Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Corey v. United States

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

Y 501F42 vu 06 200!

No. ;

OFFICE OF

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

CLIFTON S. COREY

Petitioner

.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SAMUEL P. KING, JR.

Counsel of Record

735 Bishop Street, Suite 304

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

(808) 521-6937

EARLE A. PARTINGTON

1330 Pacific Tower

1001 Bishop Street

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

(808) 526-9500

DAVID J. BEDERMAN

Gambrell Hall

Atlanta, Georgia 30322-2770

(404) 727-6822

Attorneys for Petitioner

(i)

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether Congress intended 18 USC §7(3), defining

the "special . . . territorial jurisdiction of the United

States," to apply extraterritorially by implication and

contrary to both international law and the presumption

against extraterritoriality to crimes committed on "lands"

used by the Untied States in the sovereign territory of

foreign nations?

(ii)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ee ey eS rar ree rer ree

Petition for Writ of Ceritorari .............cccccces

Copan TR ioc o's ook kes biuess ewer tions

Statement OF RteGaCIO ws ok oc oko ccc cw cecededs

SURAOING TI 5 nk ea SG Peeves

eg | Peer eC ere Tr ree Tee eT Te

Reasons for Granting the Petition ................

1. There is a split among the Second, Fourth, and Ninth

Circuits as to whether Congress intended that 18 USC

§7(3) apply extra-territorially ........... cece eens

2. By refusing to apply the presumption against extra-

territoriality, the Ninth Circuit majority interpretation

of 18 USC §7(3) violates international law by its

implicit claim of United States sovereignty over the

sovereign territory of foreign nations ...........++.

3. The Ninth Circuit majority interpretation of 18 USC

§7(3) is an improper intrusion into the foreign policy-

making powers vested by the United States Constitution

in the Executive and Legislative Branches ..........

4. The Ninth Circuit majority interpretation of 18 USC

§7(3) essentially renders the Military Extra-territorial

Jurisdiction Act of 2000 (MEJA) a meaningless statute

and conflicts with clearly expressed congressional intent

in Ge RSA on 0s kn 0 6ek eee ane oes

COCO. ook kc knco dca nee eee

po eee eee eee ee re App. 1

12

(iii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Cook v. United States,

o-oo ccc ss cvenasccdcueves 11

EEOC v. Arabian Am. Oil Co.,

ED eng eva ss ea'eu kes cs ukne es 10

Hartford Fire Ins. Co. v. California,

ETE eas eu oko sdesev a0 eeevs 10

Lauritzen v. Larsen,

sr 11

McKeel v. Islamic Republic of Iran,

722 F.2d 562 (Sth Cir. 1963) .......... 0.0000. 8

Reid v. Covert,

i tS Er 14, 15, 16-17

Romero v. International Terminal Operating Co.,

pte ety tg EO 10-11

United States v. Bowman

i i. th oviweiwalsestesscdées 10

United States v. Erdos,

474 F.2d 157 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, 414 U.S. 876 (1973) ........ errs}

United States v. Gatlin,

216 F.3d 207 (2d Cir. 2000) .. 7, 8, 9, 13, 14, 15, 17

STATUTES

nes san isk Gkn wanes a ee ans passim

0 ee re 2, 3-4,5

ns oooh Cah kn deen ba cus 2, 4,5

ee ie ina os bc Weiss hu dws 4,5,9

(iv)

Page

STATUTES (Cont.)

18 USC §3261 et seq.

(Military Extraterritorial Jurisdiction

POE OE Meee GREIA)) 2.2 nccssscscceas 16, 17, 18

Be EI 605 66a cs cnc sen saenckinddeeseah 18

EEE a ohn ascend dndavvoesepesdeeuanexwe 2

yg PTT PTT ESOTTTCET ETT eer er TT etre 2

28 USC §1294(1) ......... Pere eee ee eee ee 2

OTHER MATERIAL

Ian Brownlie, Principles of Public International Law (3d ed.

OPEN banc cdevcopeasauwe Vass kpaxeen wecdns 11

Jordan J. Paust, Non-Extraterritoriality of “Special Territorial

Jurisdiction” of the United States: Forgotten History

and the Errors of Erdos,

24 Yale J. Int'l L. 305 (1999) ........... 8, 10, 11

Report of the Overseas Jurisdictional Advisory Committee

fk & a eererrere er ere re 14, 15, 16, 17

Restatement (Third) of the Foreign Relations Law of the

Cy See CE OE. BONO) cach sacactcnaenc’ 11

COURT RULES

Supreme Court Rule 10(a) .................. ... 9-10

gg Pr re rr er 2

’

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Clifton S. COREY ("Petitioner") respectfully

prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the November 20,

2000, judgment and opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit entered in this proceeding in

order to resolve the conflict among the Second, Fourth, and

Ninth Circuits on the important statutory interpretation,

territorial jurisdiction, and international law issues presented

herein.

OPINIONS BELOW

The November 20, 2000, reported opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, United

States v. Corey, is found at 232 F.3d 1166 (9th Cir. 2000), and

is reprinted at App. 1. The Ninth Circuit denied Petitioner’s

petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc by

Order filed April 9, 2001, which is reprinted at App. 78. The

Ninth Circuit Judgment is reprinted at App. 79.

The Order Granting the Government's Motion in

Limine to Prohibit Objection to Jurisdiction as a Matter of

Law During Trial, filed July 7, 1997, and the Order

Denying Defendant's Motion to Dismiss Indictment and

Granting the Government's Motion in Limine, filed April

16, 1998, of the United States District Court for the District

of Hawaii, Chief Judge David A. Ezra, were unreported.

The two decisions of the district court are preprinted at

App. 81 and App. 94 respectively.

2

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Petitioner was indicted in the District of Hawaii for

sexual assault and abuse under 18 USC §§2241(a) and

2242(1). The Third Superseding Indictment charged acts

of sexual assault and abuse by Petitioner which allegedly

occurred between 1992 and 1996 in base housing at Yokota

Air Base, Japan, a United States military base, and in an

apartment in Manila, the Philippines, rented by the United

States Embassy for members of its administrative staff.

Petitioner operated the Air Force Post Offices at Yokota

Air Base near Tokyo and the United States Embassy in

Manila as a civilian employee of the United States Air

Force in both locations. Pursuant to 28 USC §§1291 and

1294(1), Petitioner timely appealed to the Ninth Circuit

from his conviction. In a reported opinion filed Novem-

ber 20, 2000 (232 F.3d 1166), the opinion for which

certiorari review is sought in this Court, the Ninth Circuit

majority affirmed the district court's rulings that the

United States has territorial jurisdiction pursuant to 18

USC §7(3) over Yokota Air Base, Japan, and an apartment

rented by the United States Embassy in Manila. In a

separate memorandum opinion filed November 20, 2000,

the Ninth Circuit unanimously vacated Petitioner's

conviction based on trial error and remanded this case for

a new trial. The judgment of the Ninth Circuit was also

filed on November 20, 2000. On April 9, 2001, the Ninth

Circuit denied Petitioner's timely-filed motion for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc on the

territorial jurisdiction issue. Pursuant to Supreme Court

Rule 13, this petition has been filed within ninety days of

the April 9, 2001, denial of rehearing. The jurisdiction of

this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 USC §1254(1).

hr O MEP ete Se ns we et

ae

STATUTES INVOLVED

18 USC §7(3). Special maritime and territorial

jurisdiction of the Untied States defined.

The term "special . . . territorial jurisdiction

of the United States", as used in this title,

includes:

(3) Any lands reserved or acquired

for the use of the United States, and under

the exclusive or concurrent jurisdiction

thereof, or any place purchased or otherwise

acquired by the United States by consent of

the legislature of the State in which the same

shall be, for the erection of a fort, magazire,

arsenal, dockyard, or other needful

building.

* 7 * *

18 USC §2241. Aggravated sexual assault.

(a) By force or threat. - Whoever, in the

special maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the

United States or in a federal prison, knowingly

causes another person to engage in a sexual act -

(1) by using force against the other

person; or |

(2) by threatening or placing the

other person in fear that any person will be

subjected to death, serious bodily injury, or

kidnapping;

4

or attempts to do so, shall be fined under this title,

imprisoned for any term of years or life, or both.

18 USC §2242. Sexual abuse.

Whoever, in the special maritime and

territorial jurisdiction of the United States or in a

‘federal prison, knowingly --

(1) causes another person to engage

in a sexual act by threatening or placing that

other person in fear (other than by

threatening or placing that other person in

fear that any person will be subject to death,

serious bodily injury, or kidnapping);

or attempts to do so, shall be fined under this title,

imprisoned no more than 20 years, or both.

18 USC §3238. Offenses not committed in any

district.

The trial of all offenses begun or committed

upon the high seas, or elsewhere out of the

jurisdiction of any particular State or district, shall

be in the district in which the offender, or any one

of two or more joint offenders, is arrested or is first

brought; but if such offender or offenders are not

so arrested or brought into any district, an

indictment or information may be filed in the

district of the last known residence of the offender

or of any one of two or more joint offenders, or if

no such residence is known the indictment or

information may be filed in the District of

Columbia.

5

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner was indicted in the District of Hawaii in

1996 under 18 USC §§2241(a) and 2242(1) for allegedly

committing acts of sexual assault and abuse against his

adopted stepdaughter, Anna Corey. Venue was predi-

cated in the District of Hawaii under 18 USC §3238 as a

result of Petitioner’s arrest in Honolulu. Prior to the first

trial in this case (which eventually ended in a hung jury

mistrial), the government filed a First and then Second

Superseding Indictment. The Second Superseding Indict-

ment alleged counts of sexual assault and abuse which

occurred at two locations over a period from 1992 to 1996

outside the territory of the United States - some at base

housing on Yokota Air Base, Japan, a United States

military base (hereafter sometimes referred to as “the

Yokota counts”), and some at an apartment at Lopez Court

rented by the United States Embassy in Manila, the

Philippines, for Petitioner's use as a member of the

embassy administrative staff (hereafter sometimes

referred to as “the Manila counts”). Petitioner operated

the Air Force Post Offices at Yokota Air Base and the

United States Embassy in Manila as a civilian employee of

the United States Air Force in both locations. For technical

reasons, the Yokota counts in the Second Superseding

Indictment were dismissed prior to the first trial. After

the Yokota counts were dismissed, the issue of whether

the United States has territorial jurisdiction over Lopez

Court, Manila, was raised prior to the first trial by the

government's Motion in Limine to Prohibit Objection to

Jurisdiction as a Matter of Law During Trial. The district

court ruled that the apartment at Lopez Court rented for

Petitioner as a member of the embassy administrative staff

ee

6

in Manila, the Philippines, was part of “lands” within the

“special . . . territorial jurisdiction of the United States” as

defined by 18 USC §7(3). As noted above, the first trial

ended in a hung jury mistrial.

After the first trial, the government filed a Third

Superseding Indictment. This version of the Indictment

added back the Yokota counts. Prior to the second trial,

the government filed a Motion to Determine Jurisdiction

in Counts 8-11 (the Yokota counts). The government's

motion prior to the second trial only sought determination

regarding jurisdiction as to the Yokota counts because the

district court had ruled on the jurisdictional issue as to the

Manila counts prior to the first trial. Prior to the second

trial, Petitioner responded to the government's Yokota

count motion by filing a Motion to Dismiss Indictment.

Petitioner's motion asked the district court to reconsider

its previous decision that the United States has territorial

jurisdiction over Lopez Court, Manila, and further

challenged the claim of the government that the United

States has territorial jurisdiction over Yokota Air Base,

Japan. The district court resolved these motions by filing

its Order Denying Defendant's Motion to Dismiss

Indictment and Granting the Government's Motion in :

Limine. In this order, the district court affirmed its earlier j

ruling that the United States has territorial jurisdiction

over Lopez Court, Manila, and ruled that the United States

also has territorial jurisdiction over Yokota Air Base,

Japan.

At his second trial, Petitioner was acquitted on

three of the Manila counts of the Third Superseding

Indictment and convicted of the remaining Manila counts

and all of the Yokota counts. |

i i ad SERN EAM RUNING te 198

7

On appeal, the Ninth Circuit unanimously vacated

Petitioner's conviction based on trial error, but the

majority affirmed the district court's ruling that the United

States has territorial jurisdiction over the foreign “lands”

in issue. Because the Ninth Circuit majority found there

was territorial jurisdiction, this case was remanded for a

new trial. Circuit Judge Kozinski, with whom Circuit

Judge Kleinfeld joined, authored the majority opinion,

and Circuit Judge McKeown dissented. Petitioner's

petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc

was denied. Judge McKeown would have granted the

petition for rehearing.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

1. There is a split among the Second, Fourth, and

Ninth Circuits as to whether Congress intended

that 18 USC §7(3) apply extraterritorially.

Five months before the Ninth Circuit decided the

instant case, the Second Circuit decided United States v.

Gatlin, 216 F.3d 207 (2d Cir. 2000). The defendant in Gatlin

had been convicted under 18 USC §2243(a) of sexual abuse

of a minor which occurred on a United States military

base in Germany which military base the prosecution

claimed was part of “lands” within the “special . . .

territorial jurisdiction of the United States” as defined by

18 USC §7(3). The Second Circuit held in Gatlin that 18

USC §7(3) does not apply extraterritorially, i.e., outside the

territory of the United States over the sovereign territory

of foreign nations. Because the United States military base

in Germany was outside the territory of the United States,

8

the Second Circuit reversed Gatlin’s conviction and

dismissed the indictment for lack of both territorial and

personal jurisdiction. When the Ninth Circuit decided the

instant case, the majority recognized that its conclusion

applying 18 USC §7(3) extraterritorially was in direct

opposition to the holding of the Second Circuit. 232 F.3d

at 1172-76; App. at 10-21.

On the specific territorial jurisdiction issue raised

here, the Ninth Circuit is in apparent confiict with the

Fourth Circuit. In United States v. Erdos, 474 F.2d 157 (4th

Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 876 (1973), the Fourth Circuit

held that the premises of the United States Embassy in

Equatorial Guinea are within the “special . . . territorial

jurisdiction of the United States” as defined in 18 USC

§7(3) because the premises of a United States embassy are

United States territory. 474 F.2d at 159. The Ninth Circuit

majority in the instant case claimed to be in agreement

with Erdos (232 F.3d at 1172; App. at 9-10), but this is

clearly untrue. Erdos applied the “special . . . territorial

jurisdiction of the United States” to what it thought was

the territory of the United States, i.e., a United States

Embassy. By contrast, the Ninth Circuit majority applied

the “special . . . territorial jurisdiction of the United States”

to the sovereign territory of two foreign nations which

territory is clearly not the territory of the United States.

The flaw in Erdos is that the premises of a United States

Embassy are not United States territory but the sovereign

territory of the host nation. McKeel v. Islamic Republic of

Iran, 722 F.2d 582, 588 (9th Cir. 1983); Jordan J. Paust, Non-

Extraterritoriality of “Special Territorial Jurisdiction” of the

United States: Forgotten History and the Errors of Erdos, 24

Yale J. Int’] L. 305 (1999) (hereinafter “Paust”). The Fourth

9

Circuit in Erdos, like the Second Circuit in Gatlin,

recognized that 18 USC §7(3) applies to the territory of the

United States. Nowhere in Erdos did the Fourth Circuit

suggest or imply that 18 USC §7(3) could apply to the

sovereign territory of foreign nations. By contrast, the

Ninth Circuit majority applied 18 USC §7(3) to “lands”

which are indisputably not the territory of the United States

and for which the host nations have not ceded territorial

jurisdiction to the United States. Contrary to the

implication of the Ninth Circuit majority (232 F.3d at 1181-

83; App. at 32-38), the Status of Forces Agreement (SOFA)

with Japan and the Vienna Convention do not cede

territorial jurisdiction of any nation to any other nation.

Paust at 313-14, 325-27.

This split in the circuits creates serious problems.

For example, the Ninth Circuit majority’s claim that the

presumption against extraterritoriality (see Sec. 2, infra)

does not apply to jurisdictional statutes (232 F.3d at 1170-

71; App. at 5-7) is a broad statement of law which applies

far beyond the criminal law context of the instant case.

Further, under 18 USC §3238, entitled “Offenses not

committed in any district,” an offender is to be tried in the

district where he or she “is arrested or first brou ght.” This

means that a defendant indicted in the Ninth Circuit,

pursuant to a claim of territorial jurisdiction under 18 USC

§7(3), based upon activities which occurred in the

sovereign territory of a foreign nation, can evade

prosecution in the United States for the alleged offense

committed overseas by going directly from overseas to the

Second Circuit and never leaving. This would be an

intolerable situation.

This Court should resolve the conflict among the

Second, Fourth, and Ninth Circuits (see Supreme Court

10

Rule 10 (a)), especially because the Second and Ninth

Circuits include the busiest ports of entry into the United

States, and it is within these circuits that the territorial

jurisdiction. issue raised herein is most likely to arise

again.

2. By refusing to apply the presumption against

extraterritoriality, the Ninth Circuit majority

interpretation of 18 USC §7(3) violates

international law by its implicit claim to United

States sovereignty over the sovereign territory of

foreign nations.

This Court held in EEOC v. Arabian Am. Oil Co., 499

U.S. 244, 248 (1991), that there is a presumption against

extraterritorial application of statutes which presumption

“serves to protect against unintended clashes between our

laws and those of other nations which could result in

international discord.” More generally, this Court has

demanded that a claimed reach of a federal statute

extraterritorially be clearly manifest, if not also clearly

expressed, or the statute will be held to be nonextra-

territorial. United States v. Bowman, 260 U.S. 94, 97-98

(1922); Hartford Fire Ins. Co. v. California, 509 U.S. 764, 814

(1993) (Scalia, J., dissenting); Paust at 308-09 & ns.9-10.

The Ninth Circuit majority expressly refused to apply the

presumption against extraterritoriality to 18 USC §7(3)

and instead held that a “jurisdictional statute” such as 18

USC §7(3) is subject only to the “standard tools of

statutory interpretation.” 232 F.3d at 1170-71; App. at 5-7.

This holding also conflicts with Justice Frankfurter’s ad-

monishment in Romero v. International Terminal Operating

SPD RL Wists nN ANNI NE teh BP ile ase tee

11

Co., 358 U.S. 354, 379 (1959), that federal courts must be

hesitant “to expand the jurisdiction of the federal courts

through a broad reading of jurisdictional statutes.”

By ignoring the presumption against extraterri-

toriality, the Ninth Circuit majority created the very

“unintended clash” that the presumption seeks to avoid.

The Ninth Circuit majority opinion permits the United

States to extend its territorial jurisdiction over the

sovereign territory of foreign nations. Unfortunately, such

an extension of territorial jurisdiction by the United States

violates international law because territorial jurisdiction is

an attribute of national sovereignty. See Restatement

(Third) of the Foreign Relations Law of the United States, §402

(1987); Ian Brownlie, Principles of Public International Law

309-10 (3d ed. 1979); Paust at 310-12. “An Act of Congress

ought never to be construed to violate the law of nations

if any other possible construction remains.” Lauritzen v.

Larsen, 345 U.S. 571, 578 (1953) (quoting Chief Justice

Marshall). Congressional intent to override international

law must be clear and unequivocal. See, e.g., Cook v.

United States, 288 U.S. 102, 119-20 (1993); Paust at 314 &

n.35. No such congressional intent exists with respect to

18 USC §7(3).

No foreign nation claims territorial jurisdiction over

the territory of the United States in the same manner that

the Ninth Circuit majority has construed 18 USC §7(3) to

assert United States territorial jurisdiction over the

sovereign territory of foreign nations. When the

governments of friendly foreign nations in which the

United States maintains military bases discover that the

United States is claiming territorial jurisdiction over their

sovereign territory, it is inevitable that these nations will

file diplomatic protests against the United States’ violation

ee

12

of international law in asserting such jurisdiction. Most

certainly, were a foreign nation, in response to the Ninth

Circuit majority opinion, to claim territorial jurisdiction

over the sovereign territory of the United States, the

United States would file a diplomatic protest with that

nation. Query then whether it is appropriate for the Ninth

Circuit to hold that Congress, in enacting 18 USC §7(3),

intended by implication and contrary to the presumption

against extraterritoriality to violate international law by

extending Untied States sovereignty to the sovereign

territory of foreign nations?

3. The Ninth Circuit majority interpretation of 18

USC §7(3) is an improper intrusion into the

foreign policy-making powers vested by the

United States Constitution in the Executive and

Legislative Branches.

At a time when the United States is shifting its

foreign and military policy emphasis to the Pacific basin,

it is important that this Court address the foreign policy as

well as the international law implications of the Ninth

Circuit majority opinion in view of the Ninth Circuit's

proximity to the Pacific basin. Under the Constitution, the

foreign policy-making power is vested in the Executive

Branch. The power to enact jurisdictional statutes for

crimes committed abroad is vested in the Legislative

Branch.

From the foreign policy perspective, the Ninth

Circuit majority opinion has very significant implications.

For example, consider the situation of two Philippine

citizens, who have no connection whatsoever with the

United States, who engage in conduct on the premises of

13

housing rented for United States Embassy staff in Manila

which conduct would constitute a crime under United

States criminal law if committed within the “special .. .

territorial jurisdiction of the United States.” By

application of the Ninth Circuit majority’s opinion, these

Philippine citizens would be subject to criminal

prosecution anywhere in the Ninth Circuit in the United

States regardless of whether United States’ interests were

implicated. This would be true even if the conduct of the

Philippine citizens did not constitute a crime in the

Philippines. Also, by the logic of the Ninth Circuit

majority opinion, citizens of foreign countries are subject

to United States criminal law any time they enter a United

States military base in a foreign country even if their

crimes do not implicate the United States in any way.

The Ninth Circuit majority opinion asserts that

“American foreign policy” is not “served” by construing

18 USC §7(3) in the limited manner the Second Circuit did

in Gatlin and that the territorial jurisdiction of 18 USC

§7(3) over the sovereign territory of foreign nations will

never be invoked if the foreign sovereign objects. 232 F.3d

at 1171 & 1176. However, if the existing language of 18

USC §7(3) is to be construed, as the Ninth Circuit majority

construed it, to apply to the sovereign territory of foreign

nations, there is no existing language in the statute which

would limit the statute’s reach based on the objection of a

foreign nation. As long as the power recognized by the

Ninth Circuit majority opinion exists to prosecute crimes

in the sovereign territory of a foreign nation, a United

States attorney within the Ninth Circuit can and will use

this power to prosecute one or more foreign nationals

based on a claim of territorial jurisdiction without regard

to the wishes of the foreign sovereign involved. Query if

Oe ele | RPE ES tele ree aa une Pb

ee ee eee a ee oe te

A SUN rr it IS Shah Ew

oe

14

the Ninth Circuit's majority opinion has not resulted in the

judiciary’s intruding into the foreign policy-making

power that is vested in the Executive Branch and the

legislative power that is vested in the Legislative Branch?

4. The Ninth Circuit majority interpretation of 18

USC §7(3) essentially renders the Military Extra-

territorial Jurisdiction Act of 2000 (MEJA) a

meaningless statute and conflicts with clearly

expressed congressional intent in the MEJA.

The United States has never before claimed

territorial jurisdiction over the sovereign territory of

foreign nations, so prosecutions by the United States of

crimes committed outside United States territory has

never been based on territorial jurisdiction. With respect

to civilians accompanying the United States Armed

Forces, prior to 1957, the United States prosecuted crimes

committed by these civilians outside United States

territory based on personal jurisdiction under the Uniform

Code of Military Justice. However, since this Court

decided Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1 (1957), and its progeny

(striking down court-martial jurisdiction over civilians in

time of peace), there has existed an absence even of

personal jurisdiction over “the most common and most

serious crimes . . . [flor example, rape, sexual assault,

theft, aggravated assault, robbery, and burglary” (see

OJAC Report, infra, at 40-41) committed by civilians

accompanying the United States Armed Forces outside

United States territory. This lack of jurisdiction has been

referred to as the “jurisdictional gap.” Gatlin, 216 F.3d at

220-21. When this Court decided Reid v. Covert, it

15

recognized the existence of the “jurisdictional gap,”

because the government raised this point in its argument

to this Court. 354 U.S. at 48 (Frankfurter, J., concurring).

The Ninth Circuit majority opinion claims that, in

enacting 18 USC §7(3), Congress never intended that there

be any “jurisdictional gap.” 232 F.3d 1172-76, 1183; App.

at 9-21, 38-39. Yet, as noted in Gatlin, Congress failed on

more than thirty occasions over forty years to close the

“gap” which it knew existed. 216 F.3d at 222. This “gap”

is referred to by the Ninth Circuit majority as a “get-out-

of-jail-free-card.” 232 F.3d at 1176; App. at 21. With

respect to the instant case, this is clearly incorrect because

Petitioner could in fact be subject to prosecution in Japan

and the Philippines for his alleged crimes. By contrast, the

wives who murdered their military husbands in Reid v.

Covert did indeed “get out of jail free” because they could

not even be prosecuted by the countries in which they

committed their crimes (the United Kingdom and Japan)

under the laws as they existed at that time.

In 1996, by act of Congress, the Overseas

Jurisdiction Advisory Committee (OJAC) was appointed

by the Secretary of Defense and the Attorney General to

advise Congress about the problem of the “jurisdictional

gap.” The OJAC filed its report to Congress on April 18,

1997, confirming the view of all commentators that the

“jurisdictional gap” did indeed exist. The OJAC report

was endorsed and signed by a representative of the

Department of Justice, but in the instant case, the

Department of Justice takes a position contrary to its

position in the OJAC report by now claiming that the

“gap” has never existed. Query whether it is appropriate

for the Department of Justice to be taking contrary

positions on the important territorial jurisdiction issue

16

raised here - telling Congress one thing and the federal

courts the exact opposite?

In 2000, pursuant to the urging of the OJAC in its

report, Congress enacted the Military Extraterritorial

Jurisdiction Act of 2000 (MEJA) (18 USC §3261 et seq.) to

close at least some of the “gap.” As discussed below, the

MEJA does not close all of the “gap.” The MEJA, a

personal jurisdiction statute, provides in section 3261(a):

Whoever engages in conduct outside the United

States that would constitute an offense punishable

by imprisonment for more than 1 year if the

conduct had been engaged in within the special

maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the United

States - (1) while employed by or accompanying

the Armed Forces outside the United States: or (2)

while a member of the Armed Forces subject to

chapter 47 of title 10 (the Uniform Code of Military

Justice), shall be punishable as provided for that

offense.

Because Petitioner was a civilian employed by the United

States Air Force at Yokota Air Base in Japan and in the

United States Embassy in the Philippines, his alleged

conduct would have violated the MEJA if the statute had

existed in 1992-1996, the period during which Petitioner's

alleged criminal conduct occurred. No such statute existed

during the period of Petitioner's alleged criminal conduct so the

federal courts did not have jurisdiction over Petitioner's

alleged conduct.

As the OJAC report showed, all departments of the

United States government and all commentators agreed

that, both before and after Reid v. Covert, there was no

17

basis for applying the United States criminal code outside

the territory of the United States under 18 USC §7(3). This

is exactly what the Second Circuit recognized in Gatlin,

and this is the reason the Gatlin court directed that its

opinion be sent to Congress where the Gatlin court

requested that Congress solve the “jurisdictional gap”

problem through appropriate legislation. 216 F.3d at 223.

When the Gatlin decision was conveyed to Congress,

Congress was already well on its way to enacting the

MEJA based on the recommendation of the OJAC. If the

Ninth Circuit majority is correct in rejecting the

conclusions of the OJAC report as well as the opinions of

all of the commentators, as it did (232 F.3d at 1183: App. at

38-39) in order to extend 18 USC §7(3) to the sovereign

territory of foreign nations, then there was no need for

Congress to enact the MEJA. Query if there was indeed

no need for Congress to enact the MEJA?

Note that the MEJA certainly did not close all of the

“gap.” The MEJA and 18 USC §7(3), as interpreted by the

Ninth Circuit majority, are not co-extensive. Because the

MEJA is a personal jurisdiction statute, it applies to crimes

committed by a certain class of people (persons employed

by or accompanying the Armed Forces of the Untied

States and members of the Armed Forces) no matter where

they are. Because 18 USC §7(3) is a territorial jurisdiction

statute, it applies to all crimes committed in a certain area

(“the special . . . territorial jurisdiction of the United

States) by any person, no matter who the person is - the

person can be a United States citizen or a foreign national.

Thus, activities which constitute crimes under the federal

criminal code committed on “lands,” as defined in 18 USC

§7(3) under the Ninth Circuit majority opinion, in foreign

iia

18

nations by persons who are not covered by the MEJA may

be prosecuted in the Ninth Circuit. Generally, the sweep

of 18 USC §7(3) is far greater than the sweep of the MEJA

because 18 USC §7(3) applies to all people in a given

location. It is clear that enactment of the MEJA has not

eliminated the territorial jurisdiction issue and associated

international law problems created by the split in the

circuits over the interpretation of 18 USC §7(3).

The principle example of this broader sweep of 18

USC §7(3) is its application to nationals and residents of

the foreign nations hosting United States Embassies and

military bases. It is very significant that Congress ex-

pressed its will in the MEJA that not all persons who

commit crimes on “lands” used by the United States in the

sovereign territory of foreign nations are to be subject to

the MEJA. Specifically, 18 USC §3267(1)(C) excludes from

the ambit of the MEJA any person who is “a national of or

ordinarily resident in the host nation.” Notwithstanding

this clear intent of Congress, the Ninth Circuit majority

has interpreted 18 USC §7(3) to include the very persons

that Congress has said shall not be subject to United States

jurisdiction under the MEJA - namely, nationals and

residents of the host nation. Query if the Ninth Circuit

may disregard such a clear expression of congressional

will in interpreting 18 USC §7(3)?

19

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Petition ought to be

GRANTED.

Respectfully submitted,

SAMUEL P. KING, JR.

Counsel of Record

735 Bishop Street, Suite 304

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

(808) 521-6937

EARLE A. PARTINGTON

1330 Pacific Tower

1001 Bishop Street

Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

(808) 526-9500

DAVID J. BEDERMAN

Gambrell Hall

Atlanta, Georgia 30322- —

(404) 727-6822

Attorneys for Petitioner

Page

App. 1

App. 40

App. 78

App. 79

App. 80

App. 81

App. 94

Appendix

Document Filed

United States v. Corey 11/20/00

232 F.3d 1166 (9th Cir. 2000)

United States v. Corey 11/20/00

Dissent of McKeown, J.

232 F.3d at 1183

Order of the Ninth Circuit

Denying Petition for Rehearing 4/ 9/01

Judgment of the Ninth Circuit 11/20/00

Introduction to two district court

opinions

Order Granting the Government's

Motion in Limine to Prohibit

Objection to Jurisdiction as a

Matter Of Law During Trial 7 {7/97

Chief Judge David A. Ezra

District Court of Hawaii

Order Denying Defendant's

Motion to Dismiss Indictment

and Granting The Government's

Motion in Limine 4/16/98

Chief Judge David A. Ezra

District Court of Hawaii

App. 1

(This opinion is reported at 232 F.3d 1166.

Page references to the reported decision are

imbedded in the opinion for reference.)

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES of America, Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv

Clifton S. COREY, Defendant-Appellant.

No. 99-10232

D.C. No. CR-96-01019-MLR

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

District of Hawaii; David A. Ezra, Chief District Judge,

Presiding*.

Argued and Submitted March 14, 2000

San Francisco, California

Filed November 20, 2000

Before: KOZINSKI, KLEINFELD and McKEOWN,

Circuit Judges.

Judge David A. Ezra presided over pretrial motions in this

case, granting the Government's Motion in Limine to

Prohibit Objection to Jurisdiction as a Matter of Law

During Trial, United States v. Corey, No. 96-01019-DAE

(D.Haw. July 7, 1997), that Corey challenges on this

appeal.

App. 2

*1169 KOZINSKL, Circuit Judge.

We consider whether the federal courts have

jurisdiction over a criminal case charging a United States

citizen with offenses committed at United States

installations abroad.

I

Clifton S. Corey, a United States citizen, lived abroad

with his family while working for the U.S. Air Force as a

civilian postmaster. From 1993 to 1996, Corey ran the post

office at the American Embassy in Manila, the Philippines,

and for several years before, he managed the office at the

U.S. Air Force Base at Yokota, Japan. In 1996, Corey's

stepdaughter, Anna, told her doctor that her stepfather

had forced her to engage in sexual intercourse with him

for the previous five years, starting when she was fifteen.

After an investigation, the government charged Corey

with aggravated sexual abuse and sexual abuse in

violation of 18 U.S.C. § 2241(a) and 2242(1).' The first trial

' Subsections 2241(a) and 2242(1) provide respectively

that:

Whoever, in the special maritime and territorial

jurisdiction of the United States or in a Federal

prison, knowingly causes another person to engage

in a sexual act--

(1) by using force against that person; or

(2) by threatening or placing that other person in

fear that any person will be subjected to death,

(continued...)

ae

App. 3

ended in a hung jury but, after a second trial, Corey was

convicted on eight of eleven counts and sentenced to 262

months in prison. On appeal, he challenges the district

court's jurisdiction and also raises a variety of trial errors.

We address the jurisdictional issue in this opinion and the

remaining issues in a memorandum disposition filed

concurrently.

'(...continued) :

serious bodily injury, or kidnapping; or attempts

to do so, shall be fined under this title, imprisoned

for any term of years or life, or both....

18 U.S.C. § 2241(a).

Whoever, in the special maritime and territorial

jurisdiction of the United States or in a Federal

prison, knowingly--

(1) causes another person to engage in a

sexual act by threatening or placing that

other person in fear (other than by

threatening or placing that other person in

fear that any person will be subjected to

death, serious bodily injury, or

kidnapping)[,] ...

or attempts to do so, shall be fined under this

title, imprisoned not more than 20 years, or both.

18 U.S.C. § 2242(1).

App. 4

II

Prior to trial, the district court granted the

government's motion to preclude Corey from contesting

jurisdiction.” Corey argued then, as he does now, that

crimes committed on foreign soil fall outside the reach of

18 U.S.C. §§ 2241 and 2242. Both provisions proscribe

sexual assault within the "special maritime and territorial

jurisdiction of the United States," a phrase defined by 18

U.S.C. § 7. While Corey lived in Japan, he and his family

resided on the Yokota Air Force Base. In the Philippines,

they lived at Lopez Court, a private apartment building

rented by our embassy for the use of its employees. The

government charges that the sexual abuse occurred in

each of these residences. Corey argues that neither

residence falls within the special jurisdiction of the United

States.

The "special maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the

United States" includes: |

Any lands reserved or acquired for the use of the

United States, and under the exclusive or

concurrent jurisdiction thereof, or any place

purchased or otherwise acquired by the United

States by consent of the legislature of the State in

which the same shall be, for the erection of a fort,

magazine, arsenal, dockyard, or other needful

building.

> The government filed this somewhat unusual motion

in order to present the jurisdictional question to the

district court prior to trial.

App. 5

18 U.S.C. § 7(3). This provision tracks its origin to 1790,

yet, at the time this case was brought, only two courts had

addressed *1170 whether it applied to lands within the

territory of a foreign nation. See United States v. Erdos, 474

F.2d 157 (4th Cir.1973); Witten v. Pitman, 613 F.Supp. 63,

65-66 (S.D.Fla.1985); see also Talbott v. United States ex rel.

Toth, 215 F.2d 22, 27 (D.C.Cir.1954), rev'd sub nom. United

States ex rel. Toth v. Quarles, 350 U.S. 11, 76 S.Ct. 1, 100

L.Ed. 8 (1955). Two other courts have since ruled on the

issue. See United States v. Gatlin, 216 F.3d 207 (2d

Cir.2000); United States v. Bin Laden, 92 F.Supp.2d 189

(S.D.N.Y.2000).

We review de novo the district court's assertion of

jurisdiction. See United States v. Vasquez-Velasco, 15

F.3d 833, 838-39 (9th Cir.1994).

Il

A. Congress may enforce its laws beyond the terri-

torial boundaries of the United States. See EEOC uv.

Arabian Am. Oil Co. ("Aramco"), 499 U.S. 244, 248, 111 S.Ct.

1227, 113 L.Ed.2d 274 (1991); Vasquez-Velasco, 15 F.3d at

839 ("Generally there is no constitutional bar to the

extraterritorial application of United States penal laws."

(citations omitted)). Whether Congress has in fact

exercised such power is a question of statutory

construction, normally subject to the rule " 'that legislation

of Congress, unless a contrary intent appears, is meant to

apply only within the territorial jurisdiction of the United

States.'" Aramco, 499 U.S. at 248, 111 S.Ct. 1227 (quoting

Foley Bros. v. Filardo, 336 U.S. 281, 285, 69 S.Ct. 575, 93

L.Ed. 680 (1949)); see also Sale v. Haitian Ctrs. Council, Inc.,

App. 6

509 U.S. 155, 188, 113 S.Ct. 2549, 125 L.Ed.2d 128 (1993)

("Acts of Congress normally do not have extraterritorial

application unless such an intent is clearly manifested.").

For most legislation, the presumption against

extraterritoriality makes perfect sense. First, "Congress

generally legislates with domestic concerns in mind,"

Smith v. United States, 507 U.S. 197, 204 n. 5, 113 S.Ct. 1178,

122 L.Ed.2d 548 (1993), so courts can infer from

congressional silence that the legislature meant to regulate

only activities within the nation's borders. Second, the rule

ensures that we do not precipitate "unintended clashes

between our laws and those of other nations which could

result in international discord." Aramco, 499 U.S. at 248,

111 S.Ct. 1227. The Supreme Court has invoked this

territorial presumption in numerous cases involving the

scope of broad regulatory statutes. See, e.g., Sale, 509 U.S.

at 173, 113 S.Ct. 2549 (Immigration and Nationality Act);

Aramco, 499 U.S. at 248, 111 S.Ct. 1227 (Title VII); Filardo,

336 U.S. at 285, 69 S.Ct. 575 (federal overtime law);

American Banana Co. v. United Fruit Co., 213 U.S. 347, 357,

29 S.Ct. 511, 53 L.Ed: 826 (1909) (Sherman Act). In all of

these cases, the Court heid that Congress expected that its

regulations would end at the national borders.

| The territorial presumption is thus based on the

common-sense inference that, where Congress does not

indicate otherwise, legislation dealing with domestic

matters is not meant to extend beyond the nation's

borders. But the presumption does not apply where the

legislation implicates concerns that are not inherently

domestic. For instance, in United States v. Bowman, 260

U.S. 94, 98, 43 S.Ct. 39, 67 L.Ed. 149 (1922), the Supreme

Court held that the territorial presumption does not

govern the interpretation of criminal statutes that, by their

Se aR A eS Rik atid EB LN i MAO A os LR

App. 7

nature, implicate the legitimate interests of the United

States abroad. Bowman concerned fraud committed on a

U.S. vessel outside the territorial waters of the United

States. Although the statute there did not contain an

extraterritoriality provision, the Court concluded that it

covered the conduct in question. See also Vasquez- Velasco,

15 F.3d at 839 n. 4 (applying Bowman to violent crimes

associated with international drug trafficking); United

States v. Felix-Gutierrez, 940 F.2d 1200, 1204 (9th Cir.1991)

(applying Bowman to accessory after the fact to the murder

of a DEA agent in Mexico). Thus, courts do not apply the

territorial presumption where it is not a reliable guide to

congressional intent.

*1171 When Congress is considering the scope of

federal jurisdiction, its attention is focused precisely on

how far U.S. law should reach. Unlike ordinary domestic

statutes, jurisdictional statutes inherently present the

question of how far Congress wishes U.S. law to extend.

There is therefore no reason to presume that Congress did,

or did not, mean to act extraterritorially. Rather, we agree

with Bin Laden that "[W]hen presented with the task of

interpreting jurisdictional statutes such as [subsection]

7(3), courts should simply employ the standard tools of

statutory interpretation...." 92 F.Supp.2d at 206 n. 32.

Applying the territorial presumption to subsection 7(3)

would be a mistake for another reason: Land subject to

subsection 7(3) is not "extraterritorial," as the Supreme

Court has defined the term. In Aramco, the Court

described territorial jurisdiction as including "places over

which the United States has sovereignty or has some

measure of legislative control." Aramco, 499 U.S. at 248,

111 S.Ct. 1227 (internal quotation marks omitted).

Subsection 7(3) does not purport to regulate conduct

App. 8

within territory over which the United States lacks "some

measure of legislative control"; by its terms, it extends

only to areas within the concurrent or exclusive

jurisdiction of the United States. See Environmental Defense

Fund v. Massey, 986 F.2d 528, 533 (D.C.Cir.1993) ("[W]here

the U.S. has some real measure of legislative control over

the region at issue, the presumption against

extraterritoriality is much weaker."). Thus, even more

than ordinary jurisdictional statutes, subsection 7(3) is a

poor candidate for the territorial presumption.

Because foreign lands covered by subsection 7(3) are,

by definition, under the legislative control of the United

States, the second policy supporting the territorial

presumption-the desire to avoid "unintended clashes"

with foreign powers, see Aramco, 499 U.S. at 248, 111 S.Ct.

1227--is also inapplicable. Legislative jurisdiction over the

territory of a foreign power can only be acquired through

that nation's consent--or by conquest. See, e.g., In re Ross,

140 U.S. 453, 464, 11 S.Ct. 897, 35 L.Ed. 581 (1891) ("When

... the representatives or officers of our government are

permitted to exercise authority of any kind in another

country, it must be on such conditions as the two countries

may agree...."). Either way, subsection 7(3) will apply

only where the foreign sovereign does not or cannot object

to the exercise of such jurisdiction. This case illustrates the

point: Neither the Philippines nor Japan has protested the

assertion of jurisdiction over Corey. Quite the contrary,

both countries have abjured any interest in prosecuting

Corey, no doubt recognizing that the case involves

internal U.S. matters.

But, even if the presumption were applicable, the text

of section 7 would clearly rebut it. The language and

structure of the statute reflect a legislative purpose to

< ocean temic santa, eal

App. 9

reach places that lie well beyond U.S. borders. The special

maritime and territorial jurisdiction of the United States

extends by definition beyond ordinary land and seas.

Taken as a whole, 18 U.S.C. § 7 extends the jurisdiction of

the federal criminal laws to areas where American citizens

and property need protection, yet no other government

effectively safeguards those interests. Congress

unmistakably had foreign locales in mind when it set

about defining that jurisdiction. Put subsection 7(3) aside

for the moment. Every other subsection mentions spaces

outside the fifty states. Section 7 reaches vessels sailing on

the high seas, subsection 7(1), or on international

waterways, subsection 7(2); islands prized for their rich

bird droppings, subsection 7(4); airplanes flying the

friendly skies, subsection 7(5); NASA spaceships

rocketing towards Mars, subsection 7(6); Antarctica,

subsection 7(7); and foreign ships coming to America,

subsection 7(8). Section 7 as a whole extends the

jurisdiction of the United States to the ends of the earth

(and beyond). We construe subsection 7(3) against the

extraterritorial backdrop of its neighbors.

*1172 The history of the statute, discussed below, see

pp. 1173-76 infra, confirms that Congress intended

precisely this interpretation. We conclude therefore that

subsection 7(3) applies to Americans in all territory,

wherever situated, that is acquired for the use of the

United States and under the exclusive or concurrent

jurisdiction of the federal government. .

B. Our conclusion that subsection 7(3) applies to

territory outside the borders of the fifty states agrees with

that of the Fourth Circuit. See United States v. Erdos, 474

F.2d 157 (4th Cir.1973) (holding that subsection 7(3) grants

App. 10 ‘

territorial jurisdiction over the American embassy in

Equatorial Guinea). Two circuits in addition to our own

have previously repeated Erdos's holding, albeit in dicta.

See Haitian Ctrs. Council, Inc. v. McNary, 969 F.2d 1326,

1342 (2d Cir.1992) (noting that section 7 would permit U.S.

criminal jurisdiction over the commission of crimes at

Guantanamo Bay), vacated on other grounds sub nom., Sale,

509 U.S. 918, 113 S.Ct. 3028, 125 L.Ed.2d 716; Persinger v.

Islamic Republic of Iran, 729 F.2d 835, 841- 42 & n. 11

(D.C.Cir.1984) (recognizing but distinguishing Erdos);

McKeel v. Islamic Republic of Iran, 722 F.2d 582, 588-89 (9th

Cir.1983) (same); see also Agee v. Muskie, 629 F.2d 80, 111

(D.C.Cir.1980) (MacKinnon, J., dissenting) (relying on

Erdos and finding that "[b]y virtue of [subsection 7(3)] the

United States Embassy in Tehran, Iran is within the

‘special’ territorial jurisdiction of the United States"), rev'd

on other grounds sub. nom, Haig v. Agee, 453 U.S. 280, 101

S.Ct. 2766, 69 L.Ed.2d 640 (1981).

Recently, however, in a case almost identical to ours,

the Second Circuit held that subsection 7(3) applies only

to lands acquired within the territorial borders of the

United States. See United States v. Gatlin, 216 F.3d 207 (2d

Cir.2000). The defendant in Gatlin, an American civilian

on a military base in Germany, impregnated his tnirteen-

year-old stepdaughter while his wife was on duty in

Bosnia. Federal prosecutors charged Gatlin with engaging

in sexual acts with a minor within the special territorial

jurisdiction of the United States. The district court ruled

it had jurisdiction and accepted Gatlin's conditional guilty

plea. On appeal, the Second Circuit concluded that the

territorial presumption, fortified by a reading of

App. 11

legislative history, prevented subsection 7(3) from

applying abroad. ;

We are not persuaded by the Second Circuit's

reasoning. Gatlin examined subsection 7(3)'s statutory

predecessors and concluded that Congress drafted the

provision without any inkling that it would be applied

extraterritorially.» The court emphasized that earlier

* Gatlin also found that Congress's failure to fill the

supposed "jurisdictional gap" over civilians on military

bases confirmed a legislative belief in the existence of that

jurisdictional gap. See Gatlin, 216 F.3d at 209, 221-22 & n.

23. We doubt whether the beliefs of subsequent

legislatures have any bearing upon the interpretation of a

statute already on the books. But since the only circuit to

consider the issue concluded that jurisdiction exists,

legislative inaction over the twenty-seven years since

Erdos would suggest, if anything, congressional

acquiescence in the Fourth Circuit's decision.

The dissent makes much of the fact that Congress

responded to Gatlin by enacting a bill to remove any

doubt over American jurisdiction. See Dissent at 1197

(citing Military Extraterritorial Jurisdiction Act of 2000, S.

768, 106th Cong. (2000)). But if this gap has existed for

decades, as the dissent purports, then why did Congress

close it only now? The answer, of course, is that so long

as the gap only existed in law reviews, Congress had no

need to resolve the ambiguity. But Gatlin's novel

interpretation of subsection 7(3) prodded Congress to

remove the circuit split. In any event, we fail to see how

recent legislative action can help us interpret a law that

(continued...)

App. 12

versions of subsection 7(3), enacted in 1790 and 1909,

criminalized acts within the "exclusive" jurisdiction of the

United States. See Act of March 4, 1909, ch. 321, § 272, 35

Stat. 1088 (defining territorial jurisdiction to include

territory within the "exclusive jurisdiction" of the United

States); Act of April 30, 1790, ch. 9, § 3, 1 Stat. 112

(proscribing crimes *1173 within the "sole and exclusive

jurisdiction" of the United States). Because the United

States had exclusive jurisdiction only over domestic

territory, Gatlin reasoned Congress could not have

intended the laws to apply abroad. See Gatlin, 216 F.3d at

218 ("[T]he limitation of jurisdiction to lands over which

the United States exercises ‘exclusive’ jurisdiction again

makes plain that [the 1909 statute] did not mean to refer to

land in foreign territory."); id. at 216-17 ("The notion that

the United States could exercise exclusive legislative

jurisdiction over lands in a foreign nation" was "virtually

inconceivable in 1790.").

Nor, said Gatlin, did Congress intend to apply the

statute extraterritorially in 1940, when it expanded its

coverage to areas within the concurrent jurisdiction of the

United States. See Act of June 11, 1940, ch. 323, 54 Stat.

304. "[W]hat little legislative history there is of the 1940

Act," Gatlin, 216 F.3d at 219, suggested to Gatlin that

Congress added concurrent jurisdiction only to expand

the reach of federal law to domestic highways, national

parks and other areas where the federal and state

governments exercised concurrent jurisdiction. See id.

5(.. continued) ;

has been on the books in one form or another since 1790.

FEI etn A READ ech llin ED on WRLC ASL td ZR A SAIS Ag DY Se CY “48 YR wll Waka Ld AIS

App. 13

(citing H.R.Rep. No. 76-1623, at 2 (1940); S.Rep. No. 76-

1708, at 1 (1940)). Gatlin's investigation of the legislative

history behind these three acts uncovered no evidence that

Congress intended subsection 7(3) to apply to lands

located beyond the borders of the various states.

The linchpin of Gatlin's analysis was its assumption

that it would have been "virtually inconceivable" for

Congress in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries to

speak of the United States having exclusive jurisdiction

outside the country's territorial limits. Gatlin, 216 F.3d at

217.4 Therefore, when Congress used "exclusive

jurisdiction" in subsection 7(3), the term could only have

referred to territory the United States acquired from the

states. But nineteenth century Americans were hardly so

parochial. While they may have believed that, so long as

territory remained unequivocally foreign, it lay outside

the jurisdiction of the United States, they were well aware

that territory could change hands, and the United States

could gain exclusive jurisdiction over territory that other

countries claimed as their own. See Jones v. United States,

137 U.S. 202, 212, 11 S.Ct. 80, 34 L.Ed. 691 (1890) ("By the

law of nations, recognized by all civilized States,

* Gatlin's skepticism presumably extended only to

jurisdiction over foreign territory. Nations have long

enjoyed the right to exercise jurisdiction over acts

committed outside of their own territory by their

nationals. See Henry Wheaton, Elements of International

Law, § 113 (James Brown Scott ed., Clarendon Press 1936)

(Richard H. Dana, Jr. ed., 8th ed. 1866) (recognizing that

the state's judicial power extended to the punishment of

offenses "by its subjects, wheresoever committed").

App. 14

dominion of new territory may be acquired by discovery

and occupation, as well as by cession or conquest...."); Late

Corporation of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints

v. United States, 136 U.S. 1, 42, 10 S.Ct. 792, 34 L.Ed. 478

(1890) ("The power to make acquisitions of territory by

conquest, by treaty and by cession is an incident of

national sovereignty."); American Ins. Co. v. 365 Bales of

Cotton, 26 U.S. (1 Pet.) 511, 540, 7 L.Ed. 242 (1828) ("[The]

government possesses the power of acquiring territory,

either by conquest or by treaty."). Over the course of the

nineteenth century, the United States purchased Louisiana

from France; won Florida from Spain; defeated

numerous Indian nations; annexed the Republic of Texas;

divided Oregon with the British; conquered Mexico's

California possessions; purchased Alaska from Russia;

and annexed Hawaii. This was clearly not a time when

Americans thought of their borders as static or of foreign

territory as sacrosanct.

The original 1790 Act provided basic criminal laws for

lands outside the jurisdiction of any other sovereign. See,

e.g., Watts v. United States, 1 Wash. Terr. 288, 297-98, 1870

WL 2118 (Wash.1870) ("The intent seems ... to have been

to prevent *1174 that detestable crime [murder] from

finding harbor and impunity in places where no other law

than that of the United States could reach to punish.").

The act criminalized murder, larceny and other crimes

committed "within any fort, arsenal, dock-yard, magazine,

or in any other place or district of country, under the sole

and exclusive jurisdiction of the United States." 1790 Act,

1 Stat. at 113. That provision applied not only to the

various federal facilities enumerated, but also to "any

other place or district of country" not subject to an

alternate system of laws. Id.

App. 15

As the United States acquired new Possessions,

Congress extended federal criminal jurisdiction with the

boundaries of the young republic. Special provisions of

the organic acts of Louisiana and Florida applied the 1790

Act to land not subject to the territorial governments in

those territories. See An Act for the Establishment of a

Territorial Government in Florida, ch. 13, § 9, 3. Stat. 654

(1822); An Act Erecting Louisiana into Two Territories,

ch. 38, § 7, 2 Stat. 283 (1804). In 1817, Congress provided

that U.S. territory remaining under Indian control

nevertheless lay within the "sole and exclusive" criminal

jurisdiction of the United States. See An Act to Provide for

the Punishment of Crimes and Offences Committed

Within the Indian Boundaries, ch. 92, § 1, 3 Stat. 383

(1817). The Indian Intercourse Act subsequently defined

such territory to include all of the Louisiana territory

except the states of Missouri, Louisiana and the territory

of Arkansas. See An Act to Regulate Trade and

Intercourse with the Indian Tribes and to Preserve Peace’

on the Frontiers, ch. 161, § 1, 4 Stat. 729 (1834). As the

United States expanded across the continent, the Supreme

Court extended that "sole and exclusive" jurisdiction to all

the unsettled territories in the American west. See Ex parte

Crow Dog, 109 U.S. 556, 560-62, 3 S.Ct. 396, 27 L.Ed. 1030

(1883) (holding that "Indian country" included all land in

the United States not organized into states or self-

governing territories and that the Dakota territory lay

within U.S. jurisdiction); see also Cook v. United States, 138

U.S. 157, 180, 11 S.Ct. 268, 34 L.Ed. 906 (1891) (holding

that the Public Land Strip, now the Oklahoma panhandle,

lay within federal criminal jurisdiction). Thus, in the

nineteenth century, the special territorial jurisdiction of

App. 16

the United States included vast expanses of territory lying

beyond the boundaries of the states.

Congress's regulation of the Indian territory

demonstrates the error in presuming that nineteenth-

century Americans believed territorial jurisdiction was an

all-or-nothing concept. Although the Indian territory was

part of the United States, the federal government

respected the Indian tribes' political claims over the lands

within their possession. See, e.g., Cherokee Nation v.

Georgia, 30 U.S. (5 Pet.) 1, 16-17, 8 L.Ed. 25 (1831)

(describing the tribes as "domestic dependent nations" that

had an "unquestionable" right to lands within their

possession yet whose territory was nonetheless under the

sovereignty of the United States). Congress recognized

this concurrent jurisdiction by exempting from federal

criminal jurisdiction crimes committed "by one Indian

against the person or property of another Indian," leaving

such crimes within the tribes' exclusive jurisdiction.

Indian Intercourse Act, § 25, 4 Stat. at 733. This shared.

jurisdictional scheme accommodated the needs of the

concurrent authorities over the Indian territory,

resembling in some respects the agreements worked out

by the United States with the host countries in this case.

See pp. 1181-83 infra.

In extending the reach of United States jurisdiction,

Congress did not stop with the continental possessions of

the nation. The Guano Islands Act of 1856 asserted

criminal jurisdiction over islands claimed by Americans

for their guano deposits. See An Act to Authorize

Protection to Be Given to Citizens of the United States

Who May Discover Deposits of Guano, ch. 164, § 6, 11 Stat.

119, 120 (1856). The act gave the President the discretion

to claim faraway islands as U.S. territory, see id. § 1, 11

App. 17 -

Stat. at 119, and then granted federal *1175 courts criminal

jurisdiction over the islands to the full extent of their

jurisdiction over crimes committed on the high seas. See

id. § 6, 11 Stat. at 120. When the United States claimed

territory far beyond its borders, Congress promptly

extended federal jurisdiction to those areas under U.S.

control.

Contrary to Gatlin's suggestion, the United States at

times did assert criminal jurisdiction over territories

claimed by another sovereign. In Jones, 137 U.S. at 212, 11

S.Ct. 80, the defendant sought to evade prosecution by

claiming that a murder on the guano island of Navassa

was noi under U.S. jurisdiction, because the island was

claimed by the government of Haiti. Likewise, in Watts,

1 Wash. Terr. 288, the defendant claimed that San Juan

Island, off the coast of Washington, was not within the

"sole and exclusive jurisdiction of the United States,"

because Great Britain claimed title to the land as well. In

both cases, the courts rejected the jurisdictional challenge

on the ground that questions of sovereignty were the

province of the other branches of government. See Jones,

137 USS. at 212, 11 S.Ct. 80 ("Who is the sovereign, de jure

or de facto, of a territory, is not a judicial, but a political,

question, the determination of which by [the political

branches] conclusively binds the judges...."); Watts, 1

Wash. Terr. at 296 ("Since ... the United States claims San

Juan Island, we must treat it as under the general laws of

the United States...."). Courts had no hesitation about

treating these territories as within our exclusive

jurisdiction, even though foreign governments claimed the

territory as their own.

App. 18

When in 1909, Congress placed these various

jurisdictional provisions within a single statute, it

understood criminal jurisdiction to extend to all lands

claimed by the United States, without regard to whether

they were within a particular state or even within the

continental. United States. Congress declined .to assert

jurisdiction over territories subject to the more

comprehensive criminal codes of the states or self-

governing territories. But it showed no intent to limit

jurisdiction on the basis of geography alone. We see no

reason then to presume that when, in 1940, Congress

extended criminal jurisdiction to those lands under the

concurrent authority of the United States, it intended to

limit the reach of subsection 7(3) to areas under the

concurrent authority of the states, but not those under the

concurrent authority of other sovereigns.

Although Gatlin purported to rely on the legislative

history of subsection 7(3), there is, in fact, very little in the

legislative record that speaks to the question presented to

us. Gatlin rather, relies on its reading of the historical

record, its understanding of what the legislators must

have assumed when they used particular words and

phrases. We believe that Gatlin reached the wrong

conclusion by failing to take into account our nation's

history of rapid territorial expansion during the late

eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Gatlin also erred, in

our view, by considering subsection 7(3) in isolation from

its neighboring subsections because the court believed

"most subsections of § 7 were enacted separately by

Congress and have their own legislative histories." Gatlin,

216 F.3d at 216 n. 11.

But what history shows is that Congress never

understood the provisions of section 7 to be separate

ae nr tt

PE 0 Ei IRE ct ES pt hls

oe

— Lcioh

Medes eVud

App. 19

fragments of jurisdiction. Indeed, when Congress

extended federal criminal jurisdiction, it did so by

reference. The Indian Intercourse Act criminalized actions

in Indian territory that would be crimes if "committed

within any place or district of country within the sole and

exclusive jurisdiction of the United States." Indian

Intercourse Act, § 25, 4 Stat. at 733. Likewise, the Guano

Islands Act provided that crimes on the guano islands

would be "punished according to the laws of the United

States relating to such ships or vessels and offences on the

high seas." Guano Islands Act, § 6, 11 Stat. at 120. This

history demonstrates that Congress understood these

discrete statutes as extensions of the fundamental

principle articulated *1176 in the 1790 Act: The federal

government had an obligation to provide basic criminal

laws for territory over which it had control.

Gatlin holds that if Congress wanted to extend the

jurisdiction of the federal courts beyond the borders of the

collective states, it had to express its intent in each relevant

subsection. See Gatlin, 216 F.3d at 216 n. 11 ("[S]ubsections

like § 7(7) confirm that Congress knows how to legislate

extraterritorially when it so desires."). We see no reason

to impose such a burden on Congress. The Supreme

Court found that Congress rebuts the territorial

presumption simply by demonstrating that it drafted the

Statute with extraterritorial concerns in mind. See Foley

Bros. v. Filardo, 336 U.S. 281, 285, 69 S.Ct. 575, 93 L.Ed. 680

-(1949) (presumption overcome when Congress

demonstrates an "intention other than the normal one").

The Second Circuit would require Congress to engage in

the pointless exercise of repeating its designs throughout

every subsection of a section clearly devoted to extending

App. 20

the reach of U.S. law to all places under the dominion of

the United States.

And to what end? The Second Circuit was concerned

that applying our law to U.S. possessions abroad might

invite the "unintended clashes between our laws and those

of other nations" that the territorial presumption helps

avoid. Gatlin, 216 F.3d at 216 n. 11 (quoting EEOC v.

Arabian Am. Oil Co. ("Aramco"), 499 U.S. 244, 248, 111 S.Ct.

1227, 113 L.Ed.2d 274 (1991)). But the Constitution leaves

it to the political branches, not the courts, to determine the

territory over which the United States enjoys legislative

jurisdiction. See, e.g., First Nat'l City Bank v. Banco Nacional

de Cuba, 406 U.S. 759, 766, 92 S.Ct. 1808, 32 L.Ed.2d 466

(1972) (noting that the political branches and not the

judiciary determine whether the United States exercises

sovereignty over territory); Jones, 137 U.S. at 212, 11 S.Ct.

80 (same). "The President is the sole organ of the nation in

its external relations, and its sole representative with

foreign nations." United States v. Curtiss-Wright Export

Corp., 299 U.S. 304, 319, 57 S.Ct. 216, 81 L.Ed. 255 (1936)

(internal quotation marks omitted). By bringing this

action against Corey, the Executive has asserted U.S.

jurisdiction over Americans in the foreign territories

under U.S. control; any objections from foreign

governments will be directed to our State Department,

which will then decide whether our national interest is

served by persisting. It is not our province to second-guess

this decision.

Thus, construing subsection 7(3) as applying only to

federal lands within the United States serves neither

congressional intent nor American foreign policy. All it

App. 21

does is hand a get-out-of-jail-free card to American

civilians who violate U.S. law while stationed abroad.°

IV

We next consider whether the areas in this case--the

Yokota Air Force Base and Lopez Court-~are lands

"reserved or acquired for the use of the United States" and

"under the exclusive or concurrent jurisdiction thereof" for

purposes of 18 U.S.C. § 7(3).

A. "Reserved or Acquired for the Use of the United

States"

The meaning of "reserved or acquired for the use of the

United States" is plain enough. Courts have demonstrated

their faith in the words' clarity by skipping over them

without explication. See United States v. Blunt, 558 F.2d

1245, 1246 (6th Cir.1977); United States v. Erdos, 474 F.2d

157, 159 (4th Cir.1973); *1177United States v. Bin Laden, 92

F.Supp.2d 189, 204- 06 (S.D.N.Y.2000); Witten v. Pitman,

* The Gatlin panel recognized as much when it took

the unusual step of sending a copy of its opinion to the

relevant House and Senate committees with the implicit

message that Congress ought to correct the problem

legislatively. See Gatlin, 216 F.3d at 223. Gatlin thus

acknowledged that there is no real conflict between U.S.

and foreign law when the United States prosecutes a U.S.

citizen--who is a government employee—for crimes

against a U.S. national on territory under the dominion of

the United States.

App. 22

613 F.Supp. 63, 65-66 (S.D.Fla.1985). Before we do the

same, we note that these words do not explicitly refer to

any particular estate in the land in question. See Blunt, 558

F.2d at 1246-47 (finding subsection 7(3) to apply to a

federal prison without regard to whether the United States

had title to the land). There is no requirement that the

United States be an owner, or even an occupant, so long as

the land has been set aside for the use of an

instrumentality of the federal government.

By this standard, there is not much question that the

Yokota Air Force Base has been acquired for the use of the

United States. The United States first occupied the

territory upon which the base is located following Japan's

surrender in World War IL In negotiating Japan's return

to self-government, the Japanese government agreed that

the United States would retain control over certain areas

of the country, including the territory on which the base

is located. See Preliminary Working Group Under the

Exchange of Notes Between the Governments of the

United States and Japan on 28 February 1952, Minutes of

the Eighth Meeting, at 20 (Apr. 3, 1952). For almost half a

century, the United States has used the Japanese land in

question in the same manner as it uses American land on

which are located domestic military installations.

Likewise, the United States has acquired Lopez Court

for its own use. The State Department leased the

apartment building from a private landlord for the

purpose of housing our embassy personnel. See Lease No.

723574, Gov't Ex. 5, United States v. Corey, No. 96-01019-

DAE (June 23, 1997); Lease No. S-314-FBO-136, Gov't Ex.

6, Corey, No. 96-01019-DAE. The government furnishes

and maintains the apartments, and the lease runs without

regard to the residence of a particular employee. See

App. 23

Transcript of Testimony of Judith A. Senykoff, Housing

Officer at the U.S. Embassy in Manila, Corey, No. 96-01019-

DAE, at 42. In addition to signing the lease, the

government pays rent and utilities, and provides security

for the buildings. See id. at 40. Lopez Court was not

Corey's private residence; it was an apartment acquired

by the State Department for governmental use.°

Thus, both the Yokota Air Force Base and Lopez Court

are lands "reserved or acquired for the use of the United

States" within the meaning of subsection 7(3).

B. "Exclusive or Concurrent Jurisdiction"

We next consider whether the United States exercises

"exclusive or concurrent" jurisdiction over the Air Force

Base and Lopez Court. The jurisdiction in question is not

that of the federal courts. If it were, subsection 7(3) would

be trivial, if not tautological, defining a subset of territory

over which the courts already had jurisdiction. The

provision instead refers to “legislative jurisdiction," see

Hartford Fire Ins. Co. v. California, 509 U.S. 764, 813, 113

S.Ct. 2891, 125 L.Ed.2d 612 (1993) (Scalia, J., dissenting);

Aramco, 499 U.S. at 253, 111 S.Ct. 1227, or what

° The dissent presumes that section 7(3) would extend

federal criminal jurisdiction to all property leased by the

United States abroad. See Dissent at 1195. But section 7(3)

also requires that the property be within the exclusive or

concurrent jurisdiction of the federal government. Section

7(3) will not apply to all leased properties, but only to

those properties over which the United States has

obtained legislative jurisdiction by treaty or otherwise.

App. 24

international lawyers understand as the "jurisdiction to

prescribe." Restatement (Third) of the Foreign Relations Law

of the United States § 401 (1987). This legislative

jurisdiction, as defined by the Restatement, is the state's

authority "to make its law applicable to the activities,

relations, or status of persons." Id.; see also Myres S.

McDougal & W. Michael Reisman, International Law in

Contemporary Perspective 1273 (1981) ("The initial assertion

of a competence to prescribe is the claim to project policies

regulating actors *1178 or activities that is manifested

either in legislative enactments or in prescriptions

developed as customary law."). Thus, subsection 7(3)

grants the courts jurisdiction over those territories over

which the government enjoys regulatory authority.

This definition under international law conforms with

the Fourth Circuit's interpretation of subsection 7(3). Erdos

described this standard as one of the "practical usage and

dominion" enjoyed by the United States over "the embassy

or other federal establishment." Erdos, 474 F.2d at 159.

Under this test, the court considers whether the United

States enjoys such control over the area that the law

should constructively regard it as United States territory.

Erdos found this standard met by United States dominion

over the embassy territory in Equatorial Guinea.

Likewise, the Sixth Circuit adopted this test in finding

jurisdiction under subsection 7(3) over a federal prison in

Kentucky. See Blunt, 558 F.2d at 1246-47 (rejecting the

defendant's claim that the United States must establish

chain of title in order to place the land within the special

territorial jurisdiction of 7(3)). This "practical dominion"

standard reflects the appropriate test for determining

United States jurisdiction under subsection 7(3).

App. 25

Under subsection 7(3), U.S. territorial jurisdiction need

not be exclusive. We have recognized that embassy

property "remains the territory of the receiving state, and

does not constitute territory of the United States." McKeel

v. Islamic Republic of Iran, 722 F.2d 582, 588 (9th Cir.1983).’

" McKeel continued: "Thus, United States embassies

are not within the territorial jurisdiction of the United

States." McKeel, 722 F.2d at 588 (citing Meredith.v. United

States, 330 F.2d 9, 10-11 (9th Cir.1964)). That observation

should not be understood as holding that the embassy lies

outside the concurrent jurisdiction of the United States

under subsection 7(3). The question before McKeel was

whether torts committed at the embassy, namely Iran's

seizure of U.S. embassy personnel, "occurr [ed] in the

United States" for the purposes of the Foreign Sovereign

Immunities Act (FSIA). Id. at 587. Thus, the issue was

really whether the embassy was under the exclusive

territorial jurisdiction of the United States. :

Mckeel concluded that torts committed onem bassy

property were not torts "occurring in the United States,"

but nonetheless accepted that "United States embassies

are subject to the jurisdiction of the United States for

certain purposes." Id. at 587-88. McKeel's reliance on

Meredith supports this reading of McKeel, since Meredith

held only that embassy property lay within the territory

of the foreign country. See Meredith, 330 F.2d at 10-11 (U.S.

embassy in Thailand is "in a foreign country" for

purposes of the Federal Tort Claims Act). Likewise, this

understanding is the only one consistent with the

Supreme Court's subsequent recognition in Aramco that

(continued...)

ee

App. 26

Likewise, the Status of Forces Agreement preserves

Japan's jurisdiction over the Yokota Air Force Base; even

though used by the United States for its purposes, the land

on which the base is located continues to be part of Japan.

See Agreement Under Article VI of the Treaty of Mutual

Cooperation and Security Between the United States of

America and Japan, Regarding Facilities and Areas and

the Status of United States Armed Forces in Japan (SOFA),

art. II, Jan. 19, 1960, 11 U.S.T. 1652. But acknowledging

the claims of the foreign government does not determine

whether the United States exercises concurrent jurisdiction

over that territory--particularly with regard to the actions

of its own citizens.

Bin Laden concluded that concurrent territorial

jurisdiction over embassy property would violate

international law. See Bin Laden, 92 F.Supp.2d at 213-14.

Bin Laden ruled that embassy property fell outside the

United States's special jurisdiction, and so dismissed a

murder charge against the terrorists who bombed the

American embassies in Kenya and Tanzania.’ Federal

7(...continued)

US. territorial jurisdiction includes "places over which

the United States has sovereignty or has some measure of

legislative control." Aramco, 499 U.S. at 248, 111 S.Ct. 1227

(emphasis added).

® Bin Laden did hold that the terrorists might be

prosecuted for other crimes that it found fell within the

Bowman exception, including bombing United States

(continued...)

App. 27

i courts have long recognized *1179 that " ‘an act of

congress ought never to be construed to violate the law of

nations, if any other possible construction remains.' "

McCulloch v. Sociedad Nacional de Marineros de Honduras,

372 U.S. 10, 21, 83 S.Ct. 671, 9 L.Ed.2d 547 (1963) (quoting

‘ Murray v. The Schooner Charming Betsy, 6 U.S. (2 Cranch)

64, 2 L.Ed. 208 (1804) (Marshall, C.J.)). If it were true that

concurrent territorial jurisdiction violated international

law, then we would arguably have to conclude that

subsection 7(3) did not apply to the lands at issue in this

case.”

Spal ks SG

‘(...continued)

property under 18 U.S.C. § 844(f)(1); killing in connection

with the destruction of such property under 18 U.S.C. §

844(f)(3); and killing a federal officer in the line of duty

under 18 U.S.C. § 1114. See Bin Laden, 92 F.Supp.2d at

198-204.

” We use "arguably" deliberately. Even if concurrent

territorial jurisdiction were not permissible under

international law, the Charming Betsy principle would

probably not apply for two independent reasons. First,

the Supreme Court has never invoked Charming Betsy

against the United States in a suit in which it was a party.

Charming Betsy itself concerned a private dispute where

the Court had to determine whether the ship could be

seized for violating the American embargo against

France. Faced with the choice, the Court interpreted the

relevant statute so as to avoid embroiling the nation in a

(continued...)

App. 28

4(...continued)

foreign policy dispute unforeseen by either the President

or Congress. See Charming Betsy, 6 U.S. at 118. These

concerns are obviously much less serious where the

interpretation arguably violating international law is

urged upon us by the Executive Branch of our

government. When construing a statute with potential

foreign policy implications, we must presume that the

President has evaluated the foreign policy consequences

of such an exercise of U.S. law and determined that it

serves the interests of the United States. See p. 1176 supra.

Charming Betsy is likely inapplicable in this case for

a second, separate reason: There is no doubt that the

United States may exercise jurisdiction over American

nationals living abroad, regardless of where the crime is

committed. See Blackmer v. United States, 284 U.S. 421, 437

n. 2,52 S.Ct. 252, 76 L.Ed. 375 (1932) ("The law of Nations

does not prevent a State from exercising jurisdiction over

its subjects traveling or residing abroad, since they

remain under its personai supremacy." (internal

quotations marks omitted)); Laker Airways Ltd. v. Sabena,

Belgian World Airlines, 731 F.2d 909, 922 (D.C.Cir.1984).

Thus, interpreting subsection 7(3) to include jurisdiction

over Corey would not violate international law. To be

sure, questions might arise if the same interpretation of

subsection 7(3) authorized the government to prosecute a

foreign citizen in a subsequent case, but we can presume

that the Executive Branch would not precipitate an

international conflict by bringing such a prosecution.

Even if it did, the courts could avoid the conflict by

(continued...)

App. 29

But the Charming Betsy rule does not apply because

there is no conflict with international law to avoid.

Concurrent jurisdiction is well-recognized in international

law. See Laker Airways Ltd. v. Sabena, Belgian World Airlines,

731 F.2d 909, 922 (D.C.Cir.1984) (stating that "two or more

- States may have legitimate interests in prescribing

governing law over a particular controversy");

Restatement, supra, §§ 402-03. We have recognized that

"[t]he law of nations permits the exercise of criminal

jurisdiction by a nation under five general principles:

territorial, national, protective, universality, and passive

personality." United States v. Felix-Gutierrez, 940 F.2d 1200,

1205 (9th Cir.1991). These distinct fonts of power often

leave two nations with concurrent authority over a

particular controversy, and American courts have on

numerous occasions managed conflicts arising when two

nations had authority over the same issue. See, e.g., Romero

v. International Terminal Operating Co., 358 U.S. 354, 381-83,

*(...continued)

construing the subsection with reference to the principle

that "statutes should not be interpreted to regulate foreign

persons or conduct if that regulation would conflict with

principles of international law." Hartford Fire Ins. Co. v.

California, 509 U.S. 764, 815, 113 S.Ct. 2891, 125 L.Ed.2d

612 (Scalia, J., dissenting); see also Romero v. International

Terminal Operating Co., 358 U.S. 354, 381-84, 79 S.Ct. 468,

3 L.Ed.2d 368 (1959) (interpreting the Jones Act not to

apply to a tort committed against a Spanish sailor on

Spanish vessel in American territorial waters).

App. 30

79 S.Ct. 468, 3 L.Ed.2d 368 (1959) (Spanish seaman on

Spanish ship injured in U.S. waters); Lauritzen v. Larsen,

345 U.S. 571, 577-83, 73 S.Ct. 921, 97 L.Ed. 1254 (1953)

(Danish seaman on Danish ship injured *1180 in Cuban

waters); Sabena, 731 F.2d at 921-22 (antitrust case litigated

in both American and English courts); Timberlane Lumber

Co. v. Bank of America, N.T. & S.A., 549 F.2d 597, 614 (9th

Cir.1976) (antitrust violation in Honduras with effects in

the United States). Thus, concurrent jurisdiction as such

raises no eyebrows among international lawyers.

Bin Laden theorized that concurrent jurisdiction, by

which it meant concurrent territorial jurisdiction, was

inconsistent with the very notion of sovereignty. See Bin

Laden, 92 F.Supp.2d at 213-14. But the American

experience belies the notion that the atom of sovereignty

cannot be split. See U.S. Term Limits, Inc. v. Thornton, 514

U.S. 779, 838, 115 S.Ct. 1842, 131 L.Ed.2d 881 (1995)

(Kennedy, J., concurring). There is no question that

domestic lands may fall under the concurrent jurisdiction

of the state and federal governments. See North Dakota v.

United States, 495 U.S. 423, 429 n. 2, 110 S.Ct. 1986, 109

L.Ed.2d 420 (1990) ("A territory under concurrent

jurisdiction is generally subject to the plenary authority of

both the Federal Government and the State....").

Bin Laden suggested that concurrent territorial

jurisdiction was only possible in the United States because

the individual states were not "independent sovereign

nations, but rather political sub-units of the United States."

Bin Laden, 92 F. Supp.2d at 214. Although the states are not

independent nations, they are hardly "political sub-units"

of the federal government. See, e.g., Alden v. Maine, 527

U.S. 706, 119 S.Ct. 2240, 2247, 144 L.Ed.2d 636 (1999) (The

App. 31

states retain "the dignity and essential attributes inhering"

in sovereignty.); Seminole Tribe v. Florida, 517 U.S. 44,71 n.

15, 116 S.Ct. 1114, 134 L.Ed.2d 252 (1996) ("The

Constitution specifically recognizes the States as sovereign

entities."); The Federalist No. 39, at 245 (James Madison)

(Clinton Rossiter ed., 1961) (The States "form distinct and

independent portions of the supremacy, no more subject,

within their respective spheres, to the general authority

than the general authority is subject to them, within its

own sphere.").

Two sovereignties may exercise concurrentjurisdiction

when their relationship is regulated by law. In the United

States, the Constitution permits the state and federal

governments to exercise concurrent jurisdiction without

undue interference. While the Supremacy Clause

normally resolves any conflict in favor of the federal

government, that is not always the case. See, e.g., Kimel v.

Florida Bd. of Regents, 528 U.S. 62, 120 S.Ct. 631, 145

L.Ed.2d 522 (2000). What matters is not whose law

trumps in particular situations but that there is a law-

driven means for resolving any conflict.

The principle applies no less in the international

domain. Independent nations cede their exclusive control

over their territory through treaties, and the terms of those

agreements govern thatconcurrent authority. See Vermilya-

Brown Co. v. Connell, 335 U.S. 377, 381-83, 69 S.Ct. 140, 93

L.Ed. 76 (1948) (recognizing that the United States may

exercise jurisdiction over land placed under its control by

treaty even though the territory remains part of the United

Kingdom); In re Ross, 140 U.S. 453, 464, 11 S.Ct. 897, 35

_ L.Ed. 581 (1891) ("When ... the representatives or officers

of our government are permitted to exercise authority of

any kind in another country, it must be on such conditions

App. 32

as the two countries may agree...."); Schooner Exchange v.

M'Faddon, 7 Cranch 116, 11 U.S. 116, 136, 3 L.Ed. 287

(1812) (finding a nation's jurisdiction "susceptible of no

limitation, not imposed by itself' (emphasis added)); Letter

from Secretary of State Thomas Jefferson to U.S. Minister

to France Gouverneur Morris (Aug. 16, 1793), reprinted in

1 American State Papers: Foreign Relations 167, 169 (Walter

Lowrie & Matthew St. Clair Clarke eds., 1832) ("If [a

nation] cedes any portion of that jurisdiction to judges

appointed by another nation, the limits of their power

must depend on the instrument of cession.").

*1181 The SOFA with Japan and the Vienna Conven-

tion on Diplomatic Relations delimit the respective

spheres of jurisdiction over the territory reserved for the

use of American soldiers and diplomats. See SOFA, supra,

arts. Ill, XVII; Vienna Convention on Diplomatic

Relations, Apr. 18, 1961, arts. 22, 30-31, 23 U.S.T. 3227, 500

U.N.T.S. 95. The Vienna Convention severely constrains

the Philippine government's jurisdiction over U.S.

embassy territory, just as the SOFA limits the Japanese

government's control over the Air Force Base. In turn,

these treaties grant the United States the power--and the

responsibility--to regulate affairs on those territories.

Indeed, the treaties leave the United States with

substantially greater authority to regulate conduct than

the host country. For us to decline jurisdiction in this case

would upset the jurisdictional balance established by

these treaties."

'° The dissent reads Reid v. Covert, 354 U.S. 1, 77 S.Ct.

1222, 1 L.Ed.2d 1148 (1957), and Kinsella v. United States ex

(continued...)

App. 33

'°(.. .continued)

rel. Singleton, 361 U.S. 234, 80 S.Ct. 297, 4 L.Ed.2d 268

(1960), as suggesting that the Supreme Court "was aware

of the jurisdictional gap issue." See Dissent at 1196. But

neither case says anything of the sort. Reid and Kinsella

held that non-Article III military tribunais could not

exercise jurisdiction over non-military personnel in

criminal cases. See Reid, 354 U.S. at 5, 77 S.Ct. 1222;

Kinsella, 361 U.S. at 249, 80 S.Ct. 297. The Court did not

consider subsection 7(3) in either of these cases, and so

they can't fairly be read as expressing any view as to

whether this subsection did or did not extend the judicial

power of the United States to acts committed abroad.

The dissent quotes selectively from these cases but,

when read in context, the statements have little to do with

our case. See Dissent at 1196. Two of the quotes reason

from the litigating positions of government lawyers. See

Reid, 354 U.S. at 48, 77 S.Ct. 1222 (Frankfurter, | *

concurring in result) ("A further argument is made that a

decision adverse to the Government would mean that

only a foreign trial could be had. Even assuming that the

NATO Status of Forces Agreement... gives jurisdiction to

the United States only through its military authorities....");

Kinsella, 361 U.S. at 245, 80 S.Ct. 297 ("At argument, the

Government indicated that there had been no effort in the

Congress to make any provision for the prosecution of

such cases either in continental United States or in foreign

lands.").

Likewise, two of the quotes presume that, because

the trial of Americans in domestic courts would be

(continued...)

App. 34

The United States exerts practical dominion over

activities on the Yokota Air Force Base. The SOFA with

Japan provides that "[w]ithin the facilities and areas, the

United States may take all the measures necessary for their

1°(.. continued)

impractical, the trials must inevitably take place in

foreign courts. See Reid, 354 U.S. at 88, 77 S.Ct. 1222

(Clark, J., dissenting) (suggesting that because trial by

domestic federal courts would be "impracticable as a

general solution," Congress would have to accept "that

Americans committing offenses on foreign soil be tried by

the courts of the country in which the offense is

committed"); Kinsella, 361 U.S. at 259, 80 S.Ct. 297

(Harlan, J., dissenting) (finding the decision "regrettable

because [it is] bound to disturb delicate arrangements

with many foreign countries, and may result in our

having to relinquish to other nations ... a substantial part

of the jurisdiction now retained over American personnel

under the Status of Forces Agreements" (emphasis

added)).

Only one of the statements quoted by the dissent,

that of Justice Whittaker, actually says that "jurisdiction of

our civil courts does not extend" to "bases in foreign

lands." Kinsella, 361 U.S. at 276, 80 S.Ct. 297 (Whittaker,

J., concurring in part and dissenting in part). But it's

quite a stretch to read this stray observation, in a case that

did not concern the jurisdiction of Article III courts, as

suggesting that the Supreme Court has stamped its

imprimatur on the existence of a "jurisdictional gap."

App. 35

establishment, operation, safeguarding and control."

SOFA, supra, art. III. That broad language alone would

confer upon Congress the legislative jurisdiction to

prescribe and enforce the laws necessary for the

management and security of the Yokota Air Force Base.

But Article XVII goes farther and explicitly grants the U.S.

military the authority to exercise criminal jurisdiction over

all persons subject to military law. See id. at XVII(1).

Where jurisdiction is concurrent, the SOFA grants the

United States the primary right to try U.S. military and

civilian personnel for offenses committed solely against

U.S. security, property or persons. See id. at *1182

XVII(3)(a)(i). Thus, the SOFA recognizes U.S. jurisdiction

to try civilian employees of the armed forces for crimes

committed on the Air Force Base--as in the case here.

Extraterritorial rights conferred by the SOFA have

been confirmed by several decades of experience. Thomas

Perham, a Department of Defense attorney staffed at

Yokota, testified to the Air Force's almost exclusive control

of affairs within the base. Transcript of Testimony of

Thomas Perham, Chief of International Law at

Department of Defense Headquarters in Yokota, Japan,

United States v. Corey, No. 96-01019-DAE, at 14-15 (June 23,

1997). Japanese environmental, labor, and other regulatory

statutes are not enforced on the base. American lawyers

and doctors practice without local licenses, and gambling,

which is strictly illegal in Japan, is permitted on the base.

See id. at 14. In police matters, the U.S. government

conducts all investigations, searches and arrests, and the

Japanese police may not enter without the permission of

the United States. See id. The Japanese government is

generally reluctant to prosecute American civilians who

commit crimes against American persons or property on

App. 36

the base, because it recognizes that, despite its reserved

claim to the territory, such matters are properly within the

sphere of American interests. See id. at 24; see also

Overseas Jurisdiction Advisory Committee, Report to the

Secretary of Defense, the Attorney General, the Congress of the

United States 26 (1997).

The security personnel at the doors of Lopez Court

may be less imposing than the U.S. military, but the

United States exercises jurisdiction over the premises

nonetheless. Indeed, the United States's legal control over

embassy premises and personnel is more exclusive than

that over its affairs on the military base. In centuries past,

"the official residences of envoys were in every respect

considered to be outside the territory of the receiving

state." 1 Oppenheim's International Law § 494, at 1076

(Robert Jennings & Arthur Watts eds., 9th ed.1992).

Indeed, some courts have continued to embrace that view.

See United States v. Archer, 51 F.Supp. 708, -709

(S.D.Cal.1943) (An American consulate "is a part of the

territory of the United States of America."); see also Erdos,

474 F.2d at 159 (quoting Archer with approval). While we

have rejected this view of extraterritoriality and adopted

the view that the embassy lies within the territorial

jurisdiction of the host country, see McKeel, 722 F.2d at 588,

diplomatic norms continue to constrain the host state from

exercising its authority without the consent of the

embassy. See 1 Oppenheim's International Law, supra, § 494,

at 1077.

These norms were codified in the Vienna Convention

on Diplomatic Relations, a treaty to which both the United

States and the Philippines are signatories. See Vienna

Convention, supra. Article 22 guarantees that embassy

App. 37

land shall remain "inviolable." /d. art. 22. The host

country may not enter the embassy grounds without the

consent of the sending state. The Convention further

acknowledges that the private residences of embassy

personnel, even if they are not located on the premises of

the mission, enjoy the same inviolability as the embassy

itself. See id. art. 30; see also United States v. County of

Arlington, 702 F.2d 485 (4th Cir.1983) (finding that under

the Vienna Convention an apartment building owned by

East Germany is exempt from property taxes). Likewise,

embassy personnel, including the support staff, enjoy

absolute immunity from criminal prosecution. See Vienna

Convention, supra, art. 31.

Out of necessity, diplomatic conventions have

acknowledged the embassy's jurisdiction over crimes

committed by its personnel. Even if the embassy territory

is not considered the territory of the sending country, "an

envoy must have jurisdiction over his staff in matters of

discipline, he must be able to put under restraint a

member of his staff who has committed a crime and is to

be sent home for trial, and the like." 1 Oppenheim's

International *1183 Law, supra, § 507, at 1103. The Vienna

Convention expressly acknowledges that the sending state

may exercise criminal jurisdiction over diplomatic

personnel, see Vienna Convention, supra, art. 31(4), in

order to encourage states to prosecute their diplomatic

agents for crimes committed on embassy territory. See

Restatement, supra, § 464 n. 9. Diplomatic conventions thus

leave no doubt about our government's right to exercise

jurisdiction over Corey.

Although Lopez Court remains Philippine territory in

some sense, diplomatic conventions disable the Philippine

App. 38

government from exerting effective control over the area.

The local police could not enter the premises to investigate

crimes without the consent of the ambassador. Nor could

they prosecute Corey, or any other American member of

the embassy staff. The United States has the real power--

and the concomitant duty--to regulate conduct on those

grounds.

Thus, we conclude that the United States exercises

concurrent, and indeed primary, jurisdiction over the

actions of United States nationals on both the Yokota Air

Force Base and Lopez Court. This conclusion arises out of

the plain meaning of subsection 7(3), the. relevant

international agreements, and the practical realities of the

situation. The United States has negotiated a modus

vivendi with both Japan and the Philippines for the lands

under United States dominion in their respective

countries. Were we to hold that federal court jurisdiction

is not coextensive therewith, we would risk destabilizing

the accommodation that the Executive Branch has worked

out with the foreign powers. Congress intended through

subsection 7(3) to avoid such dangers by extending the

federal criminal laws as far as U.S. dominion.

Weare not unmindful that some commentators in the

military and academia have posited the existence of a

jurisdictional gap over American civilians stationed at

military bases abroad. See Overseas Jurisdiction Advisory

Committee, supra, at 41; Gatlin, 216 F.3d at 221 nn. 17-20

(citing other military and academic sources that describe

"jurisdictional gap"). But section 7 concerns the

jurisdiction of the federal courts, and the military has no

special expertise in construing such a statute. See National

Ass'n of Gov't Employees, Inc. v. Federal Labor Relations

Auth., 179 F.3d 946, 950 (D.C.Cir.1999) (no deference to

App. 39

agency's interpretation of statute it is not charged with

administering); California Nat'l Guard v. Federal Labor

Relations Auth., 697 F.2d 874, 879 (9th Cir.1983) (Same).

We see no reason to create a jurisdictional vacuum where

the better reading of the statute supports jurisdiction.

Vv

Both Lopez Court and the Yokota Air Force Base fall

within the "special maritime and territorial jurisdiction of

the United States." 18 U.S.C. § 7. The district court had

jurisdiction to hear the charges against Corey under 18

U.S.C. §§ 2241(a) and 2242(1).

AFFIRMED."

Samuel P. King, Jr., Honolulu, Hawaii, argued the cause

for Defendant-Appellant

Loretta A. Matsunaga, Assistant United States Attorney,

Honolulu, Hawaii, argued the cause for Plaintiff-

Appellee.

'' While we affirm the district court on the

jurisdictional ruling, we reverse the conviction because of

errors later at trial. We state the reasons for this ruling in

a memorandum disposition filed concurrently with this

Opinion.

App. 40

*1183 McCKEOWN, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

The central and threshold question in this appeal is

whether certain sections of the federal criminal code,

specifically 18 U.S.C. §§ 2241(a) and 2242(1), apply

extraterritorially so as to reach crimes committed on

foreign soil. I conclude that they do not and therefore

respectiully dissent. As the Supreme Court so clearly

stated in EEOC v. Arabian Am. Oil Co., 499 U.S. 244, 248,

111 S.Ct. 1227, 113 L-Ed.2d 274 (1991) ("Aramco"), "[w]e

assume that Congress legislates against [a] backdrop of

the presumption against extraterritoriality.". In my view,

this presumption against extraterritorial application of

federal law, combined with the ambiguous language of

*1184 the statutes and the absence of any clear

Congressional intent to include foreign locations, compel

the conclusion that the district court did not have

jurisdiction. In short, I do not think that Congress has

provided for the application of these statutes to

government-leased housing in the Philippines or housing

on a military base in Japan. Notably, Congress recently

confirmed the existence of this "jurisdictional gap" by

passing legislation to extend jurisdiction to American

civilians like Corey who are employed by or accompany

the military overseas. Absent such clear intent to extend

the reach of U.S. laws to Corey, however, we are without

jurisdiction in this case.

In reaching the opposite conclusion, the majority

creates a circuit split, see United States v. Gatlin, 216 F.3d

207 (2d Cir.2000),' chooses not to apply the well-

' The majority creates a circuit split with regard to

: a ‘continued. ..)

App. 41

established presumption against extraterritorial

application of U.S. statutes, and misinterprets 18 U.S.C. §

7(3) by ignoring its legislative history and instead relying

upon a tangential historical record. Regardless of the

recent legislation, this case raises a very important issue,

both for Corey individually and because the majority

adopts an unprecedented view of the presumption against

extraterritoriality.

I. THE NARROW ISSUE PRESENTED

The majority and I share significant common ground. |

agree that neither the Constitution nor the principles of

international law would prevent Congress from extending

the reach of a federal criminal law to Corey, a U.S. citizen.

See Aramco, 499 U.S. at 248, 111 S.Ct. 1227 ("Congress has

the authority to enforce its laws beyond the territorial

boundaries of the United States"); Skiriotes v. Florida, 313

U.S. 69, 73, 61 S.Ct. 924, 85 L.Ed. 1193 (1941) ("[T]he

United States is not debarred by any rule of international

law from governing the conduct of its own citizens upon

the high seas or even in foreign countries when the rights

of other nations or their nationals are not infringed.");

McKeel v. Islamic Republic of Iran, 722 F.2d 582, 588 (9th

'(...continued)

application of the presumption against extraterritoriality.

Gatlin holds that the presumption is applicable; the

majority disagrees. When the Fourth Circuit interpreted

§ 7(3) more than 25 years ago, it did not address the issue.

See United States v. Erdos, 474 F.2d 157 (4th Cir.1973).

App. 42

Cir.1983) ("Nationality and the protective principle do

allow the United States to assert jurisdiction over

individuals for events occurring at United States

embassies and consulates."); see generally United States v.

Vasquez- Velasco, 15 F.3d 833, 840 & n. 5 (9th Cir.1994)

(explaining various bases of jurisdiction under

international law).”

I also agree that the relevant international agreements,

namely (1) the Agreement Under Article VI of the Treaty

of Mutual Cooperation and Security Between the United

States of America and Japan, Regarding Facilities and

Areas and the Status of United States Armed Forces in

Japan (SOFA), Jan. 19, 1960, 11 U.S.T. 1652, and (2) the

Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations and Optional

? Whether the "jurisdiction" at issue here is labeled

subject-matter jurisdiction (of the district court) or

legislative (also referred to as prescriptive) jurisdiction (in

other words, the power of Congress to legislate), see

Hartford Fire Ins. Co. v. California, 509 U.S. 764, 813, 113

S.Ct. 2891, 125 L.Ed.2d 612 (1993) (Scalia, J., dissenting)

(discussing difference and explaining that legislative

jurisdiction "refers to the authority of a state to make its

laws applicable to persons or activities") (internal

quotations omitted), does not affect the analysis. The

question remains whether Congress in fact provided for

overseas application of these federal penal statutes. See id.

at 814, 113 S.Ct. 2891 ("[T]he question in this litigation is

whether, and to what extent, Congress has exercised that

undoubted legislative jurisdiction in enacting the

Sherman Act.").

i

App. 43

Protocol on Disputes, Apr. 18, 1961, 23 U.S.T. 3227, 500

U.N.T.S. 95, provide the necessary authority for Congress

to enact criminal legislation applicable to these locales. In

short, there is no doubt that Congress can ensure that U.S.

citizens who engage in heinous criminal activity overseas

will stand trial in a United States court.

*1185 But this is not a case about power. The issue

before us is whether Congress exercised that power,

specifically whether Congress intended the penal statutes

that criminalize Corey's conduct to apply

extraterritorially. See Aramco, 499 U.S. at 248, 111 S.Ct.

1227 ("Whether Congress has in fact exercised that

authority ... is a matter of statutory construction.");

Vasquez-Velasco, 15 F.3d at 839. Put another way, we are

nut considering here whether Congress can bring Corey

within the reach of the U.S. Criminal Code, nor are we

considering whether Congress sliould do so. The only

question before us is whether Congress did so, and it is on

this point that the majority and I differ.

Il. PRESUMPTION AGAINST

EXTRATERRITORIALITY

A. The Law

Guiding our inquiry is the well-established cannon of

statutory construction -- the presumption against extra-

territoriality -- based on the understanding that Congress

‘is primarily concerned with domestic conditions." Foley

Bros. v. Filardo, 336 U.S. 281, 285, 69 S.Ct. 575, 93 L.Ed. 680

(1949). "[T]he presumption against extraterritorial

application of United States statutes requires that any

lingering doubt regarding the reach of the [statute] be

es T

App. 44

resolved against [extraterritorial application]. It is a

longstanding principle of American law that legislation of

Congress, unless a contrary intent appears, is meant to

apply only within the territorial jurisdiction of the United

States." Smith v. United States, 507 U.S. 197, 203-04, 113

S.Ct. 1178, 122 L.Ed.2d 548 (1993) (internal quotations

omitted) (case involving Federal Torts Claims Act). This

presumption "has a foundation broader than the desire to

avoid conflict with the laws of other nations." Sale v.

Haitian Ctrs. Council, Inc., 509 U.S. 155, 174, 113 S.Ct. 2549,

125 L.Ed.2d 128 (1993). As the Supreme Court explained:

[w]e have in this case a question of statutory

construction. The necessary locus, when not

specially defined, depends upon the purpose of

Congress as evinced by the description and nature

of the crime and upon the territorial limitations

upon the power and jurisdiction of a government

to punish crime under the law of nations. Crimes

against private individuals or their property, like

assaults, murder, burglary, larceny, robbery, arson,

embezzlement and frauds of all kinds, which affect

the peace and good order of the community, must

of course be committed within the territorial

jurisdiction of the government where it may

properly exercise it. If punishment of them is to be

extended to include those committed outside of the

Strict territorial jurisdiction, it is natural for

Congress to say so in the statute, and failure to do

so will negative the purpose of Congress in this

regard.

United States v. Bowman, 260 U.S. 94, 97-98, 43 S.Ct. 39, 67

L.Ed. 149 (1922).

App. 45

In light of this longstanding principle, courts have

examined the extraterritorial applicability of statutes with

the view that Congress knows how to place crimes

committed outside our borders within the jurisdictional

reach of a statute. See Argentine Republic v. Amerada Hess

Shipping Corp., 488 U.S. 428, 440 n. 7, 109 S.Ct. 683, 102

L.Ed.2d 818 (1989) (explaining that Congress extended

jurisdiction to vessels on the high seas in 18 U.S.C. § 7(1));

see also Aramco, 499 U.S. at 248, 111 S.Ct. 1227 ("We assume

that Congress legislates against the backdrop of the

presumption against extraterritoriality.").°

* In fact, the criminal code is replete with examples of

unambiguous congressional intent to apply U.S. law

overseas. See, e.g., 18 U.S.C. § 112(e) (protection of foreign

_ Officials, official guests, and internationally protected

persons); 18 U.S.C. § 175 (prohibitions with respect to

biological weapons); 18 U.S.C. § 351(i) (congressional,

cabinet, and Supreme Courtassassination, kid naping, and

assault); 18 U.S.C. § 1621 (perjury); 18 U.S.C. § 2381

(treason). The clear manifestation rule has been followed

outside the criminal context as well. See Wade Estey,

Note, The Five Bases of Extraterritorial Jurisdiction and the

Failure of the Presumption Against Extraterritoriality, 21

Hastings Int'l & Comp. L.Rev. 177, 179 (1997) (providing

examples); see generally Aramco, 499 U.S. at 258, 111S.Ct.

1227 ("Congress' awareness of the need to make a clear

Statement that a statute applies overseas is amply

demonstrated by the numerous occasions on which it has

expressly legislated the extraterritorial application of a

Statute.").

(continued...)

App. 46

*1186 B. The Presumption Applies Here

The statutes at issue here, 18 U.S.C. §§ 2241(a) and

2242(1), prohibit certain forms of sexual misconduct

committed "in the special maritime and _ territorial

jurisdiction of the United States....". In turn, 18 U.S.C. §

7(3) defines "special maritime and territorial jurisdiction"

as

[a]ny lands reserved or acquired for the use of the

United States, and under the exclusive or

concurrent jurisdiction thereof, or any place

purchased or otherwise acquired by the United

States by consent of the legislature of the State in

which the same shall be, for the erection of a fort,

magazine, arsenal, dockyard, or other needful

building.

Neither precedent nor logic supports the majority's

conclusion that the extraterritoriality presumption is

inapplicable because a jurisdictional statute is at play.

Under Bowman, the presumption clearly applies to

criminal statutes. See Bowman, 260 U.S. at 98, 43 S.Ct. 39.

And the majority's effort to avoid the presumption

because § 7(3) defines territorial jurisdiction is

bootstrapping at its worst. Although jurisdictional

statutes address how far Congress wishes to extend U.S.

law, absent clear language or some meaningful signal,

such statutes do not necessarily indicate whether Congress

intended extraterritorial jurisdiction. The majority's

conclusion that we "should simply employ the standard

tools of statutory interpretation" when interpreting § 7(3),

*(...continued)

App. 47

see Maj. Op. at 1171 (quoting Bin Laden, 92 F.Supp.2d at

206 n. 32), brings us right back to the question at hand. In

§ 7(3), Congress defined "territorial jurisdiction." But

"territorial" cannot be equated with "extraterritorial," and

hence, we still need to determine whether Congress

intended to extend the reach of "territorial jurisdiction" to

foreign lands. To proceed otherwise would allow an end-

runaround the requirement that Congress must be explicit

in demonstrating its intent to legislate extraterritorially.

Nevertheless, the majority relies on the jurisdictional

nature of § 7(3) as a reason to avoid application of the

presumption.’ This position has been adopted by one

district court in New York, see United States v. Bin Laden, 92

F.Supp.2d 189, 206 n. 32 (S.D.N.Y.2000), but subsequently

was criticized by the Second Circuit in Gatlin. Although

a district court opinion from another circuit would have

no precedential value in this court, in some cases it might

be instructive; but that is hardly the case here when the

decision was already disavowed by the Second Circuit.

* See Maj. Op. at 1171 ("When Congress is considering

~ the scope of federal jurisdiction, its attention is focused

precisely on how far U.S. law should reach. Unlike

ordinary domestic statutes, jurisdictional statutes

inherently present the question of how far Congress

wishes U.S. law to extend. There is therefore no reason to

presume that Congress did, or did not, mean to act

extraterritorially.").

* As the Second Circuit in Gatlin explained,

(continued...)

App. 48

*(...continued)

In the present case, both parties appear to

agree that the presumption against

extraterritoriality applies. However, in a recent

opinion involving the same jurisdictional provision

at issue here, 18 U.S.C. § 7(3), Judge Sand declined

to apply the presumption against extraterritoriality.

See United States v. Bin Laden, 92 F. Supp.2d 189, 206 .

n. 32 (S.D.N.Y.2000). The presumption, Judge Sand

reasoned, "was designed to apply to provisions that

define offenses. When presented with the task of

interpreting jurisdictional statutes such as Section

7(3), courts should simply employ the standard

tools of statutory interpretation: analysis of text,

structure, and legislative history." Id.

We respectfully disagree with Judge Sand.

Although § 7(3) is the immediate focus of our

inquiry, the ultimate question here is whether a

criminal statute--i.e., 18 U.S.C. § 2243(a)--applies

extraterritorially. The presumption against

extraterritoriality plainly applies to criminal stat-

utes (other than the Bowman variety...), so § 2243(a)

applies extraterritorially only if there is a clear

manifestation of Congress's affirmative intent.

That this inquiry requires us to look to Congress's

intent in enacting 18 U.S.C. § 7, which is

incorporated by reference in § 2243(a), does not, in

our view, alter the applicable rule of statutory

interpretation. Indeed, to accept Judge Sand's view

would seriously undermine the presumption

(continued...)

App. 49

See also *1187United States v. Erdos, 474 F.2d 157, 160 (4th

Cir.1973) (failing to address canon of construction and

explaining that "[w]here the power of the Congress is

clear, and the language of the exercise is broad, we

perceive no duty to construe a statute narrowly.").

In its effort to avoid the presumption against

extraterritoriality, the majority extends Bowman far

beyond its holding or any reasonable extension of it. The

majority states that "the presumption does not apply

where the legislation implicates concerns that are not

inherently domestic" and then cites Bowman as an

example, ex; ‘aining that in that case "the Supreme Court

held that the territorial presumption does not govern the

interpretation of criminal statutes that, by their nature,

implicate the legitimate interests of the United States

abroad." Maj. Op. at 1170-71.

Bowman does not stand for such a far-reaching

proposition. Rather, Bowman recognizes a narrow

exception to the presumption against extraterritoriality for

"criminal statutes which are, as a class, not logically

dependant on their locality for the Government's

jurisdiction, but are enacted because of the right of the

Government to defend itself against obstruction, or fraud

wherever perpetrated, especially if committed by its own

°(...continued)

against extraterritoriality since Congress often

enacts jurisdictional provisions that are then

incorporated by reference elsewhere.

Gatlin, 216 F.3d at 212 n. 6.

App. 50

citizens, officers, or agents." 260 U.S. at 98, 43 S.Ct. 39.°

There can be little doubt that the narrow Bowman

exception does not cover the penal statutes at issue here.

Nor, in my view, does the narrow exception emanating

from Bowman and its progeny-the commonsense principle

that courts should not presume Congress intended to

legislate domestically when it criminalizes behavior that

presents a cognizable threat within our borders’--support

the majority's conclusion. See Kollias v. D & G Marine

Maintenance, 29 F.3d 67, 71 (2d Cir.1994) ("The Supreme

Court's recent discussions of the presumption against

extraterritoriality, none of which mentions Bowman, seem

° This exception, however, applies to statutes

involving crimes against the government, see, e.g., United

States v. Cotten, 471 F.2d 744 (9th Cir.1973), and crimes

relating to drug smuggling, see United States v. Larsen, 952

F.2d 1099 (9th Cir.1991) (marijuana smuggling).

” See Skiriotes, 313 U.S. at 73-74, 61 S.Ct. 924 ("[A]

criminal statute dealing with acts that are directly

injurious to the government, and are capable of

perpetration without regard to particular locality, is to be

construed as applicable to the citizens of the United States

upon the high seas or in a foreign country, though there

be no express declaration to that effect.") (citing Bowman);

United States v. Mitchell, 553 F.2d 996, 1002 (5th Cir.1977)

("[I]f the nature of the law does not mandate its

extraterritorial application, then a presumption arises

against such application.") (citing Bowman).

— dine =P... a ve

App. 51

to require thatall statutes, without exception, be construed

to apply within the United States only, unless a contrary

intent appears.").

The majority offers a second reason for not applying

the presumption here, namely that "[l]and subject to

subsection 7(3) is not ‘extraterritorial,’ as the Supreme

Court has defined the term." Maj. Op. at 1171. In support

of this statement, the majority cites to a single statement in

Aramco. See Aramco, 499 U.S. at 248, 111 S.Ct. 1227 ("In

applying this rule of construction, we look to see whether

‘language in the [relevant Act] gives any indication of a

congressional purpose to extend its coverage beyond

places over which the United States has sovereignty or has

some measure of legislative control.' ") (quoting Foley Bros.,

336 U.S. at 285, 69 S.Ct. 575) (emphasis added).

* The majority's citation to Environmental Defense Fund,

Inc. v. Massey, 986 F.2d 528, 533 (D.C.Cir.1993), does little

to advance its argument. In Massey, the court addressed

extraterritorial application of the National Environmental

Policy Act. The court held, however, that "the

presumption against the extraterritorial application of

Statutes described in Aramco does not apply where the

conduct regulated by the statute occurs primarily, if not

exclusively, in the United States, and the alleged

extraterritorial effect of the statute will be felt in

Antarctica-- a continent without a sovereign, and an area

over which the United States has a great measure of

legislative control." Id. at 529. Unlike the conduct in

Massey, the conduct here occurred entirely outside our

borders. Moreover, the Philippines and Japan are

(continued...)

App. 52

*1188 Read literally, as the majority proposes, this

language would eviscerate the concept of

extraterritoriality. If "territorial" automatically includes

foreign lands where U.S. law applies, then the

presumption againstextraterritoriality is pointless because

there would be no "extraterritorial" application of U.S.

law.

The Second Circuit declined to go down a similar path

in Kollias. The court rejected the argument that the

presumption against extraterritoriality does not apply to

a case involving application of the Longshore and Harbor

Workers' Compensation Act (the "LHWCA") to an injury

on an American flag vessel because the ship "was in effect

a United States territory as it traveled across the high

seas." 29 F.3d at 72. After first recognizing that the law of

the flag does not necessarily govern shipboard conduct,

the court exposed the underlying circularity of this

reasoning:

In any case, the concept of extraterritoriality does

not refer to the body of law that governs the

dispute; if it did, extraterritorial application of

United States statutes would be an impossibility

because any place where United States law

governed a particular dispute would be considered

United States territory. Accordingly, we decline to

‘(...continued)

governed by other sovereigns, unlike Antarctica, which

"is generally considered to be a ‘global common’ and

frequently analogized to outer space." Id. (citation

omitted)

App. 53

characterize the [ship] as a kind of floating United

States territory, where application of the LHWCA

would not be extraterritorial.

Id.’

Simply declaring the foreign locations to be part of

US. territory is a semantic sleight of hand that avoids the

real question of statutory interpretation and congressional

intent. I turn next to an examination of the statute itself.

Ill. THE STATUTE

” Although in my view the presumption against

extraterritoriality applies with full force here and plainly

directs the analysis, I agree with the Second Circuit's

conclusion that the same result would be reached even if the

presumption did not apply. See Gatlin, 216 F.3d at 212 n. 6;

see also Erdos, 474 F.2d at 159-60 (acknowledging that,

"indeed, it is possible that when the statute was enacted the

attention of the Congress was not in the slightest focused on

extraterritorial jurisdiction."). I certainly cannot join in the

majority's apparent attempt to turn the presumption on its

head.

It also bears noting that we are dealing with a punitive

Statute, and as such the rule of lenity resonates, even if not

directly applicable. See generally Staples v. United States,

511 U.S. 600, 619 n. 17, 114 S.Ct. 1793, 128 L.Ed.2d 608

(1994) (explaining that the rule of lenity, “under which an

ambiguous criminal statute is to be construed in favor of the

accused,” applies "where, after seiz[ing] every thing from

which aid can be derived, the Court is left with an ambiguous

Statute") (internal quotations omitted).

App. 54

A. The Statute is Ambiguous

With the presumption against extraterritoriality

application as the viewing lens, the first task is to analyze

the statutory text to determine whether Congress intended

§ 7(3) to cover the foreign locations at issue here.’” As

'° The presumption against extraterritoriality is not

insurmountable. For example, in Vermilya-Brown Co. v.

Connell, 335 U.S. 377, 390, 69 S.Ct. 140, 93 L.Ed. 76 (1948),

the Supreme Court held that the Fair Labor Standards

Act, which by its terms applies to "any State of the United

States or the District_of Columbia or any Territory or

possession of the United States, ’ included land leased by

the United States in Bermuda ror use as a military base,

reasoning that "possessions" includes leased bases

overseas. But see United States v. Spelar, 338 U.S. 217, 224,

70 S.Ct. 10, 94 L.Ed. 3 (1949) (Frankfurter, J., concurring)

(criticizing Vermilya-Brown); id. at 225, 70 S.Ct. 10

(Jackson, J., concurring) (suggesting that Court should

"retreat from" Vermilya-Brown). The Court, however, did

not address the presumption against extraterritoriality.

Nor does the statute here include any specific language,

such as "possession," to guide our ins, ‘iry.

Similarly, in the area of antitrus: 1aw, the Supreme

Court has held that Congress has overcome the

presumption against extraterritoriality. Adopting

reasoning similar to that in Bowman, the Supreme Court

found that the Sherman Act "reach[es}] conduct outside

our borders, but only when the conduct has an effect on

American commerce." Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co., Ltd. v.

(continued...)

App. 55

noted before, the special *1189 maritime and territorial

jurisdiction includes:

Any lands reserved or 2 quired for the use of the

United States, and u:der the exclusive or

concurrent jurisdiction thereof, or ary place

purchased or otherwise acquired by the United

States by consent of the legislature of the State in

which the game shall be, for the erection of a fort,

magazine, arsenal, dockyard, or other needful

building.

18 U.S.C. § 7(3).

On its face, the language of § 7(3) is ambiguous and

certainly does not demonstrate an intent to apply to

locations outside the borders of the United States.

Although “any lands" could arguably be stretched to

include foreign lands, a "plausible" reading of a statute

does not overcome the presumption against

extraterritoriality. See Aramco, 499 U.S. at 253, 111 S.Ct.

1227 ("If we were to permit possible, or even plausible,

interpretations of language such as that involved here to

override the presumption against extraterritorial

application, there would be little left of the

'(...continued)

Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 582 n. 6, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 89

L.Ed.2d 538 (1986); accord Hartford Fire Ins. Co. v.

California, 509 U.S. 764, 796, 113 S.Ct. 2891, 125 L.Ed.2d

612 (1993) ( "[I]t is well established by now that the

Sherman Act applies to conduct that was meant to

produce and did in fact produce some substantial effect

in the United States.").

App. 56

presumption."). Indeed, the fact that the statute has

spawned such a multiplicity of interpretations, ranging

from Gatlin to Erdos to the majority, underscores not only

the ambiguity of the statute but also the need for the

presumption itself.

Nor does the structure of § 7(3) support an intention to

include foreign lands acquired overseas. In my view, both

the first and second clauses of § 7(3) refer to lands within

our borders, as the federal government may acquire lands

other than "by consent of the legislature" of a state. See

James v. Dravo Contracting Co., 302 US. 134, 142, 147, 58

S.Ct. 208, 82 L.Ed. 155 (1937). Indeed, the United States

acquired many lands within our present borders without

the "consent" of the legislature of any state. See Gatlin, 216

F.3d at 215-16 & n 10 (quoting Jordan J. Paust, Non-

Extraterritoriality of ‘Special Territorial Jurisdiction" of the

United States: Forgotten History and the Errors of Erdos, 24

Yale J. Int'l L. 305, 318-20 (1999), noting that the United

States acquired Arlington National Cemetery in Virginia,

places within the District of Columbia, and lands acquired

in territorial form before states existed in those areas

without the consent of the legislature of any state).

The argument that the statute must apply

extraterritorially also ignores a key term within the first

clause: "reserved." The first clause refers to "lands

reserved or acquired." "Reserved" has a special historical

meaning that has nothing to do with ioreign countries. See

Paust, 24 Yale J. Int'l L. at 325 ("[I]f the land is not owned

by the United States, the land as such is not 'reserved' or

‘acquired’ by the United States within the ordinary

meaning of those terms or the meanine clarified by

legislative history and historical context, cspecially the

special meaning of 'reserved lands.'"); see also Black's Law

App. 57

Dictionary 1307-08 (6th ed. 1990) (defining "reserved land"

as "[p]ublic land that has been withheld or kept back from

sale or disposition" and "reservation" as "a tract of land ...

which is by public authority withdrawn from sale or

settlement, and appropriated to specific public uses; such

as parks, military posts, Indian lands, etc.").

This proposition is illustrated by the legislative history

of the precursors to § 7(3) and the Assimilated Crimes Act,

18 U.S.C. § 13, which adopts the criminal law of the states,

territories, possessions, or districts as the criminal laws for

"places now existing *1190 or hereafter reserved or acquired

as provided in section 7 of this title ....". 18 U.S.C. § 13(a)

(emphasis added). In 1909, Congress added "reserved" to

the 1874 version of that statute" after courts held that the

Statute did not apply to any territory that had been

obtained by the United States in any manner other than by

cession:

'' The 1874 version of the statute appeared as Section

5391 of the Revised Statutes of the United States. That

section provided, in relevant part:

If any offense be committed in any place which has

been or may hereafter be, ceded to and under the

jurisdiction of the United States, which offense is not

prohibited, or the punishment thereof is not

specially provided for, by any law of the United

States, such offense shall be liable to, and receive,

the same punishment as the laws of the State in

which such place is situated... Fi

70 Rev. Stat. § 5391 (1874) (emphasis added).

App. 58 |

[I]t was held that ... under section 5391, this law

did not apply to any territory that had been

obtained since [the statute was enacted in] 1825

except by cession, and it was discovered that a

great deal of property, for military reservations, for

arsenals, post-offices, custom-houses, quarantine

Stations, and court-houses had been acquired by

reservation; that the United States, owning the

land existing in territorial form, would reserve a

portion of it for Federal purposes, and then admit

the State to the Union. The Supreme Court said,

"Your act does not cover that class of cases. It is

specific. It relates to territory subsequently

acquired by cession. It relates to the laws of the

United States that were in force at the time you

passed it, to lands ceded to the United Sates by the

legislature of a State in accordance with the

provisions of the Constitution, but it does not relate

to territory that has been subsequently acquired in

any other way."

42 Cong. Rec. 584 (1908); accord id. at 593; Paust, 24 Yale

J. Int'l L. at 316-17."? In other words, in 1909, Congress

~~ en as ee ee eS a re ee

'? The amended Section 5391 provided: "Whoever,

within the territorial limits of any State, organized

Territory, or District, but within or upon any of the places

now existing or hereafter reserved or acquired, described in

[Section 272] of this Act," shall commit an act which is not

criminalized by the United States shall be prosecuted

under state law. See Act of March 4, 1909. ch. 321, § 289,

35 Stat. 1145 (emphasis added). As discussed infra, §

(continued...)

App. 59

was concerned about the need for legislation governing

land that the United States owned and retained when a

new state was created. See Paust, 24 Yale J. Int'l L. at 317.

The pointed reference to "reserved" in the first Clause of §

7(3), which Congress similarly included in its 1909

precursor, suggests that both clauses of § 7(3) apply only

domestically.

Even if, as the majority concludes, § 7(3) applies

"outside the borders of the fifty states," Maj. Op. at 1172,

that conclusion does not perforce mean that Congress

intended it to cover lands that remain part of foreign

countries. As the majority itself points out, see Maj. Op. at

1173-74, new lands became a part of the United States

through, among other means annexation, conquest, and

purchase.

Finally, the highly piecemeal fashion in which § 7 was

compiled undermines the majority's attempt to read the

statute holistically. See Maj. Op. at 1171- 72. "[I]t makes

little sense to inquire into congressional intent by looking

at the statute as a whole since most subsections of § 7 were

enacted separately by Congress and have their own

legislative histories." Gatlin, 216 F.3d at 216 n. 11.

Contrary to the majority's interpretation, the other

subsections of § 7 demonstrate that Congress ‘explicitly

provides for jurisdiction when it intends to do so. See, e.g., 18

U.S.C. § 7(1) (high seas); 18 U.S.C. § 7(6) (outer space).

Congressional intent with respect to the other subsections

(...continued)

272(3) was the 1909 precursor to § 7(3) in which Congress

similarly referred to lands "reserved or acquired."

App. 60

of § 7, however, does not reflect congressional intent to

extend § 7(3) across foreign borders. Indeed, in light of

the fact that Congress clearly legislated extraterritorially

in the *1191 other subsections of § 7 but did not do so in §

7(3), the presumption against extraterritoriality applies

with full force.

In conclusion, although the structure of § 7(3)

reinforces the conclusion that the United States may

acquire lands in more than one fashion, it is a dead end in

terms of analyzing whether Congress meant to include

lands outside the United States and within the borders of

other nations. To suggest, as the majority does, that

"Congress unmistakably had foreign locales in mind when

it set about defining that jurisdiction," and that the statute

"extends the jurisdiction ... to areas where American

citizens and property need protection, yet no other

government effectively safeguards those interests," Maj.

Op. at 1171, is to manufacture congressional intent by

substituting a judicial policy judgment for a congressional

one. The most one can conclude is that the language

manifests no clear congressional intent. This statute is a

poster-child for ambiguity--every court attempting to

construe and harmonize the statute goes through

contortions trying to explain what Congress meant but did

not say. In this instance, we should look to other

"available evidence," namely, the legislative history. Sale,

509 U.S. at 177, 113 S.Ct. 2549.

B. Legislative History

The legislative history of § 7(3) and its precursors, see

Act of 1790, ch. 9, 1 Stat. 112 (1790); 70 Rev. Stat., ch. 3, §

5539 (1874); Act of March 4, 1909, ch. 321, 35 Stat. 1088

(1909), reinforces the presumption against extraterri-

App. 61

toriality. Nothing in that history suggests that Congress

intended the statute to apply to foreign localities, such as

embassy housing and military bases, within foreign

countries; indeed, the legislative history counsels that

Congress intended to address domestic, not foreign,

jurisdiction.

Addressing the identical question presented here, in

the context of a military base in Germany, the Second

Circuit in Gatlin exhaustively traced the history of § 7(3)

and concluded that "the legislative history of § 7(3) and its

precursors demonstrates unequivocally that Congress, in

fact, intended the statute to apply exclusively to the

territorial United States." 216 F.3d at 220; id. at 219

("Nowhere in the legislative history of the 1909 Act-either

in the floor debates or in the lengthy report of the Special

Joint Committee on the Revision of the Laws--is there any

indication that the statute was meant to extend federal

criminal jurisdiction to land in a foreign nation.")

(citations omitted); see also Bin Laden, 92 F.Supp.2d at 209-

10; Paust, 24 Yale J. Int'l L. at 314-24.

Gatlin lays out the legislative history in detail and there

is no need to reproduce a similar analysis here. The key

to the legislative history and to interpretation of this

statute lies in examination of the statute at three points in

time: upon enactment in 1790, at the time of recodification

in 1909, and when the statute was amended in 1940.

The statute can be traced to legislation passed by the

First Congress, "An Act for the Punishment of certain

Crimes Against the United States." Act of April 30, 1790,

ch. 9, 1 Stat. 112 (1790). Unlike the current substantive

criminal law, which references a separate statutory section

that defines jurisdiction, the 1790 Act incorporated

jurisdiction into the substantive definition of the offense,

App. 62

limiting it to certain lands "under the sole and exclusive

jurisdiction of the United States." Id. at §§ 3, 6-7. As noted

in Gatlin, "the fact that the 1790 Act delimited the

jurisdiction of the federal courts to lands over which the

United States exercised exclusive legislative jurisdiction

‘virtually guarantees’ that the provision was not intended

to apply to offenses committed in a foreign territory."

Gatlin, 216 F.3d at 216 (quoting Bin Laden, 92 F.Supp.2d at

209).

The 1790 Act remained essentially unchanged until

1909, when Congress undertook a comprehensive

codification of the criminal code. For the first time, the

section defining jurisdiction was codified in a separate

statute, but again, this precursor *1192 to § 7(3) applied

only to lands over which the United States had "exclusive"

jurisdiction. See Act of March 4, 1909, ch. 321 § 272, 35

Stat. 1143 (1909) ("When committed within or on any

lands reserved or acquired for the exclusive use of the

United States, and under the exclusive jurisdiction thereof,

or any place purchased or otherwise acquired by the.

United States by consent of the legislature of the State in

which the same shall be, for the erection of a fort,

magazine, arsenal, dock-yard, or other ° needful

building."). Congress-could not have intended this

provision to apply to property in foreign countries.

Congress knew how to extend criminal jurisdiction when

it wanted to,” and its failure to do so in 1909 is telling.

'’ For example, Congress did not presume that "Indian

country" fell within the sole and exclusive jurisdiction

of the United States, but rather explicitly provided that

(continued. ..)

App. 63

It was not until 1940 that Congress expanded the

statutory scope to include land over which the federal

government had "concurrent" jurisdiction. See Act of June

11, 1940, ch. 323, 54 Stat. 304 (1940) ("When committed

within or on any lands reserved or acquired for the use of

the United States, and under the exclusive or concurrent

jurisdiction thereof, or any place purchased or otherwise

acquired by the United States by consent of the legislature

of the State in which the same shall be, for the erection of

a fort, magazine, arsenal, dockyard, or other needful

building.").

The legislative history of the 1940 amendment

indicates that Congress did not intend to expand the scope

of federal criminal jurisdiction by adding "concurrent,"

and surely not to foreign lands. Rather, according to the

'’(...continued)

‘the general laws of the United States as to the

punishment of crimes committed in any place within the

sole and exclusive jurisdiction of the United States ... shall

extend to the Indian country." Ex parte Crow Dog, 109 U.S.

956, 558, 3 S.Ct. 396, 27 L.Ed. 1030 (1883) (quoting 28 Rev.

Stat. ch. 4, § 2145). Further, the Supreme Court

recognized the need for Congress to be explicit when

providing for federal jurisdiction over Indian reservations

falling outside the Western territories: "If the land

reserved for the exclusive occupancy of Indians lies

outside the exterior boundaries of any organized

Territorial government [including by treaty], it would

require an act of Congress to attach it to a judicial

district..." Id. at 559, 3 S.Ct. 396.

App. 64

legislative history, Congress intended to respond to a 1937

Supreme Court decision that held that states consensually

transferring lands to the United States may retain partial

or concurrent jurisdiction:

Prior to the decision of the Supreme Court in

James v. Dravo Contracting Company (302 US. 134, 58

S.Ct. 208, 82 L.Ed. 155) (December 1937), it was the

accepted view that the United States acquired

exclusive jurisdiction over any lands purchased

with the consent of the State for any of the

purposes enumerated in article I, section 8, clause

17, of the Constitution, and that any provision ofa

State statute retaining partial or concurrent

jurisdiction was inoperable. In the Dravo case it

was held that a State may properly retain partial or

concurrent jurisdiction.

The provisions of the Criminal Code ... limited

the criminal jurisdiction of the Federal Government

to such Federal reservations in respect to which the

United States had acquired exclusive jurisdiction.

This bill simply restores to the Federal

Government the jurisdiction it was recognized as

having until the Dravo decision was handed down.

The most significant effect of this bill is to grant

Federal courts concurrent criminal jurisdiction on

reservations where the United States does not have

exclusive jurisdiction.

H.R.Rep. No. 76-1623, at 1 (1940); see also Gatlin, 216 F.3d

at 219-20 n. 14 ("Notwithstanding this change, it is

apparent from what little legislative history there is of the

1940 Act... that, in making this change, the 76th Congress

did not intend to extend the reach of the statute to lands

outside the United States."); Bin Laden, 92 F.Supp.2d at

App. 65

210-11 & n. 37. In other words, Congress intended the

addition *1193 of "concurrent" to address the issue of a

state's concurrent jurisdiction.

The addition of "concurrent" in 1940, without any

contemporary indication that the change was brought

about by a desire to include locations in foreign countries,

undermines the majority's reliance on the statute's

reference to "concurrent" jurisdiction. I cannot agree with

the majority's unsupported assertron that there is no

reason "to presume that when, in 1940, Congress extended

criminal jurisdiction to those lands under the concurrent

authority of the United States, it intended to limit the

reach of subsection 7(3) to areas under the concurrent

authority of the states, but not those under the concurrent

authority of other sovereigns." Maj. Op. at 1175.

Although the presumption against extraterritoriality

applies to this statute, we do not need to presume

anything here--an examination of the statute and its

history indicates that § 7(3) does not extend to lands

abroad. The majority's quantum leap from the statute's

long-standing reference to "exclusive" jurisdiction to

assertion of jurisdiction over crimes in foreign countries

cannot be sustained.

The legislative history points to one conclusion: § 7(3)

applies only in the domestic context, not to federal

criminal jurisdiction beyond our borders.

IV. RESORT TO HISTORY |

The majority's effort to find support through reference

to the history of our nation's westward expansion and

overseas acquisitions in no way informs the question here.

Rather the history demonstrates simply that Congress

App. 66 -

knew how to extend explicitly the reach of the federal

criminal code when it so desired. 1am not persuaded by

the majority's attempts to locate in the general history of

our country's nineteenth century expansion evidence ofan

intent that a provision, which at the time covered only

lands over which the United States had "exclusive"

jurisdiction, would apply to places undoubtedly located

in foreign countries.

The majority begins with the statement that, at the turn

of the century (when the precursor to § 7(3) spoke only of

lands over which the U.S. had "exclusive" jurisdiction),

Americans "may have believed that, so long as territory

remained unequivocally foreign, it lay outside the

jurisdiction of the United States, [but] they were well

aware that territory could change hands, and the United

States could gain exclusive jurisdiction over territory that

other countries claimed as their own." Maj. Op. at 1173.

Indeed, as the majority points out, the turn of the century

marked a period of great expansion in our nation's

history, which suggests that "[t]his was clearly not a time

when Americans thought of their borders as static or of

foreign territory as sacrosanct." Id. at 1173. True enough,

but, at risk of being perceived as glib, I ask, so what?

Neither was this a time when Americans viewed

themselves as having exclusive jurisdiction over land

clearly within the territorial boundaries of a foreign

sovereign.

This historical digression does not advance our

inquiry, for we are dealing here with embassy housing

and a military base, not lands that became part of our

country through annexation, purchase or conquest, and as

such-fell within our exclusive jurisdiction. Nor are we

dealing with land over which United States sovereignty or

App. 67

jurisdiction is disputed. See Maj. Op. at 1175 ("Courts had

no hesitation about treating these territories as within our

exclusive jurisdiction, even though foreign governments

claimed the territory as their own.")."* The natural

‘* The majority's discussion of Watts v. United States, 1

Wash. Terr. 288 (Wash. Terr.1870), is incomplete. See Maj.

Op. at 1174-75. The statute at issue in that case was the

precursor to § 7(3) created by the 1790 Act. See 1790 Act,

ch. 9, § 3, 1 Stat. 113. The court in Watts first concluded

that, despite a conflict between the U.S. and Great Britain,

because the U.S. "claims San Juan Island, we must treat it

as under the general laws of the United States..." Watts,

1 Wash. Terr. at 296. The court, however, went on to find

that, "in order that the crime of which the defendant is

charged should be within the jurisdiction of the Court

below, it was not only necessary that it be committed within

the United States, but in a place within the ‘sole and exclusive

Jurisdiction of the United States.' This phrase ‘sole and

exclusive' means exclusive of any other domestic jurisdiction,

and has no reference to foreign authority." Id. (emphasis

added). The court then held that the U.S. did not have

sole and exclusive jurisdiction. Id. at 299.

Watts suggests that determining whether criminal

jurisdiction exists involves a two-part inquiry, namely:

(1) whether the land was within the U.S. and, if so, (2)

whether the U.S. had sole and exclusive jurisdiction over

that land. See also id. at 301 (Jacobs, C.J., dissenting) ("We

all agree that the phrase 'sole and exclusive jurisdiction’

as used in the [act] has no reference to a claim of

jurisdiction made by any foreign power, but to state and

(continued...)

App. 68

application of § 7(3)'s precursors to such lands does not

*1194 suggest, let alone conclusively determine, that

Congress expected property used by the United States but

located squarely and unequivocally within foreign

borders” to fall within our "exclusive" jurisdiction.”

'(.. continued)

federal jurisdiction, or as we are situated, to federal as

contradistinguished from Territorial jurisdiction."). The

implication of this reasoning is that the "exclusive or

concurrent" language of § 7(3) as it reads today similarly

pertains to the federal government vis a vis the states.

The majority's reliance on Jones v. United States, 137

U.S. 202, 11 S.Ct. 80, 34 L.Ed. 691 (1890), is also misplaced.

See Maj. Op. at 1174- 75. That case involved an island

containing guano deposits over which the U.S. had

exclusive jurisdiction, see id. at 217, 11 S.Ct. 80, and to

which Congress expressly extended federal criminal laws,

see id. at 211- 12, 11 S.Ct. 80. There was no question in

that case that Congress intended to bring the island at

issue within the scope of federal criminal jurisdiction,

although there was a question regarding Haiti's challenge

to U.S. sovereignty over the island. See id. at 219-24, 11

S.Ct. 80.

'S See United States v. Spelar, 338 U.S. 217, 219, 70 S.Ct.

10, 94 L.Ed. 3 (1949) (holding that "claims arising in a

foreign country" exclusion in Federal Tort Claims Act

applies to a leased U.S. airbase in Newfoundland because

the base remained subject to the sovereignty of Great

(continued...)

App. 69

The discussion of legislation extending federal

criminal jurisdiction to territory under Indian control and

islands claimed by Americans for their guano deposits

'°(.. continued)

Britain and therefore lay within a "foreign country").

'° The majority's recognition that the "original 1790 Act

provided basic criminal laws for lands outside the

jurisdiction of any other sovereign," Maj. Op. at 1173,

carries little weight here, for neither of these locations is

"outside the jurisdiction of any other sovereign."

Although embassy officials may be immune from

Prosecution in the host state, that does not imply that the

host state does not have jurisdiction over the embassy.

See Restatement (Third) of the Foreign Relations Law of

the United States § 466 cmt. a (1986) ("That [embassy]

Premises are inviolable does not mean that they are

extraterritorial. Acts committed on those premises are

within the territorial jurisdiction of the receiving state....").

Similarly, under the U.S.—Japan SOFA, the two countries

haveconcurrentjurisdiction over criminal acts committed

on military bases in Japan (presuming the acts are in fact

criminal under the laws of both countries). See SOFA, art.

XVII. In light of this situation, the government's

alternative argument--that jurisdiction lies under § 7(7),

which provides that the Special maritime and territorial

jurisdiction also includes "Any place outside the

jurisdiction of any nation with respect to an offense by or

against a national of the United States," is misplaced.

App. 70

also fails to provide support for the majority's decision.

See Maj. Op. at 1174-75.” Rather, these acts further

demonstrate that when it so desires, Congress knows how

to make explicit its intent to include lands within the reach

of the federal criminal code. In fact, the majority

underscores this conclusion by observing that "[w]hen the

United States claimed territory far beyond its borders,

Congress promptly extended federal jurisdiction to those

areas under U.S. control." Maj. Op. at 1175. Nor is the

majority's recognition that Congress "understood criminal

jurisdiction to extend to all lands claimed by the United

States, without regard to whether they were within a

particular state or even within the continental United

States," Maj. Op. at 1175, helpful, because the locations at

issue here are not "lands claimed by the United States."

*1195 The history of our westward expansion, while

interesting, is far afield from congressional intent in 1790

or remedial legislation adopted in 1940. To the extent we

look beyond the statute, I find the legislative history far

more instructive and compelling.

V. LEASED HOUSING AND MILITARY BASES

7 The guano islands are more akin to newly

discovered, previously unclaimed territory over which

the United States may assert exclusive jurisdiction, see

Jones v. United States, 137 US. at 212, 11 S.Ct. 80, than to

U.S. embassy housing and military bases located within

the borders of a foreign nation.

App. 71

Because I conclude that § 7(3) does not extend the

reach of 18 U.S.C. §§ 2241(a) and.2242(1) extraterritorially,

it is unnecessary to consider whether the United States

exercises "exclusive or concurrent" jurisdiction over the

leased housing or military base in this case. Nonetheless,

some discussion of the nature of these locations is useful,

as it illustrates the far-reaching consequences of the

majority opinion and the tremendous conflict it creates

with the long-held understanding of the Supreme Court,

Congress, the military, and the commentators.

A. Leased Housing

Bearing in mind that § 7(3) was intended at the outset

to extend only to lands under the exclusive control of the

United States, an apartment leased by the United States in

a foreign country is both legally and conceptually far

afield from that category. The United States is not an

infrequent tenant abroad. Under the majority's approach,

criminal jurisdiction would extend to more than 10,000

properties leased by the United States in foreign countries,

ranging from Australia to the Vatican City, and not

including extensive property leased by defense agencies.

See United States Gen. Servs. Admin., Summary Report

on Real Property Leased by the United States Throughout

the World as of September 30, 1999, at 13 (1999). Absent

congressional directive, we should not treat lightly such a

far flung extension of criminal jurisdiction.

B. Military Bases and the Jurisdictional Gap

Jurisdiction over civilians accompanying the military

abroad presents a special case. The United States typically

negotiates this jurisdiction with other countries via Status

of Forces Agreements ("SOFAs"). See Steven J. Lepper, A

App. 72

Primer on Foreign Criminal Jurisdiction, 37 A.F. L.Rev. 169,

171 (1994) ("Today, it is widely agreed that in the absence

of a treaty like SOFA, jurisdiction over foreign forces rests

exclusively with the host state.").’* The 1960 U.S.—Japan

SOFA follows the standard format,” giving Japan the

8 See generally 1 Oppenheim's International Law § 558, at

1157 (Robert Jennings & Arthur Watts eds., 9th ed. 1992)

("The view, formerly widely held, that the force was in all

respects to be regarded as beyond the jurisdiction of the

territorial state ... and subject only to that of its own

authorities can no longer be maintained. The fiction of

extra- territoriality has in this area, as in others, been

discarded.") (footnote omitted).

'9 Article XVII provides:

1. Subject to the provisions of this Article,

(a) the military authorities of the United

States shall have the right to exercise within Japan

all criminal and disciplinary jurisdiction conferred

on them by the law of the United States over all

persons subject to the military law of the United

States;

(b) the authorities of Japan shall have

jurisdiction over the members of the United States

armed forces, the civilian component, and their

dependants with respect to offenses committed

within the territory of Japan and punishable by the

law of Japan.

A complete reading of the SOFA suggests that the

(continued...)

App. 73

exclusive power to prosecute American civilians like

Corey when their offenses are not punishable under the

laws of the United States.”

“1196 Until the Supreme Court's ruling in Reid v.

Covert, 354 U.S. 1, 77 S.Ct. 1222, 1 L.Ed.2d 1148 (1957), it

was generally presumed that United States military courts

had jurisdiction over civilians accompanying the military

who committed crimes abroad. See Gatlin, 216 F.3d at 220

n. 15; Lepper, 37 A.F. L.Rev. at 171. In Reid, however, the

Supreme Court held to the contrary, concluding that the

exercise of jurisdiction over a civilian dependent in a

'9(...continued)

land remained Japanese territory. See, e.g., Art. XXII

("The Government of Japan agrees to seek such legislation

and to take such other action as may be necessary to

ensure the adequate security and protection within its

territory of installations, equipment, property, records and

official information of the United States, and for the

punishment of offenders under the applicable laws of

Japan.") (emphasis added).

* Article XVII § 2(b) provides for Japan's jurisdiction

over dependents of the U.S. military in Japan for offenses

punishable under the law of Japan by not under the law

of the U.S.; "The authorities of Japan shall have the right

to exercise exclusive jurisdiction over members of the

United States armed forces, the civilian component, and

their dependants with respect to offenses ... punishable by

its law but not by the law of the United States."

App. 74

capital case during peacetime was unconstitutional. See

Reid, 354 U.S. at 40-41, 77 S.Ct. 1222. In so holding, the

Court created a "jurisdictional gap" with respect to

civilians accompanying the military abroad. See Gregory

A. McClelland, The Problem of Jurisdiction Over Civilians

Accompanying the Forces Overseas-Still With Us, 117 Mil. L.

Rev. 153, 173-74 (1987).

Although the Court was not addressing § 7(3), Reid

suggests that the Court was aware of the jurisdictional gap

issue. For example, Justice Frankfurter noted that the

government argued that an adverse decision meant that

"only a foreign trial could be had." 354 U.S. at 48, 77 S.Ct.

1222 (Frankfurter, J., concurring). Similarly, Justice Clark

recognized that "[t]he only alternative remaining--

probably the alternative that the Congress will now be

forced to choose--is that Americans committing offenses

on foreign soil be tried by the courts of the country in

which the offense is committed." Id. at 88, 77 . Ct. 1222

(Clark, J., dissenting).

Three years after Reid, in Kinsella v. United States ex rel.

Singleton, 361 U.S. 234, 80 S.Ct. 297, 4 L.Ed.2d 268 (1960),

the dilemma of the jurisdictional gap again surfaced.

With respect to civilians accompanying the military

outside the United States, the Court pointed to "the want

of legislation providing for trials in capital cases in Article

III courts sitting in the United States," noting that, "[a]t

argument, the Government indicated that there had been

no effort in the Congress to make any provision for the

prosecution of such cases either in continental United

States or in foreign lands." Id. at 245, 80 S.Ct. 297. Justice

Whittaker agreed that "jurisdiction of our civil courts does

not extend" to "bases in foreign lands." Id. at 276, 80 S.Ct.

App. 75

297 (Whittaker, J., concurring in part and dissenting in

part). Finally, Justice Harlan, in dissent, wrote that the

Court's decisions "are ... regrettable because they are

bound to disturb delicate arrangements with many foreign

countries, and may result in our having to relinquish to

other nations ... a substantial part of the jurisdiction now

retained over American personnel under the Status of

Forces Agreements." /d. at 259, 80 S.Ct. 297 (Harlan, J.,

dissenting).

The majority gives short shrift to the conclusion that

such a jurisdictional gap exists. See Maj. Op. at 1172 n. 3.

But Congress recently passed legislation specifically to

close the gap. See Military Extraterritorial Jurisdiction Act

of 2000, S. 768, 106th Cong. (2000).?!_ I view the recent

legislation as confirmatory "icing on the cake" and not, as

the majority suggests, evidence of congressional intent in

1790. The gap is not illusory. Prior to this new legislation,

Congress made numerous efforts to enact legislation to fill

the gap. See Gatlin, 216 F.3d at 222 n. 23 (documenting

multiple failed congressional attempts to close gap);

Susan S. Gibson, Lack of Extraterritorial Jurisdiction Over

Civilians: A New Look at an Old Problem, 148 Mil. L.Rev.

114, 136-37 (1995); Thomas G. Becker, Justice on the Far

Side of the World: The Continuing Problem of Misconduct by

Civilians Accompanying the Armed Forces in Foreign

Countries, 18 Hastings Int'l & Comp. L. Rev. 277, 287 (1995)

(discussing recent proposals to make conduct that would

be punishable if committed within the special maritime

and territorial jurisdiction also punishable if committed by

civilians accompanying the armed forces overseas);

*! The legislation awaits the President’s signature.

App. 76

Robinson O. Everett and Laurent R. Hourcle, Crime

Without Punishment-Ex-Servicemen, Civilian Employees and

Dependants, 13 US.A.FJ.A.G. L. Rev. 184 (1971)

(discussing § 7(3) at length); McClelland, supra at 199-200

(discussing *1197 proposals to expand § 7(3) during the

1980s that would have covered crimes committed "within

a United States military installation abroad"). Although

this new legislation does not apply to Corey, it certainly

confirms the existence of the gap in this case--and, by

implication, the conclusion that § 7(3) does not fill the gap.

Moreover, the military has also recognized the existence

of this jurisdictional gap. See Department of. Defense

Overseas Jurisdiction Advisory Committee, Report of the

Advisory Committee on Crim

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Corey v. United States · 534 U.S. 887 | Frix