Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kalama Chemical, Inc. v. Washington

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

' upreme Cont 18 .

(\) FILED

001734 may 152008

No.

mie OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

KALAMA CHEMICAL, INC. and

ADVANCED TECHNOLOGY LABORATORIES, INC.,

Petitioners,

VS.

STATE OF WASHINGTON,

Respondent.

*

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The

Court Of Appeals Of The

State Of Washington, Division II

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

°

FRANKLIN G. DinceEs*

GEOFFREY P. KNUDSEN

THe Dinces Law Firm

4607 Saddleback Drive

Gig Harbor, WA 98332

(253) 858-1400

Counsel For Petitioners

Kalama Chemical, Inc.

and Advanced Technology

Laboratories, Inc.

*Counsel of Record

sy

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is it a taking when a State compels the payment of

discriminatory taxes without a predeprivation hearing

and fails to provide a remedy after this Court holds, in a

prior case involving these same Petitioners, that the dis-

criminatory taxes are unconstitutional?

2. May the remedy for discriminatory taxes on manufac-

turers engaged in interstate, but not intrastate, commerce

leave the discrimination in place?

3. May a State offer at the time discriminatory taxes are

paid a refund remedy and then not provide that remedy

after this Court holds the discriminatory taxes uncon-

stitutional?

li

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The caption contains the names of all parties to the

proceedings.

RULE 29.6 LISTING

The parent company of Petitioner, Kalama Chemical,

Inc. is PMD Group Inc. The parent company of Petitioner,

Advanced Technology Laboratories, Inc. is Koninklijke

Philips Electronics N.V.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ok. cana ce debnee ede toeeah i

SE Cr Oe PONE oo bcccdsnctsvacseseccbace ii

SN Oe IES & nou dewd ddeddccudscaeid sevenseces iii

EY SE Gb boda cauteeeebsesssaueedasee ct Vv

Opinions and Orders Entered In This Case ........ 1

gece che laphh euhs bb6sb.cbandnesbesn 1

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved... 1

SE OE ME NI, vec des ceduccccesddssedecuta 2

Reasons For Granting The Writ.................... 10

I. The State Court’s Decision Denying Peti-

tioners’ Property Was Taken Conflicts With

Relevant Decisions of This Court............ 10

II. The Remedy Provided By Washington’s Courts

Is Inadequate and Inconsistent With Decisions

SPE Te5N 4 ctaddue Gens dd neat acsecasss 15

A. Washington’s Credit Remedy Provides

SEE SENN be 6SeGccetneecbasedsdneseses 15

B. Just Compensation Is The Only Permis-

sible Remedy For A Taking.............. 16

C. The Facial Discrimination This Court Held

Unconstitutional In Tyler II Remains In

th ccln ee Peel yet Oe caaeaecdw +6000 6% 17

D. At The Time Of Payment, Washington

Offered These Petitioners A Refund Rem-

I a SO eke es 24

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

Appendices

Appendix A: Opinion of The State of Washington

Court of Appeals, Division I].............0ss000. Al

Appendix B: Other Relevant Opinions and Orders

BR BOD GOOD nc ccecccassnccecsctcaneinveasadweeces Bl

Appendix C: Order Denying Petition For Review ....C1

Appendix D: Washington State Statutes Involved ....D1

Appendix E: OGher Material ..2......sccseesscscecss El

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES

Armco Inc. v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638 (1984) ....... 18, 19

Atchison T. & S.F.R.Co. v. O’Connor, 223 U.S. 280

CRORE oi.ck shades canedadeeusn dawn kasee ea urie eee 13

Brushaber v. Union Pacific Railroad, 240 U.S. 1

CRGEET bs tccdccdccetehs cus Maeve pine cues eeaus neces 13

Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U.S. 363 (1930)............... 13

Compania General De Tabacos De Filipinas v. Collec-

tor of Internal Revenue, 275 U.S. 87 (1927) ......... 16

Dryden v. Madison County, 522 U.S. 1145 (1998)...... 23

Etlor @&. Tacoma, 220 US. TAB CIPIS) oo cccccevsscas 6, 23

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v.

County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987).... 11, 12, 17

Forbes Pioneer Boat Line v. Board of Commissioners,

258 U.S. 338 (1922) ........ eee e cece ence ce cenees 6, 23

Gaar, Scott & Co. v. Shannon, 223 U.S. 468 (1912) .... 13

McKesson Corp. v. Florida Alcohol & Tobacco Div.,

eit ee oe. re £¢ 7,13, 3,2

Monongahela Navigation Co. v. United States, 148

CS Die LOE cv bau eanekssddny canescens ne wese 12

Montana National Bank of Billings v. Yellowstone

County, 276 US. 499 (39ZB) occ scccscccisnsasvss 13, 19

Iowa-Des Moines National Bank v. Bennett, 284 U.S.

Fae CROSS) a ok kar cokne cdnsdstnaesixe eis 13, 20, 21

Myles Salt Co. v. Board of Commissioners, 239 U.S. |

GD CPO 6 oe vckias net dunaxencsesea kent iaovessaens 13

Newsweek, Inc. v. Florida, 522 U.S. 442 (1998) ...... 7; ae

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Olson v. United States, 292 U.S. 246 (1934)........... 16

Parratt v. Taylor, 451 U.S. 527 (1981)...............5. 12

Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases, 419 U.S. 102

(UOTE) co cccerecccccvocccetsdecnceacspancnsesnageses 12

Reich v. Collins, 513 U.S. 106 (1994) ........... 7, 22, 23

San Diego Gas & Electric Co. v. San Diego, 450 U.S.

GER CEUGE) occ cccccsccescccesécncscncnecabueseat 11, 12

Steward Machine Co. v. Davis, 301 U.S. 548 (1937).... 13

Tyler Pipe Industries, Inc. v. Department of Revenue,

GES UB. GBS CERT D 0 es tccccticndiacecs 4, 5, 17, 18, 19

United States v. 564.54 Acres of Land, 441 U.S. 506

(IGFD) oo cccccvcccccvdoccecasveuseseeeuaensseudeees 16

United States v. Mississippi Tax Comm'n, 412 US.

DEB (REFS) oo veccccuncctseucck seushvcscumeensauumas 13

Village of Norwood v. Baker, 172 U.S. 269 (1898) ...... 13

Ward v. Love County, 253 U.S. 17 (1920) ............. 13

Williamson County Regional Planning Comm'n v.

Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1979).......... Seekip aa

State Cases

Digital Equipment Corporation v. Department of Rev-

enue, 129 Wn.2d 177, 916 P.2d 933 (1996)........ 6, 14

Tyler Pipe Industries, Inc. v. Department of Revenue,

96 Wn.2d 785, 638 P.2d 1213 (1982).......... 3, 4, 22

National Can Corp. v. Department of Revenue, 105

Wn.2d 327, 715 P.2d 128, corrected, 732 P.2d 134

1 ei 4, 10

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

-—~ National Can Corp. v. Department of Revenue, 109

Wn.2d 878, 749 P.2d 1286 (1988) .............. passim

Pederson's v. Transamerica Ins., 83 Wn. App. 432,

Se Be We SR cacecancccausesshacatuevacanas 17

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Tee GD GOD bo n.n6 0 conv cwadadeabecsiddcdvats 1

ee es IS 4. 5 cc cccedawddeuesBscunnane 2, 11

The Fourteenth Amendment ...........-.-.--+-++. 2, 11

STATUTES

RCW 4.56.10 Loebacdedetucdetnndaavecndssesannnanel 2, 17

ae MM obec cbdvedencevccarcetecdeskskeeese 2, 17

IL i Cesc a samen sctasedetdsaeneeanns 2, 4, 17

See I dare Son cuKbks deckeanes sada utes weaken 2, 4

PA GEL a nckcisnacsasecedbatnuscavecvenasnan 2, 4

ee IED ce ceddasndicductdieepsncsukauns i

RCW 82.04.440 (former, amended 1987) ............ 2,4

Ge EL s Gancnchdeancdnssneeséeasaonads 2, 10, 18

ee CE 5 o.ca nd beadnskkescdsdensvVisestuinnes 2,3

See MRI, 6.009 Sed ckcdbisdndcncuscanansacas >

ne ME tad davkedecscacescsswerssuuescduacel ,

ase MIL Sas Suabsddaedavdcabacenssncseeas 2, 3, 22

ee MN a 666 ce ccabepganesddonteccnotunws 2, 3, 22

Viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

= B 5 5. SPTTeTTTTeT TrriT ree 2, 3

= Fk Lb. SPPOPITTTTrTrrrrrir Tite 2, 3

_& § 5 ih. FPPrVTTTITrrrirre eee 2, 3

OPINIONS AND ORDERS ENTERED IN THIS CASE

The Opinion of the Court of Appeals of the State of

Washington, Division II, that gives rise to this petition is

published at Kalama Chemical v. State, 102 Wn. App. 577, 9

P.3d 236 (2000) and is found in App. A. An unpublished

Order of the Court of Appeals of the State of Washington,

Division II calling for additional briefing is reprinted in

App. B. The Order of the Washington Supreme Court

denying Petitioners’ petition for review is published at

143 Wn.2d 1006, 20 P.3d 944 (2001) and is found in App.

C. The Opinion and Orders of the trial court in this case

are unpublished. They are reprinted in App. B.

¢

JURISDICTION

The Opinion of the Court of Appeals of the State of

Washington sought to be reviewed is dated September 15,

2000. The Washington State Supreme Court denied Peti-

tioners’ petition for review on March 6, 2001. This Court

has jurisdiction to review this petition and the Court of

Appeals decision pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257.

+

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitutional Provisions

Art. I, § 8 (The Commerce Clause): “The Congress

shall have power. . . To regulate Commerce . . . among

the several States... .”

Amend. V (The Takings Clause): “[NJor shall private

property be taken for public use, without just compensa-

tion.”

Amend. XIV (The Due Process Clause): “[NJor shall

any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or property

without due process of law... . ”

Washington State Statutes!

RCW 4.56.110

RCW 19.52.020

RCW 82.04.240

RCW 82.04.250

RCW 82.04.270

RCW 82.04.4286

RCW 82.04.440 (former, amended 1987)

RCW 82.04.440

RCW 82.32.050

RCW 82.32.060

RCW 82.32.090

RCW 82.32.150

RCW 82.32.180

RCW 82.32.210

RCW 82.32.215

RCW 82.32.220

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case concerns what minimally adequate remedy

is required when interstate commerce is coerced into

1 Reprinted in App. D.

paying unconstitutionally discriminatory taxes and what

remedy and cause of action exists when a State fails to

provide such a minimally adequate remedy.

<< -SOCU

Kalama Chemical, Inc. (“Kalama”) and Advanced

Technology Laboratories, Inc. (“ATL”), Petitioners, both

manufactured products in Washington that they sold out-

side the State. For the privilege of manufacturing, both

companies were coerced into paying Washington manu-

facturing business and occupation taxes for the period

January 1, 1980 through July 23, 1987. App. A at A2. That

is, if the taxes were not paid the companies were subject

to penalties, interest and business closure. Washington

State provided no meaningful opportunity for a hearing

prior to payment of the taxes.3 At the time the taxes were

paid, the statutory remedy for payment of unconstitu-

tional taxes was a refund.* See, App. A at A3.

2 See, RCW 82.32.050, RCW 82.32.090, RCW 82.32.150, RCW

82.32.210, RCW 82.32.215 and RCW 82.32.220. See generally,

McKesson Corp. v. Florida Alcohol & Tobacco Div., 496 U.S. 18 at 38

n.21 (1990) (“We have long held that, when a tax is paid in order

to avoid financial sanctions or a seizure of real or personal

property, the tax is paid under ‘duress’ in the sense that the

State has not provided a fair and meaningful predeprivation

procedure.”).

3 See, Tyler Pipe Industries, Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 96

Wn.2d 785, 791, 638 P.2d 1213 (1982) (“Tyler I”) (Denying

injunctive relief because the “statutory scheme at issue provides

the legal remedy of a refund suit. ...”); See also, RCW 82.32.150

and RCW 82.32.180.

4 National Can Corp. v. Department of Revenue, 109 Wn.2d

878, 880-81, 749 P.2d 1286 (1988); See also, RCW 82.04.4286 and

RCW 82.32.060.

Petitioners, along with a number of other companies,

previously sought a refund of the taxes paid between |

January 1, 1980 and June 19, 1985 in National Can Corp. v.

Department of Revenue, 105 Wn.2d 327, 715 P.2d 128, cor-

rected, 732 P.2d 134 (1986) (National Can 1) vacated, Tyler

Pipe Industries, Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 483 U.S. 232

(1987) (Tyler II).> In that action, this Court held the Wash-

ington manufacturing tax imposed on Petitioners uncon-

stitutionally discriminatory.

The constitutional defect with the tax is plain. The

manufacturing tax would not have been imposed on Peti-

tioners if they sold their products in Washington. Former

RCW 82.04.440 (amended 1987). See aiso, RCW 82.04.240,

RCW 82.04.250 and RCW 82.04.270. The manufacturing

tax was only imposed on companies manufacturing in

Washington and selling outside the State. Companies that

manufactured in Washington and sold locally were not

subject to the manufacturing tax. Instead, they were sub-

ject to one of the State’s selling taxes. The State argued

that the selling taxes imposed on local commerce com-

pensated for the manufacturing taxes imposed solely on

interstate commerce. As manufacturing and selling are

not substantially equivalent events, this Court rejected

the State’s proffered defense and held the manufacturing

tax to be facially discriminatory. Tyler II, 483 U.S. at

240-44.

Washington’s tax system was also held to be inter-

nally inconsistent. A Washington manufacturer selling in

> Tyler Pipe II was a consolidated appeal from National Can I

and Tyler I.

Washington only paid the selling tax. But, if Washington’s

tax system was applied in every state, a Washington

manufacturer selling outside the State would pay Wash-

ington’s manufacturing tax and would also pay a selling

tax in the state of sale. Thus, interstate commerce bore a

heavier tax burden than local commerce. This lack of

internal consistency resulted in Washington’s tax being

unfairly apportioned as well as discriminatory.® Tyler II,

483 U.S. at 247-48.

On remand, the Washington Supreme Court applied

Tyler II prospectively only and denied Petitioners any

retroactive relief. National Can Corp. v. Department of Reve-

nue, 109 Wn.2d 878, 749 P.2d 1286 (1988) (“National Can

II”). After the denial of any retroactive relief by the

Washington Supreme Court, Petitioners sought review in

this Court of their rights to a refund of the taxes paid

prior to June 19, 1985. This Court denied that petition for

certiorari.

After the denial of the petition for certiorari, these

Petitioners filed this action in Washington State Superior

Court. In this action, Petitioners claim that the denial of

any retroactive remedy by the Washington Supreme

Court was the final step necessary to complete the State’s

taking of Petitioners’ property without just compensa-

tion. Thus, in this action Petitioners seek relief for Wash-

ington State committing the constitutional tort of a

6 The Court went on to discuss in the context of

Washington’s selling taxes how a credit system might cure the

lack of internal consistency. Tyler II, 483 U.S. at 249.

taking.” The property taken by Washington was (i)

money; (ii) the vested right to a statutory refund of that

money; and (iii) the substantive due process right to a

clear and certain remedy for the illegal forced payment of

the money”. Petitioners also seek for the first time in this

action a refund of the unconstitutional taxes they paid

between June 19, 1985 and July 23, 1987.1!

Prior to this action being heard by the trial court, the

Washington Supreme Court overruled its National Can II

decision in Digital Equipment Corporation v. Department of

Revenue, 129 Wn.2d 177, 916 P.2d 933 (1996).12 This Court

7 Petitioners raised the federal question of a taking

requiring just compensation in their complaints. App. E.

8 ATL was coerced into paying approximately $1,148,000 to

the State in illegal taxes during the period January 1, 1980

through June 19, 1985. Kalama was similarly coerced into

paying approximately $511,000 during the same time period.

See, App. A at A3.

9 See generally, Ettor v. Tacoma, 228 U.S. 148 (1913) (Repeal of

a statute requiring Tacoma to compensate for damage that

already has occurred deprived damaged party of vested right)

and see, Forbes Pioneer Boat Line v. Board of Commissioners, 258

U.S. 338 (1922) (State legislature cannot take away a right to

recover money that is due when the legislative act is passed).

10 McKesson Corp. v. Florida Alcohol & Tobacco Div., 496 U.S.

18 (1990). At a minimum “the State’s duty under the Due

Process Clause to provide a ‘clear and certain remedy’ requires

it to ensure that the tax as actually imposed on petitioner and its

competitors during the contested tax period does not deprive

petitioner of tax moneys in a manner that discriminates against

interstate commerce.” Id. at 43.

11 Petitioners’ complaints raised the refund claim for taxes

paid between June 19, 1985 and July 23, 1987. See, App. E.

12 Digital held that a retroactive remedy was appropriate

and in the context of an out-of-state manufacturer selling in

also announced its decisions in McKesson Corp. v. Florida

Alcohol & Tobacco Div., 496 U.S. 18 (1990) (At a minimum

“the State’s duty under the Due Process Clause to pro-

vide a ‘clear and certain remedy’ requires it to ensure that

the tax as actually imposed on petitioner and its competi-

tors during the contested tax period does not deprive

petitioner of tax moneys in a manner that discriminates

against interstate commerce”), Reich v. Collins, 513 U.S.

106 (1994) (States may not bait and switch by offering a

refund remedy at the time of payment and then deny a

refund at the postdeprivation hearing), and Newsweek,

Inc. v. Florida, 522 U.S. 442 (1998).

The trial court held that Petitioners’ refund claims for

taxes paid between June 19, 1985 and July 23, 1987 were

barred by collateral estoppel and that their claims for just

compensation for their property taken by the State were

barred by res judicata. App. B at B4. Inconsistent with its

holding that collateral estoppel barred the refund claim,

the trial court still awarded Petitioners credits for certain

selling taxes they paid to other states on products manu-

factured between June 19, 1985 and July 23, 1987. App. B

at B4-B5. In National Can II, the decision that formed the

basis for the collateral estoppel decision of the trial court,

Petitioners were awarded no such relief.

After the application of the credit remedy afforded

by the trial court, Petitioners still were subject to the

manufacturing tax. Local commerce was still exempt from

the manufacturing tax for the periods involved in the

Washington awarded credits for certain taxes paid to other

states.

litigation. Neither the trial court nor any statute has ever

imposed the manufacturing tax on Washington manufac-

turers selling in Washington for the time periods

involved in this case. Thus, the Washington manufactur-

ing tax paid by these Petitioners remained facially dis-

criminatory.

Petitioners timely appealed to the Court of Appeals

of the State of Washington, Division II. After oral argu-

ment, the Court of Appeals entered an Order calling for

additional briefing from both parties on the following

issues:

(1) Under W.R. Grace v. State, 137 Wn.2d 580,

973 P.2d 1011 (1999), are Kalama and ATL enti-

tled to credits for B&O taxes paid to Washington

between 1980 and 1985?

(2) If taxpayers are entitled to apply for credits

for the period 1980 to 1985, what affect, if any,

does this have on the takings claim?

In crafting its remedy, the Court of Appeals did not

distinguish between taxes paid between June 19, 1985 and

July 23, 1987 for which refund is being sought and the

taxes paid between January 1, 1980 and June 19, 1985 on

which the takings claim is based. Rather the Court of

Appeals concluded that “Kalama and ATL are entitled to

credits, not refunds, for B&O manufacturing taxes paid

between 1980 and 1987 if they paid manufacturing or

selling taxes to other jurisdictions for the same products.”

App. A at A5.35

13 While the Court of Appeals affirmed the trial court, its

grant of credits for the entire period January 1, 1980 through

Again, after application of the more time-expansive

credit remedy afforded by the Court of Appeals, Peti-

tioners still were subject to the manufacturing tax. Local

commerce was still exempt from the manufacturing tax

for all time periods involved in the litigation. Neither a

court nor a statute has ever imposed the manufacturing

tax on Washington manufacturers selling in Washington

for any time period involved in this case. Thus, the Wash-

ington manufacturing tax actually imposed on these Peti-

tioners remains facially discriminatory.

The Court of Appeals concluded that the providing

of credits in this case resulted in the State not taking

Petitioners’ property without just compensation. It

rejected Petitioners’ claim for a return of the illegal taxes

with interest reasoning that the “constitutional problem

with the tax before 1987 was that it could discriminate

against interstate manufacturers who might be subject to

a comparable tax on goods in another state.” The Court of

Appeals held that the “1987 two-way credit system elimi-

nated this constitutional defect . . . (citations omit-

ted)... [a]Jnd because the credit system was intended to

be, and has been held to be, retroactive, Kalama and ATL

have suffered no discriminatory double taxation.” App. A

at A6é.'4

July 23, 1987 enlarged the remedy provided by the trial court

and is inconsistent with the trial court’s holding that the takings

claim was barred by res judicata. The trial court had awarded no

relief for the period before June 19, 1985. The relief awarded by

both the trial court and the Court of Appeals is inconsistent with

holding that the refund claim is barred by collateral estoppel.

14 The 1987 credit system imposed the manufacturing tax

prospectively on all parties manufacturing in Washington and (a)

10

Petitioners timely petitioned the Washington

Supreme Court for review of the Court of Appeals’ deci-

sion. On March 6, 2001, the Washington Supreme Court

denied the Petition without further opinion.

ze

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The State Court’s Decision Denying That Peti-

tioners’ Property Was Taken Without Just Compen-

sation Conflicts With Relevant Decisions of This

Court.

Petitioners were required to pay unconstitutional

taxes. Petitioners fully exhausted their state law pro-

cedural remedies to recover their money in National Can I

and National Can II. In National Can II, the State denied

Petitioners any remedy for coercing Petitioners to pay the

unconstitutional taxes. At the moment the Washington

Court’s decision became final, Petitioners’ cause of action

for the constitutional tort accrued.

The denial of any retroactive remedy in National Can

II was the final State action necessary for Washington

provided credits to Washington’s selling tax if the goods were

sold in Washington and (b) provided credits to the

manufacturing tax if the goods were sold outside of Washington

and a tax substantially equivalent to Washington’s selling taxes

was imposed on the Washington manufacturer by the foreign

state. While the legislature intended to have the credits apply

retroactively, the legislation did not require, and no court has

required, that the manufacturing tax be retroactively imposed on

Washington manufacturers selling in Washington. See RCW

82.04.440.

11

State to take Petitioners’ property without just compensa-

tion. The property taken was (i) money; (ii) the vested

right to a statutory refund of that money; and (iii) the

substantive due process right to a clear and certain rem-

edy for the illegal forced payment of the money. Thus,

ATL and Kalama are here seeking just compensation.

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion provides: “[N]or shall private property be taken for

public use, without just compensation.”15

The Amendment does not prohibit the taking of

property. Rather, the Amendment only requires that

states provide just compensation for taking property. First

English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v. County of

Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 at 314-15 (1987) (“[T]he Amend-

ment makes clear that it is designed not to limit govern-

mental interference with property rights per se, but rather

to secure compensation in the event of otherwise proper

interference amounting to a taking.”) Williamson County

Regional Planning Comm'n v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172

at 194 (1985) (“The Fifth Amendment does not proscribe

the taking of property; it proscribes taking without just

compensation.”).

The Fifth Amendment is a self-executing provision of

the Constitution. The Amendment limits governmental

power to take property by providing a specific remedy,

15 “The Fifth Amendment applies against the States

through the Fourteenth Amendment.” Williamson County

Regional Planning Comm’n v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172, 175 n.1

(1979). See also, San Diego Gas & Electric Co. v. San Diego, 450 U.S.

621, 623 n.1 (1981).

12

just compensation for such state action.’ Thus, a state .

cannot change the remedy for a taking. See generally,

Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases, 419 U.S. 102, 151

(1974) and Monongahela Navigation Co. v. United States, 148

U.S. 312, 326-27 (1893). Whenever there is a taking, the

remedy must be just compensation.

States are not required to pay just compensation in

advance of or contemporaneous with a taking. “Instead,

the Constitution is satisfied by the provision of meaning-

ful postdeprivation process. Thus, the State’s action is not

‘complete’ in the sense of causing a constitutional injury

‘unless or until the State fails to provide an adequate

postdeprivation remedy for the property loss’.” Wil-

liamson County, 473 U.S. at 195. See also, Parratt v. Taylor,

451 U.S. 527 (1981). Stated differently, compensation must

first be sought through the procedures the State has pro-

vided before a claim for just compensation is ripe. See,

Williamson County, 473 U.S. at 194; see also, First English,

482 U.S. at 312 n.6.

In this case, the State required Petitioners to turn

over their property when it forced them to pay illegal

taxes. Petitioners then sought relief through the refund

procedures the State provided. Having been denied relief,

and only by being denied relief, Petitioners’ constitu-

tional tort cause of action became justiciable.!”

16 See generally, First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of

Glendale v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304, 315-16 (1987) and

San Diego Gas & Electric. Co. v. San Diego, 450 U.S. 621, 655 n.21

(1981) (Brennan, J. dissenting).

17 Thus, res judicata cannot bar Petitioners’ tort claim as the

claim did not accrue until after National Can II was decided.

13

Evaluating Petitioners’ tort claim is relatively easy.

Petitioners’ property was taken under color of state tax

law. It has long been understood that taxes are paid

under duress whenever the state does not provide a fair

and meaningful predeprivation hearing and payment is

required to avoid penalties, interest and business closure.

See, McKesson Corp. v. Florida Alcohol & Tobacco Div., 496

U.S. 18, 38 n.21 (1990); United States v. Mississippi Tax

Comm'n, 412 U.S. 363, 368 (1973); Ward v. Love County, 253

U.S. 17, 23 (1920); Gaar, Scott & Co. v. Shannon, 223 U.S.

468, 471 (1912) and Atchison T. & S.F.R.Co. v. O'Connor,

223 U.S. 280, 285-86 (1912). Here, payment was made to

avoid penalties, interest and business closure. Payment

was also required as a condition of challenging the illegal

tax. Thus, the State illegally and forcibly seized Peti-

tioners’ property.’®

Consistent with Washington State procedure, Peti-

tioners paid the illegal taxes and sought to obtain a

remedy through court action. They successfully demon-

strated the taxes were illegal. Nevertheless, the Washing-

ton Supreme Court denied them any relief. In hindsight,

18 It is of no import that the taking arose under color of a

State tax law. The supposed taxing authority for the State’s

illegal act does not alter the constitutional obligation of the

State. See generally, Myles Salt Co. v. Board of Commissioners, 239

U.S. 478 (1916); Village of Norwood v. Baker, 172 U.S. 269, 278

(1898); Brushaber v. Union Pacific Railroad, 240 U.S. 1, 24-25

(1915); Steward Machine Co. v. Davis, 301 U.S. 548 (1937); Atchison

T. & S.F.R.Co. v. O’Connor, 223 U.S. 280, 287 (1912); Ward v. Love

County, 253 U.S. 17, 24 (1920); Carpenter v. Shaw, 280 U.S. 363,

369 (1930); Montana National Bank of Billings v. Yellowstone

County, 276 U.S. 499, 504-05 (1928); lowa-Des Moines National

Bank v. Bennett, 284 U.S. 239, 247 (1931).

14

even the Washington Supreme Court knows the denial of

relief was wrong.!9 More importantly, it was also the final

step necessary to complete the State’s taking of Peti-

tioners’ property without just compensation. At that

moment, the constitutional cause of action for a taking

arose. The constitutional tort now being complete, the

State’s obligation to pay just compensation is constitu-

tionally mandated.

The State Court of Appeals was clearly concerned

with Petitioners’ takings claim. By Order, it required

additional briefing after oral argument on the issue. Spec-

ifically, the State Court wanted to know whether granting

Petitioners credits would defeat their takings claim. App.

B.

After the additional briefing, the State Court of

Appeals concluded that the granting of credits in this

case defeated the takings claim. The State Court reasoned

“because the constitutional flaw in the statute was not a

lack of state authority to impose it, the tax, before 1987,

was not a nullity. (citation omitted). It follows that the

State has not taken Kalama’s and ATL’s property without

just compensation. The State was entitled to collect the

manufacturing tax from Kalama and ATL between 1980

and 1987 so long as Kalama and ATL were not subject to

out-of-state taxation on the same activity.” App. A at A6.

19 The Washington Supreme Court overruled its National

Can II decision in Digital Equipment Corporation v. Department of

Revenue, 129 Wn.2d 177, 916 P.2d 933 (1996).

15

The State Court erred in failing to recognize that

according to the decisions of this Court the constitutional

tort of a taking accrued at the time the State Supreme

Court denied any remedy in National Can II.2° The pros-

ecution of that case was the complete exhaustion of the

State law procedures for relief.2!

Once those procedures were exhausted, it became too

late for the State to avoid the taking, and the concomitant

obligation to pay just compensation.

Il. The Remedy Provided By Washington’s Court of

Appeals Is Inadequate and Inconsistent With Deci-

sions of This Court.

A. Washington’s Credit Remedy Provides Little

Relief.

The remedy afforded Petitioners by the Court of

Appeals decision for both their takings claim (related to

taxes paid between January 1, 1980 and June 19, 1985)

and their refund claim (related to taxes paid between

June 19, 1985 and July 23, 1987) is a credit to the tax paid

for the amount of similar gross receipt manufacturing or

20 For the reasons expressed in Part II, C, supra, the Court of

Appeals also erred in concluding that retroactive credits alone

cured the discrimination.

21 The failed prosecution of the state law causes of action is

why the State argued and the trial court agreed that the takings

claim was barred by res judicata. But for Petitioners’ federal

cause of action for a taking, Petitioners would not now be able

to state any claim for relief for the time period related to the

takings claim.

— — —

16

selling taxes that the Petitioners paid to other jurisdic-

tions on the same goods.

Petitioner, ATL paid Washington manufacturing

taxes of $1,628,000 and in addition paid $6,591 of similar

gross receipt selling and/or manufacturing taxes to other

jurisdictions on the same products. The decision of the

Court of Appeals would result in a refund to ATL of only

$6,591 plus refund interest. Petitioner, Kalama paid

approximately $869,000 of Washington manufacturing

taxes and did not pay any similar gross receipt selling

and/or manufacturing taxes on the same goods to other

jurisdictions. The decision of the Court of Appeals would

result in Kalama receiving no refund.

B. Just Compensation Is The Only Permissible

Remedy For A Taking.

While the compensation for legal taxes is the enjoy-

ment of living in a civilized society, Compania General De

Tabacos De Filipinas v. Collector of Internal Revenue, 275 U.S.

87, 100 (1927) or the enjoyment of a privilege that a State

could otherwise withhold, the Constitution provides that

the compensation for property illegally taken by the gov-

ernment must be “just compensation.” In giving content

to the just compensation requirement, the Supreme Court

has required the owner to be returned to as good a

position pecunarily as if his property had not been taken.

United States v. 564.54 Acres of Land, 441 U.S. 506, 510

(1979); Olson v. United States, 292 U.S. 246, 255 (1934).

Here, there is no difficulty in valuing the property

taken. It was money. The compensation for money must

.

17

be the same amount of money.?2 In addition, Washington

law provides for 12% interest on liquidated claims. See

generally, RCW 4.56.110, RCW 19.52.020 and Pederson’s v.

Transamerica Ins., 83 Wn. App. 432, 922 P.2d 126 (1996).

Petitioners’ just compensation claim is for a liquidated

amount. This Court has held that-where property is taken

and later returned, compensation for the temporary

deprivation of the property must be made. First English,

482 U.S. at 320, 321. Compensation for the temporary

deprivation of money is interest. Thus, Petitioners are

entitled to a return of the amount of money the State

illegally obtained plus interest at the rate of 12% from the

date of the taking. No other compensation will be just,

and the Constitution requires just compensation.

C. The Facial Discrimination This Court Held

Unconstitutional In Tyler II Remains In Place.

Petitioners are Washington manufacturers selling

goods outside the State. Petitioners were required to pay

the Washington manufacturing tax. RCW 82.04.240. Other

22 The other property taken by the State, the vested right to

a statutory refund of the money and the substantive due process

right to a clear and certain remedy for the illegal forced

payment of the money, are similarly equal in value to the money.

At first glance, returning the money taken with interest appears

to fully compensate for the taking of the other property. On

further examination, however, it may be appropriate to

compensate Petitioners for their costs and fees in being forced to

litigate their entitlement to relief. Such an additional award

appears to be part of just compensation as it is necessary to

return Petitioners to the status quo ante the denial of the vested

statutory right and the substantive due process right to a clear

and certain remedy.

18

Washington manufacturers not engaging in interstate

commerce did not have to pay that tax. Former RCW

82.04.440 (amended 1987). Petitioners would not have

had to pay the manufacturing tax if they sold their goods

in Washington.

Only subjecting Washington manufacturers who

engaged in interstate commerce to the manufacturing tax

violates the Commerce Clause. “[A] State may not tax a

transaction or incident more heavily when it crosses state

lines than when it occurs entirely within the State.”

Armco Inc. v. Hardesty, 467 U.S. 638, 642 (1984) quoted in

Tyler II, 483 U.S. at 240-41.25

The State Court failed to recognize that imposing the

manufacturing tax only on interstate commerce was a

reason the tax was unconstitutionally discriminatory. The

only constitutional defect the State Court observed “was

that it (the tax) could discriminate against interstate man-

ufacturers who might be subject to a comparable tax on

goods in another state.” App. A at A6.

The granting of credits solved the lack of internal

consistency, but credits fail to remedy the discrimination

resulting from only imposing the manufacturing tax on

23 The fact that Washington subjected Washington

manufacturers selling in the State to a selling tax is of no import.

Manufacturing and selling are not substantially equivalent

events so that a tax on one can compensate for the lack of a tax

on the other. Thus, the tax imposed on these Petitioners is

facially discriminatory and unconstitutional. See, Tyler II, 483

U.S. at 240-44.

19

interstate commerce. Credits do not result in a Washing-

ton manufacturer selling locally paying the manufactur-

ing tax that Petitioners were forced to pay. Credits do not

result in either Kalama or ATL not paying the manufac-

turing tax. Thus, even after application of the credits,

Washington’s manufacturing tax remains discriminatory

in hindsight because the State will tax the event of manu-

facturing goods sold in interstate commerce but not the

event of manufacturing goods sold locally.24 Armco and

Tyler II are directly on point.

As it leaves the manufacturing tax facially discrimi-

natory, the credit remedy is an insufficient remedy

according to:

(i) McKesson, 496 U.S. at 43 (“[T]he State’s duty

under the Due Process Clause to provide a ‘clear and

certain remedy’ requires it to ensure that the tax as actu-

ally imposed on petitioner and its competitors during the

contested tax period does not deprive petitioner of tax

moneys in a manner that discriminates against interstate

commerce ... ”) and

(ii) Montana National Bank of Billings v. Yellow-

stone County, 276 U.S. 499 (1928) (holding that a party

forced to pay a discriminatory tax is entitled to a refund

of the excess tax paid - unless the disparity is removed in

some other manner).

24 The State Court wrote, “the credit system was intended

to be, and has been held to be, retroactive”, and the State Court

retroactively applied the credits, but not the manufacturing tax.

App. A at A6. Thus, the tax remains only imposed on interstate

commerce.

20

Therefore, the credit remedy actually applied by the State

is impermissible.

Today, a full refund with interest is the only permiss-

ible remedy that can retroactively cure the manufacturing

tax discrimination. Petitioners, Washington manufac-

turers selling in interstate commerce, cannot be subject to

a tax they would not pay if they only engaged in local

commerce. Even if the State had at one time the oppor-

tunity to correct that inequality by imposing the manu-

facturing tax retroactively on Washington manufacturers

selling locally,25 the time for that potential course of

action has long passed. _

It has been more than 12 years since National Can II.

The State has shown no willingness to retroactively

impose the manufacturing tax. A similar problem arose in

Iowa-Des Moines National Bank v. Bennett, 284 U.S. 239

(1931). As explained in McKesson, 496 U.S. at 35-36:

The Court held unanimously that the State of

Iowa’s taxation of the shares of state and

national banks at a higher rate than those of

competing domestic corporations violated the

Equal Protection Clause. With respect to the

banks’ claim for a refund of excess taxes paid,

Justice Brandeis explained

‘The [banks’] rights were violated, and the

causes of action arose, when taxes at the lower

rate were collected from their competitors. It

may be assumed that all ground for a claim for

refund would have fallen if the State, promptly

25 For the reasons expressed in Part II, D, supra, the State

never had the right to deny the statutory refund remedy.

21

upon discovery of the discrimination, had

removed it by collecting the additional taxes

from the favored competitors. By such collection

the [banks’] grievances would have been

redressed, for these are not primarily over-

assessment. The right invoked is that to equal

treatment; and such treatment will be attained if

either their competitors’ taxes are increased or

their own reduced.’

But the State did not elect to set matters right by

collecting additional taxes from the banks’ com-

petitors for the four tax years encompassed by

the suit. And the Court found it ‘well settled’

that the banks could not be ‘remitted to the

necessity of awaiting such action by the state

officials upon their own initiative.’ .The Court

held, therefore, that the banks were ‘entitled to

obtain in these suits refund of the excess of

taxes exacted from them’. (citations omitted).

Like the taxpayer in Iowa-Des Moines National Bank,

Petitioners can no longer be made to await the retroactive

imposition of the manufacturing tax against all Washing-

ton manufacturers who sold goods locally. Therefore,

Petitioners are entitled to obtain in this action a refund of

the unconstitutional taxes exacted from them during the

second time period (June 19, 1985 through July 23, 1987)

in addition to just compensation for the taxes paid during

the first time period (January 1, 1980 through June 19,

1985).

22

D. At The Time Of Payment, Washington Offered

These Petitioners A Refund Remedy.

At the time the illegal taxes were coerced from Peti-

tioners, the statutory remedy was a refund. National Can

‘Corp. v. Department of Revenue, 109 Wn.2d 878, 880-81, 749

P.2d 1286 (1988) (“If the taxes were collected in violation

of the constitution, then the state refund statutes would

mandate refunds.”); See also, RCW 82.04.4286 and RCW

82.32.060.

The State’s offering of a refund remedy was not an

act of generosity. The State wished to avoid predepriva-

tion remedies. Washington State provides no meaningful

opportunity for a hearing prior to payment of taxes and

injunctions generally may not be obtained so long as the

clear and certain remedy of a refund exists.?®

In Reich v. Collins, 513 U.S. 106 (1994), Georgia held

out what plainly appeared to be a clear and certain post-

deprivation remedy, a tax refund, and then declared, only

after the disputed taxes had been paid, that no such

remedy existed. Although states may maintain remedial

schemes that are exclusively predeprivation, exclusively

postdeprivation, or hybrid and may reconfigure their

schemes over time to fit changing needs, Reich made clear

that states may not “bait and switch” by reconfiguring

after payment. States cannot offer a refund at the time of

26 See, Tyler Pipe Industries, Inc. v. Department of Revenue, 96

Wn.2d 785, 791, 638 P.2d 1213 (1982) (Denying injunctive relief

because the “statutory scheme at issue provides the legal

remedy of a refund suit. ...”); See also, RCW 82.32.150 and RCW

82.32.180.

tt ts

~

i i i a eee a wee as

23

payment and then claim that remedy is unavailable after

the postdeprivation hearing finds the tax illegal.

Following Reich, the Court issued its per curiam deci-

sion in Newsweek, Inc. v. Florida, 522 U.S. 442 (1998).

Newsweek again involved a situation where a state offered

a refund remedy at the time of payment and then after

payment developed an alternative remedy. Again, the

Court rejected the alternative. Newsweek, “who reason-

ably relied on the apparent availability of a postpayment

refund when paying the tax” had to be afforded that

remedy. States may not “bait and switch”. Fundamental

fairness and due process compel states that have chosen

statutory schemes offering refund remedies and no pre-

deprivation relief to provide the refund remedy on which

taxpayers reasonably rely.?” Id.

The law is now clear enough that the State wrote

below: “States cannot ‘bait and switch’ by offering a

postdeprivation remedy, and then withdrawing that rem-

edy after the taxes are paid.”28 App. E at E9. But that is

27 The Court followed Newsweek with its vacation of a

Florida State court decision in Dryden v. Madison County, 522

U.S. 1145 (1998). The Reich, Newsweek and Dryden series of cases

are entirely consistent with the vested right analysis of the

Court’s earlier decisions in Ettor v. Tacoma, 228 U.S. 148 (1913)

(Repeal of a statute requiring Tacoma to compensate for damage

that already has occurred deprived damaged party of vested

right) and Forbes Pioneer Boat Line v. Board of Commissioners, 258

U.S. 338 (1922) (State legislature cannot take away a right to

recover money that is due when the legislative act is passed).

28 The State then argued that the credit remedy was an

appropriate remedy. The State misses the point. Having offered

a refund remedy, that particular remedy cannot be withdrawn.

24

exactly what Washington has done. It offered ATL and

Kalama a refund remedy when they paid the illegal tax.

Once the tax was declared unconstitutional, however, the

State withdrew the remedy. First, in National Can II, it

afforded no retroactive remedy. Now, it offers a different

retroactive remedy, limited credits. The Court’s prior

decisions make clear that ATL and Kalama must receive

the refund remedy that was reasonably relied upon. But,

unless the Court grants certiorari, the State will have

avoided predeprivation hearings by promising the clear

and certain remedy of a refund, and then after being

successfully challenged, the State will have avoided pro-

viding that remedy by switching remedies.

Ill. CONCLUSION

For the reasons expressed above, this petition for

writ of certiorari to review the decision of the Court of

Appeals of the State of Washington should be granted.

DATED this 14 day of May, 2001.

FRANKLIN G. DINCES

Counsel of Record

Otherwise, the State will have baited taxpayers with the

promise of a clear and certain remedy, a refund, and then

switched the remedy that is available. Switching remedies

results in the State’s remedy being unclear and uncertain.

Al

APPENDIX A

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE

STATE OF WASHINGTON

DIVISION II

KALAMA CHEMICAL, INC. and

ADVANCED TECHNOLOGY

LABORATORIES, INC.,

Appellants,

No. 24358-0-II

v.

STATE OF WASHINGTON,

Respondent.

PUBLISHED

OPINION

Filed: SEP 15 2000

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

ARMSTRONG, C.J. - Kalama Chemical, Inc. and

Advanced Technology Laboratories, Inc. (ATL), two com-

panies that manufacture products sold primarily out of

the state, sued the State of Washington for taking their

property without just compensation and for not refund-

ing taxes paid. The takings claim is based upon Washing-

ton Business & Occupation (B&O) taxes collected

between 1980 and 1985. The United States Supreme Court

found the taxes to be unconstitutional under the Com-

merce Clause. Tyler Pipe Indus., Inc. v. Department of Reve-

nue, 483 U.S. 232, 107 S. Ct. 2810, 97 L. Ed. 2d 199 (1987)

(Tyler Pipe II). But on remand, the Washington Supreme

Court denied the taxpayers a refund, holding that Tyler

Pipe II applied prospectively only. National Can Corp. v.

Department of Revenue, 109 Wn.2d 878, 749 P.2d 1286

(1988) (National Can IT), overruled by Digital Equip. Corp. v.

Department of Revenue, 129 Wn.2d 177, 916 P.2d 933 (1996).

|

|

A2

In response to National Can II, the Washington Legislature

amended the refund statute, providing a tax credit rather

than a refund for taxes unlawfully collected. Kalama and

ATL contend that the State’s collection of the taxes fol-

lowed by the court’s holding in National Can II amounted

to an unconstitutional taking, requiring just compensa-

tion. Kalama and ATL also claim a refund, under RCW

82.32.180, for B&O taxes paid between June 20, 1985, and

July 23, 1987.

The trial court granted summary judgment for the

State, ruling that res judicata barred the claim for taxes

paid between 1980 and 1985 and that collateral estoppel

barred the claim for taxes paid between 1985 and 1987.

The issues raised have been decided by the Washington

Supreme Court. Kalama and ATL are limited to a credit

for taxes unlawfully collected; the credit scheme applies

to taxes paid between 1980 and 1987; and the credit

system does not violate the Commerce Clause. We affirm.

FACTS

Kalama and ATL manufacture products in Washing-

ton, which are primarily sold in other states. Both com-

panies paid Washington manufacturing B&O taxes from

January 1, 1980, through July 23, 1987. The taxes, accord-

ing to Kalama and ATL, were paid “under threat of

penalties, interest and business closure.”

Both parties, along with a number of other com-

panies, sought a refund of B&O taxes paid through June

19, 1985, in National Can Corp. v. Department of Revenue,

105 Wn.2d 327, 732 P.2d 134 (1986) (National Can I),

vacated, Tyler Pipe II, 483 U.S. 232. The Washington

A3

Supreme Court held that the B&O tax statute, RCW

82.04.440, did not violate the Commerce Clause. National

Can I, 105 Wn.2d at 330, 343. On appeal, the United States

Supreme Court held that the Washington B&O tax dis-

criminated against interstate commerce in violation of the

Commerce Clause. Tyler Pipe II, 483 U.S. at 248.1 On

remand, our Supreme Court held that Tyler Pipe II applied

prospectively only. National Can II, 109 Wn.2d at 895.

Therefore, Kalama and ATL’s request for retroactive

relief, in the form of a tax refund, was denied. National

Can II, 109 Wn.2d at 895.

In 1989, Kalama and ATL filed their current com-

plaints seeking just compensation and a refund of taxes

paid. Kalama seeks compensation for approximately

$511,000 paid between 1980 and 1985, as well as a refund

for approximately $358,000 paid between 1985 and 1987.

ATL seeks compensation for approximately $1,148,000

paid between 1980 and 1985, as well as a refund for

approximately $480,000 paid during 1985 and 1987.

Kalama did not pay any gross receipts taxes to other

states during this time period. ATL claims to have paid

$6,591 in gross receipts taxes to other states during this

period.

At the time Kalama and ATL paid the taxes, a tax-

payer could sue for a refund of taxes wrongly collected.

Former RCW 82.32.180 (1987). In 1987, the Washington

Legislature responded to the holding in Tyler Pipe II by

amending the B&O tax exemption statute and replacing

1 Tyler Pipe II was a consolidated appeal from National Can

I, 105 Wn.2d 327 and Tyler Pipe Indus., Inc. v. Department of

Revenue, 105 Wn.2d 318, 715 P.2d 123 (1986) (Tyler Pipe I).

A4

the multiple activities exemption with a two-way credit

scheme.? Former RCW 82.04.440 (1987). The two-way

credit scheme applies retroactively. Laws of 1987, 2d Ex.

Sess., ch. 3, § 3. See also W.R. Grace & Co. v. Department of

Revenue, 137 Wn.2d 580, 584, 973 P.2d 1011, cert. denied,

120 S. Ct. 371 (1999).

ANALYSIS

I. Summary Judgment Standard of Review

When reviewing an order of summary judgment, we

engage in the same inquiry as the trial court. Wilson v.

Steinbach, 98 Wn.2d 434, 437, 656 P.2d 1030 (1982). Sum-

mary judgment is appropriate only if the pleadings, affi-

davits, depositions, and admissions on file demonstrate

the absence of any genuine issues of material fact, and

the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of

law CR 56(c). Here, the summary judgment involves only

questions of law.

II. Refund of B&O taxes paid between

January 1980 and July 23, 1987

Kalama and ATL, relying on United States Supreme

Court cases decided after National Can II, argue that

Washington must refund unconstitutional taxes. Wash-

ington, according to Kalama and ATL, may not hold out a

2 In a one-way credit scheme a taxpayer would receive

credit against the manufacturing tax for wholesale tax paid to

another state. A two-way credit scheme adds a credit against

wholesale taxes for manufacturing taxes paid to another state to

the one-way credit scheme.

AS

refund as an available remedy at the time the taxes are

paid, and then deny the refund after the taxes are paid.

See Newsweek, Inc. v. Florida, 522 U.S. 442, 118 S. Ct. 904,

139 L. Ed. 2d 888 (1998); Reich v. Collins, 513 U.S. 106, 115

S. Ct. 547, 130 L. Ed. 2d 454 (1994).

The same argument was rejected by our Supreme

Court in W.R. Grace. The court held that the “bait and

switch” arguments of Newsweek do not apply because the

“credits provided in the 1987 remedial statute are the

appropriate remedy in this instance.” W.R. Grace, 137

Wn.2d at 599. And the credit system applies retroactively

to taxes paid before 1987. W.R. Grace, 137 Wn.2d at 603.

Thus, Kalama and ATL are entitled to credits, not

refunds, for B&O manufacturing taxes paid between 1980

and 1987 if they paid manufacturing or selling taxes to

other jurisdictions for the same products.3

Kalama and ATL contend, however, that W.R. Grace is

not controlling for the taxes paid between 1980 and 1985.

They argue that W.R. Grace was an action for a refund and

the action here is a new, independent action under the

Fifth Amendment for a taking without just compensation.

And, according to Kalama and ATL, the only just com-

pensation for collecting an unconstitutional tax is the

same amount of money plus interest. This argument

assumes that the manufacturing tax, as it existed before

1987, was a nullity as a result of the United States

Supreme Court decision holding it unconstitutional.

American Nat'l Can Corp. v. Department of Revenue, 114

3 The State concedes that Kalama and ATL are entitled to

credits for taxes paid to other states since 1980.

A6

Wn.2d 236, 787 P.2d 545 (1990); Digital, 129 Wn.2d 177;

and W.R. Grace, 137 Wn.2d 580, teach otherwise.

The constitutional problem with the tax before 1987

was that it could discriminate against interstate manufac-

turers who might be subject to a comparable tax on goods

sold in another state. Tyler II, 483 U.S. at 248. The 1987

two-way credit system eliminated this constitutional

defect. American Nat'l Can, 114 Wn.2d at 249; Digital, 129

Wn.2d at 194; W.R. Grace, 137 Wn.2d at 603-04. And

because the credit system was intended to be, and has

been held to be, retroactive, Kalama and ATL have suf-

fered no discriminatory double taxation. Finally, because

the constitutional flaw in the statute was not a lack of

State authority to impose it, the tax, before 1987, was not

a nullity. W.R. Grace, 137 Wn.2d at 595-96. It follows that

the State has not taken Kalama and ATL’s property with-

out just compensation. The State was entitled to collect

the manufacturing tax from Kalama and ATL between

1980 and 1987 so long as Kalama and ATL were not

subject to out-of-state taxation on the same activity. The

retroactive credit system prevents such double taxation.

Kalama and ATL are entitled to a credit for any compara-

ble tax paid out-of-state on the same goods during the

same period.

We affirm.

/s/ Armstrong, C.J.

ARMSTRONG, CJ.

A7

We concur:

/s/ Houghton, J.

HOUGHTON, J.

/s/ Bridgewater, J.

BRIDGEWATER, J.

Bl

APPENDIX B

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS OF THE

STATE OF WASHINGTON

DIVISION II

No. 24358-0-II

ORDER CALLING FOR

ADDITIONAL BRIEFING

Filed:

January 24, 2000

KALAMA CHEMICAL,

INC. and ADVANCED

TECHNOLOGY

LABORATORIES, INC.

Appellants,

|

|

|

|

|

|

v. |

STATE OF |

WASHINGTON, |

DEPARTMENT OF |

REVENUE, |

|

Respondent.

Pursuant to RAP 10.1H, this court requests additional

briefing from the parties, addressing the following ques-

tions:

(1) Under W.R. Grace v. State, 137 Wn.2d 580, 973

P.2d 1011 (1999), are Kalama and ATL entitled to credits

for B&O taxes paid to Washington between 1980 and

1985?

(2) If taxpayers are entitled to apply for credits for

the period 1980 to 1985, what affect, if any, does this have

on their takings claims?

The supplemental brief of appellants is due 30 days

from the date of this order. Respondent’s reply to the

supplemental brief is due 20 days after appellants’ brief is

B2

filed. The supplemental briefs shall not exceed 15 pages

in length.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED this 24th day of January, 2000.

/s/ {Illegible]

ACTING CHIEF JUDGE

cc: Franklin G. Dinces

Anne E. Egeler

B3

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF WASHINGTON

FOR THURSTON COUNTY

KALAMA CHEMICAL No. 89-2-02968-2

)

INC., and ) No. 89-2-02926-7

ADVANCED ) (Consolidated)

TECHNOLOGY )

Summary Judgment Order

LABORATORIES, INC. ) Dismissing Action With

Plaintiffs, Prejudice

V. ) (Filed Feb. 1, 1999)

STATE OF )

WASHINGTON,

Defendant. )

)

This matter came before the Court for hearing on

Plaintiffs’ motions for summary judgment on July 31,

1998 and again on September 18, 1998. The Court has

previously denied Plaintiffs’ motions at the hearing on

September 18 and by Order dated October 7, 1998. Con-

sistent with its previous order and decisions, the Court

now enters a final summary judgment order dismissing

this action with prejudice.

In dismissing this action, the Court has considered its

Order of October 7, 1998, the oral arguments of counsel at

the hearings on September 18 and July 31, 1998, and the

following pleadings and papers filed in these consoli-

dated actions:

1. Plaintiff’s Motions for partial Summary Judgment

and Memoranda in Support Thereof dated August 10,

1998 and June 19, 1998;

B4

2. Defendant’s Memoranda In Opposition To Plain-

tiff’s Motions dated September 4, 1998 and July 20, 1998;

3. Plaintiffs’ Rebuttal Memorandum filed Septem-

ber 9, 1998 and July 23, 1998;

4. The Declaration of John Hagen dated October 29,

1997;

5. The Declaration of Tracy Day dated September 8,

1998;

6. The Stipulation and Order regarding Consolida-

tion dated November 6, 1998 and

7. The Complaints and Amended Complaints filed

herein -

Based on the oral arguments of Counsel and the

pleadings, papers and evidence presented, the Court now

finds:

1. No genuine issue of material fact exists with

respect to Plaintiffs’ claims;

2. Defendant is entitled, as a matter of law, to a

summary judgment dismissing Plaintiffs’ action with

prejudice.

3. For the reasons stated at the hearing, Plaintiffs’

claim for just compensation for taxes paid between Janu-

ary 1, 1980 and June 19, 1985 is barred by res judicata;

4. Plaintiffs’ claim for a refund of, or just compensa-

tion for, taxes paid between June 19, 1985 and July 1987 is

barred by collateral estoppel;

5. The State of Washington has agreed to pay Plain-

tiff Advanced Technology Laboratories a credit for the

BS

amount of gross receipts taxes paid to other jurisdictions

between June 19, 1985 and July 1987. The amount of such

a credit is $2,621.00.

- 6. Plaintiff Advanced Technology Laboratories is

entitled to interest on the credit referred to above at the

statutory rate set forth in RCW 82.32.060.

Therefore, the Court enters an Order requiring the

State of Washington to pay Advanced Technology Labo-

ratories a refund of $2,621.00 plus statutory interest.

The Court further Orders that Plaintiffs’ causes of

action otherwise be dismissed with prejudice.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 1 day of Feb., 1999.

/s/ Christine Pomeroy

JUDGE

Presented by:

CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE

Attorney General

/s/ Anne Egeler

Anne Egeler, WSBA # 20258

Assistant Attorney General

Attorneys for Defendant

Department of Revenue

400 General Admin., Bldg.

P.O. Box 40123

Olympia, WA 98504

(360) 753-5528

Es oS eg SRA th ON? le

f

Oe Pe ee ee TNS eee ee a” ye eee ig tee, Cee

B6

Approved as to Form

Notice of Presentation Waived

The Dinces Law Firm

/s/ Franklin G. Dinces

Franklin G. Dinces, WSBA #13473

Attorney for Plaintiffs,

Advanced Technology Laboratories,

Inc. and

Kalama Chemical, Inc.

Suite 1300, 720 Olive Way

Seattle, WA 98101

(206) 713-1287

B7

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF THE

STATE OF WASHINGTON

IN AND FOR THURSTON COUNTY

KALAMA CHEMICAL, )

INC., ) NO. 98-2-02968-2

Plaintiff, ) ORDER DENYING

a8 MOTION FOR PARTIAL

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

STATE OF )

WASHINGTON )

DEPARTMENT OF )

REVENUE, ‘

Defendant. )

)

This matter having come before the Court for hearing

on July 31, 1998, on Plaintiff's Motion For Partial Sum-

mary Judgment and the Court having reviewed and con-

sidered Plaintiff's Motion For Partial Summary Judgment,

Memorandum In Support Thereof, Declaration of John W.

Hagen, Defendant’s Response to Motion for Summary

Judgment together with its Exhibits, Plaintiff's Rebuttal

Memorandum in Support of Motion For Partial Summary

Judgment and the Court having considered the records

and files herein together with the parties’ oral arguments

by counsel the Court now finds:

1. There are no genuine issues of material fact with

respect to Plaintiff’s claim for just compensation for taxes

paid between January 1, 1980 and June 19, 1985.

2. For the reasons stated in the attached oral opin-

ion, Plaintiff's claim is barred by res judicata and-coHeat-

erat-estoppet CAP 10/7/98

B8

THEREFORE IT IS HEREBY ADJUDGED, ORDERED

AND DECREED that Plaintiff’s motion for partial sum-

mary judgment filed June 24, 1998 is denied.

DONE IN OPEN COURT this 7 day of September

Oct., 1998.

/s/ C. Pomeroy

CHRISTINE A. POMEROY,

JUDGE

Presented by:

CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE

Attorney General

/s/ Anne Egeler

ANNE E. EGELER, WSBA No. 20258

Assistant Attorney General

Counsel for Defendant

Department of Revenue

Approved as to form and

notice of presentation waived:

THE DINCES LAW FIRM

FRANKLIN G. DINCES

WSBA No. 13473

Counsel for Plaintiff

Ka.ama Chemcial

B9

Superior Court of the State of Washington

For Thurston County

[Names And Address Omitted In Printing]

[SEAL]

October 8, 1998

(Filed Oct. 8, 1998)

Mr. Franklin G. Dinces

Attorney at Law

4607 Saddleback Dr. NW

Gig Harbor, WA 98332

Ms. Anne E. Egeler

Assistant Attorney General

PO Box 40123

Olympia, WA 98504-0123

Letter Opinion

Re: Kalama Chemical, Inc. v. State/Dep’t. of Revenue

Thurston County Cause No. 98-2-62968-2

9-2-2968-2

Dear Counsel:

The Court reviewed the transcript and the arguments

of the July 31, 1998 hearing and although the Court did

include collateral estopped in its oral opinion upon

reconsideration will delete it as a basis to reject the “tak-

ing” and “just compensation” arguments for the tax years

1980 - 1985. The Court will uphold the ruling on “res

judicata”. I have signed the order presented, a copy of

which is attached to this letter opinion.

For the tax years 1985 --1987 the Court will deny

summary judgment on the basis of collateral estopped.

This Court finds plaintiffs argument attempt to relitigate

B10

essentially the same issues which have been before the

Washington State and U.S. Supreme Courts, which

Kalama was a party to. National Can II, 109 Wn.2d 878

(1988) cert denied, 486 U.S. 1040 (1988).

This Court agrees with the state Attorney General

that the cases of Newsweek, Inc v. Florida, 118 S. Ct. 904

(1998) and Dryden v. Madison County, 118 S. Ct. 1162

(1998) are distinguishable. This is not a “bait and switch”

case as in Newsweek. Following the Tyler Pipe decision, the

state of Washington offered a post deprivation remedy in

the form of a credit to those taxpayers who have paid

taxes to other jurisdictions and as seen in the McKesson

Corp v. Florida Alcohol & Tobacco Division, 496 US 18

(1990), the U.S. Supreme Court gives to states the flex-

ibility in responding to its determination.

I'll sign Findings of Fact, Conclusion of Law and

Order upon presentation.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Christine A. Pomeroy

Christine A. Pomeroy

Judge

Attachments

cc: Court File

Bil

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF WASHINGTON

FOR THURSTON COUNTY

KALAMA CHEMICAL

INC., and ADVANCED

TECHNOLOGY

LABORATORIES, INC.

Plaintiffs,

No. 89-2-02968-2

No. 89-2-02926-7

(Consolidated)

Stipulation and Order

vs.

STATE OF WASHINGTON

Defendant.

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

STIPULATION OF THE PARTIES

(Filed Nov. 6, 1998)

Each of the parties to Kalama Chemical, Inc. v. State of

Washington, Department of Revenue, Thurston County No.

89-2-02968-2 and each of the parties in Advanced Technol-

ogy Laboratories, Inc. v. State of Washington, Department of

Revenue, Thurston County No. 89-2-02926-7, stipulate and

agree to the following:

1. Except for the identity of the plaintiffs and the

amount and/or kind of taxes paid by the plaintiffs to

Defendant and other jurisdictions all facts material to the

resolution of both actions are identical.

2. All legal issues raised by plaintifts in one action

have been raised in the other action.

3. It is in the interests of both parties that the mat-

ters be consolidated into one action for purposes of deci-

sion, appeal and otherwise. Such consolidation will also

result in a judicial economy.

B12

4. The arguments made by both parties in regard to

the various motions already brought in Kalama Chemical,

Inc. v. State of Washington, Department of Revenue,

Thurston County No. 89-2-02968-2 would be made by

both parties in the other action.

ORDER

THIS MATTER having come before the Court upon

the stipulation of the parties pursuant to CR 42, and for

good cause shown, it is hereby ORDERED that:

1. Advanced Technology Laboratories, Inc. v. State of

Washington, Department of Revenue, Thurston County No.

89-2-02926-7 is consolidated into Kalama Chemical, Inc. v.

State of Washington, Department of Revenue, Thurston

County No. 89-2-02968-2.

2. All pleadings and other papers previously filed

in Advanced Technology Laboratories, Inc. v. State of Wash-

ington, Department of Revenue, Thurston County No.

89-2-02968-2.

3. All motions, briefs and other papers filed in

Kalama Chemical, Inc. v. State of Washington, Department of

Revenue, Thurston County No. 89-2-02968-2 on behalf of

plaintiff Kalama Chemical, Inc. shall be deemed to have

been filed on behalf of plaintiff Advanced Technology

Laboratories, Inc. Specifically, Advanced Technology Lab-

oratories, Inc. shall be deemed to have raised every legal

and factual argument raised by Kalama Chemical, Inc.

4. All further proceedings in either action shall be

filed solely in Kalama Chemical, Inc. v. State of Washington,

Department of Revenue, Thurston County No. 89-2-02968-2.

B13

5. The date of trial set for Advanced Technology Labo-

ratories, Inc. v. State of Washington, Department of Revenue,

Thurston County No. 89-2-02926-7 is hereby stricken.

IT IS SO ORDERED this 6th day of November, 1998.

/s/ Christine A. Pomeroy

JUDGE

Presented by:

CHRISTINE O. GREGOIRE

Attorney General

/s/ Cindy R. Evans WSBA #27309 for

Anne Egeler, WSBA # 20258

Assistant Attorney General

Attorneys for Defendant

Department of Revenue

400 General Admin. Bldg.

P.O. Box 40123

Olympia, WA 98504

(360) 753-5528

Approved as to Form

Notice of Presentation Waived

The Dinces Law Firm

/s/ Franklin Dinces

Franklin G. Dinces, WSBA #13473

Attorney for Plaintiffs,

Advanced Technology Laboratories,

Inc. and

Kalama Chemical, Inc.

Suite 1300, 720 Olive Way

Seattle, WA 98101

(206) 713-1287

Cl

APPENDIX C

THE SUPREME COURT OF WASHINGTON

KALAMA CHEMICAL, INC. and )

ADVANCED TECHNOLOGY ) NO. 70301-9

LABORATORIES, INC., ) aaa

Petitioners, C/A NO.

v. ) 24358-0-II

STATE OF WASHINGTON, (Filed

Respondent. ) Mar. 6, 2001)

)

Department I of the Court considered this matter at

its March 6, 2001, Motion Calendar, and unanimously

agreed that the following order be entered.

IT IS ORDERED:

That the Petition for Review is denied.

DATED at Olympia, Washington this 6th day of

March, 2001.

/s/ Gerry J. Allfauden

CHIEF JUSTICE

D1

APPENDIX D

4.56.110 Interest on judgments. Interest on judg-

ments shall accrue as follows:

(1) Judgments founded on written contracts, pro-

viding for the payment of interest until paid at a specified

rate, shall bear interest at the rate specified in the con-

tracts: PROVIDED, That said interest rate is set forth in

the judgment.

(2) All judgments for unpaid child support that

have accrued under a superior court order or an order

entered under the administrative procedure act shall bear

interest at the rate of twelve percent.

(3) Except as provided under subsections (1) and (2)

of this section, judgments shall bear interest from the

date of entry at the maximum rate permitted under RCW

19.52.020 on the date of entry thereof: PROVIDED, That

in any case where a court is directed on review to enter

judgment on a verdict or in any case where a judgment

entered on a verdict is wholly or partly affirmed on

review interest on the judgment or on that portion of the

judgment affirmed shall date back to and shall accrue

from the date the verdict was rendered.

19.52.020 Highest rate permissible — Setup charges.

(1) Any rate of interest shall be legal so long as the rate of

interest does not exceed the higher of: (a) Twelve percent

per annum; or (b) four percentage points above the

equivalent coupon issue yield (as published by the Board

D2

of Governors of the Federal Reserve System) of the aver-

age bill rate for twenty-six week treasury bills as deter-

mined at the first bill market auction conducted during

the calendar month immediately preceding the later of (i)

the establishment of the interest rate by written agree-

ment of the parties to the contract, or (ii) any adjustment

in the interest rate in the case of a written agreement

permitting an adjustment in the interest rate. No person

shall directly or indirectly take or receive in money,

goods, or things in action, or in any other way, any

greater interest for the loan or forbearance of any money,

goods, or things in action.

(2)(a) In any loan of money in which the funds

advanced do not exceed the sum of five hundred dollars,

a setup charge may be charged and collected by the

lender, and such setup charge shall not be considered

interest hereunder.

(b) The setup charge shall not exceed four percent

of the amount of funds advanced, or fifteen dollars,

whichever is the lesser, except that on loans of under one

hundred dollars a minimum not exceeding four dollars

may be so charged.

(3) Any loan made pursuant to a commitment to

lend at an interest rate permitted at the time the commit-

ment is made shall not be usurious. Credit extended

pursuant to an open-end credit agreement upon which

interest is computed on the basis of a balance or balances

outstanding during a billing cycle shall not be usurious if

D3

on any one day during the billing cycle the rate at which

interest is charged for the billing cycle is not usurious.

82.04.220 Business and occupation tax imposed.

There is levied and shall be collected from every person a

tax for the act or privilege of engag:ng in business activ-

ities. Such tax shall be measured by the application of

rates against value of products, gross proceeds of sales,

or gross income of the business, as the case may be.

82.04.230 Tax upon extractors. Upon every person

engaging within this state in business as an extractor; as

to such persons the amount of the tax with respect to

such business shall be equal to the value of the products,

including byproducts, extracted for sale or for commer-

cial or industrial use, multiplied by the rate of 0.484

percent.

The measure of the tax is the value of the products,

including byproducts, so extracted, regardless of the

place of sale or the fact that deliveries may be made to

points outside the state.

| 82.04.240 Tax on manufacturers. Upon every person

except persons taxable under RCW 82.04.260 (1), (2), (4),

(5), or (6) engaging within this state in business as a

D4

manufacturer; as to such persons the amount of the tax

with respect to such business shall be equal to the value

of the products, including byproducts, manufactured,

multiplied by the rate of 0.484 percent.

The measure of the tax is the value of the products,

including byproducts, so manufactured regardless of the

place of sale or the fact that deliveries may be made to

points outside the state.

82.04.250 Tax on retailers. (Effective until July 1,

2001.) (1) Upon every person except persons taxable

under RCW 82.04.260(5) or subsection (2) of this section

engaging within this state in the business of making sales

at retail, as to such persons, the amount of tax with

respect to such business shall be equal to the gross pro-

ceeds of sales of the business, multiplied by the rate of

0.471 percent.

(2) Upon every person engaging within this state in

the business of making sales at retail that are exempt

from the tax imposed under chapter 82.08 RCW by reason

of RCW 82.08.0261, 82.08.0262, or 82.08.0263, as to such

persons, the amount of tax with respect to such business

shall be equal to the gross proceeds of sales of the busi-

ness, multiplied by the rate of 0.484 percent.

82.04.270 Tax on wholesalers, distributors. (Effective

until July 1, 2001.) Upon every person except persons

TiS S37 oe) oer ae

DS

taxable under RCW 82.04.260(5) engaging within this

state in the business of making sales at wholesale; as to

such persons the amount of tax with respect to such

business shall be equal to the gross proceeds of sales of

such business multiplied by the rate of 0.484 percent.

82.04.4286 Deductions — Nontaxable business. In

computing tax there may be deducted from the measure

of tax amounts derived from business which the state is

prohibited from taxing under the Constitution of this

state or the Constitution or laws of the United States.

Pre July 23, 1987 version

82.04.440 Persons taxable on multiple activities.

Every person engaged in activities which are within the

purview of the provisions of two or more of sections

RCW 82.04.2230 to 82.04.290, inclusive, shall be taxable

under each paragraph applicable to the activities engaged

in: Provided, That persons taxable under RCW 82.04.250 or

82.04.270 shall not be taxable under RCW 82.04.230,

82.04.240 or subsection (2), (3), (4), (5), or (7) of RCW

82.04.260 with respect to extracting or manufacturing of

the products so sold, and that persons taxable under

RCW 82.04.240 or RCW 82.04.260 subsection (4) shall not

D6

be taxable under RCW 82.04.230 with respect to extract-

ing the ingredients of the products so manufactured.

ee ee

Post July 23, 1987 version

82.04.440 Persons taxable on multiple activities -

Credits. (1) Every person engaged in activities which are

within the purview of the provisions of two or more of

sections RCW 82.04.230 to 82.04.290, inclusive, shall be

taxable under each paragraph applicable to the activities

engaged in.

(2) Persons taxable under RCW 82.04.250 or

82.04.270 shall be allowed a credit against those taxes for

any (a) manufacturing taxes paid with respect to the

manufacturing of products so sold in this state, and/or

(b) extracting taxes paid with respect to the extracting of

products so sold in this state or ingredients of products

so sold in this state. Extracting taxes taken as credit under

subsection (3) of this section may also be taken under this

subsection, if otherwise allowable under this subsection.

The amount of the credit shall not exceed the tax liability

arising under this chapter with respect to the sale of those

products.

(3) Persons taxable under RCW 82.04.240 or

82.04.260 subsection (4) shall be allowed a credit against

those taxes for any extracting taxes paid with respect to

extracting the ingredients of the products so manufac-

tured in this state. The amount of the credit shall not

exceed the tax liability arising under this chapter with

respect to the manufacturing of those products.

D7

(4) Persons taxable under RCW 82.04.230, 82.04.240,

or subsection (2), (3), (4), (5), or (7) of RCW 82.04.260 with

respect to extracting or manufacturing products in this

state shall be allowed a credit against those taxes for any

(i) gross receipts taxes paid to another state with respect

to the sales of the products so extracted or manufactured

in this state, (ii) manufacturing taxes paid with respect to

the manufacturing of products using ingredients so

extracted in this state, or (iii) manufacturing taxes paid

with respect to manufacturing activities completed in

another state for products so manufactured in this state.

The amount of the credit shall not exceed the tax liability

arising under this chapter with respect to the extraction

or manufacturing of those products.

(5) For the purpose of this section:

(a) “Gross receipts tax” means a tax:

(i) Which is imposed on or measured by the gross

volume of business, in terms of gross receipts or in other

terms, and in the determination of which the deductions

allowed would not constitute the tax an income tax or

value added tax; and

(ii) Which is also not, pursuant to law or custom,

separately stated from the sales price.

(b) “State” means (i) the state of Washington, (ii) a

state of the United States other than Washington, or any

political subdivision of such other state, (iii) the District

of Columbia, and (iv) any foreign country or political

subdivision thereof.

(c) “Manufacturing tax” means a gross receipts tax

imposed on the act or privilege of engaging in business as

D8

a manufacturer, and includes (i) the taxes imposed in

RCW 82.04.240 and subsections (2), (3), (4), (5), and (7) of

RCW 82.04.260, and (ii) similar gross receipts taxes paid

to other states.

(d) “Extracting tax” means a gross receipts tax

imposed on the act or privilege of engaging in business as

an extractor, and includes the tax imposed in RCW

82.04.230 and similar gross receipts taxes paid to other

states.

(e) “Business”, “manufacturer”, “extractor”, and

other terms used in this section have the meanings given

in RCW 82.04.020 through 82.04.212, notwithstanding the

use of those terms in the context of describing taxes

imposed by other states.

82.32.050 Deficient and delinquent payments - Pen-

alties and interest — Limitations. If upon examination of

any returns or from other information obtained by the

department it appears that a tax or penalty has been paid

less than that properly due, the department shall assess

against the taxpayer such additional amount found to be

due and as to assessments made on and after May 1, 1965,

including assessments for additional tax or penalties due

prior to that date shall add thereto interest at the rate of

nine percent per annum from the last day of the year in

which the deficiency is incurred until date of payment.

The department shall notify the taxpayer by mail of the

additional amount and the same shall become due and

shall be paid within ten days from the date of the notice,

D9

or within such further time as the department may pro-

vide. If payment is not received by the department by the

due date specified in the notice, or any extension thereof,

the department shall add a penalty of ten percent of the

amount of the additional tax found due. If the depart-

ment finds that all or any part of the deficiency resulted

from an intent to evade the tax payable hereunder, a

further penalty of fifty percent of the additional tax

found to be due shall be added.

No assessment or correction of an assessment for

additional taxes due may be made by the department

more than four years after the close of the tax year, except

(1) against a taxpayer who has not registered as required

by this chapter, (2) upon a showing of fraud or of misrep-

resentation of a material fact by the taxpayer, or (3) where

a taxpayer has executed a written waiver of such limita-

tion.

82.32.060

(1) If, upon receipt of an application by a taxpayer

for a refund or for an audit of the taxpayer’s records, or

upon an examination of the returns or records of any

taxpayer, it is determined by the department that within

the statutory period for assessment of taxes, penalties, or

interest prescribed by RCW 82.32.050 any amount of tax,

penalty, or interest has been paid in excess of that prop-

erly due, the excess amount paid within, or attributable

to, such period shall be credited to the taxpayer’s account

or shall be refunded to the taxpayer, at the taxpayer’s

D10

option. Except as provided in subsections (2) and (3) of

this section, no refund or credit shall be made for taxes,

penalties, or interest paid more than four years prior to

the beginning of the calendar year in which the refund

application is made or examination of records is com-

pleted.

(2) The execution of a written waiver under RCW

82.32.050 or 82.32.100 shall extend the time for making a

refund or credit of any taxes paid during, or attributable

to, the years covered by the waiver if, prior to the expira-

tion of the waiver period, an application for refund of

such taxes is made by the taxpayer or the department

discovers a refund or credit is due.

(3) Notwithstanding the foregoing limitations there

shall be refunded or credited to taxpayers engaged in the

performance of United States government contracts or

subcontracts the amount of any tax paid, measured by

that portion of the amounts received from the United

States, which the taxpayer is required by contract or

applicable federal statute to refund or credit to the United

States, if claim for such refund is filed by the taxpayer

with the department within one year of the date that the

amount of the refund or credit due to the United States is

finally determined and filed within four years of the date

on which the tax was paid: PROVIDED, That no interest

shall be allowed on such refund.

(4) Any such refunds shall be made by means of

vouchers approved by the department and by the issu-

ance of state warrants drawn upon and payable from

such funds as the legislature may provide. However,

taxpayers who are required to pay taxes by electronic

SOE a eae

D11

funds transfer under RCW 82.32.080 shall have any

refunds paid by electronic funds transfer.

(5) Any judgment for which a recovery is granted

by any court of competent jurisdiction, not appealed

from, for tax, penalties, and interest which were paid by

the taxpayer, and costs, in a suit by any taxpayer shall be

paid in the same manner, as provided in subsection (4) of

this section, upon the filing with the department of a

certified copy of the order or judgment of the court.

(a) Interest at the rate of three percent per annum

shall be allowed by the department and by any court on

the amount of any refund, credit, or other recovery

allowed to a taxpayer for taxes, penalties, or interest paid

by the taxpayer before January 1, 1992. This rate of inter-

est shall apply for all interest allowed through December

31, 1998. Interest allowed after December 31, 1998, shall

be computed at the rate as computed under RCW

82.32.050(2). The rate so computed shall be adjusted on

the first day of January of each year for use in computing

interest for that calendar year.

(b) For refunds or credits of amounts paid or other

recovery allowed to a taxpayer after December 31, 1991,

the rate of interest shall be the rate as computed for

assessments under RCW 82.32.050(2) less one percent.

This rate of interest shall apply for all interest allowed

through December 31, 1998. Interest allowed after Decem-

ber 31, 1998, shall be computed at the rate as computed

under RCW 82.32.050(2). The rate so computed shall be

adjusted on the first day of January of each year for use

in computing interest for that calendar year.

D12

82.32.090 Late payment - Penalties. If payment of

any tax due is not received by the department of revenue

by the due date, there shall be assessed a penalty of five

percent of the amount of the tax; and if the tax is not

received within thirty days after the due date, there shall

be assessed a total penalty of ten percent cf the amount of

the tax; and if the tax is not received within sixty days

after the due date, there shall be assessed a total penalty

of twenty percent of the amount of the tax. No penalty so

added shall be less than two dollars.

If payment of any tax is received within the first ten

days of the month next succeeding the month in which

the tax is payable, the amount of such pay:nent shall be

credited to, and shal! be treated for all purposes as hav-

ing been collected during, the fiscal year which includes

the month preceding the month in which such due date

falls. Effective June 30, 1985, and thereafter if the pay-

ment of any tax is received during the first ten days in

July, the amount of such payment shall be credited to,

and shall be treated for all purposes as having been

collected during, the preceding fiscal year.

If a warrant be issued by the department of revenue

for the collection of taxes, increases, and penalties, there

shall be added thereto a penalty of five percent of the

amount of the tax, but not less than five dollars.

Notwithstanding the foregoing, the aggregate of pen-

alties imposed under this chapter for failure to file a

return, late payment of any tax, increase, or penalty, or

D13

issuance of a warrant shall not exceed twenty-five per-

cent of the tax due, or seven dollars, whichever is greater.

82.32.150 Contest of tax - Prepayment required -

Restraining orders and injunctions barred. All taxes,

penalties, and interest shall be paid in full before any

action may be instituted in any court to contest all or any

part of such taxes, penalties, or interest. No restraining

order or injunction shall be granted or issued by any

court or judge to restrain or enjoin the collection of any

tax or penalty or any part thereof, except upon the

ground that the assessment thereof was in violation of the

Constitution of the United States or that of the state.

82.32.170 Reduction of tax after payment — Petition —

Conference —- Determination by department. Any per-

son, having paid any tax, original assessment, additional

assessment, or corrected assessment of any tax, may

apply to the department within the time limitation for

refund provided in this chapter, by petition in writing for

a correction of the amount paid, and a conference for

examination and review of the tax liability, in which

petition he shall set forth the reasons why the conference

should be granted, and the amount in which the tax,

interest, or penalty, should be refunded. The department

shall promptly consider the petition, and may grant or

deny it. If denied, the petitioner shall be notified by mail

Ea gA Re Soe 2 Stee rg OY ee

D14

thereof forthwith; if a conference is granted, the depart-

ment shall notify the petitioner by mail of the time and

place fixed therefor. After the hearing the department

may make such determination as may appear to it just

and lawful, and shall mail a copy of its determination to

the petitioner.

82.32.180 Court appeal - Procedure. Any person,

except one who has failed to keep and preserve books,

records, and invoices as required in this chapter and

chapter 82.24 RCW, having paid any tax as required and

feeling aggrieved by the amount of the tax may appeal to

the superior court of Thurston county, within the time

limitation for a refund provided in chapter 82.32 assess-

ment, and a conference for examination and review of the

assessment. The petition shall set forth the reasons why

the correction should be granted and the amount of the

tax, interest, or penalties, which the petitioner believes to

be due. The department shall promptly consider the peti-

tion and may grant or deny it. If denied, the petitioner

shall be notified by mail thereof forthwith. If a conference

is granted, the department shall fix the time and place

therefor and notify the petitioner thereof by mail. After

the conference the department may make such deter-

mination as may appear to it to be just and lawful and

shall mail a copy of its determination to the petitioner. If

no such petition is filed within the twenty day period the

assessment covered by the notice shall become final.

The procedures provided for herein shall apply also

to a notice denying, in whole or in part, an application for

D15

a pollution control tax exemption and credit certificate,

with such modifications to such procedures established

by departmental rules and regulations as may be neces-

sary to accommodate a claim for exemption or credit.

82.32.210 Tax warrant — Filing — Lien —- Effect. If any

tax, increase, or penalty or any portion thereof is not paid

within fifteen days after it becomes due, the department

of revenue may issue a warrant under its official seal in

the amount of such unpaid sums, together with interest

thereon at the rate of one percent of the amount of such

warrant for each thirty days or portion thereof after the

date of such warrant. If, however the department of

revenue believes that a taxpayer is about to cease busi-

ness, leave the state, or remove or dissipate the assets out

of which taxes or penalties might be satisfied and that

any tax or penalty will not be paid when due, it may

declare the tax or penalty to be immediately due and

payable and may issue a warrant immediately.

The department shall file a copy of the warrant with

the clerk of the superior court of any county of the state

in which real and/or personal property of the taxpayer

may be found. Upon filing, the clerk shall enter in the

judgment docket, the name of the taxpayer mentioned in

the warrant and in appropriate columns the amount of

the tax or portion thereof and any increases and penalties

for which the warrant is issued and the date when the

copy is filed, and thereupon the amount of the warrant so

docketed shall become a specific lien upon all goods,

D16

wares, merchandise, fixtures, \equipment, or other per-

sonal property used in the conduct of the business of the

taxpayer against whom the wafrant is issued, including

property owned by third persots who have a beneficial

interest, direct or indirect, in the operation of the busi-

ness, and no sale or transfer of the personal property in

any way affects the lien. The lier, shall not be superior,

however, to bona fide interests of third persons which

had vested prior to the filing of the warrant when the

third persons do not have a beneficial interest, direct or

indirect, in the operation of the business, other than the

securing of the payment of a debt or the receiving of a

regular rental on equipment: Provided, however, That the

phrase “bona fide interests of third persons” does not

include any mortgage of real or personal property or any

other credit transaction that results in the mortgagee or

the holder of the security acting as trustee for unsecured

creditors of the taxpayer mentioned in the warrant who

executed the chattel or real property mortgage or the

document evidencing the credit transaction. The amount

of the warrant so docketed shall thereupon aiso become a

lien upon the title to and interest in all other real and

personal property of the taxpayer against whom it is

issued the same as a judgment in a civil case duly dock-

eted in the office of the clerk. The warrant so docketed

shall be sufficient to support the issuance of writs of

garnishment in favor of the state in the manner provided

by law in the case of judgments wholly or partially unsat-

isfied.

D17

82.32.215 Revocation of certificate of registration. If

any warrant issued under this chapter is not paid within

thirty days after it has been filed with the clerk of the

superior court, or if any taxpayer is delinquent, for three

consecutive reporting periods, in the transmission to the

department of revenue of retail sales tax collected by him,

the department of revenue may, by order issued under its

office seal, revoke the certificate of registration of the

taxpayer against whom the warrant was issued, and, if

the order is entered, a copy thereof shall be posted in a

conspicuous place at the main entrance to the taxpayer’s

place of business and shall remain posted until such time

as the warrant has been paid. Any certificate so revoked

shall not be reinstated, nor shall a new certificate of

registration be issued to the taxpayer, until the amount

due on the warrant has been paid, or provisions for

payment satisfactory to the department of revenue have

been entered, and until the taxpayer has deposited with

the department of revenue such security for payment of

any taxes, increases, and penalties, due or which may

become due in an amount and under such terms and

conditions as the department of revenue may require, but

the amount of the security shall not be greater than one-

half the estimated average annual liability of the tax-

payer.

82.32.220 Execution of warrant — Levy upon property

- Satisfaction. The department of revenue may issue an

order of execution, pursuant to a filed warrant, under its

official seal directed to the sheriff of the county in which

D18

the warrant has been filed, commanding him to levy

upon and sell the real and/or personal property of the

taxpayer found within his county, or so much thereof as

may be necessary, for the payment of the amount of the

warrant, plus the cost of executing the warrant, and

return the warrant to the department of revenue and pay

to it the money collected by virtue thereof within sixty

days after the receipt of the warrant. The sheriff shall

thereupon proceed upon the same in all respects and with

like effect as prescribed by law with respect to execution

or other process issued against rights or property upon

judgments of the superior court.

The sheriff shall be entitled to fees as provided by

law for his services in levying execution on a superior

court judgment and the clerk shall be entitled to a filing

fee as provided by law, which shall be added to the

amount of the warrant.

The proceeds received from any sale shall be credited

upon the amount due under the warrant and when the

final amount due is received, together with interest, pen-

alties, and costs, the judgment docket shall show the

claim for taxes to be satisfied and the clerk of the court

shall so note upon the docket. Any surplus received from

any sale of property shall be paid to the taxpayer or to

any lien holder entitled thereto. If the return on the

warrant shows that the same has not been satisfied in

full, the amount of the deficiency shall remain the same

as a judgment against the taxpayer which may be col-

lected in the same manner as the original amount of the

warrant.

El

APPENDIX E

SUPERIOR COURT OF WASHINGTON

FOR THURSTON COUNTY

KALAMA CHEMICAL, INC. ) No. 89-2-02968-2

Plaintiff, . COMPLAINT FOR JUST

COMPENSATION AND

) FOR REFUND OF

STATE OF WASHINGTON, ) TAXES

ate aoc | Lee

WASHINGTON,

Defendants.

Vv.

)

)

)

)

Plaintiff alleges:

1. Plaintiff Kalama Chemical, Inc. is a corporation

duly organized and existing under the laws of the State of

Washington and has paid all fees due to the State of

Washington.

2. Defendant Department of Revenue is an adminis-

trative agency of the State of Washington responsible for

the collection of Washington state excise taxes.

3. In Tyler Pipe Indus. v. Washington Dep't of Rev., 483

U.S. 232, 107 S. Ct. 2810, 97 L.Ed.2d 199 (1987), the United

States Supreme Court held that the manufacturing busi-

ness and occupation (“B&O”) tax of the State of Washing-

ton that was imposed at all times between January 1, 1980

and June 23, 1987 was unconstitutional as applied to

taxpayers in the position of plaintiff.

4. Plaintiff was a party before the court in Tyler Pipe.

E2

5. For activities performed between December 1,

1979 and June 23, 1987, plaintiff involuntarily paid under

threat of penalties, interest and business closure, $869,119

pursuant to the manufacturing B&O tax that was held

unconstitutional in Tyler Pipe. Of that amount, $511,016

was paid between January 1, 1980 and June 19, 1985 and

was the amount sought as a refund by plaintiff in Tyler

Pipe. The remaining $358,103 was paid after June 19, 1985

and no refund action has been brought previously by

plaintiff to recover such amount.

6. National Can Corp. v. Dep't of Rev., 109 Wash.2d

878, 749 P.2d 1286, appeal dismissed and cert denied, 108 S.

Ct. 2030 (1988), denied plaintiff a refund of the manufac-

turing taxes it paid between January 1, 1980 and June 19,

1985.

7. The Fifth Amendment to the United States Con-

stitution, which applies to the states through the Four-

teenth Amendment, provides in pertinent part that:

No person shall . . . be deprived of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law;

nor shall private property be taken for public

use, without just compensation.

8. Article I, §16 of the Washington Constitution pro-

vides in pertinent part that:

No private property shall be taken... for public

or private use without just compensation having

first been made...

9. The State of Washington’s refusal to refund the

unconstitutional manufacturing B&O tax payments pur-

suant to the Washington Supreme Court’s decision in

National Can Corp. v. Dep't of Revenue, constituted a taking

oa eS ae

E3

of defendant’s property for which just compensation is

required within the meaning of the Fifth Amendment to

the United States Constitution and Article I, §16 of the

Washington Constitution.

10. RCW 82.04.4286 provides a deduction from the

measure of the B&O tax for amounts derived from busi-

ness which the state is prohibited from taxing under the

Constitution of the United States.

11. Plaintiff is entitled under RCW 82.04.4286 to a

refund of the taxes it paid between June 19, 1985 and June

23, 1987. In the alternative, such amounts were also taken

from plaintiff without just compensation as described in

paragraph 9.

12. The statutory rate of interest of tax refunds is 3

percent. Such a rate is confiscatory and discriminatory in

violation of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United

States Constitution and Article I, Section 12 of the Wash-

ington State Constitution. Other litigants receive prejudg-

ment interest at the rate of 12 percent per annum and the

true cost of money exceeds 3 percent.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff prays for:

1. An order requiring defendant to refund the

$358,103 of taxes paid between June 19, 1985 and June 23,

1987 plus 12 percent interest thereon from the date paid

to the date refunded.

2. Just compensation equal to the amount of money

taken from plaintiff between January 1, 1980 and June 19,

1985 ($511,016) plus reasonable interest.

3. Plaintiff’s reasonable costs and disbursements

herein.

E4

4. Such other and further relief as this Court deems

appropriate.

DATED this 27 day of December, 1989.

STOEL RIVES BOLEY JONES & GREY

By: /s/ Franklin G. Dinces

Franklin G. Dinces

Peter R. Jarvis

Attorneys for Plaintiff

E5

SUPERIOR COURT OF WASHINGTON-

FOR THURSTON COUNTY

ADVANCED TECHNOLOGY ) No. 89-2-02926-7

LABORATORIES, INC., FIRST AMENDED

Plaintiff, COMPLAINT FOR

JUST COMPENSA-

TION AND FOR

REFUND OF TAXES

(Filed Dec. 28, 1989)

V.

STATE OF WASHINGTON,

and DEPARTMENT OF

REVENUE, STATE OF

WASHINGTON,

Defendants.

me mee eee eee ee”

Plaintiff alleges:

1. Plaintiff Advanced Technology Laboratories, Inc.

is a corporation duly organized and existing under the

laws of the State of Washington and has paid all fees due

to the State of Washington.

2. Defendant Department of Revenue is an adminis-

trative agency of the State of Washington responsible for

the collection of Washington state excise taxes.

3. In Tyler Pipe Indus. v. Washington Dep’t of Rev., 483

U.S. 232, 107 S. Ct. 2810, 97 L.Ed.2d 199 (1987), the United

States Supreme Court held that the manufacturing busi-

ness and occupation (“B&O”) tax of the State of Washing-

ton that was imposed at all times between January 1, 1980

and June 23, 1987 was unconstitutional as applied to

taxpayers in the position of plaintiff.

4. Plaintiff was a party before the court in Tyler Pipe.

E6

5. Between January 1, 1980 and June 23, 1987, plain-

tiff involuntarily paid under threat of penalties, interest

and business closure, $1,628,129.46 pursuant to the manu-

facturing B&O tax that was held unconstitutional in Tyler

Pipe. Of that amount, $1,148,055.65 was paid between

January 1, 1980 and June 19, 1985 and was the amount

sought as a refund by plaintiff in Tyler Pipe. The remain-

ing $480,073.81 was paid between June 19, 1985 and June

23, 1987 and no refund action has been brought previ-

ously by plaintiff to recover such amount.

6. National Can Corp. v. Dep’t of Rev., 109 Wash.2d

878, 749 P.2d 1286, appeal dismissed and cert denied, 108 S.

Ct. 2030 (1988), denied plaintiff a refund of the manufac-

turing taxes it paid between January 1, 1980 and June 19,

1985.

7. The Fifth Amendment to the United States Con-

stitution, which applies to the states through the Four-

teenth Amendment, provides in pertinent part that:

No person shall . . . be deprived of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law;

nor shall private property be taken for public

use, without just compensation.

8. Article I, §16 of the Washington Constitution pro-

vides in pertinent part that:

No private property shall be taken . . . for public

or private use without just compensation having

first been made...

9. The State of Washington’s refusal to refund the

unconstitutional manufacturing B&O tax payments pur-

suant to the Washington Supreme Court’s decision in

National Can Corp. v. Dep’t of Revenue, constituted a taking

E7

of defendant’s property for which just compensation is

required within the meaning of the Fifth Amendment to

the United States Constitution and Article I, §16 of the

Washington Constitution.

10. RCW 82.04.4286 provides a deduction from the

measure of the B&O tax for amounts derived from busi-

ness which the state is prohibited from taxing under the

Constitution of the United States.

11. Plaintiff is entitled under RCW 82.04.4286 to a

refund of the taxes if paid between June 19, 1985 and June

23, 1987. In the alternative, such amounts were also taken

from plaintiff without just compensation as described in

paragraph 9.

12. The statutory rate of interest for tax refunds is 3

percent. Such a rate is confiscatory and discriminatory in

violation of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United

States Constitution and Article I, Section 12 of the Wash-

ington State Constitution. Other litigants receive prejudg-

ment interest at the rate of 12 percent per annum and the

true cost of money exceeds 3 percent.

WHEREFORE, plaintiff prays for:

1. An order requiring defendant to refund the

$480,073.81 of taxes paid between June 19, 1985 and June

23, 1987, plus 12 percent interest thereon from the date

paid to the date refunded.

2. Just compensation equal to the amount of money

taken from plaintiff between January 1, 1980 and June 19,

1985 ($1,148,055.65) plus reasonable interest.

3. Plaintiff’s reasonable costs and disbursements

herein.

E8

4. Such other and further relief as this Court deems

appropriate.

DATED this [illegible] day of December, 1989.

STOEL RIVES BOLEY JONES & GREY

By: /s/,Franklin G. Dinces

Franklin G. Dinces

Peter R. Jarvis

Attorneys for Plaintiff

t

(a4

E9

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF WASHINGTON

FOR THURSTON COUNTY

KALAMA CHEMICAL, No. 89-2-02968-2

)

Plaintiff, Response to Motion

) for Summary

-VS- )

Judgment

STATE OF WASHINGTON, | )

DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE,’

Defendant. )

)

D. The Newsweek and Dryden Cases Are Clearly Dis-

tinguishable.

Kalama is now relying on an additional case, News-

week, Inc. v. Florida, ___ U.S. __, 118 S.Ct. 904, 139 L.Ed.2d

888 (1998). Florida law exempted newspapers, but not

magazines, from sales tax. After the law was struck

down, Newsweek filed a tax refund claim. Florida’s

refund statutes were ambiguous. One statute permitted

taxpayers to contest a tax before paying it. Id., 139 L.Ed.2d

at 890. However, a second statute allowed taxpayers to

seek a refund after paying the tax. Id. at 891. The state

court denied Newsweek’s refund request because the

company could have challenged the tax before paying it.

The U.S. Supreme Court reversed. States cannot “bait and

switch” by offering a postdeprivation remedy, and then

withdrawing that remedy after the taxes are paid. Id.

E10

Following the ruling in Newsweek, the court vacated a

second Florida tax refund case and remanded it for recon-

sideration in light of Newsweek. Dryden v. Madison Cy., __

U.S. __, 118 S. Ct. 1162, 140 L. Ed. 2d 173 (1998).°

It is difficult to understand why Kalama cites News-

week and Dryden. In sharp contrast to Florida, Washington

has not engaged in “bait and switch” tactics. It has

always offered a postdeprivation remedy. Following Tyler

Pipe, the Legislature provided a postdeprivation remedy

in the form of the 1987 credit law. As the state Supreme

Court noted in American Nat'l Can, the remedy was not

illusory. The state refunded substantial sums to taxpayers

who had paid gross receipts taxes to other jurisdictions.

Unlike the taxpayers who were entitled to a refund,

Kalama has not suffered harm by paying a gross receipts

tax to another jurisdiction. Newsweek did not overrule the

Court’s decision in McKesson. Therefore, Newsweek, can-

not be contorted to stand for the proposition that states

are required to provide a windfall refund to taxpayers

who have never suffered an injury.

Furthermore, as Kalama concedes, the decision in

Newsweek is based on Reich v. Collins, 516 U.S. 106, 115 S.

Ct. 547, 130 L. Ed. 2d 454 (1994). Reich was decided before

the state Supreme Court issued its opinion in Digital. In

fact, Digital relied on Reich and the “bait and switch”

argument in its briefs and oral argument to the state

Supreme Court and in its Petition for Certiorari to the

5 The Newsweek and Dryden opinions were issued before

Kalama filed its first motion.

E11

U.S. Supreme Court.® the argument was unsuccessful

with both Courts.

6 See Digital’s Opening Brief to the Washington Supreme

Court at 31-33 (May 3, 1995); Transcript of Oral Argument at 18,

36-40; Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 22-23 (Feb. 6, 1997).

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.