Opposition Brief — C. M. ex rel. J. M. v. Board of Education

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 00-1762

In the

Supreme Court of the United States

CM, ETC., ET AL,

Petitioners,

Vv.

BOARD OF EDUCATION OF HENDERSON COUNTY, ETAL,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari

To The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

*Ann L. Majestic Christopher Z. Campbell

Tharrington Smith, LLP Cynthia S. Grady

P.O. Box 1151 Roberts & Stevens, PA

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602 P.O. Box 7647

919-821-4711 Asheville, North Carolina 28802

Attorneys for Respondent/ 828-252-6600

Defendant-Appellee Attorneys for Respondent/

Board of Education of Defendant-Appellee

Henderson County Buncombe County Board of

Education

ROY COOPER

North Carolina Attorney General

Joyce S. Rutledge

North Carolina Department of Justice

Post Office Box 629

Raleigh, North Carolina 27602-0629

Telephone: (919) 716-6920

July 23, 2001 *Counsel of Record

—-

——

i

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. WHETHER THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT A

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI REGARDING THE

STATE STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS BORROWED BY THE

DISTRICT COURT, WHERE THE COURT OF APPEALS RULED

THAT SUCH STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS COULD NOT BE

APPLIED AGAINST PETITIONERS UNDER THE FACTS IN

THESE CASES.

Il. WHETHER THE MULTIPLE FEDERAL POLICIES

UNDERLYING THE INDIVIDUALS WITH DISABILITIES

EDUCATION ACT (IDEA) HAVE BEEN BALANCED

CONSISTENT WITH THE ACT, WHEN A _ STATE

LEGISLATURE REQUIRES AN AGGRIEVED PARTY, WHO

HAS RECEIVED WRITTEN NOTICE OF A FINAL SPECIAL

EDUCATION DECISION MADE BY SCHOOL AUTHORITIES

ALONG WITH CLEAR NOTICE OF THE PROCEDURES AND

TIME LIMIT FOR CONTESTING THAT DECISION, TO FILE A

REQUEST FOR AN ADMINISTRATIVE DUE PROCESS

HEARING WITHIN 60 DAYS OF RECEIPT OF SUCH NOTICE

IN ORDER TO PRESERVE THE RIGHT TO CONTEST THE

DECISION.

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

In the consolidated appeals decided by the Fourth Circuit, the

parties were:

Petitioners in this Court

CM, a minor, by and through her parents, JM and EM, and on

their own behalf (Plaintiffs-Appellants) in 99-2533

M.E. and P.E., on their behalf and on behalf of their son, C.E.

(Plaintiffs-Appellants) in 00-1101

Respondents in this Court

The Board of Education of Henderson County ef al.

(Defendants-Appellees) and The State of North Carolina

(Intervenor-Appellee) in 99-2533

The Buncombe County Board of Education (Defendant-

Appellee) and The State of North Carolina (Intervenor-Appellee) in

00-1101

> "aw

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ae rer ee ee i

Se Piece eNews hae bs bess De ebde ss bbe ii

EES oGuiou sie ok cau bas sb idae eee ii

et cove cribecsieacsveseeuanes il

pe AR CITT REEL TTT Te ee eee \ ,

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION ............... l

EY CEU USERS a Nive deewhdeccesacenccss l

oe yy gs ere 2

A. Factual and Administrative Background of CM ..... 2

B. Disposition of CM in the District Court ........... 7

C. Factual and Administrative Background of ME. .... 8

D. Disposition of ME. in the District Court.......... 10

E. Decision of the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals.... 11

REASONS WHY THE PETITION

Perec reer eee eres 12

II.

iV

PETITIONERS ARE NOT AGGRIEVED, FOR THE

REASON THAT THE CHALLENGED STATUTE WAS

FOLPE: AP REMES BAP BOUL siaises coke Nba ew ecsed’s

THERE IS NO CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUIT

OPINIONS AND THE CHALLENGED STATUTE

COMPORTS WITH EXISTING LAW AND POLICIES

MEN 6 ae AUER Che AREAS PEL RRC wR TER

A. The Fourth Circuit’s ruling is not in conflict

with Birmingham v. Omaha School District, 220

F.3d 850 (8th Cir. 2000), or with any relevant

Gaciehen GE on ie Ne EAI Ak

1. Unlike Birmingham, these cases concern the

time period for initiation of an administrative

ROUNTID 1 05 ak o Kes SOT Bek HERI BA

2. Unlike the procedures of the shorter Arkansas

statute rejected by the Eighth Circuit Court of

Appeals in Birmingham, the standard of review,

scope of review and evidentiary procedures for

a due process hearing in North Carolina are all

GUI I FE kbd hac de abnseesasarss

B. The Fourth Circuit’s ruling is consistent with

the decisions from many other federal courts

_ analyzing fundamental IDEA policies. ...........

C. The Fourth Circuit’s ruling properly considers

and attempts to account for all relevant federal

policies, rather than one single policy ............

15

20

Vv

D. There is no conflict with OSEP’s letter rulings ..... 25

CONCLUSION

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Aaron v. Brown Group, Inc., 80 F.3d 1220

(8th Cir.), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 950,

117 S. Ct. 361, 136 L. Ed. 2d 252 (1996) ......

Adler v. Education Dep't of N.Y.,

7160 F.2d 454 (24 Cig. 1965S) 2... cccccccccess

Amann v. Town of Stow, 991 F.2d 929 (ist Cir. 1993)

Barr v. Matteo, 355 U.S. 171,

78 S. Ct. 204, 2 L. Ed. 2d 179 (1957) .........

Berkowitz by Berkowitz v. New York City Bd. of Educ.,

921 F. Supp. 963 (E.D.N.Y. 1996) ...........

Birmingham by Birmingham v. Omaha Sch. Dist.,

17 F. Supp. 2d 859(W.D. Ark. 1998),

aff'd in part and rev'd in part,

220 F.3d 850 (8" Cir. Ark 2000) .............

Bow Sch. Dist. v. Quentin W.,

750 F. Supp. 546 (D.N.H. 1990) .............

Buncombe County Bd. of Educ.,

88 F. Supp. 2d 493 (W.D.N.C. 1999) .........

CM v. Board of Educ. of Henderson County,

85 F. Supp.2d 574 (W.D.N.C. 1999) ..........

Cleveland Heights-University Heights City Sch. Dist.

v. Boss, 144 F.3d 391 (6th Cir. 1998),

aff'd in part and rev‘d in part,

ye De | Ty BPPPPTeve Tri Titi iriiee

Vii

Dell v. Board of Educ., 32 F. 3d 1053 (7th Cir. 1994) .. 21,23,24

Department of Educ. v. Carl D., 695 F.2d 1154

Pe a ek ae oe Or eee 21

Dreher v. Amphitheater Unified Sch. Dist.,

SB Ue BEG TOGO Bi bas vdsctinesticsevis 22

Eccles v. Peoples Bank, 333 U.S. 426,

GS S. Ce. 661, 92 L. BE. TES CIDE) 2. eccccccccccses 15

Elizabeth K. v. Warrick County, 795 F. Supp. 881

Ge Ee POU bs ndvnvedsbes dibs c couesl acvucsent 21

Gertel v. School Comm., 783 F. Supp. 701

Pe De EEN 00:6 0.0 ddes GUNS 804d d060NS db 03-0 21,25

Herbert v. Manchester, 833 F. Supp. 80 (D.N.H. 1993) ..... 21

LD. v. Westmoreland Sch. Dist.,

eo eS | eee 21

Janzen v. Knox City. Bd. of Educ.,

FIO Te TO MI 6c Vb cic cnc ctsccrcaccccin 19

K Mart Corp. v. Cartier, Inc., 486 U.S. 281,

108 S. Ct. 1811, 100 L. Ed. 2d 313 (1988) ............ 27

Kirkpatrick v. Lenoir County Bd. of Educ.,

BOS ee FO Ss BE 0 cn ccc ctbiscescbedcores 19

L.C. and K.C. v. Utah State Bd. of Educ.,

57 F. Supp. 2d 1214 (D. Utah 1999) ................ 21

Livingston Sch. Dist. v. Keenan,

ope fork. fg RS er re Peet Yee 21

Vill

Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555,

bre Remi Be ©} UES rere 13

Meritor Sav. Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57,

106 S. Ce. 2399, 91 L. Ed. 2d 49 (1966) .............. 27

North Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S. 244,

92 S. Ce. 402, 30 L. Ed. 26 413 (1971) ............... 13

Powers v. Indiana Dep't of Educ.,

Fe pty le || reer errr rey errr se 21

Providence School Dep't v. Ana C.,

gg thi lt PPO erreeerrr yer rrrr rs Tr 21

Reed v. United Transp. Union, 488 U.S. 319,

109 S. Ct. 621, 102 L. Ed. 2d 665 (1989) ............. 19

Schimmel v. Spillane, 819 F.2d 477 (4th Cir. 1987) ......... 24

Spiegler v. District of Columbia,

oe totes 3 | aPrererverrrrrery 21,25

S.V. v. Sherwood Sch. Dist., 75 F. Supp. 2d 1153,

ERGO BOUUE Ke dcectccdewesdcacnaseccoaseuns 22

Thomas v. Staats, 633 F. Supp. 797 (S.D. W. Va. 1985) ..... 21

United States v. Mead Corp., 533, U.S. ___,

121 3. Ce. 2164, Li. Bae CARRE) 2 cc ccccee.. 27

Virginia v. American Booksellers Ass'n, Inc.,

484 U.S. 383, 108 S. Ct. 636, 98 L. Ed. 2d 782 (1988) . 13

Wagner v. Logansport Community Sch. Corp.,

990 F. Supp. 1099 (N.D. Ind. 1997) ................. 21

Wills v. Ferrandino, 830 F. Supp. 116 (D. Conn. 1993) ..... 21

iX

Wilson v. Garcia, 471 U.S. 261,

105 S. Ct. 1938, 85 L. Ed. 2d 254 (1985) ............. 19

Zipperer v. School Bd. of Seminole County,

pee eG ged Se A: | eee ee ne meer 21

FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

RAC AR I TO i en ek wh wh ea mire ee chad dew iwia 13

FEDERAL STATUTES, REGULATIONS AND

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

SE a EE ok G0 eh cab bake conn ao R SA cas Kon kes 18

ee PE 83 5 banc Vek vs Chaka vende ees 18

RR ON Sorin 4 ods nh kes ahuenh sa mien bas 15,18

UR RE dacs Sea kan adae o's idee aces sata as 16

121 Cong. Rec. 19504 (June 1975)

(statement of Senator Sweiker) ..................... 25

STATE STATUTES

oe ee eee 16,17,20,

I RUPE ED ng vo 605 c'b'e kc k Kd sdaseuada ens 17,20,

on aac wa bay sd kde scene kana 20

ccc an EEE TE er EEE Ty oe eer rer eee ee 18

GRICE, ob onc cbaadayadddcnanecase ee 18

nn PT DAT OTT IE TT TOE 18

X

NERS So a Se es 18

WORN SUES ee 18

NES SOUR. 5. ee Bee 17,19,24

MEGA NBR ea oss 20

ROGERS cs eee 20

EGE SU 3k co iden i ee 20

MORE CTE S555 es 17,20

EE CU om. io ssh ees aE re 20

ee eee ery eee eE oer Tero eT Te 20

l

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondents Board of Education of Henderson County,

Buncombe County Board of Education, and The State of North

Carolina respectfully request that the Court deny the Petition for

Writ of Certiorari seeking review of the decision of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals is reported

at 241 F.3d 374 and is reprinted in Petitioners’ Appendix at A-1

through A-29. The opinion of the district court in CM v. Board of

Educ. of Henderson County is reported at 85 F. Supp. 2d 574

(W.D.N.C. 1999) and is reprinted in Petitioners’ Appendix at A-30

through A-70. The opinion of the district court in ME. v.

Buncombe County Bd. of Educ. is reported at 88 F. Supp. 2d 493

(W.D.N.C. 1999) and is reprinted in Respondents’ Appendix at la

through 14a. The opinion of the Administrative Law Judge in CM

is unpublished and is reprinted in Petitioners’ Appendix at A-71

through A-106. The opinion of the Administrative Law Judge in

M.E. is unpublished and is reprinted in Respondents’ Appendix at

ISa through 25a. The unpublished hearing review officers’

decisions in both cases are reprinted in ent Appendix at

27a through 83a.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASES

A. Factual and Administrative Background of CM

CM was diagnosed with autism at approximately age two. In

June 1993, when CM was three years old, her parents moved the

family to Hendersonville, North Carolina to take advantage of

services from “TEACCH” (Treatment and Education of Autistic and

Related Communication in Handicapped Children) -- a nationally

renowned program for autistic students and their families developed

at the University of North Carolina. In August 1993, the parents

enrolled CM in a TEACCH preschool classroom in the Henderson

County Schools.

CM’s individualized education program (IEP) developed by the

parents and school staff called for a full-day program; however, her

parents only brought CM for half a day for the brief time she was

enrolled in the TEACCH preschool. At this same time the parents

read about the Lovaas program, a treatment approach that professes

to achieve “recovery” from autism. The Lovaas program involves

highly regimented one-on-one instruction in the home for 40 hours

per week. In November 1993, the parents removed CM from the

Henderson County Schools to begin Lovaas treatment. They did not

express discontent with the TEACCH program or indicate that the

school system program was not appropriate, but stated they believed

that the Lovaas approach was highly successful.

Over a year later, in December 1994, CM’s father contacted

school personnel to request that the school system begin paying for

the home-based Lovaas program. Since the school system had not

worked with CM for over a year and her IEP was now out of date,

federal law required that an IEP team be convened to develop a new

plan and decide the appropriate placement for CM. A series of

3

meetings was held over the next two months with a final IEP

meeting on February 15, 1995. The IEP team considered four

options: the parents’ program and three different school-based

programs. With the exception of the parents, the IEP team

recommended that CM be served in a full-day program for autistic

students with some mainstreaming in a regular kindergarten class.

The parents continued to insist upon reimbursement for their Lovaas

program.

The Director of Exceptional Children’s Programs sent the

parents a letter the day after the final IEP meeting. She

acknowledged the disagreement between the parties and detailed the

rationale for the team’s decision, She also enclosed a Handbook on

Parents’ Rights which details the process for challenging the IEP

team decision, including a clear statement of the 60-day statute of

limitations for initiating a “due process” hearing. The Director

explained that the parents could seek mediation or pursue a due

process hearing in light of their disagreement with the school

system’s offer of services.

The parents initially requested mediation but later declined to

schedule it. They also did not pursue a due process hearing. They

did request an independent evaluation at school system expense.

The Director proposed that the school system perform an evaluation

first and explained that the parents would be entitled to an

independent evaluation if they disagreed with the results.

The school evaluation was completed and reviewed with the

parents in October 1995. At the school system’s initiative, the

parents and school met in November 1995 to begin developing an

IEP to replace the one that would soon expire in January 1996. The

parents’ Lovaas consultant reviewed the IEP drafted by the school

staff based on the recent evaluation results. The consultant reported

4

that CM had already mastered many of the goals and objectives

proposed in the IEP. This claim was not supported by CM’s recent

testing, however.

In December 1995, the parents renewed their request for an

independent educational evaluation, stating that the evaluation

conducted by school personnel was insufficient. The Director

agreed that the parents could pursue an independent evaluation and

they would be reimbursed up to $1200 (the school system’s

maximum amount for independent evaluations). School personnel

and the parents agreed to postpone the development of the 1996-97

IEP until the independent evaluation was completed.

After rejecting all of the independent evaluators on the school

system’s list, in the spring of 1996, the parents selected Dr. Jan

Handleman, an educator and professor with Lovaas experience in

New Jersey. Dr. Handleman conducted no formal testing of CM.

Because Dr. Handleman’s report provided no information on CM’s

present level of educational performance -- a necessary element for

the development of an IEP -- and because the parents and their

Lovaas consultant had both indicated that CM had mastered many

of the goals and objectives on the proposed IEP, the Director sought

the assistance of Dr. Victoria Shea, an expert in autism, to

informally assess CM in order to provide information for IEP

development.

Dr. Shea completed her observation report in May and

recommended that IEP goals be written in several specific areas.

She found that the skills CM had “mastered,” according to her

parents and Lovaas consultant, had not been mastered in the school

environment. Due to the conflicting statements regarding CM’s

present level of performance, school personnel conducted additional

observations and informal assessments, and met again with CM’s

I a nee

5

mother in an effort to gather more information about CM’s present

level of performance prior to the development of the IEP.

The parents postponed an IEP meeting scheduled for June,

because they would not grant permission to school personnel to

conduct the testing recommended by Dr. Shea. They chose to have

the testing administered privately by Dr. Thomas Boyle, a private

psychologist in New Jersey who had worked with Dr. Lovaas. Dr.

Boyle admitted that he deviated from standard protocol in

administering the tests in order to try to elicit a response from CM.

Dr. Boyle conducted an intelligence test of CM but, at the parents’

request and contrary to his normal practice, he did not report the

score. At the hearing it was revealed that after over two years of

Lovaas therapy CM scored in the mildly mentally handicapped

range. According to the Lovaas study one criterion for “recovery”

is achieving an IQ in the normal range after two to three years in the

program. In the summer of 1996 CM was not showing signs of

“recovery.”

School personnel and the parents met in August 1996 to begin

developing the IEP based on the evaluation reports, the observations,

and the parents’ input regarding CM’s progress in her home

program. A subsequent IEP meeting was held in mid-September at

the parents’ request so that their Lovaas consultant couid attend.

Although the parents and consultant did not reveal this during the

IEP meetings, at this time CM was displaying significant aggressive

behaviors at home in addition to at school. Also the home logs

revealed the mother’s concern that CM had “forgotten a lot of

information. Much of what she learned was never generalized

completely.” In addition, a questionnaire completed by CM’s

preschool teachers at the mother’s request showed that many of the

skills that the Lovaas therapist claimed CM had mastered in

6

December 1995 were still a problem for CM at the end of the 1995-

96 school year.

Ata final IEP meeting on September 23, 1996, the parents and

school personne! all agreed that the goals and objectives on the IEP

were appropriate. The parents continued to request that the school

system pay for their home Lovaas program. Both parents testified

that the only program they would have accepted for CM was the

Lovaas program. School personnel considered the parents’ request

but believed that the school system’s proposed program was more

appropriate. The school staff were concerned that the home program

was too intensive, requiring that CM undergo therapy for more than

40 hours a week. They also believed that the constant one-on-one

instruction caused CM to become too dependent on adults and that

CM’s social and communication skills were not being effectively

developed.

Petitioners filed a petition for a contested case in the Office of

Administrative Hearings on November 1, 1996, claiming that

Respondent Henderson County Board of Education (HCBE),

violated the requirements of IDEA, by failing to offer an appropriate

educational program to CM from November 1993 to the present.

Petitioners sought reimbursement for the cost of their in-home

program and part-time private school services provided to CM from

November 1993 through the 1996-97 school year.

The administrative law judge (ALJ) granted Respondent’s

motion for summary judgment on all of Petitioners’ procedural and

substantive claims prior to the development of the 1996-97 IEP

based on a failure to file these claims within the statutory limit and

laches. An 18-day trial was conducted before another ALJ in the

spring of 1997. The judge entered a final decision on December 11,

7

1997, concluding that HCBE’s proposed IEP for 1996-97 was

appropriate.

Petitioners appealed to the State Review Officer (SRO). The

SRO entered a decision on March 4, 1998, concluding that the

Henderson County Schools had offered CM a free and appropriate

public education and affirming all prior decisions of the ALJs.

B. Disposition of CM in the District Court

On April 3, 1998, Petitioners filed a 50-page complaint in

federal district court seeking to overturn the decisions of the ALJ

and SRO and claiming violations of the Americans with Disabilities

Act (ADA), § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and § 1983 of the Civil

Rights Act and seeking a review of the educational programs for the

1997-98 and 1998-99 school years.

The district court dismissed Petitioners’ entire complaint in an

Order dated January 4, 1999. However, after reconsideration and by

Order dated March 9, 1999, the Court sua sponte vacated the

January 4, 1999 decision as erroneous as a matter of law and

established a timetable leading to a plenary hearing on May 14,

1999, at which the parties were given an opportunity to address all

pre-trial motions before the Court.

On June 15, 1999, the district court entered a new Order

dismissing: Petitioners’ claims under § 504, the ADA and § 1983;

all Petitioners’ claims against individual defendants; and Petitioners’

IDEA claims for the 1997-98 and 1998-99 school years. The court

also affirmed the decisions of the ALJ to dismiss the IDEA claims

for the 1993-94, 1994-95, and 1995-96 school years.

8

The district court entered a final Order on October 12, 1999,

dismissing Petitioners’ only remaining claim, the IDEA claim

regarding the 1996-97 school year. In this October 12, 1999 Order,

the court affirmed the decisions of the ALJ and SRO, concluded that

HCBE offered CM a free appropriate public education for the 1996-

97 school year, and dismissed Petitioners’ entire complaint with

prejudice.

C. Factual and Administrative Background of M.E.

P.E. and M.E. moved to Buncombe County, North Carolina in

1995. However, they did not inform the school system that they

were residing within the system until March |, 1996. In order to

continue C.E.’s Lovaas therapy, a therapist from Baltimore,

Maryland accompanied the family to Buncombe County. C.E.’s

therapy was administered by the therapist for 30 to 35 hours a week,

50 weeks a year.

In his first correspondence with Respondent Buncombe County

Board of Education (“Buncombe County Schools” and “school

system”), P.E., the father of C.E. and the attorney of record in the

administrative proceedings below, did not request special education

services for C.E. Instead, P.E. requested “reimbursement” for on-

going therapy services. The Buncombe County Schools treated

P.E.’s initial letter as a referral for special education services.

Over the next year and a half, Buncombe County Schools

offered P.E. and M.E. numerous individualized education plans for

C.E. In May of 1996, the school system offered a program of at

least 20 hours per week of direct special education including one-on-

one instruction. Yet, the only program acceptable to the Petitioners

was Lovaas. In fact, M.E. stated that she would reject a program

9

with acomparable amount of in-home, one-on-one instruction based

on the TEACCH method.

In February of 1997, school officials wrote to the parents asking

them to notify Buncombe County Schools if the individualized

education plan already given for C.E. was acceptable because

additional personnel would be needed to implement the program.

The parents never responded and no negotiations between the

parents and Buncombe County Schools regarding services took

place after February of 1997.

On June 12, 1997, C.E.’s IEP team determined that ‘ie no longer

qualified for services. Team members and M.E. and P.E. agreed

with the decision and another attorney who accompanied the parents

to the meeting was given a copy of the Handbook on Parents’ Rights

containing notice of North Carolina’s 60-day statute of limitations

for filing due process petitions in the Office of Administrative

Hearings (OAH). Although the parents later alleged C.E. was

denied an appropriate education from March of 1996 until June of

1997, they never instituted proceedings to challenge the school

system’s proposed program during the time period when C.E. was

eligible to receive services.

On July 29, 1997, P.E. wrote the school system another letter

demanding reimbursement for the cost of C.E.’s therapy. He

concluded, “[i]f you have not provided a written response to me

within ten days from the date of this letter, we will immediately

proceed to a due process hearing.” In response, the attorney for

Buncombe County Schools wrote to P.E. on two separate occasions:

on August 7, 1997 to inform P.E. of changes in the notice

requirements to schools under IDEA, and on August 8, 1997 to make

a counteroffer thereby rejecting the July 29, 1997 demand. P.E.

never responded to the August 8, 1997 letter and he filed for due

10

process on April 22, 1998, 257 days after his settlement demand had

been rejected. To file the petition on behalf of C.E., P.E. completed

a one-page form provided by OAH and attached a copy of his July

27, 1997 letter.

As of the August 8, 1997 date of the school system’s rejection

of his demand, P.E. had actual knowledge of North Carolina’s 60-

day statute of limitations for filing due process petitions under

IDEA. P.-E. is the attorney of record in the CM case, and by order

dated March 24, 1997, the ALJ in that case dismissed certain claims

asserted by the parents for failure to meet the 60-day statute of

limitations. Following a hearing on the school system’s motion for

summary judgment, the ALJ in ME. ruled that P.E. had actual

knowledge and written notice of the 60-day time limit and failed to

comply. The ALJ dismissed the petition in its entirety. Remarkably,

in the parents’ principal brief before the Fourth Circuit, P.E.’s

attorney represented to the court that if M.E. and P.E. had known

about the 60-day statute P.E. would have filed within the time

allowed.

D. Disposition of M.E. in the District Court

On December 17, 1999, the district court issued its opinion in

ME. on cross motions for summary judgment and dismissed the

action due to the parents’ failure to file their original petition in the

first-tier state administrative process under IDEA within the

prescribed time limit. In the district court action, the only factual

issue for resolution was whether the parents had timely filed for due

process.

After ruling that the petition was not timely filed, the court

discussed the parents’ argument that a 60-day statute of limitations

is too short and conflicts with the purposes underlying the IDEA.

Since IDEA does not contain a statute of limitations, the court ruled

that the 60-day statute applied by the ALJ was the most analogous

State statute. The court then ruled that application of the statute did

not conflict with the purposes underlying IDEA and that a 60-day

filing period is not so prohibitively short within the context of

administrative due process that it undermines the ability of parents

to protect their disabled children’s educational rights. Moreover,

school systems do have a legitimate interest in the speedy resolution

of disputes in order to ascertain the necessary expenditure of funds

for ail students. Although not dispositive, the court stated that the

father, P.E., was an attorney who purported to specialize in

education law and the parents were represented throughout the entire

proceedings, including negotiations for services and settlement

discussions. Finally, the district court held that dismissal was within

the discretion of the ALJ because Congress left to the States the

procedural mechanism for compliance with IDEA.

E. Decision of the Fourth Circuit Court of

Appeals

Both sets of Petitioners appealed to the Fourth Circuit. On June

13, 2000, the court granted the motion of The State of North

Carolina to intervene in ME. On June 14, 2000, the court granted

the motion of The State of North Carolina to intervene in CM. On

July 11, 2000, the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals set the instant

cases for oral argument in seriatim and on December 22, 2000, the

court consolidated the cases for further action.

In a single opinion issued on February 21, 2001, a Fourth

Circuit panel held that the 60-day statute of limitations borrowed by

the district court was consistent with the federal policies behind the

IDEA and did not frustrate its goals. However, the court found in

favor of these Petitioners and ruled that neither set of them had been

12

properly notified of a final decision by the school system rejecting

their requests for reimbursement. Therefore, the 60-day statute of

limitations at issue had not been triggered and did not apply to either

case. The Court of Appeals remanded the case for further

proceedings consistent with its holding. Rather than take advantage

of the decision in their favor and have their cases heard on remand,

Petitioners petitioned this Court for certiorari on an issue which is

not in controversy in these cases and has no bearing on their ability

to have their cases decided on the merits.

_ REASONS WHY THE PETITION

SHOULD BE DENIED

The Court should deny the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

because there is no case or controversy involving these Petitioners

at this time. The court below did not apply North Carolina’s statute

of limitations against Petitioners based on its strict application of

State notice requirements. Thus, these Petitioners are not aggrieved.

In the alternative, review by this Court is not warranted on the basis

of a purported split in authority. The Fourth Circuit’s ruling is not

in conflict with the Eighth Circuit’s decision, the only case cited by

Petitioners for this proposition. Nor is the ruling in conflict with any

relevant decisions of this Court or with federal IDEA policy. As the

Fourth Circuit’s ruling was proper in all respects, Respondents

respectfully urge this Honorable Court to deny the Petition for Writ

of Certiorari.

I. PETITIONERS ARE NOT AGGRIEVED, FOR THE

REASON THAT THE CHALLENGED STATUTE

WAS NOT APPLIED TO THEM.

Article III of the United States Constitution requires that the

jurisdiction of the United States Supreme Court be limited to actual

13

cases or controversies. U.S. CONST. art. III, § 2. Article III further

denies federal courts the "power to decide questions that cannot

affect the rights of litigants in the case before them." North

Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S. 244, 246, 92 S. Ct. 402, 404, 30 L. Ed. 2d

413,415 (1971). Additonally, this Court has offered that in order to

meet the case or controversy requirement of Article III, the party

invoking the jurisdiction of this Court must have standing to bring

the matter before the Court. Lujan v. Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S.

555, 560, 112 S. Ct. 2130, 2136, 119 L. Ed. 2d 351, 363-64 (1992).

There are three elements an aggrieved party must meet to establish

the minimum constitutional standing requirements:

First, the plaintiff must have suffered an “injury in fact” --

an invasion of a legally protected interest which is (a)

concrete and particularized, and (b) actual or imminent,

not ‘conjectural’ or ‘hypothetical’. Second, there must be a

causal connection between the injury and the conduct

complained of -- the injury has to be “fairly . . . trace[able]

- to the challenged action of the defendant, and not . . . the

result [of] the independent action of some third party not

before the court.” Third, it must be “likely,” as opposed

to merely “speculative,” that the injury will be “redressed

by a favorable decision.”

Id. at 560-61, 112 S. Ct. at 2136, 119 L. Ed. 2d at 364 (citations

omitted). A party seeking remedial action from this Court must have

suffered the specific injury he seeks to have redressed by this Court.

See Virginia v. American Bookseller's Ass'n, Inc., 484 U.S. 383,

392, 108 S. Ct. 636, 642, 98 L. Ed. 2d 782, 793 (1988).

As a result of the Fourth Circuit’s conclusion that the

Petitioners in both cases were not properly notified of the school

14

system’s conclusive decision regarding: reimbursement of

educational expenses, the U0-day statute of limitations does not bar

Petitioners from litigating the merits of their case in the proper

federal district court or administrative forum. In light of this holding

Petitioners are now free to bring their claims for reimbursement,

thereby ensuring that they have their cases heard on the merits.

With this procedural bar removed, Petitioners cannot now argue that

they have sustained a concrete and particularized harm as a result of

the 60-day statute of limitations period. There is no form of redress

that this Court may now provide to Petitioners that they have not

already received from the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals.

If this Court were to render an opinion in this matter, despite

the fact that these Petitioners have not sustained an injury in fact, it

would be an advisory opinion. This Court has made it clear that a

request for an advisory opinion from a federal court, such as

Petitioners make to this Court, does not present a justiciable issue.

In Barr v. Matteo, 355 U.S. 171, 78 S. Ct. 204, 2 L. Ed. 2d 179

(1957), the Court stated:

[A]n advisory opinion cannot be extracted from a federal

court by agreement of the parties, . . . and no matter how

much they may favor the settlement of an important

question of constitutional law, broad considerations of

appropriate exercise of judicial power prevent such

determinations unless actually compelled by the

litigation before the Court. ... Many of the same reasons

are present which impel them to abstain from adjudicating

constitutional claims against a statute before it effectively

and presently impinges on such claims.

Id. at 172, 78 S. Ct. at 205-06, 2 L. Ed. 2d at 181 (emphasis added)

(citations omitted) (internal quotation marks omitted) (citing Eccles

a i 8

15

v. Peoples Bank, 333 U.S. 426, 432, 68 S. Ct. 641, 645, 92 L. Ed.

784, 789 (1948)). Because there is no actual live controversy or an

injury in fact arising from the 60-day statute of limitations, the

Petition should be denied.

Il. THERE IS NO CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUIT

OPINIONS AND THE CHALLENGED STATUTE

COMPORTS WITH EXISTING LAW AND

POLICIES UNDER IDEA.

A. The Fourth Circuit’s ruling is not in conflict with

Birmingham by Birmingham v. Omaha School

District, 220 F.3d 850 (8th Cir. 2000), or-with any

relevant decision of this Court.

1. Unlike Birmingham, these cases concern the

time period for initiation of an

administrative hearing.

The filing period at issue here is the time for initiating an

administrative due process hearing. In these cases, the court upheld

the limitations period specifically adopted by the North Carolina

General Assembly for the initiation of due process before the State’s

Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH) pursuant to IDEA. The

“petition” required to begin due process in North Caroliaa is a one-

page document that can be mailed to OAH. IDEA requires the

States to provide such a hearing for parents who disagree with a

school decision about a child’s special education. 20 U.S.C. §

1415(f).' The Eighth Circuit’s opinion in Birmingham, on the other

hand, established the appropriate limitations period for filing of

' Allreference to IDEA in this Brief are to the reauthorized Act of 1997.

16

Original action in federal district court in Arkansas following the

exhaustion of State administrative remedies. 20 U.S.C. § 1415(i)(2).

Since Congress has elected in IDEA not to legislate the time

limit for either type of filing, it is not surprising that, when looking

to the procedural law in the various states for the most analogous

State statutes of limitation, federal courts have borrowed limitations

periods of different lengths. It is likewise unremarkable, let alone

indicative of a circuit conflict, that limitations period borrowed by

the Fourth Circuit for an administrative hearing in North Carolina

differs in length from a limitations period borrowed by the Eighth

Circuit for a judicial filing in Arkansas. Such differences exist

whenever federal courts must “borrow” from analogous State

procedures, given the variety among the States. As in the present

case, such differences usually do not reflect actual conflicts.

2. Unlike the procedures of the shorter

Arkansas statute rejected by the Eighth

Circuit Court of Appeals in

Birmingham, the standard of review,

scope of review and _ evidentiary

procedures for a due process hearing in

North Carolina are all consistent with

IDEA.

The issues for due process under North Carolina law are: 1)

the identification of a child with special needs; 2) the

appropriateness of an IEP; 3) the implementation of an IEP; and 4)

all other issues relating to whether or not the child is receiving a

free, appropriate education. N.C.G.S. § 115C-116(c).? Discovery is

2 All references to the North Carolina General Statutes are to the 2000

compilation of the State code. The 60-day statute of limitations in its

17

permitted prior to a hearing on the merits, and the ALJ rules on all

issues without limitation. N.C.G.S. § 115C-116(c) and § 150B-28.

The scope of review for due process under North Carolina law and

is de novo.

The Eighth Circuit panel in Birmingham rejected a 30-day

statute of limitations for judicial review borrowed by the lower court

from the Arkansas Administrative Procedures Act because the

“AAPA is not closely analogous to the IDEA.” Unlike North

Carolina law pertaining to administrative actions pursuant to IDEA,

review under the Arkansas APA is limited to a review of the agency

record without additional discovery, and the relief available is

limited to affirming, reversing or modifying the State agency’s

actions. Birmingham, 220 F.3d at 854.

The North Carolina Administrative Procedure Act (APA)

establishes a 60-day statute of limitations for contested case filings

by aggrieved parties receiving notice of an agency decision and

written notice of that time limit. N.C.G.S. § 150B-23(f). The North

_ Carolina General Assembly has expressly adopted this statute of

limitations for disputes regarding the provision of educational

services to students with disabilities. N.C.G.S. § 115C-116(d). The

Fourth Circuit upheld that limitations period, emphasizing that North

Carolina “courts would not countenance any departure from, or

relaxation of, statutory [notice] requirements.” Pet. App. at 20.

The current version of the North Carolina APA contains one

basic statute of limitations: “Unless another statute or federal

statute or regulation sets a time limitation for the filing of a petition

in contested cases against a specified agency, the general limitation

for the filing of a petition in a contested case is 60 days.” N.C.G.S.

present form has applied in North Carolina for more than 10 years.

18

§ 150B-23(f) (emphasis added).’ Thus, if IDEA contained a

limitations period for due process filings, North Carolina would use

that period. In enacting the IDEA, however, Congress elected to be

silent on the issue. In fact, Congress explicitly delegated to states

the obligation to develop an administrative hearing process and

submit a compliance plan to the Department of Education for

approval. North Carolina, unlike many other states, has adopted a

directly applicable statute of limitations for IDEA administrative

claims pursuant to its delegated authority from Congress and under

the supervision of the federal agency charged with monitoring dtate

compliance with federal law.‘

That IDEA does not contain a statute of limitations, 20 U.S.C.

§ 1415(e)(2), is not unusual. “Congress not infrequently fails to

supply an express statute of limitations when it creates a federal

cause of action. When that occurs, ‘[w]e have generally concluded

* Respondents note that the North Carolina 60-day statute is longer than

many limitation periods now engrafted onto the IDEA by federal case law

from those (see cases in note 3). In addition, other grievants in N.C.

administrative proceedings have shorter time limits for filing contested

cases. For example, personnel and employment-related contested cases

heard in the Office of Administrative Hearings have a 30-day statute of

limitations. N.C.G.S. § 126-38 (applying to career employees) and § 126-

7.2 (applying to non-career employees and applicants). This 30-day limit

also applies to certain cases involving disability discrimination in

employment, e.g., N.C.G.S. §§ 126-34.1(a)(2), -34.1(b)(3), -36.

* Compare 20 U.S.C. § 1412(a) (stating that “[a] state is eligible for

assistance under this part for a fiscal year if the State demonstrates to the

satisfaction of the Secretary that the State has in effect policies and

procedures to ensure that it meets” with § 1415(f) “Impartial Due Process

Hearing” (requiring that parents “shall have an opportunity for an impartial

due process hearing, which shall be conducted by the State educational

agency or by the local educational agency, as determined by State law or

by the State educational agency.”) (emphasis added).

19

that Congress intended that the courts apply the most closely

analogous statute of limitations under state law.’” Reed v. United

Transp. Union, 488 U.S. 319, 323, 109 S. Ct. 621, 625, 102 L. Ed.

2d 665, 673-74 (1989) (citation omitted). In the context of IDEA

actions, courts have stressed that borrowing a limitations period is

mandatory. “[F]ederal courts must adhere to the ‘borrowing’

doctrine, which requires a federal court to borrow from the state the

most analogous state statute of limitation.” Kirkpatrick v. Lenoir

County Bd. of Educ., 216 F.3d 380, 386 (4th Cir. 2000) (emphasis

added).

The Fourth Circuit properly employed a two-step analysis in

evaluating the most appropriate statute of limitations for borrowing

in this case, with some appropriate deference shown to the State.

Pet. App. at 22. Once a court has selected the most closely

analogous state cause of action, the second step requires a court to

“defer [under principles of federalism] to the state’s judgment about

how to balance the need to enforce the statute with the need to weed

out stale claims, by borrowing the statute of limitations for the most

closely analogous state cause of action, unless that statute would

frustrate the purposes of the federal statute on which the claim is

based.” Aaron v. Brown Group, Inc., 80 F.3d 1220, 1223 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 519 U.S. 950, 117 S. Ct. 361, 136 L. Ed. 2d 252 (1996).

“[B]y adopting the statute [of limitations] governing an analogous

cause of action under state law, federal law incorporates the

State’s judgment on the proper balance between the policies of

repose and the substantive policies of enforcement embodied in the

State cause of action.” Janzen v. Knox City Bd. of Educ., 790 F.2d

484, 489 (6th Cir. 1986) (emphasis added) (citing Wilson v. Garcia,

471 U.S. 261, 271, 105 S. Ct. 1938, 1944, 85 L. Ed. 2d 254, 263

(1985)).

20

As noted by the Fourth Circuit, “[lJogic virtually compels the

conclusion that a state special education statute, specifically enacted

to comply with the IDEA, like N.C. Gen. Stat. § 115C-i16,

constitutes the state statute most analogous to the IDEA.” Pet. App.

at 12. That same statute provides to parents a due process hearing

on the widest conceivable variety of issues including the

identification or misidentification of a child as a child with special

needs; the appropriateness of a child’s IEP; the failure to implement

an IEP; and the denial of an appropriate education. N.C.G.S. §

115C-116(c) and (e). This wide scope of review under North

Carolina’s statute further distinguishes this case from Birmingham,

in which the scope of review under Arkansas law.

This case is also distinguishable on the bases of standard of

review and evidence before the reviewing administrative officer.

Unlike the hearing provided for by the judicial review statute

rejected in Birmingham, the due process hearing in North Carolina

is not only a de novo review as to a broad variety of special

education issues but it is also a full evidentiary trial. N.C.G.S. §§

115C-116(d); 150B-25(c) and (d) (opportunity to present evidence,

cross-examine any witness, submit rebuttal evidence); 150B-27

(subpoenas of witnesses); 150B-28 (depositions and full discovery

under the standard rules of civil procedure); 150B-29 (documentary

evidence a part of the record); and 150B-33 (conduct of pre-trial

matters and hearings).

B. The Fourth Circuit’s ruling is consistent with

the decisions from many other federal courts

analyzing fundamental IDEA policies.

The Fourth Circuit correctly found North Carolina’s scheme

consistent with IDEA. Pet. App. at 13-22. North Carolina is in the

mainstream in utilizing its own APA as the source of the limitations

21

period, as is abundantly illustrated by other federal cases. In

determining the most analogous limitations period for purposes of

filing judicial actions under the IDEA, for example, numerous

federal courts similarly “have concluded that the state administrative

procedure laws are most analogous to the federal claims possible

under IDEA and that the ‘short’ limitations periods found within

such laws are consistent with the IDEA’s goals of prompt

resolution of disputes over the education of children with

disabilities.”’ Although the borrowed short time periods for IDEA

> See, e. g., Birmingham, \7 F. Supp. 2d at 863 (applying Arkansas’ 30-

day period) (citing Cleveland Heights-University Heights City Sch. Dist. v.

Boss, 144 F.3d 391, 396-97 (6th Cir. 1998) (applying Ohio’s 45-day

statute), aff'd in part and rev'd in part, 220 F.3d 850 (2000)(preferring a

longer statute under its facts); Zipperer v. School Bd. of Seminole County,

111 F.3d 847, 850-52 (11th Cir. 1997) (saying in dicta it would likely adopt

30-day period for appeal in administrative proceedings); Livingston Sch.

Dist. v. Keenan, 82 F.3d 912, 914-15 (9th Cir. 1996) (applying Montana’s

30-day limitation); Powers v. Indiana Dep't of Educ., 61 F.3d 552, 554-59

(7th Cir. 1995) (applying Indiana’s 30-day period); Amann v. Town of Stow,

991 F.2d 929, 931-34 (Ist Cir. 1993) (applying Massachusetts’ 30-day

limit); and Adler v. Education Dep't of N.Y., 760 F.2d 454, 455-60 (2d Cir.

1985) (applying NY’s 120-day statute)). See also Providence Sch. Dep't

v. Ana C., 108 F.3d 1 (Ist Cir. 1997) (applying Rhode Island’s 30-day

statute); Dell v. Board of Educ., 32 F. 3d 1053, 1060 (7th Cir. 1994)

(applying Illinois 120-day statute); Spiegler v. District of Columbia, 866

F.2d 461 (D.C. Cir. 1989) (applying 30-day statute); Department of Educ.

v. Carl D., 695 F.2d 1154 (9th Cir. 1983) (30 days); L.C. and K.C. v. Utah

State Bd. of Educ., 57 F. Supp. 2d 1214 (D. Utah 1999) (30 days); Wagner

v. Logansport Community Sch. Corp., 990 F. Supp. 1099 (N.D. Ind. 1997)

(30 days); Berkowitz by Berkowitz v. New York City Bd. of Educ., 921 F.

Supp. 963 (E.D.N.Y. 1996) (120 days); Herbert v. Manchester, 833 F.

Supp. 80 (D.N.H. 1993) (30 days); Wills v. Ferrandino, 830 F. Supp. 116

(D. Conn. 1993) (45 days); Elizabeth K. v. Warrick County, 795 F. Supp.

881 (S.D. Ind. 1992) (30 days); Gertel v. School Comm., 783 F. Supp. 701

(D. Mass. 1992) (30 days); /.D. v. Westmoreland Sch. Dist., 788 F. Supp.

632 (D.N.H. 1991) (30 days); Bow Sch. Dist. v. Quentin W., 750 F. Supp.

546 (D.N.H. 1990) (same); Thomas v. Staats, 633 F. Supp. 797 (S.D. W.

Va. 1985) (120 days).

99

sd

filings in court range from 30 to 45 to 120 days (see note 5), such

inconsistency arises directly from the congressional decision not to

legislate a uniform statute of limitations for the IDEA.

Finally, Congress is presumed to be aware of federal case law

as it impacts on the interpretation of federal statutes. And in re-

authorizing IDEA in 1997, without adding a statute of limitations to

the Act, Congress implicitly approved the numerous holdings

regarding short statutes of limitations. The courts have also noted

that such surface “‘inconsistency [is} probably attributable to the

fact-based analysis and the variety of state causes of action to

evaluate.”” S.V. v. Sherwood Sch. Dist., 75 F. Supp. 2d 1153, 1158

(D. Or. 1999) (quoting Dreher v. Amphitheater Unified Sch. Dist.,

22 F.3d 228, 231 n.4 (9th Cir. 1993)).

C. The Fourth Circuit’s ruling properly

considers and attempts to account for all

relevant federal policies, rather than one

single policy.

North Carolina’s 60-day time period for filing a due process

petition is clearly consistent with federal policies under the IDEA,

as repeatedly underscored in the case law deemed by the Fourth

Circuit to be “[t]he better-reasoned cases.” Pet. App. at 16. As

observed by the court below, “[t]he Act’s intent would obviously be

thwarted if placement decisions were not carried out until after a

child could benefit from those placements.” Pet. App. 13-14.

Petitioners assert that certiorari should be granted “to correct

the misapplication of the unconscionably short statute of limitations

which clearly undermines the underlying policy of the IDEA.” Pet.

at 15. First, the Fourth Circuit did not apply the 60-day statute in

these cases (see Argument |). Second, there is no single policy

23

underlying IDEA, and the various policies are in some tension. The

Fourth Circuit's opinion scrupulously examined the important

interests served by IDEA, Pet. App. at 13-16, as well as the resulting

policy tensions, and correctly concluded on balance that North

Carolina's due process scheme is consistent with the IDEA.

Some cases, it is true, emphasize promptness in decision-

making as the paramount consideration in selecting the most

analogous limitations period. There is virtue in that emphasis, as

long as it is understood to be non-exclusive. Promptness is indeed

important, as recognized by the Seventh Circuit:

[T]o succeed in safeguarding the student, the IDEA’s

policies encourage the prompt, rather than protracted,

resolution of disputes concerning the disabled student’s

education. See 121 Cong. Rec. 37416, 94th Cong., Ist

Sess. (Nov. 19, 1975) (statement in final Senate debate by

Senator Williams, the principal author of the bill, Stating

that delay in resolving education matters is detrimental to

the development of a handicapped child). The statute

establishes expeditious administrative reviews: a due

process hearing conducted within 45 days of the request,

and a review of that decision within 30 days of the request.

See § 1415(b) & (c); 34 C.F.R. § 300.512(a) & (b). ...

Moreover, because delay in the resolution of any

proceedings brought under § 1415 can delay a change in

the child’s educational program, see 20 U.S.C. §

1415(e)(3), n 17, a short limitations period is consistent

with the IDEA’s goal of prompt resolution of disputes

and proper placement of the child.

... Congress quite clearly intended that “all hearings

and reviews conducted pursuant to [the IDEA] be

24

commenced and disposed of as quickly as practicable.”

121 Cong. Rec. 37416 (1975) (statement of the

legislation’s principal author, Senator Williams). The

IDEA clearly reflects a goal of avoiding delay in

resolving education questions and in meeting the

educational needs of the disabled child.

Dell v. Board of Educ., 32 F.3d 1053, 1060 (7th Cir. 1994)

(emphasis added).

One reservation about borrowing “short” statutes of limitations

which appears in a handful of IDEA cases is a concern that

unrepresented parties might be disadvantaged or otherwise

unprotected against default on the ground of a procedural

technicality such as a short limitations period of which they “may be

unaware.” Schimmel v. Spillane, 819 F.2d 477, 482 (4th Cir. 1987)

(adding that it was “not clear” to the court, from its reading of the

predecessor statute to IDEA, that the Act imposed a duty to give

notice to parents of the applicable statute of limitations). However,

in North Carolina the 60-day limitation period only applies if the

grievant is given written notice thereof. N.C.G.S. § 150B-23(f).

And, finding that Petitioners did not have such notice, the Fourth

Circuit held this statute of limitations could not be invoked against

them under the facts in these two cases. Pet. App. at 29.

Other cases evincing concern over a short limitations period

have stressed another federal policy, that of parent participation in

educational planning. Nothing about North Carolina’s 60-day

limitations impedes that important participation or a parent’s right

to contest amy school decision regarding identification, the

appropriateness of an IEP, the implementation of an IEP or an

educational program, made at any stage in the process of evaluating,

determining eligibility, developing IEPs, placing the child, or

reviewing problems with services for the child as they arise.

25

Parents themselves must recognize the importance of providing

the earliest possible, undelayed services to children with special

needs, which is a clear theme in the congressional history. See, e. g..

remarks of Senator Schweiker (“much more could be done at an

earlier age to ameliorate, alter, or develop skills to compersate for,

certain handicapping conditions”) at 121 Cong. Rec. 19504 (June

1975). By means of its 60-day statute, the State of North Carolina

has made the considered judgment that disabled children’s education

rights are best protected when decisions are made as promptly as

possible with respect to the appropriateness of an IEP offered by a

school district. That judgment is supportable because IDEA is,

when all is said and done, most about the proper educational

placement of each eligible child.

A shorter limitations period clearly serves the goal of resolving

disputes “while a remedy is still available” within the school

district’s purview and before the child might lose ground. Gertel v.

School Comm. of Brookline Sch. Dist., 783 F. Supp. 701, 706 (D.

Mass. 1992). “The Act’s requirement of periodic and individualized

assessments of each handicapped child evinces a recognition that

children, particularly young children, develop quickly and that a

placement decision that may have been appropriate a year [or less]

ago may no longer be appropriate today.” Spiegler v. District of

Columbia, 866 F.2d 461, 466 (D.C. Cir. 1989).

D. There is no conflict with OSEP’s letter

rulings.

Petitioners take the further position that it is “significant” that

OSEP “has also twice ruled that a 60 day statute of limitations is

unenforceable under the IDEA.” Pet. at 12. Those short letter

rulings, commenting on proposed state legislation in two states, are

inapposite. Petitioners’ argument disregards the salient differences

Se na aT ROE Oe ee ee eS

26

between the facts responded to in the Raskin and Pawlisch letters,

implicating a one-time, absolute and close-ended 60-day period, and

the facts in Petitioners’ cases, implicating no such restrictions.®° A

second problem is that the 1991 OSEP letter, on which the 1997

® The Raskin letter (1991) (see Respondents’ Appendix at 85a)

commented on proposed legislation in New Hampshire which would have

limited any request for due process to the period within 60 days from “the

date parents must sign the documents indicating their assent to” IEPs.

OSERS noted that such a restriction conflicted with IDEA’s grant to parents

of the right to contest “any matter relating to the identification, evaluation,

or educational placement of the child, or the provision of a free appropriate

education to such child.” OSERS rightly saw a conflict between the New

Hampshire legislation and 20 U.S.C. § 1415(b)(1)(E) and 34 CFR §

300.506 “[s]ince we can envision many situations in which this 60-day

limitation would not be reasonable, e.g., problems with the IEP that would

not be apparent until much further into the school year.”

There is absolutely no such conflict between IDEA, its regulations and

the existing statutes in North Carolina, as N.C.G.S.§ 115C-116(c) gives

parents the right to obtain review in due process of decisions with which

they disagree at any time throughout the year, not just within 60 days of the

finalization of a particular IEP. Unlike the proposed New Hampshire

legislation, in North Carolina all decisions regarding identification, IEP

content, IEP implementation, or other denial of appropriate education are

grievable under § 115C-116(c), consistent with IDEA. The 60-day period

begins to run anew in North Carolina at any time the district makes a final

decision with which the parents disagree; the 60 days does not only begin

to run at the time of a meeting for signing the IEP as under the New

Hampshire statute.

The Pawlisch letter (1997) (see Respondents’ Appendix at 89a)

commented on proposed legislation in Wisconsin and observed merely that

“OSEP previously indicated in a letter to Raskin, OSEP 1991, that a 60-day

time limit in filing due process requests which had been proposed in New

Hampshire would be an unreasonable limitation upon Federal law.” The

1997 letter appears to overlook the peculiar features of the New Hampshire

legislation which made it objectionable. In any event, there is nothing

about OSEP’s comments in either of these letters which suggests that the

60-day limitation as enacted and applied in North Carolina offends federal

law or policies; and Petitioners have not shown otherwise.

27

letter relies without analysis, pre-dates the reauthorized IDEA,

An even more fundamental problem with any argument based

on the Raskin and Pawlisch letters, however, is that federal courts do

not defer to agency interpretation of federal law when the agency’s

interpretation would alter the express intent of Congress. See, e.g.,

K Mart Corp. v. Cartier, Inc., 486 U.S. 281, 291, 108 S. Ct. 1811,

1817, 100 L. Ed. 2d 313, 324 (1988). An agency’s interpretive

guidance is “not controlling upon the courts by reason of their

authority.” Meritor Sav. Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57, 65, 106 S. Ct.

2399, 2404, 91 L. Ed. 2d 49, 58 (1986). Similarly, this Court has

quite recently reiterated that an agenay’s letter ruling “has no claim

to judicial deference” under the Chevron doctrine, where there is “no

indication that Congress intended such a ruling to carry the force of

law.” United States v. Mead Corp., 533 U.S.__,___, 121 S.Ct.

2164, 2168, = -L. Ed. 2d — , __ (2001). ‘Ill-founded or

misguided agency notions must, then, yield to the well-grounded and

better reasoned contrary judicial interpretation of legislative intent

set out in the decision of the Fourth Circuit in these cases.

28

CONCLUSION

This Petition should be denied for failure to show an actual

controversy and injury in fact of these Petitioners, whose cases have

both been returned by the Fourth Circuit for trial.

In the alternative, this Court should find there is no conflict

between the Fourth Circuit’s decision and decisions of other circuits

or this Court. The Fourth Circuit correctly decided that North

Carolina has properly weighed all the relevant competing policies

embodied in IDEA. The Fourth Circuit’s ruling, upon a careful

balancing of those different policy considerations, is consistent with

the congressional goals of; mutual collaboration between schools

and parents in the identification and evaluation of children and

development of appropriate IEPs; provision of full information

about, and preservation of, all procedural rights; and of prompt

resolution of disputes regarding IEPs and educational programs, to

ensure that young and rapidly developing children with special needs

receive their statutoriiy guaranteed education when they can most

benefit from it. Petitioners have not shown otherwise, and no

countervailing concerns arise under the facts of this case.

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

*Ann L. Majestic

Tharrington Smith, LLP

Christopher Z. Campbell

Cynthia S. Grady

Roberts & Stevens, PA

July 23, 2001

29

ROY COOPER

Attorney General

Joyce S. Rutledge

Assistant Attorney General

*Counsel of Record

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ME. v. The Buncombe County Bd. of Educ., et al

Civil No. 1:99CV3, Memorandum and Order

of United States District Court for the

Western District of North Carolina

Asheville Division, December 17, 1999 ............... la-l4a

M.E. v. The Board of Educ. for Buncombe County, et al

File No. 98 EDC 0566, Final Decision

of the Office of Administrative Hearings

IIT oa re ee ae rad hk ce a a 1Sa-25a

M.E. v. The Board of Educ., et al

Decision of State Hearing Review

Officer for the State Board of

Education Pursuant to G.S. 115C-116

NE SD FGRe icici Beet oat. FH, 27a-40a

[Parents of CM] v. Henderson County Public Schools

Decision of State Hearing Review

Officer for the State Board of Education

Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 115C-16

a eee ae ag 4la-83a

U.S. Department of Education Letter Opinions

Letter to Ms. Judith Raskin, Executive Director

Parent Information Center

IE a Aik iota, Hisck ig'tess bith es kena packs Wreee Be 85a-88a

U.S. Department of Education Letter Opinions

Letter to Dr. Juanita S. Pawlisch

GOON Ta TOG ii i VARA ATER A 89a-92a

la

IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE UNITED

STATES FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF NORTH

CAROLINA ASHEVILLE DIVISION

CIVIL NO. 1 :99CV3

M.E. and P.E., on their behalf

and on behalf of their son, C.E.,

)

)

)

Plaintiffs, )

)

Vs. ) MEMORANDUM

) AND ORDER

)

THE BOARD OF EDUCATION )

FOR BUNCOMBE COUNTY, _)

a/k/a BUNCOMBE COUNTY __)

PUBLIC SCHOOLS, )

)

Defendant. )

THIS MATTER is before the Court on the parties’ cross

motions for summary judgment. For the reasons stated herein,

the Court denies the Plaintiffs’ motion and grants that of the

Defendant.

I. PROCEDURAL HISTORY

ME and PE on behalf of CE, their autistic child, initiated

this action pursuant to the Individuals with Disabilities

2a

Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. §§ 1400, et. seg.! 20 U.S.C.

§ 1401 (a)(1 )(A)(i). Plaintiffs claimed the Buncombe County

Board of Education (County) denied a free appropriate public

education (FAPE) to their child, as required by the IDEA. 20

U.S.C. § 1401(a)(18).? On October 10, 1998, Administrative

Law Judge (ALJ) Beecher Gray found the Plaintiffs had failed

to initiate a proceeding for a due process hearing during the 60-

day statute of limitations prescribed by the North Carolina

Administrative Procedure Act, N.C. (Gen. Stat. § 1 S50B-23.

Plaintiffs filed an administrative appeal and State Review

Officer (SRO) J. Sherwood Dunham affirmed the ALJ’s

decision on December 3, 1998. Having exhausted their

administrative remedies, the parents brought this action

pursuant to the IDEA. 20 U.S.C. § 1415(e)(2).

II. STANDARD OF REVIEW

Section 1415(e)(2) of Title 20, United States Code,

provides in pertinent part that in “any action brought under this

[statute] the court shall receive the records of the administrative

* The disorder of autism is defined as a “preoccupation with inner

thoughts,...egocentric, subjective thinking lacking objectivity and

connection with reality.” Dorland 's Medical Dictionary (28th ed. 1994).

? That section defines the term “free appropriate public education” as

“special education and related services that- (A) have been provided at

public expense, under public supervision and direction, and without charge,

(B) meet the standards of the State educational agency, (C) include an

appropriate preschool, elementary, or secondary school education in the

State involved, and (D) are provided in conformity with the individualized

education program required under section 1414(a)5) of this title.”

3a

proceedings, shall hear additional evidence at the request of a

party, and, basing its decision on the preponderance of the

evidence, shall grant such relief as the court determines is

appropriate.” The parties here have agreed that no hearing is

necessary and that the matter may be determined on the basis

of the motions.

The Supreme Court has held that a proper review of the

state’s determination requires a twofold inquiry. Board of

Educ. of the Hendrick Hudson Cent. Sch. Dist. v. Rowley,

458 U.S. 176, 201 (1982). The district court must decide: (1)

whether the State complied with the IDEA’s procedural

requirements in developing and implementing the

Individualized Education Program (IEP) for the child at issue

and (2) whether the IEP is “reasonably calculated” to enable

that child to receive educational benefits. Id., at 206-07. The

Court also instructed reviewing courts to make “independent

decision[s] based on a preponderance of the evidence.” Jd. The

Fourth Circuit refined this standard in Doyle v. Arlington

County Sch. Bd., 953 F.2d 100 (4th Cir. 1991), where it held

that findings of fact by ALJ’s and hearing officers in IDEA

cases “are entitled to be considered prima facie correct, akin to

the traditional sense of permitting a result to be based on such

fact finding, but not requiring it.” Jd, at 105. In essence,

district courts must “‘make an independent decision based on

a preponderance of the evidence, while.giving due weight to

state administrative proceedings.”” Board of Educ. of

Montgomery County v. Brett Y, 155 F.3d 557 (table), 1998

WL 390553 **5 (4th Cir. 1998) (quoting Doyle, 953 F.2d at

103). As to conclusions of law, the determinations made in the

ta

administrative proceedings are reviewed de novo. Milford Sch.

Dist. v. William F., 129 F.3d 1252 (table), 1997 WL 696108

(1st Cir. 1997); Dell v. Bd. of Educ., T: ownship High Sch.

Dist. 113, 32 F.3d 1053, 1058 (7th Cir. 1994).

It. FINDINGS OF FACT

In August 1995, the Plaintiffs moved from Maryland to

North Carolina. Affidavit of Dr. Jane A. Stephens contained

in Administrative Record. In March 1996, PE contacted the

County to advise that his four year old son had been diagnosed

with autism and to request reimbursement for Lovaas? therapy

which had been provided for the child in their home for

between 35 and 40 hours per week. /d.; Petitioners’ First

Prehearing Statement, contained in AdministrativeRecord.

Dr. Stephens construed the letter as a referral for special

education services and initiated the evaluation process, to

which the Plaintiffs agreed. Stephens Affidavit. The parents

signed a consent for the evaluation and were provided with a

handbook on parental rights. Id.

On May 31, 1996, a meeting was held with the Plaintiffs

at which his proposed placement in a preschool classroom with

* Dr. Ivar Lovaas developed a form of treatment for autistic preschoolers.

“Discrete trial teaching (DTT) is one component of the Lovaas type of

[applied behavioral analysis}and involves a directive followed rapidly with

a consequence based on whether the student gives the correct response.”

TH v. Bd. of Educ. of Palatine Community Consol. Sch. Dist. 15,55

F.Supp.2d 830 (table), 1999 WL 342317 **14 n.8 (N.D. IIL 1999).

Lovaas therapy requires one-on-one instruction, often for as much as 40

hours per week.

Sa

a TEACCH* special education teacher was explained. Jd. The

Plaintiffs rejected this placement and opted to continue the

Lovaas program in their home. Jd. In June 1996, the County

offered to provide Extended School Year services to the child

or to provide in-home services three times per week. Jd. These

services were also rejected by the Plaintiffs by letter dated July

26, 1996. Id.; Petitioners’ First Prehearing Statement,

supra. However, in September 1996, the Plaintiffs elected to

receive limited services in the form of one and one-half hours

of direct special education and speech therapy. Stephens

Affidavit.

In October 1996, the Plaintiffs again asked the County to

consider funding the child’s Lovaas therapy. Petitioners’ First

Prehearing Statement. An IEP meeting was held in early

January 1997 at which time the parents presented a draft IEP

prepared at a Lovaas institution. Jd. At a meeting held on

January 28, 1997, the County proposed its IEP, made minor

modifications as requested by the Plaintiffs and asked them to

notify the County if the IEP was accepted because it would

entail the hiring of additional staff. Jd. In February 1997, the

attorney for the County wrote to the Plaintiffs and again asked

them to respond if they wished to implement the IEP. Jd. No

response was received to this letter. Plaintiffs admit that the

IEP was never implemented because they rejected it. Id.

Thereafter, the County sent the Plaintiffs an “Invitation to

Conference” letter to discuss whether the child would be placed

* Treatment and Education of Autistic and Related Communication

Handicapped Children program.

6a

in kindergarten. Stephens Affidavit. The Plaintiffsattendedthe

meeting and asked that the child's record be sealed. Id. A

follow-up meeting was set for June of 1997 at which time it

was determined the child no longer needed specia! education

services. Id. He was removed from the program and the

parents were again provided with a copy of the Handbook for

Parents’ Rights. Jd. On July 29, 1997, the Plaintiffs renewed

their request-for reimbursement for the Lovaas therapy and

threatened to initiate a due process petition in the event a

response was not received within ten days. Id. By letter of

August 7, 1997, the County declined to reimburse the Plaintiffs

for the full amount demanded and advised that a counteroffer

could not be proposed until approval was received from the

school board. Jd. The County attorney wrote:

Your letter states that we must respond to your offer

within ten (10) days or you will proceed immediately

to due process. You, of course, have the right to file a

due process petition at any time, however, the reality

of school systems requires that the governing board be

consulted and that process takes time. If you proceed

to due process, please be aware that the IDEA was

reauthorized by Congress in June and the new law

contains new notice provisions and provisions

regarding attorneys’ fees that are now in effect. I am

including a copy of the law in order to provide you

with notice of these provisions. In addition, the North

Carolina General Assembly has amended the

mediation provisions of state law and I have included

a copy of that legislation.

7a

Exhibit E, attached to Stephens Affidavit. The amendment to

which the attorney referred concerned new notice provisions

for filing a due process petition. The Plaintiffs filed a petition

for due process in April 1998. Id.

Stephen Grabenstein represented the Plaintiffs daring an

undisclosed portion of these proceedings. He has acknowledged

in an affidavit that he attended at least one IEP meeting with

the Plaintiffs at which he was provided the Handbook of

Parents’ Rights. Second Affidavit of Stephen J. Grabenstein,

Esquire, contained in Administrative Record. Inside the

front cover of that book was placed an addendum which

provided notification that a petition for a due process hearing

must be filed within 60 days of written notice of the contested

action. Id.

IV. DISCUSSION

The only factual issue for resolution is whether the

Plaintiffs have shown by a preponderance of the evidence that

their petition for due process was timely filed. The first

argument made by the Plaintiffs is that the County waived the

60-day statute of limitations. This argument is based on the

language in the County attorney’s letter to the effect that the

Plaintiffs, “of course, have the right to file a due process

petition at any time....” The entirety of the statement which is

quoted above shows the attorney was responding to the

Plaintiffs’ threat to initiate a due process petition within ten

days unless they had heard from the County. The attorney

explained that the school board would not be able to approve

any counteroffer within ten days and proceeded to provide

8a

Plaintiffs with copies of the provisions concerning the filing of

due process petitions. Plaintiffs’ argument, based on taking the

comment out of context, is disingenuous at best and is rejected.

As to the factual issue of whether the petition was filed

within 60 days of the August 7, 1997 letter, the undersigned

finds the determination of the ALJ and SRO was correct. Thus,

the only issue remaining is the legal question of which statute

of limitations should be applied. The IDEA provides that

parents may request an administrative due process hearing but

does not contain a time period within which to do so. 20

U.S.C. § 1415(b)(2). The Fourth Circuit has determined that

the absence of a limitations period in the Act does not mean no

limitations period should apply to the IDEA. Manning v.

Fairfax County Sch. Bd., 176 F.3d 235, 237 (4th Cir. 1999).

Indeed, when federal law provides no statute of limitations.

“the general rule is that a state limitations period for an

analogous cause of action is borrowed and applied to the

federal claim, provided that the application of the state statute

would not be inconsistent with underlying federal policies.”

Id, (citing Schimmel v. Spilane, 819 F.2d 477, 482-83 (4th

Cir. 1987) and quoting County of Oneida v. Oneida Indian

Nation, 470 U.S. 226, 240 ( 1985)).

Plaintiffs argue that under the holdings of Manning and

Schimmel, the 60-day period provided in the state

Administrative Procedures Act is too short and may not be _

applied. However, Plaintiffs do not state which analogous state

limitations period should apply. Dell, 32 F.3d at 1059

(“Notably, however, [the Plaintiffs} do not suggest a

9a

particular statute more analogous to the IDEA’s provisions

that the court should borrow. Indeed, had the defendants

pressed the point, they might well have been able to prevail

solely on the ground that the [Plaintiffs] had waived the use

of another statute of limitations by not having suggested

affirmatively a particular limitation more appropriate than

the one employed by the district court.”).

In Schimmel, the Fourth Circuit addressed the question of

the time within which an action in federal court pursuant to the

IDEA should be commenced following the exhaustion of state

administrative remedies. The defendant there urged the Circuit

to find that Virginia’s administrative procedures statute of

limitations of 30 days should apply. However, the Circuit noted —

that many parents are unrepresented during the administrative

proceedings and thus may be unable to retain an attorney and

make a determination concerning the initiation of a federal

action within the 30-day time frame. In response to the

defendant’s argumentthat the IDEA requires prompt resolution

of such matters, the Court held “the need for speedy resolution

of disputes does not outweigh the risk that a very short statute

of limitations may deny parties a fair opportunity to obtain

judicial review of adverse decisions rendered in administrative

due process proceedings.” Schimmel, 819 F.2d at 483.

_ In Manning, the issue was not the time within which to

initiate the federal action but, as here, the time within which to

petition for a due process hearing. The school did not argue that

the Virginia administrative proceedings act applied but instead

conceded the one year catch-all statute of limitations applied in

eT,

10a é

Schimmel was the appropriate one. Plaintiffs, on the other hand,

argued that one year was too short a period in which to require

parents to petition for a due process hearing and argued for a

five year statute of limitations. Thus, the Manning court did not

address whether the 30 day period in the Virginia

administrative procedures act should have been applicable; it

made a choice between a one and a five year statute of

limitations. “[W]e are of the opinion that the same one-year

limitations period is not so prohibitively short in the

administrative hearing context that it undermines the IDEA’s

policy of providing parents an opportunity to protect their

disabled children’s educational rights.” Manning, 176 F.3d at

239. :

Thus, the undersigned rejects the Plaintiffs’ argument that

the Manning decision negates the application of North

Carolina’s 60-day limitations period ‘pursuant to its

-Administrative Procedures Act. “A statute of limitations may

apply no matter whether proceedings are brought in a judicial

forum or in an administrative one.” Manning, 176 F.3d at 238.

The issue, then, is whether application of that 60-day period is

“so prohibitively short in the administrative hearing context

that it undermines the IDEA’s policy of providing parents an

Opportunity to protect their disabled children’s educational

rights.” Id., at 239,

Although the Schimmel and Manning courts did not

enumerate the balancing factors to be considered, each appears

to have followed the methodology set out in Amann v. Town of

Stow, 991 F.2d 929, 931-33 (1* Cir. 1993): the limitation

lla

period to be borrowed should be selected after balancing the

parental interest in participation, the school’s interest in speedy

resolution of disputes, and the child’s interest in receiving

educational entitlement. This case has an unusual posture

because the child received the services his parents’ deemed

necessary; the issue is whether his parents are entitled to

reimbursement. Moreover, the Plaintiffs, who rejected each

proposed IEP, did not petition for a due process hearing until

after the child had been determined to be ineligible for any

services. Thus, the child’s interest in receiving educational

entitlement is not impacted.

However, the undersigned concludes that the school has a

legitimate interest in the speedy resolution of disputes. The

County on more than one occasion asked the Plaintiffs to

advise whether they would accept the proposed IEP because

acceptance would necessitate the hiring of additional staff. The

inability of the school to ascertain the necessary expenditure of

funds for staff impacts more than the Plaintiffs’ child.

Moreover, although not dispositive, the parents here are

not typical. The child’s father is an attorney who purports to

_ specialize in education law. They were represented during the

proceedings and their attorney has admitted the receipt of

information providing notice of the 60-day deadline. The

parents were actively involved in the child’s education, to the

point of rejecting the IEP and insisting on the therapy of their

choice.

12a

It is compelling that this case does not involve the time

within which to obtain judicial review of the state

administrative proceedings. Althoughthe IDEA instructs states

to make a FAPE available, it has left to the states the

procedural mechanisms for putting the same in place. It was

thus within the ALJ’s discretion to dismiss the petition as

untimely under the North Carolina APA. L. M. v. Brownsburg

Community Sch. Corp., 28 F.Supp.2d 1107, 1110 (S.D. Ind.

1998). “Just as all deadlines throughout the administrative

process are short, the review of that process also should take

place within a short period of time.” Dell, 32 F.3d at 1061

(applying Illinois’ 120-day time limitation for judicial

review of administrative decision to parent's

reimbursement claim under the IDEA.). Thus, applicationof

the North Carolina Administrative Procedures Act 60-day

limitation is not inconsistent with the underlying policies of the

IDEA.

The purpose of requesting a due process hearing is to

challenge an aspect of a child's education and to put

the school district on notice of a perceived problem.

Once the school district receives notice, it has the

Opportunity to address the alleged problem. Under

[Plaintiffs’] theory, a school would be potentially

liable for unanticipated costs for alleged problems of

which it is totally unaware. “Recovery tuition for

costs] is a remedy only if the ([FAPE) guarantee has

been violated, exhaustive administrative remedies

have been tried before placement, and the schoo! has

been notified.”... While (the Lovaas therapy] may

13a

have been of great benefit to [the child], we cannot

agree that a school district must reimburse a parent for

- unchecked educational expenses.

Thompson v. Bd. of Special Sch. Dist. No. 1 (Minneapolis),

144 F.3d 574, 579 n. 3 (8" Cir. 1998) (quoting Cindy L.

Skaruppa, Ann Boyer & Oliver Edwards, Tuition

Reimbursement for Parent’ Unilateral Placement of

Students in Private Institutions: Justified or Not?, 114 Educ.

Law Rep. 353, 354 (West 1997)). The Plaintiffs here seek

reimbursement for therapy which they unilaterally chose and

implemented during a time when there were no proceedings

pending with the County.

We, of course, recognize that the school district has

the duty in the first instance to provide an appropriate

IEP, and moreover, to demonstrate by a

preponderance at a due process hearing that the IEP it

offered was indeed appropriate. With that foremost in

mind, we must nevertheless also recognize that as a

practical reality, and as a mater of procedural law of

which [the child’s] parents were fully apprized, the

right of review contains a corresponding parental duty

to unequivocally place in issue the appropriateness of

an IEP. This is accomplished through the initiation of

review proceedings within a reasonable time of the

unilateral [choice of therapy] for which

reimbursement is sought.

l4a

_ Bernardsvile Bd. of Educ. v. J.H., 42 F.3d 149, 158 (3"¢ Cir.

1994) (footnote omitted); accord, Lewisville Indep. Sch. DisL

v. Brooke P., 16 Educ. for the Handicapped Law Rep. 1313,

1315-16 (E.D. Tex. 1990) (parents’ failure to request due

process hearing constitutes waiver of right to

reimbursement for cost of extended school year services

prior to initiation of due process proceedings); Warren G.

v. Cumberland County Sch. Dist., 190 F.3d 80, 84 (3"¢ Cir.

1999). Thus, the undersigned cannot conclude that application

of North Carolina’s 60-day period is “so prohibitively short in

the administrative hearing context that it undermines the

IDEA’s policy of providing parents an Opportunity to protect

their disabled children’s educational rights.” Manning, supra.

V. ORDER

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED that the Plaintiffs’

motion for summary judgment is hereby DENIED; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the Defendant’s

motion for summary judgment is hereby GRANTED.

A Judgment dismissing this case in its entirety is filed

herewith.

THIS the 17" day of December, 1999.

/s/ LACY H. THORNBURG

UNITED STATES DISTRICTCOURT

JUDGE

15a

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

COUNTY OF BUNCOMBE

IN THE OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS

FILE NO. 98 EDC 0566

M. E. and her husband, P.E.,

individually, and on behalf

of their son, C. E..,

Petitioners,

VS. FINAL DECISION

THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

FOR BUNCOMBE COUNTY

a/k/a BUNCOMBE COUNTY

PUBLIC SCHOOLS, et al

Respondent.

THIS CONTESTED CASE coming on for hearing before

the Honorable Beecher R. Gray, Administrative Law Judge

' Presiding, on Respondent’s Motion for Summary Judgment on

September 14, 1998, in Hendersonville, North Carolina. After

reviewing the pleadings, affidavits, and supporting memoranda

_of law and hearing the oral arguments of counsel, the

Undersigned is of the opinion that the Respondent’s Motion is

well-founded in fact and law, and the Undersigned enters the

l6a

following Final Decision granting summary judgment in favor

of the Respondent, Buncombe County Public Schools.

APPEARANCES

For Petitioners: Paul L. Erickson

The Law Firm of Paul L. Erickson, P.A.

Building One, Suite Three

1998 Hendersonville Rd.

Asheville, N.C. 28803-2192

Ann M. Paradis

Wilkins & Wellons

141 East Market Street

P.O. Box 1046

Smithfield, North Carolina 27577

For Respondent: Cynthia S. Lopez

Christopher Z. Campbell

ROBERTS & STEVENS, P.A.

P.O. Box 7647

Asheville, N.C. 28802

ISSUES TO BE RESOLVED ON SUMMARY

JUDGMENT

. 1. Whether the Petitioners’ action is time barred by the

applicable statute of limitations;

2. If not, whether the Petitioners fail to state a claim for

which relief can be granted under the Individuals with Disabilities

17a

Education Act (“IDEA”) in that Petitioners sought public funding

for a particular educational methodology; and

3. Whether this Court has jurisdiction to hear claims

brought pursuant to the United States and North Carolina

Constitutions, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, the

Americans with Disabilities Act, and Section 1983.

BURDEN OF PROOF

Upon a motion for Summary Judgment the Movant has the

burden of establishing that there is no genuine issue as to any

material fact and that it is entitled to summary judgment as a

matter of law. Once the Movant satisfies its burden, the Non-

Movant may not rely on its allegations but must produce a

forecast of evidence sufficient to establish the existence of a

genuine issue of material fact requiring trial.

Based on the uncontroverted evidence appearing of record,

to which consideration may be given under G.S. § 150B-(33)(3a),

26 N.C.A.C. 3 .0101(1) & 3 .0105(6), and G.S. § 1A-1, Rule 56

of the N.C. Rules of Civil Procedure, including pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, together with affidavits,

and having considered the legal memoranda and oral argument of

counsel for both parties, the Undersigned, Administrative Law

Judge Presiding, makes the following:

PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

1. OnAugust 27, 1998, the Respondent filed its Motion for

Summary Judgment with supporting affidavits.

18a

2. On September 2, 1998, the Respondent filed its Brief in

Support of Motion for Summary Judgment.

3. On or about September 9 - 11, the Petitioners served

affidavits and a Brief in Opposition to Respondent’s Motion,

4. On Monday, September 14, 1998, the Undersigned

conducted an on-the-record hearing in the Henderson County

Courthouse, Hendersonville, North Carolina.

5. The venue for this proceeding was suggested by the

Petitioners and agreed to by the Respondent.

UNDISPUTED FACTS

1. MLE. and P.E. first presented their son C.E. to the

Respondent in March of 1996 (“time of presentment”). At the

time of presentment C.E. was four years old and was receiving an

in-home program of Lovaas Therapy funded by the Petitioners.

2. On September 22, 1994 and September 23, 1994, C.E.

was evaluated at the Kennedy Kreiger Institute and was

diagnosed with Pervasive Developmental Disorder, not otherwise

specified (PDD/NOS). The Kennedy Kreiger evaluation referred

to C.E. as “high functioning”.

3. On February 27, 1995, C.E. was evaluated by Division

TEACCH in Chapel Hill, North Carolina. TEACCH determined

that C.E. met the criteria for Autism.

19a

4. On March |, 1996, P.E. wrote to the Respondent

“requesting reimbursement for CE’s program which at that time

was being privately funded by CE’s family.” Petitioners’ First

Prehearing Statement, Factual Allegations, { 18. The letter

describes C.E.’s in-home Lovaas program as “quite expensive to

_ fund privately.” Letter dated March 1, 1996, attached to Jane

Stephens’s Affidavit as Exhibit A.

5. The Respondent accepted P.E.’s letter of March 1, 1996

as a referral for special education and thereafter evaluated C.E.,

determined the extent of his eligibility for special services,

developed numerous Individualized Education Plans (IEPs) for

C.E., and offered a placement that it felt was appropriate to meet

C.E.’s special needs. Although the Petitioners allege that the

Respondent did not offer C.E. a free and appropriate public

education, they never instituted proceedings available under the

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act and G.S. 115C,

Article 9 to challenge the educational program offered by the

Respondent during the time period that C.E. was eligible to

receive services under IDEA.

6. Atthe time of this hearing on the Respondent’s Mosion,

neither expert witness for the Petitioners had reviewed any of the

proposed services offered by the Respondent, and the Petitioners

did not present additional affidavits at this hearing from these, or

any other experts, opining that the program offered by the

Respondent was inappropriate for C.E. .

7. Atno time did the parents accept the placement offered

by the Respondent for C.E. electing to continue with their in-

home Lovaas program. The Petitioners never requested that the

20a

school system implement their program but only requested that

the Respondent “fund” the Petitioners’ program.

8. On October 23, 1996, P.E. wrote the Respondent “in an

effort to get [the Respondent] to seriously consider the requests

to fund CE’s ‘Lovaas’ program”. iti * Fi i

Statement, Factual Allegations, | 36. The letter also suggested

that the Respondent contact its attorney for advice. Id.

9.- On June 12, 1997, the Respondent reevaluated C.E. at

the Petitioners request and determined that C.E. was no longer

eligible for special education services under IDEA. The

Petitioners consented to this decision.

10. On July 29, 1997, Petitioners wrote to the Respondent

to “make one final attempt” to convince the Respondent to

“reimburse” them for C.E.’s private, in-home Lovaas program

provided to C.E. The letter concludes, “If you have not provided

a written response to me within ten days from the date of this

letter, we will immediately proceed to a due process hearing.”

Letter dated July 29, 1997 attached to Petition.

11. On August 7, 1997, Counsel for the Respondent wrote

to the Petitioners on Respondent's behalf and rejected their

request for the Respondent to fully reimburse them for the in-

home Lovaas Program. The letter informed the Petitioners that

the school system believed that the program offered to C_E.

during his period of eligibility provided a free and appropriate

public education and Counsel also informed the Petitioners of

new notice requirements for filing due process under IDEA and

provided them with a copy of the revised law. Tue

2la

12. On August 8, 1997, Counsel for the Respondent again

wrote to the Petitioners on Respondent's behalf and again rejected

the Petitioners’ “final attempt” to receive “reimbursement” and

made a counteroffer. The Petitioners never responded to this

counteroffer.

13. According to the Affidavit of Petitioner M.E., on a

number of occasions the Respondent provided either M.E. or her

attorneys with copies of the Handbook on Parents’ Rights with

“July 1993" stamped on the front cover. The education record of

C.E. indicates that either M.E. or P.E. acknowledged receipt of

the Handbook on March 25, 1996 and June 12, 1997.

14. The Petitioner P.E. is also an attorney of record in this

matter.

15. According to the Amended Affidavit of Jane Stephens,

the Handbooks available to parents in 1996 and 1997 were the

1993 revised version and the 1994 version both of which inform

parents of the sixty (60) day statute of limitations incorporated by

G.S. §115C-116. The 1993 revised Handbook contains an

Addendum inside the front cover or title page. That Addendum

states as follows:

Addendum to July, 1993 Edition of Handbook on Parents’

Rights.

The introduction and Part A of the section ‘entitled “Impartial Due

Process Hearing and State Review” (page 12) have been rewritten

as follows:

22a

Impartial Due Process Hearing and State Review. A parent or

public agency may file a petition for an impartial due process

hearing (sometimescalled administrative review or contested case

hearing) to challenge the identification, evaluation, evaluation, or

placement of a child or the provision of a free appropriate public

education for the child. This kind of hearing places the

responsibility for resolving the conflict on an administrative law

judge in the Office of Administrative Hearings, an agency that

has no relationship with the education agency or with the State

Department of Public Instruction.

A. In order to exercise the right to a due process hearing, the

parent must file a petition within 60 days of written notice of the

contested action with the Office of Administrative Hearings (424

N. Blount Street, P.O. Drawer 27447, Raleigh, N.C. 27611-7447.

For additional information concerning the filing of a petition,

parents should contact the Office of Administrative Hearings,

telephone 919/733-2698.

16. According to the initial Affidavit of Stephen J.

Grabenstein, Attorney for the Petitioners, he was given a copy of

the 1993 Handbook at an IEP meeting that he attended on behalf

of the Petitioners. The copy of the Handbook attached to the

Affidavit did not include the Addendum.

17. According to a subsequent, revised affidavit of Stephen

J. Grabenstein, he acknowledged that he received a copy of the

1993 Handbook with the Addendum from. the Respondent at an

IEP meeting.

23a

18. The Petition in this matter was filed on April 22, 1998,

two hundred and fifty-seven (257) days following the

Respondent’s final rejection of the Petitioners’ request for full

reimbursement on August 8, 1997.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. Although he is not held to a higher standard than the

Petitioner M.E., the knowledge of facts held by P.E. as attorney

is considered knowledge held by P.E. as Petitioner.

2. The Undersigned has jurisdiction over this matter

pursuant to Chapter 115C and 150B of the North Carolina

General Statutes and 20 U.S.C. § 1400 et. seq., the Individuals

with Disabilities Act (IDEA).

3. Pursuant to G.S. §115C-116(c) the Undersigned does

not have jurisdiction over Petitioner’s claims made pursuant to

the United States and North Carolina Constitutions, Section 504

of the Rehabilitation Act, the Americans with Disabilities Act,

and Section 1983.

4. Pursuant to 20 U.S.C. §1415 (1997) and 34 C.F.R.

§300.504 & §300.505, written notice under IDEA is required only

when an agency “proposes to initiate or change; or refuses to

initiate or change; the identification, evaluation, or educational

placement of the child, . . . or the provision of a free appropriate

public education to the child” under the provisions of IDEA.

5. Upon the facts of this case, the Respondent was not

required to provide the Petitioners with “prior written notice”

24a

under IDEA in order for the applicable statute of limitations to

begin running against Petitioners.

6. The applicable state law, N.C.G:S. §115C-116(d),

clearly states that any administrative review shall be initiated and

conducted in accordance with Article 3 of Chapter 150B, the

Administrative Procedures Act. Applied to this case, §150B-23

of the Act requires that, unless the federal or state law provides

otherwise, the limitation for the filing of a petition is within sixty

(60) days of notice of the contested action.

7. IDEA does not specify atime limit and G.S. §115C-116

specifically adopts the 60 day limitation. When §115C-116(d)

and §150B-23 are read together, it is clear that the North Carolina

statutory scheme strikes a necessary balance between the need for

speedy resolution of special education disputes and the need to

allow the parties a fair opportunity to obtain due process under

state and federal law.

8. The Respondent provided the Petitioners with the —

requisite notice pursuant to §150B-23.

9. The April 22, 1998 Petition filed in this matter is not a

timely challenge as to any action taken by the Respondent prior

to the sixty (60) days of that date. Giving these Petitioners every

reasonable inference from the evidence presented upon

Respondent’s Motion for Summary Judgment, the sixty (60) day

Statute ran over two hundred days prior to the filing of this

Petition.

25a ~

IT IS THEREFORE, ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED thatthe Respondent’ sMotion for Summary Judgment

is hereby GRANTED and the Petition in this matter is hereby

dismissed in it’s entirety.

NOTICE

In order to appeal this Final Decision, the person seeking

review must file a written notice of appeal with the North

Carolina Superintendent of Public Instruction. The written notice

of appeal must be filed within thirty (30) days after the person is

served with a copy of this Decision. G.S. §115C-116(h) and (I).

THIS the 30th day of September, 1998.

Beecher R. Gray

Administrative Law Judge Presiding

26a

[This page intentionally left blank. ]

27a

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

BEFORE A STATE HEARING REVIEW OFFICER

FOR THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

PURSUANT TO GSS. 115C-116

M.E. AND P.E. ON BEHALF

OF THEIR SON C.E.,

Petitioner

DECISION

98 EDC 0566

)

)

)

)

)

)

THE BOARD OF EDUCATION )

for Buncombe County a/k/a )

Buncombe County Public )

Schools, et al, )

Respondent )

This is an appeal of the following Final Decision, File No.

98 EDC 0566:

The order issued by Administrative Law Judge, Beecher R.

Gray granting Summary Judgement in favor of the Respondent,

Buncombe County Public Schools, 30 September 1998.

Case Records were received by the Review Officer on

November 17, 1998. They included the Official Record, Judge

Gray’s Final Decision, transcripts of oral arguments,

depositions, and numerous documents related to the substance

of the contested case. On November 25, 1998, written

28a

arguments were received from the Petitioner and the

Respondent.

Having reviewed the records of the case, the Hearing

Review Officer for the North Carolina State Board of

Education finds the following;

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. A Petition for a Contested Case Hearing was filed on April

22, 1998 by M. E. on behalf of her son C. E. vs. the

Buncombe County Board of Education.

2. On August 27, 1998, the Respondent filed a Motion for

Summary Judgement with supporting affidavits.

3. On September 2, 1998, the Respondent filed its Brief in

Support of Motion for Summary Judgement.

4. On or about September 9-11, 1998, the Petitioners filed

a Brief with supporting affidavits in Opposition to

Respondent’s Motion.

5. A Hearing was held before Administrative Law Judge, the

Honorable Beecher Gray in the Hendersonville County

Courthouse, Hendersonville,N.C. on Monday, September

14, 1998.

6. The Hearing was held pursuant to Chapter 115C and 115B

of the North Carolina General Statutes, and the Individuals

10.

11.

12.

13.

29a

with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. § 1400

et. sea.

The Petitioner for a Contested Case Hearing complained

that the, “Respondent failed to provide FAPE.”

The Respondent’s Brief in Support for Summary

Judgement, argued, in part, “the Petition is untimely.”

C. E. (hereafter referred to as the child) was born January

10, 1992 in Maryland.

M. E. observed that at the age of 18 months the child,

“wasn’t speaking, he didn’t make eye contact... he didn’t

play with toys.”

The child was evaluated at the Kennedy Kreiger Institute

on September 22, 1994 and September 24, 1994. He was

diagnosed with Persuasive Developmental Disorder and

evaluated as “high functioning”. The child at that time was

two and a half years in age.

Approximately five months later on February 27, 1995, the

child was evaluated at the University of North Carolina,

Chapel Hill. The University’s Division TEACH concluded

that the child suffered from Autism.

In August of 1995, the child and his family moved to

North Carolina.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

30a

Before moving to North Carolina, M.E. had investigated

. the Lovaas program for the treatment of Autism, and had

initiated the child’s Lovaas therapy in early 1995.

On March 1, 1996, Paul L. Erickson, the child’s father

wrote to Dr. Jane Stephens, Director of Special Education,

Buncombe County Public Schools. He stated, “We have

been doing an in-home behavioral modification program

with C. E.”, and, “I am writing this letter to ask that you

assist me in obtaining reimbursement for this in-home

program.”

On March 1, 1996, the child was four years old. North

Carolina law requires that children with disabilities ages 3-

20 be provided a free appropriate public education

(FAPE). (Handbook on Parents’ Rights Public Schools of

North Carolina, 1997, p. 2)

The Respondent's agent, Dr. Stephens, initiated evaluation

procedures to determine if the child met the criteria for

special education services. M. E. consented to the

evaluation and was provided with a copy of the Handbook

on Parents’ Rights.

At a meeting on May 31, 1996 attended by school

personnel and the child’s parents, it was determined that

the child was eligibie for special education services as a

child with Autism. An Individualized Education Plan

(IEP) was developed. The parents did not accept the plan.

19.

20.

21.

22.

23.

24.

25.

3la

On June 12, 1996, the Respondent offered to provide

Extended School Year (ESY) sponsored by the Autism

Society of North Carolina. The parents rejected the

proposal.

On September 16, 1996, an IEP was signed by parents

with the caveat added, “all rights reserved re. Lovaas.”

On October 23, 1996, Mr. Erickson wrote the Respondent

and requested reimbursement for the in-home Lovaas

program and for the child’s attendance at a private

preschool.

Subsequent IEP meetings on January 6, 1997 and January

28, 1997 were conducted. The parents did not respond to

the Respondent’s suggestion that the IEP be implemented.

At the parents’ request, the child was reevaluated. On June

12, 1997, the Respondent’s IEP team determined the child

no longer qualified for special education services. He was

exited from the program.

On July 29, 1997, Paul L. Erickson, Esquire, wrote the

Respondent’s attorney, Ms. Cynthia Lopez, “to make one

fina! attempt to convince you and your client to reimburse

M.E.”, for the child's in-home educational program.

In the July 29, 1997 letter, Mr. Erickson stated, “We are

asking that your client agree to reimburse (M.E.) in the

amount of $37,804.12 within ten days of the date you

26.

27.

28.

29.

32a

receive this letter...”. He concluded, “If you have not

provided a written response to me within ten days from the

date of this letter, we will immediately proceed to a due

process hearing.”

On August 7, 1997, the Respondent rejected Mr.

Erickson’s request for reimbursement for the in-home

Lovaas program. The Respondent informed Mr. Erickson

that the school system believed the program offered the

child during his eligibility period satisfied all requirements

of FAPE. The letter also contained a copy of the

reauthorized IDEA, and the new notice provisions for

filing a due process petition.

The following day, August 8, 1997, the Respondent’s

counsel wrote the Petitioners and rejected their request for

reimbursement, but made a counter offer. The Petitioners

did not respond.

Depositions of Petitioner's expert witnesses, Dr. Andrew

L. Egel and Dr. Stephen L. Luce were taken on August 17-

18, 1998. Neither expert had received any materials related

to the program offered by the Respondent's school system

in this case. Neither were prepared to testify as to the

appropriateness of the Respondent's program for the child.

In the amended September 8, 1998 affidavit of Dr. Jane

Stephens, she stated at least two copies of the Handbook

on Parents” Rights had been provided to the Petitioners in

this matter. The Handbooks were the 1993 version and the

33a

1994 version. Both editions contained the same

information concerning the sixty (60) day statute of

limitations for filing a petition. (G.S. § 115C-116)

Impartial Due Process Hearing and State Review

A parent or public agency may file a petition for an

impartial due process hea.ing (sometimes called administrative

review or contested case hearing) to challenge the

identification, evaluation, or placement of a child or the

provision of a free appropriate public education for the child.

This kind of hearing places the responsibility for resolving the

conflict on an administrative law judge in the Office of

Administrative Hearings, an agency that has no relationship

with the education agency or with the State Department of

Public Instruction.

A. Inorder to exercise the right to a due process hearing,

the parent must file a petition within 60 days of written

notice of the contested action with the Office of

Administrative Hearings (424 N. Blount Street, P. 0.

Drawer 27447, Raleigh, NC 27611-7447. For additional

information concerning the filing of a petition, parents

should contact the Office of Administrative Hearings,

telephone 919/733-2698.

(Handbook on Parents’ Rights, North Carolina Department of

Public Instruction. 1993 Addendum; 1994, p. 12.)

30. In the September 8, 1998 affidavit of Petitioner M. E., she

affirmed that copies of the Handbook were provided to

31.

32.

33.

34.

35.

34a

“me or my attorneys” on a number of occasions by

representations of the Buncombe County Board of

Education. The child’s education record includes

acknowledged receipt of the Handbook ( 1994, p. 12; 1997,

P. 26-27) by either P. E. or M. E. on March 25, 1996 and

June 12, 1997. |

P. E. is also an attorney of record in this matter.

On September 8, 1998, Attorney Stephen J. Gabenstein

revised his previous affidavit, and conceded he had

received a 1993 copy of the Handbook which included

information in the addendum about the sixty day statute of

limitations.

Petition for a Contested Case Hearing was filed by M. E.

on behalf of her son C. E., vs. the Buncombe County

Board of Education, two hundred fifty seven (257) days

after Respondent's August 8, 1997 rejection of the

Petitioner's request for reimbursement.

At the September 14, 1998 Hearing, the Court ruled that

Paul. L. Erickson be named a party in interest on the

Petition. Mr. Erickson’s law firm served as the Petitioner's

counsel.

Mr. Erickson objected to being named a party. He argued,

“If | am named & party, Your Honor, there is a case that

says that I may not recover attorney's fees for my time...”

35a

36. Counsel for Petitioners and the Respondent submitted

Written Arguments on November 25, 1998.

37. Upon review to the Review Officer for the North Carolina

State Board of Education, the issues to be decided were:

1. Whether the Petitioners’ action is time barred by the

applicable statute of limitations;

2. Ifnot, whether the Petitioners fail to state a claim for

which relief can be granted under the Individuals with

Disabilities Education Act (“DEA”) in that Petitioners

sought public funding for a particular educational

methodology; and

3. Whether this Court has jurisdiction to hear claims

brought pursuant to the United States and North

Carolina Constitutions, Section 504 of the

Rehabilitation Act, the Americans with Disabilities

Act, and Section 1983.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Administrative Law Judge has jurisdiction with regard

to this case pursuant to Chapters 115C and 150B of the

North Carolina General Statutes and 20 U.S.C. § 1400 et.

seq, the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act

(IDEA).

36a

The Court does not have jurisdiction over Petitioners’

claims made pursuant to the Americans with Disabilities

Act (ADA), the Constitution of the United States and the

State of North Carolina, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation

Act, Section 1983. (G.S. 115C-116(c), and Section 1983)

By letter dated November 9, 1998 and received November

19, 1998, the Director of the North Carolina Exceptional

Children Division appointed the undersigned Review

Officer to review the case.

the Review Officer has jurisdiction with regard to this

case pursuant to Chapters 115C and i50B of the North

Carolina Statutes and 20 U.S.C. § 1400 et. seg, (IDEA).

The procedures at the hearing were consistent with the

requirements of due process. (N.C.G.S. 115C-116:

ieaaid

with Special Needs, 1996; 20 U.S.C. § 1415: 34 CFR

300.500 et. seq,)

The Respondent rejected the Petitioners’ “final attempt” to

receive “reimbursement” for the in-home Lovaas Program

on August 8, 1997. The A.L.J. did not err in his decision

that on August 8, 1997, the time limitation on the statute

of limitations in this case began to run. 3

On April 22, 1998, the date on which the Petition for a

Contested Hearing was filed, the child was not a child

with a disability, and therefore did not meet the criteria for

10.

37a

special educational needs. The child was a child without

disabilities on August 8, 1997.

The Petition complained that the “Respondent failed to

provide FAPE.” In this case, prior written notice by the

Respondent, which could signal the time limitations on the

statute of limitations to co nce, is not required under

IDEA. Written notice by the Respondent to the Petitioner

is required only when the agency, “Proposes to initiate or

change the identification, evaluation, or educational

placement of the child on the provisions of FAPE, or

refuses to initiate or change the identification, evaluation,

or educational placement of the child on the provisions of

FAPE (34 C.F.R. 300.504-505; 20 U.S.C. § 1415; GS.

115C-115; Handbook on Parents” Rights; Procedures

Governing Programs and Services for Children with

Special

Since the child was a child without disabilities on August

8, 1997, and April 22, 1998, the Respondent was not

required to provide the Petitioners with “prior written

notice.”

IDEA is silent on time limits imposed upon Petitioners

when requesting a review of a contested case. Hence, State

law prevails, N.C. G. S. 115C-116(d) states, “the

administrative review shall be initiated and conducted in

accordance with Article 3 of Chapter 150B of the General

Statutes, the Administrative Procedures Act.” 150B-23(f)

clearly states, “Unless another statute or a federal statute

38a

on regulation sets a time limitation for the filing of a

petition in contested cases against a specified agency, the

general limitation for the filing of a petition in a contested

case is 60 days.”

11. The 60 day time limitation is stated in all copies of the

Handbook on Parents’ Rights provided to M.E. andP.E.,

and counsel, on numerous occasions by the respondent.

12. The time period between August 8, 1997, the date on

which the statutes of limitations began to run, and April

22, 1998, when the Petitioners filed the Contested Case,

without question exceeds the 60 day time limitation.

DISCUSSION

The issue in this Contested Case is, “Whether the

Petitioners’ action is time barred by the applicable statute of

limitations.”

The case is not about FAPE. It is not methodology,

reimbursement, an I.E.P., Lovaas or TEACH, depositions or

expert witnesses, or all other case law, exhibits, and arguments

not related to “timeliness”.

The undersigned Review Officer must decide:

What applicable North Carolina statutes govern the

matters in this case?

39a

N.C.G.S. 115C-116(d) directs the Court, Counsel, and

Review Officer to the Administrative Procedures Act, 150B-23

for clarification. The APA establishes a 60 day limitation for

the filing of a petition from the date of notice.

Was Notice provided by the Respondent which would

trigger the statute of limitations?

Since the child on August 8, 1997, and March 30, 1998

was not a child with special educational needs, prior written

notice under IDEA (1997) Section 615(b)(3) was not required.

The August 8, 1997 letter from the Respondent which rejected

Petitionersclaims for reimbursement, satisfied the requirements

of § 150B-23.

Were the Respondents and Counsel informed of their due

process rights?

The Review Officer rules in the affirmati[ve]. The

Handbook on Parents’ Rights, which describes and explains the

parents due process rights, was provided to M.E. and P.E., and

their counsel on several verifiable occasions.

Was the March 30, 1998, Petition timely?

The Petition exceeded the 60 day APA limitation by 197

days.

Pe ee

40a

Therefore, based on the F indings of Fact and Conclusions

of Law, the Review Officer makes the following:

DECISION.

The Administrative Law Judge did not err in deciding that

the Respondents’ Motion for Summary Judgement be granted.

NOTICE

Any party aggrieved by this Decision may institute a civil

action in State court as provided by North Carolina Statutes

115G. 116 within 30 days after receipt of this decision.

This the 3" day of December, 1998.

J. Sherwood Dunham

State Review Officer

4la

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

BEFORE A STATE HEARING REVIEW OFFICER

FOR THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

PURSUANT TON.C.G:S. 115C -16

[PARENTS OF CM] )

Petitioners, )

)

v. ) DECISION

)

HENDERSON COUNTY PUBLIC )

SCHOOLS

Respondent. )

This is an appeal of the following Decision and Orders:

1. The December 11, 1997 Final Decision of the contested

case heard by Administrative Law Judge, Meg Scott Phillips.

2. The Order issued March 24, 1997 by Chief Administrative

Law Judge, Julian Mann, III. granting Partial Summary

Judgment for the Respondent.

3. The Order issued March 24, 1997 by Chief Administrative

Law Judge, Julian Mann, III. denying Petitioners’ Motion for

Sanctions for Affidavit Presented in Bad Faith and Petitioners’

Motion for Reconsideration, Rehearing and Relief from

Judgment.

42a

Two cases, 96 EDC 0766 and 96 EDC 1708, involving

common questions of law and fact were consolidated by Order

of Chief Administrative Law Judge, Julian Mann, III on

November 14, 1996. The case 96 EDC 0766 was incorporated

in its entirety in case 96 EDC 1708. |

The records of the case that were received included: nineteen

(19) volumes of transcripts of the hearing; one (1) volume of

the transcript of the hearing on motions; the Official Record of

the case issued by the Office of Administrative Hearings, sets

of exhibits from each of the parties; and additional written

arguments submitted by both parties to the Review Officer. The

Official Record contained the Final Decision of Judge Phipps,

Orders of Chief Administrative Law Judge, Julian Mann, III,

written arguments, and documents related to the procedures

followed in the contested case.

Having reviewed the records of the case, the Hearing Review

Officer for the State Board of Education finds makes the

following:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. A hearing on motions was held on F ebruary 27, 1997 by

Chief Administrative Law Judge, Julian Mann, III. The

nineteen day hearing in the contested case of [Parents of CM]

v. Henderson Counter Public Schools was held on March 17,

18, 19, 20, 21, 24, 25, 26, 27 and April 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 14,

15, 16 by Administrative Law Judge Meg Scott Phipps. All

43a

hearings were held in Hendersonville, North Carolina. The

hearings were held pursuant to Chapter 115C and 150B of the

North Carolina General Statutes and the Individuals with

Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), 20 U.S.C. §1400 et. sea.

2. The appeal of this contested case involved the provision of

a free appropriate public education to C.M., who at the time of

the hearing was 7 years old, having been born on January 10,

1990. (hereinafter C.M. will often be referred to as the child)

3. The Petitioners are the parents of the child, C.M., and are

citizens and residents of Henderson County, North Carolina.

(hereinafter the Petitioners will often be referred to as the

parents)

4. The Respondent, Henderson County Public Schools, is a

local education agency (LEA) receiving monies pursuant to the

Individuals with Disabilities Act, 20 U.S.C. Section 1400 et

seg. (IDEA), and is the agency responsible for providing

special education to the child pursuant to North Carolina's

Special Education Act, N.C.G.S. 115C, Article 9. (hereinafter

the Respondent will often be referred to as the LEA or the

school system)

5. The issues in the Petitioners’ original petition for the

contested case were: '

a) Whether the Respondent failed to reimburse the

Petitioners for the cost of an independent evaluation.

44a

b) Whether the Respondent should be required to

maintain the child in the Petitioners’ private setting since

the Respondent failed to offer a placement that would

provide the child with a free appropriate public education.

¢) -Whether the Respondent should provide the child

with compensatory education, due to the Respondent's

failure to develop and appropriate IEP, and its ongoing

failure to place her in an appropriate educational setting.

d) Whetherthe Respondent shouldreimburse Petitioners

for the costs incurred in the Petitioners’ private program.

6. Following Partial Summary Judgment granted to the

Respondent and Orders issued by Chief Administrative Law

Judge, Julian Mann, II] on March 24, 1997, the issue for the

Hearing before Administrative Law Judge Meg Scott Phipps

was whether the program offered by the Respondent for the

school year 1996-97 was appropriate for the child.

7. Upon appeal to the Review Officer for the State Board of

Education, the issues to be decided were:

a) Whether the Chief Administrative Law Judge

properly granted Partial Summary Judgment for the

Respondent and thus foreclosed claims against the

Respondent prior to the 1996-97 IEP.

b) Whether the Chief Administrative Law Judge

properly denied Petitioners’ Motions for Sanctions for

45a

Affidavit Presented in Bad Faith and Petitioners’ Motion

for Reconsideration, Rehearing and Relief from Judgment.

c) Whether Administrative Law Judge Meg Scott Phipps

erred in her Decision that the Respondent's proposed IEP

for 1996-97 was appropriate.

8. On numerous occasions the Petitioners were provided a

copy of the Handboak of Parent's Rights. As of May, 1995 and

throughout the remainder of the proceedings of this case, the

Petitioners were represented by counsel.

9. The child, C.M., was diagnosed with autism at

approximately age two. During the 1992-93 school year, she

attended a Montessori preschool in New Hampshire three days

a week for three hours a day. She was accompanied to the class

by an assistant who was not trained in autism.

10. Mr. William White, a psychologist with experience in

autism, consulted monthly with the staff at the Montessori

school to discuss C.M.'s autism and assist in her educational

programming.

11. The Petitioners moved to Hendersonville, North Carolina

in June 1993 in order to take advantage of services from the

Treatment and Education of Autistic and Related

Communication Handicapped Children (TEACCH) program.

They learned of the TEACCH program by attending

conferences on autism and researching available programs.

They moved based on their understanding that TEACCH is a

46a

nationally known program for autistic students and their

families.

12. The TEACCH program, begun with support of the North

Carolina legislature in 1972, is a comprehensive system that

provides treatment, education and support for autistic children,

adults and their families. TEACCH provides evaluations and

consultation to school systems throughout North Carolina, the

U.S. and the world.

13. The TEACCH philosophy focuses on using meaningful

routines and visual clarity to teach autistic individuals to

function independently. Through the use of structure and

clarity, the autistic person is taught to understand concepts,

work skills and expectations. The skills that are learned at the

preschool level are built upon as the individual with autism

grows older, leading to greater independence and adaptability

in the classroom, home setting, group home, vocational or

supported employment. settings. The TEACCH approach

focuses on the student's strengths and on what children with

autism personally find motivating or interesting and utilizes

these in a creative manner to teach new skills.

14. In July 1993, C.M. was evaluated by Sloan Burgess at the

TEACCH center in Asheville, North Carolina. Sloan Burgess

had extensive experience working with individuals with autism.

She conducts diagnostic evaluations, provides consultation to

school systems, provides parent and professional training and

organizes and conducts support groups for families. Ms.

Burgess testified that during the testing C.M. showed areas of

47a

substantial deficit in social relatedness. She displayed no

functional language except for the word "no" but she babbled

throughout the evaluation.

15. In August 1993, the Petitioners along with Sloan Burgess,

met with school personnel to develop an IEP for C.M. The

Petitioners, Ms. Burgess and school personnel agreed that

C.M. should be served in the TEACCH preschool classroom

which was just being developed at the Helping Hand Center, a

private contracted program housed in one of the Respondent's

schools. C.M.'s IEP called for her to be in a full day program

specially designed for students with autism. This was the first

time C.M. had been placed in a class specially designed for

autistic students. A typical class day involved group time and

individualized instruction for each student. C.M.'s IEP also

called for two half-hour sessions of speech therapy weekly.

16. William White, the parents’ previous consultant in New

Hampshire, also advocated placement of C.M. in the Helping

Hand TEACCH class. In a consultation report provided to

school personnel in August 1993, he gave numerous

suggestions. These were incorporated into C.M.'s IEP.

17. The Helping Hand classroom had a program of reverse

mainstreaming wherein regular students would spend periods

of time in the special class in order to. provide opportunities for

interaction with appropriately developing children. Two

students in the special class were also mainstreamed for short

periods of time each day. Ms. Arledge, the classroom teacher,

and Ms. Burgess testified that in their opinion mainstreaming

48a

was not appropriate for C.M. at the beginning of the school

year, but it would have been an option later in the year if she

gained enough skills to make it appropriate.

18. Although C.M.'s IEP called for a full-day program, the

Petitioners only brought her for half day during most of the

time she was enrolled.

19. Although the Petitioners dispute the fact, the record is clear

C.M. was making some progress in the schools program in the

Fall of 1993. Some language was beginning to emerge and

C.M. was learning some skills. There also were-no behavioral

problems. It is also clear that the parents were riot satisfied and

were continuing their search for a program that they thought

would be better for their child. The parents, however, did not

voice their concern to school officials that they thought the

program being provided for C.M. was not appropriate.

20. On November 23, 1993, the Petitioners removed C.M.

from the Helping Hand classroom. In a letter of that date to the

supervisor for Exceptional Children's program for the

Respondent's schools, the father indicated there were two

reasons for removing C.M. These were the published results of

Studies that the behavioral (Lovaas) approach is highly

successful, and the Petitioners’ belief that the Montessori

classroom was the best placement for C.M. He did not express

any discontent with the TEACCH program or infer that the

program being provided by the Respondent was not

appropriate.

49a

21. Prior to the unilateral removal by the Petitioners, C.M.

spent approximately three months in the Respondent's

classroom, half-days for much of that time rather than full-days

as specified in the IEP. Several creditable experts testified at

the hearing that this was not a sufficient amount of time to

judge the success of C.M.'s program in light of her age and her

lack of prior enrollment in a structured classroom for students

with autism.

22. The Petitioners had learned of the Lovaas program in

October 1993 by reading a book by Catherine Maurice in which

Ms. Maurice recounts the "recovery" of her two children from

autism. After reading the book, in mid-October 1993, the

Petitioners arranged for a Lovaas training workshop. The

workshop was scheduled for December 1993. Shortly thereafter

the Petitioners began the Lovaas program in their home, along

with part-time enrollment in a private school. This program

continues through the time of the contested case hearing.

23. The Lovaas program is described in program literature as

a "treatment" approach that specializes in helping preschool

children who are autistic and/or mildly to moderately retarded.

The program uses behavioral techniques derived from the

research of Dr. Ivar Lovaas of the UCLA Psychology

Department conducted in the 1970's. The Lovaas research,

published in 1987, claimed that 47% of the i9 subjects in his

study achieved normal educational and intellectual functioning

by 7 years of age. The program emphasizes discrete-trial

teaching, involving the use of repeated verbal prompts to elicit

specific verbal or behavioral responses. Positive reinforcers

50a

such as candy, tickles and verbal praise are used to reward

correct responses. Contingent aversive NO's spoken in a loud

voice are used as negative reinforcers. Other negative

consequences are delivered for unacceptable behavior.

24. Dr. Lovaas has established a for-profit center to provide

Lovaas workshops, designed to help families set up treatment

programs of their own. Through the workships, parents and

staff members (recruited by the parents) are trained in the

Lovaas method. Staff members are referred to as "therapists."

They do not require any special credentials or previous

experience to be fied qualified to be therapists. The Lovaas

Clinic recommends dependable college students as good

candidates. In addition to training the staff, the Lovaas program

provides a UCLA consultant who visits the home site quarterly

to monitor and advise regarding the program. The consultants

may be graduate students or recent college graduates who have

worked in the Clinic.

25. Although C.M. was no longer receiving special education

services from the Respondent's schools following her unilateral

removal from the school program, the Respondent agreed to

continue to provide speech language services. In January 1994,

an IEP meeting was held to develop a new speech IEP for C.M.

and her speech service time was increased to two hours a week.

The Petitioners have been satisfied with the speech services

provided by the Respondent, which have continued through the

time of the contested case hearing.

Sla

26. On December 21, 1993, the Petitioners began

implementing the Lovaas program with C.M. for 20 hours a

week. Initially, they were contracting with a consultant out of

Chicago for the Lovaas program, for they could not get services

directly from Dr. Lovaas’ program at UCLA. They were on a

waiting list with the UCLA program, and in August 1994 were

able to drop the services of the Chicago consultant and contract

for services with the UCLA program.

27. The Petitioners testified that they knew the Lovaas

program was working for C.M. because she went from being

nonverbal to using words within the first months of the

program. The mother testified that C.M. was unable "to imitate

a single thing" or to repeat any words "on command" prior to

starting Lovaas. The records, however, of the speech therapist,

Karen Perella, show that C.M. was able to both imitate motions

and to say certain words in October and November 1993. Ms.

Perella testified that C.M.'s language was emerging at that time

prior to her beginning the Lovaas program.

28. In August 1994, as the Petitioners began working with the

UCLA Lovaas program, C. M.'s therapy was increased to 40

hours a week and her amount of time in school decreased. The

father met with Candy Priest, the special education supervisor

for the Respondent, and requested a copy of C.M.'s student

records. At that time, Ms. Priest informed the father that the

school system could provide special education services to C.M.

at her private school. The father declined the offer, indicating

that he and his wife did not want the private school to know

that C.M. had autism.

52a

29. In December 1994, the father contacted Candy Priest to

request that the school system begin paying for the Lovaas

program. Ms. Priest indicated that it would be necessary for the

parents and school personnel to meet to discuss C.M.'s

educational needs and to determine an appropriate educational

placement for her. In January and February 1995 the parents

and school personnel held a series of meetings to develop an

IEP for C.M.

30. While in the process of developing the IEP, Judy Cook, the

Director of Exceptional Children's Programs, and Sharon

Burlingame, a special education teacher, visited the Petitioners’

home to observe the use of Lovaas therapy with C.M. Judy

Cook testified that C.M. appeared very tired during the therapy

and hit herself in the face several times out of apparent

frustration and weariness .

31. On February 15, 1995, a final IEP meeting was held. At

that time, the school based committee considered four possible

programs for C.M.: the Helping Hand Classroom, Sharon

Burlingame's classroom, the TEACCH classroom at Bruce

Drysdale school and the Lovaas program. The committee

recommended that C.M. be placed in a full-day program for

autistic students at Bruce Drysdale school with some

mainstreaming in a regular kindergarten classroom. The

Petitioners continued to request that the school system pay for

the Lovaas program. Judy Cook indicated in the meeting that

it was her belief that the Lovaas program was too restrictive for

C.M. and that the program offered by the school system was

more appropriate. The parents pointed to the Lovaas study and

53a

indicated that unless the school system could provide

comparable data showing 47% of the students becoming

indistinguishable from regular education students then they felt

the Lovaas program was the best option. From testimony of the

parents, it was clear that they thought their daughter could

"recover" from autism.

32. The next day, February 16, Judy Cook sent the Petitioners

a letter detailing the rationale behind the school-based

committee's decision. Mrs. Cook enclosed a Parent's Rights

Handbook and explained in the letter that the Petitioners could

pursue a due process hearing in light of their disagreement with

the school system's offer of services. No attempt was made by

the parents to pursue the due process hearing, even though they

disagreed with the Respondent's proposed program.

33. The Petitioners initially indicated in the spring of 1995 that

they would like to pursue mediation with the school system

over the placement decision. Although attempts were made to

schedule a mediation, it never occurred. In May 1995, the

Petitioners wrote to Judy Cook and stated that they had

obtained representation by the Governor's Advocacy Council

and that they were not available for mediation. The Petitioners

never pursued mediation after that point.

34. Atthe end of June 1995, the Petitioners requested that the

school system pay for an independent educational evaluation of

C.M.. Because the most recent evaluation of C.M. was at that

point over a year and a half old, Judy Cook requested that the

school system be allowed to test C.M. first and that the

54a

Petitioners could obtain an independent evaluation if they

disagreed with the results of the school System's evaluation.

35. Anevaluation of C.M. was conducted by school personnel

in August and September 1995. In October 1995 the

Petitioners and school personnel met to review the results of

the evaluation. The mother requested that one portion of the

testing be readministered. It was redone but the results did not

markedly change.

36. Because the IEP offered by the schools in February 1995

and rejected by the parents was to expire in January 1996,

school personnel invited the parents to meet in November 1995

to begin developing an new IEP. A school-based committee

meeting was held in November and at that time school

personnel presented to the Petitioners a draft IEP to begin the

discussions. The Petitioners stated that C.M. had already

mastered many of the proposed goals and objectives. Some

time after the meeting, the Petitioners provided school

personnel with a copy of the draft IEP that had been reviewed

by Michael Guiou, their UCLA Lovaas consultant, and on

which Mr. Guiou indicated many areas that C.M. had

"mastered."

37. The concept that skills had been "mastered" was discussed

at length during hearing. It is apparent that the Lovaas program

uses the term "mastered" in a very unique fashion. If a child is

successful in demonstrating the skill in the Lovaas therapy

using discrete trial teaching (one-on-one), the skill is

considered mastered. Extensive records were maintained by the

55a

Petitioners regarding this "mastery." The record, however,

clearly shows that C.M. could not perform many of those

"mastered" skills in other environments, such as the school

setting. Also, a significant discrepancy was noted between the

performance of the child on standardized instruments used in

evaluations and the parents records showing mastery. Many or

the skills reported as "mastered" in the parents therapy records

were not actually "mastered."

38. December 1995 the Petitioners renewed their request for

an independent educational evaluation stating that the

evaluation conducted by school personnel was insufficient.

Judy Cook replied that the parents could pursue an independent

evaluation and they would be reimbursed up to $1200 (the

school system's maximum amount for independent

evaluations).

39. On January 3, 1996 the Petitioners and school personnel

jointly agreed to postpone the development of C.M.'s full IEP

for the 1996-97 year until the independent evaluation was

completed. C.M.'s speech therapy IEP was reviewed and

services continued to be provided by Respondent.

40. Judy Cook provided the Petitioners with a list of licensed

professionals in the area who could perform an independent

evaluation. The Petitioners rejected all those listed, and

informed Ms. Cook that they were obtaining an evaluation

from outside the state. Ms. Cook again notified the parents of

the $1,200 reimbursement limit for independent evaluations.

From testimony of the Petitioners, it was apparent that they did

56a

not want an unbiased evaluator to evaluate C.M. They clearly

wanted an evaluator who had been involved with the Lovaas

program and would favor that methodology.

41. In January 1996, long before the independent evaluation

was complete, the Petitioners wrote to Michael Guiou, their

Lovaas consultant, stating that C.M. will be attending a small

private school next year with eight or nine children and that the

teacher of the class would be working with C.M. over the

summer.

42. In March 1996, Dr. Jan Handleman, an educator and

professor in New Jersey, conducted an assessment of C.M. Dr.

Handleman had prior experience with the Lovaas program.

His assessment consisted of areview of C.M.'s file, a videotape

provided by the Petitioners, and an observation of C.M.

working with her Lovaas therapist. Dr. Handleman conducted

no formal testing. The assessment, provided to school

personnel in early April 1996, provided no information on —

C.M.'s present level of educational performance, a necessary

element for the development of an IEP. The primary

recommendation of Dr. Handleman's report was that C.M.

continue to be served by the Petitioner's Lovaas program.

43. The Petitioners were reimbursed for a total of $1,200 for

Dr. Handleman's assessment. The total cost, including related

travel expenses, was alleged to be $2,648.21. The Petitioners

provided no unique circumstances for such a high cost of the

assessment, especially since many qualified local professionals

could have performed the assessment for $1,200 or less. The

57a

Respondent introduced evidence that there were numerous

evaluators who could have performed the evaluation within this

cost limit. Because of the Respondent’s refusal to reimburse

the full amount, the Petitioners filed their first Petition for a

Contested Case Hearing on June 25, 1996. Initial proceedings

for the case, 96 EDC 0766, were begun by Judge Mann. No.

hearing was held in this initial case, for in the interim, the

Petitioners filed a subsequent Petition for the case, for in the

interim, the Petitioners filed a subseqquent Petition for the case,

96 EDC 1708, and asked for the cases to be consolidated.

Judge Mann consolidated the two cases, including the initial

case in its wntirety within 96 EDC 1708.

44. The parents and their Lovaas consultant, Mr. Guiou, had

both indicated that C.M. had mastered many of the draft goals

and objectives on the last proposed IEP, and this was

inconsistent with the most recent testing that was done in

Augustand September of 1995. School officials were expecting

to obtain relevant information from Dr. Handleman's report.

Such was not the case. Dr. Handleman's report was not

sufficient to assist in IEP development. As a result, the school

system sought the assistance of Dr. Victoria Shea, an expert in

autism, to informally assess C.M. in order to provide

information for IEP development.

45. The Petitioners agreed to Dr. Shea's involvement. Dr. Shea

reviewed all of the records available on C.M. and observed her

in both her home program and at her private school on May 20,

1996. Dr. Shea also observed in two public school classrooms

that could possibly be used as placements for C.M. Dr. Shea

58a

noted that C.M. was very compliant during the observation

period but that she became quite confused when whe was not

given prompts: C.M. did not initate any contact with her peers

during the observation period at school. It appeared that C.M.

had memorized some language but was unable to use that

language functionally in many cases.

46. Dr. Shea recommended that IEP goals be written in several

specific areas. In particular, C.M. needed work in developing

independence and functional language. Self-help skills and

academics should also be emphasized.

47. Although Mr. Guiou and the Petitioners indicated that

C.M. had mastered numerous skills, C.M. was not able to

perform those skills when Dr. Shea observed her. In light of the

conflicting information regarding C.M.'s performance levels,

Dr. Shea advised that C.M. should be given more assessments

to gauge her present level of functioning.

48. The evidence showed that the skills that Mr. Guiou and the

Petitioners claimed C.M. had "mastered" in February of 1996,

were not mastered in the school environment as documented by

C.M.'s teachers at the preschool in which she was then enrolled.

The teachers, responding to a questionnaire from the mother,

noted that many of the goals which had been proposed for

C.M.'s IEP in November 1995 were either not attained or were

emerging by May 1996. Mr. Guiou's report of C.M.'s mastery

was not reliable. The evidence also showed that the skills

claimed as "mastered" by Petitioners at the time of the hearing,

were not "mastered" in the school environment or across all

59a

settings but rather only mastered in the one-on one therapy

environment. These inconsistencies caused the school system

to question the evaluation information being provided by the

Petitioners and it became even more important for school

personnel to do additional observations or informal assessments

in order to develop an IEP.

49. On May 29, 1996, Laurie McDanel and Janna Forst visited

the Petitioners’ home in order to observe C.M. in her Lovaas

program. The purpose of the visit was to gather more

information on C.M.'s present level of performance for the IEP

development. Ms. McDanel testified that when she and Ms.

Forst entered C.M.'s therapy room, C.M. did not look up or

acknowledge their presence. She noted that the therapy

appeared to elicit information from C.M.'s rote memory, rather

than eliciting spontaneous communication. As a professional

educator, Ms. McDanel believed the therapy to be too intense

in light of the limited amount that C.M. was able to do during

the time period.

50. In order to follow up on the visit, Ms. McDanel met again

with the mother prior to the IEP meeting to discuss C.M.'s

present level of performance and her needs. This information

was used in developing the IEP.

51. An IEP meeting was scheduled for June 5, 1996.

Following Dr. Shea's recommendation, Judy Cook requested

that a teacher administer the Brigance test with C.M. prior to

the meeting so that the IEP committee would have very current

information on C.M.'s current level of academic functioning.

60a

The Petitioners would not agree to the administration of the

Brigance by school personnel and instead stated that they

would have it done privately and requested that the IEP

meeting be rescheduled.

52. In late July 1996, the Petitioners took C. M. to be

evaluated by Dr. Thomas Boyle, a private psychologist in New

Jersey who had worked with Dr. Lovaas. Dr. Boyle conducted

intelligence and achievement testing with C.M. Dr. Boyle

admitted in his report and in his testimony that he deviated

from standard administration of the tests in several areas in

order to try to elicit responses from C.M. He also

acknowledged that these deviations from the norms could have

resulted in inflating C. M.'s scores on the testing. At the

parents’ request, Dr. Boyle did not report C. M.'s IQ score in his

evaluation report. Her IQ placed her in the mildly mentally

handicapped range. Her achievement scores indicated that she

was functioning at the beginning kindergarten level in math and

reading. Dr. Boyle testified that C.M. needed lots of prompting

during the testing and that sometimes he had to reword

questions to elicit responses from her.

53. Dr. Boyle's report recommended continuation of the

Lovaas program with C.M. including 15-20 hours of one-on-

one discrete trial teaching. There was nothing in Dr. Boyle's

testing results which would lead to the conclusion that the only

appropriate program for C.M. would be the Lovaas therapy

using discrete trial teaching or 15-20 hours of one-on-one.

6la

54. The Petitioners also hired Dr. Jan Blacker, an education

professor from California, to visit the Respondent's classrooms

for autistic students and to observe C.M. in her home program.

Dr. Blacker testified that her area of expertise is not autism. In

her correspondence with the parents and prior to visiting the

school system or having any contact with C.M., Dr. Blacker

stated that she would do everything she could to assist them in

getting funding for their home program. Dr. Blacker visited the

classrooms in August 1996, however, none of the opinions or

information gathered in Dr. Blacher’s visit were shared with

school personnel during the IEP development process in

August and September 1996.

55. An IEP meeting was held on August 14, 1996. The

Petitioners attended with their attorneys. At that time the

committee began developing goals and objectives for the IEP

based on the evaluation reports, the observations, and the

parents’ input regarding C.M.'s progress in her home program.

The present level of performance in many areas of the IEP was

based solely on parent report because no other information

about C.M.'s skill levels was available.

56. At the time of the IEP meeting, the mother’s monthly

documentation in the home program noted that "C.M. has

forgotten a lot of information. Much of what she learned was

never generalized completely." The mother testified that she

realized C.M. had not generalized skills after receiving Dr.

Boyle's report.

62a

57. After the August 14 meeting the Petitioners requested that

another meeting be held in mid-September so that their Lovaas

consultant, Michael Guiou, could attend and participate in the

IEP development. A meeting was held on September 13, 1996,

which the parents attended along with Mr. Guiou.

58. Ample evidence was admitted in the hearing through both

testimony and exhibits that C.M.'s immediate needs, at the time

of the IEP meeting, was the development of her social and

communication skills. She also needed to become more

independent and not have to rely so much on constant

prompting by adults.

59. Despite the fact that C.M. was having significant behavior

problems at home and in school at that time, the Petitioners did

not share that information with school personnel. The mother

also indicated that she could not recall if she had shared

information on C.M.'s aggressive behaviors with Dr. Boyle and

Dr. Handleman. Dr. Boyle testified that he had no information

about C.M.'s behavioral status at the time of his evaluation. The

Petitioners later criticized school personnel for not having

created a behavioral management plan in the IEP, even though

school personnel had no way of knowing C.M.'s behavior was

a problem. Behavioral management plans are necessary

components in the IEP only if the child's behavior interferes

with the child's ability to participate in the educational

program.

60. On September 23, 1996, a final IEP meeting was held. The

Petitioners attended along with their attorneys. At that time,

63a

both the parents and school personnel agreed that the goals and

objectives on the IEP were appropriate. The committee then

discussed possible placements for C.M. There was extensive

discussion of her need for one-on-one instruction and her need

for development of social and communication skills. The

committee proposed that C.M. spend half of the school day in

a regular kindergarten class with a one-on-one assistant; one

hour a day working independently with monitoring in Laurie

McDanel's classroom for autistic students, and one and a half

hours a day receiving one-on-one instruction in academic areas

in a separate room with Laurie McDanel. Ms. McDanel's class

was structured according to the TEACCH model and

consultative services were available from TEACCH. The IEP

also called for three hours a week of speech services (two hours

of direct services and one hour of consultation between the

speech therapist and C.M.'s teachers).

61. The kindergarten time would be used to work on C.M.'s

social skills and communication skills because in the classroom

she would have opportunity for peer modeling and interaction.

The one-on-one instruction could include some discrete trial

teaching but would not be limited to that one method of

instruction. In guided practice, C.M. would work in her specific

work area in the classroom doing work that had been taught in

the one-on-one setting.

62. Laurie McDanel's classroom has two teaching assistants,

both of whom have been trained to work with autistic students.

A primary goal in Ms. McDanel's classroom is to teach the

students to work independently. Each student works

64a

independently for part of the day. Data is kept by the teacher

and teaching assistants as to how well the student is completing

his or her individual work and progress is noted on the student's

IEP. A daily anecdotal log is kept of the each mainstreamed

Student’ s progress in the regular classroom.

63. Although there was agreement that the goals and

objectives of the IEP were appropriate, the Petitioners rejected

the placement offered by the Respondent. The Petitioners made

it clear in the IEP meeting and later in testimony during the

hearing that the only placement acceptable to them was in their

Lovaas program. Their goal throughout the process was to

obtain funding from the Respondent for their Lovaas program.

64. Following the IEP meeting and up to the time of the

hearing, the Petitioners chose to maintain C.M. in their Lovaas

program and half-day enrollment in a private school. The

Lovaas program was being maintained for as much as 47 hours

each week, including the discrete trial teaching, the private

school program, peer play, and speech therapy. A Lovaas

therapist accompanied C.M. at all times in the school setting

for the purpose of providing the necessary prompts and to

control behavior. The father testified that the total expected cost

of the home program for the 1996-97 school year would be

between $45,000-$50,000.Althoughthe Petitionersrejected the

placement offered by the Respondent, they chose to utilize the

goals and objectives of the IEP in their program. Clearly they

felt that the IEP was appropriate.

65a

65. Following their rejection of the placement offered by the

Respondent, the Petitioners filed a second Petition for a

Contested Case Hearing on November 1, 1996.

66. In February 1998, just before the hearing, the Petitioners

had C.M. reevaluated by Dr. Boyle. The testing showed that

C.M.'s academics were still on beginning kindergarten level (as

they had been during his testing eight months earlier).

Although C.M. could decode words at the beginning second

grade level she was completely unable to perform on the

comprehension tests. In other words, she could read words at

the beginning second grade level, but was unable to

comprehend what she was reading. The IQ testing again

showed C.M. to be functioning in the mild mentally

handicapped range. Dr. Boyle also conducted some testing of

C.M.'s expressive and receptive language. Comparing Dr.

Boyle's results with the results of the testing done by the speech

therapist in 1995, C.M. had made little progress, particularly in

her receptive language.

67. Throughout the hearing before the ALJ, extensive

testimony was given contrasting the methodology used in the

Lovaas program with that used in the TEACCH program. More

time was devoted to this issue than the primary issue to be

decided, whether the Respondent offered a free appropriate

public education to C.M.

68. Although the hearing was to focus on the appropriateness

of the 1996-97 IEP, extensive testimony was given and

exhibits entered that pertained to the the entire history of the

66a

relationship between the Petitioners and Respondent. The

Petitioner was able to enter, often over objections by the

Respondent, a rather detailed record of C.M.'s education since

1993. Thus the Review Officer was able to get a relatively clear

understanding of events and educational programming that

technically had been foreclosed because the Partial Summary

Judgment that was granted by Judge Mann on March 24, 1997.

69. Following the filing of the Petition for a Contested Case

Hearing on November 1, 1996, extensive discovery

proceedings ensued. The hearing was initially scheduled to

begin on January 7, 1997. Several motions were made,

continuances granted, and orders issued. The hearing was

rescheduled several times.

70. On February 14, 1997, the Respondent filed a Motion for

Summary Judgment. A Hearing on Motions was held by Judge

Mann on February 27, 1997, following which Judge Mann

granted partial summary judgment for the Respondent. As the —

time for the hearing was approaching and his ruling would have

a definite impact on the proceedings, Judge Mann announced

his ruling in a phone conference with the parties on March 5,

1997. He issued his formal Order on March 24, 1997.

71. In his February 27, 1997 Order, Judge Mann granted

summary judgment for the Respondent regarding Petitioners

alleged cost of an independent evaluation over and above the

Respondent's payment of $1,200. This action effectively

dismissed the original contested case that was filed June 25,

1996.

67a

72. In his February 27, 1997 Order, Judge Mann also granted

summary judgment for the Respondent on all of Petitioners’

procedural and substantive claims prior to the development of

the 1996-97 IEP. This action effectively limited the issue in the

subsequent hearing to the appropriateness of the 1996-97 IEP.

73. As the hearing began on March 17, 1997, Judge Mann

heard arguments related to Petitioners' Motions for Sanctions

for Affidavit Presented in Bad Faith and Petitioners’ Motion for

Reconsideration, Rehearing and Relief from Judgment. Judge

Mann denied these motions. A formal Order was issued on

March 24, 1997.

74. The Orders of Judge Mann issued March 24, 1997 granting

Partial Summary Judgment, denying Petitioners’ Motions for

Sanctions for Affidavit Presented in Bad Faith and Petitioners'

Motion for Reconsideration, Rehearing and Relief from

Judgment later became issues that were appealed.

75. By Order on March 17, 1997, following a hearing on

Petitioners’ motions, at 12:37 P.m Judge Mann reassigned the

case to Judge Meg Scott Phipps. Judge Phipps conducted the

remainder of the nineteen day hearing.

76. Following the hearing, Judge Phipps accepted Arguments

and Proposed Findings of Fact and.Conclusions of Law from

both parties. Judge Phipps announced her decision by letter on

November 19, 1997 and requested the Respondent's counsel to

assist in preparing the final decision. Judge Phipps accepted the

majority of the proposed findings and conclusions provided by

68a

Respondent's counsel, and with minor editing and additions,

issued her Final Decision on December 1 1, 1997.

77. Based on Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, the

Decision of Judge Phipps favored the Respondent and included

the following:

a. C.M.'s proposed IEP for the 1996-1997 school year

was appropriate.

b. In order for the IEP to provide the maximum

educational benefit to her, the’ one-on-one aide should be

trained in the Lovaas method (discrete trial method) in

order to assist C.M. in the transition to the public school

system and the TEACCH program.

78. On December 20, 1997 the Petitioner filed Notice of

Appeal with the State Superintendent of Public Instruction. F or

reasons not known, but possibly because of the Christmas

holiday period, the request for review was not received in the

Exceptional Children Division office until January 9, 1998.

That office has responsibility for initiating the review.

79. By letter dated January 12, 1998, and received January 24,

1998, the State Superintendent of Public Instruction appointed

the undersigned Review Officer to review the case.

80. On January 26, 1998, the Review Officer requested written

arguments concerning the ALJ's Decision from both parties. As

the 30 day time limit allotted for the review had already passed,

the Review Officer also extended the time for completion of the

69a

review. The review was to be completed within 30 days of

receipt of case records. The records of the case were received

from the Office of Administrative Hearings on January 30,

1998.

81. Counsel for both Petitioners and Respondent submitted

written arguments on February 20, 1998.

Based on the Findings of Fact, the undersigned Review Officer

makes the following:

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The Administrative Law Judge and the Review Officer

have jurisdiction with regard to this case pursuant to Chapters

115C and 150B of the North Carolina General Statutes and 20

U.S.C. §1400 et. sec., the Individuals with Disabilities

Education Act (IDEA).

2. The Respondent is subject to the provisions of applicable

federal and state laws, specifically 20 U.S.C. §1400 et. sec.

(IDEA) and N.C.G.S. 115C, Article 9. These acts prohibit

discrimination because of disabilities and require the

Respondent to provide a free appropriate public education for

those children in need of special education residing within the

jurisdiction of the local educational agency (LEA). The

Respondent is the LEA responsible for providing educational

services in Henderson County.

70a

3. The child, a resident of the LEA, is achild witha disability

for the purposes of IDEA, 20 U.S.C. §1400 et. sea. and a child

with special needs within the meaning of N.C.G.S. 115C,

Article 9. Being classified as autistic, she is entitled to a free

appropriate public education.

4. The due process requirements for parents and children of

N.C.G.S. 115C116; Section .1517 of The State Procedures

Governing Programs and Services for Children with Special

Needs; 20 U.S.C. §1415; and 34 C.F.R. 300.500 et. sec,. were

provided to Petitioner. This included provision of a Parent's

Handbook to the Petitioners several times.

5. With regard to the partial summary judgment denying

reimbursement for an independent evaluation, the Petitioners

provided no unique circumstances that justified a

reimbursement in excess of the reasonable limit set by the

Respondent. The parents were indeed entitled to an

independent evaluation of their child, at the expense of the

schools, to assist in the provision of an appropriate education

for their child. (34 C.F.R § 300.503) This was even

acknowledged by the Director of the Exceptional Children's

Program in a letter to the Petitioners. The reasonable limit of

$1,500 was clearly communicated to the Petitioners prior to the

parents choosing to go to New Jersey to obtain an independent

evaluation. It is permissible for a school district to establish

reasonable maximum allowable charges for independent

evaluations, as long as the districtprovidesadvance notification

of that limitation and gives parents an opportunity to

demonstrate unique circumstances for exceeding that limit. The

Tla

sole reason for the Petitioners’ choice of the psychologist in

New Jersey is to utilize an examiner known to be favorable to

their chosen methodology for teaching their child. This is not

a unique circumstance.

6. The evaluation of a child for the purpose of determining

the educational needs of that child is independent of a particular

methodology that may be used in delivering the educational

program to that child. Several licensed psychologists, with no

affiliation with the school system or the TEACCH

organization, were available in the region and in North

Carolina. A list of available professionals was also provided to

the Petitioners prior to their choosing the psychologist in New

Jersey. These independent psychologists were capable of

evaluating the child. The record is clear that they could and

would have evaluated the child for a cost at or below the

$1,200 limit established by the Respondent. The Petitioners

argument that they are entitled to the excessive costs is without

merit.

7. The partial summary judgment for the Respondent

regarding the appropriateness of the educational program

offered prior to the 1996-97 IEP was in accordance with

established law in North Carolina. The 60 day deadline for

filing for a contested case hearing is clearly spelled out in the

Handbook on Parents’ Rights, which had been provided to the

Petitioners. It is unquestioned that the Petitioners unilaterally

withdrew C.M. from the Respondent's program in November

1993. At that time they did not express any dissatisfaction with

the program being offered with the Respondent. In the ensuing

72a

period, up until November 1, 1996, the Respondent made offers

of educational programs for C.M. on several occasions. In each

instance, except for the acceptance of speech services, the

Petitioners refused the IEP’s offered by the Respondent.

Although the record is clear that the Petitioners did not like the

IEP's offered because their preferred methodology was not

included, they never instituted proceedings available under

IDEA and N.C.G.S. 115C, Article 9 to challenge the

educational program offered by the Respondent. It was not

until November 1, 1996, following the refusal of the 1996-97

IEP, that the Petitioners finally instituted these proceedings.

Again, the Petitioners were well informed of their rights. They

had received the Handbook on Parents’ Rights. They were

informed in letters from the Respondent of their rights. As of

the Spring of 1995, the Petitioners were also represented by

counsel. It is interesting to note that the parents initially filed a

due process petition in June 1996, but only for reimbursement

of excessive costs of an independent evaluation. It was not until

November 1, 1996 that the parents fi

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — C. M. ex rel. J. M. v. Board of Education · 534 U.S. 818 | Frix