Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Eddy Potash, Inc. v. Harrison

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

01 383 AUG 29 203

No. 01- OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

EDDY POTASH, INC.,

Petitioner,

v.

JEANNE HARRISON,

Respondent.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

—-~

—

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

W. T. Martin, JR.

Counsel of Record

Law Orrices OF W. T. Martin, JR., P.A.

509 W. Pierce St.

P.O. Box 2168

Carlsbad, NM 88221-2168

(505) 887-3528

Attorney for Petitioner

168392 g

COUNSEL PRESS

" (800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

A J

es he ei

a ee mney

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Should an employer be vicariously liable for supervisor

sexual harassment where:

a.

A reasonable employer has received a complaint

from an employee in a reasonable time period and

the employer promptly and reasonably acts to

remedy the harassment?

(or stated in an alternative manner)

b.

(and)

(or)

If an employer has in place reasonable preventive

and corrective opportunities, of which the alleged

victim reasonably avails herself/himself, should the

employer be able to escape vicarious liability for a

supervisor’s sexual harassment?

~~

Should the Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense be

clarified to address the issue stated in Ia and Ib

above.

Should the Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense be

modified to allow an employer to escape liability

for a supervisor’s creation of a hostile work

environment by proving both of the following

elements: (1) the employer exercised reasonable care

by creating and maintaining preventative and

remedial programs relating to sexual harassment;

and (2) the employer exercised reasonable care in

responding to notice that harassment has occurred,

thereby encouraging the employer to deal with

harassment before, while, and after it occurs?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Poesaabel .....444csxtiiacisteeneaun i

TORNG OF CORNING 6a nck Ua ee il

Table of Cited Authorities ...............00008. iv

Fable of Ageemeee uc ocak cea ae eat Vil

Crentons DORW ois 505 ies Release ene tees l

Statement Of JUrisGictwOM ok nc cc ccevtnacwees l

ee Pi te hy ot a l

Statement Of the C66 2. v4 6s:kikuees cana puav eens l

A. SneQeee 2065554555 l

DB. POM ooo scsbcannkeee eee 3

C. PROM 2.46655 eee 8

Reasons for Granting the Writ ................. 11

I. The Issue Of Whether An Employer Should

Be Held Vicariously Liable Where That

Employer Has Acted Reasonably And The

Employee Has Acted Reasonably By

Promptly Complaining Of The Harassment

(Availing Oneself Of Available Preventative

Or Corrective Measures) Should Be

Addressed By This Court ........ccesee. 11

II. The Ellerth/Faragher Affirmative Defense

(1) Fails To Address The Issue Of Vicarious

Liability Where The Employer Has Acted

Properly And Reasonably And (2) Defeats

The Goal Of Encouraging Employer Action

ee eS

is ee ee ed ORS

Contents

To Prevent Sexual Harassment By Imposing

Liability Upon An Employer Where It Has

Acted Reasonably And The Employee Has

Likewise Acted Reasonably, But Conversely,

Leaving The Employer Not Vicariously

Liable Where The Employee Has Not Acted

Reh eerie ka wh 6 vie oon aoe

A. Defense Counsel Journal Article (April,

ere ee

B. University of San Francisco Law Review

Article (Spring 2001) ..............

C. Fordham Law Review (March 2001) ..

D. Various Courts’ Commentary on the

Probiems with the Ellerth/Faragher

Affirmative Defense ...............

III. There Exists Conflict Between The United

States Circuit Courts Of Appeal On The

Application And Implementation Of The

Ellerth/Faragher Affirmative Defense ....

IV. The Need For Consistency On A Nationwide

Basis And The Importance Of The Federal

Law Applicable To This Case Warrant The

CE Mc venevndecesecceseus

I a a

Page

13

14

15

21

25

29

30

iv

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Barrett v. Applied Radiant Energy, 70 F. Supp.2d 644

(W.D. Va. 1999), aff'd in part, vacated in part,

240 F.3d 262, 85 Fair Empl.Prac.Cas. (BNA) 253,

8 Emp.Prac.Dec. 940,418 (4th Cir. (Va.) Feb. 13,

ME, ad 54a ke eek dks ses eee eae blake 13

Barua v. Credit Lyonnais — U.S. Branches, 1998

Wis PESOS CEEs BE Es BOD oc ccsasecsecnses 22

Burlington Industries, Inc. v. Ellerth, 524 U.S. 742

oo er nA eT er Pe er ee passim

Coates v. Sundour Brands Inc., 164 F.3d 1361

fale RO ee errr rrr 22, 23, 28

Faragher v. City of Boca Raton, 524 U.S. 775

SU a c6d5o baRC ehh el edad a eee passim

Gunnell v. Utah Valley State College, 152 F.3d 1253

CP: SEE ce du ose siensecravashencess \.Ue

Indest v. Freeman Decorating, Inc., 164 F.3d 258

oe | BS ree 18, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27

Marsicano v. American Society of Safety Engineers,

1998 WL 603128 (N.D. Ill. 1998) ............ 22

Neal v. Electronic Data Systems Corp., 1999 U.S.

Dist. Lexis 9732 (W.D. N.C. 1999) ........... 25

Cited Authorities

Page

Todd v. Ortho Biotech, Inc., 175 F.3d 595 (8th Cir.

PFOEd bectbevccdentieusacereeee eee 25

Watkins v. Professional Security Bureau Ltd.,

201 F.3d 439 (4th Cir. 1999) ................. 23, 26

Williams v. General Motors Corp., 187 F.3d 553

oe Pr ere pee er yy ee 27

Statutes:

rR LE OF eae RY Lg ep ean the YS th oh rats l

Wise sce. Cc. Pee 8

Be le BERT 6: Ks 42AS SRR Te 8

GZ Ua. © DRO OD 60x adden bcaeuecdees 1

Other Authorities:

Restatement (Second) of Agency § 219(2)(d) ..... 8

Dont Train Your Employees and Cancel your

“1-800” Harassment Hotline: An Empirical

Examination and Correction of the Flaws in the

Affirmative Defense, 69 Fordham L. Rev. 1265

CE ED ok adn dnt aks arabe neease ern 19

Indest v. Freeman Decorating, Inc.: Dealing with

Vicarious Liability for Sexual Harassment by a

Supervisor, Daniel N. Raytis, 35 U.S.F.L. Rev. 623

) Breer ree reer prey eis Aer 15, 16.

vi

Cited Authorities

Page

“Let s be Reasonable” — Resolving the Ambiguities

of the Faragher-Ellerth Affirmative Defense,

68 Def. Couns. J. 211 (April 2001) ............ 2,14

vil

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Page

Appendix A — Opinion Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Tenth Circuit Dated And Filed

PP Pee PTT ete eT en yr nee la

Appendix B — Judgment Of The United States

District Court For The District Of New Mexico

Dated And Filed March 30, 2000 ............. 28a

Appendix C — Order Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Tenth Circuit Denying

Petition For Rehearing Dated And Filed May 31,

ET PET VET CET POET TE eT ee 30a

Appendix D — Relevant Statute ............... 32a

Appendix E — Relevant Jury Instructions ....... 33a

l

Petitioner, Eddy Potash, Inc, (EP/), respectfully petitions

for a Writ of Certiorari to review the judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit (Tenth Circuit)

entered April 30, 2001.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Tenth Circuit is officially reported

at 248 F.3d 1014, 85 Fair Emp.Prac.Cas.(BNA) 990,

80 Empl.Prac.Dec. { 40,506, 2001 DJCAR 228 (10th Cir. (NM)

April 30, 2001). The Tenth Circuit’s published opinion is

reproduced in the Appendix filed with this Petition for Writ of

Certiorari. (Appendix A, p. 1a)

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Tenth Circuit entered its judgment on April 30, 2001.

On May 31, 2001, the Tenth Circuit entered its Order denying

EPI’s Petition for Rehearing. The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a), the relevant portions of the statute

is set forth, infra, at Appendix D, p. 32a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Introduction

Following years of massive amounts of litigation and heated

debate regarding when an employer may be vicariously liable

for a supervisor’s sexual harassment of an employee, this Court,

in 1998, issued two decisions, Burlington Industries, Inc. v.

Ellerth, 524 U.S. 742 (1998) and Faragher v. City of Boca Raton,

524 U.S. 775 (1998) (Ellerth/Faragher). The two cases created

strict liability in the hostile work environment context unless

the employer can establish an affirmative defense crafted by

this Court in those decisions. The affirmative defense comprises

two elements: (a) that the employer exercised reasonable care

to prevent and correct promptly any sexually harassing behavior,

and (b) that the plaintiff employee unreasonably failed to take

advantage of any preventive or corrective opportunities provided

by the employer to avoid harm otherwise. The affirmative

defense is not available when the supervisor’s harassment

2 “

culminates in a tangible employment action, such as discharge,

demotion, or undesirable reassignment. The subsequent case

law dealing with the Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense

evidence, ongoing confusion and uncertainty as to its application

and whether it has addressed all situations that might arise.

Division exists between the courts regarding the affirmative

defense as to its clarity and application to certain situations,

such as the one presented in the this case. Legal commentators

in articles contained in law reviews and journals are seriously

questioning whether the affirmative defense is in fact achieving

the goals sought by this Court in Ellerth/Faragher. As one legal

commentator has stated:

Unfortunately, the majority opinions in Faragher

and Ellerth do not resound with clarity as to

exactly what an employer must do to escape

liability for sexually harassing behavior by a

supervisor. .. . Faragher and Ellerth do little more

than create confusion and an abundance of

litigation, which has and undoubtedly will

continue in the lower courts. Even deeper than

the rift between the Supreme Court’s majority

and dissenters is the split between the circuits as

to what is reasonable versus what is

unreasonable. ...

“Lets be Reasonable” — Resolving the Ambiguities of the

Faragher-Ellerth Affirmative Defense, 68 Def. Couns. J. 211

(April 2001). Among the issues encased in uncertainty and lack

of clarity is the question of the availability of protection to a

reasonable employer who receives a reasonable complaint and

promptly remedies the harassment.

The problem that has manifested itself may be best

characterized by the following illustration:

Assume an employer has a policy against sexual

harassment in place. Further assume a wayward

supervisor has sexually harassed a female employee

and the female employee has promptly reported the

a Py rape rae ee

3

harassment to the employer. Following the report,

the employer promptly investigates the allegations

of sexual harassment. The investigation results in

disciplinary action being taken against the

supervisor. In spite of the employer’s having an anti-

harassment policy in place which it has promptly

and properly enforced, the female employee who had

also promptly reported the harassment files suit

under Title VII.

The question that arises from the illustration is whether the

employer should be held vicariously liable and whether Ellerth/

Faragher actually address such a situation and, if they do, how

should the affirmative defense be applied. The other question

that arises is whether the Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense

should be modified to deal with such a situation. The facts

present in this case involving Jeanne Harrison, the employee,

and EPI, the employer, fall squarely into the realm of uncertainty

remaining from Ellerth/Faragher regarding the application of

the affirmative defense.

B. Facts

EPI operated an underground potash mine near Carlsbad,

Eddy County, New Mexico. The Defendant, R. L. Brown

(Brown), was a low-level supervisor with the responsibilities

of a shift foreman and face boss. The position of face boss is

the lowest supervisory level at EPI. EPI had combined the duties

of an underground shift foreman and face boss. Brown, as the

shift foreman, had no authority to hire, no authority to fire, and

no authority to discipline. The extent of Brown’s authority as

an underground shift foreman/face boss was to make work

assignments for members of his crew and pair members of his

crew to accomplish those work assignments. Brown had no

involvement other than reporting the infraction to upper-level

management. EPI’s decision as to the appropriate level of

disciplinary action to be invoked was made by a committee or

group of upper-level management personnel. Brown, as an

underground shift foreman/face boss, was not a member of,

4

nor participant in, the group. Brown, as an underground

shift foreman/face boss, had no authority to determine who

was assigned to his crew or what work was to be done.

Those decisions were controlled by upper level management.

The extent of Brown’s authority was to pair the workers assigned

to his crew and to delegate the paired workers to the tasks to be

accomplished.

The Respondent, Jeanne Harrison (Harrison), began

working for EPI as an underground potash miner in May of

1992. Harrison was assigned to Brown’s crew. As an

underground potash mimer, Harrison participated in the “buddy

system.” The buddy system was one in which each miner was

assigned another laborer. The two then worked together within

a section of the mine away from other members of his or her

crew. If a miner was not assigned a “buddy” on a particular

shift, he or she was designated the extra person and was typically

assigned to perform miscellaneous duties. Beginning in

November, of 1992, Brown began engaging in giving Harrison

“hugs.” On May 5, 1993, Harrison was working with her regular

partner when Brown drove up with a replacement “buddy” for

Harrison and requested that Harrison accompany him to get

some supplies. On the way to get the supplies, Brown stopped

the vehicle in which they were riding and engaged in sexual

activity with Harrison. Again, on May 15, 1993, Brown came

to the place where Harrison was working and requested that

Harrison go with him to locate a part that the mechanic needed

to fix a piece of broken machinery in Harrison’s section. On the

way to obtain the part, Brown again stopped the vehicle in an

isolated area of the mine and engaged in sexual activity with

Harrison. On May 24, 1993, Harrison accompanied Brown to

check on methane readings and to make sure an area where

methane was present was properly curtained off. During this

trip, Brown engaged in sexual activity with Harrison. On June

7, 1993, Harrison was helping Brown deliver a load of supplies

to a machine. On the way to delivering the supplies, Brown

stopped the vehicle and engaged in sexual activity with Harrison.

Finally, on June 27, 1993, Brown requested Harrison accompany

5

him to shovel materials in tunnels in the mine. On the way there,

Brown attempted to engage in sexual activity with Harrison

and Harrison refused. Brown made no further attempts to engage

in sexual activity and drove Harrison back to continue the work

that she was performing when he picked her up. Later that same

day, Harrison assisted Brown in the task of cleaning his office.

At that time, Brown and Harrison engaged in sexual activity.

It is undisputed that in all of these incidents, Brown never

used his authority to threaten or coerce Harrison into engaging

in any of the activities. It is likewise undisputed that Brown

never conditioned tangible job benefits on Harrison’s submission

to the sexual activity. During the June 27, 1993 incident,

Harrison refused Brown’s request. Brown abided by her wishes

and no sexual activity occurred at that time.

On June 28, 1993, Harrison called the line foreman and

told him she was having some problems and needed to take

some vacation days to finish out the remainder of her 11-day

shift. The next scheduled work day, Harrison called in sick.

She did the same the following day. On July 7, 1993, Harrison

called Dale Janway (/Janway), the manager of EPI’s Safety

Office, and told him of the activities that had been occurring

with Brown. Janway immediately contacted Kenneth Leivo

(Leivo), EPI’s Human Resources Manager. Leivo immediately

began an investigation. Leivo telephoned Harrison and informed

her that she would be on administrative leave with full pay and

benefits pending the outcome of the investigation. Leivo also

asked Harrison to prepare a written statement outlining what

had happened. During the course of Leivo’s investigation,

he contacted Harrison several times on the telephone. Leivo

interviewed Brown regarding Harrison’s allegations. Brown had

claimed the relationship was consensual. Though admitting she

never orally told Brown she did not want to engage in the sexual

activities, Harrison contended the relationship was not

consensual. There were not any third party witnesses of any

nature. EPI was left with a credibility issue as between Brown

and Harrison. On July 14, 1993, seven days after the complaint

6

was first received, Leivo issued a three-page determination and

disposition outlining his conclusions resulting from his

investigation. As a result of EPI’s investigation, Brown was

formally reprimanded for his involvement in the incident and

was placed on permanent probation for the rest of his work life

at EPI. Further, Brown was prohibited from having any contact

whatsoever with Harrison. Harrison was transferred from

Brown’s crew to another work crew in a separate portion of the

mine. Harrison never returned to work. However, Harrison

remained on EPI’s payroll for approximately one year. Harrison

had claimed she was incurring emotional problems as a result

of the sexual encounters with Brown. EPI paid all medical bills

for Harrison during the ensuing 12 months. On June 17, 1994,

Harrison’s employment was terminated due to a reduction in

force occasioned by economic conditions in the potash industry.

Because of Harrison’s lack of seniority, she was permanently

laid off from work at EPI.

At all times material to this case, EP] had a written policy

against sexual harassment in effect. The sexual harassment

policy was drafted and adopted in 1989. It had been disseminated

throughout the mine. It was posted on all bulletin boards where

any employee wishing to read it had the opportunity to read

such policy. Kenneth Leivo, the Human Resources Director who

- drafted the policy, testified the policy was posted on bulletin

boards throughout the mine including the area in which Harrison

worked. Brown testified that he had seen the written sexual

harassment policy, it was presented to crews in 1989 and he

had posted the policy on the bulletin board in the area in which

Harrison worked. Harrison testified that she had never been

handed a copy of the policy at the time she was hired nor had

she been given any training regarding the policy. Harrison said

the policy was not on the bulletin board in the area of the mine

where she worked. Upon cross-examination, she admitted she

was not sure whether the policy was or was not posted on that

particular bulletin board. However, during the time period these

incidents with Brown were occurring, Harrison acknowledged

7

seeing the written sexual harassment policy posted on another

bulletin board. She testified she only glanced at it and did not

read it. She admitted that she did not read the confidentiality

portion of the policy. Even after seeing the policy, Harrison still

failed to report the incidents and did not report new incidents

until the last incident on June 27, 1993, over one month and

three weeks after the first incident. Even though Harrison

testified she had not initially been given the policy when hired

by EPI and that she had not seen the policy until a time period

after the incident began to occur, she acknowledged, based on

her work experience, that she knew sexual harassment was

illegal and that if a company found out about it, they would

generally take steps to correct or address the issue.

It is undisputed EPI’s sexual harassment policy was actively

enforced by management. Immediately upon Harrison’s

complaining of the sexual activities with Brown, EPI took

immediate and effective corrective action. No further harassment

occurred after Harrison brought her complaints to management.

Also, Harrison acknowledged seeing the written sexual

harassment policy posted on the bulletin board during the time

in which these incidents were occurring, though she claims she

never read it.

At trial,’ Harrison testified to a series of encounters with

Brown which occurred intermittently over a period time from

November, 1992, through June 27, 1993. The encounters had

begun with Brown hugging her and culminated in actual sexual

encounters which occurred between May 5, 1993, and ended

with the last incident on June 27, 1993, Harrison never

complained to anyone at any level of management at EPI about

Brown’s actions. Harrison testified her reasons for not

complaining to management were (1) she was fearful no one

1. As will be explained in the Proceedings section of this Petition,

the trial being referred to in this paragraph is the second trial which

followed this Court’s vacating the first Decision of the Tenth Circuit

and thereafter, the Tenth Circuit’s remand to the District Court for trial

on the issue of whether EPI is entitled to the Ellerth/Faragher affirmative

defense.

8

would believe her; (2) EPI would do nothing about the alleged

problem; (3) that she would be fired because she was already

on probation for missing work; and (4) that telling someone

about the incidents was humiliating and degrading. On cross—

examination, Harrison acknowledged her reasons for not

complaining were generalized fears that she just generally felt.

C. Proceedings

On September 16, 1994, Harrison filed a Complaint against

EPI and Brown in the United States District Court for the District

of New Mexico alleging sexual harassment in violation of

Title VII and a number of supplemental state law tort claims.

Subject matter jurisdiction in the District Court over these claims

was alleged to be under 28 U.S.C. § 1331 and 28 U.S.C. § 1367.

A week-long jury trial was conducted with a verdict being

returned in favor of EPI and against Harrison on February 7,

1996. The jury also returned a verdict in favor of Harrison and

against Brown on state common law tort claims for battery and

intentional infliction of emotional distress, but declined to

impose liability against EPI for Brown’s actions. (/t should be

noted, the sexual harassment question submitted to the jury

involved only a claim of hostile working environment and no

claim of quid pro quo harassment. Harrison had agreed there

was no basis for a quid pro quo claim.) On February 27, 1996,

Harrison filed her Notice of Appeal to the Tenth Circuit.

On May 8, 1997, the Tenth Circuit issued its decision reversing

and remanding the District Court’s judgment with the direction

that the District Court give a different jury instruction concerning

§ 219(2)(d) of the Restatement (Second) of Agency. Harrison

v. Eddy Potash, Inc., 112 F.3d 1437, 156 L.R.R.M. (BNA) 2033,

73 Fair Emp1.Prac.Cas. (BNA) 1384, 70 Emp. Prac. Dec.

144,689, 65 USLW 2799, 97 CJ C.A.R. 674 (10th Cir. 1997)

(Harrison I). EPI then petitioned this Court for a Writ of

Certiorari which was granted. This Court summarily vacated

the decision in Harrison J and remanded the case to the Tenth

Circuit for further consideration in light of the Ellerth/Faragher

decisions. Eddy Potash, Inc. v. Harrison, 524 U.S. 947 (1998)

9

(Docket No. 97-232) On remand, the Tenth Circuit again

decided the District Court had improperly instructed the jury

with respect to the standards for imposing vicarious liability

upon an employer for sexual harassment perpetrated by one of

its supervisors. Harrison v. Eddy Potash, Inc., 158 F.3d 1371

(10th Cir. 1998) (Harrison IJ). The Tenth Circuit remanded the

case to the District Court for trial on the issue of whether EPI is

entitled to the Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense.

Following the remand, a second jury trial was held on the

issue Of whether EPI was vicariously liable and whether EPI

was entitled to the Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense. At the

close of the second trial, based upon undisputed evidence

regarding EPI’s actions, EPI requested the Trial Court submit

the following instruction to the jury.

DEFENDANT’S REQUESTED INSTRUCTION NO. 7

You are instructed that if you find that

Plaintiff Jeanne Harrison promptly complained

of Robert L. Brown’s harassing conduct and that

Eddy Potash promptly responded, disciplined

appropriately, and stopped the harassment, then

you should find for Eddy Potash. (Appendix E,

p. 33a)

The Trial Court refused to submit the instruction. The Trial

Court submitted its Instruction Number 5 which read:

Defendant Eddy Potash, Inc. is liable for Robert

L. Brown’s sexual harassment of Plaintiff Jeanne

Harrison unless Defendant Eddy Potash can

prove each of the following elements of its defense

by a preponderance of the evidence:

First: Defendant Eddy Potash exercised

reasonable care to prevent and

correct promptly any sexually

harassing behavior; and

Second: Plaintiff Jeanne Harrison

unreasonably failed to take

advantage of any preventive or

10

corrective opportunities

provided by Defendant Eddy

Potash or to avoid harm

otherwise. ‘

If you find that Defendant Eddy Potash has

met its burden of proving both of these matters

by a preponderance of the evidence, then you

should find for Defendant Eddy Potash.

If, on the other hand, you find that Defendant

Eddy Potash has not met its burden of proving

both of these matters by a preponderance of the

evidence, then you should find for Plaintiff

Jeanne Harrison. (Appendix E, p. 33a)

The jury returned a verdict in favor of Harrison and against

EPI on the issue of EPI being vicariously liable for Brown’s

sexual harassment of Harrison. EPI appealed to the Tenth Circuit.

On April 30, 2001, the Tenth Circuit rendered its decision

affirming the District Court. (Appendix 1a) In its opinion, the

Tenth Circuit ruled: (1) That EPI was not entitled to its requested

jury instruction Number 7 because the second prong of the

Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense requires the complaining

employee wait an unreasonable period of time before availing

herself of preventive or corrective opportunities. The Tenth

Circuit stated that Ellerth/Faragher had, in a straight forward

manner addressed the issue. The Tenth Circuit refused to adopt

the concept that where both the employer and the employee

had acted reasonably, the employer should not be liable.

(Appendix A, p. 1a)

Following the receipt of the April 30, 2001 Tenth Circuit

decision, EPI filed a Petition for Rehearing. The Tenth Circuit

denied that Petition on May 31, 2001. (Appendix C, p. 30a)

ee ee ee eee a en ee

11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE ISSUE OF WHETHER AN EMPLOYER

SHOULD BE HELD VICARIOUSLY LIABLE WHERE

THAT EMPLOYER HAS ACTED REASONABLY AND

THE EMPLOYEE HAS ACTED REASONABLY BY

PROMPTLY COMPLAINING OF THE HARASSMENT

(AVAILING ONESELF OF AVAILABLE PREVEN-

TATIVE OR CORRECTIVE MEASURES) SHOULD BE

ADDRESSED BY THIS COURT

With the creation of the two-prong affirmative defense,

Ellerth/Faragher results in a regrettable situation where

employers are held liable when they do all that they can to

prevent sexual harassment, which nonetheless occurs and the

employee reports it. They are liability free, however, when they

do a lesser job of preventing harassment, and they happen to be

fortuitous enough to employ someone who fails to take

reasonable steps to report his or her claim.

The Ellerth/Faragher decisions are an attempt to carry out

the intent of Title VII, which is to alleviate sexual harassment

in the workplace. Unfortunately, the affirmative defense crafted

in the decisions is imprecise and unclear. It is arguable that the

affirmative defense does not address issues presented in this

case. If the affirmative defense addresses the issues in this case,

then the application of the affirmative defense creates a result

opposite of the announced goal in Ellerth/Faragher.

The affirmative defense actually creates a disincentive for the

employer to vigorously set up policies against harassment and

enforce those policies. The affirmative defense should be

modified or re-crafted to put the burden, and reward, upon the

employer for reasonable compliance. Such a modification will

best achieve the goals of Title VII which is to have a workplace

free of sexual harassment and in this way, the employee will

likewise benefit. For the following reasons, this Court should

grant EPI’s petition for a Writ of Certiorari:

1. The question presented by EPI to the District Court,

the Tenth Circuit, and now to this Court is of such great

12

importance to the federal law that this Court should

address the issue. The issue arises directly out of this

Court’s decisions in Ellerth/Faragher. The Ellerth/

Faragher decisions have had impac‘ on every employer

in the United States. Those decisions addressed the issue

of vicarious liability of an employer for its supervisor’s

sexual harassment, which was, and is, an issue of

nationwide importance. It cannot be of any less

importance to address issues arising from the Ellerth/

Faragher decisions where there is a great lack of clarity,

confusion and much uncertainty in how to apply the

Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense. It is important

to have this Court re-examine the affirmative defense

because it is becoming ever more clear that the

affirmative defense is having an impact that discourages

employer aggressiveness in combating sexual

harassment in the workplace.

. Though the Ellerth/Faragher decisions are relatively

new, the lack of clarity and uncertainty in the application

of the affirmative defense has led to uncertainty and

conflict in the circuits. Legal scholars who have recently

examined the affirmative defense have called for a

re-examination and modification of the affirmative

defense. Because it is of extreme importance to have

consistency in labor and employment policy throughout

this country, this Court needs to resolve the

inconsistencies by revisiting, clarifying and, if

necessary, modifying the Ellerth/Faragher affirmative

defense.

13

Il. THE ELLERTH/FARAGHER AFFIRMATIVE

DEFENSE (1) FAILS TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE OF

VICARIOUS LIABILITY WHERE THE EMPLOYER

HAS ACTED PROPERLY AND REASONABLY AND

(2) DEFEATS THE GOAL OF ENCOURAGING

EMPLOYER ACTION TO PREVENT SEXUAL

HARASSMENT BY IMPOSING LIABILITY UPON AN

EMPLOYER WHERE IT HAS ACTED REASONABLY

AND THE EMPLOYEE HAS LIKEWISE ACTED

REASONABLY, BUT CONVERSELY, LEAVING THE

EMPLOYER NOT VICARIOUSLY LIABLE WHERE

THE EMPLOYEE HAS NOT ACTED REASONABLY

The Ellerth/Faragher decisions recognize the laudable goal

of imposing responsibilities upon both the employer and the

employee to take action to prevent sexual harassment in the

workplace. The cases recognize the goal of Title VII is

prevention of harassment, not simply imposition of liability upon

an employer through litigation. Unfortunately, the affirmative

defense has created increased difficulties and uncertainties that

are now becoming clear and are the subject of ever increasing

commentary by courts and legal scholars. The Ellerth/Faragher

decisions are not clear as to exactly what an employer must do

to escape liability for the sexually harassing behavior of a

supervisor. In Barrett v. Applied Radiant Energy, 70 F. Supp.2d

644 (W.D. Va. 1999), aff'd in part, vacated in part, 240 F.3d

262, 85 Fair Empl.Prac.Cas. (BNA) 253, 80 Emp.Prac.Dec.

140,418 (4th Cir. (Va.) Feb. 13, 2001) (Number 99-2597,

99-2634), the District Judge stated: “No court has sought to

establish a bright line as to what is or is not reasonable as the

term is contemplated in Faragher and Ellerth.” In a series of

law review and law journal articles, the Ellerth/Faragher

affirmative defense has been closely scrutinized and severely

criticized with calls for this Court to clarify and modify the

affirmative defense. Because the articles calling for clarification

or modification of the Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense

address fundamental principles of federal law and the goals of

Title VII, the various articles’ analysis and criticism of the

14

Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense merit review. Each shows

the need for this Court to grant EPI’s Petition and address the

issues raised in this case.

A. Defense Counsel Journal Article (April, 2001)

In an article entitled “Let's be Reasonable” — Resolving

the Ambiguities of the Faragher/Ellerth Affirmative Defense, ”

68 Def. Counsel J. 211 (April, 2001), the author argues that if

an employer has acted reasonably to stop and correct supervisor

harassment, the employer should be entitled to the defense of

having acted reasonably. The author observes that in addition

to the lack of clarity in the affirmative defense, employers’

chances of prevailing are limited because the reasonableness

standard set by the Court is generalized and aspirational.

The affirmative defense not only creates additional litigation

but also deals a blow to judicial economy. Because Title VII is

a federal question claim, and many defendant employers are

subject to in personam jurisdiction in multiple jurisdictions, the

lack of a uniform standard of reasonableness and liability allows

plaintiffs to forum shop for the interpretation most favorable to

their case. A uniform pronouncement of a specific standard of

vicarious liability for sexual harassment would eliminate much

confusion and restore judicial economy without threatening due

process.

The Defense Counsel Journal article points out that, in

particular, the second prong of the affirmative defense is of

utmost importance in showing the problems with the affirmative

defense. The second prong of the affirmative defense places a

responsibility upon the employee being subjected to sexual

harassment to complain within a reasonable time and if the

employee fails to do so, the employee cannot impose vicarious

liability upon the employer. Because the primary objective of

Title VII is not to provide redress, but to avoid harm, it is a

victim’s duty to mitigate damages and avoid harm altogether

when possible. If the victim could have avoided harm, the

employer, who had taken reasonable care to avoid such harm

but for the victim’s actions, should escape liability. Yet, under

eee) ee ae ee eee >

15

the affirmative defense that does not happen, the opposite occurs.

The author argues it is logical that when an employer with

reasonable measures to prevent and correct promptly sexually

harassing behavior, of which the alleged victim reasonably avails

herself, promptly corrects such behavior, the employer should

escape vicariously liability. The Ellerth/Faragher decisions

noticeably omitted addressing the issue.

The author argues that although this Court did not clearly

enunciate a rule regarding the effect on an employer’s liability

of prompt and effective corrective action when both the

employer and the alleged victim have acted reasonably, there

should be an amendment to the affirmative defense that makes

such corrective action a complete defense to liability. The author

proposes adoption of the rule that when an employer

independently remedies a hostile working environment, thereby

ridding its workplace of sexual harassment in accordance with

Title VII, a plaintiff employee should not be entitled to recovery

under Title VII, because Title VII’s goal is the end to

discrimination in employment, not the provision of personal

compensation. The author argues this approach would not only

reward employers who comply with Title VII in good faith, but

it also would alleviate some of the strain on the justice system.

Justice Thomas’s dissent anticipated such a problem with

the affirmative defense not addressed by Ellerth/Faragher Court

in that, “employers will be liable notwithstanding the affirmative

defense, even though they acted reasonably, so long as the

plaintiff in question fulfilled her duty of reasonable care.

In practice, therefore, employer liability may well be the rule.

But as the Court acknowledges, this is one result that it is clear

Congress did not intend.” The problem so accurately predicted

by Justice Thomas must be addressed and corrected to

successfully carry out the goals of Title VII.

B. University of San Francisco Law Review Article (Spring

2001)

In an article entitled, Indest v. Freeman Decorating, Inc.:

Dealing with Vicarious Liability for Sexual Harassment by a

16

Supervisor, Daniel N. Raytis, 35 U.S.F.L. Rev. 623 (Spring

2001), the author criticizes the current affirmative defense

and offers an alternative that he argues would better achieve

Title VII’s goals. The author uses a hypothetical fact pattern

equivalent to the situation involving Harrison and EP] in this

case. The author concludes that under the Ellerth/Faragher

affirmative defense, the employer would be liable even though

both the employer and the employee had acted reasonably. This

is because an employee who has acted reasonably in reporting

harassing conduct eliminates the possibility of the employer

proving the second element of the affirmative defense, which

makes the first element of the affirmative defense, an employer’s

conduct to prevent or remedy a harassing situation, irrelevant.

This Court in Ellerth stated that “[w]ere employer liability

to depend in part on an employer’s effort to create [grievance]

procedures, it would effect Congress’ intention to promote

conciliation rather than litigation in the Title VII context.”

The author points out that ironically, a strict application of the

affirmative defense established in Ellerth/Faragher would have

the opposite result. An employee who acts reasonably in

reporting harassing conduct, thereby destroying the employer’s

ability to prove the second element of the affirmative defense,

will be encouraged to litigate. In regard to the second element

of the affirmative defense, this Court reasoned, “[t]o the extent

[that] limiting employer liability could encourage employees

to report harassing conduct before it becomes severe or

pervasive, it would also serve Title VII’s deterrent purpose.”

The author also concludes that while this element encourages

employees to report harassing conduct after it has already

occurred, it does not appear to deter harassing conduct before it

occurs. In fact, it may actually deter employers from creating

effective grievance policies, because the more effective a

company policy is in encouraging an employee to report

harassment, the less likely an employer will be able to prove

the second element of the affirmative defense.

17

In essence, this Court is asking employers to create policies

that will leave them vicariously liable if harassment does occur.

An analysis of the affirmative defense supports that conclusion.

In order to escape vicarious liability, an employer must prove

both of the following elements: “(a) that the employer exercised

reasonable care to prevent and correct promptly any sexually

harassing behavior, and (b) that the plaintiff employee

unreasonably failed to take advantage of any preventive or

corrective opportunities provided by the employer or to avoid

harm otherwise.” The crux of the problem involves the second

element, and the fact that this Court requires the employer to

prove the existence of both elements. When an employee

promptly reports a harassing situation, the first element of the

defense becomes irrelevant, because the employer will be unable

to establish the second element. Therefore, in nearly all situations

where a harassed employee reports the conduct, or “avoids harm

otherwise,” the employer will be automatically liable, a result

this Court claimed it was seeking to avoid.

The author proposes an alternative to the current affirmative

defense. Under the proposed alternative defense, an employer

could escape liability for a supervisor’s creation of a hostile

work environment by proving both of the following elements:

(1) the employer exercised reasonable care by creating and

maintaining preventative and remedial programs relating to

sexual harassment; and (2) the employer exercised reasonable

care in responding to notice that harassment has occurred.

Because this alternative approach focuses primarily on the

behavior of the employer, it does not permit the situation created

by the Ellerth/Faragher defense, where the actions of an

employee alone effectively eliminate the possibility of the

employer proving the elements of the affirmative defense.

The proposed alternative defense focuses on the actions of the

employer, the party most effectively equipped to deal with

harassment, thereby encouraging the employer to deal with

harassment before, while, and after it occurs. The author argues

the proposed alternative defense would urge both the employer

and the employee to act reasonably, and would reward both for

18

their respective conduct. Unlike the Ellerth/Faragher defense,

the second element of the proposed defense focuses on the

employer’s response to the employee’s notice of harassment

rather than the employee’s actions.

The author argues, and EPI agrees, that this proposed

defense also demonstrates how it would both serve the

deterrence goals of Title VII and promote conciliation rather

than litigation. The first element, proof of reasonable programs

dealing with sexual harassment, encourages the employer to

create and maintain sexual harassment programs that will be

likely to have a deterrent effect. Because the employer’s liability

would partially be determined by the effectiveness of it’s

programs under the second element, the alternative proposed

defense will promote conciliation by encouraging employers to

rectify harassment when it does occur. Because the effectiveness

of the employer’s program would be relevant to the analysis,

the employer would be encouraged not only to create sexual

harassment programs, but also to systematically educate

employees regarding the program’s existence and to encourage

employees to report harassment through the program’s

procedures. Lastly, the author argues this alternative approach

would eliminate the problem exposed by Judge Jones’s opinion

in Indest v. Freeman Decorating, Inc., 164 F.3d 258 (Sth Cir.

1999). The employer would be able to prove the elements of

the proposed defense by focusing on the existence of a

harassment program and the fact that the harassing situation

was immediately eradicated. Courts would not be faced with

situations that require liability to be imposed on an employer

who has taken conscientious steps to prevent and eradicate

harassment. Instead, courts would be able to reward such

behavior by allowing the employer to be absolved of any liability.

The alternative approach proposed in the University of

San Francisco Law Review article would clarify the situation

in which all parties act reasonably, which was left muddy. by

Ellerth/Faragher, as evidenced by IJndest v. Freeman

Decorating, Inc., supra.

19

The law review article concludes by urging Congress or

the Supreme Court to revisit employer liability for sexual

harassment. In doing so, the emphasis should be placed on the

employer, that is, on the party being faced with the prospect of

lability.

C. Fordham Law Review (March 2001)

In an article entitled Dont Train Your Employees and

Cancel your “1-800” Harassment Hotline: An Empirical

Examination and Correction of the Flaws in the Affirmative

Defense, 69 Fordham L. Rev. 1265 (March 2001), the authors

in this study actually examined and analyzed prior case law in

relation to the affirmative defense. The authors conclude that

based on the courts’ treatment of employees reporting and failing

to report sexual harassment, it seems clear that the current

affirmative defense does not accomplish the goals and principles

set forth by Ellerth and Faragher. It makes little sense that

employers whose employees fail to report are entitled to the

windfall benefit of the affirmative defense, while employers

who do more to encourage complaints and respond properly to

such allegations are denied the defense. In addition to this

anomalistic result, the authors conclude that such a policy

encourages the undesirable behavior of trying to prevent

employees from using reporting procedures. The authors also

find equally troubling the courts’ practice of deciding against

victims who delay their reports because they attempted to resolve

a situation informally or because they needed time to work

through such an undesirable workplace situation. One way to

encourage employers to eliminate sexual harassment is to change

the nature of the affirmative defense by eliminating its second

prong. The authors contend the affirmative defense should focus

exclusively on employer conduct. To avoid vicarious hability,

employers would have to exercise reasonable care to prevent

and to stop sexual harassment. Employers would not have to

prove that the employee acted unreasonably. The authors contend

that “reasonable care” should consist of proscriptive measures

that both prevent sexual harassment and encourage, or, at the

20

very least, do not discourage its reporting. In addition,

“reasonable care” should also be measured by how an employer

reacts to complaints of sexual harassment. The article contends

that employers should be held liable for all harassment, whether

the employee complained after three days or even three years,

if the employer failed to respond to the complaint properly.

Conversely, employers that properly respond to complaints

should be able to avoid liability. Thus, employees would be

under no undue time pressure to report harassment before they

were ready, and an employer’s liability would not be determined

by an employee’s decision whether to report.

The authors sharply criticize the Ellerth/Faragher

affirmative defense because the two cases created a regrettable

situation with the articulation of the two-prong affirmative

defense. Employers are held liable when they do all that they

can to prevent sexual harassment, but it nonetheless occurs and

the employee reports it. They are liability free, however, when

they do a lesser job of preventing harassment, and they happen

to be fortuitous enough to employ someone who fails to take

reasonable steps to report his or her claim.

The authors also argue that the dilemma created by the

Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense leaves employers trying

to avoid liability with some rather uncomfortable guidance on

how to do so. The authors contend the guidance given employers

would now seem to be the following. First, an employer’s entire

effort to prevent sexual harassment should be limited to enacting

and disseminating an anti-harassment policy. Employers should

not engage in or should eliminate extensive preventative efforts

such as expensive sexual harassment sensitivity training, or more

particularly, harassment-reporting hotlines. While such measures

may have positive effects such as reducing incidents of

harassment, they could render unavailable the affirmative

defense if such measures encourage employees to report.

Because an employee’s failure to report harassment is considered

to be “unreasonable,” and because some courts hold that

21

employers cannot prevail if the employee reports’, employers

seeking to limit liability have an incentive to do anything lawful

to discourage employees from reporting. This incentive

contradicts the purpose of the affirmative defense, which is to

encourage employers to take measures to discourage harassment

and to encourage employees to report all such incidents.

The authors also contend that employers now have an incentive

to hire and retain unreasonable employees. A prudent employer

should invest the money saved by eliminating harassment

sensitivity training and the harassment hotline into extensive

background checking and personality screening of applicants.

Another problem the article raises with the affirmative defense

is that employees must report harassment before they are

comfortable doing so because a delay may extinguish their

claims. These incentives are clearly undesirable if the ultimate

goal is to eliminate or reduce sexual harassment in the

workplace. The article proposes a revised standard for the

affirmative defense which places greater emphasis on the

employer’s actions so as to avoid creating perverse employer

incentives, and simultaneously to increase prophylactic efforts

to curb workplace harassment.

D. Various Courts’ Commentary on the Problems with the

Ellerth/Faragher Affirmative Defense

An examination of lower courts’ treatment of the issue

reveals that although this Court did not clearly enunciate a rule

regarding the effect on an employer’s liability of prompt and

effective corrective action when both the employer and the

alleged victim have acted reasonably, there should be an

amendment to the affirmative defense that makes such corrective

action a complete defense to liability. Though not always

addressing the issue in the same manner as EPI has in this case,

the lower courts sometimes skirt around or manipulate their

analysis to reach conclusions that in reality show the need for

an amendment or modification to the affirmative defense.

2. Which is the situation arising in this case involving EPI

and Harrison.

22

In Marsicano v. American Society of Safety Engineers, 1998

WL 603128 (N.D. III. 1998), the employee reasonably availed

herself of the employer’s complaint procedures, the employer

counseled the alleged offender, and the employer offered the

employee an immediate reassignment. The employee chose to

stay home from work and left voice-mail messages during non-

working hours stating that she would not return to work.

The district court found that by failing to return to work on

reasonable terms and refusing to discuss alternate terms, she

adopted an “unduly inflexible stance,” leading to the conclusion

that she unreasonably failed to take advantage of the preventive

and corrective opportunities provided by the employer. In reality,

the court was finding that the employer had reasonably acted

and dealt with the problem.

In Barua v. Credit Lyonnais — U.S. Branches, 1998

WL 915892 (S.D. N.Y. 1998), a federal district court determined

that if a victim complains of harassment on termination of the

employment relationship, the victim has acted unreasonably if

the employer reasonably attempts to correct the allegedly

harassing behavior on the victim’s complaint.

In Coates v. Sundour Brands Inc., 164 F.3d 1361

(1ith Cir. (Ga.) 1999), the Eleventh Circuit explained that

without the victims’ cooperation, the problem of workplace

discrimination cannot be corrected. In a per curiam opinion,

the court concluded that no genuine issue of material fact existed

to support a finding that the plaintiff employee reasonably put

her employer on notice of the harassment, or that when she did

provide the employer with notice that the employer responded

unreasonably to her complaint. Summary judgment for the

defendant employer was affirmed. The pleadings in Coates

predated the Supreme Court’s decisions. The Eleventh Circuit

did not apply the Ellerth/Faragher analysis and did not discuss

whether the harasser was deemed the employee’s supervisor

for the purposes of vicarious liability. Circuit Judge Barkett’s

special concurrence, however, applied the Ellerth/Faragher

analysis as controlling. The analysis in ilie special concurrence

is based on the language of Faragher and Ellerth. The special

23

concurrence, which is often cited by other circuit and district

courts, interprets the affirmative defense as a three-part inquiry:

A court’s assessment as to whether a defendant has proved

this defense requires, first, an analysis of whether the

employer has exercised reasonable care in preventing sexual

harassing behavior. The court next directs its inquiry to

whether the employee made reasonably sufficient use of

available avenues to put the employer on notice of the

problem. Finally, the court refocuses on the employer to

determine whether the employer or its authorized agent,

after receiving notice of the harassment, took adequate steps

to abate it and prevent its recurrence.

Similar to the approach of Coates, the Fourth Circuit’s

support of an employer’s attempt to resolve sexual harassment

incidents independently of the courts, is demonstrated in Watkins

v. Professional Security Bureau Ltd.,201 F.3d 439 (4th Cir. 1999)

in which the court found that an employee had acted

unreasonably in refusing to pursue the employer’s corrective

efforts by not reporting a rape by her supervisor. The court noted,

however, that even if the employee had acted reasonably, the

employer would have been excused from liability, reasoning

that while the Supreme Court did not speak to this issue,

we cannot conceive that an employer that satisfies

the first element of the affirmative defense and that

promptly and adequately responds to a reported

incident of sexual harassment ... would be held

liable for the harassment on the basis of an inability

to satisfy the literal terms of the second element of

the affirmative defense. * * * * *

In a plurality opinion authored by Judge Jones, the

Fifth Circuit has held that if a defendant employer takes

prompt remedial action as soon as the harassing conduct is

brought to its attention, it should be absolved of liability.

In Indest v. Freeman Decorating, Inc., 164 F.3d 258 (Sth Cir.

1999) (Indest I), the court was faced with a situation where the

employer had exercised reasonable care in preventing and

24

promptly correcting sexual harassment and the plaintiff likewise

had fulfilled her duty to complain promptly about the alleged

harassment. Under these circumstances, the court concluded

that judgment in the employer’s favor was proper. The court

based its conclusion on the following considerations:

(1) Aplaintiff receives the benefit that Title VII was meant

to provide by promptly complaining about

inappropriate sexual harassment, thereby preventing

the creation of a hostile work environment;

(2) An employer that promptly responds to complaints

should be shielded from vicarious liability from the

harassment because it has prevented the creation of a

hostile work environment;

(3) In Faragher and Ellerth, the Supreme Court left intact

its earlier ruling in Meritor that an employer is not

automatically liable for a hostile work environment.

To impose vicarious liability on an employer who takes

prompt corrective action would undermine Meritor and

Title VII’s deterrent policy;

(4) Faragher s discussion of the avoidable consequences

doctrine and an employee’s duty to mitigate damages

supports relieving the employer from liability. Jndest,

164 F.3d at 265-66.

The Fifth Circuit noted that in deciding Faragher, the

Supreme Court approved a group of cases in which courts had

held employers liable for sexual harassment by a supervisor

where the employers or their high-level agents or alter egos had

actual knowledge of the harassment but did nothing to stop it.

The Fifth Circuit distinguished those cases from the one before

it. Judge Jones concluded that Faragher and Ellerth do not

directly speak to the circumstances it had before it which was a

case in which the plaintiff quickly resorted to [the employer’s]

policy and grievance procedure against sexual harassment, and

the employer took prompt remedial action. While there was

discussion of a case presenting only incipient hostile work

environment, Judge Jones reasoning clearly addressed the

25

concept that an employer who promptly responds to complaints

should not be subjected to vicarious liability. Judge Jones

opinion also makes clear the conclusion that Ellerth/Faragher

did not address the situation the Fifth Circuit had before it, which

is the same issue that is involved in this case with EPI and

Harrison.

Other courts have taken the Jndest approach to an

employer’s vicarious liability for sexual harassment by a

supervisor. In Neal v. Electronic Data Systems Corp., 1999 U.S.

Dist. Lexis 9732 (W.D. N.C. 1999) the North Carolina federal

district court pointed out that the defendant employer had a

reasonable policy in place, and took steps “reasonably calculated

to result in cessation of the conduct” as soon as it had received

a formal complaint, indicating that the defendant employer

would not tolerate sexual harassment. Because of the employer’s

actions, the federal district court concluded the employee’s

failure to file her complaint earlier was unreasonable, and the

employer was allowed summary judgment on the Title VI claim.

In Todd v. Ortho Biotech, Inc., 175 F.3d 595 (8th Cir. 1999),

the Eighth Circuit discussed the application of the Ellerth/

Faragher affirmative defense to single instances of “severe,

unanticipatable [sic]” sexual harassment. Although the case was

remanded, the court, citing /ndest, noted that an employer might

escape automatic liability in such cases if the harassment “does

not ripen into an actionable hostile work environment claim

until the employer learns that the harassment has occurred and

fails to take proper remedial action.”

III. THERE EXISTS CONFLICT BETWEEN THE

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEAL ON

THE APPLICATION AND IMPLEMENTATION OF THE

ELLERTH/FARAGHER AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE

Since this Court rendered it decisions in Ellerth/Faragher

and crafted the affirmative defense available to employers in

supervisor sexual harassment situations where no tangible

employment action was taken, the circuit courts have struggled

with the application of the affirmative defense. The lack of clarity

26

and uncertainty of the affirmative defense, particularly in

situations of the type involved in this case with EP] and Harrison

have led to conflict. The conflict becomes obvious with an

examination of circuit court opinions.

Fourth Circuit: Watkins v. Professional Security Bureau,

Limited, 201 F.3d 439, 1999 WL 1032614 (4th (Med.) 1999).

In this case, the Fourth Circuit concluded that the PSB, the

employer, had established the second prong of the affirmative

Defense. In discussing the issue, the Fourth Circuit in Footnote

16 stated:

Even if Watkin’s [the employee] disclosure of the

harassment to Dowling [employer] were adequate

to establish that she took advantage of available

preventive or corrective opportunities, our result

would be the same. Although the Supreme Court

did not speak to this issue in Burlington

Industries, we cannot conceive that an employee

that satisfies the first element of the affirmative

defense and that promptly and adequately

responds to a reported incident of sexual

harassment — as PSB did here, . . . — would be

held liable for the harassment on the basis of an

inability to satisfy the literal terms of the second

element of the affirmative defense.

The Fourth Circuit indicates that its conclusion regarding

employer liability in the Footnote 16 is consistent with the

“laudable purpose behind limitations on employer liability

identified by this Court in Burlington Industries.”

Fifth Circuit: Indest v. Freeman Decorating, Inc., 164 F.3d

258 (Sth Cir. 1999) (Indest I). Indest has been discussed under

point I above. That discussion will not be repeated other than to

again point out that Judge Jones concluded the Ellerth/F: aragher

affirmative defense did not address the fact pattern the Fifth

Circuit had before it and that an employer that promptly responds

to complaints should be shielded from vicarious liability from

the harassment because it has prevented the creation of a hostile

27

work environment. Judge Jones’s opinion and analysis would

be applicable to any situation where an employer had acted

reasonably irrespective of whether the employee had complained

in a reasonably timely manner.

It should be noted that /ndest is a plurality opinion in the

Fifth Circuit. The other two judges on the panel did not join in

Judge Jones’s opinion. Judge Weiner issued his own opinion at

Indest v. Freeman Decorating, Inc., 168 F.3d 795, 796 (Sth Cir.

1999) (Indest II) He disagreed with Judge Jones: “I cannot agree

with Judge Jones’s conclusion that the Supreme Court’s

remarkably straightforward and perfectly consistent twin

opinions in [Faragher and Burlington } do not control the

present case-and, indeed all cases in which the plaintiff seeks

to hold his employer vicariously liable for a supervisor’s sexual

harassment.”

Sixth Circuit: Williams v. General Motors Corp., 187 F.3d 553,

561 (6th Cir. 1999). The Sixth Circuit stated: “it is no longer

enough for an employer to take corrective action; employers

now have an affirmative duty to prevent sexual harassment by

supervisors.”

Tenth Circuit: Harrison v. Eddy Potash, Inc., 248 F.3d 1014,

85 Fair Emp.Prac.Cas.(BNA) 990, 80 EmpI.Prac.Dec. $40,506,

2001 DJCAR 228 (10th Cir. (NM) April 30, 2001). The conflict

between the Tenth Circuit and the Fifth Circuit is readily

apparent in this case. In Harrison v. Eddy Potash, EPI argued

to the Tenth Circuit the reasoning in Jndest should be followed

in this case because the issue of EPI having acted reasonably

and having alleviated the sexual harassment was a part of the

case. EP] had submitted a jury instruction patterned after Indest,

which was refused by the Trial Court. In discussing whether

Judge Jones’s reasoning in Jndest should be adopted, the Tenth

Circuit openly disagreed with Judge Jones. At 248 F.3d pages

1025-26, the Tenth Circuit stated:

-+. we have effectively rejected the modified

employer defense enunciated in Indest.

In Gunnell v. Utah Valley State College, 152 F.3d

28

1253 (10th Cir. 1998), the plaintiff filed suit

against her employer under Title VII alleging, in

part, that she had been subjected to sexual

harassment by her supervisor. The district court

(prior to the issuance of Faragher and Burlington)

granted summary judgment in favor of the

employer on the grounds that “the sexual

harassment stopped after [plaintiff] complained”

about it to the employer’s personnel director.

Id. at 1259. We reversed and remanded with

directions to the district court to apply the two-

pronged defense set forth in Faragher and

Burlington. In doing so, we effectively rejected

the position advanced in Jndest, i.e., that an

employer’s prompt corrective action can be

sufficient by itself to avoid vicarious liability

under Title VII for sexual harassment committed

by a supervisory employee.

Third, even assuming that Gunnell did not

resolve the issue, the reasoning of Indest is highly

suspect and, in our view, should not be adopted.

As outlined in Jndest II, there is no reason to

believe that the “remarkably straightforward”

framework outlined in Faragher and Burlington

does not control all cases in which a plaintiff

employee seeks to hold his or her employer

vicariously liable for a supervisor’s sexual

harassment. Indest II, 168 F-3d at 796.

Gunnell v. Utah Valley State College, 152 F.3d 1253 (10th Cir.

1998):

See the Tenth Circuit’s discussion of Gunnell in

Harrison v. Eddy Potash.

Eleventh Circuit: Coates v. Sundor Brands, Inc., 164 F.3d

1361, 1369 (11th Cir. 1999). The Eleventh Circuit did not decide

the case on the basis of Ellerth/Faragher, however Judge Barkett

‘5 _ ee -

29

wrote a specially concurring opinion in which he addressed the

application of the Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense.

Under the framework established by the Court

in Faragher and Burlington Industries, a prompt

response by an authorized agent to halt reported

harassment is sufficient to relieve the employer

liability under Title VII in cases where the

harassment has not culminated in the taking by

a supervisor of a tangible employment action

against the victim.

As the cases indicate, the circuits differ in their application

of the Ellerth/Faragher affirmative defense in situations where

the employer has acted reasonably in addressing sexual

harassment and remedying sexual harassment that has

manifested itself in the workplace. Circuit courts such as the

Fourth, Fifth, and Eleventh are troubled by a literal reading and

application of the second prong of the affirmative defense which

will result in imposing liability upon an employer that has acted

reasonably in the face of an employee’s reasonably timely

complaint. Those circuits clearly feel such a result is contrary

to the goals of Title VII. Such a result is also contrary to the

goals this Court stated in the Ellerth/F, aragher decisions.

Because of the very nature of the issue in this case, its nationwide

importance to all employers and the obvious need for uniformity

throughout the nation, this Court needs to grant EPI’s Petition.

IV. THE NEED FOR CONSISTENCY ON A

NATIONWIDE BASIS AND THE IMPORTANCE OF THE

FEDERAL LAW APPLICABLE TO THIS CASE

WARRANT THE GRANTING OF A WRIT

The implementation of the laudable goals of Title VII are

of paramount importance. The effect Title VII has on

employment throughout this country cannot be underestimated.

Consistency is a recurring principle in the employment arena.

Uniformity of federal law, as it affects the workplace, is likewise

critical for both the employer and the employee. For employers

engaged in business throughout the circuits, that expectation

30

should include a uniform application of employment rules under

Title VII. With the uniform application of employment rules,

the employer can, with consistency, implement policies that

comply with those uniform rules and not face possible liability

in one circuit for actions that would not create liability in another

circuit. -

Of equal importance is the question of whether the goals

of Title VII are being achieved by the Ellerth/Faragher

affirmative defense as it is currently formulated. EPI submits

that it is not achieving that goal, but instead is having, and will

continue to have, an opposite effect. Read literally, the

affirmative defense places liability upon an employer in

situations where both the employer and the employee have acted

reasonably. Did this Court intend to create such a consequence?

EPI thinks not. EPI submits the affirmative defense does not

address situations such as the one involved in this case. If the

affirmative defense does address such situations, it creates

disincentive for employers to attack sexual harassment with the

vigor expected. The affirmative defense needs to be re-examined

and modified. This Court should grant EPI’s Petition for that

purpose.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated in this Petition, EPI’s Petition for

Wnit of Certiorari should be granted on the issues presented.

Respectfully submitted,

W. T. MartTwn, JR.

Counsel of Record

Law Orrices OF W. T. Martin, Jr., P.A.

509 W. Pierce St.

P.O. Box 2168

Carlsbad, NM 88221-2168

(505) 887-3528

Attorney for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

DATED AND FILED APRIL 30, 2001

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 00-2221

JEANNE HARRISON,

Plaintiff-Counter-Defendant-

Appellee,

V.

EDDY POTASH, INC., a New Mexico corporation,

Defendant-Counter-Claimant-

Appellant,

and

ROBERT L. BROWN,

Defendant-Counter-Claimant.

Appeal from United States District Court

for the District of New Mexico

(D.C. No. CIV-94-691-JP)

* * *

2a

Appendix A

Before SEYMOUR, GIBSON,* and BRISCOE, Circuit

Judges.

BRISCOE, Circuit Judge.

Defendant Eddy Potash, Inc., (EPI) appeals from the

district court’s entry of partial summary judgment, as well .

as the district court’s final judgment after trial, in favor of

plaintiff Jeanne Harrison on her claim of Title VII sexual

harassment. We exercise jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1291 and affirm.

a

The relevant underlying facts of this case were set forth

in detail in our opinion in Harrison v. Eddy Potash, Inc.,

112 F.3d 1437 (10th Cir. 1997) (Harrison 1):

Plaintiff is a resident of Carlsbad, New

Mexico. Defendant Eddy Potash, Inc., is a New

Mexico corporation doing business in Eddy

County, New Mexico. Defendant Robert L.

Brown is a supervisor employed by Potash.

Plaintiff began working for Potash as an

underground potash miner in May 1992 and was

the only female working with a crew of

approximately 30 men [and was one of only two

women miners in the entire operation]. Brown,

who worked as the underground shift foreman,

was plaintiffs supervisor and was in charge of

* The Honorable John R. Gibson, Circuit Judge, United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation.

3a

Appendix A

delegating duties and assigning work to plaintiff.

According to plaintiff, Brown was the first person

she was required to call if she was sick or wanted

to take vacation. Brown was also involved in the

disciplinary process.

The miners at Potash had a “buddy system”

where each miner was assigned a “buddy” and

each set of “buddies” worked together in a section

of the mine away from other members of his or

her crew. If a miner was not assigned a “buddy”

on a particular shift, he or she was designated the

“extra person” and was typically assigned to

perform miscellaneous duties.

On May 4, 1993, Brown approached plaintiff

in an isolated portion of the mine and attempted

to kiss her on the mouth. She “pushed him away

and told him he was crazy and to get the hell out

of there.” On the following day, Brown ordered

plaintiff to leave her work station and accompany

him to an abandoned unlit section of the mine to

look for empty oil barrels he had allegedly

previously noticed. After driving around the mine

for awhile, Brown stopped the vehicle and walked

around to the side where plaintiff was sitting. He

tried to kiss plaintiff, to put his hands on her

breasts and between her legs, and to unzip her

pants. At the same time, Brown made various

sexually suggestive comments to plaintiff,

including asking her if she wanted to have

intercourse or oral sex. Plaintiff pushed Brown

4a

Appendix A

away and said “No” to each question. Erown

“unbuttoned his pants and exposed his penis, put

[plaintiff's] hand on his penis, and he ejaculated.”

Brown then drove plaintiff back to the section of

the mine where she normally worked.

On May 15, 1993, plaintiff was working with

her “buddy” to fix a broken machine. Brown

arrived where they were working and ordered

plaintiff to accompany him to the shop to look

for a part for the machine. Before arriving at the

shop, Brown stopped the vehicle in an unoccupied

section of the mine, walked around to plaintiffs

side of the vehicle, and again attempted to kiss

her, to touch her, and to unzip her pants. Plaintiff

repeatedly told Brown “No.” Brown started

walking back to his side of the vehicle, but turned

around and returned to where plaintiff was sitting.

He unzipped his pants and said, “ ‘Well, at least I

can be happy.’” He then forced plaintiff to

masturbate him. Brown then drove plaintiff to the

shop and ordered the mechanic to drive her back

to where she had been working.

On May 24, 1993, plaintiff was working a

“graveyard” shift and was designated as the “extra

person.” Brown ordered her to accompany him

to a section of the mine where they were

experiencing a high methane gas reading, stating

they needed to check the readings and make sure

the section had been curtained off correctly. After

they completed the work described, Brown drove

Sa

Appendix A

to a nearby section of the mine that was

unoccupied, unlit, and had a low ceiling. As in

the previous incidents, Brown walked around to

plaintiff's side of the vehicle and attempted to kiss

her, touch her, and unzip her pants. He also made

various sexually suggestive comments. Plaintiff

again told him “No” and attempted to push him

away. Ultimately, Brown exposed himself and

forced plaintiff to masturbate him.

On June 7, 1993, Brown ordered plaintiff to

clean up around the shifter’s office. After she had

finished, Brown ordered her to accompany him

in taking a load of materials to a section of the

mine. On the way, Brown stopped the vehicle at

an old unoccupied section of the mine and told

plaintiff, “Look, I made us a bed out of [burlap]

cloth.” Brown asked plaintiff to lie down with him

and she did. Brown repeatedly asked her to have

sex with him and attempted to kiss and touch her,

but plaintiff said “No.” Brown then forced

plaintiff to masturbate him.

During the period of time in which the

incidents took place, plaintiff was aware of rumors

indicating Brown was going to replace Larry

Robertson, who was retiring in the safety office.

The safety office was located on the surface and

plaintiff believed if Brown went to that position

she would not be in contact with him or under his

supervision. However, when plaintiff returned to

work on June 21, 1993, after a three-day break,

6a

Appendix A

she learned Brown would not be replacing

Robertson. At that point, she knew the “problem

wasn’t going to go away,” and she “was going to

have to do something to put an end to it.” However,

she was scared that no one in management would

believe her and that she would lose her job.

On June 26, 1993, plaintiff arrived at work

and learned her usual “buddy” had been assigned

to work with another miner and she was the “extra

person.” Afraid Brown would again attempt to

harass her, she completed a few of her assigned tasks

and told Brown she was sick and was going home.

On June 27, 1993, plaintiff was again

designated the “extra person.” Brown ordered her

to accompany him to shovel some tunnels in the

mine. When they arrived, Brown again began

harassing her in the identical manner as in the

previous incidents. Plaintiff refused his advances

and refused to masturbate him. Brown drove

plaintiff back to his office and told her to go to

her machine and work through lunch. Later that

same day, Brown ordered plaintiff to help him

clean his office. When they were alone, he again

began harassing plaintiff, touching her, and

repeatedly asking her to have sex. Plaintiff refused

Brown’s advances.

On June 28, 1993, plaintiff called the line

foreman and told him she was having some

problems and needed to take some vacation days

Ja

Appendix A

to finish out the remainder of her eleven-day shift.

On her next scheduled work day (July 5, 1993),

plaintiff called in sick. She also called in sick the

following day.

On July 7, 1993, plaintiff called Dale Janway,

a manager in the safety office, and told him what

had happened with Brown. Janway told plaintiff

“this is pretty big,” and he would have to talk with

Ken Leivo, the human resources manager. Later that

afternoon, Leivo telephoned plaintiff and informed

her she would be on administrative leave pending

the outcome of his investigation. Leivo also asked

plaintiff to prepare a written statement outlining

what had happened. Plaintiff and Leivo talked on

the telephone several times between July 7 and July

12. Leivo told plaintiff that Brown had admitted

everything but said the incidents were consensual.

On July 14, 1993, Leivo issued a three-page

“Determination and Disposition,” noting

plaintiff's and Brown’s versions of what happened

were substantially similar, with the exception that

Brown alleged the encounters were consensual.

*** [T]he document indicated that plaintiff

would be “made whole for all work time lost as a

result of the matter,” that she would be provided

with counseling services and necessary medical

treatment and prescription drugs, that she would

be moved to a different crew in the mine, that

Brown would be formally reprimanded for his

involvement in the incident, that Brown would

8a

Appendix A

“be placed on permanent probation for any future

activity of this type,” and that Brown would be

- ordered to have no contact with plaintiff “other

than that which might be absolutely necessary as

part of his required duties.”

Although plaintiff remained on the Potash

payroll for approximately one year, she never

returned to work. On June 17, 1994, her

employment was terminated due to a reduction

in force at the mine.

Id. at 1440-42 (internal citations omitted).

Harrison filed suit against EPI and Brown alleging

hostile work environment sexual harassment under Title VII

of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and violations of New Mexico

tort law. A jury returned a verdict in favor of Harrison and

against Brown on her state law claims of intentional infliction

of emotional distress and battery, and awarded her

compensatory damages of $102,500 and punitive damages

of $40,000. The jury found against Harrison, however, with

respect to her Title VII claim against EPI.

Harrison appealed from the judgment on her Title VII

claim, arguing that the district court erroneously instructed

the jury as to the requirements for imposing liability on an

employer for sexual harassment perpetrated by one of its

supervisory employees.' We agreed with Harrison and

reversed and remanded for further proceedings on the Title

1. Brown did not appeal from the judgment entered against

him.

9a

Appendix A

VII claim. Harrison J, 112 F.3d at 1451. Following issuance

of its companion decisions in Faragher v. City of Boca Raton,

524 U.S. 775 (1998), and Burlington Industries, Inc. v.

Ellerth, 524 U.S. 742 (1998), the Supreme Court granted

EPI’s petition for writ of certiorari, summarily vacated the

decision in Harrison I, and remanded the action to this court

for further consideration. Eddy Potash, Inc. v. Harrison, 524

U.S. 947 (1998). On remand, we again concluded that the

district court improperly instructed the jury with respect to

the standards for imposing liability on an employer for sexual

harassment perpetrated by one of its supervisory employees.’

Harrison v. Eddy Potash, Inc., 158 F.3d 1371, 1377 (10th

Cir. 1998) (Harrison II). Accordingly, we reversed the

judgment in favor of EPI and against Harrison on her Title

VII claim and remanded the case to the district court for

further proceedings.

On remand to the district court, the parties filed cross-

motions for summary judgment. EPI asserted in its motion

that it was entitled to summary judgment on Harrison’s Title

VII claim because, in its view, the uncontroverted facts

developed at the first trial demonstrated that it could satisfy

the affirmative defense outlined in Faragher and Burlington.

Harrison, in her motion, argued that she was entitled to partial

summary judgment on the issue of whether Brown’s conduct

was severe or pervasive enough to constitute actionable

sexual harassment under Title VII. In support of her motion,

Harrison asserted that the jury in the first trial, by finding in

her favor on the two tort/claims against Brown, effectively

2. We also rejected EPI’s argument that it was entitled to

judgment as a matter of law with respect to the affirmative defense

outlined in Faragher and Burlington. Harrison II, 158 F.3d at 1377.

10a

Appendix A

found that one or more of the encounters between herself

and Brown were non-consensual. Harrison asserted that EPI

was bound by the jury’s finding in this regard because,

“(although the judgment in [her] favor [wa]s only against

_. .Brown, EPI and Brown [we]re privies . . . witha complete

identity of interests.” App. at 112. Harrison emphasized that

“EP]’s liability was predicated on the conduct of Brown,”

and that both Brown and EPI “were represented by the same

counsel” and “put on a single, unified defense” during the

first trial. Jd. Finally, Harrison asserted that the two

defendants shared a single, common defense during the first

trial, i.e., that the encounters between Brown and Harrison

were consensual. Thus, Harrison asserted, “the only liability

issue left for the jury’s determination [wa]s whether or not

EPI [wa]s itself liable for... Brown’s sexual harassment.”

Id.

The district court issued an initial order granting in part

Harrison’s motion for partial summary judgment and

granting in part and denying in part EPI’s motion for

summary judgment. With respect to Harrison’s motion, the ©

district court concluded that EPI was “collaterally estopped

from denying Harrison’s lack of consent to Brown’s physical

sexual contact.” Jd. at 280. More specifically, the district

court concluded that “[b]ecause one of the elements of battery

is that it be non-consensual, and because the jury returned a

verdict in favor of Harrison on her battery claim against

Brown, the issue of Harrison’s consent ha{d] already been

fully litigated and necessarily decided.” Id. With respect to

EPI’s motion, the district court concluded that, consistent

with the opinion in Harrison II, there was “a genuine issue

of material fact concerning EPI’s affirmative defenses under

lla

Appendix A

Faragher.” Id. at 279. Because, however, Harrison conceded

she was not entitled to punitive damages, the district court

granted summary judgment in favor of EPI on the issue of

punitive damages.

At the direction of the district court, the parties submitted

proposed jury instructions on the issue of unwelcome sexual

advances. After reviewing the parties’ proposed jury

instructions, the district court issued an order granting in its

entirety Harrison’s motion for partial summary judgment.

In doing so, the court noted that EPI had conceded at the

May 1999 pretrial conference “that the only physical contact

between Brown and Harrison was of a sexual nature, so there

[wa]s no genuine issue of material fact regarding the

requirement that the conduct be sexually orientated.” Jd. at

285J. Thus, the court concluded, “the issues to be decided

[we]re whether there [wa]s a genuine issue of material fact

regarding the ‘unwelcome’ element of Harrison’s hostile

work environment claim, and whether Brown’s conduct was

sufficiently severe or pervasive as to alter the conditions of

Harrison’s employment and create an abusive working

environment under both an objective and subjective

standard.” Jd. After examining “the jury instructions, jury

verdict, [and] trial transcript” from the first trial, the district

court concluded “there [wa]s no genuine issue of material

fact regarding Harrison’s claim that Brown’s conduct created

a hostile work environment,” and that the only issue to be

decided at trial was “whether the affirmative defense set forth

in Faragher and Burlington insulate[d] EPI from ‘liability

for Brown’s conduct.” Jd.

12a

_ Appendix A

At trial, the jury rejected EPI’s affirmative defense and

found in favor of Harrison on her Title VII claim. Because

the parties had agreed, prior to trial, to be bound by the

damage figures assessed in the first trial, the jury in the

second trial did not consider or assess damages. EPI

subsequently filed a motion for judgment notwithstanding

the verdict or, in the alternative, for new trial. EPI argued,

in part, that the district court erred in granting partial

summary judgment in favor of Harrison “on the elements of

sexual harassment.” Jd. at 339. The district court denied EPI’s

post-trial motion.

Il.

Entry of partial summary judgment

EPI contends the district court erred in granting partial

summary judgment in favor of Harrison on the issue of

whether she was subjected by Brown to actionable sexual

harassment. EPI forwards two arguments in support of its

position. First, EPI contends that our mandate in Harrison II

required the district court to conduct a trial de novo on all

factual issues relevant to Harrison’s Title VII claim, and thus

effectively precluded the district court from granting

summary judgment on any aspect of the Title VII claim.

Second, and alternatively, EPI argues that it was improper

for the district court, in granting partial summary judgment

in favor of Harrison, to “rely upon any factual determination

made by the jury in the first trial on any issue of liability.”

Aplt. Br. at 20.

13a

Appendix A

We review de novo the district court’s grant of summary

judgment, applying the same legal standard as the district

court. E.g., Trujillo v. Univ. of Colo. Health Sciences Ctr.,

157 F.3d 1211, 1213 (10th Cir. 1998). Summary judgment

is appropriate only if the admissible evidence shows “there

is NO genuine issue as to any material fact and that the moving

party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R.

Civ. P. 56(c). We also review de novo the district court’s

application of the doctrine of collateral estoppel. See Dodge

v. Cotter Corp., 203 F.3d 1190, 1197 (10th Cir.), cert. denied,

121 S. Ct. 71 (2000); see also Gonzales v. Hernandez, 175

F.3d 1202, 1204 (10th Cir. 1999) (reviewing de novo a

district court’s entry of summary judgment barring claims

under the doctrine of collateral estoppel).

Addressing EPI’s arguments in order, we note that EPI

failed to argue in the district court that our mandate in

Harrison II precluded the district court from considering

dispositive motions relevant to Harrison’s Title VII claim.

Indeed, EPI filed its own dispositive motion on remand.

Thus, EPI has waived the argument for purposes of appeal.

See Vitkus v. Beatrice Co., 127 F.3d 936, 946-47 (10th Cir.

1997) (deeming issue raised first time on appeal waived).

Even if we were willing to overlook EPI’s waiver, we are

not persuaded there is any merit to its argument. Nothing in

the mandate of Harrison I] precluded the district court from

considering dispositive motions on any or all issues relevant

to Harrison’s Title VII claim. See Guidry v. Sheet Metal

Workers Int'l Assoc., 10 F.3d 700, 706 (10th Cir. 1993) (“When

further proceedings follow a general remand, the lower court

is free to decide anything not foreclosed by the mandate

issued by the higher court.”) (internal quotations omitted).

14a

Appendix A

EPI’s second argument, i.e., that it was improper for the

district court to grant summary judgment based upon any

determination made by the jury in the first trial, is more

difficult. In its initial order discussing Harrison’s motion for

partial summary judgment, the district court concluded that,

based on the jury’s verdict against Brown in the first trial,

EPI was “collaterally estopped from denying Harrison’s lack

of consent to Brown’s physical sexual contact.” App. at 280.

In its second order discussing Harrison’s motion, the district

court analyzed whether, as a matter of law, Brown’s actions

created an actionable hostile environment for purposes of

Title VII. The district court noted that EPI had conceded

during a May 1999 pretrial conference that the only physical

contact between Brown and Harrison was of a sexual nature.

Based upon this concession, the court concluded there was

no genuine issue of material fact concerning whether

Brown’s conduct was sexually oriented. The court then

reviewed the essential elements of the two tort claims against

Brown and concluded, based upon the jury’s findings on

those tort claims, that Harrison had established as a matter

of law that Brown’s conduct was both “unwelcome” and

objectively hostile. The court noted it was uncontroverted

that Harrison subjectively believed that Harrison’s conduct

was hostile. Thus, the court concluded “there [wa]s no

genuine issue of material fact regarding Harrison’s claim

that Brown’s conduct created a hostile work environment,”

and the only issue of fact to be decided at trial was whether

EPI was entitled to prevail on the Faragher/Burlington

affirmative defense. Id. at 285J. :

Although there are some conflicting statements in the

district court’s second order, it is clear that the district court

g 2 pene id eh Fe eee ye Cram VON Opa ty pet ast PERS BSR RSS PAS er et eg AP ONE een PE LED ee eee De POSER LF pea ey Ee Meret a ME MINS rae s y Ee ELe ee BOS ees

hey ELAS Re OES Ra RS ETO RAEN Re Me eee Pee Peres pi bei a ile . agit Ba eT SA ey te NER Ne Ee ee ree ee Nar Ee tse ae Ny

15a

Appendix A

relied, to some degree, on the doctrine of collateral estoppel.

As the Supreme Court has noted:

“Collateral estoppel” is an awkward phrase,

but it stands for an extremely important principle

in our adversary system of justice. It means simply

that when an issue of ultimate fact has once been

determined by a valid and final judgment, that

issue cannot again be litigated between the same

parties in any future lawsuit.

Ashe v. Swenson, 397 U.S. 436, 443 (1970). To apply

collateral estoppel, the following elements must be

established: (1) the issue previously decided is identical with

the one presented in the action in question, (2) the prior action

has been finally adjudicated on the merits, (3) the party

against whom the doctrine is invoked was a party, or in

privity with a party, to the prior adjudication, and (4) the

party against whom the doctrine is raised had a full and fair

opportunity to litigate the issue in the prior action. Dodge,

203 F.3d at 1198.

EPI has challenged only the first element — whether

the issue previously decided is identical with the one now

presented.’ In deciding this question, the jury instructions

from the first trial are the “blueprint for determining the

parameters of the first jury’s verdict.” Jd. The jury at the

first trial was instructed that, to recover on her claim of

outrage, Harrison had to prove: (1) “[t]hat the conduct of

3. At no time, either in the district court or in this appeal, has

EPI argued that it was not in privity with Brown for purposes of

collateral estoppel.

l6a

Appendix A

_ Brown was extreme and outrageous under the

circumstances,” (2) “[t]hat . .. Brown acted intentionally or

recklessly,” and (3) “[a]s a result of the conduct of . . . Brown,

[she] experienced severe emotional distress.” App. at 285K.

With respect to the battery claim, the jury at the first trial

was instructed that Harrison had to prove: (1) “[t]hat ...

Brown intentionally touched or struck [her],” (2) “(t]hat such

contact by [Brown] was harmful or offensive,” and (3) “[t}hat

the contact was without consent of the plaintiff.” Jd. As the

district court correctly concluded, the jury’s verdict in favor

of Harrison on these two claims means the jury necessarily

found “that Brown intentionally touched or struck Harrison

without her consent, that the contact was harmful or offensive

to Harrison, that Brown’s conduct was extreme and

outrageous, that Brown acted intentionally and recklessly,

and that Brown’s conduct caused Harrison severe emotional

distress.” Jd. at 285L.

The next question is whether any of the issues decided

by the first jury are identical to those presented in Harrison’s

Title VII case against EPI. To prevail on her Title VII claim,

Harrison had to establish, in part, that Brown’s conduct

toward her was (1) unwelcome, (2) based upon her sex, and

(3) sufficiently severe or pervasive as to alter the conditions

of her employment and create an abusive working

environment. See Faragher, 524 U.S. at 787-89; Harris v.

Forklift Sys., Inc., 510 U.S. 17, 20-23 (1993); Meritor Sav.

Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57, 65-73 (1986). Obviously,

although there is some common ground between these issues

and those decided by the jury in the first trial, they are not

identical. Nevertheless, as the district court noted, EPI’s only

defense to the Title VII claim, apart from its assertion of the

PRS ALE Ot

PEARLS.

IPM ERIN LEIA GE GG BEEN IO DNLIIY A DIAM INGE

17a

Appendix A

Faragher/Burlington affirmative defense, was that Harrison

consented to Brown’s sexual advances. Because the jury in

the first trial decided this issue of fact against Brown and

EPI, we conclude the district court was correct in determining

that the doctrine of collateral estoppel prohibited EPI from

relitigating that issue. In other words, the doctrine of

collateral estoppel did not bar EPI from relitigating any of

the essential elements of Harrison’s Title VII claim, but it

did prohibit EPI from relitigating the more narrow factual

issue of whether Harrison consented to Brown’s sexual

advances.‘

Having concluded that Harrison’s lack of consent was

established and controlling for purposes of her Title VII

claim, the remaining question is whether there was a basis

for granting partial summary judgment in Harrison’s favor

on any of the essential elements of that claim. The details of

the encounters between Brown and Harrison, except for the

consent issue, were unchallenged by EPI. Combined with

the collateral estoppel effect of the first jury’s resolution of

the consent issue, it was therefore uncontroverted that, on

several occasions over a seven-week period, Brown made

aggressive sexual advances to Harrison and, against her will,

4. The district court concluded that the verdict on the tort claims

in the first trial established that, “on at least one occasion,” Harrison

did not consent to Brown’s conduct. App. at 285M. Our view is

somewhat different. In light of the testimony of Harrison and Brown,

we believe the jury could only have reasonably reached one of two

conclusions: either that Harrison consented to all of the advances,

or that she consented to none of them. By finding against Brown on

the tort claims, we believe the jury necessarily found that a// of the

incidents described by Harrison were nonconsensual.

18a

Appendix A

intimately touched her body and forced her to masturbate

him. In short, it was uncontroverted that Brown sexually

assaulted Harrison on multiple occasions over a relatively

brief period.

Based upon this uncontroverted evidence, we agree with

the district court that Harrison was entitled to summary

judgment on three elements of her Title VII claim. First, it

was undoubtedly established that Brown’s conduct was

unwelcome, i.e., unwanted and distasteful. Second, there is

no doubt that Brown’s conduct was based on Harrison’s sex.

E.g., Hicks v. Gates Rubber Co., 833 F.2d 1406, 1415 (10th

Cir. 1987) (discussing “based on sex” element and noting it

includes sexual advances). Third, there were no genuine

issues of material fact concerning whether Brown’s conduct

was sufficiently severe or pervasive as to alter the conditions

of Harrison’s employment and create an abusive working

environment. In Harris, the Supreme Court concluded that,

for purposes of this third element, the conduct in question

must be judged by both an objective and a subjective

standard-the conduct must be “severe or pervasive enough

to create . . . an environment that a reasonable person would

find hostile or abusive,” and the victim must “subjectively

perceive th[at] environment to be abusive.” 510 U.S. at 21.

Harris further concluded that, in determining whether a work

environment is hostile or abusive, all of the circumstances

of the case must be examined, including: (1) the frequency

of the discriminatory conduct; (2) its severity; (3) whether it

is physically threatening or humiliating, or a mere offensive

utterance; (4) whether the conduct unreasonably interfered

with the plaintiff's work performance; and (5) what

psychological harm, if any, resulted. See id. at a.

oA uN a tai 7 1 aa

19a

Appendix A

Here, it was uncontroverted that Harrison subjectively

perceived Brown’s assaults as severe enough to create a

hostile and abusive working environment. From an objective

standpoint, it appears clear that a jury could only have agreed.

Although the assaults occurred over a relatively short period,

they were extreme in nature, they were physically threatening

and humiliating to Harrison (and would have been to any

reasonable person in her position), they clearly interfered

with her work performance (causing her to call in sick on

several occasions to avoid contact with Brown), and it was

uncontroverted that they caused psychological harm to

Harrison.°

EPI’s requested jury instructions

EPI contends the district court erred in refusing two of

its tendered jury instructions. We review a district court’s

refusal to give a requested jury instruction under an abuse

of discretion standard. Dodoo v. Seagate Tech., Inc., 235

F.3d 522, 529 (10th Cir. 2000). In doing so, we consider de

novo whether the instructions, as a whole, accurately

informed the jury of the issues and the governing law.

5. Although it is arguable that even one of the incidents, viewed

alone, would have been sufficient to create a hostile or abusive

working environment for purposes of Title VII, see Cruz v. Coach

Stores, Inc., 202 F.3d 560, 570 (2d Cir. 2000) (indicating that a

Title VII plaintiff can establish actionable sexual harassment based

upon “a single incident [of sexual harassment that] was

extraordinarily severe”); Torres v. Pisano, 116 F.3d 625, 631 n.4

(2d Cir. 1997) (“Of course, even a single episode of harassment, if

severe enough, can establish a hostile work environment.”), we need

not decide this issue.

20a

Appendix A

See Fed. Deposit Ins. Corp. v. Schuchmann, 235 F.3d

1217, 1221 (10th Cir. 2000).

Indest instruction. EPI tendered, but the district court

refused to give, the following instruction: “You are instructed

that if you find that Plaintiff Jeanne Harrison promptly

complained of Robert L. Brown’s harassing conduct and that

Eddy Potash promptly responded, disciplined appropriately,

and stopped the harassment, then you should find for Eddy

Potash.” App. at 106. EPI contends that the tendered

instruction, which was based upon Jndest v. Freeman

Decorating, Inc., 164 F.3d 258 (Sth Cir. 1999), correctly

stated the law and should have been given to the jury.

The sole issue at trial in this case was whether EPI could

avoid vicarious liability for Brown’s misconduct by

establishing its entitlement to the affirmative defense outlined

in Faragher and Burlington. The Faragher/Burlington

affirmative defense can only be raised if “no tangible

employment action [wa]s taken” by the harassing supervisor

against the plaintiff employee. Faragher, 524 U.S. at 807.

If this preliminary requirement is met, the employer must

establish, by a preponderance of the evidence, that (1) it

“exercised reasonable care to prevent and correct promptly

any sexually harassing behavior,” and (2) “the plaintiff

employee unreasonably failed to take advantage of any

preventive or corrective opportunities provided by the

employer or to avoid harm otherwise.” /d. EPI argued in the

district court, and continues to assert on appeal, that Jndest

correctly modified the Faragher/Burlington affirmative

defense and that the district court should have recognized

and adopted this modification.

2la

Appendix A

In Jndest, the plaintiff employee filed suit against her

employer under Title VII alleging she had been sexually

harassed by a member of the employer’s upper management.

More specifically, the plaintiff alleged that at a week-long

convention where she was working, the alleged harasser on

five occasions made crude sexual comments and sexual

gestures to her. Following the fifth incident, plaintiff reported

the harasser’s conduct to her supervisor. In turn, the employer

swiftly investigated the incidents and reprimanded the

harasser. Although the harassment ceased, plaintiff filed suit

against the employer alleging actionable sexual harassment

under Title VII. The district court granted judgment as a

matter of law in favor of the employer.

On appeal, a divided panel of the Fifth Circuit affirmed.

The authoring judge purported to distinguish the case from

Faragher and Burlington on the grounds that, “for purposes

of imposing vicarious liability, a case presenting only an

incipient hostile environment corrected by prompt remedial

action should be distinct from a case in which a company

was never called upon to react to a supervisor’s protracted

or extremely severe acts that created a hostile environment.”

Indest, 164 F.3d at 265. The authoring judge offered four

reasons for doing so: (1) “when a plaintiff promptly

complains about a supervisor’s inappropriate sexual actions,

she can thwart the creation of a hostile work environment”;

(2) a “company’s swift response to the plaintiff's complaint

should have consequences for its vicarious liability exposure

precisely because the company forestalled the creation of a

hostile environment”; (3) “[i]mposing vicarious liability on

an employer for a supervisor’s ‘hostile environment’ actions

despite its swift and appropriate remedial response to the

victim’s complaint would . . . undermine not only Meritor

22a

Appendix A

but Title VII’s deterrent policy”; and (4) “Faragher implies

that a plaintiff should not wait as long as it usually takes for

a sexually hostile working environment to develop when the

company has an effective grievance mechanism.” /d. at

265-67. The authoring judge then proceeded to craft her own

standard under which, if a plaintiff employee promptly

complains of harassing conduct and the employer promptly

responds, disciplines the harasser and stops the harassment,

the employer is relieved of Title VII vicarious liability for

the harasser’s conduct. Jd. at 267.

There are several major problems with Jndest. First, it

represents the views of only one member of the three-judge

panel that decided the case. The other two members of the

panel concurred in the judgment only, and one of the

concurring judges wrote a separate, subsequently published

concurring opinion expressly rejecting the analytical framework

enunciated in Indest.° Indest v. Freeman Decorating, Inc.,

168 F.3d 795, 796 (Sth Cir. 1999) (Indest II) (“I cannot agree

with Judge Jones’s conclusion that the Supreme Court’s

remarkably straightforward and perfectly consistent twin

opinions in [Faragher and Burlington] do not control the

present case — and, indeed all cases in which the plaintiff

seeks to hold his employer vicariously liable for a supervisor’s

sexual harassment.”). Because, as pointed out in Indest II,

the third member of the panel did not join either opinion,

“neither enjoys a quorum and thus neither writing constitutes

precedent in [the Fifth] Circuit.” Jd. at 796 n.1.

6. Indest I] proposed affirming the district court’s judgment

on the grounds that the conduct was not severe or pervasive enough

to constitute actionable sexual harassment under Title VII. 168 F.3d

at 796. :

23a

Appendix A

Second, we have effectively rejected the modified

employer defense enunciated in Jndest. In Gunnell v. Utah

Valley State College, 152 F.3d 1253 (10th Cir. 1998), the

plaintiff filed suit against her employer under Title VII alleging,

in part, that she had been subjected to sexual harassment by her

supervisor. The district court (prior to the issuance of Faragher

and Burlington) granted summary judgment in favor of the

employer on the grounds that “the sexual harassment stopped

after [plaintiff] complained” about it to the employer’s

personnel director. Jd. at 1259. We reversed and remanded

with directions to the district court to apply the two-pronged

defense set forth in Faragher and Burlington. In doing so,

we effectively rejected the position advanced in Jndest, i.e.,

that an employer’s prompt corrective action can be sufficient

by itself to avoid vicarious liability under Title VII for sexual

harassment committed by a supervisory employee.

Third, even assuming that Gunnell did not resolve the

issue, the reasoning of Jndest is highly suspect and, in our

view, should not be adopted. As outlined in Jndest IJ, there

is no reason to believe that the “remarkably straightforward”

framework outlined in Faragher and Burlington does not

contro] all cases in which a plaintiff employee seeks to hold

his or her employer vicariously liable for a supervisor’s

sexual harassment. /ndest II, 168 F.3d at 796.

Finally, even ignoring all of the problems already cited,

the facts of Harrison’s case are so far removed from the facts

of Jndest that the modified employer defense announced

therein would not be applicable here. Jndest involved a

handful of crude sexual comments and gestures made during

the course of a week-long seminar; in the words of the Jndest

court, it “was neither severe nor pervasive,” Jndest, 164 F.3d at

24a

Appendix A

264, and, at most, created what that court characterized as “an

incipient hostile environment.” Jd. at 265. Here, in contrast,

Brown’s misconduct was most certainly “severe,” and

undoubtedly created a hostile work environment for Harrison.

We therefore conclude the district court did not abuse

its discretion in rejecting EPI’s tendered instruction. In short,

the tendered instruction was not an accurate statement of

the governing law, and would have misled the jury in its

determination of the issues.

Generalized fear of retaliation instruction. EPI asked

the district court to give the following instruction: “Generalized

fear of retaliation or repercussions related to reporting to an

employer of sexual harassment in the workplace does not

constitute reasonable grounds for an employee’s failure to

raise a complaint of harassment with her employer.” App. at

107. The district court rejected the tendered instruction on

the grounds that it “unduly emphasize(d] one narrow area of

the law that [wa]s adequately covered” in the court’s other

instructions. Jd. at 577.

The instruction tendered by EPI appears to be a correct

statement of federal law. Although we have never addressed

the issue, other circuit courts have expressly stated that, for

purposes of applying the Faragher/Burlington affirmative

defense, “[a] generalized fear of retaliation does not excuse

a failure to report sexual harassment.” Barrett v. Applied

Radiant Energy Corp., 240 F.3d 262, 266 (4th Cir. 2001);

see Shaw v. Autozone, Inc., 180 F.3d 806, 813 (7th Cir. 1999)

(“[W]e conclude that an employee’s subjective fears of

confrontation, unpleasantness or retaliation do not alleviate

the employee’s duty under Ellerth to alert the employer to

25a

Appendix A

the allegedly hostile environment.”), cert. denied, 528 U.S.

1076 (2000); Madray v. Publix Super Mkts., Inc., 30 F. Supp.

2d 1371, 1375 (S.D. Fla. 1998) (“An employee’s generalized

fear of repercussions cannot form the basis for an employee’s

failure to complain to his or her employer.”), aff'd 208 F.3d

1290 (11th Cir. 2000).

” The question, then, is whether the subject matter of the

requested instruction was adequately covered in the district

court’s general instructions. See Schuchmann, 235 F.3d at

1222. Consistent with Faragher and Burlington, the district

court instructed the jury that EPI would be liable for Brown’s

sexual harassment of Harrison unless EPI could prove, by a

preponderance of the evidence, that (1) it “exercised

reasonable care to prevent and correct promptly any sexually

harassing behavior,” and (2) “Harrison unreasonably failed

to take advantage of any preventive or corrective

opportunities provided by [EPI] or to avoid harm otherwise.”

App. at 314. Although the district court did not provide any

further explanation of either prong of the affirmative defense,

we conclude that this general instruction, considered together

with the court’s other instructions, properly conveyed to the

jury the issues to be decided and the governing law. The

instruction precisely tracked the Supreme Court’s description

of the employer’s affirmative defense in Faragher and

Burlington. See Burlington, 524 U.S. at 765; Faragher, 524

U.S. at 807. Thus, we are unable to conclude the district

court abused its discretion in rejecting the tendered

instruction. See generally United States v. Cerrato-Reyes,

176 F.3d 1253, 1262 (10th Cir. 1999) (citing various cases

in which it may have been preferable to give a tendered

instruction, but where the district court did not err in refusing

26a

Appendix A

“to do so because the jury was not otherwise misled by the

district court’s general instructions).

EPI’s motion for judgment as a matter of law

EPI contends the district court erred in denying its

motion for judgment as a matter of law. According to EPI,

the evidence presented at trial unequivocally demonstrated

that it was entitled to prevail on the affirmative defense

outlined by the Supreme Court in Faragher and Burlington.

We review de novo a district court’s disposition of a motion

for judgment as a matter of law, applying the same standard

as the district court. Ballard v. Muskogee Reg’l Med. Ctr.,

238 F.3d 1250, 1252 (10th Cir. 2001). Such a judgment is

warranted only if the evidence points but one way and is

susceptible to no reasonable inferences supporting the party

opposing the motion. Jd.

Focusing on the first prong of the Faragher/Burlington

affirmative defense, we conclude the jury could reasonably

have found that EPI failed to exercise reasonable care to

prevent any sexually harassing behavior. On October 4, 1989,

EPI drafted and disseminated to its supervisory personnel a

written “policy statement on sexual discrimination and sexual

harassment.” App. at 702. At that time, EPI (through its

Human Resource Manager, Kenny Leivo) instructed its

supervisory personnel to “hold . .. meeting[s] with [their

respective] crew[s] and read the policy statement to them,”

and “[pjost the Policy on the bulletin board{s] after your

meeting|s].” Jd. Although there is no indication in the record

that EPI’s supervisory personnel failed to comply with these

directions, the evidence indicates that non-supervisory

personnel were not provided with copies of the policy, nor

—

27a -

Appendix A

were copies of the policy posted on all of the bulletin boards

in the mine. In particular, it was uncontroverted that a copy

of the policy was not posted in the changing room used by

the women miners. More importantly, the evidence strongly

suggests that, subsequent to October 4, 1989, the policy was

largely ignored. Brown, the harasser in this case, testified

without contradiction that no mention was made of the policy

by EPI management after October 1989, and that no seminars

on the subject of sexual harassment were ever held by EPI.

Further, it was uncontroverted that, when Harrison began

working for EPI in May 1992,’ she was neither informed of

the policy nor was a written copy of the policy included in

the folder of written materials provided to her by EPI during

orientation. Taken together, this evidence clearly would have

allowed the jury to conclude that EPI exercised less than

reasonable care in preventing sexual harassment by its

employees. See Brown v. Perry, 184 F.3d 388, 396 (4th Cir.

1999) (noting “that mere promulgation of-... a [sexual

harassment] policy may well fail to satisfy the employer’s

burden” under the first prong of Faragher); cf. Shaw, 180

F.3d at 811-12 (concluding that employer exercised

reasonable careto prevent sexual harassment where employer

adopted an anti-harassment policy which it distributed to

each of its employees, each employee was required as a

condition of employment to read and comply with the policy,

employer regularly trained managers regarding the policy,

and supervisors were not isolated from higher management).

The judgment of the district court is AFFIRMED.

7. Harrison had previously worked for EPI on two separate

occasions, once in 1987 and once in 1988. At neither of those times

did EPI have an official policy in place regarding sexual harassment.

28a

APPENDIX B — JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED

STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF

NEW MEXICO DATED AND FILED MARCH 30, 2000

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEW MEXICO

No. CIV 94-691 JP/WWD

JEANNE HARRISON,

Plaintiff,

Vs.

EDDY POTASH, INC., a New Mexico corporation,

and ROBERT L. BROWN,

Defendants.

JUDGMENT

On February 22-23, 2000, this case was tried by a jury

on the sole issue of whether Defendant Eddy Potash, Inc.

was liable for the sexual harassment of Plaintiff Jeanne

Harrison by Eddy Potash, Inc.’s supervisor, Robert L. Brown.

The jury found in favor of Plaintiff Jeanne Harrison and

found that Defendant Eddy Potash, Inc. was liable for the

sexual harassment committed by Robert L. Brown. The

compensatory damages for which Eddy Potash, Inc. is liable

had been previously established by a judgment against

Defendant Robert L. Brown entered on February 8, 1996, as

$102,500.00. Based on the jury’s verdict rendered at the

conclusion of the February 22-23, 2000 trial and the damage

award established by the February 8, 1996 judgment,

29a

Appendix B

JUDGMENT is hereby entered in favor of Plaintiff

Jeanne Harrison and against Defendant Eddy Potash, Inc. in

the amount of $102,500.00, plus interest at the rate of 6.197%

per year from the date of entry of this judgment.

Plaintiff, the prevailing party, will be awarded allowable

costs and reasonable attorney fees; Plaintiff must submit her

motion to tax costs and her application for award of attorney

fees in accordance with Fed. R. Civ. P. 54 and

D.N.M.LR-Civ. 54.

s/ James A. Parker

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

30a

APPENDIX C — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING

DATED AND FILED MAY 31, 2001

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 00-2221

JEANNE HARRISON,

Plaintiff-Counter-Defendant-

Appellee,

Vv.

EDDY POTASH, INC., a New Mexico corporation,

Defendant-Counter-Claimant-

Appellant,

and

ROBERT L. BROWN,

Defendant-Counter-Claimant.

ORDER

Filed May 31, 2001

3la

Appendix C

Before SEYMOUR, GIBSON*, and BRISCOE, Circuit

Judges.

Appellant’s petition for rehearing is denied.

The petition for rehearing en banc was transmitted to all

of the judges of the court who are in regular active service

as required by Fed. R. App. P. 35. As no member of the

panel and no judge in regular active service on the court

requested that the court be polled, that petition is also denied.

Entered for the Court

PATRICK FISHER,

Clerk of Court

by: s/ K. Fabrizio

Deputy Clerk

: * The Honorable John K. Gibson, Circuit Judge, United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation.

32a

APPENDIX D — RELEVANT STATUTE

The pertinent provision of Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e, et seq.

(“Title VII’) as set forth below:

Section 2000e-2. Unlawful employment practices

(a) Employer practices. It shall be an unlawful

employment practice for an employer —

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to

discharge any individual, or otherwise

to discriminate against any individual

-with respect to his compensation, terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment,

because of such individual’s race, color,

religion, sex, or national origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his

employees or applicants for employment

in any way which would deprive or tend

to deprive any individual or employment

opportunities or otherwise adversely

affect his status as an employee, because

of such individual’s race, color, religion,

sex, or national origin. |

33a

APPENDIX E — RELEVANT JURY INSTRUCTIONS

DEFENDANT’S REQUESTED

INSTRUCTION NO. 7

You are instructed that if you find that Plaintiff Jeanne

Harrison promptly complained of Robert L. Brown’s

harassing conduct and that Eddy Potash promptly responded,

disciplined appropriately, and stopped the harassment, then

you should find for Eddy Potash.

COURT’S INSTRUCTION NO. 5

Defendant Eddy Potash, Inc. is liable for Robert L.

Brown’s sexual harassment of Plaintiff Jeanne Harrison

unless Defendant Eddy Potash can prove each of the

following elements of its defense by a preponderance of the

evidence:

First: Defendant Eddy Potash exercised reasonable

care to prevent and correct promptly any

sexually harassing behavior, and

Second: Plaintiff Jeanne Harrison unreasonably failed

to take advantage of any preventive or corrective

opportunities provided by Defendant Eddy

Potash or to avoid harm otherwise.

If you find that Defendant Eddy Potash has met its burden

of proving both of these matters by a preponderance of the

evidence, then you should find for Defendant Eddy Potash.

34a

Appendix E

If, on the other hand, you find that Defendant Eddy

Potash has not met its burden of proving both of these matters

by a preponderance of the evidence, then you should find

for Plaintiff Jeanne Harrison.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.