Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bettersworth v. Federal Deposit Insurance

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

U.S.

Sephember 10, Goo/ Frees

01 444 SEP 1 0200)

No. OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

wae

JAMES A. BETTERSWORTH,

Petitioner,

V.

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION; OFFICE

OF THE COMPTROLLER OF THE CURRENCY; BOARD OF

THE FEDERAL RESERVE; FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF

KANSAS CITY,

Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MICHAEL WALSH, ESQ.

Of Counsel

621 Colfax Avenue

Scranton, Pennsylvania 18510

(570) 969-1969

JAMES S. BETTERSWORTH, ESQ.

Attorney of Record

RUTHERFORD @ RUTHERFORD & BETTERSWORTH

825 S. St. Mary’s Street

San Antonio, TX 78205-3408

(210) 225-4200

Attorneys for Petitioner

Wright Appellate Services

(215) 733-9870 @ (800) 507-9020 @ Fax (215) 733-9872

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Does the Privacy Act of 1974 permit a citizen to have

access to records kept by a federal agency that contain any

reference to the citizen that can be retrieved by the agency,

or does it permit access only to records that relate directly to

him and are filed under his name or other identifier?

Il. Does the Privacy Act of 1974 require that an “adverse

determination” that prejudices the plaintiff be the result of a

formal action by the defendant administrative agency?

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The Petitioner, who was the Plaintiff below, is James A.

Bettersworth.

The Respondents, who were the Defendants in the District

Court action, are the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation,

the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Board of

the Federal Reserve, and Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas

City.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CRON PORIIIIIE acti ccrie\ccicintncinnnipeeniacngiehidananiminaie i

List of Partios to the Proceeding, ..0..<.<es.0s00css0escsssceneneconseccecese i

Fa CE I a siisescasiceciasnita iis idciectiiddicaibidadecnnineabaieeaeasiae il

TORR OE I a vias acinhnieiiletanainsenaliianaceaciaieiapieniiniaeitiian ill

CRADIE TI sicsneinasieiceeiasinssantaentciiaidianialaiaidieetipsanhddiates dace l

SRneees OE TTI sais seneceisnnconcienidcaticsioesnceantaiiaennniice l

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions. ..............cccccsceseseeeees l

Seatenenenea ON Gt CIB a siassciinsintisccnchcsairsateakecheauimnplislebseliaianaatanaag 3

PRUE oi. sissnsninnoniansissiminiisaaiiideanuasiatalehiadinduisiegenialindiiaanens 11

I. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE AN AP-

PARENT CONFLICT AMONG THE CIR-

CUITS ON WHAT CONSTITUTES A

“SYSTEM OF RECORDS” WITHIN THE

MEANING OF THE PRIVACY ACT OF 1974............ ll

Pr, CN aicisecins shi ssctibtaticialitadacicicge ian aaah ataaaniintiilin 11

B. The Act’s Legislative History...............::cccccessseeeseees 12

C. An Overview of the Act’s Relevant Provisions........ 17

D. Interpreting the “system of records” requirement.....18

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE AN AP-

PARENT CONFLICT AMONG THE CIR-

CUITS ON WHAT CONSTITUTES ON

“ADVERSE DETERMINATION” WITHIN

THE MEANING OF THE PRIVACY ACT OF

Iv ——

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Bartel v. F.A.A., 725 F.2d 1403 (D.C. Cir. 1984) ............... 12

Bettersworth v. FDIC, 248 F.3d 386, 393 5" Cir. 2001)...26

Boyd v. Secretary of Navy, 709 F.2d 684 (11™ Cir.

1983), cert. denied sub nom. Boyd v. Lehman, 464

She ee ee snkicoicenststhacechaibetlaciesiandiibbanivisiiettanniicdos 24

Curccaro v. Secretary of Labor, 770 F.2d 355 (3d Cir.

5 EROS OTEEHS OOO PMN SIDES s TL! Aer rtrd UNE See MERIT ENE 22

Dickson v. Office of Personnel Management, 828 F.2d

Ds FF a Se ictiinntiieicdieniancdinnnainicisaniniiaaiabddaaal 26

Gowan v. United States Department of Air Force, 148

we oT, gle @ — RRRRURRUNMMOmnoIn 20, 24

Henke v. United States Department of Commerce, 83

Fe BS A, Ge Co tstdencatininttcessnsiectnnainis 18, 21

Hernandez v. Alexander, 671 F.2d 402 (10 Cir.

PINUS ccivcensasenciieinetstiesipicestincetslgliaiai edie allenic Gpitneneeaabienmnienie 20

Hewitt v. Grabicki, 794 F.2d 1373, 1379 (9™ Cir.

PI sccisosesishdndiinniinlaseiesanpaienihinich ascetic tected ad 27

Howard v. Marsh, 596 F. Supp. 1107 (E.D. Mo. 1984),

rev'd on other grounds, 785 F.2d 645 (8" Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 988 (1986) ..................4. 20

Hudson v. Reno, 130 F.3d 1193 (6™ Cir. 1997) ........cesess00: 23

Vv

Manuel v. Veterans Administration Hospital; 857 ¥:26-——————————

(6" Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1055 (1989).....23

Pennsylvania Department of Public Welfare v.

Davenport, 495 U.S. 552 (1990) ....sesesessessseseeereeeees 18

Smiertka v. United States Department of Treasury, 447

F.Supp.221 (D.D.C. 1978), vacated and remanded

on other grounds, 604 F.2d 698 (D.C. Cir. 1979)....... 22

Wren v. Heckler, 744 F.2d 86 (10 Cir. 1984) .......-++++. 20, 24

Zeller v. United States, 467 F. Supp. 487 (E.D.N.Y.

1979)......c.cseccesessccsesessocacsncsasccecscceesscsosessnssssseososacsosoonsees 19

Statutes:

5 U.S.C. § 5528.......sccccsecsscsscerssrcscsscrssssncsscesscssecnsscsers 2, 4, 11

5 U.S.C. § 552a(a)(4)......scsssessercssseeresesresessesessscnseeeenees 17, 24

5 U.S.C. § 552a(a(5)....cscessssceresesscenesssenseesessesssceseaseneensers 17

5 U.S.C. § S52a(D) 0... cecescssssrsecessessssecsecsnscssssrsseseeeesenssesons 12

5 U.S.C. § S552a(€)(4).......scsscsscesserseecsrcseesessessssssseerenss 17, 18

5 U.S.C. § 552a(g)(1)....cecssessesessercensreeesnesessessssesssseeesnenennens 3

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) .....scesscscceeseseesceneneeneeesssterssseeeeensnensenenens 1

28 U.S.C. § 1291 uu... eeeesssscsereesereessencnnsnseessssesssersessnensencecees 3

Lik Fok hs. ORERR ED NNR men CIEE Reena OTN IE Ot 3

Other Authorities

H.R. Rep. No. 93-1416, P. 7 (1974) .....ccssesssesssesssseeessseceseees 13

S. 3418, 93 Cong., § 301(3) (1974) ......ccccecsessessee 13, 14, 16

Sen. Rep. No. 93-1183, 93 Cong., 2d Sess., re-

printed in U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, p.

eNO. SA Te ak Ee 13, 15, 16

Privacy Act Implementation: Guidelines and Respon-

sibilities, 40 Fed. Reg. 28,948, 28,957 (July 9, 1975)......... 17

Privacy Act of (1974), Pub. L. No. 93-579, § 2(a)(1),

88 Stat. 1896, 1896 (Congressional findings) ............... 13, 15

Vii

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Order of The United States Court

of Appeals For The Fifth Circuit, Filed

FU Bile tte cceicinsninincescaniciancininiiseniajninenneransmenennmene We

Appendix B — Judgement of The United States Court

of Appeals For The Fifth Circuit, Filed

FI tis a capeteinsiiditenprnincreetesiintaiatgsipeiieniittnanonenceatiqnecente 2a

Appendix C — Opinion of The United States Court

of Appeals For The Fifth Circuit, Filed

i catitriinsctendsasnninincaincnbdigdinnnsnctichmnemenaiesnecen 4a

Appendix D- Report and Recommendation of The

United States Magistrate Judge in The United

States District Court For The Western District

of Texas, Austin Division, Filed February 1, 2000.....20a

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit, No. 00B50262, which appears at 248 F.3d 386

(2001), is reproduced at page 4a of Appendix C.

The unpublished Report and Recommendation of the

United States Magistrate Judge in the United States District

Court for the Western District of Texas is reproduced at page

20a of Appendix D.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Judgment sought to be reviewed was filed by the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit on April

12, 2001 (No. 00-50262), in response to the Petitioner’s ap-

peal from the District Court’s Order. The Court of Appeals

denied the Petitioner’s Petition for Rehearing on June 12,

2001.

The original unpublished Report and Recommendation of

the United States Magistrate Judge, in the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Western District of Texas, Austin Division

(No. A-97-CA-624 JN), was filed on February 1, 2000.

This Court has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1), which permits review by writ of certiorari

“in any civil or criminal case, before or after rendition of

judgment or decree.”

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution

states in relevant part: “No person shall . . . be deprived of

life, liberty, or property, without due process of law... .”

2

The Privacy Act of 1974, 5 U.S.C. § 552a, provides in

(a) For purposes of this section--

(5) the term “system of records” means a group of

any records under the control of any agency from

which information is retrieved by the name of the

individual or by some identifying number, symbol,

or other identifying particular assigned to the indi-

vidual;

(d) Each agency that maintains a system of records

shall--

(1) upon request by any individual to gain access

to his record or to any information pertaining to

him which is contained in the system, permit him

and upon his request, a person of his own choosing

to accompany him, to review the record and have a

copy made of all or any portion thereof in a form

comprehensible to him, except that the agency may

require the individual to furnish a written statement

authorizing discussion of that individual’s record

in the accompanying person’s presence.

(g)(1) Civil remedies. Whenever any agency-

(B) refuses to comply with an individual request

under subsection (d)(1) of this section;

the individual may bring a civil action against the

agency, and the district courts of the United States

shall have jurisdiction in the matters under the pro-

visions of this subsection.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Jurisdiction of the Courts Below

The United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit,

the order of which is sought to be reviewed in this Petition,

had jurisdiction of this matter pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291

(“Final decisions of district courts”), which states in part:

“The courts of appeals . . . shall have jurisdiction of appeals

from all final decisions of the district courts of the United

States. ...”

The United States District Court for the Western District

of Texas had jurisdiction over this case pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1331 (“Federal question”), which provides: “The district

courts shall have original jurisdiction of all civil actions

arising under the Constitution, laws, or treaties of the United

States.”

The District Court also had jurisdiction under 5

U.S.C. § 552a(g)(1) (“Civil Remedies”), which

states in part:

Whenever any agency-

(B) refuses to comply with an individual request

under subsection (d)(1) of this section;

(C) fails to maintain any record concerning any in-

dividual with such accuracy, relevance, timeliness,

and completeness as is necessary to assure fairness

in any determination relating to the qualifications,

character, rights, or opportunities of, or benefits to

the individual that may be made on the basis of

such record, and consequently a determination is

made which is adverse to the individual. . . .

the individual may bring a civil action against the

agency, and the district courts of the United States

shall have jurisdiction in the matters under the pro-

visions of this subsection.

Facts

Procedural History

The Petitioner James A. Bettersworth instituted this action

on August 21, 1997, against the Federal Deposit Insurance

Corporation, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency

(AOCC”), the Board of the Federal Reserve, and the Federal

Reserve Bank of Kansas City (collectively, the “Defen-

dants”) for violations of the Privacy Act of 1974, 5 U.S.C. §

552a. He based his complaint on three causes of action:

first, that the Defendants had denied him access to records

5

that he was rightfully entitled to see; second, that the Defen-

dants had made adverse determinations about Mr. Better-

sworth based on improperly maintained records; and third,

that the Defendants had failed to comply with the Privacy

Act so as to have an adverse effect on Mr. Bettersworth.

After various motions were filed by Mr. Bettersworth and

the Defendants over the next few years, a Final Judgment

was filed by the District Court on February 17, 2000, which

dismissed Mr. Bettersworth’s claims with prejudice and

granted the Defendants’ motion to dismiss or in the alterna-

tive for summary judgment.

Mr. Bettersworth filed his Notice of Appeal to the Fifth

Circuit on March 29, 2000. In a Judgment filed April 12,

2001, the Fifth Circuit affirmed the judgment of the District

Court and ordered Mr. Bettersworth to pay to the Defendants

the costs on appeal. Motion for Rehearing denied App. 1a.

Background

Mr. Bettersworth has twenty-two years of experience in

the banking industry. From 1971 to 1973, he served as vice

president of First National Bank, Seguin, Texas. In 1983, he

founded First Commercial Bank (“FCB”) in Seguin, Texas.

He served as chief executive officer and chairman of the

board of FCB from 1983 through May, 1990. During that

time, the OCC never communicated to him or to the board of

FCB that he was unqualified or unfit for the position that he

held.

Mr. Bettersworth founded Southwestern Commercial

Capital Company (“SWCC”) in 1981. SWCC was a spe-

cialized lending company under the supervision of the Small

6

Business Administration (“SBA”). In 1984, Mr. Better-

sworth formed Southwestern ComCorp, Inc. (“ComCorp”), a

non-bank holding company, into which Mr. Bettersworth put

SWCC and Southwestern Venture Capital of Texas (“SVC”).

SVC was a small business investment company under the

supervision of the SBA. FCB, ComCorp, SWCC, and SVC

were recognized by the companies and the federal regulators

as affiliates.

From 1985 until 1989, the FCB participated for its own

account in the retained portions of SBA loans that were not

sold into the government securities market. FCB participated

in these loans pursuant to the authority granted for such

transactions in 12 C.F.R. 250.250. The OCC regulators ap-

proved the participation by FCB in the loans without qualifi-

cation.

The Affiliate Relationship

In 1987, ComCorp legally acquired by foreclosure the Re-

public Bank of Tecumseh, Oklahoma (“RBT”). As a result

of the discovery process in this litigation, the OCC thought

that Mr. Bettersworth had somehow planned the foreclosure

to avoid various banking laws.

In 1989, the affiliate relationship among FCB, ComCorp,

SWCC, SWVC, and RBT was terminated. Desiring to assure

himself that the OCC agreed that the relationship had indeed

terminated, Mr. Bettersworth requested a special examination

by the OCC to affirm this fact. The OCC confirmed that the

relationship had been terminated. From 1989 on, FCB con-

ducted its business with former affiliates in accordance with

this finding.

7

In early 1989, poor health forced Mr. Bettersworth to

leave the banking business. In 1991, Liz Corey, an attorney

for the OCC, stated in a letter sent to FCB’s attorneys that, in

‘her opinion, FCB, ComCorp, and ComCorp’s subsidiaries

were affiliates in June, 1990. Officially, the OCC never

made a formal finding that the companies were affiliated, and

the agency dropped the matter. FCB was never cited for

violation of the law regarding transactions between affiliates.

The Adverse Determination Made by the OCC

Out of the debate about the affiliate status of the various

entities came an adverse determination by the OCC that is at

the core of this litigation. In August, 1991, more than eight-

een months after Mr. Bettersworth had departed from FCB,

John Barlow, an OCC bank examiner, made the following

entry in the agency’s computerized database, known as the

Supervisory Monitoring System (“SMS”):

and former Pres/CEO/COB James Bettersworth

share major blame for the Bank’s poor condition.

They allowed poor quality assets to be purchased

from affiliate SWCC. Bettersworth was also a di-

rector and executive officer at Comcorp and

SWCC for much of their existence. These indi-

viduals should not be approved in an executive ca-

pacity at a troubled institution.

This finding was placed in the SMS, which is a proprietary

information system that is not known to bankers or to the

public. It is accessible only by confidential passwords that

are issued to certain employees of the Defendants’ agencies.

Mr. Barlow later confirmed in his deposition that the only

8

way that Mr. Bettersworth would be able to gain access to the

entries in the SMS about him was by filing a lawsuit such as

this cne.

Barlow’s entry about Mr. Bettersworth was reviewed and

approved by the manager of the San Antonio Field office of

the OCC. The entry was again reviewed and approved by the

“Southwestern Regional Office of the OCC, and it was then

archived in the SMS as a permanent, official determination of

the OCC. Mr. Barlow later testified in his deposition that the

purpose of placing the above-noted entry in the SMS was so

that anyone inquiring about Mr. Bettersworth would see the

entry. He also admitted that the entry did in fact have a

negative impact on Mr. Bettersworth.

The Adverse Determination Made by the Board of Gover-

nors and the Reserve Bank

In August, 1993, the Petitioner and Jeffrey D. Anderson

acquired control of ComCorp. Its primary remaining asset

was RBT. In October, 1993, ComCorp field a draft applica-

tion for bank holding status with the Board of Governors of

the Federal Reserve System (“Board”) through its agent, the

Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City, Missouri (“Reserve

Bank”). In conjunction with this application, Mr. Better-

sworth, as a major shareholder of ComCorp, provided per-

sonal and financial data to the Board on Board forms

provided with the application package. In response to the

draft application, the Reserve Bank conducted a background

investigation of Mr. Bettersworth based on the information

that he had provided. The investigation, conducted by Pam

Johnson, an examiner for the Reserve Bank, revealed several

negative comments about Mr. Bettersworth, including the

9

entry by OCC examiner Barlow in the SMS, which was cited

earlier.

As a result of her investigation, Ms. Johnson concluded:

“This deal stinks! We need to encourage them not to pursue

this and to begin a plan of divestiture.” She went on to note

that Mr. Bettersworth caused many of the problems at FCB

and RBT. Under the part of the report labeled “Integrity,”

she indicated that Mr. Bettersworth manipulated and circum-

vented the Bank Holding Company Act and 23A. Yet, Mr.

Bettersworth was never placed on notice that he was being

accused of either.

Ms. Johnson accused Mr. Bettersworth of causing im-

proper affiliate transactions between FCB and ComCorp,

despite the determination by the OCC that FCB and Com-

Corp were no longer affiliated. She also noted that the OCC

considered Mr. Bettersworth to be a liberal and innovative

banker and that he was unfamiliar with banking laws and

regulations. She described Mr. Bettersworth as uncoopera-

_ tive, adversarial, and suffering from manic depression. She

stated that Mr. Bettersworth had a sordid banking back-

ground with a failed bank in Texas. (In reality, Mr. Better-

sworth has never been associated with a failed bank.) Ms.

Johnson’s determinations about Mr. Bettersworth were never

disclosed to him. He was not aware of their existence, and he

was not afforded an opportunity to rebut them.

Based on her investigation, Ms. Johnson drafted a letter

for the signature of Mr. Stephen E. McBride, the Assistant

Vice President of the Reserve Bank. On November 5, 1993,

this letter was faxed to the attorneys for ComCorp. It indi-

cated that the prospect for approval of an application for ban-

10

holding status filed by ComCorp was “extremely dim.” This

conclusion was based primarily on the adverse determination

made about Mr. Bettersworth, which was confirmed during a

telephone conversation between Mr. McBride and one of

ComCorp’s attorneys. McBride made it clear that the trans-

action would not be approved because of Mr. Bettersworth’s

involvement and branded Mr. Bettersworth a “troublemaker”

and “uncooperative,” terms later discovered in Reserve Bank

documents obtained in discovery in connection with this ac-

tion.

In a later conversation between Kevin Moore, an official

of the Reserve Bank, and another attorney for ComCorp,

Moore confirmed that Mr. Bettersworth was the primary

problem with the application and that.the application would

be viewed favorably if Mr. Bettersworth were not included in

the application. Based on the acrimonious condemnation of

Mr. Bettersworth, ComCorp decided that proceeding with the

application was inadvisable and hurriedly signed a contract

agreeing to sell RBT.

Bettersworth’s Privacy Act Requests

Mr. Bettersworth decided to re-enter the banking business

on October 3, 1995, by forming a new bank in Lakeway,

Texas. The investors did not want to proceed with the proj-

ect unless Mr. Bettersworth could clear his name with bank

regulators. Mr. Bettersworth wrote several letters to the De-

fendants, requesting an opportunity to address issues raised

during the ComCorp bank holding company application. The

Defendants refused, stating that they had no position about

Mr. Bettersworth and were not required to express one.

—s

11

On October 3, 1995, Mr. Bettersworth made Privacy Act

requests of the Defendants. The Defendants refused. On

October 30, 1995, Mr. Bettersworth spoke with Kevin Moore

on the telephone and asked which individual bank regulators

had apparently made adverse comments about him. Mr.

Moore did not identify the individuals but indicated that the

information about Mr. Bettersworth was taken from Confi-

dential Reports of Examination that were not revealed to

banks. Moore stated that, even if those reports contained

derogatory information about Mr. Bettersworth, he could not

have access to that information.

On August 27, 1997, Mr. Bettersworth filed this action in

an attempt to gain access to records used by the Board and

the Reserve Bank in making their determinations about him

and, if possible, to clear his name. As explained above, the

District Court awarded summary judgment to the Defendants

and dismissed the Petitioner’s action with prejudice. The

Fifth Circuit affirmed.

ARGUMENT

I. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE AN

APPARENT CONFLICT AMONG THE

CIRCUITS ON WHAT CONSTITUTES A

“SYSTEM OF RECORDS” WITHIN THE

MEANING OF THE PRIVACY ACT OF 1974

A. Introduction

The Privacy Act of 1974, 5 U.S.C. § 552a (1994)(“Act”),

generally prohibits federal agencies from disclosing “any

record which is contained in a system of records by any

means of communication to any person, or to another agency,

12

except pursuant to a written request by, or with the prior

written consent of, the individual to whom the record pertains

....” 5 U.S.C. § 552a(b). The Act “safeguards the public

from unwarranted collection, maintenance, use and dissemi-

nation of personal information contained in agency records . .

. by allowing an individual to participate in ensuring that his

records are accurate and properly used.” Bartel v. F.A.A.,

725 F.2d 1403, 1407 (D.C. Cir. 1984).

The issue that this Court is being urged to address is

whether the Act intended that a private citizen could obtain

access to information to any file, kept by a federal agency, in

which his name or other identifier appeared, or whether it

restricts access only to files, part of a “system of records,” on

which the citizen’s name or other identifier appears. The

latter interpretation would make sense if this were 50 years

ago, when files were kept in manilla folders and searching a

folder for references to a citizen whose name did not appear

on the outside of the folder would be an impossibly burden-

some task. This is not at all the case today, however, when

computerized records can be searched instantly and effort-

lessly for any name, word, or phrase that appears within the

record.

In short, this Petition respectfully requests that this Court

interpret this provision of the Act to clear up a conflict

among the Circuits regarding the extent of a citizen’s right to

avail himself of the protection of the Act.

B. The Act’s Legislative History

The Senate bill, S. 3418, modified as the compromise bill,

was enacted into law as the Privacy Act. The purposes of the

13

Act include “the promotion of governmental respect for the

privacy of citizens by requiring all departments and agencies

of the executive branch and their employees to observe cer-

tain constitutional rules in the computerization, collection,

management, use, and disclosure of personal information

about the individuals.” Sen. Rep. No. 93-1183, 93rd Cong.,

2d Sess., reprinted in U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, p.

6916 (1974).

Congress enacted this legislation largely out of concern

over “the impact of computer data banks on individual pri-

vacy.” H.R. Rep. No. 93-1416, p. 7 (1974). The legislative

history of the Act makes frequent references to the need to

protect against governmental abuse of “personal informa-

tion.” See, e.g., Privacy Act of 1974, Pub. L. No. 93-579, §

2(a)(1), 88 Stat. 1896, 1896 (Congressional findings); S. Rep.

93-1183, at 1. The legislative history makes it plain that

Congress intended “personal information” itself to have a

broad meaning, encompassing

all information that describes, locates or indexes

anything about an individual including his educa-

tion, financial transactions, medical history, crimi-

nal, or employment record, or that affords a basis

for inferring personal characteristics, such as finger

and voice prints, photographs, or things done by or

to such individual, and the record of his presence,

registration, or membership in an organization or

activity, or admission to an institution.

S. 3418, 93d Cong., § 301(3) (1974).

The Report from the Committee on Government Opera-

14

tions, which recommended passage of the Senate Bill, stated:

The purpose of S. 3418, as amended, is to promote

governmental respect for the privacy of citizens by

requiring all departments and agencies of the ex-

ecutive branch and their employees to observe

certain constitutional rules in the computerization,

collection, management, use, and disclosure of per-

sonal information about individuals.

The Report went on to explain:

[The Act] is designed to prevent the kind of illegal,

unwise, overbroad investigation and record sur-

veillance of law-abiding citizens produced in re-

cent years from actions of some over-zealous

investigators, and the curiosity of some govern-

ment administrators, or the wrongful disclosure

and use, in some cases of personal files held by

Federal agencies.

The Report then stated that the Act was intended:

e To prevent the secret gathering of information systems

of data banks on Americans by agency employees;

e To set in motion a long-overdue evaluation of the needs

of the federal government to acquire and retain personal in-

formation on Americans, by requiring stricter review within

agencies of criteria for collection and retention; and

e To promote observance of “valued principles of fairness

and individual privacy by those who develop, operate, and

administer other major institutional and organizational data

15

banks of government and society.” S. Rep. No. 1183, 93

Cong., 2d Sess. 1-2, reprinted in 1974 U.S. Code Cong. &

Admin. News 6919 (“USCAN”).

Finally, the Report concluded that the underlying premise

of the Act is that “good government and efficient manage-

ment require that basic principles of privacy, confidentiality

and due process must apply to all personal information pro-

grams and practices of the Federal Government.” S. Rep. at

14, USCAN at 6929. In addition, the Senate Report made it

clear that an agency must assure the lawful use and proper

treatment of information transferred to other agencies when it

is used to make a decision about an individual. The Report

emphasized that agencies must not

use the Freedom of Information Act as an excuse

to avoid their obligations under this section to ob-

tain informed consent and to assure to the extent

possible the lawful use and proper treatment of in-

formation transferred to other agencies, when it

may be used to make a decision about an individ-

ual.

Id.

The legislative history of the Act makes frequent refer-

ences to the need to protect against governmental abuse of

“personal information.” See, e.g., Privacy Act of 1974, Pub.

L. No. 93-579, § 2(a)(1), 88 Stat. 1896, 1896 (Congressional

findings); S. Rep. 93-1183, at 1. The legislative history

makes it plain that Congress intended “personal information”

itself to have a broad meaning, encompassing

16

all information that describes, locates or indexes

anything about an individual including his educa-

tion, financial transactions, medical history, crimi-

nal, or employment record, or that affords a basis

for inferring personal characteristics, such as finger

and voice prints, photographs, or things done by or

to such individual, and the record of his presence,

registration, or membership in an organization or

activity, or admission to an institution.

S. 3418, 93d Cong., § 301(3) (1974).

In short, the legislative history of the Act suggests that the

hair-splitting that the Courts have engaged in, as demon-

strated below, is utterly inappropriate, as it contravenes the

intent of the statute, which is to bestow the broadest possible

rights on the citizenry to obtain access to information held by

federal agencies in their computer data banks. Speaking of

the House version of the Bill that ultimately was passed,

Congressman Erlenborn, in his general comments on the ear-

lier House version of the statute, stated:

Under this bill we are allowing any individual ac-

cess to records that are maintained by the Govern-

ment relative to himself. In other words, any

person, any individual can go to the agency that is

subject to this act and say “I want copies of any-

thing you have relating to me.” 120 Cong. Rec.

36961 (Nov. 21, 1974).

The narrow interpretations of what constitutes a “system

of records” under the Act by numerous circuits ignores the

intent of Congress in fashioning a powerful tool for citizens

17

to find out what information federal agencies have gathered

and may have disseminated about them.

C. An Overview of the Act’s Relevant Provisions

To safeguard the privacy of individual citizens, the Act re-

quires any agency that maintains a “system of records” to

publish at least annually a statement in the Federal Register

describing that system. See 5 U.S.C. § 552a(e)(4)- A “sys-

tem of records” is defined as “a group of any records under

the control of any agency from which information is retrieved

by the name of the individual or by some identifying number,

symbol, or other identifying particular assigned to the indi-

vidual.” 5 U.S.C. § 552a(a)(5). A “record” is defined as

any item, collection, or grouping of information

about an individual that is maintained by an

agency, including, but not limited to, his education,

financial transactions, medical history, and crimi-

nal or employment history and that contains his

name, or the identifying number, symbol, or other

identifying particular assigned to the individual,

such as a finger or voice print or a photograph.

5 U.S.C. § 552a(a)(4).

The Privacy Act Guidelines promulgated by the Office of

Management and Budget provide that individuals have a

right of access only to information keyed to the requestor’s

own name or identifying number or symbol. See Privacy Act

Implementation: Guidelines and Responsibilities, 40 Fed.

Reg. 28,948, 28,957 (July 9, 1975). Of course, the courts are

under no obligation to follow guidelines or regulations that

are promulgated by agencies. Indeed, these Guidelines ap-

18

pear to directly contravene the expressed intent of Congress

in enacting this legislation.

Determining that a “system of records exists” in a par-

ticular case is of the utmost importance, because it “triggers

virtually all of the other substantive provisions of the Privacy

Act, such as an individual’s right to receive copies and to

request amendment of her records.” Henke v. United States

Department of Commerce, 83 F.3d 1453, 1459 (D.C. Cir.

1996).

D. Interpreting the “system of records” requirement

i. View that a “system of records” exists so long as

the file is retrievable by the requestor’s name or

other identifier from any file containing informa-

tion about him a

To determine what constitutes a “system of records”

within the meaning of the Privacy Act, this Court has long

recognized that interpretation must, of course, begin with the

language of the statute itself. See, e.g., Pennsylvania De-

partment of Public Welfare v. Davenport, 495 U.S. 552, 557-

58 (1990).

The Act itself suggests that Congress intended to provide

access to agencies’ records whenever records pertaining to

the requestor are retrievable by the use of his or her name or

other identifier, regardless of whether the file has been cre-

ated under his name or other identifier. Section (e)(4) of the

Act requires agencies, when they promulgate their notice of

their system of records, to publish “the policies and practices

of the agency regarding storage, retrievability, access con-

trols, retention, and disposal of the records.” 5 U.S.C. §

19

552a(e)(4). This language suggests that retrievability, not

actual retrieval, should be the standard for determining

whether a “system of records” exists under the Act.

Thus, the rights of a person requesting information under

the Act should not depend on how the “file” containing the

information is labeled, only upon whether the requested in-

- formation is retrievable by any means.

The Second Circuit’s interpretation of “system of records”

is represented by this District Court’s interpretation of the

Act:

Correctly construed, the Privacy Act extends to all

information contained within an agency’s system

of records that pertains to an individual and can be

retrieved by the individual’s name or by some

identifier assigned to him, without regard to the

content of the information or whether it pertains to

the individual’s business activities. The scope of

information available under the statute is defined

not by the content of the record maintained by the

agency, but by the retrieval method used in the

agency’s system of records.

Zeller v. United States, 467 F. Supp. 487, 497 (E.D.NLY.

1979). This statement suggests that, so long as an individual

agency has the means of searching its records for the individ-

ual’s name or other identifier assigned to him, it is maintain-

ing a “svstem of records” under the Act. It should go without

saying that federal agencies today all possess the ability to

search computerized records with blinding speed to unearth

any reference to an individual who is attempting to assert his

rights under the Act, regardless of how these records are la-

20

beled.

Some decisions of the Tenth Circuit appear to take the po-

sition that, so long as documents requested under the Privacy

Act are “name retrievable,” then they are within a “system of

records” maintained by the agency. See Howard v. Marsh,

596 F. Supp. 1107, 1111 (E.D. Mo. 1984), rev'd on other

grounds, 785 F.2d 645 (8" Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S.

988 (1986).

In another Privacy Act decision, the Tenth Circuit consid-

ered whether a former civilian employee of the U.S. Army

was entitled to access to an Investigative Report under the

auspices of the Inspector General and four memoranda. The

memoranda consisted of a list containing a description of

certain documents sent and received by the former employee

and three other memoranda, all of which were prepared by an

attorney in the office of the Staff Judge Advocate at White

Sands Missile Range. The court concluded without discus-

sion that the former employee was entitled under the Privacy

Act to see these records. See Hernandez v. Alexander, 671

F.2d 402, 408 (10 Cir. 1982).

Other decisions of the Tenth Circuit are difficult to recon-

cile with these, however, as its decisions in Wren v. Heckler,

744 F.2d 86, 89 (10" Cir. 1984), and Gowan v. United States

Department of Air Force, 148 F.3d 1182, 1191 (10 Cir.

1998), discussed immediately below, illustrate.

The view that a “system of records” exists so long as the

file is retrievable by the requestor’s name or other identifier

is fully supported by the express terms of the Act, its legisla-

tive history, and the decisions cited above. Moreover, this

view is in keeping with the reality of the extraordinary capa-

21

bilities of modern data retrieval software, which can search

volumes of entries in seconds when provided with a name or

other key word or phrase. Some have argued that the term

“system of records” must be construed narrowly so that

agencies are not disrupted by the inundation of Privacy Act

requests by individuals whose names or other identifiers do

not actually appear on files retrieved by the agency. Even if

this argument ever carried any weight, it collapses when con-

sidered in light of the blinding speed at which modern com-

puters, armed with data retrieval software, operate today. So

long as the name or other identifier of the person requesting

information under the Act exists somewhere in the file, it can

be ferreted out in a matter of seconds nowadays.

ii. View that a “system of records” exists only when

the agency has an actual practice of retrieving in-

formation by the name of the individual found on

the record itself

Focusing on Congress’s use of the phrase “is retrieved” in

the Privacy Act, the D.C. Circuit held in Henke v. United

States Department of Commerce, 83 F.3d 1453 (D.C. Cir.

1996), that a group of records generally should not be con-

sidered a “system of records” within the meaning of the Pri-

vacy Act unless the agency actually retrieves records keyed

to individuals and that retrieval capability is not alone suffi-

cient to create a system of records. 83 F.3d at 1460. The

court cautioned, however, that the agency’s retrieval practice

is only one factor in determining whether a “system of rec-

ords” exists in a particular case. Courts should also consider

“the agency’s function and the purpose for which the infor-

mation was gathered” when determining whether a group of

records qualifies as a system of records. /d. at 1461.

22

The court reasoned that the phrase “system of records”

should be narrowly construed because, under an expansive

reading of the phrase,

an agency faces the threat of being found retro-

spectively to be maintaining a system of records it

did not even know existed, simply by dint of a po-

tential use it neither engaged in nor contemplated.

This in turn would create serious compliance

problems for the agency, because if it had not rec-

ognized that it maintained a system of records and

had therefore not published notice of its system in

the Federal Register, then neither would it have

followed the procedures necessary [under the Act].

Id.

In another decision of the D.C. Circuit, the plaintiff was

held not entitled to daily reports prepared by an agency in-

vestigation because they were not accessible by the plaintiff's

name or other personal identifier, but by the name of the

agency investigator who prepared them. See Smiertka v.

United States Department of Treasury, 447 F.Supp. 221, 228-

29 (D.D.C. 1978), vacated and remanded on other grounds,

604 F.2d 698 (D.C. Cir. 1979).

The Third Circuit rebuffed a plaintiff's attempt under the

Privacy Act to obtain access to portions of investigative files

complied as a result of his complaints and the ensuing inves-

tigations of his former employer regarding alleged OSHA

violations in Cuccaro v. Secretary of Labor, 770 F.2d 355

(3d Cir. 1985). The court held that the requested documents

23

were not contained within a “system of records” retrievable

by the name of the individual requesting the information. It

took the position that individuals have a right to access under

the Privacy Act only to information in a record that is main-

tained in a system of records “cued to the requestor’s own

name or identifier.” 770 F.2d at 360.

The Sixth Circuit held that notes kept in a locked drawer

and labeled the “First Assistant’s” filed were not accessible

under the Privacy Act because they were not retrievable by

the plaintiff's name or other personal identifier, but by the

name of the agency investigator who prepared them. See

Hudson v. Reno, 130 F.3d 1193, 1206 (6" Cir. 1997). The

Court reached the same result in Manuel v. Veterans Admini-

stration Hospital, 857 F.2d 1112, 1119 (6" Cir. 1988), cert.

denied, 489 U.S. 1055 (1989))(daily reports containing refer-

ences to investigations conducted by the Veterans Admini-

stration held not to qualify as “records” contained in a

“system of records” because they were not accessible by the

plaintiff's name or other personal identifier, but by the name

of the agency investigator who prepared them).

As noted earlier, decisions of the Tenth Circuit seem in

conflict concerning what constitutes a “system of records”

under the Act. Thus, it held that a plaintiff's request under

the Act was properly denied when the only identifier on the

file for which he sought disclosure was the word “Ethics,”

even though the plaintiff's file was the only one in existence

in the “Ethics” file when he made his first request under the

Act. The court reasoned that the word “Ethics” was not a

personal identifier of the plaintiff and thus did not fall within

the definition of a “record” as “any item, collection, or

grouping of information about an individual that is main-

24

tained by an agency . . . that contains his name, or the identi-

fying number, symbol, or other identifying particular as-

signed to the individual.” 5 U.S.C. § 552a(a)(4). See Gowan

v. United States Department of Air Force, 148 F.3d 1182,

1191 (10" Cir. 1998).

In another Tenth Circuit decision, a plaintiff's request un-

der the Act to obtain access to a document was denied be-

cause it was not part of a “system of records,”

notwithstanding that it contained information relating to the

plaintiff, since it was not retrievable by the plaintiff's name

or other identifying symbol. See Wren v. Heckler, 744 F.2d

86, 89 (10 Cir. 1984). Retrieval of the document was ac-

complished by a document search, and access to the file was

limited to three employees of the agency. Jd.

The Eleventh Circuit appears also to have taken the nar-

row view of what constitutes a “system of records.” It held

in Boyd v. Secretary of Navy, 709 F.2d 684, 686 (1 1* Cir.

1983), cert. denied sub nom. Boyd v. Lehman, 464 U.S. 1043

(1984), that individuals have a right to access under the Pri-

vacy Act only to information in a record that is maintained in

a system of records cued to the requestor’s own name or

identifier. The court noted that the memorandum sought by

the plaintiff was not in a “system of records” because it was ~

not keyed to his name or any identifying number, was kept in

a “random-type” file, and could be re<ieved only by search-

ing through the file. 709 F.2d at 686-87.

These decisions ignore the express terms of the Act; its

legislative history, which indicates that the Act was intended

to afford citizens the broadest powers to ascertain what in-

formation about them held in agencies’ files had been re-

25

leased to others; and the reality of modern data retrieval sys-

tems, which permit anyone with a nodding familiarity with

computers to retrieve almost instantaneously any information

about a particular individual that is contained in computer-

ized files, no matter how voluminous.

Only this Court has the authority to return to the citizens

of this county the important rights and safeguards that were

intended by Congress when it enacted the Privacy Act more

than a quarter of a century ago. The confusion that currently

exists about the scope of protection afforded under the Pri-

vacy Act can be stated simply. Can the citizen assert his

rights under the Act whenever information can be found

about him in an agency file, or only when his name or other

identifier appears on the file?

II. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE AN

APPARENT CONFLICT AMONG THE

CIRCUITS ON WHAT CONSTITUTES AN

“ADVERSE DETERMINATION” WITHIN THE

MEANING OF THE PRIVACY ACT OF 1974.

The Privacy Act provides that an individual can bring an

action against that

fails to maintain any record concerning [the] indi-

vidual with such accuracy, relevance, timeliness,

and completeness as is necessary to assure fairness

in any determination relating to the qualifications,

character, rights, or opportunities of, or benefits to

the individual that may be made on the basis of

such record, and consequently a determination is

made which is adverse to the individual. . .

26

5 U.S.C. § 552a (g) (1) (C) (emphasis added). Courts are in

disagreement about what is meant by an adverse determina-

tion, a conflict that only this Court can resolve.

i. The view that a determination is adverse only when it

has been made by the defendant agency

The Fifth Circuit stated in its opinion below that the de-

fendant agencies asked it to hold that the word “determina-

tion” as used in Section 552a (g) (1) (B) must mean

“something akin to a formal or final administrative decision.”

Bettersworth .v FDIC, 248 F.3d 386, 393 (5™ Cir. 2001). Al-

though the Court declined to go that far, it affirmed the Dis-

trict Court’s conclusion that Mr. Bettersworth’s adverse

determination claim failed because there was no evidence of

an adverse administrative determination against him. /d.

The D.C. Circuit has taken the position that the critical

phrase in the Act “consequently a determination is made”

means that the adverse determination need not to be made by

the agency that is being sued by the plaintiff in order for a

damage actions to properly lie. The court reasoned:

This choice of grammar, which is the only time the

passive voice is used in the section dealing with

civil remedies, unambiguously subjects [the defen-

dant agency] to a damage action when an adverse

determination “is made,” whether by [the defen-

dant agency] or by another agency.

Dickson v. Office of Personnel Management, 828 F.2d 32, 37

(D.C. Cir. 1987).

27

iii. The view that the plaintiff's response to the agency's

objectionable is not an “adverse determination 7

Although the Ninth Circuit did not rule definitively on

whether only an agency can make an “adverse determina-

tion,” its decision in one case that the plaintiff's resignation

as a result of his unacceptable treatment at the hands of the

agency did not constitute an “adverse determination” based

upon personnel records permitting the award of damages un-

der the Privacy Act. See Hewitt v. Grabicki, 794 F.2d 1373,

1379 (9 Cir. 1986). In short, the confusion that exists

among the Circuits regarding the meaning of an “adverse

determination” under the Act limits the Act’s effectiveness as

a remedy for an aggrieved citizen.

28

CONCLUSION

The undersigned respectfully requests that this Court grant

certiorari in this matter for the reasons stated above.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL WALSH, ESQ.

Of Counsel

621 Colfax Avenue

Scranton, Pennsylvania 18510

(570) 969-1969

JAMES S. BETTERSWORTH, ESQ.

Attorney of Record

RUTHERFORD @ RUTHERFORD

& BETTERSWORTH

825 S. St. Mary’s Street

San Antonio, TX 78205-3408

(210) 225-4200

la

APPENDIX A - ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT,

FILED JUNE 12, 2001

No. 00-50262

JAMES A. BETTERSWORTH,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION; OF-

FICE OF THE COMPTROLLER OF THE CURRENCY;

BOARD OF THE FEDERAL RESERVE; FEDERAL RE-

SERVE BANK OF KANSAS CITY,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

For the Western District of Texas, Austin

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING

Before REAVLEY, SMITH, and DeMOSS, Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

IT IS ORDERD that the petition for rehearing is DE-

NIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

s/ Harold R. DeMoss

United States Circuit Judge

2a

APPENDIX B - JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH

CIRCUIT, FILED APRIL 12, 2001

No. 00-50262

D.C. Docket No. A-97-CV-624-JN

JAMES A. BETTERSWORTH,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION; OF-

FICE OF THE COMPTROLLER OF THE CURRENCY;

BOARD OF THE FEDERAL RESERVE; FEDERAL RE-

SERVE BANK OF KANSAS CITY,

Defendants-Appeliees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

For the Western District of Texas, Austin

Before REAVLEY, SMITH, and DeMOSS, Circuit Judges.

JUDGMENT

This cause was considered on the record on appeal and was

argued by counsel.

3a

It is ordered and adjudged that the judgment of the District

Court is affirmed.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that plaintiff-appellant pay to

defendants-appellees the cost on appeal to be taxed by the

Clerk of this Court.

ISSUED AS MANDATE: Jun 20, 2001

4a

APPENDIX C - OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT,

FILED MAY 12, 2001

Revised May 3, 2001

No. 00-50262

JAMES A. BETTERSWORTH,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

VERSUS

FEDERAL DEPOSIT INSURANCE CORPORATION; OF-

FICE OF THE COMPTROLLER OF THE CURRENCY;

BOARD OF THE FEDERAL RESERVE; FEDERAL RE-

SERVE BANK OF KANSAS CITY,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

For the Western District of Texas

Before REAVLEY, SMITH, and DeMOSS, Circuit Judges.

DeMOSS, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff James A. Bettersworth appeals the district court’s

order granting summary judgment in favor of defendants,

the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC), the Of-

Sa

fice of the Comptroller of the Currency (Office of the

Comptroller of the Currency), the Board of Governors of the

Federal Reserve System (the Board), and the Federal Re-

serve Bank of Kansas City (the Reserve Bank), and dis-

missing his claims. We affirm.

I. BACKGROUND

Bettersworth has an extensive background in the banking

industry, which is well documented in the summary judg-

ment record before the Court. Between 1973 and 1980, Bet-

tersworth was employed by the First National Bank of

Seguin. In 1981, Bettersworth formed Southwest Commer-

cial Capital, Inc. (SWCC), which is described as a venture

capital company. In 1983, Bettersworth founded First Com-

mercial Bank of Seguin, Texas (FCB), a federally chartered

bank, where he served as Chief Executive Officer and

Chairman of the Board until 1989. In 1984, Bettersworth

formed Southwesterr. ComCorp, Incorporated (ComCorp), a

non-bank holding company. Bettersworth also formed a sec-

ond small business investment company called Southwestern

Venture Capital (SVC). Bettersworth placed SWCC and

SVC under the umbrella of ComCorp. Bettersworth owned

either a participaiory interest or a management position or

both in these ventures. Bettersworth also owned a controlling

interest or management position in other related financial

institutions.

In 1987, ComCorp acquired the Republic Bank of Tecum-

seh, Oklahoma (RBT) by foreclosure, and Bettersworth as-

sumed control of RBT. The Bank Holding Company Act

(BHCA), 12 U.S.C. § 1841-1850, provides that no company

may gain control of a bank without prior approval of the

6a

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. See 12

U.S.C. § 1841; id. § 1842(a). The Act contains an exception

to the requirement for prior Board approval when controlling

interest in a bank is obtained in the course of collecting upon

a previously contracted debt. 12 U.S.C. § 1841(a). In such a

case, the company assuming control of the bank must divest

itself of the acquired bank shares within two years. Id. That

two-year period may be extended one year at a time, but the

maximum time period during which a company may hold

shares giving it a controlling interest in a bank is five years.

Id. ComCorp’s foreclosure of a debt owed by one of RBT’s

officers and guaranteed by RBT assets fell within the fore-

closure exception to the requirement for prior Board ap-

proval. Moreover, ComCorp received an extension, which

permitted ComCorp to hold RBT for up to five years, or until

December 1993, before securing Board approval or divesting

itself of the RBT assets.

In 1989 or 1990, Bettersworth resigned from his positions

with FCB and RBT. Bettersworth also lost control of Com-

Corp. In early 1993, Bettersworth and a partner regained

controlling interest in ComCorp. In October 1993, ComCorp

filed an application for bank holding company (BHC) status

under the BHCA with the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas

City (the Reserve Bank). Federal Reserve Banks are author-

ized to receive and review applications for BHC status. The

controlling regulations permit the Reserve Bank to either ap-

prove the application or to refer it to the Board. See 12

C.F.R. § 225.15. Thus, the Reserve Bank has no authority to

finally deny an application for BHC status. When consider-

ing whether to approve an application for BHC status, the

Board is authorized to consider inter alia “the financial and

7a

managerial resources and future prospects of the company or

companies and the banks concerned,” id. § 1842(c)(2), which

in turn includes “consideration of the competence, experi-

ence, and integrity of the officers, directors, and principal

shareholders of the company or bank, id. § 1842(c)(5).

ComCorp’s application for BHC status proposed that

ComCorp retain 100 percent of RBT. The application dis-

closed Bettersworth’s prior affiliations with FCB and RBT.

Accordingly, Pamela Johnson, the Reserve Bank official as-

signed to review the application, began retrieving and re-

viewing the records maintained by other banking regulatory

agencies on those banks.

Johnson reviewed OCC records relating to the financial

condition and management of FCB.' Those records included

unfavorable assessments of both the condition of the bank

and the bank’s management, including Bettersworth. Rec-

ords from bank examinations conducted shortly after Better-

sworth left FCB reported that the bank was in bad financial

shape and suggested that Bettersworth’s placement of SBA

loans generated by ComCoprp or its affiliates contributed to

the bank’s poor financial status. Johnson also reviewed the

OCC’s Supervisory Monitoring System (SMS), a confiden-

tial database maintained by the OCC and accessible with a

password by other banking regulatory agencies. The SMS

' The Office of the Comptroller of the Currency (OCC) is the pri-

mary federal regulator of nationally chartered banks. OCC is in-

volved in this case because of Bettersworth’s affiliation with FCB,

a federally chartered bank that was a member of the Federal Re-

serve System.

‘ 4

3

'

8a

likewise contained an entry blaming Bettersworth and an-

other individual for the “bank’s poor condition,” and con-

cluding that “these individuals should not be approved in an

executive capacity at a troubled institution.” Bettersworth

identifies this statement in the OCC database as an adverse

determination within the meaning of the Privacy Act, 5

U.S.C. § 552a(g)(1)(c).

Johnson also reviewed FDIC’ records relating to the fi-

nancial condition and management of RBT. Those records

included unfavorable assessments of both the condition of

the bank and the bank’s management, including Better-

sworth. Records from examinations conducted after Better-

sworth left RBT reported that the bank was in bad financial

shape and suggested that Bettersworth’s placement of SBA

loans generated by ComCorp or its affiliates contributed to

the bank’s poor financial status. Certain records also sug-

gested that Bettersworth and another individual forced RBT

into foreclosure so that SWCC could obtain the assets of

RBT without having to comply with the BHCA.

Johnson also telephoned OCC and FDIC examiners fa-

miliar with FCB and RBT examinations and discussed these

matters with the examiners. Johnson also consulted internal

Reserve Bank records. Through her investigations, Johnson

2 FDIC is a corporation created by Congress, which insures the

deposits of banks and savings associations. FDIC is also the pri-

mary federal regulator for state chartered banks that are not mem-

bers of the Federal Reserve System. FDIC is involved in the case

because of Bettersworth’s affiliation with RBT, a state chartered

bank that was not a member of the Federal Reserve System.

9a

learned that the banks had charged off large loans made to

Bettersworth or his companies. Bettersworth’s personal

guarantee on one such loan had forced his own personal

bankruptcy. In sum, Johnson’s investigation generated sig-

nificant questions concerning, among other things, the RBT

foreclosure, Bettersworth’s decision to place a substantial

number of SBA loans generated by his own companies with

banks which he also controlled, and Bettersworth’s failure to

honor or default upon certain loans extended to him person-

ally or to his companies by the banks which he managed.

Johnson eventually authored a memo to Reserve Bank vice-

president Stephen McBride, setting out the problems with

ComCorp’s BHCA application.

On November 5, 1993, Reserve Bank vice-president

McBride issued a letter stating that the Reserve Bank had

completed its review and identified several areas of concern

with respect to the application. The areas of concern were

stated in some detail and specific questions were posed at the

end of the letter, the answers to which could have signifi-

cantly enhanced the possibility of approval. The letter con-

cluded that, based upon the existing information, the

prospects for approval were “extremely dim,” and that any

further application would be considered directly by the

Board. ComCorp did not, however, pursue the application

further by providing the specific information requested in an

amended application to the Board. Rather, ComCorp aban-

doned the application and negotiated the sale of RBT, which

closed in early 1994.

In 1995, Bettersworth decided he wanted to start a new

bank in Lakeway, Texas and began trying to clear his name.

10a

After informal efforts failed, Bettersworth made Privacy Act

requests in October 1995. Bettersworth requested records on

himself, stating three variations on his name. The agencies

responded that they either did not have records responsive to

his request or that the documents they had were not subject

to the Privacy Act. Bettersworth subsequently learned that

the agencies maintained confidential records relating to bank

examinations that sometimes contained comments about

bank management. Bettersworth made another Privacy Act

request for those records, which was denied because the rec-

ords were not kept in a “system of records” tied to his name.

There does not appear to be any dispute about the fact that

these records were maintained, in accordance with the agen-

cies’ regulatory purpose, in files on the banks with which

Bettersworth was affiliated rather than in a file on Better-

sworth.

Il. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

In August 1997, Bettersworth filed suit claiming that the

defendant agencies violated his rights under the Privacy Act,

5 U.S.C. § 552a. Bettersworth raised three claims. First,

Bettersworth claimed that the agencies denied his request for

access to information about him in a Privacy Act system of

records, in violation of 5 U.S.C. § 552a(d)(1) (obligating an

agency to provide access to covered records); see also id.

§ 552a(g)(1)(B) (providing a civil remedy for violation of

§ 552a(d)(1)). Second, Bettersworth claimed that the agen-

cies made a number of adverse determinations about him on

the basis of inaccurate and incomplete records, in violation

of 5 U.S.C. § 552a(g)(1)(C). Finally, Bettersworth claimed

lla

that the agencies violated subsection 552a(e)(1) (requiring

that agencies maintain only such records as are required to

perform a legitimate agency function) and subsection

552a(e)(7) (prohibiting the maintenance of records describ-

ing how an individual exercised First Amendment rights un-

less authorized by statute or the subject individual) “in such

a way as to have an adverse effect on” him. See 5 U.S.C.

§ 552a(g)(1)(D).’

In January 1998, the agencies filed a motion to dismiss,

which was denied. In February 1999, Bettersworth amended

his complaint to allege additional facts in support of his three

Privacy Act claims. In June 1999, Bettersworth moved for

partial summary judgment on the access claim. That same

month, the agencies filed a motion to dismiss, or in the alter-

native, for summary judgment. The district court referred the

motions to a magistrate judge, who recommended that the

agencies’ motion be granted. Bettersworth filed objections,

and the district court conducted a de novo review, after

which the district court granted the agencies’ motion and

> Bettersworth also alleged that the agencies violated subsection

552a(e)(S) which requires agencies to “maintain all records which

are used by the agency in making any determination about any

individual with such accuracy, relevance, timeliness, and com-

pleteness as is reasonably necessary to assure fairness to the indi-

vidual in the determination.” This statutory obligation is made

enforceable by substantively identical language in subsection

552a(g)(1)(C). Bettersworth’s allegation under subsection

552a(e)(5) is therefore subsumed by his allegation under subsec-

tion 552a(g)(1)(C).

12a

dismissed all of Bettersworth’s claims with prejudice. Bet-

tersworth filed a timely notice of appeal.

Summary judgment is appropriate when there are no

" genuine issues of material fact, and the moving party is enti-

tled to judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56. A

moving party may rely upon the absence of evidence to sup-

port an essential element of the non-movant’s case. See

Duffy v. Leading Edge Prods., 44 F.3d 308, 310 (Sth Cir.

1995). Once that showing is made, the non-moving party is

required to come forward with specific and credible facts

that would support a reasonable inference of liability with

respect to the essential elements of the non-moving party’s

claims. /d. Thus, the district court was charged with exam-

ining the summary judgment evidence to determine whether

there was evidence supporting each of the essential elements

of Bettersworth’s access, adverse determination, and adverse

effect claims under the Privacy Act. We review the district

court’s decision granting summary judgment de novo, ap-

plying the same standards as did the district court. /d. at 312.

Ill. BETTERSWORTH’S ACCESS CLAIM

Subsection 552a(d)(1) of the Privacy Act provides that

each agency that maintains a system of records shall:

(1) upon request by any individual to gain access to

his record or to any information pertaining to him

which is contained in the system, permit him and

upon his request, a person of his own choosing to

accompany him, to review the record and have a

copy made of all or any portion thereof in a form

comprehensible to him, except that the agency may

watt

l3a

require the individual to furnish a written statement

authorizing discussion of that individual’s record

in the accompanying person’s presence.

5S U.S.C. § 552a(d)(1). Subsection 552a(a)(5) defines

“system of records” as follows:

(5) the term “system of records” means a group of

any records under the control of any agency from

which the information is retrieved by the name of

the individual or by some identifying number,

symbol, or other identifying particular assigned to

the individual.

5 U.S.C. § 552a(a)(5). Subsection 552a(g)(1) provides a civil

remedy for violation of subsection 552a(d)(1).

The threshold issue in any claim alleging denial of access

under the Privacy Act is whether the records sought by the

plaintiff are maintained in a “system of records” retrievable

by an “identifying particular assigned to” the plaintiff. This

qualifying language in the statute reflects a statutory com-

promise between affording individuals access to those rec-

ords relating directly to them and protecting federal agencies

from the burdensome task of searching through agency rec-

ords for mere mention of an individual’s name. Many of the

published Privacy Act cases are aimed at giving meaning to

this statutory requirement. See, e.g., Gowan v. United States

Dep't of the Air Force, 148 F.3d 1182, 1191 (10th Cir. 1998)

(file marked “ethics” was not a surrogate identifier for plain-

tiff under ethics investigation and thus records were not ac-

cessible under the Privacy Act, even though the file

contained information about the plaintiff); Hudson v. Reno,

14a

130 F.3d 1193, 1206 (6th Cir. 1997) (records not accessible

under the Privacy Act because not retrievable by the plain-

tiff's name); Henke v. United States Dep 't of Commerce, 83

F.3d 1453 (D.C. Cir. 1996) (records not accessible under the

Privacy Act, even though agency could search for the rec-

ords by the plaintiff's name, because the agency as a practi-

cal matter did not use the information that way); Cuccaro v.

Secretary of Labor, 770 F.2d 355, 359-60 (3d Cir. 1985)

(documents relating to agency’s investigation of accident

involving plaintiff were not tied to plaintiff's name and thus

not accessible under the Privacy Act); Wren v. Heckler, 744

F.2d 86, 90 (10th Cir. 1994) (records not accessible under

the Privacy Act because not retrievable by the plaintiff's

name, even though the information related to plaintiff).

The district court held that the records Bettersworth

wants, primarily information retrieved by Reserve Bank ex-

aminer Johnson from various agencies and then included in

Reserve Bank files concerning ComCorp’s application for

BHC status, were not maintained in a system of records re-

trievable by Bettersworth’s name, and were therefore not ac-

cessible under § 552a(d)(1). There does not appear to be any

dispute about the fact that the records were maintained in

files referencing the banks with which Bettersworth was as-

sociated, rather than Bettersworth personally. Further, there

does not appear to be any dispute about the fact that the files

were maintained for the purpose of discharging the responsi-

bilities vested by federal law with the defendant agencies.

Bettersworth urges the Court to interpret the statute

broadly to require that he be given access to the agencies’

records in this case because the records pertained to him.

15a

Alternatively, Bettersworth maintains that the agencies used

the bank files as surrogate identifiers for records pertaining

to him. We decline to interpret the statute in a manner that

would deny meaning to the statutory language requiring that

the records be retrievable “by some identifying number,

symbol, or other identifying particular assigned to the indi-

vidual.” 5 U.S.C. § 552a(a)(5); id. § 552a(d)(1). Moreover,

Bettersworth’s assertion that the agencies used the bank files

as a surrogate identifier for information relating to him finds

no support in the record. For these reasons, we affirm the

district court’s dismissal of Bettersworth’s claim that he was

denied access to records subject to disclosure under the Pri-

vacy Act.

IV. BETTERSWORTH’S ADVERSE

DETERMINATION CLAIM

Subsection 552a(g)(1)(C) provides a civil remedy when-

ever an agency:

fails to maintain any record concerning any indi-

vidual with such accuracy, relevance, timeliness,

and completeness as is necessary to assure fairness

in any determination relating to the qualifications,

character, rights, or opportunities of, or benefits to

the individual that may be made on the basis of

such record, and consequently a determination is

made which is adverse to the individual.

5 U.S.C. § 552a(g)(1)(C). Bettersworth’s adverse determina-

tion claim is premised almost entirely upon the Reserve

Bank’s handling of ComCorp’s BHCA application. Specifi-

l6a

cally, Bettersworth claims that the following items constitute

adverse determinations against him within the meaning of §

552a(g)(1)(C): (1) Reserve Bank vice-president McBride’s

November 5, 1993 letter informing ComCorp that the pros-

pects for approval of its BHCA application were extremely

dim, and that further applications would be reviewed directly

by the Board; (2) oral statements made by McBride during a

telephone conversation with Bettersworth’s lawyers about

the viability of ComCorp’s BHCA application; (3) Reserve

Bank examiner Johnson’s working papers and notes prepared

in the course of her review of ComCorp’s BHCA applica-

tion; and (4) the entry in the OCC’s SMS database flagging

Bettersworth’s role in the financial decline of FCB. The dis-

trict court held that Bettersworth’s adverse determination

claim failed as a matter of law because none of the various

statements and writings identified by Bettersworth consti-

tuted an “adverse determination” within the meaning of the

statute.

The district court held that McBride’s November 5, 1993

letter was the only item relied upon by Bettersworth which

even potentially constituted an adverse determination. The

remaining items concern information allegedly relied upon to

draft that jetter.* The district court held that McBride’s No-

* On this point, we note that Bettersworth’s allegations do not di-

rectly identify adverse determinations made by each and every

defendant agency. To the contrary, Bettersworth premises his

claim against the other defendants primarily upon the fact that the

Reserve Bank accessed and relied upon records from the other

agencies when making its determination. At least one court has

recognized that such a connection may be sufficient to support

17a

vember 5, 1993 letter did not constitute a determination be-

cause the letter identified other reasons for the Reserve

Bank’s disinclination to approve the application. The district

court also suggested that ComCorp (or Bettersworth) decided

not to pursue an application with the Board because there

were no Satisfactory answers to the legitimate questions

asked in McBride’s letter.

The agencies argue that the November 5, 1993 letter can-

not be considered an adverse determination because the Re-

serve Bank had no authority to deny ComCorp’s application.

The controlling regulations permit only two courses of ac-

tion; the Reserve Bank can either approve an application for

BHC status or refer it to the Board for further consideration.

See 12 C.F.R. § 225.15. Thus, the agencies maintain that

there could be no determination unless and until ComCorp

forwarded an application to the Board and it was finally de-

nied. See Deters v. United States Parole Comm'n, 85 F.3d

655 (D.C. 1996). Given that ComCorp abandoned that effort,

the matter was terminated before an administrative determi-

nation could be made. In this same vein, the defendant agen-

cies maintain that, even if the November 5, 1993 letter

constituted a determination of any sort, it would be a deter-

mination against ComCorp, the company making the appli-

cation, rather than against Bettersworth personally. Having

reviewed the record, we are persuaded that the diverse

liability. See Dickson, 828 F.2d at 36. Because we affirm the dis-

trict court’s decision that the items identified by Bettersworth do

not constitute an adverse determination under the statute in any

event, we need not and do not decide whether such a showing is

sufficient in this Circuit.

18a

grounds relied upon in the Reserve Bank’s letter, coupled

with the fact that ComCorp was the entity applying for

BHCA status, provide adequate support for the district

court’s conclusion that the November 5, 1993 letter did not

constitute an adverse determination against Bettersworth

within the meaning of § 552a(g)(1)(C).

With regard to the remaining items identified by Better-

sworth as adverse determinations, the agencies ask the Court

to hold that the word “determination” as used in the statute

must mean something akin tu a formal or final administrative

decision. We need not go that far in order to say that no de-

termination was made in this case. At the very least, informal

oral or written statements made in the deliberative process

about a particular administrative determination do not con-

stitute the determination itself. We therefore affirm the dis-

trict court’s conclusion that Bettersworth’s adverse

determination claim fails because there was no evidence of

an adverse administrative determination against him. See 5

U.S.C. § 552a(g)(1)(C) (providing that the determination

must be adverse “to the individual”).

V. BETTERSWORTH’S ADVERSE EFFECT CLAIM

Subsection 552a(g)(1)(D) provides for a civil remedy

whenever an agency “fails to comply with any other provi-

sion of this section, or any rule promulgated thereunder, in

such a way as to have an adverse effect on an individual.”

Bettersworth asserts that the defendant agencies kept infor-

mation on him that was unnecessary to the agencies’ man-

dated purpose, in violation of subsection 552a(e)(1), and that

the agency maintained records describing Bettersworth’s ex-

ercise of his First Amendment rights, in violation of subsec-

- geese ane

19a

tion 552a(e)(7). Beyond these general assertions, Better-

sworth does not describe what portions of which records

maintained by which agencies show such violations. Better-

sworth simply states that the cause of action is supported by

his affidavit. Bettersworth then relies upon the district

court’s failure to address this claim in detail to excuse his

own duty to brief it on appeal.

Federal Rule of Appellate Procedure 28 requires that ap-

pellate parties provide cogent argument, supported by cita-

tion to relevant authorities, statutes, and the record, for all

points raised on appeal. Without such argument, this Court is

in no position to provide any meaningful review. In the ab-

sence of such briefing, we decline to address Bettersworth’s

claim that the district court erroneously dismissed his

§ 552a(g)(1)(D) claim. See, e.g., Matter of T-H New Orleans

Ltd. Partnership, 116 F.3d 790, 796 (Sth Cir. 1997); Mead-

owbriar Home for Children, Inc. v. Gunn, 81 F.3d 521, 532

(Sth Cir. 1996).

CONCLUSION

The district court’s order granting summary judgment in

favor of the defendants (the Federal Deposit Insurance Cor-

poration, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, and the

Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City) and dismissing plain-

tiff Bettersworth’s Privacy Act claims with prejudice is AF-

FIRMED.

20a

APPENDIX D- REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

OF THE UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE IN

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS, AUSTIN

DIVISION, FILED FEBRUARY 1, 2000

A-97-CA-624 JN

JAMES A. BETTERSWORTH

Plaintiff,

V.

FDIC, OCC, BOARD OF GOVERNORS OF THE FEDERAL

RESERVE SYSTEM & FEDERAL RESERVE BANK

Defendants.

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION OF THE

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

TO: THEHONORABLE JAMES R. NOWLIN

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Before the Court is Plaintiff's Motion for Partial Summary

Judgement (Doc. #55); Defendants’ Joint Opposition to

Plaintiffs Motion for Partial Summary Judgment (Doc.

#70); Plaintiff's Reply to Defendants’ Joint Opposition (Doc.

#88); Exhibit A to Plaintiff's Motion for Leave to Supple-

ment Summary Judgment Record (Doc. #110); Defendants’

Joint Motion to Dismiss or in the Alternative for Summary

Judgment (Doc. #57); Defendants’ Proposed Findings of

Uncontroverted Facts (Doc. #52); Plaintiffs Response to

2la

Defendants’ Joint Motion to Dismiss or in the Alternative

Summary Judgment (Doc. #72); and Defendants’ Joint Reply

(Doc. #81). These dispositive motions were referred by

United States Chief District Judge James R. Nowlin to the

undersigned for a Report and Recommendation as to the

merits of the motions pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b), Rule

72 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, and Rule 1(d) of

Appendix C of the Local Rules of the United States District

Court for the Western District of Texas. After reviewing the

parties’ pleadings, relevant case law, as well as the entire

case file, the undersigned issues the following Report and

Recommendation to the District Court.

I. BACKGROUND

Plaintiff, James Bettersworth, and Defendants, Federal De-

posit Insurance Corporation (“FDIC”), the Office of the

Controller of the Currency (“OCC”), the Board of Governors

of the Federal Reserve System (“Board”), and the Federal

Reserve Bank of Kansas City (“Reserve Bank”), have filed

cross-motions for summary judgment. Bettersworth was the

Chief Executive Officer (“CEQ”) and Chairman of the Board

(“COB”) of Southwestern ComCorp., Inc. (“ComCorp”).

Following a foreclosure on a debt, ComCorp acquired all

voting shares of Republic Bank of Tecumeseh, Tecumeseh,

Texas (“Republic”) in December 1988. ComCorp decided to

retain its controlling shares of Republic. Pursuant to the

Bank Holding Company Act’s requirement that the Board

approve all such acquisitions, see 12 U.S.C. §§ 1842 (a)(1),

1841 (a)(1)-(2), ComCorp submitted a draft holding com-

pany application to the Reserve Bank. The draft application

revealed Bettersworth was the CEO and COB of Republic

from August 1987 to May 1989, and that he had also been

22a

CEO and COB of First Commercial Bank (“First Commer-

cial”) in Seguin, Oklahoma from May 1983 to May 1990.

On November 5, 1993, the Reserve Bank responded to

Bettersworth’s draft application with comments outlining

concerns with the application, including managerial and fi-

nancial factors that must be considered under the Bank

Holding Company Act. See 12 U.S.C. § 1842 (c)(2). The

comments detailed concerns with the financial stability of

both banks during the time periods Bettersworth served as

their CEO and COB. Reserve Bank finally commented that

these considerations were not consistent with Board approval

largely because Republic had a unfavorable financial condi-

tion and ComCorp’s debt servicing requirements wouid

place too great a strain on the Bank. The Reserve Bank sug-

gested that if ComCorp wanted to pursue the Application

with the Board, it should include a list of additional informa-

tion. ComCorp did not pursue the application with the

Board, and instead sold Republic in March of 1994.

In late 1995, Bettersworth submitted separate requests,

pursuant to the Privacy Act, to all Defendants for the agen-

cies’ files on “James Austin Bettersworth, James A. Better-

sworth, or J. A. Bettersworth.” Each Defendant agency

responded they did not have records maintained under any of

those names and his request was therefore not subject to the

Privacy Act or the Freedom of Information Act.

On August 27, 1997, Bettersworth filed this cause of action

alleging that Defendants maintained “secret records” con-

cerning him that were contained in “confidential portions” of

the OCC and the FDIC bank examination reports, and that

the Reserve Bank used these secret records to comment on

23a

the sufficiency of ComCorp’s 1993 draft application.’ Bet-

tersworth’s Complaint contains three allegations of Privacy

Act violations: (1) that Defendants failed to give him access

to these secret records; (2) that Defendants kept inaccurate

information resulting in an adverse determination against

him; and (3) that Defendants failed to keep only those rec-

ords that are relevant to fulfill an agency’s statutory purpose.

Defendant’s previously filed a motion to dismiss present-

ing largely the same arguments as their current motion for

summary judgment. The District court denied the motion

stating Bettersworth had sufficiently alleged violations of the

Act, but inviting Defendants to present the arguments in a

properly supported motion for summary judgment. (Doc.

#25).

Ii. ANALYSIS

A. Standard of Review

Summary judgment is appropriate under Rule 56(c) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure only “if the pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on

file, together with affidavits, if any, show that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving

' Bettersworth’s amended complaint additionally alleges that De-

fendant OCC maintained its secret records concerning him in its

electronic and paper files for First Commerce. He further alleges

that in a OCC Aug. 1991 Supervisory comment the OCC and an

adverse regulatory determination under section 914 of the Finan-

cial Institution Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989,

12 U.S.C. § 18311,

24a

party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ.

P. 56(c). A dispute is genuine only if the evidence is such

that a reasonable jury could return a verdict for the non-

moving party. See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S.

242 (1986).

The party seeking summary judgment bears the burden of

showing that there is an absence of evidence to support the

non-movant’s case. See Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 US.

317 (1986); Coleman v. Houston Independent School Dis-

trict, 13 F.3d 528, 533 (5" Cir. 1997). After a proper motion

for summary judgment is made, the non-movant must set

forth specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue of

material fact for trial. See Anderson, 477 U.S. at 248.

The Court views facts in the light most favorable to the

non-movant and draws all reasonable inferences in his favor.

See Coleman, 113 F.3d at 533. Unsupported allegations or

affidavit or deposition testimony setting forth ultimate or

conclusory facts and conclusions of law are insufficient to

defeat a proper motion for summary judgment. See Duffy v.

Leading Edge Products, Inc., 44 F.3d 308, 312 (5" Cir.

1995). Applying these standards, the undersigned turns to

the merits of the motions for summary of judgment.

B. Privacy Act

The privacy act was enacted in 1974 in an effort to im-

prove the quality of information concerning individuals

maintained in agency filed. See Henke v. United States De-

partment of Commerce, 83 F.3d 1453, 1456 (D.C. Cir.

1996). The Privacy Act provides, in pertinent part:

et

25a

each agency that maintains a system of records

shall . . . upon request by an individual to gain ac-

cess to his record or to any information pertaining

to him which is contained in the system, permit

him . . . to review the record and have a copy

made...

5 U.S.C. § 552a (d)(1). The Act defines a “system of rec-

ords” as:

a group of any records under the control of any

agency from which information is retrieved by the

name of the individual or by some identifying

number, symbol, or other identifying particular as-

signed to the individual.

Id. § 552a (a) (b). The Act encourages government agencies

to keep accurate records by requiring them to maintain all

records which are used by the agency in making any deter-

mination about any individual with accuracy, relevance,

timeliness, and completeness as is reasonably necessary to

assure fairness. See id §522a (e) (5). The Act further pro-

hibits disclosure of any record contained in a system of rec-

ords by any means of communication to any other person or

any other agency unless the individual has given prior writ-

ten consent, except if disclosure of the information would be

required under the Freedom of Information Act.? See Id.

552a (b) (2).

* The Freedom of Information Act reflects a general philosophy of

full agency disclosure with certain delineated statutory exemp-

26a

C. Bettersworth’s Claim for Access to Defendants’

Records

Bettersworth’s first claim is that Defendants maintained

secret records concerning him which are subject to the Pri-

vacy Act. In order for the Privacy Act to apply, Bettersworth

must establish that the agency maintains a system of records

by which they can retrieve records by his name or a number

or identifier assigned to him, and that Defendants withheld

these records from him. See 5 U.S.C. § 552a (g) (1) (C).

Bettersworth does not dispute that Defendants do not main-

tain files under his name; however, he argues he is entitled to

Defendants’ files which contain any references to him.

Generally, Defendants are authorized to evaluate, and in

fact are charged with the duty of evaluating, the performance

of banking management which involves, inter alia, evaluat-

ing individual bank officers through periodic bank examina-

tions. See 12 U.S.C. §§ 325, 481, 1820 (b) and (d).

Specifically, the Board is charged with the administration of

the Bank Holding Company Act which prohibits a company

from holding more that twenty-five (25%) of voting shares in

a bank without Board approval. See 12 U.S.C. § 1841, ef.

seq. To this end, the Board assesses the financial and mana-

gerial resources of the applicant company and the bank. See

id. § 1842 (c) (2). The Board delegates the authority to ac-

cept and determine the informational completeness of appli-

cations for approval to the Federal Reserve Banks. See 12

C.F.R. § 225.15.

tions. See Dep't of Air Force v. Rose, 425 U.S. 352, 360-61

(1976).

27a

In this case, Reserve Bank was required to evaluate the

managerial competency of Bettersworth in connections with

reviewing ComCorp’s draft application to acquire Republic.

ComCorp’s draft applications revealed his previous supervi-

sory positions with First Commercial and Republic Bank.

Reserve Bank retrieved those institution’s examination files,

which contained as part of their examination information on

Bettersworth as a bank officer.

Accordingly, documents referencing Bettersworth do ap-

pear to exist. However, in responding to a request for infor-

mation, Congress does not impress upon a federal agency an

obligation to “comb its records for mention of a requestor’s

name.” See Connolly v. Comptroller of the Currency, 673

F.Supp. 1419, 1424 (S.D. Texas 1987), rev'd on other

grounds, 876 F.2d 1209 (5"™ Cir. 1989).

An agency is required to maintain records that are rea-

sonably relevant and necessary to accomplish a statutory

mandated purpose. See 5 U.S.C. § 552a (e)(1). The Office

of Management and Budget Guidelines provide cogent guid-

ance in this area.

Congress did not intend to require that an individ-

ual be given access to information which the

agency does not retrieve by reference to his or her

name or some other identifying particular. It an

individual is named in a record about someone else

(or some other type of entity) and his agency only

retrieves the portion pertaining to him by reference

to the other person’s name (or some other organi-

zation/subject identifier), the agency is not required

to grant him access. Indeed, if this were not the

28a

case, it would be necessary to establish elaborate

cross-reference among records, thereby increasing

the potential for privacy abuses.

40 Fed. Reg. 28, 957 (July 9, 1975). Bettersworth does not

dispute that Defendant agencies do not index their records

under an individual’s name. There is no evidence that this

system of record-keeping is a covert attempt to conceal in-

formation; but, instead, the summary judgment evidence es-

tablished the system is the most efficient system of

accomplishing each Defendant’s task of performing bank

examinations. There is no evidence that Defendant agencies

used financial institutions as a “surrogate identifier” for

Bettersworth. Bettersworth does not dispute the names of

the financial institutions for which he served as an officer

came from information he himself provided to Defendants.

An elaborate cross-referencing index would be unduly

burdensome on Defendants and would not further any statu-

torily mandated purposed. The summary judgment evidence

established that records referencing Bettersworth were dis-

covered in response to ComCorp’s draft applications by

pulling the examination files for the banks for which he

served as a financial officer. Because Bettersworth sought

files on “Bettersworth” and Defendants’ files are maintained

according to the name of the financial institution. there is no

requirement that Defendants make them accessible to Better-

sworth under Privacy Act. Therefore, the undersigned finds

that the records Bettersworth seeks are not subject to the Act

and he is not entitled to injunctive relief.

29a

D. Defendants Did Not Make and Adverse Determination

Bettersworth’s worth second claim is that Defendants

failed to maintain accurate records resulting in an adverse

determination against him and entitling him to damages un-

der 5 U.S.C. § 552a (g) (1) (c). Although at least one court

has held that the “system of records” requirement of 5 U.S.C.

§ 552a (d) (1) does not apply to 5 U.S.C. § 552a (g) (1) (c),?

the undersigned notes both sgetions contain the “system of

records” language and is unpersuaded that Congress intended

any other meaning than what has previously been applied.

Regardless, the undersigned finds that Bettersworth fails to

establish an adverse determination. The only opportunity for

Defendants to make a determination was ComCorp’s sub-

mission of a draft application to retain shares of Republic

and thereby become a bank holding company. As stated

previously, the Board delegated its authority to review hold-

ing company applications to Reserve Bank. Reserve Bank,

however, does not have the authority to deny an application

on behalf of the Board. Reserve Bank simply compiled a

commentary for ComCorp’s use in Filing a formal applica-

tion with the Board. )

Defendants’ summary judgment evidence establishes a

multitude of areas which were not consistent with Board ap-

proval. To be certain, some of these areas concerned Better-

sworth’s involvement in the past with less than financially

* See Connolly v. Comptroller of the Currency, 673 F.Supp. 1419,

1424 (S.D. Tex. 1987), rev'd on other grounds, 876 F.2d 1209 (5"

Cir. 1989)

30a

stable financial institutions. Perhaps these are areas that

Bettersworth could not improve for submission to the Board

and the Court suspects this is why ComCorp decided not to

pursue the application formally. However, the plain lan-

guage of the Privacy Act requires there can be an adverse

determination in order for damages to be assessed. See 5

U.S.C. § 552a (g) (1) (C). Because the commentary did not

amount to a determination, and indeed Reserve Bank lacked

the authority to make a determination. Bettersworth is not

entitled to damage pursuant to this section.

Ill. RECOMMENDATION

The undersigned recommends that the District Court

GRANT Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss or in the Alterna-

tive for Summary Judgment, DENY Plaintiff's Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment; and DISMISS WITH PREJU-

DICE Plaintiff's claims brought against Defendants. The

undersigned further recommends that all pending motions in

this case be denied as moot.

IV. OBJECTIONS

The parties may file objections to this Report and Recom-

mendation. A party filing objections must specifically iden-

tify those findings or recommendations to which objections

are being made. The District Court need not consider frivo-

lous, conclusive, or general objections. See Battis v. United

States Parole Comm'n, 834 F.2d 419, 421 (5" Cir. 1987).

A party’s failure to file written objections to the proposed

findings and recommendations contained in this Report

within ten (10) days after that party is served with a copy of

the Report shall bar that party from de novo review by the

3la

district court of the proposed findings and recommendations

in the Report and, except upon grounds of plain error, shall

bar the party from appellate review of unobjected-to pro-

posed factual findings and legal conclusions accepted by the

district court. See 28 U.S.C. § 636 (b) (1)(C); Thomas v.

Arn, 474 U.S. 140, 150-53 (1985); Douglass v. United Serv-

ice Auto Assoc., 79 F.3d 1415, 1428-29 (5"™ Cir. 1996) (en

banc).

The Clerk is directed to send a copy of this Report and

Recommendation to the parties by certified mail, return re-

ceipt requested.

SIGNED this 1“ day of February, 2000.

STEPHEN H. CAPELLE

UNITED STATES

MAGISTRATE JUDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.