Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Morgan v. United States

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

: Supreme Court, U.S.

1) FILED

"001884 JUN 18 200r

No. OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

MARK A. MORGAN,

Petitioner,

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

R. STAN MORTENSON

JOHN P. ELWOoD

Counsel of Record

BAKER BoTTs L.L.P.

1299 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004-2400

(202) 639-7700

Counsel for Petitioner

ee ee ee ee ee nT

ODO ern

OREN EY PREY

i eV cae ee

PIV AMEE IR soem ROE

2 welyrns

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether to establish a claim of “actual innocence”

sufficient to overcome a procedural default, a habeas

petitioner’s claim that his conduct was beyond the power of

the federal government to proscribe must, at the time of his

petition, be clearly established by controlling precedent.

2. Whether petitioner’s guilty plea to violating 18 U.S.C.

§ 666 forecloses his as-applied challenge to the

constitutionality of that statute. :

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

SEI iblnididctisdesiitknccrsireiicuapeeuienddiinaumbiieek aes l

ici iild scinireininasennainnihebeeidiniiidblseitibned naeiie ca 2

ET Om S SaR a OE NT aT 2

Reasons for Granting the Petition ..0.0..........cccccccecececseseceseee. 9

I. The Eighth Circuit’s Erroneous Conclusion

That A Petitioner Is “Actually Innocent” Only

If A Controlling Court Has Squarely

Established His Entitlement To Relief

Conflicts With This Court’s Precedent And

Decisions Of Other Courts Of Appeals ..................... 11

A. The Eighth Circuit's Decision Is Clearly

a, RETRO SR CNS AE 13

B. The Eighth Circuit's Judgment Conflicts

With Decisions Of This Court And Other

Federal Courts Of Appeals ............c.cccccccccececesseseee. 14

II. The Panel’s Erroneous Decision That As-

Applied Challenges To The Constitutionality

Of A Statute Are Insufficient To Challenge A

Guilty Plea Is Inconsistent With This Court’s

Precedent And Rulings Of Other Courts Of

ITIIITTE ihnisehhcbstninbosetsiiesiihinsiiihaminiibaicasalnsi Gute leaee. 16

Ill. The Issues Presented Are Important and

SRS ER eee ee aa ae 19

SESE NER 2a a 21

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Bousley v. United States,

he Ce ectsinsttcinsnnesinstihniciessio 11, 12, 13

Cleveland v. United States,

Fae a Se I cetittaiacenaisnnndeeesasiiniletaasicciaaditaie 19

Commonwealth of Va. v. Browner,

80 F.3d 869 (4th Cir. 1996) ...............sccceccssscsess 12

Davis v. United States,

GF ie Be Ce iincvtitinnneiiininsseis 3, 12, 14, 15

Fischer v. United States, f

ee Ee ED eicikititenintibionntbionetad 9, 19, 20

Gardner v. Baltimore Mayor

DGD FAG G3 CG Cae, 19D) oevccccccnccccaccsncnstsnnceses 11

Gutknecht v. United States,

ee ee i iiictitiicnstadsiensnnindunnialeiiinn 14, 15

Haynes v. United States,

es Te CD isi cntnitiitaiidasitindntas 3, 16, 17, 21

Herrera v. Collins,

FR Sats SN iaiicctepphninhiesinseitcieniite 11, 13,21

Howard v. United States,

135 F.3d 506 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 525 U.S. 832 (1998)........... 3, 12, 16

Jones v. United States,

SF A ils: sisiistinniniicelidobabeddcidauici 19, 20

Marchetti v. United States,

hee AR ee aiicketinicininddiatuetbiodindabatabeliees 18

Menna v. New York,

ED aes WEE Ce FAR casks schernntitnbesnhdcictstblestabdithetiins 18

Montana v. Johnson,

738 F.2d 1074 (9th Cir. 1984)... eceeee 15

Pennhurst State Sch. & Hosp. v. Halderman,

BE AE Ei. SRR P Mt E RAP Lae FONE! ON OE 8

Salinas v. United States,

er GE RES |, REDD 2, 7, 8,9, 12

Sodders v. Parratt,

693 F.2d 811 (8th Cir. 1982)... eee 17

Solid Waste Authority v. Army Corps of Engineers,

Se es Gir OD cicascsichinstnichctsslatilaccostubasicas 20

Teague v. Lane,

Fe NOD i erstsecsininsinteiatininicsbiicsciasibniashdle 13

Woodruff v. United States,

131 F.3d 1238 (7th Cir. 1997),

cert. denied, 524 U.S. 956 (1998) .........:ccsc0000 12

United States v. Benboe,

FF cn Fe Cr iiasdtnssbielanicaetrgreccee 16

United States v. Bluso,

519 F.2d 473 (4th Cir. 1975)... eee 3,18

United States v. Butler,

PT Cats © Ci cieesasnttighitiniatittiensniaiaias 12

United States v. Dakota,

188 F.3d 663 (6th Cir. 1999)... cece eens 10

United States v. Fox,

454 F.2d 593 (9th Cir. 1971)..............cccccsseeeeeees 14

United States v. Frega,

933 F. Supp. 1536 (S.D. Cal. 1996)..........0....... 10

United States v. Jones,

231 F.3d 508 (9th Cir. 2000)..................0.... 20, 21

United States v. Lopez,

FAS UD, Fa Ce ceviitisvitiahiaibahiieateniininaiis 19

United States v. Malone,

222 F.3d 1286 (10th Cir. 2000)......................0- 21

United States v. McCormack,

31 F. Supp. 2d 176

Ds FI Dee iiiinisiniascientininiscincnisninlsbeiladmaienecall 10

United States v. Morrison,

SED ls SEO ee ivrsnenitnniniiaiaianin 20

United States v. Phillips,

Goh & Rf, Noreen: 2, 8, 9, 10

United States v. Sams,

$21 F.2d 421 (3d Cir. 1975)................ 3, 4, 17, 19

United States v. Sanders

157 F.3d 302 (1998) ocsesconcccccsccnsccosecenacssossene 16

vii

United States v. Sandsness,

988 F.2d 970 (9th Cir. 1993)... eee eee 3,17

United States v. Santopietro,

166 F.3d 88 (2d Cir. 1999)... 2, 9, 10

United States v. Ury,

ok yp fe os Re 17

United States v. Wesela,

223 F.3d 656 (7th Cir. 2000)................ccccceeeseees 20

United States v. Zwick,

mw gk 2,9

Statutes:

Oe ls eB ccneitiniininieteinniall 20

Oe i Oe cieericicttiniietithacesdathithensstititaneniaietnaiciaiialh 20

Ri ies: ir Ura iaesiilctithnseciisnhbieesnseniiihlinaindelttelananita 19

ee eens SI icenanchapencnesuenhtinntsdenenidinnitanateteiind passim

Fe as Me nnisnrisisiercissiistaincnetensiniciiaeianiaaicitunasimeanidatiine 5

fk a | Ee iecvclemmtelsasiiaimienmtaieias 5

Be ie Oe Cs CID ccertictnsnccnnscsesninsneniecnennnenemns 5

a ee Se ee A i e eccecntninnicstnceneticernnnttnniiinns 20

ae eis Oe I wihiitaciicttasceacaacticanninainiaigel 17

eset I wcliibinsitaiteicnsiaincititinscictiaiatnntiiespiliiniddeanicael 2

yt Tee 7, 12, 14, 16

Other Authorities:

oe Be 8S Rr ee 5

Charles F.C. Ruff, Federal Prosecution

of Local Corruption: A Case Study

in the Making of Law Enforcement Policy,

| eee 10

Vili

Cristian M. Stevens, Revolutionary or

Aberrational?: The Status of the

Supreme Court’s Recent Federalism

Cases in the Eighth Circuit,

44 St. Louis L.J. 529 (2000)... eeeeeeeeeeeees 12

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

No. 00-_

MARK A. MORGAN,

Petitioner,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Wnit of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Mark A. Morgan respectfully requests that this

Court issue a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. la-14a) is

reported at 230 F.3d 1067. The order of the en banc court of

appeals denying petitioner’s petition for rehearing (App. 15a-

16a) is reported at 244 F.3d 674. The order of the district

court (App. 17a-26a) denying petitioner’s motion to vacate

and set aside sentence is not reported.

(1)

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

October 24, 2000. A timely petition for rehearing was denied

on March 19, 2001. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATEMENT

This case presents questions about the proper scope of the

“actual innocence” gateway that permits collateral review of

procedurally defaulted claims, and about the types of

constitutional challenges that survive a guilty piea. Mark

Morgan, a Kansas City developer, pleaded guilty to violating

18 U.S.C. § 666 for conspiring to bribe a local official to

make zoning changes on non-federally funded projects. As

even the Eighth Circuit conceded below, an intervening

decision of this Court “suggest[s]” (App. 5a) that the federal

government lacks constitutional authority to punish Mr.

Morgan’s purely local acts of bribery, see Salinas v. United

States, 522 U.S. 52, 61 (1997), and numerous intervening

court of appeals decisions unequivocally confirm that Section

666 “does not reach misconduct of local officials whose

actions do not threaten the integrity of federal funds or

programs.” App. 3a (describing holding of United States v.

Phillips, 219 F.3d 404, 412-14 (5th Cir. 2000)).' Indeed, one

judge below explicitly concluded that “Congress lacked the

power to enact” the only crime of which Mr. Morgan stands

convicted. App. 13a (Bye, J., specially concurring); id. at

l6a (Bye., J., dissenting). Nonetheless, the Eighth Circuit

wrongly concluded that Mr. Morgan’s as-applied challenge to

' See also App. 2a-3a (“United States v. Santopietro, 166 F.3d 88,

93 (2d Cir. 1999) (Salinas may be read as requiring a threat to a federal

program’s integrity and proper operation to assure § 666 is not

unconstitutionally applied); United States v. Zwick, 199 F.3d 672, 687

(3rd Cir. 1999) (§ 666 requires government to prove federal interest is

implicated by defendant’s offense conduct)”).

3

Section 666 was not a claim of “actual innocence” that would

entitle him to relief when raised for the first time on habeas.

That clearly mistaken ruling implicates two distinct

circuit splits. First, the Eighth Circuit’s conclusion that a

person may raise a claim of actual innocence only if an

“intervening controlling precedent . . . has clearly established

[the defendant’s] actions do not constitute a crime” (App. 4a-

5a), squarely conflicts with Davis v. United States, 417 U.S.

333, 346 (1974), and a ruling of the Seventh Circuit. See

Howard v. United States, 135 F.3d 506, 508 (7th Cir.), cert.

denied, 525 U.S. 832 (1998). Second, the Eighth Circuit’s

ruling that a guilty plea waives as-applied challenges to a

statute (App. 6a) squarely conflicts with this Court’s

precedent, see Haynes v. United States, 390 U.S. 85, 87 n.2,

99 (1968), and opens up a nft with the Third, Fourth, and

Ninth Circuits, all of which have held that such claims

survive guilty pleas. See United States v. Sandsness, 988

F.2d 970, 971 (9th Cir. 1993); United States v. Sams, 521

F.2d 421, 426 (3d Cir. 1975); United States v. Bluso, 519

F.2d 473, 474 (4th Cir. 1975) (same).

These issues are of increasing importance to the lower

federal courts and warrant this Court’s review. Recent

precedents have called into question the validity of a

tremendous number of criminal convictions and the federal

courts are faced with the question whether habeas petitioners

may raise challenges analogous to those already recognized

by this Court or are limited to claims “clearly established” by

existing “controlling precedent.” App. 4a. This case also

implicates fundamental questions of justice. As the Third

Circuit noted, in finding relief appropriate under

circumstances identical to Mr. Morgan’s, when a statute can

not constitutionally be applied to the defendant, “there is no

longer any governmental interest in continuing to punish

[him] . . . . [U]pholding the conviction will not vindicate any

legitimate societal goal.” Sams, 521 F.2d at 426 (emphasis

added). Further review is warranted.

4

A. Background and Prior Proceedings

Mark A. Morgan is a real-estate developer in Kansas

City. In successive indictments, Mr. Morgan and two co-

defendants were charged with conspiring to donate money to

charities designated by Michael B. Hernandez, a Kansas City

councilman, in order to influence his votes on two local

ordinances. The first conspiracy concerned a local ordinance

rezoning land to facilitate the construction of single-family

housing. The second concerned the city’s purchase of a plot

of land owned by Mr. Morgan and his co-defendants.

Councilman Hernandez later converted the donations to his

own use.

In July 1995, a federal grand jury indicted Mr. Morgan

and two co-defendants, charging them with conspiring to

bribe a public official, federal-program bribery in violation of

Section 666, and money laundering. Mr. Morgan moved to

dismiss the indictment, arguing in relevant part that both the

United States Constitution and Section 666 itself require the

government to demonstrate a connection between the alleged

bribes and federal-program funds received by Kansas City.

In November 1995, Judge Joseph E. Stevens, Jr. dismissed

the six money-laundering counts, but declined to dismiss the

bribery and conspiracy counts, holding that “there-is no

constitutional requirement that the government show a nexus

between the federal funds and the alleged incidents of

bribery.” C.A. App. 51. Almost two years later, in July

1997, the grand jury returned a nine-count superseding

indictment against Mr. Morgan and his co-defendants, again

charging them with conspiracy and federal-program bribery

under Section 666. C.A. App. 53.

As relevant here, Section 666 prohibits the solicitation or

payment of bribes to agents of state or local governments in

connection with any government “business, transaction, or

series of transactions” valued at $5,000 or more (18 U.S.C. §

666(a)) if the government “receives, in any one year period,

5

benefits in excess of $10,000 under a Federal program... .”

§ 666(b). The statute also applies to non-governmental

“organization[s]” that receive $10,000 in federal benefits. Jd.

Unlike many federal criminal laws, which were enacted

pursuant to Congress’ commerce or postal power, Section

666 was enacted under Congress’ Article I spending power.

See U.S. Const. Art. I, §8, cl. 1 (“Congress shall have Power .

. . to pay the Debts and provide for the common Defense and

general Welfare of the United States”). The superseding

indictment alleged that Councilman Hernandez was an

“agent” of the City of Kansas City, that the City of Kansas

City was a “local government,” and—most importantly—that

“(t]he City of Kansas City, Missouri, received federal

benefits of over $10,000 under Federal programs involving

grants, contracts, subsidies, loans, guarantees, insurance or

other forms of assistance” during the relevant period. C.A.

App. 54. See generally 18 U.S.C. § 666(b), (d)(1), (d)(3).

The superseding indictment contained no other allegations

about federal funding or programs. See C.A. App. 53-68.

Mr. Morgan again moved to dismiss the Section 666

charges as unconstitutional because the government had

failed to allege that the bribes had in any way threatened the

integrity of federal-program funds. Magistrate Judge Robert

E. Larsen concluded that “the enactment of § 666 was a

proper exercise of Congress’ power under the Spending

Power” (C.A. App. 75) and recommending that the motion be

denied. Mr. Morgan filed a timely objection to Magistrate

Judge Larsen’s recommendation. C.A. App. 23. Because the

case was resolved before trial, Judge Stevens never addressed

Mr. Morgan’s motion to dismiss the superseding indictment.

On the eve of trial, Mr. Morgan agreed to plead guilty to

the superseding indictment’s two conspiracy counts in

exchange for the government’s dismissal of the seven

substantive program-bribery charges. During the change-of-

plea hearing, Judge Stevens asked the government to specify

what it would have proven had the case gone to trial. The

6

government described the alleged conspiracy and then turned

to the jurisdictional requirements of Section 666 (C.A. App.

95-96) (emphasis added):

[THE GOVERNMENT]: ... The government

would also be able to prove [that] the project that was

being affected, the transaction that was being affected

by this bribe was worth more than five thousand

dollars to the City of Kansas City, Missouri, and that

in that fiscal year and the year after, the City of

Kansas City, Missouri received more than ten

thousand dollars in federal funds.

* * *

THE COURT: More than ten thousand in federal

funds for this project?

[THE GOVERNMENT]: No, the statute requires,

and I believe the court has ruled in this case, that

there is no need for the direct flow of funds to be

traced [to this project], relying on the Congressional

history of that statute.

During the remainder of the plea hearing and factual

proffer, the government never asserted that any of the

federal-program funds received by the City of Kansas City

were in any way affected or threatened by either of the

bribery conspiracies at issue. Instead, the government relied

solely on the fact that Kansas City—like thousands of other

cities and towns—teceived substantial federal funding.

On April 21, 1998, Judge Stevens entered judgment and

sentenced Mr. Morgan to eighteen months in prison followed

by two years of supervised release, and ordered him to pay a

fine and costs of confinement. C.A. App. 106-10. As an

explicit condition of the plea agreement, Mr. Morgan was

required to waive “his right to appeal any aspect of his

conviction.” C.A. App. 78. Accordingly, Mr. Morgan did

not appeal.

7

B. Section 2255 Motion and District Court’s Ruling

On April 12, 1999, Mr. Morgan timely filed a motion to

vacate his conviction and sentence under 28 U.S.C. § 2255.

Mr. Morgan argued that Section 666 was unconstitutionally

applied to his conduct, because “[t]he government neither

alleged nor proved that the conduct for which [he] was

indicted, convicted and sentenced had any connection with

the expenditure of federal funds or posed any threat to the

integrity and proper operation of a federal program.”

Memorandum In Support of Motion of Mark A. Morgan to

Vacate and Set Aside Sentence Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2255,

at 1. The government did not contest that Mr. Morgan’s

conduct posed no threat to the integrity of federal funds or

programs, and asserted that the requisite federal nexus was

provided by Kansas City’s receipt of at least $10,000 in

federal benefits. C.A. App. 113.

Without holding a hearing, on June 14, 1999 Judge Gary

A. Fenner denied the motion on two grounds. First, Judge

Fenner concluded that the claim was procedurally barred

because Mr. Morgan had not appealed the issue. Judge

Fenner concluded that Mr. Morgan did not qualify for the

“actual innocence” exception to that procedural bar because

his challenge to the application of Section 666 was a “claim

of legal error, rather than factual error.” C.A. App. 121.

Second, Judge Fenner rejected the motion on the merits,

finding that the necessary “federal ‘nexus’ [wa]s supplied by

[Section 666’s] requirement that the government or agency

received at least $10,000 in a year... .” C.A. App. 123.

C. Eighth Circuit Affirmance

The Eight Circuit affirmed. The court conceded that this

Court’s opinion in Salinas “suggested” (App. 5a) that Section

666 could not constitutionally be used to prosecute local acts

of bribery, and acknowledged the mass of “later circuit

cases” (id. at 4a) holding that “§ 666 does not reach

misconduct of local officials whose actions do not threaten

8

the integrity of federal funds.” /d. at 3a (describing Phillips,

219 F.3d at 412-14). However, the court concluded that Mr.

Morgan’s as-applied challenge to the statute was “not an

actual innocence claim he may raise for the first time on

collateral review” (id. at 4a) because the favorable opinions

from other circuits were not binding on the Eighth Circuit.

Id. at 4a-Sa (“there is no intervening controlling precedent

that has clearly established Morgan’s actions do not

constitute a crime... .”). Second, the court of appeals held

that even if Mr. Morgan had shown a “gateway” claim of

actual innocence, his claim that he could not constitutionally

be prosecuted for local acts of bribery was insufficient to

challenge a knowing and counseled guilty plea. Rather, the

court held, a counseled guilty plea could be challenged only

by a facial challenge to the constitutionality of the statute.

Id. at Sa-6a.

Judge Bye concurred specially. He agreed with Mr.

Morgan that “Congress exceeded its proper authority in

enacting § 666” and thus “the law is unconstitutional, void ab

initio.” App. 10a. Because Congress’ Spending Clause

power is “comprehensible only by analogy to principles of

contract law,” (id. at lla (citing Pennhurst State Sch. &

Hosp. v. Halderman, 451 U.S. 1, 17 (1981)), Congress may

indirectly regulate state conduct by attending conditions to

grants of money, but it is powerless “to proscribe the conduct

of third persons who aren’t parties to the funding contract.”

Id. at 12a-13a. Because the administrative panel of the

Eighth Circuit had not included Mr. Morgan’s facial

challenge to the statute in the certificate of appealability,

C.A. App. 126, Judge Bye concurred in the affirmance. Jd. at

14a.

Mr. Morgan sought rehearing and rehearing en banc,

arguing that the panel decision was in error and arguing that

the court should have revised the scope of the certificate of

appealability to include Mr. Morgan’s facial challenge in

light of Judge Bye’s conclusion that the statute was facially

9

unconstitutional. Nearly four months later on March 19,

2001, the en banc Eighth Circuit denied the petition. The en

banc court clarified that its precedent did not foreclose the

ability of “an Eighth Circuit hearing panel to exercise its

discretion to consider sua sponte issues beyond those

specified in a certificate of appealability.” App. 15a. Judge

Bye concurred in that decision, but dissented from the court’s

failure to rehear Mr. Morgan’s facial challenge to the statute

en banc, noting that the constitutional challenge “has merit”

and “bears careful consideration by our court.” Jd. at 16a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This Court’s decision in Salinas v. United States, 522

U.S. 52 (1997), “may be read to indicate that the ‘threat to

the integrity and proper operation of [a] federal program’

created by the corrupt activity is necessary to assure that [§

666] is not unconstitutionally applied.” United States v.

Santopietro, 166 F.3d 88, 93 (2d Cir. 1999) (quoting Salinas,

522 U.S. at 61) (first alteration in original; emphasis added);

accord United States v. Phillips, 219 F.3d 404, 423 (Sth Cir.

2000) (Emilio M. Garza. J., concurring in part and

dissenting in part). Just last Term in Fischer v. United

States, 529 U.S. 667 (2000), this Court concluded that a

broad reading of Section 666 would “upse[t] the proper

federal balance.” Jd. at 681; accord id. at 689 n.3 (Thomas,

J., dissenting) (“[w]ithout a jurisdictional provision that

would ensure that in each case the exercise of federal power

is related to the federal interest in a federal program, § 666

would criminalize routine acts of fraud or bribery, which, as

the Court admits, would ‘upse[t] the proper federal

balance””’).

Numerous other federal courts have held that the

constitution prohibits prosecution under Section 666 unless

the conduct has threatened the integrity of federal funds.

United States v. Zwick, 199 F.3d 672, 687 (3d Cir. 1999)

(“Applying § 666 to offense conduct, absent evidence of any

10

federal interest, would appear to be an unconstitutional

exercise of power under the Spending Clause.”); United

States v. McCormack, 31 F. Supp. 2d 176, 186 (D. Mass.

1998) (same). Still other courts have interpreted Section 666

to require a showing of a threat to federal funds in part to

avoid the constitutional concerns of a statute that had no

such requirement. Phillips, 219 F.3d at 412-14 and n.13 (to

support conviction under § 666, “the fraud must have the

potential to affect the identified federal funds or program”);

Santopietro, 166 F.3d at 93 (caselaw “requires at least some

connection between the bribe and a risk to the integrity of the

federally funded program”); United States v. Frega, 933 F.

Supp. 1536, 1543 (S.D. Cal. 1996) (to satisfy statute must

show federal funds “were corruptly administered, [or] were

in danger of being corruptly administered”); but see United

States v. Dakota, 188 F.3d 663, 668 (6th Cir. 1999) (no

statutory requirement of threat to federal funds). See

Generally Charles F.C. Ruff, Federal Prosecution of Local

Corruption: A Case Study in the Making of Law Enforcement

Policy, 65 Geo. L.J. 1171, 1172, 1215 (1977) (emphasis

added) (then-Director of Watergate Special Prosecution

Force observes that federal prosecution of local corruption is

“perhaps the most sensitive area of potential federal-state

conflict” and that “there is no legitimate federal interest to

be protected [by federal prosecution]” if local corruption

does not undermine federal law enforcement).

The government did not allege that Mr. Morgan’s

conduct in any way threatened the integrity of federal funds,

and the record is barren of any proof to support such a claim.

Thus, Mr. Morgan has raised a substantial claim that he

cannot lawfully be punished by the federal government for

his conduct bribing a local official regarding zoning and

property ordinances, which are “matter[s] of paramount local

concern.” Gardner v. Baltimore Mayor, 969 F.2d 63, 69 (4th

Cir. 1992). The Eighth Circuit’s decision below barring Mr.

Morgan from proceeding with his claim is clearly wrong,

11

conflicts with this Court’s precedent, and implicates two

distinct circuit splits involving important issues of federal

law. Further review is warranted.

I. THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT’S ERRONEOUS

CONCLUSION THAT A _ PETITIONER IS

“ACTUALLY INNOCENT” ONLY IF A

CONTROLLING COURT HAS SQUARELY

ESTABLISHED HIS ENTITLEMENT TO

RELIEF CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT’S

PRECEDENT AND DECISIONS OF OTHER

COURTS OF APPEALS

Federal courts will entertain the procedurally defaulted

claim of a habeas petitioner who pleaded guilty if he can

demonstrate that he is “probably” actually innocent of the

offense. Bousley v. United States, 523 U.S. 614, 623 (1998).

The purpose of the “actual innocence” gateway is to limit the

federal courts’ equitable discretion to consider procedurally

defaulted claims to the small group of petitioners most

deserving of relief: Those whose conduct is not punishable,

for whom punishment would be a “fundamental miscarriage

of justice.” Herrera v. Collins, 506 U.S. 390, 404 (1993).

There is no serious question that Mr. Morgan’s as-applied

constitutional challenge to the application of Section 666 to

local acts of bribery not threatening federal funds is the type

of contention that will support a claim of “actual innocence.”

A claim that the federal government lacks constitutional

authority to prosecute a crime is a paradigmatic example of

an actual innocence claim. As this Court noted in Bousley, a

determination that conduct is “beyond the power of the

criminal law-making authority to proscribe, necessarily

carr[ies] a significant risk that a defendant stands convicted

of an act that the law does not make criminal,” Bousley, 523

U.S. at 620 (internal quotations and citations omitted;

emphasis added), which “‘inherently results in a complete

miscarriage of justice’ and ‘present[s] exceptional

12

circumstances’ that justify collateral relief under § 2255.”

Davis v. United States, 417 U.S. 333, 346-47 (1974). Thus,

even after a defendant has “pleaded guilty . . . § 2255 is

available for a case in which the defendant argues that the

conduct for which he was convicted never rose to the level of

a federal offense.” Howard v. United States, 135 F.3d 506,

508 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 525 U.S. 832 (1998); see also

Woodruff v. United States, 131 F.3d 1238, 1243 (7th Cir.

1997) (habeas relief is available “where someone has actually

pleaded guilty to conduct not made unlawful”), cert. denied,

524 U.S. 956 (1998).

Although not disputing that as-applied challenges to

federal prosecution are the sorts of claims that will support a

finding of actual innocence (see App. 4a-5a), the Eighth

Circuit concluded that Mr. Morgan’s claim fell short because

“{t]here is no intervening controlling precedent that has

clearly established Morgan’s actions do not constitute a

crime.”” Jd. at 4a-Sa (emphasis added). Essentially, the court

held that Mr. Morgan could not proceed because neither this

Court nor the Eighth Circuit had already squarely held

Section 666 unconstitutional when applied to local conduct.

? The Eighth Circuit did not seem to contest that Salinas was an

“intervening” decision (App. 5a), and in any event, the requirement of an

intervening change of law is amply satisfied in this case by Salinas and

its progeny. Prior to those holdings, Mr. Morgan’s spending-clause

challenge would have been considered borderline frivolous given the

extreme rarity of successful challenges to Spending Clause enactments.

See, e.g., United States v. Butler, 297 U.S. 1, 68 (1936). As Judge Bye

noted below, “‘[nJo court . . . has ever struck down a federal statute on

grounds that it exceeded the Spending Power.’ Commonwealth of Va. v.

Browner, 80 F.3d 869, 881 (4th Cir. 1996).” App. 13a. Significantly,

between the time of indictment and conviction in this case, the Eighth

tain "tue te Gada i tee

criminal statutes. See Cristian M. Stevens, Revolutionary or

Aberrational?: The Status of the Supreme Court's Recent Federalism

Cases in the Eighth Circuit, 44 St. Louis LJ. 529, 624 (2000) (discussing

cases and concluding that effect of this Court’s federalism precedents in

the Eighth Circuit “has been surprisingly minimal”).

13

A. The Eighth Circuit’s Decision Is Clearly Wrong

There is no basis in logic or law for such a restriction.

The narrowing function of the “actual innocence” gateway is

served simply by limiting its availability to persons who can

establish their factual innocence, or whose legal claims, if

well taken, would place their admitted conduct “beyond the

power of the criminal law-making authority to proscribe ....”

Bousley, 523 U.S. at 620. Because a petitioner must also

prevail on the merits of his underlying claim before he can

obtain relief, Herrera, 506 U.S. at 404, there is no basis for

erecting such an obstacle around the threshold claim to

further restrict an already narrow category. Indeed, the

Eighth Circuit gave no reason why such a restriction would

be warranted.

The Eighth Circuit’s decision engrafts an entirely alien

requirement onto the standard for actual innocence. Even

when establishing procedural bar rules for habeas challenges

by state prisoners—which, because they involve decisions of

coordinate state courts, present comity concerns not

implicated here—this Court’s procedural rules permit habeas

petitioners to raise novel constitutional claims so long as, if

those claims are found to be valid, they will “place certain

kinds of primary . . . conduct beyond the power of the law-

making authority to proscribe.” Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S.

288, 307 (1989). It would be anomalous to require more

exacting standards for claims raised by federal prisoners in

cases that do not implicate comity. Furthermore, this

requirement is inconsistent with the detailed standards

established by Congress in the stringent Antiterrorism and

Effective Death Penalty Act. For habeas petitions filed more

than one year after a conviction becomes final, Congress

explicitly limited legal claims to those involving rights that -

“ha[ve] been newly recognized by the Supreme Court and

made retroactively applicable to cases on collateral review.”

28 U.S.C. § 2255 (emphasis added). The AEDPA places no

such limitation on petitions (like this one) filed within a year

i4

of when the conviction became final. See id. There is no

basis for the Eight Circuit’s decision to create such a

procedural hurdle as a matter of common law.

B. The Eight Circuit’s Judgment Conflicts With

Decisions Of This Court And Other Federal

Courts of Appeals

The Eighth Circuit’s standard squarely conflicts with

decisions of this Court and other courts of appeals, which

have not required that actual innocence claims be limited to

those already recognized by a controlling court. In Davis v.

United States, 417 U.S. 333 (1974), this Court concluded the

petitioner had established a gateway claim of actual

innocence although this Court had not already established his

claim to be a valid one. Rather, this Court held a legal claim

was sufficient to proceed if the petitioner would be actually

innocent “if /hjis contention is well taken.” Id. at 346

(emphasis added). Far from requiring a showing that Davis’

entitlement to relief was “clearly established” at the time, the

Court explicitly disclaimed any views on the merit of his

claim that his induction notice was invalid. Jd. at 347.

In Davis, a federal prisoner on habeas challenged his

conviction for disregarding his draft notice, arguing that his

induction order was invalid and thus could not be the basis

for a valid conviction. Davis relied on Gutknecht v. United

States, 396 U.S. 295 (1970), decided after his conviction, in

which this Court had invalidated a conviction because the

induction notice was unlawful. On direct appeal, both the

district court and the Ninth Circuit squarely had held that

Gutknecht did not affect Davis’ conviction and affirmed. 417

U.S. at 339. The Ninth Circuit then decided United States v.

Fox, 454 F.2d 593 (9th Cir. 1971), involving facts

comparable to Davis’ case, in which it granted relief based on

Gutknecht. Davis argued that he was entitled to relief based

on Fox. On habeas review, both the district court and the

Ninth Circuit held that Davis was not entitled to relief under

15

Fox. The Ninth Circuit’s Fox decision obviously was not

“controlling” on this Court, nor was it even controlling on the

Ninth Circuit, which already had squarely held in Davis’ own

case that Gutknecht did not entitle him to relief.’

This Court could not have been clearer that the assertion

of a claim that conduct could not legally be punished was

itself sufficient to justify proceeding to the merits:

In this case, the petitioner’s contention is that the

decision in Gutknecht v. United States, as interpreted

and applied by the Court of Appeals for the Ninth

circuit in the Fox case after his conviction was

affirmed, establishes that his induction order was

invalid under the Selective Service Act and that he

could not be lawfully convicted for failure to comply

with that order. Jf this contention is well taken, then

Davis’ conviction and punishment are for an act that

the law does not make criminal. There can be no

room for doubt that such a circumstance “inherently

results in a complete miscarriage of justice” and

“present([s] exceptional circumstances” that justify

collateral relief under § 2255. Therefore, although

we express no view on the merits of [Davis’] claim,

we hold that the issue he raises is cognizable in a §

2255 proceeding.

417 US. at 346-47.

Similarly, the Seventh Circuit has held that the allegation

alone is enough. In Howard v. United States, 135 F.3d 506

(1998), that court held that “§ 2255 is available for a case in

which the defendant argues that the conduct for which he

> To the extent there were inconsistencies between the Ninth

Circuit’s decision in Davis and its later decision in Fox, under bedrock

tules of appellate practice, the earlier decision in Davis controlled. E.g.,

Montana v. Johnson, 738 F.2d 1074, 1077 (9th Cir. 1984)) (“We are

bound by the decisions of prior panels.”).

16

was convicted never rose to the level of a federal offense.”

Id. at 508 (emphasis added). And unlike the Eighth Circuit

below, that court did not require that controlling precedent

have “clearly established” petitioner’s right to relief before

his claim would even be considered. Indeed, in the end, the

Seventh Circuit found the claim invalid and denied relief. Jd.

at 510.

II. THE PANEL’S ERRONEOUS DECISION THAT

AS-APPLIED CHALLENGES TO THE

CONSTITUTIONALITY OF A STATUTE ARE

INSUFFICIENT TO CHALLENGE A GUILTY

PLEA IS INCONSISTENT WITH THIS

COURT’S PRECEDENT AND RULINGS OF

OTHER COURTS OF APPEALS

The Eight Circuit also held that, even if Mr. Morgan

could show a “gateway” claim of actual innocence, his as-

applied challenge to the constitutionality of Section 666 was

insufficient to overcome his guilty plea.* App. 5a. The court

held that although a knowing and voluntary guilty plea

legitimately may be challenged through a facial challenge to

the constitutionality of a statute (id. at 6a), as-applied

constitutional challenges of the sort raised by Mr. Morgan are

insufficient. Jd. That holding is mistaken and sharply

conflicts with decisions of this Court and of other circuits.

The Eighth Circuit’s conclusion is plainly foreclosed by

Haynes v. United States, 390 U.S. 85 (1968). Petitioner

* To the extent the Eighth Circuit decision suggests that actual

innocence is insufficient to challenge a guilty plea, there is no basis for

such a claim. It is well established that actual innocence is itself a

sufficient basis for raising a defaulted challenge to a guilty plea on

habeas. See, e.g., United States v. Benboe, 157 F.3d 1181, 1184 (9th Cir.

1998) (review of guilty plea on habeas not procedurally barred although

the petitioner “d[id] not specifically contend that his plea was involuntary

or unintelligent,” because he “d[id], however, argue that he is innocent”);

accord United States v. Sanders, 157 F.3d 302, 305 (Sth Cir. 1998);

Howard, 135 F.3d at 508.

17

Miles Haynes pleaded guilty to knowingly possessing a

particular type of firearm (a sawed-off shotgun or machine-

gun) that had not been registered with the Secretary of the

Treasury, in violation of 26 U.S.C. §§ 5841 and 585].

Haynes claimed that he could not validly be convicted of

failing to register under these statutes because, as possession

of such weapons was ordinarily criminal, registering would

have violated his right against self-incrimination. The Court

agreed, taking care to note that it was not finding the

provisions unconstitutional “on their face” because “there are

a number of apparently uncommon circumstances in which

registration is required of one who has not violated the

[law].” 390 U.S. at 99. The Court emphatically held that

“[p]etitioner’s plea of guilty did not, of course, waive” his

right to raise this claim by pleading guilty. Jd. at 87 n2

(emphasis added) (citing United States v. Ury, 106 F.2d 28,

28 (2d Cir. 1939) (guilty plea did not foreclose claim statute

exceeded congressional commerce power)).

Unsurprisingly, numerous courts of appeals have adhered

to Haynes and held that as-applied challenges to a statute is a

“Jurisdictional” claim not waived by entering a plea of guilty.

In United States v. Sandsness, 988 F.2d 970 (1993), the Ninth

Circuit held that petitioner’s claim that the statute he had

pleaded guilty to violating “is vague as applied” (id. at 971)

survived his guilty plea.’ And in United States v. Sams, 521

F.2d 421, 426 (3d Cir. 1975), and United States v. Bluso, 519

F.2d 473, 474 (4th Cir. 1975), the Third and Fourth Circuits

held that prisoners on collateral review could challenge guilty

pleas to violating wagering tax statutes that the Supreme

* Although the Eighth Circuit claimed below (App. 6a) that Sodders

v. Parratt, 693 F.2d 811 (8th Cir. 1982) (per curiam) involved a facial

claim of vagueness, that opinion explicitly noted that the matter at issue

was whether “the statute is constitutional as applied to Sodders.” Id. at

813 (emphasis added).

18

Court had found to be unconstitutional as applied because of

the Fifth Amendment Right against self-incrimination.°

The Eighth Circuit’s contrary conclusion is

fundamentally misguided. As this Court explained in Menna

v. New York, 423 U.S. 61 (1975) (per curiam), “[a] guilty

plea . . . simply renders irrelevant those constitutional

violations not logically inconsistent with the valid

establishment of factual guilt... .” Jd. at 62 n.2. However,

that Court was quite explicit that petitioners could

nonetheless bring claims that the crime of conviction “is one

which the [sovereign] may not constitutionally prosecute.”

Id. (emphasis added). That, of course, is exactly the type of

claim that Mr. Morgan has brought: A claim that the federal

government may not constitutionally prosecute him for local

acts of bribery that did not threaten the integrity of federal

funds.

There is no logical reason to distinguish, as the Eighth

Circuit did, between as-applied and facial challenges.

Whether a petitioner attacks a law as beyond the power of

Congress to enact (making it facially invalid), or whether he

argues the government lacked constitutional authority to

apply that statute to his conduct (making it unconstitutional

, as applied), both circumstances implicate the ‘same

underlying principle underlying the “jurisdictional” exception

to the rule that a guilty plea waves constitutional claims:

Society has no interest in incarcerating persons whose

admitted conduct cannot lawfully be punished. As the Third

Circuit wrote in reversing a guilty plea on collateral review,

if a statute cannot be constitutionally applied to petitioner,

“there is no longer any governmental interest in continuing to

® See generally Marchetti v. United States, 390 U.S. 42, 61 (1968)

(noting that statutes were not facially unconstitutional and could be

enforced whenever “a taxpayer is not confronted by substantial hazards

of self-incrimination,” such as if he lived in a jurisdiction that permitted

gaming).

19

punish [him] . . . . [U]pholding the conviction will not

vindicate any legitimate societal goal.” Sams, 521 F.2d at

426. “Surely it offends our system of ordered liberty to

permit a prisoner to remain incarcerated” (App. 7a) (Bye, J.,

specially concurring) when his conduct cannot

constitutionally be punished, whether application of the

Statute is unconstitutional in all instances (id.) or only in his

own case. In either event, the admitted conduct is “not a

crime” and the conviction is not merely erroneous, but

“illegal and void, and cannot be a legal cause of

imprisonment.” Ex Parte Siebold, 100 U.S. 371, 376-77

(1880).

Ill. THE ISSUES PRESENTED ARE IMPORTANT

AND RECURRING

This case raises vitally important issues of federal law.

The conflict over the meaning of “actual innocence” is of

great practical and doctrinal significance. In recent years,

this Court has taken a more active role in circumscribing

Congress’ efforts to encroach on the states’ prerogative to

define criminal conduct.’ Each of this Court’s cases narrowly

” E.g., Jones v. United States, 529 U.S. 848, 858 (2000) (burning of

an owner-occupied private residence not used for any commercial

purpose does not qualify as property “used in” commerce or commerce-

affecting activity subject to prosecution under 18 U.S.C. §844(i), in part

because reading statute to “encompas{s] the arson of an owner-occupied

private home would effect . . . a change [in the federal-state balance], for

arson is a paradigmatic common-law state crime”); United States v.

Lopez, 514 U.S. 549 (1995) (Gun Free School Zones Act exceeded

Congress’ Commerce Clause authority); Cleveland v. United States, 121

S. Ct. 365, 373 (2000) (“Equating issuance of licenses or permits with

deprivation of property would subject to federal mail fraud prosecution a

wide range of conduct traditionally regulated by state and local

authorities,” which Court refused to do in the absence of clear instruction

from Congress); Fischer, 529 U.S. at 681 (cautioning that reading § 666

to encompass “[a}ny receipt of federal funds” resulting “in coverage of

all recipient fraud” would “upse[t] the proper federal balance”); see also

id. at 689 n.3 (Thomas, J., dissenting); see also United States v.

Morrison, 529 U.S. 598 (2000) (striking down civil suit provisions of

20

defining federal crimes to avoid constitutional concerns or

striking them down when they exceeded congressional

authority has potentially broad-reaching implications, calling

into question the validity of convictions for similar offenses.*

This Court’s resolution of this issue will determine whether

petitioners will be permitted to raise claims analogous to ones

already recognized by this Court, or whether prisoners with

valid claims of actual innocence must remain imprisoned

awaiting a “controlling precedent . . . [that] clearly

establishe[s] [their] actions do not constitute a crime.” App.

4a. Defendants have already begun seeking to extend the

reasoning of this Court’s precedents to new offenses, e.g.,

United States v. Jones, 231 F.3d 508, 514 (9th Cir. 2000)

(Jones challenge to 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)); United States v.

Wesela, 223 F.3d 656, 659 (7th Cir. 2000) (same); United

States v. Malone, 222 F.3d 1286, 1295 (10th Cir. 2000)

(Jones challenge to Hobbs Act), and these issues will arise

with increasing frequency in the future. A decision in this

case would provide critical guidance to the lower courts at a

Violence Against Women Act as exceeding Congress’ Commerce Clause

power); Solid Waste Authority v. Army Corps of Engineers, 121 S. Ct.

675 (2001) (invoking doctrine of constitutional doubt to construe Clean

Water Act not to permit Migratory Bird Rule).

® For example, last Term’s Jones decision holding that owner-

occupied residences were not “used in interstate or foreign commerce”

potentially has implications for convictions under federal firearm statutes

for possessing firearms or ammunition “in or affecting commerce” (18

U.S.C. § 922(g)(1), (8), (9)), under the Hobbs Act for robberies or

extortion that “obstruc[t], dela[y], or affec[t] commerce” (18 U.S.C. §

1951(a)), for money laundering if the transaction “affects interstate or

foreign commerce” (18 U.S.C. § 1956), and for many other offenses.

See, e.g., 15 U.S.C. § 1173(a)(1) (requiring registration of “any person

engaged in the business of manufacturing gambling devices, if the

activities of such business in any way affect interstate or foreign

commerce”); 15 U.S.C. § 1245(a) (banning possession, manufacture,

sale, or importation “in or affecting interstate commerce” of ballistic

knife). There are dozens of other statutes like these.

21

time when the number of federalism-based challenges to

statutes is multiplying.

Equally significant is the related issue of whether as-

applied constitutional claims are sufficient to challenge a

knowing and voluntary guilty plea. The Eighth Circuit

decision is far more restrictive than the rule adopted by this

Court in Haynes and followed in the Third, Fourth, and Ninth

Circuits. The proper standard to be applied thus has

tremendous practical importance for the scope of proper

challenges to otherwise valid guilty pleas. Given the central

importance of guilty pleas—which resolve the vast majority

of criminal cases in our criminal justice system—the

importance of this question is impossible to exaggerate.

Resolving these issues that have divided the courts of appeals

would give the Court the opportunity to provide uniformity in

the proper application of “the equitable discretion of habeas

courts to see that the federal constitutional errors do not result

in the incarceration of innocent persons ... .” Herrera, 506

U.S. at 404.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

R. STAN MORTENSON

JOHN P. ELWoopD

BAKER BOTTs L.L.P.

The Warner Building

1299 Pennsylvania Ave. N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004-2400

(202) 639-7700 -

Counsel for Petitioner

June 2001

APPENDIX

ee

»

la

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 99-2798

United States of America, *

+

Appellee, * Appeal from the United

* States Court for the

V. * Western District of

* Missouri

Mark A. Morgan, .

oe

Appellant. * -

Submitted: September 12, 2000

Filed: October 24, 2000

Before RICHARD S. ARNOLD, FAGG, and BYE, Circuit

Judges

FAGG, Circuit Judge:

Mark A. Morgan, a real estate developer, and two

codefendants were charged with participating in two schemes

to bribe a Kansas City, Missouri councilman to influence the

councilman’s votes on two local ordinances. In a superseding

indictment, the Government charged Morgan with two counts

of conspiracy to violate 18 U.S.C. § 666, which prohibits the

solicitation or payment of bribes to agents of state or local

governments in connection with any government “business,

transaction, or series of transactions” valued at $5000 or

2a

more if the government “receives, in any one year period,

benefits in excess of $10,000 under a Federal program.” The

indictment also contained seven substantive counts of bribery

in violation of § 666. The Government alleged the

councilman was an agent of the City of Kansas City, the City

was a local government, and the City “received federal

benefits of over $10,000 under Federal programs.” Morgan

filed a motion to dismiss the indictment because it did not

allege his conduct had any connection with the expenditure

of federal funds or posed any threat to the integrity and

proper operation of a federal program. The district court

denied the motion, and Morgan pleaded guilty to two counts

of conspiracy to violate §666. In the plea agreement, Morgan

agreed not to appeal. In exchange, the Government dropped

the seven bribery counts. After Morgan’s plea, the Supreme

Court confirmed the language of § 666(a)(1)(B) does not

require the Government to prove the bribe affected federal

funds. See Salinas v. United States, 522 U.S. 52, 61 (1997).

The Court also held the statute’s application to the defendant

did not extend federal power beyond its proper bounds. See

id. at 60-61. Because the bribe threatened the integrity and

proper operation of the federal program, the statute was

constitutional as applied to the facts of the case. See id. at 61.

Morgan later filed this 28 U.S.C. § 2255 motion to

vacate his conviction and sentence asserting §666 was

unconstitutional as applied in his case because “[t]he

government neither alleged nor proved that the conduct for

which [he] was indicted, convicted, and sentenced had any

connection with the expenditure of federal funds or posed

any threat to the integrity and proper operation of a federal

program.” See Salinas, 522 U.S. at 60-61; United States v.

Santopietro, 166 F.3d 88, 93 (2d Cir. 1999) (Salinas may be

read as requiring a threat to a federal program’s integrity and

proper operation to assure § 666 is not unconstitutionally

applied); United States v. Zwick, 199 F.3d 672, 687 (3rd Cir.

1999) (§ 666 requires government to prove federal interest is

3

4

3a

implicated by defendant’s offense conduct); United States v.

Phillips, 219 F.3d 404, 412-14 (Sth Cir. 2000) (§ 666 does

not reach misconduct of local officials whose actions do not

threaten the integrity of federal funds or programs); but see

United States v. Dakota, 188 F.3d 663, 668 (6th Cir. 1999).

The Government responded that Kansas City’s receipt of at

least $10,000 in federal benefits provided the necessary

federal connection. The district court denied Morgan’s

motion without holding a hearing. In the district court’s

view, Morgan’s claim was procedurally barred because he

did not raise it on appeal, and he did not qualify for the actual

innocence exception to procedural bar because his claim was

one of legal, rather than factual, error. The district court also

rejected Morgan’s motion on the merits, holding the

necessary federal connection was supplied by the city’s

receipt of at least $10,000 in one year. Morgan appealed, and

we certified two questions for our review: (1) whether 18

U.S.C. § 666 can be constitutionally applied to punish acts of

local bribery that did not threaten the integrity of federal

benefits received by the City or the City’s administration of

any federal program, and (2) whether Morgan’s claim that his

conduct was beyond the power of the federal government to

proscribe is a claim of “actual innocence” he is entitled to

raise for the first time on collateral review. “Appellate

review is limited to the issues specified in the certificate of

appealability.” DeRoo v. United States, 223 F.3d 919, 923

(8th Cir. 2000).

Because Morgan has procedurally defaulted his claim by

failing to raise it on direct review, he can raise the claim in

collateral proceedings only if he first shows either cause and

actual prejudice or actual innocence. See Bousley v. United

States, 523 U.S. 614, 622 (1998). To establish actual

innocence, Morgan must show “‘it is more likely than not

that no reasonable juror would have convicted him.’” Jd. at

623 (quoting Schlup v. Delo, 513 U.S. 298, 327-28 (1995)).

Morgan argues he is actually innocent because his

4a

conduct was beyond the power of the federal government to

proscribe. Relying on Salinas and later circuit cases, Morgan

contends § 666 cannot be constitutionally applied unless the

Government proves a federal interest is implicated by his

offense conduct, and the record does not support a finding of

that federal connection in his case. Given the constitutional

constraints on the statute’s reach, Morgan says, a violation of

§ 666, as that statute is properly construed, never occurred.

Pointing to Bousley, Morgan asserts his is a classic claim of

factual innocence.

We conclude Morgan’s is not an actual innocence claim

he may raise for the first time on collateral review. In

Bousley, a defendant who pleaded guilty to using a firearm in

connection with a drug trafficking crime before the Supreme

Court clarified the use requirement in Bailey v. United States,

516 U.S. 137 (1995), sought to attack his guilty plea on

collateral review. Although the petitioner had made no direct

appeal claiming his guilty plea was unintelligent because the

district court misinformed him about the elements of the

offense, the Supreme Court allowed the petitioner a chance to

show his actual innocence and thus excuse the default by

establishing he had not used the firearm within the meaning

of Bailey. Thus, in Bousley and other cases, courts have

permitted petitioners collaterally to attack guilty pleas on the

basis of intervening decisions modifying the substantive

criminal law defining the offense, despite procedural default,

if the petitioner makes a showing of actual innocence—that

the petitioner did not commit the offense as modified. Cf

Embrey v. Herschberger, 131 F.3d 739, 741 (8th Cir. 1997)

(en banc) (pre-Bousley case).

Unlike the situation faced in Bousley after Bailey clarified

the meaning of use in § 924(c), there is no definitive

announcement in Salinas clarifying the elements of § 666.

There is no intervening controlling precedent between the

time of Morgan’s guilty plea and collateral proceedings that

has clearly established Morgan’s actions do not constitute a

heads Bae ain te 2

— Se

Sa

crime and thus that he is actually innocent of the charged

offense. Because the Supreme Court in Salinas no more than

suggested the requirement Morgan asserts is absent in his

case, Morgan cannot show “‘it is more likely than not that no

reasonable juror would have convicted him.’” Bousley, 523

U.S. at 623. Morgan’s actual innocence claim fails, and he

cannot overcome the procedural bar.

Even if Morgan could show a “gateway” factual

innocence claim, his underlying constitutional claim does not

challenge his guilty plea. See id. at 624 (if Bousley shows on

remand he did not use a firearm as defined in Bailey, he will

be entitled to consideration of defaulted unintelligent plea

claim considered on merits); Hohn v. United States, 193 F.3d

921, 922 (8th Cir. 1999). Once the judgment of conviction

on a guilty plea becomes final and the offender seeks to

reopen the proceeding, the inquiry is ordinarily confined to

whether the underlying plea was both counseled and

voluntary. See United States v. Broce, 488 U.S. 563, 574-75

(1989); see also Dejan v. United States, 208 F.3d 682, 685

(8th Cir. 2000) (defendant who pleaded guilty was required

to show guilty plea was constitutionally infirm to obtain

habeas relief). To be voluntary, the plea must be knowingly

and intelligently made. A plea is not “intelligent” unless the

defendant first receives “real notice of the true nature of the

charge against him,” and the defendant, his attorney, and the

court correctly understood the essential elements of the

crime. See Bousley, 523 U.S. at 618. But Morgan does not

assert his guilty plea was unintelligent, or constitutionally

infirm in any other way. Moreover,

[aJs a general rule, “[a] defendant’s knowing and

intelligent guilty plea forecloses ‘independent claims

relating to the deprivation of constitutional rights that

occurred before the entry of the guilty plea.’”” United

States v. Vaughan, 13 F.3d 1186, 1187 (8th Cir.

1994) (quoting Tollett v. Henderson, 411 U.S. 258,

267 (1973)). There are exceptions to this rule,

6a

however; a person may, despite a valid guilty plea,

pursue a certain type of claim that has been variously

defined as a claim that attacks “the State’s power to

bring any indictment at all,” United States v. Broce,

488 U.S. 563, 575 (1989), that protects a defendant’s

“right not to be haled into court,” Blackledge v.

Perry, 417 U.S. 21, 30 (1974), and that “the charge is

one which the State may not constitutionally

prosecute,” Menna v. New York, 423 U.S. 61, 62-63

n.2 (1975) (per curiam). We have often interpreted

these Supreme Court cases to foreclose claims that

raise “nonjurisdictional” issues and to permit only

claims that question the trial court’s “jurisdiction.”

Weisberg v. State of Minnesota, 29 F.3d 1271, 1279-80 (8th

Cir. 1994). A claim that a statute is facially unconstitutional

falls within the exception. See Sodders v. Parratt, 693 F.2d

811, 812 (8th Cir. 1982) (holding guilty plea does not

foreclose attack on constitutionality of criminal statute under

which defendant was charged—defendant claimed statute

was vague on its face); United States v. Johnston, 199 F.3d

1015, 1019 n.3 (9th Cir. 1999). No court has applied the

exception to a claim, like Morgan’s, that a statute is

unconstitutional as applied. See Johnston, 199 F.3d at 1019

n.3. Nor does Morgan contend his case falls within the

exception.

We conclude the district court properly rejected Morgan’s

§ 2255 motion as procedurally barred.

BYE, Circuit Judge, specially concurring.

I am pleased that the majority opinion explicitly

recognizes a facial constitutional challenge exception to the

procedural default doctrine. The facial constitutional

challenge exception has deep roots. See Ex parte Siebold,

100 U.S. 371 (1879) (seminal case); see also United States v.

Broce, 488 U.S. 563, 574-76 (1989); Haring v. Prosise, 462

7a

U.S. 306, 319-22 (1983); Menna v. New York, 423 U.S. 61,

62 & n.2 (1975) (per curiam); Blackledge v. Perry, 417 U.S.

21, 29-30 (1974); United States ex rel. Swanson v. Reincke,

344 F.2d 260, 261 (2d Cir. 1965); United States v. Gaertner,

583 F.2d 308, 311 (7th Cir. 1978); Journigan v. Duffy, 552

F.2d 283, 288-89 (9th Cir. 1977) Jellum v. Cupp, 475 F.2d

829, 830 (9th Cir. 1973); Owens v. Wainwright, 698 F.2d

1111, 1114-15 (11th Cir. 1983) (per curiam) (implied

holding); cf United States v. Drew, 200 F.3d 871, 880-83

(D.C. Cir. 2000) (Edwards, C.J. concurring) (acknowledging

the Blackledge-Menna line of cases and urging adherence

thereto in the District of Columbia Circuit).'

Although we had not explicitly applied the exception in a

case procedurally similar to Morgan’s case, cf. Weisberg v.

State of Minnesota, 29 F.3d 1271, 1279-80 (8th Cir. 1994),

Sodders v. Parratt, 693 F.2d 811, 812 (8th Cir. 1982) (per

curiam), Country v. Parratt, 684 F.2d 588, 589 n.1 (8th Cir.

1982), the exception is a sound one. Surely it offends our

svstem of ordered liberty to permit a prisoner to remain

incarcerated when the statute under which he was convicted

exceeded Congress’ lawmaking power to enact.

Although I join the majority opinion, I write separately

(perhaps only for my own benefit) to lament the fact that

' It’s worth noting that this exception is not jurisdictional in

character, although many courts have erred in this direction. The Siebold

Court described its holding as jurisdictional, see Siebold, 100 U.S. at 377,

but that was a judicial stratagem. When Siebold was decided, Congress

permitted federal courts to grant habeas relief only in cases where the

sentencing court lacked jurisdiction, hence the Siebold Court had to

strong-arm the unconstitutionality peg into the jurisdictional hole. See

generally Withrow v. Williams, 507 U.S. 680, 718-19 (1993) (Scalia, J.,

concurring and dissenting) (explaining that the late 19th century Court

expanded the term jurisdiction to encompass constitutional challenges as

part of a thinly-veiled effort to broaden habeas relief—then limited solely

to jurisdictional questions--but that the Court abandoned that approach in

the 1940s when Congress liberalized federal habeas relief); Stone v.

Powell, 428 U.S. 465, 474-78 (1976).

8a

Morgan may not raise the one claim that has merit. An

administrative panel of this court granted Morgan a

certificate of appealability (COA) that permitted him to raise

only an actual innocence challenge to his federal-program

bribery conviction, 18 U.S.C. § 666. The administrative

panel’s decision effectively sounded the death-knell for

Morgan’s appeal because, without doubt, Morgan is not

actually innocent of that crime. At his change-of-plea

hearing, Morgan pleaded guilty to each of the elements of §

666. Hence Morgan cannot sustain the sole challenge he may

raise in this appeal. Cf DeRoo v. United States, 223 F.3d

919, 923 (8th Cir. 2000) (“[A]ppellate review is limited to the

issues specified in the certificate of appealability. ”

Morgan does have a meritorious claim. We simply

cannot reach that claim because it- wasn’t included in his

COA. His meritorious claim is a facial constitutional

challenge to § 666, the very challenge we acknowledge in

the majority opinion—a cruel irony.

Section 666 prohibits acts of bribery, theft, and fraud

against state and local governments (and certain other

organizations) receiving funds under federal assistance

programs. See Fischer v. United States, 529 U.S. 667 (2000).

The statute enacts criminal penalties for those who:

(1) offer anything with a value of more than $5000;

(2) to any agent of a state or local government; and

(3) that government receives more than $10,000 per

2DeRoo and its predecessor cases forbid prisoners from raising

issues not included within their COAs. We have not held, in my view,

that a hearing panel is likewise forbidden from expanding the scope of a

COA. Although I would have preferred to do precisely that in Morgan’s

case, restraint counsels a different conclusion. A COA is “law of the

case,” and it is perhaps best that the eventual hearing panel not reconsider

the administrative panel’s judgment in establishing the scope of a

prisoner’s COA.

9a

year in federal funds.

See 18 U.S.C. § 666.

The statute’s sweeping language implies that the federal

government may prosecute bribers whose activities bear no

direct relation to the government’s receipt of federal funds.

See Salinas v. United States, 522 U.S. 52, 56-57 (1997)

(recognizing that the language of § 666 authorizes almost

limitless criminal liability because of the “expansive,

unqualified language”). In Salinas, a statutory interpretation

case, the Supreme Court observed that Congress had enacted

a breathtakingly broad criminal statute. But the Court was

not asked to probe the constitutionality of § 666. Salinas

challenged only the meaning of the words in the statute. See

id. at 59-60.

Two circuits have recently discussed the constitutionality

of § 666, and upheld the law as a valid exercise of

Congress’s Spending Clause power. See United States v.

Santopietro, 166 F.3d 88, 92-94 (2d Cir. 1999); United

States v. Zwick, 199 F.3d 672, 687 (3d Cir. 1999). Yet both

the Second and Third Circuits were troubled by the sweeping

breadth of § 666. Each court determined that § 666 could

be saved from constitutional infirmity by reading into the text

of the statute an additional “germaneness,” or “nexus,”

requirement.* These courts in effect mandate that the quid

pro quo directly impact funds that are federal in origin.

The approach taken by the Second and Third Circuits is

fundamentally flawed for two reasons. First, and most

* I acknowledge Justice Kennedy’s constitutional speculations, see

Salinas, 522 U.S. at 60-61, but they are precisely that—speculations.

Because federal courts have no obligation to raise constitutional issues

sua sponte, I am unable to wrench an implied constitutional holding from

Salinas.

* The Sixth Circuit has explicitly rejected an additional “nexus”

element. See United States v. Dakota, 188 F.3d 663, 668 (6th Cir. 1999).

10a

obviously, federal courts are not free to rewrite the federal

penal code. The Supreme Court has repeatedly admonished

courts not to inject new elements into federal criminal

statutes.

Courts in applying criminal laws generally must

follow the plain and unambiguous meaning of the

statutory language. Only the most extraordinary

showing of contrary intentions in the legislative

history will justify a departure from that language.

This proposition is not altered simply because

application of a statute is challenged on constitutional

grounds. Statutes should be construed to avoid

constitutional questions, but this interpretative canon

is not a license for the judiciary to rewrite language

enacted by the legislature.

United States v. Albertini, 472 U.S. 675, 680 (1985) (internal

citations omitted and punctuation altered).

Second, even if a “nexus” element could be added in an

effort to resuscitate § 666, the result would be wholly

ineffectual. To put it bluntly, Congress lacks the power

under the Spending Clause to enact criminal laws governing

third-party conduct. Judicial efforts to render § 666

palatable by adding an element to the crime cannot alter our

Constitution’s basic limitation on federal legislative power.

No amount of creative drafting permits the judiciary to

preserve a statute that Congress plainly lacked the power to

create.

Congress may not pass laws unless it acts pursuant to an

express grant of power or authority in Article I of the

Constitution. Section 666 cannot properly be linked to any

grant of Congressional power in the Constitution. Hence,

Congress exceeded its proper authority in enacting § 666;

the law is unconstitutional, void ab initio. To explain this

conclusion in greater depth requires a brief review of the two

Article I provisions upon which Congress might have relied

ee

lla

to justify enactment of § 666. See Crawford v. Davis, 109

F.3d 1281, 1283 (8th Cir. 1997) (explaining that Congress

need not correctly surmise the source of its authority in order

to pass legislation, and may ground its legislative authority in

multiple sources).

Every court that has addressed the issue has concluded

that Congress adopted § 666 pursuant to its Spending

Clause power. See, e.g., United States v. McCormack, 31

F.Supp.2d 176, 186 n.18 (D. Mass. 1998) (collecting cases);

see also Fischer, 120 S. Ct. at 1793 n.3 (Thomas, J.,

dissenting). The Spending Clause provides that

[t]he Congress shall have Power To lay and collect

Taxes, Duties, Imposts and Excises, to pay the Debts

and provide for the common Defence and general

Welfare of the United States.

U.S. Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 1.

While Congress may disburse funds under this grant of

power, Congress may not make laws. Congress may

indirectly regulate state conduct by attaching “strings” to

grants of money given to state and local governments, see

South Dakota v. Dole, 483 U.S. 203, 206-207 (1987), but

those strings aren’t Jaws. See generally David E. Engdahl,

The Spending Power, 44 Duke L.J. 1, 71 (October 1994)

(“What makes [federal funding] conditions obligatory is that

essence as contract, wholly apart from the circumstance that

they happen to be spelled out in a statute or an agency rule.

Although articulated in a statute or rule, they have no force as

‘law’; their only force is contractual. Consequently, they are

not among the ‘Laws of the United States . . . made in

Pursuance’ of the Constitution, to which the Supremacy

Clause applies.”).

Indeed, Congress’s Spending Clause power is

comprehensible only by analogy to principles of contract law.

See Pennhurst State Sch. & Hosp. v. Halderman, 451 U.S. 1,

12a

17 (1981) (“[L]egislation enacted pursuant to the spending

power is much in the nature of a contract: in return for

federal funds, the States agree to comply with federally

imposed conditions. The legitimacy of Congress’ power to

legislate under the spending power thus rests on whether the

State voluntarily and knowingly accepts the terms of the

‘contract.’”); cf, Kinman v. Omaha Pub. Sch. Dist., 171 F.3d

607, 610-11 (8th Cir. 1999) (“Title [IX operates to condition

an offer of federal funding on a promise by the recipient not

to discriminate, in what amounts essentially to a contract

between the Government and the recipient of funds. The fact

that title IX was enacted pursuant to Congress’s spending

power is evidence that it prohibits discriminatory acts only by

grant recipients. Several circuits have held that because they

are not grant recipients, school officials may not be sued in

their ~individual capacity under Title [X.”) (internal

punctuation and citations omitted).

In enacting § 666, however, Congress did not contract

with states or local governments. Neither did Congress

bestow gifts of funds upon those governments. Rather,

Congress passed a federal criminal statute designed to punish

conduct that falls within the- domain of traditional state

concerns (bribery, embezzlement, fraud, etc.). Section 666

reaches beyond punishment of the state and _ local

governments who receive those funds to proscribe the

conduct of third persons who aren’t parties to the funding

contract. Spending Clause power is not that broad.

The Spending Clause nowhere authorizes Congress to

criminally legislate. Thus § 666 floats far from Congress’s

Spending Clause moorings. See Engdahl, 44 Duke L.J. at 92

(“[Section 666] lack[s] any basis in the Constitution... .

Congress has no more power to punish theft from the

beneficiaries of its largesse than it has to punish theft from

anyone else. Federal dominion over federal property is

irrelevant, because once any particular funds have been given

to a recipient, those funds are not federal property anymore.

l3a

The Constitution does not contemplate that federal

regulatory power should tag along after federal money like a

hungry dog.”) (emphasis added).

No court has suggested that Congress rested its power to

enact § 666 on the Commerce Clause. Nor do the House and

Senate Reports imply any such intent on the part of Congress.

That’s not really surprising; section 666 bears little coherent

relationship to commerce. The text of § 666 reveals only a

strong connection to federal funds. Section 666(b) has been

termed a “jurisdictional provision,” likely on the theory that

if the bribee obtains at least $10,000 in federal funds, then the

federal government has an interest in prosecuting. But this

$10,000 threshold does nothing to screen out intra state

bribery. Most intrastate bribery falls outside the ambit of

Congress’s Commerce Clause power. Thus Congress could

not have grounded § 666 on its Commerce Clause power.

Article I contains numerous explicit grants of power to

Congress. But none of these powers remotely concerns

federal criminal penalties for bribery. I am forced to

conclude—albeit with some reluctance—that Congress

lacked the power to enact § 666 as a federal crime. My

reluctance stems largely from the fact that “[n]o court ... has

ever struck down a federal statute on grounds that it exceeded

the Spending Power.” Commonwealth of Va. v. Browner, 80

F.3d 869, 881 (4th Cir. 1996). Yet I find that to be an

unavoidable conclusion in this instance.

Section 666 is, I believe, the only federal crime whose

supposed constitutional basis is the Spending Clause. That

may speak volumes. Congress may well realize the fragile

power of the Spending Clause—in particular, the fact that the

Clause confers upon Congress no criminal lawmaking power.

Had Morgan been permitted to raise a facial

constitutional challenge to his conviction by the

administrative panel, I would strike down § 666 as an

unconstitutional exercise of Congress’s Spending Clause

l4a

power. Because the administrative panel has placed the

matter beyond my grasp, however, I must respectfully

concur, despite my deep reservations about the soundness of

Morgan’s conviction.

A true copy.

Attest:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS,

EIGHTH CIRCUIT

15a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 99-2798

United States of America, *

a

Appellee, * Appeal from the United

* States Court for the

v. * Western District of

* Missouri

Mark A. Morgan, ”

* [PUBLISHED]

Appellant. *

BEFORE: Wollman, Chief Judge, McMillian, Richard S.

Amold, Bowman, Beam,' Loken, Hansen, Morris. Sheppard

Amold, Murphy, and Bye, Circuit Judges, En Banc.

The petition for rehearing by the panel is denied. The

petition for rehearing en banc is also denied. The court notes

in denying rehearing en banc that the panel decisions in this

case and in DeRoo v. United States, 223 F.3d 919, 923 (8th

Cir. 2000), should not be read as foreclosing the right of an

Eighth Circuit hearing panel to exercise its discretion to

consider sua sponte issues beyond those specified in a

certificate of appealability, whether the certificate was issued

by a district court or by an administrative panel of this court.

BYE, Circuit Judge, concurring in part and dissenting in

part.

After the district court denied Mark Morgan’s 28 U.S.C.

§ 2255 motion, an administrative panel of this court certified

'The Honorable C. Arlan Beam assumed senior status on February 1,

2001.

l6a

two issues for review by a hearing panel. The administrative

panel declined to certify a third issue that Morgan raised—

whether 18 U.S.C. § 666 is facially unconstitutional.

Because our prior cases explained that a hearing panel may

not review uncertified issues, see, e.g., DeRoo v. United

States, 223 F.3d 919, 923 (8th Cir. 2000) (“Appellate review

is limited to the issues specified in the certificate of

appealability.”), the hearing panel properly refused to

consider Morgan’s facial constitutional challenge. United

States v. Morgan, 230 F.3d 1067, 1069 (8th Cir. 2000)

(quoting DeRoo, supra ). I joined in the panel opinion

because of DeRoo’s binding effect.

Today’s order explains that DeRoo and its predecessors

do not prevent a hearing panel from exercising its discretion

to consider uncertified issues sua sponte. I agree fully with

this approach, and I join in so much of the order as explains

this principle.

At this juncture, then, we may finally consider Morgan’s

facial constitutional challenge without procedural

impediment. Because that challenge has merit, see Morgan,

230 F.3d at 1072-75 (Bye, J., specially concurring), and

bears careful consideration by our court, I dissent from the

decision to deny rehearing en banc.

March 19, 2001

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

17a

[FILED Jun 14 1999 1:45 pm]

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

WESTERN DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, )

Plaintiff, )

) Case No. 99-03895-

v. ) CV-W-4

)

MARK A. MORGAN, ) Crim. No. 95-00125-

Defendant. )01-CR-W-4

)

ORDER DENYING MOTION OF MARK A.

MORGAN TO VACATE AND SET ASIDE SENTENCE

PURSUANT TO 28 U.S.C. § 2255

Mark A. Morgan, along with two co-defendants, was

indicted on July 25, 1995, and charged with two counts of

conspiracy (18 U.S.C. § 371), two counts of federal-program

bribery (18 U.S.C. § 666), and six counts of money

laundering (18 U.S.C. §§ 1956 & 1957). Mr. Morgan

pleaded not guilty, and moved to dismiss the indictment. He

contended, among other things, that both the United States

Constitution and Section 666 itself required the government

to demonstrate a connection between the alleged bribes and

federal-program funds received by the City of Kansas City.

On November 15, 1995, the District Court (Stevens, J.)

dismissed the six money-laundering counts, but not the four

program-bribery and conspiracy counts. The Court held that:

“The enactment of 18 U.S.C. § 666 was a proper exercise of

Congress’ manifest spending power. Moreover, there is no

constitutional requirement that the government show a nexus

between the federal funds and the alleged incidents of

18a

bribery. See e.g., United States v. Coyne, 4 F.3d 100, 109 (2d

Cir. 1993).”

Almost two years later, on July 17, 1997, the grand jury

returned a nine-count superseding indictment against Mr.

Morgan and his co-defendants. Although the underlying

factual allegations were the same as those set out in the initial

indictment, the superseding indictment charged seven counts

of federal-program bribery (18 U.S.C. § 666) and two counts

of conspiring to violate Section 666 (18 U.S.C. § 371).

Mr. Morgan again moved to dismiss the Section 666

charges as unconstitutional because the government failed to

allege any relation between the alleged bribes and federal-

program funds. On October 17, 1997, a magistrate judge

found that, “This Court previously held that the enactment of

§ 666 was a proper exercise of Congress’ power under the

Spending Power of the General Welfare Clause and the

Necessary and Proper Clause and the government is not

required to charge or prove that the alleged bribes

substantially threatened the integrity of identifiable federal

funds.”

On October 20, 1997, the defendant filed his objections to

the Magistrate’s Report and Recommendation and on

October 22, 1997, the government filed its response. On

October 23, 1997, Mr. Morgan pled guilty to the two

conspiracy counts in the indictment pursuant to a plea

agreement.

The plea agreement called for the defendant to plead

guilty to the two conspiracy counts in the indictment in

exchange for the government moving to dismiss the

remaining counts of the indictment. The plea agreement

stated that, “The defendant admits that he knowingly

committed these offenses and is in fact guilty of these

crimes.” In the plea agreement, the defendant also waived

his right to appeal. The Agreement stated that, “In exchange

for the concessions made by the government in this

19a

Agreement, the defendant voluntarily and knowingly waives

the following rights:

(a) His right to appeal any aspect of his conviction,

including any pretrial suppression or other pretrial

disposition of motions and issues.

In his change of plea hearing, Mr. Morgan acknowledged

that the had committed the crimes charged. After being

advised of his rights by the Court, the following colloquy

took place:

THE COURT: Now having discussed these rights, your

having acknowledged them, do you still want to plead

guilty to these two counts?

THE DEFENDANT: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Have you received a copy of the

indictment?

THE DEFENDANT: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Have you gone over it with Mr.

Mortenson?

THE DEFENDANT: Yes, sir. A

THE COURT: Has he explained what it is the

government would have to prove in order for you to be

found guilty of these charges?

THE DEFENDANT: Yes, sir.

THE COURT: Are you convinced in your own mind the

government would be able to make that proof?

THE DEFENDANTS: Yes.

After explaining the conspiracy counts to the defendant,

the Court asked: “Did you do those things?” The defendant

responded, “Yes, sir.”

20a

At the change of plea hearing, the government discussed

the jurisdictional basis for the bribery charges. Following

these statements by the government, the defendant and his

attorney acknowledged that the evidence would be sufficient

to meet all the elements of the bribery offense. The

following colloquy took place:

THE COURT: Have you familiarized yourself with the

available pages (discovery), Mr. Mortenson?

MR. MORTENSON: Yes, we have reviewed all the

material that have [sic] been produced.

THE COURT: Are you satisfied in your own

professional judgment the United States would be able to

prove what it alleges about these two offenses beyond a

reasonable doubt?

MR. MORTENSON: I believe the government would be

able to prove the elements of the charges beyond a

reasonable doubt. The specific factual points might be in

disagreement but the overall evidence that the

government would need to prove each element of the

violation. there is evidence to support that.

THE COURT: And is it your judgment then a finding by

a jury of guilty to both offenses would be justified. by the

evidence?

MR. MORTENSON: Yes.

THE COURT: Would you agree with that, Mr. Morgan?

THE DEFENDANT: Yes, Your Honor.

Thereafter, defense counsel interrogated his client in

order to establish a record that defendant Morgan was in fact

guilty of the offenses to which he was pleading guilty.

Counsel for the defendant reviewed each of the charges and

Morgan acknowledged that he was guilty of these offenses.

The following questions and answers occurred during this

portion of the change of plea.

2la

MR. MORTENSON: Nonetheless, did you at the time

agree to do so in order to reward Mr. Hernandez through

a contribution to the charity for the vote he had given on

Line Creek Parkway?

THE DEFENDANT: Yes, that I did.

MR. MORTENSON: Did you do so intentionally? -

THE DEFENDANT: Yes, sir.

MR. MORTENSON: And you understand that rewarding

a public official for an official act is unlawful.

THE DEFENDANT: Yes.

MR. MORTENSON: And therefore you agree you have

violated the statute with which you are charged.

THE DEFENDANT: Yes.

ak ca 3

MR. MORTENSON: And did you make the payment

knowing full well that its purpose was to influence Mr.

Hernandez in assisting with the Barry Special

transaction?

THE DEFENDANT: Yes, that is what I did.

MR. MORTENSON: And do you understand that having -

that intention, that this is a violation of federal law?

THE DEFENDANT: Yes, I do.

MR. MORTENSON: And therefore do you agree you are

guilty of the charges of Count Seven concerning Barry

Special?

THE DEFENDANT: Yes, I am guilty.

MR. MORTENSON: Thank you.

“It is well-settled that a voluntary and intelligent plea of

guilty made by an accused person, who has been advised by

22a

competent counsel, may not be collaterally attacked.” Mabry

v. Johnson, 467 U.S. 504, 508, 104 S. Ct. 2543, 2546 (1984).

In Bousley v. United States, _§-; US. __—_—s«s,: 118 S.. C2.

1604 (1998), the Court considered a § 2255 petition in the

context of a claim arising from the decision in Bailey v.

United States, 516 U.S. 137, 116 S. Ct. 501 (1995). The

Bailey decision had given rise to numerous § 2255 petitions

from those defendants who had earlier pled guilty to using or

carrying a firearm during a crime of violence or drug

trafficking offense because the Supreme Court greatly

narrowed the scope of 18 U.S.C. § 924(c).

In Bousley, the Court reviewed the law relating to a §

2255 petition after a defendant had pled guilty. The thrust of

the defendant’s argument in Bousley was that no one, neither

the defendant, his counsel, or the Court had understood that

“active use” was an element of § 924(c). The Court held that

because of the change in the scope of the law announced in

Bailey, Bousley would be able to claim that his guilty plea

was constitutionally invalid and was not procedurally barred.

The Court then restated long-held positions that “a plea of

guilty is constitutionally valid only to the extent it is

‘voluntary’ and ‘intelligent.’” Jd. at 1609, quoting Brad v.

United States, 397 U.S. 742, 748, 90 S. Ct. 1463, 1469

(1970). The Court stated that “the voluntariness and

intelligence of a guilty plea can be attacked on collateral

review only if first challenged on direct review. Habeas

review is an extraordinary remedy and ‘will not be allowed to

do service for an appeal.’” Jd. at 1610, quoting Reed v.

Forley, 512 U.S. 339, 354, 114 S. Ct. 2291, 2300 (1994).

The Court stated that the limitation on collateral attack “has

special force with respect to convictions based on guilty

pleas.” Bousley, [sic] at 1610.

Just as in Bousley, petitioner Morgan did not challenge

the validity of his plea on direct appeal. In Bousley, the

Court held that “where a defendant has procedurally

23a

defaulted a claim by failing to raise it on direct review, the

claim may be raised in habeas only if the defendant can first

demonstrate either “cause” and actual “prejudice”, . . . [sic]

or that he is actually “innocent”. . . [sic] Jd. at 1611. Mr.

Morgan now claims in his § 2255 motion that he is “actually

innocent.”

It must therefore be determined what “actual innocence”

means in the context of habeas petition. In Embrey v.

Hershberger, 131 F.3d 739 (8th Cir. 1997) (en banc), the

Court of Appeals considered whether the petitioner qualified

for the “actual innocence” exception to the bar to successive

habeas petitions. The Court determined that the prisoner’s

claim of legal error, rather than factual error, does not qualify

as a claim of “actual innocence.”

The Embrey case involved a defendant who had been

convicted of bank robbery and kidnapping. Embrey claimed

tat Congress intended the bank robbery statutes to cover the

entire scope of his conduct and thus he was not eligible for a

sentence under the Federal Kidnapping Act. Embrey argued

that because he was not eligible for sentence under the

Federal Kidnapping Act, he was “actually innocent” of it and

therefore he qualified for that exception to the bar on

successive petitions.

In Embrey, the Court of Appeals concluded that:

Mr. Embrey’s claim . . . is simply a legal not a factual

one, and the Supreme Court has ‘emphasized that the

miscarriage of justice exception is concerned with

actual as compared with legal innocence.’ Sawyer,

505 U.S. at 339, 112 S. Ct. at 2518. A legal claim

that a substantive criminal statute has been wrongly

applied to facts can, by resort [sic] always be

converted into a complaint that the relevant facts did

not support a conviction and that therefor: the

defendant was “actually innocent.” But that proves

too much, for then any such claim can be said to be

24a

one of actual innocence, effectively undermining the

barrier to post-conviction relief that the principle of

actual innocence was meant to erect.

Embrey, 131 F.3d at 741.

Here, Mr. Morgan renews his legal claim that the

Constitution requires that there be an effect on specific

federal funds or programs from the bribes in order for there

to be federal jurisdiction. This is a legal claim no different

than petitioner Embrey’s claim that the bank robbery laws

precluded his conviction for kidnapping. Mr. Morgan is not

actually innocent and his claim of an unconstitutional

conviction is barred.

Nonetheless, even if Mr. Morgan’s claim was not

procedurally barred, his claim that the government neither

alleged nor proved that the conduct for which he was

indicted, convicted and sentenced had no connection with the

expenditure of federal funds or posed any threat to the

integrity and proper operation of a federal program is without

merit.

In Salinas v. United States, 118 S. Ct. 469 (1997), as in

the case at bar, the defendant claimed that the government

was required to prove that the bribe in some way affected

federal funds. The Supreme Court rejected this contention.

The Court stated:

The enactment’s expansive, unqualified language,

both as to the bribes forbidden and the entities

covered, does not support the interpretation that

federal funds must be affected to violate §

666(a)(1)(B). Subject to the five thousand dollar

threshold for the business or transaction in question,

the statute forbids acceptance of a bribe by a covered

official who intends “to be influenced or rewarded in

connection with any business, transaction, or series of

transaction of (the defined) organization, government

25a

or agency.” § 666(a)(1)(B). The prohibition is not

confined to a business or transaction which affects

federal funds. The word “any,” which prefaces the

business or transaction clause, undercuts the attempt

to impose this narrowing construction.

Id. at 473.

The Court further stated that “the broad definition of

these ‘circumstances’ to which the statute applies provides no

textual basis for limiting the reach of the bribery prohibition.

The statute applies to all cases in which an organization,

government or agency receives a statutory amount of benefits

under a federal program.” Id.

After reviewing various rules of statutory construction

and the legislative history of the statue, the Court concluded

that “the text of §666(a)(1)(B) is unambiguous on the point

under consideration here, and it does not require the

Government to prove federal funds were involved in the

bribery transaction.” Jd. at 475.

The sole case from this Circuit dealing with § 666 found

that the statute should be “broadly construed” and could

therefore be applied to funds that were never owned by the

federal government. United States v. Perry, 977 F.2d 1230,

1232 (8th Cir. 1992).

The federal “nexus” is supplied by the requirement that

the government or agency received at least $10,000 in a year

and involved a matter of value of $5,000 or more. This

defines a substantial federal interest which Congress has

determined is necessary and proper to the disbursement of -

federal funds. As explained by the court in United States v.

Westmoreland, 841 F.2d 572, 578 (Sth Cir. 1988):

Moreover, the statute does not encompass every local

bribery as Westmoreland suggests. Although the

extent of the federal government’s assistance

programs will bring many organizations and agencies

26a

within the statute’s scope, the statute limits its reach

to entities that receive a substantial amount of federal

funds and to agents who have the authority to effect

significant transactions.

Thus, the “nexus” of federal interest, the dollar values of

federal funding and the subject matter of the bribe, is

integrated with the language of the statute. The United States

pled and was prepared to prove the existence of this federal

interest. Furthermore, in this case, Mr. Morgan was involved

with the bribery of a Kansas City Councilman who had

authority over the policy, practice and legislation of the City

as it effected all city programs and expenditures. Thus, Mr.

Morgan’s efforts toward corruption of Mr. Hernandez

threatened the expenditure of federal funds and posed a threat

to the integrity and proper operation of programs supported

by federal funds by virtue of Mr. Hernandez’s ability to

influence those funds and programs. Certainly the federal

government has an interest in federal funds and programs

supported by the federal government being administered by

honest officials.

WHEREFORE, for the reasons stated herein, Mr.

Morgan’s motion to vacate and set aside is sentence (Doc.#1)

is DENIED.

/s/

GARY A. FENNER, JUDGE

United States District Court

DATED: 6-14-99

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.