Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Daniels v. City of Arlington

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

1 Supreme Court, U.S.

as FILED

‘

|

01 187 JUL 302008

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

*

GEORGE DANIELS,

Petitioner,

V.

CITY OF ARLINGTON, TEXAS AND THERON BOWMAN, CHIEF

OF POLICE, ARLINGTON, TEXAS,

Respondents

*

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

e

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

e ‘

James A. Pikl John W. Whitehead

(Counsel of Record) Steven H. Aden

JAMES A. PIKL, P.C. THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE

P.O. Box 2939 1445 East Rio Road

McKinney, Texas 75070 Charlottesville, Virginia 22901

Telephone: (214) 544-7000 Telephone: (804) 978-3888

July 30, 2001

'

segs arenes os oe 6 ae

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

A General Order of the Police Department of Arlington, Texas

prohibits officers from wearing symbols on their uniforms unless the

symbol is approved by the Chief of Police in his personal,

unfettered and unreviewable discretion. Sgt. George Daniels, a

highly-decorated 14-year veteran of the force, chose to wear a tiny

gold cross on his uniform shirt and asked the Chief for approval.

Although he had allowed and even encouraged numerous other

ormaments and pins to be worn in the past, the Chief refused to

allow the cross. Daniels continued wearing the cross and was fired

for insubordination. _The Fifth Circuit held the General Order

constitutional and found that Daniels’ firing did not violate his First

Amendment rights of free speech, association or freedom of

religious expression. Petitioner presents the following questions:

1. Is the Pickering standard for determining the existence and

scope of a public employee’s right of free speech applicable to

symbolic religious speech?

2. Is the Pickering standard applicable where a supervisory

official enjoys unfettered discretion to censor or permit any form of

symbolic speech by an employee of his department, including

matters of “public concern” such as religious speech?

3. Does the “incidental effect” test of Oregon Employment

Div. v. Smith apply to a claim of religious discrimination in

government employment, where the presence of free speech, free

exercise and right of association claims amounts to a “hybrid right,”

and where numerous exemptions to a uniform policy are granted for

non-religious reasons, making administrationof the order a “system

of individualized exceptions?”

-ii-

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

George Daniels, Petitioner _

Represented by James A. Pik

JAMES A. PIKL, P.C.

P.O. Box 2939

McKinney, Texas 75070-1408

Telephone: (214) 544-7000

Steven H. Aden

THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE

P.O. Box 7482

Charlottesville, Virginia 22906-7482

Telephone: (804) 978-3888

City of Arlington, Texas, Respondent

Theron Bowman, Chief of Police, Respondent

Represented by Frank Waite

Assistant City Attorney

Arlington, Texas

200 West Abram Street

Arlington, Texas 76010-7103"

Telephone: (817) 265-3311

There are no known parent or subsidiary entities to these

parties.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented for Review ....................... i

Sr ae ii

I ise inca cau bbb aswdlereuke rears Vv

Petition for Writ of Certiorari ...................00005e l

Opinions and Orders Below ... 0.0.2.0... cccccccccccce l

IEE nt boo cd knee occ e diced ovedacous l

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions .................. 2

GETS Sao ea earning Pe 3

EN Cis at and Cu'stotadew che lice Lares ce 3

REET SRS eye Bi venting cane 4

IIS Gaya onc osd nc cou eccue bes aka Bis 8

Reasons for Granting the Writ......................... 9

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE

A SPLIT AMONGTHE CIRCUIT CouRTS OVER THE

APPROPRIATE STANDARD FOR DETERMINING

WHETHER SYMBOLIC SPEECH BY A PUBLIC

EMPLOYEE “MATERIALLY AND SUBSTANTIALLY

INTERFERES” WITH THE EMPLOYER’S FUNCTION .... 9

-iv-

II. THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE

A CONFLICT AMONGTHECIRCUITS RELATINGTO

THE APPLICATION OF THE OREGON EMPLOYMENT

Div. v. SMITH “NEUTRALITY” REQUIREMENT TO

MUNICIPAL PROHIBITIONS ON SYMBOLIC

RELIGIOUS EXPRESSION BY UNIFORMED PUBLIC

SN a eridcr cn ai od 6 ok ep 5 Gani ok, 14

Ill. THE PETITION SHOULD BEGRANTED TO ADDRESS

THE FIFTH CIRCUIT COURT. OF APPEALS’

RADICAL AND CONSTITUTIONALLY UNTENABLE

DECLARATION THAT THE EXPRESSION OF ONE’S

RELIGIOUS FAITH IS NOT A “MATTER OF PUBLIC

CONCERN” WITHINTHEMEANINGOF COMNICK V.

IV. THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED TO ADDRESS

THE IMPORTANT AND NOVEL QUESTION OF

WHETHERA MUNICIPALPOLICYTHAT GRANTSA

SUPERVISORY OFFICIAL UNBRIDLED DISCRETION

TO CENSOR ANY FORM OF SYMBOLIC SPEECH BY

AN EMPLOYEE OF His DEPARTMENT, INCLUDING

“PUBLIC CONCERN” SPEECH, Is

UNCONSTITUTIONALLY OVERBROAD ............ 22

-V-

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Case Authority

Abel v. Town of Orangetown, 759 F.Supp. 161

PEDIC. 1 Eee 25

Altman v. Minn. Dept. of Corr., 251 F.3d 1190 (8"

CHENG 6 SIGE RES ee 19, 20

Board of Educ. of Westside Comm. Schs. v. Mergens,

Po ee Fe ee eS ere re re re re 21

Brown v. Polk County, 61 F.3d 650 (8™ Cir. 1995) ...... 20

Burnside v. Byars, 363 F.2d 744 (5™ Cir. 1966) .......... 9

Doak ¢. Gove, 531 US. TEGO cienees eaneeivssizes 27

Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296 (1940) ....9, 10, 12

Capitol Square Rev. & Advis. Bd. v. Pinette, 510

U.S. 1307 (1993) ...... endRonepeeecasbgenscares ai, de

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986) ......... 18

Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye, Inc. v. Hialeah,

WES Tc) er ere rea ree ate y Pee re 15-17

City of Boerne, Texas v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507 (1997) .... 15

-Vi -

City of Lakewood v. Plain Dealer Publishing Co.,

Gap Lie COPED «606405 a0kenesackbebsdesess 24-26

Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138 (1983) ........... passim

Daniels v. City of Arlington, Texas, et al., 246

Fg Se rrr rr passim

Dunn v. Carroll, 40 F.3d 287 (8 Cir. 1994) ........ 10, 11

Dwen v. Barry, 483 F.2d 1126 (2™ Cir. 1973) .......... 12

Florida Star v. B.J.F., 491 U.S. 524 (1989) ............ 17

Fraternal Order of Police Newark v. City of Newark,

170 F.3d 359 (3™ Cir. 1999), cert den., 528 U.S. 817

ry te Rp pany as 16, 17

Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51 (1965) ........ 10, 12

FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dallas, 493 U.S. 215

(EDIE 0.00465 ¢nuyedac¥ames bieabseaeenas 4, 23-24

Good News Club v. Milford Central School, 121

DAR, BOW GN ia tied ca cock einbanel teens 21, 22

Green v. Polunsky, 229 F.3d 486 (5® Cir. 2000) ........ 16

Hernandez v. Commissioner, 490 U.S. 680 (1989) ...... 12

Lamb's Chapel v. Center Moriches Union Free Sch.

EID... Fa CB. TORUQGOND 0 wine vedececivsewedes 21,22

-Vii-

Leonard v. City of Columbus, 705 F.2d 1299 (11" Cir.),

cert. den., 468 U.S. 1204 (1984) ..........205-- eee 11

Ohio Citizen Action v. City of Seven Hills, 35

F.Supp.2d 575 (N.D. Ohio 1999) ..... 6.6... eee eee 25

Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438 (1928) ........ 26

Oregon Employment Div. v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872

1. PAP errr yor or rrrerrrrret rere passim

Pickering v. Bd. of Educ. of Will Township,

391 U.S. SE3 (IDES) 2. cc ccccdccccccccscccesces passim

Rankin v. McPherson, 483 U.S. 378 (1987) ...... 12, 13, 20

Rosenberger v. Rectors & Visitors of the Univ. of

Virginia, 515 U.S. 819 (1995) ..........-5055 19, 21, 22

Rutan v. Republican Party, 497 U.S. 62 (1990) ......... 26

Saia v. New York, 334 U.S. 558 (1948) ............ 25, 26

Shahar v. Bowers, 114 F.3d 1097 (11™ Cir. 1997) ....... 20

Summum v. Callaghan, 130 F.3d 906 (10" Cir. 1997) ... 25

Tinker v. Des Moines ISD, 393 U.S. 503 (1969) ......... 9

Tucker v. California Dep't of Education, 97 F.3d 1204

OO” Cie. 1GGG) co cacvscdedeccccccccccccsceseeds 12, 19

-Vili-

United States Department of Justice v. F.L.R.A., 955

PG ID ws aso Netceu sen cddd 2edecodcs 20

United States v. Nat'l Treas. Employees’ Union, 513

PN: 6 60s n5 06s cdediadvshdcetaiey th0«KKe 19

Vojvodich v. Lopez, 48 F.3d 879 (5" Cir. 1995) ..... 11,12

Waters v. Churchill, 511 U.S. 661 (1994) ....... 10, 11, 14

Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981) ........... 21, 22

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and Rules

UNITED STATES CONST. AMEND.I .................. 2,8

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION, AMEND. XIV ........... 8

The Civil Rights Act of 1871, 42 U.S.C. § 1983......... 3,8

Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C. §

BOI, o vviicne via0 4s Cb ba twntin dhe ch 4, 8,9

ae Oe: | TRO is eS AM cstleds i tite 2

Be Uh, GONE id bcacdccnbck in dc bE A BE 8

PUD. R. Ase. PROC: GOIN 5 fo 6s Seed Cet d vu : 2

POA, Sis 6658s sok CHAS hse ks AK 18

Ss

~ix-

LOCAL RULE INTERNAL OPERATING PROCEDURE FOR

THE FIFTH CIRCUIT, LOCAL RULE 35 ................200. 2

SUPREME COURT RULE 10(a).... 0.2.0... cee ceeu. 11, 16

ag Ry 5 nee 2

TEXAS CONSTITUTION, Article I], §3 ........... oe 8

TEXAS CONSTITUTION, Article I, § 3a .................. 8

TEXAS CONSTITUTION, Article I,§6................05. 8

TEXAS CONSTITUTION, Article I,§8 ................405. 8

Texas Commission on Human Rights Act, TEXAS

LABOR CODE ANN. § 21.001 ef seq. ..............00 000 8

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE HONORABLE CHIEF JUSTICE AND

ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE UNITED STATES:

GEORGE DANIELS respectfully petitions this Honorable

Court for a writ of certiorari to review the decision of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in Daniels v. City of

Arlington, Texas, et al., decided on April 9, 2001 and reported

at 246 F.3d 500, affirming the decision of the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Texas that granted summary

judgment in favor of Respondents as to all claims and all parties.

OPINIONS AND ORDERS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit in Daniels v. City of Arlington, dated April 9, 2001, is

reported at 246 F.3d 500 and set forth m Appendix A. The

unreported order of the Fifth Circuit denying reconsiderationand en

banc review, dated May 1, 2001, is set forth in Appendix B. The

unreported memorandum opinion of the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Texas, granting summary

judgment to Respondents, dated October 6, 2000, is set forth in

Appendix C. The unreported memorandum opinion of the District

Court denying partial summary judgment to Petitioner, dated

September 21, 2000, is attached as Appendix D. The unreported

Judgment of the District Court, dated October 6, 2000, disposing

of all claims as to all parties hereto, is attached as Appendix E.

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit was entered on April 9, 2001. Appendix (“App.”) at Al.

ai ty |

2

A petition for rehearing en banc was considered as a petition for

reconsideration and overruled by the FifthCircuit on May 1, 2001."

Thus, Petitioner had until July 30, 2001 to file this Petition.

The opinion and Final Judgment of the District Court were

entered on October 6, 2000. The Final Judgment disposed of all

claims and all parties to the proceeding below, and hence

constituted a final judgment within the meaning of FeD. R. APP.

Proc. 4(a)(1)(A). Timely Notice of Appeal was filed by Petitioner

on October 13, 2000.

The Supreme Court has ‘pilictiges to review the judgment in

question on wnt of certiorari n accordance with 28 U.S.C. §

1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

UNITED STATES CONST. AMEND. I, Freedom of Speech, Press

and Association:

Congress shall make no law respecting anestablishment

of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or

abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the

right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition

the Government for a redress of grievances.

' Under SUPREME COURT RULE 13.3, the Fifth Circuit treats

petitions for rehearing en banc as petitions for rehearing. LOCAL

RULE INTERNALOPERATING PROCEDURE FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT,

LOCAL RULE 35, Handling of Petition by the Judges; Panel Has

Control: “A petition for rehearing en banc is treated as a petition for

rehearing by the panel if no petition is filed.”

3

42 U.S.C. § 1983, Civil action for deprivation of rights:

Every person who, under color of any statute,

ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or

Territory or the District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to

be subjected, any citizen of the United States or other

person within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of

any rights, privileges, or immumities secured by the

Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in

an action at law, suit in equity, or other proper proceeding

for redress....

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Introduction.

Sergeant George Daniels, a highly-decorated sergeant in the

Arlington Police Department, wanted to wear a tiny gold cross on

his uniform shirt as a symbolic statement of his Christian beliefs.

Daniels requested that the Chief exercise his discretion to allow

Daniels to wear his cross pin, as he had for several other non-

religious symbolic adornments. The Chief refused Sergeant

Daniels’s request. Daniels then began wearing the pin anyway.

The Chief told Daniels to remove the pin from his shirt or face

termination. Daniels declined to remove the cross and was fired for

Petitioner George Daniels raises two constitutional issues in this

action. First, he asserts a “facial” challenge, arguing that Arlington

Police General Order 205.02(C)(2)(c) is unconstitutional because

it grants unfettered discretion to a government official to decide,

a

4

based solely oncontent, the nature of permissible speech that may

be engaged in by citizens who are public employees.”

Second, Petitioner asserts an “as-applied” challenge, alleging he

has been the victim of intentional religious discrimination. Petitioner

presented evidence showing Chief Kunkle previously allowed

numerous other types ofpins and ribbons to be worn on the uniform

shirts of Arlington police officers, but censored Petitioner’s speech

purely based on its religious content. All such evidence was ignored

by both the District Court and the Court of Appeals.

Based on the above, Petitioner asserts a violation of his civil

rights, and that he was wrongfully discharged from his job in

violation of the First Amendment, Title VII and Texas state law, and

is thus entitled to judgment of wrongful discharge and

commensurate damages.

Factual History.

The following facts were proved by the submission of the

Petitioner in the trial court below, and are substantially

uncontroverted by Respondents.

Petitioner George Daniels was employed by the City of

Arlington, Texas as a police officer on August 5, 1985. He was,

and is, a devout evangelical Christian. R.A. at 116. As part of his

faith, Sgt. Daniels believes he is obligated to proclaim the Lordship

of Jesus Christ to everyone he meets. As a police sergeant, Daniels

held positions that required him to wear departmental uniforms as

his regular working attire. R.A. at 117.

In accordance with his religious beliefs, Sgt. Daniels chose to

wear a tiny, 1/4-inch gold cross on his police uniform shirt as

2 See FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dallas, 493 U.S. 215, 223 (1990),

authorizing facial constitutional challenges in cases such as this one.

5

symbolic speech conveying his status as a Christian. Daniels

believed that wearing the cross allowed him to symbolically

proclaim his faith and reach out to others in his community, to fulfill

his commitment to Christ, and to identify and thus associate with

other Christians holding the same beliefs.

Arlington Police Department General Order No.

205.02(C)(2)(c) provides:

No button, badge, medal, or similar symbol or item not

listed in this General Order will be worn on the uniform shirt

unless approved by the Police Chief in writing on an

R.A. at 117 (hereafter “General Order”). A Christian cross is not

a listed item in the General Order. There exist no guidelines —

written or unwritten, official or unofficial — for the exercise of the

Chief's discretion while implementing the General Order. Instead,

the General Order expressly allows Arlington’s police chief to

exercise his unfettered discretion in deciding, on a case-by-case

basis, what pins or other ornamentation can be worn on the uniform

shirts of officers in the department. R.A. at 597.

ChiefDavid Kunkle previously allowed and encouraged officers

in his department to wear various forms of omamentation not listed

in the general order, including DARE (“Drug Abuse Resistance

Education”) and other anti-drug program pins, CLEAT (i.e., union)

pins, Mexican flag pins, red ribbons, and Russian/Muscovite police

pins. R.A. at 435, 482-84, and 534-35. The red ribbons were

supplied to the department by a community group, the Arlington

Medical Auxiliary, to commemorate the slaying of Federal Drug

Agent Enrique Camerena. See Appendix G, Arlington Police

Department Informational Memo from Police Chief Kunkle

regarding “Red Ribbon Week.” dated October 19, 1990. Chief

6

Kunkle stated officers were “encouraged to wear or display a red

ribbon during the week to show their support for Red Ribbon

Week and their commitment to lead a drug-free lifestyle.” Jd.

Ata Non-Supervisory Employee Representatives’ Meeting on

January 9, 1997, officers were instructed as follows:

Earrings, Knives, and Pins: ....As to pins or other uniform

accouterments, only those items specified in General

Orders are permitted. Deputy Chief Shipp is having a

survey conducted to see what officers have been wearing

(which now must be removed) and all items will be

reviewed by command staff to determine whether or not

they will be allowed on a case by case basis. Police

officers must accept that their appearance must be

professional and neutral and inoffensive to public

sensibilities. Even seemingly inoffensive religious

symbols are not to be worn where they can be viewed

by the public because they may indicate to others

hostility to their own religious beliefs.

See Appendix F.

In January 1998, Daniels began the process of seeking formal

approval from the Chief to wear the cross as an exception to the

“no pins” policy. On July 1, 1998, Daniels had a conference with

the Chiefin which he asked for permission to wear the cross on his

uniform shirt. The Chief acknowledged in testimony that he could

have granted Daniels’s request as an exception to the “no-pins”

policy had he simply chosen to do so. R.A. at 494-96. Instead,

the Chiefrefused to grant Daniels an exception to the policy, stating

that he believed the cross “might offend someone,” and that he

wanted his officers to remain “neutral,” presumably as it related to

religious-oriented speech and appearance. R.A. at 126, 435-36.

eerie lila,

7

Daniels chose to wear the cross on his uniform shirt anyway

because to remove it, for him, would be a public denial of his faith,

and because he believed the Chief's refusal to grant his request

infringed his right to free expression and was thus not a “lawful”

order he was duty-bound to obey. R.A. at 118.

On August 10, 1998, the Chief issued a memorandum to

Daniels telling him to remove the cross from his uniform. Daniels

continued to believe this admonition from the chief was not a

“lawful” order, and he refused to obey it. On August 24, 1998, the

Chief issued a second memorandum to Daniels, this time threatening

Daniels with termination from the department for insubordination if

Daniels refused to comply. Again, believing this order was not a

“lawful” order, Daniels declined to obey it. Jd.

In September 1998, the department began formal disciplinary

proceedings which ultimately resulted in Daniels’ termination from

the police force. The sole basis for Daniels’ termination was his

refusal to quit wearing the cross on his uniform, and his refusal to

obey orders requiring him to cease that activity. R.A. at 13, 139.

In the District Court, Respondents offered no evidence that the

wearing of a tiny gold cross suchas that worn by Sergeant Daniels

in any way interfered with the operations or mission of the police

department, implicated public policy or safety concerns, or

otherwise disparaged the name, position, abilities, authority or

faimess of the person wearing it or of the police department as a

whole. On the other hand, Sergeant Daniels offered credible proof

treatment. R.A. at 440, 482-84, and 534-35.

Procedural History.

Daniels filed the action below against the City and the Chiefof

Police.’ He sued for violation of his federal rights under the First

and Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitution, the

Civil Rights Act of 1871, 42 U.S.C. §§ 1983, 1985(3), and Title

VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, § 2000e et seg. He also brought

state law claims for wrongful termination based on the City’s

violation of the TEXAS CONSTITUTION, Article I, §§ 3, 3a, 6 and

8, and for violation of the Texas Commission on Human Rights Act,

TEXAS LABOR CODE ANN. § 21.001 ef seq., which prohibits

intentional discriminationinemployment based onreligious practices

and beliefs. Sergeant Daniels sought a declaratory judgment that

Arlington General Order 205.02(C\(2)(c) was unconstitutional on

its face and as applied, as well as monetary damages in the form of

back pay, front pay, pre-judgment and post-judgment interest, and

attorney’s fees and costs.

The case was initially filed in Texas State District Court. Before

proceedings commenced in state court, the case was removed to

the United States District Court under federal-question jurisdiction,

28 U.S.C. § 1331. The District Court dismissed all of Daniels’s

claims by granting the City’s motion for summary judgment. App.

C. The court rejected Petitioner’s claim of overbreadth by

incorporating its earlier order denying Petitioner partial summary

judgment on that issue. App. D.

Petitioner timely appealed to the Fifth Circuit, which affirmed

the judgment. App. A. The appeals court ruled that Sgt. Daniels’

__ symbolic use of the cross to express his faith was not a “matter of

public concern” within the meaning of Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S.

> Respondent Police Chief Bowman was named a defendant as

the successor to Chief David Kunkle.

9

138 (1983). 246 F.3d at 503-04. “The content of [Daniels’]

speech — symbolic conveyance ofhis religious beliefs — is intensely

personal in nature.” Jd. at 504. “Its form melds with the authority

symbolized by the police uniform, running the risk that the city may

appear to endorse Daniels's religious message.” Jd. The court also

credited the District Court’s conclusion that “the no-pins policy

does not target religion but only incidentally affects Daniels’

individual religious practice, and thus is acceptable under

[Employment Div. v.] Smith.” Id. at 505. For similar reasons,

the Fifth Circuit rejected Petitioner’s Title VII claim, holding that

Sgt. Daniels failed to demonstrate that reasonable accommodation

was not offered. Jd. at 506.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE A

SPLIT AMONG THE CIRCUIT COURTS OVER THE

APPROPRIATE STANDARD FOR DETERMINING

WHETHER SYMBOLIC SPEECH BY A PUBLICEMPLOYEE

“MATERIALLY AND SUBSTANTIALLY INTERFERES”

WITH THE EMPLOYER’S FUNCTION

For over thirty years it has been settled law in a number of

different speech contexts that if“‘there is no finding and no showing

that engaging in the forbidden conduct would ‘materially and

substantially interfere with the requirements ofappropriate discipline

in the operation of the [government agency],’ the prohibitioncannot

be sustained.” Tinker v. Des Moines ISD, 393 U.S. 503, 509

(1969), citing to Burnside v. Byars, 363 F.2d 744, 749 (5™ Cir.

1966).

10

Even the exercise of religion may be at some slight

inconvenience in order that the state may protect its

citizens from injury.... The state is likewise free to regulate

the time and manner of solicitation generally, in the interest

of public safety, peace, comfort or convenience.

Cantwell v. Connecticut, 310 U.S. 296, 307 (1940) (emphasis

supplied). This Court has further held that the censor bears the

burden of proof to show constitutionality (i.e., a strong justification

for censorship) once a prima facie case of constitutional impact is

made. Freedman v. Maryland, 380 U.S. 51, 58-60 (1965).

The Arlington General Order exemplifies a constitutional

infirmity found in other prior restraints reviewed by this Court: there

is no evidence showing any real threat to the administration or

mission of the government justifying the restraint. Because of this,

it invites discrimination — however tacit and subtle — against

viewpoints expressed by particular symbols, such as the religious

viewpoint expressed by Sergeant Daniels’ cross pin.

The Fifth Circuit’s approach to symbolic speech by uniformed

public employees is in direct conflict with that of the Eighth Circuit.

In a case directly on point, the Eighth Circuit upheld the right of

firefighters to exercise their constitutional freedoms at work. In

Dunn v. Carroll, 40 F.3d 287 (8® Cir. 1994), several uniformed

firefighters were suspended from work for refusing to remove

court upheld the suspensions on summary judgment. The Eighth

Circuit reversed, finding that the city failed to show how wearing the

pins disrupted the workplace or otherwise negatively impacted any

legitimate governmental interest. 40 F.3d at 293. The Eighth Circuit

also held summary judgment inappropriate because fact issues

conceming motive and intent of the employer existed in the case.

Id. Cf. Waters v. Churchill, 511 U.S. 661 (1994) (plurality)

11

(reversing summary judgment for factual determination whether

employee was fired for protected or unprotected speech).

Moreover, the Eighth Circuit rejected the notion that an

unconstitutional order could be grounds for dismissal:

While the District portrayed the crucial conduct as

insubordination, earlier case law persuades us that we must

go further and examine the propriety of the order Dunn

disobeyed.... [T]he Eleventh Circuit [had] held that refusing

to obey an order that implicates an employee’s First

Amendment rights is not a sufficient reason for disciplining

the employee, even ina paramilitary organization such as a

police or fire department [citing Leonard v. City of

Columbus, 705 F.2d 1299, 1303-05 (11™ Cir.), cert.

den., 468 U.S. 1204 (1984).

Dunn, 40 F.3d at 291. There thus exists a conflict between the

Circuits on the issue of application of the standards set forth in

Pickering v. Bd. of Educ. of Will Township, 391 U.S. 563

(1968) and Waters, supra, to symbolic expression by uniformed

municipal officers. SUPREME CouRT RULE 10(a).*

‘ Daniels is also in conflict with other precedent within the Fifth

Circuit itself. In Vojvodich v. Lopez, 48 F.3d 879 (S®* Cir. 1995), a

deputy sheriff spoke out and campaigned against his current boss in

an election for a new sheriff. He was demoted after his boss won

re-election. The deputy sued, claiming his rights of free speech were

violated by the demotion. The Fifth Circuit reversed a grant of

summary judgment for the city, stating: “In the present case...

Sheriff Lopez has failed to allege that the deputy’s political activities

had any effect whatever on [the department’s] operations.” Looking

to the Pickering balancing factors, the court held “there is simply no

(continued...)

12

In Rankin v. McPherson, 483 U.S. 378, 388 (1987), the

Court confirmed that in the absence of evidence that speech by a

government worker on a matter of public concem “interfered with

the efficient functioning of the office,” disciplinary action resulting

from that speech was unconstitutional.

All the way back to Cantwell. State of Connecticut, supra,

this Court has observed this sound policy rationale:

When clear and present danger of riot, disorder,

interference with traffic upon the public streets, or other

immediate threat to public safety, peace, or order, appears,

the power of the state to prevent or punish is obvious.

Equally obvious is it that a state may not unduly suppress

free communication of views, religious or other, under the

guise of conserving desirable conditions. -

310 U.S. at 308. The burden of proof rests with the state to

demonstrate its restrictions are necessary to the fulfillment of

important governmental interests, and reasonably targeted to

achieving or promoting those interests. Freedman v. Maryland,

_ 380 US. at 58-60; Hernandez v. Commissioner, 490 U.S. 680,

699 (1989) (burden to prove disruption justifying restrictions on

constitutional rights is on the government/censor); Tucker v.

California Dep’t of Education, 97 F.3d 1204, 1209-1210 (9"

Cir. 1996); Dwen v. Barry, 483 F.2d 1126, 1130-31 (2 Cir.

‘(...continued)

countervailing state interest to weigh against the employee’s First

Amendment rights.” Vojvodich, 48 F.3d at 886. Why the Fifth

Circuit in Daniels ignored its own very recent precedent is unknown.

It is, however, obvious that its decision in Petitioner’s case is directly

contrary to its decision in Vojvodich.

13

1973). It is undisputed that the City has come forward with

absolutely no evidence that it is attempting to further a legitimate

governmental interest, or that the General Order is reasonably

targeted to fulfill such a purpose.°

The Court in Waters v. Churchill, supra, addressed the

constitutionally mandated scope of investigation an employer must

undertake before disciplining an employee for arguably protected

speech or expression. The plurality held that an employer must

undertake a reasonable investigation of the speech or conduct

involved, and only ifthe employer then reasonably believes that the

speech is not protected may the employer fire the employee without

further action. However, if the employer finds the speech is

protected, then the employer must "tread lightly" and ensure that the

Connick factors justify discipline. 511 U.S. at 677-78.

The Court stressed in Waters, "In many situations the

government may have to make a substantial showing that the speech

is, in fact, likely to be disruptive before it may be punished."

Waters, 511 U.S. at 674 (citing Connick, supra, Rankin, supra,

and Pickering, supra). Justice Souter, in concurrence, voiced the

same concem:

* It is possible the City may someday come forward with evidence

that its officers wearing cross pins would “negatively impact” its

mission of serving and protecting the public; doubtful, but possible:

However, there is no such proof in this record, and the Court simply

cannot “assume” that such facts exist in the absence of evidence.

Indeed, Daniels argued that no such proof exists, and the City has

(so far) failed to deny or counter that argument with any evidence

whatsoever. It is thus the better presumption, especially on summary

judgment, to presume that no such evidence will ever exist, and rule

accordingly. The lower courts thus erred in overruling Daniels’ “no

evidence” motion for summary judgment, and should have granted

that motion on the record presented. FED.R.CIV.P. 56(e).

~

14

A public employer who did not really believe that the

employee engaged in disruptive or otherwise punishable

speech can assert no legitimate interest strong enough to

justify chilling protected expression.

511 U.S. at 684 (Souter, J., concurring). Waters thus reiterates

and confirms the basic premise that before a goverment employer

may discipline its employees for arguably protected speech, that

speech must be disruptive of the employer's mission or activities.

"When someone who is paid a salary so that she will contribute to

an agency's effective operation begins to do or say things that

detract from the agency's effective operation, the government

employer must have some power to restrain her." Waters, 511

U.S. at 675 (emphasis supplied). In Petitioner’s case, the City has

come forward withno evidence or cogent argument that the speech

and conduct engaged in by Sergeant Daniels crosses this bare

minimum threshold, and the City did not meet even the lesser

burden of satisfying the first stage of the analysis articulated in

Waters.

Inarguably, the General Order is not narrowly drawn to effect

an articulated, important government mterest. It is plainly aimed

only at suppression of expression. The City has not argued (much

less proven) that public safety, employee loyalty, department

functionality, or the preservation of public peace and order justify

the General Order. Rather, the City has only argued (but again not

proven) “conservation of desirable conditions” as the goal of its

enforcement. The General Order is unconstitutional. Because the

Court of Appeals failed to properly apply the Pickering standard

to require that Respondents demonstrate how Petitioner’s speech

would “materially or substantially disrupt” the police department’s

function, creating a conflict within the Circuits, certiorari should be

granted.

15

Il. THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED TO RESOLVE A

CONFLICT AMONG THE CIRCUITS RELATING TO THE

APPLICATION OF THE OREGON EMPLOYMENT DIV. V.

SMITH “NEUTRALITY” REQUIREMENT TO MUNICIPAL

PROHIBITIONS ON SYMBOLIC RELIGIOUS EXPRESSION BY

UNIFORMED PUBLIC SERVANTS.

The Court of Appeals wrongly concluded that because the

General Order only “incidentally affects Daniels’s individualreligious

practice” it is “acceptable under [Oregon Employment Div. v.]

Smith.” 246 F.3d at 505, App. at A9. This is demonstrably

incorrect. The ruling in Smith has been strictly limited by

subsequent Supreme Court cases to apply only in situations where

a single Constitutional nght is implicated by the challenged

restriction. City of Boerne, Texas v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507, 513

(1997).’ Therefore, since it is clear that Daniels has brought a so-

called “hybrid” Constitutional challenge to the General Order,

Smith is inapposite. The Court of Appeals’ invocation of that

precedent was error.®

* Oregon Employment Division v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872 (1990).

’ Such a “single right” case might have been brought if Daniels’

speech was not religious in nature. Here, however, Daniels’

freedom of speech, his freedom of association, and his freedom to

exercise his religion are at issue, making Smith off point.

* In recent years several members of this Court have called for

rebriefing and reconsideration of the Smith precedent, mostly

because that case is not only confusing but also possibly incorrect in

its Constitutional analysis. See, e.g., the dissenting opinion of

Justices O’Connor and Breyer in City of Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S.

507, 544-49 (1997), and the concurring opinions of Justices Souter,

(continued...)

16

Furthermore, the General Order is not a “neutral law of general

application,” and therefore the “incidental burden” standard of

Smith cannot apply. There is ample evidence in the record that the

Chief was far from neutral in his application of the General Order,

and that he in fact discriminated against Sergeant Daniels on the

basis of the religious nature of the symbolic speech he sought to

express. See Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye, Inc. v. City of

Hialeah, 508 U.S. 520 (1993) (city ordinance against animal

sacrifice facially neutral but factually discriminatory against Santerian

religion; ordinance declared unconstitutional). The unbridled

discretion placed in the Chief by the General Order precludes the

order from having “general application,” because the existence of

such discretion fosters an environment where the regulation may be

applied in anuneven manner based on the personal preferences of

the current chief and the particular speech at issue (which is what

happened here).

The Court of Appeals cited for its reasoning only to a recent |

decision ofits own court, a decision which conflicts with earlier and

better-reasoned precedent from other circuits, thus creating yet

another conflict in the circuits. SUPREME COURT RULE 10(a). The

Fifth Circuit cited to Green v. Polunsky, 229 F.3d 486 (5™ Cir.

2000), for the proposition that inmates who desired to wear beards

as part of their religious faith could not do so even though other

inmates with medical conditions were given such permission. Even

§(...continued)

O’Connor and Blackmun in Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye,

Inc. v. Hialeah, 508 U.S. 520, at 570-71 (1993). The present case

may provide this Court with a prime opportunity to re-evaluate Smith

after full briefing of the issues relevant to these type cases. The

main, troublesome issue under Smith is squarely and cleanly

presented here.

a ae

nd Legh bene de

17

if Green were germane and good law (which it is not), it is indirect

conflict with the Third Circuit’s decision in Fraternal Order of

Police Newark v. City of Newark, 170 F.3d 359 (3™ Cir. 1999),

cert den., 528 U.S. 817 (1999), which held that once the

government makes an exception for medical conditions, it has no

“Jegitimate interest” in not allowing a similar exception based on

religious belief. Newark, 170 F.3d at 366-67.

The Newark decision is the better reasoned one for several

reasons. First, it is difficult to determine which exceptions are

“legitimate” and whichare not if goverment officials have unbridled

discretion to decide, on a case-by-case basis, which will be

allowed. Pretext and blatant discrimination can far too easily infect

such a system of restraint.

Second, as with any “legitimate” restriction, the goverment

must be attempting to advance some important state interest. If

some people may engage in behavior that is contrary to that interest,

then in the common seismical words of Justice Kennedy, “a law

_ Cannot be regarded as protecting an interest 'of the highest order’...

when it leaves appreciable damage to that supposedly vital interest

unprohibited.” Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye, 508 U.S. at

547, quoting Florida Star v. B.J.F.,491 U.S. 524 (1989) (Scalia,

J., concurring in part and concurring in judgment). Said differently,

if some persons are allowed to act “contrary to” an important

interest sought to be protected (regardless of reason or motive),

then the interest is — by definition — no longer being “protected.”

Therefore, one cannot enforce the prohibition against those who

also seek to act contrary to the interest albeit with differing (perhaps

religious) motives without risking unconstitutional viewpoint

Here, it is undisputed that other officers of the Arlington police

department wore various omamentationon their uniforms during the

18

same time period Sergeant Daniels sought to wear his cross.? And

regardless of whether the Chiefgave his express written consent, his

verbal consent, his tacit “look the other way” consent, or was just

blind to the fact that numerous pins were being conspicuously worn

by his officers, it is still true that any supposed and hypothetical

““nterest of the highest order” sought to be protected by the General

Order was not being protected. It is thus constitutionally suspect

that Daniels’ behavior was singled out for special, disparate

treatment under the guise of “advancing” that interest.'° The refusal

% On summary judgment, the Court must accept these facts, and

their reasonable presumptions, as true. FED.R.CIV.PROC. 56(c);

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-23 (1986). This means

our analysis must consider that the Chief had expressly and

intentionally allowed these other pins to be worn (albeit not in

writing), since that is a reasonable presumption from the facts

presented, irrespective of the Chief’s denial. Pointedly, the jury

could disregard the Chief’s recent, self-serving and contrary

testimony, and find that Chief Kunkle had expressly authorized these

other pins.

The Court of Appeals faulted Daniels for not bringing forth

evidence (other than Daniels’ own affidavit) that these other pins had

been worn. But under controlling law, Daniels affidavit was

sufficient to overcome the City’s motion (Celotex, 477 U.S. at 324),

and Daniels “need not also depose his witnesses or obtain their

affidavits to defeat a summary judgment motion asserting only that

he has failed to produce any support for his case. It is the

defendant's task to negate, if he can, the claimed basis for the suit.”

Celotex, 477 U.S. at 328 (White, J., concurring).

'0 Interestingly, the Court of Appeals faulted Sergeant Daniels for

seeking express leave to wear his cross pin. The court said Daniels

was not given disparate treatment because no other officers’

requests to wear their pins had been denied, and thus the Chief had

(continued...)

19

of the Fifth Circuit to recognize that the regime of standardless

discretion established by the General Order was a quintessential

“system of individualized exceptions” under Smith, creating a split

of authority within the Circuits over the meaning of Smith, warrants

review by this Court.

III. THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED TO ADDRESS THE

FIFTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS’ RADICAL AND

CONSTITUTIONALLY UNTENABLE DECLARATION THAT

THE EXPRESSION OF ONE’S RELIGIOUS FAITH IS NOT A

“MATTER OF PUBLIC CONCERN” WITHIN THE MEANING

OF CONNICK V. MYERS.

The Court of Appeals held that Daniels’ speech was not a

matter of “public concern.” Daniels, 246 F.3d at 503-04, App. at

A6. This is contrary to Supreme Court authority, and conflicts with

other Circuit Courts’ definitions of the term “public concem.” _

This Court has held that speech related to issues of religion or

religious belief is a matter of “public concern.” United States v.

Nat'l Treas. Employees’ Union, 513 U.S. 454, 466, 473 (1995)

(federal employees’ speech, including one employee’s public

lectures on the Quaker religion, held protected as “matter of public

concern”); Rosenberger v. Rectors & Visitors of the Univ. of

Virginia, 515 U.S.819, 845-46 (1995). This view is held by other

'(...continued)

not discriminated against Daniels by denying his request. 246 F.3d

at 507, App. at Al3. This misses the point. The discrimination did

not come about from denial of Daniels request when other requests

had been granted. The discrimination came about from the Chief.

allowing other pins to be worn, but not allowing Daniels to wear his

cross. Whether or not other formal requests had been made is totally

irrelevant.

20

federal circuit courts as well. See, e.g., Tucker v. California

Dep't of Education, 97 F.3d at 1209-10; Altman v. Minn. Dept.

of Corr., 251 F.3d 1190, 1202 (8" Cir. 2001) (state employees’

non-verbal religious statement in opposition to sexvai orientation

sensitivity seminar, consisting of silently reading their Bibles during

class, held protected speech); Brown v. Polk County, 61 F.3d

650, 658 (8 Cir. 1995) (supervisor’s religious speech in

workplace such as prayer and quoting Bible verses held protected

speech); Shahar v. Bowers, 114 F.3d 1097 (11 Cir. 1997) (én

banc) (assuming state employee’s decision to hold herself out as

“married” to fellow lesbian and engage m religious mariage

ceremony was protected speech).

Not only was its conclusion faulty, but the Fifth Circuit’s

analysis also runs counter to the proper analysis of the “public

concern” issue. This Court described the proper analysis in

Connick v. Myers, supra. There, the Court did not undertake the

impossible task of attempting to determine how a statement might

be a matter of public concern, as the lower courts did here. Rather,

it looked at the individual statements themselves, and sought to

determine whether they were of importance or interest only to other

employees of the department (and hence of private concern). If

not, such statements are matters of “public concer,” basically by

default. Connick, 461 U.S. at 147-48. Cf. Rankin, supra, at 386

(comment regarding personal wish that a would-be assassin had

succeeded in killing the president was “plainly a matter of public

concern,” even though uttered by sheriff's department employee).

No tenable argument can be made that the speech of Sergeant

Daniels was of concern only to members of the Arlington police

department (as would be, for instance, a union pin, cf. United

States Department of Justice v. F.L.R.A., 955 F.2d 998, 1006

(5 Cir. 1992)). Rather, it is undisputed that Sergeant Daniels

intended his speech to reach members of the public at large, for

21

their benefit, making that speech (under Connick) a matter of

“public concern” as a matter of law. A full Pickering analysis was

thus required. The lower courts refused to undertake such an

analysis, and thereby erred.

The FifthCircuit’s notionthat Daniels’ speech “melded” with his

job is likewise faulty. The court seemed to believe that simply

because Daniels’ speech was “intensely personal in nature” this

meant there was some risk that citizens may perceive that message

as the City’s “endorsement” of Daniels’ religious beliefs. This

cannot be correct because it is backwards. If such speech is as

“intensely personal” as the Panel suggests, this makes it /ess likely

— not more likely — that members of the public would view it as the

“officially-endorsed” position of the City. The Fifth Circuit and

Respondents simply cannot have it both ways: the cross is so

intensely personal as to elude a Pickering analysis, but is so public

that it might be perceived as some sort of “officialendorsement” of

Christianity by the City.

If the Fifth Circuit’s test is the correct one, then all speech by

government employees while at work would be legally suppressible

simply because it could be couched as “intensely personal” speech

which may be viewed as the employer’s “endorsement” of that

employee’s beliefs. This certainly does not give the public much

credit for intelligence, since it assumes members of the public cannot

distinguish between “private” and “official” statements. '!

'' The Supreme Court has rejected the notion that public confusion

can convert private speech into government endorsement of religion

six times in the last twenty years, and has never held to the contrary.

See Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S. 263 (1981); Board of Educ. of

Westside Comm. Schs. v. Mergens, 496 U.S. 226 (1990); Lamb’s

Chapel v. Center Moriches Union Free Sch. Dist., 508 U.S. 384

(1993); Capitol Square Rev. & Advis. Bd. v. Pinette, 510 U.S.

(continued...)

22

Recently inGood News Club v. Milford Central School, 121

S.Ct. 2093, 2104 (2001), Justice Thomas, writing for the majority,

reiterated this important principle from Rosenberger, 515 U.S. at

839: “the guarantee of neutrality is respected, not offended, when

the government, following neutral criteria and evenhanded policies,

extends benefits to recipients whose ideologies and viewpoints,

including religious ones, are broad and diverse.” When Chief

Kunkle told Sergeant Daniels that he could not wear his cross

because the Chief wanted his officers to remain “neutral,” he was

not treating religion in a neutral manner whatsoever. The First

Amendment requires “neutrality” as between religion and non-

religion. Good News Club, 121 S.Ct. at 2097; Widmar v.

Vincent, 454 U.S. at 273; Capitol Square v. Pinette, supra;

Lamb’s Chapel, 508 U.S. at 393; Rosenberger, 515 U.S. at 839.

If this were truly a neutral policy, then no pins that have any sort of

personal, religious or national connotation would be permitted. If

a tiny cross pin is to be regarded by the public as an official police

endorsement of Christianity, then wearing a Mexican flag pin ought

to be seen by the public as an official police endorsement of loyalty

to Mexico over the United States. This sounds ridiculous, but that

is exactly the point.

It is ludicrous to assume that thinking members of the public

cannot distinguish personal jewelry fromofficialornamentation. The

Chiefdid not fear “establishment of religion.” Rather, he feared that

religious jewelry might “offend” certain members of the public (his

fears totally untethered to any facts, studies, complaints, etc.), and

he acted on his own personal prejudices. Freedom of speech is

protected by the Constitution even when (perhaps especially when)

"(...continued)

1307 (1993); Rosenberger, supra; Good News Club, supra.

23

the speech might offend. Why are government workers removed

from the ranks of those of us who may freely speak?

In the Pickering analysis the court is obliged to undertake,

there is no “weight” on the City’s side of the scales; all the current

evidence favors Sergeant Daniels. Because the lower courts did

not properly identify Daniels’ religious speech as addressing a

matter of public concer in contravention of the Supreme Court’s

historic protection of religious speech, and because a proper

Pickering analysis was thus not undertaken, certiorari should be

granted to rectify the Fifth Circuit’s radical departure from the

Court’s free speech jurisprudence.

IV. THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED TO ADDRESS

THE IMPORTANT AND NOVEL QUESTION OF

WHETHER A MUNICIPALPOLICYTHAT GRANTS A

SUPERVISORY OFFICIALUNBRIDLED DISCRETION

TO CENSOR ANY FORM OF SYMBOLIC SPEECH BY

AN EMPLOYEE OF His DEPARTMENT, INCLUDING

“PUBLIC CONCERN” SPEECH, Is

UNCONSTITUTIONALLY OVERBROAD

Although the arguments on this issue consumed a great deal of

the briefs of the parties below, both the District Court and the Court

of Appeals failed to address whether the unbridled discretion

contained in the General Order renders that regulation

unconstitutionally overbroad.

In FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dallas, this Court said:

While prior restraints are not unconstitutional per se... any

system of prior restraint... comes to this Court bearing

a heavy presumption against its constitutional

validity... [A]n ordinance which... makes the peaceful

24

enjoyment of freedoms which the Constitution guarantees

contingent upon the uncontrolled will of an

[government] official — as by requiring [permission]

which may be granted or withheld in the discretion of such

Official — is an unconstitutional censorship or prior

restraint upon the enjoyment of those freedoms.

493 U.S. 215, 225-26 (1990) (emphasis supplied). Justice White

articulated the rule perfectly:

Unbnidled discretion with respect to the criteria used in

deciding whether or not to grant a license is deemed to

convert an otherwise valid law into an unconstitutional prior

restraint.... That rule reflects settled law with respect to

licensing in the First Amendment context.

FW/PBS, 493 U.S. at 246 (White, J., concurring and dissenting)

(emphasis supplied).

Numerous Supreme Court cases have consistently held that

when a government regulation vests unbridled discretion in a

government official to restrict the speechof citizens (as the Arlington

General Order admittedly does), that regulation fails constitutional

muster as being overbroad. “At the root of this long line of

precedent is the time-tested knowledge that in the area of free

expression a licensing statute placing unbridled discretion in the

hands ofa government official or agency constitutes a prior restraint

and may result in censorship.” City of Lakewood v. Plain Dealer

Publishing Co., 486 U.S. 750, 782 (1988). The regulation

imposed by the City of Arlington lacks standards which are the

“guideposts that check the licensor and allow courts quickly and

easily to determine whether the licensor is discriminating against

disfavored speech.” Plain Dealer, 486 U.S. at 758.

25

In Plain Deaier, the City of Lakewood, Ohio passed an

ordinance giving the mayor “unbridled discretion” to deny permits

for placing newspaper stands on public property. The Supreme

Court never reached the first amendment freedom-of-the-press

issue presented. The case was decided solely on the discretion

given to the mayor unilaterally to make permit decisions. That

discretion caused the ordinance to be facially unconstitutional:

[A] law or policy permitting communication in a certain \

manner for some but not for others raises the specter of

content and viewpoint censorship. This danger is at its

zenith when the determination of who may speak and

who may not is left to the unbridled discretion of a

government official. As demonstrated above [citing

numerous cases], we have often and uniformly held that

such statutes or policies impose censorship on the public or

the press, and hence are unconstitutional, because without

standards governing the exercise of discretion, a

government official may decide who may speak and

who may not based upon the content of the speech or

viewpoint of the speaker. Therefore, even if the

government may constitutionally impose content-neutral

prohibitions on a particular manner of speech, it may not

condition that speech on obtaining a license or permit

from a government official in that official's boundless

discretion.

Plain Dealer, 486 U.S. at 763-64 (emphasis supplied) (citations

omitted). See also Summum v. Callaghan, 130 F.3d 906 (10"

Cir. 1997) (lack of guidelines “strongly suggests” the potential for

arbitrary conduct and viewpoint discrimination); Ohio Citizen

Action v. City of Seven Hills, 35 F.Supp. 2d 575, 577 (N.D.

26

Ohio 1999) (same); Abel v. Town of Orangetown, 759 F.Supp.

161, 165 (S.D.N.Y. 1991) (same).

This rule is not new. InSaia v. New York, 334 U.S. 558, 561

(1948), this Court held:

The right to be heard is placed in the uncontrolled

discretion of the Chief of Police. He stands athwart the

channels of communication as an obstruction whichcan be

removed only after criminal trial and conviction and lengthy

appeal. A more effective previous restraint is difficult to

As in these prior cases — and for the same reason— the General

Order here at issue offends the Constitution. “[T]he Constitution

requires that the city establish neutral criteria to insure that the

licensing decision is not based on the content or viewpoint of the

speech being considered.” Plain Dealer, 486 U.S. at 760. The

City of Arlington has not done this.

In the District Court, the City argued that because it was acting

as “employer” and not as “government” a different standard should

apply to its restrictions. Not so. “The First Amendment prevents

government, except in the most compelling circumstances, from

wielding its power to interfere with its employees’ freedom to

believe or associate, or to not believe and not associate.” Rutan v.

Republican Party, 497 U.S. 62, 76 (1990) (emphasis supplied).

“Government as employer” enjoys no special exemption from the

Constitution.

One reasonunbridled discretion is unconstitutional relates to the

very reason we have a Constitution and bill of rights in the first

place: We, the people, do not trust the government. We have never

allowed the great power of the state, which is so potentially

destructive of our civil rights, to reside in the hands of lone

27

bureaucrats unless its exercise is subject to express, articulated due

process standards informing that exercise. We have never trusted

government officials to be wise, knowing and balanced in their

control of the power we are of necessity required to yield to them,

and historically we have excellent reasons to not trust them. See

Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438, 478 (1928)

(“Experience should teach us to be most on our guard to protect

liberty when the Government’s purposes are beneficent”).

The main reason for the requirement of standards is that citizens

want their courts to be able to conduct enlightened review of the

exercise of discretion vested in government officials. This task can

only be intelligently undertaken if such discretion is bounded by

objective, reviewable criteria or standards.'? Here, it is undisputed

that Arlington Police General Order 205.02(C)(2)(c) allows

“unbridled discretion” to reside in the Chief of Police. The refusal

of the Fifth Circuit to acknowledge that such a regime of

standardless discretion is a constitutional infirmity that is redressable

via a Pickering analysis merits review by the Supreme Court.

CONCLUSION

This case presents in stark relief the problem that Oregon

Employment Div. v. Smith was bound to foster. Here, a

government agency argues that it has a “law of general applicability”

which allows a goverment official the unfettered discretion to

'2 In the recent election contest between President Bush and then-

Vice President Gore, the decision of this Court to halt the Florida

recounts came down to the problem of standardless discretion vested

in the county canvassing boards. Such unfettered discretion resulted

in a violation of the equal protection clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment. See Bush v. Gore, 531 U.S. 98 (2000)(per curiam).

28

discriminate and censor speech based purely on viewpoint, and to

thus squelch the constitutional rights of citizens to freely speak,

exercise their religion, and associate. Since it is “generally

applicable,” the government argues it may enforce the regulation

and censor speech arbitrarily, discriminatorily, and totally free from

judicial scrutiny even ifthe speech at issue has no potential for harm

or disturbance of any kind.

The City, naturally, denies any motive of religious hostility. But

that is just the point. It is impossible for us to determine the Chief's

true motives or to determine whether the City has implemented and.

enforced the General Order for lawful or unlawful purposes.

Motives are inherently difficult things to prove. That is why this

Court has held on numerous prior occasions that before the

government mayrestrict Constitutional rights, (a) its means of doing

so must be truly “generally applicable,” and (b) the restraint must be

bounded by articulated, objective criteria so that its imposition may

be scrutinized by the courts to determine whether it is being used as

a device to foster a legitimate end, or as a charade to censor

contrary viewpoints and unpopular speech. The City of Arlington

has met neither of these requirements.

But an even greater danger is exposed by this case. Smith is

being read by the lower courts as a proclamation that as long as a

law can be pigeonholed into the category of being of “general

applicability,” the government is relieved of its obligation to show

that the law actually fosters and protects a legitimate governmental

interest. Surely this Court did not mean Smith to be read in such

a superficial, knee-jerk manner. Given the history of strong

protection for religious speech in the constitutional jurisprudence

created by this Court, and given that this Court is the final guardian

of our precious constitutional rights, there is no way any decision of

this Court should be read to sanction such unbridled government

“license” to restrict those rights without the government being

29

required to demonstrate, first, the existence of a legitimate,

important state interest, and second, that its selected means is at

least reasonably related to the goal of furthering that interest.

Indeed, any such reading of Smith could result in a city passing an

ordinance prohibiting all speech that discussed political parties or

candidates. Such a law would undoubtedly be of “general

applicability,” but would also be so foreign to our constitutional

jurisprudence as to be laughable.

But this is no laughing matter. Here, we have exactly that type

of regulation. The City of Arlington has seen fit to allow its police

chief the unfettered discretion to decide what, if any, speech may

be engaged in by his officers. Depending upon who the Chief

happens to be, this General Order could be used to censor either

no speech or all speech of any type — political, religious, or even

safety-related. The City should be required to show some

legitimate purpose, some sound reason, why one whole segment of

the population (police officers who wish to express their faith)

should be prohibited from engaging inspeech that is freely exercised

by every other segment of the population. Government censorship

cannot be condoned simply because the government assures us its

motives are pure and its ends legitimate.

The lower courts are likely misreading Smith, and this is a grave

problem. On the other hand, if they are reading Smith correctly,

then we have aneven greater problem. The Fifth Circuit’s reading

of Smith is contrary to the very idea of constitutional rights, since it

allows the government — the very entity which the Constitution was

designed to rein in— complete and unfettered license to restrict or

destroy those rights with the stroke of apen. This Court should

30

grant certiorari in this case m order to either clarify Smith, or

toaddress which aspects of Smith remain viable law.

Respectfully submitted,

James A. Pikl

Counsel of Record

JAMES A. PIKL, P.C.

P.O. Box 2939

McKinney, TX 75070-1408

Tel.: (214) 544-7000

John W. Whitehead

Steven H. Aden

THE RUTHERFORD INSTITUTE

P.O. Box 7482

Charlottesville, VA 22906-7482

Tel.: (804) 978-3888

Attomeys for Petitioner

George Daniels

July 30, 2001

Page | of 1

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Daniels v. City of Arlington, 246 F.3d 500 (5" Cir.

2001), No. 00-11191, Decision of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, April 9, 2001 ........ Al

Daniels v. City of Arlington, United States Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, No. 00-11191, Order

Treating the Petition for Rehearing En Banc as a Petition

for Panel Rehearing and Denying Petition for Panel

Rehearing, filed May 1,2001 .................... Bl

Daniels v. City of Arlington, United States Dist. Ct. for

the N. Dist of Texas (Ft. Worth Div.), No. 4:99-CV-549,

Order Granting Defendants’ Motion for Summary

Judgment filed October 6, 2000 .................. Cl

Daniels v. City of Arlington, United States Dist. Ct. for

the N. Dist of Texas (Ft. Worth Div.), No. 4:99-CV-549,

Order Denying Plaintiffs Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment filed September 21,2000 ............... Di

Daniels v. City of Arlington, United States Dist. Ct. for

the N. Dist of Texas (Ft. Worth Div.), No. 4:99-CV-549,

Judgment dated October 6, 2000 .................. El

Minutes, Non-Supervisory Employee Representatives’

ee , a ee ccecees Fl

ArlingtonPolice Dept. Informational Memo Regarding Red

Ribbon Week, dated October 19, 1990 ............ Gl

Al

GEORGE DANIELS, Plaintiff-Appellant, versus CITY OF

ARLINGTON, TEXAS; THERON BOWMAN, Chief of

Police, Arlington, Texas, Defendants-Appellees.

No. 00-11191 (Summary Calendar)

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

FIFTH CIRCUIT

246 F.3d 500

April 9, 2001, Decided

Before HIGGINBOTHAM, WIENER, and BARKSDALE,

Circuit Judges.

[*501]

WIENER, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff-Appellant George Daniels appeals two nulings

by the district court in this First Amendment employment case:

the denial of his motion for partial summary judgment, and the

grant of summary judgment in favor of Defendants-Appellees,

the City of Arlington and its police chief (collectively, "the

city"). Finding Daniels's claims to be meritless, we affirm the

ruling of the district court.

I. FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS

Damels was an Arlington police officer for thirteen

years. While working in a plainclothes position, he began

wearing on his shirt a small, gold cross pin ("the pin") as a

symbol of his evangelical Christianity. He continued to wear

the pin after he was reassigned to a uniformed position, which

A2

brought him into conflict with Arlington Police Department

General Order No. 205.02(C)(2)(c) ("the no-pins policy"). The

General Order, as revised m November 1997, states that: "No

button, badge, medal, or similar symbol or item not listed in

this General Order will be worn on the uniform shirt unless

approved by the Police Chief in writing on an individual basis."

Daniels requested in writing that then-Police Chief

David Kunkle make an exception to the policy and allow him

to continue wearing the pin on his uniform Kunkle declined,

writing to Daniels that "I have not authorized any non-

department related pins and I do not intend to do so." Daniels

refused Kunkle's order to remove the pin from his uniform shirt

and did not respond to the police chief's offer of

accommodations, which included: (1) wearing a cross ring or

bracelet instead of the pin; (2) wearing the pin under his

uniform [*502] shirt or collar; or (3) transferring to a non-

uniformed position, where he could continue to wear the pin on

his shirt. Daniels declined these alternatives and ultimately was

fired for insubordination.

Daniels sued, claiming that the no-pins policy is

unconstitutional on its face, and that he had been the victim of

intentional religious discrimination. The district court rejected

Daniels's claims: It denied his motion for partial summary

judgment on the facial challenge to the regulation and granted

the city's summary judgment motion, dismissing the remainder

of Daniels's claims. He timely perfected his appeal of both

decisions.

Il. ANALYSIS

A. Standard of Review

This case is on appeal from a denial of partial summary

judgment and dismissal on summary judgment. Therefore, we

review the record de novo, applying the same standard as the

A3

district court. nl A motion for summary judgment is properly

granted only if there is no genuine issue as to any material fact.

n2 An issue is material if its resolution could affect the

outcome of the action. n3 In deciding whether a fact issue has

been created, the court must view the facts and the inferences

to be drawn therefrom in the light most favorable to the

nonmoving party. n4

nl Morris v. Covan World Wide Moving, Inc., 144 F.3d 377,

380 (Sth Cir. 1998); see also Bradshaw v. Pittsburg Indep. Sch.

Dist., 207 F.3d 814, 816 (Sth Cir. 2000) ("For purposes of

appellate review, the ‘inquiry into the protected status of speech

is one of law, not fact.) (quoting Kirkland v. Northside Indep.

Sch. Dist., 890 F.2d 794, 797 (Sth Cir. 1989) (quoting Connick

v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138, 148 n.7, 75 L. Ed. 2d 708, 103 S. Ct.

1684 (1983))). n2 Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); Celotex Corp. v.

Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322, 91 L. Ed. 2d 265, 106 S. Ct. 2548

(1986). n3 Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248,

91 L. Ed. 2d 202, 106 S. Ct. 2505 (1986). n4 Olabisiomotosho

v. City of Houston, 185 F.3d 521, 525 (Sth Cir. 1999).

The standard for summary judgment mirrors that for judgment

as a matter of law. nS Thus, the court must review all of the

evidence in the record, but make no credibility determinations

or weigh any evidence. n6 In reviewing all the evidence, the

court must disregard all evidence favorable to the moving party

that the jury is not required to believe, and should give

credence to the evidence favoring the nonmoving party as well

as to the evidence supporting the moving party that is

uncontradicted and unimpeached. n7

A4

n5 Celotex, 477 U.S. at 323. n6 Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing

Prods., Inc., 530 U.S. 133, 120 S. Ct. 2097, 2102, 147 L. Ed.

2d 105 (2000). [**5] n7 120S. Ct. at 2110.

B. Facial Challenge to the No-Pins Policy

Daniels asserts that Arlington Police Department

General Order No. 205.02(C)(2)(c), one of many provisions

regulating uniform standards for Arlington police, is an invalid

prior restraint of speech protected by the First Amendment. He

contends that the order is overbroad, impermissibly giving the

police chief unfettered discretion to determine what expression

may be displayed on an officer's uniform.

This argument is unavailing. As the district court

correctly noted, "[a] police officer's uniform is not a forum for

fostering [*503] public discourse or expressing one's personal

beliefs." The Supreme Court has upheld appropriate

restrictions on the First Amendment nights of government

employees, specifically including both military and police

uniform standards. n8 We reached the same conclusion in a

case closely analogous to this one, United States Dep't of

Justice v. Federal Labor Relations Auth. ("FLRA"), in which

we upheld department regulations prohibiting border patrol

agents from wearing union pins on their uniforms. n9

n8 See, e.g., Goldman v. Weinberger, 475 U.S. 503, 89 L. Ed.

2d 478, 106 S. Ct. 1310 (1986) (upholding against First

Amendment challenge military uniform regulation barring

wearing of yarmulke); Kelley v. Johnson, 425 U.S. 238, 47 L.

Ed. 2d 708, 96 S. Ct. 1440 (1976) (upholding police uniform

and grooming standards). n9 955 F.2d 998 (Sth Cir. 1992).

AS

The city argues that the deferential rational review

standard should be applied to the Arlington Police

Department's no-pins policy, a test it surely passes. nl0 We

need not decide whether that is the singularly applicable test,

however, because the no-pins policy survives even the stricter

standard for reviewing restrictions on government employee

speech promulgated by the Supreme Court in Pickering v. Bd.

of Educ. n11 The Pickering standard balances "the interests of

the [employee], as a citizen, in commenting upon matters of

public concern and the interests of the State, as employer, in

promoting the efficiency of the public services it performs

through its employees." n12

nl0 See, e.g., Kelley, 425 U.S. at 239. n11 391 U.S. 563, 88 S.

Ct. 1731, 20 L. Ed. 2d 811 (1968). n12 Jd. at 568; see also

Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138, 75 L. Ed. 2d 708, 103 S. Ct.

1684 (1983). Several circuit courts have applied the Pickering

test to public employee claims mvolving religious speech or

the free exercise of religion. See, e.g., Lumpkin v. Brown, 109

F.3d 1498, 1500-01 (9th Cir. 1997); Brown v. Polk County,

Iowa, 61 F.3d 650, 658 (8th Cir. 1995) (en banc), cert. denied,

516 U.S. 1158, 134 L. Ed. 2d 189, 116 S. Ct. 1042 (1996)

("[Pickering] dealt with free speech rather than the free

exercise of religion, but because the analogy is such a close

one, and because we see no essential relevant differences

between those rights, we shall endeavor to apply the principles

of Pickering to the case at hand."); Baz v. Walters, 782 F.2d

701, 708 (7th Cir. 1986).

In FLRA, we assumed that the speech involved was a

matter of public concem, then applied the Pickering balancing

test and concluded that the government's interest in promoting

the efficiency of the services provided by its employees

eens

A6

outweighed the employees’ interest in engaging in the protected

speech. nl3 We found that "a law enforcement agency's anti-

adomment policy is [ ] entitled to deference when weighing the

s interest against the employee's interest under the

Pickering/Connick [v. Myers] First Amendment test." nl4

We have used two tests, both derived from Connick, to

determine whether speech relates to a “legitimate public

concern." nl5 Daniels fails both. The first, the citizen-

employee test, turns on whether a public employee "speaks not

as a citizen upon matters of public concern, but instead as an

employee upon matters only of personal interest." nl6 The

second evaluates the content, form, and context of a [*504]

given statement. None of these three factors favors Daniels's

others -- obviously is a matter of great concern to many

members of the public, in this case it simply is not a matter of

A7

“public concern" as that term of art has been used in the

constitutional sense. n19

n15 Kennedy v. Tangipahoa Parish Library Bd. of Control, 224

F.3d 359, 366 (Sth Cir. 2000). n16 Id. (quoting Connick, 461

U.S. at 147). n17 See, e.g., County of Allegheny v. ACLU, 492

U.S. 573, 106 L. Ed. 2d 472, 109 S. Ct. 3086 (1989). n18 See

Schenck v. United States, 249 U.S. 47, 52, 63 L. Ed. 470, 39 S.

Ct. 247 (1919) ("The character of every act depends upon the

circumstances m which it is done. The most stringent

protection of free speech would not protect a man in falsely

shouting fire m a theatre and causing a panic.") (citation

omitted). n19 Contrast the religious message Daniels seeks to

convey with the Supreme Court's characterization of the school

funding question at issue in Pickering:

The question whether a school system requires

additional funds is a matter of legitimate public

concern on which the judgment of the school

administration, including the School Board,

cannot, in a society that leaves such questions

to popular vote, be taken as conclusive. On

such a question free and open debate is vital to

informed decision-making by the electorate.

391 U.S. at 571-72.

Because Daniels's communication of his personal

religious views through the pin is not speech addressing a

"legitimate public concer," the departmental policy does not

offend the First Amendment. Application of the Pickering

test is thus precluded. n20 Yet, even were we to

follow the path we blazed in FLRA and assume arguendo that

A8

Daniels's speech does involve a public concem, we would

reach the same result. In FLRA, we held that "it is reasonable

to conclude that allowing border patrol agents to wear union

pins would interfere with an appearance to the public of

neutrality and impartiality, which is important to the mission

of all law enforcement agencies." n21

n20 See Connick, 461 U.S. at 146 (concluding that if

employee's speech "cannot be fairly characterized as

constituting speech on a matter of public concem, it is

unnecessary for us to scrutinize the reasons for her discharge");

Teague v. City of Flower Mound, 179 F.3d 377, 383 (Sth Cir.

1999). n21 955 F.2d at 1007.

Although it is true that unions are secular and religions

sectarian, the analogy between Daniels's case and FLRA is

tight. As recognized in FLRA, the city through its police chief

has the right to promote a disciplined, identifiable, and

impartial police force by maintaining its police uniform as a

symbol of neutral goverment authority, free from expressions

of personal bent or bias. The city's interest in conveying neutral

authority through that uniform far outweighs an officer's

interest in wearing any non-department- related symbol on it.

Daniels's facial challenge to the no-pins policy fails. [*505]

C. Grant of the City's Motion for Summary Judgment

Having reviewed de novo the legal claims Daniels

asserts on appeal, we affirm the district court's decision to

1. First Amendment

For the reasons already discussed, the district court

found that Arlington Police General Order No. 205.02(C)(2)(c)

as applied to Daniels did not infringe his constitutional nghts

of free speech, expression, or association. The court also found

that the no-pins policy is facially neutral and generally

applicable, and only incidentally burdens Daniels's free

exercise of his religion. Therefore, concluded the court, the rule

is acceptable under the teaching of Employment Div., Dep't of

Human Resources of Oregon v. Smith. n22

On appeal, Daniels appears to focus on a single

sentence in which the district court stated: "Plaintiff's argument

that wearing a cross on his police uniform is mandated by his

religion is wholly without merit." Daniels is correct in arguing

that it is improper for a court to assess what activities are

mandated by religious belief. n23 Particularly when read in

context with the court's pronouncement as a whole, we do not

view this sentence as a comment on Daniels's religious beliefs,

but rather as a rejection of the merits of his legal claim. Even

if the court's perhaps-unfortunate phrasing allows for Daniels's

interpretation, however, it does not undercut the validity of the

conclusion that the no-pins policy does not target religion but

only incidentally affects Daniels's individual religious practice,

and thus is acceptable under Smith.

n23 See id. at 887 (waming that "courts must not presume to

determine the place of a particular belief in a religion or the

plausibility of a religious claim").

Al0

Our conclusion that Daniels has not justified an

exception to the police department's no-pins policy is

analogous to the one we reached in rejecting a Muslim prison

inmate's complamt after he was denied an exemption from the

Texas prison policy requiring all inmates to be clean-shaven,

even though wearing a beard was a tenet of his faith. n24 After

noting that the grooming policy of the prison has a legitimate

penological justification, we found that the policy does not

violate Muslim prisoners' free exercise of religion, but "merely

removes or reduces one of many avenues by which they may

manifest their faith." n25 The same is equally true of Daniels's

complaint: The no-pins policy serves a_ legitimate

govemmental purpose in the context of uniformed law

enforcement personnel, and Daniels undoubtedly has myriad

altemative ways to manifest this tenet of his religion.

n24 See Green v. Polunsky, 229 F.3d 486 (Sth Cir. 2000).

Inmates with medical conditions precluding shaving were

allowed to wear short beards. n25 Jd. at 491.

2. Due Process and Title VII

The district court found that Daniels "presented no

admissible evidence to suggest that he was terminated for the

purpose of suppressing his rights protected by the First

Amendment." The court therefore rejected his Due Process and

Title VII 26 claims. Daniels contends that the

accommodations offered by the city were unreasonable,

presenting a fact issue on his Title VII claim. He also argues

that he raised a fact issue as to Chief Kunkle's [*506]

motivation, and whether Kunkle discriminated against religious

speech.

All

We agree with the district court that Daniels presented

no evidence that he had been terminated to suppress his First

Amendment rights. Therefore, no genuine issue of material fact

exists as to his claims under the Due Process Clause. n27 As

for his Title VII claims, we find that Daniels met that statute's

requirements for establishing a prima facie case of religious

discrimination, having produced summary judgment evidence

that (1) he had a bona fide religious belief that conflicted with

an employment requirement; (2) he informed his employer of

this belief} and (3) he was discharged for failing to comply

with the conflicting employment requirement. n28 With a

prima facie case established, the burden shifted to the employer

to show that it was unable reasonably to accommodate

Daniels's religious needs without undue hardship. n29 This the

city has done.

n27 See, e.g., Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341, 350, 48 L. Ed. 2d

684, 96 S. Ct. 2074 (1976); Williams v. Texas Tech Univ.

Health Scis. Ctr., 6 F.3d 290, 294 (5th Cir. 1993). n28 Weber

v. Roadway Express, 199 F.3d 270, 273 (5th Cir. 2000); Turpen

v. Mo.-Kan.-Tex. R.R. Co., 736 F.2d 1022, 1026 (5th Cir.

1984). n29 Turpen, 736 F.2d at 1026; see also Ansonia Bd. of

Educ. v. Philbrook, 479 U.S. 60, 68, 93 L. Ed. 2d 305, 107 S.

Ct. 367 (1986) ("By its very terms the statute directs that any

reasonable accommodation by the employer is sufficient to

meet its accommodation obligation.").

Al2

The only accommodation Daniels proposes is

unreasonable and an undue hardship for the city as a matter of

law. A police department cannot be forced to let individual

officers add religious symbols to their official uniforms. The

record shows, furthermore, that Daniels failed to respond to the

police chief's reasonable offers of accommodation. He cannot

reject the city's good-faith efforts at accommodation because

he did not fulfill his duty of cooperation. n30

n30 See, e.g., Brener v. Diagnostic Ctr. Hosp., 671 F.2d 141,

146 (Sth Cir. 1982) (‘Although the statutory burden to

accommodate rests with the employer, the employee has a

correlative duty to make a good faith attempt to satisfy his

needs through means offered by the employer.").

Finally, Daniels raised no fact issue as to Chief

Kunkle's motivation. The undisputed facts show the opposite

of pretext: The chief never denied that the cross is a religious

symbol. The parties disagree only as to whether such symbols

are appropriate accoutrements for police uniforms. Daniels's

Title VII claim fails.

3. Equal Protection

Daniels also contends that genuine fact issues exist as

to whether the city discriminated against religious speech by

allowing other forms of symbolic speech. Daniels testified that

he had seen, or heard about, many items of ornamentation worn

on uniforms during his thirteen years with the Arlington Police.

Former Chief Kunkle stated that before the no-pins order

became effective in November 1997, he had approved pins

promoting programs in which the city or police department

directly participated, such as the DARE anti-drug campaign. In

Al3

1990, Kunkle had encouraged officers to wear red ribbons

commemorating the 1985 slaying of federal drug agent Enrique

Camarena. Daniels also points to his own affidavit, in which he

Stated that he attended a supervisory meeting in January 1997,

in which Kunkle said he would not authorize the wearing of

cross pins on uniforms because they "might offend someone."

n31

ttt tee e ee eee eee Footnotes- ---------------

n31 A contemporaneously prepared summary of a January 9,

1997, employee representatives’ meeting states that any

ized pins were ordered removed: "Police officers must

accept that their appearance must be professional and neutral

and inoffensive to public sensibilities. Even

inoffensive religious symbols are not to be worn where they

can be viewed by the public because they may indicate to

others hostility to their own religious beliefs."

[*507] The district court nevertheless found that Daniels failed

to produce any competent summary judgment evidence that the

city discriminated against religious speech while allowing

other forms of symbolic speech. In fact, the court found that

the evidence showed Daniels was the only officer in the

Arlington Police. Department who had applied for an exception

to the no-pins policy since its enactment. Viewing the facts and

their inferences in the light most favorable to Daniels, we are

convinced that he has not proven any disparate treatment or

shown that any non-Christian pin request was approved or

otherwise handled differently from his. He has created no

genuine issue of material fact on this point.

4. Texas Laws and Constitution

Al4

The district court rejected Danie 's argument that the

police chiefs order to remove his pin from his uniform was

nlawfal under Texas law. The court held that the state

constitution and laws, including the Texas Commission on

Human Rights Act ("TCHRA"), afford Daniels no greater

protection on his claims than does federal law, and that he was

properly terminated for insubordination after refusing to

comply with the chief's order.

Daniels assigns error to these conclusions, the

Texas Supreme Court has held that the TCHRA is modeled on

Title VII of the federal Civil Rights Act, and should be

interpreted in the same manner. n32 Daniels's civil rights

cims under the state constitution are similarly unavailing

because tort damages are not recoverable for violations of the

Texas Constitution. n33

ssecssenoessnewees Footnotes- --------°7777777"

n32 See Chevron Corp. v. Redmon, 745 §.W.2d 314, 316 (Tex.

1987, no writ); see also Dallas Fire Fighters Ass'n v. City of

Dallas, 885 F. Supp. 915, 927 (N.D. Tex. 1995); Grant v. Joe

Myers Toyota, Inc., 11 S.W.3d 419, 423 (Tex. App. -- Houston

[14th Dist.] 2000, no pet.) (evaluating TCHRA religious

accommodation claim by applying federal interpretations of

Title VI). n33 See Gillum v. City of Kerrville, 3 F.3d 117, 122

(Sth Cir. 1993) (“Texas courts have not recognized a violation

of Article I, Section 8, as an actionable constitutional tort."),

Favero v. Huntsville Indep. Sch. Dist., 939 F. Supp. 1281, 1296

(S.D. Tex. 1996), aff'd, 110 F.3d 793 (Sth Cir. 1997) (rejecting

claim for damages under Tex. Const. art. I, § 6); City of

Beaumont v. Bouillion, 896 S.W.2d 143, 147 (Tex. 1995, writ

denied) ("We hold there is no implied private right of action for

damages arising under the free speech and free assembly

sections of the Texas Constitution.").

snwaccceessoesees End Footnotes- ---------777777"

III. CONCLUSION

We discern no merit in any of Daniels's assignments of error.

A police department does not violate the First Amendment

when it bars officers from adoming their uniforms with

individually chosen adornments, even when those decorations

include symbols with religious significance. Therefore, the

decision of the district court is

AFFIRMED.

Bl

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 00-11191

GEORGE DANIELS

Plaintiff - Appellant

V.

CITY OF ARLINGTON, TEXAS; THERON BOWMAN,

Chief of Police Arlington, Texas

Defendants - Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Texas, Fort Worth

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion 4/9/01, 5 Cir., : F.3d )

Before HIGGINBOTHAM, WIENER, and BARKSDALE,

Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

(X) Treating the Petition for Rehearing En Banc as a Petition for

B2

Panel Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Rehearing is DENIED. No

member of the panel nor judge in regular active service of the court

having requested that the court be polled on Rehearing En Banc

(FED. R. App. P. and 5™ Cir. R. 35), the Petition for Rehearing En

Banc is DENIED.

( ) Treating the Petition for Rehearing En Banc as a Petition for

Panel Rehearing, the Petition for Panel Rehearing is DENIED. The

court having been polled at the request of one of the members of

the court and a majority of the judges who «.. in regular active

service not having voted in favor (FED. R. App. P. and 5™ Cir. R

35), the Petition for Rehearing En Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

ls/

United States Circuit Judge

Cl

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

FORT WORTH DIVISION

GEORGE DANIELS )

)

VS. ) CIVIL ACTION NO.

) 4:99-CV-549-Y

CITY OF ARLINGTON, TEXAS )

ET AL. )

ORDER GRANTING DEFENDANTS’

MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Pending before the Court is Defendants’ Motion for

Summary Judgment, filed April 20, 2000 [doc. # 22-2]. Having

carefully considered the motion, response, and reply, the Court

finds that the motion should be GRANTED.

The Court makes the following findings and conclusions:

1. For the reasons stated in this Court’s Order Denying

Plaintiff's Motion for Partial Summary Judgment, filed September

21, 2000, the Court finds that no genuine issue of material fact

exists as to the constitutionality of the application of the City of

ArlingtonPolice Department’s “no-pins” policy to the plamtiffunder

the freedom of speech, expression, and association clauses of the

First Amendment. The Court concludes that Plaintiff's speech was

not a matter of public concern, and thus not entitled to First-

Amendment protection under the standard set forthin Pickering v.

Board of Education, 391 U.S. 563 (1968).

C2

2. The Court further finds that the application of the no-

pins policy to Plaintiff did not violate rights under the Free Exercise

Clause. In Employment Division, Department of Human

Resources of Oregon v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872 (1990), the

Supreme Court ruled that no violation of the Free Exercise Clause

occurs where an otherwise valid law or policy of general

applicability interferes with a religious practice, provided the burden

is not the object of the law but merely an “incidental effect.” See id.

at 878-79. Courts have relied upon Smith to uphold neutral

governmental dress regulations that interfere with public employees’

First Amendment rights to freely exercise their religion. See, e.z.,

Seabrook v. City of New York, No. 99CIV. 9134 (HB), 1999

WL 694265 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 7, 1999), aff’d, 210 F.3d 355 (2

Cir. 2000) (upholding policy requiring female correctional officers

to wear pants in violation of their religious faith). The courts

routinely have afforded great deference to law-enforcement and

military regulations whose incidental effects burden the exercise of

religious practices. See, e.g., Goldman v. Weinberger, 475 U.S.

503, 507 (1986); Kelley v. Johnson, 425 U.S. 238, 247 (1976).

The Court concludes that Arlington’s‘ ins” policy does

not, on its face, implicate Plaintiff's free-exercise rights. As applied,

the policy only incidentally burdens those rights. Plaintiff's argument

that wearing a cross on his police uniform is mandated by his

religion is wholly without merit.

3. The Court agrees with Defendants that Plaintiff has

failed to come forward with any competent summary judgment

evidence to suggest that Plaintiff's termination was motivated by a

desire to curtail his exercise of his constitutional rights. This Court

already has held that the chief of police may have unfettered

discretion to determine what types of speech, if any, may be

expressed as part of the police officer’s uniform. Plaintiff has

C3 -

presented no admissible evidence to suggest that he was terminated

for the purpose of suppressing his nghts protected by the First

Amendment. For this reason, the Court concludes that no genuine

issue of material fact exists as to Plaintiff's claims under the Due

Process Clause and under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act. “No

rational factfinder could conclude that the [city’s] action was

discriminatory. . . . [T]he plaintiff created only a weak issue of fact

as to whether the employer’s reason was untrue and there [is]

abundant and uncontroverted independent evidence that no

discrimination [has] occurred.” Reeves v. Sanderson Plumbing

Prods., 120 S. Ct. 2097, 2109 (2000).'

4. The Court concludes that Plaintiff's claim under the

Equal Protection Clause is without merit. There is no competent

discriminated against religious speech while they allowed other

forms of symbolic speech. The evidence shows that Plaintiff was

the only officer in the Arlington Police Department who ever

applied for an exception to the no-pins policy.

5. The Court concludes that Plaintiff's conspiracy claim

under 42 U.S.C. § 1985 fails because t does not allege that

Plaintiff was the subject of racial animus. See Deubert v. Gulf

Fed. Sav. Bank, 820 F.2d 754, 757 (5" Cir. 1987).

6. The Court concludes that Plaintiff is not afforded any

greater protection under the Texas constitution or under Texas law.

The Court holds that the police chief's order requiring Plaintiff to

1 Consequently, Plaintiff's claims fell under the Texas Commission

on Human Rights Act. See Chevron Corp. v. Redmon, 745 S.W.2d

314, 316-17 (Tex. 1987).

C4

remove his pin from his uniform was a lawful order. Plaintiff's

termination for insubordination after refusing to comply with that

order was therefore proper.

Therefore, for the reasons stated above, the Court finds

that Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgment is GRANTED.

All claims im the above-styled and numbered cause are hereby

DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE.

SIGNED October 6, 2000.

/s/

TERRY R. MEANS

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

D1

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

FORT WORTH DIVISION

GEORGE DANIELS

CIVIL ACTION NO.

4:99-CV-549-Y

VS.

CITY OF ARLINGTON,

TEXAS, ET AL.

Or OQ Or Or 7?

ORDER DENYING PLAINTIFF’S

Pending before the Court is Plaintiff's Motion for Partial

Summary Judgment, filed February 14, 2000 [doc. #11-11].

Having carefully considered the motion, response, and reply, the

Court finds that the motion should be DENIED.

I. FACTS

Plaintiff George Daniels was employed by the City of

Arlington, Texas (“City”), as a police officer from August 1985 to

September 1998. In 1997, Plaintiff, who considers himself a

devout evangelical Christian, beganto wear a small, gold cross on

his shirt while working ina plain-clothes position. In January 1998,

Plaintiff was reassigned to a position that required him to wear a

uniform. He sought and was denied approval by the police chief to

wear the cross orhis uniform. Nevertheless, Plaintiff continued to

wear the cross while on active duty. Some time later, Plaintiff was

notified that he was in violation of the “‘no-pins” policy issued by the

D2

City’s chief ofpolice inGeneral Order No. 205.02(C)(2)(c), which

reads:

: No button, badge, medal, or similar symbol or item

not listed in this General Order will be worn on the

uniform shirt unless approved by the Police Chief

in writing on an individual basis.

(Def.’s App. at 4.) In addition to the written notification, the chief

of police gave Plaintiff several warnings and finally an order to

remove the cross from his uniform. The chief of police also

provided Plamtiff with several permissible alternative to

express his faith, including wearing a cross on a ring or bracelet or

agreeing to a reassignment toa plain-clothes position. After Plaintiff

refused to remove the cross from his uniform, he was terminated in

September 1998.

Inthe present motionfor partial summary judgment, Plaintiff

seeks a limited judgment by the Court that General Order No.

205.02(C)(2)(c) of the Arlington Police Department is

unconstitutional on its face as an mvalid prior restraint of speech

protected by the First Amendment. Plaintiff alleges that the general

order is overbroad, giving the police chief unfettered discretion to

determine what types of individual expression may be displayed on

an Officer’s uniform.

Il. SUMMARY JUDGMENT STANDARDS

Summary judgment is proper when the record establishes

that no genuine issue as to any material fact exists, and the moving

party 1s entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P.

56(c); Hill v. London, Stetelman, & Kirkwood, Inc., 906 F.2d

204, 207 (5" Cir. 1990). To determine whether an issue of

material fact exists, the Court must first consult the applicable

D3

substantive law to ascertain what fact issues are material to the

disposition of the case. Lavespere v. Niagara Mach. & Tool

Works, 910 F.2d 167, 178 (5" Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 114 S.

Ct. 171 (1993). The Court must then review the evidence

presented, viewing the facts and inferences drawn from those facts

in the light most favorable to the nonmoving party. Newell v.

Oxford Management Inc.,912 F.2d 793, 795 (5" Cir. 1990);

Medlin v. Palmer, 874 F.2d 1085, 1089 (5™ Cir. 1989).

However, the Court’s function is not to weigh the evidence and

determine the truth of the matter, but to determine whether there is

a genuine issue for trial. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S. 242, 249 (1986). Where the movant bears the burden of

proof on a claim or defense, he must establish all elements of the

claim or defense to prevail on summary judgment. Western Fire

Ins. Co. v. Copeland, 651 F. Supp. 1051, 1053 (S.D. Miss.

1987), aff'd, 824 F.2d 970 (5" Cir. 1987).

When the moving party has carried its summary judgment

burden, the respondent “must do more than simply show there is

some metaphysical doubt as to the material facts.” Matsushita

Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 585

(1986). The respondent must produce evidence, not merely

argument, in response to a movant’s properly supported motion for

summary judgment. See Foval v. First Nat'l Bank of

Commerce, 841 F.2d 126, 129 (5" Cir. 1988); Martin v. John

W. Stone Oil Distrib., Inc., 819 F.2d 547, 549 (5" Cir. 1987).

III. DISCUSSION

Government, in its role as government, is severely restricted

by the First Amendment from placing restraints on speech. But

when government acts as employer, the constraints of the First

Amendment are less severe. In Pickering v. Board of Education,

D4

391 U.S. 563 (1968), the Supreme Court delineated the

constitutional restraints that exist on a public employer’s authority

to terminate employees for the type or content of their speech. The

Pickering test requires the Court to balance “‘the interests of the

[employee], as citizen, in commenting upon matters of public

concern and the interests of the State, as employer, in promoting

the efficiency of the public services it performs through its

employees.” Id. at 568. Additionally, a public employee’s speech

is entitled to First Amendment protection only when that speech

involves a matter of public concern.' See Connick v. Myers 461

U.S. 138, 146 (1983) (“When employee expression cannot be

fairly considered as relating to any matter of political, social, or

other concern to the community, govemment officials should enjoy

wide latitude in managing their offices, without intrusive oversight by

the judiciary in the name of the First-Amendment.”).

The purpose of the Pickering balancing test is to ensure the

“effective and efficient fulfillment of [the govemment’s]

responsibilities to the public.” Id. at 150. “To this end, the

government, as anemployer, must have wide discretion and control

over the management of its personnel and intemal affairs.” Id. at

151. Particularly relevant to this concern is the nature of the

! For purposes of ruling on the present motion for partial

summary judgment, the Court need not decide whether Plaintiff's

speech involved a matter of public concern as opposed to a matter

of personal interest. Plaintiff's motion seeks only a declaratory

judgment that General Order No. 205.02(C\(2Xc) is an

unconstitutionally overbroad restriction of speech, regardless of its

application. See Scott v. Meyers, 191 F.3d 82, 86 (2™ Cir. 1999);

but See Wilson v. City of Littleton, 732 F.2d 765, 769 (10" Cir.

1984) (holding First Amendment did not protect police officer who

wore black shroud across his badge to mourn death of officer from

another town; not a matter of public concern).

DS

employment relationships that would be jeopardized by the speech:

“when close working relationships are essential to fulfillmg public

responsibilities, a wide degree of deference to the employer’s

judgment is appropriate.” Id.

The Supreme Court has emphasized that the state-interest

element of the Pickering test “focuses on the effective functioning

of the public employer’s enterprise.” Rankin v. McPherson, 483

U.S. 378, 388 (1987); see also Jones v. Collins, 132 F.3d 1048,

1053 (5" Cir. 1988) (“[T]he employee’s interest in ‘commenting on

matters of public concern’ must outweigh the public employer’s

interest ‘in promoting the efficiency of the public services iv’

performs through its employees.””) (quoting Pickering).

General Order No. 205.02(C)(2)(c) ofthe Arlington Police

Department prohibits officers from wearing any button, badge,

medal, or similar symbol on the uniform shirt without first obtaining

written approval from the police chief. Obviously, the general order

on its face restricts officers’ expression on all subjects, involving

matters of both public and private concern. The general order also

gives the police chief unfettered discretion to determine what

symbols, if any, may be worn on the uniform shirt. The Court must

decide whether the general order, on its face, is unconstitutional

under the Pickering standard.

In Goldman v. Weinberger, 475 U.S 503 (1986), the

Supreme court upheld the application ofan Am Force regulation to

a Jewish serviceman who was prohibited from wearing a yarmulke

while in uniform.” The Court stated that deference should be given

to military uniform regulations when a public employee’s First

Amendment rights are at issue. Id. at 507. The Court deferred to

the “professional judgment of the Air Force . . . that the traditional

. The regulation prohibited servicemen from wearing headgear

while indoors. See Goldman, 475 U.S. at 505.

|

D6

outfitting of personnel in standardized uniforms encourages the

subordination of personal preferences and identities in favor of the

overall group mission. Uniforms encourage a sense of hierarchical

unity by tending to eliminate outward individual distinctions except

for those of rank.” Id. at 508. The military’s need for “instinctive

obedience, unity, commitment, and esprit de corps” outweighed the

servicemen’s interest in exercising his religious beliefs. Id. at 507.

The Fifth Circuit has applied Goldman to uphold

disciplinary actions against INS agents who wore union lapel pins

on their uniforms. See United States Dept. of Justice v. FLRA,

955 F.2d 998 (5 Cir. 1992). The court held that a law

enforcement agency’s anti-adomment policy is entitled to deference

when weighing the government’s interest against the employee’s

interest under the Pickering standard. See Id. at 1006. The court

found that “allowing border patrol agents to wear union pins while

on duty would create factionalism, interfere with discipline and

create an appearance of partiality.” Id. The court held that the

INS’s interest in promoting the efficiency of the border patrol

outweighed the agents’ interest in wearing union pins while on duty,

justifying the “minimal intrusion” of the free-speech rights of union

employees.’ See Id. at 1007.

Other courts have recognized the interest of a governmental

entity in preserving the appearance of impartiality. See Thomas v.

Whalen, 51 F.3d (1285 (6% Cir. 1995) (upholding disciplinary

action against police officer who made unauthorized public

presentations on behalf of political Organization while in uniform);

Paulos v. Breier, 507 F.2d 1383 (7 Cir. 1974) (recognizing and

protecting interest of municipality in preserving nonpartisan police

. The court concluded that the agents could continue to

express their support for unions “in myriad other ways.” FLRA, 955

F.2d at 1007.

D7

force and appearance thereof); Detroit Fire Fighters Ass'n,

Local 334 v. City of Detroit, 508 F. Supp. 172 (E.D. Mich.

1981) (permitting city to restrict public appearance of uniformed

fire-fighters to advocate defeat of proposed character amendment),

Connealy v. Walsh, 412 F. Supp. 146, 158 (W.D. Mo. 1976)

(upholding juvenile court’s ban on partisan bumper stickers on

employee cars).

Courts also have upheld numerous police grooming

regulations on the basis that they were rationally related to the

promotion of safety of persons and property. See, e.g., Quinn v.

Muscare, 425 U.S. 560 (1976); Weaver v. Henderson, 984 F.2d

11, 13 (1* Cir. 1993); Hottinger v. Pope Cty., 971 F.2d 127 (3

Cir. 1992); Rathert v. Village of Peotone, 903 F.2d 510 (7 Cir.

1990); Marshall v. District of Columbia Gov’t, 559 F.2d 726

(D.C. Cir. 1976).

In the present case, the city asserts that symbols such as

union pins and religious emblems worn ona police officer’s uniform

can create factionalism and the appearance of partiality to those

persons who do not share that officer’s political or religious beliefs.

The Court concludes that the city’s interest in fostering the

appearance of a neutral police force is entitled to great deference.

Moreover, the City’s interest outweighs its officers’ interest in

expressing matters of public concern by wearing symbols on their

uniforms. A police officer’s uniform is not a forum for fostering

public discourse or expressing one’s personal beliefs. The City has

a strong interest in preventing the appearance of endorsing

particular viewpoints or religious beliefs. Succinctly stated, a

uniform with a cross, a star, a crescent, or a political button

attached to it is not a “uniform.”

: See Webster’s Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary 1290 (9°

ed. 1991) (“of the same form with others: conforming to one rule or

D8

The Court further concludes that the general order is only

a minimal intrusion on the First Amendment rights of police officers.

The regulation does not prohibit officers from wearing religious

symbols apart from their uniforms while on active duty. For

example, the regulation does not prohibit an officer’s wearing a

religious symbol on his ring or on his bracelet. Although wearing

sucha symbol in this manner would be just as visible and meaningful

as wearing the cross on his shirt, the expression is more readily

interpreted by others as a personal statement rather than as an

official endorsement by the government.

The Court finally concludes that the grant of unfettered

discretion afforded the police chief under the general order is

constitutionally permissible. Plaintiff has cited no precedent

suggesting that the government, when acting as employer must

follow a set of quasi legislative guidelines to ensure that its

administrative decisions satisfy the requirements of the First

Amendment. Indeed, to ensure effective administrationofthe police

department, the police chief must have final discretion to determine

what shall constitute the uniform of the department.’ The sole

authority of the police chief to make exceptions to the general rule

is wholly consistent with his administrative role. That role permits

him to determine what speech, if any, may be expressed as part of

the police officer’s uniform.

Therefore, for the reasons stated above, Plaintiff's Motion

for Partial Summary Judgment is DENIED.

mode: CONSONANT”).

. See, e.g., Goldman, 475 U.S. at 509 (“the desirability of

dress regulations in the military is decided by the appropriate military

officials, and they are under no constitutional mandate to abandon

their considered professional judgment.”).

D9

SIGNED: September 21, 2000.

/S/

TERRY R. MEANS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

El

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

FORT WORTH DIVISION

GEORGE DANIELS

CIVIL ACTION

4:99-CV-549-Y

VS.

CITY OF ARLINGTON,

TEXAS, ET AL.

QP Q Gr Or r «Or

FINAL JUDGMENT

Pursuant to the order issued this same day, and Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 58,

It is hereby ORDERED, ADJUDGED, and DECREED

that all claims in the above-styled and numbered cause are

DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE. All costs under 28 U.S.C. §

1920 shall be borne by the plaintiff.

SIGNED: October 6, 2000.

/S/

TERRY R. MEANS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Fl

Excerpt of Minutes of Non-Supervisory Employee

Representatives’ Meeting, January 9, 1997,

page 3 (emphasis added)

Earrings, Knives, and Pins: Male commissioned personnel wear of

earrings is not consistent with the professional image the department

wishes to portray and are therefore prohibited while the employee

is on duty or is acting ma law enforcement capacity. Similarly, the

folding knives that some officers have begun using that clip to the

pocket and are exposed to view are prohibited. All knives must be

in a scabbard or concealed within a pocket. As to pins or other

uniform accouterments, only those items specified in General

Orders are permitted. Deputy Chief Shipp is having a survey

conducted to see what officers have been wearing (which now

must be removed) and all items will be reviewed by command

staff to determine whether or not they willbe allowed on a case

by case basis. Police officers must accept that their

appearance must be professional and neutral and inoffensive

to public sensibilities. Even seemingly inoffensive religious

symbols are not to be worn where they can be viewed by the

public because they may indicate to others hostility to their

own religious beliefs.

Gl

ARLINGTON POLICE DEPARTMENT

INFORMATIONAL MEMO

TO: ALL POLICE PERSONNEL

FROM: DAVID M. KUNKLE, CHIEF OF POLICE

REF: RED RIBBON WEEK

DATE: OCTOBER 19, 1990

Sunday, October 21, 1990 is the beginning of Red Ribbon Week,

a week that commemorates the brutal slaying of Federal Drug

Agent, Enrique Camerena, in 1985. During this week, citizens all

across the country will demonstrate their commitment to leading a

drug free lifestyle by wearing red ribbons.

The Police Department has been supplied with Red Ribbon Week

ribbons, courtesy of the Arlington Medical Auxiliary. Each

employee is encouraged to wear or display a red ribbon during the

week to show their support for Red Ribbon Week and their

commitment to lead a drug-free lifestyle. Ribbons will be

distributed to the receptionist in I.$.B. and Administration, both

patrol briefing areas, and the Training Center.

DEPOSITION

EXHIBIT

a es

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.