Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Arsberry v. Illinois

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S:

(1) FILED

No._91 352 yy > 72008

IN THE OFFICE OF TH: 5; ox

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 2001

KATIE ARSBERRY, PHYLLIS BROOKS, JEANNE GAMMON,

GUADALUPE GIRON, WILLIE MAE HAGGARD, LINDA

GOODMAN, CAROLYN HAWTHORNE, SUSAN HAZELY, MARY

HIGH, AKUA HOPE, ARLENE JOHNSON, ANTHONY MALTESE,

SANDY MARKIEWICZ, CATHERINE NYSTROM, ANNIE ROSS,

JAMILLAH FIELDS, BERENETTA GLASS, JUNE DYLLA,

ELIZABETH STEWART, MIDWEST CENTER FOR JUSTICE, LTD.,

LONNIE ARSBERRY, MAYA HAGGARD, JOHN HIGH, JOHN

MARKIEWICZ, RODNEY NYSTROM, NATHSON FIELDS, CHRIS

BROWN, JOHN BELOW, JUSTIN WILCOX, and MARY WEEKLY,

on behalf of themselves and all others similarly situated,

Petitioners,

<V.<

STATE OF ILLINOIS, MICHAEL S. SCHWARTZ, Director, Central

Management Services, DONALD N. SNYDER, Director, Illinois

Department of Corrections, COOK COUNTY, DUPAGE COUNTY,

KANE COUNTY, AMERITECH SERVICES, INC., AT&T, INVISION

TELECOM, MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS CORPORATION, and

CONSOLIDATED COMMUNICATIONS PUBLIC SERVICES, INC.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT { COURT OF APPEALS

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

BARBARA J ; OLSHANSKY STEPHEN G. SELIGER

Counsel of Record SELIGER, ELKIN & DOLAN

ROBERT T. PERRY 155 North Michigan Avenue

CENTER FOR Chicago, Illinois 60622

CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS 312-616-4244

666 Broadway, Seventh Floor

New York, New York 10012

212-614-6439

Seal he,

sis

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Court of Appeals’ unprecedented holding that

inmates have no First Amendment rights to telephone access

because it is extremely rare for inmates and those whom they

call to use the telephone to convey communications protected

by the First Amendment is consistent with this Court’s prior

First Amendment and Prisoners’ Rights decisions?

2. Whether the Circuit Court of Appeals’ refusal to consider the

First Amendment rights of free citizens, including inmates’

families, friends, ministers, and counsel, to communicate and

associate with inmates by telephone -- in addressing a challenge

to the financial burdens imposed by the present inmate

telephone system in Illinois -- is consistent with this Court’s

decision in Procunier v. Martinez?

-ii-

PARTIES BELOW

The parties before this Court are petitioners Katie Arsberry,

Phyllis Brooks, Jeanne Gammon, Guadalupe Giron, Linda

Goodman, Willie Mae Haggard, Carolyn Hawthorne, Susan

Hazely, Mary High, Akua Hope, Arlene Johnson, Anthony

Maltese, Sandy Markiewicz, Catherine Nystrom, Annie Ross,

Jamillah Fields, Brenetta Glass, June Dylla, Elizabeth Stewart,

Midwest Center for Justice, Ltd., Lonnie Arsberry, Maya

Haggard, Nathson Fields, John High, John Markiewicz, Rodney

Nystrom, Chris Brown, John Below, Justin Wilcox, and Mary

Weekly, on behalf of themselves and all others similarly

situated, and respondents State of Ilinois, Michael S. Schwarz,

as Director of Central Management Services, Donald N. Snyder,

as Director of Illinois Department of Corrections, Cook County,

Dupage County, Kane County, Ameritech Services, Inc.,

AT&T, Invision Telecom, MCI Telecommunications

Corporation, -and Consolidated Communications Public

Services, Inc. Since this action was initiated, one of the

respondents has changed its name to MCI Worldcom, Inc. from

MCI Telecommunications Corporation. Invision Telecom's

successor in interest is Evercom Sysiems, Inc.

RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

Pursuant to Rule 29.1, petitioners inform the Court that

they have no parent companies and no subsidiaries.

-iv-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CURIS Te PIIDEDUEED oc bcncccccccascescsssesis i

PRED BRP asec icaesrisksceveensscenéeues ii

8 by AG iy yi | worrerrrrererrrer erry Ty iil

py) Fe oes sy eerererrererrervre Try iv

TAREE OF AUTRES MED 6c cc ccncwsesnccssanguass Vii

CPS APT kc kincisancccsttceuteeessenas ]

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ..........cccceee |

CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............ 2

STATEDGENT OF SHEE CASS 2 onc ccc ccccscvcccneses 3

SUMMARY OF SEE RPUEEE Nas vivkndesaeeces 9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ............ 10

I. THIS CASE PRESENTS IMPORTANT

ISSUES WORTHY OF THIS COURT’S

REVIEW CONCERNING THE FIRST

AMENDMENT PROTECTIONS AFFORDED

INMATES AND THE FAMILY MEMBERS,

FRIENDS, MINISTERS, AND COUNSELORS

THEY CONVERSE AND ASSOCIATE

WEE SE OY BRM UNO 06s cst ccawansnsannes 10

eV-

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT'S HOLDING

THAT THERE IS NO FIRST AMENDMENT

RIGHT IMPLICATED IN ACCESS TO

PRISON TELEPHONES DIRECTLY

CONFLICTS WITH THE RULINGS OF A

GREAT MAJORITY OF THE CIRCUITS ...... 13

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT ERRED IN

REJECTING PETITIONERS’

CHALLENGE TO THE SINGLE

PROVIDER/COLLECT-CALL ONLY

SYSTEM AND COMMISSION POLICY ...... 16

. The Seventh Circuit's Holding That

Inmates Have No First Amendment Rights

to Telephone Access Cannot Be Reconciled

With This Court’s Prior First Amendment and

Prisoners’ Rights Decisions .................+. 16

. The Seventh Circuit Failed to Recognize

That the Single Provider/Collect-Call Only

System and the Commission Policy Implicates the

First Amendment Rights of Not Only Inmates But

Also Their Families, Friends, and Loved Ones ... 19

. Petitioners Have Stated a Valid Claim That

the Single Provider/Collect-Call Only System

and Commission Policy Violate Their

First and Fourteenth Amendment Rights ........ 21

CUOINNCEARIEUES vccccccccocvocscccecsesseseusaans 25

-vi-

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

SECOND AMENDED COMPLAINT IN

THE DISTRICT COURT ACTION,

OTN; (Foi > & EPPPPPerrrrTTTrTrTrrrer ire Al

APPENDIX B

ORDER OF HON. WILLIAM J. HIBBLER OF

THE U.S. DISTRICT COURT, N.D. ILLINOIS,

DATE? REATIUEE 22, BUGO ccc ccccccccccccsccccces A37

APPENDIX C :

DECISION OF THE U.S. COURT OF APPEALS,

SEVENTH CIRCUIT, DATED MARCH 19, 2001 .... A42

APPENDIX D

ORDER OF THE U.S. COURT OF APPEALS,

SEVENTH CIRCUIT, DATED MARCH 29, 2001,

DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING AND

PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC ........... AS4

APPENDIX E

U.S. CONSTITUTION, AMENDMENTS I & XIV(1) . . AS6

APPENDIX F

SPEC Nan ndsdasccocctsacccennssscaons AS7

-vii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Allen v. Cuomo, 100 F.3d 253 (2d Cir. 1996) ........cccceceeees 24

Beauchamp v. Murphy, 37 F.3d 700 (ist Cir. 1994) ........... 22

Benzel v. Grammar, 869 F.2d 1105 (8th Cir.),

COFt. Gamad, GIS UB. FHS CUSED) cccccesccncsssscasccrcesessscsssessees 14

Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138 (1983) ......cscscececeeeeees 13,18

Continental T.V. v. GTE Sylvania, 433 U.S. 36 (1977) ...... 15

Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. v. Greenmoss Builders, Inc.,

aes neon diss 18

Duran v. Elrod, 542 F.2d 998 (7th Cir. 1976) ....cecsesssesssees- 16

Feeley v. Sampson, 570 F.2d 364 (1st Cir. 1978) ............... 15

First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti,

es I EE pain tceiietpitasctincsbadnannctsenceiansneiilndaniniecninatonen 18

Givhan v. Western Line Consolidated School District,

eae I tai catia ai ictaabihcichideadneapnababibdiananinisene 13,17

Grossjean v. American Press Co., 297 U.S. 233 (1936) ...... 8

Johnson v. California, 207 F.3d 650 (9th Cir. 2000) ...... 8,14

Johnson v. Galli, 596 F. Supp. 135 (D. Nev. 1984) ............ 15

Jordan v. Gardner, 986 F.2d 1521 (9th Cir. 1993) ............. 22

~ Keenan v. Hall, 83 F.3d 1083 (9th Cir. 1996) .....c..secsssees-0 14

-Vill-

Kikimura v. Turner, 28 F.3d 592 (7th Cir. 1994) .............. 23

Lopez v. Reyes, 692 F.2d 15 (Sth Cir. 1982) .......... eee 15

McDonald v. Armontrout, 908 F.2d 388 (8th Cir. 1990) .... 14

Mine Workers v. Illinois Bar Ass’n,

a EE ET sasisditdncesa bcaiseisennaselelaniamanniedasteaiians 18

Minneapolis Star & Tribune Co. v. Minnesota Commissioner

SF IE, GE Ts FIR CRO wthiineceiaisinnsnaiiialsindaniienen 8

Montana v. Commissioners Court,

ee a CD wicienniciieintaeestaatendhineiannatebiiis 15

Moore v. City of East Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494 (1977) ...... 20

Papasan v. Allain, 478 U.S. 265 (1986) ....... ee eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 21

Pell v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817 (1974) ........ eee. eeecceeeees 17,18

Pitts v. Thornburgh, 866 F.2d 1450 (D.C. Cir. 1989) ......... 22

Pope v. Hightower, 101 F.3d 1382 (11th Cir. 1996) .......... 14

Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. 396 TOPOS taiisson 13, 18, 19

Rankin v. McPherson, 483 U.S. 378 (1987) .........csssseeeeeeee 18

Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609 (1984) ...... 20

Shaw v. Murphy, __ U.S. __, 121 S. Ct. 1475 (2001) ......... 12

Shimer v. Washington, 100 F.3d 506 (7th Cir. 1996) ......... 23

Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645 (1972) ...............cessseeeseeeees 20

-ix-

Strandberg v. City of Helena,

Fk Ee re Ge, FD eh trnnncnintrnnnicnsiniccinsinncrnencinnins 14

Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S. 401 (1989) .............0. 16, 22

Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88 (1940) 0.0... eee 18

Tucker v. Randall, 944 F.2d 388 (7th Cir. 1991) «0.2... 16

Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987) ......:ccesccssseesseeeees passim

United States v. Footman, 215 F.3d 145 (1st Cir. 2000) 8, 15

Washington v. Reno, 35 F.3d 1093 (6th Cir. 1994) ............ 14

Wolfish v. Levi, 573 F.2d 118 (2d Cir. 1978), rev'd,

es ee ee eckicttsciptlcinthadaheenniciiciiandenniinte 15

Young-Bey v. Swanson, 2001 U.S. App. LEXIS 2729

Cis FI Pit chninapaiicctcsenisSnstincevatniiietantaekinttnseanntesntininicininain 14

STATUTES

Be RO nase cicacbaeat nents nchanipaseninlemniniontonins ]

cs SUIT cinceaisisnsredenichanenlniniibicnaatantannannomunnianeanicanios 2

First Amendment to the

United States Comstitution ....................ccccccccsssessssssesees passim

Fourteenth Amendment, Section 1, to the

CJentil UN CIID aecisiciisiscessccccncassccccvenansannnsivn passim

INTL LE ee : 7a Me ee ' * ere H aia . "

ie

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners Katie Arsberry, et al. respectfully submit this

petition for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit in Arsberry v. State of Illinois, filed on March 19, 2001.

OPINIONS BELOW

The United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit modified and affirmed the judgment of the United States

District Court for the Northern District of Illinois dismissing the

complaint. The Seventh Circuit’s opinion is reported at 244

F.3d 558 (7th Cir. 2001), and is reprinted in the Appendix

hereto at A42 - A53. The district court’s opinion is reported at

117 F. Supp. 2d 743 (N.D.I1I. 2000), and is reprinted in the

Appendix at A37 - A4l. The Seventh Circuit denied

petitioners’ petition for rehearing with suggestion for rehearing

en banc on May 29, 2001. The denial of rehearing is not

reported, and is reprinted in the Appendix at A55.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit from which petitioners seek review was

issued on March 19, 2001. The Court of Appeals denied a

timely petition for rehearing with suggestion for rehearing en

banc on May 29, 2001. This petition is being timely filed

within 90 days of that denial.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the judgment of

the Court of Appeals is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

i

CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The texts of the First Amendment and the Fourteenth

Amendment, Section 1, to the United States Constitution, as

well as the text of 42 U.S.C. § 1983 are set forth in the

Appendix at A56 - A57.

Ne ee ee ee ee ee ee

A,

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

i. Factual Background

This petition arises from a constitutional and statutory

challenge to the creation and operation of exclusive dealing

contracts between telephone companies and state and county

corrections departments in the State of Ilinois under which

telephone companies like AT&T, MCI Worldcom, and others,

are given exclusive privileges to provide telephone service at

one or more correctional facilities in exchange for the payment

of large “signing bonuses” and “commissions.” (A12)

These contracts are not unique to Illinois. Across the

country, state and county corrections departments have entered

into similar exclusive dealing contracts with private telephone

companies for the provision of inmate telephone services.

Telephone companies vie for these contracts because they offer

access to a high volume system of literally captive customers --

inmates -- over which these companies can maintain monopoly

control and thereby ensure high profits. To secure exclusive

privileges to provide telephone service to inmates at particular

facilities, telephone companies agree to pay corrections

departments signing bonuses and commissions up to 50% of the

gross annual revenue derived from inmate-initiated calls. Over

the past several years, corrections departments in Illinois have

collected in excess of $15 million per year in commissions from

the telephone companies to which they have awarded exclusive

privileges. (A12)

In [linois, as in the vast majority of jurisdictions in the

country, corrections departments sharply limit and tightly

regulate telephone usage by the individuals who are incarcerated

in the facilities they operate. Under the Illinois inmate

telephone system, inmates may not receive telephone calls.

While they may place telephone calls, they must do so on a

collect-call only basis. Moreover, they may only place such

ie

collect calls through the telephone company awarded exclusive

privileges to provide telephone service to the correctional

facility in which they are incarcerated. (A12)

To pay the exorbitant commissions demanded by

corrections departments and to ensure high profits for

themselves, telephone companies charge significantly more for

the collect calls placed by inmates than they charge for collect

calls placed by the general public. Family members, friends,

ministers, counselors, and others who accept calls from inmates

(“inmate call recipients”) thus must pay considerab] y more than

those who accept collect calls from other sources. In addition

to excessive per minute charges, inmate call recipients are

subjected to excessive surcharges and connection fees for each

call placed. The rates charged to a person accepting a collect

call from an inmate in Illinois are thus among the highest, if not

the highest, for any type of telephone service available

nationally, well in excess of charges generally available to the

public for comparable services. (A12 - A13)'

Under the single provider/collect-call only system in

effect in correctional facilities in Illinois and elsewhere, neither

inmates nor call recipients can shop around for lower priced

telephone service. They cannot choose their company. Nor can

they switch to “800" or “888" numbers, dial-around savings

plans, or calling cards to avoid paying the excessive rates that

they pay under the present system. (A13)

There are a number of alternatives to the single-

' For example, a call recipient accepting a typical long-distance call

from a prison must pay an initial “surcharge” averaging $3 a call (and

in some cases nearly $5), and a charge thereafter as high as 60 cents per

minute. Thus, a three-minute call can range from $3.50 to $7.00.

(Record in the Seventh Circuit (“R.”), 62 at 15-16; see, e.g., R. 40 at

AM30, A23-29).

die

provider/coliect-call only system in effect in Illinois which

would impose far less of a financial burden on inmates and

inmate call recipients while concomitantly meeting legitimate

security concerns at no additional cost to corrections

departments. The Federal Bureau of Prisons, for example, uses

a debit account system under which the cost of inmate calls is

only fifteen cents per minute.’ Corrections departments in

Illinois, however, refuse to consider these alternatives.

Needless to say, the excessive charges — in effect, taxes

— under the single provider/collect-call only system and

commission policy sharply limit the duration and number of

telephone calls that inmates may make and that family, friends,

ministers, and counselors can afford to accept. For the many

individuals seeking to maintain their relationships with people

currently incarcerated in state and county facilities, this system

places an unlawful and unjustifiable burden on their

constitutionally guaranteed rights to freedom of speech and

association.

B. Procedural History

Petitioners are the families, friends, ministers,

counselors, attorneys of, and other persons who have close

relationships with, individuals incarcerated in the prisons of the

State of Illinois and in the jails of Cook, DuPage, and Kane

Counties in [linois. They are also inmates currently

incarcerated in those correctional facilities. Petitioners brought

this action against respondents telephone companies and

corrections departments in April 1999, alleging that the

exclusive dealing contracts establishing the single

provider/collect-call only system and commission policy

violated their rights to freedom of speech and association, and

due process and equal protection of the laws under both the

*(R. 36 at 14-16).

United States and Illinois constitutions, and violated the

Communications Act, the Sherman Act, and the Illinois

Antitrust Act. Petitioners also sought injunctive relief to

restrain respondents from maintaining the system. (A1 - A36)

In August and September of 1999, respondents filed

motions to dismiss the complaint under Rule 12(b)(6) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure for failure to state a claim for

relief. Petitioners opposed the motions on the ground, inter

alia, that they had adequately pled First and Fourteenth

Amendment claims and that this Court’s prior decisions

involving prisoners’ rights, including Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S.

78 (1987), mandated an evidentiary hearing to determine

whether the single provider/collect-call only system and

commission policy were “reasonably related to legitimate

penological interests.” Jd. at 89.

In a decision dated March 22, 2000, the district court

dismissed the complaint in its entirety, concluding that

petitioners’ claims were non-justiciable under the filed-rate and

primary-jurisdiction doctrines. (A37 - A41)

Petitioners’ appeal was filed with the court of appeals in

March 2000. Oral argument was heard on the appeal in

December 5, 2000. By opinion dated March 19, 2001, the court

of appeals modified and affirmed the district court’s decision

finding, inter alia, that petitioners’ First Amendment claims

lacked merit and that their remaining constitutional claims were

barred by the filed-rate and primary-jurisdiction doctrines.

Petitioners’ petition for rehearing with suggestion for rehearing

en banc was denied on May 29, 2001.

ot Opinions Below

The district court dismissed petitioners’ case in its

entirety on the grounds that all claims — constitutional and

statutory — were “non-justiciable” under the filed-rate and )

=Je .

primary-jurisdiction doctrines. The court concluded that

because all of petitioners’ claims “‘at some level” concerned

rates charged for telephone service, they must be referred to the

Federal Communications Commission (“FCC”) and the Illinois

Commerce Commission (“ICC”). The district court rendered no

opinion as to whether petitioners had stated claims upon which

relief could be granted. (A37 - A41)

The Seventh Circuit modified and affirmed the district

court’s decision. After discussing various “jurisdictional or

quasi-jurisdictional bars” to elements of petitioners’ suit

separate and apart from those identified by the district court

(A43 - A44), the court concluded that neither the filed-rate

doctrine nor primary- jurisdiction doctrine completely barred

petitioners’ First Amendment challenge to the exclusive dealing

contracts awarded by corrections departments to telephone

companies. (A44 - A48) The Seventh Circuit next proceeded

to consider petitioners’ claims on the merits. (A48 - A53)

In holding that petitioners failed to state a valid First

Amendment claim, the Seventh Circuit opined that “no one

before these plaintiffs supposed the telephone excise tax to be

an infringement of free speech” (A48). The court further stated

that “no one supposes” that the First Amendment exempts

manufacturers of paper from the corporate income tax, or “even

forbid[s] taxing those manufacturers more heavily than

manufacturers of products that are less important as inputs into

the production of communications media” (A48).°

* Contrary to the Seventh Circuit’s characterization of petitioners’ First

Amendment claim, petitioners do not challenge the telephone excise tax,

but rather challenge the tax on inmate telephone service imposed as a

result of the exclusive dealing contracts between corrections departments

and telecommunications companies. There are crucial differences

between the two taxes. While the telephone excise tax is of general

applicability, the tax on inmate telephone service applies only to a select

group of individuals. Morever, whereas the telephone excise tax is a

The Seventh Circuit cited but distinguished Grossjean

v. American Press Co., 297 U.S. 233 (1936), in which this

Court invalidated a tax imposed on newspaper advertising

revenues, because petitioners did not allege that the tax imposed

by the contracts challenged here was motivated by a desire to

limit free speech. (A48 - A49) While finding this case “a bit

closer” to Minneapolis Star & Tribune Co. v. Minnesota

Commissioner of Revenue, 460 U.S. 575 (1983), in which this

Court invalidated a special use tax imposed on a group of

newspapers, the Seventh Circuit, perceived a “vital distinction”:

The entire content of newspapers, in contrast to

telephone calls, is protected by the First

Amendment . . . Although the telephone can be

used to convey communications that are

protected by the First Amendment, that is not its

primary use and it is extremely rare for inmates

and their callers to use the telephone for this

purpose. Not to allow them access to a

telephone might be questionable on other

grounds, but to suppose that it would infringe

the First Amendment would be doctrinaire in the

extreme, United States v. Footman, 215 F.3d

145, 155 (ist Cir. 2000), though the Ninth

Circuit disagrees. Johnson v. California, 207

F.3d 650, 656 (9th Cir. 2000). (A49).

The Seventh Circuit dismissed petitioners’ remaining

claims either on the merits or under the filed-tariff and primary-

jurisdiction doctrines (A49 - A53).

product of legislative debate and authorization, the inmate telephone

service tax is a creature of administrative fiat.

-9-

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

This case is of significant national import not only

because of its impact on the free speech and associational rights

attendant to inmate telephone service, but also, more broadly,

because of its impact on First Amendment protections generally.

What the Seventh Circuit has done in this case is to

rewrite this Court’s First Amendment jurisprudence to the

extent that protection is no longer accorded to private

conversations, to speech which does not solely address matters

of public concern, or to communications between prison

inmates and their families, friends, ministers, and counselors.

No aspect of the Court’s jurisprudence even hints at such

conclusions. To the contrary, the Court’s First Amendment

decisions proclaim precisely the obverse. See Point L.

While reasonable minds may agree that many

restrictions are appropriate and necessary during incarceration,

this Court has made clear that inmates are not completely

divested of their constitutional rights at the jailhouse door. As

demonstrated below in Point Il, the Arsberry court’s holding

that inmates possess no First Amendment right to use the

telephone to communicate with those who have an interest in -

speaking with them conflicts with the decisions of every circuit

court in the nation to address this issue.

Point II addresses the Seventh Circuit’s failure to

recognize that (i) inmates have First Amendment rights to

telephone access; (ii) inmate call recipients possess

independent free speech rights; and (iii) both inmates and

inmate call recipients possess a right to freedom of association

separate and apart from their right to freedom of speech. In this

regard, the Arsberry decision directly contravenes this Court’s

decision in Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 95-97 (1987). Given

the absence of a reasonable penological justification for use of

the single provider/collect-call only system and commission

-10-

policy and the tremendous burden it places on petitioners’

constitutional rights, the application of the Turner analysis in

this case mandates the conclusion that petitioners have stated a

claim for violation of their rights to freedom of speech and

association.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THIS CASE PRESENTS IMPORTANT ISSUES

WORTHY OF THIS COURT’S REVIEW

CONCERNING THE FIRST AMENDMENT

PROTECTIONS AFFORDED INMATES AND

THE FAMILY MEMBERS, FRIENDS,

MINISTERS, AND COUNSELORS THEY

CONVERSE AND ASSOCIATE WITH BY

TELEPHONE

From the start, the case has been regarded as one of

significant national import. There are more than two million

people incarcerated in the United States, with the vast majority

held in state prisons and county jails. There is no disagreement

with the principle that these facilities were designed as places

for the punishment and rehabilitation of criminals, and not as

profit-making enterprises. Yet, across the country, a system has

developed that capitalizes on burgeoning prison populations and

their families.

With very few exceptions, state and county departments

which operate correctional facilities have awarded telephone

companies exclusive privileges to provide inmate telephone

service at their facilities in return for huge “commissions.”

Across the country, telephone companies now compete for such

exclusive dealing contracts and agree to pay these commissions

as well as signing bonuses in exchange for monopolies over

inmate telephone systems. The commissions demanded by

corrections departments are not intended to cover the operating

-11-

costs of inmate telephone systems — those costs are covered by

the telephone companies — nor are they related in any way to

telephone usage by inmates. They are in fact the profits

demanded by corrections departments on the incarceration of

their citizens. Yet no state legislature to date has authorized the

imposition of such a tax.

These lucrative contracts have engendered a cruelly

exploitative system under which the families, friends, ministers,

and counselors of inmates must bear the burden of an

unlegislated tax imposed on them by virtue of states’

profiteering schemes. Moreover, because inmates are limited to

making only collect calls, cheaper alternatives are unavailable

to them. As a direct result of the commissions demanded and

the bar precluding the selection of one’s provider or cheaper

service options, those who wish to communicate with 1 inmates

must pay exorbitant rates.

The tax on inmate telephone calls has significantly

burdened families’ efforts to maintain contact with loved ones

who are incarcerated hundreds of miles away. For many people

-- particularly for children and those who are elderly or ill --

regular travel over such distances is impossible, and telephone

conversations are the only effective means of communication.

(A18-A19) Yet, because of the single provider/collect-call only

system and commission policy, inmate telephone service is both

limited and extremely expensive. Petitioners, like the many

millions of people in the same situation across the country, have

had their telephones disconnected for extended periods of time

because of their inability to meet this expense, causing

significant family disruption. (A14-A19) With government’s

entrance into the telecommunications market, the inflated

“costs” of the inmate telephone system are borne by those with

no options and no power to fight such powerful monopolies.

The single provider/collect-call only system and

commission policy for inmate telephone service actively

2.

discourages and prevents inmates from maintaining important

ties to the outside world to which they eventually will return. In

so doing, it plainly undermines the societal and correctional

goals of rehabilitation and re-assimilation. More alarmingly, it

unconstitutionally burdens inmates’ and their families’ free

speech and associational rights as it does so.

In rejecting petitioners’ First Amendment challenge, the

Seventh Circuit disregarded this Court’s unequivocal

jurisprudence governing the First Amendment rights of inmates.

In Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1978), this Court recognized

that prisoners have First Amendment rights. Despite the clarity

of the Court’s decisions on these issues, see also Shaw v.

Murphy, ___ U.S. __, 121 S. Ct. 1475 (2001), and the consistent

adherence to these constitutional principles in all of the lower

courts, the court below squarely held that prisoners have no

such rights and that no analysis is required to determine whether

the single provider/collect-call only system and commission

policy bears a reasonable relationship to any legitimate security

or penological interest. Arsberry, 244 F.3d at 564-65. (A48 -

A49)

The Arsberry decision also utterly ignored this Court’s

settled decisional authority holding that prisoners and their

families’ have reciprocal rights to familial association which

survive incarceration, because attributes of the family

relationship — expressions of emotional support, decisionmaking

regarding family obligations and child-rearing, and expectations

of the prisoner’s reentry into the family — continue to exist

despite the fact of imprisonment. See Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S.

at 95-97. To the extent they restrict non-inmates’ ability to

communicate with family members in prison, respondents’

policies burden petitioners’ rights to familial and marital

association protected by the First and Fourteenth Amendments.

This case has import far beyond its impact on the

ongoing debate over the lawfulness of the single

«33

provider/collect-call only system for inmate telephone service

— beyond even its impact on the First Amendment rights of

inmates and those on the outside seeking to communicate with

them. The case also matters because the Seventh Circuit has cast

in doubt the First Amendment protections afforded to private

telephone calls and to private conversations generally, which

account for the vast majority of speech.

The degree to which the Seventh Circuit has departed

from this Court’s prior First Amendment decisions warrants

review by this Court. When, since Procunier v. Martinez, 416

U.S. 396 (1974), has a court of appeals Suggested that the

Opportunity to write letters and have visitors extinguishes

altogether any First Amendment rights inmates may have in

other means of communication? When, since Givhan vy.

Western Line Consolidated School District, 439 U.S. 410

(1979), has a court of appeals suggested that private

conversations, including private telephone calls, are unworthy

of First Amendment protection? When, since Connick v. Myers,

-461 U.S. 138 (1983), has a court of appeals suggested that the

First Amendment only protects speech on matters of public

concern?

For all of these reasons, this case warrants plenary

review by this Court.

Il. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S HOLDING THAT

THERE IS NO FIRST AMENDMENT RIGHT

IMPLICATED IN ACCESS TO PRISON

TELEPHONES DIRECTLY CONFLICTS WITH

THE RULINGS OF A GREAT MAJORITY OF

THE CIRCUITS

In holding that it “would be doctrinaire in the extreme”

to recognize that inmates have a First Amendment right to

telephone access, (A49), the Seventh Circuit has created a

-14-

conflict among the circuits which needs to be resolved. Every

other circuit to consider this matter has either explicitly or

implicitly recognized that inmates possess such a right.

Thus, for example, the Ninth Circuit has stated, time and

again, that “prisoners have a First Amendment right to

telephone access,” subject to reasonable security concerns.

Johnson v. California, 207 F.3d 650, 656 (9th Cir. 2000) (per

curiam); Keenan v. Hall, 83 F.3d 1083, 1092 (9th Cir. 1996)

(same); Strandberg v. City of Helena, 791 F.2d 744, 747 (9th

Cir. 1986) (“Courts have recognized detainees’ and prisoners’

[F]irst [A]mendment right to telephone access . . . subject to

rational limitations in the face of legitimate security interests of

the penal institution”).

Similarly, in Washington v. Reno, 35 F.3d 1093 (6th Cir.

1994), the Sixth Circuit held that “persons incarcerated in penal

institutions retain the First Amendment rights to communicate

with family and friends,” upholding the district court’s finding

that such rights were violated by certain changes to the inmate

telephone system in the federal prisons. Jd. at 1099-1100. The

Eighth Circuit too has followed suit. See Benzel v. Grammar,

869 F.2d 1105, 1108 (8th Cir.) (acknowledging that “prison

inmates may have a [First Amendment] right to use the

telephone for communication with relatives and friends, . . .

subject to rational limitations in the face of legitimate security

interests of the penal institution.”), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 895

(1989); McDonald v. Armontrout, 908 F.2d 388, 392 (8th Cir.

1990) (noting that death row inmates have First Amendment

rights to limited telephone access). The Tenth and Eleventh

Circuits as well have each recognized inmates’ First

Amendment rights to telephone access, invoking this Court’s

analysis in Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987), to consider

whether various limited restrictions on inmates’ telephone

access abridged their freedom of speech. Young-Bey v.

Swanson, 2001 U.S. App. LEXIS 2729 (10th Cir. 2001); Pope

v. Hightower, 101 F.3d 1382, 1384 & n.1 (11th Cir. 1996).

-15-

While not squarely addressing sentenced inmates’ First

Amendment rights to telephone access, the First, Second, and

Fifth Circuits have all recognized that pretrial detainees have

such a First Amendment right. Feeley v. Sampson, 570 F.2d

364, 374 (1st Cir. 1978) (“the consensus has been in favor of at

least some access” to telephone by pretrial detainees for social

calls); Wolfish v. Levi, 573 F.2d 118, 126 (2d Cir. 1978)

(“pretrial detainees enjoy a [First [A]mendment right to

communicate by telephone with persons outside the prison”),

rev'd on other grounds, 441 U.S. 520 (1979); Montana v.

Commissioners Court, 659 F.2d 19, 23 (Sth Cir. 198 1) (“courts

have guarded against unreasonable restrictions on telephone

use”). In addition, the Fifth Circuit has suggested that

sentenced inmates enjoy First Amendment rights to at least

some telephone access. Lopez v. Reyes, 692 F.2d 15, 17 (5th

Cir. 1982) (“A prisoner in maximum security has no right to

unlimited telephone use” (emphasis added)).

In sum, no doubt because “oftimes use of a telephone is

essential” to inmates and their families, friends, ministers, and

attorneys, Johnson v. Galli, 596 F. Supp. 135, 138 (D. Nev.

1984), eight circuits have recognized that sentenced inmates or

“In support of its refusal (at A49) to recognize that inmates have First

Amendment rights to telephone access, the Seventh Circuit cited the First

Circuit's decision in United States v. Footman, 215 F.3d 145 (1st Cir.

2000). That case, however, did not involve a First Amendment challenge

to restrictions on inmates’ access to the telephone. To be sure, the First

Circuit stated that “prisoners have no per se constitutional right to use a

telephone, id. at 155, but it did not hold that they have no constitutional

right at all to make telephone calls. Even assuming, arguendo, that

inmates have no unabridgeable right to telephone access, that does not

preclude them from having a more limited right of access to such service.

Cf. Continental T.V. v. GTE Sylvania, 433 U.S. 36 (1977) (While non-

price vertical restraints are no longer per se unreasonable restraints of

trade, they may be unreasonable restraints of trade in particular

circumstances).

=16-

pretrial detainees, or both, have First Amendment rights to

telephone access, and no circuit, until now, has ruled to the

contrary. The Seventh Circuit thus stands alone, and in direct

conflict with the great majority of circuits, in refusing to

recognize such a right.”

Il. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT ERRED IN

REJECTING PETITIONERS’ CHALLENGE TO

THE SINGLE PROVIDER/COLLECT-CALL

ONLY SYSTEM AND COMMISSION POLICY

A. The Seventh Circuit’s Holding That Inmates

Have No First Amendment Rights to

Telephone Access Cannot Be Reconciled

With This Court’s Prior First Amendment

and Prisoners’ Rights Decisions

This Court has made unequivocally clear that “‘prison

walls do not form a barrier separating prison inmates from the

protections of the Constitution,’” Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490

U.S. 401, 407 (1989) (quoting Turner v. Safley, 482 U.S. 78, 84

(1987)), and that inmates retain First Amendment rights to

communicate with the outside world subject, of course, to

reasonable security concerns. Pell v. Procunier, 417 U.S. 817,

822 (1974). While upholding various restrictions on inmate

>The Arsberry decision stands in direct conflict not only with the majority

of other circuits but also with the Seventh Circuit’s own prior decisions.

In Tucker v. Randall, 944 F.2d 388 (7th Cir. 1991), the Seventh Circuit

declared that “unreasonable restrictions on prisoner’s telephone access

may ... violate the First and Fourteenth Amendments.” /d. at 390. And,

in Duran v. Elrod, 542 F.2d 998 (7th Cir. 1976), it held that the plaintiff

inmates had stated “a claim of denial of due process” in alleging a “lack

of sufficient telephones” to communicate with the outside world. /d. at

999-1000. In holding here that inmates have no First Amendment right to

telephone access, the Seventh Circuit never acknowledged, let alone

addressed, its prior rulings on the issue, even though petitioners brought

those rulings to the court’s attention.

-17-

communications with families, friends, and loved ones, the

Court has never suggested, let alone held, that the availability of

some means of communications with the outside world, such as

letters or visits, extinguishes altogether any First Amendment

rights that inmates may have to use other means of

communication. Indeed, the Court has implied the exact

opposite. Pell v. Procunier, 417 U.S. at 823-24 (the availability

of alternative means of communication, though a relevant

factor, “does not extinguish altogether’ an inmate’s

“constitutional interest” in other means of communication).

In holding nonetheless that inmates lack First

Amendment rights to telephone access, the Seventh Circuit

inexplicably assumed (at A49) that “it is extremely rare for

inmates and their call[ees] to use the telephone” to convey

communications protected by the First Amendment. That

assumption not only disregards this Court’s prior

pronouncements on prisoners’ rights but also flies in the face of

its prior First Amendment decisions in other contexts.

Furthermore, it is made without the careful factual analysis the

subject, and this Court, demand.

The simple fact that inmates engage in private

conversations rather than issue public declarations when they

call their families, friends, and loved ones does not deprive

those telephone calls of First Amendment protection. “The First

Amendment forbids abridgment of the ‘freedom of speech.’

Neither the Amendment itself nor our decisions indicate that

this freedom is lost to [one] who arranges to communicate

privately . . . rather than to spread his views before the public.”

Givhan v. Western Line Consolidated School District, 439 U.S.

410, 415-16 (1979) (statements made by public school teacher

in private conversations with school principal protected by First

Amendment). To suggest otherwise, as the Seventh Circuit

does, would be to exclude the vast majority of speech from First

Amendment protection.

Nor does the specific content of inmates’ telephone

conversations with families, friends, and loved ones somehow

place their calls outside the boundaries of First Amendment

protection. Speech on matters of public concern, of course,

“lies at the heart of the First Amendment’s protection.” First

National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765, 776 (1978)

(citing Thornhill v. Alabama, 310 U.S. 88, 101-02 (1940)).

During their conversations, inmates and their callees doubtless

regularly discuss matters of public concern, including, most

notably, prison conditions and the criminal justice system, even

if only because those matters are also of private concern to

inmates and their families, friends, and loved ones. (C7.

Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. at 408 (implying that inmates’

written correspondence often include grievances and complaints

about prison conditions). “The private nature of [these

conversations] does not vitiate the status of [such discussions]

as addressing . . . matter[s] of public concern.” Rankin v.

McPherson, 483 U.S. 378, 387 n.11 (1987). Moreover, as this

Court has observed, inmates may choose to “communicate with

the press” on matters of public concern “through their families,

friends, clergy, or attorneys.” Pell v. Procunier, 417 U.S. at 825.

To be sure, inmates also discuss matters of purely

private concern in telephone calls to their families, friends, and

loved ones. The First Amendment, however, ““does not protect

speech and assembly only to the extent it can be characterized

as political. Great secular causes, with smaller ones, are

guarded.’” Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138, 147 (1983)

(quoting Mine Workers v. Illinois Bar Ass'n, 389 U.S. 217, 223

(1967)). While speech on matters of purely private concern may

have less constitutional value than expression on matters of

public concern, Dun & Bradstreet, Inc. v. Greenmoss Builders,

Inc., 472 U.S. 749, 760 (1985), it still is entitled to First

Amendment protection. Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. at 147.

In sum, the Seventh Circuit’s holding that inmates have

no First Amendment rights to telephone access not only

-19-

disregards this Court’s prior pronouncements on prisoners’

rights, but also cannot be reconciled with the Court’s prior First

Amendment decisions in other contexts — decisions that all but

mandate recognition of inmates’ First Amendment rights to

telephone access. To borrow the Seventh Circuit’s own words

(at A49), it is “doctrinaire in the extreme” to suggest otherwise.

B. The Seventh Circuit Failed to Recognize That

the Single Provider/Collect-Call Only System

and Commission Policy Implicate the First

Amendment Rights of Not Only Inmates But

Also Their Families, Friends, and Loved

Ones

It is well-settled that restrictions on written

correspondence between inmates and the outside world

implicate the First Amendment rights not only of inmates but

also of those on the outside with whom they correspond.

Procunier v. Martinez, 416 U.S. at 409. This is so regardless

of “whether the nonprisoner correspondent is the author or

intended recipient of a particular letter, for the addressee as well

as the sender of direct personal correspondence derives from the

First and Fourteenth Amendments a protection against

unjustified governmental interference with the intended

communications.” Jd. at 408-09. Thus, the wife of an inmate

who receives only a censored letter from her incarcerated

husband “suffer[s] an abridgment of her interest in

communicating with him as plain as that which results from

censorship of her letter to him.” Jd. at 409. Her First

Amendment right in communicating with her husband exists

independently of, and is not derivative of, her husband’s First

Amendment interest in communicating with her. Id.

Similarly, the single provider/collect-call only system

and commission policy at issue here implicates the First

Amendment rights of both inmates and those whom they call.

-20-

Like a written letter, a telephone call is “a particular means of

communication in which the [First Amendment] interests of

both parties [to the communication] are inextricably

intertwined.” Id. Just as correspondence by letter “is effected

only when the letter is read by the addressee,” id. at 408, so too

a telephone call is effected only when the caller speaks with the

callee. While inmates initiate calls to the outside world

(because prison rules prohibit outsiders from calling them), the

telephone conversation is two-way, as both caller and callee

speak during the conversation. Thus, when prison authorities

impose a steep tax on inmates’ telephone calls, as they have

done here, not only inmates but also their families, friends, and

loved ones suffer abridgment of their First Amendment

interests. Indeed, because they pay the telephone bills, the

families, friends, and loved ones, typically bear the brunt of the

cost of the tax.

The single provider/collect-call only system and

commission policy violate not only families, friends, and loved

ones’ freedom of speech under the First Amendment but also

their fundamental right of familial association under both the

First and Fourteenth Amendments. The right to form and

maintain family relationships is, of course, “a fundamental

element of personal liberty” tied to the First Amendment’s

freedom of association. Roberts v. United States Jaycees, 468

U.S. 609, 618-20 (1984). Moreover, because “[i]t is through the

family that we inculcate and pass down many of our cherished

values.” Moore v. City of Cleveland, 431 U.S. 494, 503-04

(1977), the Fourteenth Amendment protects “[t]he integrity of

the family unit.” Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 651 (1972).

It is now well-settled that, “[m]Jany important attributes” of the

family relationship survive incarceration. Turner v. Safley, 482

U.S. at 95. For this reason, the Court, in Turner, specifically

recognizing the importance of maintaining familial and marital

relationships between prisoners and their loved ones, struck

down a prison restriction on an inmate’s right to marry, and

stated that such relationships form the basis of this fundamental

-21-

constitutional right, which can be denied only after a faciual

inquiry is made. Id. at 94-96.

In rejecting petitioners’ challenge to the single

provider/collect-call only system and commission policy, the

Seventh Circuit ignored altogether the First and Fourteenth

Amendment rights of inmates’ families, friends, and loved ones.

Even though such individuals were the lead plaintiffs in this

litigation, and even though petitioners vigorously argued that

the commission policy abridged these plaintiffs’ constitutional

rights, there is not a single word in the decision below

acknowledging, let alone addressing, those rights.

_ Petitioners Have Stated a Valid Claim That

the Single Provider/Collect-Call Only System

and the Commission Policy Violate Their

First and Fourteenth Amendment Rights

On a motion to dismiss for failure to state a claim for

relief, the well-pleaded factual allegations of a complaint must

be accepted as true and construed in the light most favorable to

the plaintiff. Papasan v. Allain, 478 U.S. 265, 283 (1986).

Dismissal may be granted only if, taking the plaintiff's

averments as true and construing them most favorably to the

plaintiff, the district court nonetheless concludes that the

plaintiff has failed to state a claim on which relief may be

granted. Id.

Because it held that inmates have no First Amendment

rights to telephone access and because it ignored the First (and

Fourteenth) Amendment rights of their families, friends, and

loved ones, the Seventh Circuit never considered whether the

single provider/collect-call only system and commission policy

survive constitutional scrutiny. Under this Court’s established

analysis and that of circuit courts evaluating prison rules, it is

clear that the system and policy pose First Amendment

problems.

-22-

To begin, the constitutionality of respondents’ systems

is not governed by the deferential standard adopted by this

Court in Turner. In that case, the Court limited judicial scrutiny

of the “day-to-day” decisions of prison administrators and

official efforts to address “security problems,” 482 U.S. at 89,

and to prison rules regulating “the order and security of the

internal prison environment” in Thornburgh v. Abbott, 490 U.S.

at 407. Courts have expressly declined to apply Turner to

prison policies that do not implicate such concerns. Thus, in

Pitts v. Thornburgh, 866 F.2d 1450 (D.C. Cir. 1989), the D.C.

Circuit applied traditional intermediate scrutiny to the District

of Columbia’s decision to incarcerate long-term female

offenders in federal prisons far from the city while similarly

situated male offenders were incarcerated nearby. Id. at 1453.

The D.C. Circuit reasoned that Turner was applicable only to

cases involving “regulations that govern the day-to-day

operation of prisons and that restrict the exercise of prisoners’

individual rights within prisons.” /d. at 1454. Because the

District’s policy was the result of “general budgetary and policy

choices” that “[did] not directly implicate either prison security

or control of inmate behavior, [or] go to the prison environment

and regime,” the Court concluded Turner was inapposite. Id.

Because respondents’ single provider/collect-call only system

reflects a purely “budgetary” choice that does not implicate

prison security, control of inmate behavior, or the internal

prison environment and regime, it is subject to the level of

scrutiny “traditionally applied” to challenges to fees that burden

First Amendment rights. Pitts, 866 F.2d at 1453. See also

Beauchamp v. Murphy, 37 F.3d 700, 704 (Ist Cir. 1994)

(refusing to apply Turner deference to inmates’ challenge to

correctional authorities’ denial of sentencing credit because

considerations of discipline and security are “greatly diluted

when the issue is the calculation of a sentence, a task performed

by an administrator with a pencil”); Jordan v. Gardner, 986

F.2d 1521, 1530 (9th Cir. 1993) (declining to apply Turner

standard to inmates’ Eighth Amendment challenge to cross-

gender clothed body searches).

-23-

Even under the Court’s Turner analysis, however, it is

amply clear that petitioners have stated a valid First Amendment

claim.® In Turner, this Court declared that “when a prison

regulation impinges on inmates’ constitutional rights, the

regulation is valid if it is reasonably related to legitimate

penological interests.” 482 U.S. at 89. The Court identified the

following four factors as relevant to determining the

reasonableness of prison restrictions on inmate

communications: (1) “whether there is a valid, rational

connection between the prison regulation and the legitimate

governmental interest set forth to justify it;” (2) whether there

are alternative means of exercising the right that remain open to

prison inmates;” (3) the impact accommodation of the asserted

constitutional right will have on guards and other inmates, and

the allocation of prison resources generally;” and (4) the

presence or absence of “ready alternatives” that would “fully

accommodate” inmates’ rights “at de minimis cost to valid

penological interests.” Jd. at 90-91. All four factors favor

petitioners in their challenge to the single provider/collect-call

only and commission policies.

First, petitioners have alleged that there is no “valid,

rational connection” between the commission policy and

legitimate penological objectives. 482 U.S. at 90. Indeed,

petitioners have alleged that there is no relation at all between

the policy and those objectives. The sole purpose of the

commission policy quite evidently is to raise revenues for the

State of Illinois and its counties by imposing an onerous tax on

inmates’ families, friends, and loved ones. While imposing

disciplinary surcharges on inmates who have committed prison

* The Turner analysis requires fact-finding and the creation of an

evidentiary record. See, e.g., Shimer v. Washington, 100 F.3d 506, 509-10

(7 Cir.-1996); Kikimura v. Turner, 28 F.3d 592, 599 (7 Cir. 1994). The

district court here utterly disregarded these requirements.

-24-

infractions may sometimes serve valid penological objectives,

Allen v. Cuomo, 100 F.3d 253, 261 (2d Cir. 1996), taxing their

families, friends and loved ones, who have never been convicted

of any crimes, does not.

Second, petitioners have alleged that for those among

them who due to age or disability cannot read or write letters or

travel from home to prison, there are no practicable “available

alternative means” of communication with their family

members, friends, and loved ones who are incarcerated in

distant prisons. Jd. at 89. Petitioners have also alleged that

telephone communications are the only available means of

communication in dealing with emergency matters requiring

immediate attention.

Third, petitioners have alleged that because the single

provider/collect-call only system is totally unrelated to

legitimate penological objectives, its removal to accommodate

petitioners’ First Amendment rights will have no impact

whatsoever on prison administration.’ Id. at 90.

Finally, petitioners have alleged “the existence of

obvious, éasy alternatives” to the present single

provider/collect-call only system with its steep surcharge on

inmate telephone calls — a debit system like that utilized by the

Federal Bureau of Prisons, for example — would meet all

legitimate security concerns. Id. at 90.

7 Indeed, little, if any, part of the commissions demanded by the

government agencies is used to defray the costs of the inmate

telephone service; those costs are paid for by the telephone companies.

Nor are the commissions used for the care and custody of prisoners

during their incarceration; instead the governmental agencies use their

commissions to augment their general budgets.

at.

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, petitioners respectfully

request that the Court grant this petition.

Dated: New York, New York

August 27, 2001

Respectfully Submitted,

Barbara J. Olshansky*

Robert T. Perry

Center for Constitutional Rights

666 Broadway, Seventh Floor

New York, New York 10012

(212) 614-6439

Stephen G. Seliger

Seliger, Elkin & Dolan, Ltd.

155 North Michigan Avenue

Chicago, Ilinois 60622

(312) 616-4244

* Counsel of Record for Petitioners

Al

APPENDIX A

SECOND AMENDED COMPLAINT

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

This is a class action lawsuit brought, inter alia, by the family

members of Illinois prisoners and Cook, DuPage and Kane

County jail prisoners to enjoin, declare illegal, and to recoup

damages resulting from, several conspiracies between five

major telephone companies and the State of Ilinois and/or

Cook, DuPage and Kane County to create exclusive agreements

for inmate telephone service which require prisoners to make

only collect calls and result in the recipient of all inmate call

being charged excessive rates and surcharges. These agreements

provide for huge monetary "bonuses" to be paid by the

telephone companies to the State and the above mentioned

counties for obtaining the exclusive franchise for telephone

service at each prison or jail and a percentage of the telephone

revenues, up to 50%, generated by the inmate collect calls. The

agreements are in violation of the Sherman Act,

Telecommunications Act, the First, Fifth, and Fourteenth

Amendments and Article 1, 9 10 of the United States

Constitution, the Ilinois Constitution and the linois Antitrust

Act.

JURISDICTION

1. Jurisdiction for the constitutional claims is confirmed upon

this Court by 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1343(3) and (4) and under

42 U.S.C. § 1983.

2. Plaintiffs' claims for declaratory and injunctive relief are

authorized by 28 U.S.C. §§ 2201 and 2202 and Rule 57 of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

A2

3. Jurisdiction for plaintiffs’ antitrust claims are conferred under

the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ | and 15.

4. Jurisdiction is also conferred under the Telecommunications

Act of 1966, 21 U.S.C. § 151 et seq. Section 207 permits

persons injured by any violation thereunder to file suit in the

United States District Court, and § 206 allows for the recovery

of damages and attorney fees.

5. Plaintiffs further invoke this Court's supplemental

jurisdiction, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367(a) over any and all

state constitutional and law claims so related to the claims

within the original jurisdiction of this Court that they form part

of the same case or controversy.

VENUE

6. Venue is proper for the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1391(a),

(b) and (c).

JURY DEMAND

7. Plaintiffs demand trial by jury in this action on each and

every one of their claims as alleged herein.

PARTIES

Families, Lawyers and Other Bill Payer Plaintiffs

8 Plaintiff, KATIE ARSBERRY, is a resident of Chicago,

[llinois. Her husband is presently incarcerated at the Stateville

correctional facility, operated by the defendant, STATE OF

ILLINOIS (hereafter, the State). At the present time, and at all

times, the only way plaintiff has been able to communicate by

telephone with her husband has been to accept collect calls

which are placed by him and billed to plaintiff by the telephone

A3

company which is a party to an exclusive dealing contract

governing telephone service by inmates made at the correctional

institution in which he is incarcerated. Plaintiff has been billed

by defendant, AMERITECH SERVICES, INC. (hereafter,

-Ameritech), for such calls.

9. Plaintiff, PHYLLIS BROOKS, is a resident of Cook

County. Her daughter is incarcerated at Logan Correctional

Center and at other times has been incarcerated at Dwight

Correctional Center. Ms. Brooks has custody of her daughter's

six-year-old daughter. At the present time, and at all times, the

only way plaintiff and her granddaughter have been able to

communicate with their daughter/mother has been to accept

collect calls placed by her incarcerated daughter and billed to

plaintiff by the defendant telephone company which is a party

to an exclusive dealing contract governing telephone service by

inmates at the correctional institution in which her daughter is

incarcerated. Plaintiff has been billed by defendants

CONSOLIDATED PUBLIC SERVICES, INC. (hereafter,

Consolidated), and Ameritech.

10. Plaintiff, JEANNE GAMMON, is a Chicago resident who

has had custody of the daughter of Raquel Loving, who was

incarcerated at Dwight, Dixon and Logan. In order for Ms.

Loving to communicate with her daughter, plaintiff had to

accept collect calls from the prison which had an exclusive

contract with one of the defendant phone companies. Plaintiff

was billed by defendant Consolidated.

11. Plaintiff, GUADALUPE GIRON, is a resident of Chicago,

Illinois. Her son is presently incarcerated at the correctional

institution at Joliet, operated by the State. At other times,

plaintiff's son was incarcerated at Pontiac and Pickneyville,

operated by the State and at Cook County Jail, operated by the

defendant, COUNTY OF COOK (hereafter, the County). At the

present time, and at all times, the only way plaintiff has been

able to communicate by telephone with her son has been to

A4

accept collect calls which are placed by him and billed to

plaintiff by the telephone company which is a party to an

exclusive dealing contract governing telephone service by

inmates made at the correctional institution in which her son is

incarcerated. Plaintiff has been billed by defendants,

Consolidated, MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS

CORPORATION (hereafter, MCD, and AT&T for such calls.

12. Plaintiff, WILLIE MAE HAGGARD, is a resident of

Chicago, Illinois. Her daughter is presently incarcerated at the

Dwight correctional institution, operated by the State and has

been also incarcerated at other Ilinois correctional institutions

and Cook County Jail. At the present time, and at all times, the

only way plaintiff has been able to communicate by telephone

with her daughter has been to accept collect calls which are

placed by her daughter and billed to plaintiff by the telephone

company which is a party to an exclusive dealing contract

governing telephone service by inmates made at the correctional

institution in which her daughter is incarcerated. Plaintiff has

been billed by defendants, Consolidated, Ameritech and AT&T

for such calls.

13. Plaintiff, LINDA GOODMAN , is a resident of Round Lake

Park, Illinois. Her husband is presently incarcerated at

Stateville, and at other times has been incarcerated at Menard

and Pontiac correctional facilities, also operated by the State. At

the present time, and at all times, the only way plaintiff has been

able to communicate by telephone with her husband has been to

accept collect calls which are placed by him and billed to

plaintiff by the telephone company which is a party to an

exclusive dealing contract governing telephone service by

inmates made at the correctional institution in which he is

incarcerated. Plaintiff has been billed by defendants,

Consolidated, Ameritech and AT&T, for such calls.

A5

-14. Plaintiff, CAROLYN HAWTHORNE, is a resident of

Chicago; Illinois. Her two sons are presently incarcerated at

Galesberg and Danville, also operated by the State. At other

times, plaintiff's sons were incarcerated at the State correctional

facilities at Big Muddy River and Danville. At the present

time, and at all times, the only way plaintiff has been able to

communicate by telephone with her sons has been to accept

collect calls which are placed by them and billed to plaintiff by

the telephone company which is a party to an exclusive dealing

contract governing telephone service by inmates made at the

correctional institution in which her sons are incarcerated.

Plaintiff has been billed by defendants, Consolidated and MCI,

for such calls.

15. Plaintiff, SUSAN HAZELY, is a resident of Rockford,

Illinois. Her husband is presently incarcerated at Dixon, Illinois,

a correctional institution operated by the State. At other times,

plaintiff's husband was incarcerated at correctional institutions

in Big Muddy River and Danville, also operated by the State.

At the present time, and at all times, the only way plaintiff has

been able to communicate by telephone with her husband has

been to accept collect calls which are placed by him and billed

to plaintiff by the telephone company which is a party to an

exclusive dealing contract governing telephone service by

inmates made at the correctional institution in which her

husband is incarcerated. Plaintiff has been billed by defendants,

Consolidated and MCI, for such calls.

16. Plaintiff, MARY HIGH, is a resident of Rockford, Dlinois.

Her husband is presently incarcerated at Dixon, Ilinois, a

correctional institution operated by the State. At other times,

plaintiff's husband was incarcerated at the DuPage County Jail,

operated by the defendant, COUNTY OF DuPAGE. At the

present time, and at all times, the only way plaintiff has been

able to communicate by telephone with her husband has been to

accept collect calls which are placed by him and billed to

plaintiff by the telephone company which is a party to an

A6

exclusive dealing contract governing telephone service by

inmates made at the correctional institution in which her

husband is incarcerated. Plaintiff has been billed by defendants,

Consolidated and Ameritech, for such calls.

17. Plaintiff, AKUA HOPE, is a resident of New York, New

York. Her husband is presently incarcerated at Cook County

Jail. At other times, plaintiff's husband was incarcerated at the

State correctional institution at Menard. At the present time, and

at all times, the only way plaintiff has been able to communicate

by telephone with her husband has been to accept collect calls

which are placed by him and billed to plaintiff by the telephone

company which is a party to an exclusive dealing contract

governing telephone service by inmates made at the correctional

institution in which her husband is incarcerated. Plaintiff has

been billed by defendants, Consolidated and AT&T, for such

calls.

18. Plaintiff, ARLENE JOHNSON, is a resident of Buffalo

Grove, Illinois. Her husband is presently incarcerated at Menard

and at other times has been incarcerated at the correctional

institutions at Dixon, Stateville and Pontiac. At the present time,

and at all times, the only way plaintiff has been able to

communicate by telephone with her husband has been to accept

collect calls which are placed by him and billed to plaintiff by

the telephone company which is a party to an exclusive dealing

contract governing telephone service by inmates made at the

correctional institution in which her husband is incarcerated.

Plaintiff has been billed by defendants, Ameritech, Consolidated

and AT&T, for such calls.

19. Plaintiff, ANTHONY MALTESE, is a resident of Cicero,

Dlinois. His brother is presently incarcerated at Stateville and at

other times has been incarcerated at Pontiac and Illinois River,

also operated by the State. At the present time, and at all times,

the only way plaintiff has been able to communicate by

telephone with his brother has been to accept collect calls which

A7

are placed by him and billed to plaintiff by the telephone

company which is a party to an exclusive dealing contract

governing telephone service by inmates made at the correctional

institution in which his brother is incarcerated. Plaintiff has

been billed by defendant, AT & T, for such calls.

20. Plaintiff, SANDY MARKIEWICZ, is a resident of South

Elgin, Illinois. Her husband is presently incarcerated at Menard

and at other times has been incarcerated at Stateville, Pontiac

and the Kane County Jail, operated by defendant, COUNTY OF

KANE. At the present time, and at all times, the only way

plaintiff has been able to communicate by telephone with her

husband has been to accept collect calls which are placed by

him and billed to plaintiff by the telephone company which is a

party to an exclusive dealing contract governing telephone

service by inmates made at the correctional institution in which

her husband is incarcerated. Plaintiff has been billed by

defendants, Consolidated, AT&T and INVISION TELECOM,

for such calls.

21. Plaintiff, CATHERINE NYSTROM, is a resident of

Rockford, Illinois. Her son is presently incarcerated at the

Dixon correctional institution and at other times has been

incarcerated at the State correctional facilities at Shawnee and

Vienna. At the present time, and at all times, the only way

plaintiff has been able to communicate by telephone with her

son has been to accept collect calls which are placed by him and

billed to plaintiff by the telephone company which is a party to

an exclusive dealing contract governing telephone service by

inmates made at the correctional institution in which her

husband is incarcerated. Plaintiff has been billed by defendant,

Consolidated, for such calls.

22. Plaintiff, ANNIE ROSS, is a resident of Harvey, Illinois.

Her daughter is presently incarcerated at the Dwight

correctional institution operated by the State. At other times, her

daughter was incarcerated at Cook County Jail. At the present

A8

time, and at al] times, the only way plaintiff has been able to

communicate by telephone with her daughter has been to accept

collect calls which are placed by her and billed to plaintiff by

the telephone company which is a party to an exclusive dealing

contract governing telephone service by inmates made at the

correctional institution in which her daughter is incarcerated.

Plaintiff has been billed by defendants, Ameritech and AT&T,

for such calls.

23. Plaintiff: JAMILLAH FIELDS, is a resident of Chicago,

illinois. Her husband is presently incarcerated in Cook County

Jail and at other times has been incarcerated at the State

correctional facilities at Menard and Pontiac. At the present

time the only way plaintiff has been able to communicate by

telephone with her husband has been to accept collect calls

which are placed by him and billed to plaintiff by the telephone

company which is a party to an exclusive dealing contract

governing telephone service by inmates at Cook County Jail

24. Plaintiff, MIDWEST CENTER FOR JUSTICE, LTD.., is

a professional corporation located in Chicago providing legal

services and counseling to persons sentenced to death and

incarcerated in prisons in Ilinois and in other states.

PRISONER PLAINTIFFS

25. Plaintiffs, LONNIE ARSBERRY, MAYA HAGGARD,

JOHN HIGH, JOHN MARKIEWICZ, RODNEY NYSTROM,

NATHSON FIELDS, LARRY MACK and MARY WEEKLY

(hereafter referred to as "the prisoner plaintiffs"), are presently,

or have been at relevant times, incarcerated in correctional

institutions operated by the State or Cook, DuPage or Kane

counties. As a result of the exclusive agreements among the

defendants as alleged herein, these plaintiffs have been

subjected to an unreasonable burden on their fight to

communicate with their families, loved ones, lawyers and

prisoner assistance organizations.

Ya FD a ARS

Gti

Le SstG Es st ree EPMA? WOH fas SABA BA clas bo lee ab

. setae catia . -_ eee Oe L ee

eg pn eh pana naa tan snl nthe hea

A9

GOVERNMENTAL DEFENDANTS

26. Defendant, STATE OF ILLINOIS, through the Department

of Corrections, operates prisons and other correctional facilities

in the State of Illinois and, through the Department of Central

Management Services, is and has been a party to various

agreements with other private defendants herein pursuant to

which inmates make collect calls from the institutions in which

they are incarcerated.

27. Defendant, MICHAEL S. SCHWARTZ, is currently

Director of Central Management Services for the State of

Illinois, and as such is responsible for the contracts entered into

by the State of Mlinois and the various telephone company

defendants for the provision of telephone service at prisons

operated by the Illinois Department of Corrections. He is sued

in his individual capacity.

28. Defendant, DONALD N. SNYDER, is currently Director

of the Illinois Department of Corrections, and as such is

responsible for the contracts entered into by the State of Ilinois

and the various telephone company defendants for the provision

of telephone service at prisons operated by the Illinois

Department of Corrections. He is sued in his individual

Capacity.

29. Defendant, COUNTY OF COOK, operates a jail and other

correctional facilities in Cook County and is and has been a

_ party to various agreements with AT&T pursuant to which

inmates make collect calls from the institutions in which they

are incarcerated.

AlO

30. Defendant, COUNTY OF DuPAGE, operates a jail and

other correctional facilities in DuPage County and is and has

been a party to various agreements with Ameritech, pursuant to

which inmates make collect calls from the institutions in which

they are incarcerated.

31. Defendant, COUNTY OF KANE, operates a jail and other

correctional facilities in Kane County and is and has been a

party to various agreements with Invision Telecom, pursuant to

which inmates make collect calls from the institutions in which

they are incarcerated.

TELEPHONE COMPANY DEFENDANTS.

32. Defendant, AMERITECH SERVICES, INC., is a

corporation engaged in the business of providing telephone

service to persons in the State of Illinois and throughout the

United States. At various times, it was and continues to be a

part), to certain contracts with the State and DuPage County

under which it provides the exclusive service to enable inmates

to place telephone calls.

33. Defendant, AT&T, is acorporation engaged in the business

of providing telephone service to persons in the State of Illinois

and throughout the United States. At various times, it was and

continues to be a party to certain contracts with the State and the

County under which it provides the exclusive service to enable

inmates to place telephone calls.

34. Defendant, MCI TELECOMMUNICATIONS

CORPORATION, is a corporation engaged in the business of

providing telephone service to persons in the State of Illinois

and throughout the United States. At various times, it was and

continues to be a party to certain contracts with the State under

which it provides the exclusive service to enable inmates to

place telephone calls.

All

35. Defendant, CONSOLIDATED COMMUNICATIONS

PUBLIC SERVICES, LNC., is a corporation engaged in the

business of providing telephone service to persons in the State

of Illinois and throughout the United States. At various times,

it was and continues to be a part), to certain contracts with the

State under which it provides the exclusive service to enable

inmates to place telephone calls.

36. Defendant, INVISION TELECOM, is a corporation

engaged in the business of providing telephone service to

persons in the State of Illinois and throughout the United States.

At various times, it was and continues to be a party to certain

contracts with Kane County under which it provides the

exclusive service to enable inmates to place telephone calls.

CLASS ACTION ALLEGATIONS

37. Plaintiffs bring this case as a class action under Rule

23(b)(2) and (b)(3) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure on

behalf of two classes. Class (1): Families, Lawyers and Other

Bill Payer Plaintiffs, defined as all persons, corporations and

organizations billed for telephone calls initiated by an inmate

confined to a jail, prison, detention center or other correctional

facility of the State and county defendants; Class (2): Prisoner

Plaintiffs, defined as all persons incarcerated in correctional

institutions operated by the State and county defendants. The

Case meets all the requirements of Rule 23: (a) each class is so

numerous that joinder is impracticable; (b) the issues of law and

fact applicable to the named plaintiffs present questions of law

and fact common to the class; (c) the claims of the plaintiffs are

typical of the claims of the class; and (d) the plaintiffs will

adequately and vigorously represent the interests of each class.

Each class also meets the requirements of (b)(2) and (b)(3).

Al2

STATEMENT OF FACTS

38. An inmate in acorrectional facility operated by the State or

counties of Cook, DuPage and Kane is prohibited from having

any telephone communication with persons outside the

institution other than by placing collect calls. He or she must

use the telephone service made available at the institution in

which he or she is incarcerated. The only way the inmate may

communicate by telephone with family, spouses, children,

friends, attorneys and prisoner assistance organizations is

through the collect call system established by the defendants.

39. All telephone services used by inmates are governed by

exclusive dealing agreements between the State or County

defendants on the one hand, and one of the defendant telephone

companies, on the other, under which the particular defendant

telephone company is given the exclusive right to operate the

entire collect call service at a particular institution for a specific

term. In return for this exclusive arrangement, the defendant

telephone company must pay the State or County a "signing

bonus” and commissions up to 50% of the revenues it collects

from parties it bills for the collect calls. On information and

belief, the commissions paid to the State and counties by these

telephone companies for inmate-initiated collect calls have

averaged more than $15 million a year. The amounts paid to the

State and counties are taken directly out of the revenues

generated from persons billed for accepting collect calls from

inmates.

40. As a result of these exclusive agreements and the

exorbitant commissions paid to the State or County, the rates

charged to a person accepting a collect call from an inmate are

among the highest, if not the highest, for any type of telephone

service available to the public, well in excess of charges

available to the public for like services. The families, lawyers

and other bill payer plaintiffs herein are also subjected to

Al3

excessive surcharges or connection fees which may then run

three to four times more than non-prison initiated calls.

41. In addition, neither the inmate nor the person billed may

utilize any service other than the exclusive collect-call service

and at the rates and terms established by such agreements, even

though there are numerous alternative options presently

available which would result in substantially lower charges,

such as "800" or "888"service, use of debit cards by inmates and

other services, such as "1-800-COLLECT."

42. Further, even though the person paying for a collect call

from an inmate has an ongoing contract with a telephone

company for other service and, under that contract, pays

substantially less for equivalent service, such service may not be

used. Thus, persons billed for calls from inmates cannot take

advantage of the numerous options available to all other

consumers using telephone service in the State of Ilinois.

43. In addition, persons accepting collect calls are not given

the same service or access to service that is provided to persons

receiving telephone calls from persons other than inmates. The

defendant telephone companies refuse to respond to complaints

or inquiries concerning problems raised by persons accepting

collect calls from inmates. When plaintiffs have attempted to

contact the telephone company concerning a disconnection or

other problem, they have been unable to receive any response to

their complaints or inquiries and there has been no adjustment

to their bills. The customer service departments of the defendant

telephone companies have stated on numerous occasions to

persons inquiring about problems during inmate telephone calls

that all such problems should be referred to the prison or jail.

Al4

44. Plaintiff Hazely has been subjected to excessive phone

bills for calls by her incarcerated husband by defendants,

Consolidated and MCI, and is prohibited from using any

substantially less costly alternative options, like an 800 number

or special rates from her own long distance phone service. Her

phone bills, resulting from calls from her incarcerated husband,

have averaged up to $300 a month, roughly 20% of her net

income. As a result of these phone charges, despite the fact that

she is gainfully employed with the Rockford Housing Authority,

- she had her phone disconnected for as long as eight months at

a time.

45. Plaintiff Hawthorne has been subjected to excessive phone

bills for calls by her incarcerated sons by defendants,

Consolidated and MCI, and is prohibited from using

substantially less costly phone call options like an 800 number

or special reduced rates from their own long distance phone

service. Her inmate phone bills which result from calls from her

two incarcerated sons average a minimum of $125 a month.

Despite the fact that she is gainfully employed as a CTA bus

driver she has had difficulty paying her phone bills and has had

her phone service disconnected.

46. Plaintiff Hope has been subjected to excessive phone bills

for the calls from her incarcerated husband by defendants,

Consolidated and AT&T, and is prohibited from using

substantially less costly phone call options like an 800 number

or her own long distance service. Her phone bills, resulting from

calls from her incarcerated husband, constitute 25% of her

income. At $400 a month, her calls cost more than her rent, and

as a result she has been unable to keep her account with the

phone company current. She has had to negotiate an installment

plan with the phone company under threat of having her phone

service disconnected and had to prevail upon her husband to

severely curtail his phone calls home.

Al5S

47. Plaintiff Maltese has been subjected to excessive phone

bills for calls from his incarcerated brother by defendant AT&T

and is prohibited from using any less costly alternative means

of phone service. Plaintiff's inmate phone bills average $150 per

month.

48. - Plaintiff Giron has been subjected to excessive rates for

calls from her incarcerated son by defendants, MCI and

Consolidated, and is prohibited from using any less costly

alternative means of phone service. Her inmate phone bills

average about $100 a month. She has paid over $3,500 in

inmate phone calls since 1996, and has had her service

wrongfully blocked and terminated.

49. Plaintiff Goodman's inmate phone bills now average nearly

$200 a month; she paid a total of $2,000 in 1998 for such

telephone calls. She cannot afford these amounts because she is

the sole means of support for her household and her child. In

addition, plaintiff has spent many hours of her time trying to get

the defendant telephone companies to refund connection

charges for phone calls that were cut-off as a result of poor

equipment and maintenance of the prison phone systems. When

her husband was incarcerated at Menard, defendant

Consolidated arbitrarily assigned plaintiff a credit limit of $100

a month for calls from her husband. When that credit limit was

reached, plaintiff's calls from her husband were automatically

blocked for the remainder of the month even though plaintiff

was willing and able to pay an amount greater than $100 for

such telephone calls. Although plaintiff was later able to have

her credit limit raised, her calls frequently were blocked before

the end of the month.

50. Plaintiff Arsberry's inmate phone bills average $200 a

month. Because she has two small children to care for, she

cannot work outside her home. She earns a small income by

providing day care in her own home, but it is not nearly enough

to cover the cost of the inmate-phone bills. These bills have

Al6

been financially crippling for her and at times her phone service

has been cut off because she cannot keep up with the bills.

51. Plaintiff Johnson's monthly inmate phone bills average

$150 a month. In addition, she estimates that a substantial

amount of these bills are for duplicate connection charges

caused by spontaneous disconnections. Despite her diligent

efforts, she has been unable to get any of her money refunded.

52. Plaintiff Nystrom has monthly inmate phone bills that have

run from a low of $130 a month to a high of $400 a month. This

has meant that she and her husband, whose work as an iron

worker is occasionally seasonal, have had to resort to juggling

their finances to keep their phone service from being

disconnected, and have as a result incurred steep late fees on

credit cards balances or personal loans, compounding their

financial concerns. Keeping her phone connected is of

especially great importance to plaintiff Nystrom as all of both

her and her husband's family are located out of state, and it is

their only means of staying touch with them.

53. Plaintiff Ross’ inmate phone bills averaged $600 a month

until she eventually fell behind on her payments, and her service

was cut off. Ms. Ross and her husband live on $520 a month he

receives from Social Security: Her phone remains disconnected

because she cannot pay off the remaining balance.

54. Plaintiff Brooks has been subjected to excessive phone

bills for the calls from her incarcerated daughter by defendants

Consolidated and Ameritech and is prohibited from using any

less costly alternative means of phone service. As a result of the

excessive phone costs, plaintiff Brooks had to instruct her |

daughter to make far less calls, thus severely limiting plaintiff

and her granddaughter from communicating with their

incarcerated daughter/mother.

Al7

55. Plaintiff Gammon was subjected to excessive phone

charges by defendant Consolidated in order to enable the

daughter of a prisoner to have communication with her mother.

Plaintiff was forced to pay these excessive rates even though

during part of the period she accepted such calls she was in a

management position at Ameritech and was entitled to

substantially reduced phone services. She was unable to take

advantage of the "Call-Me" card given to her by her employer

and was also unable to obtain an 800 number to pay for these

calls.

56. Plaintiff Haggard, disabled and receiving Social Security

Disability, is caring for the four children of her incarcerated

daughter on a total of under $900 a month. She has been unable

to communicate with any frequency with her daughter, nor have

her grandchildren spoken frequently with their mother. On many

occasions, plaintiff's telephone connection with her daughter has

been cut off, and she has been unable to obtain service to correct

this problem or a lowering of her telephone bill.

57. Plaintiff High has had to pay excessive phone rates and

Surcharges in order to communicate with her husband by

telephone. When her husband was incarcerated in the DuPage

County Jail, plaintiff lived just ten minutes from the jail and yet

received bills from defendant Ameritech averaging in excess of

50 cents a minute. Similarly, when her husband was transferred

to Dixon, she received exorbitant bills, including a connection

charge in excess of $2.50. Frequently, her telephone calls have

been cut off without explanation, requiring her husband to place

another call and for plaintiff thus to incur another connection

charge.

58. Plaintiff Markewicz has had to pay excessive telephone

bills and has frequently been disconnected in the middle of

telephone calls with her husband, who must then place another

call to her, requiring her to incur another expensive connection

charge. In addition, on some occasions when another party is

Al8

trying to call plaintiff through her “call waiting" service during

a telephone call with her husband, she is automatically

disconnected. If plaintiff were to respond to the "call waiting"

signal, she would be automatically disconnected from the call

with her husband. Frequently, in the middle of calls, recordings

interrupt a telephone call she is having with her husband.

59. Plaintiff Jamillah Fields has had to pay excessive phone

rates and surcharges in order to communicate with her husband

by telephone and has been prohibited from using other less

costly alternative means of phone service.

60. Plaintiff, Midwest Center for Justice, Ltd., has been

substantially impeded in its ability to adequately represent and

counsel its clients on death row because it is unable to utilize

any service other than the one imposed by the State. When the

plaintiff accepts calls from clients, it cannot allow those clients

to talk at any length on the telephone because of the high rates.

Approximately one year ago, the Center installed an "888"

number which would allow callers to make toll-free calls. A

representative of the plaintiff approached the Department of

Corrections to allow use of this "888" line for its clients and

although it was technically feasible, the Department refused.

61. Because of the exorbitant rates charged for telephone calls

from prisoners and lack of other options, prisoner assistance

organizations, lawyers and other persons and/or institutions in

the business of providing aid and service to prisoners have had

to incur a substantial expense in order to adequately provide aid

and service to prisoners and have been impeded in their work

and mission.

62. Since many of the incarcerated family members and loved

ones of the plaintiff class have limited writing skills, and since

they are imprisoned hundreds of miles from their families,

requiring substantial time and resources for visits, telephone

communication is the most viable way for communication

i

Al9

between families and their lived ones.

63. Communication with family members is a well-recognized

and accepted principle of rehabilitation for prisoners.

COUNT I

EQUAL PROTECTION CLAIMS AGAINST THE STATE,

SNYDER, SCHWARTZ, AMERITECH, AT&T, MCI AND

CONSOLIDATED BY FAMILIES, LAWYERS AND

BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

64. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 63 of this complaint.

65. Defendant State, and its designated officials including

defendants Schwartz and Snyder, acting in concert and/or

conspiracy with the telephone company defendants, has

established discriminatory and excessive sur-charges and rates

for inmate phone calls, prohibited any alternative less costly

inmate calling options, and denied plaintiffs the same service

afforded other consumers of phone services in Ilinois.

66. Such policies and practices operate as a special

discriminatory tax or fee and an undue burden placed on persons

who receive phone calls from prisoners, thus constituting an

invidious and unreasonable classification in violation of the

equal protection clause of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments

of the United States Constitution.

A20

COUNT I

EQUAL PROTECTION CLAIMS AGAINST COOK,

DuPAGE AND KANE COUNTIES AND AT&T,

AMERITECH AND INVISION TELECOM BY FAMILIES,

LAWYERS AND BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

67. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs |

through 63 of this complaint.

68. Defendant Cook County acting in concert and/or

conspiracy with defendant AT&T, defendant DuPage County

acting in concert and/or conspiracy with defendant Ameritech,

and defendant Kane County acting in concert and/or conspiracy

with defendant Invision Telecom, have established

discriminatory and excessive surcharges and rates for inmate

phone calls, prohibited any alternative less costly inmate calling

options, and denied plaintiffs the same service afforded other

consumers of phone service in Illinois.

69. Such policies and practices operate as a special

discriminatory tax or fee and an undue burden on persons who

receive phone calls from prisoners not placed on other

consumers, thus constituting an invidious and unreasonable

classification in violation of the equal protection clause of the

Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the United States

Constitution.

COUNT I

EQUAL PROTECTION CLAIMS AGAINST THE STATE,

SNYDER, SCHWARTZ, AMERITECH, AT&T, MCI AND

CONSOLIDATED BY PRISONER PLAINTIFFS

~

A21

70. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs |

through 63 of this complaint.

71. Defendant State, and its designated officials including

defendants Schwartz and Snyder, acting in concert and/or

conspiracy with the telephone company defendants, has

established discriminatory and excessive sur-charges and rates

for inmate phone calls, prohibited any alternative less costly

inmate calling options, and denied plaintiffs the same service

afforded other consumers of phone services in Ilinois.

72. Such policies and practices place an undue burden on the

prisoner plaintiffs in communicating with the outside world,

thus constituting an invidious and unreasonable classification in

violation of their rights under the equal protection clause of the

Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the United States

Constitution.

COUNT IV

EQUAL PROTECTION CLAIMS AGAINST COOK,

DuPAGE AND KANE COUNTIES AND AT&T,

AMERITECH AND INVISION TELECOM

BY PRISONER PLAINTIFFS

73. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 63 of this complaint.

74. Defendant Cook County acting in concert and/or conspiracy

with defendant AT&T, defendant DuPage County acting in

concert and/or conspiracy with defendant Ameritech, and

defendant Kane County acting in concert and/or conspiracy with

defendant Invision Telecom, have established discriminatory

and excessive surcharges and rates for inmate phone calls,

prohibited any alternative less costly inmate calling options, and

denied plaintiffs the same service afforded other consumers of

phone service in Illinois.

A22

75. Such policies and practices place an undue burden on the

prisoner plaintiffs in communicating with the outside world,

thus constituting an invidious and unreasonable classification in

violation of their rights under the equal protection clause of the

Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the United States

Constitution.

COUNT V

FIRST AMENDMENT CLAIMS AGAINST THE STATE,

SNYDER, SCHWARTZ, AMERITECH, AT&T, MCI AND

CONSOLIDATED BY FAMILIES, LAWYERS AND

OTHER BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

76. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs |

through 63 of this complaint.

77. Plaintiffs, as the wives, mothers, siblings and loved ones

of prisoners, and lawyers and prisoner-assistance organizations,

have a right under the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the

United States Constitution to communicate with persons

incarcerated by the State of Illinois. By virtue of the exclusive

agreements between the State and the defendant telephone

companies, plaintiffs must pay exorbitant rates to the defendants

to speak to a prisoner, are prohibited from using less expensive

alternative means of communicating, and are denied adequate

service by the defendants. The defendants, acting in concert or

in conspiracy, have placed undue and unreasonable burdens on

the plaintiffs’ rights of association and freedom of speech, in

violation of the First and Fourteenth Amendments of the United

States Constitution.

A23

COUNT VI

FIRST AMENDMENT CLAIMS AGAINST COOK,

DuPAGE AND KANE COUNTIES AND AT&T,

AMERITECH AND INVISION TELECOM BY FAMILIES,

LAWYERS AND BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

78. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 63 of this complaint.

79. Plaintiffs, as the wives, mothers, siblings and loved ones

of prisoners, and lawyers and prisoner-assistance organizations,

have a right under the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the

United States Constitution to communicate with persons

incarcerated by Cook, DuPage and Kane Counties. By virtue of

the exclusive agreements between these counties and defendants

AT&T, Ameritech, and Invision Telecom, plaintiffs must pay

exorbitant rates to the defendants to speak to a prisoner, are

prohibited from using less expensive alternative means of

communicating, and are denied adequate service by the

defendants. The defendants, acting in concert or in conspiracy,

have placed undue and unreasonable burdens on the plaintiffs’

rights of association and freedom of speech, in violation of the

First and Fourteenth Amendments of the United States

Constitution.

UNT Vil

FIRST AMENDMENT CLAIMS AGAINST THE STATE,

SNYDER, SCHWARTZ, AMERITECH, AT&T, MCI AND

CONSOLIDATED BY PRISONER PLAINTIFFS

80. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs !

through 63 of this complaint.

A24

81. Prisoner plaintiffs have a fight under the First and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution to

communicate with family, loved ones, lawyers and prisoner

organizations. By virtue of the exclusive agreements between

the State and the defendant telephone companies, prisoner

plaintiffs are severely restricted in their ability to so

communicate. The defendants, acting in concert or in

conspiracy, have placed undue and unreasonable burdens on

these plaintiffs’ rights of association and freedom of speech, in

violation of the First and Fourteenth Amendments of the United

States Constitution.

COUNT Vil

FIRST AMENDMENT CLAIMS AGAINST COOK,

DuPAGE AND KANE COUNTIES AND AT&T,

AMERITECH AND INVISION TELECOM BY PRISONER

: PLAINTIFFS

82. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs |

through 63 of this complaint. :

83. Prisoner plaintiffs have a right under the First and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution to

communicate with family, loved ones, lawyers and prisoner

organizations. By virtue of the exclusive agreements between

the defendant counties and defendant telephone companies,

prisoner plaintiffs are severely restricted in their ability to so

communicate. The defendants, acting in concert or in

conspiracy, have placed undue and unreasonable burdens on

these plaintiffs’ rights of association and freedom of speech, in

violation of the First and Fourteenth Amendments of the United

States Constitution.

A25

COUNT IX

DUE PROCESS CLAIMS AGAINST THE STATE,

SNYDER, SCHWARTZ, AT&T, MCI, AMERITECH, AND

CONSOLIDATED BY FAMILIES, LAWYERS AND

BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

84. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 63 of this complaint.

85. Defendant State, through its designated officials, acting in

concert and/or conspiracy with the defendant telephone

companies, have created exclusive agreements which impose on

plaintiffs exorbitant rates and prohibit less costly calling

alternatives for calls by prisoners from penal institutions.

86. Such agreements, and their effects, constitute a

confiscation of plaintiffs’ property and an unreasonable

deprivation of their rights of free speech and association, in

violation of procedural and substantive due process protections

under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the United

States Constitution.

COUNT X

DUE PROCESS CLAIMS AGAINST COOK, DuPAGE

AND KANE COUNTIES AND AT&T, AMERITECH AND

INVISION TELECOM BY FAMILIES, LAWYERS AND

BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

87. Plaintiff reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 63 of this complaint.

RR CC —

A26

88. Defendant Cook, DuPage and Kane counties, through its

designated officials, acting in concert and/or conspiracy with the

defendant AT&T, Ameritech and Invision Telecom,

respectively, have created exclusive agreements which impose

on plaintiffs exorbitant rates and prohibit less costly calling

alternatives for calls by prisoners from penal institutions.

89. Such agreements, and their effects, constitute a

confiscation of plaintiffs’ property and an unreasonable

deprivation of their rights of free speech and association, in

violation of procedural and substantive due process protections

under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments of the United

States Constitution.

COUNT XI

DUE PROCESS CLAIMS AGAINST THE STATE,

SNYDER, SCHWARTZ AND AT&T, AMERITECH, MCI

AND CONSOLIDATED BY PRISONER PLAINTIFFS

90. Plaintiff reallege-and incorporate herein paragraphs |

through 63 of this complaint.

91. Defendant State, and its designated officials including

defendants Schwartz and Snyder, acting in concert and/or

conspiracy with the defendant telephone companies, have

created exclusive agreements which impose on plaintiffs

exorbitant rates and prohibit less costly calling alternatives for

calls by prisoners from penal institutions.

92. Regulations of the Illinois Department of Corrections

allowing for prisoner telephone calls creates a liberty interest

which the prisoner plaintiffs are being denied, in violation of

their rights to procedural and substantive due process under the

Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution.

A27

COUNT XI

DUE PROCESS CLAIMS AGAINST COOK, DuPAGE

AND KANE COUNTIES AND AT&T, AMERITECH AND

INVISION TELECOM BY PRISONER PLAINTIFFS _

93. Plaintiff reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 63 of this complaint.

94. Defendant Cook, DuPage and Kane counties, through its

designated officials, acting in concert and/or conspiracy with the

defendant AT&T, Ameritech and Invision Telecom,

respectively, have created exclusive agreements which impose

on plaintiffs exorbitant rates and prohibit less costly calling

alternatives for calls by prisoners from penal institutions.

95. Regulations of the defendant counties allowing for prisoner

telephone calls creates a liberty interest which the prisoner

plaintiffs are being denied, in violation of their rights to

procedural and substantive due process under the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution.

COUNT XII

CLAIM OF UNCONSTITUTIONAL IMPAIRMENT OF

CONTRACT AGAINST THE STATE, SNYDER,

SCHWARTZ, AT&T, MCI, AMERITECH AND

CONSOLIDATED BY FAMILIES, LAWYERS AND

BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

96. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein Paragraphs ]

through 63 of this complaint.

97. The plaintiffs, at all relevant times, have had and continue

to have ongoing monthly contracts with telephone companies

which govern the general telephone service provided them,

cactus lla

A28

other than calls with inmates. These contracts provide for

substantially lower rates for collect calls than are imposed on

them by the defendants by virtue of their exclusive agreements

and also offer other services, options and means of using the

telephone which would result in substantially lower charges and

substantially improved service, if used for calls from inmates.

98. Defendant State, and its designated officials including

defendants Schwartz and Snyder, acting in concert and/or

conspiracy with the defendant telephone companies, has created

exclusive agreements which impose on plaintiffs exorbitant

rates and prohibit less costly alternatives for calls by prisoners

from penal institutions. The imposition of these restrictions and

requirements on the plaintiffs as a result of the illegal

agreements between the State and defendant telephone

companies prevents and prohibits plaintiffs from exercising

their rights under existing contracts they have for telephone

service. By virtue of these exclusive agreements, plaintiffs are

made forced customers of defendant telephone companies.

These restrictions and requirements constitute a substantial

impairment of plaintiffs’ contractual relationships with others,

in violation of Article I, § 10 of the United States Constitution.

COUNT XIV

CLAIM OF UNCONSTITUTIONAL IMPAIRMENT OF

CONTRACT AGAINST COOK, DuPAGE AND KANE

COUNTIES, AT&T, AMERITECH AND INVISION

TELECOM BY FAMILIES, LAWYERS AND

BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

99. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs |

through 63 of this complaint.

| 100. The plaintiffs, at all relevant times, have had and continue

| to have ongoing monthly contracts with telephone companies

which govern the general telephone service provided them,

Az9

other than calls with inmates. These contracts provide for

substantially lower rates for collect calls than are imposed on

them by the defendants by virtue of their exclusive agreements

and also offer other services, options and means of using the

telephone which would result in substantially lower charges and

substantially improved service, if used for calls from inmates.

101. Defendant County, through its designated officials, acting

in concert and/or conspiracy with the defendant AT&T, has

created exclusive agreements which impose on plaintiffs

exorbitant rates and prohibit less costly alternatives for calls by

prisoners from penal institutions. The imposition of these

restrictions and requirements on the plaintiffs as a result of the

illegal agreements between the County and defendant AT&T

prevents and prohibits plaintiffs from exercising their rights

under existing contracts they have for telephone service. By

virtue of these exclusive agreements, plaintiffs are made forced

customers of defendant telephone company. These restrictions

and requirements constitute a substantial impairment of

plaintiffs’ contractual relationships with others, in violation of

Article I, § 10 of the United States Constitution,

COUNT XV

SHERMAN ACT CLAIMS AGAINST ALL DEFENDANTS

- BY FAMILIES, LAWYERS AND

BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

102. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporatc herein by reference

paragraphs 1 through 63 of this complaint.

103. Defendants, State, and its designated officials including

defendants Schwartz and Snyder, Cook, DuPage and Kane

counties and telephone companies, acting jointly and in concert,

contracted, combined and/or conspired to enter into the

agreements regarding inmate telephone service.

a

A30

104. The foregoing conduct of these defendants has produced

adverse anticompetitive effects within the market for inmate-

initiated telephone calls in the State of Illinois and has

unreasonably restrained trade in interstate commerce.

105. By virtue of the forgoing conduct, defendants have violated

§ 1 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1.

106. By virtue of the foregoing unlawful conduct, the plaintiffs

and class have suffered proximate injury, having paid

unjustified, exorbitant and unreasonable charges for telephone

calls received from inmates and have been prevented from

choosing other options of telephone service for use in receiving

telephone calls from inmates incarcerated in the State of Illinois.

OUNT XVI

CLAIMS UNDER THE TELECOMMUNICATIONS ACT

OF 1996 AGAINST TELEPHONE COMPANY

DEFENDANTS BY FAMILIES, LAWYERS AND

BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

107. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 63 of this complaint.

108. Defendants, Ameritech, AT&T, MCI, Consolidated, and

Invision Telecom, are common carriers subject to the terms of

the Telecommunications Act.

109. Section 201(a) provides that "[iJt shall be the duty of

every common carrier engaged in interstate or foreign

communication by wire or radio to furnish such communication

service upon reasonable request therefor .... "Section 201(b)

requires that all “charges, practices, classifications and

regulations for and in connection with such communication

service shall be just and reasonable, and any such charge,

A31

practice, classification, or regulation that is unjust or

unreasonable is hereby declared to be unlawful...”

110. The charges, practices, classifications and regulations

which are imposed on plaintiffs as authorized by the illegal

agreements among the defendants herein are "unjust" and

"unreasonable," in violation of § 201(b) of the Act.

111. Section 202(a) makes it unlawful for any of the defendants

herein "to make any unjust or unreasonable discrimination in

charges, practices, classifications, regulations, facilities, or

services for or in connection with like communication service,

directly or indirectly, by any means or device, or to make or

give any undue or unreasonable preference or advantage to any

particular person, class or persons, or locality, or to subject any

particular person, class of persons, or locality to any undue or

unreasonable prejudice or disadvantage." The charges, practices,

classifications, regulations, facilities, or services which are

imposed on plaintiffs as authorized by the illegal agreements

among the defendants herein violate of § 202(a)of the Act.

COUNT XVI

CLAIMS UNDER ILLINOIS CONSTITUTION AGAINST

THE STATEBY FAMILIES, LAWYERS AND

BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

112. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 63 of this complaint.

113. Plaintiffs allege four violations of the Hlinois Constitution

against the State:

A. The exorbitant charges imposed on the plaintiffs and the

plaintiff class are violations of plaintiffs’ nghts to due process

and equal protection under Article I, § 2 of the [linois

Constitution in that the persons selected by the State to pay such

A32

charges, i.e., plaintiffs and the plaintiff class, constitute an

unreasonable and arbitrary classification by the State, with

respect to the imposition of a tax, which places on the plaintiffs

burdens not shared by others.

B. Article IX, § 2 provides that in any law classifying the

subjects or objects of non-property taxes or fees, the classes

shall be reasonable and the subjects and objects within each

class shall be taxed uniformly. The excessive and exorbitant

charges to the plaintiffs and plaintiff class constitute a tax or fee

on this class of users of telephones, in violation of Article IX,

§ 2.

C. The requirements placed on plaintiffs to deal with the State

constitutes a substantial impairment of plaintiffs’ contractual

relationships with telephone companies of their choice and

grants to the defendant telephone companies special privileges

and immunities, in violation of Article I, § 16 of the Ilinois

Constitution.

D. The use of funds from the exorbitant fees charged for

collect calls by the governmental defendants for purposes

unrelated to telephone service for inmates constitutes an

unlawful tax and is an unlawful usurpation of power resting

with the legislative branch of government, in violation of

separation of powers clause, in the State of Hlinois, in Article I

§ 1.

COUNT XV

CLAIMS UNDER ILLINOIS CONSTITUTION AGAINST

COOK, DuPAGE AND KANE COUNTIES BY FAMILIES,

LAWYERS AND BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

114. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 63 of this complaint.

IIe

A33

115. Plaintiffs allege four violations of the Ilinois Constitution

against Cook, DuPage and Kane counties:

A. The exorbitant charges imposed on the plaintiffs and the

plaintiff class are violations of plaintiffs’ rights to due process

and equal protection under Article I, § 2 of the IDlinois

Constitution in that the persons selected by the County to pay

such charges, i.e., plaintiffs and the plaintiff class, constitute an

unreasonable and arbitrary classification by the County, with

respect to the imposition of a tax, which places on the plaintiffs

burdens not shared by others.

B. Article IX, §, 2 provides that in any law classifying the

subjects or objects of non-property taxes or fees, the classes

shall be reasonable and the subjects and objects within each

class shall be taxed uniformly. The excessive and exorbitant

charges to the plaintiffs and plaintiff class constitute a tax or fee

on this class of users of telephones, in violation of Article IX, §

2.

C. The requirements placed on plaintiffs to deal with the

County constitutes a substantial impairment of plaintiffs’

contractual relationships with telephone companies of their

choice and grants to the defendant AT&T and Invision Telecom

special privileges and immunities, in violation of Article I, § 16

of the Dlinois Constitution.

D. The use of funds from the exorbitant fees charged for

collect calls by the governmental defendants for purposes

. unrelated to telephone service for inmates constitutes an

unlawful tax and is an unlawful usurpation of power resting

with the legislative branch of government, in violation of

separation of powers clause, in the State of Illinois, in Article 1,

§ 1.

A34

COUNT X

CLAIMS UNDER ILLINOIS CONSTITUTION AGAINST

THE STATE, SNYDER, SCHWARTZ BY PRISONER

PLAINTIFFS

116. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 63 of this complaint.

117. The policies and practices alleged herein place an undue

burden on the prisoner plaintiffs in communicating with the

outside world, thus constituting an invidious and unreasonable

- classification in violation of their rights to equal protection. In

addition, regulations of the Illinois Department of Corrections

allowing for prisoner telephone calls creates a liberty interest

which the prisoner plaintiffs are being denied, in violation of

their fights to procedural and substantive due process.

118. The above constitutes violations of plaintiffs’ rights to due

process and equal protection of the laws under Article I, § 2 of

the Illinois Constitution.

COUNT XX

CLAIMS UNDER ILLINOIS CONSTITUTION AGAINST

COOK, DuPAGE AND KANE COUNTIES BY PRISONER

PLAINTIFFS

119. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 63 of this complaint.

120. The policies and practices alleged herein place an undue

burden on the prisoner plaintiffs in communicating with the

outside world, thus constituting an invidious and unreasonable

classification in violation of their rights to equal protection. In

A35

addition, regulations of the defendant counties allowing for

prisoner telephone calls creates a liberty interest which the

prisoner plaintiffs are being denied, in violation of their rights

to procedural and substantive due process.

121. The above constitutes violations of piaintiffs' rights to due

process and equal protection of the laws under Article I, § 2 of

the Illinois Constitution.

COUNT XXI

CLAIMS UNDER ILLINOIS ANTITRUST ACT AGAINST

ALL DEFENDANTS BY FAMILIES, LAWYERS AND

OTItER BILL PAYER PLAINTIFFS

122. This count is brought pursuant to § 7 of the Illinois

Antitrust Act, which authorizes persons injured by any violation

of the Illinois Antitrust Act to bring suit for an injunction and

damages.

123. Plaintiffs reallege and incorporate herein paragraphs 1

through 63 of this complaint.

124. The State, Snyder, Schwartz, Cook, DuPage and Kane

counties and telephone company defendants, acting jointly and

in concert, contracted, combined and/or conspired to enter into

the agreements regarding inmate telephone service.

125. The foregoing conduct of the governmental and telephone

company defendants has produced adverse anticompetitive

effects within the market for inmate-initiated telephone calls in

the State of Illinois and has unreasonably restrained trade in this

State.

126. By virtue of the forgoing conduct, the governmental and

telephone company defendants have violated § 3 of the Ilinois

Antitrust Act, 740 ILCS 10/3.

A36

127. By virtue of the foregoing unlawful conduct, the

plaintiffs and class have suffered. proximate injury, having paid

unjustified, exorbitant and unreasonable charges for telephone

calls received from inmates and have been prevented from

choosing other options of telephone service for use in receiving

telephone calls from inmates incarcerated in the State of Illinois.

WHEREFORE, plaintiffs respectfully request that the Court:

A. Certify this case as a class action.

B. Issue a declaratory judgment that the agreements, acts

and practices alleged herein are illegal, as alleged in

each count.

So Enjoin the agreements, acts and practices found to be

illegal herein and order the defendants to provide to the

plaintiffs and members of the plaintiff class telephone

service which is legal and proper; and issue such other

injunctive relief that will remedy the violations of

plaintiffs’ rights herein and assure that telephone service

provided to inmates hereafter is just, lawful and

non-discriminatory.

D. Order the defendants to provide restitution to the

plaintiffs and members of the plaintiff class for all

losses they have incurred herein.

E. Award compensatory and punitive damages, and treble

damages under the Sherman Act to plaintiffs and

members of the plaintiff class.

r. Award plaintiffs and the plaintiff class their attorneys’

fees, costs and expenses. ~

7. Provide for such other relief as is just and proper.

Date: June 29, 1999 -

A37

APPENDIX B

Jn the Gnited States District Court,

ND. Fllinois, Eastern Division

99 C 2457

Katie Arsberry, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

State of Illinois, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

United States District Court,

N.D. Illinois,

Eastern Division.

Prisoners and those wishing to have telephone contact with

them sued state and telephone companies, challenging fairness

of collect call rates. On defendants’ motions to dismiss, the

District Court, Hibbler, J., held that issue was non- justiciable -

under the "filed rate" and "primary jurisdiction" doctrines.

Motions granted.

A38

ORDER

HIBBLER, District Judge.

Pending before the Court is defendants’ motion to dismiss the

action brought against them by Katie Arsberry and others. The

plaintiffs may be divided into two groups: (1) prisoners wishing

to contact people on the outside and (2) people on the outside

wishing to have telephone contact with prisoners. The

defendants may also be divided into two groups: (1)

governmental entities who are engaged in exclusive dealing

agreements with telephone companies and (2) the telephone

companies which provide long distance services for the

government entities’ prisons.

The causes of action arise under the First, Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments of the Constitution; the Sherman Antitrust Act;

the Telecommunications Act of 1996; and various state causes

of action. The one issue that all of these causes of action have

in common is that they challenge the fairness, at some level, of

the telephone rates charged by the telephone companies to the

recipients of prison inmate-initiated collect telephone calls.

However, this is an issue which the Court finds to be non-

justiciable under the “filed rate" and "primary jurisdiction"

doctrines.

Pursuant to both the federal Telecommunications Act and the

Universal Telephone Service Protection Law of 1985, the

telephone company defendants file schedules or tariffs

governing the telecom services they offer. 47 U.S.C. § 203(a);

220 ILCS § 5/13-501. These schedules contain the rates, terms

and conditions of service, and cannot be varied by any other

contract, agreement or unilateral action of the parties. American

Telephone and Telegraph Co. v. Central Office Telephone, Inc.,

524 U.S. 214, 118 S.Ct. 1956, 141 L.Ed.2d 222 (1998). The

purpose of the tariff is to preserve to the FCC and ICC the

EE

A39

authority to determine the reasonableness of rates and to ensure

that the telephone companies charge only the rates filed with

those agencies. Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453 U.S.

571, 577-78, 101 S.Ct. 2925, 69 L.Ed.2d 856 (1981); North

River Ins. Co. v. Jones, 275 Il.App.3d 175, 211 Ill.Dec. 604,

655 N.E.2d 987 (1995), appeal denied 164 Ill.2d 567, 214

fil.Dec. 323, 660 N.E.2d 1272.

The fact that Congress and the Illinois Legislature have vested

these responsibilities in the FCC and ICC, respectively, is

highly significant. First, the statutes clearly assign to the FCC

and ICC the authority to determine the reasonableness of

telecom rates. This is an area in which these dedicated agencies

are experts in important ways that the Court is not. Congress’

delegation of responsibility to the FCC is something that it was

entitled to do under the broad sweep of the Commerce Clause.

The Illinois Legislature was similarly authorized to enact the

Universal Telephone Service Protection Law. Since they have

done so, this Court is in no position to undermine their authority

by seizing the fact-finding role for itself.

The "filed rate" doctrine is not merely a random government

regulation; it is motivated by two "companion principles"--(1)

the need to prevent carriers from engaging in price

discrimination as between ratepayers (the "nondiscrimination

strand") and (2) the preservation of the exclusive role of federal

agencies in approving rates for telecommunications services that

are “reasonable” by keeping courts out of the rate-making

process (the "“nonjusticiability strand"), a function that the

federal regulatory agencies are more competent than the Court

to perform. Wegoland v. NYNEX Corp., 27 F.3d 17, 19 (2nd

Cir.1994); see also H.J. Inc. v. Northwestern Bell Tel. Co., 954

F.2d 485, 488 (8th Cir.1992). Other jurists have waxed

eloquent on the pros and cons of this doctrine, but the bottom

line is that the fairness of the rate as filed is up to the FCC and

ICC. In that determination, this Court has no role at all. There

are several compelling reasons which require the Court to defer

A40

to the FCC and ICC in this dispute. First, the Court does not

possess any experience in determining the fairness of telephone

rates. Second, Congress has laid down no guidelines for

judicial determination of these matters. Third, if the Court did

interfere, it would violate the separation of powers doctrine and

encroach upon the sovereignty of the Ilinois state government.

Fourth, the Court would run the risk of making a

pronouncement on an issue another government body has seized

primary jurisdiction over, a situation which could potentially

end up in two government bodies rendering inconsistent

opinions on the same issue. Given the pervasive interstate

commerce issues connected with the process for the

establishment of telephone rates, such a situation could be

disastrous.

To illustrate how any action taken by this Court could result in

a conflict one only need consider the possible remedies

available to the Court if it found an equal protection cause of

action. If the Court enjoined telephone companies~from

providing service at the filed rate it would then, in effect, be

forcing them to break their "contract" with the FCC and sua

sponte usurp the authority of the ICC. If, alternatively, the Court

decided to give the plaintiffs monetary compensation, the Court

would then be economically punishing the telephone companies

for obeying the FCC and ICC, which they are by law required

to do. Additionally, in order to set compensation, the Court

would be required to make its own determination of

"reasonable" as opposed to "excessive" telephone rates. This is

the function of the FCC and ICC in this very specialized.

regulated industry. Either remedy would interfere with both

bodies’ delegated powers and authorities. Although there are

some significant public policy issues which may dictate a need

for review of these rates, it is not the role or function of this

Court to effectuate public policy.

A4l

The foregoing is true for each and every cause of action

asserted. Therefore, the Court must GRANT the Motion to

Dismiss because this is a non-justiciable controversy and the

FCC and ICC have primary jurisdiction over the issue. It is

appropriate that this matter be referred to the FCC and ICC for

examination. All motions in the present case are terminated as

moot.

A42

APPENDIX C

In the Gnited States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

No. 00-1777

Katie Arsberry, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

State of Illinois, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the Northern

District of Dlinois, Eastern Division.

No. 99 C 2457--

William J. Hibbler, Judge.

Argued December 5, 2000--Decided March 19, 2001

A43

Before Posner, Easterbrook, and Evans,

Circuit Judges.

Posner, Circuit Judge. This is a suit by Ilinois prison and jail

inmates, inmates' family members (and other intimates of the

inmates), and a public-interest law firm that specializes in the

defense of inmates on death row in Illinois. Grounded in 42

U.S.C. sec. 1983, the Sherman Act, and Illinois state law, the

suit attacks the practice by which each prison and jail grant one

phone company the exclusive right to provide telephone service

to the inmates in return for 50 percent of the revenues generated

by the service. The suit claims that the rates for the service,

which are collect only and are contained in tariffs filed by the

phone companies with the Federal Communications

Commission and the Illinois Commerce Commission, are

exorbitant, being far higher than required to cover the costs

involved in providing phone service to inmates. The plaintiffs

seek damages and injunctive relief against the phone companies

and the state agencies and officials responsible for the

arrangements with the companies. The district court dismissed

the suit as beyond its jurisdiction by reason of the filed-rate and

primary-jurisdiction doctrines.

There are a number of jurisdictional bars or quasi-

jurisdictional bars (by the latter term we mean defenses that a

court can invoke even if the defendant has not done so, see, e.g.,

Higgins v. Mississippi, 217 F.3d 951 (7th Cir. 2000)) to various

pieces of this suit, quite apart from the ones identified by the

district court. The State of linois is not a person within the

meaning of section 1983. E.g., id. at 953; Will v. Michigan

Dept. of State Police, 491 U.S. 58, 66 (1989). The individual

defendants have qualified immunity from the damages claims,

given the novelty of the suit.

The law firm has no standing to sue because there is

no indication that it has suffered any detriment from the high

A44

price of its phone conversations with its clients; the cost of these

phone calls is, at least so far as its counsel is aware, an expense

that the firm is reimbursed for by the state or federal

government. And the inmate plaintiffs are barred from suing

because they have failed to exhaust their administrative

remedies, as required by the Prison Litigation Reform Act. 42

U.S.C. sec.1997e(a); Massey v. Wheeler, 221 F.3d 1030, 1034

(7th Cir. 2000); Perez v. Wisconsin Dept. of Corrections, 182

F.3d 532, 535-38 (7th Cir. 1999); Nyhuis v. Reno, 204 F.3d 65,

71 (Sth Cir. 2000); Alexander v. Hawk, 159 F.3d 1321, 1323-28

(11th Cir. 1998); Brown v. Toombs, 139 F.3d 1102, 1104 (6th

Cir. 1998) (per curiam). The plaintiffs say they have no such

remedies against exorbitant phone bills, but the cases we have

cited reject a "futility" exception to the requirement of

exhaustion. We have left open the possibility of an exception to

the exception for cases in which the only relief sought is

monetary and is beyond the power of the prison authorities to

give. Davis v. Streekstra, 227 F.3d 759 (7th Cir. 2000). That

possible exception is unavailable to these plaintiffs, because

they are seeking injunctive as well as monetary relief.

But since these various grounds do not dispose of all the

plaintiffs or all the defendants, we proceed to consider whether

the district court was right to think that the filed-rate and

primary-jurisdiction doctrines place the entire suit outside the

jurisdiction of the district court. The filed-rate doctrine, which

is based both on historical antipathy to rate setting by

courts,deemed a task they are inherently unsuited to perform

competently, and on a policy of forbidding price discrimination

by public utilities and common carriers, forbids a court to revise

a public utility's or (as here) common carrier's filed tariff, which

is to say the terms of sale that the carrier has filed with the

agency that regulates the carrier's service. AT&T Co. v. Central

Office Telephone, Inc., 524 U.S. 214, 223 (1998); Maislin

Industries, U.S., Inc. v. Primary Steel, Inc., 497 U.S. 116, 126

(1990); Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453 U.S. 571, 577-

78 (1981); Cahnmann v. Sprint Corp., 133 F.3d 484, 487 (7th

A45

Cir. 1998); Wegoland Ltd. v. Nynex Corp., 27 F.3d 17 (2d Cir.

1994). A customer or competitor can challenge the tariff before

the agency itself, and if disappointed with the agency's response

can seek judicial review, 47 U.S.C. sec.sec. 204(a) (2)(C), 402,

but it cannot ask the court in any other type of suit (such as this

civil rights and antitrust suit) to invalidate or modify the tariff.

Nor can it seek damages based on the difference between the

actual tariff and a hypothetical lawful tariff. That would require

the court to determine the lawful tariff, and this is not regarded

as a proper judicial function. Wegoland Ltd. v. Nynex Corp.,

supra, 27 F.3d at 19-21.

The plaintiffs deny that they are challenging tariffs. They say

their objection is to the deals by which the correctional

authorities in Illinois have granted exclusive rights to telephone

companies in return for what the plaintiffs characterize as

kickbacks. They want to dissolve the deals in the hope that

competition among phone companies will lead companies to file

prison tariffs that have lower rates. They point out that a

conspiracy to file (or not file) particular tariffs is not insulated

by the filed-rate doctrine from attack under the antitrust laws or

other sources of independent rights, Square D Co. v. Niagara

Frontier Tariff Bureau, Inc., 476 U.S. 409, 422 and n. 28 (1986);

United States v. Radio Corp. of America, 358 U.S. 334, 346-47

(1959); Georgia v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 324 U.S. 439,

455 (1945); United States v. Pacific & Arctic Ry. & Navigation

Co., 228 U.S. 87, 104-05 (1913); City of Mishawaka v. Indiana

& Michigan Electric Co., 560 F.2d 1314, 1323 (7th Cir. 1977);

Town of Norwood v. New England Power Co., 202 F.3d 408,

419-20 (1st Cir. 2000); Barnes v. Arden Mayfair, Inc., 759 F.2d

676, 679 (9th Cir. 1985), provided that only injunctive relief is

sought. Square D Co. v. Niagara Frontier Tariff Bureau, Inc.,

supra; Keogh v. Chicago & Northwestern Ry:, 260 U.S. 156

(1922). Such an attack does not seek to invalidate any tariff, but

merely to create an environment in which the regulated firm is

more likely to file a tariff that contains terms more favorable to

customers. Whether what the plaintiffs are attacking here is

A46

aptly described as a “conspiracy” remains to be consicered;

provisionally, however, the suit is not barred by the filed-rate

doctrine.

The doctrine of primary jurisdiction is not a bar either. The

doctrine is really two doctrines. In its central and original form,

in which it is more illuminatingly described, however, as

"exclusive agency jurisdiction," it applies only when, in a suit

involving a regulated firm but not brought under the regulatory

statute itself, an issue arises that is within the exclusive original

jurisdiction of the regulatory agency to resolve, although it will

usually be subject to judicial review. United States v. Western

Pacific R.R.,352 U.S. 59, 64 (1956); Cahnmann v. Sprint Corp.,

supra, 133 F.3d at 487; Advance United Expressways, Inc. v.

- Eastman Kodak Co., 965 F.2d 1347, 1352-53 (7th Cir. 1992);

City of Peoria v. General Electric Cablevision Corp., 690 F.2d

116, 121-22 (7th Cir. 1982). When such an issue arises, the suit

must stop and the issue must be referred to the agency for

resolution. If the agency's resolution of the issue does not

dispose of the entire case, the case can resume subject to

judicial review of that resolution along whatever path governs |

review of the agency's decisions, whether back to the court in

which the original case is pending or, if the statute governing

review of the agency's decisions designates another court, to that

court. Id. at 122; 2 Kenneth Culp Davis & Richard J. Pierce, Jr.,

Administrative Law Treatise sec. 14.1, pp. 272-80 (3d ed.

1994).

If the plaintiffs in this case wanted to get a rate change, the

version of the doctrine that we have described would kick in;

but they do not, so it does not. Eventually they want a different

rate, of course, but at present all they are seeking is to clear the

decks--to dissolve an arrangement that is preventing the

telephone company defendants from competing to file tariffs

more advantageous to the inmates. We are oversimplifying,

because the complaint includes a claim under the Federal

Communications Act, 47 U.S. sec.sec. 151 et seq., that the

A47

phone companies charge unreasonably high rates and also

engage in rate discrimination. These claims are squarely within

the FCC's jurisdiction, but have been forfeited. They are not

mentioned in the plaintiffs’ opening briefs, and. are merely

brushed in their reply brief.

The doctrine of primary jurisdiction is sometimes defined quite

differently, as a doctrine that allows a court to refer an issue to

an agency that knows more about the issue, even if the agency

hasn't been given exclusive jurisdiction to decide it. So, for

example, we read in National Communications Ass'n, Inc. v.

AT&T Co., 46 F.3d 220, 222-23 (2d Cir. 1995), that “the

doctrine of primary jurisdiction allows a federal court to refer a

matter extending beyond the ‘conventional experiences of

judges’ or ‘falling within the realm of administrative discretion’

to an administrative agency with more specialized experience,

expertise, and insight." This definition obscures the core of the

doctrine, described earlier. Cases in which a court refers an

issue to an agency because of the agency's superior expertise,

such as the case just cited and American Automobile

Manufacturers Ass'n v. Massachusetts Dept. of Environmental

Protection, 163 F.3d 74, 81, 83 (1st Cir. 1998), rather than

because of the agency's jurisdiction, are not felicitously

described as cases of primary jurisdiction. They are akin to

those Burford abstention cases that like the granddaddy of the

line, Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315, 332-34 (1943),

itself, or the more recent New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v.

Council of City of New Orleans, 491 U.S. 350, 361 (1989),

concern arcane regulatory issues; or cases in which the court

solicits an amicus curiae brief from an interested agency; or

cases in which the court has in effect appointed the agency to be

a special master-- an analogy embraced in Lodge 1858,

American Federation of Government Employees v. Webb, 580

F.2d 496, 508-09 (D.C. Cir. 1978). In such cases, either court

and agency have concurrent jurisdiction to decide an issue, or

only the court has the power to decide it, and seeks merely the

agency's advice. (In the core of the doctrine, in contrast, the

\

A48

court has jurisdiction of the case, but the agency of the issue.)

That model doesn't fit this case either. The FCC has no authority

to approve a collusive arrangement among telephone

companies; nor is there any indication that it knows anything

that would be useful in evaluating the claim of collusion.

Prudently the defendants have not rested wholly on -

jurisdictional or procedural grounds for the dismissal of this

suit, but have argued that the plaintiffs’ claims lack merit. They

are right. Consider first the claim that exorbitant telephone rates

violate the First Amendment. It is true that communications the

content of which is protected by the First Amendment are often

made over the phone, but no one before these plaintiffs

supposed the telephone excise tax an infringement of free

speech. Saltzman v. United States, 516 F.2d 891 (9th Cir. 1975)

(per curiam). Communications protected by the amendment are

also frequently made by printing words on paper, yet no one

supposes that the consequence is to bring the corporate income

tax, when imposed on manufacturers of paper, within the

purview of the First Amendment, or even to forbid taxing those

manufacturers more heavily than manufacturers of products that

are less important as inputs into the production of

communications media. Any regulation direct or indirect of

communications can have an effect on the market in ideas and

opinions, but that possibility in itself does not raise a

constitutional issue. Minneapolis Star & Tribune Co. v.

Minnesota Commissioner of Revenue, 460 U.S. 575, 581-83

(1983); BellSouth Corp. v. F.C.C., 144 F.3d 58, 69 (D.C. Cir.

1998). Otherwise the entire tax and regulatory operations of

American government would be brought under the rule of the

First Amendment.

There is no suggestion that the scheme of which the plaintiffs

complain is motivated by a desire to limit free speech, as in

Grosjean v. American Press Co., 297 U.S. 233 (1936); the

plaintiffs themselves contend that it is motivated by pure greed;

and of course the telephone rates of which they complain are

independent of the protected or unprotected character of the

A49

phone calls being charged for. We note parenthetically that

"greed" doesn't seem the right characterization either,

considering that prisons are costly to build, maintain, and

operate, and that the residents are not charged for their room and

board. By what combination of taxes and user charges the state

covers the expense of prisons is hardly an issue for the federal

courts to resolve.

The case is a bit closer to Minneapolis Star, which invalidated

a special tax arbitrarily imposed on newspapers. Yet to extend

that decision to the telephone excise tax, or to the "tax" imposed

by the contracts attacked in this case, would overlook a vital

distinction. The entire content of newspapers, in contrast to

telephone calls, is protected by the First Amendment, and so

there was in the Minneapolis Star case a gratuitous and

potentially substantial, even if not deliberate, impairment of the

interests that the amendment is designed to protect. Although

the telephone can be used to convey communications that are

protected by the First Amendment, that it is not its primary use

and it is extremely rare for inmates and their callers to use the

telephone for this purpose. Not to allow them access to a

telephone might be questionable on other grounds, but to

suppose that it would infringe the First Amendment would be

doctrinaire in the extreme, United States v. Footman, 215 F.3d

145, 155 (1st Cir. 2000), though the Ninth Circuit disagrees.

Johnson v. California, 207 F.3d 650, 656 (9th Cir. 2000) (per

curiaiy. The telephone, and the nation's telecommunications

infrastructure more generally, are more commonly used for First

Amendment purposes than prison phones are, but the federal

courts do not use that fact as the excuse to bring the taxation

and regulation of telecommunications under comprehensive

judicial surveillance in the name of free speech.

The plaintiffs also argue that the kickback scheme, as they

regard it, impairs contracts to which the plaintiffs are parties.

No contracts are specified; and in any event a tax, which is what

the allegedly exorbitant component of the questioned telephone

a

A50

rates functionally is, is not an impairment of contracts within the

meaning of the Constitution. Barwise v. Sheppard, 299 U.S. 33,

40 (1936); Kehrer v. Stewart, 197 U.S. 60, 70 (1905); North

Missouri R.R. v. Maguire, 87 U.S. 46, 61 (1873). The cases that

establish this proposition are old, but that is only because it's

been a long time since anyone thought to make the argument.

And the contention that by charging a high price for phone calls

the defendants have taken the plaintiffs’ property and must pay

just compensation is downright absurd.

There is a little more substance to the argument that the

scheme violates the equal protection and due process clauses of

the Fourteenth Amendment. We must take the facts pleaded in

the complaint as true, and they are that the very high price

charged anyone who wants to talk to an inmate over the phone

is greatly in excess of any additional cost to the phone

companies or the prisons and jails of allowing inmates to make

collect calls. Treating what we have called the exorbitant

component of the prison inmate tariffs as a tax, we may appear

to have a conventional case in which a class of taxpayers

complains about a grossly discriminatory tax rate. Allegheny

Pittsburgh Coal Co. v. County Commission, 488 U.S. 336, 345

(1989); Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Ward, 470 U.S. 869,

875 (1985); Rinaldi v. Yeager, 384 U.S. 305, 308 (1966);

Wallers v. United States, 847 F.2d .1279, 1282 (7th Cir. 1988).

But here the fact that it is not a tax but a tariffed rate bites. A

claim of discriminatory tariffed telephone rates is precisely the

kind of claim that is within the primary jurisdiction of the

telephone regulators. The plaintiffs are asking us to compare the

rates on inmate calls with rates on comparable calls of other

persons; that is what we cannot do but the regulatory agencies

can. . |

-

A51

The plaintiffs argue that inmates and their families have an

interest encompassed by the concept of "liberty" in the due

process clause and that the defendants (both the agencies and

officials directly subject to the Fourteenth Amendment and the

telephone companies, which are liable under section 1983 as

their coconspirators, Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S.

144, 152 (1970); Tarpley v. Keistler, 188 F.3d 788, 791-92 (7th

Cir. 1999)) have arbitrarily deprived them of that interest by

preventing competition for inmate phone service. It is

conceivable (no stronger statement is possible in the current

state of the case law) that the constitutional concept of liberty

may encompass.a limited right to make or receive prison visits

involving family members, Burgess v. Lowery, 201 F.3d 942,

947 (7th Cir. 2000); Froehlich v. Wisconsin, 196 F.3d 800, 801-

02 (7th Cir. 1999); Mayo v. Lane, 867 F.2d 374, 375-76 (7th

Cir. 1989), and a telephone call is an electronic visit and may be

the only form of visit that is feasible if the family lives far from

the inmate's prison. But even if this is so, which we needn't

decide, the plaintiffs cannot get anywhere with their due process

claim. The claim has no procedural dimension; there is no

Suggestion that the defendants have denied them their due

process right to challenge the inmate telephone rates in the

regulatory agencies. The claim is substantive, is that the

defendants have unreasonably curtailed the liberty of being

visited and visiting by denying reasonably priced phone service.

And as a substantive claim it cannot fly. It is no different from —

claiming that a state that raised the gasoline tax and by doing so

increased the cost to the plaintiffs of traveling to visit their

inmate relatives would be violating the Constitution.

We are also unimpressed by the plaintiffs’ antitrust claim.

Were they arguing that the defendant phone companies had

gotten together to divide the inmate phone market, using state

officials as their cat's paws, the defendants, in order to avoid

liability, would have to show that the initiative for and control

over the scheme resided with the officials, acting in furtherance .

of a state policy of limiting competition. Southern Motor

AS2

Carriers Rate Conference, Inc. v. United States, 471 U.S. 48,

56-57 (1985); California Retail Liquor Dealers Ass'n v. Midcal

Aluminum, Inc., 445 U.S. 97, 105-06 (1980); Hardy v. City

Optical Inc., 39 F.3d 765, 768 (7th Cir. 1994): Massachusetts

Food Ass'n v. Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control

Comm'n, 197 F.3d 560, 563-64 (1* Cir. 1999). There is a bare

hint of horizontal agreement--the sort of thing that the Georgia

v. Pennsylvania line of cases that we cited earlier holds are not

protected from antitrust attack by the filed-rate doctrine--in the

allegation of the complaint that the telephone company

defendants and the other defendants are acting "jointly and in

concert." But the entire thrust of the plaintiffs' argument is that

the prisons are principals, not tools; remember, they are said to

be motivated by greed, but greed that is institutional rather than

personal. Far from being mere agents of the phone companies,

the prisons are in the driver's seat, because it is they who control

access to the literally captive market constituted by the inmates.

Indeed the plaintiffs’ real argument has nothing to do with any

horizontal conspiracy; it is rather that a monopolist, namely the

State of Illinois (and its subdivisions), exercising as it does an

iron control over access to the inmate market, has rented pieces

of the market to different phone companies, in much the same

way that an airport will charge a high fee to concessionaires

eager to sell to the captive market represented by the airline

passengers who perforce spend time in the airport. Cf. Elliott v.

United Center, 126 F.3d 1003 (7th Cir. 1997). The

concessionaires will pass on much of the fee to their customers,

who will thus pay a higher than competitive price. States and

other public agencies do not violate the antitrust laws by

charging fees or taxes that exploit the monopoly of force that is

the definition of government. They have to get revenue

somehow, and the "somehow" is not the business of the federal

courts unless a specific federal right is infringed. Nor do the

persons with whom the states contract violate the antitrust laws

by becoming state concessionaires, provided those persons do

not collude among themselves or engage in other

A53

anticompetitive behavior, of which charging high prices as a

State concessionaire is not a recognized species.

Insofar as the plaintiffs' concern is with the purely vertical

arrangement between each defendant telephone company and a

particular prison or jail, the filed-rate doctrine pops back in as

a jurisdictional bar. The vertical agreement is effectively the

tariff, that is, the contract between the provider of the regulated

service (the phone company) and the customer. Technically, the

inmates are the customers; but realistically it is the prisons and

jails. The plaintiffs don't want to clear away an obstacle to a

voluntarily negotiated lower tariff; they want a lower tariff.

The dismissal of the plaintiffs' federal claims must be affirmed,

though on the merits rather than (with the exception of the equal

protection claim, which is within the scope of the doctrine of

primary jurisdiction in its core sense of exclusive agency

jurisdiction to decide an issue, and the vertical dimension of the

antitrust claim, which is barred by the filed-rate doctrine) on

jurisdictional grounds. Since all the plaintiffs' federal claims

have fallen out well before trial and their state claims are not

even mentioned in the district court's opinion, we direct that

court to relinquish jurisdiction over the state claims. 28 U.S.C.

sec. 1367(c)(3). Doubtless the court would have done that on its

own had it not thought the entire case outside its jurisdiction,

which is why it had no occasion even to mention those claims.

Modified and Affirmed.

A54

APPENDIX D

In the United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

May 29, 2001

Before

Hon. Richard A. Posner, Circuit Judge

Hon. Frank H. Easterbrook, Circuit Judge

Hon. Terence T. Evans, Circuit Judge

No. 00-1777

Katie Arsberry, Phyllis Appeal from the United

Brooks, Jeanne Gammon, States District Court of the

et al., Northern District of

Dlinois, Eastern Division

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

No. 99 C 2457

v.

William J. Hibbler,

State of Illinois, County of Judge

Cook, Ameritech Services,

Incorporated, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

A55

ORDER

On consideration of the petition for rehearing and petition for

rehearing en banc filed on April 2, 2001 by plaintiffs-appellants

arid on May 7, 2001 defendants-appellees filed an answer. All

the judges on the original panel have voted to deny the petition,

and none of the active judges has requested a vote on the

petition for rehearing en banc. The petition is therefore

DENIED.

* Hon. Ilana Diamond Rovner and Hon. Ann Claire Williams

did not participate in the consideration of the petition.

APPENDIX E

Gnited States Constitution

Amendment I

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of

religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging

the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people

peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a

redress of grievances.

Amendment XIV, Section 1

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United States,

and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the United

States and of the state wherein they reside. No state shall make

or enforce any law which shall abridge the privileges or

immunities of citizens of the United States; nor shall any state

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the

equal protection of the laws.

A57

APPENDIX F

42 U.S.C. § 1983 Civil action for deprivation of rights.

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or Territory or the

District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be subjected, any

citizen of the United States or other person within the

jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any rights, privileges,

or immunities secured by the Constitution and laws, shall be

liable to the party injured in an action at law, suit in equity, or

other proper proceeding for redress, except that in any action

brought against a judicial officer for an act or omission taken in

such officer's judicial capacity, injunctive relief shall not be

granted unless a declaratory decree was violated or declaratory

relief was unavailable. For the purposes of this section, any Act

of Congress applicable exclusively to the District of Columbia

shall be considered to be a statute of the District of Columbia.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.