Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ross v. Federal Highway Administration

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supr

B01900 Yu W200]

OFFICE oF

No. THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

THOMASINE ROSS, et al.,

Petitioners,

FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION, et al.,

Respondents.

+

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Tenth Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

Bruce PLENK

Counsel of Record

Law Office oF Bruce PLENK

16 East 13th Street

Lawrence, KS 66044

(785) 840-0077

(785) 842-3039

Rosert V. Eve

IRIGONEGARAY & ASSOCIATES

1535 S.W. 29th Street

Topeka, KS 66611

(785) 267-6115

(785) 267-9458

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

Pyhnbeesrntios

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a Court of Appeals must disregard its own

findings of arbitrary, capricious and unjustified govern-

ment action and wholly defer to a district court’s finding

of substantial justification of the government's position in

denying EAJA fees to a prevailing party?

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

IN THE COURT BELOW

The full names of the petitioners in this case are:

Thomasine Ross; Stanley Ross; Anjanette Bitsie; Pemina

Yellowbird; Jason Daniels; Wetlands Preservation Organi-

zation; and Kansas University Environs, Kansas Unincor-

porated Associations,

The full names of the respondents in this case are:

Federal Highway Administration; David Geiger, in his

Official Capacity as Division Administrator, Federal

Highway Administration; Mark Buhler, Tom Taul, and

Dean Nieder, in their Official Capacities as County Com-

missioners of Douglas County, Kansas; and E. Dean Car-

lson, in His Official Capacity as Kansas Secretary of

Transportation.

PFs ee OS

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

es ae a ns ehh ab ewe wells i

BN EE PEND ccc cecercnndcesuccnsessevedsessa ii

6s ocenntvissous bevessoccdassevens iii

SE ee SIND 60 osc acecnccscccsetesccuscessee iv

TE SikeWhecetecnesannecebesscesbcasens 1

RE SE EE pe ee Ee Pn i 1

Statutory Provision Involved...................000 2

i ee Cl yobs secvecteatdexdcnseewsewe 2

Reasons for Granting the Writ..................... 4

EE 96.66.5046 00440 W046. 006b000050k0seuen des 9

PDC Stee an svendccncccvccncssustecereseee App. 1

Ross et al. v. Federal Highway, et al., 242 F.3d 390

(10th Cir. 2001) (table), 2001 WL 23148 (10th

CMU CEE AUG Vee iso ae Ceeess baeticcencea App. 1

Ross et al. v. Federal Highway, et al., 1999 WL

NE GE EE bing soos aéedenduscdparedccea App. 10

Ross et al. v. Federal Highway, et al., Order deny-

ing motion to alter or amend (1999)......... App. 19

Ross et al. v. Federal Highway, et al.,972 F. Supp.

Se cus ow ded bbe en ebbe eeewss App. 22

Ross et al. v. Federal Highway, et al., 162 F.3d 1046

SE ME 6a NSe eek awbcaninte ssc dacenn'e App. 49

Ross et al. v. Federal Highway, et al., Order deny-

Se EE CED so cdscncccnedcaccacccecea App. 68

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Christianson v. Colt Indus. Operating Corp., 486 US

Pe SOOM Kh db cb edccieccctecvésaghaxiandennunetas si 8

Citizens Council of Delaware County v. Brinegar, 741

POG SEG COU GE TR a oc seen ccecscanssscassescsas 4

Contractor’s Sand and Gravel, Inc. v. Federal Mine

Safety and Health Review Comm’‘n., 199 F.3d 1335

ie Gee So ov ok eho ndeyns.be00-4440ksbécdenahaeske 8

FDIC v. Oldenburg, 34 F.3d 1529 (10th Cir. 1994)...... 6

Federal Election Comm'n. v. Political Contributions

Data, Inc., 995 F.2d 383 (2nd Cir. 1993)............. 8

Friends of the Boundary Waters Wilderness v. Thomas,

me LO SOE GOU CAe BORED s ov acencccsivecccseansecs 7

Herman v. Schwent, 177 F.3d 1063 (8th Cir. 1999)...... 7

Marcus v. Shalala, 17 F.3d 1033 (7th Cir. 1994)........ 7

Pierce v. Underwood, 487 US 552 (1988)..... 4, 5, 6, 7, 9

Ross, et al. v. Federal Highway, et al., 972 F.Supp. 552

DUPER o \nwksneanavdecenedalcacceabewaneee un

Ross, et al. v. Federal Highway, et al., 162 F.3d 1046

CR CN. Bes bv cvna dba nsddchvnes saseennaaws 1,3

Ross, et al. v. Federal Highway, et al., 1999 WL

SENOS TERNS kik Kad cdrdanseiadedcapunnnsan benans 1

Ross, et al. v. Federal Highway, et al., 242 F.3d 390

(10th Cir. 2001), 2001 WL 23148 (10th Cir.)..1, 5, 6, 8

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

US v. Hallmark Construction Co., 200 F.3d 1076 (7th

Che, DOOD) occ cicsacseacevekeasesecasansaasnaneessss 7

US v. Paisley, 957 F.2d 1161 (4th Cir. 1992)...... 4,6, 7

Village of Los Ranchos de Albuquerque v. Barnhart,

906 F.2d 1477 (10th Cir. 1990)............. ee eee eee 3

Statutes & RULES

2B USC & 125MA) 2 ncn cca cccadesdsccccusccassnessseas 1

yp BS, oe a) erererrrrrrrper rrr rere ry ry ce rrr. 2

28 USC § 2412(d)(1)(A) .........- cece eee e renee 2, 3, 4

Rule Séid), BELCIOP. oc cssccccnsnevesecscecsanssuwan 3

OTHER MATERIALS

H.Rep. No. 1418, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 5-6, 9-10

(1980), reprinted in 1989 US Code Cong. &

Admin. News at 4984, 4988-89............-2eeeeees 4

Seat ee oe

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Thomasine Ross and other petitioners respectfully

petition for a Writ of Certiorari to review the judgment of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Tenth Circuit is reported in table form at 242 F.3d 390

(10th Cir. 2001), at 2001 WL 23148 (10th Cir.) and is

included in the Appendix at 1. The order denying the

petition for rehearing is included in the Appendix at 68.

The opinion of the district court is reported only at 1999

WL 381460 (D.Kan.) and is included in the Appendix at

10. The district court order denying a motion to alter or

amend is included in the Appendix at 19. The underlying

opinions on the merits are found at 972 F.Supp. 552

(D.Kan 1997) and 162 F.3d 1046 (10th Cir. 1998) and are

included in the Appendix at 22 and 49, respectively.

eo

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered its judgment on January

10, 2001, and denied the petition for rehearing on March

21, 2001. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 USC § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

The Equal Access to Justice Act (EAJA), 28 USC §

2412(d)(1)(A) provides that:

. a-court shall award to a prevailing

party ... fees and other expenses . . . incurred

by that party in any civil action . . . brought by

or against the United States . . . unless the court

finds that the position of the United States was

substantially justified... .

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners in this case are Native Americans and

environmentalists who use a wetlands near a proposed

highway in Kansas for spiritual, recreational, educational

and environmental purposes. They successfully argued to

the district court that NEPA applied to the road project,

that it was arbitrary and capricious for the US Federal

Highway Administration to discontinue a partially-com-

pleted Supplemental Environmental Impact Statement

(SEIS) and abandon its NEPA responsibilities some ten

years after that process was begun and that the environ-

mental studies needed to be completed before a route for

the highway was selected. Jurisdiction was invoked

under 28 USC § 1331 (federal question). The court

granted preliminary and permanent injunctions halting

any further road-building activities until NEPA was com-

plied with. The district court found the agencies’ action

of not completing the SEIS arbitrary and capricious under

the Administrative Procedure Act. 972 F.Supp. 552

(D.Kan. 1997).

a ath i erie ts

Deke Se MIRAE

The respondent agencies appealed that decision. The

Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals unanimously affirmed,

finding that “it was simply too late for the state of Kansas

to convert the eastern segment into a local project.” 162

F.3d at 1052-53. That court also looked closely at the state

of the law in 1997 and especially an earlier Tenth Circuit

case, Village of Los Ranchos de Albuquerque v. Barnhart, 906

F.2d 1477 (10th Cir. 1990), on which the federal respon-

dents had fully based their position in litigation. The

Court of Appeals stated that “nothing in Los Ranchos

supports the government's decision to ‘defederalize’ the

eastern segment of the South Lawrence Trafficway.” 162

F.3d 1053.

Petitioners then sought attorneys fees and costs pur-

suant to the Equal Access to Justice Act (EAJA) (28 USC §

2412) and Rule 54(d), F.R.Civ.P. The district court denied

this motion finding the government’s position was sub-

stantially justified. The district court denied a motion to

alter or amend. The 10th Circuit Court of Appeals

affirmed this denial of fees under a strict standard of

review, finding that despite their own contrary opinion

on the merits, they could not overturn the district court’s

denial of fees unless that decision was “whimsical or

manifestly unreasonable.” A petition for rehearing and

rehearing en banc was also denied.

Ultimately, the agencies completed the SEIS and con-

cluded that the road should not be built through the

wetlands.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE TENTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION CONFLICTS

WITH DECISIONS OF THIS COURT AND OTHER

CIRCUIT COURTS CONCERNING THE APPRO-

PRIATE METHOD OF REVIEW FOR DECISIONS

ON ATTORNEY FEES UNDER THE EQUAL

ACCESS TO JUSTICE ACT.

The fundamental issue presented in this case is

whether the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals has distorted

the holding of Pierce v. Underwood, 487 US 552 (1988) to

frustrate the purpose of the Equal Access to Justice Act

(EAJA) (28 USC § 2412) by denying attorneys fees to

citizens who successfully sue the government.

The policy underlying EAJA was to reduce the dis-

parity in resources between the US government and those

seeking review of or defending against unreasonable gov-

ernment action by reimbursing those citizens and small

businesses who were successful in this activity. See

H.Rep. No. 1418, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 5-6, 9-10 (1980),

reprinted in 1989 US Code Cong. & Admin. News at 4984,

4988-89, cited in Citizens Council of Delaware County v.

Brinegar, 741 F.2d 584, 589-90 (3rd Cir. 1984). EAJA pro-

vides for this fee shifting to assist those willing to litigate

meritorious claims against the government who are ulti-

mately successful. US v. Paisley, 957 F.2d 1161, 1164 (4th

Cir. 1992). The details of such fee shifting and how the

courts are to determine the appropriateness of EAJA

awards has been undergoing refinement for more than a

decade but has now been severely undermined by the

Tenth Circuit.

Fernar.

AED ANAL BAT. Opiate 4 RB ot thi

In Pierce v. Underwood, 487 US 552 (1988) this Court

determined that an abuse of discretion standard was

appropriate in the review by appellate courts of district

court decisions awarding or denying EAJA attorney fees,

granting “deferential review of a district court’s decision

regarding attorney fees under EAJA.” 487 US 563. The

Pierce court also discussed the appropriate manner of

reviewing district court decisions concerning whether the

government's position was “substantially justified,” the

issue here. 487 US 563.

After rejecting de novo appellate court review in favor

of an abuse of discretion standard, the Pierce court

reviewed the “actual merits of the Government's litigat-

ing position,” including the statutory language, the case

law the government relied on to support its position, and

the opposing case law cited by the respondents to deter-

mine if the district court was correct in its decision that

the government's position was not substantially justified.

487 US 569-71.

The Tenth Circuit has adopted a distorted and

crabbed view of the abuse of discretion analysis required

by Pierce which has the effect, as here, of essentially

protecting from review an erroneous denial of EAJA fees

to a prevailing plaintiff. While starting with Pierce, Slip

Op. at 5, App. at 4-5, the court reviewed its prior merits

opinion in this matter, quoted the portion of that opinion

which found nothing in then-existing case law to support

the government’s position, but then turned away from its

proper duty of review and “rubber-stamped” the district

court opinion. The appellate court held that since the

district court decision was “neither ‘whimsical’ nor ‘man-

ifestly unreasonable’” it must be sustained under the

abuse of discretion standard. Slip Op. at 8, App. at 8. This

is clear error, inconsistent with Pierce, and in conflict with

other circuit courts.

The Tenth Circuit has now authored over one hun-

dred opinions using its “whimsey” standard as an elab-

oration of the abuse of discretion standard. While there

may be some basis for this standard in reviewing evi-

dence-intensive trial decisions, where the standard origi-

nated, see FDIC v. Oldenburg, 34 F.3d 1529, 1555 (10th Cir.

1994), there is little reason to apply it in the EAJA fees

context, particularly here, where the district court is con-

sidering the fees application in light of the law as set forth

by the appeals court. This is clearly a distortion of the Pierce

standard.

The difference is also evident when the decision here

is compared with EAJA decisions from other circuits

effectuating the Pierce standard. Take US v. Paisley, 957

F.2d 1161, 1165-68 (4th Cir. 1992). That court distin-

guished Pierce, where the underlying merits portion of

the case was settled, from cases like the present case

where the merits were litigated and then the fee applica-

tion presented to the district court. The Paisley court

found that Pierce set out a level of deference to the trial

court “considerably short of a simple accept-on-faith,

rubber-stamping of district court decisions on this issue.”

957 F.2d at 1166. That court then tracked the Pierce anal-

ysis, reviewing the “objective indicia” of the strength of

the government's position, finding that the district court

had erred as a matter of law, and that that was an abuse

of discretion. 957 F.2d 1165.

Perhaps more significantly, the Paisley court looked at ~

4 the merits decisions that it and this Court had entered

i and substantively reviewed the district court fees decision in

light of those decisions. The conclusion: the rationales of

the merits decision(s) are the “most powerful available

i indicators of the strength, hence reasonableness, of the

i ultimately rejected position.” 957 F.2d at 1167.

The Seventh Circuit has used a similar in-depth anal-

ysis in a recent EAJA case which directly conflicts with

the Tenth Circuit approach as well. In US v. Hallmark

Construction Co., 200 F.3d 1076 (7th Cir. 2000), that court

explained that the Pierce abuse of discretion standard

“does not dilute our meaningful examination of the dis-

trict court’s decision.” Then the court remanded for fur-

ther explanation of the district court’s denial of fees in

light of the merits opinion which so strongly favored the

defendant against the government, relying on earlier

cases with similar findings. See, Marcus v. Shalala, 17 F.3d

1033, 1037 (7th Cir. 1994).

The Eighth Circuit also engages in intensive review

of these district court decisions on EAJA applications.

Thus, in Friends of the Boundary Waters Wilderness v.

Thomas, 53 F.3d 881, 885 (8th Cir. 1995) the court used its

own opinion on the merits as the starting point for

reviewing and reversing the district court’s denial of fees.

“ |. our conclusion that the Chief’s position was plainly

contrary to existing law counsels so strongly against the

conclusion that the Chief’s position was substantially

justified that it must determine the outcome.” See also

Herman v. Schwent, 177 F.3d 1063 (8th Cir. 1999).

a

%

The DC Circuit has also held that a decision on the

merits may in essence resolve the substantial justification

issue where the standards used are close and all issues

are resolved, as they were here. See Contractor's Sand and

Gravel, Inc. v. Federal Mine Safety and Health Review

Comm’n., 199 F.3d 1335 (DC Cir. 2000) (agency decision).

And the Second Circuit has used this standard for many

years. See, e.g. Federal Election Comm'n. v. Political Contri-

butions Data, Inc., 995 F.2d 383 (2nd Cir. 1993).

Clearly, the Tenth Circuit's rubber stamp failure to

genuinely review the district court decision is in conflict

with most other circuits. This Court should resolve this

impasse and make the review standard the same for

litigants in the intermountain region as that used in the

rest of the country.

The other problem with the Tenth Circuit opinion is

that it contradicts traditional rules of the law of the case,

as established both at common law and by this Court. In

Christianson v. Colt Indus. Operating Corp., 486 US 800

(1988) and numerous other cases, this doctrine makes

clear that decisions of a court, or a panel of a court, are

binding as to future litigation of those same issues in that

case.

Here, however, ignoring the law of the case that it

had established itself in the merits phase of the case, the

court of appeals concluded that it must defer to the

district court’s odd interpretation of the appellate court's

own opinion unless that opinion was “whimsical or mani-

festly unreasonable.” Slip. Op. at 7-8, App. at 8. Finding

that it was neither, the court of appeals affirmed this

district court rewrite of its opinion. This violates the law

of the case and is an improper application of Pierce.

¢

CONCLUSION

The Tenth Circuit has undercut the standard of

review articulated by this Court in Pierce and established

a policy of review of EAJA fee denials which destroys the

key aspects of that statute. By rubber-stamping the dis-

trict court denial in the face of its own contrary decision

on the merits of the case and its own discussion of the

inadequate basis for the government’s position, that court

has departed from the procedure used in numerous other

circuits and thwarted the intent of Congress in the act.

This Court should grant certiorari to resolve this conflict

in the circuits and this improper application of its earlier

case.

Respectfully submitted,

Bruce PLENK

Counsel of Record

Law Office OF BRUCE PLENK

16 East 13th Street

’ Lawrence, KS 66044

(785) 840-0077

(785) 842-3039

Rosert V. EYE

IRIGONEGARAY & ASSOCIATES

1535 S.W. 29th Street

Topeka, Kansas 66611

(785) 267-6115

ee er Mee eee ne

App. 1

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

THOMASINE ROSS; STANLEY _)

ROSS; ANJANETTE BITSIE;

PAMINA YELLOWBIRD; JASON

DANIELS; and WETLANDS No. 99-3269

PRESERVATION (D. Kansas)

ORGANIZATION and KANSAS (D.C. No.

UNIVERSITY ENVIRONS, Kansas

unincorporated associations,

Civ-97-2132-GTV)

(Jan. 10, 2001)

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V.

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

FEDERAL HIGHWAY .

ADMINISTRATION; DAVID

GEIGER, in his official capacity )

as Division Administrator, )

Federal Highway Administration; )

MARK BUHLER, TOM TAUL,

DEAN NEIDER, in their official

capacities as County

Commissioners of Douglas

County, Kansas; and E. DEAN

CARLSON, in his official

capacity as Kansas Secretary of )

Transportation, )

)

Defendants-Appellees.

ORDER AND JUDGMENT™*

Before KELLY, ANDERSON, and HENRY, Circuit

Judges.

*This order and judgment is not binding precedent, except

under the doctrines of law of the case, res judicata, and

collateral estoppel. The court generally disfavors the citation of

orders and judgments; nevertheless, an order and judgment

may be cited under the terms and conditions of 10th Cir. R. 36.3.

App. 2

Plaintiffs brought this action seeking declaratory and

injunctive relief against the defendant federal and state

officials. They contended that in planning and building a

highway near Lawrence, Kansas, defendants failed to

comply with the National Environmental Policy Act of

1969 (NEPA), 42 U.S.C. §§ 4321-4347. The district court

found in favor of the plaintiffs, and enjoined the defen-

dants from taking any further action on the uncompleted

eastern portion of the highway project until the require-

ments of NEPA had been met. See Ross v. Federal Highway

Administration, 972 F.Supp. 552, 562-63 (D. Kan. 1997).

This court affirmed that judgment in Ross v. Federal High-

way Administration, 162 F.3d 1046 (10th Cir. 1998) [here-

inafter Ross II ]. Plaintiffs then filed a motion in the

district court for attorneys’ fees and costs pursuant to the

Equal Access to Justice Act (EAJA), 28 U.S.C. § 2412, and

Fed.R.Civ.P. 54(d). The district court denied both fees and

costs. The plaintiffs now appeal. We have jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1291 and affirm the judgment of

the district court.

I. BACKGROUND

As the facts of this case were described in detail in

Ross II, 162 F.3d at 1048-50, we will only briefly recount

that background.

In 1986, federal, state, and local officials began to

plan the South Lawrence Trafficway, a highway bypass

which was supposed to traverse the south side of Law-

rence, Kansas. The project was jointly funded under the

Federal-Aid Highway Act, 23 U.S.C. §§ 101-189. Most of

the highway was constructed and is in use. However,

ot ke

App. 3

before the eastern portion of the project could be built, a

neighboring educational institution (Haskell Indian

Nation University), as well as several community groups,

raised objections to its location. These objections

appeared to necessitate a Supplemental Environmental

Impact Statement (SEIS) under NEPA. Instead of complet-

ing the SEIS, though, the federal and state highway offi-

cials decided to “defederalize” the unbuilt eastern

segment of the highway.

Although the federal government had funded a sig-

nificant percentage of the trafficway’s total coast [sic],

relatively little federal money had been spent directly on

the eastern segment, which was to be primarily paid for

by the state. Apparently, federal and state highway offi-

cials concluded that the eastern segment could conse-

quently be “defederalized” - i.e. redefined as an

independent state project. If the project were thus

redefined, NEPA would not apply, and an SEIS would not

be required. Accordingly, in early 1997, the Federal High-

way Administration published a notice of its intent to

withdraw from both the eastern segment of the project

and the SEIS, which would allow the state to proceed

with construction.

The plaintiffs then sued, arguing that this defederal-

ization was improper. The district court agreed; it ruled

that because all federal appropriations for the trafficway

had included the eastern segment in the trafficway’s

description, the entire project should be considered fed-

eral, even if little federal money was actually to be spent

on the eastern segment. It therefore enjoined further

action on the eastern segment, pending completion of the

SEIS. Ross, 972 F.Supp. at 562-63.

2

$s

e

| ee

App. 4

On appeal, this court upheld the ruling of the district

court, although our rationale was slightly different. We

held that by 1997, the “advanced stage” of the bypass

collaboration meant “it was simply too late for the state

of Kansas to convert the eastern segment into a local

project.” Ross II, 162 F.3d at 1052-53. Despiie the relatively

small federal expenditures directly related to the eastern

segment, we wrote, “[t]he federal nature of the trafficway

was so pervasive that the Kansas authorities could not rid

the project of federal involvement simply by withdrawing

the last segment of the project from federal funding.” Id.

at 1053 (citations omitted).

The plaintiffs next filed a motion in the district court

for attorneys’ fees and costs. The district court denied

attorneys’ fees against both the federal and state defen-

dants, and on separate grounds also denied costs. The

plaintiffs now appeal.

Il. DISCUSSION

A. Denial of Attorneys’ Fees from Federal Defen-

dants

Under the EAJA, a party that prevails in a civil action

against the United States is entitled to fees and other

expenses, “unless the court finds that the position of the

United States was substantially justified or that special

circumstances make an award unjust.” 28 U.S.C.

§ 2412(d)(1)(A). In the present case, the district court

found that the government's litigating position was sub-

stantially justified. We review the district court’s ruling

on this question for an abuse of discretion. Pierce v.

App. 5

Underwood, 487 U.S. 552, 562 (1988); Gilbert v. Shalala, 45

F.3d 1391, 1394 (10th Cir. 1995).

In order to determine whether the federal govern-

ment’s position was substantially justified, a court must

ask whether that position was justified “in substance or

in the main.” Pierce, 487 U.S. at 564. A position is substan-

tially justified if it has “a reasonable basis both in law and

fact,” or is “justified to a degree that could satisfy a

reasonable person.” Id. at 565. Here, the district court

found that when the government announced its intent to

withdraw from the SEIS. its position was reasonable,

based on “the case law governing in 1997.” Aplt’s

Supp.App. at 22 (District Court Order filed May 24, 1999).

Applying this standard, the district court placed par-

ticular weight on Village of Los Ranchos de Albuquerque v.

Barnhart, 906 F.2d 1477 (10th Cir. 1990). In Los Ranchos, the

federal government had been involved in preparing an

environmental impact statement (EIS) for a proposed

highway river crossing project in New Mexico. The river

crossing project was near another major federal project, a

highway interchange, but had been “segmented” from

the interchange for funding purposes. Id. at 1482. The

federal government withdrew from the river crossing

project after completing the EIS, but before construction

began; the river crossing was to be funded thereafter by

non-federal authorities. Neighbors of the river crossing

who were opposed to the project then sued. They argued

that the project could not be defederalized for two rea-

sons: because the prior federal involvement with the EIS

precluded defederalization, and because the river cross-

ing had been improperly separated from the federal high-

way interchange project.

App. 6

This court held that both segmentation and

defederalization had been proper. We emphasized that

because the federal government’s involvement had ended

very early in the project, and because the federal mone-

tary contribution had been a very small fraction of the

river crossing’s expected cost, federal involvement was

minimal, and defederalization was permissible. Los

Ranchos, 906 F.2d at 1480-82. We also held that segmenta-

tion had been proper. “Even if a local project terminates

at a point of juncture with a federally funded project,” we

wrote, such a juncture would not “preclude” segmenta-

tion of the two projects. Id. at 1483.

In the present action, the district court emphasized

that before our decision on the merits in this case, Los

Ranchos was the controlling case in this circuit. It found

that the Federal Highway Administration

believed that, under its reading and interpreta-

tion of Village of Los Ranchos and other federal

appellate court case law, the eastern segment of

the [South Lawrence] trafficway was not a

“major federal action” because it was to be com-

pleted without the use of further federal funds

and because the FHWA no longer had the

authority to exercise control in the planning or

construction of the segment.

Aplit’s Supp.App. at 22. The district court concluded that

under Los Ranchos, there was a reasonable basis for both

the government's action and its litigating position.

The plaintiffs now argue that even in 1997, the law

suggested defederalization of the eastern segment would

be unreasonable. Essentially, the plaintiffs maintain that

sak a abacwacdedimenss

ete hah lia tle ai itd ea le Mik IE te

App. 7

Los Ranchos is factually distinct from the Kansas contro-

versy, making it valueless as precedent. They further

contend that all relevant cases other than Los Ranchos

have rejected defederalization.

Our earlier opinion in this case does indeed state that

“nothing in Los Ranchos” supports the government's

“decision to ‘defederalize’ the eastern segment of the

South Lawrence trafficway.” Ross II, 162 F.3d at 1053. The

present case, we found, differs “significantly” from the

facts in Los Ranchos. Id. It also approves of the cases

plaintiffs cited in support of their position, especially

Scottsdale Mall v. State of Indiana, 549 F.2d 484 (7th -ir.

1977). In Scottsdale Mall, the state had attempted to

defederalize a highway project in order to circumvent

NEPA. The Seventh Circuit ruled that because there had™

been significant federal involvement in all stages of the

project prior to the attempted defederalization, the

attempt was improper. Id. at 488-90. As a result, plaintiffs

urge us to find that the government's position was not

substantially justified.

However, under the “abuse of discretion” standard of

review, we cannot reverse the district court unless we

have “a definite and firm conviction that the lower court

made a clear error of judgment or exceeded the bounds of

permissible choice in the circumstances.” McEwen v. City

of Norman, 926 F.2d 1539, 1553-54 (10th Cir. 1991). The

district court’s judgment may only be reversed for an

abuse of discretion if it appears “arbitrary, capricious,

whimsical, or manifestly unreasonable.” FDIC v. Olden-

burg, 34 F.3d 1529, 1555 (10th Cir. 1994).

App. 8

Despite the plaintiffs’ contentions and our decision in

Ross, the district court’s conclusion was neither “whimsi-

cal” nor “manifestly unreasonable.” Although Scottsdale

Mall supported the plaintiffs’ position (and raised ques-

tions about the government's), it was not binding author-

ity in this circuit. See Garcia by Garcia v. Miera, 817 F.2d

650, 658 (10th Cir. 1987) (affirming that the decisions of

one circuit court of appeals are not binding upon another

circuit). In contrast, Los Ranchos, a case from within our

circuit, addressed issues of highway segmentation and

defederalization and provided some support for the gov-

ernment’s contentions.

Here, the district court found that because Los

Ranchos appeared to be the most relevant precedent, it

was not unreasonable for the Federal Highway Adminis-

tration to rely upon that case in formulating its argu-

ments. In other words, in order to have a “substantially

justified” litigating position, the FHWA need not have

predicted or foreseen our decision on the merits here,

which followed the reasoning of Scottsdale Mall and dis-

tinguished Los Ranchos. This conclusion by the district

court was neither “whimsical” nor “manifestly unreason-

able.” We therefore conclude that the district court did

not abuse its discretion in denying the plaintiffs’ motion

for attorneys’ fees.}

1 Because we conclude Los Ranchos provides sufficient

support for the district court’s ruling, we need not address the

relevance of 23 U.S.C. § 145.

SA ARAM ITER eh IY WA Et Hebe

App. 9

B. Denial of Costs From All Defendants

Because the plaintiffs did not file a bill of costs within

thirty days after the final judgment, as required by the

local court rules, the district court denied plaintiffs their

costs. See D. Kan. Rule 54.1. Plaintiffs state that while

they did not file a bill of costs on the specific form

required by the local Kansas rule, they did submit their

costs as part of an affidavit for attorneys’ fees under the

EAJA. This, they propose, “compl[ies] with the intent” of

the Kansas rule. Aplt’s Br. at 24.

We have on many occasions found that “the district

court is entitled to considerable deference in its inter-

pretation and application of its own rules of practice and

procedure.” Mitchell v. Maynard, 80 F.3d 1433, 1447 (10th

Cir. 1996). Although we might have held differently (not-

ing the confusion that could have resulted from the EAJA

application), under this deferential standard, it was per-

missible for the district court to find that plaintiffs’ affi-

davit did not sufficiently comply with the local rule

requiring a bill of costs.

Ill. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the dis-

trict court is AFFIRMED.

Entered for the Court,

Robert H. Henry

- Circuit Judge

App. 10

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF KANSAS

THOMASINE ROSS, STANLEY

ROSS, ANJANETTE BITSIE,

PAMINA YELLOWBIRD, JASON

DANIELS, WETLANDS

PRESERVATION ORGANIZATION,

and KANSAS UNIVERSITY

— ~~ es ee ee ee”

ENVIRONS, ) CIVIL ACTION

Plaintiffs, ‘ No. 97-2132-GTV

(FILED

= MAY 24, 1999)

FEDERAL HIGHWAY

ADMINISTRATION; DAVID

GEIGER, Division Administrator,

Federal Highway Administration;

- MARK BUHLER, TOM TAUL,

DEAN NEIDER, Douglas County,

Kansas Commissioners; and E.

DEAN CARLSON, Secretary of

the Kansas Department of

Transportation,

|

Defendants.

eee eee eee eee ee

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

Plaintiffs brought this action seeking declaratory and

injunctive relief against all defendants for their failure to

comply with the National Environmental Policy Act of

1969 (“NEPA”), 42 U.S.C. § 4321 et seq., in the planning

and construction of the eastern leg of the South Lawrence

Trafficway in Douglas County, Kansas. After an evidenti-

ary hearing, this court found in favor of plaintiffs, and

enjoined defendants from taking any action or expending

Liha PO ead Dal Met WS TNT

DENSA CALE POLL LM CHS Ate se

App. 11

any funds to complete the eastern leg of the trafficway.

On appeal, this court’s order was affirmed by the United

States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit. Ross v.

Federal Highway Admin., 162 F.3d 1046 (10th Cir. 1998).

The case is now before the court on plaintiffs’ motion

(Doc. 65) for attorneys’ fees and costs pursuant to the

Equal Access to Justice Act (“EAJA”), 28 U.S.C. § 2412,

and Fed.R.Civ.P. 54(d). For the reasons set forth in this

memorandum and order, plaintiffs’ motion is denied.

I. BACKGROUND

The instant motion for attorneys’ fees and costs arises

out of the development and construction of a southern

bypass around Lawrence, Kansas, known as the South

Lawrence Trafficway. In 1986, state and federal officials

began planning the trafficway as a jointly funded federal-

aid highway project. Under the Federal-Aid Highway

Act, 23 U.S.C. § 101 et seq., states may seek reimburse-

ment for a percentage of the costs incurred for certain

highway projects. States seeking federal highway funds

must submit to the Federal Highway Administration

(“FHWA”) a list of proposed transportation projects.

Upon final approval of the project and compliance with

applicable federal laws, including the National Environ-

mental Policy Act (“NEPA”), the FHWA reimburses the

state for a portion of the project cost. In order to be

eligible for federal funding, the state must prepare an

environmental impact statement.

In the instant case, the FHWA approved and released

to the public a final environmental impact statement on

January 4, 1990. On June 5, 1990, the FHWA issued a

App. 12

Record of Decision, selecting the route for the eastern leg

of the Trafficway along the existing 31st Street in the City

of Lawrence. In July and October 1993, representatives of

Haskell Indian Nations University expressed concern

about the 31st Street alignment that is adjacent to the

Haskell campus. Following the passage of a Haskell

Board of Regents’ resolution opposing the 31st Street

alignment, the FHWA, the Kansas Department of Trans-

portation (“KDOT”), and officials from Douglas County,

Kansas, determined that a supplemental environmental

impact statement (“SEIS”) was needed to address Hask-

ell’s spiritual, academic, and developmental concerns.

In April 1994, to facilitate construction, KDOT

requested that the FHWA allow segmentation of the traf-

ficway project. In May 1994, the FHWA approved KDOT’s

request to divide the trafficway project into four seg-

ments with three segments on the western leg and the

remaining segment being the eastern leg. The three seg-

ments of the western leg of the trafficway have since been

completed and are in use.

On October 2, 1995, the FHWA, KDOT, and Douglas

County released a draft SEIS addressing the eastern seg-

ment of the trafficway for public comment. After a public

hearing on the draft SEIS, SEIS process stalled because

the FHWA, KDOT, and Douglas County were unable to

reach an agreement on the alignment of the eastern leg.

In February 1997, KDOT, in an attempt to expedite

the project, forwarded to the FHWA an agreement

between KDOT and Douglas County to construct the

eastern leg of the trafficway as a nonfederal project,

without the use of federal-aid highway funds. On March

ET LPR BERR LN a I

App. 13

6, 1997, the FHWA published a notice in the Federal

Register withdrawing the Notice of Intent to complete an

SEIS.

On March 12, 1997, plaintiffs filed their complaint

seeking to enjoin further action on the project. On March

15, 1997, this court granted a preliminary injunction. Fol-

lowing a hearing on May 2, 1997, the court issued a

permanent injunction preventing the FHWA, KDOT, and

Douglas County from taking further action on the eastern

leg of the trafficway pending completion of the SEIS

process, issuance of a final SEIS, and entry of a new

Record of Decision. Applying the arbitrary and capri-

cious standard of review set forth in § 706(2)(A) of the

Administrative Procedure Act, the court concluded that

defendants violated NEPA by not completing the SEIS.

Defendants appealed to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Tenth Circuit. The Tenth Circuit affirmed

this court’s decision. As prevailing parties,! plaintiffs

now move for attorneys’ fees and costs.

II. DISCUSSION

Pursuant to the Equal Access to Justice Act, 28 U.S.C.

§ 2412, and Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d), plaintiffs seek attorneys’

fees and costs from both the federal and state defendants.

The court concludes that plaintiffs are not entitled to

recover attorneys’ fees or costs from any defendant.

1 It is undisputed that plaintiffs are prevailing parties.

App. 14

A. Attorneys’ Fees From Federal Defendants

Plaintiffs seek attorneys’ fees from the federal defen-

dants pursuant to § 2412 of the Equal Access to Justice

Act (“EAJA”). The relevant provision of the EAJA pro-

vides:

Except as otherwise specifically provided

by statute, a court shall award to a prevailing

party other than the United States fees and other

expenses . . . incurred by that party in any civil

action . . . brought by or against the United

States in any court having jurisdiction of that

action, unless the court finds that the position of

the United States was substantially justified or

that special circumstances make an award

unjust.

28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(1)(A). In determining whether the

government’s position was “substantially justified,” the

court must look to the “action or failure to act by the

agency upon which the civil action is based” and “to the

position taken by the United States in the civil action.”

See id. § 2412(d)(2)(D). “[T]he test of substantial justifica-

tion is essentially one of reasonableness in both law and

fact.” United States v. 2,116 Boxes of Boned Beef, 726 F.2d

1481, 1486-87 (10th Cir. 1984). In the Tenth Circuit, “the

reasonableness test breaks down into three parts: the

government must show ‘that there is a reasonable

basis . . . for the facts alleged . . . , that there exists a

reasonable basis in law for the theory it propounds; and

that the facts alleged will reasonably support the legal

theory advanced.’ ” Gatson v. Bowen, 854 F.2d 379, 380

(10th Cir. 1988) (quoting 2,116 Boxes of Boned Beef, 726 F.2d

at 1487).

App. 15

In the instant case, the Tenth Circuit held on appeal

that the FHWA acted arbitrarily and capriciously when it

discontinued the SEIS process and withdrew from the

completion of the trafficway. The appellate court’s find-

ing of arbitrary and capricious conduct, however, does

not, in and of itself, mandate an EAJA award. “The legis-

lative history of the [EAJA] indicates that the substantial

justification standard ‘should not be read to raise a pre-

sumption that the Government position was not substan-

tially justified, simply because it lost the case.’ ” Cohen v.

Bowen, 837 F.2d 582, 585 (2d. Cir. 1988) (quoting H.R. Rep.

No. 96-1418, 96th Cong., 2d. Sess., at 11 (1980), reprinted

in 1980 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4984, 4990). “Rather, the standard is

intended to caution agencies to carefully evaluate their

case and not to pursue those which are weak or tenuous.

At the same time, the language of the section protects the

government when its case, though not prevailing, has a

reasonable basis in law and fact.” Id. (citing H.R. Rep.

96-1418, at 14, 1980 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 4993). Thus, even

after a merits determination that an agency’s conduct was

arbitrary and capricious, the government may establish

that its position was substantially justified by showing

that it had a reasonable basis in law and fact.

The federal defendants argue in the instant case that

the FHWA’s decision to discontinue the NEPA process,

specifically the SEIS, was reasonable and, therefore, sub-

stantially justified. At both the district and appellate

court level, the federal defendants argued that the FHWA

was not required to perform an SEIS because the eastern

segment of the trafficway was not a “major federal

action” as defined by NEPA. Pursuant to NEPA, federal

agencies are required to prepare, inter alia, environmental

App. 16

impact statements for major federal actions in order to

investigate and consider the environmental consequences

of proposed federal activities on the human environment.

If the federal defendants had a reasonable basis in law

and fact for arguing that the eastern leg of the trafficway

was not a major federal action, the government’s position

was substantially justified.2

Both the FHWA’s decision to withdraw from the con-

struction of the eastern segment of the trafficway and the

government's legal arguments are based on case law gov-

erning in 1997, specifically Village of Los Ranchos de Albu-

guergue v. Barnhart, 906 F.2d 1477 (10th Cir. 1990).

According to the federal defendants, the FHWA with-

drew from the construction of the eastern segment

because it believed that, under its reading and interpreta-

tion of Village of Los Ranchos and other federal appellate

court case law, the eastern segment of the trafficway was

not a “major federal action” because it was to be com-

pleted without the use of further federal funds and

2 As stated above, the court must consider both the “action

or failure to act by the agency upon which the civil action is

based” and “the position taken by the United States in the civil

action.” See 28 U.S.C. § 2412(d)(2)(D). In the instant case, an

analysis of the reasonableness of the FHWA’s decision to

withdraw from the construction of the eastern segment and to

not complete the SEIS directly parallels an analysis of the

government’s legal position in this civil action. The

reasonableness of both hinge on the application of the

undisputed facts to the same case law. The court, therefore, need

not address both aspects of the government’s position

separately, and will collectively refer to the agency action and

the government's legal position as “the government’s position.”

RON ROLE Silt ES NAB AR AS Bi nat ahs EN an

%

3

A

x

:

Fi

“4

k

:

%

:]

$

2

a

;

x

2

;

A

j

‘

App. 17

because the FHWA no longer had the authority to exer-

‘cise control in the planning or construction of the seg-

ment.

After reviewing the facts underlying the parties’ con-

flict and the case law governing in 1997, specifically

Village of Los Ranchos, the court concludes that there was a

reasonable basis for the facts alleged by the federal defen-

dants, that there existed a reasonable basis in law for the

federal defendant's legal theory, and that the facts alleged

reasonably supported their legal theory. See Gatson, 854

F.2d at 380. Accordingly, the government’s position was

reasonable and, therefore, substantially justified.

B. Attorneys’ Fees From State Defendants

Plaintiffs seek attorneys’ fees from the state defen-

dants pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d). To successfully

seek attorneys’ fees under Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d), a moving

party must “specify . . . the statute, rule, or other grounds

entitling the moving party to the award.” In the instant

case, plaintiffs argue that they are entitled to attorneys’

fees under 42 U.S.C. § 1988. The court disagrees. Section

1988(b) only authorizes the award of attorneys’ fees

expended in actions to enforce the provisions of 42 U.S.C.

§§ 1981, 1981a, 1982, 1983, 1985, 1986, & 13981, 20 U.S.C.

§ 1681 et seq., 42 U.S.C. § 2000bb et seq., and 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000d et seq. Plaintiffs’ underlying action is based on

none of these provisions. Accordingly, plaintiffs request

for attorney’s fees pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d) is

denied.

App. 18

C. Costs From All Defendants

Plaintiffs also seek costs from both state and federal

defendants pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d). D. Kan. Rule

54.1 provides:

The party entitled to recover costs shall file a

bill of costs within 30 days (a) after the expira-

tion of time allowed for appeal of a final judg-

ment or decree, or (b) after receipt by the clerk

of an order terminating the action on appeal... .

The failure of a prevailing party to timely file a

bill of costs shall constitute a waiver of any

claim for costs.

Because plaintiffs did not file a bill of costs within 30

days after final judgment in the instant case, they have

waived any claim for costs under Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(d) and

D. Kan. Rule 54.1.

IT IS, THEREFORE, BY THE COURT ORDERED that

plaintiffs motion (Doc. 65) for attorneys’ fees and costs is

denied.

The clerk shall mail copies of this order to counsel of

record.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated at Kansas City, Kansas, this 24 day of May

1999.

/s/ G. T. VanBebber

G. T. VanBebber

United States District Judge

App. 19

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF KANSAS

THOMASINE ROSS, et al., )

a )

Plaintiffs, , CIVIL ACTION

vs. ) No. 97-2132-GTV

FEDERAL HIGHWAY )

ADMINISTRATION, et al.,

Defendants. )

)

ORDER_

(Filed Jul. 14, 1999)

Plaintiffs brought this action seeking declaratory and

injunctive relief against defendants for their failure to

comply with the National Environmental Policy Act of

1969 (“NEPA”), 42 U.S.C. § 4321 et seq., in the planning

and construction of the eastern leg of the South Lawrence

Trafficway. After an evidentiary hearing, the court found

in favor of plaintiffs, and enjoined defendants from tak-

ing any action or expending any funds to complete the

eastern leg of the trafficway. On appeal, the court’s order

was affirmed. See Ross v. Federal Highway Admin., 162 F.3d

1046 (10th Cir. 1998). Plaintiffs then moved for attorneys’

fees and costs pursuant to the Equal Access to Justice Act

(“EAJA”), 28 U.S.C. § 2412, and Fep. R. Cr. P. 54(d).

Because the court concluded that the federal defendants’

decision to discontinue the NEPA process was substan-

tially justified, plaintiffs motion for fees was denied. The

court also denied plaintiffs’ request for fees from the state

defendants due to plaintiffs’ failure to specify a statue

App. 20

[sic], rule, or other grounds authorizing such an award.

Finally, the court denied plaintiffs’ request for costs

because plaintiffs failed to comply with the provisions of

D. Kan. Rule 54.1. The case is before the court on plain-

tiffs’ motion (Doc. 76) to alter or amend judgment pur-

suant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(e).

A motion to alter or amend judgment pursuant to

Fed. R. Civ. P. 59(e) may be granted only if plaintiffs can

establish: (1) an intervening change in controlling law; (2)

the availability of new evidence that could not have been

obtained previously through the exercise of due dili-

gence; or (3) the need to correct clear error or prevent

manifest injustice. Brumark Corp. v. Samson Resources

Corp., 57 F.3d 941, 948 (10th Cir. 1995). Plaintiffs proceed

exclusively on the third prong. In analyzing this issue,

the court must bear in mind that motions to alter or

amend judgment are regarded with disfavor and gener-

ally granted only if the court has obviously misap-

prehended a party’s position or the facts. Eichenwald v.

Krigel’s, Inc., 908 F. Supp. 1531, 1564-65 (D. Kan. 1995).

With the above standards in mind, the court con-

cludes that it did not misapprehended plaintiffs’ argu-

ment and that it correctly applied the facts of the case to

the relevant law. The court’s order denying plaintiffs’

motion for fees and costs was not erroneous. Accordingly,

plaintiffs’ motion to alter or amend is denied.

IT IS, THEREFORE, BY THE COURT ORDERED that

plaintiffs’ motion (Doc. 76) to alter or amend judgment is

denied.

The case is closed.

App. 21

The clerk shall mail copies of this order to counsel of

record.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated at Kansas City, Kansas, this 14 day of July

1999.

/s/ G. T. VanBebber

G. T. VanBebber

United States District Judge

App. 22

United States District Court,

D. Kansas.

Thomasine ROSS, Stanley Ross, Anjanette Bitsie,

Pamina Yellowbird, Jason Daniels, Wetlands

Preservation Organization, and Kansas University

Environs, Plaintiffs,

Vv.

FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION; David

Geiger, Division Administrator, Federal Highway

Administration; Mark Buhler, Tom Taul, Dean Neider,

Douglas County, Kansas Commissioners; and E. Dean

Carlson, Secretary of the Kansas Department of

Transportation, Defendants.

Civil Action No. 97-2132-GTV.

July 17, 1997.

Robert V. Eye, Irigonegaray & Associates, Topeka,

KS, Bruce M. Plenk, Lawrence, KS, for plaintiffs.

Helen Mountford, Federal Highway Administration,

Kansas City, MO, Jackie A. Rapstine, Office of U.S. Attor-

ney, Topeka, KS, for Federal Highway Administration,

Division Administrator of Federal Highway Administra-

tion.

Timothy P. Orrick, Mark Parkinson, Parkinson, Foth

& Reynolds, Lenexa, KS, for Commissioners of Douglas

County, Kansas.

Daniel D. Crabtree, Stinson, Mag & Fizzell, P.C.,

Overland Park, KS, Vicky S. Johnson, Michael B. Rees,

Office of Chief Counsel, Gelene D. Savage, Kansas Dept.

of Transp., Topeka, KS, Stephen P. Chinn, Patricia A.

Konopka, Stinson, Mag & Fizzell, P.C., Kansas City, MO,

for Secretary of Kansas Dept. of Transp.

App. 23

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

VAN BEBBER, Chief Judge.

In this case, plaintiffs allege that defendants are vio-

lating the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA),

specifically 42 U.S.C. §§ 4331-4335, by continuing con-

struction of the South Lawrence Trafficway in Douglas

County, Kansas prior to completing a supplemental envi-

ronmental impact statement (SEIS). In their amended

complaint, plaintiffs seek judicial review pursuant to the

Administrative Procedures Act (APA), 5 U.S.C. § 701 et

seqg., mandamus relief pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1361,)

declaratory relief pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2201, and

injunctive relief pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2202. For the

reasons set forth below, the court finds that it has subject

matter jurisdiction and is, therefore, prepared to rule

upon the merits of the case. Accordingly, the court issues

an injunction prohibiting defendants from taking any

action or expending any funds to complete the eastern leg

of the Trafficway before completing the SEIS process,

issuing a final SEIS, and entering a-new Record of Deci-

sion.

Procedural Background

Plaintiffs filed their complaint and motion for prelim-

inary injunction on March 12, 1997.2 At a March 28, 1997

1 “The availability of a remedy under the APA technically

precludes [plaintiffs’] request for a writ of mandamus.” Mt.

Emmons Mining Co. v. Babbitt, 117 F.3d 1167, 1170 (10th Cir.1997).

2 There have been two previous cases involving the

Trafficway. In Northern Crawfish Frog (Rana Areolata Circulosa) v.

App. 24

hearing, the court focused upon plaintiffs’ claims against

the Federal Highway Administration and Division

Administrator David Geiger (federal defendants) to

determine if the court has subject matter jurisdiction.

NEPA applies to federal agencies undertaking “major

federal actions significantly affecting the quality of the

human environment”. 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C); see Village of

Los Ranchos de Albuquerque v. Barnhart, 906 F.2d 1477, 1480

(10th Cir.1990) (“The requirements of NEPA apply only

when the federal government’s involvement in a project

is sufficient to constitute ‘major federal action.’”). The

court, therefore, observed that its subject matter jurisdic-

tion is contingent upon a finding of “major federal

action” in the Trafficway not yet constructed.

At the March 28 hearing, the court also commented

that plaintiffs seeking to enforce the procedural require-

ments of NEPA, which contains no private cause of

action, are subject to the APA’s judicial review provisions.

See Lujan v. National Wildlife Fed’n, 497 U.S. 871, 882-83,

110 S.Ct. 3177, 3185-86, 111 L.Ed.2d 695 (1990); Committee

to Save the Rio Hondo v. Lucero, 102 F.3d 445, 448 (10th

Federal Highway Admin., 858 F.Supp. 1503 (D.Kan.1994), the

plaintiffs requested an injunctive order halting acquisition of

right-of-way and construction activity of the Trafficway until

the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) adopted a new

route that did not require taking protected park land, and until

the FHWA prepared and approved a supplemental

environmental impact statement. Judge Crow granted the

FHWA’s motion for summary judgment. In Kansas Natural

Resource v. Federal Highway Admin., No. 95-2495-GTV (D.Kan.

Nov. 9, 1995), the court denied the plaintiffs’ preliminary

injunction motion for a “town hall” rather than the scheduled

“open house” public hearing.

App. 25

Cir.1996); Catron County Bd. of Comm'rs v. United States

Fish & Wildlife Serv., 75 F.3d 1429, 1434 (10th Cir.1996);

Southern Utah Wilderness Alliance v. United States Forest

Serv., 897 F.Supp. 1394, 1397 n. 1 (D.Utah 1995). The court

concluded that federal defendants’ actions at issue would

be reviewed under the APA and modified the briefing

schedule outlined in D.Kan.R. 83.7 to accommodate the

final hearing scheduled for early May. (Doc. 14.) The

court then authorized a preliminary injunction (Doc. 12),

which was memorialized in an order filed April 15, 1997

(Doc. 21).

The court conducted a final hearing on May 2, 1997,

during which the court noted that its subject matter juris-

diction is intertwined with the merits of the action.

Accordingly, both the merits of plaintiffs’ claims against

federal defendants as well as the court’s subject matter

jurisdiction over plaintiffs’ claims revolve around federal

defendants’ conclusion that the unconstructed Trafficway

involved no “major federal action.”> If jurisdiction is

lacking, the court noted that it would dismiss federal

defendants and that it lacked authority to exercise sup-

plemental jurisdiction over the state and local defen-

dants. See Tatum v. Everhart, 954 F.Supp. 225, 230

(D.Kan.1997). At the conclusion of the May 2 hearing, the

3 At the May 2 hearing, the court granted plaintiffs’

uncontested motion for leave to file an amended complaint in

which plaintiffs allege the APA as a jurisdictional basis,

correcting their previous oversight. See Committee to Save the Rio

Hondo, 102 F.3d at 448 (plaintiffs seeking to enforce NEPA’s

procedural requirements must rely upon the APA as the basis

for their action).

App. 26

court continued the preliminary injunction pending sub-

mission of additional briefing by the parties and the

court’s resolution of the issues contained therein. (Doc.

33.)

The case is now before the court to determine subject

matter jurisdiction and, upon a finding of jurisdiction, the

merits of issuing an injunction. The court has considered

the arguments of counsel and the evidentiary submis-

sions. Judicial review under the APA is limited to the

administrative record with limited exceptions. The excep-

tion pertinent here is the necessity for background infor-

mation. See Northern Crawfish Frog (Rana Areolata

Circulosa) v. Federal Highway Admin., 858 F.Supp. 1503,

1508 n. 6 (D.Kan.1994) (citations omitted). Accordingly,

the court bases its factual findings upon the administra-

tive record in this case as well as uncontroverted findings

from Northern Crawfish Frog, a previous case involving the

Trafficway.

Pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 52(a), the court makes the

following findings of fact and conclusions of law.

Findings of Fact

1. Interest in a southern bypass trafficway around

Lawrence began in 1964, and numerous studies were

conducted by consultants as well as local, state, and

federal agencies.

2. In April 1986, the Federal Highway Administra-

tion (FHWA) became involved in the Trafficway project

and informed Douglas County and the Kansas Depart-

ment of Transportation (KDOT) that eligibility for federal

App. 27

funding necessitated preparation of an environmental

impact statement (EIS). On June 23, 1986, the FHWA

published a Notice of Intent to Prepare an EIS for the

Trafficway in the Federal Register.

3. The Trafficway was conceived as a federal-aid

highway project jointly funded by local, state, and federal

monies. In a federal-aid highway project, state and local

officials contract for the actual planning and construction

work, subject to the FHWA’s oversight. The FHWA reim-

burses the state for eligible costs expended on contracts

into which state and local officials have entered.

4. On January 4, 1990, the FHWA approved and

released to the public a final EIS. On June 5, 1990, the

FHWA issued a Record of Decision, selecting the route

for the eastern leg of the Trafficway along the existing

31st Street in the City of Lawrence. On April 22, 1993, the

United States Army Corps of Engineers (Corps) issued a

section 404 permit pursuant to the Clean Water Act for

the 31st Street route.*

5. In July and October 1993, representatives of

Haskell Indian Nations University expressed concern

about the 31st Street alignment that is adjacent to the

Haskell campus. Following a Haskell Board of Regents’

resolution opposing the 31st Street alignment, the FHWA,

KDOT, and Douglas County determined that a SEIS was

4 The Clean Water Act provides that dredge or fill material

may not be discharged into waterways, including wetlands,

without a section 404 permit from the Corps. See 33 U.S.C.

§ 1344(a).

App. 28

needed to address Haskell’s spiritual, academic, and

development concerns.

6. In April 1994, to facilitate construction phasing

and available funding limits, KDOT requested that

FHWA allow segmentation of the Trafficway. In May

1994, the FHWA approved KDOT’s request to divide the

Trafficway into four segments with three segments on the

western leg (Kansas Turnpike south to U.S. 40, U.S. 40

south to Clinton Parkway, and Clinton Parkway south

and west to U.S. 59) and the remaining segment being the

eastern leg, east of U.S. 59. Citing 23 C.F.R. § 771.111(f),

the FHWA determined that segmentation provided logi-

cal termini, that each segment had independent utility,

and that construction of the western segments would not

foreclose alternatives for the eastern segment. The three

segments of the western leg of the Trafficway have been

constructed and are carrying traffic.

7. On October 17, 1994, the FHWA published a

Notice of Intent to Prepare a SEIS to address Haskell’s

concerns. Department of Transportation Notice, 59

Fed.Reg. 52,360 (1994). Approximately one year later, on

October 2, 1995, a draft SEIS addressing the eastern leg of

the Trafficway was released for public comment. On

November 8, 1995, a public hearing was held, at which

over 633 people attended. There were 280 written com-

ments, 180 oral comments, and 5 petitions submitted.

8. Cooperating agencies never reached agreement

on a preferred alignment to 31st Street. On October 29,

1996, FHWA, Corps, KDOT, and Douglas County dis-

cussed defederalizing the project.

App. 29

9. On December 9, 1996, Douglas County wrote the

FHWA, commenting that the SEIS process was “dead-

locked” and that the FHWA had yet “to take a stand in

writing on any of the three alignments.” (Administrative

Record Ex. 16.) Douglas County asked that the “FHWA

give [its] position in writing and recommend a method to

conclude the SEIS process.” (AR Ex. 16.)

10. On January 10, 1997, KDOT and Douglas

County entered into an agreement to construct the east-

ern leg of the Trafficway without federal funds. On Feb-

ruary 10, 1997, KDOT informed the FHWA of KDOT and

Douglas County’s agreement, stating that KDOT hoped

this information resolved “the question of any further

involvement by the [FHWA].” (AR Ex. 19.)

11. On February 4, 1997, plaintiffs’ counsel wrote

federal defendants and others, asking that the FHWA and

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) take “steps to

prevent the expenditure of any additional funds or the

undertaking of any construction activities by Douglas

County and/or KDOT” on the eastern leg of the Traffic-

way “until the completion of the [SEIS] and the filing of a

new Record of Decision determining an alignment based

on the [SEIS].” (AR Ex. 18.)

12. On February 14, 1997, the EPA wrote the FHWA,

acknowledging that the EPA’s statutory authority to pre-

vent expenditure of funds prior to completion of the SEIS

was limited. Nonetheless, EPA shared its belief that “the

NEPA process should be completed... . “> (AR Ex. 17.)

5 Although the letter is dated January 14, 1997, federal

defendants allege that the date was actually February 14, 1997.

App. 30

13. On February 21, 1997, the FHWA responded to

plaintiffs’ counsel's letter, stating that KDOT and Douglas

County had agreed to complete the eastern leg of the

Trafficway without federal funds and that such agree-

ment was in accord with 23 U.S.C. § 145, which autho-

rizes states to decide which highway projects will include

federal funding. Division Administrator David Geiger

concluded the letter, observing: “Since no Federal-aid

highway funds will be used on the proposed project, we

know of no provision in any applicable Federal law or

regulation that would allow FHWA to take any of the

actions you have requested.” (AR Ex. 22.)

14. Also on February 21, 1997, FHWA informed

Douglas County that, based upon the agreement between

Douglas County and KDOT, “the FHWA will no longer be

the lead federal agency for the project.” (AR Ex. 21.) On

March 6, 1997, FHWA published a Notice of Withdrawal

of Intent to Complete a Supplement to the Final EIS in the

Federal Register, citing KDOT and Douglas County’s

agreement not to use federal funds for the project.

“Therefore, FHWA is no longer the lead Federal agency

for this project and is discontinuing the Supplemental

6 Federal defendants contend that they anticipated that

KDOT and Douglas County would request additional federal

funds for the eastern leg of the Trafficway. This contention is

based upon an August 24, 1995 letter on FHWA letterhead to

Beverley Worster of the Coalition to Preserve Our Wetlands,

stating that KDOT “plans to use Federal-aid funds for

construction of the trafficway, but is using only State funds for

preliminary engineering and right-of-way acquisition.” (AR Ex.

11.)

rm ile

App. 31

‘

Environmental document process.” Department of Trans-

portation Notice, 62 Fed.Reg. 10,305 (1997).

15. Also on March 6, 1997, the Corps wrote Douglas

County, noting that since the FHWA’s withdrawal, the

“Corps is the only Federal agency with statutory author-

ity for the remaining work,” but that its role “is more

focused than the FHWA role because [its] authority is

limited to [its] Clean Water Act jurisdiction.” (AR Ex. 23.)

16. Federal funds in the amount of $10,404,040 have

been expended on the Trafficway. All federal funds, with

the exception of the $108,300 spent on the Santa Fe Mit-

igation Site,?7 have been expended on the western seg-

ments.

17. On March 12, 1997, plaintiffs filed the above-

captioned case, alleging that defendants’ defederalization

of the eastern leg of the Trafficway is an attempt to

circumvent the mandates of NEPA. Plaintiffs seek a

declaratory judgment that defendants must complete the

SEIS process and issue a new Record of Decision prior to

planning, expending, or contracting for the expenditure

of funds on the eastern leg of the Trafficway. Plaintiffs

also seek injunctive relief that prohibits defendants from

planning, expending, or contracting for the expenditure

of funds on the eastern leg of the Trafficway prior to

7 Mitigation of 11.89 acres that the 31st Street alignment

would impact has been accomplished at a triangular area north

of 35th Street and east of Haskell. The construction of a water

level control device in this area has the potential of flooding 15.3

acres in the off-site location. This creation of wetlands resulted

in a net gain of 3.41 acres of wetlands.

App. 32

completing the SEIS process, issuing a new Record of

Decision, and entry of a new Record of Decision.

Conclusions of Law

I. Subject Matter Jurisdiction

As previously noted, the court first must address the

question of subject matter jurisdiction. “A court lacking

jurisdiction . . . must dismiss the cause at any stage of the

proceeding in which it becomes apparent that jurisdiction

is lacking.” Laughlin v. Kmart Corp., 50 F.3d 871, 872 (10th

Cir.) (internal quotations and citation omitted), cert.

denied, 516 U.S. 863, 116 S.Ct. 174, 133 L.Ed.2d 114 (1995);

see Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(h)(3). Federal courts are courts of lim-

ited jurisdiction. The party seeking the federal forum

must establish the basis for the court’s jurisdiction. United

States ex rel. Precision Co. v. Koch Indus., Inc., 971 F.2d 548,

551 (10th Cir.1992). United States district courts have

original jurisdiction over actions arising under the laws

of the United States. 28 U.S.C. § 1331. Here, plaintiffs seek

an APA review of federal defendants’ actions allegedly in

violation of NEPA.

A. APA

Under the APA, “{a] person suffering legal wrong

because of agency action, or adversely affected or

aggrieved by agency action within the meaning of a

relevant statute, is entitled to judicial review thereof.” 5

U.S.C. § 702; see Catron County Bd. of Comm'rs, 75 F.3d at

1434 (citing Lujan v. National Wildlife Fed’n, 497 U.S. 871,

882-83, 110 S.Ct. 3177, 3185-86, 111 L.Ed.2d 695 (1990)).

Plaintiffs seek an APA review of federal defendants’

App. 33

actions (1) discontinuing the SEIS and thereby ending the

NEPA process for the eastern leg of the Trafficway, (2)

withdrawing as lead NEPA agency without arranging for

another federal agency to complete the NEPA process,

and (3) modifying the previously filed Record of Decision

for the Trafficway. (Doc. 20, at 12.) The APA authorizes

the reviewing court to “compel agency action unlawfully

withheld” and to “hold unlawful and set aside agency

actions, findings, and conclusions,” which the court finds

to be, as plaintiffs allege here, “arbitrary, capricious, an

abuse of discretion, or otherwise not in accordance with

law.” 5 U.S.C. § 706(1), § 706(2)(A); see Citizens to Preserve

Overton Park, Inc. v. Volpe, 401 U.S. 492, 415-16, 91 S.Ct.

814, 823-24, 28 L.Ed.2d 136 (1971) (scope of APA judicial

review of agency action); Olenhouse v. Commodity Credit

Corp., 42 F.3d 1560, 1573-75 (10th Cir.1994) (same).

B. NEPA

Congress enacted NEPA “to protect and promote

environmental quality. To ensure this protection, [NEPA]

establishes ‘action forcing’ procedures the agencies must

follow, such as requiring an agency to prepare either an

[EIS] or a [SEIS] under certain circumstances.” Committee

to Save the Rio Hondo, 102 F.3d at 448 (citing 42 U.S.C.

§§ 4331(a-c), 4332(2)(C)(i-v)); 40 C.ER. § 1502.9(c)(1)(i))-

An EIS or a SEIS details “the environmental in.pact of the

action; unavoidable adverse environmental effects; alter-

natives to the action; relationship between the short-term

uses and long-term productivity of the affected environ-

ment; and irretrievable and irreversible commitments of

resources should the action be implemented.” Catron

County Bd. of Comm'rs, 75 F.3d at 1434 (citing 42 U.S.C.

App. 34

§ 4332(2(c)(i-v)). One purpose of the EIS or SEIS is to

allow “critical evaluation of an agency’s actions by those

outside the agency.” Id. (citation omitted). NEPA man-

dates a particular process, not a particular outcome. Com-

mittee to Save the Rio Hondo, 102 F.3d at 448; Sierra Club v.

Marsh, 872 F.2d 497, 502 (1st Cir.1989).

As previously noted, NEPA can be invoked only if

major federal action has affected significantly the quality

of the human environment. 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C). The

Tenth Circuit has construed the implementing regulations

defining major federal action “to encompass not only

actions by the federal government but also nonfederal

actions ‘ “with effects that may be major and which

are potentially subject to Federal control and respon-

sibility.” ’” Village of Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, 906 F.2d

at 1482 (quoting Sierra Club v. Hodel, 848 F.2d 1068, 1089

(10th Cir.1988) (citing 40 C.FR. § 1508.18)).

C. Discussion

Under an APA review, “an agency’s action must be

upheld, if at all, on the basis articulated by the agency

itself.” Olenhouse, 42 F.3d at 1575 (quoting Motor Vehicle

Mfrs. Ass'n v. State Farm Mvt. Ins. Co., 463 U.S. 29, 50, 103

S.Ct. 2856, 2870, 77 L.Ed.2d 443 (1983)); see Industrial

Union Dep't, AFL-CIO v. American Petroleum Inst., 448 U.S.

607, 631 n. 31, 100 S.Ct. 2844, 2858, 65 L.Ed.2d 1010 (1980).

According to the administrative record before the court,

federal defendants withdrew from the project because

KDOT and Douglas County agreed not to use federal-aid

highway funds for the eastern leg of the Trafficway (with

the exception of the $108,000 spent on the mitigation site).

XL

~

A ie Det RA EME Het a's 9

App. 35

Federal defendants determined there was no major fed-

eral action because there would be no federal funding of

the eastern leg. Such determination was in accord with 23

U.S.C. § 145, according to federal defendants, because “it

is the State’s decision to determine on ‘vhich projects [the

State] will use [its] limited Federal-aid highway funds.”

(AR Ex. 22.) Section 145, which is part of the Federal-Aid

Highway Act, 23 U.S.C. § 101 et seq., states: “The authori-

zation of the appropriation of Federal funds or their

availability for expenditure under this chapter shall in no

way infringe on the sovereign rights of the States to

determine which projects shall be federally financed. The

provisions of this chapter provide for a federally assisted

State program.”

The Federal-Aid Highway Act provides “financial

aid for approved state highway construction projects.”

Miller v. United States, 710 F.2d 656, 659 (10th Cir.1983).

“The states own, construct, and maintain the highways

which form the federal-aid highways within their bor-

ders. The statutory and regulatory criteria for federal-aid

highway funding is an elaborate, intricate scheme.” Save

Barton Creek Ass’n v. Federal Highway Admin., 950 F.2d

1129, 1134 n. 6 (5th Cir.1992). Based upon these criteria,

the FHWA apportions the authorized money in the form

of certificates among the states. Mike Mills, Highway Bill

Debates Becomes War Between the States, Cong.Q. 1487,

1487-88 (June 8, 1991). A state seeking federal-aid high-

way funds must submit proposed projects for approval.

Miller, 710 F.2d at 659-60. The FHWA is responsible for

administering the federal-aid highway program, but

“does not plan, design or locate highways.” No East-West

App. 36

Highway Comm., Inc. v. Whitaker, 403 F.Supp. 260, 273-74

(D.N.H.1975).

On April 2, 1987, Congress allocated funds for the

Trafficway as a demonstration and priority highway pro-

ject

in Douglas County, Kansas, to demonstrate

methods of reducing traffic congestion and facil-

itating the usage by motorists on the Interstate

System of recreational facilities by construction

of a north-south limited access trafficway of

approximately 4 miles in length which will con-

nect an east-west interstate route to a reservoir

and a university research park.

Surface Transportation and Uniform Relocation Assis-

tance Act of 1987 (STURAA), Pub.L. No. 100-17,

§ 149(a)(72), 1987 U.S.C.C.A.N. (101 Stat.) 132, 192. Con-

gress appropriated a total of $7.2 million for the Traffic-

way. Id. § 149(b)(72), § 149(d). On “December 22, 1987,

Congress amended section 149(a)(72) to expand the road

to

approximately 14 miles in length which, at its

western terminus, will provide access from an

east-west Interstate highway route to a reservoir

and a university research park, will proceed

easterly around the southern portion of the City

of Lawrence and, at its eastern terminus, will

provide access to a business park and a limited

access east-west State highway.

Department of Transportation and Related Agencies

Appropriations Act of 1988, Pub.L. No. 100-202, § 345,

1987 U.S.C.C.A.N. (101 Stat.) 1329, 1329-358, 1329-387 to

1329-388. On December 18, 1991, as part of the rural

RET

App. 37

access projects, Congress appropriated an additional $3.3

million for the years 1992 through 1997 for a “Lawrence

Circumferential Roadway.” Intermodal Surface Transpor-

tation Efficiency Act of 1991 (ISTEA), Pub.L. No. 102-240,

§ 1106(a)(2) F 102, 1991 U.S.C.C.A.N. (105 Stat.) 1914,

2041.

Plaintiffs’ key argument is that the Trafficway, a con-

gressionally mandated highway demonstration project,

cannot be defederalized, and that federal defendants’

reliance upon 23 U.S.C. § 145 to discontinue the SEIS

process is contrary to established law. Plaintiffs distin-

guish between demonstration projects and “normal” fed-

eral-aid highway projects, which plaintiffs liken to block

grants: In the latter scenario, the state prioritizes the

projects to submit to the FHWA for approval, and the

allotted apportionment is not designated for any particu-

lar project. In contrast, demonstration projects are specific

highway projects that Congress has selected and are not

within the discretion of state highway departments. See

Where the Money Goes, Cong.Q. 127, 128 (Dec. 7, 1991)

(“[S]tate transportation officials often dislike [demonstra-

tion} projects because they bypass the traditional high-

way funding method of lump-sum grants, which let

states decide how to spend the money. . . . Members of

Congress defend the spending, saying they often know

local road needs better than state transportation offi-

cials.”); Mike Mills, Demonstration Projects Survive in

House Transportation Bill, Cong.Q.2066, 2066 (July 27,

1991) (“Lawmakers increasingly use [demonstration pro-

jects] to steer federal dollars toward specific local road

projects, bypassing the traditional formula funding pro-

cess.”).

App. 38

Plaintiffs contend that because Congress authorized

demonstration funds for the entire fourteen miles of the

Trafficway, the entire Trafficway is major federal action

regardless of how and where the federal funds have been

spent. Plaintiffs claim that state and local officials cannot

spend the federal demonstration funds in a different

manner or on a different project than Congress autho-

rized. See Mike Mills, House Travels Favorite Road to Fund-

ing Local Highways, Cong. Q. 1884, 1884 (July 13, 1991)

(demonstration projects “bypass funding projects prefer-

red by state planners and often leave local governments

with no choice but to scrape together matching funds to

build the projects”). Plaintiffs assert that federal defen-

dants maintain control over the project by virtue of the

Trafficway being a demonstration project. Finally, plain-

tiffs suggest the eastern leg of the Trafficway may be

defederalized only if all federal funds expended on the

entire project are reimbursed to the federal government.

See Ely v. Velde, 497 F.2d 252, 257 (4th Cir.1974); Hall

County Historical Soc’y v. Georgia Dep't of Transp., 447

F.Supp. 741, 752 (N.D.Ga.1978).

In response, federal defendants assert that there is no

major federal action because no federal funds have been

requested or approved for constructing the eastern leg of

the Trafficway and the Trafficway has been segmented

into independent projects.

Federal defendants dispute that demonstration pro-

jects such as the Trafficway are net subject to the state

sovereignty provisions of 23 U.S.C. § 145. Citing STURAA

§ 149(i) and ISTEA § 1106(a)(7), federal defendants argue

that Congress did not intend for these acts to preempt the

Federal-Aid Highway Act, including 23 U.S.C. § 145, or

App. 39

its implementing regulations allowing segmentation, ‘

including 23 C.F.R. § 771.111(f). Under both STURAA and

ISTEA, Congress specified that

[f]unds authorized by this section shall be avail-

able for obligation in the same manner as if such

funds were apportioned under chapter 1 of title

23, United States Code, except that the Federal

share of the cost of any project under this sec-

tion shall be determined in accordance with this

section and such funds shall remain available

until expended. Funds authorized by subsec-

tions (b) and (c) shall not be subject to any

obligation limitation.

STURAA § 149(i); accord ISTEA § 1106(a)(7) (virtually

identical language).

Federal defendants also argue that there is nothing in

STURAA § 149 clearly stating that by accepting demon-

stration funds, the state is prohibited from segmenting

the Trafficway for expenditure and NEPA purposes. See

Pennhurst State Sch. & Hosp. v. Halderman, 451 U.S. 1, 24,

101 S.Ct. 1531, 1543, 67 L.Ed.2d 694 (1981) (“Congress

must express clearly its intent to impose conditions on

the grant of federal funds so that the States can know-

ingly decide whether or not to accept those funds.”)

i 1 lh AEA Prieta ie v ied NEES baste Boge! be I abe

Finally, to the extent STURAA and ISTEA are ambig-

uous concerning either the applicability of 23 U.S.C. § 145

or the appropriateness of imposing conditions on federal

funds to states, federal defendants assert that the court

must defer to federal defendants’ statutory interpreta-

tion. See, e.g., Smiley v. Citibank (S.D.), 517 U.S. 735, __

116 S.Ct. 1730, 1733, 135 L.Ed.2d 25 (1996) (“It is our

practice to defer to the reasonable judgments of agencies

th hada lees pier AI Adie hadi a a taht i

A Meine oa

DOD aL TY

App. 40

with regard to the meaning of ambiguous terms in stat-

utes that they are charged with administering.”).

The administrative record does not support federal

defendants’ emphasis on segmentation as a basis for find-

ing no major federal action. The Trafficway was divided

into four segments in 1994 to facilitate construction phas-

ing and available funding limits. Defendants did not

discuss making the eastern leg a non-federal project (i.e.,

defederalizing) until approximately two years after seg-

mentation occurred. The court finds the segmentation

argument to be “[a]fter-the fact rationalization,” upon

which the court cannot rely. Olenhouse, 42 F.3d at 1575

(citing Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n, 463 U.S. at 50, 103 S.Ct.

at 2870).

Neither party cites any case law discussing demon-

stration highway projects in the NEPA context, and the

court has found none. The court, therefore, bases its

decision on the unambiguous statutes at issue here. “If a

statute is clear and unambiguous, the court must inter-

pret the statute to effect the unambiguous intent of Con-

gress, regardless of the interpretation given to the statute

by an administrative agency with responsibility for

enforcement.” Mt. Emmons Mining Co. v. Babbitt, 117 F.3d

1167, 1170 (10th Cir.1997). In such a scenario, the court’s

inquiry ends and the plain meaning of the language is

conclusive except in the rare case not at issue here. See

United States v. Ron Pair Enters., Inc., 489 U.S. 235, 241-42,

109 S.Ct. 1026, 1030-31, 103 L.Ed.2d 290 (1989) United

States v. Brown, 333 U.S. 18, 27, 68 S.Ct. 376, 381, 92 L.Ed.

442 (1948).

App. 41

The language of STURAA § 149(i) and ISTEA

§ 1105(a)(7) communicates Congress’ clear intent that

demonstration projects such as the Trafficway be treated

differently than other federal-aid highway projects.®

These provisions dictate that authorized demonstration

funds shall be available in the same manner as authorized

funds under the Federal-Aid Highway Act. STURAA

§ 149(i) and ISTEA § 1105(a)(7) instruct how the funds

will be administered; they do not invoke the state sover-

eignty provision of 23 U.S.C. § 145. To find to the contrary

would eliminate demonstration projects for all intents

and purposes. Although demonstration projects are wan-

ing in popularity, see 143 Cong. Rec. H3358-01, H3370,

§ 338, Sense of the Senate on Highway Demonstration

8 President Reagan vetoed STURAA, voicing his

disapproval of “pork barrel spending” in the form of add-on

funding for 152 highway special interest projects. . . . The total

cost to complete these highway projects is estimated to be $5.5

billion, and they have not even been selected through the

established Federal-aid highway program mechanism that

relies on the expertise of State and local officials. In fact, there is

virtually no hearing record and related analyses regarding the

merits of these projects. The States, not the Congress should

determine their highway program needs.

Reagan Veto Stalls Highway Bill: A Text, Cong.Q. 607, 607 (Apr. 4,

1987). The Senate overrode the presidential veto. Paul Starobin,

Highway Bill Veto Overridden After Close Call in the Senate,

Cong.Q. 604, 604-06 (Apr. 4, 1987). President Bush signed ISTEA

into law, despite his dissatisfaction with the funding of

demonstration projects, which, as one commentator observed,

preempt “some state and local government authority over

project selection by adding 538 demonstration projects not

subject to the review of federal, state, or local governmental

officials.” Robert Jay Dilger, ISTEA: A New Direction for

Transportation Policy, 22 Publius 67, 77 (1992).

App. 42

Projects (June 4, 1997), the virtue of demonstration pro-

jects is not before the court.

Pursuant to STURAA and ISTEA, Congress appropri-

ated over $10 million in demonstration funds for a four-

teen-mile Trafficway, not a four-mile nor a ten-mile

highway. The conditions attached to the grant of federal

funds to the state are unequivocal. The federal funds are

to be expended on the described project. The court finds

that the entire Trafficway is major federal action over

which federal defendants have “ ‘the ability to influence

or control the outcome in material respects.’ ” Village of

Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, 906 F.2d at 1482 (quoting

Sierra Club, 848 F.2d at 1089). Accordingly, the court finds

that federal defendants’ actions at issue were not in

accordance with the law.

Because the entire Trafficway, including the uncon-

structed eastern leg, is major federal action, the court has

subject matter jurisdiction over the case. Before examin-

ing plaintiffs’ request for injunctive relief, the court

briefly will address plaintiffs’ standing to bring the case.

II. Standing

Standing is a threshold issue and jurisdictional requi-

site for bringing a case in federal court, United States v.

McVeigh, 106 F.3d 325, 334 (10th Cir.1997), a “bedrock

requirement,” Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans

United for Separation of Church and State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464,

471, 102 S.Ct. 752, 758, 70 L.Ed.2d 700 (1982). “To meet the

standing requirements of Article III, ‘[a] plaintiff must

allege personal injury fairly traceable to the defendant's

allegedly unlawful conduct and likely to be redressed by

App. 43

the requested relief.’” Raines v. Byrd, 521 U.S. 811, __

117 S.Ct. 2312, 2317, 138 L.Ed.2d 849 (1997) (quoting Allen

v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737, 751, 104 S.Ct. 3315, 3324-25, 82

L.Ed.2d 556 (1984)). In addition to constitutional standing

requirements, plaintiffs must establish that final agency

action caused them to suffer “an injury in fact falling

within the ‘zone of interests’ ” that NEPA protects. Com-

mittee to Save the Rio Hondo, 102 F.3d at 448 (citations

omitted).

The court has examined the complaint? and is per-

suaded that plaintiffs have alleged a concrete and partic-

ularized injury capable of being resolved through the

judicial process. The court also finds that plaintiffs have

alleged injury falling within the NEPA-protected “zone of

interests.” See Raines, 521 U.S. at __-__, 117 S.Ct. at

2317-18; Committee to Save the Rio Hondo, 102 F.3d at

447-52. . :

9 According to the allegations in the complaint, the

individual plaintiffs utilize the southern portion of the Haskell

campus, which is adjacent to the proposed 31st Street

alignment, for spiritual practice and solitude, for recreational

use, for aesthetic purposes, and/or for environmental studies.

The membership of plaintiffs Wetlands Preservation

Organization and Kansas University Environs utilizes the

wetlands for spiritual, religious, educational, and

environmental purposes. All plaintiffs allege that completion of

the Trafficway as presently planned will create pollt:tion, litter,

traffic, noise, lights, and other effects, interfering witn their use

of the land.

App. 44

III. Injunction

Having established subject matter jurisdiction and

standing, the court will proceed to the merits of the case.

Plaintiffs ask the court to convert the preliminary injunc-

tion into permanent injunctive relief. If this court should

make its injunction permanent, it would last only as long

as it takes federal defendants to complete the SEIS pro-

cess, issue a final SEIS, and enter a new Record of Deci-

sion.

As evinced in the discussion concerning subject mat-

ter jurisdiction, plaintiffs have demonstrated that the

Trafficway is major federal action and that defendants are

violating NEPA by failing to complete the SEIS process

for the unconstructed portion of the Trafficway. Plaintiffs

have established a statutory violation.

The court, however, “is not mechanically obligated to

grant an injunction for every violation of law.” Weinberger

v. Romero-Barcelo, 456 U.S. 305, 313, 102 S.Ct. 1798, 1803,

72 L.Ed.2d 91 (1982). It is fundamental “that an injunction

is an equitable remedy that does not issue as of course.”

Amoco Prod. Co. v. Village of Gambell, 480 U.S. 531, 542, 107

S.Ct. 1396, 1402, 94 L.Ed.2d 542 (1987) (citing Weinberger,

456 U.S. at 311, 102 S.Ct. at 1802-03). Unless the statute in

question, either expressly or by “necessary and inescapa-

ble inference,” limits the court’s equity jurisdiction, issu-

ance of injunctive relief is within the court’s discretion.

Weinberger, 456 U.S. at 313, 102 S.Ct. at 1803-04. Courts

have concluded that NEPA does not limit the court’s

equity jurisdiction. See, e.g., Wilderness Soc’y v. Tyrrel, 701

F.Supp. 1473, 1477 (E.D.Cal.1988), rev'd on other grounds,

App. 45

918 F.2d 813 (9th Cir.1990); Friends of the Earth v. Hall, 693

F.Supp. 904, 948-49 (W.D.Wash.1988).

“In brief, the bases for injunctive relief are irrepar-

able injury and inadequacy of legal remedies. In each

case, a court must balance the competing claims of injury

and must consider the effect on each party of the granting

or withholding of the requested relief.”?° Amoco Prod. Co.,

480 U.S. at 542, 107 S.Ct. at 1402 (citing Weinberger, 456

U.S. at 311-13, 102 S.Ct. at 1802-04). “Environmental

injury, by its nature, can seldom be adequately remedied

by money damages and is often permanent or at least of

long duration, ie., irreparable. If such injury is suffi-

ciently likely, therefore, the balance of harms will usually

favor the issuance of an injunction to protect the environ-

ment.” Id. at 545, 107 S.Ct. at 1404. Additionally, courts

must factor the public interest into the equitable equa-

tion. Id.

Plaintiffs contend that they have no adequate remedy

at law and will suffer irreparable injury if, prior to com-

pletion of the Trafficway’s eastern leg, full consideration

of the environmental impact to their use of the adjacent

lands does not occur. Plaintiffs emphasize the uniqueness

of and the 100-year traditions associated with the land at

issue.

10 The Supreme Court noted that “[t]he standard for a

preliminary injunction is essentially the same as for a

permanent injunction with the exception that the plaintiff must

show a likelihood of success on the merits rather than actual

success.” Amoco Prod. Co., 480 U.S. at 546 n. 12, 107 S.Ct. at 1404

n. 12.

App. 46

The court agrees that construction of the eastern por-

tion of the Trafficway as presently planned will result in a

permanent alteration to the environment. “An environ-

mental injury usually is of an enduring or permanent

nature, seldom remedied by money damages and gener-

ally considered irreparable.” Catron County Bd. of

Comm'rs, 75 F.3d at 1440 (citing Amoco Prod. Co., 480 U.S.

at 545, 107 S.Ct. at 1404).

Plaintiffs also maintain that the additional time

required to finalize a substantially complete draft of the

SEIS is minimal, considering that the Trafficway has been

in the planning stage for over twenty years and in the

environmental review stage for over nine years. Plaintiffs

further allege that completion of the SEIS will not harm

third parties because defendants have not yet purchased

land east of U.S. 59.

Defendants argue that delays in construction run the

potential for increased land and construction costs should

the highway be built later. Plaintiffs dispute that such an

argument outweighs their interests. See Highland Coop. v.

City of Lansing, 492 F.Supp. 1372, 1382 (W.D.Mich.1980)

(“While the delay in a construction project will almost

invariably result in an increase in the eventual costs,

those costs cannot be said to be a substantial harm.”).

Plaintiffs further claim that if a final SEIS recommends a

different route for the eastern portion of the Trafficway,

defendants will save money that would have been spent

on roadway designs and land acquisitions for a “ghost

highway.”

Defendants also suggest that any delay will jeopard-

ize the public safety because existing roads are unable to

App. 47

accommodate the current level of traffic. Public safety is

certainly a concern; however, defendants have not estab-

lished that the danger of existing roadways is so immi-

nent that it outweighs all other concerns.

Plaintiffs assert that it is not in the public interest to

begin construction on one route when the impact state-

ment regarding route selection is pending. See Dickman,

724 F.Supp. at 1348. Such action, according to plaintiffs,

cannot not be in the public interest because such action

violates NEPA public policy and implementing regula-

tions. See Park County Resource Council, Inc. v. United

States Dep't of Agric., 817 F.2d 609, 620 (10th Cir.1987)

(“NEPA . . . reflects an important public policy of this

nation: the avoidance of precipitous federal decision

making at the agency level which may fail to adequately

consider the environmental ramifications of agency

actions.”), overruled on other grounds, Village of Los Ranchos

De Albuquerque v. Marsh, 956 F.2d 970 (10th Cir.1992);

Northern Crawfish Frog, 858 F.Supp. at 1506 (° ‘major Fed-

eral actions significantly affecting the quality of the

human environment’ must be preceded by an environ-

mental impact statement”) (internal quotations and cita-

tions omitted); 40 C.F.R. § 1506.1.

Defendants contend that an injunction harms the

public interest because plaintiffs’ true goal is derailment

of the eastern portion of the Trafficway, an objective that

puts public safety at risk. Defendants’ contention is spec-

ulative. Plaintiffs’ satisfaction or dissatisfaction with the

yet-to-be selected route for the eastern leg of the Traffic-

way is not the issue before the court.

App. 48

The court finds plaintiffs’ arguments persuasive.

Plaintiffs have demonstrated their entitlement to injunc-

tive relief.

IT IS, THEREFORE, BY THE COURT ORDERED that

all defendants are enjoined from taking any action and

expending any funds on the eastern leg of the Trafficway

prior to completion of the supplemental environmental

impact statement process, issuance of a final supplemen-

tal environmental impact statement, and entry of a new

Record of Decision.

The case is now closed.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

App. 49

United States Court of Appeals,

Tenth Circuit.

Thomasine ROSS; Stanley Ross; Anjanette Bitsie;

Pamina Yellowbird; Jason Daniels; and Wetlands

Preservation Organization and Kansas University

Environs, Kansas unincorporated associations,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

V.

FEDERAL HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATION; David

Geiger, in his official capacity as Division

Administrator, Federal Highway Administration;

Mark Buhler, Tom Taul, Dean Nieder, in their official

capacities as County Commissioners of Douglas

County, Kansas; and E. Dean Carlson, in his official

capacity as Kansas Secretary of Transportation,

Defendants-Appellants.

Nos. 97-3240, 97-3278.

Nov. 17, 1998.

Bruce M. Plenk, (Robert V. Eye, of Irigonegaray &

Associates, Topeka, Kansas, with him on the brief), Law-

rence, Kansas, for Plaintiffs-Appellees.

Tamara N. Roundtree, (John A. Bryson, U.S. Depart-

ment of Justice; and Diane K. Mobley, U.S. Department of

Transportation, Federal Highway Administration, Office

of the Chief Counsel, Washington, D.C. with her on the

brief), U.S. Department of Justice, Washington, D.C., for

Defendants-Appellants Federal Highway Commission

and David Geiger.

Michael J. Davis, (Patricia A. Konopka, of Stinson,

Mag & Fizzell, P.C., Kansas City, Missouri; and Michael B.

Rees, Office of Chief Counsel, Kansas Department of

Transportation, Topeka, Kansas, with him on the brief), of

App. 50

Stinson, Mag & Fizzell, P.C., Kansas City, Missouri, for

Defendants-Appellants Kansas Department of Transpor-

tation and Douglas County, Kansas.

Before BALDOCK, McKAY, and HENRY, Circuit

Judges.

BALDOCK, Circuit Judge.

Defendants appeal the district court’s grant of a per-

manent injunction enjoining further action on a segment

of the South Lawrence trafficway in Douglas County,

Kansas, pending the completion of a supplemental envi-

ronmental impact statement (hereafter “SEIS”) and entry

of a new record of decision by the Federal Highway

Administration (hereafter “FHWA”). Defendants argue

that the district court erred in concluding (1) that the

eastern segment of the trafficway, which runs along 31st

Street in Lawrence, Kansas, was a “major federal action”

subject to the requirements of the National Environmen-

tal Policy Act (hereafter “NEPA”); and (2) that § 145 of

the Federal-Aid Highway Act (hereafter “FAHA”) does

not apply to demonstration projects. In the alternative,

Defendants argue that if the project was properly deemed

a major federal action, the district court erred in ordering

an SEIS without allowing the agency to determine

whether NEPA in fact required such action. Our jurisdic-

tion arises under 28 U.S.C. § 1291. We affirm.

he

The development of a southern bypass around Law-

rence, Kansas has taken a long and winding path.

App. 51

Although the idea for a southern bypass around Law-

rence has been under consideration for more than thirty

years, the FHWA became involved in the South Lawrence

Trafficway project in 1986. At that time, local, state and

federal officials began planning the trafficway as a jointly

funded federal-aid highway project. Under the Federal-

Aid Highway Act, states may seek reimbursement for a

percentage of the costs incurred for highway projects. 23

U.S.C. § 101 et. seq. States seeking federal highway funds

must submit to FHiWA a list of proposed transportation

projects. 23 U.S.C. § 105. Upon final approval of the

project and compliance with applicable federal laws and

regulations, including NEPA, FHWA reimburses the state

for a portion of the project’s cost. See 23 U.S.C. § 120; 23

C.E.R. § 1.36; 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C). Thus, in order to be

eligible for federal funding, the state needed to prepare

an environmental impact statement (hereafter “EIS”).

On June 23, 1986, the FHWA published in the Federal

Register a Notice of Intent to Prepare an EIS for the

trafficway. The notice stated that the project “runs east-

west near 31st Street in South Lawrence from K-10 to the

Clinton Dam and north-south from Clinton Dam to the

Kansas Turnpike.” After public comment, FHWA

approved and released to the public a final EIS for the

entire South Lawrence trafficway. The next day, the

FHWA issued a Record of Decision, selecting a route for

the trafficway, which included the eastern leg along 31st

Street. In April 1993, the United States Army Corps of

Engineers issued a permit pursuant to the Clean Water

Act for the 31st Street route, allowing state and county

authorities to discharge dredge or fill material into wet-

lands. See 33 U.S.C. § 1344(a).

App. 52

Congress appropriated $7.2 million in federal fund-

ing for the trafficway on April 2, 1987, and designated the

trafficway as a demonstration project. Surface Transpor-

tation and Uniform Relocation Assistance Act of 1987

(“STURRA”), Pub.L. No. 100-17, § 149(a)(72), 101 Stat.

132, 192 (1987). On December 22, 1987, Congress

amended § 149(a)(72) of STURRA to expand the traffic-

way to:

approximately 14 miles in length, which, at its

western terminus, will provide access from an

east-west Interstate highway [I-70] route to a

reservoir and a university research park, will

proceed easterly around the southern portion of

the City of Lawrence and, at its eastern ter-

minus, will provide access to a business park

and a limited access east-west State highway

[Kansas Highway 10].

Department of Transportation and Related Agencies

Appropriations Act of 1988, Pub.L. No. 100-202, § 345,

101 Stat. 1329 (1987). In 1991, Congress appropriated an

additional $3.3 million for the years 1992 through 1997 for

the trafficway. Intermodal Surface Transportation Effi-

ciency Act of 1991 (ISTEA), Pub.L. No. 102-240,

§ 1106(a)(2), 105 Stat.1914, 2041 (1991). Of these funds,

$108,000 have been expended on the eastern leg of the

trafficway for wetlands mitigation.2 The remainder of the

‘ Demonstration projects, specially earmarked by

Congress, are designed to demonstrate novel road-building

techniques. Cf. Mike Mills, House Travels Favorite Road to Funding

Local Projects, 49 Cong.Q. 1884, 1885 (July 13, 1991).

2 Mitigation of 11.89 acres of wetlands that the 31st Street

alignment would impact was completed with a net gain of 3.41

acres of wetlands.

App. 53

$10.4 million in federal funds authorized for the South

Lawrence trafficway have been spent on the wester

portions.

In July and October 1993, representatives of Haskell

Indian Nation University expressed concerns that the 31st

Street route adjacent to the campus would impact its

property, cultural traditions, and spiritual sites. When the

Haskell Board of Regents passed a resolution opposing

construction of the trafficway along 31st Street, Douglas

County, the Kansas Department of Transportation (here-

after “KDOT”), and FHWA suspended work along the

31st Street portion of the trafficway. FHWA, KDOT and

Douglas County later determined that because the origi-

nal EIS did not consider the University’s concerns, an

SEIS was necessary. Accordingly, on October 17, 1994,

FHWA published a Notice of Intent to Prepare an SEIS.

In April 1994, after Haskell University raised its con- —

cerns about the 31st Street leg of the project, KDOT

requested that FHWA allow the trafficway to be seg-

mented in order to facilitate construction and funding

limits.3 In May 1994, FHWA approved KDOT'’s request to

3 Generally, segmentation of highway projects is improper

for the purpose of preparing environmental documentation. See

Village of Los Ranchos de Albuquerque v. Barnhart, 906 F.2d 1477,

1483 (10th Cir.1990). A project may be properly segmented,

however, if the segments (1) have logical termini; (2) have

substantial independent utility; (3) do not foreclose the

opportunity tc consider alternatives; and (4) do not

irretrievably commit federal funds for closely related projects.

Id. After determining that the South Lawrence trafficway met

these requirements, FHWA approved segmentation. The parties

do not challenge the segmentation of the trafficway. Therefore,

App. 54

segment the trafficway, with three segments on the west-

ern leg (Kansas Turnpike south to U.S. 40, U.S. 40 south

to Clinton Parkway, and Clinton Parkway south and west

to U.S. 59) and one segment on the eastern leg (east of

U.S. 59 to 31st Street east to K-10). The three segments on

the western leg have since been completed and are in use.

On October 2, 1995, FHWA, KDOT and Douglas

County released a draft SEIS addressing the 31st Street

portion of the trafficway for public comment. On Novem-

ber 8, 1995, Douglas County, FHWA and KDOT held a

public hearing on the draft SEIS. After the hearing, the

SEIS process stalled because FHWA, KDOT and Douglas

County were unable to reach an agreement on the align-

ment of the eastern leg. On December 9, 1996, Douglas

County sent a letter to FHWA, notifying the agency that

the county intended to proceed with the original 31st

Street route for the eastern leg of the trafficway, and

asking FHWA to “give their position in writing and rec-

ommend a method to conclude the SEIS process.” The

letter expressed the county’s frustration with the SEIS

process stating that “[t]he Douglas County Board of

County Commissioners is frankly disappointed that the

efforts of the last three years have not produced an

acceptable alternative to 31st Street. . . . The SEIS process

is deadlocked. FHWA has yet to take a stand in writing

on any of the three alignments. . .. We await your advice

and position but must clearly proceed to complete the

project the County voters approved over six years ago.”

we do not have before us the issue of whether FHWA properly

approved segmentation in this case.

App. 55

Two months later, in February 1997, KDOT, in hopes

of completing the project, forwarded to FHWA an agree-

ment between KDOT and Douglas County to construct

the eastern leg of the trafficway as a nonfederal project,

without the use of federal-aid highway funds. KDOT

stated that the agreement should “resolve the question of

any further involvement by the FHWA [in this project].”

On February 21, 1997, FHWA responded by letter, acqui-

escing to KDOT’s decision to treat the eastern portion of

the trafficway as a local project. In the letter to Douglas

County, Defendant David R. Geiger, FHWA division

administrator, stated that the FHWA “will no longer be

the lead Federal agency for this project. In accordance

with 23 U.S.C. § 145, it is the State’s decision on which

highway projects they will use their limited Federal-aid

highway funds. . . . ” On March 6, 1997, FHWA published

a notice in the Federal Register withdrawing the Notice

of Intent to complete an SEIS.

On March 12, 1997, Plaintiffs filed their complaint

seeking to enjoin further action on the project. On March

15, 1997, the district court granted a preliminary injunc-

tion. Following a hearing on May 2, 1997, the district

court issued a permanent injunction preventing FHWA,

KDOT and Douglas County from taking further action on

the eastern leg of the trafficway pending completion of

the SEIS process, issuance of a final SEIS and entry of a

new Record of Decision. Applying the arbitrary and

capricious standard of review set forth in § 706(2)(A) of

the Administrative Procedure Act (hereafter “APA”), the

district court concluded that Defendants violated NEPA

by not completing the SEIS.

re a renaabenntenbiaeineal

App. 56

Plaintiffs argue that FHWA improperly discontinued

the SEIS process and withdrew from the eastern leg of the

South Lawrence trafficway. We review an agency decision

regarding the need for an SEIS under the arbitrary and

capricious standard of the APA, 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(A). See

Holy Cross Wilderness Fund v. Madigan, 960 F.2d 1515, 1524

(10th Cir.1992). The scope of review under this standard

is narrow, id., and we may not substitute our judgment

for that of the agency. Hoyl v. Babbitt, 129 F.3d 1377, 1383

(10th Cir.1997).

Under the APA, we may set aside the agency’s deci-

sion only if it is arbitrary, capricious, an abuse of discre-

tion, or otherwise not in accordance with the law. 5 U.S.C.

§ 706(2)(A). We must determine whether the agency con-

sidered all relevant factors and whether there has been a

clear error of judgment. Olenhouse v. Commodity Credit

Corp., 42 F.3d 1560, 1574 (10th Cir.1994). Agency action

will be set aside if:

the agency has relied on factors which Congress

has not intended it to consider, entirely failed to

consider an important aspect of the problem,

offered an explanation for its decision that runs

counter to the evidence before the agency, or is

so implausible that it could not be ascribed to a

difference in view or the product of agency

expertise.

Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n v. State Farm Mutual Ins. Co.,

463 U.S. 29, 43, 103 S.Ct. 2856, 77 L.Ed.2d 443 (1983).

Moreover, if agency action was “unlawfully withheld or

unreasonably delayed,” we must compel the agency to

App. 57

take appropriate action. 5 U.S.C. § 706(1); see also Mt.

Emmons Mining Co. v. Babbitt, 117 F.3d 1167, 1170 (10th

Cir.1997). In conducting our review of the agency deci-

sion, we accord no deference to the district court’s deci-

sion. Id.

B.

Congress enacted NEPA to promote environmental

quality. See 42 U.S.C. § 4331(a)-(c). As a means of doing

so, NEPA establishes procedures agencies must follow,

such as preparing an EIS or SEIS. Committee to Save the Rio

Hondo v. Lucero, 102 F.3d 445, 448 (10th Cir.1996). These

procedures ensure that the agency will take a “hard look”

at the effect of its actions. Kleppe v. Sierra Club, 427 U.S.

390, 410 n. 21, 96 S.Ct. 2718, 49 L.Ed.2d 576 (1976). NEPA

does not mandate a particular outcome, only a specific

process that the agency must follow. Rio Hondo, 102 F.3d

at 448. Compliance with NEPA is required, however, only

if the federal government's involvement in a project con-

stitutes “major federal action.” Los Ranchos, 906 F.2d at

1480; 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C). Thus, in order to determine

whether FHWA acted arbitrarily and capriciously by dis-

continuing the SEIS process and withdrawing from the

completion of the trafficway, we must first decide

whether the trafficway constitutes a major federal action.

We have defined “major federal action” as “actions

by the federal government . . . and nonfederal actions

‘with effects that may be major and which are potentially

subject to Federal control and responsibility.’ ” Los

Ranchos, 906 F.2d at 1482 (quoting Sierra Club v. Hodel, 848

F.2d 1068, 1089 (10th Cir.1988)). In effect, “major federal

App. 58

action” means that the federal government has “actual

power” to control the project. Id.

Defendants argue that the district court erred in con-

cluding that the entire trafficway, including the eastern

leg, remained a “major federal action” after the state

decided not to seek any additional federal funds to con-

struct the eastern leg of the trafficway. Defendants ask us

to consider only the eastern segment of the trafficway in

determining whether a “major federal action” exists.

Defendants argue that because the state will not use

federal funds to complete the eastern segment, the seg-

ment is not a “major federal action” under Los Ranchos

and therefore NEPA does not apply.

Defendants’ argument overemphasizes the segmenta-

tion of the trafficway. Defendants assume that once a

federal-aid highway project is segmented it may be

defederalized, regardless of how far the project has

advanced. Segmentation does not, however, necessarily

convert a trafficway into federal and nonfederal seg-

ments. In this case, Kansas’ argument for “defederaliza-

tion” of the eastern leg is based, not on segmentation, but

instead on the state’s withdrawal, more than two years

after segmentation, from federal funding for the eastern

segment. Likewise, FHWA’s articulated reason for with-

drawing from the project after state and county officials

decided not to use federal funds, was Kansas’ right under

23 U.S.C. § 1454 to determine which highway projects will

4 Title 23 U.S.C. § 145 provides that “[t]he authorization of

the appropriation of Federal funds or their availability for

expenditure under this chapter shall in no way infringe on the

sovereign rights of the States to determine which projects shall

be federally financed.”

App. 59

be federally financed. Therefore, the relevant inquiry on

appeal is whether § 145 authorized state and local offi-

cials, with FHWA approval, to “defederalize” a segment

of a “major federal action” by foregoing federal funding

in order to avoid compliance with NEPA. On the unique

facts of this case, the answer is no.

The South Lawrence Trafficway envisioned and

planned by FHWA, KDOT and Douglas County was

clearly a “major federal action.” Congress appropriated

approximately $10.4 million for the entire fourteen-mile

trafficway. See Los Ranchos, 906 F.2d at 1480 (noting that

courts have found highways major federal actions where

federal funds have been approved or are immediately

sought). In this case, the manner in which the project was

funded strengthens the federal government's “actual

power to control” this project. See id. at 1482. In the

appropriations bill, Congress specifically designated the

trafficway as a demonstration project. See STURRA,

Pub.L. No. 100-17, § 149(a)(72), 101 Stat. 132, 192 (1987).

Funding for demonstration projects: differs from normal

federal-aid highway projects in that the demonstration

funds may only be spent on the specified project. See

Mike Mills, Where the Money Goes, 49 Cong.Q. 127, 128

(Dec. 7, 1991). Indeed, states prefer “normal” highway

funding which allows them to prioritize projects, instead

of demonstration funding which specifies the particular

project on which the money must be spent. Id. Congress’

decision to select the trafficway as a demonstration proj-

ect shows a high degree of federal involvement in this

case. In addition, KDOT and Douglas County sought

federal approval at each stage of the project and spent

more than $10 million in federal funds on the project,

App. 60

including $108,000 on the eastern segment. Therefore, the

district court did not err in concluding that the entire

trafficway is a “major federal action” within the meaning

of 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C).

The question now becomes whether Kansas and

Dovglas County can withdraw a segment of the traffic-

way from federal funding and, as a result, discontinue

the segment’s status as a “major federal action,” circum-

venting the SEIS process already begun. This question

has not been directly addressed by our circuit. The Fifth

and Seventh circuits, however, have concluded that states

may not avoid NEPA’s requirements by withdrawing a

segment of a project from federal funding. San Antonio

Conservation Society v. Texas Highway Dept., 446 F.2d 1013,

1027 (1971) (state cannot circumvent federal laws by con-

structing segment of federal highway project with state

funding); Scottsdale Mall v. State of Indiana, 549 F.2d 484,

489 (7th Cir.1977) (withdrawal of federal funding from a

segment of a “major federal action” does not relieve state

of NEPA compliance).

The facts of this case are very similar to Scottsdale

Mall. In that case, the Indiana State Highway Commission

(hereafter “ISHC”) withdrew a highway project from fed-

eral-aid highway funding and sought to proceed solely

with state funds in the final stages of the project. Id. at

485. By doing so, the state sought to avoid NEPA compli-

ance. Id. The court determined that withdrawal from

federal funding in the project’s final stages did not relieve

the state of its obligation to comply with federal environ-

mental laws. Id. at 489.

ROU cena ane ns neem anartceR NTENNT N e

cm a a I aa cece na” a ES

+

App. 61

The project at issue in Scottsdale Mall was a 28-mile

bypass around the South Bend-Elkhart area in Indiana. Id.

at 486. The by-pass, under consideration for twenty years,

was planned as a federal project in four segments. Id. At

the time of the lawsuit, the state of Indiana had com-

pleted one segment, spending $6.7 million in federal

funds. Id. One of the uncompleted segments was set to

bisect the plaintiff’s property, a shopping mall in South

Bend, Indiana. Id. The plaintiff brought suit, arguing that

the state had not complied with NEPA. Id. at 485. The

state then decided to build the segment without further

federal assistance. Id. at 486. This, the state apparently

argued, relieved it of its duty to comply with NEPA.

Looking to the history of federal-state involvement in the

project, the court concluded that the highway project

“was so imbued” with a “federal character” that the state

had to comply with the federal environmental statutes

even if it withdrew the project from federal funding

participation. Id. at 489. Simply put, “there is a point in

the on-going federal-state relationship under Federal-Aid

Highway Act programming at which the requirements of

NEPA must be met.” Id.

We find the analysis of Scottsdale Mall persuasive. At

the advanced stage of the trafficway project, it was sim-

ply too late for the state of Kansas to convert the eastern

segment into a local project. Since 1986, local, state and

federal authorities scheduled, programmed and worked

on the trafficway as a joint federal-state project. The

federal nature of the trafficway was so pervasive that the

Kansas authorities could not rid the project of federal

involvement simply by withdrawing the last segment of

App. 62

the project from federal funding. See Scottsdale Mall, 549

F.2d at 488.

Defendants assert that § 145 gives the state the

authority to convert the eastern segment into a local

project. See supra n. 3. To be sure, § 145 guarantees to

states the right to select which of many transportation

projects shall receive FAHA assistance. Section 145 does

not, however, authorize states to circumvent compliance

with NEPA by persuading FHWA to withdraw from par-

ticipation in a portion of a selected project. See Scottsdale

Mall, 549 F.2d at 488; see also Los Ranchos, 906 F.2d at 1482

(noting that there was no showing that the local defen-

dants were trying to evade federal environmental

requirements). See Scottsdale Mall, 549 F.2d at 488. In other

words, once the federal government is pervasively

involved in every stage of a federal-aid highway project,

§ 145 does not allow states to withdraw a portion of the

project from federal funding consideration with the

resulting effect of avoiding compliance with federal envi-

ronmental laws. Therefore, the decision by KDOT and

Douglas County not to use additional federal funds on

the eastern leg of the project did not change the funda-

mental nature of this project as a “major federal action”

or relieve the state of its obligation to comply with NEPA.

We do not, however, define the precise point at which a

federal project becomes immutably federal for purposes

of NEPA compliance. We conclude only that the South

Lawrence Trafficway was so imbued with a federal char-

acter that the eastern segment of the project could not be

“defederalized.”

Defendants rely heavily on Los Ranchos, 906 F.2d 1477

(10th Cir.1990), to argue that the eastern segment is not a

App- 63

major federal action. We find nothing in Los Ranchos,

however, which supports Defendants’ decision to

“defederalize” the eastern segment of the South Law-

rence trafficway. Los Ranchos is distinguishable from the

present case because of the nature and degree of federal

involvement with the transportation project at issue in

that case.

In Los Ranchos, FHWA had only preliminary involve-

ment in the project. FHWA’s involvement was limited to

assistance with the preparation of the EIS and approval of

the final EIS. As of the date of the approval of the EIS,

“federal involvement in the . . . [project] came to an end.”

Los Ranchos, 906 F.2d at 1479. Importantly, the state did

not request or receive federal funding for the construc-

tion of the project. Id. The only federal funds expended

were $59,000 incurred in connection with the preparation

of the EIS. Although the project remained eligible for

federal funding, we concluded that “eligibility in itself is

not sufficient to establish a major federal action requiring

the FHWA to comply with the requirements of NEPA.” Id.

at 1481. Our case differs significantly from Los Ranchos.

First, it differs because federal funding was sought and

appropriated® for the trafficway, including the 31st Street

segment. Second, it is distinguishable because FHWA

5 Defendants make much of the fact that all but $108,000 of

the $10.4 million appropriated for construction of the trafficway

was spent on the three western segments. We do not find this

determinative. To do so would mean that a state could request

and accept federal funds for a highway project, spend all the

allocated funds on only a portion of the project and then avoid

NEPA compliance for the remainder of the project, arguing that

no federal funds had been expended.

App. 64

participation continued long after the initial EIS was com-

pleted and approved, unlike Los Ranchos where federal

involvement ceased at the preliminary planning stages of

the project. Thus, we do not find Defendants’ reliance on

Los Ranchos persuasive.

..

Although we agree with the district court’s conclu-

sion that § 145 does not permit the state to “defederalize”

the eastern segment of the trafficway, we do not adopt

the district court’s analysis. See Gowan v. U.S. Dept. of Air

Force, 148 F.3d 1182, 1189 (10th Cir.1998) (we may affirm

the district court on any ground supported by the

record). The district court based its decision on the traf-

ficway’s status as a demonstration project, distinguishing

between demonstration projects, which are expressly

selected and funded by Congress, and “normal” federal-

aid highway projects, which the states prioritize and for

which appropriations are not specifically designated. The

district court concluded that the state sovereignty provi-

sion of § 145 of the FAHA does not apply to demonstra-

tion projects. If it did, the district court opined, § 145

would “eliminate demonstration projects for all intents

and purposes.” 972 F.Supp. at 561. The court was con-

cerned that, in effect, the application of § 145 to demon-

stration projects would allow states to rewrite

appropriations bills. Thus, the district court concluded

that because “Congress appropriated over $10 million in

demonstration funds for a fourteen-mile Trafficway, not a

four-mile nor a ten-mile highway . . . [t]he conditions

attached to the grant of federal funds to the state [for the

trafficway] are unequivocal.” Id.

App. 65

Although well-reasoned, the district court’s analysis

did not have the benefit of a recent amendment to § 145,°

which Defendants contend directly contradicts the dis-

trict court’s analysis. Based upon the amendment'’s plain

language, Congress apparently intended for demonstra-

tion projects to be treated no differently than any other

federal-aid highway projects for purposes of the state

sovereignty provision of § 145. We need not decide the

effect of this amendment on this case, however, because

§ 145, either in its original form or as amended, does not

authorize Kansas to circumvent federal environmental

laws by withdrawing a segment of the trafficway from

federal funding at this late stage in the project.

D.

In the alternative, Defendants argue that the district

court erred by granting injunctive relief requiring FHWA

6 On June 9, 1998, President Clinton signed into law the

Transportation Equity Act for the Twenty First Century, Pub.L.

No. 105-178, § 1601(b). The Act amends § 145 by (1) creating

subsection (a) consisting of the original provision of § 145 and

entitled “Protection of State Sovereignty”; and (2) adding

subsection (b) which provides as follows:

Purpose of Projects - The projects described

in... section 149(a) of the Surface Transportation and

Uniform Relocation Assistance Act of 1987 [STURRA]

are intended to establish eligibility for Federal-aid

highway funds made available for such

projects .. . and are not intended to define the scope

or limits of Federal action in a manner inconsistent

with subsection (a).

Section 149(a) of STURRA created the demonstration project at

issue in this case.

App. 66

to issue a final SEIS without first allowing FHWA to

determine whether an SEIS was needed to complete the

project. We review the district court’s grant of an injunc-

tion for abuse of discretion. Law v. National Collegiate

Athletic Ass'n, 134 F.3d 1010, 1016 (10th Cir.1998).

The district court’s injunction prevents Defendants

from “taking any action and expending any funds on the

eastern leg of the Trafficway prior to completion of the

supplemental environmental impact statement process,

issuance of a final supplemental environmental impact

statement, and entry of a new Record of Decision.” 972

F.Supp. at 563. Defendants argue that the injunction

“impermissibly usurped the agency's discretion” by

ordering the SEIS. We disagree. Courts have routinely

recognized the appropriateness of injunctive relief requir-

ing the preparation or completion of an EIS or SEIS. See

Sierra Club v. Hodel, 848 F.2d 1068, 1096-97 (10th Cir.1988)

(enjoining construction pending completion of NEPA

studies) (overruled on other grounds by Village of Los

Ranchos De Albuquerque v. Marsh, 956 F.2d 970 (10th

Cir.1992)); Wisconsin v. Weinberger, 745 F.2d 412, 428 (7th

Cir.1984) (“An order requiring the preparation of an SEIS,

of course, may always be appropriate to vindicate the

purposes of NEPA”); Environmental Defense Fund v. Ten-

nessee Valley Auth., 468 F.2d 1164, 1168 (6th Cir.1972)

(requiring completion of EIS prior to construction of proj-

ect).

The district court in this case did not “usurp”

FHWA’s discretion by ordering FHWA to complete the

SEIS process. The injunction merely remedies the

improper agency conduct in this case, that is, FHWA’s

discontinuance of the SEIS process and withdrawal as

App. 67

lead agency from the trafficway. Therefore, the district

court did not abuse its discretion in ordering the relief.

Il.

We sympathize with the state and county's desire to

complete the last segment of the South Lawrence Traffic-

way, and indeed they thought they had found a way to

complete it. However, as the Fifth Circuit explained in

San Antonio, “[nJo one forced the State to seek federal

funding, to accept federal participation, or to commence

construction of a federal aid highway. The State, by enter-

ing into this venture, voluntarily submitted itself to fed-

eral law.” 446 F.2d at 1028. The state of Kansas and

Douglas County chose to develop this trafficway in con-

junction with the federal government as a federal-aid

highway project and proceeded in that manner for more

than ten years before attempting to “defederalize” a por-

tion of the project. Although states may, in appropriate

circumstances, choose to construct a highway project as a

purely local undertaking and, as a result, avoid federal

environmental laws, this is not that case. Kansas and

Douglas County’s attempt to withdraw a portion of the

trafficway from federal funding, after the project hit an

environmental road block, does not relieve FHWA of its

statutory obligation to comply with NEPA. Therefore,

FHWA abused its discretion by discontinuing the SEIS

process and withdrawing from the eastern leg of the

trafficway.

For these reasons, the decision of the district court is

AFFIRMED.

App. 68

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

THOMASINE ROSS; STANLEY

ROSS; ANJANETTE BITSIE;

PAMINA YELLOWBIRD; JASON

DANIELS; WETLANDS

PRESERVATION ORGANIZATION,

KANSAS UNIVERSITY ENVIRONS,

Kansas unincorporated associations,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V.

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

FEDERAL HIGHWAY ia liata

ADMINISTRATION; DAVID

GEIGER, in his official capacity as )

division administrator; MARK )

BUHLER; TOM TAUL; DEAN

NEIDER, in their official capacities )

as Douglas County, Kansas,

Commissioners; E. DEAN )

CARLSON, in his official capacity )

as Kansas Secretary of )

Transportation,

)

Defendants-Appellees.

ORDER

Filed March 21, 2001

Before KELLY, ANDERSON, and HENRY, Circuit

Judges.

App. 69

Appellants’ petition for rehearing is denied.

The petition for rehearing en banc was transmitted to

all of the judges of the court who are in regular active

service as required by Fed. R. App. P. 35. As no member

of the panel and no judge in regular active service on the

court requested that the court be polled, that petition is

also denied.

Entered for the Court

PATRICK FISHER, Clerk of Court

by: /s/ Danielle Aguirre

Deputy Clerk

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.