Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Laws v. United States

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Gupreme Court, U.S.

FILED

\

/ 01 497 SEP | 82001

OFFICE OF Ih,

No.

eile iaaam i cenddititiiinn

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, Year 2001

ALAN MICHAEL LAWS

Petitioner,

v.

UNITED STATES

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

from the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

ROBERT W. RITCHIE

RITCHIE, FELS & DILLARD, P.C.

606 West Main Street, Suite 300

Knoxville, TN 37902

(865) 637-0661

RICHARD L. GAINES

ELDRIDGE, IRVINE & GAINES

606 West Main Street, Suite 350

Knoxville, TN 37902

(865) 523-7731

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONER

IT.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

WHETHER A SEARCH WARRANT ISSUED

ON JULY 21, 1993 OF THE LOGAN-LAWS

FINANCIAL CORPORATIONS’. JOHNSON

CITY, TENNESSEE CORPORATE PREMISES

WAS A GENERAL SEARCH WARRANT

PROHIBITED BY THE UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION, FOURTH AMENDMENT.

WHETHER THE’ DISTRICT COURT’S

REFUSAL TO ALLOW COUNSEL FOR MR.

LAWS TO COMMUNICATE WITH JURORS

AFTER IT WAS LEARNED THAT THE JURY

ORGANIZED AND DELIBERATED PRIOR TO

RECEIVING A JURY CHARGE WAS A

VIOLATION OF THE UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION, FIFTH AND SIXTH

AMENDMENTS.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner

Alan Michael Laws, Petitioner is an individual and has

no affiliations with any publicly traded corporation.

Respondent

United States of America

Other Parties

John M. Logan. A co-defendant who is an individual

with no affiliations with any publicly traded corporation.

ee.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...........................

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ..................... i

TABLE OF CONTENTS ....................002--.... iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .......................... vi

OPINION BELOW .................. ccc cc ceeee eee.

STATEMENT OF THE BASIS OF JURISDICTION .......

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY .

ee 2

STATEMENT OF THEFACTS ....................... 2

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............. 12

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ................ 13

iV

l. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE THE

SPLIT BETWEEN THE SIXTH AND NINTH

CIRCUITS’ INTERPRETATIONS OF THE

FORTH AMENDMENT’S REQUIREMENT

THAT SEARCH WARRANTS BE

ec. i FTP ETT TREE TOT TLE T TT Tee 13

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD ESTABLISH A RULE

CONSISTENT WITH THE CONSTITUTION

TO DETERMINE WHEN JURORS CAN BE

COMMUNICATED WITH AFTER TRIAL ....... 22

I i Be ee is ae

APPENDIX:

COURT OF APPEALS OPINION

DATED MAY 11,2001 ............ App. 2

SCARCE WARRAING 2 cscissnccscsessas App. 60

MEMORANDUM OPINION OF

U.S. DISTRICT COURT JUDGE

FILED JUNE 30, 1997. ............ App.66

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER OF

U.S. DISTRICT COURT JUDGE

PUR ee CR NAPE Secs dnevveaes App.85

Vv

MOTION TO ALTER OR AMEND ORDER

OF JULY 14, 1999 DENYING

PERMISSION TO INTERVIEW

pre ces App.88

AFFIDAVIT OF ROBERT W. RITCHIE

FILED JULY 28,1999 ............. App.93

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION,

Amondmem TV on. cctecccscces App. 98

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION,

er ee erry App. 99

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION,

kk errr eC rr eT App. 100

FEDERAL RULES OF EVIDENCE,

RT GN dns buckceenssazcashs App.101

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

LACAL SIRE MKS... ips App.102

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Andresen v. Maryland,

427 U.S. 436, 49 L.Ed.2d 627

96 S. Ct. 2737 (1976) 2... cc ccc cccccccccccceces 13

Center Art Galleries-Hawaii v. United States,

875 F.2d 747 (9 Cir. 1989) ........ 22 eee eee eeee 16

Coolidge v. New Hampshire,

403 U.S. 443, 29 L.Ed.2d 564,

OF BOe BORD ISTE) oc ccccncuvesceseseseceess 13

Dalia v. United States,

441 U.S. 238, 99 S.Ct. 1682,

GO L.Ed.2d 177 (1979) 2... ccccccccccccccccccces 13

Remmer v. United States,

947 UB. F27 CIDSD cc ccccccncsccssacecss 23,24,25

United States v. Blair,

214 F.3d 690 (6" Cir. 2000) .........-.---- 00s 15

United States v. Blum,

753 F.2d 999 (119 Cir. I9BS) .. 2... cece eee eee 15

Vii

United States v. Chavis,

Sn TE as 23

United States v. Corrado,

227 F.3d 543 (6" Cir. 2000) ......... ital aiian tts 23,25

United States v. Eldredd,

SERB Fee Gk BED 6 sk bce evecelennsnens 23

United States v. Ford,

ee eee Ge Cee 6 kc b ceubenecnseasiun 15

United States v. Henson,

SUR PAE ISPS Ge, GHD i ic ds wn sewed ccvacss 1S

United States v. Kow,

58 F.3d 423 (9" Cir.1995) ............. 16,17,18,19

United States v. Leary.

ie Ff) ge | reer rr or 14

United States v. Leon,

Ss CUED hoes wcccccsecceevacds 8,21,22

United States v. Logan,

250 F.2d 350 (6" Cir. 2001) ............... 8,15,23

United States v. Michaelian

Pe ee FO onc dec cceisscsncins 18

ee

Vill

United States v. Oloyede,

£ eh fet) ge See 18,19

United States v. Resko,

ER fc gle rae rrr 24

United States v. Savoca,

761 F.2d 292 (6" Cir. 1984)

cert. denied 474 U.S. $2 (1965S) 2... cc ccsccccces 13

United States v. Stubbs,

Boe Pe ee Ge, WUD hak dnd nescceesaceess 17

United States v. Washington,

ph fF ge S| ror rrr 16

United States v. Wiesner,

yo by ER Te ee | ee 24

White Fabricating Co. v. United States,

ee ee Ge FE ok vo scsdedodaeavcnte 15

Statutes:

EE se icnabee dv nk aca den ehe hoe eee l

EE ade e see edh exe ok ecewhedadeeewenen l

SP fee ee ee eRe ee eee bel eed |

Soke SRA et AR RS Sep ee Meee eis ely eas

iX

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions:

United States Constitution, Amendment IV .....

United States Constitution, Amendment V ......

United States Constitution, Amendment VI .....

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 606(b) ........

Other Authorities:

Hardwick & Ware, Juror Misconduct § 7.04

Oe ee CU ere Ak endes vata neces a's

Propriety and Effect of Juror’s Discussion of

Evidence Among Themselves Before Final

Submission of Criminal Case, 21 ALR 4"

U.S. District Court Local Rule 48.1 ...........

l

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, Alan Michael Laws, respectfully prays that a

writ of certiorari issue to review the decision of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

*

OPINION BELOW

The United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

denied petitioner’s brief on May 1, 2001. [App. at 2] A petition

for rehearing en banc was also denied on June 21, 2001.

STATEMENT OF THE BASIS OF JURISDICTION

Petitioner seeks a writ of certiorari from this Court to

review the final decision by the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit. This case originated in a criminal prosecution

by the United States against petitioner on 95 counts of violations

of 18 U.S.C. § § 1001, 1006, 287 and 371. Petitioner was

convicted of 94 counts as charged in the indictment. A timely

appeal was filed in the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit.

—_.

2

On May 11, 2001, the Sixth Circuit denied relief to

Petitioner. On May 25, 2001, petitioner filed a petition for

rehearing and suggested a rehearing en banc with the Sixth

Circuit, which was denied on June 21, 2001. This petition for

writ certiorari follows.

--- +

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

United States Constitution, Amendment IV

United States Constitution, Amendment V

United States Constitution, Amendment VI

STATEMENT OF FACTS

The two issues petitioned for review are whether a

search warrant was a general warrant and whether counsel

should have been allowed to communicate with jurors after the

trial. Each of these issues will be discussed seriatim.

I. THE SEARCH WARRANT

The petitioner, Mr. Laws, was a fifty percent of Logan-

Laws Financial Corporation (“LLFC”), and from January to July

1993 was also the President of LLFC. The LLFC was a

Tennessee corporation which made loans co-insured by the

Federal Housing Administration of the Department of Housing

3

and Urban Development (“HUD/FHA”). Prior to July 21, 1993,

‘LLFC chiefly operated at a corporate structure at 500 Princeton

Road in Johnson City, Tennessee. This structure contained the

main body of LLFC, including the work place of 125 employees.

On July 21, 1993, Special Agent Derek B. Johnson,

Federal Bureau of Investigation, prepared an application and

affidavit for a search warrant of LLFC’s premises. Upon review

of the application and affidavit, United States District Judge

Thomas G. Hull issued a search warrant. The warrant

authorized the following items to be seized from the LLFC

corporate premises as followed:

1) Information and/or data stored in the form of

magnetic or electronic coding on computer media or in

media capable of being read by a computer or with the

aid of computer related equipment. This media includes

but is not limited to floppy diskettes, fixed hard disks,

removable hard disk cartridges, tapes, laser disks, video

cassettes, and any other media which is capable of

storing magnetic coding.

2) Electronic devices which are capable of analyzing,

creating, displaying, converting, or transmitting

electronic or magnetic computer impulses or data.

These devices include but are not limited to computers,

computer components, computer peripherals, word

processing equipment, modems, monitors, printers,

plotters, encryption circuit boards, optical scanners,

th earn

4

external hard drives and other computer related

electronic devices.

3) Instructions or programs in the form of electronic or

magnetic media which are capable of being interpreted

by a computer or related components. The items to be

seized could include but would not be limited to

operating systems, application software, utility

programs, compilers, interpreters, and any other

programs peripherals either directly or indirectly via

telephone lines, radio, or other means of transmission.

4) Printed material which provide instructions or

examples concerning the operation of a computer

system, computer software, and/or any related device.

5) Telephone long distance call records and records of

wire and electronic interstate communications.

6) Records, files, documents, notes, correspondence,

microfiche, or computerized entries concerning the

Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD),

Government National Mortgage Association (GNMA),

Federal Housing Administration (FHA), manufactured

home dealers, borrowers both past and present, payment

history and current loan status of borrowers, loan files

and accounts of borrowers, loan applications, and copies

of submissions to FHA, GNMA, HUD, FHA insurance

claims and claims records.

7) Accounts receivable and records thereof.

8) Retained copies of documents relating to banking

transactions, including but not limited to:

(1) retained copies of signature cards;

5

(2) bank statements;

(3) canceled checks;

(4) deposit tickets;

(5) retained copies of items deposited;

(6) retained copies of credit and debit memos.

9) Bank correspondence files.

10) Documents in books of original entry containing

entries reflecting any and all transactions, including but

not limited to General ledgers, General journals,

Subsidiary ledgers, including but not limited to loan loss

account ledgers, trial balances, Summary journals

including but not limited to cash receipts and cash

disbursements, Daily posting records and slips, check

request forms, “special handling accounts” and “special

handling account” reports.

11) Internal documents or instructions to employees,

representatives or agents concerning GNMA, FHA,

borrowers or manufactured homes dealers, personal and

informal files, notes, diaries, telephone call logs and

telephone records, calendars and working papers of

employees and officers of Logan-Laws, Articles of

incorporation, or Partnerships.

12) All of the above listed documents may be found in

written or electronic form.

[Search warrant, App. at 60]

These descriptions encompassed all of the documents

and information within the LLFC building.

6

On July 23, 1993, on the authority of this warrant, the

FBI began an extensive sweeping search of the entire Logan-

Laws’ premises. FBI agents, accountants from HUD, and other

federal emp!oyees made a thorough search of the LLFC’s

premises, seizing a vast assortment of files, papers and

electronic data, including 787 megabytes of computer data

downloaded from the Logan-Laws’ networked computer files.

Prior to the trial, petitioner filed motions to suppress all

documents, items and information seized during the search of

LLFC because the warrant was a “general warrant” and

“effectively authorized a seizure of almost every single piece of

paper or piece of information in the Logan-Laws’ corporate

building.”

The district court referred this motion to Magistrate

Judge Dennis H. Inman for report and recommendation. After

an evidentiary hearing, Magistrate Judge Inman concluded that

the warrant was not general and stated:

This warrant was broad, to be sure, but it was

not ‘general.’ The warrant was rather specific

about what could be searched and seized.

Although the description encompassed virtually

all of the business records of the corporation,

that does not mean the warrant lacked

particularity; it simply means that it was

extremely broad. The issue therefore, is

‘whether there was probable cause to support a

7

search of this breadth, not whether the warrant

was general.’

Magistrate Judge Inman found that all documents seized

by the FBI were potentially probative of criminal conduct and

denied the motion to suppress evidence.

Petitioner filed timely objections to the Report and

Recommendation. The district court denied these objections and

adopted the Report and Recommendation of the Magistrate

Judge in its entirety. Although acknowledging that there were

“mountains of paper work, evidence in unknown forms,” the

district court found that the warrant describing a general class of

items relating to HUD/FHA and GNMA transactions and loan

payments was “as specific as possible, and thus reasonable

under the circumstances.” [App. at 66]

Upon conviction, Mr. Laws timely appealed all

evidentiary rulings of the district court in the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. The Sixth Circuit

affirmed the district court’s ruling that the search warrant in

question was not general. The Sixth Circuit found that the

search warrant in question was not a general warrant because:

[t]he investigator’s belie[ved] that granting

HUD/FHA co-insured loans and GNMA

mortgage-backed securities constituted the

LLFC’s entire operation. That being, the case,

law enforcement officials were necessarily

8

involved in an extensive paper trail in order to

discover which transactions may have been

illegal in nature. Keeping in mind the

particularity requirement is determined relative

to this specific circumstance in each case, we

find that the items sought in light of the illegal

activity alleged were appropriate. The warrant

specified that the items sought were those

related to HUD/FHA lending and GNMA

securities and, as such, did not violate the

particularly requirement of the Fourth

Amendments.”

United States v. Logan, 250 F.3d 350 (6" Cir. 2001).

Finally, the Sixth Circuit found that even if the warrant

was a general warrant, the district court was correct in denying

motions to suppress under the good faith exception to the

exclusionary rule outlined in United States v. Leon, 468 U.S.

897, 918-21 (1984). The Sixth Circuit found that law

enforcement agents could have reasonably relied on the face of

the search warrant issued by United States District Court Judge

Thomas G. Hull and, because there was no evidence of bad faith,

the execution of the warrant was reasonable.

On June 21, 2001, the Sixth Circuit denied petitioner’s

petition for rehearing en banc under the validity of the search

warrant. This petition for writ of certiorari followed.

9

II. COMMUNICATION WITH THE JURY

After conclusion of the trial and jury verdict, the district

court gave these final words to the jury and to the lawyers in the

courtroom:

The Court: We will release you to go now. You don’t have

to discuss this case with anyone unless you

wish, unless you want to; and if these lawyers

have any other cases involving your jury panel,

they know not to discuss it with you until after

your time has been released; so with that, we

give you our thanks. We let you go.

[Trial transcript, dated May 14, 1998 at 10:50 a.m.]

Counsel, believing this statement allowed permission to

talk to the jurors following the trial of this case, spoke with the

jury foreman after the trial was over. At that time, it was learned

that the jury had organized early in the course of this five week

trial; had selected a jury foreman; had discussed the proof on a

daily basis; and had discussed the guilt or innocence of the

defendants, all of which occurred prior to the jury charge by the

district court.

Following this communication, and out of an abundance

of caution, counsel for petitioner filed a motion for permission

to communicate with the jurors in light of Local Rule 48.1 for

the Eastern District of Tennessee, which provides:

vo a

10

No attorney, party or representative of either

may interrogate a juror after a verdict has been

returned or the trial has been otherwise

concluded without prior permission of the court.

[App. at 102 ]

The district court denied this motion to communicate

with jurors, stating that “defendant Laws did not allege any juror

misconduct during the trial, and does not allege any now.”

[App. at 85, 87]

In response to the district court’s ruling, petitioner filed

a motion to alter or amend the district court’s Order denying

permission to interview the jurors. This motion included the

affidavit of counsel for petitioner, Robert W. Ritchie, which

stated that during a communication that Mr. Ritchie had with the

jury foreman, it was learned that the jury routinely discussed

evidence among themselves during the course of the entire trial,

prior to the close of evidence and prior to being advised of the

appropriate jury instructions. [App. at 88, and 93]

On July 29, 1999, the district court again denied, in a

margin notation, petitioner’s motion to alter or amend its prior

ruling and denied permission to interview any of the jurors in

this case. [App. at 91]

Upon timely appeal to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, the Sixth Circuit, relying primarily

1]

upon Federal Rules of Evidence 606(b), af’ irmed the district

court’s denial of petitioner’s motion to communicate with the

jurors. Citing the “integrity of the jury,” and the Sixth Circuit’s

belief that the petitioner was challenging the verdict in this case

due to jury misconduct, the Sixth Circuit affirmed the district

court’s denial of petitioner’s request to communicate with any

jurors in this case.

The United States Court of Appeals denied petitioner’s

petition for rehearing en banc on June 21, 2001.

12

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

WHETHER A SEARCH WARRANT ISSUED

ON JULY 23, 1993 OF THE LOGAN-LAWS

FINANCIAL CORPORATIONS’ JOHNSON

CITY, TENNESSEE CORPORATE

PREMISES WAS A GENERAL SEARCH

WARRANT PROHIBITED BY THE UNITED

STATES CONSTITUTION, FOURTH

AMENDMENT.

WHETHER THE DISTRICT COURT’S

REFUSAL TO ALLOW COUNSEL FOR MR.

LAWS TO COMMUNICATE WITH JURORS

AFTER IT WAS LEARNED THAT THE

JURY ORGANIZED AND DELIBERATED

PRIOR TO RECEIVING A JURY CHARGE

WAS A VIOLATION OF THE UNITED

STATES CONSTITUTION, FIFTH AND

SIXTH AMENDMENTS.

13

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE THE SPLIT

BETWEEN THE SIXTH AND NINTH CIRCUITS’

INTERPRETATIONS OF THE FOURTH

AMENDMENT?’S REQUIREMENT THAT

SEARCH WARRANTS BE “PARTICULARIZED.”

The search warrant used to search the premises at 500

Princeton Road, Johnson City, Tennessee [App. at 60] on July

23, 1993 was a general warrant.

The Fourth Amendment to the United States

Constitution requires that search warrants describe with

particularity “the place to be searched and the persons or things

to be seized.” Dalia v. United States, 441 U.S. 238, 255, 99

S.Ct. 1682, 60 L.Ed.2d 177 (1979); Coolidge v. New Hampshire,

403 U.S. 443, 467, 29 L. Ed. 2d 564, 91 S. Ct. 2022 (1971).

General warrants are search warrants that fail to describe with

particularity the things to be searched for and seized and “create

a danger of unlimited discretion in the executing officer’s

determination of what is subject to seizure and danger of items

that will be seized when the warrant refers to other items.”

United States v. Savoca, 761 F.2d 292, 298-99 (6" Cir. 1984),

cert. denied 474 U.S. 852 (1985). See Andresen v. Maryland,

427 U.S. 463, 49 L.Ed.2d 627, 96 S.Ct. 2737 (1976). At an

“fi]rreducible minimum, a proper warrant must allow the

executing officers to distinguish between items that may and

14

may not be seized.” United States v. Leary, 846 F.2d 592, 602

(10" Cir. 1988).

The warrant at issue here covered every tangible and

intangible piece of information of document at the Logan-Laws’

premises. It authorized the seizure of almost every single piece

of information on the LLFC’s premises, including all magnetic

or electronic coding or data on computers, electronic devices,

instructions and software, all printed material, telephone

records, records, files, documents, notes, correspondence,

microfiche, computerized entries concerning HUD, GNMA or

FHA, accounts receivable or records thereof, retained copies of

banking transactions, bank correspondence files, general ledgers,

general journals, subsidiary ledgers, check request forms, daily

posting records and slips, internal documents or instructions to

employees, calendars, working papers from employees and

officers of LLFC, and articles of corporation with little or no

restriction, or whether it was on paper, microfiche, or any other

electronic form. [App. at 60]

This warrant did not have any limits, temporal,

descriptive, or otherwise. No time frame was given within the

warrant describing dates of alleged activity of dates that

documents seizure would be limited to. This warrant, on its

face, was a general warrant. The only limit in the warrant that

conceivably narrowed the scope of the search was the reference

to GNMA, FHA and HUD documents under numbered

paragraphs 6 and 11. [App. at 60] With no time constraint on

this warrant, and little other restrictions, the government was

15

allowed “the virtual unlimited seizure of a lifetime’s worth of

documentation, which is extremely intrusive.” United States v.

Ford, 184 F.3d 566, 575 (6" Cir. 1999).

The district court, however, found that although the

search warrant was broad, it was as narrow as the circumstances

and the nature of the alleged crimes permitted and was not a

general warrant. The district court denied Mr. Laws’ motion to

suppress evidence. [App. at 66]

The Sixth Circuit, affirming the district court, recited its

standard for evaluating the generality and breath of search

warrants, stating: “the degree of specificity required [in a search

warrant] is flexible and will vary depending upon the crime

involved and the types of items sought.” United States v. Logan,

250 F.3d 350 (6" Cir. 2001) (Citing United States v. Henson,

848 F.2d 1374, 1382 (6" Cir. 1988)). “Thus. a description is

valid if it is specific as the circumstances and the nature of the

activity under investigation permit.” Henson, 848 F.2d at 1382

(citing United States v. Blum, 753 F.2d 999, 1001,(1 cr.

1985)). “Where the precise identity of the goods cannot be

ascertained at the time of the warrant is issued, naming only the

generic class of items will suffice.” Henson, 848 F.2d at 1382

(citations omitted). See also United States v. Blair, 214 F.3d

690, 696 (6" Cir. 2000); White Fabricating Co. v. United States,

903 F.2d 404, 411 (6" Cir. 1990).

antes

5 sich wciortret

16

The Sixth Circuit rule, therefore, allows for search

warrants that are not particularized, contrary to the clear

language of the Fourth Amendment. The Sixth Circuit has

carved out a hole in the Fourth Amendment’s particularity

clause based on the purported necessity and difficulty law

enforcement has in particularizing documents relating to

criminal activity. Because of this law enforcement necessity, the

Sixth Circuit has reasoned, the government may seize complete

masses of documentation from a corporation or business and

then take the time to go through it fishing for evidence of crime.

Contrary to the Sixth Circuit’s “flexible” standard, the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit has applied

a stricter standard, finding the precise same type of warrants

unconstitutional. See United States v. Kow, 58 F.3d 423, 426

(9" Cir. 1995), Center Art Galleries-Hawaii v. United States,

875 F.2d 747, 750 (9" Cir. 1989). The Ninth Circuit’s rule

requires the government to make a showing before obtaining a

search warrant that the criminal activity “was inseparable from

the other business documents or that the business was permeated

with the fraud.” See Center Art Galleries, 875 F.2d at 751;

United States v. Washington, 797 F.2d 1461, 1473 (9" Cir.

1986).

Indeed, in United States v. Kow, supra, the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals found a strikingly similar warrant to be a

general warrant held that:

17

The warrant authorized the seizure of virtually

every document and computer file at HK Video.

To the extent that it provided any guidance to

the officers executing the warrant, the warrant

apparently sought to describe every document

on the premises and direct that everything be

seized. The government emphasizes that the

warrant outlined fourteen separate categories of

business records. However, the warrant

contained no limitations on which documents

within each category could be seized or

suggested how they related to specific criminal

activity. By failing to describe with any

particularity the items to be seized, the warrant

is indistinguishable from the general warrants

repeatedly held by this court to be

unconstitutional. E.g., Center Art Galleries-

Hawaii, Inc. vy. United States, 875 F.2d 747, 750

(9" Cir. 1989); United States v. Stubbs, 873 F.2d

210, 211 (9" Cir. 1989) (warrant invalid

“because of the complete lack of any standard

by which an executing officer could determine

what to seize”). (Emphasis added)

Kow, 58 F.3d at 427.

As for the government’s necessity, the Ninth Circuit

stated that:

18

To the extent that it was difficult for the

government to create a more particularized

warrant, the government may be to blame. Like

the District Court, we are troubled by the

“government’s decision to refrain from further

investigation such as the audit done in (United

States v. Michaelian, 803 F.2d 1042 (9" Cir.

1986), and yet rely on the lack of specific

information to justify the lack of particularity in

the warrant.

Kow, 58 F.3d at 427, n.2

The Ninth Circuit requires that before a warrant can

have broad descriptions of documents and lack specificity and

particularity, the government must make a showing when

obtaining a search warrant that it was unable to particularize

further. Certainly this holding is more consistent with the

strictures of the Fourth Amendment’s particularity clause then

the after-the-fact flexibility allowed the government in the Sixth

Circuit.

The Sixth and Ninth Circuits, accordingly, disagree as to

the particular standard to use in reviewing the generality and

breadth of these type of business search warrants. This split was

recognized by the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Circuit in United States v. Oloyede, 982 F.2d 133, 140 (4" Cir.

1993). In Oloyede, the Fourth Circuit noted the Ninth Circuit’s

rule requiring law enforcement to describe at the time that they

19

obtained the search warrant that the business was permeated

with fraud or that the documents were inseparable from other

documents. Oloyede, 982 F.2d at 140. Although the Fourth

Circuit declined to follow the Ninth Circuit, it was clear from

Oloyede that there was a clear difference between the Fourth and

Ninth Circuits, and similarly the Sixth and Ninth Circuits.

Oloyede, 982 F.2d at 140.

Furthermore even under the Sixth Circuit standard, the

record reflects that the government did not have this necessity to

ask for such a general warrant. Much like the Ninth Circuit

case Kow, supra, the records reflects the government was able to

particularize this search warrant through the use of an

administrative audit. After the search of this case, counsel for

the petitioner deposed the HUD auditors that were present

during the execution of the search warrant on the LLFC

premises. It was learned that these same HUD auditors

originally planned on conducting an audit of the LLFC in May

or June of 1993. Instead, the FBI contacted the auditor’s

supervisor and told him to postpone the audit until July so that

the auditors could help the HUD auditors during the search.

Thus, a regulatory audit — the surest method that the FBI had to

obtain the specific and current information necessary to

specifically describe what to seize in the search warrant affidavit

_ was deliberately canceled.

Moreover, the FBI possessed HUD audit information

from prior audits as well. These audits indicated loan files

questionable to HUD with the names of borrowers and specific

sae

sash Or heal Badia

eipindaisienibannath $c niet cami

20

files. The FBI also possessed computer printouts of “special

handling” accounts within LLFC, later to be the source of

multiple charges against the petitioner.

The affidavit from FBI Special Agent Derek Johnson

did little to clarify and ‘imit the search warrant itself. The

affidavit contained a wealth of stale information. At § 20, Leisa

Ann Taedlock’s information was given to Special Agent Smith

21 months before the search warrant was sought. Moreover, she

had not been employed at LLFC since 1989, 4 4 years before

the search. At 421, Cl's information as transmitted to Johnson is

10 months stale. At 923, CCW2 provided the listed information

on June 12, 1993, but the information was actually at least 11

months old. At 425, the government describes information

derived from Iva Jean Lewis, an employee fired almost four

years before the affidavit executed.

All of this reflects that the government could have

particularized this particular search warrant. Nothing in the

record reflects a sense of urgency that may have precipitated the

need for seizure of all of the corporate records. There is nothing

in the record reflecting destruction of evidence or that the

Logan-Laws Corporation even knew it was being investigated.

Certainly, the staleness of the information in the search warrant

affidavit reflects no hurry or emergency by the government. The

circumstances and nature of the crime here reflect that the

government could have particularized the search warrant further,

but declined to do so in an effort to ease their burden and seize

as much as possible from the LLFC premises.

21

Moreover, nether the affidavit or the search warrant here

implicitly or explicitly supported the finding that the LLFC was

permeated with fraud, or that the documents were inseparable

from other documents in relation to alleged criminal activity.

The Ninth Circuit would have found this warrant

unconstitutional under its rule because no proper showing was

made in obtaining this warrant. The Sixth Circuit, conversely,

allowed the government more flexibility in obtaining this

general warrant, and has found the search warrant here to be

constitutional.

The petitioner submits that this Court should review the

search warrant and affidavit of this case and determine whether

a particularity standard of the United States Constitution, Fourth

Amendment was violated by the United States in executing this

search warrant. This Court should take this opportunity to

resolve this split in interpretation of the Fourth Amendment by

the Ninth and Sixth Circuits and articulate a clear standard to

limit governmental intrusion into citizen’s businesses, consistent

with the precise language.

The decision of the Court of Appeals in this case also

cited United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 896, 918-921, 164 S.Ct.

3405, 82 L.Ed.2d 677 (1984) for the proposition that even if this

particular search warrant lacked particularity, the good faith

exception to the exclusionary rule would not require the

suppression of the fruits of that search. While the decision lists

some of the exceptions to the good faith standard, it obviously

22

does not list the exception for a warrant that is so broad as to be

invalid on its face.

Indeed, there is no indication at all that the Court of

Appeals considered the statement by the Court in Leon, supra,

that:

[A] warrant may be so facially deficient — i.e., in

failing to particularize the places to be searched

or the things to be seized that the executing

officers cannot presume it to be valid.

Leon, 46 U.S. at 923, 104 S.Ct. at 3421.

Therefore, for the same reasons the petitioner insists that

the search warrant in this case is invalid, he also submits that the

good faith exception to the exclusionary rule is likewise

inapplicable.

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD ESTABLISH A RULE

CONSISTENT WITH THE CONSTITUTION TO

DETERMINE WHEN JURORS CAN BE

COMMUNICATED WITH AFTER TRIAL.

The petitioner’s Fifth and Sixth Amendment rights were

violated when the district court refused to allow his counsel to

interview the jurors after the trial of this case.

23

The district court, relying on Rule 606(b), Fed. R. Evid.

and Local Rule 48.1 of the United States Court of the Eastern

District of Tennessee, denied Mr. Laws’ motion to communicate

with the jurors. [App. at 85] On appeal, the Sixth Circuit,

relying on the same rules, declined to find that the district court

abused its discretion in denying counsel communications with

the jurors after the trial was completed. The Sixth Circuit found

that the showing made by Mr. Laws that the jury had organized,

selected a foreman, and had discussed the evidence regularly

throughout the course of the trial, prior to being given a jury

charge, was an “internal” jury issue, and therefore, no jurors

could testify as to the validity of the verdict under Rule 606(b),

Fed. R. Evid. Therefore, the Sixth Circuit reasoned, there was

no reason to inquire as to potential juror misconduct. United

States v. Logan, 250 F.3d 350 (6" Cir. 2001).

It is well-settled that when there is a showing of

misconduct by the jury, the district court has a responsibility to

investigate the matter to determine what type of misconduct

could have taken place. See Remmer v. United States, 347 U.S.

227 (1954). See also United States v. Corrado, 227 F.3d 543,

552 (6" Cir. 2000); United States v. Chavis, 772 F.2d 100, 110

(5" Cir. 1985); United States v. Eldredd, 588 F.2d 746, 752 (Che

Cir. 1978).

Mr. Laws, through affidavit of counsel, made a showing

that the jurors deliberated on the verdict of his guilt or innocence

prior to being given the charge and read the law of the case. The

affidavit of trial counsel, Robert W. Ritchie, was submitted

PO ne Pe eT ee ee

24

supporting a showing of the reasons why communication was

necessary. [App. at 93] Counsel learned that the jurors routinely

discussed the evidence during the course of the entire trial and

prior to having been given a juror charge of the law.

These pre-deliberation discussions violated Mr. Laws’

right to a fair trial before an impartial jury. See, e.g., United

States v. Resko, 3 F.3d 684, 695 (3d Cir. 1993) (and reasons

cited therein); United States v. Wiesner, 789 F.2d 1264, n.3 (7th

Cir. 1986) (requiring instruction not to deliberate prior to

presentation of all of the evidence); Hardwick & Ware, Juror

Misconduct § 7.04, at 7-27 (1988); Propriety and Effect of

Juror’s Discussion of Evidence Among Themselves Before Final

Submission of Criminal Case, 21 ALR 4th (and cases cited

therein).

The constitutional violation, however, was exacerbated

by the summary denial of the petitioner’s motion, without

hearing, and the refusal to allow petitioner permission to contact

or communicate with the jurors in any way. No hearing or

findings were made by the district court at all. No investigation

was had by the district court, nor was any allowed.

The district court and the Sixth Circuit failed to follow

this Court’s ruling in Remmer v. United States, 347 U.S. 227

(1954). In Remmer, this Court required the trial court to take

action upon receipt of information that could relate to jury

misconduct in order to “determine the circumstances, the impact

thereof on the juror, and whether or not it was prejudicial in a

25

hearing with all interested parties to participate.” Remmer, 347

U.S. at 230. Remmer still defines the “nature and scope of the

investigation required when jury misconduct is credibly

alleged.” Remmer, 347 U.S. 227. See United States v. Corrado,

227 F.3d 543, 551 (6" Cir. 2000).

Counsel asks this Court to review the lower courts’

determination that prevented any communication with the jurors.

There would be no other way to determine whether any

misconduct occurred or whether the petitioner suffered any

prejudice from any misconduct. The only way to determine that

would be to allow contact with the jurors, at least by the district

court. As this Court held in Remmer, some investigation must

be had by the trial court to determine the type, nature and degree

of alleged misconduct after a showing has been made. The

affidavit of Robert W. Ritchie [App. at 93] is more than

adequate showing that some misconduct occurred on the part of

the jury.

This Court should grant certiorari on this issue to

elaborate on what requirements the trial court has to determine

the type, nature and degree of jury misconduct when a proper |

showing has been made by a defendant. To apply a prophylactic

protection of the jurors and disallow any communication by

counsel of the petitioner to communicate with the jurors

infringes upon the petitioner’s Fifth and Sixth Amendment

rights to a fair trial by an impartial jury.

|

|

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, petitioner, Alan Michael Laws

respectfully prays that this Honorable Court grant this petition

for writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT W. RITCHIE (TN BPR#000777)

RITCHIE, FELS & DILLARD, P.C.

606 West Main Street, Suite 300

Knoxville, TN 37902

(865) 637-0661

RICHARD L. GAINES (TN BPR # 015462)

ELDRIDGE, IRVINE & GAINES

606 West Main Street, Suite 350

Knoxville, TN 37902

(865) 523-7731

Counsel for Petitioner

App. |

No.

.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, Year 2001

ALAN MICHAEL LAWS

Petitioner,

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

¢

Petition For A Writ of Certiorari

From the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit

©

APPENDIX

ROBERT W. RITCHIE

RITCHIE, FELS & DILLARD, P.C.

606 West Main Street, Suite 300

Knoxville, TN 37902

(865) 637-0661

RICHARD L. GAINES

ELDRIDGE, IRVINE & GAINES

606 West Main Street, Suite 350

Knoxville, TN 37902

(865) 523-7731

Counsel for Petitioner

App. 2

United States Court of Appeals,

Sixth Circuit.

UNITED STATES of America, Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

John M. LOGAN (99-6176); Alan Michael Laws (99-6198),

Defendants-Appellants.

Nos. 99-6176, 99-6198.

Argued Jan. 31, 2001.

Decided and Filed May 11, 2001.

Shareholders and controlling officers of lender making

government-insured mobile home loans and issuing mortgage-

backed securities were convicted in the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Tennessee, James H. Jarvis, J., on

94 counts, which included making false statements, false entries,

false claims, and one count of conspiracy, and they appealed. The

Court of Appeals, Nugent, District Judge, sitting by designation,

held that: (1) materiality is not an element of the offense under the

false claims statute; (2) in any event, the evidence was sufficient:

(3) reporting payments to borrowers' accounts when the payments

were made out of lender's own funds supported false entry

convictions; (4) search warrant for records, files, and documents

was not a general warrant; (5) Rule of Evidence barring admission

of compromise and offers to compromise does not prohibit

admission of administrative or civil settlement negotiations in a

criminal context; (6) evidence of defendants’ income from lender

and related corporations was relevant; (7) loss computations were

App. 3

proper, (8) prior misdemeanor DUI conviction was properly

included in one defendant's criminal history; and (9) the district

court correctly denied defendants' motion for permission to

conduct a post-verdict interrogation of jurors.

Affirmed.

M. Neil Smith (argued and briefed), Asst. U.S. Atty., Greeneville,

TN, for Plaintiff-Appellee.

John T. Milburn Rogers, Jerry W. Laughlin (argued and briefed),

Rogers, Laughlin, Nunnally, Hood & Crum, Greeneville, TN, for

Defendant-Appellant in No. 99-6176.

Robert W. Ritchie (argued and briefed), W. Thomas Dillard

(briefed), Richard L. Gaines, Ritchie, Fels & Dillard, Knoxville,

TN, for Defendant- Appellant in No. 99-6198.

Before: MARTIN, Chief Judge; COLE, Circuit Judge;

NUGENT, District Judge. ji N*|

! \* The Honorable Donald C. Nugent, United States District

Judge for the Northern District of Ohio, sitting by designation.

OPINION

NUGENT, District Judge.

App. 4

Appellants John M. Logan and Alan Michael Laws were

found guilty by a jury sitting in the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Tennessee on ninety-four counts of criminal

charges, which included making false statements, false entries,

false claims, and one count of conspiracy. Appellants filed a timely

notice of appeal to this Court, challenging their convictions and the

corresponding sentences. We exercise jurisdiction pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1291 to review the final judgment of the district court and

pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 3742(a) to review the sentence imposed.

For the reasons set forth below, we hereby AFFIRM the judgment

reached and sentences imposed by the district court.

I. BACKGROUND

Appellants in this case are the sole shareholders and

controlling officers of Logan-Laws Financial Corporation

(“LLFC"), an entity which made mortgage loans co-insured by the

Federal Housing Administration of the Department of Housing and

Urban Development (“HUD/FHA"). Through LLFC, Appellants

issued securities backed by pools of federally insured mortgages

to secondary market purchasers under the Government National

Mortgage Association's (“GNMA's") mortgage-backed securities

program ("MBS program"). As an issuer of securities under the

MBS program, LLFC was required to collect monthly principal

and interest payments from property owners, which it passed

through to the security holders, less servicing fees. In the event

that a property owner failed to make a monthly payment, LLFC's

role as a HUD/FHA co-insured lender required it to pay security

holders from its own funds. If LLFC failed to make such

payments, GNMA guaranteed payment to the security holders.

App. 5

Thus, the United States, through GNMA, was_ ultimately

responsible for the timely payment of principal and interest due on

LLFC's mortgage-backed securities.

In connection with this practice, a grand jury returned a

ninety-six count Indictment against Appellants, charging them

with conspiring to defraud and commit offenses against the United

States; making false claims to HUD/FHA; making false entries in

reports to GNMA; making false statements to GNMA; and wire

fraud. Prior to trial, one count of making false claims to

HUD/FHA and the wire fraud count were dismissed. A jury

convicted Appellants on each of the remaining Counts in the

Indictment. Pursuant to the United States Sentencing Guidelines

(the “Guidelines"), the district court sentenced Appellants to serve

eighty-seven months of imprisonment, to be followed by three

years of supervised release. In addition, the district court ordered

Appellants to make restitution to HUD/FHA and GNMA in the

amount of one million dollars.

In this Court, Appellants challenge both their convictions

and sentences. More specifically, Appellants raise the following

issues: (1) whether the search warrant executed by the government

of LLFC's premises was a general warrant in violation of the

Fourth Amendment of the United States Constitution, (2) whether

there was sufficient evidence to find Appellants guilty of false

claims; (3) whether there was sufficient evidence to find

Appellants guilty of false entries or false statements, (4) whether

there was sufficient evidence to demonstrate that there was a

knowing and willing agreement between Appellants to commit a

crime; (5) whether the district court erred in admitting evidence

ain h ait

as

App. 6

of a settlement agreement between HUD/FHA and LLFC: (6)

whether the district court erred in permitting the government to

inquire as to Appellants’ reported taxable income; (7) whether the

district court incorrectly calculated loss under the Guidelines: (8)

whether the district court improperly refused to depart downward

from Appellant Laws's sentencing computation under the

Guidelines; (9) whether the district court erred by enhancing

Appellants’ sentences for obstruction of justice; (10) whether the

district court incorrectly calculated Appellant Laws's criminal

history category under the Guidelines; arid (11) whether the

district court improperly refused to allow investigation of alleged

jury misconduct. The Court considers each of these issues below.

II. DISCUSSION

The issues raised on appeal in this case generally fall into

three categories. First, Appellants challenge the sufficiency of the

evidence leading to their convictions. Next, Appellants assert that

the district court erred in making several material evidentiary

rulings. Finally, Appellants raise various challenges to the post-

trial rulings made in the court below. We consider these categories

in turn.

A. Sufficiency of the Evidence

In considering claims for sufficiency of the evidence to

support a conviction, this Court, while reviewing the record in the

light most favorable to the prosecution, should grant relief only if

it is found that upon the record evidence adduced at trial, no

rational trier of fact could have found proof of guilt beyond a

App. 7

reasonable doubt. See Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307, 324, 99

S.Ct. 2781, 61 L.Ed.2d 560 (1979).

1. False Claims Convictions

On appeal, Appellants argue that the evidence presented at

trial was insufficient to support their convictions for making, or

causing to be made, false HUD/FHA loan insurance claims under

18 U.S.C. § 287. Appellants contend that the false claims counts

were based upon submission of either a Verification of

Employment form ("VOE") or a Verification of Deposit form

("VOD"), neither of which satisfies the materiality requirement

present in the false claims statute. Thus, Appellants argue that

these forms, even if false, did not render the claims "false" within

the meaning of the statute because the required element of

materiality remains unsatisfied.

This Circuit first addressed the particular issue of whether

materiality is an element of a false claims offense in United States

v. Nash, 175 F.3d 429, 433-34 (6th Cir.1999). As in this case, the

appellant in Nash argued that materiality is an element of this

offense, and that because the government failed to prove that his

statements were material, no rational trier of fact could find him

guilty beyond a reasonable doubt of making false statements. Id.

at 433.

In determining whether materiality was an element of the

false claims statute in Nash, this Court first looked to the plain

language of 18 U.S.C. § 287. That language provides:

Whoever makes or presents to any person or

officer in the civil, military, or naval service of

}

;

App. 8

the United States, or to any department or agency

thereof, any claim upon or against the United

States, or any department or agency thereof,

knowing such claim to be false, fictitious, or

fraudulent, shall be imprisoned not more than five

years and shall be subject to a fine in the amount

provided in this title.

Id. Based upon that section, this Court noted that the plain

language neither mentions materiality nor in any way implies that

the claim must be material. Nash, 175 F.3d at 434. Furthermore,

we recognized that: (1) reading materiality into the statute would

make surplusage of Congress's explicit use of the term in other

Statutes; (2) the legislative history of § 287 does not indicate that

Congress intended to make materiality a necessary element of the

statute; and (3) the requirement of materiality “would set up an

incongruous ‘heads I win, tails you lose’ dichotomy." Id. This

being the case, we made clear in Nash that the Sixth Circuit joined

the Second, Fifth, Ninth, and Tenth Circuits in finding that

materiality is not an element of 18 U.S.C. § 287. Id. On this basis

alone, we find Appellants' argument concerning insufficiency of

the evidence as to the false claims convictions to be entirely

without merit. Under the law of this Circuit, materiality is not an

element of an offense arising under 18 U.S.C. § 287.

Moreover, even if materiality were to be considered an

element of this offense, the evidence was still sufficient to support

Appellants' convictions under 18 U.S.C. § 287. That is, in light of

the fact that the trial in the instant case took place pre-Nash, the

jury was charged that materiality was required. it \i! The jury

found that the false VOEs and VODs were, in fact, material to

App. 9

HUD/FHA's decision concerning whether to pay particular claims

upon default. The record reveals that claims manager James

Gibson testified at trial that the VOEs and VODs for the relevant

claims were fraudulent. More specifically, Mr. Gibson explained

that he, Appellants, or other LLFC employees forged the

documents to make the loan files acceptable to HUD/FHA for

payment on the loan insurance claims. J.A. at 1711-56.

Furthermore, Allen Stailey, a marketing and outreach specialist for

HUD, testified that because the program is primarily based on the

creditworthiness of the borrower, it is critical that the lenders

follow procedures and that they are truthful in the verification of

employment and deposit information so that HUD/FHA can

determine whether to pay on a particular claim. J.A. at 1779.

Based upon this testimony, it was reasonable for the jury to

conclude, as it did, that the contents of the VOEs and VODs were

material to the HUD/FHA's decision as to whether to pay particular

claims.

i Ni. Specifically, the district court charged that the

elements of 18 U.S.C. § 287 are as follows:

(1) that the defendant made or presented or caused to be

made or presented to HUD a claim against the United States; (2)

that at the time of this claim, HUD was a department or agency of

the United States; (3) that the claim presented was fictitious or

fraudulent in that the loan insurance claim contained false

documents that were material to the claim; and (4) that the

defendants knew that the claim was false, fictitious, or fraudulent.

J.A. at 2223.

App. 10

Appellants make much of the fact that neither the

applicable regulations governing approval by a lender of a loan,

nor the regulations governing the submission of a claim,

specifically require that a VOE or VOD form be used or

submitted. This technical argument amounts to nothing more

than an unsuccessful attempt to circumvent the inevitable

conclusion that Appellants submitted false documents in order

to induce HUD/FHA to pay on certain loan insurance claims,

regardless of the manner in which such information was

submitted. In viewing the record in the light most favorable to

the prosecution, the Court finds that the evidence adduced at

trial was such that a rational trier of fact could have found proof

of guilt beyond a reasonable doubt. For the above-stated

reasons, the Court finds Appellants' argument concerning

insufficiency of the evidence with respect to the false claims

convictions to be without merit.

2. False Entries and False Statements Convictions

Appellants next assert that there was insufficient evidence

adduced at trial upon which a rational jury could find them guilty

of the offense of making false entries in reports under 18 U.S.C. §

1006. Similarly, Appellants argue that there is insufficient

evidence to support a conviction for making false, fictitious, or

fraudulent statements concerning material facts within the

jurisdiction of GNMA in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1001. The Court

considers these arguments in turn.

Section 1006, entitled "Federal Credit Institution Entries,

Reports and Transactions," provides, in pertinent part, the

following:

-

App. 11

Whoever, being ... connected in any capacity with

the ... Department of Housing and Urban

Development ... with intent to defraud [the]

institution ... or to deceive any officer, auditor,

examiner or agent of [the] institution, ... makes

any false entry in any book, report or statement of

or to any such institution, or without being duly

authorized, draws any order or bill of exchange,

makes any acceptance, or issues, puts forth or

assigns any note, debenture, bond or other

obligation ... or, with intent to defraud the United

States or any agency thereof ... participates or

shares in or receives directly or indirectly any

money, profit, property, or benefits through any

transaction, loan, commission, contract, or any

other act of any such corporation, institution, or

association, shall be fined not more than

$1,000,000 or imprisoned not more than 30 years,

or both.

18 U.S.C. § 1006. Thus, the offense of making false entries under

§ 1006 requires that Appellants, while officers, agents, or

employees of a lending corporation, acting pursuant to federal law

and in a capacity connected with the GNMA of the HUD, with the

intent to defraud such agencies, knowingly and willfully made or

caused to be made false entries in reports to them.

In the instant case, the government alleged at trial that Appellants

made false entries in Form 11710A reports, which provided

information on pools of loans; in Form 11710D reports, which

summarized all of the pools that LLFC issued during its existence;

App. 12

and in letters from Appellant Logan to Guy Wilson, a Vice-

President of GNMA, which repeated the information represented

inthe 11710A and 11710D forms. J.A. at 358. Appellants do not

dispute the fact that, as an authorized Title | lender, LLFC was

required to submit monthly reports to GNMA reflecting the status

of each borrower's account on a Form 11710A and a Form

11710D. As in the court below, however, Appellants argue that

the forms and letters were not false because the payments reflected

therein were actually made to the borrowers’ accounts, regardless

of the fact that they were paid out of LLFC's own funds. Un this

basis, Appellants contend that the reports accurately reflect that a

payment had been made and, therefore, were not false.

In United States v. Walker, 871 F.2d 1298, 1308 (6th

Cir.1989), this Circuit made clear that "[a] statement may be false

when it contains a half truth or when it conceals a material fact."

In that case, we were faced with a similar situation, in which the

appellant argued that the entries were not false because they

recorded actual transactions as they occurred. Id. Nevertheless, the

government "alleged and proved that the entries at issue were false

because they failed to disclose that the loans were not made for the

benefit of the named borrower and that the named borrower had

not made the interest payments with his own funds." Id. On this

basis, we upheld the false entries convictions. Id.

Here, the GNMA guidelines establish that the reports in

question are required to reflect the payments that were actually

received from the borrowers. According to the testimony

presented at trial, GNMA requires lender reports to reflect actual

payments from borrowers and the loan delinquency information

because it needs to obtain a complete picture of how many loans

were delinquent and how such delinquency affected the lender's

App. 13

cash flow. J.A. at 1512A-1512B. In this way, GNMA is able to

gauge the risk that it is undertaking with respect to each lender,

and it ts able to determine whether to allow the lender to continue

participating in the program. /d. at 1512B. If the lender masks the

number of delinquent loan payments by making the payments from

its own funds, and thereby classifies such payments as actually

received. the effect would be to deprive GNMA of the mandatory

information it requires to assess continued relations with the

lender. [he record reflects that each witness who testified about

the propriety of a lender making payments to the accounts of

delinquent borrowers, with the exception of Appellants, explained

that such a practice was not permitted pursuant to the GNMA

guidelines and would have been done only to deceive GNMA

about the lender's true loan delinquency rates. J.A. at 359.

Viewing the record in the light most favorable to the prosecution,

we find that the record evidence adduced at trial could have led a

rational jury to find guilt beyond a reasonable doubt as to the false

entries convictions.

Similarly, Appellants challenge their convictions for

making talse statements pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 1001. That statute

provides in part:

whoever, in any matter within the jurisdiction of the

c\ecutive, legislative, or judicial branch of the

Ciovernment of the United States, knowingly and

illfully-

(|) lalsifies, conceals, or covers up by any trick,

~cheme, or device a material fact;

*) makes any materially false, fictitious, or

'raudulent statement or representation; or

App. 14

(3) makes or uses any false writing or document

knowing the same to contain any materially false,

fictitious, or fraudulent statement or entry;

shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not

more than 5 years, or both.

18 U.S.C. § 1001. In order to establish a violation of 18 U.S.C. §

1001, the government must demonstrate that: (1) the defendant

made a statement; (2) the statement is false or fraudulent: (3) the

Statement is material; (4) the defendant made the statement

knowingly and wilfully; and (5) the statement pertained to an

activity within the jurisdiction of a federal agency. See United

States v. Rogers, 118 F.3d 466, 470 (6th Cir.1997). A statement

is material under § 1001 if it has the natural tendency to influence,

or is capable of influencing, the federal agency. See United States

v. Lutz, 154 F.3d 581, 588 (6th Cir.1998).

In this case, the statements at issue relate to letters from

Appellants to Guy Wilson relating to LLFC's "DQ ratios." The

‘DQ ratios are "an indicator of the loan delinquencies fora GNMA

issuer's loan portfolio and were used by GNMA to determine

whether authority to issue additional GNMA-guaranteed securities

would be granted." J.A. at 360. These DQ ratios were determined

from the loan delinquency information contained in the Form

11710A and the Form 11710D reports. The government contends

that because these reports contained false loan delinquency

information--brought about by LLFC making delinquent loan

payments from its own funds--the DQ ratios submitted to Mr.

Wilson based upon this information were also false.

Attrial, Mr. Wilson testified that if LLFC's DQ ratios were

not in proper compliance with GNMA standards, then GNMA was

App. 15

going to end the commitment authority and not issue any more

pools. J.A. at 1512C. He further explained that the result of

masking the DQ ratios by making delinquent payments from its

own funds allowed LLFC to falsely represent to GNMA that its

delinquency rates were in compliance. J.A. at 1512C. In this way,

LLFC allowed its commitment authority and the issuance of new

pools to remain unchanged. We find that this testimony provides

an adequate basis upon which the jury could find that the false

representations were material and that GNMA relied on the

statements in extending additional loan commitments to LLFC.

Accordingly, viewing the record in the light most favorable to the

prosecution, the evidence presented at trial could have led a

rational jury to find Appellants guilty beyond a reasonable doubt

as to the false entries convictions.

3. Conspiracy Convictions

Appellants further argue that there was insufficient

evidence to establish the conspiracy convictions. |More

specifically, Appellants assert that the government failed to

demonstrate that there was a knowing and willing agreement

between them to commit a crime because there was insufficient

evidence to support the underlying substantive claims. As

discussed previously, the government produced sufficient evidence

upon which a rational jury could find Appellants guilty beyond a

reasonable doubt of making false entries, false claims, and false

statements. The evidence produced by the government established

that Appellants knowingly and voluntarily entered into an

agreement to commit the underlying substantive offenses, and that

they committed an overt act for the purpose of advancing or

App. 16

helping the conspiracy. On this basis, the jury possessed a rational

basis upon which it concluded that Appellants were guilty beyond

a reasonable doubt of the crime of conspiracy.

B. Propriety of the Evidentiary Rulings

Appellants also raise several challenges to specific

evidentiary rulings made by the district court. As an initial matter,

Appellants argue that the district court erred in denying their

motions to suppress evidence due to the alleged insufficiency of

the search warrant that led to the discovery of such evidence.

Furthermore, Appellants contend that the trial court improperly

admitted into evidence a 1991 review by HUD's monitoring

division, the resulting action by HUD's mortgagee review board,

LLFC's July 1991 response to the mortgagee review board, and the

settlement agreement and letter of reprimand disposing of the

administrative action. In addition, Appellants state that the district

court erred in permitting the government to inquire as to their

amount of income gained from LLFC and related corporations.

We now consider each of these arguments in turn.

1. Sufficiency of the Warrant

On July 21, 1996, [sic] Special Agent Derek B. Johnson of

the Federal Bureau of Investigation prepared an application and

affidavit for a search warrant of ILLFC's premises. Special Agent

Johnson sought the warrant after obtaining information indicating

thai LLFC regularly falsified loan documents filed with HUD/FHA

and fraudulently manipulated its records to give the appearance

that it was in compliance with GNMA requirements. Upon review

App. 17

of the affidavit and application, United States District Judge

Thomas G. Hull issued a search warrant. The warrant authorized

the following items to be seized:

1) Information and/or data stored in the form of

magnetic or electronic coding on computer media

or in media capable of being read by a computer

or with the aid of computer related equipment.

This media includes but is not limited to floppy

diskettes, fixed hard disks, removable hard disk

cartridges, tapes, laser disks, video cassettes, and

any other media which is capable of storing

magnetic coding.

2) Electronic devices which are capable of

analyzing, creating, displaying, converting, or

transmitting electronic or magnetic computer

impulses or data. These devices include but are

not limited to computers, computer components,

computer peripherals, word processing

equipment, modems, monitors, printers, plotters,

encryption circuit boards, optical scanners,

external hard drives and other computer related

electronic devices.

3) Instructions or programs in the form of

electronic or magnetic media which are capable of

being interpreted by a computer or related

components. The items to be seized could include

but would not be limited to operating systems,

application software, utility programs, compilers,

interpreters, and any other programs peripherals

App. 18

either directly or indirectly via telephone lines,

radio, or other means of transmission.

4) Printed material which provide [sic]

instructions or examples concerning the operation

of a computer system, computer software, and/or

any related device.

5) Telephone long distance call records and

records of wire and electronic interstate

communications.

6) Records, files, documents, notes,

correspondence, microfiche, or computerized

entries concerning the Department of Housing and

Urban Development (HUD), Government

National Mortgage Association(GNMA), Federal

Housing Administration (FHA), manufactured

home dealers, borrowers both past and present,

payment history and current loan status of

borrowers, loan files and accounts of borrowers,

loan applications, and copies of submissions to

FHA, GNMA, HUD, FHA insurance claims and

claims records.

7) Accounts receivable and records thereof.

8) Retained copies of documents relating to

banking transactions, including but not limited to:

(1) retained copies of signature cards;

(2) bank statements;

(3) canceled checks;

(4) deposit tickets;

(5) retained copies of items deposited;

(6) retained copies of credit and debit memos.

App. 19

9) Bank correspondence files.

10) Documents in books of original entry containing

entries reflecting any and all transactions, including

but not limited to General ledgers, General journals,

Subsidiary ledgers, including but not limited to loan

loss account ledgers, trial balances, Summary journals

including but not limited to cash receipts and cash

disbursements, Daily posting records and slips, check

request forms, "special handling accounts" and

"special handling account" reports.

11) Internal documents or instructions to employees,

representatives or agents concerning GNMA, FHA,

borrowers or manufactured homes dealers, personal

and informal files, notes, diaries, telephone call logs

and telephone records, calendars and working papers

of employees and officers of Logan-Laws, Articles of

incorporation, or Partnerships.

12) All of the above listed documents may be found in

written or electronic form.

J.A. at 171-176. Thus, the warrant authorized agents of the

government to search for and seize any records, files, and

~ documents relating to the mobile home loans made by LLFC co-

insured by HUD/FHA and upon which LLFC issued mortgage-

backed securities pursuant to GNMA. The government agents

executed the search warrant on July 26, 1996.

Prior to trial, Appellants filed motions to suppress the

documents and items seized during the search of LLFC. In the

motions, Appellants argued that the search warrant was "general"

and that it “effectively authorized the seizure of almost every

App. 20

single piece of paper or piece of information in the Logan-Laws

corporate building." J.A. at 110. The district court\referred the

matter to Magistrate Judge Dennis H. Inman for report and

recommendation. On February 14, 1997, Magistrate Judge Inman

held an evidentiary hearing on, inter alia, the motions to suppress.

Thereafter, the Magistrate Judge issued a report and

recommendation concluding that the "warrant was, in light of the

nature of the activity under investigation, and the manner of

storing the information, as particular as it could be." J.A. at 112.

Furthermore, the Magistrate Judge stated:

This warrant was broad, to be sure, but it was not

‘general.’ The warrant was rather specific about

what could be searched and seized. Although the

description encompassed virtually all of the

business records of the corporation, that does not

mean that the warrant lacked particularity; it

simply means that it was extremely broad. The

issue, therefore, is 'whether there was probable

cause to support a search of this breadth, not

whether the warrant was general.’

J.A. at 112 (internal citation and quotations omitted). Finding that

all records of the corporation relating to its HUD/FHA and GNMA

activities were potentially probative of criminal conduct,

Magistrate Judge Inman recommended that the district court deny

the motions to suppress on the ground that there was probable

cause to support a search of this breadth. .

Appellants filed timely objections to the report and

recommendation. The district court denied these objections and,

consequently, adopted the report and recommendation in its

App. 21

entirety. In a memorandum opinion, the district court found that

the search warrant, though broad, attempted to uncover specific

evidence of convoluted fraudulent activity, buried amidst mounds

of paperwork and computer documentation. J.A. at 182. In

addition, the district court stated the following:

Because of the complex nature of the criminal

scheme in the present case, the warrant could not

have been more specific as to the identity of the

documents to be seized. Even with the aid of the

confidential informants who provided the

information upon which the affidavit in support of

the warrant was based, the officers could not have

known precisely where and in what form

documentation of this scheme existed. For

example, according to the statements of one

informant, the checks used to make payments to

delinquent borrowers' accounts were returned to

Logan-Laws and stored ‘with other records ... in

the second floor storage area,' which also housed

all of the 'records dating to the beginning of the

Logan-Laws Corporation.' These records also

included, amidst mountains of paperwork,

evidence, in unknown forms, of fraudulent loan

payments and filings with FHA and GNMA.

Hence, naming the general class of items, such as

all documents relating to the HUD, FHA, and

GNMaA transactions and loan payments, was as

specific as possible, and thus reasonable under the

circumstances.

App. 22

J.A. at 184 (internal citation omitted). Thus, the district court held

that the warrant sufficiently stated the items to be seized, even

though it effectively encompassed the bulk of the company's

records. J.A. at 184.

Appellants contend that the district court should have

declared the search warrant invalid because the description of the

property did not meet the constitutional standards of particularity.

They argue that the warrant was general in nature and, therefore,

allowed for a general rummaging search. Furthermore, Appellants

contend that the law enforcement officials seeking the warrant had

specific information with which they could have limited the search

to a significant degree but which they chose not to include in the

warrant. Based upon these alleged deficiencies, Appellants state

that the district court erred in denying their motions to suppress.

We review a district court's factual findings regarding

motions to suppress for clear error and its legal conclusions de

novo. See United States v. Blair, 214 F.3d 690, 696 (6th Cir.2000).

In doing so, we extend great deference to a previous finding of

probable cause for the issuance of the search warrant. See id.

Thus, it is this Court's task to determine whether, in light of the

totality of the circumstances, the judge issuing the warrant had a

substantial basis for concluding that a search of the specified

premises would uncover evidence of wrongdoing. See id.

The Fourth Amendment to the United States Constitution

requires a warrant to "particularly describ[e] the place to be

searched, and the persons or things to be seized." U.S. Const.

amend. IV. The purpose of this particularity requirement is to

prevent the use of general warrants authorizing wide-ranging

rummaging searches in violation of the Constitution's proscription

against unreasonable searches and seizures. See Andresen v.

App. 23

Maryland, 427 U.S. 463, 480, 96 S.Ct. 2737, 49 L.Ed.2d 627

(1976); United States v. Schultz, 14 F.3d 1093, 1098 (6th

Cir.1994); see also United States v. Blakeney, 942 F.2d 1001,

1026 (6th Cir.1991) (recognizing that the warrant must enable a

searcher to reasonably ascertain and identify the things which are

authorized to be seized). This Court has recognized that the issue

of whether a warrant is general, or lacks the requisite particularity,

is best resolved upon examination of the circumstances of the

particular case. See White Fabricating Co. v.. United States, 903

F.2d 404, 411 (6th Cir.1990); see also Blair, 214 F.3d at 697

(stating that "the degree of specificity in a warrant must be

flexible, depending upon the type of items to be seized and the

crime involved"); United States v. Henson, 848 F.2d 1374, 1383

(6th Cir.1988) (finding that the particularity required depends on

the items sought and the specific circumstances in the case). A

description contained in a warrant is sufficiently particular if it is

as specific as the circumstances and the nature of the alleged crime

“permit. Blair, 214 F.3d at 697. In addition, once a category of

documents has been adequately described in the warrant, in part by

an illustrative list of items to be seized, the Fourth Amendment is

not violated when officers executing the warrant exercise minimal

judgment as to whether a particular document falls within the

described category. See id.

In this case, we find that the lower court correctly

determined that the search warrant satisfies the particularity

requirement. The search warrant at issue authorizes the seizure of

items specifically related to false or fraudulent activity taking

place within the context of the HUD/FHA co-insured loans and the

GNMA mortgage-backed securities. In particular, items such as

records, files, documents, notes, correspondence, microfiche, or

App. 24

computerized entries concerning HUD/FHA, GNMA,

manufactured home dealers, borrowers both past and present,

payment history and current loan status of borrowers, loan

applications, and copies of submissions to FHA, GNMA, and

HUD, FHA insurance claims, and other claims records could

logically lead to evidence that Appellants were involved in the

suspected illegal activity. Appellants’ argument concerning the

particularity requirement is based upon their position that

investigating officers dug too deeply into the overall business of

LLFC, instead of focusing on one portion of the operation that was

alleged to have involved illegal practices. Appellants miss the

point.

From the face of the search warrant and accompanying

affidavit, it is clear that the warrant's general nature was due to the

investigators’ belief that granting HUD/FHA co-insured loans and

GNMA mortgage-backed securities constituted LLFC's entire

operation. That being the case, law enforcement officials were

necessarily involved in an examination of an extensive paper trail

in order to discover which transactions may have been illegal in

nature. Keeping in mind that the particularity requirement is

determined relative to the specific circumstances in each case, we

find that the items sought in light of the illegal activity alleged

were appropriate. The warrant specified that the items sought were

those related to HUD/FHA lending and GNMA securities and, as

such, did not violate the particularity requirement of the Fourth

Amendment.

Furthermore, even if we were to find that the warrant

lacked sufficient particularity under the Fourth Amendment, the

district court would still have been correct in denying the motions

to suppress under the good faith exception to the exclusionary rule

App. 25

outlined in United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897, 918-21, 104 S.Ct.

3405 (1984). See Schultz, 14 F.3d at 1098. The good faith

exception to the exclusionary rule states that the fruits of a

constitutionally infirm search need not necessarily be suppressed

unless: (1) the warrant contained a knowing or reckless falsehood;

(2) the issuing judge acted as a mere "rubber stamp" for the police;

or (3) the warrant and the affidavit, even after extending

appropriate deference to the issuing judge's determination, did not

establish probable cause or possessed a technical deficiency such

that the executing officers cannot reasonably assume the warrant

to be valid. Leon, 468 U.S. at 922-23, 104 S.Ct. 3405.

In the instant matter, there exists no evidence that Special

Agent Johnson gave a knowingly false affidavit or otherwise acted

in bad faith upon seeking the search warrant. The warrant was

issued by a proper authority, namely United States District Judge

Thomas G. Hull. Furthermore, the record is devoid of any evidence

that Judge Hull abandoned his neutral role when he issued the

warrant. Finally, we cannot say that this warrant was "so lacking

in indicia of probable cause as to render official belief in its

existence entirely unreasonable." Schultz, 14 F.3d at 1098. This

being the case, the officers' good faith reliance on the warrant in

executing the search was, indeed, reasonable. Therefore, under

either scenario, the evidence obtained from the search warrant at

issue properly survived Appellants’ motions to suppress.

2. Admission of the Settlement Agreement

Over Appellants' objections at trial, the district court

admitted into evidence: (1) a 1991 review by HUD's monitoring

division; (2) the resulting action by HUD's mortgagee review

ve CFOS ESP aS ee ee ee ee ee te gee eee

et a

ste BP eet

App. 26

board; (3) LLFC's July 1991 response to the mortgagee review

board; and (4) the settlement agreement and letter of reprimand

disposing of the administrative action. Appellants contend that the

district court erred in admitting this evidence. In particular,

Appellants argue that the admission of the settlement agreement

was in violation of Federal Rules of Evidence ("Rules") 408,

404(b) and 403. The government asserts that the evidence was

relevant, material, and admissible to demonstrate that Appellants

were on notice of improprieties in their loan origination process

and to explain one reason why Appellants were falsifying loan

insurance claims.

We review the district court's admission of testimony or

other evidence at trial for an abuse of discretion. See United States

v. Talley, 164 F.3d 989, 998 (6th Cir.1999). An abuse of

discretion exists only if this Court is firmly convinced that the

district court has made a mistake. See United States v. Wiedyk, 71

F.3d 602, 608 (6th Cir.1995). This Court first considers

Appellants’ argument that the evidence in question was admitted

in violation of Rule 408.

Rule 408 provides:

Rule 408. Compromise and Offers to Compromise

Evidence of (1) furnishing or offering or promising to

furnish, or (2) accepting or offering or promising to

accept, a valuable consideration in compromising or

attempting to compromise a claim which was disputed

as to either validity or amount, is not admissible to

prove liability for or invalidity of the claim or its

amount. Evidence of conduct or statements made in

compromise negotiations is likewise not admissible.

App. 27

This rule does not require the exclusion of any

evidence otherwise discoverable merely because it is

presented in the course of compromise negotiations.

This rule also does not require exclusion when the

evidence is offered for another purpose, such as

proving bias or prejudice of a witness, negativing a

contention of undue delay, or proving an effort to

obstruct a criminal investigation or prosecution.

Fed.R.Evid. 408. The issue of whether Rule 408 serves to prohibit

admission of administrative or civil settlement negotiations in a

criminal context is one of first impression in this Circuit.

In ruling on motions for judgment of acquittal or, in the

alternative, for a new trial, the district court held, without citation,

that "Rule 408, which excludes evidence of compromise and

settlements in a civil context, does not foreclose the use of this

type of evidence in a criminal case." J.A. at 363. Several circuits,

including the Second and Seventh Circuits, have confronted the

question of whether Rule 408 applies to evidence of a settlement

agreement sought to be admitted in a criminal matter. In each

instance, the court held that Rule 408 is inapplicable to criminal

cases.

The Second Circuit reached the conclusion that Rule 408

does not apply to criminal cases by looking to the plain language

of the Rule. See United States v. Baker, 926 F.2d 179, 180 (2d

Cir.1991) (finding it "fairly evident that the Rule applies only to

civil litigation"). In reviewing the plain language, the court held

that words such as "validity" and "claim" establish that the drafters

of the Rule intended for it to apply solely in a civil context. See id.

Furthermore, the Second Circuit has held that the primary policy

ee

a

Ee eel eee

App. 28

consideration that underlies the purpose of Rule 408, which is to

encourage the settlement of civil cases, does not apply to criminal

prosecutions. See Manko v. United States, 87 F.3d 50, 54 (2d

Cir.1996); United States v. Gonzalez, 748 F.2d 74, 78 (2d

Cir.1984); see also United States v. Peed, 714 F.2d 7, 10 (4th

Cir.1983) (holding that Rule 408 was inapplicable in the context

of a criminal case because the negotiations at issue "were not

negotiations aimed at settling a civil claim, negotiations that the

policy behind Rule 408 seeks to encourage").

Similarly, the Seventh Circuit held that the plain language of

Rule 408 reflects that it applies only to civil cases, "specifically the

language concerning validity and amount of a claim." United

States v. Prewitt, 34 F.3d 436, 439 (7th Cir.1994). In addition, the

court recognized that nothing in Rule 408 particularly

circumscribes the use of evidence of settlement negotiations with

a private party in the context of a criminal case. See id. Finding

that the public interest in the prosecution of crime is greater than

the public interest-in the settlement of civil disputes, the court

made clear that the law in the Seventh Circuit provides that Rule

408 should not be applied to criminal cases. See id.

We find that the cases that exist in the Second and Seventh

Circuits are correct in concluding that the plain language of Rule

408 makes it inapplicable in the criminal context. Although this

conclusion arguably may have a chilling effect on administrative

or civil settlement negotiations in cases where parallel civil and

criminal proceedings are possible, we find that this risk is heavily

outweighed by the public interest in prosecuting criminal matters.

Based upon the foregoing, we conclude, as have the Second and

Seventh Circuits, that Rule 408 does not serve to prohibit the use

of evidence from settlement negotiations in a criminal case.

App. 29

Next, we turn to Appellanis' argument that the 1991 review by

HUD's monitoring division, the resulting action by HUD's

mortgagee review board, LLFC's July 1991 response to the

mortgagee review board, and the settlement agreement and letter

of reprimand. disposing of the administrative action were

inadmissible pursuant to Rule 404(b). That Rule provides, in

pertinent part:

Rule 404. Character Evidence Not Admissible to

Prove Conduct; Exceptions; Other Crimes

(b) Other crimes, wrongs, or acts. Evidence of

other crimes, wrongs, or acts is not admissible to

prove the character of a person in order to show

action in conformity therewith. It may, however,

be admissible for other purposes, such as proof of

motive, opportunity, intent, preparation, plan,

knowledge, identity, or absence of mistake or

accident, provided that upon request by the

accused, the prosecution in a criminal case shall

provide reasonable notice in advance of trial, or

during trial if the court excuses pretrial notice on

good cause shown, of the general nature of any

such evidence it intends to introduce at trial.

Fed.R.Evid. 404(b). On appeal, Appellee contends that these

documents were properly admitted to prove knowledge and intent

to defraud.

In United States v. Gold Unlimited, Inc., 177 F.3d 472,

488 (6th Cir.1999), this Court set out a three-part test for the

admission of evidence under Rule 404(b). In that case, we stated:

Lier erbead i ote ¥

App. 30

This court requires a district court to make three

findings before the district court admits evidence

under Federal Rule of Evidence 404(b). The

district court must find that the prior bad acts

occurred (a finding reviewed for clear error); that

the evidence helps prove a material issue (a

finding reviewed de novo); and that the evidence

passes the balancing test of Rule 403 (a finding

reviewed for abuse of discretion).

Id. (citing United States v. Jobson, 102 F.3d 214, 220 (6th

Cir.1996)). Appellants do not contest the first or second elements,

implicitly admitting that the bad acts transpired and that the

evidence helps to prove a material issue. Instead, Appellants direct

their argument to the third element, claiming that the probative

value of the evidence was substantially outweighed by the danger

of unfair prejudice, confusion of the issues, and misleading the

jury under Rule 403.

Rule 403 states the following:

Rule 403. Exclusion of Relevant Evidence on

Grounds of Prejudice, Confusion, or Waste of

Time

Although relevant, evidence may be excluded if its

probative value is substantially outweighed by the danger of unfair

prejudice, confusion of the issues, or misleading the jury, or by

considerations of undue delay, waste of time, or needless

presentation of cumulative evidence.

Fed.R.Evid. 403. In reviewing Rule 403 challenges to the

district court's decision to admit certain evidence, we view the

App. 31

evidence in the light most favorable to the prosecution. See United

States v. Sanders, 95 F.3d 449 (6th Cir.1996). As such, we

maximize the probative value of the evidence and minimize its

potential prejudice to the defendant. See id. The prejudice noted

by the court is only the unfair prejudice against the defendant

caused by the admission of the evidence. See id. Accordingly,

"[e]vidence that is prejudicial only in the sense that it paints the

defendant in a bad light is not unfairly prejudicial pursuant to Rule

403." Id. at 453 (citing United States v. Mullins, 22 F.3d 1365,

1373 (6th Cir.1994)). Based upon these standards, the trial court

has broad discretion in deciding whether to admit evidence

‘pursuant to Rule 404(b). See Talley, 164 F.3d at 999.

In this case, the Court finds that the district court did not

abuse its discretion in admitting a 1991 review by HUD's

monitoring division, the resulting action by HUD's mortgagee

review board, LLFC's July 1991 response to the mortgagee review

board, and the settlement agreement and letter of reprimand

disposing of the administrative action. Viewing the evidence in

the light most favorable to the prosecution, the evidence at issue

was properly admitted to demonstrate Appellants' knowledge,

motive, and intent. Although some prejudice may have arisen due

to the admission of this evidence, the prejudice does not amount to

the type of unfair prejudice contemplated by Rule 403. Based

upon the foregoing, we find that the trial court acted within its

broad discretion in admitting the evidence pursuant to Rule 404(b)

and that Appellants’ argument in this regard is without merit.

App. 32

3. Admission of Income Evidence

Similarly, Appellants contend that the district court erred

in permitting Appellee to inquire about the amount of their income

from LLFC and related corporations. The evidence in question

reflected a gross income of over $700,000 for each Appellant.

Appellants argue that the admission of this income evidence was

unfairly prejudicial, lacked any probative value of any element of

the crime charged by the government, and was in violation of Rule

403.

In maximizing the probative value of this evidence and

minimizing its prejudicial effect, we find that the income evidence

was relevant to demonstrate that financial gain was the motive tor

the crimes charged. See, e.g., Pointer v. United States, 151 U.S.

396, 414, 14 S.Ct. 410, 38 L.Ed. 208 (1894) (proof of motive

always welcome). Stated another way, Appellants’ substantial

income was necessarily dependent upon GNMA's continuation of

LLFC's loan commitment authority. In the event that GNMA

became aware of the actual number of LLFC's loan delinquencies,

the result would have had a profound financial effect on

Appellants, LLFC's sole shareholders, in that they would cease to

gain profits from the issuance of the mortgage-backed securities.

In this way, the income evidence had a significant probative value

because it demonstrated what Appellants stood to lose if they

properly reported the actual loan delinquencies. For this reason,

the trial court properly exercised its broad discretion in admitting

this evidence.

App. 33

C. Post-Trial Rulings

Next, Appellants challenge various post-trial rulings made

in the court below. The first four of these challenges relate to the

district court's decisions in fashioning appropriate sentences under

the Guidelines. More specifically, Appellants challenge the

district court's determination of the amount of loss attributable to

them, its denial of a motion for downward departure made by

Appellant Laws, its application of an obstruction of justice

enhancement, and its computation of Appellant Laws's criminal

history category. The final challenge involves the district court's

ruling concerning an investigation into alleged jury misconduct at

trial. Prior to addressing these particular issues, we briefly

reiterate the district court's general determinations at sentencing.

At the sentencing hearing, the district court allowed

testimony and other evidence concerning Appellants’ objections to

the presentence investigation reports. Upon conclusion of such

evidence and argument related to the same, the district court

sentenced each Appellant to a term of eighty-seven months of

imprisonment, to be followed by a three-year term of supervised

release. The court further ordered that Appellants make restitution

to the victims in this case, namely HUD/FHA and GNMA, in the

amount of one million dollars. Appellants now appeal their

sentences to this Court.

1. Amount of Loss

Appellants first contend that the district court erred in

calculating the amount of loss attributable to them at sentencing.

The district court's definition of loss is a question of law to be

App. 34

reviewed de novo. See United States v. Kohlbach, 38 F.3d 832,

841 (6th Cir.1994). We review the district court's factual findings

with respect to loss under the clearly erroneous standard. See id.

To the extent that one challenges the district court's calculation of

loss, therefore, the appellant bears the heavy burden of persuading

the reviewing court that "the evaluation of the loss was not only

inaccurate, but was outside the realm of permissible

computations." United States v. Jackson, 25 F.3d 327, 330 (6th

Cir.1994).

In this case, the district court computed the amount of loss

under § 2F1.1 of the Sentencing Guidelines. Section 2F1.1 of the

Guidelines governs the calculation of loss for offenses involving

fraud or deceit. That section begins by assigning a base offense

level of six, and then increasing the base offense level by the

amount of loss. In the instant case, the district court computed the

amount of loss using three figures. First, the district court

determined the amount of loss to HUD/FHA incurred due to the

false claims convictions. Next, the district court inquired as to the

amount of loss calculated in light of the conspiracy conviction.

Last, the district court included the amount of loss incurred by

GNMaA. The district court added these three figures to arrive at a

total loss of at least $9,271,400 for. purposes of sentencing.

Section 2F1.1(b) provides that if the loss was more than

$5,000,000 but less than $10,000,000, then the district court shall

increase the base offense level of six by fourteen levels, resulting

in an offense level of twenty. U.S.S.G. § 2F1.1(a) and (b)(1)(O).

Accordingly, the district court increased Appellants' offense levels

to twenty. ‘Ve now consider Appellants' argument that the district

court's computation of loss and corresponding increase in the

offense levels was in error.

ee

App. 35

a. Amount of Loss for False Claims Convictions

In examining the amount of actual or intended loss caused

by Appellants’ false claims, the district court first noted the

presentence investigation reports’ ("PSRs' ") calculation of

$750,000 in actual or intended losses to HUD/FHA. J A. at 384-

85. The court adopted the PSRs' calculation in this regard, based

in part on the undisputed fact that HUD/FHA paid a total of

$709,876.42 in actual loss on 69 of the 74 false claims. J.A. at

385. With respect to three of the false claims upon which

HUD/FHA denied payment, the district court found that because

the average claim payment was approximately $10,000, those

claims represented an additional $40,000 in intended losses to

HUD/FHA. J.A. at 385 (citing United States v. Moored, 38 F.3d

1419, 1427 (6th Cir.1994) (" '[L]oss' under § 2F1.1 is not the

potential loss, but is the actual loss to the victim, or the intended

loss to the victim, whichever is greater.")) Adding the

$709,876.42 in actual loss to $40,000 in intended loss, the district

court arrived at $749,876.42 as the total amount of loss to

HUD/FHA. J.A. at 385.

Appellants contest the computation of the false claims

figure by arguing, inter alia, that it fails to include any set-offs for

amounts collected on the defaulted loans, the inclusion of monies

paid by LLFC in annualized amounts for each loan to cover losses,

or the value of the note for each loan assigned to the government

in exchange for payment of the claim. Such an argument,

however, is insufficient to demonstrate that the evaluation of the

loss fell outside the realm of permissible computations under the

Guidelines. The commentary to § 2F1.1 provides:

App. 36

For the purposes of subsection (b)(1), the loss

need not be determined with precision. The court

need only make a reasonable estimate of the loss,

given the available information. This estimate,

for example, may be based on the approximate

number of victims and an estimate of the average

loss to each victim, or on more general factors,

such as the nature and duration of the fraud and

the revenues generated by similar operations....

Id. at cmt. n. 9. Furthermore, the commentary addresses the

circumstances presented in fraudulent loan application cases and

: contract procurement cases in note 8(b), which states:

In fraudulent loan application cases and contract

procurement cases, the loss is the actual loss to

Ba ek hal Sena te .

the victim (or if the loss has not yet come about,

the expected loss). For example, if a defendant

fraudulently obtains a loan by misrepresenting the

RR eT ee es

value of his assets, the loss is the amount of the

loan not repatd at the time the offense is

discovered, reduced by the amount the lending

institution has recovered (or can expect to

recover) from any assets pledged to secure the

loan. However, where the intended loss is greater

than the actual loss, the intended loss is to be

used.

/d. at cmt n. 8. According to these passages, the district court was

not required to make the precise determination of loss caused by

Appellants, set- off by amounts recovered on the defaulted loans.

App. 37

To the contrary, the application notes specifically delineate that in

circumstances where the intended loss is greater than the actual

loss incurred, the district court shall use the intended loss in

calculating the proper offense level under the Guidelines.

The relevant case law also supports the use of intended

loss under § 2F1.1, explaining that the figure is designed to assign

responsibility forthe harm that was meant to take place, regardless

of whether the harm did, in fact, occur. See Moored, 38 F.3d at

1425. That is, so long as the intended loss is supported by a

preponderance of the evidence, the district court may use it in

reaching the appropriate offense level. See id. at 1427-28. In this

instance, the district court found that there was evidence in the

record sufficient to support a finding that Appellants caused a loss

of $749,876.42 to HUD/FHA. J.A. at 385. Upon a review of §

2 |.1. its accompanying commentary, and the relevant case law as

applied to the facts in the record in this case, we find that the court

below properly calculated the amount of loss for false claims

submitted to HUD/FHA.

b. Amount of Loss for Conspiracy Convictions

Moreover, because Appellants were found guilty of

conspiracy to submit false claims, the district court found that §

1131.3 of the Guidelines required that all false claims submitted by

co-conspirators, even those claims not charged in the Indictment,

be included within the relevant conduct for purposes of fashioning

the appropriate sentence. At trial, Mr. Gibson testified that there

\were 335 additional claims submitted to HUD/FHA that contained

materially false documents, in addition to those with which

Appellants were charged. J.A. at 385, 2233-35. The amount

es

Pe

ath haiSerait air teinilal

App. 38

HUDALIA paid on these additional false claims was

$3,326,663.75. J.A. at 385. Based upon this testimony, the district

court determined that the total loss for all false claims was

$4 ,076,540.17.

Appellants contest the district court's findings»with respect

to the loss arising out of the conspiracy convictions: Generally,

Appellants argue that the relevant conduct should not have

included these additional false claims because the government

failed to establish that these 335 loan files actually contained any

materially false documents. Accordingly, Appellants ask this

Court to reverse the district court's finding concerning the relevant

conduct for purposes of sentencing.

Section 1B1.3(a)(1)(A) of the Guidelines explains that

fraudulent claims that are submitted and paid, but not part of the

counts of conviction, shall be included in the sentencing

calculation as relevant conduct. This provision instructs that the

offense level be determined based upon "all acts and omissions

committed, aided, abetted, counseled, commanded, induced,

procured, or willfully caused by the defendant; ... that occurred

during the commission of the offense of conviction, in preparation

for that offense, or in the course of attempting to avoid detection

or responsibility for that offense." U,S.S.G. § 1B1.3(a)(1)(A).

Here, Appellants were found guilty on the charge of conspiracy to

defraud the United States. The additional false claims were

identified at trial by Mr. Gibson. The record further reflects that,

upon examination by HUD investigators, the files in question did

contain false claims. As such, these claims constitute additional

criminal wrongdoing, not specifically charged in the Indictment,

that is properly taken into consideration when formulating the

relevant conduct for sentencing. Based upon the information in the

App. 39

record, we find Appellants’ argument concerning the relevant

conduct to be without merit.

c. Amount of Loss to GNMA

Finally, the trial court considered the amount of loss to

GNMaA which, without knowledge of LLFC's actual loan

delinquency rates, extended additional loan pool commitment

authority to LLFC. The district court explained that Appellants’

misrepresentations resulted in an increased amount of loans and

securities, of which 522 loans defaulted. J.A. at 387. The

record reflects that these defaulted loans resulted in a loss of

$5,194,860 to GNMA. J.A. at 387. Adding the loss incurred by

GNMaA to the loss incurred by HUD/FHA, the district court

found that the PSRs correctly determined the amount of loss to

be at least $9,271,400. J.A. at 388.

The general rule in determining loss requires the court

to examine the causal connection between the criminal conduct

and the alleged loss, and whether it was reasonably foreseeable

to the defendants that the loss would occur. Cf United States v.

Krenning, 93 F.3d 1257, 1269 (Sth Cir.1996) (stating that the

amount of loss must bear a reasonable relation to the actual or

intended harm of the offense). In this regard, the district court

observed that:

{LLFC] had a high delinquency rate in its loan

portfolio due to the high number of

falsifications in the documents, which

falsifications were the direct result of

defendants’ knowing and willful actions. Loans

were therefore made to individuals who were

App. 40

poor credit risks. The government has

established by a preponderance of the evidence

that [LLFC] manipulated the delinquency rate

information in order to conceal its true

delinquency rate from GNMA authorities. In

: other words, "but for" the criminal action by

; these defendants, the additional loans would not

have been issued by [LLFC] and underwritten

by GNMA. It was foreseeable to these

defendants that a high number of loans would

default because [LLFC] had been previously

warned by GNMA that the default/delinquency

rate was not currently at an acceptable level.

; J.A. at 387-88 (footnote omitted). Upon a thorough

review of the evidence presented at trial, in addition to the law

and argument set forth by the parties on this issue, we find that

the district court properly concluded that it was reasonably

foreseeable that the loss in question would be incurred by

GNMaA as a direct result of Appellants' conduct. For this

reason, we affirm the district court's ruling that the loss incurred

by GNMA was in the amount of $5,194,860. Furthermore, the

district court correctly added this loss to that incurred by

HUD/FHA, finding that the total loss was at least $9,271,400.

Based upon our determination that the district court made

proper findings concerning: (1) the amount of loss to HUD/FHA

incurred due to the false claims convictions; (2) the amount of loss

under the relevant conduct figure calculated in light of the

conspiracy convictions; and (3) the amount of loss incurred by

GNMA, we conclude that the district court properly applied §

App. 41

2F1.1(b), which required it to increase Appellants’ base offense

level of six by fourteen levels, resulting in a level twenty.

U.S.S.G. § 2F1.1(a) and (b)(1)(O). As such, we find Appellants’

argument concerning the district court's computation of loss and

corresponding increase in the offense level to be without merit.

The district court's computation of loss in this case is, therefore,

affirmed.

2. Downward Departure

Next, we consider Appellant Laws' argument that the

district court improperly refused to depart downward from its

sentencing computation under the Guidelines. The record reflects

that counsel for Appellant Laws filed a written motion in the

district court just one day prior to the sentencing hearing, in which

che requested a downward departure from the Guidelines pursuant

to § 5K2.0. J.A. at 391-92. While recognizing its authority to

make such a departure, the district court, nevertheless, found that

the grounds set forth in the motion and supporting memorandum

did not warrant the requested departure. J.A. at 392. On this basis,

the district court denied the motion. J.A. at 392. Appellant Laws

now objects to the district court's failure to grant him a downward

departure pursuant to § 5K2.0 of the Guidelines.

Section 5K2.0 states, in pertinent part:

the sentencing court may impose a sentence

outside the range established by the applicable

guidelines, if the court finds that there exists an

aggravating or mitigating circumstance of a kind,

or to a degree, not adequately taken into

App. 42

consideration by the Sentencing Commission in

formulating the guidelines that should result in a

sentence different from that described.

U.S.S.G. § 5K2.0 (internal quotations omitted). Appellant Laws

argues that he was entitled to a departure pursuant to this provision

because there are at least two features of his conduct that take this

case outside of the heartland of comparable fraud cases. First,

Appellant Laws argues that he lacked the intent to steal money

from the United States. Second, he argues that the VOE and VOD

forms were not even necessary, as the loan files already contained

adequate verification of employment and adequate verification of

deposit upon which HUD/FHA could and would have relied to pay

the majority of the claims. As to the latter argument, Appellant

Laws states that while he was found by a jury to have technically

violated the law, his intention was not to defraud the government

but rather to ensure prompt payment on the claims to which it was

rightfully entitled payment.

The refusal of a district judge to make a downward

departure is not ordinarily appealable. See United States v. Byrd,

53 F.3d 144, 145 (6th Cir.1995). In United States v. Davis, 919

F.2d 1181, 1187 (6th Cir.1990), we held:

Where, as here, the guideline range was properly

computed, the district court was not unaware of its

discretion to depart from the guideline range, and

the sentence was not imposed in violation of law

or as a result of an incorrect application of the

guidelines, the failure to depart is not cognizable -

on appeal under 18 U.S.C. § 3742(a).

App. 43

In the instant case, Appellant Laws does not make any

effort to avoid this rule, which prevents him from making the

argument concerning the downward departure in this Court.

Furthermore, the district judge went beyond this Circuit's

requirements in ruling on the motion, by stating affirmatively that

he was aware that he possessed the power to make a downward

departure but declined to do so. Cf Byrd, 53 F.3d at 145

(explaining that the trial judge does not have a duty to state

affirmatively that he knows that he possesses the power to make a

downward departure, but declines to do so). For these reasons, we

affirm the district court's ruling.

3. Obstruction of Justice Enhancement

We now turn to Appellants' argument that the district court

erred when it enhanced their sentences for obstruction of justice.

Section 3C1.1 of the Guidelines states that:

If ... the defendant willfully obstructed or

impeded, or attempted to obstruct or impede, the

administration of justice during the course of the

investigation, prosecution, or sentencing of the

instant offense, ... increase the offense level by 2

levels.

U.S.S.G. § 3C1.1. One type of obstructive conduct specifically

mentioned in the Guidelines is perjury. See id. at cmt. n. 4(b). We

employ a clearly erroneous standard in reviewing a district court's

factual determination that a defendant's conduct warrants an

obstruction of justice enhancement. See United States v. Walker,

119 F.3d 403, 405 (6th Cir.1997).

App. 44

In the instant case, the court below determined that

Appellants falsely testified under oath about a material matter

-when they denied any knowledge concerning the admission of

false and fraudulent claims. J.A. at 389. In particular, in a

memorandum and order issued on October 7, 1999, nunc pro tunc

August 6, 1999, the district court pointed to the following

testimony made by Appellant Logan:

Q. ... Mr. Logan, at any time, at any time, did you ever

direct any employee of [LLFC] to make any false entries

in any claims?

A. No, sir, never.

* * *

Q. What about Mr. Jim Gibson? What knowledge did you

have before your business was closed that he was

submitting any false insurance claims to HUD or FHA?

A. I had no knowledge of him doing that.

J.A. at 389 (citing Doc. 360, attachment, pp. 27-28). The district

then turned to the following testimony made by Appellant Laws:

Q. ... Did you or not ever [sic] knowingly or willfully

make or cause anyone else to make any false claims to

HUD?

A. No, I didn't.

* * *

Q. Did she [Iva Jean Lewis] ever indicate to you that she

was forging any documents?

App. 45

A. No, she didn't not--

Q. Did she ever indicate to you she needed to forge any

documents to get the claims filed?

A. No, she did not.

* * *

Q. Did you ever tell anybody to falsify any documents?

A. I never told Jim Gibson or Iva Lewis or anybody else

in our office to falsify any documents whatsoever.

J.A. at 389-90. Contrary to this testimony made-by Appellants,

however, the district court noted that, at trial, witnesses Gibson and

Lewis swore under oath that Appellants Logan and Laws directed

them to falsify documents for the submission of loan insurance

claims. J.A. at 390.

In addition, the district court stated the following with

respect to the evidence in the form of testimony made by various

LLFC employees:

Ms. Lewis pointed to specific entries in her

contemporaneous notes in which she

detailed Mr. Laws' directions to [falsify

documents]. Likewise, Jacquelyn

Matheson testified that she was directed by

Mr. Laws to complete missing forms for

use in FHA claims. Similarly, Leisa

Tadlock Campbell testified that she and

other employees were personally directed

by ... defendants [Logan and Laws] to

falsify documents for use in FHA loan

insurance claims. Finally, Sarah Mays, a

;

App. 46

co-defendant, testified that it was common

knowledge throughout [LLFC] that Mr.

Gibson was using false documents in FHA

claims and that she too had been asked to

create false documents.

J.A. at 390-91. Considering the record as a whole, the district

court found that, based upon its own assessment of the evidence

presented at trial, Appellants committed perjury by giving

untruthful testimony on material matters designed to substantially

affect the outcome of the case. J.A. at 391. Thus, the district court

applied the two-level enhancement to Appellants' Guideline

calculation. J.A. at 391. In doing so, the district court was careful

to note that it made the finding of obstruction of justice

independent of the jury's verdict of guilty. Jd. Therefore, the

‘district court made its own independent determination that

Appellants engaged in obstructive conduct which warranted an

application of the enhancement.

Appellants' main argument on appeal is that the district

court's memorandum and order making the findings required by §

3C1.1 is without effect because it was issued after Appellants filed

a timely notice of appeal and was not timely served on Appellants’

counsel. Even assuming that Appellants’ position properly reflects

the relevant procedural history, we find any error by the district

court committed in this regard to be harmless in nature. The

information upon which the district court ultimately based its

decision to apply the two-level enhancement is clearly set forth in

the PSRs, which state:

App. 47

The [defendants rely] on U.S. v. Spears, 49 F 3d

1136 (6th Cir.1995), in stating that the adjustment

for obstruction of justice is inappropriate when

the defendant testifies and the court relies on the

jury's verdict of guilt in applying the

enhancement. This is true to the extent that the

court cannot rely simply on the verdict of guilt to

support the enhancement. The court must make

findings of specific instances of the defendant's

testimony, which was directly contradicted by the

testimony of other witnesses. The United States

has a transcript of various witnesses at the trial,

listing specific examples for the court of direct

contradictions to the [defendants'] perjured

testimony. This transcript will be provided at the

sentencing hearing for the court's use in

determining specific examples of perjured

testimony. Once this testimony ts identified, the

enhancement meets the standard set forth in

Spears.

In the presentence report, the [defendants'] perjured

testimony has been used as the basis of the obstruction of justice

enhancement. While the probation officer feels that this alone is

sufficient to warrant the two-level increase, it should also be noted

that the [defendants] ... transferred over 1.5 million dollars in

assets from [LLFC] to John H. Laws, defendant Alan Michael

Laws’ father, and Elizabeth Logan, wife of co-defendant John

- Logan. These transactions occurred after the FBI search and

seizure of records trom [LLFC], and the defendants were aware

App. 48

they were under investigation for the instant offense. Details of

these transactions are outlined in the financial section of the

presentence report. The transfer of these assets represent[s] an

obstruction of justice, in that it impedes the administration in the

collection of restitution. The enhancement for the transfer of

assets is supported by U.S. v. Black, 78 F.3d 1 (1st Cir.1996).

J.A. at 2319, 2381. Appellants' argument on appeal is tantamount

to an assertion of lack of notice with respect to the district court's

findings in support of the obstruction of justice enhancement. We

find this argument to be without merit for several reasons.

At sentencing, the district court adopted the factual

findings as suggested by the probation officer in the PSRs and

thereby made Appellants aware of the basis for its application of

the two-level enhancement, overruling Appellants’ objections on

the record to the same. Furthermore, the record at the time of

sentencing was replete with examples of the obstructive conduct,

including a detailed explanation of the perjury and the transfer of

assets outlined in a brief submitted by the government. J.A. at

2405-13. At the time of sentencing, the district court had before

it the information in the PSRs, the government's brief, and its own

observations of the trial made independent of the jury's verdict of

guilty. Based upon this record, the district court found that the

enhancement was proper, Moreover, the district court issued the

above outlined meiiorandum and order specifically addressing the

findings that gave rise to its application of the enhancement.

Although the memorandum and order would have been more

properly issued prior to Appellants’ filing the notice of appeal,

Appellants were adequately aware of the particular basis upon

which the trial judge made his decision.

App. 49

Here, the Court is not faced with a situation in which the

trial court altered the sentence or otherwise materially changed the

record after the notice of appeal had been filed. Rather, in this

case, the district judge merely supplemented the existing record

with findings that were consistent with his previous rulings. The

district court did not alter the punishment to the benefit or

detriment of Appellants, nor did it alter any aspect of the case

involved in the appeal. The memorandum and order served only

to expand more fully upon the findings that had already been made

in open court. Even if we were to find that the filing of the notice

of appeal divested the district court of jurisdiction to issue the

supplemental statement of reasons, being fully informed of the

allegations leading to the court's determination that they obstructed .

justice, any error on the part of the district court in this regard was

harmless and, thus, does not warrant reversal.

4. Criminal History Computation

We now consider the argument that the district court

incorrectly calculated Appellant Laws's criminal history category

under the Guidelines. More specifically, Appellant Laws states that

the district court incorrectly assessed one criminal history point for

a driving-under-the-influence ("DUI") conviction that took place

on April 7, 1987. Appellant Laws argues that because he was not

represented by counsel on this misdemeanor charge, and the

conviction resulted in a sentence of imprisonment, it should not

have been included in his criminal history computation.

In support of this position, Appellant Laws relies

principally upon Nichols v. United States, 511 U.S. 738, 114 S.Ct.

1921, 128 L.Ed.2d 745 (1994). He argues that Nichols indicates

App. 50

that a sentencing court may consider a defendant's previous

uncounseled misdemeanor conviction for DUI only if the previous

uncounseled misdemeanor did not result in a sentence of

imprisonment. Because a sentence of imprisonment was imposed

with respect to his 1987 conviction, Appellant Laws asserts that

this offense should not be included in calculating his criminal

history category. We find Laws's use of Nichols here to be

misplaced. :

The Nichols’ case established the rule that uncounseled

misdemeanor convictions are properly included when determining

a defendant's criminal history category only if the convictions did

not result in sentences of imprisonment. Id. at 746-47, 114 S.Ct.

1921. Despite Appellant Laws's arguments to the contrary,

however, the rule in Nichols is inapplicable to the instant case.

The record reflects that Appellant Laws knowingly and

intelligently waived his right to counsel in connection with the

1987 DUI conviction and, thus, it did not constitute an

"uncounseled" misdemeanor conviction as addressed in Nichols.

Furthermore, the fact that Appellant Laws was sentenced to a term

of imprisonment in connection with this conviction alone does not

preclude the district court from including the offense in the

criminal history computation. The knowing and intelligent waiver

of the Sixth Amendment privilege reflects that the district court

properly assessed one criminal history point for the 1987 DUI

conviction pursuant to § 4A1.1(c) of the Guidelines. For these

reasons, we find that the district court did not err in computing

Appellant Laws's criminal history category.

App. 51

5. Investigation of Alleged Jury Misconduct

Finally, Appellants contend that the district court erred in

denying a motion filed by Appellant Laws for permission to

communicate with jurors. In the motion, Appellant Laws stated

that "after the jurors in this case were released from further jury

service, counsel for Mr. Laws ... had a communication with a juror

in this case, but did not feel that further communication should be

had without permission of the Court." J.A. at 367. Out of a

purported aburdance of caution, therefore, Appellant Laws

requested permission to interrogate the jurors. J.A. at 367.

In considering the motion filed by Appellant Laws, the

district court first recognized the existence of Local Rule 48.1 for

the Eastern District of Tennessee, which governs post-verdict

communications with jurors. J.A. at 367. It provides that:

No attorney, party, or representative of either may

interrogate a juror after a verdict has been

returned or the trial has been otherwise concluded,

without prior permission of the court.

J.A. at 367 (quoting L.R. 48.1 (E.D.Tenn.)). The district court also

acknowledged that Rule 606(b) further circumscribes the practice

of post- verdict inquiries, by stating that jurors may testify only as

to whether extraneous prejudicial information was improperly

brought to their attention or whether any outside influence was

improperly brought to bear upon any juror. J.A. at 370. In light of

these standards, and in addition to the relevant case law, the district

court made the following determination:

In the instant case, [Appellant] Laws did not

allege any juror misconduct during the trial, and

App. 52

does not allege any now. The defendant's motion

and supporting brief provide no grounds upon

which post-verdict interrogation should be

granted, except to note that only by

communicating with the jurors could defendant's

counsel discover if there had been any external

influences on jurors. The same is true of every

case, however, and granting defendant's motion

on these grounds alone would potentially open up

any jury verdict to impeachment.

J.A. at 370-71. Finding that a grant of the motion would give rise

to an improper fishing expedition through which Appellant sought

to undermine the integrity of the jury verdict, the district court

denied the request for permission to interrogate the jurors. J.A. at

371.

In response to the district court's ruling, Appellant Laws

filed a motion to alter or amend the court's order denying

permission to interview the jurors. J.A. at 372. In this second

motion, counsel for Appellant Laws explained that during his

communication with a juror, he learned that the jury routinely

discussed evidence among themselves during the course of the

entire trial, thereby effectively deliberating prior to the close of the

evidence and prior to being advised of the appropriate jury

instructions. J.A. at 373. Based upon this allegation of jury

misconduct, Appellant Laws argued that he should be permitted to

investigate the situation, which may have given rise to a violation

of his Sixth and Fifth Amendment rights to a fair trial and an

impartial jury under the Constitution. J.A. at 373. Furthermore,

App. 53

counsel for Appellant Laws, Robert W. Ritchie, attached his sworn

affidavit in support of the motion.

Thereafter, Appellant Logan filed a "motion to adopt

defendant Law's [sic] pending motion to alter or amend [the] July

14, 1999 order denying permission to interview jurors." On July

19, 1999, the district judge denied Appellants’ motion to alter or

amend its prior ruling in a marginal entry order. Appellants now

raise this issue concerning the alleged jury misconduct before this

Court.

It is a well-established principle of law that trial judges are

afforded considerable discretion in determining the amount of

inquiry necessary, if any, in response to allegations of jury

misconduct. See United States v. Griffith, 17 F.3d 865, 880 (6th

Cir.1994); United States v. Franks, 511 F.2d 25 (6th Cir.1975).

We have thus recognized that because "the trial judge is in the best

position to determine the nature and extent of the alleged jury

misconduct, his decision on the scope of the proceedings necessary

to discover misconduct is reviewed only for an abuse of

discretion." See Griffith, 17 F.3d at 880 (quoting United States v.

Shackelford, 777 F.2d 1141, 1145 (6th Cir.1985)). In cases

involving a post- verdict investigation into alleged jury

misconduct, the relevant federal law concerning the impeachment

of jury verdicts is codified in Rule 606(b).

Rule 606(b) provides:

Upon an inquiry into the validity of a verdict or

indictment, a juror may not testify as to any

matter or statement occurring during the course of

the jury's deliberations or to the effect of anything

upon that or any other juror's mind or emotions as

App. 54

influencing the juror to assent to or dissent from

the verdict or indictment or concerning the juror's

mental processes in connection therewith, except

that a juror may testify on the question whether

extraneous prejudicial information was

improperly brought to the jury's attention or

whether any outside influence was improperly

brought to bear upon any juror. Nor may a juror's

affidavit or evidence of any statement by the juror

concerning a matter about which the juror would

be precluded from testifying be received for these

purposes.

Fed.R.Evid. 606(b). Accordingly, the Rule is designed to prohibit

testimony on matters that take place during deliberations, the effect

of anything on the juror's minds or emotions, and the mental

process of any juror. As provided in the language of the Rule,

exceptions are made only with respect to extraneous prejudicial

information improperly brought to the jury's attention and evidence

concerning an outside influence brought to bear upon any juror.

In Tanner v. United States, 483 U.S. 107, 116-34, 107 S.Ct. 2739,

97 L.Ed.2d 90 (1987), the Supreme Court provided a detailed

examination of Rule 606(b) in upholding the lower court's

exclusion of evidence offered by two jurors regarding the other

jurors’ alleged use of drugs and alcohol during the course of the

trial. In reaching the conclusion that the influence at issue was

internal in nature, rather than external in nature, and consequently

not properly a subject for questioning of the jurors pursuant to

Rule 606(b), the Supreme Court explained that public policy

considerations have long emphasized the necessity of shielding

App. 55

jury deliberations from public scrutiny. Id. at 119, 107 S.Ct. 2739.

in this regard, the Supreme Court referred to the 1915 decision of

McDonald v. Pless, 238 U.S. 264, 267-68, 35 S.Ct. 783, 59 L.Ed.

1300, which stated:

[L]et it once be established that verdicts solemnly

made and publicly returned into court can be

attacked and set aside on the testimony of those

who took part in their publication and all verdicts

could be, and many would be, followed by an

inquiry in the hope of discovering something

which might invalidate the finding. Jurors would

be harassed and beset by the defeated party in an

effort to secure from them evidence of facts which

might establish misconduct sufficient to set aside

a verdict. If evidence thus secured could be thus

used, the result would be to make what was

intended to be a private deliberation, the constant

subject of public investigation--to the destruction

of all frankness and freedom of discussion and

conference.

Id. at 119-20, 107 S.Ct. 2739 (citing Mattox v. United States, 146

U.S. 140, 13 S.Ct. 50, 36 L.Ed. 917 (1892)). Thus, the Supreme

Court recognized the various public policy considerations that

weigh in favor of protecting a jury's deliberations from intrusive

inquiry as to internal influences. Id. at 127.

Based upon the foregoing, it is clear that the very purpose

behind Rule 606(b) is to preserve one of the most basic and critical

precepts of the American justice system: the integrity of the jury.

See id. Rule 606(b) allows for a system in which jurors may

App. 56

engage in deliberations with the utmost candor, performing in an

uninhibited way the fact-finding duties with which they are

charged. See id. In this manner, the Rule provides jurors with an

inherent right to be free from interrogation concerning internal

influences on the decision-making process. See id. Such internal

influences have been held to include pressure of one juror on

another, see Smith v. Brewer, 444 F Supp. 482 (S.D.lowa 1978);

juror misunderstanding of court instructions, see United States v.

D'Angelo, 598 F.2d 1002 (Sth Cir.1979); a verdict achieved

through compromise, see United States v. Campbell, 684 F.2d 141

(D.C.Cir.1982); ~ juror misgivings about the verdict, see United

States v. Barber, 668 F.2d 778 (4th Cir.1982); and juror agreement

on a time limit for a decision, United States v. Badolato, 710 F.2d

1509 (11th Cir.1983). Accordingly, Rule 606(b) prevents the

unwarranted badgering of jurors that would invariably arise in its

absence in an alleged attempt to search for the "truth" as to the

manner in which each and every jury reaches a verdict. See

Tanner, 483 U.S. at 119-27, 107 S.Ct. 2739.

Moreover, Rule 606(b) does not exist ina vacuum. See id.

at 127, 107 S.Ct. 2739. To the contrary, the Rule exists as just one

portion of the overall justice system, which is likewise desi gned to

protect the constitutional rights of the defendant, including the

defendant's Sixth and Fifth Amendment rights to a fair trial and an

impartial jury under the Constitution. See id. In this regard, the

Supreme Court has stated, for example:

Petitioners' Sixth Amendment interests in an

unimpaired jury ... are protected by several

aspects of the trial process. The suitability of an

individual for the responsibility of jury service, of

course, is examined during voir dire. Moreover,

a

4

App. 57

during the trial the jury is observable by the court,

by counsel, and by court personnel. Moreover,

jurors are observable by each other, and may

report inappropriate juror behavior to the: court

before they render a verdict. Finally, after the

trial a party may seek to impeach the verdict by

nonjuror evidence of misconduct.

Id. (emphasis in original) (internal citations omitted). Thus, there

exist various sources of protection built into the legal system

which protect the defendant's constitutional rights throughout the

trial process. See id. Hence, the entire process, including Rule

606(b), is designed to balance the integrity of the jury system

against the rights of the defendant. See id.

Against this backdrop, a court facing post-verdict

allegations of jury misconduct shall rely on the essence of Rule

606(b), which provides that if the case involves an extraneous or

external influence on the jury, then a post- verdict interrogation of

jurors is permitted in order to adequately protect the defendant's

constitutional rights. See id. Conversely, if the case involves an

internal influence, the Rule does not permit the post-verdict

interrogation of jurors. In the latter instance, the preservation of

the integrity of the jury system outweighs any potential violation

of the defendant's constitutional rights. See id. In this way, the

internal influence versus external influence distinction in the Rule

is designed to balance the preservation of the integrity of the jury

system and the rights of the defendant. |t N21 See id.

i N2. But see Doan v. Brigano, 237 F.3d 722, 722 (6th

Cir.2001). In that case, a panel of this Court framed the issue in

Se pS

App. 58

terms of whether an application of Rule 606(b) violated the

defendant's constitutional rights, as opposed to relying on the

internal versus external influence distinction built into the Rule to

preserve the integrity of the jury as well as the rights of the

defendant.

In the instant case, the alleged jury misconduct consisted

of potentially premature deliberations that occurred during the

course of the trial. The district court correctly determined that this

alleged misconduct constituted a potential internal influence on the

jury. Because Rule 606(b) prohibits post-verdict interrogation of

jurors as to internal influences, the district court did not err in

denying Appellants' motion for permission to interview the jurors.

Accordingly, we shall not reverse the lower court on this basis.

Ill. CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, we AFIIRM the judgment

reached and the sentences imposed in the court below. More

specifically, we hold that the district court did not err in finding

that the search warrant executed by the government of LLFC's

premises was not a general warrant in violation of the Fourth

Amendment. In addition, the district court properly held that

there was sufficient evidence to find Appellants guilty of

making false claims, false entries or false statements, and

conspiracy. Furthermore, the district court did not err in

admitting evidence of a settlement agreement between

HUD/FHA and LLFC and evidence of Appellants’ reported

taxable income. As to sentencing, we find that the district court

did not err in calculating loss, in refusing to depart downward

SE BEST AVAILABLE COPY

App. 59

from Appellant Laws's sentencing computation, in enhancing

Appellants’ sentences for obstruction of justice, and in

calculating Appellant Laws's criminal history category. Finally,

we hold that the district court did not err in refusing to allow

counsel for Appellants to conduct a post-verdict interrogation of

jurors concerning alleged jury misconduct that took place during

the trial.

oO ees.

Bide nl t hee ood ot

App. 60

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

GREENEVILLE

FILED

AUG 4 1:57 PM’93

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DIST. TENN

BY CL, DEP. CLERK

IN THE MATTER OF THE SEARCH )

OF THE LOGAN-LAWS FINANCIAL )

CORPORATION, 500 PRINCETON )

ROAD, JOHNSON CITY, )

TENNESSEE AND ANY AND ALL )

OUTBUILDINGS, APPURTENANCES)

STORAGE AREAS AND UNITS )

ASSOCIATED THEREWITH. THE )

LOGAN-LAWS FINANCIAL )

CORPORATION IS REACHED FROM)

NORTH ROAN STREET BY )

TURNING EAST ON PRINCETON )

ROAD AND TRAVELLING )

APPROXIMATELY .8 MILES TO A )

SINGLE STORY OFFICE BUILDING )

CONSTRUCTED OF LIGHT BROWN )

BRICK, ALUMINUM SIDING AND )

STUCCO AT THE INTERSECTION )

SEARCH

WARRANT

No. Misc-2-93-21

App. 61

OF PRINCETON ROAD AND )

SILVERDALE DRIVE. THE )

BUILDING HAS STORAGE AREAS _)

ABOVE THE FIRST FLOOR )

WORKSPACE AND THE FRONT )

OF THE BUILDING HAS A RED )

AWNING TRIMMED IN WHITE AND)

A WHITE MAILBOX LABELED 500_ )

WITH BLACK NUMBERS. )

TO: — Any Authorized Officer of the United States.

Affidavit having been made before me by Derek B.

Johnson, Special Agent, Federal Bureau of Investigation, who

has reason to believe that on the premises of the business of

LOGAN-LAWS FINANCIAL CORPORATION, located at 500

Princeton Road, Johnson City, Tennessee, and any and all

outbuildings, appurtenances, storage areas and units associated

therewith, in the Eastern District of Tennessee, there is now

concealed certain property, namely:

1) Information and/or data stored in the form of

magnetic or electronic coding on computer media or in media

capable of being read by a computer or with the aid of computer

related equipment. This media includes but is not limited to

floppy diskettes, fixed hard disks, removable hard disk

cartridges, tapes, laser disks, video cassettes, and any other

media which is capable of storing magnetic coding.

App. 62

2) Electronic devices which are capable of analyzing.

creating, displaying, converting, or transmitting electronic or

magnetic computer impulses or data. These devices include but

are not limited to computers, computer components, computer

peripherals, word processing equipment, modems, monitors,

printers, plotters, encryption circuit boards, optical scanners,

external hard drives and other computer related electronic

devices.

3) Instructions or programs in the form of electronic or

magnetic media which are capable of being interpreted by a

computer or related components. The items to be seized could

include but would not be limited to operating systems,

application software, utility programs, compilers, interpreters,

and any other programs peripherals either directly or indirectly

via telephone lines, radio, or other means of transmission.

4) Printed material which provide instructions or

examples concerning the operation of a computer system,

computer software, and/or any related device.

5) Telephone long distance.call records and records of

wire and electronic interstate communications.

6) Records, files, documents, notes, correspondence,

microfiche, or computerized entries concerning the Department

of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), Government

National Mortgage Association (GNMA), Federal Housing

Administration (FHA), manufactured home dealers, borrowers

both past and present, payment history and current loan status of

App. 63

borrowers, loan files and accounts of borrowers, loan

applications, and copies of submissions to FHA, GNMA, HUD,

FHA insurance claims and claims records.

7) Accounts receivable and records thereof.

8) Retained copies of documents relating to banking

transactions, including but not limited to:

(1) retained copies of signature cards;

(2) bank statements;

(3) canceled checks;

(4) deposit tickets;

(5) retained copies of items deposited;

(6) retained copies of credit and debit memos.

9) Bank correspondence files.

10) Documents in books of original entry containing

entries reflecting any and all transactions, including but not

limited to General ledgers, General journals, Subsidiary ledgers,

including but not limited to loan loss account ledgers, trial

balances, Summary journals including but not limited to cash

receipts and cash disbursements, Daily posting records and slips,

check request forms, “special handling accounts” and “special

handling account” reports.

11) Internal documents or instructions to employees,

representatives or agents concerning GNMA, FHA, borrowers or

manufactured homes dealers, personal and informal files, notes,

App. 64

diaries, telephone call logs and telephone records, calendars and

working papers of employees and officers of Logan-Laws,

Articles of incorporation, or Partnerships.

12) All of the above listed documents may be found in

written or electronic form.

All of these items are evidence of or have been used as

the means of committing violations of Title 18, United States

Code, Section 286, 287, 1001, 1010, 1012, 1341, 1343, and 1956

(a)(1)(A)(I), and constitute evidence of the commission of the

above criminal offenses, and are currently being used by Logan-

Laws Financial Corporation and others in violation of Title 18,

United States Code, Section 286, conspiracy to defraud the

United States with respect to claims; Section 287, presenting

false claims to a department or agency of the United States;

Section 1001; making false statements as to material facts

concerning matters within the jurisdiction of a department of the

United States; Section 1010, making or passing false statements

or documents to influence the Department of Housing and urban

Development; Section 1012, making false reports to the

Department of Housing and Urban Development; Section 1341,

devising or engaging in a scheme or artifice to defraud involving

the U.S. mails; Section 1343; devising or engaging in a scheme

or artifice to defraud involving wire communications in

interstate commerce; and Section 1956(a)(1)(A)(1), engaging in

financial transactions involving the proceeds of specified

unlawful activity with the intent to facilitate the carrying on of

the specified unlawful activity, as the facts in the accompanying

affidavit, herein incorporated by reference, establish.

App. 65

I am satisfied that the affidavit and any recorded

testimony establishes probable cause to believe that the property

so described is now concealed on the person or premises above-

described and establish grounds for the issuance of this warrant.

YOU ARE HEREBY COMMANDED to search within

10 days of issuance the person or place named above for the

person or property specified, serving this warrant and making

the search in the daytime — 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m., and if the

person or property be found there to seize same, leaving a copy

of this warrant and receipt for the person or property taken, and

prepare a written inventory of the person or property seized and

promptly return this warrant to Thomas G. Hull, United States

District Judge, as required by law.

July 21, 1993 At Greeneville, Tennessee

Date and Time Issued City and State

THOMAS G. HULL

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE /S/

Name/Title of Judicial Officer Signature — Judicial

Officer

he

ee ee ee

ae taba

App. 66

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF TENNESSEE

AT KNOXVILLE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ) “STAMPED FILED”

) JUN 30 5:38 PM ‘97

) U.S. DISTRICT COURT

Vv. )

) No. 2:96-CR-17

JOHN M. LOGAN, )

ALAN MICHAEL LAWS,

RAMON SANCHES-VINAS,

SARAH M. MAYS,

ROBERT L. LOGAN, and

TRACY W. FLEENOR,

tl i a

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

This matter is presently before the court on defendants’

timely objections [Doc. No. 171] and [Doc. 172]' to the Report

‘Defendant Robert L. Logan failed to object to the Report and

Recommendation of Judge Inman, and therefore waived any such objections

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(B) and (C). See United States v. Walters, 638

F.2d 947-950 (6" Cir. 1981): Thomas v. Arn, 474 U.S. 140 (1985)

Defendant Tracy W. Fleenor purports to join in the objections of defendants John

M. Logan and Alan Michael Laws [Doc. No. 173]. However. Judge Inman

concluded in his R&R that only defendants Logan and Laws had Standing to

contest the legitimacy of the search, and that defendant Fleenor had no standing

App. 67

and Recommendation (“R&R”) [Doc. No. 170] filed by the

Honorable Dennis H. Inman, United States Magistrate Judge, on

March 14, 1997. In that R&R, Judge Inman recommended the

denial of the motions to suppress made by defendants John

Logan [Doc. No. 112], Tracy Fleenor [Doc. No. 140], Robert

Logan [Doc. No. 109], and Alan Laws [Doc. No. 106] regarding

all evidence seized as a result of the search of Logan-Laws

Financial Corporation’s premises located in Johnson City,

Tennessee, on July 26, 1996 [sic]. As required by statute, see 28

U.S.C. § 636(b)(1), the court has not made a de novo

determination of those portions of the R&R to which the

defendants have objected. For the reasons that follow, the R&R

will be accepted in whole and defendants’ motion to suppress

will be DENIED.

1. FACTS

On July 21, 1996, [sic] United States District Judge

Thomas G. Hull issued a search warrant for the premises of

Logan-Laws Financial Corporation (“Logan-Laws”). Logan-

Laws is a Tennessee corporation located in Johnson City,

Tennessee. The warrant authorized agents of the government to

search for and seize any records, files, and documents relating to

mobile home loans made by the corporation, which were issued

by the Federal Housing Administration (“FHA”) and the

to object to any seizure of evidence excepting that of her own personal office in

the corporations building. Consequently, as neither Logan nor Laws objected to

the issue of standing, Fleenor also waived any objections she may have had to the

R&R, except those concerning any items seized from her personal office. 28

U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(B) and (C). See Walters, 638 F.2d at 947-50; Thomas, 474

U.S. at 140.

Or etttrtictas Maps ota |e

App. 68

Government National Mortgage Association (“GNMA”). The

warrant also included documents stored or maintained by means

of computer.

The affidavit filed in support of the application for the

warrant recited that (1) Logan-Laws was a mobile home

financing company in Johnson City; (2) its entire business

consisted of making loans to mobile home buyers, which were

insured against losses (to Logan-Laws) under Title I of the FHA;

(3) these insured loans were sold by the corporation through the

mortgage backed securities program of GNMA; (4) Logan-Laws

continued to service these loans after their sale; (5) GNMA

requires a lender such as Logan-Laws to maintain a specific

ratio of current loans to delinquent loans, reserving the right to

cancel the lender’s authorization to underwrite loans in the

program if a lender exceeds the allowable percentage; (6)

Logan-Laws regularly falsified loan documents filed with the

FHA in support of the corporation’s claims on defaulted loans;

(7) Logan-Laws fraudulently manipulated its records by posting

payments to delinquent accounts, in order to create the

impression that its current-to-delinquent loan ratio was within

the parameters required by GNMA; (8) communication of these

fraudulent transactions occurred via interstate phone lines and

United States Mail; and (8) [sic] records of these transactions

could be found in the offices of named employees, in computer

files, and among other records in a storage area.

The warrant issued by the district judge authorized the

officers to search Logan-Laws’ premises for the following

evidence: information stored in electronic or magnetic form (i.e.,

App. 69

computer stored); the computer hardware itself; any computer

programs or operating systems; any printed instructions for

operating the computer systems and its software; long distance

telephone records and records of wire and electronic interstate

communication; any records, files, documents, . . . or

computerized entries regarding the Department of Housing and

Urban Development (“HUD”), GNMA, FHA, manufactured

home dealers, past and present borrowers of the corporation,

loan histories, loan files and accounts of borrowers, loan

applications, and copies of loan insurance claims submitted to

FHA, GNMA, and HUD; accounts receivable and records

thereof; various banking records (signature cards, statements,

deposit tickets, etc.); bank correspondence file; and various

account books including those concerning “special handling

accounts” (those involving payments made to borrowers’

accounts by Logan-Laws in order to manipulate the current-to-

delinquent loan ratio). The warrant further indicated that all of

the documents “may be found in written or electronic form.”

The warrant was executed on July 26, 1996, [sic] at

Logan-Laws’ offices in Johnson City. According to the

government's response to the motion to suppress, the documents

seized were individual loan files; “special handling” reports and

documents that were used to track payments paid to accounts of

delinquent borrowers; binders which contained records of false

claims made to the FHA; bank records and other documents

showing that payments were made to the accounts of borrowers;

correspondence to FHA and GNMA that contained false

representations; internal memoranda concerning discussion of

these “special handling accounts”; and an optical disk (i.e., a

eee

App. 70

computer disk) that contained a backup of the corporation’s file

server.

Subsequently, the defendants filed a motion to suppress

the evidence seized in the search. Defendants claim that the

warrant was so broad as to constitute a “general” warrant, which

gave the executive officers unlimited discretion to search and

seize anything on the premises in an effort to ferret out evidence

of some crime. Alternatively, defendants argue that the

descriptions of the items to be seized were so overly broad as to

encompass virtually all of the corporation’s business records.

thereby commanding the executing officers to seize all such

documents, including those not arguably connected to any

alleged crime. Defendants also claim that the warrant was so

“facially deficient” that the executing officers could not have

presumed it to be valid. Further, the defendants assert that.

notwithstanding the objections to the warrant itself, the optical

disk, containing a backup of the corporation’s entire computer

system, was beyond the scope of the warrant and should

therefore be suppressed.’

ll. PROBABLE CAUSE

The Fourth Amendment to the United States

Constitution decrees that “no Warrants shall issue. but upon

probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and

particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons

or things to be seized.” A warrant lacking in particularity as to

*As neither the government nor the defendants objected to the Judge

Inman's conclusions of standing, this court will not address that issue.

App. 71

the areas to be searched and the items to be seized “create[s] a

danger of unlimited discretion in the executing officer’s

determination of what is subject to seizure and a danger that

items will be seized when the warrant refers to other items.”

United States v. Savoca, 761 F.2d 292, 298-99 (6" Cir. 1985).

Thus, if a warrant authorizes a “general, exploratory rummaging

in a person’s belongings,” it is unconstitutional. Coolide v. New

Hampshire, 403 U.S. 443,467,91 S Ct. 2022, 2038, 29 L.Ed.2d

(1971).

The degree of particularity as to items to be seized,

however, varies with the crime involved and types of items

sought. United States v. Henson, 848 F.2d 1374, 1383 (6" Cir.

1988). See also United States v. Blakeny, 942 F.2d 101, 1026-27

(6" Cir.1991.) “Thus a description is valid if it is as specific as

the circumstances and the nature of the activity under

investigation permit. “ Henson, 848 F.2d at 1383 (quoting

United States v. Blum, 753 F.2d 999, 1001 (11" Cir. 1985).

In Henson, the Sixth Circuit upheld the validity of a

search warrant calling for the seizure of a multitude of

documentation, including records, computers, and electronic

media, in a case involving conspiracy to commit mail fraud

through the fabrication of mileage statements on used vehicles.

In upholding the warrant, the court reasoned that the officer “

could not have known at the time he applied for the warrant that

precise record or files would contain information concerning the

[criminal] scheme. “Henson, 848 F2d at 1383. Further, the court

held that “[b]ecause the warrant...was “inclusive,” it did not

leave room for the officers to exercise unlimited discretion,’ and

So'de vee bbl nstaabia seid Whe asc R aed SoendaabaaaaniesehY Bae ocetheh oe wre YW

App. 72

the evidence seized pursuant to the warrant should not be

admitted, as there was probable cause to support a search of

such breadth. Id. See also United States v. Savoca, 761 F.2d

292, 299 (6" Cir.1985) (where the discretion is not in the hands

of the executing officer “the actual issue is whether there was

probable cause to support a search of this breadth, not whether

the warrant was general.”), cited with approval in Henson, 848

F.2d at 1383.

The case at hand is markedly similar to Henson in that

both involved broad search warrants that attempted to uncover

specific evidence of convoluted fraudulent activity, buried

amidst mounds of paperwork and computer documentation.

Here, the warrant signed by the district judge, authorized, inter

alia, the seizure of:

[rJecords, files, documents, notes, correspondence,

microfiche, or computerized entries concerning [HU Dj],

[GNMA], [FHA], manufactured home dealers,

borrowers both past and present, payment history and

current loan status of borrowers, loan files and accounts

of borrowers, loan applications, and copies of

submissions to FHA, GNMA, FHA insurance claims

and claim records.

See Warrant 46. Further, the warrant provided that {alll of the

above listed documents may be found in written or electronic

form.” /d. {| 12. Thus, as practically all of Logan-Laws’ business

dealt with Title | mobile home financing under FHA and

GNMaA, this warrant, similar to the warrant in Henson,

App. 73

effectively encompasses the bulk of the documentation stored by

the company in its files as well as its computers.

However, as set forth in Savoca and reiterated be

Henson, where the discretion of what shall be seized is taken

from the hands of the officer executing the warrant due to the

particularity of the items listed, the questions turns to whether

there was probable cause to support such a broad warrant,

regardless of the inclusiveness of the items listed.

Savoca, 761 F.2d at 299; Henson, 848 F.2d at 1383. This,

precisely, is the situation at hand, as the warrant, though vastly

inclusive, specifically stated the items to be seized.

Turning to the issue of whether there was probable

cause to support this warrant, the Supreme Court noted in

Anderson v. Maryland, 427 U.S. 463,481 n.10 (1976) that “[t]he

complexity of an illegal scheme may not be used as a shield to

avoid detection when the State has demonstrated probable cause

to believe that a crime had been committed and probable cause

to believe that evidence of this crime is in the suspect’s

possession.” Jd. Thus, we return to the question of whether the

warrant was as “specific as the nature of the activity under

investigation permitted.” Henson, 848F.2d at 1383 (quoting

United States v. Shoffner, 826F .2d 619 (7" Cir.), cert. denied sub

nom. Strange v. United States,---U.S.---, 108 S. Ct.356 (1987).

As the Sixth Circuit stated in Henson. “[w]here the

precise identity of goods cannot be ascertained at the time the

warrant is issued, naming only a generic class of items will

suffice.” /d. (quoting United States v. Porter, 831 F.2d 760 (8"

MoE BK Cit te Bes

Hit PL Ales ERIC

scsitt A Sadat Ow

paren Ea A ete SOP Meh ey Sk, oe BT A ee

we.

7

het PA a ON

Pas Pe APR Rea ASRS SAP ERPS RE wht eS yy ih ay ae ssid ere a)

: App. 74

Cir. 1987). Because of the complex nature of the criminal

scheme in the present case, the warrant could not have been

more specific as to the identity of the documents to be seized.

Even with the aid of the confidential informants who provided

the information upon which the affidavit in support of the

warrant was based, the officers could not have known precisely

where and in what form documentation of this scheme existed.

For example, according to the statements of one informant, the

checks used to make payments to delinquent borrowers’

accounts were returned to Logan--Laws and stored “with other

records...in the second floor storage area,” which also housed all

the “records dating to the beginning of the Logan-Laws

Corporation.” See Affidavit in Support of Warrant J 30. Theses

records also included, amidst mountains of paperwork, evidence,

in unknown forms, of fraudulent loan payments and filings with

FHA and GNMA. Hence, naming the general class of items,

such as all documents related to the HUD, FHA, and GNMA

transactions and loan payments, was as specific as possible, and

thus reasonable under the circumstances. The warrant, therefore,

sufficiently stated the items to be seized, even though it

effectively encompassed the bulk of the company’s records.

Defendants argue that the officers could have made the

warrant more specific by including a restrictive date as to the

time period during which the alleged wrongdoings occurred.

Defendants further contend that the absence of such a date

created a warrant that was not wholly supported by probable

cause and facially deficient. As a result, defendants urge that

evidence seized by the warrant should be excluded. In support of

this contention, defendants adamantly rely on the Ninth Circuit

App. 75

case of United States v. Kow,58 F3d 423 (9" Cir. 1995), in

which the facts are very similar to the case at hand. In Kow, a

warrant was executed to seize evidence related to a conspiracy

to defraud the IRS. As in this case, the warrant in Kow was

specific as to the documents to be seized but encompassed

virtually all of the company’s records. In addition, the warrant in

Kow notably lacked a restrictive date. In finding the warrant

invalid, the Ninth Circuit pointed to the fact that the warrant

“sought to describe every document on the premises and direct

that everything be seized.” Also, the Court pointed to the fact

that the warrant “sought to describe every document on the

premises and direct that everything be seized.” Also, the Court

pointed out that the warrant in Kow, unlike the warrant in the

case, was not aimed at the specific conduct in question. /d. at

427. The lack of a restrictive date, therefore, was but one

contributing factor in the Ninth Circuits’ decision.

In the present case, the warrant was not aimed at seizing

all of the records in the Logan-Laws office but was particularly

directed at FHA, GNMA, and HUD related documents. While

this description included practically all of Logan-Laws’ records,

it was necessitated by the nature of Logan-Laws’ business.

Moreover, in Kow, the affidavit stated in detail the

locations and descriptions of the documents sought to be seized,

leaving no reason for this information to be excluded from the

warrant. /d .By contrast, in this case, the locations of the

documents were only generally averred in most instances, see

Affidavit in Support of Warrant $j 28-30, and could not have

been more specifically stated in the warrant.

App. 76

Defendants, nonetheless argue that the government

knew, through the affidavit, of account numbers and names of

accounts involved in the fraudulent activity. See Affidavit in

Support of Warrant § 24 (informant provided affiant with

computer printout of certain account records labeled as “special

handling accounts”). However, there is no reason-to believe that

this information was inclusive of the evidence located at Logan-

Laws. In fact, the information provided in the affidavit and upon

which defendants rely in making this argument actually

buttresses the level of probable cause, since it is evidence of

Logan-Laws’ propensity to commit fraud.

This Court is perplexed by the defendants’ consistent

dependence on Ninth Circuit decisions and disregard for the

Sixth Circuit precedent set forth in Henson. Nevertheless, again

relying on Kow and another Ninth circuit case, defendants

contend that the government can only support a request for a

warrant lacking in particularity by asserting in the affidavit that

the place to be searched was “permeated with fraud.” See Kow,

58 F.3d at 428; Center Art Galleries v. united States, 875 F.2d

747, 750-51 (9" Cir. 1989). This argument must fail for two

reasons.

First, while the notion of “permeated with fraud” may

have been accepted by the Ninth Circuit, followed by the First

Circuit in United States v. Brien, 617 F.2d 299, 308-309n. | I(Ist

Cir.), cert. denied, 446 U.S. 919,100 S.Ct. 1854,64 L.Ed.273

(1980), and the Second Circuit in National City Trading Corp.

v. United States, 635 F.2d 1020,1026 (2d Cir. 1980), it has never

been accepted, or even cited, by the Sixth Circuit. Furthermore,

App. 77

the Sixth Circuit had ample opportunity to consider this doctrine

in Henson, but instead adopted the test of whether the warrant

was as “specific as the nature of the activity under investigation

permitted. “Henson, 848 F.2d at 1383 (citations omitted).

Second, even if the doctrine of “permeated with fraud”

were adopted by this district, the circumstances of this case

would fulfill the requirements, with the exception of “permeated

with fraud” being specifically averred in the affidavit for the

warrant. Defendants again cite the Ninth Circuit in its attempt to

apply the test of “permeated with fraud’ to the case at hand. In

Center Art Galleries v. United States, 875 F.2d 747 (9" Cir.

1989), the Ninth Circuit found that an art gallery accused of

forging Salvador Dali artwork was not so “permeated with

fraud” as to warrant a seizure of “five truckloads of documents,

artwork, and other property. “/d. at 749. However, the court, in

making this decision, pointed out that the forgeries were limited

to the works of Dali, and only twenty percent of the gallery’s

business involved Dali. The present case is clearly

distinguishable, as the fraud at Logan-Laws involved its dealings

with HUD, FHA, and GNMA, which constituted virtually all of

the company’s business. Therefore. whether it was specifically

averred in the affidavit, which is still not a requirements in this

circuit, Logan-Laws was necessarily “permeated with fraud.

111. Good Faith

While it is clear that there was probable cause to support

such an encompassing warrant in this case, and that the warrant

here was as particular as possible under the circumstances with

x

a

es

is

Ly

z

&

s

.

a

4

Ms

a

¥y q

:

&

5

BS

App. 78

respect to the type of items to be seized, the issue of the absence

of a restrictive date in the warrant still remains. The court must

look at the purpose of the exclusionary rule and the ‘ good faith’

test under United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897 (1984), to

decide if the absence of a date necessitates the exclusion of the

fruits of the warrant.

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Laws v. United States · 534 U.S. 997 | Frix