Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cooper v. Powell

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(1) Supreme Court, U.S.

: FILED

001745 MAY 1 6 2001

No.

OFFICE OF THE w2e*v

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

*

ARLENE M. COOPER and CALVIN STOUDT,

Petitioners,

v.

CONNIE G. POWELL,

Respondent.

*

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE WISCONSIN

SUPREME COURT

e

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

*

JAMES E. DOYLE

Attorney General

Mary D. Batt*

Assistant Attorney General

Attorneys for Petitioner

Wisconsin Department of Justice

Post Office Box 7857

Madison, WI 53707

(608) 266-1001

*Counsel of Record

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1) Does a student have a constitutionally protected property

interest in continued enrollment in a post-secondary

education program?

If yes,

2) Does a student have an interest that is protected by

substantive due process to judicial review of an academic

decision requiring the student to disclose her mental illness

to her clinical practicum supervisor as a condition of

continuing to participate in a counseling and guidance

program?

If yes,

3) Whether the law was clearly established on the above

questions in 1991 such that the university professors, who

required the student to disclose her mental illness to the

clinical practicum supervisor, were not entitled to qualified

immunity?

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .............--ssccccssssssssconsesecccensescces

OPINIONS BELOW......0.....cccscsccssssssssssssseseees soutionceaaniiia 1

SRT iecssncsssecsisstccannbaiiesaia aac 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND

STATUTE: TCO oasis, Maclaren 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE............sccsssssssssssssscssnsesesennees 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING REVIEW.............::scsssseeee 4

MICRON sss-sssninccnssospbingns cismauatanily-Gntemmaiaaa 7

I. THE WISCONSIN SUPREME

COURT’S HOLDING THAT A

STUDENT HAS A

CONSTITUTIONALLY

PROTECTED PROPERTY

INTEREST IN CONTINUING A

GRADUATE SCHOOL

EDUCATION ESTABLISHES A

RIGHT THAT HAS NEVER BEEN

RECOGNIZED BY THIS COURT............ 7

ili

Il. THE WISCONSIN SUPREME

COURT’S HOLDING, THAT A

GRADUATE STUDENT HAS A

SUBSTANTIVE DUE PROCESS

RIGHT TO REVIEW AN

ACADEMIC DECISION

REQUIRING HER TO REVEAL A

MENTAL ILLNESS TO HER

CLINICAL PRACTICUM

SUPERVISOR, HAS NEVER

BEEN RECOGNIZED BY THIS

COURT AND IS CONTRARY TO

PRIOR DECISIONS OF THIS

CE ctisisiitinntisicenesennsitestnesebiiienenstinatibiintan is

Ill. THE WISCONSIN SUPREME

COURT INCORRECTLY HELD

THAT A CONSTITUTIONALLY

PROTECTED PROPERTY RIGHT

IN CONTINUING IN A HIGHER

EDUCATION PROGRAM WAS

CLEARLY ESTABLISHED IN

Fae iaincnhnctdiininicnbetpiniitbitentiiineniansintniniaiecseesen 20

Pe ETTI ITE iccsicndesakonahasapeanecaieeniashiouidusnppennpnnaseseinpenanesin 23

Abbariao v. Hamline University School of Law,

258 N.W.2d 108, 112 (Minn. 1977)..............cc.cccceeseeeee 6

iv

Akins v. Board of Governors of

State Colleges and Universities,

840 F.2d 1371, 1376, 1377

(7th Cir. 1988) vacated on other grounds,

Ee Ch clin ihctsscinsistbinedsablindcnetnpsinnindiiciie 5,21

Alanis v. University of Texas,

843 S.W. 2d 779, 788-89

Ga I SINE ccincinncntsncincbiitaniseunsdsinitianstiaiaadiblanbdoceinti 16

Albright v. Oliver,

De es BF OOF i iiahiitistinthnsnsmntiintieannasiniie 19

Anderson v. University of Wisconsin,

665 F. Supp. 1372, 1396 (1987)............cseccceesees 12, 16

Behrens v. Pelletier,

ee es Be es I iisctnsteinsacicinceciniisisisnioonaian 2

Board of Curators v. Horowitz,

a RE ee OL passim

Booker v. Grand Rapids Medical College,

156 Mich. 95, 120 N.W. 589 (1909) 00... eee eeeeeeeeees 8

Clifton-Davis v. State of Oklahoma,

930 P.2d 833,834-35 (1996)............ccccceccecseeeseeees 17, 18

Crosetto v. State Bar of Wisconsin,

12 F.3d 1396, 1403

(7th Cir.), cert. denied,

SE8 UE, FE Ciera titchcinnteapihinieepiiitt 20, 22

Denius v. Dunlap,

209 F.3d 944, 950 (7th Cir. 2000).......cccccsesccesseen 21,22

Vv

Disesa v. St. Louis Community College,

FOF .36 D2, D3 (COG Cae BIG irda cssinsiccccsnesitibscsoressess 17

Doe v. Washington University,

780 F. Supp. 628, 631 (E.D. Mo. 1991).............csseseee 18

Eiiand v. Wolf,

764 S.W.2d 827, 836 (Tex. App. 1989)...........csseeees 16

Evans v. West Virginia Board of Regents,

165 W.Va. 780, 781, 271

S.B.26 TIE, TOO CRGCD) nctisisssiviscsscditnsiscsecsecnatibalis 6, 12

Frank v. Marquette University,

209 Wis. 372, 377, 245

PEW, TABS EAD ccieneintiitichavicisontitnisibasitnnalcssniblioeliommins 8

Gaspar v. Bruton, ;

513 F.2d 843, 846 (10th Cir. 1975)............scccssereseees 18

Goss v. Lopez,

419 U.S. SES, S73. GDP sisi cccstissintictsitaitnecttadcikes 8, 18

Haberle v. University of Alabama in Birmingham,

803 F.2d 1536, 1539 n. 1

CRB Ci SI icin ssiiicssictinhsinsitibisiciniadipatttainin 11, 17,22

Hall v. University of Minnesota,

530 F. Supp. 104, 107 (D. Minn. 1982)..............:0000 12

Hamil v. Vertrees,

BE RS TT i isiciencaistncsnisiesnisinnanstiaranecesensnins 10, 21

sas a ee

Hammond v. Auburn Univ.,

669 F.Supp. 1555, 1561

(M.D. Ala. 1987) affd mem.,

ee ee ee 11

Hankins v. Temple University,

829 F.2d 437, 444 (3rd Cir. 1987) .........cccccccceseeseeeees 17

Harlow v. Fitzgerald,

4ST UB, GER, SOB Cae ierctntcnntniininncvctistcntansincttiitiane 20

Hennessy v. City of Melrose,

194 F.3d 237, 250-51 (1st Cir. 1999)... cccccccceeees 18

Hines v. Rinker,

667 F.2d 699, 704 (8th Cir. 1981)....................cceeeeeee 16

Hortonville Joint School District

No. 1 v. Hortonville Education Association,

a a ee re intecvtitennnnttsntntiatnnatiiinatiiten 19

Ikpeazu v. University of Nebraska,

773 F.2d 250, 254 (BGs Cir. 196S).........cecccsccsccsccscseses 17

Jones v. Cannon,

174 F.3d 1271, 1288 n. 11

ee nee eee ee 21

Kashani v. Purdue University,

763 F. Supp. 995, 999-1000

RE Fe edith taiccnnetnnsniceeniatstiindiaiaietindadii 16

Keyishian v. Board of Regents,

Se CT vain iiasnitnieaeiicictiiaiitieniaaninliciiains 15

vii

Landstrom v. Illinois Dep't of Children,

892 F.2d 670, 676 (7th Cir. 1990).0.0......ccccccseseesenenees 20

Leukutis v. University of Osteopathic

524 N.W.2d 410, 413 (lowa 1994) .00.........cccsceeseeseees 17

Lipsett v. University of Puerto Rico,

637 F. Supp. 789, 808

(D.P.R. 1986) rev'd on other grounds,

O64 F.26 SEI (let Cas. 19GB) aicccccaccciscsssssctsdisvtecccccssese 18

Lunde v. lowa Board of Regents,

487 N.W.2d 357, 362 (lowa App. 1992).............0000+« 17

Martin v. Helstad,

578 F. Supp. 1473

CUR ee WU OU Pesesesstincticcindienssbdonneiiiectatiabis 6, 8, 12

Martin v. Helstad,

699 F.2d 387, 390 (7th Cir. 1983)...........ccccceceseseeee 5, 11

Mauriello v. U. of Med. & Dentistry of N_J.,

FOL F.2B 4G, S2 C6 Cae: 15GB ancccncesccieccnccccsceccescccceees 11

Nickerson v. University of Alaska, Anchorage,

975 P.2d 46, 52 (Alaska 1999) 00.0.0... ccccesccseeseessenees 11

Osteen v. Henley,

ES P36 ZE8, 206 CPR Chk. 1955) vccccrccisassersescncnsinses 5,21

Powell v. Cooper and Stoudt,

241 Wis. 2d 153, 622

Oi A ih 1

Regents of the University of Michigan v. Ewing,

Ee ee ee tintin dcciheciincintaniernititinces passim

Regents of the University Of California v. Bakke,

GBS CLE, FED, Fee atta tinccttiitintinannbiiblaisessssesincs 15

Richmond v. Fowlkes,

228 F.3d 854, 859 (8th Cir. 2000)..............e eee 11, 16

Rossomando v. Board of Regents of the

University of Nebraska,

2 F.Supp. 2d 1223, 1225-26 (D.Neb. 1998)............... 17

San Antonio Independent Schoo! District v. Rodriguez,

A is es ee seceteinetirnieeninininitetiihtessiiididiniiinanbid 8

Schuler v. University of Minnesota,

788 F.2d 510, 513 n. 6

(8th Cir. 1986), certiorari denied,

SIP UD. TEGO Gar Pictsncccsccncccsccsecesiinitssitin 5, 11, 16, 22

Soong v. University of Hawaii,

72 Haw. 586, 590, 825 ;

P.2d 1060, 1062 (Haw. 1992) .........:sccscsecercereereeee 6, 21

Southworth v. Board of Regents of the

University of Wisconsin System,

Ee rks ey a ecitiictacsninensacnnisitcitnsniinnapnten 15

Stevens v. Hunt,

646 F.2d 1168, 1169 (6th Cir. 1981).......0.000000000.. 5,12

Stoller v. College of Medicine,

562 F.Supp. 403, 412-414

(M.D. Pa. 1983), aff'd without opinion,

resh fe fi fs ls BS rereNeee 5,12

Sweezy v. New Hampshire,

354 U.S. 234, 77 S.Ct. 1203,

5 Sic BORO HOMO ON siscssssnsttitisssibiiiniciahiiiesitieniticusniian 15

Unger v. National Residents Matching Program,

928 F.2d 1392, 1397 (3d Cir. 1991)................. 5, 11,21

Upton v. Thompson, ?

930 F.2d 1209, 1212 CPSs NOPE ic chdbidieisntins 20

Wilson v. Layne,

FP AP OE Cai datinishinssssniniiuaricsbinintsiiaciaeuet 22

STATUTES

AB TB TO seciehinnithsnnntitiitbaia a a 2

SF ain 15 SPE clcrrvinceenindintassnstinestsninneasaenieniasiinaiinaacaa y

No.

In The aint

Supreme Court of the United States

*

ARLENE M. COOPER and CALVIN STOUDT,

Petitioners,

v.

CONNIE G. POWELL,

Respondent.

¢

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE WISCONSIN

SUPREME COURT

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

4

OPINIONS BELOW

The Wisconsin Supreme Court decision is reported

: and reprinted at App. la-7a. Powell v. Cooper and Stoudt,

241Wis. 2d 153, 622 N.W.2d 265 (2001). The Court of

: Appeals decision is unpublished and reported at 231 Wis.2d

373, 607 N.W.2d 290 (2001). It is reprinted at App. 8a-36a.

The decision of the circuit court is reprinted at App. 37a-48a.

2

JURISDICTION

The decision was entered on February 16, 2001. (App.la)

The Petition is timely. Jurisdiction is invoked under 28

U.S.C. § 1257 (a) (1994). The Wisconsin Supreme Court

found a constitutionally protected property right in

continuing a post-secondary education and denied the

petitioners’ qualified immunity defense. (App.5a, J 12)

The Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision is a final

judgment. Behrens v. Pelletier, 516 U.S. 299, 307, 308

(1996).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND STATUTE

INVOLVED

42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides:

[e]very person who, under color of a

statute, ordinance, regulation, custom, or

usage, of any State..., subjects, or causes to

be subjected, any citizen of the United States

or other person within the jurisdiction thereof

to the deprivation of any rights, privileges, or

immunities secured by the Constitution and

laws, shall be liable to the party injured in an

action at law, suit in equity, or other proper

proceeding for redress...

Article XIV provides:

[no] State shall deprive any person of

life, liberty or property, without due process

of law...

3

‘STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent Connie G. Powell, a former graduate

student in the counseling and guidance program at the

University of Wisconsin-Stout, brought this action in

Wisconsin circuit court under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 against Dr.

Arlene Cooper and Dr. Calvin Stoudt. (App. 5a ) Dr.

Cooper was an assistant professor of counseling and

psychological services and Dr. Stoudt was the program

director for the Schoo! of Guidance, Counseling and

Psychological Services, at the University of Wisconsin-Stout.

(App. 49a)

As of January 1991, Powell had completed all of the

course work needed for a Master's Degree in Guidance and

Counseling. Powell had a grade point average of 3.887 in all

completed classes and had paid all tuition and fees. The

remaining requirements for obtaining the degree were

participating in a clinical practicum experience, and preparing

the Master's thesis. (App. 51a) As a condition of placement in

the clinical practicum, Drs. Cooper and Stoudt required

Powell to disclose to her clinical practicum supervisor her

manic depressive condition. (App. 52a) Powell refused to

provide that information to the practicum supervisor,

although she had previously revealed her condition to two

professors at the University of Wisconsin-Stout. (App. 5la-

52a) As a result, she was not assigned to a clinical practicum

experience. (App. 52a) She subsequently stopped attending

the University and did not complete the counseling program.

She brought suit against Drs. Cooper and Stoudt, alleging

that her right to due process under the Fourteenth

Amendment was violated by the requirement that she

disclose her manic depressive condition to the practicum

supervisor as a prerequisite of participating in the practicum.

4

(App. 53a) Powell seeks compensatory and punitive

damages, costs, disbursements and attorney's fees. (App. 55a)

Drs. Cooper and Stoudt moved to dismiss the case on

qualified immunity grounds. The circuit court denied the

motion, ruling that Powell had a constitutionally protected

property interest in continuing her graduate school education

and determining that the right was clearly established in

1991 when Powell stopped attending the university.

(App.46a). The Wisconsin Court of Appeals and the

Wisconsin Supreme Court upheld this decision, the latter by

an equally divided vote. (App. 5a, § 12) The case was

remanded to the circuit court for trial on the merits. (App.7a,

{ 19)

REASONS FOR GRANTING REVIEW

Drs. Arlene Cooper and Calvin Stoudt respectfully

request that a writ of certiorari issue to review the decision of

the Wisconsin Supreme Court. That decision recognizes a

constitutionally protected property interest that has never

been established by this Court, and makes available a

substantive due process-standard of review that has not been

mandated in prior case law. Granting certiorari would allow

this Court to address and clarify the important constitutional

questions left unanswered in Board of Curators v. Horowitz,

435 U.S. 78 (1978) and Regents of the University of

Michigan v. Ewing, 474 U.S. 214 (1985), namely, whether

students have a constitutionally protected property interest in

continued enrollment in post-secondary education programs,

and; whether courts can review an academic decision of a

public educational institution under a substantive due process

standard. Granting certiorari would also permit this Court to

overturn the Wisconsin Supreme Court’s erroneous opinion

5

holding that a constitutionally protected property right was

Clearly estabiished in 1991 for qualified immunity purposes.

The erroneous decisions of the Wisconsin Supreme

Court and Court of Appeals were predicated upon this

Court’s decisions in Horowitz and Ewing. In those cases,

this Court assumed, without deciding, the existence of a

constitutionally protected property interest in continuing a

post-secondary education and reached the merits of the

student claims. Horowitz, 435 U.S. at 84, 85; Ewing, 474

U.S. at 223, 224. Subsequent lower court decisions have

frequently followed this Court's approach and assumed the

existence of the protected interest, however, the resulting

decisions demonstrate continuing confusion and division as

to whether the right actually exists.

The uncertainty in the law is reflected in both federal

and state court cases. The Seventh Circuit has assumed that

a property right exists in one case, Martin v. Helstad, 699

F.2d 387, 390 (7" Cir. 1983), and in two others found such a

right not clearly established and an open question in the

circuit. Osteen v. Henley, 13 F.3d 221, 226 (7" Cir. 1993);

Akins v. Board of Governors of State Colleges and

Universities, 840 F.2d 1371, 1376, 1377 (7™ Cir. 1988)

vacated on other grounds, 488 U.S. 920 (1988). The Third

Circuit has rejected the claim as a matter of law in one case,

Unger v. National Residents Matching Program, 928 F.2d

1392, 1397 (3d Cir. 1991), and affirmed it in another. Stoller

v. College of Medicine, 562 F.Supp. 403, 412-414 (M.D. Pa.

1983), aff'd without opinion, 727 F.2d 1101 (3d Cir. 1984).

The Sixth Circuit, however, has found such a right exists and

has been “long recognized.” Stevens v. Hunt, 646 F.2d 1168,

1169 (6th Cir. 1981) Another circuit has assumed the right

exists without deciding the question. See, e.g. Schuler v.

University of Minnesota, 788 F.2d 510, 513 n. 6 (3” Cir.

1986), certiorari denied, 479 U.S. 1056 (1987).

6

State supreme courts that have addressed the issue

are similarly divided. The Hawaii Supreme Court has held

the right is not clearly established under federal qualified

immunity analysis. Soong v. University of Hawaii, 72 Haw.

586, 590, 825 P.2d 1060, 1062 (Haw. 1992). The West

Virginia and Minnesota appellate courts have apparently

recognized a property right. Evans v. West Virginia Board of

Regents, 165 W.Va. 780, 781, 271 S.E.2d 778, 780 (1980);

Abbariao v. Hamline University School of Law, 258 N.W.2d

108, 112 (Minn. 1977).

In Wisconsin the situation is particularly confusing.

Wisconsin's Court of Appeals found a constitutionally

protected property right in Powell, yet found no property

right a year later in a case involving a Ph.D. candidate.

Reidinger v. Board of Regents of the University of

Wisconsin, 2001 WI App 31, 9 6, 622 N.W.2d 770 (Ct. App.

2000) (Unpublished). The Wisconsin Supreme Court

affirmed Powell in a split, three-to-three decision. (App. 5a,

412) Additionally, while the District Court for the Western

District of Wisconsin initially held that a constitutionally

protected property right existed, Martin v. Helstad, 578 F.

Supp. 1473 (W.D. Wis. 1983), the same District Judge, in an

opinion in a subsequent case, ruled the issue an open

question. Shudooh v. University of Wisconsin-Madison et al.,

(Case No. 00-C-0267-C)(W.D. Wis. April 4, 2001.)

(Unpublished) Finally, the Seventh Circuit, as noted

previously, has both assumed the right existed and declared

the matter an open question.

This confusion, coupled with the willingness of lower

courts to assume the existence of a constitutionally protected

property interest and proceed to review academic decisions

on the merits, has encouraged increasing numbers of students

to litigate academic decisions. Despite this Court's repeated

cautions against judicial intervention in the academic

7

ue decision-making process, Horowitz, 435 U.S. at 92, Ewing,

eld 474 U.S. at 225 and 226, universities more and more often

ied find themselves required to defend their academic judgments

w. in court. A decision on the underlying constitutional issues

est left undecided in Horowitz and Ewing would bring clarity to

tly i the law, and could provide guidance on the extent of

l of deference appropriately due to academic decisions,

0); consistent with the First, Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments.

2d Be

Finally, the Wisconsin Supreme Court improperly

denied qualified immunity to Drs. Cooper and Stoudt. The

ng. court's split decision, holding that in 1991 a constitutionally

illy protected property interest in continued enrollment in a post-

rty secondary program was clearly established, is simply

ate. incorrect. The relevant federal case law shows an utter lack

of of a consensus on the issue that entitles the petitioners to

pp. qualified immunity.

yurt | -

Sa, ARGUMENT

em

ally

| F. L. THE WISCONSIN SUPREME

| an : COURT’S HOLDING THAT A

pen | STUDENT HAS A

al., CONSTITUTIONALLY

)1.) PROTECTED PROPERTY

ited INTEREST IN CONTINUING A

red GRADUATE SCHOOL

: EDUCATION ESTABLISHES A

RIGHT THAT HAS NEVER BEEN

wer RECOGNIZED BY THIS COURT.

‘ted

ons The Wisconsin Supreme Court’s decision established

ents a constitutional right not previously recognized by this

ited Court. Indeed, its finding of a clearly established

mic constitutional right to continued post-graduate education

8

appears contrary to this Court's decisions. This Court has

held that an elementary school education is not among the

fundamental rights protected explicitly or implicitly under

the United States Constitution, San Antonio Independent

School District v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1, 34, 35 (1973). One

year later, the Court found a property interest in elementary

and secondary education based strictly on a state statute's

clear guarantee of a free public education, Goss v. Lopez,

419 U.S. 565, 573 (1974). The decision of the Wisconsin

Supreme Court adds to the confusion among lower courts as

to whether such a right exists under the United States

Constitution, and exposes higher education institutions to

attacks on their academic judgments. The grant of the writ

of certiorari would allow this Court to resolve the issue

whether there is a protected property interest in continued

enrollment in a graduate school program, and provide clarity

to the lower courts.

The Wisconsin Supreme Court determined the

existence of a property interest without citation to any

authority or basis in state law. The Wisconsin Court of

Appeals based its determination that the property right

existed on two cases: Frank v. Marquette University, 209 Wis.

372, 377, 245 N.W. 125 (1932) and Martin v. Helstad, 578 F.

Supp. 1473 (W.D. Wis. 183). Frank, however, does not

stand for the proposition that a student has a constitutionally

protected interest in continuing in a program of graduate

study. Frank sued a private university based on a contract

theory. The Wisconsin Supreme Court concluded that a school

could not “arbitrarily or capriciously dismiss a student or deny

him the right to continue his course of study.” Frank, 209

Wis. at 377. Frank relied on Booker v. Grand Rapids Medical

College, 156 Mich. 95, 120 N.W. 589 (1909). In Ewing, this

Court severely eroded Booker, calling it “an antiquated race

discrimination decision” ... “whose holding has since been

overtaken by events”. Ewing, 474 U.S. at 222 n. 7.

!

9

Additionally, there was no state action in Frank, hence there

were no Fourteenth Amendment or other constitutional issues

involved. Frank does not stand for the proposition that a

student has a constitutionally protected state property interest

in continuing a graduate school education. Martin states, with

little elaboration, that there is a property right in continuing in

law school, apparently based on this Court's willingness to

assume the existence of such a right in Horowitz. Martin v.

Helstad, 578 F. Supp. at 1480. As discussed later, the mere

assumption that a right exists does not, of itself, bring that right

into existence.

In this case, the Wisconsin Supreme Court did not fully

develop its analytical basis for concluding that the property

interest exists and its decision appears to depend heavily upon

this Court's assumption in the Horowitz and Ewing cases, that

such a right existed. Yet, as discussed above, in both of those

cases, this Court declined the opportunity to decide the issue.

In Horowitz, a student was dismissed from medical

school due to poor hygiene and tardiness. She sued,

claiming that she had a liberty interest in pursuing her

medical school education, Jd at 82. This Court assumed,

without deciding, that she had a liberty or property interest in

pursuing her education, but upheld the decision of the

university, concluding that, whether or not she had a

constitutionally protected interest, she had received as much

process as was required under the Fourteenth Amendment.

Id. at 84-85.

The Court next considered this issue in Regents of the

University of Michigan v. Ewing, 474 U.S. 214 (1985).

There, the University of Michigan dismissed Ewing from the

medical school program for academic deficiencies. Ewing

contended he had a constitutionally protected property

interest in continued enrollment at the University. He also

ac

10

asserted his dismissal was arbitrary and capricious and

violated a substantive due process right. Ewing, 474 U.S. at

217. Instead of determining whether the procedural and

substantive due process rights existed, this Court accepted

the University’s invitation to “assume the existence of a

constitutionally protected property right in [Ewing’s]

continued enrollment” at the University, noting that “no

party has challenged it.” Ewing, 474 U.S. at 224. Again,

this Court concluded that Ewing’s dismissal was not

arbitrary and capricious. However, the Court questioned

Ewing’s basis for claiming a constitutionally protected

property interest, Jd at 222 n. 7. According to a concurring

opinion by Justice Powell: “[Ewing’s] claim to a property

right is dubious at best.” Ewing, 474 U.S. at 229.

The lack of a ruling from this Court on the

underlying constitutional issues has spawned extensive

litigation of academic decisions and caused confusion in the

lower courts, as illustrated by this case. Lower courts have

generally avoided the issue or assumed the right exists, often

based on the parties’ willingness to concede the existence of

a constitutionally protected property interest under state law,

as in Ewing, 474 U.S. at 224. Or the courts’ assuming the

existence of such a right, for the sake of argument, as in

Horowitz, 435 U.S. at 92. Here, the existence of a property

right and the constitutional protections associated with it are

contested. This case presents the opportunity to settle the

issue and provide guidance to courts, students and academic

institutions across the nation.

A survey of lower court decisions reflects the lack of

clarity or uniformity in analysis. Some courts have assumed

the right exists: Hamil v. Vertrees, 2001 WL 135716 at p. 6

(M.D. Ala. Jan. 10, 2001) (“Every case the court has

uncovered also assumed, without deciding, that ‘a student

who is subject to academic dismissal may maintain a cause

11

of action for the violation of his right to substantive due

process.””... “In short, no court has decided whether a

protected property interest exists in a graduate school

education.”); Martin v. Helstad, 699 F. 2d 387, 390 (7th Cir.

1983) (Court assumed the existence of a property interest

once admitted to law school). Mauriello v. U. of Med &

Dentistry of N.J., 781 F.2d 46, 52 (3d Cir. 1986) (Court

assumed the existence of a constitutional right.); Haberle v.

University of Alabama in Birmingham, 803 F.2d 1536, 1539

n. 1( 11th Cir. 1986) (Court followed Supreme Court’s lead

in Ewing and assumed a protected property interest

existed.); Schuler v. University of Minnesota, 788 F.2d 510,

513, 514, n. 6 (8th Cir. 1986) (Court assumed existence of a

property right.); Hammond v. Auburn Univ., 669 F.Supp.

1555, 1561 (M.D. Ala. 1987) aff'd mem., 858 F.2d 744 (11th

Cir. 1988)(Court assumed a constitutionally protected

property right exists in post-secondary education.”).

Other courts have avoided the issue: Richmond v.

Fowlkes, 228 F.3d 854, 859 (8th Cir. 2000)(“Whether a

student who is subject to academic dismissal may maintain a

cause of action for the violation of his right to substantive

due process remains an open question.”); Nickerson v.

University of Alaska, Anchorage, 975 P.2d 46, 52 (Alaska

1999) (“We do not address the broader issue of whether a

student has a property interest in continued enrollment in a

graduate program....”).

One court rejected the claim as a matter of law:

Unger v. National Residents Matching Program, 928 F.2d

1392, 1397 (3d Cir. 1991) (“We hold Unger’s attempt to

state a claim arising out of a property interest in the pursuit

and continuance of her graduate school medical education

fails as a matter of law”.) Yet a few years later the Third

Circuit affirmed a District Court’s finding that a student had

a constitutionally protected right in the continuation of

12

studies. Stoller v. College of Medicine, 562 F.Supp. 403,

412, (M.D. Pa. 1983), aff'd w/o opinion, 727 F.2d 1101 (3d

Cir. 1984). The Sixth Circuit found a [constitutionally

protected?] right to study medicine “long recognized by the

state of Tennessee.” Stevens v. Hunt, 646 F.2d 1168, 1169

(6th Cir. 1981).

Still other courts have found that there is a property

interest in continuing an education: Anderson v. University

of Wisconsin, 665 F. Supp. 1372, 1396 (1987) (“The Court

does not argue with the plaintiff's contention that a student

has a property interest in continuing education once the

student has begun a course of study.”); Hall v. University of

Minnesota, 530 F. Supp. 104, 107 (D. Minn. 1982) (Right to

continued enrollment in university constitutes a property

right protected by due process clause.); Evans v. West

Virginia Bd. of Regents, 271 S.E.2d 778, 780 (W. Va. 1980)

(Court recognized a medical student’s property interest in

continuation/completion of his medical education, triggering

due process protections.); Stoller v. College of Medicine,

562 F.Supp. 403, 412-414 (M.D. Pa. 1983), aff'd without

opinion, 727 F.2d 1101 (3d Cir. 1984) (Medical student had

a constitutionally protected property right in continuing

education.); Stevens v. Hunt, 646 F.2d at 1169 (“A qualified

property right in studying and practicing medicine has long

been recognized by the State of Tennessee.”’)

The confusion generated by this Court’s assumption

that a property right exists is particularly troublesome in

Wisconsin. For example, in Martin v. Helstad, 578 F. Supp.

at 1480, the District Judge, relying on the United State’s

Supreme Court’s assumption of a property interest in

Horowitz, found that a student had a property interest in

continuing in law school once admitted. The District Judge in

Martin, however, has since changed her mind and recently

acknowledged that no court has decided whether a protected

13

property interest exists in a student’s post-secondary

education. Nevertheless, the District Judge assumed the

student has such an interest that entitles him to substantive

due process. Shudooh v. University of Wisconsin-Madison et

al., (Case No. 00-C-0267-C)(W.D. Wis. April 4, 2001.) (Slip

op, at p. 14) (Unpublished).

The Wisconsin Court of Appeals, relying in part on

Martin v. Helstad, found that Powell had a property interest

in continuing her education. (App. 14a, 15a) Yet a year

later in a case involving a student’s attempt to contest his

dismissal from a graduate program in political science due to

failing his preliminary examination, the Court of Appeals

ruled differently, holding that the student had no property

interest. Reidinger v. Board of Regents of the University of

Wisconsin, 2001 WI App 31, 4 6, 622 N.W.2d 770 (Ct. App.

2000) (Unpublished).

As these cases demonstrate, the question whether

there is ‘a constitutionally protected property interest in

continuing in a graduate program remains unsettled, and is

treated in widely varying ways by the lower courts. Here,

neither the existence of a property right nor the constitutional

protections associated with it are conceded. This case

presents the opportunity to settle the issue. If a student has a

constitutionally protected property interest in a post-

secondary education, courts, students and universities need

to know it. Guidelines on the extent of those rights, along

with the standards to be employed in protecting the rights,

must be established. If, however, such rights do not exist,

courts must cease acting as an appellate branch of colleges

and universities.

14

Il. THE WISCONSIN SUPREME

COURT’S HOLDING, THAT A

GRADUATE STUDENT HAS A

SUBSTANTIVE DUE PROCESS

RIGHT TO REVIEW AN

ACADEMIC DECISION

REQUIRING HER TO REVEAL A

MENTAL ILLNESS TO HER

CLINICAL PRACTICUM

SUPERVISOR, HAS NEVER

BEEN RECOGNIZED BY THIS

COURT AND IS CONTRARY TO

PRIOR DECISIONS OF THIS

COURT.

The Wisconsin Court of Appeals, citing Ewing, found

that Powell had a substantive due process right in continuing

her education. (App. 20a, 21a) The Wisconsin Supreme

Court affirmed, without citation to any authority. (App. 2a, §

2, 5a, 9 12) In Ewing, however, this Court merely assumed

the right existed. Ewing, 474 U.S. at 223. The Court found

that Ewing had received adequate process under a

substantive due process standard. It cautioned that courts

should "show great respect for the faculty's professional

judgment" and should not override it unless it is "such a

substantial departure from accepted academic norms as to

demonstrate that the person or committee responsible did not

actually exercise professional judgment." Ewing, 474 U.S. at

225, 227.

In post-Ewing litigation, lower courts have continued

to assume the existence of a substantive due process right to

review academic decisions, and--in doing so--have been

drawn into the very process of second-guessing academic

15

judgments that this Court warned against in Ewing, and,

earlier in Horowitz. Lower courts now frequently engage in

the business of reviewing academic decisions, on the

assumption that there is a substantive due process right to

such review. This injection of judicial scrutiny into the

academic arena, however, is contrary to this Court's

expressed reluctance to intrude on the prerogatives of the

academy, and to principles of academic freedom protected

by the First Amendment.

This Court has a responsibility to safeguard academic

freedom, which is "a special concern of the First

Amendment" and has "transcendent value" to all Americans.

Ewing, 474 U.S at 226; Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385

U.S. 589 (1967). This Court has frequently cited Justice

Frankfurter's concurring opinion in Sweezy v. New

Hampshire, 354 U.S. 234, 77 §.Ct. 1203, 1 L.Ed.2d 1311

(1957), which described academic freedom as follows:

"It is the business of a university to provide that

atmosphere which is most conducive to speculation,

experiment and creation. It is an atmosphere in

which there prevail "the four essential freedoms" of a

university -- to determine for itself who may teach,

what may be taught, how it shal] be taught, and who

may be admitted to study.’ "

see, e.g., Ewing, n. 12; see also Regents of the University of

California v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 312 (1978) ("The

freedom of a university to make its own judgments as to

education includes the selection of its student body.");

Southworth v. Board of Regents of the University of

Wisconsin System, 120 S.Ct. 1346, 1358 (2000), Souter, J.

concurring ("Our understanding of academic freedom has

included . . . the idea that universities and schools should

16

have the freedom to make decisions about how and what to

teach.”)

aaa

a :

Unfortunately, despite this Court's consistent support

of institutional academic freedom, the lower courts have

routinely used the Court's assumption of the existence of a

substantive due process right to "second guess" academic

decisions. The following cases all involve instances where

courts have intruded on the academic freedom of educational

institutions by reviewing the academic decisions of

professional educators.

Failing grades: Schuler v. University of Minnesota,

788 F.2d 510, 515 (8th Cir. 1986) (reviewing decision to

dismiss student who failed doctoral oral examination);

Anderson v. University of Wisconsin, 665 F.Supp 1372, 1396

(W.D. Wis. 1987) (reviewing decision to deny readmission

to law school after student was expelled for failing to

maintain required grade average); Hines v. Rinker, 667 F.2d

699, 704 (8th Cir. 1981) (reviewing decision to dismiss

medical student who failed internal medicine due to failing

written final examination, failing to properly present a

patient and failing to turn in work on time); Alanis v.

University of Texas, 843 S.W. 2d 779, 788-89 (Tex. App.

1992) (reviewing decision to dismiss medical student who

had missed exams, failed exams, and in three years had not

satisfactorily completed all first year courses); Kashani v.

Purdue University, 763 F. Supp. 995, 999-1000 (N.D. Ind.

1991) (reviewing decision to dismiss from program student

who failed Ph.D. examination twice); Eiland v. Wolf 764

S.W.2d 827, 836 (Tex. App. 1989)(reviewing decision to

dismiss medical student for having five failing grades and

consistently ranking near bottom of class).

Course and curriculum requirements: Richmond v. |

Fowlkes, 228 F.3d 854, 859 (8th Cir. 2000) (reviewing

17

decision of scholastic committee to reject student's proposed

remedial plan and to adopt a committee plan for removing

the student's academic suspension); Shudooh v. University of

Wisconsin — Madison, W.D. Wis. (Case No. 00-C-0267-C

(April 4, 2001)(reviewing claim that oral examination

violated student's rights by failing to ask student about

syntax or a preliminary paper); Disesa v. St. Louis

Community College, 79 F.3d 92, 95 (8th Cir. 1996)

(reviewing decision to not permit student to make up classes

and retake exams) ; Haberle v. University of Alabama in

Birmingham, 803 F.2d 1536, 1540-41 (llth Cir. 1986)

(reviewing decision to require a qualifying examination

before allowing graduate student to embark on dissertation

research and to not permit student a third attempt to pass

qualifying exam); Hankins v. Temple University, 829 F.2d

437, 444 (3rd Cir. 1987) (reviewing decision to terminate

physician from fellowship program at university hospital for

excessive absenteeism, deficient clinical skills and

abandonment of patients).

Clinical placements: Leukutis v. University of

Osteopathic Medicine and Health Sciences, 524 N.W.2d

410, 413 (lowa 1994) (reviewing decision to dismiss medical

student who demonstrated gross lack of clinical and

interpersonal skills during rotations); Jkpeazu v. University of

Nebraska, 775 F.2d 250, 254 (8th Cir. 1985) (reviewing

decision to dismiss pharmacy student due to performance

problems in two clinical clerkships); Lunde v. lowa Board of

Regents, 487 N.W.2d 357, 362 (Iowa App. 1992) (reviewing

decision to dismiss medical student for interpersonal and

performance problems in residency and for failing clinical

rotations); Rossomando v. Board of Regents of the University

of Nebraska, 2 F.Supp. 2d 1223, 1225-26 (D.Neb.

1998)(reviewing decision to dismiss student in postgraduate

orthodontics program for poor clinical performance and

failing to meet requirements for readmission); Clifton-Davis

18

v. State of Oklahoma, 930 P.2d 833,834-35 (1996)

(reviewing decision to dismiss student from therapeutic

recreation specialist program after student failed to complete

internship because two successive agencies suggested she be

removed from their programs.); Gaspar v. Bruton, 513 F.2d

843, 846 (10th Cir. 1975) (reviewing dismissal of nursing

student for incompetent and unsatisfactory performance in

clinical training portion of course); Hennessy v. City of

Melrose, 194 F.3d 237, 250-51 (ist Cir. 1999)(reviewing

decision to drop student from teacher certification program

after incidents arose during a teaching practicum causing

friction with other teachers and raising questions about

student’s ability to function in a public school setting);

Lipsett v. University of Puerto Rico, 637 F. Supp. 789, 808

(D.P.R. 1986) rev'd on other grounds, 864 F.2d 881 (1st Cir.

1988) (reviewing decision to cancel medical student's third-

year surgery residency, based on conclusion that student

would not make a good surgeon because of inability to

follow program’s line of authority and desire to do things her

own way).

Professional educators, not the courts, have the

responsibility to evaluate students and the expertise to do so.

The process is not adversarial but centers around a

continuing relationship between faculty and students, “one

in which the teacher must occupy many roles—educator,

adviser, friend, and at times, parent-substitute.” Horowitz,

435 U.S. at 90, citing Goss v. Lopez, 419 US. at 594.

Professional educators, not the courts, have the duty to

identify any problems that limit a student’s ability to succeed

and pursue ameliorating alternatives. Doe v. Washington

University, 780 F. Supp. 628, 631 (E.D. Mo. 1991). The

duty of courts is mot to second-guess academic decisions of

professional educators, who are entitled to a presumption of

honesty and integrity, unless actual bias, such as personal

animosity, illegal prejudice or a personal or professional

19

stake in the outcome, can be established. Hortonville Joint

School District No. 1 v. Hortonville Education Association,

426 U.S. 482, 497 (1976). Furthermore, courts are not to

expand substantive due process, which has been limited to

matters relating to marriage, family, procreation, and the

right to bodily integrity, because the guideposts for

responsible decision making in this uncharted area are scarce

and open-ended. Albright v. Oliver, 510 U.S. 266, 271-72

(1994).

Unfortunately, the unresolved constitutional issues in

Ewing and Horowitz have led to twenty years of cases

assuming such rights exist; assuming courts are in a better

position than professional educators to make academic

decisions; and in this case, finding the rights actually exist

As a result, courts have expanded substantive due process to

areas beyond which it has traditionally been limited, namely,

marriage, family, procreation and bodily integrity, Albright

v. Oliver, 510 U.S.-at 271-72. It now includes the right to

second-guess grades, the format of examinations (including

questions asked — or not asked - on oral examinations),

clinical skills, policies on make-up tests and performance

evaluations.

Nationwide, students will now attempt to use Powell

as precedent to claim constitutional protections in a variety

of academic decisions, such as grades, examinations,

curriculum requirements, clinical programs, extra-curricular

activities and student evaluations. This decision undermines

the authority of colleges and universities to set their own

standards, select their own student body and make the

routine day-to-day decisions they are uniquely qualified to

do.

20

Il, THE WISCONSIN SUPREME

COURT INCORRECTLY HELD

THAT A CONSTITUTIONALLY

PROTECTED PROPERTY RIGHT

IN CONTINUING IN A HIGHER

EDUCATION PROGRAM WAS

CLEARLY ESTABLISHED IN

1991.

Under the doctrine of qualified immunity, public

officials cannot be held personally liable unless the law was

clearly established. See Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800,

818 (1982). In this case, the lower courts departed from the

repeated holdings of this Court that the law is clearly

established if and only if (a) there is a consensus in the case

law that the defendant’s conduct was unlawful under federal

law, and (b) that consensus was fact-specific and not a

generalized right.

“To prove the presence of a clearly established

constitutional right, the plaintiff must point to ‘closely

analogous cases’ decided prior to the petitioners’ challenged

actions." Upton v. Thompson, 930 F.2d 1209, 1212 (7th Cir.

1991) (citation omitted). “[W]hat is required is a "sufficient

consensus," based on all relevant case law, indicating that the

official's conduct was unlawful. Landstrom v. Illinois Dep't of

Children, 892 F.2d 670, 676 (7th Cir. 1990). "[U]nless

plaintiffs can show that a sufficient consensus clearly

established the existence of a violated constitutional right, [that

defendant] will receive qualified immunity from Plaintiffs’

damage claims." Crosetto v. State Bar of Wisconsin, 12 F.3d

1396, 1403 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 511 U.S. 1129 (1994).

Federal law, which is controlling on the qualified

immunity issue, was not clearly established in 1991 on

21

whether a constitutionally protected property right existed. It

is appropriate to look to U.S. Supreme Court and Seventh

Circuit precedent to determine whether a right was clearly

established. Denius v. Dunlap, 209 F.3d 944, 950 (7™ Cir.

2000) In 1991, this Court had not decided the issue, it

merely assumed such a right existed Horowitz, 435 U.S. at

84, 85, Ewing, 474 U.S. at 223, 224. However, an

assumption of a protected property right is insufficient under

this Court’s qualified immunity analysis to cre: e a clearly

established right. Hamil v. Vertrees, 2001 WL 135716, *9

(M.D. Ala. 2001) citing Jones v. Cannon, 174 F.3d 1271,

1288 n. 11 (11th Cir. 1999); Soong v. University of Hawaii,

72 Haw. 586, 590, 825 P. 2d 1060, 1062 (1992).

Furthermore, the Seventh Circuit had specifically ruled that

such a right was not cleariy established, stating:

We believe that a university administrator, surveying

these cases at the time the alleged activity described

in the complaint took place, would have concluded

that a substantive due process-based right to

continued enroliment in a state-sponsored academic

program was not clearly established. Therefore, the

defendants in this case are protected from an action

for damages by the doctrine of qualified immunity.”

Akins v. Board of Governors, 840 F. 2d 1371, 1376, 1377

(7th Cir. 1988) vacated on other grounds, 488 U.S. 920

(1988) (emphasis supplied). The Seventh Circuit

subsequently acknowledged that the existence of a property

right is still an open question in the circuit. Osteen v. Henley,

13 F.3d 221, 226 (7th Cir. 1993).

Additionally, in 1991, the holdings of the other

federal circuits were mixed. The Third Circuit had rejected

the claim as a matter of law in one case, Unger, 928 F.2d at

1397, and affirmed it in another. Stoller, 562 F.Supp. at 412,

Pp yeas eS ee ee ae er

22

affirmed without opinion, 727 F.2d 1101 (3d Cir. 1984). The

Sixth Circuit, however, had found such a right existed and

was “long recognized.” Stevens, 646 F.2d at 1169. The

Eighth and Eleventh Circuits had assumed the right existed

without deciding the question. See, e.g., Schuler, 788 F.2d at

513 n. 6; Haberle, 803 F.3d at 1539 n. 1.

“A split among courts regarding the constitutionality of

conduct an iogous to the conduct in question is an indication

that the right was not clearly established at the time of the

alleged violation.” Denius, 209 F.3d at 951. The Wisconsin

Supreme Court split evenly on the issue and wrongly denied

the qualified immunity defense. Denius, 209 F.3d at 951. Drs.

Cooper and Stout are being held to an understanding of

constitutional law that the Wisconsin Supreme Court cannot

agree upon. “If judges thus disagree on a constitutional

question, it is unfair to subject [the defendant] to money

damages for picking the losing side of the controversy.”

Denius, 209 F.3d at 951, quoting Wilson v. Layne, 526 U.S.

603 (1999).

The precedent existing in 1991 does not show a

"sufficient consensus" on this issue to established the

existence of a constitutional right. Crosetto v. State Bar of

Wisconsin, 12 F.3d 1396, 1403 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 511

U.S. 1129 (1994). The Wisconsin Supreme Court erred in

denying Drs. Cooper and Stoudt qualified immunity.

REST AVAILABLE COPY

OR ST PORE ey TNR MS yet y mee Q oy

Se SRR,

ee ce na a a ae aaa AIG ON TEP AAS

en

™ wees

23

CONCLUSION

To reduce frivolous litigation and its burden upon |

colleges and universities nationally, and to clarify the state of

the law, the Court should grant a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully Submitted,

JAMES E. DOYLE

Attorney General

MARY BATT* I

Assistant Attorney General

State Bar No. 1017859

Attorneys for Petitioners

Wisconsin Department of Justice

Post Office Box 7857

Madison, Wisconsin 53707-7857

(608) 266-1001

*Counsel of Record

PP eters

y

;

:

FOE Meee CEE Mae fee Ta ee Pee RR

APPENDIX

Table of Contents

Item Page

Decision of Wisconsin

Supreme Court,

I CIE BF BINED cc sscritessiciteinsncisshaiichtniassannceniianaaibas la

Decision of Wisconsin

Court of Appeals, District IV,

Pe Re GN FID niistiintintsciunicdenretiininisiibiapnnsennniudanaibaia 9a

Decision of Wisconsin

Circuit Court, Branch 17,

No. D7-CV-1151 (illed 12/23/97) ...ccoccosccccccccecsccccncseseseoensooes 4la

Fe Rc iieiiinhtcktinciintentennisdeiitcinnashceiaaainicec iia

-la-

Supreme Court of Wisconsin

Connie G. POWELL, Plaintiff-Respondent,

v.

Arlene M. COOPER and Calvin Stoudt,

Defendants-Appellants-Petitioners.

No. 98-0012. o—

Argued Sept. 6, 2000.

Decided Feb. 16, 2001.

§1 | PER CURIAM.

Dr. Arlene M. Cooper and Dr. Calvin Stoudt (Drs.

Cooper and Stoudt), faculty at the University of Wisconsin

Stout, seek review of an unpublished decision of the court of

appeals,’ affirming in part an order of the Circuit Court for

Dane County, Paul B. Higginbotham, Judge. The court of

appeals held that Drs. Cooper and Stoudt were not entitled to

dismissal of a suit brought under 42 U.S.C. § 1983? by

Connie Powell (Powell). Powell, who had been a graduate

student at the Stout campus, alleged that actions taken by

Drs. Cooper and Stoudt had deprived her of an interest

protected by the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment of the United States Constitution. Drs. Cooper

' Powell v. Cooper, No. 98-0012, 1999 WL 516756, 1999 Wisc.App.

LEXIS 794 (Wis.Ct.App. July 22, 1999).

? 42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides in part: Every person who, under color of

any statute, ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any State or

Territory or District of Columbia, Subjects, or causes to be subjected, any

citizen of the United States or other person within the jurisdiction thereof

to the deprivation of the rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the

constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in an action at

law, suit in equity, or other property proceeding for redress...

-2a-

and Stoudt argue that Powell has not set forth a legally

sufficient complaint alleging a deprivation of a

constitutionally protected interest. Alternatively, Drs. Cooper

and Stoudt contended that they are entitled to qualified

immunity.

q2 In this review we reach two issues. First, the court is

evenly divided upon the question of whether Powell's

complaint alleged the violation of a clearly established

constitutionally protected property right such that defendants

are not entitled to qualified immunity. Accordingly, we

affirm the court of appeals’ conclusion that Drs. Cooper and

Stoudt are not entitled to qualified immunity from Powell's §

1983 claim based upon a deprivation of a property interest in

continuing a course of study.

q3 Second, the court unanimously reverses the court of

appeals’ conclusion that Powell's complaint states a claim

asserting a liberty interest in refusing to unnecessarily

disclose her mental health history. In her complaint, Powell

did not assert a claim based upon a constitutionally protected

liberty interest. Accordingly, we conclude that Powell

waived an assertion of such a claim.

q4 In addition to these two issues, we also address a

procedural question relating to interlocutory appeal from a

circuit court order denying a state official's claim of qualified

immunity in a § 1983 action. The court of appeals concluded

that although it is required to grant such a petition when it is

initiated in a timely manner following a motion for summary

judgment, the court may, in its discretion, grant such

petitions after a motion to dismiss. Powell v. Cooper, No.

98-0012, unpublished slip op. at 16 n. 5, 1999 WL 516756

(Wis.Ct.App. July 22, 1999). We agree. When a petition for

interlocutory review is filed prior to the litigation reaching

the summary judgment stage, the court of appeals may

-3a-

exercise its discretion in determining whether to grant review

of the qualified immunity issue.

I

q5 On motion to dismiss, and for purposes of qualified

immunity analysis, the facts set forth in the pleadings are

accepted as true. Penterman v. Wisconsin Elec. Power Co.,

211 Wis. 2d 458, 463, 565 N.W.2d 521 (1997). In her

amended complaint, Powell asserts that in 1987 she

matriculated into the graduate student program in guidance

and counseling at the University of Wisconsin-Stout. Powell

told her academic advisor, Dr. David Cook, that she suffered

from a manic-depressive disorder. Dr. Cook advised Powell

that her condition would not affect completing the program.

46 Powell fulfilled all the requirements to obtain her

degree, except for completing a practicurn. and master’s

thesis. In December 1990 Powell spoke to Dr. Cooper about

scheduling the practicurn. for the spring of 1991. Powell

informed Dr. Cooper of her manic-depressive disorder.

Subsequently, Dr. Cooper declined to schedule Powell into

the practicum program.

q7 In January 1991 Powell met with Drs. Cooper and

Stoudt. At the meeting, Powell was informed that she would

be permitted to undertake the practicum. if she agreed to

disclose her manic-depressive condition to the site

supervisor. Powell refused to make this disclosure. As a

result, she was not allowed to undertake the practicum and

could not complete her course of study.

48 In January 1997 Powell filed suit against Drs.

Cooper and Stoudt. Powell asserted that the actions by Drs.

Cooper and Stoudt had deprived her of an interest protected

by both the procedural-and substantive aspects of the Due

-4a-

Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United

States Constitution. The defendants filed a motion to

dismiss, which was denied by the circuit court. The circuit

court concluded that Drs. Cooper and Stoudt were not

entitled to qualified immunity because in January 1991 the

law was Clearly established that Powell had a constitutionally

protected property interest in continuing her graduate school

program, which could not be denied without a hearing. In

addition, the circuit court held that the actions by Drs.

Cooper and Stoudt were arbitrary and capricious.

q9 Subsequently, Drs. Cooper and Stoudt petitioned for

interlocutory review. The court of appeals granted the

petition and affirmed the circuit court. Drs. Cooper and

Stoudt then petitioned this court to review the decision of the

court of appeals, which was granted.

II

q10 We begin by determining whether the court of

appeals properly concluded that Powell had filed a complaint

alleging a deprivation of both a constitutionally protected

property and liberty interest. Whether a complaint states a

claim upon which relief can be granted is a question of law,

which this court reviews without deference to lower courts.

Weber v. City of Cedarburg, 129 Wis.2d 57, 64, 384 N.W.2d

333 (1986). The court of appeals also concluded that Drs.

Cooper and Stoudt were not entitled to qualified immunity.

Application of the doctrine of qualified immunity is also a

question of law, which we decide independently. Arneson v.

Jezwinski, 225 Wis.2d 371, 592 N.W.2d 606 (1999).

il

411 The Fourteenth Amendment protects certain liberty

and property interests. In this case, the court of appeals

GR SPURNED SER RRR Ihe NNER SHEN Rv cor Relient onnernin , "

y

4 4 :

:

é

5

a

:

2.

'

-5a-

determined that Powell's amended complaint alleged a

clearly established property interest in continuing the course

of study she had begun at the university. Powell v. Cooper,

No. 98-0012, unpublished slip op. at 9, 1999 WL 516756

(Wis.Ct.App. July 22, 1999). In addition, the court of appeals

held that Powell had claimed a liberty interest, which it

identified as a privacy right in avoiding unnecessary

disclosure of her mental health history. Jd. at 10. The court

of appeals concluded that Drs. Cooper and Stoudt were not

entitled to qualified immunity because Powell's due process

claims were grounded on clearly established property and

liberty interests. Jd. at 19.

q12 We consider first Powell's assertion that she has a

property interest in continuing her course of study begun at

the university. Drs. Cooper and Stoudt contend that there is

no such constitutionally protected property right and, as a

result, there can be no due process violation. This court is

equally divided on the question of whether Drs. Cooper and

Stoudt are entitled to qualified immunity on this issue.

Justices Ann Walsh Bradley, N. Patrick Crooks and David T.

Prosser would affirm the court of appeals’ conclusion that

such a property right existed at the time in question, was

clearly established, and accordingly the defendants were not

entitled to qualified immunity. Justices William A. Bablitch,

Jon P. Wilcox, and Diane S. Sykes would reverse,

concluding that even assuming such property right existed at

the time, it was not well established and therefore, the

defendants were entitled to qualified immunity. Accordingly,

the decision of the court of appeals concluding that there is a

constitutionally protected property right in continuing her

course of study, and that the defendants were not entitled to

qualified immunity on that issue, is affirmed.

913 We turn next to consider the conclusion by the court

of appeals that Powell sufficiently alleged a clearly

-6a-

established liberty interest in not unnecessarily disclosing her

mental health history. On this issue, we unanimously reverse.

414 It is well established that pleadings are to be liberally

construed. Morgan v. Pennsylvania Gen. Ins. Co., 87 Wis.2d

723, 731, 275 N.W.2d 660 (1979). A claim should not be

dismissed unless it appears to a certainty that no relief can be

granted under any set of facts that a plaintiff can prove in

support of his or her allegations. Id. The court of appeals

construed Powell's complaint as asserting a liberty interest.

However, Powell's complaint does not set forth any

statement concerning a liberty interest, and at oral argument

before this court, counsel for Powell stated that she did not

plead a liberty interest. Under these circumstances, we

concluded that the court of appeals' finding of a clearly

established liberty interest in refusing to unnecessarily

disclose her mental health history must be reversed.

qi5 Finally, the decision of the court of appeals presents

an opportunity for this to clarify the circumstance under

which the court of appeals is required to grant a petition for

interlocutory appeal from a circuit court order denying a

state official’s claim of qualified immunity in a § 1983

action. The court of appeals concluded that under Arneson v.

Jezwinski, 206 Wis.2d 217, 556 N.W.2d 721 (1996)

(hereinafter Arneson I), as clarified in Penterman, that it is

required to grant a petition for interlocutory review of a

denial of qualified immunity when it follows a summary

judgment motion; however, on motion to dismiss the court

may, in its discretion, grant such an appeal if it determines

that review of the qualified immunity issue is not premature.

We agree.

416 In Areson I, we directed the court of appeals to

grant every petition for interlocutory appeal from a circuit

court order denying a state official’s claim of qualified

ho NORTE LUT RDN TEN Bo OE Do gree snc tes sea mamiip onsen ey a+

ate ae

-7a-

immunity in a § 1983 action "so long as the circuit court

order is based on an issue of law, such as whether the federal

right allegedly violated was clearly established at the time

the action was taken....". Arneson J, 206 Wis.2d at 220, 556

N.W.2d 721. When qualified immunity is raised as an

affirmative defense, the plaintiff has the burden of

demonstrating by closely analogous case law that the

defendant violated a clearly established constitutional right.

Penterman, 211 Wis.2d at 469, 565 N.W.2d 521. The

question presented in such a case "is whether a reasonable

state official could have believed his or her act was

constitutional ‘in light of clearly established law and the

information [he or she] possessed’ at the time of the official's

action." Penterman, 211 Wis.2d at 470, 565 N.W.2d 521

(quoting Burkes v. Klauser, 185 Wis.2d 308, 326, 517

N.W.2d 503 (1994)). This inquiry is fact specific and

"focuses on the circumstances with which the official is

confronted.” Jd at 471-72, 565 N.W.2d 521.

917 For the reasons set forth in Arneson I, we continue to

conclude, pursuant to the this court's superintending power

over lower state courts in article VI, section 3 of the

Wisconsin Constitution, that the court of appeals should

grant these petitions when they arise from a summary

judgment order that turns on an issue of law and denies a

claim of qualified immunity. However, when the

interlocutory appeal arises on motion to dismiss, the court of

appeals should exercise its sound discretion in determining

whether or not to grant the petition. In a given case the facts

and circumstances confronting the state official may not be

sufficiently developed on motion to dismiss for the

reviewing court to reach any other conclusion than to affirm

the circuit court's denial of a qualified immunity claim.

918 The primary benefit of qualified immunity is

immunity from suit. Arneson I, 206 Wis.2d at 226, 556

CEE Rio ee A

-Sa-

N.W.2d721. This benefit is lost if a case erroneously

proceeds to trial. However in the proper case, and under the

sound discretion of the court of appeals, allowing the action

to proceed from motion to dismiss to the summary judgment

stage will continue to provide officials with the benefit of

this affirmative defense.

919 We conclude, therefore, that an interlocutory appeal

from a circuit court's denial of qualified immunity shali be

granted when it arises on motion for summary judgment, and

is discretionary under the criteria set forth in Wis. State §

808.03 (2) (1997-98) when it arises from a motion to

dismiss.

The decision of the court of appeals is affirmed in

part, reversed in part, and the cause remanded to the circuit

court.

920 SHIRLEY S. ABRAHAMSON, C.J., did not

participate.

-9a-

Court of Appeals of Wisconsin

Connie G. POWELL, Plaintiff-Respondent,

v.

Arlene M. COOPER and Calvin Stoudt, Defendants-

Appellants.

No. 98-0012.

July 22, 1999.

APPEAL from an order of the circuit court for Dane

County: PAUL B. HIGGINBOTHAM, Judge. Affirmed in

part; reversed in part and cause remanded.

Before DYKMAN, P.J.. VERGERONT and

ROGGENSACK, JJ.

Doctors Arlene Cooper and Calvin Stoudt appeal

from an order of the circuit court denying their motion to

dismiss an amended complaint filed by Connie Powell. We

conclude that Cooper and Stoudt are not entitled to dismissal

based on qualified immunity because Powell sufficiently

alleged a 42 U.S.C. § 1983 claim grounded in procedural and

substantive due process violations, bottomed on a clearly

established property interest in continuing a course of study

and a clearly established liberty interest in refusing to

unnecessarily disclose her mental health history. Regarding

Powell's claim of negligent infliction of emotional distress,

we conclude that the statute of limitations precludes this

claim as presently pled. Therefore, we affirm in part; reverse

in part and remand for further proceedings.

-10a-

BACKGROUND

In the fall of 1987, Powell was admitted to the

graduate program in guidance and counseling at the

University of Wisconsin-Stout.' At that time, Dr. David

Cook was assigned as her academic advisor. Powell told

Cook that she had a history of manic-depressive disorder,

and Cook advised her that it would not affect her completion

of the graduate program at Stout. At that time and until

December 1990, no UW-Stout staff member told Powell that

her mental health history would affect the completion of her

graduate work.

By December 1990, Powell had completed all of the

course work required for a Master's Degree in guidance and

counseling, with the exception of the practicum and Master's

thesis. She spoke with Cooper to schedule her practicum for

the spring of 1991. Upon telling Cooper of her manic-

depressive condition, Cooper refused to assign Powell to a

practicum.

On January 28, 1991, Cooper and Stoudt held a

meeting with Powell during which Cooper told her she

would be allowed to participate in the practicum necessary to

completion of the masters degree program, only if she

disclosed her manic- depressive condition to her practicum

site supervisor. Stoudt knew about and approved of this

requirement and supervised Cooper in offering it to Powell at

the meeting. Powell refused to disclose her mental health

history to her site supervisor and as a result, Cooper and

Stoudt refused to permit her to participate in the practicum

' All of the facts in this opinion are taken from the amended complaint,

which facts, and the reasonable inferences therefrom, are presumed to be

true for purposes of this motion. Penterman v. Wisconsin Elec. Power

Co., 211 Wis.2d 458, 463, 565 N.W.2d 521, 526 (1997).

-lla-

necessary to continuing her course of study. Prior to being

refused admission to the practicum, Powell had a grade point

average of 3.887 in all completed classes, had paid all tuition

and fees, and was a graduate student in good standing.

On January 24, 1997, Powell filed suit under 42

U.S.C. § 1983 alleging that she had constitutionally

protected rights: (1) to continue her graduate program at

UW-Stout; (2) to refuse to unnecessarily reveal her manic-

depressive condition to her practicum site supervisor; and (3)

to a hearing to determine the necessity of the disclosure prior

to precluding her from participating in the practicum. She

also claimed Cooper and Stoudt's decision was arbitrary and

capricious and she alleged the negligent infliction of

emotional distress.

On December 23, 1997, the circuit court denied

Cooper and Stoudt's motion to dismiss Powell's amended

complaint, holding that the defendants were not entitled to

qualified immunity because the law was clearly established

in January of 1991 that Powell had a constitutionally

protected property interest in continuing her graduate school

education, which could not be denied without a hearing. The

circuit court also concluded that Cooper and Stoudt's actions

in refusing to permit Powell to participate in the practicum

were arbitrary and capricious. Additionally, the circuit court

declined to apply the state law defense of discretionary act

immunity and held that the discovery rule tolled the running

of the three-year statute of limitations under § 893.54(1),

Stats. Cooper and Stoudt petitioned for leave to appeal and

we granted their request.

-12a-

DISCUSSION

Standard of Review.

Whether a complaint states a claim upon which relief

can be granted is a question of law, which we review without

deference to the circuit court's decision. Heinrtiz v.

Lawrence Univ., 194 Wis.2d 606, 610, 535 N.W.2d 81, 83

(Ct.App.1995). Whether immunity lies because of qualified

immunity, or whether the complaint provides a statute of

limitations defense on its face, are also questions of law

which we review de novo. Arneson v. Jezwinski, 225 Wis.2d

371, 592 N.W.2d 606, 613 (1999) (citations omitted); Barry

v. Maple Bluff Country Club, 221 Wis.2d 707, 714, 586

N.W.2d 182, 185 (Ct.App. 1998) (citations omitted).

Introduction.

Cooper and Stoudt raise eight issues in their appellate

brief; however, the fourth issue was not raised in their

petition for leave to appeal under § 808.03(2), Stats., nor is it

a subpart of any issue that was set forth in the petition

approved for appeal in our March 23, 1998 order. Because

this issue was not specifically raised and approved for

appeal, we will not consider it in this discretionary appeal.

See Waushara County v. Graf, 166 Wis.2d 442, 451, 480

N.W.2d 16, 19 (1992); Power Sys. Analysis, Inc. v. City of

Bloomer, 197 Wis.2d 817, 821 n. 2, 541 N.W.2d 214, 215 n.

2 (Ct.App.1995).

Qualified Immunity.

Qualified immunity is a doctrine that protects

government officials from civil liability, if the complained of

conduct does not violate constitutional rights which were

-13a-

clearly established. It may be invoked when a federal claim

is made. Penterman v. Wisconsin Elec. Power Co., 211

Wis.2d 458, 469, 565 N.W.2d 521, 528 (1997) (citing

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818, 102 S.Ct 2727, 73

L.Ed.2d 396 (1982)). Even though qualified immunity is an

affirmative defense, a plaintiff must be able to demonstrate

by closely analogous case law that the defendant's alleged

conduct constituted a clearly established constitutional

violation at the time the acts occurred. Penterman, 211

Wis.2d at 470, 565 N.W.2d at 529.

When we conduct a qualified immunity analysis

presented through a motion to dismiss, we accept the facts

pled in the complaint as true. Jd., at 463, 565 N.W.2d at 526.

Therefore, at this stage in the litigation, our analysis requires

us to construe Powell's allegations liberally and to view them

in the light most favorable to her. Trial Assocs., Inc. v.

Robinson, 10 F.3d 492, 495 (7th Cir. 1993). Further, the

"possibility that [a defendant] will claim immunity does not

require [a] plaintiff to anticipate and plead around that

defense." Elliott v. Thomas, 937 F.2d 338, 345 (7th Cir.

1991).

1. Clearly Established Constitutional Violation.

Powell's constitutional claim invokes 42 U.S.C. §

1983.7 Section 1983, in and of itself, does not create

substantive constitutional rights; rather, it provides a remedy

? 42 U.S.C § 1983 provides in relevant part:

Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance, regulation,

custom, or usage, of any State or Territory or District of Columbia,

subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen of the United States or

other person within the jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any

rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the Constitution and laws,

shall be liable to the party injured in an action at law, suit in equity, or

other proper proceeding for redress.

-14a-

for the deprivation of rights established elsewhere.

Chapman v. Houston Welfare Rights Org., 441 U.S. 600,

617-18, 99 S.Ct. 1905, 60 L.Ed.2d 508 (1979). To state a

cause of action under § 1983, a party must allege that a

person acting under the color of state law deprived that party

of rights, privileges, or immunities protected by the

Constitution or laws of the United States. Gomez v. Toledo,

446 U.S. 635, 640, 100 S.Ct. 1920, 64 L.Ed.2d 572 (1980).

Powell's amended complaint alleges that Cooper was

an assistant professor of counseling and psychological

services at UW-Stout and that Stoudt was the program

director for the School of Guidance, Counseling and

Psychological Services at UW-Stout. Further, she alleges

they "act[ed] under color of statutes, regulations, custom,

policy, and usage of the State of Wisconsin and the

University of Wisconsin system" and that "[eJach of the

defendants herein acted under color of law in depriving the

plaintiff of her rights under the Constitution of the United

States, causing the plaintiff to suffer damage and injury."

Based on these allegations, we conclude that Powell has

satisfied the "under the color of state law" requirement. We

therefore focus our inquiry on whether Powell has

sufficiently alleged a deprivation of any right, privilege, or

immunity secured by the Constitution or laws of the United

States, which right and the deprivation thereof were clearly

established when Cooper and Stoudt's actions occurred.

Powell claims that her right to due process was

violated. Ina § 1983 claim, alleging a violation of due

process that is either procedural or substantive, a plaintiff

must show a deprivation of a constitutionally protected

interest in life, liberty, or property. U.S. CONST. amend.

XIV, § 1; Penterman, 211 Wis.2d at 473, 565 N.W.2d at

530. Powell alleges she had a property interest in continuing

the course ci study she had begun, and she also alleges what

-1Sa-

we construe to be a liberty interest in not unnecessarily

disclosing her mental health history.

a. Property interest.

Property interests are not created by the Constitution,

but rather, are determined exclusively under state law.

Arneson, 225 Wis.2d at ----, 592 N.W.2d at 613. Therefore,

we must determine whether Powell has sufficiently alleged

that she had a constitutionally protected property right under

state law to complete her graduate: program at UW-Stout.

Penterman, 211 Wis.2d at 480, 565 N.W.2d at 533 (citing

Riedy v. Sperry, 83 Wis.2d 158, 164, 265 N.W.2d 475, 478-

79 (1978)).

In support of her contention, Powell has alleged that

at the beginning of her graduate course of study she

disclosed her mental health history to Cook, her academic

advisor, and was told that it would not affect her completion

of the program; that she achieved a 3.887 grade point

average for all courses taken; that she paid all tuition and

fees; that she was a student in good standing; and that she

borrowed substantial sums of money to enable her to pursue

her course of study. She alleges that Cooper and Stoudt

wrongfully denied her the opportunity to continue in the

graduate program when they refused to assign her to a

practicum,

which was necessary to completion of her course of study.

We conclude that Powell's complaint contains more than

mere conclusory allegations that she had a property right.

And as was done in Riedy, Powell has alleged particularized

facts demonstrating a property right. That property interest

could have arisen through promissory estoppel or a contract

with UW-Stout.

aa...

-16a-

Several cases interpreting Wisconsin law had clearly

established a constitutionally protected property interest in

continuing a course of study prior to the conduct of which

Powell complains. As early as 1932 in Frank v. Marquette

Univ., 209 Wis. 372, 377, 245 N.W. 125, 127 (1932), the

supreme court recognized a property interest in the

continuance of a college education, holding that

[t]he law is apparently well settled that a

university, college, or school may not

arbitrarily or capriciously dismiss a student or

deny to him the right to continue his course of

study therein. So long as they act in response

to sufficient reasons and not arbitrarily or

capriciously their acts may not be interfered

with by the courts.

Id. While not specifically referred to as a property interest in

Frank, the court phrased the claim as one "to compel the

defendant university specifically to perform its contract with

[Frank].” Jd. at 377, 245 N.W. at 126. Based upon that

claim, the court held that Frank had the right to continue in a

course of study, a right that was protected from arbitrary and

capricious state action.

In Martin v. Helsted, 578 F.Supp 1473 (W.D.Wis.

1983), the Federal District Court for the Western District of

Wisconsin addressed a § 1983action alleging that the

University of Wisconsin Law School violated Martin's due

process and equal protection rights by dismissing him for

lying about criminal convictions on his law school

application. In analyzing the procedural due process claim,

the court concluded that "[c]ourts and state law recognize a

property interest in continuing education once a student has

begun a course of study." Jd. at 1480. Even though Martin

had only recently been accepted into law school, the court

EEE

a es

-17a-

nevertheless concluded that he enjoyed a property interest in

continuing his education, that was protected by some degree

of due process. Jd. at 1482. Additionally, in Anderson v.

University of Wisconsin, 665 F.Supp 1372, 1396 (W.D.Wis.

1987), aff'd,841 F.2d 737 (7th Cir.1988), the court confirmed

that a student has a property interest in continuing education

once the student has begun a course of study. We therefore

conclude that Powell alleged sufficient facts to establish that

she had a clearly established property interest in continuing

her course of study.

b. Liberty interest.

Powell alleges a constitutional violation because

Cooper and Stoudt required her to disclose her mental health

history to her practicum supervisor as a condition precedent

to continuing in her graduate course of study. We construe

this to be a claimed violation of a liberty interest.’

Liberty interests may arise under either federal or

state law. For example, the Fourteenth Amendment of the

United States Constitution protects an "individual interest in

avoiding disclosure of personal matters." Hillman v.

Columbia County, 164 Wis.2d 376, 400 474 N.W.2d 913,

922 (Ct.App.1991) (citing Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589,

599-600, 97 S.Ct. 869, 51 L.Ed.2d 64 (1977)). This personal

liberty interest arises from a "guarantee" under federal law,

of certain areas or "zones of privacy." Borucki v. Ryan, 827

F.2d 836, 839 (1 st Cir.1987) (citing Roe v. Wade, 410 US.

* The dissent takes issue with our giving a label to what has been alleged,

but in a motion to dismiss, the movant can prevail only if there is no way

in which the pleadings can be construed to state a claim for relief.

Heinritz v. Lawrence Univ., 194 Wis.2d 606, 610-11, 535 N.W.2d 81, 83

(Ct.App. 1995). Therefore, in order to analyze the motion before us, we

must articulate in terms of potential legal claims the facts which have

been pled.

-18a-

113, 152, 93 S.Ct. 705, 35 L.Ed.2d 147 (1973)). The privacy

rights that are protected by the Constitution are "limited to

those which are 'fundamental' or ‘implicit within the concept

of ordered liberty’ ....". Borucki, 827 F.2d at 839 (citations

omitted).

In Wisconsin, the legislature has also recognized a

right of privacy by creating § 895.50, Stats. Wisconsin courts

have reviewed claims for relief based on alleged violations

of that statute and on alleged violations of substantive due

process grounded in the right of privacy protected by the

Fourteenth Amendment. See Zinda v.Louisiana Pacific

Corp., 149 Wis.2d 913, 440 N.W..2d 548 (1989); Hillman,

164 Wis.2d at 400, 474 N.W.2d at 922. Furthermore, courts

in other jurisdictions have recognized a constitutionally

protected privacy right in not unnecessarily disclosing

mental health information. See Daury v. Smith, 842 F.2d 9,

13-15 (1st Cir. 1988) (recognizing the right of privacy in

avoiding disclosure of psychiatric records); National Transp.

Safety Bd. v. Hollywood Mem'l Hosp., 735 F. Supp. 423, 424

(S.D.Fla.1990) (concluding that avoiding disclosure of

psychiatric records falls within the sphere of constitutionally

protected privacy); McKenna v. Fargo, 451 F.Supp. 1355,

1379-81 (D.N.J.1978) (recognizing a constitutional privacy

right extends to emotional and mental conditions). Therefore,

we conclude that Powell had a clearly established liberty

interest in not unnecessarily disclosing her mental health

history.

* The dissent disputes that Powell has any such privacy right because she

filed this lawsuit, thereby making her mental health history public.

However, the same statement could be made about any plaintiff who

seeks to protect a personal right of privacy. Additionally, the dissent's

position is undermined by the legislature's enactment of § 895.50, Stats.;

this court's decision in Hillman v. Columbia County, 164 Wis.2d 374,

400, 474 N.W.2d 913, 922 (Ct.App.1991); and the UnitedStates Supreme

-19a-

2. Procedural Due Process.

Once a property or a liberty interest has been

established, it may not be denied without procedural due

process. Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S. 565, 577, 95 S.Ct. 729, 42

L.Ed.2d 725 (1975); Arneson, 225 Wis.2d at ----, 592

N.W.2d at 619. However, dismissal of Powell's procedural

due process claims are appropriate if "the procedures

attendant upon the deprivation of [her] interest were [not]

clearly established ..., such that reasonable officials in the

defendants' positions would [not] have been aware their

actions violated" Powell's rights. Arneson, 225 Wis.2d at ----,

592 N.W.2d at 615-16.

In determining what procedure was clearly due in

1991, we examine United States Supreme Court, United

States Circuit Court and United States District Court

opinions because, even though only Supreme Court opinions

can establish the law, the opinions of the circuit and district

courts give us the shape of the law that has been established.

"'A ‘sufficient consensus based on all relevant case law,

indicating that the officials’ conduct was unlawful’ is

required.’ " Arneson, 225 Wis.2d at ----, 592 N.W.2d at 615

(quoting Henderson v. DeRobertis, 940 F.2d 1055, 1058-59

(7th Cir. 1991) (further citations omitted)). The

determination of what type of process should have been

accorded requires the balancing of three factors:

‘First, the private interest that will be affected

by the official action; second, the risk of an

erroneous deprivation of such interest through

procedures used, and the probable value, if

any, of additional or substitute procedural

Court's decision in Whalen v. Roe, 429 U.S. 589, 599-600, 97 S.Ct. 869,

51 L.Ed.2d 64 (1977).

-20a-

safeguards; and finally, the Government's

interest.’

Arneson, 225 Wis.2d at ----, 592 N.W.2d at 620-21 (quoting

Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319, 335, 96 S.Ct. 893, 47

L.Ed.2d 18 (1976). Furthermore, a determination of what

kind of process is due depends on whether Cooper and

Stoudt's refusal to assign Powell to a practicum was an

academic decision, grounded in Powell's failure to meet one

of the academic criteria for continuing in graduate school, or

whether it was a disciplinary action, imposed as a

consequence of Powell's refusal to disclose her mental health

history to her practicum site supervisor, as she was asked to

do. See Board of Curators of Univ. of Mo. v. Horowitz, 435

US. 78, 87, 98 S.Ct. 948, 55 L.Ed.2d 124 (1978).

Here, Powell alleges she was given no oral or written

notice of the basis, whether academic or disciplinary, for

refusing to permit her to participate in the practicum, or for

requiring the disclosure of her mental health history to the

practicum supervisor. Additionally, she was not given a

hearing. Therefore, because there is no showing in the

amended complaint of any procedural due process accorded

Powell and because there are too many factual inquiries that

must be concluded before we can determine what procedure

was due, we conclude Powell's procedural due process

claims should not be dismissed based on qualified immunity.

3. Substantive Due Process.

Powell also alleges a violation of substantive due

process, claiming that Cooper and Stoudt's actions were

arbitrary and capricious. As in claims of procedural due

process violations, substantive due process claims must be

bottomed on an alleged deprivation of a liberty or a property

interest protected by the Constitution. Peterman, 211 Wis.2d

i

-2la-

at 480, 565 N.W.2d at 533. However, substantive due

process protects individuals from arbitrary, wrongful actions

regardless of the process afforded prior to the deprivation.

Id. As the Supreme Court has said "the exercise of power

without any reasonable justification in the service of a

legitimate governmental objective" is the touchstone of a

substantive due process violation. County of Sacramento v.

Lewis, 523, U.S. 833, 118 S.Ct. 1708, 1716 140 L.Ed.2d

1043 (1998).

The criteria used to decide what is impermissibly

arbitrary differ, depending on whether the complained of

action is legislative or the specific act of a governmental

officer. Jd. When it is the act of government officers, as in

the case at bar, " ‘substantive due process’ prevents the

government from engaging in conduct that ‘shocks the

conscience,’ ... or [conduct which] interferes with rights

‘implicit in the concept of ordered liberty.’ " Jd at 1717

(quoting Rochin v. California, 342 U.S. 165, 172, 72 S.Ct.

205, 96 L.Ed. 183 (1952) and Palko v. Connecticut, 302 U.S.

319, 325-26, 58 S.Ct. 149, 82 L.Ed. 288 (1937)).

Here, the liberty interest that Powell asserts in

refusing to unnecessarily disclose her mental health history

is based upon her personal right of privacy, which the

Supreme Court has established is grounded in the right of

privacy, implicit in the concept of ordered liberty. See

Whalen, 429 U.S. at 599. Therefore, Cooper and Stoudt may

not interfere with Powell's liberty interest by requiring

disclosure of her mental health history unless, on balance,

the government's interest in disclosure outweighs Powell's

interest in maintaining the privacy of this personal

information. See Hillman, 164 Wis.2d at401, 474 N.W.2d at

922 (citations omitted). When the balancing of interests is

required, a plaintiff faces a high, but not an insurmountable,

hurdle in meeting the burden that a defense of qualified

immunity invokes. Arneson, 225 Wis.2d at ----, 592 N.W.2d

-22a-

at 621. Because we review only the amended complaint in

this motion to dismiss, we have nw information before us on

the governmental interest in disclosure and whether that

interest would be sufficient to override Powell's liberty

interest. Because this is a fact- intensive determination not

appropriately made in a motion to dismiss, we conclude

Powell's substantive due process claim relative to her liberty

interest should not be dismissed.

On the other hand, the property right Powell asserts

in continuing her course of study would be subject to the

"shocks the conscience" standard in a substantive due

processschallenge. Negligent conduct is insufficient, as a

matter of law, to shock the conscience, but conduct that is

intended to injure in some way "unjustifiable by any

government interest" will generally be sufficient to satisfy

that standard. County of Sacramento, 118 S.Ct. at 1718. The

third category of conduct, that of deliberate indifference,

falls in between the two extremes, and many substantive due

process claims are analyzed with reference to this category

of conduct. Jd. However, the Supreme Court has instructed

that:

Deliberate indifference that shocks in one

environment may not be so patently egregious

in another, and our concern with preserving

the constitutional proportions of substantive

due process demands an exact analysis of

circumstances before any abuse of power is

condemned as conscience-shocking.

Id. at 1718-19.

A substantive due process claim, based on a property

right which arose in an academic setting, was examined in

Regents of Univ. of Misc. v. Ewing, 474 U.S. 214, 106 S.Ct.

507, 88 L.Ed.2d 523 (1985). There, Ewing had been enrolled

-23a-

in a special six-year program known as "Inteflex," which was

designed to lead to a Doctor of Medicine degree, as well as

an undergraduate degree. Part of the program required

students to pass a test known as the NBME Part I, which

Ewing failed. Ewing asked to repeat the exam, but after

repeated hearings, the University remained firm in its

decision denying his request. There was no question that the

record conclusively showed Ewing had received ample

procedural due process. Rather, the question was whether

"the University acted arbitrarily in dropping Ewing from the

Inteflex program without permitting a reexamination."

Because Ewing had failed an exam and because the

University had thoroughly reviewed his entire academic

record and based its decision refusing to permit him to retake

the exam on his overall academic performance, the Court

characterized the decision as a "genuinely academic

decision." Once that determination had been made the Court

opined:

When judges are asked to review the

substance of a genuinely academic decision,

such as this one, they should show great

respect for the faculty's professional

judgment. Plainly, they may not override it

unless it is such a substantial departure from

accepted academic norms as to demonstrate

that the person or committee responsible did

not actually exercise professional judgment.

Id. at 225 (citation and footnote omitted).

However, if the decision is disciplinary, a substantive

due process claim may stand on different footing in an

academic setting, as does a claim of the denial of procedural

due process. See Board of Curators of Univ. of Mo., 435 U.S.

at 87.

-24a-

There is no allegation in the amended complaint that

would cause us to conclude that Cooper and Stoudt intended

to harm Powell when they refused to assign her to a

practicum. Therefore, in order for a substantive due process

claim to lie in regard to Powell's asserted property right to

continue in her graduate course of study, Powell must be

able to prove that Cooper and Stoudt's refusal to assign her to

a practicum was done with deliberate indifference to her

rights. See County of Sacramento, 118 S.Ct. at 1718-1.

However, this is not a determination that can be made in the

course of a motion to dismiss becauseit is fact-driven.

Therefore, we conclude that Powell's substantive due process

claim grounded in her property interest in continuing in her

graduate course of studies should not be dismissed.°

Statute of Limitations.

Cooper and Stoudt argue that Powell's claim for

negligent infliction of emotional distress is barred by the

* When Cooper and Stoudt brought their petition for interlocutory review,

Powell agreed that we were obliged to grant it for the issue of qualified

immunity due to the supreme court's decision in Arneson v. Jezwinski,

206 Wis.2d, 216, 556 N.W.2d 721 (1996\Arneson I ). Additionally,

when we granted the petition, we too read Armeson I as requiring us to

grant the petition in regard to the issue of qualified immunity. However,

upon further reflection, we read Arneson I, as clarified by a subsequent

discussion in Penterman, 211 Wis.2d at Wis.2d at 463, 565 N.W.2d at

526, as requiring us to grant such petitions only when they follow a

summary judgment motion, and that in our discretion, we may grant

them after a motion to dismiss, if we determine that a decision on the

issue of qualified immunity is not premature. We note that in most cases

it is better to have the trial court decide such a defense through a motion

for summary judgment, after the facts have been further developed, as it

would have been in this case. However, because the parties have briefed

the issues, because Powell has never argued that the appeal of the issue

of qualified immunity is premature, and because the statute of limitations

question was ripe for review, we have decided the appeal rather than

dismissing it as improvidently granted.

-25a-

statute of limitations because she did not plead that she

discovered her emotional injury within three years of the

filing of this lawsuit, and in the alternative, because the

discovery rule does not apply to Powell's claim. Powell

contends that the discovery rule applies to the accrual of her

claim, and that there is no reason not to infer from the

pleadings that her claim accrued within three years of the

commencement of this action.

Because this affirmative defense is presented to us on

a motion to dismiss, the only facts we consider are those

presented on the face of the amended complaint,° and the

reasonable inferences therefrom. Peters v. Peters Auto

Sales, Inc., 37 Wis.2d 346, 348, 155 N.W.2d 85, 86 (1967).

The statute of limitations for a claim of negligent infliction

of emotional distress is three years. Section 893.54(1), Stats.

The three-year period begins on the date that the cause of

action accrues. Pritzlaff v. Archdiocese, 194 Wis.2d 302,

312, 533 N.W.2d 780,784 (1995). "[A] cause of action

accrues when there exists a claim capable of enforcement, a

Suitable party against whom it may be enforced, and a party

with a present right to enforce it." Jd. at 315, 533 N.W.2d at

785 (citations omitted). "A party has a present right to

enforce a claim when the plaintiff has suffered actual

damage, defined as harm that has already occurred or is

reasonably certain to occur in the future." Jd.

While the cause of action usually accrues on the date

of the alleged negligent conduct, "under some circumstances,

public policy dictates that the date that a cause of action

accrues [may] be well after the date of the act that caused

harm." Jd. at 312, 533 N.W.2d at 784. Those circumstances

are outlined in the judicially created discovery rule which

° Because Powell filed a complaint and an amended complaint, we have

reviewed both documents.

-26a-

"tolls the statute of limitations until the plaintiff discovers or

with reasonable diligence should have discovered that he or

she has suffered actual damage due to wrongs committed by

a particular, identified person." Jd. at 312, 533 N.W.2d at

785. Further, a "cause of action does not accrue until the

nature of the injury and the cause-- or at least a relationship

between the event and injury--is or ought to have been

known to the claimant." Borello v. U.S. Oil Co., 130 Wis.2d

397, 406-07, 388 N.W.2d 140, 144 (1986); see also Bowen v.

Lumbermens Mut. Case. Co., 183 Wis.2d 627,632, 517

N.W.2d 432, 434 (1994); Hammer v. Hammer, 142 Wis.2d

257, 264, 418 N.W.2d 23, 26 (Ct.App.1987).

The record reflects that Powell commenced this

action by the filing of a summons and a complaint on

January 24, 1997. An amended complaint was filed June 30,

1997. In the amended complaint, she alleges that, "as a result

of the defendants’ conduct in denying plaintiff the

opportunity to complete her graduate school program” she

"did suffer physical injury and emotional distress causing a

disabling emotional response to defendants’ conduct,

resulting in the plaintiffs’ (sic) inability to function in other

relationships, which was a direct and proximate result of the

defendants conduct herein." Powell does not identify when

she discovered her emotional injury or even that its

discovery was delayed beyond January 28, 1991, when

Powell states Cooper and Stoudt refused to permit her to

participate in the practicum necessary to the completion of

her graduate course of study.

The circuit court inferred from the amended

complaint that Powell's emotional distress did not become

apparent to her or she did not connect her emotional distress

to the alleged wrongs of Cooper and Stoudt until some time

after she left the university. However, there is nothing within

the four corners of the amended complaint which so states,

-27a-

or even so implies. After reviewing the amended complaint,

one could not reasonably believe that Powell's injury, or

knowledge of the cause of her injury, was delayed until at

least January 25, 1994,’ or was delayed at all. Therefore,

because § 893.54(1), Stats., requires that actions for

negligent infliction of emotional distress be commenced

within three years of the date when the claim arose, and

because the amended complaint alleges that the last wrongful

act occurred on January 28, 1991 and does not allege any

delay in Powell's discovery of her tort claim, we conclude

that it establishes a statute of limitations defense on its face

and her tort claim must be dismissed. If, however, there are

any facts within Powell's knowledge which could have been

pled which would show that her tort claim accrued no earlier

than three years before she commenced this action, the

circuit court may, in the exercise of its discretion, permit her

to amend the pleadings. Accordingly, we reverse the circuit

court's determination on this issue. Additionally, because of

our decision in this regard, it is not necessary for us to

address the defense of discretionary act immunity which was

also aimed at Powell's tort claim.

CONCLUSION

Cooper and Stoudt are not entitled to dismissal of

Powell's 42 U.S.C. § 1983 claims based on qualified

immunity because Powell has sufficiently alleged a § 1983

claim grounded in procedural and substantive due process

violations, including a clearly established property interest in

continuing a course of study and a clearly established liberty

interest in refusing to unnecessarily disclose her mental

health history. Regarding Powell's claim of negligent

’ This is the earliest date on which Powell's claim could have accrued and

still be preserved by the commencement of this action on January 24,

1997.

-28a-

infliction of emotional distress, we conclude that the statute

of limitations precludes this claim as presently pled.

Therefore we affirm in part; reverse in part and remand for

further proceedings.

By the Court.-- Order affirmed is part; reversed in

part and cause remanded.

Recommended for publication in the official reports.

DYKMAN, P.J., (dissenting).

In a case which all panel members agree should not

have been taken on interlocutory appeal because of

incomplete facts, we learn that the United States Constitution

prohibits schools from requiring students to tell a teacher

about a personal matter the student has already voluntarily

divulged to others at the school. This result is much

influenced by procedure--we are reviewing the denial of a

motion to dismiss. As a result, we consider only whether

Powell's complaint states a claim. On the thin record

presented, and without the reasons for the school's direction

to the student, the majority concludes that Powell's complaint

survives the school's motion to dismiss. The lesson to be

learned is that we should usually deny requests for

interlocutory appeals from orders denying motions to

dismiss, and wait until the matter is more completely

presented on summary judgment. Having so concluded, I

would dismiss this appeal as improvidently granted.'

' I agree with the majority's conclusion that Arneson v. Jezwinski, 206

Wis.2d 217, 556 N.W.2d 721 (1996), as clarified in Peterman v.

Wisconsin Elec. Power Co., 211 Wis.2d 458, 565 N.W.2d 521 (1997),

only requires us to grant petitions for interlocutory review of qualified

immunity issues when they follow a summary judgment motion.

Although we have the discretion to grant such petitions after a motion to

dismiss, to do so here was premature. Neither the majority nor I can

-29a-

Failing to attract a second vote to dismiss, I will

consider the issues on the record presented. I agree with the

general principles from which the majority reasons. The

Federal Constitution recognizes a right of privacy. See

Griswold v. Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 485-86, 85 S.Ct.

1678, 14 L.Ed.2d 510 (1965). The Due Process Clause

protects students’ rights to continue their education once they

have begun a course of study. See Goss v. Lopez, 419 U.S.

565, 574, 95 S.Ct. 729, 42 L.Ed.2d 725 (1975). But the cases

upon which the majority relies involve students who have

been expelled or disciplined by the schools they attended.

Nothing of the sort happened to Powell. The University of

Wisconsin did not discipline Powell or expel her. She quit

the University. She failed to complete a practicum, and she

did not write a Master's thesis. Quitting a teaching position

and then suing for damages was an unsuccessful tactic in

Lyons v. Sullivan, 602 F.2d 7 (1st Cir. 1979), and it should

fare no better here.

The majority deems the issue in this case to be

"whether Powell has sufficiently alleged that she had a

constitutionally protected property night under state law to

complete her graduate program." If that were the real issue,

this case would be decided by a unanimous panel. Goss

recognizes that right. The real issue is whether Powell has a

constitutional right not to divulge the existence of her bipolar

disorder to her practicum instructor, though she revealed the

illness to others at the university. Thus, for me, cases such as

predict the result when the reasons for requiring Powell to divulge her

bipolar disorder to another are known. There is nothing stopping the

State from now bringing a motion for summary judgment, alleging those

reasons, and if unsuccessful, bringing another interlocutory appeal, which

we must accept. I do not interpret Arneson and Penterman, read together,

as permitting the State to take two interlocutory appeals in cases such as

this.

-30a-

Frank v. Marquette University, 209 Wis. 372, 245 N.W. 125

(1932), Martin v. MHelstad, 578 F.Supp. 1473

(W.D.Wis.1983) and Anderson v. University of Wisconsin,

665 F.Supp. 1372 (W.D.Wis.1987), aff'd, 841 F.2d 737 (7th

Cir. 1988), are unhelpful. In Frank, the plaintiff was

expelled. Frank, 209 Wis. at 374, 245 N.W. at 125. He sued

the university, and attempted to discover other students’

records to see if he was expelled for actions for which others

were not expelled. See Jd. at 373, 245 N.W. at 125. The court

considered Frank's contention that he was entitled to the

equality >rovisions of the federal and state constitutions, and

concluded: "Counsel cites no authority to support his

contention, and we doubt that any court has ever

substantially so held." Jd at 378, 245 N.W. at 127. In

Martin, a student expelled for lying on his application to the

school sued, claiming violations of his due process and equal

protection rights. Martin, 578 F.Supp. at 1475-79. The court

concluded that the plaintiff had a property interest in

continuing his education, and therefore a procedural due

process right to explain his side of the situation. See Jd. at

1481-82. I agree with this settled law, but it hardly helps

decide whether Powell has a constitutional right not to

divulge her bipolar disorder to her practicum instructor.

Anderson is similar to Martin, except that the plaintiff in

Anderson asserted a constitutional right to be re-admitted to

the University of Wisconsin Law School after being told that

he could not be re-admitted because of his poor grades.

Anderson, 665 F.Supp at 1390. The plaintiff in Anderson

asserted much of what Powell asserts; that she has a

constitutional right to continue her education. The district

court in Anderson responded to this assertion:

The Court does not argue with the plaintiff's

contention that a student has a property

interest in continuing education once the

student has begun a course of study.

-3la-

However, the Court believes that plaintiff's

contention misses the point. The issue in this

case is whether a student who is expelled

from school for failing to maintain a required

grade average has a property interest in being

readmitted to school. Plaintiff has submitted

no state statute, university rule, or any other

basis that would suggest that a student who is

expelled from school for failing to maintain a

required grade average has a property interest

in a continuing education. /d. at 1396.

I believe that the majority opinion should analyze

whether Powell has a property right to refuse to tell her

practicum instructor of her bipolar disorder. Instead, the

majority analyzes whether a student has a property right in

continuing his or her education. Of course, the answer to that

is "Yes," but that leaves the real question unanswered.

Next, the majority inquires whether Powell has a

liberty interest in not disclosing mental health information.

This is the first mention of a liberty interest that has occurred

in this case. Powell's complaint nowhere asserts anything

concerning a liberty interest, though it spends three

paragraphs asserting the existence of a property right, the

deprivation of a property right and the violation of a property

right. There is no indication that anyone asserted or even

discussed liberty interests in the trial court. The trial court's

decision fails to mention the term "liberty," though the words

"property interest” are used thirteen times in its thirteen-page

decision. "Liberty" is absent from the words found in the

appellant's brief, and the respondent never uses that word or

analyzes an alleged liberty interest in the brief she filed.

However, her brief uses the term "property interest" or

"property right” eighteen times in its twenty-three pages. The

majority "construes" Powell's complaint to allege a liberty

2A AE MRE AP 988 a

-32a-

interest in not unnecessarily disclosing her mental health

history. One could construe a hot dog to be a porterhouse

steak by saying so, but I cannot see how Powell's total

indifference for liberty interests in the trial court and here

can be construed as an assertion that she has been deprived

of a liberty interest.

Appellate courts do not ordinarily become advocates

for either side of a case. We are ill advised to perform

counsel's task. See Zintek v. Perchik 163 Wis.2d 439, 482,

471 N.W.2d 522, 539 (Ct.App.1991), overruled on other

grounds by Steinberg v. Jensen, 194 Wis.2d 439, 534

N.W.2d 361 (1995). "We cannot serve as both advocate and

judge." State v. Pettit, 171 Wis.2d 627, 647, 492 N.W.2d

633, 642 Ct.App.1992). We are not to develop an appellant's

argument. See State v. West, 179 Wis.2d 182, 195-96, 507

N.W.2d 343, 349 (Ct.App.1993), aff'd, 185 Wis.2d 68, 517

N.W.2d 482 (1994). We have been told that "[o]ne of the

rules of well nigh universal application established by courts

in the administration of the law is that questions not raised

and properly presented for review in the trial court will not

be reviewed on appeal." Vollmer v. Luety, 156 Wis.2d 1, 10,

456 N.W.2d 797, 802 (1990) (quoting Cappon v. O'Day, 165

Wis. 486, 490, 162 N.W. 655, 657 (1917)). And "skewing

normal procedure to protect ... pro se litigants from

inadvertently forfeiting their rights" is a procedure which

applies only to pro se prisoners. Waushara County v. Graf,

166 Wis.2d 442, 451, 480 N.W.2d 16, 19 (1992). Clearly, we

should not do so when a party is represented by counsel.

I agree that motions to dismiss are to be liberally

construed, and that a claim will only be dismissed if the

plaintiff cannot recover under any circumstances. See

Heinritz v. Lawrence University, 194 Wis.2d 606, 610-11,

535 N.W.2d 81, 83 (Ct.App.1995). I do not agree that this

makes us a surrogate for plaintiff's counsel. I know of no

-33a-

case holding that a plaintiff may file a complaint, and when

faced with a motion to dismiss, ask the trial court to find him

or her a cause of action, and if unsuccessful, ask this court

and the supreme court to do likewise. We expect a litigant

faced with a motion to dismiss to tell the court by brief or

oral argument what claims he or she is making. Neither trial

nor appellate courts should be required to search all possible

areas of Wisconsin law to see whether a plaintiff might have

pled a cause of action. Concepts of waiver should and do

prevent this from becoming a successful maneuver.

xxevere vinnstipcliptediealgalmesiitiin pn iil ar wiih inate talon rin

This is what we concluded in State v. Bollig,

222 Wis.2d 558, 587 N.W.2d 908

(Ct.App.1998). There, Bollig filed a motion to

dismiss the civil commitment proceedings

against him. See Jd. at 562, 587 N.W.2d at

909. The State failed to make two arguments

in the trial court which it made for the first

time on appeal. Sze Id. at 564, 587 N.W.2d at

910. We gave the State's newly made

arguments no credence: Arguments that are

raised for the first time on appeal by an

appellant are deemed waived...

The State did not ... contend that Mochalski

was a de facto special prosecutor.... De facto

authority was not argued or even mentioned

until the State submitted its brief to this court.

Therefore, we must conclude that the State

has waived [its] argument{ ].

Id. at 564-65, 587 N.W.2d at 909.

There is no difference between the State's failure to

make an argument in Bollig and Powell's failure to make an

argument in this case, except that here, Powell never made

the argument that she has a liberty interest in not further

ee ee

-34a-

revealing her bipolar disorder. That is hardly cause to depart

from our reasoning in Bollig.

One of the risks of sua sponte consideration of an

issue is that we will not have the benefit of a true advocate's

view of the issue and his or her research, and we are

deprived of the informed thinking of the trial judge. This

can, and often does result in hardship for one of the parties.

See Vollmer, 156 Wis.2d at 11, 456 N.W.2d at 802. When

we later review a case in which this was done, we often

regret our decision to strike out on our own. When we raise

an issue sua sponte and then decide it, we are often surprised

to first read of contrary authority in a petition for review.

Still, a dissent responds to the reasoning of the majority, and

I must either ignore the issue or address it. | choose the

latter, though reluctantly.

Anything can fall within a concept of "ordered

liberty" if a court says that it does. The majority starts by

citing Powell's never-asserted contention that she has a nght

of privacy in refusing to unnecessarily disclose her mental

health history. This is wrong as a matter of fact. The trial

court noted that Powell's complaint alleges that she

voluntarily told two individuals at the University about her

bipolar disorder. What Powell really asserts is that although

she had no objection to two individuals knowing of this, she

draws the line at three. Moving then from Powell's non-

asserted assertion, the majority concludes: "Therefore,

Cooper and Stoudt may not interfere with Powell's liberty

interest by requiring disclosure of her mental health

history...." Cooper and Stoudt did no such thing. Powell had

already disclosed her mental health history. If a

constitutional right must be found on the facts of this case, it

has to be a right not to tell too many people of one's bipolar

disorder.

-35a-

The Supreme Court has recently cautioned against

expanding the Due Process Clause into new areas. In

Washington v. Glucksberg, 521 U.S. 702, 117 S.Ct. 2258,

138 L.Ed.2d 772 (1997) the Court said:

But we "ha[ve] always been reluctant to

expand the concept of substantive due process

because guideposts for _ responsible

decisionmaking in this uncharted area are

scarce and open-ended." By extending

constitutional protection to an asserted right

or liberty interest, we, to a great extent, place

the matter outside the arena of public debate

and legislative action. We must therefore

"exercise the utmost care whenever we are

asked to break new ground in this field," lest

the liberty protected by the Due Process

Clause be subtly transformed into the policy

preferences of the members of this Court.

Our established method of substantive-due-process

analysis has two primary features: First, we have regularly

observed that the Due Process Clause specially protects

those fundamental rights and liberties which are, objectively,

"deeply rooted in this Nation's history and tradition," and

"implicit in the concept of ordered liberty," such that "neither

liberty nor justice would exist if they were sacrificed."

Second, we have required in substantive-due-process cases a

"careful description" of the asserted fundamental liberty

interest. Our Nation's history, legal traditions, and practices

thus provide the crucial "guideposts for responsible

decisionmaking" that direct and restrain our exposition of the

Due Process Clause. /d at 2267-68 (alteration in original)

(citations omitted).

-36a-

The cases the majority cites as authority for its

conclusion are not persuasive to me. Whalen v. Roe, 429

U.S. 589, 599, 97 S.Ct. 869, 51 L.Ed.2d 64 (1977), indeed

acknowledges an individual interest in avoiding disclosure of

personal matters. That interest was articulated in Griswald v.

Connecticut, 381 U.S. 479, 85 S.Ct. 1678, 14 L.Ed.2d 510

(1965), where the Court invalidated a Connecticut law

criminalizing the use of contraceptive devices, and providing

for the prosecution of doctors who prescribed them.

Visualizing police searches of marital bedrooms for signs of

the use of contraceptives, the Court concluded that a right of

privacy older than the Bill of Rights prevented Connecticut

from interfering with a married couple's decision to use

contraceptives. See Jd. at 515-16. But neither Griswold nor

Whalen suggested that any information pertaining to a

person, whether known by others or not, was constitutionally

protected from revelation beyond the persons with whom

one chooses to share one's secrets.

Whalen held that the State of New York could require

doctors to reveal to the state the names and addresses of

patients for whom they had prescribed drugs which had both

legal and illegal uses. Whalen, 429 U.S. at 605. The Court

spoke of a "host of other unpleasant invasions of privacy that

are associated with many facets of health care." Jd. at 602. It

concluded that the slight risk inherent in revealing private

health information was not a reason to invalidate New York's

requirement. See Jd. at 601-02. I view the university's

requirement that Powell reveal her bipolar disorder to one

more person similarly. This is not a significant enough

intrusion into a private matter to entitle Powell to the

protection of the United States Constitution.

The other case upon which the majority relies to

conclude that the United States Constitution prohibited

Cooper and Stoudt from requiring that Powell tell her

-37a-

practicum instructor of her bipolar disorder is Hillman v.

Columbia County, 164 Wis.2d 376, 474 N.W.2d 913

(Ct.App.1991), review granted, 482 N.W.2d 105 (1992). In

Hillman, the plaintiff, a jail inmate, asserted that some jail

employees had told other jail employees and jail inmates that

Hillman was HIV positive. Id at 384, 474 N.W.2d at 916.

We quoted Woods v. White, 689 F.Supp. 874

(W.D.Wis.1988), aff'd, 899 F.2d 17 (7th Cir.1990), for its

observation that the AIDS virus is closely related to sexual

activity and intravenous drug use, and that this is information

of the most personal kind. See id. at 401, 474 N.W.2d at 923.

We cited two other cases coming to the same conclusion,

both dealing with the AIDS virus. See Id. at 401-02, 474

N.W.2d at 923. In Hillman, the persons allegedly receiving

the private information were fellow prisoners and jail

employees. Hillman's HIV positive status was therefore

known by persons who could hardly be expected to keep this

information confidential. AIDS is unique in that the attitude

of some about this disease is extreme and rejecting. I find no

analogy between the revelation of Hillman's illness to

persons who at best didn't care and at worst could be

expected to berate or injure Hillman, and the revelation of a

bipolar disorder to one more person--a professional who

would be expected to keep this information confidential.

My examination of the cases upon which the

majority relies is not just to show that they do not support the

majority's conclusion. Qualified immunity provides

government officials performing discretionary functions with

protection, shielding them from civil damage liability if

? I question whether today, Hillman would withstand the analysis set out

in Washington, 521 U.S. 702, 117 S.Ct. 2258, 138 L.Ed.2d 772. And it is

strange to charge Cooper and Stoudt with knowledge of Hillman in

January of 1991, when the court of appeals did not decide Hillman until

August 1991. Hillman, 164 Wis.2d at 376, 474 N.W.2d at 913.

de ns ai a lt Rd ins acl Sint is 6 ot ‘ .

-38a-

"their actions could reasonably have been thought consistent

with the rights they are alleged to have violated." Anderson

v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 638, 107 S.Ct 3034, 97 L.Ed.2d

523 (1987).’ The plaintiff must prove that the right he or she

asserts was "clearly established" at the time it was allegedly

violated. Thus, qualified immunity protects “all but the

plainly incompetent or those who knowingly violate the

law." Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335, 341,106 S.Ct. 1092,

89 L.Ed.2d 271 (1986). Generalized assertions of a

constitutional right are insufficient.

The operation of this standard, however, depends

substantially upon the level of generality at which the

relevant "legal rule” is to be identified. For example, the

right to due process of law is quite clearly established by the

Due Process Clause, and thus there is a sense in which any

action that violates that Clause (no matter how unclear it

may be that the particular action is a violation) violates a

clearly established right... But if the test of "clearly

established law" were to be applied at this level of generality,

it would bear no relationship to the “objective legal

reasonableness" that is the touchstone of Harlow [ v.

Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 102 S.Ct. 2727, 73 L.Ed.2d 396

(1982) ]. Plaintiffs would be able to convert the rule of

qualified immunity that our cases plainly establish into a rule

of virtually unqualified liability simply by alleging violation

of extremely abstract rights.... It should not be surprising,

therefore, that our cases establish that the right the official is

alleged to have violated must have been "clearly established"

in a more particularized, and hence more relevant sense: The

> Anderson v. Creighton, 486 U.S. 635, 638, 107 S.Ct. 3034, 97 L.Ed.2d

523 (1987), is not the only case to identify and discuss this requirement.

See also Davis v. Scherer, 468 U.S. 183, 104 S.Ct. 3012, 82 L.Ed.2d 139

(1984); Lojuk v. Johnson, 770 F.2d 619 (7th Cir. 1985); Colaizzi v.

Walker, 812 F.2d 304 (7th Cir.1987) and a couple of others.

-39a-

contours of the right must be sufficiently clear that a

reasonable official would understand that what he is doing

violates that right. This is not to say that an official action is

protected by qualified immunity unless the very action in

question has previously been held unlawful; but it is to say

that in the light of pre- existing law the unlawfulness must be

apparent.

Anderson, 483 U.S. at 639-40 (citation omitted).

The majority has done what Anderson warns we

should avoid. By using a degree of generality ("whether

Powell has sufficiently alleged that she had a constitutionally

protected property right under state law to complete her

graduate program") instead of the proper "particularized, and

hence more relevant sense" (whether Powell has a

constitutional right not to be required to tell an instructor of a

mental disorder), the majority has transformed the guarantee

of immunity into a rule of virtually unqualified liability.

Cooper and Stoudt certainly should have known that they

could not lawfully dismiss Powell from her graduate

program; that question is similar to requiring them to know

that they could not deprive her of due process of law. But

Anderson explains that this is not the question to ask. When

the correct question is asked, the majority cites no case

which answers the question affirmatively, and I have found

none. If both the majority and I have found no cases

upholding Powell's alleged right, Cooper and Stoudt

certainly should not be held to be aware of the right in

January of 1991, long before Hillman was decided in August

1991. Hillman, 164 Wis.2d at 379, 474 N.W.2d at 913.

As Whalen recognizes, there are a host of unpleasant

invasions of privacy which do not automatically amount to

an impermissible invasion of privacy. The "right of privacy

is a narrow right." Safe Water Ass'n v. City of Fond du Lac,

184 Wis.2d 365, 367, 516 N.W.2d 13, 17 (Ct.App.1994).

sa i ale

-40a-

Under some circumstances, the unauthorized revelation of a

person's bipolar disorder might be a violation of a person's

right to due process but it is not here. Powell is not seeking

re-admission to the University or a declaration that she need

not reveal her bipolar disorder to anyone. She wants money.

She is now willing to reveal her bipolar disorder to the world

through this lawsuit. I am not willing to join in the majority's

sua sponte determination that Powell has a liberty interest in

not disseminating to one more person the information she

voluntarily provided to the University. In my view, Powell

does not have either a liberty or property interest in not

further revealing the fact of her bipolar disorder to her

practicum instructor. Therefore, Cooper and Stoudt were

entitled to qualified immunity and Powell's complaint should

have been dismissed. Accordingly, I respectfully dissent.

-4la-

STATE OF WISCONSIN DANE

COUNTY

CIRCUIT COURT BRANCH 17

CONNIE G. POWELL

Plaintiff,

VS. Case No. 97-CV-1151

ARLENE M. COOPER

and CALVIN STOUDT,

Defendants.

MEMORANDUM DECSION AND ORDER

Connie G. Powell (plaintiff) filed an action seeking

judgment and damages against Dr. Arlene M. Cooper and

Dr. Calvin Stoudt (defendants) for violating, her civil rights

and negligently inflicting emotional distress. The defendants

have filed a Motion to Dismiss the Complaint alleging that it

fails to state a claim upon which relief may be granted. For

the reasons set forth the Motion to Dismiss is denied.

Facts

According to the amended complaint, the plaintiff

was admitted to the graduate student program in guidance

and counselling at the University of Wisconsin-Stout in the

fall of 1987. The plaintiff concentrated in the area of alcohol

(| oo cel omy ee

-42a-

and other drug, abuse counseling. At the time of her

admission, the plaintiff was assigned Dr. David Cook as an

academic advisor. Also at that time, the plaintiff disclosed to

Dr. Cook the fact that she had a history of suffering from a

manic depressive disorder. Dr. Cook indicated to the plaintiff

that her condition would not affect her completion of the

graduate program at UW-Stout.

By January, 1991, the plaintiff had successfully

completed all of the course work required of the Master’s

Degree program in guidance and counseling. The plaintiff

had yet to complete the required practicum and master’s

thesis.

In December, 1990, the plaintiff was sent by Dr.

Cook to speak with defendant Dr. Cooper regarding the

plaintiffs practicum assignment for the spring of 1991. At

that time, the plaintiff disclosed to Dr. Cooper that she

suffered from a manic depressive disorder. Up on receiving

this information, Dr. Cooper refused to schedule the plaintiff

for a practicum assignment.

On January 28, 1991, the plaintiff met with

defendants Dr. Cooper and Dr. Stoudt. At this time, the

plaintiff was told by the defendants that she would be

allowed to undertake a graduate student praticum only if she

agreed to disclose to the practicum site supervisor the fact

that she was suffering from a manic depressive disorder. Dr.

Stoudt is alleged to have known approved, and supervised

the offering of the praticum on the condition that the plaintiff

must first disclose the fact that she suffers from a manic

depressive disorder to the site supervisor.

The plaintiff refused to make the required disclosure

and therefore was not allowed to undertake and complete the

praticum, requirement, which also resulted in her being

-43a-

unable to complete the graduate school program at UW-

Stout.

The plaintiff alleges that she had a property interest

in completing her graduate school education that the

arbitrary and capricious action of the defendants denied the

plaintiff her due process rights which are guaranteed by the

United States Constitution. The plaintiff further alleges that

the actions of the defendants were willful wanton and in

reckless disregard of her rights. Finally, the plaintiff alleges

that the defendants’ conduct was negligent and directly and

proximately resulted in the plaintiff suffering physical injury

and emotional distress.

Standard of Review

The purpose of the Complaint is to give notice of the claim.

Morgan v. Pennsylvania General Ins. Co., 87 Wis. 2d 723,

731 (1974). The purpose of the motion to dismiss for failure

to state a claim is to rest the legal sufficiency of the

complaint. The facts pled are taken as admitted. Evans v.

Cameron, 121 Wis.2d 421. 426 (1985). The pleading’s are to

be liberally construed and should be dismissed as legally

insufficient only if it is quite clear that under no

circumstances can plaintiff recover. Evans, 121 Wis. 2d. at

426. Plaintiff can rely on the facts pled and reasonable

inferences from the pleadings. However, legal conclusions

and unreasonable inferences are not considered. Hartridge v.

State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co., 86 Wis. 2d 1, 4. 271. N.W.2d

598 (1978).

Discussion

The defendants propose nine arguments in support of

their motion to dismiss for failure, to state a claim:* (1) there

* The court notes that the defendants’ Reply Brief raises additional

arguments in response to the plaintiff's Brief in Opposition. These

-44a-

is no constitutionally protected property interest in a

graduate school education. (2) there is no constitutional IV

protected property interest in refusing to disclose a mental

illness to a practicum instructor, (3) the decision by the

defendants to require disclosure was not arbitrary and

capricious, (4) the matter at issue was academic in nature and

did not require a due process hearing, (5) the defendants

enjoy qualified immunity from this suit, (6) Dr. Stoudt was

not personally involved in the deprivation of the plaintiff's

rights and is therefore not liable, (7) as Dr. Cooper’s

supervisor, Dr. Stoudt cannot be vicariously liable for the

tort claim, (8) the statute of limitations bars the negligent

infliction of emotional distress claim, and (9) the plaintiff

has failed to cite the specific ministerial duty breached by the

defendants, and. therefore the negligent infliction of

emotional distress claim should be dismissed according to

the doctrine of discretionary act immunity. This opinion will

address each argument in turn.

The defendants’ first argument is that there is no

constitutionally protected property interest in a graduate

school education. The defendants are wrong. The United

States Supreme Court, the Seventh Circuit and the Wisconsin

Supreme Court have consistently assumed that such a night

exists. In Board of Curators Univ. of Mo. v. Horowitz, 435

U.S. 78 (1978) a medical student filed suit to challenge her

expulsion from medical school for poor performance. For the

purposes of the decision the Court assumed that the medical

student had a property interest in. completing her education

additional arguments will not be considered as the court does not find

any of the original arguments persuasive. In addition, the court

admonishes the defendants for filing a twenty-page reply brief in this

matter. According to Dane County Circuit Court Rules reply briefs are

limited to

to thirteen typewritten pages unless otherwise ordered by the court. At

no time did this court order, nor consider, a waiver of this page limit.

-45a-

in order to pursue a medical career, yet found that she was

awarded “at least as much due process as the Fourteenth

Amendment requires.” Id. at 85.

Likewise, the Court in Regents of Universitv of

Michigan v., Ewing, 474 U S. 214 (1985), was faced with

the plight of a medical student who was dismissed from

school for failing to meet academic standards. Again, for the

purposes of the decision, the court assumed that the medical

student had a constitutionally protectable property interest in

continued enrollment but that even if the “assumed property

interest gave rise to substantive right under the Due Process

Clause to continued enrollment free from arbitrary state

action, the facts of record disclose no such action.” Id. at

223.

The two federal judges in the Western District of

Wisconsin have been more affirmative in asserting that a

property interest in continuing an education exists. In Martin

v. Helstad, 57S F.Supp. 1473 (W.D. Wis. 1983), “Judge

Crabb cited Horowitz, among other sources, in support of her

contention that “[cjourts and state law recognize a property

interest in continuing education once a student has begun a

course of study,” Id. at 1480 (citations omitted). The issue in

Horowitz was whether a person who had lied on his

admissions application and was then offered and accepted

admission to law school, had a constitutionally protected

interest in commencing that education. Judge Crabb found

that an interest existed, but also found that the prospective

student had been provided all of the due process to which he

was entitled.

In Anderson v. University of Wisconsin, 665 F.Supp.

1372 (W.D. Wis. 1987), Judge Shabaz did “not argue with

the plaintiff's contention that a student has a property interest

in continuing education once the student has begun a course

-46a-

of s study. “Id. at 1396. However, the court also found that a

student who has been expelled from school for failing to

maintain a required grade average no longer has a property

interest in continuing his or her education.

In 1932, the Wisconsin Supreme Court stated that

“the law is apparently well settled that a university, college.

or school may not arbitrarily or capriciously dismiss a

student or deny to him the right to continue his course of

study therein.” Frank v. Marquette University,. 209 Wis.

372, 377 (1932). The basis of Frank’s case was that the

University acted unreasonably, arbitrarily and capriciously

when it refused to allow him to graduate from medical

school. However, the case was before the court on a motion

to determine whether the plaintiff was entitled to obtain

disciplinary records held by the University in relationship to

alleged actions taken against other University students. The

court found that the records were immaterial to the merits of

the controversy.

It appears that courts have been reluctant to

specifically state whether a student has a constitutionally

protected property interest in continuing an education. This

reluctance is probably best explained by the Ewing court,

which recalled Justice Brandeis’ admonition “not to

formulate a rule of constitutional law broader than is

required by the precise facts to which it is to be applied.” 474

U.S. at 222 (citation and internal quotations omitted).

Although courts may wisely refuse to make broad

constitutional declarations when the facts before them do not

require such findings, it is quite clear that courts have

repeatedly and consistently assumed that’ a student has a

constitutional property interest in continuing his or her

-47a-

education. Contrary to the defendants’ contentions this fact is

strong evidence that the interest does exist.’

As for this case the plaintiff has alleged numerous

facts which if true establish that she had a property interest in

continuing her graduate school education. The plaintiff was

rightfully admitted to the school, paid her tuition achieved

acceptable grades and maintained her good standing as a

graduate student. The plaintiff is not alleged to have violated

any rule, regulation or policy (academic or otherwise) of the

University. Unlike the plaintiffs in any of the aforementioned

cases, the plaintiff has done nothing deceitful to cause her to

be removed from the school, nor has she failed to perform at

academically acceptable standards. Based on the facts plead

in the Complaint and other documents filed herein it appears

plaintiff has satisfied all requirements for continued graduate

study. The only exception is the alleged arbitrary and

capricious requirement by defendants that plaintiff disclose

her mental illness to the practicum site supervisor without

any justified or supported basis. The Complaint establishes at

the least that the disclosure requirement exceeded any

legitimate academic or regulatory/policy purpose absent an

independent basis for its imposition. Therefore, the court

finds that this plaintiff has alleged facts sufficient to establish

that she has a constitutionally protected property interest in

her graduate school education.

The defendants’ second argument that there is no

constitutionally protected property, interest in refusing to

disclose a mental illness to a practicum instructor, fails for

essentially the same reasons noted above. The defendants

? Futhermore the court is dismayed at the defendants’ blatant

misstatement of the law on this point, particularly with respect to the

Seventh Circuit’s decision on an appeal of a preliminary matter in the

Martin case.

-48a-

attempt to rely on Judge Shabaz’ decision in the Anderson

case to support their contention that the plaintiff needs to cite

a “state statute, university rule or any other basis” to sustain

her claim. As set forth above, the court has analyzed the

existing federal and state case law and has found that the

plaintiff has a constitutionally protected property interest in

her graduate school education furthermore, as will be

discussed below, the plaintiff has alleged that the defendants

deprived her of her substantive due process rights by acting

arbitrarily and capriciously. This is all that is required in

order for the complaint to survive a motion to dismiss.

Furthermore the crux of the Anderson decision was

whether a student who was expelled for failing to maintain

required academic standards had an interest in begin

readmitted to school; the court had already acknowledged

that the student would have had a constitutionally protected

interest in continuing his education had he not been expelled.

The plaintiff in this case has not been expelled therefore

Anderson does not require her to do more than assert her

right to continue her education in the absence of

constitutional interference.

The defendants’ third argument, which addresses the

plaintiff's substantive due process claim, is that the decision

by the defendants to require disclosure was not arbitrary and

capricious. In support of this argument the defendants first

allege that the plaintiff was “simply asked to provide the

same information about her mental illness to her practicum

supervisor that she had volunteered to many others -at the

university. “ (Defendants’ Brief, p. 12-13.) This assertion

clearly misses the point and is wrong for a number of

reasons. First, according to the complaint, the plaintiff

alleges that the defendants conditioned her participation in

the practicum on the requirement that she disclose the fact

that she suffered from a manic depressive disorder to the site

-49a-

supervisor not that she was “simply asked” to provide that

information. Second, it is an overstatement for the

defendants to state that the plaintiff had told “many others”

about the fact that she suffers from a manic depressive

disorder when the complaint alleges that she told only two

individuals at the university about this. Third and most

importantly this allegation does not address and in no way

negates the plaintiff's allegation that the decision by the

defendants to require disclosure was arbitrary and capricious.

Certainly it may have been a simple” thing for plaintiff to do,

however that assertion is tantamount to arguing that an

individual who is discriminated in his or her housing

selection could simply look for another house is an

acceptable argument in our civil rights jurisprudence.

Defendants’ third argument fails.

The defendants also allege that “[i]t is obvious from

the [defendants’ proposed definition of “bipolar disorder”]

that [the plaintiffs] site supervisor would need to know of her

condition.” (Defendants’ Brief, p. 13.) The court finds that

the defendants’ attempt to introduce a generic dictionary

definition of “bipolar disorder” as evidence that they did not

act in violation of the plaintiff's substantive due process

rights is misguided and borders on being offensive. Frankly

it begs the question. The fact that the defendants are willing

to admit that they see the plaintiff as no more than a standard

dictionary definition of a mental illness is more persuasive as

evidence that they did indeed act arbitrarily and capriciously

in the manner in which they treated her. The court finds that

the plaintiff has sufficiently alleged that the defendants acted

arbitrarily and capriciously when they required her to

disclose to her practicum, site supervisor that she suffers

from manic depression.

Furthermore, it appears at this early stage in the

proceedings that defendants imposed the disclosure

-50a-

requirement without examining plaintiffs specific

circumstances to determine, first whether plaintiffs history

could support such a requirement. For example, should

plaintiff's p history reveal problems working with others in a

counseling setting due to her mental illness, it is arguable

defendants may have a legitimate basis for requiring

disclosure to the practicum site supervisor. However, thus

far, the pleadings do not reveal defendants rook these

preliminary steps before informing plaintiff of the disclosure

requirement. Plaintiff has established a claim under 42

U.S.C. sec. 1983 for a violation of the due process rights.

Because the court finds that the plaintiff has stated a

valid §1983 cause of action on the basis that the defendants

deprived her of her substantive due process rights it is

unnecessary, to address the defendants’ fourth argument

which alleges that the matter at issue was academic in nature

and did not require a procedural due process hearing.

The defendants’ fifth argument is that they enjoy

qualified immunity from this suit. The doctrine of qualified

immunity provides that officials “are shielded from liability

for civil damages insofar as their conduct dues not violate

clearly established statutory or constitutional rights of which

a reasonable per-son would have known” Harlow v.

Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818 (1982). (citations omitted).

The Harlow court determined that, on summary judgment the

judge may determine “not only the currently applicable law,

but whether that law was clcarly established at the time an

action occurred.” Id. While the posture of this case is not

one of summary judgment, the court believes that it is proper

and indeed necessary, for it to determine the current law and

whether it was clearly established at the time the alleged

action occurred.

-5la-

As stated above the court has located a consistent-

line of cases which acknowledge that a student has a

constitutionally protected property interest in continuing an

education. Furthermore according, to the Fifth Amendment

to the United Stares Constitution a person cannot be deprived

of that property without due process of law. The court finds

that the law was clearly established at the time in question

and that the defendants are properly charged with knowing

that law and complying with it: the court will nor Errant the

defendants qualified immunity in this case.

The court will address the defendants’ sixth and

seventh arguments together as both are based on the notion

that Dr. Stoudt should be individually relieved from liability.

Specifically as to the constitutional claim, the defendants

argue that Dr. Stoudt was not personally involved in the

deprivation of the plaintiff's rights and therefore not liable;

as for the personal injury claim, the defendants argue that, as,

Dr. Cooper’s supervisor, Dr. Stoudt cannot be held

Vicariously liable.

The complaint alleges that “Dr. Stoudt knew plaintiff

would be offered a practicum on the sole condition that she

disclose her manic depressive condition. Dr. Stoudt approved

of this conditional practicum and supervised Dr. Cooper in

offering said conditional practicum to plaintiff's (amended

complaint 415). Based upon the allegations in’ the

complaint, it is reasonable for this court to infer that Dr.

Stoudt was involved in the alleged deprivation of the

plaintiff's’ rights to the extent necessary to withstand a

motion to dismiss. Likewise, the facts alleged in the

complaint are sufficient to raise an inference that Dr. Stoudt

may have been more than just vicariously attached to the

actions of Dr. Cooper. At this stage of the proceedings, it is

simply impossible for this court to determine that Dr. Stoudt

was not personally responsible for the alleged causes of

-52a-

action and therefore dismissing Dr. Stoudt from the action at

this time would be premature.

The defendants’ eighth argument is that the statue of

limitations bars the negligent infliction of emotional distress

claim. In Wisconsin, an action to recover for personal

injuries must be commenced within three years or be barred.

Wis. Stat. § 893.54(1). The action taken by the defendants is

alleged to have occurred on January, 28. 1991. The

plaintiff's action was first filed on January 24, 1997.

Although six years elapsed between the time of the incident

alleged to be negligent and the time of the filing of the

complaint this fact alone does not warrant, dismissal of the

plaintiff's claim.

In 1983, the Wisconsin Supreme Court adopted the

rule which expands the possibilities for determining when a

cause of action for, personal injury accrues. In Hansen v. A.

H. Robins. Inc., 113 Wis. 2d 550 (1983), the court set forth

the discovery rule as follows: a claim does not accrue until

the injury is discovered or in the exercise of reasonable

diligence should be discovered. Id. at 556. In this case the

plaintiff does not specify when the alleged injury was

discovered, therefore it is possible that the injury, was not

discovered or should have been discovered until a significant

time after the date of the alleged negligent act. For this

reason, it would be inappropriate for the court to dismiss the

plaintiff's negligent infliction of emotional distress claim at

this time.

Finally, the defendants argue that they are immune

from liability for negligent actions according to the doctrine

of discretionary immunity. The general rule in Wisconsin is

that public employees “are immune from liability for

damages resulting from their negligence or unintentional

fault in the performance of discretionary functions. “ Lister

-53a-

v. Board of Regents, 72 Wis.2d 282, 301 (1978). However,

public employees are liable for damages which result from

the negligent performance of purely ministerial duties. Id. at

300-301. A duty is ministerial only if it is “absolute certain

and imperative involving merely the performance of a

specific task when the law imposts prescribes and defines the

time, mode and occasion for its performance with such

certain, that nothing, remains for judgment or discretion. “

Id. at 301.

In this case the plaintiff has alleged that the

defendants had a duty to administrate her graduate degree the

program without the occurrence of negligent actions on their

part. The court does not believe that this allegation in and of

itself. is sufficient to establish that the defendants had a

ministerial duty to not engage in negligent administration.

However, the court does find that the complaint, construed

most liberally and considered in its entirety, doe’s at least

allege that the defendants may have had a ministerial duty to

schedule the plaintiffs practicum assignment without

imposing the additional burdei of having to disclose to the

practicum supervisor that she suffers from manic depression.

It is clear to the court that potential circumstances exist

which would allow the plaintiff to recover for her negligent,

infliction of emotional distress claim and that it would

therefore be premature to dismiss her claim at this stage of

the proceedings.

-54a-

Conclusion

For the reasons set forth the defendants’ Motion to Dismiss

is denied.

Dated this 23rd day of December, 1997.

BY THE COURT:

/s/ Paul Higginbotham

Judge Paul Higginbotham

Dane County Circuit Court-Branch 17

-55a-

STATE OF WISCONSIN DANE COUNTY

CIRCUIT COURT BRANCH 17

Connie G. Powell, Case No. 97 CV 1151

Plaintiff,

vs. AMENDED’ COMPLAINT ;

Dr. Arlene M. Cooper,

Dr. Calvin Stoudt, Case Classification

Defendants. Money Judgment 30301

Pursuant to § 802.09(1), Wis. Stats, the plaintiff

amends her complaint as follows:

PARTIES

:: The Plaintiff is an adult resident of the State of

Oregon, residing at 1913 23rd Ave. #4, Forest Grove, OR

97116

: The Defendant, Dr. Arlene Cooper, is an adult

resident of the State of Minnesota, residing in Red wing,

Minnesota, a Phd. in the field of psychology, an

experienced educator in counseling instruction, and at all

times material to this action, was an assistant professor of

counseling and psychological services at the University of

Wisconsin-Stout, located in Menomonie, Wisconsin.

' Amended portions of complaint are highlighted

-56a-

3. The Defendant, Dr. Calvin Stoudt, is an adult resident

of the State of Wisconsin, residing at E4569 479th Ave.,

Menomonie, WI 54751, a Phd. in the field of psychology,

an experienced educator in counseling instruction, and at

all times material to this action, was the program director for

the School of Guidance, Counseling and Psychological

Services at the University of Wisconsin-Stout, in

Menemonie, Wisconsin, and in such position the

supervisor of Dr. Cooper.

CIVIL RIGHTS CAUSE OF ACTION

4. This civil rights litigation is brought pursuant to the

42 U.S.C. 91983, the United States Constitution and the

Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution.

S. The defendants, at all times material to this action,

were duly appointed and qualified agents and employees of

the State of Wisconsin, acting as hereinafter set forth in their

respective capacity as stated and acting under color of

statutes, regulations, custom, policy, and usage of the State

of Wisconsin and the University of Wisconsin system.

6. Each of the defendants herein acted under color of

law in depriving the plaintiff of her rights under the

Constitution of the United States, causing the plaintiff to

suffer damage and injury.

7. In the fall of 1987, plaintiff was admitted to the

Graduate College of the University of Wisconsin-Stout,

Menomonie, Wisconsin, in a graduate student program for a

- Master’s Degree in guidance and counseling, with a

concentration in aicohol and other drug abuse counseling,

which created an implied contract that plaintiff would

receive her graduate degree if she paid her tuition,

achieved required grades and maintained her good

-57a-

standing as a graduate student. Said contract was

subsequently breached by the defendant not allowing

plaintiff to undertake her graduate practicum. without

disclosing her manic depressive disorder to her site

supervisor.

8. At the time of plaintiffs’ admission to said Graduate

College, the plaintiff was assigned Dr. David Cook, as an

academic advisor, to whom the plaintiff disclosed the fact

the plaintiff had a history of suffering from-a manic

depressive disorder. Plaintiff was advised by Dr. Cook that

her manic-depressive condition would not affect the

completion of plaintiff's graduate program at U.W.

Stout.

9. At the time plaintiffs, admission to said graduate

degree program, nor thereafter until December of 1990,

no staff member at the University of Wisconsin-Stout

advised plaintiff that her manic depressive condition

would, in any way, interfere with the conipletion of

plaintiffs, graduate school program at the University of

Wisconsin-Stout.

10. Subsequent to plaintiffs, admission to said graduate

program, the plaintiff completed all of the course work

required for a Master’s Degree in guidance and counseling

with the exception of the plaintiff's practicum-and master’s

thesis.

11. Im January of 1991, the plaintiff's official transcript

from the University of Wisconsin-Stout shows the piaintiff

has a cumulative grade point of 3.887 in all course work

completed in said graduate program, had paid all tuition

and fees due, and was a graduate student in good

standing at the University of Wisconsin-Stout.

-58a-

12. In December of 1990, the plaintiff was sent by

plaintiffs, academic advisor, Dr. David Cook, to speak to Dr.

Arlene Cooper, concerning the scheduling of plaintiffs,

. graduate student practicum for the spring of 1991.

13. | Upon disclosure to Dr. Cooper by the plaintiff that

plaintiff was suffering from manic-depressive disorder, Dr.

Cooper refused to schedule plaintiff into the graduate student

practicum program in guidance and counseling.

14. On January 28, 1991, plaintiff met with Dr. Cooper

and Dr. Stouc't, at which meeting the plaintiff was told that

plaintiff would be allowed to undertake a graduate student

practicum only if plaintiff agreed to disclose the fact that —

plaintiff was suffering from a manic depressive disorder to

any site supervisor for plaintiff's graduate school practicum.

15. Prior to said meeting, Dr. Stoudt knew plaintiff

would be offered a practicum on the sole condition that

she disclose her manic depressive condition; Dr. Stoudt

approved of this conditional practicum and supervised

Dr. Cooper in offering said conditional practicum to

plaintiff at said meeting.

16. Shortly before issue of scheduling of plaintiff's

practicum arose, Drs. Cooper and Stoudt had

experienced problems with the practicum, for another

graduate student at the University of Wisconsin-Stout

with a manic depressive disorder, as a result of which Dr.

Cooper and Stoudt conspired to force plaintiff out of her

graduate program with the motive and intent to avoid

any potential problems that might arise in the future

regarding plaintiff’s practicum.

17. Upon plaintiff's refusal to disclose plaintiffs, manic-

depressive disorder to any practicum site supervisor for

-59a-

plaintiffs’ graduate student practicum, plaintiff was not

allowed to undertake and complete plaintiffs’ graduate

school practicum, and as a consequence, plaintiff could not

complete her graduate school program at the University of

Wisconsin-Stout.

18. Denial of plaintiff the opportunity to undertake and

complete her graduate school practicum was without any

hearing or other procedural due process to determine the

necessity for the disclosure of plaintiffs, manic depressive

disorder to plaintiffs, practicum site supervisors, the effect

of said disclosure on plaintiff, or any alternatives to said

disclosure; and was the arbitrary and capricious whim of

the defendants, and constituted 2 dismissal of plaintiff

from her graduate program.

19. Plaintiff had a constitutionally protected property

right in the continuance of her graduate school program at

the University of Wisconsin-Stout, which could not be

denied plaintiff without procedural due process, there being

little administrative or fiscal burden on the University of

Wisconsin-Stout in providing plaintiff with a due process

hearing;

20. Plaintiff was deprived of said constitutionally

protected property right by the defendants without

procedural due process as guaranteed by the United States

Constitution and the 14th Amendment to the United States

Constitution.

21. Defendants violated the plaintiffs’ property rights in

her education and plaintiffs’ procedural due process rights

under the United States Constitution and the 14th

Amendment to the United States Constitution.

-60a-

22. The plaintiff borrowed substantial sums of money

and expended said sums on plaintiffs’ graduate program at

the University of Wisconsin-Stout, which plaintiff has had to

repay or is in the process of repaying.

PUNITIVE DAMAGE CAUSE OF ACTION

23. The allegations set forth in paragraphs 2 through 20

are set forth herein by reference.

24. The conduct of the defendants, as set forth in

paragraphs 13 and 14 herein was willful, wanton and in

reckless disregard of the rights of the plaintiff to a graduate

school education at the University of Wisconsin-Stout.

25. The conduct of the defendants was undertaken by the

defendants will full knowledge that by denying plaintiff

participation in a graduate school practicum, the defendants

were denying plaintiff the opportunity to complete here

graduate school program at the University of Wisconsin-

Stout.

NEGLIGENT EMOTIONAL DISTRESS CAUSE OF

ACTION

26. The allegations set forth in paragraph 2 through 20

are set forth herein by reference.

27. The defendants knew or should have known, as

psychologists and members of the staff for the Department of

Guidance and Counseling at the University of Wisconsin-

Stout, that as a result of the denial of plaintiffs’ opportunity

to complete a graduate school program at the University of

Wisconsin-Stout, the plaintiff might suffer physical injury

and emotional distress causing a disabling emotional

-61a-

response to the defendants’ conduct, resulting in the

plaintiffs, inability to function in other relationships.

28. The defendants had a duty to plaintiff to

administrate plaintiff's graduate degree program without

the occurrence of negligent actions on the part of the

defendants.

29. The defendants knew of should have known that

the administration of plaintiff Is graduate degree

program by requiring the disclosure of plaintiff's manic

depressive condition to plaintiffs practicum site

supervisor was a breach of defendants, duty to plaintiff. —

30. That asa result of the defendants’ conduct in denying

plaintiff the opportunity to complete her graduate school

program at the University of Wisconsin-Stout, the plaintiff

did suffer physical injury and emotional distress causing a

disabling emotional response to defendants’ conduct,

resulting in the plaintiffs, inability to function in other

relationships, which was a direct and proximate result of the

defendants conduct herein.

WHEREFORE, the plaintiff demands judgment

against the defendants for compensatory and punitive

damages in an amount to be_ determined, reasonable

attorneys fee, and the costs and disbursements of this action,

as well as such other relief as the court deems appropriate.

Dated this 27th day of June, 1997.

/s/ John E. Joyce

JOHN E. JOYCE, SB# 01008608

Attorney for the Plaintiff

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cooper v. Powell · 534 U.S. 817 | Frix