Opposition Brief — Tollett v. City of Kemah

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 02-89

In the AUG

Supreme Court of the United States

bi

wr teen

SANDY G. TOLLETT,

Petitioner,

CITY OF KEMAH, TEXAS

and WILLIAM S. HEFLAND,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A Writ OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES CouRT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITON TO PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

John J. Hightower Ramon G. Viada, III

Olson & Olson Counsel of Record

Suite 3485 Abrams Scott & Bickley

Three Allen Center 600 Travis

333 Clay Street Suite 6601

Houston, Texas 77002-4004 Houston, Texas 77002-3007

(713) 759-0696 (713) 228-6601

Attorney for Respondent Attorney for Respondent

William S. Hefland City of Kemah, Texas

Curry & TAYLOR @ (202) 393-4141 6 HTTPY/USSCINFO.cCOM

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

FR OP CITI si vcnicsnesisvsnnsnccteonersnincervenninnninestanusontvsenensevinsbens i

TE OP BETTI osssccisscesssvinssornsonsneosenssanvesscensossnnnenvesivemnannen ii

RESPONSE TO STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION .........s:sssssssereseeseeeeeees 1

RESPONSE TO STATEMENT OF THE CASE..........ssscscssssssseserscsrsreeeeees 1

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ..........:scscscsssssssscscssceseserssecesees 18

EN ane iisctinsscvinnensanninintonsienttnonionsitieiivtitamainnmanicnetininnvrnets 29

APPENDIX

PLAINTIFF'S, SANDY G. TOLLETT’S, MOTION FOR NEW

PLAINTIFF'S, SANDY G. TOLLETT’S, AMENDED

re i vicecsiccisctnitiinasecnecisiinerniciseskisccavess

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

AGOSTINI V. FELTON, 521 SEs: ae Oa a 20

BENNINGFIELD V. CITY OF HOUSTON, 157 F.3D 369 (5TH

AF RID seecensiseciennaatanisiadibdaecn tem iaamel hinisiniihpinaaneinisbidsedicmtciecnes 26

BENNINGFIELD V. NUCHIA, 526 U.S. 1065 (1998) .........0.. nee 26

BURGER V. CENTRAL APARTMENT MANAGEMENT, INC.,

168 F.3D 875 (5TH CIR. 1999) .......ccscsssssesssscssscssessessesessecescsseens 27

CAMPANIELLO IMPORTS, LTD. V. SAPORITI ITALIA S.P.A.,

BET FBO Ca I isa issctacdrecasccirnaierosiehiadninscsinnss 28

DOLLIS V. RUBIN, 77 F.3D 777 (5TH CIR.1995) (PER

FIRST NAT. BANK OF LOUISVILLE V. LUSTIG, 96 F.3D 1554

OE OR. WN voice 22, 24

GEO. P. REINTJES Co., INC. V. RILEY STOKER CorP., 71

FOE CE Ce i rite ae 20, 23

GLEASON V. JANDRUCKO, 860 F.2D 556 (2D C1R.1988),

REV'D IN PART ON OTHER GROUNDS, 869 F.2D 688 (2D

CU REID xcscecvinvscenivesinigeitilipamabinsataaill aegis 25

GRAVES V. WOMEN'S PROF'L RODEO ASS'N, 907 F.2D 71

(UNE CU I isc sisnsssiieinicteetlhpanee ental ae de 25

GREAT COASTAL EXPRESS, INC. V. INTERNATIONAL BHD.

OF TEAMSTERS, 675 F.2D 1349 (4TH CIR. 1982) ...........0.. 23, 25

H.K. PORTER Co. V. GOODYEAR TIRE & RUBBER Co., 536

F.2D 2156 (OC CORD wines. chasiiceaiaaeiadanos 25

tad

iil

HAZEL-ATLAS GLASS CoO. V. HARTFORD-EMPIRE Co., 322

U.S. 238 (1944) ..ccsccssscesssssseseeseeseessessnsesnenensesenenensseneenens 22, 25

KERWIT MEDICAL PRODUCTS, INC. V. N & H

INSTRUMENTS, INC., 616 F.2D 833 (5TH CIR. 1980).........+.+++ 24

LOCAL 59 V. SUPERLINE TRANSPORT CO., 953 F.2D 17

(IST CIR. 1992)......scssssecessssesessssserensneesnssnenssennenennenensensnsessesens 25

MATTERN V. EASTMAN KopaK Co., 104 F.3D 702 (5TH

CIR. 1997) .....cccsessscscessssecesssssesesesenesenssesessensssssesesesenenensnsnenesesess 26

PAGE V. BOLGER, 645 F.2D 227 (4TH CIR.), CERT.

DENIED, 454 U.S 892 (1981) ......::scccsssseeseeseeestseeesetesnenennenenes 26

PORTER V. CHICAGO SCHOOL REFORM BD., 187 F.R.D.

563 (N.D. ILL. 1999)........escceseseseeeeseessssrsesecssseerensnenensnensecesees 22

ROBINSON V. AUDI AKTIENGESELLSCHAFT, 56 F.3D 1259,

(LOTH CIR. 1995) ......sssssssesessesesssssesnsensssnssnsnsseenensensnennenensensesecs 24

SEESE V. VOLKSWAGENWERK, A.G., 679 F.2D 336 (3D CIR.

1982) .....sssccecsssssssssessesscssscsesscsesescsenssnsessnssssnenenenssnensensnsanesseseees 21

SHACKELFORD V. DELOITTE & TOUCHE, LLP, 190 F.3D

398 (BTH CIR. 1999) ......cccesescsesessseesenenensssssnseeeesneseenenenenseserenes 27

STANDARD OIL Co. OF CALIF. V. UNITED STATES, 429

U.S. 17 (1976) .......cscecsscscsssssseseesssenesesenensnsssssseeeeesensnesensensneeess 20

SWITZER V. COAN, 261 F.3D 985 (LOTH CIR.2001)........seseseeseeees 22

TADROS V. COLEMAN, 898 F.2D 10 (2D CIR. 1990)........-eeeeeseeees 26

TRANSAERO, INC. V. LA FUERZA AREA BOLIVIANA, 24

F.3D 457 (2D CIR.1994).......ccscccssessreessesereeereeeer sneennesenssnneenees 22

iv

TRAVELER'S INDEMNITY CoO. V. GORE, 761 F.2D 1549

Fee Sic acessories sibatensaneinsanedepecnaiannhilthdaldeiaiadsliegtliadadaaaibaniias

UNITED STATES V. BEGGERLY, 524 U.S. 38 (1998)............... oe

UNITED STATES V. THROCKMORTON, 98 U.S. (8 OTTO) 61,

Boe Re We 0 MO scrcsccivclasinstoninbinteninthinidamecaneeamamevaniontukiianin

WALLACE V. UNITED STATES, 142 F.2D 240 (2ND CIR.),

CERT. DENIED, 323 U.S. 712 (1944)...........ccc.ccscosrsccsscesssceeseees 28

WILLIAMS V. BRISTOL-MYERS SQUIBB CO., 85 F.3D 270

ge | Re te a ee ve Le Oe 2

WILSON V. JOHN-MANSVILLE SALES CORP., 873 F.2D 869

CRIN SAGs SUT iiancnscsessnsadseciditdspahtsahnanepeeinitacnaniesetiinraneiunisdatineih 2%

STATUTES

SS i a ,

nae

]

Respondents, the City of Kemah, Texas (the “City”) and

William S. Helfand (“Helfand”) appear to file this brief in

opposition to the peution for certiorari of Petitioner Sandy S

Tollett (“Tollett”).

RESPONSE TO TOLLETT’S

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

In the preamble of her petition, Tollett requests this

Court “to review the judgments” — plural not singular — “of the

Fifth Circuit in this case.” In the “Opinions Below” section of

her petition, she then identifies the two Fifth Circuit decisions

she presumably desires the Court to review, the so-called Tollett

I decision, handed down by the Fifth Circuit in September 1999,

and the Tollett I] decision, handed down on March 6, 2002.

Obviously, since Tollett did not file her current petition within

90 days of entry of the Tollett ] judgment, her petiton for review

of that judgment is time-barred. Sup. Ct. R. 13(1).

RESPONSE TO TOLLETT’S

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Tollett’s Underlying Title VII Claim.

As City will discuss below, as one of the prerequisites for

obtaining relief from the judgment under any of the subsections

of Rule 60(b) is a showing of a meritorious claim or defense, the

following statement of facts, not detailed in the Court of

Appeals’ opinion, is offered to support the City’s argument here

that Tollett’s Title VII claim lacks merit as a matter of law and

therefore any retrial of her case would be an exercise in futility.

When the City appointed Tollett to the unpaid position of

reserve officer in August, 1993, she was totally inexperienced in

police work. (9 Tr. 164). The City requested her to work a

minimum of 32 hours per month, or 8 hours per week. (/d., at

169). Although in her petition for certiorari Tollett has described

herself as a “full-time reserve police officer” (id., at 2), in reality

she worked only 40 to 45 hours per month, or approximately 10

9

to 11 hours per week. (9 Tr. 233). The City never paid her any

wage or salary and never provided her any benefits, such as life

or health insurance. (9 Tr. 216).

In her petition for certiorari, Tollett has attempted to

recast the theory of her Title VII claim as a complaint about a

work environment “tainted by sexual animus.” See Tollett’s

Petition, at 2. No claim for a hostile work environment was

pled. Rather, the gravamen of Tollett’s suit was that she was

required to undergo more field training than unidentified

volunteer male reservists.

At trial, Tollett testified that she believed she had

completed field training in July 1994, when the chief of police at

that time, Gary Harter, told her she was “good to go.” (9 Tr. 175

77, 229). She was then assigned to bicycle patrol, as she

requested, until September 1994. (9 Tr. 177).

In September 1994, according to Tollett’s trial testimony:

“I contacted Sergeant Munoz over the telephone and informed

him that I was pregnant and I requested to be taken off the

streets and off of bicycle patrol for my safety as well as my

child's.” (9 Tr. 178). Never thereafter did Tollett work for the

City. (9 Tr. 179-82, 224-26).

Tollett’s child was born in May 1995. When she returned

to the Kemah Police Department expecting to resume her

volunteer patrol duties in July 1995, a subordinate officer, Capt.

Swinney, told her that her she would have to “re-train.” (9 Tr.

230, 233). Tollett admitted at trial that she never took the matter

up with Chief Harter, the decisionmaker in such matters for the

Department. (9 Tr. 234-35, 244-45).

Tollett testified that on a single occasion, the City paid her a small

fee for executing a warrant. However, she did not report the fee on

the federal income tax return she filed jointly with her husband; and

the City had no record of ever paying her any fee. (9 Tr. 216-18).

3

Tollett further admitted that the City never fired her. (9

Tr. 202). To the contrary, she simply decided not to resume her

reservist duties upon being told by Capt. Swinney that she

would need to re-train. (9 Tr. 202, 206, 933-34). Tollett filed a

charge of discrimination with the Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”) in August 1995, almost

eleven months after her last day of work as a part-time

volunteer. (9 Tr. 191).

There is no evidence that all police reservists who

successfully completed field training were appointed to paying

jobs. Nor do Tollett’s pleadings in this case allege that the City

discriminated against her in any hiring decision or that it refused

to offer her any paid job position because of her sex. She

admitted at trial that she never inquired about any of the

openings the City had posted for paid police officer positions,

and she never applied for any such jobs. (9 Tr. 254).

B. The Discovery Order Compelling The Document

Production.

In January 1997, Tollett served the City with

interrogatories and requests for production. (R. 220-37).

Contrary to Tollett’s ~urrent characterization of the document

request as one seeking the production of the personnel files of

officers “similarly situated” to Tollett, it instead called for the

production of the complete files of all city police officers

employed between 1993 and 1996, regardless of whether

comparable in any relevant way to Tollett. (R. 222-23). The City

objected to the request for the production en masse of employee

files. (R. 210-14).

In May 1997, Tollett filed a motion to compel. (R. 248).

The part of her motion addressed to the production of employee

personnel files is vague and appeared concerned only with the

files of “comparative officers.” (R. 241). The motion’s prayer for

relief is equally vague, requesting simply that the motion be

granted “in all parts.” (R. 239).

4

On June 27, 1997, in a cryptic, one-line order no more

specific than Tollett’s motion to compel, the District Court

stated: “The plaintiffs motion to compel answers to

interrogatories and documents (#14) is granted. It is so

Ordered.” (R. 270).

C. The City Secretary's Affidavit.

In her certiorari petition, Tollett states that the Kemah

City Secretary, Kathy Pierce, filed an affidavit “to the effect that”

none of the records Tollett had requested even existed, and that

Pierce, in her affidavit, “knew her statements would mislead the

court.” This assertion is false on several levels.

To begin with, Pierce did not “file” her affidavit in court.

lt was intended as a supplement to Tollett’s document request.

The genesis of it is as follows: On October 6, 1997, at the pretrial

docket call, Tollett’s counsel complained to the District Court

that the City still had not produced employee files for other

officers, to which Mr. Helfand, the city’s trial counsel,

responded:

The Plaintiff has asked for — and the Court

granted a motion to compel for records and

personnel files of employees who were — and I'm

using quoted now because these were their

words — similarly situated, discriminated against

because of a pregnant condition.

We reported that there were no other such

employees. There were no other employees who

during the time that the Plaintiff was employed

even took a leave of absence for a pregnancy

purpose let alone who claimed any

discrimination as a result of being pregnant.

(7 Tr. 9). To address plaintiffs concerns, Mr. Helfand offered to

furnish a no-records affidavit from the city secretary, averring

that the City had never employed any “similarly situated” officer.

ee

5

This proposal, to which plaintiffs counsel offered no objection,

also appeared to satisfy the District Judge, who stated:

“(Pjerhaps | | an affidavit is the appropriate way to deal with it in

light of my motion because the motion is more than simply a

request, it’s an order.” (7 Tr. 11).

On October 20, 1997, Mr. Helfand sent Tollett’s counsel a

no-records affidavit executed by Ms. Pierce. (PX 13, 24).

Contrary to Tollett’s peution for certiorari, Pierce did not “file” it

in court, and it certainly was not used to influence the Court's

ruling on some motion then pending. The Pierce affidavit states

in relevant part:

The City of Kemah has not had an employee or

volunteer who is “similarly situated” as the

Plaintiff, Sandy Tollett, in that the Police

Department has not had any other employee

who was on leave for any reason who had not

completed their field training either prior to

taking leave or who did not agree to successfully

complete the field training program upon their

return from leave. Accordingly, the City has no

records to produce of any employee or volunteer

who is, as described, “similarly situated” to

Sandy Tollett.

(PX 24). There is no evidence that anything stated in this

affidavit is false.”

In footnote 3 of the District Court's March 2000 sanction order, the

Court has labeled the affidavit as “false” .. . “because it fails to

inform the Court about lost or destroyed records that had bearing

on the representation.” (R. 1661). This characterization 1s plainly

wrong since the affidavit does not speak to files of anyone other

officers “similarly situated” to Tollett (as the affidavit defines that

term), and so Pierce's alleged failure to volunteer information in her

affidavit about the files of other employees does not make the

affidavit false or perjurious.

6

D. Helfand’s Statement At Docket Call Concerning

Non-Existence Of Documents.

Helfand’s comments at the October 6 docket cail to the

effect that Virtually all of the employment records kept during

Chief Harter’s administration were lost or missing was an

inadvertent overstatement. Later at trial, as discussed below,

Helfand would discover that a large cache of irrelevant

employee files from Chief Harter’s administration had in fact

been retained. Nevertheless, the training records which the

District Court considered relevant never surfaced, for as the

Court itself noted in its March 2000 sanctions order, the training

records of “most, if not all, of the relevant officers” (R. 1660) —

to the extent such documents ever existed in the first place —

remained missing.’ The same can be said for other categories of

During Tollett’s tenure as an unpaid police officer, the City operated

out of a 1400 square-foot converted residence. (9 Tr. 419; 2 Supp. Tr.

88). The Kemah police chief during Tollett’s tenure, Harter, was the

physical custodian of all of the personnel files of city police officers.

Harter’s successor, Warren, assumed this role when he became chief

on September 29,.1995. He found the files scattered in various

locations throughout the building and in a detached temporary shed

outside. Warren assembled the files, organized them in folders and

placed them in a central location in his office. By the time the case

was tried in March 1998, the police employee files had been moved

to Warren's office in the new, 3000 square-foot Kemah City Hall

building. (9 Tr. 419; 10 Tr. 461; 1 Supp. Tr. 110, 115). As Mumioz

testified at trial, each of these personnel files theoretically should

have contained the officer's job application, state officer

certification, physical fitness records, education records, and

disciplinary records. (9 Tr. 321-22). In actuality, however, as

reflected by the parties’ inventories of the contents of the 63

personnel files Warren brought to the courthouse on the last day of

trial, many of the files were deficient of these materials, most

notably those of officers who had served during Chief Harter’s

administration. (R. 878-1063, 1242-1630; PX 18, 25; DX 1). During

the transition period between chiefs, the chief's office and desk

were unsecured. (1 Supp. Tr. 120). Approximately three months

after Warren became chief, the Kemah mayor and three police

officers informed him that other Kemah officers had entered the

office and destroyed “stuff out of their own files.” (/d.). There is no

evidence of the identities those who allegedly had destroyed

7

documents that the files at least in theory should have

contained. Thus, while it is true that at docket call Helfand

inadvertently misstated the extent to which the files of Harter

era officers could not be accounted for, his comments in this

regard could not have amounted to a_ material

misrepresentation, let alone a misstatement capable of

preventing Tollett from having a fair trial.

E. The Trial.

The case was tried to a jury between March 10 and 13,

1998. Assistant Police Chief Pete Munoz attended as the City’s

trial representative. During Tollett’s tenure Mufioz had served as

a corporal and a field training officer, he did not then have

access to police personnel files. (9 Tr. 320, 356, 381-82; 1 Supp.

Tr. 81). The custodian of the files at that time was Chief Harter,

whom the City had relieved of duties on October 1, 1995, even

before Tollett filed suit. (9 Tr. 356; 10 Tr. 444-46; 1 Supp. Tr. 31-

32; DX 1). Since the parties could not locate Harter during the

Tollett litigation, he was unavailable to testify at trial. (9 Tr. 356-

57). Harter’s second-in-command, Alonso Swinney had resigned

in November 1996. (10 Tr. 450; R. 911). The Kemah chief of

police at the time of trial, Keith Warren, had not been a city

employee when Tollett served. (1 Supp. Tr. 110). Thus, Mufioz

was the highest ranking police officer still in the City’s

employment who had witnessed Tollett’s job performance.°

On March 10, 1998, during presentation of the parties’

motions in limine, Tollett reurged her motion for sanctions,

records, aS no names were ever mentioned. (/d., at 122). Nor does

the record of the sanctions hearing indicate exactly what was

destroyed or why.

Mujioz was not, however, the City’s custodian of police personnel

records - Chief Warren was - and as the trial record abundantly

shows Mujfioz was not the person best qualified to testify about the

contents of those files, particularly those compiled during the time

of Tollett’s employment when Mujioz had no access to any of them.

8

which the Court carried with the case. (8 Tr. 31). In the

discussion that followed, Tollett’s counsel argued that Pierce’s

affidavit certifying no records of similarly situated officers

“modified what we asked for.” (Jd., at 32). Mr. Helfand reminded

the Court that during the October 6 docket call, the Court itself

had indicated that a no-records affidavit of this sort “would

suffice.” The District Judge replied: “Well, that would suffice as

far as the Court is concerned about the effort to comply [with

the discovery order]... .” (/d., at 33).

Apparently, the Court’s greater concern at this point was

the City’s failure to have maintained complete records for all of

its police officers — in the Court’s mind a violation of state law

relevant to the credibility of the City’s witnesses. The Court

would thus permit cross-examination on why such records had

not been preserved. (/d., at 33-36). The effect of this ruling was

to put the City on trial as much for its faulty record-keeping as

for its treatment of Tollett.

To the extent one reads Tollett’s certiorari petition and

the District Court’s sanction order of October 2, 2000 as implying

that Helfand had argued to the jury that the City had lost all of

the personnel files of officers who had served under Chief

Harter, any such implication is unfounded. During opening

statement, Helfand commented only on the absence of relevant

records of sex discrimination against Tollett:

This lady has already admitted, and I think you

will see in the evidence, there is nobody who is

going to testify that decisions related to her were

because she’s a woman, no one. There are no

documents, no memos to suggest that, nothing. .

[I] will prove to you, and she will tell you, if she

testifies consistent with her prior deposition

testimony, no witnesses, no documents,

absolutely nothing but her firmly held belief.

And I don’t mind for a second, and I will tell you

9

this again later, I don’t mind for a second that

she thinks it, but that’s not proof of it and she

won't prove it to you, because she will tell you

that there are no witnesses and no documents,

that anything that happened to her because of

the fact that she’s a woman.

(8 Tr. 143-45).

Now I've got to tell you, Chief Harter, he’s not

the chief anymore. He was a good cop. He wasa

lousy administrator. He didn't do the

administrator work of his job very well, and his

record keeping was dismal. This is a small police

department, as Mr. Griffin correctly told you.

Seven police officers worked here. Yeah, they

have volunteers come in and out from time to

time, but there are seven cops in the entire

department. And Chief Harter did not keep very

good records with respect to those individuals.

But the records are not what this case is about,

because there would be nothing in those records

~ and we have the records as they relate to Ms.

Tollett, but there would be nothing in the

records that would show that Ms. Tollett’s

treatment was because of the fact that she is a

woman. And the fact that we may not have the

records for somebody else has nothing to do

with Ms. Tollett.

(8 Tr. 147-48).

During the trial itself, Helfand made other statements

about various employee “records”. In its October 2, 2000

sanction order, the District Court quoted some of these

statements out of context to create the impression that Helfand,

at one point in the trial, knowingly misrepresented the status of

the City’s police personnel files to the Court, and later, after the

10

Court threatened to send the FBI to City Hall, had dramatically

confessed to having known the true state of the files all along.

The Court’s rendition of these events is as follows:

[Djuring opening statements, attorney Helfand

was confident in telling the jury that there were

no documents or records that supported the

plaintiffs case. When the Court threatened a

criminal investigation, attorney Helfand again

stated to the Court, “They don’t have them.”

Later in the colloquy between the Court and

attorney Helfand, he modified his statement to,

“I don’t have the records.” Finally when the

Court threatened to have federal authorities

search the City’s facilities for such records,

attorney Helfand remarked to the Court, “I will

have the Chief bring those records tomorrow.”

(R. 1662).

For this Court to better understand the strength of the

inferences the District Judge has drawn from Mr. Helfand’s

statements quoted above, it will be necessary here to reconstruct

the actual context of each of these statements, paying close

attention to how the term “records” was used each time and the

particular context in which it was used.

During the trial, it was Mufioz in response to cross

examination — rather than Helfand in response to the Court’s

threat of a criminal investigation — who first disclosed that the

City had in fact been maintaining personnel files of its officers,

including his own. Without hesitation, Mufioz also revealed he

knew where the City had been keeping those files. (9 Tr. 320-

21).

: Later in his testimony Mujfioz clarified that he knew the City was

maintaining the files of its “current officers”; he was unsure what

remained of any of the files of officers who were no longer

employed by the City when Warren became the chief. (9 Tr. 355-66).

11

The focus of cross-examination then shifted to an

entirely different set of “records” - Mufioz’s “field training

records.” These were records Mufioz had made of his

observations of officers training under his supervision (Tollett

being one). Regarding these records, Mufioz testified that he had

made handwritten, contemporaneous notes of the dates and

hours of Tollett’s training sessions. Mufioz testified that he

turned these records over to Captain Swinney, but they were not

in the “employee file” produced by the City in the litigation. (9

Tr. 322-26, 336-37). To this day Tollett's training records

remain missing.

When Mufioz later attempted to testify from memory

about the number of hours per week Tollett customarily

worked, the Court refused to allow it, stating:

THE COURT: I’m not going to let him testify to

those [recollections], because the Best Evidence

Rule says his memory isn’t worth zip unless he

can establish and show where the records are

and why they’re not here before the Court.

MR. HELFAND: I would like to make a record on

this at some point, Judge.

THE COURT: You certainly can. And I’m very

close to asking that there be a criminal

investigation involved in this situation, because

it is totally outrageous that these people are

violating state law and not maintaining records

and then come in here and pretend that they

eon't know where other people’s records are.

MR. HELFAND: Judge, they don’t have them.

We’ve had this discussion with the Court before,

and I don’t disagree with what the Court is

saying. It’s clearly inappropriate.

12

THE COURT: It is a violation of state law and it

is a crime to destroy records when a lawsuit is

implicated. It is against federal law to destroy

records. The implication of all this - and if the

jury was sitting over there and listening to him

testify and he’s on trial for his life, they wouldn’t

believe him, in my opinion, and they would put

him in jail, because they know he’s the man who

created the records and they know that there are

other men who helped maintain and create

records and they know that those men should be

here. This is a crime.

MR. HELFAND: Judge, I’m not disagreeing with

the Court that it may be a crime. I don’t know.

All I’m saying — I don’t disagree, Judge. J don’t

have the records.

(9 Tr. 349-50) (emphasis added).

Viewed in proper context the “records” Helfand was

referring to here were Mufioz’s time records — records which to

this day remain missing. Thus, Helfand’s statements to the

Court that “they” — 7.e., the City officials — “don’t have them”,

meaning time records, and that “I don’t have them”, meaning

time records, were all literally true.

In the next passage, the District Judge referred to “these

records” as among a wider domain of “records” that he believed

his one-line order had commanded the City to produce: “[W]hat I

ordered was the production of these records, and they have not

been produced.” (/d., at 350). The Court then confronted Mufioz

with his earlier testimony that he knew where City was keeping

its police employee files — again, a different set of “records.” The

Court proclaimed: “It is a falsehood, a misrepresentation, to tell

the Court you have no records and then sit up here on the

witness stand and say, ‘I know where they’re stored.” (9 Tr.

351). Mufioz again confirmed: “I know where the employee files

are today.” (Jd., at 351) (emphasis added). This revelation

13

provoked Judge Hoyt to command the City to bring those

records to the courtroom:

THE COURT: Well, you go tell your client —

MR. HELFAND: My client has been told

numerous times —

THE COURT: -I want those records here.

MR. HELFAND: Judge, J don’t haven't [sic]

those records.”

THE COURT: Have those records here tomorrow

morning or you don’t come back. Whoever has

got them, I want them and I want them here at

the courthouse and I want to look at them. And

if I determine that there has been some

impropriety, I am going to ask the FBI to go over

there and turn that office upside down and put

everybody in jail that belongs to be there.

MR. HELFAND: And, Your Honor, so we

understand, so we can comply, is the Court

instructing that the records of officers from that

time period —

THE COURT: I want every personnel record of

every police officer during the relevant period of

time. And I better find some records.

(Id., at 352-53). The Court clarified the “relevant time” as 1993,

1994, and 1995. (/d., at 353-54). Helfand at this point, rather than

“confessing” to having known all along of the existence of these

files, continued to express doubt about whether the City really

had preserved any employee files kept during the Harter

administration. (9 Tr. 355). |

14

On the following morning, March 11, 1998, Chief Warren

delivered to the Court all of the police personnel files then in the

City’s custody, including those of officers who served before

1993 or after 1995. (10 Tr. 458-64).° Tollett then moved for a

mistrial and a continuance to review the files. (10 Tr. 470).

Overruling these motions, the Court announced that Tollett

would be afforded an opportunity to review the files after trial

and further advised that if the files were then found to contain

any probative evidence, the Court would consider it as a basis

both for a new trial, if Tollett then desired one, and for

enhancing sanctions yet to be imposed. (10 Tr. 471).

In the meantime, as a trial sanction the Court forbade

Helfand from arguing to the jury that the City had in fact kept

the personnel records of other officers. Instead, the Court

instructed the jury - and permitted Tollett’s counsel to argue in

closing, as he strenuously did — that the jury could infer from

the City’s failure to produce the employment files of its other

officers that such records contained evidence unfavorable to the

City’s position. (10 Tr. 465-79, 534, 550, 561, 567-69, 602; R. 746).

On March 13, 1998, the jury refused to find that the City

had discriminated against Tollett in violation of Title VII. (R.

738-39). The Court accordingly entered a take-nothing judgment

for the City on March 20, 1998. (R. 754).

F. Tollett’s Rule 59 Motion for New Trial.

On March 30, 1998, Tollett moved for a new trial under

FED. R. CIV. P. 59 citing two grounds: (1) some of the “newly-

discovered evidence” in the files could have affected the

outcome of the trial, and (2) the alleged misstatements at issue

in this proceeding by Helfand and Muvioz constituted a fraud

on the court. See Respondents’ Appendix, Ex. A. The Court

See the inventories summarizing the files which Tollett filed in

connection with the first appeal, showing that Chief Warren

produced files of some 63 employees consisting of 4,874 pages in all.

(R. 1017-39, 1057-63, 1242-1630; PX 25; DX 1).

-

15

denied this motion without explanation on May 18, 1998. (R.

856).

G. Tollett I: The First Appeal.

On June 12, 1998, Tollett appealed from the denial of her

motion for new trial. (R. 868). On July 1, the City cross-appealed

from the $5,000 sanction order (R. 870). In her appellant's brief

in Tollett J, Tollett challenged the District Court’s refusal to grant

her a new trial on the ground of fraud. Although this ground, as

noted above, had been raised in Tollett’s Rule 59 motion for new

trial, on appeal she raised it solely in connection with a second

point of error that complained of the District Court's refusal to

grant her relief from the judgment under Rule 60(b)( 3). (R. 1073-

76, 1082-83). Tollett, however, had not yet filed a Rule 60(b)

motion below. Thus, in Tollett J the Fifth Circuit considered

Tollett’s second point of error premature. See Tollett v. City of

Kemah, No. 98-20547, at p. 4 (5th Cir. September 13, 1999) (R.

1152).

In support of her appeal, Tollett had supplemented the

appellate record with summaries and voluminous excerpts of

the 63 employee files produced by Chief Warren on the last day

of trial. (R. 880-1063). The Tollett I Court, after reviewing those

records, stated: “Tollett has not directed us to, nor have we

found, any evidence that would have changed the outcome of

the trial.” Id. (emphasis added). Accordingly, the Court affirmed

the original take-nothing judgment for the City. (/d.).

H. Proceedings on Remand.

On October 19, 1999, the District Court entered an order

setting a hearing on December 6 and stating that “[o]n remand of

this case, the Court is required to determine reasonable

sanctions for the conduct of the defendants [sic] and/or counsel

in failing to comply with discovery request ordered by the

Court.” (R. 1156). At the December 6 hearing, the District Judge

decided to set the matter for a full evidentiary hearing, having

read Tollett I as “saying I need to make a complete record, it

16

seems to me, and then determine whether sanctions should be

entered or not.” (12 Tr. 9) (emphasis added). Setting the tone for

what was then to follow, Judge Hoyt castigated the City’s

counsel for their successful pursuit of the City’s meritorious

cross-appeal:

I do not intend to walk away from this, because

I'm insulted. I’m angry by the fact that this case

would go up on a simple $5,000 award that was

designed to ameliorate Ms. Tollett’s problem and

counsel's anguish over not getting discovery that

seems to me to bear substantially up on the issue

of whether or not the trial itself — the entirety of

the trial was circumvented. . . . | had hoped that

this would have gone away; and I was

disappointed that the appeal was taken, not so

much, I suppose, by [Tollett’s counsel] Mr.

Griffin, who wanted terribly to set this case

aside, | suppose, and for it to come back, but on

the sanctions part. That part should have

walked away. It should have been dealt with

that day.

(12 Tr. 14-15).

On January 12, 2002, Tollett filed what she styled an

“amended motion for sanctions,” requesting monetary sanctions

under FED. R. CIV. P. 11 and 37 and a new trial under FED. R.

Civ. P. 60(b)(2) and (3). See Respondents’ Appendix, Ex. B.

Tollett’s fraud-on-the-court argument supporting her request for

a new trial under Rule 60(b)(3) was a rehash of the same fraud-

Even before the sanctions hearing, the Court's view of the course

Helfand should have followed was as follows: “Mr. Helfand should

have said, look, you know, this thing is very touchy. It has criminal

implications here. I have lied to the Judge. I have cheated in this

process and I should back off and I should get my client to back off

with me or pay the price for my client having done this.” (12 Tr. 13)

(emphasis added).

17

on-the-court argument the District Court had already

considered, and rejected, in denying Tollett’s Rule 59 motion for

new trial in May 1998.

In addition, although Tollett maintains in her petition for

certiorari that in her renewed motion for new trial, she moved

for a new trial under not only Rule 60(b)(2) and 60(b)(3) but

also under the residual clause of Rule 60(b). However, a fair

reading of the preamble, body, and prayer of that motion will

reveal that Tollett did not move for a new trial under the residual

clause. Only in a footnote of that motion did Tollett refer to a

court’s power to set aside a judgment in an independent action

for “fraud upon the court.” But even there she failed to request

the Court to conduct an independent action for the purposes of

obtaining relief from the judgment. See Respondents’ App. B.

On January 14, 2000, the Court scheduled a hearing to

“determine whether sanctions should be imposed and, if so,

against whom.” (R. 1189-90). Five persons were commanded to

appear — Helfand, Warren, Pierce, Mufioz, and Ms. Rachel

Ziolkowski (a lawyer associate of Helfand’s). All were ordered

to come “prepared to give testimony concerning personnel

records kept by the City of Kemah in light of the Court's pretrial

orders [sic] to provide those records to the plaintiff and her

counsel.” (/d.).

On March 7 and 8, 2000, the District Court held an

evidentiary hearing on Tollett’s amended motion for sanctions.

At the outset of the hearing the Court stated that it did not

consider the evidentiary hearing applicable to Tollett’s Rule

60(b) motion for new trial, since the Court viewed that motion

as sufficiently addressed by the documents and court papers

already on file. (1 Supp. Tr. 4). In this regard the Court stated:

All right. I recognize, Mr. Griffin, that you have

raised — in addition to the question of your

motion, should I say, for sanctions and/or

supplemental motion or amended motion, let's

call it — in addition to that, you have raised a

18

basis, at least in your motion — let's see if it is

contained — yes, in that same motion for

amended sanctions, you have raised a 60(b )

question and whether or not that should apply.

And I believe that the parties — and I say parties

meaning the City of Kemah as well as you —

have adequately addressed that in the

documents and papers. So, J am not going to

focus on that aspect of your motion from an

evidentiary perspective.

Id. (emphasis added). When then asked by the Court if the

parties had any objection to this approach, Tollett’s counsel

stated he had none. /d.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

On October 2, 2000, the District Court implicitly denied

Tollett’s Rule 60(b) motion for new trial. In Tollett IT, the Fifth

Circuit affirmed this ruling. Tollett’s petition for certiorari is

confined to those rulings of the lower courts. Tollett has not

challenged the Fifth Circuit's reversal of the inherent power

sanction award against the City and Helfand, and she has not

challenged the Fifth Circuit’s reversal of the factual findings

made by the District Court in support of that sanction.

A. The Mandate Rule Bars Tollett’s Rule 60(b)

Motion.

Tollett’s first two points of error appear to be shades and

phases of the same contention that the Fifth Circuit, in Tollett IJ,

denied Tollett her right to bring a meritorious

claim for relief under the savings clause of Rule

60(b), “fraud on the court”, and denied the

district court its inherent right to raise or review

that claim. The panel failed to recognize that at

the hearing on sanctions following remand, the

district court properly considered not only the

19

mandate from the panel, but also the claim of

fraud on the court, and therefore the district

court's findings and order did not exceed the

scope of the mandate.

Petition, at p.8.

Before turning to the merits of this argument,

Respondents must first rebut the two misstatements of record

which are built into it: First, as noted above, Tollett’s motion for

new trial at issue is not an independent action under the residual

clause of Rule 60(b). The only subsections of Rule 60(b) on

which Tollett moved for relief, in the preamble, body, and prayer

of that motion, are Rules 60(b)(2) and 60(b)(3), which the Court

of Appeals correctly held to be time-barred. See App. B.

Second, Tollett has mischaracterized the nature of the

March 2000 sanctions hearing by treating it as if it were an

independent action under the residual Clause of Rule 60(b). At

no time before or during that hearing did the District Judge take

the view that the matter before him was an independent action

to set aside the judgment. To the contrary, on March 7, 2000,

at the outset of the sanctions hearing, the District Judge stated

expressly on the record that he did not consider the evidentiary

hearing to be applicable to Tollett’s Rule 60(b) motion for new

trial, since the Court viewed that motion as sufficiently

addressed by the briefing and documents already on file. (1

Supp. Tr. 4).

Accordingly, contrary to Tollett’s argument on certiorari,

the Fifth Circuit did not “deny Tollett her right to bring a

meriterious claim for relief under the savings clause of Rule

60(b)” — for she did not bring any such claim. Nor did the Fifth

Circuit deny the District Court “its inherent right to raise or

review” such a claim — for the District Court made it absolutely

clear that the evidentiary hearing in March 2000 was held only to

determine what kind of sanction to impose, if any, and not to

decide Tollett’s motion for new trial.

20

Finally, Tollett’s argument that the mandate rule does

not bar her Rule 60(b) motion, whatever its basis, is also

unavailing. “[Rjelitigation of the legal or factual claims

underlying the original judgment is not permitted in a Rule 60(b)

motion or an appeal therefrom.” Agostini v. Felton, 521 U.S. 203,

257 (1997) (Ginsburg, J., dissenting); 11 Wright, Miller, & Kane,

FED. PRAC. & PROC. 2d § 2863, p. 340 (Rule 60(b) “does not allow

relitigation of issues that have been resolved by the judgment”);

Geo. P. Reintjes Co., Inc. v. Riley Stoker Corp., 71 F.3d 44, 49

(1st Cir 1995) (“Rule 60(b) does not license a party to relitigate,

whether via motion or independent action, any issues that were

made or open to litigation in the former action where he had a

fair opportunity to make his claim or defense.”) (emphasis

added; internal quotations deleted).

As discussed above, after the original judgment in this

case was entered, Tollett moved for a new trial under Rule 59 on

the grounds of fraud on the court and newly discovered

evidence. The District Court denied Tollett’s Rule 59 motion.

Accordingly, subsumed in the original judgment is the District

Court’s refusal to set that judgment aside on the ground of fraud,

and the mandate in Tollett I did not authorize the District Court

to relitigate that same question under the guise of a Rule 60(b)

motion. But Tollett’s Rule 60(b) motion attempts to do just that

— it is a rehash of her Rule 59 motion which the District Court

had already denied, a ruling Tollett could have appealed to the

Fifth Circuit in Tollett I. Rule 60(b) is not an exception to the

doctrine of res judicata once the matter has, as it was in this

case, been fully and fairly litigated in a previous motion for new

trial.

-For this reason, Tollett’s reliance on Standard Oil Co. of

Calif. v. United States, 429 U.S. 17 (1976), is misplaced. It holds

merely that a Rule 60(b) motion may be filed in the district

court, even after the judgment has been affirmed on appeal, but

only where the movant seeks relief from the judgment based on

information not before the district court when it ruled

initially. Id., at 18-19. Tollett’s Rule 60(b) motion was based on

precisely the same information she presented to the District

21

Court in her Rule 59 motion, and the matter was thus includable

in the Tollett I appeal. See Seese v. Volkswagenwerk, A.G., 679

F.2d 336, 337 & n.1 (3d Cir. 1982) (distinguishing Standard Oil

and holding that “[t]he district court is without jurisdiction to

alter the mandate of this court on the basis of matters included

or includable in defendants’ prior appeal”) (emphasis added).

B. Tollett’s Rule 60(b)(2) & (3) Motions Are

Time-Barred.

Alternatively, as the Tollett [J Court further held,

assuming arguendo the grant of a new trial would not have

exceeded the Tollett I mandate, Tollett’s Rule 60(b) motion at

issue here, predicated as it was on Rules 60(b)(2) and (3),

needed to be filed “not more than one year after the judgment...

was entered.” FED. R. CIV. P. 60(b). Since it was filed 24 months

after the original judgment, it was, as Tollett IT correctly holds,

untimely. In her petition for certiorari, Tollett does not

complain of any error in this alternative ground.

C. In Any Event, The District Court Did Not

Abuse Its Discretion In Denying Tollett’s

Motion For New Trial.

Bs Waiver.

As noted above, Tollett’s Rule 60(b) motion for new trial

does not purport to be an independent action under the residual

clause of Rule 60(b). The only subsections of Rule 60(b) on

which Tollett moved for relief, both in the preamble of her

motion and the prayer, are Rules 60(b)(2) and 60(b)(3), which

the Court of Appeals correctly held to be time-barred. See

Respondents’ Ex. B. During the March 7-8 sanctions hearing, the

District Court correctly decided that it would be able to decide

Tollett’s Rule 60(b) motion on the written motion papers

without the need to conduct any trial on the merits of a claim of

fraud on the court, and Tollett did not object to this approach.

22

2. No Fraud On The Court Shown.

Furthermore, even if Tollett had properly preserved her

present argument about the denial of relief under Rule 60(b)’s

residual clause, the District Court can hardly be said to have

abused its discretion in denying such relief. See Switzer v. Coan,

261 F.3d 985, 988 (10th Cir.2001) (appellate court reviews

disposition of action for fraud upon the court under abuse-of-

discretion standard).

Fraud of the type necessary to sustain an independent

action attacking the finality of a judgment — “fraud upon the

court” — is far narrower in scope than that sufficient for relief

by timely motion under Rule 60(b)(3). See Hazel-Atlas Glass Co.

v. Hartford-Empire Co., 322 U.S. 238, 244-46 (1944); First Nat.

Bank of Louisville v. Lustig, 96 F.3d 1554, 1573 (5th Cir. 1996);

Porter v. Chicago School Reform Bd., 187 F.R.D. 563, 565-66

(N.D. Ill. 1999); 12 MOORE’S FEDERAL PRACTICE 3d, at § 60.21[4].

“[F]ar more than an injury to an individual litigant,” it “embraces

‘that species of fraud which does or attempts to defile the court

itself, or is a fraud perpetrated by officers of the court so that

the judicial machinery cannot perform in the usual manner its

impartial task of adjudging cases presented for adjudication.”

Transaero, Inc. v. La Fuerza Area Boliviana, 24 F.3d 457, 460

(2d Cir.1994) (quoting Kupferman v. Consol. Research and Mfg.

Corp., 459 F.2d 1072, 1078 (2d Cir.1972)); see also Wilson v.

John-Mansville Sales Corp., 873 F.2d 869, 872 (5th Cir. 1989).°

This Court has held that an independent action under the

residual clause must, “if Rule 60(b) is to be interpreted as a

coherent whole, be reserved for those cases of ‘injustices which,

in certain instances, are deemed sufficiently gross to demand a

departure’ from rigid adherence to the doctrine of res judicata.”

United States v. Beggerly, 524 U.S. 38, 46 (1998) (quoting

i)

The only similarity between the standard for establishing fraud

under Rule 60(b)(3) and fraud on the court is that both species of

fraud must be proved by clear and convincing evidence. 12 MOoRE’s

FEDERAL PRACTICE § 60.21[4][b] (3d ed. 1999).

————

23

Hazel-Atlas Glass Co., 322 U.S. at 244). Courts and authorities

agree that "fraud upon the court" must be narrowly construed so

that this "otherwise nebulous concept" does not "overwhelm the

specific provision of 60(b)(3) and its time limitation and thereby

subvert the balance of equities contained in the Rule.” Great

Coastal Express, Inc. v. International Bhd. of Teamsters, 675

F.2d 1349, 1356 (4th Cir. 1982) (citing numerous cases). Because

the power to vacate a judgment for fraud upon the court is so

free from procedural limitations, it "is limited to fraud that

‘seriously’ affects the integrity of the normal process of

adjudication," 12 Moore, Moore’s Federal Practice ¥ 60.21([4][a]

(3d ed. 1999). For example, fraud upon the court includes fraud

by bribing a judge, or tampering with a jury, or fraud by an

officer of the court, including an attorney. See id. 44 60.21(4)[(a],

[b].

Fraud between parties, therefore, “is not fraud on [the]

court” even if it involves "[p]erjury by a party or witness." Id. 44

60.21[4]{c]; see also, e.g., United States v. Throckmorton, 98 U.S.

(8 Otto) 61, 66, 25 L.Ed. 93 (1878) ("The doctrine is equally well

settled that the court will not set aside a judgment because it.

was founded.on a fraudulent instrument, or perjured evidence");

Geo. P. Reintjes Co. v. Riley Stoker Corp., 71 F.3d 44, 49 (1st

Cir.1995) ("perjury alone, absent allegation of involvement by an

officer of the court ... has never been sufficient [to constitute

fraud upon the court justifying collateral attack]") (citing

numerous cases).

Moreover, as the Tenth Circuit has stated:

“fraud on the court,” whatever else it embodies,

requires a showing that one has acted with an

intent to deceive or defraud the court. A proper

balance between the interests underlying finality

on the one hand and allowing relief due to

inequitable conduct on the other_makes it

essential that there be a showing of conscious

wrongdoing — what can properly be

characterized as a deliberate scheme to defraud

24

— before relief from a final judgment is

appropriate.... Thus, when there is no intent to

deceive, the fact that misrepresentations were

made to a court is not of itself a sufficient basis

for setting aside a judgment under the guise of

“fraud on the court.”

Robinson v. Audi Aktiengesellschaft, 56 F.3d 1259, 1267 (10th

Cir.1995).

Since Tollett’s allegations do not begin to approach the

demanding standard for setting aside a judgment under the

residual clause of Rule 60(b), the District Court could not have

abused its discretion denying such relief. Tollett’s contention is

simply: (1) the City Secretary signed an affidavit which is

literally true but which, according to Tollet, was “misleading” in

some undefined respect; (2) the City failed to timely produce its

existent employee files in discovery — files which the Fifth

Circuit in Tollett I reviewed and found to be legally irrelevant;

(3) the City’s counsel, Helfand, overstated at docket call that the

City was unable to account for any of its police employee files

(when in fact the City did have possession of numerous

irrelevant files and could not account for numerous others

which were then and remain today lost); (4) Helfand truthfully

argued to the jury that Tollett can point to no documents

establishing that she is a victim of sex discrimination, an

argument which even today remains true; and (5) training

records which have never surfaced in the litigation remain

unaccounted for.

It is well established that allegations of non-disclosure of

documents during pretrial discovery do not constitute grounds

for an independent action under Rule 60(b). First Natl Bank,

96 F.3d at 1573; Wilson, 873 F.2d at 872; Kerwit Medical

Products, Inc. v. N & H Instruments, Inc., 616 F.2d 833, 837

(5th Cir. 1980); 12 MOORE’S FEDERAL PRACTICE 3d, at

§ 60.21[4][c].” Nor do allegations of perjury by a witness.

‘ See also H.K. Porter Co. v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 536 F.2d

25

Hazel-Atlas, 322 U.S. at 245." Thus, Tollett’s attempt to

bootstrap a discovery dispute into a fraud claim is unavailing.

3. Futility Of A New Trial.

As an “additional requirement,” the party seeking relief

under the residual clause of Rule 60(b) must prove that the

evidence in question “would have changed the outcome of the

original action.” United States v. Beggerly, 524 U.S. at 47 n.4

(citing Pickford v. Talbott, 225 U.S. 651, 657 (1912)). That is, to

merit Rule 60(b) relief of any kind, the movant must make a

threshold showing that she has a meritorious claim or defense

— “that vacating the judgment will not be an empty exercise.” 12

MOORE’S FEDERAL PRACTICE 3d § 60.24[1], at 60-77 (quoting

Local 59 v. Superline Transport Co., 953 F.2d 17, 20 (1st oe.

1992)).

Accordingly, the District Court could not have abused its

discretion in denying such relief because, as a matter of law,

Tollett cannot prevail on the merits of her Title VII claim. Any

retrial of this case would be futile for at least the following two

reasons.

First, Tollett was not an “employee” within the meaning

of Title VII, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e(f). Her volunteer status was part-

time, without pay or benefits. See Graves v. Women's Prof'l

Rodeo Ass'n, 907 F.2d 71, 73 (8th Cir.1990) (compensation is an

1115, 1118 (6th Cir.1976); Traveler's Indemnity Co. v. Gore, 761

F.2d 1549, 1551-52 (11th Cir.1985) (failure to disclose documents

during discovery).

a See also Great Coastal Express, Inc. v. International Brotherhood

of Teamsters, 675 F.2d 1349, 1357 (4th Cir.1982) (“[pJerjury and

fabricated evidence are evils that can and should be exposed at trial,

and the legal system encourages and expects litigants to root them

out as early as possible”), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1128 (1983);Gleason

v. Jandrucko, 860 F.2d 556, 559 (2d Cir.1988) (after discovered

_ evidence of perjury does not support finding of fraud on the court),

rev'd in part on other grounds, 869 F.2d 688 (2d Cir.1989).

26

“essential condition to the existence of an employer-employee

relationship”); Tadros v. Coleman, 898 F.2d 10, 11 (2d Cir.1990)

(upholding the dismissal of Title VII claims of volunteer member

of college faculty; since defendant did not both control his work

and pay him, plaintiff was not an employee). She had unilateral

power to decide when or whether to leave for health reasons,

and it was she who dictated when, if ever, she would return.

Second, even if Tollett could be regarded a prospective

“employee” within the meaning of Title VII when she returned

from her ten-month leave of absence to have a baby, the City did

not take any “ultimate employment action” cognizable under

Title VII. Title VI jurisprudence makes an important distinction

between (1) “ultimate employment decisions” and (2) mere

“interlocutory or mediate decisions” which have no immediate

effect upon employment conditions, but which might lead to an

ultimate decision. The former can be actionable under Title VII,

while the latter cannot, regardless of motivation. See Mattern v.

Eastman Kodak Co., 104 F.3d 702, 707 (5th Cir.1997); Dollis v.

Rubin, 77 F.3d 777, 781-82 (5th Cir.1995) (per curiam); Page v.

Bolger, 645 F.2d 227, 233 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S 892

(1981). See also Burlington Indus., Inc. v. Ellerth, 524, U.S. 742,

761 (1998) (noting, in a sexual harassment case, that “a tangible

employment action constitutes a significant change in

employment status, such as hiring, firing, failing to promote,

reassignment with significantly different responsibilities, or a

decision causing a significant change in benefits.”).

“Ultimate employment decisions’ include acts ‘such as

hiring, granting leave, discharging, promoting, and

compensating.” Mattern, 104 F.3d at 707 (citations omitted). On

the other hand, changing an employee’s work schedule, hours,

or increasing an employee’s workload are merely administrative

decisions and do not constitute the type of ultimate employment

decisions contemplated by Title VII. See Benningfield v. City of

Houston, 157 F.3d 369, 377 (5th Cir.1998), cert. denied sub nom.

Benningfield v. Nuchia, 526 U.S. 1065 (1999). Other examples

of non-actionable, interlocutory decisions include purely lateral

transfers. See Burger v. Central Apartment Management, Inc.,

27

168 F.3d 875, 879 (5th Cir.1999). “A transfer involving no

reduction in pay and no more than a minor change in working

conditions will not do, either.” Jd. (quoting Williams v. Bristol-

Myers Squibb Co., 85 F.3d 270, 274 (7th Cir.1996) (Posner, J.)).

In the present case, when Tollett returned to work after a

ten-month self-imposed absence, two of her supervisors

allegedly expected her to resume field training. Although it is

disputed whether Tollett had already completed her field

training when she left her job due to her pregnancy, that dispute

is immaterial. Chief Harter, the official decisionmaker, never

advised her that she would be required to re-train in order to

resume her duties as a reservist, and she never mentioned to

Chief Harter that her supervisors insisted that she re-train.

Thus, there is no proof that the City — the Title VII “employer”

— took any position with respect to her training status.

Furthermore, and more fundamentally, regardless of

whether Tollett was required to re-train upon returning to work,

such a requirement — that an employee undergo more training

than what may be required for others — does not by itself tend to

affect the terms and conditions of employment in a way that

violates Title VII. Cf. Shackelford v. DeLoitte & Touche, LLP,

190 F.3d 398, 407 (5th Cir. 1999) (holding that denial of training

that does not tend to result in a change of employment status,

benefits or responsibilities is not an adverse employment action

covered by Title VII). No evidence exists to show that Tollett

would have received any tangible employment benefit if the City

had deemed her training complete. For even as a fully trained

reserve officer, Tollett’s pay and benefits would have remained

the same: zero. Nor is there any evidence of any qualitative

difference between Tollett’s responsibilities as a trainee and

what her responsibilities would have been as a reservist who

had completed her training. Although in her brief she labels

reservist trainees as “probationary employees,” thereby

suggesting the existence of some material distinction in status

between trainees and non-trainees, there is no basis in the

record for it.

28

4. Untimeliness.

Although an independent action under the residual

clause of Rule 60(b) is not subject to the absolute one-year time

limit imposed on Rule 60(b)(3) fraud motions, all Rule 60(b)

motions, even those filed under the residual clause, must be

“made within reasonable time.” FED. R. CIv. P. 60(b). Tollett, of

course, had ample time to submit a Rule 60(b)(3) motion before

the one-year deadline since all of the evidence on which she

based her present fraud claim was available to her at the time of

trial.

It is fundamental that equity will not grant relief from a

judgment if the complaining party, by exercising proper

diligence, would have had an adequate remedy at law. As

discussed above, Tollett’s Rule 60(b) motion is a rehash of the

Rule 59 motion she timely filed in 1998, and which the District

Court and the Fifth Circuit rejected. If it is Tollett’s position that

her Rule 60(b) motion presents new arguments not addressed in

her Rule 59 motion, she certainly made no effort to explain why

she could not have presented them in a timely Rule 60(b)(3)

motion. Accordingly, having failed to take advantage of the

adequate remedy at law offered by Rule 60(b)(3), Tollett may not

now seek relief in equity under the residual clause. Campaniello

Imports, Ltd. v. Saporiti Italia S.p.A., 117 F.3d 655, 662-63 (2d

Cir.1997); Wallace v. United States, 142 F.2d 240, 244 (2nd Cir.)

(“[o]bviously it cannot have been intended that what may be

done within six months, pursuant to the body of Rule 60(b) may

also be done thereafter, under the exception contained in its last

sentence”) (referring to predecessor to current Rule), cert.

denied, 323 U.S. 712 (1944).

* * %* *

29

CONCLUSION

Accordingly, this Court should deny Tollett’s petition for

certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Ramon G. Viada, Ill

Counsel of Record

Abrams Scott & Bickley

600 Travis

Suite 6601

Houston, Texas 77002-3007

(713) 228-6601

Attorney for Respondent

City of Kemah, Texas

John J. Hightower

Olson & Olson

Suite 3485

Three Allen Center

333 Clay Street

Houston, Texas 77002-4004

(713) 759-0696

Attorney for Respondent

William S. Hefland

la

(Any footnotes trail the end of each document. )

pre TT RTES CASTS

SRST SEY Be TERAS

© oe

MAR 39 1898

sGisinicl

svt ERs EEX AS (Meheci No luy, Cerx oi Court

CIVIL ACTION NO. H-96-3131

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

SANDY G. TOLLETT,

Plaintiff,

V.

THE CITY OF KEMAH,

Defendant

PLAINTIFF'S, SANDY G. TOLLETT’S,

MOTION FOR NEW TRIAL

Plaintiff, Sandy G. Tollett, files this her Motion for New Trial

consistent with the dictates of Rule 59, Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure and Rule 4, Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure.

Plaintiff would show unto the Court as follows:

GROUNDS FOR NEW TRIAL

1) Suppression of Evidence: A new trial in this should be

granted in light of the proven suppression of evidence in this

matter. If the Court remembers, the Plaintiff has previously

filed a motion to compel and a motion for sanctions. The

Defendant's counsel has failed to file a written response to

any of the filings, but previously stated orally to the Court

that no documents exist, The Defendant’s counsei has also

stated:

2a

A. In opening statement, the Defendant's counsel

asserted to the jury that no files existed for any of the other

officers, and that the only file that existed was the file of the

Plaintiff.

B. When the Defendant’s witness was cross-examined on

the point of no files existing, the witness feigned ignorance,

stated that he had no personal knowledge, and informed the

Court that the files were destroyed by former Chief Hartner.

When this counsel questioned as to the Defendant’s counsel

statements made in opening statement, an objection was

stated, "I didn’t make that statement,” and a speaking

objection followed, “those files have nothing to do with

discrimination,”

C. When the Court pressed, outside the presence of the

jury, as to the existence of the employment files, the

Defendant's counsel took a number of positions; i) that the

files didn’t exist; ii) that the Court had somehow modified its

order; iii) that it would produce only the files from a certain

period (after 1995) (period related to after former Chief

Hartner had gone from the Department). This last statement

was made by the Defendant’s witness and in essence was the

perjury of the witness Munoz. The defense lawyer at no point

in time sought to correct the record, supported the

contention of the Defendant, no matter which way the wind

blew and participated fully in muddling the record before the

jury, and/or in any presentation to the Court. It wasn't until

the Court threatened counsel with the intervention of the

Federal Bureau of Investigation did he agree to produce the

files. The Court’s position was taken on March 11, 1998. The

next day, March 12, 1998, the Defendant’s counsel showed up

with files of employees who were full-time paid and full-time

non-paid officers. At no time during this sad rendition of total

disobedience of the Court’s order did the Plaintiff have

access to the comparable files of other officers.

2) A Fair Trial Was Denied by Virtue of the Trial

Counsel's Support of Perjury and the Intentional Misleading

of the Court. The absence of the relevant and ordered

3a

materials worked to deprive the Plaintiff of a fair trial. First,

all available ordered information was not produced to the

Plaintiff. Secondly, the Plaintiffs lawyer was required to try

its case on a fiction and not allowed to bring out that

counsel/City of Kemah actually lied about the documents not

existing. The jury was allowed to assume that counsel for the

Defendant was honorable and/or the City of Kemah was

honorable and could be trusted.

The Fifth Circuit in defining the standard of review in the

grant or denial of motions for new trials explained, in Massey

v. Gulf Oil Corp., 508 F.2d 92, 94 (1975), the district court's

role thusly: “{i}n this circuit the ruling of a trial judge in either

granting or denying a motion for new trial is reviewable

under an abuse oi discretion standard. United States for use

of Weyerhaeuser Co. v. Bacon Construction Co., 430 F.2d 420

(CA5, 1970) ; Telfair v. Zim Israel Navigation Co., 428 F.2d 127

(CA5, 1970), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 1009, 91 S.Ct. 568, 27

L.Ed.2d 6232 (1971); Willitt v. Purvis, 276 F.2d 129 (CA5

1960); Marsh v. Illinois Central R. Co., 175 F.2d 498 (CA5

1949). Although the trial judge’s discretion is broad with

respect to the granting of a new trial, the granting of a new

trial constitutes reversible error under certain circumstances.

See 6A Moore's Federal Practice 59.08({5}, at 59-162-63.”

The perjured testimony, misconduct of trial counsel and the

suppression of evidence worked to deprive the Plaintiff of a

fair trial. In light of the district court’s findings in the grant of

sanctions, a new trial should be granted in this matter,

particularly in light of the prejudice associated with the

misconduct of the attorney. Angelo v. Armstrong World

Industries, Inc., 11 F.3d 957, 962 (10th Cir. 1993). Plaintiff did

not wait until the verdict was rendered in this matter.

Counsel for Plaintiff requested a continuance to review the

documents, ask that a mistrial be granted in light of the late

production of the documents, and informed the Court that he

thought that the current status of the record provided ample

opportunity for the jury to be confused and render an

improper verdict for the Defendant. The jury never knew of

the documents’ existence/availability. The jury never knew

4a

that the statements with respect to the former Chief Hartner

were an actual lie. And finally, the jury never knew that

Officer Munoz’s statements as to his not having anything to

do with the files were actual misstatements of testimony

presented to the Court (outside the jury’s presence) and

testimony taken by the Court from others brought forward at

the Court’s request.

3) The Jury Disregarded the Court’s Instruction; When the

jury read its verdict, it also read a personal note to the City of

Kemah. The personal note criticized the City of Kemah for

not keeping records. The sad irony of this note is the position

that Plaintiff found herself in.

First, Plaintiff discovered that the City, and _ its

representatives1 actually lied about the documents.

Secondly, the Plaintiff had to proceed forward with trial,

request a continuance or ask for a mistrial.

Thirdly, once, the Plaintiff requested a continuance and/or

mistrial, and the same denied, the Defendant could lie and

wait for a verdict. First, the jury could assume that the

Defendant, its current representatives and its lawyer were

innocent bystanders and not part of the old regime, thus the

personal note. In fact, when the Court questioned Officer

Swinney about the records, not before the jury, Officer

Swinney admitted that the records were tendered to him by

Chief Hartner and that he had stored the files in the file

cabinet.

4) The newly discovered evidence is material and of such a

character that a new trial with such evidence will probably

. produce a different result. In Marshall's U.S. Auto Supply v.

Cashman, “{a} motion for new trial on the ground of newly

discovered evidence must show that the evidence was

discovered since the trial; must show facts from which the

court may infer reasonable diligence on the part of the

movant; must show that the evidence is not merely

cumulative or impeaching; must show that it is material; and

5a

must show that it is of such a character that on a new trial

such evidence will probably produce a different result.

Prisament v. United States, 5 Cir., 96 F.2d 865.” Marshall at

111 F.2d 140, 142.

Currently, the Plaintiff is reviewing the documents in

question. In fact, since the trial, one of Plaintiff's counsel

(Terry Weir) has reviewed the employee files once and on the

date of this motion is scheduled to review the documents a

second time (March 30, 1998). The employee files to this date

have not been copied and provided to the Plaintiff. Plaintiff

has filed with the Court a Motion providing for the security of

the sealed records, for the copying of the employee files at

the Defendant’s costs and the ultimate production of the

documents.

Evidence is not cumulative: The employees’ files are clearly

not cumulative in light of the fact they were never produced.

The defendant's stated position, before the Court and the

jury, were the documents didn’t exist. The statements of

defense counsel serve as a representative of the City's

position. Since the grant of the Motion for Sanction, the

Defendant has sought to file a response to the Motion for

Sanction (untimely under the Local Rules and Federal Rules

of Civil - Procedure) feigning ignorance and. a

misunderstanding of the Court’s previous rulings. It is

impossible for the materials to represent cumulative evidence

when the Defendant’s agents, employees, assigns and

attorneys were all part of the suppression of the evidence in

this case.

Evidence is material: First, the importance of employment

files cannot be understated. Thoughtful study of the

employment files would reveal:

- who and what persons were comparable in context of time

with the department, training, promotion, and field service.

- the information of comparable officers would allow the

Plaintiff to engage in adequate discovery and the taking of

6a

depositions to determine how other officers were assigned

their hours for field service training.

- the employment files of other officers will reveal the

employment history, evaluations, and how those other

officers were treated. A material issue in the trial related to

the unsigned employment evaluations of police officers, other

than the Plaintiff. The question still exists A) whether other

employment evaluations were in existence, B) whether the

evaluations were signed by the employees. More importantly,

the Plaintiff would be able to call to trial witnesses with

knowledge of relevant information rather than moving

through an examination without any knowledge of relevant

impeachment evidence available.

Information that has been to date from review is found under

the Exhibit "1," wherein the affidavit of Terry Weir is

attached.

CONCLUSION

Clearly, the motion for new trial should be granted in light of

“a miscarriage of justice would result if the verdict were to

stand." This is particularly true in light of the suppressed

evidence, the perjured testimony and the misstatement of

trial counsel. If the current factual history were to become

the rule of practice in the Southern District, there exists no

detriment to trial counsels and their clients in seeking a

verdict by lying, hiding documents, ignoring the Court's

order, challenging the Court as to the availability of

documents. Sanctions of five thousand dollars and court

costs do not work as a deterrent to the miscarriage of justice

mentioned herein.

Dated 30 March, 1998

Respectfully submitted,

Anthony P. Griffin

Attorney-in-charge

State Bar No. 08455300

f Federal Admissions No. 4736

Terry L. Weir

State Bar No.

Federal Admissions No.

Anthony P. Griffin, Inc.

Lawyers

1115 Moody

Galveston, Texas 77550

409/763-0386

1/800/750-5034

Facsimile No. 409/763-4102

Attorneys for the Plaintiff

Sandy G. Tollett

7a

8a

‘ Rint NITED Wei na COURTS

“ Soe Heche. eat wey 3 TEXAS

PX FS ie

MAR 30 T°

— | ae

Qu DISTRICT

).<

SOUTRETEXAS Gichari f. Utloy, Care of Cour

CIVIL ACTION NO. H-96 -3131

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

SANDY G. TOLLETT,

Plaintiff,

V.

THE CITY OF KEMAH,

Defendant

ORDER

The Plaintiff's Motion -for New Trial, is granted. DONE AT

HOUSTON, TEXAS on this the __ day of 1998.

KENNETH HOYT

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

4

CIVIL ACTION NO. H-96-3131

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

SANDY G. TOLLETT,

Plaintiff,

V.

THE CITY OF KEMAH,

Defendant

PLAINTIFF'S, SANDY G. TOLLETT'S, AMENDED

MOTION FOR SANCTIONS

ANTHONY P. GRIFFIN

ANTHONY P. GRIFFIN, INC.

LAWYERS

1115 MOODY

GALVESTON, TEXAS 77550

409/763-0386

1/800/750-5034

FACSIMILE NO. 409/763-4102

ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFF

SANDY G. TOLLETT

10a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I, PROCEDURAL HIBTOB? cevnesisovcosnnnssssoestitonnnssinentoneoncictis 2

II. CONDUCT OP CE a i saiesisssinsscenticonin-ncapovennniensenitnliceae 3

A. TREAL, CONDE vcsiiscsrssvosincesseontaninnintieenenintinasteitisennntotiiesin 5

B. HOW FRAUD AFFECTED THE EXAMINATION

OF THE WITNESSES.......0..ccrssecsesssersessevssosooveseseubontovnees 7

III. HISTORY OF THE CASE AFTER PRODUCTION OF RECORDS 11

IV. WHY THE SECRETING OF RECORDS RAISES

TO THE LEVEL OF FRAUD ON THE COURT...............0+: 13

A. HOW THE APPLICATION APPLIES TO RULE

GOL 0S). .-00+020002s0rsnnnnsunensnynensastinininrmiensnindilanntemisitian 13

B. RULE 60(b)(2) AND ITS APPLICATION .................0000 16

V. CONCLIISION 000 scecsersssesoiscccsenisnsecdnunnenisnebinbnnsnontamaisiniantnn 21

VI. CERTIFICATE OF SRRVICEL...........c..cccessseoressvessvessorsosessones 23

lla

Tinted Saemae

— re

JAN 12 2009

Michael N. Miby, Cie

CIVIL ACTION NO. H - 96 - 3131

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

SANDY G. TOLLETT,

Plaintiff,

¥.

THE CITY OF KEMAH,

Defendant

PLAINTIFF'S, SANDY G. TOLLETT’S AMENDED

MOTION FOR SANCTIONS

Plaintiff files this her Amended Motion for Sanctions,

pursuant to Rules 11 & 37, and under the dictates of Rule 60

(b) (2) (3) (fraud on the court). fnl For good cause, the

Plaintiff would show unto the Court as follows, to-wit:

Procedural History

1) This case was filed on September 26, 1996. The

Plaintiff brought suit: contending that her employment with

the Defendant City of Kemah was tainted by sexual animus

that affected her relationship with her fellow employees, her

training and ultimate recognition as a police Officer with the

defendant City. Plaintiff's suit was brought under Title VII, 42

U.S.C. section 2000e.

12a

On May 13, 1997, the Plaintiff filed a Motion to Compel full

answers to her Request for the Production of Documents and

First Set of Interrogatories, pursuant to Rule 37, Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure. A response by the City of Kemah

was filed on or about June 2, 1997. This Court granted the

motion to compel on June 27, 1997 and ordered full and

complete answers to the Plaintiff's First Set of Interrogatories

and the production of relevant documents.

On October 9, 1997, the Plaintiff filed her Motion for

Sanctions in that the Defendant refused to comply with the

Court’s order. The motion was carried along at the time of

trial.

This matter was tried on March 10 - March 13, 1998.

Conduct of Counsel

2) The element of fraud was established early. At the docket

call in this matter, counsel for the Defendant, William

Helfand, held out the following:

I think we're simply at a point where the Plaintiff believes

there are documents, and my client doesn’t have documents

(Tr. at Docket Call (unnumbered volume) at 7, lines 19-22)

(emphasis added).

I represent a police department that when it went through a

change of chiefs of police literally lost all the records that

were under the prior administration/ And so, while I agree

with Mr. Griffin that those records should exist in the

management of a good city, good police department, they

simply don’t exist; and I don't have them to give (Tr. at

Docket, Call, id. at 7, line 25; 8, lines 1-6) (emphasis added).

Defense counsel then out-right misrepresented to this Court

as he purported to read from the Plaintiff's Motion to Compel.

The words of Defendant’s counsel is more telling - “What they

had asked for were - let me find the motion. The Plaintiff had

_asked for -.- and the Court granted a motion to compel for

13a

records and personnel files of employees who were - and I’m

using quotes now because these were their words - similarly

situated discriminated against because of a pregnant

condition." (Tr. at Docket Call (unnumbered transcript) at 9,

lines 21-25).

Defense counsel doesn’t stop at that point though:

“The COURT: What records are, in fact, missing though? Are

they just plain personnel files or what?

Mr. HELFAND: Yes, sir. That’s the other problem. Practically

all of the personnel FILES to the extent that they ever

existedlonger with the City of Kemah.

And there's some question, when I asked my clients, whether

they were ever created and then were simply removed or

destroyed or whether they simply weren't created.

There's some allegations that the former chief of police didn’t

keep records that he should have kept; and then there are

other people who are of a camp that he kept records but then

destroyed them or somehow removed them when he was

removed from office (Tr. at Docket Call, id. at 9, lines 19-25;

10, lines 1-6) (emphasis added). fn2

After the docket call, the Defendant submitted the affidavit of

the City Secretary seeking to adopt the similarly situated

pregnant employee defense. After receipt at the affidavit, the

undersigned forwarded a fax to defense counsel stating,

“{wjith respect to the Affidavit forwarded from the City

Secretary's Office, it does not speak to the concerns of the

Motion to Compel. You answer previously that certain

document(s) existed. You also have produced some

documents for Tollett - it is only logical that you/your client

would have document(s) for other employees that form the

basis for our request. To use code words, "similarly situated",

ignored the Plaintiff requests.” (facsimile attached to the

original Motion for Sanction; filed 10/9/97; Doc. 34).

l4a

A. Trial Conduct. The Plaintiff's Motion for Sanction was

carried along with the trial (Tr. at Vol. I at 31-33). The Court

ordered that the question related to the existence or

nonexistence of the employment files was properly the

subject of cross-examination (Tr. at Vol. I at 33, lines 16-25;

34, lines 1-10). During the opening statement of defense

counsel, the benefit to the defense with respect to the absent

documents became clear;

Mr. Helfand;

I would submit to you it’s the problem with discrimination

cases. This lady has already admitted, and I think you will see

in the evidence, there’s nobody who is going to testify that

decisions related to her were because she’s a woman, no one.

There are no documents , no memos that suggest that,

nothing.

Two, I will prove to you, and she will tell you, if she testifies

consistent with her prior deposition testimony, no witnesses,

no documents, absolutely nothing, but her firmly held belief.

And I don't mind for a second, and I will tell you again later, I

don’t mind for a second that she thinks it, but that's not proof

of it and she won't prove it to you, because she will tell you

there are no witnesses and no documents, that anything

happened to her because of the fact that she’s a woman.

She will not - - although her lawyer says she will, she cannot

tell you, to the point that we can identify somebody, any man

who is treated differently. Remember, her claim is that this

happenéd because she’s a woman. Oh, she will say, “There’s a

fellow named Charlie. I don’t know his last name.

So. you can’t find him, Bill. He's just named Charlie. And I

think what happened to him was he went out and he got to

come back, and I don’t know whether it was the same as me.”

And I think when you hear that, you're going to see that’s not

evidence of a man being treated any differently.

15a

(Tr. at Vol. I (opening statement of Defendant's counsel) at

144, lines 3-8, 23-25; 145, lines 1-16) (emphasis added)).

Later in the opening statement, defense counsel holds out

that Plaintiff had her records, but the records for other

officers simply didn’t exist (Tr. at Vol. I at 147, lines 15-25;

148, lines 1-5). Defense counsel’s theme would reverberate

throughout the trial proceedings.

B. How fraud affected the examination of the witnesses.

As seen in the examination of Plaintiff; Defense counsel

inquired to whether the Plaintiff had any evidence or

documents showing that she was removed from the Field

Training Program (Tr. at Vol. if at 239, lines 7-11). This form

of examination was consistent with the defense counsel’s

posture that no documents existed to support the Plaintiff's

cause.

In addition, the defendant’s counsel inquired of the Plaintiff

as to the name of another other officer that was accorded

special privileges with respect to the officer’s physical

condition and not being required to go back in the training

program. Plaintiff answered the question only with the first

name of the officer because of the lack of documents. The

documents were in the sole control of the Defendant and

subject of the Plaintiff's discovery request (see examination

at Tr. at Vol. Il at 250, lines 21-25; 251, lines 1-2). The

importance of this ingiiry is clear: interrogatories submitted

sought the name, addresses and telephone numbers of former

officers. The document production supported the

interrogatories in question. Documents were not produced.

Defense counsel knew the answer would only be the first

name of the officer and benefited from his disregard of the

Court’s order (Tr. at Vol. II at 255, lines 13-21 255, lines 16-21).

The examination of the City’s chief witness (Munoz:

This witness was the City's representative during the trial and

his name was listed as the person providing the answers to

the interrogatories the subject of the debate. The witness

l6a

provided that he certified that the files were not available, but

claimed ignorance as to the files existence (Tr. at Vol. II at

317, lines 9-24). When the witness was asked about the City’s

lawyer’s position that the only employment file that was

available was the employment file of Plaintiff and that no

other files were available, counsel (Bill Helfand) objected and

stated, “I never said that.” (Tr. at Vol. II at 320, lines 14-18).

After the witness admitted that he had a personnel file (Tr. at

Vol. II at 321, lines 12-25; 322, lines 12-25), the jury was

removed by the Court.

When the jury returned Mr. Munoz affirmed that his file

contained evaluations, psychological testing, time sheets,

criminal history check documents, fingerprint cards and that

all were required to be in an officer's file by the State of

Texas (Tr. at Vol. II at 326, lines 22-25; 327, lines 1-25; 328,

lines 12-15, 17-19).

After Munoz admitting to evaluating the Plaintiff, but not

providing her a copy of any such undated evaluations and

denied keeping the Plaintiffs time as her Field Training

Officer (Tr. at Vol. II at 329, lines 1-8, 17-19; 330, lines 1-25;

335, lines 1-15), this Court understood the unlikely and highly

unusual defense that was being taken. This Court then

threatened a criminal investigation (Tr. at vol. II at 349, lines

21-25). Defense counsel then responded, "They don't have

them" (emphasis added) (Tr. at vol. II at 350, lines 1-5). After

defense counsel’s statement, the Court again emphasized the

federal and state law governing law enforcement officers’

files (Tr. at Vol. II at 350, lines 6-25) . The defense lawyer then

slightly modified his statement, "I records” (emphasis added).

This Court then informed defense counsel that he would have

the FBI go over and turn the police station upside down and

put everyone in jail (Tr. at Vol. II at 353, lines 1-5).

The examination of the City Secretary, Kathy Pierce: This

witness admitted that she possessed files for full-time police

officers between years 1993-1996. The witness then “did not

recall” whether she informed the court that Tollett’s was the

only employment file available. (Tr. at Vol. II at 408, Lines 18-

17a

25; 415, lines 1-9; 416, lines 20-25; 417, lines 12-15). The

admission by the witness begs the question: then why weren't

the records produced when requested? In addition, the

admission is totally contrary to the position taken by the

defense lawyer before the jury and the statement that was

made by defense counsel prior to her appearance in Court

that “they don’t have the records.”

The witness also provided that she did not remember the

request for information and that she did not recall being told

to produce records (Tr. at Vol. II at 423, lines 1-6; 424, lines 1-

16; 425, lines 1-6) . After this devastating admission takes

place, defense counsel falls back on his similarly situated

defense and contends that the Court only ordered only

similarly situated officer's files. The Court rightly rejected the

argument and then for the first time, without pulse, defense

counsel utters, “I will have the Chief bring those records

tomorrow.” (Tr. at Vol. II at 431-433; see counsel’s comments

at 433, lines 1-14) + It should be noted that defense counsel,

without conferring with any witness, city representative or

his co-counsel, informed the Court that the records would be

made available. The acts of counsel reveals knowledge on the

lawyer’s part in the fraud and the active use of fraud to

prevail in the litigation.

History of the Case After Production of Records

3) Defense counsel was true to his word, the next

morning defense counsel appeared with two file drawers of

employment files, containing both full-time, non-paid and full-

time, paid officers. When the files arrived, defense counsel

expressed grave concerns with respect to the jury now

having been misled and the condition of the record (Tr. at

Vol. II at 438, lines 1-13). The Court, in response, requested

the location of Captain Swinney and ordered that the witness

appear as part of the Court’s independent investigation with

respect to the pending motion for sanctions.

18a

Examination of Captain Swinney: Swinney Provided that he

was the Assistant Chief at the time and was required to

maintain records for non-paid officers, including the officer's

time sheets (Tr. at Vol. III at 444, lines 1-18). Swinney also

explained that if a person completed the field training

program, he and the training officer would go the Chief and

explain the successful completion (Tr. at Vol. III at 449, lines

1-11). -Swinney explained that if a Trainee failed the training

process a note would be placed in the employee’s file (Tr. at

Vol. Ill at 454, lines 21-25; 455, lines 1-21). The witness

affirmatively stated that no employment files were destroyed

(Tr. at Vol. III at 450, lines 16-19; 452, lines 1-24; 454, lines 1-7;

456, lines 1-11)

Clearly, the witness revealed a willful disregard of the Court’s

order by defense counsel. More importantly, the testimony

reveals that the counsel and his client were actively engaging

in fraud on the court and jury in order to prevail in the

litigation.

Testimony of Police Chief Keith Warren: As part of the court’s

hearing, the current police chief was called. In the Chief's

explanation of why the documents were not provided, the

following is revealed, to-wit: :

Back in July when I met with Mr. Helfand, I think I got the

wrong impression. I thought he wanted the record for

everyone that was here from X date to X date, fn3 and that’s

what we produced. fn4

I’ve had most of the files ever since I came in October of 1995

after I put them together. They were in about three or four

different file cabinets, in a desk drawer, and I compiled

everything into one central location. And when Helfand

called me last night, I said, “There’s no problem. I boxed

everything up, and we'll be there first thing in the morning.”

(Tr. at Vol. III at 461, lines 22-25)

19a

Why the Secreting of Records Raises

to the Level of Fraud on the Court

4) How the application applies to Rule 60(b) (3). First, fraud

is seen by the differing story the witnesses/defense took

outside the presence of the jury and the story told before the

jury. The jury never knew of defense counsel’s and Pete

Munoz’s statement that Chief Hartner had destroyed the

documents was actually a lie. The jury never knew the Officer

Munoz’ statement as to his not having anything to do with the

files was actually different than what he told the Court

outside the jury's presence and contradicted by other

witnesses. In addition, the jury would never hear Officer

Swinney explain that the records were retained, stored and

the notion of destruction of the records was simply folly.fn5

The documents secreted by the Defendant and their counsel

consisted of some 4,874 pages (summary and documents will

be labeled and admitted as Exhibit “25” at the hearing on

sanctions). The Fifth Circuit in Rozier v. Ford Motor Co. 573

F.2d 1332, 1339 (5th Cir. 1978) explained that “although Rule

60(b) (38) applies to misconduct in withholding information

called for by discovery, . . . it does not require that the

information withheld be of such nature as to alter the results

in the case.” Clearly, the evidence in this case is laden with

proof associated with misconduct and fraud in the discovery

process. Defendant’s counsel initial reaction to the discovery

sought was to contend that the information was privileged.

After the Court granted the Plaintiff's motion to compel, the

Defendant simply ignored the Court’s order and failed to

produce the materials. As the trial in this matter approached,

Defendant sought to restyle the Court’s order and had the

City Secretary swear to an affidavit (see Order granting

sanctions, Doc. 54) as a request for “similarly situated

employees.” In fact, at the docket call, the defense counsel

intentionally misstated the history of the case and pretended

to read “similarly situated” in the discovery request when no

such words existed in the motion (emphasis added). Even

after a letter (facsimile) was forwarded from the Plaintiff's

counsel reminding Defendant’s counsel of the actual wording

20a

of the request and order, the Defendant's counsel and his —

client failed to produce the documents. At trial the conduct

only got worse.

One could argue that justice is served by the reinstatement of

the $5,000.00 sanction against the City Defendant, but the

same ignores the true history of this case. Defense counsel’s

and defendant City would gladly pay a mere five thousand

dollar money judgment to avoid liability under the Civil

Rights Act. To tolerate counsel’s acts, the conduct of the

defendant and defendant’s agent would encourage further

disrespect for our judicial system. In Rozier v. Ford Motor,

supra at 1346, the Fifth Circuit stated that the granting of

relief under Rule 60 (b) (3) is within the discretion of the trial ©

court. In addition, the Court explained that the rule is

remedial and should be liberally construed.

Relief under 60(b) (3) should be granted.

5) Rule 60 (b) (2) and its application. Under Rule 60 (b) (2),

the moving party must show that the newly discovered

evidence is "such that a new trial would probably produce a

new result.” Ag Pro, Inc. v. Sakraida, 512 F.2d 141, 143 (5th

Cir. 1975). Even under Rule 60(b) (2) a new trial should be

granted.

As related to the files produced no training records in the file

for the following officers: Stephanie S. Armstrong, Paul

Armand, Barry Balthrop, William Wayne Belotte, Robert Dale

Boulet, Daniel J. Cantu, Lonny Carney, Anthony Robert

Cartwright, Larry Caswell, Christopher Cordary, Mark D.

Cruse, William Clareke Dubose, Thomas Lee Fowler, Gary

Hartner, David Haynes, and Pauline Hepler. The absence of

_, the training records is critical in context of Texas law

‘requiring the game. In addition, the absence of training

records supports the Plaintiffs position that her file not

containing records relieving her from the Field Training

Procedure is consistent with other files not containing any

such information and the . officers having successfully

completed the Field Training Program.

|

LPI Ie ON RE EI NCR TC" IRRITATION RRR CS mp ee Om ~ gt -

ee

“ ve

Z2la

Training records exist in some officers’ file, including Gary

Dean Harwell (reflecting the following notation; “I am unable

to give you a set schedule, because I am unable to work

without Sgt. Munoz." This statement is consistent with

Tollett’s testimony that she couldn’t volunteer time. This

information is contrary to the City's position at trial and

contrary to Officer Young's testimony that one only had to

volunteer time to get off the FTO program. Young being the

Plaintiffs comparable was fast-tracked (treated differently)

contrary to the Plaintiff's treatment). Also reference to

Officer Barry Penland's records which contains counseling

forms for reporting to work when training officer not present.

The competence of the Plaintiff is enhanced by negative

information contained in other officers files, even though

those officers were considered full-time officers.

* Peter Munoz arrested and charged on or about July 28; 1994

with the office of theft by check. On October 28, 1998, the

Texas Commission on Law Enforcement reprimanded Munoz

(copying the City of Kemah) for the failure to report the

criminal offense. This information is not contained in the

records produced by the City of Kemah, but the facts came to

the Plaintiff's attention after the trial (to be labeled as Exhibit

“26”, sanctions hearing exhibit).

* Paul Young (the comparable at trial). Personal history

questionnaire stated, “I had experimented with marijuana a

few times under peer pressure.” Young ¢ame—into the

department at the same time as Plaintiff, was given training

hours while the Plaintiff was not but also had adverse

information in file that the Plaintiff did not. At trial, the

Defendant’s witnesses stated that no such records for Young

existed. The importance of these records is seen in context of

the comparison to the Plaintiff's complaint that she could not

get the training hours as Officer Young. The training records

for Officer Young is telling {Job Interview Documents -

Recommendation to hire (“Subject will needs lots at training

could make a good officer”; “Mr. Young seems knowledge in

Police Procedures. Needs FTO Programs but I feel he would

22a

wake a good officer”; “ . with training in our procedures will _

probably make a good officer. He is worth a try”; “Young

needs training”; “Appears eager to learn. Experience limited

which shows in difficulty in answering some not very difficult

questions.”

* Eric Baumgart. Previous criminal history (criminal

conviction/Nebraska (1989); criminal charge, Liberty County

(1988).

* Michael Heath Butchee - TCLEOSE document reflecting

terroristic threat and personal history document reflecting

marijuana use (twice) ).

* Lonny Carney assaults, multiple reprimands in file.

* Sean P. Friebele - terminated from FTO program for City of

League City, but hired by the City of Kemah and placed in

FTO program even with past failure .

* John Patrick Kruger - application reveals used marijuana 5

times, driver under the influence of alcohol 4 times.

* Patrick Edwards Zollard. The only officer that sheets are

contained in the file. The issue of record keeping time

records is important in context of discovery and ultimate

cross-examination of the government’s witnesses.

* Gerald Franklin Witt. Hired as a full time officer; previous

resignation 2/18/91 for incident not reported in file. No FTO

documents in the tile. No TCLEOSE Summary Documents in

file. One of the issues at trial related to the opportunity given

the Plaintiff. Witt would become a comparative person.

And finally reference to the file of David Haynes is important.

Contained in the records is a memorandum from Pete Munoz

dated 1/8/96 which request Officer Haynes to “compile the

total hours for each non-paid for the months of November

and December.” This memorandum flies directly in the face

of the trial testimony of Munoz and the verbal position taken

23a

by the Defendant’s counsel. The memorandum also support

the fraud on the Court allegations.

The Court should grant relief under Rule 60(b) (2).

6) Rule 37 (b) (2) provides, “{i}f a party or an officer

director, or managing agent of a party or a person designated

under Rule 30(b) (6) or 31(a) to testify on behalf of a party

fails to obey an order to provide or permit discovery,

including an order made under subdivision (a) of this rule, or

Rule 35, or if a party fails to obey an order entered under Rule

26 (f), the court in which the action is pending may make

such orders in regard to the failure as are just. Coupled with

the relief sought under Rule 60 (b) (2) (3) (new trial), the

Plaintiff seeks a sanction amount of $150,000.00 (Rule 37 and

Rule 11) and attorney fees in the amount of $75,000.00 under

the provisions of Rule 37.

The attorney fees are reaSonable and necessary in context of

the discovery malfeasance and all matters related to same.

With respect to billing discretion, the following matters were

excluded and/or not billed, to-wit:

a) fees for time on appeal to the Fifth Circuit

(approximately 100 hours);

b) fee associated with associate time surrounding review

of employment records (approximately twenty hours); and

c) paralegal time that would be duplicative of work

performed and/or billed for associate time and/or attorneys

time (30 hours).

CONCLUSION

It is prayed that this motion be granted in all parts and that a

finding of fraud on the court be entered under Rule 60 (b) (3).

Such findings, after hearing, should be directed against both

the Defendant City and the Defendant’s former counsel,

24a

William Helfand, Magenheim, Bateman, Robinson, |

Wrotenbery & Helfand.

It is prayed alternatively that the court find that the newly

discovered evidence meets the standard set out herein within

with respect to Rule 60 (b) (2) . It is prayed that any such

finding, after hearing, be directed against both the City of

Kemah and the Defendant’s former counsel, William Helfand,

Magenheim, Bateman, Robinson, Wrotenbery & Helfand.

It is prayed that sanctions be entered in the amount of

$150,000.00 and such sanctions be entered against both the

Defendant City and the Defendant's former counsel, William

Helfand, Magenheim, Bateman, Robinson, Wrotenbery &

Helfand.

It is prayed that attorney fees be entered in this

matter in the amount of $75,000.00.

After all the above is said and done, a new trial should be

granted to the Plaintiff in this matter and/or part and parcel of

any such new trial, the striking of the Defendant’s pleadings

and the entering of judgment for the Plaintiff. No further

insult of the federal judiciary should take place but for the

conduct of the Defendant and its counsel.

DATE: JANUARY 12, 2000.

Respectfully submitted

ANTHONY p. GRIFFIN

ATTORNEY- IN-CHARGE

STATE BAR NO. 08455300

FEDERAL ADMISSIONS NO. 4736

ANTHONY P. GRIFFIN, INC.

LAWYERS

1115 MOODY

GALVESTON, TEXAS 77550

409/763-0386

1/800/750-5034

FACSIMILE NO. 409/763-4102

ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFF

SANDY G. TOLLETT

Footnotes

fnl Rule 60 (b) (2) & Rule 60 (b) (3), Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure provides, “{o}n motion and upon such terms as are

just, the court may relieve a party or a party’s legal

representative from a final judgment, order, or proceeding for

the following reasons: (2) newly discovered evidence which

by due diligence could not have been discovered in time to

move for a new trial under Rule 59(b); (3) fraud (whether

heretofore denominated intrinsic or extrinsic),

misrepresentations, or other misconduct of an adverse party.”

The rule also provides that the motion shall be made within a

reasonable time, and for reasons (1), (2), and (3) not more

than one year after the judgment, order, or proceedings was

entered or taken, The final judgment in this matter was

entered on March 20, 1998. The appeal to the Fifth Circuit

Court of Appeals was taken on June 12, 1998 and affirmed by

the Court on September 13, 1999. The Fifth Circuit refused to

address the Rule 60 (b) complaint saying that “because this

claim was raised for the first time on appeal, we shall not

address it. See Shanks v. Allied Signal, Inc., 169 F.3d 988, 993

n. 6 (5th Cir, 1999).”

Even if it is deemed that the Rule 60 (b) (3) complaint herein

is untimely (intervening appeal), Rule 60 also provides that

"{t}his rule does not limit the power of a court to entertain an

independent action to relieve a party from judgment, order,

or proceeding, or to grant relief to a defendant not actually

personally notified as provided in Title 28, U.S.C. section

1655, or to set aside a judgment for fraud upon the court.”

(emphasis added) Hazel-Atlas Glass Co. v. Hartford Empire

Co., 322 U.S. 238 (1944) (rule expressly does not limit the

power of the court, when fraud has been perpetrated upon it,

to give relief under the saving clause).

26a

fn2 The Defendant's counsel does tell who makes the

“allegations” with respect to the record(s) location, but

simply floats a number of trial balloons as to why the

documents do not exist.

fn3 If this is true, then why weren’t these records produced?

Why does defense counsel only produce Tollett’s records and

no others and then tell the Court and the jury that it only had

the records for the Plaintiff? How can defense counsel stand

before the Court on one occasion and say that his client does

not have the records and then on another occasion state “I

don’t have the records?"

fn4 Clearly, the witness conveys that the records were

produced in July. If the witness’ statements are true, it would

appear that the records were secreted by defense counsel.

fn5 The Defendant stated in discovery that it did not know

the location of Officer Swinney. When the Court inquired,

outside the presence of the jury, Officer Swinney’s current

employment was immediately tendered. The importance of

Swinney’s testimony is readily seen.

27a

CIVIL ACTION NO. H - 96 - 3131

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

SANDY G. TOLLETT,

Plaintiff,

V.

THE CITY OF KEMAH,

Defendant

ORDER

On this the 7th day of March, 2000 came on to be heard the

Plaintiffs Amended Motion for Sanctions. The Court

previously entered sanctions against the City of Kemah,

without hearing. The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals remanded

this matter for a hearing for a redetermination and

assessment of reasonable attorney's fees and costs under

Rule 37. The hearing herein is also based upon Rule 60(b) (3)

and Rule 60(b) (2), FED.R.CIV. PROC. and Rule 11,

FED.R.CIV. PROC.

After consideration of the testimony taken in the hearing in

question, review of the previous trial transcript it is the

opinion of the Court that the following order is appropriate in

this case, to-wit:

1. The Plaintiff is awarded a new trial in this matter. The

trial date shall be set for __ 2000;

2. The Plaintiff is awarded $150,000.00 in sanctions for

the conduct of the Defendant and the Defendant’s former

counsel, William Helfand and the firm of Magenheim,

Bateman, Robinson, Wrotenbery & Helfand;

28a

3. The Plaintiff is awarded $75,000.00 in reasonable and |

necessary attorneys fees associated with the Court’s finding

of fraud on the court. Such fees are taxed jointly and

severably against both the City of Kemah and William Helfand

and the firm of Magenheim, Bateman, Robinson, Wrotenbery

and Helfand;

4, It is the finding of this Court the defendant City of

Kemah and Defendant’s former counsel, William Helfand and

the firm of Magenheim, Bateman, Robinson, Wrotenbery and

Helfand have engaged in fraud on the court and such fraud

was intentional, without regard to truth and designed to

stymie the intent of the federal rules of discovery.

DONE AT HOUSTON, TEXAS on this the___ day of ___ 2000.

HONORABLE KENNETH HOYT

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Tollett v. City of Kemah · 537 U.S. 883 | Frix