

smaller area than that which was originally requested for

designation as UFM in the petition. R. 258a-259a. On May 23,

1992, the EQB published notice, 22 Pa. Bull. 2719 (May 23,

1992) and the designation was finally effectuated by

an amendment to the Regulation set forth in 25 Pa. Code

§ 86.130(b)(14). See Pet. App. 142a-143a.

As a result of the regulatory taking of their property, the

- Coal Owners filed a timely Complaint (called a Petition for

Review) to the Pennsylvania Commonwealth Court (the tnal

court) alleging that they suffered a compensable taking of their

property. See Amended Petition for Review, § 29 (“That Section

8 of [PaSMCRA] violates the Pennsylvania and United States

Constitutions in that it does not provide for just compensation

for land owners whose coal reserves are taken as a result

of a designation of an area as unsuitable for mining.”) and ¥ 30

(“That the regulations adopted to implement Section 8 are, or

have become by application . . . contrary to the. . . constitutions

of the United States and Pennsylvania.”).

From 1992 through 1999, the Coal Owners and

Respondents engaged in extensive preliminary litigation in the

courts of Pennsylvania. Finally, on August 21, 2000, following

a trial, the Commonwealth Court issued an Adjudication and

Decree Nisi which invalidated 25 Pa. Code § 86.130(b)(14)

as applied to the proposed Erickson/Naughton surface mine and

the proposed Machipongo underground mine, but not as applied

to the proposed Machipongo surface mine. Pet. App. 95a.

6

In rendering its decision, the Commonwealth Court found that

the Erickson/Naughton surface reserves and the Machipongo

underground reserves were economically viable as stand-alone

mines and struck the Regulation as applied to those mines.

Pet. App. 79a-80a, 93a, 95a. Despite clear evidence to the

contrary, the court, however, found that the Machipongo surface

reserves were insufficient in quantity to sustain mining.

Pet. App. 80a. The court then stated that any damages for a

temporary taking would be recoverable “through the normal

emi ent domain process.” Pet. App. 96a. Following post-trial

moticns, see Pet. App. 53a — 54a, final judgment was entered

October 19, 2000. Pet. App. 52a.

On May 30, 2002, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court (lower

court) largely reversed the Commonwealth Court and remanded

the case for an additional trial consistent with the tests

established by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court. Pet. _ la-

51a; 799 A.2d 751 (2000).'

1. This Court has appellate jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1257.

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court has interpreted the decisions of this

Court and issued a final determination establishing tests for determining

the relevant parcel for the purposes of a Fifth Amendment takings

analysis. Even though further proceedings are contemplated, the decision

is a final determination within the meaning of section 1257 because all

federal legal questions have been conclusively decided and cannot be

affected by the further state court proceedings. See ASARCO Inc. v.

Kadish, 490 U.S. 605, 109 S. Ct. 2037, 104 L. Ed. 2d 696 (1989);

see also Johnson v. Muelberger, 340 U.S. 581, 71 S. Ct. 474, 95 L. Ed.

552 (1951). Regardless of the outcome of the state court’s future

_ determinations on the factual issues, the federal issues already and finally

decided by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court “will survive and require

decision.” Cox Broad. Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 480, 95 S. Ct. 1029,

1038, 43 L. Ed. 2d 328 (1975). We are aware that this Court has

previously stated that eminent domain proceedings are not final unless

the state judgment addresses both a taking and the payment of just

compensation. /d. at 479 n.6, 95 S. Ct. at 1038 n.6. However, in this

case, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court specifically ruled that its

jurisdiction was based on the state’s police power and not the power of

eminent domain. Machipongo Land & Coal Co. v. Commonwealth, 544

(Cont'd)

cern ia neces aaa

7

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court acknowledged the two

tests used to assess regulatory takings claims — i.e. the

categorical takings analysis of Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal

Council, 505 U.S. 1003, 112 S. Ct. 2886, 120 L. Ed. 2d 798

(1992) and the partial takings analysis of Penn Central Transp.

Co. v. City of New York, 438 U.S. 104, 98S. Ct. 2646, 57 L. Ed.

2d 631 (1978). It noted that under either test, identifying the

relevant parcel was the critical threshold issue. Pet. App. 28a;

799 A.2d at 765.

The Commonwealth Court, relying on over 100 years of

Pennsylvania common law and precedent, recognized that the

coal estate is a separate and unique estate in land and found that

estate to be the relevant parcel from a vertical perspective. The

Pennsylvania Supreme Court, however, held that this Court had

abolished Pennsylvania’s separate recognition of estates in

Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass 'n. v. DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470,

107 S. Ct. 1232, 94 L. Ed. 2d 472 (1987). Thus, even though

the Coal Owners were only claiming a loss as to their coal estates,

the Pennsylvania Supreme Court ignored its background

principles of Pennsylvania law and based upon DeBenedictis

ruled that “‘in this case, the relevant parcel cannot be vertically

segmented and must be defined to include both the surface and

mineral rights.” Pet. App. 34a; 799 A.2d at 768.

.

Next, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court addressed the

relevant parcel from a horizontal perspective and rejected the

approach of the Commonwealth Court and the Coal Owners

(that had defined the relevant parcel as the coal estate in the

regulated area) as “overly restrictive” and the approach of the

Commonwealth (that had suggested that the relevant parcel be

defined as all of the Coal Owners’ property in Clearfield County)

as “overly inclusive.” Id. Instead, the Pennsylvania Supreme

(Cont'd)

Pa. 271, 276, 676 A.2d 199, 202 (1996). Moreover, the lower court has

refused to consider the remedy for just compensation, relegating the

Petitioners to bringing 2 separate and new action for any such damages.

See Pet. App. 51a; 799 A.2d at 775-76.

a

8

Court adopted a third approach, a so-called “flexible approach,

designed to account for factual nuances,’ consisting of several]

Central analyses.” Pet. App. 35a; 799 A.2d at 769.

After addressing the denominator issue, the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court determined that, notwithstanding its decision

9

in the UFM area to predict the likely results of mining this land.”

Pet. App. 49a; 799 A.2d at 775. It ignored the record that the

area was being mined by others both before and after the

adoption of the Regulation and that the Petitioners’ experts had

concluded the mining could be conducted without any adverse

impact on Goss Run (which was not contradicted by the

Commonwealth).

Finally, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court did not review

the factual determinations of the trial court (Commonwealth

Court) and, therefore, also employed the wrong standard of

review in this regulatory takings case. See Easely v. Cromartie,

532 U.S. 234, 121 S. Ct. 1452, 149 L. Ed. 2d 430, rehearing

denied, 532 U.S. 1076, 121 S. Ct. 2239, 150 L. Ed. 2d 228

(2001). Without any analysis, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court

adopted the legal reasoning of the trial court and did not further

inquire into the facts. Pet. App. 50-51la; 799 A.2d at 775.

This determination of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court is in

direct opposition to this Court’s determination in Easel).

As a result of these rulings by the Pennsylvania Supreme

Court, the Coal Owners’ have been deprived of the right to have

the confiscation of their coal estates evaluated under the

categorical taking test. Lucas, supra. Furthermore, the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court’s interpretation of the “background

principles of state law” defense turns that defense on its head,

allowing a state to avoid paying just compensation on the basis

of ex post facto “background principles.”

The Coal Owners timely file this Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The court below issued decisions that are in conflict with

the decisions of this Court or other lower courts on three

important questions for regulatory takings law. Furthermore,

the court below employed the improper standard of review in a

regulatory takings claim. All of those conflicts or errors warrant

resolution by this Court.

10

I. THE PROPER DENOMINATOR IN THE TAKINGS

FRACTION FROM A VERTICAL PERSPECTIVE IS THE

COAL ESTATE WHERE A REGULATION PROHIBITS

ALL MINING OF COAL IN A 555 ACRE TRACT AND

THE STATE’S PROPERTY LAW RECOGNIZES THE

COAL ESTATE AS A SEPARATE AND UNIQUE

INTEREST IN LAND.

A significant open and unresolved issue of nationwide

significance remains following this Court’s numerous

determinations on regulatory takings. That is the question of

the extent of the owner’s property to be considered when

conducting the takings analysis. The characterization of the

relevant parcel has been referred as the “denominator” issue or

sometimes the “parcel as a whole” issue. See Tahoe-Sierra Pres.

Council, Inc. v. Tahoe Reg’! Planning Agency, _U.S. __,122

S. Ct. 1465, 1469, 152 L. Ed. 2d 517 (2002); Palazzolo v. Rhode

Island, 533 U.S. 606, 631, 121 S. Ct. 2448, 2465, 150 L. Ed. 2d

592 (2001); Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1016 n.7, 112 S. Ct. at 2894 n.7;

DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. at 497, 107 S. Ct. at 1248; Penn Central,

438 U.S. at 130-31, 98 S. Ct. at 2662.

Recently, the Court has referred to this as the “difficult,

persisting question of what is the proper denominator in the

takings fraction.” Palazzolo, 533 U.S. at 631, 121 S. Ct. at 2465.

In Palazzolo, this Court noted that the issue is not settled:

Some of our cases indicate that the extent of

deprivation effected by a regulatory action is

measured against the value of the parcel as a whole,

see, e.g., Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n. v.

DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470, 497, 107 S. Ct. 1232,

94 L. Ed. 2d 472 (1987); but we have at times

expressed discomfort with the logic of this rule, see

Lucas, supra, at 1016-1017, n.7, 112 S. Ct. 2886, a

sentiment echoed by some commentators, see, e.g.,

Epstein, Takings: Descent and Resurrection, 1987

—_

11

Sup.Ct. Rev. 1, 16-17 (1987); Fee, Unearthing the

Denominator in Regulatory Takings Claims, 61 U.

Chi. L.Rev. 1535 (1994).

Id. at 631, 121 S. Ct. at 2465. Despite a number of cases in

which the parcel is a factor, the important, nationally significant

question of how the Court and litigants should define the relevant

“parcel” remains unanswered.

The attempts to define the relevant parcel, or the proper

denominator in the takings fraction, has been confusing because

a relevant parcel can be viewed from different perspectives:

the horizontal parcel which refers to the land area to be

considered, the vertical parcel which refers to the property

interest (the so-called “bundle of rights”) to be considered,

and as discussed by Tahoe-Sierra, the temporal parcel which is

the time limit on enjoyment of the property interest.

The considerations as to each perspective are different and while

fairness and justice should be the basis for any analysis to

determine the parcel from each perspective, attempts to develop

a common rationale that applies to all the different perspectives

have produced confusing and conflicting results. For this reason

the analysis as to each perspective should be conducted

separately.

In Machipongo, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court attempted

to predict this Court’s answer as to the relevant parcel from a

vertical perspective, however, the court was mistaken in its

analysis. That court misinterpreted this Court’s rulings in no

less than the following cases: Tahoe-Sierra, supra, Palazzolo,

supra; Lucas, supra, DeBenedictis, supra; Penn Central, supra,

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393, 43 S. Ct. 158,

67 L. Ed. 322 (1922); Plymouth Coal Co. v. Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania, 232 US. 531, 34S. Ct. 359, $8 L. Ed 713 (1914).

2. In Tahoe-Sierra, a case involving the denominator from a

-amneral perspective only, this Court identified the parcel question as

the “starting point for the court’s analysis.” 122 S. Ct. at 1483.

_—_—

S24... _____'e . : :™:™

12

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court is also at odds with at

least one circuit court: Whitney Benefits, Inc. v. United States,

926 F.2d 1169 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 952, 112 S. Ct.

406, 116 L. Ed. 2d 354 (1991). Because the Pennsylvania court’s

decision cannot be reconciled with the determinations of this

Court or the Federal Circuit and because the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court seeks to deny the Coal Owners an important

federal right, this Court should intervene and review the

determination of the Pennsylvania Supreme Court.

A. The Issue and the Conflict

- The sweep of the law of regulatory takings makes it evident

that a court must evaluate a case in which a Pennsylvania coal

estate has been taken solely on the basis of the coal estate.

Takings claims are and should be evaluated only by reference

to the property interest impacted as defined by state law. Reliance

on state property law is necessitated by the fact that ““[p]roperty

interests . . . are not created by the Constitution. Rather, they

are created and their dimensions are defined by existing rules

or understandings that stem from an independent source such

as state law. .. .”” Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc. v. Beckwith,

449 U.S. 155, 161, 101 S. Ct. 446, 451, 66 L. Ed. 2d 358 (1980)

(quoting Board of Regents of State Colleges v. Roth, 408 U.S.

564, 577, 92S. Ct. 2701, 2709, 33 L. Ed. 2d 548 (1972)). Indeed,

this Court has rejected the claim that the Supremacy Clause

allowed Congress to dictate that the effect of its regulation

“not vary depending on the property law of the State in which

the submitter [of trade-secret information] is located ...

If Congress can ‘pre-empt’ state property law in the manner

advocated ..., then the Taking Clause has lost all vitality.”

Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986, 1012, 104 S. Ct.

2862, 2878, 81 L. Ed. 2d 815 (1984).

In Lucas, this Court described the import of state law in

defining the property interest to be analyzed for purposes of the

takings analysis:

13

Regrettably, the rhetorical force of our ‘deprivation

of all economically feasible use’ rule is greater than

its precision, since the rule does not make clear the

‘property interest’ against which the loss of value is

to be measured. . .. The answer to this difficult

question may lie in how the owner's reasonable

expectations have been shaped by the State ’s law of

property —1é., whether and to what degree the

State’s law has accorded legal recognition and

protection to the particular interest in land with

respect to which the takings claimant alleges a

diminution in (or elimination of value.

505 U.S. at 1016 n.7, 112 S. Ct. at 2894 n.7 (emphasis added).

In this context, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court

misinterpreted this Court’s ruling in DeBenedictis as “ha[ving]

expressly rejected Pennsylvania’s division of estates within a

single parcel of land for the purposes of takings analysis.

Keystone, 480 U.S. at 479-480, 500, 107 S. Ct. 1232

(citing Andrus).” Pet. App. 30a; 799 A.2d at 766.2 In fact, this

Court did not reject the division of estates represented by

Pennsylvania property law but concluded that one of the estates

(the support estate) was an adjunct to either the surface estate

or the coal estate:

In rejecting the [petitioners’ ] argument that the

support estate had been entirely destroyed, the Court

of Appeals did not rely on the fact that the support

estate itself constitutes a bundle of many rights, but

rather considered the > support estate as just one

3. The lower court held:

However, [the United States Supreme Court] has refused

to allow: vertical severance of the mineral estate in

Keystone... - Thus, in this case, the relevant parcel cannot

be vertically segmented and must be defined to include both

the surface and mineral rights.

Pet. App. 34a, 799 A.2d at 768. Simply stated, this Court has never so

ruled.

|4

segment of a larger bundle of rights that invariably

includes either the surface estate or the mineral

estate.

DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. at 480, 107 S. Ct. at 1239.

Nowhere in DeBenedictis has this Court rejected

Pennsylvania’s coal estate as a viable, independent estate in land

for purposes of the takings analysis. The lower court has misread

this Court’s ruling in DeBenedictis. The effect is to eviscerate

Pennsylvania property law and to establish misguided precedent

that other courts may follow in ruling on regulatory takings cases.

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court also misreads this Court’s

ruling in an early — pre-Mahon — decision, Plymouth Coal. In

Plymouth Coal, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court ruled that a

state law that required coal to be left in place between two mines

did not constitute a taking of the coal. 232 US.

at 547, 34 S. Ct. at 364. This Court affirmed. Jd. As Justice

Holmes explained a few years later in Mahon, the requirement

in Plymouth Coal Co. of leaving the coal barrier in the ground

did not constitute a taking because leaving the coal barrier

provided for:

the safety of the employees of either mine in case

the other should be abandoned and allowed to fill

with water. But that was a requirement for the safety

of employees invited into the mine, and secured an

average reciprocity of advantage that has been

recognized as a justification of various laws.

Mahon, 260 U.S. at 415, 43 S. Ct. at 160 (emphasis added).

This language was echoed in Lucas. 505 U.S. at 1018, 112

S. Ct. at 2894.

Clearly, the Supreme Court understood the rule of Plymouth

Coal as applying only in takings cases where there is an “average

reciprocity of advantage.” See Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1017-18, 112

S. Ct. at 2894. Here, the Coal Owners’ coal has been taken

with no reciprocal advantage having been provided. As a result,

the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania has obtained the equivalent

15

ofa state park without having to pay for it. Unlike the Supreme

Court, however, the lower court has misconstrued Plymouth

Coal as standing for the unsupportable dichotomy that since

“(t]he coal itself is not taken” all that is lost is the use, rather

than ownership. Pet. App. 23a-24a; 799 A.2d at 763. The lower

court has misinterpreted Plymouth Coal by ruling that this

important precedent justified the Respondents’ actions.

In attempting to draw an analogy between Pennsylvania’s

law regarding surface rights and mineral rights, on the one hand

and New York’s law regarding surface rights and air rights on

the other, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court relied improperly

on this Court’s rule in Penn Central that, ““Taking’ jurisprudence

does not divide a single property into discrete segments and

attempt to determine whether rights in a particular segment have

been entirely abrogated.” Pet. App. 31a; 799 A.2d at 767 (quoting

Penn Central, 438 US. at 130, 98 S. Ct. at 2662). The problem

with the lower court’s inapt analogy is that New York does not

recognize a separate “air” estate, whereas Pennsylvania has a

long history of recognizing a separate coal estate. See infra at

16-19.

Additionally, the lower court’s holding in Machipongo

is at odds with another lower court. In Whitney Benefits, a

pre-Lucas case involving a federally designated UFM area, the

Claims Court and the Court of Appeals fer the Federal Circuit

evaluated the claim solely in terms of the coal estate taken

because the state in which the claim arose (Wyoming) reco gnized

separate estates in the minerals and the surface. 926 F.2d at

1174. As the Federal Circuit explained, the destruction of the

coal estate is the equivalent of the loss of the entire value of

that estate:

[As] the Claims Court correctly found, the only property

here involved is the right to surface mine a particular

deposit of coal. The only possible use of that right is to

- surface mine that coal. When Congress prohibited that

mining of that coal, it did not merely regulate, it took,

all the property involved in this case.

16

Id. at 1172 (emphasis in original). The Federal Circuit, in

analyzing the takings claim specified that when dealing with a

coal estate recognized by the state as a separate estate in land,

the court should examine the impact of the regulation only on

the coal estate and not on the surface estate also owned by the

claimants. Jd. at 1174.4

As this Court has required in Webbs Fabulous Pharmacies

and Ruckelshaus, a determinative issue in this case is

Pennsylvania’s law of property as it relates to coal estates.

Indeed, Pennsylvania property law ought to control, since

property rights are created by the states, not the Federal

Constitution. ° See Webb’ Fabulous Pharmacies, 449 U.S. at

4. The focus of the court in Whitney Benefits is more consistent

with the investment backed expectations of these Petitioners and is the

fairest relevant parcel under such circumstances. Further support is found

in Professor Michelman’s seminal article on takings:

Inasmuch as mining rights are well recognized, divisible

interests in land, and inasmuch as ‘rights’ to particular

surface uses have come to be recognized as species of

‘property’ under the label of ‘easement’ or ‘servitude,’ why

not say that any land consists of two ‘things’ — mining

rights and surface rights, or foundry rights and residue —

and that the relevant denominator in testing a regulation

which impinges only on mining rights or foundry rights is

the value of those rights — which the regulation totally

destroys? Why, in other words should a regulation’s own

scope sometimes define the geographical, but not the

functional, extent of the ‘thing’ said to be regulated?

Frank I. Michelman, Property, Utility, and Fairness: Comments on the

Ethical Foundations of “Just Compensation” Law, 80 Harv. L. Rev. 1165,

1193 (1967).

5. Indeed, this Court has recently cautioned that it will closely

monitor the states in their application of federal constitutional rights.

Bush v. Gore, 531 U.S. 98, 115 n.1, 121 S. Ct. 525, 535 n.1, 148

L. Ed. 2d 388 n.1 (2000) (Rehnquist, J., concurring) (citing Lucas, 505

U.S. 1003, 112 S. Ct. 2886); Jd., 531 U.S. at 138 n.1, 121 S. Ct. at 547

n.1 (Ginsburg, J., dissenting) (citing Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1032 n.18, 112

S. Ct. at 2902 n.18).

SEC

17

161, 101 U.S. at 451. The Pennsylvania Supreme Court has

recognized, that the coal estate under Pennsylvania law is in

and of itself a separate estate in real property. Smith v. Glen

Alden Coal Co., 347 Pa. 290, 304, 32 A.2d 227, 234-35 (1943);

Commonwealth ex. rel. Keator V. Clearview Coal Co., 256 Pa.

328, 331, 100A. 820 (1917). The separateness of the coal estate

in land has been recognized for many years in Pennsylvania.

See Glen Alden Coal Co., 347 Pa. at 304, 32 A.2d at 234-35

(“one person may own the coal, another the surface, and the

third the right of support”). The coal estate may be, and is, taxed

separately. Bannard v. New York State Natural Gas Corp.,

448 Pa. 239, 254, 293 A.2d 41, 50 (1972). A deed may convey

an estate in fee simple in the coal. Delaware & Hudson Canal

Co. v. Hughes, 183 Pa. 66, 69, 38 A. 568, 569 (1897).

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court has ruled that, unlike a

surface estate, there is no divisibility or segmentation of a coal

estate. See Chartiers Block Coal Co. v. Mellon, 152 Pa. 286,

296, 25 A. 597, 599 (1893) (“The grantee of the coal owns the

coal, but nothing else, save the right of access to it, and the

right to take it away.”) This uniqueness was recognized by this

Court in Mahon:

[The Kohler Act] purports to abolish what is

recognized in Pennsylvania as an estate in land — a

very valuable estate [the coal estate] — and what is

declared by the Court below to be a contract hitherto

binding the plaintiffs. If we were called upon to deal

with the plaintiffs’ position alone we should think it

clear that the statute does not disclose a public

interest sufficient to warrant so extensive a

destruction of the defendant’s constitutionally

protected rights.

260 U.S. at 414, 43 S. Ct. at 159.

The result-oriented determination of the lower court is

further evidenced by language found in a recent decision of

that court that supports the Coal Owners’ position with respect .

to a taking of the coal estate. See Miller & Son Paving, Inc. v.

18

Plumstead Township, 552 Pa. 652, 717 A.2d 483 (1998). Miller

& Son determined that there was no taking of the plaintiff’s

non-coal quarry as a result of the defendant township’s zoning

ordinance restricting quarrying activity.° In doing so, however,

the court acknowledged with approval a determination in the

case of McClimans v. Board of Supervisors of Shanango

Township, 107 Pa. Cmwlth. 542, 529 A.2d 562 (1987), in which

an ordinance that prevented coal mining was held to constitute

a taking of the coal owner’s property. The Pennsylvania Supreme

Court noted that the ordinance in McClimans “precluded the

single use the property possessed.” Miller, 552 Pa. at 658 n.7,

717 A.2d at 487 n.7. What was that single use? It was the right

to mine the coal even though the owners owned both the surface

and the coal. See McClimans, 107 Pa. Cmwlth. at 556 n.4,

529 A.2d at 569 n.4.

Over 100 years of Pennsylvania Supreme Court precedent

has firmly established that the coal estate is to be treated as a

separate estate in land; it is but a single strand — the right to

mine. This is the background principle of state law in

Pennsylvania that determines the denominator for the takings

fraction in this case. Unlike the air rights in Penn Central, which

were not recognized as a separate estate under the relevant

state law, the coal estate in Pennsylvania property law does

enjoy that status. From the relevant perspective — that of the

property owner — the interest in the coal estate has been

destroyed by the UFM designation every-bit as much as if the

Commonwealth had mined the coal for its own use and hauled

it away. The Regulation, then, does not merely inhibit one strand

in a bundle consisting of multiple strands, but destroys

completely the one and only strand held.’ The Coal Owners

6. Petitioners acknowledge that non-coal mineral estates are treated

differently than coal estates in Pennsylvania.

7. Cf. Andrus v. Allard, 444 U.S. 51, 65-66, 100 S. Ct. 318, 327,

62 L. Ed. 2d 210 (1979) (“At least where an owner possesses a full

‘bundle’ of property rights, the destruction of one ‘strand’ of the bundle

is not a taking, because the aggregate must be viewed in its entirety.”).

19

had a Constitutional right to rely on this bedrock principle of

Pennsylvania law.

This Court should establish a principle, as suggested in Penn

Central, DeBenedictis, and Lucas, that State property law

determines the vertical component of the regulated parcel.

Consequently, this Court should analyze the Coal Owners’

vertical property rights only with respect to the coal estate.

B. The Appropriateness of Resolving the Issue Here

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court has misread and

misinterpreted important Supreme Court cases that define the

parameters of the denominator issue and has failed to predict

the direction of this Court. The lower court is also in conflict

with the Federal Circuit in Whitney Benefits.

Pennsylvania property law has shaped the reasonable

investment backed expectations of the Petitioners. The selection

of the denominator by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court that

allows for the destruction of the coal estate, frustrates their

legitimate constitutionally-based expectations. The lower court’s

effort to abolish the value of the coal estate is an example of the

type of “newly decreed” ruling rejected by Lucas. 505 US. at

1029, 112 S. Ct. at 2900. The selection of a denominator should

never result in such an unfair and unjust result. This Court should

reject the newly-decreed denominator proposed by the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court that would thwart the Fifth

Amendment. This case merits immediate review and reversal

by this Court.

VIABILITY AS IT CAN BE MINED PROFITABLY AS A

SEPARATE AND INDEPENDENT UNIT.

Despite this Court’s repeated admonitions that fairness and

justice should guide the courts in making determinations

regarding takings, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court has devised

20

a test for determining the relevant parcel from a horizontal

perspective that is inherently unfair and unjust. The test, which

the lower court believed has been adopted by two other lower

courts (the Federal Circuit and District of Columbia Circuit)

should be reviewed by this Court and, ultimately, reversed.

Over four decades ago, this Court recognized that the

Takings Clause was animated by the concepts of fairness and

justice: “The Fifth Amendment’s guarantee that private property

shall not be taken for a public use without just compensation

was designed to bar Government from forcing some people alone

to bear public burdens which, in all fairness and justice, should

be bore by the public as a whole.” Armstrong v. United States,

364 US. 40, 49, 80S. Ct. 1563, 1569, 4 L. Ed. 2d 1554 (1960)

(extinguishment of lien constituted a taking which required

compensation). As this Court has recently reiterated,

“(t]he concepts of ‘fairness and justice’. . . underlie the Takings

Clause[].” Zahoe-Sierra, 122 S. Ct. at 1486 (quoting Palazzolo,

533 U.S. at 633, 121 S. Ct. at 2466 (O’Connor, J., concurring)).

At the same time, the Court acknowledges that the notion of

fairness and justice is “less than fully determinate.” Jd.

The analysis of the relevant parcel from a horizontal

perspective must begin with the land area regulated. How else

can the impact of the Regulation be analyzed? The record in

this case established that all of Petitioners’ proposed mines

within the regulated area had independent economic

significance, i.e. that each could have been mined independently

of other coal reserves as profitable, stand alone mines. R. 697a-

698a, 980a-981a, 1529a-1531a; see also Pet. App. 79a-80a, 93a.

These considerations were part of the test of the Commonwealth

Court to determine whether a discrete loss had occurred that

warranted Fifth Amendment protection:

[W]e believe the property interest by regulation

approach is the best [test] to determine the

denominator, but with some important modifications

to take into consideration the need for governmental

regulation in the public interest. Although this

Pet. App. 128a-

21

proach tilts in the landowner’s favor, ‘historically

the Takings Clause was designed to protect private

citizens from governmental interference with

property rights. Therefore, it makes sense for courts,

at least initially, to tip the scales slightly in the

plaintiff's favor.’ However, while the regulated land

would first be considered under this approach, to

determine whether it actually would be the

denominator would depend on the answers the courts

received to the following questions:

- whether the regulated land had value prior to the

regulation,

«whether the regulated land has a separate use from

the non-regulated contiguous parcel(s) — i.é.,

whether it may be profitably used if it is the only

parcel; and

* ifthe regulated land has value separate from the

contiguous land, whether all of its economic

benefit is gone.

129a; 719 A.2d at 28 (footnotes omitted).

Professor Michelman stressed this issue:

The difficulty is aggravated when the question is

raised of how to define the ‘particular thing’ whose

value is to furnish the denominator of the fraction.

Let us suppose that lown a tract of unimproved land.

Is the land necessarily one ‘thing’ for this purpose,

or might it be several? Can it, for example, ever be

regarded as geographically divided into more than

one thing? Evidently, it can be; for, if we imagine

government's practically forb

a geographically determined quarter of my farm, it

is not likely that the obligation to compensate can

be escaped by the argument that only a quarter of

the value of the ‘thing’ has been destroyed.

idding me any use of

22

Michelman, 80 Harv. L. Rev. at 1192-93.° This analysis comports

with reality. If land can be used profitably as units, and thus

create investment backed expectations for such units, surely such

units are entitled to Fifth Amendment protection.

However, the lower court rejected the trial court’s test as to

the denominator from a horizontal perspective by characterizing

it as “overly restrictive” without any explanation for its

characterization. Pet. App. 34a-35a; 799 A.2d 768. The lower

court adopted what it called a “flexible approach, designed to

account for factual nuances.” Jd. (citation omitted). It ignored

the implicit holdings of Penn Central and DeBenedictis which

were consistent with the Commonwealth Court’s test.

In Penn Central, this Court started from the characterization

of the regulated area by the New York Commission that the

terminal and the city tax block it occupied was the “landmark

site.” Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 115-116, 98 S. Ct. at 2655.

When this Court defined the relevant parcel it referred only to

the regulated area. /d. at 130-131, 98 S. Ct. at 2662-63. This

Court rejected the more expansive notion advanced by the New

York Court of Appeals which included other properties in

8. See also John E. Fee, Unearthing the Denominator in Regulatory

Takings Claims, 61 U. Chi. L. Rev. 1535 (1994). Fee explains the logic

of compensating independent economic units within the regulated area:

Similarly, the fact that an owner holds adjacent property

which may still be developed, or considered his property

as part of a larger parcel, should not bar his compensation

for the lost property any more than if the state had taken

the title to his lands. The standard of independent economic

viability restores this basic intuition to the law. It also

significantly improves the clarity and predictability of

regulatory takings law. Finally, it provides a rational basis

for assessing whether a citizen has been called upon to

sacrifice too much in the interests of society, and for

correcting those costs through just compensation.

Id. at 1563; see also Machipongo, Pet. App. 126a; 719 A.2d at 1927

(for an example of the “facial unfairness in th{e] approach” of considering

more than the regulated land).

2894 n.7 (calling the New York Court of Appeals’ effort to

consider all of the claimant’s holdings in the vicinity “an extreme

— and, we think, unsupportable — view of the relevant

calculus”).

A reading of DeBenedictis also leads to the conclusion that

the regulated parcel was selected as the denominator from a

horizontal perspective in that case. DeBenedictis involved a

facial challenge to 4 regulation. Consequently the record did

not establish the effect of the regulation on any particular area

of petitioners’ properties. 480 US. at 493, 107 S. Ct. at 1246.

As a result, the Court had no alternative but to treat all of

petitioners’ properties (which included much of Western

Pennsylvania) as the relevant parcel because it could not identify

any particular parcel where the regulation applied. Even though

the regulation required fifty percent of the coal seams to remain

in place, it was impossible to establish the effect of the regulation

on any particular area of the petitioners’ holdings. Jd.

Consequently, the Court was relegated to analyzing the effect

of the regulation on petitioners’ entire holdings as the relevant

parcel as that was the way the case was presented. Under such

circumstances, the Court reached the conclusion a partial taking

had occurred as the fifty percent claimed as lost was never

identified as a discrete parcel, unlike the present case.

The lower court has ignored the impact of the Regulation

on the Coal Owners’ land within the regulated area and has

looked to other factors to determine the relevant parcel:

These factors would include, but would not be limited

to: unity and contiguity of ownership, the dates of

acquisition, the extent to which the proposed parcel

has been treated as a single unit, the extent to which

the regulated holding benefits the unregulated holdings;

the timing of transfers, if any, in light of the developing

reguiatory environment; the owner’s investment

backed-expectations, and, the landowner’s plans for

development.

24

Pet. App. 35a; 799 A.2d at 768-769 (citations omitted).

The lower court’s test is designed to draw attention away from

the impact of the Regulation and to focus on the landowner’s

status before the Regulation was adopted. This approach ignores

the focal point of the entire inquiry: whether the effect of the

Regulation constitutes a taking. Its test is transparently unfair

because it ignores the consequences of the government action.

It is “open ended” and allows the trial court to introduce

additional, yet undefined requirements, into the takings mix.

It creates a moving target for the landowner which implicates

equal protection and due process concerns. In essence, it seeks

to reintroduce the focus of the New York Court of Appeals in

Penn Central, to the surrounding properties as well as other

factors. Under the lower court’s test, the landowner would never

know when he had been “called upon to sacrifice too much

in the interests of society.” Fee, 61 U. Chi. L. Rev. at 1563.

The lower court’s test has already been rejected by this Court as

an extreme and unsupportable calculus. Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1016

n.7, 112 S. Ct. at 2894 n.7.

This Court has never explicitly defined what constitutes

the “parcel” from a horizontal perspective. This is a question

that has not been addressed directly by this Court, although the

Court has recently indicated its “discomfort with the logic of

[the parcel as a whole ] rule.” Palazzolo, 533 U.S. at 631, 121

S. Ct. at 2465.° The Pennsylvania Supreme Court has attempted

to predict the direction of this Court in its determination and

has utterly failed. The issue is one of nationwide significance

and merits review by this Court.

9. See also Richard A. Epstein, Takings: Descent and Resurrection,

1987 Sup. Ct. Rev. 1 (1987); Fee, supra; Michelman, supra.

25

{I]. A STATE MAY NOT AVOID THE PAYMENT OF

JUST COMPENSATION FOR A REGULATORY

TAKING RESULTING FROM THE ADOPTION OF A

REGULATION THAT PROHIBITS THE MINING OF

COAL, BASED UPON PURPORTED BACKGROUND

PRINCIPLES OF ITS NUISANCE LAW, WHERE THE

STATE HAS PERMITTED OTHERS TO MINE COAL

IN THE SAME AREA BOTH BEFORE AND AFTER

THE ADOPTION OF THE REGULATION.

This Court concluded in Lucas that where a “total taking”

has occurred that the state can avoid the payment of just

compensation only ifthe proscribed use interests were not part

of his title to begin with.” 505 USS. at 1027, 112 S. Ct. at 2899.

In this case, the lower court readily admitted that mining is not

a nuisance per se in Pennsylvania. Pet. App. 49a; 799 A.2d 775.

If the Pennsylvania Supreme Court had followed the

analysis set out in Lucas, its inquiry should have begun

with whether there was other mining in the vicinity of the

regulated area and the effects of that mining. See Lucas, 505

US. at 1030-31, 112 S. Ct. at 2901. Had the lower court looked

to the record, it would have found uncontroverted evidence

that: 1) there was extensive mining within the Goss Run

Watershed both before and after the adoption of the Regulation.

See R. 260a-261a; Map, Pet. App. 144a; 2) there was extensive

mining immediately outside the Goss Run Watershed both

before and after the designation, R. 261a, 3) there were at least

ten deep mine openings within the Goss Run UFM area,

R. 261a; 4) the existing surface mines had never been cited for

polluting Goss Run, R. 543a, or shut down as a result of the

designation, R. 261a, and 5) that Petitioners’ experts had testified

that the areas covered by Petitioners’ proposed mines would be

permitted and mined without polluting Goss Run, and this

testimony was never controverted by the Commonwealth.

R. 701a-702a, 710a-7 lla, 967a; see also Pet. App. 93a. The

ineluctable conclusion that would have followed would have

awit :

26

been that the Coal Owners’ right to mine was a part of their

property rights and entitled to Fifth Amendment protection.

Rather than following the Lucas “total taking inquiry” for

determining whether the right to mine was a part of Petitioners’

title, the lower court adopted a rule purportedly based upon its

background principles of nuisance law that the proscribed use

interest was not mining but the potential pollution of Goss Run

as a defense to the taking. This test ignores the permitting process

of PaSMCRA under which the Petitioners develop geological

background data and a mining plan to demonstrate, as the other

miners had done in the area, that mining can be accomplished

without presumptive eviderice of polluting Goss Run. Rather,

its test preempts such a process and prevents the gathering of

evidence to determine “the relative ease with which the alleged

harm can be avoided through measures taken by the claimant.”

Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1031, 112 S. Ct. at 2901.!° It ignored

the traditional balancing test set forth in Lucas and adopted a

per se test as a defense to the taking.

The lower court’s rule is inherently unfair and is an example

of the “noxious use logic” that has been rejected by this Court.

A close reading of the Regulation shows the state excepted the

active mines within the watershed from the Regulation’s effect

— “hardly the action of one out to abate a ‘nuisance’ or anything

‘injurious to the health, morals, or safety of the community.””

Whitney Benefits, 926 F.2d at 1177 (quoting DeBenedictis,

480 U.S. at 489, 107 S. Ct. at 1244). The test is a transparent

attempt to revitalize this Regulation in spite of the failure of the

Commonwealth to establish any basis in the record to prevent

permitting and consequently mining by these Petitioners.

As this Court has recently held, “[a] regulation or common-

law rule cannot be a background principle for some owners but

not for others.” Palazzolo, 533 U.S. at 630, 121 S. Ct. at 2464.

10. The Commonwealth Court recognized that the Commonwealth

was seeking to deprive the Petitioners of a “full blown due process .

hearing” by preempting the process through a “legislative act.” Pet. App.

106a n.3.

27

The lower court has attempted to create a per sé rule that would

apply to the Petitioners, but not to neighboring mine operators,

in direct violation of this and the aforementioned principles.

It is clear that mining is a property right that “‘inhere[s] in the

title” to the land. Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1029, 112 S. Ct. at 2900.

In fact, with respect to the coal estate, the only right that “‘inheres”

in Coal Owners’ title 1s the right to mine.

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court has attempted to fashion

a new per se rule regarding background principles on the pretext

that the Commonwealth has aright to prevent nuisances before

they occur. In reality, the lower court is attempting to deny the

Coal Owners their due process rights to obtain a permit and

mine the coal. Moreover, the lower court’s effort at creating a

new tule is directly at odds with the background principles of

IV. WHERE THERE WAS NO INTERMEDIATE

APPELLATE COURT, THE LOWER COURT SHOULD

HAVE USED THE STANDARD OF REVIEW SET FORTH

IN EASLEY v. CROMAR TIE TO EVALUATE THE TRIAL

COURT’S FACTUAL FINDINGS IN ITS DISMISSAL OF

A REGULATORY TAKINGS CLAIM UNDER THE

FIFTH AMENDMENT. ;

In a case involving the enforcement of important

constitutional rights, this Court has ruled that in the absence of

an intermediate appellate court, the role of the Supreme Court

‘5 to review the findings of the trial court, for clear error, and, if

necessary, to overturn the trial court. Easely, 532 US. at 242,

121 S. Ct. at 1458. The Pennsylvania Supreme Court, which

did not have the benefit of an intermediate appellate court, yet

which was ruling on important Constitutional rights, utterly

28

Easely involved a challenge, under the Equal Protection

Clause, of the petitioners’ voting rights relative to a redistricting

plan. Jd. at 237, 121 S.Ct at 1456. A trial was held before a

three judge panel and the appeal was a direct appeal to this

Court. As it relates to Machipongo, this Court held:

Where an intermediate court reviews, and affirms, a

trial court’s factual findings, this Court will not

‘lightly overturn’ the concurrent findings of the two

lower courts. But in this instance there is no

intermediate court, and we are the only court of

review. Moreover, the trial here at issue was not

lengthy and the key evidence consisted primarily of

documents and expert testimony. Credibility

evaluations played a minor role. Accordingly, we

find that an extensive review of the District Court’s

findings, for clear error, is warranted.

Easely, 532 U.S. at 242-43, 121 S. Ct. at 1458-59 (citations

omitted).

In Machipongo, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court in

reviewing the Commonwealth Court’s findings of fact as they

related to Petitioner Machipongo’s important Fifth Amendment

rights, “accept[ed]” the Commonwealth Court’s factual

determination regarding the economic viability of the proposed ©

mining operation. Pet. App. 50a-51a; 799 A.2d at 775.

In particular, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court noted that

“(t]he Commonwealth Court considered detailed scientific

evidence of the economic viability of mining coal in the

UFM area and determined that ‘the Machipongo Surface Mine

... Was not economically feasible.” Jd. (citation omitted).

Significantly, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court held that “[t}he

Commonwealth Court’s legal reasoning on the issue is sound

and there is no basis here to alter its factual findings. Accordingly,

29

the Property Owners are not entitled to compensation with regard

to the Machipongo Surface Mine.” Jd."

The Coal Owners documented in their brief to the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court two significant areas of “clear

error” committed by the Commonwealth Court relating to this

proposed mine, which had it reversed would have required a

finding of mineabity of the proposed Machipongo surface mine.

These included: the failure of Commonwealth Court to consider

the total thickness of the coal reserve, See Petitioners’

Pennsylvania Supreme Court Brief at 51-56; and, the failure to

consider that both the Coal Owners and the Commonwealth’s

experts had testified that Machipongo’s surface mineable coal

was economically mineable, See id. at 56-62. Had the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court reviewed the record, that court

would have reached the conclusion that the Commonwealth

Court committed clear error.

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court, however, made no effort

(at least, none which it documented) to review the

Commonwealth Court’s findings for clear error. Even though

the majority of the evidence in Machipongo, like the evidence

in Easely, consisted of expert testimony and documents, and a

review could have been readily accomplished, the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court neglected this role. This failure of the

Pennsylvania Supreme Court is particularly egregious in view

of the fact that the Petitioners were seeking the protection of

their Fifth Amendment property rights and no intermediate

appellate court had reviewed the record to determine whether

Commonwealth Court had acted properly.

11. Inaddition to the faulty reasoning of the Pennsylvania Supreme

Court with respect to its failure to review the factual recor’, the court’s

affirmation of the Commonwealth Court's “legal reasoning on this issue”

is logically inconsistent with the remainder of its opinion. Relative to

the regulatory taking, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court does not affirm

the legal reasoning of the Commonwealth Court. In fact, the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court explicitly reversed the Commonwealth Court on the legal

test it employed to make its determination regarding the taking of the

coal. Pet. App. 33a-39a; 799 A.2d at 768-71.

The standard of review

30

employed by the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court is in conflict with the recent determination of

this Court in Easely. This case merits immediate review.

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be granted.

JoEL R. BuRCAT |

CHRISTINE STEIB STICKLER

SAUL Ewinc LLP

Two North Second Street

7* Floor

Harrisburg, PA 17101

(717) 257-7506

Respectfully submitted,

CarLA. BEL, JR.

Counsel of Record

BELIN & KUBISTA

P.O. Box 1

15 North Front Street

Clearfield, PA 16830

(814) 765-8972

Counsel for Petitioners

PO ee ee Pek ee

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE SUPREME

COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA, MIDDLE DISTRICT,

- DECIDED MAY 30, 2002

[J-172-2001]

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA

MIDDLE DISTRICT

Nos. 112 MAP 2000 and 119 MAP 2000

ARGUED: November 13, 2001

MACHIPONGO LAND AND COAL COMPANY, INC. AND

THE VICTOR E. ERICKSON TRUST AND JOSEPH

NAUGHTON,

Appellees,

V.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA, DEPART-

MENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION,

THE ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY BOARD AND

ARTHUR A. DAVIS, SECRETARY OF ENVIRONMENTAL

PROTECTION,

Appellants.

Appeal from Decree Nisi of Commonwealth Court entered

as final judgment on October 19, 2000 at No. 248MD1992.

2a

Appendix A

OPINION

MADAME JUSTICE NEWMAN DECIDED May 30, 2002

When state government determines that an intended use

of private property conflicts with legitimate public purposes,

there can be no doubt concerning the power of the

government to prohibit the private use. Penn Central Transp.

Co. v. City of New York, 438 U.S. 104, 124-125 (1978);

Machipongo Land and Coal Co., Inc. v. Commonwealth, 676

A.2d 199, 202 (1996). Indeed, “[l]ong ago it was recognized

that ‘all property in this country is held under the implied

obligation that the owner’s use of it shall not be injurious to

the community.’ ” Keystone Bituminous Coal Assn. v.

DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470, 491-492 (1987) (quoting Mugler

v. Kansas, 123 U.S. 623 (1887)). However, in our

constitutional democracy, government’s power to protect the

public is tempered by the level of intrusion upon individual

property rights. The United States Constitution provides:

No person shall be . . . deprived of . . . property,

without due process of law; nor shall private

property be taken for public use, without just

compensation.

U.S. CONST. amend. V. Similarly, the takings clause in the

Pennsylvania Constitution provides:

[NJor shall private property betaken or applied to

public use, without authority of law and without

just compensation being first made or secured.

3a

Appendix A

0. On the other hand, the responsibility

PA. CONST. art. I, § 1

of government to protect the environment from private injury

is also clear. PA. CONST. art. I, § 10 provides that:

ave a right to clean air, pure water,

f the natural, scenic,

the environment.

The people h

and to the preservation 0

historic and esthetic values of

Pennsylvania's public natural resources are the

common property of all the people, including

generations yet to come. As trustee of these

resources, the Commonwealth shall conserve and

maintain them for the benefit of all the people.

In this case, we are required to weigh the governmental

obligation to protect the environment against the individual

right to do as one wishes with property one owns.

Specifically, this case asks us to determine whether the

earfield County Goss Run Watershed

designation of the Cl

as unsuitable for mining (“UFM”), pursuant to Section 4.5

of the Pennsylvania Surface Mining Conservation and

Reclamation Act (“PaSMCRA”), Act ‘of May 31, 1945, P.L.

1198, as amended, 52 PS. § 1396.4e(b), was So unduly

oppressive so as to constitute a taking.

The Regulation, its Origins, and Purposes

In 1980, the General Assembly amended the PaSMCRA

to comply with the Federal Surface Mining Control and

Reclamation Act (FSMCRA), 30 U.S.C. § 1201, which

required states that wished to regulate mining to meet specific

federal requirements. Among those requirements, was one

4a

Appendix A

directing states to create a mechanism to designate certain

lands as UFM. 30 U.S.C. § 1272. In Section 1201(c),

Congress explained that FSMCRA was necessary to protect

the environment, its water and its streams from pollution

caused by mining. Section 1201(c) provides:

[M]any surface mining operations result in

disturbances of surface areas that burden and

adversely affect commerce and the public welfare

by destroying or diminishing the utility of

land for commercial, industrial, residential,

recreational, agricultural, and forestry purposes,

by causing erosion and landslides, by contributing

to floods, by polluting the water, by destroying

fish and wildlife habitats, by impairing natural

beauty, by damaging the property of citizens, by

creating hazards dangerous to life and property

by degrading the quality of life in local

communities, and by counteracting government

programs and efforts to conserve soil, water, and

other natural resources.

30 U.S.C. § 1201(c).

| In Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining and Reclamation

| Ass'n, 452 U.S. 264 (1981), where the U.S. Supreme Court

rejected a claim that the FMCRA was facially

unconstitutional, the Court also explained the purposes of

the FMCRA by quoting U.S. Senate and House Committee

reports. Those reports detailed the need for legislation to

protect the environment from the “adverse effects of surface

coal mining.” Jd. at 279. The Senate Report concluded that:

5a

Appendix A

[Surface] coal mining activities have imposed

large social costs on the public . . . in many areas

of the country in the form of unreclaimed lands,

water pollution, erosion, floods, slope failures,

loss of fish and wildlife resources, and a decline

in natural beauty.

Hodel, 452 U.S. at 279 (quoting S.Rep. No. 95-128, p. 50

(1977)). The House Report noted the effect on streams. It

stated:

Acid drainage which has ruined an estimated

11,000 miles of streams; the loss of prime

hardwood forest and the destruction of wildlife

habitat by strip mining; the degrading of

productive farmland; recurrent landslides;

siltation and sedimentation of river systems. ...

Hodel, 452 U.S. at 279-280 (quoting H.R.Rep. No. 95- 218,

p. 58 (1977), 1977 U.S.C.C.A.N. 596, (quoting H.R.Rep. No.

94-1445, p. 19 (1976)).

Pennsylvania codified the federal criteria to be used to

determine whether land should be deemed unsuitable for

mining. 52 P.S. § 1396.4e(b). 52 P.S. § 1396.4e(b) provides:

(b) Pursuant to the procedures set forth in this

subsection, the department may designate an area

as unsuitable for all or certain types of surface

mining operations if such operations will:

van ie

6a

Appendix A

(1) be incompatible with existing State or local

land use plans or programs;

(2) affect fragile or historic lands in which such

operations could result in significant damage to

important historic, cultural, scientific and esthetic

values and natural systems;

(3) affect renewable resources lands in which such

operations could result in a substantial loss or

reduction of long-range productivity of water

supply or of food or fiber products and such lands

to include aquifers and aquifer recharge areas; or

(4) affect natural hazard lands in which such

operations could substantially endanger life and

property, such lands to include areas subject to

frequent flooding and areas of unstable geology.

The General Assembly recited that the purpose of the

PaSMCRA is to “prevent ... the pollution of rivers and

streams,” protect wildlife and the environment generally, and

to maintain jurisdiction over in-state mining activities.

52 P.S. § 1396.1. Additionally, the regulation sought to “strike

a balance” between the environment and ensuring a ready

supply of coal. Jd.

Ta

Appendix A

The UFM Designation and the Property of Machipongo

Land and Coal Co., Inc., the Victor E. Erickson Trust

and Joseph Naughton

Pursuant to 52 P.S. § 1396.4e(b), in May of 1989, the

Brisbin Recreation Board and the Locust Grove Sportsmen

Club filed a petition with the Pennsylvania Department of

Environmental Resources! (“DER”) requesting that the Goss

Run Watershed (the “Watershed”) be declared unsuitable for

mining. The Petition sought a UFM designation for the entire

area of the Goss Run stream extending to a point below the

Brisbin Dam.

The regulation, which would have the effect of

prohibiting the mining of coal in a large portion of the

Watershed, affected the rights of the owners of property in

the UFM area. Those property owners included Appellees,

Machipongo Land and Coal Co., Inc., the Victor E. Erickson

Trust and Joseph Naughton (Collectively, the “Property

Owners’’).

Machipongo Land and Coal Co., Inc. (““Machipongo”)

is a Pennsylvania corporation, doing business in Clearfield

County, Pennsylvania. Machipongo owns in fee simple

373 acres within the UFM area and 200 acres outside of the

area. (R. 260a, 403a-405a, 414a). It also owns a coal estate

of 1000 acres in Clearfield County outside of the UFM area.

(R. 260a). Arthur Minds, a Machipongo Vice President,

testified at trial that sometime around 1915 or 1917 his

1. Effective July 1, 1995, the General Assembly renamed the

Department of Environmental Resources the Department of

Environmental Protection. 71 PS. § 1340.101.

8a

Appendix A

grandparents acquired the Machipongo property. (R. 1037a).

He said that his grandfather was in the coal business and

that Machipongo now holds the property for future coal

development. Jd. Machipongo stipulated that it did not know

what its predecessors in title paid for the property (R. 263a)

and the record does not disclose whether Machipongo paid

anything for its interest.

Machipongo has owned the property for approximately

forty-eight years and owned it on May 23, 1992, the effective

date of the UFM designation. (R. 263a). The parties also

stipulated that Machiongo has used land within the UFM

area for purposes other than coal mining. Specifically,

Machipongo has sold timber and entered into leases for gas

development. Jd. at R. 262a-263a.

The Naughton/Erickson Property Owners also own

property in the UFM area. They own a coal estate of fifty-

two acres within the UFM area and a fee simple title to 1,150

acres and 250 acres of coal estate situated outside of the UFM

area. (R. 260a). The parties also stipulated that the Naughton/

Erickson Property Owners have used their land for purposes

other than coal mining, including entering into leases for gas

development. (R.263a).

The Naughton/Erickson property is owned jointly.

Specifically, Joseph Naughton owned a 1/5 interest and Victor

E. Erickson owned the remaining 4/5 interest. (R. 256a, 260a,

263a). Joseph Naughton obtained his interest through a series

of deeds dated February 17, 1961 as a distribution from the

Estate of William Henry Naughton, who obtained his interest

pursuant to deeds dated April 26, 1945. (R. 260a).

9a

s

Appendix A

Victor E. Erickson was one of four people who obtained

an interest in the land in the 1940s from the Elk River Coal

Co. (“Elk River”). Elk River was affiliated with the Berwin

& White Coal Co., where Victor E. Erickson had been a

long-time employee responsible for closing mines and

disposing of company property. (R. 104a-105a). Victor E.

Erickson then purchased the interests of the other three for

an unknown sum. (R. 105a). In 1984, Victor E. Erickson

transferred his interest to the Victor E. Erickson Trust,

retaining a life estate for himself, followed by a life estate in

his wife. (R. 288a-303a). Upon the death of Victor E.

Erickson and his wife on August 23, 1985 and March 26,

1991 respectively, the beneficiaries of the Victor E. Erickson

Trust were the sole owners of their interest in the property.

(R. 1077a). The Victor E. Erickson Trust was the owner of

the Erickson interest on the date DER designated the property

UFM. Id. On December 16, 1994, the beneficiaries of that

trust created a new trust, the Erickson Family Trust, to

which they transferred their interest in the land. (R. 256a).

The beneficiaries of the Erickson Family Trust were the same

people who, in 1992, originally commenced this lawsuit, in

their capacity as remainder beneficiaries of the Victor E.

Erickson Trust. (R. 1077a).

On January 5, 1990, Property Owners requested and were

granted leave to intervene in the DER administrative

proceedings. (R. 257a). At the public hearing, Property

Owners presented fact and expert witnesses. (R. 258a-259a).

After the hearing, DER conducted a technical study to

determine whether to designate the Watershed as UFM

pursuant to the criteria set forth in 52 PS. § 1396.4e.

(R. 258a). According to the Commonwealth Court, the study

10a

Appendix A

concluded that surface mining of coal within the Watershed

had a “high potential to cause increases in dissolved solid

and metal concentrations in Goss Run that would

adversely affect the use of the stream as an auxiliary water

supply” and “a significant potential to disrupt the

hydrologic balance causing decreases in the net alkalinity

of discharges ... destroying the habitat for wild trout

populations.” Machipongo Land and Coal Co., Inc. v.

Commonwealth, No. 248 M.D.1992, slip op. at 3 (Pa.Cmwlth.

August 21, 2000) (emphasis added).

Consequently, DER recommended that the

Environmental Quality Board (“EQB”) approve a regulation

designating the surface mineable coals located within the

Watershed upstream of the Brisbin Dam as UFM.? The EQB

approved the proposed regulation. The regulation provides:

The surface mineable coal reserves within the

Goss Run Watershed upstream of the Brisbin

Dam, including a small tract of land within the

watershed of the West Tributary to Goss Run, a

total of approximately 555 acres, are designated

unsuitable for all types of surface mining

activities.

25 Pa.Code § 86.130(h)(14).

2. The final regulation was substantially more limited than the

proposal. Specifically, the UFM designation did not extend past the

Brisbin Dam. The regulation also provided that it did not apply to

areas within the UFM area where DER had previously permitted

mining, including the Bonita and Cowfer permit areas. 25 Pa.Code

§ 86.130(h)(14).

lla

Appendix A

Procedural History

In 1992, Property Owners sued the Commonwealth of

Pennsylvania, DER, EQB and DER Secretary Arthur A. Davis

(collectively, the “Commonwealth”). Property Owners

claimed that the regulation took their property without

compensation. They requested that the Commonwealth Court

declare the regulation invalid and refer the case to the

Common Pleas Court for a determination of damages

pursuant to the Eminent Domain Code. Machipongo Land

and Coal Co., Inc. V. Commonwealth, 624 A.2d 742, 746

(1993) (Machipongo I).

In response to the 1992 complaint, the Commonwealth

filed preliminary objections and a demurrer. Id. at 745.

The court considered the arguments of the parties and

determined that the section of the PaSMCRA at issue was

not facially unconstitutional; Id. at 750, but that the

Environmental Hearing Board (“EHB”) should determine

whether its application to the Property Owners constituted a

taking. Jd. at 753-755. The court also held that because it

would have been futile to seek further administrative relief,

Property Owners did not fail to exhaust their administrative

remedies. Id. at 751.

Property Owners appealed to this Court. Machipongo

Land and Coal Co., Inc. v. Commonwealth, 648 A.2d 767

(Pa. 1994) (Machipongo II). We affirmed the Commonwealth

Court’s determination that Property Owners need not have

pursued further administrative relief before seeking redress

from the courts. Jd. at 769. However, we disagreed with the

holding of the court to the extent that it stated that the EHB

12a

Appendix A

stated that the EHB was the proper forum in which the

case should proceed. Instead, we determined that the Court

of Common Pleas of Clearfield County had jurisdiction.

Id. at 770.

Thereafter, we granted reargument to consider whether

the Commonwealth Court or the Court of Common Pleas

should have jurisdiction over further proceedings to resolve

the issue of whether the “state action taken pursuant to its

police powers [had] gone too far and constitute[d] a de facto

taking requiring the state to provide just compensation.”

Machipongo Land and Coal Co., Inc. v. Commonwealth,

676 A.2d 199, 203, n.3 (1996) (Machipongo III).

We observed that the Judicial Code provides that the

Commonwealth Court shall have jurisdiction over all civil

actions against the Commonwealth, but shall not have

jurisdiction in eminent domain proceedings. /d. (citing 42

Pa.C.S. § 761). We then examined the nature of the action

against the Commonwealth to determine whether it fell within

the eminent domain exception to the jurisdiction of the

Commonwealth Court. Machipongo III, 676 A.2d at 202.

Because the PaSMCRA, the basis for the regulation the

Property Owners challenged, was promulgated pursuant to

the police power’ and not the power of eminent domain, we

3. Section 1 of the PASMCRA provides, in pertinent part, that:

“[the] act shall be deemed to be an exercise of the police powers of

the Commonwealth for the general welfare of the people of the

Commonwealth [.]” 52 P.S. § 1396.1.

Regulations promulgated pursuant to the police power are

distinguishable from those issued pursuant to the eminent domain

(Cont'd)

13a

Appendix A

determined that the exception to jurisdiction did not apply.

Id. at 202-203. Consequently, we vacated our prior Order

only to the extent that it had remanded the case to the Court

of Common Pleas. Instead, we returned the matter to the

Commonwealth Court to consider whether the regulation

constituted a taking.

Property Owners then filed a petition for review with

the Commonwealth Court. They challenged the designation

of their property as UFM. Machipongo Land and Coal Co.,

Inc. v. Commonwealth, 719 A.2d 19 (Pa.Cmwlth. 1998)

(Machipongo IV). The Commonwealth moved for summary

judgment, asserting that the designation was a proper exercise

of police power and was not unduly oppressive. Jd. at 23.

Property Owners argued that the regulation had deprived

them of the right to mine their coal and that it was a taking

because it denied them all economic use of their property.

Id. The Commonwealth Court recited factors that the

U.S. Supreme Court has identified as relevant to the

determination of whether a categorical taking had occurred: -

(Cont'd)

power of the Commonwealth. In Machipongo III, 676 A.2d at 202,

this Court quoted its decision in Appeal of White, 134 A. 409 (1926),

where we stated that:

[Plolice power should not be confused with that of

eminent domain. Police power controls the use of

property by the owner, for the public good, its use

otherwise being harmful, while eminent domain and

taxation take property for public use. ...

Id. at 411.

14a

Appendix A

¢ whether the public interest requires regulatory

interference with the property right;

¢ whether the regulation is reasonably related to

that goal;

¢ whether the amount of property taken deprives

an owner of all economical viable uses of

the property, measured by what is taken

(the numerator) against what was left (the

denominator);

whether the property owner’s actions or

proposed actions would cause a nuisance.

Id. at 26 (citing Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council,

505 U.S. 1003 (1992)). The Court then discussed the

problems courts have had in determining what parcel of land

to use as the denominator in the third factor articulated above.

Machipongo IV, 719 A.2d at 26. Citing John E. Fee,

Unearthing the Denominator in Regulatory Takings Claims,

61 U. CHI. L. REV. 1535 (1996), the Commonwealth Court

decided to use the coal estates within the UFM area as the

denominator.‘ Machipongo IV, 719 A.2d at 29. Because the

4. However, the approach of the law review article was never

intended to apply in vertical segmentation cases. Specifically, the

article explained that:

[uJnder a rule of substantiality, however, the ability of

the owner to define the parcel would be limited in two

important ways. First the rule would apply only to

horizontal divisions of land. Under clear Supreme Court

(Cont’d)

15a

Appendix A

takings equation compares the use taken away by the

regulation with all the possible uses, the decision to use the

coal estates as the denominator guaranteed a taking unless

application of the following three considerations, listed by

the Commonwealth Court, made the property valueless.

Those considerations were:

1. whether the regulated land had value prior to

the regulation;

2. whether the regulated land has a separate use

from the non regulated contiguous parcel(s);

and

3. if the regulated land has value separate from

the contiguous land, whether all of its

economic benefit is gone.

Id. at 28. The Commonwealth Court explained that the

purpose of the considerations was to ensure that it did

not find a taking if the subject land did hot have any value.

That is, if the land did not have value before the regulation,

there is no taking because the government should not

be deemed to take property that has no independent value.

(Cont'd)

precedent, a property owner would have no authority to

divide property rights into uses, easements, servitudes

or the like. In addition, under the authority of [Penn

Central, 438 U.S. 104] and Keystone, courts must

consider all air, surface, and subsurface rights of a

particular parcel as a single bundle of property rights.

Fee, 61 U. CHI. L.REV. at 1558 (emphasis added).

l6a

Appendix A

On the other hand, if the land had value separate from

unregulated contiguous land, and the regulation made the

land valueless, the regulation would constitute a taking.

Id.

The Commonwealth Court then cited to Pennsylvania

cases that have held that Pennsylvania recognizes separate

estates in the same piece of land including: surface; coal/

mineral; and support. The court reasoned that because the

estates in land may be separated for purposes of ownership,

the coal estate should be used as the parcel to determine

whether a taking has occurred. Because it found that issues

of fact existed; though, as to whether the coal estate had any

independent value, the court denied the summary judgement

motion. /d. at 30.

Senior Judge Rodgers dissented. He would have granted

summary judgment in favor of the Commonwealth because

he believed that the majority improperly used the coal estates

as the denominator in the takings equation. Machipongo IV,

719 A.2d at 30. He explained that:

[the Commonwealth Court] has acknowledged

that for the purpose of deciding taking issues

under the federal constitution, the vertical division

recognized in Pennsylvania law that coal, surface,

and the right to support are three separate estates

is without significance.

Id. In his view, the alternative uses of the property and the

fact that the regulation affected a relatively small portion of

their property foreclosed the finding of a taking.

17a

Appendix A

It is undisputed that the petitioners in this case

have other uses for their properties, including the

sale of oil and gas rights, the sale of timber,

and the sale of land for residential and other uses.

The petitioners have therefore failed to adduce any

evidence of a taking under federal law.

Id. Consequently, Senior Judge Rodgers would have held that

the regulation was not a taking. Id. at 31.

After denying the summary judgment motion, the

Commonwealth Court addressed the question of whether the

Commonwealth would be allowed to introduce evidence at

trial that the proposed mining activities would constitute a

public nuisance. Machipongo Land and Coal Co., Inc. v.

Commonwealth, No. 248 M.D.1992, slip Op. at 2 (Pa.Cmwith.

October 28, 1999) (Machipongo V). The Commonwealth

argued, pursuant to Lucas, supra., that ifthe Property Owners’

proposed actions constituted a nuisance, the regulation could

not be a taking. Rejecting that argument, the Commonwealth

Court declined to permit the Commonwealth to present

evidence of nuisance because it held, as a matter of law, that

the proposed actions of Property Owners could not rise to

the level of a public nuisance. Machipongo Land and Coal

Co., Inc. v. Commonwealth, No. 248 M.D.1992, slip op. at 8

(Pa.Cmwith. August 21, 2000) (Machipongo VI).

The case proceeded to trial where Property Owners

claimed that the regulation was @ taking with regard to their

coal rights as to three separate sections of the UFM area.’

5. Erickson Surface Reserves: a 27-acre area west of the Bonita

Surface Mining Pit; Machipongo Surface Reserves: a 35-acre area

(Cont’d)

18a

Appendix A

Because the Commonwealth Court had already determined

that the coal estates (as spposed to the property as a whole)

were to be used as the takings denominator, the only fact

that the Commonwealth Court deemed to be at issue was

“whether there. . . [was] sufficient mineable coa!, in amount

and quality, for . . . [Property Owners] to economically mine

each of those reserves.” Jd. at 12-13.

The Commonwealth Court did not address the issue of

compensation. Instead, it explained that “if any and all of

the reserves are economically mineable, then the UFM

designation for that portion of the coal reserves deemed

mineable will be stricken.” Jd. After consideration of detailed

scientific evidence of the economic viability of mining coal

in the UFM area, the Commonwealth Court determined that

“because ... the proposed [Naughton/Erickson] Surface

Mine and the Machipongo Underground mine [we]re

economically viable, ... the . . . designation [as UFM with

regard to those areas] is stricken from the regulation.” /d. at

37-38. However, “because the Machipongo Surface Mine. . .

[is] not economically feasible, nothing was taken and the

designation for that area remains in place.” Jd. at 38.

Therefore, the Commonwealth Court struck the regulation

with regard to part of the UFM area but not with regard to

the entire area.

(Cont'd)

within the Watershed east of Goss Run and southeast of the Bonita

Surface Mining Pit; and, Machipongo Underground Reserves:

a 96-acre area west of Goss Run within the Goss Run UFM

designation.

19a

Appendix A

The parties appealed the Order of the Commonwealth

Court. On September 26, 2001, we directed the parties to

file supplemental briefs to address the following additional

issues:

(1) whether the regulatory desi gnation of certain

areas as unsuitable for mining amounted to a

regulatory taking;

(2) ifsucha taking has occurred, by what means

may damages be sought, and;

(3) whether such a taking constitutes a personal

right that passes to a successor in interest.

Machipongo Land and Coal Co., Inc. Vv. Commonwealth,

Nos. 112 and 119 MAP 2000, Per Curiam Order at 1

(Pa. September 26, 2001).

Discussion

The Commonwealth contends that Erickson, a Property

Owner, lacks standing to pursue its takings claim because

the beneficiaries of the Victor E. Erickson Trust, the owner

of the Erickson interest on the date DER designated the

property UFM, transferred their interest in the Erickson

property to the Erickson Family Trust. (R. 256a).

The question is whether the transfer to the Erickson Family

Trust divests Erickson of its standing to pursue a takings

claim.

20a

Appendix A

The U.S. Supreme Court has recently addressed the

issue of standing in the context of another takings case.

See Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 533 U.S. 606, 121 S.Ct. 2448,

(2001). Palazzolo is instructive in this case because it sets

forth the position of the U.S. Supreme Court on the issue of

whether a party who does not own regulated property on the

effective date of a regulation, but later acquires it, has

standing to assert a takings claim.® Therefore, we turn to the

facts of Palazzolo. In 1957, Shore Gardens Inc., a corporation

that Mr. Palazzolo formed with some associates, purchased

land in Westerly, Rhode Island. After the purchase,

Mr. Palazzolo bought out the other investors and became the

sole shareholder. In 1971, Rhode Island created the Rhode

Island Coastal Resources Management Council, which

enacted regulations that prohibited building in wetlands

unless there was a compelling public purpose for an

exception. Jd., 121 S.Ct. at 2456. In 1978, the corporation

was dissolved for failing to pay its taxes. As a result, by

operation of Rhode Island Law, Mr. Palazzolo became the

owner.

Mr. Palazzolo submitted a proposal to the Coastal

Council for permission:to fill eleven of his remaining

eighteen acres to build a beach club. Jd. The Coastal Council

denied his application and the lower courts upheld the denial.

On appeal, the Rhode Island Supreme Court held, among

other things, that he lacked standing to raise an objection to

the regulation because he became the owner of the property

after the enactment of the regulations.

6. Although we are not bound by the decisions of the U.S.

Supreme Court on issues of standing (see ASARCO Inc. v. Kadish,

109 S.Ct. 2037, 2045, 104 L.Ed.2d 696 (1989)), we find the reasoning

of that Court persuasive.

21a

Appendix A

The U.S. Supreme Court reversed. Although the justices

addressed the standing issue in several separate Opinions, a

majority held that Mr. Palazzolo had standing to raise the

takings claim notwithstanding that ownership of the property

was transferred to him after the effective date of the

regulation. 121 S.Ct. at 2457. In regulatory taking cases that

do not involve a physical invasion of private property, Justice

Kennedy, Justice Thomas, and Chief Justice Rehnquist

declined to adopt a “blanket rule” that would prevent a

subsequent owner from asserting a taking claim. 121 S.Ct.

at 2463. Justice O’Connor concurred and explained that

the time of ownership should inform the Court’s investment-

backed expectation analysis and should not bar the claim

of Mr. Palazzolo even though his corporation (and not

Mr. Palazzolo) was the owner of the property on the effective

date of the regulation. 121 S.Ct. at 2465- 2466. J ustice Scalia

would go even further. In his “view, the fact that a restriction

existed at the time the purchaser took title .. . should have

no bearing upon the determination of whether the restriction

is so substantial as to constitute a taking. ... [He further

stated that a]. . . taking. . - is not absolved by the transfer of

title.” 121 S.Ct. at 2468. He reasoned that a taking is a

constitutional claim that affects owners of land, and would

not let the passage of title bar that claim.

Accordingly, a majority of the U.S. Supreme Court has

held that the Palazzolo transfer of ownership, which occurred

as a matter of law and transferred ownership from 4

corporation to an individual after the effective date of the

regulation, did not prevent the individual from asserting 4

takings claim. A similar result should follow in this case.

Consequently, we hold that where ownership of the Erickson

22a

Appendix A

property transferred from one trust to another with no new

beneficiaries and where the regulation did not authorize a

physical invasion of private property, the change in ownership

does not divest Erickson of standing to assert its takings

claim.

Takings Analysis

The problem of balancing governmental power to

regulate the permissible uses of private property with

individual property rights is not a new one, but it is a problem

that has not been solved despite multiple attempts to

formulate a rule that would apply in all situations. The U.S.

Supreme Court recognized that it has:

quite simply ... been unable to develop any

“set formula” for determining when “justice and

fairness” require that economic injuries caused

by public action be compensated by the

government, rather than remain disproportionately

concentrated on a few persons.

Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 124. Nevertheless, our Opinions

and the Opinions of the U.S. Supreme Court have set forth

some guiding principles.’

7. This Court has consistently relied upon the decisions of the

U.S. Supreme Court when considering takings issues. We have stated:

[a]n examination of our caselaw reveals that this Court

has continually turned to federal precedent for guidance

in its “taking” jurisprudence, and indeed has adopted

the analysis used by the federal courts.

(Cont’d)

23a

Appendix A

If a regulation authorizes a physical invasion of private

property, no matter how slight, the U.S. Supreme Court has

- consistently concluded that a taking has occurred. Loretto Vv.

Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S. 419, 422

(1982) (holding that a New York law requiring building

owners to permit cable companies to install cable facilities

on their premises constituted a taking). Clearly, “[a] taking

may more readily be found when the interference with

property can be characterized as a physical invasion by

government[.]” Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 124.

In this case, we are not unsympathetic to the claim of

Property Owners that the regulation “had the same effect as

if the Commonwealth had mined the coal and hauled it away.”

Property Owners’ Main Brief at 13. The reality is, however,

that the regulation did not authorize the removal of any coal

or any physical invasion 0

f or access to their land. Indeed, as

this Court explained in Commonwealth v. Plymouth Coal Co.,

g1 A. 148 (1911), aff'd, 232 U.S. 531 (1914), requiring

landowners to leave coal in the ground is not the equivalent

of an appropriation of that coal. Plymouth Coal, 81 A. at

151. In holding that the statute at issue in Plymouth Coal did

not constitute a taking, we said:

(Cont’d)

United Artists’ Theater Circuit, Inc.

612, 616 (1993) (upholding 4 Philadel

ordinance, this Court applied Commonwealth

887 (1991) test and held that, with regard to a landmark designation,

the takings clause in the Pennsylvania Constitution does not provide

more extensive protections than those offered by the U.S.

Constitution).

y. City of Philadelphia, 635 A.2d

phia historic landmark

y. Edmunds, 586 A.2d

24a

Appendix A

The coal itself is not taken. The property right

affected by the statute is not ownership, but use,

of the material thing — the right to mine it out.

Nor does the state take that right for public use.

The act does not transfer the right to mine out the

coal from the owner to some one else, for the

public benefit, but prohibits that right from being

exercised by anyone. ...

Id.*

Furthermore, not all regulations that affect private

property require the government to purchase the land in order

to regulate its permissible uses. Indeed, the government

would quickly bankrupt itself if, every time it made a rule

that affected private property rights, it had to purchase the

property. Keystone Bituminous Coal Assn. v. DeBenedictis,

480 U.S. 470, 491 (1987). The U.S. Supreme Court has

explained the utilitarian philosophical basis for permitting

government to enact legislation that affects private property

rights as follows: ;

Under our system of government, one of the

State’s primary ways of preserving the public weal

is restricting the uses individuals can make of

their property. While each of us is burdened

8. At issue in Plymouth Coal was the Anthracite Mining

Act, Act of June 2, 1981, P.L. 183, as amended, 52 P.S. § 264

(repealed 1965), which required owners of adjoining mines to

maintain a coal barrier between the mines. We held that the statute

did not violate the takings clause of the Pennsylvania Constitution.

Id. 81 A. at 151, 152.

25a

Appendix A

somewhat by such restrictions, we, in turn, benefit

greatly from the restrictions that are placed on

others. These restrictions are properly treated as

part of the burden of common citizenship. .. -

[T]he Takings Clause did not transform that

principle to one that requires compensation

whenever the State asserts its power to enforce it.

Id. (internal citations omitted). Indeed, in this case we are

mindful of the potential for extended litigation and

extraordinary cost to the Commonwealth if compensation is

required for all UFM designations.” The often repeated

maxim that “[glovernment hardly could go on if to some

extent values incident to property could not be diminished

without paying for every such change in the general law”

rings truer today than ever. Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon,

260 U.S. 393, 413 (1922).

We have also recognized that the government may enact

laws that have significant impact on private property rights

without the need to compensate the affected landowner.

Miller & Son Paving, Inc. Vv. Plumstead Township, 717 A.2d

483 (1998), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 1121 (1999). In Miller,

we held that a landowner was not entitled to payment from

the township that had prevented the operation of a quarry

because “other viable uses [uf the land] existed.” Id. at 486.

We explained, “that a taking does not result merely because

a regulation ... deprive[s] the owner of the most profitable

use of his propeity. Otherwise all zoning regulations could

9. In addition to the instant UFM designation,

the Commonwealth has designated sixteen other areas as UFM.

See 25 Pa.Code § 86.130 b(1)- (17).

26a

Appendix A

be categorized as ‘takings’ in the sense that the owner is

not completely free to use his property as he chooses.”

Id. at 486. Our view is consistent with repeated holdings of

the U.S. Supreme Court:

It is, to be sure, undeniable that the regulations

here prevent the most profitable use of appellees’

property. Again, however, that is not dispositive.

When we review regulation[s], a reduction in the

value of property is not necessarily equated with

a taking.

Andrus v. Allard, 444 U.S. 51, 66 (1979) (reviewing federal

statute prohibiting the sale of products derived from

eagles even if obtained before the statute’s enactment);

Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 124 (discussing landmark

designation that prohibited construction of building over New

York’s Grand Central Station); Goldblatt v. Town of

Hempstead, 369 U.S. 590 (1962) (examining application of

town ordinance that prohibited a land owner from operating

a sand and gravel pit notwithstanding that he had, for thirty-

five years prior to the ordinance, used the land for that

purpose); and Miller v. Schoene, 276 U.S. 272 (1928)

(reviewing order requiring the removal of cedar trees to

protect neighboring apple orchards from disease).

Although none of the foregoing governmental actions

were found to constitute a taking, at some point, a regulation

“goes too far.” Pennsylvania Coal Co., 260 U.S. at 415.

A regulation goes too far when it forces “some people alone

to bear public burdens which in all fairness and justice should

be borne by the public as a whole.” Palazzolo, 121 S.Ct. at

27a

Appendix A

2458 (quoting Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40, 49

(1960)). This fairness and justice standard, although

amorphous, necessarily guides our analysis.

The Standards: the Lucas Test and the

Traditional Takings Analysis

In non-appropriation/non-physical invasion cases, the

U.S. Supreme Court applies two tests to determine whether

a taking has occurred. Palazzolo, 121 S.Ct. at 2457. The first

test addresses the “relatively rare” situation in which a land

use regulation deprives the owner of all use of his or her

property. Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S.

1003, 1017 (1992). The second “test” is the more traditional

takings analysis, which becomes applicable if the regulation

does not rise to the level of a Lucas taking. The U.S. Supreme

Court explained that:

[A] regulation which “denies all economically

beneficial or productive use of land”: will require

compensation under the Takings Clause. Lucas,

505 U.S. at 1015.... Where, [however] a

regulation places limitations on land that fall short

of eliminating all economically beneficial use, a

taking nonetheless may have occurred, depending

upon a complex of factors including the

regulation’s economic effect on the landowner, the

extent to which the regulation interferes

with reasonable investment-backed expectations,

and the character of the government action.

Penn Central, [438 U.S.] at 124.

28a

Appendix A

Palazzolo, 121 S.Ct. at 2457. The U.S. Supreme Court has

recently described this second test as an analysis pursuant to

“the principles set forth in Penn Central.” Palazzolo, 121

S.Ct. at 2457 (internal citation omitted) (remanding

consideration of a land use regulation — that did not rise to

the level of a Lucas taking — to the Rhode Island Supreme

Court for further proceedings consistent with Penn Central).

We will analyze this case based on the foregoing

framework. First, we ask whether the regulatory action

“ “denies [the Property Owners of] all economically

beneficial or productive use of land.’ ” Palazzolo, 121 S.Ct.

at 2457 (quoting Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1015). If it does, unless

the use constitutes a nuisance, we will find that a taking has

occurred. If not, we will consider whether, at this juncture, it

is appropriate for this Court to undertake the Penn Central

analysis.

Takings Denominator

Pursuant to either analysis, there is a threshold question,

frequently referred to as the “denominator problem,” which

must be answered: what is the parcel against which the

takings tests are applied? See Keystone, 480 U.S. 470 at 479.

For if we define the area broadly, almost no government

action — no matter how intrusive — will be found to be a

taking. See John E. Fee, Unearthing the Denominator in

Regulatory Takings Claims, 61 U. CHI. L. REV. 1535, 1536

(1996). Similarly, if we define the land too narrowly, virtually

all government action that affects private property will be a

taking that requires compensation and government will be

inhibited from enacting necessary legislation. Jd.

29a

Appendix A

Because property is conceptualized as a “bundle” of

“property rights”, see Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan

CATV, Corp., 458 U.S. 419, 435 (1982), courts have had to

struggle with what has been referred to as “severance” issues

in defining the relevant parcel. See Marc R. Lisker,

Regulatory Takings and the Denominator Problem,

27 RUTGERS L.J. 663 (Spring 1966) (“the Lisker Article”).

In other words, the courts have been called upon to consider

whether some of the property rights in the bundle may be

severed from the others and viewed separately as the relevant

parcel. Severance issues have involved the following:

(1) the horizontal, physical division of property — is the

relevant parcel all the land in a given geographic area that

one owns or some smaller portion of that acreage, Florida

Rock Industries v. United States, 791 F.2d 893 (Fed.Cir.1986);

(2) the vertical division of property — can the parcel be

divided among air rights, surface rights, and mineral rights,

Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 130 and Keystone, 480 U.S.

at 470 or (3) the temporal division of property — can

the property be viewed in discrete temporal units, Tahoe-

Sierra Pres. Council Inc. v. Tahoe Reg. Planning Agency,

535 U.S. _, WL 654431 (2002).

Resolving the denominator problem profoundly

influences the outcome of a takings analysis. Again, the more

narrowly the relevant parcel is defined, the more likely is

the finding of a taking under either test, and vice versa. See

Loveladies Harbor, Inc. v. United States, 28 F.3d 1171, 1180

(Fed.Cir.1994). In this case, defining the relevant parcel raises

horizontal and vertical severance issues.

30a

Appendix A

Vertical Conceptualization of Property

The U.S. Supreme Court has expressly rejected

Pennsylvania’s division of estates within a single parcel of

land for the purposes of takings analysis. Keystone, 480 U.S.

at 479-480, 500 (citing Andrus). Specifically, the Court

stated:

Pennsylvania property law is apparently unique

in regarding the support estate as a separate

interest in land that can be conveyed apart from

either the mineral estate or the surface estate.

Petitioners therefore argue that even if comparable

legislation in another State would not constitute

a taking, the Subsidence Act has that consequence

because it entirely destroys the value of their

unique support estate. It is clear, however, that

our takings jurisprudence forecloses reliance

on such legalistic distinctions within a bundle

of property rights.

Keystone, 480 U.S. at 500 (emphasis added).'° Accordingly,

the U.S. Supreme Court held that the property as a whole

was the unit of inquiry.

10. The Supreme Court affirmed the Third Circuit’s

determination that:

To focus upon the support estate separately when

addressing the diminution of the value of plaintiffs’

property caused by the Subsidence Act therefore would

serve little purpose. The support estate is more properly

viewed as only one “strand” in the plaintiff’s “bundle”

of property rights, which also includes the mineral estate.

Keystone, 480 U.S. at 480.

3la

Appendix A

Similarly, in Penn Central, where the city’s landmark

ordinance prohibited Grand Central Station from constructing

an office building over the station, the Court refused to

separate surface rights from air rights. The Court explained:

“Taking” jurisprudence does not divide a

single property into discrete segments and

attempt to determine whether rights in a

particular segment have been entirely

abrogated. In deciding whether a particular

governmental action has effected a taking, this

Court focuses ... on the nature and extent of

the interference with rights in the parcel as a

whole — here the city tax block designated as the

landmark site.

Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 130-131 (emphasis added; internal

quotations omitted).

Notwithstanding the clear rejection by the federal high

court of Pennsylvania’s division of estates, the U.S. Supreme

Court, until recently, has left room for doubt as to whether

the Court would always apply the “property as a whole” rule.

In a footnote, and admittedly in dictum, the Lucas court

observed that when a regulation’s interference with the use

of property approaches, but does not reach, the level where

100% of a portion of property is made valueless, “it is

unclear” whether the Court would view the regulation as an

impermissible deprivation of the portion or an appropriate

“diminution in the property as a whole.” Lucas, 505 U.S. at

1016-1017, n.7.

32a

Appendix A

While the holdings of the U.S. Supreme Court have

consistently supported the use of the “property as a whole”

rule, the footnote in Lucas and the following statement in

Palazzolo demonstrate that at least some members of the

Court have misgivings about whether to apply that test in all

situations. The Court recently addressed the issue of the

appropriate property for takings analysis as follows:

[Petitioner] argues, for the first time, that the

upland parcel is distinct from the wetlands

portions, so he should be permitted to assert a

deprivation limited to the latter. This contention

asks us to examine the difficult, persisting

question of what is that proper denominator in

the takings fraction. ... Some of our cases

indicate that the extent of deprivation effected by

a regulatory action is measured against the value

of the parcel as a whole, see, e.g. Keystone, 480

U.S. at 497; but we have at times expressed

discomfort with the logic of this rule, see Lucas,

505 U.S. at 1016-1017, n.7 a sentiment echoed

by some commentators, see, e.g., Epstein,

Takings: Descent and Resurrection, 1987 SUP.CT.

REV. 1, 16-17 (1987); Fee, Unearthing the

Denominator in Regulatory Takings Claims,

61 U.CHI. L. REV. 1535 (1994). Whatever the

merits of these criticisms, we will not explore the

point here. Petitioner did not press the argument

in the state courts, and the issue was not presented

in the petition for certiorari. The case comes to us

on the premise that petitioner’s entire parcel serves

as the basis for this takings claim, and, so framed,

the total deprivation argument fails.

33a

Appendix A

Palazzolo, 121 S.Ct. at 2465 (internal citations modified

and/or omitted). Notwithstanding the Court’s misgivings,

it declined to accept the invitation of Palazzolo to overrule

the “property as a whole” rule. Jd., 121 S.Ct. at 2448.

While the Court explained that it viewed the property as a

whole because, at all times before the briefing of the case

the parties discussed the property as a single parcel; the Court

also did not overrule Keystone or Penn Central. Instead, the

Court viewed the property as a whole and determined that

there had been no Lucas taking. Palazzolo, 121 S.Ct. at 2465.

Nevertheless, the Lucas footnote and the statement in

Palazzolo have made clear that some members of the Court

have retreated from the absolute application of the “property

as a whole” rule. Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1016-1017, n.7.

Notwithstanding the foregoing misgivings of some

members of the U.S. Supreme Court, that Court recently

reaffirmed the validity of the property as 4 whole rule. Tahoe-

Sierra Preservation Council v. Tahoe Reg. Planning Agency,

535 U.S. __, 2002 WL 654431, *12 (2002). In Tahoe-Sierra,

Petitioners sought to divide their interests in land into

temporal parts to claim that the statute, which imposed a

temporary moratorium on development of private property

surrounding Lake Tahoe, caused the restricted temporal

portion of their property to become valueless. Jd. at *14. The

Court declined to allow Petitioners to so divide their property.

Id. It held that the moratorium did not constitute a Lucas

taking because a fee simple interest in property may not be

temporally divided for the purpose of takings analysis.

Id. at *14-15. The Court held that, when viewed as a whole

the properties at issue retained value and that the temporary

development prohibition did not rise to the level of a Lucas

taking. The Court explained:

34a

Appendix A

Petitioners’ “conceptual severance” argument is

unavailing because it ignores Penn Central's

admonition that in regulatory takings cases we

must focus on “the parcel as a whole.” We have

consistently rejected such an approach to the

“denominator” question. ... Thus, the District

Court erred when it disaggregated petitioners’

property into temporal segments corresponding to

the regulations at issue and then analyzed whether

petitioners were deprived of all economically

viable use during each period. ...

Id. at *14-15 (internal citations omitted). Following Tahoe-

Sierra, there can be no dispute that the “property as a whole”

rule remains controlling.

As we have noted above, the U.S. Supreme Court has

not instructed conclusively how the denominator problem

should be resolved. However, that Court has refused to allow:

vertical severance of the mineral estate in Keystone; vertical

segmentation of air and surface rights in Penn Central;

or temporal division of property in Jahoe-Sierra. Thus, in

this case, the relevant parcel cannot be vertically segmented

and must be defined to include both the surface and mineral

rights.

Horizontal Conceptualization of Property

We now address the manner in which the property of

the Property Owners is to be horizontally defined.

The Commonwealth Court selected the coal estates in the

UFM area as the property at issue and disregarded surface

35a

Appendix A

rights and all other geographic areas. In contrast, the

Commonwealth parties argued in favor of using all of the

Property Owners’ property in Clearfield County. It seems that

the selection of the Commonwealth is overly inclusive and

the selection of Property Owners and the Commonwealth

Court is overly restrictive. It is difficult to imagine that either

rule would prove satisfactory in all cases. Instead, we adopt

a “flexible approach, designed to account for factual

nuances”. Loveladies Harbor, 28 F.3d at 1181. Pursuant to

this approach, a variety of factors for defining the relevant

parcel should be considered, without making one factor more

important than any other. These factors would include, but

would not be limited to: unity and contiguity of ownership,

the dates of acquisition, the extent to which the proposed

parcel has been treated as a single unit, the extent to which

the regulated holding benefits the unregulated holdings; the

timing of transfers, if any, in light of the developing

regulatory environment; the owner’s investment backed-

expectations; and, the landowner’s plans for development.

Id. See also Florida Rock Industries, 791 F.2d at 893; District

Intown Properties Ltd. Partnership v. District of Columbia,

198 F.3d 874 (D.C. Cir. 1999). However, because all of these

factors are not part of the record, we remand to the

Commonwealth Court for it to have the responsibility of

considering the relevant facts and identifying the appropriate

horizontal conceptualization of the property to use in both

the Lucas and Penn Central analyses.

Lucas Analysis

We now turn to the Lucas test and a consideration of the

issue concerning whether Lucas requires a finding that a

stil

36a

Appendix A

taking has occurred. Lucas stands for the proposition that

regulations that deprive an owner of “all economically

beneficial or productive use of land” are takings unless the

use constitutes a public nuisance or are caused by the nature

of the use and the owner could have expected that the

government might prohibit it. Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1027-1029.

Therefore, to conduct a Lucas analysis, we need to determine

whether the subject regulation “deprives a landowner of all

economically beneficial” use of his or her property. If so, the

regulation will constitute a taking unless state property law

independently prohibits the use. /d. at 1027.

Property Owners conceptualize this case as a Lucas

categorical taking. They claim that because they own coal

estates in the UFM area and are not permitted to mine that

coal, all of their interest in the land has been taken. The

Commonwealth Court implicitly agreed when it decided to

use the coal estates within the UFM area as the property

affected by the regulation. Machipongo IV, 719 A.2d at 29.

That court explained that it used the coal estate because

Pennsylvania recognizes three separate estates in the same

piece of land: surface, coal/mineral, and support. It reasoned

that because the estates in land may be separated for purposes

of ownership, the coal estate could be separated from the

whole to determine whether a taking had occurred.

As we have stated, though, the relevant parcel must be

defined to include both the surface and mineral rights of the

parties. We also have remanded the determination of the

appropriate horizontal extent of the properties to the

Commonwealth Court. Nevertheless, and notwithstanding the

limited information available, we can perform the Lucas

37a

Appendix A

analysis with regard to the Machipongo property and identify

the relevant Lucas issues concerning the property of the

Naughton/Erickson property owners.

To do so,we return to a consideration of the property

owned by the Property Owners. Machipongo owns 373 acres

in fee simple within the UFM area and 1000 acres outside of

the UFM area. (R. 260). Within the UFM area, Machipongo

owns surface rights as well as mineral rights. The regulation,

therefore, does not “deprive ... [it] of all economically

beneficial” use of its property (Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1027)

because Machipongo admits that it benefits from its surface

rights by selling timber (R. 262a) and entering into leases

for gas development. (R. 263a). Further evidence of the value

of the Machipongo surface estate is clear from the record.

Specifically, in 1994, in what Machipongo contends was a

“forced sale”, Machipongo received $60,000 for 35.93 acres

of its property. (R. 47a). It, therefore, appears that if

Machipongo sold the remaining 373 acres of undeveloped

land within the UFM area, at the same price per acre as the

1994 sale. it would earn, in 1994 dollars, at least $622,878.

Clearly, the regulation does not deny Machipongo

“all economically beneficial” use of its property. Accordingly,

we find that the regulation, as it relates to Machipongo, passes

the Lucas test. Lucas, 505 USS. at 1027.

Incorsistent factual information regarding the property

of the Neughton/Erickson Property Owners requires us to

remand the case for the Lucas analysis regarding their

property. As far as we are able to determine, their property

includes 2 coal estate of fifty-two acres within the UFM area

and fee simple title to 1,1 50 acres and 250 acres of coal estate

38a

Appendix A

situated outside of the UFM area. (R. 260a). Based on the

briefs and the record, it appears that within the UFM area

the Naughton/Erickson Property Owners own only coal

estates and do not own surface rights in the UFM area. This

would appear to distinguish them from the Machipongo

Property Owners. However, contrary to that understanding,

the Commonwealth Court refers to the Property Owners’

surface rights in the UFM area. Specifically, it explains:

Because we have determined that only the

regulated land is to be considered in determining

the denominator, we must next determine how

to treat [Property] Owners’ coal estate in the

UFM designated area. The Commonwealth

suggests we should calculate the denominator

based on finding [Property] Owners’ rights in

the coal estate are just part of the bundle of

rights they own in land. If we were to do so,

there would be no taking because [Property]

Owners do not dispute that they still have

surface rights that can be used and they would

not be deprived of all economical beneficial use

of their land. If, however, we were to agree with

[Property] Owners that it did not matter what other

estates in land they owned because the coal estate

was treated as a separate estate, then there would

be a taking because they would be deprived of

their right to mine that land.

Machipongo IV, 719 A.2d at 28 (emphasis added). Because

we are unsure whether the Naughton/Erickson Property

Owners own surface rights within the UFM area, and because

39a

Appendix A

the Commonwealth Court has not yet defined the limits of

the horizontal extent of the property of the Naughton/

Erickson Property Owners, which may or may not be greater

than the UFM area, we are unable to properly conduct a

Lucas analysis with regard to them. We, therefore, remand

the Lucas determination to the Commonwealth Court to

render a decision consistent with this Opinion.

Traditional Takings Analysis

Because the regulation, as to Machipongo (and possibly

to Naughton/Erickson Property Owners as well) survives

Lucas, a traditional takings analysis must be performed.

See Palazzolo, 121 S.Ct. at 2457. The traditional analysis

focuses on several criteria designed to balance public interest

against private rights. In Penn Central, the U.S. Supreme

Court set forth the factors as follows:

The economic impact of the regulation on the

claimant and, particularly, the extent to which the

regulation has interfered with distinct investment-

backed expectations[;""]

11. We note with approval that Justice O’Connor, in her

Palazzolo Concurring Opinion, observed that an evaluation of the

reasonableness of a claimant’s investment-backed expectations should

take into consideration whether the land owner owned the property

on the effective date of the regulation as well as the “regulatory regime

in place at the time the claimant acquires the property... [that is,

the extent of previous government regulation of the area.” Palazzolo,

121 S.Ct. at 2466.

Consistent with the observation that the regulatory regime at

the time the claimant acquires property is relevant to the inquiry, we

have observed that:

(Cont'd)

40a

Appendix A

* * ke *

The character of the governmental action ...

[whether there is a] physical invasion ...

[or whether the regulation is reasonably related

to the promotion of the general welfare; and, ]

* * * *

[Whether] the health, safety, morals, or general

welfare would be promoted by prohibiting

particular contemplated uses of land.

Penn Central, 438 U.S. at 124, 125. It is the task of a

court performing a traditional takings analysis to

determine whether the regulation, based on the foregoing

considerations, is unduly oppressive and forces “some people

alone to bear public burdens which in all fairness and justice

should be borne by the public as a whole.” Palazzolo,

121 S.Ct. at 2458 (quoting —— v. United States,

364 US. at 49 (1960)).

In the context of the summary judgment motion, the

Commonwealth Court did not conduct a full Penn Central

(Cont’d)

The Legislature has long regulated the quality of the

waters in the Commonwealth. ... In addition, ...

Congress, ha[s] ... made extensive efforts to remove

the pollution from our nation’s waters.

National Wood Preservers, Inc. v. Commonwealth, 414 A.2d 37,

44 (1980) (citations omitted).

4la

Appendix A

takings analysis. Machipongo IV, 719 A.2d at 29. Instead,

it focused on the coal estates in the UFM area and

relied predominantly on the takings equation. Indeed, the

purpose of the trial was limited to the issue of whether

the coal estates could be profitably mined. Machipongo VI,

719 A.2d at 25-26.

The U.S. Supreme Court determined that although the

regulation at issue in Palazzolo did not rise to the level of a

Lucas taking (because the property, when viewed as a whole,

retained value), it remanded the case to the Rhode Island

Supreme Court for a determination of whether a Penn Central

taking had occurred. Palazzolo, 121 S.Ct. at 2457.” While

some evidence relevant to the traditional takings analysis was

adduced during the trial in the instant case, to determine

whether the UFM area could be economically mined, the

relevant facts were never presented to the Commonwealth

Court for the purpose of conducting a traditional takings

analysis. Subject to the issue of nuisance, which we address

in the next section, we believe that the Commonwealth Court

should conduct a trial to consider the facts relevant to the

determination of whether the regulation is a taking pursuant

to the traditional takings analysis.

Nuisance

The Commonwealth Court prevented the Commonwealth

from presenting evidence regarding whether the proposed

12. Upon the U.S. Supreme Court’s remand of the Penn Central

takings analysis, the Rhode Island Supreme Court, in turn, remanded

the case to its Superior Court to conduct the analysis. Palazzolo v.

State ex rel. Tavares, 785 A.2d 561 (R.I. 2001).

42a

Appendix A

use of the land would constitute a nuisance. Machipongo V,

slip op. at 2. Notwithstanding that the Commonwealth Court

recognized that “polluting the waters of the Commonwealth

is a public nuisance[,]” it declined to consider the

Commonwealth’s evidence that the proposed use would

constitute a nuisance. /d. at 7. The Commonwealth Court

explained that the water was adequately protected by

PaSMCRA regulations that require applicants for permits to

show that there is no presumptive evidence that mining would

pollute surrounding waters. Jd. However, regardless of the

protections offered in those regulations, there is nothing that

prevents the state from enacting a law that makes explicit its

right to prohibit activity, which would already be contrary to

existing law. See Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1030.

Furthermore, it is clear that if a regulation prohibits

behavior that could be abated or prohibited by general

principles of state property law, there is no need for the state

to provide compensation to prevent the use. Jd. at 1027-1029.

In Lucas, the U.S. Supreme Court explained that even

where the regulation prohibits “all economically beneficial

use of land,” there is no taking if the use could be abated

or prohibited by general principles of state property law.

Id. at 1029. That is to state,

[i]n light of our traditional resort to “existing rules

or understandings that stem from an independent

source such as state law” to define the range of

interests that qualify for protection as “property”

under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments, this

recognition that the Takings Clause does not

require compensation when an owner is barred

43a

Appendix A

from putting land to a use that is proscribed by

those “existing rules or understandings” is surely

unexceptional.

Id. at 1030 (internal citations omitted). In fact, the U.S.

Supreme Court remanded Lucas to the South Carolina

Supreme Court and directed it to determine whether, pursuant

to state law, the prohibited use constituted a nuisance or

violated state property law. Id.

The rules and understandings as to the uses of land

that are acceptable and unacceptable have changed over time.

The fact that sewage was once strewn into city streets does

not give rise to a permanent reasonable expectation that such

behavior can continue indefinitely. In another takings case,

the U.S. Supreme Court explained this concept as follows:

It is true, when the defendants - .. purchased or

erected their breweries, the laws of the state did

not forbid the manufacture of intoxicating liquors.

But the state did not thereby give any assurance,

or come under an obligation, that its legislation

upon that subject would remain unchanged.

Indeed, ... the supervision of the public health

and the public morals is a governmental power,

continuing in its nature, and to be dealt with as

the special exigencies of the moment may require;

and that, for this purpose, the largest legislative

discretion is allowed, and the discretion cannot

be parted with any more than the power itself.

44a

Appendix A

Mugler v. Kansas, 123 U.S. 623, 669 (1887) (internal

citations and quotations omitted) (holding that a state statute

that prohibited manufacture of alcoholic beverages was not

a taking even though such manufacture was legal before the

statute). While the owner of land might once have been

permitted to mine his land without regard to the effect that it

had on public streams, as evidenced by the spoilage of

“11,000 miles of streams” in this country,’ that expectation

is, and has been for some time, no longer reasonable. Despite

the fact that one may have purchased property with the

expectation to use it in such a manner that was acceptable

before the purchase, there may come a point in time when

the original owner’s expectations may no longer be

reasonable.

The Commonwealth Court has repeatedly applied Section

821B of the Restatement (Second) of Torts to guide its

determinations as to whether a use of property constitutes a

public nuisance. See, e.g., Muehlieb v. City of Philadelphia,

574 A.2d 1208 (Pa. Cmwith. 1990). That Restatement section

provides as follows:

(1) A public nuisance is an unreasonable

interference with a right common to the general

public.

(2) Circumstances that may sustain a holding that

an interference with a public right is unreasonable

include the following:

13. Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining and Reclamation

Association, Inc., 452 U.S. 264, 279-280 (1981) (quoting 1976 &

1977 U.S. House of Representatives reports, discussed infra.)

45a

Appendix A

(a) Whether the conduct involves a

significant interference with the public

health, the public safety, the public

peace, the public comfort or the public

convenience, Or

(b) whether the conduct is proscribed by

a statute, ordinance or administrative

regulation, or

(c) whether the conduct is of a

continuing nature or has produced a

permanent or long-lasting effect, and, as

the actor knows or has reason to know,

has a significant effect upon the public

right.

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 821B. Therefore, the issue

is whether the proposed mining would unreasonably interfere

with a right of the general public.

Reasonableness is essentially a factual inquiry, which

we will not address, but whether there is public right, is an

issue of law. This Court has expressly held that the public

has a right not to suffer acid mine discharge into its public

waters, and that such discharges constitute a public nuisance

as a matter of statutory and common law. Commonwealth v.

Barnes & Tucker Co., 319 A.2d 871, 880 (1974) (Barnes &

Tucker I). In Barnes & Tucker I, we reversed a decision of

the Commonwealth Court that rejected the Commonwealth’s

nuisance causes of action. We held that common law

authorized the abatement of acid mine drainage that pollutes

46a

Appendix A

public waters. Jd. at 881-882. We also observed that The

Clean Stream Law, 35 P.S. § 691.1 et seq., provides a statutory

basis for the finding that acid mine discharge may rise to the

level of a public nuisance.

The discharge of sewage or industrial waste or

any substance into the waters of this

Commonwealth, which causes or contributes to

pollution as herein defined or creates a danger of

such pollution is hereby declared not to be a

reasonable or natural use of such waters, to be

against public policy and to be a public nuisance.

Barnes & Tucker I, 319 A.2d at 880 (quoting section 3 of

The Clean Streams Law, Act of June 22, 1937, P.L. 1987,

as amended, 35 P.S. § 691.3). In reaching that conclusion,

we relied on Pennsylvania R.R. Co. v. Sagamore Coal Co.,

126 A. 386 (1924), where we granted an injunction to prevent

mine owners from discharging acid mine water into a

stream used by the railroad and the public as a water supply.

Id. at 387. We stated: “[i]t has always been under our law, a

nuisance to pollute a stream from which the public gets its

supply of water.” Jd. at 391. The General Assembly’s

definition of pollution, although circular for our purposes in

that it uses the word nuisance, provides useful guidance.

Section 1 of The Clean Streams Law, 35 P.S. § 691.1. The

Section defines pollution as follows:

“Pollution” shall be construed to mean

contamination of any waters of the

Commonwealth such as will create or is likely to

create a nuisance or to render such waters harmful,

47a

Appendix A

detrimental or injurious to public health, safety

or welfare, or to domestic, municipal, commercial,

industrial, agricultural, recreational, or other

legitimate beneficial uses, or to livestock, wild

animals, birds, fish or other aquatic life, including

but not limited to such contamination by alteration

of the physical, chemical or biological properties

of such waters, or change in temperature, taste,

color or odor thereof, or the discharge of any

liquid, gaseous, radioactive, solid or other

substances into such waters. ...

35 PS. § 691.1.

There is further statutory support for a finding that it is

against the law of this Commonwealth and a nuisance to

pollute public waters in section 401 of the Clean Streams

Law, 35 PS. § 691.401, which provides that:

It shall be unlawful for any person or municipality

to put or place into any of the waters of the

Commonwealth, or allow or permit to be

discharged from property owned or occupied by

such person or municipality into any of the waters

of the Commonwealth, any substance of any kind

or character resulting in pollution as herein

defined. Any such discharge is hereby declared to

be a nuisance.

In Barnes & Tucker I, we repeated that “corruption of water

which affects the public use of a stream or menaces the public

48a

Appendix A

health becomes a public nuisance which the Commonwealth

may seek to abate.” Barnes & Tucker I, 319 A.2d at 882."

The Commonwealth Court, therefore, incorrectly held

that there was no authority that would permit the

Commonwealth to prohibit a property owner from mining

just because it would destroy the population of trout in Goss

Run. Machipongo V, slip op. at 7. While the Commonwealth

contends that mining would, in addition to destroying the

trout population, adversely affect the use of the stream as a

water supply (R.3a) the nature of the public use of the water

should not be the focus of our inquiry. To the contrary, we

have explained that “we believe that the public has a

sufficient interest in clean streams alone regardless of any

specific use thereof. . . [to warrant] injunctive relief.” Barnes

& Tucker I, 319 A.2d at 882 (preserving the water from acid

mine runoff despite the fact that the only use of the water

was recreational). Accordingly, if the Commonwealth is able

to show that the Property Owners’ proposed use of the stream

would unreasonably interfere with the public right to

unpolluted water, the use, as a nuisance, may be prohibited

without compensation.

14. Similarly, upon our review of the Commonwealth Court’s

abatement order we held,

[G]iven our determination that the Commonwealth is

validly employing its police power in a reasonable

manner to abate the immediate public nuisance, there

can be no finding of an unconstitutional “taking” by the

imposition of the present abatement order. . . .

Commonwealth v. Barnes & Tucker Co., 371 A.2d 461, 467 (1977)

(Barnes & Tucker II).

49a

Appendix A

Property Owners correctly point out that in the past we

have held that if a nuisance is only anticipated and not a

nuisance per se, the party seeking to prevent the use must

show that the nuisance is “practically certain [to occur], not

merely probable.” Ranck v. Bonal Enterprises, Inc., 359 A.2d

748, 752 (Pa. 1976). However, although mining is not a

nuisance per se, pollution of public waterways is. The key to

protecting our water is to prevent pollution from occurring.

The General Assembly has expressly stated that not only is

its desire to restore polluted waters but “[i]t is the objective

of the Clean Streams Law ... to prevent further pollution

of the waters of the Commonwealth.” 35 PS. § 691.4(3)

(emphasis added). It is beyond dispute that the resources

needed to correct pollution once it has occurred are far greater

than those needed to prevent it. While it is true that mining

per se is not a nuisance, experts need not wait until acid

mine water flows out of mines in the UFM area to predict

the likely results of mining this land. If the Property Owners

are correct that additional mining would not pollute the

Watershed, then there is no nuisance. Then again, if the

Commonwealth can prove that mining the UFM area would

pollute Goss Run, the cause of the nuisancé can be prohibited.

We see no reason to require the Commonwealth to prove

that the alleged poilution is practically certain to occur. It is

enough if the Commonwealth can prove what its technical

study found, that further mining in the UFM area had a

“high potential to cause increases in dissolved solid and metal

concentrations in Goss Run that would adversely affect the

use of the stream as an auxiliary water supply” or had

“a significant potential to disrupt the hydrologic balance

causing decreases in the net alkalinity of discharges . - - and

destroying the habitat for wild trout populations.”

Machipongo VI, slip op. at d

50a

Appendix A

Therefore, we remand this case to the Commonwealth

Court to consider evidence that the proposed use would

constitute a nuisance. If, after a factual inquiry that court

determines that the Property Owners’ activities would

unreasonably interfere with the public right to unpolluted

water, the ruling of the court based upon decisions of this

Court and the U.S. Supreme Court should be clear. Lucas,

505 U.S. at 1027-1029; Barnes & Tucker I, 319 A.2d at 881-

882. The government is not required to pay Property Owners -

to refrain from taking action on their land that would have

the effect of polluting public waters. Indeed, despite our

conviction that private property rights are to be strongly

protected, we are struck by the impropriety of taking action

that would require the General Assembly to pay someone

not to pollute public water or destroy public fisheries.

Conclusion

We, therefore, reverse the Commonwealth Court’s

determination that a taking occurred and remand this case to

the Commonwealth Court to: (1) horizontally define the

relevant property: (2) conduct the Lucas analysis with regard

to the property of the Naughton/Erickson Property Owners;

(3) conduct the Penn Central analysis with regard to the

property of both Property Owners; and, if necessary,

(4) determine whether the proposed use would constitute a

nuisance or would otherwise violate state property law.

We do accept, however, the Commonwealth Court’s

determination that property without value cannot be taken.

The Commonwealth Court considered detailed scientific

evidence of the economic viability of mining coal in the UFM

5la

Appendix A

area and determined that “the Machipongo Surface Mine. . .

[was] not economically feasible.” Machipongo VI, slip op.

at 38. Therefore, the Commonwealth Court declined to find

a taking with regard to the Machipongo Surface Mine. The

Commonwealth Court’s legal reasoning on this issue is sound

and there is no basis here to alter its factual findings.

Accordingly, the Property Owners are not entitled to

compensation with regard to the Machipongo Surface Mine.

Finally, Property Owners have requested that we identify

the appropriate forum for a hearing on damages. However,

because we have reversed the determination of the

Commonwealth Court that a taking occurred and because it

is not clear, at this juncture, whether a taking will be found,

we decline to render an advisory opinion as to the appropriate

forum to consider damages.

Former Chief Justice Flaherty did not participate in the

decision of this case.

JUDGMENT ENTERED:

May 30, 2002

s/ Shirley Bailey

Shirley Bailey,

Chief Clerk

52a

APPENDIX B — NOTICE OF THE COMMON-

WEALTH COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA DATED

OCTOBER 19, 2000

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

No. 248 M.D. 1992

MACHIPONGO LAND AND COAL COMPANY, INC. and

the VICTOR E. ERICKSON TRUST and JOSEPH

NAUGHTON,

Petitioners

V.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA, DEPARTMENT

OF ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES, THE ENVIRON-

MENTAL QUALITY BOARD, and ARTHUR A. DAVIS,

SECRETARY OF ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES,

Respondents

NOTICE

NOW, October 19, 2000, pursuant to a praecipe for entry

of final judgment and decree filed in the above matter, this

court’s adjudication and decree nisi of August 21, 2000 as

modified by the order of September 25, 2000 is hereby

entered as a final judgment of the court.

s/ C.R. Hostutler

C.R. Hostutler

Deputy Prothonotary/Chief Clerk

53a

APPENDIX C — ORDER OF THE COMMONWEALTH

COURT OF PENNSYLVANIA DATED

SEPTEMBER 25, 2000

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

NO. 248 M.D. 1992

MACHIPONGO LAND AND COAL COMPANY, INC. and

the VICTOR E. ERICKSON TRUST and JOSEPH

NAUGHTON,

Petitioners

v.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA, DEPART-

MENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES, the

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY BOARD and ARTHUR A.

DAVIS, Secretary of ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES,

Respondents

ORDER

AND NOW, this 25" day of September, 2000, upon

consideration of both Petitioners’ and Respondents’ Motions

for Post-Trial Relief, the following changes are made to our

Adjudication and Decree Nisi issued August 21, 2000:

1. The amount of coal that Thaddeus Sobek,

Respondents expert testified as the amount of

recoverable coal for the Middle Kittanning

54a

Appendix C

Seam at the proposed Erickson/Naughton

Surface mine is 39,000 tons, not the 49,000

tons listed in the opinion. This change does

not change the finding that the coal at this site

is mineable.

2. David Cerulla’s testimony is that the Middle

Kittanning coal seam at the Machipongo

Surface Mine is 36 inches in width, not the

thirty inches set forth in the Adjudication and

Decree Nisi. The Commonwealth’s witness is

more credible on this issue and the finding

remains that the average size of the coal seam

is thirty inches.

All of the other Post-Trial Motions filed by Petitioners

and Respondents are denied.

s/ Dan Pellegrini

DAN PELLEGRINI, Judge

55a

APPENDIX D — ADJUDICATION AND DECREE NISI

AND ORDER OF THE COMMONWEALTH COURT OF

PENNSYLVANIA DATED AUGUST 21, 2000

IN THE COMMONWEALTH COURT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

NO. 248 M.D. 1992

MACHIPONGO LAND AND COAL COMPANY, INC. and

the VICTOR E. ERICKSON TRUST and JOSEPH

NAUGHTON,

Petitioners

v.

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA, DEPART-

MENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES, the

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY BOARD and ARTHUR A.

DAVIS, Secretary of ENVIRONMENTAL RESOURCES,

Respondents

BEFORE: HONORABLE DAN PELLEGRINI, Judge

ADJUDICATION AND DECREE NISI

Machipongo Land and Coal Company, Inc., the

Victor E. Erickson Trust (Erickson) and Joseph Naughton

(collectively, Coal Owners), instituted this action in 1992

against the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Department of

Environmental Resources (DER), the Environmental Quality

Board (EQB) and Arthur A. Davis, Secretary of the

56a

Appendix D

Department of Environmental Resources (collectively, the

Commonwealth) claiming that the Commonwealth had

“taken” their interest in coal underlying their property in the

Goss Run Watershed (Watershed) by designating those lands

“unsuitable for mining”’ under the Pennsylvania Surface

Mining Conservation and Reclamation Act (PaSMCRA), Act

of May 31, 1945, P.L. 1198, as amended, 52 P.S. § 1396.4e(g).

On May 26, 1989, the Commonwealth received from the

Brisbin Recreation Board and the Locust Grove Sportsmen

Club a “Petition To Declare Areas Unsuitable For Mining”

in which they requested that the entire 2.86 square mile

Watershed be protected from coal mining so as to protect

the quality of the water of the Goss Run Stream and the

Brisbin Dam and Recreational Park.? Coal Owners requested

and were granted intervenor status because they owned

surface and mineral rights in the Watershed that could

potentially be affected. Specifically, Machipongo owned

2,037 acres of land in Clearfield County of which 157 acres

had mineral rights in the Watershed, and Erickson and

Naughton owned 1,350 acres in Clearfield County of which

27 acres had mineral rights in the Watershed.

1. 25 Pa. Code § 86.130(b)(14), which took effect May 23, 1992,

designated their land as unsuitable for mining.

2. More specifically, the petition alleged that surface mining

within the Watershed would adversely affect the Goss Run stream

water quality and the Brisbin Dam and Recreational Park; would

adversely affect a recreational stocked trout fishery maintained by

the Pennsylvania Game Commission; and would adversely affect

wildlife habitat in the Watershed reducing its values for hunters,

hikers and others who used the Watershed because of its aesthetic

woodlands.

57a

Appendix D

After public hearings were held, the DER conducted a

detailed study of the proposed designated area as required

by Section 4.5(g) of the PaSMCRA, 52 P.S. § 1396.4e(g).

Essentially, the results of the study indicated that surface coal

mining of the Watershed, upstream of the Brisbin Dam, had

significant potential to disrupt the hydrologic balance causing

decreases in the net alkalinity of discharges from abandoned

Lower Freeport underground mines and destroying the habitat

for wild trout populations. It also had a high potential to cause

increases in dissolved solid and metal concentrations in Goss

Run that would adversely affect the use of the stream as an

auxiliary water supply. The DER recommended that the EQB

approve a proposed regulation designating the surface

mineable coals located within the Watershed upstream of the

Brisbin Dam as unsuitable for surface mining of coal and

submitted that recommendation to the General Assembly. The

EQB approved the proposed regulation, and after a period of

public comment, the General Assembly also approved the

notice of proposed rulemaking and adopted a final regulation

designating a portion of the Watershed unsuitable for mining

(UFM) as set forth at 25 Pa. Code § 86.130(h)(14).’ That

designation was made pursuant to Section 4.5(b) of the

3. That section provides:

The surface mineable coal reserves within the Goss Run

Watershed upstream of the Brisbin Dam, including a

small tract of land within the Watershed of the West

Tributary to Goss Run, a total of approximately

555 acres, are designated unsuitable for all types of

surface mining operations.

The regulation was published as final in the Pennsylvania

Bulletin on May 3, 1992. See 22 Pa. Bull. 2715.

58a

Appendix D

PaSMCRA, 52 P.S. § 1396-4e(b), which permits the

Commonwealth to designate an area as unsuitable for surface

mining. If underground mining was proposed, none of the

mine opening, including ventilation shafts, could be located

within the designated area.

Subsequently, on July 1, 1992, Coal Owners filed a

petition for review against the Commonwealth in our original

jurisdiction seeking equitable and declaratory relief

challenging the regulation designating that certain portions

of land they owned in the Watershed were unsuitabie for

surface mining. They alleged that 157 acres of the 2,037 acres

of land owned by Machipongo in the south reserves of the

Watershed had mineral rights that were within the UFM

designated area and could not be mined, resulting in a taking

of at least 1,344,800 tons of its coal valued at $2,846,550.

Similarly, 27 acres of the 1,350 acres owned by Erickson

and Naughton in the north reserves of the Watershed could

not be mined, resulting in a taking of at least 377,900 tons of

their coal valued at $566,850. Based on Coal Owners’

inability to mine any of their coal located within the

UFM-designated area, they alleged that the regulation

implementing the designation constituted a taking without

just compensation and a violation of their due process rights.

They requested, among other things, that this Court enjoin

the enforcement of the regulation as an unconstitutional

taking of their property or remand the case to the trial court

to determine the value of the property taken as a result of the

adoption of the regulation.‘

4. Coal Owners also requested that we order the Commonwealth

to adopt regulations containing constitutional safeguards for affected

landowners and to declare the regulation void, or order the

(Cont’d)

59a

Appendix D

After much litigation as to the proper forum to hear this

case, our Supreme Court remanded it to us for resolution.*

(Cont’d)

Commonwealth to hold a hearing with constitutional guarantees to

determine whether the regulation should be adopted.

5. In response to Coal Owners’ petition, the Commonwealth

filed preliminary objections alleging, inter alia, that this Court lacked

jurisdiction to hear the case. While holding that we had jurisdiction,

we granted the preliminary objections and transferred the matter to

the Environmental Hearing Board (EHB) for disposition under

the doctrine of primary jurisdiction because it had the expertise

to rule on the validity of the surface mining taking claims.

See Machipongo Land and Coal Co., Inc. v. Commonwealth,

Department of Environmental Resources, 624 A.2d 742 (Pa. Cmwith.

1993) (Machipongo I).

Both the Commonwealth and Coal Owners filed appeals with

the Supreme Court arguing that the transfer of the case to the EHB

was erroneous. Coal Owners argued that their taking claims should

be addressed by the courts while the Commonwealth argued they

should be addressed by the DER. By order dated October 11, 1994,

the Supreme Court reversed our decision and referred the case to the

Court of Common Pleas of Clearfield County for further proceedings

under the Eminent Domain Code, Act of June 22, 1964, Special Sess.,

PL. 84, as amended, 26 PS. §§ 1-101 - 1-903. See Machipongo Land

and Coal Co., Inc. v. Commonwealth, Department of Environmental

Resources, 538 Pa. 361, 648 A.2d 767 (1994) (Machipongo II). The

Commonwealth filed an application for reargument alleging that this

Court, rather than the trial court, had jurisdiction to hear this matter.

The Supreme Court granted reargument and by order dated May 21,

1996, vacated its earlier decision. See Machipongo Land and Coal

Co., Inc. v. Commonwealth, Department of Environmental Resources,

544 Pa. 271, 676 A.2d 199 (1996) (Machipongo III). It then remanded

the case to this Court for further proceedings on the basis that the

, (Cont'd)

60a

Appendix D

The Commonwealth filed a motion for summary judgment

which was denied by this Court in Machipongo Land and

Coal Company v. Department of Environmental Resources,

719 A.2d 19 (Pa. Cmwith. 1998) (Machipongo IV). There

we denominated the following factors would have to be

considered to determine whether a regulatory taking had

occurred:

¢ whether the public interest requires regulatory

interference with the property right;

¢ whether the regulation is reasonably related to

that goal;

¢ whether the amount of property taken deprives

an owner of all economical viable uses of the

property, measured by what was taken (the

numerator) against what was left (the

denominator); and

¢ whether property owner’s actions or proposed

actions would cause a nuisance.

See Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003

(1992).

(Cont'd)

regulation upon which the Coal Owners were making their challenges

was promulgated under the Commonwealth’s police power

rather than the Eminent Domain Code and did not fall within an

enumerated exception to Section 761(a)(1) of the Judicial Code,

42 Pa. C.S. § 761(a)(1).

6la

Appendix D

In order to address the third factor listed above, in the

fraction of property lost to property unaffected, we were

forced to define the relevant property interest. In Machipongo

IV, we established a modified regulated land test to define

that interest. Under our test, whether the regulated land will

actually be the denominator depends on the answers to the

following three questions:

1) whether the regulated land had value prior to the

regulation;

2) whether the regulated land has a separate use from

the non-regulated contiguous parcel(s) — i.e.,

whether it may be profitably used if it is the only

parcel; and

3) if the regulated land has value separate from the

contiguous land, whether all of its economic benefit

is gone.

719 A.2d at 28. “If the regulated land had an economically

viable use separate and apart from any other contiguous land

that was owned and became valueless after the regulation, it

would become the denominator in the fraction and there

would be a taking.” Jd. The following fraction would

ultimately determine whether a taking had occurred:

the interest in the coal taken (numerator)

the regulated land (denominator)

We stated that, “[i]f the result of the fraction is 1, then a

taking has occurred; conversely if the fraction is anything

less than 1, no compensatory taking has occurred.” /d. at 29.

62a

Appendix D

We then went on to address what was the appropriate

denominator to be used when it was alleged that the property

taken was coal. Because Pennsylvania law recognizes three

separate estates in land (surface, coal/mineral and the right

to support), we concluded that “the appropriate denominator

by which to determine whether Coal Owners have lost all

viable economic use of their land is solely the coal estate in

the UFM-designated area.” /d. To find that a taking of the

coal estate had occurred, a finding had to be made that:

The coal estate had value prior to the UFM

designation, whether it had a separate use from

the non-regulated contiguous land Coal Owners

owned, and whether all of its economic benefit

was gone as a result of the regulation. If, after

that determination is made, the result of the

fraction is less than 1, then a taking has not

occurred. In this case, specific evidence would

have to be adduced as to whether the coal can be

extracted by subsurface mining; whether the land

in the regulated area cannot. be surface mined

without using the contiguous parcel; and whether

the grade of coal is insufficient in amount or

quality to economically mine. With that evidence,

the denominator can be fixed and we can then

determine whether the regulation has resulted in

an unconstitutional taking...

Id. (Emphasis added.) To strike down the regulation, the Coal

Owners then had to prove that their coal reserves were

economically mineable.

63a

Appendix D

After we issued our opinion in Machipongo IV, the

Commonwealth filed a “motion in limine” seeking

permission to introduce evidence at trial that Coal Owners’

proposed mining activities would constitute a public

nuisance. In making this nuisance-related argument, the

Commonwealth invoked the so-called Lucas nuisance

exception. This exception was recognized by the Supreme

Court when it held that if the regulation prohibited the use

under nuisance law, there would be no taking even if it had

the effect of totally depriving the landowner of all beneficial

use because the public’s interest prevailed regardless of what

the landowner had lost. See Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1029-30.

The Commonwealth contended that any coal mining could

be considered a nuisance. In rejecting that argument, we held

that the type of nuisance envisioned in Lucas was not coal

mining, which has never

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Machipongo Land & Coal Co. v. Pennsylvania · 537 U.S. 1002 | Frix